Appendix — United States v. Ward

Supreme Court brief1980

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Gupreme Court, U.& -

FILED

APPENDIX JAN 2 1990

MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLERK

———

~

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No. 79-394

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Petitioner

—

L. O. WARD d/b/a

L. O. WARD OIL AND GAS OPERATIONS

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI FILED SEPTEMBER 7, 1979

CERTIORARI GRANTED NOVEMBER 5, 1979

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No. 79-394

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Petitioner

aw) me

L. O. WARD d/b/a

L. O. WARD OIL AND GAS OPERATIONS

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Complete Docket Entries of United States District Court

for the Western District of Oklahoma in Civil No. 76-0303.. 2

Complete Docket Entries of United States District Court

for the Western District of Oklahoma in Civil No. 76-0456.. 7

Complete Docket Entries of United States Court of Appeals

for the Tenth Circuit in No. 77-1952 ......... 11

Spill Report Form, Environmental Protection Agency (April

Cee cecdansases nemnence cence 17

Letter to Lou Ward from James J. Doyle, Director, Enforce-

ment Division, Environmental Protection Agency (May

Nee ss sadecheceanneemecereee 19

Attachment A to the letter of May 13, 1975, signed by L.O.

Ward and received by Environmental Protection Agency.. 21

Letter to Commander J. D. Webb, Second U.S. Coast Guard,

District, from Harless R. Benthul, Chief, Legal Branch,

Enforcement Division, Environmental Protection Agency,

a oe rr ee ee 24

Letter to Jones & Gungoll from R. A. Ratti, Chief Counsel,

United States Coast Guard (February 11, 1976) ........... 26

ii TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

og es, eS eS ER. |, : Seer canner vee 29

Final Judgment (September 6, 1977) _...................00002000000000s--- 34

Excerpts from Transcript of Proceedings of May 9, 1977.... 41

United States Coast Guard Commandant Instruction

CR) Rees sical tance dk ata teamcokeeell lacuaceadanebtelanaaemeanis 38

Order of the Supreme Court Granting the Petition for a

Writ of Certiorari (November 5, 1979) ................... ee 62

1

CIV-76-0303-E

WARD, L. O., PLAINTIFF

COLEMAN, WILLIAM J., JR., individually and as Secretary

of Transportation for the United States of America;

TRAIN, RUSSELL E., individually and as Administrator of

the Environmental Protection Agency of the United

States of America, and

SILAR, ADMIRAL, OWEN W., individually and as Com-

mandant United States Coast Guard, United States

of America, DEFENDANTS

Consolidated W/76-456 8-26-76

CAUSE

32 USC 1821(n); 28 USC 1831, 2201-02, 1833, 1332,

1355—Temp. & perm. Injs. restraining enforcement of

statutes relating to oil pollution of inland water; and

Declaratory Judg. re navigability of “Boggy Creek”

in this Dist.

FOR PLAINTIFF

Stephen Jones & James H. Gungoll, P.O. Box 3339,

Enid, Ok 73701 (405) 233-4321

Harold B. Scoggins, Jr., Independent Petroleum Assn.

of America (Amicus Curiae)

FOR DEFENDANTS

David L. Russell, USA, Roland Campbell, III, & O. B.

Johnston, III, AUSA, 4434 U.S. Cthse, OC, 231-5281

and

Bruce J. Chasan, Atty, Dept of Justice, Wash, D.C.

20530 (202) 739-2793

Earl Salo, Atty, Dept of Justice, Wash, DC 20530

(202) 739-2738

2

DOCKET ENTRIES

DATE PROCEEDINGS

4-13-76 Filed Complaint

4-13-76 Filed prae for & iss’d summons

4-13-76 Filed plf’s Mtn for 3 Judge Ct—ws

4-13-76 Filed plf’s Brief in Sup of Mtn—ws

4-15-76 Filed Order directing dfts to respond to plf’s Mtn

for 3 Judge Ct w/brief, w/i 7 days herefrom in the event

they or either of them desire to contest said mtn (Eu-

banks) ws

4-23-76 Filed Dfts’ Oppo to the Mtn to Convene a 3-Judge

Ct—ws

4-27-76 Filed Dfts’ Mtn for Addl Time to Respond to Plf’s

Mtn for 3 Judge Ct. w/Order grntg a ext of 5 days to

4-27-76 to file its Response (Eubanks) ws

4-27-76 Filed Order that the plf’s mtn for an order of this

ct req’g the Chief Judge of the Circuit to convene a 3-

judge district ct to hear this matter is conditionally

denied (Eubanks) ws

5-18-76 Filed USM’s Ret re Summons: (4)

Served U.S. Attorney General 4-14-76, 2 cert copies

mailed to U.S. Atty Gen 4-13-76

Served William Coleman, Secretary of Transportation

4-22-76 by copy w/Emma Lewis

Served Owen W. Silare, Commandant U.S. Coast Guard

by copy w/J. Collom 4-22-76

Served Russell Train, Adm Environmental Protective

Agency by copy w/Georgia Prapas 5-5-76

6-7-76 Filed plf’s Brief to Sup Mtn to Reconsider Order

Temp Denying Mtn for 3 Judge Ct—ws

6-8-76 Filed plf’s Mtn to Reconsider Order Temp Denying

Mtn for 3 Judge Ct—ws

DATE PROCEEDINGS

6-8-76 Ent Order grntg dfts 15 days to respond to plf’s Mtn

to Reconsider Order Temp Denying Mtn for 3 J udge Ct

(Eubanks) zme ws

6-9-76 Filed Dfts’ Mtn to Dism or, Alt, to Consolidate W/

CIV-76-0456-D w/Memo of Law attach—ws

6-10-76 Ent Order directing plf to respond to dfts’ Mtn to

Dism or, Alt, to Consolidate w/ CIV-76-0456-D w/sup

brief, w/i 10 days hereof (Eubanks) zmec ws

6-24-76 Filed Dfts’ Response to Mtn to Reconsider Order

Temp Denying Mtn for 3 Judge Ct—ws

6-25-76 Filed Pif’s Ans to Mtn to Dism or Alt to Consolidate

W/CIV-76-0456-D—ws

7-1-76 Filed Plf’s Reply to Dfts’ Response to Plf’s Mtn to

Reconsider Order Temp Denying Mtn for 3 J udge Ct—ws

8-18-76 Filed Mr. Chason’s Itr to Ct re outstanding mtns—

ws

8-20-76 Filed Mr. Chason’s ltr to Ct re outstanding mtns

& trans. copy of CCofA’s opinion—ws

8-25-76 Filed Mr. Jones’ Itr to Ct, i.e., response to Mr. Chas-

an’s foregoing ltrs—ws

8-26-76 Filed Memo Opinion & Order; that Plf’s mtn for

reconsideration of this ct’s order conditionally denying

the mtn for a 3 judge ct is grntd & the mtn to convene

a 3 judge ct is unconditionally denied; dft’s mtn to dism

is denied; the alt mtn to consolidate this case w/CIV-

76-456 is grntd; answer in 76-456 to be filed w/i 20 days

hereof (Eubanks) ws

10-4-76 PRETRIAL, November 1, 1976, 10:00 a.m. (Eu-

banks)

11-1-76 Filed pltf’s Mtn for Judg on the Pldgs &/or for

SJ—ws

11-1-76 Filed plif’s Brief in Sup of Mtn—ws

DATE PROCEEDINGS

11-1-76 Ent PT; govt to file brief w/i 20 days to answer

mtn for SJ; to be on the Enid jury dkt; both sides agree

we will have a trial de novo; Ward may reply 7 days

after Govt responds to its mtn for SJ (Eubanks) zmc

11-22-76 Filed Dft US’s Memo in Oppo to Mtn for Judg on

the Pldgs &/or for SJ—ws

11-24-76 Filed Dft USA’s Interrogs—w/s

12-7-76 Filed plf Ward’s Reply Brief to Gov’ts Brief in

Opposition to Ward’s Mtn for Judgm on the Pleadings

&/or S. J.—w/s

12-13-76 Filed Independent Petroleum Association of Amer-

ica’s Mtn for Leave of Ct to file Brief Amicus Curiae—

w/s

12-13-76 Filed Earl Salo’s ltr to Mr. Hawks enclosing a

copy of a Ct’s decision dealing w/the “sheen test’’, re-

questing it be brought to the ct’s attention—w/s

12-22-76 Filed Memo Opinion & Order—that dfts’ mtn for

judgm on the pleadings or for s. j. is denied (Eubanks)

w/s-zmc

1-21-77 Filed Plf’s Answers to Interrogs propounded by the

United States—ws

4-1-77 JURY DOCKET: MONDAY, MAY 9, 1977—9:30

A.M.—EUBANKS

5-3-77 Filed 3 praes for & iss’d subps on behalf of plf for:

Ernie Thomas, Jay Nay, Ray Pickle, Gary Sober, Curley

Corwin, Bill Fisher & Rod Ylitalo

5-4-77 Filed prae for & iss’] 1 subp in blank on behalf of the

dfts

5-9-77 Filed Pretrial Order (Eubanks) ws

5-9-77 Filed Govt’s PT Memo

5-9-77 Ent Jury Trial (Eubanks) zmc

DATE PROCEEDINGS

5-10-77 Filed L.O. Ward’s Req for Instr w/Judge’s Rigs

thereon (Eubanks) ws

5-10-77 Filed Instructions to the Jury (Eubanks)

5-10-77 Filed Note from Jury w/Judge’s Answer thereon

(Eubanks)

5-10-77 Filed Jury’s Interrog finding as follows: that oil did

flow in a visible quantity from the “draw” on the L.O.

Ward lease into Boggy Creek /s/ Gary W. Chapman,

Foreman

5-10-77 Ent Further Jury Trial; plf to prepare order; ct.

reduces the amt of penalty to $250.00; ensl for dft to

prepare order in 76-303 (Eubanks) zmec

5-13-77 Filed USM’s Ret re subps (8)

5-18-77 Filed Stephen Jones’ Itr to ct req’g a hrg date—ws

5-20-77 NONJURY: 6-13-77, 9:30 am (Eubanks)

6-7-77 Ent Order striking NJ of 6-23-77, to be reset on the

next Civ NJ Dkt (Eubanks) zme ws

8-2-77 NONJURY: 9-6-77, 9:30 am (Eubanks)

8-19-77 Filed plf’s Response to the Gov’t Mtn to Strike

w/Memo to Sup Response—ws

8-22-77 Ent Order that the Mtn to Strike by USA is o/r

& denied; the cases will remain on the dkt for the pur-

pose of getting judgs settled in these cases (Eubanks)

zmc ws

8-24-77 Filed Ct’s ltr transmitting a portion of the Ct Re

porter’s transcript of what transpired at Enid last

spring, to all cnsl of Record (Eubanks) ws

8-30-77 Filed Stephen Jones’ Itr to Ct dated 8-26-77—ws

8-30-77 Filed Stephen Jones’ ltr to Ct dated 8-26-77, stated

as 2nd ltr—ws

6

PROCEEDINGS

DATE |

8-30-77 Ent Order that such evid as the ptys desire to ‘n-

troduce re the constitutionality of 40 CFR 110.3(b), as

enumerated in parag. 5C of the PTA Order herein, will be

heard on 9-6-77, 9:30 am (Eubanks) zme ws

9-6-77 Ent Evid Hrg; ptys appear by cnsl, make opening

stmts; plf Ward presents evid w/test of witnesses, exhs

admitted, plf rests; closing args; ct finds in favor of govt

who is to prepare JE in ea case today (Eubanks) zmc

9-6-77 Filed plf’s Brief in Sup of the Invalidity of 40 CFR

§ 110.3(b) ws

9-6-77 Filed AND ENTERED Final Judgment—THAT dfts

L.O. Ward and L.O. Ward Oil and Gas Operations are

jointly & severally liable to the US for a civil penalty

of $250. (Eubanks) (CCB #122) (Clerk) (Copies to

parties—zmc)

10-19-77 Filed Notice of Appeal of L. O. Ward, plf, from

final jdgmt entered Sept. 6, 1977 (record due in CCofA

11-28-77)

10-19-77 Filed Clk’s ltr re service of notice of appeal, w/copy

Itr & notice of appeal to counsel & CCofA and copy d.s.

to CCofA

10-19-77 Filed plf’s Designation of Record—w/s

7

CIV-76-0456-E

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PLAINTIFF

Warp, L. O. and L. O. WARD OIL AND GAS OPERATIONS,

DEFENDANTS

Consolidated W/76-303 8-26-76

CAUSE

33 USC 1321(n) and 28 USC 1345—Action to recover

unpaid civil penalty assessed against defts.

FOR PLAINTIFFS

David L. Russell, USA & AUSA, 4434 U.S. Cthse,

OC, 231-5281

and

Bruce J. Chasan, Atty, Dept of Justice, Wash, DC

20530 (202) 739-2793

Earl Salo, Atty, Dept of Justice, Wash, DC 20530

(202) 739-2738

Independent Petroleum Assoc. of America (Amicus

Curiae) Harold B. Scoggins, Jr., Atty

FOR DEFENDANTS

Stephen Jones, P.O. Box 3339, Enid, OK 73701

DATE PROCEEDINGS

6-4-76 Filed Complaint

6-4-76 Filed prae for & iss’d summons

6-21-76 Filed USM’s Ret re Summons: (2)

Served L. O. Ward 6-16-76

Served L.O. Ward Oil and Gas Operations by serving

L.O. Ward 6-16-76

6-23-76 Filed dfts’ Mtn for Enlargement of Time to Answer

Compl—ws

8

DATE

PROCEEDINGS >

7-1-76 Filed dft Ward’s Mtn to Enlarge Time in Which to

Answer—ws

7-6-76 Ent Order grntg dft L.O. Ward ext of time of 45 days

from 7-1-76 to answer to otherwise plead (Daugherty)

ve ws

8-23-76 Ent Order transferring case to Judge Enbanks

(Daugherty) ve ws

8-26-76 Filed copy of Memo Opinion & Order filed in 76-303

in which Ct directs that answer be filed w/i 20 days here-

of & this case is consolidated w/76-303 (Eubanks) ws

9-16-76 Filed Mr. Jones ltr to Ct requesting leave of ct to

file answer one week late—w/s

9-16-76 Ent Order—for good cause shown, the defts Ware

are granted 7 days from & after 9-15-76, w/in which

to file their answer herein (Eubanks) zmc

10-4-76 PRETRIAL, November 1, 1976, 10:00 a.m. (Eu-

banks)

9-24-76 Filed dfts’ Answer—ws

11-1-76 Filed dfts’ Mtn for Judg on the Pldgs &/or for

SJ—ws

11-1-76 Filed dfts’ Brief in Sup of Mtn—ws

11-1-76 Ent PT; govt to file brief w/i 20 days to answer

mtn for SJ; to be on the Enid jury dkt; both sides agree

we will have a trial de novo; Ward may reply 7 days after

Govt responds to its mtn for SJ (Eubanks) zmc

11-22-76 Filed plft’s Mmoe in Oppo to Mtn for Judg on the

Pldgs &/or for SJ—ws

11-24-76 Filed pif’s Interrogs—w/s

12-7-76 Filed Plf Ward’s Reply Brief to Government’s Brief

in Opposition to Ward’s Mtn for Judgm on the Pleadings

&/orS. J.

9

DATE PROCEEDINGS

12-13-76 Filed Independent Petro. Assoc of Amer.’s mtn for

lve of ct. to file brief amicus curiae

12-13-76 Filed Earl Salo’s ltr to Mr. Hawks enclosing a

copy of a Ct’s decision dealing with the “sheen test”,

requesting that it be brought to the cts’ attention. ws

12-22-76 Filed Memo Opinion & Order—that dfts’ mtn for

judgm on the pleadings or for s.j. is denied (Eubanks)

w/s—zmc

1-21-77 Filed dfts’ answers to interrogs w/s

4-1-77 JURY DOCKET: MONDAY, MAY 9, 1977—9:30

A.M.—EUBANKS

5-3-77 Filed 3 praes for & iss’d subps on behalf of L. O.

Ward, for: Ernie Thomas, Jim Nay, Ray Pickle, Gary

Sober, Curley Corwin, Bill Fisher, Rod Ylitalo

5-4-77 Filed prae for & iss’d 1 subp in blank on behalf of

the plf

5-9-77 Filed Pretrial Order (Eubanks) ws

5-9-77 Filed Govt’s PT Memo

5-9-77 Ent Jury Trial (Eubanks) zmc

5-10-77 Filed L.O. Ward’s Req for Instr w/Judge’s Rigs

thereon (Eubanks) ws

5-10-77 Filed Instructions to the Jury (Eubanks)

5-10-77 Filed Note from Jury w/Judge’s Answer thereon

(Eubanks)

5-10-77 Filed Jury’s Interrog findings that oil did flow in a

visible quantity from the “draw” on the L.O. Ward

lease into Boggy Creek /s/Gary W. Chapman, Foreman

5-10-77 Ent Further Jury Trial; plt to prepare order; ct

reduces the amt of penalty to $250.00 cnsl for dft to

prepare order in 76-303 (Eubanks) zmc

5-13-77 Filed USM’s Ret re Subps (8)

5-18-77 Filed Stephen Jones’ Itr to Ct req’g a hrg date—ws

10

DATE PROCEEDINGS

5-20-77 NONJURY: 6-13-77, 9:30 am (Eubanks)

6-7-77 Ent Order striking NJ of 6-13-77, to be reset on the

next Civ NJ Dkt (Eubanks) zmc ws

8-2-77 NONJURY: 9-6-77, 9:30 am (Eubanks)

8-16-77 Filed USA’s Mtn to Strike w/Brief in Sup—ws

8-22-77 Ent Order that the Mtn to Strike by USA is 0/r

& denied ; the cases will remain on the dkt for the purpose

of getting judgs settled in these cases (Eubanks) zmc

ws

8-24-77 Filed Ct’s ltr transmitting copy of Ct Reporter’s

portion of transcript of what transpired at Enid last

spring (Eubanks) ws

8-30-77 Ent Order that such evid as the ptys desire to in-

troduce re the constitutionality of 40 CFR 110.3(b), as

enumerated in parag. 5C of the PT Order herein, will

be heard on 9-6-77, 9:30 am (Eubanks) zmc ws

9-6-77 Ent Evid Hrg; ptys appear by cnsl, make opening

stmts; plf Ward presents evid w/ test of witnesses, exhs

admitted, plf rests; closing args; ct finds in favor of

govt who is to prepare JE in ea case today (Eubanks).

zmc

9-6-77 Filed dfts’ Brief in Sup of the Invalidity of 40 CFR

§ 110.3(b) ws

9-6-77 Filed AND ENTERED Final Judgment—THAT dfts

L. O. Ward and L.O. Ward Oil and Gas Operations are

jointly & severally liable to the US for a civil penalty

of $250. (Eubanks) (COB +122) (Clerk) (Copies to

parties—zmc)

10-19-77 Filed Notice of Appeal of dfts from final jdgmt

entered Sept 6, 1977 (record due in CCofA 11-28-77)

10-19-77 Filed Clk’s ltr re service of notice of appeal, w/copy

Itr & notice of appeal to counsel & CCofA and copy 4d.s.

to CCofA

10-19-77 Filed dfts’ Designation of Record—w/s

11

GENERAL DOCKET

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

Civil Case No. 77-1952

Appeal from the United States District Court

For the Western District of Oklahoma

598 F.2d 1187 (1979)

L. O. WARD, PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT

Vs.

WILLIAM G. COLEMAN, JR., individually and as Secre-

tary of Transportation for the United States of Amer-

_ lea, RUSSELL E. TRAIN, individually and as Adminis-

trator of the Environmental Protection Agency of the

United States of America, and ADMIRAL OWEN W.

SILAR, individually and as Commandant United States

Coast Guard, United States of America, DEFENDANTS-

APPELLEES

and

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PLAINTIFF-APPELLEE

Vs.

L. O. WARD and L. O. WarD OIL and GAS OPERATIONS,

DEFENDANTS-APPELLANTS

OKLAHOMA INDEPENDENT PETROLEUM ASSOCIATION,

AMICUS CURIAE

INDEPENDENT PETROLEUM ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA,

AMICUS CURIAE

ENERGY CONSUMERS AND PRODUCERS ASSOCIATION, INC.,

AMICUS CURIAE

MOUNTAIN STATES LEGAL FOUNDATION, INDEPENDENT

PETROLEUM ASSOCIATION OF THE MOUNTAIN STATES,

and RocKy MOUNTAIN OIL and GAs ASSOCIATION

12

ATTORNEYS FOR APPELLANT

(a) Stephen Jones (Ward)

Jones & Gungoll

P.O. Box 3339

Enid, Oklahoma 73701

(405) 233-4321

For Independent Petroleum Association

of America

(a) Harold B. Scoggins, Jr.

1101 16th Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 466-8240

ATTORNEYS FOR APPELLEE

For Okla. Independent Petroleum Assn.

as Amicus Curiae

(a) Terry R. Doverspike

W. Bland Williamson

Pray, Scott, Williamson & Marlar

2910 Fourth National Bldg.

Tulsa, Oklahoma 74119

(918) 583-1366

For Energy Consumers & Producers Assn.

Amicus

(a) Fred Gipson

P.O. Box 1641

Seminole, Oklahoma 74368

(405) 382-5555

For Mountain States Legal Foundation, et al:

Kea Bardeen

(a) James G. Watt

1845 Sherman Street

Denver, Colorado 80028

(303) 861-0244

13

DATE PROCEEDINGS

11/22/77 Cause docketed; docketing statement, orig. & 9

ce.

11/30/77 Copy of Dist. Ct. order extending time to file

record to 12/28/77.

12/3/77 Appearance—Appellant (Ward)—Jones

12/23/77 Record on apeal, Vol. I, II (pleadings) (686 pp.),

Vols. III, IV (exhibit) (17 pp.), Vols. V, VI (transcript)

(208 pp.), orig. (911 pp.)

12/19/77 Appearance—Appellee, Moorman, Strass, McCord

12/29/77 Order—Assigned to Calendar B—Appellant’s brief

due 1/19/78—Seth

1/16/78 Appellant’s (Ward) motion for ext to 2/16/78 to

file brief—Orig. only, Order: Appellant GRANTED

to 2/16/78 to file brief—HKP—cons] ntfd.

4/4/78 Mot of Okla. Independent Petroleum Assn. for leave

to file brief amicus curiae w/consent, O & 13 cc, c/s

(replaced by mot filed 4/5/78)

Brief of Okla. Independent Petroleum Assn. as Amicus

Curiae, O & 13 cc, c/s (RECEIVED) (replaced by brief

attached to mot filed 4/5/78)

4/5/78 Mot of Okla. Independent Petroleum Assn. for leave

to file brief amicus curiae w/consent, w/brief attached,

O & 13 ce, c/s, replacing mot filed 4/4/78 w/brief

attached (to panel) BRIEF FILED 4/17/78

Appearance—Amicus Curiae—W. Bland Williamson,

Terry R. Doverspike

4/14/78 Appellee (U.S.A.) mot for ext to 5/1/78 to file

brief, O & 8 cc, c/s

Order—appellee (U.S.A.) GRANTED to 5/1/78 to file

brief—HKP—cnsl notf

14

DATE PROCEEDINGS

4/17/78 Order—motion for leave to file a brief amicus curiae

by Oklahoma Independent Petroleum Association is

granted; brief ordered filed as of 4/17/78—Lewis, Mc-

Williams

Amicus’ brief O & 25 cc, c/s (Energy Consumers & Pro-

ducers Assn)

5/1/78 Appellee’s (U.S.A.) mot for ext to 5/11/78 to file

brief, O & 3 cc, c/s

Mot of Independent Petroleum Assn. for leave to file

brief amicus curiae & for ext to 5/1/78 to file brief,

O & 4 cc, c/s (to panel 5/3/78)

Brief of Independent Petroleum Assn. as amicus curiae,

O&4cc

5/2/78 Order—appellee (U.S.A.) GRANTED to 5/11/78

to file brief—HKP—cns] note

5/8/78 Order: Upon consideration, Independent Petroleum

Association of America is GRANTED leave to file a brief

amicus curiae. Brief is ordered filed as of May 1, 1978.

Appellees’ consent to filing brief amicus curiae by Energy.

Consumers & Producers Assn, O only

5/15/78 Appellee’s (U.S.A.) mot for ext to 5/22/78 to file

brief, O & 3 cc, c/s

Order—appellee GRANTED to 5/22/78 to file brief. No

further extension will be granted—RLH—cns! notf’d

5/17/78 Appearance—Amicus Energy Consumers—Fred

Gipson

5/30/78 Appellee’s (USA) brief, O & 9 cc, c/s

6/2/78 Appellant’s mot for ext to 6/30/78 to file reply brief,

0 &38cc

Order—appellant GRANTED to 6/30/78 to file reply

brief—RLH—<cns]l

6/8/78 Appellee’s correction to brief, orig. & 9 cc.

15

DATE PROCEEDINGS

6/12/78 Appearance—Independent Petroleum Association—

Scoggins

6/23/78 Motion for leave to appear and file brief of amici

curiae and leave to participate in oral argument, orig.

& 9 cc, c/s (to

Amici Curiae brief, orig. & 9 cc., c/s (to panel 6/27/78)

6/28/78 Appellant’s mot for ext to 7/15/78 to file reply

brief, O & 4 cc

Order—appellant granted to 7/15/78 to file reply brief

—RLH—cnsl

7/6/78 Order—Mountain States Legal Foundation, Inde-

pendent Petroleum Association of the Mount States,

Rocky Mountain Oil and Gas Association granted leave

to file amici curiae brief; brief to be filed at 6/23/78;

motion for leave to participate in oral argument denied

without prejudice to right to renew motion when case is

set for oral argument.—Lewis, McWilliams

7/19/78 Appellant’s letter mot to file reply brief out of time,

O only

Appellant’s reply brief, O & 14 cc, c/s

Order—appellant granted leave to file reply brief out of

time

2/16/79 HRG. SET Hearing set for March, 1979, Term—

Denver, Colorado

2/27/79 M.PTP.ARG.F Amici’s motion participate in oral

argument file copies, c/s.

M.ADD.TM.ARG.F Amici’s motion for additional time

for oral argument filed, 4 copies, c/s.

2/28/79 M.PTP.ARG.SUB Amici’s motion to participate in

oral argument submitted

M.ADD.TM.ARG.SUBM Amici’s motion for additional

time for argument submitted (to panel).

16

DATE PROCEEDINGS |

3/5/79 M.ADD.TM.ARG.DISP. Granted Amici’s motion for

additional time for argument disposed of by Holloway

3/8/79 ADD.AUTH.F Appellee’s additional authorities filed,

10 copies,

ADD.AUTH.SUBM Appellee’s additional authorities sub-

mitted (to panel).

3/14/79 CS.ARG.SUBM—case argued and submitted—

Holloway, Barrett, McKay

5/10/79 OPN.F—published signed opinion filed by Hollo-

way, Barrett, McKay. Writing judge is Barrett.

JM.DISP—Judgment reversed and remanded by pub-

lished signed opinion of Holloway, Barrett, McKay

5/24/79 SCOST. ISS. Issued statement of costs in favor of

appellants against appellees in the amount of $65.00

6/1/79 MDT.ISS—Mandate issued to District Court

6-4-79 ROA.RMK. Letter re record sent to Judge Barrett

6-8-79 MDT.RCPT.F. Mandate receipt filed.

7/3/79 ROA.RTN.DC. Record on appeal returned to District

Court (Vol. I-VI)

7-10-79 ROA.RCPT.F. Record on appeal receipt filed

9/13/79 P.WRIT.CERT.F—appellee’s petition for writ of

certiorari filed 9/7/79—Supreme Court No. 79-394

11/8/79 P.WRIT.CERT.DISP—petition for writ of certio-

rari granted order of Supreme Court 11/5/79

17

—_—— oe 3 —

fz o’ § Z is ew te so PKC LWOD

. <_ RL rT ae .

fit Z re OFUMOTCGNL Pur Ape tay 7 oandotg ure i3

aide & i! ‘a pOFUNMOTONL £ 1-+J poAarcotd Caf wOdS

3 [ Lake dae

7 w 7 VD, 4 4 . ‘| 930°

a US ff ** fo “ fouaby a 7 hk ee 1S

eae

aus EF fide :aqluosag Bud} saheueg LOPUIWUOALAUT

*

- J 2 # “eft J’ = “A wf ; p0'|495I

fy eae ef if o7eq

e 2 . / FV iy fy 3272 Pa) ot “3 ‘

LfF fi 44 S/ / +P(] th: fs SE vad

Van: Sd, :paystuly NA $8, :pazunzs dnueal)

rd .

it i? Ae Ye a N77 SOA sli Lids

= eee ° i¢

tf ge TO oY we “ie ct & ai ii WT f- 5 at a >UOLZeUd 310 oCAL

nts | if Ie: Oe oo ie

if 5 ysis 1¢ ; LdS JO asney

= . - - e * 9

“VG? fF a LEAD #: VEU PY Ape tL Ltds $0 99495

20 OMe if ro4 y = St aor

‘

-

ef ee pUNONY a y 72 ‘PaLLIAS [2b4o} 2]

3 : e 5 7 te A Ck: cs ss $I D6! fe Ue 7A og »

(ia c /

— poy ge ge *3 77 Ta 7 *paysessy Aped Joti

4 Ate ,

Butog — OuIL I LIED " ayeq :paddois LLECS

° atts gn FT fre : ;

-up . Be Ftd A

ni awh) 7 ZaxJr me? / . 938 spasinoo9 LLtds

res Yas? ad oe a

gpa Sa ep ot Sig Pee ey ae

Ler Gas Pes 1é i. SA €)

‘new iy, $3 4 i Ey tf - Pad 507 id

} “i // F sf str ee vw ¢ a ef wD UOLIESO] LLEGS

-* , ‘ ;

ra .

de £ af TH ° ae ee ee ae ys SSOAPPY

eee Wh JIE 7, ¢7 ZH ay

me ‘ Pg f 2A ae J DEE? role lds

— s F sae 17 YO i Burqucday UdS.to4

“se : w thf > "ON 93Sey =

ee

saourpsqns snepizzey pur

oe, = Cm :Aq PdALII9y)

one-car ee Onn

“OT

“gl

yl

el

“ol

“OL

L$0

——--- —_- se

ee sou te op iy 793 2q Wiod Lucddd Vilds

—

2 7) Sok 2qucumorojyuy 03 Xdog

” ol

18

pal sn ssseleas Tbr fait 4

19

CERTIFIED MAIL: RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED

(819436)

Lou Ward

Box 1187

Enid, Oklahoma 73701

e

Gentlemen:

The Environmental Protection Agency has received a

report that your company was involved in the discharge

of a harmful quantity of oil, estimated to be 840 gallons

into waters of the United States, to wit: An unnamed

tributary of Boggy Creek near Enid, Garfield County,

Oklahoma on or about March 23, 1975 from a facility

which you own (or operate).

The 1972 Amendments to the Federal Water Pollution

Control Act (hereinafter, the “Act’’) prohibits the dis-

charge of oil or a hazardous substance into or upon the

waters of the United States in harmful quantities [33

U.S.C. 1821(b) (3)]. Any owner or operator of a vessel

or facility from which oil or a hazardous substance is

discharged shall be assessed a civil penalty by the Coast

Guard of not more than $5,000 [33 U.S.C. 1321 (b) (6) }.

The definition of harmful quantities of oil appears in

Title 40, Code of Federal Regulations, Section 110.3.

In order for this Agency to carry out its responsibilities

under the Act, you are required under authority of Sec-

tion 308 of the Act (33 U.S.C. Section 1318) to submit

a letter of explanation including the specific information

listed in Attachment A.

The letter of explanation must be submitted to: Mr.

Ralph Corley, 1600 Patterson, Suite 1100, Dallas, Texas

75201, within fourteen (14) days of receipt of this let-

ter. It must be signed by a duly authorized official of the

corporation or company. The information submitted will

be considered in evaluating whether the oil spill violated

Section 311. [Please note that your reply in no way

constitutes immediate notification of a spill to the ap-

propriate Federal agency, as required by Section 311

(b) (5).] Section 309 of the Act (33 U.S.C. Section

20

1319) provides civil and criminal penalties for failure to

submit information required under Section 308 and crimi-

nal penalties for knowingly making a false statement in

any submission under Section 308.

6AEEL:RCorley :x2142:WPC :sh: AEEL-11 :x3855:

5/13/75

6AEEL Benthul

[Illegible] 5/29/75

If you have any questions, please contact Ralph Corley,

Attorney, Legal Branch, Enforcement Division, at (214)

749-2142.

Sincerely yours,

Original Signed by

James J. Doyle

Director

Enforcement Division

Attachment

21

ATTACHMENT A

The following information is submitted concerning F7S-

1. Time and date of discharge: Time unknown, March

23, 1975.

2. Location of discharge, including:

A. Name of Municipality and State: Enid, Okla-

homa.

B. Name and address of industry or commercial

establishment at which the discharge oc-

curred: L. O. Ward, Operator, Blansit #2

Well SL/4 Section 17-22N-6W, Garfield

County, Oklahoma.

C. Distance from receiving waterway: Esti-

mated 100 yards.

D. Name of receiving waterway, or first named

waterway into which it flows: Boggie Creek.

. Type of material discharged: Oil.

. Quantity discharged: 20 bbl. or 840 gallons.

. Quantity of material which eventually reached the

receiving waterway, and date and time it was dis-

covered: Estimated 5-15 bbl. (Approximately 10-15

bbl. recovered.) Discovered PM March 24, 1975.

- Type of vessel or facility (Ship, Barge, Storage

Tank, Tank Truck, ete.) in which the oil was origi-

nally contained: Open earth working pit. (Pits

used during drilling operations. )

. Describe in detail what actually caused the discharge:

Oil had been produced during a short isolated test

from a second zone in the well. The test volume of

oil remained in the working pit for 90 days after the

completion crew had been released. Unusually high

rainfalls, accompanying extremely turbulent weather

filled the pits and caused overflow which floated down

10.

11.

12.

13.

22

to the run off tributary. Company personnel were

unaware, at the time, of pit filling due to the unac-

cessable location during the inclement weather.

Name and address of owner of facility causing the

discharge:

L. 0. Ward, Operator et al

Box 1187, Enid, Oklahoma 73701

Name and address of operator of facility causing the

discharge: Same as above.

Describe damage to the environment: Environment

affected was Native Grass. No damage to the vegeta-

tion or other environment. Vegetation is growing as

normal.

Described steps the above named owner or operator

took to clean up the spilled oil and dates and time

steps were taken: March 24. Upon discovery of the

spill, teams of men were immediately dispatched to

the spill area. Outside help was employed along with

company personnel. They employed barriers made

of wood and straw, plus tank trucks to pick up any

available free oil. The oil soaked straw and alfalfa

were transported from the area for separate contain-

ment. This activity lasted for three days. For sev-

eral days straw and alfalfa dams were replaced

daily to insure all oil being retrieved. Then a power

wash unit was employed to wash residue which ad-

hered to the grass and bruch. This fluid was also

picked up. It was later advised we burn any residue

debris. The clean operation was successful in full

restoration of the area.

Action by company to mitigate damage to the envi-

ronment: See 11. above.

Measures taken by your company to prevent future

spills: The pits were filled with a dozer. Straw and

absorbents are stored for emergency use. Dikes are

being used in facility to restrain migration.

23

14. Was water flowing into receiving waterway during

15.

16.

spill or clean-up?: Yes, Boggie Creek is a continuous

flowing body of water.

List the Federal and State Agencies to which the

owner or operator named in 8. and 9. above reported

this discharge:

Agency Location Official

EPA, Federal Agency _ Dallas, Texas David Curtis

Oklahoma Corp. Comm. Kingfisher, Lloyd Barrier

State of Oklahoma Oklahoma

City of Enid, Oklahoma Enid, Oklahoma Monty Montgomery

County Health Dept.

Garfield County,

Oklahoma (see attached letter)

List the names and addresses of persons you believe

have knowledge of the facts surrounding this in-

cident:

Curly Corwin Bill Fisher Rod Ylitalo

2135 Sundown Circle 1310 Gannon 138 Margaret Circle

Enid, Oklahoma Enid, Oklahoma Enid, Oklahoma

Submitting this report does not constitute an ac-

knowledgement of violation of any rules, regulations

or laws of the Environmental Protection Agency.

The undersigned believes the occurrence was unfor-

tunate, but that the quantity involved did not con-

stitute a hazardous material. The undersigned also

believes that the incident was handled prudently and

responsibly.

The above answers are true to the best of my knowl-

edge and belief.

Date of Signature: [illegible]

Signature of person completing this report

/s/ [L. O. Ward]

Case No.: F7S-652

24

[SEAL]

UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL

PROTECTION AGENCY

REGION VI

1600 Patterson

Dallas, Texas 75201

[Received Aug. 15, 1975]

Commander J. D. Webb (MEP)

Second U.S. Coast Guard District

Federal Building

1520 Market Street

St. Louis, Missouri 63103

Re: Our File F75-652

Dear Commander Webb:

Transmitted herewith is evidence which documents vio-

lation of 33 USC 1321(b) (3) by L. O. Ward, Box 1187,

Enid, Oklahoma 73701. We request that a civil penalty

be assessed against L. O. Ward pursuant to 33 USC 1321

(b) (6).

The alleged violation resulted from an oil spill into

Boggie Creek, Garfield County, Oklahoma, on or about

March 28, 1975. Approximately 10 barrels of oil were

discharged into Boggie Creek. All information trans-

mitted herewith was submitted by discharger pursuant

to 33 USC 1318.

We recommend that a civil penalty in the range of

$500 to $1000 would be appropriate for this spill. Our

recommendation is based upon an evaluation of the

gravity of the violation, an assumption that a penalty

with the suggested range will not have a significant effect

upon L. O. Ward to continue in business, and upon our

judgment that such a penalty is appropriate considering

the size of the company.

Please keep this office advised of the progress of this

ease. If you need assistance or additional information,

25

please contact Mr. Ralph Corley at (214) 749-2142 in

Dallas, Texas.

Sincerely yours,

/s/ Harless R. Benthul

HARLESS R. BENTHUL

Chief, Legal Branch

Enforcement Division

Enclosure (s)

26

[SEAL]

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

UNITED STATES COAST GUARD

Mailing Address:

U.S. Coast Guard (G-LMI/81)

Washington, D.C. 20590

Phone: 202-426-1527

5830/5-2

11 Feb. 1976

[Ree’d Feb. 16]

Jones & Gungoll

Attention: Stephen Jones, Esq.

P.O. Box 3339

Enid, Cklahoma 73701

Gentlemen:

The Commander, 2nd Coast Guard District, St. Louis,

Missouri, has forwarded the file in Penalty Case No.

2P50770, including your appeal on behalf of Mr. L. O.

Ward, owner of the oil drilling facility involved. The

appeal is from the action of the District Commander in

assessing a penalty of $500.00 against the company un-

der the authority of section 1321(b) (6) of Title 33, U.S.

Code (section 311(b) (6) of the Federal Water Pollu-

tion Control Act) for violation of section 1321(b) (3)

which prohibits the discharge of oil in harmful quantities

into or upon the waters of the United States. The as-

sessment was based on the finding that a harmful quantity

of oil, estimated at 840 gallons was discharged from the

facility into Boggie Creek, Garfield County, Oklahoma,

on 23 March 1975. The discharge occurred when a oil

drilling facility overflowed during a heavy rainfall. Your

appeal is denied for the reasons stated below.

First, you contend that the statute upon which the pro-

ceeding is based and the requirement to submit a written

statement to report a discharge is unconstitutional.

27

You further argue that the penalty assessed is contrary

to the weight of the evidence and that the penalty is

excessive.

The constitutionality of various provisions of the Act is

not, of course, a matter which can be decided by the

Coast Guard.

It is the mandate of Congress as expressed in the Federal

Water Pollution Control Act that there shall be no dis-

charges of oil into or upon the waters of the United

States. The Act provides that a penalty of not more

than $5,000.00 shall be assessed against the owner or

operator of any vessel or facility from which oil is dis-

charged in harmful quantities. The statute requires that

the following factors be considered in determining the

amount of the penalty to be assessed: the appropriate-

ness of the penalty to the size of the business of the

owner or operator; the effect on the owner’s or operator’s

ability to continue in business; and the gravity of the

violation. It is not necessary to find intent or negligence,

as the law prohibits any discharge of a harmful quantity

of oil.

In all oil pollution incidents it is incumbent upon the

person in charge to immediately notify the Coast Guard

of such discharges. A failure to do so is a criminal act

subjecting such persons (which includes an individual,

firm, corporation, association or partnership), to a fine

of not more than $10,000.00 or imprisonment for not

more than one year, or both.

It is felt that there is sufficient evidence shown in the

record to warrant the penalty assessed in this case. The

entire record has been reviewed and the penalty assess-

ment is considered fair and reasonable.

To carry out the intent of the law it is the policy of the

Coast Guard to assess a pénalty at or near the maxi-

mum unless a lesser penalty is clearly justified. I have

reviewed the arguments raised in your appeal and find

that proper consideration has been given to the applicable

28

provisions of law in evaluating the facts in this case.

The assessed penalty of $500.00 is approved.

The penalty of $500.00 is due and must be paid within

30 days from the date of receipt of this letter. Payment

should be made by check or money order payable to the

U.S. Coast Guard and forwarded to the Commander, 2nd

Coast Guard District (dl), Federal Building, 1520 Mar-

ket Street, St. Louis, Missouri 63103. Failure to make

payment within the period prescribed will result in the

ease being forwarded by the District Commander to the

U.S. Attorney for appropriate action.

Sincerely,

/3/ R. A. Ratti

R. A. RATTI

RADM, U.S. Coast Guard

Chief Counsel

ee

29

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF OKALHOMA

[Filed May 9, 1977]

No. CIV-76-0303-E

L. O. WARD, PLAINTIFF

v8.

WILLIAM G. COLEMAN, JR., individually and as

Secretary of Transportation, et al., DEFENDANTS

No. CIV-76-0456-E

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PLAINTIFF

vs.

L. O. WARD and L. O. WARD

OIL and GAS OPERATIONS, DEFENDANTS

PRE TRIAL ORDER

As a result of the pre trial conference held herein,

where Plaintiff was represented by Stephen Jones and the

Defendant United States of America by Richard Camp-

bell, their attorneys of record, the following issues of

fact and law were framed, stipulations made, and other

matters considered and ordered as follows:

1. The contentions of the United States of America

are as follows:

A. On or about March 23, 1975, an estimated twenty

barrels (840 gallons) of oil and drilling mud overflowed

from an open earth pit at a drilling site owned and

operated by L. O. Ward near Boggy Creek, Garfield

County, Oklahoma. That a harmful quantity of oil and

drilling mud, approximately ten barrels, flowed from the

30

discharge site into Boggy Creek, Garfield County,

Oklahoma.

B. Boggy Creek is a navigable water of the United

States within the meaning of 33 U.S.C. § 1862(7).

C. That the aforesaid discharge was a violation of

33 U.S.C. § 1321 (b) (3).

D. That the United States Coast Guard through

Commander J. D. Webb assessed an appropriate and rea-

sonable fine against L. O. Ward in the nature of a

penalty and that said Commander Webb reviewed all of

the material in his file in order to consider the size of

Defendant’s business, the affect of the penalty on De-

fendant’s ability to continue in business and the gravity

of the violation.

E. L. O. Ward has not paid the $500.00 civil penalty

imposed by Commander J. D. Webb after due demand has

been made.

2. L.0O. Ward’s contentions are as follows:

A. That the provisions of 33 U.S.C. § 1818(a) (4)

(A) (ii), 88 U.S.C. § 1819(c) (1), 83 U.S.C. § 1821 (b)

(5) (6) and 40 C.F.R. §110.1(L) and 110.4(b) are un-

constitutional as being violative of the Fifth Amendment

of the United States Constitution.

B. Boggy Creek is not a navigable stream within the

meaning of the Act.

C. Acting pursuant to the above mentioned statutes,

L. O. Ward submitted to the Environmental Protection

Agency, and its agents, a written report of the alleged

oil spill. Said report being prepared and filed pursuant

to the provisions of 33 U.S.C. § 1818(a) (4) (A) (ii).

D. The only material furnished to the Coast Guard

and the only basis upon which the penalty was deter-

mined against Mr. Ward was the material that Ward had

previously submitted to the United States Environmental

Protection Agency as outlined above.

E. That the statutes and procedures relied upon by the

United States of America and the Defendants in case

number CIV-76-0303 are violative of the Fifth Amend-

ment to the Constitution of the United States.

F. That the spill was caused by an act of God or

other acts beyond the control of L. O. Ward and that no

31

penalty should be assessed against him on the grounds

that Ward is without fault in the premises.

G. That upon notice of the spill Ward undertook all

proper steps to remove oil from water, prevent it from

going to a navigable stream and otherwise safeguard the

surrounding environment.

3. Admitted facts:

A. The identification of the parties, the venue, juris-

diction, residence, and citizenship is admitted except that

William Coleman is no longer Secretary of Transportation

but that the position has been filled by the Honorable

Brock Adams.

B. L. O. Ward is engaged in a business operation as

an independent oil and gas producer with his place of

business at 1420 Lahoma Road, Enid, Oklahoma.

C. On or about March 23, 1975, a drilling facility

owned and operated by L. O. Ward sustained a dis-

charge of oil.

D. Thereafter, notification was made of the spill to

the United States Environmental Protection Agency by

L. O. Ward or his agents. On or about June 24, 1975,

Ward submitted to the Environmental Protection Agency

and its agents a written report of the alleged oil spill.

Said report was prepared as required by law.

EK. Thereafter, on August 15, 1975, agents of the De-

fendant Train, acting pursuant to law, notified J. D.

Webb, Commander, Second United States Coast Guard

District, in St. Louis Missouri, of the alleged violation

by Ward of 33 U.S.C. § 1821(b) (ec). The United States

Environmental Protection Agency, headed by the Defend-

ant Train, and acting pursuant to his directions, requested

of the Coast Guard that a civil penalty be assessed

against the Plaintiff L. O. Ward pursuant to 33 U.S.C.

§ 1821 (b) (6).

F. On December 19, 1975, Commander J. D. Webb act-

ing on behalf on the Commandant of the Coast Guard

assessed a penalty of $500.00 against L. O. Ward be-

— of a finding of a violation of 33 U.S.C. § 1821 (b)

G. Thereafter, L. O. Ward notified J. D. Webb of his

desire to appeal and the appeal was subsequently denied.

32

H. At all material times herein, L. O. Ward has as-

serted as a defense that the statute upon which the pro-

ceedings were based is unconstitutional, that the require-

ment that he submit a written statement to report any

violations was unconstitutional and that the penalty of

$500.00 was contrary to the rate of the evidence and the

imposition was unconstitutional.

I. L. O. Ward exhausted all administrative remedies

prior to the filing of this suit. |

4. Was the spill which occurred on March 23, 1975,

the result of negligence by L. O. Ward or his agents

and servants or was it caused by events beyond his con-

trol and/or an act of God.

B. Did a harmful quantity of the discharge reach

Boggy Creek, Oklahoma.

C. The amount of the fine to be imposed, if any.

5. Contested issues of fact and law to be determined

by the Court:

A. Boggy Creek is a tributary of Skeleton Creek which

is a tributary of the Cimarron River which is a tributary

of the Arkansas River.

B. Are the statutes and procedures set forth above

and relied upon by the United States of America and the

Defendants in CIV-76-0303 violative of the Constitution

of the United States of America. |

C. Are the provisions of 40 C.F.R. 110.3(b) which

provides in part that a discharge of oil which causes a

“film or sheen or discoloration of the surface of the

water” constitutes a harmful quantity, arbitrary, un-

fair, capricious, and contrary to the intent of the Con-

gress, and therefore, an unreasonable exercise of the dele-

gated power and inconsistent with 33 U.S.C. § 1321 (b)

(6) and in violation of the Constitution of the United

States of America.

6. The parties are directed to exchange witness lists

by May 2, 1977, and the same is to be part of the pre

trial order as though fully copies at length herein. The

parties are to furnish the Court requested instructions

and trial briefs by May 5, 1977. All discovery is to be

completed by May 5, 1977. This matter is ordered for

33

trial on the civil jury docket beginning May 9, 1977, at

9:30 A.M. in the United States Courthouse at Enid,

Oklahoma, 115 West Broadway.

7. All exhibits to be introduced are to be marked in

advance and to be available for inspection by opposing

counsel at least six days before the trial date: to wit,

May 3, 1977. The exhibits of all parties thus marked

and produced for inspection may be received in evidence

if otherwise admissible without further authentication,

it being admitted that each is what it purports to be.

Should either party object to stipulating to authenticity

and identification of the exhibit, it will notify the other

party at least five days before trial in writing: to wit,

May 4, 1977.

The foregoing pre trial order has been approved by

both parties hereto, as evidenced by the signatures of

their counsel hereon, and this order is hereby entered, as

a result of which the pleadings passed out of the case

and the issues as joined herein be the issue to be tried,

and this pre trial order shall not be amended, except

by order of the Court pursuant to agreement of the

parties or to prevent manifest injustice.

Dated in Oklahoma City, this 6 day of May 1977.

/s/ (Tllegible]

United States District Judge

Approved as to form:

/s/ Stephen Jones

STEPHEN JONES

Attorney for Plaintiff

/s/ Richard Campbeli

RICHARD CAMPBELL

Attorney for Defendant

34

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF OKLAHOMA

Civil No. 76-0456-E

Consolidated

[Filed Sep. 6, 1977]

L. O. WARD, PLAINTIFF

—vs.—

WILLIAM G. COLEMAN, JR., individually and as Secretary

of Transportation for the United States of America,

RUSSELL E. TRAIN, individually and as Administrator

of the Environmental Protection Agency of the United

States of America, and ADMIRAL OWEN W. SILAR, in-

dividually and as Commandant United States Coast

Guard, United States of America, DEFENDANTS

Civil No. 76-0303-E

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PLAINTIFF

—vs.—

L. O. WARD & L. O. WARD OIL AND GAS OPERATIONS,

DEFENDANTS

FINAL JUDGMENT

The United States seeks to collect a $500 penalty which

has been administratively assessed against L. O. Ward

by the United States Coast Guard pursuant to 33 U.S.C.

35

§ 1321(b) (6) for an alleged discharge of oil into navi-

gable waters. The Court has already found that the

penalty imposed was civil in nature, that the self-report-

ing provision of 33 U.S.C. § 13821(b) (5) does not violate

the Fifth Amendment’s protection against self-incrimina-

tion, that the imposition of a penalty after notice and

hearing withstands constitutional attack, and that the

definition of “harmful quantities” of oil at 40 C.F.R.

§ 110.3 is a valid regulation under 33 U.S.C. § 1321(b)

(4). Ward v. Coleman, 423 F.Supp. 1352. The case was

tried to a jury on May 10, 1977.

The parties had stipulated that a facility owned and

operated by Ward sustained a discharge of oil on or

about March 23, 1975. At trial, the following additional

facts were established by undisputed testimony. The dis-

charge resulted when the entire contents of a shale pit

connected to Ward’s drilling operations drained out.

Some of the oil reached a small draw near the shale pit.

Some of the oil flowed down the draw, and some was

deposited on the banks of the draw, and on vegetation

in the draw. The draw flows in a northerly direction,

and enters Boggy Creek at a point approximately 2000

feet north of the point where the oil entered the draw.

Some of the oil flowed at least as far as a point about

100 feet from the confluence of the draw with Boggy

Creek. Although defendants’ witnesses denied that any

oil reached Boggy Creek, the Court concluded that the

jury could reasonably find that oil in a harmful quan-

tity’ did reach Boggy Creek. The Court submitted an

interrogatory to the jury. In response, the jury found

that oil did flow in a visible quantity from the draw

into Boggy Creek.

The parties had stipulated that Boggy Creek is a

tributary of Skeleton Creek, which is a tributary of the

Cimarron River, which is a tributary of the Arkansas

River. The Court takes judicial notice that the Arkansas

River is navigable in fact. The Court concludes that

’“Harmful quantity” has been administratively defined to in-

clude discharges which “. . . cause a film or sheen or discoloration

of the surface of the water. . .”, 40 C.F.R. § 110.3(b).

36

boggy creek is a navigable water of the United States for

the purposes of the Federal Waiter Pollution Control Act,

pursuant to 33 U.S.C. 1362(7). Untied States v. Ash-

land Oil and Transportation Co., 504 F.2d 1817 (C.A.

6, 1974); United States v. Phelps Dodge Corp., 391 F.

Supp. 1181 (D. Ariz., 1975).

The Court concludes that Ward is liable for a civil:

penalty under 33 U.S.C. § 1821 (b) (6), inasmuch as he

is the owner and operator of an onshore facility from

which oil was discharged in harmful quantities into the

navigable waters of the United States.

The penalty to be imposed is a question for the Court.

United States v. J. B. Williams Co., 498 F.2d 414, 438

(C.A. 2, 1974) ; United States v. ITT Continental Baking

Co., 485 F.2d 16, 21 (C.A. 10, 1973). The Court re-

ceived evidence on two matters that it found relevant to

the reasonableness of the penalty assessed by the Coast

Guard. First, there was evidence concerning the cause

of the discharge. This evidence was inconclusive. Second,

there was undisputed testimony that Ward had his em-

ployees and independent contractors conduct clean-up

operations beginning on March 25, 1975.2 The Court finds

that the cause of the spill is unknown, and that Ward’s

clean-up operations were good, and that $500 is therefore |

an excessive penalty. The Court therefore reduces the

penalty to $250.

The Court granted Ward’s request for a second hear-

ing, over the objections of the United States. At that

hearing, the Court received evidence on the harmful

effects of oil on domestic animals, wildlife, aquatic life

and vegetation. Two expert witnesses called by Ward

denied that the mere presence of a sheen could establish

that an oil discharge was toxic. One of these witnesses

also stated, however, that a quantity of oil that produced

a rainbow sheen might have a harmful effect on aquatic

life. The evidence also showed that the presence of a

sheen demonstrated that a finite amount of oil had been

: The Government objected that evidence of Ward’s clean-up oper-

ations was irrelevant to the size of the penalty, citing United

States v. W. B. Enterprises, 378 F.Supp. 420, 422 (S.D.N -Y., 1974).

37

discharged, and that the minimum amount spilled could

be determined from the size and appearance of the sheen.

Finally, the evidence showed that it would be adminis-

tratively unworkable to require that every discharge of

oil be scientifically analyzed before it could be deemed

“harmful” for the purposes of 33 U.S.C. § 1321. The

Court therefore reaffirms its conclusion that the defini-

tion of harmful quantities at 40 C.F.R. § 110.3, and in

particular, the “sheen test” at 40 C.F.R. § 110.3(b), are

lawful and constitutional. United States v. Boyd, 491

F.2d 1163 (C.A. 9, 1973) ; United States v. Chevron Ol

Co., 9 ERC 1503 (E.D. La., 1976).

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED AND ADJUDGED

that defendants L. O. Ward and L, O. Ward Oil and Gas

Operations are jointly and severally liable to the United

States for a civil penalty of $250.

/s/ Luther B. Eubanks

United States District Judge

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

/s/ Earl Salo

EARL SALO

Attorney, Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530

/s/ Stephen Jones

STEPHEN JONES

Attorney for L. 0. Ward

P.O. Box 3339

Enid, Oklahoma

38

UNITED STATES COAST GUARD

23 FEB 1973

COMMANDANT INSTRUCTION 5922.11A

Subj: Pollution Law Enforcement

1. Purpose. This instruction promulgates guidance for

the assessment of civil penalties pursuant to Section 311

(b) (6) of the Federal Water Pollution Control Act

(FWPCA).

2. Cancellation. Commandant Instruction 5922.11 is

cancelled.

3. Discussion.

a. It is Coast Guard policy that every reported or

discovered discharge of oil be investigated and that every

discharge in violation of Section 311(b) (6) result in the

assessment of a civil penalty.

b. In cases with extenuating circumstances, mitigation

may be considered upon review and a compromise amount

agreed upon. In those cases, the assessed penalty will

become a matter of record as well as the compromise

action taken.

c. In determining the amount of a penalty, only the

factors set forth in the Act shall be considered. In this

way, it is anticipated that the general level of penalties

will be raised to a more meaningful level.

4. Action.

a. Enclosure (1) shall be used as the guideline for the

assessment of a civil penalties pursuant to Section 311

(b) (6), FWPCA.

A »

39

b. Information contained herein is intended to be used

in conjunction with the National Contingency Plan as

implemented by COMDTINST 3020.3 series.

/s/ J. D. McCann

J. D. MCCANN

Acting Chief

Office of Marine Environment

and Systems

Encl: (1) Coast Guard policy for the application of

Civil penalties under Section 311(b) (6), FWPCA

Enclosure (1) to COMDTINST 5922.11A

23 FEB 1973

COAST GUARD POLICY FOR THE APPLICATION

OF CIVIL PENALTIES UNDER SECTION 311 (b)

(6), FWPCA

Consistent with the language of the Federal Water Pollu-

tion Control Act, Coast Guard policy requires the assess-

ment of a civil penalty for each discharge of oil in vio-

lation of Section 311(b) (3). A maximum penalty of

$5,000 is authorized by Section 311(b) (6) ; however, the

drafters of the Act envisioned lesser penalties in certain

circumstances. Section 311(b) (6) provides that, “In de-

termining the amount of the penalty . . . the appropriate-

ness of the penalty to the size of the business of the

owner or operator charged, the effect on the owner or

operator’s ability to continue in business, and the gravity

of the violation, shall be considered .. .” That is to say

that the penalty might be less than $5,000 for a small

business, for a business which would be forced out of

operation by the maximum penalty, or for a violation of

minor gravity. It should be noted, however, that these

factors are not to be considered in determining whether

a discharge should be investigated or whether a penalty

should be assessed. The statute requires that a civil pen-

alty be assessed for each violation of Section 311(b) (3).

40

It is Coast Guard policy to assume that the penalty will

be at or near the maximum unless a lesser penalty is

clearly justified by one of the factors listed in Section

311(b) (6).

A number of considerations may be made in determining

the gravity of a violation, such as the degree of culpa-

bility associated with the violation, the prior record of the

responsible party, and the amount of oil discharged. Sub-

stantial intentional discharges should result in severe

penalties, as should cases of gross negligence, and so on.

This is not to suggest that other considerations may not

combine to determine the gravity of a violation.

Two factors should not be considered in fixing the amount

of a civil penalty: (1) the responsible party’s removal

effort or expense and (2) a decision by Federal and/or

state authorities to bring criminal action for the same

discharge. Liability for a civil penalty under Section

311(b) (6) attaches at the time of discharge. It is en-

tirely unrelated to the subsequent removal responsibility

for which the discharger must bear the expense, either

directly or by reimbursing the Pollution Fund. In no

case may a responsible party avoid or reduce a civil

penalty by removing the discharged oil. Federal or state

criminal prosecutions for the same discharge do not af-

fect the imposition or amount of a civil penalty. Criminal

prosecutions are brought under separate authority such

as the Refuse Act of 1899. They are neither intended

as substitutes for civil penalties nor do they create a

legal bar to subsequent civil penalties. Civil penalties

should, therefore, be assessed for all violations of Section

311(b) (3) without regard to pending or anticipated

criminal action.

41

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF OKLAHOMA

Case No. CIV-76-0303-E

Consolidated

L. O. WARD, PLAINTIFF

vs.

WILLIAM G. COLEMAN, JR., ET AL., DEFENDANTS

&

Case No. CIV-76-0456-E

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PLAINTIFF

vs.

L. O. WARD & L. O. WARD OIL & GAS OPERATIONS,

DEFENDANTS

TRANSCRIPT OF PROCEEDINGS

HAD BEFORE THE

HONORABLE LUTHER B. EUBANKS

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE,

AND A JURY

ON MAY 9TH, 1977

IN ENID, OKLAHOMA

Reported by:

KEN COURTEMANCHE, C.S.R.

EE ————————eEoE*wem=_ eee ae

42

APPEARANCES

JONES & GUNGOLL, Attorneys and Counsellors at

Law, P.O. Box 3339, Enid, Oklahoma, 73701, BY: MR.

STEPHEN JONES, appearing on behalf of the Plain-

tiff in Case No. CIV-76-0303-E and appearing on behalf

of the Defendant in Case No. CIV-76-0456-E.

MR. EARL SALO, United States Attorney, Depart-

ment of Justice, Washington, D.C., 20530, appearing on

behalf of the Defendant in Case No. CIV-76-0303-E and

on behalf of the Plaintiff in Case No. CIV-0456-E.

* * * *

[43] THE COURT: If you want the exhibits all re-

ceived at this time, we’ll do it, or as you need them, at

your election.

[44] MR. JONES: We have no objection to his ex-

hibits and I believe he has none to ours, as to identifi-

cation and authenticity.

THE COURT: What are the numbers of them, could

you give us those?

THE CLERK: Plaintiff’s 1 and 2 and Defendant’s 1

thru 7.

MR. JONES: May I have just a minute, Your Honor?

THE COURT: Yes.

MR. JONES: Your Honor, we have no objection to

the identification and authenticity of Plaintiff’s 1, but

because of the issues previously raised, which the Court

is familiar with, involving the Fifth Amendment, we

object to Plaintiff’s Exhibit 1 on the grounds that it’s

in violation of the self-incrimination clause in that this

is a criminal count—or civil count.

THE COURT: Very well. Let me make this obser-

vation to the Jury: I’m going to receive the evidence

over the objection of the Defendant and at the same time

conceding that in my opinion it’s a very, very close ques-

tion. That’s a matter to be ruled on in connection with

the Pretrial Motions, in order to protect his record, and

to keep his position consistent, Mr. Jones must object to

it.

|

;

j

j

/

'

:

43

MR. JONES: I have no objection to the other ex-

hibits.

THE COURT: Fine. Government’s Exhibits 1 and 2

will [45] be received. The Defendant’s Exhibits 1 thru

7 will be received into evidence. Go ahead, Mr. Salo.

GARY SOBER

called as a witness on behalf of the Government, after

having been first duly sworn to tell the truth, the whole

truth, and nothing but the truth, testified as follows,

to-wit:

DIRECT EXAMINATION

QUESTIONS BY MR. SALO:

Would you state your full name, please?

Gary Sober.

Where do you live, Mr. Sober?

Right now I live in Edmond.

Could you give the address for the record?

3577 Wagonwheel Road.

All right. Where do you work, Mr. Sober?

I work for the Oklahoma State Department of

Health, Water Quality Division.

Q Do you have a title? A position?

A I guess it would be a Sanitarian or Environmental

Technician.

Q All right. Do you have some degrees that qualify

you for that position?

A I have a BS degree from Oklahoma State Uni-

versity.

Q In what subject?

A Wildlife Management and Zoology.

[46] Q When did you earn that?

A 1969.

Q And, do you have another degree?

A I have a Master’s in Fisheries.

Q Fisheries?

A Yes.

PO PO PO PO

44

Where did you earn that?

At Oklahoma State.

What year did you receive that degree?

’73, I believe.

All right. How long have you been working for

the State Department of Health?

A I started in March of 1974.

Q All right. Could you describe your duties working

for the State Department of Health?

A Well, when I was assigned to Garfield County, I

was assigned as a Sanitarian, and my duties covered the

field of water, air, solid waste, food, restaurant type in-

spections, we had some thirty-something programs that

we cover here in the County.

Q All right. Now, have your duties included inves-

tigating spills of harmful substances into the water?

A When we are—When we are notified of these, our

duties were to investigate these types of spills.

Q All right. Now, if I can take you back to March of

[47] 1975, where were you assigned at that time, to

work?

A I was in Garfield County, assigned to Garfield

County.

Q All right. On March 25 of 1975, did you happen to

observe an oil spill?

THE COURT: Excuse me, just a minute, Mr. Salo.

Mr. Cloudd, you’re the fartherest away, can you hear

the witness all right, is he speaking all right?

JUROR CLOUDD: Yes.

THE COURT: Very well; go ahead.

Q (By Mr. Salo) On March 25 of 1975, did you

happen “to observe an oil spil! as part of your work?

A March 25 of ’75?

Q That’s right.

A Yes.

Q Okay. Could you describe to the Jury how you

happened to observe that spill?

A I was out at the Enid Landfill doing a routine in-

spection of the sanitary facilities. We have to do so

many a year to check out on the program to see if they’re

putting their waste in right and covering it up and

OPO PO

ee < “

45

there is a part that’s open to the public where they have

—they have really divided into two parts, one part for

the City refuse and another part for people cleaning

out their garages, or whatever, and take it over and

dump it into this other part. As I was over there to

check upon the clean-up operations and see how [48]

much trouble they were having, and I noticed an oil

tank car in an oil pit, just down to the South of this

particular area, and there was some oil on the ground

and I went down there further to investigate and this

is where I first saw the spill. When I—When I con-

fronted the man who—When I first saw the spill, I

thought it was—that it was from maybe—maybe they

were changing the oil from their heavy equipment out

there and putting it into this site, and I went and ap-

proached the man who was in charge of the operation

and I asked him about this and he told me that it was

not his site and the City didn’t have anything to do

with it.

Q What man was that that you spoke to?

A This was Nolan Rich. I believe he’s the Director

out there, he’s still out there, I believe.

Q All right. Can you describe now the spill that

you saw?

A Well, it was coming out of the dike. I don’t know

how many of you are familiar with this type of oil re-

tention pit, but if—It was probably eight to ten feet

across and twenty-thirty foot long and they usually

have—most of them generally have—you have a three

foot above the level of the liquid in there to maintain,

you need to maintain this level to keep the runoff and

things in case you get a large amount of rain, to keep

it from falling out. Well, this dike had—I noticed

when I approached it on the East end of it, there was

[49] more or less a V-notch cut in the top and it was

about a foot, maybe a foot and a half deep, where it

looked like somebody had taken something and cut the

top of it out. You find this type in certain areas where

they use—skim the top layer of water off and retain

other things like if you have a sedimentation pond, a

46

lagoon system, domestic type waste. I noticed this be-

cause it was cut in such a way that it looked like it was

done mechanically, and this is what brought me up to

follow the trail of oil out of this site.

Q All right. So, you say there was a trail of oil

leading from that notch?

A There was no oil flowing, there was oil-soaked

ground, oil soaked in the ground where it had flowed

out.

Q Did you follow that?

A I followed it down to this little creek. Well, it

really—It was flowing water that was flowing down—

As Mr. Jones says, it’s a gully, but there was flowing

water in this gully.

Q All right. How far was it from the pit down

to the gully?

A Fixty, sixty feet, maybe more, it’s really hard to

say, hard for me to give an exact number.

Q All right. Did you observe any oil in the gully

itself?

A Well, there was—Like I say, there was water flow-

[50] ing through the gully at this time and there was

oil at various points down the gully.

Q Was the oil on the surface of the water?

A There was oil on the surface of the water, also

oil on some of the vegetation and plants surrounding it.

Q Did you follow the gully to see how far the oil

went?

A Yes, we followed the gully and the course it took

and there is areas where there might be a little buildup

of water and there was oil there and you could follow it

all the way on down into the creek.

Q That’s into Boggy Creek?

A Yes, into Boggy Creek.

Q All right. Did you see signs of oil as far down as

Boggy Creek?

A Yes, there was oil that was in Boggy Creek, in

certain areas of Boggy Creek.

Q Did you see that on the surface of the water in

Boggy Creek?

ee eR ee eee

AT

A You could see it on the surface of the water and

there was some, oh, tree limbs and stuff like this that

were in the Creek that had oil on it, and there was

some oil on the sides of the bank.

Q All right. Did you follow Boggy Creek then to see

how far the oil went?

A Yes, we followed Boggy Creek down to Sixteenth

Street [51] and the oil ran out before Sixteenth Street.

There was no signs of oil any farther than Sixteenth

Street.

Q All right. Now, do you have anyway of knowing

if earlier there had been signs of oil further down on

Sixteenth Street?

A No.

Q All right. When you were investigating this path

of oil, did you see any signs of salt that would have

been deposited with the oil?

A It would be hard to say if—It would be hard to

say, it was definitely from that.

Q Did you see salt at this time on March 25?

A There was a few places there that did show some

salt deposits, but you couldn’t—you couldn’t bring any

connection in—I couldn’t tell where they came from.

Q I see. Could you describe the oil that we are talk-

ing about, could you be at all specific about how it looked?

A Well, to me it looked like waste oil, like after you

would change the oil in your car and put it out some-

where, oil—It didn’t have the dark color characteristics

of crude as far as being raw crude oil, but it had char-

acteristics of being oil that was—oh, diluted with water,

you know, oil that has water in it and it would be sort

of a milkier type of color than just what regular raw

crude would be.

Q All right. Now, in your work for the Health De-

part-[52]ment, do you regard spills of oil like the one

you have just described as being harmful to the en-

vironment?

MR. JONES: I object to that as leading and sug-

gestive and no proper foundation laid and the witness

not qualified to answer such a question and is beyond

the scope of the fact in this case.

48

THE COURT: Well, I think you may further qualify

him in that regard, Counsel, but I will sustain it at the

moment.

MR.SALO: All right.

THE COURT: On the basis that the witness has not

been qualified.

MR.SALO: All right.

THE COURT. As an expert in that particular area.

Q (By Mr. Salo) Is it part of your job or has it

been part of your job with the Health Department to do

reports on spills of oil and other harmful substances?

A We get called in on various spills of what we call

hazardous substances, whether it be acid or pesticides, oil,

salt water type spills, cattle feedlot runoff, stuff like that.

We get called in and usually our office is no more than

an investigating type body that calls in other agencies

and this is really all that we do, is go out and notify

the people that these things have happened. As far as

fish kills and stuff like this, the Wildlife Department

was notified on these particular instances.

[53] Q In the academic work you did to earn your two

degrees, did your studies include studying the effect of

pollutants on fish or vegetation?

A My studies did not include any courses directly re-

lated to effects of pollution on fish. They were mainly

in culture and environmental aspects.

Q All right. Have you had the chance to investigate

oil spills where there were fish kills?

A Yes, I have.

Q So, are you familiar with the effect that oil and

substances that are discharged with oil, the effects they

have on fish, for example?

A Yes, in certain situations, I am.

All right. Could you explain what some of the

effects of oil spills into water are?

MR. JONES: If the Court please, I’m going to object

to that unless it can be shown that such effects were

present here or unless there is something about Boggy

Creek, detective water from the Atlantic Ocean to the

Gulf of Mexico or the Great Lakes—That’s too broad a

A ak Se Nate ie et ih a

Rte a re Tle Cnc A laren, ht Avie EGA Rate. ae

49

question, is the basis of my objection. It’s not properly

framed for the facts of this case.

THE COURT: Would you rephrase it, Counsel?

Q (By Mr. Salo) All right. Well, did you see any

specific harmful effects of this oil spill on either—on

[54] vegetation, for example?

A There was—I observed no fish kill.

THE COURT: Well, he said vegetation.

THE WITNESS: Vegetation.

THE COURT: That was his inquiry, did you see

any harmful effect on vegetation?

THE WITNESS: Harmful effects on vegetation. You

would have to go with—a long-lasting effect or a tem-

porary effect or what? There were no long-lasting effects,

harmful effects on the vegetation.

Q (By Mr. Salo) All right. Now, you told us how

you followed the oil, evidence of it as far down as Six-

teenth Street. In your experience in investigating oil

spills, will some of the oil continue on down the stream

and yet remain undetected?

MR. JONES: If the Court please, that’s too broad a

question. It assumes facts not in evidence and I think

we are entitled to know what did happen, not what might

have happened in the absence of other evidence.

THE COURT: I think he may show what he saw,

tell the Jury, go ahead, what you saw.

THE WITNESS: Like I say, I had—past Sixteenth

Street, I observed no oil on either the banks, vegetation

or any types of debris, other debris that was in the

Creek, so I cannot say that it went on down or it didn’t.

[55] Q (By Mr. Salo) All right. Now, I would like

to show you this document which is marked Plaintiff’s

Exhibit 1. Have you seen that document before?

A Yes.

Q Could you tell us what it is?

A It’s a report that Mr. Ward filled out to send to

the Environmental Protection Agency.

Q Is that the report on the spill that you have been

describing for us?

A Yes.

50

MR. SALO: All right. I have no more questions,

Your Honor.

THE COURT: You may cross examine, Mr. Jones.

* * * *

169] THE COURT: So, we’ll hear the Defense wit-

nesses now. You may call your first witness for the

Defendant.

MR. JONES: The Defendant calls Curly Corwin.

B. V. CORWIN

called as a witness on behalf of the Defendant, after

having been first duly sworn to tell the truth, the whole

truth, and nothing but the truth, testified as follows,

to-wit:

DIRECT EXAMINATION

QUESTIONS BY MR. JONES:

Q Would you state your name for the Court and Jury,

please, and spell your last name for the Reporter?

B. V. Corwin, C-o-r-w-i-n.

Do you have a nickname, Mr. Corwin?

Yes, I do, Curly.

What is it?

Curly.

Now, would you be sure to speak up loud enough

so all the members of the Jury can hear you, the Court

and Mr. Salo, the Government’s Counsel, sitting here

at the first table. Where do you live, Mr. Corwin?

A Ilivein Enid, 2185 Sundown Circle.

Q What is your principal occupation?

A Iam in the oil field service business.

Q How long have you been in that line of work?

A For eighteen years.

[70] Q In March of 1975, were you connected in any-

way with the oil lease known as Blansit #2, of L. O.

Ward?

A Yes, sir, I was.

Q And, where was that lease?

OPOPrPO YS

51

A That lease is approximately three-quarters of a

mile South of what is now on Garrett Road in Enid,

and a quarter of a mile East.

* * * *

(77] Q All right, sir. You may return to your seat,

sir. Mr. Corwin, during the latter part of March of

1975, did you have occasion to talk with anyone from

the Health Department?

Yes, sir, I did.

Do you recall who you talked to?

I don’t recall the name, no.

Do you recall when it was?

Yes, it was March 25.

All right. Would you explain to the Court and

Jury, please, how it was that you happened to some in

contact with this gentleman from the Health Department?

A One of the office personnel from Mr. Ward’s office

called me on my mobile phone and asked me if I would

return a call to this member of the Health Department,

that he wanted to talk to me.

Q Allright, sir. Did you do that?

A Yes, I did.

Q All right. Now, what did this gentleman tell you,

just in substance, not the exact conversation, but what

was he calling about?

A He called to tell me that one of Mr. Ward’s wells

that I was looking after had an oil spill.

Q What action, if any, did you take after that con-

versation with the official of the Health Department?

[78] A I don’t ever recall talking to him again, it’s

possible I did.

No, I mean after you talked to him that day on

March 25, 1975, what did you do?

A Well, I immediately proceeded to the location to

survey the damage.

Q All right, sir. When you got there, what did you

observe?

A I walked the draw, so to speak, from the location

back to Boggy Creek and there had, in fact, been some

oil run-off of the location and down that draw.

J * * *

OPO POP

52

[80] Q Now, after you made an examination of the

site, what [81] anything, did you do?

A Well, as I recall, I immediately called a bulldozer

and a vacuum truck and a crew of roustabouts and pro-

ceeded with cleanup operations, to try to clean up as

much of it as possible.

Q Okay. Now, what did you do at that time, when

you say you cleaned it up?

MR.SALO: Your Honor—

THE WITNESS: Well, I took a bulldozer—

MR. SALO: For the record, I would like to preserve

our objection that the cleanup is irrelevant to the civil

penalty.

THE COURT: Yes, the objection will be overruled, in

view of the Court at this moment, that may not be an

issue for the Jury, it might be to the Court with regard

to any mitigation, should ultimately the decision be

reached for the Defendant. The objection is overruled.

You may answer.

Q (By Mr. Jones) Tell me what you did to clean

it up.

A Well, the first thing I done was to take the bull-

dozer and I constructed a dam in the area of the road,

close to Boggy Creek, earth and fill, to prevent anything

from going—should any reason it decide to rain or any-

thing like that, to prevent it from going on down into the

Creek, and we proceeded with our cleanup operations

from there backwards from the well with a vacuum truck,

trying to pick up all of the [82] visible oil and clean it

up in anyway possible.

Q All right. Now, was Mr. Ward present during this

cleanup operation?

A Idon’t recall Mr. Ward being there.

Q Do you know where he was?

A I don’t recall right at the minute. He was on an-

other well somewhere, if I remember correctly and I pro-

ceeded with the cleanup operations in lieu of him being

there immediately.

Q Now, how long did you spend on these cleanup

operations, Mr. Corwin?

53

A AsI recall, I spent a portion of the 25th, all day

the 26th and a portion of the 27th.

Q Did you personally observe any further cleanup

operations?

A Yes, I did. At that time, due to my work schedule,

Mr. Ward had some of his company personnel come in

and take over the cleanup operations and I merely drove

by daily and offered my assistance or whatever.

Q What did you observe that they did, if anything?

A Well, they—they cleaned up every drop of oil up

and down that draw from all the way—

Q Now, after you constructed this earth dam, did any

other oil go past it?

A Not to my knowledge.

Q At anytime from the time you go out there, through

[83] the cleanup period, did you ever see any sheen or

discoloration of Boggy Creek caused by any weathered

oil from the shale pit?

A No, sir, I didn’t.

Q Now, did you see any evidence that, prior to your

being there, that any of this substance had entered

Boggy Creek?

A No, sir.

Q Did you observe any damage to the immediate en-

vironment?

A Do you mean up and down the draw?

Q Well, let’s go first to Boggy Creek and then the

draw.

A No, I don’t believe any of it ever reached—arrived

at Boggy Creek.

Q Now, when you were out there several days later,

was there still water in the gully?

A Yes.

Q When the cleanup operation was completed, was

there any visible sign of the oil?

A No. I thought they done an exceptional job of

cleaning it up.

Have you, in your eighteen years of experience in

the oil field business, seen cleanup operations of other

similar spills?

A Yes, sir, I have.

54

Q And, approximately how many have you seen?

A That’s—It would be very numerous—I don’t keep

[84] track, but probably a hundred.

Q What was your opinion of the cleanup operation or

what is your opinion of the cleanup operation out here

at this site?

A Well, actually, I think Mr. Ward probably spent

more money and time and effort on that one than the

average, the ones I’ve been involved with.

MR. JONES: If I may approach the witness, Your

Honor?

THE COURT: Surely.

Q (By Mr. Jones) Mr. Corwin, I will hand you here

what previously has been received into evidence as a

series of photographs, marked and identified as Defend-

ant’s Exhibits 1 thru 6, and ask you, please, if you would

look at Defendant’s Exhibit 2 and tell the Court and

Jury, please, what that is, what does that picture show.

A This is the Blansit #2 location standing South

of the well head looking back North down the draw in

question on the right-hand side of the map.

Q All right. Now, that is a recent photograph, is it

not?

A Yes, that has been since the reserve pit and all the

pit areas have been filled.

Q All right. So, now, just show the Court and Jury

on this picture, if you can, where this pit was.

[85] A You can see—

THE COURT: Why don’t you stand over there in

front of them. I’m afraid they can’t see much from

where you are. Just step over there and point it out to

them. Counsel, if you want to look—

THE WITNESS: If you will look in the photo, you

ean see a different color of dirt running along at the base

of where this man is standing and down to this area

right here (indicating). The reserve pit is approximately

125 foot square and it would be in this (indicating) area

of the top of this hill that you see right there (indicat-

ing), the gray, the gray area.

———

55

Q (By Mr. Jones) Okay. Where is shale pit?

A It would be right where this (indicating) man is

standing, right there (indicating).

All right, sir. Now, I hand you, Mr. Corwin—

THE COURT: I’m afraid you might be blocking the

view of someone.

Q (By Mr. Jones) I will hand you Defendant’s Ex-

hibit No. 5 and ask you, sir, what that is?

A That is a picture standing on the corner of the

location, it would be back North and East of the well

head and looking down the draw.

Q All right. Now, where is the gully or draw in that

picture?

[86] A It’s very distinct right down through the mid-

dle of the picture. You can see it right down through

the middle of the picture.

Q Now, I will hand you, Mr. Corwin, Defendant’s

Exhibit 3 and ask you, sir, what that picture depicts?

A Okay. This would be the draw area, I would say

two to 300 feet, right before you go into Boggy Creek.

You can see the road I diagramed right there (indicat-

ing), it runs right by that big tree, the City’s little ac-

cess trail to get to the back of their property. You can

see it right at the edge of the Creek there (indicating).

Q All right. Now, this was a recent picture, but is

this vegetation and what you see there, is that essen-

tially the same as what it was in March of ’75, have

there been any trees cut down or anything there that you

can remember?

A No.

Q All right. Now, I will hand you, Mr. Corwin, De-

fendant’s Exhibit 6, and ask you what that picture de-

picts?

A This is a portion of the draw, just a short area

of the draw that the spill occurred in.

Q And, Defendant’s Exhibit 1?

A This looks like the draw immediately where it

dumps into Boggy Creek, I would say Boggy Creek would

be maybe 25 feet on the other side or between 25 and

50 feet on the other side of this big log. That’s looking

North down the draw.

EE

56

[87] Q And, Defendant’s Exhibit 4?

A Well, this would be a portion of the same area.

This draw goes down into Boggy Creek, this (indicat-

ing) is trash from the dump and whatnot, laying in the

bottom of that draw, I believe.

Q All right, sir. You may resume your seat, sir.

Mr. Corwin, who built the pits out there?

A They were—Mr. Ward contracted Corwin & Hauth,

Incorporated, a dirt construction company, which I own

part of it.

Q So, your company built the pits?

A Yes.

Q You’re sure there was no dike or retaining wall

around this shale pit?

A I’msure there wasn’t, yes.

MR. JONES: I have nothing further. Thank you,

sir.

THE COURT: All right. You may cross examine.

CROSS EXAMINATION

QUESTIONS BY MR. SALO:

Q Mr. Corwin, those—the photograph that we looked

at, those are recent photographs, is that right?

A I believe so, yes.

Q When you were showing the area where the oil

spill had been, do these photographs give an accurate

picture of what the area looked like at the time you

discovered the oil [88] spill?

A Yes, I would say the draw prior to the oil spill

looked a good deal like that, yes.

Q I’m referring more specifically to what the ground

looked like in the area, does that give an accurate im-

pression of the appearance of the ground after the oil

had been spilled?

A Yes, with the exception of the pit areas, it has

changed—the pits have been back-filled and leveled off and

that photo isn’t like it was at that time, but the rest of

them I think are, yes.

57

Q Isn’t it true that when you first went out, you ob-

served oil on the ground, it was apparent?

A Yes, sir, I did.

Q That does not appear on the photographs?

A No, it does not.

Q In that sense, they don’t give an accurate im-

— of what that area looked like in terms of the,

oil?

A Well, I was speaking prior to the day of the oil

spill, I think that describes the area. R

Q Im sorry. Then, as of the time of the spill, when

you went out to observe it, then, you would say these

do not give an accurate impression of the appearance of

the area where the spill had occurred?

A Well, there is no oil in the photographs and there

was oil on the ground the day I went ‘out and observed

it, yes.

[89] Q All right. Now, as to rainfall that occurred

prior to the time that you investigated the oil spill, did

you say it was your impression that there had been rain-

fall shortly before or immediately before the discharge?

A Well, during the course of. drilling of that well, I

distinctly remember having bulldozer equipment called

over there to pull trucks in and out, which would have

been prior—thirty days prior to the spill, during the

course of the drilling and completion operations, we had

bulldozers over there to pull trucks in and out, so it had

to rain.

Q When would you say that period of time began,

when you’re speaking about, when you needed to have

bulldozers?

A It would have been probably in the first part of

March.

Q Can you remember a specific date when these op-

erations began?

A No,I can’t.

Q All right. »

A I could possibly go back to the records and get in-

voices and produce that information, if it is necessary,

I can do that.

| /

58

Q Is it possible that the largest rainfall in that period

occurred, say a week before tuis spill?

A Yes, it’s possible.

Q Do you have any recollection as to whether there

was much rainfall in the several days, say three or four

days before the spill?

A. I don’t recall it raining three or four days before

the spill, no.

MR. SALO: All right. Could I have one second?

THE COURT: Surely, surely.

MR.SALO: Ihave no further questions.

* * * *

[135] THE COURT: Would you hand the Verdict or

Interrogatory rather, that has been answered up? All

right. The Interrogatory is properly answered. We'll

ask the Clerk to please read it.

THE CLERK: In the United States District Court

for the Western District of Oklahoma, L. O. Ward, Plain-

tiff, versus William G. Coleman, Jr., individually, and as

Secretary of Transportation, et al, Defendants, Case No.

76-0303-E and the United States versus L. O. Ward and

L. O. Ward Oil & Gas Operations, Defendants, Case No.

76-0456-E, Interrogatory, We, the Jury, duly empaneled

and sworn in the above styled cause, do upon our oath

find as follows: That oil did flow in a visible quantity

from the draw on the L. O. Ward lease into Boggy Creek,

signed by Guy W. Chapman, dated May 10, 1977.

THE COURT: All right. Ladies and Gentlemen, you

have heard the reading of the answer to the Interroga-

tory and since under the law it must be unanimous, the

answer that is, I will poll the Jurors individually. Does

the Juror Clarence Cowan agree to the answer to the

Interrogatory?

JUROR COWAN: Yes.

THE COURT: Mary Sipe?

JURORSIPE: Yes.

THE COURT: Edward Parma?

JUROR PARMA: Yes, sir.

[186] THE COURT: Verla Gleason?

JUROR GLEASON: Yes, sir.

THE COURT: Yes?

JUROR GLEASON: Yes.

59

THE COURT: Arthur Pliner?

JUROR PLINER: Yes.

THE COURT: And, Mr. Chapman, you’re the Fore-

man?

JUROR CHAPMAN: Yes.

THE COURT: Thank you very much, Ladies and

Gentlemen. You’re going to be excused in a moment, but

I thought I would explain just briefly to you now what

reduced the case down to such a simple question, because

you Jurors are entitled to know and you’re also entitled

to know the impact of the decision that you made when

you answered the Interrogatory. If you recall, I started

out telling the Jury there may be five questions that were

involved, first of all, one, was there an oil spill, well,

there was no dispute in that, everybody agreed to that,

that was not a question to submit to the Jury; number

two, that whether or not the spill emanated from the

Defendant, and there wasn’t any dispute on that, every-

body agreed that was right; and third, that said spill

flowed into a navigable stream. Now, that was a dispute

because I think the Congress meant anything—if it had

of gotten as you said it did, into this Boggy Creek, then

it goes on from there into the other creek and finally, I

believe, Skeleton Creek, and [137] from there to the

Cimarron River and then to the Arkansas. And, if that

was not the intent of Congress, then, we could spill oil

all over practically this whole Country and the Act would

not apply, if indeed we had to go direct into a navigable

stream, but if it had been headed off at the pass, so to

speak, before it ever got to that Creek, I was prepared

to hold that this draw is not a navigable stream, by law.

Now, four, the question that the spill was of a harmful

quantity as defined by the Regulations, now, we learned

by the Regulations of what we call a sheen test and that

was part of what I defined to you when you asked that

question. A sheen test, in common language, means some-

thing that is visible by the naked eye and if it can be

seen by the naked eye, the Congress has seen fit to say

that’s a harmful quantity and last, the fifth question,

the penalty, as assessed was a reasonable sum and that

is for me to determine, and I will determine that in a

:

:

>

nnn ana

60

few moments. You, Ladies and Gentlemen, may be ex-

cused, thank you very much, we appreciate your splendid

service during this session of Court. The parties will re-

main momentarily so we can complete the record, but the

Jury may be excused.

(Whereupon, at this point the Jury was excused,

after which time the following proceedings were had,

to-wit :)

THE COURT: Now, the sole question left is whether

or not the civil penalty imposed in connection with this

matter [138] was a reasonable sum. Of course, the Court

permitted evidence on that point to come in so we could

hear the whole thing and that’s in the record, and I’m

going to reduce the amount of this penalty for the reason

that I am convinced that the Defendant did do nearly

everything that was possible to alleviate the situation

after it was discovered, and because of that, and because

of the fact that there was not a great deal of oil that

did escape, I’m going to cut the penalty exactly in half,

make the penalty $250.00 rather than 500.00. It was

suggested to me that I cut the fine or penalty, rather

civil penalty, down to a dollar as was done in a case in-

volving General Motors. I don’t believe we have an

analogous situation here because there the evidence was

and the Judge found that General Motors had done every-

thing possible to prevent the pollution as Congress dis-

tinguished between trying to clean it up after it occurred.

I’m not about to say Mr. Ward is a bad operator or a

bad man. I’m convinced he’s going to be a good man.

We are going to have to be more careful with this wonder-

ful land of ours and do everything humanly possible to

prevent these things to start with, otherwise we are all

going to be reading Silent Spring, and maybe there will

be no Spring at all for our grandchildren. Now, this is

a law that I am happy to help enforce and it must be

enforced and the teeth that enforce it must indeed be

long and sharp ones, so by reducing this fine, Mr. Jones,

as you suggest, to a dollar, I believe I would be [139]

saying to the industry, here in Oklahoma that actually

is not that bad, go ahead and instill this deleterious sub-

ain ict ic inns Na desnn ne demv

61

stance, kill our fish, kill our streams, pollute the waters,

kill the land, because we are so energy conscious that

we don’t care what you do. I just don’t want that mes-

sage to go forward, at least from here. That’s the rea-

son I am not going to impose that minimum, minimal one

dollar penalty. It will be $250.00. 2

Now, I’m going to ask that Counsel for the Govern-

ment prepare a formal Judgment in accordance with the

way we have conducted this Trial, the finding of the

Jury with respect to the Interrogatory in Case No. CIV-

76-0456-E, that’s the one styled United States versus L. O.

Ward, that’s the civil action to collect the penalty. And,

when you have prepared it, I want you to submit it to

Counsel for the Defendant for approval as to form, and

then have it forwarded on to me for signature and filing

and get this done within a week. I would also require

that you do the same thing in the other case, but Mr.

Jones indicated that he would prefer to prepare that

himself, because he may want to appeal. Of course, he

may appeal both of them, but the one that found the

Statute to be Constitutional, didn’t you indicate you

would prefer to draw that one yourself?

MR. JONES: Yes, Your Honor, and enter judgment

in favor of the Defendant in Ward versus Coleman.

* * * *

62

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No. 79-394

UNITED STATES, PETITIONER

v.

L. O. WaRD, dba L. O. WARD OIL and GAS OPERATIONS

ORDER ALLOWING CERTIORARI. Filed November 5, 1979

The petition herein for a writ of certiorari to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit is granted.

Mr. Justice Marshall took no part in the consideration

or decision of this petition.

¥* U. 6. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE; 1979 307515 168

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.