Petition — Lukefahr v. United States

Supreme Court brief1980

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

;

‘EILED

|

SEP 7 1979

IN THE SUPREME cou Reowyre. 9085, JR, CLERK

OF THE .

UNITED STATES.

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No. #9-4 - 3 YU]

DAVID LEE LUKEFAHR,

STEPHEN DALE LUKEFAHR,

THOMAS P. LUKEFAHR

a/k/a THOMAS JAMES DAVISON,

Petitioners,

Wee

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR

WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

EDWIN MARGER

DIANE E. MARGER

Law Offices of Edwin Marger

Suite 320, 6666 Powers Ferry Road

Atlanta, Georgia 30339

(404) 955-1010

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONERS

IN THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE

UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

NO. 79-

DAVID LEE LUKEFAHR,

STEPHEN DALE LUKEFAHR,

THOMAS P. LUKEFAHR

a/k/a THOMAS JAMES DAVISON,

Petitioners,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR

WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

EDWIN MARGER

DIANE E. MARGER

Law Offices of Edwin Marger

Suite 320, 6666 Powers Ferry Road

Atlanta, Georgia 30339

(404) 955-1010

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONERS

INDEX

Citation to Opinion Below.........eeeeeees

TE RS

Constitutional and Statutory

PEI, MUU WUEWO ccc ccccccvcccccccece

LE

a

Reasons for Granting the Writ:

I.

The decision of the Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit is in direct

conflict with holdings of the Courts

of Appeals in other Circuits which

require that the Court of Appeals

use the "probability of prejudice"

standard for granting change of

WUE UEURERESSEOG sc ¥ 506s ccccce Saves

A.

The decision below raises an

important issue with respect

to the supervisory powers of

the Appellate Court in review-

ing the decisions of Federal

District Courts which deny a

change of venue or other

procedural remedies in the

face of massive, inherently

prejudicial pre-trial publicity...

-ji-

13

26

Il,

Ill.

B. The decision of the Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

and those of other Circuits fail

to delineate articuable standards

for determining whether the

probability of prejudice "is so

great from prejudicial pre-trial

publicity that a change of

venue should be granted prior

to VOir dire™..cccccccccccccces ce So

C. The decision of the Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

conflicts with findings of other

Circuit and District Courts that

refuse to accept juror assurances

of impartiality where prejudicial

contamination of the jury has

been SHOWN...cecccccccees coccee 44

The decision of the Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit holding that the

Trial Court's general voir dire of the

jury regarding their exposure to

inherently prejudicial mid-trial

publicity, when combined with the

Court's instructions, conflicts with

decisions of other Circuit Courts..... 59

The decision of the Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit holding that

comments on Petitioners’ post-arrest

silence were not violative of their

right to remain silent when read

in the context of the argument

in its entirety conflicts with case

precedent of this Court and other

Circuit Courts... ccccccccccccccccees 77

SOGOU POTTS TTT TeT ECT CEO re TTC rT Te 82

Appendix

Appendix

Appendix

Appendix

Appendix

Appendix

Appendix

Appendix

Appendix

s ae

Appendeces

Prospective juror responses

during voir dire

Empanelled juror responses

during voir dire

Newspaper excerpts linking

Federal marijuana smuggling

charges with State murder

charges

Newspaper excerpts regarding

alleged criminal activities or

convictions of Petitioners

Copies of newspaper articles

published during trial

Juror subscriptions to

Tallahassee Democrat

Pictures shown during

television newscasts linking murder case

with Federal marijuana case

Dissenting opinion in United

States v. Haldeman, 559 F.2d 31 (5th C

1976)

Conversion of Record to

Transcript Citations

Opinion in United States v.

Capo, 595 F.2d 1086 (5th Cir. 1979)

-iii-

TABLE OF CASES CITED

Supreme Court

.

Adams v. United States ex rel.

McCann, 317 U.S. 269 (1942)....eee.

Barker ve Wingo,

407 U.S. 524 C2902bec00n5s ee is

Doyle v. Ohio,

426 0.8. 610 (1976).A.cs5ene eee

Estes ve Texas,

381 U.S. 532 (290GS)ciwnscesebeeeeees

Fay v. New York,

332 U.S. 532 , rehearing denied,

319 U.S. 706 (1967 i ccscccunseeees vee

Frank v. Mangum,

Griffin v. California,

380 U.S. 609 (1965), rehearing

denied, 381 U.S. 957 (1965)....eee. .

Groppi ve Wisconsin,

400 U.S. S65 CU9TE) cveaeeeeeee bacuws

Irvin v. Dowd,

366 U.S. 717 (3960)..0555ee caer

Marshall v. United States,

~ $00 U.S. 340 Cleeeiaceeeee Apert ne

McNabb v. United States,

318 U.S. 332, rehearing denied,

319 U.S. 764 (298s }icscccsucuvues ven

Murphy v. Florida,

421 0.5. 7 C1976). ;

Page

47, 49

26

80

18, 22, 23,

24, 47, 59,

74

26, 27

67, 68

80, 81

48, 49

23, ef, 41,

48, 57

ci, 28, 61,

18, 22, 23,

24, 28, 29,

Table of Cases, Cont'd.

Nebraska Press Ass'n, et al. v. Stuart,

oe Se ee) ee epee

Rideau v. Louisiana,

Soe LS Sa, Bel.) ee

Sheppard v. Maxwell,

Ee eS ote oe awcewes

Sinclair v. United States,

a vce v ace

Spies v. People of Illinois,

ee ee eweneeee

Tumey v. Ohio,

as WO CISC E) vce sce vicueeteas

Turner v. Louisiana,

SSh .8 SSS 8 Serre

United States v. Hale,

eae, SUE CET O) cok boas vbacwes cee

Wilson v. United States,

Other Federal

Coppedge v. United States,

575 F.2d 504 (D.C. Cir. 1959)

cert. denied, 368 U.S. 855 (1961)...

Delaney v. United States,

199 F.20 107 (ist Cir. 1952)...ceee.

Henslee v. United States,

~ 246 F.2d 193 (5th Cir. 1957).....06.

Mares v. United States,

383 F.2d 805 (10th Cir. 1967)

cert. denied, 394 U.S. 963 (1967)...

eyo

ee ee dene ee wine

47,

23

68

80

81

32

70

72

23,

33,

48

2c,

25,

49,

76

49

i 4

Table of Cases, Cont'd.

Pamplin v. Mason,

3e8 Pca Lt Cotte Clr. 1966) bi. cveicvccs

Silverthorne v. United States,

400 F.2d 627 (9th Cir. 1968)........

United States v. Agueci,

310 F.2d Sif in = is >. eee

United States v. Akin,

562 F.2d 459 (7th Cir. 1977)........

United States ex rel. Bloeth v. Denno,

313 F.2d 364 (2nd Cir. 1963)

cert. denied, 372 U.S. 978 (1963)...

United States v. Brady,

579 F.2d 1121 (9th Cir. 1978).......

United States v. Capo,

595 F.2d 1086 (5th Cir. 1979).......

United States v. Concepcion Cueto,

515 F.2d 1600 (list Cir. 1975).......8.

United States v. Gullion,

575 F.2d 26 (1st Cir. 1978).......0.

United States aldeman,

ve H

BOo £18 Fh Cc tey ahs 2B9T6) wks

United States v. Hall,

536 F.2d 313 (10th Cir. 1976)....

United States v. Hankish,

Ce eo By a ee OS) ee

United States v. Herring,

~~ 568 F.2d 3 1099 Cth oo ae, |: ee

United States v. Largo,

346 F.2d 253 (7th Cir. 1965)

cert. denied, 382 U.S. 904 (1965)...

-Vvi-

Page

22, 23

) ey ee

té, 4, 3

76

71

46, 32, 33,

48, 49, 50,

52, 54, 56

Ta, 3

36, 60, 61,

71, 74

Table of Cases, Cont'd.

United States v. Lord,

565 F.2d 831 (2nd Cir. 1977)....ee0-

United States v. Perrotta,

553 F.od 247 (lst Cir. 1977). .cceees

United States v. Polizzi,

500 F.2d 856 (9th Cir. 1974)

cert. denied, 419 U.S. 1120 (1975)..

United States v. Schrimsher,

493 F.ed 848 (5th Cir. 1974)......-.

United States v. Titsworth,

422 F.Supp. 587 (D.C. Neb. 1976)..

United States v. White,

——“F40 F.2d 1274 (5th Cir. 1971)

cert. denied, 344 U.S. 949 (1971)...

United States v. Williams,

523 F.2d 1203 (5th Cir. 1975).......

United States v. Williams,

568 F.cd 464 (5th Cir. 1971).....06.

State Cases

Commonwealth v. Casper,

375 A.cd 737 (Pa. Sup. 1977)....ee0.

People v. Martin,

43 N.Y.S.2d 209 (1973). .ccceeeees

State v. Rogers,

241 La. 841, 132 So.2d 819 (1961)...

STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL

61, 65, 66

72

72

72

67

81

20

21, 36,. 5!

4, 37, 3

31, 32

43

PROVISIONS

YU. 8S. CONST. AgnemGs Vecccsscecvctusess

U. S. CONST. Amend. VI..ceeeeeeeeeeees

-vii-

Statutes, Cont'd.

FED.R.CRIM.P. 21(a).cceeeeesssreesecees

21 U.S.C.A. $841... ccceeees cccccccccens

21 U.S.C. Ax $846. .ccccccccccscccccsscees

2B U.S.C.A. $1254(1). cccssccvvcccsecsecs

TREATISES AND OTHER

AUTHORITIES

ABA STANDARDS FOR FAIR TRIAL AND

FREE PRESS, §3.2(b) (1968)... ..ccceeees

ABA STANDARDS FOR FAIR TRIAL AND

FREE PRESS, §3.4(a) (1968)..........6.

ABA STANDARDS FOR FAIR TRIAL AND

FREE PRESS, §3.4(b) (1968). ...seseees

ABA STANDARDS FOR FAIR TRIAL AND

FREE PRESS, §3.5(f).cccccccscccccccses

BROEDER, VOIR DIRE EXAMINATIONS:

AN EMPIRICAL STUDY, 38 SO.CAL.L.

REV. 503 (1969). ..cccvees SOrererere eri

R. FLESCH, THE ART OF CLEAR

THINKING (1969). .cccccccccccccvevevens

-viii-

18

6, 31, 46,

48, 51, 52

t¢ S472

43, 44, 54,

58

54

IN THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE

UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

NO. 79-

DAVID LEE LUKEFARHR,

STEPHEN DALE LUKEFAHR,

THOMAS P. LUKEFAHR

a/k/a THOMAS JAMES DAVISON,

Petitioners,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR

WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

The Petitioners, DAVID LEE LUKEFAHR,

STEPHEN DALE LUKEFAHR, and THOMAS

LUKEFAHR a/k/a THOMAS JAMES DAVISON,

respectfully pray that a Writ of Certiorari issue

to review the judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in this

case.

OPINION BELOW

The Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

filed an opinion on May 24, 1979. That opinion

and the denial of the Petitioners' Petition for

Rehearing En Banc appear in the Appendix

hereto (Appendix J). The appellate decision is

officially recorded as United States v. Capo,

595 F.2d 1086 (5th Cir. 1979).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for

the Fifth Circuit was entered on May 24, 1979.

Thereafter, these Petitioners timely filed their

Petition for Rehearing En Banc, which was

denied on July 10, 1979. On July 31, 1979, an

order extending time to file Petition for Writ of

Certiorari was entered extending Petitioners'

time for filing by thirty (30) days. This

Petition for Writ of Certiorari has been filed

within thirty (30) days of the entry of that

order. The jurisdiction of the United States

Supreme Court is conferred by 28 U.S.C.

§1254(1).

ee ee

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Fifth Circuit Court of

Appeals failed to meet its Federal supervisory

obligations by affirming Petitioners' convictions

in a Federal criminal trial under a "mockery of

justice" standard rather than the "probability of

prejudice" standard mandated by this Court,

where there has been a showing that inherently

prejudicial pre-trial publicity inundated the

community in which the trial was held.

2. Whether briefly questioning the jury as

a group concerning a highly inflammatory,

prejudicial article published during the trial was

adequate to vindicate Petitioners' rights to a

f..r trial where the Trial Court was on notice

that most of the unsequestered jurors sub-

scribed to the publication in question, that

these jurors had failed on previous occasions to

follow the Court's instructions, and that the

jurors had not responded truthfully or candidly

during the pre-trial general voir dire con-

cerning their exposure to prejudicial publicity.

3. Whether comments on Petitioners’

post-arrest silence can be cleansed of the taint

x

of unconstitutional infringement on this Fifth

Amendment right by reading and interpreting

the remarks in the context of the argument in

its entirety.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves the Fifth and Sixth

Amendments to the Constitution of the United

States, and the following Federal statutes and

rules:

21 U.S.C.A. §841(a).

Prohibited acts A - Unlawful acts

(a) Except as authorized by this

subchapter, it shall be unlawful

for any person’ knowingly or

intentionally-

(1) to manufacture, distri-

bute, or dispense, or possess with

intent to manufacture, distribute

or dispense, a controlled sub-

stance; or

(2) 10 create, distribute, or

or dispense, or possess with intent

to distribute or dispense, a coun-

terfeit substance.

21 U.S.C. §846

Attempt and Conspiracy

Any person who attempts or

conspires to commit any offense

defined in this subchapter is

punishable by imprisonment or fine

or both which may not exceed the

maximum punishment prescribed for

the offense, the commission of

which was the object of the

attempt or conspiracy.

FED.R.CRIM.P. 21

Transfer from the District

for Trial

(a) For Prejudice in the

District. The Court, upon motion

of the Defendant, shall transfer

the proceeding as to him to

another district whether or not

such district is specified in the

Defendant's motion if the Court is

satisfied that there exists in the

district where the prosecution is

pending so great a= prejudice

against the Defendant that he

cannot obtain a fair and impartial

trial at any place fixed by law for

holding Court in that district.

This case also involves the fol-

lowing quasi-statutory materials:

ABA STANDARDS FOR FAIR

TRIAL AND FREE PRESS $3.4

Selecting the jury.

(a) Method of examination.

Whenever there is believed to

be a_ significant possibility that

individual talesmen will be in-

eligible to serve because of

exposure to potentially prejudicial

material, the examination of each

juror with respect to his exposure

shall take place outside’ the

presence of other chosen and

prospective jurors. An accurate

record of this examination shall be

kept, by court reporter or tape

recording whenever possible. The

questioning shall be conducted for

the purpose of determining what

and how his exposure has affected

his attitude towards the trial, not

to convince him that he would be

derelict in his duty if he could not

cast aside any preconceptions he

might have.

(b) Standard of acceptability.

Both the degree of exposure

and the prospective juror's test-

imony as to his state of mind are

relevant to the determination of

acceptability. A prospective juror

who states that he will be unable

to overcome his preconceptions

shall be subject to challenge for

cause no matter how slight his

exposure. If he has seen or

heard and remembers information

that will be developed in the

course of the trial, or that may be

inadmissible but is not so pre-

judicial as to create a substantial

risk that his judgment will be

affected, his acceptability shall

turn on whether his testimony as

to impartiality is believed. If he

admits to having formed ~= an

opinion, he _ shall be subject to

challenge for cause unless. the

examination shows unequivocally

that he can be impartial. A pro-

spective juror who has_ been

exposed to and remembers reports

of highly significant information,

such as the existence or contents

of a confession, or other incrim-

inating matters that may be in-

admissible in evidence, or sub-

stantial amounts of inflammatory

material, shall be subject’ to

challenge for cause without regard

to his testimony as to his state of

‘

ABA STANDARDS FOR FAIR

TRIAL AND FREE PRESS §3.5

Petitioners LUKEFAHR,

(f) Questioning jurors about

exposure to potentially prejudicial

material in the course of the trial;

standard for excusing a juror.

If it is determined that mat-

erial disseminated during the trial

raises serious questions of possible

prejudice, the court may on its

own motion or shall on motion of

either party question each juror,

out of the presence of the others,

about his exposure to. that

material. The method of exam-

ination shall be the same as that

recommended in_ section 3.4(a)

above. The standard for excusing

a juror who is challenged on the

basis of such exposure shall be

the same as the standard of ac-

ceptability recommended in section

3.4(b) above, except that a juror

who has seen or heard reports of

potentially prejudicial material shall

be excused if the material in

question would furnish grounds for

a mistrial if referred to in the trial

itself.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

This case arose from an alleged drug

smuggling conspiracy, which resulted

Indictment in the Northern District of Florida of

along with David Capo

abn and others. The events which gave rise to the

Federal Indictment also resulted in a State of

Florida murder charge against each of these

~ =

individuals. Your Petitioners LUKEFAHR were

given full immunity from the State charges.

The State and Federal cases were the subject of

massive local news coverage in Tallahassee,

Florida, where the trial took place. The case

became known as the "Sandy Creek Smuggling

Case" and the "Sinkhole Murder Case". (R.

Vol. 2, p. 263).

The magnitude of the pre-trial publicity

immediately prior to the trial of this case is set

out in the Fifth Circuit opinion. (United States

v. Capo, 595 F.2d 1089, n.2 [in three months

preceding trial, twenty-one news stories in

Tallahassee Democrat; one television. station

had run 120 different news reports connecting

murders and drug offenses]). As a result,

Petitioners filed a Motion for Change of Venue

pursuant to FED.R.CRIM.P. 2l(a). At the

initial hearing on the Motion, Petitioners

tendered into evidence numerous newspaper

articles relating to these Petitioners and the

alleged crimes, both State and Federal. (See,

R.Vol. 5, pp. 49, 56; Defendants' LUKEFAHR

Composite Exhibits 2, 3 [copies of the news-

-8-

paper articles published in locality]). The

Trial Court preliminarily denied that Motion.

(R.Vol. 5, p. 57; S.R. Vol. 3, p. 5).

Defense counsel then requested that each

prospective juror be presented for voir dire in

camera and on an individual basis. (S.R.Vol.

3, p. 51). The Trial Court granted that

request. (S.R.Vol. 3, p. 128). After one day

of voir dire, it became apparent tnat the large

majority of prospective jurors had knowledge of

the murders, evidence of which was inadmissible

in the Federal trial. See, e.g., R.Vol. 6, p.

164,

After the first day of voir dire,

Petitioners renewed their Motion for Change of

Venue. (S.R.Vol. 4, p. 314). —

At that hearing, the Petitioners presented

evidence in addition to the newspaper articles

which had previously been submitted. They

tendered a survey taken in the local area which

indicated substantial community exposure to

publicity concerning the State and Federal

crimes. (R.Vol. 6, pp. 33-95). Defense

counsel also called to the witness stand a local

a.

television newscaster. (R.Vol. 6, pp. 20-22).

The newscaster testified about his television

station's news broadcasts surrounding the State

and Federal charges. The station broadcast

approximately 120 segments relating to these

Petitioners. (R.Vol. 6, p. 20). Each time

facts about the Federal case were broadcast,

the word "Murder" surrounded by a red patch

to symbolize blood was displayed on _ the

television screen. (R.Vol. 6, pp. 19, 22 [a

copy of picture displayed for Court], App. G).

In further support of this Motion,

Petitioners offered the testimony of Dr. Patrick

Cook, a psychologist who had been present

during the first day of voir dire. (R.Vol. 6,

p- 96). This expert testified that when

evidence about the Federal case was presented

during trial, the jurors exposed to _ these

newscasts would be_- susceptible to recall

knowledge about the alleged murders because of

the phenomenon of "paired learning" or "paired

association". Dr. Cook also indicated that a

primacy "effect of the use of the murder

information might tend to influence the jurors'

=}@=

.

7

judgment and reaction." (R.Vol. 6, p. 108).

The Trial Court again denied Petitioners' Motion

for Change of Venue, and voir dire commenced

in the same fashion. (R.Vol. 7, p. 34).

Eventually, at least ninety percent (90%)

of the jurors acknowledged some connection in

their minds between the slayings and the drug

offenses allegedly committed by Petitioners.

See, App. A [excerpts of jurors' responses on

voir dire relating to pre-trial publicity]. Many

prospective members of the jury remembered

highly significant and inflammatory information

in great detail. (App. A [52 prospective jurors

described details; six had very little or no

knowledge]}).

During the trial, Petitioners brought to

the Court's attention an inherently prejudicial

newspaper banner headline article which was

published in the newspaper subscribed to by

most jurors. See, App. E. Petitioners re-

quested that an individual voir dire of the jury

be conducted by the Court to determine the

jurors' exposure to the article. The Court

denied the request and asked the jury as a

alle

group whether they had been exposed to the

pre-trial publicity. (R.Vol. 16, p. 8).

Accepting their assurances and expressing his

faith in the jurors' ability to follow his

instructions, the Court denied Petitioners'

request for individual voir dire and proceeded

with the trial. (R.Vol. 16. p. 9).

Finally, during his closing argument, the

prosecutor commented to the jury that the

Petitioners had failed to take the stand in their

own defense. (S.R.Vol. ERs p. 196).

Immediately thereafter, defense counsel

requested a mistrial, which was denied by the

Court.

On the 24th of February, 1978, the jury

returned a guilty verdict against Petitioners

LUKEFAHR pursuant to 21 U.S.C. §841 and 21

U.S.C. §846. The jury also returned a guilty

verdict against the Defendant, David Capo.

The remaining Defendants were acquitted.

Following the jury verdict in the Federal

case, the Trial Court sentenced each of the

LUKEFAHRS to the maximum penalties allowable

under law - five (5) years' confinement and

wt2e

$15,000.00 fine on each Count, with these

sentences to run consecutively. (R.Vol. 4, pp.

561-563). The LUKEFAHRS moved for a new

trial. The Trial Court denied that Motion.

Thereafter, Petitioners LUKEFAHR timely filed

their Notice of Appeal to the Fifth Circuit Court

of Appeals. Oral argument was granted in that

case, and on May 24, 1979, the Fifth Circuit

Court of Appeals affirmed the convictions of

these Petitioners. United States v. Capo, 595

F.2d 1086 (5th Cir. 1979). Petitioners filed

their Petition for Rehearing En Banc, which was

denied on July 10, 1979.

This Petition for Certiorari follows the

denial of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals to

rehear this case en banc.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMEN7

I. Prior to the trial of the case, massive

amounts of publicity inundated Tallahassee,

Florida, where the trial was held. Most of the

publicity was inherently prejudicial in nature.

The Trial Court voir dired the jury initially as

a group and later individually. Although

during the voir dire as a group only one pro-

-]3-

spective juror indicated that he had been

exposed to publicity about the case or these

Petitioners, during individual voir dire more

than ninety percent (90%) of the prospective

jurors had knowledge of prejudicial information.

The Judge denied motions for change of venue,

additional peremptory challenges and challenges

for cause. The Fifth Circuit affirmed the Trial

Court's action regarding this pre-trial publicity

by finding that the Trial had not been reduced

by this publicity to a "mockery of justice".

In so doing, the Fifth Circuit failed to

fulfill its Federal supervisory obligation to

insure that, in a completely Federal trial such

as this, even the "probability of prejudice" or

"unfairness" is avoided. By reviewing the

entire trial in retrospect rather than analyzing

the pre-trial publicity and juror exposure in

the pre-trial setting without regard for the

ultimate result, the Fifth Circuit failed to

adequately insure a fair trial. The change of

venue should have been granted prior to voir

dire based on an adequate showing by the

defense of community prejudice. Failing to do

-]4-

this, the Trial Court should have granted the

motion following voir dire where the Court was

put on notice that the publicity had indeed

inundated the community as evidenced by the

exposure of the vast majority of these jurors.

Instead, the Trial Court’ relied on _ the

assurances of neutrality by the jurors despite

evidence and reason indicating that these

protestations of impartiality were unreliable.

While State Courts are held to the Due

Process standard of fair trials, this Court has

long demanded that in Federal trials, the

Court's protection should exceed that standard

when dealing with prejudicial pre-trial

publicity. Because uniform application of the

supervisory standard is non-existent within the

various jurisdictions, a definite standard for

Federal Courts must be set to guide District

Courts in evaluating the prejudicial nature of

pre-trial publicity.

II. Where an inherently prejudicial article

is published in a local paper during the trial,

the Trial Court must take appropriate in-depth

measures to insure that jurors have not been

=i 9-

exposed to the article. In this case, the

Petitioners proved that a majority of un-

sequestered jurors regularly subscribed to the

newspaper in which this article was published,

and that the article was prominently displayed

as the banner headline article.

Because the Trial Court was aware that

this jury failed to respond candidly when

questioned as a group, the Court's brief

questioning of the jurors concerning the article

did not protect these Petitioners' Sixth

Amendment rights.

III. The prosecutor, during his closing

argument, commented on Petitioners' failure to

testify at trial or after their arrest. The Fifth

Circuit Court of Appeals recognized that,

viewed by itself, the prosecutor's statement,

when combined with his gesture toward these

Petitioners, "appeared perhaps to be a remark

on Defendants' failure to take the stand."

However, the Court then approves of the

remarks, stating that when viewed in the

context of the entire argument, the remarks

only rebutted the entrapment defense. The

joke

novel interpretation of the remarks by the Fifth

Circuit differs from both the Government's and

that of the Petitioners. Moreover, these Pet-

itioners did not allege entrapment as a defense.

Where the jury could have interpreted the

remark as a comment on these Petitioners’

failure to testify, it must be Constitutional

error regardless of the context of the

argument.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The decision of the Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

is in direct conflict with hold-

ings of the Courts of Appeals

in other Circuits which re-

quire that the Court of

Appeals use the "probability

of prejudice" standard for

granting change of venue.

Prior to the trial of this case, the

Petitioners LUKEFAHR, pursuant to their Motion

for Change of Venue, proffered evidence of

pervasive community prejudice in the form of

highly inflammatory publicity and intensive

media coverage. Petitioners argued that in this

circumstance, prejudice must be presumed, and

that they had no duty to show actual jury bias.

~~, =

See, Murphy v. Florida, 421 U.S. 794, 798-99

(1975); Sheppard v. Maxwell, 384 U.S. 333,

362 (1966); Estes v. Texas, 381 U.S. 532,

542-43 (1965).

The Petitioners contended further at the

Trial Court and Appellate Court levels that the

proper standard for determining whether there

was a "probability of prejudice" is set forth in

numerous Supreme Court cases and codified by

the American Bar Association in its Standards

on Fair Trial and Free Press. Sheppard v.

Maxwell, 384 U.S. 333 (1966); Estes v. Texas,

381 U.S. 532 (1965); Rideau v. Louisiana, 373

U.S. 723 (1963); ABA STANDARDS, Fair Trial

and Free Press §3.2(b) (1968). The ABA

Standards state that proof of prejudice

sufficient to require a change of venue may be

made by "qualified public opinion surveys...as

well as other materials having probative value."

ABA STANDARDS, Fair Trial and Free Press,

§3.2(b) (1968); cited in United States v.

Chapin, 515 F.2d 1274 (D.C. Cir. 1975). In

United States v. Chapin, the Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit stated that where commu-

al§~

nity passions are high, or publicity both

localized and virulent, the Court’ should

carefully consider whether the Defendants

should even be required to prepare for a trial

before a predictably hostile jury, and that a

ruling on a Motion for Change of Venue should

not automatically be postponed until voir dire.

Id. at n.7.

The Petitioners proffered evidence prior to

the voir dire of the jury indicating that there

was massive, inherently prejudicial publicity in

Tallahassee, Florida. The Fifth Circuit itself

stated in its opinion, U.S. v. Capo, 595 F.2d

1089, n.2, that there was substantial evidence

before the Trial Court to find that: (1) there

was massive inundation of the community from

which the prospective jurors were selected, and

(2) that the contents of this publicity was in-

herently prejudicial to these Petitioners.

Despite these conclusions, the Fifth Circuit

failed to find reversible error in the Trial

Court's denial of Defendants' Motion for Change

of Venue or Request for Additional Peremptory

Challenges. The Court did not explicitly set

=] 9-

forth what the Petitioners would have had to

show for the Court to find the "probability of

prejudice".

However, in an earlier case, the Fifth

Circuit's analysis of the probability of prejudice

standard was as follows:

"(t]he test is no longer wheth-

er the prejudice found its

way into the jury box at the

trial...as we read the Su-

preme Court's case, the test

is: where outside influences

affecting the community's

climate of opinion as to a

Defendant are inherently

suspect, the resulting pro-

bability of unfairness requires

suitable procedural safeguards

such as a change of venue to

insure a fair and _ impartial

trial." United States v.

Williams, 523 F.2d 1203, 1208

(5th Cir. 1975).

The contents of news articles concerning

these Petitioners were inherently prejudicial.

Both the Trial Court and the Fifth Circuit

Court of Appeals recognized that the contents

of these articles included statements of these

Defendants' prior convictions, guilty pleas on

similar charges and a connection between the

drug smuggling case and the murders of four

people. (App. C [linking Defendants in Fed-

~2Oe

eral case with State of Florida murder charges];

App. D [Defendants' prior criminal records].)

(See, U.S. v. Capo at 1089, n.2, 1091, n.5).

Such material has been held by this Supreme

Court to be inherently prejudicial. See,

Marshall v. United States, 360 U.S. 310 (1959)

[subjective and editorial in nature]; United

States v. Williams, 568 F.2d 464 (5th Cir.

1971).

Recognizing the _ inherently prejudicial

nature of the publicity and instead of utilizing

the probability of prejudice standard

enumerated by the Supreme Court, the Fifth

Circuit Court of Appeals stated that:

"We do not believe that Appel-

lants were subjected to pre-

judicial publicity of such a

magnitude that it dominated

the proceedings and reduced

the trial to a mockery of

justice..." Id. at 109],

avoiding the appropriate standard of whether or

not there was any probability of prejudice.

The Supreme Court’ standards, which

should have been applied in the instant case,

are as follows:

a2 le

"When a Defendant proffers

evidence of pervasive commu-

nity prejudice in the form of

highly inflammatory publicity

or intensive media coverage,

prejudice is presumed and

there is no further duty to

establish actual prejudice."

Murphy v. Florida, 421 U.S.

794, 798-99 (1975); Sheppard

v. Maxwell, 384 U.S. 333, 362

(1966); Estes v. Texas, 381

U.S. 532, 542-43 (1965);

Pamplin v. Mason, 364 F.2d

1, 4-5 (5th Cir. 1966).

This standard implicitly requires that the

Court make this determination prior to voir dire

of the jury. Where the Defendant offers other

evidence of community prejudice, such as that

recommended by the American Bar Association,

the Court should not voir dire the jury. The

types of information presented at the trial below

by Petitioners was exactly the variety sug-

gested by the ABA, including: public opinion

surveys, examples of inherently prejudicial

publicity in massive amounts, and other ob-

jective evidence of the probability of community

prejudice. As set forth in the _ preceding

Supreme Court cases, a showing of actual bias

is not required: a Judge should make his

independent determination without regard to

o2D~

voir dire of the jury. (Murphy v. Florida,

Supra at 798-99; Sheppard v. Maxwell, Supra

at 362; Estes v. Texas, Supra at 542-43).

However, the Fifth Circuit holds, in

United States v. Capo, that the probability of

prejudice standard requires that the Defendant

must show:

"Publicity of such a magnitude

that it dominated the proceed-

ings and reduced the trial to

a mockery of justice."

Opinion at p. 1091, United

States v. Capo, at 1091-1092.

This standard conflicts with those set down by

the United States Supreme Court and _ those

established and followed by other Circuits.

Irvin v. Dowd, 366 U.S. 717 (1961); Rideau

v. Louisiana, 373 U.S. 723 (1963); Tumey v.

State of Ohio, 273 U.S. 510, 543 (1927);

Sheppard v. Maxwell, 384 U.S. 333 (1966).

See, Pamplin v. Mason, 364 F.2d 1 (5th Cir.

1966).

Moreover, the "mockery of justice"

standard espoused by the Fifth Circuit is

inherently unworkable where pre-trial publicity

is at issue. In essence, this standard is an

«2%

evasion of the Court's obligation to determine

prior to trial whether a "probability of

unfairness" exists in the jurisdiction. See,

Murphy v. Florida, 421 U.S. 794 (1975);

Sheppard v. Maxwell, 384 U.S. 333 (1966);

Estes v. Texas, 381 U.S. 532 (1965). The

standard set forth by the Fifth Circuit cannot

be applied prior to trial. Nor does the Court

imply that this is necessary. The Fifth Circuit

merely concluded that the publicity in this case

did not dominate the trial or reduce the trial to

a mockery of justice. In so doing, the Fifth

Circuit completely fails to give proper consid-

eration to the effect of pre-trial publicity in

and of itself. The effect of pre-trial publicity

under the Court's Federal supervisory standard

must be considered as an independent fact.

This determination of whether the "probability

of prejudice" or "unfairness" exists in the

community must be made prior to trial.

Therefore, the standard of "mockery of justice"

is completely inapplicable to the required

determination.

«2Ge

The "mockery of justice" standard as

applied in the pre-trial publicity setting con-

flicts with the "probability of unfairness"

standard. As one Court has stated:

"Where community passions are

high or publicity both local-

ized and virulent, it might

well be that a Court would

carefully consider whether the

Defendant should even be

required to prepare for a

trial before a_ predictably

hostile jury and not auto-

matically hold off ruling on

the motion until voir dire..."

United States v. Chapin, 515

F.2d 1274, 1286, n.7 (D.C.

Cir. 1975).

As this Court reiterated in Nebraska Press

Ass'n., et al. v. Stuart, 427 U.S. 539 (1976),

citing Sheppard v. Maxwell, 384 U.S. 333, 362

(1966):

"Given the pervasiveness of

modern communication and the

difficulty of effacing pre-

judicial publicity from the

minds of the jurors, the Trial

Courts must take strong

measures to insure that the

balance is never’ weighed

against the accused..."

The Fifth Circuit has failed to apply this

principle by establishing its mockery of justice

standard.

A. The decision below raises an

important issue with respect

to the supervisory powers of

the Appellate Court in review-

ing the decisions of Federal

District Courts which deny a

change of venue or other

procedural remedies in the

face of massive, inherently

prejudicial pre-trial publicity.

This is a _ strictly Federal criminal case,

arising from Indictments delivered by _ the

Federal Grand Jury and tried in the United

States District Court for the Northern District

of Florida. Therefore, the Fifth Circuit should

have determined the case, exercising its Federal

Supervisory powers.

This Court has recognized the supervisory

power of the Federal Appeal Courts, see,

Barker v. Wingo, 407 U.S. 514, 530 n. 29

(1972), as well as its own supervisory power.

See, e.g., Fay v. New York, 332 U.S. 26l,

287, rehearing denied, 332 U.S. 784 (1947).

The power of the Court to determine cases

based upon the supervisory power is long

established. Moreover, in the exercise of this

power, the Federal Courts may establish stand-

aZte

ards for their proceedings in addition to or

more stringent than those required by due

process. As this Court stated:

"Over Federal proceedings, we

may exert a supervisory

power with greater freedom to

reflect our notions of good

policy than we may _ consti-

tutionally exert over pro-

ceedings in State Courts, and

these expressions of policy

are not necessarily embodied

in the concept of due pro-

cess." Fay v. New York,

Id. See also, McNabb v.

U.S., 318 U.S. 332, rehear-

in denied 319 U.S. 784

T1843)

In the area of pre-trial publicity, this

Court, in the exercise of its supervisory

powers, has established a standard for re-

viewing claims of prejudicial pre-trial publicity.

This standard, the probability of unfairness

standard, is more stringent than the historic

due process analysis. See, Irvin v. Dowd, 366

U.S. at 717 (1961) (concurring opinion of Chief

Justice Berger); Rideau v. Louisiana, 373

U.S. 723 (1963) (dissenting opinion, Justice

Clark).

Recognizing that a Federal supervisory

standard has been established by the Supreme

a2'Te

Court, the issue is whether the Appellate

Courts have a duty to impose the supervisory

standards over criminal cases in which pre-

judicial publicity has been shown in lieu of

applying the less vigorous due process re-

quirements.

A well-reasoned and thorough analysis of

the distinction between the Federal supervisory

standard and the due process requirement in

reference to pre-trial publicity is set out in the

dissenting opinion of Circuit Judge MacKinnon

in United States v. Haldeman, 559 F.2d 31,

145-161 (D.C. Cir. 1976) (App. H). In his

dissent, Circuit Judge MacKinnon delineates the

rules of presumptive prejudice versus’ the

requirement of the showing of actual prejudice.

Id. at 145. See also, Marshall v. United

States, 360 U.S. 310 (1959); Murphy v.

Florida, 421 U.S. 794 (1975).

This Court’ specifically set forth in

Marshall that it would reverse the conviction

based upon the exercise of its supervisory

power to formulate and apply proper standards

for enforcement of the criminal law in the

-28-

Federal Courts, and not as a matter of Con-

stitutional compulsion. Id. at 313.

Under this standard applicable to the

Federal Courts, a change of venue should be

granted prior to voir dire of the jury where

substantial prejudicial pre-trial publicity is

shown.

In applying the standard to the instant

case, substantial publicity containing inherently

prejudicial information was widely disseminated

in the community. As required by the above-

cited case law, Petitioners met their burden by

a thorough showing that this information was

published, was prejudicial, and was circulated

in the community from which these jurors were

selected. See, Murphy v. Florida, 421 U.S.

794 (1975); Defendants' LUKEFAHR Composite

Exhibits 2, 3, 14; R.Vol. 6, p. 20. App.

A-D. See also, R.Vol. 2, pp. 258-262 [Motion

for Change of Venue and Brief in Support

thereof]. See, e.g., R.Vol. 5, pp. 34-57; Vol.

ll, p. 395; S.R.Vol. 3, p. 53; S.R.Vol. 4, p.

298.

-29-

It is important to note that neither the

Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals nor the Federal

District Court trying this case. specifically

distinguished between the Federal supervisory

and the Constitutional standards. In fact, the

Fifth Circuit states in retrospect:

"We note initially, at least,

one Circuit has refused to

invoke its supervisory powers

to adopt a pre-trial publicity

standard. United States v.

Haldeman, 181 U.S. App.

D.C. 254, 559 F.2d 31, 62-63

(1976). We likewise are hesi-

tant to do so in this case...

This Court questions whether

a supervisory standard based

on minimal exposure is es-

sential to preserving an

accused's right under Irvin to

an impartial jury." United

States v. Capo, 595 F.2d

1092, n.6.

The Fifth Circuit appears to be looking for

guidance as to which standard should be

applied. It appears that the Federal Appellate

Courts can apply either the supervisory

standards, which require a more. stringent

application of the concept of "probability of

prejudice", or the Constitutional due process

standard, which would require actual prejudice,

or possibly the "mockery of justice" standard

=_y

actually applied in the instant case. There are

no articuable means of discerning which

standard an Appellate Court should apply in

any given case. The Petitioners urge this

Court to articulate the proper application of the

supervisory standard holding that it should be

applied in every instance in which the case is

strictly "Federal".

In utilizing its supervisory power, the

Federal Court must be guided in knowing first,

whether the standard must be applied uniformly

to all appellate review of District Courts’ find-

ings in reference to pre-trial publicity; and

secondly, some standard must be enumerated as

guidance for the Appellate Courts in deter-

mining whether a Judge has abused his dis-

cretion in finding that despite massive,

inherently prejudicial pre-trial publicity the

Defendants could receive a fair trial. The ABA

Standards surrounding this decision are

instructive and helpful. See, ABA

STANDARDS, §3.4(b), Supra.

In its commentary, the ABA authors write:

"As shown by such cases as People v. Martin,

-3]-

243 N.Y.S.2d 343 (lst Dept. 1963); Delaney v.

United States, 199 F.2d 107 (lst Cir. 1952);

and Rideau v. Louisiana, 373 U.S. 723 (1963),

there are occasions when the inherently pre-

judicial nature of the material, coupled with

knowledge of its wide dissemination in the

commutity, requires the granting of relief

without elaborate soundings of community

sentiment. In such instances, change of venue

may be particularly appropriate when it can be

shown that the news coverage has been far less

pervasive in some other location within the

jurisdiction."

Therefore, according to some _inter-

pretations of the Federal supervisory standard:

"In light of Murphy = and

Marshall, the law is now that

presumptive prejudice is a

factor that must be examined

in venue decisions...if the

Federal standard for pre-

sumptive prejudice exists at

all, it requires the Trial

Court to recognize the

possibility of presumptive

prejudice." United States v.

Haldeman, 559 F.2d 31 at 149

(5th Cir. 1976) (dissenting

opinion).

a$2e

While Supreme Court cases in the past

appear to mandate that the Federal Appellate

Courts and District Courts apply a standard for

reviewing prejudicial publicity, some Districts

have held that it is inappropriate to attempt to

formulate a supervisory power standard for

concluding that a fair jury could not be

selected. United States v. Haldeman, Id. at

62. See also, United States v. Capo, at 1097,

n.6; Rideau v. Louisiana, 373 U.S. 723 (1963)

(dissenting opinion of Justices Clark and

Harlan).

At the same time, many Courts have

explicitly recognized that the Supreme Court,

by exercising its supervisory power over the

Federal Courts, could establish specific stand-

ards to be applied in all Federal cases. See,

e.g., United States v. Gullion, 575 F.2d 26

(lst Cir. 1978). This power does not extend to

State Court proceedings.

The Federal Courts have failed to expand

protection to a criminal Defendant from

prejudicial pre-trial publicity. In fact, some

State Supreme Courts have outpaced the Federal

-33-

Courts in deciding which elements must be

considered in determining whether a change of

venue should be granted under their

supervisory powers. See, €.g-» Commonwealth

v. Casper, 375 A.2d 737 (Pa. Sup. 1977).

Whether these States have adopted this clearer

standard because of due process or other

reasons, the Federal Courts should lead the

way in this crucial area.

Under the facts and circumstances of the

instant case, the Court of Appeals should have

utilized its supervisory powers in reviewing the

decision of the Federal District Court. By so

doing, it would have been compelled to find

that it was harmful error for the Trial Court to

fail to grant the Petitioners' Motions for Change

of Venue or other procedural remedies re-

quested in the face of the massive prejudicial

pre-trial publicity.

This Court, by establishing a policy for

applying the Court's supervisory standard,

should find that the Fifth Circuit erred by

failing to exercise that power. Moreover, the

standard set by the Fifth Circuit's failing to

-34-

a

comply with the Federal standard was

erroneous. Under the proper analysis, the

Trial Court below erred by failing to evaluate,

prior to the trial, whether the publicity

published _ before the trial created the

probability of unfairness or prejudice.

B. The decision of the Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

and those of other Circuits

fail to delineate articuable

standards for determining

whether the probability of

prejudice "is so great from

prejudicial pre-trial publicity

that a change of venue should

be granted prior to voir

dire".

Once this Court has recognized a Federal

Supervisory standard, the Court must further

specify some standard for reviewing the Trial

Court's determination. Failure of the Courts to

articulate guidelines permits an arbitrary

application of the Supervisory power. Uniform

application would lend more guidance to our

Trial Court Judges. At present, two District

Courts, even within the same jurisdiction, when

presented with cases similar in the quantity and

quality of prejudicial pre-trial publicity, may

reach different results. This may result from

the application of the supervisory standard in

one case and the due process standard in the

other. See, e.g., United States v. Capo, 595

F.2d 1086 (5th Cir. 1979), compare with United

States v. Herring, 568 F.2d 1099 (Sth Cir.

1978); United States v. Williams, 568 F.2d 464

(5th Cir. 1971).

The discrepancy in application is apparent

even within the Fifth Circuit. As stated above,

the Fifth Circuit panel in the instant case failed

to apply the Federal supervisory standard of

avoiding even the possibility of prejudice.

United States v. Capo, Supra. In an earlier

case, the Fifth Circuit stated:

"It is plain that the Marshall

rule is considerably broader

than the Constitutional stand-

ard and provides more pro-

tection against prejudice...

",..This Court, in cases

involving Federal Trials, has

not clearly distinguished

between the Marshall rule and

the Constitutional standard."

United States v. Williams, 568

F.2d at 469.

a36-

The Williams decision was not referred to by the

Court in the instant case.

Articuable standards which are clear and

specific are possible. The standards set forth

by the State of Pennsylvania are illustrative.

In the case of Commonwealth ve Casper,

375 A.2d 737 (Pa. Sup. 1977), the highest

Court in the State of Pennsylvania set forth the

following elements to be considered in deciding

whether a criminal Defendant is entitled to a

change of venue:

"1. The extent of the pre-

trial publicity.

2. The nature of the pre-

trial publicity.

36 The nature of the

community which was subject

to the pre-trial publicity, and

where the trial was scheduled

to take place.

4. The source or sources of

the pre-trial publicity,

including the possibility of

prosecutorial misconduct, in

creating an atmosphere of

hostility towards the accused;

and

-F The familiarity of the

accused's name with the local

populace prior to the time

when charges were brought

37a

against him for which he is

being tried."

Id., at 743.

That Court continued, in applying

these elements:

",,.We hold that the above

elements must be considered

by the Trial Court in each

such case. It is not neces~-

sary that all of the above

elements be present before

change of venue is mandated

in order to insure fair trial.

Any element set forth above,

or any combination of the

above elements, may be suf-

ficient to make a change of

venue in order to insure that

the Defendant receives a fair

trial.

"If a review of these elements

indicates that the pre-trial

publicity is of such magnitude

so as to make it impossible

for the Defendant to receive a

fair trial in a _ particular

community, then a change of

venue must be_— granted,

irrespective of what is

revealed during the voir dire

of the jurors. Rideau v.

Louisiana; Commonwealth v.

Pierce, 451 Pa. 190, 303 =

209 (1973)." naseet at 74

[emphasis supplied}.

The Pennsylvania guidelines as set forth

above direct the Trial Courts in that State as

to what will or will not be tolerated in terms of

pre-trial publicity. The failure of the Federal

Appellate Court to delineate standards for

reviewing Trial Court determinations allows the

lower Federal Courts broad latitude in deter-

mining whether the publicity creates a

"probability of prejudice." The arbitrary use

of this discretion, lacking adequate guidelines,

deprives a Defendant in a criminal case of the

probability of receiving a fair trial. Aside from

these substantive problems, the lack of

certainty and the ambiguity which necessarily

results from this. situation impose additional

unwarranted and unnecessary burdens on the

attorneys and Courts alike.

The instant case is a clear example of the

situation where the Federal supervisory power

should have been invoked. The facts demanded

that the Trial Court find, prior to the voir dire

of the jury, or at any time during the voir dire

of the jury, that there was a probability of pre-

judice. This conclusion is warranted by the

showing made by the Petitioners prior to trial

as to: (1) the substance and quantity of

prejudicial pre-trial publicity; (2) the opinion

=39e

survey taken in the community; (3) testimony

of the psychologist indicating that the jurors

were potentially prejudiced; and (4) the nature

of the circumstances of this case, which in-

volved publicity concerning these Petitioners in

connection with a State murder charge as well

as the Federal smuggling charges, which could

not be separated in the minds of the jurors.

As the Court of Appeals set forth in its

opinion:

"In the three months preceding

trial, approximately 21 stories

concerning the offenses were

published in the Tallahassee

Democrat, the city's largest

paper...moreover, it was

shown that since the occur-

rence of the offenses, a local

television station had run 120

different news reports linking

the murders and the drug

offen’. During those

newscasts, the word 'murder'

surrounded by a red patch

symbolizing blood was flashed

on the screen. It was esti-

mated that each newscast

reached over 200,000 people."

See, App. C and D; (App.

G); United States v. Capo,

Supra at 1089, n.2,

The publicity of this case was highly

localized in Tallahassee, even though the

murders took place in Panama City, Florida

-40-

(some 100 miles west of Tallahassee). The

publicity was disseminated almost entirely from

Tallahassee. The Tallahassee Democrat, the

largest circulating newspaper, was _ published

there as were all local news broadcasts. On

numerous occasions, Petitioners demonstrated to

the Trial Court that publicity concerning this

case was limited to the northern region of

Florida. No national broadcasts about this case

appeared, nor did the Government present

evidence to the contrary. Therefore, a change

of venue would have readily solved the probable

prejudice incurred by the massive prejudicial

pre-trial publicity.

In the event that the Trial Court is not

persuaded prior to voir dire that the pro-

bability of prejudice exists, the Court should

still be responsible for insuring that the pro-

bability of prejudice does not exist prior to

conducting voir dire of the jury venire.

Sheppard v. Maxwell, 384 U.S. 333 at 361

(1966); Rideau v. Louisiana, 373 U.S. 723

(1963); Irvin v. Dowd, 366 U.S. 717 (1961).

Even the Government appears to have expressed

afileq

a belief prior to completion of the voir dire that

a fair trial was less than probable. Following

the first. day of voir dire in the instant case,

the Assistant United States Attorney expressed

his doubts that an impartial jury could be

selected in this locality. (R.Vol. 6, p. 164).

He expressed that belief in a newspaper inter-

niewe while jury selection was underway.

(R./Vol. 6, p. 164). While the impropriety of

the prosecutor's remarks’ should not _ be

overlooked, the fact remains that substantial

evidence showed pervasive community prejudice.

The resulting probability of unfairness in this

case required suitable procedural safeguards.

The Trial Court should not have continued to

conduct voir dire examinations where Petitioners

had proved this probability of prejudice. See,

App. A, B; Sheppard v. Maxwell, 384 U.S. 333

(1961); Rideau v. Louisiana, 373 U.S. 723

(1963).

Where specific standards are not set for

reviewing a District Court's denial of Defend-

ants' change of venue motion, Appellate Courts

are free to set standards which are onerous.

-42-

See generally, Broeder, Voir Dire Examinations:

An Empirical Study, 38 SO.CAL.L.REV. 503

(1969) at 619, citing State v. Rogers, 241 La.

841, 132 So.2d 819 (1961) [publicity included

Defendant's prior record and confession, most

jurors were friends of deceased and coroner

had been quoted as saying that if there was

going to be any "necktie party", he'd like to be

in it].

In actuality, although this Court has

indicated that only a probability of prejudice

need be shown, Petitioners here are forced to

show actual jury prejudice through voir dire

before the Fifth Circuit and other Circuits will

reverse the discretionary decision of a Trial

Court.

",..[A]ppellate review concen-

trates on the nature and

effect of the pre-trial pub-

licity as revealed during voir

dire. Without some showing on

the record of actual prejudice

from the publicity, most

Appellate Courts refuse to

overrule the decisions of the

Trial Judge. See, e.@2.,

United States v. Agueci, 310

F.2d 817 (2nd Cir. 1962)

[jurors' exposure to reports

of murdered prosecution

witnesses held not to

demonstrate prejudice] ;

~

Sargent v. People, 497 P.2d

983 (1972) [insufficient expo-

sure to prosecution's release

of grisly details}; State v.

Thomas, 94 Idaho 430, 489

P.2d 1310 (1971) [no abuse of

discretion despite extensive

exposure to reports of murder

of popular local policeman]."

38 SO.CAL.L.REV. 503 at

619.

This violates the principles set forth by this

Court.

C. The decision of the Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

conflicts with findings of

other Circuit and _ District

Courts that refuse to accept

juror assurances of impart-

iality where prejudicial con-

tamination of the jury has

been shown.

ate

In the instant case, Petitioners presented

to the Court substantial evidence of massive

pre-trial publicity. (See, R.Vol. 5, pp. 49,

56; App. C and D [copies of newspaper

articles published in locality]; R.Vol. 6, pp.

33-95; R.Vol. 6, pp. 20-22; App. G [copy of

picture from local newscasts]. The Court

denied Petitioners' Motion for Change of Venue

and proceeded to voir dire the jury as a group.

During that general examination, the Court

-44-

inquired as to whether any juror had been

exposed to pre-trial publicity. Of all the

prospective jurors, only one indicated that he

had some exposure. Petitioners then requested

an individual voir dire of the jury, which was

granted by the Trial Court. During that

examination, the voir dire revealed:

"As a result of media coverage

of the smuggling operation

and the Sinkhole Murders, a

significant percentage of the

prospective jurors, estimated

at ninety (90%) percent by

Appellants, possessed at least

minimal knowledge of the

murders, evidence of which

was obviously inadmissible in

the Federal trial, and the

connection between the slay-

ings and the drug offenses al-

legedly committed by Appel-

lants." United States v.

Capo, 595 F.2d at 1089; App.

A [excerpts from voir dire of

prospective jurors]; App. B

[excerpts and _ citations to

remarks made by _ jurors

eventually empanelled. ]

Moreover, in reviewing this case, the Fifth

Circuit recognized that each juror empanelled

had some actual knowledge of the Sinkhole

Murders, but stated that each had repeatedly

pledged his or her impartiality during the voir

afin

dire examination. As the Circuit Court stated in

its opinion:

"Most of the potential jurors

who were cognizant of the

murders repeatedly professed

to impartiality in that they

had no fixed impression or

opinion as to. guilt or

innocence." United States v.

Capo, 595 F.2d at 1091.

Petitioners, in their Brief to the Fifth Circuit

Court of Appeals, specifically enumerated as

error the Trial Court's reliance on jurors'

assurances of their own ability to remain neutral,

despite the finding that the jurors had in fact

been exposed to prejudicial pre-trial publicity.

(See, Defendants-Appellants LUKEFAHRS' Brief,

pp. 14-18). During oral argument, Petitioners

specifically requested that the Fifth Circuit

adopt the ABA Standards for Fair Trial and

Free Press, §3.4(b). Under that Standard, the

Court should have upheld the Petitioners'

objections for cause to jurors who had

knowledge of highly inflammatory or significant

information without regard to the testimony as

to each juror's state of mind. See, Appellants

LUKEFAHRS! Brief, p. 14.

The Fifth Circuit, in this case, appears to

revert back to older Supreme Court cases which

express great faith in a juror's ability to gauge

his own impartiality. Adams v. United States

ex rel. McCann, 317 U.S. 269, 281 (1942);

Spies v. People of Illinois, 123 U.S. 131.

However, more recent decisions of this Supreme

Court, recognizing the pervasiveness and power

of today's mass communications, conclude that

despite a juror's best good faith efforts to

remain unbiased, it is highly probable that

publicity will have a substantial conscious or

subconscious affect on a juror's judgment and

verdict. Estes v. Texas, 381 U.S. 532, 544

(1965). As pointed out by defense counsel and

documented by expert testimony, the subcon-

scious pairing by jurors of the pre-trial

publicity concerning murder with the crime of

smuggling did in fact bias the jurors despite

their protestations of impartiality.

While it may be beneficial to provide a

method of jury qualification that will promote

the exclusion of prospective jurors infected with

prejudices of the community from which they

~~

come, this protection, as Irwin v.

Dowd, 366

U.S. 717 (1961) shows, is not always adequate

to effectuate the Constitutional guarantee of an

impartial jury. Groppi v. Wisconsin, 400 U.S.

505, 510 (1971). In the case of Rideau ve.

Louisiana, 373 U.S. 723 (1963), this Court held

that only a change of venue was

Constitutionally sufficient to assure the kind of

impartial jury that is guaranteed by the Sixth

Amendment.

Nonetheless, some Circuit Courts of

Appeals continue to affirm Trial Court decisions

where it is clear from the voir dire transcript

that jurors had been exposed to highly pre-

judicial materials through the news media where

those jurors assured the Court that they would

retain their impartiality. See, e.g., United

States v. Hall, 536 F.2d 313, 326 (10th Cir.

1976); United States v. Haldeman, 559 F.2d 31

(D.C. Cir. 1976). See also, ABA STANDARD

RELATING TO FAIR TRIAL AND FREE PRESS,

Commentary, Supra, p. 21 at 126.

The essence of this attitude towards the

jury has long precedent in the United States.

-48-

Adams v. United States ex rel. McCann, 317

U.S. 269, 281 (1942); Spies v. People of State

of Illinois, 123 U.S. 131. Nonetheless, numerous

Courts have taken a more realistic approach to

the problem of juror assurances.

Other Courts have held that whether a

juror can render a verdict based solely on the

evidence adduced in the Courtroom should not

be adjudged on that juror's own assessment

without something more. United States v.

Largo, 346 F.2d 253, 257 (7th Cir. 1965)

(dissenting opinion), cert. den'd. 382 U.S. 904

(1965); and compare Sheppard v. Maxwell,

346 F.2d 707, 751 (6th Cir. 1965) (dissenting

opinion), rev'd. 384 U.S. 333 (1966); Groppi

v. Wisconsin, 400 U.S. 505 (1971).

Once a Trial Court has accepted the jurors'

assurances of their ability to remain impartial,

an undue hardship is placed on a criminal

Defendant. This is particularly true where the

Trial Court failed to affirmatively determine

whether or not the "probability of prejudice"

existed. As the D.C. Circuit Court stated in

United States ve Haldeman, 559 F.2d 31 (D.C.

Cir. 1976):

"Irvin established a ‘common

sense standard' of juror

qualification. United States

v. Caldwell, 543 F.2d 1333,

T346 (D.C. Cir. 1974), cert.

den'd. 23 U.S. 1087 (1976).

In keeping with that approach,

a Defendant who claims he

was denied a fair _ trial

because the jury was _ not

sufficiently '‘indifferent'

generally must sustain that

claim 'not as a matter of

speculation but as a demon-

strable reality.’ U.S. ox ree

Darcy v. Handy, oD

454, 462 (1956). This demon-

stration can be made only by

reference to the voir dire.

In ‘extreme’ circumstances',

however, prejudice to the

Defendant's rights may be

presumed." (Citations omit-

ted). United States ve

Haldeman at 60.

Under Haldeman, once a jury is voir dired

by a Trial Court, the "probability of prejudice"

standard no longer applies. Therefore,

Haldeman indicated that once a jury has been

qualified under the discretion of the Trial Court

Judge, the Defendant must show actual pre-

judice to the jury before he can reverse the

conviction. The D.C. Circuit does make an

exception to this general rule requiring actual

jury prejudice in such instances by saying that

"in extreme cases", prejudice may be presumed.

-50-

The D.C. Circuit does not go on to enumerate

or give an example of what an extreme circum-

Stance might be, and indicates that the pre-

Sumption is not mandatory, but may in fact

once again be discretionary.

The standard of the D.C. Circuit re-

quiring a showing of actual prejudice is in

direct conflict with the principles enumerated

by the Fifth Circuit, as well as those indicated

by the Ninth Circuit. See, United States ve

Williams, 568 F.2d 464 (5th Cir. 1971);

Silverthorne v. United States, 400 F.2d 627

(9th Cir. 1968). Independent appraisals of the

value of voir dire to discover jury prejudice

indicate that as a whole, the process produces

unreliable information. Several of these

evaluations suggest that Appellate Courts

should place less faith in voir dire. As the

authors of the American Bar Association

Standards for Fair Trial and Free Press state:

"It has in many jurisdictions

been common practice for

denial of such a [change of

venue] motion to be sustained

if a jury meeting prevailing

standards could be obtained.

There are...difficulties with

the approach...many existing

-5l-

In

statements of

THE COURT: Uh-huh. Do you recall any-

bodies,

from,

standards of acceptability

tolerate construable knowledge

of the case, and even an

opinion of the merits on the

part of the prospective juror.

And even under a= more

restrictive standard, there

will remain the problem of

obtaining accurate answers on

voir dire - is the juror con-

sciously or subconsciously

harboring prejudice against

the accused resulting from

widespread news coverage in

the community? Thus, if

change of venue and con-

tinuance are to be of value

they should not turn on the

results of the voir _ dire;

rather, they should constitute

independent remedies de-

when news ___ coverage as

raised substantial doubts

about the effectiveness of the

voir dire standin alone.”

ABA STANDARDS, ss ra, p.

21 at 126 (emphasis added).

Cited in United States v.

Haldeman, 559 F.2d 31 (D.C.

Cir. 1976) (dissenting opinion).

highly significant , inflammatory material.

dire are illustrative:

thing about the

where they were

whether they were --

this case, many jurors remembered

The

juror Mary Mercer during voir

MS. MERCER: It was two sisters there.

One was sixteen.

other one I believe

aS Pe

The

was

THE COURT: .

MS. MERCER:

about fourteen. And there

were two young men

involved. One, I believe,

was a married man. They

were from the _ general

Panama City area, some-

where between Tallahassee

and Panama City. And

then recently, the truck

that was apparently owned

by one of those was pulled

up and there was a section,

the camper section, or

something, missing from the

truck. And allegedly, this

is the vehicle that was in-

volved. And I think what I

ot from that was the

Speculation that those

persons may have _ been

witnesses to the unloadin

of the marijuana, and that

the In fact, ma have

been led ae na reson ot

this. And the speculation

1s that there may be some

more things to be un-

covered in the _ future.

Uh-huh. But you relate

that to this case?

I do. And _ I've _ been

Silent ieee d

trying to sort out what the

rect relationship was, 1

there is one, and it seems

that if there was a more

thorough EEE after

~~aiter the odies were

brought up. And _ there

was some kind of link.”

(Emphasis supplied. )

R.Vol. 11, pp. 68-69.

Ms. Mercer was the foreman of the jury which

convicted the Petitioners.

<5 3e

Even where the jurors fail to remember

particulars from pre-trial publicity, they may

form lasting, general opinions and impressions.

One study described at length by Rudolph

Flesch, in his book, The Art of Clear Thinking

(Collier-McMillan), 165-166 (1969), indicated

that while those studied forgot the details of

the film shown to them, its message and the

opinion they had formed increased. Therefore,

as the dissent in United States v. Haldeman,

concluded:

"Thus, the circumstance that

prospective jurors stated they

could not recall particulars

did not negate the strong

possibility that they had

formed and_ retained some

general opinions about what

they had seen and heard."

Id., at 155.

All of this assumed that jurors on voir

dire are attempting in good faith to honestly

report their own impartiality. Despite the

history of this assumption in American juris-

prudence, it has been documented in numerous

situations that "veniremen freqently deceive,

many times consciously." Broeder, Voir Dire

Examinations: An Empirical Study, 38 SO.CAL.

-5 4-

L.REV. 503, 513. From the voir dire here, the

Trial Court in this instance was on notice that

these jurors were hesitant to respond fully and

accurately to the Court when questions were

propounded to the group. See, R.Vol. 16, p.

9.

Moreover, here, after the first day of voir

dire, the Trial Court propounded questions to

the prospective jurors which were calculated to

evoke, or had the effect of evoking, responses

demonstrating impartiality on the part of the

jurors. See, e.g., R.Vol. 9, pp. 71-75; Vol.

ll, pp. 70-71. The Court's questions became

leading and highly suggestive. Moreover, the

Court frequently suggested the answer to the

juror prior to asking the question. One example

is the following exchange during voir dire:

THE COURT: If someone were to ask

you that you believed the

crimes charged here in this

indictment have now been

committed, your answer

would be what?

MS.

OVERSTREET: I really don't know.

THE COURT: Your answer would be no?

MS.

OVERSTREET: No, they haven't.

THE COURT: Yes, it maybe was not a

fair question.

MS.

OVERSTREET: Yeah.

THE COURT: Because the burden is on

the government to. prove

that the crimes were com-

mitted and these defendants

committed them.

MS.

OVERSTREET: Right.

THE COURT: All right. All right.

MS.

OVERSTREET: Uh-huh.

THE COURT: Any problem?

MS.

OVERSTREET: No.

(R.Vol. 9, pp. 75-76).

As was set forth in the dissenting opinion

in Haldeman, a juror's natural inclination would

be to deny opinions after the Court has sug-

gested that those opinions are contrary to those

of the Court or contrary to the law. The

Court, in asking certain questions, appeared to

be "merely going through the form of obtaining

jurors' assurances of impartiality", and this is

"insufficient [to test that impartiality]." United

oBie

States ex rel. Bloeth v. Denno, 313 F.2d 364,

372 (2nd Cir. 1963), cert. denied 372 U.S. 978

(1963).

The facts in the instant case are analagous

to the facts set forth in the leading case of

Silverthorne v. United States, 400 F.2d 627

(9th Cir. 1968). In that case, each and every

juror had heard something about the Appellant's

case. Despite jurors' assurances of impart-

iality, the Court quoted from Irvin v. Dowd in

reversing the lower Court decision:

"No doubt each juror’ was

sincere when he said that he

would be fair and impar-

tial...but the psychological

impact requiring such a

declaration before one's

fellows is often its father."

Silverthorne v. United States,

400 F.2d 627 (9th Cir. 1968).

While our system of justice is based on the

integrity of the jurors, it would be reckless to

disregard the realities cf present day media

contamination of prospective jurors. Despite

the integrity of individual jurors, and their own

belief and confidence in their ability to be im-

partial, substantial evidence exists which points

to the undeniable conclusion that jurors are

afte

frequently subconsciously or consciously pre-

judiced by pre-trial publicity. Broeder, Voir

Dire Examinations: An Empirical Study, 38 SO.

CAL.L.REV. 503 (1969). In addition, many

jurors exposed to pre-trial publicity consciously

desire to remain on jury panels despite their

possible prejudice, due to their interest in the

case as excited by pre-trial publicity. A

juror's enthusiasm for fulfilling his obligations

as a citizen in serving on a jury is certainly

commendable; however, where the juror is

motivated by factors which may very well impair

his ability to remain impartial, the Court must

insure that such a biased juror not impinge on

a Defendant's right to an impartial trial.

Some limitations must be placed on the

discretion of the Trial Court to accept the

assurances of prospective jurors of their own

impartiality. Not in all cases or under all

circumstances, but this duty must extend at

least to those situations in which there has

been a showing of pervasive pre-trial publicity.

-58-

Despite all good intentions, a juror is not

always the best judge of himself. Estes v.

Texas, 381 U.S. 532, 544 (1965).

II. The decision of the Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

holding that the Trial Court's

general voir dire of the jury

regarding their exposure to

inherently prejudicial mid-trial

publicity, when combined with

the Court's instructions,

conflicts with decisions of

other Circuit Courts.

During the course of the trial, the

Tallahassee Democrat, the largest circulation

newspaper in the Tallahassee area, featured a

front page headline reading, "CONVICTS LIVED

IT UP HERE - = WHILE THEY COULD", with

the sub-headline, "Witness Recounts Threat on

Life". (App. E). Defense counsel offered a

copy of this article in open Court, out of the

hearing of the jury, and requested that the

Judge conduct a voir dire of each juror indi-

vidually in reference to their exposure to the

article and headline. (R.Vol. 16, pp. 5, 9).

In making his request, counsel described the

contents of the article, which were inherently

-59-

prejudicial. (R.Vol. 16, p. 9; App. E). The

Court refused to individually voir dire the

jurors, and merely conducted a_ general

questioning of the jury as a group. (R.Vol.

16, p. 8).

On appeal, the Defendants, citing among

other cases United States v. Herring, argued

for the adoption of American Bar Association

Standards for Fair Trial and Free Press §3.5(f)

(1968). United States v. Herring, 568 F.2d

1099 (5th Cir. 1978); Defendants LUKEFAHRS'

Brief, pp. 27-32. The Fifth Circuit Court of

Appeals, in Herring, Supra, had approved the

procedure recommended by the American Bar

Association for dealing with publicity which

occurs during the trial. As the Court of

Appeals recognized in this case,

"Where material disseminated

during the trial 'goes beyond

the record' of the trial and

'raises serious questions of

possible prejudice', the Trial

Court is to inquire of each

juror about his or her pos-

sible exposure to the material

out of the presence of other

jurors." Herring, 568 F.2d at

1104; cited in United States

v. Capo, 595 F.2d 1086, 1093

i975)

-60-

In the Herring decision, and under the

ABA Standard, a two-step determination must

be made by the Court prior to individual exam-

ination of the jurors. The Court must first

decide whether the matter goes beyond the

record and is seriously prejudicial in content.

Second, the Trial Judge is to determine the

likelihood that the material reached the jury.

Both Courts below recognized that the

publicity went beyond the record and was

inherently prejudicial in content. United States

v. Capo, 595 F.2d at 1089. See also, United

States v. Lord, 565 F.2d 831, n.7 (2nd Cir.

1977); Marshall v. United States, 360 U.S. 310

(1959); Murphy v. Florida, 421 U.S. 794, 798

(1975).

However, in reviewing the Trial Court's

determination of the second step of the ABA

test, whether or not it was likely that the jury

was exposed to the prejudicial material, the

Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals erred. The

Court was aware of the prominence of the

headline in the Tallahassee Democrat, and of

the inherently prejudicial nature of the article.

Moreover, the Court recognized that at least six

jurors had daily subscriptions to the newspaper

and four other members purchased it on a

regular basis. United States v. Capo, at 5195,

n.2; App. F. The jurors were not

sequestered, and because most received copies

of the Tallahassee Democrat in their homes, and

since the above-referenced article was a

front-page story, it can only be assumed that

the Court rested its entire determination as to

the second phase of the test on the Trial

Court's instructions to the jury. The Fifth

Circuit states, in United States ve Capo, at

1093:

",,.the Trial Judge reasoned

that he had instructed the

jury not to read anything

about the trial, they had

followed these’ instructions

and if they had read the

article, a collective inquiry

would reveal it. This mani-

fested the Court's belief that

the material had not been dis-

seminated to the jury, a

conviction that was confirmed

by the jurors' negative

responses to the Court's

questions."

abte

Neen eee erence eee ee ee

By so concluding, the Fifth Circuit has

deviated from other Circuits in several ways.

First, the Fifth Circuit ignores the reality,

which has been accepted by other Circuits, that

jurors frequently breach Courts' instructions.

Second, where the Trial Court has been pre-

viously put on notice that jurors had failed to

respond properly or completely truthfully to

questioning as a group, the Court continues to

affirm this type of generalized inquiry.

Finally, the Fifth Circuit has accepted nothing

more than a general questioning of the jury,

where this manner of questioning has been held

inadequate by other Circuit Courts.

While the Fifth Circuit affirms in this case

on the grounds that the Trial Court acted

properly in basing its failure to individually

voir dire the jury on its belief that the jurors

would follow directions, such idealism was un-

warranted in this case. It is obvious from the

record of the case that jurors had failed to

observe the Court's instructions. For example,

during voir dire, several prospective jurors

a

admitted breaches of the Trial Court's in-

structions that they not read, or discuss this

case, and that they not listen to discussions of

the case outside the Court. (R. Vol. ll, p.

68; Vol. 10, p. 365.) On another occasion, one

juror described a prohibited conversation with

another juror, and _ stated in explanation,

"people do talk no matter what you tell them to

do." (R. Vol. 10, p. 46.) Moreover, even if

these jurors had attempted to follow the Court's

instructions not to read, hear or discuss "this

case", the jurors could have misinterpreted the

instruction, concluding that it limited only their

reading in regard to the Federal smuggling case

while continuing to view publicity concerning

the State murder case. This continued to

prejudice the Petitioners where prejudicial

materials about them were broadcast on either

the State or Federal cases. See, Defendants

LUKEFAHRS' Brief, pp. 33-36 [analysis of

various interpretations of Court's instructions].

Moreover, other Circuits have taken the

more realistic approach that Courts cannot close

their eyes to the realities that jurors may be

abte

tempted by prominently displayed prejudicial

publicity. Petitioners do not argue that all

jurors in all Federal cases must be sequestered;

the relief they seek is much more limited. It is

most important that this Court set guidelines to

be followed by Federal District Courts when

confronted with the problem of actual publica-

tion or broadcast of prejudicial information

concerning an on-going criminal trial. See,

United States v. Lord, 565 F.2d 831, 838 (2nd

Cir. 1977), citing, ABA Project on Minimum

Standards for Criminal Justice, Fair Trial and

Free Press §3.5(f).

The conflict between Circuits willing to

recognize the realities of mass news media and

juror disobedience of instructions, and those

which maintain the concept of jurors' ability to

recognize and then totally disregard prejudicial

publicity, are apparent in several cases. For

example, the Second Circuit, taking the more

realistic approach, is illustrative:

"In our view, the _ District

Court erred in relying solely

on repetitive admonitions to

the members of the jury to

avoid news coverage of the

ah Sea

trial...the widespread avail-

ability of newspapers as well

as the prominent position

occupied by the article

created a_ strong possibility

that some jurors might have

been exposed to the irrele-

vant and prejudicial matter in

the publicity.

"Under such circumstances, it

is not enough to assume that

jurors will faithfully observe

general cautionary in-

structions, in view of some

experience to the contrary.

See, e.g., Silverthorne v.

United States, 400 F.2d 627

(9th Cir. 1968) [juror ignored

instructions and kept col-

lection of newspaper clippings

pertaining to trial]." United

States v. Lord, 565 F.2d 831,

838-9 (2nd Cir. 1977).

However, other Circuits have implicitly

recognized that jurors fail to follow the Courts'

instructions. See, e.g., United States v.

Concepcion Cueto, 515 F.2d 160 (1st Cir. 1975)

[jurors deliberating on case were exposed to

publicity, despite Trial Court's instructions that

they not read about the case. Court of Ap-

peals notes that even in camera individual voir

dire was conflicting. |] United States v.

Titsworth, 422 F.Supp. 587 (D.C. Neb. 1976)

[some jurors admitted hearing newscasts, or

being told of newscasts].

Despite our long-held belief that jurors

In direct contrast to this, was a statement ;

will follow Courts' instructions, the temptation

made recently by the Ninth Circuit Court of é ae

of viewing massive mid-trial publicity may be

Appeals. Therein, the Ninth Circuit stated:

"The Supreme Court has said

that our whole jury system is

based upon the recognizability

of the juror’ to _ follow

instructions. Opper ve

United States, 348 U.S. 84,

95, 75 §.Ct. 158 (1954).

Moreover, we are required to

assume that the jury followed

instructions. United States

v. Strand, 574 F.2d 993, 996

(th Cir. 1978)." (Further

citations omitted.) United

States v. Brady, 579 F.2d

1121, 1127 (9th Cir. 1978).

too great for many jurors. "The jury is an

essential instrumentality - an appendage - of

the Court, the body ordained to pass upon

guilt or innocence." Sinclair v. United States,

279 U.S. 749, 765. Nonetheless, as Mr. Justice

Holmes stated,

"Any Judge who has sat with

juries knows that, in spite of

forms they are extremely

likely to be impregnated by

the environmenting atmo-

sphere." Frank v. Mangum,

nh Jo

237 U.S. 309, 349 (dissenting

opinion). See, Turner v.

Louisiana, 379 U.S. 466,

471-72 (1965).

There may well be examples in each and

every Circuit of jurors who fail to observe the

Court's instructions not to read, listen or in

any way be subject to the influence of pre-

judicial publicity during the trial. Where

publicity, as in this case, is inherently preju-

dicial, and evidence such as that presented by

the Petitioners that jurors may well have been

exposed to it, the Federal supervisory re-

quirements that District Courts avoid even "the

probability of prejudice" requires an in-depth,

individual voir dire of the jurors to determine

their exposure to the publicity.

Petitioners allege that only an individual

voir dire of the jurors out of each other's

presence can adequately preserve an accused's

right to a fair and impartial jury. As stated

by these Petitioners in the Trial Court below,

this jury had failed to respond truthfully

during pre-trial voir dire when inquired as a

group concerning their exposure to prejudicial

pre-trial publicity.

See, Appellants' Brief, pp. 27-28; R. Vol. 16,

p. 9, App. B.

During the trial, Petitioners requested

questioning of the jury regarding the prejudi-

cial publicity. Despite counsel's request for

individual voir dire, the jurors, as a group,

were first reminded of the instructions given to

them by the Court on the preceding Friday to

avoid reading, listening or hearing anything

about this trial. (R.Vol. 16, p. 15.) The

Trial Court then asked the jurors collectively

whether they had read anything about the trial,

or seen any headlines about it. (R. Vol. 16,

pp. 15-16.) The Court's initial admonition put

the jurors on notice that if they stated that

they had read anything, they had also violated

the Court's instructions. Not surprisingly,

then, no juror stated that he had read the

article or headline. The Court obviously

viewed the failure of any juror to affirmatively

state that he had been subjected to the article

a negative response. Nonetheless, other Courts

have found that:

-69-

"The fact that they [jurors]

did not respond to the

Court's general inquiries did

not establish that the pub-

licity ‘could not have pre-

judiced any member of the

jury’." Henslee v. United

States, 246 F.2d at 193 (5th

Cir. 1957), cited in

Silverthorne v. United States,

400 F.2d 627, 640 (1968).

Many jurisdictions recognize that preju-

dicial during-trial publicity can be far more

harmful to the rights of fair trial of a criminal

defendant than is prejudicial pre-trial publicity.

See, e.g., Sheppard v. Maxwell, 384 U.S. 333

(1966); Marshall v. United States, 360 U.S.

310 (1959); United States v. Chapin, 515 F.2d

at 1287, n.12. Thus, where the harm to the

criminal Defendant exists from the potentiality

of prejudicial mid-trial publicity, stringent

standards must be set by this Court, either

through the exercise of its supervisory powers

or in determining the minimum _ standards

required under due process, to insure that

jurors have not been exposed to this type of

publicity.

Some Circuits, such as the Fifth Circuit in

deciding this case, have held that a general

=70~

questioning of the jury is sufficient to meet due

process requirements. See, United States v.

Capo, 595 F.2d 1086 (5th Cir. 1979). However,

even within the Fifth Circuit, the procedural

requirements have not been uniform. For

example, the Fifth Circuit recently reversed the

conviction in United States v. Herring, 568

F.2d 1099 (5th Cir. 1978) because the Trial

Court had failed to individually and out of the

presence of each other voir dire the jury.

In United States v. Akin, 562 F.2d 459

(7th Cir. 1977), the Seventh Circuit suggested

that the Circuits are divided as to the pro-

cedure to be followed when possible prejudice

from publicity arises during the course of a

trial. United States v. Akin, at 468. As that

Court held:

"Our Circuit has consistently required

the following procedure as set forth in

Margolis v. United States, 407 F.2d

727, 735 (7th Cir. 1969), cert. den'd.

396 U.S. 833, 90 S.Ct. 69:

'Thus, the procedure re-

quired by this Circuit where

prejudicial publicity is

brought to the Court's at-

tention during the trial is

that the Court must ascer-

tain if any jurors who had

been exposed to such pub-

licity had read or heard the

same. Such jurors who res-~-

pond affirmatively must then

be examined, individually

and outside the presence of

other jurors to determine the

effect of the publicity.

However, if no juror indi-

cates, upon inquiry made to

the jury collectively, that he

has read or heard any of the

publicity in question, the

Judge is not required to

proceed further.'"

The Seventh Circuit Court suggests that

the same approach has been adopted by the

First Circuit in United States ve Perrotta, 553

F.2d 247 (lst Cir. 1977), and by the Fourth

Circuit in United States v. Hankish, 502 F.2d

71 (4th Cir. 1974). Other Courts have con-

cluded that each juror should be questioned

separately out of the presence of the other

jurors. United States v. Polizzi, 500 F.2d 856

(9th Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 1120

(1975); Silverthorne v. United States, 400

F.2d 627 (9th Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 400

U.S. 1022 (1971); United States v. Schrimsher,

493 F.2d 848 (5th Cir. 1974); Mares v.

United States, 383 F.2d 805 (10th Cir. 1967),

=F2~

cert. denied, 394 U.S. 963 (1969); Coppedge

v. United States, 272 F.2d 504 (D.C. Cir.

1959), cert. denied, 368 U.S. 855 (1961).

This approach has found additional support

and recognition by the American Bar Association

in its Standards, Fair Trial and Free Press

§3.5(f), which provides:

"(f) Questioning jurors about

exposure to potentially pre-

judicial material in the course

of a trial; standard for

excusing a juror.

"If it is determined that the

material disseminated during

the trial goes beyond the

record on which the case is

to be submitted to the jury

and raises serious questions

of possible prejudice, the

Court may on its own motion

or shall on motion of either

party question each juror,

out of the presence of the

others, about his exposure to

that material. The exami-

nation shall take place in the

presence of counsel, and an

accurate record of examination

shall be kept."

Although some Circuit Courts have con-

cluded that this standard is too restrictive

(see, United States v. Hankish, 502 F.2d at

77), it has been adopted by other Circuits.

at 2e

See, e.g., United States v. Herring 568 F.2d

1099 (5th Cir. 1978); cf., United States v.

Capo, supra.

A leading case concerning prejudicial

mid-trial publicity is Silverthorne v. United

States, 400 F.2d 627 (9th Cir. 1968). In that

case, an extremely prejudicial article was pub-

lished during the trial. The Trial Judge, in

referring to the article and the possible expo-

sure of the jurors to its contents, summarized

the attitude of numerous District Court Judges:

"Well, how are you ever going

to prevent those things, in

any event, I don't justify

them at all. I think it is

outrageous, but in a sense, it

is outrageous even if there

was no trial...how would you

ever, in any jury, avoid that

kind of thing [prejudicial

mid-trial publicity] ?"

The Ninth Circuit held that the Judge should

have questioned the jury, in camera, as re-

quested by defense counsel. Moreover, the

Court found that the "probability of prejudice"

arose and was not eliminated by the Trial

Court. Citing, Sheppard v. Maxwell, 384 U.S.

at 357 (1966), and Estes v. Texas, 381 U.S.

532 (1965).

A Trial Judge should not be allowed to

evade his responsibility and obligation to insure

that every criminal Defendant receives a fair

trial because of the perceived or presumed

inevitability of prejudicial publicity. As the

Ninth Circuit stated in Silverthorne v. United

States, 400 F.2d 627 (9th Cir. 1968):

"Despite the inability of the

trial Judge to prevent news-

papers or other news media

from being brought to the

attention of a non-sequestered

jury alleging evidence of

_ misconduct. of the Defendant

not offered against him at the

trial, the Trial Court cannot

assume that all is well, or

that there is nothing he can

do. He is required to as-

sume, until he has established

otherwise by voir dire exam-

ination, ‘that some of this

material reached the members

of the jury.' Sheppard v.

Maxwell, supra, eS. “at

357, 86 S.Ct. at 1519, citing

Commonwealth v. Crehan, 345

Mass. 609, 188 N.E.2d 923

(1963)." Id. at 644.

The decision of the Fifth Circuit requiring

that Petitioners show more than: (1) the in-

herently prejudicial nature of a prominently

displayed news article; (2) the availability of

those materials to the jury; and (3) the un-

reliability of juror responses when voir dired as

a group, has created a burden of proof or. a

criminal Defendant that is both procedurally

wrong and virtually impossible to meet. The

requirement that Petitioners prove actual jury

prejudice by mid-trial publicity contradicts the

holding of the United States Supreme Court in

Sheppard v. Maxwell, 384 U.S. 333 (1966).

The holding in that case emphasizes that the

Courts must assure and protect Defendants from

jurors exposed to _ prejudicial during-trial

publicity. See contra, United States v.

Agueci, 310 F.2d 817 (2nd Cir. 1962).

Because of the substantial threat of pre-

judice to a criminal Defendant, this Court

should direct the District Courts as to what

procedure they must follow once Defendants

have shown that substantially prejudicial mid-

trial publicity has been published, and that an

unsequestered jury may have been exposed to

it. See, Appendix E, F. The Circuit Courts

have not agreed on a standard, nor is there

consistency within the Fifth Circuit as to the

standard which must be followed by a Trial

-76-

/

:

’

.

OL aaa... i=

Court. The Supreme Court, either under its

Supervisory powers or under due process

analysis, should, therefore, establish standards

governing the procedure for the Trial Courts to

follow when faced with the dilemma of pre-

judicial mid-trial publicity.

III. The decision of the Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

holding that comments’ on

Petitioners' post-arrest silence

were not violatative of their

right to remain silent when

read in the context of the

argument in its entirety con-

flicts with case precedent of

this Court and other Circuit

Courts.

In Petitioners' Brief to the Fifth Circuit, it

was argued that the prosecutor's closing argu-

ment contained prohibited and prejudicial com-

ments on the failure of some of the Defendants

to testify. See, LUKEFAHRS' Brief, pp. 42-45.

The Court, in rejecting this contention, opined

that the objectionable argument did not refer to

the Petitioners' "silence at trial, nor that the

Jury construed the remarks to have this

meaning." (emphasis supplied by the Court's

>

italics). United States v. Capo, 595 F.2d 1086

at 1095 (5th Cir. 1979). The Court further

stated that the prosecutor's comments yvere

intended to be a reference to the refusal! of the

Petitioners to cooperate with law enforcement

officials rather than a comment on their failure

to testify:

"A reading of the closing

argument in its entirety,

however, reveals that the

statement was merely part of

the prosecutor's rebuttal

argument that the defendants

had the opportunity to co-

operate with law enforcement

officials after their arrest,

but declined to do_ so."

(emphasis supplied) United

States v. Capo, Id. at 1094.

This interpretation of the facts differed

not only with the Petitioners', but also with

that of the Government. The Government

argued in its Brief that the comments were

made to show that none of the Petitioners

declined to participate in the crime "...during

the period in which they were supposedly being

entrapped...." (Government's Brief, p. 32.)

These Petitioners never alleged an entrapment

defense. See, e.g., S.R.Vol. 3, p. 14.

Thus, there have been three different

interpretations of the prosecutor's argument:

The Petitioners', the Government's, and the

Fifth Circuit's.

Both the Petitioners and the Court of

Appeals concur that the remark of the prose-

cutor, which was coupled with a gesture toward

the Defendants-Petitioners, referred to their

failure to take the stand or facilitate law en-

forcement. As the Court stated:

"Viewed in its naked form

apart from the remainder of

the closing argument, the

prosecutor's statement, when

combined with his gesture,

appears perhaps to be a

remark on defendants! failure

to take the stand." United

States v. Capo, 595 F.2d at

1094,

While rejecting the Petitioners' contention,

the Fifth Circuit demonstrated that the argu-

ment of the prosecutor was improper and consti-

tutes reversible error, in a manner not contem-

plated by the Petitioners or the Government.

Under either theory, this Court should find

reversible error.

If the comments were, as the Fifth Circuit

Court has ruled, a reference to the failure of

the Petitioners to cooperate with the law en-

forcement officials after their arrest, then the

judgment and sentence should be reversed. A

comment on the failure of the accused to co-

operate following his arrest is tantamount to a

comment on this post-arrest silence, which is

forbidden. Doyle v. Ohio, 426 U.S. 610

(1976).

In Doyle v. Ohio, 426 U.S. 610 (1976), a

State prosecutor used the Defendant's pretrial

silence to impeach his trial testimony, the

Government's contention being that if the

Defendant's trial testimony were true, he surely

would have explained his innocence to the police

at the time of his arrest. The Supreme Court

ruled that the Defendant's silence could not be

used for impeachment purposes. This ruling in

Doyle was an expansion of the Court's previous

holdings thaf the post~arrest silence of the

accused could neither be commented upon by

the prosecutor, mor the - subject of a

presumptive instruction by the Court. See,

-80-

Griffin v. California, 380 U.S. 609 (1965),

rehearing denied, 381 U.S. 957 (1965); United

States v. Hale, 422 U.S. 171 (1975).

The decision of the Fifth Circuit that the

prosecutor's statement was a comment on the

post-arrest silence of the Petitioners raises an

issue of Constitutional importance. The Peti-

tioners continue to argue that where the remark

is susceptible to interpretation by the jury as a

comment on Petitioners' failure to testify, it

must be reversible error. Griffin v. California,

380 U.S. 609 (1965); Wilson v. United States,

149 U.S. 60 (1893); United States v. White,

444 F.2d 1274 (5th Cir. 1971), cert. denied,

344 U.S. 949 (1971).

Therefore, the Fifth Circuit holding that

the prosecutor's comment does not infringe on

the Petitioners' Fifth Amendment rights is

error. Whether read in light of the entire

closing argument or aS a separate unit, a

remark concerning Petitioners' failure to testify

at trial, or one that suggests their refusal to

help law enforcement officers, is a violation of

Petitioners' rights to remain silent. The Fifth

-8]-

Circuit analysis provides dangerous precedent

and creates an erosion of Fifth Amendment

rights.

CONCLUSION

Petitioners pray that the Petition for Writ

of Certiorari be granted to review the judgment

and opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of

Appeals.

Respectfully submitted,

LAW OFFICES OF ED

By: raw F- eo

~ Diane E. Marger

-82-

APPENDIX A

The following is the list of pros-

pective jurors in this case with excerpts

from and citations to their remarks dur-

ing voir dire concerning their knowledge

of publicity surrounding this case and/or

the State murder case involving these

Defendants:

PROSPECTIVE JURORS

Sapp: Knew a little, S.R. Vol. 3,

>. i337

Three people died because of

it, GR. Vol. 2p Be aoe

Tallahassee Democrat (heard

opinions), S.R. Vol. 3, p. 139

Revel: Read in Democrat - Sandy Creek

S.R. Vol. 3, p. 163

Sinkhole lead to murders, S.R.

Vol. 3, pe 263

Suggested voir dire, truck

lifted out of sinkhole, S.R.

Vol. 3, p. 163

Kling: Read concerning sinkhole

murders and pot smuggling in

Democrat - sinkhole trigger?

SR. Ved. 2. BD. 279

Jackson: Sinkhole, them recovering

bodies, S.R. Vol. 3, p. 216

A-A-1

Thurmond:

Mack:

Cato:

Barrow:

Young:

Judge asked for connection;

response is no, S.R. Vol. 3,

217

Sandy Creek - murders, S.R.

Vol. 4, Bp. 27

Read newSpaper accounts, S.R.

Vol. 4, Be. 247

Deaths in Sandy Creek, S.R.

Vol. 4, pe ae

Points out influence of

Judge's wording, S.R. Vol. 4,

p. 40

Know...just that it happened,

S.R. Vol. 4, p. 43

Trigger connection between

ciarge and read? Yes. S.R.

You. 4, Os. 47

Some bodies were found - sink-

hole, S.R. Vol. 4, p. 49

Knows they're from Panama City,

S.R. Vol. 4, p. 64

Men and women, S.R. Vol. 4,

p. 65

Just said it was going to be

the sinkhole, that's the murder

one, isn't it? S.R. Vol. 4,

p. 74

Contact with area law enforce-

ment, S.R. Vol. 4, p. 82

Feels crime has been committed,

S.R. Vol. 4, p. 86

When you read the charge,

A-A-2

Bass:

Bradwell:

associated it with something

I had read, I guess, really, I

probably did, I think we all

read something, S.R. Vol. 4,

p. 95

Sandy Creek, S.R. Vol. 4, p.

97

Says he thoroughly reads paper,

S.R. Vol. 4, p. 102

There must have been a crime

somewhere committed, S.R. Vol.

S$, w. iG2

Mention of Bobby Vines re-

minded of press, S.R. Vol. 4,

p. ilz

Drug charges related to

murders, S.R. Vol. 4, p. 112

Crime has been committed, S.R.

Vol. 4, p. i115

But on crime, see S.R. Vol. 4,

op. iLi?, 130

Any testimony must carry far

greater weight, S.R. Vol. 4,

Dp. £32

Possibly read about it, S.R.

Voi. 4, p. 14]

Vines, S.R. Vol. 4, p. 142

Sandy Creek - murder, S.R. Vol.

4, p. 144

Associates murders and charges,

S.R. Vol. 4, p. 145

Holifield:Had read a little about it in

paper, S.R. Vol. 4, p. 170

A-A-3

Crowley:

Rivers:

Kasten:

Sinkhole murder case, S.R.

VOL.) 4, Be AER, 177

Something on T.V., S.R. Vol.

Walborsky:

4, p. 173

Juror next to me said there

have been newspaper accounts,

S.R. Vol. 4, p. 194

Sinkholes - smuggling and

murder, S.R. Vol. 4, p. 198

Speculate it might be same

case, S.R. Vol. 4, p. 198

"Assuming" sinkhole/murders

are this case, S.R. Vol. 4,

o.- 2i7

ne Hodges:

Assume it is the same case -

Sink deal, bodies were - Bobby

Vines, S.R. Vol. 4, p. 225

One dead was 14 - close to age

of daughter, S.R. Vol. 4, p.

229

I'm sure the crime has been

committed, S.R. Vol. 4, p. 242

Some evidence or no indictment,

S.R. Vol. 4, p. 242 Wilson:

Sinkhole incident, truck being

pulled out, S.R. Vol. 4, p. 264 \

Relates to the Perry Murders,

S.R. Vol. 4, p. 267

Subscribes to Tallahassee

Democrat, S.R. Vol. 4, p. 273

Sees Perry murders every time

Channel 6 goes on, S.R. Vol. 4,

Dp. 276

A-A-4

Sandy Creek - in connection

with murder, sinkhole bust,

S.R. Vol. 4, p. 286

Do names Sandy Creek/sink-

holes invoke any response?

I think of murder. R. Vol. 7,

D>. Sa

Would trigger response again,

R. Vel. Fe Be Se

Conjectured the connection

between sinkhole and this

case and bases this on news-

paper, R. Vol. 7, p. 77

It might affect his judgment,

RnR. Voi. 7, pi 78

You mentioned marijuana, I

don't know if murder is

connected R. Vol. 7, p. 100

Sinkhole, R. Vol. 7, p. 101

Sandy Creek means pot smuggling

- the girls, R. Vol. 7, p. 101

Unless I just believe every-

thing like, in the papers,

R.. Vela Fe Be ee

Accounts in newspaper of sink-

hole incident (no prior mention

of sinkhole by Judge) R. Vol.

Te Be 134

Mostly heard about murder as-

pect of it, R. Vol. 7, p. 134

Sandy Creek would elicit

response, R. Vol. 7, p. 147,

148

A-A-5

Kinch:

Golden:

Tavlor:

Christie:

Myers:

McNeil:

Lucas:

Question - would that informa-

tion make you unfair or partial?

R. Vol. 7, p. 150

Murders at sinkhole, R. Vol. 7,

p. 180

Water hole - something like

some bodies found in it or

something, R. Vol. 8, p. 34

I had read about case in papers,

well I read about finding the

bodies down there, R. Vol. 8,

p. 74

Sandy Creek - some smuggling

operation, R. Vol. 8, p. 79

Water hole, ship's hold, etc.,

R. Vol. 8, p. 82

Bodies found there, 2 men, 2

women, R. Vol. 8, p. 81

Did you know about case? Not

at first. R. Vol. 8, p. 95

Read about when they found the

people and got truck, R. Vol.

8, p. 109

Specific ‘facts, R. Vol. 8, p.

109

No knowledge, R. Vol. 8, p. 126

Worries a lot about her drug

biases, R. Vol. 8, p. 123-125

Bias versus pot, R. Vol. 8, p.

167

Subscribes to Tallahassee Demo-

crat, R. Vol. 8, p. 157

A-A-6

Alagood:

Didn't hear of case, R. Vol. 8,

Ss hee

Sinkhole - bodies out of there,

R. Vol. 8, p. 180

Relates sinkhole and Sandy

Creek, R. Vol. 8, p. 181

Caused from drug operation,

R. VOl.-8, Bs L8i

Casisseaux: Sinkhole down in Sandy Creek,

West:

Brim:

Miller:

R. Vol. 8, p. 218

Only related it to truck, R.

Vol. 8, p. 220

Names - I connected that imme-

diately, then, with the

publicity, R. Vol. 8, p. 229

Bodies started showing up in

Sinkhole, R. Vol. 8, p. 230

Cultural bias, I'm afraid, R.

Wel. 8, @. 233

Followed "story" regularly, R.

Vol. 8, p. 244

Thinks crime was committed, R.

VOL.’ Be Bi 2a

Knew "Billy's" father very

well, R. Vol. 8, p. 251

Guessed case, from paper, R.

Voi. Fe DO. 45.5

Sinkhole/four bodies, R. Vol.

3, po. 6

This part tried here, the other

part in Pensacola, R. Vol.

a. pe. 6

A-A-7

Johnson:

Two men/two women, one young -

on murders, R. Vol. 9, p. 16

Connection from paper, R. Vol.

9, p. 18

Had idea of case - from paper,

R. Vol. 9s Bs 37

I've heard about case in news-

paper, R. Vol. 9, p. 38

Sandy Creek/sinkhole - rings a

bell, yes - marijuana smuggling

from Sandy Creek and sinkhole

murders, R. Vol. 9, p. 39

Believes crimes have been

committed, R. Vol. 9, p. 54

(later changes - see argument,

p. 62)

Overstreet:Drug case/tied in with those

Parramore:

Sinkhole murders, R. Vol. 9,

p>. va

Longer I have been here, the

more I'm convinced, R. Vol. 9,

S. 2

On crime been committed - yes.

I should say no. R. Vol. 9,

p. 87-88

Young girls, boys, R. Vol. 9,

p. 89

Sinkhole case/murders - Ques-

tions asked by people I work

with, R. Wod. 3895 OF

Two men/two women, young and

from Bay area, R. Vol. 10, p.

11

A-A-8

Newhall:

Woods:

Woody:

Johnson:

Fontana:

Tells story from papers, R.

Vol. 10, p. 27-28

People found in sinkhole, pot

- I heard more out there

Waiting than ever before, R.

Vol. 10, p. 37

Listened to accounts of sink-

hole murders, but didn't know

it was separate from the pot

case R. Vol. 10, p. 78, 82

Camper truck, R. Vol. 10, p.

98-102

Know nothing about case -

doesn't really read (unable

op ma wens. 20, p. 155, 156

You know, what's been on the

news, R. Vol. 10, p. 177

Sinkhole - finding bodies -

just what was in the paper,

ms Woa. 10, p. 182

Girls and ages and pick-up, R.

Vol. 20, p. i183

Knew case before Court, R. Vol.

i0,; p. 208

Read prior articles, R. Vol.

10, p. 209

Doesn't relate sinkhole to this

case, R. Vol. 10, p. 214

Hillensbeck:Knew of case from paper, R.

Yo... 10, p. 254

Sandy Creek rings a bell -

that's where it happened -

title where people were

A-A-9

sesadl deter Hensen:

Four people, R. Vol. 10, p.

272

Chason: You think case relates to paper?

Yes, sinkhole murders, R. Vol.

LO, ps 220

Group of pictures - Doesn't

know how she made connection,

just did, R. Vol. 10, p. 113

Association with Bobby Vines

and something she read, R. Vol. t

10, p. 116 S2om:

Sandy Creek rings bell from

reading newSpapers, R. Vol. 10,

S. idg2

Two men/two women, R. Vol. 10,

p>. 123

Probably walked upon some dope

smuggling operation - Assume

people they walked upon killed a

them, R. Vol. 10, p. 123 —"

Tinkler: Did you know case you'd be on?

Naturally, yes. R. Vol. 10,

p. 144

Read all articles in paper, R.

Vol. 10, p. 147

Hillensbeck:My age, R. Vol. 10, p. 273 Pinta

murdered, R. Vol. 10, p. 261

Stumbled upon the drugs, R.

Vol. 10, p. 262

Truck found in water, R. Vol.

Just know about truck, R. Vol.

iG, Bi. are

A-A-10

Husband's been keeping up with

at, BR. Vol. 10, ps 274

People were killed, came upon

smuggler, R. Vol. 10, p. 276

Did recognize the incident on

marijuana, R. Vol. 10, p. 298

Recognized Bobby Vines, R. Vol.

10, Pp. 299

Heard of Sandy Creek on TV,

R. Voli. 10; BD. 298

Questioned about anything else

- answer: missing people, two

men/two women, R. Vol. 10, p.

312-313

Talking about the sinkhole

incident (no prior mention of

sinkhole from Judge), R. Vol.

10, p. 328

Relates Sandy Creek with sink-

hole - killed when arrived at

scene, R. Vol. 10, p. 332

Description of murders, R. Vol.

10: Bs 329

Relation of Sandy Creek - pot -

Sinkhole, R. Vol. 10, p. 361

Brought up bodies - stemmed from

a marijuana deal, R. Vol. 10,

O« 263

Listened to wife despite instruc-

tions, BR. Vol. 10, p. 373

Recognized Vines from papers,

R. VOl. ll, ps 7

A-A-1ll

Ferguson:

Mercer:

Alexander:

Bishop:

Goodson:

Perry case & sinkhole - bodies

R. VOL. dig Be 2S

Boat sunk with marijuana in

sinkhole - some connection,

R. Vol. 13,-9. 82

Two men/two women, R. Vol. ll,

oS. Be

Marijuana case, R. Vol. ll, p.

37

Sinkhole, R. Vol. 1l, p. 40

No relationship between sink-

hole and this case, but...,

R. Vol. ll, p. 41

.-.-Saw request for venue change,

R. Vol. lig Be Be

Not sure she could lay ideas

aside, R. Vol. ll, p. 61

Recalls details, R. Vol. ll,

p. 67-68

Relates this to this case, R.

Vol. ll,-p. 6&8

Has ideas, R. Vol. 1l, p. 68

Doesn't know anything about

pre-trial publicity R. Vol. ll,

Dp. SAS

Doesn't remember anything

lately, R. Vol. 1l, p. 120

Knows others talking - four

killed and drugs, R. Vol. ll,

p. 140

Sandy Creek reaction, R. Vol.

ll, p. 168, 169

A-A-12

Watts:

Brown:

' Blanton:

Neal:

Williams:

Womble:

Relates knowledge of drugs,

murders, car links, R. Vol.

ii, Pp. i689

Girls/men, R. Vol. 1l, p. 189

Sandy Creek, heard about people

being found R. Vol. 1l, p. 210

Bodies and pick-up out of sink-

hole - heard folks talking,

R. Vol. ii, p. 228

Sandy Creek - drug smuggling

or something, R. Vol. ll, p-

249

Sinkhole - murders, R. Vol. 1l,

Db. £31

Killed by group unloading ship,

R. Vol. ll, p. 254

Remembers case, involved pot,

R. Voi. ik, B. 269

Connection with another case

trying to be connected with

this case, R. Vol. 1l, p. 271

Sandy Creek case - the murder

case, R. VOl. il, p. 272

Two men/two women, R. Vol. ll,

Dp. £72

Marijuana people with murders,

mR. VOL. ik, gp. 273

Has something to do with

smuggling, R. Vol. 1l, p. 292

Saw words in paper, R. Vol. 11,

p. 308

A-A-13

Brown:

Russ:

McAfee:

Moulton:

Truck/young girls, R. Vol. ll,

p. 309-310

But I'm not positive how my

mind will work right at that

moment, that I'm going to try

caates VOL« 21, @. 343

Sinkhole - connecting drugs

and sinkhole, R. Vol. ll, p.

324

Heard something on T.V., R.

Vol. ll, p. 348

Assumed it was about the Sandy

Creek incident, R. Vol. ll,

p. 367

Things all tied up together,

RB... Vel. -t4, Be 372

I've heard about it before,

RR. VOL. 23; 8. 382

Sandy Creek relates to bodies,

Rs Vel. “Ei, Bs 283

Anything involving drugs, nods

negative, R. Vol. ll, p. 385

A-A-14

APPENDIX B

The following is the list of jurors

impanelled in this case with excerpts

from and citations to their remarks

during voir dire concerning their knowl-

edge of publicity surrounding this case

and/or the State murder case involving

these Defendants:

c

JURORS IMPANELLED

Thurmond: Case about marijuana bust,

S.R., Vol. 4, p. 16

Sandy Creek--murder of four

people, S.R., Vol. 4, p. 17

Cato: Indictment triggered con-

nection, S.R., Vol. 4,

pp. 46-47

Sinkhole in Taylor Co.,

some bodies were found,

SR, VOL. 45 Be 39

Knew young people, S.R.,

Vol. &, Bp. 36

With drugs, S.R., Vol.

4, p. 56

Panama City, S.R., Vol.

4, p. 64

Some men/women, S.R.,

Vol 4, p. 65

Bass: The mention of Mr. Vines

brought to mind recent

press reports and every-

thing, &.R.,. Vol. 4, p. ii2

Some of drug smuggling

A-B-1l

Bradwell:

Golden:

charges related to some

murders, S.R., Vol 4,

o>. 449

The Sandy Creek murders,

S.R., Vol 4,5 Be 448

Made connection through

Vines name, S.R., Vol.

S. Bs 259

Regularly subscribes to

Tallahassee Democrat,

S.R., VOl. 4, p. 114

The only evidence I have

up to now, quote, is from

press accounts, S.R., Vol.

4, BD. i29

Q: Anything in indictment

that you've read about

A: Possibiy . «+ . im

Tallahassee Democrat,

S.R.¢ VOL. So ps 242

Sandy Creek--sinkhole

murder case, S.R., Vol.

4, p. 144

Q: Do you connect Sandy

Creek murder with these

Defendants?

A: Yeu, O60. @.sRse VOSe

4, p. 145

R., VOL. 8, Pe 3

Something like some bodies

or something was found in

it. R.¢ VOl. 8, p. 23

They found some--a girl or

A-B-2

Christie:

Newhall:

something, R., Vol. 8,

D>. 30

Ris VOLs By Bs Ba

Q: Does Sandy Creek mean

anything to you, R.,

Vol. 8, p. 99

A: Well, I've read the

papers before

Regularly gets Talla-

hassee Democrat, R.,

Vol. 8, pp. 99-100

Read when they found

the people and got the

truck out, white, 2

males and 2 females

a couple of them were

real young and acouple

of them older. R.,

Vol. 8, p. i109

(Remembers details of pub-

LACity, Bi, Vee. 20;

pp. 45-46.)

People do talk, no matter

what you tell them to do.

Rise VOhw 205 Be OS

And apparently some people

out there put some things

together, R., Vol. 10,

p. 47

Just people recognizing

either names or locales

Or something like that,

R., Vol. 10, p. 49

Q: Sandy Creek or Sinkhole

A-B-3

Overstreet:

Woods:

you haven't told us?

A: Unidentified bodies

Somebody said, oh, this

must be about the Sinkhole

murders. And that phrase

was used. R., Vol. 10,

p. 61

R., Vol. o, Bp.

Was drug ring or something

like that. And it made me

think that it tied in with

those Sinkhole murders or

that they were trying to

tie it up. R., Vol. 3,

p. 72. (Specific details

recalled), R., Vol. 9,

pp. 89-90.

R.. VEl..10. 8.

QO: .«. » « OF anything at

all about this case?

A: Well, of course,

. What is it?-- Sink-

hole murders, but I

hadn't--didn't know it

was a separate charge

from that case v. the

Marijuana case, R.,

Vol. 10, p. .78.

Sandy Creek murders, R.,

Vol. 10, p. 82

Truck pulled out of Sink-

hole, R., Vol. 10, p. 98

Other details, R., Vol. 10,

pp. 100-102.)

A-B-4

Fontana:

Mercer:

R., Vol., 10, p. 202

Q: Before you came here,

did you know what case

you would be juror on?

A: Yes. Article in Sun-

day's newSpaper, R.,

Vol. 10, p. 208

When you read the indict-

ment, I realized what case

it was, because I had read

in the newspaper about it

prior to that, R., Vol.

10, p. 210

Q: Do you, in any way,

relate that (murders)

to this case?

BR: Be. - Ba Ve. 28,

op. 214

(Recalls details of mur-

ders, R., Vol 10, p. 218.)

Had some idea (of what case

was), R., Vol ll, p. 59

Q: Do you relate this

case to something that

you read in the paper?

A: I recall very vaguely

. . There was a ship

boats sank somewhere

that was an attempt to

unload some marijuana

- I don't recall

whether or not this

happened before the

incident of bodies

being found in the Sink-

bole, R., Vol. 42 » Be. 67

A-B-5

Neal:

Alexander:

(Recalls details), R.,

Vol. ll, p. 68

And I think what I got Bishop:

from that was the specu-

lation that these persons

may have witnessed the

unloading of the marijuana

and that they, in fact,

may have been killed as

a result of this. R.,

Vol. li, p. 68

Don't know if it had to

do with guns that were Goodson:

used, R., Vol. ii, p. Sl.

[Also remarks on R., Vol.

sd, De 88.)

R., Vol. 10, p. 351

Q: Do you think you've

heard about this case

at anytime? Blanton:

A: Yes, .. . Sandy Creek

and Sinkhole, R.,

Vol. 10, p. 360

They brought up some bodies

Or something .. . And it

all stemmed from a mari-

juana deal. R., Vol. 10,

p. 363.

My wife said paper said .

. . there could be at least

six more people killed

« « R., VOL. 10, p. 364

ALTERNATE JURORS

R., Vol. 23, p. 103

A-B-6

No knowledge.

R., VOl. ii, p. 133

Sandy Creek rings bell.

R., Vol. 11, p. 140

Four people killed and

they think drugs have to

do with something connected

with the case ... R.,

Vol. ll, p. 140

R., Vol. ll, p. 158

Q: Sandy Creek, R., Vol.

il, pe 268

A: Some people were found

down there. Some bodies

was found. R., Vol.

il, p. 169

R., Vol. ii, p. 220

Sinkhole--They got four

bodies out of, R., Vol.

il, Ppp. 227-226.

APPENDIX C

The following are excerpts from

articles which appeared in the

Tallahassee Democrat since August 8,

in which links are made between Sandy

Creek pot smuggling operation and the

Sinkhole Murders.

l.

December 20, 1977

q3 ". . . pot=-smuggling led to

murder

December 10, 1977

q3 ". . . Sandy Creek pot-

smuggling led to slayings of

four

December 9, 1977

ql". . . marijuana operation

four killings

December 8, 1977

q1 ". . . Sinkhole murders

pot-smuggling operation

A-C-1l

1977,

10.

December 2, 1977

q2 ". . . Sinkhole murders and

related pot operation..."

December 1, 1977

WW14 and 5 "“pot-smuggling

oor. . =« emOe COiGeath ..."

November 30, 1977

ql oo". . . pot-smuggling .

Taylor County sinkhole murders

November 30, 1977

Seon ses Bashing . .. pot-

smuggling . Sandy Creek..."

November 16, 1977

q3 ", . .« pot-smuggliing related

murders ..."

November 15, 1977

q3 "se » « eandy Creek .. . the

night the victims were slain..."

A-C=-2

ll.

13.

14.

15.

November 10, 1977

48 m6 four killings linked to

Sandy Creek Smuggler

November 8, 1977 16.

" . . the boat lawmen believe was

used in a pot smuggling operation in

which four persons were murdered

November 6, 1977

". . . radio stations carrying a

North Florida pot and murder story 17.

into the flat rows of wood-framed

houses

November 6, 1977

". . . financier of a pot smuggling 18.

operation that resulted in four

murders . .

November 5, 1977 19.

". . . authorities theorize that

four Panama City area people whose

bodies were found in a sinkhole near

A-C-3

Perry this summer were murdered

when they stumbled onto the

Marijuana unloading operation. .."

November 1, 1977

5 arrested two weeks ago for

Marijuana conspiracy and third

degree murder in the deaths of

four Panama City people whose

bodies were found in Watering Hole

Sink near Perry this summer..."

November 9, 1977

3 st ~-killing of four who

stumbled. -onto pot-smuggling

Operation near Panama City..."

November 9, 1977

44 ne -Marijuana. .-Sandy Creek

SOUr Riiiinge ... «*

October 30, 1977

{9 ". . .sometime after midnight

- «they stumbled on a pot-smuggling

Operation and were killed because

A-C-4

20.

él.

22.

23.

they recognized some of the men

involved.

October 29, 1977

2 a -Six of the men charged

with smuggling 20 tons of pot into

Sandy Creek plead innocent to.

murders.

October 24, 1977

", . .~helping local authorities with

the Taylor County sinkhole murder

case. -shrimpboat. .carried load

of pot. -the night sinknole

victims disappeared.

October 19, 1977

{1 "Eight men were charged today

with four. .-Murders. . lawmen

linked the killings to a pot-

smuggling operation that went awry

near Panama City.

October 14, 1977

ql ". . .Seven. -arrested in the

A-C-5

24.

26.

27.

Sandy Creek drug importation.

possible link with the sinkhole

murders. ..”"

October 10, 1977

} ae -may help unravel the sink-

hole murders. . .who bought the 14

foot boats used in a marijuana

Operation the night the four sink-

hole victims disappeared. .."

September 7, 1977

{2 "Bobby Vines. -about a marij-

uana deal near Panama City. . .

Police believe he can provide in-

formation about murders. .."

September 3, 1977

{17 "Agents are continuing to

trace. eSOUS« «

-to link them with

a Marijuana smuggling operation that

went awry in Sandy Creek. . ."

August 21, 1977

qi3 ". . .an apparent link between

A-C-6

28.

29.

30.

31.

32.

the victims and a huge marijuana $3.

deal near Springfield.

August 18, 1977

.four

oe: .drug-smuggling.

»- « eresidents murdered. 34.

August 14, 1977

44 ra -killings. connected

. .drug-smuggling.

35.

August 13, 1977

, | ae .same night. .Watering

Hole Sink. »pot-smuggling

operation."

36.

August ll, 1977

oT -the four sometimes

visited Sandy Creek. -a Marijuana

deal. .Sandy Creek about the time

the four disappeared.

January 31, 1978

Page lb "Sandy Creek operation.

where they were bound, shot and dumped

-in sinkhole.

January 29, 1978

Page lc "Sandy Creek smuggling trial

Monday" - »« «pot smuggling ring

that led to four murders..."

January 28, 1978

Page lb "During the operation four

residents. . .were shot. . .and

dumped in the Sinkhole. . ."

January 24, 1978

Page 2b “The four stumbled on Sandy

Creek marijuana smuggling operations

by accident and were killed. .."

January 31, 1978

Page lb ". . .recovered from

another nearby sinkhole pick-up

truck they believe was used to trans-

port victims from site of aborted

marijuana smuggling operation at

Sandy Creek. . .15 men included 7

murder defendants go on trial in

Tallahassee Monday on federal mari-

jJuana smuggling charges. . ."

A-C-8

37.

January 20, 1978

"Truck found in Taylor Sinkhole"

". , .were killed when they appar-

ently stumbled onto a marijuana

unloading operation at Sandy Creek

.15 men including seven of

murder suspects go on trial in

Tallahassee January 30 on mari-

juana smuggling charges.

A-C-9

APPENDIX D

The following are excerpts from

newspaper articles published between

October 15, 1977 and December 20, 1977

which described alleged criminal activi-

ties or convictions of the Defendants.

1.

December 20, 1977 (News-Herald)

q20 ". . . is serving time for

smuggling in a Louisiana

prison.”

November 16, 1977 (Tallahassee

Democrat)

q5 ". . . must face similar charges

in Louisiana. is currently

serving a jail sentence for

smuggling 18 tons of marijuana

last February."

November 9, 1977 (Tallahassee

Democrat )

(#31 ". . . is stiil in the Living-

ston Parrish jail serving time

for his part in the smuggling of

A-D-1

18 tons of. . .marijuana into

Louisiana last February...

released on bonds $60,000 each

must also face charges stemming

from the Louisiana operation

October 20, 1977 (News-Herald)

q7 ". . . is currently serving a

10-year marijuana smuggling

sentence. . ."

October 15, 1977 (St. Petersburg

Times)

q5 ". . . is serving a 10-year

sentence on drug smuggling

charges involving 18 tons of

marijuana."

October 15, 1977 (News-Herald)

a8 ". . . where he was serving a 10-

year sentence for a similar con-

viction on drug smuggling charges

involving 18 tons of pot."

October 20, 1977

Lu

sentence a!

La. pertah jail

Al least seven of Unose now

i= custody were charged last

—Saet_with_posseasion and

A-D-3

SfOY4 TUS ty 1NOI4O

sus_DOG U] poBupuy, VL

yom

SO1200g [NZ INDeg sO;

@Pj40j4 ‘Asi Owousg

8U01}420§ ents

seBog o¢

- $640) CL O214g

,

seodnodsmen [njy240KM 5,OP]s0]4 sSOmMYLION

special agent for the FDCLE

undoeding 18 to 3 tons of

marijuana. according to

Up anc Laken to the sinkhole

i

ait

it

ih

HH

FDCLE officials said it

Seven man inctading two trem Paname City, have been ar

Charges tei may be limied to

cre Pena the Drug Eatorcecsem Aches

tien, and Majer of the Department of Netural

4yBnosg yu] sepsny ejyoyyus

nig

persunouuy s4sng

LLGL'SL 46q05909

acca an

<

-

:

=

S

== Gallahassee Democrat “

Td Year No 42 Floride'e Cagnes Newapapes Saturday, February 11,1978 = 16

Convicts lived it up here — while they could

ies [tat ane icy! fe gua ty

a el i a Ht es

Hit eat dade Ba tiees alr at

Hot i ey ly Wea Het iy it

A-E-2

A-E-1

Ta ‘tl '

Lai i

at EL

i i Sefiie

a Tt Hie

anon

in es [Ga O4) 1eH)

qnogSnosq) peullel2 ae

ynoqa eBpn{ o hq tytn 8}

Geoq 29400 pry oy pres 308.

poe wed be Acer

g

9108 juewus0A08 jo eeneved feinbow peysenibes Aewsowe’ *

Aepeeupen jude 1y8j09N7 UEAeIg ‘PASC S}UBPLS;EQ

of EE Sseey

mat

atanmedbanee.

ae

yeprus om) 8

Curses peyrese!)

SMOU |8907}

sjuawnse jeu

-A08 og] Go qIETIE EY JO

sem 203 107 2[1Gse S890)

40} SuOTINI}eU) PUT

JLVOMIEF JassvyLyep

+

0101 ‘Cz Aseruqes ‘Aspemu,

~~

>

Trial

. (Ceatineed from page 1D)

He said such events as the Sandy

Creek operation in Bay County on

Jan. 23, 1977, were staged by govern-

ment agencies to enlarge budgets and

gain more agents and more power.

Government involvement in mari-

juana operation, through the FBI on

the part of agent Donald Baldwin and

his informant Bobby Vines, Marger

Claimed, “is wrong, outrageous, im-

moral, unpatriotic and unconstitu-

tional.”

~ Earlier Wednesday Marger at-

tempted to persuade Stafford to rule

that prosecutor Donald Modesitt, an

aplntent U.S. attorney, could not

yea his clients about their con-

ions on marijuana charges in

uisiana if they took the witness

. After the judge ruled against

Marger rested his case without

ting any witnesses for ques-

= Dering rebatta) testimony. Modes-

itt brought Vines back as a prosecu-

tion witness. Vines earlier had

testified as a witness for the defense.

Modesitt asked Vines whether he

was involved in another marijuana

deal in Texas when he was arrested

in September 1977. Vines refused to

answer the question, claiming his

constitutional right against self-in-

crimination.

Attorney Michae] Mann, defending

David and Christopher Goodwin of

Panama City, moved for a mistrial

because Vines’ Fifth Amendment

claim prejudiced the case against his

clients. Stafford ruled against Mann’s

motion.

Before the judge dismissed the

jury Wednesday he asked them to

come prepared to spend tonight away

from home. He said as soon as he

imetructed the jury, they would have

te stay together until a verdict in the

Case was reached.

A-E-4

| Judge Rejects Pies

For Pot Mistrial |

| Federal Judge William Staf- |

' ford Friday rejected claims that

} the government coached a wit-_

ness who incriminated most of |

the nine defendants being tried

in Tallahassee on charges of

| conspiracy and possession of

' marijuana for sale purposes in

connection with a _ bungled

smuggling operation at Sandy

Creek near Panama City in Jan-

uary 1977.

Stafford refused to declare a

mistrial or order the jury not to |

consider testimony by William

Epperson, who pleaded guilty to

' one count of conspirac, and |

turned state's evidence. |

Epperson testified he consid-

ered withdrawing his guilty plea |

' because of street talk that he |

might be killed if he tesified at |

' the trial.

Then he detailed the marijua- |

na unloading and then identified |

most of the defendants as hav-

ing been involved. He said he

never knew the other members —

of the ring by their real names, |

adding that most of thém had |

beards and long hair, so they

looked a lot different than they

do now. |

|

15 ae

re

.

ww se”

Stafford recessed the trial

until 9 a.m. Monday after sever-

al witnesses discussed how

Bobby Vines, granted immunity |

to testify for the prosecution. |

and others purchased boats and

rafts in advance of the operation |

and checked into Tallahassee |

and Panama City motets. |

I.

So

APPENDIX F

JURORS WITH DAILY SUBSCRIPTIONS T

TALLAHASSEE DEMOCRAT -

Christie R. Vol. 8 p. 99

Bass S.R. Vol. 2 p. 114

Woods R. Vol. 10 >. G3

Fontana R. Vol. 10 p. 208

Mercer R. Voi. di p. 60

Neal R Vol. 10 p. 362

JURORS PURCHASING TALLAHASSEE

DEMOCRAT ON GENERALLY REGULAR BASIS

Cato S.R. Vol. 2 p. 46

Bradwell S.R. Vol. 2 p. 141

Overstreet R. Vol. 9 oS. Fi

Newhall R. Vol. 10 BS. 83

III. JURORS NOT SUBSCRIBING OR

av.

REGULARLY READING TALLAHAS

DEMOCRAT ane

Thurmond S.R. Vol. 2

Golden R. ¥Yoi. § ae

p. 15

ALTERNATE JURORS

A. Subscribing: Goodson, R.Vol. ll,

p. 166

B. Regular Purchaser: Alexander,

R.Vol. 11, p. 109

Cc. Not purchasing/subscribing:

Bishop R.Vol. ll, p. 139

Blanton R.VOl. 11, p. 226

APPENDIX G

These pictures are similar to the

one admitted at trial (R.Vol. 6, p.

19). Because there was only one copy

of the picture admitted into evidence,

these similar ones are submitted in

this Appendix form.

Dissenting opinion in United States

Vv.

APPENDIX H

Haldeman,

559 F.2d 3l

(1976)

UNITED STATES v. HALDEMAN 145

Cie os 688 F.3d 3) (1076)

The unrefuted evidence of singularly

heavier coverage in Washington, D.C. and

of substantially heavier impact of the cov-

erage in Washington (pretrial) bias) could

only impel a decision by the District Court

Judge to move the jury selection and trial

to another location in the United States,

with either the same or another judge. No

other area could have been as biased as

Washington, D.C., and many areas could

have been substantially less biased and have

left no doubt about the fairness of the trial

from the standpoint of venue.

This result was especially favored be-

cause of the conclusion that fairly leaps

from the survey results in the Sindlinger

Affidavit: much of the entire country a/-

ready thought the appellants guilty. At

the very Jeast a court would be expected to

remove the tria! from a locale where 61% of

the populace had concluded guilt to a locale

where only 43% or less had so concluded;

there must have been many such locales,

since the national average was 43% (Appen-

dix A at 6). In Richmond, Virginia, only

S7'4% considered that defendants were

guilty. (75% of 50%, id.) This was not a

situation where many had not heard of the

case, or where many had no conclusion one

way or the other. Here, on the face of an

unrefuted and apparently accurate poll,

most people in Washington, D.C., some 61%,

in their own minds had already completed

the tria] and returned a verdict of guilty,

while only some 2% of the city had formed

an opinion of innocence. (Jd. at 6). The

appellants’ plea was not to go where most

residents had not heard of the indictments

or had not formed some opinion, for their

evidence disclosed no such place. The plea

was to go to a place where where less than

one-half the potentia] jurors had formed an

Opinion that they were gui/ty, with the rest

withholding judgment.

It was possible for the Judge to travel

with this case; any conviction he may have

had as to the necessity that he preside need

not have been violated.

IV. THE LEGAL STANDARDS

In weighing the foregoing evidence on

pretria] publicity, the District Court and

this court are required to apply the law that

governs the change of venue question. The

law on the matter is established in four

categories. First, there is the law applica-

ble to federal cases, as set by the Supreme

Court and the Circuit Courts of Appeals

under their supervisory power over the Dis-

trict Courts, and, in the case of the Su-

preme Court, over the Circuit Courts of

Appeals as well. Second, there is the law

applicable to al) courts, state or federal,

under the Constitution Within each of

these two categories there is a division be-

tween two types of venue-change decisions

for pretria! publicity. One is the category

in which prejudice to the defendant is

found to exist presumptively, because of

extraordinary circumstances of coverage

The second is the category in which, al-

though prejudice cannot be declared pre-

sumptively, the voir dire of prospective jur-

ors discloses sufficient prejudice to warrant

changed venue. This produces the four cat-

egories of analysis: (1) federa! and (2) con-

stitutional, and (3) presumptive and (4) ac-

tual.

The case law establishing these categories

is clear-cut. There is a federa! supervisory

standard, in addition to a constitutional

standard, in these cases, which would assure

fair trials by an application of the rule of

presumptive prejudice or through identifi-

cation of actua! prejudice This is made

clear in Marshal! v L'n’ted States, 360 U.S

$10, 79 S.Ct. 1171, 3 L.Ed.2d 1250 (1959),

and reiterated in Murphy v. Florida, 421

U.S. 794, 95 S.Ct. 2031, 44 L.Ed.2d 5a9

(1975), where the Court wrote, discussing

Marsha!!:

The defendant in Marsha!) was convict-

ed of dispensing certain drugs without a

prescription. In the course of the tria!

seven of the jurors were exposed to vari-

ous news accounts relating that Mershal!

had previously been convicted of forgery,

that he and his wife had been arrested

for other narcotics offenses, and that he

A-H-2

146 $6@ FEDERAL REPORTER, 24 SERIES

had for some time practiced medicine

without a license. After interviewing the

jurors, however, the trial judge denied a

motion for a mistrial, relying on the jur-

ors’ assurances that they could maintain

impartiality in spite of the news articles.

Noting that the jurors had been ex-

posed to information with a high poten-

tial for prejudice, this Court reversed the

conviction. It did so, however, expressly

“{iJn the exercise of [its] supervisory pow-

er to formulate and apply proper stan-

dards for enforcement of the criminal! law

in the federa] courts,” and not as a mat-

ter of constitutiona! compulsion. Id., at

313 [79 S.Ct. at 1173).

421 U.S. at 797, 95 S.Ct. at 2035 (footnote

omitted) (emphasis added).

The Court in Murphy was addressing it-

self to the constitutional standard applica-

ble to state trials. The Court went on to

survey the scope of the constitutional stan-

dard, as opposed to the federal supervisory

standard:

Petitioner relies principally upon Jrvin

v. Dowd, 366 U.S. 717, [81 S.Ct. 1689, 6

L.Ed.2d 751) (1961), Rideau v. Louisiana,

873 U.S. 728, (88 S.Ct. 1417, 10 L.Ed.2d

663) (1963), Estes v. Texas, 381 U.S. 532,

(85 S.Ct. 1628, 14 L.Ed.2d 543) (1965), and

Sheppard v. Maxwell, 384 U.S. 333, [86

S.Ct. 1507, 16 L.Ed.2d 600) (1966). In

each of these cases, this Court overturned

a state court conviction obtained in a trial

atmosphere that had been utterly cor-

rupted by press coverage.

In Irvin v. Dowd the Court

readily found actua! prejudice against the

petitioner to a degree that rendered a

fair trial] impossible.

Prejudice was presumed in the circum-

stances under which the trials in Rideau,

Estes, and Sheppard were held.

In Rideau the defendant had “confessed”

under police interrogation to the murder

of which he stood convicted. A 20-min-

ute film of his confession was broadcast

three times by a television station in the

community where the crime and the trial

took place. In reversing, the Court did

not examine the voir dire for evidence of

A-H-3

actual prejudice because it considered the

trial under review “but a hollow formali-

ty"—the real tral had occurred when

tens of thousands of people, in a commu-

nity of 150,000, had seen and heard the

defendant admit his guilt before the cam-

eras.

Id. (emphasis added).

The federal! supervisory standard pro-

vides broader protection against prejudice

than the constitutional standard. Concur-

ring in Murphy, supra, Mr. Chief Justice

Burger wrote:

I agree with Mr. Justice BRENNAN

(dissenting) that the tria) judge was woe-

fully remiss in failing to insulate prospec-

tive jurors from the bizarre media cover-

age of this case and in not taking steps to

prevent pretrial discussion of the case

among them. Although I would not hesi-

tate to reverse petitioner's conviction in

the exercise of our supervisory powers,

were this a federa! case, | agree with the

Court that the circumstances of petition-

er's trial did not rise to the level of a

violation of the Due Process Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment.

421 U.S. at 808-04, 95 S.Ct. at 2088 (empha-

sis added). And in Rideau, supra, Mr. Jus-

tice Clark wrote, dissenting:

if this case arose in a federal

court, over which we exercise supervisory

powers, | would vote to reverse the judg-

ment before us.

378 U.S. at 728, 88 S.Ct. at 1420.

Recently, an opinion by Judge Bazelon

emphasized that federal appellate courts

have the duty to impose supervisory stan-

dards over criminal cases, L’nited States v.

Pinkney, 179 U.S.App.D.C. 282, 551 F.2d

1241 (1976) n.50, but, for some unexplained

reason, the majority does not conform to

that exhortation in this case, where the

supervisory standard has been promulgated

by the Supreme Court.

The foregoing makes three unequivocal

points. First, there is a category of pre-

sumptive prejudice to which a federal su-

pervisory standard applies. Second, that

standard assures a defendant more protec-

tion against prejudicial pretrial publicity

UNITED STATES v. HALDEMAN 147

Cite as 550 F.3d 3) (1976)

than the constitutional standard Finally,

one example of the presumptive federal!

standard is found in Marshal], supra, under

which

_ persons who have learned from

pews sources of a defendant's prior crimi-

nal record are presumed to be prejudiced

Murphy v. Florida, 421 U.S. at 798, 95 S.Ct.

at 2035.

V. APPLICATION OF THE

STANDARDS

A. The District Court

The District Court disposed of the ques-

tion of presumptive prejudice at the June

12, 1974, motions hearing. In doing so it

did not distinguish between a federal and a

constitutiona! standard, and it did not ex-

amine or attempt to apply the law of pre-

sumptive prejudice.

THE COURT: Now you are talking

about change of venue, where would you

suggest the case be sent to for trial? Do

you know of any place in the country’

MR. BOYER [Mr. Spencer Boyer, for

Mr. Ehrlichman]: Any place other than

the District of Columbia, Your Honor.

THE COURT: What do you mean by

anyplace other than the District of Co

jumbia? Ajexandria—across the river’

MR. BOYER: No, Your Honor.

THE COURT: Where’

MR. BOYER. What we are asking for

is of course that would depend on severa!

things. That would of course be deter-

mined by this Court. That would also

depend upon the calendar of the other

districts. We would be willing to assist

the Court in any manner to find out any

district which would be out of the imme-

diate environs of the District of Columbia

to see whether or not their calendar could

accommodate a trial] of this length, com-

plexity, and scope.

THE COURT: Now let's talk about

some highly publicized cases that have

been tried in the country. Let's go back

many years, probably before your time,

the tria] of Richard Hauptman, involving

the kidnap of the Charles Lindberg baby

in New Jersey. I remember the trial

very well, highly publicized Of course in

those days we didn't have radios to the

efficiency we have now, or television

We had newspapers, frontpage stor)

everyday all over the country

Senator Kennedy was killed out in Cali-

fornia, a highly publicized case. The

Manson tnal. Recently | had two mur-

der trmals here that I presided over, high-

ly publicized for weeks—the Ammidown

case, one of the most bruta! murder-rape

cases ever tried in the histor, of our

court, or probably any court in the coun-

try; and the Lee case, a companion case

Now the test is going to be whether or

not after voir dire examination by the

Court you can obtain, you can empane! a

jury say under oath not only having read

or heard or listened to matters concern-

ing the case that they could decide this

case on the evidence and the law of the

case. It comes down wo that.

Tr. June 12, 1974 (Docket No. 180) at 431

33 (emphasis added). The fina! sentences

reveal that the Distmct Court intended no

examination at al] to determine if the

amount and nature of the presumptive pre)-

udice violated the supervisory standard ap-

plicable in federa) courts. And in fact it

did not indulge in any such examination

Later in the hearing the Distnet Judge

showed again that presumptive prejudice

was not a consideration

We have 800,000 people approximate)

living in the District of Columbia. And if

we can get a jury—and this is going to be

the test in my opinion—{which] can

truthfully say they have heard some

parts of those hearings but have not

formed an opinion from what they heard

or read, or heard commentators talk

about, they can truthfully say they can

sit on this case even though it may be a

protracted case and coui’ render a ver-

dict after al] the evidence is in, based on

the evidence and law of the case, render a

verdict based solely upon the evidence

and law of the case. Until we try that

out how is a judge going to determine on

the arguments that have been made. the

Court's knowledge of prior sensational

A-H-4

148 $40 FEDERAL REPORTER, 24 SERIES

cases that have been ted in the country,

protracted cases there and here, we have

had many of them mgbt in this district,

how are you going to know whether you

can get s jury unless you tred first’

Now, if you try as | have indicated and

you can't get them, that is one thing. if

we are able to empane! an unbiased jury

that is another thing. How are you go

ing to know unless you try’ I would like

to hear you on that.

MR. BOYER: Your Hooor, as I indi-

cated earlier, that severa] of the cases

and several! of the imperca! [sic] studies,

for example, the Broader Study on Voir

Dire Examinations and Imperica! (sic)

Study, and in fact the ABA standards

which I quoted earlier, recommend that

the Court strongly protect the defendant

before the trial, not to place too much

emphasis on the whole concept of voir

dire, especially where there has been the

pervasive publicity as that as has been

engendered by this particular case.

The problem with voir dire is that it is

going to be very difficult, especially here

in the District of Columbia, to determine

whether the juror is consciously or sub-

consciously harboring prejudice against

the defendants because of the widespread

media.

The Court earlier asked me a series of

questions as to what was the distinction

between some of the more celebrated

cases where there was not a change of

venue and this particular case. So ] may

submit to the Court that the circumstanc-

es Mr. Green has indicated, that this is an

unprecedented case, these are as Your

Honor earlier indicated, the personal

fmends and aides of the President, and

this has been an on-going saga of more

than two years whereas in many of the

cases that you referred to there were but

in a moment—in the Ammidown case and

the Lee case, even though they were cele-

brated cases here in the District of Co

jumbia—nowhere and by no stretch of

the imagination—

THE COURT: —how about the case |

tried which took me ten months to try?

The longest case ever tried in the history

of this court since 1801. It got quite a lot

of publicity, incidentally. It was a civil

antitrust suit against al] the major rail-

roads in the country and was publicized

pretty well. It was not a murder case.

We got a jury in that case and the jury

sat eight months

MR. BOYER: May ! submit to the

Court we are dealing with apples and

oranges.

THE COURT. Wait a minute. Let me

ask you s question. Do you suppose ev-

erybody that listens to radio and televi-

sion commentators pro and con, every-

body, or the majority of the people, have

made up their mind that President Nixon

is wrong in this whole matter or anyone

of these defendants are al] wrong and

that they are guilty of things? Don’t you

think there are millions of people in this

country now at this moment think the

President has done nothing wrong and

done everything according to his duties?

And vice versa many other people might

think otherwise. And about any of these

defendants that have been highly publi-

cized. Don’t you think there are millions

of people that do not believe they done

anything wrong?

MR. BOYER: Your Honor, those mil-

lions of people don't live here in the Dis-

trict of Columbia.

Id. at 435-37 (emphasis added). The Sind-

linger Affidavit demonstrates the truth of

the last observation.

The “ABA standards” referred to in the

foregoing exchange are at ABA Standards

Relating to Fair Trial and Free Press 119-

28 (Approved Draft) (1966). The commen-

tary therein reviews the pre-Murphy-Ri-

deau cases and succinctly states the error of

the District Judge's approach in this case.

The judicia] attitude has taken the form

of great deference to the discretion of the

trial judge, even when there is evident

dissatisfaction with his decision, of equat-

ing the ability to impanel a jury with the

absence of any need for other relief, and

of insisting that the defendant establish

actual prejudice on the part of virtually

the entire community.

A-H-5

UNITED STATES +. HALDEMAN 149

Ce as 558 F263) (1976)

Id. at 121-22 (emphasis added). The ABA

Standards were printed in 1966. They illu-

minate the issues here. The pertinent stan-

dard is:

A motion for change of venue or con-

tinuance shall be granted whenever it is

determined that because of the dissemi-

nation of potentially prejudicia] material,

there is a reasonable likelihood that in

the absence of such relief, a fair trial

cannot be had. This determination may

be basec on such evidence as qualified

public opinion surveys or opinion testimo-

ny offered by individuals, or on the

court's own evaluation of the nature, fre-

quency, and timing of the materia! in-

volved. A showing of actual prejudice

shal] not be required

Id at 119 (emphasis added). In commen-

tary, the ABA authors wrote:

As shown by such cases as People v

Martin (19 App.Div.2d 804, 243 N.Y.S.2d

343 (1st Dep't 1963)], Delaney v. United

States [199 F.2d 107 (1st Cir 1952))}, and

Rideau v. Louisiana [373 U.S. 723, 88

S.Ct. 1417, 10 L.Ed.2d 663 (1963)], there

are occasions when the inherently preju-

dicia! nature of the material, coupled

with knowledge of its wide dissemination

in the community, requires the granting

of relief without elaborate soundings of

community sentiment. In such instances.

change of venue may be particularly ap-

propriate when it can be shown that the

news coverage has been far less pervasive

in some other locality within the jurisdic-

tion.

Id. at 126 (footnotes omitted).

As to the opinion poll, the District Judge

says simply, “You know polls can be wrong

too. We remember the famous election

when Governor Dewey ran against Presi-

dent Truman. I have great faith

in the jury system” (Docket No. 180 at

487) (emphasis added). But this statement

reflects categorica] rejection without con-

sideration of the Supreme Court rule on

presumptive prejudice. In light of Murphy

and Marsha!! the law is now that presump-

tive prejudice is a factor that must be ex-

amined in venue decisions. The District

Court therefore committed reversible error

in declining even to consider the factor If

the federa! standard for presumptive preju-

dice exists at all, it requires the tria! court

to recognize the possibility of presumptive

prejudice. Further, on the facts of this

case, the presumptive prejudice existing in

the District of Columbia, which is demon-

strated by Appendix A and the newspaper

clippings, mandated a change of venue to a

more favorable venue.

B. The Majority Opinion

The majority opinion states

We believe, however, that it is inappro-

priate to attempt to formulate a supervi-

sory power standard for concluding that

a fair jury cannot be selected

Majority opinion at —— of 18] U.S.App

D.C., at 62 of 559 F.2d. The Supreme

Court, however, has formulated a superv)-

sory standard in venue matters. The

present Chief Justice and Mr. Justice Mar-

shal! and Mr. Justice Clark have so written

421 U.S. at 798, 804, 95 S.Ct. 2081; 373 U.S

at 728, 83 S.Ct. 1417. The majority should

acknowledge that it exists and apply it

The reasoning of the majority opinion

turns on the notions that identifying and

applying such a standard would be hard to

do (Majority opinion at —— - —— of 18]

U.S.App.D.C., at 62-63 of 559 F.2d), the

trial would not be fairer (id. at —— - ——

of 181 U.S.App.D.C., at 68 of 559 F2d),

and that, after all, i! tma! courts are per-

mitted to deny changes of venue for pre-

sumptive prejudice and to go on to the voir

dire, more information on prejudice would

be available (id. at —— - —— of 181 US.

App.D.C., at 63 of 559 F.2d).

It is true that voir dire is potentially a

valuable tool for discovery of prejudice, but

that observation is irrelevant to the issue of

whether a supervisory or constitutiona!

standard is to apply in weighing the infor-

mation on prejudice. Also, as held in Mar-

shall, supra, there are cases in which voir

dire is pointless. Further, the trial could

not help but tend to be more fair if the

venue were laid where only 374% of the

A-H-6

150 559 FEDERAL REPORTER, 2d SERIES

people (as in Richmond) already thought

the defendants guilty, instead of some 6]%

(as in the District of Columbia), and there is

no doubt that many communities could have

been found where the presumptive preju-

dice was substantially less.

As to the standard, the court here is

simply walking away from its duty. The

majority thus whisks the law away at

whim.

The appellants here are criminal defend-

ants in federal court. They have a right to

be judged by federa] standards—the same

as al] other federa! defendants. Federal!

judges have a sworn duty to apply federal

standards, as denominated by the Supreme

Court, to the facts of this case. The federal

judges here have not done so. No consider-

ation whatscever has been given to the

existence of potential prejudice above the

bare minimum constitutional obligation.

VI. THE LAW APPLIED TO THE MAY

1, 1974 MOTION

The task of this court is to apply the

federal supervisory standard for presump-

tive prejudice to the facts of this case.

A. The Remedy

The first step in analysis is to clarify the

precise remedy and to identify its costs.

The remedy was not delay. It was not a

continuance. It did not entail additional

national agony in delaying the tria! and its

resolution. The remedy was simply for the

trial to be held in practically any place

other than Washington, D.C. Moreover,

the District Judge was not barred from

himself travelling with the case and trying

it. The interests of the country in a prompt

trial and supervision of a fine judge were

simply not at stake. To say that they were

is to completely evade the law as to change

of venue. The fact is that had such change

of venue been made, the issue of the fair-

ness of the trial, on the venue point, would

have been completely obliterated from the

case. Why the Government and the trial

court would want to hazard a criminal trial

in which the evidence of guilt was as strong

as it was here by insisting on trial in a

jurisdiction where presumptive prejudice

existed to the extent that it did here, defies

reason. Delay and the selection of the

judge were not issues, and the issue of

possible additional trial costs in the new

venue was not raised (Docket Nos. 142, 180).

The Government had absolutely nothing

to lose by trying the case in a community

where presumptive prejudice was at a mini-

mum, and to say that it did have something

to lose is to admit that the case should have

been transferred.

A factor that compelled use of the simple

venue safeguard in this case was that the

United States Senate had expressly chosen

to televise its hearings in spite of the

Watergate Specia! Prosecutor's request, out

of concern for defendants’ fair trial rights,

that there be no television coverage. The

Senate reported:

The committee's interest in televised

hearings was not to obtain publicity for

publicity’s sake. The facts which the

committee produced dealt with the very

integrity of the electora] process; they

were facts, the committee believed, the

public had a right to know. Most citizens

are not able personally to attend the

working sessions of their Government.

Although thousands of people spent short

periods in the Caucus Room during the

hearings, these visitors represented only a

smal! percentage of the electorate. Thus,

‘t was desirable that every citizen be able

to view the hearings, if not in the Caucus

Room, then in his home or place of busi-

ness. The ability to read about the hear-

ings in the printed media was not suffi-

cient. The full import cf the hearings

could only be achieved by observing the

witnesses and hearing their testimony.

It was for this reason that the commit-

tee opposed the efforts in Federa! court

of Special Prosecutor Cox to proscribe

television and radio coverage of the testi-

mony of Magruder and Dean. The Spe-

cial Prosecutor's expressed concern was

that public hearings might prejudice fu-

ture criminal trials. It was the commit-

tee'’s position that they would not, but,

even if they did, it was more important in

A-H-7

UNITED STATES v. HALDEMAN 151

Cie as 650 F263) (1976)

this period of crisis and national] concern

that the ful] facts be promptly made

known. The public should not have to

wait a year or more until the Watergate

trials were over to know the scope of the

corruption in its Government.

S.Rep. No. 93-981, 93d Cong., 2d Sess.

XXXI-XXXIJ (1974) (emphasis added).

This statement speaks for itself and indi-

cates that the Senate hearings were uncon-

cerned with the prejudice they might cause

to future criminal trials. Given this deci-

sion, and the nationally televised and pnnt-

ed coverage it created, simple fairness com-

manded that the trial be located in some

community where there lay a minimum pre-

judgment of guilt.

One other element of cost should be ex-

plicitly stated. It is the cost now, in 1976,

of reversing the convictions for a retria) of

these cases where the Government's evi-

dence is massive. The cost includes re-

opening old wounds. The cost may also

include public exasperation and disillusion-

ment. The cost certainly would include the

dollar outlays for a new trial. But the

existence of the federa! supervisory rule

requires such disposition and the only court

in this land that can alter the existing rule

is the Supreme Court of the United States.

The law is otherwise clear, and this court is

bound to apply it. Our constitutional guar-

antee of a fair trial includes the absolute

right to an open-minded jury and, as the

Supreme Court held in Stirone v. United

States, 361 U.S. 212, 80 S.Ct. 270, 4 L.Ed.2d

252 (1960), with respect to the right to be

tried only on felonies charged in an indict-

ment by a grand jury, the denia! of such

right cannot be treated as harmless error.

B. The Supervisory Standard and the

Publicity in this Case

We know that the proposition in

Marshal), a federa) case, is that

.. . persons who have learned from

pews sources of a defendant's prior crimi-

na] record are presumed to be prejudiced.

4 See, eg. Doonesbury comic strip in The

Washington Post, Aug. 13, 1974, § Bat 10, id.

Aug 12, 1974, § B at 8, id, July 27, 1974, § E

42) U.S. at 798, 95 S.Ct. at 2035 In this

case, as stated supra, the defendants were

the subjects of a massive wave of media

coverage which is without paralle) in lega!

history, which was extraordinarily heavy in

Washington, D.C., and which, on the unre-

futed record, led some 6]% of Washington,

D.C. area residents to conclude that the

defendants were guilt), before trial, with

only some 2% believing them innocent and

the rest withholding judgment. On the

same record, to a leve! of statistica! near-

certainty, this was not the case in such

other locales as Delaware, Southern Indiana,

and Richmond, Virginia

The Washington press commentar) in-

cluded substantial, unending vituperative

statements, of which these were typical

Honesty and following those

orders (from Haldeman and Ehrlichman)

were inconsistent.

He [Haldeman] stayed behind

the scenes, using loya! aides to do the

dirty work

See p. —— of 181 U.S.App.D.C., p. 142 of

559 F.2d, supra. The newspapers were sat-

urated with adverse comments, politica! sat-

ire and cartoons, and even a comic strip

attacked the defendants‘

This was not a case in which the defend-

ants were asking to go somewhere where

the jury pool would represent a clean or

neutral slate: it is a case in which they

sought simply to go someplace where the

smallest possible portion of the jury pool

had concluded in advance that they were

guilty.

Additional high dollar costs, delay, and

change of judge were not involved

In determining the proper applicability of

the supervisory standard declared in Mar-

shal], that case cannot be distinguished

from this case on the basis that the jurors

had improperly learned of a prior conviction

of the defendant, instead of some other

adverse information, because Rideau, which

was & constitutional case, was reversed

at 50, id. July 25, 1974. § F at 16. and Her

block cartoons in id. Aug 11, 1974, § C at 6

July 28. 1974, § C at 6

A-H-8

152 589 FEDERAL REPORTER, 24 SERIES

where the publicity did not involve any

conviction. The federa] supervisory stan-

dard is broader than the constitutional stan-

dard and can be violated by the possibility

of prejudice in any form. Jury prejudice is

not limited to publicity of a conviction or a

confession

The disclosure in Rideau involved a con-

feasion on television before some 106,000

viewers in three separate showings in a

population of some 150,000, or nearly two

thirds of the populace, assuming some sma!!

allowance for overlap in the audience

among the three showings. 378 U.S. at 724,

83 S.Ct. 1417. In this case the principal

defendants were dismissed from high office

in a wave of publicity that led nearly two

thirds of the population of Washington,

D.C. to believe they were guilty before tri-

al Moreover, eight of the twelve ultimate

jurors actually viewed portions of the tele-

vision hearings from which the Senate per-

jury counts were brought (Tr. 634, 842, 987,

1181-82, 1355, 1427, 1680, 1911). There was

therefore the obvious possibility that these

jurors in the case were actual witnesses to

the charged crime, a frequent cause for

disqualification as a juror. The adversary

nature of those hearings may have created

fixed impressions in the viewers and turned

them into partial partisans for one side or

another. They may have tended to side

with Senator Ervin as many did. The per-

centage of nearly two thirds is the same in

both Rideau and this case. In Rideau, the

Supreme Court said that for the people

exposed to the publicity, the publicity was

the tnal. 373 US. at 726, 83 S.Ct. 1417.

The same might be said of the Senate Hear-

ings as presented on television. And Ri-

deau was @ state court trial and therefore, a

constitutional case. If percentages are to

govern there, then it is even clearer that

they should govern in a federa/ case, where

a broader standard than the constitutional

standard applies.

C. The Evidence from the Voir Dire

The majority opinion explores the voir

dire that was actually held subsequent to

the denia] of the change of venue motion.

The voir dire confirms the conclusion

from the evidence that the venue should

have been changed at the beginning of the

case, on the basis of presumptive prejudice.

The voir dire began with preliminary

questions directed to groups of members of

the venire, in order to explore such matters

as reading the indictment, determining if

any person on the venire knew participants

in the trial or if they might tend to disbe-

lieve a witness because the witness had

pleaded guilty in another case, and to in-

quire into scheduling or medical difficulties

that would prevent those on the venire

from serving. Tr. 1-541.

The court then asked a standard set of

questions of members individually. This in-

dividua! questioning produced the panel of

twelve that was ultimately charged with

the case. Because of the importance of the

context and sequence of this individua!

questioning, and as a typical example for

ease of reference, the individual! voir dire of

one of the twelve jurors, John Hoffar (Tr.

928-49), is set out as Appendix B to this

opinion. (Hereafter Hoffar Voir Dire. The

other eleven ;:rors were Gladys Carter (Tr

607-19), Roy Carter (Tr. 619-34), Ruth

Gould (Tr. 832-51), Anita King (Tr. 1075-

97), Marjorie M. Milbourn (Tr. 1172-1216),

Vanetta M. Metoyer (Tr. 1216-29), Dock

Reid (Tr. 1350-61), Jane M. Ryon (Tr. 1420-

42), Thelma L. Wells (Tr. 1673-96), Sandra

Y. Young (Tr. 1876-1901), and Helen D

Pratt (Tr. 1901-17).

1. The Role of Voir Dire and the Facts of

Rideau

The first and singular aspect of the voir

dire is that it confirms the pervasiveness of

the coverage of this case in Washington,

D.C. The trial judge says flatly:

Think of it. The publicity that break-

in got. I said, this is incredible.

Tr. 487 (emphasis added). And:

If anybody gets on the stand and tells

me they never heard of this case or read

about it, I will exercise a challenge for

cause. That is how | feel about it.

Id. (emphasis added).

The heart of the problem thus created is

encapsulated by the authors of the ABA

A-H-9

UNITED STATES v. HALDEMAN 153

Cie as 680 F.2d 31 (1976)

Standards Relating to Fair Tria! and Free

Press:

It has in many jurisdictions been common

practice for denial of such a [change of

venue] motion to be sustained if a jury

meeting prevailing standards could be

obtained. There are difficul-

ties with the approach many

existing standards of acceptability toler-

ate considerable knowledge of the case

and even an opinion on the merits on the

part of the prospective juror. And even

under a more restrictive standard, there

wil] remain the problem of obtaining ac-

curate answers on voir dire—is the juror

conscious!y or subconsciously harboring

prejudice against the accused resulting

from widespread news coverage in the

community’? Thus if change of venue

and continuance are to be of value, they

should not turn on the results of the voir

dire; rather they should constitute inde-

pendent remedies designed to assure fair

tria] when news coverage has raised sub-

stantia] doubts about the effectiveness of

the voir dire standing alone.

ABA Standards, supra p. 21, at 126 (empha-

sis added).

The indisputable fact in the majority's

own analysis of the voir dire is that the

exposure of the venire and fina) jurors to

prejudicia] pretrial publicity in this case

was at least as heavy as the exposure of the

venire and final jury in Rideau. We al-

ready know, from the unrefuted record,

that not only had well over two third

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.