Petition — Delta Communications Corp. v. National Broadcasting Co.

Supreme Court brief1979

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Oe? a ae

a, FILee <4

JUL 80 1979 |

Alpha Law Briej Co., One Main Plaza, No. 1 Main St., Houston, Texas 77002 »)

ay

3 “Hiei 5 IDA, JRun CLERR

—_———_—_—_—_——

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

NO._#QO-=}j}138

DELTA COMMUNICATIONS CORPORATION,

Petitioner

Vv.

NATIONAL BROADCASTING COMPANY, INC.,

AMERICAN BROADCASTING COMPANIES, INC.,

AND SOUTHERN TELEVISION CORPORATION,

Respondents

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

E. BARRETT PRETTYMAN, JR. JoHN CoLEMAN Dawson

815 Connecticut Avenue 36 W. Rivercrest Drive

Washington, D.C. 20006 Houston, Texas 77042

Of Counsel A. A. WHITE

2400 Two Shell Plaza

Houston, Texas 77002

RICHARD E. WILBOURN

P. O. Box 1389

Meridian, Mississippi 39301

Rossin R. Dawson

2500 Two Shell Plaza

Houston, Texas 77002

Counsel for Petitioner \

—— —- ~— ST

OPINIONS BELOW .............-.--. RT

JURISDICTION AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS IN-

Tene ee eN ibaa eke xe nae hoe 054040 80909400.

EU UMNO SUED conve cece scccercssccsence

RTERNTS TT BEEN GANS bow cede cccceceseeewees

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT:

1. By misconstruing dictum in a decision by this Court,

the courts below have established an important and

erroneous rule that summary judgment may be granted

on the basis of the trial judge’s choice of the most

probable of conflicting inferences. ................

2. The court below improperly held that self interest

justifies antitrust violations under Section 1 of the

Sherman Act, in direct conflict with decisions of this

Court and of other Courts of Appeal. .............

3. The court beiow improperly required specific predatory

intent for monopolization under Section 2 of the Sher-

man Act, in direct conflict with decisions of this

Court and of other Courts of Appeals. ...........

4. The denial of network programs pursuant to a com-

bination or monopolization as shown here violates the

Sherman Act, the very basis of the Federal Communi-

cations Act, and the public’s right to television view-

ALS ehh S66 6409 kno ce 04 06's 608 Wes

APPENDIX A—Opinion of the District Court ..........

APPENDIX B—Judgment of the District Court ........

APPENDIX C—Opinion of the Fifth Circuit, September

Te css dee dv setae

APPENDIX D—Judgment of the Fifth Circuit, September

SEE a ee ne rae

APPENDIX E—Opinion of the Fifth Circuit, February

CCL ON Lh cease sins keeib bs ew heseaee 6s

APENDIX F—Judgment of the Fifth Circuit, February

ek, iv uendasadedenies

APPENDIX G—Denial of Rehearing, May 7, 1979 ....

APPENDIX H—Statutory Provisions Involved .........

18

21

II

CITATIONS

CASES Page

Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144 (1970) ..... 13

Admiral Theatre Corp. v. Douglas Theatre Co., 585 F.2d

FT Be CO TO. BOVE hsv senvgncd ch sacues vee’ id

American Fid. & Cas. Co. v. London & Edinburgh Ins. Co.,

S58 Fe SEG, S06 TO Gi. BOGE) acdc ck cccveeucccss 14

Aviation Specialties, Inc. v. United Technologies, Corp.,

ee Mi SR Re. teers errr ee re ee 14

Bailey v. Hartford Fire Ins. Co., 565 F.2d 826, 830 (2d

See: eiticw as Sadan We decie van ube ba pet seene cess 10

British Airways Bd. v. Boeing Co., 585 F.2d 946, 951 (9th

Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 99 S.Ct. 1790 (1979) ....... 10

Craig v. Sun Oil Co., 515 F.2d 221, 225 (10th Cir. 1975),

ont. Gomted, 430. TS. BFP CIPTE) oicc cas ccsacsccace. 10

Drexel v. Union Prescription Centers, 582 F.2d 781, 784

fo ge Se BR reer rrr re rT er ery 13

Fashion Originators Guild v. Federal Trade Commission,

114 F.2d 80, 85 (2nd Cir. 1940), aff’d., 312 U.S. 457

bo.) eer errr e rey eee ea ee Tee ee Tee 21

First Nat. Bank of Arizona v. Cities Service Co., 391

of ee a Perr ee Tries eee ree Te 10, 12, 13, 14

Fitzgerald v. General Dairies, Inc., 590 F.2d 874, 875-876

Coe Ste BONED. So erate wes Mek eb Sambew Keaesioastas 13

Florida Lime and Avocado Growers v. Paul, 373 U.S. 132

SR eee re wks eG Uc eud Uh Geavecevisawes tneesens 13

Fountain v. Filson, 336 U.S. 681 (1949) ............... 13

Fournier v. Canadian Pacific Railroad, 512 F.2d 317, 318

Cee ae Ce Lect Chl pcs cea a kak eee meee 13

Freeman v. Decio, 584 F.2d 186, 196-197 (7th Cir. 1978) 10

Gallagher v. Philadelphia Transp. Co., 185 F.2d 543 (3d

Se SE. wun bans canes dees spades saeeendeetastunes 13

Greyhound Computer Corp. v. International Business Ma-

chines Corp., 559 F.2d 488 (9th Cir. 1977), cert. denied,

ES | ewer eer eee Tere eee 23,24

Harold Friedman, Inc. v. Kroger Co., 581 F.2d 1068, 1080

OE eS Serer terre rer errr er eer ee 10

Hecht v. Pro-Football, Inc., 570 F.2d 982, 996 (D.C. Cir.

2077), cart. Gomes, 436 U.S. G56 ov cccccssvccecsccs 21,24

Leonard v. BHJK Corporation, 469 F.2d 108, 110 (D.C.

a: eS errerr rr rrr Ty re eee 13

McDonnell v. Michigan Chapter #10, 587 F.2d 7, 9 (6th

Cals SOE Svbcnn ebbin s Wks Kenaees denen coer ees kebes 10

Merit Motors, Inc. v. Chrysler Corp., 569 F.2d 666, 668-

ee A rere te errr et 10

Narez v. Wilson, 591 F.2d 459, 462 (8th Cir. 1979) ..... 13

ITI

CASES

mesons Broadcasting Co. v. United States, 319 U.S. 190

National Soc. of Professional Engineers v. United States,

ie ee CI ae panes Ss chek ase yeea ue auats <

Poller v. Columbia Broadcasting System, Inc., 368 U.S.

es ee eee dae du ea We dace bak

ae Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 395 U.S. 367, 390

Ree ORE aha eee eek kad as bho o 6-0 kia &

Thyssen Plastik Anger KG v. Indenplas, Inc., 576 F.2d

Se EE Ge SUED vc wes edccccconncoesess

United States v. Aluminum Co. of America, 148 F.2d 416,

Co Be Re Ee err reer rrr ree

United States v. Diebold, Inc., 369 U.S. 654 (1962) ....

United States v. General Motors Corp., 384 U.S. 127 (1966)

United States v. Griffith, 334 U.S. 100, 107 (1948) ....

United States v. United Shoe Machinery Corp., 110 F. Supp.

295, 345 (D. Mass. 1953), aff'd per curiam, 347 U‘S.

Se GES Wiese cuca s ue beher we bhebubaG od aN eon o cae;

FEDERAL REGULATIONS

OF Crs Ss FOND x Kx ch eKEi dares ou viascccces

MISCELLANEOUS

FCC Docket 16041, 26 F.C.C. 772, 784-785 (1970) .....

FCC Docket 18927, 28 F.C.C. 169 (1971) .............

17

26

Supreme Court of the Mnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

NO.

DELTA COMMUNICATIONS CORPORATION,

Petitioner

Vv.

NATIONAL BROADCASTING COMPANY, INC.,

AMERICAN BROADCASTING COMPANIES, INC.,

AND SOUTHERN TELEVISION CORPORATION,

Respondents

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

The petitioner, Delta Communications Corporation,

respectfully prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review

the opinion and judgment of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit entered in this proceed-

ing on September 11, 1978, as modified on February 21,

1979.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the District Court for the Southern

District of Mississippi rendered February 25, 1976 is

reported at 408 F. Supp. 1075 and is reprinted as Ap-

pendix A hereto. Its final judgment is unreported and is

reprinted here as Appendix B. The September 11, 1978

per curiam opinion of the Court of Appeals adopting

2

the District Court opinion is reported at 579 F.2d 972

and is reprinted as Appendix C hereto. Its judgment is

reprinted here as Appendix D. The February 21, 1979

per curiam opinion of the Court of Appeals on rehearing,

affirming in part and vacating and remanding in part

the opinion of the trial court is reported at 590 F.2d

100 and is reprinted here as Appendix E. The judgment

on rehearing is reprinted as Appendix F hereto. The

Court of Appeals’ order of May 7, 1979, denying the

petition for rehearing and the petition for rehearing

en banc is reprinted as Appendix G hereto.

JURISDICTION AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The original opinion and judgment of the Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit were entered September 11,

1978. App. C, D. On February 21, 1979, petitioner's

timely petition for rehearing and petition suggesting rehear-

ing en banc was granted in part and denied in part (App.

E), and the September 11, 1978 judgment was modified

accordingly. App. F. On March 21, 1979, petitioner

filed a timely petition for rehearing and petition suggest-

ing rehearing en banc of the February 21, 1979 opinion

and judgment, and this petition was denied on May 7,

1979. App. F, G.

The jurisdiction of the District Court was invoked by

petitioner’s counterclaim in a suit brought against it

in that court by American Telephone & Telegraph Com-

pany (“AT&T”) under the Communications Act. 47

U.S.C. §§ 151 et seq. Petitioner’s counterclaim was

brought under the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. § 15, and

this Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1). The relevant portions of Secs. 1 and 2 of

the Sherman Act are set forth in Appendix H.

3

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. In a complex antitrust case, may the trial court

grant summary judgment against the plaintiff as a result

of weighing the various inferences arising out of the

pre-trial record and basing its findings on those inferences

which it deems to be most probably believable or

plausible?

2. May the self interest of « defendant be used as

the sole excuse for otherwise illegal conduct under Section

1 of the Sherman Act?

3. Is specific predatory intent toward the injured party

a necessary ingredient of a finding of monopolization

under Section 2 of the Sherman Act?

4. May television networks and their affiliates, ex-

ercising monopolistic or quasi-monopolistic powers, act

to prevent local stations from entering new areas by

such tactics as restricting the availability of network

programs?

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is a private treble damage antitrust suit brought

by petitioner Delta Communications Corporation, a cor-

poration which in the 1966-1970 period undertook un-

successfully to operate a television broadcasting station

in Meridian, Mississippi.

Petitioner’s authorization from the Federal Communi:

cations Commission (“FCC”) was to operate in ultra

high frequency (UHF). The only allocation for broad-

cast in very high frequency (VHF) for the area was

held by the existing station, WTOK, owned by respondent

Southern Television Corporation (“Southern”), which,

prior to petitioner’s entry into the Meridian market, was

4

the only TV broadcasting station serving that market

from within. 1968-69 TV Fact Book.

Southern was a primary affiliate of CBS.’ However,

it had a secondary affiliation agreement with respondent

ABC under which it took many prime-time programs

for showing in non-prime-time periods. It also broadcast

the only programs of respondent NBC which NBC per-

mitted to be broadcast from within the Meridian area.

CA App. 1217.7 ABC had no primary affiliate serving

the Meridian market.

NBC had two primary affiliates in Mississippi—W LBT

in Jackson, and WDAM in Hattiesburg. The signal

ranges of these two stations reached (overlapped), in

the aggregate, about 24% of the area covered by the

signal range of petitioner’s station. App. A-6.

In 1967, when petitioner was planning its entry into

the market, Southern was then broadcasting the only two

NBC programs which NBC permitted to be broadcast

from within the Meridian area. CA App. 1217. Except

for these programs (which reached the entire Meridian

area) and the NBC programs of the Jackson and Hatties-

burg stations, which in the aggregate reached about

24% of the Meridian area, the area was blind to NBC

programs. App. A-6-9.

1. As here used the terms “primary affiliate’ and ‘secondary

affiliate’ both mean stations having first call on a network’s pro-

grams and receiving compensation from the network for broadcasting

its programs. The term “affiliate” or “affiliation agreement” refers

to a network-station arrangement giving the station first call on the

network programs but no network compensation for broadcasting

them.

2. “App.” as used in this Petition refers to an appendix attached

hereto. “CA App.” refers to the appendix filed with the Fifth Circuit

Court of Appeals.

5

In planning for its operations, petitioner, aware that

the availability of nationally televised programs from

one or more of the three national networks was essential

to a successful entry and operation of a TV broadcasting

station in Meridian, sought at the outset an affiliation

(first call on programs) with ABC and the right to

supplement its schedule of ABC programs with NBC

programs not then reaching the entire Meridian area.

App. A-23-24.

These approaches to ABC and NBC began in August

of 1967 prior to petitioner’s commencement of construc-

tion of its broadcast station. CA App. 412-420. Both

networks expressed interest and asked to be kept abreast

of construction progress, but both were noncommittal

as to the release of programs. CA App. 1222, 1224.

In November 1967, after petitioner’s emergence as a

competitor of Southern became known to ABC and

Southern, these parties executed a two-year renewal of

Southern’s secondary affiliation agreement with ABC

(giving Southern, rather than petitioner, first call on

programs). Also in November 1967, Southern took the

following additional exclusionary actions: concurrently

with cancellation of three hours of prime-time programs

of NBC (which did not become available to petitioner),

Southern increased its taking of prime-time TV shows

from ABC by three and one-half hours per week and

increased its taking of prime-time shows from CBS by

three hours per week. These increased prime-time hours

of programs would have been potentially available to

petitioner but for Southern’s preemption, and, as no NBC

programs were available to petitioner at that time, the

increases reduced by about 32.5% the prime-time hours

of nationally televised programs otherwise potentially

available for broadcast by petitioner. CA App. 428-451.

6

After thus renewing Southern’s first call rights on its

programs, and in December 1967, ABC advised pe-

titioner that it would release for broadcast by petitioner

certain programs not first chosen by Southern. It was

agreed that any programs so released to petitioner would

be without compensation to petitioner and without cost

to ABC, with petitioner paying for its own AT&T inter-

connection required for making the programs available.

CA App. 1317; App. A-24.

Later in December 1967, petitioner moved to obtain

an arrangement with NBC similar to that made by it with

ABC. CA App. 1222. This was followed by petitioner's

urgent requests to NBC for allowance of some NBC pro-

grams to fill gaps in petitioner’s broadcast schedule

resulting from the limited number and secondary choice

of ABC and CBS programs left available to petitioner

after Southern’s preemptions. CA App. 1151, 1152. All

of petitioner’s requests for NBC programs were made

on the express understanding that unless and until pe-

titioner could build an audience meriting compensation,

the programs would be furnished without compensation

to petitioner and without cost to NBC, with petitioner

paying for its own interconnection with AT&T as re-

quired for delivery of the programs. CA App. 1152,

1251.

In May of 1968, CBS agreed to allow petitioner to

broadcast programs not called for by Southern, its pri-

mary affiliate. App. A-8.

Petitioner began broadcasting on June 8, 1968, with

the availability of nationally televised programs limited to

programs of ABC and CBS which Southern did not wish

to show, NBC having declined to respond to petitioner's

7

urgent requests for NBC programs. App. A-8. After

intercession in July 1968 by petitioner's Washington

counsel with NBC’s Washington counsel (CA App.

1194), NBC began allowing a very limited number of

programs to petitioner. Subsequently, and effective in

July 1969, more than one year after petitioner’s sign-on,

NBC awarded affiliation to petitioner (first call on pro-

grams but no compensation or payment for line charges).

App. A-23.

During the entire period of time that NBC was refusing

to release any programs requested by petitioner, and

also while NBC was releasing to petitioner only very

limited programs, NBC’s primary affiliates in Jackson and

Hattiesburg were vigorously urging NBC not to allow

petitioner to broadcast NBC programs. CA App. 642,

858, 860, 1227. Their reason: petitioner’s broadcast of

such programs in the 24% of the Meridian area over-

lapped by the signals of the Jackson and Hattiesburg

stations would cause competition for listeners and viewers

in such areas, which competition they wished to avoid.

CA App. 859; App. A-68, 72, 73.

Petitioner made many claims of antitrust violations

by the respondents in its complaint, all of which it be-

lieves to be valid. However, for purposes of this Petition,

the primary claims were as follows:

1. NBC was guilty of violating Section 1 of the

Sherman Act by refusing to deal (denying programs re-

quested) due to a combination with one or both of its

Jackson or Hattiesburg affiliates.

2. Southern, holding monopoly power in the Meridian

area, was guilty of monopolization under Section 2 of

the Sherman Act by taking the exclusionary actions

8

described above in furtherance of its monopoly position.

ABC participated in such monopolization, and the re-

newal of the first call contract by ABC and Southern, at

a time when NBC programs were unavailable, and after

the emergence of petitioner was known, itself consti-

tuted a violation of Section 1 of the Sherman Act.

The trial court sustained respondents’ motions for

summary judgment, thus disposing of all claims in re-

spondents’ favor. App. A.

By per curiam decision rendered September 11, 1978,

the Court of Appeals adopted the District Court’s opinion

as its own and affirmed. App. C. On rehearing, the

appellate court, in a second per curiam opinion, again

affirmed the trial court’s judgment sustaining respondents’

motions on summary judgment as to the antitrust issues

but vacated and remanded certain other portions of

the District Court’s opinion dealing with Communications

Act claims. App. E.

It is important to a proper understanding of this

Petition to know that both the trial court and the

appellate court mistakenly treated petitioner’s basic

claim against the networks as one for denial of network

compensation. In very early position papers, depositions,

and the like, petitioner did explore the question of

whether unequal application by all the networks through-

out the nation of their compensation standards demon-

strated an illegal combination or conspiracy. But the

record is clear that all of petitioner’s requests for

programs from NBC (and its arrangement for the same

with ABC) were on the understanding that no request

for compensation would be made unless and until

petitioner’s audience justified it. Petitioner’s claims against

9

the networks is for denials of programs necessary to

achieve an audience meriting compensation.

It should also be noted that in the early phases of

this proceeding, petitioner urged as against all three

networks, and also as against AT&T, claims of com-

bination among themselves or with affiliates of the

networks to deny entry or otherwise frustrate competition

by TV stations broadcasting in the UHF spectrum, and

a combination between AT&T and the networks to

initiate and maintain AT&T’s discriminatory tariff. In

the interest of reducing the complexity of this case,

these claims are now abandoned. Thus, no antitrust vio-

lation is now urged by petitioner as against AT&T

or CBS.

Finally, it should be noted that in addition to the

alleged antitrust violations, this suit includes a claim

by petitioner against AT&T for damages for alleged

violations of the Communications Act. This Communica-

tions Act phase of the case has been remanded to the

lower court for trial, and accordingly this Petition does

not seek review of this feature of the case.

REASONS FOR GRANTING

THE WRIT

1. By misconstruing dictum in a decision by this

Court, the courts below have established an import-

ant and erroneous rule that summary judgment

may be granted on the basis of the trial judge’s

choice of the most probable of conflicting inferences.

This case is one of an increasing number that have

allowed a variety of methods to prevent juries from

10

deciding important private antitrust claims. in_ this

instance, the method was summary judgment against

the plaintiffi—despite a complex record of conflicting

facts and obvious injury.

The basic error here springs from an original mis-

reading of this Court’s decision in First Nat. Bank of

Arizona v. Cities Service Co., 391 U.S. 253 (1968).

As demonstrated below, that original error permeated

the entire trial court decision and the appeal that

followed, so that the established law in the Fifth

Circuit, unlike that in all other Circuits interpreting

Cities Service,* is that summary judgment may be

granted on the basis of the trial court’s choice of the

most probable of conflicting inferences presented by the

record.

The trial court stated early in its discussion of sum-

mary judgment that Cities Service establishes the standard

to be followed. App. A-17. The court read dictum in that

opinion (391 U.S. at 280) as setting forth a new rule of

“probability” in complicated antitrust cases. App. A-18.

It then repeatedly applied this new rule to the “facts”

it found here. Thus, it said that petitioner’s claim failed

because the evidence “clearly points to the much more

plausible inference” that dealings with petitioner grew

3. Thyssen Plastik Anger KG v. Indenplas, Inc., 576 F.2d 400,

401-02 (ist Cir. 1978); Bailey v. Hartford Fire Ins. Co., 565 F.2d

826, 830 (2d Cir. 1977); Harold Friedman, Inc. v. Kroger Co.,

581 F.2d 1068, 1080 (3d Cir. 1978); McDonnell v. Michigan Chap-

ter #10, 587 F.2d 7, 9 (6th Cir. 1978); Freeman v. Decio, 584

F.2d 186, 196-197 (7th Cir. 1978); Admiral Theatre Corp. v.

Douglas Theatre Co., 585 F.2d 877, 889 (8th Cir. 1978); British

Airways Bd. v. Boeing Co., 585 F.2d 946, 951 (9th Cir. 1978),

cert. denied, 99 S.Ct. 1790 (1979); Craig v. Sun Oil Co., 515 F.2d

221, 225 (10th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 429 US. 829 (1976):

Merit Motors, Inc. v. Chrysler Corp., 569 F.2d 666, 668-669 (D.C.

Cir. 1977).

11

from independent business judgments (App. A-19); that

petitioner failed to develop facts “from which the most

probable inference to be drawn was conspiracy” (id.);

that summary judgment was prover under Cities Service

“when an inference of non-consr “acy is more probable”

than petitioner’s contention of conspiracy (App. A-18,

19); that proof of NBC’s independent and normal operat-

ing policies “obliterates” any “inference of unlawful action

* * *” (App. A-26); and that the asserted motives of the

networks in refusing to deal with petitioner “are less

believable” than “the sound business judgment” attributed

to each network by the court. App. A-34.

At one point, the trial court purported in the text

of its opinion to assume that WDAM exerted pressure

on NBC not to give programming to petitioner. App.

A-68. However, the court in a footnote then totally

discounted the significance of WDAM’s assumed pres-

sure by concluding that an inference of “a scheme to

preserve Southern’s Meridian monopoly” is only required

“if it is the most plausible inference to be drawn from

all the facts,” which the court declined to do. App.

A-68 n. 76.

The dramatic way in which this “probability” approach

operated against petitioner is further illustrated by the

trial court’s approach to household viewing. The court

placed great emphasis upon the fact that NBC required

a station to be viewed by at least 6,000 prime-time homes

before the network would pay it for broadcasting the net-

work’s programs. E.g., App. A-13, 27-29. Yet when one

survey showed that petitioner had achieved the requisite

number of prime-time homes and was therefore entitled

to payment, the trial court adopted respondents’ argu-

ment (which had developed directly from “a complaint

12

by Southern” to the company performing the survey)

that this survey was not “reliable” but rather was the

result of a “mistake.” App. A-14-15, 27-28 n. 30. The

court therefore simply ignored the survey and its all-

important implications.

The Court of Appeals at first adopted the trial court’s

opinion as its own. App. C-1. On petition for rehearing,

the Court of Appeals purported to correct the District

Court’s application of Cities Service. App. E-2. The

proper rule, said the Court of Appeals, is that:

Insofar as any weighing of inferences from given

facts is permissible, the task of the court is not to

weigh these against each other but rather to cull

the universe of possible inferences from the facts

established by weighing each against the abstract

standard of reasonableness, casting aside those which

do not meet it and focusing solely on those which

do. * * * [Id.]

Inexplicably, however, the Court of Appeals then con-

cluded:

A reconsideration of the opinion [below] convinces

us that, in each instance complained of, the proper

rule as set out above has been applied. * * *

[App. E-4.]

In other words, after ruling that it never intended to

sanction the “probable inference” rule which underlay

virtually every important conclusion reached by the Dis-

trict Court (App. E-2), the Court of Appeals, without

any analysis of these detailed conclusions, nevertheless

held that summary judgment against petitioner was

justified.

2 Ne en Nae re nk SERA a on eee eee: ~t

13

Aside from the fact that the correct procedure in light

of the District Court’s repeated error would have been

to remand this lengthy and complex record for recon-

sideration under application of the proper standards,‘

the Court of Appeals cannot, by a single sentence, undo

what the trial court did in erroneous analysis after

erroneous analysis.

Of course, Cities Service was never intended to sanc-

tion the standards applied here, and such standards

are in direct conflict with those applied by other Courts

of Appeal and by this Court. As shown by Adickes v.

S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144 (1970), United States

v. Diebold, Inc., 369 U.S. 654 (1962), and Poller v.

Columbia Broadcasting System, Inc., 368 U.S. 464

(1962), it is still the law that, on summary judgment,

conflicting facts are to be resolved in favor of the party

opposing the motion, that inferences to be drawn from

the underlying facts must be viewed in the light most

favorable to that party, that a defendant’s motion for

summary judgment must be denied unless it disproves

as a matter of law the existence of any facts from

which an inference supporting the plaintiffs allegations

may be drawn, and that, if the motion fails to do so,

all disputes of fact and of inferences to be drawn there-

from material to the issues in the case must be left for

decision on trial before court or jury.

4. See, e.g., Fountain v. Filson, 336 U.S. 681 (1949); Florida

Lime and Avocado Growers v. Paul, 373 U.S. 132 (1963); Gallagher

v. Philadelphia Transp. Co., 185 F.2d 543 (3d Cir. 1950). See also

Leonard v. BHJK Corporation, 469 F.2d 108, 110 (D.C. Cir. 1972)

and cases cited; Fitzgerald v. General Dairies, Inc., 590 F.2d 874,

875-876 (10th Cir. 1979); Narez v. Wilson, 591 F.2d 459, 462 (8th

Cir. 1979); Drexel v. Union Prescription Centers, 582 F.2d 781,

784 (3rd Cir. 1978); Fournier v. Canadian Pacific Railroad, 512

F.2d 317, 318 (2d Cir. 1975).

14

American Fid. & Cas. Co. v. London & Edinburgh

Ins. Co., 354 F.2d 214, 216 (4th Cir. 1965), is typical

of Court of Appeals decisions holding that not only

must the historic facts be free of controversy, but there

must also be no basis for controversy as to the inferences

to be drawn from them.

It is difficult to believe that any court, based on an

alleged dictum in Cities Service, would sweep away these

solidly éstablished doctrines and safeguards. Yet the

indications are unavoidable that this is precisely what the

court below has done. First, this was the interpretation

of Cities Service urged on the appellate court by NBC:

In First National Bank of Arizona v. Cities Service

Co., supra, 391 U.S. at 280, the Supreme Court

made clear that an antitrust plaintiff may not rely

on mere “inferences” of conspiracy where an in-

ference of non-conspiracy is “more probable.” [NBC

Brief at 20.]

And that this pernicious doctrine is now the law of the

Fifth Circuit is affirmed in a decision of that court

rendered two years after the trial court’s ruling here.

In Aviation Specialties, Inc. v. United Technologies

Corp., 568 F.2d 1186, 1193 (1978), the court said:

In the absence of such evidence, summary judgment

is proper when an inference of no conspiracy is more

probable than the plaintiff's asserted inference of

conspiracy [citing Cities Service].

The extraordinary results to be expected from the use

of this incorrect standard can be no better illustrated

than by what occurred here as to petitioner’s charge of

An Ae ROS ee 6 et Ne ONS LO i ad al tli Polar demas

15

combination between NBC and its affiliates WDAM and

WLBT to deny NBC programs to petitioner.

It was undisputed that petitioner was pleading with

NBC to give it programming without compensation to

petitioner and without cost to NBC; that NBC had the

physical power to give or withhold such programs; that

WDAM and WLBT were strongly urging NBC to exer-

cise that power to withhold all programs; that NBC did

in fact withhold all programs until about three months

after petitioner’s critical, first-impression, sign-on date,

and that NBC continued to withhold programs requested

by petitioner on such a no-pay, no-cost basis until more

than one year from that date. Further, in internal memo-

randa, NBC officials in 1969 conceded that the Meridian

area was important enough to be served from within

and that the showing of NBC programs by petitioner

would improve NBC’s performance in Mississippi and

Alabama. CA App. 1251-53.°

Obviously, on these facts a jury could have inferred

that NBC’s denial of programs was due to the affiliates’

pressures. Indeed, there being nothing substantial in the

record to refute these facts, a jury verdict to the con-

trary would likely have been contrary to the evidence.

But the trial court, armed with its “probability” concept,

could grant summary judgment and keep the case from

the jury by simply labeling as “more plausible” NBC’s

statements that it acted independently and wholly un-

influenced by its affiliates’ protests.

The Court of Appeals, by adopting the trial court

opinion, necessarily approved the trial court’s finding

5. An NBC official testified that Meridian ‘‘was a separate city

of license—where we should cooperate.” CA App. 860.

16

that the “most plausible” inference was one of lawful

action.

Moreover, the appellate court, in its decision on re-

hearing, actually applied the same “probability,” or

“choice of inferences,” doctrine enunciated by the Dis-

trict Court, even though renaming it, “weighing against

a standard of reasonableness.”

Thus, as proof that the trial court had applied the

“proper rule,” the Court of Appeals declared:

[Ajt no relevant time did [petitioner] command a

viewing audience approaching that required for af-

filiation by the basic policies of either ABC or NBC.

As the opinion of the [trial] court notes * * *,

“[t]hese policies evinced an economic judgment that

unless the network’s respective 6,000 or 7,000 house-

hold figure was met, national advertisers would not

be willing to increase their overall compensation to

the networks for the addition of the television sta-

tions.” We do not believe, in the face of such facts,

that an inference of anticompetitive conspiracy is

reasonable. * * * [App. E-2-3.]

If this is a holding that petitioner’s small audience ex-

cused network denial of compensation, it is irrelevant to

any issue in this case, for petitioner’s complaint was for

denial of programs, not denial of compensation. If it is

a holding that petitioner’s small audience excused the

denial of programs, it is a holding that until a new sta-

tion achieves an audience sufficient for affiliation, net-

works can with impunity deny it the programs without

which it cannot achieve such an audience.

In either event, it is a holding reached by the ap-

pellate court itself by means of its choice of the most

17

probable of conflicting inferences. This is so because

the court first accepts the trial court’s conclusion as to

the smallness of petitioner’s audience—a matter sharply

disputed in the record—and it then accepts the inference

that the networks’ audience requirements for either af:

filiation or compensation “evinced an economic judg-

ment.”

But the fact that, in practice, the networks often gave

programming or compensation where the asserted audi-

ence requirements had not been met and awarded com-

pensation to many new UHF stations disproportionately

low in terms of comparative audiences (see FCC Doc-

ket 16041, 26 F.C.C. 772, 784-785 (1970)) supports

a strong inference that such stated requirements were in

fact but convenience devices used with the approval or

cooperation of those stations favored by the networks to

hinder the entry of new competition by the withholding

of either programs or compensation or both.°

The importance of the issue here is so obvious that

it can hardly be made clearer by emphasis or elabora-

tion. It is as important as the right to trial by jury, for

if a court can preempt for itself prior to trial decisions

as to which inferences from the operative facts are “more

6. This inference finds strong support in the testimony of ABC’s

Director of Television Station Relations in the period here involved:

Well, as I said, in 1969 I was starting to change as far as

that. I just felt that the combined CBS or NBC station that

was also eligible or able to get the best ABC programs would,

in fact, stunt the ability of a station. I felt there was a certain

hypocrisy if we measure the station for 3,000 homes and we

told them, when you get to 5,000 homes we will get you an

affiliation, and at the same time, we would turn around and

give our best programs to the VHF. We were, in fact, hindering

them from getting those 5,000 homes and yet we were telling

them when you get to 5,000 homes we would give you an

affiliation. [CA App. 800.]

18

probable,” “more plausible” or “less believable,” no jury

will be available to perform its time-honored functon.

That is precisely what the Court of Appeals has sanc-

tioned here. And the issues thus raised are of especial

importance because they involve the practices of net-

works and broadcasting stations directly affecting the

rights and interests of the public they are charged to

serve. If there were ever an area where inferences should

be weighed by juries on a full record rather than by

judges engaged in a balancing act on an incomplete and

uneven record, it is here, where the contested actions

are not those of a single individual or an ordinary com-

pany, but of semi-monopolists affecting the viewing habits

and intake of literally millions of persons.

2. The court below improperly held that self in-

terest justifies antitrust violations under Section 1

of the Sherman Act, in direct conflict with decisions

of this Court and of other Courts ot Appeals.

The Court of Appeals and the trial court justified re-

spondents’ conduct as acts of self interest and thereby

found no violation of Section 1 of the Sherman Act. This

was clear and serious error which should not be allowed

to stand by this Court.

Thus, the appellate court necessarily agreed with the

specific findings by the trial court that both WDAM

(Hattisburg) and WLBT (Jackson) exerted pressure on

NBC not to allow programs to petitioner, and that such

programs, if allowed to petitioner, would have meant

competition “calculated to decrease WDAM’s and WLBT’s

audience” as well as income. App. A-68, 72, 73. Despite

the fact that NBC did precisely what the two stations’

19

pressure was designed to accomplish, the courts below

justified this entire pattern of conduct in these terms:

Unlike WDAM, WLBT shared no common director with

Southern; therefore, somehow:

Reason * * * dictates it [WLBT] must have been

acting only out of self interest. If WLBT per-

ceived limited competition to it from [petitioner] as

significant enough to justify these actions, it is

most reasonable to assume that WDAM was not

acting because of improper influence by a common

director but also out of self interest. [App. A-73-74;

emphasis added.”

The concept that the actions of all respondents here

complained of could not be violative of the antitrust

laws because motivated by self interest and good busi-

ness permeates the trial court opinion and was in no way

rejected by the appellate court.

The only plausible inference to be drawn from the

undisputed facts is that the networks were motivated

in their dealings with [petitioner] solely by their in-

terest in purchasing a distribution service for their

programs and advertisements. In [petitioner’s] case,

the offered audience was so small that the networks

concluded no national advertisers would pay them

for its addition to the system. [App. A-33; emphasis

partially by the court.]

7. In addition to the “self-interest” point being discussed here,

this passage vividly demonstrates the absurdity of the “probability

of inferences” approach discussed supra. Inference is built upon in-

ference built upon inference: Because WLBT had no common

director with Southern, one must infer that WLBT acted only out

of self interest, and that being true, one must further infer that an

entirely different station also seeking to avoid competition from

petitioner acted only out of self interest.

20

The same concept was even more clearly announced

by the appellate court in its opinion on rehearing:

[A]t no relevant time did [petitioner] command a

viewing audience approaching that required for af-

filiation by the basic policies of either ABC or

Nm, °° ©

We do not believe, in the face of such facts, that

an inference of anticompetitive conspiracy is reason-

able. [App. E-2-3.]

These precepts conflict with the holdings of other

Courts of Appeals and of this Court. Thus, in United

States v. General Motors Corp., 384 U.S. 127 (1966),

General Motors and a group of its Los Angeles dealers

combined to keep a minority of dealers from violating

their “location clauses” by selling cars through discounters

at other than their established locations. The trial court,

as in the instant case, found no conspiracy. This Court

said:

The trial court attempted to justify its conclusion

on the following reasoning: That each defendant

and alleged co-conspirator acted to promote its own

self-interest; that General Motors, as well as the

defendant associations and their members, has a

lawful interest in securing compliance with the

“location clause” and in thus protecting the fran-

chise system of distributing automobiles—business

arrangements which the court deemed lawful and

proper * * *,

These factors do not justify the result reached. /t

is of no consequence, for purposes of determining

whether there has been a combination or conspiracy

under § 1 of the Sherman Act, that each party acted

21

in its own lawful interest. [Id. at 142; emphasis

added. ]*®

Practically all violations of the antitrust laws are com-

mitted in the self interest of the violators.” Few such

violations are committed with personal ill will toward

a competitor or primarily to destroy that competitor.

So the justification accepted by the Court of Appeals

here would annihilate Section 1 of the Sherman Act

and judicially bless a high percentage of all antitrust

violations under that Section.

3. The court below improperly required specific

predatory intent for monopolization under Section

2 of the Sherman Act, in direct conflict with decisions

of this Court and of other Courts of Appeals.

The trial court, and necessarily the appellate court,

found that Southern “held the dominant monopoly power

in the Meridian television market.” App. A-64. They

nevertheless granted summary judgment against petitioner

because it was allegedly unable to show a single instance

in which Southern used its market domination to harm

8. Most Courts of Appeals have been faithful to the rule thus

enunciated, so that the standard in the instant case is in direct

conflict with them. See, e.g., Fashion Originators Guild v. Federal

Trade Commission, 114 F.2d 80, 85 (2nd Cir. 1940), aff'd., 312

U.S. 457 (1941) and Hecht v. Pro-Football, Inc., 570 F.2d 982,

996, (D.C. Cir. 1977), cert. den., 436 US. 956.

9. For a recent and dramatic example, see National Soc. of

Professional Engineers v. United States, 435 U.S. 679 (1978), in

which the petitioning association demonstrated not only that the

ethical ban it advocated was in its members’ self interest but that

without the ban, the quality of engineering work would become

dangerous to the health, safety, and welfare of the public. Jd. at

685, 694. This Court nevertheless struck down the ban under

Section 1 of the Sherman Act.

22

petitioner. Id. Petitioner, they said, must show “some

predatory or wilful act in the furtherance” of its mo-

nopoly. App. A-65.

After noting and discussing five specific acts of

predatory or willful conduct charged by petitioner (App.

A-65-80), the trial court in each instance accepted the

justification offered by Southern for its actions. For ex-

ample, in response to Southern’s sudden increase in its

ABC broadcasting upon learning of petitioner’s attempt

to obtain ABC's programs, the trial court said: petition-

er’s claim “fatally falters because it has wholly failed

to contradict the rational justification given by Southern

for these changes.” App. A-71; emphasis added. South-

ern’s conduct, the court blithely concluded, must be as-

sumed to be an “application of sound business principles”

tather than “an act in furtherance of a monopoly.”

App. A-72.

This is but one example. The trial court’s entire dis-

cussion adopted by the Court of Appeals was founded

on the proposition that predatory intent is essential to a

charge of monopolizing and that an exclusionary act of

monopolizing can be iustified by sound business practices

or “rational justification.” This proposition is in direct

conflict with holdings of this Court and of other Courts

of Appeals.

Thus, in United States v. Griffith, 334 U.S. 100, 107

(1948), this Court said:

It is indeed “unreasonable, per se, to foreclose com-

petitors from any substantial market.” [Citing au-

thority.} The antitrust laws are as much violated

by the prevention of competition as by its de-

struction.

23

On the lack of need to prove specific intent to monopo-

lize, this Court said in Griffith:

It is, however, not always necessary to find a specific

‘intent to restrain trade or to build a monopoly in

order to find that the anti-trust laws have been

violated. It is sufficient that a restraint of trade or

monopoly results as the consequence of a defend-

ant’s conduct or business arrangements. [/d. at

105.]

And the Court continued:

[E]ven if we assume that a specific intent to ac-

complish that [illegal] result is absent, [the defend-

ant] is chargeable in legal contemplation with that

purpose since the end result is the necessary and

direct consequence of what he did. [/d. at 108.]

That the intent of the monopolist does not have to

be predatory is again clearly stated in United States v.

United Shoe Machinery Corp., 110 F. Supp. 295, 345

(D. Mass. 1953), aff'd per curiam, 347 U.S. 521 (1954).

It is only fair to add that the more than 14,000 page

record * * * show that United’s power does not rest

on predatory practices. Probably few monopolies

could produce a record so free from any taint of

that kind of wrongdoing. The violation with which

United is now charged depends not on moral con-

siderations, but on solely economic considerations.

United is denied the right to exercise effective con-

trol of the market by business policies that are not

the inevitable consequences of its capacities or its

natural advantages. That those policies are not im-

moral is irrelevant.*°

10. The same lack of necessity of either specific or predatory

intent is inherent in the Second Circuit holding in United States

v. Aluminum Co. of America, 148 F.2d 416, 431-32 (2d Cir. 1945).

The holding in the instant case is also in conflict with Greyhound

24

The “sound business” aspect of the holding below is

also in direct conflict with the ruling in Hecht v. Pro-

Football, Inc., 570 F.2d 982, 996 (D.C. Cir. 1977),

cert. den., 436 U.S. 956:

* * * [T]he judge told the jury that in considering

whether the restrictive covenant was reasonable they

should “consider whether the provision [was] fairly

related to business considerations that the Redskins

or the Armory Board had to deal with at the time

they entered into the lease.” The court thus implied

that if there existed good business reasons for the

restrictive covenant the jury should not find the

restraint unreasonable. As Hecht points out, how-

ever, it is settled that the “antitrust outcome does

not turn merely on the presence of sound business

reason or motive” and that the “promotion of self-

interest alone does not invoke the rule of reason to

immunize otherwise illegal conduct.” The latter part

of the judge’s instruction was thus misleading and

should have been deleted. [Footnotes omitted]

Concentration of business in the United States is in-

creasing even in the face of the impediments offered by

our antitrust laws. With this increasing concentration

comes an increase in market power. Subtly and un-

obtrusively, American business is becoming less competi-

tive. If our courts judicially sanction all factually ex-

clusionary actions by those having monopoly power

Computer Corp. v. International Busniess Machines Corp., 559 F.2d

488 (9th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1040 (1978), in which

the court held:

It is no answer to the charge to say that these practices are not

“predatory” but “honestly industrial”—that is, of a kind an

ordinary enterprise might utilize with impunity. If the jury

concluded IBM possessed monopoly power in the leasing of

general purpose computers, IBM would be precluded from em-

ploying otherwise lawful practices that unnecessarily excluded

competition from the sub-market. [559 F.2d at 498; footnotes

omitted.]

SE ES — a

25

where there is no showing of a specific, predatory intent,

or where the conduct is explainable as sound business, it

will destroy the effectiveness of Section 2 of the Sherman

Act. Specific intent is essential in a Section 2 Sherman

Act violation where the charge is attempt to monopolize,

but that was not the charge here. The charge here was

the exercise of monopoly power by Southern—one con-

cedely a monopolist and having such monopoly power.

It is clear that the holding in the instant case requiring

a specific, predatory intent as an ingredient of the of-

fense of monopolizing and justifying exclusionary ac

tions by a monopolist on the ground of sound business

judgment is contrary to the holdings of this Court and

of other Courts of Appeals. It is equally clear that the

issue is of great importance to the proper enforcement

of Section 2 of the Sherman Act.

4. The denial of network programs pursuant to a

combination or monopolization as shown here violates

the Sherman Act, the very basis of the Federal

Communications Act, and the public’s right to tele-

vision viewing.

In its Chain Broadcasting Regulations, upheld by this

Court in National Broadcasting Co. v. United States,

319 U.S. 190 (1943), the Federal Communications Com-

mission (“FCC”) undertook to strike at the very type

of arrangement which existed here between NBC and its

Jackson and Hattiesburg affiliates. One of the regula-

tions there involved (now 47 C.F.R. Section 73.658(b)

as adapted to television) provides in pertinent part:

(b) Territorial exclusivity. No license shall be

granted to a television broadcast station having any

contract, arrangement, or understanding, express or

26

implied, with a network organization * * * which

prevents or hinders another broadcast station located

in a different community from broadcasting any

program of the network organization * * *. As

employed in this paragraph, the term “community”

is defined as the community specified in the instru-

ment of authorization as the location of the station.

And the Commission’s Docket 18927 proceeding

(“Raleigh-Durham Proceeding”) 28 F.C.C. 169 (1971)

concerned “possible limitations on the extent to which

television stations may telecast the programs of more

than one of the three national networks.” The FCC’s

Report and Order in that proceeding makes clear that the

FCC regards as contrary to the public interest the bottling

up of network programs in one station as was accom-

plished here by Southern with the aid of both ABC and

NBC.

Thus this case, perhaps for the first time, brings under

antitrust scrutiny problems and practices of networks

and broadcasters condemned as undesirable restraints by

the FCC in its Section 73.658(b) regulation and in its

Docket 18927 proceeding.

A sensitive factor of overriding importance permeating

all of the questions presented here is that of the right of

the Meridian public to a chance to have multi-voiced

television media in that area, free of the exclusionary

acts by the monopolist Southern, or by any restraining

contract, combination or conspiracy in violation of Sec-

tion 1 of the Sherman Act. The right of the public is

superior to any private right of Southern or of the

networks.”

11. In Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 395 U.S. 367, 390

(1969), this Court said: “It is the right of the viewers and listeners,

not the right of the broadcasters, which is paramount.”

27

Respondent Southern was a conceded monopolist, and

ABC, NBC and CBS are clearly oligopolists and quasi-

monopolists. All were businesses affected with a public

interest. At the time petitioner signed on, CBS had a

primary affiliation with Southern, and ABC had made a

first-call commitment to that station. This put NBC in

a monopoly position with respect to first quality prime-

time TV network programs. In that status, and at that

critical, first-impression time, NBC denied all programs

to petitioner, though petitioner was offering to take such

programs without compensation to itself and without

cost to NBC. At the same time, Southern, with assistance

from ABC, exercised its monopoly power to restrict the

availability of network programs to petitioner. The effect

of the acts of NBC, ABC and Southern was to deny

the Meridian area a robust second 1V outlet for enter-

tainment and informative programs.”

The importance of the destructive and cooperative

efforts of the defendants in this case—and of similar

efforts undoubtedly taking place every day between net-

works and individual stations—should be of primary

concern to the public and to this Court. Time and time

again, throughout its opinion, the District Court,’* with

the specific approval of the Court of Appeals (App. E-3),

justified all actions of the networks complained of by

petitioner on the ground that petitioner never achieved

a better viewing audience. What the courts below totally

12. The record also shows that petitioner’s founders had plans

for the operation of new TV stations in five other cities comparable

to Meridian, had petitioner succeeded in the Meridian area. CA App.

1243-44. These plans were stopped in their tracks by the exclusionary,

anticompetitive treatment accorded petitioner. The adverse effect on

the public interest was thus even more far-reaching.

13. E.g., App. A-2, 27-28, 30, 31, 34, 50-51, 58-59.

28

failed to focus on was why the necessary viewing audience

was never achieved—if, indeed, it was not, which as

noted above was a point of contention.

The fact is that in the case of petitioner, as is true

in innumerable situations across the country, the networks

and their affiliates have a death grip on the budding

aspirations of new competitors, and in particular UHF

stations, By withholding all programming, by granting

some programs but not enough, by refusing to pay

AT&T costs, and by a variety of other methods, the

networks in concert with affiliates can prevent the achieve-

ment of a viewing level which in turn has been arbitrarily

set by the networks themselves.

That is what this case is about. It is not enough

to say that petitioner never became viable, or that its

“predicted audience was not worth purchasing.” App.

E-3. Its audience would have been worth purchasing but

for the concerted actions of respondents. In fact, a jury

might have decided that the very criteria established by

the networks for determining viability and “worthwhile-

ness” were arbitrary or illegally arrived at. In any event,

whether the criteria were valid or not, every action

taken by respondents which resulted in petitioner’s failure

to match the criteria should not have been viewed as

necessarily independent, legal and justified.

There is no evidence that the public interest or the

public welfare was an ingredient—even a minor one—

in the consideration of this case by the trial court or by

the Court of Appeals. Sound private business judgment

was the only test. It was as though the lawsuit involved

a few rival merchants dealing in widely available com-

modities.

29

CONCLUSION

It is submitted that the holdings of the Court of Ap-

peals on all issues represented by the foregoing questions

are in conflict with holdings of other Courts of Appeals

and of this Court; that the issues are of substantial im-

portance, and that this Petition should be granted to

consider, review and reverse the decision below.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN COLEMAN DAWSON

36 W. Rivercrest Drive

Houston, Texas 77042

A. A. WHITE

2400 Two Shell Plaza

Houston, Texas 77002

RICHARD E. WILBOURN

P. O. Box 1389

Meridian, Mississippi 39301

RoBBIN R. DAWSON

2500 Two Shell Plaza

Houston, Texas 77002

Counsel for Petitioner

Of Counsel:

E. BARRETT PRETTYMAN, JR.

815 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

APPENDIX A

OPINION OF UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT,

S. D. Mississippi, E. D.

|

A-1

AMERICAN TELEPHONE AND TELEGRAPH

COMPANY, Plaintiff and Counter-Defendant,

V.

DELTA COMMUNICATIONS CORPORATION,

Defendant and Counterclaimant,

Vv.

AMERICAN TELEPHONE AND TELEGRAPH

COMPANY et al.,

Counter-Defendants.

Civ. No. 1564(C).

United States District Court,

S. D. Mississippi, E. D.

February 25, 1976.

* * *

CLARK, Circuit Judge.*

After sifting every bushel of speculative chaff suggested

by the claimant, the court finds not a single grain of

antitrust wheat to sustain the claims asserted. The

thousands of pages of depositions and affidavits presented

and the hundreds upon hundreds of pages of memoranda,

* Judge Charles Clark, United States Court of Appeals for the

Fifth Judicial Circuit, sitting by designation.

A-2

motions, replies, and answers do not show any genuine

issue of fact as to any claim which will support any

antitrust violation. Summary judgment is clearly proper

as to every possible antitrust issue.

The massive proof adduced shows this television broad-

caster’s failure was due to technological limitations and

operational problems encountered in commencing its

business life that were not the fault of any party sued.

The station never had a viewing audience to sell that

was worth more than the networks offered at various

times to pay. The antitrust statutes do not require net-

works to subsidize the entry of a television station into

the broadcast market. Similarly, no antitrust violation

was committed by the carrier of the television signal nor

by the existing local broadcaster either singularly or in

combination with the networks. Enforcement of the

carrier’s authorized tariffs was free from antitrust vio-

lation. The established broadcaster was not shown to have

taken any action in furtherance of its local-area monopoly

and the claims against it based on that status are un-

founded. Alleged Communications Act violations are

dismissed as matters within the primary jurisdiction of

the regulatory agency. In the exercise of its discretion

the court dismisses the pendent state antitrust claims.

American Telephone & Telegraph Company (AT

&T) originally brought this action against Delta Com-

munications Corporation (Delta) to recover 19,524.31

dollars, an alleged indebtedness for television audio and

visual local-channel communications service to Delta’s

television station WHTV-TV in Meridian, Mississippi.’

1. There are three types of services provided by AT&T which

are relevant to this litigation: Interexchange-channel service ( IXC)

or long-lines service connects telephone company central offices in

———— ——————

A-3

Delta denied this liability asserting illegality of the tarifis

covering these particular services. Delta also filed a

counterclaim against AT&T; Columbia Broadcasting Sys-

tem, Inc., later changed to CBS, Inc. (CBS); American

Broadcasting Company, Inc. (ABC); RCA Corporation,

later changed to National Broadcasting Company, Inc.

(NBC); and Southern Television Corporation, WTOK-

TV (Southern), charging these counterdefendants with

anticompetitive practices aimed at the destruction of

Delta specifically and ultrahigh-frequency (UHF) tele-

vision stations generally. This cause is now before this

court on separate motions for summary judgment by the

original plaintiff and each of the counterdefendants.

To reduce the complex matrix of facts, inferences,

and suspicions that complicate this proceeding, the court

waived its local rule so as to allow extended discovery

before requiring each of the parties to file a memorandum

which specified the legal theories and the supporting

facts upon which they would rely in this litigation.’

Delta’s initial and responsive memoranda have failed to

delineate any precise theories supporting its counter-

claim assertions. Instead, it presented numerous general

accusations supported by legal citations which are not

consistently apposite. To give the respondent the benefit of

the doubt in ruling on the pending motions for summary

judgment, this court has constructed the strongest tenable

delineations of antitrust violations which can be combed

from the documents presented. In addition to giving

different exchanges; local channels connect the telephone company

central office with a customers studio transmitter; and station con-

nections cover the service elements associated with connecting a local

channel to an interexchange channel.

2. Poston v. Caraker, 378 F.2d 439 (Sth Cir. 1967) approved

the use of a similar procedure.

A-4

Delta the advantage of structuring for it the best possible

legal theories, this court, as required in summary judg-

ment actions, has resolved every issue of disputed ma-

terial fact in favor of Delta and has drawn every reason-

able inference from those facts in Delta’s favor on each

of the theories constructed. Poller v. CBS, 368 U.S. 464,

82 S.Ct. 486, 7 L.Ed.2d 458 (1962).

The intricate development of this opinion is intended

to provide a judicial blueprint which will detail the basis

for the court’s decision on every portion of the extensive

legal and factual development produced by industrious

counsel on both sides of the multiplex issues in this

difficult cause. The court has expticated the reasons for

rejecting every contention advanced, both to fully inform

the parties of the processes followed and thereby subject

its reasons to their most intimate and arduous testing

for error and to reassure itself of the independent sound-

ness of each disposition individually.

I. FACTS

A. The History of Delta’s WHTV Television Station

The television industry has a peculiar competitive

history. Competition in the industry has been limited both

by regulation of applicants and by the technology of

television broadcasting. Not only must applicants be well

financed, but only a few stations can be allowed to

broadcast in each coverage area. Use of the VHF spec-

trum, which was initially the only band used, has always

been restricted by the Federal Communications Com-

mission (FCC) in every broadcast area. Often in small

municipalities like Meridian only one VHF station will

be allowed. In an effort to promote competition in the

eee

ee «

_ _—_ ~-_ 3 ~~ —~

—

A-5

television industry, the FCC has been more liberal in

licensing UHF television stations. For quite some time,

however, these UHF stations suffered in their competitive

efforts because then existing television receivers had to

be supplementally equipped with a special channel re-

ceiver to enable the set to pick up signals in the UHF

band. In addition, special antennae are often required

for UHF reception. In 1964 Congress passed an act re-

quiring that all new television receivers have the capabil-

ity to pick up UHF signals.’ This legislation directly

led to a flood of applications and to a great influx of new

UHF stations. Thirty-seven of those new Stations, in-

cluding WHTV, however, “went dark” between 1966 and

1972.

Among those who became excited by the increased

development which liberal licensing of UHF television

produced was Weyman Walker. Although he had ex-

tremely limited experience in television broadcasting,

Walker was able to attract significant investors and de-

cided to incorporate and operate a UHF station in one

of three markets. He contracted with a television expert to

survey and report on the Meridian television market.

This report was prepared in the summer or fall of

1966. It ranked Meridian 159th in the national tele-

vision market. The report estimated that any new tele-

vision station going into this market would probably

suffer losses for the first 2 years. It warned of the possi-

bility of no immediate network affiliation and recom-

mended that any entry be based on a limited operating

day.*

3. The All-Channel Receiving Act, 47 U.S.C. §§ 303(s), 330.

4. When the station finally began operating in June of 1968,

it broadcast a full day instead of the suggested limited day; it

A-6

In 1968, at the time Walker and his associates were

considering the development of a UHF television station

in Meridian, Mississippi, the Meridian television market

was monopolized by Southern, a very profitable television

station with the call letters of WTOK. Southern was then

affiliated with CBS, and had been since 1954. Its rate of

payment from the network at that time was 500 dollars

per hour which provided it with income approximating

6,000 dollars per week. In addition, the CBS network

was paying the substantial signal delivery charges of

AT&T in connection with its programming. The physical

monopoly which Southern enjoyed because of the inherent

technical limitations of the television industry was elec-

tronically shared with at least two other VHF television

stations—WDAM in Hattiesburg, Mississippi and WLBT

in Jackson, Mississippi, both NBC affiliates—which en-

croached upon the Meridian market. These stations over-

lapped 24% of the projected Delta market.

August 28, 1967, Walker, as station manager of the

newly-founded corporation, Delta, visited with officials

of ABC to inquire about affiliation with his new tele-

vision station. On that occasion Walker was told “Build

it and we will look at it.” Then too he became aware

of ABC’s policy not to affiliate a television station which

has an average prime-time audience of less than 5,000

viewing households. ABC did not pay a station rate to

stations having an average prime-time audience less than

7,000 nor did they pay program delivery charges for

stations having an average prime-time viewing audience

less than 10,000. The minimum station rate which would

employed more personnel at higher salaries than recommended ; and

it decided, contrary to the report’s suggestion, to engage in ex-

pensive local live programming.

A-7

be paid if this level of viewership could be attained was

100 dollars per hour.

In July of 1967 Delta obtained a construction permit

from the FCC to build television station WHTV in

Meridian. Sometime between August and December of

1967 Delta’s Walker made an offer to ABC to build a

translator facility in Laurel which would increase circula-

tion and also to build a microwave delivery system

which would decrease the cost of transporting ABC’s

television signal. In connection with these promised im-

provements, Walker requested a 100 dollar per-hour

Station rate. Sometime late in 1967 Delta purchased the

site for its Meridian television station and began making

substantial plans for going on the air. On December 6,

1967 ABC granted Delta the right to televise all ABC

programs which were not being shown by Southern.

This offer included neither an agreement to pay a network

rate nor an agreement to pay AT&T delivery charges.

AT&T charges for the delivery of a television signal

comprise a substantial part of the operating expenses for

new television stations. In Delta’s case these charges

amounted to approximately 7,000 dollars per month.

Once a certain average prime-time viewership has been

established an affiliated network will usually absorb these

expenses as part of the compensation to the station

for the service of delivering the network’s programs.

In December of 1967 Delta contacted NBC seeking

to broadcast its programs. No affiliation request was

made at this time as Delta was still attempting to obtain

an ABC affiliation. In fact, all correspondence with NBC

by Delta during this period was on stationery which

indicated by a printed logo that the station had an ABC

affiliation.

A-8

In May of 1968 CBS agreed to allow Delta to use

certain programs which were not “cleared,” i. e., re-

quested for showing by Southern, its Meridian affiliate.

Under this agreement, these CBS programs carried no

payment of a network rate and CBS paid no part of

AT&T charges for delivery of the signal.

In June of 1968 Delta’s WHTV station finally went

on the air. The only network programs it was able to

present were the ABC and CBS programs which South-

ern did not wish to show. In August of 1968 several Delta

officials visited the FCC to discuss the problems they

were having affiliating with one of the national networks.

They were told by Commission personnel that it had no

authority to regulate networks concerning the arrange-

ments they made with various stations.

In September of 1968, coinciding with the beginning

of the new television season, NBC gave Delta the right

to broadcast seven programs. In May of 1969 Delta

was given a first-call affiliation by NBC. This meant that

Delta was given the opportunity to broadcast any NBC

programming it desired. However, this affiliation agree-

ment did not provide for the payment of a network

rate and Delta was required to pay all AT&T charges

incurred for delivery of the programs. As soon as it was

granted the first-call NBC affiliation, Delta cancelled

all of its ABC programming. On July 1, 1969 the NBC

affiliation became effective.

CBS was the first network to offer Delta a fee for

broadcasting its programs. In September of 1969 it

offered Delta a 35 dollar per-hour program rate. In

April of 1970 NBC gave Delta a 50 dollar per-hour

program rate. In August of 1970, Delta’ss WHTV-TV

A-9

station went dark. In January of 1971, a petition in

bankruptcy was filed by Delta. Its facilities and equip-

ment were subsequently sold to a Tupelo television

station.

Simultaneous with negotiations for network affiliation

and for fees, Delta was also involved in dealings with

AT&T concerning the various signal delivery charges

which television stations or the networks must pay.® On

September 20, 1967, AT&T advised Delta that its long-

line charges from Jackson to Meridian (8 hours per-day

minimum) would amount to approximately 4,744.25

dollars per month. On June 4, just prior to Delta’s WHTV

television station going on the air, AT&T revised its

quoted price to 5,524 dollars per month. Delta was

billed 6,839.25 dollars for its first month of 16 con-

secutive hours of service per day. During the time it

was broadcasting with full AT&T services, Delta incurred

monthly AT&T tariff charges of approximately 7,000

dollars.

In an effort to minimize its AT&T signal delivery ex-

pense Delta, in April of 1969, constructed a microwave

transmitter to transfer television signals from Jackson

to Meridian.*° This reduced the AT&T services required

and cut Delta’s cost to approximately 1,800 dollars per

month. At this time Delta was in debt to AT&T for un-

paid signal delivery charges of approximately 67,000

5. See note 1 supra.

6. The microwave transmitter allowed Delta to pick up a net-

work signal in Jackson and beam it to its station in Meridian. This

eliminated the need for AT&T long-lines service. Delta was still

required to pay AT&T charges for local-channel service to transport

the signal from the AT&T switchboard to Delta’s microwave trans-

mitter, both located in Jackson, and station-connection charges.

A-10

dollars. This included charges for long-lines, local-channel

and station-connection services performed prior to the

use of the private microwave.

On October 2, 1969 AT&T filed new tariffs which

increased the station-connection and local-channel service

charges still required to supplement the microwave service,

to approximately 4,000 dollars per month. On February

28, 1970, Delta again changed its operating format to

use a precontrol-room feed of its signal from WLBT-TV,

an NBC affiliate, in Jackson. This service cost Delta

400 dollars per month but avoided all AT&T charges.

The drawback to this arrangement was that Delta was

limited to airing programs carried simultaneously by

WLBT. Delta ceased broadcasting in August of 1970."

AT&T’s original complaint in this cause sought re-

covery for the cumulative charges incurred between Oc-

tober 1969 and April 1970 for station-connection and

local-channel services used subsequent to Delta’s April

1969 employment of the microwave transmitter.

B. Television Industry Economic Organization

Prerequisite to any analysis of antitrust violations in

this industry is an understanding of how this economic

milieu operates.* The television networks essentially serve

7. Central Television, Inc., (the assignee of Delta’s license and

presently the operator of WHTV as a satellite station) stated in

its application to the FCC for Delta’s license that Meridian “is

presently unable to sustain two viable full time television stations.”

Although, the application was signed under penalty of federal law

for false statements by F. Carrington Weems as President of Delta,

Weems denies having read the statement before he signed it. Be-

cause of this denial, the statement is not considered an admission

on Weems’ part for purposes of summary judgment.

8. For a general discussion see Federal Broadcasting System

v. ABC, 167 F.2d 349 (2d Cir. 1948).

EE eee

A-11

the industry as intermediaries that collect, produce, and

distribute. To generate income, networks sell broadcast

time to national advertisers. This time is packaged around

programs produced by the networks which are designed to

attract viewers. To distribute the packaged product to

the consumer of the advertising the networks purchase

from local television stations the service of broadcasting

both the programs and advertisements to persons living

within the station’s range.

The price a network pays a local station for the

service of broadcasting the package of programs and

advertisements is tailored to the size of the audience

which polling estimates that station attracts. In turn,

the network’s sales price to the national advertisers

for airing their advertisements is based upon the total

audience which that network’s affiliated stations and the

independert stations with which it has made agreements

to broadcast the particular package are predicted to

attract. The relevant consideration in fixing both the

price to be charged the advertiser and paid to the local

broadcaster is the size of the audience delivered.°

The networks usually compensate local television sta-

tions through a complicated combination of payments.

If the television station’s audience is substantial, the

network will agree to pay a network rate. This network

9. The importance of predicted audience was known to Delta

at the outset. The report which was commissioned by Walker opened

with the statement that “stations must be judged in terms of cir-

culation provided to the advertiser.” In addition, this same report

warned that the new station’s audience would probably not attract

a network with which to affiliate for the first 12 to 18 months. The

report’s affiliation warning proved accurate: Delta went on the

air in June of 1968 and the NBC affiliation became effective July 1,

1969.

A-12

rate is computed on what is called a per-hour prime-time

basis. For example, during most of the time relevant

to this litigation, Southern was being paid a 500 dollar

per-hour prime-time network rate. That rate meant the

network paid the television station a percentage of that

500 dollars for every prime-time hour of that network’s

shows run by the station. In addition, the station was

compensated a decreasing percentage of that rate for

every television show run during less favorable hour

categories. As an additional element of compensation,

the television networks usually absorb the AT&T de-

livery charges necessary to bring the network signal to

the local television station. The most expensive of these

categories of charges are those for long-line or IXC

services. That the total of these charges ‘could be sub-

stantial, is shown by Delta’s 7,000 dollar per-month bill

from AT&T for its first months of operation.

Network compensation to a successful television sta-

tion, then, involves a combination of payments to the

station of the network rate and absorption of the AT&T

delivery charges. Subtracted from these benefits is an

“affiliation fee” or a “waived hours” provision. This is

charged to the affiliate by the network to partially re-

imburse the network for the expenses incurred in de-

livering these programs to the local television stations.

During most of the time relevant to this litigation, the

monthly CBS “affiliation fee” or “waived hours” pro-

vision was calculated at 205% of its per-hour station

rate, or 1,025 dollars. The sum of these three factors

make up the net compensation paid to television stations.

An overview of the network’s income and payments to

local stations makes it obvious that the amount of the

A-13

station network rate paid to and AT&T delivery charges

absorbed for a television station are a function of the

amount of money that a national advertiser would be will-

ing to pay to the network for the addition to that

network’s total audience of the number of people the local

television station’s broadcast service would add.

ABC’s policy was that unless a television station could

deliver 5,000 average prime-time viewing households,

it would not affiliate. ABC required 7,000 average

prime-time homes before it paid a station rate and

10,000 before it would pay AT&T delivery charges. The

policy of NBC prohibited compensation below the level

of 6,000 prime-time homes. These policies evinced an

economic judgment that unless the network’s respective

6,000 or 7,000 household figure was met, national ad-

vertisers would not be willing to increase their overall

compensation to the networks for the addition of the

television stations.

Since the price paid for the service rendered is de-

termined by the size of the audience, it is apparent that

estimations of the size of that audience are extremely

relevant to any litigation which questions the legality

of the functioning of the industry. ABC’s research to

determine whether it would affiliate with Delta predicted

2,476 homes could be added to the network’s totaf viewer

audience by Delta’s broadcast signal. October 25, 1967

NBC research showed Delta would only add 500 un-

duplicated homes. In November 1968 the American Re-

search Bureau (ARB), an independent audience polling

organization which makes its results known to all sub-

scribers (who may be advertisers, networks, or broad-

casters), estimated that Delta’s WHTV-TV station reached

‘*

A-14

2,200 average prime-time viewing households; in Febru-

ary of 1969 it showed 2,700; in November of 1969

ARB showed less than 1,000; and in February of 1970

it showed 4,000. In April of 1970 Nielsen’s survey, an-

other similarly operated independent group which predicts

television audiences, showed 3,400 average prime-time

viewing households for Delta.

The regular ARB and Nielsen surveys were conducted

by the use of statistical sampling techniques in which a

random sample of the audience accounted for each pro-

gram it viewed in a diary. The telephone coincidental

surveys were conducted by telephone inquiry asking each

person called which program he or she was watching

at the time.’® The industry regarded the telephone coin-

cidental surveys as the less reliable of the two measures

of station audiences.

In addition to the above, two surveys were taken by

ARB at the behest of Delta. These were done by the tele-

phone coincidental survey method. The first showed that

Delta had a 68 percent share of the viewing audience

in Meridian compared with Southern’s 16 percent. After

a complaint by Southern, this survey was rescinded as

having been computed incorrectly and corrected results

were published which showed Southern with 62 percent

of the viewing audience and Delta with only 18 percent.

Since a mistake had been made on this survey, an ad-

ditional telephone coincidental survey was taken by ARB

10. The results of the regular ARB surveys attached as exhibits

to affidavits in this action show the stations’ relative market shares

in terms of an estimate of the average number of television house-

holds viewing each station. The results of the telephone coincidental

surveys attached as exhibits to affidavits filed in this action, however,

show the relative market shares in terms of the average percentage

of television households viewing each station.

A-15

which showed that Delta had a 23 percent share of the

audience and Southern with 64 percent. Both of these

telephone coincidental surveys were done between the

February 1969 and November 1969 regular ARB sur-

veys. During this same period, surveys of the Southern

audience indicated an average of from 29,000 to 35,000

viewing households. Both the use and the validity of these

surveys are particularly relevant to most of the antitrust

violations herein asserted.

In First National Bank v. Cities Service Co., 391 U.S.

253, 279, 88 S.Ct. 1575, 1588, 20 L.Ed.2d 569 (1968)

the Court in the course of discussing the appropriateness

of summary judgment in an antitrust action (a matter

discussed in detail in part II, infra), stated:

Obviously it would not have been evidence of

conspiracy if Cities refused to deal with Waldren

because the price at which he proposed to sell oil

was in excess of that at which oil could be obtained

from others. Therefore, it is only the attractiveness

of petitioner’s offer that makes failure to take it up

suggestive of improper motives. (emphasis added).

In Cities Service the Court held that even the defend-

ants’ failure to conclude the attractive bargain was in-

sufficient standing alone, to withstand a summary judg-

ment motion. In the instant case the bargain is de-

monstrably unattractive. The service of delivering a net-

work’s signal to Delta’s predicted audience was not worth

purchasing. The quoted passage from Cities Service

clearly indicates that no inference of anticompetitive con-

spiracy would be reasonable from the facts here which

show no more than the failure to conclude an unattrac-

tive bargain.

A-16

In the absence of any purpose to create or main-

tain a monopoly, the [sherman] act does not restrict

the long recognized right of trader or manufacturer

engaged in an entirely private business, freely to

exercise his own independent discretion as to parties

with whom he will deal.

United States v. Colgate & Co., 250 U.S. 300, 307, 39

S.Ct. 465, 468, 63 L.Ed. 992 (1918); accord, e. g.,

Weather Wise Co. v. Aeroquip Corp., 468 F.2d 716

(Sth Cir. 1972), cert. denied, 410 U.S. 990, 93 S.Ct.

1505, 36 L.Ed.2d 188 (1973); Bushie v. Stenocord

Corp., 460 F.2d 116 (9th Cir. 1972); Anaya v. Las

Cruces Sun News, 455 F.2d 670 (10th Cir. 1972); Daily

Press, Inc. v. United Press Int'l, 412 F.2d 126 (6th Cir.),

cert. denied, 396 U.S. 990, 90 S.Ct. 480, 24 L.Ed.2d

453 (1969).

II. IS SUMMARY JUDGMENT PROPER

IN THIS TYPE OF ACTION?

[1] Delta places a doctrinaire sort of reliance on

Poller v. CBS, 368 U.S. 464, 82 S.Ct. 486, 7 L.Ed.2d

458 (1962) to support its repeated assertions that sum-

mary judgment may not be granted in any phase of a

complicated antitrust case. Poller will not support such

broad assertions. It decided no more than that summary

judgment is improper where substantial factual evidence

“tended to show the existence of a conspiracy” against

an eliminated competitor notwithstanding the fact that

substantial evidence also tended to show the non-

existence of conspiratorial behavior.** Clearly, summary

judgment has not been discarded as wholly inappropriate

11. First National Bank v. Cities Service Co., 391 U.S. 253, 285,

88 S.Ct. 1575, i591, 20 L.Ed.2d 569 (1968).

A-17

in the field of antitrust law.’? Although summary judg-

ment is an available judicial tool in the antitrust area,

Poller does warn that it should be cautiously used. Poller,

however, is inapplicable to the instant situation because

Delta has failed to respond to motions for summary

judgment against it by supplying “substantial factual evi-

dence tending to show the existence of a conspiracy.””*

The standard to be used in determining the appropri-

ateness of summary judgment in complicated antitrust

cases is defined in First National Bank v. Cities Service

Co., 391 U.S. 253, 88 S.Ct. 1575, 20 L.Ed. 2d 569

(1968). In that case the plaintiff alleged that Cities

Service Company was involved in a conspiracy to boycott

the purchase of his oil. The only fact the plaintiff was able

to show in support of his allegation was the abrupt de-

cision by Cities Service Company to halt negotiations

with him for the purchase of Iranian oil. The court con-

cluded that this one fact, if not met by any contrary

evidence, might well be sufficient to require that the

case be presented to the jury to determine the motives

12. See, e. g., id; Modern Home Inst., Inc. v. Hartford Acc. &

Ind. Co., 513 F.2d 102 (2d Cir. 1975); Scranton Construction Co.,

Inc. v. Litton Industries Leasing Corp., 494 F.2d 778 (Sth Cir.

1974), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 1105, 95 S.Ct. 774, 42 L.Ed.2d 800

(1975); Saenz v. University Interscholastic League, 487 F.2d 1026,

1028 (Sth Cir. 1973); Golden v. Kentile Floors, Inc., 475 F.2d 288,

291 (Sth Cir. 1973); Bushie v. Stenocord Corp., 460 F.2d 116

(9th Cir. 1972); Dahl, Inc. v. Roy Cooper Co., 448 F.2d 17 (9th

Cir. 1971); Jones v. Borden Co., 430 F.2d 568, 574 (Sth Cir. 1970):

A&M Stores, Inc. v. Hyram Walker, Inc., 427 F.2d 167, 168 (Sth

Cir. 1970); "Tripoli Co. v. Wella Corp., 425 F.2d 932 ‘(3d Cir.),

cert. denied, hy U.S. 831, 91 S.Ct. 62, 27 L.Ed.2d (1970); Daily

Press, Inc. United Press Int’l, 412 F.2d 126 (6th Cir.), cert.

denied, 396 US. 990, 90 S.Ct. 480, 24 L.Ed.2d 453 (1969): Mc-

Guire v. CBS, 399 F.2d 902 (9th Cir. 1969).

13. Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c); First Nat. Bank v. Cities Service Co.,

391 U.S. 253, 285, 88 S.Ct. 1575, 1591, 20 L.Ed.2d 569 (1968).

A-18

of Cities Service Company for not dealing with the

plaintiff. But most important to today’s decision, the

court went on to state that the record in the case before

it contained such an overwhelming amount of contrary

evidence as to Cities Service Company motives that sum-

mary judgment was proper.

Not only is the inference that Cities’ failure to

deal was the product of factors other than con-

spiracy at least equal to the inference that it was

ue to conspiracy, thus negating the probative force

of the evidence showing such a failure, but the

former inference is more probable.

Id. at 280, 88 S.Ct. at 1588. In an apparent response to

Poller dicta which required cautious use of summary

judgments in complicated antitrust litigation, the Supreme

Court in Cities Service stated:

While we recognize the importance of preserving

litigants’ rights to a trial on their claims, we are not

prepared to extend those rights to the point of

requiring that anyone who files an antitrust com-

plaint setting forth a valid cause of action be en-

titled to a fulldress trial notwithstanding the absence

of any significant probative evidence tending to

support the complaint.

Id. at 291, 88 S.Ct. at 1593.

[2] Delta alleges almost the same conspiratorial web

as did the plaintiff in Cities Service. The only factual

underpinning to Delta’s major antitrust claim is that

the three major networks refused to deal with it on terms

it considered fair. Absent “substantial factual evidence

tending to show the existence of a conspiracy” Cities

Service teaches that summary judgment is proper when

es

A-19

an inference of nonconspiracy is more probable than the

plaintiff's asserted inference of conspiracy.

[3] Delta shows a variety of dealings with the net-

works which it alleges are tantamount to a refusal to deal.

It requests we make a quantum leap from these “re-

fusals” to the inference of a network conspiracy to re-

strain the development of UHF television stations. Delta’s

claim fails to meet the Cities Service summary judgment

test in that the mass of discovery developed in this case

clearly points to the much more plausible inference that

the network dealings with Delta grew not from any con-

spiratorial plan but from independent business decisions

which concurred in no more than the separate conclu-

sions that Delta was unable to deliver a sufficient tele-

vision audience to make more favorable dealing with

Delta economically sound.

“The Sherman Act is . . . no[t] a panacea for all busi-

ness affronts which seem to fit no where else.” Scranton

Construction v. Litton Industries Leasing Corp., 494

F.2d 778, 783 (Sth Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 419 US.

870, 95 S.Ct. 774, 42 L.Ed.2d 800 (1975). In this

case, Delta, the opponent to motions for summary judg-

ment which were soundly supported by massive factual

development, failed to adduce any substantial facts show-

ing conspiracy and failed to develop facts from which

the most probable inference to be drawn was conspiracy.

Under Cities Service, summary judgment should be

granted.

Il. FEDERAL ANTITRUST CLAIMS

Delta’s antitrust assertions cover a broad spectrum of

separate antitrust allegations. Often various claims are

A-20

lumped together accompanied by the assertion that a

particular antitrust “label” is not significant. But it is.

The antitrust laws are designed to prevent specific types

of actions which Congress and the courts have found to

be anticompetitive. Notwithstanding this defect in pre-

sentation, we have examined the general claims as though

they were particularized. Delta has failed to show any

material facts which will support a specific antitrust vio-

lation.

Delta’s claims, read in the light most favorable to it,

assert the following antitrust violations: (A) conspira-

cies in restraint of trade in violation of the Sherman Act

§ 1; (B) actions which are per se violations of § 1;

(C) acts of monopolization or attempts to monopolize

in violation of the Sherman Act § 2; and (D) violations

of the Clayton Act and Robinson-Patman Act.

A. Claims of Conspiracy Under Sherman Act § 1

Delta alleges two major conspiracies which unreason-

ably restrained its entrance into the television market:

(1) NBC, CBS, ABC, AT&T, and Southern all con-

spired to prevent it and other UHF stations from receiv-

ing fair remuneration from the television networks for

its service of delivering their signal, and (2) NBC,

CBS, ABC and AT&T conspired to establish, maintain and

apply AT&T tariffs for the delivery of network signals

which discriminated against Delta and other UHF sta-

tions.

1. Market Entry Conspiracy

[4] Delta claims that ABC, CBS, and NBC, along

with AT&T and Southern’s television station WTOK in

Meridian, conspired to restrict the entry of Delta into

A-21

the Meridian market and to restrict the entry of UHF

stations generally into the television market throughout

the nation in violation of § 1 of the Sherman Act.’* Delta

claims the major networks’ motivation for this conspiracy

is twofold: first, should UHF stations be allowed to de-

velop, the end result would be the creation of an in-

dependent television network which would be in direct

competition with the existing major networks; second,

the development of such stations would eventuate in

UHF stations which would compete with the five broad-

casting stations each major network is allowed to own by

FCC regulations. The motive claimed for AT&T’s par-

ticipation is the ease of dealing with only three major

networks as compared to more networks or additional

numbers of independent television stations. The motive

assigned for Southern is that the failure of Delta would

preserve its monoply in the Meridian market.’® Delta

asserts that the following conclusory facts show the ex-

istence of a conspiracy by the three major networks.

Each is said to have denied Delta a) the right to broad-

cast their programs’® and b) a true affiliation agreement;

and, each network refused c) to pay AT&T delivery

14. Delta relies on Associated Press v. United States, 326 U‘S.

1, 65 S.Ct. 1416, 89 L.Ed. 2013 (1945), in making this claim.

In Associated Press there was no question as to the existence of

the agreement or conspiracy. This, of course, is where Delta’s reliance

misses the mark. Delta is unable to show any conspiracy in the

instant case.

15. Delta’s monopolization claim against Southern is more fully

discussed in Section III (C)(3) of the opinion, infra.

16. The FCC has subsequently dealt with the problem of new

stations not receiving network programs in markets where all net-

works afe not affiliated with local stations. The new FCC require-

ments make it much easier for a new station to receive network

programming. 47 CFR § 73.658.

A-22

charges and d) to pay Delta an adequate rate for the

services rendered.

The prerequisites for a violation of § 1 of the Sherman

Antitrust Act are twofold: First, there must be a con-

spiracy, i.e., an agreement between at least two parties.’”

Second, the conspiracy must unreasonably restrain trade.’*

Delta has failed to prove both prerequisites. It does not

point to a single fact to show the existence of a con-

spiracy between the networks.’ In effect, the numerous

pleadings presented by Delta admit there is no direct

evidence of conspiracy. Lacking direct evidence, Delta

must rely on circumstantial proof of the existence of such

a conspiracy. For this proof to be sufficient it must show

that the activities of the networks were consciously

parallel. Conscious parallelism, however, has not read

conspiracy out of the Sherman Act.” Therefore, Delta

not only must show that the networks’ actions were con-

sciously parallel, but also that they were contrary to the

17. See, e. g., Interstate Circuit, Inc. v. United States, 306 U.S.

208, 59 S.Ct. 467, 83 L.Ed. 610 (1939); Six Twenty-nine Produc-

tions, Inc. v. Rollins Telecasting, Inc., 365 F.2d 478, 484 (Sth Cir.

1966).

18. Standard Oil Co. v. United States, 221 U.S. 1, 31 S.Ct. 502,

55 L.Ed. 619 (1911).

19. All of the major participants in the Delta venture (Walker,

Weems, Ackerman, Britton, Japhet, C. Jones, Weiner, Sharp, Speir,

Wilbourn) when deposed were unable to point to a single fact

probative of conspiratorial activity on the part of the plaintiff and

counterdefendants.

20. Theater Enterprises, Inc. v. Paramount Film Distributing

Corp., 346 U.S. 537, 74 S.Ct. 257, 98 L.Ed. 273 (1954); accord

Joseph E. Seagram & Sons, Inc. v. Hawaiian Oke and Liquors Ltd.,

416 F.2d 71, 85 (9th Cir. 1969), cert. denied, 396 U.S. 1062, 90

S.Ct. 752, 24 L.Ed.2d 755 (1970).

a ee eS ae TORE ee, OP ee

ee ere

A-23

economic self-interest of the networks.”* Since each of

the major networks dealt differently with Delta, no direct

or circumstantial evidence is shown from which parallel

actions can be inferred.

The first approach NBC received from Delta was as a

station, indicating affiliation with ABC, seeking programs

that might be used to fill in or round out its schedule.

The station went on the air in July of 1968 and in Sep-

tember of 1968 when the new fall season began NBC

offered seven programs to Delta. In December of 1968

Delta initiated an active quest for an NBC first-call af-

filiation.”” In May of 1969 that affiliation was awarded

effective in July of 1969. The delay was due to the giving

of a required 28-day notice to Southern. In March of

1970 NBC helped arrange a precontrol-room feed from

an NBC affiliate in Jackson which saved Delta approxi-

mately 3,500 dollars a month in AT&T tariffs. In April

of 1970 NBC paid Delta a 50-dollar-per-hour program

rate even though Delta was unable to meet NBC’s policy

of not offering any station rate until the station could pro-

duce 6,000 average prime-time homes (the normal rate

for 6,000 homes was 100 dollars). In addition, there was

21. Theater Enterprises, Inc. v. Paramount Film Distributing

Corp., 346 U.S. 537, 74 S.Ct. 257, 98 L.Ed. 273 (1954); ALB

Theater Corp. v. Lowe’s, Inc., 355 F.2d 495, 500 (7th Cir. 1966);

Delaware Valley Marine Supply Co. v. American Tobacco Co., 297

F.2d 199, 203 (3d Cir. 1961), cert. denied, 369 U.S. 839, 82 S.Ct.

867, 7 L.Ed.2d 843 (1962); Adilgram v. Lowe’s Inc., 192 F.2d 579,

583 (3d Cir. 1951), cert. denied, 343 U.S. 929, 72 S.Ct. 762, 96

L.Ed. 1339 (1952).

22. A letter from Calvin Jones, the new station manager of

Delta, dated January 2, 1969, to the vice president of station-

relations of NBC, admitted that even this late, Delta’s “operating

policy in Meridian is weighted in behalf of ABC.”

A-24

no “waived hours” deduction provision in the 50-dollar

fee paid by NBC.**

ABC on December 6, 1967, made available to Delta

all of the ABC programs which were not being used by

Southern. This policy was continued on a no-pay no-

delivery-charge basis throughout Delta’s career.

CBS’s first-call contract with Southern had been in

existence since 1954. Late in 1967 Delta requested CBS

to allow the telecast of all CBS programs which were not

being used by Southern. This request was promptly grant-

ed and CBS offered to allow Delta to pick up the signal

from the Meridian AT&T switchboard which would have

saved Delta the AT&T long-lines delivery charges. The

reason why Delta chose not to accept this offer does not

appear in the proof developed. Early in 1969 CBS offered

a 35-dollar-per-week network rate to Delta.

[5] From these recitals of uncontroverted fact it can

be seen that the networks did not treat Delta in any fa-

shion even remotely resembling conscious parallelism.

Delta claims, however, that since none of the networks

ever paid delivery charges for the delivery of the pro-

grams and since none of the networks ever offered an

“adequate” network rate, there was to that extent parallel

action. In addition, Delta claims that these same parallel

acts were endured by all UHF stations and that they re-

sulted in the failure of Delta and the 36 other UHF sta-

tions which have gone dark between the years of 1966

23. A letter from one of the Delta principals to NBC in April

of 1970 stated: “If WHTV survives in Merdian . . . it will be due

in large part to the faith and assistance provided by NBC... .”

This is noted, not for the accuracy of the compliment, but to demon-

strate the uncontradicted attitude of Delta’s then management toward

one network’s activity now alleged to be conspiratorial.

A-25

through 1972.** This assertion by Delta, however,

completely misconceives the point of the conscious

parallelism test in a circumstantial evidence case. It

is not enough for a plaintiff to show conclusory

parallelisms which are indicative of the harm suffered, it

is necessary to allege specific parallelism probative of

conspiracy or joint action.** The record developed here

after voluminous discovery belies conspiratorial or joint

activity. Each of the networks contracted with Delta for

different amounts of programs at different times. Al-

though only two were willing to pay a network fee, each

of them reached their decisions at different times and paid

different amounts. Only one network ever awarded a

first-call affiliation.

Judged by the standard applicable to summary judg-

ments,”* it is clear that Delta has failed to show any ma-

terial facts from which a jury could conclude that there

was conscious parallelism in the activities of the major

networks, and therefore could infer there was a network

conspiracy.

The court’s conclusion does not fail to consider Delta’s

questions, such as: Why was NBC’s original program

grant limited to only seven programs? Why did NBC wait

until September of 1968 to allow NBC programs to be

broadcast by Delta? These questions are typical and are

24. In 1969 CBS had 190 television station affiliates; of those,

26 were UHF. In 1970 ABC’s UHF affiliates composed 20 percent

of the total affiliates; by 1974 that percentage had risen to 27.

In 1974 NBC had 43 UHF affiliates. Total UHF stations operating

in 1974 were 195.

25. See, e. g., Theater Enterprises, Inc. v. Paramount Film Dis-

tributing Corp., 346 U.S. 537, 74 S.Ct. 257, 98 L.Ed. 273 (1954).

26. See Section IT of this opinion, supra.

A-26

expressed only to demonstrate that they are irrelevant.

The facts suggest a host of different justifications. Indeed

the detailed proof of independent and normal operating

policies, which indicate completely innocent and non-

conspiratorial activity, obliterates the inference of unlaw-

ful action Delta suggests. In the face of this sort of fac-

tual record, these tenuous insinuations will not substitute

for proof that a conspiracy existed between the networks

to hinder Delta in particular or UHF stations in general.

Even if some genuine issue of fact exisied as to

parallel activity, the record is insufficient to resist a

motion for summary judgment on the claim of a § 1

Sherman Act violation. The uncontradicted proof shows

that the actions of the major networks at all times were

taken in response to sound economic considerations. To

show conspiracy in a circumstantial evidence case, Delta

must demonstrate not only parallel activity, but that

the actions were in apparent contradiction to the net-

works’ economic self-interest.*” To prevail on its claim

of a § 1 Sherman Act violation, Delta must additionally

show that these actions, in furtherance of the conspiracy,

were an unreasonable restraint on trade."

In the case sub judice, these showings include the

weighing of the same considerations and, therefore, will

be discussed together. The relevant “actions” are the

networks’ decisions to deny an “adequate” network rate

and to refuse to absorb the cost for the delivery of the

television signals to the stations or, in other words, the

networks’ decisions not to pay or not to pay enough

27. See note 21, supra.

28. Standard Oil Co. v. United States, 221 U.S. 1, 31 S.Ct. 502,

55 L.Ed. 619 (1911).

~——

a ae

oo ~

— ON ey ee ee ey ee

eee

SS eee

A-27

for the service which they were purchasing from Delta.

Any network decision not to pay what Delta’s services

were worth would have been contrary to the networks’

self-interest. The uncontradicted proof is that the service

was not worth buying for a price higher than that paid.*"

As discussed above, the worth of a television stations’

service to a network is determined by the size of the

audience which the station is able to deliver. The nature

of the industry is such that the measurement of this

audience is never capable of exactness. It is always esti-

mated on the basis of surveys and predictions. At no

time did any of the research which regularly formed the

basis for network action show that the Delta audience

met, or might in the near future reasonably meet, the

minimum network requirements for affiliation.*® The

29. In the final instance, Delta relies on an analogy drawn from

Milgram v. Lowe’s, Inc., 192 F.2d 579 (3d Cir. 1951), cert. denied,

343 US. 929, 72 S.Ct. 762, 96 L.Ed. 1339 (1952), in an attempt

to show that it is alleging sufficient parallel action to withstand

summary judgment. But, in that very case, after holding that an

antitrust violation existed, the court required that “the distributor

. . . give plaintiff an equal opportunity with the operators of con-

ventional theaters to bid for pictures on first run.” The court went

on to say that the reason that parallel activity in Lowe’s could

be the basis for a finding of a conspiracy to restrain trade was that

here we add that each distributor refuses to license features on

first run to a drive-in even if the higher rental is offered. Each

distributor has thus acted in apparent contradiction to his own

self-interest. This strengthens considerably the inference of con-

spiracy....

Id, at 583 (emphasis added). The roles of the purchaser and seller

in Lowe’s are reversed from the case presented by Delta, but the

lesson is the same. An inference of conspiracy or anticompetitive

activity neither arises from a refusal to sell a product or service

for less than it is worth nor from a refusal to buy a product or

service for more than it is worth.

30. Delta alleges that the second coincidental survey performed

during the summer or fall of 1969 by ARB showed 6,000 average

A-28

most telling fact is found in the total lack of contradic-

tion to statements by two network officers who swore

that no surveys, either independent or network-conducted,

ever showed Delta broadcast to an average prime-time

audience large enough to attract any additional revenue

from national advertisers for the addition of Delta to a

network. Since the research showed that the service Delta

was attempting to sell was not worth buying, the only

possible way to make out a §1 violation would be

a) to show that the measurements used were invalid, or

b) to show that the standards used by the networks for

determining compensation were unreasonable.

Delta repeatedly asserts that if ABC or NBC had

used a more reasonable assumption to calculate the

number of viewer television sets capable of receiving a

UHF signal (a percentage designated as the UHF con-

version figure) and had accounted for the cable television

audience, the 6 or 7 thousand figure required would have

been reached as early as June of 1968 when the station

first signed on. The mass of discovery evidence presented,

however, fails to suggest that any facts exist to support

these assertions. To receive a UHF signal, a television

must have the appropriate tuning apparatus and often

must have a special antenna. Delta claims that the con-

version factor used in the research to determine its audi-

ence was too low; however, the census reports for 1970

and the expert report prepared by the station prior to

prime-time viewing homes. As discussed in Section I(B) of this

opinion, supra, telephone coincidental surveys were treated by the

industry as less reliable than regular surveys. No regular independent

survey showed Delta over ABC’s 7,000 or NBC’s 6,000 average

prime-time viewing homes minimum level for station compensation.

A-29

its operation show that the figures used were reasonable.”

This summary judgment decision does not rest in anywise

upon resolution of this apparent factual issue. Rather,

Delta has presented no facts which show the UHF con-

version figure used was incorrect. More importantly,

Delta has failed to show any facts which would raise

an inference, if the UHF conversion figures were in-

correct, that the error resulted from any network’s con-

spiratorial act to purposefully restrain trade.

The record does not disclose any facts which would

prove that the networks acted wrongly in refusing to

include cable television audience statistics in determining

Delta’s potential audience. A network’s direct interest in

a broadcast station’s capability is in increasing the total

of homes which can view that network’s program and

advertising package if the station broadcasts its signal.

Adding the cable homes which would receive Delta’s

signal, if those homes were already receiving the relevant

network’s signal via another station through the cable,

would not add viewers to the overall audience of the

network. For this reason it was reasonable or at least

not unreasonable to refuse to include them in the compu-

tations.

The final and telling consideration is that Delta has

failed to point to a single fact which would allow a

reasonable inference that the networks have purposefully

31. In the research conducted by the networks, UHF conversion

figures in the neighborhood of 30-40 percent were used. The report

commissioned by Walker before the Delta venture was begun esti-

mated a conversion figure of 30-35 percent. The 1970 United States

Census reports show, depending on the market definition used, the

UHF conversion percentage of total television homes to be between

27.8 and 35.3.

A-30

misdirected their research so as to restrain trade by un-

reasonably barring the entry of Delta or UHF stations

into the television industry. There was a reasonable cor-

relation between the private network research and the

independent survey research which, absent any indication

of conspiracy between the networks and the ARB and

Nielsen survey organizations, buttresses the conclusion

the networks did not conspire in relying on the research

of these independents as well as on their own private

surveys in predicting Delta’s capability.

Delta claims that the 6 or 7 thousand household-

viewers figure used by the networks was an improper

standard upon which to base payment to television sta-

tions. The station claims that the use of this standard

restrains trade by preventing Delta and other UHF sta-

tions from receiving network revenue. Delta points to

the statements of two network personnel as supporting the

conclusion that the networks acted in apparent contra-

diction to their self-interest and unreasonably by not pay-

ing more for Delta’s service regardless of the circulation

figure. Delta’s assertions, however, completely miscon-

strue the import of each of these individual statements.

Both men clearly indicate that they consider it not to be

economically profitable to pay for Delta’s service, but

that the station’s future potential is such that it might

develop a profitable audience. The statements indicate no

more than that it might be advantageous to the network

in the future to subsidize the station at the present time.

In fact, one even said that if it were up to him, he would

make the decision in favor of subsidy. It would be un-

fair to leave this issue without noting the network

spokesmen’s statements that Delta’s circulation was so

poor that its addition to any network system would not

ee

A-31

produce a single additional dollar in income to the

network from national advertisers is undisputed. Clearly,

any station rate or payment of delivery fees by a network

to Delta, based on the then known survey figures, would

have been a gift. The Sherman Act does not command

gratuitous compensation. Even though CBS and NBC

both later made independent business decisions to award

a station rate to Delta before the available research

indicated that it would be profitable, a decision to make

such a contribution in hopes of long term profitable

return is a speculative risk within the business judgment

of the individual networks and not one compelled by

the antitrust laws. Any support for Delta from this

action would have to be culled from a sort of they-should-

have-speculated-sooner approach which will not suffice

to prevent summary disposition.

Delta is unable to show that it could present any

material fact which would allow an inference that the

networks purposefully mismeasured Delta’s audience or

that the networks improperly set their compensation

standards. To the contrary, the proof is clear that Delta

was unable to reach present, broadly applied standards.

The hard but unequivocal facts reveal their service was

not worth buying and this was the reason that the net-

works did not buy it.** That action is not in apparent

32. There are considerations aside from audience level which

enter into any independent business decision regarding affiliation.

Affiliation carries certain costs including constant communications

between the station and network—visits by network representatives,

regular monitoring and analysis of the station promotional assistance

and, when justified by the station’s audience, the station’s hourly

rate. In addition, a poorly run station also reflects badly upon the

network since the network’s logo is prominently displayed both by

the station and in promotional campaigns. We note this not to sug-

gest that such considerations were applied to Delta but to say that

adherence to a minimum threshold for affiliation is business justified.

j

{

A-32

contradiction of economic self-interest nor is it an un-

reasonable restraint of trade.

~~ Delta has failed to show it could produce any facts

probative of conspiracy; it has been unable to make a

circumstantial showing of conspiracy in that it can neither

show conscious parallelism nor actions in apparent con-

tradiction of economic self-interest. It has also not been

| able to show an unreasonable restraint of trade. Summary

/ judgment is proper in favor of the defendant networks

as to the § 1 Sherman Act claim alleged.

CBS is able to take advantage of an additional defense

relative to this antitrust allegation. When Delta came on

the scene in June of 1968, CBS was affiliated with

Southern and had been so associated continuously since

1954. When requested by Delta to allow it to broadcast

programs not being broadcast by Southern, CBS im-

mediately complied with the request. CBS was also the

first network to pay Delta a station rate for the broadcast

of its programs. It is altogether unreasonable to assert

that the actions of CBS toward Delta were unfair. The

legal first-call affiliation agreement** between CBS and

Southern fully justifies the extent of its activity. In

Paramount Film Distributing Corp. v. Applebaum, 217

F.2d 101 (Sth Cir. 1954), the court ordered a party

dismissed from an antitrust action when that party was

prevented from dealing more fully with the plaintiff be-

cause of a pre-existing valid affiliation agreement with

another company. CBS’ situation in this case is identical

to the dismissed party’s in Applebaum; therefore, for

this additional reason, summary judgment is proper as

33. See Federal Broadcasting System, Inc. v. ABC, 167 F.2d

349 (2d Cir. 1948).

er Ae Nene ase

A-33

to CBS.** In addition, because of the existing agreement

with Southern, Delta never requested affiliation with

CBS.

Delta claims the network’s motive for this conspiracy

was to forestall the development of UHF stations in

general so a) they could not become viable competitors

to the five stations directly owned by each of the three

major networks, and b) they could not form a fourth

major network which would be in direct competition

with the current networks. These alleged motives are

completely unreasonable. The only plausible inference

to be drawn from the undisputed facts is that the net-

works were motivated in their dealings with Delta solely

by their interest in purchasing a distribution service for

their programs and advertisements. In Delta’s case the

offered audience was so small that the networks con-

cluded no national advertiser would pay them for its

addition to the system.

In the first place, only two of the 37 UHF stations

which went dark were in any markets which were in

competition with the directly owned stations of the

networks, and those two were successor stations in the

same city. Success by Delta or the other UHF stations

would not have provided any competition to these

stations. Additionally, many of the unsuccessful UHF

stations were in communities which previously had only

one or two television outlets. While a second or a third

station in such markets would provide an outlet for one

or both of the existing networks not then being shown, it

34. The only allegation against the networks which CBS might

not escape under Applebaum is the allegation that CBS and the other

networks did not pay Delta an adequate station rate.

A-34

is altogether implausible that this situation could precipi-

tate the formation of a fourth major network. Both

asserted motives for the alleged refusal by the networks

to deal fairly with Delta and other UHF stations are

less believable than is the motivating factor of sound

business judgment which resulted in each network offer-

ing no more to Delta for its service of distributing pro-

grams than that service was worth. Clearly, § 1 of the

Sherman Act has not been shown to have been breached.

Delta claims that Southern was an actor in the alleged

conspiracy in that: 1) it influenced the ARB surveys

to show a lower than accurate reflection of Delta’s view-

ing audience; 2) it conspired with WDAM in Hattiesburg

and WLBT in Jackson to keep NBC from affiliating

with Delta; 3) it increased its scheduled ABC programs

to prevent Delta’s access to those programs; and 4) it

had knowledge of, and acquiesced in, the conspiracy

above.

Each of the first three substantive assertions is further

discussed in Section III(C) (3) of this opinion. However,

in addition to Delta’s failure to allege material facts to

support any of them, summary judgment is proper here

because none of these asserted elements in any way

supports a conspiracy between the networks and Southern

to harm either Delta or UHF stations generally. Each

assertion constitutes no more than an independent action

or act in concert with other stations. No allegation of

concerted action involving the defendant networks is

presented. There is no need to examine claim (4)—

that WTOK acquiesced in this conspiracy**—in light

35. See United States v. Crescent Amusement Co., 323 US. 173,

65 S.Ct. 254, 89 L.Ed. 160 (1944).

et ree rete 2

A-35

of the conclusion that Delta is unable to show that there

exists an illegal conspiracy in which to acquiesce.

Delta claims that AT&T took part in this conspiracy

by: 1) giving automated answers to inquiries regarding

tariffs; 2) misquoting tariff amounts prior to the operation

of the station; 3) refusing to intercede with the networks

to arrange network payments of tariffs or with the

FCC to provide some relief from the tariffs; and 4) by

refusing ETV service** when it was requested.

AT&T is bound by law to charge and collect the

fee fixed by the tariffs for its services,*7 so to the extent

that its responses to tariff inquiries are properly classed

as wooden, they had to be. No facts are claimed to exist

which would support any claim of intentional misdirection

regarding the misquoted tariffs. As a regulated carrier

in interstate commerce, AT&T had to negotiate neither

with the networks nor with the FCC because Delta was

unhappy with the tariff which the law required AT&T

to charge.

There appears to be a factual dispute regarding the

refusal of the ETV service. If it was material, it would

36. ETV service is a type of television signal transporting servi

provided by AT&T. It originally was only available to ocnetional

television stations but is now more broadly used. Its major advantage

is that it is less expensive than regular service. Its major drawbacks

are that no switching from one network to another is available

AT&T does not monitor the signal to ensure there are no problems,

and there is no auxiliary power source available in case of power

failure. Most commercial stations, because of these disadvantages

opt for regular television signal transportation service.

37. AT&T v. Florida-Tex. Freight, Inc., 357 F.Su

(S.D. Fla.), af’d, 485 F.2d 1390 (Sth Cir. 1973); sen tM

Anonima Venezolana de Nevegacion v. A. J. Perez Export Co., 303

F.2d 692, 696 n. 12 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 371 US. 942. 83 SCt

321, 9 L.Ed.2d 276 (1962); United States v. Associated Air Trans.

port, Inc. 275 F.2d 827, 832-33 (5th Cir. 1960).

A-36

prevent summary judgment. Delta claims it was denied

ETV service; AT&T claims that no request for it was

made. However, as with the other three claims asserted

against AT&T, whether ETV service was denied is

immaterial. Each of these claims alleges only independent

wrongdoing on the part of AT&T toward Delta. These

wrongs do not tend to establish a conspiracy with the net-

works to hinder market entry by Delta or UHF stations

in general.

AT&T’s asserted motive for involvement in this con-

spiracy is to preserve the ease of dealing with only

three network customers and to avoid the “burden” of

dealing with numerous independent stations. This in-

ferred motive would be logically inconsistent with the

motive Delta assigns to the networks’ “conspiracy”—

to prevent the development of a fourth major network.

Preventing the development of a viable fourth network

would cost AT&T substantial income from additional

traffic. Any conceivable greater ease in dealing with

only three as opposed to four networks would be an

insubstantial deterrent to receipt of such a benefit. Even

if Delta should not be held to consistency in the various

motives it implies, and assuming successful UHF stations

would be absorbed by the existing networks, no motive

either reasonable or unreasonable to suppress UHF

development would exist because increased UHF broad-

casting would simply increase AT&T income. If the

assumption is made that new stations would remain

independent, there would then be an additional burden

on AT&T in dealing with such independent stations.

However, the inference that this burden, offset by its

accompanying increase in income, would motivate in-

volvement in a conspiracy to restrain the entry of Delta

SAA Oe ee nc a et cn lay Rican

A-37

and UHF stations into the television market approaches

being ridiculous. After all, AT&T exists to do business,

not to avoid doing it. In sum, Delta has not asserted

a single reasonable * sive for AT&T’s involvement in

its suggested conspiracy.

Delta also asserts that AT&T had knowledge of the

networks’ conspiracy and acquiesced in it.** This claim

must also fail. There are no facts to support the existence

of an illegal conspiracy nor facts to support any motive

for AT&T’s acquiescence in such a conspiracy.

2. Tariff Conspiracy

[6] Delta makes an additional broad conspiratorial

allegation. It claims that the networks and AT&T in

furtherance of an illegal conspiracy, established and/or

applied a tariff structure which operated to restrain the

entry of Delta and other UHF television stations into

the television market. Delta points to two aspects of the

tariff structure which operated unfairly against it and

other UHF stations.

First, Delta objects to the way in which AT&T applies

the requirement of the tariff that charges be based upon

the lowest possible combination of air mileage between

all points to which a customer orders service. The tariff

characterizes the difference in charges to networks and

indiviuual stations as multi-point vs. dual-point charges.*®

The operation of this system is most easily understood

through the use of the following illustration:

38. See United States v. Crescent Amusement Co., 323 U.S. 173,

65 S.Ct. 254, 89 L.Ed. 160 (1944).

39. See AT&T tariffs Nos. 155 and 160.

A-38

100 miles

— oe =

C,

a

A network purchaser from AT&T would normally order

the same signal delivered to many different points. If it

should order service from Point A to Point B, a distance

of 100 miles, the applicable increment of its overall

charge will be based upon the tariff’s per mile rate times

100. If the network were to add the same service to Point

C which falls exactly on this line of shortest air mileage

between Point A and Point B, there would be no addi-

tional long-line service cost to the network because the

total mileage ordered by the same customer would remain

at 100 miles. If the network were to add to its order

service at Point D instead of Point C the shortest air line

service distance between Points A, B and D will be 120

miles. The incremental increase, therefore, for ordering the

service extended to Point D will be calculated on only

the 20 mile difference. On the other hand, if an inde-

pendent station located at Point D should place an order

for delivery of the same network's signal from Point A

to Point D, it would be billed for the tariff rate times

A-39

60 miles, even though the network might still be paying

AT&T for delivery of service between Points A and B.

Under this application of the tariff AT&T calculates

the tariff charge for taking the signal from the point

ordered to the point of delivery on a customer by cus-

tomer basis. This is a wholly reasonable, if not the only

practicable, method of application. The fact that Delta

and other single service customers could achieve a savings

if calculations of their costs could include the service

rendered to another customer fails to demonstrate con-

spiratorial activity.

Delta’s second tariff allegation charges discrimination

in the creation, continuation, and application of occa-

sional-use vs. regular-use tariff rates. The FCC has pre-

viously determined that this portion of the tariff structure

which authorizes charges at one rate per hour, per mile

for monthly service (8 or more consecutive hours per

day, per month) and a much higher rate per mile, per

hour for occasional service (anything less than 8 con-

secutive hours per day) can operate in a discriminatory

manner. Hughes’ Sports Network, Inc. v. AT&T, 25

FCC 2d 550 (1970). Delta asserts that AT&T's rate

structure forced it to pay for regular-use monthly service

(which would entitle it to use 15-16 hours per day),

which it could not fully use, because the fee for that

service was less than occasional-use service for the 7 non-

consecutive hours per day it actually needed. The result

was, Delta asserts, that it had to pay for 2 hours of

AT&T service for every one which it actually used. In

addition, Delta contends that it would not have used as

many hours of long-lines service if it had not been forced

by the rate structure to pay for the service on the monthly

A-40

service basis. Although this tariff structure has been held

illegal as applied to a part-time network user, the Com-

mission has never declared the tariff unfair as it affected

an individual broadcaster such as Delta. Nevertheless,

for purposes of assessing this antitrust allegation the court

assumes the tariff structures discriminate against Delta

in the manner alleged.

Delta’s antitrust claim here, as elsewhere, is not specific.

In an effort to construct the case most strongly in Delta’s

favor, we construe it to have alleged four tariff-related

activities in furtherance of an overall conspiracy to re-

strain the development of UHF television.

i. Conspiracy to establish tariffs.

Delta contends that the three major networks and

AT&T conspired to establish these tariff structures to pre-

vent the development of UHF television stations, The

motives alleged for this conspiratorial behavior are those

discussed and discounted above.*’ A meticulous review

of the entire bulk of discovery reveals not a single fact

which directly supports an inference of such a conspiracy.

Instead, Delta is forced once again to rely on no more

than its assertion of conscious parallelism between the

networks and AT&T and on actions in apparent contra-

diction of the economic self-interest of all conspirators."

Three things show this reliance is misplaced.

First, the mere existence of the tariff cannot be said to

indicate parallelism. The applicable TV tariff structure,

which included both of these alleged discriminatory items,

was established in 1948 before UHF television was a

40. See section III(A)(1), supra.

41. See note 21, supra.

a eR lt ee KS tk te a hae OT a te wc

A-41

practical reality and long before Delta was conceived.*”

Moreover, both of these structural elements were present

in other AT&T communications tariffs created before

1948.*° Chronologically, the tariff could not have been

42. Ever since the television tariff structure was established, the

FCC has continually been involved in its investigation and examina-

tion. The tariffs became effective May 1, 1948. The FCC proceeding

which originally examined these tariffs was docket No, 8963. That

proceeding remained before the FCC until May 18, 1960 when the

FCC finally terminated its investigation. The FCC adopted a policy

of continuing surveillance and said that “in the event the future

developments make it desirable to investigate specific matters now

encompassed herein” the FCC would “institute new proceedings

regarding such matters.” Hughes Sports Network, Inc. v. AT&T, 25

FCC2d 560 (1970). Hughes Sports Network was an active partici-

pant in docket No. 8963 and the issue of discrimination in the

occasional-use vs. regular-use tariff structure was before the FCC in

that proceeding. While docket No. 8963 was before the FCC, a

study commission was appointed by it to report on television net-

works. This report, the Barrow report, was begun in 1955 and

concluded in 1957. Proceedings in docket No, 12782 were instituted

in 1957 after the filing of the Barrow report. An additional study

group was formed to report on television networks during this pro-

ceeding leading to the filing of the Bryant report on July 2, 1965

(an interim report was filed in 1960). Hughes filed its action assailing

the tariff structure June 3, 1965. The Hearing Examiner and the

FCC Review Board’s affirmance ruled that the occasional-use vs.

regular-use provisions of the tariff discriminated against Hughes.

Hughes Sports Network, Inc. v. AT&T, 25 FCC2d 550, 560 (1970).

The full FCC reversed and remanded, but only on the previous

holding that Hughes was not entitled to damages. 34 FCC2d at 691.

This issue was appealed to the Second Circuit, Cause No. 73-1216,

but prior to briefing agreement was reached between AT&T and

Hughes which disposed of the matter. This kind of open, continual,

active examination of the tariff structure argues forcefully against

pr Aen ad that conspiratorial activity marked the establishment

of the tariffs.

43. AT&T's private line tariffs which cover telephone, telegraph,

data transmisgions, document reproduction, and other communication

services, all include the dual-point vs. multi-point “dilemma.” AT&T

asserts that it provides approximately 137,000 interexchange (long-

lines) services to about 8,000 customers—approximately 9,000 of

these services to about 1,400 customers involve multi-point service.

Multi-point service to ABC, CBS and NBC constitute less than

A-42

established as part of a conspiracy to restrain the develop-

ment of an industry which did not exist at the time the

tariff was created. Delta is unable to point to any fact

indicating parallel activity in the tariff’s establishment.

Second, Delta has been unable to show any facts which

would indicate these tariffs were established contrary to

the economic self-interest of the networks.** In fact,

Delta’s claim is just the opposite—it asserts that the

established tariffs operate disproportionately to the bene-

fit of the economic interests of the networks.

Third, Delta is unable to show any direct facts point-

ing to conspiracy.

This circumstantial evidence attempt fails because Delta

is unable to show either conscious parallelism or actions

contrary to economic self-interest. Such lack of proof to

oppose the well-supported motions for summary judgment

leaves Delta’s attempt to support its assertions of con-

spiracy far short of the mark.

ii. Conspiracy to maintain tariffs.

Delta also contends that AT&T’s failure to change the

tariff once UHF television became a viable industry was

an action, or more appropriately an inaction, in further-

ance of its conspiracy with the networks to restrain the

development of UHF television. Once again Delta com-

pletely failed to show a single fact indicative of con-

10% of the various private line services that AT&T provides to all

of its customers. These provisions (multi-point vs. dual-point) have

been involved in private line service tariffs since at least 1934.

44. E. g., Milgram v. Lowe’s, Inc., 192 F.2d 579 (3d Cir. 1951),

cert. denied, 343 U.S. 929, 72 S.Ct. 762, 96 L.Ed. 1339 (1952).

A-43

spiracy. In addition, the only parallel activity*® demon-

Strated is that neither the networks nor AT&T sought to

change the tariff structure. The conclusion that this in-

action alone will not support an inference that a con-

spiracy existed between AT&T and the networks is

bolstered by the lack of any showing that Delta or any

other broadcaster instituted proceedings to have the FCC

relieve them from the tariff structure. Finally, we note

that Delta does not even assert that such inaction con-

tradicted any economic self-interest of any alleged con-

spirator.*° The asserted motives for this conspiracy have

been completely discussed and discounted above.‘

iii. Noer-Pennington

[7, 8] Delta claims the networks actively supported the

existence of this tariff structure during various proceed-

ings before the FCC.** Delta asserts that this activity

was in furtherance of the conspiracy to restrain the

development of UHF television. Insofar as Delta’s allega-

tions seek to base recovery on the networks’ efforts to

continue the existing tariff structure or even to gain from

the FCC a structure they considered more beneficial, they

are not well taken. The right to petition administrative

agencies for favorable action is outside the perimeter of

activity proscribed by antitrust laws. United Mine Workers

v. Pennington, 381 U.S. 657, 85 S.Ct. 1585, 14 L.Ed.2d

626 (1965); Eastern Railroad Presidents Conference v.

45. E. g., Milgram v. Lowe’s Inc., 192 F.2d 579 (3d Cir. 1951),

cert. denied, 343 U.S. 929, 72 S.Ct. 762, 96 L.Ed. 1339 (1952).

46. E. g., id.

47. See section III(A) (1) of the opinion, supra.

48. See note 42, supra, for a discussion of the FCC proceedings

which examined television tariffs.

A-44

Noer Motor Freight, Inc., 365 U.S. 127, 81 S.Ct. 523,

5 L.Ed.2d 464 (1965).

Reading this claim most favorably to Delta, it ap-

parently asserts that the networks appeared before and

urged the FCC to continue or to adopt tariffs which favored

the networks to the detriment of Delta. The fact that

such actions were taken by all of the networks does not

subject the activity to antitrust scrutiny. Clearly each

individual network would have had the right to petition

the administrative agency for action which it hoped

would be favorable to its interest. In view of the common

self-interest shared by the networks in the tariff provisions,

it would render the right meaningless if the fact that all

of the networks rather than only one sought to exercise

the right of petition should cause the protected activity

to lose its shelter.

The alleged supportive activity before the FCC is im-

mune from antitrust scrutiny.

iv. Application of the Tariffs

[9] Delta finally claims that AT&T furthered the

conspiracy by the manner in which it applied these

tariffs. This alleged action is also beyond the scope of

antitrust examination. The statutory scheme which gov-

erns communications common carriers requires the tariffs

to be filed with the FCC and notice to be given which

allows time for objection. 47 U.S.C. §§ 201-09. Fol-

lowing this procedure and absent any decision by the

FCC to the contrary, the tariffs have the effect of law;

AT&T is required by law to collect these tariffs once

they become effective.“* To hold that the application of

49. AT&T v. Florida-Tex. Freight, Inc., 357 F.Supp. 977, 979

(S.D. Fla.), afd, 485 © 2d 1390 (Sth Cir. 1973); accord, Compania

-_

A-45

these tariffs is violative of the antitrust laws, absent

any factually supportable allegation that they were il-

legally established, would be to hold that federal law

proscribes that very action which it prescribes. Therefore,

this court holds that AT&T is immune from an antitrust

violation which depends upon AT&T actions in charging

and attempting to collect tariffs approved by the FCC.”

v. Summary

In essence these claims amount to no more than

extrapolations of the same allegation—ihat AT&T and the

networks conspired to establish, keep, and apply tariffs

which Delta claims operated to hamper its entry into

the television industry. The problem for the assertion is

that Delta is unable to demonstrate any fact which would

suggest a conspiracy to establish or continue these tariffs

except for proving that the tariff existed. This does not

constitute a sufficient opposition to the motions for

summary judgment.’ In addition, the networks are

immune from antitrust scrutiny for their efforts before

the Commission to continue or to adopt new tariffs which

are favorable to their interests. Finally, AT&T is immune

from any allegation that its application of these tariffs,

Anonima Venezolana de Navegacion v. A. J. Perez Export Co., 303

F.2d 692, 696 n. 12 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 371 U.S. 942, 83 S.Ct.

321, 9 L.Ed.2d 276 (1962); United States v. Associated Air Trans-

port, Inc., 275 F.2d 827, 832-33 (Sth Cir. 1960).

50. Lamb Enterprises, Inc. v. Toledo Blade Co., 461 F.2d 506,

513 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 1001, 93 S.Ct. 325, 34 L.Ed.2d

262 (1972); see Gordon v. New York Stock Exchange, Inc., 422

US. 659, 95 S.Ct. 2598, 45 L.Ed.2d 463 (1975); United States v.

National Association of Securities Dealers, Inc., 422 U.S. 694, 95

S.Ct. 2427, 45 L.Ed.2d 486 (1975); cf. Jeffrey v. Southwestern Bell,

518 F.2d 1129, 1133 (Sth Cir. 1975).

51. First National Bank v. Cities Service Co., 392 U.S. 253, 88

S.Ct. 1575, 20 L.Ed.2d 569 (1968).

A-46

alone, can be proscribed by the antitrust laws. Therefore,

summary judgment as to this allegation is proper.

[10] Were this court to have found some evidence

of conspiracy sufficient to prevent a grant of summary

judgment, however, this issue would still not be ripe for

trial. The resolution of the factual controversy regarding

whether the criticized elements of the tariff structure

actually harmed Delta would then be at the center of such

litigation. Carter v. AT&T, 365 F.2d 486 (Sth Cir.

1966), cert. denied, 385 U.S. 1008, 87 S.Ct. 714, 17

L.Ed.2d 546 (1967) firmly establishes that “all questions

relating to the justness, reasonableness, validity and effect”

of tariffs are more properly within the primary jurisdic-

tion of the FCC. 365 F.2d at 492.

Delta claims that it does not question the lawfulness

of the tariffs, but only questions their application as part

of a conspiracy to restrain trade. Acknowledgement of

this argument would subvert both Carter and this court’s

pretrial orders’ excluding issues as to the validity of

52. In the order of February 11, 1972, this court ruled:

This issue came on to be heard on various motions filed by

certain of the counter-defendants herein, and at the outset of the

hearing, the Court raised on its own motion the question of

the necessity of referring this case to the Federal Communications

Commasion (FCC) under the doctrine of primary jurisdiction,

as enunciated in the case of Carter v. AT&T (C.A. 5, Tex.),

365 F.2d 486 (1966).

This issue had previously been raised by a motion filed by

counter-defendant American Telephone and Telegraph Company

(AT&T) to the original Counterclaim filed herein by Delta

Communications Corporation (Delta). Said Counterclaim was

thereafter amended, and at a hearing held in this cause on

Jan 14, 1972, counsel for Delta advised the Court that the

A Counterclaim raised no issue as to the validity of

AT&T's interstate tariffs on file with the FCC, but raised issues

only as to the application of said tariffs.

The Court therefore treated the present hearing as an informal

pretrial conference and discussed sai) question with counsel for

A-47

tariffs in this law suit. Carter dealt with this very same

approach and rejected it.’ Delta is foreclosed from this

Delta and AT&T. Counsel for Delta again advised the Court

that the Amended Counterclaim does not raise any issue as to

the validity of said tariffs but that it does raise issues as to their

applications.

The Court therefore finds and adjudicates that it has been

conclusively established that there is no issue involved in this

case concerning the validity of said tariffs and that there is,

therefore, no necessity for referring this case at this time to

the FCC for preliminary determination of the validity of said

tariffs, in accordance with the decision in Carter v. AT&T.

The Court further finds that it has jurisdiction to try the

issues raised by the pleadings herein. (Emphasis added).

This order of February 11, 1972, was reconfirmed by this court’s

orders of May 30, 1972, and March 1, 1973. Thus, in its order of

March 1, 1973, this court ruled in paragraph 2(c):

c. Without modifying or limiting any prior Orders of this

Court, interrogation at such depositions concerning any claim or

allegation of Delta Communications Corporation as to the tariffs

of American Telephone and Telegraph Company shall be limited

to the subject matter of any misapplication of such tariffs or

application of them in a discriminatory manner.

53. The best illustration is to accept momentarily the concession

of appellants that the tariff is authoritatively held to be valid

administratively for regulatory purposes, to which they add, but

not valid for antitrust purposes. We can recognize, of course,

that in this some time weird antitrust world, in which antitrust

policies appear to have an overpowering influence in the running

clash between supposedly coordinate executive agencies or de-

partments of the same government, cf. California v. FPC, 1962,

369 U.S. 482, 82 S.Ct. 901, 8 L.Ed.2d 54, it is possible for the

Courts to hold finally that this result could occur. But that

choice ought not to be made, the occasion for facing such a

possibility ought not to be forced until it is inescapably neces-

sary. The very difficulties inherent in that prospect demonstrate

that. . . . If, as the law clearly permits, the monopolistic and

antitrust implications of the practices compelled by the tariff

were among the factors considered and evaluated by the FCC,

a Court would be hard put in either contriving or thereafter

verbalizing a concept which, in a sort of now-you-see-it, now-

you-don’t sleight of hand, would allow the tariff to be valid and

yet invalid at one and the same time.

Carter v. AT&T, 365 F.2d 486, 495-96 (Sth Cir. 1966), cert. denied,

385 U.S. 1008, 87 S.Ct. 714, 17 L.Ed.2d 546 (1967).

A-48

argument for an additional reason. Delta must be alleging

either (1) that it was harmed by AT&T’s establishment

or maintenance of an illegal tariff in conspiracy with

others or (2) that it was harmed by AT&T’s application

of this particular tariff structure. As discussed in (iv)

above, AT&T is required to apply these tariffs by law;

therefore, they are immune from antitrust scrutiny for a

claim alleging no more than that AT&T applied the

tariffs it was required to appiy.

If, on the other hand, Delta is alleging that AT&T

was involved in a conspiracy to establish or maintain

illegal tariffs—an antitrust claim for which AT&T might

not be immune—the FCC imprimatur of validity and

legality lies upon the tariffs which are at the heart of the

antitrust issue.”

Delta would avoid the doctrine of primary jurisdiction

by claiming that one of the elements of the alleged

anticompetive tariff, occasional-use v. regular-use, already

has been held both unreasonable and discriminatory in

Hughes Sports Network. As is more fully discussed in

Section IV(B) of this opinion, Delta reads Hughes Sports

Network much too broadly. That case only decided that

this tariff structure was unreasonable and discriminatory

as it applied to Hughes. There are significant factual dif-

ferences between Hughes’ use of the tariffs and Delta’s.

It is quite possible that the FCC would determine that the

tariff is also unreasonable and discriminatory to Delta;

it is at least equally possible that the FCC might hold

otherwise. In addition, no antitrust claims were presented

in Hughes Sports Network.

54. Id. at 494.

A-49

If the court be in error in concluding that Delta has

been unable to show any material facts indicating the

existence of a conspiracy, thus making summary judg-

ment improper, this court would dismiss this particular

antitrust claim because the FCC has not been given an

opportunity to determine whether these tariffs were

either unreasonable as to or discriminated against Delta.

B. Per Se Violations of Sherman Act §1

There are certain agreements or practices which

because of their pernicious effect on competition

and lack of any redeeming virtue are conclusively

presumed to be unreasonable and therefore illegal

without elaborate inquiry as to the precise harm they

have caused or the business excuse for their use.

Northern Pacific Ry. v. United States, 356 U.S. 1, 5,

78 S.Ct. 514, 518, 2 L.Ed.2d 545 (1958).

Delta alleges the following per se violations of § 1

of the Sherman Act: (1) the networks were involved

in a group boycott, (2) each individual network engaged

in an Otter Tail boycott," (3) the networks and AT&T

enforced a tying arrangement, (4) the networks, South-

ern, and two other broadcasters divided the Meridian

broadcast market and (5) the networks and Southern

were guilty of price fixing.

1. Group Boycott

Delta claims that the facts discussed in section III(A)

of this opinion are sufficient to allow the jury to con-

clude that the networks were involved in a group boycott

55. Otter Tail Power Co. v. United States, 410 U.S. 366, 93

S.Ct. 1022, 35 L.Ed.2d 359 (1973).

A-50

or a concerted refusal to deal which is a per se violation

of § 1 of the Sherman Act.** The essence of the allegation

is that the networks did not deal with Delta in terms

Delta considered fair. The extensive discussion above

has demonstrated no facts were suggested that could make

even the minimal showing required to substantiate the

existence of concerted action on the part of the networks.

Such concerted action, however, may be inferred from

similar action when a per se violation is claimed. Here,

though, the proof shows without conflict that the separate

actions of the networks were not similar, but different.

Each of the networks dealt with Delta and each dealt

with it differently. This lack of sameness prohibits any

inference of concerted action. Delta concedes this but

asserts that since no network ever paid an adequate

station rate to it and none ever paid the AT&T delivery

charge for the programs, these refusals were so eco-

nomically destructive that they were tantamount to a

common refusal to deal. In addition, Delta contends

the common refusals authorize an inference of concert.

[11-13] Without deciding whether a concerted refusal-

to-deal can ever be found to be a per se violation when the

refusal claimed is a refusal to buy, such a per se violation

does not exist unless the product or service which is the

subject of the refusal to buy can affirmatively be shown

to be worth buying. This is especially so when, as here,

the refusal to deal is defined by the plaintiff as a refusal

56. See, e. g., United States v. General Motors Corp., 384 US.

127, 86 S.Ct. 1321, 16 L.Ed.2d 415 (1966); Klor’s v. Broadway-

Hale Stores, 359 U.S. 207, 79 S.Ct. 705, 3 L.Ed.2d 741 (1959);

Theater Enterprises, Inc. v. Paramount Film Distriduting Corp.,

346 U.S. 537, 74 S.Ct. 257, 98 L.Ed. 273 (1954); Nelson Radio

and Supply Co. v. Motorola, Inc., 290 F.2d 911 (Sth Cir. 1952);

cert. denied, 345 U.S. 925, 73 S.Ct. 783, 97 L.Ed. 1356 (1953).

ate

A-51

to buy at an “adequate” price. Where the concert

asserted is predicated on a failure to buy a service worth

money for a moneysworth price, the plaintiff has the

burden of demonstrating that his product has some value

above the price paid or offered. In the case at bar the

undisputed material facts show that the service Delta

was attempting to sell was not worth buying. Irrespective

of whether reasonableness under the “rule of reason”

should be considered when examining a claimed per se

violation or whether a refusal to deal violation is in-

herently limited to refusal-to-sell situations, a refusal to

buy a product for more than it is worth simply cannot be

a violation of the antitrust laws.

2. Otter Tail Boycott

[14, 15] Delta cites Otter Tail Power Co. v. United

States, 410 U.S. 366, 93 S.Ct. 1022, 35 L.Ed.2d 359

(1973), as creating a new § 1 per se violation category—

individual refusal to deal.*' Delta claims that Otter Tail

allows the finding of a per se violation even though there

be no finding of concert. Otter Tail cannot be read to

reach such a proposition. Otter Tail Power Company

monopolized 91% of the relevant market. The domineer-

ing activities of a monopolist have always been subject

to special antitrust scrutiny. None of the networks is a

monopoly.” A refusal to deal by any of them individually

would not be a per se violation of § 1. Even if it is as-

sumed that the per se category of violations will be

expanded to cover asserted individual refusals to deal,

57. See Stanton, The Demise of Traditional Antitrust Law Con-

cepts, 44 Miss. L. J. 582 (1973).

58. See section III(C)(2) of this opinion, infra.

A-52

no such refusals were involved in this case. The absence

of Otter Tail facts make that decision inapposite.

3. Tying Arrangements

[16] Delta claims that the payment of tariff charges

by the networks for their affiliated stations results in an

illegal tying arrangement which is a per se violation of

§ 1 of the Sherman Act. The classic tying arrangement

involves a seller in a dominant market position relative

to one product, A, requiring the purchaser to buy an

additional product, B, in order to be permitted to

purchase A.°*

The tie alleged by Delta is one by a network in which

a station broadcasting a network program also receives

payment by the network of the tariffs incurred in the

delivery of that program. Delta claims this tie results

in a greater expense to networks when they affiliate with

stations and, therefore, a disincentive to affiliate which

directly harms Delta. It also asserts that the tariffs would

not be discriminatory against individual stations if all

individual stations were required to pay them.

This tying arrangement allegation almost defies con-

ventional analysis. The one alleged to have created the

59. In Northern Pac. Ry. Co. v. United States, 356 U.S. 1, 78

S.Ct. 514, 2 L.Ed.2d 545 (1953), the Supreme Court defined a

tying arrangement as: “an agreement by a party to sell one

product but only on the condition that the buyer also purchases

a different (or tied) product. . . .” 356 U.S. at 5, 78 S.Ct. at 518.

Sulmeyer v. Coca Cola Co., 515 F.2d 835, 844 (Sth Cir. 1975),

cert. denied, US. , 96 S.Ct. 1148, 47 L.Ed.2d 341 (1976);

accord, Fortner Enterprizes, Inc. v. United States Steel Corp., 394

US. 495, 89 S.Ct. 1252, 22 L.Ed.2d 495 (1968); Driskill v. Dallas

Cowboys Football Club, 498 F.2d 321 (Sth Cir. 1974); Coniglio v.

Highwood Services, Inc., 495 F.2d 1286, 1289 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,

419 U.S. 1022, 95 S.Ct. 498, 42 L.Ed.2d 296, 43 U.S.L.W. 3295

(U.S. Nev. 19, 1974).

A-53

tie is not the party possessing market dominance. The

alleged tied product is one sold by a third party. Delta

confuses the roles of buyer and seller in this particular

broadcast transaction.

The only pathway to resolution of the issue lies in the

same distillation of the economics of the television indus-

try as explained above.®’ In capsule, the network pur-

chases service from local television statious—the service

of distributing programs and advertisements to the sta-

tion’s audience. The price paid for the service is negoti-

ated between the networks and the station with the

primary determinant being the size of the station’s audi-

ence. The price is usually a combination of two elements:

(1) direct payment to stations, gauged by the size of the

station’s audience; and (2) fixed payments to AT&T to

cover the cost of delivering the programs to the stations.

Delta’s assertion must then be viewed in this light: the

networks, which are purchasing a service, have tied to

their purchases an additional obligation on their part to

pay to a third party a related cost. The “tied-in” payment

is for a necessity to the purchase transaction—the trans-

portation of the signal to be broadcast frem its source

to the station selling the broadcast service. If this can

be called tying at all, it ties the purchase of a service from

a station to the gift of a related service that otherwise

would have to be bought by the seller to make the sale

effective. This sort of purchase has never been held to

be an antitrust violation, and it seems doubtful such has

ever before been alleged. In any event, this is not a tying

arrangement which is a per se violation of § 1 of the

Sherman Act.”

60. See section I(B) of this opinion, supra.

61. In Sulmeyer v. Coca Cola Co., 515 F.2d 835 (Sth Cir. 1975),

cert. denied, US. , 96 S.Ct. 1148, 47 L.Ed.2d 341 (1976),

A-54

Delta has moderated its initial claim in this regard

to urge that while not a classical tie, the arrangement is

analogous to one and, therefore, should be considered a

violation of Sherman § 1. Generally, Delta is saying that

the entire economic scheme of the industry is designed to

create a barrier to entry. This argument breaks down into

two points: (1) that the networks should have paid Del-

ta’s AT&T delivery charges, and (2) that those charges

were unfair as to independent stations. In section III(A)

(1) of this opinion (refusal to deal conspiracy) the first

specific is discussed and in section III(A)(2) of the

opinion tariff conspiracy) the second is discussed—this

court held that neither violates § 1 of the Sherman Act.

Not all barriers to market entry are violative of the anti-

trust laws. Even considered in the best perspective for

Delta, these are not.

4. Division of Markets.

[17] Delta claims that Southern and stations WDAM

in Hattiesburg, and WLBT in Jackson horizontally di-

vided the relevant market and that this division resulted

in the exclusion of Delta.*? The product involved is tele-

vision advertising time. The relevant market which was

allegedly divided, though never clearly defined by Delta,

the court was faced with a somewhat similar situation. Competing

soft drink bottlers alleged that Coca Cola was tying the sale of a

new product to the provision of an advertising campaign for that

product. In holding that this did mot allege a tying violation the

court stated:

Coca Cola Company advertising purchases actually defrayed

business expenses that the bottler might otherwise have incurred

to effectively market Sprite in his area of operations.

Id. at 845.

62. See United States v. Addyston Pipe & Steel Co., 175 US.

211, 241-42, 20 S.Ct. 96, 107, 44 L.Ed. 146 (1899).

A-55

could only have been an area comprising 24% of the

Meridian market. This 24% is situated where the signals

of the broadcasters overlap. It is the only area in which

the stations alleged to be dividing the market techno-

logically could compete.”

There are two basic types of advertising time sold by

television stations: time sold to the networks which, in

turn, has been sold to advertisers, and time directly sold

to advertisers by the station. This claim cannot involve

a division of the Meridian market as to time directly

sold to advertisers. Furthermore no party could “divide

the market” as to time sold to networks which the net-

works have sold to firms who have made common pur-

chases from all three networks. The allegation must be

limited to a division of the market of advertising time

sold to networks which have sold it to advertisers who

buy time on only one network. In all other advertising

markets there is no division of territory because there will

be competition among either the stations or the networks

for that advertiser’s purchases of time for broadcasting

into the overlap area.

Delta has presented no probative evidence that this

narrow Classification of advertisers even exists, and if it

does, whether its significance justifies antitrust examina-

tion. No reliance, however, is placed on this absence of

proof in granting summary judgment. Rather, it is predi-

63. Several years ago WDAM in Hattiesburg made a conscious

decision to compete in the overlapped territory by increasing its

signal to the maximum allowed by the FCC. During Delta’s existence

WLBT aided Delta by allowing it to use a precontrol-room feed to

acquire NBC programs being shown by WLBT, thus bypassing

AT&T local channel service charges. Neither WDAM’s purposeful

competition, nor certainly WLBT’s aid, indicate predatory division

of territory.

wee

cated upon undisputed facts which show that there has

been no division of the market. Delta alleges that South-

ern, WDAM and WLBT agreed that Southern would sell

its national network advertising time (i.e. time on net-

work programs) only to ABC and CBS but not to NBC;

that WDAM< agreed it would broadcast only CBS and

NBC advertising time and not ABC; that WLBT agreed

only to broadcast national advertising time of NBC and

ABC but not CBS. Even if this is true, it can be seen

that Southern competes with WDAM as to CBS sales

and with WLBT as to ABC sales. WLBT and WDAM

compete as to NBC sales. In addition, it is an undisputed

fact that Southern actually sold time to NBC, which

means that there was competition among all three stations

for NBC time. No division of the market has occurred

here.

Delta also claims a vertical division of the markets

occurred, alleging the exact facts above. The undisputed

facts show that no division occurred. More significantly,

however, Delta does not claim or offer support in fact

to indicate that any division of markets had its source

in the networks. A prerequisite to the existence of a

vertical division of this market is that the source of the

division be the networks. Since this is not asserted or

shown, summary judgment is proper.

In addition, Delta has failed to allege how either

market division actually harmed it. Delta contends the

market was divided so as to eliminate it from broadcasting

network advertising and eventually raising its audience

to receive remuneration for that service. But the only

alleged division did not operate in that manner. Delta

was able to broadcast programs of ABC and CBS im-

mediately after going on the air and shortly thereafter

A-57

it was authorized to broadcast NBC programs. Less than

one year after it began operations, it received a first-call

NBC affiliation. Therefore, the alleged division did not

keep Delta from receiving network programming.

If Delta meant to assert its harm was that it received

unfairly low remuneration for the broadcast of the net-

work programs and advertisement, that result in no logical

manner could be the outgrowth of the alleged division.

The division was of areas for network advertising and

program distribution, not of funds received for their

broadcasting.

Delta is unable to demonstrate any genuine issue exists

because its response failed to develop or suggest facts

which would show any division of the markets or any

harm suffered were that division to exist.

5. Price Fixing

[18] Delta asserts that the networks fixed the prices

which were paid to Southern by paying only a single

common station rate. This price fixing is alleged to have

reduced competition for Southern’s broadcast of network

programs. Had there been competition, Delta asserts that

the prices paid to Southern by the networks vying for its

broadcast signal would have climbed until one of the

networks was priced out. The claim goes that the out-

priced network would have then turned to Delta for

broadcast of its signal. On this theory, it is alleged that

a per se violation of § 1 of the Sherman Act has taken

place.

64. See United States v. Socony-Vacuum Oil Co., 310 U.S. 150,

60 S.Ct. 811, 84 L.Ed. 1129 (1940).

A-58

Delta does not allege that there was a lack of com-

petition for Southern’s services prior to the signing of

Southern to an affiliation agreement. Rather it contends

that after the affiliation agreement had been negotiated,

the other two networks fell into line and offered to pay

the same station rate for the broadcast of their respective

programs that competitive forces had caused to be ne-

gotiated with the affiliated network. The station manager

of Southern admitted that this practice had been followed

by the networks relative to its station.

[19] A seller has a right to establish a price for his

product or service and require that all purchasers pay that

price.*° The only reasonable assumption this record indi-

cates is that Southern, the seller here, decided upon an

affiliation based upon both the compensation and the

quality of the programs offered; and that, once affiliated,

Southern exercised its pricing ri

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.