Petition — California Tahoe Regional Planning Agency v. Jennings

Supreme Court brief1979

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Ht Fy LED

4 wh &

IN THE Ne :

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED-STATES””'\ ’

CCTOBER TERM 1979

No. 9-15

CALIFORNIA TAHOE REGIONAL PLANNING

AGENCY, a Political Subdivision of the State of

California, PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF

CALIFORNIA, LEAGUE TO SAVE LAKE

TAHOE, and SIERRA CLUB,

74)

Petitioners,

Vv.

TED JENNINGS, OLIVER KAHLE, HARVEY'S

WAGON WHEEL, INC., and COUNTY OF

ee gia a Political Subdivision of the State of

evada

1

Respondents.

4

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH

CIRCUIT

E. ROBERT WRIGHT

Office of the Attorney General

555 Capitol Mall, Suite 350

Sacramento, California 95814

Telephone: (916) 445-3323

Attorney for Petitioners

GEORGE DEUKMEJIAN, California Tahoe Regional

Attorney General of the Planning Agency, and People of

State of California the State of California

ROBERT HARVEY CONNETT

and E. CLEMENT SHUTE, JR., LAURENS H. SILVER

Assistant Attorneys SIERRA CLUB LEGAL DEFENSE FUND, INC.

General, Of Counsel 311 California Street, Suite 311

San Francisco, California 94104

Telephone: (415) 398-1411

Attorney for Petitioners

League to Save Lake Tahoe,

and Sierra Club

Bupreme Court, U.S

—"

¥

}

;

ee ce eee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

OPINIONS BELOW ceisscssssssssscseseesecsscascsesscesssccccsssessssvosssessscessess

FU TIBI Re BERIIN sescccsssesressrsvsssonssecsnssosecsvseqscssesscssasssconseossssosesescessess

QUESTIONS PRESENTED. .......:cssssssssssossssssessssscssensereneesesees

STATUTES INVOLVED ossssscssssssssssessessssessseseensesssscsseneeneeees

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...isssssesssesssseecssesesseseessneees

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT... ccccesseseseseenees

Il.

Ill.

IV.

THE COURT OF APPEAL’S DECISION POSES

CRITICAL ISSUES CONCERNING OBLIGA-

TIONS BETWEEN STATES ARISING BOTH

FROM INTERSTATE COMPACT AND FEDERAL

COMMON LAW iscsssssscsoscossssssscesscssssesesssssssessesorssonssesooecs

BY FAILING TO REVIEW THE ABSENCE AND

ADEQUACY OF THE “FINDINGS” MADE BY

THE APPROVING AUTHORITY, THE COURT OF

APPEAL’S DECISION RELEGATES CRITICAL

ISSUES TO POTENTIALLY CONFLICTING IN-

TERPRETATIONS BY DIFFERENT STATES,

AND IGNORES THE PRINCIPLES WHICH SUG-

GEST REQUIRING REASONED FINDINGS TO

SUSTAIN ADJUDICATORY DECISIONS UNDER

INTERSTATE REGULATIONS.......ccccsssessesesseseseees

A. Interpretation of the TRPA Compact and Ordi-

B. Applicable Federal Principles...

THE COURT OF APPEALS ERRED IN HOLDING

THAT THIS FEDERAL ACTION IS BARRED BY

THE NEVADA 25-DAY STATUTE OF LIMITA-

THE COURT OF APPEALS ERRED IN HOLDING

THAT BECAUSE THE ALLEGED NUISANCE IS

ANTICIPATORY AND WAS APPROVED PURSU-

ANT TO COMPACT, A STATE’S FEDERAL COM-

MON LAW NUISANCE CLAIM MAY BE

DISMISSED ON THE PLEADING. .......ccccesssesseseens

CONCLUSION screcossscessecsssccssscscsesencscesscecscsessssesevecsscensssvesssesesecesses

a nee tne

l

12

15

21

32

ii

APPENDICES wnccscscssssssssssesssssosscsecsssscsssecessecncsnssssesessssscesesancanseosees

APPENDIX A (Court of Appeals Opinion) ........00000

APPENDIX B (Order Denying Rehearing)................

APPENDIX C (District Court Opinion) «00s

APPENDIX D (Tahoe Regional Planning Compact)

APPENDIX E (Tahoe Regional Planning Land Use

CPAMANOS) cricsrccrecsssscsesesviirsesooesccesvcccsesveeee

APPENDIX F (Douglas County Approvals) ..........00

APPENDIX G (Nevada Procedural Statutes) ..............

APPENDIX H (Seventh Circuit Opinion) ........0.000008

a AT ee —

ene.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES iii

CASES

Page

American Pipe and Construction Co. v. Utah, 414 U.S. 538 (1974) 26

Ashland Oil, Inc. v. Phillips Petroleum Company, 554 F 2d 381 (10th

Cir. 1975), cert , 434 US. 921 26

Burlington Truck Lines v. U.S. 371 U.S. 156 (1962) =.

0

25

22

Burnett v. New York Central R. Co., 380 U.S. 424 (1965)...

Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41 (1957)

ki v. The Hoegh Silvercloud, 351 U.S. 525 (1956)...

Dunlop v. Bachowski, 421 U.S. 560 (1975)

Dyer v. Sims, 341 U.S. 22 (1951) 14, 16, 17, 25, 26, 31

Eastlake Community Council v. Roanoke Assoc., Inc., 513 P.2d 3%

(Wash. 1973) 26

Florida v. United States, 282 U.S. 194 (1931) 22

Georgia v. Tennessee Copper Co., 206 U.S. 200 (1907) ........ enteittleetin 31

Gulf States Utilities Co. v. FPC, 411 U.S. 747 (1973) sssssssssssseose 19

Hinderlider v. La Plata Co., W4 U.S. 92 (1938) 14, 31

Holmberg v. Armbrecht, 327 U.S. 392 (1946) 26

Illinois v. City of Milwaukee, _. F 24 _. (No. 77-2246, April 26,

1979) 14, 27

Illinois v. City of Milwaukee, 406 U.S. 91 (1972) 27, 31

Jacobson v. Tahoe Regional Planning Agcy., 566 F 2d 1353 (9th Cir.

1977), rev'd, sub nom. Lake Country Estates, Inc. v. Tahoe Re-

gional Planning Agency, _. U.S. __, 59 L.Ed.2d 401 (1979) .. 19

Lake Country Estates, Inc. v. Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, wt.

US. —_, 59 L.Ed.2d 401 (1979) 5, 21

League to to Save Lake Tahoe v. B,J.K. Corp., 547 F.2d 1072 (9th Cir.

) 15

emer Tahoe v. Tahoe Reg. Pl., 563 P.2d 582 (Nev.

1 ele 8, 25

Lamune eT cian 88 A.2d 337 (N,J. 1952) ..rcsssssssses 18

Marlatt v. Silk, 36 U.S. (11 Pet.) 1 (1837) 16, 17

Missouri v. Illinois & Chicago District, 180 U.S. 208 (1901) shpicediibinin 29

Morgan v. United States, 298 U.S. 468 (1936) 19, 22

Occidental Life Ins. Co. v. EEOC, 432 U.S. 355 (1977) ..scccsssssssssesssses 26

People of St. of Cal. ex rel. Younger v. Tahoe Reg. P. Ag., 516 F 2d

215 (9th Cir. 1975), cert denied, 423 U.S. 868 (1975) .......sc.ss0 8, 23

Petty v. Tennessee-Missouri Comm'n, 389 US. 275 (1959)... 14, 16

Schaffer Transp. Co. v. U.S., 355 U.S. 83 (1957) wossscssssssessssssssseesssnseeeee 22

SE.C. v. Chenery Corp., 318 U.S. 80 (1943) a 21

Southern Pacific Co. v. Bogert, 250 U.S. 483 (1919) ..ccccsssscsssseesssseee 26

iv TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Topanga Assn. for a Scenic Community v. County of Los Angeles, \1

Cal.3d 506; 522 P.2d 12 (1974)

United States v. El Paso Gas Co., 316 U.S. 651 (1964) 10

United States v. Florida East Coast R. Co., 410 US. a6 (1973) 21, 22

US. v. Pierce Auto Lines, 327 U.S. 515 (1946) 22

Washington v. General Motors Corp., 406 U.S. 109 (1972)... 30

Wichita RR. v. Pub. Util. Comm., 260 U.S. 48 (1922) 22

STATUTES

California Code of Civil Procedure

§ 343 25

Nevada Revised Statutes

Ch.: 11.220 25

Ch. 277.207 5, 25

Ch. 278.020 24

Ch. 278.027 4, 5, 8, 10, 11, 24

Ch. 278.315 24

Ch. 278.317 24

United States Code

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) 2

28 U.S.C. § 1331 (a) . 9, 11, 15, 27

28 U.S.C. § 2201

CONSTITUTION

United States Constitution, Article I, Section 10, Clause 3 ................ 4

INTERSTATE COMPACTS —

Bi-State Development Agency Compact, Act of August 31, 1950, Ch.

829, 64 Stat. 568 13

— River Compact, Act of December 21, 1928, Ch. 42, 45 Stat.

13

Great Lakes Basin Compact, Act of July 24, 1968, Pub.L. No. 90-419,

82 Stat. 414 13

Potomac River Compact of 1958, ‘Act of October 10, 1962, Pub.L. No.

87-783, 76 Stat. 797 13

Tahoe Regional Planning Agency Agency Compact, Pub.L. 91-148, 83 Stat.

360 (1969) ; California Govt. Code §§ 66800-66801; Nevada Revised

— §§ 277. 190-277.200 (1973) 4

Art. I 5

Art. I(b) , 18

Art. I(c) . 18

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES Vv

Page

RETESET EE: 2S 9 5S a oO 8

Art. V(b) (1) . 6

Art. VI(a) 6, 18

Art. VI(b) 9

Art. VI(k) +

Art. VIII (a) 18

4

:

Council of State Governments, Interstate Compacts, 1783-1970 (A

Compilation) (1971) 12

cil of State Governments, Interstate Compacts, 1783-1977 (A

Revised Compilation) (1977) ssccissssscsssesststseustsessensesneeeee 12

2 Davis, Administrative Law Treatise (1976 Supp.)

§ 16.00-2, at p. 385 22

Oe EO Sie ihasicdinnsettapssenasirsntcianionnpeicsninyeemoeseenesint 22

, “Construction of Interstate Compacts: A Questionable

Federal Question”, 51 Va.L.Rev. 987 (1965) 12

Frankfurter & Landis, “The Compact Clause of the Constitution—A

Study in Interstate Adjustments”, 34 Yale L.J. 685 (1925) ........... 14

tag Court Rule 19.1 (b) 15

oe Regional Planning Agency Land Use Ordinance (1972)

ght te Cae Ria il RS 3 RR 6, 19

§ 2.20 18

§3. > 17

Oe St 6, 19

EES NTN ORE ei ae 19

TI shiiasicsinssininiensencniesabdisaninensia passim

(ae ae

EES OS PRR 29

yD aes celacpsnilanactee cilechenjeinh id ns chance slahecltinaesensitesteghatinsnntinieipinindiite passim

oe. pe

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM 1979

No.

CALIFORNIA TAHOE REGIONAL

PLANNING AGENCY, a Political

Subdivision of the State of California,

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF

CALIFORNIA, LEAGUE TO SAVE LAKE

TAHOE, and SIERRA CLUB,

Petitioners, \

V.

TED JENNINGS, OLIVER KAHLE,

HARVEY’S WAGON WHEEL, INC., and

COUNTY OF DOUGLAS, a Political

Subdivision of the State of Nevada,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners, California Tahoe Regional Planning

Agency, People of the State of California, League to

Save Lake Tahoe, and Sierra Club respectfully pray that

a Writ of Certiorari issue to review the judgment and

opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit entered in this proceeding on February

oe

15, 1979. That judgment and opinion affirmed a judg-

ment and opinion entered by the United States District

Court for the District of Nevada, dismissing petitioners’

complaint, and denying petitioners’ motions for prelimi-

nary injunction and summary judgment.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals of which petition-

ers seek review is reported at 594 F.2d 181; a copy is

appended hereto as Appendix A. The court’s order of

April 16, 1979 denying petitioners’ petition for rehearing

is unreported; a copy is appended as Appendix B. The

district court’s opinion is unreported; a copy is append-

ed as Appendix C.

JURISDICTION

The Court of Appeals’ judgment was entered on Feb-

ruary 15, 1979. A petition for rehearing was denied on

April 16, 1979 (App. B). This petition is being filed with-

in 90 days of said date. This court has jurisdiction to

review the judgment in question by writ of certiorari

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. This is an action to enjoin the development of three

large hotel-casinos together with massive parking gar-

ages, located immediately across the state line, at Lake

Tahoe in Nevada. Under the compact between Califor-

nia and Nevada approved by Congress, the Tahoe Re-

gional Planning Agency (TRPA), adopted a regional

plan and land use ordinance to protect the fragile ecol-

ro oo

ogy of the Lake Tahoe Basin from excessive and inap-

propriate development. Petitioners alleged that the

projects, ranging in height from 100 to 193 feet, are in

violation of several sections of the TRPA Land Use Ordi-

nance, including a section limiting height to 40 feet un-

less the approving agency “determines” that greater

project height will better promote the protection of the

environment, and another section prohibiting approval

unless it is “found” that there will not be any substantial

environmental harm as a result of the development.

Though the Court of Appeals determined that two of

the projects were approved based on “findings” merely

reiterating the language in the ordinance, and that in

the case of the other project, no “findings” were made

at all, it held that the questions of whether reasoned

findings and substantial evidence supporting the ap-

provals are required, are issues of law of each party-state

to the compact, rather than ones of interpretation of the

interstate compact and ordinance.

A. When a regulation adopted by a compact-creat-

ed interstate agency requires local agencies acting

pursuant to delegated powers as permit-issuing au-

thorities to “find” and “determine” specified facts

prior to making adjudicatory approvals in the inter-

state region, are the adequacy of the findings and

supporting evidence and the legal effect of the ab-

sence of findings independently determined by the

law. of each party state or instead determined by

uniform interpretation of the interstate regulation?

B. Are reasoned findings ard substantial evidence

required to sustain such adjudicatory approvals?

C. Is an action in federal court, challenging the

pny vee

adequacy and absence of findings and evidence to

sustain such adjudicatory approvals barred by a 25-

day statute of limitations of one party-state, Nev.

Rev. Stat. Ch. 278.027?

2. Petitioners also alleged that the development of

the projects would have massive adverse impacts on the

Lake Tahoe Basin shared by California and Nevada, suf-

ficient to cause an interstate nuisance enjoinable under

federal common law. The Court of Appeals held, inter-

preting the express language of the compact, that the

compact by its own terms preserves the federal common

law nuisance remedy. Nevertheless, the court in affirm-

ing the dismissal on the pleading, held that equitable

relief may not be sought when the alleged nuisance has

been approved pursuant to a compact, and is prospec-

tive.

A. Does an interstate compact which preserves

the federal common law nuisance remedy never-

theless preclude consideration of a claim for equita-

ble relief to enjoin a prospective nuisance which has

received a permit under the regulatory program

created by the compact?

STATUTES INVOLVED

The statutes involved are these:

1. Article I, Section 10, Clause 3 of the Constitution of

the United States, providing: “No State shall, without

the consent of Congress. . . enter into any agreement

or compact with another State . . .”

2. The Tahoe Regional Planning Agency Compact,

Pub.L. 91-148, 83 Stat. 360 (1969); California Govt. Code

—5—

§§ 66800-66801; Nevada Revised Statutes ‘hereinafter

NRS) Chs. 277.190-277.200 (1973). The text of the com-

pact, contained in Pub.L. 91-148, is set out verbatim in

Appendix D.

3. The Tahoe Regional Planning Agency Land Use

Ordinance. The ordinance is part of the record, and is

set out verbatim in Appendix E.

4. Nevada Revised Statutes, Chs. 278.027 and 277.207,

are set out verbatim in Appendix G.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In 1968, California and Nevada entered into a compact

(App. D), to create an agency to regulate and control

development in the Lake Tahoe Basin, for the purpose

of exercising effective environmental controls to pre-

vent further de :rioration of the region. (Compact Arti-

cle I). On December 18, 1969, Congress approved the

compact, adding Sections 2 through 7.

The reason for the legislative concern is that Lake

Tahoe’s scenic beauty, pristine clarity, and size is

matched by only two other lakes in the entire world—

Crater Lake in Oregon and Lake Baikal in the Soviet

Union. See, Lake Country Estates, Inc. v. Tahoe Re-

gional Planning Agency, __— U. S. ___, 59 L.Ed.2d 401,

405, n. 2 (1979).

The compact created an interstate agency, the Tahoe

Regional Planning Agency, and required it to adopt a

regional plan governing, inter alia, the uses of land, air,

space, and other resources within the region, including

“an indication or allocation of maximum population

eh Tene

densities.” (Compact, Article V(b) (1) ). The TRPA was

also required by the compact to adopt ordinances imple-

menting the regional plan through regionally enforcea-

ble minimum standards, including zoning and air

pollution regulations. (Compact, Article VI (a) ).

The TRPA adopted its regional plan on December 22,

1971, and adopted its land use ordinance (LUO) (App.

E) on February 10, 1972.

The ordinance explicitly requires compliance with its

land use, land coverage, and height standards, as well as

its other sections. LUO §§ 2.10, 4.21. These other sections

include 8.33 which provides that it must be “found” as

a condition of approval that the proposed development

will not cause any substantial harmful environmental

consequences. Additionally, Section 7.13 limits building

height to 40 feet unless the permit-issuing authority “de-

termines” that a greater height will better promote the

protection of the environment. The ordinance delegates

the initial adjudicatory decision-making authority to the

appropriate county in the first instance, subject to re-

view by the TRPA.

Respondents Jennings, Kahle, and Harvey’s own par-

cels of land within Douglas County, and within TRPA’s

jurisdiction. Douglas County, Nevada exercised its

delegated authority under the ordinance to approve

each of the hotel-casinos proposed by the respective

Petitioners seek no review or relief against Park Cattle Co., a

defendant below. The state plaintiffs had abandoned their ap-

es: against Park in the Ninth Circuit. Unlike the three other

andowners, Park obtained a building permit and has construct-

ed its building.

a, om

respondents. The heights of the proposed projects range

from 100 feet to 193 feet, the number of hotel rooms

from 446 to $60. The respective projects would include

parking structures housing from 1490 to 2850 cars, would

include show rooms, and gaming areas ranging from

32,350 to 50,000 square feet. The number of employees

_ of each establishment would range from 1400 to 2575.

The proposed developments are each approximately 20

acres in size.

The Harvey’s property abuts the California stateline;

the Jennings and Kahle properties are less than one mile

from California.

The approval by Douglas County of the Hotel Oliver

(Kahle) occurred on April 24, 1973; the approval of the

Tahoe Palace Hotel (Jennings) occurred on May 7, 1973;

and the approval of Harvey’s occurred on June 20, 1973.

In approving the Jennings and Kahle projects, the

Douglas County Commissioners simply adopted resolu-

tions furnished by the developers’ representatives re-

peating verbatim the language of ordinance sections

7.13 and 8.33. With respect to the project of Harvey’s, no

“findings” relating to sections 7.13 and 8.33 were made

at all. The Douglas County minutes reflecting the ap-

provals are appended in Appendix F.

After the Douglas County approvals, the TRPA staff

reviewed the projects and recommended that because

of too intensive use of the sites, generation of excessive

traffic, and excessive height, each project should be

disapproved by TRPA. (Record, P1. exh. 2 doc. 16, exh.

3 doc. 20, exh. 4 doc. 13). However, on July 25, 1973, a

— nN

TRPA motion to approve the Harvey’s project failed by

a 6-4 vote in favor of the project, a majority of the Cali-

fornia delegation voting against. The project was there-

fore “deemed approved”, pursuant to Articles III and

VI(k) of the Compact. On July 25, 1974, the TRPA voted

7-3 to deny the projects of Jennings and Kahle, but un-

der the default voting rules, a default approval occurred

because the 3 votes to approve constituted a majority of

the five Nevada members. People of St. of Cal. ex rel.

Younger v. Tahoe Reg. P. Ag., 516 F.2d 215 (9th Cir.

1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 868 (1975) .?

On August 16, 1974, petitioner League to Save Lake

Tahoe filed suit in a Nevada state court (Douglas County

Action No. 6566) against respondents, alleging that the

approvals of the projects by Douglas County were in

violation, inter alia, of sections 7.13 and 8.33 of the ordi-

nance. (Record, Def. exh. 38). The case, though timely

filed, was dismissed for failure to meet a corporate filing

requirement. The merits of that case were never

reached, and the application of petitioner California

Tahoe Regional Planning Agency to file an amicus

curiae brief in support of the League to Save Lake

Tahoe was denied for that reason. (Record, Clerk’s tr. at

p. 259). The procedural dismissal was affirmed by the

Nevada Supreme Court, which held that refiling was

now barred by a Nevada 25-day limitation statute, Nev.

Rev. Stat., Ch. 278.027. League to Save Lake Tahoe v.

Tahoe Reg. Pi., 563 P.2d 582 (Nev. 1977).

2In Younger, the Ninth Circuit held that there was no final TRPA

action in this situation.

ar ea

Following the May 1977 affirmance by the Nevada

Supreme Court, petitioners, on August 12, 1977, filed

complaints in the United States District Court for Ne-

vada against respondents.* Petitioners alleged that the

approvals of respondents’ projects were in violation of

sections 7.13 and 8.33 of the ordinance and that the ap-

provals were not supported by either legally sufficient

findings or substantial evidence. California additionally

alleged that the adverse environmental impacts in Cali-

fornia of the Nevada projects when completed, includ-

ing the large volume of generated vehicular traffic,

would be so massive as to constitute an interstate nui-

sance enjoinable under federal common law. The com-

plaint alleged that both air pollution and its adverse

effects are aggravated by altitude (Lake Tahoe is over

6,000 feet in elevation) and that existing violations of

federal and state ambient air quality standards would be

exacerbated and additional violations would occur as a

result of development of each p.<‘ect. Petitioners

sought injunctive and declaratory relief. jurisdiction of

the District Court was invoked pursuant to Pub.L. 91-

148, 83 Stat. 360 (Compact, Article VI(b)), 28 U.S.C.

§ 1331 (a), as well as 28 U.S.C. § 2201.

Petitioners also filed motions for preliminary injunc-

tion and summary judgment pertaining to the ordi-

nance violation claim. Respondents filed motions to

dismiss the actions, and opposition to petitioners’ mo-

3 California and the CTRPA were the plaintiffs in one case and the

a to Save Lake Tahoe and Sierra Club were the plaintiffs

in the other case. The actions were heard together.

oan Wi

tions for preliminary injunction and summary judg-

ment. The State of Nevada originally intervened in the

action on the side of respondents, but then obtained

modification of its status to amicus curiae, to avoid bring-

ing the case within the exclusive jurisdiction of the Su-

preme Court. Nevada opposed California, and

supported respondents. (Record, Clerk’s tr. at 576; Re-

porter’s tr. at p. 239-40).

After argument and introduction of affidavits and

documents (but no oral testimony) by each side, the

district court, on October 20, 1977, announced its opin-

ion orally (App. C), dismissing the actions and denying

petitioners’ motions for preliminary injunction and sum-

mary judgment. The court held on the merits that re-

spondents’ projects were not barred by the height

constraints in section 7.13 of the ordinance. The court

also held that the actions were barred by the Nevada

limitation statute (NRS, Ch. 278.027), and by laches. The

court gave no reason for dismissing, on the pleading, the

interstate nuisance cause of action. On October 31, 1977,

the court entered judgments in favor of respondents and

signed findings and conclusions (App. C) prepared by

respondents’ counsel without change, and in the ab-

sence of advance service of the documents on counsel

for petitioners.‘

Petitioners in both cases appealed to the Ninth Circuit

Court of Appeals. The appeals were consolidated and

* This Court has noted that such counsel-prepared findings furnish

little assistance to a reviewing court. See, United St.

Gas Co, 316 US, 631, 656, m4 (1964)

ett ia

expedited. On September 5, 1978, the Ninth Circuit

granted an injunction preventing Harvey’s from com-

mencing construction of its parking garage.

In its opinion of February 15, 1979, the Court of Ap-

peals conceded the absence of findings (App. A, p. 7),

but held that the issues of whether findings and substan-

tial evidence are required to support issuance of an ad-

ministrative permit by a local permit-issuing authority

are left to the law of each state (App. A, at p. 18, 28, n.

10), and therefore resolution of the issues is barred by

the 25-day limitation in NRS, Ch. 278.027. After first de-

termining that petitioners’ claims seeking interpreta-

tion of the height limitation imposed by §7.13 were

federal questions within the meaning of 28 U.S.C.

§ 1331 (a), and after holding sub silentio that petitioners’

claims concerning § 7.13 were not barred by any applica-

ble statute of limitations, the court construed § 7.13 of

the ordinance. The court held that § 7.13 does not re-

quire that significant height departures be approved

only in accordance with the principles that govern the

granting of a variance from zoning regulations (App. A,

p. 11).

The court also held that the federal common law nui-

sance claim was properly dismissed. Though the court

interpreted Section 5 of the compact not to preclude the

application of federal common law nuisance doctrine in

the Lake Tahoe Basin (App. A., p. 22), it held that the

presence of the compact approval mechanism “affected

the viability” of an anticipatory federal common law

nuisance action, and affirmed the dismissal on the plead-

2—79307

a= 19 am

ing. (App. A, p. 22, pp. 24, 29, n. 15). The court affirmed

the judgment of the district court and lifted its injunc-

tion restraining Harvey’s from commencing construc-

tion.

Petitioners filed petitions for rehearing. The petitions

for rehearing were denied on April 16, 1979. (App. B).

Respondents have not obtained building permits and

have not commenced construction of the proposed

buildings. (Record, P1. exh. 6 docs. J, K and L).°

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

|. THE COURT OF APPEAL’S DECISION POSES CRITICAL

ISSUES CONCERNING OBLIGATIONS BETWEEN

STATES ARISING BOTH FROM INTERSTATE COMPACT

AND FEDERAL COMMON LAW.

“During recent years, the interstate compact has

become an increasingly prominent device for the solu-

tion of governmental problems not confined to a single

state.” Engdahl, “Construction of Interstate Compacts:

A Questionable Federal Question,”, 51 Va.L.Rev. 987,

988 (1965).

More than 70 of the 175 compacts now in effect have

created administering boards, commissions, and agen-

cies.* More agencies would be created by compacts pres-

* Jennings and Kahle did obtain Douglas Coun ading permits,

issued illegally—prior to TRPA review in 197 Cacians also ob-

tained a “foundation” permit containing a waiver of responsibili-

ty by Douglas County in 1975. Harvey’s obtained building

permits for internal modifications to exis structures not rele-

vant here, and a “foundation onl see in 1977 for ae

garage (the subject of the Nin ircuit restraining order).

® See generally, Council of State Governments, Interstate Com-

cts, 1783-1977 (A Revised Compilation) (1877); Council of

om ye Interstate Compacts, 1783-1970 (A Compila-

tion a

as 13 —

ently under consideration. There is not one state in the

entire nation which is a party to fewer than 12 compacts.

Interstate agencies are important, active, and make

decisions affecting millions of Americans. As examples,

interstate agencies regulate the environmental quality

in the Great Lakes area’, conserve fishing resources of

the Potumac River *, control development of the St.

Louis metropolitan area *, and apportion waters of the

Colorado River.'°®

The Court of Appeals has held in this case that ad-

judicatory decisions having broad regional implications,

rendered pursuant to powers delegated by interstate

compacts and regulations, are not subject to uniform

judicial review within the region governed by a com-

pact. By requiring judicial review pursuant to state law

of critical aspects of the administrative process, the deci-

sion ignores the elementary principle that the actions of

local agencies, acting pursuant to powers delegated un-

der a compact by an interstate agency, should be meas-

ured against the same basic legal standards with respect

to fundamental administrative law issues. Otherwise,

findings may be required in one state but not in another

state, to sustain decisions under a common regulation.

The decision also ignores the fact that the very essence

. _ yy Basin Compact, Act of July 24, 1968, Pub.L. No. 90-419,

tat. 414.

® Potomac River Compact of 1958, Act of October 10, 1962, Pub.L.

No. 87-783, 76 Stat. 797.

® Bistate Development Agency Compact, Act of August 31, 1950,

Ch. 829, 64 Stat. 568.

se sory aaa Compact, Act of December 21, 1928, Ch. 42, 45

tat. 1057.

a

of a compact intended to protect natural resources is to

ensure that “vigilance by one state” is not “thwarted by

inaction, or lax administration, in an adjoining state.”

Frankfurter & Landis, “The Compact Clause of the Con-

stitution—A Study in Interstate Adjustments”, 34 Yale

LJ. 685, 699 (1925).

This petition also seeks review of the Court of Ap-

peal’s decision affirming the dismissal of the state peti- -

tioner’s interstate nuisance claim on the pleading, on

the ground that the federal common law does not pro-

vide a remedy for an anticipatory nuisance arising from

an activity approved pursuant to an interstate compact.

The decision is in conflict with the Seventh Circuit’s

recent decision in J/linois v. City of Milwaukee, ——

F.2d ___._ (No. 77-2246, April 26, 1979), holding that

when previously existing rights are preserved pursuant

to federal legislation, “the federal common law of nui-

sance provides a peculiarly appropriate remedy”, when

neighboring states allege “that the requirements im-

posed pursuant to federal statute are inadequate to pro-

tect their interests.” The Seventh Circuit decision is

appended in Appendix H.

A key function of this Court is “to determine the na-

ture and scope of obligations as between States, whether

they arise through the legislative means of compact or

the ‘federal common law’ governing interstate contro-

versies.” Dyer v. Sims, 341 U.S. 22, 28 (1951). Review of

questions arising in such contexts is appropriate by certi-

orari. Petty v. Tennessee-Missouri Comm'n, 359 U.S. 275,

278 (1959); Hinderlider v. La Plata Co., 304 U.S. 92, 101,

— on

110, (1938).

The Court of Appeals has clearly decided important

questions of federal law, discussed infra, which have not

been, but should be, decided by this Court. Supreme

Court Rule 19.1(b).

ll. BY FAILING TO REVIEW THE ABSENCE AND ADEQUACY

OF THE “FINDINGS” MADE BY THE APPROVING AU-

THORITY, THE COURT OF APPEALS RELEGATES CRITI-

CAL ISSUES TO POTENTIALLY CONFLICTING

INTERPRETATIONS BY DIFFERENT STATES, AND IG-

NORES THE PRINCIPLES WHICH SUGGEST REQUIRING

REASONED FINDINGS TO SUSTAIN ADJUDICATORY

DECISIONS UNDER INTERSTATE REGULATIONS.

This Court has never decided whether judicial review

of administrative decisions made pursuant to an inter-

state regulation must take place pursuant to “federal” or

uniform law, or in the alternative is left to the separate,

independent, and often conflicting rules of the party-

states.

Assigning to the courts of the individual signatory

states the power to determine, as a matter of state law,

whether findings are required under interstate regula-

tions, the adequacy of findings, and the quantum of evi-

dence necessary to sustain such findings poses grave

difficulties for the functioning of interstate regulatory

programs.'! Yet this is exactly what the Court of Appeals

‘! No doubt, this is why the Ninth Circuit previously held that

questions concerning the ae and application of TRPA

ordinances ordinaril ily present federal — under 28 U.S.C.

oar (a). See, League to Save Lake Tahoe v. B.J.K. Corp., 547

.2d 1072 (9th Cir. 1976).

= 16 —

has done.

This Court has already held that the rules applicable

in compact cases are of an “international” character, not

left to the party-states. Petty v. Tennessee-Missouri

Comm'n, 359 U.S. 275, 280-81 (1959); Dyer v. Sims, 341

U.S. 22, 28-31 (1951); Marlatt v. Silk, 36 U.S. (11 Pet.) 1,

22-23 (1837).

In Dyer v. Sims, 341 U.S. 22 (1951), the Court reversed

a state court decision which had held that state legisla-

tion authorizing participation in a compact was in viola-

tion of the State Constitution. The Court said:

“But a compact is after all a legal document.

Though the circumstances of its drafting are likely to

assure great care and deliberation, all avoidance of

disputes as to scope and meaning is not within hu-

man gift. Just as this Court has power to settle dis-

putes between States where there is no compact, it

must have final power to pass upon the meaning and

validity of compacts. It requires no elaborate argu-

ment to reject the suggestion that an agreement

solemnly entered into between states by those who

alone have political authority to speak for a State can

be unilaterally nullified, or given final meaning by an

organ of one of the contracting States. A State cannot

be its own ultimate judge in a controversy with a

sister State. To determine the nature and scope of

obligations as between States, whether they arise

through the legislative means of compact or the ‘fed-

eral common law’ governing interstate controversies

(Hinderlider v. La Plata Co., 304 U.S. 92, 110), is the

function and duty of the Supreme Court of the Na-

tion.” 341 U.S. at 28.

Here, for the first time, operation and interpretation

o

of a regulation adopted by an interstate agency is in-

volved in addition to interpretation of the compact it-

self. The rationale, however, of decisions such as Marlatt

v. Silkand Dyer v. Sims, requires that principles applica-

ble to the construction of compacts also be applicable to

the construction of interstate regulations.

In Dyer v. Sims, this Court rejected a proposition de-

signed to avoid compact obligations by transposing an

issue from one of compact interpretation into one of

state law interpretation. In contrast, the Ninth Circuit

decision overlooks the federal common law nature of

the administrative law questions raised and thereby

would allow a party-state to modify its compact obliga-

tions by unilateral judicial or legislative action.

In this case, any obligation to support approvals made

pursuant to the Compact with findings does not stem

from Nevada state law or local ordinance, but arises

pursuant to the TRPA land use ordinance applicable

throughout the region. Certain procedural details such

as time and place of hearing may properly be left to local

law. See, LUO §3 (definition of “Administrative Per-

mit”). But issues as to whether findings and substantial

evidence are required or whether verbatim “findings”

are sufficient, require examination of the obligations as-

sumed by the parties to the compact—as reflected in the

ordinance adopted by the interstate agency. It is pre-

cisely such questions which require uniform interpreta-

tion rather than relegation to the independent and

potentially conflicting decisions of each party state.

A. Interpretation of the TRPA Compact and Ordinance.

A uniform requirement for findings explaining the

rationale for adjudicatory approvals pursuant to the

TRPA ordinance is suggested by the language of the

am 18

compact and ordinance, this Court’s previous interpre-

tations of similar regulations, and the reciprocity ele-

ment involved in zoning control.

A primary purpose of the compact is to remedy defi-

ciencies of existing environmental control. Compact,

Article I(b). This purpose is to be accomplished by

creating “an area-wide planning agency with the power

to adopt and enforce a regional plan of resource conser-

vation and orderly development, to exercise effective

environmental controls. . . .” Compact, Article I(c)

(emphasis added). The provisions of the compact and

ordinance are expressly required to be liberally con-

strued to effectuate their purposes. (Compact, Art.

VHI (a); LUO § 2.20.)

Under the Compact, the TRPA is mandated to pro-

mulgate uniform minimum standards applicable

throughout the region. The political subdivisions of the

individual states are empowered to establish higher or

equal standards than those promulgated by the TRPA,

but the individual states or their political subdivisions

cannot promulgate or enforce standards lower than

those promulgated by the TRPA in its ordinances.

(Compact, Art. VI(a).) These uniform standards in-

clude the criteria in sections 7.13 and 8.33.

Section 7.13 requires a “determination” of express

conditions to support a height variance.'? In the more

12 “Tt is basic to the fundamental purpose of zoning that the power

of a local board . . . to grant variances should be exercised spar-

ingly and only in exceptional circumstances, and ordinarily only

when relief can pol pargoe ‘without substantial detriment to the

eng and will not substantially impair the intent and pur-

pose of the zone plan and zoning ordinance’... . A grant of

variance which has the effect of frustrating the general scheme

and is tantamount to a usurpation of the legislative power re-

served to the governin y of the municipality to amend or

revise the plan cannot be sustained.” Leimann v. Board of Ad-

jJustment, 88 A.2d 337, 339 (NJ. 1952) (Brennan, J.).

_—

intense use districts such as the tourist commerical dis-

trict involved in this case, height is critical since when

operating together with land coverage requirements,

the effect is a form of bulk limitation, controlling the

total intensity of use. Section 8.33 requires that certain

matters be “found” before a permit is issued. In the case

of both § 7.13 and § 8.33 the conditions specified go to

the heart of the purpose for the compact—environmen-

tal protection. The ordinance requires compliance with

all of its requirements, whether substantive or proce-

dural. LUO §§ 2.10, 4.21. The burden of.proof is on the

applicant. LUO § 4.22. \

This Court held that the F.P.C. must explain its action

in rejecting objections to a bond issue under Section 204

of the Federal Power Act, where that act requires the

F.P.C. to only make such order if it “finds” certain con-

ditions. Gulf States Utilities Co. v. FPC, 411 U.S. 747, 763

(1973). This Court reached a similar result with respect

to the requirement to “determine” in Morgan v. United

States, 298 U.S. 468, 479-80 (1936).

Findings are crucial here because thousands of other

Lake Tahoe Basin landowners have been significantly

restricted in the use of their property, in order to imple-

ment the salutary purposes of the compact. See, Jacob-

son v. Tahoe Regional Planning Agcy., 566 F.2d 1353,

1357-58 (9th Cir. 1977), rev'd, sub nom. Lake Country

Estates, Inc. v. Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, — U.S.

—, 59 L.Ed.2d 401 (1979). What is particularly striking

is that the thousands of landowners restricted to rural

property uses will only benefit if the scenic beauty of the

7

Bsr Se

area is protected as intended by the legislation. To the

extent massive developments, laying claim to the re-

maining finite resources in the basin to accommodate ©

further development, are approved without clear evi-

dence that they satisfy the environmental criteria of the

ordinance, there will be adverse impacts upon restricted

landowners, and interference with more natural public

uses. As the California Supreme Court has stated:

“Moreover, courts must meaningfully review

grants of variances in order to protect the interests

of those who hold rights and property nearby the

parcel for which a variance is sought. A zoning

scheme, after all, is similar in some respects to a con-

tract; each party foregoes rights to use its land as it

wishes in return for the assurance that the use of

neighboring property will be similarly restricted, the

rationale being that such mutual restriction can en-

hance total community welfare. [Citation omitted.]

If the interest of these parties in preventing unjusti-

fied variance awards for neighboring land is not suffi-

ciently protected, the consequence will be

subversion of the critical reciprocity upon which the

zoning regulation rests.” Topanga Assn. for a Scenic

Community v. County of Los Angeles, 11 Cal. 3d 506;

522 P.2d 12, 19 (1974).

The Court of Appeals declined to review the adequa-

cy of the “findings” and the evidence in support of the

“findings”. It also declined to interpret Sections 7.13 and

8.33 of the Ordinance to decide whether no findings at

all, as a matter of law under the ordinance, are legally

adequate.

Enforcement of a uniform requirement of reasoned

a on

findings is the only way to insure that interstate agencies

and their delegatees, which are beyond the control of

the states, remain within the confines of the jurisdiction

conferred upon them with the consent of Congress.

Without such enforcement, the provisions of the TRPA

ordinance become subject to a de facto veto at the state

level, contrary to this Court’s characterization of TRPA’s

rules in Lake Country Estates, Inc. v. Tahoe Regional

Planning Agency, — U.S. —, 59 L.Ed.2d 401, 411 (1979)

(“Moreover, while TRPA, like cities, towns, and coun-

ties, was originally created by the States, its authority to

make rules within its jurisdiction is not subject to veto

at the state level.”’).

B. Applicable Federal Principles.

Even aside from the language of the TRPA ordinance,

“[t}he orderly functioning of the process of review re-

quires that the grounds upon which the administrative

agency acted be clearly disclosed and adequately sus-

tained.” S.E.C. v. Chenery Corp., 318 U.S. 80, 94 (1943).

Here we deal with non-APA, adjudicatory action—the

actual application of a rule to a specific set of facts rather

than rule-making. See, United States v. Florida. East

Coast R. Co., 410 U.S. 224, 245 (1973). This Court has

never decided whether findings and substantial evi-

dence are required to support the adjudicatory decisions

rendered by agencies operating under interstate com-

pact. However, the general rule is that findings are re-

quired to sustain adjudicatory decisions. Prior to the

adoption of the Administrative Procedure Act in 1946,

the numerous cases requiring findings were founded in

ion

either common law or the constitution. 2 Davis, Ad-

ministrative Law Treatise, § 16.00-2, at p. 385 (1976

Supp.); United States v. Florida East Coast R. Co., 410

U.S. 224, 242 (1973).

Basically, “findings and reasons are part of a bundle of

anti-arbitrariness devices, and often the other sticks in

the bundle are dependent upon findings and reasons.”

2 Davis, Administrative Law Treatise, § 16.00-6, at p. 394

(1976 Supp.).

The requirement is for “basic” findings to support the

decision. The mere quoting of the statutory language is

insufficient. U.S. v. Pierce Auto Lines, 327 U.S. 515, 533

(1946) ; Morgan v. United States, 298 U.S. 468, 480 (1936) ;

Florida v. United States, 282 U.S. 194, 215 (1931). In

Schaffer Transp. Co. v. U.S., 355 U.S. 83 (1957), this

Court held that an interstate commerce commission or-

der must be set aside because the administrative record

did not disclose the factors which the ICC compared, in

concluding that existing rail service was “reasonably

adequate” in denying an application by a motor carrier.

In Dunlopv. Bachowski, 421 U.S. 560 (1975) , the Court

held that a statement of reasons was required support-

ing a determination to not bring a Labor Management

Reporting and Disclosure Act enforcement action.

“[A] ‘reasons’ requirement promotes thought by

the Secretary and compels him to cover the relevant

points and eschew irrelevancies . . .” /d. at p. 572.

The Legislature is constitutionally enjoined to pre-

scribe a findings requirement when delegating ad-

judicatory decision-making authority. Wichita R.R. v.

anti...

Pub. Util. Comm., 260 U.S. 48, 58-59 (1922). The courts

can not determine whether the legislative standard has

been satisfied by agency action, in the absence of disclo-

sure of the basis for the action. Burlington Truck Lines

v. U.S., 371 U.S. 156, 167-68 (1962). Post hoc rationaliza-

tion by the courts or other excusing of the lack of find-

ings is incompatible with judicial review and leads to

judicial usurpation of the administrative function. /d. at

168-69.

It has already been held that “if the local authorities

violate the variance guidelines and other ordinances in

granting permits, either state as well as the TRPA has

the right to bring action in state or federal court seeking

compliance with the regional plan and the TRPA regula-

tions. See Article VI(b).” People of St. of Cal. ex rel.

Younger v. Tahoe Reg. P. Ag., 516 F.2d 215, 219, n.5 (9th

Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 868 (1975). Yet in the

absence of an administrative record disclosing the

grounds for the decision, there is no procedure by which

the issue of administrative “compliance” can be deter-

mined. ne

Since the APA‘does not treat interstate agencies, it is

proper for this Court to turn again to accepted adminis-

trative law principles—whether of “common law” or

“constitutional” origin—to require the making of an

adequate administrative record for judicial review of

adjudicatory actions rendered pursuant to interstate

regulations. This would necessarily include findings set-

ting forth a contemporaneous explanation of an agency

adjudicatory action of the type involved here.

“ye

In conclusion, findings are particularly necessary, in

the case of permits issued pursuant to interstate regula-

tions because the individual party states do not control

the compact agency. Douglas County furnished no ex-

planation why respondents’ projects merited approval

under §§ 7.13 and 8.33 of the ordinance. In this context,

the suspicion, engendered by unexplained decisions, of

arbitrary administrative action is magnified in the other

party-states. It is wrong to countenance a situation in

which findings and substantial evidence may be re-

quired in one location, but not in another location, to

support decisions made under the same regulation.

lll. THE COURT OF APPEALS ERRED IN HOLDING THAT

THIS FEDERAL ACTION IS BARRED BY THE NEVADA

25-DAY STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS.

Nevada Revised Statutes Ch. 278.027 (App. G) ex-

pressly pertains only to decisions granting “any special

use or variance authorized by NRS 278.010-278.630, in-

clusive.” But the compact is codified at NRS 277.190-

277.200. These sections are not within the sections speci-

fied within the limitation statute. Douglas County grant-

ed “Administrative Permits” authorized and required

solely by the compact and TRPA Ordinance, not local

special use or variance permits contemplated by such

sections as NRS Ch. 278.020, 278.315, and 278.317. Chap-

ter 278.027 was adopted in 1971, more than one year

after the compact became effective, and would have

included the compact sections within the sections speci-

fied, if that had been the intent. In 1971, the Nevada

Legislature expressly mentioned the compact sections

= oe -»®

when drafting procedural provisions applicable to

TRPA matters. Nevada enacted NRS Ch. 277.207 (App.

G) requiring the expediting of all cases “in which there

may arise a question of the validity of any matter under

the provisions of NRS 277.190 to 277.200, inclusive . . .”.

There is another missing element as well. The Court

of Appeals stated that “appellants also assert that section

278.027 requires the filing of notice of final action with

the clerk or secretary of the local permit issuing author-

ity after the default approval and that no such filing was

made with Douglas County in this case.” (App. A, at p.

20, 29 n. 13.) In fact no filing was made anywhere. The

filing is expressly required by the limitation statute and

is obviously the act triggering the running of the statute.

The Court of Appeals erred in following the Nevada

Supreme Court decision in League to Save Lake Tahoe

v. Tahoe Reg. PI., 563 P.2d 582 (Nev. 1977) which did not

even discuss the filing question. A state court determina-

tion affecting a compact obligation is not binding upon

the federal courts. Dyer v. Sims, 341 U.S. 22, 28-31

(1951). The surprising and expansive post hoc construc-

tion of a seemingly inapplicable limitation statute,

should not bar this action.

The only Nevada statute of limitation arguably appli-

cable would not bar the action. NRS Ch. 11.220 provides

“Any action for relief not herein before provided for,

must be commenced within 4 years after the cause of

action shall have accrued.” This limitation is identical to

the California catch-all statute contained in Code of

Civil Procedure section 343. The four year statute and

the federal equitable doctrine of laches are the apparent

potential limitations in view of the silence of the Com-

pact and ordinance.

_— a

However, the applicability of any state statute of limi-

tation to an action such as this even if coverage is intend-

ed is doubtful. Holmberg v. Armbrecht, 327 U.S. 392

(1946) and Occidental Life Ins. Co. v. EEOC, 432 U.S.

355, 366-72 (1977), hold that state limitations do not bar

federal actions enforcing federal claims for equitable

relief, or seeking vindication of public rights. The appli-

cability of state statutes of limitation to actions brought

to enforce interstate obligations has never been decided

by this Court. Considerations of uniformity and the “in-

ternational” nature of the applicable law, Dyer v. Sims,

supra, suggest that state limitation acts should not be

applicable to such actions.'*

The complexity of the compact issues, the several in-

tervening TRPA Compact decisions, and the previous

diligent attempt to litigate the issues in the Nevada state

courts compel reaching rather than avoiding the merits

presented in this case.'*

‘3 Though the Court of Appeals made no ruling as to laches, laches

should not bar this action. Here there has seep no construction,

and no building permits have been issued for the improvements

in question. In view of the prior litigation which gave notice of

the claims and the absence of prejudicial reliance, the district

court clearly erred in sustaining the laches defense on the plead-

igseh Czaplicki v. The Hoegh Silvercloud, 351 U.S.525,

ae x American Pipe and Construction Co. v. Utah, 414 U.S. 538

554 (1974) (purpose of limitation act in giving notice of claim had

been met); Burnett v. New York Central R Co., 380 U.S. 424

(1965) (3-year FELA statute tolled because of pendency of state

court action on the same claim); Southern Pacific Co. v. Bogert,

250 U.S. 483, 489-90 (1919) pr litigation gave notice of

claims) ; Ashland Oil, Inc. v. lips Pe Company, 554

F.2d 381, 392 (10th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 921, 968

(complexity and protracted nature of litigation) ; Eastlake Com-

munity Council v. Roanoke Assoc., Inc., 513 P.2d 36, 43 (Wash.

1973) (“Defendants started the project with full awareness that

there were multiple, serious | obstacles and cannot now

claim relief simply because money was e ded in the face of

an awareness they might not have a legal right to proceed.”).

— 27 —

lV. THE COURT OF APPEALS ERRED IN HOLDING THAT

BECAUSE THE ALLEGED NUISANCE IS ANTICIPATORY

AND WAS APPROVED PURSUANT TO COMPACT, A

STATE’S FEDERAL COMMON LAW NUISANCE CLAIM

MAY BE DISMISSED ON THE PLEADING.

Congress added Section 5 of the Compact providing:

“[(N]othing contained in the Act or in the compact

consented to shall in any way affect . . . the applica-

bility of any law or regulation of the United States in,

over, or to the region or waters which are the subject

of the compact. . . .”. (Emphasis added.)

The federal common law of nuisance is as much a

“law” of the United States as are laws of statutory origin.

Illinois v. City of Milwaukee, 406 U.S. 91, 98-100 (1972).

Unable therefore to hold that the Compact preempted

California’s common law claim, the Ninth Circuit never-

theless held that the Compact approval mechanism “af-

fected the viability of’ and precluded California’s claim

anyway. The approval mechanism is the ordinance,

which was created by the TRPA. The Ninth Circuit did

not explain how the TRPA in an ordinance managed to

do exactly what the states did not do and what Congress

ruled out in Section 5 of the Compact.

The Seventh Circuit has just issued an interstate nui-

sance decision in J//inois v. City of Milwaukee, F.2d

__ (No. 77-2246, April 26, 1979). (App. H). Unlike this

case, the decision came after trial rather than demurrer.

Nevertheless, the holding of the Seventh Circuit con-

cerning the impact of a statutory regulatory program on

the “viability” of the federal common law nuisance rem-

_—

edy is in conflict with the Ninth Circuit decision.

The Seventh Circuit held that compliance with a per-

mit issued under the federal water pollution control

laws is not a defense to a federal common law nuisance

action. (App. H at 292). The court held that the federal

laws do not limit the equitable relief that can be granted.

“If accepted, defendants’ argument would reduce

a cause of action under the federal common law to no

more than an alternative avenue for enforcement of

the statute.” (App. H at p. 293-94.)

The Seventh Circuit also held that when a state is the

plaintiff in a common law nuisance action against a non-

state defendant commenced in a trial court (as opposed

to this Court) , the correct standard of proof is “a prepon-

derance of the evidence rather than clear and convinc-

ing evidence”. (App. H at pp. 300).

“While it is appropriate to give weight to Con-

gress’ expectations in adopting the Act and the stand-

ards established by EPA pursuant to the Act, we

cannot forget that Congress deliberately chose to

preserve existing rights and remedies. Thus, if the

evidence in this case shows that requirements more

stringent than those imposed in the NPDES permits

are necessary to protect Illinois residents from harm

caused or threatened by the defendants’ sewage dis-

charges, plaintiffs are entitled to have the more strin-

gent requirements imposed. We can think of no

other reason for Congress’ preserving previously ex-

isting rights and remedies than to protect the inter-

ests of those who would be able to show that the

requirements imposed pursuant to the federal stat-.

ute are inadequate to protect their interests. When

pat Ta

the complaining party is a neighboring state, the fed-

eral common law of nuisance provides a peculiarly

appropriate remedy.” (App. H at p. 296-297).

Review of the Ninth Circuit decision is clearly called

for in view of the conflict between decisions.

The Ninth Circuit said “In so holding [that the inter-

state nuisance claim is unavailable] we must remember

that these projects have passed the gauntlet of approval

established by the compact and the ordinance.” (App.

A, at p. 24). The “gauntlet” is fictional, in light of the

absence of findings and evidence in the record to sup-

port the approvals. The statement that “the record

before the district court manifests the conflicting evi-

dence as to the degree of potential injury” (App. A, at

p. 24) is mystifying. The environmental impact analyses

prepared with respect to each project required by the

TRPA ordinance (LUO §§ 8.25, 8.27) were prepared by

the applicants’ own consultants. Even so, the reports

conceded a number of adverse impacts, including traf-

fic, and air pollution to the point of violating applicable

federal standards. (Record, Pl. exh. 2 doc. 3, exh. 3 doc.

3, exh. 4 doc. 3.)

More importantly, the nuisance claim is at the plead-

ing stage—identical for comparison purposes to the

demurrer proceedings in the original action in this

Court, Missouri v. illinois & Chicago District, 180 U:S.

208 (1901). The Ninth Circuit in holding that the nui-

sance must be proven real and immediate and not

doubtful cited, but misapprehended, this Court’s deci-

sion. This Court held that such tests are irrelevant at the

inalilliis

pleading stage. 180 U.S. at 248-49.

The granting in this case of the motions to dismiss

without leave was affirmed. Yet “[a] complaint should

not be dismissed for failure to state a claim unless it

appears beyond doubt that the plaintiff can prove no set

of facts in support of his claim which would entitle him

to relief.” Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41, 45-46 (1957) (re-

versing dismissal) .

This Court has already discussed air pollution—one of

the principal nuisances alleged here:

“Air pollution is, of course, one of the most notori-

ous types of public nuisance in modern experience

. . . [(GJeophysical characteristics which define local

and regional airsheds are often significant considera-

tions in determining the steps necessary to abate air

pollution . . . Thus, measures which might be ade-

quate to deal with pollution in a city such as San

Francisco, might be grossly inadequate in a city such

as Phoenix, where geographical and meteorological

conditions trap aerosols and particulates.

“As a matter of law as well as practical necessity

corrective remedies for air pollution therefore nec-

essarily must be considered in the context of local-

ized situations.” Washington v. General Motors

Corp., 406 U.S. 109, 114-16 (1972).

The Court of Appeal’s opinion however ignores the

obvious, in denying the right of California to attempt to

prove its allegations at trial. Considering the world fa-

mous scenic beauty of the Lake Tahoe Basin, and the

susceptibility of the Basin to air and water pollution, the

traffic, water quality, and other impacts arising from >

“high-rise hotels and their occupants” may indeed, con-

— }

trary to the Court of Appeal’s decision (App. A, at p. 26),

constitute an enjoinable anticipatory nuisance.

The basis for the federal common law remedy, is that

a state has a quasi-sovereign right to protect its air and

forests and other resources from being destroyed or

threatened by the acts of persons beyond its control.

Georgia v. Tennessee Copper Co., 206 U.S. 230, 237-38

(1907).

“Thus, a State with high water quality standards

may well ask that its strict standards be honored and

that it not be compelled to lower itself to the more

degrading standards of a neighbor.” J//inois v. City of

Milwaukee, 406 U.S. 91, 107 (1972).

Here, a state has followed the preference of this Court

indicated by the refusal to exercise concurrent jurisdic-

tion in J/linois v. City of Milwaukee, by first filing this

case in the federal district court. It seems singularly

inappropriate to now fail to provide the state the benefit

of the controlling federal common law principles

heretofore established by this Court. There are two

means provided by the federal constitution for adjusting

interstate controversies; direct litigation is one, while

interstate compact is the other. Dyer v. Sims, 341 U.S. 22,

26-27, 31 (1951); Hinderliderv. La Plata Co., 304 U.S. 92,

110 (1938). It is respectfully submitted that when a

Court of Appeals errs badly in an interstate controversy,

a compelling case for review by this Court is presented.

Here, the Ninth Circuit has construed a compact and

ordinance to provide no protection at all. Then, the

Ninth Circuit interprets the compact which (1) is in-

tended to protect the environment, (2) preserves fed-

pa: ee

eral common law nuisance remedies, and (3) is to “be

reasonably and liberally construed to effectuate the pur-

poses thereof’, nevertheless to preclude the opportu-

nity for California to prove interstate nuisance

allegations at trial. This turns the compact upside down.

This is wrong.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, a writ of certiorari

should issue to review the judgment and opinion of the

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

DATED: July 5, 1979

Respectfully submitted,

GEORGE DEUKMEJIAN,

Attorney General of the

State of California

ROBERT HARVEY CONNETT and

E. CLEMENT SHUTE, JR.,

Assistant Attorneys

General, Of Counsel

E. ROBERT WRIGHT

LAURENS H. SILVER

SIERRA CLUB LEGAL DEFENSE FUND, INC.

311 California Street, Suite 311

San Francisco, California 94104

Telephone: (415) 396-1411

Attorney for Petititioners

League to Save Lake Tahoe

and Sierra Club

| APPENDIX A

§

aay ee

UNITED STATES COURT

OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

CALIFORNIA TAHOE REGIONAL PLAN-

NING AGENCY AND PEOPLE OF THE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

vs.

TED JENNINGS; OLIVER KAHLE; HAR-

VEY’S WAGON WHEEL, INC.; PARK

CATTLE CO., and COUNTY OF DOU-

GLAS,

Defendants-Appellees.

LEAGUE TO SAVE LAKE TAHOE; and

THE SIERRA CLUB,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

vs.

TED JENNINGS; OLIVER KAHLE; HAR-

VEY’S WAGON WHEEL, INC.; PARK

CATTLE CO.; DEL WEBB INTERNA-

TIONAL, INC.; COUNTY OF DOUGLAS,

Defendants-Appellees.

7

NOS. 78-1160

78-1224

OPINION

a? ee

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT

COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEVADA

Before: MERRILL and SNEED, Circuit Judges, and

LINDBERG,* District Judge.

SNEED, Circuit Judge:

Appellants appeal from the district court’s grant of

appellees’ motion to dismiss and denial of appellants’

motions for a temporary injunction and for summary

judgment in this suit to prevent the construction of four

hotel-casinos at the south shore of Lake Tahoe. The ap-

pellants are California Tahoe Regional Planning Agency

(CTRPA) and the State of California, the League to

Save Lake Tahoe (League), and the Sierra Club. The

appellees are Douglas County, Nevada, Ted Jennings,

Oliver Kahle, Harvey’s Wagon Wheel, Inc. (Harvey’s),

and Park Cattle Co. (Park), five in all. In their com-

plaints, all appellants assert that certain administrative

action of Douglas County violated the relevant portion

of the California-Nevada interstate compact to regulate

the Lake Tahoe Basin. The CTRPA and the State of

California allege a second cause of action in which they

assert a nuisance under federal common law against all

appellees except Park.' After a hearing, the district

court refused all relief to appellants and granted appel-

* Hon. William J. Lindberg, Senior United States District Judge for :

the District of Washington, sitting by designation.

a po

lees’ motion to dismiss. We affirm.

|. Factual Background.

A. Facts Directly Relevant To This Case.

This case is only the latest in a series of cases, a sketch

of which appears below, in which this court has been

called upon to intervene in, interpret, or implement the

provisions of the Tahoe Regional Planning Compact

(Compact). California and Nevada entered into this

Compact in 1968 and Congress gave its consent in De-

cember 1969. Public Law 91-148, 83 Stat. 360 (1969). The

Compact created a regional agency, the Tahoe Regional

Planning Agency (TRPA), with powers to regulate and

control development within the Lake Tahoe Basin by

adopting a regional plan and adopting all ordinances,

rules, regulations and policies necessary to effectuate

the plan. See League to Save Lake Tahoe v. Tahoe Re-

gional Planning Agency, 507 F.2d 517, 518 (9th Cir.

1974), cert. denied, 420 U.S. 974 (1975).

As this court previously noted:

Pursuant to its mandate, the TRPA adopted vari-

ous procedural regulations and imposed certain land

use, height and density restrictions applicable to de-

velopments in the Basin. If a builder wanted to de-

velop more than 200 square feet of land or to erect

certain types of structures, he was required first to

seek a permit from the local permit-issuing authority

(generally, the zoning authority of the county in

which the construction was to take place). The per-

mit-issuing authority, according to TRPA regula-

tions, was required to adhere to the policies and land

aeatienin

restrictions adopted by the TRPA but was granted

the power to issue variance permits under certain

circumstances.

- California ex rel. Younger v. Tahoe Regional Planning

Agency, 516 F.2d 215, 216 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 423

U.S. 868 (1975). The TRPA can review variance permits

issued by local zoning boards, but must act affirmatively

to reverse or modify the permit grant by a dual majority

within 60 days or the permit is “deemed approved” and

the action of the local authority stands. See California ex

rel. Younger v. Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, supra.

The TRPA adopted the ordinance at issue February

10, 1972. Land Use Ordinance § 7.13 limits the height of

buildings in tourist-commercial areas to 40 feet,

except that the permit-issuing authority, by adminis-

trative permit pursuant to Section 8.33, may author-

ize a greater height to the extent that the

permit-issuing authority determines that... (4)

such greater height will better promote the protec-

tion of the environment of the area.

Section 8.33 requires that before issuing an administra-

tive permit, a permit-issuing authority find that the par-

ticular use is not detrimental to the general welfare and

will not cause substantial environmental consequences.

Each of the four defendant hotel-casino builders re-

ceived administrative permits issued by the Douglas

County Commissioners after hearings and a presenta-

tion of evidence. The sizes of the projects ranged in

height from 100 feet (Kahle) to 193 feet (Harvey’s) ; in

number of hotel rooms from 446 (Park) to 960 (Kahle) ;

and in land coverage from 45% (Kahle) to 75% (Har-

_—

vey’s). Park received the first permit April 20, 1973;

Harvey’s received its permit, the last of the four, on June

20, 1973. The Douglas County Board issued written find-

ings for the Jennings and Kahle projects which merely

repeat verbatim the findings required by the Land Use

Ordinance, but issued no written findings with respect

to the Harvey’s and Park permits. As the next step, the

Nevada Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, a state

agency empowered to exercise environmental control

over gaming establishments in the Nevada side of the

Basin, approved each project.? Finally, as required by

TRPA ordinance, each project was presented to the

TRPA for review.’ In each case the TRPA failed to

achieve a dual majority as to the projects, and the

projects were “deemed approved.” * Measured by sixty

days from submittal to the TKPA, on September 20, 1973

Harvey’s project, the last of the four projects to be so

approved, received its so-called “default approval.”

The present appeal springs from two separate actions,

both filed in federal district court August 20, 1977, almost

four years after the default approvals. One count of each

complaint charges that each permit was invalid because

not in compliance with the 40 foot height limitation in

Land Use Ordinance (L.U.O.) § 7.13. California and the

CTRPA also claimed that the building of the projects

will result in a common law interstate nuisance adverse-

ly affecting California and its citizens. Defendants Jen-

nings, Kahle and Harvey’s moved to dismiss on

numerous grounds without answering the complaints.

Park answered and moved for summary judgment. Af-

ve ee

ter hearing oral argument and accepting submitted evi-

dence, the district court issued its opinion on October

20, 1977, dismissing appellants’ actions on several

grounds. While these cases were on appeal, this court, on

September 5, 1978, granted an injunction preventing

Harvey’s from commencing construction pending our

decision.

8B. A Sketch of Prior Litigation.

The present case is only one of several initiated in

response to appellees’ four projects. Various combina-

tions of plaintiffs and defendants have skirmished incon-

clusively in both federal and state court. In the first case,

filed September 20, 1973, the League and the Sierra

Club initiated a suit in federal district court against the

TRPA, Harvey’s and Park claiming that the TRPA failed

to comply with the Compact’s requirements and focus-

ing predominantly on the surface coverage provisions

adopted by the TRPA. This suit engendered two opin-

ions by this court; neither reached the substance of the

claim. Thus, in League to Save Lake Tahoe v. Tahoe

Regional Planning Agency, 507 F.2d 517 (9th Cir. 1974),

after the district court first dismissed the action for lack

of subject-matter jurisdiction, we reversed, holding that

interpretation of an interstate compact raised a federal

question. After remand, in League to Save Lake Tahoe

v. Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, 558 F.2d 914 (9th

Cir. 1977), we reversed a second dismissal seemingly

premised upon impermissible joinder. Subsequent to.

these two reversals, the parties voluntarily dismissed a

eos

third appeal from a denial of a preliminary injunction.

In a second suit, filed August 7, 1974, the State of

California attacked the validity of the Jennings and Ka-

hle permits asserting that the permits could not be con-

sidered “deemed approved” because the TRPA’s vote

had failed to yield a dual majority. This court upheld the

district court’s interpretation of the Compact to the ef-

fect that a dual majority was required before any “ac-

tion” could be taken, and that therefore the failure of a

vote to yield a dual majority means that “the local per-

mit issuing authority in effect stands affirmed.” Ca/ifor-

nia ex rel. Younger v. Tahoe Regional Planning Agency,

516 F.2d 215, 219 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 868

(1975). Afterwards, the district court dismissed the ac-

tion “pursuant to the opinion and mandate of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit” on Octo- .

ber 15, 1975.

The League filed suit against the TRPA and all appel-

lees in Nevada state court on August 16, 1974. It claimed

that the permit issuances violated TRPA ordinances and

state and local permit requirements. The League assert-

ed the same lack of findings and insubstantial evidence

claims raised in the present suit. The trial court dis-

missed the action in September 1975 because the

League failed to qualify to do business as a corporation

in Nevada prior to filing the complaint. The Nevada

Supreme Court affirmed the lower court, going on to

state that refiling would be barred by the Nevada 25-day

limitation period (N.R.S. § 278.027) for challenges to ‘lo-

cal land approvals. League to Save Lake Tahoe v. Tahoe

=— 10 —

Regional Planning Agency, 563 P.2d 582 (Nev. 1977).

Finally, the League filed suit May 3, 1976 in federal

district court contending that air quality certificates for

the Jennings and Kahle projects had been issued in viola-

tion of the Clean Air Act. Dismissed on jurisdictional

grounds by the district court, this suit is presently on

appeal to this court. League to Save Lake Tahoe v.

Trounday, Ninth Circuit No. 77-2058.

ll. Issues To Be Resolved In This Appeal.

To dispose of this appeal we must confront four clus-

ters of issues. Initially, we must decide whether we have

jurisdiction to consider the issues that this appeal pre-

sents. Because we conclude that jurisdiction exists, we

then must turn to whether L.U.O. §7.13 permits

projects whose height corresponds to that of the appel-

lees’ projects. As we hold that such projects are not un-

conditionally barred by L.U.O. §7.13, we then must

consider whether the process by which Douglas County

approved these permits is subject to attack on any valid

grounds. Finally, we shall consider whether California

can maintain an action in the circumstances of this case

under federal common law for interstate nuisance. To

these matters we now turn.

Ill. Jurisdiction.

Generally, ques:ions concerning the interpretation

and application of TRPA ordinances do present federal

questions. League to Save Lake Tahoe v. BJ.K. Corp.,

547 F.2d 1072, 1075 (9th Cir. 1976). But in BK. Corp.

=

we recognized that questions arising under the TRPA

ordinances did not invariably present federal questions;

rather we adopted a pragmatic approach to determine

“when construction of the Land Use Ordinance itself

presents a federal question.” 547 F.2d at 1074. The touch-

stone we fashioned is

whether interstate conflicts in the interpretation and

application of the Ordinance may arise that may sub-

stantially affect the effective functioning of the Com-

pact and whether, absent a federal trial forum

existing judicial mechanisms supply a practical

means for resolving such conflicts.

1d.

Application of the Ordinance to this case is not dif-

ficult. The proper interpretaion of L.U.O. § 7.13 lies at

the heart of this litigation. Appellants argue that the

40-foot height limitation is mandatory and that signifi-

cant departures can be approved only in accordance

with the principles that govern the granting of a vari-

ance from zoning regulations. Appellees view the mat-

ter differently. Were resolution of this dispute left to the

courts of Nevada and California differing interpreta-

tions of L.U.O. § 7.13 could result. This would impair the

effective functioning of the Compact. This is enough to

indicate that we have jurisdiction to decide this case.*

IV. The Proper Interpretation of L.U.O. § 7.13.

Section 7.13 of the Land Use Ordinance specifies

height limitations for projects in the Tahoe Basin.* In

this case, as already indicated, the applicable limit is 40

feet. The section provides that local permit-issuing au-

= 13

thorities can authorize heights in excess of 40 feet to the

extent that they determine that four factors have been

considered, the final one being that the greater height

“will better promote the protection of the environment

in the aree.” It further states that only permits for struc-

tures of 45 feet or more are subject to TRPA review.

Appellants contend that §7.13 did not comprehend

projects such as appellees’. They argue that the section

should be read to establish an absolute height limit, or

at least to prohibit the material variations present in

“high rise” structures.

We begin our analysis with the recognition that “the

Compact and the TRPA are sui generis offsprings of a

marriage between soverign partners. .. .” California

ex rel. Younger v. Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, 516

F.2d at 218. Section 7.13 cannot be analyzed merely as

a traditional zoning ordinance, subject to limited vari-

ances. Nor do we think that characterizing the permit as

a “special use” permit rather than a “variance” aids the

interpretation of L.U.O. § 7.13. Our duty is to interpret

the language of the Ordinance in an unstrained manner

and in a way that conforms to the design of the Com-

pact.” Focusing initially on the Compact, it is clear that

it was not designed to stop economic development in

the Tahoe Basin. Article I(c) states that the parties

sought to create a “regional plan of resource conserva-

tion and orderly development.” (italics added) . The or-

dinance in question was designed to foster the

orderliness of development. Does it do so by prohibiting

heights significantly in excess of 40 feet? We think not.

oe ee |

ita ns

In the first place, section 7.13 on its face contemplates

heights in excess of 45 feet. Projects in excess of that

height are subject to TRPA review. Review would not

be necessary if such projects were proscribed. It is not

possible to state with certainty that 100 to 200 foot

heights were contemplated, but nothing in the ordi-

nance explicitly forbids such heights. At the time the

Compact was formed and this Ordinance adopted sev-

eral structures in the Basin were of a height substantially

in excess of 40 feet. This strongly suggests that no max-

imum height was established in the Ordinance so long

as the four conditions set out in § 7.13 are met pursuant

to proceedings that conform to L.U.O. § 8.33.°

This court previously has recognized that the Com-

pact is not the powerful antigrowth measure that some

people would wish it to be. California ex rel. Younger v.

Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, 516 F. 2d at 220. The

process through which section 7.13 was adopted con-

formed to that required by the Compact. Had it been

intended to prohibit all high rise construction that inten-

tion surely could have been expressed more clearly. Al-

though many undoubtedly believe that heights in excess

of 40 feet cannot possibly “better promote the protec-

tion of the environment,” the Ordinance does not incor-

porate that belief. We therefore reject the appellants’

interpretation of section 7.13.°

V. Attacks On the Douglas County Permits

Under the Compact, the TRPA has delegated the ini-

tial permit granting function to local authorities. Such

icoisi Sas

action is consistent with the jealous retention of sove-

reignty by the two parties to the Compact. The Douglas

County Commissioners issued these permits, pursuant

to authority delegated by the TRPA, after applying

standards created by the TRPA. Although the Ordi-

nance does not specify the procedures to be used by

local permit-issuing authorities, section 3.00 does define

an “Administrative Permit” as “A permit issued by a

permit-issuing authority in accordance with its proce-

dures.” (italics added). The Ordinance thus clearly in-

tended local administrative procedures to apply to the

initial issuance. Once issued, § 4.32 subjects these per-

mits to TRPA review, according to the TRPA’s own

procedures.

A. Reviewability.

Appellants ask us to reach past the TRPA default ap-

proval of these projects and to review the validity of the

Douglas County permit issuance. Appellees suggest that

default approval immunizes Douglas County’s issuance

from such review. Therefore, we must decide whether

under the circumstances of this case the local permit-

issuing authority action is subject to review and, if so,

under what standards.

We begin by recognizing that thir ase would present

a different question if the TRPA approval was other than

by default. In the Younger decision, analyzing the “dual

majority” requirement of § 4.32, this court stated;

[T]he TRPA has broad discretion to reject or approve

on the merits each building permit request. Howev- —

er, the TRPA’s power of de novo review is fully exer-

an Hae

cised only when a dual majority for or against a pro-

posal is reached.

516 F.2d at 219.

Younger characterized a split vote as no “decision.” Al-

though the court stated that the decision of the local

authority in effect stands affirmed, this only described

the operational effect of the TRPA’s failure to reach a

final decision. This failure should not provide the immu-

nity from review that full de novo review and dual ma-

jority approval by the TRPA might. Younger teaches

that under the circumstances of this case TRPA’s power

of de novo review was not fully exercised. Nothing in the

Compact or Ordinance suggests that when that is the

case the processes of the permit-issuing authority must

be considered as valid whether in conformity with its

own rules or not. In the absence of such a provision, the

presence of which would be anomolous in any event, we

believe the processes employed by Douglas Ccunty are

subject to judicial review. Therefore, we reject the ap-

pellees’ contention that default approvals immunize

Douglas County’s issuance of the permits from judicial

review.

B. Limitations.

We immediately confront an additional problem,

however. These actions were filed more than three

years after the default approvals. We must decide what

limitations period, if any, is applicable. The issue is not

a simple one, but we hold that appellants’ attack, to the

extent it rests solely on compliance with the procedural

requirements applicable to Douglas County’s issuance

— 16—

of the permits, ‘3 barred by Nevada's limitations provi-

sions.

We recognize that by consenting to the Compact,

Congress transformed the agreement of California and

Nevada into federal law. League to Save Lake ‘Tahoe v.

Tahoe Regional Agency, 507 F.2d 517, 523 n. 13 (9th Cir.

1974), cert. denied, 420 U.S. 974 (1975); Jacobson v.

Tahge Regional Planning Agency, 566 F.2d 1353 (9th

Cir. 1977), cert. granted, sub. nom. Lake Country Es-

tates, Inc. v. Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, 436 U.S.

943 (1978). Moreover, as already indicated, ‘“‘questions

concerning the interpretation and application of TRPA

ordinances present federal questions under 1331 (a).”

League to Save Lake Tahoe v. BJ.K. Corp., 547 F.2d

1072, 1075 (9th Cir. 1976). But by consenting to the Com-

pact, Congress did no more than incorporate the agree-

ment of the two parties into the body of federal law; it

did not make applicable to the agreement the entire

panoply of federa/ administrative and substantive stand-

ards. It cannot be gainsaid that the understanding of

Congress about the meaning of the Compact is impor-

tant; but the actual agreement of the States is certainly

no less so. We believe that the »roper balance between

the respective sovereigns requires that the intention of

the two States, acting through the TRPA, govern the

meaning of the L.U.O. to the extent that intention is not

in conflict with the Compact itself.

To discover this intent the starting point is that TRPA

delegated to local permit-issuing authorities the power

to issue administrative permits in accordance with their

a 17 «=

normal procedures. L.U.O. § 3.00. A “Permit-Issuing Au-

thority” is the local government which has the authority

and obligation to enforce the Ordinance. Each State

establishes the authority of, and manner in which, per-

mit-issuing authorities operate. By delegating initial per-

mit issuing to units of local government, creatures of the

laws of the individual states, the TRPA recognized the

importance attributed by the two States to retention of

their substantially unimpaired sovereignty. The TRPA

did not seek to establish one uniform procedural proc-

ess, rather it established a single standard to be applied

by state entities according to their traditional land use

determination procedure. The TRPA retained, of

course, discretionary power to overturn or modify this

decision if it so chose.

An integral part of the procedures through which lo-

cal authorities grant land use permits is the manner for

contesting the local administrative decisions. An impor-

tant component of this is the period within which chal-

lenges to an administrative decision can be brought.

This period establishes the finality of local land use deci-

sions and thus is part of the “procedures” by which per-

mits are granted. That period should be applicable in

this case. Here we do not confront a direct attack on an

action of the TRPA or a call for an interpretation of the

substance of the Ordinance, for which a stronger argu-

ment for a uniform limitations period exists. By leaving

intact the normal local land use planning procedures in

the case of default approvals, different practices were

necessarily foreseen by the draftsmen of the Ordinance.

=-_- 18 —

So long as review of local zoning approvals is not barred

altogether or unreasonably restricted by the state re-

view provisions, differences in limitations periods can-

not be said to disrupt the effectiveness of the Compact.

Appellants, nonetheless, contend that they assert a

federally created right for equitable relief, to which

state limitations should not apply. Holmberg v. Arm-

brecht, 327 U.S. 392, 395-98 (1948); Willis v. Reddin, 418

F.2d 702 (9th Cir. 1969). That doctrine has no applica-

tion in this case. Nor can this case be characterized as a

federal action seeking the vindication of a public right.

Occidental Life Insurance Co. v. EEOC, 432 U.S. 355,

366-72 (1977), affg 535 F.2d 533, 537 (9th Cir. 1976).

Here we sit neither as a court in a diversity action, apply-

ing state law, nor as a court interpreting a purely federal

statutory right and borrowing an appropriate state limi-

tations period. Rather we sit to prevent an impairment

of the effective functioning of the Compact. As we see

it, this functioning is best promoted by adhering closely

to both the letter and the spirit of the Compact and

Ordinance.

So inclined, we are convinced that the Ordinance de-

fers issues of local permit issuance validity to state deter-

minations.'° Only when the state determination

misinterprets the Compact or the ordinances, or its pro-

cedure fails to provide adequate review to assure com-

pliance with the local procedures, should we impose a

federal limitations period whether that period be bor-

rowed or cast in the form of laches. The distinction

between the position we occupy in this proceeding and

== 19 ..

that when applying a federal statute is underscored

when it is remembered that under the Compact each

State reserved the power to withdraw from the Com-

pact at any time without federal approval. Compact,

Article VIII(c). The states, California and Nevada, are

thus the primary source of our charter. It is consistent

with this reality ordinarily to allow state procedures to

control.

The district court held that these actions were barred

by Nevada Revised Statutes § 278.027.!! That section re-

quires that an action to review a land use classification

or any special use or variance authorized by N.RS.

§§ 278.010 to 278.030, inclusive, must be commenced

within 25 days of the filing of final notice of the action.

Nevada Revised Statutes § 278.025(1) subordinates the

powers of local zoning authorities to those of the TRPA,

but provides that such local powers shall be exercised

wherever appropriate in furtherance of a plan adopted

by the TRPA. Thus, administrative permits issued under

the delegated powers of the Land Use Ordinance are

authorized by the applicable statutory provisions and

subject to the 25-day limitation in N.R.S. § 278.027.

This latter statute was construed in the Nevada state

court action which was commenced by the League and

filed within the 25-day limitation period. In that action,

the Nevada Supreme Court, as indicated above, upheld

the trial court’s dismissal of the action on the ground

that the League had failed to comply with a prerequisite

for bringing suit, i.e., that the League had failed to quali-

fy to do business as a corporation prior to filing its com-

oe

plaint. League to Save Lake Tahoe v. Tahoe Regional

Planning Agency, 563 P.2d 582 (Nev. 1977). The court

also stated, however, that the League could not refile its

suit. The court construed N.R.S. § 278.027 to bar actions

commenced more than 25 days after a permit is

“deemed approved” through TRPA inaction. For the

purposes of these proceedings we adopt Nevada's con-

struction of IN.R.S. § 278.027. The appellants’ challenge of

the Douglas County permits in these proceedings are

thus barred by N.R.S. § 278.027."*

In so holding, we emphasize that effective land use

decisions in particular must be reliable. Those who go

before administrative agencies with development

projects after a certain period should be allowed to rely

on a decision rendered by the particular agency. Of

course a balance must be struck between the conven-

ience of developers on the one hand and, on the other

hand, the public interest in assuring that laws enacted to

protect land use planning are not circumvented by cur-

sory administrative action that becomes unreviewable

before the public becomes informed. N.R.S. § 278.027, as

construed by the Nevada Supreme Court, permits no

such circumvention. It bars review of administrative

permits granted under TRPA standards unless an action

is filed within 25 days of the time that the permit is

“deemed approved” by TRPA inaction.'® A permit is

“deemed approved” only if the TRPA takes no action

within 60 days of submittal to the agency. When a per-

mit receives a default approval, parties concerned with

administrative action of a local permit-issuing authority

a

in Nevada thus have 85 days from the public filing of the

permit by the local permit granting authority with the

TRPA to investigate the existence of a cause of action.

This minimum 85-day period from local permit issuance

is not so short a period that concerned parties are barred

effectively from assuring compliance with proper proce-

dures. The fact that one such party managed to meet the

mig on this case indicates the manageability of this

t.

Therefore the Douglas County Commissioners’ action

cannot be challenged because of an alleged deficiency

in its administrative discharge. Inasmuch as the permits

were thereafter deemed approved by the TRPA and

have been found not to violate the substantive terms of

the Ordinance, they are valid in all respects.

Vi. Federal Common Law Nuisance Claim.

Finally, we turn to the request by the State of Califor-

nia and the CTRPA that Jennings’, Kahle’s and Harvey’s

projects be enjoined on the ground that their develop-

ment will result in an interstate nuisance. They premise

this claim not on any statute, but upon federal common

law. The district court dismissed the claim. As we hold

that the appellants did not state a claim for common law

nuisance under these circumstances, we affirm.

Appellants do not seek to stop an existing activity on

the part of appellees that constitutes a nuisance extend-

ing across state boundaries. Instead they seek to enjoin

a threatened or apprehended nuisance. Before deter-

mining whether appellants’ action will be suck under

_ -e

these circumstances, we must decide whether this com-

mon law remedy has been precluded by Congressional

action.

Appellees contend that even if an action for federal

common law nuisance exists, such action is precluded

either by the Compact itself, the Clean Air Act, or the

Federal Water Pollution Control Act (FWPCA). When

Congress approved the Compact, it appended Article

VIII, § 5 to the Compact specifically providing:

{NJothing contained in this Act or in the compact

consented to shall in any way affect. . . the applica-

bility of any law or regulation of the United States in,

over, or to the region or waters which are the subject

of this compact... .

We believe this provision clearly indicates that the Com-

pact itself does not preclude the application of federal

common law nuisance doctrines. However, although the

Compact does not affect the applicability of federal

common law nuisance principles, the operation of the

Compact may influence the factors that should be

weighed in applying these principles and doctrines. It is

clear, however, that given an appropriate situation, such

an action may be maintained.

The federal pollution control laws also do not pre-

clude this action. The Clean Air Act and the FWPCA

each have “citizen suits” provisions professing not to

“restrict any right which any person. . . may have un-

der any statute or common law ... .” 42 U.S.C.

§ 7604(e), 33 U.S.C. § 1365(e). This exclusion is even

broader than that present in the Compact. Moreover,

the Supreme Court held in 1972 that the FWPCA had

ea.

not yet occupied the field, I//inois v. City of Milwaukee,

406 U.S. 91 (1972), and courts have continued so to hold

even after the enactment of the 1972 amendments. J/-

linois ex rel. Scott v. City of Milwaukee, 366 F. Supp. 298

(N.D. Ill. 1973); United States ex rel. Scott v. United

States Steel Corp., 356 F. Supp. 556, 559 (N.D. Ill. 1973);

United States v. Ira S. Bushey & Sons, Inc., 346 F. Supp.

145, 149 (D. Vt. 1972), aff'd, 487 F.2d 1393 (2d Cir. 1973),

cert. denied, 417 U.S. 976 (1974). See United States v.

Stoeco Homes, Inc., 498 F.2d 597, 611 (3d Cir. 1974) , cert.

denied, 420 U.S. 927 (1975). We decline the invitation to

draw a different conclusion. |

The Supreme Court has recognized the validity of

federal common law nuisance actions instituted by one

state to enjoin damaging activities carried on in another.

Illinois v. City of Milwaukee, 406 U.S. 91 (1972); Georgia

v. Tennessee Copper Co., 206 U.S. 230 (1907); Missouri

v. Illinois, 180 U.S. 208 (1901). And the equitable powers

of the federal courts are not limited to stopping nui-

sances already in operation. Long ago the Supreme

Court noted that courts of equity “can, not only prevent

nuisances that are threatened, and before irreparable

mischief ensues, but arrest or abate those in progress

.... Mugler v. Kansas, 123 U.S. 623, 673 (1887). The

exercise of these equitable powers, however, requires

great certainty, and the standards for enjoining a threat-

ened nuisance are stricter than those for stopping an

existing nuisance.'*

wesliias

{I]t is settled that an injunction to restrain a nuisance

will issue only in cases where the fact of nuisance is

made out upon determinate and satisfactory evi-

dence; that if the evidence be conflicting and the

injury be doubtful, that conflict and doubt will be a

ground for withholding an injunction; and that,

where interposition by injunction is sought, to re-

strain that which it is apprehended will create a nui-

sance . . . the proofs must show such a state of facts

as will manifest the danger to be rea/ and immediate.

Missouri v. Illinois, 180 U.S. at 248 (emphasis added).

Appellants assert that appellees’ projects indirectly

will create a nuisance—that they will attract more

people and cars to the Basin, and that inevitably a nui-

sance will result. We cannot agree. Appellants’ allega-

tion is insufficient to establish that the danger of a

nuisance in this case is real and immediate. Without

more, appellants at this preliminary stage have not met

the requirements set forth in Missouri v. Illinois, supra.

In so holding we must remember that these projects

have passed through the gauntlet of approval estab-

lished by the Compact and the Ordinance.'* The record

before the district court manifests the conflicting evi-

dence as to the degree of potential injury. This court

cannot set its face against these facts merely because we

as citizens might prefer that all development be barred

from the Tahoe Basin. Much of modern life is distasteful,

but the federal common law of nuisance bestows upon

us no power to root out that which happens to offend

both us and a vigorous plaintiff.

Only two previous federal cases have involved threat-

ened nuisances. Neither provides a precedent for what

the appellants seek here. In Missouri v. Illinois, supra,

Missouri brought a direct suit in the Supreme Court to

enjoin Mlinois and the Sanitary District of Chicago from

using a channel built to divert 1,500 tons of untreated

sewage a day from Lake Michigan to tributaries which

joined the Mississippi River 43 miles above St. Louis. The

Court stated that the case involved a bill alleging, in

explicit terms, that “damage and irreparable injury

would naturally and necessarily be occasioned by acts of

the defendants. . ..” 180 U.S. at 248. In this case, no such

direct and immediate connection exists. Moreover, by

the time the Supreme Court decided the case, the chan-

nel had been in operation one year and the real and

immediate threat of a nuisance had become a pollution-

ful reality.

In a more recent case, Texas v. Pankey, 441 F.2d 236

(10th Cir. 1971), the Tenth Circuit recognized that a

threatened nuisance could be enjoined. It reversed a

district court dismissal for lack of jurisdiction of a federal

common law negligence action to enjoin the use, both

actual and threatened, of a certain pesticide on lands

that drained into a river flowing into Texas. Both the

district court and the Tenth Circuit Court initially had

denied preliminary injunctions. By the time the circuit

court issued its opinion holding that federal jurisdiction

existed, actual spraying had occurred. To avoid the de-

fendant’s suggestion that the suit was moot, the court

characterized the action as one to enjoin further spray-

ing. The opinion does not discuss the problems that nor-

mally attend an effort to enjoin a threatened nuisance.

This case is unique. California entered a Compact,

lafér approved by Congress, to help coordinate and con-

trol growth and development in the Tahoe Basin. As

equal parties in the interstate agency developed under

the Compact, California participated in the adoption of

a regional plan and ordinances to regulate new construc-

tion in the Basin. Pursuant to established procedures the

appellants’ projects, which do not violate the ordi-

nances’ substantive provisions, have been approved.

Now California seeks to prevent construction of these

projects by invoking the equitable powers of the federal

courts to enjoin interstate nuisances. Fundamentally, it

contends the projects will harm the environment of the

region. This may be so, but not every injury to the envi-

ronment is a nuisance under the federal common law. A

fortiori, not every threatened injury can be enjoined as

a potential nuisance. The line is not a bright one, but we

cannot consider high rise hotels and their occupants as

indistinguishable from untreated sewage, noxious gases,

and poisonous pesticides.

We therefore affirm the judgment of the district court

and lift our injunction preventing Harvey’s from com-

mencing construction.

AFFIRMED.

att tke

FOOTNOTES

' The State of California and the CTRPA have abandoned their

wees against Park, therefore the federal common law interstate

n ce action remains only against the other Cony

2 The Nevada Tahoe Regional Planning Agency ( PA) did not

come into existence as a functioning legal ey until April 30

1973, ten days after the vesenes Coun mmissioners a proved

the Park permit. Nevertheless, the Park project received ap-

roval from NTRPA on ne 14, 197

® on 4.10 of the Land Use ce specifies two instances in

which a permit is required before construction of a project can

be commenced: (1) any project that will cover more 200

square feet; (2) any construction that requires an administrative

permit or variance permit under one or more of the substantive

requirements of other sections of the Ordinance. Section 4.30 sets

out the process for Agency review of these locally issued ts.

Permits issued under § 4.10(1) above do not require TRPA re-

view. ($431). The local permit-issuing authority must notify

TRPA of ali applications for and issuances of permits. Section 4.34

requires that permits issued under § 4.10(2) , such as those at issue

in this case, be screened by the TRPA staff for review. The staff

then must make a report with a recommendation to the TRPA

and oa hecies Cormar Caamaieien wer votpomabie 60 noth

an u un on was r e to no

TRPA that the Broeny issued.

«The TRPA staff recommended denial of the Jennings and Kahle

permits, but on July 25, 1974 the TRPA failed to reach a dual

majority. Although all five California representatives voted

against the projects, three of the five Nevada representatives

voted for approval. The Harvey’s Project also received a negative

staff recommendation, but four of five Nevada representatives

and two of five California representatives voted to approve the

project. Park's project had a positive staff recommendation, but

a majority of California representatives voted against the

roject.

° dootuee this federal question is substantial, dant jurisdiction

supported the district court’s treatment of the attack on the pro-

cedural aspects of the Douglas County action. We therefore need

- wae whether a simp eran 7 henge Aa cor ey grant

a permit-issuing au ty un Ordinance w

itself su federal jurisdiction.

* Section 7.13 of the Or provides, in part:

No building or other structure erected in any land use district

shall have a height ter than that ed below except

that the permit- authority, by administrative permit

pursuant to 8.33, may authorize a greater height to the extent

——

a,

that the permit-issuing authority determines that (1) provision

has been made for ection from fire hazards and against

aviation accidents; (2) consideration has been given to the

protection of view and to the character of the neighborhood;

(3) proper provision has been made for light and air; and (4)

such greater height will better promote the protection of the

environment in the area. Only those administrative —

that allow a building or other structure of a height of 45 feet or

nae shall be subject to Agency review pursuant to Section

7 This court previously isolated the task a court must face in ap-

proaching the Compact and the Land Use Ordinance:

California makes a critical error in likening the Compact to

ordinary. soning l tion and the TRPA to a typical zoning

board. In in the provisions of the unique statutory

scheme involved here we must look not to Robert's Rules of

Order or decisions dealing with the votes of zoning boards, but

instead to the actual e used, as viewed against the back-

drop of the Compact’s oe history.

ex rel. Younger v. Regional Planning Agency, 516

F.2d at 218.

® Section 8.33 states:

eee a ow be issued nef ne eng A vag uses vf

purposes for w such permits are r terms o

this ordinance. Such permit may be ranted only if it is found

by the permit-issuing authority that the establishment, mainte-

nance, or operation of the use or purpose in the cular case

is not detrimental to health, safety, peace, morals, comfort and

pase welfare of persons residing or wor in the neighbor-

of such proposed use, or detrimental or injurious to prop-

ony ae pee wesene in the neighborhood or to the general

we of on, and will not cause ay substantial harm-

ful environmental consequences on the land of the applicant or

on other lands or waters.

® Appellants make the ar nt that this Ordinance provision is

olated as a matter of law when no trade-off is established

between height and land coverage. Because in this case such a

trade-off , we do not reach appellants’ contention.

‘© Because whether substantial evidence supported the local deter-

mination or whether written findings of the local permit-issuing

neers oe somnnad Secate ts of the local permit-issuing

and e these are issues of state law and not inter-

pretations Ordinance. They can therefore be reviewed

only to the extent the state ures allow review, so long as

some for challe exists.

ittmeameiia

278.027 Ji relief, review of actions, decisions of governing 3

bodies: Time for commencement. No action or proceedin

shall be commenced for the purpose of seeking judicial relief

a= 99 ..

or review from or with respect to any final action, decision or

order of any governing body, commission or board granting or

changing any land use classification or granting an al use

or variance authorized by N.R.S. §§ 278.010 to 278.030, inclu-

sive, unless such action or proceeding is commenced within 25

days from the date of filing of notice of such final action with

the clerk or secretary of such governing body, commission or

'2 We reject the State of California’s argument that limitations are

not space to it because it is a sovereign. Irrespective of the

validity of this argument otherwise, California is not a sovereign

to enforce pr ural compliance with Nevada local land use

planning decisions.

se peg cpee also assert that § 278.027 requires the filing of notice

al action with the clerk or secretary of the local -

issuing authority after the default approval and that no such filing

was made with Douglas County in this case. The Nevada Su-

preme Court, however, construed the statute to preclude actions

commenced more than 25 days after an action was “deemed

approved.” to Save Tahoe v. Tahoe Regional Plan-

ning Agency, P.2d 582 (Nev. 1977). The court did not discuss

the filing question. By hol as it did, however, the court ap-

ars not to require a filing su uent to the default approval.

e adopt this view.

‘4 The standard courts have ny “Ty to threatened nuisances has

been distilled in 58 Am. Jur. 147, pp. 724-26:

{I}t is established that a court of equity may enjoin a threatened

or anticipated nuisance, public or private, where it clearly ap-

peers that a nuisance necessarily result from the contem-

plated act... .

A proposed use of land will not be restrained where it will

not inevitably constitute a nuisance. If the complainant's right

is doubtful, or the thing which it is sought to restrain . . . will

not ge reeot 4 become a nuisance, but may or may not become

such, depending on the use or manner of operation, or other

circumstances, equity will not interfere.

Id. (em hasis added, footnotes omitted), citing Missouri v. II-

linois, 180 U.S. 208 (1901). :

'®In holding that the Compact approval mechanism affects the

viability of an anticipatory federal common law nuisance action,

we do not imply that governmental approval of these projects

precludes a nuisance action at such time in the future as r-

nia can allege that it clearly appears that a nuisance necessarily

will result. We hold only that at this time a prospective nuisance

cannot necessarily result from this pro t which does not conflict

with the ny eye plan adopted by states under the Compact

and which has been approved in compliance with the Land Use

Ordinance adopted by the TRPA.

i. pe

APPENDIX B

an

UNITED STATES COURT

OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

CALIFORNIA TAHOE REGIONAL PLAN-

NING AGENCY and PEOPLE OF THE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

vs.

TED JENNINGS; OLIVER KAHLE; HAR-

VEY’S WAGON WHEEL, INC.; PARK CAT-

TLE CO., and COUNTY OF DOUGLAS,

Defendants-Appellees.

LEAGUE TO SAVE LAKE TAHOE; and THE

SIERRA CLUB,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

vs.

TED JENNINGS; OLIVER KAHLE; HAR-

VEY’S WAGON WHEEL, INC.; PARK CAT-

TLE CO.; DEL WEBB INTERNATIONAL,

INC.; COUNTY OF DOUGLAS,

Defendants-Appellees.

a

of

NOS. 78-1160

78-1224

ORDER

pn ae

Before: MERRILL and SNEED, Circuit Judges, and

LINDBERG,* District Judge

The panel as constituted in the above case has voted

to deny the petition for rehearing. Judge Sneed has vot-

ed to reject the suggestion for a rehearing in banc, and

Judges Merrill and Lindberg have recommended rejec-

tion of the suggestion for rehearing in banc.

The full court has been advised of the suggestion for

in banc rehearing, and no judge of the court has request-

ed a vote on the suggestion for rehearing in banc. Fed.

R. App. P. 35(b).

The petition for rehearing is denied and the sugges-

tion for a rehearing in banc is rejected.

* Hon. William J. Lindberg, Senior United States District Judge, for

the District of Washington, sitting by designation.

APPENDIX C

nk OR tin

IN THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEVADA

HONORABLE BRUCE R. THOMPSON, JUDGE

CALIFORNIA TAHOE REGIONAL PLAN-

NING AGENCY; and PEOPLE OF THE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Plaintiffs,

vs.

TED JENNINGS; OLIVER KAHLE; HAR-

VEY’S WAGON WHEEL, INC.; PARK

CATTLE CO.; and COUNTY OF DOU-

GLAS,

Defendants.

LEAGUE TO SAVE LAKE TAHOE; SI-

ERRA CLUB,

Plaintiffs,

vs.

TED JENNINGS; OLIVER KAHLE; HAR-

VEY’S WAGON WHEEL, INC.; PARK

CATTLE CO.; DEL WEBB INTERNA-

TIONAL, INC.; COUNTY OF DOUGLAS,

Defendants.

. No. R-77-0158-BRT

| No, R-77-0159-BRT

a

REPORTER'S TRANSCRIPT OF PROCEEDINGS

VOLUME Ill

Pages 332 to 525

ALLAN D. BUNNELL,

Official Reporter.

Reno, Nevada, Thursday, October 20, 1977, 9:00 o’clock a.m.

THE COURT: This morning we have two separate

actions before the Court: California Tahoe Regional

Planning Agency and People of the State of California

against Ted Jennings, Oliver Kahle, Harvey’s Wagon

Wheel, Park Ca**!e Company and the County of Dou-

glas; and, also, the action of the League to Save Lake

Tahoe and the Sierra Club against Ted Jennings, Oliver

Kahle, Harvey’s Wagon Wheel, Park Cattle Company,

Del Webb International, Inc., and the County of Dou-

glas.

Inasmuch as Del Webb International, Inc., has been

dismissed as a defendant, the defendants in each case

are identical; and the issues involved in each case are

identical except insofar as the standing of any particular

plaintiff to maintain the action is concerned.

Most of the problems presented in these cases are far

from new. Initially, the League to Save Lake Tahoe and

others, as plaintiffs, brought an action in the Eastern

District of California against the Tahoe Regional Plan-

ning Agency and certain individual defendants; Thomas .

Raley, Park Cattle Company and Harvey’s Wagon

=

Wheel; two of those defendants being involved in the

instant actions before this Court.

The thrust of that particular complaint was that the

Tahoe Regional Planning Agency itself had failed to

comply with the provisions of the Interstate Compact,

had conducted itself in violation of the provisions of the

Interstate Compact, and had granted approval to the

development of projects of the defendants Thomas Ra-

ley, Park Cattle Company and Harvey’s Wagon Wheel

in violation of the Compact.

The legal issue involved in the particular case was

whether or not Federal question jurisdiction could be

predicated upon an alleged violation of or an alleged

misinterpretation of the provisions of an interstate com-

pact. And the opinion of the Ninth Circuit Court of

Appeals, written by District Judge Renfrew, sustained

jurisdiction under 28 USC 1331 (a) over a case involving

the construction of the Tahoe Regional Compact. That

case was then returned to the District court for the

Eastern District of California for further proceedings. In

the meantime the State of California on the relation of

the Attorney General of California brought an action in

this court entitled People of the State of California on

Relation of Evelle Younger, Attorney General, against

the Tahoe Regional Planning Agency. The named de-

fendants in that case were Mr. Ted Jennings, who is a

defendant in these cases; Mr. Oliver Kahle, who is a

defendant in these cases. And in that action it was con-

tended that the granting of administrative permits for

the construction of the two hotels contemplated by Mr.

en

Jennings and Mr. Kahle was in violation of the Interstate

Compact, and that they should be enjoined because the

constitution of the Tahoe Regional Planning Agency;

namely, the Interstate Compact, had to be interpreted

so as to ignore the plain language of the Compact and

not to give effect to the provision for automatic approval

of a proposal where a dual majority against the proposal

had not been obtained by vote of the Agency.

I think it is important that we recall the provision of

the opinion in 516 F. 2nd 215, as follows:

“By virtue of Article VI (k), which provides in

such a case that the project be deemed approved,

the decision of the local permit-issuing authority in

effect stand affirmed. Such a reading of the Com-

pact, notwithstanding California’s protestations to

the contrary, does not gut its provisions nor frus-

trate its purposes. The District Court's interpreta-

tion of Articles III (g) and VI (k), which we affirm,

gives effect to the statutory scheme carefully de-

vised by two states reluctant to relinquish very

much sovereignty. That the Compact may not be a

powerful anti-growth measure in that it permits the

majority of one state to stop effective action by the

TRPA is not the result of a court-imposed interpre-

tation but of the deliberate action by the Legisla-

tures of Nevada and California and the Congress of

the United States.

“This Court is not empowered to rewrite the

Compact. California’s remedy lies solely with the

legislative branches of the parties to the Compact.”

I might comment on that statement. As we all know,

an effort has been made, and I think the effort is proba-

bly still continuing, to reach an accord between the two

a= 4}

state governments with respect to an appropriate modi-

fication of the Interstate Compact. As a consequence of

the contentions that have been made in this case, it

occurs to me that that is not the only possible effective

solution to a continuation of the problems which some

people, including the plaintiffs, think exist with respect

to the administration by the Douglas County Commis-

sioners of the powers granted to Douglas County as the

permit-granting authority, not only under the Compact

but under the Land Use Ordinance.

The Tahoe Regional Planning Commission is com-

prised of ten members: A representative of El] Dorado

County, California; a representative of Placer County,

California; a representative of the City of South Lake

Tahoe; an appointee by the Governor of California, and

a person who—I don’t recall the exact name of the Cali-

fornia agency, but he is in effect the Director of the

Department of Environmental Resources, or something

to that effect. He has a counterpart on the Board from

the State of Nevada; and the State of Nevada is repre-

sented by people from Douglas County, Ormsby County

and Washoe County, plus the Governor’s appointee and

the Director of the Division of Environmental Protec-

tion and Natural Resources.

The problem here respecting height limitation is not

caused by anything in the Compact; it is created by the

formulation of the Land Use Ordinance, which is a prod-

uct of the Tahoe Regional Planning Agency and is sub-

ject to amendment and modification by that Agency.

I imagine that anyone trained in zoning and land use

———oo— CUO eee eee, Lee eee

Sei

planning would throw up his hands at the suggestion

that I am about to make and say that in any reasonable

zoning ordinance you have to have some provisions for

flexibility. But situations alter cases; and because of the

peculiar situation here, if there is to be any peace in the

area of South Lake Tahoe with respect to the possible

future proliferation of high-rise-casino development, I

think it could be curtailed very effectively by the adop-

tion of an absolute, unchangeable height-limitation ordi-

nance. If there were such an ordinance adopted by the

TRPA, we wouldn’t have these problems of approval by

operation of law because of failure to obtain the dual

majority.

If they had an absolute height-limitation ordinance,

not subject to variance or not subject to administrative

permit, there could be no further high-rise develop-

ment anyplace in Lake Tahoe.

I recognize that this may not be scientific land use _

planning, but it may be necessary in these circum-

stances, and I think it quite possible that such an ordi-

nance could be adopted.

We had a very strong effort by the Nevada Legisla-

ture, under the leadership of Governor Mike O’Callag-

han, to bring about a change in the Tahoe Regional

Compact. Such a change has not finally become effec-

tive. But there are two members on the Nevada side

who are at least friends of the Governor. One is his

direct appointee and the other is an appointee of his as_

Director of the Environmental and Natural Resources

Division of the Nevada government. And there is only

ee

one County Commissioner who has had much interest in

maintaining the status quo, and that is the representa-

tive from Douglas County.

Geographically, t' 2 County Commissioner from

Ormsby County might be persuaded to take a very en-

lightened view of this situation, because the great bulk

of Ormsby County that lies in the Tahoe Basin is now in

a state park and is not subject to much development

anyway. I also think it quite probable that the represent-

ative of Washoe County would not be as adamant about

control of the casino development in the Washoe

County area of Lake Tahoe, as has been evidence by the

many actions taken by the Douglas County Commission-

ers.

So I just throw that out as a possibility of some relief

to anybody who thinks this is a serious problem, al-

though I, as you will shortly find out, think that the horse

long ago escaped the barn with respect to the four par-

ticular projects that are being attacked in this litigation.

There may be some hope for the future which does not

necessarily involve the State of California and the State

of Nevada seeing eye to eye on a modification of the

Interstate Compact.

After California was successful or unsuccessful in their

effort to emasculate the dual majority provision of the

Interstate Compact, despite the fact—and this occurred

in November, 1974, when the State of California, at least

in its subdivision the California Regional Pianning

Agency—and I hasten to state that I don’t think that the

joinder of the California Tahoe Regional Planning

a le

Agency as a plaintiff in this case assists at all with respect

to the problems presented. The State of California .at

that time knew about this footnote, which has been

much discussed, in Judge Choy’s opinion:

“California also argues that such an interpretation

would allow construction of projects that are in bla-

tant violation of the Regional Plan. Two responses

’ are appropriate. First: that TRPA chose to vest vari-

ance-granting power in the local authorities and set

up guidelines for them to follow; second, and more

important, if the local authorities violate the various

guidelines and other ordinances in granting per-

mits, either state, as well as the TRPA, has a right to

bring action in State or Federal Court seeking com-

pliance with the Regional Plan and the TRPA’s

regulations.”

I am frank to say I don’t know what was meant or

contemplated by that statement.

As will shortly become apparent, I have carefully re-

viewed the TRPA regulations, and it is hard for me to see

how in any respect these administrative permits, per-

mitting the construction of the projects under consider-

ation, were obtained in violation of the TRPA’s rules and

regulations. And if the Court of Appeals by that footnote

intended to set up the Federal District Courts as a court

of general review over the administration of the Land

Use Ordinances of the Tahoe Regional Planning

Agency, they are going to have to say it a lot plainer than

that. That statement, if it is intended to be effective law,

should be the first headnote in the case and not a foot-

note at the end of the case.

I recognize that under the case of League to Save

ee een

Lake Tahoe against B.J.K. Corporation, that if there is

presented to the Court a problem of interpretation of

the Land Use Ordinance, which has a basin-wide effect,

and which calls for uniformity in interpretation and ap-

plication, that that is a federal question which vests fed-

eral jurisdiction in this Court. Consequently, I accept

federal jurisdiction in these two cases because of the

plaintiffs contention that the Tahoe Land Use Ordi-

nance, as enacted, set up arbitrary height limitations;

and that the proper interpretation of the ordinance is

that those height limitations were not to be exceeded

except in certain exceptional circumstances which re-

quired rather elaborate hearings and the production of

evidence. So that contention being made, I think that

under League to Save Lake Tahoe against B.J.K., we do

have a federal question presented which has to be dealt

with.

But to get back to the League to Save Lake Tahoe

against the Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, after

Judge Renfrew and his cohorts on the Court decided

that an interpretation of the Compact involved a federal

question, the case went back to the Eastern District of

California. There were further hearings, and three of

the defendants, I believe all three of them; Thomas Ra-

ley, Park Cattle Company and Harvey’s Wagon Wheel,

were dismissed on the theory that they were not neces-

sary or proper parties to the case, if I understand the

situation correctly. And it is noted in the Court of Ap-

peals’ opinion as follows—the opinion refers to the ear-

lier case that I referred to in 507 F. 2nd 517. It says:

sidalilasias

“That case set forth the factual background and

we will only briefly summarize the focus of the com-

plaint. Basically appellants brought this action seek-

ing declaratory and injunctive relief, alleging that

TRPA has failed in several particulars to comply

with the legal requirements of the Compact. As it

pertains to the developers, the complaint alleges

that TRPA violated the Compact by approving the

development projects of Thomas Raley, Park Cattle

Company and Harvey’s Wagon Wheel, Inc.”

The opinion went on to hold that although the individ-

ual defendants didn’t have any responsibility with re-

spect to the promulgation or administration of the Land

Use Ordinances, they were proper parties because it was

essential to have them before the Court in order to give

effective relief if relief should be granted. But this case

is still pending, and with respect to the defendant Park

Cattle Company it was recently dismissed by Judge Bat-

tin and a motion for preliminary injunction was denied,

which was sought to enjoin the very construction

projects which these plaintiffs seek to enjoin in this

Court.

As Mr. Silver has indicated, this latest decision with

respect to Park Cattle Company alone is now going to

be before the Court of Appeals again, initially on a mo-

tion for an emergency injunctive relief.

Both of the Court of Appeals’ opinions in the Sacra-

mento case; that is, the League to Save Lake Tahoe

against Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, Park Cattle

Company and Harvey’s Wagon Wheel, indicate that all

the issues that are present before me in these two cases

— ee

may very well be involved in those cases in California;

that the action is still pending there and that this case

here is in reality a duplication.

I can’t say specifically from reading these opinions—

and I know that there are pleadings and evidence before

the Court which clarify the situation somewhat—that

the exact contention made here with respect to the in-

terpretation of Section 7.13 of the Tahoe Planning

Agency Land Use Ordinance was present before that

Court. But if it hasn’t been, it should have been, because

it is all one ball of wax, and it is pretty hard to talk about

not properly promulgating and administering ordi-

nances to enforce the Tahoe Regional Compact, particu-

larly with respect to these two projects, without getting ©

involved in the height of the buildings and the environ-

mental impact that would be caused by the influx of

tourists and permanent residents to the South Lake

Tahoe area.

In addition to the federal litigation that has been gen-

erated by these plaintiffs, we have the case of League to

Save Lake Tahoe against Tahoe Regional Planning

Agency, Oliver Kahle, Ted Jennings and Harvey’s Wag-

on Wheel. There is a doctrine in criminal law of selective

prosecution, and on rare occasions the criminal defend-

ant has been able to have an indictment dismissed be-

cause he was able to demonstrate that he was the only

person in the area who had been picked out to face a

serious charge such as was made against him.

I don’t understand why all these cases have all these

different defendants. The State of California in this

2 _

a

Court sued Ted Jennings and Oliver Kahle, the League

to Save Lake Tahoe in the Eastern District of California

sued Harvey’s Wagon Wheel and Raley’s and Park Cat-

tle Company. They decide to make an effort in the Ne-

vada State Court System and they sue Oliver Kahle, Ted

Jennings and Harvey’s Wagon Wheel.

I don’t understand that the deal that was made, what-

ever it was, with Park Cattle Company in an earlier case

by the League to Save Lake Tahoe that involved it, and

which ended up in a dismissal without prejudice, justi-

fied leaving Park Cattle Company out of that case; and

plaintiff's attorneys apparently didn’t believe that that

situation immunized Park Cattle Company from be-

coming a defendant in these two cases.

In the Nevada case the League to Save Lake Tahoe on

the face of it was making a very sincere effort to make

the system work. They said, “Well, if we had a question

here regarding whether these administrative permits

should have been promulgated by the Douglas County

Commissioners and approved by the Tahoe Regional

Planning Agency, the remedy is set up by the Nevada

law under the dictates of the Tahoe Regional Planning

Ordinance and we will follow that procedure.” But un-

fortunately they stubbed their toe in the course of

events and didn’t get a determination on the merits,

except from one point of view. It is clear to me from the

opinion of the Supreme Court of Nevada that with re-

spect to administrative permits granted by Boards of

County Commissioners of Washoe, Ormsby or Douglas

County, and submitted to the TRPA for approval, the

a 49 o

provisions of Section 278.027 of the Nevada Revised Stat-

utes apply to such administrative permits, and are the

method of judicial review provided by the State of Ne-

vada to find out whether the local permit-granting au-

thority had violated the guidelines or the provisions of

the various ordinances under which they were required

to proceed.

As I indicated yesterday, that section does not limit

judicial review to any particular court. I say that because

there are statutory provisions in many states which do

say that if you are going to review this administrative

decision, you have to go into the First Judicial District

Court or whatever. But this particular statute permits _

review of the decision of the Board of County Commis-

sioners granting a variance or special use permit or

changing a land use classification to be instituted in any

court having jurisdiction; and if federal question juris-

diction is present, this Court would have jurisdiction

under that statute.

I have indicated that in view of the contention that

Section 7.13 of the Land Use Ordinance provides a defi-

nite height limitation, and any departure from it is a

variance, I think there is Federal question jurisdiction

and this Court would have jurisdiction of such an ad-

ministrative review within the limitations fixed by the

Nevada statute.

These actions were not instituted within twenty-five

days after final action by the Tahoe Regional Planning

Agency v:ider the interpretation by the Supreme Court

of Nevada, as follows:

— vn

“If Agency review does occur and TRPA either

approves, requires modification of, or rejects the

decision of the permit-issuing authority, final action

is taken at that point in time and judicial review

must be sought within twenty-five days thereafter.”

There is another example of the use of the English

language which communicates something very definite-

ly to me which seems to escape piaintiffs counsel.

If we are to consider these actions as direct review of

the way in which the permit-granting authority handled

themselves or itself in these four cases, the actions are

barred by the Nevada statute.

I am not going to segregate this discussion according

to the types of motions that are before the Court, be-

cause most of my comments apply to the motion to dis-

miss, the motion for summary judgment and also the

motion for preliminary injunction. All these cases in

varying degrees present very clear instances for the ap-

plication of the equitable doctrine of laches as a matter

of law. Whatever rights the plaintiffs have under their

distorted interpretation of the Tahoe Land Use Ordi-

nance were available and readily apparent as soon as the

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit promulgated the

first Younger opinion.

It has been explained in oral argument, and I will not

repeat it here, that the plaintiffs have never effectively

sought and followed through with injunctive relief

against these projects. Concededly th>re are precedents

in which there have been plain and obvious violations of

statutes where it is not necessary, in order to avoid a~

claim of laches to seek affirmative injunction relief, but

== 5)

these are not cases of that type.

When the first Younger case was brought, this very

contention with respect to the invariability of the height

limitations under the Land Use Ordinance might have

been included and should have been included in order

not to separate or divide the causes of action.

Recognizing that all these problems were novel, and

at that time the State of California was primarily inter-

ested in the problem of dual majority and what could be

done to solve the situation under Subsection (k) with

respect to deemed approval of a project where a dual

majority vote either for or against had not occurred, and

realizing that the opinion of the Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit dealt primarily with that problem, I think

that if the State at that time had seen fit to seek to file

an amended complaint, alleging the matters which it

alleges now in these two actions, brought some three or

four years later, that would have been permitted, or that

even a new action brought at that time making a timely

assertion of these contentions would have been permit-

ted. But that was not done. Everyone slept on their

rights except the League to Save Lake Tahoe, which if

I understand correctly brought two actions in Douglas

County and dismissed one and failed to jump a proce-

dural hurdle in the other. But in none of those cases was

there any effective effort made to stop the construction

of these projects.

Where you do have a situation where plaintiffs are

permitting citizens to go ahead in reliance upon permits

that have been granted, especially permits that on the

— §3

face of them have been approved expressly, not only in

the Federal Trial Court, but by a Federal Appellate

Court, and substantial sums of money are expended in

reliance on those permits, belated and delayed actions

such as these two are barred by laches as a matter of law.

At least with respect to two of the defendants, Har-

vey’s and Park Cattle Company, there is another action

pending, which may not be barred by laches, in which

the plaintiffs can seek to obtain whatever relief they are

entitled to.

On the merits, I have listened carefully to the presen-

tations by counsel, have read a good portion of the

record before the Court, and I think it is a fair conclusion

from the record that with respect to each of the four

applications for administrative permits that are involved

in these cases, the County Commissioners of Douglas

County were required to have presented to them exten-

sive information with respect to the conditions which

the Land Use Ordinance, Section 7.13 and Section 8.33,

required to be met before any height variation could be

granted, except for a five-foot variation. It seems to me

that at the time the administrative permits were grant-

ed a very serious effort was made to make the decisions

required to be made in order to comply with the re-

quirements of Section 7.13 and 8.33 of the Land Use

Ordinance; and that there was substantial comipliance

with the requirements, not only in the presentation of

information relevant to the decisions that had to be

made, but in making the decisions required to be made

by the provisions of the Ordinance.

_—

I know perfectionists, not only among lawyers but on

the Court of Appeals, like to criticize findings, and there

are sometimes two different ways to criticize them. One

is that they parrot the language of the statute or ordi-

nance and, therefore, they can’t be genuine; and the

other is they didn’t parrot the language of the statute or

ordinance and therefore they don’t comply with the

law.

I have read the actions by the County Commissioners

in several of these cases and they did both. They stated

what had to be found according to the language of the

Land Use Ordinance, and also stated other things, which

certainly doesn’t detract from the fact that there was

substantial compliance with all the requirements.

The other aspect of this situation with respect to ap-

proval is that plaintiffs would have us ignore the ap-

proval by the TRPA.

In my opinion the approval of these four projects, by

operation of law so to speak, because the Interstate

Compact provides that final action must be taken within

sixty days, and if there is not a dual majority approving

or disapproving the proposal, the proposal will be

deemed approved; that that type of approval is no dif-

ferent in quality or legal effect from approval that had

been made by a unanimous vote of all the members of

the Agency. I think that is the plain intendment of the

first Younger case. It seems to me that when you have

administrative processes that are set up by law or regula-

tion and have to be followed in order to acquire a license

or privilege to do something with a final administrative

— ee

authority passing upon and approving or disapproving

what has been done by the subordinate bodies to which

the power has been delegated, when there has been

such ultimate approval or disapproval by the Agency

entertaining that power and authority, the underlying

procedures cannot be attacked if they were not attacked

successfully before the final approving authority. And in

this instan:ce, exceypt for the possibility of judicial review,

as indicated in the Nevada statute to which I have allud-

ed, if the Tahoe Regional Planning Agency—not “if,”

but when it did entertain review of these administrative

permits, any objections to the quality of the material and

information and procedures before the Douglas County

Planning Commission would necessarily be presented to

the Agency, and final action by the Tahoe Regional

Planning Agency would resolve any deficiencies in

those earlier proceedings.

Finally, I would like to comment on the merits in the

context of the contentions made by the plaintiffs. I find

nothing ambiguous in the height-limitation ordinance

7.13. It is quite plainly different from other types of

limitations ordinances. It was quite plainly adopted in

contemplation of the probability that many, many re-

quests for different height allowances would be made.

The section refers to the fact that, “No greater height

than that specified shall be obtained by any building or

structure in any land-use district, except that the per-

mit-issuing authority by administrative permit.” And

then it goes right on to specify certain general condi- -

tions under which the permit-issuing authority may al-

a

low a greater height.

Now, we all know, and people who promulgated this

ordinance knew, that there were structures at Lake

Tahoe, particularly on the south shore, which at that

time exceeded forty feet; but we all know, and the

people at Lake Tahoe knew, that there was a probability

of applications for structures above forty feet, not only

above forty feet but double forty feet or triple forty feet

or quadruple forty feet; and the types of guidelines that

were placed in Section 7.13 for the consideration of the

permit-granting authority are types which would be

relevant only if considerable heights of building con-

struction were contemplated.

It is my view that in every instance with respect to

each of the four defendants the provisions of the Land

Use Ordinance of the Tahoe Regional Planning Agency

were strictly and carefully followed and complied with,

and that there was no violation of those ordinances.

There are other subjects that could be commented

upon, but I have got another case scheduled for 10:00

o'clock.

With the exception of certain causes of action against

Park Cattle Company, which I believe are the second

cause of action in the complaint of the League to Save

Lake Tahoe, and the third cause of action in the com-

plaint of the State of California—

Do I have them identified correctly, Counsel?

MR. WRIGHT: Yes.

THE COURT: With those exceptions, the motions to

dismiss are granted, and the motions for summary judg-

oe ae

ment made by the plaintiffs are denied, the motions for

a preliminary injunction are denied.

With the exception of the second cause of action of the

League to Save Lake Tahoe’s complaint and the third

cause of action of the complaint by the State of Califor-

nia, the motion of the Park Cattle Company for a sum-

mary judgment is granted.

The Park Cattle Company shall have twenty days

from this date in which to answer the second cause of

action of the League to Save Lake Tahoe’s complaint

and the third cause of action of the complaint by the

State of California.

MR. WRIGHT: Your Honor, I believe they have al-

ready answered the complaint.

THE COURT: Have they?

MR. WRIGHT: Yes, your Honor.

MR. BLAKEY: Yes, we have answered, your Honor.

THE COURT: All right. Strike that last comment.

With respect to those two claims for relief; that is, the

second in the League’s complaint and the third in the

State’s complaint, the motion for preliminary injunctive

relief is denied at this time without prejudice to the

right to renew it when, if ever, it becomes apparent that

there is an emergency situation which requires prompt

action and as to which no other appropriate remedy is

available.

Anyone representing any party who has been affected

by the Court’s rulings will prepare his own order and

present it within five days.

MR. WRIGHT: Your Honor, we would like to also

= lo

request the Court to accomplish several things for the

purpose of the record. One is—

THE COURT: Would you mind coming up to the lec-

tern? When you talk at the book, I can’t hear you.

MR. WRIGHT: Yes, certainly, your Honor.

First of all, your Honor, we would like to request the

Court to make an order pursuant to FRCP 54 (b), so that

there be a final appealabie judgment with respect to the

claims against the—

THE COURT: That is because you have the periph-

eral claims against Park Cattle Company?

MR. WRIGHT: That is right.

THE COURT: All right, I will make a 54 (b) certifica-

tion to clarify the record. You already have one appeala-

ble order—

MR. WRIGHT: Yes.

THE COURT: —on the denial of preliminary injunc-

tion.

MR. WRIGHT: Yes.

THE COURT: All right.

MR. WRIGHT: Also, your Honor, based upon the

same presentation made to the Court—there would not

be any need to present new materials—we would, as

required by Appellate Rule 8, at this time move the

Court for an injunction on appeal.

THE COURT: You may prepare a statement that you

requested a stay pending appeal—what you want is real-

ly an affirmative injunctive relief pending capean

MR. WRIGHT: Yes.

THE COURT: And I denied it.

= Ta

MR. WRIGHT: Thank you, your Honor. And the final

—TI say “thank you” as a matter of courtesy.

As the final point, the very last part of the order of the

Court read, I am confused about—the Court, as best I

took it down, stated that the motion for preliminary

injunction was denied without prejudice to renew it

when an emergency situation becomes apparent. Is that

request for preliminary injunction with respect to that

peripheral claim this Court has against Park?

THE COURT: I tried to refer to those two causes of

action. The one that relates to the alleged December 16,

1976 modification by the Douglas County Commission-

ers of the administrative permit.

MR. WRIGHT: That was the League’s second claim

and the State’s third claim.

THE COURT: We have an issue of fact on that with

respect to whether there was, in effect, a change.

MR. WRIGHT: That is all, your Honor.

THE COURT: I might state that if I find that, after

hearing whatever material you people want to present,

that that did change the permit, I will require it to be

re-presented. If it didn’t, there is no reason for it to be

re-presented.

MR. WRIGHT: Also, is it necessary—I don’t know the

practice in this court. If the Court itself directs expedit-

ed preparation of the reporter’s transcript, we would

request such preparation of the transcript of the Court’s

opinion this morning.

THE COURT: My court reporter is red-headed and a

little bit hard to get along with, and I will let you fight

ome (I) a

that out with him, because he has got enough work to do

to keep him going for a year.

MR. WRIGHT: Thank you.

MR. SILVER: Your Honor, with regard to the League

and Sierra Club case, I would simply like to note for the

record that the plaintiffs are joining in the request of the

State for Rule 54(b) certification, and that they have

joined with the State with regard to a motion for

injunctive relief pending appeal.

THE COURT: All right. The 54(b) certification has

been granted in both cases, and also the denial of

injunctive relief pending appeal.

Do you have anything else?

We will be in recess.

7—79307

aun 6) ame

IN THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEVADA

CALIFORNIA TAHOE REGIONAL PLAN-

NING AGENCY; and PEOPLE OF THE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

Plaintiffs

VS. > NO.

CIV. R. 77-0158

TED JENNINGS; OLIVER KAHLE; HAR-

VEY’S WAGON WHEEL, INC.; PARK CAT-

TLE CO.; and COUNTY OF DOUGLAS

Defendants

cco

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS

OF LAW, AND FINAL JUDGMENT

THIS MATTER came before the Court on October 17,

18, and 19, 1977, pursuant to plaintiffs’ Motion for Sum-

mary Judgment and Motion for Preliminary Injunction,

and on various Motions of the defendants, including de-

fendant Jennings’ Motion to Dismiss, and the plaintiffs

and all defendants having presented evidence and the

Court having considered the evidence presented by

each party as being available to all parties, and the mat-

ter having been argued and briefed and submitted to

the Court, and the Court being fully advised in the

premises and to the extent that the Court considered

matters outside the pleadings, defendant Jennings’ Mo-

tion to Dismiss was treated as one for summary judg-

ment pursuant to Rule 56 of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure, and based on the evidence submitted by

plaintiffs and the undisputed evidence and facts submit-

ted by defendants, the Court finds and concludes as

follows:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. That on or about May 7, 1973, the Douglas County

Commissioners, the permit-issuing authority pursuant

to the TRPA Land Use Ordinance, issued an administra-

tive permit to defendant Jennings approving his project

and allowing a height greater than 40 feet; that prior to

issuing said administrative permit to defendant Jen-

nings, the Douglas County Commissioners required the

presentation of extensive evidence in support of such

additional height pursuant to §7.13 and § 8.33 of the

oo. wae

TRPA Land Use Ordinance.

2. That the Douglas County Commissioners, prior to

the issuance of said administrative permit, fully com-

plied with all provisions of all applicable ordinances and

regulations including §§ 7.13 and 8.33 of the TRPA Land

Use Ordinance.

3. That there was submitted to the Douglas County

Commissioners, prior to the issuance of the above refe-

renced administrative permit, substantial evidence pur-

suant to §§7.13 and 8.33, and upon such substantial

evidence the Douglas County Commissioners made

written findings which provided, inter alia, that “such

greater height will better promote the protection of the

environment in the area”; that the administrative

record before Douglas County contained substantial evi-

dence to support such findings.

4. That said permit was subsequently submitted to

and approved by the Nevada TRPA, and thereafter was

submitted to the TRPA for review; that on or about the

24th day of July, 1974, a hearing was held on the Jennings

administrative permit before the TRPA at which time

the governing body did not obtain a dual majority vote

to approve, modify or reject the Jennings project, and

that on or about August 12, 1974, the Jennings adminis-

trative permit was deemed approved by operation of

law pursuant to the terms of the TRPA Compact and

Land Use Ordinance.

5. That at the time of the adoption of the Land Use

Ordinance there existed in the area where defendant

Jennings’ project is to be constructed several high-rise

a we

structures, including structures which were higher than

the project proposed by defendant Jennings; at that

time it was common knowledge that under the said

Land Use Ordinance, and particularly §7.13, there

would be structures many times higher than 40 feet or

45 feet.

6. That the plaintiffs herein did not appear at the

hearing before the Douglas County Commissioners

when the Jennings administrative permit was issued.

Plaintiff League to Save Lake Tahoe made an appear-

ance before the NTRPA and the TRPA at the time of the

hearing on defendant Jennings’ permit. However, at no

time did any of the plaintiffs herein raise any issue or

contention that the Jennings project was in violation of

§ 7.13 or 8.33 of the Land Use Ordinance.

7. That in processing defendant Jennings’ application

for administrative permit the provisions of the TRPA

Land Use Ordinance were strictly and carefully fol-

lowed and that the administrative permit is valid and

was, when issued, valid, and was valid on its face.

8. That after the administrative permit of defendant

Jennings became final on or about August 12, 1974, de-

fendant Jennings in good faith, relied on that adminis-

trative permit and has expended the sum of

approximately $7,000,000 in furtherance of his project;

that plaintiffs, with full knowledge, allowed defendant

Jennings to proceed in reliance upon his administrative

permit which was valid on its face.

9. That on September 2, 1975, defendant Jennings was

issued a building permit for grading and excavation on

aie.

his project. On October 14, 1975, Jennings received a

building permit for foundations for his project. Pursuant

to these permits the grading and excavation on the

project was substantially completed, and the founda-

tions and footings were constructed; and that the costs

of construction in reliance on said permits was approxi-

mately $2,000,000. |

10. That plaintiff, State of California, on or about Au-

gust 7, 1974, filed suit in federal District Court entitled

State of California ex rel Evelle Younger, Attorney Gen-

eral, versus Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, et al, case

number R-74-108 BRT, (hereinafter referred to as the

“Younger case”), which.action attacked the validity of

the administrative permit issued to defendant Jennings

and alleged, inter alia, that defendant Jennings’ project

if constructed “will be in violation of the TRPA Ordi-

nance on land use intensity and height limits”.

11. That on or about August 16, 1974, plaintiff League

to Save Lake Tahoe filed suit number 6566 in Douglas

County, Nevada, (hereinafter “Douglas County” case),

which action attacked the administrative permit issued

to defendant Jennings and alleged, inter alia, said permit

was issued in violation of §§ 7.13 and 8.33 of the TRPA

Land Use Ordinance, was not supported by substantial

evidence and therefore was arbitrary, capricious and

contrary to law.

12. That on or about June 5, 1975, California peti-

tioned the Douglas County Court to file an amicus

curiae brief in the Douglas County action.

13. That on or about May 3, 1976, plaintiff League to

—

Save Lake Tahoe filed a suit in federal District Court

under the Clean Air Act, case number R-76-85 BRT,

entitled League to Save Lake Tahoe v. Roger S. Troun-

day, et al (hereinafter referred to as the “Trounday

case”), which suit sought to enjoin defendant Jennings’

project.

14. That the Younger action was appealed to the

Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals and the appellate Court

first issued its opinion on April 30, 1975, and amended

the same on June 11, 1975.

15. That none of the plaintiffs at any time have effec-

tively sought and followed through with injunctive re-

lief against defendant Jennings’ project.

16. That all actions and claims set forth in the within

action were available, apparent, and known to plaintiffs

at the time of the filing of the Younger suit in August of

1974, and the within claims could and should have been

included therein.

17. That all causes of action and all claims set forth in

the within matter were available, apparent and known

to plaintiffs at the time of filing the Douglas County case

on August 16, 1974.

18. That the plaintiffs delayed an unreasonable period

of time in commencing the within action.

19. That any objections that a building higher than 40

feet violated § 7.13 of the Land Use Ordinance should

have been made by plaintiffs in the permit-issuing

procedures and at the hearings before the Douglas

County Commissioners, the Nevada Tahoe Regional

Planning Agency, and the TRPA.

a a

20. That after the decision of the Ninth Circuit Court

of Appeals in the Younger case, plaintiffs made no at-

tempt to amend their Complaint or file another action

setting out the claims included in the within action.

21. That the Douglas County action was dismissed

against the League to Save Lake Tahoe with prejudice,

which dismissal was affirmed by the Nevada Supreme

Court on May 3, 1977.

22. That additional delay in the construction of Jen-

nings’ project will result in substantial increase in the

total cost of construction.

23. That the language of § 7.13 of the TRPA Land Use

Ordinance is not ambiguous.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Court has subject matter jurisdiction pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. 1331 (a).

2. That defendant Jennings’ administrative permit

was approved by operational law by the TRPA on or

about August 12, 1974, which approval has the same legal

effect as an approval by the unanimous vote of the gov-

erning body of the TRPA.

3. That plaintiffs’ claims against defendant Jennings

are barred by NRS 278.027.

4. That plaintiffs’ claims against defendant Jennings

are barred by the doctrine of /Jaches as a matter of law.

5. That plaintiffs’ claims against defendant Jennings

are barred by the doctrine of res judicata.

6. That in issuing the administrative permit to de-

fendant Jennings, Douglas County complied with all ap-

a

plicable local, state and TRPA ordinances, rules and

regulations, and said permit was validly issued and is

presently valid.

7. That defendant Jennings has a vested right to com-

plete construction of his project in accordance with the

terms of his building and administrative permits.

8. That the Land Use Ordinance § 7.13 is not ambigu-

ous and plainly contemplates applications for, and the

granting of, heights substantially in excess of 40 feet if

the conditions of § 7.13 and § 8.33 are met.

9. That Douglas County made adequate findings that

defendant Jennings’ project meets all the conditions of

§§ 7.13 and 8.33 of the Land Use Ordinance, and said

determinations and findings are supported by substan-

tial evidence in the record.

10. That even if there were any deficiencies in the

proceeding before Douglas County, those deficiencies

were resolved and corrected before the TRPA and by

the approval of Jennings’ administrative permit by oper-

ation of law.

11. That the plaintiffs’ claims against defendant Jen-

nings were not timely raised or asserted before the vari-

ous administrative bodies that reviewed the Jennings

administrative permit, and that therefore the plaintiffs

have failed to preserve said claims for judicial review

and the within action is barred for the failure of plaintiffs

to exhaust and timely assert available administrative

remedies.

12. That the First and Second Causes of Action against

defendant Jennings fail to state a claim for which relief

can be granted.

JUDGMENT OF DISMISSAL

Pursuant to the Findings of Fact and Conclusions of

Law set forth above, and good cause appearing, it is

hereby

ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED as fol-

lows:

1. That the Motion of plaintiffs for Preliminary In-

junction be and the same hereby is denied.

2. That the Motion of plaintiffs for Summary Judg-

ment be and the same hereby is denied.

3. That the Motion of defendant Jennings to Dismiss

the First and Second Claims for Relief be and the same

hereby is granted.

4. That the First and Second Claims for Relief are

dismissed with prejudice and judgment is entered in

favor of defendant Jennings together with costs.

DATED this 3lst day of October, 1977.

BRUCE R. THOMPSON

U.S. District Judge

a § on

BREEN, YOUNG, WHITEHEAD & HOY,

Chartered

232 Court Street

Reno, Nevada

(702) 786-7600

Of Counsel:

Charles D. Stein

Donald E. Egan

Lee Ann Watson

Katten, Muchin, Gitles,

Zavis, Pearl & Galler

55 East Monroe St., Suite 4100

Chicago, Illinois 60603

(312) 346-7400

Attorneys for Defendant,

Oliver Kahle

IN THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEVADA

CALIFORNIA TAHOE REGIONAL PLAN-

NING AGENCY AND PEOPLE OF THE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Plaintiffs,

v.

TED JENNINGS; OLIVER KAHLE; HAR-

VEY’S WAGON WHEEL, INC.; PARK CAT-

TLE CO.; and COUNTY OF DOUGLAS,

Defendants.

Civ. R.

77-0158 BRT

FINDINGS OF

> FACT AND

CONCLUSIONS

OF LAW

a

The Plaintiffs in the above entitled matter have

heretofore filed a motion for Summary Judgment and

have also requested a Preliminary Injunction against

Defendant, Oliver Kahle, hereinafter referred to as “Ka-

hle.”

Defendant, Kahle, has heretofore filed herein his Mo-

tion to Dismiss Plaintiffs Complaint.

The hearing on all of the said motions did come on

before the above-entitled Court on the 17th, 18th, and

19th days of October, 1977.

All parties were represented by counsel, and volumi-

nous evidence was adduced on behalf of all parties; the

matter was extensively briefed and argued; and the

Court being fully informed does hereby make its Find-

ings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and enters its Judg-

ment of Dismissal.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. That the Douglas County Commissioners, the Per-

mit Issuing Authority, prior to issuing to Defendant, Ka-

hle, the Administrative Permit, pursuant to Section 8.33

of the Land Use Ordinance of the Tahoe Regional Plan-

ning Agency, required the presentation of extensive evi-

dence for Defendant, Kahle’s, project pursuant to Land

Use Ordinance Section 7.13, providing for greater

height, and Section 8.33, the Section authorizing the

issuance of Administrative Permits.

2. That there was submitted to the Douglas County

Commissioners, prior to the issuance of the said Ad- ~

ministrative Permit, substantial evidence pursuant to

a

Section 7.13. That the evidence so submitted to the Dou-

glas County Commissioners showed that (1) provision

has been made for protection from fire hazards and

against aviation accidents; (2) consideration has been

given to the protection of view and to the character of

the neighborhood; (3) proper provision has been made

for light and air; and (4) such greater height will better

promote the protection of the environment in the area.

3. That the Douglas County Commissioners, prior to

the issuance of the said Administrative Permit, made a

serious and determined effort to comply with the provi-

sions of Sections 7.13 and 8.33 of the Land Use Ordinance

of the Tahoe Regional Planning Agency.

4. That the height of Defendant, Kahle’s, project is

between 70 feet and 100 feet.

5. That the Douglas County Commissioners made

written findings that (1) provision has been made for

protection from fire hazards and against aviation acci-

dents; (2) consideration has been given to the vrotec-

tion of view and to the character of the neighborhood;

(3) proper provision has been made for light and air;

and (4) such greater height will better promote the

protection of the environment in the area.

Said findings were both in the language of Section

7.13, and in language not in the specific language of

Section 7.13.

6. That there was submitted to the Douglas County

Commissioners, prior to the issuance of the said Ad-

ministrative Permit, substantial evidence pursuant to

Section 8.33; that the evidence so submitted to the Doug-

— (|

las County Commissioners showed that the establish-

ment, maintenance or operation of Defendant, Kahle’s,

project is not detrimental to the health, safety, peace,

morals, comfort and general welfare of persons residing

or working in the neighborhood of such proposed use, or

detrimental or injurious to property and improvements

in the neighborhood or to the general welfare of the

Region, and will not cause any substantial harmful envi-

ronmental consequences on the land of the applicant or

on other lands or waters.

7. That the Douglas County Commissioners made

written findings that the establishment, maintenance or

operation of Defendant, Kahle’s project, is not detri-

mental to the health, safety, peace, morals, comfort and

general welfare of persons residing or working in the

neighborhood of such proposed use, or detrimental or

injurious to property and improvements in the neigh-

borhood or to the general welfare of the Region, and will

not cause any substantial harmful environmental conse-

quences on the land of the applicant or on other lands

or waters.

8. That the Douglas County Commissioners, prior to

the issuance of said administrative permit, did fully com-

ply with Sections 7.13 and 8.33 of the Land Use Ordi-

nance.

9. That at the time of the adoption of the Land Use

Ordinance there existed in the area where Defendant,

Kahle’s, project is to be constructed several existing

highrise structures considerably higher than Defendant,

Kahle’s, project.

ane 75 au

10. That the members of the Tahoe Regional Plan-

ning Agency at the time of the adoption of the Land Use

Ordinance, February, 1972, contemplated that there

would be numerous applications requesting a height

much greater than 40 feet or 45 feet.

11. That at the time of the adoption of the said Land

Use Ordinance it was common knowledge that under

the said Land Use Ordinance, and particularly Section

7.13, there would be structures many times higher than

40 feet or 45 feet.

12. That at none of the hearings on Defendant, Kah-

le’s, permit, including the hearing before the Tahoe Re-

gional Planning Agency, was any contention made that

a project higher than 40 feet violated Section 7.13, the

height Section of the Land Use Ordinance, or that a

variance should have been applied for under Section

8.34 of the Land Use Orditiance.

13. That in the processing of Defendant, Kahle’s ap-

plication for an Administrative Permit the provisions of

the Land Use Ordinance were strictly and carefully fol-

lowed.

14. That the Administrative Permit of Defendant, Ka-

hle, is valid and was, when issued, valid, and was valid

on its face.

15. That in reliance upon the Administrative Permit

Defendant, Kahle, has expended substantial funds an

incurred substantial costs.

16. The Plaintiffs, with full knowledge of Defendant,

Kahle’s, action, permitted Defendant, Kahle, to proceed

and to rely upon the Administrative Permit which was

8—79307

aw 16 iw

valid on its face.

17. Plaintiff, State of California, on August 7, 1974,

filed a suit in the above-entitled Court, entitled State of

California ex rel. Evelle Younger, Attorney General, vs.

Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, et al, number R 74-

108 BRT, attempting to prevent the construction of De-

fendant, Kahle’s, project.

18. The League to Save Lake Tahoe, on August 16,

1974, filed suit number 6566 in Douglas County, Nevada,

entitled League to Save Lake Tahoe v. Douglas County,

et al, in an attempt to stop Defendant, Kahle’s, project.

Plaintiffs had full knowledge of this suit.

19. On June 5, 1975, the State of California petitioned

the Douglas county Court to file an Amicus Curiae brief

to assist the League to Save Lake Tahoe, setting out in

the brief the same grounds set out herein.

20. That the League to Save Lake Tahoe, on the 3rd

day of May, 1976, filed a suit in the above-entitled C

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.