Petition — Goland v. Central Intelligence Agency

Supreme Court brief1980

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

_— oo ee «

* Supreme Cour, US,

FILED

JUN 26 1979

{

{

SE CLERK

Teo

-

IN THE :

Supreme Court of the United States

OctoBER TERM, 1978

wv %8-1924

Susan D. GoLanp

and

Patricia B. Sxipmore, Petitioners,

V.

CENTRAL INTELLIGENCE AGENCY, et al., Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Of Counsel: JAMES H. WALLACE, JR.

THomas C, ARTHUR

Mark H. Lyncw

; : 1776 K Street, N.W.

— Washington, D.C. 20006

Washington, D.C. 20003 Attorneys for Petitioners

ALAN B. Morrison

Davin C. VLADECK

Suite 700

2000 P Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

June 26, 1979

Press or Byron S. ADAMS PRINTING, INC., WASHINGTON, D. C.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I te ry is ee el hea a eke

I Ne Fea

ee ey ee cee eneceeesesbeees

Statute and Federal Rule of Civil

Procedure

RSD a RR ai a

Reasons for Granting the Writ................

b The Ability of Government Agencies

to Create a Tenth Exemption to

the Freedom of Information Act by

Adopting Limited Definitions of

"Agency Records" Poses a Funda-

mental Question of the Scope of the

Act Upon Which the Lower Courts

have

Rendered Conflicting Opinions.....

ll. The Decision Below Raises the Sig-

nificant and Recurring Issue Whether

Basic

Sarial

Summary Judgment and Adver-

Principles Apply to the Reso-

lution of Factual Disputes in So-

Called "National Security" Cases

Arising under the Freedom of Infor-

as FE EMO 8 or u's oa 4 Kk 4 0 0s be

Conclusion

2a eS ee oe ee. oe 8 2 Oe 6 O96 2.06 82 64 GD OD 8 6 6 0-0 6 6 06

13

17

20

Appendix A, Opinion of the United States

Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia Circuit, May 23, 1978..........

Appendix B, Opinion of the United States

Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia Circuit, March 29, 1979........

Appendix C, Order of the United States

Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia Circuit Denying Petitioner's

Request for Rehearing en banc..........

Appendix D, Order and "Findings of

Fact" of the United States District

Court for the District of Columbia,

OA, Bae eee

Appendix E, Freedom of Information Act,

Se SCENES 5 Ws, ao 6 ahd he oe bk O68 8

Appendix F, Rule 56, Federal Rules of

eer Wa Pas 5 os MN Aww MOST SOW 0 Bi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co.,

. £S Me Fy. : errr rr ere 17

Bell v. United States,

eR Oe wer Be ee oy ) eee * 18

Brandon v. Eckard,

569 F.2d 683 (D.C. Cir. 1977).......... 17-19

Ciba-Geigy Corp. v. Mathews,

428 F. Supp. 523 (S.D.N.Y.)........... 14

Forsham v. Califano,

587 F.2d 1128 (D.C. Cir. 1978), cert.

granted, 47 U.S.L.W. 3740 (No. 78-1118,

Ws WD bass nea nned sinned aswennes 15-16

Kissenger v. Reporters Committee for Free-

dom of the = No. 78-1207,

(D.C. Cir. 1978), cert. granted,

47 U.S.L.W. 3677 (Nos. 78-1088

and 78-1217, April 16, 1979)............ 15-16

Nichols v. United States,

325 F. Supp. 130 (D. Kan. 1971), eee

aff'd, 460 F.2d 671 (10th Cir.), cert.

Geried, 400.U.S. FGB CIG72) «occ cesses: 13-14

United States v. Diebold, Inc.,

i ae SAD Cs vad wok wenaedan kde 17

Vaughn v. Rosen,

484 F.2d 820 (D.C. Cir. 1973), cert.

Geniad, 405 U.S. S77 CUSTA).. 006 2c cenes. 18

Weisburg v. United States Department of

Justice, 543 F.2d 308 (D.C. Cir. 1976). .17-18

Weissman v. CIA,

ES £ Bibs Ro «Mle. | 2% Wreeeerpeeeee 18

Statutes and Regulations:

ee a oc As co kaversecakey 4

0h. 6, AO oii ino Sev css een ecs se 19

503.0. 5 GOO): 6 os Aedes 4

5 U.S.C. § 552(a)(6)(A)(ii)... 2... eee ee eee 5

Ee Set S| Rene ane ene aan ae 9,15

ES eo See Pe ial ee en ee 3

ge Me MRR IMEI iee tated eee glare nti 13

ee. 6 OS. oc a 6,8

Pewee, 6 ONS 6 aes 6,8

aE eae

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

Miscellaneous:

Final Report of the Select Committee to

Study Government Operations With

Respect to Intelligence Activities,

S. Rep. 94-755, 94th Cong., 2d

Sess. (1976)

10 Wright & Miller, Federal Practice and

Procedure (1973)

2 SS 2S SG OR O26 8 OS BO 6 OO Ee 6 6 6 O66 Oe

,S@ 88 GF OH OB O24 8 8.6 dO 8468 0 @

In the

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1978

No.

Susan D. Goland

and

Patricia B. Skidmore,

Petitioners,

Vv.

Central Intelligence Agency, et al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Petitioners Goland and Skidmore pray for a

writ of certiorari to review the opinions and judg-

ments of the United States Court of Appeals for

the District of Columbia Circuit entered in this

case on May 23, 1978 and March 28, 1979.

This Freedom of Information Act case arose

out of Petitioners' efforts to obtain secret hearing

transcripts and other non-public legislative his-

-2-

tory materials to delineate the proper scope of the

Central Intelligence Agency's activities under its

1947 and 1949 organic statutes. Although Con-

gress passed the FOIA to facilitate the uncovering

of "secret law," the Court of Appeals in this case

has provided recalcitrant agencies with a blue-

print for thwarting similar attempts to discover

secret legislative history.

The Court of Appeals has permitted the CIA

to withhold a secret hearing transcript on the un-

substantiated theory that it is under exclusive

Congressional "control," and is thus not a CIA

"record" subject to the FOIA, although it has

been in the CIA's possession for over 30 years.

The Courc of Appeals also approved the use of

summary judgment to foreclose Petitioners' at-

tempts to challenge the CIA's self-serving affi-

davits through discovery. It reaffirmed that

holding even in the face of the CIA's belated dis-

closure, after the first decision in its favor, that

it had discovered five months earlier over 300

responsive documents, the existence of which

these same affidavits had denied.

This case thus presents important issues as

to the scope and judicial administration of the

Freedom of Information Act.

- 3-

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinions of the Court of Appeals, not

yet officially reported, are reprinted as Appen-

dices A (pp. 1a-57a, infra) and B (pp. 59a-85a,

infra). The order of the Court of Appeals

denying Petitioners' suggestion for rehearing

en banc is reprinted as Appendix C (pp. 87a-88a,

infra). The District Court's unreported order

aid acecinpaeyine "Findings of Fact" are re-

printed as Appendix D (pp. 89a-92a, infra).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was

entered on May 23, 1978. Petitioners' timely peti-

tion for rehearing, and suggestion for rehearing

en banc, were denied on March 28, 1979. This

petition for certiorari was filed within ninety days

of that date. This Court's jurisdiction is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

IF May an agency define "records" subject

to disclosure under the Freedom of Information

Act to exclude a document in its possession on

the ground that it was originally produced by a

third party not subject to the Act?

- 4-

2. May summary judgment be granted in

favor of a government agency in a so-called "na-

tional security" FOIA case, based solely on its

self-serving affidavits, when the opposing party

has been denied any opportunity to challenge

those affidavits through discovery or other adver-

sarial procedures?

STATUTE AND FEDERAL RULE

OF CIVIL PROCEDURE INVOLVED

This case involves the Freedom of Informa-

tion Act, 5 U.S.C. § 552 (Appendix E, pp. 93a-

95a, infra) and Rule 56, Fed. R. Civ. P. (Appen-

dix F, pp. 97a-99a, infra).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case involves Petitioners' FOIA request

for secret, unpublished hearing transcripts and

other documents concerning the legislative history

of the CIA's organic statutes.! The CIA's tardy

response* denied the existence of any secret

1 Petitioners' FOIA request was reprinted at

page 12 of the Joint Appendix filed in the Court

of Appeals (hereinafter cited as "JA __").

2 Despite the 10-day deadline for responding to

FOIA requests (5 U.S.C. § 552(a)(6)(A)(i)), the

CIA responded to this request only after Peti-

tioners had filed an administrative appeal

(JA 20). Petitioners supplemented their appeal

in light of the CIA's late response (JA 23).

- 5 -

legislative history materials except for a 1947 se-

cret transcript ("Hearing Transcript"), which was

alleged to be a “legislative document under the

control of the House of Representatives," and of-

fered to make available to Petitioners only a set

of five published hearings and reports, totaling

65 pages (JA 22). The CIA never responded to

Petitioners! administrative appeal, despite the

statutory requirement that such appeals be an-

swered within 20 working days.* Petitioners filed

suit on January 28, 1976, seeking disclosure of

the Hearing Transcript and any other unidentified

responsive documents.

Six weeks after the complaint had been filed,

the CIA, alleging that it had "recently identified"

two additional documents which "had not pre-

viously been located," delivered to Petitioners’

counsel two statements used in hearings, one

35 U.S.C. § 552(a)(6)(A)(ii). The CIA had

been similarly unresponsive to the predecessor

FOIA request of Petitioners’ associate, Sara Holtz,

for the CIA's secret legislative history. First,

the CIA told Ms. Holtz that the only responsive

documer*s were publicly available -in_ libraries

(JA 15). When she pointed out in her appeal the

existence of secret hearings for which no public

transcripts were available, the CIA denied her

appeal on the ground that "no records were de-

nied to you," although admitting for the first time

the existence of the Hearing Transcript (JA 16).

- 6-

of which ("the Hillenkoetter Statement") with ap-

proximately 20-25% of the contents deleted

(JA 129).

Petitioners attempted to take discovery to

challenge the CIA's withholding of the Hearing

Transcript and the Hillenkoetter Statement, and

the adequacy of the CIA's search for responsive

documents (JA 27-38). Rather than responding

to any of these discovery requests, the CIA

moved for summary judgment based upon self-

serving affidavits alleging (1) that it had made an

adequate search for all responsive documents,

(2) that the Hearing Transcript “appeared" to

have been delivered to the CIA with a Congres-

sional mandate to keep it secret although no ex-

press instruction to that effect appeared on the

document and the CIA affidavits provided no par-

ticulars concerning the document's transfer to the

CIA, and (3) that the Hearing Transcript and the

withheld portions of the Hillenkoetter Statement

were covered by Exemptions 1 and 3 of the FOIA,

since both had been properly classified and their

disclosure would reveal intelligence sources and

methods in violation of 50 U.S.C. §§ 403(d)(3)

and 403(g) (JA 75-82).

In response, Petitioners filed two Rule 56(f)

affidavits stating that, if their discovery were

allowed, they would demonstrate the existence of

ee

-J-

material issues of fact with respect to the allega-

tions in the CIA's affidavits (JA 154-58, 176-80).

In particular, Petitioners pointed out that the

Final Report of the so-called "Church Committee"?

cited numerous documents which appeared to

be within the scope of their FOIA request

(JA 178-80).

Despite these obvious factual disputes, the

District Court granted the CIA's summary judg-

ment motion, issuing "Findings of Fact" that

(1) the withheld portions of the Hillenkoetter

Statement were properly classified, (2) the Hear-

ing Transcript was “a Congressional document re-

leased to the CIA for limited purposes only"

because "it was marked 'Secret' by Congress and

remains within the control of Congress," and

(3) "the CIA has made a full search in good faith

and... no _ further discovery is_ justified"

(App. D at 91a-92a). The District Court made no

ruling on Petitioners' request for attorneys' fees

(id. ).

The Court of Appeals affirmed by a 2-1

vote. Judge Wilkey's majority opinion held that

the CIA's affidavits were adequate to establish as

a matter of law that (1) the Hearing Transcript

4 Final Report of the Select Committee to Study

Government Operations With Respect to Intelli-

gence Activities, S. Rep. 94-755, 94th Cong., 2d

Sess. (1976).

=

was not a CIA record, despite being in the CIA's

possession for more than 30 years, on the theory

that it was the "property" under the "control" of

Congress (App. A_ at 7a-14a); (2) the Hillen-

koetter Statement deletions were properly withheld

under Exemption 3 because covered by 50 U.S.C.

§§ 403(d)(3) and 403(g) (id. at 15a-23a);5 (3)

the CIA had made an adequate search for respon-

sive documents (id. at 23a-31a); and (4) Peti-

tioners' were not entitled to attorneys' fees (id.

at 32a-33a).

Judge Bazelon dissented. First, he agreed

with Petitioners "that the grant of summary judg-

ment to the CIA was premature" in the absence of

any opportunity for discovery or other adversar-

ial testing of the CIA's ipse dixit allegations (id.

at 35a-39a). Second, he disapproved the ma-

jority's proposed "control/property" test for

determining whether a responsive document was

an “agency record" covered by the Act. Pointing

out that “federal agencies regularly receive docu-

ments created by non-agencies that obviously

° The District Court had relied instead on Exemp-

tion 1 (App. D at 91a). The panei majority did

not rule upon this ground for _ withholding

(App. A at 16a). Judge Bazelon in his dissent

Stated his opinion that the District Court erred in

granting summary judgment on this ground in the

absence of discovery (id. at 82a-83a).

» § -

become ‘agency records' in the ordinary course,"

he stated that the proper question under the

FOIA for any document in an agency's possession

was whether Congress had decided to exempt it

under one of the nine specific exemptions in

5 U.S.C. § 552(b) (id. at 39a-47a).®

By letters dated May 30 and 31, 1978, the

CIA's Justice Department counsel informed Peti-

tioners and the court that the CIA had informed

him that it had discovered "a sizeable amount" of

additional documents responsive to Petitioners'

FOIA request. The letters did not specifiy either

the extent of this discovery or its surrounding

circumstances. On June 14, 1978, the CIA re-

leased 30 of these documents. The _ following

week, on June 23, 1978, the CIA released an

additional 291 documents, and supplied the court

with a letter from its associate general counsel to

its Justice Department lawyers which attempted to

6 Judge Bazelon also observed that "even assum-

ing the ‘'control/property' standard is the correct

one, factual ambiguities in the record would pre-

clude summary judgment" as "discovery is neces-

sary specifically to determine whether Congress

or the committee that conducted the hearings ever

instructed the CIA to preserve the secrecy of the

transcript, and, if so, for how long." The CIA

itself had conceded that "the transcript itself con-

tains no such express instruction, and... the

source of the ‘'Secret' classification is unknown."

(App. A at 46a).

» 46 -

explain the CIA's delay in disclosing the existence

of these documents.

This letter revealed that the documents had

been found by the CIA's librarian, "who had some

personal familiarity with the Goland case and thus

recognized that some of the documents .

might have some bearing on the Goland litiga-

tion . . . ." (quoted at App. B at 62a). She

"immediately (i.e., in late November or early

December 1977) informed the General Counsel, the

Deputy General Counsel and the undersigned" of

her discovery (id.). Rather than immediately

informing the court or the CIA's Justice Depart-

ment attorneys, however, these three top CIA

legal officers did nothing while their librarian

took four months to examine and sort the docu-

ments, and revealed the existence of these highly

relevant documents only after the initial decision

in the CIA's favor. (ld. at 62a-63a).

In the meantime, Petitioners on June 6, 1978

had filed a timely petition for rehearing and sug-

gestion for rehearing en banc, arguing that the

majority decision was contrary to basic summary

judgment principles and created a "tenth exemp-

tion" by its misconstruction of the term "agency

records." The CIA's March 30 and 31, 1978

letters were cited, but not heavily relied upon, in

that petition, as the CIA had yet to detail the

- 11 =

extent of its discoveries or the circumstance of

its non-disclosure.

In response to the CIA's June 14 ietter,

however, Petitioners on June 16, 1978 filed a mo-

tion to summarily vacate the original panel deci-

sion, as the CIA's disclosure of 30 responsive

documents dramatically illustrated the error of

resolving the case on the CIA's untested affi-

davits. This motion was closely followed by the

CIA's release of the other 291 documents, and its

attempted explanation of its five-month delay in

disclosing the existence of these highly relevant

documents.

On March 28, 1979, the Court of Appeals de-

clined to rehear the case en banc, Judge Bazelon

dissenting, and the original panel issued an opin-

ion denying the petition for rehearing and the

motion to summarily vacate the original decision.

In a per curiam decision, the majority reaffirmed

its initial decision. The majority stoutly main-

tained that "the mere fact that additional docu-

ments have been discovered does not impugn the

accuracy of the [CIA] affidavits." (App. B

at 65a). The majority stated that those affidavits

had correctly stated that the CIA had made an

adequate search, relying on the CIA's June 14

and 23 letters to hold that the CIA could not

have found the newly-discovered documents in the

course of a normal search (id. at 65a-66a). The

- 12 -

court then went on to mischaracterize the issue

before it as whether it should reverse its prior

decision on the basis of "newly discovered evi-

dence," rather than whether its original decision

was .now dramatically illustrated to be wrong

under commonly accepted summary judgment prin-

ciples. (Id. at 65a-66a). The majority § did

reverse its prior denial of attorney's fees, re-

manding the case to the District Court for a

reconsideration of that issue. (ld. at 76a-77a).

Once again, Judge Bazelon dissented, stating

his belief "that both the disclosure of 321 addi-

tional documents and the circumstances surround-

ing their discovery cast serious doubt on the

original disposition of this case." (ld. at 79a).

He specifically dissented from the majority's

factual finding that the original CIA affidavits

had been accurate: "To my mind, this is a ques-

tion of fact that cannot possibly be decided on

the record before us." While the CIA's letter

“representations may well be true. . . at this

stage of the litigation they are simply ex_ parte

representations." (ld. at 82a). Thus, the

majority's extreme reluctance to permit

plaintiffs to explore the factual basis of

the CIA's assertions thus repeats the

basic error of the original panel opinion.

The majority again prematurely fore-

closes plaintiffs' inquiry into the nature

of the CIA's search in response to the

FOIA request. (ld., footnote omitted).

- 13 -

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

|. THE ABILITY OF GOVERNMENT AGENCIES

TO CREATE A TENTH EXEMPTION TO THE

FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT BY ADOPT-

ING LIMITED DEFINITIONS OF "AGENCY

RECORDS" POSES A FUNDAMENTAL QUES-

TION OF THE SCOPE OF THE ACT UPON

WHICH THE LOWER COURTS HAVE REN-

DERED CONFLICTING OPINIONS.

The Freedom of Information Act contains no

definition of "agency records" subject to the Act's

disclosure provisions. This statutory deficiency

will continue to encourage agencies to evade the

Act by construing that term narrowly, thus en-

gendering needless litigation unless this Court

provides an authoritative definition.

The lower courts have been hindered in

FOIA litigation because of the Act's failure to

define “agency records." E.g., Nichols v.

United States, 325 F. Supp. 130, 134 (D. Kan.

1971), aff'd, 460 F.2d 671 (10th Cir.), cert.

denied, 409 U.S. 966 (1972). Nevertheless, the

court in Nichols and other lower courts have been

forced to attempt to define the term in order to

resolve litigation. Not surprisingly, a variety of

conflicting definitions has resulted.

Thus, for example, the Nichols court, after

reviewing the terms of agency regulations, the

definition of records in 44 U.S.C. § 3301 and

- 14 -

available case law, finally resorted to "a diction-

ary of respected ancestry for a reasonably accu-

rate meaning of the word" since "no better defini-

tion of the term, 'record', is provided by legisla-

tive enactment, executive order or controlling

judicial determination . .. ." Nichols v. United

States, supra, 325 F. Supp. at 135. Another dis-

trict court has defined the term to include docu-

ments owned by the government or "subject to

substantial Government control or use." Ciba-

Geigy Corp. v. Mathews, 428 F. Supp. 523, 529

(S.D.N.Y. 1977).

The courts of appeals have been similarly

confused. The Ninth Circuit has attempted a

functional definition designed to serve the basic

disclosure principles of the Act: documents

which deal with the "structure, operation, and

decision-making procedure of the various govern-

mental agencies." SDC Development Corp. v.

Mathews, 542 F.2d 1116, 1119 (9th Cir. 1976).

Various panels of the D.C. Circuit have taken in-

consistent approaches. The panel majority in this

case approved the CIA's definition which excludes

even documents in the conceded possession of the

agency for over 30 years, based on a test which

turns on whether the document is under the "con-

- 15 -

trol" of or is the "property" of the agency or a

third party not subject to the Act.?

Another panel of the court, however, goes

precisely the other way, stating that the "govern-

ing principle is that only if a federal agency has

created or obtained a record (or has a duty to

obtain the record) in the course of doing its

work, is there an agency record that can be de-

manded under FOIA." Forsham v. Califano,

987 F.2d 1128, 1136 (D.C. Cir. 1978), cert.

granted, 47 U.S.L.W. 3740 (No. 78-1118, May 14,

1979) (footnotes omitted). Acting on a similar

definition, yet another panel of the D.C. Circuit

even ordered former Secretary of State Kissinger

to return documents to the State Department for

processing under an FOIA request. Kissenger

v. Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press,

? The majority opinion was obviously motivated by

the majority's avowed policy decision that Con-

gress should be permitted to submit documents to

agencies in secret (App. A at 8a-14a). This case

does not present the issue whether Congress has

power under the Constitution to use executive

branch agencies as warehouses ffor its secret

documents. Congress obviously has the power to

pass a statute so providing, but has not done so.

The issue here is whether, in the absence of any

clear statement of Congressional intent, Congress

intended for documents in the possession of an

agency to be exempt from the FOIA even though

not falling within one of the nine exemptions of

7 U.S.C. § S6et0).

» % ~

No. 78-1207 (D.C. Cir. 1978), cert. granted,

47 U.S.L.W. 3677 (Nos. 78-1088 and 78-1217,

April 16, 1979).

As this court has recognized by granting

certiorari in both Kissenger and Forsham, the

question of the definition of "agency records"

under the FOIA requires definitive resolution by

this Court. Those cases alone, however, do not

adequately present the issues posed by the Act's

failure to define this term. Review of this case

is also necessary if these issues are to be defini-

tively resolved. In Forsham and Kissenger, the

specific question presented is whether the FOIA

applies to records which reside outside an agency

covered by the Act, but are arguably within its

control. In this case, the converse question is

presented, that is, whether the FOIA applies to

documents in the custody and possession of an

agency, but arguably subject to property rights

or control by a third party not subject to the

Act.

Finally, this case has great practical impor-

tance. As Judge Bazelon noted, should the ma-

jority's restrictive definition of "agency records"

stand, the result wili be the creation of an

extra-statutory "tenth exemption" which agencies

can use to withhold otherwise disclosable docu-

ments (App. A at 43a n.12).

- 1/7-

ll. THE DECISION BELOW RAISES THE SIGNIFI-

CANT AND RECURRING ISSUE WHETHER

BASIC SUMMARY JUDGMENT AND ADVER-

SARIAL PRINCIPLES APPLY TO THE RESO-

LUTION OF FACTUAL DISPUTES IN SO-

CALLED "NATIONAL SECURITY" CASES

ARISING UNDER THE FREEDOM OF INFOR-

MATION ACT.

Numerous decisions of this Court have estab-

lished the black letter principle that summary

judgment may not be granted unless the moving

party establishes that there are no issues of ma-

terial fact, even after all inferences from the

record have been drawn in favor of the opposing

party. See, e.g., Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co.,

398 U.S. 144, 158-61 (1970); United States v.

Dieboid, Inc., 369 U.S. 654, 655 (1962). See

generally 10 Wright & Miller, Federal Practice and

Procedure § 2727 (1973). It is also black letter

law that Rule 56(f), Fed. R. Civ. P., entitles a

diligent opposing party to defeat a summary judg-

ment motion by means of an affidavit alleging that

factual issues exist but that, without discovery,

he cannot present verified facts in his opposition

to the motion. Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co.,

supra, 398 U.S. at 160-61. See generally Wright

& Miller, supra, §§ 2740-41.

In general, the lower courts have followed

these elementary summary judgment principles in

FOIA cases. See, e.g., Brandon v. Eckard, 569

- 18 -

F.2d 683, 688-89 (D.C. Cir. 1977); Weisberg v.

United States Dep't of Justice, 543 F.2d 308

(D.C. Cir. 1976). In addition, the lower courts

have generally mandated other procedural re-

quirements, such as the preparation of detailed

indices of withheld documents, to overcome the

barriers to full adversary proceedings which are

inherent in FOIA litigation, where only one of the

contending parties has actual knowledge of the

contents of the disputed document. E.g.,

Vaughn v. Rosen, 484 F.2d 820 (D.C. Cir.

1973), cert. denied, 415 U.S. 977 (1974).

Yet in a disturbing number of so-called "na-

tional security" cases arising under Exemptions 1

and 3, the lower courts have abandoned these

fundamental principles, and resolved cases with-

out any acversarial testing of the contents of

agency affidavits by in camera inspection. or

otherwise. E.g., Weissman v. CIA, 565 F.2d

692, 697 (D.C. Cir. 1977); Bell v. United States,

563 F.2d 484 (1st Cir. 1977).

The majority opinion below is the epitome of

this disturbing trend. Petitioners were given no

opportunity to test the CIA affidavits by dis-

covery, despite their vigorous attempts to do so

and disturbing indications from the Church Com-

mittee's report that the CIA affidavits were

wrong. Instead, in flat violation of Rule 56(f),

» Ho

the District Court, and later the Court of

Appeals, reached out to resolve the disputed fact

issues in favor of the CIA, completely contrary to

the general rule that all inferences are drawn in

favor of the opposing party.

Obviously, if such litigative procedures are

to be countenanced, the requirement of the FOIA

that the District Court conduct a de novo review

(S U.S.C. § 552(a)(4)(B)) will be negated in so-

called "national security" cases under Exemptions

1 and 3. Yet Congress amended the Act in 1974

with the express purpose of tightening up both

Exemptions 1 and 3. In Exemption 1 cases, Con-

gress required the district courts to conduct

de novo review of allegedly classified materials to

determine if their classification was valid on both

procedural and substantive grounds. Congress

amended Exemption 3 to limit it to statutes which

specifically mandated withholding of specified

documents or which contained specific criteria for

agency withholding. Whether a document was

covered by such a statute was to be subject to

de novo judicial review. See Pub. L. No. 93-502

(Nov. 21, 1974); see also Brandon v. Eckard,

supra, 569 F.2d at 688-89 & n.21. Resolving

questions of the applicability of these two excep-

tions on the CiA's untested say so, as the Court

of Appeals has done here, negates the Concres-

sional intent behind these amendments.

- 20 -

Accordingly, this case presents important

questions under both Rule 56 and the 1974 FOIA

Amendments.

CONCLUSION

For the above reasons, a writ of certiorari

should issue to review the District of Columbia

Circuit's May 23, 1978 and March 28, 1979 judg-

ments and opinions.

Respectfully submitted,

James H. Wallace, Jr.

Thomas C. Arthur

Of Counsel: 1776 K Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

Mark H. Lynch (202) 857-5000

600 Pennsylvania

Ave., S.E. Counsel for Petitioners

Washington, D.C. 20003

Alan B. Morrison

David C. Viadeck

Suite 700

2000 P Street, N.W. -«

Washington, D.C. 20036

June 26, 1979

APPENDIX

la

Notice: This opinion is subject to formal revision before publication

in the Federal Reporter or U.S. App. D.C. Reports. Users are requested

to notify the Clerk of any formal errors in order that corrections may be

made before the bound volumes go to press.

United States Comt of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 76-1800

SUSAN D. GOLAND AND PATRICIA B. SKIDMORE,

APPELLANTS

V.

CENTRAL INTELLIGENCE AGENCY, ET AL.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of Columbia

(D.C. Civil 76-0166)

Argued 5 October 1977 | se eaterea

< is date

Decided 23 May 1978 —

James H. Wallace, Jr. with whom Thomas C. Arthur

and Mark H. Lynch were on the brief, for appellants.

John Cordes, Attorney, Department of Justice with

whom Earl J. Silbert, United States Attorney, Rex E.

Bills of costs must be filed within 14 days after entry of judgment. The

court looks with disfavor upon motions to file bills of costs out of time.

2a

Lee, Assistant Attorney General, and Leonard Schaitman,

Attorney, Department of Justice were on the brief, for

appellee.

Before: BAZELON, TAMM and WILKEY, Circuit Judges.

Opinion for the Court filed by Circuit Judge WILKEY.

Dissenting opinion filed by Circuit Judge BAZELON.

WILKEY, Circuit Judge: This case arises under the

Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).* Plaintiffs Goland

and Skidmore requested documents from the Central

Intelligence Agency (CIA) relating to the legislative

history of the Agency’s organic statutes. In this suit

they challenge the thoroughness of the CIA’s search

for responsive documents and the Agency’s refusal to

give them certain admittedly responsive material it does

possess. The district court granted summary judgment

in favor of the CIA. We affirm.

I. FACTUAL BACKGROUND

The chronology of events must be elaborated in some

detail. On 2 May 1975 Sara Holtz? filed an FOIA re-

quest with the CIA, seeking access to “all records con-

cerning the legislative history” of the National Security

Act of 1947,° the CIA Act of 1949,‘ and two bills intro-

duced into Congress in 1948 providing for the adminis-

tration of the Agency.’ Specifically, Holtz requested

75 U.S.C. § 552 (1976).

* Holtz is not a party to this suit.

* Act of 26 July 1947, ch. 343, § 102, 61 Stat. 497 (presently

codified at 50 U.S.C. § 403 (1970)).

* Act of 20 June 1949, ch. 227, §§ 1-10, 63 Stat. 208 (pres-

ently codified at 50 U.S.C. §§ 403a-403j ( 1970) ).

* S. 2688, 80th Cong., 2d Sess. (1948) ; H.R. 5871, 80th Cong.

2d Sess. (1948).

site

3a

access to “all reports of the Committees of the House

and Senate and the Conference Committee which re-

ported on the bills, and any hearings which may have

been held on these bills or related to the subject of the

authority, organization and administration” of the CIA.°

On 14 May the CIA responded to Holtz’ letter, ad-

vising her that the documents she sought were Congres-

sional materials which would be available in the Library

of Congress or the Government Printing Office. On 20

May 1975 Holtz wrote the Agency a second letter, stat-

ing her belief that hearings had been held on the bills

she cited for which no transcripts were available in the

Library of Congress, and requesting access to records

of these hearings and to “any House, Senate or Con-

ference Reports, besides those available in public libraries,

that more fully explain the basis for the Committees’

actions on these bills.” *

The Agency responded on 23 June 1975, informing

Holtz that a search of its records had revealed that it

possessed one document relating to the legislative history

of the CIA’s organic statutes which was not publicly

available, namely, a stenographic transcript of Hearings

held before the House Committee on Expenditures in the

Executive Departments on 27 June 1947 (hereinafter

“Hearing Transcript”). The Agency stated, however,

that the Hearing Transcript had been classified “Secret”

by Congress and could be declassified only by that body;

it suggested that Holtz request declassification and re-

lease of the document from the House of Representatives.

There were no further communications between Holtz

and the CIA.

On 20 October 1975 plaintiffs Goland and Skidmore

notified the CIA that they, like Holtz, were “‘investigat-

* Joint Appendix (J.A.) 12.

7 J.A. 14-15.

4a

ing the authority, organization and administration” of

the Agency, and requested “‘the documents requested by

Ms. Holtz’ letters.”* Treating the CIA’s failure to re-

spond within ten days as a denial of their request,’

plaintiffs on 20 November 1975 appealed that denial. On

26 November 1975 the CIA offered to send plaintiffs

copies of five previously published hearings and reports,

even though these documents were “generally available in

the Library of Congress and various depository li-

braries.” *° With respect to the Hearing Transcript, how-

ever, the CIA reiterated its position that the Transcript

was a “legislative document under the control of the

House of Representatives” which was “classified ‘Secret’ ”

and to which FOIA did not apply.”

On 16 December 1975 Goland and Skidmore wrote the

CIA to “elaborate on the basis of [their] appeal,” assert-

ing that the Agency’s letter of 26 November failed to

make clear whether the Transcript and the five pub-

lished documents accounted for all the material they had

requested. In addition, plaintiffs expanded the scope

of their request to embrace not only the reports and

hearings they had sought originally, but also any “ma-

terials which may have been the basis for testimony at

hearings” or “materials used by or submitted by the

CIA or other Executive Branch sources which are in-

8 J.A. 18.

* Under 5 U.S.C. § 552(a) (6) (A) (i) (1976), an agency

must respond to an FOIA request within ten working days;

under § 552(a) (6)(C), a requester is deemed to have ex-

hausted administrative remedies if the agency fails to com-

ply with this time limit.

*° J.A. 22. These five documents (65 pages in all) were

sent to plaintiffs on 12 January 1976. J.A. 78.

1 J.A. 22.

2 J.A. 23-24.

5a

cluded in [unpublished] reports” on the cited bills.*

When the CIA failed to respond to this supplemental

appeal within 20 working days,” plaintiffs filed suit on

28 January 1976.

On 10 March 1976 the CIA notified plaintiffs’ counsel

that it had identified two additional documents responsive

to plaintiffs’ FOIA request which “had not previously

been located.” ** The first document was entitled “State-

ment of Lt. Gen. Hoyt S. Vandenberg, Director of

Central Intelligence,” delivered before the Senate Armed

Services Committee on 29 April 1947. This document

was released to plaintiffs in full. The second document

was entitled “Statement of the Director of Central In-

telligence [Hillenkoetter] Before the House Armed Serv-

ices Committee [on] 8 April 1948” (hereinafter “Hillen-

koetter Statement”). This document was released to

plaintiffs with certain portions (about 20% of the total)

deleted; the Agency explained that the deleted material

was exempt from disclosure under FOIA.

II. COURSE OF THE LITIGATION

The complaint sought an injunction directing the CIA

to make available for copying all “records requested in

plaintiffs’ . . . letter” of 20 October 1975, a declaratory

judgment holding the CIA’s allegedly restrictive definition

of “agency records” “ invalid, and an award of attorneys’

fees. On 10 March 1976 plaintiffs filed interrogatories,

a request for production of documents, and a notice of

18 J.A. 24, 25.

* See 5 U.S.C. § 552 (a) (6) (A) (ii) & (C) (1976).

8 J.A. 129.

eo Dh

7 32 C.F.R. § 1900.3(g) (1976). The definition has recently

been amended. See 42 Fed. Reg. 24,049 (12 May 1977) (codi-

fied at 32 C.F.R. § 1900.8(g) (1977)).

6a

deposition to the CIA. Rather than submit to discovery,

the CIA on 5 April 1976 filed a motion for summary

judgment based on affidavits. The Agency contended

that the Hearing Transcript was not an “agency record”

but rather a Congressional document not subject to

FOIA;* that both the Transcript and the deleted por-

tions of the Hillenkoetter Statement were properly with-

held under FOIA Exemption 8, relating to matters “spe-

cifically exempted from disclosure by statute;’’® that

both the Transcript and the deleted portions of the Hill-

enkoetter Statement were properly withheld under FOIA

Exemption 1, relating to matters “specifically authorized

under criteria established by an Executive Order to be

kept secret in the interest of national defense or foreign

policy ;” *° that the CIA’s search had been complete and

there existed no other responsive documents; and that

plaintiffs lacked standing to challenge the CIA’s defini-

tion of “agency records” inasmuch as the Agency had

not relied on that definition in processing their FOIA

request. Plaintiffs responded to the motion principally

on the grounds that discovery was needed to resolve

disputed issues of fact.

Judge Hart granted the CIA’s motion for summary

judgment on 26 May 1976.*: He found that the Hearing

Transcript was a Congressional document outside the

ambit of FOIA, that the deleted portions of the Hillen-

koetter Statement were properly withheld under FOIA

Exemption 1, and that no further discovery was justified

18 Congress is not an “agency” under FOIA. See 5 U.S.C.

§ 551(1) (A) (1976).

5 U.S.C. § 552(b) (3) (1976).

205 U.S.C. §552(b) (1) (1976). These documents were

classified “Secret” under Executive Order No. 11652, 3 C.F.R.

678 (1971-75 Compilation).

*t Judge Hart’s decision, rendered from the bench, is printed

at J.A. 187-90.

7a

since the CIA had “made a full search in good faith.” *

Judge Hart made no findings about plaintiffs’ standing

to challenge the CIA’s definition of agency records or

about their request for attorneys’ fees. We consider

these issues in turn.

III. ANALYSIS

A. The Hearing Transcript.

The FOIA requires that an agency make “agency

records” available to the public upon reasonable request.**

The Act does not define “records” or “agency records.” **

Plaintiffs argue that since the CIA is an “agency” its

possession of the Hearing Transcript, without more,

renders that document an “agency record” subject to

disclosure absent specific exemption.** The CIA argues

that possession is not enough; it points out that “agency,”

as defined by the Administrative Procedure Act, “does

not include (A) the Congress .. .,” ** and that the Hear-

ing Transcript, regardless of whether it is a “record,”

is not an “agency record” on the facts of this case.”

22 J.A. 190.

*3 5 U.S.C. § 552(a) (3) & (4) (B) (1976).

24 See U.S. DEPT. OF JUSTICE, ATTORNEY GENERAL’S MEMO-

RANDUM ON THE PUBLIC INFORMATION SECTION OF THE AD-

MINISTRATIVE PROCEDURE ACT 23 (1967) [hereinafter AT-

TORNEY GENERAL’S FOIA MEMORANDUM].

*° Brief of Appellants at 40; J.A. 24.

265 U.S.C. § 551(1) (A) (1976).

27 The CIA also argues that if the Hearing Transcript were

an agency record for purposes of § 552(a) (3), it would be

exempt from disclosure under FOIA Exemptions 1 and 3. See

p. 6 supra. Since we hold that the Hearing Transcript is a

Congressional document, we do not consider these arguments.

8a

The district court found that the Hearing Transcript

was “released to the CIA for limited purposes as a

reference document only” and that it “remain[ed] within

the control of Congress;” ** the court concluded that the

Transcript was in consequence a “Congressional docu-

ment,” ** and not an “agency record” within the mean-

ing of FOIA. We agree.

At the outset, we reject plaintiffs’ argument that an

agency’s possession of a document per se dictates that

document’s status as an “agency record.” * We base our

28 J.A. 189.

°° Td.

3°In support of this argument, plaintiffs cite 44 U.S.C.A.

§ 3301 (West Supp. 1977), an earlier version of which is

quoted in the Attorney General’s FOIA Memorandum, supra

note 24 at 23. Section 3301 defines ‘‘records” for purposes

of the management, disposal, and archival preservation of

Government documents by the Administrator of General Serv-

ices; it states that “[a]s used in [chapter 33 of 44 U.S.C.],

‘records’ includes all... papers ... made or received by an

agency of the United States Government . . . appropriate for

preservation py that agency ... .” (emphasis added). This

definition is hardly controlling here. In enacting legislation

on management and disposal of Government records, Congress

was concerned with preserving an “[a]ccurate and complete

documentation of the policies and transactions of the Federal

Government.” 44 U.S.C.A. § 2902(1) (West Supp. 1977).

With this objective in mind, Congress might well regard the

Hearing Transcript as a “record . . . appropriate for preser-

vation” by the CIA, since the Transcript contains information

regarding “basic elements of [the CIA’s] intelligence meth-

odology” and details of the CIA’s “structure and disposition of

functions.” Affidavit of CIA Legislative Counsel George L.

Cary, J.A. 80 [hereinafter “Cary Affidavit’”]. The sole result

of the Hearing Transcript’s being deemed an “agency record”

under § 3301 by virtue of its receipt by the CIA is that the

Transcript could not thereafter be destroyed except in con-

formity with the procedure Congress prescribed—a result

" eee |

2

atm

9a

conclusion both on precedent and on policy. The prece-

dent is the Tenth Circuit’s opinion in Cook v. Willing-

plainly harmonious with Congress’ objectives. See 44 U.S.C.

§ 3314 (1970). Congress’ objectives in the FOIA, of course,

were rather different. In the interests of secrecy, Congress

exempted itself from the Act’s disclosure requirements; yet

the result of the Hearing Transcript’s being deemed an

“agency record” under § 552(a) (3) by virtue of its receipt by

the CIA is that the Transcript’s release could be required, re-

gardless of Congress’ wishes, unless the CIA could prove a

specific exemption. Given this difference in result, we doubt

Congress would agree that an “agency record” under 44

U.S.C. §3301 is an “agency record” under 5 U.S.C.

§ 552 (a) (8). Indeed, the two titles define “agency” differently.

Compare 5 U.S.C. §551(1) (A) & (B) (1976) (“agency”

excludes Congress and the federal courts) with 44 U.S.C.A.

§ 2901(13) (West Supp. 1977), cross-referring to 40 U.S.C.

§ 472(b) (1970) (“agency” includes not only executive agen-

cies, but also “any establishment in the legislative or judicial

branch,” with exceptions). Congress, in any event, has had

ample opportunities to make the § 3301 definition of “records”

applicable in § 552(a) (3) of FOIA, but has never done so.

Cf. 44 U.S.C.A. § 2906(a) (3) (West Supp. 1977) (stating

that under certain circumstances “records” under § 3301 shall

be deemed records for purposes of 5 U.S.C. §552a). One

recent commentator has stated that § 3301, although it con-

tains the “only statutory definition of ‘record,’” is “an

inappropriate answer to the definitional issue.” J.T. O’REILLY,

FEDERAL INFORMATION DISCLOSURE, {| 5.03 n.1 (1977).

Plaintiffs point out that the § 3301 definition of records was

quoted in the Attorney General’s FOIA Memorandum, supra

note 24 at 23. We do not see how this helps plaintiffs’ case.

The Attorney General noted that the FOIA did not define

“records,” then quoted the only available statutory definition

of the term for what it was worth. He would have been remiss

in not doing so. Yet his citation of the definition does not give

it any greater extrapolative force than it inherently possesses.

The Attorney General surely did not focus on the words “or

received by,” which plaintiffs italicize and which are relevant

to our case. Indeed, the Memorandum elsewhere suggests that

an agency’s possession of a document does not per se render

the document an “agency record” which the possessing agency

must release. See note 46 infra.

10a

ham,*' the only decision cited to us or discovered by our

own research that is squarely on point. In Cook, a

prisoner sought a copy of his presentence investigation

report under FOIA. Although the document was physi-

cally in the possession of the warden of a United States

penitentiary, the Tenth Circuit held the place of pos-

session not controlling. Noting that FOIA “does not

apply to ‘the courts of the United States,’ ” * it concluded

that the presentence report, “made for the use of the

sentencing court,” thereafter “remains in the exclusive

control of that court despite any joint utility it may

eventually serve.” * In consequence, the judicial document

was “not an agency report and [was] therefore not

available to the public” under FOIA.“ Since the FOIA’s

exemptions for Congress and the federal courts are im

pari materia,** Cook is firm support for the conclusion

that the Hearing Transcript, a Congressional document,

is not “an agency record” here.

This conclusion likewise finds firm support in policy.

Congress has undoubted authority to keep its records

secret, authority rooted in the Constitution, long-

13 400 F.2d 885 (10th Cir. 1968) (per curiam), followed in

United States v. Dingle, 546 F.2d 1878, 13881 (10th Cir. 1976).

82 400 F.2d at 885, citing 5 U.S.C. § 551(1) (B) (1976).

ae (5

34 Jd. at 886. See United Broadcasting Co., 58 F.C.C.2d

1243, 1245 (1975) (FCC withheld probationary report because

“probationary report, like a presentencing report, properly

belongs to the Court for which it was made, and is therefore

not capable of release under FOIA,” citing Cook).

85 See 5 U.S.C. § 551(1) (A) & (B) (1976).

36 U.S. Const. art. I, §5: “Each House shall keep a Journal

of its Proceedings, and from time to time publish the same,

excepting such Parts as may in their Judgment require

Secrecy... .”

lla

standing practice, and current Congressional rules.”

Yet Congress exercises oversight authority over the var-

ious federal agencies, and thus has an undoubted in-

terest in exchanging documents with those agencies to

facilitate their proper functioning in accordance with

Congress’ originating intent.” If plaintiffs’ argument

were accepted, Congress would be forced either to sur-

render its constitutional prerogative of maintaining

secrecy, or to suffer an impairment of its oversight role.

We decline to confront Congress with this dilemma absent

a more convincing showing of self-abnegating Congres-

sional intent. It may be assumed that plaintiffs could

not easily win release of the Hearing Transcript from

the House of Representatives; we will not permit them

to do indirectly what they cannot do directly because of

the fortuity of the Transcript’s location.

For reasons both of precedent and policy, then, we

believe that plaintiffs’ litmus test must be rejected. An

agency’s possession of a document, standing alone, no

more dicates that it is an “agency record” than the

Congressional origins of a document, standing alone,

dictate that it is not. Whether a Congressionally-

generated document has become an agency record, rather,

depends on whether under all the facts of the case the

document has passed from the control of Congress and

** See Nixon V. Sirica, 487 F.2d 700, 772-73 (D.C. Cir. 1973)

(Wilkey, J., dissenting).

6 E.g., H.R. Rule X1I(2) (k) (7), reprinted in H.R. Doc. No.

416, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. 427 (1975): “No evidence or testi-

mony taken in executive session may be released or used in

public sessions without the consent of the committee.”

%° See Letter from Deputy Att’y Gen. Harold R. Tyler, Jr.

to Hon. Bella S. Abzug, 19 Feb. 1976, quoted in J.A. 60

(Justice Dept. declined to reiease confidential House report

lest “communications and consultations between coequal

branches” of government be stifled).

12a

become property subject to the free disposition of the

agency with which the document resides.

The document at issue here is a photostatic reproduc-

tion of a stenographic transcript of a hearing held be-

fore the House Committee on Expenditures in the Ex-

ecutive Departments on 27 June 1947, entitled “H.R.

2319—Unification of the Armed Forces.” The Commit-

tee was sitting in Executive Session. As the first order

of business, the Chairman swore the stenographer and

typist to secrecy.*° The transcript contains discussions

of basic elements of intelligence methodology, both of

this country and of friendly foreign governments, as

well as detailed discussions of the CIA’s structure and

disposition of functions.‘ When received by the CIA,

the Transcript bore the typewritten marking “Secret”

on its interior cover page; this marking appears to have

been appended at the time the Transcript was made.”

The typewritten mark “Secret” appears again on the

first page of the text of the Transcript. The CIA re-

tains a copy of the Transcript for internal reference

purposes only, to be used in conjunction with legislation

concerning the Agency and its operations.“

Given these facts, we conclude that the Hearing Tran-

script remains under the control of and continues to

*° Cary Affidavit, supra note 30, J.A. 80.

41 J.A. 80-81. Because the CIA methodology and disposition

of functions described in the Transcript are still operable,

and because disclosure of the information could damage U.S.

relations with friendly foreign governments, the CIA itself

separately classified portions of the Transcript “Secret” pur-

suant to Executive Order 11652. See note 20 supra. We do not

consider whether this classification was proper. See note 27

supra.

*2 Cary Affidavit, supra note 30, J.A. 80.

*3 Td. at 79-80.

13a

be the property of the House of Representatives. We

base our conclusion both on the circumstances attending

the document’s generation and the conditions attached

to its possession by the CIA. The facts that the Com-

mittee met in executive session “* and that the Transcript

was denominated “Secret” plainly evidence a Congres-

sional intent to maintain Congressional control over the

document’s confidentiality.*© The fact that the CIA re-

tains the Transcript solely for internal reference pur-

poses indicates that the document is in no meaningful

sense the property of the CIA; the Agency is not free

to dispose of the Transcript as it wills, but holds the

document, as it were, as a “trustee” for Congress. Under

these circumstances, the decision to make the transcript

“Cf. S. Rep. No. 5, 81st Cong., Ist Sess. (“First Annual

Report of the Investigations Subcomm. of the Comm. on Ex-

penditures in the Executive Departments”) 3 (1949): “Ex-

ecutive hearings were .. . utilized in cases involving national

security and in other instances when it was determined that

public disclosure might be detrimental to the public interest.”

** Plaintiffs point out that the predecessor of current House

Rule XI (2) (k) (7), supra note 38, governing secrecy of testi-

mony taken in executive session, was not enacted until 1955.

Brief at 41. See H.R. Doc. No. 416, supra note 38 at 427. It

is clear, however, that the Rule simply formalized long-

standing practice. Cf., e.g., S. REP. No. 5, supra note 44 at

3-4: “The subcommittee calls attention to the following rules

of procedure which it adopted and which it has uniformly

followed: ... (5) All testimony taken in executive hearings

shall be secret and will not be released or used in public hear-

ings without the approval of a majority of the subcommittee.”

Even without the benefit of a general Rule, moreover, the

transcript on its face manifests the indicia of Congress’ intent

to maintain secrecy. Since it is Congress’ intent to maintain

secrecy, and not Congress’ conformance with the procedural

niceties of classification, that makes the Transcript a “Con-

gressional document,” plaintiffs’ arguments that discovery is

required as to the identity of the classifier, the date on which

the document was classified, etc., are irrelevant in reaching a

decision here.

l4a

public should be made by the originating body, not by

the recipient agency.“

We hold, therefore, that the Hearing Transcript is

not an “agency record” but a Congressional document

to which FOIA does not apply.** We reach this con-

clusion because we believe that on all the facts of the

case Congress’ intent to retain control of the document

is clear. Other cases will arise where this intent is less

plain. We leave those cases for another day.**

* Cf. ATTORNEY GENERAL’S FOIA MEMORANDUM, supra note

24 at 24:

Where a record is requested which is of concern to more

than one agency, the request should be referred to the

agency whose interest in the record is paramount, and

that agency should make the decision to disclose or with-

hold .... Where a record requested from an agency 1s

the exclusive concern of another agency, the request

should be referred to that other agency.

This rule was followed in Friendly Broadcasting Co., 55

F.C.C.2d 775, 775-76 (1975) (where FBI Reports were loaned

to FCC solely for internal reference purposes, Reports were

“property of the Federal Bureau of Investigation” and FBI,

“as the originator of the Reports, . . . is the agency to which

the request should be addressed” under FOIA).

‘7 Plaintiffs argue that even if the Transcript as a whole is

a “Congressional document,” those portions originating with

the CIA are producible as “ ‘reasonably segregable por-

tion[s]’”’ with the “comments of members of Congress... .

deleted if necessary as ‘Congressional materials.’” Brief at

42 & n.15, citing 5 U.S.C. §552(b) (last sentence) (1976).

This argument is frivolous. Congress met in executive session,

and marked the Transcript “Secret,” not only to protect its

members’ questions, but to protect its witnesses’ answers.

The cited provision from § 552(b), in any event, requires

segregation and disclosure of non-exempt portions of agency

records; since we hold that the Hearing Transcript is not

an agency record, this provision has no application here.

48 In ascertaining whether a record in the possession of an

agency is nonetheless a Congressional document, a court will

15a

B. The Hillenkoetter Statement.

The Hillenkoetter Statement is concededly an ‘agency

record.” Although the entire 113-page document was

originally classified “Secret,” the CIA has declassified

of course accord due weight to the factors that influence us in

this case, including (1) Congress’ clear intent to exempt Con-

gressional documents from disclosure under FOIA; (2) Con-

gress’ clear prerogative to prevent disclosure of its own confi-

dential materiais; and (8) the danger of inhibiting the legis-

lative and judicial branches from making their records avail-

able to the executive branch.

The dissent argues that this test, and the conclusion it pro-

duces, prove too much: if the Hearing Transcript is a Con-

gressional document, so also must the Hillenkoetter Statement

be, a reductio our colleague evidently views as ad absurdum.

See diss. op. at 10-11. Since the CIA has never contended

that the Hillenkoetter Statement is a Congressional document

—since, indeed, the CIA has acted inconsistently with any

such contention by declassifying and releasing 80% of the

document—we see no need to consider this question. We

might note, however, that between the Hillenkoetter State-

ment and the Hearing Transcript substantial differences lie.

The former is a statement by a CIA official prepared by the

CIA; we do not know the circumstances of its delivery in Con-

gress, and it was classified “Secret,” not by Congress, but by

the CIA. The latter is a transcript of colloquy between Con-

gressmen and CIA witnesses; it was created in Congress under

circumstances manifesting a plain Congressional desire for

secrecy, and it initially was labeled “Secret,” not by the CIA,

but by Congress. These distinctions are not, as our dissenting

colleague says, a matter of paper and ink. The Transcript

originated in Congress and remains a Congressional document

because it bears clear indicia of a Congressional purpose to

ensure secrecy ; the Statement originated in the CIA and bears

no indicia of any Congressional purpose to ensure secrecy. It

is these indicia of Congress’ continuing control that are dis-

positive of a document’s “Congressional” status.

The dissent argues that “ ‘[c]ontrol’ in this sense goes to

the question whether a document is exempt from disclosure—

not to whether it is an ‘agency record.’” Diss. op. at 8.

[Continued]

16a

approximately 80% of it and released those portions to

plaintiffs. The Agency contends that the deleted portions

are exempt from disclosure under FOIA Exemptions 1“

and 8. The district court held this material exempt,

relying on Exemption 1. We agree, but base our hold-

ing instead on Exemption 8, without in any way im-

pugning the correctness of Judge Hart’s conclusion.”

As originally enacted, FOIA provided that the Act’s

disclosure requirements ‘“[do] not apply to matters that

are—. . . (3) specifically exempted from disclosure by

statute.” *' Two statutes are relevant to an Exemption

3 claim by the CIA. A proviso to 50 U.S.C. § 403(d)

*® [Continued]

This argument seems to mean that Congress can exercise

“control” over secret documents that leave its possession only

by enacting FOIA exemptions. We disagree. Congress has

broad powers to keep its documents secret; when Congress

transfers secret documents to an agency, for a limited pur-

pose and on condition of secrecy, we see no reason to think

it thereby waives its own prerogatives of confidentiality and

resigns itself to the FOIA exemptions which bind the agency

and not it.

**The deleted portions of the Statement were classified

“Secret” pursuant to Executive Order 11652 “in the interest

of national defense or foreign policy.” See p. 6 & note 20 supra.

*° Although “inquiries into the applicability of the two ex-

emptions may tend to merge,” Phillippi v. CIA, 546 F.2d 1009,

1016 n.14 (D.C. Cir. 1976), Exemption 3 may of course be

invoked independently of Exemption 1. See Weissman v. CIA,

565 F.2d 692, 698 (D.C. Cir. 1977); Marks v. CIA, 426 F.

Supp. 708, 710-11 n.6 (D.D.C. 1977), appeal docketed, No.

77-1225 (D.C. Cir. 3 March 1977); J.T. O’REILLY, swpra note

30, at {| 13.07. Whether the deleted portions of the Hillen-

koetter Statement were properly withheld is perhaps more

clearly and briefly stated under Exemption 3 than under Ex-

emption 1, hence we reach Judge Hart’s conclusion by a dif-

ferent path.

5 U.S.C. § 552(b) (3) (1970).

17a

(3) states that “the Director of Central Intelligence

shall be responsible for protecting intelligence sources

and methods from unauthorized disclosure.” Section

403g of the same title provides that, “in order further

to implement” this proviso, “the Agency shall be ex-

empted from ... the provisions of any . . . law which

require the publication or disclosure of the organization,

functions, names, official titles, salaries, or numbers of

personnel employed by the Agency.” In Weissman vy.

CIA," this Court squarely held that “both § 408(d) (3)

and § 403g are precisely the type of statutes compre-

hended by exemption (b) (3).”* This conclusion derived

incontrovertible support from legislative history” and

was unanimously adopted by other courts.°’

** National Security Act of 1947, ch. 348, tit. I, § 102, 61

Stat. 497 (presently codified at 50 U.S.C. § 403(d) (3)

(1970) ).

“CIA Act of 1949, ch. 227, §7, 63 Stat. 211 (presently

codified at 50 U.S.C. § 403g (1970) ).

1565 F.2d 692 (D.C. Cir. 1977).

°° Id. at 694. See Phillippi Vv. CIA, 546 F.2d 1009, 1015 n.14

(D.C. Cir. 1976).

"© S. Rep. No. 93-854, 938d Cong., 2d Sess. 16 (1974) (“Intel-

ligence Sources and Methods (50 U.S.C. § 408 (d) (3) and (g) )

.. . have been exempted from public inspection under section

552(b) (3)... .”); S. Rep. No. 98-1200, 98d Cong., 2d Sess.

12 (1974) (Conference Report) (same).

H.g., Richardson v. Spahr, 416 F.Supp. 752, 753 (W.D.

Pa.), aff'd, 547 F.2d 1163 (38d Cir. 1976) (§§ 403(d) (3) &

403g are both Exemption 3 statutes); Marks v. CIA, 426

F.Supp. 708, 710-11 (D.D.C. 1976), appeal docketed, No.

77-1225 (D.C. Cir. 3 March 1977) (same); Baker v. CIA, 425

F.Supp. 633, 635 (D.D.C. 1977), appeal docketed, No. 77-1228

(D.C. Cir. 3 March 1977) (same).

18a

In 1976 Congress amended Exemption 3 in order to

“eliminate the gap created in [FOIA]” by the Supreme

Court’s decision in FAA Administrator v. Robertson.”

Robertson held that a statute giving an agency broad

discretion to withhold information “in the interest of the

public” * qualified as an Exemption 3 statute. Congress

amended Exemption 3 to provide that information shall

be deemed specifically exempted from disclosure by

statute only if such statute “(A) requires that the mat-

ters be withheld from the public in such a manner as to

leave no discretion on the issue, or (B) establishes par-

ticular criteria for withholding or refers to particular

types of matters to be withheld.” There is nothing

on the face of amended Exemption 3, or in its legislative

history, to suggest that Congress in 1976 intended to

upset the well-established Exemption 3 status of the

CIA’s protective statutes. Both § 403(d) (3) and § 403g

“refer{] to particular types of matters to be withheld”

—namely, information respecting intelligence sources and

methods. Rep. Abzug, the amendment’s primary sponsor

in the House, explicitly stated on the floor that § 403g

°° H.R. Rep. No. 94-880, pt. 1, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 23

(1976), citing 422 U.S. 255 (1975). The revision in Ex-

emption 3 represented a conforming amendment to 5 U.S.C.

§ 552b(c) (3) (1976), part of the Government in the Sun-

shine Act, Pub. L. No. 94-409, § 3(a), 90 Stat. 1241 (1976).

5° Robertson involved § 1104 of the Federal Aviation Act of

1958, 49 U.S.C. § 1504 (1970), which provides in pertinent

part: “Whenever [any person objects to public disclosure of

information received by the FAA], the Board or Adminis-

trator shall order such information withheld from public

disclosure when, in their judgment, a disclosure of such

information would adversely affect the interests of such per-

son and is not required in the interest of the public.”

6 Act of 13 Sept. 1976, Pub. L. No. 94-409, § 5(b), 90 Stat.

1247 (presently codified at 5 U.S.C. § 552(b) (3) (1976) ).

The amendment became effective 12 March 1977, 180 days

after its enactment. See Pub. L. No. 94-409, § 6.

19a

was one of the statutes intended to qualify under the

new Exemption 3." The only courts to consider the

issue have held that the amendment left the Exemption

3 status of §§403(d)(3) and 403g unimpaired.”

Scholarly commentators have reached the same con-

clusion.

61 122 Cong. Rec. H9260 (daily ed. 31 Aug. 1976):

I have been asked whether 50 U.S.C. [§]4038g, a statute

relating to CIA exemption from laws such as the Sunshine

Act and the Freedom of Information Act, comes within

the third exemption as recommended by the conference.

I have examined section 403g and believe that it does

come within the exemption.

The legislative history cites, by way of example, in addition

to the statute involved in Robertson, supra note 59, several

statutes that would not qualify under amended Exemption 3.

See H.R. REp. No. 94-880, pt. 1, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 23

(1976), citing 18 U.S.C. § 1905 (1970); S. Rep. No. 94-1178,

94th Cong., 2d Sess. 14 (1976) (Conference Report), citing

42 U.S.C. § 1806 (Supp. V 1975). These statutes are of the

oceanic variety involved in Robertson and are in marked

contrast to the CIA statutes involved here. 42 U.S.C. § 1306

provides that no disclosure of any information obtained at

any time by or from the Departments of HEW or Labor shall

be made except as relevant regulations prescribe. 18 U.S.C.

§ 1905 prohibits “[d]Jisclosure of confidential information

generally” by any officer or employee of the United States “‘in

any manner or to any extent not authorized by law.”

82 Fonda Vv. CIA, 484 F.Supp. 498, 503-04 & n.6 (D.D.C.

1977), appeal docketed, No. 77-1989 (D.C. Cir. 4 Nov. 1977);

Hayden v. CIA, No. 76-284, slip op. at 3-4 (D.D.C. 15 Apr.

1977), appeal docketed, No. 77-1894 (D.C. Cir. 30 Sept. 1977).

68 See J. T. O'REILLY, supra note 30, at § 13.07 (“manda-

tory” nature of CIA statuces “bars disclosure under either

the original or revised versions of exemption (b) (3)”) ; Note,

The Effect of the 1976 Amendment to Exemption Three of the

Freedom of Information Act, 76 CoLUM. L.REv. 1029, 1044

n.91 (1976) (§ 403g qualifies under revised Exemption 3 be-

cause it specifies the “particular types of matters to be with-

held’).

20a

Having decided that § 403(d) (3) and § 403g remain

qualifying statutes under amended Exemption 3, we

must determine whether the deleted portions of the

Hillenkoetter Statement fall within these statutes’ pro-

tective compass. A court may be able to make such a deter-

mination on the basis of affidavits, without the need for

discovery or in camera inspection.“ Exemption 3 differs

from other FOIA exemptions in that its applicability de-

depends less on the detailed factual contents of specific

documents; the sole issue for decision is the existence of a

relevant statute and the inclusion of withheld material

within that statute’s coverage.®

°* Congress has instructed the courts to accord “substantial

weight” to agency affidavits in national security cases. S. REP.

No. 93-1200, 98d Cong., 2d Sess. 12 (1974) (Conference Re-

port) ; 120 Cong. Rec. 36,870 (1974) (remarks of Sen. Mus-

kie) ; Weissman v. CIA, 565 F.2d 692, 697 n.10 (D.C. Cir.

1977). A court has discretion to conduct in camera inspection

under 5 U.S.C. § 552(a) (4) (B) (1976), but the legislative

history makes clear that in camera inspection should be

ordered only after an agency has been given “the oppor-

tunity to establish by means of testimony or detailed affidavits

that the documents are clearly exempt from disclosure.” S.

Rep. No. 93-1200, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. 9 (1974) (Conference

Report). The description contained in the affidavits must be

sufficiently detailed to show that the contested matter “‘logi-

cally falls into the category of the exemption indicated.” Weiss-

man, 565 F.2d at 697.

65 See EPA v. Mink, 410 U.S. 78, 95 n.* (1973) (Stewart,

J., concurring) (under Exemption 3 “the only ‘matter’ to be

determined in a district court’s de novo inquiry is the factual

existence of [a relevant] statute, regardless of how unwise,

self-protective, or inadvertent the enactment might be’);

J.T. O'REILLY, supra note 30, at § 13.07. In Vaughn v. Rosen,

484 F.2d 820 (D.C. Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 415 U.S. 977

(1974), we noted the need of techniques to test for the

presence in a withheld document of segregable, nonexempt

matter, lest an agency be able to “sweep[] disclosable material

under a blanket allegation of exemption.” Jd. at 827 n.21. In

this case, the need for discovery or in camera inspection to

2la

In this case, the issue for decision is whether the

CIA has shown by affidavit that release of the Hillen-

koetter Statement in its entirety would reveal “intelli-

gence sources and methods,” e.g., by revealing the “or-

ganization” or “functions” of CIA personnel. According

to an affidavit submitted by CIA Legislative Counsel

George L. Cary, the deleted portions of the Hillenkoetter

Statement contain detailed descriptions of (1) “intelli-

gence collection and operational devices . . . still utilized’;

(2) “methods of procurement and supply . . . unique to

the Intelligence Community” which “are currently uti-

lized”; (3) “basie concepts of intelligence methodology”

of which “the essential elements remain viable’; (4)

“specific clandestine intelligence operations,” including

the “names [of] the foreign countries involved”; and (5)

“certain intelligence methodologies of a friendly foreign

government.” This affidavit has not been challenged. It

demonstrates, in nonconclusory and detailed fashion,®

that the deleted material describes “intelligence . .

methods,” including the “functions” and “organization”

of CIA personnel.” We hold, therefore, that the deleted

test for the presence of segregable, non-exempt material is

considerably diminished: the CIA’s claims of exemption are

by no means “blanket” or “sweeping,” and the Agency has

already segregated and released 80% of the Hillenkoetter

Statement to plaintiffs.

°° See Vaughn V. Rosen, 484 F.2d 820, 826 (D.C. Cir. 1973),

cert. denied, 415 U.S. 977 (1974).

* Section 403g does not of course license the Agency “to

refuse to provide any information at all about anything it

does.” Philiippi v. CIA, 546 F.2d 1009, 1015 n.14 (D.C. Cir.

1976). In this case, disclosure of the “personnel” material at

issue would lead to disclosure of intelligence sources and meth-

ods. But see Baker v. CIA, 425 F. Supp. 633, 635-36 (D.D.C.

1977), appeal pending, No. 77-1228 (D.C. Cir. 1978) (§ 403¢

personnel matter exempt under Exemption 8 even absent

22a

portions of the Hillenkoetter Statement were properly

withheld under FOIA Exemption 3.

The dissent would deny summary judgment on the

Exemption 3 status of the Hillenkoetter Statement be-

cause the CIA did not furnish a Vaughn v. Rosen index

of that document. This argument exalts from over

substance. Vaughn involved a request for numerous docu-

ments running to “many hundreds of pages,” and the

Government made a blanket claim that “the documents,

as a whole, [were] exempt under three distinct exemp-

tions.” °° We found it “preposterous to contend that all

of the information [was] equally exempt under all of the

alleged exemptions,” and found “an adequate indexing

system” necessary owing to our “inability to determine

which exemptions appl[ied] to what portions of the in-

formation.” * The present case involves 23 pages of

deletions from one document. The CIA’s affidavit lists

the deletions; provides a “relatively detailed analysis” ”

of the material deleted; makes clear which exemptions

are claimed for the deletions (Exemptions 1 & 3); and

explains why the deleted material fits within the exemp-

tions claimed (i.e., how the deletions relate to “national

security” and “intelligence sources and methods”). The

proof that disclosure would in fact compromise intelligence

sources and methods).

68 See diss. op. at 1-3 & 18-20, citing 484 F.2d 820, 826-28

(D.C. Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 415 U.S. 977 (1974).

6° See 484 F.2d at 825, 827.

70 Td. at 827-28, 827 n.22.

717d. at 826. See Maroscia v. Levi, 569 F.2d 1000, 1003

(7th Cir. 1977) (per curiam) (upholding summary judgment

on Exemption 1 status of CIA document, without in camera

inspection, on basis of affidavit describing document “in some

detail, indicating the circumstances and the sensitivity of the

information,” and explaining “[t]he potential harm resulting

from disclosure of [the] document’).

23a

CIA’s jusitifications, we think, could not have been

much more detailed without “compromis[ing] the secret

nature of the information.” * Although the Agency did

not tender its analysis in the form of an “index,” there-

fore, it satisfied the “detailed justification,” “specificity,”

and “separation” requirements whose satisfaction the

Vaughn index was meant to ensure. Although we do

not retreat in the least from our belief that an index

is of great assistance to requesters and courts in ap-

propriate cases, common sense suggests that an index

was unnecessary for the 23 pages that were so specifi-

cally described and justified here.

C. The Thoroughness of the CIA’s Search for Re-

sponsive Documents

The CIA asserts that exhaustive searches of its files

have succeeded in locating eight, and only eight, docu-

ments that are responsive to plaintiffs’ FOIA request.”

Plaintiffs contend that discovery is needed to test whether

the CIA’s search was complete. The district court

awarded summary judgment in favor of the CIA, find-

ing that “the CIA ha[d] made a full search in good

faith and that no further discovery [was] justified.” ™

We agree.

In order to prevail on an FOIA motion for summary

judgment, “the defending agency must prove that each

document that falls within the class requested either

has been produced, is unidentifiable, or is wholly exempt

7 Vaughn V. Rosen, 484 F.2d at 826-27.

7s These documents are the five published hearings (released

in full), the Vandenberg Statement (released in full), the

Hillenkoetter Statement (withheld in part), and the Hearing

Transcript (withheld in full). See pp. 4-5 supra.

™ J.A. 190.

24a

from the Act’s inspection requirements.” * In determin-

ing whether an agency has met this burden of proof,

the trial judge may rely on affidavits. Congress has

instructed the courts to accord “substantial weight” to

agency affidavits in national security cases,” and these

affidavits are equally trustworthy when they aver that

all documents have been produced or are unidentifiable

as when they aver that identified documents are exempt.

The agency’s affidavits, naturally, must be “relatively

detailed” and nonconclusory ” and must be submitted in

good faith. But if these requirements are met, the dis-

trict judge has discretion to forgo discovery and award

summary judgment on the basis of affidavits.”

In support of its motion for summary judgment, the

CIA submitted affidavits executed by Gene F. Wilson,

the Agency’s Information and Privacy Coordinator. Wil-

*® National Cable Television Ass’n, Inc. V. FCC, 479 F.2d

183, 186 (D.C. Cir. 1973).

6S. REP. No. 93-1200, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. 12 (1974) (Con-

ference Report); 120 Cong. Rec. 36,870 (1974) (remarks of

Sen. Muskie). See EPA v. Mink, 410 U.S. 73, 93 (1973).

* Vaughn Vv. Rosen, 484 F.2d 820, 826 (D.C. Cir. 1973),

cert. denied, 415 U.S. 977 (1974).

** See Nolen Vv. Rumsfeld, 5385 F.2d 890, 891-92 (5th Cir.

1976) (granting summary judgment upon agency’s representa-

tions “in candor and in good faith” that all responsive docu-

ments were made available to plaintiff); Association of Nat'l

Advertisers, Inc. v. FTC, 38 Ad.L.2d 6438, 644 (D.D.C. 1

April 1976) (where record indicates that agency search was

“reasonably thorough,” discovery may be limited by court;

to justify discovery where FTC “has already stated under

oath that the search was Commission-wide and complete,

... [p]laintiff must demonstrate some substantial discrepancy

between the defendants’ actions and words... .’); Exxon Corp.

Vv. FTC, 384 F.Supp. 755, 759-60 (D.D.C. 1974), remanded,

527 F.2d 1386 (D.C. Cir. 1976), dismissed, No. 73-1928

(D.D.C. 28 Feb. 1977) (limiting discovery where affidavits

demonstrated adequacy of search).

:

ba

* ‘

x)

25a

son stated that in response to plaintiffs’ initial request

for “legislative history” he “caused a search to be made

for all printed hearings, transcripts of hearings, [and]

printed reports issued by Committees of the House, Com-

mittees of the Senate or Conference Committees.” This

search produced five published reports and the Hearing

Transcript. Subsequently, plaintiffs expanded their re-

quest to include all documents “which may have been

used to prepare for Congressional testimony.” * Wilson

then conducted a “further exhaustive search” for “copies

of prepared testimony or statements presented in re-

sponse to congressional consideration of the legislation”

cited by plaintiffs." In this search, the CIA “interpreted

[plaintiffs’] request broadly enough to ensure that [it]

would locate all documents within the scope of the re-

quest,” and “searched and reviewed all files which might

contain [responsive] documents.” * This search produced

the Vandenberg and Hillenkoetter Statements, but “failed

to locate any additional records which could be con-

sidered responsive to plaintiffs’ request.” ** Since the

CIA has no indices or compendiums identifying records

as “preparatory documents for congressional testimony,”

any additional records of this description, if they exist,

could be found only by “a page-by-page search” through

the ‘‘84,000 cubic feet of documents in the [CIA] Records

Center.” ** Even if such a page-by-page search were

undertaken, it would be “impossible to determine which

documents, if any, were in fact used to prepare for

79 J.A. 174.

8° J.A. 106. See pp. 4-5 supra.

81 J.A. 78, 174.

82 J.A. 78.

83 J.A. 174.

¢ J.A. 175.

26a

congressional testimony on the legislation cited by plain-

an

We think that Wilson’s sworn affidavits on their face

are plainly adequate to demonstrate the thoroughness

of the CIA’s search for responsive documents. The af-

fidavits give detailed descriptions of the searches under-

taken, and a detailed explanation of why further searches

would be unreasonably burdensome. Plaintiffs argue,

however, that even if Wilson’s affidavits are otherwise

sufficient to support summary judgment in favor of the

CIA, discovery is required here because there is reason

to doubt the Agency’s good faith.

First, plaintiffs note that hearings occurred on the

CIA’s enabling statutes for which no published tran-

scripts exist, and argue that unpublished transcripts

of these hearings, as well as CIA back-up documents

prepared for use at these hearings, “must exist.” * Al-

though appeals to common sense are not altogether to

be condemned, plaintiffs’ argument is unpersuasive here.

Even if we assume that the documents plaintiffs posit

were created, there is no reason to believe that the docu-

ments, thirty years later, still exist, or, if they exist,

that they are in the possession of the CIA. Moreover,

even if the documents do exist and the CIA does have

them, the Agency’s good faith would not be impugned

unless there were some reason to believe that the sup-

posed documents could be located without an unreason-

ably burdensome search. It is well established that an

agency is not “required to reorganize [its] files in re-

sponse to [a plaintiff’s] request in the form in which it

was made,” * and that if an agency has not previcusly

5 Id.

*° J.A. 110 (emphasis original). See Brief of Appellants

at 26-27.

** Irons V. Schuyler, 465 F.2d 608, 615 (D.C. Cir.), cert.

denied, 409 U.S. 1076 (1972).

27a

segregated the requested class of records production may

be required only “where the agency [can] identify that

material with reasonable effort.” ** Wilson’s affidavits

plainly show that the effort required to locate the hypo-

thesized “back-up” documents would be unreasonable

here.

Second, plaintiffs argue that the Church Committee

Report * refers to several documents that “appear to be

within the scope of plaintiffs’ FOIA request . . ., and

copies of which could reasonably be expected to be in

the possession of the CIA, but which defendants have

neither identified or produced ....”” This argument

is similarly unpersuasive. In their expanded request for

“legislative history,” plaintiffs sought access to Congres-

sional reports and hearings on specific bills, and CIA

materials that may have been “the basis for testimony

at hearings” or “included in . . . reports” on those bills.

Fifteen of the 17 documents plaintiffs cite from the

Church Committee Report lie unmistakably outside the

scope of their FOIA request.” The two remaining docu-

88 National Cable Television Ass’n, Inc. v. FCC, 479 F.2d

183, 192 (D.C. Cir. 1973). See H.R. REP. No. 93-876, 93d

Cong., 2d Sess. 5-6 (1974) (description of records requested

must enable “a professional employee of the agency who

[is] familiar with the subject area of the request to locate

the record with a reasonable amount of effort’).

8° Final Report of the Senate Select Committee to Study

Governmental Operations with Respect to Intelligence Activi-

ties, S. Rep. No. 94-755, book 1, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. (1976)

[hereinafter “(Church Committee Report” or “Report’’].

9 J.A. 178.

1 In their Brief at 21-23 n.7, plaintiffs refer to the follow-

ing documents:

(a) Two memoranda from Wm. J. Donovan to the Presi-

dent, dated 1941 and 1944 (cited in Report at 481 n.24 & 482

n.28). These documents antedate by at least three years the

28a

ments are transcripts of Congressional hearings in ex~

ecutive session.** In his affidavit, Wil: on stated that these

documents, “if they exist, are not held by the [CIA].” ”

legislation cited by plaintiffs; neither memorandum discusses

any legislation whatever, nor was either prepared for testi-

mony on legislation. See Wilson Affidavit, J.A. 183.

(b) Three memoranda from the CIA General Counsel to

the Director, dated 1947-49 (cited in Report, e.g., at 132 n.19,

72 n.7 & 492 n.70). These documents are internal CIA memo-

randa which were not prepared for testimony on the cited

legislation and were in no way used in the legislative process.

See Wilson Affidavit, J.A. 183.

(c) Three transcripts of Congressional testimony, dated

1975 (cited in Report, e.g., at 141 n.1, 1383 n.27 & 483 n.32).

These documents postdate by 26 years the legislation cited by

plaintiffs; the testimony was not given in hearings on that

legislation.

(d) Three internal CIA memoranda, dated 1961-74, and

one memorandum prepared by the Justice Dept., dated 1962

(cited in Report, e.g., at 128 n. la, 1383 n.25, 478 n.10 & 133

n.26). These documents postdate by 13 years the legislation

cited by plaintiffs; none of the memoranda was prepared for

testimony on that legislation. See Wilson Affidavit, J.A. 183.

(e) Three draft legislative histories of the CIA prepared

by the CIA Legislative Counsel’s Office, dated 1967 (cited in

Report, e.g., at 71 n.5 & 480 n.19). These documents postdate

by 18 years the legislation cited by plaintiffs; none constitutes

a report or hearings on that legislation and none was prepared

for testimony on that legislation. See Wilson Affidavit, J.A.

183.

* Hearings before the Senate Armed Services Comm. on S.

758 (1947), Hearings before the House Comm. on Expendi-

tures in the Executive Departments on H. R. 2139 (1947)

(cited in Report, e.g., at 72 n.6). The Hearing Transcript

identified by the CIA contains some of the testimony taken at

the House hearings. Plaintiffs seek, and the CIA denies pos-

session of, transcripts of the remainder of the testimony taken

at those hearings.

8 J.A. 183.

29a

Since the transcripts are Congressional materials, and

since there is no indication in the Church Committee

Report that the transcripts were received from or re-

turned to the CIA,“ there is no reason to question the

good faith of Wilson’s asseveration.

Third, plaintiffs argue that the CIA’s “pattern of

obfuscation and delay” in dealing with them signals the

Agency’s mala fides. The Agency, they say, first de-

nied having any responsive documents, then found some,

then found some more: these “inconsistent positions”

and this piecemeal disclosure are said to imply bad

faith. We take a different view of the facts. Sara

Holtz originally requested “legislative history,” defined as

Congressional hearings and reports; the CIA not un-

naturally directed her to the Library of Congress. When

Holtz replied that she wanted unpublished hearings and

reports, the CIA identified the Hearing Transcript. When

** The Church Committee Report cites only two documents

that are said to be “‘on file at the CIA.” The first is the “State-

ment of the Director of Central Intelligence { Hillenkoetter]

Before the House Armed Services Committee [on] 8 April

1948” (cited in Report at 494 n.74). This is the “Hillen-

koetter Statement” which the CIA identified and for the most

part released. The second is so-called “Testimony of Gen.

Hoyt S. Vandenberg before the House Armed Services Com-

mittee Hearing on H. R. 5871, 4/8/48” (cited in Report at

495 n.80). The CIA at oral argument denied possession of

this document. We believe that the document in all probability

does not exist. According to the Congressional Record Daily

Digest, the only CIA officials to testify on H. R. 5871 before

the House Armed Services Committee on 8 April 1948 were

Hillenkoetter and Walter Pforzheimer. 94 Cong. Rec. D242

(1948). The error in the Church Committee Report seems

easily explicable. The transcript of Hillenkoetter’s 8 April

1948 testimony was entitled simply “Statement of the Director

of Central Intelligence.” Hillenkoctter was Director in 1948,

and Vandenberg was Director in 1947. Apparently, the report

wrongly attributed the 8 April 1948 statement of the un-

named CIA Director to Hillenkoetter’s predecessor.

30a

Goland and Skidmore said that they wanted not only

hearings and reports, but Executive Branch back-up

documents, the CIA identified the Vandenberg and Hillen-

koetter Statements. The Agency’s “piecemeal” pattern

of disclosure followed faithfully the piecemeal pattern

of requests, and thus here indicated, if anything, good

faith rather than bad; indeed, this Court held as much

in Weissman v. CIA. The Agency’s responses were not

always timely; but in view of the well-publicized prob-

lems created by the statute’s 10- and 20-day time limits

for processing FOIA requests and appeals,” the CIA’s

delay alone cannot be said to indicate an absence of

good faith.

The dissent, while not seriously questioning the CIA’s

good faith, says that discovery is needed in any event

to ascertain whether the CIA personnel conducting the

search used an “underinclusive” definition of “legislative

history.” *" We disagree. The CIA personnel conducting

the search evidently used the definition of “legislative

history” that plaintiffs gave them, namely, “hearings,

reports, and Executive Branch back-up documents.” That

this is so is suggested by the fact that the CIA’s search

°° 565 F.2d at 698 (footnote omitted) :

The CIA dealt with the instant request in a conscien-

tious manner. It disclosed much material, it released

additional material as the result of an administrative ap-

peal, and it came forward with newly discovered docu-

ments as located. Agency documents have been released

to plaintiff-appellant on four separate occasions.

See Fonda v. CIA, 484 F.Supp. at 502, appeal docketed, No.

77-1989 (D.C. Cir. 4 Nov. 1977): “The CIA dealt with plain-

tiff’s request in a conscientious manner. It disclosed much

material and it came forward with newly discovered docu-

ments as located. .. .”

*° See J. T. O’REILLY, supra note 30, at J 7.02.

* See diss. op. at 22.

cosa

3la

produced hearings, reports, and Executive Branch back-

up documents. Nor do we think discovery was necessary

to enable plaintiffs “to reformulate their request to elimi-

nate confusion and the possibility of future lawsuits.” *

“Legislative history” admittedly is not a term whose

meaning can be nicely cabined within bright lines; but

it is the term plaintiffs used, and if any ambiguity was

introduced thereby plaintiffs must reap what they have

sown. It would be bizarre indeed if a plaintiff, simply

by employing ambiguous language in his FOIA request,

could assure himself of potentially harassing discovery

for the purpose of dispelling the confusion he had en-

gendered.

We hold, therefore, that plaintiffs have made no show-

ing of CIA bad faith sufficient to impugn the Wilson

affidavit, which on its face suffices to demonstrate that

the CIA’s search for responsive documents was complete.

For this reason, the district court’s grant of summary

judgment without discovery was within its discretion.

D. The CIA’s Definition of Agency “Records.”

Plaintiffs contend that the CIA’s definition of agency

“records” is unduly narrow,’ and that they have been

injured because the Agency relied on this definition in

denying them records to which they are entitled. The

CIA responds that plaintiffs lack standing to maintain

8 See id. at 238.

% 32 C.F.R. § 1900.3(¢) (1976) defined CIA “records” to

exclude (1) certain indexing and filing documents; (2) certain

routing and transmittal sheets; (3) books and periodicals; (4)

documents prepared by an agency other than the CIA; and (5)

documents furnished by foreign governments under promise

of confidentiality. The definition was amended in 1977 and

the latter two exclusions were removed. See 42 Fed. Reg.

24,049 (12 May 1977) (codified at 32 C.F.R. § 1900.3(g)

(1977) ).

32a

this challenge, arguing that it did not rely on the defini-

tion’s “exceptions” in processing plaintiffs’ request. The

district court did not reach this issue. We do not reach

it either. We have held that the CIA made a full search

in good faith for responsive documents, and that the

withheld material was withheld properly. Since plaintiffs

have received all documents to which they are entitled,

no live controversy remains between them and the CIA

on the definitional issue.

E. Attorneys’ Fees.

The trial judge declined to award attorneys’ fees to

plaintiffs. The FOIA provides that attorneys’ fees and

costs may be assessed against the United States “in any

case . . . in which the complainant has substantially

prevailed.” *° Although a cursory reading of this opinion

would not suggest that plaintiffs have passed this test,

they argue that even if all relief should be denied them

they have “substantially prevailed” because the CIA re-

leased the Vandenberg Statement and portions of the

Hillenkoetter statement after they commenced suit. Even

if plaintiffs could show some causal nexus between their

litigation »nd the CIA’s disclosure,’ which they have

not done,"’* we doubt that plaintiffs could be said to

5 U.S.C. § 552 (a) (4) (E) (1976).

'" See Vermont Low Income Advocacy Council, Inc.

(VLIAC) Vv. Usery, 546 F.2d 509, 518 (2d Cir. 1976) (Friend-

ly, J.):

In order to obtain an award of attorney fees in an

FOIA action, a plaintiff must show at minimum that the

prosecution of the action could reasonably have been re-

garded as necessary and that the action had substantial

causative effect on the delivery of the information.

*? Res ipsa loquitur, as it were, is of no assistance to plain-

tiffs here. The CIA’s release of the Statement, to all appear-

ances, represents its good-faith efforts to come forward with

33a

have “substantially prevailed” if they, like Pyrrhus, have

won a battle but lost the war.’”

The judgment of the district court accordingly is

Affirmed.

newly-discovered documents as located. See p. 30 & note

95 supra. The fact that these documents were released after

plaintiffs brought suit on 28 Jan. 1977, to all appearances,

owes to the time-consuming nature of a search for materials

“used to prepare for congressional testimony,” p. 26 supra;

and to the fact that plaintiffs did not request access to such

materials until 16 Dec. 1976. See pp. 4-5 supra. Plaintiffs’

argument, in fine, boils down to post hoc, ergo propter hoc, a

fallacy that Congress wisely refrained from incorporating

into the attorneys’ fees provision of FOIA. See VLIAC, 546

F.2d at 514.

*3 In order to win the war, plaintiffs need not obtain a

judgment in court. See Cuneo v. Rumsfeld, 553 F.2d 1860,

1364-65 (D.C. Cir. 1977) (Tamm, J.) (citing cases) ; VLIAC,

546 F.2d at 513. They must, however, substantially prevail.

Cf. Cuneo, 553 F.2d at 1365 (plaintiffs substantially pre-

vailed where, “[a]fter almost eight years of tedious, hard

fought litigation, the government, faced with the appointment

of a special master to review the case,” supplied all the mate-

rial requested). Even if the plaintiff is held to have substan-

tially prevailed, the award of attorneys’ fees lies within the

district court’s discretion. See Cuneo, 553 F.2d at 1365-66 ;

VLIAC, 546 F.2d at 512-13 (citing legislative history). An

important factor in the exercise of this discretion is a deter-

mination whether the agency has been “recalcitrant in its

opposition to a valid claim or [has] otherwise engaged in ob-

durate behavior.” Cuneo, 553 F.2d at 1866. The CIA’s be-

havior was neither recalcitrant nor obdurate here.

34a

BAZELON, Circuit Judge, dissenting: I respectfully sub-

mit that the court today departs from well-established

principles in this circuit in order to sustain summary

judgment for the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA).

The court also adopts a restrictive definition of “agency

records” that erodes the right to disclosure under the

Freedom of Information Act’ (FOIA) and promotes

secret law.

I. THE NEED FOR DISCOVERY IN FOIA CASES

Without discovery, a party to litigation may not have

access to facts necessary to oppose a motion for summary

judgment. This problem is especially acute for plain-

tiffs in FOIA cases. Indeed, recognition of this dilemma

has shaped a number of our decisions. In Vaughn v.

Rosen, 484 F.2d 820 (D.C.Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 415

U.S. 977 (1974), summary judgment was granted to

the government on the basis of an affidavit declaring

that the documents sought were exempt from disclosure.

We reversed, recognizing that a FOIA plaintiff “ob-

viously cannot know the precise contents of the docu-

ments sought; secret information is, by definition, un-

known to the party seeking disclosure[,]” 484 F.2d at

823; that “[t]his lack of knowledge . . . seriously dis-

torts the traditional adversary nature of our legal sys-

tem’s form of dispute resolution[,]” id. at 824; and that,

although “formal” discovery under the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure was not at issue,’ procedures would

‘5 U.S.C. § 552 (1976).

* The sole issue in Vaughn was whether the agency had

demonstrated by affidavit that the documents sought were

exempt from disclosure. Plaintiff simply contested the suffi-

ciency of the affidavit. 484 F.2d at 823. He did not attempt

to bolster his case by serving interrogatories on agency

officials, Rule 33, Fed.R.Civ.P., or by deposing them, Rules 30

35a

have to be instituted to provide FOIA plaintiffs informa-

tion roughly equivalent to what they would obtain through

such discovery. “[CJourts will simply no longer accept

[from the defendant agency] conclusory and generalized

allegations of exemptions . . . but will require a relatively

detailed analysis in manageable segments [of the con-

tents of documents the agency seeks to withhold].” Jd.

at 826. We held such a procedure necessary—before

summary judgment could be granted to the government—

to enable a FOIA plaintiff “to argue with desirable legal

precision for the revelation of the concealed informa-

tion.” Id. at 823.

Subsequently, the problem of ensuring adversariness

arose in a context similar in several respects to the case

at bar. In Schaffer v. Kissinger, 505 F.2d 389 (D.C.

Cir. 1974) (per curiam), before plaintiff was able suc-

cessfully to pursue discovery, summary judgment was

granted to the government on the basis of an affidavit

stating that the documents plaintiff sought were classified

“confidential” pursuant to Executive Order 11652, 3

C.F.R. 339 (1974), 50 U.S.C. § 401 (Supp. IV 1974).

This court reversed, emphasizing that plaintiff had also

and 31. Thus the question whether discovery under the rules

should be permitted was not involved in the case.

In the present case, by contrast, plaintiffs urge that proper

ventilation of the issues requires both discovery and more

detailed affidavits. Plaintiffs seek to discover the circum-

stances surrounding the creation, and possession by the CIA,

of the “hearing transcript,” Part II, infra; the procedures and

substantive criteria observed in classifying the “Hillenkoetter

statement,” Part III(A), infra; the breadth of the CIA’s

search for responsive documents and the reasons for delay,

Part IV, infra; and whether the agency’s decision to disclose

certain materials was prompted by this lawsuit, Part V, infra.

In addition, plaintiffs contend that the affidavits filed by the

CIA fail adequately to describe specific materials withheld

and the reasons for nondisclosure, Parts II n.8 and III(B),

infra.

36a

filed an affidavit, as provided for by Rule 56(f), Fed.

R.Civ.P.,’ stating his belief that genuine issues existed

as to whether the classification was properly effected and

indicating that he could not verify that belief without

discovery. The court based its holding on the language

of Rule 56(f),* the policies underlying the FOIA, and

common sense:

Facts respecting the classification of the reports in

question are solely in the control of the [defyxdant

agency]. [Plaintiff] should be allowed to undertake

discovery for the purpose of uncovering facts which

might prove his right of access to the documents

which he seeks.

505 F.2d at 391. It is significant that there was no

evidence in Schaffer bolstering plaintiff’s claim that the

affidavit submitted by the defendant agency was either

executed in bad faith or was somehow erroneous. With-

out discovery, plaintiff had no means of producing such

evidence. Relying solely on his Rule 56(f) affidavit, the

court remanded the case with instructions to permit

plaintiff to undertake discovery relevant to whether the

reports in question were properly classified “confidential.”

Today the court ignores both Schaffer and the “over-

whelming emphasis [the FOIA places] upon disclosure,”

which guided our analysis in Vaughn. 484 F.2d at 823.

It does so in its zeal to protect the CIA from the burden

of processing meritless FOIA requests for vital security

information. I believe that such protection is available

°(f) When affidavits Are Unavailable. Should it appear

from the affidavits of a party opposing the motion that he

cannot for reasons stated present by affidavit facts essential

to justify his opposition, the court may refuse the application

for judgment or may order a continuance to permit affidavits

to be obtained or depositions tu.be taken or discovery to be

had or may make such other order as is just.

* See note 3 supra.

37a

without eroding the requirements of the FOIA. First of

all, the CIA has made no claim that preparation of the

index mandated by Vaughn v. Rosen would have been

either overly burdensome or likely to disclose matters

that should be kept secret. Moreover, the CIA offers

neither evidence nor reason to find that a complete bar

to discovery was necessary to protect its personnel from

harassment. Proper supervision of the discovery process,

as described in the margin,’ could have avoided such

problems. Through indexing and discovery the adversary

system would have worked to maximize the probability

that nonexempt information would be disclosed, thus ful-

filling the central purpose of the FOIA.°

‘>The Federal Rules leave discovery in the hands of the

parties in the first instance. The district court is charged

with supervising the process when disputes arise. Thus, if the

CIA believed plaintiffs’ requests for discovery to be burden-

some or otherwise objectionable, it had several alternatives

to a motion for summary judgment that were more consonant

with the Spirit of the FOIA. It could, for example, have

served objections to specific interrogatories on plaintiffs, who

then would have had to decide whether to move in district

court to compel answers under Rule 87(a) (2). The CIA

could itself have moved in district court to terminate or limit

a deposition, Rule 30(d), or for a protective order, Rule 26(c).

he grounds for such a protective order, like those for refus-

ing to answer specific questions, are generous. The district

court “may make any order which justice requires to protect

a party from annoyance, embarrassment, oppression, or undue

burden or expense... .” Jd. The district court may also, of

course, recognize any privilege asserted by a party seeking to

resist discovery. Rule 26(c) (6). Thus discovery would neither

have overly burdened the agency nor jeopardized its legitimate

secrets, but would have provided both plaintiffs and the dis-

trict court the information necessary to make the FOIA work.

® See generally S.REP.NO. 818, 89th Cong., Ist Sess. (1965) ;

H.R.Rep.No. 1497, 89th Cong., 2d Sess. (1966). The Senate

Report states unequivocally that “[i]t is the purpose of the

present bill . . . to establish a general philosophy of full

agency disclosure unless information is exempted under

38a

In sum, I submit that the grant of summary judgment

to the CIA was premature. This position is reinforced

by the factual ambiguity which pervades this record

and which is exacerbated by the questionable legal stand-

ard on which the court distinguishes “agency records”

from “congressional documents in an agency’s possession.”

II. THE MAJORITY’S “CONTROL/PROPERTY” TEST

The dispute in this case centers on two documents

which the CIA admittedly possesses and on the scope of

the CIA’s search for additional documents responsive to

plaintiffs’ request for “legislative history.” The first

document is a photostatic copy of a transcript containing

the minutes of hearings conducted by the House Com-

mittee on Expenditures in the Executive Department on

June 27, 1947. (Hereinafter referred to as the “hearing

transcript.”) The second document is entitled ‘“State-

ment of the Director of Central Intelligence before the

House Armed Services Committee—8 April 1948.” (Here-

inafter referred to as the “Hillenkoetter statement.’’)

My brothers agree with the CIA’s contention that the

hearing transcript is simply unavaiiable to the public,

whether or not specifically exempted from disclosure by

the FOIA.’ They find that the transcript is a “con-

clearly delineated statutory language... .” S.REp.No. 813,

supra, at 3. See also H.R.REP.NO. 1497, supra, at 3.

For a brief discussion of the history and purposes of the

FOIA, see EPA v. Mink, 410 U.S. 73, 79-80 (1973).

‘This is our first occasion to consider an agency’s claim

that the FOIA does not apply to information in its possession.

Compare, e.g., Soucie v. David, 448 F.2d 1067 (D.C.Cir. 1971),

in which the issue was whether the Office of Science and Tech-

nology is an “agency” for purposes of the FOIA.

The Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit, however, has

considered a claim similar to that raised here by the CIA. In

39a

gressional document,” not an “agency record,” and is

therefore wholly beyond the reach of the Act. The court

reasons that “the circumstances attending [the tran-

script’s] generation and the conditions attached to its

possession by the CIA” plainly reveal that it “‘remains

under the control and continues to be the property of the

House of Representatives.” Maj. op. at 12-13 (emphasis

added). This conclusion is reached as a matter of law,

thus eliminating any justification for discovery, on the

basis of representations by CIA officials. The agency has

stated by affidavit that the transcript contains testimony

taken in Executive Session; typewritten on both the

cover and first page of the transcript is the word

“Secret”; the text reveals that the stenographer and

typist were sworn to secrecy; the CIA retains a copy of

the transcript for “internal reference purposes” only.

Id. at 12, J.A. at 80.

In my view, the record in this case establishes as a

matter of law that the hearing transcript is an “agency

record,” and the court is empowered to order it with-

held only if it qualifies for nondisclosure under FOIA

exemptions one or three.* First of all, the CIA claims

Cook v. Willingham, 400 F.2d 885 (10th Cir. 1968) (per

curiam), the court decided that presentence reports are not

“agency records” even though in the possession of prison

authorities. I disagree. See note 18 infra.

*5 U.S.C. §§552(b) (1), (3) (1976). I submit that

the exemption one issue cannot be resolved on this record

since the CIA has failed to reveal whether the procedures it

followed in classifying the transcript comport with the require-

ments of Executive Order No. 11652. The Affidavit of George

L. Cary, Legislative Counsel of the CIA (hereinafter “Cary

Affidavit”), J.A. at 81, states only that a “Secret” classifica-

tion marking has been affixed on the face of the transcript.

Tt does not mention the other requirements contained in the

Executive Order. See generally Part III(A) infra. I suggest

also that neither exemption one nor exemption three can be

40a

to have had exclusive possession of this document for

more than thirty years.” More importantly, the CIA

acknowledges that it employs this information in in-

terpreting its organic legislation °—i.e., in making de-

cisions with respect to policy and operations. The Act

does not define “agency records.” But the House and

Senate reports reveal that the fundamental purpose of

the FOIA was to open administrative policy and opera-

tions to the light of public scrutiny.”

held applicable to the transcript until the CIA files an itemized

description of its contents. See generally id.; Part III(B)

infra.

* Although no explanation of “agency records” is provided

either in the FOIA itself or in the legislative history, the

Justice Department has suggested that the Act requires dis-

closure of “records in being and in the possession or control

of an agency.” R. Clark, Attorney General’s Memorandum on

the Public Information Section of the Administrative Proce-

dure Act 23 (1967), reprinted in Freedom of Information Act

Source Book, S. REP. No. 82, 938d Cong., 2d Sess. 222 (1974)

(emphasis supplied) (hereinafter “Attorney General’s Memo-

randum”). This interpretation supports plaintiffs’ position

that possession suffices and is consistent with the general

view advanced here that any attempt by the courts to define

“agency records” must be shaped primarily by the policy of

full disclosure underlying the Act. See notes 6 supra and 12

infra.

” The Cary Affidavit states that the agency uses the tran-

script “in conjunction with congressional action on legislation

dealing with the establishment of the Office of the Director

of Central Intelligence, the Central Intelligence Agency and

its functions.” J.A. at 80.

The reports indicate that the FOIA was intended to

strengthen the Public Information section of the Administra-

tive Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. § 1002 (1964), which was “drawn

upon the theory that administrative operations and proce-

dures are public property which the general public, rather

than a few specialists or lobbyists, is entitled to know or

4la

I also find the court’s “control/property” test unper-

suasive. We are not told what it meant by congressional

“control” over a document in an agency’s possession; or

in what sense such a document can be considered congres-

sional “property.” The fact that Congress is a non-agency

does not preclude a document or copy of a document it has

created from ever qualifying as an “agency record.”

Federal agencies regularly receive documents created by

non-agencies that obviously become “agency records” in

the ordinary course. See, e.g., Washington Research

Project, Inc. v. HEW, 504 F.2d 288 (D.C. Cir. 1974)

(grant application submitted to National Institute of

Mental Health by noncommercial research scientist) ;

Irons v. Gottschalk, 369 F.Supp. 403 (D.D.C. 1974)

(patent applications). Nor can the court rely on the

view that because Congress may have somehow forbidden

the CIA to disclose the transcript, thus exercising ‘“con-

trol” over its contents, the transcript cannot be con-

sidered an “agency record.” “Control” in this sense goes

to the question whether a document is exempt from dis-

closure—not to whether it is an “agency record.” * In

have ready means of knowing with definiteness and assur-

ance.” H.R.REP.NO. 1497, 89th Cong., 2d Sess. 3 (1966)

(quoting from H.R.REP.NO. 752, 79th Cong., Ist Sess. 198

(1945). See also S.REP.NO. 813, 89th Cong., Ist Sess. 8

(1965) (“[T]he very purpose for which [the Public Informa-

tion Section] ‘was intended [was to guarantee] the public’s

right to know the operations of its government.’’) ; Dept. of

the Air Force v. Rose, 425 U.S. 352, 361 (1976); SOC De-

velopment Corp. v. Mathews, 542 F.2d 1116 (9th Cir. 1976).

My brothers would facilitate the flow of information be-

tween Congress and the Executive branch, maj. op. at 11, at

the prohibitive cost of perpetuating the “secret law” we have

condemned so frequently. See, e.g., Tax Analysts & Advocates

v. IRS, 505 F.2d 350, 353 (D.C. Cir. 1974) ; Cuneo v. Schles-

inger, 484 F.2d 1086, 1091n. 13 (D.C. Cir. 1973).

2 This view of congressional “control” derives from the

history of the FOIA as well as its plain language. Before the

FOIA was enacted, the disclosure provisions of the Adminis-

42a

every exemption 3 case, for example, the ultimate ques-

tion is whether Congress has forbidden the agency to

trative Procedure Act allowed agencies to withhold informa-

tion “in the public interest,” or “for good cause shown,” or on

the ground that the person seeking the record was not “prop-

erly and directly concerned.” 5 U.S.C. § 1002 (1964). The

FOIA was designed specifically to eliminate these discretion-

ary standards. Soucie v. David, 448 F.2d 1067, 1076-77 (D.C.

Cir. 1971) ; Bristol-Myers Co. v. FTC, 424 F.2d 935, 938 (D.C.

Cir. 1970); American Mail Line, Ltd. v. Gulick, 411 F.2d

696, 699 (D.C. Cir. 1969); H.R.REP. No. 1497, 89th Cong.,

2d Sess. 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 11 (1966) ; S.REP. No. 813, 89th Cong.,

Ist Sess. 3-6, 8, 10 (1965). Congress replaced them with a

general requirement that all “records” be disclosed, 5 U.S.C.

§ 552(a) (3) (1976), offset by nine—and only nine—cate-

gories of privileged material. Id. § 552(b) (1)-(9). To avoid

the creation of new loopholes, Congress expressly limited

the grounds for nondisclosure to those specified in the ex-

emptions: “This section does not authorize withholding in-

formation or limit the availability of records to the public,

except as specifically stated in this section.” Id. § 552(c) (em-

phasis supplied).

My colleagues justify their view of congressional “control”

on the theory that “Congress has broad powers to keep its

documents secret .. . [and does not] waive[] its... preroga-

tives of confidentiality” when it transfers a “secret” docu-

ment to an agency. Maj. op. at n.48.

I think it is fair to say that the court creates a tenth exemp-

tion for documents subject to what it terms “congressional

prerogatives of confidentiality.” To be sure, there can be no

doubt about the existence of congressional power to maintain

the secrecy of congressional proceedings, see U.S. Const. art.

I, § 5, and thus to preserve the secrecy of documents in which

the minutes of those proceedings are transcribed. The ques-

tion in this case, however, is not whether such a power exists,

but whether Congress continues to exercise it after transfer-

ring a document to an agency on an ostensibly permanent

basis.

I read the FOIA as an unequivocal declaration by Congress

that documents which have become part of the administrative

process are subject to full disclosure unless specifically ex-

empted.

sD re |

43a

disclose the records sought. To illustrate, 26 U.S.C. § 7213

(a) (1) makes it unlawful “to divulge to any person the

amount of income... set forth . . . in any income re-

turn... .” This proscription does not mean that tax

returns are not “agency records.” Rather, tax returns

are agency records that must be withheld under exemp-

tion 3. See, e.g., Tax Analysts & Advocates v. Internal

Revenue Service, 505 F.2d 350 (D.C.Cir. 1974).

It appears that the court would supplement the ele-

ment of “control” with other concepts having to do with

“property.” The court’s ultimate position, as I see it,

would be that Congress has a property interest in, as

well as control over, the contents of the transcript, the

paper on which the contents are typed, and any copy

of the transcript. But so sweeping a notion of congres-

sional control and property is plainly at odds with the

majority’s concession that the Hillenkoetter statement is

an “agency record.” Maj. op. at 15. Both the tran-

script and the Hillenkoetter statement contain testimony

originally prepared by intelligence officials and subse-

quently delivered secretly before Congress. J.A. at 79-

82. There is no logical reason to believe, and none has

been suggested, that Congress would have an interest

in controlling the testimony in one but not the other.

The transcript contains, in addition to testimony, ques-

tions and comments by committee members. Perhaps,

then, the testimony should be considered the property

of the Executive branch, where it originated, and the

comments the property of Congress. If so, to the extent

the transcript consists of nonexempt testimony it should

be disclosed under the majority’s own rationale." The

‘The majority asserts that this argument is “frivolous”

because “the [hJearing [t]ranscript is not an agency record

.. +. Maj. op. at n. 47. In so doing the majority not only

overlooks the “property” element of its own test, but also

assumes its conclusion. As I understand the legal standard

44a

only further difference between the two documents that

is even arguably material is that the copy of the Hillen-

koetter statement which the CIA possesses was ap-

parently typed by agency employees, while the CIA’s

copy of the transcript was transcribed and typed by

employees of Congress. As I have indicated, the origin

of a piece of paper is simply not dispositive of the ques-

tion whether it qualifies as an “ageney record.”

the court proposes, the question whether a document is an

“agency record” requires consideration of whether the docu-

ment is the “property” of an agency. Surely, then, the major-

ity must consider whether the testimony contained in the

transcript is the “property” of the Executive branch.

That the majority fails to consider fully the perplexity of its

“property” rationale is reflected also by its reliance on Cook

v. Willingham, 400 F.2d 885 (10th Cir. 1968) (per curiam).

In that case the court held that a presentence report in the

hands of prison authorities was not an “agency record” be-

cause it “was made for the use of the sentencing court and

thereafter remains in the exclusive control of that court de-

spite any joint utility it may eventually serve.” Jd. Perhaps

the sentencing court can be said to have a “property” interest

in a presentence report since such reports are prepared for

that court by an arm of that court—the United States Proba-

tion Office. See Rule 32(c) (1), Fed.R.Crim.P. Since the con-

tents of a presentence report originate with the courts, how-

ever, not with the Executive branch, such reports would ap-

pear distinguishable under the majority’s standard from the

testimony contained in the hearing transcript at issue here.

In any event, I believe that Cook was wrongly decided. The

brief opinion in that case fails to clarify exactly how the sen-

tencing court exercises control over a document in the pos-

session of prison authorities. Moreover, the opinion fails to

envision the possibility that the sentencing court could ever

relinquish such control. In my view, once the prison authori-

ties had possession of the report for use in connection with

administrative decisions (e.g., parole release), the report be-

came a quintessential “agency record.” See note 11 supra and

accompanying text.

a

45a

In any case, even assuming the “control/property”

standard is the correct one, factual ambiguities in the

record would preclude summary judgment. If Congress

does, generally speaking, exert control over, and main-

tain property interests in, documents possessed by fed-

eral agencies, the majority’s test generates a need to

ascertain the methods by which such control is exercised

and relinquished, and the means by which such property

interests are created and extinguished. In this case dis-

covery is necessary specifically to determine whether

Congress or the committee that conducted the hearings

ever instructed the CIA to preserve the secrecy of the

transcript, and, if so, for how long. Apparently the

transcript itself contains no such express instruction, and

the CIA concedes that the source of the “Secret” classi-

fication is unknown. J.A. at 80. The fact that the

committee met in Executive Session serves only to raise

further questions concerning the nature of the “long-

standing practice” governing secrecy of such sessions to

which the majority refers. Maj. op. at n.45."* Also,

‘The majority acknowledges that H.R. Rule XI(1) (k) (7),

which governs disclosure of testimony taken in Executive

Session of the House of Representatives, did not exist in 1947,

when the hearings in question were conducted. Maj. op. at

n. 45. The majority states, however, that “the Rule simply

formalized long-standing practice . . . [requiring that] ‘all

testimony taken in executive hearings ... be secret and... not

be released . . . without the approval of a majority of the sub-

committee.’” Id. (quoting from S.REP.No. 5, 81st Cong., 1st

Sess., 3-4 (1949) ).

The “practice” to which the court refers is ambiguous at

best. For one thing, the court relies on practice in the Senate,

and the House may have functioned differently. And the prac-

tice of either branch of Congress may have provided for dis-

closure without approval by committee after a specified dura-

tion. Moreover, assuming Senate practice is relevant, the court

should consider whether disclosure of portions of the transcript

by the Church Committee, see note 15 infra, might substitute

for approval by the committee that originally conducted the

hearings.

46a

discovery is necessary to determine whether, in the thirty

years during which the CIA has possessed the transcript,

it has ever acted inconsistently with congressional ‘“con-

trol,” as by disclosing the contents of the transcript to

other agencies or individuals without seeking congres-

sional authority. Finally, plaintiffs should be permitted

to pursue further the question whether Congress itself

has explicitly or implicitly indicated that it no longer

considers preservation of the transcript’s secrecy to be

crucial. Even without discovery plaintiffs have demon-

strated that the Church Committee has published por-

tions of the transcript.”

III. THE CIA’s CLAIMS OF EXEMPTION

The majority adopts the CIA’s declaration by affidavit

that the withheld portions** of the Hillenkoetter state-

ment are exempt from disclosure as a matter of law on

grounds of national security. This result is reached by

two separate paths—directly, under FOIA exemption one,

5 U.S.C. §552(b)(1) (1976), and indirectly, by in-

corporating into FOL[A exemption three, id., § 552(b) (3),

the nondisclosure provisions of the National Security Act

of 1947, 50 U.S.C. § 403(d) (8), and the Central Intelli-

gence Agency Act of 1949, 50 U.S.C. § 403g. See gen-

erally Maj. op. at 15-23. The majority may well be cor-

rect in concluding that disclosure of the withheld ma-

terial would threaten our national security. Congress,

* The Church Committee Report, Foreign and Military In-

telligence, Final Report of the Select Committee to Study

Governmental Operations with respect to Intelligence Activi-

ties, S.REP.NO. 94-755, 94th Cong., Ist Sess., pt. I (1976),

refers to or quotes from the hearing transcript at 72n. 6;

129n. 2, 7; 136n. 32-34; 138n. 41a; 480n. 17, 487-488n. 53; and

488n. 56-57.

1° The CIA has deleted approximately 20%, or 23 pages, of

the Hillenkoetter statement. Brief for the Government at 21.

47a

however, has unambiguously expressed its intention that

such determinations shall be made de novo. 5 U.S.C. § 552

(a) (4) (B) (1976).° The affidavits submitted by the

CIA are no substitute.

A. Exemption One *

In the case of exemption one the district court must

determine the propriety of a document’s classification

according to “both procedural and substantive criteria

contained in the Executive Order under which it was

17 Congress made its will clear in Pub.L.No. 93-502, 88

Stat. 1561 (1974), which amended the FOIA in part to over-

rule the decision by the Supreme Court in EPA v. Mink, 410

U.S. 73 (1973). In Mink the Court had interpreted 5 U.S.C.

§ 552(b) (1), which exempted from disclosure those matters

“snecifically reauired by Executive order to be kept secret

in the interest of the national defense or foreign policy,”

not to allow judicial review of Executive security classifica-

tions and accordingly not to allow in camera inspection of

a contested document bearing a security classification so that

nonsecret matter could be separated from secret matter and

ordered disclosed. 410 U.S. at 81-84. Congress responded

by amending the language of § 552(b) (1), see note 18 infra,

to provide clearly for judicial review of both the procedural

and substantive propriety of the classification. It also specified

that where the documents sought are withheld on the basis

of any of the nine exemptions, “the court shall determine

the matter de novo, and may examine the contents of such

agency records in camera to deter 1ine whether such records

or any part thereof shall be withheld... .” Pub.L.No. 93-

502, §1(b) (2), 88 Stat. 1562 (1974); see also H.R.REP.NO.

1380, 93d Cong., 2d Sess., 2, 12 (1974).

18 FOIA’s first exemption immunizes from disclosure those

matters that are

(A) specifically authorized under criteria established

by an Executive order to be kept secret in the interest

of national defense or foreign policy and (B) are in fact

properly classified pursuant to such Executive order.

5 U.S.C. §552(b) (1) (1976).

48a

classified.” Zweibon v. Mitchell, 516 F.2d 594, 642 (D.C.

Cir. 1975) (quoting from H.R. REP.NO.1380, 93d Cong., 2d

Sess., 12 (1974)); see also Halperin v. Department of

State, No. 76-1528 (D.C. Cir. Aug. 16, 1977), slip op.

at 7. Such determinations could not have been made

on the record in this case because the affidavit submitted

by the CIA fails to reveal the date on which the Hillen-

kotter statement was originally classified. J.A. at 81.

Without discovery, the district court could merely specu-

late about which Executive Order, if any,’® governed the

original classification.

The district court apparently relied on an asserted

reclassification of the Hillenkoetter statement in con-

cluding that “the withheld portions . . . have been

properly classified according to the provisions of Execu-

tive Order No. 11652,” J.A. at 189, which is the Order

presently in force. See 3 C.F.R. 339 (1974), 50 U.S.C.

§ 401 (Supp. IV 1974). Perhaps discovery pertaining to

the validity of the original classification would be un-

necessary if reclassification under Executive Order No.

11652 had been properly effected. The district court,

however, was plainly in error. Section 4(A) of the

1° The record reveals only that the Hillenkoetter statement

was prepared in April, 1948. At that time, there was no

Executive Order in existence governing all security classifica-

tions. The first such Order was issued in 1950 by President

Truman. See Executive Order No. 10290, 3 C.F.R. 789 (1953).

The Office of War Information, however, had in 1942 issued

a government-wide regulation dealing with security classifica-

tion under the authority of Executive Orders 9103 and 9182.

See Office of War Information Regulation No. 4, issued Sept.

28, 1942, amended, Nov. 18, 1942. See generally H.R.REpP.No.

93-221, 938d Cong., Ist Sess., 4-14 (1973). This regulation

established both substantive criteria and procedural require-

ments. See id. at 7. Thus, assuming the Hillenkoetter state-

ment was classified originally in 1948, discovery was neces-

sary to determine whether these substantive criteria and pro-

cedural requirements were followed.

49a

Executive Order requires that classified material “show

on its face its classification and whether it is subject

to or exempt from the General Declassification Schedule.

It shall also show the office of origin, the date of prepara-

tion and [the date of] classification ... .” Excepting

that the word “Secret” and the date of preparation ap-

pear on the face of the Hillenkoetter statement, J.A. at

80, there is no indication in the record that these pro-

cedures were followed.

We said recently in Halperin v. Department of State,

No. 76-1528 (D.C.Cir., Aug. 16, 1977), that the govern-

ment cannot claim a statutory exemption from the

FOIA if it has failed to comply with the procedures

necessary to give such exemption effect.”

20 See also Schaffer v. Kissinger, supra.

In Halperin, we did not hold that the document in ques-

tion necessarily had to be disclosed to plaintiff. Rather, we

remanded the case to the district court for a determination

of whether disclosure would “do grave damage to the national

security ....” Id., slip op. at 14-15. The decision to remand

was made reluctantly:

Having failed to follow the procedures established by

their own branch of government, appellants ask us in

effect to save them from the consequences of that failure

by providing an exemption the Congress did not create.

The power of a court to refuse to order the release

of information that does not qualify for one of the nine

statutory exemptions exists, if at all, only in “exceptional

circumstances in which a court could fairly conclude that

Congress intended to leave room for the operation of

limited judicial discretion.” The need for this restric-

tion on the power of the courts is apparent here. A

broad judicial power to refuse to order disclosure of non-

exempt information that a court feels would damage the

national interest could obviously operate to frustrate

the requirements of FOIA.

Id. at 14 (citations omitted). Narrowly circumscribing its

discretion, we directed the district court to be “guided by an

50a

B. Exemption Three *

In the case of exemption three the district court must

determine whether the material withheld is specifically

exempted from disclosure by statute. I have no quarrel

with the court’s holding that 50 U.S.C. §§403(d) and

408g specifically require that “intelligence sources and

methods” be kept secret. Maj. op. at 16-19. I believe the

court is mistaken, however, in eschewing “discovery or

in camera inspection to test for the presence of segrega-

ble, non-exempt material” on what is essentially the

ground that “the Agency has already segregated and re-

leased 80% of the Hillenkoetter statement to plaintiffs.”

Id. at n.65. This rationale violates the court’s statu-

tory responsibility to undertake de novo review for “rea-

sonably segregable material,” 5 U.S.C. § 552(b) (1976) ;

Department of the Air Force v. Rose, 425 U.S. 352, 374

(1976), and places the disclosure decision squarely in

the hands of the CIA.”

exacting standard similar to that suggested in Near v. Min-

nesota, [283 U.S. 697, 716 (1931)].” Halperin, slip op. at

16. See also Tax Analysts & Advocates v. IRS, 505 F.2d 350,

855 (D.C.Cir. 1974); Getman v. NLRB, 450 F.2d 670, 678

(D.C.Cir. 1971); Soucie v. David, 448 F.2d 1067, 1077 (D.C.

Cir. 1971).

In this case, as in Halperin, since the agency failed in

reclassifying the Hillenkoetter statement to follow the pro-

cedures necessary to give exemption one effect, there is no

need to address the question whether the reclassification satis-

fied the substantive criteria contained in Executive Order

No. 11652. I should note, however, that for want of an

itemized index of the contents of the Hillenkoetter statement,

see Part III(B) infra, the district court could not possibly

have given the requisite de novo consideration to the ques-

tion of substantive classifiability.

21 FOIA’s third exemption immunizes from disclosure those

matters that are

specifically exempted from disclosure by statute...

provided that such statute (A) requires that the matters

Dla

Our decisions establish that in national security cases

as in all others, summary judgment is proper without

discovery or in camera inspection only if the agency has

submitted an itemized index that “subdivide|s] the docu-

ment under consideration into manageable parts cross-

referenced to the relevant portion of the Government’s

justification.” Vaughn v. Rosen, supra, 484 F.2d at 827.

See also Weissman v. CIA, 565 F.2d 692, 698 (D.C. Cir.

1977) (as amended, April 4, 1977) ; Phillippi v. CIA, No.

76-1004 (D.C.Cir., Nov. 16, 1977), slip op. at 7. Cf. Mead

Data Central, Inc. v. Department of the Air Force, No.

75-2218 (D.C.Cir., Aug. 30, 1977), slip op. at 7-10. Such

an index, as I discussed earlier, “can . . . be subjected

to criticism by the party seeking the document. If in

camera examination of the document is still necessary,

the court will at least have the benefit of being able to

focus on the issues identified and clarified by the ad-

be withheld . .. in such a manner as to leave no discretion

on the issue, or (B) establishes particular criteria for

withholding or refers to particular types of matters to be

withheld.

5 U.S.C. § 552(b) (3) (1976).

22 The court asserts that “[e]xemption 3 differs from other

FOIA exemptions in that its applicability depends less on the

detailed factual contents of specific documents... .”’ Maj. op.

at 20. On the contrary, the applicability of this exemption,

like any other, depends entirely on whether the factual con-

tents of the particular materials withheld are such that the

statutory criteria for nondisclosure are satisfied. The sole dif-

ference between exemption three and other FOIA exemptions

is that in the case of exemption three, these criteria are not

provided by the FOIA itself but by other statutes. For exam-

ple, in the present case the relevant criteria are established

by the National Security Act of 1947, 50 U.S.C. § 403(d) (3),

and the Central Intelligence Act of 1949, 50 U.S.C. § 408g. I

should note that the court appears to realize as much, and

later states that the “withheld material [must be included]

within [the exempting] statute’s coverage. Maj. op. at 21.

d2a

versary process.” Phillippi v. CIA, supra, slip op. at

7; Vaughn v. Rosen, supra, 484 F.2d at 826-828. See

also S.REP.NO. 98-854, 98d Cong., 2d Sess., 14-15 (1974).

The affidavit filed here by the CIA, quoted in part in

the court’s opinion at 21, plainly fails to supply the in-

formation necessary to facilitate the adversary process

and de novo review. First, the affidavit speaks for the

most part only of intelligence “devices,” “sources,” “meth-

ods,” and “operations.” Essentially it parrots the lan-

guage of the exempting statutes, 50 U.S.C. §§ 403(d) (3)

(“intelligence sources and methods”) and 403g (intelli-

gence “functions”), rather than providing the detailed

description the “requesting party [needs] to present its

case effectively,” Mead Data Central, Inc. v. Dept. of the

Air Force, No. 75-2218 (D.C.Cir., Aug. 30, 1977), slip

op. at 9; Vaughn v. Rosen, supra, 484 F.2d at 823-24, 828,

and a reviewing court requires to make an independent

evaluation of an agency’s exemption claims.** Second, as

plaintiffs point out, the affidavit “makes no effort to match

its assertions to given pages or paragraphs in the [Hillen-

*8 My colleagues find that the affidavit “could not have been

much more detailed without ‘compromis[ing] the secret na-

ture of the information.’” Maj. op. at 23 (quoting from

Vaughn v. Rosen, supra, 484 F.2d at 826-27). This may be

true. An affidavit couched essentially in the language of the

exempting statute, however, is plainly of no more usefulness

to plaintiffs or the court than an affidavit simply declaring

that the withheld material qualifies for a particular exemp-

tion. If for some reason agencies must be especially guarded

in describing withheld material in so-called “national security”

cases, the indexing requirement may not provide an adequate

means in such cases of ensuring that the adversary process

works and of facilitating de novo review. It may therefore

be necessary, especially in national security cases, for the Dis-

trict Court to inspect withheld documents, or at least a rea-

sonable sample thereof, in camera. But compare Weissman

v. CIA, supra, 565 F.2d at 697 (“in camera proceedings are

particularly a last resort in ‘national security’ situations.”’).

ay mallet acca

53a

koetter] statement.” Brief for Appellants at 33. For

want of an itemized index, it is impossible to determine

whether all nondisclosed portions of the statement have

been described, much less properly withheld.

IV. THE CIA’s SEARCH FOR RESPONSIVE DOCUMENTS

The court refuses to permit plaintiffs to conduct dis-

covery pertinent to the scope of the CIA’s search for

“legislative history” on the ground that affidavits sub-

mitted by the agency reveal as a matter of law that the

search was thorough. The majority emphasizes the as-

sertion by the agency’s Information and Privacy Co-

ordinator that the “CIA interpreted [plaintiffs’] request

broadly enough to ensure that [it] would locate all docu-

ments within the scope of the request.” Maj. op. at 25;

J.A. at 78. The majority states that “the Agency’s

good faith would not be impugned unless there were some

reason to believe that [additional responsive] documents

could be located without an unreasonably burdensome

search.” Maj. op. at 26. Finding that the CIA did, in

fact, act in good faith, the court refuses to reach plain-

tiffs’ contention that the agency’s definition of “agency

records,” 32 C.F.R. § 1900.3(g¢) (1976), is unduly nar-

row and may have served as an impermissible basis for

withholding otherwise responsive documents. Maj. op. at

31-32.

The court may well be correct in concluding that the

CIA has acted in good faith, and that its search was

24 The CIA’s definition excludes certain (1) “[i]ndex, filing,

and museum documents;” (2) “[rJouting and transmittal

sheets and notes;” (3) “[b]ooks, newspapers, magazines, and

similar publications ;” (4) “[d]ocuments and records prepared

or originated by [other] agenc[ies];” and (5) “[d]ocuments

and records furnished by foreign governments .. . on the

understanding . .. [that they be] kept in confidence.”

54a

thoroughly responsive to plaintiffs’ request. My dis-

agreement, again, concerns not the substance but the

timing of the judgment in favor of the agency.

As I understand plaintiffs’ position, although they do

raise questions about the CIA’s good faith,*® the real

issue here concerns the scope the agency attributed to the

term “legislative history.” Clearly, whether or not the

CIA acted in good faith, its understanding of “legisla-

tive history” shaped its search for responsive documents.

It is not enough for the CIA simply to state that it

“interpreted the request broadly.” Without discovery of

the precise definition employed by the persons who con-

ducted the search, plaintiffs were in no position to argue

effectively that the search was under-inclusive.* Such

** Plaintiffs point out that on March 10, 1976, six weeks

after their complaint had been filed in district court and near-

ly five months after their original FOIA request had been filed

with the CIA, they received notification that the agency had

conducted a subsequent search and “recently identified” addi-

tional responsive documents that “had not previously been

located.” Brief for Appellants at 4-7; John F. Blake letter,

J.A. at 129. They contend that the CIA’s delay in responding

to their request raises an inference of bad faith that justifies

discovery with respect to the scope of the search. Brief for

Appellants at 20. At least one district court judge would

apparently agree with them. See Ass’n of National Adver-

tisers, Inc. v. FTC, 38 Ad.L.2d 643 (D.D.C. April 1, 1976)

(production of additional documents after six-month delay

“presents a substantial issue of the completeness of the agency

search.” Id. at 645).

*° The court rejects the need for discovery of the definition

of “legislative history” employed by the agency in its search

because this is the “term plaintiffs used, and if any ambiguity

was introduced thereby plaintiffs must reap what they have

sown.” Maj. op. at 31.

I submit that this view is at war with the purposes of the

FOIA. A FOIA request may of necessity be based on im-

perfect information—or none at all—about the particular

Hn

discovery, of course, might have led the parties to agree

on an appropriate search. At a minimum, such discovery

would have enabled plaintiffs to reformulate their re-

quest to eliminate confusion and the possibility of future

lawsuits. Also, such discovery would have revealed

whether the persons conducting the search did in fact

withhold otherwise responsive documents on the basis of

the CIA’s definition of “agency records.” If so, the ques-

tion would arise whether that definition is permitted by

the FOIA.

agency’s methods of classifying and filing information. FOIA’s

legislative history acknowledges the problem, indicating that

a request must supply only “a reasonable description enabling

the Government employee to locate the requested records.”

S.REP.No. 813, 89th Cong., 1st Sess. 8 (1965). See also Sears

v. Gottschalk, 357 F.Supp. 1827 (D.C. Va. 1973). To require

more specificity would be. futile, particularly where, as here,

the requestor cioes not know whether or to what extent re-

sponsive documents exist. Moreover, FOIA’s legislative his-

tory reveals that the requirement that a request identify the

records sought, 5 U.S.C. § 552(a) (3), is “not to be used as

a method of withholding records.” S.REp. No. 813, supra, at 8,

«.ccord, Bristol-Myers Co. v. FTC, 424 F.2d 935, 938 (D.C.

Cir. 1970). See also Attorney General’s Memorandum, supra

note 9, at 24. It follows that ambiguity resulting from imper-

fect information should not be used as a justification for

prohibiting the discovery necessary to make the FOIA work.

In this case I would not cripple plaintiffs’ right to access

to agency records because there is ambiguity in their re-

quest. What they apparently seek is any and all information

in whatever form pertaining to the CIA’s organic statutes.

Yet a request so formulated would provide agency employees

with scarcely any more guidance than one for “legislative his-

tory.” The problem, quite simply, is that plaintiffs do not know

what form such information will take, or where it might be

located in the CIA’s files. I would rely on the discovery

process to eliminate such a problem.

56a

V. ATTORNEY’S FEES

Plaintiffs claim to be entitled to an award of attorney’s

fees on the ground that the CIA produced several docu-

ments only after this litigation was instituted.** The

court rejects this claim in part because plaintiffs have

not shown the required “causal nexus between their liti-

gation and the CIA’s disclosure.” Maj. op. at 32. I do

not disagree with the court’s legal standard. What con-

cerns me, however, is that here again plaintiffs have

had no opportunity to make their case. A showing of an

agency’s subjective reasons for producing documents is

difficult to accomplish at all events. It is virtually im-

possible without discovery.

VI. CONCLUSION

In a recent FOIA case Judge Wilkey remarked that

“(t]he data which plaintiff seeks to have produced .. .

are matters of interest not only to him but to the na-

tion.” Weisberg v. Department of Justice, No. 75-2021

(D.C.Cir., July 7, 1976), slip op. at 6. This observation

applies with particular force to the legislative history

underlying the creation of the CIA. I regret that an

issue of such importance has not been resolved in ac-

cordance with principles of summary judgment.

*7 J.A. at 129. See note 25 supra.

57a

Notice: This opinion is subject to formal revision before publication

in the Federal Reporter or U.S.App.D.C. Reports. Users are requested

to notify the Clerk of any formal errors in order that corrections may be

made before the bound volumes go to press.

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 76-1800

SusAN D. GOLAND AND PATRICIA B. SKIDMORE,

APPELLANTS

v.

CENTRAL INTELLIGENCE AGENCY, ET AL

On Appellants’ Motion to Vacate and

Petition for Rehearing

(D.C. Civil Action No. 76-0166)

Filed 28 March 1979

James H. Wallace, Jr., Thomas C. Arthur, Mark H.

Lynch, Alan B. Morrison and Larry P. Ellsworth were on

the motion to vacate and on the petition for rehearing.

Leonard Schaitman and John F. Cordes were on the

opposition to appellant’s motion to vacate.

Also Thomas C. Martin, Department of Justice entered

an appearance for respondent.

Bills of costs must be filed within 14 days after entry of judgment. The

court looks with disfavor upon motions to file bills of costs out of time.

58a

Before: BAZELON, TAMM and WILKEY, Circuit Judges.

Opinion Per Curiam

Dissenting opinion filed by Circuit Judge BAZELON.

Per Curiam. This petition for rehearing was occasioned

by an inexcusable lapse on the part of the Central In-

telligence Agency (CIA). While litigating the appeal

whose disposition is here questioned, the CIA discovered

but failed to disclose within any reasonable time hun-

dreds of documents which were arguably responsive to

plaintiff-appellants’ Freedom of Information Act request,

The documents’ existence was not revealed until after we

issued our decision, affirming summary judgment for the

CIA. The failure to make the disclosure plainly called

for naturally casts a cloud over the entire proceeding.

Nevertheless, and without the barest intention of coun-

tenancing the CIA’s untimely disclosure, on analysis of

the issues argued and decided, we decline to disturb our

judgment, save on the question of attorneys’ fees. With

respect to that question, we remand to the District Court

to reconsider its ruling in light of the altered circum-

stances of this case.

I, FActTs

We issued our opinion on 23 May 1978, affirming the

district court’s grant of summary judgment to the CIA.

On 30 May 1978, a week after the issuance of our opin-

ion, the CIA informed the Justice Department that it had

found hundreds of additional documents that might be

responsive to plaintiffs’ FOIA request. The Department

promptly informed plaintiffs and this Court of CIA’s

discovery. On 6 June 1978 plaintiffs filed a petition for

rehearing and suggestions for rehearing en banc.

‘The effect of this timely petition has been to suspend

issuance of our mandate.

’

'

t

59a

On 14 June 1978 the CIA released to plaintiffs’ counsel

30 of the additional documents. In an accompanying

letter the Agency stated that, even though it did not be-

lieve that all of the documents fell within plaintiffs’

FOIA request, it was releasing them anyway to assist

plaintiffs’ scholarly research. The letter explained fur-

ther that:

[m]ost of these documents were discovered late last

fall, and additional documents earlier this year, by

the librarian of the Office of General Counsel. She

discovered all of these documents which were unin-

dexed, in the course of her independent research on

legal projects unrelated to the Goland case. Although

a sampling of the documents last fall revealed their

possible relevance to Goland, it was not until late

May 1978, when a partial list of the documents was

completed by the law librarian, that the extent of

the documents, and the significance of some of the

documents to the Goland FOIA request, were fully ap-

preciated.

The following week, on 23 June 1978, the CIA released

to plaintiffs’ counsel an additional 291 documents. Also

on that date CIA’s associate general counsel, Ernest

Mayerfeld, wrote the Justice Department to explain the

circumstances surrounding the Agency’s discovery and

release of additional documents:

Most of these documents were discovered last fall

by the Office of General Counsel librarian in the

course of extensive research on two projects unre-

lated to the Goland litigation. Many of these docu-

ments were found in a CIA installation outside of

Washington where inactive records are kept, only

after great diligence and persistence by the librarian

in connection with her research. She became aware

of the existence of these documents, which had been

stored in cardboard boxes and had not been organized

in any fashion, as a result of several interviews with

current and former CIA employees conducted in con-

60a

nection with her research projects. These documents

were not indexed and could not have been found

under normal FOIA search procedures.

I can state most emphatically that there was no

intent within the CIA to conceal the fact that these

documents had been found. The librarian, who had

some personal familiarity with the Goland case and

thus recognized that some of the documents which she

had found might have some bearing on the Goland

litigation, immediately (i.e. in late November or

early December 1977), informed the General Counsel,

the Deputy General Counsel and the undersigned.

Because at that time the documents had not been

organized or analyzed, and because it was not im-

mediately apparent which if any were within the

scope of the FOIA request in Goland, the General

Counsel instructed the librarian to begin to organize

these documents and segregate from among them

those documents which qualified for designation as

“legislative history.”

The law librarian proceeded with her assigned

task, but her extensive involvement in other routine

duties prevented her completing this task as ex-

peditiously as might have been desired. It should be

noted that during this period she was engaged in a

major reorganization of the law library which inci-

dentally also entailed a physical move from one loca-

tion to another. Also, although the Table of Organi-

zation of the Office of General Counsel called for an

assistant law librarian, no one was appointed to that

position until March 1978. The law librarian first

completed a partial inventory of the additional docu-

ments on May 19, 1978 and shortly thereafter it was

decided that all the newly-found documents wouid be

released, subject to FOI[A] deletions, and you were

immediately informed.

This, then, apears to be the sequence of events: (1) The

district court granted summary judgment to the CIA on

26 May 1976. (2) Plaintiffs’ filed their notice of appeal

a iil

6la

on 23 July 1976. (3) In November or December 1977—

while this appeal was still pending but more than a year-

and-a-half after the district court’s decision—the CIA dis-

covered additional documents, some of which arguably fell

within the scope of plaintiffs’ FOIA request. (4) Failing

to inform plaintiffs, the Justice Department, or this Court

of the discovery, the CIA undertook a sluggish four-month

examination of the documents. (5) It was not until a

week after we issued our 23 May 1978 decision that CIA

finally revealed its discovery and began releasing the

documents. | |

Contending that this sequence of events completely un-

dermines the basis of our 23 May decision, plaintiffs have

now filed a motion summarily to vacate that decision.’

Plaintiffs’ motion states in pertinent part:

The majority opinion affirmed the district court

decision based on CIA affidavits. It appears that

these affidavits are incorrect... . [T]he CIA has now

produced . . . additional documents “discovered late

last fall and additional documents earlier this year.”

Moreover, [the CIA] concedes that ‘a sampling of

the documents last fall revealed their possible rele-

vance to Goland .. .”

No explanation has been offered by the CIA or the

Justice Department for the CIA’s strategy decision to

stand mute as to the status of the affidavits relied

upon by the Court until after the decision was handed

down on May 23. Indeed, it appears the CIA chose

to withhold this crucial information from the Justice

Department until after such decision was handed

down.

Based on these admissions and concessions .. . it

should now be abundantly clear that discovery is

The motion was filed 16 June 1978—between the CIA’s

release of 30 documents on 14 June 1978 and its release of

291 documents on 23 June 1978.

ET TN I ee ee Tee

62a

appropriate in this case and in any event, attorneys’

fees should be awarded because of the manner in

which the CIA has chosen to conduct itself in this

litigation.

Plaintiffs’ contention seems to be grounded on three

distinct facts or occurrences: first, the fact that additional

responsive documents were found to exist; second, the

fact that CIA delayed informing this Court of the docu-

ments until the Court had already issued its decision ; and

third, the fact that CIA ultimately released the documents

to plaintiffs. Plaintiffs believe that these three facts

warrant vacating the decision of 23 May 1978, at least

in part.

II. Discussion

In our 23 May decision we resolved five separate issues.

We held: (1) that the CIA was not required under the

FOIA to release a Congressional hearing transcript that

remained under the control of Congress; (2) that the

CIA had properly deleted portions of the so-called “Hillen-

koetter Statement” pursuant to Exemption 38 of the

FOIA; (8) that, on the record, the CIA’s search for

documents responsive to plaintiffs’ FOIA request was

adequate and that the district court’s grant of summary

judgment without discovery was within its discretion ;

(4) that the CIA’s definition of “agency records” was

not in controversy; and (5) that plaintiffs’ counsel were

not entitled to attorneys’ fees.

After carefully reviewing plaintiffs’ contentions and

the circumstances surrounding the discovery and belated

disclosure of the documents, we find no occasion to dis-

turb our affirmance as to issues (1) through (4), but we

do vacate that part of our decision affirming the denial

of attorneys’ fees and remand to the district court for

reconsideration of that issue.

63a

A. Thoroughness of Search Issue

We based our determination of the “search” issue, as

did the district court, on three affidavits of Gene F.

Wilson, the CIA’s Information and Privacy Coordinator.

We concluded “that Wilson’s sworn affidavits on their

face are plainly adequate to demonstrate the thorough-

ness of the CIA’s search for responsive documents. The

affidavits give detailed descriptions of the searches un-

dertaken, and a detailed explanation of why further

searches would be unreasonably burdensome.” *

1. Plaintiff's Theory

Plaintiffs’ contend that the discovery of additional

documents indicates that the CIA affidavits in this case,

relied upon by both the district court and this Court,

“are incorrect.” Therefore, they argue that we should

vacate our decision, or at least that portion of the deci-

sion dealing with the “search” issue, because it was

predicated on inaccurate affidavits. We disagree.

As a substantive matter, the mere fact that additional

documents have been discovered does not impugn the

accuracy of the Wilson affidavits. The isswe was not

whether any further documents might conceivably exist

but whether CIA’s search for responsive documents was

adequate. The Wilson affidavits never stated that no

further documents existed; they merely described the

scope of the searches that had been undertaken and stated

that no additional documents could be located absent an

extraordinary effort not required by the FOIA. As we

indicated in our opinion, an agency is required only to

make reasonable efforts to find responsive materials; ‘

it is not required to reorganize its filing system in re-

sponse to each FOIA request. The circumstances sur-

*Slip Opinion (Slip Op.) at 26.

‘Slip Op. at 28.

64a

rounding the discovery of additional documents as de-

scribed in CIA’s letters of 14 and 23 June do not

contradict the statements made in the Wilson affidavits.

According to CIA, the discovery of these documents was

entirely adventitious. They were found by the law

librarian in the course of independent research on proj-

ects unrelated to the Goland litigation. The documents

were not indexed; they were found, only after extraordi-

nary effort, stored in cardboard boxes primarily among

the 84,000 cubic feet of documents at CIA’s retired-

records center outside of Washington. According to CIA,

the documents “could not have been found under normal

FOIA procedures.” Thus, it would appear that the new

facts before us now do not really conflict with the facts

as presented to the district court and reflected in the

record upon which our decision was based, and would

not, as a substantive matter, prompt us to vacate our

affirmance.

Concededly, the discovery of additional documents is

more probative that the search was not thorough than if

no other documents were found to exist. Moreover, the

delay in disclosing the documents at least arguably evi-

dences a lack of vigor, if not candor, in responding to

FOIA requests. However, a disappointed litigant may

not avail herself of every imaginable inference from

newly disclosed facts in order to upset a final judgment.

The occasions when newly discovered evidence or changed

circumstances will warrant setting aside a final judg-

ment are limited procedurally as well as substantively.

2. Applicable Principles of Appellate Review

A final district court judgment may be altered on direct

review only through two procedures.* One, of course, is

* See Carr v. District of Columbia, 548 F.2d 917, 924 (D.C.

Cir. 1976).

MOREA ee >

65a

the present appeal. The other is a motion in district court

for relief from the judgment under Federal Rule 60(b).°

Appellate review is ordinarily unaffected by matters not

contained in the record.’ This we think is the case with

the facts disclosed here, whether characterized as “newly-

discovered evidence” or “changed circumstances.” In

neither event do the disclosures warrant vacating our

judgment.

The fact that additional documents exist, insofar as it

is probative of the thoroughness vel non of the search, is

rather plainly ‘“newly-discovered evidence.” We have

found no case in which the Supreme Court or a court of

appeals has granted a rehearing or vacated its opinion

based on newly-discovered evidence. The reason for this

should be self-evident: an appellate opinion is based on

the record before it, and hence cannot be set aside on the

basis of newly-discovered facts outside the record.’ This

rule is clear in the Supreme Court’s cases, dating from

those in the last century*® to the recent Standard Oil

° Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b).

* There are a number of settled exceptions to this general

principle of appellate review; as, for example, where there is

an intervening change in a pertinent law, e.g., Gomez V.

Wilson, 477 F.2d 411, 416-17 (D.C. Cir. 1973) ; changed cir-

cumstances which render the controversy moot, e.g., Wirtz

v. Local Union 410, 366 F.2d 488, 442 (2d Cir. 1966);

changed circumstances which alter the appropriateness of

injunctive relief, e.g., Korn v. Franchard Corp., 456 F.2d

1206, 1208 & n.3 (2d Cir. 1972) ; In re Gulf Aerospace Corp.,

449 F.2d 733, 734 (5th Cir. 1971) ; and, in limited cases, facts

which may be judicially noticed, e.g., Landy v. Federal De-

posit Insurance Corp., 486 F.2d 189, 150-51 (3rd Cir. 1973),

cert. denied, 416 U.S. 960 (1974).

® See, e.g., Carr V. District of Columbia, 543 F.2d 917, 921

(D.C. Cir. 1976); AG Pro., Inc. v. Sakraida, 481 F.2d 668,

669 (5th Cir. 1973), rev’d on other grounds, 425 U.S. 273

(1976) ; Davis v. Casey, 103 F.2d 529, 536-37 (D.C. Cir. 1939).

°F.g., Maxwell Land-Grant Case, 122 U.S. 365 (1887);

Roemer Vv. Simon, 91 U.S. 149 (1875).

66a

case *° where the Court refused to recall its mandate and

vacate its opinion on the basis of newly-discovered facts,

stating that its opinion was confined to the record.

An appellate court has no fact-finding function. It

cannot receive new evidence from the parties, determine

where the truth actually lies, and base its decision on

that determination. Fact-finding and the creation of a

record is the function of the district court; therefore, the

consideration of newly-discovered evidence is a matter for

the district court. The proper procedure for dealing with

newly-discovered evidence is for the party to move for

relief from the judgment in the district court under rule

60(b) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

Insofar as plaintiffs rely on the facts surrounding the

documents’ discovery and release by the CIA, their argu-

ment is more nearly dependent on “changed circum-

stances.” To be sure, there are occasional cases in which

altered circumstances are properly noticed on appeal.”

Invariably in such cases, however, events have altered

the essential nature of the controversy, as, for example,

where there has been an intervening change in the law

or where the controversy has become moot. But in this

case the distinction between new evidence and altered

circumstances is largely a matter of technical usage

rather than substance.” Here the intervening events are

*° Standard Oil Co. of Calif. v. United States, 429 U.S. 17

(1976).

4 See note 7 supra.

The distinction is ordinarily made between these two

grounds of relief for purposes of applying the timing rules

for filing motions under Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b). To be “newly

discovered,” evidence must have been in existence at the

time of the trial, see C. Wright & A. Miller, FEDERAL PRAC-

TICE AND PROCEDURE § 2859 & n.35 (cases cited) (1973). How-

ever, in this case, the alleged substantive effect of the disclo-

ee

67a

allegedly probative of the same contentions as arose from

the mere existence of the documents (1.e., that the search

was not conducted thoroughly or in good faith). Conse-

quently, for purposes of appellate review of these allega-

tions, we think nothing turns on the arguable distinction

between newly discovered evidence and altered

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.