Petition — INGRAM v. UNITED STATES (No. 78-1903)

Supreme Court brief1979

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE MICHAEL

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1978

“ #8-1908

FREDERIC B, INGRAM,

Petitioner,

V,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF

CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

SEVENTH CIRCUIT

HERBERT J. MILLER, JR,

Of Counsel: NATHAN LEWIN

JUSTIN A, STANLEY SETH P, WAXMAN

DOUGLAS POE MILLER, CASSIDY, LARROCA & LEWIN

MAYER, BROWN & PLATT 2655 M Street, N.W., Suite 500

231 South La Salle Street Washington, D.C, 20037

Chicago, Illinois 60604 (202) 293-6400

(312) 782-0600 Attorneys for Petitioner

Press or BYWON 8S, ADAMS, INC, WasninauTton, D.C,

an

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

OS a ce l

ES soe ob 66506 9000 eee 8 l

STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED............ 2

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .......cccccccccvves 3

EE Ne ee 4

1. The Evidence Against Petitioner....... 6

2. The Denial of Separate Trials.......... 8

3. The Introduction Against Petitioner of

Prejudicial Evidence of ‘‘Other Crimes,

rs fs ss die bedeeds 64-06 )

4. The‘'Travel Act” Instruction.......... 10

5. The Jury Instructions on the Elements of

the Extortion Defense ............... 10

6. The Court of Appeals’ Opinion......... 11

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ......... 13

1. Confusion and Conflict over the Applica-

tion of Rules 404(b) and 403 of the

Federal Rules of Evidence............ 14

a 15

(b) The standard for appellate review ... 19

2. Uncertainty as to Pretrial Severance of

Co-defendants with Antagonistic and

Irreconcilable Defenses .............. 20

3. Conflict over Jury Instructions Regard-

ing Intent Needed to Violate the ‘‘Travel

eee Ch wig peace eca oes 0000s 23

4. Conflict Regarding the Elements of the

we rere 23

eo Vcc de eh vos b 27

re re ead ee be kee la

ii

AUTHORITIES CITED

CASES Page

Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963) ......... 4

DeVore v. United States, 368 F.2d 396 (9th Cir.

MEAG Nae WE Gs WOE As Old Ce wi ack 19

Michelson v. United States, 335 U.S. 469

Cog 3 Fp WN ee or cntes vk Geckos: 19

People v. Braune, 368 Ill. 551, 2 N.E.2d 839

RR Rata AE LT OES )

United States v. Addonizio, 451 F.2d 49 (3d Cir.

1971), cert. denied, 405 U.S. 936 (1972) ..... 5

United States v. Bacn, 588 F.2d 1283 (9th Cir.

ctv ee RE ETE OTe Pe EP 19, 20

United States v. Baggett, 481 F.2d 114 (4th Cir.),

cert. denied, 414 U.S. 1116(1973)....... 16, 21

United States v. Barash, 412 F.2d 26 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 396 U.S. 832 (1969)........... 24

United States v. Barash, 365 F.2d 395 (2d Cir.

Css du ek ae SAG 4 eA 24, 25, 26

United States v. Barnes, 383 F.2d 287 (1967), cert.

denied, 389 U.S. 1040(1968).............. 23

Peer ny 0os05 nde dived isle beiwadh 0% 5 5

_, CER RI e Pre Cane ne RRR aS foe 17

PES Fih6 004 cae) <0 dead es aes 17

United States v. Cook, 538 F.2d 1000 (3d Cir

Peeks Sis cas Whehe ius bork : 17

a ~ v. Crawford, 581 F.2d 489 (5th Cir.

a A a lt tc

ili

Page

United States v. DeMet, 486 F.2d 816 (7th Cir.

ea Mr ay a A SRS ai od Se 5, 25

United States v. Feola, 420 U.S. 671 (1975)...... 23

United States v. George, 477 F.2d 508 (7th Cir.),

cert. denied, 414 U.S. 827 (1973)........... )

United States v. Hall, 536 F.2d 313 (10th Cir.),

cert. denied, 429 U.S. 919 (1976)........... 5

United States v. Halper, 590 F.2d 422 (2d Cir.

Se a eee see ee ee 19, 20

United States v. Hathaway, 534 F.2d 386 (1st Cir.

er Se eee Sere ee ee ee 24

United States v. Herman, 589 F.2d 1191 (3d Cir

ool lh es Aaae che antes s askew sees 19

United States v. Hyde, 448 F.2d 815 (5th Cir.

1971), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 1058 (1972) .... 5

United States v. Ingram, No. 76 Cr. 779 (N.D. Til.

EN ee we Eee Lee te er 6

United States v. James, 555 F.2d 992 (D.C. Cir

Se erie errr ern ee rr re ee eee 16

United States v. Johnson, 478 F.2d 1129 (5th Cir

a er eee eee rer ere ee eee te 21

United States v. Jones, 570 F.2d 765 (8th Cir.

iS eee all Pieper am See Oy ONES ear a 17

United States v. Kahn, 472 F.2d 272 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 411 U.S. 982 (1973)........ 24, 25

United States v. Kuta, 518 F.2d 947 (7th Cir.

ein ieee kee hak ha Ma 6, 606-5 4 42 ¢ 5

United States v. Mann, 590 F.2d 361 (1st Cir.

SERRE ee err Pe eee eee 19

United States v. O'Connor, 580 F.2d 38 (2d Cir.

ESE Re rere Cree eT ee ee ee eo 17

iv

Page

United States v. Prince, 529 F.2d 1108 (6th Cir.),

cert. denied on other issues sub nom. Pandelli

v. United States, 429 U.S. 838

CReecé octets ebeaeenael tien 23

United States v. Rocks, 481 F.2d 112 (4th Cir.),

cert. denied, 414 U.S. 1044 (1973).......... 21

United States v. Staszcuk, 502 F.2d 875 (7th Cir.

1974), withdrawn in part on other grounds,

617 F.2d 53 (7th Cir. 1975)... 0... cee eee 5

United States v. United States Gypsum Co., 438

es GONE 0.0 6 00d suunabeeekes fetue 26

STATUTES AND RULES

fe at | re re re ree 6

RTs ne ain boc acktibna wakes reese tae 6, 10

SO EEE We ne dea nce kindiiedesxscss 2,4, 6, 10

pik Soe | eS rer ene 2

Federal Rule of Evidence 403.......... 2, 3, 19, 20

Federal Rule of Evidence 404(a)............... 15

Federal Rule of Evidence

GUS + ba ven eeeaeeu 2, 3, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19

MISCELLANEOUS

ABA Minimum Standards for Criminal Justice

Standards Relating toJoinder and Severance

(Approved Draft 1968).............. 11-12, 21

‘Antagonistic Defenses as a Ground for Separate

Trials of Co-defendants in Criminal Case,’’ 82

A.L.R.3d 245-343 (1978)... 0... ccc eee 22

2 E. Devitt and C. Blackmar, Federal Jury Prac-

tice and Instructions § 34.10(1977)..... 11, 24

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1978

No.

FREDERIC B. INGRAM,

Petitioner,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF

CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeal.

for the Seventh Circuit (Pet. App. A, pp. la - 74::,

infra) has not yet been reported. The district court

wrote no opinion.

JURISDICTION

The opinion and judgment of the court of appeals

was filed on March 16, 1979. A timely petition for

rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en banc was

denied on April 23, 1979 (Pet. App. B, pp. 75a-76a,

infra). On May 15, 1979, Mr. Justice Stevens extended

2

the time for filing a petition for a writ of certiorari to

and including June 22, 1979 (Pet. App. C, p. 77a,

infra). The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED

18 U.S.C. § 1952 provides, in pertinent part:

(a) Whoever travels in interstate or foreign com-

merce or uses any facility in interstate or foreign

commerce, including the mail, with intent to -

(1) distribute the proceeds of any unlawful ac-

tivity; or

(2) commit any crime of violence to further any

unlawful activity; or

(3) otherwise promote, manage, establish, car-

ry on, or facilitate the promotion, management,

establishment, or carrying on, of any unlawful

activity,

and thereafter performs or attempts to perform

any of the acts specified in er (1), (2),

and (3), shall be fined not more than $10,000 or

imprisoned for not more than five years, or both.

Rule 403 of the Federal Rules of Evidence provides:

Although relevant, evidence may be excluded if

its probative value is substantially outweighed

by the danger of unfair prejudice, confusion of

the issues, or misleading the jury, or by consid-

erations of undue delay, waste of time, or need-

less presentation of cumulative evidence.

Rule 404(b) of the Federal Rules of Evidence pro-

vides:

Other crimes, wrongs, or acts. Evidence of

other crimes, wrongs, or acts is not admissible to

3

prove the character of a person in order to show

that he acted in conformity therewith. It may,

however, be admissible for other purposes, such

as proof of motive, opportunity, intent, prepara-

tion, plan, knowledge, identity, or absence of mis-

take or accident.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether evidence that the chairman of a multi-

national corporation authorized a payment to a cor-

porate official in a foreign country is admissible under

Rule 404(b) of the Federal Rules of Evidence to estab-

lish criminal intent in a prosecution for authorizing

the payment of bribes in the United States, without

any evidence that the payment was unlawful or uneth-

ical in the foreign country.

2. Whether the court below correctly held that evi-

dence of other crimes or wrongful acts is admissible

to show criminal intent without a showing—required

in the Fifth Circuit—that the charged offense and the

prior offense require the same intent.

3. Whether a court of appeals may sustain a trial

court’s determination under Rule 403 of the Federal

Rules of Evidence that the probative value of prof-

fered evidence is not outweighed by the danger of

unfair prejudice, by evaluating only the deliberate-

ness with which the trial court approached the ques-

tion and making no judgment whatever as to the rel-

evance and prejudice of the particular evidence.

4. Whether a pretrial severance should be granted

when it is clear, promptly upon indictment, that co-

defendants will be presenting ‘‘completely antago-

nistic’’ and ‘“‘mutually exclusive’’ defenses.

4

5. Whether knowledge or reasonable foreseeability

of the use of facilities of interstate commerce is an

essential element of a violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1952.

6. Whether the trial court’s novel jury instruction

on the extortion defense, directing the jury to reject

the defense if any one of five propositions were estab-

lished by the prosecution, improperly departed from

the standard instruction on the extortion defense ap-

proved in the Second Circuit and unlawfully withdrew

the issue of intent from the jury.

7. Whether the rule of Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S.

83 (1963), was violated by the prosecution’s con-

cealment, untii its opening statement at trial, of the

fact that its principal witness had personally embez-

zled $375,000 of the money allegedly paid by him as

a bribe.'

STATEMENT

Petitioner is Chairman of the Board of the Ingram

Corporation, a company headquartered in New Or-

leans, Louisiana, and engaged in energy-related ac-

tivities in various parts of the world. Petitioner and

his brother, who was then President of the Corpora-

tion, were charged, together with six residents of

Chicago, Illinois, whom they did not know, in a 39-

count indictment alleging that bribes had been given

on behalf of the Ingram Corporation to trustees and

employees of Chicago’s Metropolitan Sanitary

'The reasons for granting a writ of certiorari to review this

question are fully stated in the pending petitions in McPartlin v.

United States, No. 78-1751, Bull v. United States, No. 78-1754,

and Janicki v. United States, No. 78-1755, all filed on May 23,

1979, in this Court. Petitioner adopts the reasons stated in those

petitions.

5

District in connection with the Sanitary District's

award and administration in 1971 and 1972 of a con-

tract to transport sewage (‘‘sludge’’) from Chicago’s

waste treatment plants to a landfill in downstate II-

linois. The prosecution’s proof established that

payments had been made by William J. Benton, an In-

gram Corporation vice-president who was granted im-

munity from prosecution, to the Chicago officials.

From the inception of these proceedings, however,

petitioner maintained that while he acceded to the

continuation of these payments upon learning that

they were being made, he did so only because he had

been told by Benton that the Chicago officials were

threatening, if “political contributions’ were not

made, to assess crippling penalties against Ingram

Corporation for unforeseen delays in performance.’

These extortionate threats, if implemented, would

have bankrupted the Corporation.

*This case is extraordinary because in most circumstances of

this kind, where a request for a bribe initiates with a corrupt

public official, the party who succumbs to the demand has been

treated as a victim rather than as a perpetrator of crime. See,

e.g., United States v. Kuta, 518 F.2d 947 (7th Cir. 1975); United

States v. Staszcuk, 502 F.2d 875 (7th Cir. 1974), withdrawn in

part on other grounds, 517 F.2d 53 (7th Cir. 1975); United States

v. Braasch, 505 F.2d 139 (7th Cir. 1974); United States v. DeMet,

486 F.2d 816 (7th Cir. 1973); United States v. Hyde, 448 F.2d

815 (5th Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 1058 (1972); United

States v. Addonizio, 451 F.2d 49 (3d Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 405

U.S. 936 (1972); United States v. Hall, 536 F.2d 313 (10th Cir.),

cert. denied, 429 U.S. 919 (1976).

Indeed, in an interview that appears in the record, the United

States Attorney for the Northern District of Illinois who prose-

cuted this case told a reporter the following:

... if we have to choose between the businessman who finds

that the only way to do business in Chicago is the way it's

been done for 50 years—paying public officials—and the

officials who may have been collecting payments for 40 or

50 years, we feel it is better to prosecute the official and get

6

The trial judge denied pretrial motions by the In-

grams requesting that petitioner and his brother be

tried separately from the six Chicago defendants who

had extorted the payments from the Corporation and

whose potential defenses were squarely antagonistic

to the Ingrams. After a joint jury trial of all eight

defendants, in which petitioner was denied several

opportunities to prove that the Chicago officials had

planned an extortionate scheme (see pp. 17a-24a,

infra), petitioner was convicted on 29 counts charging

violations of 18 U.S.C. §§ 371 (conspiracy), 1343 (wire

fraud), and 1952 (interstate travel in aid of unlawful

activities).* He was sentenced to serve a prison term

of four years.

(1) The Evidence Against Petitioner—There was no

suggestion whatever in any of the proof that the In-

gram Corporation, or any of its officers or employees,

initiated any bribe offer or illegal proposal in connec-

tion with its bid for the contract to haul Chicago’s

sludge. Benton, who was the government’s chief wit-

ness and who had been the main participant repre-

senting the Corporation in the negotiation and imple-

mentation of the sludge-hauling contract, testified

him out of office even if you have to give immunity to the

businessman.

Supplemental Memorandum in Support of Defendants’ Motion

for a Severance at pp. 3-4, No. 76 Cr. 779 (N.D. Ill. 1977)

(emphasis added).

* Petitioner's brother was acquitted by the jury which, according

to newspaper reports, initially voted 8-to-4 to acquit petitioner.

See Appendix A to Petitioner’s Motion for a New Trial. The jury

deliberated for three days before returning a verdict. The decid-

ing factor against petitioner, according to news stories, was the

evidence of his approval of payments, on a totally unrelated

matter, to a consultant in Brazil. This is discussed at pp. 9-10,

15-19, infra.

7

that he and other Ingram Corporation employees

worked together in March 1971 to submit legitimate

written bids on the contract to the Chicago officials

(Tr. 706-707).* Benton thereafter met in Chicago with

Franklin H. Weber, an influential Illinois business-

man. Weber told Benton ‘“‘that in order for a contrac-

tor to work in this area, it was necessary that political

contributions be agreed to’’ (Tr. 718). Weber said that

the “political contributions” would have to be ‘‘about

a quarter of a million dollars’’ (Tr. 718) and that the

money was to go to ‘Mayor Daley’s organization”

(Tr. 1456; see Tr. 1539). Benton testified unequivocal-

ly that during the entire period of time that payments

were being made to the Chicago officials, the money

was always ‘“‘demanded”’ by them (Tr. 1455):

Q. You never suggested it first, did you?

A. No, sir.

A total of $320,000 was allegedly paid by Benton

in 1971. All these funds were generated within the

Ingram Corporation by Benton, who personally trans-

mitted the money to various of the Chicago defend-

ants. According to Benton, he advised petitioner in

1971 that ‘‘the contribution to the Democratic Party

in the State of Illinois’’ would have to be made as a

condition for securing the contract (Tr. 718-719).

The Chicago officials demanded additional pay-

ments in late 1971 and early 1972. They threatened

at that time to assess an enormous liquidated-dam-

ages penalty against the Corporation and to withhold

the purchase of a pipeline already constructed by the

Corporation, which the trustees had assured Benton

‘Tr.’ refers to the transcript of the trial in the district court.

8

they would purchase (Tr. 978-982, 3894-3896).

The Corporation was then on the brink of bank-

ruptcy, and the Sanitary District’s refusal to purchase

the pipeline and its assessment of liquidated damages

would have deprived the Corporation of funds that

were essential to its survival (Tr. 991-995, 1469). In

these circumstances, recognizing explicitly that they

were the victims of “‘extortion”’ (Tr. 4074-4075), the

Ingram brothers assisted Benton in 1972 in generat-

ing $100,000 in cash which was paid to the Chicago

officials (Tr. 1046-1052, 4074-4081). Although the Chi-

cago officials did not then invoke the liquidated dam-

ages clause, they continued to withhold the purchase

price of the pipeline until a final arrangement was

made by Benton, with petitioner’s knowledge, for ad-

ditional payments (Tr. 1254-1259, 3933-3938).

(2) The Denial of Separate Trials—On August 9,

1976, little more than a month after the indictment

was returned, petitioner and his brother moved for a

severance of the charges against them from those

against the Chicago defendants. They noted in their

supporting Memorandum of Law that their projected

defense of extortion created ‘‘a ‘head-on’ conflict be-

tween the Ingrams and the other defendants’’ and

cited appellate decisions which had held that a sev-

erance should be granted whenever defenses are mu-

tually antagonistic. A subsequent legal memorandum

filed by the Ingrams spelled out in greater detail the

inherent conflict between the Ingrams’ defense that

the payments were extorted and the Chicago defend-

ants’ claim that no request for bribes was made and

no bribes were paid. The trial judge denied the mo-

tions to sever and proceeded with a joint trial—the

9

first, to our knowledge, in which a government em-

ployee who is an alleged recipient of a bribe has been

tried jointly with a co-defendant who contends that

the “bribe’’ was extorted from him.’ Apart from the

Ingrams’ inability, on account of the joint trial, to

probe and prove the general propensity of the Chicago

officials to demand payments from others who had

dealt with the Sanitary District, the joint trial result-

ed in the exclusion of several specific lines of excul-

patory proof offered by petitioner, which are dis-

cussed in the opinion at pp. 17a-24a, infra.

(3) The Introduction Against Petitioner of Preju-

dicial Evidence of ‘‘Other Crimes, Wrongs, or Acts’’—

After petitioner testified in his own defense that he

approved the payments to the Chicago officials only

as a result of extortion, the prosecution was permit-

ted, over petitioner’s repeated objections, to cross-

examine and to introduce extensive evidence relating

to petitioner’s knowledge and approval of payments

made by the Ingram Corporation between 1969 and

1973 to a Brazilian petroleum engineer named Le-

vindo Caniero (Tr. 3990-3994, 5673-5683). Caniero was

a private citizen whose employer, Petrobas, was a

Brazilian oil company owned jointly by private par-

ties in Brazil and by the Brazilian government. The

evidence showed that Caniero gave the Ingram Cor-

poration advice and information on bidding for a Pe-

* The court of appeals implied that United States v. George, 477

F.2d 508 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 827 (1973), was such a

case (p. 15a, infra). But George—which was not a bribery case—

did not concern a co-defendant’s claim of extortion, and the court

of appeals held in that case that the defenses were not, in fact,

antagonistic at all because both defendants agreed that the ille-

gal proposal—that ‘‘kickbacks’’ be paid—was initiated by one of

them. 477 F.2d at 515.

10

trobas contract in Brazil, and he was paid with funds

deposited in a Swiss bank account maintained on his

behalf. There was not a scintilla of evidence that the

payments to Caniero were illegal or otherwise imper-

missible under the law of Brazil. Nonetheless, in his

summation the prosecutor declared that petitioner

‘had set up a Swiss bank account so that bribes could

be paid to Levindo Caniero’”’ (Tr. 6141; emphasis

added). And the jury apparently gave dispositive

weight to this highly prejudicial, but substantially

irrelevant, testimony. See note 3, supra.

(4) The ‘Travel Act’’ Instruction—Overruling pe-

titioner’s objection, the trial judge instructed the

jury, with reference to the counts charging violations

of the “Travel Act,” 18 U.S.C. § 1952, that the pros-

ecution (Tr. 6665)

need not prove the defendant either knew or

could foresee that interstate travel would occur

or that an interstate facility would be used.

The judge reaffirmed this instruction in distinguish-

ing the ‘Travel Act” counts from the counts charging

wire fraud (18 U.S.C. § 1343) and noted again that for

purposes of 18 U.S.C. § 1952 ‘“‘a defendant need not

know or reasonably foresee that the facilities of inter-

state commerce will be used or someone will travel in

interstate commerce” (Tr. 6670). The jury found peti-

tioner guilty on 15 counts alleging violations of the

“Travel Act.”’

(5) The Jury Instructions on the Elements of the

Extortion Defense—Rather than giving the jury the

instruction regarding the Ingrams’ extortion defense

which had been approved in federal appellate rulings

11

and in the leading treatise on jury instructions,® the

trial judge devised a complex, ten-paragraph instruc-

tion of his own (reproduced in the opinion below at

pp. 25a-27a, infra) which directed the jury to reject

the defense if it found the government to have estab-

lished any one of five different propositions formulat-

ed and discussed in the instruction.

Petitioner objected to this instruction in writing

and orally on various grounds (including those speci-

fied on appeal) and proposed three different sets of

instructions which closely followed those which had

been judicially and authoritatively approved. The

judge’s instruction effectively withdrew from the jury

the element of intent and virtually assured the jury’s

rejection of the extortion defense. The trial judge re-

jected all the offered instructions and refused to alter

his own.

(6) The Court of Appeals’ Opinion—In affirming

petitioner’s conviction, the three judges of the court

of appeals issued an unusual consolidated, but sepa-

rately authored, opinion which appears at every op-

portunity to trivialize the substantial criminal-justice

issues presented by petitioner’s appeal. One circuit

judge, who dealt with the issues of severance, declared

that the defenses of the Ingrams and the Chicago

residents were only antagonistic ‘‘to a degree’’ be-

cause “‘it was possible’”’ that Benton, the Ingram Cor-

poration representative on the scene, had never made

any payments at all to the Chicago defendants but

had kept all of the $527,000 himself (p. 14a, infra). He

therefore relegated to a footnote the long-standing

prophylactic rule regarding severance described in the

ABA Minimum Standards for Criminal Justice: Stan-

dards Relating to Joinder and Severance (Approved

®°2 E. Devitt & C. Blackmar, Federal Jury Practice and Instruc-

tions § 34.10 (1977).

12

Draft 1968), and he cited authorities which did not

deal with the situation in which the defenses

presented are unalterably and squarely antagonistic

(p. 16a, n. 11, infra).

Another judge discussed the admissibility of the

‘prior crimes or acts” evidence relating to the Brazil-

ian consultant. He ignored the unfairness of having

the outcome of criminal charges in the United States

turn on the superimposition of American moral stand-

ards upon conduct which may be entirely lawful in a

foreign country. He declared the court ‘‘loath to

assume’’ that ‘surreptitious payments’”’ were ‘‘a com-

mon and accepted practice in Brazil,’ condemned peti-

tioner’s “facile and unsupported characterizations of

Brazilian practice,’ and—inverting the established

burden of proof in criminal cases—said that petitioner

‘‘admits’’ that he (as well as the prosecution) had of-

fered no proof on Brazilian standards. On the startling

premise that an individual who authorized lawful

payments in a foreign country ‘‘is more likely’ to

authorize bribes in the United States, the circuit

judge concluded that petitioner’s dealings with Cani-

ero were relevant to the charges in the indictment.

The court of appeals recognized the great prej-

udicial impact of the proof, but nevertheless held that

it had no duty to weigh the prejudice of the evidence

against its relevancy. The circuit judge said that since

this decision was ‘‘highly judgmental,”’ the appellate

court would not ‘‘restrike the balance ourselves but

instead would examine only the manner in which the

district court exercised its discretion”’ (pp. 39a-40a,

infra; emphasis added). Concluding that the trial

judge was “meticulous and deliberate,’’ the court

affirmed the admissibility of this proof.

13

The court below similarly minimized petitioner’s

challenge to the trial judge’s unprecedented ‘‘extor-

tion defense”’ instruction. Petitioner had argued below

that by erecting the five sequential hurdles included

in this jury instruction—at least three of which were

misleading and patently erroneous—the trial judge

had deprived petitioner of his entire defense. Rather

than comparing the instruction with those which were

submitted by petitioner and with instructions which

had been judicially approved and which fairly stated

the defense, the circuit judge hypothesized possibili-

ties under which the jury might conceivably have

overcome the confusing elements of the instruction.

The opinion did not provide any legal or policy justi-

fication for the “‘loss-gain distinction” in the instruc-

tion or for the requirement that petitioner establish

that he honestly believed he had “‘legal entitlement”’

to the benefits which the Chicago officials were pro-

viding. The court’s affirmance was then buttressed

by erroneous assertions that petitioner’s objections

had not been properly preserved.’

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case raises several important recurring ques-

tions relating to the fair administration of criminal

justice in the federal courts. These issues have divided

trial and appellate courts in the very recent past, and

’ The opinion of the court below refers only to petitioner’s written

objections to the judge’s instruction and overlooks the oral ob-

jections made by petitioner’s counsel. Petitioner’s counsel ob-

jected orally, for example, to the ‘‘legal entitlement’’ element of

the instruction at Tr. 6009-6010. Indeed, the prosecution did not

claim in the court of appeals that the objections had not been

preserved. This assertion came from the court of appeals sua

sponte.

14

they continue to affect the day-to-day decisions of

prosecutors and federal judges. The court of appeals’

resolution of various of these issues conflicts with

rulings of other federal courts faced with similar cir-

cumstances. The action recently taken by at least one

circuit in considering one of these trial issues en banc

manifests the uncertainty which has afflicted lower

courts. Since the Seventh Circuit’s ruling in this case

conflicts with the principle announced en banc by the

Fifth Circuit, inconsistency among the circuits in sim-

ilar trial situations is likely to result if the lower court

decision is permitted to stand.

Moreover, the decision below perpetrates an injus-

tice upon a highly respected Louisiana businessman

who faces a four-year prison term for having yielded

to unlawful extortionate demands made to an officer

of his corporation. The corporation was seeking to do

business with a city with whose practices and tradi-

tions it was totally unfamiliar, but whose reputation

made the extortionate threats and demands entirely

credible.

1. Confusion and Conflict over the Applica-

tion of Rules 404(b) and 403 of the Federal

Rules of Evidence

By approving the prosecution’s use against peti-

tioner of evidence that he had authorized unrelated

‘surreptitious’ payments to be made abroad to a Bra-

zilian national, the court of appeals has carried the

limited exception provided in Rule 404(b) far beyond

the intent of its draftsmen and beyond the cases in-

terpreting that Rule. The court has thereby opened

the door for inferences of criminal intent and culpa-

bility to be drawn against responsible officers asso-

15

ciated with leading multinational corporations on the

basis of acts that, at least until recently, have been

regarded as a necessary and acceptable way of doing

business abroad. And by abdicating totally its own

duty to weigh the prejudice caused by the admission

of such evidence against its probative value, the court

below has struck a new standard for appellate review

of these evidentiary rulings which conflicts with the

standard of review applied in virtually every other

circuit.

(a) The merits.—Rule 404(a) of the Federal Rules of

Evidence forbids the prosecution in a criminal case

from introducing evidence of an accused’s bad char-

acter. Subsection (b) of the Rule carves out a limited

exception for proof of ‘‘other crimes, wrongs, or acts”’

which bear upon states of mind such as ‘‘motive, op-

portunity and intent.’’ The court below erroneously

concluded that petitioner’s authorization of payments

to a well-situated Brazilian national in connection

with a foreign contract could be admitted under sub-

section (b) to prove a criminal intent to bribe in the

United States. In doing so, the court applied a test

that has been rejected by other courts of appeals and

that eviscerates the Rule.

The court below interpreted Rule 404(b) to permit

the introduction of evidence relating to any prior

crime or wrongful act whenever it can be said that

such evidence makes the intent to commit the charged

offense ‘‘more likely’’ than if no such prior act had

been committed. It expressly dispensed with any re-

quirement that the prosecution demonstrate that the

foreign payment was either illegal or violative of Bra-

zilian business standards. Reasoning that a person

who has made “facilitating payments,”’ whether legal

16

or illegal, to a foreign businessman is “more likely”

to have the intent to give a bribe than someone who

has not made such payments, the court of appeals

ruled that petitioner’s authorization of the Brazilian

payment satisfied Rule 404(b) (p. 37a, infra).

No decision cited by the prosecution or by the court

below supports this proposition, and many decisions

refute it. The ‘‘more likely’ standard has been re-

jected by many courts of appeals in reversing a trial

court’s admission of evidence far more probative of

guilty intent than the foreign payment in this case.

For example, in United States v. James, 555 F.2d 992

(D.C. Cir. 1977), the accused’s presence at a narcotics

transaction and his arrest in an apartment containing

substantial quantities of heroin was logically relevant

to whether he was a distributor of narcotics on an

earlier occasion. Nonetheless, the court of appeals re-

versed a conviction in which this evidence had been

introduced with an explicit rejection of the ‘‘more

likely” standard applied by the court below (555 F.2d

at 1000; emphasis added; footnote omitted):

The issue thus resolves itself into whether

James’ presence in an apartment in which were

found substantial quantities of heroin is roba-

tive of an intent to distribute other heroin sixteen

days earlier. Granting that a person found in that

* Contrary to the belief of the court below, the decision of the

Fourth Circuit in United States v. Baggett, 481 F.2d 114 (4th

Cir.), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 1116 (1973), does not stand for this

rule. The evidence in that case related to a course of conduct of

favors and gifts flowing from [the alleged briber] to Baggett

and “receipt by Baggett of favors from others who had received

favorable zoning rulings.’’ In other words, the evidence estab-

lished the close relationship between the parties to the bribe and

proved a number of other unlawful receipts of gratuities in ex-

change for zoning favors.

17

situation might be more likely so to contemplate,

such an inference is so weak as to bring into

serious question whether its contribution to the

accuracy of the trial process outweighed the like-

lihood that its dramatic flavor would derange it.

Other federal courts of appeals have followed the

same course and reversed convictions where the ex-

trinsic evidence relating to intent admitted under

Rule 404(b) was of only minimal probative value even

though it made criminal intent “more likely’ than if

no such evidence existed. See United States v. Jones,

570 F.2d 765 (8th Cir. 1978); United States v. Cook,

557 F.2d 1149 (5th Cir. 1971); United States v. Cook,

538 F.2d 1000 (3d Cir. 1976); cf. United States v.

O’Connor, 580 F.2d 38 (2d Cir. 1978).

The Seventh Circuit’s ruling in this case conflicts

most clearly with the Fifth Circuit’s recent en banc

decision in United States v. Beechum, 582 F.2d 898

(5th Cir. 1978). Beechum involved a prosecution for

mail theft in which the government sought to negate,

by introducing evidence of an extrinsic offense, the

defendant’s claim that he lacked the intent required

for the offense. The trial court admitted the evidence

and the defendant was convicted. On appeal the Fifth

Circuit en banc engaged in a painstaking review of

the law both before and after the adoption of Rule

404(b). Based on this review it held that proof of the

accused's participation in other crimes may be offered

to establish criminal intent only if “the extrinsic of-

fense requires the same intent as the charged offense

... (582 F.2d at 913; emphasis added). On the facts,

the Fifth Circuit affirmed the trial court because the

extrinsic offense proved was identical to that with

18

which the defendant was charged—i.e., mail theft. On

the facts of this case, the Fifth Circuit plainly would

have reversed. There is nothing in the record to sug-

gest that petitioner’s authorization of a payment to

a Brazilian national was an offense requiring “the

same intent’”’ as bribery of a public official in the

United States. In fact, the transfer of these funds was

no more relevant to petitioner’s criminal intent than

any lawful transfer made in or outside the United

States.

The reasoning of the court below not only conflicts

with established law in other circuits, but it plainly

eviscerates Rule 404(b). The first sentence of that

Rule flatly prohibits admission of evidence of ‘other

crimes, wrongs, or acts . . . to prove the character of a

person in order to show that he acted in conformity

therewith.’ The rationale of the court of appeals for

admission of the evidence in this case (p. 37a, infra;

emphasis added) was that

one making such [foreign] payments, legal or not,

is more likely to have the intent to influence of-

ficial action by similar payments in other in-

stances than one who has never made such pay-

ments.

If that is a correct statement of Rule 404(b)’s excep-

tion for ‘“‘other crimes’’ evidence bearing on intent,

then the prohibition against admission of such evi-

dence to show character is mere exhortation.

So long as the decision below stands, an issue that

now arises in many federal criminal prosecutions—

particularly in cases involving ‘‘white collar crime”

where intent is usually a contested fact—will not be

resolved uniformly and fairly throughout the circuits.

19

This Court has given no guidance on the subject of

the admissibility of other acts committed by an ac-

cused which may bear on his state of mind since the

1948 decision in Michelson v. United States, 335 U.S.

469, 475-76 (1948). As a result, identical evidence may

be admissible in a criminal trial in federal court in

one area of the country and excluded in another. Had

Mr. Ingram been prosecuted in the Fifth rather than

the Seventh Circuit, he might well be a free man to-

day.

(b) The standard for appellate review—The court

below also took a narrow and erroneous view of its

duty of review on appeal. The Advisory Committee’s

Note on Rule 404(b) states that evidence which might

otherwise be admitted under Rule 404 to prove motive

or intent should be excluded if ‘“‘the danger of undue

prejudice outweighs the probative value of the evi-

dence, in view of the availability of other means of

proof and other factors appropriate for making deci-

sions of this kind under Rule 403.’’ The legal judg-

ment involved in this balancing must be made by the

trial court initially, but its validity must be deter-

mined by the court which reviews the final judgment.

Numerous cases demonstrate that federal courts of

appeal must make an independent appraisal of these

factors, even while granting substantial latitude to

the discretion of the trial judge, and must reverse

convictions where the balance has not been appropri-

ately struck. See, e.g., United States v. Back, 588 F.2d

1283 (9th Cir. 1979); United States v. Herman, 589

F.2d 1191 (3d Cir. 1978); United States v. Mann, 590

F.2d 361 (1st Cir. 1978); DeVore v. United States, 368

F.2d 396 (9th Cir. 1966); cf. United States v. Halper,

590 F.2d 422, 431 (2d Cir. 1978).

20

In this case, the court below refused to weigh the

prejudice of the proof relating to the payment to Can-

iero against its legitimate usefulness in the case. In-

stead, it said that it would ‘‘examine only the manner

in which the district court exercised its discretion

(pp. 39a-40a, infra). The court of appeals offered no

authority for the proposition that its function in re-

viewing determinations under Rule 403 is to ascertain

that the district court was ‘‘meticulous and deliber-

ate” in its consideration of the issue (p. 40a infra),

rather than to examine the merits of the determina-

tion. Had the court of appeals properly considered the

issue, it could not have responsibly reached any con-

clusion other than reversal of petitioner’s conviction.

The Second Circuit has accurately noted the increas-

ing use of ‘‘other crimes’ evidence in federal criminal

trials and the need for courts of appeals ‘‘if not to

‘stem the tide’ at least to define its limits.” United

States v. Halper, 590 F.2d at 432. The decision of the

‘court of appeals in this case has precisely the contrary

effect, and review by this Court is essential to restore

the proper function of appellate courts in this area.

2. Uncertainty as to Pretrial Severance of

Co-defendants with Antagonistic and Ir-

reconcilable Defenses.

The decision of the court below appears to be the

first reported case in which alleged recipients of bribes

who deny having taken any payments have been tried

together with those who claim that the bribe-takers

extorted money from them.®° Plainly, these two defen-

i i ed, those

° Indeed, in most cases, as we have previously noted,

from whom a bribe is demanded are not charged at all. See note

2, supra. Where the association between briber and bribee is a

21

ses are ‘‘completely antagonistic’’ within the meaning

of United States v. Johnson, 478 F.2d 1129, 1131 (5th

Cir. 1973), in which the court held that a pretrial

motion on grounds of antagonistic defenses should

have been granted. On the evidence introduced at trial

no jury could possibly have credited the only version

of the facts the court below was able to devise to

render the defenses ‘‘not necessarily antagonistic’ —

i.e, that Benton had falsely been reporting to the

Ingrams that he was being extorted by the Chicago

defendants, while actually keeping all the funds him-

self (p. 14a, infra). It was important to petitioner’s

defense to show that both he and Benton believed

Ingram Corporation was being extorted by the Chi-

cago defendants, while it was essential for the Chicago

defendants to show that Ingram Corporation not only

was not being extorted, but in fact was not making

any payments. This trial was, therefore, much like the

one described in People v. Braune, 368 Ill. 551, 557,

2 N.E.2d 839, 842 (1936), in that it was “in many

respects more of a contest between the defendants

than between the people and the defendants.”

The American Bar Association’s Minimum Stan-

dards for Criminal Justice: Standards Relating to

Joinder and Severance 41 (Approved Draft 1968),

declared unequivocally that

it has long been the view that defendants joined

for trial should be granted a severance whenever

their defenses are antagonistic to each other.

longstanding one, so that the giver and taker appear to have

developed an illicit relationship, both have been charged. But

even in such situations, severances have been granted on even

the slightest showing of antagonism in the defenses. See, e.g.,

United States v. Rocks, 481 F.2d 112 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 414

U.S. 1044 (1973); United States v. Baggett, 481 F.2d 114 (4th

Cir.), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 1116 (1973).

22

This long-standing rule has been applied in dozens

of jurisdictions, as is evidenced by the list of cases

discussed and cited in the almost 100-page Annota-

tion, “‘Antagonistic Defenses as Ground for Separate

Trials of Co-defendants in Criminal Case,’’ 82 A.L.R.

3d 245-343 (1978). Particularly when, as was true here,

the defenses ‘‘were irreconcilable as well as mutually

exclusive,”’ the consistent federal rule should be that

a pretrial severance must be granted. United States v.

Crawford, 581 F.2d 489, 491-492 (5th Cir. 1978). The

ruling of the court below on this question conflicts,

therefore, with the Fifth Circuit’s decisions in both

Johnson and Crawford.

Nor is it a sufficient response simply to rely on the

broad discretion given to the trial judge over matters

such as severance. That discretion might be applicable

if the issue were whether an unanticipated incident

during trial required a severance of defendants. But

the question presented here relates more to the pre-

trial stages, when a trial judge is in no better position

than an appellate court to weigh the competing inter-

ests. It is appropriate that this Court issue a rule

under its supervisory jurisdiction for the federal ju-

diciary that when defendants demonstrate before trial

that their defenses will be “completely antagonistic,”

“‘irreconcilable,’’ and “‘mutually exclusive’’—such as

when one of the defendants contends that the other

extorted an impermissible payment from him—the

principle approved by the American Bar Association

should govern, and a severance should be granted.

23

3. Conflict over Jury Instructions Regard-

ing Intent Needed to Violate the ‘“‘Travel

. Act”

The trial judge’s jury instruction that petitioner

could be convicted under 18 U.S.C. § 1952 without

knowing or reasonably foreseeing that the facilities of

interstate commerce were to be used in executing the

unlawful scheme conflicts squarely with the decision

of the Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit in United

States v. Prince, 529 F.2d 1108 (6th Cir.), cert. denied

on other issues sub nom. Pandelli v. United States,

429 U.S. 838 (1976). In the Prince case, the Sixth

Circuit considered the effect of this Court’s decision

in United States v. Feola, 420 U.S. 671 (1975)—on

which the court below relied—and it concluded that

Feola did not require the Sixth Circuit to overrule its

own 1967 decision in United States v. Barnes, 383

F.2d 287 (6th Cir. 1967), cert. denied, 389 U.S. 1040

(1968), which had held that knowledge of interstate

travel was an essential element of the offense defined

by the ‘“‘Travel Act.’’ Thus it is clear that if this case

had been tried in the federal court in Ohio or Kentuc-

ky, rather than in Illinois, petitioner’s convictions un-

der the Travel Act and the conspiracy statute would

have been reversed. This Court should resolve that

conflict.

’ 4, Conflict Regarding the Elements of the

“Extortion Defense”

The courts have recognized that a defendant

charged with bribery may defend on the ground that

he was coerced into paying the bribe, since evidence

of extortion negates the intent necessary to constitute

the crime of bribery. The established extortion-as-a-

24

defense instruction, set out in 2 E. Devitt & C. Black-

mar, Federal Jury Practice and Instructions §$ 34.10

(1977), is based on the Second Circuit opinions in

United States v. Barash, 412 F.2d 26 (2d Cir.), cert.

denied, 396 U.S. 832 (1969), and United States v.

Kahn, 472 F.2d 272 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 411 U.S.

982 (1973). Although the court below paid lip-service

to an earlier Barash decision, United States v. Barash,

365 F.2d 395 (2d Cir. 1966), it ignored the established

precedents. The convoluted jury instructions it ap-

proved and delivered effectively withdrew the issue of

intent from the jury’s consideration.

Three aspects of the instruction were particularly

devastating to petitioner’s defense and were incon-

sistent with reason and precedent. First was the dis-

tinction drawn by the trial judge between fear of an

‘economic loss”’ (which, he said, could be grounds for

a defense) and anticipation of an ‘‘economic advan-

tage”’ (which could not be the basis for a defense). In

an analogous case, the Court of Appeals for the First

Circuit said that ‘‘inquiry into the kind of economic

interest at stake is of little significance,’’ and that the

‘‘proper focus’’ should be on whether a victim's inter-

est ‘‘was sufficient to give rise to fear.’’ United States

v. Hathaway, 534 F.2d 386, 395 n.6 (1st Cir. 1976). If

petitioner was motivated by fear of economic loss, it

should make no difference whether the harm was de-

nial of an anticipated profit on which the Corpora-

tion’s future depended (an ‘‘economic advantage’’) or

the assessment of liquidated damages (an “‘economic

loss’) which would cripple its ability to continue in

business.

The second wholly unjustified aspect of the instruc-

tion was its distinction between a benefit to which the

25

Corporation was “‘legally entitled’’ and one to which

it had no “‘legal entitlement.’’ According to the trial

judge, the extortion defense could only be based on

the former. This principle of ‘‘legal entitlement’’ does

away with the extortion defense in any situation in

which a government official threatens to deprive a

private citizen of a discretionary benefit unless he is

paid a bribe. It plainly conflicts with the decision of

the Second Circuit in United States v. Kahn, 472 F.2d

272 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 411 U.S. 982 (1973). The

defendant in Kahn was seeking a cable television fran-

chise—plainly a benefit which was entirely discretion-

ary and to which he was not “‘legally entitled.’’ Yet

the extortion defense was submitted to the jury and

approved by the Second Circuit.'° Moreover, the ‘‘le-

gal entitlement’’ element was particularly prejudicial

in this case because petitioner had admitted during

trial ‘‘that he had no legal entitlement to the benefits

which his payments were designed to obtain.’ Hence,

according to the court below, he was “‘absolutely pre-

cluded from prevailing on an extortion defense’’ (pp.

31la-32a, infra).

The same preclusion resulted from the third erro-

neous element injected into the extortion defense by

the trial court—the definition of extortion which

equated it, for all practical purposes, with duress by

permitting acquittal only if petitioner was deprived

of ‘‘free choice.” The Second Circuit in Barash clearly

distinguished between the defense of duress or invo-

luntariness, which is available for a great variety of

‘© Compare also United States v. DeMet, 486 F.2d 816 (7th Cir.

1973), in which an extorting public official demanded a payment

for privileges to which the victim ‘“‘was not lawfully entitled.”

486 F.2d at 819. Nonetheless, a Hobbs Act conviction was af-

firmed.

26

criminal charges, and the extortion defense, which

applies only to crimes such as bribery that require

proof of specific intent. See 365 F.2d at 401-402. The

instruction in this case drew no such distinction, and

it thereby conflicted with the Second Circuit's view of

the nature of this defense.

Overall, the instructions denied petitioner a fair

opportunity to have the jury evaluate the intent with

which he acted. Only last Term, in reaffirming the

cardinal tenet that ‘intent generally remains an in-

disputable element of a criminal offense,’’ this Court

cautioned that ‘‘the decision on the issue of intent

must be left to the trier of fact alone.’’ United States

v. United States Gypsum Co., 438 U.S. 422, 437, 446

(1978). This rule surely applies if an accused’s exclu-

sive defense is that he lacked the intent to commit

the offense because he was subjected to criminal

threats to perform the unlawful act. Yet in this case,

the issue of intent was effectively withdrawn from the

jury’s consideration by the improper instruction.

This Court’s very recent ruling in Sandstrom v.

Montana, No. 78-5384 (decided June 18, 1979), reaf-

firmed the importance of a jury’s independent deter-

mination of an accused’s state of mind. The intricate

jury instruction given by the trial judge in this case

had the same effect as the instruction struck down in

Sandstrom—‘‘the burden was shifted to the defendant

to prove that he lacked the requisite mental state.”

This was plainly impermissible.

27

CONCLUSION

This case presents several pressing issues relating

to the administration of criminal justice in the federal

courts. By granting this petition for a writ of cer-

tiorari, this Court will have the opportunity to clarify

many matters of trial procedure which are now confus-

ing and splitting the lower courts. The petition for a

writ of certiorari should, accordingly, be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

HERBERT J. MILLER, JR.

NATHAN LEWIN

SETH P. WAXMAN

MILLER, CASSIDY, LARROCA & LEWIN

2555 M Street, N.W., Suite 500

Washington, D.C. 20037

(202) 293-6400

Attorneys for Petitioner

Of Counsel:

JUSTIN A. STANLEY

DOUGLAS POE

MAYER, BROWN & PLATT

231 South La Salle Street

Chicago, Illinois 60604

(312) 782-0600

APPENDIX

APPENDIX A

IN THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 77-2258, 77-2259, 77-2274, 77-2275 and 77-2280

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

Vv.

ROBERT MCPARTLIN, et al.,

Defendants-Appellants.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division. No. 76

CR 779—John F. Grady, Judge.

ARGUED SEPTEMBER 29, 1978—DECIDED MARCH 26,

1979

Before PELL, SPRECHER and TONE, Circuit Judges.

TONE, Circuit Judge.

The appellants were convicted, in a nine-week jury trial,

of conspiring to violate the wire and travel fraud statutes

and of substantive violations of those statutes.

The indictment charged that defendant Frederick B. In-

gram,' chairman of the board of the Louisiana-based In-

gram Corporation, had paid defendant Robert F. Mc-

Partlin, an Illinois legislator, defendant Valentine Janicki,

' We use the spelling of Ingram’s first name that appears in the

indictment (Frederick) rather than the spelling that appears in

his brief (Frederic).

2a

a trustee for the Metropolitan Sanitary District, and

others more than $900,000 to secure for the Ingram Cor-

poration a multi-million dollar sludge-hauling contract

with the District. Defendants Franklin H. Weber, a busi-

nessman, and Edwin T. Bull, president of a towing com-

pany, were alleged to be intermediaries through whom

many of the payments were made. William J. Benton, vice

president of Ingram Corporation, was an unindicted co-

conspirator who played a major role in the conspiracy and

testified as a witness for the prosecution. The defendants

were convicted of numerous violations of the Travel Act,

18 U.S.C. § 1952, and the Wire, Radio, Television Fraud

Act, 18 U.S.C. § 1343, and of conspiring to violate those

acts in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 371. The jury acquitted

three other defendants, E. Bronson Ingram, brother of

Frederick B. Ingram and an officer of Ingram Corporation,

Chester Majewski, a Metropolitan Sanitary District trust-

ee, and Bart T. Lynam, General Supervisor of the Sanitary

District.’ |

The defendants urge as grounds for reversal the district

court’s denial of motions for severance, a ruling on the

alleged withholding by the prosecution of evidence favor-

able to the defendants until the beginning of the trial,

rulings admitting and excluding evidence, certain instruc-

tions to the jury, and other alleged trial errors. In this

portion of the opinion the facts are stated and the issues

arising from the denial of severance are decided. Judge

Pell and Judge Sprecher have written, and I concur in, the

portions of the opinion dealing with the other issues.

The Facts

The Sanitary District is a municipal corporation with

* The indictment also charged appellants McPartlin, Weber, and

Janicki with filing false income tax teturns in violation of 26

U.S.C. § 7206(1). The tax counts against McPartlin and Weber

were dismissed before trial. Janicki was convicted of tax viola-

tions, but raises no issue on appeal with respect thereto.

3a

primary responsibility for disposing of sewage from Chi-

cago and surrounding areas. The District’s business is

governed by an elected Board of Trustees* and managed

by a professional staff, which from time to time makes

recommendations to the Board concerning major under-

takings of the District.

The Sanitary District operates a sewage treatment plant

in Stickney, Illinois. Until 1971 the sludge produced as a

by-product was disposed of by pumping it into nearby

lagoons. Early that year, because the lagoons were rapidly

being filled and efforts to clean them had failed, the Dis-

trict announced plans to have the sludge transported to

Fulton County, Illinois, about 160 miles southwest of

Stickney, and solicited bids on the project, which were due

on March 19, 1971.

Viewed in the light most favorable to the prosecution,

the evidence showed that Benton, acting with the knowl-

edge and complicity of Frederick Ingram and through in-

termediaries Bull and Weber, bribed McPartlin and Janicki

to cause the sludge-hauling contract to be awarded to In-

gram Corporation and one of its subsidiaries, and later

bribed the same officials to secure favorable treatment

under the contract and modifications of the contract. The

details were as follows:

When the District solicited bids on the sludge-hauling

project, defendant Bull assisted Frank Oberle, an employ-

ee of Ingram Contractors, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary

of Ingram Corporation, in investigating the new proposal.

During the week before the bids were to be submitted,

Bull visited Robert Howson, a vice president of Ingram

Contractors, Inc., in New Orleans, Louisiana, and told

Howson that if Ingram Corporation expected to secure the

contract, it would have to make a “political contribution.”’

* In 1975 the name was changed to ‘‘Board of Commissioners.”’

4a

Howson responded that he was not in that sort of business,

but then took Bull to meet William J. Benton, vice presi-

dent of Ingram Corporation and president of Ingram Con-

tractors, Inc.

Ingram Corporation, Burlington Northern, Inc., and the

Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railway Company were

the leading contenders among those submitting bids on

March 19, 1971. To negotiate with these three bidders, the

Sanitary District established a committee, which met with

representatives of the bidders for the first time on March

23, 1971.

That evening Bull, Oberle, and Benton met in Benton’s

hotel room, where they were later joined by defendant

Weber. After Bull had introduced Weber to Benton, Bull

and Oberle left the room. Weber then told Benton that if

Ingram Corporation wanted the sludge-hauling contract,

it would have to make a $200,000 “‘political contribution.”

Benton replied that he would have to get approval from

his superiors. After agreeing to meet Benton the next day,

Weber left.

Benton then telephoned defendant Frederick Ingram to

inform him of Weber’s “political contribution’’ proposal.

Ingram agreed, provided that the contribution could be

added to the cost of the contract.

On March 24, 1971, Benton again met with Bull, who

expressed his belief that if the Ingram Corporation accept-

ed Weber’s proposal, it would get the contract. Bull also

told Benton that if the corporation did get the contract,

he wanted $100,000 in addition to anything it paid Weber.

At another meeting later in the day, Weber asked Benton

to open an account at a Chicago bank to demonstrate

Ingram Corporation’s ‘‘good faith.’’ That same day Benton

opened an account at the First National Bank of Chicago.

The following week, Weber called Benton and told him

that Burlington Northern, Inc. had offered to make a

5a

$295,000 political contribution. According to Weber, it was

therefore necessary for Ingram Corporation to raise its

contribution to $450,000, including a $150,000 cash pay-

ment before the contract was awarded. Again Benton con-

sulted Frederick Ingram, who again agreed on condition

that the contribution could be added to the contract price.

Benton communicated Ingram Corporation’s approval to

Weber, but said that the corporation could not raise

$150,000 in cash on such short notice. Weber replied that

some of the $150,000 had to be paid by April 3, 1971.

On April 3, 1971, Weber and McPartlin went to Benton’s

Chicago hotel room, where Weber introduced McPartlin to

Benton as the man who handled all political contributions

for the Democratic Party in Illinois. McPartlin assured

Benton that Ingram Corporation would receive at least

$21,500,000 in total revenue from the sludge-hauling con-

tract. Benton gave McPartlin $75,000 in cash, including

several one thousand dollar bills. On April 6, 1971, Weber

deposited nine one thousand dollar bills in the account of

one of his defunct corporations, Illinois Southern Mater-

ials.

On April 6, 1971, Weber telephoned Benton, asking for

$25,000 in cash immediately to secure the cooperation of

three Sanitary District staff members. When Benton pro-

tested that he could not deliver $25,000 cash on such short

notice, Weber suggested that Ingram Corporation issue a

check in that amount to Bull Towing Company, which

Benton caused to be done the next day. On April 8, 1971,

Edwin Bull deposited the Ingram check in the account of

Bull Towing Company and, at the same time, withdrew

$25,000 in cash from the account.

The Sanitary District requested the three bidders on the

sludge-hauling contract to submit new bids by April 15,

1971. Santa Fe declined. Burlington Northern submitted

a revised bid of $18,300,000. Oberle submitted Ingram

Corporation’s revised bid of $16,990,000 after which he

6a

returned to his hotel room, where he received a telephone

call from either Benton or Weber.‘ The called instructed

him to go to the bar at the Continental Plaza Hotel to meet

defendant Janicki, which Oberle did. At the meeting in the

bar Janicki told Oberle to raise Ingram’s revised bid to

$17,990,000. Oberle then returned to his hotel room and

telephoned Benton for advice. Benton instructed Oberle to

attend the Sanitary District negotiating committee meet-

ing scheduled for that afternoon. While attending the

meeting, Oberle received telephone instructions from Ben-

ton to raise the Ingram bid by $1,000,000 to $17,990,000.

Oberle did so.

On April 22, 1971, the Sanitary District Board of Trust-

ees voted to award the contract to Ingram Corporation.

Between that date and May 12, 1971, a contract was draft-

ed by members of the Sanitary District staff and Ingram

Corporation representatives, including John Donnelly,

president of Ingram Barge Company, the Ingram Corpo-

ration subsidiary that would transport the sludge under

the contract. The staff insisted on a liquidated damages

clause authorizing the District to prescribe the amount of

sludge to be transported in any 24-hour period and provid-

ing that Ingram Corporation would be assessed a penalty

for each ton of sludge not transported, as prescribed, in

any 24-hour period. Donnelly, after initially refusing to

agree to the provision, discussed it with Benton, who told

him to agree to it. Only after talking with Frederick In-

gram, however, did Donnelly accede to inclusion of the

liquidated damages clause.

The contract provided that Ingram Corporation would

construct additions to the treatment facilities at Stickney

and an unloading dock and pump station in Fulton County

for which work the Sanitary District was to pay $733,000.

* Since Benton did not meet Janicki until a month later, the caller

was probably Weber...

7a

Ingram Corporation was also to construct a pipeline over

property not owned by the District, for which construction

the District agreed to pay $68,000 per month for 36

months, a total of $2,448,000. The contract also provided

that Ingram Corporation would receive $1.802 per ton of

sludge hauled from Stickney to Fulton County. The parties

estimated that over the life of the contract 8,000,000 tons

of sludge would be transported.

On May 19, 1971, Weber and Benton met in New Orle-

ans to discuss ways of increasing Ingram Corporation’s

total revenue under the contract to the $21,500,000 that

McPartlin had assured Benton would be forthcoming. We-

ber told Benton that Janicki and he thought that the cor-

poration could receive an additional $2,100,000 by billing

the Sanitary District a second time for the construction of

the pipeline and the construction in Fulton County.

On June 26, 1971, Weber told Benton that Janicki need-

ed $21,290 to pay off three District staff members. Ingram

issued a check for that amount to Southwest Expressway,

another of Weber’s defunct corporations.

On July 27, 1971, Weber issued a $20,000 check to Bull

Towing Company. Edwin Bull deposited the check and, at

the same time, withdrew $20,000. The next day, the Illinois

Commerce Commission granted Ingram Corporation’s re-

quest for a certificate of convenience and necessity.

On August 14, 1971, Edwin Bull negotiated two con-

tracts with Ingram Corporation. In one of them Ingram

Corporation agreed to rent barges from Bull Towing Com-

pany to transport sludge from the Lemont Bridge over the

lllinois River to Fulton County. Donnelly signed this con-

tract but refused to sign the other contract, under which

Ingram Corporation would agree to pay Bull $.17 per ton

for transporting sludge from Stickney to the Lemont

Bridge. Ten cents per ton were intended as payment for

actual towing services; the other seven cents per ton were

8a

intended as payment for consulting services and engineer-

ing and feasibility studies that Bull had allegedly per-

formed for Ingram Corporation. The second contract also

provided for payment to Bull of a $76,000 ‘‘finder’s fee.’’®

Donnelly objected to the “‘finder’s fee,’’ questioned wheth-

er any consulting services or studies that Bull provided to

Ingram Corporation were worth $560,000, and questioned

Bull’s competence as a barge operator. Out of Bull’s pres-

ence, Benton told Donnelly that if Bull did not participate

in the sludge-hauling contract, there would be no contract.

Donnelly still refused to sign the second Ingram-Bull con-

tract, but permitted Benton to sign it on behalf of Ingram

Barge Corporation as well as Ingram Corporation.

On August 15, 1971, Benton, Weber and McPartlin met

in Chicago to discuss further payments. Benton agreed to

provide $146,000 in two installments. On August 18, 1971,

Oscar Hardison, comptroller of Ingram Corporation, deliv-

ered $30,000 in cash to Weber at O’Hare Airport in Chi-

cago. On August 28, 1971, another Ingram executive, G.

Glen Martin, gave Weber $116,000, which consisted of

$46,000 in cash and $70,000 in checks payable to Weber’s

defunct corporations.

Ingram Barge Corporation began transporting sludge

six days later than the date it was required to do so under

the sludge-hauling contract; whereupon the Sanitary Dis-

trict assessed liquidated damages of $30,000 under the

liquidated damages clause. In early October, 1971, Benton,

Weber, and Janicki held a meeting in Chicago to discuss

this matter, following which the Sanitary District with-

drew the assessment. After the meeting, Weber told Ben-

* Benton testified that Bull had informed him that he needed

money to pay income taxes on the money that he had laundered

through Bull Towing Company. Part of the $76,000 was for this

purpose, but the government concedes that part of the $76,000

finder’s fee was legitimate.

9a

ton that Janicki wanted $100,000 by the end of 1971.

When informed by Benton of this request, however, Fred-

erick Ingram refused, saying that no more payments would

be made until the Sanitary District began making pay-

ments on the pipeline, as Weber had promised it would.

On December 15, 1971, Weber telephoned Benton to tell

him that the Sanitary District would issue a check to In-

gram Corporation for $1,000,000, as partial payment on

the pipeline. When Benton arrived at Janicki’s office the

following day, however, Janiciki disclaimed any knowledge

of the $1,000,000 check. Benton threatened to “‘jerk the

rug” from under everyone in Chicago.

Upon learning of Benton’s threat, Weber informed Ob-

erle of it and asked Oberle to do whatever he could about

Benton. Oberle telephoned defendant Frederick Ingram to

tell him of Benton’s threat. Ingram expressed no surprise,

simply thanked Oberle for the information and hung up,

and later in the day met with Benton to discuss the matter.

At the meeting they agreed that Benton would continue

to represent Ingram’s interest in dealing with the Chicago

officials.

On December 21, 1971, Weber, Janicki, and Benton met

in Benton’s hotel room in Chicago. Benton apologized for

his threat. He then gave Weber two checks payable to

Weber’s defunct corporations in the amount of $50,070.

This payment brought Ingram’s total contribution to

$317,320, levaing a balance of $132,680 on the $450,000

commitment.

In February, 1972, Weber told Benton that because of

the difficulties in getting the Sanitary District to pay the

additional $2,100,000 for the pipeline, Ingram Corporation

would have to increase its contribution to $620,000. On

February 17, 1972, Weber asked Benton for $100,000 in

cash immediately. When Benton told defendant Ingram of

the request, Ingram responded that he would investigate

10a

ways of raising the money. On February 28, 1972, Benton

delivered $100,000 to Mrs. Valentine Janicki.

At trial, defendant Frederick Ingram contended that he

did not learn until this February, 1972 meeting with Ben-

ton that his company had secured a multi-million dollar

contract by paying more than $300,000 to Chicago offi-

cials.* Ingram testified that he protested against paying

the bribes, but reluctantly agreed when Benton informed

him that if he refused to pay, the Sanitary District would

not pay the additional $2,100,000 for the pipeline and

would use the liquidated damages clause to penalize In-

gram Corporation.

On March 10, 1972, Weber told Benton that if Ingram

Corporation could deliver $100,000 before the end of the

month, the Sanitary District Board of Trustees would ap-

prove the purchase of the pipeline. One-fourth of this

amount was delivered, but the balance was not, and the

trustees failed to approve the purchase. At a July 6, 1972

meeting between Benton, Janicki, and Weber, however,

Janicki promised that the trustees would take some action

on the pipeline in the month of July. As promised, the

board of trustees authorized the staff to negotiate with

Ingram for the purchase of the pipeline on July 20, 1972.

On August 23, 1972, Benton gave McPartlin $80,000 in

cash. McPartlin told Benton that the trustees would ap-

prove the purchase of the pipeline in September, but In-

gram would have to pay the balance of its contribution,

about $95,000, in September also.

Between August and November, 1972, Ingram Corpo-

ration and the Chicago officials negotiated a new agree-

* Benton testified that he informed Frederick Ingram of Weber's

first proposal that Ingram Corporation make a political contri-

bution immediately after Weber made it in March, 1971, and

that Ingram authorized the payments then.

lla

ment. Ingram would pay $750,000 over a three year period,

and the Sanitary District would purchase the pipeline,

modify the liquidated damages clause, and extend the

sludge-hauling contract for three years at a higher price

per ton.

On December 28, 1972, representatives of the Ingram

companies and the District signed an agreement covering

the pipeline purchase that was to be effective only if the

parties also signed two other agreements: a retroactive

modification of the liquidated damages clause and a three

year extension of the sludge-hauling contract. On January

26, 1973, the additional agreements were signed.

After the signing, Benton returned to his hotel room

and telephoned Janicki to tell him that his money was

ready. Janicki sent his secretary to pick up a package

containing $50,000 in cash. Benton then telephoned Weber

to tell him to come and pick up the balance of the money

due. When Weber arrived, Benton gave him $95,000 in

cash and nine letters of credit drawn on a Swiss bank in

the amount of $70,000 each.’

One of the letters of credit matured in June, 1973, and

each of the others matured sequentially at six-month in-

tervals. Weber admitted negotiating the first four letters

at the Swiss bank in July, 1973, December, 1973, June,

1974, and December, 1974. On each occasion, he purchased

his plane ticket to Europe with cash, arranged for his trip

to Switzerland only after he arrived in Europe, and stopped

in Toronto, Canada, on the way back to the United States.

On his last two trips, Weber telephoned Janicki from Eu-

rope.

"It is not clear whether the $95,000 due in September on the

first agreement was ever paid. Nor is it clear why Benton paid

Janicki and Weber $775,000 on January 26, 1973, rather than

the $750,000 agreed to.

12a

Sometime before the fall of 1974 a federal grand jury

commenced an investigation of the events surrounding the

sludge-hauling contract. In May, 1975, the government

granted immunity to Benton.

In November, 1975, Weber sent his brother, Henry We-

ber, to Europe te negotiate the fifth and sixth letters -

credit, which matured in June, 1975, and December, 1975.

Following his brother’s instructions, Henry Weber did not

proceed directly to the drawee Swiss bank but went to a

bank in Vaduz, Liechtenstein, to have that bank present

the letters to the Swiss bank.

On November 26, 1975, two weeks after his return from

Liechtenstein, Henry Weber appeared before the grand

jury and testified that he had only visited Frankfurt and

Munich. On December 3, 1975, the government called Hen-

ry Weber to appear a second time before the grand jury,

this time asking Weber to bring his travel records. During

his second appearance, Henry Weber testified that he had

been mistaken when he said that he had only visited Frank-

furt and Munich and that he had also visited Vaduz.

On December 9, 1975, Franklin Weber’s attorney tele-

phoned one of the government’s attorneys in this case and

informed him of what the government attorney already

had reason to suspect, namely, that Franklin Weber had

possession of the remaining letters of credit.

Additional details and procedural matters necessary to

an understanding of the various issues to be decided will

be stated at appropriate places in the opinion.

* It is not clear how Weber expected his brother to cash the sixth

letter of credit in November, 1975; it did not mature until De

cember, 1975. Nevertheless, it is undisputed that Henry Weber

did go to Vaduz, Liechtenstein carrying the two letters of credit

with the intent to negotiate them.

13a

Be

Severance

Before discussing the specific attacks on the district

court’s denial of severance, some general principles should

be noted. The question of whether charges that have been

properly joined ought to be severed for trial is for the

discretion of the trial judge, whose decision will be re-

versed only upon a showing of clear abuse. United States

v. Tanner, 471 F.2d 128, 137 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 409

U.S. 949 (1972). The defendant has the burden of showing

prejudice, which is a difficult one. Jd. A denial of severance

will rarely be reversed on review, Tillman v. United States,

406 F.2d 930, 935 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 395 U.S. 830

(1969), and then only for the most “cogent reasons,”

United States v. Kahn, 381 F.2d 824, 838 (7th Cir.), cert.

denied, 389 U.S. 1015 (1967). There is, moreover, a strong

policy in favor of joint trial ‘where the charge against all

the defendants may be proved by the same evidence and

results from the same series of acts.’ United States v.

Cohen, 124 F.2d 164, 165 (2d Cir.), cert. denied sub nom.

Bernstein v. United States, 352 F.2d 892, 896 (7th Cir.

1965) recently quoted in United States v. Harris, 542 F.2d

1283, 1312 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 430 U.S. 934 (1976).

In the case at bar all appellants assert error in the denial

of their motions for severance. Frederick Ingram argues

that the denial deprived him of evidence that would other-

wise have been available. The other appellants, whom we

shall call the Illinois defendants, argue that they were

prejudiced by the denial because Ingram and his brother

(whom the jury acquitted) defended on a ground antago-

nistic to the defenses of their co-defendants and because

of curtailment of cross-examination and the spillover effect

of evidence admitted only against Frederick Ingram. We

turn first to the argument of the Illinois defendants.

l4a

A. The Illinois Defendants

1. Antagonistic Defenses

The Ingrams contended that the payments were made

only because the Sanitary District threatened to take ac-

tion that would have resulted in financial disaster to In-

gram Corporation, and therefore neither of them had the

“intent (to influence the performance of an official act)

required by the Illinois bribery statute.’’ United States v.

Peskin, 527 F.2d 71, 84 (7th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 429

U.S. 818 (1976). It was not necessary to this defense that

the Illinois defendants were guilty of extortion or received

bribes, because it was possible that Benton, through whom

the corporation’s communications with, and payments to,

the Illinois defendants were carried out, did not pass any

of the money on but kept it all himself.* Thus the Ingram

defense was not necessarily antagonistic to the defenses

of others, although it was possible, on the Ingrams' theory,

that they were innocent even if the others were guilty.

Even if the defenses were to a degree antagonistic, how-

ever, it does not follow that there should have been two or

more trials. One has no right to any tactical advantage

that would result if evidence that is admissible against

him in either a joint or separate trial might be unavailable

in a separate trial. Cf. Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 89, 90-

91 (1963).'° It is therefore the settled rule that a defendant

* Benton admitted siphoning off for his own use some of the

funds that the Ingrams intended be paid to the Illinois defend-

ants. See Part IV, infra.

‘© In Brady, which is famous for a holding irrelevant here (viz.,

that the prosecution’s suppression of evidence requested by the

defense and material to punishment violated the due process

clause of the Fourteenth Amendment), the Court also held that

no federal right was violated by limiting a new trial to the issue

of punishment where the suppressed evidence was inadmissible

as to guilt, even though there might have been some spillover

15a

is not entitled to a severance merely because it would give

him a better chance of acquittal. See United States v. Tan-

ner, supra, 471 F.2d at 137. Thus antagonistic defenses do

not require the granting of severance, United States v.

Hutul, 416 F.2d 607, 620 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 396 U.S.

1007 (1970), even when one defendant takes the stand and

blames his co-defendant for the crime, United States v.

Joyce, 499 F.2d 9, 21 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 1031

(1974). Even when the defendant who testified he was the

victim of extortion had dealt directly with the defendant

alleged to have extorted the bribe, we sustained the denial

of severance. United States v. George, 477 F.2d 507 (7th

Cir.), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 827 (1973).

There may be cases, as we recognized in George, in

which the conflict among defendants is of such a nature

that the “jury will unjustifiably infer that this conflict

alone demonstrates that both are guilty.” 977 F.2d at 515.

This is not such a case. The joinder did not result in the

exclusion or admission of any evidence of consequence that

would not have been excludable or admissible in separate

trials. Nor was any argument made that could not properly

favorable to the defendant on the issue of guilt. At the first trial,

in which a jury had convicted Brady of first degree murder and

fixed penalty as death, the prosecution had failed to disclose a

confession in which petitioner’s accomplice admitted having ac-

tually strangled the victim. Concerning the petitioner's right to

a new trial on both guilt and punishment, the Court said:

A sporting theory of justice might assume that if the sup-

pressed confession had been used at the first trial, the

judge’s ruling that it was not admissible on the issue of

innocence or guilt might have been flouted by the jury... .

But we cannot raise that trial strategy to the dignity of a

constitutional right and say that the deprival of this de

fendant of that sporting chance through the use of a bifur-

cated trial . . . denies him due process or violates the Equal

Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.

373 U.S. at 90-91 (footnote omitted).

16a

have been made in such a separate trial. There was no

cognizable prejudice arising from antagonistic defenses."

2. Curtailment of Cross-Examination

Janicki complains that cross-examination was curtailed

because of the joinder when, during cross-examination of

Benton, the trial judge delivered a general admonition

against repetitious cross-examination. Neither Janicki nor

the other Illinois defendants, who adopt by reference his

arguments on severance, show any prej udice resulting

from the admonition or point to any specific ruling cur-

tailing their cross-examination. It was, moreover, entirely

proper for the judge to attempt to forestall repetition.

3. Spillover Effect of Evidence Offered Against Fred-

erick Ingram

Janicki also asserts that he was prejudiced by evidence

offered against Frederick Ingram showing that Ingram

Corporation had bribed a Brazilian corporate official be-

tween 1969 and 1971, because the conduct of the Brazilian

was similar to that with which Janicki was charged. The

trial court instructed the jury to consider the evidence of

the earlier bribe only as to Frederick Ingram’s state of

" Although the Commentary to § 2.3(b) of the ABA Minimum

Standards for Criminal Justice: Standards Relating to Joinder

and Severance (Approved Draft 1968), contains a sentence which,

standing alone, indicates that ‘‘defenses . . . antagonistic to each

other” constitute a sufficient basis for granting a severance, the

Commentary elsewhere states that this is only one of several

factors to be considered and makes it clear that the appropriate

ness of severance depends upon the degree and kind of antago-

nism. See also the federal cases cited in the ALR Annotation

referred to in the Commentary, 70 A.L.R. at 1184-1185; and see

Annot., 82 A.L.R.3d 245, 250-251, 257-259 (1978). As the cases

cited in the text of this opinion illustrate, the federal courts have

held that an attempt by one defendant to place the guilt upon

another does not require severance. See also 82 A.L.R. 3d at

260-261.

17a

mind, but Janicki asserts that this instruction was inef-

fective. We see no substantial risk that the jury would

believe that because a Brazilian corporate officer took a

bribe from Ingram Corporation, Janicki did also, and there-

fore we conclude that Janicki was not prejudiced by the

admission of this evidence. Its admissibility as to Freder-

ick Ingram and the effectiveness of the limiting instruction

are discussed below.

The Illinois defendants were not deprived of a fair trial

by the joinder.

B. Frederick Ingram

Frederick Ingram’s attack on the joinder is based on the

district court’s exclusion of three items of evidence offered

to support his extortion defense, which Ingram argues

occurred because he was tried with the h

sir men he allegedly

1. The McPartlin Statements and the Attorney-Client

Privilege Among Co-defendants and Their Counsel

Throughout the period covered by the indictment, Ben-

ton kept diaries, or appointment calendars, in which he

made notes concerning meetings and telephone conversa-

tions, naming the persons involved and often recording the

substance of the conversations. The Benton diaries figured

prominently in the governments’s case, for they corrobo-

rated much of his testimony.

Destroying Benton’s credibility was important to In-

gram, as it was to the other defendants, even though In-

gram’s defense was based, in part, on the argument that

he had made the payments in response to the threats Ben-

ton had reported to him, because Ingram’s account of

events in issue differed materially from Benton’s, and be-

cause the government’s case hinged largely on Benton’s

testimony. Since Benton’s diaries corroborated so much of

by

18a

his testimony, it was imperative from the stand-point of

all defendants that an effort be made to discredit them.

Such an effort was made, and Frederick Ingram and

McPartlin cooperated in that effort. In a brief supporting

a pretrial “Motion for Additional Time to Conduct Docu-

ment Analysis,” Ingram’s counsel stated, with reference

to contemplated tests on the Benton diaries,

he defendant Frederic B. Ingram is not the only

Oo ll on who may be affected by the results of these

tests. Besides the general effect of the doubts that

may be raised as to Benton’s veracity and the credi-

bility of the diary entries, the case against at least

one other defendant—Robert F. McPartlin—may be

substantially affected by the results of the tests.

From the results of the tests conducted so far, it

appears that at least two of the suspicious diary en-

tries relate to alleged payments of money to Mr.

McPartlin.

An investigator acting for Frederick Ingram’s counsel

twice interviewed McPartlin with the consent of the lat-

ter’s counsel’? for the purpose of determining whether

there was a basis, for challenging the truth of some of the

diary entries. In the second of these interviewes McPartlin

made certain statements, which Ingram argues tend to

support his defense. At trial when Ingram offered evidence

of these statements, McPartlin’s counsel objected on the

ground, inter alia, of the attorney-client privilege, and the

court, after an in camera hearing, sustained the objection

on this and another ground."*

'? McPartlin’s attorney advised McPartlin to meet with the in-

vestigator because it was in the interest of all the defendants to

‘poke holes”’ in the Benton diaries.

'3 In the alternative, the court ruled that McPartlin’s statements

were inadmissible hearsay not within the exception provided by

Rule 804(b)(3), Fed. R. Evid. (declarations against penal interest).

Since we agree that McPartlin’s statements are protected by his

attorney-client privilege, and in any event their exclusion was

ant, 3 “a

19a

The exclusion of the McPartlin statements would not be

reversible error even if he had not been entitled to claim

the privilege. We are satisfied from our examination of the

transcript of the in camera hearing, which was sealed and

made a part of the record on appeal, that the statements

merely corroborated facts which were admitted in evidence

and which the jury obviously found to be true.'* We do not

disclose the contents of the statements because they re-

main protected by the attorney-client privilege, on which

we alternatively base our ruling on this point.

McPartlin was entitled to the protection of the attorney-

client privilege, because his statements were made in con-

fidence to an attorney for a co-defendant for a common

purpose related to both defenses. They were made in con-

nection with the project of attempting to discredit Benton,

a project in which Ingram and McPartlin and their attor-

neys were jointly engaged for the benefit of both defend-

ants. Ingram acknowledges that communications by a

client to his own lawyer remain privileged when the lawyer

subsequently shares them with co-defendants for purposes

of a common defense. The common-defense rule, which is

not as narrow as Ingram contends, has been recognized in

cases spanning more than a century. Chahoon v. Common-

wealth, 62 Va. (21 Gratt.) 822 (1971); Schmitt v. Emery,

211 Minn. 547, 2 N.W.2d 413 (1942); Continental Oil Co.

uv. United States, 330 F.2d 347 (1964); Hunydee v. United

States, 355 F.2d 183 (9th Cir. 1965); Matter of Grand Jury

Subpoena, 406 F.Supp. 381, 387-389 (S.D.N.Y. 1975); see

not prejudicial, we do not reach the alternative ground for exclu-

sion.

'* The trial judge remarked at one point that the evidence “would

be of great assistance to Ingram”’ if admissible. With respect, we

see no basis for that conclusion and believe that, if the judge had

been given the opportunity we have had to lay the facts proved

in other ways beside the proffered evidence and carefully com-

pare the two, he would have reached the same conclusion we do.

20a

tate v. Emmanuel, 42 Wash.2d 799, 259 P.2d 845, 854-

rors (1973); Note, ‘Waiver of Attorney-Client Privilege on

\nter-Attorney Exchange of Information,” 63 Yale L.J.

10380 (1954); Note, “The Attorney-Client Privilege in Mul-

tiple Party Situations,” 8 Colum. J.L. Soc. Prob. 179

(1972). Uninhibited communication among joint parties

and their counsel about matters of common concern is

often important to the protection of their interests. Note,

supra, 8 Colum J.L. Soc. Prob. 179-180. In criminal cases

it can be necessary to a fair opportunity to defend. There-

fore, waiver is not to be inferred from the disclosure in

confidence to a coparty’s attorney for a common purpose.

he case at bar, the judge found, as a preliminary

deca of fact, from the evidence adduced at the hearing

held pursuant to Rule 404(a), Fed. R. Evid., that MePartlin

had made the statements to the investigator in confidence.

That finding is not clearly erroneous.

Ingram argues that the co-defendants’ defenses must be

in m4 aiaieke Gangattid if the joint-defense privilege is

to be applicable. The cases do not establish such a limita-

tion,'* and there is no reason to impose it. Rule 503(b)(3) of

the proposed Federal Rules of Evidence, as approved by

the Supreme Court, stated that the privilege applies to

communications by a client ‘‘to a lawyer representing an-

other in a matter of common interest.” See 2 J. Weinstein,

Evidence 503-52 (1977). The Advisory Committee’s Note

ue Hunydee v. United States, supra, the attorney for

embdec'ees-daladons believed that the government would not

rosecute the co-defendant if Hunydee pleaded guilty, and there

lens their interests conflicted. Nevertheless, the Ninth Circuit

held that statements made by Hunydee during a joint conference

held for the purpose of discussing his willingness to plead guilty,

a matter of common interest, which affected both attorneys

subsequent representation of their respective clients, were priv-

ileged. Similarly, in Schmitt, supra, the common interest of the

co-defendants related to the exclusion of a specific item of evi-

dence. See, Note, supra, 63 Yale L. J. 1030, 1035-1036.

2la

to proposed Rule 503(b) makes it clear that the joint-inter-

est privilege is not limited to situations in which the po-

sitions of the parties are compatible in all respects:

The third t pe of communication occurs in the

“joint defense” or “pooled information” situation,

where different lawyers represent clients who have

some interests in common. .. . The rule does not apply

to situations where there is no common interest to be

promoted by a joint consultation, and the parties meet

on a purely adversary basis.

Quoted in 2 J. Weinstein, supra, at 503-6 to 503-7, (Em-

phasis supplied and citations omitted.) Although the Con-

gress, in its revision of the Federal Rules of Evidence,

deleted the detailed privilege rules and left the subject of

privilege in federal question cases to ‘be governed by the

principles of common law as they may be interpreted by

the courts of the United States,” R. 501, Fed. R. Evid.,

the recommendations of the Advisory Committee, ap-

proved by the Supreme Court, are a useful guide to the

federal courts in their development of a common law of

evidence. 2J. Weinstein, supra, 501-20.4 to 501-20.5. In

this instance we follow the recommendation. The privilege

protects pooling of information for any defense purpose

common to the participating defendants. Cooperation be-

tween defendants in such circumstances is often not only

in their own best interests but serves to expedite the trial

or, as in the case at bar, the trial preparation."

Ingram also seems to argue that the communication was

not privileged because it was made to an investigator rath-

er than an attorney. The investigator was an agent for

'* Smale v. United States, 3 F.2d 101, 102 (7th Cir. 1924), relied

on by Ingram, in which one defendant volunteered statements

to another defendant and the latter's attorney and the requisite

joint interest and confidentiality were both lacking, does not

establish the. compatible defense requirement for which Ingram

argues.

22a

Ingram’s attorney, however, so it is as if communication

was to the attorney himself. “It has never been questioned

that the privilege protects communications to the attor-

ney’s. . agents. . .for rendering his services.’’ 8 Wigmore,

Evidence § 2301 at 583 (McNaughton rev. 1961); cf. United

States v. Kovel, 296 F.2d 918, 921-922 (2d Cir. 1961)

(client’s communications to an accountant employed by

his attorney).

Nor was it, as Ingram contends, fatal to the privilege

that McPartlin made the statement, in effect, to Ingram’s

attorney rather than his own. When the Ingram and

McPartlin camps decided to join in an attempt to discredit

Benton, the attorney for each represented both for pur-

poses of that joint effort. The relationship was no different

than it would have been if during the trial the Ingram and

McPartlin attorneys had decided that Ingram’s attorney

would cross-examine Benton on behalf of both, and during

cross-examination McPartlin passed Ingram’s attorney a

note containing information for use in the cross-examina-

tion. The attorney who thus undertakes to serve his

client's co-defendant for a limited purpose becomes the co-

defendant's attorney for that purpose. A claim of privilege

was upheld in circumstances such as these where com-

munications were made directly to the attorney for another

party in In the Matter of Grand Jury Subpoena Duces

Tecum, supra, 406 F.Supp. at 391. United States v. Fried-

man, 445 F.2d 1076, 1085 n.4 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 404

U.S. 958 (1971), relied on by Ingram, is not to the contrary.

In Friedman the court held its decision in Hunydee v.

United States, supra, inapplicable, because no joint

defence or common interest was alleged. The court went

on to state, in the footnote relied upon, that even if Hun-

ydee was applicable, there was no privilege since “the facts

of the conversation negate confidentiality.” 445 F.2d at

1085 n.4.

Inasmuch as McPartlin was entitled to assert the priv-

23a

ilege whether Ingram was tried joi

jointly or separately,

prejudice would have resulted from the joint trial - to

son of the exclusion of the McPartlin statements even if

those statements had not been merely cumulative.

2. Relevance of Threats Against Benton

Frederick Ingram also argues that joinder cau

cific prej udice through the trial Post a a a a

judicial to other defendants, of evidence of threats of phys-

ical harm directed against Benton. The short answer is

that prej udice to other defendants was not the only ground

for the exclusion. The excluded evidence consisted of tes-

timony by Ingram that in the fall of 1972 Benton ex-

— fear for his own physical well-being if Ingram re-

- wed to make the promised payments to the Chicago of-

, and testimony by two other witnesses that Benton

told them in October 1974 that someone had threatened

him with physical harm. To begin with both statements

by Benton were said to have been made long after Febru-

ary 1972, when Ingram, by his own admission, authorized

Benton to make payments to secure the contract. There is

no indication in the record that the second, made long after

all payments were made, was ever communicated to In-

gram. The alleged threats were directed at Benton, not

Frederick Ingram, who had no dealings in the matter with

anyone outside Ingram Corporation. Finally, Ingram’s the-

ory throughout the trial was economic, not physical, coer-

cion."’ The evidence was properly excluded as irrelevant,

and it would have been equally irrel i

Seabee aman. equally irrelevant if Ingram had

'' In United States v. McClure, 546 F.2d 670 (5th Cir. 1 i

upon by Ingram, the court held it to have been aad an

to exclude as irrelevant “evidence of a systematic campaign of

aay and intimidation” by an informer against persons other

han the defendant, offered to corroborate the defendant's tes-

pong ts that he had been threatened and coerced by the informer

commit the crime charged. The case is not authority for the

24a

3. Relevance of an Unrelated Payment by a Third-

Party a

erick Ingram also contends that the joinder cau

Pi aor eo Fiskiones that an attorney who on

Ingram Corporation before the Illinois Commerce 96d

mission made a $5,000 contribution to McPartlin’s ree 0

tion campaign fund, and that the payment was motivat '

in part by McPartlin’s having recommended the a ‘

firm to Ingram Corporation. There was no showing t ‘

the attorney was coerced. This evidence, offered a y

the prosecution and then by the Ingrams, was right y =

cluded on both occasions as irrelevant. In reso B wt

Ingram offer the court said that it “could be prejudici

i i i far as

McPartlin without being probative of an issue as far

the Ingrams are concerned.” Prejudice to McPartlin aside,

the trial court was correct as to the probative value of the

evidence.

We therefore conclude that the denial of the motions for

severance was not error.

SPRECHER, Circuit Judge:

I concur in the portions of this opinion prepared by

Judges Pell and Tone.

Il.

Extortion Defense Instruction

As noted earlier, defendant Ingram never denied eae

certain of the illicit personal payments to officials of the

iti i eats of physical violence, made

eer quan. dnoael at hs poles other than mee

defendant, is relevant in a case in which the defendant nace er

contend that his criminal activity was motivated by . wo a

physical violence or that he even had knowledge of suc

at the time of his criminal activity.

25a

Sanitary District. Instead Ingram premised his defense to

the counts relating to these payments on the theory that

these payments were not intended as bribes but were ex-

torted from him by threats that, unless these payments

were made, the Sanitary District would, contrary to an

alleged understanding, refuse to purchase the pipeline

which Ingram had already constructed and would invoke

the liquidated damages clause to further penalize Ingram

Corporation.'* In relation to these arguments, the trial

court gave the jury the following instructions on the de-

fense of extortion:

Now, I have just told you that willful conduct,

which is required in each of the crimes charged in this

indictment, must be voluntary.

One of the defenses raised by the Defendants Fred-

eric B. Ingram and E. Bronson Ingram is that they

authorized certain poomennts to be made only because

they were told unless the ——— were made, the

pipeline would not be paid for and the liquidated dam-

age provision would used against Ingram Barge

Company in an unreasonable and punitive manner.

These defendants claim, therefore, that they did not

commit bribery or conspire to commit bribery and

lacked the intent to bribe.

In analyzing this defense, there are several things

for you to consider. First, you should determine

whether a defendant did in fact authorize payments

because of a fear of economic loss. If you find. that a

defendant did authorize any of the payments in ques-

'* It is to be noted that this defense is inapplicable to the counts

under which Ingram was found guilty of participation in pay-

ments made prior to February, 1972. (Counts 3, 4, and 5.) As to

these counts Ingram contended he did not know of the payments.

The conspiracy count (Count 1) involved payments made before

and after that date, but the verdicts on the three substantive

counts tell us that the jury disbelieved Ingram’s denial of know]-

edge of the earlier payments, so the extortion defense would not

suffice under the conspiracy count.

| 26a

. but that he did so solely to procure an economic

co rather than out of fear of an economic loss,

then this defense that the act was involuntary must

fail.

ther hand, if you do find that a defendant

naan | payments he use of his fear of economic

loss, then you should proceed to a consideration of

whether that fear of economic loss was such as to

render his action involuntary within the meaning of

the law.

are several things to consider in this connec-

tion First did the defendant fear loss as a result of

a withh of something to which he believed In-

seem fet was already legally entitled?

Specif , did efendant believe that the Met-

ropolitan ——, ae was yaad rime ay .

on to ngram Barge for the p pelin

be i e that the heentened assessment of liqui-

dated damages was legally unjustified?

The answers to these questions are important be-

cause there is a difference between paying a public

official for a is entitled to receive and

a public official for something one is not en-

Pitled to receive.

If one does not believe he is legally entitled to re-

ceive the in question, then, no matter how much

he needs it and no matter how t the economic loss

one might suffer by not recei it, there can be no

legal justification for paying a public official to get it.

Such a payment is b , pure and simple.

However, if one is le entitled to the thing in

question or in faith believes he is legally enti

to it, then the of economic harm from not receiv-

ing it may be sufficient to render the act be bene

involuntary, depending upon three additional consid-

erations: The seriousness of the economic harm ol

ceived by the defendant, the effect that perception

had on his ability to exercise free choice, and the

27a

defendant's awareness of reasonable alternatives to

the making of the demanded payments.

If a defendant did not in fact fear serious economic

harm or if his fear did not substantially impair his

ability to exercise free choice or if he was aware of

actions he might take to forestall the harm without

making the peymants and chose not to take those

actions, then his conduct in ae the payment

cannot be considered involuntary within the meaning

of the law.

In order to prove, therefore, that a defendant acted

willfully as opposed to involuntarily in conic a

a the government must prove one of the fol-

owing py (a) that the defendant was not moti-

vated by a fear of economic harm in authorizing the

particular payment, or (b) the thing which the defend-

ant sought to obtain by making the payment was not

somet = believed Ingram Barge Company was

legally entitled to have without mak 8 the payment,

or (c) the defendant did not perceive the threatened

economic harm to be of serious magnitude, or (d) the

defendant's fear was not such as to substant y im-

air his ability to exercise free choice, or (e) and final-

y, the defendant was aware of reasonable alternatives

to making the payments and chose not to pursue

those alternatives.

Defendant Ingram urges that this instruction was preju-

dicial error in three respects. In considering these conten-

tions we shall assume without deciding, that as the instruc-

tion states, under Illinois law, if one who pays a bribe is or

believes himself to be ‘‘legally entitled’’ to have the official

take the action induced by the bribe, ‘“‘then the fear of

economic harm from not receiving it may be sufficient to

render the act of payment involuntary.’’ This court’s de-

cision in United States v. Peskin, 527 F.2d 71, 84 (7th Cir.

1975), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 818 (1976), in the following

words, left open the question whether this is so but did

establish the rule applicable in the case of a discretionary

28a

official decision:

[A]t least in a case where a discretionary or legislative

decision ... has been requested, the withholding of

such action until a money demand is met could not

negate the intent (to influence the performance of an

official act) required by the Illinois bribery statute.

Id. at 84.

First, Ingram argues that the distinction between eco-

nomic loss and gain was erroneous. The prejudice from

this distinction allegedly arose from the fact that the jury

was likely to define economic loss as the payment of money

and economic gain as the receipt of money and therefore

might have rejected the extortion defense out of hand on

the ground that the admitted object of the payment was

to complete the sludge-hauling project and thereby gain a

profit. In response we note initially that Ingram here has

too narrowly characterized his own defense. Ingram as-

serted throughout the trial and continues to assert before

us that the payments were at least in part motivated by

a desire to avoid assessment of liquidated damages. Even

under the simplistic construction of the loss-gain distinc-

tion which Ingram alleges was most likely, this would

constitute an economic “‘loss”’ thereby preventing the jury

from rejecting the defense on the basis of the loss-gain

distinction.'’* Moreover it is not clear that Ingram pre-

served this objection for appeal: the written objection to

the instruction teridered at trial makes no mention of any

' Indeed Ingram seems to have admitted as much. In his brief

defendant Ingram states: ‘‘Alternatively, the jury might confus-

ingly [sic] have reasoned that threatened liability under the liq-

uidated damages clause was an ‘economic loss’... .’’ Brief for

Defendant Ingram at 37.

29a

error in this distinction.” Finally, we are not convinced

that the jury would put such a simplistic construction on

the loss-gain distinction. Certainly it requires no extraor-

dinary economic acumen to realize that the receipt of mon-

ey may not represent an economic gain if the amount re-

ceived is less than an amount to which one was previously

entitled. Conversely, an ordinary juror would certainly re-

alize that a real economic gain accrues only when a person

becomes entitled to something to which he had no prior

entitlement, that is, when a discretionary official act is

performed for his benefit. The district court followed this

gain-loss instruction with a discussion of the concept of

entitlement, explicitly denoting a “loss” as a failure to

receive a benefit to which one was entitled, thereby further

clarifying the interdependent relation between these two

concepts.”

*° Ingram made the following written objection to the instruction:

Court’s Instruction No. 2: The Ingram defendants have

tendered several alternative charges dealing with the sub-

ject matter as Court’s instruction No. 2, each of which we

submit correctly states the law with respect to the effect of

economic coercion on the defendant’s alleged intent to bribe.

In support of the tendered charges, we referred to our mem-

orandum on the ‘“‘extortion defense’’ submitted to the Court

in July 1977, which we incorporate by reference here. The

instruction given by the Court treats the issue not as one of

economic coercion bearing on intent, but as one of duress,

contrary to the analysis in United States v. Barash, 365 F.2d

395 (2d Cir. 1966), and contrary to the pattern instruction

in Devitt & Blackmar § 34.10. Accordingly, we object to the

Court’s charge in this respect and we object to the omission

of any of the proposed instructions on this issue tendered

by the Ingram defendants, or some modified version of those

proposed instructions.

*! Ingram attempts to bolster this argument by urging that de-

cisions under the Hobbs Act have rejected any distinction be-

30a

Ingram advances a second attack on this instruction.

He argues that the district court erred in instructing the

jury that the extortion defense is unavailable if the de-

fendant did not believe that he had a legal entitlement to

the official action. Once again we must note that this ob-

jection appears not to have been properly preserved for

appeal, since Ingram’s objection to the trial court did not

criticize the entitlement aspects of the instruction”. Even

if this objection were properly preserved, it lacks merit.

The district court’s instruction is consistent with Peskin.”

Ingram’s final objection to the trial court instruction is

that the instruction, by its emphasis on the voluntariness

of the payments, implicitly disallowed the extortion de-

fense and permitted only the narrower defense of duress.

Assuming that the distinction drawn in United States uv.

Barash, 365 F.2d 395 (2d Cir. 1966), between the defenses

tween threats of economic loss and gain in extortion prosecu-

tions. See, e.g., United States v. Hathaway, 534 F.2d 386 (1st

Cir.), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 819 (1976). We do not see the rele-

vance of such authority, however, since there is no reason that

conduct giving rise to criminal liability for extortion should nec-

essarily provide a criminal defense for the reciprocal party. In-

deed it does not seem illogical to suggest that it may be reason-

able to prosecute both the official who conditions discretionary

benefits on bribes and the person who seeks to obtain such ben-

efits. See United States v. Hall, 536 F.2d 313, 321 (10th Cir.

1976), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 984 (1977) (‘‘bribery and extortion

are not to be considered mutually exclusive nor does the fact

that the alleged victims of the extortion were also bribers nullify

anything.’’); United States v. Gill, 490 F.2d 233 (7th Cir. 1973),

cert. denied, 417 U.S. 968 (1974).

2 See note 20 supra.

23 United States v. Peskin, 527 F.2d 71, 84 (7th Cir. 1975), cert.

denied, 429 U.S. 918 (1976). See p. 25 supra.

3la

of duress and extortion is correct, the instruction could

not have prejudiced Ingram since Ingram, before this

court and the trial court, characterized his own conduct in

such a way as to absolutely preclude the availability of the

extortion defense, even assuming that the voluntariness

of his conduct alone would not negate the extortion de-

fense. Ingram, during the course of the trial, admitted that

he had no legal entitlement to the benefits which his pay-

ments were designed to obtain.”» Accordingly he is abso-

lutely precluded from prevailing on an extortion defense

*4 As the court in Barash noted:

Although the instruction that only a threat of death or

serious bodily injury would make out the defense of duress

appears correct enough ... that was only part of the story

since Barash had also requested instructions as to the bear-

ing of threats of economic harm on the intent required for

conviction. ... We think that if a government officer threat-

ens serious economic loss unless paid for giving a citizen his

due, the latter is entitled to have the jury consider this, not

as a complete defense like duress but as bearing on the

specific intent required for the commission of bribery.

365 F.2d at 401-02

** The defendant clearly makes these admissions in his brief when

he argues that the entitlement distinction was erroneous:

This second element [of the instructions, that the extortion

defense was not availabble if the defendant was seeking a

benefit to which he was not entitled,] was tantamount to a

judicial instruction to reject the extortion defense in light

of the record that had already been made. Bronson Ingram

had testified (as quoted at pp. 16-17, supra) that on February

21, 1972, during the meeting between the Ingram brothers

and Benton, Benton had said, ‘‘[W]e don’t really have a legal

position to get the rest of our money”’ (Tr. 4075). Indeed, it

32a

under Peskin, which makes that defense unavailable where

the defendant is seeking to obtain a benefit not owed and

thus the emphasis of the instructions on involuntariness

could not have harmed the defendant.”

was precisely because there was no legal recourse that, ac-

cording to both Ingrams, they saw no option other than to

capitulate to the demands.

On any fair reading of the record, Mr. Ingram was in the

position of ordinary applicants for zoning variances or for

discretionary governmental action. He honestly—and with

substantial basis—believed that it was right and proper for

the MSD to exercise its discretion to purchase the pipeline

and to refrain from punitive use of the liquidated damages

clause. Whether he also believed that Ingram Corporation

had a legal right under the existing contracts to obtain this

result was completely irrelevant to the question of his intent

to commit bribery.

Brief for Defendant Ingram at 39-41 (emphasis supplied). In-

gram's admission that he was in the same position as “ordinary

applicants for zoning variances” is particularly damaging in that

it was in precisely that context in Peskin that we explicitly held

the extortion defense to be unavailable as a matter of law. 527

F.2d at 84. See also the cited quotation on p. 25 supra.

* Ingram also objects to the trial court's refusal to give a ‘‘theory

of defense” instruction describing Ingram's view of the extor-

tion. This is a somewhat surprising argument since the trial

court's instruction gave more factual information as to the de-

fendant's theory, albeit more concisely, than the defendant's

proposed instructions. Ingram’s factual theory of his defense is

detailed in the following excerpts from the defendant's proposed

instructions:

If, on the wp Reon the Ingram on me a

no purpose 0 any money or thing of value to any

; of the Metropolitan Sanitary District, and acted

only because of demands or threats communicated by Ben-

ton, and believed that the Metropolitan Sanitary District

33a

Ne rere et we eee ewes 8

we

intended to carry out the threats not to pay for the pipeline

and destroy the company on the barging operations unless

their demands were satisfied, or if you have a reasonable

doubt on this issue, then the essential element of intent is

not present and you will find the defendants Frederic B.

Ingram and E, Bronson Ingram not guilty of all charges.

It is the position of the defendants Frederic B. Ingram

and E. Bronson Ingram that they had no purpose of im-

pene offering or promising any money or thing of value

o any Official of the Metropolitan Sanitary District in con-

nection with the sludge contract, and that they did not

devise or intend to devise a scheme or artifice to defraud

either the Metropolitan Sanitary District, its citizens, its

officers and ee es or the Burlington Northern Railroad

and other competitors. Indeed, it is the position of the de-

fendants Frederic B. Ingram and E. Bronson Ingram that

they acted only because of demands or threats communi-

cated to them by William J. Benton and because they be-

lieved that those threats would be carried out unless the

demands were satisfied.

If you find that the defendants Frederic B. Ingram and

E. Bronson Ingram did not act voluntarily, or had formed

no purpose of offering any money or thing of value to the

—- or officers of the Metropolitan Sanitary District,

and acted only because of demands or threats communicated

by William J. Benton, and that they believed that those

threats would be carried out unless the demands for pay-

ment were satisfied, then the essential element of intent is

not present and you must find the defendants Frederic B.

Ingram and E. Bronson Ingram not guilty of the charges

against them.

In contrast to these generalized and repetitive instructions,

the trial court instructions, set out on pages 23-25 supra, con-

cisely explained the defendant’s theory that the alleged extortion

scheme revolved around threats not to purchase the pipeline, as

well as setting out defendant's additional factual theory that the

scheme involved threats to assess liquidated damages in an un-

reasonable manner. Thus, the defendant Ingram’s claim that the

trial court erred in rejecting a ‘‘theory of defense”’ instruction is

without merit.

34a

Ill.

Evidence of Ingram's Bribes of Foreign Officials

At trial the government, seeking to rebut Ingram’s tes-

timony that he made the payments only as a victim of

extortion, sought to demonstrate that in other instances

Ingram had been willing to make such payments without —

the alleged incentive of extortion. The trial court carefully

screened this proffer with an ex parte review of the evi-

dence, an in camera meeting with all counsel, and a voir

dire of the government witnesses. After this careful con-

sideration, the court, although rejecting a substantial por-

tion of the government's offer of proof,”” permitted the

government to introduce testimony that Ingram had made

surreptitious payments to an employee of a semi-official

Brazilian corporation in order to receive preferential treat-

ment.

The government introduced at trial the testimony of

Chris Daley, an official of the Ingram Corporaton, to es-

tablish the government's account of Ingram’s alleged prior

bribe. Daley testified that in 1967 the Ingram Corporation

became interested in engaging in an off-shore drilling proj-

ect conducted by Petrobas, a Brazilian oil company owned

" The government offered to prove that Ingram had personal

control of a cash box containing unreported funds from scrap

sales which were distributed to Louisiana politicians. Addition-

ally the government offered to prove that a joint-venture in

which Ingram Corp. was a participant had paid a real-estate

commission to a Louisiana state representative who gave part of

that payment to another state representative and kicked back

another part of it to Frederic Ingram personally. The government

also offered to prove that Ingram Corp. made kickback payments

to an Amoco we gone who was potentially able to provide inside

information influence the level of payments by Amoco to

Ingram. Finally, the government said it could prove that Ingram

Corp. had made an interest-free, uncollateralized loan to an In-

donesian military officer who was able to influence contracts for

Ingram in Indonesia.

35a

jointly by the Brazilian government and private investors.

Daley and Benton then met with Levindo Caniero, the

Petrobas official with responsibility for procuring the con-

tractor for the off-shore drilling. As a result of this meet-

ing, Caniero agreed to provide inside information to In-

gram Corporation to assure that it was low-bidder in ex-

change for a “payoff or commission."’ Benton, Oaley and

Caniero agreed that these payments should be made into

a Swiss bank account. The contract was then awarded to

Ingram Corporation through a letter of intent. However,

Caniero threatened to withdraw the letter of intent because

of a delay in Ingram Corporation’s establishment of a

Swiss account for him. At this point Daley informed In-

gram that the letter of intent was about to be lost because

of the delay in making the payoffs. Ingram then put Daley

in touch with an international banker at Lehmann Broth-

ers to expedite the establishment of the account. Subse-

quently, between 1969 and 1973, $172,000 was paid into

the account.

We hold that this evidence was properly admissible

against Ingram in that it tended to refute Ingram’s de-

fense that he lacked the intent to bribe the Chicago de-

fendants and made the payments only to satisfy extor-

tionate demands. Rule 404(b) of the Federal Rules of Evi-

dence permits proof of prior crimes or acts where it is used

for such purposes ‘‘as proof of motive, opportunity, intent,

preparation, plan, knowledge, identity, or absence of mis-

take or accident.’’ This provision has been interpreted as

permitting admission of evidence of prior acts as long as

it has a substantial relevance to an issue other than show-

ing that the defendant has a criminal character and there-

fore possesses a propensity to commit criminal acts. See,

e.g., United States v. Sigal, 572 F.2d 1320, 1323 (9th Cir.

1978). Or, as this court has held, such evidence is admis-

sible “if, entirely apart from the matter of ‘propensity,’ it

has a tendency to make the existence of an element of the

36a

crime charged more probable than it would be without

such evidence.”” United States v. Fairchild, 526 F.2d 185,

189 (7th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 425 U.S. 942 (1976) (em-

phasis added).

Ingram forwards three attacks on the admission of this

evidence. First, he claims, the prior payments to Caniero

were not sufficiently similar to the payments for which he

was indicted to establish their relevance to his intent. Be-

fore examining the particular dissimilarities urged, we note

that there is no requirement that the prior acts be virtually

identical to the charged acts and that it is sufficient that

the acts be similar enough and close enough in time to be

relevant. The major thrust of Ingram’s argument is that

there is no showing that the Brazilian payments were

either illegal or immoral since such payments are simply

a way of doing business in Brazil. Initially we must note

that we would be loathe to assume that surreptitious pay-

ments to government or private officials is a common and

accepted practice in Brazil absent proof to that effect.

Ingram admits that neither he nor the government offered

proof on that matter, and thus this argument rests solely

on Ingram’s facile and unsupported characterizations of

Brazilian practice. However, even were we to accept that

such payments are a legal and accepted practice in Brazil,”

we do not find that fact sufficient to differentiate the two

transactions. In United States v. Baggett, 481 F.2d 114

* Ingram’s assertion that such a practice is ‘‘moral”’ in Brazil

tempts us to examine the philosophical underpinnings of an eth-

ical system that varies with geographical or cultural boundaries.

Even if morality varies with one’s own culture, can it be said

that an individual from a cultural and moral tradition that con-

demns a practice can morally engage in that practice once he

simply steps ‘‘across the river’ into a culture with different

norms? See B. Pascal, Pensees 151 (Editions Garnier Freres

1964) (‘‘Plaisante justice qu'une riviere borne! Verite au deca

des Pyrenees; erreur au dela.""—‘‘Curious justice that a river

bounds! Truth on one side of the Pyrenees: error on the other.’’)

37a

(4th Cir.), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 1116 (1973), the govern-

ment was permitted to introduce in a Travel Act bribery

prosecution against a zoning official evidence showing a

series of transactions wherein gifts were made to the offi-

cial and favorable actions by him on behalf of the donor

followed shortly thereafter. The defendant urged that since

no showing of a quid pro quo had been made by the gov-

ernment there was nothing to establish anything improper

in these transactions. The court, however, admitted the

evidence holding that regardless of the propriety of the

individual's acts, the evidence demonstrated a course of

conduct which indicated the defendant’s ‘‘preference for

favors and gifts over his public duty.” Jd. at 115. Likewise

here, whatever the moral and legal status of the Brazilian

payoffs, they indicate that the defendant had knowingly

circumvented ordinary business channels with ‘‘facilitat-

ing payments.”’ Admittedly the illegality of such payments

to government officials in the United States would make

such payments less likely than those not involving illegal-

ity; that, however, does not deny that one making such

payments, legal or not, is more likely to have the intent to

influence official action by similar payments in other in-

stances than one who has never made such payments.”

The other differences urged by Ingram are even less sub-

stantial. The fact that the Brazilian official was an em-

ployee of a semi-public entity and that the indictment

alleged payments to employees of a wholly public govern-

mental entity is a completely negligible difference, unless

of course one makes the irrational assumption that one

who would knowingly cheat both the public and private

investors would not knowingly cheat the public alone. Nor

is it relevant that the Brazilian payoff was not initiated by

Ingram: we can see no difference in active participation in

® See also United States v. Peskin, 525 F.2d 71, 84 (7th Cir.

1975), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 818 (1978) (upholding admission of

evidence of subsequent bribes to public officials).

38a

making payments suggested by another and initiation of

the suggestion itself, since one who is willing to perform

the essential act of bribery—that is, to dispense the bribe

moneys themselves—must be presumed to have also been

willing to suggest the bribe. Finally, we reject Ingram’'s

characterization of the Brazilian transaction as involving

less harm than the Sanitary District bribes since the latter

added the amount of the bribes onto the contract price.

Nothing in this record suggests that the amounts charged

to Brazil would not have decreased once the cost of the

project was reduced by the amount of the bribes. Further,

it is axiomatic that for a competitively-bid project, where

no inside information was available, Ingram would have

bid less and therefore charged less than where the project

is guaranteed by virtue of a bribe and Ingram could set

its own price. It is therefore completely disingenuous to

suggest that the level of harm differed.

Ingram’s second objection is that there was no clear and

convincing proof that Ingram knew the purpose of the

payments made to Caniero. We have held that there must

be clear and convincing evidence of the prior act to justify

its admissibility,”° and we find that there is evidence in the

record to meet that standard. Daley testified in camera as

to Ingram’s reaction when he learned of the payments and

that Benton’s delay in setting up the account might lead

to a revocation of the letter of intent. Daley stated:

Benton was to open it, which we wouldn't do. So

that’s when I called Fritz, and Fritz says, ‘Jesus

Christ. How did you get into that,”’ or whatever. And

he says, “Okay, okay. We will go ahead and call him

back and see what we can put together.”

*” United States v. Feinberg, 535 F.2d 1004, 1009 (7th Cir.), cert.

denied, 429 U.S. 929 (1976). Compare the majority opinion in

United States v. Beechum, 582 F.2d 898, 910, 912-913 (5th Cir.

1978) (en banc) with the dissent in that case, id. 918, 922-923

(Goldberg, Godbold, Simpson, Morgan, and Roney, JJ., dissent-

ing).

bVua

(Tr. 5638). At trial, Daley testified as to Ingram's response

to knowledge of the payments in the following terms: ‘Mr.

Ingram, in disgust, says ‘Well, okay. I will see what I can

do about it....'"’ (Tr. 5674). It is difficult to understand

why Ingram would have responded “in disgust’ or with

queries as to how Daley became involved “in that’’ unless

he knew that the payments were illicit payments made to

procure unauthorized benefits or at least were improper in

some respect, Furthermore, the government introduced a

memorandum sent out by Daley to Ingram in which Daley

stated that he knew after speaking with Petrobas person-

nel that Ingram would be the low bidder and that Caniero

had insured Daley that ‘‘we could count on him for any

assistance we need.’ Considering all the evidence, partic-

ularly Ingram’'s reaction to Daley's statement and his

knowledge that Ingram was assured to be the low bidder,

there is a convincing portrait of Ingram’s knowledge of

the purpose of the Caniero payments.

Finally, Ingram urges, relying on Rule 403 of the Federal

Rules of Evidence, that the prejudicial impact of the evi-

dence outweighed its relevance and therefore should have

been excluded. Ingram must sustain a heavy burden to

succeed on this argument since the careful balancing of

the probative value of prior acts versus their possible un-

duly prejudical effect is uniquely appropriate to the in-

formed discretion of the trial judge. See United States v.

Peskin, 527 F.2d 71, 84 (7th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 429

U.S. 818 (1976); United States v. Sigal, 572 F.2d 1320, 1323

(9th Cir. 1978). More precisely, this balancing entails con-

sidering whether the probative value this evidence had in

indicating that Ingram's intent was to bribe, not to satisfy

extortionate demands, outweighs its possible prejudicial

effect, that is, the possibility that the jury will take the

evidence to be indicative of a criminal disposition.

The highly judgmental character of this test mandates

that we not restrike the balance ourselves but instead

40a

examine only the manner in which the district court exer-

cised its discretion. The record here shows that the trial

court was meticulous and deliberate in its decision to admit

the evidence. The trial court heard in camera evidence of

a number of prior acts which th government had sought

to introduce."' After extensive discussion the court per-

mitted proof only of the Petrobas transaction. Further, the

court required the government to present its witness to

the Petrobas transaction in camera to confirm the sub-

stance of the testimony. Finally, to minimize any prejudice

the court preceded the presentation of this witness's tes-

timony before the jury with an extensive limiting instruc-

tion emphasizing that Ingram was not ‘“‘on trial” for

this previous transaction, that the evidence was to be con-

sidered only as it concerned Ingram’s intent in the Sani-

tary District transaction and that the court passed no

judgment on the value of this evidence. Courts have often

looked to these factors indicating due consideration to up-

hold the trial court’s judgment. See, e.g., United States v.

Carleo, No. 77-1103 (10th Cir. May 12, 1978). In particular,

the use of limiting instructions has been accorded great

significance. See United States v. Sigal, 572 F.2d 1320,

1323 (9th Cir. 1978). We therefore decline to hold that the

trial court abused its discretion.

IV. :

Government's Compliance with Brady v. Maryland

During his opening statement, counsel for the govern-

ment revealed that the principal government witness, Ben-

ton, had embezzled and applied to his own benefit $375,000

of the money he obtained from Ingram in order to pay off

the Chicago defendants. Although the government had

turned over to the defendants both Benton’s and Ingram

Corporation’s financial records, from which the govern-

*! See note 27 supra.

4la

ment asserts the defalcations could have been discerned

by the defendants, the government did not turn over to

the defendants Benton's grand jury testimony in which he

referred to the $375,000 as ‘‘the amount of money I am

responsible for keeping,” nor did the government disclose

that Benton had expressly admitted the embezzlements in

interviews with government counsel. Defendants Mc-

Partlin and Janicki, relying on Brady v. Maryland, 373

U.S. 83 (1963), urge that this failure to disclose this infor-

mation earlier violated their Due Process rights and man-

dates reversal of the convictions.

We note initially that Brady and its successor, United

States v. Agurs, 427 U.S. 97 (1976), address a thoroughly

different problem than the one before us. The concern of

Agurs and Brady is whether the suppression of exculpa-

tory material until after trial requires that a new trial be

given so that this evidence may be considered. The Court

in Agurs characterized the situations to which the Brady

principles apply as those involving ‘‘the discovery, after

trial, of information which had been known to the prose-

cution but unknown to the defense.’’ 427 U.S. at 103 (em-

phasis supplied). Indeed the standard developed in Agurs

can only sensibly be applied to the suppression of evidence

throughout the trial: ‘if the omitted evidence creates a

reasonable doubt that did not otherwise exist, constitu-

tional error has been committed. Jd. at 112 (emphasis sup-

plied).

The defendants here, however, do not complain of a total

suppression of favorable evidence but merely attack the

timing of the disclosure of such evidence. Here the prose-

cutor did not conceal or withhold evidence of Benton's

defalcations but waited until early in the trial to reveal

them.” There is nothing in Brady or Agurs to require that

—_——-

* Defendant Janicki also apparently claims that the government

did not ultimately turn over all exculpatory material relating to

42a

such disclosures be made before trial, and we have explic-

itly held this in the past. United States v. Stone, 471 F.2d

170, 173-74 (7th Cir. 1972), cert. denied, 411 U.S. 931

(1973). See also United States v. Lomprez, 472 F.2d 860

(7th Cir. 1972), cert, denied, 411 U.S. 965 (1973). Thus,

even though evidence might be material or might create a

reasonable doubt as to guilt, Due Process, albeit requiring

eventual disclosure, does not require that in all instances

this disclosure must occur before trial.

The appropriate standard to be applied in a case such

as this is whether the disclosure came so late as to prevent

the defendant from receiving a fair trial. See United States

v. Stone, 471 F.2d at 174. After considering the record and

the claims of prejudice forwarded by the defendants, we

cannot say that this disclosure came so late as to violate

Due Process.

The defendants, apparently relying on their misinterpre-

tation of Brady as a constitutional mandate for pretrial

discovery, concentrated on the exculpatory nature of the

evidence and barely developed before this court any spe-

cific ways in which they were prejudiced by this delay.”

McPartlin merely argues that, had the Benton embezzle-

ments been revealed before trial, ‘‘specific requests could

specific instances of embezzlement: ‘‘the Government may have

secured information about particular instances of embezzlement

about which the defendant was unaware. .. .’’ Brief of Defendant

Janicki at 32. However, a denial of Due Process cannot be prem-

ised on the defendant’s mere conjecture that there might have

been favorable evidence which was undisclosed. The existence of

the evidence must be established, and here the defendants offered

nothing to rebut the government's assertion that it had turned

over to the defendants all its information on the embezzlement.

* At trial the defendants made only generalized claims of prej-

udice without advancing any specific theories upon which a find-

ing of prejudice might be based. Tr. at 230-31 (Janicki), 249-50

(McPartlin). Such specific theories were advanced for the first

time in the briefs submitted to this court.

43a

have been directed toward more detailed information con-

cerning these -embezzled] funds. . . . A thorough investi-

gation into the disposition of those funds which he admit-

tedly retained might have revealed that additional funds

were similarly expended, deposited or hidden.’’ Brief for

Defendant McPartlin at 34-36. It is difficult for us to dis-

cern any undue prejudice on this basis. To begin with,

there was nothing to preclude the defendants from having

made additional investigations between the time of the

disclosure and the close of the evidence almost two months

later, and yet nothing in the record reveals that defendants

directed any further inquiries to Benton. This omission is

even more important given the statement of the trial court

that it would reconsider the defendant’s motion for a recess

if it later became apparent that “anyone has in fact been

prejudiced by late disclosure.” Tr. at 250. Nor did the

defendants subsequently renew their request for a contin-

uance. Thus, given the failure of the defendants to pursue

adequately any subsequent investigation and their subse-

quent failure to request additional time for any investiga-

tion thoroughly discredits their assertion that they were

prejudiced by the timing of the disclosure.

V.

Admission of Benton’s Desk Calendars

At trial the government introduced as exhibits over the

objections of the defendant, the desk calendar-appoint-

ment diaries of William J. Benton described above, Part I,

B, 1. These diaries documented in some detail the dealings

of Benton with the Chicago defendants. As a foundation

for admission of the diaries, Benton testified that he had

kept such business diaries since 1952 or 1953 and that he

maintained these diaries during the period of his dealings

with Metropolitan Sanitary District officials. Benton fur-

ther testified that he kept these diaries and made entries

in them as a regular part of his business activity as a vice-

44a

president of Ingram Corp., noting in them anticipated

meetings, telephone calls, personnel matters and bids.

These entries were characterized by Benton as “things

which I would need to look back on,’’ to recall a bid or to

prepare letters and memoranda, for example.

In admitting the diaries the trial court made the follow-

ing findings:

It was the regular course of business for Mr. Benton

to make entries in diaries about the things he did

during the course of a business day, where he went,

what people said to him, what commitments he made

and what commitments were made to him in connec-

tion with that business. The entries that are contained

in the diary, in the series of diaries, do pertain to

Ingram’s business.

The contents of the diaries further indicated their reliabil-

ity to the district court:

I find no indication of a motive to falsify. At the

time these entries were made back in 1971 and 1972,

there is not the slightest bit of evidence to suggest

that Mr. Benton thought this scheme was going to be

disclosed; that he thought that he would be caught.

There is nothing self-serving about these entries.

They implicate Mr. Benton in serious criminal mis-

conduct. Indeed, if he were unavailable, I think these

diaries might well be admissible as statements

— penal interest, so incriminatory are they of

r. Benton.

So I think they have the earmarks of reliability in

that sense.

We agree with the district court that these diaries were

admissible. These diaries clearly fulfilled all the require-

ments which justify the admission of business records un-

der Federal Rule of Evidence 803(6). These records were

kept as part of a business activity and the entries were

made with regularity at or near the time of the described

45a

event. Most importantly these diaries satisfied the central

rationale of the business records exception: since Benton

had to rely on the entries made, there would be little reason

for him to distort or falsify the entries.

The application of the business record exception to doc-

uments differing greatly from the classic ‘‘shopbook”’ or

business ledger is well established. See, e.g., United States

vu. Reese, 568 F.2d 1246 (6th Cir. 1977) (scrapbook of press

clippings compiled by public relations department); United

States v. Yates, 553 F.2d 518 (6th Cir. 1977) (letter from

bank to employees describing recent robbery); Magnus Pe-

troleum Co. v. Skelly Oil Co., 446 F. Supp. 874 (E.D. Wis.

1978) (corporate officer's personal notes of business nego-

tiations); Aluminum Co. v. Sperry Products, Inc., 285 F.2d

911, 916 (6th Cir. 1960), cert. denied, 368 U.S. 890 (1961)

(inventor's diary of progress on invention). Moreover, the

business record exception has been applied to admit doc-

uments indistinguishable in kind from Benton's desk cal-

endars. In United States v. Evans, 572 F.2d 455 (5th Cir.

1978), the court permitted the introduction of ‘‘pocket-size

appointment calendars known as ‘daytimers.’ "’ Jd. at 487.

The court noted in support of its holding that these cal-

endars were business records that “the entries purport on

their face to list ... business entertainment expenses...

[and] such documents were used as a matter of company

policy.’’ Jd. at 488. Likewise, the calendars here on their

face describe business matters and, even if not mandated

by Ingram policy, were kept in accord with the widespread

practice of business executives to maintain such records.

Defendants McPartlin and Weber have argued that sev-

eral facts differentiate the records here from admissible

business records. First, the defendants stress that some of

the entries in the calendars were made out of sequence.

The defendants’ document expert testified that fifteen en-

tries out of all those made over a two-year period were

made out of sequence. We do not however agree with the

46a

defendants that nonsequential entries preclude admissibil-

ity as business records. Although there is no dispute that

Benton's entries in a few cases did not proceed page by

page in the book, the defendants’ document examiner

could not disprove Benton’s statements that entries were

made at or about the time of the described event.** Indeed,

it seems to us that insisting that entries proceed method-

ically from the first to last page is as pointless as insisting

that ledger and account entries proceed in alphabetical

order or from top to bottom. As long as the entries satisfy

the contemporaneity and regularity requirements, their se-

quence is irrelevant. This point was made clear by the

Tenth Circuit in United States v. Carranco, 551 F.2d 1197

(10th Cir. 1977). There the defendants attempted to block

the admission of freight bills on the ground that some of

the notations on the bills occurred after the document had

been completed by the freight originator. The court reject-

ed this argument noting:

The notations on the freight bill were explained by

the witnesses, and this is probably more than is re-

quired by the business records exception to the hear-

say rule. As pointed out by the appellee, a freight bill

is not meant to be a static document nor is it used as

such. As testified to by those familiar with the ship-

ping business, a freight bill is used by many different

peor and it is their job to make notations on the

reight bill so it will continue to be an accurate de-

scription of the shipment. It was adopted by ICX as

its record, in the regular course of its business, when

* The defendants have also attacked the contemporaneity of the

entries, arguing that the records were inadmissible because en-

tries were made relating to appointments before the appointment

took place. This is an overly narrow construction of ‘‘at or near

the time.’ Even though such entries were not made “at or near

the time’ of the meeting they were ‘‘at or near the time’’ the

appointment was made. This seems to be sufficient contempor-

aneity to constitute a business record documenting the making

of appointments.

47a

the ICX driver signed it as he picked up the interline

shipment. He used it as an ICX record, verified the

shipment, and made the notations on it. The notations

as testified to by the witnesses were thus also made

in the regular course of business of ICX. One of the

freight bill copies went into the ICX terminal records,

and one or more copies continued with the shipment.

The requirements of Rule 803(6) of the Federal Rules

of Evidence were met.

Id. at 1200. Similarly here there is no reason to require

that an appointment calendar remain a ‘static document”;

indeed as appointments and other matters change the cal-

endar to be useful must be nonsequentially revised. The

only requirement is that these revisions be contempora-

neous and regular, and the defendant’s proof of simple

nonsequentiality does not rebut Benton’s testimony that

the entries were made regularly and contemporaneously.

However, even if several of the entires were made non-

contemporaneously, it remains within the district court’s

discretion to determine whether the few non-contempora-

neous entries so undermine the reliability of the record as

to preclude admissibility. Given that there were only fif-

teen non-sequentia! entries over a two year period, even if

many of these were shown to be noncontemporaneous, we

could not say that this discretion was abused.

The defendants also urge that these diaries could not be

business records because they were relied on by no one

other than Benton and in any event contained many en-

tries of a purely private nature, viz., The alleged extortion

scheme engaged in by Benton which supposedly was not

related to Ingram Corporation’s official business. How-

ever, nothing in the text or comments to the Rule provides

any indication that a necessary prerequisite to the relia-

bility of a business record is verification by persons other

than the one making the entry. Indeed, the Advisory Com-

48a

mittee Notes appear to suggest otherwise:

The element of unusual reliability of business rec-

ords is said variously to be supplied by systematic

checking, by regularity and continuity which produce

habits of precision, by actual experience of business

in relying upon them, or by a duty to make an accu-

rate record as part of a continuing job or occupation.

Certainly the second and fourth, and possibly the first,

indicia of reliability contemplate only the accuracy im-

posed by the record keeper on himself. Accordingly, ad-

missibility has been upheld even in instances in which the

records were made only for the benefit of the record keeper

himself and not for the benefit of the entire business entity.

See United States v. Prevatt, 526 F.2d 400, 403 (5th Cir.

1976); Aluminum Co. of America v. Sperry Products, Inc.,

285 F.2d 911, 916 (6th Cir. 1970), cert. denied, 368 U.S.

890 (1961).

Nor do we consider it significant that the illegality of

Benton’s activities may have removed these actions in

some technical sense from a narrow construction of his

duties at Ingram. This argument proceeds on the false

premise that because Benton’s activities were not a part

of Ingram Corporation’s business, they could not be a

business at all. United States v. Re, 336 F.2d 306 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 379 U.S. 904 (1964), addressed, and rejected,

such a contention. There the defendant after having gained

control of a company, engaged in a fraudulent scheme for

the distribution of that company’s securities for his own

personal benefit. The court was unpersuaded that records

relating to that scheme, since they were not part of the

company’s business, could not constitute business records.

The court pointed out that the defendant, ‘while distrib-

uting a huge block of control stock to the investing public

through a complex system of brokerage accounts and over-

the-counter sales, was engaged in a ‘business,’ ”’ albeit a

49a

business of his own and not the company’s. Jd. at 313. The

court further rejected the notion that business records

would lose admissibility as such because of the illegality

of the underlying business. We think that the same ration-

ale applies here. Benton was engaged in systematically

negotiating under-the-counter payments either for himself

or the Chicago defendants in order to facilitate the award

of business contracts. Although this is not a business of

‘the usual orthodox nature”’ (id.), there is no question that

this bribery scheme was as much a business as a fraudulent

securities-marketing scheme.

However, even if there were to be some queston as to

whether Benton’s activities constituted an independent

business, we believe that his activities can also be char-

acterized as part of Ingram’s business. As long as the

recorded activities had become, properly or not, an integral

part of Benton’s business activities for Ingram, the records

are not too personal to preclude admissibility under this

exception. In this matter we are persuaded by United

States v. Schiller, 187 F.2d 572 (2d Cir. 1951). There the

defendant, a government employee in the Rent Control

Program, maintained a diary which evidenced a bribe paid

to him. The court, in refusing to consider a Fourth Amend-

ment challenge to the admission of the diary premised on

the personal, non-official nature of the papers, noted:

We think .. . there was a sufficient showing that the

entries introduced in evidence dealt with official du-

ties. Such matters as rent adjustments and recom-

mendations re ing the same were within his gen-

eral duties, whether he performed them rightly or

wrongly, as lunch or elsewhere. . . .

187 F.2d at 575 (emphasis supplied). Certainly if such pa-

pers have sufficient business character to remove them

from the personal paper protections of the Fourth Amend-

ment, they have sufficient reliability to permit admissibil-

ity.

50a

Defendants finally rely heavily on Buckley v. Altheimer,

152 F.2d 502 (7th Cir. 1945) in support of their position.

In Buckley, this circuit declined to permit, under the busi-

ness record exception, the admission of a diary which con-

tained entries documenting the amount of indebtedness

between two parties, Frost and Altheimer. The court, in

denying admission, noted that “‘[t]he book did not contain

any regular set of entries relating to any accounts between

Frost and Altheimer.’’ Jd. at 507. It was argued that,

although no claim was made that the entries in the diary

occurred in the regular course of business and was “‘infor-

mally kept,’’ the diary should have been admitted because

the entries were made “precisely and meticulously.” Jd.

The court rejected this argument, stating that “private

diaries as distinguished from account books or individual

memoranda of particular transactions’’ are inadmissible.

Id. at 508. It is this latter statement upon which the de-

fendants rely.

We believe however that the defendants’ emphasis on

the court’s language concerning ‘private diaries” is mis-

placed. We do not believe that the court there intended to

make any per se rule precluding the admissibility of pri-

vate diaries; instead it is clear that the decisive factor in

that case was that no regular entries had been made doc-

umenting the relationship. The desk calendar before us is

clearly a record of a different order: regular and frequent

entries documenting the relation between Benton and San-

itary District officials were made systematically for the

purpose of allowing Benton to rely on its accounts of the

status of the relationship.

We note as a final matter that even if any of the de

fendant’s arguments were sufficient grounds to prevent

admission of these diaries under the business record ex-

ception, they would be admissible under two other excep-

tions. First, they would be admissible under the “‘residual’”’

5la

exception, Federal Rule of Evidence 803(24).** A number

of factors combine to demonstrate the reliability of the

entries: the highly self-incriminatory nature of the entries

themselves, the regularity with which they were made,

Benton’s need to rely on the entries. Where evidence com-

plies with the spirit, if not the letter, of several exceptions,

admissibility is appropriate under the residual exception.

See generally, United States v. Ianconetti, 406 F. Supp.

554 (E.D.N.Y.), aff'd, 540 F.2d 574 (2d Cir. 1976), cert.

denied, 429 U.S. 1041 (1977) (especially Judge Weinstein’s

opinion for the district court). Furthermore the degree of

reliability necessary for admission is greatly reduced

where, as here, the declarant is testifying and is available

for cross-examination, thereby satisfying the central con-

cern of the hearsay rule. Second, these calendars would

als6 be admissible under Rule 801(d)(2)(E) as statements

“by a co-conspirator of a party during the course and in

furtherance of the conspiracy.”’ Since these entries were

made so that Benton could rely on them in carrying out

his scheme, they aided and were ‘‘in furtherance of’’ the

conspiracy. See United States v. Evans, 572 F.2d 455 (5th

Cir. 1978).

* Rule 803(24) provides:

(24) Other exceptions. A statement not specifically cov-

ered by any of the foregoing exceptions but having equiva-

lent circumstantial guarantees of trustworthiness, if the

court determines that (A) the statement is offered as evi-

dence of a material fact; (B) the statement is more probative

on the point for which it is offered than any other evidence

which the proponent can procure through reasonable efforts;

and (C) the general purpose of these rules and the interests

of justice will best be served by admission of the statement

into evidence.

52a

VI.

Weber’s Prior Consistent Statements

The government’s evidence revealed that the first in-

stallment of the bribe money consisted of $75,000 given to

McPartlin in Weber’s presence. Some part of that amount

consisted of thousand-dollar bills. The government further

presented evidence to establish that three days after this

cash payment, Weber deposited nine thousand-dollar bills

in the bank account of one of the companies controlled by

Weber. Weber, in an attempt to rebut the damaging infer-

ences that could properly to be drawn from such a cash

deposit, testified that he obtained this money from a safe-

deposit box maintained by himself and his mother. His

mother testified that they indeed had such a joint safe-

deposit box and that it did contain several thousand-dollar

bills. As further corroboration, Weber sought to introduce

the testimony of his accountant, as well as the accoun-

tant’s copy of the bank statement recording the deposit.

In an offer of proof Weber indicated that the accountant

would testify that in 1973, two years after the deposit,

Weber told him, in connection with his preparation of an

IRS audit, that the funds were obtained from Weber’s

mother. The proffered bank statement contained the ac-

countant’s notation next to the sum: “Overdraft covered

and paid in cash from Mother (per FNW).” The trial court

refused the admission of the accountant’s testimony and

his copy of the bank statement. Defendants McPartlin®

and Weber urge that this was error.

* McPartlin argues that evidence denying Weber’s participation

in the first bribe installment would have inured to his benefit

since the original installament was alleged to have been delivered

to McPartlin in Weber’s presence. Thus, presumably, any cash

deposited by Weber, if not from innocuous sources, would have

been obtained from McPartlin. We do not think, however, that

any benefit from such evidence would have been sufficient to

have made its exclusion a denial of a fair trial to McPartlin. The

53a

Two theories of admissibility are advanced. First, it is

argued that the evidence was admissible under Federal

Rule of Evidence 801(d)(1)(B) as a prior consistent state-

ment.*’ We do not believe, however, that these statements

were admissible under this theory. Evidence offered under

this theory must have some probative value in rebutting

the implied charge of recent fabrication or improper mo-

tive. However, where a motive to falsify also existed at the

time of the earlier statement, it possesses no such proba-

tive value. As Judge Weinstein correctly pointed out in

his treatise on the Federal Rules:

Substantive use under Rule 801(d)(1)(B) is limited

to situations where high probative value is most like-

ly. .. . Evidence which merely shows that the witness

said the same thing on other occasions when his mo-

tive was the same does not have much probative force

“for the simple reason that mere repetition does not

imply veracity.”

4 J. WEINSTEIN & M. BERGER, EVIDENCE 4801(d)(1)(B)-

[01] at 801-100 (1977). Obviously Weber would have had

no more reason to tell the IRS that the proceeds were

illegal bribes than he has a motive now to tell that to a

jury in a criminal prosecution. Indeed, Weber would have

even had a further reason not to tell the IRS that the

$9,000 was part of a kickback: a bribe would be includable

in Weber’s gross income whereas an appropriation of joint-

ly-held funds might not have been. Thus, we do not feel

fact Weber may not have received a cash rake-off from this first

installment in no way detracts from the credibility of testimony

that McPartlin received the money; at most such evidence would

have only contributed to a demonstration of McPartlin’s penu-

riousness.

7 Rule 801(d)(1)(B) provides that

(d) A statement is not hearsay if... (B) consistent with

his testimony and is offered to rebut an express or implied

charge against him of recent fabrication or improper influ-

ence or motive. ...

54a

that these prior statements were admissible under

801(d)(1)(B).

As a second ground of admissibility, Weber and Mc-

Partlin urge that the bank statement was admissible as a

business record under Federal Rule of Evidence 803(6).

This argument creates a paradoxical tension with their

arguments that Benton’s desk calendars were not business

records. The defendants assailed the diaries on the grounds

that the entries were not made at or near the time of the

event related (but recorded in advance as reminders of

appointments) and that many of the entries were derived

from ‘‘second or third-hand information.” Brief for De-

fendant Weber at 7. Yet the defendants urge that a single

notation of a cash transaction made more than two years

after the transaction and based solely on information sup-

plied by someone other than the person making the entry

constitutes a business record. We do not rely on these two

grounds, however, to uphold the exclusion of the notation

on the bank statement. Instead we find a more fundamen-

tal flaw in this evidence: this notation, unlike those in

Benton’s diaries, was not made for future reference and

reliance but was made in anticipation of IRS litigation.

The defendants appear to admit this fact, and the trial

judge was informed of this. (Tr. 1363-69). As such preliti-

gation records, we hold that they lacked sufficient trust-

worthiness to permit admissibility. Indeed, this case is not

significantly distinguishable from Hartzog v. United

States, 217 F.2d 706 (4th Cir. 1954), which was cited by the

Advisory Committee Notes to Rule 803(6) as an example

of insufficient trustworthiness. In Hartzog the court held

it was error to admit the worksheets of an IRS agent,

deceased at the time of trial, that had been prepared from

his examination of the defendant’s records in preparation

for a tax-evasion prosecution. The court explained the rea-

55a

sons for finding insufficient trustworthiness as follows:

These worksheets were made in preparation for this

prosecution; they were Baynard’s [the agent’s] per-

sonal working papers, were the product of his judg-

ment and discretion and not a product of any efficient

clerical Re goo There was no opportunity for —

— when an error or misstatement had been

made. These worksheets were not more than Bay-

nard’s unsworn, unchecked version of what he

thought [the defendant] Hartzog’s records contained.

Id. at 710. The records made by Weber’s accountant are

no more trustworthy than those prepared by the agent in

Hartzog: they were prepared as a matter of his judgment

and discretion; they were not produced as part of any

regular system; there was no reliance on these notations

by the accountant or others to guard against error or mis-

statement. If anything, the records in this case are less

trustworthy since, unlike Hartzog where the agent exam-

ined records that the defendant had prepared for his own

use, these notations were the product of Weber’s own rep-

resentations for the purposes of the audit, thereby fur-

thering the possibility of misstatement. Accordingly, we

hold that the trial court properly exercised its discretion

to exclude these records.*

** Further support can also be found in this circuit’s decision in

United States v. Ware, 247 F.2d 688 (7th Cir. 1957), also cited by

the Advisory Committee as a proper application of the untrust-

worthiness principle. In Ware this circuit held that records of

drug purchases made by a drug agent where inadmissible in

subsequent prosecutions, noting that ‘‘such utility as .. . [these

records] possess relates primarily to prosecution of suspected

law breakers and only incidentally to the systematic conduct of

the police business.’ Jd. at 700 (emphasis supplied). Likewise,

the notations here must be seen as relating primarily to the

avoidance of additional tax liability or prosecution as a result of

an audit and only incidentally to the conduct of Weber's busi-

ness.

56a

PELL, Circuit Judge:

I concur in the portions of this opinion prepared by

Judges Tone and Sprecher.

Vil.

Weber’s Political Acquaintances

Henry Weber, brother of Franklin Weber, called as a

Government witness, was permitted to testify on direct

examination without objection that his brother Franklin

was an acquaintance of Clyde Choate. He was then asked

whether his brother was an acquaintance of Paul Powell

to which he also responded in the affirmative. An objection

was made, without any specificity, following t

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — INGRAM v. UNITED STATES (No. 78-1903) | Frix