Petitioners Brief — Perrin v. United States

Supreme Court brief1979

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.*

FILED

P 28 1970

g ICHAEL ROL»: ‘ |

IN THE . a

Supreme Court of the United States

OcToper Term, 1979

No. 78-959

VINCENT R. Perrin, Jr.,

Petitioner,

Vv.

Unitep STATES oF AMERICA,

Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

REPLY BRIEF

Lewis A. KoRNHAUSER InA J. KURZBAN

New York University KurzBan & Kurzpan, P.A,

School of Law 700 Brickell Avenue

40 Washington Sq. South Suite 901

New York, N.Y. 10012 Miami, Florida 33131

Rovert G, Hark LeoNARD B. Boupin

4616 Jefferson Highway Rabinowitz, Boupin, STANDARD

Metairie, La. KRINSKY & LIEBERMAN

aN, ae ee 30 Kast 42nd Street

Suite 1215 New York, N.Y. 10017

144 Elk Place Plaza Apert J. AHERN, Jr.

New Orleans, La, 70112 One Skyline Place

5205 Leesburg Pike

Bailey’s Crossroads,

Virginia 22041

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Summary of Argument 0.000000... RE IAG Os 0-0

ARGUMENT:

I, Congress Intended, in the Travel Act, to Define

“Bribery” as an Offer of Money or of Other

Benefits to Corrupt a Person Holding Publie

Office or Charged With a Publie Trust .0..00........

A.

B.

C.

Accepted Legal Usage Today and at the Time

of Knactment of the Travel Act Defined

“Bribery” as an Offer of Money or Other

Benefit to Corrupt a Person Holding Publie

Office or Charged With a Publie Trust ........

1... "Ree: Combis TOW fos a as

2. The Pattern of Congressional Enactments

GD ONE | ccc TSH DYNEA HA

Zo SN: AURIERNOD Gio ae

This Court’s Decision ¢in United States v.

Nardello Is Consistent With-a—Definition of

Bribery That Requires the Corruption of a

PIR NE iis ccosened secs EO BR APS oy to A

The Legislative History of the Travel Aet

Demonstrates That Congress Intended to

Define Bribery With Reference to Persons

Charged With a Publie Trust: 2000000000... icetts

. The Inelusion of Commercial Bribery With-

in the Ambit of the Travel Aet Would Be

Inconsistent With the Purposes Sought to Be

BIST OR W COT OIG occ enservsscicsnctiestiodastnessocee.

10

13

il

PAGE

II. To Include Commercial Bribery Within the Ambit

of the Travel Act Violates the Petitioner’s Due

Process Right to Fair Notice as That Right is

Variously Recognized in the Judicial Doctrines

of Lenity, Void-for-Vagueness as Applied and

the Rule of Bowie v. City of Columbia ............... 19

A. The void-for-vagueness doctrine .................. . 2

B. A Broad Interpretation of the Travel Act

When Applied to the Defendant Amounts to

an Ka Post Facto Law in Violation of the

Due Process Clause of the Fifth Amendment 23

CONCLUSION .......... Mak: Reet Roe Bee PSP Ss Sag TA NR 26

eee ar NN os din) ee ee aoe 27

Taste or AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Arroyo v. United States, 359 U.S. 419 (1959) 0... 7

Barrett v. United States, 423 U.S, 212 (1976) 00000... 20

Bell v. United States, 349 U.S. 81 (1955)... 00. 20

Bouie vy. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347 (1964) _..3, 19, 20,

23, 24, 25

Champlin Refining Co. v. Corporation Commission of

Oklahoma, 286 U.S. 210 (1932) ou... pec desc c cesses 22

Connally v. General Construction Company, 269 U.S.

RTs RR eT bigeae AN. bomen ene RAE Ly ia RME 21, 22, 23

Conway Import Co. vy. United States, 311 F.Supp. 5

CRREL Es SUMED) cccsvicrsnchccdadindeths ta dinap bideitnabgicanittd smoaneoabeth 10

Douglas v. Buder, 412 U.S. 480 (1973) ooo... 23

Dunn v. United States, —— U.S. ——, 99 S. Ct. 2190

CITT | tdecsndichosenssacteibibeteutic ca lotuamny ih idilcdaile id Snipe lbidiahiacetl 3, 20

on Cee Sete Bee

i te

ili

PAGE

Erlenbaugh v. United States, 409 U.S, 239 (1972) ........ 17

F.C.C. v. American Broadcasting Co., 347 U.S. 284

(1964) sanduadbuehapelcaebonieapiactdnastnanacdesseneeaacedeetelosionebene aa 23

Huddleston v. United States, 415 U.S. 814 (1974) ........ 20

James v. United States, 366 U.S. 213 (1961) 0000000... 22

Lanzetta v. New Jersey, 306 U.S. 451 (1939) oo... 21, 22

Marks v. United States, 430 U.S. 188 (1977) ...... 23, 24, 25

McBoyle v. United States, 283 U.S. 25 (1981)... 21

Nash v. United States, 229 U.S. 373 (1913) 000... 21

O’Shea v. Littleton, 414 U.S. 488 (1974) oo. 17

Papachristou vy. City of Jacksonville, 405 U.S. 156

OTRO EA TCR clad tev any ot aot a 21, 22

Pierce v. United States, 314 U.S. 306 (1941) 2000... 23, 24

Rainwater v, United States, 356 U.S. 590 (1950) ....... 15

Rewis v, United States, 401 U.S. 808 (1971)... 13, 16, 20

Rizzo v. Goode, 423 U.S. 362 (1976) 0.0... 3,17

Scarborough v. United States, 431 U.S. 563 (1977) ........ 19

Smith v. Cahoon, 283 U.S. 553 (1931) Vet ONT RSE 8 24

Smith v. United States, 360 U.S. 1 (1959) 23

Splawn vy. California, 431 U.S. 595 (1977) 0. 22

Stefanelli v. Minard, 342 U.S. 117 (1951) 2000... 17

United States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336 (1971) 00... 17, 19, 23

United States v. Batchelder, US. ——, 47 U.S.

ee Se ek eee ee 20

United States v. Boston and Maine Railroad, 380 U.S.

BI I cn coleaepnenihicedih ee nal ag oN aD let 22

United States v. Brecht, 540 F.2d 45 (2nd Cir, 1976)

6, 12, 15, 18, 25

iv

PAGE

United States v. Campos-Serrano, 404 U.S. 298 (1971) 28

United States v. Cohen Grocery Co., 255 U.S. 81 (1921)

21, 22

United States v, Culbert, 485 U.S. 871 (1978) 00... 17, 20

United States v, Dansker, 587 F.2d 40 (8rd Cir, 1976) 6

United States v. Forsythe, 560 F.2d 1127 (3rd Cir.

gt SOPRAIRE ees we tits TR PT ad is Dg Ta ae Oy Be 6

United States v. Hawthorne, 356 F.2d 740 (4th Cir.),

eort; den. 364° U5, BOS CISGG) oe 13

United States v. Tbe: 464 F.2d 593 (Sth Cir. 1972)... 5

United States v. Naftalin, —— US. ——, 60 L. 1d.2d

eT OTE kad ss Nactahitenihnsaliaoneclncgith he cece ety sansl oe 20

United States vy. Nardello, 393 U.S. 286 (1969) ........2, 4, 10,

11, 12, 14, 15, 16, 18

United States vy. Noveck, 271 U.S. 201 (1926) . o. ee

United States v. Pomponio, 511 F.2d 953 (4th Cir,),

cert, denied 423 U.S. 874 (1975) ......ccc cece ccccseccccee es 25

United States v. Price, 361 U.S. 304 (1960) 0000... 14

United States v. Reese, 92 U.S. 214 (1876) 0. 21

United States v. Ryan, 350 U.S. 299 (1956) 00. 7

United States vy. Turley, 352 U.S. 407 (1957) 0. 4

United States v. United Mine Workers, 330 U.S. 258

CRIT EO SENS LS A il

United States v. Wise, 370 U.S. 405 (1962) oo. 14

United States v. Zacher, 586 F.2d 912 (2nd Cir. 1978). 6

Weeds, Inc. vy. United States, 255 U.S. 109 (1921) ...... 21, 22

Winters v, New York, 333 U.S. 507 (1948) 000000... 21, 22

Constitution:

2 9 Rane SN eats ANE eed Dine ar) ea Weare ANE 24

Statutes:

ce SH SESS CARDEN ee PICO bi M ER TNT A 6

ne Oey Oe ee ee at oo BEd 5,8

oe

Vv

PAGE

BIB ie) GRO Woke essndvces Snchiedce<endevomanennicadiielitiiminmluvtaden cesnssiy Ae

18 U.S.C. § 224 ...... LEAS ARORA ERR ORT DOR Codes sesseesby By 14, 15

SA RE tc A deethcteek Gud eiecentiiod pinyechineeedend SS SHS We iy

BPY ET UI. Lintccctdsndnapshprinnanntecaalncdncbieaneeshipsarsies 25 dy 15, 22

56 U0 6 WOR RES EC 5 Tn Se 6, 8

, pte Qe | _ PRMD oper aah bane ciunCe te ornm mm Rae: Ree By OD |

BP: DBs SBIR iii ciads. ARO eae Pe 6 ee OR 7

42 U.8.C. $1396b ..021.001.0.0......... a: elicacdiihondheeals teieadssas 6

D.C, Code § 22-701 .................... eLINe P08 MS Raeeae ote eee my:

Federal Reserve Aet of 1913 (63rd Cong., Dee, 23, 1913,

38 Stat, 1972). ............ ls Be ts cesclaponsusnatoaiacenmneardedase reckak i)

Mass. Regulation of Trade, Chapter 96 §10 (1924) ... 18

Wis. Stat. Ann. Vol. 20 § 134.05 00000000020... Td aheoe VOD 18

Miscellaneous Authorities:

A.L.I. Proposed Official Draft, Model Penal Code

§ 224.8 and Article 240 (1974) oo... PO

De ae ee ee CO evs essa ei cipenninsetipllatencictenicnines 10

Coffee, Beyond the Shut-Eyed Sentry: Toward a The-

oretical View of Corporate Misconduct and an Effec-

tive Legal Response, 63 Virginia L. Rev. 1099 (1977) 10

92 Cong. Ree. 4891-4911, 5040-5044 (1946) 0. 7

93 Cong. Rec. 4628-80 (1942) .....:...4......cccccceccencesepeoscececeees 7

Curtis, The Law of Arson (1936) 0000... Fa Vas ore ice 12

Hall, General Principles of Criminal Law (2d Fad,

c+ pnb SESE TEN BS Wen re 22et RVEAE IS" SL Sk LY OO 24

vi

PAGE

Hearings on S. 1653-8 and S. 1665 Before the Senate

Committee on the Judiciary (“hearings”) (87th

COI, DE TOIL, "TION ) ceccctsdceeiesccctnpcnspatennnennliosienns 13, 14, 16

Holmes, The Path of the Law, 10 Harv. L. Rev. 457

MINT cockascasscasuditetattosck aiiehooteracbuncbmeuincumasenneaabomeiptseenainis 20

House Report No. 69, 63rd Cong. Ist Sess. 1913) ........ 5

House Report No. 966, 87th Cong. Ist Sess. (1961) ...... 16

H.R. 6869, 96th Cong. 1st Sess. (1979) .............-.c.ceeceeees 8

43 Journal of Criminal Law and Criminology .............. 12

Note, Control of Non-Governmental Corruption by

Criminal Legislation, 108 U. Pa. L. Rev. 848 (1960) 9

Note, The Scope of Bribery Under the Travel Act,

Journal of Criminal Law and Criminology (forth-

RIED: cinidctcncaissividemenddebddccstonicamabnnatneiatahiabmnnmbraci dads 15

S. 1437, 95th Cong. 2nd Sess. (1977) 0.0.0.2... cece 8,14

Senate Report No. 95-605, 95th Cong. 2d Sess. (1977) .. 8

Senate Report No. 644, 87th Cong., Ist Sess. (1961) ... 16

U.S. Code and Congressional Administrative News

| RT ARSE ME LS 8 NES es AS VOLS Sica, LC 23

U.S. Code and Congressional Administrative News

ER a PTE OM Ze eA Peace aD Bs 7

Working Draft of the Subcommittee on Criminal Jus-

tice, H.R. 96th Cong. Ist Sess. (Aug. 24, 1979)

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octrosper Terw, 1979

No. 78-959

Vincent R. Perrin, Jr.,

Petitioner,

Ve

Untrrep States or AMERICA,

Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

REPLY BRIEF

Summary of Argument

The crux of the argument presented by the United States

may be simply stated: the Travel Act uses the term “brib-

ery” in a “generic” sense which encompasses commercial

bribery. The Government’s argument in support of this

proposition is flawed in every step.

1. Contrary to the Government’s position articulated at

pages 21-28 of Respondent’s brief, the accepted legal usage

of the term bribery, both today and at the date of enact-

ment, encompassed only gifts of money or of other benefits

to corrupt persons holding public office or, more recently,

charged with a public trust. This usage can be traced from

the common law origins of the crime in Lord Coke’s time

2

through the Congressional pattern of usage of the term in

various statutes, through the interpretation of these stat-

utes by the federal judiciary and through the usage of the

term in the vast majority of states.

2. United States v. Nardello, 393 U.S. 286 (1969), is,

contrary to the position of the Government, Respondent’s

brief at pp. 32-36, completely consistent with defining brib-

ery as dealing with the corruption of persons charged with

a public trust. Nardello decided that, for purposes of the

Travel Act, 18 U.S.C. § 1952, the term “extortion” encom-

passed both common law extortion which made criminal

corrupt acts by public officials and common law blackmail

which made criminal similar acts by private persons. In

Nardello, however, this Court relied on the fact that the

states and the Congress had long assimilated the two crimes

of extortion and blackmail into one. Unlike the assimilation

of these crimes, bribery and commercial bribery have con-

sistently been distinguished by Congress and the states.

The rationale of the Nardello decision requires that we

interpret bribery in the Travel Act solely as an offer of

money or other benefit to @ person charged with a public

trust. :

3. While the legislative history of the Travel Act is

not unambiguous, it does evidence a Congressional intent

to define bribery traditionally: as a crime directed against

the public. The Government’s reliance on the legislative

history of a subsequent statute, Respondent’s brief at pp.

30-31 (hereinafter “Resp. Br.”), is misplaced.

4. With the Travel Act Congress sought to address the

problem of organized crime and, as the Government fails

to realize, to address this problem in a manner consistent

with the principles of federalism. To include commercial

bribery in the ambit of the Travel Act would interfere

with the states’ “latitude in the dispatch of [their] own

3

affairs.” Rizzo v. Goode, 423 U.S. 362 (1976), by forcing

states either to leave commercial bribery outside the scope

of the criminal sanction, or tu invoke the heavy criminal

sanctions superimposed by the Travel Act upon the most

lenient misdemeanor statute a state might choose to enact.

5. The Government in its discussion of the doctrine of

lenity (Resp. Br. at pp. 47-48) fails to note that doc-

trine’s roots in “fundamental principles of due process.”

Dunn v. United States, US. , 99S. Ct. 2190 (1979),

Due process requires that citizens have fair notice of the

conduct Congress or any other legislature deems criminal.

This Court recognizes this requirement not only in the

doctrine of lenity but also in the void-for-vagueness doc-

trine and the rule of Bouie v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S.

347 (1964). These doctrines coalesce in Petitioner’s cir-

cumstances because the inclusion of commercial bribery

within the ambit of the term bribery in 18 U.S.C. § 1952( b)

would be contrary to all indications of the meaning of the

term petitioner might have had at the time of his conduct.

The construction offered by the government is thus vague

as applied and imposes a penalty on petitioner ex post

facto.

ARGUMENT

Congress Intended, in the Travel Act, to Define “Brib-

ery” as an Offer of Money or of Other Benefits to Cor-

rupt a Person Holding Public Office or Charged With a

Public Trust.

A. Accepted Legal Usage Today and at the Time of Enactment

of the Travel Act Defined “Bribery” as an Offer of Money

or Other Benefit to Corrupt a Person Holding Public Of-

fice or Charged With a Public Trust.

l. The Common Law

Petitioner and Respondent agree that bribery at common

law dealt solely with the corruption of public officials, or

persons charged with a public trust. United States v. Nar-

dello, supra, 393 U.S. at 293, n.11 (“{bribery] has tradi-

tionally focussed upon corrupt activities by public offi-

cials”). When common law bribery evolved to include the

corruption of jurors and witnesses, it held closely to its

original purpose of insulating the processes of justice from

manipulation. Similarly, the evolution of bribery to sub-

sume the corruption of voters insured the legitimacy of

the electoral process and thus reaffirmed that the funda-

mental purpose of bribery was the punishment of those

who seek to corrupt public officers. No source cited by

Respondents, see Resp. Br. at pp. 21-22, asserts that com-

mon law bribery reached beyond the corruption of public

officials, witnesses, jurors, or electors. Simply to follow

the long-established principle of interpreting undefined

terms in criminal statutes according to their common-law

meaning would therefore require acceptance of Petitioner’s

definition of bribery. United States v. Turley, 352 U.S.

407, 411 (1957) (“where a federal criminal statute uses

a common-law term of established meaning without other-

5

wise defining it, the general practice is to give the term

its common-law meaning”).

2. The Pattern of Congressional Enactments on Bribery

Examination of other federal statutes concerned with

bribery emphatically confirms that Congress intended in

the Travel Act to define bribery solely in terms of the cor-

ruption of those charged with a public trust.

The codification of federal criminal statutes covering

bribery, graft, and conflicts of interest, 18 U.S.C. §§ 201-224,

deal almost exclusively with the corruption of persons hold-

ing public office or charged with a publie trust... As the

Government notes, Resp. Br. at p. 25, “bribery” statutes

are also scattered throughout the United States Code and

a few of these call the corruption of various private per-

sons “bribery”. The Government’s reliance on these seat-

tered statutes is misplaced. First, each of these statutes

' There are two exceptions: (i) 18 U.S.C. § 224 makes criminal

bribery in sporting contests but it clearly identifies in subsection

(c)(3) the persons subject to corruption. Further, the act was

passed subsequent to the passage of the Travel Act. (ii) 18 U.S.C.

§ 215 makes criminal the receipt of moneys or other gifts by various

officers and agents of federally insured financial institutions: it is

thus a graft statute concerned with the conflict of interest of bank-

ers and not a bribery statute. See United States v. Lane, 464 F.2d

593 (8th Cir. 1972). This is also reflected in the legislative history

of the Federal Reserve Act of 1913, the originating legislation for

18 U.S.C. § 215. The House Report concerning the Federal Reserve

Act stated:

In this section it is sought to correct a bad practice, all too

prevalent, of paying fees to bank examiners in order that they

may make a favorable report upon the condition of the hank:

and further to end the illegitimate practice whereby officers

of national banks have heretofore profited at the expense of

borrowers by charging a commission or brokerage for the

obtaining of loans. The extent of these practices cannot be

stated, but that they prevail is certain; and it is equally clear

that they are opposed to public welfare and to sound banking.

besides being wholly at variance with fundamental principles

of honorable personal conduct.

House Report No. 69, 63rd Cong., Ist Sess. (1913),

6

clearly specifies the individuals whose corruption is at issue

and hence indicates Congressional awareness that specific-

ity was necessary.

More importantly, the most significant of these statutes

address solely the corruption of persons charged with a

public trust or holding public office. For instance, the

Foreign Corrupt Practices Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 78 dd-1 et seq.

(1977) makes criminal payments to foreign officials, to

foreign political parties and candidates, and to any inter-

mediaries of these individuals and associations. Similarly,

the language of the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt

Practices Act (“RICO”), 18 U.S.C. §§ 1961-1968, an act

whose purpose and language coincide with those of the

Travel Act, has been interpreted as applying only to the

corruption of public officials.? In United States v. Dansker,

537 F.2d 40 (3d Cir. 1976), the Third Circuit overturned

a conviction based on commercial bribery because the term

“bribery” included only

conduct which is intended, at least by the alleged briber,

as an assault on the integrity of a public office or an

official action.

Id. at 48. In United States v. Forsythe, 560 F.2d 1127 (3d

Cir. 1977), the Third Circuit reaffirmed this interpretation

of “bribery”.® *

Third, the statutes dealing with corruption of labor union

officials, 29 U.S.C. §186 and of the trustees of pension

* RICO defines racketeering as “any act or threat involving...

robbery, bribery, extortion, . . .”” 18 U.S.C. § 1961.

3’ As argued in Petitioner’s brief, the Second Circuit has inter-

preted “bribery” in the Travel Act consistently with the Third

Cireuit’s views of RICO. United States v. Brecht, 540 F.2d 45 (2d

Cir. 1976).

*In United States v. Zacher, 586 F.2d 912 (2d Cir. 1978) the

Second Circuit overturned a conviction under 42 U.S.C. § 1396h(b)

which prohibits the offer of any money “. . . in connection with the

furnishing of such [medicaid] items or service.” The Second Cir-

cuit construed the term bribery as requiring “the prostitution of a

public trust for private gain.” Id. at 915.

TE te ae

7

funds, 29 U.S.C. § 1111, represent an expansion of the con-

cept of a person charged with the public trust and thus

a limited expansion of the term bribery. These statutes

expand the notion of public trust solely to circumstances

in which a person serves as a fiduciary to a large number

of individuals. In both the union and pension instances one

individual represents a large number of other people just

as public officials represent the citizenry at large. Such a

conception of a holder of a public trust clearly excludes

commercial bribery from the ambit of the Travel Act.®

° The legislative histories of both statutes are devoid of material

that indicates Congressional intent to expand the concept of brib-

ery to the typical commercial bribery situation. Much of the debate

on § 186 arose over the section’s applicability to the United Mine

Workers’ demand for a health and welfare fund in the work stop-

page of 1946. See, e.g. 92 Cong. Ree. 4891-4911, 5040-5044 (1946) ;

93 Cong. Ree. 4678-4680 (1947). The Congressional debates, when

they do address the problem of corruption of officials, focus eriti-

eally on the fact that the object of the corruption is a representative

with the responsibility of promoting social welfare. 92 Cong. Ree.

5428 (1946) ( . the vice and evil which could and would arise

[if] the RSE er be allowed to contribute vast sums of money

to the men who are supposed to be representing the employees’’ ).

Similarly, this Court in construing § 186 has emphasized the repre-

sentation interest that the statute protects:

Those members of Congress who supported the amendment

were concerned with the corruption of collective bargaining

through bribery of employee representatives by employers

Arroyo v. United States, 359 U.S. 419, 425-6 (1959). See also

United States v. Ryan, 350 U.S. 299 (1956).

In fact, Congress did not even use the term bribery in 29 U.S.C.

$186:

It shall be unlawful... to pay, lend, or deliver, or agree to

pay, lend or deliver, any money or other thing of value...

29 U.S.C. § 186.

While the House and Senate Reports on Public Law 93-406, to

which 29 U.S.C. § 1111 (Section 411) is a part, do not discuss ‘the

section at all, 1974 U.S. Code Cong. and Adm. News 4639, the

purpose of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974

is completely consistent with the interpretation offered in the text:

§§ 186 and 1111 represent at most a minor extension of the concept

“holder of a public trust’ to the employees’ representative situa-

tion.

8

Fourth, examination of the statutory law of the District

of Columbia reveals that Congress has enacted a criminal

statute covering bribery of public officials but none covering

commercial bribery. D.C. Code § 22-701.

Fifth, when Congress wishes to punish commercial brib-

ery or any of the other conduct that Respondent now wishes

to include in a generic definition of bribery, it has always

specifically done so:

Racketeering activity means (A) any act or threat in-

volving murder, kidnapping, gambling, arson, robbery,

bribery, extortion, or dealing in narcotic or dangerous

drugs which is chargeable under State law and punish-

able by imprisonment for more than one year; (B)

any act which is indictable under any of the following

provisions of title 18, United States Code: section 201

(relating to bribery), section 224 (relating to sports

bribery) * * * ; (C) any act which is indictable under

title 29, United States Code, section 186 (dealing with

restrictions on payments and loans to labor organiza-

tions...

18 U.S.C. § 1961(a)*

The Government’s contention that the pattern of Con-

gressional enactments on bribery reveals an intent to sub-

sume commercial bribery is completely erroneous, On the

contrary, the pattern reveals, as the Senate Judiciary Com-

mittee itself recognized in its report on S. 1437, the pro-

posed new federal criminal code, that present bribery law

subsumes only “the violation of the public servant’s duty”.

Senate Report 95-605, 95th Cong., 2nd Sess. 388 (1977).’

, © See also S. 1437 and H.R. 6869 and notes 7, 10 infra.

7 This distinction is made even more explicit in the most recent

draft of H.R. 6869; the House version of S. 1487. The House Sub-

committee on Criminal Justice has proposed a separate section for

“Bribery and Graft” (§ 1751) which concerns official corruption

IT ncinints seco BSA eared Yom 8

3. State Legislation

The Government contends that the pattern of state legis-

lation in bribery also indicates that bribery encompasses

commercial bribery. Resp. Br. at pp. 27-28. This conten-

tion is clearly erroneous.

In the appendix Petitioner has summarized the pattern

of “bribery” enactments in the states. In 1961 only thirteen

(13) states had commercial bribery statutes while all had

bribery statutes addressed to public officials. Furthermore,

the crime of commercial bribery was in 1961 and is now

generally considered significantly less heinous than that of

bribery. Of the thirteen states which had commercial brib-

ery statutes in 1961, twelve treated it less severely than

bribery of public officials. Today, thirty states have sepa-

rate commercial bribery statutes and of those only six treat

commercial bribery as severely as bribery of public officials.

In addition, the Model Penal Code considers commercial

and a separate subchapter for nongovernmental bribery which is

expressly limited to bribery of government contractors (§ 2551),

labor bribery (§ 2552) and sports bribery (§ 2553). The Sub-

committee’s version eliminates the Travel Act entirely and makes

no provision for commercial bribery. Thus, except for the incorpo-

ration of pre-existing, specific nongovernmental bribery sections

(i.e. labor, sports, and contractors) the Subcommittee’s version

defines bribery solely as bribery of government officials.

Working Draft of the Subcommittee on Criminal Justice, H.R.

6869, 96 Cong., Ist Sess. (Aug. 24, 1979) at pp. 53-54, 100-103.

* The appendix gathers the relevant statutory information. The

thirteen states with commercial bribery statutes in 1961 are Con-

necticut, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nebraska, New York,

North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Ver-

mont, Virginia, and Wisconsin. Rhode Island is the only state that

treated commercial bribery and bribery identically.

We have taken the list of states from Note, Control of Non-

governmental Corruption by Criminal Legislation, 108 U. Pa. UL.

Rev. 848 (1960). The list there differs somewhat from the list in

Respondent's appendix. Our research confirms the University of

Pennsylvania note. For instance, the Government contends Ten-

nessee had a commercial bribery statute when, in fact, the statute

actually condemns only bribery of agents of common carriers.

10

bribery a misdemeanor in § 224.8 and bribery of public offi-

cials a felony in Article 240. A.L.I. Proposed Official Draft,

Model Penal Code § 224.8 and Article 240 (1974).

The enforcement of commercial bribery statutes also in-

dicates the failure of commercial bribery statutes to pene-

trate into the traditional conception of bribery. A district

court commented that the Pennsylvania commercial bribery

statute was “in a state of innocent desuetude ... with no

record of any conviction for violation of the law.” Conway

Import Co. v. United States, 311 F, Supp. 5, 16 (E.D.N.Y.

1969). A survey of commercial bribery statutes found that

there have been relatively few state criminal prosecutions

of commercial bribery, 1 A.L.R.2d 1350, 1357 (1965); Ac-

cord, Coffee, Beyond the Shut-Eyed Sentry: Toward a

Theoretical View of Corporate Misconduct and an Effective

Legal Response, 63 Virginia L. Rey. 1099, 1157 (1977).

The pattern of state legislation and enforcement there-

fore parallels that of federal legislation and the view of

the common law. Bribery in 1961, and today, means the

offer of money or of other benefits to persons holding

public office or charged with a public trust.

B. This Court’s Decision in United States vy. Nardello is Con-

sistent With a Definition of Bribery That Requires the

Corrupton of a Public Trust.

The Government contends that United States v. Nardello,

393 U.S. 286 (1969), substantiates its broad definition of

“bribery”. Resp. Br. at pp. 32-36. This contention ignores

both the language of the Nardello opinion and the rationale

which underlies it. In a footnote, the Nardello Court noted

that “[b]ribery has traditionally focussed upon corrupt

activities by public officials.” 393 U.S. at 293, n.11. More

importantly, the Nardello court indicated the nature of the

investigation to be undertaken when determining the scope

of the terms in the Travel Act, In its analysis of “extor-

ee

ay ete ne,

ee Se eres

11

tion”, the Nardello court rested its finding of Congressional

intent primarily upon an examination of federal and state

legislative treatment of the extortion/blackmail distinction.

393 U.S. at 289, 294-295.

The Government has misread this Court’s opinion in

United States v. Nardello, supra. The Court, in holding the

blackmail equivalent to extortion, ruled that the labels

attached by the various states to various crimes did not

determine whether they qualified as unlawful activity with-

in the meaning of the Travel Act. Rather, the substance

of those crimes would determine the sweep of the Act. The

Court then found that the crimes of extortion and blackmail

had long been assimilated into one offense.

The evidence on which this Court relied in finding tiie

assimilation of blackmail and extortion was substantial.

In footnote 12 of United States v. Nardello, supra, this

Court pointed out that the Pennsylvania cases treated ex- .

tortion and blackmail as synonymous. It also noted they

received synonymous treatment in the federal cade; 18

U.S.C. § 250, formerly entitled “Extortion by Informer”,

is today captioned “Blackmail” under 18 U.S.C. § 873.

Both when this Court decided the Nardello case and when

Congress enacted the Travel Act, all of the states had

enacted statutes which made extortion and blackmail cover

actions of private as well as public parties. Congress

thus intended that the Travel Act reach extortionate be-

havior of both public and private officials regardless of

the label a state chose to denominate the criminal offense.

Neither the states nor Congress, however, have assimi-

lated the crimes of bribery of a person holding a public

trust and commercial bribery. While it is true, as the

Government states, Resp. Br. at 21-22, that bribery origin-

ally was confined to those in judicial office, the concept

has evolved to include only those who hold a public trust,

e.g., public officials, jurors, electors. It has not expanded

to include the corruption of private individuals. See Point

A, supra.°

In the instant case, the Louisiana commercial bribery

statute and bribery as used in the Travel Act are synonym-

ous in label only; the rationale of Nardello thus requires

that the distinction that has traditionally been made in the

definition and usage of bribery and commercial bribery be

respected in interpreting the Travel Act.’® Petioner’s view

should prevail.

* Both the Second Cireuit, in United States v. Brecht, supra, and

Judge Rubin in dissent in the court below uphold Petitioner's

position on the scope of bribery. Both the Second Cireuit and

Judge Rubin relied on the paucity of state prohibitions of commer-

cial bribery in 1961. Judge Rubin also noted that, as recently as

1976, six states did not even mention the word “bribery” in defin-

ing the offense of “commercial bribery’. For additional support

of Petitioner's view, see point A above, the opinion in Brecht, and

the dissent in the court below.

*° It should be noted that the government’s argument as to arson

is equally invalid. The Government refers in its brief to the fact

that if arson under the Travel Act were limited to its common law

meaning, it would be restricted to cases in which a dwellinghous:

was burned. Resp. Br. at p. 23. What the Government fails to

reveal, however, is that the common law definition of arson had

been transformed by 1961 in all the states. By the time the Trave'

Act was passed, the statutes of all the states defined arson not oniy

as the burning of a dwellinghouse, but also as the burning of all

other buildings and movable property. In Arthur F. Curtis, The

Law of Arson (1936), the author states:

An avalanche of statutes has overwhelmed the common law

erime of arson and obliterated its limits so that its former

scope is interesting only in a historical sense. Where it was

originally confined to dwellings and nearby buildings, it is now

extended to all manner of structures including even bridges.

Where it formerly protected only the habitation of man, it now

covers personal property such as building material. household

goods, and even crops.

Td, at 2. Later, the author states:

The penal laws of the United States are now complete so that

all offenses are statutory, leaving no common law crimes.

Id. at 15. In 43 Journal of Criminal Law and Criminology 54,

under the legal aspects of arson, the author states:

To remedy inadequacies of the common law, the legislatures

of the various states gradually began to extend and broaden

oleate nine

13

C. The Legislative History of the Travel Act Demonstrates

That Congress Intended to Define Bribery With Reference

to Persons Charged With a Public Trust.

The Government has selectively quoted from the legisla-

tive history of the Travel Act in an attempt to suggest that

Congress contemplated encompassing commercial bribery

within the Act’s strictures. Resp. Br. at pp. 28-32. In fact

the legislative history supports equally well Petitioner’s

definition of bribery. In his statement before the House

Judiciary Committee, the Attorney General stated that the

bill was aimed at “the huge profits in liquor, narcotics,

prostitution, as well as the use of these funds for corrupting

public officials... .” Hearings on S. 1653-1658, S. 1665

Before the Senate Committee on the Judiciary, 87th Cong.,

1st Sess. at 2 (1961) (emphasis added). This limited aim

of 18 U.S.C. § 1952 has been confirmed both by this Court

in Rewis v. United States, 401 U.S. 808 (1971), and by the

Fourth Circuit in United States v. Hawthorne, 356 F.2d

740 (4th Cir.), cert. den., 384 U.S, 908 (1966).

Throughout the legislative process, the reference to

“bribery” recurred in conjunction with “official corruption”,

particularly by organized crime figures. Attorney General

Robert Kennedy described the Act as covering “the bribery

ana corruption of local officials”. Hearings on S. 1653-8

and S. 1665 Before the Senate Committee on the Judiciary

the definition of crime, until today it covers all kinds of build-

ings and structures even including the burning of one’s own

property, whereas at common law it was limited to the burning

of a dwellinghouse occupied by another person. -

While the legislative enactments in some states were adequate,

in other they fell short. The Model Arson Law was designed

not only to bring about uniformity but to correct the defi-

ciencies of the common law and the statutory law.

Thus in 1965 when arson was added as an unlawful activity,

within the purview of the Travel Act, the common law definition of

arson had been modified by all of the states. By 1961 arson had

been transformed from its early common law limitation in the

same manner that extortion had evolved as outlined above. This

was not the case with respect to bribery.

i4

(“Hearings”), 87th Cong. 1st Sess. at 11 (1961). When

the House of Representatives proposed an amendment to

the Bill which would have limited-the coverage of the bill to

extortion and bribery related to the specified crimes of

gambling, liquor, nareoties or prostitution, Deputy Attor-

ney General Byron R. White wrote in protest to the House

Judiciary Committee that the ainendment “removes from

the purview of the bill the bribery of state, local and federal

officials by the organized criminals unless we can prove

that the brjbery is directly attributable to [the four speci-

fied crimes.]” See also Hearings, supra, at 11, 13. 17, 108,

and passim.

Obviously, the Department of Justice understood bribery

to refer to “state, local and federal officials”. and not to

private persons. Its position is precisely consistent with

the position taken hy this Court in footnete 11 in the Nar-

dello case, quoted supra; and the position which Petitioner

has consistently asserted in the court below and now in

this Court.

The Government attempts to bridge the absence of any

legislative history in the Travel Act with respect to com-

mercial bribery by arguing that the legislative history of

18S U.S.C, § 224, involving sports bribery and passed one

year after the Travel Act, demonstrated an understanding

by Congress that the term “bribery” in the Travel Act

applied to private as well as official corruption, Resp. Br,

at pp. 26, 30.

“(T]he views of a subsequent Congress form a hazardous

basis for inferring the intent of an earlier one.” United

States v. Price, 361 U.S. 304, 313 (1960). Sueh post hoc leg-

islative materials relied on by the Government have uni-

formly been accorded little if any interpretive weight." See

United. States v. Wise, 370 U.S. 405, 414 (1962) ; Rainwater y.

"This post hoe reason is particularly hazardous in the instant

case because Congress has clearly separated commercial bribery

from sports bribery. See footnote 7, supra, pp. 8-9 and §§ 1751,

1753 of S. 1437.

I

15

United States, 356 U.S. 290, 593-94 (1958): United States v.

United Mine Workers, 330 U.S. 258, 282 (1947).

If there is any doubt as to the meaning of the word

“bribery” as used in Section 1952 of Title 18, U.S.C. that

doubt is clearly dispelled by a reference to the legislative

history of that statute and. this Court should not permit

that legislative history to he disregarded or obfuscated by

references to legislative acts of Congress one year, three

years, or ten years after the passage of the Travel Act.

Bribery as embodied in the Travel Act was the serious

offense that Congress perceived to be the corruption of

public officials by elements of organized crime. Its common

law definition remained in full foree and effect in 1961 as

distinguished from that of extortion and arson. The ruling

of the Seeond Cirenit in United States v. Brecht. supra,

and the dissenting opinion of Judge Rubin in the instant

‘ase, represent the correct construction of the Travel Act,

consistent not only with the intent of Congress but the

opinion of this Court in United States vy. Nardello, supra.

D. The Inclusion of Commercial Bribery Within the Ambit

of the Travel Act Would Be Inconsistent With the Pur-

poses Sought to Be Achieved by Congress,

The Government acknowledges only one of at least two

purposes that Congress sought to achieve through passage

of the Travel Act: the elimination or curtailment of the

activities of organized crime. Resp. Br. at pp. 36-41. Con-

gress also sought to aid local law enforcement officials not

to pre-empt them from the field and not to encroach upon

'* Likewise, the Government at page 30 of its brief refers to ¢)

legislative history of 18 U.S.C. § 224, by referring to a comment

of Senator Keating. A reading of that Statement, however, indi-

cates that it relates only indirectly to 18 U.S.C. § 1952, and reflects

at best a tentative personal opinion of Senator Keating.

'** A forthcoming Note exhaustively analyzes Congressional in.

tent in a discussion of this case. The analysis reinforces Petition-

er’s position. Note, Thy Scope of Bribery Under the. Travel Act,

Journal of Criminal Law & Criminology (forthcoming).

16

the power of the states to regulate economie and individual

behavior. The Travel Act was enacted to give material

assistance to the States in combatting pernicious under-

takings which cross state lines.” Senate Report No. 644,

87th Cong., Ist Sess. at 4 (1961) (quoted in United States

v. Nardello, 393 U.S. 286, 292, n.10); House Report No.

966, 87th Cong., Ist Sess. at 4 (1961) (cited in Nardello,

supra). Thus “Congress’ intent was to aid local law en-

forcement officials.” 393 U.S. at 293.

The Travel Act effected an unusual expansion of federal

jurisdiction in criminal law enforcement, in reaction to a

particular and compelling national concern: the influence

and spread of organized crime. It was enacted in response

to Attorney General Kennedy’s request for a package

of legislation to enable the Justice Department to act effec-

tively in that area. Hearings on S. 1653-1658, S. 1665,

Before the Senate Committee on the Judiciary, 87th Cong.,

1st Sess. 1-7, 16-17 (1961). The primary target of the Act

was gambling, and acts related to or arising from gambling.

Id. at 2, 16-17.

By incorporating violations of specified state criminal

laws as an element, the Travel Act inevitably affects the

delicate and historical federal-state balance in law enforee-

ment:

Given the ease with which citizens of our Nation are

able to travel and the existence of many multi-state

metropolitan areas, substantial amounts of criminal

activity, traditionally subject to state regulation, are

patronized by out of state customers. ... [A]n expan-

sive Travel Act would alter sensitive federal-state rela-

tionships, could overextend limited federal police re-

sources, and might well produce situations in which

the geographic origin of customers, a matter of happen-

stance, would transform relatively minor state offenses

into federal felonies.

Rewis v. United States, 401 U.S. 808, 812.

17

While Congress possesses broad but not unlimited power

to effect such a result, the Court has made clear that a

drastic restructuring of the federal and state roles should

not be assumed lightly. See United States v. Bass, 404 U.S.

336, 349; Rewis v. United States, supra. The Act must be

construed as narrowly as possible without undermining its

fundamental purpose: to control the national problem of

“organized crime” and organized criminals, whose modus

operandi often is to “reside in one state while operating

or managing illegal activities located in another.” Thus,

especially with respect to crimes not usually connected with

typical “organized crime” activities, only where “Congress

conveys its purpose clearly, [will it] be deemed to have

significantly changed” the halance of federal-state criminal

jurisdiction. United States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336, 349. See

also Erlenbaugh v. United States, 409 U.S. 239, 247, n.21.

This Court has recently reaffirmed its concern about fed-

eral-state relations. In Rizzo v. Goode, 423 U.S. 362 (1976),

a federal injunction requiring significant alteration in police

procedures for handling civilian complaints was held in-

appropriate, in part, because of the “delicacy of the adjust-

ment to be preserved between the federal equitable power

and State administration of its own law.” 423 U.S. at 378

(quoting from Stefanelli v. Minard, 342 U.S. 117, 120 (1951)

and citing O’Shea v. Littleton, 414 U.S. 488, 500 (1974)).

The Respondent’s interpretation of bribery significantly

interferes with state power to regulate daily conduct. As

membership in organized crime is not an essential element

to a prosecution under the Travel Act, (see United States

v. Culbert, 435 U.S. 371 (1978)), an expansive reading of

bribery under the Travel Act would convert a myriad of

minor state and federal offenses into Travel Act prosecu-

tions because the offense or offenses involved may be some-

how argued to be generically a subspecies of bribery.

Not only would the federal statutes such as 18 U.S.C.

§ 215, and 29 U.S.C. § 186 be subsumed under the Travel

Act, but literally hundreds of state misdemeanors could,

18

at the discretion of the United States Attorney’s office,

be utilized to bring a federal travel prosecution. Thus,

for example, the giving of a bribe by a seller of lumber

to one who measures lumber—a penalty of fifty ($50) to

two hundred ($200) dollars under Massachusetts law (see

Mass. Regulation of Trade Law, Chapter 96 § 10 (1924))

—-would bring a five-year and/or ten thousand dollars

($10,000) fine under the Travel Act. Likewise, the giving

of a bribe to a chauffeur—a twenty-five dollar ($25)

penalty under Wisconsin Law, see Wis. Stat. Ann. Vol. 20

§ 134.05—would be subject to the Travel Act.

Thus, lesser included and related offenses, which under

the Government’s argument would fall generically under

the subject of bribery, could be utilized by the United States

Attorney’s office to trigger a Travel Act prosecution if any

interstate commerce were involved. To rely, as the Govern-

ment does, Resp. Br. at pp. 44-45, on prosecutorial disere-

tion and in the sentencing power of judges to cabin the

broad sweep of its interpretation of the Travel Act, mis-

conceives the Congressional concern for federal-state rela-

tions.

The holding of the Court of Appeals in the present case

tips the balance decidedly in favor of federal intervention

in areas of traditional state concern. It creates a federal

felony out of acts bearing no particular relevance to the

compelling national law enforcement interest, embodied in

the Travel Act, of protection against and control of orga-

nized crime."® It imposes a potential penalty of five years

imprisonment and a $10,000 fine for an offense which at

the time of the enactment of the Travel Act was not even

18 While this national interest clearly would be furthered by

inclusion within the scope of the statute of acts of traditional brib-

ery—i.e. “corrupt activities by public officials,” United States v.

Nardello, supra, 393 U.S. at 293, n.11—it wouid not be served sig-

nificantly by inclusion of commercial bribery. As the Second Cir-

cuit recognized, commercial “bribery,” unlike bribery of public

officials, “typically is not a feature of organized crime,” but rather

“is typically an establishment transgression.” United States v.

Brecht, supra, 540 F.2d at 50.

a een

19

a crime in thirty-seven states or the District of Columbia,

and which today remains a minor misdemeanor in most

state jurisdictions. There is no indication in either the

language or the legislative history of the Act that Congress

intended such a sweeping result. For purposes of the

Travel Act “bribery” should be defined as an offer of

money or other benefits to corrupt a person holding publie

office or charged with a public trust.

Il.

To Include Commercial Bribery Within the Ambit of

the Travel Act Violates the Petitioner’s Due Process

Right to Fair Notice as That Right is Variously Recog-

nized in the Judicial Doctrines of Lenity, Void-for-

Vagueness as Applied and the Rule of Bouie vy. City of

Columbia,

The Government’s argument that the rule of lenity does

not apply in the instant case rests entirely on the conten-

tion that there is little or no ambiguity in the meaning of

“bribery.” Resp. Br. at pp. 47-48. We have shown above,

however, that legal usage at both the state and federal

level was consonant with the definition of bribery advo-

cated here by Petitioner. See Point IA supra. The legis-

lative history of the Travel Act either supports Peti-

tioner’s position or is ambiguous. See point IC supra. A

thorough consideration of the criteria governing the ap-

plication of the rule of lenity must therefore be undertaken.

In each of the five recent cases cited by Respondent as

delineating the scope of the rule of lenity, no ambiguity

existed. In Scarborough v. United States, 431 U.S. 563

(1977) this Court stated:

We do not face the conflicting pull between the text

and the history that confronted us in Bass. In this

case, the history is unambiguous and the text consistent

with it.

20

431 U.S. at 577. Accord United States v. Culbert, 435 U.S.

371, 379 (1978) (“But here Congress has conveyed its

purpose clearly and we decline to manufacture ambiguity

where none exists.’”’); United States v. Naftalin, —— US.

, 60 L.Ed. 2d 624, 633 (1979) (words “plainly impose

meaning”) ; United States v. Batchelder, U.S. ——, 47

U.S.L.W. 4611 (June 4, 1979); Barrett v. United States,

423 U.S. 212, 217 (1976).

As ambiguity does exist in the instant case, the rule of

lenity, Huddleston v. United States, 415 U.S. 814, 831

(1974); Rewis v. United States, 401 U.S. 808, 812 (1971);

Bell v. United States, 349 U.S. 81, 83 (1955) should be ap-

plied. In Dumn v. United States, —— US. , 99 S.Ct.

2190 (1979), this Court articulated a constitutional basis

for the rule of lenity:

[t]his practice reflects not merely a convenient maxim

of statutory construction. Rather, it is rooted in fun-

damental principles of due process, which mandate that

no individual be forced to speculate, at peril of indict-

ment, whether his conduct is prohibited.

Dunn thus suggests an examination of two bodies of law:

the void-for-vagueness doctrine and the rule of Bowie v.

City of Columbia, 378 U.S, 347, 353-354 (1964), to deter-

mine when the interpretation of a statute is sufficiently

ambiguous to invoke the rule of lenity.

A. The void-for-vagueness doctrine

The void-for-vagueness doctrine rests on two elementary

principles integral to the broader concept of due process:

(i) that the law be plain and intelligible so that the citi-

zenry, and particularly those who may stray from the law,™

ean be charged with knowledge of the criminal consequences

™ Holmes, The Path of the Law, 10 Harv. L. Rev. 457, 459-61

(1897).

21

of certain specified acts, United States v. L. Cohen Grocery

Co., 255 U.S. 81 (1921), Connally v. General Construction

Co., 269 U.S. 385 (1926); McBoyle v. United States, 283

U.S. 25, and Lanzetta v. New Jersey, 306 U.S. 451; and

(ii) that the criminal] justice system operate with the max-

imum degree of precision to achieve the even-handed ap-

plication of sanctions for acts specified by the legislature

to be crimes, rather than permitting judges or jurics to

punish behavior which they find personally offensive. United

States v. Reese, 92 U.S. 214 (1876) and Papachristou v.

City of Jacksonville, 405 U.S. 156 (1972).

The Fifth Circuit’s interpretation of “bribery” and its

application of the Travel Act to Petitioner denied him fair

notice in two ways. First, the interpretation at issue here

is novel and contrary to the legally accepted use of the

term; hence Petitioner was not given fair notice of the

erime. Second, the conflict between the circuits as to the

meaning of the Act demonstrates the uncertainty inherent

in the particular application of the Travel Act to Petitioner.

We address these points in turn.

This Court has previously acknowledged that in decid-

ing the intent of Congress, the judiciary must consider past

usage:

The opinion in the Nash case [Nash v. United States,

229 U.S. 373 (1913)], also drew support from the

suggestion that language in a criminal statute which

might otherwise appear indefinite may derive definite-

ness from past usage.

Winters v. New York, 333 U.S. 507, 537-538 (1948) (Frank-

furter dissenting).

Further, this Court in determining past usage, first looks

to the common law usage of the terms. In Weeds, Ince. v.

United States, 255 U.S. 109 (1921), Justice Pitney noted

that “the natural standard, according to which this provi-

sion of the act ought to be interpreted, is that ... adhered

22

to by the common law time out of mind.” 7d, at 112. Simi-

larly, in Lanzetta v. State of New Jersey, 306 U.S, 451

(1939), the Court struck down a statute on vagueness

grounds because the meaning of the term “gang” was not

derivable from common law or from any other source of

law. Id. at 454-5. Accord, Connally v. General Construction

Company, 269 U.S. 385, 391 (1926) (“the decisions of the

court upholding statutes as sufficiently certain rested upon

a conclusion that they employed words ... having...

a well settled common law meaning”); Champlin Refining

Co. v. Corporation Comm. of Oklahoma, 286 U.S. 210, 242-3

(1932) (“The general expressions employed here are not

known to the common law.”). While antiquity of common

law usage may not save a statute from condemnation under

the vagueness doctrine, Papachristou v. City of Jackson-

ville, 405 U.S. 156 (1972), interpreting a statute contrary

to the accepted legal usage only introduces indefiniteness

and uncertainty into its terms. Exactly this cireumstance

occurred in the instant ease and 18 U.S.C. § 1952 should

be ruled vague as applied or the rule of lenity should be

invoked and the familiar interpretation of bribery should

be accepted.

This Court has relied upon the existence of diver-

gent judicial decisions of state courts to show the difficulty,

if not the impossibility, of ascertaining the meaning of a

statute. See, e.g., United States v. Cohen Grocery Co.. 255

U.S. 81, 89-90 (1921) and Lanzetta v. New Jersey, 306 U.S.

444, 457 (1939). It has held that when two of this Court’s

own interpretations of the same statute differ, a convic-

tion under one of those interpretations could not be up-

held. See James v. United States, 366 U.S. 213 (1961).

While conflicts among circuits are not in themselves proof

of vagueness, the nature of the conflicts here among three

cireuits evidences so serious an ambiguity in the statute

as to require invocation of the rule of lenity.

nil

oe

23

B. A Broad Interpretation of the Travel Act When Applied to

the Defendant Amounts to an Ex Post Facto Law in Viola-

tion of the Due Proces Clause of the Fifth Amendment.

This Court has consistently found that judicial interpre-

tations which amount to ex post facto legislation are a

violation of the due process clause of the Fifth and Four-

teenth Amendments. See Marks vy. United States, 430 U.S.

188 (1977); Douglas v. Buder, 412 U.S. 430 (1973); Bowie

v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347 (1963); and Pierce v.

United States, 314 U.S. 306 (1941)."

The due process violations in these cases arose not only

from the vague language of the statute itself, as in the

Lanzetta and Connally line of cases, but also from the

unforeseen and retroactive expansion of a statute due to

judicial construction. To a large degree, this aversion to

judicial expansion of criminal statutes rests upon the idea

that the specification of criminal offenses is the province

of the legislature and not of the court, see, e.g., United

States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336, 348; United States v. Boston

and Maine Railroad, 380 U.S. 157, 160 (1965), that penal

statutes are to be interpreted with exactitude, United States

v. Campos-Serrano, 404 U.S. 293 (1971); Smith v. United

States, 360 U.S. 1 (1959); F.C.C. v. American Broadcast-

ing Co., 347 U.S. 284 (1954); and Pierce v. United States,

314 U.S. 306 (1941), and that penal statutes “will not be

read to create crimes . .. unless the purpose so to do is

plain.” United States v. Noveck, 271 U.S. 201, 204 (1926).

In Pierce, for example, this Court reversed the Petition-

er’s conviction and stated:

[J Judicial enlargement of a criminal Act by interpreta-

tion is at war with a fundamental concept of the

See also Splawn v. California, 431 U.S. 595, 601 (1976) where-

in this Court, citing Bouic, has stated: “the elements of a statutory

offense may not be so changed by judicial interpretation as to deny

to accused defendants fair warning of the crime prohibited.”

24

common law that crimes must be defined with appro-

priate definiteness,

Id, at 311.

In Bouie v. City of Columbia, supra, the Court reversed

the conviction of civil rights demonstrators who were

charged with violations of a South Carolina trespass law.

Although this Court recognized that the South Carolina

Supreme Court’s judicial construction of the criminal tres-

pass statute could be applied in all future cases, it was

impermissible, the Court found, to apply that construction

to the defendants in the very case establishing that con-

struction. For, the Court stated:

[A]n unforeseeable judicial enlargement of a criminal

statute, applied retroactively, operates precisely like

an ex post facto law, such as Art. I, $10, of the Con-

stitution forbids ... If a state legislature is barred

by the Ex Post Facto Clause from passing such a law,

it must follow that a State Supreme Court is barred

by the Due Process Clause from achieving precisely

the same result by judicial construction. Cf. Smith v.

Cahoon, 283 U.S. 553, 565. The fundamental principle

that ‘the required criminal law must have existed when

the conduct in issue occurred,’ Hall, General Principles

of Criminal Law (2d ed. 1960), at 58-59, must apply

to bar retroactive criminal prohibitions emanating

from courts as well as from legislatures. If a judicial

construction of a criminal statute is ‘unexpected and

indefensible by reference to the law which had been

expressed prior to the conduct at issue,’ it must not

be given retroactive effect.

378 U.S. at 353-54 (1974).

More recently, this Court in addressing an ex post facto

challenge to the retroactive application of a judicial inter-

pretation of a criminal statute found such application a

violation of the Due Process Clause. Marks v. United

States, 430 U.S. 188 (1977). Unlike Boute where the due

25

process violation arose from an expansive construction of

a previously narrowly defined statute, the due process vio-

lation in Marks arose because the statute “always used

sweeping language to describe that which (was) forbid-

den,” 430 U.S. at 195. Thus, a person is deprived of the

notice guaranteed by the due process clause either when

he is subject to an expansive interpretation of a previously

narrowly drawn statute as in Bowie or when he is subject

to a new construction given a statute whose language is

“sweeping” as in Marks.

In the instant case, the Petitioner was denied fair notice

consistent with due process in both senses. First, at com-

mon law, bribery pertained solely to bribery of public

officials. See point IA above. Therefore, the expansive

construction of the term “bribery” given by the Fifth Cir-

cuit in the instant case is impermissible under Bowie be-

cause it results in lack of notice to this Petitioner.

Second, to the degree that the term bribery is subject

to a broad or “sweeping” definition as given to it by the

lower court, that definition can not permissibly be applied

to Petitioner under Marks because he could not have had

fair notice from a statute, which has been subject to and

given multiple interpretations, as to which interpretation

would be relied upon. Compare United States v. Brecht.

540 F.2d 45 (2nd Cir. 1976) with United States v. Pom-

ponio, 511 F.2d 953 (4th Cir. 1975), cert. denied 423 U.S.

874 (1975).

{

26 27

CONCLUSION | Certificate of Service

The judgment of the Court of Appeals should be reversed. | I hereby certify that on September 27, 1979, I caused

; three copies of the foregoing Reply Brief in No. 78-959 to be

Respectfully submitted, served by first class mail, postage prepaid, upon Steven

M. Shapiro, Esq., Office of The Solicitor General, U.S.

Tra J. eaagysel Department of Justice, 10th and Constitution Avenue,

Kurzpan & Kurzpan, P vA, Washington, D.C. 20530.

700 Brickell Avenue, Suite 901

Miami, Florida 33131 Dated: New York, N. Y.

Lewis A. Kornnavser September 27, 1979

New York University School of Law Lot: Maas

40 Washington Square South |

New York, N.Y. 10012 Quinton C. Van Wynen

Rosert G. Hark Notary Public, State of New York

4616 Jefferson Highway No. 24-4087 465

Metairie, Louisiana Qualified iu Kings County

Commission Expires March 30,, 1981

Perrin C. BuTLER

144 Elk Place Plaza

New Orleans, Louisiana 70112

Leonarp B. Boupin

Rasinowirz, Boupty, STANDARD,

Krinsky & LIEBERMAN

30 East 42nd Street

New York, N.Y. 10017

ALBERT J. AHERN, JR. }

One Skyline Place !

5205 Leesburg Pike

Bailey’s Crossroad, Virginia 22041

SR i

¥

s

4

{

4

|

APPENDIX

This Appendix examines the treatment of bribery, ecom-

mercial bribery, sports bribery, extortion, and blackmail

in the fifty states, the District of Columbia, and under the

Model Penal Code. In particular, we compare the treat-

ment of bribery and commercial bribery as distinct crimes

to the assimilation of blackmail and extortion. In each

jurisdiction we list the statute and some indication of the

severity with which the jurisdiction treats the erime. When

possible we have indicated when the cited statute went

into effect. The sports bribery statutes are included

largely to facilitate comparison with Respondent’s appen-

dices.

The data presented may be briefly summarized. While

under the Model Penal Code and 45 of the 51 jurisdictions,

blackmail and extortion have been merged, 21 jurisdictions

do not even have a criminal statute governing commercial

bribery. Further, the Model Penal Code, and 24 of the 30

jurisdictions that have any commercial bribery statute,

treat bribery separately and more harshly than commer-

cial bribery. The rationale of Nardello therefore dictates

that the Travel Act be construed so as not to encompass

commercial bribery.

STATE BRIBERY OF COMMERCIAL SPORTS EXTORTION BLACKMAIL - j a

PUBLIC OFFICIALS BRIBERY ais BRIBERY | Nd OA

Alabama Ala. Code tit. iz, NONE Ala. Code tit.']3 Ala Code tit. Ala. Code. tit.

§ 13-5-30, 31 §] 3-4-9 13 8 13-3-3 13-3-2

Classificaticn:

Classification: offense Forgery and}f-.eud Classification: Classification

against public admin- ulent Practices offenses in- offenses invol-

istration. volving theft vina theft.

Penaltv: felony

Penalty: 2 to 10 (1947) Penalty: $1,000 Penalty: $1,000

years fine; 1 year fine; 1 year

imprisonment imprisonment

Alaska Alaska Stat. § 11-56 = Alaska Stat. NONE Alaska Stat. No separate

100

Classification: offense

against public adminis-

tration

Penalty: class B felony

(as of Jan. lst, 1980)

§ 11-46-660,

670.

§ 11-41-520

Classfication:

offense against

the person

Classification:

offense a-

against pro-

perty

Penalty: class

B felony

(as of Jan. lst, 1980)

Penalty: class

C felony

as of

(Jan. 1, 1980)

blackmail offense

r

STATE : F accep OF COMMERCIAL SPORTS EXTORTION BLACKMATI,

PUBLIC OFFICIAL BRIBERY _ <I A iar ag doe hes a ee IEA 1

Arizona Ariz. Rev. Stat. NONE, Ariz. Rev. Ariz. Rev. No separate

§ 2602 Stat. 8 2309 Stat. 88 1804, blackmail offense

2302 et seq.

Classification: Classification:

bribery organized crime Classification:

and fraud § 1804, theft;

Penalty: class 4 § 2302 orga-

felony Penalty: class nized crime and

4 felony fraud

Penalty: felony,

with class

varving with

circumstances

Arkansas Ark. Stat. Ann. NONE Ark. Stat. Ark. Stat. Ann,

§ 41-2703

Classification:

offense against

Public Adminis-

tration (corrupt

influence)

Penalty: class

D felony

Ann. § 41- 3288

Classification:

offense against

public order

(gambling)

Penalty: class

D felony

No separate

§ 41-2202, 2203 blackmail offense

Classification:

offense against

public order

(theft)

Penalty: varies

with amount

STATE BRIBERY OF COMMERCIAL

__ PUBLIC OFFICIALS BRIBERY

Califormia Cal. Penal Code 88 NONE

67, 6735 , 68,

65) 86, 92, ‘32

Classification:

crime, by and

against the exe-

cutive power (67,

67-5 , 68); Crimes

against the Legis-

lative Power ({85,

86); crimes a-

against Public

Justice (92, 93)

Penalty: 2,3, or 4

disqualification from

office (67,68); varia-

bie (67.5 .})4'\2. 3 oF

4 years (85, 86, 92,

93)

SPORTS

BRIBERY

Cal. Penal

Code, 8 337

yb. €. @ ant @

Classification:

crimes against

the person

(Gaming)

Penalty: felony

impriscnment or

up to $5,000.00

fine, or both

(1921)

EXTORTION BLACKMAIL -

Cal.Penal

: No separate

Coce 8 518

blackmail

offense

Classification:

crimes against

property

(extortion)

Penalty: 2, 3

or 4 years

3a

fc

STATE

Colorado

Connecticut

La

BRIBERY OF

PUBLIC OFFICIAL

Colo. Rev. Stat.

§ 18-8-302

Classification: ¢

of fenses-Governmental

Operation

Penalty: Class 3

felony

Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann.

88 53a-147, 148 (West)

Classification: bribery

offenses against the

Administration of

Justice, and related

offenses

Penalty:

class D felony

COMMERCIAL

_ BRIBERY

Colo, Rev.

Stat. 8 18-5

40]

Classification:

offenses invol-

ving fraud

Penalty: class

5 felony

Conn. Gen. Stat.

Ann.98 53a-160,

161 (West)

Classification:

(same as Public

official bribery)

Penalty: class A

misdemeanor

SPORTS

BRIBERY

Col',' Revi BEat.

§ 18-5-403

Classification:

involving fraud

aon

class

Penalty:

5 felony

(Colo. has

had a sports

bribery law

Since 1947)

Conn. Gen.

Stat. Ann.

§§53a-162,

163, 164 West)

Classification:

same as public

official bri

bery

Penalty: Class

D felony (162);

class A mis.

(163, 164)

EXTORT LON BLACKMALTL,

Colo. Rev. No separate

Stat. 8 18-3- blackmai])

207;18-15- offense

AOL; 302.

107

105,

Classification:

offenses against

the person

(18-3-207);

offenses-makina,

financing, or

colection of

loans (18,15-101,

et seq.)

No separate

blackmail offense

Conn.Gen,. Stat.

Ann § 119 (5)

(West)

Classification:

Larceny, Robbery

& related offenses

Penalty: class C

felony

STATE

Delaware

BRIBERY OF

PUBLIC OFFICIAL

Del. Coge:;: -tit. ain

§$1201, 1203

Classification:

offenses against

Public Administration

Penalty: class D

felony

COMMERCIAL

BRIBERY

Del. Cuae. tit.

11 88 881, 882

Classification:

offenses in-

volving pro-

perty

Penalty: class

A misdemeanor

(recent)

?

SPORTS

BRIBERY

Same as commer-

cial bribery;

also Del.

Code tit. 28 88

701, 702, 703,

704:

Classification:

sports & amuse-

ments: influen-

cing results of

sporting events

by bribery and

other unlawful

means (28 8 70]

et seq.)

Penalty: not more

then $3,000.00

Or not more than

3 years or both

(1947)

PXTORVTON

Del. Code.

Cet. Res

® 846

Classification:

offenses in-

volving pro-

pertyv

Penalty:

class D felony

PLACKMATI, 5 a

No separate

blackmai]

offense

6a

STATE BRIBERY OF PUBLIC COMMERCIAL SPORTS ~-XTORT ION Br ACKMA TL.

Henn ib roksan A RS ee |; BRIBERY

District

of D.C. Code 822-70) None D.C. Code D.C. Code D.C. Code

$22-)5)3 § 22-2306 g22-2305

Columbia

Penalty: Not more (intent to (includes

than $500 or 3 commit extortion extortion)

years or both by communication

of illegal threats Penalty:

or commands) Not more than

5 years or

$1000.00

(enacted ]90)) (enacted 1901) or both

The District of Columbia

does not distinguish

between extortion and

blackmail by the position

of the actor

OTATH,

Florida

Georgia

BRIBERY OF

PUBLIC OFFTCIALS

Fla. Stat.

Ann. §& 838-015

(west)

Classification:

bribery, misuse

of public office

Penalty: 3rd

degree felony

Ga. Code Ann.

§ 26-2301

Classification:

abuse of Govern-

mental Office

Penalty: up to

$5,000 fine or

1-20 years or

both

COMMERC TAL,

BRIBERY

NONE

SPORTS

BRIBERY

Fla. Stat. Ann.

§ #3812 (West)

Classification:

bribery; misuse

of nublic office

Penalty: 3rd de-

qree felony

Ga. Code Ann.

§ 26-2711

Classification:

gambling related

offenses

Penalty: $1,000

to $5,000 fine

or: 2° %@ 3

years or both

(1 968)

MATORT TON

Fla. Stat.

Ann. & 812

Classification:

larceny, robbery,

& related crimes

Penalty: variable

Ga. Code Ann.

§ 26-1804

Classification:

Theft

Penalty: 1-10

years

(See also 886

89-9909 and

40-9901 for ex-

tortion by a

public official)

BLACKMATI,

No separate

blackma))

offense

No separate

blackmail

offense

, 8a

STATE

Hawaii

BRIBERY OF

_PUBLIC OFFICIAL _

Haw. Rev. Stat.

§ 710-1040

Classification:

offense against

public adminis-

tration

Penalty: class

C felony

Idaho

Idaho Code

$8 18-1352

Classification:

bribery and

corruption

Penalty: felony

COMMERC TAL

___BRIBERY

Rev.

8 7N8-

Haw.

Stat.

880

Classification:

offense against

propert rights

Penalty: misde-

ete eeegeee > + en 2 --

SPORTS

BRIBERY __

Rev.

§ 708-

Haw.

Stat.

881

Classification:

against property

rights

Penalty: misde-

EXTORTION

Haw. Rev.

7908-800,

Classification:

offense against

proerty riahts

Penalty: va-

BLACKMATI,

oO separate

N

830(3) (5) blackmail

statute

meanor meanor (1947) riable

(post-1961)

NONE Idaho Code No separate

NONE § 18-2801 to blackmail

2808

Classification:

extortion

Penalty: $5,000

or 5 years or

both

statute

STATE: BRIBERY OF COMMERC TAL SPORTS EXTORT TON KLACKMATI, * 9a

PUBLIC OFFICIAL BRIBERY —_ BRIBERY

[)}inois Till. Ann. Stat. T11. Ann. [lz Ann. Stat. [ll. Ann, No separate

ch-38 8 33-1 Stat. ch 38 6 29-1, 2 Stat. ch 38 blackmail

(Smith-Hurd) § 29A-1,2,3 (Smith-Wurd) R 16-1 (c) offense

(Smith=Hurd)

Classification: Classification: Classification:

offense affecting Classification: same as commer- Theft and rela-

governmental offense affec- cial bribery ted offenses

functions ting public

health, safety, Penalty: class

Penalty: Class and decency 4 felony

4 felony

Penalty: $500 [became law

fine (business in 1921]

of fense)

[became law

1969]

ed

10a

BRIBERY OF

PUBLIC OFFICTAL

STATE

Indiana Ann. Ine. Code

§ 35-44-1-1(1) (2)

(West)

Classification:

offense against

public administration

Penalty: class C

felony (910,000 or

5 years)

Iowa Code Ann.

§ 722.1 (West)

Iowa

Classification:

bribery & corruption

Penalty:

class D felony

COMMERCIAL

____ BRIBERY.

NONE

Iowa Code Ann.

§ 722.10 (West)

Classification:

bribery & corrup-

tion

Penalty: class D

felony

fadded by acts

(+1978, effecttive

Jan. lst, 1979]

SPORTS

BRIBERY _

Ann. Ind. Code

8 35-44-1-1 (5)

Classification:

same as pu-

blic official

bribery

Penalty: same

as public

official bribery

(orginally passed

in 1947 amended

1976)

Towa Code Ann.

- vanes

Classification:

bribery & corrup-

tion

Penalty:

aggravated misde-

meanor

[1953 Towa Acts]

EXTORT TON BLACKMATI,

Ann. Ind. No separate

Code 8 35-45 blackmail

2-] offense

Classification:

offenses against

Public Health,

Order, & Decency

Penalty: variable

Iowa Code Ann,

§ 711.4

No separate

blackmail

statute

Classification:

robbery & extortion

Penalty: class D

felony

TATE

, . >

ANSGAS

BRIBERY OF

PUBLIC OFFICIALS

Kan. Stat. Ann

® 21-3901

Classification:

affecting public

trusts

Penalty: class

D felony and for

feiture of office

and disqualification

COMMERC IAT,

BRIBERY

Kan. Stat.

Ann. & 21-4405

Classification:

crimes affecting

business

Penalty:

class E felony

[became law

in 1969]

SPORTS

_ BRIBERY

Kan. Stat.

Ann. §& 21-4406

Classification:

affecting

business

Penalty: class

BE felony

[became law

in 1969]

EXTORTION

Kan. Stat.

Ann, & 21-3701

(1) (ec); 21-3902

(b)

Classification:

crime against

property (3701)

crime affecting

public trust

(3902)

Penalty: variable

(3701); class a

misdemeanor plus

forfeit of office

(3902)

ite

BRLACKMATI,

Kan. Stat.

Ann. 8 21-34278

Classification:

crimes against

persons

Penalty: class

E felony

12a

STATE BRIBERY OF COMMERCIAL SPORTS EXTORTION BLACKMAIL

PUBLIC OFFICIAL BRIBERY BRIBERY 13

Kentucky Ky. Rev. Stat. Ky. Rev. Stat. Ky. Re. Stat. Ky. Rev. Stat. No separate

§ 521.020 (Bobbs- § 518.020 § 518.030 § 514,680 blackmail

merrill) (Bobbs~-Merrill) offense

Classification: Classification:

Classification: Classification: same as the theft and related

bribery and corrupt Miscellaneous commercial bribery offenses

influences crimes business

Penalty: class A Penalty: variable

Penalty: class Penalty: class A misdemeanor

D felony misdemeanor

Ky law (1974(?)) (Ky law 1952)

Louisiana La. Rev. Stat. Ann. La. Rev. Stat. La. Rev. Stat. La. Rev, Stat. No separate

§ 14:118 (West) Ann. 14:73 Ann. 14:118.1 Ann. 14-66 blackmail

(West) (West) offense

Classification:

offense against

organized overn-

ment

Penalty: $1,000

fine; 4 years in

prison or both

Classification:

offense against

property

Penalty: $500.00

fine 1 year in

prison or both

(passed, 1920)

Classification:

offense affecting

organized govern-

ment

Penalty: $10,00

fine; 10 years

in prison

(passed, 1942)

Classification:

offense against

property

Penalty:

variable

—_——- —-

13a

STATE BRIBERY OF COMMERCIAL SPORTS EXTORTION BLACKMAIL

i PUBLIC OFFICIAL BRIBERY BRIBERY

Maine 17-A Me. Rev. 17-A Me. Rev. 17-A Me. Rev. 17-A Me. Rev, No separate

State. Ann. 8 602 Stat. Ann. Stat. Ann. §$ 904 Stat. Ann, 8&8 blackmail

(West) § 904 (West) (West) 351, 355, (West) offense

Classification: Classification: Classification: Classification:

bribery & corrupt fraud theft Theft

practices

Penalty: class Penalty: class Penalty: variable

Penalty: class C crime D crime D crime

(passed 1976) (passed 1976)

Maryland MD. Crimes & Pun- NONE MD. Crimes MD. Crimes and No separate

ishments Code Ann.

art. 27, 8 23

Classification:

bribery

Penalty: $100.00

to $5,000.00

fine; 2 to 12 years

in prison; or both;

disenfranchisement;

disqualification

from office-holding

and punishments

Code Ann.

Seti-at. Bees

25

Classification:

bribery

Penalty: $100.00

to $5,00.00 fine;

6 months to 3 years

in prison, or both

(1947)

punishments code blackmail

Ann. art. 2786561 offense

562, 562 A

Classification:

Threats and

threatening

letters

STATE

14a

BRIBERY OF

PUBLIC OFFICIAL

Massachusetts Mass. Gen. Laws

Michigan

Ann. ch 268A 8

2 (West)

Classification:

Conduct of Public

officials and

employees

Penalty: maximum

$5,000 fine;

3 or 4 years

in prison;

disqualification

from office

COMMERCTAL

BRIBERY

Mass. Gen. Laws

, S

Ann.ch. 271 8

39 (West)

Classification:

crime against

public policy

Penalty:maximum

$500.00 fine;

l year in prison

or both

(except for

hiring agents)

Mich. Comp. Laws

Ann. §8750 117-118

Classification:

bribery and corruption

Maximum Penalty:

$5,000 fine;

10 years in prison

(felony)

Mich. Comp. Laws

Ann. 8 750 125

Classification:

bribery & corrup-

tion

Maximum Penalty:

$500 fine;

1 year in jail

(misdemeanor)

(paassed, 1905)

SPORTS

BRIBERY

Mass. Gen. Laws

Ann. ch. 271,

§ 39A (West)

Classification:

crime against

Public Policy

Maximum Penalty:

1,000 fine;

2 years in prison

or both

EXTORTION BLACKMATL

Mass. Gen. Laws

Ann. ch. £65 No separate

BS 25 blackmail

offense

Classification:

crimes against

the person

Maximum Penalty:

$5,000 fine;

15 years in prison

Mich. Comp. Laws

Ann. 8 759.124

Classification:

bribery and corrup-

tion

Penalty: felony

(passed, 1921)

Mich, Comp. Laws No separ@®

Ann. 8 750-213, 214 blackmail

statute,

Classification: but §750.

extortion 214 applies

to a pubk

Maximum Penalty: official

$10,000 fine: only

20 years in prison

(felony)

(passed, 1931) (passed

1931)

STATE BRIBERY OF COMMERCIAL SPORTS EXTORTION BLACKMALI, 1 5 a

PUBLIC OFFICIAL BRIBERY BRIBERY | \ ean

Minnesota Minn. Stat. Ann. NONE Minn. Stat. Minn. Stat. No separate

609.42 (West) Ann. 609,825 Ann, 609.27 blackmail

(West) (West) offense

Classification:

crime affecting public Classification: Classification:

officer or employee miscellaneous crimes of compul-

crimes sion

Penalty: $10,000

fine; 10 years, or ‘) Penalty: $5,000 ~° Penalty: variable

both; forfeiture of fine; 5 years in

office, disqualifica- prison, or both

tion from office

(passed 1947)

Mississipi Miss. Code. Ann. NONE, except Miss, Code Ann. Miss, Code Ann, Miss, Code

§ 97-11-11, §97-11-11 8 97-29-18 § 97-11-33 age § 97-

Classification: offenses reaches private Classifications: Classification:

by public official trustees. crimes against offenses by Public’ Class:

public morals officials against the

Maximum Penalty: person

$1,000 fine; 10 years Penalty! 6 months Penalty: $300 fine;

in prison (ll); to 5 years in pri. 3 months in jail; Penalty:

$5,000 fine; 10 years $100 to $1,000 fine; remoyal from office 5 years

in prison; forfeit; x both (1954) in prison

disqualification (13) (see also 6 97-19

13)

(passed 1857)

16a

Ann. 845-7-101

Classification:

offense against

public administration

Penalty: 10 years;

disqualification from

office

Ann. § 45-8-24

Classification:

offense against

public order

Penaltv: max.

$5,00 fine; 10

years in prison,

or both

(post - 1961)

Ann. 8 45-5-203

Classification:

offense against

the person

Max. Penalty:

10 years

(see also § 45-

8-213)

STATE BRIBERY OF COMMERCTAL SPORTS EXTORTION BLACKMAIL

PUBLIC _ OFFICIAL BRIBERY _BRIBERY a BUI ras

Missouri Mo. Ann. State § 576, Mo. Ann Stat. Mo. Ann. Stat. Mo. Ann. Stat. No separate

010, 020 S 570.. 150 S 570.155 § 570.010 (4) blackmail

(Vernon) (Vernon) (Vernon) 030 (Vernon) offense

Classification: Classification: Classification: Classification:

offense affecting govern- stealing and stealing and stealing etc.

ment related offenses related offenses

Penalty: D felony Penalty: class A Penalty: felony; Penalty:

misdemeanor 19 years; $10,000 variable

(new) (1921)

Montana Mont. Rev. Codes NONE Mont. Rev. Codes Mont. Rev. Codes No separate

blackmail

offense

STATE BRIBERY OF COMMERCTAL SPORT MXTORTTON ™LACKMATL

PUBLIC OFFICIALS BRIBERY BRIBERY

Nebraska Neb. Rev. Stat. Neb. Rev. Stat. Neb. Rev. Stat. Neb. Rev. Stat. No separate

§28-917 (supp. 1978) 8 28-613 §28-614 § 28-513 blackmail

(Supp. 1978) (Supp. 1978) (Supp. 1978) offense

Classification: offense

involving integrity. of Classification: Classification: Classification:

government offenses in- offenses invol- offenses gainst

voling fraud ving fraud properly

Penalty: class IV felony

Penalty: class Penalty: class Penalty:

I misdemeanor II misdemeanor variable

(Neb. had a Comm, (Neb. passed a

bribery law in sp. bribery law

1907) in 1947)

Nevada Nev. Rev. Stat. 88 NONE Nev. Rev. Stat.88 Nev. Rev. Stat.88 Note that

197.010, 020, 030 207.290 205.320 Nev. has a

199.010, 020, 030 statute on

Classification: Classification:crime extortion

Classification: crimes miscellaneous crimes against property by a public

by and against the officer

executive Power Penalty: felony; Penalty: 1 to 10 (§197.170)

(197); crimes against 1 to 6 years years; $5,090 and on

public justice

Penalty: $5,000 fine;

10 years in prison

$5,000 fine;

or both

fine, or both

(passed, 1965)

extortion

via letters

(8 207.180)

17a

2

18a

STATE BRIBERY OF COMMERCIAL SPORTS EXTORTION BLACKMATI,

PUBLIC OFFICIAL eee, ti) Se : Nd oe hae ee Serer

New N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann N.H. Rev. Stat. N.H. Rev. N.H. Rev. Stat. No separate

Hamphire § 640:2 Ann. 8638:7 Stat. Ann Ann § 637:1,5 blackmail

8 638:8 statute

Classification: Classification:

corrupt practices fraud Classification: Classification:

fraud theft

Penalty: class B Penalty: misde-

felony meanor Penaltyq class Penalty:

: B felony variable

(1971) (1971)

New N.J. Stat. Ann. N.J. Stat. Ann. N.J. Stat. Ann N,J. Stat. Ann. No separate

Jersey §2C:27-2 (West) §2C:21-10 (West) §2C:21-11 (West) §2C:202 ,5 blackmail

offense'

Classification:

against public

administration

Penalty: variable

offense

Classification:

forgery and

fraudulent

practices

Penalty: variable

(NEW)

Classification:

forgery and

fraudulent

practices

Penalty:

variable

(N.J. had a

sports bribery

law 1945)

Classification:

theft and related

offenses

Penalty: variable

19a

STATE BRIBERY OF COMMF:RCTAL SPORTS EXTORTION BLACKMATL,

Tye PUBLIC OFFICIALS BRIBERY BRIBERY mr .

New N.M. Stat. Ann. NONE N.M. Stat. Ann N.M. Stat. Ann. No separate

Mexico §40A-24-1,2 §40A-19-13 §40A-16-8 blackmail

offense

Classification: Classification: Classification:

bribery gambling larceny

Penalty: 3rd degree Penalty: 4th deaqree Penalty: 3rd

felony plus forfeit felony deqree felony

of office (1963)

New N.Y. Penal. Law N.Y. Penal. Law N.Y. Penal Law N,Y. Penal Law No separate

York § 200.00, .04, .10, 8180.00, .03, 05, 8180.35, .40 8155.05 (e) blackm il

(McKinney) 08, (McKinney) (McKinney) offense

Classification:

offenses against

public administration

Penalty: class D felony

(in most cases)

Classification:

offenses involving

fraud

Penalty: misde-

meanor

(1905)

Classification:

offenses

involving fraud

Penalty: class D

felony

(1921)

Classification:

offenses invol-

ving theft

Penalty: variable

20a

STATE BRIBERY OF COMMERCIAL SPORTS EXTORTION BLACKMAIL

PUBLIC OFFICIALS BRIBERY BRIBERY ga NE ne ee

North

Carolina N.C. Gen. Stat. N.C. Gen. Stat. N.C. Gen. Stat. N.C. Gen. Stat. N.C. Gen. Stat

§14-217, 218, $14-353 §14-373, 374, §14-118.4 $14-118

219 sFe4 are

Classification: Classification: Classification: Classification: Classification:

offenses against general police general police frauds frauds

public justice regulations regulations

Penalty: felony, Penalty: misde- Penalty: felony; Penalty: felony Penalty: misde

variable meanor, $500 1 to 10 years meanor

punishment depending fine; 6 months variable fine; NOTE: North Carolina

on status of felony in jail, or does Not distinguish

both (See also 8 between extortion

14-380.1) and blackmail on

(1913) (1921) the basis of the

perpetrator

North N.D. Cent. Code N.D. Cent. Code N.D. Cent. Code N,D. Cent. Code No separate

Dakota §12.1-12-01 §812.1-12-08 §12.1-12-07 $12.1-23-01, 902 blackmail

(2) offense

Classification:

bribery, unlawful

influence of

public servants

Penalty: class C

felony

Classification:

bribery unlawful

influence of

public bribery

Penalty: Class

C felony

(1973)

Classification:

bribery unlawful

influence of

public bribery

Penalty: Class

C felony

(1973)

Classification:

theft

Penalty: variabie

STATE BRIBERY OF COMMERCIAL SPORTS EXTORTION BLACKMAIL 2 1 a

sy. PUBLIC OFFICIALS BRIBERY BRIBERY

OHIO Ohio Rev. Code NONE Ohio Rev. Code Ohio Rev. Code No separate

Ann. 82921.02 Ann. 82915. 06 Ann, 82905.11 blackmail

(page) (Page) offense

Classification: Classification: Classification:

offenses against gambling Kidnapping

justice and public ana Extortion

administration Penalty: 4th

degree Penalty: 3rd degree

Penalty: 3rd degree felony felony

felony and

disqualification from

office

Oklahoma Okla. Stat. Ann. NONE Okla Stat. Ann. Okla Stat. Ann Okla Stat,

tit. 21 §381,. 382 tit.21, 8 399, 400 tit. 2) 8§1481-4 Ann. tit.

(West) 21 § 1488

Classification:

Crimes -against

public justice

Classification:

, R Classificat®

crime against public

Classification: crime against

justice crime against property

Penalty: 5 years or property

Penalty: Bribery-5 years $3,000 and year Penalty: 5

or $3,000 fine and in prison or Penalty; up to 5 years ey

2 years, Bribed official $3,000. and l years $10,000

10 years or $5,000 fine year in jail for or ibis

and 1 year plus forfeit bribed person. NOTE: § 1484, re-

and disqualification hintnel tee deunee kab

(1947) by a public official

22a

STATE BRIBERY OF COMMERCIAL SPORTS EXTORTION BLACKMATL

vem PUBLIC OFFICIALS BRIBERY BRIBERY aie ‘

Oregon Or. Rev. Stat. NONF Or. Rev. Stat. Or. Rev. Stat. No separate

6 162.015, .025. 6§165.085, 090 §164.075 blackmail

offense

Classification: Classification: Classification:

offense against fraud and offense against

state and public deception property

justice

Penalty: class Penalty: class

Penalty: Class C felony B felony

B felony (1971)

Penn- 18 Pa. Cons. Stat. 18 Pa. Const 18 Pa. Cons. 18 Pa. Cons. No separate

sylvania Ann. 84701 Stat. Ann. Stat. Ann. Stat. Ann. blackmail

(Purdon) 84108 64109 83923 offense

(Purdon) (Purdon) (Purdon)

Classification:

Public Administration

crime

Penalty: 3rd degree

felony

Classification:

forgery and fraud

Penalty: 2nd

degree misde-

meanor

(Pa. has had

a comm. bribery

state since 1969)

Classification:

forgery and fraud

Classification:

theft and related

offenses

Penalty; lst degree Penalty: variable

misdemeanot

(Pa. has had

a sports bribery

state since 1939)

23a

STATE BRIBERY OF COMMERCIAL SPORTS EXTORTION BLACKMAIL

PUBLIC OFFICIAL BRIBERY BRIBERY

rhode RI. Gen. Laws RI. Gen. Laws RI. Gen. Laws RI. Gen. Laws RI. Gen. Laws

Island §11-7-3,4 §11-7-3, 4 §11-7-9 §11-42-1 §11-42-2

Classification: Classification: Classification: Classification: Classificatior

bribery bribery bribery threats and threats and

extortion extortion

Penalty: Penalty: misde- Penalty:

misdemeanor 1] year meanor-l year $1,000 fine; Penalty: Penalty:

or $1,000 fine; or $1,000 Or 2 years 1 year or 15 years

(Note that bribery or both $1,000.00 or $5,000

of a juror is (1881) or both

punishable by a (1950)

7 year term)

South S.C. Code S.C. Code S.C, Code S.C. Code No separate

Carolina §16-9-210, 220 §16-17-540 §16-17-550 §16-17-640 offense

Classification: Classification: Classification; Classification;

offenses against

public justice

Penalty: 5 years at

hard labor or $3,000

fine and 1 year in

jail (briber); 10

years hard labor or

$5,000 fine and

2 years in jail (bribed)

offense against

public policy

Penalty: $500

fine or 1 year

or both

(1905)

offense against

public policy

Penalty:

$10,000 or 10

years or both

(1962)

offenses against

public policy

Penalty;

10 vears

$5,000 or both

24a

COMMERCIAL

STATE BRIBERY OF SPORTS EXTORTION BLACKMAIL

PUBLIC OFFICIALS BRIBERY BRIBERY

South S.D. Complied NONE NONE S.D. Complied No separate

Dakota Laws Ann, Laws Ann. blackmail

S 22-12A-4,5,6,7 §22-30A-4 offense

Classification: Classification:

Improperities theft

and bribery in

public office Penalty: variable.

(See also

Penalty: class $22-12A 8,9

4 felony-

plus disqualification

in some circumstances

Tennessee Tenn. Code Ann NONE Tenn. Code Tenn. Code No separate

§ 39-801-802 Ann. § 39-824 Ann § 4301 blackmail

offense

Classification: (But see Classification: Classification: ©

bribery, embracery,

etc.

Penalty: bribery--2

to 20 years; bribed

--3 to 21 years plus

disqualification

bribery, embracery,

etc.

$39-821, 822

the bribery

of the agent of

of common carrier)

misdemeanor

(1909)

Penalty: 1 to 5

years, $10,000

fine

(1921)

threats and

extortion

Penalty: 2-5 years

STATE

BRIBERY OF

PUBLIC OFFICIALS

COMMERCIAL

BRIBERY

SPORTS

BRIBERY

EXTORTION

BLACKMAIL

25a

Texas

Tx. Penal. Code

tit. 8, $36.02

(Vernon)

Classification:

offense against

public administra-

tion

Penalty: 3rd degree

felony (briber) ;

2nd degree felony

plus forfeit

or office (bribed)

Tex. Penal

Come, ‘tit, 7.

§ 32.43

(Vernon)

Classification:

fraud

Penalty: 3rd

degree felony

(NEW)

Tex. Penal

Code tit. 7,

§ 32.44,

(Vernon)

Classification:

theft

Penalty: 3rd

dgree felony

(Texas has had

a sports

bribery law

Since 1947)

Tex, Penal

code: tit..7

Bw S208 ,. se;

03. (Vernon)

Classification:

theft

No separate

blackmail

offense

Penalty: variable

Utah

Utah Code Ann,

8 76-8-103,105

Classification:

offense against

government

Penalty: 3rd degree

felony (briber)

class B

misdemeanor (bribal)

Utah Code Ann.

§ 76-6-508

Classification;

offense against

property

Penalty: class

B misdemeanor

(1973)

Utah Code Ann.

§76-6-514

Classification:

offense against

property

Penalty:

3rd degree felony

(1973)

Utah Code Ann.

S 76-6-406

Classification;

offense against

property

Penalty:

variable

No separate

blackmail

offense

26a

STATE BRIBERY OF COMMERCIAL SPORTS EXTORTION BLACKMAIL

PUBLIC OFFICIALS BRIBERY BRIBERY

Vermont Vt. Stat. Ann. Vt. Stat. Ann. NONE VT. Stat. Ann. No separate

tit. 13, 688 1101, tit. 13 § 1106 tit. 13 § 1701 blackmail

1102, etatute

Classification: Classification:

Classification: bribery extortion and

bribery threats

Penalty: 1 year

Penalty: 5 years or or $100 to Penalty: three

$390.00 (briber) $1,000 fine or years or $500

10 years or $1,000 both

plus forfeit and (1904)

disqualification

(bribal)

Virginia Va. Code 8 18.2- Va. Code § 18.2- Va. Code § 18.2- Va. Code § 18.2- No separate

438, 439

Classification:

crimes against

the administration

of justice

Penalty: class 4

felony (plus

forfeit

and disqualification

bribed official)

444

Classification:

crimes against

the administration

of justice

Penalty: class 3

misdemeanor

(NEW) ?

442, 443

Classification:

crimes against

the administration

of justice

Penalty: class

5 felony

(1960)

470, § 18.2-59 offense

Classification:

470 --

crimes against

the adininstration of

justice

59--crimes against

the person

Penalty: 470--

class 4 misdemeanor

59- class 5 felony

J”

X

STATE BRIRERY OF ‘COMMERCIAL SPORTS EXTORTION BLACKMAIL 27a

PUBLIC OFFICIALS BRIBERY _ _BRIBERY_ ree oe

Washington Wash. Rev. Code. Wash. Rev. Code Wash. Rev. Code Wash. Rev. Code No separate

Ann. 8 9A.68 Ann. §49.44.060 Ann. 8 67.04 Ann. §89A.56.110, blackmail

ae 910, .020 <.a@, 230 offense

Classification: Classification:

Bribery and Labor Classification: Classification:

corrupt influence regulation athletics, theft and

sports and enter- robbery

Penalty: class B tainment

felony Penalty: Gross Penalty:

misdemeanor Penalty: gross variable

misdemeanor

(1921)

West

Virginia W.Va. Code 8 NONE W.Va. Code & W.Va. Code § No separate

61-5A-3

Classification:

bribery and

corrupt practices

Penaity: 1-10 years

for an individual;

$50,000 fine for

a corporation;

individuals are

also disgualified

from office

61-10-22

Classification:

crimes against

public policy

Penalty; felony--

1 tO 3 years

or $1,000 or both

(1945)

61-2-13

Classification:

crimes against

the person

Penalty;

misdemeanoe

--2 to 12 months

and $50 to $500

fine

blackmail

statute

28a

STATE BRIBERY OF COMMERCIAL SPORTS EXTORTION BLACKMATAL

PUBLIC OFFICIAL BRIBERY ____BRIBERY PN

Wisconsin Wis. Stat. Ann. Wis. Stat. Ann. Wis. Stat. Ann. Wis. Stat. Ann. No separate

§ 946.10 § 134.05 § 945.08 S '343530.,'-. 33 blackmail

statute

Classification: Classification: Classification: Classification:

crimes against miscellaneous gambling crimes against

government and trade regulations properly

its administration

Penalty: $10.00 Penalty: class D Penalty: $2,000

Penalty: class D to $500 fine or felony for bribery; fine or 5Syears

felony fine and impri- class A misdemeanor or both (.30)

sonment for up for bribed $1,000 fine

to 1 year or l year

(1905) or both (.31)

Wyoming Wyo. Stat. NONE Wyo. Stat. Wyo. Stat. Wyo. Stat.

§ 6-8-201 § 6-9-302 6-8-510 6-7-601

Classification:

offense against

public justice

Penalty: up to 14

years in penitentiary

Classification:

offenses against

public policy

Penalty: 1 to 5

years or $5,000

fine or both

(1963)

Classification:

offenses against

public justice

Penalty:

$10.00 to

$500.00 fine

and up to

6 months in jail

and removal from

. office

Classification

offenses aqairb

public peace

Penalty:

up to 5

years

29a

STATE BRIBERY OF COMMERCIAL SPORTS EXTORTION BLACKMAIL

PUBLIC OFFICIALS BRIBERY BRIBERY oe

Model § 224-8 § 223.9 223.2 No separate

Penal 6 240.1 blackmail

Code offense

Classification: Classification: Classification: Classification:

offenses against forgery and forgery and theft and

public adminis-

tration

Penalty: 3rd

degree felony

fraudulent

practices

Penalty:

misdemeanor

fraudulent

practices

Penalty:

variable

related offenses

Penalty:

variable

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.