Petition — Estes v. Metropolitan Branches of Dallas NAACP

Supreme Court brief1980

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

, ‘a “es ¢ ig “\

AUG 14 1978 |

K, JR., CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

No. €8°253

NOLAN ESTES, ET AL,

Petitioners,

versus

METROPOLITAN BRANCHES OF THE

DALLAS N.A.A.C.P., ET AL,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

WARREN WHITHAM

210 Adolphus Tower

Dallas, Texas 75202

MARK MARTIN

1200 One Main Place

Dallas, Texas 75250

Counsel for Petitioners

SCOFIFLDS* QUALITY PRINTERS. P. O. BOX 53096. NO. LA 70153 - 504/822-1611

Pn eed

Pn

——

bi.

INDEX

Page

eee mes Saag pie tagehecdisceee ch 2

SAE PALES ERO eT Oe COT Eee ae 2

By, re Rakivawe’s « 2

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions In-

ED it oe Rae Rdie dnd s/djoes oe wit thos 60 aeccese 3

EE EEE 3

Reasons for Granting the Writ

1. The Court Below Has Decided A

Federal Question In A Way In Conflict

With This Court’s Decision In Swann

v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of

Ie Wn wie ew es cws cee seen’ 12

2. The Court Below Has Decided A

Federal Question In A Way InConflict

With This Court’s Decision In

Milliken v. Bradley, 433 U.S. 267

NE BOSSE, Fin Bis din'S bin vec 46> oe v0 0's 15

3. The Importance Of The Issue And The

Need For Clarification .................... 16

SI rh ED da aie ht bide o a'c'e o's whe 00's 18

Pe ee TO EDs 5 cee wi OS ee dae ese Me Eee cee 19

Appendix “A” — Identity and Names of All

SEE Setescskes dupont cas ON Ee a er la

Appendix “B” — Opinions, Orders and Judg-

ment of the District Court

‘March 10, 1976, Opinion and Order ............. 4a

March 15, 1976, Supplemental Order .......... 45a

ii

INDEX (Continued)

Page

April 7, 1976, Supplemental Opinion and

CNS a ett, saad bab oy Sb eine g eee aes 46a

April 7, 1976, Pinel OEder iis ob as cc ce vcccdeces 53a

April 15, 1976, Supplemental Order .......... 121a

Aprii 20, 1976, Supplemental Order .......... 126a

August 18, 1976, Supplemental Order

Changing Attendance Zones of James

Madison High School and Lincoln High

NE Oe ic Wasa nck k be ORE iy ep Ae sabes 127a

Appendix “C” — Opinion of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit ........ 130a

Appendix “D” — Letter from Clerk of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth

Circuit advising the Court had denied Peti-

SROUE BE Te hb wrkces cobashassasteaweas 146a

Appendix “E” — Motion for Stay of Mandate

filed May 26, 1978, in the United States

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit ........ 148a

Appendix “F’’ — Summary Examples of Non-

Student Assignment Requirements In-

cluded in the District Court’s April 7, 1976,

RON REE ic CRASS oe eek weak Aelvatanestaele 152a

iii

CITATIONS (Continued)

Page

Cases:

Green v. County School Board of New Kent

County, 301°U.8. 490 (1068) |. 0k. i ccc ccckeeee 13

Milliken v. Bradley, 433 U.S. 267 (Milliken IT)

CRF ED Sid bade easicasen staal eis hana 3,11,13,15,16

S.E.C. v. United Benefit Life Insurance Com-

POOF: BEF ais Le ano) 4 8 adh ok be Sodio ices 16

Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of

Education, 402 U.S. 1 (1971) ...... 3,5,12,13,15,16,18

Tasby v. Estes, 444 F.2d 124 (5th Cir., 1971) ....... 5

Tasby v. Estes, 517 F.2d 92 (Fth Cir., 1975), cert.

GURING, Giae ec OOO. oi hie en a 5

Tasby v. Estes, 412 F.Supp. 1192 (N.D.Tex.,

FFE ME ctu dre us chen car ne Ore ebiti as 2,15

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions:

we Ua. Beckton INGO) isi ieee elk 2

Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth

dasprshe-teaps ong, SAL OO EC EE Ee dU ee PER ‘3

ee eet

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

No.

NOLAN ESTES, ET AL,

Petitioners,

versus

METROPOLITAN BRANCHES OF THE

DALLAS N.A.A.C.P., ET AL,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners, the members of the Board of Trustees of

the Dallas Independent School District and its

General Superintendent (Dallas Independent School

District or DISD), pray that writ of certiorari issue to

review the judgment and opinion of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit entered in this

proceeding on April 21, 1978. The names and iden-

tities of Petitioners and the many parties Respondent,

as well as Amicus Curiae, are set forth in Appendix

“>;

2

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinions, orders and judgment of the District

Court are set forth in Appendix ““B” (pages 4a-129a)

and are reported in part at 412 F.Supp. 1192. The opin-

ion of the Court of Appeals is set forth in Appendix “C”’

(pages 130a-146a) and is reported at 572 F.2d 1010.

Denial by the Court of Appeals of Petitions for Rehear-

ing is not reported and is set forth in Appendix “D”’

(pages 146a-147a). Petitioners’ Motion for Stay of Man-

date was filed May 26, 1978, in the Court of Appeals. As

of the date of printing of this petition on August 10,

1978, said Motion for Stay of Mandate had not been act-

ed on by the Court of Appeals.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on

April 21, 1978. A timely Petition for Rehearing was de-

nied on May 22, 1978. This petition for certiorari was

filed within 90 days from that date. The jurisdiction of

this Court is invoked under the provisions of 28 U.S.C.

Section 1254(1).

QUESTION PRESENTED

Among the issues before the Courts below was the

constitutionality of the remedy formulated by the Dis-

trict Court to eliminate the vestiges of a state-imposed

dual school system in the large urban school system

described in this petition and by the Courts below. The

question presented is:

Whether as to such school systems, the elimination

of all one-race schools is the controlling factor to be

ee A A Ne ee _

considered in determining whether a remedy for-

mulated by the District Court is consistent with the

Equal Protection Clause and this Court's decisions in

Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board uf Education,

402 U.S. 1, and Milliken v. Bradley, 433 U.S. 267

(Milliken II).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment to the Constitution of the United States

provides in pertinent parts as follows:

‘“.. nor shall any State * * * deny to any per-

son within its jurisdiction the equal protec-

tion of the laws.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Dallas Independent School District and the

federal courts have been on intimate terms in school

desegregation matters since 1955 immediately follow-

ing Brown II. The instant action is not the first but isa

second and separate Dallas school desegregation

case. At the time the instant action was filed there was

also pending in the United States District Court forthe

Northern District of Texas an existing class action

desegregation proceedings, in which continuing

jurisdiction is exercised by the District Court and in

4

which the various proceedings involving desegrega-

tion of the DISD have been determined.!

This second action was brought in the District Court

against DISD on October 6, 1970, by both Blacks and

persons alleging to be Chicanos asserting de jure

segregation of each class and seeking the estab-

lishment of a unitary school system for each class.

These original Plaintiffs (Respondent-Plaintiffs) in-

voked the jurisdiction of the District Court pursuant to

Title 28 U.S.C. Section 1331 alleging this action arises

under the Fourteenth Amendment and the amount in

controversy exceeds, exclusive of interest and costs,

the sum of Ten Thousand ($10,000.00) Dollars and pur-

suant to Title 28 U.S.C. Sections 1343(3) and (4), alleg-

ing this to be a civil action seeking injunctive relief to

end denials of equal protection of the law and alleging

that this action was further filed pursuant to the

provisions of 42 U.S.C. Section 1981, 1983, 1988, 2000c-8

and 2000d.

On June 3, 1971, in a decision entered as a result of an

appeal from an order denying the Respondent-

Plaintiffs’ first motion for preliminary injunction, the

Court of Appeals directed the District Court to make

full written findings of fact and conclusions of law on

_ 1 The various proceedings in that action in part may be found at

Bell v. Rippy, 133 F.Supp. 811 (N.D.Tex., 1955), Brown v. Rippy, 223

F.2d 796 (5th Cir., 1956), cert. denied, 352 U.S. 878; Bell v. Rippy, 146

F.Supp. 485 (N.D.Tex., 1956); Borders v. Rippy, 247 F.2d 268 (5th

Cir., 1957); Rippy v. Borders, 250 F.2d 690 (5th Cir., 1957); Boson v.

Rippy, 275 F.2d 850 (5th Cir., 1960); Borders v. Rippy, 184 F.Supp.

402 (N.D.Tex., 1960); Boson v. Rippy, 285 F.2d 43 (5th Cir., 1960):

Borders v. Rippy, 188 F.Supp. 231 (N.D.Tex., 1960); Borders v. Rip-

py. 195 F.Supp. 732 (N.D.Tex., 1961); Britton v. Folsom, 348 F.2d 158

(Sth Cir., 1965); and Britton v. Folsom, 350 F.2d 1022 (5th Cir., 1965).

5

the merits of this action in the light of principles enun-

ciated in Swann. Tasby v. Estes, 444 F.2d 124 (5th Cir.,

1971). The District Court did so in August, 1971. The

Respondent-Plaintiffs again appealed.

On July 23, 1975, the Court of Appeals, among other

things, vacated the student assignment plan for-

mulated by the District Court and remanded with

directions to formulate elementary and secondary stu-

dent assignment plans which comport with the direc-

tives of the Supreme Court and the July 23, 1975,

Opinion-Mandate of the Court of Appeals. Tasby v. Es-

tes, 517 F.2d 92 (5th Cir., 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 939.

On October 25, 1975, and over Petitioners’ objections,

the District Court allowed the Metropolitan Branches

of the Dallas N.A.A.C.P. (Respondent-NAACP) to in-

tervene.

On February 2, 1976, hearings on fashioning a stu-

dent assignment plan once again commenced in the

District Court. These hearings culminated in the Dis-

trict Court’s April 7, 1976, Final Order, as

supplemented, containing the remedy formulated by

the District Court and here in question.

On December 11, 1976, the voters in DISD voted in

favor of authorizing bonds in the amount of $80,000,-

000.00 for the purpose of the construction and equip-

ment of school buildings in DISD and the purchase of

necessary sites therefor. $30,000,000.00 of these bonds

have been sold to date and committed to this purpose.

(T. 5, 6, 7, II Appeal)

Both Courts below have correctly recognized the ur-

ban metropolitan nature of DISD and that DISD is not

a small rural school system but is the eighth largest

urban school district in the United States.

The District Court by order of July 16, 1971, directed

that the Mexican-American student be considered asa

separate ethnic group and as a “minority” for pur-

poses of a desegregation plan. Hence in DISD the

problem exists of formulating a tri-ethnic remedy and

the phrase “Anglo” is used in lieu of “white” under

such circumstances. This circumstance alone

magnifies the problem of formulating a remedy in a

minority Anglo system.

There is no actual total population census of DISD.

The boundaries of the City of Dallas and DISD are not

coterminous. The population of the City of Dallas is

800,000 to 900,000. The ethnic composition of the total

population of DISD. as distinguished from student

enrollment, approximates the ethnic composition of

the population of the City of Dallas which is estimated

to be 25% or 30% black. 10° to 15% Chicano and the

remainder Anglo. (V.I. 279. 405, 406) This is far dif-

ferent fromthe ethnic composition of the student pop-

ulation.

DISD contains approximately 351 square miles

within the 900 square miles of Dallas County. From

DISD’s furtherest northernmost point to its fur-

therest southernmost point there is a distance of

approximately 35 miles viewed from the northwest to

the southeastern part of the district. It is about 25

miles from what is called the southwest quadrant in

7

Oak Cliff just below Hulcy Junior High School to the

northernmost point near the Dallas County line. (V_I,

405)

The Court of Appeals has correctly recognized that

in 1971 the DISD student body was 69% Anglo and that

in 1975 it was 41.1% Anglo, 44.5% Black, 13.4%

Mexican-American and 1% “other.” This Court is ad-

vised that as of March 11, 1978, the Anglo student body

was 35.38%.

At the time of trial on February 2, 1976, DISD had lost

approximately 40,000 Anglo students during the

pendency of this second action. As the students

»ecome younger there is a decided drop in the num-

bers and percentage of Anglo students. (Deft. Exs. 13:

11, pp. 1, 2)

Petitioners estimate that in 1980 the percentage of

Anglo enrollment will be 26% of the total school pop-

ulation as opposed to 41%, that Black enrollment will

be 57% as opposed to 44.5%, and that Mexican-

American enrollment wil be 18% of the total student

enrollment as opposed to 13.4%. (V.I, 67, 68)

In addition to being faced with the problem of

fashioning a remedy for an ever increasing minority

Anglo school system, the District Court also had the

problem of preserving naturally integrated areas and

schools which had naturally integrated due to chang-

ing housing patterns. All of the plans before the Court

submitted by all parties and Amicus Curiae recog-

nized and accepted the concept that there was no

reason to disturb already desegregated neighborhood

schools and each plan proposed to leave certain areas

and schools alone as those areas and schools were

naturally integrated. (V.I, 104, 105; Hall’s Ex. 5, pp. 14-

19; V.IV, 15, 16, 19; Pl. Ex. 16, pp. 9, 41; V.ITT, 241-242, 259,

330, 355, 406, 410)

Further the District Court had to consider the loca-

tion within the DISD of these naturally integrated

areas and schools in relationship to the areas con-

taining the remaining predominantly Anglo students

and the areas containing predominantly Mexican-

American or-Black enrollment. The area containing

the only remaining predominantly Anglo students

lies generally in a strip along the north and certain

eastern portions of the system. The predominantly

Mexican-American or Black students reside to the

south and southeast in areas distant from the pre-

dominantly Anglo students. Separating the remain-

ing predominantly Anglo students and the pre-

dominantly Mexican-American or Black students are

areas containing large parts of the naturally integrat-

ed areas and schools. (Deft. Ex. 2,3; V.I, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81)

Respondent-Plaintiffs have recognized the

problems of the District Court in fashioning the

remedy in question. One of their student assignment

plans submitted to the District Court states the reason

for leaving one-race schools. In three separate places

that plan states: (Pl. Ex. 16, pp. 34, 36, 38; V. III, 377)

“Distance from the majority white areas,

capacity of schools, DISDenrollment patterns

and: generally good physical facilities were

factors resulting in South Oak Cliff retaining

its present student assignment patterns.”

(Emphasis ours)

The “South Oak Cliff” referred to is the area now re-

ferred to as East Oak Cliff in the District Court's Final

Order. Thus by written proposal and testimony

Respondent-Plaintiffs admit that the long distance of

the East Oak Cliff Subdistrict from areas containing

Anglo students is so great that the continued existence

of Black one-race schools in East Oak Cliff is justi-

fied. (V.III, 378, 379); that the “enrollment patterns” in

DISD, i.e., an ever expanding scholastic population in

East Oak Cliff, the numbers of Black students and the

numbers of Anglo students in DISD and the absence of

Anglo student growth in DISD, further justify the con-

tinued existence of Black one-race schools in East Oak

Cliff. (V.III, 379-381, 407, 408)

Respondent-Plaintiffs in the District Court by

motions filed on April 2, 1976, and April 5, 1976, sought

an award of attorneys’ fees in this action under Section

718 of the Education Amendments Act of 1972 on the

theory that they were the “prevailing party.” On April

30, 1976, Respondent-Plaintiffs filed a brief in support

of their motion for attorneys’ fees which contained the

following statement: (5/11/76 S.R. 1, p. 4)

“Finally, the plan adopted by the Court in its

order of March 10, 1976, together with

Supplemental Opinion and Orders dated April

7, 1976, and April 15, 1976 adopt and/or incor-

porate almost every precept proposed by

plaintiffs for student assignment and non-

student assignment features of the remedy.”

(Emphasis ours)

10

The District Court agreed and awarded attorneys’

fees to Respondent-Plaintiffs.

Througbout Respondent-NAACP has insisted that

the existence of some one-race schools invalidates the

student assignment portion of the remedy. However,

Respondent-NAACP publicly admits it does not have

a solution. In a newspaper interview this public ad-

mission was made by the attorney of record for the

Respondent-N AACP:

“And even the NAACP admits that itis having

some trouble finding a way to break up the all-

black nature of the subdistrict. ‘If I knew the

answer, I'd give it to you,’ says NAACP at-

torney E. Brice Cunningham. ‘I admit that we

have not yet come up with an alternative to

some all-black. schools. But we will still

challenge it in court.’ *’ Dallas Morning News,

August 15, 1976, at 1, col. 2.

Respondent-NAACP demands racial balance in

each school and year-by-year adjustments in such

quota assignments. The NAACP plan states:

“(a) Every school should have a racial

balance comparable to the racial balance in

the District, which will not deviate more than

Ten Percent (10%) up or down.” (Emphasis

ours) (NAACP Ex. 2, p. 7)

7 ® * +

“2. The first magnitude of desegregation and

the attaining of an Unitary School System

11

should be to achieve a racial balance of black

and white students in each school and then

follow through with the integration of other

minorities into the system.” (Emphasis ours)

(NAACP Ex. 2, p. 7)

* * * *

“5. Any set plan should have written into it

automatic mechanisms for change based upon

conditions which may arise in the communi-

ty.” (NAACPEx. 2, p. 7)

* * * *

“13. Monitoring procedures are to be so

specified that assignment adjustments will be

acted upon when trends of racial changes are

noted. These procedures are to be made

specific with respect to degrees of change and

timing of remedial actions to be taken.”

(NAACP Ex. 2, p. 8)

The Judge of the District Court has presided in this

second case from its beginning. From its March 10,

1976, Opinion and Order it is obvious that the District

Court has recognized and considered all the many

complex factors involved in fashioning a desegrega-

tion remedy for DISD. Over the strenuous objections

of DISD, the District Court anticipated the subsequent

June 27, 1977, decision of the Supreme Court in

Milliken II and ordered comprehensive non-student

assignment provisions in the remedy. As used, non-

student assignment provisions involve judicial

remedies in desegregation proceedings going beyond

student assignment plans and pertaining to (a) the

12

operation and management of the business and affairs

of DISD, and (b) the education, curriculum and

program aspects of DISD.2 Summary examples of the

non-student assignment requirements included in the

District Court’s remedy are set out in Appendix “D”.

The Court of Appeals appears to recognize the

careful study and consideration that the District Court

had given the case and the many complex factors in-

volved in fashioning the remedy. Nevertheless, the

Court of Appeals considered the number of one-race

schools as controlling and remanded the case to the

District Court for the formulation of a new student

assignment plan and for findings to justify the

maintenance of any one-race schools that may be a

part of that plan.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. The Court Below Has Decided A Federal

Question In A Way In Conflict With This

Court’s Decision In Swann v. Charlotte-

Mecklenburg Board of Education, 402 U.S.

1.

Among the issues before the Courts below was the

constitutionality of the remedy formulated by the Dis-

trict Court to eliminate the vestiges of a state-imposed

dual school system in a large urban school system and

2 Nothing contained in this petition is to be construed as a waiver

by DISD of its right on remand to object to the introduction of all

evidence and to all parts of any plan or proposal as might pertain

to non-student assignment matters and to object to the inclusion of

non-student assignment provisions in any remedial order and

DISD specifically reserves its right to so object.

ee eS ae

13

in particular such a school system that is now a

minority Anglo system with an ever decreasing

percentage of Anglo students that requires a tri-ethnic

remedy and that has been the object of ongoing litiga-

tion to formulate a remedy since Brown II. It is ob-

vious from the directions given the District Court on

remand that the Court of Appeals considers the num-

ber of one-race schools to be the controlling criteria

for determining the appropriateness of a remedy for

such school systems. This is not what this Court said

concerning one-race schools in Swann. This is not

what this Court in effect construed Swann to mean in

Milliken II.

This one-race school criteria seized on by the Court

of Appeals is an example of how Green v. New Kent

County® thinking can bring lower courts to an

erroneous interpretation of Swann in cases involving

these large urban school systems. In the instant case

we are dealing with a system of some 800,000 to 900,000

persons, operating some 183 school buildings with

approximately 140,000 students of whom 41.1% were

Anglo, 44.5% were Black and 13.4% were Mexican-

American. In Green the school system operated only

two schools inarural county of some 4,500 population.

One was,a white combined elementary and high

School and one was a Negro combined elementary and

high school. The school system served approxi-

mately 1,300 pupils, 740 of whom were Negro and 550

of whom were white. Facts and conditions are not the

same. It is one thing to think in terms of no one-race

schools in New Kent County, Virginia, with only tw»

schools in that entire rural system, but to focus on

such an overly simplistic approach in considering a

s oa v. County School Board of New Kent County, 391 U.S. 430

14

remedy for this large urban system has brought the

Court below to an erroneous construction of Swann

and to a decision in conflict with Swann when read in

its entirety.

A national educational crisis exists in such large ur-

ban school systems because some federal courts

refuse to come to grips with the fact that Swann must

be interpreted in light of the urban condition as it ex-

ists in such school systems. The District Court was

one federal court that did recognize that Swann must

be interpreted in light of the urban condition in such

school systems. The District Court's March 10, 1976.

Opinion and Order well states the anguish and agony

that district courts must go through in formulating

remedies in such school systems. In the District

Court’s language in part:

“In this complex and ever-changing area of

the law, it is difficult if not impossible to dis-

cover hard and fast rules for the Court to

follow.”

* * * *

“school districts are like fingerprints —

each one is unique. Although the goal of a uni-

tary, non-racial system is a constant, the

method or plan for achieving that goal must be

tailored to fit the particular school district in-

volved. A plan that is successful in a district

having a small student population or occupy-

ing a small area geographically, a rural dis-

trict, a county-wide district, or a majority

Anglo school district, will not necessarily be

os a

15

successful in a large urban district such as the

DISD.” (Emphasis ours) 412 F.Supp. at 1195

Granted that the judicial goal must be the develop-

ment of a decree that promises realistically to work

and promises realistically to work now, it

nevertheless defies all logic and common sense not to

allow a district court to choose a plan that takes into

account the urban condition in such school systems.

Otherwise the judicial goal of a plan that promises

realistically to work now in such school systems is

reduced to a shambles.

The Court of Appeals has reached a decision in con-

flict with Swann and this Court is urged here to

resolve the conflict in view of the difficulty that the

nation’s lower courts are having in finding a satisfac-

tory solution to school desegregation matters in large

urban school systems.

2. The Court Below Has Decided A Federal

Question In A Way In Conflict With This

Court’s Decision in Milliken v. Bradley,

433 U.S. 267 (Milliken II).

The decision below does not refer to this Court's

decision in Milliken II. Thus the decision below in

effect interprets Swann to mean that the non-student

assignment provisions included by the District Court

in the remedial order in question, including remedial

educational programs, are not to be considered as

desegregation tools or techniques under Swann. The

Court below has made a too limited reading of Swann

in the light of this Court's decision in Milliken II. Con-

16

trary to Milliken II, the Court below has decided that

certain remedial educational programs may not be

considered as desegregation tools or techniques under

Swann.

3: The Importance Of The Issue And The

Need For Clarification.

A national educational crisis exists in urban areas

and will continue unabated unless and until this Court

addresses the matter of desegregation remedies in

large urban school systems as described here. The

issues here involved are especially important to such ~

school systems and to their millions of school patrons

throughout the nation. Cf. S.E.C. v. United Benefit Life

Insurance Company, 387 U.S. 202, 207, where cer-

tiorari was granted because of the importance of the

issue and the need for clarification.

If integrated school systems in large urban

metropolitan centers are the true goal of groups such

as the Respondent-Plaintiffs and Respondent-

NAACP, then that goal becomes an impossibility

when public education is required to exist under con-

ditions that do not appeal to many school patrons. The

constant and unrelenting uncertainty and pressure of

never ending school desegregation litigation is a con-

dition that does not appeal to many school patrons.

When conditions exist that do not appeal to school

patrons, they seek more satisfactory conditions

elsewhere; some in the suburbs, some in private or

church-related schools. The search for more satis-

factory conditions elsewhere is not always relatedtoa

racial bias but to a family’s sense of frustration with

a gh ni at oat

a 6 eran ne hee 6 a

OED Siew a, Pin ante Bin tit Nae ON AEN Se ec ne aE 2 Da hl ee

iE amelie. mis raiea asi - neem

17

conditions that decrease the total educational oppor-

tunity for one’s child. One condition that decreases the

total educational opportunity for one’s child is con-

stant desegregation litigation over the remedy and the

resulting prospect of ever expanding busing ina large

metropolitan area. Uncertainty destroys parents’

patience and confidence. It is not just Anglos who

become dissatisfied with these adverse conditions in

urban school districts. Black families and Mexican-

American families value education also; and they will

leave as they can, just as Anglos leave as they can.

This case presents the Court the opportunity to ad-

dress these matters and to make clear to the lower

courts that Swann is to be interpreted in light of the

facts of the urban condition as exist in school systems

such as Dallas. If, in the words of Respondent-

NAACP’s counsel, the Respondent-NAACP has “...

not yet come up with an alternative to some all-black

schools,” then the Court of Appeals should not read

Swann to require the District Court to be wiser than

the Respondent-NAACP.

Unless the District Court’s realistic approach to

such a school system is affirmed by this Court, then

desegregation litigation involving such school sys-

tems will go on and on over the years and will end only

at that point when these school systems become vir-

tually all-black or virtually all-black and Mexican-

American. Unitary these school systems may then be,

but virtually all-black or all-black and Mexican-

American they will be also.

18

Lower court interpretations of Swann, as in the

Court below, create such dilemmas and uncertainties

with respect to schoo] systems such as Dallas that

nothing is resolved. Such lower Court readings of

Swann create such unfortunate social and economic

circumstances in metropolitan cities that the results

have become a national educational tragedy. All that

now occurs under Swann with respect to school sys-

tems such as Dallas is constant district court hear-

ings, appeals and remands. The District Court had a

solution for a national problem. The Court of Appeals

rejected this solution. Further word from this Court is

needed. .

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this Petition for a Writ of

Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Warren Whitham

210 Adolphus Tower

Dallas, Texas 75202

Mark Martin

1200 One Main Place

Dallas, Texas 75250

Attorneys for Petitioners

Dated: August 11, 1978

ee ee een eee Oe nemaoe,

2 oe tg ae eta SEC.

19

PROOF OF SERVICE

We, Warren Whitham and Mark Martin, Attorneys

for Petitioners herein, and members of the Bar of the

Supreme Court of the United States, hereby certify

that on the 11th day of August, 1978, we served three

copies of the foregoing Petition for Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals for the Fiftn Cir-

cuit upon the following Counsel for Respondents:

Mr. Edward B. Cloutman, III Mr. Thomas E. Ashton, IIi

8204 Elmbrook Drive, Suite 200 Dallas Legal Services

P. O. Box 47972 Foundation, Inc.

Dallas, Texas 75247

Ms. Vilma S. Martinez Dallas, Texas 75202

Mexican-American Legal Defense Mr. E. Brice Cunningham

and Educational Fund 2606 Forest Avenue, Suite 202

28 Geary Street Dallas, Texas 75215

San Francisco, California 94108 wr Robert H. Mow. Jr.

Mr. Nathaniel R. Jones Mr. Robert L. Blumenthal

1790 Broadway, 10th Floor 3000 One Main Place

New York, New York 10019 Dallas, Texas 75250

Mr. Lee Holt, City Attorney Mr. James A. Donohoe

New City Hall 1700 Republic National Bank

Dallas, Texas 75201 Building

Mr. John Bryant Dallas, Texas 75201

8035 East R. L. Thornton Mr. Martin Frost

Dallas, Texas 75228 777 South R. L. Thornton

Mr. James G. Vetter, Jr. Freeway, Suite 120

555 Griffin Square Building Dallas, Texas 75203

Suite 920

Dallas, Texas 75202

and to the following Respondent pro se:

Mr. James T. Maxwell

4440 Sigma Road, Suite 112

Dallas, Texas 75240

912 Commerce Street, Room 202

20

and to the following Counsel for Amicus Curiae:

Mr. H. Ron White

1907 Elm Street, Suite 2100

Dallas, Texas 75201

by mailing same to such Counsel and Respondent pro

se at their respective addresses and depositing the

same in a United States mail box in an envelope prop-

erly addressed to such addresses with first class

postage prepaid.

We further certify that all parties required to be

served have been served.

Warren Whitham

Mark Martin

Attorneys for Petitioners

la

APPENDIX “A”

IDENTITY AND NAMES OF ALL PARTIES

Petitioners are the members of the Board of Trustees

of the Dallas Independent School District and its

General Superintendent. At the time of filing this Peti-

tion Bill C. Hunter, Sarah Haskins, Robert Medrano,

Kathlyn Gilliam, Bradford N. Lapsley, Jill Foster,

Harryette Ehrhardt, Robert L. Price and. Gerald M.

Stanglin are the Trustees of the Dallas Independent

School District and Nolan Estes is its General

Superintendent. Petitioners were Defendants in the

District Court and Appellees and Cross-Appellants in

the Court of Appeals.

The Respondent-Plaintiffs were the original Plain-

tiffs in the District Court and Appellants and Cross-

Appellees in the Court of Appeals. The Respondent-

Plaintiffs are Eddie Mitchell Tasby and Philip Wayne

Tasby, by their parent and next friend, Sam Tasby;

Evelyn Denise Lafayette and Darline Lafayette, by

their parent and next friend, Ludie Ann Cobbin: John

L. Morgan, Leon M. Morgan, Emanuel Morgan and

Jacqueline Morgan, by their parent and next friend,

Mary Jane Morgan; Jacqueline Denise Yarborough,

Katherine Yvette Yarborough and Willie Jackson, by

their parent and next friend, Bettye Jackson; Nelba

Ann Crouch, Allen LaMeche and Danny O’Keefe, by

Thelma Lee Crouch; Nettie Marie Cates, by her parent

and next friend, Bobbie Lean Cobbin; Tony Jefferson,

Beulah Jefferson, Arthur Jefferson, Yolanda Jefferson

and Jacqueline Jefferson, by their parent and next

friend, Ruth Jefferson; Ora Clara Woods and James

2a

Edward Woods, by their parent and next friend, Helen

Woods; Angela Medrano and Yolanda Medrano, by

their parent and next friend, Richard Medrano; and the

alleged class or classes they seek to represent in this

action.

The Respondent-Intervenors are various parties

who at various times have been permitted to intervene

in these proceedings. The Respondent-Intervenors

are:

1. Donald E. Curry, Gerald A. Van Winkle, Joe M.

Gresham, Edmund S. Rouget and Robert A. Overton,

Individually and as next friends for their children.

2. James T. Maxwell.

3. Donald Abercrombie, his wife, Helen Abercrom-

bie, and their children, Donna and Donald; C. S.

Ludwick, his wife, Ann Ludwick, and their children,

Connie, Mark and Scott; Jerry Hamilton, his wife,

Martha Hamilton, and their children, Pamela, Jeri and

Patricia; Wayne Dickenson, his wife, Betty Dickenson,

and their children, Delisa and Drew; Anthony

Bascone, his wife, Rebecca Bascone, and their chil-

dren, Kathy, Karen and Amy; R. D. Morgan, his wife,

Janice Morgan, and their child, Carol; and R. H.

Mason, his wife, Joyce Mason, and their children,

Susan, Mark and William; also known collectively as

“Oak Cliff Citizens.”

4. Herman Bond, et ux, Individually and as next

friend for his son, Steven Bond, as representative of

the class of Oak Cliff residents in the Kimball-Carter-

PO a as

3a

South Oak Cliff School District areas and areas adja-

cent thereto in the City of Dallas.

5. The City of Dallas.

6. The Metropolitan Branches of the Dallas

N.A.A.C.P., the John F. Kennedy Branch, the Oak Cliff

Branch and the South Dallas Branch (Respondent-

NAACP).

7. Dr. E. Thomas Strom, Charlotte Strom, Charles

Pankey, Norma Pankey, Donald K. Boldt, Dan and

Mary Ann Boyd, Dr. R. E. Buchanan, Dolly M. Buen-

ting, Fannie Demery, A. Douglas and Jill Foster,

Thomas E. and Denise Gray, Calvin R. Heath, Bobbie

Hickson, Lloyd G. Jones, Ruth L. Keefer, Peggy L.

Kirkland, Margaret Leo, Lou O’Reilly, Pat and

Marilyn Patterson, Dottie Pennebaker, W. R. and Ann

Swaney, Virginie Trousdale, Gordon C. Yates, Rev.

Montie W. Stewart, D. B. Barksdale, Mrs. Buford T.

Bird, Clyde and Nellie Blevins, Wilma E. Borchardt,

Gene and Arlene Boyd, Nancy Ruth Cawthon, Bob

Chaffin, Louise Clayton, Jack O. Davis, Mr. and Mrs.

Pedro Guillen, Denise Jenkins, Mr. and Mrs. Paul

Jones, Mr. A. A. Kerby, Mr. and Mrs. G. R. Langford,

David Langton, Mr. and Mrs. Marlin E. Langton, Mrs.

L. D. McManus, Buddy and Barbara Pettway, Olen and

Wanda Weaver and Mr. and Mrs. H. A. Wells, a group of

individuals residing in and having children attend-

ing schools inthe Dallas Independent School District.

8. RalphF. Brinegar, Wallace H. Savage, Evelyn T.

Green, Craig Patton, Dr. John A. Ehrhardt, Richard L.

Rodriguez and Alicia V. Rodriguez, Mr. and Mrs.

da

Salomon Aguilar, Marjorie M. Oliver, Mr. and Mrs.

Ruben L. Hubbard, Robert L. Burns, Dr. Percey E.

Luecke, Jr., Dale L. Ireland and Barbara J. Ireland, and

Evelyn C. Dunsavage, Individuals residing in the

Dallas Independent School District.

9. The Dallas Alliance and the Education Task

Force of the Dallas Alliance, Amicus Curiae.

APPENDIX “B”

OPINION AND ORDER

Filed: Mar. 10, 1976

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

DALLAS DIVISION

EDDIE MITCHELL TASBY and PHILIP WAYNE

TASBY, by their parent and next friend, SAM TASBY,

ET AL

versus CA 3-4211-C

DR. NOLAN ESTES, GENERAL

SUPERINTENDENT, DALLAS INDEPENDENT

SCHOOL DISTRICT, ET AL

The task presented to this Court is to adopt and im-

plement a desegregation plan for the Dallas Indepen-

dent School District (DISD) which will finally con-

clude the tortured history of this litigation and which

owe

hs eee ie

5a

will establish a unitary, nonracial system of public

education in the DISD, as required by Brown v. Board

of Education, 347 U.S. 483 (1954). This cause is here on

remand from the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals’ deci-

sion of July 23, 1975,! which affirmed in part and re-

versed in part this Court’s 1971 desegregation order.

The Fifth Circuit has instructed this Court to for-

mulate a student assignment plan which will remedy

the dual nature of the DISD found to exist in 1971.

I. The Parties

The cast of legal characters in this desegregation

drama has changed since 1971, with the addition of

new intervenors and the departure of intervenors

previously in the case. The present actors still include

the plaintiffs, representing a class of black and

Mexican-American students in the DISD; the defen-

dant DISD; the Curry intervenors, representing a

group of North Dallas students; the intervenor James

T. Maxwell, representing himself; and the City of

Dallas.2 Additionally, the Metropolitan Branches of

the National Association for the Advancement of

Colored People (NAACP) were granted leave to in-

tervene on August 25, 1975; the Strom intervenors,

representing a class of persons living in naturally in-

tegrated areas of Western Oak Cliff and Pleasant

Grove, were granted leave to intervene on August 25,

1975; and the Brinegar intervenors, representing a

class of persons living in the naturally integrated area

1 Tasby v. Estes, 517 F.2d 92 (5th Cir. 1975).

2 The City of Dallas remained a party to this phase of the pro-

ceedings but did not play an active role during this phase.

6a

of East Dallas, were given leave to intervene on

September 17, 1975.

On September 16 the Court challenged the business

leaders of Dallas to become involved and further

pointed out that everyone in the district had a job todo

— that it was not a job for the Court alone. The busi-

ness leaders have responded to the challenge and have

shown their sincere interest. Many churches, their

leaders, and many organizations have expressed

significant interest and offered to assist the Court.

Additionally, a group of citizens formed a committee

composed of six blacks, seven Mexican-Americans,

one American Indian and seven Anglos. This group

became an affiliate of the Dallas Alliance and became

known as the Educational Task Force of the Dallas

Alliance. The Dallas Alliance is a community service

organization designed to act on and aid in the solution

of urgent issues of the community. It consists of a for-

ty member Board of Trustees, and seventy-seven cor-

respondent organizations in the Dallas area.

This Task Force met for a period of four months and

spent approximately 1500 hours together in devising

concepts and principles for a desegregation plan fora

DISD. They sent various members of their group to

cities around the country to discover all possible tools

for desegregation, and met with or talked with thirty

leading figures in the desegregation field. Finally, on

February 17, 1976, the Alliance group filed their plan

for the DISD with the Court. The Court granted them

the status of Amicus Curiae for the purpose of present-

ing their ideas and plan to the Court, and heard

evidence from Dr. Paul Geisel regarding the plan.

wa codes

7a

The Court has before it several student assignment

plans, offered to remedy the dual nature of the DISD.

The School Board, being charged with the respon-

sibility of devising an acceptable plan,3 filed its plan

on the 10th of September, 1975. The NAACP devised a

student assignment plan which was also filed on

September 10. The Court was not wholly satisfied with

either of these plans, as it indicated in a hearing on

September 16. Therefore, the Court employed an ex-

pert in the field of education and desegregation, Dr.

Josiah C. Hall of Miami, Florida. Dr. Hall presented a

student assignment plan to the Court which was filed

December 29, 1975. The plaintiffs meanwhile were

working on a student assignment plan, and ended up

filing two plans on January 12, 1976. Likewise, the

Education Task Force of the Dallas Alliance met for

several months considering concepts for a desegrega-

tion plan for the DISD, and filed their results with the

Court on February 17, 1976. In addition, the Court re-

ceived and has considered other plans and

suggestions from various citizens and groups.‘

II. Applicable Law

In this complex and ever-changing area of the law, it

is difficult if not impossible to discover hard and fast

rules for this Court to follow. Certainly, the “transi-

tion to a unitary, non-racial system of public educa-

tion was and is the ultimate end to be brought about.”

3 Brown v. Board of Education (II), 349 U.S. 294 (1955).

4 A group of students at Skyline High School drew a student

»ssignment plan for the DISD and submitted it to the Court. Others

svere submitted by the Alliance for Integrated Education and a

number of other groups and concerned parents.

Green v. County School Board, 391 U.S. 430, 436 (1967);

Alexander v. Holmes County Board of Education, 396

U.S. 19 (1969); Brown v. Board of Education II, 349 U.S.

294 (1955). Similarly, this Court recognizes that ‘‘[t]he

objective today remains to eliminate from the public

schools all vestiges of state-imposed segregation.”

Swann v. Board of Education, 402 U.S. 1, 15 (1970).

Nevertheless, school districts are like fingerprints

— each one is unique. Although the goal of a unitary,

nonracial system is a constant, the method or plan for

achieving that goal must be tailored to fit the par-

ticular school district involved. A plan that is

successful in a district having a small student popula-

tion or occupying a small area geographically, arural

district, a county-wide district, or a majority Anglo

school district, will not necessarily be successful in a

large urban district such as the DISD. As the Supreme

Court observed in Brown II, supra at 299:

Full implementation of these constitutional

principles may require solution of varied

local school problems. Schooi authorities

have the primary responsibility for

elucidating, assessing, and solving these

problems; courts will have to consider

whether the action of the school authorities

constitute good faith implementation of the

governing constitutional principles. Because

of their proximity to local conditions and the

possible need for further hearings, the courts

which originally heard these cases can best

perform this judicial appraisal.

Throughout the proceedings on remand, this Court

has held foremost in its mind the unique

characteristics of the DISD, in order to insure that a

feasible, workable plan is adopted which will

realistically establish a unitary system in the DISD.

The Fifth Circuit remanded this case with instruc-

tions to formulate a new “student assignment plan.”

The DISD has maintained throughout these proceed-

ings that the Court can consider nothing except a bare-

bones student assignment plan. Although this Court

recognizes that the mandate from the Fifth Circuit re-

ferred consistrntly to formulating a “student assign-

ment plan,” it does not interpret that language as

limiting this Court to a plan which merely provides

for moving bodies between buildings. As the Fifth Cir-

cuit held in Calhoun v. Cook, 522 F.2d 717 (1975).

rehearing denied, 525 F.2d 1203 (1975):

The aim of the Fourteenth Amendment

guarantee of equal protection on which this

litigation is based is to assure that state sup-

ported educational opportunity is afforded

without regard to race; it is not to achieve

racial integration in public schools.

A student assignment plan cannot operate in a

vacuum; it must include whatever additional tools are

necessary to carry out the mandate that equal

educational opportunity be provided, and to insure

that a truly unitary system is established.

In adopting a student assignment plan, this Court is

required to arrive at a delicate balance — the dual

10a

nature of the system must be eliminated; however, a

quota system cannot be imposed. The Supreme Court

ruled in Swann, supra at 26, that

[t]he district judge or school authorities

should make every possible effort to achieve

the greatest possible degree of actual

desegregation and will thus necessarily be

concerned with the elimination of one-race

schools.

On the other hand, the Supreme Court held that

{t]he constitutional command to desegregate

schools does not mean that every school in

every community must always reflect the

racial composition of the school system as a

whole.

Ibid, at 24.

In arriving at this balance, the practicalities of the

situation are to be taken into account. Davis v. School

Commissioners of Mobile County, 402 U.S. 33, at 37

(1970). These practicalities include travel time and

distance, and the age of the children.

An objection to transportation of students

may have validity when the time or distance of

travel is so great as to either risk the health of

the children or significantly impinge on the

educational process. . . It hardly needs stating

that the limits on time or travel will vary with

many factors, but’probably with none more

than the age of the students.

lla

Swann, supra at 30.

The Fifth Circuit instructed this Court to use the

techniques discussed in Swann to dismantle the

vestiges of the dual nature of the DISD. The Supreme

Court said in Swann that “[d]jesegregation plans can-

not be limited to the walk-in school,” if this will not

produce a unitary system. Swann, supra at 30. All

available techniques are to be considered in the for-

mulation of student assignment plans, including the

restructuring of attendance zones and the pairing of

both contiguous and noncontiguous attendance zones.

Swann, supra; Davis, supra.5

The Supreme Court’s decision in Swann also

emphasized the equitable nature of the remedies

phase of a desegregation case. It quoted the following

language from Brown II:

In fashioning and effectuating the decrees, the

courts will be guided by equitable principles.

Traditionally, equity has been characterized

by a practical flexibility in shaping its

remedies and by a facility for adjusting and

reconciling public and private needs.

Swann, supra at 12. Later it stated:

In seeking to define even in broad and general

terms how far this remedial power extends it

is important to remember that judicial powers

5 The pairing of noncontiguous attendance zones and the use of

transportation is of course limited by the practicalities mentioned

above.

12a

may be exercised only on the basis of a con-

stitutional violation ... As with any equity

case, the nature of the violation determines the

scope of the remedy.

This Court has kept in mind throughout these pro-

ceedings that its findings in 1971 were that the

“vestiges” of a dual school system remained in the

DISD, and not that the DISD was a dual svstem at that

time. The plan adopted now must therefore remedy

these vestiges without exceeding this Court’s

equitable powers to balance public and private needs.

Finally, guidance as to the role of this Court has

been given by the Supreme Court in Green, supra at

439:

The obligation of the district court, as it

always has been, is to assess the effectiveness

of a proposed plan in achieving desegrega-

tion. There is no universal answer to complex

problems of desegregation; there is obviously

no one plan that will do the job in every case.

The matter must be assessed in light of the cir-

cumstances present and the options available

in each instance. It is incumbent upon the

school board to establish that its proposed

plan promises meaningful and immediate

progress toward disestablishing state-

imposed segregation. It is incumbent upon the

district court to weigh that claim in light of

facts at hand and in light of any alternatives

which may be shown as feasible and more

promising in their effectiveness.

13a

Moreover, whatever plan is adopted will re-

quire evaluation in practice, and the court

should retain jurisdiction until it is clear that

the state-imposed segregation has been com-

pletely removed.

With this task in mind, the Court heard testimony

regarding the feasibility and effectiveness of these

plans presented by the parties during hearings which

lasted continuously from February 2 to March 5. All

the plans utilize, to varying degrees, the concepts of

pairing and clustering schools, and of transporting

students for the purpose of establishing an integrated

or unitary school system, as approved by the Supreme

Court in Swann, supra. Each ofthe plans incorporates

other tools, as well as transportation, to help insure

that an integrated school system is achieved. The

Court finds some meritorious suggestions in each of

the plans, including the concept of magnet schools

suggested by the DISD, the plaintiffs and others; the

majority to minority transfer program advocated by

all parties; and the concept of a monitor or auditor pro-

posed by the plaintiffs, the NAACP and the Dallas

Alliance Task Force. The Court is convinced that the

plan of the Educational Task Force of the Dallas

Alliance will effectively establish a unitary system of

education in the DISD and that it “promises

realistically to work now.” Green, supra at 439.

III. Present Characteristics of the DISD

The most significant feature of the DISD now as op-

posed to 1971 is that the DISD is no longer a

predominantly Anglo student school system. In the

14a

years which have intervened since this Court’s 1971

order, the percentage of Anglos in the DISD has de-

clined from 69% to 41.1%, and projections show no

reversal of this trend to a predominantly minority dis- '

trict. According to the most recently compiled

figures,® the racial composition of the DISD student

body is 41.1% Anglo, 44.5% black, 13.4% Mexican-

American, and 1.0% “other.” In the 1970-71 academic

year, the DISD enrolled 163,353 students in grades 1-

12, whereas in December, 1975, the DISD enrolled only

131,757 students. Over the past five years the DISD has

lost, for one reason or another, 40.9% of its Anglo stu-

dent population.’

Nevertheless, the DISD continues to be the eighth

largest school district in the nation, covering an area

of approximately 351 square miles. Its 180 separate

campuses house 141,122 students (including

kindergarten), and its total expenditure for the 1975-76

academic year is $164,788,000.

Although the DISD in 1975-76 cannot be considered

to be wholly free of the vestiges of a dual system,

significant strides in desegregation have been made

since the Court's 1971 order as a result of natural

changes in residential patterns in the past three years.

In the 1970-71 school year, 91.7% of all black students

in the DISD attended predominantly minority schools,

whereas in the 1975-76 school year, the percentage has

dropped to 67.6%. Testimony during the hearings

6 Dec. 1, 1975, DISD Hinds County figures. See Appendix A for

racial composition of each grade level.

7 An HEW Report shows that in October 1969 there were 97,103

Anglo students in grades 1-12, and in October 1975 there were 57,-

426 Anglo students in grades 1-12.

15a

showed that large areas of Dallas which formerly

reflected segregated housing patterns are now in-

tegrated, namely Western Oak Cliff, Pleasant Grove,

East Dallas, the area of North Dallas included in the

attendance zone for Thomas Jefferson High School.8

Testimony also established that the DISD has un-

dertaken in good faith and on its own to equalize the

educational opportunity for all children during recent

years. The plaintiffs introduced a 209-page Report ofa

Study of Instruction in the Dallas Independent School

District 1974-1975 which was conducted by Dr. Francis

S. Chase and eight staff associates. This report was in-

itiated by the School Board, but Dr. Chase testified that

he and his staff, who had no connection with the DISD,

were not impeded in any way in conducting this study

or presenting their findings. Their findings included

the following passage:

The staff of the Study of Instruction has iden-

tified a number of characteristics in which the

Dallas Independent School District is either

preeminent or close to the top among public

school systems. Some of these characteristics

which hold high potential for the improve-

ment of education are:

1. The commitment to, and the heavy in-

vestment of resources in, curriculum, design,

development, and implementation.

2. A broadly conceived and well-staffed

program of research and evaluation to define

8 Ses Appendix B, an exhibit introduced by the Strom in-

tervenors which shows the changes in racial composition of

formerly predominantly Anglo secondary schools.

16a

needs, inform decisions, assess the effec-

tiveness of programs and services, and in-

dicate deficiencies in program implementa-

tion or operation.

3. The creation of an extensive network of °

communications through which community

organizations and large numbers of teachers,

students, parents, and other citizens may

learn about and participate in educational

decisions and programs.

4. Frank acknowledgment of barriers to

equal educational opportunity, followed by

constructive measures such as the Affir-

mative Action Program, the extension of

Multi-Ethnic Education, the implementation

of Plan A for better treatment of learning: dis-

abilities, and support for inner-city school

renewal projects.

5. The number and variety of innovations

initiated and the continuing search for ways of

responding to the demands for improved

education.

6. The extensive program of personnel

development through released time, other

special programs, and four area teacher

centers which work in cooperation with seven

colleges and universities.

7. The planning, development, and opera-

tion of career education programs and

emphases — with continuing efforts to extend

and improve career education at all levels.®

9 Study of Instruction, pp. 35-36.

17a

In spite of the DISD’s efforts, Dr. Chase’ study con-

cluded that there is still a gap between intent to

provide equal educational opportunity and the

achievement of this goal. But the study also concluded

that the DISD is accepting the continuing challenge to

speed progress and close this gap.

The Dallas Independent School District, in re-

cent years, has acknowledged frankly the ex-

istence of persisting inequalities and inade-

quacies in its provisions for education. In-

stead of regarding these conditions as in-

evitable, the District has moved progressively

to treat them as challenges with which it must

cope swiftly and effectively. All school

systems, and especially those in our larger

cities, are faced with the urgent necessity of

alleviating the learning disabilities which

have their roots in poverty, prejudice, and

other forms of discrimination. No other school

district offers a better prospect for significant

progress in this direction.!°

The study thoroughly evaluated the DISD's

programs, pinpointing areas which needed improve-

ment and making recommendations to that end.'! Dr.

Chase testified that this study was unique in the

amount of response it elicited from the School Board

and the Administration; he testified that there is not

one item cited that the Board and Administration have

not responded to in some way. His testimony was that

there can never be a perfect school system, but that at

10 Ibid, p. 200.

11 Ibid, pp. 205-209.

18a

least the DISD is conscientiously on the road to

providing equal educational opportunity for all.

The plan which this Court is ordering to be im-

plemented promises to continue this trend of

desegregation and will, when fully implemented,

remove all vestiges of the former dual system in the

DISD. The Court is convinced that this plan will, at the

same time, “assure that state supported educational

opportunity is afforded without regard to race.”

Calhoun, supra at 396. Milliken v. Bradley, 418 U.S.

717, 740-741 (1974); Alexander v. Holmes County Board

of Education, 396 U.S. 19, 20 (1969); Brown v. Board of

Education, 349 U.S. 294, 301 (1955).

IV. An Analysis of the Plans Before the Court

A. DISD’s Plan

The DISD’s plan was devised by the staff of the DISD

under the direction and supervision of Dr. Nolan Es-

tes. The district is divided into three categories for the

purpose of student assignment — the integrated parts

of the school district,’ the remaining predominantly

Anglo parts of the district,!3 and certain minority

parts of the district. The DISD’s plan proposes to re-

tain the present student assignment patterns for the

naturally integrated areas,'4 as desegregation has

12 These areas are integrated due to residential housing

patterns.

13 These areas lie generally across the far northern and eastern

portions of the DISD.

14 “Integrated” was defined by the DISD as not more than 75%

Anglos or more than 75% combined blacks and Mexican-

Americans.

19a

already occurred in these areas.'5 Pairing and cluster-

ing techniques, both contiguous and noncontiguous,

were used to desegregate grades 4-12'6 of the

predominantly Anglo areas of the district. The grade

configurations were proposed to be:

K- 3 Elementary Schools

4- 5 Intermediate Schools

6- 7 Middle Schools

8- 9 Junior High Schools

10-12 Senior High Schools.'’

The remaining predominantly minority areas of the

districts would continue to be served by predominant-

ly one-race minority schools.'§

In addition, the DISD proposed to set up 17 magnet

schools to serve the entire district. Ten of these

magnets would be for the elementary level, and would

offer “fundamental” programming’? or “individually

15 There are 55 schools meeting this criteria.

16 Grades K-3 would continue to attend schools closest their

homes.

17 There are 72 schools in this category.

18 There are 48 schools in this category serving 42 attendance

zones.

19 “Fundamental” programming was described as concen-

trating on reading, writing, and arithmetic, and being a highly

structured environment.

20a

guided” programming.®° Seven of the magnets would

operate on the secondary level (grades 8-12 in six of

the seven cases), and would offer a variety of

programs oriented toward careers, the creative and

performing arts,2! transportation and technology,””

and world cultures. These programs are all in ex-

istence now in the DISD and are proving extremely

successful.23

Finally, the DISD’s proposal included the retention

of the majority to minority transfer program present-

ly in existence in the DISD. ,

The analysis showed that 13,947 students would be

transported for desegregation purposes,” and that the:

total cost to implement®> would be $6,811,240, causing

a 9¢ tax increase.6

Li ” ing a

20 “Individually guided” programming was described as us

diagnostic prescriptive approach in a highly flexible setting.

There would be approximately one teacher for every 15 students,

and the students would be able to move along at their own pace.

21 This magnet would be located near Fair Park and would have

those cultural facilities available.

22 This magnet would be located at Love Field, the airport recent-

ly closed.

23 Skyline Career Development Center, serving grades 10-12, is

recognized as one of the outstanding magnet schools in the nation.

24 In the Western Oak Cliff area, the DISD’s proposal would

transport 1500 black students to predominantly minority schools.

25 This includes the cost of buses, bus monitors, building

modifications, portable classrooms, and magnets.

26 Ch. 20.04d of the Texas Education Code, based on Art. 7 § 3 of

the Texas Constitution, limits the assessment of school taxes for

any school district in Texas to $1.50 per $100 property value. The

tax rate for the DISD presently is $1.40 per $100 property value.

Thus any plan which increases the taxation rate more than 10¢

would cause an increase in class size past the present 27 students,

or else cause a reduction in enrichment programs. '

21a

B. Plaintiffs’ Plans

Plaintiffs’ proposed plans were devised by the plain-

tiffs’ attorneys, using guidelines laid down by Dr.

Charles Willie of Harvard.

1. PlanA

Under Plan A, the DISD would be divided into seven

elementary subdistricts. An attempt was made to have

each school reflect the racial composition of that sub-

district. The naturally integrated elementary schools

retained their present student assignment patterns.27

All other schools were paired or clustered for grades

1-12.28 The grade configurations proposed were grades

K, 1-3, 4-6, 7-9, and 10-12.29

Plaintiffs proposed the use of magnet schools con-

structed in the inner city to draw Anglos into those

areas. They suggested the retention of the majority to

minority program. They suggested that the DISD ex-

pand and improve its in-service training program for

faculty and staff. Finally, they proposed a system of

accountability to insure that the DISD complies with

this Court’s order and with the goal of quality educa-

tion for each student enrolled in public school.

An analysis of Plaintiffs’ Plan A showed that ap-

proximately 69,000 students would be transported, and

27 There were 13 elementary schools in this category.

28 Kindergarten children would attend the schools closest their

homes.

29 This was done wherever possible. Other grade configurations

do appear, such as K, 1-4, 5-6, 7-9, 10-12.

22a

that the projected total cost to implement*®® would be .

$22,030,590, causing a 29.4¢ tax increase.

2. PlanB

Under Plan B, the DISD would be divided into eight

elementary level subdistricts. The residentially in-

tegrated areas were not included in the new student

assignment patterns.*! One of the subdistricts would

remain predominantly minority and would retain its

present assignment patterns,®? but would become a

‘model cluster’’ with enhanced facilities and

programs. The other areas were paired and clustered

to achieve desegregation.

In addition, Plan B calls for magnet schools in all

schools which had a predominantly minority enroll-

ment prior to this year to enhance the attractiveness of

these schools.*3 Plan B proposes the expansion of the

DISD’s present bi-lingual program.*4 Other features

such as the majority to minority transfer program, in-

service training, and a monitor or system of accoun-

tability mentioned above would also be included in

Plan B.

30 DISD's projection based on the elements of Plan A, including

cost of buses, bus monitors, building modification, and portable

classrooms.

31 There are 39 elementary schools in this category.

32 This is the South Oak Cliff area, and included twelve elemen-

tary schools, two junior high schools, and one high school.

33 This would include renovations and curriculum revision.

34 Testimony from several experts indicated that the DISD's bi-

lingual program is the best in the nation. Dr. Estes testified that

the DISD is presently attempting to expand this program to all

schools as rapidly as possible, but that the demand for bi-lingual

instructors is presently greater than the supply.

23a

An analysis of Plan B showed that approximately

47,000 students would be transported under this plan.

The estimated cost of implementation® is $14,963,680,

which would necessitate a 20¢ tax increase per $100

property value.

C. NAACP Plan

The NAACP’s proposal was drawn by Dr. Charles

Hunter of Bishop College. It contained a number of

concepts and proposals to be utilized by the DISD in

implementing the plan, as well as a rough outline of

schools to be paired and clustered to achieve

desegregation. The naturally integrated areas were

left with their present assignment patterns, and the

rest of the schools were paired and clustered so that

every school would have a racial balance comparable

to the racial balance in the district (with a 10%

variance up or down).*6 Innovative programs would

be fostered in the inner city schools, as well as in

magnet schools, which would operate on a district-

wide basis. Among other suggestions, the NAACP

plan proposed monitoring procedures which would be

available to make adjustments in student

assignments when changes in racial patterns are

noted.

35 Using the same criteria mentioned above.

36 The NAACP proposed to achieve racia) balance between

blacks and Anglos first and then follow with »“her minorities.

24a

An analysis of the NAACP’s plan indicated that ap-

proximately 40,000 students would be transported.

The estimated partial cost? is $7,163,310,

necessitating a 15-1/2¢ tax increase for the buses and

bus monitors alone.

D. Dr. Hall’s Plan

The student assignment plan submitted to the Court

by Dr. Hall is similar to those of the DISD and Plain-

tiffs’ Plan B, in that it divides the district into the

categories of residentially integrated areas,°* paired

and clustered areas, and predominantly minority

areas. The naturally integrated areas would retain

their present assignment patterns.*® Schools in

predominantly Anglo areas are paired clustered with

schools in predominantly minority areas to the

greatest degree possible.4° The grade configuration

for this category of schools is K-1 (nearest schools), 2- —

5, 6-7, 8-9, and 10-12. If the time and distance proved to

37 It was not possible to give an estimated total cost because ex-

penditures for building modification, moving portables and

equipment could not be determined under their plan.

38 Dr. Hall's guideline for determining an integrated school is no

more than approximately 75% nor less than approximately 30% of

combined minority groups.

39 There are approximately 55 schools in this category.

40 The factors of time and distance were taken into account by all

parties — the DISD and Dr. Hall limited time of transportation to

30 minutes each way. The Plaintiffs strove for this, but acknowl-

edged that in their plans greater time was involved. The NAACP's

plan limited time of transportation to 40 minutes.

25a

be too great, then the schools would retain their pre-

sent assignment patterns.‘!

In addition, Dr. Hall proposed the establishment of

Early Childhood Centers in Title I42 areas. These

centers would be for ages 5 and 6, and hopefully age 4,

and would provide enriched programs, using State

and Federal Compensatory Education funds, with a

pupil-teacher ratio of approximately 20-1. Additional

personnel would also be provided as well. Dr. Hall

also recommended using these centers as Community

centers.

Dr. Hall recommended the continuation of the DISD

Metropolitan Learning Centers for secondary school

students who do not respond to the traditional school

setting. He suggested maintaining the present magnet

school of Skyline Center for Career Education, and ex-

panding the magnet concept wherever possible.

An analysis of Dr. Hall’s plan indicates that ap-

proximately 20,000 students would be transported for

desegregation purposes. The estimated cost of his

plan‘? would be $7,163,310, and would necessitate a tax

increase of 9.6¢.

41 The statistics regarding time and distance on these schools

were carefully documented. There are 34 predominantly minority

schools in this category. Five of the schools were elementary

schools who would move on to integrated junior high and high

schools. The schools in this category were considered by Dr. Hall

to be superior schools (with the exception of renovation at threé

schools) in terms of facilities and the environment in which the

schools are located. Nineteen of the schools in this category were

at one time predominantly Anglo schools.

42 This refers to funds provided for certain areas under the

Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965.

43 This cost estimate was again provided by the DISD using the

same criteria mentioned above.

»

26a

E. The Dallas Alliance Plan

The student assignment plan proposed to the Court

by the Dallas Alliance Task Force on Education

utilizes many of the concepts or tools used in the other

plans, and also introduces new concepts. Like the

plaintiffs’ plans, the Alliance plan divides the DISD

into smaller subdistricts. These attendance areas or

subdistricts would in general reflect the Northwest,

Northeast, Southeast, South Oak Cliff, and Southwest

geographical sections of the district. Every sub-

district except South Oak Cliff would have ap-

proximately the same student population and would

have minority ratios which would approximate that of

the whole DISD, plus or minus 5%. Grade levels would

be standardized on a K-3, 4-8, 9-12 basis. For grades K-

3, new attendance zones would be drawn to achieve as

much natural desegregation as possible, and students

would be assigned to the nearest school which would

promote integration, not to exceed four miles from

home. Attendance zones in K-3 would not necessarily

consider the five attendance zones.

On the K-3 level, special teaching strategies and en-

riched program options would emerge for students in

all areas. The Alliance plan proposes that efforts to

maximize parent involvement following the Early

Childhood Education model from California be intro-

duced in September 1976 and completed by September

1979. This K-3 approach would be primarily

diagnostic-prescriptive. It would result in an adult-

student ratio in instruction of approximately 1-10.

(Adult is a teacher aide, a parent, an older student

tutor, etc.)

27a

For grades 4-8, students would only be assigned to

schools within the attendance subdistrict in which

they live. Areas that are naturally integrated would

retain their present student assignment patterns (ex-

cept that 8th grade would be added to the lower

grades). Students in areas that are not naturally in-

tegrated would attend schools in the center of each

subdistrict in which they live, ina manner so that each

school’s minority ratio reflects the minority ratio of

the 4-8 student population of the area, plus or minus

10%. Magnet schools for 4-8 would also be established.

with a priority on magnets in the South Oak Cliff area.

The magnets would be open to all 4-8 students in the

DISD on a voluntary basis. The magnets would also

reflect the minority ratios of the 4-8 student popula-

tion in all areas (with the exception of South Oak

Cliff), with allowance for a 10% plus or minus varia-

tion from the percentage of all minority students in the

DISD.

For grades 9-12, the Dallas Alliance proposes

Magnet High Schools and Magnet Comprehensive

High Schools.44 These would be open to all 9-12

students on a voluntary basis, but with minority ratios

of the 9-12 student population of the DISD, with

allowance for a 10% plus or minus variation from the

percentage of all minority students in the DISD.

Partnerships and working relationships between in-

stitutions of higher learning, the business and the

cultural communities would be encouraged with each

magnet high school. During the 1976-77 school year, at

least four additional magnets would be opened in the

44 A Magnet Comprehensive High School includes regular high

school curriculum as well as special career and other programs.

central area of the city,*° and at least three additional

magnets would be established by 1979-80. Each

magnet would accommodate a minimum of 1,000

students, and would open as rapidly as it fills. Seven

magnets would be therefore considered a minimum,

not a maximum number to be implemented. Until all

students attend magnet high schools, grades 9-12

would attend the nearest area high school in the sub-

district in which the students live.

Aside from student assignment concepts embodied

in the K-3, 4-8, and magnet 9-12 arrangement, the

Alliance plan addresses itself to other facets of a uni-

tary school system. With regard to personnel, it

proposes the development of recruiting and employ-

ment policies to insure that competent personnel are

employed at all levels and that the percentages of

white, black and brown administrators, principals,

teachers approximate DISD-wide the respective

percentages of those races represented in the City of

Dallas in 1976, as a minimum, within three years. The

DISD would rely on expanded scope of positions,

reassignment, and attrition to meet that goal. It

proposes that the top salaried line administration

positions (currently established at 185 in number)

45 These were suggested as

1) a new magnet comprehensive Lincoln High School,

costing approximately $14,500,000

2) a magnet for Business Education and Management at

Crozier Tech, established in cooperation with the busi-

nesses in the Central Business District (the downtown

Dallas area)

3) amagnet for the creative arts of Madison High School,

due to its proximity to the Fair Park Music Hall and

other cultural facilities

4) a magnet for aviation training at Love Field, the air-

port partially closed due to the opening of the Dallas-

Fort Worth Regional Airport, etc.

29a

reflect the percentages of the ethnic makeup of the

DISD student population (approximately 44% Anglo,

44% black, and 12% Mexican-American) by 1979. This

transition would occur on a schedule of one-third by

9/1/77, one-third by 9/1/78, and one-third by 9/1/79.

The Alliance plan also proposes training for

teachers to improve their proficiency and their ability

to perform in a multicultural setting, assessment on a

regular basis of the competence of personnel, and a

system of internal and external accountability

measures to insure that a unitary system was in fact

achieved.

Although the exact numbers of students transported

and the exact cost could not be determined,* it has

been established by the DISD that approximately 20,-

000 students would be transported at a cost of $5,830,-

000, necessitating a tax increase of 7.8¢. The funds for

the capital expenditure of $16,500,000 for magnet

schools the first year would be accommodated by ihe

present bond issuance, without any additional tax in-

crease. The annual operating cost of this plan has been

estimated at $5,000,000. This plan therefore is

economically feasible without the increase in class

size or decrease in established programs.

V. The Plan to be Implemented

The Court has carefully considered the various con-

cepts suggested in the plans briefly summarized

above, and finds that the following tools will be most

46 The administration and staff of the DISD need to work out the

details of this plan.

30a

effective in addressing and solving the problem of

vestiges which remains in this large urban district of

ours.

A. The Subdistrict Concept

Several experts, including the plaintiffs’ Dr.

Charles Willie, testified that with a city as large as

Dallas, a series of subdistricts (each with elementary,

middle, and high schools) is more effective than one

large district. This will give parents and students a

sense of community and control over their schools,

which the Supreme Court has recognized as so impor-

tant to the successful functioning of our schools.

No single tradition in public education is more

deeply rooted than local control over the

operation of schools; local autonomy has long

been thought essential both to the

maintenance of community concern and sup-

port for public schools and to quality of the

educational process. See Wright v. Council of

the City of Emporia, 407 U.S. 451, at 469. Thus,

in San Antonio School District v. Rodriguez,

4110U.S. 1,50(1973), we observed that !ocal con-

trol over the educational process affords

citizens an opportunity to participate in

decision-making, permits the structuring of

school programs to fit local needs, and en-

courages “experimentation, innovation, inda

healthy competition for educational ex-

cellence.”

Milliken v. Bradley, 418 U.S. 717, at 742 (1973).

Moreover, it helps minimize the transportation dis-

3la

tance and time, since this is limited to each sub-

district.*’

Each subdivision will approximate the racial

makeup of the DISD as a whole, with the exception of

South Oak Cliff.48 Due to the geographic layout of the

DISD, and the factors of time and distance, this South

Oak Cliff area was left predominantly black in every

plan proposed to the Court, with the exception of

Plaintiffs’ Plan A, which proposed to establish an ex-

act racial balance in every school and which would

‘ have necessitated the transportation of 49,000

students. The Court is of the opinion that, given the

practicalities of time and distance, and the fact that the

DISD is minority Anglo, this subdistrict must

necessarily remain predominantly minority or black.

However, this does not mean that the goal of equal

educational opportunity for all cannot be achieved. In

terms of facilities, Dr. Hall testified that with the ex-

ception of Budd and Harllee Elemer tary Schools and

the site at Roosevelt High School, the facilities in this

area can be categorized as superior. Additionally, Dr.

Hall testified that the environment in which each

center is located, i.e., the property immediately adja-

cent to the schools, as well as the residential area

47 Magnet schools would be on a city-wide basis, however.

48 Estimates show that the racial makeup would be as follows:

Anglo Black Mexican-American

1. Northwest 44% 39% 16%

Il. Northeast 41% 42% 17%

III. Southeast 46% 46% 8%

IV. South Oak Cliff 98% 2%

V. Southwest 42% 27% © 31%

32a

served by them, can be classified as superior. Dr. Hall

testified that educational opportunities in terms of

facilities or programs would not be improved by com-

plete redistribution of all pupils, and in some

situations, they would be lessened.

With the renovation of some of the facilities in this

area, this subdistrict could be a model for the district

and the nation, and attract Anglos to it on the basis of

its superior programs and facilities.

B. The K-3 Diagnostic-Prescriptive Concept

The Court adopts the Dallas Alliance’ concepts

regarding grades K-3 for a number of reasons. As the

Supreme Court observed in Swann, the most impor-

tant factor to consider in implementing a transporta-

tion plan is the age of the children in relation to the

time and distance travelled. Dr. Estes testified that the

DISD’s plan left the K-3 grades in the schools nearest

their homes due to the fact that the children had not

matured sufficiently to cope with the problems of safe-

ty and fatigue associated with significant transporta-

tion. The Court finds that this conclusion is sound, in

terms of age, health, and safety of children in grades

K-3.

Furthermore, there appears to be no deprivation of

the right of the minorities to equal educational oppor-

tunities on the K-3 level. As Dr. Chase testified, the

disparity, if any, is in favor of the lower socio-

economic areas on the K-3 level, due to the special

programs and «fforts of the DISD in those areas.

33a

Finally, the diagnostic-prescriptive concept so

successfully used in California will insure that

children everywhere in the district will be afforded

equal educational opportunity and that any remain-

ing vestige of a dual system (if it in fact exists on the

K-3 level) will be eliminated.

C. The 4-8 Central Area Concept

The concept of locating grades 4-8 close to the center

of each Area or Subdistrict is based on pragmatic con-

siderations. Transportation distance and time will be

minimized for all students in these grades, no matter

where they live in each subdistrict. By bringing all

students in each subdistrict together in these grades,

the plan assures that no group is deprived of equal

educational opportunity. By locating special magnet

programs in the South Oak Cliff area in grades 4-8,

this area will attract students of all races from the dis-

trict as a whole, and will insure that this area is not de-

prived of educational opportunities.

D. The 9-12 Magnet Concept

The magnet concept, widely used in other school dis-

tricts, attracts students because of special career,

vocational, or other programs that the magnet school

offers. It is undisputed that the Skyline Career

Development Center, which offers a myriad of career-

oriented programs, is a model for the nation and that it

demonstrates the success magnet schools can have in

drawing students of all races and in offering quality

education for all.‘

49 The student body at Skyline presently reflects an ethnic pop-

ulation of approximately 60% Anglos, 33% blacks and 6%

Mexican-Americans.

34a

Moreover, this Court must adopt a plan which

promises to be effective in eliminating the vestiges of

a dual system. The Court is convinced that the magnet

school concept on the 9-12 grade level will be more

effective than the assignment of students to achieve a

certain percentage of each race in each high school.

The Court tried this method of student assignment in

1971, and it has not proven wholly successful in

achieving the goal of eliminating the vestiges of a

dual system in these grades. The evidence shows that

of approximately 1,000 Anglos ordered to be

transported to formerly all-black high schools under

this Court’s 1971 student assignment plan, fewer than

50 Anglo students attend those schools today.

Whatever the cause might be for the non-attendance of

Anglos in those schools today,®° this Court finds that it

can in no way be attributed to official actions on the

part of school authorities.

50 Asaresultofthe offer of evidence of the Curry intervenors, the

battle of the sociological experts developed. The Curry inter-

venors took the position that a “forced busing” order would cause

resegregation anda further reduction of the Anglo student popula-

tion of the DISD. Plaintiffs responded that desegregation orders,

even those including “forced busing,” are not the prime factor ina

decrease in Anglo school population. Whatever may be the

strength or weakness of the opinions of these experts and the bases

on which such opinions were reached, the fact remains that in the

DISD between the 1971 desegregation order and today the Anglo

student population has decreased by approximately 40,000. It is a

well-settled principle of law that “the vitality of these constitu-

tional principles cannot be allowed to yield simply because of dis-

agreement with them.” Brown II, at 300. Nevertheless, this Court

cannot control the prejudice or anti-busing sentiment which

might exist in the minds of some private individuals. The mandate

of the Supreme Court is to adopt the plan which promises

realistically to be most effective, and after our experience with the

9-12 level, this Court is of the opinion a magnet school approach

will accomplish this goal. See Mapp v. Board of Education, 525

F.2d 169 (1975).

35a

While some blacks are still transported today to

previously all-Anglo schools, these students could

continue to do so under the majority to minority

program, or could attend any magnet high school in

the district. It should also be noted that changes in

demographic patterns have resulted in the drastic

reduction of predominantly Anglo high schools in the

DISD.

The most realistic, feasible, and effective method for

eliminating the remaining vestiges of a dual system

on the 9-12 level, and for providing equal educational

opportunity without regard to race, is the institution

of magnet schools throughout the DISD. In this way,

students of all races will join in working in areas of

their special interest. Although these magnet schools

cannot be created with the wave of a wand, they can be

established at an accelerated pace with the help, finan-

cial and otherwise, of the business community of

Dallas. The Court requests and sincerely believes that

the business community will provide its resources

and talents to help the DISD in this way. The Adopt-a-

School program, presently operated by the DISD and

such majorcorporations as Xerox and Bell Telephone,

provides an example of what can be achieved through

the cooperation of DISD administrators and educators

on the one hand, and the business, educational, and

cultural communities on the other hand. With the crea-

tion of this network of magnet schools, there can be no

doubt that all vestiges of a dual system are eliminated.

36a

E. The Concept of Naturally Integrated Areas

As mentioned above, there is a substantial number

of schools in the DISD in which the racial makeup of

the student population reflects naturally integrated

housing patterns. Two groups of intervenors repre-

sent parents and students living in several of these

residentially integrated areas — namely the Strom in-

tervenors, representing Western Oak Cliff and Plea-

sant Grove, and the Brinegar intervenors, represen-

ting East Dallas. These intervenors maintain that

where integration in schools has been achieved

through natural housing patterns, the present student

assignments should be retained, since no vestiges of a

dual system remain in these areas. The Court is in

agreement with this concept. There is no denial of the

right of educational opportunity in these areas, and, as

all parties recognized, there would be no benefit,

educational or otherwise, in disturbing this trend

toward residential integration.5!

F. The Concept of Accountability

As The Supreme Court recognized in Green, supra

at 439, ‘“‘whatever plan is adopted will require evalua-

tion in practice... .”

A system of accountability performs three general

functions:

51 The Brinegar intervenors pointed up the fact that since the

Dallas Alliance plan does not yet detail student assignments, it is

difficult to determine its impact on the integrated areas. The Court

recognizes this problem, and will provide a one-week period after

the student assignment portions of the plan are filed with the Court

as hereinafter directed, for recommended modifications. if any,

regarding the naturally integrated areas.

37a

1) it informs the Superintendent and the

School Board how the administration is

responding to the goals and objectives of

the plan;

2) it provides the Court with an objective

evaluation of the DISD’s compliance with

the ordered plan;

3) it informs the citizenry and serves as a

tool for constructive input.

The Court is adopting the Alliance plan’s concepts

of accountability. Regarding the internal monitor, it

will be acceptable for the DISD’s Research and

Development Department*® to report to the Court. This

report shall be on December 15 and April 15 of the year,

until a showing that a unitary system has been

achieved. This report should include:

1. The number and percentage of pupils by

ethnicity attending each educational

center, including magnet schools.

2. The number and percentage of pupils by

ethnicity being transported for desegrega-

tion purposes.

3. The number and percentage of pupils by

ethnicity obtaining majority to minority

transfers (including the exception for

Mexican-American students).

4. The number and percentage of teachers by

ethnicity assigned full time in each

educational center.

52 If the DISD wishes to develop some other monitor or unit to

report to the Court, it is free to do so. .

38a

5. The number and percentage of new

teachers, administrators, and teacher

aides by ethnicity engaged by the DISD.

6. The current status of capital outlay pro-

jects.

7. The status of Early Childhood Education

program.

8. The results of the annual standardized

achievement tests program by school,

grade, and ethnicity (April 15 report only).

9. Efforts made by the system to successfully

-implement the order of this Court in the

following areas:

a. Parent involvement efforts

b. Staff development activities

c. Communications and community

relations programs

d. Student leadership training programs

(April 15 report only).

Subject to the approval of the selection by the Court,

the DISD shall also secure the service of an indepen-

dent professional firm to evaluate compliance with

this order and the efforts to achieve a unitary system

by the DISD. Such report should be filed with the Court

annually on April 15, until a showing is made that a

unitary system has been achieved. The criteria for

monitoring suggested by the Alliance plan should be

used as guidelines for this external monitor.

The Tri-Ethnic Committee established by the

Court's 1971 order has served as community monitor

for the Court, the School Board, Superintendent, and

39a

the public regarding compliance with that order. The

Tri-Ethnic Committee will continue its efforts in this

regard with the same powers, duties, and respon-

sibilities provided in the Court’s 1971 order except that

it is relieved of any duty to select independent evalua-

tion services from outside the DISD.

Finally, the Court is aware of the fact that

demographic changes may necessitate revisions in

student assignments in the future. Therefore the Court

will retain Dr. Josiah Hall as an advisor to the Court

and may call on him to recommend revisions or to

review recommendations of the DISD regarding

future student assignment.

G. Personnel Concepts

It is well-settled that school administration and per-

sonnel play an important role in the achievement of a

unitary school system. Administrators and personnel

must be responsive to the needs of all racial groups,

and must not discriminate against any group on the

basis of race. In order to achieve and maintain a truly

unitary DISD, the Court is adopting the personnel con-

cepts of the Alliance plan. The Court is aware that

training programs for teachers, principals and ad-

ministrators already exist in the DISD. Naturally,

these programs should be continued.

H. Majority to Minority Transfer Concept

None of the parties dispute the usefulness of this

tool in providing educational opportunity without

regard to race. This program will remain in effect for

40a

all grade levels under the guidelines presently utiliz-

ed by the DISD,53 with the exception that minority to

majority transfers will be allowed in instances where

Mexican-Americans comprise less than 5% of the

originally assigned school. This exception will be al-

lowed in order that the bi-lingual education program

will be available to all Mexican-American students

who need it.

VI. Conclusion

The DISD has acted in good faith since this Court's

order in 1971 and has made reasonable efforts to fulfill

the obligations imposed by that order. The DISD has

further taken good faith steps to eradicate inequality

in educational opportunity which has previously ex-

isted in the DISD. Had the DISD not shown a

willingness to improve the quality of education forall

its students, and especially those in the minority ar“«as

which previously had been neglected, this Court

might feel impelled to adopt a different remedy.

However, the vestiges of a dual system remaining in

the DISD can be realistically and effectively

eradicated by the implementation of the plan adopted

herein. This will not mean that the DISD will be

perfect, for school districts are run by mere mortals,

and judicial decrees can make them no more. It will

mean that the DISD has fulfilled its obligation, under

the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment to the Constitution, that state-supported

educational opportunity be afforded without regard to

race.

53 The use of the four-day school week for majority to minority

transfer students shall be discontinued.

4la

Accordingly, it is ORDERED by the Court that the

modified plan of the Educational Task Force of the

Dallas Alliance filed with the Court on March 3, 1976,

is hereby adopted as the Court’s plan for removal of all

vestiges of a dual system remaining in the Dallas In-

dependent School District, and the school district is

directed to prepare and file with the Court a student

assignment plan carrying into effect the concept of

said Task Force plan no later than March 24, 1976.

/s/ W.M. TAYLOR, JR.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT

JUDGE

MARCH 10, 1976

Appendix A

Ethnic Composition of the DISD

. . °

Pa, Bes BT Wek ee es oe .

j= BE Bo Pe Re Re Be re FL .

american

1595

1955

1822

1648

1608

1672

1504

1532

1438

1286

1259

936

634

18889

Mexican-

Be ae Re Rs BO Pe

Jr. High

Atwell

Browne

Cary

Comstock

Florence

Franklin

Gaston

Greiner

Hill

Hood

Hulcy

Long

Marsh .

Rusk

Rylie

Spence

Stockard

Walker

Ethnic Percentages for Integrated

43a

Appendix B

Dallas Jr. High Schools

Anglo

82.0%

34.6%

97.6%

45.0%

89.0%

63.0%

90.5%

24.1%

96.8%

73.3%

98.3%

75.2%

96.9%

76.7%

85.6%

50.7%

98.1%

83.2%

96.9%

66.0%

92.4%

16.2%

85.4%

63.2%

97.9%

84.6%

45.9%

25.3%

96.5%

91.5%

24.4%

20.6%

84.6%

60.8%

81.2%

78.2%

Mexican-

American

1.1%

2.9%

1.7%

7.6%

7.9%

17.4%

8.0%

16.0%

2.9%

7.1%

0.5%

2.1%

2.9%

6.0%

13.5%

35.3%

1.6%

3.5%

3.1%

4.3%

6.9%

3.9%

8.9%

19.0%

1.2%

2.4%

29.4%

51.4%

3.2%

6.6%

39.8%,

53.3%

14.6%

32.1%

1.1%

0.9%

School

Bryan Adams

Adamson

Carter

Hillcrest

Jefferson

Kimball

No. Dallas

Samuell

Seagoville

Skyline

Spruce

Sunset

White

Wilson

44a

Dallas High Schools

Year

1970

1975

1970

1975

1970

1975

1970

1975

1970

1975

1970

1975

1970

1975

1970

1975

1970

1975

1970

1975

1970

1975

1970

1975

1970

1975

1970

1975

Anglo

99.2%

86.0%

73.3%

29.3%

96.6%

30.9%

98.6%

82.5%

92.0%

70.0%

96.6%

62.5%

30.0%

17.5%

97.8%

82.5%

79.7%

79.9%

94.0%

60.1%

96.5%

65.1%

88.8%

57.4%

98.3%

82.6%

88.8%

62.6%

Black

0.0%

7.6%

7.4%

48.9%

0.0%

65.2%

0.5%

15.0%

2.6%

19.3%

0.1%

28.6%

42.7%

30.8%

0.1%

12.0%

15.9%

15.4%

2.3%

33.6%

0.3%

26.9%

0.0%

8.5%

0.6%

14.8%

4.3%

19.9%

Ethnic Percentages for Integrated

Mexican-

American

0.6%

4.5%

16.8%

19.6%

3.1%

3.8%

0.7%

1.2%

5.2%

12.7%

2.9%

8.0%

28.6%

51.2%

2.1%

5.3%

4.3%

4.5%

3.0%

5.9%

3.2%

7.5%

9.4%

33.0%

0.9%

1.9%

6.5%

15.9%

45a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

DALLAS 75242

W. M. TAYLOR, JR.

Chief Judge

March 15, 1976

TO COUNSEL:

Re: Tasby vs. Estes

CA 3-4211-C

Ladies and Gentlemen:

I enclose herewith Supplemental Order this day

entered in the above case. You are advised that the last

line of this Order referring to the desegregation plan

for the DISD contemplates that the student assign-

ment and non-student assignment aspects will be em-

bodied in the Court’s Final Order.

Yours very truly,

/s/ W. M. TAYLOR, JR.

W. M. Taylor, Jr.

Enc.

SUPPLEMENTAL ORDER

(Number and Title Omitted)

Filed: Mar. 15, 1976

During the process of fleshing out the Court’s order

of March 10, 1975, some questions have arisen regard-

46a

ing the Court's adoption of the Dallas Alliance's plan.

So that there is no misunderstanding in this regard,

the Court intended by the order of March 10 to adopt the

concepts suggested by the plan of the Educational

Task Force of the Dallas Alliance. The staff of the

school district shall take these concepts and adapt

them to fit the characteristics of the Dallas Indepen-

dent School District. The Court recognizes that during

this process, a certain amount of flexibility is

necessary. The Court expects the school district to put

into effect the concepts of the Dallas Alliance plan.

The specifics of the desegregation plan for the DISD

will be embodied in the Court's Final Order which will

be entered in approximately two weeks.

/s/ W. M. TAYLOR, JR.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT

JUDGE

SUPPLEMENTAL OPINION AND ORDER

(Number and Title Omitted)

Filed: Apr. 7, 1976

The Court has before it two motions to alter or

amend its March 10, 1976, opinion and order, sub-

mitted by the Defendant DISD and by the Plaintiffs.

The Court also has before it comments of the Brinegar

and Strom intervenors regarding the student assign-

47a

ment plan submitted by the DISD on March 24, 1976.

The Court will not address the comments of these in-

tervenors in this supplemental opinion, as they are

dealt with in the Final Order entered this date in this

case. The Court does feel it necessary, however, to re-

spond to the motions of the initial parties to this

proceeding.

A. The DISD’s Motion

The DISD asks the Court te do two things: 1) approve

all aspects of the approach, guidelines, standards, and

interpretations made by the Defendants as to the stu-

dent assignment plan prepared and filed by the DISD

on March 24, 1976, and 2) accept the student assign-

ment plan as being in compliance with the Court’s

opinion and order of March 10, 1976.

As tothe first request, the Court is unable to approve

the DISD’s student assignment plan in toto. The Court

has received and thoroughly considered suggestions

made by various intervenors and by the Amicus

Curiae Educational Task Force of the Dallas Alliance

subsequent to the submission of the DISD’s student

assignment plan on March 24. The Court is of the opin-

ion that many of these suggestions have merit and

should be reflected in the student assignment plan.

The Court has thus modified the document submitted

by the DISD to incorporate many of these suggestions.

It has further incorporated modifications to the stu-

dent assignment plan which the Court deems

necessary in order that the spirit of the Dallas

Alliance’s plan will be implemented to the fullest ex-

tent possible. These changes appear in the Final Order

entered this day.

48a

Through its second request the DISD asks essential-

ly that the Court omit from the desegregation plan for

the DISD any reference to non-student assignment

matters, including course offerings, personnel,

facilities and provisions for accountability. The Court

will not hesitate to say that it taxes the Court’s

patience to have this objection raised again, after it

was overruled time after time during the hearings, and

after the Court specifically adopted the concepts em-

bodied in the Dallas Alliance’s plan regarding these

matters on March 10. If the Court’s response to this ob-

jection has not yet registered in the minds of the

Defendants, it is this: a student assignment plan can

not operate in a vacuum, anda unitary school system -

can not be achieved solely by mixing bodies. This

Court is bound by the Constitution and by the body of

caselaw in this field to see that the DISD provides

equal educational opportunity for all its students, and

the Court must necessarily be concerned about areas

other than student assignment when it carries out this

duty.

It is to be recalled that the Court’s 1971 Order con-

tained directives other than a bare-bones student

assignment plan. In 1971, this Court had occasion to

comment on the fact that the Fifth Circuit Court had

found it necessary to enter specific non-student

assignment orders to meet the many schemes and de-

vices that school boards practiced in order to evade

their constitutional obligation to provide equal

educational opportunity. Among these, of course,

were orders providing for desegregation of faculty

and staff, site-selection, transportation provided to

students, and course offerings. To indicate the extent

49a

to which Courts have found it necessary to go to insure

equal education, the Court would point out that in

Boston the Court found it necessary to appoint a

receiver to take over the operation of a school.

So that there can be no mistake about this matter the

Court will state once again: it has no interest in ‘“‘run-

ning the school district” or in playing the role of dic-

tator to the School Board or Dr. Estes and his staff.

However, the Court will not stand aside where the

DISD has been found to operate a dual school system

which discriminates between Anglo and minority

schools, as was found in 1971 and as was re-

emphasized in the disparity shown in Dr. Chase’s

report and other evidence introduced during the recent

hearings. The DISD must provide equal educational

opportunity for all its students, in non-student assign-

ment matters as well as in the area of student assign-

ment.

The DISD’s motion to alter or amend the Court’s

Opinion and Order of March 10 is therefore in all

respects denied.

B. The Plaintiffs’ Motion.

In its motion, the Plaintiffs ask the Court to amend

or Clarify its March 10 opinion in three areas: 1) its

finding regarding the Chase Report of a Study of In-

struction in the DISD 1974-75, 2) its finding regarding

K-3 children and their ability tc be transported for

desegregation purposes, and 3) its finding regarding

the good faith of the DISD after 1971.

50a

With regard to the first item, the Court is quite aware

that one of the central findings of the Chase Report

was that a disparity remains between the

predominantly Anglo centers and the predominantly

minority centers in the areas of (a) facilities, (b) staff-

ing patterns, and (c) educational offerings. The Court

adopted these findings of Dr. Chase on page 9 of its

Opinion when it said “. . . there is still a gap between

intent to provide equal educational opportunity and

the achievement of this goal.”

The Court is of the opinion that the DISD can and

must correct these disparities — that is what

“providing equal educational opportunity” is all

about. The Court believes that the plan entered this

date offers the greatest promise for actually insuring

that no child in the DISD is discriminated against in

the type of education he receives.

With regard to the second item, the Court will make

clear that there were a number of factors that influenc-

ed the Court to adopt the K-3 Early Childhood Educa-

tion concept using the diagnostic-prescriptive ap-

proach to early education. The primary reason for

adopting this approach is that the Court is convinced

that parental involvement and individualized instruc-

tion is invaluable at this age. The question of a child's

maturity and ability to cope with being transported

will of course vary with each child, and educators’

opinions vary as to what is a “reasonable” age to begin

transportation of children. Indeed, several educators,

including Dr. Hall, testified that children could be

transported as early as the first or second grade

without any detrimental effect. The Court is of the

5la

opinion however, that due to the educational benefits

inherent in the early Childhood Education program,

children in grades K-3 will be best served by having

the parental and community involvement which is

made possible by remaining in neighborhood schools.

Plaintiffs’ third request deals with the finding by the

Court that the DISD acted in good faith after 1971. By

that finding the Court showed its awareness of some of

the efforts of the DISD to provide better educational

opportunities for students in predominantly minority

schools. As Dr. Chase pointed out, some of the best

schools in this school system are in predominantly

minority areas. This is not to say, however, that the

DISD has accomplished everything that it could have

accomplished had it vigorously implemented the

“Confluence of Cultures” program. Nor: this to say

that disparity does not now exist between some

schools. And, in the light of recent actions of the

School Board which appear to seek the dilution of the

expressed intention of the Court regarding equal

educational opportunity, one wonders whether the es-

tablishment of a unitary school system and the provi-

sion of equal educational opportunity is in fact being

pursued in good faith.

The conduct of the School Board members and the

DISD administration in the months and years to come

will answer that question. This Court sincerely hopes

that every member of this community will have no

hesitation in saying that the DISD has implemented

this Order to the fullest extent and has done so in ut-

most good faith.

52a

The final Order this day entered answers some of

Plaintiffs’ suggestions regarding the plan to be im-

plemented, and this Supplemental Opinion and Order

is intended as aclarification, where deemed necessary

of the Court’s March 10 Opinion and Order.

C. Conclusion.

The Court believes that unique opportunity is

available to the DISD to desegregate without undue

disruption and at the same time to provide a mode] of

quality education for all. It is time for all parties to

cast a statesman-like eye on the future of Dallas in

light of the reality of the requirement to desegregate.

The success of a desegregation plan, like the future of

a city, is inmany respects a self-fulfilling prophecy. It

is time for all parties to look past the political ex-

pediency of the present to the hope of the future for

Dallas and to prophesy idealistically. The Court

strongly believes that the citizens of Dallas will join

hands in the joint pursuit of our common ideal — the

provision of an unsurpassed educational opportunity

for all the children of Dallas.

It is so ORDERED, this, the 7th day of April, 1976.

/s/ W. M. TAYLOR, JR.

United States District

Judge

53a

FINAL ORDER

(Number and Title Omitted)

Filed: Apr. 7, 1976

On March 10, 1976, after hearing evidence and

arguments of counsel, the Court entered an Opinion

and Order adopting the concepts embodied in the

desegregation plan of the Educational Task Force of

the Dallas Alliance. In order to carry out these con-

cepts, the School Board of the Dallas Independent

School District (DISD) is ORDERED and DIRECTED

to implement the following items:

I. Major Sub-Districts

The DISD shall utilize six sub-districts for

student assignment purposes with each hav-

ing approximately the racial makeup plus or

minus 5 percent of the DISD as a whole, with

the exception of East Oak Cliff (referred to

previously as South Oak Cliff) and Seagoville.

The boundaries for the six areas are as

follows:

1. Northwest Sub-District — The boundary

is the Dallas-Fort Worth Toll Road commen-

cing at the western boundary of the DISD and

extending east to Hampton Road; Hampton

Road north to Singleton; Singleton east to

Vilbig; Vilbig north to Morris; Morris east to

Sylvan; Sylvan north to the Trinity River; the

54a

Trinity River north to the Texas & Pacific

Railroad; east on the Texas & Pacific Railroad

and Pacific Street to Pearl Expressway; south

on Pearl Expressway to Commerce Street; east

on Commerce Street to the Santa Fe Railroad;

south on the Santa Fe Railroad to Central Ex-

pressway; northwest on Central Expressway

to Live Oak; northeast on Live Oak to Haskell;

southeast on Haskell to Swiss; northeast on

Swiss to Beacon; northwest on Beacon to

Lindell; west on Lindell to Hubert; north on

Hubert to Lewis; west on Lewis to Greenville;

north on Greenville to Miller; west on Miller to

McMillan; north on McMillan to the alley

between Morningside and McCommas; west on

the alley between Morningside and McCom-

mas to Central Expressway; north on Central

Expressway to Lovers Lane; east on Lovers

Lane to Skillman; sovth on Skillman to the

Missouri-Kansas-Texas Railroad; east on the

Missouri-Kansas-Texas Railroad to Abrams

Road; south on Abrams Road to Mockingbird

Lane; northeast on Mockingbird Lane to

Whiterock Creek.

2. Northeast Sub-District — The western

boundary of the northeast sub-district is the

same as the eastern boundary of the north-

west sub-district. The southern boundary is

the Trinity River from the Dallas-Fort Worth

Toll Road southeast on the Trinity River to the

Central Expressway (U.S.75); north on Central

Expressway to Harding; northeast on Hard-

ing to Brigham; southeast on Brigham to spur

55a

railroad; east on spur railroad to Rosine;

northwest on Rosine to Pine; northeast on Pine

to Electra; northwest on Electra te Rutledge;

northeast on Rutledge to Scyene; east on

Scyene to Spring; northeast on Spring to

Cross; northwest on Cross to Fitzhugh; north-

east on Fitzhugh to Seattle; northwest on Seat-

tle to Birmingham; northeast on Birmingham

to Texas & Pacific Railroad; southeast on Tex-

as & Pacific Railroad to Foreman; southwest

on Foreman (extended) to Scyene; east on

Scyene to Buckner; north on Buckner to

Military Parkway; east on Military Parkway

to eastern boundary of DISD.

3. Southeast Sub-District — The northern

boundary of the southeast sub-district is the

same as the southern boundary of the north-

east sub-district. The western boundary begin-

ning at Central Expressway and the Trinity

River; southeast along the Trinity River to the

northern boundary of the Seagoville area;

eastward along the northern boundary of the

Seagoville area to the DISD boundary.

4. East Oak Cliff Sub-District — The

eastern boundary of the East Oak Cliff sub-

district begins at the District line and the

Trinity River and extends northwesterly

along the Trinity River to Interstate 35; In-

terstate 35 south to DISD boundary.

5. Southwest Sub-District — The eastern

boundary of the southwest sub-district is the

II.

56a

same as the western boundary of the East Oak

Cliff sub-district and the northern boundary is

the same as the southern boundary of the

northwest sub-district.

6. Seagoville Sub-District — The northern

boundary of the Seagoville area is Jordan and

Alexander Roads extended to the District

boundary.

Student Assignment Criteria Within Sub-

Districts

The following criteria shall be used to incor-

porate the concepts embodied in the Court's

Opinion and Order of March 10, 1976:

1. The DISD is divided into six sub-

districts, reflecting generally the Northwest,

Northeast, Southeast, East Oak Cliff,

Southwest, and Seagoville geographical sec-

tions of the District.

2. With the exception of East Oak Cliff and

Seagoville, the Anglo combined minority ratio

of the DISD is approximated in each sub-

district plus or minus five percent.

3. Grade level configurations are standar-

dized throughout the district to include grade

K-3 Early Childhood Education Centers, grade

4-6 Intermediate Schools, grade 7-8 Middle

Schools, and grade 9-12 High Schools. Certain

buildings house K-3 Early Childhood Educa-

tion Centers and 4-6 Intermediate Schools.

57a

4. Where possible, present student

assignments are retained in naturally in-

tegrated areas, but grade configurations are

standardized.

5. Students are assigned to school build-

ings appropriate to their age and number and

to program needs, with relocatable buildings

being used where necessary.

6. Students in kindergarten and grades 1-3

are assigned according to present elementary

assignment patterns except that K-3 students

in Booker T. Washington have been assigned

to Wm. B. Travis, and K-3 students in S'ephen

F. Austin have been assigned to David

Crockett. If there is no school within two miles,

Students are assigned to the next nearest ap-

propriate school.

7. Generally students in grades 4-8 are as-

signed to centers in areas of centrality. A less

central location is used where the location will

meet the ethnic makeup of the sub-district or

where facilities requirements prohibit a more

central location.

8. Transportation distance and time are

minimized to the extent possible.

9. Voluntary enrollment, District-wide, is

provided in Vanguard schools for grades 4-6,

in Academies for grades 7-8, and in magnet

schools for grades 9-12.

Ill.

58a

10. Attention is focused on Vanguard and

Academy programming available in the East

Oak Cliff sub-district on the 4-8 level.

11. For students in grades 9-12 who do not

desire to attend a comprehensive magnet high

school or participate in one of the transfer

programs, the traditional high school in their

regular attendance zone will constitute their

assigned school.

Appendix A, attached hereto, provides stu-

dent assignments for the 1976-1977 school

year, together with figures and percentages.

The K-3 Early Childhood Education Centers

The DISD shall provide a comprehensive

program of instruction in all areas based on

the developmental needs of young children

and the District’s Baseline Curriculum

Program. The K-3 approach shall be primarily

diagnostic-prescriptive. The approach in the

DISD Baseline Curriculum implementation

shal! include:

1. Individualization of instruction.

2. Principal and staff planning for im-

plementing the DISD Baseline Curriculum .

Program in each school, in conjunction with

parent advisory committees at each school

site.

3. Reduction of the adult-pupil ratio from

the existing district-wide ratio through tutor-

ing, the use of parents, other adult volunteers,

older students and the addition of paraprofes-

sionals. The adult-student ratio of 1-10 shall be

the goal to be achieved as rapidly as possible.

4. Continuation of a Staff Development

Program consistent with the State Board of

Education Plan and conducted to implement

the DiSD Baseline Curriculum, to meet early

childhood education needs and to further the

individualization of instruction. This training

shall involve parents in participating roles.

5. Effective partnerships with community

groups, business and other agencies which

serve young children.

6. Efforts to maximize the involvement of

parents in planning, reinforcing and com-

plementing their children’s learning.

7. Use of the local Early Childhood Educa-

tion Center as the administrative unit which

has primary responsibility for delivering

quality learning experiences.

In order to further develop, ~efine and extend

the District’s program for early childhood

education, the DISD will establish in 1976-1977

at least two exemplary development and

' demonstration Classes for children in the East

Oak Cliff sub-district. The DISD shall:continue

IV.

60a

to develop prototypic enrichment programs,

such as those at the Paul L. Dunbar and the

William B. Travis Centers, for K-3 students.

Booker T. Washington School, scheduled for

possible use as a Math-Science Magnet, shall

be closed as an elementary K-6 school and its

K-3 students reassigned to the Wm. B. Travis

School. Stephen F. Austin School, scheduled

for possible use as a Medical Professions

Magnet, shall be closed as an elementary K-6

school and its K-3 students reassigned to the

David Crockett School.

In order to give priority to all schools in East

Oak Cliff on the K-3 level, R. L. Thornton and T.

L. Marsalis Centers shall not be used in report-

ing or computing the comparability report

which is required by ESEA, Title I, of the Unit-

ed States Department of Health, Education and

Welfare, Office of Education, during 1976-77,

1977-78, and 1978-79.

The 4-8 Intermediate and Middle School

Centers

The DISD shall establish intermediate

school centers (4-6) and middle school centers

‘7-8). The instructional program in these 4-6

and 7-8 centers shall follow the DISD’'s

Baseline Curriculum. Each principal and his

staff shall develop, in conjunction with parent

advisory committees in his school, plans for

the implementation of this Baseline

Curriculum in his school.

6la

The DISD shall establish 4-6 Vanguard

schools and 7-8 Academies as needs are iden-

tified with first priority in the East Oak Cliff

area.

The 4-6 Vanguard schools shall include all

students presently enrolled. For those student

stations which remain, District-wide racial

ratios plus or minus 10% should apply with

first priority to the ethnic group(s) who are not

presently represented in the school by

District-wide ratio. These students may apply

from anywhere in the District.

Beginning with 1976-77 the DISD shall es-

tablish 4-6 Vanguard schools at Maynard

Jackson, Mark Twain, Sidney Lanier, and K.B.

Polk.

The 7-8 Academies shall reserve student

Stations for District-wide attendance as

follows: The number of Black, Mexican-

American and Anglo students in each

Academy shall equal the total student capaci-

ty of that school times the ratio of each group

of students in the 7-8 student population in the

Dallas Independent School District as of

December 1, 1975, plus or minus 10 percent.

Student stations shall be reserved for all

groups.

For an Academy which is an add-on to a

present school such as Oliver W. Holmes, the

program shall operate as a ‘“‘school within a

62a

school.” Students presently enrolled at

Holmes shall apply in the same manner as

students in other district schools. The “school

within a school” shall not as such have a par-

ticular attendance zone. All 7-8 Academies

shall have a District-wide attendance zone.

Beginning with 1976-77 the DISD shall es-

tablish 7-8 Academies at Pearl C. Anderson,

Sequoyah and Oliver Wendell Holmes.

In order to implement the Court’s Order

regarding 4-6 Vanguard schools and 7-8

Academies, these centers shall not be used in

reporting or computing the comparability

report which is required by ESEA, Title /, of

the United States Department of Health,

Education and Welfare, Office of Education,

during 1976-77, 1977-78, 1978-79.

9-12 Magnets and High Schools

The District shall establish at least four new

senior high magnets in 1976 and at least three

additional by 1979, as designated by DISD. The

DISD shall.continue its comprehensive

program at existing high school sites, as well

as career clusters at Skyline Career Develop-

ment Center, Pinkston, Adamson, and other

Career Development Centers. The new magnet

schools may be selected from the following as

examples:

1. A Math/Science Magnet at Booker T.

Washington

63a

2. A Child-Related Careers Magnet at City

Park Elementary

3. A Health Professions Magnet utilizing

Baylor Hospital facilities and Stephen F.

Austin facilities

4. ACreative Arts Magnet utilizing Fair Park

facilities and James Madison facilities

5. A Business and Management Academy

utilizing facilities in the Central Business

District and Crozier Technical High

School facilities

6. A Language-Linguistic and Humanities

Magnet in cooperation with the El Centro

campus of the Dallas County Community

College District

7. A Transportation Technology Institute

utilizing former automobile sales and ser-

vice facilities where available in the down-

town area

8. A Comprehensive Aerospace and

Transportation Magnet at Love Field.

Final decisions regarding these magnet

programs shall be made by DISD after

consultation with the Career Advisory Com-

mittee or other appropriate committee es-

tablished by the Dallas Chamber of Commerce.

The DISD has the right to make adjustments in

the future in programs and building locations,

subject to the requirements regarding new

construction in Paragraph XIII.

64a

The 9-12 Magnet High School programs

shall be available on a voluntary basis on a

full-time or part-time transfer basis for three

years beginning 1976-77. Beginning 1979-80

the DISD shall require full-time attendance in

comprehensive High Schools associated with

any Magnet program. This shall apply to all 9-

12 Magnet programs including those at

Skyline. Students may transfer freely from

district high schools on a term by term basis.

Any student who enters the 9-12 Magnet

programs during this three year period may, if

he/she desires, continue on a part-time basis

until graduation.

Much of the academic work associated witha

high school diploma may of necessity be of-

fered at a central location until an adequate

number of full-time students have enrolled

(estimated 400) to make an academic program

cost effective.

The number of Black, Mexican-American

and Anglo students in each Magnet com-

prehensive High School shall equal the total

student capacity of that school times the ratio

of each group of students in the 9-12 student

population in the Dallas Independent School

District as of December 1, 1975, plus or minus

ten percent. Student stations shall be reserved

for all groups.

The Skyline, Adamson, and Pinkston High

Schools shali continue to operate as com-

prehensive high schools with regular atten-

dance zones.

As a policy these Magnet High Schools of

superior quality should be opened as rapidly

as they fill, so as to accommodate all students

who wish to enter the Magnet High School sys-

tem. In other words, the seven called for above

by 1979-80 are a minimum.

When new campuses and facilities are

developed, as provided in Paragraph XIII,

provision shall be made for a comprehensive

High School program including all extra-

curricula activities. In addition In-

terscholastic League rules shall be provided

so as to enable pupils attending Magnet High

Schools to participate fully in Interscholastic

League activities.

Tenth and eleventh grade students enrolled

in any high school during 1975-76 within the

Dallas Independent School District may, in

1976-77 and 1977-78, choose to continue to at-

tend that high school until graduation. If

students were transported by the district in

1975-76, transportation will be continued for

these two years.

Students presently in grades 10-11 and their

parents must be informed in writing about

their program and school options prior to the

end of the 1975-76 school year. This informa-

tion shall provide as a minimum the following

options:

A. That a student may continue in the

school he or she is presently attending,

or

B. That a student may attend the Magnet

school of his or her choice, or

C. That a student may elect to transfer un-

der the Majority to Minority provisions,

or

D. That a student may attend school desig-

nated as his or her regular attendance

zone,

If, after the 1976-77 school year, an area high

school is designated as a magnet comprehen-

sive high school, students enrolled in that

school may choose to attend any school in the

DISD. An exception is that the student may not

select a high school which is already in-

tegrated such that ii upsets the racial balance

of that school as hereinabove provided in

Paragraph Il. The school the student selects

becomes his/her assigned high school.

In order to implement this Court's order

regarding 9-12 Magnet schools, these centers

shall not be used in reporting or computing the

comparability report which is required by

ESEA, Title I, of the United States Department

of Health, Education and Welfare, Office of

Education during 1976-77, 1977-78, 1978-79.

VI.

67a

Special Programs

A. Career Education

The DISD shall continue to implement its

career education plan, Grades 1-12, as rapidly

as possible.

B. Bilingual Education

1. The present Bilingual Program based on

the State Board of Education Plan shall be ex-

panded as rapidly as possible to all pupils in

grades K-6. State Senate Bill 121 shall serve as

reference-guideline for this program's ver-

tical (grade level) and horizontal (school site)

expansion.

2. English-as-a-Second Language (ESL)

programming shall be expanded as rapidly as

possible to serve all Spanish-monolingual

students, especially in grades 7-8 and 9-12.

C. Multicultural Social Studies Education

The DISD shall provide multicultural social

studies educational programs for students in

all grade levels.

D. Plan A Program

1. The Plan A Program now being provided

by the DISD shall be administered according

VI.

to the State Board of Education Plan and

Guidelines.

2. Students who require special instruc-

tional techniques and arrangements by reason

of handicapping conditions shall be served by

the DISD’s special educational program, con-

sistent with the State Board of Education Plan

and Guidelines.

Majority to Minority Transfer

The DISD shall fully advise all students of

this program and encourage participation in

it.

1. Prior to the beginning of each school

year the District will determine for that par-

ticular school year the estimated racial com-

position of:

(a) its total K-3 Early Childhood Educa-

tion Center scholastic population.

(b) its total 4-6 Intermediate School

‘ Center scholastic population,

(c) its total Middle School Center

scholastic population,

(d) its total Senior High School

scholastic population,

by percentages between Black, Mexican-

American, and Anglo scholastics.

2. The terms “attendance Early Ciiildhood

Education Center,” “attendance Intermediate

School,” “attendance Middle School,” and

“attendance Senior High School,” as used

herein shall mean the particular school to

which the student would normally be as-

signed by the District in the absence of the

operation of a special assignment program,

permission, an order or a regulation, in-

cluding, but not limited to, the majority to

minority transfer provisions.

3. Any student assigned to a particular

attendance K-3 Early Childhood Education

Center serving kindergarten through third

grade in which the percentage of members of

his race is greater than the District-wide

percentage of members of his race for Early

Childhood Education Centers shall be per-

mitted to transfer to any Early Childhood

Education Center school in the School District

containing his grade level in which the percen-

tage of members of his race is less than the

District-wide percentage of his race for Early

Childhood Education Centers.

4. Any student assigned to a particular

attendance Intermediate School serving

fourth, fifth, and sixth graces in which the

percentage of members of his race is greater

than the District-wide percentage of members

of his race for Intermediate Schools shall be

permitted to transfer to any Intermediate

School in the District containing his grade

70a

level in which the percentage of members of

his race is less than the District-wide percen-

tage of members of his race for Intermediate

Schools.

5. Any student assigned to a particular

attendance Middle School serving seventh and

eighth grades in which the percentage of mem-

bers of his race is greater than the District-

wide percentage of members of his race for

Middle Schools shall be permitted to transfer

to any Middle School in the District containing

his grade level in which the percentage of

members of his race is less than the District-

wide percentage of members of his race for

Middle Schools.

6. Any student assigned to a particular

attendance Senior High School in which the.

percentage of members of his race is greater

than the District-wide percentage of members

of his race for Senior High Schools shall be

permitted to transfer to any Senior High

School in the District containing his grade

level in which the percentage of members of

his race is less than the District-wide percen-

tage of members of his race for Senior High

Schools. N

7. Students requesting Majority to Minori-

ty Transfers must do so prior to one week

before the beginning of the school year, and

must agree to attend that school for the entire

academic school year.

VIII.

IX.

7la

8. All transfers provided for in this section

Shall be permitted on the basis of student-

Station availability, and Majority to Minority

Transfers will be given preference over other

transfers.

9. A student’s disciplinary record shall not

constitute the basis for denying a Majority to

Minority Transfer, nor for sending him/her

back to a previously assigned school once this

transfer has been made. Any discipline

program shall be handled at the school to

which a student has transferred.

Minority to Majority Transfers

Mexican-Americans who comprise less than

five percent of the school to which they are

originally assigned, may transfer to a school

that offers the Bilingual Education Program.

Transfers provided in this section shall be per-

mitted on the basis of student-station

availability.

Curriculum Transfers

Students who are physically handicapped,

mentally retarded, highly gifted, those who

seek career education courses, and other

special-course students, shall be permitted to

attend those schools offering appropriate

facilities and courses; provided that all such

transfers shall be on a nondiscriminatory

basis. Such transfers shall be permitted on a

72a

space available basis with final decisions to be

made by the DISD.

Transportation

1. All students in the Dallas Independent

School District who are reassigned to a new

attendance zone or who choose to attend a

magr »t school as their assigned school by vir-

tue of this Court Order, shall be eligible to

receive free transportation provided by the

Dallas Independent School District.

2. Where at least twenty students from a

given community, zone, or point of origin will

be traveling to a single destination, for any

reason permitted under this Order, the DISD

shall provide transportation in the form of a

DISD bus.

3. Where the number of students moving to

a given designated school is less than twenty,

transportation shall be provided in the form of

special bus tokens or bus cards distributed

directly to the student involved to be used on

the regular Dallas Transit System (DTS)

routes.

4. When the combined one-way distance

between home to DTS-route and DTS-route to

school exceeds 2 miles, special arrangements

for transportation shall be made by DISD.

XI.

73a

5. For those students who are transported

under any of the provisions of this Court or-

der, in the event of emergencies or illness, the

school shall either arrange transportation to

home or make other appropriate accor:-

modations as deemed necessary by the schcui.

6. The District shall receive from the Tex-

as Education Agency the maximuni total base

cost for maintenance, operations, salaries, and

depreciation for each seventy-two passenger

bus needed to transport students, as required

by this Court order.

Changes in Attendance Zones

The DISD may adjust attendance zones and

reassign students as it determines to be

necessary to conform to building space re-

quirements from year to year so as to most

effectively utilize facilities and/or promote

further desegregation. For the 1976-1977

school year, adjustments will occur between

the following attendance zones:

Lenore K. Hall and Leslie A. Stemmons

Harrell Budd and Roger Q. Mills

David Crockett and William Lipscomb

William Lipscomb and Robert E. Lee.

ef DE

The DISD shall have the responsibility for in-

forming all residents of these areas of these ad-

justments.

XII.

74a

Before the beginning of the 1977-78 school

year, the DISD shall review all K-3 attendance

zones, and adjust them in order to achieve as

inuch natural integration as possible, with

pupils assigned two miles or less from their

home. If there is no school within two miles of

their home, then assign student to nearest

school which would promote integration, if in

so doing, the student would have to gono more

than four miles from home. Dr. Josiah Hall, the

Court’s expert, shall be retained to advise the

Court on these changes.

Demographic changes which occur subse-

quent to this total review and readjustment of

K-3 attendance zones will not be attributed by

the Court to “state action” of the DISD. Private

actions which preduce changes in housing

patterns after 1977-78 shall not be the basis for

mandating the DISD to redraw the K-3 atten-

dance zones to reflect any particular racial

balance.

Discipline and Due Process

Good order and discipline are essential to

good education and to the implementation of

this plan. The DISD, in concert with teachers,

principals and parents shall develop a clear

and simply-stated policy on student dis-

cipline, including provision for due process

procedures. All parents and students shall be

fully advised by the DISD of these rules and

regulations governing student conduct in the

XIII.

75a

classroom, in the school, and on the campus.

These rules, regulations, and due process

procedures shall be applied uniformly and

fairly without discrimination.

Facilities

The DISD shall continue to improve school

facilities in accordance with the plan which

the Board of Education has developed in con-

sultation with the Task Force for Educational

Excellence.

In addition, the DISD shall take immediate

steps to construct a new magnet comprehen-

sive Lincoln High School in South Dallas.

The DISD shall make improvements in the

facilities at North Dallas.

The DISD shall begin immediate construc-

tion of a new K-3 facility and community

center in West Dallas for the Juarez-Douglass

area. Benito Juarez and Fred Douglass shall

remain open to serve grades K-2 and K-3

respectively until the new school is opened.

The DISD shall have as a priority the

development of a “central core’ of high

schools within a two mile distance from the in-

ner highway loop (Central Expressway on the

east, East Thornton Expressway on the south,

Stemmons Expressway on the west, Woodall

Rogers Freeway on the north).

76a

XIV. Personnel

A. Recruiting and Employment

1. The DISD shall develop recruiting and

employment policies to insure that competent

personnel are employed and that by 1979-1980

the percentages of Black and Mexican-

American personnel approximate the percen-

tages, as a minimum, of 31% Black and 8%

Mexican-American within each of the follow-

ing groups:

a. teachers

b. principals

c. other certificated professional per-

sonnel (excluding the 142 top

salaried administrators mentioned

below).

2. For the top salaried administrative

positions of coordinator and above (currently

established at 142 in number) and for any

future reorganization covering these 142 top

positions, the following ethnic percentages for

these positions ‘are to be achieved by

September 1, 1979: 44% Anglo, 44% Black, and

12% Mexican-American. The DISD shall

achieve one-third of this transition by

September 1, 1977, one-third by September 1,

1978, and the final one-third by September 1,

1979. A variance of 5% in the percentages for

this top-salaried group shall be permitted. At

all times after September 1, 1979, the

77a

Anglo/Black percentages are to remain equal.

However, both will decrease if the percentage

of the Mexican-American enrollment in the

DISD increases above 12%. (For example, if

the Mexican-American enrollment increases

to 14%, Anglo and Black would each decrease

to 43%.)

3. The DISD may rely on expanded scope of

positions, lateral reassignments, promotion

and attrition to meet the goals of the above two

paragraphs. If there is to be a reduction in the

number of principals, teachers, teachers aids,

or other staff employed by the DISD which will

result in a dismissal or demotion of any such

staff member, the staff member to be dismissed

or demoted must be selected on the basis of ob-

jective and reasonable non-discriminatory

standards from among all the staff of the

school district. Under no circumstances will

staff be terminated or promoted solely on the

basis of race.

B. Personnel Competence Assessment

The competence of personnel shall con-

tinually be assessed in accordance with

policies and procedures established by the

DISD.

C. Teacher and Principal Assignments

Assignments for teachers and principals

shall be made in accordance with Singleton v.

Jackson Municipal Separate School District,

XV.

78a

419 F.2d 1211 (5th Cir. 1970). However, if the

needs assessment of a given school clearly

demonstrates that special circumstances exist

and that deviations from the above re-

quirements are necessary in order to best staff

and administer the programs in predominate-

ly minority schools on such programs as

special, vocational and bilingual education, in

any school, the DISD shall have the discretion

to assign minority teachers to these schools at

variance with the respective percentages es-

tablished by Singleton.

D. Training

In depth training of teachers, principals and

administrators shall be provided as needed to

implement this plan. Attendance shall be re-

quired.

Accountability System and Auditor

A. Internal Accountability

The DISD shall file a report with the Court on

December 15 and April 15 annually through

the school year 1978-79 which includes the

following:

1. The number and percentage of pupils by

ethnicity attending each educational center,

including Vanguard schools, Academies and

Magnet high schools

79a

2. The number and percentage of pupils by

ethnicity being transported for desegregation

purposes to 4-6 and 7-8 centers and to

Vanguard schools, Academies and Magnet

high schools

3. Majority to Minority transfers:

a. The number and percentage of pupils

by ethnicity and by school par-

ticipating in this program

b. The transportation facilities

available and convenience of

transportation

c. Efforts made by the DISD to increase

participation in this program.

4. The number and percentage of Mexican-

American pupils participating in the minority

to majority transfer program.

5. The status of the following programs:

a. The Early Childhood Education

Program (K-3)

b. 4-8 Vanguard and Academy

Programs

c. 9-12 Magnet Programs

(1) Efforts of the DISD to encourage

student enrollment in magnet

programs

80a

(2) Course offerings in each of the

magnet programs in operation

(3) The progress of increasing the

number of magnet schools and

their location in terms of the

timetable set forth in this order.

d. The Bilingual Program

e. The Multicultural Social Studies

Program

6. The number and percentage of teachers

by ethnicity assigned full time in each

educational center, including Vanguard

schools, Academies and Magnet schools.

7. The progress toward affirmative action

in attaining the recruiting and employment

goal, including tne number and percentage of

new teachers and administrators by ethnicity

engaged by the DISD.

8. The current status of capital outlay pro-

jects, and the allocation of bond issue funds in

relation to the priorities and programs estab-

lished by this order.

9. The results of the annual standardized

achievement tests program by school, grade

(grades 2, 4, 6, 8, 9 and 12), and ethnicity.

10. Efforts made by the DISD to success-

fully implement the Order of this Court, in the

following areas:

Sia

a. Parent involvement efforts

Staff development programs

c. Communications and community

relations programs

d. Student leadership training

programs

e. Safety and security (including due

process procedures).

B. External Educational Audit

An external educational auditor shall be

appointed and instructed by the Court. It shall

be a non-political, professional entity, ade-

quately funded, and paid for by the DISD. It

shall file a report with the Court annually on

June 1 until the 1978-79 school year which in-

cludes the following:

1. An audit of each item of the internal ac-

countability report

2. An audit of DISD treatment of a selected

sampling of predominantly minority and

predominantly Anglo centers (K-3 and 9-12

non-magnet centers) in terms of:

a. Condition of facilities

b. Educational offerings: course

offerings and teacher allocation

c. Educational resource allocation in

terms of textbooks, libraries, sup-

XVI.

82a

plies, tutoring efforts and aids, and

extracurricular offerings funded by

the DISD

d. Efforts of the DISD to implement

schoolsite planning involving prin-

cipals, teachers, parents and com-

munity in ECE program

e. Efforts to encourage parent andcom-

munity participation in the

educational process on the 9-12 level.

f. Any other items about which the

Court may instruct it.

The results of this external educational audit

shall be publicized in the DISD newsletter and

the complete audit shall be made available to

the public and to all parents or guardians of

students in the DISD. Any party to this suit

who desires to make comments or be heard

regarding the content of the internal account-

ability reports or the external educational

audit may file such comments or motion

within thirty days after the filing of the exter-

nal educational auditor’s report on June 1.

Tri-Ethnic Committee

The Tri-Ethnic Committee provided for in

the Court’s 1971 Order shall continue to

receive input from the community regarding

the desegregation of the DISD. The Committee

shall make reports to this Court at such times

as the Committee deems necessary. These

XVII.

83a

reports will advise the Court as to the im-

plementation of this Order, and such other

matters as the Court may deem to be proper. A

copy of all reports shall be provided to the

DISD and the Plaintiffs.

Tri-Ethnic Committee members shall be ap-

pointed by the Court for staggered two-year

terms beginning July 1, 1976. Lots shall be

drawn to determine which members will serve

for a one-year term beginning July 1, 1976,and

which members will serve for a two-year term

beginning July 1, 1976.

Retention of Jurisdiction

To the end that a unitary school shall be

achieved in the DISD, the United States Dis-

trict Court for the Northern District of Texas

retains jurisdiction of this case.

It is so ORDERED, this the 7th day of April,

1976.

/s/ W. M. TAYLOR, JR.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT

JUDGE

OSZ Sbb 0001 ¢ t S66 ebb 0 0 Bl[Tlostig “Je[A]L

OSz 8b9 0001 Cb 62 ¢'S6 619 0 0 @SOf ‘OLIVABN

008 SI eT Ze t VT 2 1°96 GLI ‘] ‘@ ‘1eA[OHeq

o0eT eee Le Ve Os 9° Zz £96 TIE § | 19QeD “] Wet Mm

008 481 V2 14 t -0- -0- 646 st | sieuztmM ‘OD Arse

008 122 186 . T’e9 ‘TAI ose S6 eT ¢ STABI] “G UWPIITIIM

00F bre 0'00T o'r € 0°66 IT -0- -0- Avu mM

008 9ET aid ST z & I 8°46 eet Jowevly inquy

002 ale S'6L *'S9 602 let tP S02 +9 uowsnoyY ues

008 80€ 6% ez ZL 9° z 126 662 Yo00H “Dd WoL

00F 84S b'€8 POL LOb O'eT GL 9°91 96 uluuvy soures

008 ELE 0'00T g I L'66 ZL -0- -0- wWeyieg erjeury

@ 008 9ST TL eT re 8S 6 6°26 Sbt | Aoleeq ‘g eB10eH

B OOLT 198 2'66 €'8 oe b'16 ogee g" t JOAIBD “M 03100

008 gts +66 ee LI 196 86h 9° € 1129 ‘dO

00% 6SE 6°62 162 $82 8° € 102 el | weyuog ‘g seurer

ose bor 186 6% € 2'S6 66 6'T Fe y1eg uowuryyiy

OOOT - 8bL 8°06 c'98 Lb9 eb ze 26 69 USITY ‘d eqQeH

008 C6 26 oT Fe 28 9T 8°06 LLI suIepy UBYIEN

% % ‘ON %y ON % ‘ON

‘deg

‘Spiq——sBI0L AVOUT V-W yoRlg o[suy [ooyos

€-oM

LSAUMHLYON

CTHLSIG-€NS LSAMHLYON

SEE NT LI A LINE ET ME NOL TF LOE ET ET NET SE EI IE MLL MLE A ETD: SIN I LT RTE PE TT EE OT S8 NTN LT NTR IEEE BREET OO

Sot tbr 64S vet 688'8T SbP L9L'29 Top 9966S IVLOL GNVUD

seco c'6I Lb 80 SFT SEE s'08 ape T e[[TAOZBEgG

LOv'LZ 186 8% €82 €°Se 20292 6T ats JID HBO 388g

Lee TIT L'8b ras) 866'LT gee Lee'9e Es ZIT'LS 1810,.L-qng

OLP'TZ 6 eb “Lk 999'T ase TSS‘L TLS eSe'et ysveyINOG

S662 €' bb 86 c9s'2 ose TTPO L'+S 6T0'9T {SBOYLION

ge si6'ee TIS a 4 86e'L 9°62 TEO'OT 68h 06S‘9T jSOMYPION

H eg9'92 O'’S Tee 691'9 6'0E bE2'S 0'9F ose'et {SeMYINOG

[870.1 % “UIN % V/N % yoelg % o[suy SOI1JSIP-qng

peurquiog

‘SMO[[OJ SB ST SomnS1y uoTyeindod [idnd Gz6et ‘Tt

Jequisceg 98Y} Surzipijn dnois o1uyje Aq gI-y Sepeid ‘svore xIs oy} 103 uoTye[ndod ttdnd ey y

V XIGNGddV

87a

NORTHWEST

Feeder Schools for 4-5-6 Centers

Pershing

Burnet

*

=

ae

>

so = =

GEsn -

=Eoo 2

eet os

LAO &

o= 3

ES: 5S

Sac 8

M200 OO

Walnut Hill

Caillet

- 3

= 3

Ze 2

df

gt 3

26 €

6

=

[+]

a.

6s

= o

ss ¢

~~ be re)

qa &

¢

n_-

zOorC

oo.

ae48

reee

~ c

< &

gszee LE -

n> n oo

o2?2?% Ww Mee

eeHSS SOD

Oe cero

*

=

= = 3

Ce 506

Stm> SSES

SaSS BBE

2 SEO sete

oO &@® hee

ETOO § Sx

Earhart/ Navarro*

Williams

Gooch

Williams

Maple Lawn

Earhart/ Navarro*

Field

Marcus

Allen, G.*

Marcus

Knight

Milam

Hotchkiss

Hotchkiss

Fannin

Polk

Assigned to more than one school

“urd 90:2 01 “We 00:2 WIOIy peprAocid aq [ITM SutwureiZ01g ‘sesodind uo

-g1So,Ut 10} peAresed oq [11M SUOTIBIS JUOPNIS OOE PUY [OOYOS preNFueA 9-h B 9q [11M [OOYSS AlOd AH +

‘9-C-p Sopes 10j SOTJBI OTUYIO OY} UT pepN[oUT 4OU oI¥ SJUEPMS E-H +

gg898888

BSFFF8 8s

9EL

209

stl

9'0F os Iz OLE Ile | b6S 6€€

SLs gos sie | O% oe zep CST

0°09 or 2 09 € OOF 02

8°29 st9 Let | et € z1e OO «68

Lee TIZ 369f 92 ra e9L 8s

92S TZ LI g’ss bre | bSb 6EE

es 16s 406 LOT | «8% o6t | Seb 062

16s sce sel | &&@ 98 60 IS1

0001 ) 0 OOOT 62 0 “0

0°09 raat - 88s Ole | OOP 6242

66S ses 92 | 19 oe Tor 83-6

b'0L 68h 9 | STZ sot | 96e 661

Les OL 6h L'9b ose | fob eee

Z0s ¢oe 49% | ot oot | e6b LE

66S Clb 9b | PST 601 TOb 806. BES

Lilt 96 60T | TSE wep | eS 26s

% % ‘ON % ‘ON % ‘ON

AyIOUIW VW yoelg ojsuy

9-S-F

LSAMHLYON

sot

ESE

ITH NUTeM

"] ‘) ‘sstqyoI0H

‘gq WeIW

‘O ‘W4sIuy

‘L ‘Pel

"T'S ‘SUIBTIIIM

‘a ‘qd ‘sieZ0y

MOTIOH UOWseld

os “SM “HIOd

‘f ‘f¢ ‘Buryqsieg

"H ‘snoivp]

ume] o[dey

‘MH ‘Mo[Tey3u07]

‘O'S ‘103804

‘'d ‘A ‘ITeRO

‘D ‘qd ‘euing

sf-M

[ooy9s

89a

NORTHWEST

Feeder Schools for 7-8 Grade Centers

NORTHWEST

Middle Schools

Minority

Black

Anglo

School

22.5

314

* Children enrolled in the program for the deaf are included.

Cary, Edward H.

Marsh, Thos. C.

Rusk, T. J.

Spence, Alex*

Walker, E. D.

Edward H. Cary Alex Spence

Foster Bonham

Burnet Fannin

Williams Travis (includes

Longfellow former B.T. Wash-

Polk ington zone)

Walnut Hill Milam

Field

Earhart/ Navarro*

E. D. Walker

Thomas C. Marsh Adams, N.

Dealey

DeGolyer Pershing

Cabell Withers (East of Midway)

Allen Carver/Tyler

Withers (West of Kramer

Midway) Hotchkiss

Gooch Rogers

Earhart/ Navarro* Preston Hollow

Ray

Carr

Thomas J. Rusk

Knight

Maple Lawn

Houston

Arlington Park

Marcus

Caillet

* Assigned to more than one school

NORTHWEST

Senior High Schools

9-12

Bldg.

Cap.

Total

Black

Anglo

School

Minority

%

3.8

%

No.

1.6

2.3

61

Jo

No.

2.2

20.1

38.1

68.2

38

465

620

1506

1.6

43

%

No.

4.9

96.1

96.2

68.4

17.2

1634

1583

280

08

1

2585

Hillcrest*

Thos. Jefferson

North Dallas

L. G. Pinkston**

W. T. White

High Scaool.

High School.

* The former Franklin school will house 450 ninth grade students from Hillcrest

** The former Edison schoo! will house 575 ninth grade students from L. G. Pinkston

Feeder Schools for Senior High Schools

Hillcrest

Dealey, G. B.

Hotchkiss, L. L.

Kramer, Arthur

Pershing, J. J.

Preston Hollow

Rogers, Dan

Thomas Jefferson

Burnet, David G.

Caillet, F. P.

Field, Tom

Foster, S. C.

Longfellow, H. W.

Polk, K. B.

Walnut Hill

Williams, Sudie

North Dallas

Arlington Park

Bonham, J. B.

Fannin, James W.

Houston, Sam

Knight, Obadiah

Maple Lawn

Milam, Ben

Ray, J. W.

Travis, W. B. (includes

former B. T.

Washington zone)

9ia

NORTHWEST

L. G. Pinkston

Allen, Gabe

Carr, C. F.

Carver, G. W.

Earhart, Amelia

Navarro, Jose

Tyler, P. L.

W. T. White

Adams. Nathan

Cabell, W. L.

DeGolyer, E. L.

Gooch, Tom C.

Marcus, Herbert

Withers, H. C.

‘POPN[OUI aie JeOp OY} 103 UIBIZOId OY} UI PeT[OIUS USIP[IGD +.

9-G-} SepviZ 10} SOTJVI STUYIS 94} UI PepN[oUr 4OU BIB SJUSPNIsS E-H .

rs

LOINLSIG-ANS LSVAHLYON

009 LSS cue | eve es | wee ot | 37e~ 29 6Ie

Oost S6TT TL 9'€ 0 cer 2z9¢ | 62S Ob | SSE

oset Estt 6 Ir zs bb uoe 40s ste «| «TSS = «66h | «SBS

008 SIP 6 IF OL tI ere 69 TsS = GTI LIZ

00+ $99 26h Tle $8 8 I Str ob 16h

008 ors 66h ose LSI | 6 LI ToS SLT T9b

008 8b ves wes SL 1) 0 9Lb 89 coz

g 008 6S6 Zor 9'¢ OF 90b 062 | SES SSE | bb

& 008 660 9'9F 9b 9€ Owe occ } PES Oe | ETE

002 abs oz9 | > a s3:) 6re 68 ose 46 L8%

008 ees Tse Ter =—sob8 ose o9f | 619 966 | E€6T

008 FES Lee e'T % PIE 8b e249 &€0I 18

008 OsTT Leh oe 82 Lop 8ze€ | €9S es | OZ

008 23) 8S eT c Cre 691 | ZS 90% | 092

| % % ‘ON % ‘ON % ‘ON

pad [e301 |Aias0ulW VW yoelg ojzuy »E-H

9-C-F

LSVGAUHLYON

TPS EO

oset ece Zot L's 62 ct ¢ 8°68 662

008 Sez TTT 8'6 raed eT € 688 002

oset 1S€ Let vel Lb e if £98 €0€

oset Ite VL zs rs) 6T 9 626 682

00+ 20 0001 i) 1) 0'00T 202 0 0

ooTt L6b 0°00T 0 1) 0001 L6b 0 0

008 1st 19 19 It 1) 0 6'E6 OLT

oss 6%e 0'00T 0 0 0°00T 6ez 0 0

oss 6st 0°001 ) 0 0001 6st 0 tf)

008 882 €8 £8 be 0 0 L16 $9%

006 bSb 0'00T 0 0 0'00T bSb 1) ft)

RS 006 ver 0001 0 0 0001 ver 0 0

008 est 1°96 SOP 29 9's ss ee 9

008 62s 0'00T 0 0 0'001 ezs 0 0

% % ON % ‘ON % ‘ON

‘deg [®I0.L AyI0UIW VW yoelg o[suy

‘Spig

€-o

LSVAZHLUON

syIeqoy

yen

pprVyUISYy

UlTeys1eq IIS

yweHoo1H

quioosdr'y

‘a “390yY ‘907

xeTy ‘19e3ues

‘gq ‘emoy

uinqny IW

poomesye®']

ss S ‘UOSHOCL

i9uu0D

salAeg

[ooy9s

1s0ty

yieg ueqif)

MITA BSED

Alrveu

Aotyveoum

etd

103xe}]

Tress®H

SsLivH

Itt)

IOIZB1y

Tetuo[oD

yieg AND

‘H uyor ‘uMoIg

[ooy9s

94a

NORTHEAST

Feeder Schools for 4-5-6 Centers

Bldg.

Cap.

1700

1400

1400

Bayles Reinhardt

Bayles Reinhardt

Hassell Gill

Colonial

Conner Rowe

Reilly Rowe

Brown Urban Park

Conner Frazier

Crockett Sanger

Sanger

Jackson, S. Casa View

Wheatley

Harris

Lakewood

Lakewood Silberstein

Kiest

City Park

Austin Truett

Truett

Lee, R. Hexter

Rice

Lipscomb

Mount Auburn

Roberts

NORTHEAST

Middle Schools

7-8

Black

Anglo

No.

School

1665

1205

1131

%

43.4

38.9

42.0

J

No.

4.7

4.9

24.8

78

59

No. %

%

942 56.6 645 38.7

Robert T. Hill 736 61.1 410 34.0

W. H. Gaston

J. L. Long

17.2

195

58.0

Feeder Schools for 7-8 Grade Centers

W. H. Gaston

Brown, J. H.

City Park

Colonial

Conner, S. S.

Hassell, T. C.

Kiest, E. J.

Reinhardt

Sanger, Alex

(East of St.

Francis)

Truett, G. W.

Austin, Stephen F.

Robert T. Hill

Casa View

Harris, F. C.

Hexter, Victor

Gill, C. A.

Rice, Charles

Reilly, M. T.

Wheatley, Phyllis

NORTHEAST

J. L. Long

Bayles

Crockett, David

Lakewood

Lee, Robert E.

Lipscomb, W. L.

Jackson, Stonewall

Mount Auburn

Sanger, Alex

(West of St.

Francis)

Roberts, O. M.

NORTHEAST

Senior High Schools

9-12

Minority

Anglo Black

School

3158

1506

41.0

James Madison

Skyline

Bryan Adams

Woodrow Wilson

98a

357

441

ve

NORTHEAST salir

°

Feeder Schools for Senior High Schools 3

S

9-12

>

Bryan Adams Skyline 5

S

Casa View Bayles =

Conner, S. S. Conner, S. S. ee

(North of Ferguson) (South of Ferguson) 3

Hexter, Victor Rowe, Edna pe

Gill, Charles A. Sanger, Alex Q 4 :

Kiest, E. J. (West of St. A ea

Reilly, M. T. Francis) = - Pn

Reinhardt Silberstein, Ascher n a Me

Sanger, Alex (East Urban Park eS eo

of St. Francis) a ° ad

Truett, G. W. or 3

> a)

=)

Oo

”

James Madison Woodrow Wilson

S

Brown, John H. Crockett, David s

City Park Lakewood

Colonial Lee, Robert E.

Frazier, J. C. Lipscomb, W. H.

Harris, F. C. Jackson, Stonewall

Hassell, T. C. Mount Auburn 8

Rice, Charles Roberts, O. M. 3

Wheatley, Phyllis

Austin, Stephen F.

8.0

15.0

100.0

12.6

00

14.4

14.6

6.8

6.8

14.2

7.6

24

11.8

42

6.8

100.0

441

5.0

100.0

18

521

6.2

2.8

18

10

%

No.

447

221

87.4

312

85.4

305

93.2

Buckner

Dunbar

Lagow

Macon

Rhoads

Runyon

Thompson

Titche

Anderson, Wm.

Moseley

n ‘s % ‘<

| : ; :

a g > = >

) e7 ‘ 3 Ee 3

Daa) ce ae

= © ; ao 2B s & 5S #6 —

So 8 § Se sg ES 5» $39 FES

< - g$4%39 = 8g a 5 88 £ g ae

3 ic S <a¢E e& Sa ea) mh £m 8 4a 8

S = co) a

oO 3

ee 5

n oO g é

n §

=

:

2 E

fx, 8

Pr Ee z

et 4242 4-295 14) =

s 436 ss ge 6 5 8 <

> S26 s 732 22883 8 $5

sae nee =x TA ma ma e

a

9-¢-p Sope1d 10J SOTJBI OTUYIO OY} UT POPN[OUT 4OU SI” SJUSPNIS E-H -

ay

008 68h €'@b g'tt Ls zoe ost | 22s zee | O uoseling

¢ 008 S9oF 0'9F 102 09 6st lb Ors tot | 2gT f£esi0q

008 489 8'sP 9% ) sob 40 tCéS.:«s|«CSLS)~SCOBTSSC|:«C«#WOE uojuelTg

008 0+8 s'S9 ram a OF ers pet | Sve eet | C8b ated

3 008 904 i 7 6L 9s gre bbe | GLS 906 0 erAy

8 ooot plat id 2 s'6 LL sze 99% | 24S 696 | 20F ‘Df ‘swepy

008 TtZ 4 2 e's 6% soe 0¢ | ozs 9te | SOT euloy Mey

008 Zbor c's lb 1€ ber cee | SIS 986 | 262 oyuloVr UBS

008 628 S'9e “a ee gse 2st | seo Lee | E82 puv[el]

% % ‘ON % ‘ON % ‘ON

pw reo, =| AysourW vw 4oeId o[suy EM 1004S

9-S-P

LSVGHLNOS

Bldg.

Cap.

Total

1389

1343

1366

%

39.6

41.4

40.8

Minority

2.6

4.9

11.9

SOUTHEAST

Middle Schools

7-8

Black

514

No.

60.4

School

Hood, J. B.

Florence, Fred

Comstock

103a

SOUTHEAST

’ Feeder Schools for 7-8 Grade Centers

Hood Comstock

Blanton Buckner/ Burleson

Hawthorne Blair

San Jacinto Dorsey

Ireland (North Moseley

of Lake June) Lagow

Silberstein Ireland (South

Urban Park of Lake June)

Rowe Adams, J. Q.

Frazier (West of Buckner)

Rhoads Macon (South of

Elam Road)

Florence

Adams, J. Q.

(East of Buckner)

Runyon

Anderson, Wm.

Thompson

Titche

Dunbar

Macon (North

of Elam Road)

SOUTHEAST

Senior High Schools

9-12

Bldg.

Cap.

Total

Minority

Anglo Black

School

Jo

100.0

11.0

0

6.7

10.6

0

140

246

4.3

17.7

1380 100.0

89.0 89

0

1850

1667

Lincoln

W. W. Samuell*

28.3

412

71.7

H. Grady Spruce

* Children enrolled in the program for the deaf are included.

105a

SOUTHEAST

Feeder Schools for Senior High Schools

Lincoln

Dunbar, Paul

Rhoads, J. J.

Thompson, H. W.

W. W. Samuell

Adams, J. Q. (North

of Lake June)

Blanton, A. W.

Hawthorne, Nathaniel

Ireland (North of

Lake June)

Runyon, John (North

of Lake June)

Titche, Edward

San Jacinto

H. Grady Spruce

Adams, J. Q.

(South of Lake June)

Anderson, Wm.

Blair, W. A.

Buckner/ Burleson

Dorsey, Julius

Ireland, John (South

of Lake June)

Macon, B. H.

Moseley, Nancy

Runyon (South

of Lake June)

Lagow, Richard

UOI}¥1994UI Oj poarasal 2q [[[M SUOT}RS 3

107a

g

LSAMHLNOS

ets

9TS

LET

6ST

[870]

‘urd 00:4 03 ‘ure 00:2 W013 peprt

uepnys OGg puke [oOYDS prenSue

‘9-S-h SapeiZ 10 sores o1uja a

Ves V2 S ots g6t | oor Fp 042

@°s¢ 7 I StS abt | ob ogtt | uce

249 L6 ee GL4S 961 | Sze att | ger

196 022 gg V6l ge BES OIT | oFe

V0e g'sz cg eb pI 669 of | soe

Z'0b 6Te cg e's 2 86S 6st | ope

T'g¢ T'8¢ 16 -0- 0 | ot o4 6Lz

0'Sz 0°02 ZIr |} os 8 ose oO 6Sz

e"9¢ €"9S €or | -0- -O- | ver og PEs

226 ee El 688 ece | gz Ie 00¢

z'0S Lb ell | ez 4° | sem ett | oge

r'6E Sse cg 6° z 919 get | ote

29 e"Sc Zs "9 Z 6LE- 6e ZLt

as en 2s Ost OF 98° oft | pee

9°b% L'92 88 64t. 6s | gcc gt | ate

9°68 9°6E 16 0 0 P09 3866 | oguz

L'99 SFI 98 61S get | gece tg eve

S'Lb V'Lb cet | FF I ceo Bet | «CBE

9°8b Ist ge S0e 6g) PIS gor | 6oE

coe 8°¢ II 2b lb |se9 eet | ste

92% 91% cb 0 0 PeL «Stl | soaeg

£28 4 L 8'8 ee | “et soce £92

% % ON | % ‘ON | %. ‘ON

Aysoury V-W 4Ourg osuy | e-4

9-C-b

9°b6

8°96

%

Ajytioury

8 te

16 9'°6£

‘ON %

oo ‘€-M

se

€9

‘ON

yoelg

LSAMHLNOS

LOIYLSIG-€NS LSAMHLNOS

Ss 8

oe G

% ‘ON

olzuy

AOid 9q [[tm Sutwmwei1Z01g ‘sasodind

A 9-% 8 8q [[Im [OOYDS UTeM], HIPW se

4} UI pepn[out jou e1¥ syuepnig €-M .

+ AUlTBOM] HIV

IOUIN], a[Tepy

ALO], ‘DL

H1Itq suaaasg

SUOWIUUA}S “Yy “7

JUOUIesOY

uBsvey “Hf

19[90q ‘f

Apoqveg e310Een

ee] Aerydurp

seuor uosuy

900H epry

330H 's

uosiepueH ‘g “Ww

IT?H “M7

Preuog ‘O “7

STARG ‘f

WEMOD ‘d “J

UBIYIOD ‘f'N

Jaezuediey “Mm ‘¢

HItd Bipeoiy

JOpUBXETY sIplig

rooyos

2-M

zerene

£-M

ss¥[Znog

jooyog

108a

€60T 6 tb 6°SE e6e OL

60TT Lor 8°8e 6h 6S

919 L'SL OL eb 2°89

LL6 Lip Zor 66 ote

6ES S‘és 6E 12 9°0S

% % ‘ON : %

[BIOL Ayourp VW yoelrg

8-2

STOOYDS e[ppiw

LSHUMHLNAOS

TLS 39

£'bS sog

8 ost

€°8¢ OLS

och BS

% ‘ON

o[zuy

IeUuIsIDHn "TM

PIBHOOS “A “T

AoInH ‘Vv ‘dG

eumMOoIg ‘M ‘\L

T93y “H Wer

looyag

‘urd 00:2 03 “ure 90:2 WO aq [ITM SuturueiZ01g ‘sesodind uone1Ze,ur

10} PeATasal aq [[1M SUOT}B3S JUSPN}s OC PUB [OOYIS preNnSue, g-p v 0q [ITM [OoyoS Jetuvey] Aeupis ,,

‘9-S-} SOpe1d 10} SOT}e1 OTUYIe BY} UT pepntoUT jou ere syUepNys > a

029 L248 IL bb T'9T oot sar 9 ele sel DUB]

Chr 20S elLb OSG oe 9 86> 86 8bz BHOUUTM

9th bb Sst a ove 9¢ rSS 46 TS% SSIOM UTPIBW

6hL Leb SL Le 6SE = aT 29S ~=s« BET bOF 1ejsqem [etueq

% % ‘ON % ‘ON % ‘ON

[B30 Ayriouryy |: VW yoelg ojsuy s8-M [ooyas

9-C-P

LSUMHLNOS

lila

110a

ee 883s

SOUTHWEST 0 aa

Feeder Schools for 7-8 Grade Centers 3 iii cee

8 Ass

Ss a8 aS

William H. Atwell D. A. Hulcy

Terry, T. G. Alexander, Birdie >

(North of Lee, Umphrey B ,hwas

Camp Wisdom) Terry, T. G. s *S&85

Turner, Adelle (South of =

Twain, Mark Camp Wisdom)

(South of Weiss, Martin -& 2Oe

Loop 12) n ’ "SES

~

ss

be

L. V. Stockard a 3 o & rd g i

T. W. Browne Arcadia Park 2 - é rr

Carpenter, John Cowart, L. P. a i.) in

Cochran, Nancy Donald, L. O. =) . Reae oi

Davis, Jeff Hall, L. K. o iS) ‘“ in =

Stemmons, L. L. Jones, Anson & 3

Twain. Mark Peabody, George ” g 3 g & z

(North of Lanier “

Loop 12) Douglass

Webster, Daniel Juarez , 3 95

. Saeex

>

. ce)

W. E. Greiner S 3 8 a z

Henderson, M. B.

Hogg, James u a

Hooe, Lida EE

Peeler, J. F. 8 om” .

Reagan, John 3 3 ve = 3

Rosemont z o a &

Stevens Park Bebe

Winnetka

112a

SOUTHWEST

Feeder Schools for Senior High Schools 9-12

David W. Carter

Alexander, Birdie

Lee, Umphrey

Terry, T. G.

Turner, Adelle

Twain, Mark

(South of

Loop 12)

Weiss, Martin

Justin F. Kimball

Carpenter, John

Davis, Jeff

Donald, L. O.

Cochran, Nancy

Hall, L. K.

Stemmons, L. L.

Twain, Mark

(North of

Loop 12)

Webster, Daniel

Sunset

Arcadia Park

Cowart, L. P.

Hooe,.Lida

Jones, Anson

Peabody, George

Rosemont

Stevens Park

Winnetka

Adamson

Bowie

Henderson

Hogg

Peeler

Reagan

Budd

Lanier

Juarez

‘Douglass

EAST OAK CLIFF SUB-DISTRICT

EAST OAK CLIFF

K-3

Bldg

Cap.

Total

Minority

Black

No.

Anglo

No.

School

%

99.5

99.7

100.0

98.6

%

No.

2.0

1.1

13

Eft

57

%

619

91.5

%

1.4

11

B. F. Darrell

T. D. Marshall

E. M. Pease

Erasmo Seguin

OooT 00¢ 0°66 : 0

0 0°66 861 OT Fe ulAIg ‘N ‘f

0002 6602 1°66 61 OF 226 1b0e 6 8T 42103g epnog

g 008 osg 0°00T 0 0 0'00T osg 0 0 euojg Arley

= 00s¢ OS6T 6°66 at £% 2°86 9e6T 5 T seul[OH “MO

% % ‘ON |. % ‘ON % ‘ON

ioe [BIOL AyIoury VN yoeIg o[suy jooy9g

8-2

STOOYDS e[PPIW

JHIO HBO 3Ssegq

Naaeeeaae erence erence enn cence a a a

‘wd 90:4 01 “UI? 00:2 WIOIJ Oq [[Im BZuTuMIUMIBIZOIg ‘sesodind uomjeige,utl 103

PeA1eSaI aq [[TM SUOT}EIS JUSPNIS OOE PUB [OOYIS pleNZuev A Q-ph B OQ [[TM [COYOS uosHoUr prevAeP os

‘9-G-p SOpeIZ 10] SOTJEI OTUY}e OY} UT PepNyToU! 4OU eIe SJUSPNIS E-M

3 9-4

008 b29 8°66 gT oT 2°86 E19 z I 0 Zunox AouzyiymM

008 £48 9°66 0 0 9°66 Shr | OF Zz €eP uojUIOUL “TY

9-F

008 99 0°86 *'9 a | 916 tog | 02 eI ) Tlessny ‘dO

9-4

008 049 0'00T L c £66 s99 | O ) i) IOATIO B1IBIO

OseT TStt 0'00T zt c 8°86 90% 0 0 OLL SIIIW ‘© 10304

008 SST 0°00T i) 0 OO0T o6F | O 0 299 JOTI ‘a “WM

008 Tes 0°00T a 1 9°66 8le | 0 0 She SITeSIVyy “IL

@ os Z9L L'66 ST L 646 poe | © t 06E uoqgsr’]

“ooset €e0t |} O'00T 2s € | 8b6 4 a 8) 0 88s uoysuyor ‘S “VY

= 9-b

000T seg 0°00T Zz t 8°66 reg | O 0 0 |..UosyHour pivuAEy

008 €9S 266 - t 86 6be | 8 re ote 291112 “MN

000T 189 £66 0 ) 2°66 zoe | & T Se ulAIg ‘N ‘f

" OSET 2d 266 LT 1) C16 oss | 8 cS 689 uswysng “MM

0ObT Test 0°00% ¢ e C66 oz9 | O 0 869 uvAig ‘N uyor

008 096 ¢'86 ee es | 268 Lob | ST ~ €0% ppng [[e11

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — Estes v. Metropolitan Branches of Dallas NAACP · 444 U.S. 437 | Frix