Petition — Iowa Beef Processors, Inc. v. Hawkins

Supreme Court brief1979

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

78-1558 @ Vive D. \|

No. APR 12 1979

k MICHARL RODAK, JR., CLERK

In THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

Ocroser Term, 1978

IOWA BEEF PROCESSORS, INC., EDWARD W. ROTHE,

and LEE A. FREEMAN, SR.,

Petitioners,

VS.

LEX HAWKINS and JOHN A. COCHRANE,

Respondents.

——

a

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

Epwarp W. Rotue

JAMES T. MALysIaAK

FREEMAN, Rotue, Freeman & SatzMan

One IBM Plaza - Suite 4735

Chicago, Illinois 60611

(312) 467-5330

Counsel for Petitioners

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Nature of the Case 1

Opinions Below 1

Questions Presented 2

Statutes and Rules Involved 3

4

8

Statement of the Case

Reasons for Granting the Writ

I. The Eighth Circuit Compulsory Counterclaim

Holding Conflicts With Second And Third Cir-

cuit Decisions And With Rule 13’s Policy ......... 9

II. The Eighth Circuit Relation Back Holding Con-

flicts With Its Own Prior Decisions And Other

Circuits 13

Ill. Venue Lies In The Court Whose Process Was

Allegedly Abused 14

CONCLUSION 19

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Aftanase v. Economy Baler Co., 343 F.2d 187 (8th Cir.

1965) 15

Baker v. Gold Seal Liquors, Inc., 417 U.S. 467 (1974) .. 9

Barrett v. Baylor, 457 F.2d 119 (7th Cir. 1972) ................ 18

Beef Industry Antitrust Litigation, In re, 432 F.Supp.

211 (JPML 1977)

Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union of the United States,

Inc., 384 F.Supp. 600 (D. Mass. 1974) 11, 12

ii

Brown v. Texas and Pacific R.R. Co., 392 F.Supp. 1120

(W.D. La. 1975) 14

Chicago & Northwestern Railway Co. v. Lindell, 281

U.S. 14 (1930) 9

Columbia Plaza Corp v. Security National Bank, 525 F.

2d 620 (D.C. Cir. 1975) 9

Commercial Lighting Products, Inc. v. United States

District Court, 537 F.2d 1078 (9th Cir. 1976) ............ 15, 16

Diamond v. Terminal Ry. Ala. State Docks, 421 F.2d

228 (5th Cir. 1970) 9

Finn v. American Fire & Casualty Co., 207 F.2d 113

(5th Cir. 1953) 13

Gardner Engineering Corp. v. Page Engineering Co.,

484 F.2d 27 (8th Cir. 1973) 15

Great Lakes Rubber Corp. v. Herbert Cooper Co., 286

F.2d 631 (3rd Cir. 1961) 9,11

Great Western United Corp. v. Kidwell, 577 F.2d 1256

(5th Cir. 1978), prob.jur.noted, No. 78-759 (Jan. 8,

1979)

Hale v. Ralston Purina Co., 432 F.2d 156 (8th Cir. 1970) 14

Harris v. Steinem, 571 F.2d 119 (2nd Cir. 1978) .............. 11

International Ladies Garment Workers’ Union v. Don-

nelly Garment Co., 121 F.2d 561 (8th Cir. 1941) .......... 14

International Shoe Co. v. State of Washington, 326 U.S.

310 (1945) 15-16

Interstate Refineries Co. v. Barry, 7 F.2d 548 (8th Cir.

1925) 14

Kipperman v. McCone, 422 F.Supp. 860 (N.D. Cal.

1976) 16

Lesnik v. Public Industrials Corp., 144 F.2d 968 (2nd

Cir. 1944) 10

Moore v. New York Cotton Exchange, 270 U.S. 593

(1926) 9

Newburger, Loeb & Co., Inc. v. Gross, 563 F.2d 1057

(2nd Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1035 (1978) .. 10, 11

Norton v. Local Loan, 251 N.W.2d 520 (Iowa 1977) ...... 16

Pipeliners Local Union No. 798 v. Ellerd, 503 F.2d 1193

(10th Cir. 1974) 9

ree oP Eee

iii

Simkins Ind., Inc. v. Fuld & Co., 392 F.Supp. 126 (E.D.

Pa. 1975) 12

Southern Construction Co. v. United States, 371 U.S. 57

(1962) 9

United Artists Corp. v. Masterpiece Productions, Inc.,

221 F.2d 213 (2nd Cir. 1955) 10

United Steelworkers v. R.H. Bouligny, Inc., 382 U.S.

145 (1965) .. 5

Warshawsky & Co. v. Arcata National Corp., 552 F.2d

1257 (7th Cir. 1977) 9

Weil v. New York State Dept. of Transportation, 400 F.

Supp. 1364 (S.D.N.Y. 1975) 16

Statutes and Rules

28 U.S.C.:

§1391(a) ... 3, 8, 14, 15

$1391 (b) 15

$1407 5

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure:

Rule 13(a) passim

Rule 15(a) 5

Rule 15(c) 3, 7, 13, 14

Rule 20 18

Rule 23.2 2,5

Miscellaneous

3 Moore’s Federal! Practice:

$15.09 14

$15.15 14

3A Moore’s Federal Practice §21.03[2] 14

6 Wright & Miller, Federal Practice & Procedure:

Civil S622 ............. 12

a

NATURE OF THE CASE

Iowa Beef Processors, Inc. (“IBP”) and its counsel

Edward W. Rothe and Lee A. Freeman, Sr. who are

named defendants in this action, pray that a writ of cer-

tiorari issue to review the judgment and opinion of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit,

which reversed the Southern District of Iowa’s refusal to

allow respondents to file a retaliatory abuse of process

suit in a forum other than that whose process is alleged

to have been abused. Instead, the Eighth Circuit

adopted faulty compulsory counterclaim and venue tests,

in conflict with other Circuits and with this Court’s

policy decisions, to hold that respondents’ abuse claims

not only may, but must be filed where each was served

with the alleged abusive process and a document

production request. The result, unless corrected by this

Court, is that three district courts, instead of one, will be

forced to consider the propriety of the IBP suit which

provoked respondents’ abuse claims.

OPINIONS BELOW

The panel opinion of the Court of Appeals (App. A-5-

25), Judge Bright’s opinion dissenting from denial of

rehearing en banc, (App. A-27-32), and the opinion of the

United States District Court for the Southern District of

Iowa (App. A-1-4) are unreported.

csillien

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Eighth Circuit erred in deciding,

contrary to the Second and Third Circuits, that an

abuse-of-process action is not a compulsory counterclaim

under Federal Civil Rule 18a) in the lawsuit alleged to

constitute the abuse, but instead must be litigated in-

dependently in two other districts.

2. Whether the Eighth Circuit erred in abruptly

departing from its own and other Circuits’ decisions by

holding that a complaint amendment, solely to cure a

jurisdictional defect in a diversity case by dropping a

non-diverse union and substituting diverse union officers

as union class representatives under Federal Civil Rule 23.2,

does not relate back under Federal Civil Rule 1&c) to

the date the original complaint was filed.

8. Whether the Eighth, Circuit erred in adopting a

test for venue which conflicts with the Ninth Circuit’s

test and requires an abuse of process action to be pur-

sued in the district in which process was merely receiv-

ed and not in the court whose process is allegedly being

abused.

="

STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED

Rule 13a), F.R.Civ.Proc.:

Compulsory Counterclaims. A pleading shall state

as a counterclaim any claim which at the time of

serving the pleading the pleader has against any

opposing party, if it arises out of the transaction or

occurrence that is the subject matter of the op-

posing party’s claim and does not require for its ad-

judication the presence of third parties of whom the

court cannot acquire jurisdiction. But the pleader

need not state the claim if (1) at the time the action

was commenced the claim was the subject of

another pending action, or (2) the opposing party

brought suit upon his claim by attachment or other

process by which the court did not acquire jurisdic-

tion to render a personal judgment on that claim,

and the pleader is not stating any counterclaim un-

der this Rule 13.

Rule 1&c), F.R.Civ.Proc.:

Relation Back of Amendments. Whenever the

claim or defense asserted in the amended pleading

arose out of the conduct, transaction, or occurrence

set forth or attempted to be set forth in the original

pleading, the amendment relates back to the date of

the original pleading. An amendment changing the

arty against whom a claim is asserted relates back

if the foregoing provision is satisfied and, within

the period provided by law for commencing the ac-

tion against him, the party to be brought in by

amendment (1) has received such notice of the in-

stitution of the action that he will not be prejudiced

in maintaining his defense on the merits, and (2)

knew or should have known that, but for a mistake

concerning the identity of the proper party, the ac-

tion would have been brought against him.

28 U.S.C. § 1391(a):

A civil action wherein jurisdiction is founded only

on diversity of citizenship may, except as otherwise

provided by law, be brought only in the judicial dis-

trict where all plaintiffs or all defendants reside, or

in which the claim arose.

atlas

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On June 7, 1977, petitioner lowa Beef Processors, Inc.

filed identical diversity suits in the Northern District of

Iowa (Sioux City) and the Southern District of New

York against two former employees, Hughes A. Bagley

and Hans Aarsen, for violating contractual and

fiduciary duties by disclosing confidential IBP

documents and information and against the

Amalgamated Meat Cutters and Butcher Workmen of

North America (an Illinois unincorporated association),

Irving Stern (New York District Director of the Union),

Albert J. Krieger (a New York and Miami lawyer),

respondent Lex Hawkins (a Des Moines lawyer) and

respondent John A. Cochrane (a St. Paul lawyer) for in-

ducing Bagley’s breaches and conspiring to defame

IBP.!

On July 22, 1977, after obtaining an agreed extension

of time to answer IBP’s complaint, Hawkins and

Cochrane filed suit in the Southern District of Iowa at.

Des Moines against IBP and its counsel, petitioners

Rothe and Freeman (Illinois residents), for $24 million

in actual and punitive damages, alleging that they had

tortiously “invoked the judicial process” of the Sioux

City and New York courts by (1) filing suit, (2) serving

summons, and (3) serving a document request supposed-

ly calling for Hawkins’ and Cochrane’s work product in

1 The two identical actions were filed to insure that personal

jurisdiction and venue could be obtained over all defendants

in one or another of the two districts. Significant conspira-

torial events occurred in both districts: Important meetings of

Bagley, Krieger, and Stern took place in New York, while

Bagley, Hawkins, and Cochrane held a key meeting in Sioux

City. Moreover, Bagley and Aarsen both resided in the

Northern District of Iowa, which is also the place where the

Bagley-IBP contract in question was executed.

OE OEE BN EMS I OE Fe | one Ty

=~

Meat Price Investigators Association [MPIA] v. Jowa

Beef Processors, et al., an antitrust suit originally filed in

the Southern District of Iowa on August 10, 1976, but

transferred to the Northern District of Texas at Dallas

for pretrial proceedings under 28 U.S.C. § 1407 on June

7, 1977. In re Beef Industry Antitrust Litigation, 432

_ F.Supp. 211 (JPML 1977).

Also on July 22, 1977, Hawkins and Cochrane filed a

motion to dismiss IBP’s Sioux City case for lack of

‘liversity, claiming (without any record support) that

vince the Union had members in Nebraska, IBP’s prin-

cipal place of business, there was no complete diversity.

under the theory that an unincdrporated association

takes the citizenship of each of its members for diversity:

purposes. United Steelworkers v. R.H. Bouligny, Inc., 382

U.S. 145 (1965).

On August 1, 1977, before any answers had been filed

in the Sioux City and New York cases, IBP filed amend-

ed complaints under Federal Civil Rule 1a) to cure any

possible jurisdictional defect by substituting the Union’s

three highest officers (residents of Illinois) as class

representatives of the Union’s members pursuant to

Federal Civil Rule 23.2, in lieu of naming the Union as

an entity. There was no change in any of the other

allegations of the original complaint: The conduct

described and the causes of action alleged were iden-

tical.

On August 2, 1977, Hawkins and Cochrane filed a mo-

tion with the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation

to transfer IBP’s Sioux City and New York cases to Des

Moines for consolidation with their suit against IBP, re-

questing that all three cases be assigned to Chief Judge

Hanson. This motion was denied by the Judicial Panel

from the bench at oral argument on September 30, 1977

with the comment: “* * * since there are only two actions

=

[Sioux City and Des Moines], we will just leave them

where they are.” (App. B-11.)

Meanwhile, on August 15, 1977, IBP, Rothe and

Freeman filed a motion to dismiss the Des Moines case

for lack of venue and for Hawkins’ and Cochrane’s

failure to plead their abuse-of-process claim as a com-

pulsory counterclaim in IBP’s Sioux City and New York

cases, in violation of Federal Civil Rule 13a).

On November 17, 1977 Chief Judge Stuart granted

defendants’ motion to dismiss the Des Moines case for

lack of venue, holding that Hawkins’ and Cochrane’s

claims arose in the Northern District of Iowa (where

“defendants are alleged to be doing that which should

not be done”), which court “is in a far better position” to

determine whether its process has been abused.

Although Chief Judge Stuart expressed “serious reser-

vations”, he found it unnecessary to pass on defendants’

alternative compulsory counterclaim argument and dis-

missed on the venue ground alone. (App. A-1-4.)

Hawkins and Cochrane appealed the dismissal to the

Eighth Circuit.

On February 13, 1978 Chief Judge McManus ruled on

a number of pending motions in IBP’s Sioux City case.

He held, inter alia, that IBP’s amended complaint had

effectively cured any jurisdictional problem by naming

as class representatives three Union officers whose state

citizenship is diverse from IBP’s. He also held that

Hawkins’ and Cochrane’s work product and other objec-

tions to IBP’s document production request should be

overruled and ordered them to comply. (App. C-3-6, 8-9.)

2 During oral argument, IBP’s counsel informed the Judicial

Panel that all but one defendant (Stern, a New York resident)

ad waived personal jurisdiction and venue objections in the

Sioux City case. Stern’s counsel then told the Judicial Panel

he, too, would waive these personal objections and IBF’s

counsel stated that the New York action would be dismissed,

which was done on October 6, 1977. (App. B-7-8, 10.)

po, es

On April 10, 1978, Hawkins and Cochrane served an

answer to IBP’s amended complaint in the Sioux City

case, including a counterclaim identical to their com-

plaint in the Des Moines case, in the event the Eighth

Circuit affirmed Chief Judge Stuart’s dismissal.

On January 5, 1979 the Eighth Circuit (Becker, Senior

District Judge, writing for a panel which also included

Chief Judge Gibson and Circuit Judge Henley) reversed

Chief Judge Stuart’s ruling as to Hawkins, but affirmed

as to Cochrane, holding that the claim of each arose

where IBP’s summons and request for production of

documents were served—Des Moines in Hawkins’ case

and St. Paul in Cochrane’s case. In addition the Court of

Appeals held that Hawkins’ and Cochrane’s claims were

not compulsory counterclaims under Federal Civil Rule

13(a) because (1) IBP’s August 1, 1977 amended com-

plaint did not relate back to the original filing on June

7, 1977 under Federal Civil Rule 1&(c), and thus, at the

time IBP’s Sioux City and New York cases were “law-

fully commenced” on August 1, 1977, Hawkins’ and

Cochrane’s claims were already the subject of another

case pending in Des Moines (filed on July 22, 1977)

within the meaning of the first exception to the com-

pulsory counterclaim rule, and (2) Hawkins’ and

Cochrane’s abuse-of-process claims did not arise out of

the same transaction or occurrence as IBP’s breach of

contract and fiduciary duty, inducement, and conspiracy

claims within the meaning of Rule 13(a). (App. A-5-25.)

The Eighth Circuit on March 5, 1979 denied

petitioners’ request for rehearing en banc. (App. A-26.)

Judge Bright dissented from the denial because he con-

cluded that the panel had clearly erred in requiring

three courts rather than one to handle these inherently

related actions and had permitted respondents’ “obvious

forum-shopping” tactics. (App. A-27-32.)

—§—

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Eighth Circuit decision decimates the policy un-

derlying both the federal venue statute, 28 U.S.C.

§ 1391(a), and Federal Civil Rule 13(a), i.e., to achieve a

sensible, convenient forum for the adjudication of dis-

putes while avoiding the duplication of judicial effort

and the possibility of conflicting decisions. IBP and its

counsel contend that one forum—the Northern District

of Iowa in Sioux City—should properly and most con-

veniently handle all these disputes. Respondents argue

that two courts—both the Northern District (at Sioux

City) and Southern District of Iowa (at Des Moines)—are

required even though the cases are causally-related and

share such central factual and legal issues that conflict-

ing decisions are possible and the Southern District

would be called upon to decide whether the case being

litigated before the Northern District is an abuse of

process. The Eighth Circuit held, astonishingly, that not

one, not two, but three courts must handle the cases—the

Northern and Southern Districts of Iowa and the Dis-

trict of Minnesota.

Since the Court of Appeals decision senselessly

proliferates litigation at a time when federal court

resources are under intense pressure from expanding

caseloads and also conflicts with decisions in other Cir-

cuits and the clear policy of the venue and compulsory

counterclaim provisions, certiorari must be granted and

a perverse precedent on crucial questions of judicial ad-

ministration overturned.

+ on eR Pe EE On nr ae ee

—9—

I

THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT COMPULSORY

COUNTERCLAIM HOLDING CONFLICTS

WITH SECOND AND THIRD CIRCUIT DECISIONS

AND WITH RULE 13’S POLICY

Rule 13(a) “was designed to prevent multiplicity of ac-

tions and to achieve resolution in a single lawsuit of all

disputes arising out of common matters” and “was par-

ticularly directed against one who failed to assert a

counterclaim in one action and then instituted a second

action in which that counterclaim became the basis for

the complaint.” Southern Construction Co. v. United

States, 371 U.S. 57, 60 (1962). See also Chicago &

Northwestern Railway Co. v. Lindell, 281 U.S. 14, 17

(1930); Moore v. New York Cotton Exchange, 270 U.S.

598, 610 (1926).

To achieve the economies of having closely intertwined

legal disputes litigated in one forum, the Circuits have

generally followed what they conceive to be this Court’s

broad “logical relationship” test to determine whether a

claim is so closely connected to another lawsuit to be

subject to the “compulsory counterclaim” rule. See

Baker v. Gold Seal Liquors, Inc., 417 U.S. 467, 469 n. 1

(1974); Warshawsky & Co. v. Arcata National Corp., 552

F.2d 1257, 1261, 1263 (7th Cir. 1977); Columbia Plaza

Corp. v. Security National Bank, 525 F.2d 620, 625-626

(D.C. Cir. 1975); Pipeliners Local Union No. 798 v.

Ellerd, 503 F.2d 11938, 1198-1199 (10th Cir. 1974); Dia-

mond v. Terminal Ry. Ala. State Docks, 421 F.2d 228,

236 (5th Cir. 1970); Great Lakes Rubber Corp. v. Herbert

Cooper Co., 286 F.2d 631, 634 (8rd Cir. 1961).

The Eighth Circuit held here, however, that a claim

that a lawsuit is in itself tortious because it allegedly is

a wrongful use of process for ulterior purposes, is not

logically related to that lawsuit and thus is not covered

~

—10—

by the compulsory counterclaim rule. This decision

directly conflicts with a recent Second Circuit decision.

In Newburger, Loeb & Co., Inc. v. Gross, 563 F.2d 1057

(2nd Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1035 (1978), the

Second Circui. held that a counterclaim asserting that

the main action was a part of a conspiracy to coerce the

counterclaimant by threatening and pursuing baseless

litigation against him, was a compulsory counterclaim

under the logical relationship test. The Court of Appeals

observed that the counterclaimant had asserted defenses

to the main action which raised essentially the same

issues as the counterclaim and that to require litigation

of the defenses and counterclaim in separate courts

“would amount to considerable duplication of judicial

time and effort and could lead to mutually inconsistent

results.” Jd., at 1072.2

There is precisely the same duplication of issues here.

Respondents expressly represented in their brief to the

Judicis: Panel on Multidistrict Litigation, when they

wanted all three cases (IBP’s Sioux City and New York

actions and respondents’ Des Moines counter-action)

consolidated in their chosen forum, that all of them “arise

out of an alleged breach of an employment termination

contract between Iowa Beef Processors, Inc., and a

former employee, Hughes A. Bagley” and that the

validity of the contract is “the central issue in each of

’ The Newburger Court relied on two earlier Second Circuit

decisions. In United Artists Corp. v. Masterpiece Productions,

Inc., 221 F.2d 213, 216 (2nd Cir. apes the Court held a

counterclaim to be compulsory which alleged that the main

action was “one of a series of harassing maneuvers” designed

to violate the counterclaimants’ rights; the holding was

necessary to avoid “circuity and multiplicity of action * * * .”

Similarly, in Lesnik v. Public Industrials Corp., 144 F.2d 968,

975 (2nd Cir. 1944), the counterclaim, held to be compulsory,

alleged that the main action was part of a conspiracy to injure

the counterclaimants.

NO ee rm re 8 re mere an ne ne EE QE UR

Se, eee ee

=—-

the three suits.”* Furthermore, respondents’ complaint

in this case alleges that petitioners filed IBP’s action

knowing that Bagley’s contract violates public policy

and asks for a declaratory judgment that the contract is

“void as against public policy.” Respondents’ answer in

IBP’s Sioux City action similarly alleges an affirmative

defense that the Bagley contract is void as against

public policy. Thus, the Newburger reasoning applies in

full force here. See also Great Lakes Rubber Corp. v.

Herbert Cooper Co., supra, 286 F.2d at 634, a Third Cir-

cuit decision with which the Eighth Circuit’s holding

also conflicts.

The Eighth Circuit, however, relied solely (App. A-22-

23) on the conclusory language and faulty analysis of a

district court decision from a different Circuit, Bose

Corp. v. Consumers Union of the United States, Inc., 384

F.Supp. 600, 603 (D. Mass. 1974), which held a

counterclaim alleging injury (defamation and perhaps

malicious prosecution and abuse of process) arising out

of the filing of the main suit and contemporaneous

publicity, to be permissive rather than compulsory.

The Second Circuit has pointed out that Bose

epitomizes a “narrow line of decisions involving

counterclaims based solely on the filing of the main com-

plaint and alleging libelous publications thereafter”,

which are founded on the truism that a defendant can-

not be forced to plead, as a compulsory counterclaim, a

cause of action that is premature and may never even

arise. See Harris v. Steinem, 571 F.2d 119, 125 (2nd Cir.

1978). For this reason, a counterclaim for malicious

4 Even the Eighth Circuit grudgingly acknowledged

respondents’ representation that the cases were closely linked,

but then apparently held that the compulsory counterclaim

rule did not apply because the claims were not identical (App.

A-24), which 1 never been the law and would obliterate

Rule 13(a) if widely adopted.

_—

prosecution is treated like a counterclaim for libel aris-

ing out of the main action: Both depend on the defen-

dant prevailing on the merits, are therefore premature,

and do not meet the basic test of Rule 13(a) that to be

compulsory, a counterclaim must be one. which the

defendant has when he files his answer. See 6 Wright &

Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure: Civil § 1411, at

55-57.

Bose, and the Eighth Circuit, however, erred in

treating an abuse-of-process claim in the same fashion,

since abuse of process, unlike malicious prosecution, is

fully mature and can be asserted immediately, provided

there are legally adequate allegations that process was

used for a wrongful collateral purpose after it was

issued. Simkins Ind., Inc. v. Fuld & Co., 392 F.Supp.

126, 129-130 (E.D. Pa. 1975). Bose was plainly wrong in

stating (384 F.Supp. at 603) that, if Consumers Union’s

counterclaim alleged abuse of process, “the analysis is

similar to the analysis concerning defamation.” The Bose

court provided no authority or reasoning for a patently

erroneous construction of Rule 13(a), but the Eighth Cir-

cuit followed it blindly.

Therefore, a square conflict among the Circuits is

presented, and the Second and Third Circuits’ holdings

must prevail. The Eighth Circuit decision cannot be

justified by any policy consideration, but it plainly

trebles both the burden on the courts generated by

respondents’ abuse-of-process claims and also the risk of

conflicting decisions.

mn nee cme ET

niin

II.

THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT RELATION BACK HOLDING

CONFLICTS WITH ITS OWN PRIOR DECISIONS

AND OTHER CIRCUITS

An alternative ground for the Eighth Circuit’s refusal

to apply the compulsory counterclaim rule was its

holding that IBP’s August 1, 1977 amended complaint

did not “relate back” under Federal Civil Rule 1&c) to

June 7, 1977 when the suit was filed, and thus when

respondents’ abuse-of-process action was filed in the in-

terim on July 22, 1977 there was purportedly no “pend-

ing” suit in which it could have been pled as a com-

pulsory counterclaim. (App. A-24-25.)

This is pure sophistry and was exposed as such by

Judge Bright’s opinion dissenting from the Eighth Cir-

cuit’s order denying rehearing en banc:

I am troubled * * * by the panel’s alternative rul-

ing on the compulsory counterclaim issue. The pan-

el determined that the appellants’ abuse of process

actions were filed prior to the effective date of

IBP’s complaint in the Northern District of Iowa

and therefore could not be compulsory counter-

claims in IBP’s action, under Fed. R. Civ. P.

13(a). See panel slip op. at 22-23. In so ruling, the

panel concluded that, for purposes of Rule 13a),

IBP’s amended complaint in the Northern District

altered to perfect diversity jurisdiction, does not

relate back to the date of IBP’s original complaint.

Such a restrictive reading of the relation back rule of

Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(c) lacks support in the language of

the rule, in case law, or in policy. Although I have

found no case considering this question in the con-

text of Rule 13(a), prior decisions of this and other

courts have indicated, without exception, that a com-

plaint amended by dropping nonessential parties to

perfect diversity jurisdiction relates back to the date

of the original pleading. E.g., Finn v. American Fire

& Casualty Co., 207 F.2d 118, 116 (5th Cir. 1953);

Brown v. Texas and Pacific R.R. Co., 392 F.Supp.

1120, 1124 (W.D.La. 1975). See International Ladies

Garment Workers’ Union v. Donnelly Garment Co.,

121 F.2d 561, 563 (8th Cir. 1941) (dictum); 3A

Moore’s Federal “Practice %21.03[2] (1978). Cf. In-

terstate Refineries Co. v. Barry, 7 F.2d 548, 550 (8th

Cir. 1925) (in accord with relation back rule, but

1 ai Rules). [App. A-32 n. 5; emphasis add-

The Eighth Circuit opinion did not even mention these

diametrically opposed precedents, and the only

authorities cited in support of the Court’s convoluted

logic (App. A-25) are completely inapposite: Hale v.

Ralston Purina Co., 482 F.2d 156, 159 (8th Cir. 1970),

did not involve the relation back of an amendment to

cure a defect in diversity jurisdiction, but rather an

attempt to introduce an entirely new claim; and Moore’s

discussion of this subject in fact directly contradicts the

Eighth Circuit’s holding (3 Moore’s Federal Practice

197115.09, 15.15 at 15-206).

No explanation has been given nor can any justifica-

tion be found for the Eighth Circuit’s willingness to defy

precedent and logic and to create an intercircuit conflict

on Rule 1c) just to guarantee that these interlocked

disputes be litigated simultaneously in three courts

rather than one.

ITI.

VENUE LIES IN THE COURT

WHOSE PROCESS WAS ALLEGEDLY ABUSED

The Eighth Circuit’s construction and application of

the federal venue statute for diversity cases, 28 U.S.C.

§ 139l(a), is as bizarre as its interpretation of Rules

13(a) and 15(c). It held that proper venue was in each of

respondents’ home districts (Southern District of Iowa

for Hawkins, District of Minnesota for Cochrane) solely

0 ere a

—

ar TD

—1§—

because each received process and IBP’s production re-

quest there. The District Court, in sharp contrast, had

ruled that respondents’ cause of action “arose” in the

Northern District of Iowa where IBP’s suit was filed

since “(i]t is there, by filing an action against Hawkins

and Cochrane, that defendants are alleged to be doing

that which should not be done.”® (App. A-3.)

To reach its desired result, the Eighth Circuit appears

to have used as the test for venue the “minimum con-

tacts” standard developed by this Court to decide

whether jurisdiction in a State can be exercised over a

nonresident. See International Shoe Co. v. State of

5 Section 157s) provides for venue where all the defendants

or all the plaintiffs reside or where the cause of action arose.

Since petitioners Rothe and Freeman reside in Illinois and

plaintiff Cochrane in Minnesota, only the “where the action

arose” test is applicable here.

The venue provision for federal-question cases also includes

the “where the action arose” rule. See 28 U.S.C. § 1391(b).

This Court recently noted probable jurisdiction of an appeal

involving the construction of the “where the action arose”

rovision of § 1391(b). Great Western United Corp. v. Kidwell,

77 F.2d 1256, 1273-1274 (5th Cir. 1978), prob. yur. noted, No.

78-759 (Jan. 8, 1979). The present petition thus presents the

Court with the opportunity to provide venue guidelines

simultaneously for diversity and federal-question cases.

6 The yaw Circuit Pol gy “> to base its venue decision on

Gardner Engineering «~ v. Page de, peu Co., 484 F.2d

27 (8th Cir. 1973), which decided both personal jurisdiction

30-32) and _ venue Neher questions. The decision below,

jowever, relied poy App. A-16, 18, 19) on the jurisdic-

tional portion of Gardner, which in turn was b on Mr.

Justice (then Judge) Blackmun’s opinion in Aftanase v.

Economy Baler Co., 343 F.2d 187 (8th Cir. 1965). Paradoxical-

ly, the Gardner Court took pains to distinguish jurisdictional

analysis from venue analysis. Discussing jurisdiction, the

Court noted that the plaintiff was not required “to choose the

forum with the most significant contacts * * *” since the

“minimum contacts” rule was applicable (484 F.2d at 31), but on

venue it used the same “significant contacts” test employed by

the Ninth Circuit in the Commercial Lighti roducts, Inc.

case discussed infra in the text. While the Eighth Circuit in this

case stated that it was using a “weight of contacts” approach to

(Footnote continued on following page)

—1§—

Washington, 326 U.S. 310 (1945), and its progeny. This

test departs dramatically from the “significant contacts”

test applied for diversity-case venue by the Ninth Cir-

cuit: “any district in which a substantial part of the acts,

events, or omissions occurred that gave rise to the claim

for relief.” Commercial Lighting Products, Inc. v. United

States District Court, 587 F.2d 1078, 1080 (9th Cir. 1976)

(emphasis added). The Ninth Circuit, moreover, express-

ly refused to hold that venue was coextensive with a

State’s jurisdictional long-arm statute. Jd., at 1079-1080.

The conflict between the Eighth and Ninth Circuits on

the proper test for venue is not academic since under the

facts here the Ninth Circuit test would have required a

different result. While there is authority arguably sup-

porting jurisdiction over a nonresident on the basis of

the resident plaintiff's receipt of a communication in the

forum State,’ there is no procedent for basing federal

venue on such a flimsy foundation. The mere receipt of

6 continued

venue, its reliance on the jurisdictional portion of Gardner, its

mode of analysis, and its result on these facts indicate that

either it viewed the “minimum contacts” test and the “weight

of contacts” method as equivalent or instead was hopelessly

confused about the distinction between jurisdiction and venue.

_ Judge Bright’s opinion dissenting from the denial of rehear-

ing en banc pointed out the improper use of the “minimum

—— test for venue (App. A-29-30 n. 4), but obviously to

no avail.

‘ Norton v. Local Loan, 251 N.W.2d 520 (Iowa 1977) (alleged-

ly fraudulent telephone call from non-resident to resident

satisfied due process. requirements for personal jurisdiction).

8 See, e.g., Weil v. New York State t. of Tra ation,

400 F.Supp. 1364, 1465 (S.D.N.Y. 1975) (receipt of notice of

employinent termination insufficient for venue where signifi-

cant acts allegedly violating plaintiff's employment rights oc-

curred in different district); Ki an v. McCone, 422

F.Supp, 860, 877-879 (N.D. Cal. 1976) (learning of ard ex.

abe wg emotional distress from allegedly illegal acts insuf-

icient for venue where substantial activities underlying cause

of action occurred in different district).

ee

_| a

process and a production request was simply not a sub-

stantial part of the wrong alleged, which was that IBP,

represented by Rothe and Freeman, had improperly “in-

voked the judicial process” of the Sioux City court.

(Respondents’ Complaint 115.) Judge Bright, dissenting

below from the denial of rehearing en banc, explained

why venue for all three cases should be in the Northern

District of lowa:

Appellant Hawkins’ abuse of process claim

against the appellees is identical in substance to the

claim of appellant Cochrane, and the disposition of

each of those claims will require identical factual

inquiries concerning the appellees’ motivation in fil-

ing IBP’s action, alleged to be abusive of process, in

the Northern District of Iowa. Moreover, it seems

that the single forum which may most conveniently

undertake such factual inquiries is the district in

which the appellees filed their lawsuit, the

Northern District of Iowa. Yet, according to the

panel opinion, the substantially identical claims of

Hawkins and Cochrane must be tried in two

different forums: respectively, the Southern District

of Iowa and the District of Minnesota.

That result is obviously impractical and potential-

ly wasteful of judicial and legal time and resources,

and I suggest that the panel’s reasoning is unsound.

* * *

Surely, the convenience of the parties and the

courts is best served by litigation of Iowa Beef’s

conspiracy action and of Hawkins’ and Cochrane's

peripheral abur* of process actions in a Single

forum, which .an only be accomplished in the

Northern District of Iowa. Instead, the panel itself

has “proliferat{[ed] this growing mass of litigation,”

by scattering these related actions to three separate

forums. [App. A-28-30; footnotes omitted.)

The Eighth Circuit’s decision is particularly

anomalous since it was done supposedly for the “aggriev-

ed party’s” convenience, but it denied Cochrane his

—18-—

choice of Des Moines as a forum and told him Minnesota

would actually be more convenient,’ and also ignored the

fact that the parties were already litigating a closely

connected case in Sioux City and that no one’s con-

venience could be furthered by the waste and expense of

triplicate litigation of the same essential issues. liistead,

the Court of Appeals sustained respondents’ “obvious

forum-shopping” tactics which, in Judge Bright’s words,

“needlessly complicate the disposition of federal

litigation * * *” and which should “receive short shrift.”!°

(App. A-31.)

It is now up to this Court to resolve the conflicts

created below and to instruct the lower federal courts

not to make senseless venue decisions which only com-

pound the mass of litigation now confronting them. All

considerations here point to one logical forum—the

Northern District of Iowa whose process is allegedly be-

ing abused. Cf. Barrett v. Baylor, 457 F.2d 119, 123 n. 1

(7th Cir. 1972).

* Hawkins and Cochrane filed a joint complaint, but

petitioners did not move to sever the causes of action because

the criteria for joining parties under Rule 20, F.R.Civ.Proc.,

were plainly met. However, the Court of Appeals necessarily

has ordered the severance of the causes of action on its own

motion to compel respondents’ to pursue their individual ac-

tions in different districts.

10 The Eighth Circuit’s result also sharply conflicts with the

Judicial Panel’s handling of the question of the proper forum

for these disputes. The Panel denied consolidation of the Sioux

City and Des Moines cases because those two courts had

available procedural tools (venue and compulsory

counterclaim) to work out their own consolidation. (App. B-1-

11.) However, the Eighth Circuit interfered and did not allow

the district courts to solve the problem.

—19—

CONCLUSION

The Court of Appeals had to decide three legal

questions (compulsory counterclaim, relation back,

venue) in determining where these disputes were to be

litigated. It erred in deciding each one, and created a

conflict among the Circuits on each point. The paradox

is that the Eighth Circuit had to labor strenuously to

‘produce this anomaly since the authorities and policy

considerations are all to the contrary. Because it

proliferates essentially one controversy between the

same parties into three different courts, the decision

below now compels an exercise of this Court’s certiorari

jurisdiction to eliminate the resulting procedural night-

mare.

Accordingly, petitioners ask the Court to grant a writ

of certiorari to the Eighth Circuit and to reverse that

Court’s decision that one controversy must be litigated

simultaneously in three different federal courts.

Respectfully submitted,

Epwarp W. RotHe

James T. Matysrak

FREEMAN, RotHe, Freeman & SALzMan

One IBM Plaza - Suite 4735

Chicago, Illinois 60611

(312) 467-5330

Counsel for Petitioners

A-1l

APPENDIX A

In the United States Dictrict Court

Southern District of Iowa

Central Division

Civil No. 77-219-2.

Lex Hawkins and John A. Cochrane,

Plaintiffs,

v. :

Iowa Beef Processors, Inc., et al.,

Defendants.

ORDER

(Filed in U.S. District Court November 17, 1977)

The Court has before it defendant’s motion to dismiss

the above entitled action for improper venue and failure

to state a claim upon which relief can be granted. Fed.

R. Civ. P. 12(bX3), 12(bX6). For the purpose of providing

necessary background for its ruling herein, the Court

first reviews the procedural context from which defen-

dants’ motion arose.

On June 7, 1977, Iowa Beef Processors, Inc., defendant

in the present action, filed as plaintiff a separate action

in the United States District Court for the Northern

District of Iowa (Iowa Beef Processors, Inc. v. Amalga-

mated Meat Cutters & Butcher Workmen of North

America, AFL-CIO, Hawkins, Cochrane, et al.). This

Northern District action, which was based in part upon

information gained during a hearing in this Court in

still another case (lowa Meat Price Investigators, et al.

A-2

v. Iowa Beef Processors, et al.), alleged that Hawkins,

Cochrane, and others induced former Iowa Beef Proces-

sors (IBP) officials to breach their contracts with IBP.

Thereafter, on July 22, 1977, Hawkins and Cochrane

responded with the present action against IBP and its

counsel, alleging abuse of process. Plaintiffs Hawkins

and Cochrane claim that IBP’s case in the Northern Dis-

trict, and a companion case filed in the Southern Dis-

trict of New York, invoked these courts’ judicial

processes in an attempt to interfere, by way of intimida-

tion and harassment, with this Court’s lowa Meat Price

Investigators case. A subsequent attempt by plaintiffs

Hawkins and Cochrane to have the cases in the

Northern District of Iowa, the Southern District of New

York, and the present case transferred to this Court for

pretrial proceedings, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. & (sic) 1407,

was unsuccessful.* See In re Iowa Beef Processors

Employment Termination Contract Litigation, Docket

No. 315 (Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation, Oc-

tober 5, 1977).!

Defendants, in their motion to dismiss the pending

“abuse of process” action, contend that venue under 28

U.S.C. § 189l(a) is improper.? Clearly, as defendants

argue, the divergence in citizenship among plaintiffs

and among defendants necessarily makes proper venue

in this case turn on where “the claim arose”. The issue

before this Court is whether defendants are correct in

' The Court has received a letter from counsel for IBP in-

dicating that the New York action, on plaintiff's own motion,

was dismissed on October 6, 1977.

2 Section 1391(a) provides:

“A civil action wherein jurisdiction if founded only on di-

versity of citizenship may, except as otherwise provided b

law, be brought only in the judicial district where all

plaintiffs or all defendants reside, on (sic) in which the

claim arose.”

A-3

claiming that plaintiffs’ action for abuse of process arose

in the Northern District of Iowa, thereby making venue

improper in this district.

With convenience to the parties foremost in mind,

federal courts have recently applied a “minimum con-

tacts” approach when determining where a “claim

arose.” Travis v. Anthes Imperial Ltd., 473 F. 2d 515

(8th Cir. 1973); 1 Moore’s Federal Practice, § 0.142[.5-2].

These courts look to the operative facts of a case to

ascertain the most significant contacts. Arnold v. Smith

Motor Co., Brookfield, Mo., 389 F. Supp. 1020 (N.D.

Iowa 1974). Though considered less significant in other

types of actions, the place of injury remains as the prin-

cipal operative fact in simple tort cases. Redmond v.

Atlantic Coast Football League, 359 F. Supp. 666 (S.D.

Ind. 1973); Maney v. Ratcliff, 399 F. Supp. 760 (E.D.

Wis. 1975). This is especially true in the action, in which

the Multidistrict Panel has apparently concluded that no

other factor makes one district more convenient to the

parties than another.

In the present action, the Court finds the place of in-

jury to be in the Northern District of Iowa. It is there,

by filing an action against Hawkins and Cochrane, that

defendants are alleged to be doing that which should not

be done. While the injury may have effects in this dis-

trict, the overt act giving rise to the injury was the fil-

ing of an action in the federal court for the Northern

District of Iowa.

To prove “abuse of process”, plaintiffs must show that

defendants seek to pervert the use of judicial process in

the Northern District, and do so for an ulterior motive.

Sarvold v. Dodson, 237 N.W. 2d 447 (lowa 1976). The

Northern District Court is in a far better position to

make such a determination. Though perhaps propelied

A-4

by facts uncovered in an action elsewhere, defendants’

action in the Northern District, based upon inducement

to breach contract, is entirely different from the action

allegedly interfered with in this Court, which focuses on

antitrust violations. This Court should not attempt to tell

the Northern District Court that a case pending on its

docket was abusing its processes and was but a facade,

much less—as plaintiffs request—enjoin the Northern

District Court from processing that case. Also, if the

Northern District proceeds on both actions, the possi-

bility that rulings of this Court and the United States

District Court for the Northern District would come into

direct conflict is eliminated.

This Court, while noting its serious reservations, need

not consider defendants’ argument that plaintiffs’ pres-

ent case must be dismissed because it is a compulsory

counterclaim to defendants’ case in the Northern Dis-

trict. Having determined that the venue is improperly

laid, the Court dismisses the action on this ground alone.

28 U.S.C. § 1406(a).

It Is Hereby Ordered that the above-entitled action be

dismissed for lack of proper venue.

«

Signed this 17 day of November, 1977.

/s/ W. C. STUART

W. C. STUART, Chief Judge

Southern District of Iowa

11-17-77 Copy to attys.: Judges Hanson, Stuart & Mc-

Manus 58-0J-86

A-5

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For The Eighth Circuit

No. 77-1988

John A. Cochrane,

Appellant,

v.

Iowa Beef Processors, Inc., Edward W. Rothe and Lee

Freeman, Sr.,

Appellees.

No. 78-1008

Lex Hawkins,

Appellant,

v.

Iowa Beef Processors, Inc., Edward W. Rothe and Lee

Freeman, Sr.,

Appellees.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Iowa.

Submitted: May 18, 1978

Filed: January 5, 1979

(as corrected January 12, 1979)

Before GIBSON, Chief Judge, HENLEY, Circuit Judge,

and BECKER, Senior District Judge.*

BECKER, Senior District Judge.

* The Honorable William H. Becker, United States Senior

District Judge, Western District of Missouri, sitting by

designation.

A-6

These consolidated appeals are from a final judgment

of the United States District Court for the Southern Dis-

trict of Iowa! granting a defense motion to dismiss for

improper venue? this diversity case which sounds in

common law tort for alleged abuse of process cognizable

under Iowa law, and generally under § 682 of the

Restatement of Torts.

The plaintiffs (appellants) in the case are Lex

Hawkins and John A. Cochrane, both of whom are prac-

ticing attorneys. Mr. Hawkins is a citizen of Iowa and

resides in Des Moines, in the Southern District of Iowa.

Mr. Cochrane is a citizen of Minnesota, resides in and

practices in the City of St. Paul, and elsewhere, in-

cluding the Southern District of Iowa.

The defendants in the case are two individuals and

one corporation. The individual defendants, Edward W.

Rothe and Lee Freeman, Sr., are citizens of Illinois.

Like the plaintiffs, they are lawyers and practice in

Chicago and elsewhere, including the Southern District

of Iowa. One of their clients is the corporate defendant,

Iowa Beef Processors, Inc. (Iowa Beef), which is a

Delaware corporation having its principal place of

business in Nebraska.

The suit arises from the fact that in early June 1977,

Iowa Beef filed two suits in federal courts in the

Northern District of Iowa and the Southern District of

New York, against a number of defendants, including

Mr. Cochrane and Mr. Hawkins.’ Both complaints filed

‘ The Honorable William C. Stuart, Chief Judge.

2 28 U.S.C. § 1406(a).

’ That case is docketed as No. C-77-4040 and is on the docket

of Chief Judge McManus. The initial complaint in that case

named as defendants, in addition to Cochrane and Hawkins.

(Footnote continued on following page)

A-7

by Iowa Beef charged that in early 1977 the defendants,

including Hawkins and Cochrane, conspired to obtain

from the defendant Hughes A. Bagley, a former officer

of Iowa Beef, and from the defendant Hans Aarsen, a

former employee of Iowa Beef, confidential information

about Iowa Beef’s operation and confidential documents;

that disclosure of these documents would be damaging

to Iowa Beef and would be helpful to Messrs. Cochrane

and Hawkins in an antitrust action that they were

prosecuting in the Southern District of lowa on behalf of

an organization known as Meat Price Investigators

Association (MPIA) in which Iowa Beef and other cor-

porations were defendants; that the disclosures . by

Bagley violated not only his fiduciary duties to Iowa

Beef but also the terms of a contract that had been

entered into between him and Iowa Beef in connection

with Bagley’s separation from his employment by Iowa

Beef; and that the disclosures by Aarsen violated his

fiduciary duties to his former employer. In these actions

Iowa Beef sought damages, declaratory and injunctive

relief.

At or about the same time that it filed its suit in the

Northern District of Iowa, Iowa Beef filed a similar suit

against the same defendants in the United States Dis-

trict Court for the Southern District of New York. That

suit was later dismissed by Iowa Beef after jurisdic-

tional and venue questions were raised.

3 continued

the Amalgamated Meat Cutters and Butcher Workmen of

North America, AFL-CIO, Irving Stern, Albert J. Krieger,

Hughes A. Bagley and Hans Aarsen. On August 1, 1977 the

complaint was amended so as to elirninate the Union as a

defendant and to substitute for it three representatives of the

Union as class defendants to avoid jurisdictional problems,

caused by joinder of the Union.

A-8

The plaintiff Hawkins contends that summons and

discovery motions to produce documents in both of these

actions were unlawfully served on him in the Southern

District of Iowa causing injury to him in the Southern

District of Iowa, where most of the documents were

located in the office of MPIA.

The plaintiff Cochrane contends that summons and

discovery motions to produce documents in both of these

actions were unlawfully served on him in Minnesota

causing injury to him in both Minnesota and in the

Southern District of Iowa because most of the docu-

ments he was requested to produce were held in the

Southern District of Iowa in connection with the related

antitrust action he and Hawkins were prosecuting in the

Southern District of Iowa.

While both of those suits were pending, Iowa Beef

served on the plaintiffs motions to produce documents

that were in the possession of the plaintiffs. While the

motions requested that the documents be produced both

at the office of Iowa Beef’s counsel in Sioux City, Iowa

and at the office of Iowa Beef’s counsel in New York

City, plaintiffs contend the principal injuries to both oc-

curred in the Southern District of Iowa where most of

the documents were located, and where Hawkins was

served with the allegedly unlawful process.

The theory of the plaintiffs in this case is that while

the filing of the suits in the Northern District of Iowa

and the Southern District of New York by Iowa Beef

were improperly motivated, the service of process

therein, including summons and motions to produce,

constituted abuse of process and tortious interference

with prospective advantage. Plaintiffs contend the abuse

of process injured both in the Southern District of Iowa,

A-9

and injured Cochrane to a lesser degree in Minnesota.

Plaintiffs claimed actual and punitive damages amount-

ing to $24,000,000.00 and sought injunctive and declara-

tory relief as well. They also asked for interest, costs,

and a reasonable attorney’s fee.

From what has been said, it is clear that the district

court had diversity jurisdiction of the case. The problem

is simply one of venue. Since jurisdiction is based solely

on diversity of citizenship, the resolution of the question

of venue is governed by 28 U.S.C. § 1391(a). That section

provides, subject to exceptions not here relevant, that

where a suit is filed in federal court on the basis of

diversity of citizenship alone it must be filed either in

the district where all plaintiffs reside, or in the district

where all defendants reside, or in the district in which

“the claim arose.”

In view of the citizenship of the parties which has

been described, it is evident that venue in the Southern

District of Iowa was proper only if plaintiffs’ claim

“arose” in that district within the meaning of § 1391(a).

Apart from the venue question with which we are con-

cerned, this case would not appear to be a particularly

complicated one. However, it is an offshoot of extensive

antitrust litigation involving the beef industry in this

country. A number of suits have been filed under § 4 of

the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. § 15, charging violations of

§§ 1 and 2 of the Sherman Antitrust Act of 1890, 15

U.S.C. §§ 1 and 2. One of those suits was filed by

Messrs. Hawkins and Cochrane on behalf of MPIA,

which has been mentioned, against several defendants,

including Iowa Beef, represented by Messrs. Rothe and

Freeman, and another defendant identified as Spencer

A-10

Foods, Inc.‘ The filing of that suit and events leading up

to it have unfortunately created much animosity which

has extended to at least some of the lawyers involved in

the litigation.5

One may suspect that the suits filed by Iowa Beef in

the Northern District of Iowa on June 7, 1977, and in

the Southern District of New York at about the same

time were in retaliation for the filing by Hawkins and

Cochrane of the MPIA suit, and designed to provide two

new opportunities to make discovery from the clients of

appellants; and that the filing of these instant actions on

July 22, 1977 by Hawkins and Cochrane against Iowa

Beef and its attorneys was in retaliation for the filing of

the actions in the Northern District of Iowa and in the

Southern District of New York.

‘ The suits were filed in federal court in California, Iowa,

Nevada, Texas and Utah. The Judicial Panel on Multidistrict

Litigation, established by 28 U.S.C. § 1407, consolidated all of

the cases, including the MPIA suit, for pretrial purposes and

concentrated them in the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Texas. See In re Beef Industry Antitrust

Litigation, 419 F.Supp. 720 (JPML 1976), and 432 F.Supp.

211 (JPML 1977).

’ There seems to be no question that Mr. Hawkins and Mr.

Cochrane had some private conversations with Hughes A.

Bagley, who has been mentioned and who at the time of the

conversations was employed ne Spencer Foods, and that he

may have given Hawkins and Cochrane information that was

damaging not only to Iowa Beef but also to Spencer Foods. In

any event, when Spencer Foods was sued along with Iowa

Beef and other defendants, it moved unsuccessfully for a

severance of the claim against it from the claims against the

other defendants, and for an order Glaqualitying ev nine and

Cochrane from further representation of MPIA against

ot Foods on the gound that they had been guilty of un-

ethical conduct. See Meat Price Investigators Association v.

Spencer Foods, Inc., (CsA. 8 1978) 572 F.2d 163; Iowa Beef

Processors, Inc. Oy te; (C.A. 8 1978) ..... F.2d ..... , No. 78-

1855, December 14, 1978. This latter claim is mentioned in

the complaint of, appellants.

A-1l1

The appellants and other defendants in the action in

the Northern District of Iowa case filed a number of

defensive motions that were not acted upon until

February 1978. In the meantime, appellants Cochrane

and Hawkins were not compelled to produce any of the

material that Iowa Beef had sought to require them to

produce in Chicago and New York.

We now return to the point at issue, which is whether

the district court erred in holding that the claims of

appellants did not arise in the Southern District of Iowa,

and so did not satisfy the applicable venue requirement

of § 1391(a).

The district court dealt with the problem in the

following language:

With convenience to the parties foremost in mind,

federal courts have recently applied a ‘minimum

contacts’ approach when determining where a

‘claim arose’. Travis v. Anthes Imperial Ltd., 473

F.2d 515 (8th Cir. 1973); 1 Moore’s Federal Prac-

tice, § 0.142[.5-2]. These courts look to the operative

facts of a case to ascertain the most significant con-

tacts. Arnold v. Smith Motor Co., Brookfield, Mo.,

389 F.Supp. 1020 (N.D. Iowa 1974). Though con-

sidered less significant in other types of actions, the

place of injury remains as the principal operative

fact in simple tort cases. Redmond v. Atlantic Coast

Football League, 359 F.Supp. 666 (S.D. Ind. 1973);

Maney v. Ratcliff, 399 F.Supp. 760 (E.D. Wis. 1975).

This is especially true in this action, in which the

Multidistrict Panel has apparently concluded that

no other factor makes one district more cenvenient

to the parties than another.

In the present action, the Court finds the place of

injury to be in the Northern District of Iowa. It is

there, by filing an action against Hawkins and

Cochrane, that defendants are alleged to be doing

that which should not be done. While the injury

A-12

may have effects in this district, the overt act

giving rise to the injury was the filing of an action

in the federal court for the Northern District of

Iowa.

To prove ‘abuse of process’, plaintiffs must show

that defendants seek to pervert the use of judicial

process in the Northern District, and do so for an

ulterior motive. Sarvold v. Dodson, 237 N.W.2d 447

(Iowa 1976). The Northern District Court is in a far

better position to make such a determination.

Though perhaps propelled by facts uncovered in an

action elsewhere, defendants’ action in the Northern

District, based upon inducement to breach contract,

is entirely different from the action allegedly

interfered with in this Court, which focuses on

antitrust violations. This Court should not attempt

to tell the Northern District Court that a case

pending on its docket was abusing its processes and

was but a facade, much less—as plaintiffs request—

enjoin the Northern District Court from processing

that case. Also, if the Northern District proceeds on

both actions, the possibility that rulings of this

Court and the United States District Court for the

Northern District would come into direct conflict is

eliminated.

This Court, while noting its serious reservations,

need not consider defendants’ argument that plain-

tiffs’ present case must be dismissed because it is a

compulsory counterclaim to defendants’ case in the

Northern District. Having determined that the

venue is improperly laid, the Court dismisses the

action on this ground alone. 28 U.S.C. § 1406(a).

It Is Hereby Ordered that the above-entitled

action be dismissed for lack of proper venue.

Appellants seek reversal of this judgment of the

district court dismissing the action because of lack of

venue.

A-13

Issues Presented On Appeal

In support of its assignment of error on appeal,

appellants contend that:

A. In simple tort cases for (1) abuse of process and

(2) tortious interference with prospective ad-

vantage, cognizable under Iowa law, venue is

proper in the place of harm or injury, which

was in the Southern District of Iowa. For this

reason federal case law supports diversity

action venue where the process is received.

B. Application of the “weight of contacts” ap-

proach requires a finding that venue was

proper in the Southern District of Iowa.

C. Where there are no compelling justifications for

venue in another district the trial court erred in

not allowing plaintiffs their choice of forum, the

Southern District of Iowa.

Anticipating the need to secure favorable resolution of

the compulsory counterclaim issue, appellants further

contend:

D. The plaintiffs’ action was not a compulsory

counterclaim in either the Northern District of

Iowa or in the action in the Southern District of

New York.

Appellees oppose each of appellants’ contentions.

For the reasons stated hereinafter, we conclude that

within the meaning of § 1391(a) that (1) the claim of

appellant Hawkins arose in the Southern District of

Iowa, and reverse that part of the judgment of the

district court dismissing the claim for relief of the

appellant Hawkins; (2) the claim of appellant Cochrane

arose in the District of Minnesota, and affirm that part

of the judgment dismissing the claim for relief of

appellant Cochrane, and remand the action to the

district court for the Southern District of Iowa for

further proceedings consistent with this opinion.

A-14

I.

Nature of Appellants’ Claim for Relief

In this diversity action appellants base their claims

for relief upon the law of Iowa, and to recover each must

establish his claim under the law of Iowa.

In support of their claims for relief, appellants rely

upon general tort law, citing, among other authorities:

Prosser, Law of Torts, § 121 (4th edition 1971); 3 Restate-

ment of Torts 2d, § 682 on Abuse of Process; Note, Abuse

of Process, 13 Cleveland-Marshall L.Rev. 163 (1964).

Appellants cite an Iowa decision supporting their con-

tention that a claim for relief for abuse of process exists

under Iowa law, citing Sarvold v. Dodson, 237 N.W.2d

447 (lowa 1976) applying § 682 of the Restatement of

Torts (1938). Further, appellants cite an Iowa decision

supporting their contention that a claim for relief for

tortious interference with prospective advantage exists

under Iowa law. Stoller Fisheries, Inc. v. American Title

Insurance Co., 258 N.W.2d 336 (Iowa 1977). The Stoller

case follows § 766B of Tentative Draft No. 23 (1977) of

the Restatement of Torts.®

Significantly, appellants rely on the Sarvold decision,

supra, which quotes with approval the leading federal

district court opinion in Hyde Construction Co., Inc. v.

Koehring Co., (S.D. Miss. 1974) 387 F.Supp. 702, 1.c. 712,

affirmed in the material part, (C.A. 5 1977) 546 F.2d

6 The Stoller case, supra, construes § 766B of Tentative Draft

No. 23 to require as an element of the claim for relief that the

interference cause the third party to discontinue the contrac-

tual relation of appellants with their client, or their successful

rosecution of the antitrust action of MPIA v. Iowa Beef.

either result is alleged. Therefore, the second claim for

relief of appellants may be construed under Iowa law to state

a claim for abuse of process only.

A-15

1193. This latter case, at the district court level, held

that process issued by courts in Oklahoma and Wiscon-

sin but served in Mississippi supported a claim for relief

under Mississippi law cognizable in Mississippi courts,

and dealt with the “significant contacts” rule and the

“center of gravity” rule.

The better rule is that the ultimate determination in

diversity cases of the district in which the claim arose

requires application of federal procedural law constru-

ing § 1391, Title 28 U.S.C. 15 Wright, Miller & Cooper,

Federal Practice and Procedure, § 3803, page 10 and

cases cited in note 10. But state substantive law applies

in defining the essential elements and nature of the

claim for relief asserted under state law. Appellants

have demonstrated the existence under Iowa law of ac-

tions for abuse of process. Whether appellants’ second

claim for relief based on alleged tortious interference

with prospective advantage exists under Iowa law is less

clear because the Stoller case dealt with intentional in-

terference with prospective contractual relation. A deci-

sion on that question need not be made on this appeal,

and can be left to the judgment of the district court on

remand. The same acts of appellees alleged in

paragraph 15 of the complaint (Appendix 6, 7), are

relied on by appellants in support of their second claim

for relief. Therefore, the conclusions of this opinion con-

cerning the district in which each claim for relief of

appellants arose are applicable to the claims for tortious

interference with prospective advantage.

A discussion of the federal procedural law construing

§ 13891(a), Title 28 U.S.C. applicable to this appeal

follows.

A-16

II

The Applicable Federal Procedural Law

The federal courts have developed varying standards

for determining where the claim arose. The principal

ones are (1) the “weight of contacts” rule; (2) the “place

of injury” rule; (3) the American Law Institute rule,

derived from the ALI Study of the Division of Jurisdic-

tion Between the State and Federal Courts, § 1303, 1314

(1969). These, and other standards without general sup-

port, are described in Wood, Federal Venue: Locating the

Place Where the Claim Arose, 54 Texas L.Rev. 392.

This court has noted the American Law Institute rule,

in considering the analysis of five factors by Judge

Blackmun (Mr. Justice Blackmun) in Aftanase v.

Economy Baler Co., (C.A. 8 1965) 343 F.2d 187, and con-

cluded that:

“Since venue is a procedural rule of convenience,

the convenience of the aggrieved party should be

first accommodated.” Gardner Engineering Cor-

poration v. Page Engineering Company, (C.A. 8

1973) 484 F. od 27, 1.c. 33.

The American Law Institute rule allows venue in any

district in which “a substantial part of the events or

omissions giving rise to the claim occurred.” 15 Wright

Miller & Cooper, Federal Practice and Procedure,

§ 3806, page 29, citing with approval Gardner Engineer-

ing Corporation v. Page Engineering Company, supra,

(C.A. 8 1978) 484 F.2d 27.

- The principles of the Gardner Engineering Company

case, supra, should be applied in this appeal separately

to the claim for relief of appellant Hawkins, and to the

claim for relief of appellant Cochrane.

A-17

III

Where the Claim of Hawkins Arose

On June 7, 1977 the defendant, Iowa Beef Processors,

acting through its counsel defendants Rothe and

Freeman, filed in the Northern District of Iowa and the

Southern District of New York, identical diversity civil

actions against Amalgamated Meat Cutters & Butcher

Workmen of North America, AFL-CIO (Union), Irving

Stern, Albert J. Krieger, Lex Hawkins, John A.

Cochrane, Hughes A. Bagley and Hans Aarsen. The civil

actions were based on alleged conduct by the defendants

in causing and inducing one Bagley, as former employee

of the plaintiff, to violate a contract by giving confiden-

tial information to the defendants in those actions. As

noted above, the elements of the claim of Hawkins for

relief for abuse of process were based on the service

upon him in the Southern District of Iowa of summons

and motions to produce in Chicago and New York

documents located in the Southern District of Iowa

(Appellants’ Brief 5-11). The alleged abusive process was

issued contemporaneously by the district courts of the

Northern District of lowa and the Southern District of

New York. Appellants claim that, under Iowa law, the

claims arose when the abusive process was served and

each sustained injury, citing Stoller Fisheries, Inc. v.

American Title Insurance Company, supra, 258 N.W.2d

336 (lowa 1977) and Wolfswinkel v. Gesink, 180 N.W.2d

452 (Iowa 1970) (Appellants’ Brief, 18, 19) for the rule of

‘substantive law that the claim arose only when injury

was caused.

In these circumstantes it is clear that under any of the

federal procedural standards mentioned above the claim

of Hawkins arose in the Southern District of Iowa.

A-18

The controlling opinion of this court in the Gardner

Engineering Corporation case, supra, requires a reversal

of the dismissal of the claim for relief of Hawkins,

because all three primary factors described by Mr.

Justice Blackmun ~. page 31 of 484 F.2d are related

only to the Southern District of Iowa.’ All contacts giv-

ing rise to the claim for relief occurred in the Southern

District of Iowa. The remaining two secondary factors,

interest. of the forum state (district here) and con-

venience point to venue in the Southern District of Iowa.

For if the claim related to the process issued in the

Northern District of Iowa arose in the Northern District

of Iowa, then a separate second claim arose in the

Southern District of New York. This assumption would

require the appellants to travel to New York to seek

satisfaction of their claims further proliferating this

growing mass of litigation. Such a result would violate

the rule of the Gardner Engineering case, supra, that

the convenience of the aggrieved party should be first

accommodated.

All alleged acts claimed by Hawkins to constitute tor-

tious interference with prospective advantage occurred

in the Southern District of Iowa.

Under the “weight of contacts” rule and the American

Law Institute rule, it follows for all of the same reasons

that the claim of appellant Hawkins arose in the

Southern District of Iowa. So that portion of the judg-

ment dismissing the complaint of appellant Hawkins

should be reversed and remanded.

’ Judicial efficiency and convenience require, when possible,

that this peripheral litigation be tried where the central an-

oy case be tried. This factor favors the Southern District

of Iowa.

A-19

Where The Claim of Cochrane Arose

The claim of appellant Cochrane is based primarily on

service of abusive process, and secondarily on tortious

interference with prospective advantage. All wrongful

acts alleged by appellants are included in paragraph 15

of a one count complaint.

On the abuse of process claim of Cochrane it is clear

that all process issued and served in the actions filed by

defendants in the Northern District of Iowa and the

Southern District of New York was served on appellant

Cochrane in the District of Minnesota (Appellants’ Brief

9).

It is claimed that the documents, the production of

which was sought by the appellees, were in the Southern

District of Iowa, and that the appellees sought to dis-

qualify the appellants in the related basic antitrust ac-

tion pending there.

For the same reasons given in the portion of this opin-

ion concerning the district in which the claim of

Hawkins arose, it is concluded that the claim of

Cochrane, if cognizable under Minnesota law, arose in

the District of Minnesota. All the five factors described

by Mr. Justice Blackmun and noted in the Gardner

Engineering Corporation case, supra, point to. the Dis-

trict of Minnesota. Cochrane’s convenience is ac-

commodated by permitting him to litigate in the district

in which he lives and practices. The principal acts and

injury of which he complains occurred there. The loca-

tion of the documents, and the complaints about the

appellants in MPIA v. Iowa Beef are secondary.

Under the “weight of contacts” rules the most signifi-

cant contacts and the most of the contacts occurred in

the District of Minnesota.

A-20

For these reasons that portion of the judgment dis-

missing the complaint of Cochrane is affirmed without

prejudice to his bringing an action in the District of

Minnesota.

IV

The Claims of Appellants Are

Not Compulsory Counterclaims

The appellees contend that the claims for relief of

appellants are compulsory counterclaims that appellants

were required to assert in the Northern District of Iowa

under Rule 13(a) F.R.Civ.P. (Appellees’ Brief IIA). We

disagree for the reasons set out below.

Rule 13(a) in the material part provides as follows:

“(a) Compulsory Counterclaims. A pleading shall

state as a counterclaim any claim which at the time

of serving the pleading the pleader has against any

opposing party, if it arises out of the transaction or

occurrence that is the subject matter of the op-

posing party’s claim and does not require for its ad-

judication the presence of third parties of whom the

court cannot acquire jurisdiction. But the pleader

need not state the claim if (1) at the time the action

was commenced the claim was the subject of

another pending action... .”

This provision of Rule 13(a) is not applicable because

(1) the claims of the appellants did not arise out of the

transaction or occurrence that is the subject matter of

the opposing party’s claim; (2) at the time the action

below was lawfully commenced the claims of appellants

were the subject of the action under review in the Dis-

trict Court of the Southern District of Iowa.

As an introduction to the discussion below some

material dates and uncontroverted legal aspects of the

litigation should be noted.

— ss

A-21

The actions of appellees in the Northern District of

Iowa and in the Southern District of New York were

each filed as a diversity action on or about June 7, 1977.

The defendant Union was named as a defendant. A un-

ion for diversity purposes is a citizen of each state in

which it had members.’ Because the Union had

members who were citizens of Nebraska, of which Iowa

Beef was a citizen, neither of the actions in the Northern

District of Iowa and in the Southern District of New

York was lawfully commenced on June 7, 1977.

Appellees in a brief filed in the district court on

September 6, 1977, admitted the lack of diversity in

those two actions (Appendix 65).

On July 22, 1977, appellants filed the action under

review in the Southern District of lowa as a diversity

action. It was not until August 1, 1977, that appellees

filed a complaint of which the District Court had

jurisdiction in which the Union was dropped as a party.

This was the date that the action in the Northern Dis-

trict of lowa was lawfully commenced.

The transaction or occurrence that was the subject of

the two actions in the Northern District of Iowa and in

the Southern District of New York is described in

appellees’ brief as follows:

The complaint alleged inter alia that Bagley, a

former high ranking IBP officer, had breached

both a settlement agreement with IBP which had

been negotiated after Bagley’s employment with

IBP had been terminated and also his fiduciary

duties to IBP by disclosing confidential IBP

documents and information to Hawkins, Cochrane,

Stern, Krieger and the Union. Aarsen, also a

former IBP employee, was also charged with

violating his fiduciary duties to IBP by wrongfully

8 United Steelworkers of America, AFL-CIO v. R.H.

ees ny, Inc., 382 U.S. 145, 86 S.Ct. 272, 15 L.Ed.2d 217

A-22

disclosing confidential IBP documents. The other

defendants, including Hawkins and Cochrane, were

charged with inducing Bagley’s breaches of con-

tract and violations of fiduciary duties and with

conspiring to do those wrongful acts.

The Action of Appellants in the

Southern District of Iowa Did Not

Arise Out of the Transaction

That Is the Subject Matter of Appellants’ (sic)

Claim in the Northern District of Iowa.

The gist of the action of appellants filed in the

Southern District of Iowa was abuse of process and tor-

tious interference with prospective advantage by a series

of acts alleged in paragraph 15 of appellants’ complaint.

The central theme of appellants’ complaint is abuse of

legal process. In no substantial sense can appellants’

claims for relief for abuse of process be found to have

arisen out of the alleged breach of contract by Bagley

and out of the alleged breach of fiduciary duties by

Bagley and Aarsen.

This conclusion is supported by the scholarly opinion

of Judge Julian in a similar case, Bose Corporation v.

Consumers Union of United States, Inc., (D. Mass. 1974)

384 F. Supp. 600. After a review of the applicable case

law, and the various tests described in 6 Wright &

Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure § 1410, Judge

Julian concluded:

The: counterclaims can be read to allege malicious

abuse of process. The analysis is similar to the

analysis concerning defamation; the counterclaims

are permissive and are barred unless operation of

the statute of limitations was suspended. The

counterclaims also can be read to assert a claim for

malicious prosecution of a civil action. Such a claim

we (ode ee ee Cate ee ee

A Pi lh I ha

rs + ee ah a re he PS

A-23

is premature; the defendant must, and cannot,

allege a favorable termination of this suit if it is to

proceed on a theory of malicious prosecution.

(Emphasis added.) 384 F.Supp. 1.c. 603.

The varying tests for determination whether the claim

in question arose out of the same transaction or oc-

currence, within the meaning of Rule 13(a) are set forth

in 6 Wright & Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure

§ 1410 at page 42 as follows:

1) Are the issues of fact and law raised by the

claim and counterclaim largely the same?

2) Would res judicata bar a subsequent suit on

defendant’s claim absent the compulsory

counterclaim rule?

3) Will substantially the same evidence support or

refute plaintiffs claim as well as defendant’s

counterclaim?

4) Is there any logical relation between the claim

and the counterclaim? (Footnotes omitted.)

Under these tests, as concluded by Judge Julian in the

Bose Corporation case, supra, the claims for relief of

appellants for abuse of process did not arise out of the

transaction or occurrence described in appellees’ com-

plaints in the Northern District of Iowa.’

The reasoning of Judge Julian and the authorities

cited are fully applicable to this case, in which the fac-

tual contrast between the claims of appellants and the

transaction or occurrence of appellees’ claim for relief

are much clearer.

® Even if it arose out of the same transaction or occurrence,

a claim for relief that has not matured need not be asserted as

a compulsory counterclaim. 6 pai & Miller, Federal Prac-

tice and Procedure, § 1411, pages 54-55. It is not necessary to

discuss this exception.

A-24

Appellees contend that representations made by

appellants to the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litiga-

tion, in a motion to transfer the appellees’ actions in the

Southern District of New York and in the Northern Dis-

trict of Iowa to Judge Hanson in the Southern District

of Iowa, establish that the three actions arise out of the

same transaction and occurrence (Appendix 19-21).

While paragraph 2 of the motion contains a legal conclu-

sion lending some support to the construction of

appelllees, paragraphs 4 and 5 clearly describe the

difference in the claims noted above. Further, the full

pleadings are before us for a determination from the

primary evidence.

At the Time the Acfion of Appellees

in the Northern District of Iowa Was Lawfully

Commenced, Appellants’ Action Was Pending

in the Southern District of Iowa.

It was not until August 1, 1977, when the appellees

filed an amended complaint in the Northern District of

Iowa alleging diversity of citizenship, that the action of

appellees was lawfully commenced. At that time the ac-

tion of appellants was pending in the Southern District

of Iowa on the basis of uncontroverted diversity of

citizenship.

An action is not lawfully commenced within the mean-

ing of Rule 13(a) when a complaint disclosing absence of

jurisdiction on its face is filed. Appellees seek to avoid

this conclusion by relying on the following provision of

Rule 1c):

Whenever the claim or defense asserted in the

amended pleading arose out of the conduct, transac-

tion, or occurrence set forth or attempted to be set

forth in the original pleading, the amendment

relates back to the date of the original pleading.

ee ee ee ee

A-25

The relation back rule is not applicable if the new

claim did not arise out of the same transaction or oc-

currence. Hale v. Ralston Purina Company, (C.A. 8

1970) 432 F.2d 156. For the same reason it cannot affect

the claim of appellants in a separate suit.

The purposes for which this provision of Rule 15(c),

F.R.Civ.P., were intended do not include a procedural

fiction applicable to changing the facts in civil actions

competing for priority in filing under Rule 13(a)

F.R.Civ.P.

The purposes of Rule 15(c) are discussed in detail in 3

Moore's Federal Practice 115.15. The relation back

provision of Rule 15(c) is not applicable as contended by

appellees.

For the foregoing reasons that portion of the judgment

of the district court dismissing the claim for relief of

appellant Hawkins is reversed and the cause remanded

for further proceedings on the claim for relief of the

appellant Hawkins. That portion of the judgment dis-

missing the claim for relief of appellant Cochrane for

lack of venue is affirmed.

A true copy:

Attest:

CLERK, U.S. CourRT OF APPEALS,

8th CIRCUIT.

A-26

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For The Eight Circuit

September Term, 1978

77-1988 and 78-1008.

77-1988.

John A. Cochrane,

Appellant,

v.

Iowa Beef Processors, Inc., et al,

Appellees.

78-1008.

Lex Hawkins,

Appellant,

v.

Iowa Beef Processors, Inc., et al,

Appellees.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Iowa.

The Court having considered petition for rehearing en

banc filed by counsel for appellees and, being fully ad-

vised in the premises, it is ordered that the petition for

rehearing en banc be, and it is hereby, denied.

All of the Judges who have voted on the petition for

rehearing en banc have voted no with the exception of

Judge Bright. Judge Lay has recused himself from

voting.

Considering the petition for rehearing en banc as a

petition for rehearing, it is ordered that the petition for

rehearing also be, and it is hereby, denied.

March 5, 1979

a ee |

a Be

eh ES I et me

ne I na oy Re a A a

A-27

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For The Eighth Circuit

No. 78-1008

John A. Cochrane,

Appellant,

v.

Iowa Beef Processors, Inc., Edward W. Rothe and Lee

Freeman, Sr.,

Appellees.

No. 77-1988

Lex Hawkins,

Appellant,

v.

Iowa Beef Processors, Inc., Edward W. Rothe and Lee

FREEMAN, Sr.,

Appellees.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of lowa.

DISSENT TO ORDER DENYING

REHEARING EN BANC

BRIGHT, Circuit Judge.

I dissent from the denial of the petition for rehearing.

I recognize that a decision of a panel of this court which

does not dispose of the merits of a case is usually not a

good candidate for en banc consideration. Nevertheless,

it appears to me that the panel’s opinion on the venue

issue ought to be reconsidered.

I. Factual Summary.

On June 7, 1977, Iowa Beef Processors, Inc. (IBP),

filed identical diversity actions against Hawkins,

A-28

Cochrane and others in the Northern District of Iowa

and in the Southern District of New York, alleging,

among other things, a conspiracy by Hawkins and

Cochrane to defame IBP. IBP amended its complaints

on August 1, 1977, dropping as a defendant a nonessen-

tial party whose presence arguably precluded diversity

jurisdiction.!

On July 22, 1977, Hawkins and Cochrane (appellants)

filed suit in the Southern District of Iowa against IBP

and its counsel, Messrs. Rothe and Freeman (collective-

ly, the appellees), alleging that the appellees had abused

judicial process in IBP’s Northern District of Iowa and

New York lawsuits.?

On November 17, 1977, Chief Judge William C. Stuart

(United States District Court for the Southern District

of Iowa) granted the appellees’ motion to dismiss the

appellants’ abuse of process actions in the Southern Dis-

trict of Iowa, holding that Hawkins’ and Cochrane's

claims arose in the Northern District of Iowa. The pres-

ent appeal followed.

Il. The Venue Issue.

Appellant Hawkins’ abuse of process claim against the

appellees is identical in substance to the claim of

appellant Cochrane, and the disposition of each of those

' IBP voluntarily dismissed the New York action without

prejudice on October 6, 1977.

* Specifically, the alleged abuse of process consisted of: (1) filing

Suit; (2) serving summons; and (3) serving a document request

assertedly calling for Hawkins’ and Cochrane’s work product

as counsel in Meat Price Investigators Association IA] v.

lowa Beef Processors, et al., an antitrust suit originally filed in

the Southern District of Iowa on August 10, 1976, but

transferred to the Northern District of Texas on June 7, 1977.

A-29

claims will require identical factual inquiries concern-

ing the appellees’ motivation in filing IBP’s action,

alleged to be abusive of process, in the Northern District

of Iowa.’ Moreover, it seems that the single forum which

may most conveniently undertake such factual inquiries

is the district in which the appellees filed their lawsuit,

the Northern District of Iowa. Yet, according to the pan-

el opinion, the substantially identical claims of Hawkins

and Cochrane must be tried in two different forums:

respectively, the Scuthern District of Iowa and the Dis-

trict of Minnesota.

That result is obviously impractical and potentially

wasteful of judicial and legal time and resources, and I

suggest that the panel’s reasoning is unsound.‘

8’ Under Iowa law, which the panel apparently assumes

governs the merits of this action, see panel slip op. at 11-12,

tortious abuse of process is defined as follows:

Abuse of process, * * *, is the intentional use of “—

rocess for an improper purpose incompatible with the

awful function of the process by one with an ulterior

motive in doing so, * * *. The improper use which is the

essence of the tort is ordinarily ar attempt to secure from

another some collateral advantage not properly includable

in the process itself, and is, in Prosser’s words, ‘a form of

extortion’ in which a lawfully used process is perverted to

an unlawful use. [Sarvold v. Dodson, 237 N.W.2d 447, 449

(Ia. 1976) (quoting Hyde Construction Co. v. Koehring Co.,

387 F. Supp. 702, 712-13 (S.D. Miss. 1974).]

4 In ruling that Hawkins’ claim arose in the Southern Dis-

trict of lowa and that Cochrane’s claim arose in the District of

Minnesota, the panel opinion relies heavily upon Gardner

Engineering Corp. v. Page Engineering Co., 484 F.2d 27 (8th

Cir. 1973) and the “factors (concerning the connection between

a cause of action and a state] described by Mr. Justice

Blackmun on page 31 of 484 F.2d * * *.” Panel slip op. at 15.

See id. at 17. Re

Such reliance is misplaced. Although the Gardner Engineer-

ing decision contains some discussion of a venue problem, 484

F.2d at 32-33, that discussion seems of little relevance here. In

(Footnote continued on following page) ~

A-30

The panel indicates that, if venue is proper in the dis-

tricts where IBP filed its allegedly abusive lawsuits,

Hawkins and Cochrane would need to bring abuse of

process actions in New York as well as in the Northern

District of Iowa, “further proliferating this growing

mass of litigation.” Cochrane v. Iowa Beef Processors,

Nos. 77-1988, 77-1008, slip op. at 15 (8th Cir. Jan. 5,

1979). However, if venue is proper in the Northern Dis-

trict of Iowa, Hawkins and Cochrane could join, as pen-

dent claims in their Northern District of Iowa action,

any cause of action arising out of IBP’s alleged abuse of

the New York court’s process. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 18(a).

Surely, the convenience of the parties and the courts is

best served by litigation of Iowa Beef’s conspiracy action

and of Hawkins’ and Cochrane’s peripheral abuse of

process actions in a single forum, which can only be ac-

complished in the Northern District of Iowa. Instead,

the panel itself has “proliferat{[ed] this growing mass of

litigation,” by scattering these related actions to three

separate forums.

I think the district court correctly determined that,

for purposes of venue under 28 U.S.C. § 1391(a), the

appellees’ abuse of process claims “arose” in the

Northern District of lowa and that venue was properly

in that district. In so ruling, the district court stated:

In the present action, the Court finds the place of

injury to be in the Northern District of Iowa. It is

there, by filing an action against Hawkins and

Cochrane, that defendants are alleged to be doing

that which should not be done. While the injury

4 continued

any event, the “factors” referred to and relied upon in the

panel cpinion bear upon whether a state has sufficient con-

tacts with the subject of an action for jurisdiction to exist in

— State, not upon whether venue was proper, the issue in

this case.

ABER INS MS ta ei =

Pisicniaiccnts

A-31

may have effects in this district [the Southern Dis-

trict of Iowa], the overt act giving rise to the injury

was the filing of an action in the federal court for

the Northern District of Iowa.

To prove “abuse of process”, plaintiffs must show

that defendants seek to pervert the use of judicial

process in the Northern District, and do so for an

ulterior motive. Sarvold v. Dodson, 237 N.W.2d 447

(Iowa 1976). The Northern District Court is in a far

better position to make such a determination.

Though perhaps propelled by facts uncovered in an

action elsewhere, defendants’ action in the Northern

District, based upon inducement to breach contract,

is entirely different from the action allegedly in-

terfered with in this Court, which focuses on an-

titrust violations. This Court should not attempt to

tell the Northern District Court that a case pending

on its docket was abusing its processes and was but

a facade, much less—as plaintiffs request—enjoin

the Northern District Court from processing that

case. Also, if the Northern District proceeds on both

actions, the possibility that rulings of this Court and

the United States District Court for the Northern

District would come into direct conflict is

eliminated.

I agree with the district court’s reasoning on this issue.

The effect of the panel decision is to place this court’s

imprimatur upon the obvious forum-shopping by at-

torneys Hawkins and Cochrane. A reconsideration and

reversal of the panel opinion by the full court would

demonstrate that such lawyers’ tactics, which needlessly

complicate the disposition of federal litigation, ought to

receive short shrift.

4

A-32

Accordingly, I would grant the petition for rehearing,

vacate the panel opinion, and affirm the district court.5

A true Copy:

Teste:

CLERK, U.S. COURT OF APPEALS,

EIGHTH CIRCUIT.

5 In light of the nature of the abuse of process action under

Iowa law, see note 1 supra, I agree with the panel’s deter-

mination that the appellants’ abuse of process claims did not

arise from the same transaction as Iowa Beef Processors’ ac-

tion in the Northern District of Iowa, and were therefore not

compulsory counterclaims in that action.

I am troubled, however, by the panel’s alternative ruling on

the compulsory counterclaim issue. The panel determined that

the appellants abuse of process actions were filed prior to the

effective date of IBP’s complaint in the Northern District of

Iowa and therefore could not be compulsory counterclaims in

IBP’s action, under Fed. R. Civ. P. 1 (a). See panel slip op. at

22-23. In so ruling, the panel concluded that, for purposes of

Rule 13(a), IBP’s amended complaint in the Northern District,

altered to perfect diversity jurisdiction, does not relate back to

the date of IBP’s origina! complaint. Such a restrictive

reading of the relation back rule of Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(c) lacks

yy ae in the language of the rule, in case law, or in policy.

Although I have found no case considering this question in the

context of Rule 13(a), prior decisions of this and other courts

have indicated, without exception, that a complaint amended

by dropping nonessential parties to perfect diversity jurisdic-

tion relates back to the date of the — pleading. E.g.,

Finn v. American Fire & Casualty Co., 207 F.2d 118, 116 (5th

Cir. 1953); Brown v. Texas and Pacific R.R. Co., 392 F. Supp.

1120, 1124 (W.D. La. 1975). See International Ladies’ Garment

Workers’ Union v. Donnelly Garment Co., 121 F.2d 561, 563

(8th Cir. 1941) (dictum); 3A Moore's Federal Practice

21.03[2] (1978). Cf. Interstate Refineries Co. v. Barry, 7 F.2d

48, 550 (8th Cir. 1925) (in accord with relation back rule, but

pre-Federal Rules).

B-1

APPENDIX B

HEARING BEFORE

JUDICIAL PANEL ON MULTIDISTRICT LITIGATION

IN RE: IOWA BEEF PROCESSORS EMPLOYMENT

TERMINATION CONTRACT LITIGATION

Courtroom No. 1

Post Office & Courthouse

Boston, Massachusetts

September 30, 1977

Judge Weinfeld: We will not call the next case.

It is No. 315, In re Iowa Beef Processors. ;

Mr. Greer: May it please the Court, my name is

John Greer from Spencer, Iowa. I represent the two

lawyers, Mr. Cochrane and Mr. Hawkins.

The position of the defendants is that Mr.

Hawkins is an Iowa lawyer and Mr. Cochrane is a

Minnesota lawyer. We were sued by Iowa Beef

Processors in the Southern District of New York

and in the Northern District of Iowa.

Mr. Cochrane and Mr. Hawkins brought the case

against Iowa Beef Processors and Mr. Freeland

(sic) and Mr. Roth (sic) in the Southern District of

Iowa.

All of this arose out of other multidistrict litiga-

tion, as the Panel is well aware, or at least an inci-

dent that was related to it.

Judge Hanson referred a motion brought by one

of the defendants in the wheat (sic) price fixing

cases—Spencer Foods. In that case Beef Processors

was not a mover.

B-2

Before that matter was decided by Judge Hanson

they brought this action against these lawyers.

Professionally, I must state, that the lawyers have

had nothing to do with New York in any sense of

the word.

Judge Weinfeld: You mean the two lawyers you

represent?

Mr. Greer: Yes, sir.

Judge Weinfeld: There is an indication that the

New York action was brought really to make sure

that an action was pending in one court or the

other—Iowa or New York.

Mr. Greer: I realize that is what the brief says,

your Honor, but we were obliged to employ counsel

and defend ourselves in the Southern District of

New York, and it is still pending, and it is germane

to our case here.

No matter the representation that is made by the

defendants, I don’t think that we have had at any

time any business in New York, but they chose to

do that.

Judge Weinfeld: Well, Mr. Krieger is a defen-

dant in that case, is he not, and he practices law in

New York, although he claims he is no longer

domiciled there.

Mr. Greer: That is true, your Honor. I have just

met him during some discovery at Sioux City. I un-

derstand he is a New York lawyer who lives in

Miami and I don’t believe that he takes a position

that is contrary to ours.

Judge Weinfeld: Well, assume the cases should

be consolidated or transferred. Why do you prefer

one district over the other? I have a little difficulty

in following the arguments made in the briefs. How

far is Sioux City? Is that where you want the action

to remain?

Mr. Greer: I would prefer that it be Des Moines.

_ Judge Weinfeld: Why do you want Des Moines

instead of Sioux City? What is the difference in

mileage? I had great difficulty in following the

arguments.

B-3

Judge Harper: There is a terrific difference in

the status of the two districts, as far as being

current is concerned. Des Moines is bogged down

very, very badly. They did seek, and the Conference

recommended, an additional judge. The other one is

current, except with respect to Judge Hanson, who

carries part of the docket. Isn’t that correct?

Mr. Greer: I think that is correct, your Honor.

Simply stated, Judge, the two men who are in-

dividual defendants, a man named Aarsen and

another named Bagley, they were former employees

of Iowa Beef Processors. They are now employed by

Spencer Foods. We have a direct flight at 6:30 in

the morning to Des Moines. We don’t have any way

of getting to Sioux City, short of driving, and,

although Sioux City is a shorter distance, it

presents a much greater problem for attendance at

the preliminary matters.

Judge Wisdom: You mean there is no airport in

Sioux City?

Mr. Greer: There is an airport but no way to fly

from Spencer to Sioux City, your Honor.

Judge Weinfeld: What is the mileage?

Mr. Greer: About a hundred miles there and

about a hundred and 30 miles by air to Des

Moines—165 by car—but, for 15 years Judge Han-

son, who lives at Jefferson, which is between Des

Moines and Sioux City, has handled matters in the

Southern District, as well as matters in the

Nor’hern District. Judge Hanson has retired. He is

on senior status.

Judge Harper: When did that occur?

Mr. Greer: August 15, your Honor.

Judge McManus sits at Cedar Rapids, Iowa, and

they are having new district attorney appointments

in the Northern District, and he anticipates a con-

centration of work at Cedar Rapids, at least that is

what I have been told.

It makes no difference to us which judge handles

this case—absolutely no difference. 1 am satisfied

B-4

with all of our Federal Judges in lowa and have

been all my life.

The convenience of the parties would indicate

that Judge Hanson could manage these matters,

because he is more familar with them, and,

primarily, we are going to be engaged in

discovery—

Judge Wisdom: Well, your adversary suggests

the reason you want it before Judge Hanson is

because you got a favorable decision on a motion

made with respect to the attorneys, which is in the

papers. I believe that is where I got it from.

Mr. Greer: They have appealed Judge Hanson’s

order, but I don’t think that they have made any

motion with respect to—

Judge Weinfeld: Is that an appealable order?

Mr. Greer: I don’t think so, your Honor.

Judge Weinfeld: That was made under the local

rules in Iowa, wasn’t it?

Mr. Greer: Yes, your Honor.

Judge Harper: I really don’t know what you are

talking about, In other words, he is retired and they

have one other judge there, who is now the senior

judge, and they are going to get another one. Judge

Hanson was a traveling judge, carrying half the

docket in each place. In other words, you could get

him in either spot, couldn’t you?

Mr. Greer: That is exactly what I am saying. It

will be more convenient, especially for the people

who don’t have money—

Judge Weinfeld: Who doesn’t have money in this

case?

Mr. Greer: Not the people I represent, you

Honor, but the two individual employees.

For instance, in one day of the deposition where

I am deposing the general counsel of IBP there are

82 objections, all which require rulings by a court.

Judge Harper: 82 objections to what?

Mr. Greer: Based on privilege.

— Harper: You mean Interrogatories or

what:

“tui - sbiitbns eda

B-5

Judge Weinfeld: It is evident, Mr. Greer, this is

a donnybrook and it is a case of crimination and

recrimination charges and countercharges, and

carrying with it the usual bitterness—that type of

litigation—and so it doesn’t surprise me that almost

every question that is put to a witness would draw

an objection. I think this is the nature of the litiga-

tion you are in. I think that is a realistic statement

of what this case is about.

Judge Wisdom: Mr. Greer, you have exceeded

your time by double.

Mr. Greer: I am sorry.

Judge Wisdom: We will still give you a couple of

minutes for rebuttal.

Mr. Greer: I am sorry.

Judge Wisdom: I hope it won’t take you twice as

long as Mr. Greer, Mr. Rothe, to state your case.

Mr. Rothe: I think I can be shorter than the 20

minutes I asked for.

My name is Edward Rothe. I am from Chicago. I

represent Iowa Beef Processors, the plaintiffs in

both the New York and the Sioux City cases, and a

defendant in the Des Moines case. I also speak for

myself and my partner, who are defendants in the

Des Moines case, alleging abuse of process and

bringing the New York and Sioux City cases.

Judge Weinfeld: Do you think you ought to

represent yourself as a defendant?

Mr. Rothe: So far, your Honor.

Judge Weinfeld: I think what I said a moment

ago, in all seriousness, is the truth. This is a don-

nybrook in a case of charges and countercharges

about everything.

Mr. Rothe: I fear that is true, your Honor. I

could not otherwise characterize it myself.

I would like to say that I am one of the defen-

dants who doesn’t have money in the case, in

response to an earlier question, and the two other

defendants who were identified as not having

money, the two former IBP employees, Aarsen and

Bagley, Mr. Greer referred to the fact it would be

B-6

more conveniently situated in Des Moines than

Sioux City. Both of those people reside in the

Northern District of Iowa and both have asked this

Panel that it not be transferred to Des Monies, but,

rather, retained in Sioux City.

I should also like to comment on the convenience

of the matter to counsel. All of the parties have

retained counsel in Sioux City, or in the Northern

District, including Hawkins, and Mr. Greer himself

is from Spencer, in the Northern District.

With respect to the convenience of flying, I un-

derstood, at least during the depositions we took in

Sioux City by agreement in all of the cases, that

Mr. Greer has at his disposal a private plane. He

flew from Spencer to Sioux City and I can’t im-

agine that was very inconvenient for him.

Pag individual defendant Bagley lives in Sioux

ity.

Judge Weinfeld: Is Bagley the one that gave the

convenant which started the suit, this series of

suits?

Mr. Rothe: That is correct. He lives in Sioux

City. The covenant was executed in Sioux City.

It seems to me that nothing points to Des Moines

except the desire of Mr. Hawkins, who does reside

in Des Moines and practices there, to have the case

there. None of the other parties has really requested

that the case go to Des Moines. The union people

who have been sued as class representatives are

out of Chicago. They have said they don’t care, just

so long as it is an Iowa district. Krieger, who is a

New York lawyer, as you know, Judge Weinfeld,

has said he doesn’t care where it is tried, but does

not request Des Moines specifically.

We urge Sioux City because, otherwise, the tail

would wag the dog.

I~would like to bring up a little bit on the events

to dase. I had volunteered in our original submis-

sion to the Panel that there were ways to eliminate

the complexity of this litigation, one of wnich would

be for the defendants in either New York or Sioux

=“

B-7

City to waive any possible venue and jurisdiction

problems personally. Just yesterday I was notified

that Stern, who is the union man in New York, and

might have a venue objection for Iowa—Sioux

City—has said that he will waive venue and per-

sonal jurisdiction objections.

His Pleading in lowa has not been filed. It is

overdue.

Judge Weinfeld: Where does he suggest it

should go? Sioux City?

Mr. Rothe: He doesn’t take a position. He did not

file a response to the motion.

Now, since he has waived or says he will when he

files his Answer, which he has not yet done because

he is asking for extensions, due to the pendency of

the matter before the Judicial Panel, I have been

urging: Let’s find out whether you are going to

claim venue or personal jurisdiction problems, and

I feel that maybe we can resolve this. I think maybe

we have, since he has said he will waive venue and

personal jurisdiction in Sioux City, and since the

other defendants have filed Motions to Dismiss for

lack of diversity jurisdiction in Sioux City, without

coupling with them either venue or personal

jurisdiction objections—I take it those have been

waived—and, therefore, I think we are in a position

to dismiss the New York action without prejudice

and allow the Sioux City action to continue. There

are motions on file in both Des Moines and Sioux

City which would force the Des Moines action to be

a compulsory counterclaim to the Sioux City action,

and so what have been three will be one, I think.

Judge Weinfeld: How do you get to Sioux City

from Chicago? Is one place as convenient to you as

the other?

Mr. Rothe: It really is. There are many, many

flights to Sioux City. My client is across the river

from Sioux City, so I am always there.

I think the practical answer is that the case

doesn’t really need to be before the Judicial Panel. I

B-8

think that, by the consent to the venue in Iowa, it

will enable me—

Judge Weinfeld: You say that Stern has in-

dicated waiver of venue, but there is nothing before

the Panel to indicate that.

Mr. Rothe: I only got the letter yesterday. I

offered both in my submission here and I would say

orally that if the defendants could get together and

decide where they wanted the case, fine, we’d dis-

miss one or the other.

All of the other defendants said that we could

consent to venue in Iowa, except Stern, and all have

filed a motion which, I take it, would be a consent

to venue in personal jurisdiction there, except

Stern, whose Answer was due on September 26th to

the Complaint, but, as far as I know, nothing has

been filed, at least I haven’t been served. I do have

the letter, however, that says that. I do know that

there is nothing before the Panel, however, on this.

That is true.

Judge Wisdom: Mr. Greer, you have a couple of

minutes.

Mr. Greer: Mr. Bagley still has a home in Sioux

City, but he is employed at Spencer and is at

Spencer every day.

Judge Weinfeld: How far is Spencer from Sioux

City and how far is it from Des Moines?

Mr. Greer: About 100 miles, you Honor from

Sioux City to Spencer and about 160 miles from

Sioux City to Des Moines, but the distance is really

not our real problem. It is the management of the

discovery. That is our real problem.

I think that either judge will be satisfactory, as I

have previously said. Judge Hanson will be in the

position to give us that time.

Judge Harper: Judge Hanson is in the most for-

tunate position where he doesn’t have to give

anybody any time, if he doesn’t want to, that is, if

he is retired, as you say.

Mr. Greer: Right, your Honor.

B-9

If it is possible, I would suggest that someone

representing the Panel talk with both judges before

this decision is made, because we do have some par-

ticular problems in Iowa, not just the amount of

documents.

Judge Weinfeld: Your adversary suggests the

possibility that if the Panel didn’t act that the

matter be resolved in terms of dismissal or agree-

ment. What is your view about that?

Judge Weigel: Dismissal of one suit someplace.

Judge Weinfeld: Do you mind if I ask Mr. Rothe

a very direct question?

I got the impression that somehow you did not

want the case transferred to a district where Judge

Hanson would preside over the case. Am I wrong

about that? Was that because he decided the motion

made with respect to disqualification of the

lawyers?

Mr. Rothe: I would say there are two reasons.

That is part of it, your Honor.

Judge Harper: Can I get into this: Judge Han-

son is in both of them. It doesn’t make any

difference where it goes. He is the one that it will

go to. They don’t get away from him in either court.

Mr. Rothe: Except the judge to whom it is

assigned now is Judge McManus.

Judge Harper: I understand, but Judge Hanson,

as a roving Judge in both of those areas, carries

part of the Cedar Rapids, as well as part of the Des

Moines docket.

Judge Weinfeld: It doesn’t follow it would be

assigned to him.

Mr. Rothe: Well, yes, of course, I have read

Judge Hanson’s decision in the ethical violation mo-

tion made by Spencer which, incidentally, is not be-

ing appealed by us, as you may have gathered from

Mr. Greer. It is being appealed by Spencer to the

Eighth Circuit.

We had a similar motion pending, which is now

deferred, by Judge Hanson and, therefore, is before

Judge Taylor, as a result of the transfer of the beef

B-10

litigation to Dallas. So we have a motion that is

pending and is in limbo right now.

The other reason, aside from Judge Hanson’s ear-

ly expression of reluctance to get into the ethical

problems that we think we are going to be raised in

the case, another thing is the fact that I don’t think

that a lawyer ought to be able to violate the com-

pulsory counterclaim rule, Rule 18(a), file a

malicious prosecution action for our having brought

the Sioux City case in another forum, I suggest to

you ostensively to obtain the venue of Judge Han-

son, who ruled favorably, and then use that as a

device to leverage transfer by this Panel. I think

there are considerations as to what this Panel is for

and who ought to invoke its process and how that

enters into this question of whether it goes to Judge

Hanson or not.

I would not move to recuse Judge Hanson at all.

He is a fine judge.

Judge Weinfeld: If the New York action is

eliminated, there are only two actions persling.

Mr. Rothe: That is correct, and there are

motions pending in both courts to consolidate those

because of the compulsory counterclaim nature of

the malicious prosecution action.

Judge Weinfeld: If there are two actions pend-

ing, why wouldn’t it be appropriate for the

lawyers to move, under 1404(a) for a transfer and

let the Court there decide it?

Incidentally, I am informed that Mr. Cammer,

who represents Stern, is here. He has not asked for

permission to speak, but he did write a letter and

said that he was consenting.

Are you prepared to make a statement on the

record that you will waive the venue and jurisdic-

tion?

Mr. Cammer: We have done it by letter.

Judge Weinfeld: That leaves just two actions.

Mr. Rothe: I think so, and the mechanics for get-

ting them together through the compulsory

counterclaim motion is pending.

B-11

(Bench conference off the record.)

Judge Weinfeld: We have had a little bench con-

ference and we have decided, since there are only

two actions, we will just leave them where they are.

Thank you very much, gentlemen. Have a good

trip back.

(Whereupon, the hearing was adjourned.)

DOCKET NO. 315

Before the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation

In re Iowa Beef Processors Employment Termination

Contract Litigation.

ORDER DENYING TRANSFER

(Filed in U.S. District Court October 7, 1977)

The Panel ruled from the bench at the hearing on this

matter that the three actions involved in this litigation

do not share unusally complex questions of fact and that

transfer of these actions to a single district pursuant to

28 U.S.C. § 1407 for coordinated or consolidated pretrial

proceedings would not necessarily serve the convenience

of the parties and witnesses or promote the just and ef-

ficient conduct of the actions.!

It Is Therefore Ordered that transfer pursuant to Sec-

tion 1407 of the actions listed on the attached Schedule

A be, and the same hereby is, Denied.

For the Panel:

JOHN MINOR WISDOM

Chairman

' See In re Scotch Whiskey, 299 F. Supp. 543, 544

(J.P.M.L. 1969).

C-1

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF IOWA

WESTERN DIVISION

IowA BEEF PROCESSORS, INC.,

Plaintiff,

v

PATRICK E. GORMAN, HARRY R. POOLE, and SAM

TALARICO, as representatives of the members of

AMALGAMATED MEAT CUTTERS AND BUTCHER WORK-

MEN OF NORTH AMERICA, AFL-CIO; IRVING STERN;

ALBERT J. KRIEGER; LEX HAWKINS; JOHN A. COCH-

RANE; HUGHES A. BAGLEY; and HANS AARSEN,

Defendants.

No. C 77-4040

ORDER

(Filed Feb 13 1978)

The matter before the court is the latest imbroglio of

the parties.! Pending motions are:

(1) Defendant John A. Cochrane’s resisted motions to

dismiss and for a protective order, both filed July 22,

1977. Denied.

' The court has examined the transcript of the hearing

before the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation

Foe ars rege 30, 1977) wherein Judge Weinfeld described this

itigation as “a donnybrook .. . [and] a case of crimination

and recrimination charges and counter-charges, and carrying

with it the usual bitterness . . . [where] almost every question

?

that is put to a witness would draw an objection”. The record

to date appears to support this assessment.

C-2

(2) Defendant Lex Hawkins’ resisted motions to

dismiss and for a protective order, both filed July 22,

1977. Denied.

(3) Defendant Albert J. Krieger’s resisted motion to

dismiss filed August 15, 1977. Denied.

(4) Plaintiffs resisted motion to enjoin a separate

action filed in the United States Court for the Southern

District of Iowa filed August 15, 1977. Denied.

(5) Defendants Hawkins and Cochrane’s resisted

motions to dismiss and for a protective order, both filed

August 30, 1977. Denied.

(6) Defendants Amalgamated Meat Cutters and But-

cher Workmen of North America, AFL-CIO (Union),

Patrick E. Gorman, Harry R. Poole, and Sam Talarico’s

resisted motion to dismiss filed September 6, 1977.

Denied.

(7) Plaintiff's resisted motion to compel production of

documents filed September 8, 1977. Granted.

(8) Defendant Irving Stern's resisted motion to

dismiss filed September 26, 1977. Denied.

(9) Plaintiff's resisted motions for summary judg-

ment, for a protective order and to compel discovery, all

filed October 28, 1977. Granted and denied in part.

(10) Defendants Hawkins and Cochrane’s resisted

motion to compel answers to deposition questions filed

December 13, 1977. Granted and denied in part.

In this diversity action plaintiff seeks damages and

injunctive relief against defendants for their role in the

alleged malicious inducement to breach and breach of a

settlement agreement between plaintiff and defendant

Hughes A. Bagley [Bagley], plaintiff's former Vice-

President.? Plaintiff claims that Bagley met with the de-

® The settlement agreement, summarized, compromised

Bagley’s compensation claims under his employment contract

(Footnote continued on following page)

C-3

fendants several times and provided copies of plaintiff's

documents, secured with the help of defendant Aarsen,

to the defendant attorneys for the purpose of aiding anti-

trust litigation pending against plaintiff in Texas,

(M.D.L. No. 248). Plaintiff alleges that the conduct by

Bagley violates both the terms of his settlement

agreement and his fiduciary duty to the company and

that it was knowingly and maliciously induced by

various defendants who conspired to use the inside

information to cause damage to IBP’s business.

Motion to Dismiss for Lack of

Subject Matter Jurisdiction

Plaintiff originally brought this suit against inter alia

the Union as an entity. Defendants Hawkins and

Cochrane originally sought to dismiss for lack of

2 continued

and released IBP from latent suits by Bagley in return for a

release of Bagley from a covenant not to compete contained in

his employment contract and a release of any cause of action

IBP may have had to the time of the settlement agreement.

Paragraph 3.2 of the covenant bound Bagley to refrain from

assisting third-party litigation against IBP, stating:

3.2 BAGLEY, for himself and heirs, legal represen-

tatives and assigns, covenants with IBP to forever refrain

from aiding, abetting or in any way assisting any third

person not a party to this agreement in the bringing of

any action or the prosecution of any claim or demand of

whatever kind or nature against IBP for any matter, fact.

circumstances, sag cong agp thing whatsoever occurring

or failing to occur from the beginning of the world to the

day of the date of these presents. BAGLEY hereby agrees

that any breach of this covenant by him would not be ade-

quately compensable in damages and agrees that, in the

event of any breach by him of said covenant, IBP shall, in

addition to any claim for damages for breach of covenant

to which it may be entitled, be authorized and entitled to

seek and obtain equitable relief by way of injunction or

otherwise in a court of competent jurisdiction.

C-4

diversity averring that the Union had many members of

Nebraska citizenship, the citizenship of plaintiff. Plain-

tiff then amended its complaint to drop Amalgamated

and add its three top officers as representatives of the

union and its members. The purpose of the amendment

as stated in plaintiffs brief was to “utilize ... the

procedure provided in Rule 23.2 of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure added in 1966 to avoid the absurdities

created by the ancient doctrine that a labor union takes

the citizenship of its members... .”

Defendants Hawkins, Cochrane, Stern, Gorman, Poole

and Talarico moved to dismiss, again on the basis of

lack of subject matter jurisdiction. Defendants contend

that Rule 23.2 FRCP is not a class action rule and that

the citizenship of all union members is still the relevant

determinant of diversity.

The question here is whether Rule 23.2 establishes a

class action with respect to unincorporated organizations

thereby making the citizenship of the representatives of

the class, together with the citizenship of plaintiff, solely

determinant of diversity. If the rule is a class action

rule, jurisdiction is established since plaintiff and the

representative parties are of diverse citizenship. If the

rule is not a class action rule the court lacks jurisdiction

since it is undisputed that some members of the Union

are of the same citizenship as plaintiff.

The rule states:

An action brought by or against the members of

an unincorporated association as a class by naming

certain members as representative parties may be

maintained only if it appears that the representa-

tive parties will fairly and adequately protect the

3 IBP’s ot to the Hawkins and Cochrane Motion to

Dismiss, filed August 1, 1977, at 5.

C-5

interests of the association and its members. In the

conduct of the action the court may make appro-

priate orders corresponding with those described in

Rule 23%(d), and the procedure for dismissal or

compromise of the action shall correspond with that

provided in Rule 2%(e).

Wright & Miller and Moore agree that this rule

provides a mechanism for class action treatment of

unincorporated associations.‘ It is argued, however, that

some courts have disagreed and held that the rule is

merely a capacity-to-sue-or-be-sued provision to give

entity treatment to an association. The Advisory

Committee’s Note to Rule 23.2 lends support to this

latter interpretation.®

4 See 7A Wright & Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure:

Civil § 1861 (1972); 3B Moore, Federal Practice, 123.2.02 (2d

ed. 1977).

5 See Lee v. Navarro Savings Ass'n, 416 F.Supp. 1186, 1190

(N.D. Texas 1976); Suchem, Inc. v. Central Aguerre Sugar Co.,

52 FRD 348, 351 (D. Puerto Rico 1971). Lee and Suc are

distinguishable, however, because neither court found that un-

incorporated associations did have entity status in Texas and

Puerto Rico and therefore Rule 23.2 was not available. The

Iowa rule, applicable by operation of Rule 17(b) FRCP, holds

that unincorporated associations do not have entity status and

cannot sue or be sued cirect ie the absence of waiver or es-

toppel. See er v. Iowa High School Athletic Ass'n, 138

NWod 914, 915 (Iowa 1965). The language of Wilson & Co. v.

United Packinghouse Wkrs. of America, 181 F.Supp. 809, at

817 (N.D. Ia. 1960) and oo) on v. Iowa High School Athletic

Ass'n, 150 NW2d_ 660, at 662 (Iowa 1967) put in context here,

is not otherwise. Finding that Rule 23.2 is available, the issue

before the court here was never addressed by Lee nor was it

properly before the court in Suchem.

6 The Advisory Committee’s Note states:

Although an action by or against representatives of the

membership of an unincorporated association has often

been viewed as a class action the real or main purpose of

this characterization has been to give “entity treatment” to

the association when for formal reasons it cannot sue or be

sued as a jural person under Ru!2 17(b)

39 FRD 108 (1966).

»

C-6

An examination of the rule itself and the writings of

the commentators leads this court to conclude that Rule

23.2 FRCP is a class action provision and that plaintiff

may assert its claim against the union as a class. The

rule itself incorporates by express reference portions of

Rule 23 FRCP.’ The requirements of numerosity,

commonality and typicality contained in Rule 23 may be

subsumed implicitly into Rule 23.2% In any event they

are present here. This is in fact a bona fide unin-

corporated association and there is no suggestion that

Rule 23.2 was utilized to evade the constraints on the

court’s jurisdiction.2 See 7A Wright & Miller, Federal

Practice and Procedure: Civil § 1861, at 461 (1972).

Accordingly, this action is maintainable as a class

action; the citizenship of the representative defendants

and plaintiff are diverse; motion to dismiss for lack of

subject matter jurisdiction denied. See generally Patri-

cian Towers Owners, Inc. v. Fairchild, 513 F.2d 216, 220

(4th Cir. 1975); Management Television Systems, Inc. v.

National Football League, supra.

7 Defendants point out that the provisions for notice and

pleading present in Rule 23 are absent from Rule 23.2. This

absence may be explained by the fact that the problems of

defining the class and giving notice to the class that plague

Rule 28 class actions are minimized in the context of an unin-

corporated association where the class is fairly defined and

notice easily obtained.

8 See Merkey v. Board of Regents of State of Florida, 344

Fig 1296, 1303 (N.D. Fla. 1972) vacated on other nds

493 F.2d 790 (5th Cir. 1973). But see Ma Television

Systems, Inc. v. National Football League, 52 FRD 162, 164

(E.D. Pa. 1971). 7A Wright & Miller, supra; 3B Moore; supra.

‘i a “ae point out in Reply Brief filed October 7,

, at 8:

It_ is well-settled that ... [diversity}. jurisdiction is

available . . . in a traditional class action under Rule 23

where only the citizenship of class represent«ties is con-

sidered in determining whether diversity exists. See

it lle Ward & Co. v. Longer, 168 F.2d 18%} (8th Cir.

C-7

Motion to Dismiss for Failure to State

~- a Claim Upon Which Relief Can be Granted

Defendants Hawkins, Cochrane, Krieger and Stern

next move to dismiss for failure to state a claim for

which relief can be granted. All complain of a lack of

specificity and factual allegations—in the case of

defendants Cochrane and Hawkins, as to the allegations

in the complaint of breach of fiduciary duty and

conspiracy; in the case of defendant Krieger, as to the

allegations in the complaint of inducing breach of

contract; in the case of defendant Stern, as to all of the

above.

The standard for a motion to dismiss is that such a

motion cannot be granted unless it appears to a

certainty that plaintiff is entitled to no relief under any

state of facts which could be proved in support of the

claim. Cruz v. Beto, 405 U.S. 319, 322 (1972). In this

light defendants’ motions fail and are denied.

Motion to Enjoin Prosecution of Separate

Action in Lieu of Compulsory Counterclaim

Plaintiff sought, by this motion, to prevent defendants

Hawkins and Cochrane from pursuing an abuse of

process action in the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Iowa. However, since that action

was dismissed by Judge Stuart on November 17, 1977,

this motion is denied as moot.

Motions for Protective Order

and Motions to Compel

A number of motions for protective orders and cor-

responding motions to compel have been filed in this ac-

tion. In some instances the granting of one motion re-

quires the denial of another. In each of these instances

that result will be indicated.

C-8

The first motions for protective orders were filed by

defendants Cochrane and Hawkins on July 22, 1977.

They were unaccompanied by an affidavit of good faith

attempts at resolution by alternate means and the

movants were notified that no further action would be

taken until Rule 16E of the Local Rules was complied

with. Cochrane and Hawkins filed essentially the same

motion for protective order, with affidavit, on August

30, 1977. The substance of the motion sought protection

for documents subject to discovery requests in the an-

titrust suit M.D.L. No. 248 until such time as the

documents are discoverable there. The motion also

sought to protect documents alleged to be protected by

the attorney-client privilege and work-product immuni-

ty. Finally, incorporating by reference a response to a

request for production of documents,. the defendants

refused to produce requested documents so long as their

motions to dismiss remained outstanding. Plaintiff's

response was to move to compel production of those

documents contained in its first request.

The overriding rationale applied with respect to all

discovery motions is that discovery provisions are to be

broadly and liberally construed. Hickman v. Taylor, 329

U.S. 495, 507 (1947); accord Schlagenhauf v. Holder, 379

U.S. 104, 114-15 (1964). Taking defendants’ last claim

first, it is clear that this matter has been resolved by the

court’s ruling today. As to the claim that the documents

are protected by work-product immunity and attorney-

client privilege the court concludes that a blanket in-

vocation of these doctrines to bar discovery is inap-

propriate. In this case, where state law supplies the rule

of decision, Rule 501 FREv, the burden of establishing

attorney-client privilege is on the defendants. Bailey v.

Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Co., 179 NW2d

560, 564 (lowa 1970). That burden cannot be met by

C-9

resort to a privilege incantation. The assertion must be

document-specific with a sufficient articulation of the

underlying circumstances and general substance, and

identification of the parties involved, to establish a

prima facie showing of privilege. This standard applies

to the assertion of work-product immunity as well. In

this instance defendants have not borne this burden.

The claim that defendants are protected from dis-

covery requests pending in MDL No. 248 until the

documents are allowed to be discovered in that action

cannot be accepted. The effect of an assent to this idea

would subordinate this action and ancillary discovery

matters to another case filed in another district court.

Discovery here cannot be predicated on what that court

will do. However, this does not mean that the court is in-

sensitive to the potential for interference with the con-

duct of orderly discovery in MDL No. 248. All parties

have indicated that a voluminous amount of materials

are subject to requests for discovery here. Bearing this in

mind, together with the potential for interference with

MDL No. 248, the court orders defendants Hawkins and

Cochrane to comply with plaintiff's first request for

production of documents’ by producing the documents

in the usual manner or by affording plaintiff a

reasonable opportunity to examine, audit, or inspect

such records and to make copies, compilations,

abstracts, or summaries at the place where the records

are kept or at any other mutually agreed-upon place. Cf.

Rule 33(c) FRCP. In the event discovery of the materials

in this fashion results in undue interference with MDL

No. 248 suitable protection may be obtained from this

court on a particularized showing.

‘0 The court notes that defendants maintain that they have

no documents falling within Specification No. 6 of plaintiff's

first requass for production of documents. On this representa-

tion defendants need not comply.

C-10

Plaintiff moved for a protective order on October 28,

1977, prohibiting defendants’ inquiry into matters

allegedly protected by attorney-client privilege,

prohibiting inquiry into purported illegal acts by plain-

tiff, and restricting use of IBP business information to

defense counsel for purposes of this case and to

Cochrane and Hawkins for the purposes of MDL No.

248. The court grants the protective order limiting the

usage of IBP’s confidential business information and

denies the motion regarding the claim of attorney-client

privilege and the claim of the irrelevance of illegal acts.

Plaintiff falls prey to the same lack of specificity that

defendants Hawkins and Cochrane do regarding a claim

of attorney-client privilege. A mere recitation of the

privilege litany is insufficient. The standards applicable

to meeting the burden of establishing a privilege set out

above apply here. Plaintiff cannot meet that burden by

requesting protection from inquiry into “matters

protected by IBP’s attorney-client privilege”.

The court also rejects the claim that illegal acts by

IBP are irrelevant to the case. The claim that the cove-

nant between IBP and Bagley was intended to conceal

illegal acts is central to defendants’ case. A relevance

objection is unavailing in this context.!!

Defendants Cochrane and Hawkins filed a motion to

compel answers to questions propounded during an oral

deposition of William L. Heubaum, corporate counsel for

IBP. The court has examined the questions and the con-

text in which they were asked. It seems apparent that

Plaintiff would have the court determine in the guise of a

protective order, in addition to its motion for summary judg-

ment discussed infra, that the Bagley covenant does not of-

fend public policy. The court is not willing to make that deter-

mination at this stage of the litigation.

C-11

work-product immunity or the attorney-client privilege

is applicable to the information sought.'? Defendants,

however, seek to overcome the immunity or privilege by

invoking the improper purpose exception.'? Defendants’

burden in this respect is heavy—they must make a

prima facie showing that the information sought was

transmitted in furtherance of a crime or tort. Pfizer, Inc.

v. Lord, 456 F.2d 545, 549 (8th Cir. 1972). See In re

Murphy, 560 F.2d 326, 338 (8th Cir. 1977). Defendants

assert that “[t]he testimony in the present case. . . es-

tablishes conclusively the existence of antitrust

violations by IBP”. This assertion is exaggerated. In any

event defendants must make a prima facie showing that

the communication was pursuant to the crime or tort.

See In re Murphy, supra. No such showing has been

made. Except as noted herein, the motion to compel

answers is denied.

Plaintiff moved to compel defendant Bagley to answer

deposition questions which he has refused to answer on

grounds of attorney-client privilege. An examination of

the questions reveals .that the information sought would

12 This is not true as to all information sought. For example,

counsel for IBP claimed attorney-client privilege as to the

number and bulk of file drawers regarding antitrust at

Heubaum’s office (Heubaum deposition, Volume I at 146-147)

and as to whether certain documents, often times the contents

of which were disclosed, were sent to IBP’s attorneys

(Heubaum deposition, Volume I at 155, 210-213). This infor-

mation is clearly not privileged.

‘8 Defendants also invoke the general rule that privilege does

not lie when business, as opposed to legal, counsel is sought.

Though it may be true that a corporation cannot merely

utilize general counsel as a conduit to protect ail its

documents and other information it is also true that defen-

dants have not shown in even the slightest degree that this ac-

tivity has occurred here. Merely noting that Heubaum serves

Iowa Beef as Secretary and Vice-President as well as general

counsel is insufficient.

C-12

be privileged. Plaintiff maintains, however, that the

privilege was waived by Bagley’s answer, paragraph 10,

which allegedly injects a state-of-mind issue into the

case. That paragraph states in part:

It is affirmatively alleged that paragraph 3.2 of

the Settlement Agreement was obtained by fraud

and misrepresentation on the part of IBP.

Since this response does inject the question of reliance

on IBP’s statements or acts" Bagley cannot now prevent

inquiry directed to that issue. This information is vital

to plaintiff to meet Bagley’s affirmative defense of fraud

and misrepresentation. See Haymes v. Smith, 73 FRD

572, 577 (W.D.N.Y. 1976); Hearn v. Rhay, 68 FRD 574,

581 (E.D. Wash. 1975). Defendant Bagley is directed to

answer questions relevant to the question of reliance; the

attorney-client privilege is waived.

Motion for Summary Judgment

IBP moves for summary judgment against Bagley on

the question of liability for breach of the settlement

agreement with IBP and for violation of the fiduciary

duty allegedly owed by IBP.

IBP has a particularly heavy burden of persuasion—

the movant must show that there is no genuine issue of

any material fact and that it is entitled to judgment as a

matter of law. Rule 56(c) FRCP; see Poller v. Columbia

Broadcasting System, Inc., 368 U.S. 464, 467 (1962). The

court is required to view the facts in the light most

favorable to the party opposing the motion and to give to

that party the benefit of all reasonable inferences to be

drawn from the facts. Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co., 398

14 See 37 Am. Jur. 2d, Fraud and Deceit § 223 et seq; cf. W.

Prosser, Torts, 714 et seq (4th ed. 1971).

C-13

U.S. 144, 158-59 (1970). The court cannot say, at this

point in the litigation, that there is no genuine issue of

material fact. Furthermore, though IBP attempts to de-

emphasize the importance of the motion by carefully

limiting it to Bagley, the preclusive effect of the ruling,

if only from a reasoning standpoint, is apparent. The

ccurt considers it inappropriate at this time to resolve

this issue and therefore a major portion cf the lawsuit.

Further discovery and a vigorous analysis of the rele-

vant legal principles might make summary judgment

feasible in the future.

It is Therefore

ORDERED

1. Motions 1-6 inclusive and 8 above are denied.

2. Motion 7 is granted.

3. Motions 9 and 10 granted and denied in part.

February 10, 1978.

EDWARD J. MCMANUS, Chief Judge

United States District Court

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.