Petition — Western Communications, Inc. v. Federal Communications Commission

Supreme Court brief1979

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

78-1222 —

No.

gi , JR., CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcrosBer TERM, 1978

?

3

g

a

om

WESTERN CoMMUNICcaATIONS, INc., Petitioner,

Vv.

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION and

Las Veacas VALLEY Broapcastina Co., Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Epe@ar F’. Czarra, Jr.

Micuae. S. Horne

Josepu Voupe, III

Dove as EB. Winter

888 Sixteenth Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 452-6066

Attorneys for Petitioner

Of Counsel:

Covinaton & Bur.ine

888 Sixteenth Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

February 5, 1979

a

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

I ccc Gacveevicaccsseeresteaciiccsecs 1

cence DUAd ide sdese cess Cisesecsedes tees 2

Questions PRESENTED ...........ccccceccccececscecs a

SraTuTes aND RuLES INVOLVED ............20eeeeeees 3

STATEMENT OF THE CaSB ....... 2... cccccccccccccces 3

Reasons FoR GRANTING THE WRIT ............+0+0055 11

1. This Court Should (A) Settle The Important

Federal Question Of The Standard Of Proof

Applicable To FCC Proceedings That Termi-

nate Broadcast Licenses For Alleged Miscon-

duct, And (B) Eliminate Evident Conflict At

The Court Of — Level Between The

Standard Of Proof Governing Such FCC Cases

And Comparable Proceedings Before The SEC

And Other Federal Agencies ................ 11

2. This Court Should Settle The Important Fed-

eral Question Of The Duty Of Courts Of Ap-

eis To Require Administrative Agencies To

rovide Rational Explanations For Disparate

Results Reached And Sanctions Imposed In

Comparable Cases, And To Eliminate Conflict

On This , eee ary Between The Second Circuit

And The District Of Columbia Circuit ........ 17

3. This Court Should Settle The Important Fed-

eral Question, Which It Has Not Heretofore

Decided, Whether There Is Violation Of An

Applicant’s Right To A Fair Adjudicatory

Agency Hearing When There Is Premature

Disclosure Of Tentative Agency Decisions And

Related Ex Parte Conduct In Violation Of

Specific Agency Rules; The Proceedings Below

So Far Departed From The Accepted And

Usual Course As To Call For Exercise Of This

Court’s Power Of Oversight ................ 28

ii Table of Contents Continued

Page

4. In Valley’s Case The Court Of Appeals De-

cided An Important Question Of The Financial

Qualifications Requirements Of The Communi-

cations Act Of 1934, As Amended, In A Way In

Conflict With Applicable Decisions Of This

SE Gb dues So Neca uecehlCVaee kab eames tek whe 33

MRI ye Sa ek Eat en eaee bea 37

Appenpix A—Opinion of the Court of Appeals in Las

Vegas Valley Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, No. 76-

2104 (D.C. Cir. reer ret Te la

Apprenpix B—Decision of the Federal Communications

Commission in Western Communications, Inc., 59

F.C.C.2d 1437 (1976), and Memorandum Opinion

and Order denying reconsideration, 61 F.C.C.2d

Gee GEE. Cac dak dacaksa hota ri Neer bab Leas 56 17a

Appenp1x C—Initial Decision of the FCC’s Administra-

tive Law Judge in Western Communications, Inc.,

pet & By. BARRE Ke ee are rere 62a

Appenpix D—Other relevant orders of the FCC ..... 143a

Aprenpix E—Orders of Court of Appeals for the Dis-

trict of Columbia Circuit rehearing and

rehearing en banc of Las Vegas Valley Broadcast-

CS DU. Ge er OU ea ween ctdakciac canapeeess 157a

Apprenvix F—Pertinent provisions of the Administra-

tive Procedure Act, the Communications Act of

1934, as amended, and the Rules and Regulations

of the Federal Communications Commission .... 159a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -

CasEs:

Arthur Lipper Corp. v. SEC, 547 F.2d 171 (2d Cir.

1976), rehearing denied, 551 F.2d 915 (1977), cert.

denied, 434 U.S. 1009 (1978) cae ahdk Ghee SERAE OS 15, 27

Atchison, T. & S.F.R. Co. v. Wichita Board of Trade,

ee ee I OD ods os cece bavaadaeeee

Atlantic Refining Co. v. FTC, 381 U.S. 357 (1965) . 34

a i Truck Lines v. United States, 371 U.S. 156 .

Bute - lover Livestock Commission, 411 U.S. 182

EE Ue bA Kea Ween VADER SERS OARO TS ORES KAS bbaSS

Table of Authorities Continued iii

Page

Central Florida Enterprises, Inc. v. FCC, No. 76-1742

CER CH ES Bs ROUTE ee vc ce eboswnthasceéces 24

Cinderella Career and Finishing Schools, Inc. v. FTC,

138 U.S. App. D.C. 152, 425 F.2d 583 (1970) ...... 31

Collins Securities Corp. v. SEC, 183 U.S. App. D.C.

Ne gg kL Say RAR eee ye ree passim

Columbia Broadcasting, Inc. v. FCC, 147 U.S. in.

Eee BUG GE ce ROOD CEOULD oc iceicscncncccces

Continental Broadcasting, Inc. v. FCC, 142 U.S. App.

D.C. 70, 439 F.2d 580, cert. denied, 403 U.S. 905

CRORE aks CRCk cUean teks Mess shed bn nc cbse 22

Eastern Air Lines v. CAB, 271 F.2d 752 (2d Cir. 1959),

cert. denied, 362 U.S. 970 (1960) ................

FCC v. National Citizens Committee For Broadcast-

ae Be Bee ere ere 15, 35, 36

FCC v. Sanders Bros. Radio Station, 309 U.S. 470

COD hain 5 CURtN sce Weide e Cae E Abe he Gu ee 34, 35

FCC v. WOKO, Inc., 329 U.S. 223 (1946) ......... passim

Garrett v. FCC, 168 U.S. App. D.C. 266, 513 F.2d 1056

SNE con Av AOE WED KUN S RES ES te ds Dio es beans 24

Gonzales v. Landon, 350 U.S. 920 (1955) ............. 13

Greater Boston Television Corp. v. FCC, 143 U.S. App.

D.C. 383, 444 F.2d 841 (1970), cert. denied, 403

ek ee SEED 1a. s eve thehidedsabeshbhknedes 15, 26

Hall v. FCC, 99 U.S. App. D.C. 86, 237 F.2d 567 (1956) 26

Hannah v. Larche, 363 U.S. 420 (1960) .............. 31

Hampton v. Mow Sun Wong, 426 U.S. 88 (1976) ...... 16

Haywood Lumber & Mining Co. v. Commissioner, 178

Pe ee Ge Gy GE ckieakcacshedhvsescvess 21

ER Bee Cs Be a BOE 4 chan ov nos piecdeecres 16

In Re Murchison, $49 U.S. 133 (1955) ........ 0. eee. ‘30

In Re Ruffalo, 390 U.S. 544 (1968) ...............005 16

In Re Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970) ................ 13, 16

Mathews v. ldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976) ........... 16

Melody Music, Inc. v. FCC, 120 U.S. App. D.C. 241, 345

F. a 730 (1965) Pep ROE Peer ree 17, 23, 24

Mobil Oil Corp. v. FPC, 417 U.S. 283 (1974) .......... 35

Nassar and Co. v. SEC, 185 U.S. App. D.C. 125, 566

ie 4 fo _. s er errors 11, 13, 17, 24

National Broadcasting Co. v. United States, 319 U.S.

EE Fats 4 ov Sau kds 4 dan beewas koe eboas ers 26

Offutt v. United States, 348 U.S. 11 (1954) ..........

Public Media Center v. FCC, No. 76-1648 (D.C. Cir.

Sy SEE We 05 COCK ee sh nsceuneen heen bake 17

iv Table of Authorities Continued

Page

Rosenblatt v. Baer, 383 U.S. 75 (1966) .............. 16

Sangamon Valley Television Corp. v. FCC, 106 US.

App. D.C. 30, 269 F.2d 221 (1959) .............. 33

Schnetderman v. United States, 320 U.S. 118 (1943) .. 13

Sea Island Broadcasting Corp. v. FCC, No. 76-1735

(D.C. Cir., filed Aug. 12, 1976) ............. 11, 12, 13

SEC v. New England Electric System, 390 U.S. 207

EES inate cea CRE ESS kde CORE a oa bake Oe 34

Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U.S. 510 (1927) ............. 000. 30

United States v. Haldeman, 181 U.S. App. D.C. 254,

559 F.2d 31 (1976), cert. denied, 431 U.S. 933,

rehearing denied, 433 U.S. 966 (1977) ........... 31

United States v. Phillips, 217 F.2d 435 (7th Cir. 1954) . 21

United States v. Southwestern Cable Co., 392 U.S. 157

Ee eR aes PR Pe 23, 24

Universal Camera Corp. v. NLRB, 340 U.S. 474 (1951) 37

Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power Corp. v. Natural Re-

sources — Council, Inc., 435 U.S. 519 (1978) . 35

Williamson v. United States, 207 U.S. 425 (1908) .... 21

Woodby v. Immigration and Naturalization Service,

ee es RD 6 Sra Nebs ede Sedcesnsen 12, 13, 14

STaTuTEs :

Administrative Procedure Act:

Oe, END 65 bck Cad viewewecde ceet 25

Dy IEEE da bcos woeens 040a0eabaenes 34

Communications Act of 1934:

RM ge EU ea eerrerr rrr rere 12

Section 301, 47 U.S.C. $301 ... 2... ccc cc ccc cee 15

Section 307(d), 47 U.S.C. § 307(d) ........... ‘lee ae

Section 308(b), 47 U.S.C. § 309(23 FE IF aR ne 34

Section 309(a), 47 U.S.C. §309(a) ...........5.. 34

Section 402(b), 47 U.S.C. §402(b) ......... 10, 13, 27

Pe: SRI s'si-cccxccceidbeunas cue woud soulle 2

REGULATIONS:

47 C.F.R. § 19.735-206 . sate e cence cece eeeeeseeeeeens 8

FCC Decisions:

Action Radio, Inc., 51 F.C.C.2d 803 (1975) .......... 22

Bay Broadcasters, Inc., 34 F.C.C.2d 138 (1972) ...... 21

Table of Authorities Continued Vv

Page

Belk Broadcasting Co. of Florida, 42 F.C.C.2d 844

EE fis Avtar e dmsih 6 ps aRaane dbed Ken he eeane 6 22

Blackstone Broadcasting Corp., 52 F.C.C.2d 1106

PRE oR kas dsc oWeseAeeeNS ee ikeas 18, 21, 22

Bluegrass Broadcasting Co., 43 F.C.C.2d 990 (1973) . 18, 22

Booth American Co., 58 F.C.C.2d 553 (1976) ........ 22

CBS, Inc., 69 F.C.C.2d 1082 (1978) ............. 20, 22, 24

Channel 13 of Las Vegas, Inc., 37 F.C.C.2d 518 (1972) . 18

Coaxial Communications, Inc., 61 F.C.C.2d 81 (*976) .. 22

Crosby N. Boyd, 57 F.C.C.2d 475 (1976) ............ 35

D. H. Overmyer Communications Co., 4 F.C.C.2d 496

ge Re, Ae erry ere 35

Donald W. Reynolds, 65 F.C.C.2d 451 (1977) ........ 26

Empire Broadcasting Corp., 63 F.C.C.2d 634 (1977) .. 19, 22

Grenco, Inc., 39 F.C.C.2d 732 (1973) ......... ccc eees 11

Hubbard Broadcastwmg, Inc., 41 P&F Radio Reg.2d

OW OT ipa dabendsvthts eeaKsaerses> 6, 19, 20, 22

Lamar Life Broadcasting Co., 26 F.C.C.2d 932 (Rev.

BE PE heen EAT k 5 eNO T AER EASES ORAS RES 35

L. B. Wilson, Inc., 37 F.C.C. 511 (1964) ............. 21

Lycoming County Broadcasting Co., 13 F.C.C. 127

EE eee orkeoe. ch) eelueeeeib ewe es 21

Melody Music, Inc., 2 F.C.C.2d 958 (1966) .......... 26

Microband Corp. of America, 44 P&F Radio Reg.2d

UE Ss Wi bccab dhs We) aw ha eed Sew aent 20, 21, 24

Network Clipping, 40 F.C.C.2d 136 (1973) ........... 5

Sea Island Broadcasting Corp., 44 P&F Radio Reg.2d

RO Cr ne ene enn Pea 12, 15

Star Stations of Indiana, Inc., 19 F.C.C.2d 991 (1969) . 22

Summa Corp., 38 F.C.C.2d 1160 (1973) .............. 18

vi Table of Authorities Continued

Page

TelePrompTer Cable Systems, Inc., 52 F.C.C.2d 1263

(1975), rev’d on other grounds, 178 U.S. App. D.C.

Oey Ge SN IED 6 sin vcd kc dccdestencucss 28

Tupelo Broadcasting Co., 67 F.C.C.2d 1356 (1978) .... 19

Ultravision Broadcasting Co., 11 F.C.C.2d 394 (Rev.

Bd. 1968), aff’d, WEBR v. FCC, 136 U.S. App.

ioe ee be OF) eee 21

WEAU, Inc., 50 F.C.C.2d 659 (1975) .............. 18, 22

Western Connecticut Broadcasting Co., 43 F.C.C.2d

I aia vied Sada anne di vaacewaunls Vines 12

MISCELLANEOUS:

ABA Code Of Judicial Conduct, Canon 3(A)(6) (1972) 28

Brennan, Working At Justice, in An Autobiography of

the Supreme Court (A. Westin ed. 1963) ........ 30

Cole and Oettinger, Reluctant Regulators: The FCC

and the Broadcast Audience (1978) ............. 31

K. Davis, Administrative Law of the Seventies (1976) 25

K. Davis, Discretionary Justice (1969) .............. 24

Davis, Revising the Administrative Procedure Act, 29

re Gh | Be ee 25

FCC Annual Reports, 1972-1976 .................00. 13

FCC Monitoring of Employees’ Telephone: Hearings

Before the Special Subcomm. on Investigations of

the House Comm. on Interstate and Foreign Com-

merce, 92nd Cong., 2d Sess. (1972) .............. 28

Frankfurter, Mr. Justice Roberts, 104 U. Pa. L. Rev.

Se RE andsy ts ENA 040 Cone deeb chide Woes kecaes 30

Rehnquist, Sunshine in the Third Branch, 16 Wash-

ee Bi Eye CANT oe hos oak SVS VRARVeaa ce ews 30

The Supreme Court Conference, address of Mr. Justice

Clark before the A.B.A. Section of Judicial Ad-

IN THE

Suprewe Court of the United States

OctToBER TERM, 1978

No.

WEstERN ComMuNnIcATIONS, Inc., Petitioner,

v.

&

FEpERAL CoMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION and

Las Vecas VALLEY Broapcastine@ Co., Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

rd

Petitioner Western Communications, Inc. (“West-

ern’’), licensee of KORK-TV, Las Vegas, Nevada, re-

spectfully prays that the Court issue a writ of certio-

rari to review the judgment and opinion of the United

States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia

Circuit entered in this ease on October 26, 1978.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals, not yet re-

ported, is reprinted in the Appendix, pp. la-16a, infra. ©

It affirmed in part and reversed in part orders and

2

opinions of the Federal Communications Commission

(“FCC’’) reported at 59 F.C.C.2d 1441 (1976), recon.

denied, 61 F.C.C.2d 974 (1976), reprinted in the Ap-

pendix, pp. 17a-61la, infra. The Initial Decision of the

Administrative Law Judge (‘‘ALJ’’), reported at 59

F.C.C.2d 1463 (1974), is reprinted in the Appendix,

pp. 62a-142a, infra. Other relevant orders under review

are reprinted in the Appendix, pp. 143a-156a, infra.

JURISDICTION

The opinion and judgment of the Court of Appeals

was entered on October 26, 1978. Western’s timely

petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en

banc was denied on December 29, 1978, Appendix, pp.

157a-158a, infra. The Court of Appeals stayed issuance

of its mandate until February 6, 1979, to permit filing of

this petition. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Is mere ‘‘preponderance of the evidence,’’ rather

than ‘‘clear and convincing evidence,’’ the correct

standard of proof for adjudicating issues of fraud and

‘Iisrepresentation leading to imposition of the FCC’s

most severe sanction (termination of license) ?

2. Did the Court of Appeals conduct adequate judi-

cial review of claimed arbitrary and capricious agency

action when it upheld imposition of the FCC’s most

severe sanction on Western without requiring the FCC

to explain why it (a) imposed lesser sanctions on

others for comparable or worse conduct in prior and

subsequent eases, and (b) refused to consider or credit

Western’s defenses and other factors which had ex-

3

cused comparable or worse conduct, or had mitigated

sanctions, in other comparable cases ?

3. Were Western’s rights to a fair adjudicatory

hearing abridged by repeated FCC violations of its

rules barring premature disclosures or ‘‘leaks’’ of ten-

tative decisions and related ca parte conduct?

4. Was it appropriate for the Court of Appeals to

undertake de novo review concerning the application

of Las Vegas Valley Broadcasting Co. (“Valley’’),

substitute its judgment for the FCC’s, and overturn

long standing, consistently applied FCC policy regard-

ing minimum financial qualifications for new broad-

cast station applicants?

STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED

Pertinent provisions of the Administrative Proce-

dure Act, the Communications Act of 1934, as amended,

and the Rules and Regulations of the Federal Com-

munications Commission appear in the Appendix, pp.

159a-165a, infra.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Western and its ultimate owner, Donald W. Reyn-

olds, have operated KORK-TV since 1955. In June,

1972, Western’s triennial license renewal application

for KORK-TV was ordered to an adjudicatory hear-

ing to review performance during the 1968-1971 license

term. During that term (and continuing to date)

KORK-TV was the Las Vegas affiliate of the NBC

Television Network. Two narrow qualifications issues

were specified for hearing: (1) had the NBC network

been fraudulently billed for network commercials that

KORK-TV did not broadeast; and (2) did Western

deliberately lie or withhold material information when

4

responding to four FCC letters inquiring whether

KORK-TV had broadeast extra local commercials so

as to ‘‘affect the content of network programs.”’

In September, 1972, Vallev’s mutually exclusive new

station application was consolidated for hearing with

Western’s renewal application. Numerous qualifica-

tions issues were specified concerning Valley’s appli-

cation. Evidence was taken on the comparative merits

of Western and Valley, but the issue of choosing be-

tween the two applicants was never reached. Both ap-

plications were denied entirely on basic qualifications

issues.

Western conceded that prior to mid-1971 KORK-TV

had broadcast more local commercials than could be

fitted precisely within the time NBC had allotted for

this purpose during network transmissions to the sta-

tion. KORK-TV deleted—.e., ‘‘clipped”—fractions of

the network transmission to fit in extra local commer-

cials. This practice was not intended or believed to

displace network commercials that were part of the

network transmission, or to affect adversely network

program content. Rather, KORK-TV’s policy was to

clip the so-called ‘‘clutter” portions of NBC’s trans-

mission—items such as opening titles, theme music,

promotional announcements, the network logo, and

credits. This did not affect KORK-TV’s compensation

from NBC, which was based on KORK-TV’s broad-

east of network commercials.

The standard form of NBC affiliation contract obli-

gated stations such as KORK-TV to broadcast the

entire network transmission without deletion. How-

ever, clipping of network “clutter’’? was a common

practice among affiliates of NBC (and other networks)

ee ee ae

5

in that era (1968-71). KORK-TV’s general managers,

and its then outside legal counsel specializing in FCC

matters, knew of the widespread industry pwactice ; they

believed that the networks were not concerned about

the practice despite the contract boilerplate; and they

did not believe it to be wrong under FCC rules or poli-

cies. KORK-TV stopped clipping any part of NBC

transmissions by mid-i971, although the practice con-

tinued in the industry through at least 1972. The con-

cept that ‘‘clutter’’ clipping itself was fraudulent bill-

ing was first announced by the FCC in 1973, long after

KORK-TV stopped the practice. Network Clipping,

40 F.C.C.2d 136 (1973).

KORK-TV conceded that, if network commercials

had been deleted while NBC was billed for them, the

FCC’s rule against misrepresenting the quantity of

advertising actually broadcast would have been vio-

lated. However, KORK-TV’s managers had no actual

knowledge that any NBC commercial was both clipped

and billed to NBC. No witness testified this ever hap-

pened. Rather, the fraudulent billing case against

Western rests on (a) second-by-second comparisons of

some KORK-TV and NBC program logs suggesting

that all or part of 21 NBC commercials may have been

clipped without this having been reported to NBC,

plus (b) the FCC’s assumption that station officials

‘*should have known” that clipping of NBC ‘‘clutter’”’

would ‘‘inevitably result’’ in clipping of NBC commer-

cials.' Even assuming complete reliability of log com-

*Numerous record facts negated the reliability of second-by-

second log comparisons to prove that all or part of specifie NBC

commercials were clipped by KORK-TV. Station logs are not re-

quired to show the precise time of local broadcast of the various

parts of the network transmission. They do show what lecal com-

6

parisons, the only bills to NBC in the record show

KORK-TV’s maximum potential overbilling of NBC

was less than $325, a sum Western refunded to NBC

in 1973.’

Western’s responses to the four FCC inquiries were

drafted by its former outside counsel, from whom no

relevant facts were withheld by Western’s officers.

Former counsel and the two KORK-TYV station man-

agers testified (a) that they did not believe that the

FCC’s inquiries asked generally about ‘‘clipping’”’ any

part of the NBC transmission, (b) that they believed

the FCC had asked only about clipping that affected

“program content,’’ and (c) that they saw no reason

to mention explicitly the station’s clutter-clipping prac-

mercials were broadcast and the approximate time of their broad-

cast as logged by the station engineer on duty. Network logs con-

tain a more detailed breakdown of the components of the network

transmission. The validity of comparisons between the two sets of

logs is affected by such factors as the synchronization and accuracy

of clocks and the accuracy of log entries made by different persons

in different cities under different working conditions. The ALJ

labeled log comparisons ‘‘less than perfect evidence’’; noted that

“accurate findings as to just what [part of the network transmis-

sion] was covered [by the extra local commercials] are difficult’’;

and concluded that because of these ‘‘uncertainties’’ only ‘‘gener-

alized findings’’ could be made. (App. 70a n.4, 85a n.10). In a

later case the FCC specifically found that clipping of clutter did

not inevitably result in clipping commercials. Hubbard Broad-

casting, Inc., 41 P&F Radio Reg.2d 979 (1977).

* Both the FCC and the Court of Appeals refer to a Western

refund to NBC of over $7000 made in 1975. (App. 5a, 21a n.7).

That figure comes from an exhibit specifically excluded from the

record. (App. 2la n.7). Reliance on such excluded evidence was

improper and underscores Western’s contentions concerning the

arbitrary and capricious disparate treatment it received under an

incorrectly low standard of proof.

7

tice which was designed, and believed in operation, not

to interfere with network commercials or ‘‘ program

content’’ as they understood that term.’

The ALJ and the FCC both conceded that ‘‘ program

content”’ is not a term generally defined or understood

in the industry. (App. 3la, 77a).* There was even dis-

agreement among the FCC, the ALJ and FCC hearing

counsel as to the precise scope of the FCC’s inquiries.

(App. 3la-32a, 77a & n.9; Court of Appeals Joint App.

1714-15). The Court of Appeals appears to have rec-

ognized the ambiguity. (App. 6a). However, no credit

was given to Western’s contention that its responses to

the FCC’s inquiries should be evaluated in light of the

ambiguities in, and different interpretations of, the

FCC’s inquiries, as well as in light of Western’s good

faith reliance on counsel to interpret the questions and

to advise on responses.

Of the several qualifications issues designated against

Valley, three stood out: (a) availability of an NBC

affiliation for Valley, given that there are more operat-

ing television stations than available networks in the

Las Vegas market; (b) availability of Valley’s pro-

posed $1,000,000 bank loan, which expired by its own

terms during the FCC proceedings; and (c) whether

Valley could finance access to its proposed mountain-

top transmitter site. The ALJ disqualified Valley for

failure to carry its burden under each of these issues.

’ Two station managers testified because of a change in man-

agers in May, 1971. The second manager eliminated all clipping

shortly after taking over.

*The ALJ refused to permit a witness to answer a question

phrased exactly like those in the FCC’s letters because the way

the question was asked ‘‘it becomes wholly subjective as to what

actually happened.’’ (Court of Appeals Joint App. 372).

8

Upon exceptions to the ALJ’s Initial Decision by

both applicants, the FCC also disqualified both of them.

As to Western, the FCC concluded (a) that its general

managers should have known that clipping network

clutter ‘‘inevitably’’ would interfere with network com-

mercials and program content; (b) that despite their

imprecision, log comparisons were reliable enough to

prove KORK-TV had clipped a second or more of

some network commercials for which NBC was billed;

(ec) that Western’s interpretation of the FCC’s ambig-

uous “program content’’ terminology was ‘‘overly nar-

row’’ and its responses were designed to conceal

KORK-TV’s practice of clipping some part of the net-

work transmission; and (d) that Reynolds had not

supervised the operation of his station closely enough

to avoid the misconduct found to have been perpetrated

without his knowledge. As to Valley, the FCC con-

cluded that Valley did have reasonable assurance of

an NBC affiliation, but still found Valley financially

unqualified under the bank loan and site access issues.

Petitions for reconsideration filed by Western and Val-,,

ley were denied by the F©C without any material °

change in its findings or reasoning.

During the period between oral argument before the

FCC en banc on the morning of March 9, 1976, and

publication of the FCC’s written decision some four

months later, there were significant events. The FCC

met immediately after the oral argument, supposedly

in secret, and directed preparation of a decision deny-

ing Western’s renewal application. However, due to

unauthorized disclosures or ‘‘leaks’’ by Commissioners

and/or staff personnel in violation of FCC rules, 47

C.F.R. § 19.735-206, the outcome of that meeting was

accurately reported (as it turned out) in the very next

9

editions of two separate trade journals, both dated

March 15, 1976. Over succeeding weeks other trade

press reports indicated further leaks and other in-

judicious conduct, including prohibited ex parte con-

tacts, involving the outcome of this case and/or the

complaints made by Western about the leaks.

Western promptly brought each trade press report

and related development to the FCC’s attention, claim-

ing prejudice and requesting appropriate action or re-

lief. Except for directing its staff to inquire into the

first round of leaks, the FCC did nothing in response to

Western’s requests. The notion that Western could

have been prejudiced was summarily rejected before

the investigation. (App. 145a).°

The staff inquiry into the first round of leaks later

established that at least one Commissioner, and assist-

ants to three other Commissioners, had impermissibly

discussed the secret FCC March 9 instructions for the

tentative decision in this case with trade press report-

® Even the FCC decision to have a staff investigation ‘‘leaked.’’

The trade press reported that decision on April 5, three days

before the April 8 release date printed on the first order made

available to the parties. The FCC denied any leak, claiming the

order had been released late on April 2, the date it was adopted.

Apparently this was in time for trade press reporters, but West-

ern’s counsel was unable to get a copy when he sought one at the

FCC on April 5 after reading the trade press accounts. To support

the timeliness of release, the FCC relied on ‘‘assurances’’ offered

it by an employee later forced to resign as chief FCC information

officer for making unauthorized disclosures of other FCC matters.

It later was revealed that the FCC’s general counsel had disclosed

the contents of the impending order to a trade press reporter on

April 1, the day before it was adopted. The certified list of docket

entries filed by the FCC in the Court of Appeals shows release of

the order in question on April 8, not on April 2.

10

ers. The one Commissioner implicated by the staff in-

quiry recused himself when the FCC’s final decision

was formally adopted. The FCC declined any hearings

on the questions of fact generated by the leaks or the

claimed ex parte conduct related thereto. The FCC’s

written decisions noted the leaks, labeled them ‘‘un-

fortunate”’’ but not prejudicial to Western, and warned

Western not to complain anymore.

Western and Valley each appealed the FCC’s deci-

sion to the United States Court of Appeals for the Dis-

trict of Columbia Circuit, pursuant to 47 U.S.C. § 402

(b). The appeals were consolidated for briefing, argu-

ment and decision.

The Court of Appeals affirmed denial of Western’s

renewal application, holding that: (a) substantial evi-

dence supported the FCC’s misrepresentation and

fraudulent billing findings; (b) the FCC ‘‘death pen-

alty’’ for Western was not arbitrary and capricious

despite more lenient FCC sanctions in other cases in-

volving comparable conduct; and (c) leaks, while ‘‘un-

fortunate,” did not infringe Western’s due process

rights. With Chief Judge Wright dissenting, the Court

of Appeals reversed the FCC’s disqualification of

Valley under the bank loan issue, finding that there was

reasonable assurance of availability. Valley’s applica-

tion was remanded for further review of its ‘‘overall

financial qualifications.’’ The Court did not decide Val-

ley’s site access issue, but did affirm the FCC’s decision

in favor of Valley on the network affiliation issue.

Lone et an lala ee

11

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRI

1. This Court Should (A) Settle The Important Federal Question

Of The Standard Of Proof Applicable To FCC Proceedings

That Terminate Broadcast Licenses For Alleged Misconduct,

And (B) Eliminate Evideat Conflict At The Court Of Appeals

Level Between The Standard Of Proof Governing Such FCC

Cases And Comparable Proceedings Before The SEC And

Other Federal Agencies.

The Court of Appeals, like the FCC, never addressed

Western’s argument that administrative and judicial

precedent demand that termination of its license for

fraud and misrepresentation be based upon evidence

with a higher degree of certainty, e.g., Grenco, Inc., 39

F.C.C.2d 732 (1973), than required in cases that in-

volve less serious issues and less drastic sanctions than

the administrative equivalent of the death penalty.

The Court of Appeals was specifically asked to require

the FCC to utilize the ‘‘elear and convincing”’ stand-

ard, rather than the mere ‘‘preponderance”’ standard,

just as that Court had recently directed the SEC to

utilize in Collins Securities Corp. v. SEC, 183 U.S.

App. D.C. 301, 562 F.2d 820 (1977), and Nassar and

Co. v. SEC, 185 U.S. App. D.C. 125, 566 F.2d 790

(1977).

Between oral argument and decision in the Court

of Appeals, Western also invited to the attention of

its panel another pending FCC fraudulent billing 1i-

cense termination case in which a different panel of the

court had ordered a remand for the FCC’s views as

to the public interest implications of requiring ‘‘clear

and convincing” evidence in such cases. Sea Island

Broadcasting Corp. v. FCC, No. 76-1735 (D.C. Cir.,

filed Aug. 12, 1976). Western’s appeal was decided

without awaiting the FCO’s report pursuant to the

Sea Island remand.

12

The oversight of the Court of Appeals in not ad-

dressing this important issue of federal law in West-

ern’s case, and in not coordinating the panel decision

in Western’s appeal with the panel decision in Sea

Island, was invited to the court’s attention at the re-

hearing stage without avail. The FCC subsequently

advised the Court of Appeals in Sea Island that ‘‘clear

and convineing’’ should not be the standard required.

Sea Island Broadcasting Corp., 44 P&F Radio Reg.2d

1265 (1978).°

The Communications Act of 1934, as amended, 47

U.S.C. § 151 et seq., neither prescribes nor suggests the

standard of proof applicable to license renewal or revo-

cation proceedings. The standard of proof an agency

must follow “is the kind of question which has tradi-

tionally been left to the judiciary to resolve... .’’

Woodby v. Immigration and Naturalization Service,

385 U.S. 276, 284 (1966). Neither this Court nor the

Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit

has ever explicitly ruled on this question in an FCC

renewal or revocation case. As the instant case is not

* Sea Island remains pending in the Court of Appeals. If Sea

Island ultimately requires ‘‘clear and convincing’’ as the standard,

certiorari should be granted here and this case remanded for fur-

ther proceedings in light of Sea Island. The continuing pendency

of Sea Island before the Court of Appeals, and the possibility of

a different outcome on the fundamental legal issue of standard of

proof in a broadcast license termination case, provide strong rea-

son for this Court to defer action on this petition until Sea Island

is finally decided. To distinguish revocation of license in Sea Island

from denial of Western’s renewal here would exalt form over sub-

stance. In either case (a) the broadcaster suffers the ‘‘supreme

penalty,’’ and (b) once in litigation the license normally con-

tinues well beyond the nominal three-year term. Z.g., Western

Connecticut Broadcasting Co., 43 F.C.C.2d 730, 731 n.2 (1973).

See 47 U.S.C. § 307(d).

i a Te OD tie °c

s¢

ee eee

13

the first, and will not be the last, to fall in that cate-

gory, the legal question has broad impact.’

Together, Collins and Nassar, supra, stand for the

proposition that SEC termination of federal authority

to operate as a securities broker-dealer must be sup-

ported by clear and convincing evidence, particularly

where there is (a) reliance on circumstantial evidence

to prove fraud, and (b) imposition of a drastic sanc-

tion tantamount to deprivation of livelihood. That evi-

dently fair, sensible and practical proposition is no

less applicable to FCC termination of authority to op-

erate a broadcast station for unfitness.

There is nothing novel about exceptions to the gen-

eral rule that preponderance of the evidence is usually

the appropriate standard of proof in noncriminal pro-

ceedings, including proceedings before federal agencies.

This Court has often required a stricter standard of

proof in civil proceedings involving severe sanctions.

E.g., Woodby v. Immigration and Naturalization Ser-

vice, supra; Schneiderman v. United States, 320 U.S.

118 (1943); Gonzales v. Landon, 350 U.S. 920 (1955)

(per curiam) ; In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970).

Grant of certiorari to decide whether the FCC

should be required to use the clear and convincing

standard in cases such as this is justified on multiple

grounds.

7 Over the past five years the FCC has designated for hearing a

total of 95 renewal and revocation adjudicatory cases. FCC An-

nual Reports, 1972-1976. In addition to Sea Island, supra, there

are at least seven other such cases currently before the United

States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit,

which has exclusive jurisdiction over such appeals, 47 U.S.C.

§ 402(b).

14

First, Western’s conduct has been labeled ‘‘fraudu-

lent.’’ This Court noted in Woodby that the ‘‘clear,

unequivocal and convincing’’ standard ‘‘has tradi-

tionally been imposed in cases involving allegations

of civil fraud.’’ 385 U.S. at 285 n.18. The District

of Columbia Circuit in Collins observed that ‘‘clear

and convincing” has been the standard in “literally

hundreds” of fraud cases decided by United States

courts of appeals. 183 U.S. App. D.C. at 305, 562 F.2d

at 824. The necessity for ‘‘clear and convineing”’ is

especially great in cases such as Collins and the instant

one, where allegations of fraud rest solely on circum-

stantial evidence."

Second, the sanction of termination of broadcast

license, while perhaps not perceived to be as extreme

as deportation, denaturalization or involuntary con-

finement, is nonetheless very severe. There is huge

financial impact on the displaced licensee (Western).

Even more important in the context of due process,

there is very severe impact (stigma plus impairment

of future employment) on the individuals who must

bear the brunt of the sanction (Reynolds and the two

station managers). There is also considerable adverse

impact on the public from the loss of a meritorious and

popular television service.’ To the licensee forfeiting a

8 In Western’s case there was no direct evidence of either fraudu-

lent billing or misrepresentation/lack of candor; there were only

inferences drawn from log comparisons (that are subject to im-

precision for various undisputed reasons), and from responses to

ambiguous FCC questions whose meaning had been interpreted for

Western by its counsel.

*It cannot be assumed that a new licensee promptly would re-

place Western or would be likely to provide as effective a service

to the public as Western has in fact provided. During the license

PO. ne het ee Oe

15

multi-million dollar investment (without the owner’s

complicity in or knowledge of any alleged wrongdoing),

and to station managers who may well be barred from

further meaningful pursuit of their profession, the

sanction is nothing short of punitive. See Collins,

183 U.S. App. D.C. at 306, 562 F.2d at 825." Moreover,

while a broadcast license does not create any property

rights in the traditional sense, 47 U.S.C. § 301, it does

earry ‘‘legitimate renewal expectancies.’’ E.g., FCC

v. National Citizens Committee for Broadcasting, 436

U.S. 775, 805-06 (1978); Greater Boston Television

Corp. v. FCC, 143 U.S. App. D.C. 383, 396, 444 F.2d

841, 854 (1970), cert. denied, 403 U.S. 923 (1971).

Given the nature and magnitude of the licensee’s in-

terest in the station, these expectancies deserve careful

consideration, sufficient proof, and due process.”

period examined in the hearing, KORK-TV provided exemplary

service to the public and was the most popular station in Las

Vegas. (App. 104a-127a).

1° That ‘‘loss of a broadcast license would not preclude . . . ob-

taining @ job in the broadcast industry .. .’’ Sea Island Broad-

casting Corp., supra, 44 P&F Radio Reg.2d at 1268 (emphasis

added), does not answer the vital question as to what kind of job

or indicate whether it could be comparable to one’s former job.

In Collins, the individual was not barred from ‘‘the securities in-

dustry’’; nor does ‘‘the broadcast industry’’ necessarily mean the

same as ‘‘broadcast station.’’ That a person may be able to hold

a lesser position in the same industry, or go into some entirely

new line of work, or some different and new part of the same

industry, does not lessen the ‘‘deprivation of livelihood.’’ See, e.g.,

Arthur Lipper Corp. v. SEC, 547 F.2d 171, 184 n.12 (2d Cir.

1976), rehearing denied, 551 F.2d 915 (1977), cert. denied, 434

U.S. 1009 (1978).

™ Tt is no answer to say that denial of license renewal is not a

penalty. See FCC v. WOKO, Ince., 329 U.S. 223, 228 (1946). The

nature of the interests at stake, not the label-of-convenience ap-

16

Third, termination of license for misrepresentation

and fraudulent billing will inevitably stigmatize Reyn-

olds and the station managers. The ‘‘basic concept of

the essential dignity and worth of every human being”’

is reflected in the value we place on a person’s good

name and reputation. Rosenblatt v. Baer, 383 U.S. 75,

92 (1966) (Stewart, J., concurring). Labeling a person

with adverse ‘‘character” findings and limiting his

future employment opportunities clearly implicate

liberty interests protected by due process. E.g., Rosen-

blatt; Hampton v. Mow Sun Wong, 426 U.S. 88,

115-16 (1976). Likelihood of stigma was a key factor

leading this Court to impose the “beyond a reasonable

doubt standard” in juvenile delinquency proceedings.

In re Winship, 397 U.S. at 367. Stigma from the FCC’s

decision here, although not resulting from involun-

tary confinement, warrants at least a higher standard

of proof than the mere preponderance of the evidence

used in a breach of contract case.

plied to a proceeding, determine what process is due. In re Win-

ship, 397 U.S. at 365-66; In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967). Disbar-

ment, like denial of renewal, is ‘‘designed to protect the public,’’

but it is nevertheless ‘‘a punishment or penalty imposed on the

lawyer [broadcaster].’’ In re Ruffalo, 390 U.S. 544, 550 (1968).

This case clearly meets the three-pronged due process test of

Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319, 335 (1976): the private in-

terests of Reynolds and the station managers are substantial and

deserving of every reasonable procedural protection ; ‘‘the risk of

erroneous deprivation’’ of these interests and ‘‘the probable value

. . of additional or substitute procedural safeguards’’ are demon-

strated by the marginal circumstantial evidence relied on by the

FCC; and ‘‘the Government’s interest, including the function in-

vo.ved and fiscal and administrative burdens’’ should not be ad-

versely affected by applying the clear and convincing standard.

See In re Winship, 397 U.S. at 366-67.

<6 Dy et Le Cts cars 2

17

Fourth, grant of a writ of certiorari would permit

reconciliation of apparent conflict between the ap-

proach of the District of Columbia Circuit in SEC

eases like Collins and Nassar, on the one hand,

and in FCC eases like Western’s, on the other hand.

This would serve the beneficial public purpose of pro-

moting evenhanded administration of the government

licensing function, which has grown to involve many

agencies concerned with many different functions.

There is no sound reason to apply different standards

of proof when different agencies decide whether to

terminate different types of licenses under similar

circumstances with similar consequences. The Court

of Appeals’ failure to address this issue in a meaning-

ful way and the importance of its resolution, both in

FCC eases and in other agency proceedings, warrant

grant of the writ of certiorari.

2. This Court Should Settle The Important Federal Question Of

The Duty Of Courts Of Appeals To Require Administrative

Agencies To Provide Rational Explanations For Disparate Re-

sults Reached And Sanctions Imposed In Comparable Cases,

And To Eliminate Conflict On This Question Between The

Second Circuit And The District of Columbia Circuit.

The Court of Appeals failed to apply the fundamen-

tal principle of Melody Music, Inc. v. FCC, 120 U.S.

App. D.C. 241, 345 F.2d 730 (1965), that agency failure

adequately to explain disparate treatment of similarly

situated licensees is reversible error.” Despite West-

ern’s heavy reliance on the Melody Music doctrine,

the Court of Appeals failed to cite the case or to dis-

12 There are many progeny of Melody Music. E.g., Public Media

Center v. FCC, No. 76-1648 (D.C. Cir. Oct. 24, 1978), and numer-

ous cases cited therein.

18

cuss the doctrine, even when this oversight was invited

to its attention at the rehearing stage.

Western received unexplained, radically disparate

treatment in two main respects: (a) it received a much

more severe sanction than that meted out to others in

both prior and subsequent cases involving comparable

or more egregious conduct; and (b) it was denied the

benefit of defenses and mitigating factors that in other

eases were held sufficient either to excuse comparable

eonduet or to warrant lesser sanctions.

Sanctions. Denial of Western’s renewal application

was the most severe sanction the FCC could impose—

it is the administrative equivalent of the gas chamber.

Yet, while Western’s renewal application was being

processed and litigated before the FCC, the FCC im-

posed the much milder sanctions of small fines ($10,000

or less) and/or short term, probationary license re-

newals for: (a) contemporaneous clipping of network

advertising by another Las Vegas station (Channel 13

of Las Vegas, Inc., 37 F.C.C.2d 518 (1972) ); (b) con-

temporaneous willful issuance of false bills to non-

network advertisers by yet another Las Vegas station

(Summa Corp., 38 F.C.C.2d 1160 (1973)); (¢) subse-

quent and far more egregious clipping of network ad-

vertising by another NBC affiliate (WEAU, Inc., 50

F.C.C.2d 659 (1975)); and (d) fraudulent billing in

other cases set for hearing subsequent to KORK-TV

(Blackstone Broadcasting Corp., 52 F.C.C.2d 1106

(1975); Bluegrass Broadcasting Co., 43 F.C.C.2d 990

(1973) ).*°

13 A ‘‘short-term renewal’’ provides the FCC an opportunity to

review the licensee’s interim performance without waiting the

usual three-year term. Absent interim misconduct, a short term

renewal is invariably followed by a renewal for the balance of the

normal full license term.

ites =. kSuw

19

The ultimate sanction of nonrenewal for Western

cannot be rationally explained, as the Court of Appeals

suggested, by any notion of a ‘‘get tough”’ policy to

improve licensee compliance. (App. 7a-8a). Fox, after

the FCC decided Western’s case, it returned to its pat-

tern of imposing far milder sanctions for fraudulent

billing. See Empire Broadcasting Corp., 63 F.C.C.2d

634 (1977), and Tupelo Broadcasting Co., 67 F.C.C.2d

1358 (1978), where there were larger amounts of over-

billing, licensee failure to exercise adequate supervi-

sion or to take remedial action, and specific knowledge

(not assumed ‘‘constructive” knowledge) of over-bill-

ing by station management.

As all of these other cases involved broadcast sta-

tions, the Court of Appeals made a serious mistake

when it sought to dispose of Western’s argument about

analogous cases on the ground that it ‘‘reflects a mis-

apprehension of the nature of a broadcast license.”’

(App. 7a-8a). Moreover, when the FCC imposed a sanc-

tion on Western, there was no need to ‘‘get tough” to

improve KORK-TV’s compliance. All clipping at

KORK-TV had been stopped about a year before hear-

ing was ordered; throughout the four years of hear-

ings there was no suggestion of repeated or different

misconduct. Meaningful judicial review would insist on

agency explanation why a lesser sanction than the

regulatory death penalty would be ineffective to ensure

future compliance by Western. See Burlington Truck

Lines v. United States, 371 U.S. 156, 168-169 (1962)."

4 The Court of Appeals termed ‘‘groundless’’ Western’s claim

that ‘‘denial of renewal was unjust because the licensee had no

notice [prior to mid-1971] that clipping [of other than advertis-

ing matter} would constitute fraudulent billing, or that it could

result in nonrenewal.’’ (App. 7a). Yet in Hubbard Broadcasting,

Fa cy

r 20

-

Although the Court of Appeals correctly noted that

denial of renewal is not a novel sanction for proven

misrepresentation (App. 8a), it overlooked that such

a sanction has not been universally imposed. Thus,

there is lacking the reasoned decisionmaking required

to explain why Western was treated very harshly for

debatable misrepresentation while others were treated

much more leniently for unquestioned deliberate lying.

In CBS, Inc., 69 F.C.C.2d 1082 (1978), a big and

powerful network received the mere wrist slap of a

short-term renewal for one of its stations even though

top network officers had repeatedly lied to the FCC

about programs that had deceived the public across the

Nation and had violated both the Communications Act

and FCC rules.”* Microband Corp. of America, 44 P&F

Radio Reg.2d 1490 (1978), excused repeated false

statements to the FCC and took into account

“the fact that Lipper [a Microband principal]

acted on the advice of counsel and that the practice

which constituted fraud was endemic in the finan-

cial community and had not been judicially deter-

mined to be illegal when Lipper’s . . . actions oc-

curred.’’ 44 P&F Radio Reg.2d at 1494 n.5.

The FCC also considered in Microband, but refused to

consider here, the absence of any recurrent misconduct

supra, only the much more lenient sanction of a short term re-

newal was imposed on a licensee who had clipped network ‘‘clut-

ter’’ and ‘‘program content’’ as late as April, 1973, some two

years after KORK-TV had stopped any clipping, because ‘‘at the

time the irregularities occurred, there was no clear Commission

policy prohibiting the particular style of clipping.’’ 41 P&F Radio

Reg.2d at 986 (emphasis added).

* “CBS apparently lacks adequate controls to insure that high

level officers responsible for network operations do not misrepresent

facts to the Commission.’’ 69 F.C.C.2d at 1091.

21

and the licensee’s role as a ‘‘positive force in the devel-

opment”’ of telecommunications.

Defenses and mitigating factors. The Court of Ap-

peals failed to require the FCC to explain rationally

why it had ignored or rejected Western’s many de-

fenses and claims in mitigation when identical defenses

and claims had been held decisionally significant in

other cases. The Court of Appeals, without a word of

explanation, acquiesced in FCC refusal to consider or

to credit:

(a) Western’s reliance on expert former counsel to

negate any inference of the bad faith, or intent to mis-

lead or hold back information, necessary to sustain a

misrepresentation/lack of candor finding; *

(b) the absence of sctenter, which should have pre-

cluded any fraudulent billing finding because the FCC’s

rule requires ‘‘the knowing issuance of false informa-

tion concerning amounts actually charged for adver-

tising,’’ Blackstone Broadcasting, 52 F.C.C.2d at 1108

(emphasis in original) ; *’

‘® Compare FCC precedent: Ultravision Broadcasting Co., 11

F.C.C.2d 394, 406-07 (Rev. Bd. 1968), aff'd, WEBR v. FCC, 136

U.S. App. D.C. 316, 325-26, 420 F.2d 158, 167-68 (1969) ; Lycom-

ing County Broadcasting Co., 13 F.C.C. 127, 136-38 (1948) ; see

also Microband Corp. of America, supra; L. B. Wilson, Ine., 37

F.C.C. 511, 597 (1964); Bay Broadcasters, Inc., 34 F.C.C.2d

138 (1972). Compare judicial precedent: Williamson v. United

States, 207 U.S. 425, 453 (1908) (fraudulent concealment in bank-

ruptey); United States v. Phillips, 217 F.2d 435, 442 (7th Cir.

1954) (tax evasion) ; Haywood Lumber & Mining Co. v. Commis-

sioner, 178 F.2d 769, 771 (2d Cir. 1950) (failure to file tax

returns).

‘' There is no reason KORK-TV’s general managers should have

known that network reports were false as to advertising, even

though they knew that clutter was being clipped. The station’s

policies and practices were to avoid commercial clipping, but if it

20

(ec) restitution, which has been accepted as a mitigat-

ing factor demonstrating contrition, good faith and

willingness and ability to try to do better; “ and

(d) other corrective and preventive action taken by

Western—eliminating questionable practices, institut-

ing new billing safeguards, and employing a special

supervisor to ensure FCC rule compliance.”

While the FCC may not be bound ‘‘to deal with all

cases at all times as it has dealt with some that seem

comparable,’’ FCC v. WOKO, Inc., 329 U.S. 223, 228

(1946), requirements of reasoned decisionmaking at

least dictated that the Court of Appeals insist that the

>?

did occur, to prepare ‘‘discrepancy reports’’ as a check against

overbilling. Moreover, undisputed evidence showed that operators

could clip clutter without interfering with NBC commercials, and

the FCC itself has held that extensive clutter clipping need not

necessarily interfere with network advertising or program content.

Hubbard Broadcasting, supra.

“Compare Empire Broadcasting, supra; Booth American Co.,

58 F.C.C.2d 553, 554-55 (1976) ; Coaxial Communications, Inc., 61

F.C.C.2d 81, 94-95 (1976); Bluegrass Broadcasting, supra; Star

Stations of Indiana, Inec., 19 F.C.C.2d 991, 993 (1969). The FCC

said Western was dilatory in making its restitution showing (App.

21a n.7), but Western acted much earlier than the renewal appli-

eant in Star Stations. Also Western’s restitution of $325 (for all

overbilling that might be inferred from evidence in the record)

was made before the hearing sessions even began. (App. 73a).

‘* Compare CBS, supra; Empire Broadcasting, supra; Black-

stone Broadcasting, supra; WEAU, Inc., supra; Action Radio,

Inc., 51 F.C.C.2d 803 (1975) ; Booth American, supra; Belk Broad-

easting Co. of Florida, 42 F.C.C.2d 844, 849 (1973). See also Con-

tinental Broadcasting, Inc. y. FCC, 142 U.S. App. D.C. 70, 73-74,

439 F.2d 580, 583-84, cert. denied, 403 U.S. 905 (1971), noting the

FCC’s careful consideration of a renewal applicant's corrective

action—a consideration never given Western here.

RE Ble eS

23

FCC articulate rational reasons for its grossly dispar-

ate treatment of Western in terms of available de-

fenses, mitigating factors, and sanction. Melody Music

was decided after WOKO and distinguished it. If the

Court of Appeals intended to overrule or repudiate the

well established and frequently followed Melody Music

doctrine in Western’s appeal, at least it had the duty to

face the issue squarely and to articulate rational rea-

sons for doing so.

This Court should not acquiesce in any doctrine, such

as that implicitly sanctioned by the Court of Appeals

below, that would permit the FCC (and other agen-

cies) unbridled discretion in dealing with its licensees

and in fashioning remedies for their conduct. If the

decision of the Court of Appeals stands, the FCC (and

other agencies) will be effectively exempt from any

meaningful requirement of rational consistency in de-

fining (a) sanctionable offenses, (b) acceptable de-

fenses and mitigating factors, and (c) fair, just and

appropriate sanctions.

The apparent new ‘‘standard of no standard”’ fash-

ioned for Western’s case by the FCC, and approved by

the Court of Appeals, is mischievous. Under it, ap-

plicants in renewal or revocation hearings seeking to

establish their basic qualifications could be held to

different standards of conduct, allowed different de-

fenses, and subjected to different treatment or degrees

of punishment for reasons no more cogent than when

their case comes up, who they may be, where they may

be located, what they may own, or what they may be-

lieve and say. Particularly when broadcast licensees

are involved, who provide ‘‘a principal source of in-

formation and entertainment for a great part of the

Nation’s population,’ United States v. Southwestern

24

Cable Co., 392 U.S. 157, 177 (1968), the potential for

mischief is too enormous to go unreviewed by this

Court.

Two of the three grounds given by the Court of Ap-

peals for not requiring rational FCC explanations for

the disparity of sanction beg the issue.” First, the fact

that Western has no ‘‘property interest’’ in its license,

plus the fact that renewal depends on proof ‘‘that past

service has been in the public interest and that future

service will likely be superior to that offered by com-

peting applicants’’ (App. 8a), does not extinguish the

requirement of reasoned decisionmaking.” This refer-

ence by the Court of Appeals is baffling, for the FCC

refused to credit Reynolds’ 25-year unblemished record

as a licensee or KORK-TV’s exemplary public service,

even though such is said to be the ‘‘best evidence”’ of

a renewal applicant’s future performance. E.g., Cen-

tral Florida Enterprises, Inc. v. FCC, No. 76-1742,

slip op. at 31 (D.C. Cir. Sept. 25, 1978). Second, that

misrepresentation ‘‘is a valid basis for non-renewal’’

(App. 8a) is no substitute for judicial insistence

that the FCC explain why nonrenewal was necessary

and appropriate here, but not in CBS and Microband,

for example.

70 Western cannot explain to this Court why the Court of Ap-

peals would give such short shrift to this issue below after re-

peatedly requiring agency explanations for departure from prece-

dent and for disparate sanctions in other cases. See, e.g., Melody

Music, Inc. v. FCC, supra; Columbia Broadcasting, Inc. v. FCC,

147 U.S. App. D.C. 175, 454 F.2d 1018 (1971) ; Nassar and Co. v.

SEC, 185 U.S. App. D.C. 125, 566 F.2d 790 (1977) ; and Garrett

v. FCC, 168 U.S. App. D.C. 266, 513 F.2d 1056 (1975).

21 Even discretion involving privileges and gratuities should not

be uncontrolled. K. Davis, Discretionary Justice 172-80 (1969).

la ta acme ial ae

25

The Court of Appeals’ third ground—that ‘‘courts

ordinarily accord the Commission particular discretion

in fashioning remedies to maximize compliance with

Commission policy’? (App. 8a)—raises fundamental

questions about the proper role of judicial review, par-

ticularly in the face of greatly disparate agency sanc-

tions. The Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C.

§ 557(¢) (3) (A), requires agency ‘‘reasons’’ for action

in adjudicatory cases. This Court has held that an

agency has a ‘‘duty to explain its departure from prior

norms.’’ Atchison, T. & S.F.R. Co. v. Wichita Board of

Trade, 412 U.S. 800, 808 (1973) (plurality opinion). It

seems to be seriously in error for FCC v. WOKO, su-

pra, and Butz v. Glover Livestock Commission, 411

U.S. 182 (1973), which did uphold agency discretion in

choosing sanctions, to be interpreted to mean, as the

Court of Appeals has implicitly held here, that agency

discretion in the selection of sanction is free of any re-

quirement of ‘‘reasons’’ and explanations for dispar-

ate treatment, no matter how gross the disparity.

Professor Davis has put it well: a choice must be

made between “the arbitrariness of uncontrolled and

unguided discretion, and discretion that is structured

and guided by a system of precedents and checked by a

system of judicial review.’’** Unexplained and incom-

22K. Davis, Administrative Law of the Seventies, § 16.00-6 at

395 (1976). Professor Davis has been most outspoken on the need

for agency explanations for disparate sanctions and in his criti-

cism of Butz v. Glover Livestock Commission, even though that

ease did not fall under the ‘‘reasons’’ requirement of 5 U.S.C.

§ 557(¢)(3)(A) and even though the Court never reached the

question of the need for agency reasons to justify disparate treat-

ment. See, e.g., Administrative Law of the Seventies, §§ 16.00,

16.00-6 & 17.07-4; Davis, Revising the Administrative Procedure

Act, 29 Admin. L. Rev. 35, 50-52 (1977). Butz also involved only

a 20-day suspension.

26

pletely or superficially reviewed agency discretion in-

vites abuse. If the FCC (or any agency) is not re-

quired to give reasons for grossly disparate sanctionsy

the door will be open to sub silentio punishment of

broadcasters (or other federal license holders) ‘‘upon

the basis of their political, economic or social views, or

upon any other capricious basis’’ wholly beyond the

agency’s authority. National Broadcasting Co. V.

United States, 319 U.S. 190, 226 (1943).*

Nonrenewal for Western strongly suggests agency

eaprice. The typical justification for nonrenewal on

so-called ‘‘character’’ grounds is that the licensee no

longer merits a public trusteeship.* That justification

was preempted here when the FCC expressly refused

to impute alleged misrepresentation or fraud at

KORK-TV to Reynolds, the ultimate licensee, as he

did not participate in, or have knowledge of, any al-

leged misconduct at KORK-TV. Donald W. Reynolds,

65 F.C.C.2d 451 (1977). After having stripped Reyn-

olds of KORK-TV, the FCC turned right around and

demonstrated complete trust in his capacity as licensee

and public trustee by authorizing renewal of all his

23 **Reasoned decision promotes results in the public interest by

requiring the agency to focus on the values served by its decision,

and hence releasing the clutch of unconscious preference and ire

relevant prejudice.’’ Greater Boston Television Corp. v. FCC, 143

U.S. App. D.C. 383, 394, 444 F.2d 841, 852 (1970), cert. denied,

403 U.S. 923 (1971) (footnote omitted).

* E.g., FCC v. WOKO, supra, 329 U.S. at 228-29; Hall v. FCC,

99 U.S. App. D.C. 86, 96, 237 F.2d 567, 577 (1956); Melody

Music, Inc., 2 F.C.C.2d 958, 960 (1966).

ee

27

other licenses! There can be no rational implication

that Reynolds is unreliable or unfit.”

Apart from the overall public importance of the

issue of judicial review of grossly disparate agency

sanctions, there is an apparent conflict on this issue

between the District of Columbia Circuit and the Sec-

ond Cireuit. Arthur Lipper Corp. v. SEC, 547 F.2d 171

(2d Cir. 1976), rehearing dented, 551 F.2d 915 (1977),

cert. dented, 434 U.S. 1009 (1978), held that agency

sanctions are ‘‘reviewable as to severity.” * It there-

upon reduced an equivalent denial of authority to con-

tinue to do business in a regulated industry (revoca-

tion of a broker-dealer registration) on-~several

grounds, all of which are present here: widespread

prevalence of the challenged conduct in the industry ;

reliance on counsel; pendency of the proceeding for a

long time; the cloud over petitioners’ heads; and the

‘*tremendous disparity’’ in sanctions imposed in other

comparable cases. 547 F.2d at 183-85. Resolution of

this conflict on an important legal principle is necessary

to promote consistency of government regulation of

those holding federal authorizations to engage in vari-

ous endeavors.

2° The FCC’s theory that Reynolds should lose his KOKK-TV

license for failure to exercise adequate control and supervision

(App. 32a-34a) likewise cannot be squared with renewal of his

other licenses. He exercised precisely the same ‘‘control and super-

vision’’ at all his stations. Moreover, his unblemished 25-year record

as a broadcaster and his record of public service at KORK-TV were

more indicative of the adequacy of his ‘‘control and supervision’’

of KORK-TV than the isolated aberration that lead to this case.

*° A conflict between circuits in FCC licensing cases is not pos-

sible because 47 U.S.C. § 402(b) vests exclusive jurisdiction over

such cases in the District of Columbia Circuit.

28

3. This Court Should Settle The Important Federal Question.

Which It Has Not Heretofore Decided, Whether There Is

Violation Of An Applicant's Right To A Fair Adjudicatory

Agency Hearing When There Is Premature Disclosure Of

Tentative Agency Decisions And Related Ex Parte Conduct

In Violation Of Specific Agency Rules: The Proceedings

Below So Far Departed From The Accepted And Usual

Course As To Call For Exercise Of This Court's Power Of

Oversight.

The Court of Appeals, like the FCC, found the leak

episodes ‘‘unfortunate,’’ but did not perceive any

prejudice to Western or denial of its rights. (App. 6a).

This Court has a special role in assuring the integrity

of the overall administrative/judicial process and the

fair conduct of all adjudications (both in fact and

appearance) consistent with pertinent rules. There-

fore, the Court should resolve the leak question to

guide all involved in federal agency adjudications. The

prevalence of FCC leaks, and the prospects for leaks

at other agencies, makes this a matter of broad legal

importance in the administration of justice.

Leaks violate basie ethics of the decisionmaking

process. See, e.g., ABA Code of Judicial Conduct,

Canon 3(A)(6) (1972). The FCC long has had a leak

problem.” It has conceded that leaks in restricted ad-

judicatory proceedings are inconsistent with proper

judicial conduct and decorum. TelePrompTer Cable

Systems, Inc., 52 F.C.C.2d 1263, 1272-73 (1975), rev’d

on other grounds, 178 U.S. App. D.C. 66, 543 F.2d 1379

(1976). So far the FCC has done little about the prob-

27See FCC Monitoring of Employees’ Telephones: Hearings

Before the Special Subeomm. on Investigations of the House Comm.

on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, 92nd Cong., 2d Sess. 40

(1972).

te

ee Pane et eee

29

lem. Under the rulings below, parties to administrative

proceedings tainted by this kind of misconduct are left

without recourse unless they can do the impossible—

prove that there would have been a different result

but for the agency’s misconduct.

A party to an agency adjudicatory proceeding has

an identifiable interest in the integrity of the delibera-

tive process and its untainted conduct in accordance

with published rules. This interest is entitled to pro-

tection against actions that disrupt orderly processes,

risk inhibiting the exchange of views, invite improper

influences to be brought to bear on the decisionmaking

process (such as reporters harassing FCC Commis-

sioners and their assistants to find out how and why

they voted), and violate fundamental precepts of ju-

dicial conduct.

This Court is well aware of the need for secrecy

of deliberations. Mr. Justice Clark’s observations

about the Court’s Friday conferences are no less ap-

plicable to FCC post-oral argument meetings to dis-

cuss tentative decisions:

‘‘The Court must carry on these Friday confer-

ences in absolute secrecy, otherwise its judgments

might become prematurely known and the whole

process of decision destroyed. We therefore guard

its secrets closely. There must be no leak.’’*

As Mr. Justice Rehnquist has put it, a closed confer-

ence

‘“*. . . permits a remarkably candid exchange of

views among the members of the Conference. This

7° The Supreme Court Conference, address of Mr. Justice Clark

before the A.B.A. Section of Judicial Administration, August 27,

1956, reprinted in 19 F.R.D. 303, 305 (1956) (emphasis added).

30

candor undoubtedly advances the purposes of the

Conference in resolving the cases before it. No

one feels at all inhibited by the possibility that

any of his remarks will be quoted outside of the

Conference Room, or that any of his half formed

or ill conceived ideas, which all of us have at

times, will be later held up to public ridicule.

* * *

“We all occasionally change our tentative vote at

the Conference ... Should the public, or any in-

vested segment thereof, know the tentative vote,

lobbying pressures intended to change, or affect,

that outcome could result. Yet such external pres-

sures are, at least in part, a questionable influence

on the workings of a judicial branch.’”’ ”

Neither the Court of Appeals nor the FCC recog-

nized the inherent prejudice to Western of the leaks.”

The right to ‘‘{a] fair trial in a fair tribunal,” Jn re

Murchison, 349 U.S. 133, 136 (1955), is not achieved

by mere avoidance of obvious prejudice or bias. Fair-

ness requires procedures that avoid the risk that some

extraneous factor will tilt the decisionmaking balance,

ef. Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U.S. 510, 532 (1927), and that

avoid any appearance of unfairness. Offutt v. United

States, 348 U.S. 11, 14 (1954). It is ‘‘imperative’’ in

adjudicatory proceedings that ‘‘agencies use the pro-

2° Sunshine in the Third Branch, 16 Washburn L.J. 559, 565-66

(1977) (emphasis added). See also Mr. Justice Brennan, Working

at Justice, in An Autobiography of the Supreme Court 300 (A.

Westin ed. 1963); Mr. Justice Frankfurter, Mr. Justice Roberts,

104 U. Pa. L. Rev. 311, 313 (1955).

83° The FCC reached its ‘‘no prejudice’’ conclusion before any

investigation. The Court of Appeals’ conclusion that no ‘‘infringe-

ment of due process’’ had been established ‘‘on this record’’ proves

little in view of the paucity of the record Western was allowed to

make on the point.

a MD Ga Ot ts

_ Ce ee ee ee eT ree

31

cedures which have traditionally been associated with

the judicial process.’’ Hannah v. Larche, 363 U.S. 420,

442 (1960).

Like members of any adjudicatory tribunal, FCC

Commissioners should be free to change their minds

after tentative votes. Leaks of tentative decisions tend

to chill the deliberative process and the free exchange

of views between decisionmakers. They also tend to

“‘lock-in’’ the tentative decision. Cf. Cinderella Career

and Finishing Schools, Inc. v. FTC, 138 U.S. App.

D.C. 152, 159, 425 F.2d 583, 590 (1970). Potential

‘‘chilling’’ or ‘‘locking in’’ is inherently unfair, de-

priving parties of the full consideration their argu-

ments and interests deserve. Other possibilities for

prejudice from leaks stem from the motives for them,

such as have been enumerated by a former FCC in-

sider familiar with the problem: (a) to further the

leakor’s objectives; (b) to make the leakor’s ‘‘own

actions appear more acceptable to others on the Com-

mission . . .”; and (c) to “‘try to force a colleague’s

hand on a matter they consider important.’”?™ Such

hindrances to the deliberative process are not compat-

ible with our system of justice and concepts of due

process.”

* Cole and Oettinger, Reluctant Regulators: The FCC and the

Broadcast Audience 60 (1978).

** Harm to the ongoing, still tentative deliberative process readily

distinguishes this case from the alleged leaks of action on petitions

for writ of certiorari in United States v. Haldeman, 181 U.S, App.

D.C. 254, 559 F.2d 31 (1976), cert. denied, 431 U.S. 933, rehearing

denied, 433 U.S. 966 (1977). Votes in conference on certiorari are

usually not tentative and come at the end of the deliberative proc-

ess. Orders on certiorari are usually published on the Monday after

the Friday conference at which the vote is taken. Leaks in that con-

32

That the FCC could have followed a practice of

announcing decisions prior to formal release as in

Eastern Air Lines v. CAB, 271 F.2d 752 (2d Cir.

1959), cert. denied, 362 U.S. 970 (1960), does not di-

lute the importance of this issue. Most agencies do not

follow such a practice.” Moreover, the conduct upheld

in Eastern did not pose the same threat to the decision-

making process as the leaks in this case. In Eastern,

there was no contention ‘‘that the interval between the

completion of oral argument and the [CAB’s] tenta-

tive decision [two months] was so short that it pre-

cluded thoughtful consideration of the evidence pre-

sented.’’ 271 F.2d at 758. Here the interval between

oral argument and tentative decision was only minutes

so that, prima facie, the required “thoughtful consid-

eration of the evidence’’ (presented over nearly four

years of hearings) was precluded.

Western does not claim that any leak is reversible

error. But if the decision below stands, no such agency

misconduct would seem to entitle a party to an adjudi-

catory proceeding to any remedy unless it could prove

the impossible—that there would have been a different

text, as undesirable as they are, do not interfere with the delibera-

tive process, the exchange of views, the drafting of opinions, or the

change in tentative positions brought about by opinions that ‘‘will

not write.’’ Here, by contrast, the first leaks occurred almost imme-

diately after the FCC’s first conference which resolved only part

of the Western-Valley case, and were published within less than a

week of a tentative vote taken only minutes after oral argument.

This was at the beginning of the deliberative process, which should

have been kept free of interference until concluded by release of a

finished opinion. What should have been four months of calm,

secret deliberation, proved to be something quite different.

* The F'CC abandoned its former practice of this type.

wintebh

ee ee ee eee

33

result without the leak. That seems inconsistent with

basic notions of a due process right to untainted and

unhindered deliberations over important adjudicatory

matters. Particularly where, as here, the sanction re-

sulting from the adjudication is so severe, there should

be no taint or appearance of taint. Remedy for the

FCC’s error in handling the present case could be

fashioned by remand to the agency for reargument on

the merits. Only three of the seven Commissioners who

heard the original oral argument and were present

during the leak episode remain at the agency. Such a

remand should also provide an opportunity, prior to

further oral argument, for full and impartial investi-

gation of precisely what occurred during the original

deliberative process to determine whether recusals by

hold-over Commissioners may be required. See, e.g.,

Sangamon Valley Television Corp. v. FCC, 106 U.S.

App. D.C. 30, 269 F.2d 221 (1959).

4. In Valley’s Case The Court Of Appeals Decided An Im-

portant Question Of The Financial Qualifications Require-

ments Of The Communications Act Of 1934, As Amended,

In A Way In Conflict With Applicable Decisions Of This

Court.

In marked contrast to its silence or extreme brevity

on important issues presented in Western’s appeal,

the Court of Appeals undertook extensive de novo

review in Valley’s appeal and then substituted its

judgment for that of the FCC on Valley’s financial

qualifications. The Court of Appeals thus exceeded

the bounds of judicial review prescribed by the Admin-

istrative Procedure Act and proceeded in conflict with

decisions of this Court. In the process a fundamental

statutory prerequisite of broadcast licensing was jeop-

ardized. Western has an important stake in whether

34

Valley erroneously has been saved from disqualifica-

tion by the Court of Appeals. If Western is found

ultimately to be qualified, it would face comparative

hearing with Valley, if Valley is also found qualified.”

Sections 308(b) and 309(a) of the Communications

Act of 1934, as amended, 47 U.S.C. §§ 308(b), 309(a),

require the FCC to determine that Valley possesses the

necessary financial ualifications before its application

ean be granted. FCC v. Sanders Bros. Radio Station,

309 U.S. 470, 475 (1940). The Congress left it to the

FCC to devise standards for measuring financial quali-

fications under the broad statutory requirement. The

FCC devised such standards for bank loans, applied

them to Valley’s application, and found Valley defi-

cient. Therefore, the scope of judicial review in Valley’s

appeal should have been extremely narrow. Atlantic

Refining Co. v. FTC, 391 U.S. 357, 367-68 (1965) ; SEC

v. New England Electric System, 390 U.S. 207, 211

(1968). See also the Administrative Procedure Act, 5

U.S.C. § 706(2) (EB).

The Court of Appeals should have used particular

restraint not to substitute its perception of the public

interest in financial qualifications for that of the FCC,

particularly where, as here, the FCC’s standards and

practices for assessing the availability of critical bank

loans have been long established and consistently ap-

* There is no contradiction between (a) Western’s argument

that, as to Valley’s appeal, the Court of Appeals should not have

substituted its judgment for the FCC’s concerning compliance with

established standards to implement statutory requirements, and

(b) Western’s argument that, as to Western’s appeal, the Court of

Appeals should have insisted that the FCC at least explain and

justify the disparate treatment of Western under standards that

implemented other statutory requirements.

35

plied.” Instead, the Court of Appeals usurped the

FCC’s statu role in a manner closely analogous to

that severe] iticized in FCC v. National Citizens

Committee for Broadcasting, 436 U.S. 775, 809-15

(1978). See also Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power

Corp. v. Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc., 435

U.S. 519, 525 (1978), and Mobil Oil Corp. v. FPC, 417

U.S. 283, 292 (1974), where Supreme Court review was

warranted to determine if the Court of Appeals had

misinterpreted the proper scope of its review. The

Court of Appeals usurped the FCC’s function appar-

ently to achieve a result which the court deemed so-

cially desirable: t.e., to permit Valley to try yet again

to prove what it had failed to prove during four years

of hearings—the availability of a large bank loan es-

sential to its financial proposals. The Court of Appeals

not only ordered the FCC to find Valley’s original, but

now expired, bank loan proposal acceptable; it also

permitted Valley to relitigate its ‘‘complete financial

qualifications.” (App. 15a).

The financial qualifications requirements of the Com-

munications Act are of substantial publie importance

and bear on thousands of broadcast stations. The es-

sence of broadcasting is service to the public. Financial

fitness is a prerequisite to providing meritorious serv-

ice. FCC v. Sanders Bros., 309 U.S. at 475. Licensing

a frequency to a financially unqualified applicant risks

waste of that scarce resource—e.g., construction may

35 ‘* Reasonable assurance’’ (or its semantic equivalent) has been

the test for availability of proposed bank loans for years. See, e.g.,

Crosby N. Boyd, 57 F.C.C.2d 475, 488-89 (1976); Lamar Life

Broadcasting Co., 26 F.C.C.2d 932, 934 (Rev. Bd. 1970); D. H.

Overmyer Communications Co., 4 F.C.C.2d 496, 498-50 (Rev. Bd.

1966).

36

commence, they may be hamstrung ag™jof minimal

value to the public. Displacement of a strOhg incumbent

licensee (like Western) by a financially unqualified

challenger (like Valley) compounds risks to the publie

interest by threatening loss or reduction of existing

service.

be delayed or never completed, or, if gem do

The Court of Appeals appears to have introduced a

bias of its own when it retailored the long-established

financial qualifications requirement to avoid what it

termed ‘‘ pro-incumbent bias in comparative hearings.”’

(App. 10a). The Court of Appeals both overlooked the

basic, noncomparative nature of the financial qualifica-

tions issue and misconceived the fundamental public

interests at stake in comparative renewal proceedings.

Cf. FCC v. National Citizens Committee for Broad-

casting, 436 U.S. at 780-83, 809-14. This has broad im-

plications for the scheme of broadcast licensing gen-

erally. The public is ill-served by judicial bending of

long-standing FCC qualifications standards to facili-

tate entry of financially strapped applicants into the

highly competitive world of modern television.

The Court of Appeals held that Valley had estab-

lished “reasonable assurance’’ that its proposed bank

loan would be available. (App. 14a). The court over-

turned FCC reliance on substantial record evidence (a)

that collateral was crucial to the bank, and (b) that

‘*the assets of the station’’ would not, as the bank had

originally assumed, be available as collateral. The court

also overturned FCC findings that Valley had failed to

prove that the bank would not require more collateral

than Valley could substitute, ‘“‘or, if collateral is re-

quired, what it will be and that Valley can provide it.”

(App. 140a). The Court of Appeals merely relied on

‘*evidence’’ which it thought should have caused the

NN tte itn es ss

37

FCC to reach a different result. Even if the Court of

Appeals had not misapprehended the record evidence,”

its overturning of FCC conclusions that were based on

substantial record evidence violated the rule of Um-

versal Camera Corp. v. NLRB, 340 U.S. 474, 487-88

(1951). See Wright, C.J., dissenting in part. (App.

16a).

CONCLUSION

For these various reasons, this petition for a writ of

certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Epaar F, Czarra, JR.

MicuHakEt S. Horne

JosePpH Vo pr, IIT

Dovetas EB. WINTER

888 Sixteenth Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 452-6066

Counsel for Petitioner

Of Counsel:

Covincton & BurLING

888 Sixteenth Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

February 5, 1979

%° The Court of Appeals mistakenly assumed that the FCC had

‘‘adopted’’ the ALJ’s interpretation that two of three crucial inter-

rogatories to the bank contained no more than ‘‘routine reserva-

tions.’’ On that basis the Court concluded it was illogical for the

FCC to rely solely on the one remaining interrogatory to find

Valley unqualified. (App. 13a). However, the FCC rejected the

ALJ’s interpretation and found instead that ‘‘ [t]he answers to the

interrogatories were not routine reservations as argued by Valley,

but constitute rather a statement that the bank may revise its col-

lateral requirements at the time the loan is requested if it believes

the security offered is inadequate.’’ (App. 38a, emphasis added).

The FCC’s disagreement with the ALJ on this point was re-

emphasized in its reconsideration decision. (App. 59a n.3).

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

Notice: This opinion is subject to formal revision before publication

in the Federal Reporter or U.S.App.UV.C. Reports. Users are requested

to notify the Clerk of any formal errors in order that corrections may be

made before the bound volumes go to press.

Muited States Cot of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 76-2104

LAS VEGAS VALLEY BROADCASTING Co., APPELLANT

Vv.

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION, APPELLEE

WESTERN COMMUNICATIONS, INC., INTERVENOR

No. 76-2124

WESTERN COMMUNICATIONS, INC., APPELLANT

v.

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION, APPELLEE

LAS VEGAS VALLEY BROADCASTING CO., INTERVENOR

Appeals from Orders of the

Federal Communications Commission

~

> Woes.

Argued February 22, 1978 Judcnent 7

this aa et

Decided October 26, 1978/ “G@—.." “ate

_ noel

Bills of costs must be filed within 14 days after entry of judgment. The

court looks with disfavor upon motions to file bills of costs out of time.

2a

Edgar F. Czarra, Jr. with whom Michael S. Horne,

Joseph Volpe, III and Douglas E. Winter were on the

brief for appellant in No. 76-2124 and intervenor in No.

76-2104.

Robert T. Murphy, for appellant in No. 76-2104. Ed-

ward P. Morgan and Joseph M. Morrissey were on the

brief, for appellant in No. 76-2104 and intervenor in No.

76-2124.

C. Grey Pash, Jr., Counsel, Federal Communications

Commission with whom Lawrence W. Secrest, Acting

General Counsel, Daniel M. Armstrong, Associate Gen-

eral Counsel, and i'homas R. King, Jr., Counsel, Federal

Communications Commission were on the brief, for

appellee. :

Also Werner K. Hartenberger and Raymond L. Strass-

burger, Attorneys, Federal Communications Commission

entered appearances for appellee.

Before: WRIGHT, Chief Judge, and BAZELON and

WILKEY, Circuit Judges

Opinion for the Court filed by Circuit Judge BAZELON.

Opinion filed by Chief Judge WRIGHT, concurring in

part and dissenting in part.

BAZELON, Circuit Judge: The Federal Communications

Commission (FCC) denied applications of appellants in

these cases for a television broadcast license for Channel

3 in Las Vegas, Nevada.’ In No. 76-2124, Western Com-

munications, Inc. (Western), the incumbent licensee at

KORK-TV, appeals the Commission’s finding that frau-

ulent billing practices and misrepresentation required

'The mutually exclusive applications were first set for

hearing in 1972. Western Communications, Inc., 35 F.C.C.2d

517 (1972); Western Communications, Inc., 37 F.C.C.2d 266

(1972).

3a

denial of its renewal application; in No. 76-2104, Las

Vegas Valley Broadcasting Co. (Valley) disputes the Com-

mission’s conclusion that it was not financially qualified

for the license. We affirm the FCC’s order as to Western,

but remand for further proceedings as to Valley’s

application.

I. WESTERN

In the renewal proceeding, the Commission reviewed

Western’s apparent practice of “clipping” parts of net-

work broadcasts to insert local advertising, thereby vio-

lating both FCC rules and the station’s affiliation con-

tract with the National Broadcasting Co. (NBC).* Al-

though Western insists that it only clipped “clutter,”

described as nework promotional announcements, the ad-

ministrative law judge (ALJ) found that network com-

mercials were frequently clipped, and that the licensee

submitted inaccurate reports to the network on its prac-

tices.» As a result, NBC paid KORK for advertisements

that either did not appear at all, or appeared only in

2 The NBC contract established that KORK would not “with-

out NBC’s prior written authorization make any deletions

from or additions to any program furnished to you here-

under. . . .” Western Communications, Inc., 59 F.C.C.2d 1463,

1465 (1976) [hereinafter cited as Initial Decision]. Section

73.1205 of the Commission’s rules, 47 C.F.R. § 73.1205 (1977),

provides:

No Licensee .. . shall knowingly issue .. . any bill, in-

voice, affidavit or other document which contains false

information ... or which misrepresents the quantity of

advertising actually broadcast (number or length of ad-

vertising messages) or... the time of day at which it

was broadcast... .

’The number of commercials actually clipped has not been

established, but there is ample evidence in the record that the

practice was widespread at KORK. See text accompanying

notes 10-14 infra.

4a

part. The Commission affirmed the ALJ’s initial decision,*

finding a “gross disregard of the Commission’s fraudulent

billing rules, which reflects adversely on Western’s quali-

fications to be a Commission licensee.” °

The misrepresentation issue involves KORK’s answers

to four Commission inquiries in 1970-71, about the sta-

tion’s policy on inserting local commercials or other an-

nouncements in network programs.* KORK replied that

any deletions of network material were due to error by

individual personnel, not station policy. The ALJ thought

the responses “form[ed] a pattern of attempting to mis-

lead the Commission as to the station’s commercial prac-

tices,’”* and that KORK “as a matter of policy and

practice was scheduling more local commercials than could

be accommodated in the authorized break time.”* The

FCC again agreed, calling the licensee’s responses to Com-

mission inquiries “false, misleading and evasive,” and

“clearly designed to conceal its operating practices.” °

Western claims that the Commission’s denial of its

renewal application (A) was not based on substantial

evidence, (B) neglected valid defenses presented on West-

ern’s behalf, and (C) constituted an unjustifiably harsh

sanction for conduct not clearly prohibited under prior

Commission policy.

* Western Communications, Inc., 59 F.C.C.2d 1441 (1976)

{hereinafter cited as Final Decision].

5 Id. at 1444 (citation omitted).

*The FCC inquiries were prompted by viewer complaints

about commercials disrupting telecasts of the World Series and

various entertainment shows. J.A. 857-881 (No. 76-2124).

* Initial Decision, supra note 2, at 1474.

8 Td.

® Final Decision, supra note 4, at 1449.

ee ee

eee ee

a

at

‘

A. Substantial Evidence

On the clipping issue, the factual record supports the

Commission’s conclusion that KORK substituted local ma-

terial for network broadcasts.” The FCC Broadcast Bu-

reau compared the operating logs of KORK and the Los

Angeles NBC station for fifteen programs between Oc-

tober 4, 1970 and May 7, 1971, and concluded that KORK

clipped at least part of 21 network commercials." A

similar study by Valley of a 28-week period indicated

that approximately 250 commercials were clipped.’ Al-

though such log comparisons are subject to human error

in record-keeping, a clear pattern emerges here. More-

over, KORK’s own review of the period between 1968

and 1971 showed approximately 800 clipped network com-

mercials,’* and the station paid NBC $7,763.02 for adver-

tisements that it may not have carried."

There is also substantial evidence in the record that

Western’s responses to Commission inquiries involved mis-

representations and lacked candor. The FCC opinion care-

fully traces Western’s inaccurate characterizations of

particular incidents and general practices.*° Western

would defend its responses on the ground that the FCC

inquiries were imprecise, asking “as to all the circum-

stances” surrounding the insertion of “advertising in

network programs . . . in such a manner as to affect

1% Our standard of review under 47 U.S.C. § 402 (1970) re-

quires that the Commission’s findings be supported by sub-

stantial evidence.

1! Initial Decision, supra note 2, at 1467.

12 Td.

8 J.A. 1310-39 (No. 76-2124).

1* Final Decision, supra note 4, at 1443 n.7.

8 Td, at 1446-49.

bu

the program content.” * Whatever ambiguity may have

been present in the Commission’s language, the central

thrust of the questions was clear, and we see no basis here

for disputing the Commission’s conclusion that Western’s

responses contained both falsehoods and evasions.

B. Defenses

Western asserts that non-renewal of its license was

not justified because there was no_proof that the licensee,

Donald Reynolds, knew of KORK’s clipping practices.

The record shows that two station managers appointed

by Reynolds, both of whom were officers and directors

of Western, knew of the clipping. It would be irrational

to permit Reyonlds, who holds several other broadcast

licenses, to avoid responsibility for the acts of his officers.

Such a course would both encourage lax station oversight

by licensees and set “a different standard of conduct for

a multiple or absentee owner than for a local owner.” ”’

Drawing an analogy to fairness problemis resulting

from ex parte contacts with decision makers, Western

also suggests that “leaks” to the press after the FCC

hearing prejudiced its case and denied it due process.

Western contends that the leaks tended to “lock-in” the

FCC’s tentative decision and disrupt the deliberative

process."* Although premature revelation of a decision

is unfortunate, we do not see how such an event relates

to the ex parte question, nor can we identify, on this

record, any infringement of due process resulting from

such disclosure.

6 Td. at 1447.

" Id, at 1450.

* Brief for Petitioner Western Communications, Inc., at 67.

et ne ale bah Be a A

Se a EE Se ee

C. The Penalty

Western claims the denial of renewal was unjust be-

cause the licensee had no notice that clipping would

constitute fraudulent billing, or that it could result in

nonrenewal. This argument is groundless. Concern over

the regularity of a licensee’s financial practices derives

from the Communications Act’s requirement that the FCC

consider an applicant’s “character,” ** and from the “pub-

lic interest” standard for broadcast regulation.” Since

1962, the Commission has issued several statements an-

nouncing a strong policy against fraudulent billing.*'

Indeed, a 1970 statement specifically noted as fraudulent

any bill misrepresenting the length of the commercial as

broadcast,” and an FCC rule adopted in 1965 prohibits

billing ‘which misrepresents the quantity of advertising

actually broadcast.” ** Even without specific Commission

prohibition of clipping, the practice would appear mani-

festly fraudulent. But in this situation, KORK’s contract

with the network, the Commission’s 1970 statement, and

the Commission’s rule all clearly barred clipping.

Finally, Western argues that even if the Commission’s

findings of fraudulent billing practices were accurate,

nonrenewal of the broadcast license was a disproportion-

ately severe sanction, especially in light of less drastic

penalties imposed by the Commission in arguably analo-

gous cases. Western’s argument reflects a misapprehen-

* 47 U.S.C. §§ 308(b), 319(a) (1970).

9 47 U.S.C. § 309(a) (1970).

21 F.g., Applicability of Fraudulant Billing Ruie, 1 F.C.C.2d

1075 (1965); Fraudulent Billing Practices, 23 F.C.C.2d 70,

72 (1970); Renewal or Revocation Hearing Proceedings in

Future Fraudulent Billing Cases, 38 F.C.C.2d 1051 (1972);

Fraudulent Billing Practices, 53 F.C.C.2d 900 (1975).

2 23 F.C.C.2d 70, 72 (197v).

*8 47 C.F.R. § 73.1205 (1977).

Sa

sion of the nature of a broadcast license. “[A] broadcast

frequency is not a homestead which after five years

belongs to the settler. .. . Rather it belongs to the public

..’™ Retention of a license hinges on a demonstration

that past service has been in the public interest and that

future service will likely be superior to that offered by

competing applicants.*° The Commission has held, and

the courts affirmed, that misrepresentation of even im-

material facts is a valid basis for nonrenewal.” In addi-

tion, courts ordinarily accord the Commission particular

discretion in fashioning remédies to maximize compliance

with Commission policy.”

II. VALLEY

The Commission found that Valley “established its

qualifications to be a Commission licensee in all respects

except its financial qualifications.” ** FCC practice, based

* Crowder v. FCC, 399 F.2d 569, 571 (D.C.Cir.), cert.

denied, 3938 U.S. 962 (1968).

*° Central Florida Enterprises, Inc. v. FCC, No. 76-1742

(D.C.Cir., Sept. 25, 1978), at 3-7; Citizens Communications

Center v. FCC, 447 F.2d 1201, 1206-10 (D.C.Cir. 1971), clari-

fication granted, 463 F.2d 822 (D.C.Cir. 1972); Fidelity

Television, Inc. v. FCC, 515 F.2d 684, 705-17 (D.C.Cir.)

(Bazelon, C.J.) (voting to grant rehearing en banc), cert. de-

nied, 423 U.S. 926 (1975).

*° FCC v. WOKO, Inc., 8329 U.S. 223, 226-27 (1946); Inde-

pendent Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 193 F.2d 900, 902 (D.C.Cir.

1951), cert. denied, 344 U.S. 887 (1952); Crowder v. FCC,

supra, at 571.

** FCC v. WOKO, supra, at 228; Greater Boston Television

Corp. v. FCC, 444 F.2d 841, 857 (D.C.Cir. 1970), cert. denied

sub nom. WHDH, Inc., v. FCC, 403 U.S. 923 (1971); Con-

tinental Broadcasting, Inc. v. FCC, 489 F.2d 580, 583 (D.C.

Cir.), cert. denied, 408 U.S. 905 (1971); Lorain Journal Co.

v. FCC, 381 F.2d 824, 831 (D.C.Cir. 1965).

** Final Decision, supra note 4, at 1456.

Ya

on general statutory terms,”’ requires that license appli-

cants have sufficient funds—in the form of paid-in capi-

tal, anticipated revenues, and loans—to cover costs

through the first period of operation.*’ This requirement

can be justified as insuring that scarce breadcast fre-

quencies will be assigned to applicants who can maintain

service on them,’ and as excluding shoestring operations

that might be more likely to resort to unethical or fraud-

ulent practices to stay afloat.

Determining an applicant’s financial qualifications, how-

ever, is an imprecise enterprise. For example, the Com-

mission must gauge anticipated revenues of a prospective

licensee despite changing economic conditions. Similarly,

there can be no certainty that a bank will actually pro-

vide a proposed loan for a license applicant, or that the

specified terms will be followed. A license application

may not succeed for years, or at all; market factors

may shift dramatically in the interim. Accordingly, the

Commission requires only that a loan commitment letter

establish a “reasonable assurance,” not a binding legal

certainty, that a loan will be available.** This approach

is particularly appropriate because a commitment letter

is the product of bargaining. The applicant, naturally,

wants as strong a commitment letter as possible without

* 47 U.S.C. §308(b) (Supp. V 1975) (“All applications

for station licenses . . . shall set forth such facts as the Com-

mission by regulation may prescribe as to the. . . financial

. . . qualifications of the applicant”); 47 U.S.C. § 319(a)

(Supp. V 1975) (same standard for construction permits).

* In this case, Valley had to demonstrate that sufficient

funds were available to support it for three months without

revenues. J.A. 161 (No. 76-2104).

81 See FCC v. Sanders Bros. Radio Station, 309 U.S. 470,

475 (1940); Graybar Electric Co. v. Doley, 273 F.2d 284, 291

(4th Cir. 1959).

* F.g., Crosby N. Boyd, 57 F.C.C.2d 475, 488-89 (1976):

Jay Sadow, 39 F.C.C.2d 808, 810 (Rev. Bd. 1973).

10a

conceding undue advantages in the form of higher in-

terest rates or excessive collateral. The bank seeks to

cement relations with a potential customer without speci-

fying terms that may prove costly.

The reasonable assurance standard is also supported

by the importance of avoiding a pro-incumbent bias in

comparative hearings.** Since incumbent licensees need

not establish financial qualifications, an unrealistically

stringent standard for loan commitments to competing

applicants would further entrench current license holders.

In Multi-State Communications, Inc. v. FCC, No. 77-

1440 (D.C. Cir. Oct. 4, 1978), this court ruled that the

Commission held a loan commitment letter to an overly

strict standard.

[I|f the need for additional information and further

action could be said to render the bank letter worth-

less, then the Commission has in essence required a

legally binding commitment at the same time that it

professes to require something less.

Id. at 6.

At issue in this case are Valley’s loan commitment let-

ter and its ability to finance access to its proposed trans-

mitter site.** We find insufficient support for the Com-

mission’s finding that its bank letter did not meet the

*’ See cases cited in note 25 supra.

* The ALJ also found that Valley was not assured network

affiliation. Since the bank letier was contingent on such affili-

ation, Valley’s financial prospects were even darker for the

ALJ, Initial Decision, supra note 2, at 1503. The Commission

reversed the ALJ on this question, finding that Valley would

be a strong candidate for such affiliation since its audience

coverage would be “superior to that of any existing Las Vegas

’ station,” and it would provide NBC with continuing channel

identification as the successor to KORK. Final Decision,

supra note 4, at 1451-52. We see no basis for disturbing the

FCC’s ruling on this point.

lla

reasonable assurance standard, and remand for review

of its overall financial qualifications.

A. The Bank Loan Commitment Letter

Valley’s application relied on a $1 million loan from the

| Nevada State Bank to pay for acquistion of land and

broadcast equipment, with those assets to serve as col-

” lateral.*® Valley then decided to lease its land and build-

ings and buy ‘equipment on credit, with the equipment

supplier holding the first lien on the machinery, so the

bank modified its commitment in a subsequent letter.**

The question of collateral under the revised terms was

not resolved to the ALJ’s satisfaction, :3 eleven interroga-

tories were served on the bank on this point. The bank’s

replies convinced the ALJ that the bank might require

additional collatera> for the loan, and thus that Valley

“failed to carry its burden of proving that it is financially

qualified to construct and operate its proposed station.” *’

The Commission affirmed this ruling.**

The answers to the first two interrogatories established

that the bank knew that Valley planned to buy equipment

on credit and give the ni.anufacturer an exclusive lien on

the equipment. In view of this, the third question asked,

did the bank “remain willing to make its proposed loan”

as outlined in the commitment letters? The bank’s an-

swer was, “Yes.” ** Subsequent queries showed that the

bank also knew that Valley planned to lease, not pur-

chase, its facilities. The last three questions and answers

were crucial:

8 J.A. 356 (No. 76-2104).

6 Td. at 357.

37 Initial Decision, supra note 2, at 1506.

88 Final Decision, supra note 4, at 1453.

8° Td. at 1479.

12a

9. Is Nevada State Bank willing to make the pro-

posed $1 million loan to Valley on the terms

and conditions specified in the Colvin Smith

letter of August 23, 1971, and the Samuel Lionel

letter of February 22, 1973, if the collateral for

the loan offered to the Bank by Valley does not

include any land or buildings or any of the

$1,470,000 of broadcast technical equipment

Valley proposes to purchase from RCA Corp.,

but includes only (a) all personal property of

Valley which was not encumbered by credit

agreements with RCA, (b) assignment of Val-

ley’s accounts receivable after it begins opera-

tions, (c) pledge of all outstanding capital stock

of Valley without the stockholders giving up any

voting rights; and (d) personal guarantees of

all Valley stockholders?

Answer: If the conditions stated will in

fact exist at the time the loan is required,

Nevada State Bank will make the loan in

accordance with the terms stated in the

August 23, 1971 letter of Mr. Colvin Smith,

Jr. and the February 22, 1973 letter of

Samuel §S. Lionel, if Nevada State Bank

and its correspondent bank feel that those

conditions, together with other conditions

then existing make the loan a proper one.

10. Is the Nevada State Bank willing to loan Las

Vegas Valley up to $1,000,000 under the terms

and conditions specified in the August 23, 1971,

and February 22, 1978 letters if neither broad-

casting equipment nor real property are avail-

able for collateral?

Answer: If the conditions stated will in

fact exist at the time the loan is required,

Nevada State Bank will make the loan in

accordance with the terms stated in the Au-

gust 23, 1971 letter of Mr. Colvin S. Smith,

Jr. and the February 22, 1978 letter of

3a

Samuel S. Lionel, if Nevada State Bank

and its correspondent bank feel that those

conditions, together with other conditions

then existing make the loan a proper one.

11. In addition to the personal guarantees by Val-

ley’s stockholders, what is the minimum value

of collateral that the bank will require in order

to loan Valley up to $1,000,000 as proposed?

Answer: It will depend upon the condi-

tions existing at the time the loan is re-

quired.”

The ALJ characterized the answers to questions 9 and

10 as containing “routine reservations,” but thought the

bank’s final answer introduced a fatal uncertainty into

the bank’s commitment.** As we read the record before

us, this interpretation, as adopted by the Commission,”

is without substantial support.“

The bank’s identical responses to interrogatories 9 and

10 stated its willingness to go forward with the loan

even if no land, buildings or broadcast equipment were

available for collateral. The bank did reserve the right

to reevaluate the commitment in light of future con-

ditions, but this reservation did not bother the ALJ. In

this context, it was illogical for Valley to be found un-

qualified on the basis of the answer to interrogatory 11,

that the collateral required “will depend on the conditions

© Td. at 1479-80.

41 Initial Decision, supra note 2, at 1504.

#2 Final Decision, supra note 4, at 1452-53.

48 We note that all of the evidence on this issue involves

written material, so there is no question of the credibility of a

witness, a matter on which considerable deference would

ordinarily be granted the finder of fact.

l4a

existing at the time the loan is required.” “ The initial

bank letter, which on its face satisfied the Commission,

provided that the station’s assets would constitute the

bank’s security for the loan. The bank knew that Valley’s

change in financial plan reduced those assets, but the

bank maintained its commitment to the loan. To require

more of a license applicant would exceed the boundaries

of the reasonable assurance standard.

B. Site Access

Valley proposed to locate its transmitter on Black

Mountain, near Las Vegas. Although the site is owned by

the federal government, access is limited to two private

roads: one controlled by the Bell Telephone Co. of Nevada

and one owned by Alta Development Co., a company held

in equal shares by Western, the incumbent licensee, and

the Summa Corporation.** Valley purchased a right-of-

way from the telephone company, but negotiations with

Alta broke down. Even though Valley earmarked $100,000

to acquire a right-of-way, Western said the selling price

was $190,000. In view of the uncertainty surrounding

this issue, the ALJ ruled that Valley failed to’ meet its

** Initial Decision, supra note 2, at 1480.

A plausible explanation for the difference between the

answer to interrogatory 11, and two previous answers, would

focus on the form of the questions. The first two queries asked

if the bank would make the loan in light of certain circum-

stances. The bank replied affirmatively, and stated its “rou-

tine reservations.” Interrogatory 11, however, asked directly

about the collateral term. No greater uncertainty was intro-

duced by the bank’s answer than already inhered in its two

earlier answers. Only the affirmation of willingness to go

forward, which was not the subject of the question, was absent.

** Valley would also have to acquire a permit from the Fed-

ereal Bureau of Land Management, but the ALJ concluded

that it would have no difficulty doing so. Initial Decision,

supra note 2, at 1505.

da

burden of proof,’ and the Commission agreed.*’ Although

both the ALJ and the Commission recognized the diffi-

culties of bargaining with a competing license applicant

on a key matter, these difficulties were consequences of

Valley’s own choice of transmitter sites.**

We are not advised whether the Commission believes

that the site access problem, by itself, would warrant a

finding of financial disqualification. We note that the

financial dimensions of the site access issue are much

more modest than the difficulties raised by the possible

failure of the bank loan. Moreover, since the Nevada

State Bank letter has expired by its own terms, Valley

must present a new bank loan commitment to the Com-

mission to establish its qualifications.*® The impact of a

future bank letter on Valley’s overall financial condition,

including the site access situation, is uncertain. We do

not foreclose Commission consideration of Valley’s com-

plete financial qualifications.

Accordingly, the Commission’s order in No. 76-2124 is

affirmed, and its order in No. 76-2104 is reversed and

remanded.

So ordered.

“6 Td.

‘7 Final Decision, supra note 4, at 1453-54.

** Id. at 1454; Initial Decision, supra note 2, at 1505.

** Western, as an Intervenor in No. 76-2104, contends that

since Valley’s initial bank letter and a subsequent letter have

both expired, this case is now moot. We note, however, that

the Commission does not view the matter as moot, and that

Valley remains a diligent litigant. Considering the business

difficulties of maintaining a viable bank letter through a

lengthy appeal, and the continuing impact of the Commission’s

action on Valley’s attempt to win a broadcast license, we do

not find a mootness problem. Cf. Arizona Public Service Co. v.

FPC, 483 F.2d 1275, 1277-78 n.3 (D.C.Cir. 1973). Due to

our decision on the Nevada State Bank letter, we do not reach

Valley’s claim that the Commission erred in denying its peti-

tion to submit a subsequently obtained bank letter.

16a

WricuHT, Chief Judge, concurring in part and dissent-

ing in part: I concur in the court’s opinion affirming

the Commission’s order in No. 76-2124. Unlike the court

here, I would also affirm the Commission’s order in No.

76-2104. In that case the Commission found that Valley

did not meet its statutory burden of proving it was

financially qualified to construct and operate a television

station.* Rather than remand to allow Valley to remedy

the defects the Commission found in its application post

hoc, in my judgment the Commission should be directed

to invite new applications for the license to be filed. Com-

pare Office of Communication of United Church of Christ

v. FCC, 425 F.2d 543 (D.C. Cir. 1969).

* The Commission found, on substantial evidence, that Valiey

did not prove an essential $1 million dollar bank loan would

be available to finance the proposed station and did not show

it could finance access to its proposed transmitter site.

17a

APPENDIX B

F.C.C. 76-625

BEFORE THE

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION

Wasuineton, D.C. 20554

In Re Applications of:

Docket No. 19519

File No. BRCT-327

Western Communications, Inc.

(KORK-TV), Las Vecas, Nevapa

For Renewal of License

Docket No. 19581

File No. BPCT-4465

Las Vecas VALLEY Broapcastine Co.

Las Veacas, NEvapDA

For Construction Permit for New Television

Broadcast Station

Appearances

Edgar F. Czarra, Michael S. Horne and Joseph Volpe

III (Covington and Burling) on behalf of Western Com-

munications, Inc.; Edward P. Morgan, Gerald S. Rourke

and Samuel M. Bradley (Welch and Morgan) on behalf of

Las Vegas Valley Broadcasting Co. and W. K. Keane, P.

W. Valicenti and Charles W. Kelley on behalf of the Chief,

Broadcast Bureau, Federal Communications Commission.

18a

Decision

(Adopted: June 30, 1976; Released: July 2, 1976)

By THE CoMMISSION : COMMISSIONER QUELLO ABSTAINING FROM

VOTING AND ISSUING A STATEMENT.

1. This proceeding involves mutually exclusive applica-

tions filed by Western Communications Inc.’ (Western)

for renewal of its license for television station KORK-TV,

Las Vegas, Nevada, and by Las Vegas Valley Broadcast-

ing Co. (Valley), for a new television station at Las Vegas.

In an Initial Decision, FCC 74D-37, released June 25, 1974,

Administrative Law Judge Chester Naumowicz recom-

mended the denial of both applications. He found that

Western engaged in fraudulent billing in violation of Sec-

tion 73.1205 of the Rules? and made material misrepresen-

tations concerning its broadcast policies in its responses

to Commission inquiries; and that Valley was not finan-

cially qualified to be a licensee because it failed to establish

that it would be able to satisfy the bank’s requirements

for its loan commitment. He also found that Valley failed

to show it could achieve access to its proposed transmitter

site. Subsequent to the issuance of the Initial Decision,

Valley’s bank commitment letter expired. It then tendered

* Western Communications is a subsidiary of Donrey, Inc. Mr.

Donald W. Reynolds, Sr., the sole owner of Donrey, also controlled

Stations KOLO-TV, Reno, Nevada and KFSA-TV, Fort Smith,

Arkansas.

* Section 73.1205 of the Rules provides in pertinent part that:

No licensee . . . shall knowingly issue . . . any bill, invoice,

affidavit or other document which contains false information

. which misrepresents the quantity of advertising actually

broadcast (number or length of advertising messages) or the

time of day or date at which it was broadcast. Licensees shall

exercise reasonable diligence to see that their agents and em-

ployees do not issue any documents which would violate this

section if issued by the licensee.

\

19a

a new commitment letter for a larger amount from a dif-

ferent bank.

2. Now before the Commission for consideration are ex-

ceptions and supporting briefs filed October 29, 1974, by

Western, by Valley, and by the Chief, Broadcast Bureau

(Bureau), reply pleadings, filed December 2, 1974, by

Western, by Valley,* and by the Bureau; a motion for leave

to file supplement to brief and a supplement, both filed

February 27, 1975, by Western, an opposition filed March

17, 1975, by Valley, an opposition filed March 17, 1975, by

the Bureau, and a reply filed March 27, 1975, by Western;

requests for official notice and leave to file a supplemental

brief and a supplemental brief, all filed February 13, 1976,

by Western, an opposition thereto filed February 25, 1976,

by the Bureau, and comments filed March 2, 1976, by Val-

ley; and various ancillary motions affecting the basic

qualifications of both applicants. Oral argument before

the Commission, en banc, was held on March 9, 1976.

Based on our review of the record, we find that the Judge’s

findings of fact accurately reflect the evidence of record

and those findings and his conclusions of law are affirmed

except as they may be modified by this Decision and by our

rulings on exceptions as contained in Appendix A.

Western’s Qualifications

Fraudulent Billing

3. The fraudulent billing issue concerns Western’s

charging NBC for network commercial announcements

*On December 2, 1974, Valley also filed a motion for authority

to file a reply in excess of the page limitation which was opposed

by Western in a pleading filed December 10, 1974. In view of the

coinplexity of this proceeding Valley’s motion will be granted.

* These pleadings are set forth in Appendix B.

20a

which were not carried over station KORK-TV.° Western

admits it engaged in clipping, #.e., it inserted local com-

mercials into network transmission by extending network

breaks leaving the network early or rejoining it late—but

asserts that it only clipped clutter,® that the clipping was

done in a manner which would not interfere with network

commercials or substantive program content, and that

there is no proof that any network commercials were

clipped or that NBC was billed for commercials which were

not carried.

4. Western sold commercials on the basis of extending

network breaks and instructed its operators to telecast all

commercials shown on the schedule. In order to confine the

clipping to clutter, Western relied on the ability of its

operators to predict what the network would telecast. How-

ever, the amount of clutter varied from program to pro-

gram and there was no advance notice concerning when

clutter would be telecast. Western’s operators were thus

faced with a heavy burden in attempting to confine the

clipping to clutter and it was inevitable that both commer-

cials and substantive program content would be clipped.

Western anticipated that the clipping could affect viewer

enjoyment and it instructed its operators to make their

* Issues were also designated concerning fraudulent billing prac-

tices at stations KOLO-TV, Reno, Nevada, and KIPSA-TV, Fort

Smith, Arkansas, both of which were controlled by Western’s prin-

cipal, Mr. Donald W. Reynolds, Sr., and the impact of the fraudu-

lent billing at those stations on Western’s comparative qualifica-

tions. The Judge found that incidents of fraudulent billing resulting

from clipping network transmissions occurred at both stations.

However, since he found that Western was not qualified to be a

licensee and he did not reach the comparative issue, the Judge drew

no conclusions with respect to the significance of the fraudulent

billing at stations KOLO-TV and KFSA-TY.,

. Western asserts clutter consists of the opening and closing

credits, the NBC peacock (no longer used), theme music, and net-

work and program identifications and promotions.

2la

returns to the network feed as unobtrusive as possible. As

a result of its clipping practices, Western’s operators

would often wait until the end of a sentence or a commer-

cial before rejoining the network. One Western operator

described the task of attempting to accommodate clipping

while minimizing interference by testifying that ‘‘you...

flew by the seat of your pants.’’

5. Western’s clipping of commercials was confirmed by

a comparison of KORK-TV’s logs with those of KNBC,

Burbank, California, licensed to NBC. Western argues that

the log comparisons are unreliable and as a result there

is no evidence that any network commercials were clipped.

The Judge recognized that the log comparisons constituted

less than perfect evidence because of possible differences

in station clocks or erroneous log entries. Nevertheless, he

found, and we agree, that the logs establish with reason-

able certainty that KORK-TV was off network for signifi-

cantly longer periods than authorized and that as a gen-

eral practice it clipped all or parts of network commercials

in order to telecast local advertising. NBC and KNBC have

a combined operation and they simultaneously submit pro-

grams to KORK-TV by computer. When KORK-TV and

KNBC are hooked into the network they should be tele-

casting the same material. In several instances where the

logs indicate that KORK-TV and KNBC initially joined

network programs at the same time, the logs also show

that KORK-TV left the network program before KNBC.

Moreover, Western regularly expanded network breaks

from 10 to 60 seconds beyond the time authorized and the

logs indicate that on several occasions KORK-TV clipped

entire commercials. Thus, the record affirms the Judge’s

finding that Western billed NBC for commercials which

were not carried.’

* Western compensated NBC $324.20 for commercials which had

been billed but were enumerated as clipped in the Bureau’s bill of

particulars. On February 27, 1975, ten months after the close of the

22a

6. Western’s contract with NBC requires it to carry all

network commercials and to submit weekly reports sup-

ported by affidavits attesting that the affiant has read and

is familiar with the weekly reports, that except as noted

on the reports each program was telecast in its entirety

including commercial messages and credits, and that any

failure to telecast material included in the network feed

was indicated in the reports. None of the station reports

indicated any deletions from the network feed. During the

1968-71 license term, the network reports were verified by

affidavits executed by KORK-TV’s managers, Mr. Tabor

and Mr. Ordonez. Also, during that period, Western’s

policy, as initiated by Mr. Tabor, was to sell advertising

which would be telecast during unauthorized portions of

the network feed. When Mr. Ordonez succeeded Mr. Tabor

as KORK-TV’s manager, he was told about the policy of

clipping network transmissions. Mr. Ordonez was also in-

structed by Mr. Donald Reynolds, Jr., the son of Western’s

principal and supervisor of the Donrey, Inc. (Western’s

parent corporation) broadcast properties, to look into

problems that KORK-TV was having because of its com-

mercial practices. Moreover, as a result of viewer com-

plaints, Mr. Tabor and Mr. Ordonez, who were officers and

directors of Western, were given specific notice that the

clipping of the network feed was interfering with the sub-

record, Western filed a motion to reopen the record to present evi-

dence of its own log comparison and the fact that it compensated

NBC $7,438.82 for commercials billed but which may not have been

carried. Western asserts that its study establishes that any billing

problem was one of carelessness and it ergues that the payments

were made to demonstrate its good faith and that it had no obliga-

tion to reimburse NBC. The motion is opposed by Valley and the

Bureau. The motion will be denied since it is dilatory and the

matters alleged therein will not materially affect the outcome of

this proceeding. The record establishes the fraudulent billing and

we have consistently held that corrective action will not excuse prior

violations. See, Caribbean Broadcasting Cerp., 22 FCC 2d 405

(1970) ; and United States Transdynamics Corporation, 21 FCC

2d 540 (1970).

23a

stantive program content. Still, neither Mr. Tabor nor Mr.

Ordonez took any steps to verify the information contained

in the network reports and accompanying affidavits so that

Western continued to bill NBC for commercials which were

not carried.

7. Western argues that even if there was overbilling

there was no intent by either Mr. Tabor or Mr. Ordonez

to bill NBC for commercials not carried. It asserts that the

overbilling constituted a small percentage of its total com-

mercial load, and that the small amount of overbilling com-

bined with the fact that there were some instances of un-

derbilling, establishes that the overbilling resulted from

carelessness. An intent to defraud, however, is not an es-

sential element of a violation of Section 73.1205 of the

Rules. A violation occurs when a licensee knowingly issues

bills predicated on false information, Blackstone Broad-

casting Corp., 52 FCC 2d 1106 (1975), or is so derelict in

the management of its station’s affairs as to permit fraud-

ulent billing. United Broadcasting Co. of Florida, Inc., 55

FCC 2d 832 (1975). Here the record establishes that Mr.

Tabor and Mr. Ordonez either knew or should have known

that the network reports submitted to NBC were patently

false. They knew that KORK-TV oversold commercials,

they instructed their operators to be unobtrusive when re-

joining network programs late, they were aware of com-

plaints about commercial interference with network pro-

grams, and they executed erroneous affidavits indicating

that all network programming was carried when they had

ample notice that it was not.’ It is clear that the alleged

failure by Mr. Tabor and Mr. Ordonez to be aware of the

fraudulent nature of the network reports establishes a lack

of competence and diligence in their supervision over

KORK-TV’s affairs which contributed to the fraudulent

* The reports even omitted two extended periods in which KORK-

TV was off the air for 17 minutes and 45 seconds and for 50

minutes. ;

24a

billing and a gross disregard of the Commission’s fraud-

ulent billing rules, which reflects adversely on Western’s

qualifications to be a Commission licensee. United Broad-

casting Co. of Florida, Inc., supra.

8. We also reject Western’s contention that it lacked

notice because ‘‘the fraudulent billing rule was not known

to reach .. . network clipping,’’ citing Fraudulent Billing

Practices, 1 FCC 2d 1068 (1965), recon. denied, 2 FCC 2d

864 (1966). Although, when we adopted the fraudulent

billing rule we did not refer to clipping per se, we did

state that fraudulent billing could take many different

forms, that the ‘‘rule is concerned with the principle in-

volved rather than the form’’ of the fraudulent billing, and

that the main ingredient in fraudulent billing is ‘‘the fur-

nishing of false information concerning broadcast adver-

tising” to induce any party to pay more for advertising

then is actually due. Fraudulent Billing Practices at 1068.

While it is true that the examples of fraudulent billing

practices cited in Fraudulent Billing Practices did not in-

clude activities identical to KORK-TV’s, the examples

given cannot be construed as substitutes for Rule 73.1205.

Channel 13 of Las Vegas, Inc., 37 FCC 2d 518, 519 (1972).

Fraudulent Billing Practices gave Western sufficient no-

tice that it would be in violation of Rule 73.1205 if it fur-

nished NBC with false affidavits and charged the network

for commercials which were not carried.

9. We also find no merit in Western’s arguments that

denial of its application is not an appropriate sanction for

violations of the fraudulent billing rules and is inconsistent

with Commission precedent. Although we initially imposed

monetary forfeitures for violations of the fraudulent bill-

ing rule, we subsequently found that ‘‘past sanctions [i.e.,

monetary forfeitures] have by no means accomplished

their purpose’’ and that it would be appropriate to con-

sider fraudulent billing in conjunction with an applicant’s

basic qualifications in renewal and revocation proceedings.

25a

Public Notice, 38 FCC 2d 1051 (1972). Thereafter, fraudu-

lent billing and violations of Section 73.1205 of the Rules

were factors of decisional significance in the denial of sev-

eral renewal applications, Wharton Communications, Inc.,

44 FCC 2d 489 (1973); United Broadcasting Co. of Flor-

ida, Inc., supra; and Eastminster Broadcasting, Inc., FCC

76-156, released February 25, 1976. The cases Western

cites in support of its position are not applicable here.

Bluegrass Broadcasting Co., Inc., 43 FCC 2d 990 (1973),

involved fraudulent billing by the station’s general man-

ager who misled his employers as to the true facts in order

to absolve himself of responsibility for any misdeeds.

There was also an absence of complaints or other facts

which would have alerted Bluegrass’s principals to any

wrongdoing. In contrast, Mr. Tabor and Mr. Ordonez, who

were officers and directors of Western, participated in the

fraudulent billing, and the viewer complaints and Com-

mission correspondence should have alerted both Mr. Rey-

nolds, Jr. and Mr. Reynolds, Sr., to the possibility of

wrongdoing. In Blackstone Broadcasting Corp., 52 FCC

2d 1106 (1975), we held that double billing, per se, was dis-

qualifying conduct, but found mitigating circumstances in

the limited scope of the fraudulent billing, the nominal

amount of money involved, the fact that the licensee did

not issue false affidavits, and the fact that there was no

direct benefit from the double billing to the applicant.

Moreover, our action in Blackstone was confined to the

record of that proceeding and we clearly emphasized that

a licensee who engages in fraudulent billing practices does

so only at great risk, even without the presence of other

improprieties. Given the protracted and flagrant fraudulent

billing in this proceeding and Western’s disregard for our

fraudulent billing rule, Blackstone must be considered

inapposite here. United Broadcasting of Florida, Inc.,

supra, at 840. In Channel 13 of Las Vegas, Inc., 37 FCC 2d

518 (1972), we imposed a monetary fortfeiture for clipping

network programs. In that proceeding, however, there was

26a

no evidence that any commercials were clipped or that the

fraudulent billing was as extensive or as egregious as

established by the record in this proceeding. Moreover, to

hold that the fraudulent billing documented in the record

of this proceeding is not disqualifying, would be an un-

warranted departure from our decisions in more recent

cases where we found the denial of renewal to be an appro-

priate sanction for protracted fraudulent billing, over an

extended period of, time, with the participation, knowledge

or constructive knowledge of the licensee’s top manage-

ment.’ See Wharton, supra; United Broadcasting of Flor-

ida, Inc., supra; and Eastminster, supra.

Misrepresentations

10. The misrepresentation issue evolved out of corre-

spondence between the Commission and Western concern-

ing viewer complaints about Western’s clipping. In a letter

dated October 29, 1970, the Commission wrote Western

with respect to interference by local commercials with

telecasts of the 1970 World Series. In a response, dated

November 6, 1970, and signed by Western’s former coun-

sel,*° Western asserted, inter alia, that the interference

occurred because the network breaks required ‘‘the use of

* Western also cited the Initial Decision in WEAU, Inc., 50 FCC

2d 659, which became final on January 8, 1975, without the filing

of exceptions. In that proceeding the Judge found that the fraudu-

lent billing was mitigated because the licensee’s principal took

immediate steps to eliminate clipping and fraudulent billing on

discovery of the wrongdoing. In contrast, Western permitted the

clipping and fraudulent billing to continue even after it received

complaints and Commission correspondence about the wrongdoing.

Moreover, the Initial Decision in WEAU, Inc., is not a binding

precedent because it became final without Commission review.

Finalization of Initial Decisions, FCC 61-25, 20 RR 1141 (1961).

%° Although counsel drafted each of the letters in question, all

information contained in those letters was furnished by either Mr.

Tabor or Mr. Ordonez.

27a

20-second announcements,’’ that the program director was

‘‘severely reprimanded,’’ that it was KORK-TV’s policy

to ‘‘limit the length of commercial announcements to the

available break time,’’ and that the interference with the

World Series programming was an isolated incident.”

11. The November 6, 1970, letter contains misrepresen-

tations and is lacking in the candor which we expect from

our licensees. Western’s explanation that the interference

occurred because it used the two 30-second commercials

when the use of 20-second commercials was required strains

credibility when it is considered that the network in fact

allowed for the use of only one 30-second commercial.

Western argues that this was not a misrepresentation,

citing Mr. Tabor’s testimony that he believed the author-

ized duration of the network breaks was 42 seconds (which

would allow time for two 20-second commercials and two

seconds for leaving and rejoining the network). It is noted

however that during five of the ten network breaks during

the 1970 World Series, KORK-TV broadcast three 30-

second commercials and during one other break four 30-

second local commercials (although only three commercials

were scheduled). The remaining four station breaks were

expanded to include 60 seconds’ worth of commercials.

Western was thus scheduling commercials which would

have exceeded the 42 seconds Mr. Tabor allegedly believed

was available even if 20-second commercials were available,

and we find there is ample justification for the Judge’s

finding that Western’s explanation concerning the length

of the commercials used during the World Series consti-

tuted a misrepresentation. :

™ The Judge asserted that in calling the interference an ‘‘isolated

incident’’ Western was ‘‘hypocritical and false’’ because network

breaks during all of the World Series games were overloaded. The

November 6 letter in fact referred to all five 1970 Wa-ld Series

games.

28a

12. Western’s characterization of the World Series clip-

ping as an ‘‘isolated incident’’ was also a significant mis-

representation. We accept Western’s allegation that its

November 6 letter referred to the clipping of all five 1970

World Series telecasts. The record, however, contains evi-

dence that Western expanded network breaks on a regular

basis by covering network transmissions with local com-

mercials, that it also clipped the network feed to telecast

commercials during the 1968 and 1971 World Series, and

that its clipping interfered with other programs. Based on

Western’s policy of clipping and the problems emanating

out of it, none of which were disclosed in the November 6

letter, the characterization of the interference with the

World Series telecasts as an isolated incident was a factual

misrepresentation designed to mislead the Commission

with respect to Western’s broadcast policies. Moreover, in

view of Western’s policy of clipping, it is clear that its

statement that ‘‘It is the firm policy of KORK-TV to limit

the length of commercial announcements to the available

break time’’ is a blatant misrepresentation. We also note

that although Western advised the Commission that the

operator responsible for the clipping was severely repri-

manded, Mr. Tabor testified: ‘‘I wouldn’t necessarily say

I severely reprimanded him.’’ While the misstatement in

the letter concerning the reprimand may, in and of itself,

not be very serious, it indicates, when considered with

Western’s other statements and its broadcast policy, a

casual attitude with respect to Commission inquiries which

is unacceptable from a licensee. The foregoing representa-

tions, standing alone, would be sufficient grounds for the

denial of Western’s renewal application, Nick J. Chaconas,

28 FCC 2d 231 (1970). However, as will be shown, Western

continued to misrepresent its commercial policies in its

subsequent correspondence with the Commission.

13. On March 8, 1971, another viewer wrote the Com-

mission concerning the telecast of local commercials which

interfered with the ‘‘Laugh-In’’ program. In a letter dated

29a

April 8, 1971, the Commission asked to be advised “as to

all the circumstances’’ surrounding the interference, if

Western inserted ‘‘advertising in network programs at

other than the scheduled times in such a manner as to af-

fect the program content,’’ and whether Western’s policy

was to ‘‘insert commercial or other material in programs,

join them late or leave them early with such effect.’’ In a

letter dated April 21, 1971, Western asserted that its policy

was ‘‘not to insert advertising in such a manner as to affect

the program content,’’ that occasional errors do occur, but

that it was taking steps to insure the errors were not

repeated. The Judge was cognizant that there is no gen-

erally accepted definition of the term ‘‘affect program con-

tent.’’ He concluded, however, that the letter was a mis-

representation because Western’s assertion that its policy

of ‘‘not inserting advertising ...in such a manner as to

affect program content’’ did not reflect Western’s operat-

ing practice of expan’ing network station breaks by insert-

ing local commerciais.

14. Western contends that there was no misrepresenta-

tion because it understood the Commission inquiry to be

concerned about whether the clipping affected ‘‘viewer en-

joyment’’ of programs and that in fact its policy was to

clip in a manner which did not affect viewer enjoyment. It

asserts that even where substantive programming was de-

leted, it attempted to have ‘‘clean cut-ins’’ which would

not be intrusive to its viewers. In view of this policy and

its understanding of the inquiry, Western contends that

merely leaving the network early or rejoining it late a

number of times does not establish that its letter was a

misrepresentation.

15. In our view, the April 21 response also demonstrates

a lack of that degree of candor which we expect from our

licensees. Although we asked to be advised of all the cir-

cumstances surrounding the interference, there is no men-

tion of the clipping which was the basic cause of the inter-

30a

ference. Western also asserted that when ‘‘errors’’ do

occur ‘‘steps are taken in order to insure that they will not

be repeated.’’ Here the only step taken was to speak with

the operator who was on duty, an ineffective precaution

because even if there were no operator errors there would

still be significant intrusions into the network feed because

of the number and length of the local commercials sched-

uled by KORK-TV. Moreover, while the term ‘‘affect pro-

gram content’’ is ambiguous and Western’s stated policy

may have been to avoid clipping which would affect pro-

gram content within its understanding of the term, it is

readily apparent that Western’s stated policy was not in

accord.with its actual practice, because viewer enjoyment,

as defined by Western, was disrupted, as evidenced by the

- viewer complaints.

16. On May 14, 1971, the Commission wrote a letter to

Western, noting the previous correspondence and a new

(third) complaint from a viewer, and requested a detailed

statement of the ‘‘procedure . . . adopted, or [you] intend

to adopt, to prevent recurrence of the practices complained

of.’’ Western’s reply, dated June 1, 1971, was also lacking

in candor and contained misrepresentations. Western ad-

vised the Commission that it was carrying a relatively

heavy commercial load, leading to tight scheduling require-

ments necessitating alertness and exact switching by the

operator on duty. The tenor of this statement was to con-

vey to the Commission that KORK-TV had a tight but

workable schedule and that interference could be avoided

barring operator errors. The problem, however, did not lie

with its operators but with its schedule. While operator

error may have compounded KORK-TV’s problems, the

root cause of these problems was the clipping, and even if

its operator strictly adhered to KORK-TV’s schedule,

there would still have been significant unwarranted intru-

sions into the network feed.

17. Western also represented that its problems were

compounded by the fact that advertising agencies were

3la

‘‘not always careful about meeting precise commercial

announcement length requirements.’’ This statement is

patently misleading. The problem rested with Western’s

scheduling practices, and even if the commercial announce-

ments were several seconds too long the resultant clipping

would have been de minimis when compared with West-

ern’s regular practice of expanding network breaks.

18. The June 1 letter also advised the Commission that

Western reduced its commercial load level and stated that

it believed it had ‘‘taken every possible and reasonable

step to insure that commercial matter will not interfere

with program content.’’ These representations were incom-

plete and in part untrue. It is obvious that Western had

not ‘‘taken every possible and reasonable step’’ because it

continued to overload network breaks during its daytime

programming, and interference continued until Western

eliminated the commercial overloading during daytime

program breaks.

19. The Commission received still another complaint con-

cerning the interference with network programming on

KORK-TV. On July 15, 1971, the Commission, citing the

earlier correspondence again solicited Western’s comments.

Given another opportunity to explain its operating policies,

Western, in a reply dated August 2, 1971, continued to at-

tribute the interference to operator error and allowed its

prior false, misleading and evasive representations to re-

main uncorrected.

20. Western’s responses were clearly designed to conceal

its operating practices from the Commission. It placed an

overly narrow interpretation on the Commission’s inquir-

ies and we reject Western’s contention that Mr. Tabor and

Mr. Ordenez believed their responses were true and com-

plete. While we agree that the term ‘‘affect program con-

tent” is not defined, we note that Western was asked to

explain all the circumstances surrounding the various

complaints and that there was interference with program

32a

content within their definition of the term. There is nothing

in the responses to indicate that local commercials were

being transmitted outside of authorized times, and the

interference is erroneously attributed to operator error

and overlength commercials while Western ignored the

clipping required by its broadcast schedule. There is also

no merit to Western’s arguments concerning the lack of

motive for Mr. Tabor and Mr. Ordonez to lie, because the

letters served to conceal KORK-TV’s improper practices,

protect their jobs and reputations and KORK-TV’s license,

and insure the receipt of extra revenue from the overcom-

mercialization.

Licensee Responsibility

21. Western is the wholly owned subsidiary of Donrey,

Inc. The sole shareholder of Donrey, Inc. is Mr. Donald W.

Reynolds, Sr., who was also the ultimate owner of station

KFSA-TV, Fort Smith, Arkansas, and KOLO-TV, Reno,

Nevada. His son, Mr. Donald W. Reynolds, Jr. was the

supervisor over all his broadcast properties. As the sole

principal of Donrey, Mr. Reynolds, Sr. delegated a great

deal. of authority to his station managers and his son.

Western asserts that the delegation of authority was

proper for a multiple owner, that Mr. Reynolds, Sr. could

not have reasonably anticipated the wrongdoing chron-

icled in this proceeding, that he took due care to prevent

rule violations and that neither he nor his son were aware

of any violations. In this connection Western states that

Mr. Reynolds, Sr. required regular written reports of his

broadcast operations from his son and the station man-

agers and that all problems concerning station operations

be brought to the attention of his communications counsel.

_ It also asserts that Mr. Tabor and Mr. Ordonez were long-

time, trusted employees and, citing Bluegrass Broadcast-

ing Co., supra, concludes that Mr. Reynolds, Sr. could

reasonably rely on them, and, in view of that reliance,

denial of renewal would not be an appropriate sanction.

33a

22. Western’s contentions lack merit and they must be

rejected. In this case, the Judge found, and his findings

which are supported by substantial evidence of record are

affirmed, that Mr. Reynolds, Sr. not only delegated all of

his authority for day-to-day station operations to his son,

Mr. Reynolds, Jr., but that he failed to exercise the neces-

sary diligence to insure that his agents and employees were

complying with Rule 73.1205. With respect to Mr. Rey-

nolds, Jr., the Judge found, and again we affirm his find-

ings as supported by substantial evidence, that he had re-

sponsibility for and tacit knowledge of the station’s prac-

tice of clipping; and that if, with the knowledge he had

concerning the extent of local commercial broadcasts dur-

ing network breaks, ‘‘he then remained unaware of the

specifics of the clipping it was only because he chose to

remain unaware.’’ (Initial Decision para. 168.) As for the

station managers who were directly involved in the wrong-

doing established by the record herein and who are also

officers and directors of Western, they were delegated au-

thority to respond to Commission inquiries concerning

alleged improper activities at the station, but the Reynolds

failed to take adequate precautions to insure the responses

were accurate and complete. On the contrary it appears

that no adequate investigation was conducted by the li-

censee to determine the true situation at the stations.

23. No comparable factual situation was presented in

Bluegrass and the case clearly is inapposite. In the cir-

cumstance of this case, Western’s contentions amount to

a claim for special consideration solely because of its ab-

sentee ownership and it is entitled to no such special con-

sideration or special benefits on that ground. As we have

repeatedly held, a multiple station owner or an absentee

owner is subject to the same degree of responsibility for

adequate supervision and control over station operations

as a local station owner and the licensee cannot absolve

itself from liability for wrongdoing merely by isolating

itself from day-to-day station operations since no justifica-

34a

tion exists for setting a different standard of conduct for

a multiple of absentee owner than for a local owner. United

Broadcasting Co. of Florida, Inc., 55 FCC 2d 832 at 839

(1975) ; Continental Broadcasting, Inc., 15 FCC 2d 120 at

131 (1968). Particularly in this case where, as found by the

Judge, Mr. Reynolds, Sr., owner of the licensee corpora-

tion, ‘‘exercised no diligence whatsoever to see that his

agents and employees were complying with the rule’’ (Ini-

tial Decision para. 169), Western merits no special con-

sideration by reason of its absentee ownership.

Valley’s Qualifications

24. The issues designated against Valley included, inter

alia, issues:

To determine whether Las Vegas Valley Broadcasting

Company can reasonably expect to secure a network

affiliation and, if not, the effect on Valley’s financial

qualifications and its ability to effectuate its program

_ proposal.

To determine the terms and conditions of the proposed

bank loan from Nevada State Bank relied upon by

Valley, whether Valley can meet the terms and condi-

tions, and whether, in light thereof, the proposed loan

will in fact be available to it.

To determine the cost, terms and conditions which

must be met by Valley to obtain access to its proposed

transmitter site and their effect on its financial quali-

fications.

To determine in view of the facts adduced pursuant to

the foregoing issues, whether Valley is financially

qualified to construct and operate its proposed station.

25. Valley’s financial qualifications were dependent on a

$1,000,000 loan commitment from the Nevada State Bank.

35a

The conditions for the loan, set forth in letters dated

August 23, 1971 and February 22, 1973, provided, inter

alia, that all of Valley’s assets would be collateral for the

loan and that the loan would be used for the purchase of

land and equipment, and certain construction and operat-

ing costs. The Nevada State Bank letter also stated that a

consideration in its decision to make the loan was its ‘‘un-

derstanding of the value of an operating NBC network

affiliated VHF television station in the Las Vegas market.’’

The Judge resolved the financial qualifications issue

against Valley, concluding that it had not established that

it could reasonably expect to secure a network affiliation;

that it could meet the bank’s requirements for making the

loan; and the terms for achieving access to its transmitter

site and its ability to meet those terms.

Valley’s Network Affiliation

26. NBC will not commit itself to the grant of an affili-

ation agreement more than six months before a station is

ready to go on the air. The Judge found that NBC would

regard any one of the four Las Vegas stations (including

Valley) as a possible substitute for KORK-TV, that Valley

as a new Station would be at a disadvantage because NBC

considers new stations to be more trouble-prone and it

prefers to affiliate with existing stations, but that Valley

would have a distinct advantage over the other Las Vegas

stations because it proposes a coverage area superior to

the existing stations, and will offer NBC continued channel

identification. The Judge found that ‘‘ Valley has a reason-

able hope of securing the network affiliation’’ (Initial De-

cision para. 183)** but that it ‘‘would be somewhat specula-

tive even to describe its prospects as a strong probability.’

Asserting that in the absence of a network affiliation the

*? But see Initial Decision para, 198, where the Judge stated that

Valley’s prospect of obtaining a fetwork affiliation ‘‘is less than a

reasonable probability.’’

36a

bank loan will not be available, the Judge concluded that

Valley had not established its financial qualifications.

27. We agree with Valley and the Broadcast Bureau that

the Judge imposed too heavy a burden on Valley to show

the availability of its network affiliation. Valley was only

required to show that ‘‘it could reasonably expect to se-

cure a network affiliation,’’ and indeed the Judge initially

found Valley had a ‘‘reasonable hope’’ of securing an affil-

iation. Since NBC will not commit itself to affiliate with a

new licensee more than six months before it is ready to go

on the air, resolution of the designated issue must be de-

pendent on a weighing of all favorable factors which NBC

would consider. NBC’s primary concern in granting an

affiliation agreement is unduplicated coverage.** Since Val-

ley would have a coverage area with unduplicated audience

superior to that of any existing Las Vegas station,” Valley

would also have a distinct advantage as KORK-TV’s suc-

cessor enabling NBC to maintain its channel identifica-

tion.'* Although NBC would prefer a more experienced li-

censee, this was only one of many factors (equipment, pro-

gramming, staffing and finances)** and there is no evidence

that NBC would prefer any of the other Las Vegas stations

under these criteria. Considering all the criteria, Valley

established that it wou'd have an advantage as a potential

** An NBC witness testified that superior coverage was the pri-

mary factor in decisions to change affiliations in Portland, Oregon

and Seattle, Washington.

Tt appears that one factor in the previous denial of an NBC

affiliation agreement with WVVU, the existing independent Las

Vegas station, was its inferior coverage area.

** The NBC witness testified that he could not recall one instance

where an affiliation agreement was denied to a successor licensee

after a voluntary transfer.

**If we are able to find Valley financially qualified there is no

reason to believe NBC would not be satisfied with its financial

proposal.

37a

NBC affiliate over the other Las Vegas stations, and this is

sufficient to establish a reasonable expectation that an

affiliation agreement will be available.

28. The Judge’s finding that Valley had not established

the availability of a network affiliation was only one of the

bases upon which he predicated Valley’s disqualification.

Consequently, resolution of the network affiliation issue

favorably to Valley establishes that Valley will reasonably

be eble to satisfy one of the conditions of the Nevada State

Bank letter, but it does not establish that the applicant is

financially qualified. For the reasons hereinafter set forth,

we affirm the Judge’s finding that Valley has not estab-

lished that the bank loan will be available or that it will

be able to finance access to its antenna site, and the Judge’s

ultimate conclusion that Valley has not sustained its bur-

den of showing that it is financially qualified.

Valley’s Bank Commitment

29. The Judge found that Valley intends to lease its land

and buildings and will not have any real property to pledge

as collateral for the loan. Moreover, Valley is planning to

purchase its equipment from RCA pursuant to credit terms

which grant RCA an exclusive lien on the equipment. In

order to ascertain the impact of Valley’s inability to pledge

either real estate or its equipment as collateral for the loan,

as contemplated in the commitment letters, interrogatories

were served on Mr. Harley Harmon, the President of the

Nevada State Bank. Mr. Harmon stated that whether the

bank would make the loan would depend on the conditions

existing at the time of the loan and that the amount of

collateral the bank would require will ‘‘depend upon the

conditions existing at the time the loan is required.’’ The

Judge concluded that the Nevada Bank may require addi-

tional collateral, the amount of that collateral and Valley’s

ability to furnish it remain unknown, and for this reason

Valley failed to establish that it could meet the terms and

conditions precedent to the loan.

38a

30. Valley argues that we have never required an appli-

cant to show more than a reasonable assurance a bank loan

will be available, and that the reservations expressed by

Mr. Harmon are ‘‘no more than routine reservations which

the Commission has never found to render a commitment

unreliable.’’ It asserts that the Nevada State Bank was

committed to the loan and there is no Commission require-

ment that a lender state the amount of collateral which will

be available.

31. Valley’s commitment letter conditions the bank loan

on Valley providing liens on real property and equipment

which would be purchased with the loan. Valley will not be

able to give the Nevada State Bank the anticipated liens

on its real property and equipment and the bank has not

indicated what substitute collateral will be required. The

answers to the interrogatories were not routine reserva-

tions as argued by Valley, but constitute rather a state-

ment that the bank may revise its collateral requirements

at the time the loan is requested if it believes the security

offered is inadequate. There is nothing in this record to

indicate the value of the collateral which will be required

or that Valley can meet those requirements.

32. Although the Commission has never required an

applicant to have a contractually binding loan commitment,

Valley has cited no authority in support of its position that

it need not show its ability to satisfy the bank’s collateral

requirements. In fact, we have consistently held that where

a bank commitment is dependent on a contingency, the

applicant must show its ability to satisfy that contingency.

Eastern Long Island Broadcasting, Inc., 1 FCC 2d 1525,

6 RR 2d 477 (Rev. Bd. 1965). In Orange Nine, Inc., 7 FCC

2d 788, 9 RR 2d 1157 (1967), the Commission required an

applicant with a commitment letter which stated ‘‘suitable

collateral terms and conditions [were] to be arranged at

the time of the closing,’’ to establish the terms, conditions,

and collateral the bank would require and the applicant’s

39a

ability to meet them. This Valley has not done here. Nor

has Valley’s showing complied with Post-Newsweek Sta-

tions of Florida, Inc., 46 FCC 2d 647 (1974), where we held

that a loan “subject to approval of our loan committee

[based on] .. . current financial statements” of the corpora-

tion and certain stockholders at the time of the submission

of the loan application did not offer adequate assurance that

the loan will be available.

33. Valley was facing the bank commitment issue when

Mr. Harmon responded to the interrogatories. Faced with a

serious reservation which jeopardized the availability of

the bank commitment, Valley had a duty to clarify Mr.

Harmon’s reservations so that we could determine the

bank’s requirements and Valley’s ability to meet them.

Valley failed to do so and there is adequate record support

for the Judge’s conclusion that Valley failed to establish

that ‘‘its bank loan will not require collateral, or, if col-

lateral is required, what it will be and that Valley can

provide it.’’

Valley’s Site Access

34. The site access issue was added solely to determine

if Valley was financially able to meet the terms and condi-

tions imposed on it for the use of the access road to its

transmitter site. Although Valley intends to construct its

transmitter on federally-owned land managed by the In-

terior Department’s Bureau of Land Management (BLM),

access to the site is dependent on a road owned by the Alta

Development Corp. (Alta), 50% of which is owned by

Western. If Valley is granted a construction permit, BLM

will grant it a right of way. BLM, however, will not medi-

ate any dispute between Valley and Alta (Western) con-

cerning what Valley will have to pay for access and Alta

is requiring Valley to purchase Western’s share of the

access road. Initially Western indicated it would want

$100,000 for its share of the access road. After Valley

40a

budgeted an additional $100,000 to purchase Western’s

share, Western revised its requirements asserting that it

failed to allow for inflation and a return on its investment

and that by September 30, 1976, its share of Alta would be

worth $189,937.50. Valley objected to paying this higher

figure and the Judge concluded that Valley had not estab-

lished that it can secure access to its transmitter site at a

price it can afford to pay.

35. Valley argues that the dispute will be settled by liti-

gation before Valley is ready to build its station. There is,

however, no indication when the matter will be litigated or

even that the dispute will be resolved in Valley’s favor.

Nor has Valley submitted evidence to support the validity

of what it is offering for the road. We are aware that

Valley is being forced to deal with a recalcitrant opponent,

but it is Valley who chose the antenna site, and it is there-

fore incumbent upon Valley to show that it can finance

access to that site. The record adequately supports the

Judge’s determination that Valley has not shown it can

finance access to its site.

Valley’s Petition to Amend Its Financial Showing

36. Valley’s commitment from the Nevada State Bank

expired on January 1, 1975, subsequent to the Initial De-

cision. On May 15, 1975, Valley filed a petition to amend its

financial showing specifying a commitment in the sum of

$1,500,000 from City National Bank of Los Angeles, Cali-

fornia.” Valley contends that Commission precedent re-

7 Also pending is a motion filed March 13, 1975, by Western

requesting the designation of misrepresentation and Section 1.65

issues against Valley. Western alleges that Valley failed to aotify

the Commission of the expiration of its bank loan and that it made

material misrepresentations in its petition to amend its financial

qualifications in an attempt to explain its failure to secure a timely

extension of the loan. In light of Valley’s disqualifica*ion the mo-

tion to add issues will be dismissed as moot.

4la

quires us to address the merits of its new commitment

without regard to its earlier showing. Valley, however, has

misread our earlier cases, it has not cited, nor are we

aware of, any comparative proceeding where we allowed

a post-decisional amendment to correct a defective showing

by a disqualified applicant; and its petition will be denied.

The amendment is no more than a grossly untimely and

blatant effort by Valley to shore up its defective financial

showing after the close of the record and an adverse de-

cision. We have consistently held that an applicant will not

be given a further opportunity to make an improved show-

ing that its application should be granted when that show-

ing could have been made during the course of the hearing.

Cf., Guan v. FCC, 297 F.2d 787 (1961); Voice of Dizie,

Inc., 47 FCC 2d 526 (1974); Nick J. Chaconas, 35 FCC 2d

698 (1972); The Tidewater Broadcasting Co., Inc., 14 FCC

2d 646 (1968) ; The News-Sun Broadcasting Co., 24 FCC 2d

770 (Rev. Bd. 1970), review denied, FCC 71-33, released

January 15, 1971. Moreover, we recently held in Folkways

Broadcasting Company, Inc., 57 FCC 2d 609 (1976), that

acceptance of such post-decisional amendment could se-

verely prejudice the Ashbacker™ rights of a competing

applicant.” Finally, we note that Wilkesboro Broadcasting

Co., 4 FCC 2d 164 (1966), which was cited by Valley, in-

volved a pre-decisional amendment and that in 5 KW, Inc.,

33 FCC 2d 895 (1972), the Review Board permitted an

amendment in response to new matters raised in a petition

to enlarge issues filed after the close of the. hearing. Al-

** Ashbacker Radio Corp. v. FCC, 326 U.S. 327 (1945).

* Valley argues that if Western’s disqualification is affirmed,

Western would no longer be an interested party with respect to

Valley’s basic qualifications, We do not agree. In Folkways, the

competing applicant was disqualified, but had appealed the Com-

mission decision. We found that the applicant still had potential

Ashbacker rights which could be asserted if his appeal was granted.

Here, because Western continues to prosecute its application, we

are obligated to protect its potential Ashbacker rights.

42a

though the Commission permitted post-decisional amend-

ments in Brown Broadcasting Co., Inc., 12 FCC 2d 189

(1968), and United Broadcasting Co., Inc., 55 FCC 2d 416

(1975) those proceedings are distinguishable because the

applicants involved had been found qualified, and the

amendments were in response to questions which arose

after issuance of the Initial Decisions. Valley’s request for

leave to amend and for acceptance of a new commitment

letter must, therefore, be denied.

Other Matters

37. Western requested permission to file a supplemental

brief to call ‘‘attention to the fact that the initial decision

in another case, WEAU, Inc., (FCC 74D-59), became

final.’’ The request will be denied. A supplementary plead.

ing is not authorized under the rules. Moreover, Western

failed to show good cause for its filing because WE AU was

fully discussed in Western’s prior pleadings, and because

the Decision, which became final without the filing of ex-

ceptions or review, is not a binding Commission precedent.

Finalization of Initial Decisions, FCC 61-25, 20 RR 114

(1961).

38. On February 13, 1976, Western filed a second sup-

plementary brief to ‘‘reflect subsequent legal authorities.’’

This pleading is the fourth brief and second unauthorized

pleading filed by Western. We note, however, that over a

year has elapsed since the filing of Western’s initial brief,

that a large number of Commission decisions addressing

issues similar to those in this proceeding have been issued

during that period, and that those cases were too numerous

for Western to discuss during oral argument. In light of

the seriousness which we attach to the sanctions being

applied here, we are granting Western’s second request

for leave to file a supplementary pleading and we have

4

43a

given due consideration to the precedents cited in the sup-

plementary pleading.”

.

39. On February 13, 1976, Western requested us to take

official notice of various pleadings and documents filed in

the KRMD, Inc., 53 FCC 2d 1179 (1975) and West Michi-

gan Telecasters, Inc., 57 FCC 2d 388 (1975) proceedings.

Official notice is governed by the Federal Rules of Evi-

dence, Rule 201, 28 U.S.C.A. which limits notice to adjudi-

cative facts. An adjudicative fact is defined as one not

‘¢ . . subject to reasonable dispute in that it is either

(1) generally known within the territorial jurisdiction

of the trial court or (2) capable of accurate and ready

determination by resort to sources whose accuracy can-

not reasonably be questioned.” Rule 201(b), 28 U.S.C.A.

Western is seeking official notice of legal arguments and

assertions in other proceedings involving different parties

and different factual situations. Manifestly, these types of

matters are not within the contemplation of Rule 201(b).

Western’s request for official notice will, therefore, be

denied.

40. Western filed a ‘‘Motion to Reopen the Record, En-

large the Issues, and for Other Relief’’ on June 25, 1976.

Therein, Western argues that confidential information con-

cerning instructions given to restricted personnel was dis-

closed to trade press representatives, that prohibited ex

parte communications have occurred, and that Western

has been prejudiced by the foregoing conduct. It therefore

requests that the record be reopened, that issues be added

2° We do not deem it necessary to discuss each of the numerous

cases cited by Western. We have, however, fully considered the

cases cited, and to the extent necessary they have been discussed in

this Decision. In any event, we are satisfied that the instant Deci-

sion is consistent with prior Commission precedents and Western’s

pleading has not presented a basis for changing the outcom

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.