Petition — Aliquippa & Southern Railroad v. United States

Supreme Court brief1979

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

7 Supreme Coat VS

a FILE >

DEC 28 1S78 .

A Ne eR) © a CLERK

IN THE “s

Supreme Court of the Rnited States

OcToBER TERM, 1978

No ¢8-1049

ALIQUIPPA AND SOUTHERN RaILRoOAD COMPANY, ET AL.,

Petitioners

Vv.

INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION, ET AL.,

Respondents

ee

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Fritz R. Kaun

VERNER, LITPFERT, BERNHARD

& McPHeERSON

1660 L Street, N.W.

Suite 1000

Washington, D.C. 20036

SaMuEL P. DELISI

1500 Bank Tower

207 4th Avenue

Pittsburgh, PA 15222

THomas C. DorsEY

2000 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

Attorneys for Petitioners

Pagss or Brrzon S. Apams Patntino, Inc., Wasuineton, D. C.

at.

«se — ve

INDEX

Page

I sndctecas chebuniis scene bndtsev eoek en 1

EE ata, dawtinenth chad edsdune<iuayeendeven 2

PR nT rr 2

SE II a Sorc Bin ocevacctescdhegesas sens 2

NN oo, ok cea ncanceakeeenee 2

Reasons For GRANTING THE WRIT ...............446- 6

a anatuda chide ein cuenmeceacdeeanen nian 13

Ea aiknk ch ancnonn ae sn dean Rp mepesccéecees la

PE NEALE Cos cies evra tnidbevettwannseane sean 4a

SEs 3 dendteunacawunneecs.coqkeseenvebeuns 3la

EE OF a GeAs win dd ontenw wth ye cenbsennnstecaned 85a

SE SN aiedend dndsnaeeseswawenacks sep sens 86a

DE cet nen. ducaneeseta.-.- ctaseaccaieds eens 92a

I TE. Saganeccdauccnctisvesduntescucettoeenes 97a

CTE Alien peakdcconsdekenaccacescnctesacces 100a

CITATIONS

CasEs:

Aberdeen € Rockfish R.R. v. United States, 270 F.

i at Ce oie ee lila camineia bee 10

Allied Chemical Corp. v. Burlington Northern, Inc.,

ih ao in eagel 6a anaes 7

Alton & S.R.R. v. United States, 49 F.2d 414........ 7

Baldwin v. Scott County Milling Co., 307 U.S.478 .... 8

eB h, O.R.R. vy. Aberdeen & Rockfish R.R., 393 a

ii Citations Continued

Baltimore & O.R.R. v. United States, 277 U.S. 291 .... 11

Berwind-White Coal Mining Co. v. Chicago & E.R.R.,

OLS fe re PERSP rere ee 7

Boston & Maine R.R. v. United States, 208 F. Supp. 1

TUS LOL alte 4 a hhh Cadoand Renee He 05+ ex

Burlington Truck Lines v. United States, 371 U.S. 156 9

Cancellation of Wharfage Absorption, 335 1.C.C. 477 7

Detroit Produce Ass’n v. Director General, 62 I.C.C.

Te a acta aed bap see tl ded bas Go 4-50 0 7

PE EET Cle HU cs cn vd decicaccnsseevys 9

Galveston Commercial Ass’n vy. Atchison, T. € S.F. Ry.,

Oe ye ee Cpu s cede seme ms ee beds censeeems 7

ICC v. J-T Transport Co., 368 U.S. 81 .............. 11

International Proteins Corp. v. Baltimore & O.R.R.,

ee BR RES, 15 5 as Ces bd he tne S008 099 00.48 7

Iverson v. United States, 63 F. Supp. 1001 .......... 7

Ligon Specialized Hauler v. ICC, os, 77-3302, 77-3253

(Sra Cir. November 14,1978) .......c.ccccccces 9

Long Island Rail Road v. ‘Aberdeen & Rockfish R.R.,

NT Ls shed Chak se daw Rad doe t ceadee ees 2

Pennsylvania R.R. v. Kittaning Iron & Steel Mfg. Co.,

TT Wis wc ba hain Fh MEO EAS AOS We Od 0 > 8 6, 7

Red Ball Vegetable Co. v. Illinois Central R.R., 197

ih A SIR Ree bard phe Foes Chewbhaa te taboces een 7

Remittance of Demurrage Charges, 349 I.C.C. 411... 3

Schiihle’s Grape Juice Co. v. Director General, 63

SM REE A Lies knee take 6 cvaid eS rissa 600-00 5 7

Seaboard Air Line R.R. v. United States, 382 U.S. 154 2

SEC v. Chenery Corp., 332 U.S. 194 ...........eeees 9

Swift é Co. v. Hocking Valley Ry., 243 U.S. 281 ...... 7

Turner, Dennis & Lowry Lumber Co. v. Chicago, M &

Ee Re PNR eee 6, 7

United States v. Braverman, 373 U.S. 405 ............ 8

United States v. Chicago Heights Trucking Co., 310

ME | 5 vbdurs HARON aed h dae 4 sy oheek hens 8

United States v. Florida East Coast Ry., 410 U.S. 244 9

United States v. ICC, 352 U.S. 158 .......... eevee 7

United States v. Philadelphia &é f. Ry., 184 F. 548... 8

STATUTES:

49 U.S.C. § 10101 et seq.:

OP Tk SEU bg en biccsytesvdcavanwvans’s 2

Citations Continued iii

Page

De Ss ED. is.Sn58 sheen oeR pass henade 2

Oe a PE vcvebass Sebieonse de ews 2, 6, 9,11, 12

Oe ee WN aves bncathwas tvesnesesacs 2

SE hn wiakudn bac Oa dvag ein 099% 2

ee NE eG caret Wieden aves ones kensnes 2,5

Oe es NCES ono Siet cairn hp se War wen ea's 2, 4, 1i.

ok OE Ae era ey nn aeer 2

as OE 56 yhie a G's bo Nek bed ce dae wee 2, 5,8

Public Law 95-473, 92 Stat. 1337 et seq. ..........005 2

Railroad Revitalization and Regulatory Reform Act of

1976, Pub. L. 94-210, 90 Stat. 31 et seq.:

RR Ber ee 4

MISCELLANEOUS:

Locklin, Economics of Transportation (7th Ed. 1972) 6

Vanderblue and Burgess, Railroads: Rates Service

a) ee eee

Van Metre, Industrial Traffic Management (1953) .... 6

IN THE

Suprene Court of the United States

OcroBeR TERM, 1978

No.

ALIQUIPPA AND SOUTHERN RAILROAD COMPANY, ET AL.,

Petitioners

Vv.

INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION, ET AL.,

Respondents

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

The Aliquippa and Southern Railroad Company, et

al.,’ petition for a writ of certiorari to review the judg-

ment and opinion of the United States Court of Ap-

peals for the Third Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App. B, pp.

4a-30a) is reported at 583 F.2d 678 (3rd Cir. 1978).

The decision of the Interstate Commerce Commission

(App. C, pp. 3la-84a), which it sustained, is reported

at 353 I.C.C. 567 (1977).

1 Petitioners are listed in the Appendix (App. A, pp. 1la-3a).

2

JURISDICTION

The order of the court of appeals denying petition-

ers’ timely petition for rehearing en banc was denied

on October 5, 1978 (App. D, p. 85a). The jurisdiction of

this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1). Long

Island Rail Road v. Aberdeen & Rockfish R.R., 99 S.Ct.

46 (1978); Seaboard Air Line R.R. v. United States,

382 U.S. 154 (1965).

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the court below erred in sustaining the de-

cision of the Interstate Commerce Commission upon a

basis not invoked by the agency itself, namely, that

railroad demurrage charges are not ‘‘rates’’ or

‘‘charges’’ within the meaning of the Interstate Com-

merce Act, 49 U.S.C. § 10101 et seq., and the Elkins

Act, 49 U.S.C. § 11903.

STATUTES INVOLVED

Involved are the provisions of what formerly were

sections 1(3) (a), 1(5), 1(6), 2, 3(1), 6(1), 15(6) and

15(15) of the Interstate Commerce Act, 49 U.S.C.

§§ 10102(23), 10701(a), 10705, 10741(a), 10741(b),

10747, 10750, and 10761,’ and former section 41(1) of

the Elkins Act, 49 U.S.C. § 11903, the terms of which

are set out in the appendix (App. E, pp. 86a-91la).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

By notice of proposed rulemaking served October

19, 1972, the Interstate Commerce Commission recom-

* Pub. L. No. 95-473, approved October 17, 1978, codified, with-

out substantive change, the provisions of the Interstate Commerce

Act and related laws.

3

mended that railroads collecting demurrage charges be

required to remit all but $10 per car per day to the

carriers that owned the freight cars against which de-

murrage had accrued (App. F, pp. 92a-96a). A proceed-

ing was instituted based upon thirteen provisions of

the former Interstate Commerce Act,’ the National

Transportation Policy and the Administrative Proce-

dure Act, and all railroads subject to the Interstate

Commerce Act were made respondents.

The Commission determined, in its notice, that the

$10 amount ‘‘appears to be more than adequate to com-

pensate the railroad on whose lines the foreign car is

being detained.” * Although written statements of facts,

views, and arguments concerning the proposed rule

were invited, no hearing was scheduled at this or any

other time of the proceeding.

On April 25, 1975, the Commission issued an interim

report which sunported adoption of the rule and held

that private car owners (shippers and other investors)

as well as railroad car owners should receive the de-

murrage revenue collected in excess of $10 per car per

day.’ The proceeding was reopened for further evi-

3’ Former sections 1(4), 1(5), 1(6), 1(10), 1(11), 1(18), 1(14),

1/15), 1(17), 1(21), 6(7), 18(4), and 15(1) of the Interstate

Commerce Act.

*The amount was determined, as stated by the Commissicn,

simply because it was the first increment of demurrage charges

that, at the time, generally was applied in increments of $10, $20,

and $30 per car per day depending on the extent of the detention

period (App. F, pp. 92a-93a).

>The Commission, in its interim report, ‘‘assume(d] that the

first level of charges, currently $10 per day, will result in adequate

retained revenue.’’ Remittance of Demurrage Charges, 349 1.C.C.

411, 442 (1975). Although participants were invited to submit

figures to overcome the Commission’s presumption, the Commission

denied petitioners’ request for a hearing. 349 I.C.C. at 417.

4

dence concerning the costs, benefits, and feasibility of

implementing the proposed rule, together with any ad-

ditional argument on the Commission’s clarification of

the rule (App. G, pp. 97a-99a).

Prior to issuance of the Commission’s final report,

Congress amended former section 1(6) of the Inter-

state Commerce Act by inserting the following new

sentence:

Demurrage charges shall be computed, and rules

and regulations relating to such charges shall be

established, in such a manner as to fulfill the na-

tional needs with respect to (a) freight car utiliza-

tion and distribution, and (b) maintenance of an

adequate freight car supply available for trans-

portation of property.°

Comments were solicited by the Commission on the

effect of the amendment on the proposed rule (App.

H, pp. 100a-102a).

The Commission’s final report and order was served

April 7, 1977. The Commission found that it had juris-

diction to consider the proposed rule under both sec-

tion 1(6) of the Interstate Commerce Act, as amended,

and its car service powers, and that the remittance of

all demurrage charges collected ‘‘in excess of $10 per

car per day, is just, reasonable, and otherwise lawful’’

(App. C, p. 73a).

Following appeals to the Commission for reconsid-

eration, which were denied, petitioners filed a petition

° Railroad Revitalization and Regulatory Reform Act of 1976,

Pub. L. No. 94-210, § 211, 90 Stat. 46 (amending former section

1(6) of the Interstate Commerce Act, and now codified at 49 U.S.C.

§ 10750).

5

for judicial review of the Commission’s decision.’ On

review, the court of appeals upheld the Commission’s

finding that section 1(6) of the Interstate Commerce

Act authorizes it to promulgate the demurrage remit-

tance rule (App. B, 13a) and held that the proposed

rule was ‘‘rationally supported’”’ as defined by the

‘arbitrary and capricious’? standard of 5 U.S.C.

§ 706(2)(A) applicable to notice and comment rule-

making (App. B, pp. 18a-19a).

Additionally, the court considered petitioners’ claim

that the proposed rule, by including private car own-

ers as well as railroad car owners in the remittance

scheme, permits the payment of unlawful rebates to

shippers who are private car owners in violation of

former section 15(15) of the Interstate Commerce Act,

49 U.S.C. § 10747, and former section 41(1) of the

Elkins Act, 49 U.S.C. § 11903. Rejecting our argu-

ments, the court (App. B, pp. 26a-27a) stated:

‘“‘We have given careful consideration to these

arguments and conclude that petitioners have mis-

construed the purposes of §15(15) and § 41(1),

as well as the concept of demurrage.

” * al

Consequently, we do not believe that a demur-

rage charge can properly be understood as a ‘‘rate”’

under §41(1), or as a ‘“‘charge”’’ as that term is

used in § 15(15).”’

The court concluded it was unable to say that the

inclusion of private car owners in the Commission’s

7A petition for judicial review in the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit also was filed by thirty-three rail-

road petitioners and four intervening railroads. Both petitions

were consolidated before the court of appeals.

6

demurrage remittance rule is a violation of the Inter-

state Commerce Act, and it did not express any con-

clusion with respect to potential violations of the

Elkins Act (App. B, p. 29a). The court also did not

address or even acknowledge petitioners’ argument

that the apportionment of demurrage revenues between

carriers can be effected only in accordance with the

procedures of former section 15(6) of the Act, 49

U.S.C. § 10705.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Demurrage is a charge imposed by railroads upon

shippers and receivers of freight who detain cars for

loading or unloading beyond specified times.’ ‘‘The

purpose of demurrage charges,’’ said this Court in

Pennsylvania R.R. v. Kittaning Iron & Steel Mfg. Co.,

253 U.S. 319, 323 (1920), ‘‘is to promote car efficiency

by penalizing undue detention of cars. The duty of

loading and of unloading carload shipments rests upon

the shipper or consignee. To this end he is entitled to

detain the car a reasonable time without any payment

in addition to the published freight rate.’’ Accord,

Turner, Dennis & Lowry Lumber Co. v. Chicago, M.

¢& St. P. Ry., 271 U.S. 259, 262 (1926).

That demurrage is a ‘‘rate’’ or ‘‘charge’’ within the

regulatory scheme heretofore never has been doubted

by the courts or the Commission. Demurrage uniformly

has been held to require publication in tariffs as any

*Locklin, Economics of Transportation (7th ed. 1972) p. 587;

Vanderblue and Burgess, Railroads: Rates Service Management

(1924) pp. 257-258; Van Metre, Industrial Traffic Management

(1953) pp. 315-318.

7

other rates or charges,’ and it has been held to be law-

ful only if just and reasonable * and nondiscrimina-

tory.”

In these respects, the courts and the Commission

have treated demurrage no differently than they have

other accessorial rates or charges, such as wharfage,”

icing’ and, as is most pertinent, reconsignment.”*

The court below inexplicably held that demurrage

was neither a “‘rate” nor a ‘‘charge.’’”’ It, accordingly,

concluded that remittance of a portion of the demur-

® Berwind—White Coal Mining Co. v. Chicago & E.R.R., 235

U.S. 371, 375 (1914); Allied Chemical Corp. v. Burlington North-

ern, Inc., 353 L.C.C, 49°, 501-502 (1977); Schuhle’s Grape Juice

Co. v. Director General, 63 1.C.C, 129, 132 (1921).

1° Swift & Co. v. Hocking Valley Ry., 243 U.S. 281, 290 (1917) ;

Allied Chemical Corp. v. Burlington Northern, Inc., 353 1.C.C.

499, 501-502 (1977) ; International Proteins Corp. v. Baltimore &

O.R.R., 355 1.C.C. 187 (1976).

't Pennsylvania R.R. v. Kittaning Iron & Steel Mfg. Co., 253

U.S. 319, 323-324 (1920) ; Galveston Commercial Ass’n v. Atchison

T.& S.F. Ry., 25 1.C.C, 216, 227 (1912).

% United States v. ICC, 352 U.S. 158, 162 (1956) ; Cancellation

of Wharfage Absorption, 335 I.C.C. 477, 522 (1969).

18 Alton & S.R.R. v. United States, 49 F.2d 414, 427 (N.D. Cal.

1931) ; Red Ball Vegetable Co. v. Illinois Central R.R., 197 1.C.C.

385, 390-391 (1933).

* Turner, Dennis & Lowry Lumber Co. v. Chicago, M. & St. P.

Ry., 271 U.S. 259, 263 (1926) ; Detroit Produce Ass’n vy. Director

General, 62 1.C.C. 283, 286 (1921).

* Iverson v. United States, 63 F. Supp. 1001 (D.D.C. 1946),

relied on by the court of appeals, is inapposite. That case merely

upheld the I.C.C.’s power to increase the amount of demurrage

assessed upon cars in critical short supply, pursuant to the pro-

visions of former section 1(15) of the Act, 49 U.S.C. § 11123,

which, by its terms, allows the agency to adjust ‘‘any or all rules,

regulations, or practices’’ of the carriers affecting car service.

8

rage collected by the railroads w the shippers furnish-

ing their equipment could not be a rebate, within the

meaning of former section 41(1) of the Elkins Act, 49

U.S.C. § 11903. The lower court’s construction of the

law is an impermissibly narrow one; this court often

has held that rate concessions, no matter what form

they may take and no matter how indirectly they may

be given, are proscribed." Indeed, in United States v.

Philadelphia & R. Ry., 184 F. 548, 544 (C.C, E.D. Pa.

1910), the court specifically held that a jury can prop-

erly find an unlawful concession where a railroad failed

to collect and retain its entire published tariff rates

with regard to demurrage charges:

‘rT }he verdict establishes the contention of the

government that it was not a valid settlement of

a disputed claim but was the cancellation of a de-

murrage charge by the defendant for the purpose

of making a concession... in the matter of charges,

in violation of the Interstate Commerce Act.”

The lower court’s conclusion, of course, did not track

the Commission’s. The Commission found that its pro-

posed regulation would not result in the payment of

a rebate to the shippers furnishing their equipment,

not because demurrage was neither a rate nor a charge,

but because “‘the delivering carrier will receive its full

rate and compensation for all demurrage charges and

will merely remit the excess to the car owner.’’ 353

1.C.C, at 594 (App. C, p. 70a).

Thus, the court below upheld the Commission’s de-

cision on a ground altogether different than had been

invoked by the agency. This clearly is error and con-

1 United States v. Braverman, 373 U.S. 405 (1963); United

States v. Chicago Heights Trucking Co., 310 U.S. 344, 353 (1940) ;

Baldwin v. Scott County Milling Co., 307 U.S. 478, 485 (1939).

9

trary to the fundamental rule of administrative law set

forth by this Court in SEC v. Chenery Corp., 332 U.S.

194, 196 (1947):

‘“*TA] reviewing court, in dealing with a determina-

tion or judgment, which an administrative agency

alone is authorized to make, must judge the pro-

nied of such action solely by the grounds invoked

y the agency. If those grounds are inadequate or

improper, the court is powerless to affirm the ad-

ministrative action by substituting what it consid-

ers to be a more adequate or proper basis. To do

so would a the court into the domain which

Congress has set aside exclusively for the admin-

istrative agency.”

Accord, FPC v. Texaco, 417 U.S. 380, 397 (1974);

Burlington Truck Lines v. United States, 371 U.S. 156,

169 (1962).

The lower court’s error colors all of its decision. Not

merely did it mistakenly conclude that payment to

shippers of a portion of demurrage collected from ship-

pers furnishing their equipment, in compliance with

the Commission’s proposed regulation, would not be a

rebate. The perception of the court below that demur-

rage is neither a ‘‘rate’’ nor a ‘‘charge”’ led it to disre-

gard our argument, without so much as a footnote com-

ment that, on carrier-owned equipment, the division of

revenues between the railroads can be effected only in

accordance with the procedures of former section 15(6)

of the Act, 49 U.S.C. § 10705. That provision obliges a

‘“‘hearing’’ and an evidentiary record that comprehends

the several factors that the Commission must consider

in prescribing a division of revenues.”

See United States v. Florida East Coast Ry., 410 U.S, 244,

238 (1973); Ligon Specialized Hauler v. ICC, Nos, 77-3302, 77-

3253 (3rd Cir. November 14, 1978).

10

This Court, in Baltimore & Ohio R.R. v. Aberdeen

& Rockfish R.R., 393 U.S. 87, 92 (1968), affirmed a dis-

trict court’s remand of a Commission order which pre-

scribed divisions between northern and southern rail-

roads based on an insufficient record:

“Tf we were to reverse the District Court, we

would in effect be saying that the expertise of the

Commission is so great that when it says that aver-

age territorial costs fairly represent the costs of

Me orth-South traffic, the controversy is at an end,

even though the record does not reveal what the

nature of that North-South traffic is. The require-

ment for administrative decisions based on sub-

stantial evidence and reasoned findings—which

alone make effective judicial review possible—

would become lost in the haze of so-called exper-

tise. Administrative expertise would then be on its

way to becoming ‘‘a monster which rules with no

es limits on its discretion’? (citation omit-

ted).’’

The Commission’s decision regarding the amount of

demurrage to be retained by the delivering carrier was

determined on a record woefully insufficient to support

such a division of revenues. The lower court over-

looked this insufficiency by applying the wrong stand-

ard of judicial review.” In fact, the Commission de-

cided the split of demurrage revenues initially without

benefit of any record or opportunity by petitioners to

present within the appropriate statutory framework

18 Aberdeen & Rockfish R.R. v. United States, 270 F. Supp. 695,

710 (B.D. La, 1967), aff’d as modified, 393 U.S. 87 (1968) ; Boston

& Maine R.R. v. United States, 208 F. Supp. 661, 674 (D. Mass.

1962), aff’d mem., 371 U.S. 26 (1962).

ll

their evidence concerning a just and reasonable appor-

tionment.”

Petitioners do not dispute the need for an adequate

freight car supply and better freight car utilization.

Their self interest obliges both. Obviously, the Com-

mission must consider these factors, specifically enum-

erated by the Congress in the amendment to former

section 1(6) of the Act, 49 U.S.C. § 10750, in promulgat-

ing rules and regulations relating to demurrage, But

as long as the Commission’s demurrage remittance rule

will result in a division of revenues between carriers,

the Commission also is required to adhere to the appli-

cable procedures under former section 15(6) of the

Act, 49 U.S.C. § 10705.”

The procedural requirements of 49 U.S.C. § 10705 in

_ no way conflict with agency attention to the additional

factors of section 1(6).” If there is to be a remittance

to the owning railroad of a portion of the demurrage

collected by the originating or delivering carrier, the

factors contained in section 1(6) certainly can be in-

cluded among those that must be considered by the

Commission in fixing the split of revenues between

participating lines.

Petitioners are being asked to share with the car

owners revenues they previously collected and retained

in full. The Commission’s apportionment of those rev-

'* The notice instituting the administrative proceeding proclaimed

that the $10.00 amount ‘‘appears to be more than adequate to

compensate the railroad on whose lines the foreign car is being

detained’’ (App. F, p. 93a).

© Baltimore & O.R.R. v. United States, 277 U.S. 291, 300-302

1928).

* See, e.g., ICC v. J-T Transport Co., 368 U.S. 81 (1961).

12 13

enues, on a basis predetermined by the Commission, CONCLUSION

without adherence to the procedural requirements un- eo ;

der 49 U.S.C. § 10705, will be devastating to several of The petition for a writ of certiorari should be

the petitioners and in turn impair their ability to sup- granted.

ply transportation service to the public. Respectfully submitted,

For example, petitioner Canton Railroad submitted

evidence to the Commission that it received $66,310 in Fritz R. KAHN

demurrage revenues during the first quarter of 1975. a BERNHARD

Application of the Commission’s demurrage rule would & McPHERSON

1660 L Street, N.W.

reduce its demurrage revenues to $36,532, which would | Sirite 1000

ree A = pon el “i of a. sig rm Washington, D.C. 20036

119,112, Considering that petitioner’s reported ne

income for 1975 was $68,000, the effect of the Commis- mG RaPg cell

sion’s order is ruinous. 307 4th Avenue

The court below dismissed with a cursory footnote Pittsburgh, PA 16222

(App. B, p. 17a), the havoe to be wrought upon several THomas ©. DORSEY

of the petitioners, and ignored petitioners’ right to dle ear tg N.W.

present evidence pursuant to 49 U.S.C. § 10705 regard- | re ae

ing the justness and reasonableness of the division of | Attorneys for Petitioners

revenues ordered. If, as the Commission now evidently |

believes, demurrage is to be treated as revenue to be Dated: December 1978

apportioned between several carriers, it has no choice

but to observe the procedural safeguards of 49 U.S.C.

§ 10705.

APPENDIX

a ree

_-

a = se

a

Er

la

APPENDIX A

Petitioners are:

ALIQUIPPA AND SOUTHERN RAILROAD COMPANY;

CHESTNUT RIDGE RAILWAY COMPANY; EAST ERIE

COMMERCIAL RAILROAD; EAST JERSEY RAILROAD

AND TERMINAL COMPANY ; GETTYSBURG RAILROAD

COMPANY; LAKE ERIE, FRANKLIN & CLARION RAIL-

ROAD COMPANY; McKEESPORT CONNECTING RAIL-

ROAD COMPANY; MONONGAHELA CONNECTING

RAILROAD COMPANY (THE); MORRISTOWN AND

ERIE RAILROAD COMPANY; NORTHAMPTON AND

BATH RAILROAD COMPANY ; PHILADELPHIA, BETH-

LEHEM AND NEW ENGLAND RAILROAD COMPANY ;

PITTSBURGH AND OHIO VALLEY RAILWAY COM-

PANY; PORT JERSEY RAILROAD; RAHWAY VALLEY

RAILROAD; UNION RAILROAD COMPANY; UPPER

MERION AND PLYMOUTH RAILROAD COMPANY ;

AMERICAN SHORT LINE RAILROAD ASSOCIATION ;

ABERDEEN AND ROCKFISH RAILROAD COMPANY ;

ALEXANDER RAILROAD COMPANY; APACHE RAIL-

WAY COMPANY (THE); ARCATA AND MAD RIVER

RAILROAD COMPANY (THE); ARKANSAS & LOUISI-

ANA MISSOURI RAILWAY COMPANY ; ASHLEY, DREW

& NORTHERN RAILWAY COMPANY; BELFAST &

MOOSEHEAD LAKE RAILROAD COMPANY; BELTON

RAILROAD COMPANY; BERLIN MILLS RAILWAY

COMPANY; BIRMINGHAM SOUTHERN RAILROAD

COMPANY; BROOKLYN EASTERN DISTRICT TERMI-

NAL RAILROAD; BUTTE, ANACONDA & PACIFIC

RAILWAY COMPANY ; CANTON RAILROAD COMPANY ;

CARBON COUNTY RAILWAY COMPANY; CEDAR

RAPIDS AND iOWA CITY RAILWAY COMPANY;

CENTRAL NEW YORK RAILROAD CORPORATION ;

CHATTAHOOCHEE INDUSTRIAL RAILROAD; CHAT-

TAHOOCHEE VALLEY RAILWAY COMPANY; CHI-

CAGO SHORT LINE RAILWAY COMPANY; CHICAGO,

WEST PULLMAN AND SOUTHERN RAILROAD COM-

PANY; CITY OF PRINEVILLE RAILWAY; CLARE-

MONT AND CONCORD RAILWAY COMPANY; COLO-

RADO & WYOMING RAILWAY COMPANY; COOPERS-

TOWN & CHARLOTTE VALLEY RAILWAY CORPORA-

TION; CUYAHOGA VALLEY RAILWAY COMPANY

2a

(THE) ; DANSVILLE AND MOUNT MORRIS RAILROAD

COMPANY; DARDANELLE & RUSSELLVILLE RAIL-

ROAD COMPANY; DELRAY CONNECTING RAILROAD

COMPANY; DeQUEEN AND EASTERN RAILROAD

COMPANY; DULUTH & NORTHEASTERN RAILROAD

COMPANY; EAST CAMDEN & HIGHLAND RAILROAD

COMPANY; ESCANABA AND LAKE SUPERIOR RAIL-

ROAD COMPANY; FAIRPORT, PAINESVILLE AND

EASTERN RAILWAY COMPANY; FONDA, JOHNS-

TOWN AND GLOVERSVILLE RAILROAD COMPANY;

FORE RIVER RAILROAD CORPORATION; FRANK-

FORT AND CINCINNATI RAILROAD COMPANY;

GREAT SOUTHWEST RAILROAD INCORPORATED ;

GREEN MOUNTAIN RAILROAD CORPORATION;

GREENVILLE AND NORTHERN RAILWAY COMPANY ;

IOWA TERMINAL RAILROAD COMPANY; JOHNS-

TOWN AND STONY CREEK RAILROAD COMPANY ;

KENTUCKY AND TENNESSEE RAILWAY; LACKA-

WAXEN AND STOURBRIDGE RAILROAD CORPORA-

TION; LAKE SUPERIOR & ISHPEMING RAILROAD

COMPANY; LAKE TERMINAL RAILROAD COMPANY

(THE); LAONA & NORTHERN RAILWAY COMPANY ;

LaSALLE AND BUREAU COUNTY RAILROAD COM-

PANY (THE); LAURINBURG AND SOUTHERN RAIL-

ROAD COMPANY; LONG ISLAND RAIL ROAD COM-

PANY (THE); LONGVIEW PORTLAND & NORTHERN

RAILWAY COMPANY; MANUFACTURERS’ JUNCTION

RAILWAY COMPANY ; MARINETTE, TOMAHAWK AND

WESTERN RAILROAD COMPANY; MERIDIAN & BIG-

BEE RAILROAD COMPANY; MICHIGAN NORTHERN

RAILWAY COMPANY, INC.; MIDDLETOWN AND NEW

JERSEY RAILWAY COMPANY INCORPORATED; MIN.

NEAPOLIS, NORTHFIELD AND SOUTHERN RAIL-

WAY; MINNESOTA TRANSFER RAILWAY COMPANY ;

MISSISSIPPI EXPORT RAILROAD COMPANY; MO-

DESTO AND EMPIRE TRANCTION COMPANY; MONT-

PELIER & BARRE RAILROAD COMPANY; NEVADA

NORTHERN RAILWAY COMPANY; NEWBURGH AND

SOUTH SHORE RAILWAY COMPANY (THE); NORTH

LOUISIANA & GULF RAILROAD COMPANY; OREGON

& NORTHWESTERN RAILROAD COMPANY; PEARL

RIVER VALLEY RAILROAD COMPANY; PECOS VAL-

LEY SOUTHERN RAILWAY COMPANY (THE); PORT

HURON AND DETROIT RAILROAD COMPANY; PRES.

——

3a

COTT AND NORTHWESTERN RAILROAD COMPANY

(THE); PROVIDENCE AND WORCESTER COMPANY ;

RIVER TERMINAL RAILWAY COMPANY (THE);

SABINE RIVER & NORTHERN RAILROAD COMPANY ;

SALT LAKE, GARFIELD AND WESTERN RAILWAY

COMPANY; SAND SPRINGS RAILWAY COMPANY;

SANDERSVILLE RAILROAD COMPANY; SAVANNAH

STATE DOCKS RAILROAD COMPANY; STOCKTON

TERMINAL AND EASTERN RAILROAD; TERMINAL

RAILWAY ALABAMA STATE DOCKS; TEXAS &

NORTHERN RAILWAY COMPANY; TEXAS, OKLA-

HOMA & BASTERN RAILROAD COMPANY; TEXAS

SOUTH-EASTERN RAILROAD COMPANY; TRONA

RAILWAY COMPANY; TULSA-SAPULA UNION RAIL-

WAY COMPANY; VALDOSTA SOUTHERN RAILROAD ;

VENTURA COUNTY RAILWAY COMPANY; WARREN

& SALINE RIVER RAILROAD COMPANY; WYAN-

DOTTE SOUTHERN RAILROAD COMPANY; WYAN-

DOTTE TERMINAL RAILROAD COMPANY; = and

YOUNGSTOWN AND NORTHERN RAILROAD COM-

PANY (THE).

4a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS,

THIRD CIRCUIT,

Bautimore aANp Onto Cutcaco TerminaL Rartroap ComPaNy

et al., Petitioners,

V.

Unrrep States of America and Interstate Commerce

Commission, Respondents,

Central Vermont Railway, Inc., Duluth, Winnipeg and

Pacific Railway, and the Detroit and Toledo Shore Line

Railroad Company, /ntervenors,

Burlington Northern Inc. and Union Pacific Railroad

Company, /ntervenors,

Duval Sales Corporation, International Minerals & Chem-

ical Corporation, Evans Products Company and Pullman

Leasing Company, /ntervenors,

The Texas Mexican Railway Company, /ntervenor.

Axiquippa AND SourHerN Rartroap CoMPANy

et al., Petitioners,

Vv.

Unrrep States of America and the Interstate Commerce

Commission, Respondents,

Duval Sales Corporation, International Minerals & Chem-

ical Corporation, Evans Products Company and Pullman

Leasing Company, Jntervenors,

The Texas Mexican Railway Company, Intervenor.

Nos. 77-1714, 77-1732.

Argued July 25, 1978.

Decided Sept. 6, 1978.

Before Apams, Weis and Hicatnsotnam, Circuit Judges.

a ee ee

5a

Oprnton Or THe Court

Apams, Circuit Judge

Petitioners in these consolidated cases ' request us to set

aside an order of the Interstate Commerce Commission

(ICC) entered on April 7, 1977, in Ex Parte No, 289, ‘‘Re-

mittance of Demurrage Charges by Common Carriers of

Property by Rail.” * By its order, the ICC adopted a regu-

lation requiring the remittance to freight car owners of all

demurrage charges collected by the delivering carrier that

are in excess of ten dollars per day per car.’ Specifically,

petitioners maintain that the order exceeds the statutory

power of the agency; that it is arbitrary, capricious, and

without rational basis; and that it fails to comply with the

Administrative Procedure Act (APA) * and the Interstate

Commerce Act (ICA),.°

For the reasons set forth below, we deny petitioners’ re-

quest,

‘In No. 77-1714, a petition was filed on behalf of thirty-three

railroad petitioners and four intervening railroads for review of

the ICC’s order in Ex Parte 289, In No, 77-1732, a petition for

review was filed by the 214 member railroads of the American

Short Line Railroad Association. Both petitions are brought pur-

suant to 28 U.S.C.A, §§ 2321, 2342, and 2344 (1978) to enjoin a

final order of the ICC,

* 353 1.C.C, 567 (1977) ; 42 Fed. Reg. 19146 ; 39390 (1977) (to be

codified in 49 C.F.R. § 1254.10),

*Demurrage is the charge imposed upon shippers and receivers

for the detention of freight cars beyond the allotted free time

period for loading and unloading. Traditionally, all demurrage

payments have been made to and retained by the delivering car-

riers. Under the ICC order at issue here, these payments would

be remitted by the delivering railroads to the freight car owners.

*5 U.S.C.A, § 551 et seg. (1977 & Supp. 1978).

°49 U.S.C.A. § 1 et seq. ( 1949, 1951 & Supp. 1978).

6a

T

Ae

The regulation at issue is a recent attempt by the ICC

to deal with the long-standing shortage in this country of

railroad freight cars.° The car shortage, resulting from

both an insufficient supply and an inefficient utilization of

freight cars, is an outgrowth of the present national car-

pool system. Under the system, the freight cars that are

owned by individual railroads constitute a single, common

pool, used by all rail carriers. Thus, the same loaded freight

car is transported over the lines of different connecting

carriers to the ultimate destination point. While more effi-

cient than the earlier practice of shifting freight from the

ear of one carrier to the car of another, the pool system has

at the same time made ‘¢ more advantageous economically

for railroads to utilize the freight cars of the originating

carriers than to purchase and waintain their own. The na-

tional freight car shortage is the acknowledged result.’

During the past several years, che ICC has taken a num-

ber of major actions in an attempt to ease the car shortage:

(1) it has adopted various ‘‘car service’’ rules to regulate

the placement and movement of freight cars;* (2) it has

established a uniform schedule of ‘‘per diem’’ charges,

which are those incurred daily by one railroad for the use

° See United States v. Florida E. Coast Ry. Co., 410 U.S. 224,

230-31, 93 S.Ct. 810, 35 L.Ed.2d 223 (1973); United States v.

Allegheny-Ludlum Steel Corp., 406 U.S. 742, 743-46, 92 S.Ct.

1941, 32 L.Ed.2d 453 (1972); Note, The Freight Car Shortage

and ICC Regulation, 85 Harv.L.Rev. 1583 (1972).

" See, e. g., United States v. Allegheny-Ludlum Steel Corp., 406

US. at 745-46, 92 S.Ct. 1941.

* Sec, e.g., ICC v. Oregon Pac, Indus., Inc., 420 U.S. 184, 95 S.Ct.

909, 43 L.Ed.2d 121 (1975); United States v. Allegheny-Ludlum

Steel Corp., 406 U.S, 742, 92 S.Ct. 1941, 32 L.Ed.2d 453; Reading

Co. v. Commodity Credit Corp., 289 F.2d 744 (3d Cir. 1961).

Ta

of another’s cars;* (3) it has added an ‘‘incentive’’ ele-

ment to the basic per diem rate; '® and (4) it has imposed

an increase in demurrage charges."

ox Parte No. 289, the proceeding in question here, was

instituted in October 1972, to determine whether remittance

of the penalty portion of the demurrage charges to the

carriers owning the cars would create an added incentive

for such carriers to acquire additional cars, Following no-

tice in the Federal Register**® and submission of written

statements by a number of the ninety-seven participating

parties, the ICC, on April 25, 1975, issued its Interim Re-

port.’* The Report adopted the principle of the proposed

remittance rule and reopened the proceeding for receipt of

additional evidence regarding the plan’s feasibility and

costs. Following notice of the proposed further rulemak-

ing,’® one hundred-eighteen parties submitted additional in-

formation to the ICC.

*See Union Pac. R.R. Co. v. United States, 300 F.Supp. 318

(D.Nev.1969) ; Boston & Me. R.R. v. United States, 297 F.Supp.

615 (D.Mass.), aff’d per curiam, 396 U.S. 27, 90 S.Ct. 196, 24

L.Ed.2d 142 (1969).

See United States v. Florida E. Coast Ry. Co., 410 U.S. at 224,

93 S.Ct. 810, on remand, 368 F.Supp. 1009 (M.D.Fla.1973), aff’d

mem., 417 U.S. 901, 94 S.Ct. 2595, 41 L.Ed.2d 207 (1974).

‘See General Mills, Inc. v, United States, 364 F.Supp. 1278

(D.Minn.1973).

‘® Demurrage charges consist of both penalty and compensatory

elements. See ICC v. Oregon Pac. Indus., Inc., 420 U.S. at 189-191,

95 S.Ct. 909. The latter element is that portion of the demurrage

charge which serves to compensate the railroad for the additional

per diem payments it must make to the car owner as a result of

the loading or unloading delay. The remainder of the demurrage

charge is understood as the penalty portion.

8 37 Fed. Reg. 22884 (1972).

349 I.C.C, 411 (1975).

* 40 Fed.Reg. 18797 (1975).

8a

On April 7, 1977, the ICC issued its Report and Order in

Ex Parte No. 289."° It concluded that adoption of the pro-

posed remittance rule would be beneficial to the public and

the rail industry, as well as administratively feasible. Con-

sequently, the agency directed that the rule become effec-

tive on July 6, 1977. However, the effective date was subse-

quently stayed by the ICC pending judicial review.

Il.

A.

The principal argument made in support of the petition

to set aside the order in question is that the ICC lacks a

statutory base to promulgate the demurrage remittance

rule. The ICC, in turn, contends that it does have the requi-

site authority under 49 U.S.C.A. §1(6)(Supp.1978), as

amended by the Rail Revitalization and Regulatory Reform

Act of 1976 (4R Act).""

The 4R Act added a provision to § 1(6) which states that

‘*{djemurrage charges shall be computed, and rules and

regulations relating to such charges shall be established, in

such a manner as to fulfill the national needs with respect

*° 353 1.C.C. 567 (1977).

*' Pub.L.No.94-210, § 211, 90 Stat. 31, 46 (1976). In its Interim

Report of April 1975, the Commission found that it had jurisdic-

tion under three car service provisions of the ICA, 49 U.S.C.A.

§§ 1(11), 1(14) (a), and 1(15) (1959 & Supp.1978). Subsequent to

the Report, the 4R Act was enacted, and on March 3, 1976, the

1CC solicited comments on the effect of the new legislation. In its

final Report and Order of April 1977, as well as in its brief sub-

mitted to this Court, the ICC, while continuing to assert that it

has authority to promulgate the remittance rule under the three

above-mentioned sections, relied principally upon the amended

version of § 1(6). In light of our holding that § 1(6) provides the

ICC with the necessary authority to promulgate the demurrage

remittance rule in question it is unnecessary to decide whether

jurisdiction might properly be founded upon §§ 1(11), 1(14) (a),

and 1(15) as well.

9a

to (a) freight car utilization and distribution, and (b) main-

tenance of an adequate freight car supply available for

transportation of property.” Petitioners assert that the

statutory directive that ‘‘demurrage charges shall be com-

puted’’ cannot properly be interpreted to authorize the

ICC to ‘‘divide’’ demurrage revenues between the deliver-

ing carrier and the owner of the car.

In analyzing a question of statutory construction, the

Supreme Court has said that it accords deference to the

interpretation given the statute by the officers or agency

charged with its administration. Udall v. Tallman.” While

1849 U.S.C.A. § 1(6), (Supp.1978), in full, provides :

It is made the duty of all common carriers to the provisions

of this chapter to establish, observe, and enforce just and

reasonable classifications of property for transportation, with

reference to which rates, tariffs, regulations, or practices are

or may be made or prescribed, and just and reasonable regu-

lations and practices affecting classifications, rates, or tariffs,

the issuance, form, and substance of tickets, receipts, and bills

of lading, the manner and method of presenting, marking,

packing, and delivering property for transportation, the facili-

ties for transportation, the carrying of personal, sample, and

excess baggage, and all other matters relating to or connected

with the receiving, handling, transporting, storing, and deliv-

ery of property subject to the provisions of this chapter which

may be necessary or proper to secure the safe and prompt

receipt, handling, transportation, and delivery of property

subject to the provisions of this chapter upon just and reason-

able terms, and every unjust and unreasonable classification,

regulation, and practice is prohibited and declared to be un-

lawful. Demurrage charges shall be computed, and rules and

regulations relating to such charges shall be established, in

such a manner as to fulfill the national needs with respect to

(a) freight car utilization and distribution, and (b) mainte-

nance of an adequate freight car supply available for trans-

portation of property.

1 380 U.S. 1, 16, 85 S.Ct. 792, 13 L.Ed.2d 616 (1965). Accord,

Batterton v. Francis, 432 U.S. 416, 424, 97 S.Ct. 2399, 53 L.Ed.2d

448 (1977); Lehigh & New Eng. Ry. Co. v. ICC, 540 F.2d 71, 80

10a

the agency’s interpretation is by no means controlling,”® to

sustain the ICC it is necessary only that we find its inter-

pretation to be a reasonable one.*' As Tallman recognized,

‘‘we need not find that [an agency’s] construction is the

only reasonable one or even that it is the result we would

have reached had the question arisen in the first instance

in judicial proceedings.”’ ”

Petitioners in the present situation argue that the plain

meaning of the phrase ‘‘demurrage charges shall be com-

puted”’ should control, that previous use of the term by the

ICC does not indicate an understanding that it confers

upon the agency the power to divide demurrage revenues,

and that the division of revenues is such a substantial

change from prior practice that an express authorization

by Congress to divide demurrage charges is required.

While the language of § 1(6) does not specifically author-

ize remittance to car owners, it is equally clear that the

statute does not prohibit such an arrangement. By focusing

solely upon the phrase ‘‘shall be computed’’, petitioners

tend to restrict what appears to be the rather broad au-

thorization granted to the ICC by the 1976 amendments to

§ 1(6).** Indeed, the provision not only directs the ICC to

(3d Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 1061, 97 S.Ct. 784, 50 L.Ed.

2d 776 (1977) ; Lucas Coal Co. v. Interior Bd. of Mine Operations

Appeals, 522 F.2d 581, 584 (3d Cir. 1975).

*° See Batterton v. Francis, 432 U.S. at 424, 97 S.Ct. 2399.

** See Udall v. Tallman, 380 US. at 16, 85 S.Ct. 792.

** Udall v. Tallman, 380 U.S. at 16, 85 S.Ct. at 801, quoting with

approval Unemployment Compensation Comm’n v. Aragon, 329

U.S. 143, 153, 67 S.Ct, 245, 91 L.Ed. 136 (1946).

** As this Court stated in Lehigh and New Eng. Ry. Co. v. ICC,

540 F.2d at 80, ‘‘[s]urely, the scope of the Commission’s responsi-

bilities under the Act requires a generous construction of its statu-

tory authority.’’

lla

compute demurrage charges with the purpose of enhancing

freight car supply, utilization, and distribution but also

mandates the agency to establish ‘‘rules and regulations

relating to such charges.’’

The legislative history of the 4R Act further indicates

the appropriateness of a broad reading of the amendment

to §1(6). The statute encompassing the provision was en-

acted by Congress for the general purpose of revitalizing a

sagging railroad industry.** It was the declared policy of

Congress, araong other things, to balance the needs of car-

riers, shippers, and the public; to help place the nation’s

railroads in a position competitive with that of other modes

of transportation, so as to promote more adequate and effi-

cient transportation services; and to increase the attrac-

tiveness of investing in railroads and rail-service-related

enterprises.”

One of the means of fulfilling these aims was the amend-

ment pertaining to demurrage charges. That provision,

comprising only eight lines in the 120-page statute, under-

standably did not attract much congressional comment.”

The few portions of the legislative history that deal with

the demurrage provision, however, lend support to the

ICC’s broad interpretation of §1(6).

** See Pub.L.No.94-210, § 101, 90 Stat. 31, 33 (1976) (codified at

45 U.S.C.A. § 801 (Supp. 1978) ).

*9 Td,

2° The debates on the floors of the Senate and House of Repre-

sentatives fail to offer any insight into congressional thought with

regard to the demurrage provision, for the section was never men-

tioned other than in the reading of the bill. Rather, the debates

focused on the Final System Plan and other provisions of the 4R

Act involving financial assistance by the federal government to the

railroads. See 121 Cong.Ree. 38117, 38441, 41334, 41888, 42169

(1975) ; 122 Cong.Ree. H92, $271, S741, H401 (daily eds. Jan. 20,

21 & 28, 1976).

l2a

During the initial review of the railroad reform legisla-

tion in the House of Representatives, the Committee on

Interstate and Foreign Commerce was informed of the

ICC’s pending consideration of the demurrage remittance

rule in Ex Parte No. 289, and it gave no indication of its

disapproval.” This is of special significance in light of the

Supreme Court’s holding in Zuber v. Allen * that an agen-

cy’s interpretation of the statute it is charged with imple-

menting ‘‘carries most weight when the administrators

participated in drafting and directly made known their

views to Congress in Committee hearings. .. . In such cir-

cumstances, absent any indication that Congress differed

with the responsible department, a court should resolve

any ambiguity in favor of the administrative construction,

if such construction enhances the general purposes and pol-

icies underlying the legislation.’’ * In addition, we find sub-

stantial support for the ICC’s interpretation of the demur-

rage provision in the Joint Explanatory Statements of the

Conference Committee. It declared with regard to the sec-

tion: ‘‘Other amendment made by this title: . . requires

the Commission to establish rules and regulations for the

** The Committee received a letter from ICC Acting Chairman

O’Neal with his comments on the proposed 4R Act. In his analysis

of the demurrage provision, the Acting Chairman stated:

Another proceeeding, Ex Parte No, 289, Remittance of De-

murrage Charges by Common Carriers of Property by Rail,

concerns a proposed rule requiring remittance to the car

owner by a non-owning road of all demurrage charges in

excess of $10 per day per car. The purposes of the proposals

are to create an added incentive for the car owner to acquire

additional cars and to remove any inducement to the non-

owner to encourage detention of foreign cars in order to benefit

from collection of demurrage charges.

See Report of the Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce,

H.R.Rep. No. 725, 94th Cong., Ist Sess. 240 (1975),

** 396 U.S. 168, 90 S.Ct. 314, 24 L.Ed.2d 345 (1969).

2° Td, at 192, 90 S.Ct. at 327.

13a

computation of demurrage charges so that freight car utili-

zation is maximized and car owners receive adequate com-

pensation...” *

In light of this statutory history, and the goals of the

legislation, we are unable to say that the ICC’s views that

§1(6) authorizes it to promulgate the present demurrage

remittance rule is an unreasonable one.

B.

Petitioners also contend that the order in Ex Parte No.

289, even if within the ICC’s power, must be set aside as

arbitrary and capricious and as unsupported by substantial

evidence. In this regard, petitioners assert that the appli-

cable standard of review is the one established by the APA

5 U.S.C.A. § 706 (1977), and that the ICC determination,

by failing to demonstrate a sufficient nexus between demur-

rage remittance and improved freight car utilization and

supply, cannot survive such review.

Section 706(2) requires, inter alia, that the reviewing

court hold unlawful and set aside agency action, findings,

and conclusions found to be—(A) arbitrary, capricious, an

abuse of discretion, or otherwise not in accordance with

law;... [or] (E£) unsupported by substantial evidence in

a case subject to sections 556 and 557 of this title or other-

wise reviewed on the record of an agency hearing provided

by statute ...’’" Since the present proceeding involves no-

%© Final Conference Report, S.Rep. No. 595 and H.R Rep. No.

781, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 135, reprinted in [1976] U.S.Code & Ad-

min.News, pp. 149, 150 (emphasis added). Similar statements are

found in the other committee reports which discussed the demur-

rage provision. See Conference Report, S.Rep. No. 585 and H.R.

Rep. No. 768, 94th Cong., 1st Sess. 128 (1975); Report of the

Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, H.R.Rep. No. 725,

94th Cong., Ist Sess. 73 (1975).

7d. 5 U.S.C.A. §§ 556 and 557 (1977) establish procedural

requirements for hearings mandated by §§ 553 or 554.

l4a

tice and comment rulemaking under 5 U.S.C.A. § 553

(1977), and is not one ‘‘reviewed on the record of an

agency hearing provided by statute,’’** the ‘‘substantial

evidence”’ test of § 706(2)(E) would not appear to be ap-

plicable.* As we recently stated in Ford Motor Co. v.

United States,” the basic standard of review in proceed-

ings such as this one is the ‘‘arbitrary and capricious”’

standard of § 706(2)(A).”

It is generally settled that the scope of review of agency

actions under § 706(2)(A) is narrow.” A unanimous Su-

“5 U.S.C.A. § 551 (1977) defines ‘‘rule’’ as ‘‘the whole or a

part of an agency statement of general or particular applicability

and future effect designed to implement, interpret, or prescribe

law or policy or describing the organization, procedure, or practice

requirements of an agency ... .’’ ‘‘Rulemaking’’ is defined in

that same section as ‘‘agency process for formulating, amending,

or repealing a rule.’’ Jd, Ex Parte No. 289 clearly falls within

this category of proceeding.

5 U.S.C.A. § 706(2)(E) (1977).

“ See, e.g., Weinberger v. Hynson, Westcott & D:nning, Inc.,

412 U.S. 609, 622 n. 19, 93 S.Ct. 2469, 37 L.Ed.2d 207 (1973) ;

American Iron and Steel Inst. v. EPA, 568 F.2d 284, 296 (3d Cir.

1977) ; Asphalt Roofing Mfrs. Ass’n v, ICC, 567 F.2d 994, 1002

n. 5 (D.C. Cir. 1977) ; National Nutritional Foods Ass’n v. Wein-

berger, 512 F.2d 688, 700-701 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 827,

96 S.Ct. 44, 46 L.Ed.2d 445 (1975) ; K. Davis, Administrative Law

of the Seventies, § 29.01-3 (1976).

*° 569 F.2d 196 (3d Cir. 1977), cert. denied, —— U.S, ——, 98

8.Ct, 2844, 56 L..Ed.2d 785 (1978),

8° See id. at 198. :

** See, e.g. Bowman Transp. v. Arkansas Best Freight Sys.,

419 U.S. 281, 285-86, 95 S.Ct. 438, 42 L.Ed.2d 447 (1974) ; United

States v. Allegheny-Ludlum Steel Corp., 406 U.S. at 749, 92 S.Ct.

1941; Citizens to Preserve Overton Park, Inc. v. Volpe, 401 U.S.

402, 416, 91 S.Ct. 814, 28 L.Ed.2d 136 (1971) ; Ford Motor Co. v.

United States, 569 F.2d at 198-99. Several courts of appeals, in-

cluding this one, have observed that in notice and comment rule-

making the ‘‘arbitrary and capricious’’ and ‘‘substantial evidence’’

15a

preme Court noted in United States v, Allegheny-Ludlum

Steel that ‘‘{w]le do not weigh the evidence introduced

before the Commission; we do not inquire into the wisdom

of the regulations that the Commission promulgates, and

we inquire into the soundness of the reasoning by which

the Commission reaches its conclusions only to ascertain

that the latter are rationally supported.’’*® Accordingly,

we examine the evidence and arguments offered by the ICC

in order to determine whether the demurrage remittance

rule is ‘‘rationally supported.’’

In its Interim Report and final Report and Order, the

ICC extensively discussed the arguments of both propo-

nents and opponents of the remittance rule, and concluded

that the rule would likely achieve its intended purpose of

increasing freight car supply and utilization. Its reasoning

was forthright, relying upon ‘‘the fundamental economic

proposition that a greater return on an investment will pro-

vide an increased incentive to invest in that item, whether

it be stocks, cars, or as in this case, freight cars.” *° While

criteria tend to converge. See, e. g., Synthetic Organic Chem. Mfrs.

Ass’n v. Brennan, 503 F.2d 1155, 1158 (3d Cir 1974), cert. denied,

420 U.S. 973, 95 S.Ct. 1396, 43 L.Ed.2d 653 (1975) ; Associated

Indus., Inc. v. United States Dep’t of Labor, 487 F.2d 342, 350

(2d Cir, 1973) (Friendly, J.). See generally Friendly, ‘‘ Some Kind

of Hearing’’, 123 U. of Pa.L.Rev. 1267, 1313 (1975); Pedersen,

Formal Records and Informal Rulemaking, 85 Yale L.J. 38, 46-51

(1975). Of course, an agency decision without any evidentiary

support, in the administrative record will not be upheld. The

evidence presented, however, need only establish a rational basis,

rather than substantial support, for the agency action. See Almay

Inc. v. Califano, 569 F.2d 674, 680-81 (D.C. Cir. 1978).

406 U.S. 742, 92 S.Ct, 1941, 32 L.Ed.2d 453 (1972),

3° Td. at 749, 92 S.Ct. at 1946, Accord, Ford Motor Co. v. United

States, 569 F.2d at 199.

*° 353 ICC at 589, As the ICC continued:

As demurrage regulations presently exist, the delivering

carrier, who may not own one freight car, is nevertheless

16a

admitting that return on investment would be only one of

several factors affecting a decision whether to purchase

freight cars, the ICC claimed that the rule would at least

tend to encourage such decision. Moreover, the agency con-

cluded that the remittance rule would have an affirmative

effect upon the supply of cars. Pointing to evidence ad-

duced in earlier proceedings that large sums of demurrage

charges remained uncollected by the carriers, the ICC

reasoned that the requirement of the remittance rule, which

is based on billed rather than collected demurrage charges,

would likely encourage carriers to be more rigorous in

their collection of the charges. This, the agency maintained,

would enhance the general regulatory effect of the demur-

rage system."

entitled to the entire demurrage charge even though this sum

may far exceed any costs incurred, In addition, there is no

indication that this demurrage revenue is presently being used

by the delivering road to purchase additional cars, This money

is, therefore, a bonus to a carrier who has no interest in

whether or not a car is being detained, However, the car

owner, whether private or foreign road, has its equipment

detained and unavailable for further use, and thereby loses

revenue, This is especially true of private car owners who do

not receive per diem but a mileage allowance, This remitted

amount which table 5 shows is approximately $22 for each

excess day ($11 if it is assumed that Service Order No, 1124

inflated demurrage by 50 percent), which SP estimates to be

approximately $62.50 a car annually, will be an added divi-

dend to car owners. When these figures are multiplied by the

vast number of cars in the transportation system, the rule

will certainly have a signifigant positive impact on car supply,

Id.

** 349 ICC at 435.36, The ICC elaborated as follows:

The shipper to whom the carrier delivers a car pays the

demurrage. He has control of the car and determines how

long he will hold it, One of the factors he will consider in

deciding how long to detain a car is the amount of the demur-

rage charges.

This proposal does not alter the level of demurrage charges,

It merely shifts the payment of part of these charges from one

17a

Further, the ICC carefully weighed the benefits of the

proposed rule against the claims of its opponents that de-

murrage remitiance, by reducing railroad revenues and re-

quiring additional administrative expenses, would place

undue economic burdens upon many carriers.” The ICC

group, the receiving carrier, to another, the car owner, Since

it ean make no difference to the shipper whether he pays the

charge to one party rather than another, it may appear that

the implementation of this proposal would have no impact on

ear utilization.

However, evidence collected by the Commission staff in

another proceeding suggests that this proposal may have a

positive impact on car utilization, The Commission has issued

a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking and Order in Ex Parte No,

285, Maintenance of Records Pertaining to Demurrage, Deten-

tion, and Other Related Accessorial Charges by Rail Common

Carriers of Property. In that notice and order, served August

16, 1972, we indicated that inquiries by the Commission's field

staff revealed that large sums of money resulting from de-

murrage charges remained uncollected by the carriers or that

such debts were canceled because carriers did not maintain

adequate records, Other indications that carriers do not always

collect demurrage charges appear in Demurrage Rules and

Charges, Nationwide, 340 1,C.C, 88, 92 (1971), and /neentive

Per Diem Charges—1968, 387 1.C.C, 217, 233 (1970),

When carriers do not actually collect demurrage charges,

an important economic incentive for shippers to release cars

with dispatch is lost. Under the proposal herein, the car

owner would receive part of these demurrage payments, Faced

with the necessity of paying these sums to the car owner, the

delivering carrier would have added motivation to pursue the

charges against the shippers and receivers. The incentive to

release cars would be greater and some improvement in car

utilization could reasonably be expected,

Id.

“The short-line railroads, in particular, have expressed their

strong concern about the possible detrimental impact of the remit-

tanco scheme upon their operations. Their claims, whether legiti-

mate or not, are not determinative, Rather, they are but one of

several considerations relevant to ascertaining the rationality of

18a

found that many of the projections set forth by the object-

ing carriers were based on short-term start-up expenses,

and therefore were subject to question. Thus, the agency

concluded that the benefits of the proposed rule outweighed

the burdens.*" Having reviewed the ICC’s reasoning, we are

the ICC’s rule, As a unanimous Supreme Court reasoned in a

proceeding quite similar to the present one:

It may be conceded that the immediate effect of the Com-

mission's order will be to disrupt some established practices

., and on oeeasion to cause serious inconvenience , . . If

the Commission were thrusting these regulations upon an

admittedly smoothly functioning transportation industry . . .

the rationality of its action might well be open to question,

But such is not the case,

United States v. Allegheny-Ludlum Steel, 406 U.S, at 753, 92 S.Ct.

at 1948 (upholding ear service rules requiring the return of freight

cars in the direction of the lines of the railroads owning the cars).

** 353 ICC 589-91, The ICC declared in its final report ;

In conclusion, we realize that the cost data submitted by

many of the reporting roads is inflated and that many of the

expenses are unsubstantiated. (For example, a carrier states

that it needs four additional employees but it does not indicate

how it arrived at this figure.) However, despite our reserva-

tions as to the accuracy of the cost data presented, even

taking it at face value, we are nevertheless unable to find

that the costs of administering the rule are excessive, As can

be seen from table 4, average startup expenses of $14,219 and

annual expenses of approximately $0.90 for each excess demur-

rage day are not unreasonable, unjustifiable, or unduly bur-

densome, Even if expenses were slightly higher, the evidence

of record still supports the finding that the costs of admin-

istering the rule are not prohibitive.

The record also indicates that in terms of cost-benefit, the

proposed rule is justified. Table 5 shows that the total amount

of demurrage that would have been remitted for the period

July 1 through December 31, 1973, to private and foreign car

owners by 42 roads is $40,387,455, Even if we discount the

effects of Service Order No, 1124, which inflated this figure

by an estimated 50 percent, $20,193,727 would still have been

remitted to car owners during this 6-month period, This dis-

19a

unable to say that the agency’s solution is not ‘rationally

supported,’’ “

C,

Petitioners further contend that the ICC’s order in Kix

Parte No. 289 must be set aside for failure to comply with

certain procedural requirements of the APA, 5 U.S.C.A.

§558(c) (1977), and of the ICA, 49 U.S.C.A. § 17(14) (b)

(Supp. 1978).

L.

Section 553(¢) provides in pertinent part that ‘‘[a]fter

consideration of the relevant matter presented, the agency

shall incorporate in the rules adopted a concise and general

statement of their basis and purpose.” It is the petitioners’

position that this section requires that the statement by

the agency be supported by more than conclusory asser-

tions, and that the ICC remittance rule is invalid because

of the agency’s failure to comply with this requirement.

counted amount would constitute between a $10 and $11 return

on a car owner's investment for each excess demurrage delay.

When this amount is compared to the costs of administering

the rule, it becomes evident that the costs are not so burden-

some as to outweigh the rules’s benefit in providing an incen-

tive for the purchase of additional equipment and, thereby,

in increasing car supply.

Td, at 590-91,

‘In light of the ICC’s extensive discussion of the benefits and

burdens of the demurrage remittance rule, we are also unable to

accept petitioners’ contention that the agency has failed to provide

this Court with a basis for determining whether the proposed rule

comports with the National Transportation Policy, 49 U.S.C.A,

prec, § 1 (Supp.1978), See generally A. L. Mechling Barge Lines,

Inc, v. United States, 876 U.S, 375, 84 S.Ct, 874, 11 L.Ed.2d 788

(1964); Schaffer Transp. Co. v. United States, 355 U.S, 83, 78

8.Ct, 173, 2 L.Ed.2d 117 (1957).

20u

Those courts which have considered the issue agree that

§ 553(c) is designed to facilitate meaningful judicial review

of agency action.” When engaging in such review, courts

have expressed their intention to limit their scrutiny to’

the actual reasoning set forth by the agency.” Thus, post

hoc rationalizations advanced in the course of judicial

review have been considered insufficient bases for sustain-

ing an administrative action.”

However, in recognition of the limited purpose of the

statement requirement of § 553(¢c), the provision has not

been seen as a vehicle for searching judicial oversight of

agency decision-making.” As the District of Columbia Court

of Appeals made clear in Tabor v. Joint Board for Enroll-

ment of Actuaries, the mere failure to publish the state-

ment of the rule’s basis and purpose at the same moment

as the regulations are published does not constitute a

violation of § 553(c)."° Rather, ‘‘[t]he enquiry must be

** See, e. g., Tabor v, Joint Bd, for Enrollment of Actuaries, 185

U.S.App.D.C, 40, 44-47, 566 F.2d 705, 709-12 (1977); Alabama

Ass'n of Ins, Agents v. Board of Governors of the Fed. Reserve

Sys., 533 F.2d 224 (5th Cir, 1976), amended, 558 F.2d 729 (5th

Cir, 1977), cert. denied, 435 U.S, 904, 98 S.Ct. 1448, 55 L.Bd.2d

494 (1978); National Nutritional Foods Assoc’n v, Weinberger,

512 F.2d at 701, See generally Pederson, Formal Recurds and

Informal Rulemaking, 85 Yale LJ. 38, 78-4 (1975); Note, The

Judicial Role in Defining Procedural Requirements for Agency

Rulemaking, 87 Harv.L.Rev. 782 (1974), See also Atchison, T. &

S. F. Ry, Co. v. Wichita Bd. of Trade, 412 U.S, 800, 807, 93 S.Ct.

2367, 87 L.Rd.2d 350 (1973); SEC v, Chenery Corp,, 332 U.S,

194, 196-97, 67 S.Ct, 1575, 91 L.Ed, 1995 (1947); American Iron

& Steel Inst, v. EPA, 568 F.2a at 296.7; Dry Colors Mfrs, Ass’n

Inc. v. Department of Labor, 486 F.2d 98, 104 n, 8 (8d Cir, 1973).

rn Tabor v, Joint Bd. for Enrollment of Actuaries, 566 F.2d

at \

"Td.

Id.

“566 F.2d at 711,

2la

whether the rules and statement are published close enough

together in time so that there is no doubt that the state-

ment accompanies, rather than rationalizes the rules.’’ *°

In the present situation, the ICC’s notices in the Federal

Register of the proposed further rulemaking and of the

final rule themselves satisfy the requirement of § 553(c)."'

In addition, there can be little doubt that the ICC Interim

Report as well as its final Report and Order more than

fulfill the statutory purpose of facilitating judicial review.”

2.

The contention of petitioners regarding the time require-

ments set forth in the ICA, 49 U.S.C.A. § 17(14)(b) (Supp.

1978), presents a more difficult problem, That section pro-

vides: ‘Within one year after February 5, 1976, (the date

of the enactment of this subdivision] the Commission shall

conclude or terminate, with administrative finality, any

formal investigative proceeding with respect to a common

carrier by railroad which was instituted by the Commission

on its own initiative and which has been pending before

the Commission for a period of three or more years fol-

lowing the date of the order which instituted such pro-

ceeding,’’*

Petitioners argue that the proceeding here was a ‘‘for-

mal investigative proceeding’’, that it was pending before

the ICC for a period of more than three years subsequent

to the initiation of the proceeding, and that it continued

°° 7d. at n, 14,

** See 40 Fed.Reg. 18797 (1975) ; 42 Fed.Reg, 19146 (1977).

* The Supreme Court has previously found a ‘‘comprehensive’’

ICC report to ‘‘fully comply’’ with the requirement of § 553(¢).

See United States v. Allegheny-Ludlum Steel Corp., 406 U.S. at

747, 758, 92 S.Ct. 1941, 32 L.Ed.2d 453.

8°49 U.S.C.A. §17(14)(b) (Supp.1978) (emphasis added).

22a

for more than one year after the enactment of § 17(14)(b).

They maintain that the appropriate sanction for such a

violation of the section is the setting aside or dismissal of

the proceeding. Respondents, on the other hand, answer

that the proceeding here was an informal one; that the

ICC’s Notice of Proposed Further and Amended Rule-

making and Order initiated a proceeding that was separate

from that instituted in 1972 by the ICC’s initial notice in

Ex Parte No. 289; and thus that the time limitations were

not transgressed. In any event, they insist that dismissal is

neither required nor appropriate.

Recent opinions of several courts of appeals have con-

sistently distinguished between ‘‘informal rulemaking’’

under the APA, 5 U.S.C.A. § 553 (1977), which need not be

conducted with the procedural formalities of a trial, and

‘formal rulemaking’’ under 5 U.S.C.A. §§ 556 and 557

(1977), which is required to have an evidentiary hearing.”

There is no disagreement among the parties here that Ex

Parte No. 289 comes within the former category, that of

‘*informal rulemaking.’’ Respondents seek to establish that,

—because the proceeding in question is “informal” for pur-

poses of the APA, it is also “informal” for purposes of

the ICA, 49 U.S.C.A. § 17414) (b) (Supp. 1978).

We disagree, The ICC offers no evidence or reasoning

to support the assertion that Congress, when drafting

§ 303 of the 4R Act, which amended the procedural require-

ments of the 7CA, had in mind the characterization that

several courts have given to notice and comment rulemaking

under the APA, 5 U.S.C.A, § 553. In the absence of any

evidence, such a congruence seems to us implausible. While

the purpose of the APA is to establish general procedural

** See, «. g., National Ass’n of Food Chains, Inc. v, ICC, 175

U.S.App.D.C, 346, 351, 585 F.2d 1308, 1313 (1976); Buckeye

Power, Inc. v. EPA, 481 F.2d 162, 170 (6th Cir, 1973) ; Phillips

Petroleum Co, v, FPC, 475 F.2d 842, 851 (10th Cir, 1973), cert.

denied, 414 U.S. 1146, 94 S.Ct, 901, 39 L.Ed.2d 102 (1974).

23a

guidelines for a broad range of administrative agencies,”

the ICA applies to a much narrower set of circumstances,

Thus, it is reasonable to believe that Congress, when draft-

ing the 4R Act amendments to the ICA, was thinking in

terms of the particular problems of the ICC and the rail-

road industry.”

Indeed, such an interpretation of congressional intent

is affirmatively supported by the available legislative his-

tory of §17(14)(b). Paragraph (14)(b) was added to § 17

of the ICA in 1976, as part of Congress’ broad attempt in

the 4R Act to expedite ICC procedures. Congress was

particularly concerned with the lengthy delays traditionally

accompanying railroad-related matters. Thus, in § 303(a)

of the 4R Act, 49 U.S.C.A. §17 (Supp.1978), deadlines

were established by Congress for the completion of evi-

dentiary proceedings by ICC sub-units, the submission of

initial reports to the full ICC, and the consideration and

final disposition of administrative appeals. Furthermore,

in §303(b) of the 4R Act, Congress established deadlines

for the disposition of ‘‘any formal investigative proceed-

ing with respect to a common carrier by railroad.’’ We are

unable to find any indication, either on the face of the 4R

Act or in the legislative history, that Congress intended

proceedings such as Ex Parte No. 289 to be exempt from

a statutory time requirement.”

55 See Wong Yang Sung v. McGrath, 339 U.S. 33, 70 S.Ct, 445,

94 L.Ed. 616 (1950),

°° This is evident from the text of the 4R Act itself, See Pub.L.

No.94-210, 90 Stat. 31 (1976).

** Indeed, that Congress intended § 17(14) to be applied broadly

is indicated by the congressional comments, although few in num-

ber, that were made during the drafting of the section. See, e. g.,

Final Conference Report, S.Rep.No.595 and H.R.Rep.No.781, 94th

Cong., 2d Sess. 162, U.S.Code Cong. & Admin.News 1976, p. 177:

‘*The conference substitute follows the House bill except that it

incorporates the Senate provision that . . . all proceedings insti-

24a

It is not without significance that the ICC, in its annual

reports to Congress, has consistently designated notice and

comment rulemaking proceedings such as the present one

as ‘formal proceedings’’.”° In contrast, informal proceed-

ings have included such ICC activities as applications for

temporary authority to operate a motor vehicle, applica-

tions to deviate from regular routes, and applications for

temporary authority to lease or control. It is most likely

that it was this categorization of proceedings that Congress

had in mind when drafting § 17(14) (b).

Consequently, we hold that Ex Parte No. 289 constituted

a ‘‘formal investigative proceeding’’ under the ICA, 49

U.S.C.A. §17(14)(b), and that the statute’s time require-

ments are therefore applicable.”

Nevertheless, we do not believe that the ICC’s failure

in this case to comply with the statutory deadline requires

us to dismiss the proceedings. Section 17(14)(b), applying

to proceedings initiated prior to the enactment of that

section, contains no express sanction for noncompliance

as does §17(14)(a), which pertains to ICC investigations

begun since the provision’s enactment.” This distinction

tuted by the Commission shall be concluded with administrative

finality, within 3 years after such proceeding was initiated.’’

See. e. g., 91 ICC Ann.Rep, 111 (1978); 89 ICC Ann.Rep.

101-2 (1976),

°° We decline to accept the ICC’s contention that Ex Parte No.

289 was actually two proceedings. The ICC claims that the April

1975 Notice of Proposed Further and Amended Rulemaking began

a new rulemaking proceeding which merely capitalized on the

efforts of the earlier activity. In light of the ICC’s own language

in the Interim Report and the April 1975 notice to the effect that

the reopening was simply a continuation of the earlier proceeding,

we find the ICC’s argument before us to be unconvincing.

*° 49 US.C.A, § 17(14) (a) (Supp.1978) provides: ‘‘ Any formal

investigative proceeding with respect to a common carrier by rail-

25a

in the language of the two sections indicates a desire on

the part of Congress not to place ongoing proceedings under

the same absolute time limit as proceedings instituted sub-

sequent to the enactment of the 4R Act.

Furthermore, we are unconvinced that, as an equitable

matter, injunctive relief barring enforcement of the ICC’s

order would be at all appropriate in this instance, While

§17(14)(b) evidences a congressional desire to eliminate

delay in ongoing ICC proceedings, this purpose is but one

of several that animated the 4R Act. Accordingly, it is

necessary to balance the congressional aim of eliminating

delay against the equally strong goals of revitalizing the

nation’s railroad system and alleviating the boxcar short-

age. In light of these competing purposes, and of the vast

resources that have obviously been expended in the course

of Ex Parte No. 289, to enjoin the proceeding at this

juncture would appear to be inappropriate. Furthermore,

petitioners have failed to offer any evidence that they have

been unduly prejudiced by the additional delay of two

months beyond the statutory limit.”

We therefore hold that, while the ICC has exceeded the

time limitations established by § 17(14)(b), dismissal here

is neither required nor warranted,

road which is instituted by the Commission after February 5, 1976,

shall be concluded by the Commission with administrative finality

within 3 years after the date on which such proceeding is instituted.

Any such proceeding which is not so concluded by such date shall

automatically be dismissed. ’’

*! Obviously, such a demonstration of prejudice would have been

particularly difficult for petitioners to make, since the two-month

delay beyond the statutory limit merely served to further postpone

the eventual enforcement of the order to which they object.

26a

D.

Petitioners’ final claim is that the ICC rule, by including

private car owners in the demurrage remittance scheme,”

permits the payment of unlawful rebates in violation of

49 U.S.C. §§15(15)™ and 41(1).% It is contended that

these sections will be violated by the order, since the pay-

ment by a railroad for the use of a private freight car will

exceed the owner-shipper’s cost of furnishing the car, and

since the receiving carrier will in effect be paying an allow-

ance which will not be published in its tariffs for the use

of a car.

We have given careful consideration to these arguments

and conclude that petitioners have misconstrued the pur-

poses of §15(15) and §41(1), as well as the concept of

demurrage. Sections 15(15) and 41(1) were designed to

ensure reasonable and nondiscriminatory rates and charges,

and to prevent any type of departure from published trans-

*? In its final Report and Order, the ICC reasoned that: ‘‘An

increasing percentage of the Nation’s carrier fleet is owned by

private interests. The evidence shows that between 1972 and 1974

private car owners and shippers added 35,711 cars to the transpor-

tation system. These investors should receive a fair return on their

investment as well as carriers.’’ 353 1.C.C, at 594.

"49 U.S.C.A. §16(15) (Supp.1978) provides: ‘‘If the owner

of property transported . . . directly or indirectly renders any

service connected with such transportation, or furnishes any instru-

mentality used therein, the charge and allowance therefor shall be

published in tariffs . . . and shall be no more than is just and

reasonable and the Commission may . . , determine what is a

reasonable charge as the maximum to be paid... .”’

49 U.S.C.A, §41(1) (Supp.1978) makes it unlawful ‘‘to offer,

grant, or give, or to solicit, accept, or receive any rebate, concession,

or discrimination in respect to the transportation of any property

. whereby any such property shall by any device whatever be

transported at a less rate than that named in the tariffs published

and filed by such carrier . . . or whereby any other advantage is

given or discrimination is practiced.’’

27a

portation rates.** In contrast, the essential nature of de-

murrage is that of a car service regulation.*”° Consequently,

we do not believe that a demurrage charge can properly

be understood as a ‘‘rate’’ under § 41(1), or as a ‘‘charge’’

as that term is used in § 15(15). Unlike the use of the terms

in those provisions,”’ demurrage remittance relates not to

rail carriers’ property, but to excessive delay caused by the

shipper or receiver in the loading or unloading of freight

cars. Furthermore, it is neither a ‘‘charge and allowance’’

paid by the railroads for use of freight cars nor a reduction

of the railroads’ rates for owner-shippers. Rather, demur-

rage is a cost imposed upon the receiver, the penalty por-

tion of which will be transmitted to the owner by the

delivering carrier.

As Judge Prettyman observed in his oft-quoted opinion

in Iversen v. United States:

[D]emurrage charges are in part compensation and in

part penalty; ... in full character they are neither,

not being rates as that term is used in connection with

rate-making, nor penalties as that term is used in

respect to penal impositions. They are sui generis.

Historically, textually, in purpose and in content, they

are an integral part of the established rules and regu-

lations relating to the use and movement of cars. From

the beginning they have been sustained as rules and

* See United States v. Braverman, 373 U.S, 405, 406, 83 S.Ct.

1370, 10 L.Ed.2d 444 (1963) (unanimous) ; Zl Dorado Oil Works

v. United States, 328 U.S, 12, 66 S.Ct. 843, 90 L.Ed, 1053 (1945).

* See ICC v. Oregon Pac. Indus., Inc., 420 U.S, 184, 190, S.Ct.

909, 43 L.Ed.2d 121 (1975) (unanimous),

*’ See notes 64 and 65 supra.

**63 F.Supp, 1001 (D.D.C,.1946), aff’d mem., 327 U.S. 767, 66

S.Ct. 825, 90 L.Ed, 998 (1946),

28a

regulations. They could not have been sustained as

carrier charges or as penalties.”

* Jd, at 1005, cited with approval in ICC v. Oregon Pac, Indus.,

Inc., 420 U.S, at 190 n. 7, 95 S.Ct, 909, 913 (emphasis added).

In reaching this conclusion, Judge Prettyman relied in part on

the opinion of the Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals in Norfolk

& W. R. Co. v. Adams, Clement & Co., 90 Va. 393, 18 S.E, 673

(1894), His discussion of that case is of particular relevance to the

present proceeding:

In 1894 the Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals considered

the validity of a demurrage charge in view of a state statute

which forbade a railroad to charge any fee or commission

‘‘other than the regular transportation fees, storage, and

other charges authorized by law.’’ The official report of the

matter says:

‘‘The company had made a rule, of which plaintiffs had

notice, that a charge of $1 per car per day would be made

for every detention of a car for the purpose of loading or

unloading beyond seventy-two hours from the time that the

ear was placed at the disposal of the shipper or consignees,

as the case might be.’’

The court said:

‘It [the demurrage charge] is neither a transportation

charge, nor a storage charge, nor a terminal charge, nor a

subterfuge for adding to the cost of transportation in excess

of the rates preseribed.’’

The court sustained the charge on the ground that after

allowance of a reasonable time for unloading, the railroad

‘‘ean make reasonable rules and regulations and charges for

such service as bailee, as it may see fit,’’ and said, ‘‘Such

charges are not carrier charges in the meaning, intendment,

or prescription of the statute,’’

Thus, the original support for the right of a railroad to

impose a demurrage charge was that such charge constituted

a reasonable rule and regulation in respect to the use of the

ear, the purpose being to prevent delay in loading and un-

loading.

Iversen v. United States, 63 F.Supp. at 1003-4,

29a

As a result, we are unable to say that the inclusion of

private car owners in the ICC’s demurrage remittance

order is a violation of the ICA.

III,

For the reasons herein set forth, the petition to set aside

the order of the ICC in Ex Parte No. 289 will be denied.

30a

On Petitions ror Review or AN ORDER OF THE

INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION

(Ex Parte No, 289)

Nos. 77-1714 and 77-1732

Present: Apams, Weis and Hicornsornam, Circuit Judges

JUDGMENT

These causes came on to be heard on the record from

the Interstate Commerce Commission and were argued by

counsel on July 25, 1978.

On consideration whereof, it is now here ordered and

adjudged by this Court that the petitions for review from

the order of the said Interstate Commerce Commission

are hereby denied and the order of the said Commission

filed April 7, 1977, be and hereby is affirmed. Costs taxed

against petitioners.

ATTEST:

/38/ M. ExvizasetH Fercuson

M. Elizabeth Ferguson

Acting Clerk

September 6, 1978

3la

APPENDIX C

Served April 7, 1977

INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION

Ex Parte No. 289

REMITTANCE OF DEMURRAGE CHARGES BY

COMMON CARRIERS OF PROPERTY BY RAIL

Decided March 18, 1977

Upon investigation, proposed regulation requiring remittance to the

freight car owner by a nonowning railroad, on whose lines a car

is being detained under demurrage, of all demurrage charges

collected in excess of $10 per car per day, modified in certain

respects, and adopted. Appropriate order entered.

Curtis H. Berg, W. Donald Boe, Jr., and William R.

Power for carrier proponents.

C. W. Bath, Oliver Callson, T. A. Ellaby, James F.

Fox, H. Richard George, James J. Irlandi, James E., Is-

bell, Jr., A. E. Leitherer, J. W. McDermond, Thomas F.

McFarland, Jr., Robert P. Post, Jon R. Roy, Larry G.

Smethers, Harold E. Spencer, A. T. Walter and George

William Wright for private car owner or lessee pro-

ponents.

Robert C. Binn, Emried D, Cole, Jr., Donald E. Cross,

Robert S. Davis, Samuel P. Delisi, Thomas C. Dorsey,

Louis T. Duerinck, Richard 8S. M. Emrich III, James L.

Howe III, Peter J. Hunter, Jr., Harvey Huston, C. H.

Johns, Howard D. Koontz, Albert W. Laisy, Richard D.

Lalane, Patrick McEligot, Richard J .Murphy, Joseph J.

32a

Nagle, R. R. Pumphrey, T. J. Siegel, John McDonald

Smith, T. M. von Sprecken, Jr., R. H. Stahlheber, Sidney

Weinberg, and Kinga M, LaChapelle for carrier opponents.

Barry Chasnoff, John Hart Ely, and William A. Kutzke

for United States Department of Transportation, oppo-

nent.

Report AND OrDER OF THE COMMISSION ON FURTHER

HEARING

O'NEAL, Commissioner:

This proceeding was instituted by notice of proposed

rulemaking and order of October 12, 1972. (Notice was

published in the Federal Register on October 26, 1972,

Vol. 37, p. 22884.) Therein, adoption of a proposed rule

was set forth for consideration. The proposed rule would

require that: “The non-owning railroad on whose line a

car is being detained under demurrage, shall remit to the

railroad car owner all demurrage charges collected in ex-

cess of $10 per day.” All common carriers of property by

railroad subject to the Interstate Commerce Act (the act)

were made respondents. They along with all other inter-

ested parties were invited to submit written statements of

facts and arguments. In response to these representations

an interim report of the Commission (349 I.C.C. 411), en-

tered March 28, 1975, and served April 25, 1975, was is-

sued, In the interim report, certain procedural matters

were initially resolved. We held that the Commission had

jurisdiction to allocate demurrage revenues under sections

1(11), 1(14)(a), and 1(15), and that no oral hearing was

required in this proceeding. Also, in discussing the merits

of the proposed rule, we concluded in the interim report

that its adoption was warranted in principle. Car utiliza-

tion would be improved and the greater return on the car

owner’s investment, which would result from our adoption

of the proposed rule, would increase the incentive to in-

vest in freight cars and thereby improve car supply. We

ae et ee

33a

also determined that private car owner participation in

the rule was also supported by these same principles of

car utilization and supply. However, because of the lack

of evidence on the cost and administrative aspects of the

rule, the proceeding was reopened for the receipt of fur.

ther evidence on its feasibility and implementation. Par-

ticipants were asked to submit specific information con-

cerning present demurrage records and the modification

and additional expenses which would be incurred by the

implementation of the proposed rule. Nineteen guideline

questions were provided to aid participants in the presen-

tation of the requested material. The notice of amended

rulemaking proceeding was published in the Federal Reg-

ister, April 30, 1975 (Vol. 40, No. 84, p. 18797).

One hundred and eighteen parties including 101 rail car-

riers or carrier organizations submitted evidence on the

merits, feasibility, and implementation of the rule.

Twenty-six’ initial and thirteen reply statements were

filed. Most carriers submitted their information through

the Association of American Railroads or the American

Short Line Railroad Association, A few other parties

consolidated their views.

As in the interim report, we will group participants

according to their major viewpoints. They are (1) carrier

* Petitions for leave to intervene filed by Duval Sales Corpora-

tion, Evans Products Company, and International Minerals and

Chemica! Corporation jointly, and Pullman Transport Leasing

Company separately, were granted by orders entered September

24, 1975. The petition for leave to intervene filed by FMC Cor-

poration was granted by order entered November 28, 1975. By

order entered August 10, 1976, the initial statements of the Dela-

ware and Hudson Railway Co. (D&H) and the Detroit Terminal

Railroad Company were striken for failure to serve a copy of these

statements on all parties of rerord. D&H’s statement was subse-

quently admitted by order entered March ji, 1977.

34a

proponents,’ (2) private car proponents,’ and (3) pro-

ponents who consist mainly of carrier and carrier orga-

nizations.*

All evidence and arguments not mentioned have been

considered and given due weight. Discussion of many of

the various examples given in support of argument has

been omitted since its inclusion would unduly lengthen

this report. Similar arguments of the various participants

will be discussed together to simplify discussion of the

various positions.

Before discussing the merits, costs, and feasibility of

the implementation of the proposed rule, we will consider

what effect, if any, the amendment of section 1(16) of the

* Burlington Northern, Ine., and Union Pacifie Railroad Com-

pany.

* Archer Daniels Midland Company; Allied Mills, Ine.; Bay

State Milling Company; Cargill, Incorporated; Duval Sales Cor-

poration; Evans Products Company; IMC Corporation; Garvey,

Ine.; General American Transportation Company; General Mills;

Hercules, Incorporated ; International Minerals and Chemica] Cor-

poration; International Multifoods Corporation ; Peavey Company ;

The Pillsbury Company; Pullman Transport Leasing Company ;

and Swift Edible Oil Company and Swift Fresh Meats Company

—Division of Swift and Company.

*American Short Line Rail’ Association; Association of

American Railroads; Robert W. Meserve and Benjamin H. Lacy,

Trustees of Property of Boston and Maine Corporation, Debtor;

Cedar Rapids and Iowa City Railway Company; Chicago, Mil-

waukee, St. Paul and Pacific Railroad Company; Elgin, Joilet and

Bastern Railway Company ; Florida East Coast Railway Company ;

Illinois Central Gulf Railroad Company; Robert OC. Haldeman,

Trustee of Property of Lehigh Valley Railroad Company; Louis-

ville and Nashville Railroad Company; Mississippi Export Rail-

road Company; Norfolk and Western Railway Company; Robert

W. Blanchette, Richard C. Bond, John H, McArthur, Trustees of

Property of Penn Central Transportation Company, Debtor (now

a part of ConRail) ; and Delaware and Hudson Railway Company.

35a

Interstate Commerce Act by the Railroad Revitalization

and Regulatory Reform Act of 1976 (4RA) has on the

Commission’s jurisdiction in this proceeding. Except for

the jurisdictional issue, we will set out our discussion and

conclusions of the participants’ contentions after the pre-

sentation of all the arguments and evidence,

JURISDICTION

Jurisdiction.—Section 1(6) was amended by the 4RA as

follows:

Demurrage charges shall be computed, and rules

and regulations relating to such charges shall be es-

tablished, in such a manner as to fulfill the national

needs with respect to (a) freight car utilization and

distribution, and (b) maintenance of an adequate

freight car supply available for transportation of

property.

By order dated February 27, 1976, the Commission noted

that the amendment of section 1(6) appeared consistent

with the announced purposes of this proceeding, and soli-

cited comments on the effect of the amendment. Wighteen

statements in response were submitted.°

®’ American Short Line Railroad Association; Archer Daniels

Midland Company; Association of American Railroads; Bay State

Milling Company; Burlington Northern, Inc.; Cedar Rapids and

Iowa City Railway Company; Duval Sales Corporation; Evans

Products Company; Exxon Company, U.S.A.; Farmland Indus-

tries, Inc.; Florida East Coast Railway Company; FMC Corpora-

tion; General Mills; Grain Divisions/Cook Industries; Interna-

tional Minerals and Chemical Corporation; International Multi-

foods Corporation ; Mississippi Export Railroad Company ; Missouri

Pacific Railroad Company ; Peavey Company; Penn Central Trans-

portation Company; The Pillsbury Company; Pullman Transport

Leasing Company; U.S. Department of Transportation; and the

Union Pacific Railroad Company.

36a

The parties principally discuss whether the recent

amendment conferred, confirmed, or refuted the Commis:

sion’s jurisdiction to establish the proposed rules. Carrier

opponents generally argue that the Commission did not

have jurisdiction before section 1(6) was amended and

that jurisdiction was not conferred by the recent amend-

ment. Counter arguinents by carrier and private car

owner proponents, however, state that the amendment con-

firms the Commission’s authority to promulgate the pro-

posed rule.

Carrier opponents.—Opponents to the rule argue that

the stated purposes of the amendment are defeated by the

proposed remittance scheme, which is said to be governed

by principles of equity, not of car utilization and distri-

bution, or of an adequate supply. They argue that no

evidence has been presented to establish that the proposal

will cause car owners to purchase additional, or shippers

to release equipment expeditiously. In fact, the rule is

argued to have the opposite effect since nonowning car-

riers will have less motivation to collect demurrage

charges for the reason that they will be remitting the ex-

cess amount to car owners; and shippers detaining their

own equipment, it is further argued, will have less incen-

tive to release cars quickly because demurrage in excess

of $10 will be remitted to them. (Further elaboration of

these points will be given in the discussion of car utiliza-

tion infra.) It is also contended that since the amendment

merely authorizes the Commission to regulate the “level”

of demurrage charges, it does not confer power to divide

the charges—as is being done in this processding.

Still another argument is that the Commission is trying

to combine unlawfully the two powers conferred by the

amendments to sections 1(6) and 1(14)(a) of the act; the

power to compensate an owner for the use of its cars and

37a

the power to regulate the use of cars." Section 1(14) (a)

of the act was amended to encourage the purchase, ac-

quisition, and efficient utilization of freight cars. In estab-

® Sec. 1(14) (a):

(14)(a) It is the intent of the Congress to encourage the

purchase, acquisition, and efficient utilization of freight cars.

In order to carry out such intent, the Commission may, upon

complaint of an interested party or upon its own initiative

without complaint, and after notice and an opportunity for a

hearing, establish reasonable rules, regulations, and practices

with respect to car service by common carriers by railroad

subject to this part, including (i) the compensation to be paid

for the use of any locomotive, freight car, or other vehicle, (ii)

the other terms of any contract, agreement, or arrangement

for the use of any locomotive or other vehicle not owned by

the carrier by which it is used (and whether or not owned by

another carrier, shipper, or third party), and (iii) the penal-

ties or other sanctions for nonobservance of such rate, regula-

tions, or practices. In determining the rates of compensation

to be paid for each type of freight car, the Commission shall

give consideration to the transportation use of each type of

freight car, to the national level of ownership of each such

type of freight car, and to other factors affecting the adequacy

of the national freight ear supply. Such compensation shall

be fixed on the basis of the elements of ownership expense

involved in owning and maintaining each such type of freight

ear, including a fair return on the cost of such type of

freight car (giving due consideration to current costs of ecapi-

tal, repairs, materials, parts, and labor), Such compensation

may be increased by any incentive element which will, in the

judgment of the Commission, provide just and reasonable

compensation to freight car owners, contribute to sound car

service practices (including efficient utilization and distribution

of cars), and encourage the acquisition and maintenance of a

ear supply adequate to meet the needs of commerce and the

national defense. The Commission shal] not make any incentive

element applicable to any type of freight car if the Commis-

sion finds that the supply of such type of freight car is ade-

quate. The Commission may exempt such incentive element

from the compensation to be paid by any carrier or group

of carriers if the Commission finds that such an exemption is

in the national interest.

38a

lishing rules and regulations (after oral hearing) for the

compensation to be paid a car owner, the Commission was

directed to consider whether there is just and reasonable

compensation to the owner, and whether it will contribute

to sound ear practices and encourage the acquisition and

maintenance of car supply. This, it is argued, has not

been done in this proceeding. Therefore, the Commission

has no jurisdiction under section 1(14)(a), and cannot

combine this section’s compensatory element with the de-

murrage provisions of section 1(6).

Private car and carrier proponents.—Proponents, on the

other hand, contend that the legislative history of the

amendment to section 1(6) supports the Commission’s ju-

risdiction. In this regard, it is pointed out that the House

Committee and Senate Report indicates that section 1(6),

as amended, “requires the Commission to establish rules

and regulations for the computation of demurrage charges

so that freight car utilization is maximized and car own-

ers receive adequate compensation.” Final Conference Re-

port, S. Rep. 94-595 and H.R. 94-781, 94th Cong., 2d Sess.

135 (1976). In addition, proponents contend that the “na-

tional needs” for maintenance of an adequate freight car

supply are not being met under the traditional demurrage

system because lines which do not invest in cars are being

rewarded at the expense of actual investors. However, if

demurrage charges are paid in part to car owners, such

charges will increase the car owner’s return on its invest-

ment and will thereby be an added incentive to purchase

additional cars, This proponents stress, will help maintain

an adequate freight car supply.

The U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) con-

tends that one of the goals of Congress in enacting the

4RA was to encourage the purchase, availability, and effi-

cient utilization of cars. This is reflected in the amend-

ments to section 1(6) and 1(14) of the act, which the DOT

argues, requires a complete reassessment by the Commis-

39a

sion of all rules governing freight car acquisition, main

tenance, distribution and utilization. It is submitted that

this proceeding is too narrow and does not adequately

deal with these concerns. Proponents, therefore, recom-

mend that this proceeding be suspended and a broad in

vestigation of the best methods to assure sufficient avail-

ability and utilization of freight cars be instituted.’

Conclusions.—The legislative history of the amendment

to section 1(6) of the act and the wording of the section

itself establishes the Commission’s jurisdiction to remit

excess demurrage charges to car owners to provide them

with adequate compensation for the use of their cars, The

Joint Explanatory Statement of the Committee of Con-

ference, Report 94-768, p. 128, 94th Cong., Ist Sess. (1975),

states that:

The house Amendment requires that rules and regu-

lations be established for the computation of demur-

rage charges so that freight car utilization was maxi-

mized,

Conference Substitute

The conference substitute follows the House amend-

ment, but insures the Commission will consider the

transportation use [sic] the car and provide a fair

return on investment in freight cars.

Further evidence is presented that the legislature indi-

cated that charges contain a compensatory element. In the

Joint Explanatory Statements of the Committee of Con-

ference, Report 94-781, p. 142, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. (1976),

"The Union Pacific Railroad Company filed a response to the

DO's statement, referring to it as a motion to suspend the instant

proceeding. The statement is in the form of a recommendation, is

not separately titled as a motion, and, therefore, will not be con-

idered as a motion but as a request or recommendation.

40a

two different breakdowns for sections 1(6) and 1(14) (a)

indicate that demurrasje charges can be used to compen-

sate owners of cars as well as per diem charges. The re-

port states that the proposed legislation:

(13 requires the Commission to establish rules and

regulations for the computation of demurrage charges

so that freight car utilization is maximized and car

owners receive adequate compensation ;

(14) reforms existing law with respect to compen-

sation when one carrier pays for the use of a freight

car owned by another carrier; * * *

Specific mention of this proceeding is also made in the

Report of the Committee on Interstate and Foreign Com-

merce, Report No. 94-725, p. 241, 94th Cong., 1st Sess.

(1975). In discussing the Commission’s continuing activi-

ties in the area of demurrage, it stated that:

The purposes of the proposals are to create an added

incentive for the car owner to acquire additional cars

and remove any inducement to the nonowner to en-

courage detention of foreign cars in order to benefit

from collection of demurrage charges.

Thus, the legislative history of section 1(6) clearly in-

dicates that the Commission is not restricted to section

1(14)(«) of the act in providing an incentive for car own-

ers to acquire additional cars. The amendment provides

another basis of jurisdiction in addition to the Commis-

sion’s car service authority discussed in the interim re-

port (349 I.C.C. 411.415). Freight car supply will be fos-

tered under the rule as investors receive a greater return

on their investment, which will be an added incentive for

the purchase of additional cars. As more fully elaborated

in the Discussion and Conclusions hereinafter, the pro-

posed rule clearly will fulfill the purposes of section 1(6)

by meeting the Nation’s needs for the maintenance of an

4la

adequate freight car supply. Therefore, we find that the

Commission has jurisdiction to promulgate the proposed

rule.

In regard to the request of the DOT to suspend this

proceeding in favor of a broader investigation, any fur-

ther delay in the ultimate determination of this proceed-

ing would only complicate and postpone the Commission’s

efforts to alleviate car shortages. The request will, there-

fore, be denied.

ADMINISTRATIVE Costs OF IMPLEMENTATION

Private car and carrier proponents.—Carrier and pri-

vate car proponents argue that the railroads presently

require sufficient recordkeeping data to institute the pro.

posed new demurrage remittance scheme with minimal

expense, Proponents point out that railroads presently

keep accurate demurrage records showing car ownership

and number, constructive placement date, actual place-

ment date, date of release, amount of demurrage, et ce-

tera. Accordingly, they conclude that the only additional

burden that will be placed on the delivering road is the

computation of the arbitrary or excess demurrage

charges.

Some private car proponents feel that opponents to the

rule have exaggerated the administrative startup and an-

nual costs of the remittance to include installation of new

computer systems and other extraneous expenses which

would be incurred even without the adoption of the rule.

They argue that railroads could use demurrage bureaus

and other associations to handle the administrative and

recordkeeping functions and provide the necessary audit-

ing safeguards, which exist in the present system. Costs

would, therefore, be ininimized. No direct evidence of the

costs of the proposed rule was provided by private car

proponents, as this information was thought to be within

the knowledge of the carriers,

42a

It is also pointed out by private car proponents that

the extension of the rule to private car owners will not

result in excessive administrative costs. Tariffs presently

provide for the payment of mileage allowances to private

car owners on tank ears and nontank cars. Railroads also

keep accurate records of the movement of private cars

over their lines; data is gathered and consolidated; and

payments are made on a “fleet” basis to the private car own-

ers. Therefore, a framework for the proposed rule is said

to exist already.

The two carrier proponents, the Burlington Northern

(BN) and the Union Pacific Railroad Company (UP),

submitted data on the costs of implementing the rule on

an individual basis, They used the last 6 months of 1973

as their study period, They state that the present record-

keeping system can provide the necessary information,

although an expanded computer printout to display the

required data would be needed by the BN and the UP

would have to modify its average-agreement forms, Start-

up expenses for BN would be $2,500, and for UP startup

would be $1,950. Annual expenses thereafter would be

$48,180 for the BN and $16,000 for the UP, for additional

personnel,

Carrier opponents.—The Association of American Rail-

rouds (AAR) * estimates that the annual costs of adminis-

tering the rule will range between $1.5 and $2 million. It

submits an estimated startup and annual cost for 89 rail-

roads which total approximately $500,000 for the former

costs and over $1.5 million in annual administrative ex-

penses, These additional costs are based on the projected

need for additional employees (auditors, clerks, and su-

* The AAR represents all its members except the BN, UP, Denver

& Rio Grande Western Railroad Company, and Pittsburgh & Lake

Erie Railroad.

43a

pervisors), forms, travel, and computer expenses, Some

of the carriers indicate that the methodology needed to

implement the rule was used in preparing the cost data

presented to the Commission. The following table shows

the costs for 12 selected railroads (including the 2 carrier

proponents, the UP and BN).

TABLE 1

Estimated startup and annual costs

Carrier Startup Annual

Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway

CMON Srvc scessnccewioters scenes $ 4,350 $ 48,070

Burlington Northern, Inc. ........+0006+ 2,500 48,180

Chicago and North Western Transportation

COI Sic ccccccccesssepnessvepens 17,200 99,063

Cheasie System .....cccccccvrccscedeves 31,184 208,366

Florida East Coast Railway Company .... 500 10,000

Illinois Central Gulf Railroad Company .. 135,000 133,200

Missouri Pacific Railroad ...........006 7,484 80,834

Norfolk and Western Railway Company .. 6,500 110,954

Penn Central Transportation Company’ .. 717,945 332,713

Southern Railway System Lines? ........ das 224,000

Southern Pacific Transportation Company . 7,512 46,500

Union Pacific Railroad Company ........ 1,950 16,000

’ Now a part of ConRail.

* Costs without using a demurrage bureau.

Cost data was also presented by three demurrage bu-

reaus. The bureaus believe that the costs of administering

the rule would be lower if necessary accounting and audit-

ing functions were done on a group basis as is presently

done on a large portion of churges for demurrage, deten-

tion storage, and average agreements, While, additional

expenses will still be incurred in implementing the rule

(for personnel, forms, travel, and computer expenses), on

44a

a group basis these costs will assertedly be less than if

each railroad performed the functions individually. The

foreseeable costs which would be prorated among the bu-

reau members are estimated as follows:

TABLE 2

Costs of demurrage bureaus

Bureau Startup Annual

Pacifie Car Demurrage Bureau

(for 34 member railroads) ............. $12,129 *$ 87,129

Southeastern Demurrage and Storage Bureau

(for 58 member railroads) ............. 15,032 208,392

Demurrage, Western Weighing and Inspection

Bureau (for 91 member railroads) ..... Pees 397,464

‘This represents costs for new forms which it appears would be

used throughout the year, and, therefore, is not an accurate startup

cost,

* The annual estimated cost will be $110,000 more if the bureau

polices the rule where there are no regional] bureaus certifying the

amount,

Only three railroads, the Chessie System, Penn Central

Transportation Company (PC) (now a part of ConRail),

and Southern Pacific Transportation Company (SP), spe-

cifically indicate that their costs include the amounts to be

paid the demurrage bureaus.’ Therefore, it is unclear

whether the costs submitted by the other individual rail-

roads are costs which (1) would be incurred if the demur-

*The Pacific Car Demurrage Bureau, and nine Demurrage,

Western Weighing aud Inspection Bureau members’ costs were

their allocable portion of the demurrage bureau costs. The 21 mem-

bers of the Southeastern Demurrage Bureau did not present indi-

vidual prorated costs, only the total costs to the bureau of all its

members.

45a

rage bureaus were not utilized, (2) would be incurred in

addition to the costs reported by the demurrage bureaus,

or (3) inelude individual costs and costs payable to the

demurrage bureaus.

To obtain an indication of the administrative costs if

demurrage bureaus were utilized, we took the number of

excess demurrage days presented by the Pacifie Car De-

murrage Bureau’s members and divided that by the pro-

rated costs to the members.” The startup and annual cost

for each excess day is $0.035 and $0.2514 respectively.

The American Short Line Railroad Association

(ASLRA), utilized cost data submitted by 46 member

lines" to project the costs of administering the rule for

its 214 member lines. The expenses based on a per-car-

handled basis (which includes all revenue cars handled

and not just arbitrary cars) are as follows:

©The bureau submitted the prorated costs to the individual

roads so that we could compute the charges for each excess day.

It was the only bureau to provide us with this breakdown. The

startup cost is not totally accurate as it represents the cost of new

forms which would be used throughout the year. The startup and

annual costs per excess day represents the costs prorated over

the annualized excess days.

1 One member of the ASLRA study group is the Cedar Rapids

and Iowa City Railway Company (CRANDIC) which also sub-

mitted data to the AAR. There could be other overlaps in the

ASLRA’s projection of costs to its total membership if demurrage

bureaus have also submitted costs for the same road, However,

from the evidence presented, we are unable to calculate the fre-

quency of this double reporting. The ASLRA study group in-

cluded 27 members in the eastern territory, 7 in the southern

territory, 2 in the western territory, and 3 in the Mountain Pacific

territory.

46a

TABLE 3

Additional administrative expenses of rule for

A.S.L.R.A. membership

Total cars Expenses Total

Railroads handled per car expenses

Class I Switching and Terminal 3,687,518 $0.035 $129,063

Class II Switching and Terminal 995,944 081 80,671

Class I Line-haul ............ 1,508,202 0115 173,443

Class II Line-haul ............ 1,703,935 0115 195,953

, | ee re 7,895,599 ees 579,130

These figures are based on data submitted by the study

group for the time and cost of preparing the administra-

tive study (which was done on a manual basis). These

costs do not include the auditing, claims, or overhead ex-

penses associated with the proposed rule. ASLRA states

that if these expenses were added to the above figures, the

total expenses woud be $1 million annually. It is argued

that such an increase in administrative costs is a needless

and unjustified waste of carrier revenues.

The rule can either be implemented by the reporting

roads on a manual or computer basis, or the administra-

tive functions could be turned over to demurrage bureaus

or other carrier associations. Costs would vary accord-

ingly. Assessments of individual implementation of the

rule are provided by the Chicago, Milwaukee, and St. Paul

and Pacific Railroad (CMSP) and the Chicago and North

Western (CNW). Assessments of demurrage bureau im-

plementation are provided by the Pacific Car Demurrage

Bureau (PCDB) and Southeastern Demurrage Bureau

(CFDSB),

* The expenses are based on averaged data from the first quarter

of 1975 for the 46 roads in the ASlra’s study group. These costs

were projected to the entire membership by multiplying the num-

ber of cars handled in 1974 for each class and type.

47a

The CMSP states that if the proposed rule were put

into effect, it would have to develop an entirely new sys-

tem for accumulating demurrage records. This would

mean converting its present manual method into a com-

puterized system. Such a changeover would entail new

forms, converting present records into machine-process-

able records, and computer programming. After these

initial startup programs (amounting to $142,800), CMSP

also indicates it would incur $714,350 annually in adminis-

tering the rule. This figure is based on the costs of 5 key-

punch operators, 1.52 full-time computer programmers, 15

auditors and 3 supervisors. The startup and annual costs

for CMSP for each excess demurrage day are $1.0893 and

$5.4493, respectively.

The CNW indicates that it would implement the rule

on a manual basis, as is presently done with its demurrage

records. Employees would record the car initial and num-

ber, name of ear owner, station accounting number and

name, miscellaneous bill date and number, number of ex-

cess demurrage days, and amount of refund to car owner.

It would also maintain a list of payments made at sta-

tions, which would be verified against billings. After veri-

fications are made, cars would be drawn off listings and

classified by car owners for payment. The startup and

annual costs for each excess day are $0.1028 and $0.5921,

respectively, for CNW.

The PCDB presently receives from its members a

monthly copy of demurrage records covering all cars re-

ported. These reports are reviewed for possible under-

and overcharges, and claims are handled by the Bureau.

Under the rule it would also determine the amounts due

from other railroads and certify that the proper remit-

tance was made between carrier member and other rail-

roads. It anticipates that if the rule goes into effect, it

would need six additional clerks to analyze each demur-

rage record for possible remittance to car owners, and

48a

for further review if claims are presented and adjust-

ments made, A separate filing and posting system would

also be needed, a number of forms would have to be re-

vised, and several new six-part forms printed to cover

remittance and record of cars to car owners.

The SEDSB reviews records to determine charges ex-

ceeding the value of $10 per car per day, identify car

owners, car initial and number, station, date of demur-

rage or detention bill, and amount due. On average agree-

ments, it will require a complete restatement of all cars

for industries which habitually delay cars. Under the pro-

posed rule the excess amount will be identified as to the

car owner, and auditors will review railroad accounts to

determine if proper amounts are paid. Both the SEDSB

and PCDB will assure the proper transfer of funds for

railroads in other territories, with the understanding that

similar bureaus in other territories will do the same. They

state that otherwise the rule will be impossible to admin-

ister. AAR replies, based on the evidence presented in all

the initial statements, that the annual cost for administer-

ing the rule is approximately $3.5 million dollars.

The following table is our summary of the costs of the

proposed rule as alleged by respondents. It is based on

data submitted by 42 roads for the period July 1 through

December 31, 1973.

TABLE 4

Costs for implementing proposed rule

I. Startup expenses

(1) Lowest startup expense (Sunset Ry.) .... $6.00

(2) Highest startup expense (CMSP) ....... 142,800.00

(3) Average startup expense ............... 14,219.00

II. Annual expenses

(1) Total annual expense for 41 roads ....... $2,768,740.00

(2) Annualized number of excess demurrage

SAN Cat-A nun eibd on-j 0d nbdh-o dbs ted vee 3,068,004.00

49a

Replies.—In reply, proponents reiterate their views that

the carrier opponents are exaggerating the costs of the

program. BN states that if only 25 percent of its demur-

rage revenues were remitted, the administrative expenses

would only amount to 4.23 percent of the total demurrage

charges. Private car owners, Duval Sales Corporation,

Evans Products Company, International Minerals &

Chemical Corporation (Duval), state that for 19 selected

railroads the cost to remit the excess charges to private

ear owners for the period July 1 through December 31,

1973, is $134,376. When this is divided by the number of

penalty demurrage days (184,950), the cost is 73 cents a

day. Since the cost of administering the present demur-

rage program is $6 a day, the administrative cost is said

to be more than adequately covered by the $10 to be re-

tained by the delivering carrier,

Aprequacy or $10 Minimum

Private car and carrier proponents.—Private car and

carrier proponents argue that the sum ($10) to be re-

tained by the delivering carrier is adequate compensation

to cover the administrative expenses of the rule, per diem,

and the switching expenses associated with the delivery

of the car.

Proponents state that the average per diem charge to he

paid to owning railroads during periods of demurrage 1s

approximately $4. Thus, the remaining $6 is arguably

more than adequate to cover charges associated with the

delivery of the car. They cite Ormet Corp. v. Illinois Cen-

tral R. Co., 341 1.C.C. 647 (1972), where the Commission

held that in providing relief from penalty demurrage

charges, the delivering railroad should retain $4 per car

per day to offset per diem plus 20 percent thereof for

administrative costs. This expense, it is noted, falls far

short of the $10 to be retained by the delivering carrier

under the proposed rule. Moreover, this is especially true

50a

in cases where payments are made to private car owners

since there are no per diem charges.

In cases where delivering carriers have shown per diem

and switching charges in excess of $10, proponents note

that it has not been established whether these costs are

representative, or their percentage of the total number

of cars involved. In addition, proponents contend that

these costs should not be considered controlling in deter-

mining whether the $10 is adequate because the level of

line-haul rates is set after considering per diem expenses

and switching costs. Proponents state that it is a common

practice to extend the line-haul car costs to include an

average of 4 days at origin and 4 days at destination, cit-

ing “Rail Carload Cost Seales for 1973,” ICC statement

No. 1C1-73, p. 137. Proponents note that Rail Form A .

unit costs also include the added expenses incurred in

switching cars to and from hold tracks. Therefore, pro-

ponents conclude, a carrier is compensated for its ex-

penses by its division of freight rate, and if any cost ad-

justment is needed, it should be in the line-haul rate.

Carrier opponents.—Opponents state that generally cars

which incur demurrage in excess of $10 a day are those

which have been constructively placed on railroad-owned

tracks. Additional switching is necessary for these cars

when (a) the delivering road moves the ear to a holding

point, (b) cars held at these points are repositioned as

other cars move in and out, and (ce) actual delivery is

made, Additional costs are also incurred for track and

protective services.

Opponents note that each additional switch is an

added expense for the delivering road in terms of actual

switching costs and administrative expenses to record the

position of the cars. For example, CMSP indicates 10

minutes of additional time is needed per switch—which

costs $12.94, Such costs, carrier opponents maintain, will

5la

not be covered by the $10 to be retained by the delivering

road.

The Boston and Maine (B&M) submitted a study of

daily conditions and locations of cars for July 1973, to

illustrate that switching costs are not covered by the re-

tained $10. Out of 1,091 cars handled, 638 were identifiable

as having excess demurrage. On these cars there were

1,900 switching movements which would cost between

$34.06 and $44.08 if they were intraplant or other than

intraplant secondary movements, respectively. Based on

these figures, the switching costs would be between $64,714

and $74,233. But if the proposed remittance were in effect,

B&M indicates that $56,865 would have been remitted to

the car owner and, consequently, the B&M would have

suffered a loss of over $10,000.

The ASLRA also argues that per diem expenses are not

met by the retained amount. It submits that class IT rail-

roads normally are not accorded per diem reclaim by

connecting carriers. Although, in theory, the short lines’

division of the fixed arbitrary and terminal lines per diem

reclaim allowance makes the switching and terminal lines

whole for their per diem responsibility on backhaul cars

interchanged with the trunklines, in fact, according to

ASLRA, this is not so. ASLRA states that “shortfalls”

can occur (1) when the holding line assesses a local

revenue charge on shipments; (2) when there is a high

turnaround of relatively low per diem equipment and low

turnaround of higher speed rated equipment (a further

discussion of this point is contained in the section on

average agreements); and (3) when there are changes in

patron volume, detention times, or equipment value.

Taking the average of the ASLRA study group carriers

(except those not within the normal range indicated by

the average for other railroads), demurrage retained ex-

ceeds per diem by only 22 cents per car handled, Of the

25 class II line-haul short lines in its study, ASLRA states

52a

that all but 2 would have net per diem costs exceed de-

murrage income by amounts ranging from 47 cents to

$27.47. (See appendix A.) The statement presented by one

of its members, the Meridian & Bigbee Railroad, submits

that it presently collects in demurrage revenue only 15 per-

cent of its per diem car costs on an annual basis. The pro-

posed rule would, therefore, aggravate a presently critical

situation.

Although opponents concede that demurrage is not con-

sidered a source of revenue, they argue that the money

derived from demurrage is vital to offset additional oper-

ating costs which directly relate to the detention of equip-

ment and car-hire costs during detention. Demurrage is

also used to offset high-value equipment placed on assign-

ment to delivering roads by car owners on which per diem

rate exceeds the storage charge. The loss of this revenue,

according to opponents, could force marginal lines into

bankruptcy. Opponents conclude that the $10 to be re-

tained by the delivering road is inadequate.

Replies.—Proponents reply that opponents of the rule

have not established that, overall, the $10 to be retained

by the delivering road is inadequate to meet costs.’ How-

ever, in those limited instances where costs are not met

by demurrage, it is maintained that the division of the

line-haul rates should cover these costs.

Opponents continue to argue that costs incurred by the

delivering railroad are not covered by the $10 portion of

the demurrage charge. The ASLRA states that the mini-

mum detention to the point of the first arbitrary day is

7 days. Thus, a carrier has 1 or more days of per diem

before demurrage begins. Yet, no line-haul rate or division

as The Norfolk and Western Railway Company in its reply states

that if remittance is ordered, then the $10 limit should not be

altered to reflect added switching expenses as these are covered in

the Rail Form A unit costs.

al ee

ee

53a

of rates contemplates covering costs for 7, 8, or 9 or more

days of per diem responsibility before the assessment of

demurrage for the first aribtrary days begins.

AVERAGE AGREEMENTS AND Runarounp CLAIMS

There is some question whether average agreements

would be difficult or impossible to utilize under the pro-

posed rule. In an average agreement, a shipper offsets the

early release of a car (credit) against a late release (debit).

Excess debits are then billed at $10 and arbitraries (which

cannot be offset by credits) are billed according to the

different level of charges on a monthly basic without regard

to car ownership.

Private car and carrier proponents.—Proponents fore-

see no problems with average agreements, They contend

that data for determining charges is available from ex-

isting average agreement forms since the car initial, num-

ber, and date placed and released are specified. Remit-

tance is not affected by “free” and $10 days, but only days

in excess of $10, and, therefore, the rule would have no

adverse effect on average agreements. The UP proposed

the following method of computing charges under the av-

erage agreement: chargeable days for average agreement

multiplied by $10 equals the amount chargeable at $10 a

day. Then the amount chargeable at $10 a day is divided

by the number of debit days per average agreement to

equal the amount apportionable to each car owner per

each debit day.

Carrier opponents.—Rail carrier opponents, on the

other hand, state that if the proposed rule goes into effect,

average agreements will have to be canceled. They argue

that under an average agreement if each credit has a

value of $10 in offsetting debits, the delivering carrier

could suffer a net loss when per diem and switching costs

are not adequately covered by demurrage charges retained

, 54a

by the carrier. It is also contended that cars with high

per diem can be used to offset low per diem cars, so that

a delivering carrier cannot collect enough demurrage to

offset the car costs of the high—value per diem equip-

ment. For example, a $3.50 per diem charge for a coal

lhopper could offset a $22.88 per diem charge for a 60-

foot boxcar.

Examples of the problems created by average agree-

ments were cited by the SEDSB. If each credit has a

value of $10 in the offsetting of debits, it states that an

anomalous situation would develop. On one average agree-

ment, reflecting a total of 64 cars, $900 in demurrage

charges were assessed, with $240 representing possible

pay out to foreign railroads. Yet, there would be per diem

and switching charges of $845.09, so that the delivering

carrier would suffer net loss of $185.09. In another in-

stance, an average agreement covering 231 cars involved

total demurrage charges of $4,770 with related costs of

$6,366.11. Under the proposal $900 would be remitted to

the car owners.

Opponents also contend that the purpose of the rule

would be thwarted by ‘runaround’ claims. Runaround oc-

curs when newly arrived cars are placed for unloading

before previously arrived cars held under constructive

placement. A runaround claim lists all cars in the order

of arrival and constructive placement dates. The place-

ment date of the first cars is then substituted for the date

of the first constructively placed car and demurrage is

recalculated on the basis of substituted dates. Therefore,

the owner whose car was actually detained might not re-

ceive the penalty charge. Similar situations assertedly

would result in claims for bunching, weather interference,

and frozen or congealed lading.

Members of the PCDB also suggest that consideration

be given to delaying the remittance of the excess charges

under average agreements for a period of 6 months to

55a

review for correctness and to minimize the handling of

monies between the carriers.

Replies.—Proponents deny that there will be any prob-

lem with average agreements since debits, credits, and

free days are not in issue because such matters affect un-

chargeable days before penalty demurrage commences.

BN also states that runaround and bunching problems are

resolvable and will be minimized by identifying car-owner-

ship under this proposal.

CLaim PROBLEMS

Private car and carrier proponents.—Proponents also

forsee no problem with claims by a shipper against a rail-

road for excessive charges already paid as this is said to

rarely occur. However, if the carriers desire protection

against car owner bankruptcy, a bond could be posted by

the car owners. In other instances, if there is a valid claim,

the delivering road could withhold future payments to the

car owner until the appropriate amount is accounted for.

Carrier oppovents.—Carrier opponents state that they

should be protected against claims for demurrage charges

paid and remitted which are not applicable. They also sub-

mit that the threat of a lawsuit may force them to drop

a claim which they might otherwise file lest the cost of the

suit deplete or exceed the demurrage charges that the

delivering road would be entitled to under the rule.

LEASES

In the interim report, the Commission determined that

in a lease situation, the lessee of the car should be con-

sidered the owner. Both proponents and opponents con-

tend, however, that the only practical approach in leasing

arrangements is for the delivering road to remit the ex-

cess charges to the lessor or owner of the reporting marks

(those marks assigned to cars by the AAR), as is cur-

56a

rently done with mileage allowance."* The lessor and

lessee could adjust the lease to take into account the re-

mittance to the lessor. The burden of recordkeeping would

then be on the car-owning company.

Allied Mills * states that if any controls are necessary

in lease situations, ones similar to those imposed under

the mileage rules should be used. This would prohibit the

ear line from refunding to the lessee demurrage charges in

excess of the rental expenses to the private car lines,

REMITTANCE TO Private Car OwnerRS AND EARMARKING

Private car and carrier proponents.—Private car pro-

ponents stress that they should be included within the

proposed rule, a conclusion already reached in the interim

report. They argue that they are the ones damaged by the

detention of their equipment and are, therefore, entitled to

be compensated. To hold otherwise, assertedly, would be

discriminatory.

It is also contended that private car owners are sup-

plying an ever-increasing proportion of the Nation’s

freight cars (between 1972 and 1974 private car owners

and shippers added 35,711 cars to the transportation sys-

tem), while carriers who have not increased their car sup-

ply are reaping the benefits of the investments of others

by retaining excess demurrage charges. Archer Daniels

Midland shows that the national car fleet expanded (pri-

marily because of private investment from the years 1972

to 1974 by a total of 3,636 cars; however, the carrier fleet

* Hercules, Inc., asks that the Commission determine when the

free time begins on trip-lease cars.

*® Allied Mills states that the Commission was incorrect in its

interim report in stating that Allied Mills favored remittance of

all demurrage charges. It only favors remittance of charges in

excess of $10 per car per day.

57a

decreased by 32,075 cars. Such a significant portion of the

investors in freight cars, it is argued, cannot and should

not be excluded from benefiting from the proposed remit-

tance scheme.

Carrier opponents.—Some carrier opponents contend

that the Commission will err in extending the rule to pri-

vate car or lessor/lessee owners (which as already noted

was found appropriate in the interim report). They argue

that private and carrier car owners have traditionally

been treated differently by the Commission and that no

justification has been presented in this proceeding for dis-

regarding that distinction. They note that railroads have

the responsibility of furnishing cars, and, thus, alone are

entitled to retain excess demurrage charges. They also ar-

gue that the funds should not be remitted to the private

car owners because they have not invested in cars which

are in short supply, but rather in cars that are in surplus,

such as tank cars and covered hoppers. The BN (a pro-

ponent of the rule in other respects) also fears that if

private car owners are included, it would be counterpro-

ductive for they will have less of an incentive to release

cars on time since they themselves would reecive the

excess demurrage charges. Lastly, the AAR argues that

remittance of the charges to private owners is an unlaw-

ful rebate in violation of section 15(13) of the act which

requires that payments to car owners not exceed reason-

able costs.

Replies.—In reply to the allegations that the remit-

tance to private car owners violates section 15(13), Bay

State Milling Company argues that the statute applies to

“excess allowances from railroad funds for railroad serv-

ices performed by the shipper.” As the proposed rule

applies to the disposition of excess demurrage charges paid,

section 15(13) is argued to be inapplicable.

If a remittance is allowed to private car owners, the

AAR urges a downward adjustment in car-mileage pay-

58a

ments and that the funds be earmarked for purposes bene-

ficial to railroads and shippers alike, such as research and

development in freight car design.

Earmarking.—In ail other respects, opponents and pro-

ponents of the rule agree that there should be no ear-

marking of funds. Private car owners point out that there

is no law which requires parties, other than common car-

riers by railroad, to purchase and supply railroad freight

cars, and, therefore, that there is no statutory basis for

earmarking of funds.

Participants also agree that earmarking would not be

in the best interest of car owners. They foresee policing

problems and questions as to whether it may be feasible or

necessary for car owners to purchase additional cars with

the fund. Forced acquisition, the carriers claim, would also

distort car investment which takes into consideration fac-

tors such as freight and car-hire revenues. As in Demur-

rage Rules and Charges Nationwide, 340 I.C.C, 83, 90

(1971), it is argued that earmarking be found unwar-

ranted.

Car UTILizaTION AND Suppiy

Private car and carrier proponents.—Even though they

believe funds should not be earmarked for the purchase

of additional cars, proponents contend that general eco-

nomic principles dictate that if car owners are compen-

sated for being deprived of their freight cars, their in-

centive to purchase cars will be stimulated. They agree

that the Commission was correct in holding in the interim

report that the proposed rule will have a positive impact

on car supply.'®

‘° A number of private car proponents did not state whether they

thought the rule would increase car utilization and supply. How-

ever, they stated that if the rule was warranted, its application

should be extended to private car owners,

59a

Carrier opponents.—Carrier opponents, on the other

hand, argue that the proposed rule will not increase

freight car supply. They argue that the additional pur-

chase of freight cars may be curtailed as funds once

available to the delivering road will now be consumed by

the administrative costs of the program or be totally lost

when remitted. They further contend that the loss of these

demurrage funds (there is no increase in the charge to

offset the loss), will have a serious impact on roads ex-

periencing financial difficulties. (The ASLRA states that

its 1973 study group derived 3.5 percent of their gross

revenue, 7.6 percent exclusive of local traffic, from arbi-

trary demurrage.) It is also suggested that the rule might

discourage the collection of demurrage charges and de-

crease car utilization since the rule only applies to charges

actually collected and not billable demurrage. This would,

in turn, have a detrimental effect on the shippers’ incen-

tive to release cars quickly."

Carriers submitted data showing the amount of de-

murrage charges to be remitted to carrier and private

car owners, Generally the study period was July 1

through December 31, 1973. Participants agree that this

test period does not accurately reflect the amount of de-

murrage normally chargeable, for during this period Car

Service Order No. 1124 was in effect for approximately

91.69 percent of all cars. It is estimated that Service

Order No. 1124 inflated the amount of demurrage subject

to remittance by as much as 53 percent for the N&W;

67.55 percent for AAR member roads; and 55 percent

for the Penn Central. It is, therefore, argued that the

amount to be remitted when compared to the adminis-

trative costs of the rule does not justify the proposal.

*" Carriers argue that there is no indication in the present record

that presently large sums of demurrage remain uncollected or that

carriers can or have the ability to influence a shipper to detain

cars longer than necessary.

60a

Appendix B shows the amount of demurrage to be re-

mitted between various roads, and appendix C shows

the amount to be remitted to specified private car owners

by certain selected roads. Since not all railroads partici-

pated in this proceeding and since the reporting roads

generally did not know how much demurrage would be

received from other roads under the rule, it cannot be

determined what the total amount remitted compared to

the total amount received by a particular road would be.

However, based on the data submitted by reporting roads

for the last half of 1973, the amount of demurrage to be

remitted can be estimated. The following table is our sum-

mary of these amounts as reported by 42 reporting roads.

(See appendix D.)

TABLE 5

Amounts of demurrage payable to foreign railroads and private car

owners, assuming the proposed remittance rule had been in effect

during the July 1 through December 31, 1973, study period and

the number of demurrage days reflected by these amounts

(1) Total amount of demurrage payable to foreign

railroads, assuming the rule had been in

effect during the study period ............ $37,752,616

(2) Total number of demurrage days reflected in

SRE DE wud oe eh vee Acd end be beeeb uteccekaene 1,650,127

(3) Average amount payable to foreign railroads

EF ND GE ive c Bec cdaneocaeressic $22.88

(4) Total amount of demurrage payable to private

car owners assuming the rule had been in

effect during the study period ............ $2,634,839

(5) Total number of demurrage days reflected in

BD pha vageayss arth fs hsb4060 500008 068 122,579

(6) Average amount payable to private car owners

POF GOMULTAGS GAY ...scsvccsevcvvccecees $21.50

Opponents contend that the amount to be remitted to

the car owner would not affect decisions to purchase addi-

tional cars. The SP, for example, states that demurrage

revenues are too insignificant and too unpredictable to

6la

influence a decision of whether additional equipment is

needed. Demurrage accounts for less than 2 percent of its

freight revenues (or only 1 percent of car-hire revenues).

SP states that based on its demurrage revenues in 1974,

it received $250 per car. If the excess amount remitted

were an additional 25 percent, this would only be $62.50

more, and represents less than 2 percent of its threshold

revenue requirement of at least a 10-percent return on in-

vestment after taxes.

Lastly, opponents argue that car owners, although given

the opportunity to commit themselves to purchase addi-

tional cars, have failed to do so, which is said to seriously

put into question that Commission’s conclusion that the

Nation’s car supply will actually increase. CRANDIC sug-

gests that a more direct and less expensive way to solve

the car shortage problem would be to reduce the amount

of free time, do away with average agreements, and im-

plement detention charges for storage of empty private

cars,

Replies—AAR answers that even if all the money re-

mitted to private car owners was used to purchase addi-

tional cars, this would only amount to between $21 million

and $26 million (based on a 50- to 60-percent reduction of

actual demurrage charges payable for the 6-month 1973

base period to account for Service Order No, 1124). At

$35,000 a car only 75 additional cars could be purchased,

which would not appreciably increase car supply. More-

over, there is no guarantee that the money remitted will

be used for this purpose. Because of such a limited impact

and the assertedly high cost of administering the rule,

AAR concludes that its adoption is not warranted.

Discussion AND CoNcLUSION

As stated in the interim report, in order to adopt the

proposal, we must be satisfied that the rule will achieve

62a

its intended purpose of increasing car supply and utili-

zation, will be administratively feasible, and the benefits

of the rule will outweigh the expenses incurred in its

implementation. We have previously discussed in the in-

terim report the positive impact the rule will have on car

utilization and supply, and, therefore, a detailed discus-

sion of our conclusions is not necessary, although we

would like to reemphasize some conclusions we reached

therein.

First, inadequacy of car supply has been a recurring

problem in the Nation’s carrier fleet. Congress has spe-

cifically recognized the problem and amended section

1(6) of the act to insure that an adequate car supply is

maintained. While the Commission has taken numerous

steps to alleviate car shortages by increasing incentive

per diem, shortening the length of free time, and issuing

ear service order in addition to other innovations in this

area, the problem remains. The proposed rule, we believe,

will contribute to the Commission’s continuing policy of

encouraging the maintenance of an adequate freight car

supply.

Carrier opponents argue that there is no guarantee that

the amount of money to be remitted will be utilized by

carrier or private car owners to purchase additional cars

beeause, indeed, there has been no commitment to do so

by these parties. However, this argumeut overlooks the

fundamental economic proposition that a greater return

on an investment will provide an increased incentive to

invest in that item, whether it be stocks, land, or as in

this case, freight cars. Return on investment may not be

the sole factor in determining whether an investment in

freight cars is made, but its influence cannot be disre-

garded.

As demurrage regulations presently exist, the deliver-

ing carrier, who may not own one freight car, is never-

theless entitled to the entire demurrage charge even

a a ee

63a

though this sum may far exceed any costs incurred. In

addition, there is no indication that this demurrage reve-

nue is presently being used by the delivering road to

purchase additional cars. This money is, therefore, a

bonus to a carrier who has no interest in whether or not

a car is being detained. However, the car owner, whether

private or foreign road, has its equipment detained and

unavailable for further use, and thereby loses revenue.

This is especially true of private car owners who do not

receive per diem but a mileage allowance. The remitted

amount which table 5 shows is approximately $22 for each

excess day ($11 if it is assumed that Service Order No.

1124 inflated demurrage by 50 percent), which SP esti-

mates to be approximately $62.50 a car annually, will be

an added dividend to car owners. When these figures are

multiplied by the vast number of cars in the transporta-

tion system, the rule will certainly have a significant posi-

tive impact on car supply.

Administrative expenses.—Those opposing the rule have

argued that the costs of its administration far outweigh

any benefit that can be derived from its implementation.

However, the evidence of record fails to support this

contention.

Carriers presently require sufficient information in their

present demurrage forms to calculate the demurrage

charges in excess of $10 a day. It has been adequately

demonstrated that the rule is feasible from a recordkeep-

ing and administrative viewpoint with employees or com-

puters drawing the necessary information from existing

or slightly modified demurrage forms. In addition, if de-

murrage bureaus are utilized, the implementation of the

rule would be simplified, as there presently exists a frame-

work for tabulating demurrage and auditing records.

Costs, of course, will be incurred in implementing and

administering the rule; but it has not been shown that

64a

these costs will be excessive. Where a carrier data shows

high implementation costs, such costs in many instances are

attributable to instituting a computer system where none

previously existed or to hiring additional employees to do

the computation on a manual basis. However, a large por-

tion of the data on implementation costs does not specify

whether the estimated costs (both startup and annual)

would be incurred if demurrage bureaus were used, or if

the costs are individual expenses in addition to the pro-

rated charges of the bureaus. Costs not based on the use of

demurrage bureaus, where expenses would be significantly

less than an individual’s expenses, significantly inflate the

costs to implement and administer the rule, and thus, ap-

pear to overstate the actual amount needed.

Indeed, it has been clearly shown that demurrage bureaus

can significantly cut the costs of administering the remit-

tance scheme by economies of operation since, in most

instances, the existing staff, machinery, and facilities, with

slight modification, can be used to implement the proposal.

Based on the data submitted by the three reporting bu-

reaus, startup and annual expenses for administering the

rule for 183 members would be $30,439 and $692,985, re-

spectively. Using data submitted by members of the PCDB,

annual and startup costs for each ‘‘excess’’ day, would be

$0.251 and $0.035, respectively. These figures, we believe,

more accurately indicate the costs of the proposed remit-

tance scheme if demurrage bureaus are used, although we

realize that carrier members may have certain expenses in

addition to those of the bureaus.

In conclusion, we realize that the cost data submitted by

many of the reporting roads is inflated and that many of

the expenses are unsubstantiated. (For example, a carrier

states that it needs four additional employees but it does

not indicate how it arrived at this figure.) However, de-

spite our reservations as to the accuracy of the cost data

presented, even taking it at face value, we are neverthe-

65a

less unable to find that the costs of administering the rule

are excessive. As can be seen from table 4, average startup

expenses of $14,219 and annual expenses of approximately

$0.90 for. each excess demurrage day are not unreasonable,

unjustifiable, or unduly burdensome. Even if expenses were

slightly higher, the evidence of record still supports the

finding that the costs of administering the rule are not

prohibitive.

The record also indicates that in terms of cost-benefit, the

proposed rule is justified. Table 5 shows that the total

amount of demurrage that would have been remitted for

the period July 1 through December 31, 1973, to private and

foreign car owners by 42 roads is $40,387,455. Even if we

discount the effects of Service Order No. 1124, which in-

flated this figure by an estimated 50 percent, $20,193,727

would still have been remitted to car owners during this

6-month period. This discounted amount would constitute

between a $10 and $11 return on a car owner’s investment

for each excess demurrage day. When this amount is com-

pared to the costs of administering the rule, it becomes

evident that the costs are not so burdensome as to out-

weigh the rule’s benefit in providing an incentive for the

purchase of additional equipment and, thereby, in increas-

ing car supply.

Inadequacy of amount.—It has been contended by some

carrier opponents, especially the ASLRA, that the $10 to

be retained by the delivering road is insufficient to meet

delivering carrier costs (per diem, switching, and adminis-

trative expenses).

The switching costs are reflected in the line-haul rate by

Rail Form A’s unit costs. These figures are based on aver-

age costs for a particular region and are used to calculate

the switching costs associated with line-haul movemerte,

Per diem expenses are also used in computing the line-

haul rate. Therefore, it is incorrect to assume that the $10

-

66a

to be retained by the delivering roads is the only source of

revenue available to cover switching costs and per diem

expenses. Since the evidence indicates that these costs in

certain instances are not presently recoverable from de-

murrage charges (although it is not clear whether the ex-

penses are covered by other revenue), an adjustment in the

reclaim allowance, switching charge, or division of rates

may be needed."* Then, if it can be shown that the costs of

the delivering railroad are not consistently being met, the

carrier is free at any time to seek increases in applicable

rates and charges.

The adequacy of demurrage is not in issue in this pro-

ceeding. If any carrier can demonstrate that its costs (per

diem, switching, and administrative expenses) are not

being met, the proper recourse is to petition the Commis-

sion to increase the amount of basic @emurrage or other

8 Notice is taken of Rule 5, Code of Car Hire Rules and Inter-

pretations-Freight, ‘‘The Official Railway Equipment Register,’’

Vol. 92, No. 1 (July 1976). It provides that:

(a) An amount (Note 1) for each loaded car handled in

Terminal Switching Service except as otherwise provided in

paragraph (b) may be reclaimed by each individual switching

road from the road for which the service was performed, In

determining the amount, an average number of days not to

exceed five (5) shall be used. The average number of days

shall be determined annually, or at such other periods as may

be agreed upon by the interested roads, by an examination of

the records (Note 2) of each individual switching road for

each local territory. However, on the request of the majority

of the interested roads in any local territory, the settlement

of terminal switching reclaims will be on the basis of actual

time involved in handling of cars during the month for which

reclaim is made subject to a maximum of (8) days on any one

ear and the maximum average of five (5) days per car.

Note 1.—The word ‘‘amount’’ as used in this rule shall be

the product of (1) average time established as an arbitrary,

or actual time, subject to maximums provided in this Rule,

and (2) the actual car hire rate on each car handled in switch-

ing service,

——

67a

appropriate rate or charge. A deficiency in basic demur-

rage, switching charges, or other rate or charge, should not

be offset by revenue from penalty demurrage. To do so

would vitiate the incentive element of arbitrary demur-

rage and also, as noted in the interim report, deprives the

car owner of part of the return on his investment. In the

event that basic demurrage would be increased in excess of

$10, these rules would be adjusted accordingly to provide

that the car owners would receive the demurrage in excess

of the higher level of basic demurrage.

Average agreements and claims.—We do not feel that

average agreements present the problem that the railroads

have envisioned. The proposed rule only affects demurrage

in excess of $10. Under present average agreements a

credit of $10 is used to offset a debit of $10, and, therefore,

the delivering carrier will not receive any demurrage on a

haul where no arbitrary demurrage is assessed. This will

not be changed. The rule provides that the delivering car-

rier shall retain $10 of the charges collected, the demur-

rage in excess of the $10 debit up to $10 will be retained by

the delivering road. Therefore, the rule will have no ad-

verse impact on average agreements since (1) carriers pres-

ently receive no compensation for debit days which are off-

set by credit days, and (2) the delivering road, as in other

situations, will retain up to $10 for arbitrary days which

has been found to be sufficient to cover costs. It has not

been sufficiently shown that a carrier’s costs would not be

met by the sum to be retained ($10) under average agree-

ment, However, as in the case of our discussion of switch-

ing and other administrative costs, if it can be established

that costs are not being met, the carrier can seek relief

from the Commission to retain a greater amount.

We would like to make a suggestion to those who argue

that average agreements are not feasible because high per

diem ears can be used to offset low per diem cars and,

therefore, costs will not be covered by the $10 to be re-

68a

tained by the delivering carrier. The per diem charge is

based on numerous factors including the cost of equipment

and its relative supply in the marketplace. To increase car

supply and utilization, the carriers could provide that a

credit and debit will not offset each other unless the per

diem charges are relatively similar, i.e., within a range of

20 percent or some other figure. This would prohibit the

offsetting of a $3.50 coal car with a $22.88 60-foot boxcar.

This avenue of compromise should be explored before car-

riers consider implementing their threats to terminate

average agreements.

Another area of expressed concern is that of runarounds.

We feel that respondents can devise a method of dealing

with this situation in order to fulfill the purposes of the

- rule in compensating an owner whose car is actually de-

tained. Under the present demurrage system, no problem is

presented because the delivering carrier keeps all demur-

rage, and hence no provisions are presently necessary.

However, this does not mean that a solution does not exist.

For example, in runaround situations, the amount to be

remitted to each car owner could be determined as follows:

Total chargeable demurrage—($10 X total days all cars + Amount

to be remitted to car owners subject to runaround are held)

Amount to be remitted

= amount per day

Number of days ears held

This amount multiplied by the number of days the car was

held would determine what amount is to be remitted to

each car owner.” ‘

For example: Car owned by X was constructively placed on

day 1, car owned by Y constructively placed on day 2, and car

owned by Z placed day 3. Car X is released day 6, Car Y released

day 5, and Car Z released day 4. Demurrage is computed at $10

the first day, $20 the second, and $30 thereafter. In a runaround

situation, the released dates on later-placed cars will be substituted

for those of earlier placed cars. The total amount of demu

that could be assessed under the runaround claim is $180, The total

69a

Claims.—Next we will discuss the argument that claims

against shippers for demurrage charges in some cases may

not be pursued where legal fees for collecting these claims

exceed the amount to be retained by the delivering road.

In addressing this contention we note that a carrier is

under a legal obligation to collect demurrage charges

properly assessed, and the implementation of this rule

does not relieve a carrier of this duty. However, only a

small percentage of claims are contested, and expenses

incurred in pursuing these claims would generally be re-

coverable from the $10 to be retained by the delivering

road. It is also noted that demurrage bureaus handle

claims and prorate the costs to their members so that the

cost burden is shared by a number of carriers. We, there-

fore, conclude that legal expenses incurred in collecting

demurrage charges would not be a problem under the pro-

posed remittance scheme. If, however, it can be shown as

stated above, that costs are not being met, a carrier can

seek relief from the Commission to retain a higher amount.

In situations were (a) a carrier has received demurrage

charges from the shipper and has remitted this amount to

the owner, and (b) it is later determined that the charges

were in fact not applicable or otherwise lawfully due, then

the carrier can seek direct reimbursement from the car

owner or withhold forthcoming remittances until the

amount is satisfied. The best method of solving this prob-

lem can best be determined, however, by the respondents

themselves.

number of days held by all cars is 9 days. Therefore, the deiivering

carrier would subtract $90 as the amount it would re.ain, The

remaining $90 would then be divided by the number o/ days the

cars were actually held (9) to get the amount per day ot $10, This

multiplied by the days each car was held would give us th amount

to be remitted to each owner. $50 to X, $30 to Y, and $10 to Z.

See section 1, rule 8, section E note 1 of the Demurrage “*riff

4-J, ICC H-59, for a thorough analysis and computation of ‘.mur-

rage in a runaround claim.

70a

Private car owners.—The interim report concluded that

the proposed remittance rule should also apply to private

car owners. This determination was sound. An increasing

percentage of the Nation’s carrier fleet is owned by private

interests. The evidence shows that between 1972 and 1974

private car owners and shippers added 35,711 cars to the

transportation system. These investors should receive a

fair return on their investment as well as carriers. Some

proponents note that private car owners have made invest-

ments in freight cars without the rule and may continue to

do so, if the proposed rule is not implemented. While this

may be true, it is an unconvincing argument for concluding

that, therefore, no additional incentive is needed. Indeed,

such investments may have been much greater if the in-

centive heretofore had been in effect.

For those who argue that the remittance would be an

unlawful rebate, we reiterate our position stated in the

interim report (349 I.C.C. 411, 438), that rebates are not

involved because the delivering carrier will receive its full

rate and compensation for all demurrage charges and will

merely remit the excess to the car owner.

In the interim report we concluded that the remittance

in lease situations should be paid to the lessee. Although

the Commission has held that the lessee is the car owner

in considering other demurrage questions (see Car Demur-

rage Rules, Nationwide, 350 1.C.C. 777 (1975) ), we feel that

under the proposed rule it would generally be more efficient

and administratively practical to have the excess demur-

rage remitted to the lessor as is done with the mileage

allowance. The administrative costs would then be in-

curred by the lessor in determining what amount if any,

should be remitted to the lessee. Existing demurrage rules

as to when “free time” begins (or as the lease agreement

otherwise specified) would be controlling in determining

when demurrage begins.

However, in a long-term lease of equipment by a private

car owner to a railroad, the lessee should be considered

Tla

the car owner as proposed in the interim report. This

would simplify the administration of the rule, for the re-

porting marks on the car would be that of the lessee, and

the delivering carrier would not be aware of the identity of

the lessor, or if in fact, the car is leased.

We believe, however, that restrictions on the amounts to

be remitted to private car owners are necessary to encour-

age and not discourage the timely release of equipment.

For example, assume private car owner X is the consignee

or consignor of a car on which excess demurrage accrues

because of causes attributable to X. (This could occur when

there is congestion on X’s track, or when there are no pri-

vate tracks and the car is held on carrier track.) X would

pay the delivering carrier the demurrage charges and any

excess demurrage would then ultimately be remitted to the

car owner, X. Therefore, X would only pay $10 per car per

day and no penalty or arbitrary charge. This would nullify

the incentive to release quickly the car which is provided

by the penalty portion of the demurrage charge.

To correct this situation, the proposed rule will be modi-

fied as follows :*

(c) Excess demurrage shall not be remitted to a

private car owner who for reasons attributable to the

owner causes the accrual of the excess charge. The

excess amount, which would otherwise be remitted

under the rule, shall in these situations be retained by

the delivering carrier.

In determining if the excess demurrage is caused by rea-

sons attributable to the car owner, this provision shall be

*° Leases can provide for an adjustment if the demurrage is

caused by reasons attributable to the lessor or lessee.

72a

interpreted and applied in accordance with demurrage

rules and principles.

Earmarking.—Lastly, we conclude that no restrictions

should be placed on the use of the funds to be remitted to

car owners, either private or foreign roads. It would be

difficult to force a car owner to purchase additional equip-

ment, and to supervise and administer such a provision.

The proposed remittance is a sufficient incentive to the

purchase of additional cars without putting an absolute

limit on the use of the remitted funds.

Upon consideration of the record, we conclude that adop-

tion of the proposed rule, as amended, which is set forth

below, would be in the public interest, is reasonable and

otherwise lawful to ‘‘the maintenance of an adequate

freight car supply’’ as required by section 1(6) of the act.

(a) Exeept as otherwise provided hereinafter, the non-

owning railroad, on whose lines a car is being detained under

demurrage, shall remit to the freight car owner, all demurrage

charges collected in excess of $10 per car per day.

(b) That under this rule, for the purpose of determining

the car owner in the lease of a freight car, the ear owner will

be the lessor; except that in cases where there is no notice of

the identity of the lessor, the lessee shall be considered as the

car owner.

(c) Exeess demurrage shall not be remitted to a private

ear owner who for reasons attributable to the car owner causes

the accrual of the excess charge. The excess amount, which

would otherwise be remitted under the rule, shall in these

situations, be retained by the delivering carrier.

‘

ee eee ee

eS ee

73a

Finpinos

We find:

(1) Th

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — Aliquippa & Southern Railroad v. United States · 440 U.S. 968 | Frix