Petition — Gough v. Rossmoor Corp.

Supreme Court brief1979

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, 0.

FILED

DEC 99 1978

In the Supreme C |

MICHAEL ROQAK, JR, CLERK

OF THE

United States

October TERM, 1978

No. 78 “10 02

Kerry M. Gove, Trustee in Bankruptcy of Louis

Rosen dba Watnut Creek F'uRNITURE,

Petitioner,

vs.

Rossmoor Corporation and CRESTMARK

CaRPET AND Drapery CoMPANY,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

MaxweE.u KeItH

50 California Street

San Francisco, California 94111

Telephone: (415) 981-1361

ANTHONY J. MERCANT

Mercant & O’Brien

111 West St. John Street

Community Bank Building

San Jose, California 95113

Attorneys for Petitioner

BOWNE-PERNAU WALSH ¢ 1045 SANSOME ST. © S.F.,CA 94111 © (415) 981-7882

SUBJECT INDEX

Page

en NI I oe cae abe oe cece nace’ 1

on ag win Gs cng edwin ote dca es 3

es Ra re oS 5 ain in gece sc Dac ows's a 5

ns lg ace cata pawl’ ss ous os 5

en oe kn wwe Va cu pwahivacwn'wn esa 5

es Sel oaks on As wpa wdaes ss ydeaece cs 5

Se ISIS se SR 5

ge ee Se ee 7

ee eee fe te el. Secs Fale woe vt )

RS REN aioe a 9

3. The conspiracy in restraint of and in monopolization of

NE a or cay neg Ge See nek viencdes ot 10

s a. Coercive means were used to further the conspiracy 13

% OE TET ee 13

j B. Commmeat Ge proceewingy ............................ 14

C. Changing defenses of the defendants................... 19

The reasons for granting the writ .......................... 20

I. This court should review decisions which apply doctrines

to exempt conspiracies in restraint of trade from the

ESSE EE ae ae a 20

A. The relevant market need not be shown in a hard

core section 1 conspiracy case since Congress has

prohibited the entry into coercive conspiracies whose

purpose and object is to suppress or exclude compe-

tition in any appreciable part of interstate commerce 20

1. The Sherman Act prohibits the entry into a con-

spiracy to prevent interbrand competition in any

appreciable part of interstate commerce ...___. 20

B. This court has heretofore resisted all efforts to shift

judicial attention away from the purposes, scope and

A A he aN hE TMB A: phat 8

means of the conspiracy to suppress competition 24

C. The means used by the conspiracy here are also in

per se violation of the Act........... .. 26

1. The refusal to deal was a per se violation eeaee 26

ii

SuByect INDEX

Page

2. Repondents were effecting a stay out of Rossmoor

policy ....... EY Noumea hy idee rae 27

3. The respondents were Suing Ogi tel eee 28

D. Competition in a $50,000,000 retirement community

is subject to judicial protection under § 2 of the Sher-

man Act

1. A community is a significant part of commerce

SN rae er ee 29

2. Relevant market is definable in terms of where

sellers seek to compete ......................, 30

3. The barriers erected by sellers may define a rele-

vant market

E. Relevant market is not a test when conspiracy or

attempt to monopolize is in issue ............... 31

F. Relevant market does not allow the appellate court

to order judgment for the respondents... ....... 32

II. This court should enforce rules which prevent litigants

from urging as error their own submission or offers .... 33

A. Litigants are estopped from obtaining the benefits

of their own errors

B. In any event, judgment n.o.v, cannot be entered for

defendants because they failed to make a motion

within 10 days after the findings of the jury ........ 36

III. Judgment cannot be enforced when based on an appellate

court entering findings of fact contrary to the trier of fact 36

IV. The opinion in _— III violates the doctrine of law of

the case UT eT Oy oe

Conclusion

ee

a as —

lii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases

Page

Albrecht v. Herald Co., 390 U.S. 145 (1968) ................ 22

Associated Press v. United States, 326 U.S. 1 (1945) ........ 21, 24

Bigelow v. RKO Radio Pictures, Inc., 327 U.S, 251 (1946) .... 38

Binderup v. Pathe Exchange, 263 U.S. 29] (1923) .......... 22, 24

Board of Trade of the City of Chicago v. United States, 246

Me, TR CI aia oo Dias pot tes Pies ba kh ea Bs 32

Brown Shoe Co. v. United States, 370 U.S. 294 (1962)... 30

Cataphote Corp. v. DeSoto Chem. Coatings, Inc., 450 F.2d

769 (9th Cir, 1971), cert. denied, 408 U.S, 929 (1972) .... 35

Cone v. W. Va. Pulp & Paper Co., 330 U.S. 212 (1947) ...... 36

Continental TV, Inc. v. GTE Sylvania, Inc., 433 U.S. 36

CONEY bias Oe Wea ree bas see aes 21, 22, 27

De Voto v Pacific Fidelity Life Ins. Co., 516 F.2d 1 (9th Cir.

| A ee rere te ne ey ee a Ee, 22

Donnelly Garment Co. v. N.L.R.B., 123 F.2d 215 (sth Cir.

Wie ERS Sek Re ep een tas erat as 40

Eastern States R.L.D. Associates v. United States, 234 U.S. 600

PE sic oc te hag on once bh k been Paes Cae 24

Fashion Originators’ Guild of America v. Federal Trade Com-

mission, 114 F.2d 80, affirmed, 312 U.S. 457 (1941) ........ 21

Fount-Wip, Inc. v. Reddi-Wip, Inc., 568 F.2d 1296 (9th Cir.

MR ey vcain eh dati ke ad i a9 i et raha 22, 28, 35

Gamco, Inc. v. Providence Fruit & Produce Bldg., 194 F.2d 484

Hey aaa ae Sa aR TS SRO 4 30, 31

Globe Liquor Co. v. Roman, 332 U. S. OTE (IO). fies 36

Gough I, Rosen v. Rossmoor Corporation, 487 F.2d 373 (9th

Cin 1973) . we . 2, 20, 22, 30, 33, 40

Gough II, eats v. ‘amen Comevation, 533 F.2d 453 (9th

Cir. 1976) cert. denied 429 U.S. 857 ....... 6... eee 2, 40

Gough III, Gough v. Rossmoor Corporation, erg yg

2d .. (9th Cir. 1978), 1978-2 Trade Cases, { 62,

she | oon ..1, 2, 23, 36, 40

Hospital Building Co, v. Trustees of Rex —" 425 U.S. 738

Co Ga ern ren ctor five res 0 22

In re Carmona, 224 F.Supp. 497 1 (8D Ca. 1960), sfiruct 336

F.2d 518 (9th Cir, 1964) . eats 40

ot 6 28.6 2S ORS SOOT Cie 2.078 03 ELS, SA 8

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

CASES

Page

International Salt Co. v. United States, 332 U.S. 392 (1947) .. 21

Klor’s, Inc. v. Broadway-Hale Stores, Inc., 359 U.S. 207 (1959)

Fi Gils eV ne We nals ariths Wo SPOS 6 hE o a's wake aul ial oR 21, 25, 26

Knutson v. Daily Review, Inc., 548 F.2d 795 (9th Cir. 1976),

oust. dented, G33 US. GRO (1677) «0... cdc ts csevce tween 35

Lessig v. Tidewater Oil Co., 327 F.2d 459 (9th Cir. 1964) .... 32

Lorain Journal v, United States, 342 U.S. 143 (1951) . .27, 29, 31, 39

Mandeville Island Farms, Inc, v. American Crystal Sugar Co.,

een ore rer a 21

May Department Stores v. Reynolds, 140 F.2d 799 (8th Cir.

eh a eee 40

Mutual Fund Investors v. Putnam Management Co., 553 F.2d

OD 06. Ck 1) is. sie a eee ee 35

National Society of Professional Engineers v. United States,

> 1g Oe ED Accs Fan'eeh inca ceeumeuee 22

Neely v. Martin K. Eby Construction Co., 386 U.S. 317 (1967) 36

Pfizer, Inc. v. Government of India, .. U.S. .., 98 S.Ct. 584

CUES 2 2 saas Che's Gas canoes ea oe een 23

Quemos Theatre Co. v. Warmer Bros. Pictures, 35 F.Supp. 949

PUN ND” 8 Fis x 455 cas x os Vala ar oe 22

Radovich v, National Foootball League, 352 U.S, 445 (1957)

SOL: vba COL ea canard cates Chee vMltes Tee 23, 25, 26

Ronald Fabrics Co. v. Verney Svenvebik Mills, Inc., 152 F.

me ee CE, |) bn oceans oe eee 22

Roth v. McAllister Bros., Inc., 316 F.2d 143 (2d Cir. 1963) . 35

Scarano v. Central Ry. Co, of New Jersey, 203 F.2d 5

WOM on ec, os Si ee 0 (2a 35

pererecn Oil Co. of New Jersey v. United States, 221 U.S. 1

Story Parchment Co, v. Paterson Parchment Paper Co., 28

Che a ee ee ee ae

Swift & Co, v. United States, 196 U.S. 375 (1905)

United States v. E. I. du Pont de Nemours & Co., 351 U.S, 377

BENIN «is: 25 wd cabs ava aakssascctt eee 31

v

TABLE or AuTHoRiITIES CrTED

CasEs

Page

United States v. First Nationa] Pictures, Inc., 282 U.S. 44

UT tua ys asks engscccesyebecronceregs 24

United States v. General Motors Corp., 121 F.2d 376 (7th Cir.

OE in er ereee 22

United States v. General Motors Corp., 234 F.Supp. 85, rev'd,

a ce cece rete e see esveeone, 22, 23, 26

United States v. Griffith, 334 U.S. 100 ............ cee uee, 30, 31

United States v. Kissel, 218 U.S. 691 (1910) ............005. 22

United States v. Marine Bancorporation, 418 U.S, 602 (1974) 30

United States c. Socony Vacuum Oil Co., Inc., 310 U.S, 150

ee 29

United States v. TopCo Associates, 450 U.S, 596 (1972) ..... 26

United States v. Yellow Cab Co., 332 U.S, 218 (1948) ..... 31, 32

Walker Process Eqpt. Inc. v. Food Machinery and Chemical

Corp., 382 U.S. 172 (1965) 0.0.0... ee ece eee e renee 31

White Motor Co. v, United States, 372 U. S. 253 (1063) ...... 22

William Goldman Theatres v. Loew’s, Inc., 150 F.2d 738 (3d

aaa Nawssovccespccesiccevescvces. 22, 30

Wood v. United Air Lines, 216 F.Supp. 340 (E.D.N.Y. 1963) 35

Woods Exploration & Prod. Co. v. Aluminum Co. of America,

438 F.2d 1286 (Sth Cir. 1971) ........-: cee eee eee eee: 30, 31

Zenith Radio Co, v. Hazeltine Research, Inc., 401 U.S. 321

cca c eres steven cee eraees 35

Constitutions

United States Constitution, Amendment VII................ 37

Rules

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure:

cy vv cer pod vsreccceee 15

SPY Ubalneessevnsrreceshsrcccceserecen, 4

— Se

vi

Statutes

Page | In the Supreme Court

12 U.S.C.:

a 5G udp sa Odd Das he dd Oe third Rawea 5 OF THE

SS Cc iin Randy hs bs une eben maida OEE 5 :

United States

IE Cee i ns a as os ehew ne cee Pals oa 5

Section 15 . a beste ties aa eee Tae ae

Clayton Act; No

EE eae ce oa Gwe 4 NK d oe RE RK ON ede 4,5, 15

eta ec occas oi hve SS See ae a ee

i Kerry M. Goven, Trustee in Bankruptcy of Louis

S rman Act: Rosen dba Watnut Creek FurnNITURE,

EE ed boa wie Skee ues ee wren ee Ty. a ee Sictiitiae

|” Ue Maat ee Cina MEO 2 Ry 3, 5, 29, 34 :

Vs.

RossMoor CorPoRATION and CRESTMARK

CARPET AND Drapery CoMPANy,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

Kerry M. Gough, petitioner, prays for a writ of certi-

orari to review the judgment of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit entered in the above-

entitled case on August 9, 1978, petition for rehearing de-

nied on October 27, 1978.

CITATIONS TO OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Honorable United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit reversing the judgment of

the trial court on behalf of plaintiff is officially unreported

and appears in 1978-2 Trade Cases, {] 62,202. It is attached

te =

2

hereto as Appendix A. The order denying a petition for

rehearing, for a hearing en banc and motion for a new trial

is attached hereto as Appendix B herein. The judgment

of the trial court, which was reversed, entered February

23, 1977, is attached hereto as Appendix C herein. The

opinion of the trial court allowing judgment for petitioner

herein filed February 23, 1977, is attached hereto as Appen-

dix D. It is unreported.

The opinion below is the third opinion in this case and

will be referred to from time to time as Gough III. The

second opinion of the court of appeals is reported at 533

F.2d 453 (9th Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 857. It will

be referred to as Gough II and is attached hereto as Appen-

dix EK. The judgment in favor of petitioner which the

opinion in Gough II reversed, entered November 4, 1974,

as attached hereto as Appendix F’, The opinion of the trial

court in favor of petitioner, filed October 8, 1974 is at-

tached hereto as Appendix G. The order of the District

Court denying respondents’ judgment n.ov. or motion for

a new trial filed December 6, 1974, is attached hereto as

Appendix H.

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Ninth Circuit reversing the judgment on behalf of

respondents and entering judgment for petitioner is at-

tached hereto as Appendix I. It will be referred to herein

as Gough I. It is reported at 487 F.2d 373 (9th Cir. 1973).

The order of the panel in Gough I, entered December 28,

1973, changing the last paragraph of its opinion striking

the entry for judgment for plaintiff and remanding the

case to the trial court for further proceedings is attached

hereto as Appendix J,

3

The judgment of the trial court for the respondents

filed June 11, 1970 is attached hereto as Appendix K.

The jury’s special findings in answer to interrogatories

entered March 27, 1970 is attached hereto as Appendix L.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a per se offense under §1 of the Sherman

Act exists when completely independent entities agree to

exclude competition in the sale of carpets ‘to purchasers of

apartment units at a retirement community projected for

10,000 units, involving $20,000,000 sales, use the means

of coercion to cause the refusal to allow carpet advertise-

ments at competitive prices in the community newspaper

upon independent newspapermen who fought the decision,

fraud the purchasers of the apartments, prevent all com-

petitive retailers from installing carpets prior to move-in,

and deprive the plaintiff of sales to the purchasers of the

apartments, the agreement being a substantial cause of his

going out of business.

2. Whether per se offense under $2 of the Sherman

Act exists when businessmen with totally divergent busi-

ness interests and duties toward the public agree to close

off a multi-million dollar retirement community, financed

by FHA commitments, from competition in the sale of

carpets, when, as a group, they control access to the poten-

tial purchasers of carpets at the very time of the sale of

the apartment units (manors).

3. Is the relevant market an indispensable element for

proof of a restraint of trade under the rule of reason; and,

if so, who has the burden of justifying the need of proof

of the relevant market? If it is indispensable, can the

+

respondents attack their own statement in an appellate

brief and their own interrogatories to the jury which define

the relevant market to be the above mentioned retirement

community.

4, Can the federal courts require an injured retailer

suing under the provisions of §4 of th< Clayton Act for

damages he proximately received from the impact of con-

duct designed to injure him to prove a relevant market

in order to recover damages which every finder of fact

has found to have been intentionally inflicted upon him by

a conspiracy among the defendants in restraint of trade.

5. Can a planned and partially developed retirement

community projected to be 10,000 newly built apartment

units, a shopping center, recreational facilities, and pos-

sessing entrance and exit gates be a relevant market

under the Sherman Act.

6. Can an appellate court, without violating the fed-

eral Constitution, make findings of fact directly in conflict

with the findings of a jury or a trial court.

7. Can a litigant raise on appeal as error matters which

attack his own theories and papers filed with the court as

a ground to urge reversible error and cause such a reversal.

8. May a motion for judgment n.o.v. be raised for the

first time in a petition for rehearing in an appellate court

without a showing of compliance with Fed.R.Civ.P. 50(b).

9. May a second appellate court reverse the rulings of

law entered by a prior appellate court in the same case.

5

STATUTES INVOLVED

The statutes involved are §41 and 2 of the Sherman

Act, 15 U.S.C. §§1, 2; §4 of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C.

§15. These are printed and attached hereto as Appen-

dix M.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. THE TRIAL

1, The Parties

The action involves the effectuation of an agreement

to eliminate competition in the sale of carpets and drapes

at a retirement community located in Walnut Creek, Cali-

fornia, financed by federal mortgage commitments pursu-

ant to Sec. 312 of the National Housing Act. 12 U.S.C.

Sec. 1715(e). In 1950 Section 213 (12 U.S.C. § 1715(e)) was

added to the National Housing Act (12 U.S.C. § 1702). It

was intended to meet the housing needs of middle income

families and authorized the FHA to insure hundreds of

millions of dollars of mortgage loans. See Feperat Hovsina

ADMINISTRATION'S Decision Not To Require Burupers’ Cost

CERTIFICATIONS FOR Rossmoor Leisure Worip Devevop-

MENTS, Report To THE Conaress, Feb. 19, 1969, Comptroller

General of the United States, and Questions Recarprna

Loan Insurance CEeImLInGs AND LAND APPRAISALS FOR LARGE

CoopreraTIvE Hovstnc Communities, Report To THE Con-

cress, Feb. 27, 1970, Comptroller General of the United

States.

a. Defendants

Mr. Ross Cortese is President of Rossmoor Corporation.

It is an owner of the land which it sells to the public as a

part of a retirement community development. Rossmoor

Corporation is the builder of the living units and com-

6

munity facilities for the public as stockholders of Mutual

Corporations. It built the developments at Seal Beach,

California; Wheaton, Md.; Cranbury, New Jersey; Laguna

Hills, California and Walnut Creek, California (Pl. Ex. 1).

By 1967 it had built eleven “Mutuals (multi-unit apart-

ment houses called Manors owned by a cooperative corpora-

tion) at a cost of $47,427,000 at Walnut Creek (Pl. Ex.

1, Tr. 51).

Rossmoor Corporation is also a retailer of carpets and

drapes through Crestmark Carpet and Drapery which it

owns (Tr. 61). Crestmark’s business is to sell carpets and

draperies at the Rossmoor Leisure World Communities

(Tr. 55-56, 945-973).

Leisure World Foundation was incorporated as the repre-

sentative of the ownership group who must arrange exten-

sive mortgage insurance financing with the FHA. It thus

organizes the Mutuals and administers the community. It

hires the sales staff to introduce the project to the buyer

and sell shares of stock in the Mutual (Tr. 246, 546, 557,

360-362, 367-374). The Mutual is owned by the apartment

house or manor buyers as stock holders of a corpora-

tion (Id.).

Leisure World Foundation enters into formal agency

agreements with the Mutual Corporation creating a fiduci-

ary relationship between it and the Mutuals (PI. Ex. 33-2,

Tr. 471).

As part of its agency functions, Leisure World Founda-

tion operates a newspaper, the Leisure World News. In

September, 1965, it printed at Walnut Creek 7,000 copies

weekly, 5,500 of which are sent to future residents or pros-

pective residents (Pl. Ex. 51, Tr. 306).

7

When 90° of the shares to a Mutual have been sub-

scribed, contracts to build may be entered into between the

Mutual and the contractor. Here all construction contracts

were entered into with Rossmoor Corporation (PI. Ex. 11,

122, 183, Tr. 48-50, 491-498). At the time of the entry into

these contracts, agents of Leisure World are on the Board

of Directors of the Mutual Corporation and sign the con-

struction contracts (Pl. Ex. 11, 122, Tr. 401-407).

Significance attaches under FHA procedure whether the

sponsorship group is owned by or affiliated with the

builder. The agents of Leisure World Foundation for the

Mutuals asserted by affidavit to the FHA that there existed

no identity of interest between the Mutual Corporation

whose Board of Directors at that time consisted of agents

of Leisure World Foundation and Rossmoor Corporation

(Id.). This affidavit, whose falseness constitutes a fraud

on the United States, avoided the FHA requirement that

Rossmoor Corporetion submit actual construction costs to

the FHA and be limited in its profits as a builder of a con-

trolled housing project (Pl. Ex. 183, Tr. 411-416, Pl. Ix.

11, 122, Tr. 401-407; 12 U.S.C. § 1715r, Cr. 464-466).

Co-conspirator Golden Rain Foundation holds title to

the community facilities at the Leisure World Community

(Pl. Ex. 29, Tr. 475-476; Pl. Ex. 17, Tr. 222-223.

b. Persons

The President of Rossmoor Corporation is Ross Cortese.

A vice president of Rossmoor who testified at the trial was

Anthony Ceresa (Tr. 1027).

During the early period of Leisure World Foundation,

its president was Mr. L. M. Letson (Tr. 377). Its president

8

then became Mr. W. G. Simon (Id.). For a short time fol-

lowing the end of 1965 or early 1966 its president was Mr.

K. Selieu (Tr. 384-385).

Mr. E. L. Olsen was a secretary and Vice President of

Leisure World Foundation (Tr. 382). Mr. Nelson, Admin-

istrator of Walnut Creek, reported to Mr. Olsen and Mr.

Simon (Tr. 381-382). Mr. Robert Moon was a sales execu-

tive for Leisure World Foundation (Tr. 383) and for Ross-

moor (Tr. 961-962).

Vera Moorman was Executive Editor of the Leisure

World newspapers (Tr. 443; Pl. Ex. 37; Tr. 980-981). She

was also employed by Rossmoor Corporation (Tr. 978-979,

1106-1107). Mr. Douglas J. Krauter was Director of Ad-

ministration of Leisure World Foundation during the

period March 1966 to November, 1966 (Tr. 544), and Sys-

tems Analyst for it from November, 1964 to March, 1966

(Id.).

During the period of time September, 1963 to August,

1966, Mr. Robert A. Nelson was the Administrator of the

Rossmoor Leisure World Community, Walnut Creek (Tr.

355).

The editor of the Leisure World News, Walnut Creek,

was Mr. John L. Ferris (Tr. 237). Carl Cronin was its

advertising manager (Tr. 898).

Gerry Rathbun was sales coordinator between Crestmark

and Leisure World Foundation Sales (Tr. 120).

The sales manager of Leisure World Foundation for

Rossmoor Leisure World, Walnut Creek at most times

herein was Mr. R. Moreno (Tr. 120-121).

9

Mr. Cortese guaranteed the notes of Leisure World

Foundation to United California Bank for the sum of one

million dollars (Tr. 1052).

c. Plaintiff

Plaintiff was Louis Rosen. His carpets and furniture

store, Walnut Creek Furniture, was located in downtown

Walnut Creek, a mile away from Rossmoor Leisure World

(Tr. 586-587). He went out of business on September 5,

1967 (Tr. 617).

2. Relevant Market

Rossmoor Leisure World, Walnut Creek, is located on

2,000 acres of land in the City of Walnut Creek, California,

the old Stanley Dollar Estate (Pl. Ex. 102, Tr. 221-222).

Ground was broken in 1963 (Tr. 929). 10,000 to 12,000 units

were contemplated (Id.). Mr. Rosen testified that a retailer

could expect about a $2,000 carpet and drapery order on a

move-in (Tr. 645). The conspiracy involved here affected,

therefore, $20,000,000 possible sales of carpets and drapes.

Rossmoor Leisure World, Walnut Creek, is self-enclosed

and has its own shopping facilities, community recreation

facilities, medical center, churches, bank, police security

systems (Tr. 482-484). By the beginning of 1966, Mutuals 1

to 6 had been completed or were starting construction (Tr.

491-492). The first move-ins of the residents in the com-

munity occurred about October 30, 1964 (Tr. 458).

Since the Crestmark Carpet and Drapery concession was

located in the Administration Building where the Leisure

World sales personnel were located, it was an easy matter

for the Leisure World sales personne! to introduce the pro-

10

spective purchaser to the Crestmark Carpet and Drapery

salesman who was also the color consultant of Leisure

World (PI. Ex. 36, Tr. 63, 128-129, 877-881).

In selling stock to a prospective purchaser, the details

of the arrangements are explained by the Leisure World

Foundation sales personnel (Tr. 528-531). As part of the

introductory procedure, the potential purchaser is given a

copy of the Leisure World News (Tr. 534). It is used in the

sales literature package of Leisure World which the sales

staff mails to those interested (Tr. 534-535).

As of August, 1967, 2,918 apartment units had been sold

at Rossmoor Leisure World, Walnut Creek in three and one

half years, at a dollar figure of $58,360,000.00 (Pl. Ex. 102,

Tr. 221-222). As of the first of 1966 Rossmoor Leisure

World, Walnut Creek’s population was 3,274 (Tr. 458).

Pl. Ex. 74, Tr. 135-136, showed the extent of sales of

earpets by Crestmark by Mutual No. and manors. As of

October; 1967, Crestmark had sold 51% of the carpets at

the 542 manors in Mutual No. 1; in Mutual 2 (468 manors),

42%; in Mutual No. 3 (324 manors), 46%; in Mutual No. 4

(374 manors) 43%; in Mutual No. 5 (274 manors), 47%;

in Mutual No. 6 (176 manors), 43%; in Mutual No. 7 (188

manors), 53%; in Mutual No. 10 (244 manors), 52%; in

Mutual No. 11 (214 manors), 48%; in Mutual No. 12 (140

manors), 22%; and in Mutual No. 13 (12 manors), 8%.

3. The Conspiracy in Restraint of And In Monopolization

of Trade

In September, 1965, Leisure World News circulated a

letter to all advertisers in its Leisure World News stating

that, in part:

ll

The newspaper policy prohibits accepting certain types

of advertising. These are:

3. The newspaper does not accept carpet and drapery

advertising except the Rossmoor Leisure World com-

pany ads.”

This excluded Mr. Rosen’s advertisements. He had con-

tracted to advertise for a year in May, 1965 (Tr. 589-591,

Pl. Ex. 62, Tr. 235).

The policy was the subject of protest by other carpet

retailers, J. C. Penny’s, Capwell’s (Pl. Ex. 50 A, Tr. 294-

307).

It culminated other means taken to shut out competition

in the sale of carpets at Rossmoor Leisure World, Walnut

Creek. Crestmark’s carpet salesmen were not identified

to the purchaser of the manor, but were called color con-

sultants. (Tr. 126-129, Pl. Ex. 36, Tr. 63-65). The carpet

showroom was placed in the same building as the sales

building (Pl. Ex. 9, Tr. 231-232). Leisure World salesper-

sons were told to introduce the manor purchasers who had

to select paint colors to the Crestmark salesmen as “the

color consultants” (Tr. 128-129, 877-884). At the time of

the picking of the colors, the purchaser of the manor was

also told that only if he bought carpets through Crestmark

could he have the carpets laid prior to his moving in. If

he purchased elsewhere, he could not get his carpets in-

stalled until after the key was given to him (Tr. 156-158,

884). The Leisure World sales personnel were shown to

have been monitored in their conversations with prospective

purchasers by Leisure World managers to discourage any

information as to purchasing carpets and drapes from out-

12

side sources (Tr. 535-537). In order to insure the intro-

duction to the color consultant—carpet salesmen by the

Leisure World sales staff spiff payments were made by

Crestmark and it ran drawings, giving prizes to Leisure

World sales people (Pl. Ex. 39-1, 39-2; Tr. 149-150).

Further, Leisure World would give no information as to

the names of potential purchasers of manors to retailers.

Mr. Rosen had been looking for some way of reaching

the incoming buyers of carpets and furniture at Rossmoor

since his first knowledge of the potential market (Tr. 586-

590). He could not obtain information from Leisure World

(Id.). But in May, 1965, Carl Cronin, the Leisure World

News’ advertising manager, approached Mr. Rosen and

asked him to subscribe to an advertising contract. Mr.

Rosen was enthusiastic and signed a 52 week contract

for 26 advertisements (Pl. Ex. 62, Tr. 589-591). Mr. Rosen

then inserted advertisements specially designed for the

Rossmoor Leisure World market. He obtained floor plans

and showed by type of manor the actual prices for each

manor. They were below the Crestmark prices (Tr. 638).

Mr. Rosen had gone to Mohawk Carpet and had obtained

special purchase prices. He received roll prices on all

earpets that Mohawk would supply. Mohawk further

agreed to label the carpet by names that would be used

for each type of floor plan (PI. Ex. 65, 66, 67, Tr. 591-593).

The prices shown by Mr. Rosen were special prices avail-

able for Rossmoor purchasers alone (Tr. 637). Other re-

tailers of carpets who were also advertising or considering

advertising in the Leisure World News were J. C. Penny,

Capwell’s, Jackson’s Furniture, Sloanes, Redlick’s and

Harris of Concord (Tr. 446-447, 289-305).

13

a. Coercive Means Were Used to Further the Conspiracy

In July 1965, Mr. Cortese told Mr. Nelson, Administrator

of the Rossmoor Leisure World, Walnut Creek, to tell the

guy that runs the paper to get Rosen’s advertising out

of it (Tr. 518). The order was relayed to Mr. Ferris,

Editor and Mr. Cronin (Tr. 259, 283, 518, 901-908). The

newspaper staff revolted and attempted to have the order

rescinded (See Pl. Ex. 49, 50, 51, 50A; Tr. 444-447, 452,

289-306). Meetings were held at Walnut Creek (Tr. 297-

302, 436-437, 904-909). An argument was that the policy

was in restraint of trade (Tr. 905-906). It was urged to

be against the interest of the newspaper (Pl. Ex. 49, 50,

SOA, Tr. 289-306, 444-447). Mr. Nelson wrote letters to

Headquarters at Laguna Hills to protest the rule (Id.). Mr.

Rosen protested by letter dated August 10, 1965. (ef. Pl.

Ex. 54, Tr. 324). The policy continued from July, 1965.

The above quoted September policy statement cemented

the oral command of Mr. Cortese to Mr. Nelson. The only

advertisers of carpets tolerated in the Leisure World News

from July, 1965 to September, 1967 was Crestmark Carpet

(Tr. 454, 921). In July, 1965 Leisure World sales people

found that editions of the News containing Mr. Rosen’s

advertising had been scooped up so that the Rosen’s ad-

vertisement could not be sent with the sales literature

mailing (Tr. 534-538).

4. Effect of Conspiracy

Crestmark sold $551,977 carpets and drapes, fiscal year

1965, $835,897 worth of carpets and drapes in 1966, fiscal

year, and in 1967, $418,803 (Pl. Ex. 77; Tr. 214; Pl. Ex.

92); Mr. Rosen sold $29,000 carpets and furniture in the

second half of 1965, $19,152 in 1966 and $4,628 in 1967 (P1.

14

Ex. 88, Tr, 629-631). His first half 1965 sales were $5,292.

(Id.) In the fall of 1965 Mr. Rosen then achieved a spurt

in his sales of carpeting and furniture to purchases at

Rossmoor (PI. Ex. 88, Tr. 609). He attributed these sales

to the advertisements (Tr. 630-631). Before the advertise-

ments he was not selling carpets and drapes to purchasers

of the manors, and after the advertisements were stopped,

his sales dried up (PI. Ex. 88, Tr. 633-634). His first sale

of a carpet to a Rossmoor neweomer was June 26, 1965 (Tr.

640-641). He saw his advertisements in the hands of pur-

chasers (Tr. 597-598). A Crestmark salesman testified that

he saw Mr. Rosen’s ads in customers’ hands and was asked

questions about the advertisements (Tr. 894). Without the

advertisements, Mr. Rosen testified he could not sell to the

Rossmoor residents (Tr. 627-634, 639-640). The daily news-

papers did not reach the market he was after. (Id.) In

September, 1967 he closed his store (Tr. 617). He received

no good will, and lost money on the sale of his inventory

(Tr. 837).

B. COURSE OF THE PROCEEDINGS

The original complaint was filed on August 11, 1966 (Cr.

1-7). The supplemental complaint was filed on May 20, 1968

(Cr. 66-72). The Pre Trial Order was filed on July 31, 1969

(Cr. 109-124). Defendants filed a Pre Trial Statement and

Trial Memorandum (Cr. 93-99; 136-150). Defendants’ Pro-

posed Instructions to the Jury were added to the record

by order February 8, 1978.

Defendants’ Leisure World Foundation and Golden Rain

Foundation of Walnut Creek were named as defendants

and dismissed without prejudice in July 1969 (Cr. 73).

15

In March 1970 the case was assigned to a visiting court,

the Honorable Elbert Parr Tuttle, retired Chief Judge of

the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

and Senior Cireuit Judge. Trial commenced before a jury

on March 16, 1970 and continued until Mareh 27, 1970.

The trial court granted defendants request that the jury

answer special interrogatories under Fed.R.Civ.P. 49

(Tr. 1323, Appendix L herein). It is now admitted by de-

fendants that they designed these interrogatories whose

answers would govern the issues of fact in this case. In

their Memorandum of Defendants-Appellants in Opposition

to Plaintiff-Appellee’s Motion to Recall Supplemental

Briefs and to Augment Record on Appeal (dated Jan. 25,

1978) respondents stated at p. 9:

“,. defendants will admit that the meager record evi-

dence seems to favor the plaintiff’s view and will

assume for purposes of the present discussion that they

are the authors of the special interrogatories.”

The jury returned the answers to the special interrog-

atories as shown in Appendix L (Cr. 161-162). Counsel for

plaintiff then moved that a judgment be entered for plain-

tiff on the answers on the grounds that as a matter of law

there was interstate commerce (Tr. 1330). This motion was

denied (Id.). The trial court then ordered judgment to be

for defendants (Tr. 1332).

Following the order granting the judgment for the

defendant, plaintiff filed a motion for a judgment notwith-

standing the verdict or, in the alternative, for a new

trial (Cr. 163-185). Plaintiff urged that defendants were

liable to plaintiff under Section 4 of the Clayton Act as a

16

matter of law and that there was no evidence upon which

the jury could reasonably conclude that the conspiracy

among the defendants and Leisure World Foundation to

exclude plaintiff from the carpet or other business at Ross-

moor Leisure World, Walnut Creek did not have a sub-

stantial effect or was not in the flow of interstate commerce.

The defendants did not move to have the jury’s answers

set aside. This was so although it found the existence of

the conspiracy they urged as not having occurred. Their

post trial position was simply a legal justification for the

entry of a judgment based upon lack of interstate com-

merce (Cr, 186-216). No attempt was made to urge justi-

fication for the entry of judgment in the failure of proof

of a relevant market. To the contrary, defendants’ position

was that the interstate commerce involved was that of

plaintiff’s business. They conceded in their jury interrog-

atories and their post trial papers that the relevant mar-

ket could be assumed to be Rossmoor Leisure World. Their

emphasis was on lack of interstate commerce. Defendants

stated in their post trial memorandum at Cr. 199-200:

‘‘Nor can Plaintiff successfully argue that there is

any evidence to support an inference that Crestmark

or Rossmoor sought to monopolize the interstate car-

pet business. The evidence conclusively showed that

Crestmark made no sales of carpets and drapes out-

side of Rossmoor Leisure World, and actually sought

only that business.

It is submitted that Plaintiff’s simplistic approach ig-

nores a great body of law to the contrary and the in-

escapable fact that the relevant business and market

involved in this case was strictly local in character.’’

17

The motion of plaintiff for a judgment n.o.v. was denied

and judgment was entered for defendants (Appendix K).

The Court of Appeals reversed the judgment for respon-

dents here (Appendix I herein). It initially ordered that

judgment be entered for plaintiff. Thereafter, respondents

filed Appellees’ Petition for Rehearing including Motion

for Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict, Motion for

New Trial and Suggestion for Appropriateness of Rehear-

ing en bane (Cr. 287-343).

The Court of Appeals thereafter entered its order deny-

ing the petition for rehearing, denying the suggestion for

a rehearing en bance, but eliminating its last sentence grant-

ing judgment for plaintiff (Appendix J).

The appellate court stated that the jury’s answers to

the special interrogatories showed respondents to be con-

spirators who had entered into a conspiracy to exclude

plaintiff from the business of selling at retail in a local

market products produced in other states, and that they

had restrained plaintiff’s retail business to his damage

(Appendix I). The court also stated that the respondents,

by restricting plaintiff’s participation in retail transactions

(at Rossmoor Leisure World), and by eventually excluding

plaintiff entirely from this trade, diverted interstate ship-

ments of carpeting from plaintiff to themselves, thus in-

terfering with the natural flow of interstate commerce

(Appendix I).

Petitioner on remand moved to enter judgment on the

opinion and mandate (Cr. 244-273). Defendants opposed

the entry of judgment for plaintiff and filed their Memo-

18

randum in Opposition to Motion to Enter Judgment (Cr.

273-282).

The trial court thereafter ruled that the jury’s findings

were sufficient under law to enter judgment for plaintiff;

that the respondents had urged upon the appellate court

motions to enter judgment n.o.v. or for a new trial; that

since the appellate court under Neely may make final dis-

position of such motions; the ruling of the court of appeals

denying the petition for rehearing; declining to grant any

motions of respondents, and failing to order the hearing

of any motions of respondents, disposed of any attempt

to urge upon the trial court the very same matters already

submitted to the appellate court and acted upon in its

mandate (Appendix G herein). Thereafter, respondents

filed motions for a judgment n.o.v. or for a new trial

(Cr. 386-417). They were denied (Cr. 370-376, Appendix H).

Defendants below then appealed. The matter was then

heard by a different panel. It concluded that the remand

order of the court of appeals was an express direction to

hear all the arguments advanced by the respondents, in-

cluding the arguments for a judgment n.o.v. (Appendix

E herein).

On remand the trial court found that substantial evidence

supported the findings of the jury (Cr. 514-516, Appendix

D), and entered judgment for petitioner (Cr. 517-521,

Appendix C).

At the hearing of the oral arguments, during the third

appeal, the Court of Appeals requested briefing as to the

issue of relevant market (Order filed Jan. 12, 1978). Peti-

tioner thereafter filed his Motion to Recall Supplemental

Briefs and to Augment the Record on Appeal on the ground

19

that respondents were estopped to raise relevant market

as being other than Rossmoor Leisure World of Walnut

Creek (Filed Jan. 18, 1978). The Court of Appeals then

deferred action on this motion (Order, Feb. 8, 1978). The

motion was denied in the opinion (Appendix A herein).

C. CHANGING DEFENSES OF THE DEFENDANTS

At no time in the course of these proceedings, prior to

or at the trial, did defendants ever suggest that a combina-

tion or conspiracy in unreasonable restraint of trade under

Section 1 of the Sherman Act could not occur if the trier

of fact believed that Mr. Cortese ordered Mr. Nelson to in-

form the editor of the Leisure World News to kill Mr.

Rosen’s advertisement. The issues were conspiracy and lack

of interstate commerce. The Pre-Trial Order, Cr. 117-118,

contains no issue to be tried on the need to prove a relevant

market. In the Statement of Law section plaintiff stated

that a concerted agreement to preclude others from adver-

tising carpets and drapes in the Leisure World News and

to preclude his competition in other ways is in unreasonable

restraint of trade (Cr. 118). The Trial Statement of De-

fendants listed conspiracy, lack of any affect on interstate

commerce, and damages to be the issues (Cr. 136-150).

Defendants told the fact finder Mr. Cortese could not and

would not subvert the will of the Leisure World news-

papermen, that Leisure World and Rossmoor were distinct

entities (Tr. 37, 38, 41, 273-74, 996-997, 1254-1259, 92-94,

1074-1078, 330-332, 498, 503, 950-951, 974, 1036, 1045-1046,

1081, 1101-1102). Mr. Cortese was emphatic in his denial of

his ever having issued the exclusionary order (Tr. 1081).

Not one word concerning the relevant market appears

in defendants’ proposed jury instructions. Their instruction

20

No. 11 regarding attempt to monopolize adopts the rule

that only intent need be shown and that some act be done

in furtherance of the intent. Their instructions on the con-

spiracy issue do not speak in terms of reduction of com-

petition in a market. They, indeed, submitted “monopoliza-

tion” instructions to the court (Df’s Requested Instruction

No. 10).

On appeal, respondents stated in their Appellee’s Brief

in Gough I, No. 26,475, at page 4:

“The relevant market is the market which consists of

the sale at retail of ‘carpets and drapes and related

sales of household furnishings to residents or prospec-

tive residents of Rossmoor Leisure World, Walnut

Creek, California.’ (Complaint, Par. 10, Cr. 4).”

THE REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. This Court Should Review Decisions Which Apply Doc-

trines to Exempt Conspiracies in Restraint of Trade

from the Sherman Act.

A. The Relevant Market Need Not be Shown in a Hard

Core Section 1 Conspiracy Case Since Congress has

Prohibited the Entry into Coercive Conspiracies

Whose Purpose and Object is to Suppress or Ex-

clude Competition in Any Appreciable Part of

Interstate Commerce.

1. The Sherman Act Prohibits the Entry into a

Conspiracy to Prevent Interbrand Competi-

tion in any Appreciable Part of Interstate

Commerce.

Proper application of the antitrust laws imposes lia-

bility when independent business entities conspire or agree

21

to limit, prevent or exclude competition to them as to any

appreciable part of interstate commerce. Manifestly, appli-

cation of the per se rule is not limited to four categories

of means used as stated below.

The central issue of judicial attention is whether the

conduct is unduly restrictive of competitive opportunities

or commercial freedom. Standard Oil Co. of New Jersey

v. United States, 221 U.S. 1 (1911); Mandeville Island

Farms, Inc., v. American Crystal Sugar Co., 334 U.S. 219

(1948); Klor’s, Inc. v. Broadway-Hale Stores, Inc., 359

U.S. 207 (1959); Associated Press v. United States, 326

U.S. 1 (1945); Continental TV, Inc. v. GTE Sylvania,

Inc., 433 U.S. 36 (1977), at n. 28.

Indeed the learned court below failed to focus upon the

declaration of this Court in International Salt Co. v.

United States, 332 U.S. 392 (1947) where this Court stated

at 396:

“. .. but also it is unreasonable, per se, to foreclose

competitors from any substantial market.”

The Court relied on Fashion Originators’ Guild of Amer-

ica v. Federal Trade Commission, 114 F.2d 80, affirmed,

312 U.S. 457 (1941) for this assertion. There Judge

Learned Hand had stated at 85:

“Price fixing is not, however, the only means unlawful

per se; the interest of the consumer is not all that

determines the ‘reasonableness’ of a contract ‘in re-

straint of trade’. It is also unlawful to exclude from

the market any of those who supply it—assuming that

there is no independent reason to justify their exclu-

sion—and it is no excuse for doing so that their

exclusion will result in benefits to consumers, or pro-

ducers who remain,”

22

Conspiracy in fact which is aimed at the elimination of

interbrand competition is to be distinguished from con-

spiracy implied at law when contractual provisions are

enforced on intrabrand dealers to promote interbrand

competition. Compare White Motor Co. v. United States,

372 U.S. 253 (1963), Continental TV, Inc. v. GTE Sylvania,

Inc., supra, with United States v. Kissel, 218 U.S. 601

(1910) ; Binderup v. Pathe Exchange, 263 U.S. 291 (1923) ;

United States v. Socony Vacuum Oil Co., Inc., 310 U.S. 150

(1940), 224, n. 59; United States v. General Motors Corp.,

384 U.S. 127 (1966); Albrecht v. Herald Co., 390 U.S. 145

(1968) ; Wm. Goldman Theatres, Inc. v. Loew’s, Inc., 150 F.

2d 738 (3d Cir. 1945); United States v. General Motors

Corp., 121 F.2d 376 (7th Cir. 1941) at 404; Gough v. Ross-

moor Corp., 487 F.2d 373 (9th Cir. 1973) ; De Voto v. Pacific

Fidelity Life Ins. Co., 516 F.2d 1 (9th Cir. 1975); Fount-

Wip, Inc. v. Reddi-Wip, Inc., 568 F.2d 1296 (9th Cir. 1978) ;

Ronald Fabrics Co. v. Verney Brunswick Mills, Inc., 152 F.

Supp. 136 (D.C.N.Y. 1946); Quemos Theatre Co. v. War-

ner Bros. Pictures, 35 F.Supp. 949 (D.C.N.J. 1940).

Under the rule of reason, purpose is a basic inquiry and

here the purpose has been found to be anticompetitive. It

is sufficient that a conspiracy has been entered into by inde-

pendent entities to foreclose a substantial interstate mar-

ket. National Society of Professional Engineers v. United

States, ........ Sh caus , 98 S.Ct. 13855 (1978).

As stated in Hospital Building Co. v. Trustees of Rex

Hospital, 425 U.S. 738, 746 (1976):

“Thus, since in this case the allegations fairly claim

that the alleged conspiracy, to the extent it is success-

ful, will place ‘unreasonable burdens on the free and

23

uninterrupted flow’ of interstate commerce, they are

wholly adequate to state a claim.”

In Pfizer, Inc. v. Government of India, ........ US. ........ :

98 S.Ct. 584 (1978) this Court stated at 588:

“The Court has noted that §4 has two purposes: to

deter violators and deprive them of the ‘fruits of their

illegality’, and ‘to compensate victims of antitrust vio-

lations for their injuries’.”

Respondents tried the case under these still vital state-

ments of antitrust law. The jury here found a purpose and

intent to exclude interbrand competition by withholding

information from the public in a 20 million dollar market.

Barriers of entry were created to competition in a market

. financed by federal mortgage guarantees. There can be no

basic distinction between Gough III and the District Court

in United States v. General Motors Corp., 234 F.Supp. 85,

unanimously reversed, 384 U.S. 127 (1966). The same

device of ignoring the purposes, scope and effect of a con-

spiracy was used to immunize a hard core conspiracy from

liability. It is clear that the learned court below is attempt-

ing the use of another doctrine in the long list of devices

asserted to exempt parties from antitrust liability in pri-

vate actions. This is contrary to this Court’s teachings in

Radovich v. National Football League, 352 U.S. 445 (1957)

that Congress has acted to punish or deter conduct in

restraint of trade and has declared a private cause of action

for this purpose.

B. This Court Has Heretofore Resisted All Efforts to

Shift Judicial Attention Away From The Purposes,

Scope and Means of the Conspiracy to Suppress

Competition.

In Binderup v. Pathe News Exchange, 263 U.S. 291

(1923) this Court reviewed the defense that since the dis-

tributors could severly terminate contractual arrangements,

there can be no restraint on interstate trade and commerce

when a combination or conspiracy accomplishes that which

the individual could lawfully do and it was applicable to

only a single merchant. But it was held that a combination

or conspiracy which suppresses the trade of a single dealer

by restraining his liberty to engage in business, as a neces-

sary corollary restrains interstate trade and commerce

and is in violation of the Act. To the contrary of the

doctrine of a relevant market as used below, Binderup

establishes that a combination and conspiracy which sup-

presses the trade of a single merchant is actionable without

more. See also Kastern States R.L.D. Associates v. United

States, 234 U.S. 600 (1914). Since Gough I held that an

appreciable part of interstate commerce was involved at

Rossmoor Leisure World in the retailing of carpets, Binder-

up compels the enforcement of the judgment here.

Next, in United States v. First National Pictures, Inc.,

282 U.S. 44 (1930), the Supreme Court rejected, out of

hand, the contention which has some surviving effect in

the opinion below, that it is no defense that the conspiracy

does not suppress all competition between the parties, and

is limited in its objectives.

In Associated Press v. United States, 326 U.S. 1 (1945)

it was urged that a combination should not be subject to

25

the prohibition of the Sherman Act unless the conspiracy

precluded the public from access to the product involved;

that a conspiracy can exclude others if the product is

otherwise available. This Court rejected this doctrine, then

called “indispensability.” This Court in Associated Press

said that the defense of availability of product in the

market place to immunize anticompetitive conduct would

make the Act a dead letter in all fields of business.

In Radovich v. National Football League, 352 U.S. 445

(1957) this Court struck down the attempt of the judiciary

to require plaintiff to prove a public injury apart from a

conspiracy in restraint of trade. The Court stated:

“In the face of such a policy this Court should not

add requirements to burden the litigant beyond what

is specifically set forth by Congress in those laws.”

Then, in Klor’s, Inc. v. Broadway-Hale Stores, Inc., 359

U.S. 207 (1959), the attempt to make availability of the

product to the public in the area of dispute under the

defense of lack of public injury was rejected. The Clayton

Act was held to specifically allow the recovery of damages

by asingle merchant regardless of access of the public to the

goods and wares to which he was unlawfully deprived. The

doctrine of relevant market to exempt the conspiracy to

exclude Mr. Rosen cannot be distinguished from the

doctrine of public injury which was used to exempt Broad-

way-Hale from liability. Both require a self answering

market analysis independent and apart from the objectives

and means of the conspiracy to deprive an interbrand

competitor of a free and untrammelled market place. But

it is that market place which Congress has guaranteed and

which the judiciary must enforce.

26

Clearly, the court below has failed to apply the rule of

Radovich, Klor’s and General Motors that there is no

defense to the entry into a conspiracy with a proven ob-

jective to exclude competition, by using an unlawful means

of refusal to deal.

As stated in United States v. General Motors, 384 U.S.

127, 146:

“The principle of these cases is that where business-

men concert their actions in order to deprive others

of access to merchandise which the latter wish to sell

the public, we need not inquire into the economic moti-

vation underlying their contract.”

C. The Means Used by the Conspiracy Here are Also

in Per Se Violation of the Act.

1. The refusal to deal was a per se violation.

Just as in General Motors and Klor’s, the trial record

here cannot be ignored. As such, it cannot be validly stated

that this record does not disclose a group boycott, a price

fixing agreement and an agreement to eliminate competi-

tion between members of a combination. There is no doubt

as to the showing of a refusal to deal. There is no anti-

trust principle which protects that refusal to deal because

the court can find only one competitor to the victim in-

volved in the conspiracy. This was the same situation in

Klor’s, supra. A group boycott exists for antitrust pur-

poses when a conspiracy imposes a refusal to deal which

has anticompetitive purposes or effects. Further, a re-

straint imposed on a supplier is deemed horizontal, not

vertical. United States v. TopCo Associates, 450 U.S. 596

(1972). Rossmoor r Crestmark are not suppliers to the

Leisure World News; they are advertisers, They have no

:

27

enforceable contractual right for the protection of trade-

marks or goodwill. Rather, they imposed a restraint on the

News. This Court in Continental T.V. v. GTE Sylvania,

Inc., 433 U.S. 36 (1977) stated that contractual provisions

in licensing or appointment arrangements are subject to the

rule of reason when the relationship of the parties show

that a manufacturer has valid business reasons for placing

restraints upon his dealer organization. In footnote 28,

this Court specifically excepted from such rule restraints

imposed by others on the manufacturer in order to protect

the parties from interbrand competition. Here the agents

for the retirement community whose function is to protect

the purchasers of manors can clearly not be restrained by

Mr. Cortese to protect his little side venture which was

really outside F'.H.A. perusal. Clearly, this conduct is no

more subject to judicial approval than Lorain Journal’s

similar edict. Indeed, the defendants told the court and

jury that they could not and would not interfere with the

community’s newspaper (Cr. 95, 117-118, 137; Tr. 1258).

2. Respondents Were Effecting A Stay Out Of

Rossmoor Policy.

The learned court below is really enforcing a division of

territory agreement in which Crestmark sought a deal that

if we do not compete in Walnut Creek, you cannot com-

pete at Rossmoor Leisure World. The court below is in

effect holding that Mr. Rosen should never have started

his plan to actively compete against Crestmark. But Mr.

Rosen, Penney’s and other retailers are protected in this

competition. A little protectionism is not within the rule

of reason. Such an implication runs directly against Lorain

Journal v. United States, 342 U.S. 143 (1951).

28

8. The Respondents Were Fixing Prices

Nor can the courts be blind to the price fixing involved

here. Over and over, petitioner asserted that his advertis-

ing showed lower prices than Crestmark’s; that this was

a major reason for the order of Mr. Cortese, to, “get that

guy out of the paper.”

Clearly, this is a consideration to be dealt with and not

ignored. General Motors involved a larger geographical

area than did the Rossmoor Leisure World, but in each

case the clear purpose and effect was to prevent access

of discounters to the market place. The final effect, as

heretofore indicated, is the demise of Mr. Rosen’s business.

But the purchasers of manors at Rossmoor Leisure World

were deprived of access to information in a paper used

as sales literature that Mr. Rosen had specially priced

carpets for use at their manors at prices below Crest-

mark’s. Relevant market is no more a defense here than

enforcing contracts were in General Motors.

It is noted that the decision below is in direct conflict

with a decision of another panel issued the same year,

Fount-Wip, Inc. v. Reddi-Wip, Inc., 568 F.2d 1296 (9th

Cir. 1978). There a plaintiff was allowed recovery for in-

juries sustained when a competitive licensor of aerosol

whipped cream and a dairy owned by the licensor com-

bined to refuse to deal with the plaintiff. This was so not-

withstanding the failure to have proved a relevant market

for the purposes of §2 of the Sherman Act or $7 of the

Clayton Act. The jury’s findings that the purpose and

object of the conspiracy was in restraint of trade was held

io have established a violation of the Sherman Act.

29

D. Competition in a $50,000,000 Retirement Commu-

nity Is Subject to Judicial Protection Under § 2 of

the Sherman Act.

1, Acommunity is a significant part of commerce

under Section 2.

Further departure from well established precedent is

seen in the rejection of Rossmoor Leisure World, Walnut

Creek as a relevant market. The court held that the trial

court had found this to be the relevant market. There was

substantial evidence that Rossmoor Leisure World at

Walnut Creek was a legally definable relevant market, and

this Court should prevent a gross injustice from occurring.

The decision below is in direet conflict with Lorain

Journal Co, v. United States, 342 U.S. 143 (1951) which

held that potential advertisers in a community of 11,325

dwelling units could not be the subject of a restriction by

the only newspaper in Lorain that they could not advertise

over a competitive radio station. The City of Lorain was

deemed a part of interstate commerce (342 U.S. 151, n. 6).

Rossmoor Leisure World is also a community. In order

to gain access to its neweomers merchants had to obtain the

attention of the carpet buyer before he was introduced

to the color consultant—Crestmark carpet salesmen.

The Court in Lorain stated at 152:

“Unless protected by law, the consuming public is at

the merey of restraints and monopolization of inter-

state commerce at whatever points they occur. Without

the protection of competition at the outlets of the flow

of interstate commerce, the protection of its earlier

stages is of little worth.”

30

That monopolization may occur in single communities,

or portions of them, is also clear from United States v.

Griffith, 334 U.S. 100, 106-107. Subsequent decisions make

it clear that a relevant market may be any commercially

significant section of the country where parties compete.

Brown Shoe Co. v. United States, 370 U.S. 294 (1962), at

336, United States v. Marine Bancorporation, 418 U.S. 602

(1974). Gough I has already ruled that Rossmoor Leisure

World is a significant section of the country. Brown Shoe

stated at 370 U.S. 337:

“Thus, although the geographic market in some in-

stances may encompass the entire nation, under other

circumstances it may be as small as a single metro-

politan area,”

2. Relevant market is definable in terms of where

sellers seek to compete.

In Marine Bancorporation, this Court defined the relev-

ant market as the area where the parties are in actual

and direct competition. Here that area is Rossmoor

Leisure World.

3. The barriers erected by sellers may define a

relevant market.

Further, barriers to competition are used to define the

relevant market. No discussion of this principle is found

in the opinion below, but it cannot be ignored as it is en-

trenched. William Goldman Theatres v. Loew’s, Inc., 150

F.2d 738 (8d Cir. 1945). Woods Exploration & Prod. Co.

v. Aluminum Co. of America, 438 F.2d 1286 (5th Cir. 1971),

1306 (1971); Gamco, Inc. v. Providence Fruit & Produce

31

Bldg., 194 F.2d 484 (1st Cir. 1952). In Gamco the court

stated at 487:

“. .. alternatives will not excuse monopolization”. ....

The Act does not merely guarantee the right to create

markets; it also insures the right of entry into old

ones.” at 488:

“But the latent monopolist must justify the exclusion

of a competitor from a market which he controls.

The court below further adopted the singular test of

defining the relevant market as the area where the pur-

chaser can reasonably turn to obtain the product. None of

this Court’s monopolization cases may be so limited. It may

also be where the sellers or suppliers seek to compete to

afford the lowest prices and the best quality to those they

wish to sell. The test is competition, not public injury. In

short, the opinion below misses the entire thrust of this

action; those with monopolistic advantage used conspiracy

and unlawful means as a way of excluding others. This is

actionable conduct. United States v. Griffith, 334 U.S. 100,

106-107 (1948). Lorain Journal Co. v. United States, 342

U.S. 143 (1951) (“The operator of the radio station, equally

with the publisher of the newspaper, is entitled to protec-

tion of that Act.” (at 155) )

E. Relevant Market is Not a Test When Conspiracy

or Attempt to Monopolize is In Issue.

Relevant market as involving the definition of the prod-

uct and the geographical extent of competition is a neces-

sary element for the offense of monopolization only, United

States v. E. I, du Pont de Nemours & Co., 351 U.S. 377

(1956) ; Walker Process Eqpt. Inc. v. Food Machinery and

Chemical Corp., 382 U.S. 172 (1965), United States v. Yel-

32

low Cab Co., 332 U.S. 218 (1948), Swift € Co. v. United

States, 196 U.S. 375 (1905); Lessig v. Tidewater Oil Co.,

327 F.2d 459 (9th Cir. 1964) ;

F. Relevant Market Does Not Allow the Appellate

Court To Order Judgment for the Respondents.

Justice will not tolerate the ad hoc use of the doctrine of

relevant market to allow the entry of judgment here.

Firstly, relevant market is not the same as the rule of rea-

son. Yet, the court below justified its imposition on the

validity of the judgment below as a part of the rule of rea-

son. But the rule of reason places the burden of vindication

of the adopted rule in restraint of trade upon the perpe-

trators, not the government or the private person. Board

of Trade of the City of Chicago v. United States, 246 U.S.

231 (1918). This rule allows the defense to establish pro-

competitive benefits. Its very statement shows its inappro-

priateness here. In Board of Trade the Court stated that

purpose or end sought to be achieved under the Rule of

Reason are relevant factors. If so, the judiciary cannot

allow a judgment to be reversed upon a standard which

demands factual inquiry when the record supports the very

facts this Court stated were relevant te determine unrea-

sonableness? Inquiry is not a door slamming proposition ;

it is investigative. Nothing here tolerated the finding that

the rule against outsider advertising in the Leisure World

News, in frauding the public at Leisure World, at diverting

trade by conspiracy is reasonable. Yet a judgment is to be

wiped out under its name. The proper administration of

justice prevents this result.

33

II. This Court Should Enforce Rules Which Prevent

Litigants From Urging as Error Their Own Submis-

sions or Offers.

A. Litigants are Estopped from Obtaining the Ben-

efits of Their Own Errors

It is respectfully submitted that the learned court below

has ignored entirely the manner in which this case was

tried. At no time until they learned that judgment was

going to be entered against it, did respondents ever ad-

vance the contention that this conspiracy involved here as

a Section 1 offense was subject to the rule of reason. They

conceded that the relevant market was Rossmoor Leisure

World, Walnut Creek.

Respondents failed to file a cross-appeal in 1970 or other-

wise abandon their view of interstate commerce during the

course of the appeal. This view emphasized the purely

local nature of the competition here and asserted Ross-

moor Leisure World to be the relevant market.

Their interrogatories to the jury defined the relevant

market to be Rossmoor Leisure World. The learned court

of appeals below ignored the issues of estoppel and waiver.

Its position was that plaintiff in the complaint had defined

the relevant market and it was denied. In fact, the com-

plaint raised unreasonable affect on interstate commerce

and alleged the conspiracy’s objectives, means and effects.

The failure to have found estoppel ignores the pretrial

order, the lack of any dispute at the time of trial, the

defendants proposed instructions which failed to make

any issue of fact or law as to a separate issue of relevant

market other than Rossmoor Leisure World, and admis-

sions in their Appellees’ Brief filed in Gough I.

34

The learned court below also makes reference to the

statements by plaintiff’s counsel to the jury as showing

that there wasw contested issue of a relevant market. The

following statements of plaintiff’s counsel are in direct

contradiction to this holding. At Tr. 1217:

“So if you find then that there is an agreement between

Leisure World operating a newspaper and Crestmark

to prevent Mr. Rosen from advertising for the benefit

of Crestmark, this is a violation of interstate com-

merce...”

At Tr. 1218:

“We have alleged that there is a violation of both

provisions involved here. Now under the first section

all we would have to do would be to prove to you that

there is an agreement.”

As to Section 2 of the Sherman Act, counsel stated at

Tr. 1219:

“Now, therefore, violation of §2 is a determination

that there is a relevant market which is a definable

marketing area to which there ought to be free com-

petition and free services made available and as to

which there can be a monopolization. Now the relevant

area we would say to you here, is Rossmoor Leisure

World. We have the bulletin for you. You can see

that it is a separate community, it is a community

mainly aimed at retirement people. It has its guard

house, community facility building, golf course, and it

is designed to operate pretty much like a city

operates.”

Clearly it appears that both parties in no way made an

issue of the relevant market as other than Rossmoor

Leisure World. It was not an issue under §1 of the Sher-

man Act. It was conceded by respondents under Section 2

35

of the Act since their attack was on lack of interstate com-

merce. It is to be further emphasized why this is the case.

There is no authority from this Court indicating that

relevant market is an issue in a conspiracy to suppress

competition case. The citations authorizing the reversal

of the judgment in the plaintiff’s favor refer to cases

after the trial in this case in March, 1970: Mutual Fund

Investors v. Putnam Management Co., 553 F.2d 620, 627

(9th Cir. 1977); Knutson v. Daily Review, Inc., 548 F.2d

795, 803 (9th Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 433 U.S. 910 (1977) ;

Cataphote Corp. v. DeSoto Chem. Coatings, Inc., 450 F.2d

769, 773 (9th Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 408 U.S. 929 (1972).

Clearly a litigant cannot require a trial on controverted

issue of fact and after reversal on appeal assume a contra-

dictory position, Intentional contradiction cannot be used

as a means of obtaining unfair advantages in a forum

provided for suitors seeking justice. See Zenith Radio Co.

v. Hazeltine Research, Inc., 401 U.S. 321 (1971); Scarano

v. Central Ry. Co. of New Jersey, 203 F.2d 510 (3d Cir.

1953); Roth v. McAllister Bros., Inc., 316 F.2d 143 (2d

Cir. 1963); Wood v. United Air Lines 216 F.Supp. 340

(E.D.N.Y. 1963).

For the antitrust laws to be otherwise interpreted means

that a wealthy and powerful defendant can exhaust the

plaintiff of small means when Congressional purpose is the

exact opposite. Are we now back to pre-World War II

statistics where virtually the only successful plaintiffs

were those with a government judgment on their behalf?

It is to be noted that in the Fouwnt-Wip case, supra, 568

F.2d 1296, another panel of the same circuit allowed a jury

verdict to be enforced for the plaintiff notwithstanding the

36

defendant’s contention that the defenses of release and res

judicata be considered. The failure to preserve the issues

were found. Here respondents are clearly allowed to blow

hot or cold depending on the latest appellate ruling.

B. In any event, Judgment n.o.v. Cannot be En-

tered for Mefendants Because They Failed to Make

a Motion Within 10 Days after the Findings of

the Jury.

The rule of this Court is express and prevents the

appellate court from entering judgment n.o.v. for the

respondents. Globe Liquor Co. v. Roman, 332 U.S. 571

(1948); Cone v. W. Va. Pulp & Paper Co. 330 U.S. 212

(1947); Cf. Neely v. Martin K. Eby Construction Co. 386

U.S. 317 (1967). In Neely, this Court stated, 386 U.S. 325-

226:

“The opinions in the above cases make it clear that an

appellate court may not order judgment n.o.v. where

the verdict loser has failed strictly to comply with the

procedural requirements of Rule 50(b), or where the

record reveals a new trial issue which has not been

resolved.”

Failure to have followed this rule has prejudiced peti-

tioner who would have had the case resolved in 1973 rather

than 1978, and now do not obtain a new trial.

III. Judgment Cannot be Enforced When Based on an

Appellate Court Entering Findings of Fact Con-

trary to the Trier of Fact.

Reversal of the trial court’s judgment in Gough III can-

not be tolerated if respect is given to the proposition that

those responsible for determining the credibility of wit-

37

nesses are the sole triers of fact. U.S. CONST., amend.

VII. The federal courts on appeal cannot reexamine the

facts found by the jury. Story Parchment Co. v. Paterson

Parchment Paper Co., 282 U.S. 555 (1931). The following

statements by the appellate court simply have no

foundation.

1. In order to meet the requirements for securing FHA

financing for construction of the housing, the Foundation

is formally independent of Rossmoor (Appendix A-2).

There is more than formal independence. The extensive

trial involved the issue of conspiracy among the defendants

who asserted that Leisure World Foundation and Ross-

moor were independent and distinct entities and that Ross-

moor in no way controlled Leisure World Foundation (Tr.

37, 38, 41, 273-274, 996-997, 1244-1245, 92-94, 1074-1078, 330-

332, 498, 503, 950-951, 974, 1036, 1045-1046, 1081, 1101-1102).

Otherwise, they have filed false affidavits with the F.H.A.

2. Here the concert of action was between a sole com-

petitor and that competitor’s parent and in no way in-

volved an agreement among competitors (Appendix A-13).

But Leisure World News is a member of that conspiracy

notwithstanding the fact it was an agent of the Mutual

Corporation and not Rossmoor Corporation. It has an

agents obligation to promote competition.

3. That agreement which only prevented advertising of

carpets in the News, did not deprive Rosen of an element

necessary to compete; other means of advertising, includ-

ing other newspapers, were readily available (Appendix

A-13).

38

But this was in dispute and is based on a reexamination

of the damage award. As heretofore shown, the record

showed complete barriers to the retailers attempting to

compete. Mr. Rosen could not obtain names of the pro-

spective purchasers of manors; the purchasers were intro-

duced to the carpet salesman as a color consultant. Only

Crestmark had the privilege of installation, conversations

were monitored, issues of the paper were destroyed, mail-

ings were scooped up, and the objective was to exclude.

The jury did not accept the proposition that other ad-

vertising was effective. The carpet purchaser had to be

contacted prior to the introduction of the Crestmark sales-

man as color consultant. The Leisure World News was on

the sales tables, in the sales rooms, or received in the mail.

The evidence was substantial that sales were made by

petitioner to Rossmoor purchasers in the fall 1965, and

then dried up. The jury found that the conspiracy reduced

Rosen’s sales, profits and was a substantial factor in

causing the closing of the store.

4. We do not know the extent to which the restraint

contributed to Rosen’s business failure (App. A-15).

But the jury found the extent and the reversal here

is not based on the failure of evidence as to proximate

cause. It is self-evident that a business is not going

to close if it has legitimate access to millions of dollars

of sales upon a record which showed sales success based

on a particular means of getting sales information to the

public. The Court of Appeals is, in effect, rejecting Mr.

Rosen’s testimony concerning his limited success. But

Bigelow v. RKO Radio Pictures, Inc., 327 U.S. 251 (1946),

39

expressly allows the awarding of damages based upon

profits during a pre-conspiratorial period of time.

4, There was no attempt to put him out of business

(Appendix A-15),.

But the answers to the interrogatories state specifically

that there was a common plan to prevent advertising at

Rossmoor Leisure World, such as to act as a restraint

upon plaintiff’s business. It awarded damages because it

found the closing of a business by unlawfvl restraint. The

court here is in direct conflict with Lorain Journal, 342

U.S. at 153-155.

5. Other newspapers and means of conveying his com-

mercial message were still open to him, and accordingly

he was not without suppliers of that which was denied to

him by the refusal to deal (Appendix A-15).

The jury found otherwise. The courts may not allow a

conspiracy to dictate on what terms competitors may com-

pete. Lorain Journal Co. v. United States, supra, 342 U.S.

at 154, n. 8.

6. It was not predatory to cause the foundation to bar

Rosen from advertising in the News (Appendix A-19),

But the free market allowed Rosen to advertise in the

newspaper he wanted to advertise in. Independent news-

men were against the policy. They testified that freedom

of the press had been interfered with, and argued that a

restraint of trade had occurred. Coercion had taken place.

The testimony of these men and what they stand for has

been totally disregarded. The substitution of free choice

40

by a coercive conspiracy is predatory. Lorain Journal Co.

v. United States, 342 U.S. at 149, 154, n. 8.

7. Access to Leisure World was not denied. Access to

the advertising columns of the News was denied, but that

was all (Appendix A-13, n. 8).

Access to Leisure World was denied in every conceivable

way it could be. The jury disagreed with the court of »

appeals. So, also, the radio station in the Lorain Journal

case should have been satisfied with its being told to stay

with Elyria advertisers.

IV. The Opinion in Gough III Violates the Doctrine of

Law of the Case

Gough I stated in 1973 that the jury’s factual findings

that defendants with the power and intent to exclude plain-

tiff from the Rossmoor Leisure World entered into a plan

to restrain plaintiff’s business established as a matter of

law that defendants had violated the Sherman Act (Ap-

pendix I-6). It also stated that the jury’s findings of

damages established as a matter of law that plaintiff had

the right to redress (Id.).

The trial court on remand following Gough IJ found that

the evidence to support these findings was substantial.

Clearly, Gough III in reversing Gough I is acting contrary

to the doctrine of Law of the Case. May Department Stores

v. Reynolds, 140 F.2d 799 (8th Cir. 1944); Donnelly

Garment Co. v. N.L.R.B., 123 F.2d 215 (8th Cir. 1942);

In re Carmona, 224 F.Supp. 497 (8.D. Ca. 1963), affirmed,

336 F.2d 518 (9th Cir. 1964).

41

CONCLUSION

This Court has always taught that private litigants

should be encouraged by the judiciary to bring their anti-

trust actions. The purpose of this encouragement is to

prevent restraint of trade and wrongs to the public by the

deprivation of free markets. The result in this record

shows, however, that facts are decided by the appellate

court and a subsequent panel has overruled a prior panel.

The Charter of Freedom has now been written to cause

unnecessary and complex trials whose effect is to further

allow disrespect for the Act. The opinion below represents

a serious change in the course of antitrust litigation and

on this record supports an unfair advantage taken by the

respondents.

Clearly, a petition for certiorari ought to be granted in

this case. In consideration of the history of this litigation

the Court should consider a per curiam affirmance of the

judgment for petitioner entered by the trial court.

December 12, 1978.

MaxweE.u Keira

Antuony J. MERCANT

Mercant & O’Brien

By Maxwe.u Kerra

Attorneys for Petitioner

(Appendices Follow)

——

Appendices

i dir i iit a

A-1

Appendix A

In the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

No. 77-2047

Kerry M. Gough, Trustee in Bankruptcy |

of Louis Rosen, d/b/a Walnut Creek

Furniture,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

vs.

Rossmoor Corporation, and Crestmark

Carpet and Drapery Company,

Defendants-Appellants :

[Filed August 9, 1978]

On Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of California

OPINION

Before: MERRILL, KILKENNY and CHOY, Circuit

Judges

MERRILL, Circuit Judge:

The question on appeal is whether, absent a definition of

the relevant market, the record supports a judgment that

appellants violated §§ 1 and 2 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C.

§§ 1, 2. We hold that it did not and reverse judgment of the

district court.

A-2

THE CAST

Rossmoor Leisure World (Leisure World) is a co-opera-

tive housing development for retired adults, located in

Walnut Creek, California.

Rossmoor Corporation (Rossmoor) is the builder and

developer of Leisure World.

Leisure World Foundation (the Foundation) is a non-

profit corporation established to perform administrative

services for the residents of Leisure World and also to

perform organizational, promotional and sales functions

for Rossmoor. In order to meet the requirements for secur-

ing FHA financing for construction of the housing, the

Foundation is formally independent of Rossmoor.’ (Title to

the community recreational facilities is held in trust by

another independent foundation that appears less fre-

quently in the case: the Golden Rain Foundation.)

‘The relationships between the Foundation and Rossmoor on the

one hand, and the Foundation and the residents on the other,

involve a complex yr ingyen making possible the development

of the community, the financing of construction and the sale of

Leisure World residences. Leisure World, as it presently exists, did

not come into existence at one time. It resulted from a series of

development projects, each adding geographically to the com-

munity. For each project a mutual corporation was organized which

took from Rossmoor title to the land involved. Those who planned

to secure a residence in the project purchased shares in the mutual,

which shares entitled them to occupancy of a residence upon its

construction. Rossmoor and the mutual then entered into a purchase

and construction contract, and when 90 percent of the mutual stock

was sold construction commenced. The Foundation acts as an

administrative arm of the mutuals. At the outset of a new project

it is also involved in promotion and sale of stock in the mutual

and thus is closely aligned in interest with Rossmoor, whose interest

lies in the construction and sale of residences. With construction

completed the principal function of the Foundation has to do with

its responsibilities to the residents and mutual stockholders—the

handling of their residential concerns, the upkeep of common areas,

and management of community facilities,

a ee ee

A-3

Crestmark Carpet and Drapery Company (Crestmark) is

a wholly owned subsidiary of Rossmoor, formed for the

purpose of selling carpets and draperies to the Leisure

World residents. The Foundation has leased space in its

administration building to Crestmark giving it the exclu-

sive right to sell carpets and draperies from a site within

Leisure World.

The Leisure.World News (the News) is a community

newspaper owned and published by the Foundation. It is

primarily concerned with Leisure World events and is used

as a promotional device for prospective purchasers of

housing.

Louis Rosen was the owner of a furniture and carpet

store in Walnut Creek; appellee Gough is his trustee in

bankruptcy.

THE GRIEVANCE

In April, 1965, the Foundation began publishing the

Leisure World News. Rosen was solicited by the advertis-

ing manager and placed seven carpet, drapery and furniture

advertisements in various issues of the News. In July, 1965,

under a new policy, the News refused to accept further

advertisements from carpet retailers other than Crestmark,

and no further advertisements from Rosen were accepted.

Rosen then commenced this action, alleging violations

of § 1 and 4 2 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1 and § 2. He

alleged that Rossmoor, the Foundation, Golden Rain Foun-

dation and Crestmark had conspired to restrain competition

by refusing to allow him to advertise in the News, and that

the conspiracy was with the intent of enabling Crestmark

to monopolize the market for carpets in Leisure World. He

A-4

sought treble damages under $4 of the Clayton Act, 15

U.S.C. § 15, for injuries suffered by him by reason of the

Sherman Act violations.

THE CASE

The case has been before this court on two prior

occasions.

The Foundation and Golden Rain Foundation were dis-

missed from the case prior to trial, although their status

as coconspirators was retained. Following trial to a jury

the issues were submitted to the jury in the form of inter-

rogatories, which were answered by the jury as follows:

“1. Did the defendants and Leisure World Foun-

dation or Golden Rain Foundation by means of a

common plan, scheme or design have the power and

intention to exclude plaintiff from the carpet and/or

other business in Rossmoor Leisure World?

Yes.

2. Did defendan‘s enter into a common plan, scheme

or design with Leisure World Foundation or Golden

Rain Foundation to prevent plaintiff from advertising

carpets in the Leisure World News such as to act as

a restraint on plaintiff’s business of selling carpets or

other merchandise at Rossmoor Leisure World?

Yes.

3. If your answer to either of the preceding ques-

tions is in the affirmative, did such restraint have a

substantial effect on interstate commerce or the flow

of interstate commerce?

No.

A-5

4. Has plaintiff suffered any monetary damage by

reason of its inability to advertise in Leisure World

News?

Yes.

5. If so, please indicate the amount opposite the

appropriate type of damage you find to have been suf-

fered. 4

Net Profits $18,143.00

Good Will 22,738.00”

Because of the jury answer to interrogatory No. 3, re-

lating to interstate commerce, the trial court entered judg-

ment for the defendants on the ground that the court lacked

jurisdiction under the Sherman Act. The first appeal to this

court was then taken. During the pendency of that appeal

Rosen was adjudicated bankrupt and appellee Gough, as

trustee in bankruptcy, was substituted as plaintiff-appel-

lant. On Gough’s appeal this court held that a substantial

effect on interstate commerce appeared as matter of law

and that it had been error to put the jurisdictional question

to the jury. Gough v. Rossmoor Corp., 487 F.2d 373, 377

(9th Cir. 1973). This court originally directed that the

case be remanded with instructions that judgment be en-

tered for the plaintiff in accordance with the jury’s find-

ings. Appellants sought rehearing and asked this court to

enter judgment notwithstanding the verdict on the ground

that the record did not support the jury’s findings and that

the findings did not support judgment in that no finding

had been made defining the relevant market, and that there

was nothing in the record upon which such a finding could

have been made. This court declined to rule upon appel-

lants’ motion for judgment but amended its original opin-

A-6

ion and remanded the case to the trial court for further

proceedings consistent with the opinion. 487 F.2d at 378.

On remand Rossmoor renewed its motions for judgment

n.o.v. and new trial.

The trial court ruled that it was foreclosed by this

court’s opinion from entertaining the post trial motions

and the second appeal to this court was taken, this time

by the defendants. We held that the trial court was not

foreclosed from entertaining the motions on their merits

and remanded with instructions that appellants’ motions

be entertained. Gough v. Rossmoor Corp., 533 F.2d 453

(9th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 857 (1976).

On the second remand the trial court denied the motions,

ruling that the evidence was sufficient to permit the jury

to find that there was a common plan between Rossmoor,

Crestmark and the Foundation, under which the Founda-

tion would cause the News to refuse to allow FP sen to

advertise his carpets in the News, which plan was atended

to lessen competition. Judgment was entered for Rosen in

treble the damages found by the jury, with interest, costs

and counse? fees. This appeal followed.

THE ISSUES

Appellants assign error in a number of respects,’ with

only two of which we shall concern ourselves. We find merit

in appellants’ contentions that appellee has failed to show

In addition to the issues discussed appellants contend (1) that

as integral parts of a single enterprise they are legally incapable

of conspiracy; (2) that appellee has failed to _— conspiracy

between Rossmoor and the Foundation; (3) that the evidence does

not support the finding or amount of damages; (4) that hearsay

evidence was improperly admitted.

A-7

violation either of §1 or §2 of the Sherman Act through

failure to present evidence defining the relevant market

and establishing that competition was unreasonably re-

strained in that market and that monopolization of the

market was attempted.

Before reaching the merits of these issues we must dis-

pose of two preliminary contentions of appellee.

Appellee first contends that these issues were not raised

before the district court and, that by the interrogatories

to the jury, appellants conceded that Leisure World is

the relevant market. We disagree.

Unless the alleged anticompetitive conduct is per se

unreasonable, the fact that the conduct restrained trade

in a relevant market is an essential part of a plaintiff’s

case (as we shall discuss later), and the burden of estab-

lishing it lies on him. Mutual Fund Investors v. Putnam

Management Co., 553 F.2d 620, 627 (9th Cir. 1977) ; Knut-

son v. Daily Review, Inc., 548 F.2d 795, 803 (9th Cir.

1976), cert. denied, 433 U.S. 910 (1977); Cataphote Corp.

v. DeSoto Chem. Coatings, Inc., 450 F.2d 769, 773 (9th

Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 408 U.S. 929 (1972). Lack of mar-

ket definition is not a matter of affirmative defense that

must be specifically pleaded.

Rosen, in his complaint, alleged that the market within

which defendants’ “monopolistic position” could be as-

sessed was Leisure World; this allegation was denied.

Rosen, in his pretrial brief, made reference to the evi-

dence by which he proposed to establish that Leisure

World was the relevant market. Following trial, in his

argument to the jury, counsel for Rosen stated that the

contested issue of relevant market pertained to Rosen’s

A-8

claims under both $1 and §2. An instruction submitted

by Rosen and objected to by appellants was given to the

jury, reading in part:

“The test here is whether the combination affects a

definable marketing or trade area, and whether it un-

naturally diverts the transportation of goods to or

from that area.”

As to the interrogatories, the jury was not asked to

define the relevant market. The interrogatories assumed

that Leisure World was the relevant market. When, as in

this case, the jury verdict is in response to written ques-

tions upon the factual issues, the effect of a failure to

present an issue to the jury is set forth in Rule 49(a),

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. That rule provides in

part:

“Tf in so doing the court omits any issue of fact

raised by the pleadings or by the evidence, each

party waives his right to a trial by jury of the issue

so omitted unless before the jury retires he demands

its submission to the jury. As to an issue omitted

without such demand the court may make a finding;

or, if it fails to do so, it shall be deemed to have

made a finding in accord with the judgment on the

special verdict.”

Thus, here a court finding to the effect that Leisure

World was the relevant market was essential if the jury’s

findings were to have any legal effect. Under the rule

a finding to that effect is presumed and the question thus

is whether there is evidence to support such a finding. In

moving for judgment notwithstanding the verdict, both

before this court and before the district court, appellants

stressed the lack of evidence from which the relevant

market could be defined.

A-9

We conclude that the question of relevant market def-

inition was in the case from the outset and that failure

to question the jury respecting the matter did not amount

to a concession that Leisure World was the relevant

market.

Appellees’ second contention is that any question re-

specting relevant market has been resolved by law of the

case; that our remands on the prior appeals indicated that

the only question remaining was whether the evidence

supported the verdict of the jury. Since, under Rule

49(a), the jury findings do not stand alone, we read the

remands as calling for a decision on whether the evidence

supported all applicable findings—those of the court as

well as those of the jury. On the second remand, the

district court considered the merits of appellants’ post-

trial motions for the first time and the appeal from the

denial of those motions is now properly before this court.

We turn, then, to the merits of the issues before us:

whether, through failure to define the relevant market,

appellee has failed to establish either a restraint of trade

under $1 or an attempt to monopolize under §2 of the

Sherman Act.

A. Unreasonable Restraint of Trade

We turn first to $1. This section does not concern

itself with all injuries suffered by a competitor through

unfair or overzealous competition. Such injuries are gen-

erally matters for state law. Section 1 of the Sherman

Act is concerned with restraints on competition, and the

competition with which the Act is concerned is more than

that contributed by the plaintiff. To amount to an unrea-

A-10

sonable restraint of trade the anticompetitive conduct must

have an effect greater than its effect upon the plaintiff's

business. See, ¢.g., Mutual Fund Investors v. Putnam

Management Co., supra, 553 F.2d at 627. As it has often

been stated, “the antitrust laws * * * were enacted for

‘the protection of competition, not competitors * * *’”

Brunswick Corp. v. Pueblo Bowl-O-Mat, Inc., 429 U.S.

477, 488 (1977). The conduct must have an adverse impact

on the competitive conditions in general as they exist

within the field of commerce in which the plaintiff is

engaged. In Knutson v. Daily Review, Inc., supra, 548 F.2d

at 803, this court stated:

“A termination is not unlawful because of some

adverse effect on the distributor’s business, even if

the effect is the elimination of the distributor from the

market, The complaining distributor must show that

the refusal to deal was intended to or did bring about

some restraint of trade beyond the loss of business

suffered by the distributor or the market’s loss of a

distributor-competitor.”

Certain classes of restraints have been held to be per

se unreasonable. As stated in Northern Pacific Railway

Co. v. United States, 356 U.S. 1, 5 (1958) :

«“* * * there are certain agreements or practices

which because of their pernicious effect on competition

and lack of any redeeming virtue are conclusively pre-

sumed to be unreasonable and therefore illegal with-

out elaborate inquiry as to the precise harm they have

caused or the business excuse for their use. This

principle of per se unreasonableness not only makes

the type of restraints which are proscribed by the

Sherman Act more certain to the benefit of everyone

concerned, but it also avoids the necessity for an

A-11

incredibly complicated and prolonged economic investi-

gation into the entire history of the industry involved,

as well as related industries, in an effort to determine

at large whether a particular restraint has been

unreasonable * * *,”

Only four categories of restraints have been held to be

per se unreasonable: horizontal and vertical price fixing ;*

horizontal market division;* group boycotts or concerted

refusals to deal;* and tie-in sales. Our first question is

whether the restraint here fits any of these categories. It

does not fit easily, The only prospect would appear to be

the group boycott or concerted refusal to deal. There was

indeed a refusal by the Foundation (through the News)

to deal with Rosen in the sense that it refused to allow

Rosen to advertise in the News. There is some evidence

to support the jury’s finding that a concert of action on

the part of Rossmoor and Crestmark existed, which con-

cert perpetrated the refusal to deal by the Foundation and

for the purposes of this discussion we will assume that

such an agreement existed.

Such concert of action may suffice to create a conspiracy

but it cannot suffice to constitute such a concerted refusal

to deal as has so far been held to be per se unreasonable.

In all cases so far holding such restraints to be per se

150 (1940); Dr. Miles Medical Co. v. John D. Park & Sons Co.,

220 U.S. 373 (1911).

Ry e.g., United States v. Topco Associates, Inc., 405 U.S. 596

See, e.g., Silver v. New York Stock Exchange, 373 U.S. 341

1950)" rs, Inc. v. Broadway-Hale Stores, Inc., 359 U.S. 207

‘See, e.g., Northern Pac.Ry. v. United States, 356 U.S. 1 (1958).

‘See, 0) United States v. Socony-Vacuum Oil Co., 310 US.

|

A-12

unreasonable, there has been some horizontal concert of

action taken against the victims of the restraint. In Mutual

Fund Investors v. Putnam Management Co., supra, this

court rejected the contention that the refusal to deal there

under fire constituted a per se illegal group boycott, stating

“At issue is an alleged conspiracy among vertically inte-

grated organizations and agreements among them are not

per se illegal.” 553 F.2d at 626.’

The Second Circuit has recently noted in its en banc

decision in Oreck Corp. v. Whirlpool Corp., F.2d

(1978) :

“It is important to distinguish between ‘horizontal

restraints’, i.e. agreements between competitors at

the same level of market structure, and ‘vertical

"See Ackerman-Chillingworth v. P. Electrical Contractors

Ass'n, .. F.2d ..,...m. 7 (9th Cir. Mar, 22, 1978) (discussing

characteristics of boycotts considered illegal per se). Although the

court in Ackerman-Chillingworth seems to classify Klor’s, Inc. v.

Broadway-Hale Stores, Inc., 359 U.S. 207 (1959), as a per se x)=

group boycott by vertically integrated conspirators, it should

noted that the conspiracy did involve horizontal concert of action

at the manufacturers’ level and that it was the manufacturers who

actually boycotted the plaintiff by refusing to sell their products

to it.

The Second Circuit appears recently to have concluded that as

a result of the decision in Continental T.V. v. GTE Sylvania, infra

n. 9, no vertical restrictions save price fixing are per se po

National Auto Brokers Corp. v. General Motors Corp., 572 F.2d 953

(2d Cir. 1978). Accord, H & B Equipment Co. v. International

Harvester Co., ... F.2d ..., . (slip opin. } Waren (5th Cir.

1978). The court in National Auto affirmed a directed verdict for

the defendants finding that the plaintiff had failed to meet its

burden of showing that the challenged “fleet allotment” system,

which assured each dealer of a minimum number of cars for

resale, violated the rule of reason—that it was “unreasonable in

view of ‘the facts peculiar to the business to which the restraint is

applied; its condition before and after the restraint was im d;

the nature of the restraint and its effect, actual or probable.’

Chicago Board of Trade v. United States, 246 U.S, 231, 238

(1918).” 572 F.2d at 960.

A-13

restraints’, i.e. combinations of persons at different

levels of the market structure such as manufacturers

and distributors. See United States v. Topco, Associ-

ates, 405 U.S. 596, 608 (1972). Horizontal restraints

alone have been characterized as ‘naked restraints of

trade with no purpose except stifling competition,’

White Motor Co. v. United States, 372 U.S. 253, 263

(1963) ; and, therefore, per se violations of the Sher-

man Act.”

eisai F.2d at ............. See also Sitkin Smelting & Refining

v. FMC Corp., 575 F.2d 440, 446 (3d Cir. 1978).

In Sullivan, Antitrust, at 259 (1977), the author states:

“If the per se rule respecting boycotts is to become coher-

ent, we must recognize that it applies only where com-

petitors engage together to inhibit others with whom they

compete by depriving those others of elements needed in

the competitive context.” Here the concert of action was

by a sole competitor and that competitor’s parent company,

and was in no way an agreement between competitors. The

agreement, which only prevented advertising of carpets

in the News, did not deprive Rosen of an element necessary

to compete; other means of advertising, including other

newspapers, were readily available.

We conclude that the restraint in our case does not fall

within any of the four categories of per se violation so

far recognized.

Appellee protests, however, that the restraint amounts

to a denial of access to the Leisure World market;* that

it is clearly anticompetitive in purpose with no competitive

*As we note later, access to Leisure World was not denied. A

to the advertising columns of the News was denied, but that war all

A-14

benefits claimed for it, and that this should be enough to

constitute it per se unreasonable.

The caution exercised by the Supreme Court when a

new category is sought to be added to those already

recognized as per se unreasonable was demonstrated in

White Motor Co. v. United States, 372 U.S. 253 (1963).

There the Court considered whether vertical market divi-

sion should be added. It refused to add it to the per se

list, stating:

“Horizontal territorial limitations, like ‘[g]roup

boycotts, or concerted refusals by traders to deal with

other traders’ (Klor’s v. Broadway-Hale Stores, supra,

(359 U.S. at] 212), are naked restraints of trade with

no purpose except stifling of competition. A vertical

territorial limitation may or may not have that pur-

pose or effect. * * * We need to know more than we

do about the actual impact of these arrangements on

competition to decide whether they have such a ‘per-

nicious effect on competition and lack... any redeem-

ing virtue’ (Northern Pac. R, Co. v. United States,

supra, p. 5) and therefore should be classified as per

se violations of the Sherman Act.”

372 U.S. at 263.”

Thus, White Motors, and Continental T.V. v. GTE Syl-

vania, supra note 9, warn us that additions to the limited

per se list are not to be made on an ad hoc basis. At least

they are not to be made without evidence supporting a

“In United States v. Arnold, Schwinn & Co., 388 U.S, 365 (1967),

the Court arrived at the opposite result, holding that vertical market

division was per se unreasonable. However, this decision was re-

examined in Continental T.V., Inc. v. GTE Sylvania Inc., 433 U.S.

36 (1977), and Schwinn was overruled. The Court stated:

“When competitive effects are shown to result from particular

vertical restrictions they can be adequately policed under the

A-15

determination that the restraint is such as to have a per-

nicious effect on competition. We cannot say, as matter

of law, that such would be the effect here. We do not

even know the extent to which the restraint contributed

to Rosen’s business failure. There was no attempt to put

him out of business or to prevent Leisure World residents

from doing business with him (such as could have been

achieved by a tie-in with the sale of mutual shares). The

restraint was limited to depriving him of the right to com-

municate with the Leisure World residents through the

advertising columns of the News. As we have noted, other

newspapers and means of conveying his commercial mes-

sage were still open to him, and accordingly he was not

without suppliers of that which was denied to him by the

refusal to deal. We cannot, without evidentiary support,

credit any implied finding that deprivation of advertising

in this one community newspaper had such a pernicious

effect on competition within the relevant market (whatever

that may be) as to warrant holding that restraint per se

unreasonable.

We conclude that the conduct here in question cannot

be said to be per se an unreasonable restraint of trade and

a violation of § 1.

If the agreement or practice is not one of those conclu-

sively presumed to be unreasonable, it must be proved to

be unreasonable, and this, as noted in Northern Pacific

Railway Co., supra, takes considerable proving. It is done

by resort to what has come to be called the rule of reason.

rule of reason, the standard traditionally applied for th -

— of anticompetitive practices challenged tender § 1 of 'the

433 U.S. at 59. We discuss the rule of reason later in this opinion.

ee

A-16

At the time of its announcement in Standard Ou Co, v

United States, 221 U.S. 1 (1911), and the elaboration of

the rule by Mr. Justice Brandeis in Chicago Board of

Trade v. United States, 246 U.S. 231, 238 (1918), to its

latest articulation in Continental T.V. v. GTE Sylvama,

433 U.S. 36 (1977), supra note 9, the rule of reason has

been primarily directed to a balancing of the competitive

evils of the restraint against the competitive benefits

asserted on its behalf.

However, the fact that no competitive benefits are

advanced in favor of a restraint (as would seem to be the

case here) does not automatically constitute it unreason-

able under the Sherman Act. As we have already noted, it

must first be established to be a restraint on competition

and this involves a consideration of the impact of the

restraint on the competitive conditions within the field

of commerce in which the plaintiff was engaged and upon

those commercially engaged in competition within it. As

one writer has put it:

“It is the process of competition with which the Act

is concerned, and a practice will not fall under its

ban unless it displays an adverse impact on that

process which is more than trivial.”

Sullivan, Antitrust, at page 178.

Before this study can even be conaenced, however, we

must know with what field of competition we are concerned

and the dimensions of that field. Market definition is

essential. As the Supreme Court stated, in Continental

T.V.v. GTE Sylvania, supra: “An antitrust policy divorced

from market considerations would lack any objective bench-

A-17

marks,” 433 U.S. at 53 n. 21. Thus in determining the

relevant market the courts are not free to accept whatever

market is suggested by the plaintiff as fitting most per-

suasively with his contention that his power to compete

effectively has suffered injury. See, e.g., Knutson v. Daily

Review, Inc., supra, 548 F.2d at 803-04.

There is nothing in the record from which a finding can

be based as to what the relevant market is in this case.

The interrogatories given to the jury assume that the

sale of carpets to the customers residing in Leisure World

is the relevant market and we have necessarily implied a

finding by the court to this effect. On its face this finding

strikes us as a dubious one. We know that Crestmark is

the only commercial establishment located in the Leisure

World complex. The commercial district of Walnut Creek,

in which Rosen was located, has not been defined. The

relevant geographic market is determined, in part, by

the area to which the purchaser can reasonably turn to

obtain the product. Case-Swayne Co. v. Sunkist Growers,

Inc., 369 F.2d 449, 457-58 (9th Cir. 1966), rev’d on other

grounds, 389 U.S. 384 (1967); see Sullivan, Antitrust, at

68. Here we do not know the extent to which this or other

commercial districts within reach were patronized by the

Leisure World residents or the ratio their patronage bears

to that of other Walnut Creek customers.

We conclude that appellee cannot prevail under the rule

of reason for failure to prove relevant market and an

injury to competition within that market. For failure of

proof in this respect appellants were entitled to judgment

notwithstanding the verdict on appellee’s claim under § 1.

A-18

B. Attempt to Monopolize

Turning to §2 of the Act we are confronted by appel-

lee’s allegation that the perpetration by Rossmoor and

Crestmark of the Foundation’s denial of advertising space

was pursuant to an attempt on the part of Rossmoor and

Cresamark to monopolize the Leisure World market in car-

pets.’® Appellee points out that under Lessig v. Tidewater

Oil Co., 327 F.2d 459 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 377 U.S. 993

(1964), when an attempt to monopolize is charged it is not

necessary to establish market power on the part of the

would-be monopolist as is required when the claim is that

monopolization has actually been achieved, and accordingly

that

“When the charge is attempt (or conspiracy) to mo-

nopolize rather than monopolization the relevant mar-

ket is ‘not in issue.’ ”

327 F.2d at 474.

Since Lessig, the extent of proof required to establish

an attempt to monopolize has been before this court on

many occasions." The most recent pronouncement of the

prima facie requirements is provided by Janich Bros.,

Inc. v. American Distilling Co., supra, n. 11. This court

held there that a plaintiff must prove three elements: (1)

specific intent to control prices or destroy competition

‘The jury was instructed concerning both §1 and §2 of the

Sherman Act and we assume herein that the jury’s answer to

special interrogatory No. 1 constitutes a finding in favor of appellee

on the attempt to monopolize claim.

“Cornwell ity Tools Co. v. C.T.S. Co., 446 F.2d 825, 832

9th Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 1049 (1972); Bushie v.

tenocord Corp., 460 F.2d 116, 121 (9th Cir. 1972); Moore v. Jas.

H. Matthews & Co., 473 F.2d 328, (9th Cir. 1973); Hallmark

Industry v. Reynolds Metals Co., 489 F.2d 8, 11-13 (9th Cir. 1973),

cert. denied, 417 U.S. 932 (1974); Knutson v. Daily Review, Inc.,

supra, 548 F.2d at 813-15; Greyhound Computer Corp., Inc. v,

A-19

with respect to a part of commerce, (2) predatory or

anticompetitive conduct directed to accomplishing the un-

lawful purpose, and (3) a dangerous probability of suc-

cess. 570 F.2d at 853. See also Marquis v. Chrysler Corp.,

supra, n. 11. We pointed out, however, that this circuit

has allowed a “short-cut method” of establishing liability,

in that proof of probability of success can be supplied

by inference drawn from proof of specific intent and that

proof of specific intent can in turn be supplied by infer-

ence drawn from proof of predatory or anticompetitive

conduct which constitutes an unreasonable restraint of

trade. Janich, supra, 570 F.2d at 854. To the same effect

is Knutson, supra, 548 F.2d at 814; Greyhound Computer,

supra n. 11, 559 F.2d at 504 n. 37.

The question thus is whether an inference of intent

to monopolize the trade in carpets with residents of Lei-

sure World can be drawn from the action taken here:

causing the Foundation to bar Rosen from advertising in

the News. This was not predatory. There is no indica-

tion that Crestmark intended to put Rosen out of busi-

ness. This being so, no inference of intent to monopolize

can be drawn from the anticompetitive conduct in ques-

tion unless it amounted to an unreasonable restraint of

trade under §1. While conduct which would, in the case

of a conspiracy, amonut to a per se violation of 41 would

constitute an unreasonable restraint of trade without

proof of market or market power, under the rule of rea-

son market definition is required to establish a 41 viola-

International Business Machines Com 559 F.2d 488, 504 (9th Cir.

1977), cert. denied, 46 U.S.L.W. (Us. Jan. 17, 1978); Janich

Bros., Inc. v. American ae Co., 570 F2d 848 (9th Cir 1977);

Marquis v. Chrysler Corp.,... F.2d ... (9th Cir. June 29, 1978).

A-20

tion, as we have previously noted. Thus, in the absence

of proof of relevant market and market power, the plain-

tiff must prove either predatory conduct or a per se vio-

lation of § 1 to prove an attempt to monopolize.” Without

these limitations the door to a 42 attempt would be open

far wider than necessary to meet the concerns expressed

by this court in Greyhound Computer, “ supra, and could

permit treble damage recovery where no remote possibility

of monopolization would appear to exist and where the

impact on competition of the conduct in question is limited

to its impact on the plaintiff.

We conclude that no inference of intent to monopolize

can be drawn from the anticompetitive conduct here in

question, and that appellants were entitled to judgment

notwithstanding the verdict on appellee’s claim under 4 2.

J udgment reversed.

‘*Janich puts it even more apn ops

“Where a plaintiff relies

establish an attempted monopolization claim and does not

show market power, specific intent to monopolize should ordi-

pve B Brcrer ees Mate Pony ed conduct is of a kind

clearly threatening to competition or y exclusionary.”

570 F.2d at 854 n. 4.

“The court in Greyhound Computer was concerned that:

“A single firm that did not control something close to 50 per-

cent of the entire market, see Twin City Sportservice, Inc. v.

Charles O. Finley & Co., supra, 512 F.2d at 1275, would be

free to indulge in any activity however unreasonable, pre-

datory, destructive of competition and without legitimate busi-

ness justification. Any concern not dangerously close to mono

oly power could deliberately destroy its competitors wi

impunity.”

559 F.2d at 504.

“More cally, there is support in the decisions and

legislative Liston for the conclusion that § 2 was intended to

prohibit unreasonable restraints of trade that exclude competi-

tion even when they are imposed by a single trader.”

559 F.2d at 504 n. 37,

A-21

CHOY, Circuit Judge, concurring:

I coneur in the majority opinion. However, I must make

one observation about the extent of proof necessary to

establish an attempt to monopolize claim. I agree with my

Brothers that three elements are necessary for a prima

facie claim: (1) specific intent to control prices or destroy

competition with respect to a part of commerce, (2) preda-

tory or anticompetitive conduct directed to accomplishing

the unlawful purpose, and (3) a dangerous probability of

success. We have so held in Janich Bros., Inc. v. American

Distilling Co., 570 F.2d 848, 853 (9th Cir. 1977), and Mar-

quis v. Chrysler Corp,, ........ | a Spree (9th Cir. 1978)

(Nos. 75-2815, 75-2881 and 75-3944, June 29, 1978) (slip

opinion at 2142).*

But in Greyhound Computer Corp. v. International Busi-

mess Machines, 559 F.2d 488, 504 (9th Cir. 1977), cert.

denied, 46 U.S.L.W. 3453 (U.S. Jan. 17, 1978), we held that

only two elements were necessary. We stated that “[a]

prima facie case of attempt to monopolize is made out by

evidence of a specific intent to monopolize ‘any part’ of

commerce [element (1)], plus anticompetitive conduct

directed to the accomplishment of that unlawful purpose

[element (2) ].” Id.

However, by holding that Crestmark’s actions were

neither predatory nor anticompetitive, we need not inquire

J also agree that this Circuit recognizes a “short-cut method”

of establishing liability by inferences drawn from proof of preda-

tory or anticompetitive conduct which constitutes an unreasonable

restraint of trade. See Janich Bros., 570 F.2d at 854.

A-22

B-1

into what additional element or elements would be neces-

sary for a successful claim. Appendix B

Hersert Y. C, Cuoy

UNITED STATES In the United States Court of Appeals

CIRCUIT JUDGE For the Ninth Circuit

No. 77-2047

Kerry M. Gough, Trustee in Bankruptcy |

of Louis Rosen, dba Walnut Creek

Furniture,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

Vs. ;

Rossmoor Corporation and Crestmark

Carpet and Drapery Company,

Defendants-Appellants.

4

[Filed October 27, 1978]

ORDER

Before: MERRILL, KILKENNY and CHOY, Circuit

Judges

The panel as constituted in the above case has voted to

deny the petition for rehearing; Judge Choy has voted to

reject the suggestion for a rehearing en bane and Judges

Merrill and Kilkenny have recommended such rejection.

The full court has been advised of the suggestion for an

en banc hearing, and no judge of the court has requested

a vote on the suggestion for rehearing en banc. Fed. R.

App. P. 35(b).

The petition for reheering is denied and the suggestion

for a rehearing en banc is rejected.

C-1

Appendix C

United States District Court

Northern District of California

No. 45531 GBH

Kerry M. Gough, Trustee in Bankruptcy |

of Louis Rosen, dba Walnut Creek

Furniture,

Plaintiff,

ee

vs.

Rossmoor Corporation, et al.,

Defendants. ;

[Entered February 23, 1977]

JUDGMENT FOR PLAINTIFF

The above entitled action having been tried before the

Honorable Elbert P. Tuttle, Judge, by designation, and a

jury, commencing March 16, 1970; and the jury having

answered the following stated interrogatories in the fol-

lowing ways:

“1. Did the defendants and Leisure World Foun-

dation or Golden Rain Foundation by means of a

common plan, scheme or design have the power and

intention to exclude plaintiff from the carpet and/or

business in Rossmoor Leisure World?

Yes Yes

a? cocaaiee

2. Did defendants enter into a common plan, scheme

or design with Leisure World Foundation or Golden

Rain Foundation to prevent plaintiff from advertising

C-2

carpets in the Leisure World News such as to act as a

restraint on plaintiff’s business of selling carpets or

other merchandise at Rossmoor Leisure World?

Yes Yes

Ol cccuiiaas =

3. If your answer to either of the preceding ques-

tions is in the affirmative did such restraint have a

substantial effect on interstate commerce or the flow

of interstate commerce?

Yes

No No

4. Has plaintiff suffered any monetary damage by

reason of its inability to advertise in Leisure World

News?

Yes Yes

a m

5. If so, please indicate the amount opposite the

appropriate type of damage you find to have been

suffered.

Net Profits $18,149

Goodwill $22,738

And the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit having on October 17, 1973 filed its opinion holding

upon the facts and the law applicable to this case, the

defendants are within the provisions of the Federal anti-

trust laws, specifically Section 4 of the Clayton Act, 15

U.S.C. §15; and the said Court having on December 28,

1973 amended its opinion.

And the Mandate of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit having issued on March 12, 1974, and

C-3

the revised opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit stating:

“The judgment is vacated and the cause remanded

for further proceedings consistent with this opinion.”

And the plaintiff having filed his motion to enter judg-

ment based upon the answers to ‘he aforesaid interroga-

tories and upon the aforesaid opinion of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit; and the defend-

ants having heretofore presented to the Court of Appeals

in their petition for rehearing their contentions of fact and

law which they urge in support of a judgment notwith-

standing the verdict and a motion for a new trial;

And the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit having denied defendants’ petition for rehearing;

And this Court having concluded that the judgment of

the United States Court of Appeals determined the mat-

ters raised by defendants on the merits by reason of the

denial of the petition for rehearing;

And this Court having granted judgment for plaintiff

‘on October 30, 1974, filed November 4, 1974;

And the defendants having appealed to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit on the ground that

the Court of Appeals did not preclude a determination on

the merits and that Court having filed its opinion on March

17, 1976, remanding the cause for the trial Court’s con-

sideration of the merits of defendants’ motions for judg-

ment n.0.v. and new trial;

And this Court having reviewed the record and having

entered ‘ts ruling that the evidence was sufficient to war-

rant the jury’s finding of the existence of a conspiracy in

C-4

violation of the Sherman Act and overruling the motion

for a verdict n.o.v. and denying motion for a new trial,

said ruling having been filed on the ......... day of January,

1977.

And it appears that plaintiff is entitled to judgment;

It Is Hereby Ordered, Adjudged and Decreed:

The judgment filed November 4, 1974 for the plaintiff,

Kerry M. Gough, Trustee in Bankruptcy for Louis Rosen,

d/b/a Walnut Creek Furniture, and against defendants

Rossmoor Corporation and Crestmark Carpet and Drapery

Co. is valid and enforceable, and pursuant thereto that:

(1) The plaintiff Kerry M. Gough have and recover from

defendants Rossmoor Corporation and Crestmark Carpet

and Drapery Co. the sum of $122,643, which is threefold

the damages found by the jury to be suffered by plaintiff,

with interest thereon at the rate of 7% as provided by law.

(2) Defendants shall pay reasonable attorneys’ fees pur-

suant to Section 4 of the Clayton Act and said sum shall

be $50,000.00 for the period until October 30, 1974.

(3) The sum of $1,400.00 for plaintiff’s costs and dis-

bursements in this action, pursuant to stipulation between

the parties, for the period until October 30, 1974.

(4) And the sum of $3,457.00 for plaintiff’s costs and

disbursements on the first appeal to the United States Court

of Appeals and as to which a partial satisfaction of judg-

ment has been filed with this court.

That this judgment further be entered for plaintiff Kerry

M. Gough, Trustee in Bankruptcy for Louis Rosen, d/b/a

Walnut Creek Furniture, and against defendants Rossmoor

C-5

Corporation and Crestmark Carpet and Drapery Co. for

the following:

(1) Defendants shall pay additional reasonable attor-

neys’ fees pursuant to Section 4 of the Clayton Act to cover

the preparation and filing of memorandum in this Court

in support of the jury’s answers to interrogatories pursuant

to the Court’s order dated March 29, 1976 in the sum of

$6,000.00.

(2) The sum of $400 for plaintiff's costs and disburse-

ments in this action subsequent to October 30, 1974.

Accordingly, judgment is hereby rendered in the amount

of $183,504.00 in the favor of plaintiff.

Dated at Atlanta, Georgia, this 14th day of February,

1977.

/s/ Expert P, Turrie

United States Court of Appeals

Circuit Judge, Sitting by

Designation in the United States

District Court for the Northern

District of California.

Approved As To Form:

/8/

Pettit, Evers & Martin

D-1

Appendix D

United States District Court

Northern District of California

No. 45531 GBH

Kerry M. Gough, Trustee in Bankraptey |

of Louis Rosen, d/b/a Walnut Creek

Furniture,

Plaintiff,

=

vs.

Rossmoor Corporation, ei al.,

Defendants.

[Filed February 23, 1977]

ON DEFENDANT’S MOTION FOR JUDGMENT

NOTWITHSTANDING THE VERDICT AND

ALTERNATIVELY FOR A NEW TRIAL

The principal basis for the defendant’s motion for a judg-

ment n.o.v. is that there was insufficient evidence for the

Court to submit to the jury the question of the existence

of “a common plan, scheme or design between the defend-

ants and Leisure World Foundation to prevent plaintiff

from advertising carpets in the Leisure World News such

as to act as a restraint on plaintiff’s business of selling

carpets or other merchandise at Rossmoor Leisure World.”

The defendant Rossmoor Corporation was owned 95%

by Ross Cortese. It is the sole owner of the other defendant

Crestmark Carpet and Drapery Company. The defendant

D-2

Rossmoor was the developer and builder of the Rossmoor

Leisure World at Walnut Creek, a residential community

in which nearly 3,000 units had been sold at the time of the

events made the basis of this litigation. The Leisure World

Foundation was the entity which created the “mutuals,”

each consisting of a substantial number of residential units

which then borrowed the construction money for the units

to be built and, then, acting for the mutuals, contracted

with Rossmoor to build the units. The Foundation also

held a management contract for the management of the

Leisure World at Walnut Creek, that is, operating the

common facilities utilized in connection with the making

of Leisure World a complete community. It leased substan-

tial space in its headquarters building to Rossmoor’s wholly-

owned subsidiary, Crestmark Carpet and Drapery Com-

pany. The interrelationship of these entities is further

emphasized by the fact that the initial capital of Leisure

World in the sum of $1,000,000 was obtained by a bank

loan guaranteed by Cortese who was also president of Ross-

moor and of Crestmark.

The act of Leisure World in notifying the plaintiff Rosen

that it would no longer carry his advertisement for carpets

and that no such advertisements would be carried except

for Crestmark was contrary to the uniform recommenda-

tion of the persons actually operating the newspaper. It

clearly entailed loss of advertising income and thus entailed

a loss to Leisure World Foundation, its owner. It would,

of course, help Crestmark, and its parent corporation Ross-

moor and its owner Cortese.

While there is no direct evidence that the two defendants

made a formal commitment to each other that they would

Ree _

D-3

cause the Foundation to terminate Mr. Rosen’s advertising,

the fact that all of Cortese’s interests would benefit by such

action and that the Foundation would suffer would permit

the jury to infer that such common purpose existed. The

potential for giving effect to such a purpose appears from

the testimony of Mr. Cortese who, at one point in his

testimony, identified himself with Leisure World Founda-

tion when its chief administrator, Robert Nelson was hired.

The following questions and answers occurred on page

1084-1085 of the transcript.

“MR. KEITH: Q. When did you first start going

from Laguna Hills or the Southern California area to

Walnut Creek?

A. After I purchased the property.

Q. Do you recall when that was?

A. ’63.

Q. Then there came a time that an administrator

was appointed through Leisure World Foundation to

run the project, is that correct?

A. That is correct.

Q. What did you know about the subject matter?

A. Nothing.

Q. But you came at one point in time, you say in

1964, probably, and you met Mr. Nelson, is that correct?

A. Met him when we hired him. I don’t recall the

date or the year that he was hired.

MR. KEMP: Mr. Cortese, speak up.

D-4

MR. KEITH: Q. Who is we?

A. The Leisure World Foundation,” [Emphasis

added.]

It is true that Mr. Cortese subsequently changed his testi-

mony and said: “It wasn’t my prerogative to hire Mr. Nel-

son. It was the prerogative of the Leisure World Founda-

tion. We had nothing to do with it.” However, in light of

all the other circumstances testified to concerning the inter-

relationship between the several parties, it is clear that

the jury could have inferred that when Mr. Cortese stated

that he met Mr. Nelson “when we hired him” he was speak-

ing the truth, i.e., that he had a part, with the Foundation,

in hiring its administrator. The significance of this fact is

plain since it was Mr. Nelson who gave the orders to the

newspaper people to cut off the plaintiff’s advertising.

I conclude that the evidence adduced on behalf of the

plaintiff was sufficient to permit the jury to infer that there

was a common purpose and design between the two defend-

ants and Leisure World Foundation to cause the latter

to cut off the plaintiff’s advertising of carpets in the Leisure

World News with the intent to deprive him of an oppor-

tunity to compete for this substantial interstate business.

Having found that there was sufficient evidence to war-

rant the jury’s finding the existence of a couspiracy in

violation of the Sherman Act, objections to testimony touch-

ing-on statements of co-conspirators should be overruled.

Such evidence is admissible.

I also conclude that the evidence touching on the plain-

tiff’s damages was sufficient to warrant the jury’s consid-

eration and determination.

D-5

The motion for verdict n.o.v. is overruled as is also the

motion for new trial.

This 14th day of February, 1977.

/s/ Exsert P, Turrie

United States Circuit Judge

Sitting by designation

E-1

Appendix E

United States Court of Appeals

For the Ninth Circuit

No. 75-1138

75-1139

Kerry M. Gough, Trustee in Bankruptcy |

of Louis Rosen, dba Walnut Creek

Furniture,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

vs. P

Rossmoor Corporation and Crestmark

Carpet and Drapery Company,

Defendants-Appellants.

,

[March 17, 1976]

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of California

OPINION

Before: WRIGHT and KILKENNY, Circuit Judges, and

CHRISTENSEN,® Senior District Judge.

WRIGHT, Circuit Judge:

This antitrust case appears before us for the second

time. At trial the jury returned a verdict for defendant

Rossmoor through answers to special interrogatories. On

appeal this court determined that one of the interroga-

tories was improperly submitted to the jury and that the

*Honorable A. Sherman Christensen, Senior United States Dis-

trict Judge for the District of Utah, sitting by designation.

B-2

jury’s answer was wrong as a matter of law. With this an-

swer disregarded, all remaining jury answers were in

favor of plaintiff Gough. Gough v. Rossmoor Corp., 487

F.2d 373 (9th Cir. 1973).

This court originally directed that

[iJn view of the jury’s findings with respect to sub-

stantive violation and damage, judgment should have

been entered for plaintiff. The judgment is reversed

and the cause remanded for this purpose.

Rossmoor petitioned for rehearing and included within

that petition motions for judgment n.o.v. and new trial. The

petition was denied, without reference to the motions in-

cluded therein. However, this court modified the order

quoted above, to read as follows:

The judgment is vacated and the cause remanded for

further proceedings consistent with this opinion.

487 F.2d at 378,

On remand, Rossmoor renewed its motions for judgment

n.o.v. and new trial. The trial judge, believing that he was

foreclosed by our modified opinion from exercising his dis-

cretion as to these motions, denied both of them.

The sole issue presented is whether the trial judge cor-

rectly determined that our order remanding “for further

proceedings consistent with this opinion” foreclosed his

subsequent exercise of discretion on the motions for judg-

ment n.o.v. and new trial. We hold that he did not.

That this court might have considered the motions for

judgment n.o.v. and new trial on their merits is made clear

by the Court in Neely v. Eby Construction Co., 386 U.S.

317, 323 (1967). However, more often than not this court

>

E-3

should refer such motions, arising for the first time on ap-

peal, to the trial court so that it can first pass on them. Jd.

at 323-26. See also Iacurci v. Lummus Co., 387 U.S. 86, 88

(1967).

Unless this court expressly or by clear implication dis-

poses of motions raised for the first time on appeal, it must

be presumed that they will be acted upon by the trial court

on remand. The above rule is necessary to insure that some

court consider the merits of the motions which a party is

entitled to present.

In the first appeal of the instant case, this court neither

expressly nor by clear implication ruled on the motions

presented in the rehearing petition. To the contrary, the

modification of the order from one requiring that “judg-

ment... [be] entered for plaintiff” to one remanding “for

further proceedings consistent with this opinion” strongly

implied that the motions were to be entertained below on

remand,

Gough directs our attention to certain language in our

earlier opinion regarding the jury’s factual findings on (a)

power and intent to exclude, and (b) damages. We said

those findings “established, as a matter of law,” that de-

fendants had engaged in illegal conduct which injured

plaintiff. 487 F.2d at 376. Gough argues that by this lan-

guage the court effectively denied the motions for judgment

n.o.v, and new trial. We disagree.

Read in context, the use of the term “matter of law” sug-

gests that the factual issues of power and intent, and dam-

ages, were as a matter of law properly presented to the

jury. By contrast, the interstate commerce issue should not

E-4

have been submitted to the jury, since “[t]he undisputed

facts cstablished that the necessary relationship to inter-

state commerce did exist.” 487 F.2d at 377.

Nowhere in the course of the opinion preceding the

phrase “matter of law” does this court set forth the evi-

dence in such a way as to support a conclusion that the

jury must, “as a matter of law,” have found for plaintiff.

Therefore, the “matter of law” language may mean that if

the jury’s answers were properly based on adequate evi-

dence, the judgment must under law be for the plaintiff.

If this interpretation is correct, the trial judge must now

decide, in entertaining the motions for judgment n.o.v. and

new trial, whether the evidence supported the jury’s an-

swers.

Assuming, without deciding, that Gough is correct in in-

terpreting the “matter of law” language as being in effect

a denial by this court of the motions presented, we would

still reverse. The number of possible interpretations of the

“matter of law” language suggests that none of them is

supported by “clear implication.” Thus the interpretation

suggested by Gough, even if correct, cannot foreclose the

exercise of discretion by the trial judge on remand.

Since the trial judge acted on the mistaken assumption

that he could not adjudge the motions for judgment n.o.v.

and new trial, we must remand so that he may do so. See

Fairmont Glass Works v. Cub Fork Coal Co., 287 U.S. 474

(1923) ; Southern Pac. Co. v. Guthrie, 186 F.2d 926 (9th Cir.

1951).

The cause is remanded for the trial judge’s consideration

of the merits of Rossmoor’s motions for judgment n.o.v.

and new trial.

Se Pe

F-1

Appendix F

United States District Court

Northern District of California

No. 45531 GBH

Kerry M. Gough, Trustee in Bankruptcy |

of Louis Rosen, dba Walnut Creek

Furniture,

Plaintiff,

~~

vs.

Rossmoor Corporation, et al.,

Defendants.

;

[Filed November 4, 1974]

JUDGMENT FOR PLAINTIFF

The above entitled action having been tried before the

Honorable Elbert P. Tuttle, Judge, by designation, and a

jury, commencing March 16, 1970; and the jury having an-

swered the following stated interrogatories in the following

ways:

“1, Did the defendants and Leisure World Founda-

tion or Golden Rain Foundation by means of a common

plan, scheme or design have the power and intention

to exclude plaintiff from the carpet and/or business

in Rossmoor Leisure World?

Yes Yes

No

2. Did defendants enter into a common plan,

scheme or design with Leisure World Foundation or

F-2

Golden Rain Foundation to prevent plaintiff from ad-

vertising carpets in the Leisure World News such as

to act as a restraint on plaintiff’s business of selling

carpets or other merchandise at Rossmoor Leisure

World?

Yes Yes

No

3. If your answer to either of the preceding ques-

tions is in the affirmative did such restraint have a

substantial effect on interstate commerce or the flow

of interstate commerce?

Yes

No No

4. Has plaintiff suffered any monetary damage by

reason of its inability to advertise in Leisure World

News?

Yes Yes

Te atten

5. Jf so, please indicate the amount opposite the

appropriate type of damage you find to have been

suffered.

Net Profits $18,143

Goodwill $22,738”;

And the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit having on October 17, 1973 filed its opinion holding

upon the facts and the law applicable to this case, the

defendants are within the provisions of the Federal anti-

trust laws, speciiically Section 4 of the Clayton Act, 15

U.S.C. §15; and the said Court having on December 28,

1973 amended its opinion;

a <a 8

a

.

ie

.

F.3

And the Mandate of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Cireuit having issued on March 12, 1973,

and the revised opinion of the United States Court of Ap-

peals for the Ninth Circuit stating:

“The judgment is vacated and the cause remanded

for further proceedings consistent with this opinion.” ;

And the plaintiff having filed his motion to enter judg-

ment based upon the answers to the aforesaid interroga-

tories and upon the aforesaid opinion of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit; and the defendants

having heretofore presented to the Court of Appeals in

their petition for rehearing their contentions of fact and

law which they urge in support of a judgment notwith-

standing the verdict and a motion for a new trial;

And the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Cireuit having denied defendants’ petition for rehearing;

And it appearing that plaintiff is entitled to judgment,

It Is Hereby Ordered, Adjudged And Decreed:

That judgment be entered for the plaintiff, Kerry M.

Gough, Trustee in Bankruptcy for Louis Rosen, d/b/a

Walnut Creek Furniture, and pursuant thereto that:

(1) The plaintiff Kerry M. Gough have and recover from

defendants Rossmoor Corporation and Crestmark Carpet

and Drapery Company the sum of $122,643, which is three-

fold the damages found by the jury to be suffered by

plaintiff, with interest thereon at the rate of 7% as pro-

vided by law.

(2) Defendants shall pay reasonable attorneys’ fees pur-

suant to Section 4 of the Clayton Act and said sum shall

be $50,000.00.

(8) The sum Of $.......cccccccccssccssees for plaintiff’s costs and

disbursements in this action.

(4) The sum of $3,457.72 for plaintiff’s costs and dis-

bursements on appeal, consisting of the following:

(a) $971.52 for costs as shown in the Mandate of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit;

(b) $2,486.20 being additional costs taxed in the United

States District Court in connection with the appeal, pur-

suant to F.R.A.P. 39(e).

Accordingly, it is hereby ordered that the final judgment

in the amount of $122,643 be entered on behalf of the

plaintiff, together with costs in the amount of $

and attorneys’ fees in the amount of $50,000.00.

Dated at Atlanta, Georgia, this 30th day of October,

1974.

/s/ Exsert P. Turrie

Elbert P. Tuttle

United States Court of Appeals

Cireuit Judge, Sitting by

Designation in the United States

District Court for the Northern

District of California.

er

Sainte “Te a! RPI.

.

OA ee

ETN TORE PE tan ne.

G-1

Appendix G

In The United States District Court

For the Northern District of California

Civil No. 45531 GBH

Kerry M. Gough, Trustee in baskkenter |

of Louis Rosen, dba Walnut Creek

Furniture,

Plaintiff,

1. ;

Rossmoor Corporation, et al.,

Defendants. ;

[Filed October 8, 1974]

JUDGMENT ON MANDATE

FROM THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

This case originally came on for trial before a jury

upon interrogatories agreed upon between the parties. The

interrogatories and the answers given to them by the jury

were as follows:

“1. Did the defendants and Leisure World Founda-

tion or Golden Rain Foundation by means of a com-

mon plan scheme or design have the power and

intention to exclude plaintiff from the carpet and/or

other business in Rossmoor Leisure World?

“Yes.

“2. Did defendants enter into a common plan,

scheme or design with Leisure World Foundation or

Golden Rain Foundation to prevent plaintiff from

G-2

advertising carpets in the Leisure World News such

as to act as a restraint on plaintiff’s business of sell-

ing carpets or other merchandise at Rossmoor Leisure

World?

“Yes.

“3. If your answer to either of the preceding ques-

tions is in the affirmative, did such restraint have a

substantial effect on interstate commerce or the flow

of interstate commerce?

“No.

“4. Has plaintiff suffered any monetary damage

by reason of its inability to advertise in Leisure

World News?

“Yes.

“5. If so, please indicate the amount opposite the

appropriate type of damage you find to have been

suffered.

“Net Profits $18,143.00

“Goodwill 22,738.00”

It is apparent that the jury made findings to the effect

that the defendants and others had the power and design

to and actually did engage in conduct which acted as a

restraint on the plaintiffs’ business of selling carpets or

other merchandise at the locale involved. It is also clear

that the jury determined the monetary loss suffered by the

plaintiffs by reason of such conduct.

It is equally apparent that by answering question

number three in the negative the jury indicated that such

restraint did not have “a substantial effect on interstate

commerce or the flow of interstate commerce.”

AEG SR LET ny

&,

&

¢

f

:

A

G-3

On appeal the Court of Appeals for this Circuit held

that the answers to the interrogatories other than inter-

rogatory number three made irrelevant the jury’s response

to that interrogatory. The Court stated:

“For it is clear that the defendants’ anticompetitive

conduct in connection with such sales necessarily had

the ‘substantial economie effect’ upon interstate com-

merce in carpeting requisite to the exercise of federal

regulatory power. The retail transactions affected by

defendants’ conduct were essential to the continued

movement of a ‘substantial’ volume of carpeting from

the states of manufacture to the Walnut Creek Cali-

fornia area, citing Cartrade, Inc. v. Ford Dealers’

Advertising Association, swpra, 446 F.2d at 292.”

The Court of Appeals therefore set aside the judgment

in favor of the defendants which had been entered by this

Court based upon the jury’s responses to the interroga-

tories.

In its original order the Court of Appeals stated:

“In view of the jury’s findings with respect to sub-

stantive violation and damage, judgment should have

been entered for plaintiff. The judgment is reversed,

and the cause remanded for this purpose.”

Thereafter, the original defendants, the appellees, filed

a document entitled Appellees’ Petition for Rehearing

Including Motion for Judgment Notwithstanding the

Verdict, Motion for New Trial and Suggestion of Appro-

priateness of Rehearing En Banc. That document not only

undertook to reargue the merits of the original appeal,

but also, as indicated in the title, contended that the trial

court had erred in not granting their motion for directed

verdict and pursuant to what they contended to be the

G-4

teaching of Neeley v. Martin K. Eby Construction Co., 386

U.S. 317, they urged that the Court of Appeals itself enter

an order by way of judgment notwithstanding the verdict.

Further, also relying upon the Neeley case they urged that

the Court of Appeals order the grant of a new trial.

These two parts of the motion were based upon allega-

tions that there was not sufficient evidence to sustain the

jury’s finding of a conspiracy or the other elements of au

alleged anti-trust violation and further that there was

insufficient evidence to sustain the jury’s verdicts as to the

damages sustained from the anti-trust violations which

they found to exist.

Upon consideration of the petition the Court of Appeals

modified the last paragraph of the opinion by striking the

two sentences quoted above and substituting the following

as a separate paragraph:

“The judgment is vacated and the cause remanded

for further proceedings consistent with this opinion.”

The order then ended with the following language.

“The petition for rehearing is denied and the sug-

gestion for rehearing en banc is rejected.”

The appellant, the original plaintiff in the action, has

now filed his motion in this Court to enter a judgment in

his favor for the amount of damages ascertained in the

jury’s verdict, contending that this is the only action avail-

able to the Court under the remand from the Court of

Appeals. To the contrary, appellees, the original defend-

ants, contend that they may now have heard by the trial

court a new motion for judgment notwithstanding the

verdict and their motion for a new trial as an alternative.

G-5

The answer to this question seems to have been resolved

against the contention of the defendants-appellees by their

contentions presented to the Court of Appeals in connec-

tion with their petition for rehearing. Part III and Part

IV of their petition urged the Court of Appeals to enter

a judgment n.o.v. or, in the alternative, an order granting

a new trial. They based their contention that this was a

proper procedure on the case of Neeley v. Martin K. Eby

Construction Co., supra, and especially the Neeley case

discussion of Federal Rule 50(d).' Although the rule itself

states only that in the case of a party positioned as were

the parties here, the appellees had open to them the right

to argue that the judgment in their favor should have

stood even though this Court incorrectly applied the jury

verdict, by the process of requesting the appellate court

to grant a new trial, the language of the Supreme Court

extends to an appellee under such circumstances the

further right to seek in the Court of Appeals an order

for a judgment n.o.v. The Court said:

“Rule 50(d) is applicable 'to cases such as this one

where the trial court has denied a motion for judg-

ment n.o.v. [After the jury verdict responding to the

special interrogatories was filed the appellant here,

the original plaintiff, filed a motion for judgment n.o.v.

*Rule 50(d) provides:

“(d) Same: Denial of Motion. If the motion for judgment

notwithstanding the verdict is denied, the party who prevailed

on that motion may, as appellee, assert giounds entitling him

to a new trial in the event the y ape court concludes that

the trial court erred in denying the motion for judgment not-

withstanding the verdict. If the appellate court reverses the

judgment, nothing in this rule precludes it from determining

that the appellee is entitled to a new trial, or from directing the

trial court to determine whether a new trial shall be granted.

As amended Jan. 21, 1963, eff. July 1, 1963.” Rule 50(d) Fed.

R. Civ. P.

G-6

and for new trial. Both of these motions were denied

by the trial court.] Rule 50(d) expressly preserves to

the party who prevailed in the district court [Here

the appellees.] the right to urge that the Court of

Appeals grant a new trial should the jury’s verdict

be sect aside on appeal. Rule 50(d) also emphasizes

that ‘nothing in this rule precludes’ the Court of Ap-

peals ‘from determining that the appellee is entitled

to a new trial, or from directing the trial court to

determine whether a new trial shall be granted.’ Quite

properly, this rule recognizes the appellate court may

prefer that the trial judge pass first upon the ap-

pellee’s new trial suggestion. Nevertheless considera-

tion of the new trial question ‘in the first instance’

is lodged with the Court of Appeals and Rule 50(d)

is permissive in the nature of its direction to the Court

of Appeals: As in Rule 50(c)(1) there ts nothing in

Rule 50(d) indicating that the Court of Appeals may

not direct entry of judgment n.0.v. in appropriate

cases.” 386 U.S. 317, 323-324. (Emphasis added).

This course of events is precisely what happened in

this case. The plaintiff Rosen, complaining of the Court’s

interpretation of the jury verdict, filed a motion for judg-

ment n.o.v. and for new trial. These motions were denied.

Thus, the present appellees were the prevailing party on

that motion. Rule 50(c) expressly authorizes them to raise

in the Court of Appeals all of the contentions that they

now seek to make here which would authorize either a new

trial or a judgment in their favor based on the theory

that there was insufficient evidence to take the case to the

jury in the first place. Of course, all other grounds for the

granting of a new trial, such as objections to either the

admission or refusal of the admission of evidence, the

G-7

measure of damages and the like would properly be con-

tained in such motion.

In their motion for rehearing the appellees stated:

“The [appellate] court may either order a new trial

itself or return the case to the district court for a

ruling on the motion.” Citing Neeley at 328-24, 325

(sic).

In the language of the Court on page 329 it seems to be

decisive on the point.

“In our view, therefore, Rule 50(d) makes express

and adequate provision for the opportunity—which

the plaintiff-appellee had without this rule—to present

his grounds for a new trial in the event his verdict

is set aside by the Court of Appeals. If he does so

in his brief—or in a petition for rehearing if the

Court of Appeals has directed entry of judgment for

appellant—the Court of Appeals may make final dis-

position of the issues presented, except those which in

its informed discretion should be reserved for the

trial court. If appellee presents no new trial issues

in his brief or in a petition for rehearing, the Court

of Appeals may, in any event, order a new trial on

its own motion or refer the question to the district

court, based on factors encountered in its own review

of the case. Compare Weade v. Dichmann, Wright and

Pugh, Ince., supra.”

Here the order of the Court of Appeals stated unequiv-

ocally, following consideration of the petition for rehear-

ing, “the petition for rehearing is denied and the sugges-

tion for rehearing en banc is rejected.”

Thus, it is clear that the Court of Appeals declined to

grant the petition for the entry of a judgment n.o.v. or

G-8

the petition for the grant of a new trial. Neither did the

Court determine that these questions should be remanded

to the trial court for consideration. This Court construes

the order of the Court of Appeals as having decided these

issues on the merits, inasmuch as they were presented in

full and denied by the Court.

The Court concludes that the judgment in favor of the

defendants heretofore entered must be VACATED and

judgment entered in favor of the plaintiff for three times

the amount determined by the jury, together with costs

and attorney’s fees.

yer eo See a PEDAL. ee

H-1

Appendix H

In the United States District Court

For the Northern District of California

No, 45531-GBH

Kerry M. Gough, Trustee in Bank. |

ruptey of Louis Rosen, dba Walnut

Creek Furniture

Plaintiff,

vs.

Rossmoor Corporation, et al.,

Defendants. ;

[Filed December 6, 1974]

ORDER

Defendants having moved the court for judgment not-

withstanding the verdict and for a new trial, the court hav-

ing considered the motions,

IT IS ORDERED that said motions be and the same are

hereby Denied.

Dated: December 3, 1974.

Expert P, Tutte

Elbert P. Tuttle

United States Circuit Judge

(sitting by designation)

I-1

Appendix I

United States Court of Appeals

For the Ninth Circuit

No. 26,475

Louis Rosen, dba Walnut Creek :

Furniture,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

vs.

Rossmoor Corporation, Golden Rain ‘

Foundation, Leisure World Founda-

tion, and Crestmark Carpet and Dra-

pery Company,

ee |

[Filed October 17, 1973]

Appeal from the United States District Court

For the Northern District of California

Before: BROWNING, DUNIWAY, and GOODWIN, Cir-

cult Judges

BROWNING, Circuit Judge:

Plaintiff sued defendants for treble damages under sec-

tion 4 of the Clayton Act (15 U.S.C. § 15) for violation of

sections 1 and 2 of the Sherman A@#(15 U.S.C. §$1, 2).

The case was submitted to the jury on special interroga-

tories. The jury responded that defendants had entered

into a conspiracy to exclude plaintiff from the business of

selling at retail in a local market products produced in

I-2

other states, that they had restrained plaintiff’s retail busi-

ness to his damage, but that their acts had not had “a sub-

stantial effect on interstate commerce or the flow of

interstate commerce.” Because of this negative answer

regarding the effect of defendants’ conduct on interstate

commerce, the district court entered judgment for defend-

ants. We reverse.

Plaintiff was sole proprietor of a retail store selling

carpets, drapes, and household furniture in Walnut Creek,

California. Defendants are two members of a group of

corporations that buy and sell land and construct, sell,

furnish, and manage residential developments. These

developments are referred to individually and collectively

as “Rossmoor Leisure World.”

Defendant Rossmoor Corporation is the primary devel-

oper. Defendant Crestmark Carpet and Drapery Company

is a wholly owned subsidiary of Rossmoor that sells carpets

and drapes to residents of Rossmoor Leisure World, includ-

ing the development in the Walnut Creek area.

All the carpeting sold by plaintiff and defendant Crest-

mark to residents of the Walnut Creek Rossmoor Leisure

World during the relevant period was manufactured out-

side California and shipped to plaintiff and defendant

Crestmark either directly or through in-state wholesalers.’

‘Defendant Crestmark’s sales of carpeting and padding to resi-

dents of Rossmoor Leisure World at Walnut Creek exceeded

$380,000 in 1965, $565,000 in 1966, and $305,000 in 1967. The

volume of plaintiffs sales of carpeting io residents of the develop-

ment is not entirely clear from the record, but defendants conceded

at oral argument that such sales were not de minimis. Moreover,

plaintiff testified, and the jury necessarily found, that such sales

would have been substantially greater but for defendants’ acts,

ae

1-3

In response to interrogatories submitted under Rule

49(a), Fed. R. Civ. P., the jury found that defendants and

their subsidiaries had the power and intention to exclude

plaintiff from the business of selling carpeting to residents

of the Walnut Creek Rossmoor Leisure World; that they

entered into a scheme to prevent plaintiff from advertising

in the Leisure World News, a “house” newspaper for that

development, “such as to act as a restraint on plaintiff’s

business”; and that, as a result, plaintiff suffered some

$50,000 damages in loss of profits and good will. However,

to the question “Did such restraint have a substantial effect

on interstate commerce or the flow of interstate com-

merce?” the jury answered “No.’* Judgment was entered

for defendants on the ground that this last answer deprived

the court of jurisdiction under the Sherman Act.

The written submission to the jury read as follows:

The following questions are being submitted to you for your

answer in order to aid the Court in reaching a decision in this

matter.

You should recognize that your answers to these questions

will be the basis for the Court’s decision which will decide

whether or not the plaintiff is entitled to recover or not from

the defendants.

You are to answer the following interrogatories as applicable.

Before any question may be answered, all 12 of the jurors must

agree on the answer.

1. Did the defendants and Leisure World Foundation or

Golden Rain Foundation by means of a common plan scheme

or design have the ee and intention to exclude plaintiff

nor carpet and/or other business in Rossmoor Leisure

or

Yes », 4

2. Did defendants enter into a common plan, scheme or

design with Leisure World Foundation or Golden Rain Foun-

dation to prevent plaintiff from advertising carpets in the

1-4

The jurisdictional issue under the Sherman Act is dis-

tinct from the substantive issue of whether a given defend-

ant’s conduct was of the kind prohibited by the Act. Ras-

mussen v. American Dairy Ass’n, 472 F.2d 517, 521-24 (9th

Cir. 1973). The jurisdictional issue is one of constitutional

power. Congress intended to extend the substantive pro-

hibitions of the Sherman Act to the farthest reaches of its

power under the Commerce Clause, thereby mandating for

this nation a competitive business economy to the full

extent that Congress could do so under its constitutional

power to regulate interstate and foreign commerce. United

States v. South-Eastern Underwriters Ass’n, 322 U.S. 533,

558-59 (1944). The jurisdictional question, therefore, is

whether defendants’ conduct had a sufficient relationship

to interstate commerce to be subject to regulation by Con-

gress. Rasmussen v. American Dairy Ass’n, supra, 472 F.

- 2d at 521. This, in turn, depends upon whether defendants’

Leisure World News such as to act as a restraint on plaintiff's

business of selling carpets or other merchandise at Rossmoor

Leisure World?

Yes X

3. If your answer to either of the preceding questions is in

the affirmative, did such restraint have a substantial effect on

interstate commerce or the flow of interstate commerce?

ies

No X

4. Has plaintiff suffered any mon damage by reason of

its inability to advertise in Leisure Worl News?

Yes X

wa

; indi th

mdilgwiaoieuasa

Net Profits.............. $18,143.00

SIE 0g > vere piicaer. 22,738.00

1-5

conduct had a “substantial economic effect” upon interstate

commerce, or, “ ‘concerns more States than one’ and has a

real and substantial relation to the national interest” in a

competitive economy. Heart of Atlanta Motel v. United

States, 379 U.S. 241, 255 (1964), quoting Gibbons v. Ogden,

22 U.S. (9 Wheat.) 1, 196-97 (1824); see Rasmussen v.

American Dairy Ass’n, swpra, 472 F.2d at 522-23. See, gen-

erally, 1 von Kalinowski, Antitrust Laws & Trade Regula-

tion § 5.01[4] (1969).

The substantive issue, on the other hand, is whether

defendants participated in anticompetitive conduct of the

kind encompassed within the statutory terms “restraint of

trade,” “monopolize,” or “attempt to monopolize.” In terms

of this case, the substantive question was whether defend-

ants, with the power and intent to exclude plaintiff from

the Rossmoor Leisure World market, entered into a com-

mon scheme or plan to restrain plaintiff’s business by pre-

venting him from advertising in the Leisure World News,

and, if so, whether such conduct was the kind of anticom-

petitive conduct prohibited by the Act.

Thus, although the substantive and jurisdictional issues

are often confusingly described in terms of the “effect” of

particular conduct upon commerce, as if a common question

were presented, see, e.g., Las Vegas Merchant Plumbers

Ass’n v. United States, 210 F.2d 732, 739-40 n.3 (9th Cir.

1954), the substance of the two inquiries is quite different.

An unreasonable restraint on competition may have no

impact upon interstate commerce, or an impact so insig-

nificant that regulation under the Commerce Clause is not

justified as a means of protecting interstate commerce.

Page v. Work, 290 F.2d 323, 331-32 (9th Cir. 1961). Or con-

1-6

duct clearly having a substantial economic impact on inter-

state commerce may not violate the Act’s prohibitions

against unreasonable restraints of trade and monopoliza-

tion. Cartrade, Inc. v. Ford Dealers Advertising Ass’n, 446

F.2d 289, 292 (9th Cir. 1971).

When the issue is whether the defendant’s conduct vio-

lates the norms of the statute, the focus is upon commer-

cial competition: whether the defendant’s conduct- -“in” or

“affecting” interstate commerce or not—unreasonably

restrains competition in the :uarket place. When the issue

is whether jurisdiction exists, the focus is upon interstate

commerce: whether the defendant’s conduct—unreasonably

restrictive of competition or not—has a sufficient impact on

interstate commerce to justify regulation under the Com-

merce Clause.

In the present case, the jury’s factual findings that

defendants, with the power and intent to exclude plaintiff

from the Rossmoor Leisure World market, entered into a

common scheme or plan to restrain plaintiff’s business by

preventing him from advertising in the Leisure World

News established, as a matter of law, that defendants

had engaged in the type of anticompetitive conduct that

Congress intended to prohibit by the Sherman Act. The

jury’s further findings that plaintiff suffered monetary

damages in a determined amount by reason of defendants’

conduct, established, as a matter of law, that plaintiff was

among the class of private persons authorized by the

Clayton Act to seek redress for such conduct. Defendants

do not argue to the contrary.

SS Se. m

Qo Ae

~

a a gy Re > SPA tes es,

1-7

The sole question herein is jurisdictional : did defendants’

conduct have a sufficient relationship to interstate com-

merce to be within Congress’ power to regulate, and hence

to come within the Sherman Act?

Defendants argue that the jury’s specific finding that

defendants’ acts did not have a “substantial effect on inter-

state commerce or the flow of interstate commerce” is

conclusive of jurisdiction. We disagree.

It is doubtful whether the jurisdictional issue should

have been submitted to the jury, even had the evidence

been in dispute. Except where the jurisdictional issue and

the issues on the merits are factually “completely inter-

meshed,” McBeath v. Inter-American Citizens for Decency

Committee, 374 F.2d 359, 362-63 (5th Cir. 1967), it may

well be the court’s function to resolve factual disputes

relevant to jurisdiction on motion under Rule 12(b)(1),

Fed. R. Civ. P., rather than the jury’s function to resolve

such disputes in the trial of the case on the merits. See

Page v. Work, supra, 290 F.2d at 334; Bailey’s Bakery,

Ltd. v. Continental Baking Co., 235 F.Supp. 705, 714

(D.C. Hawaii 1964); 5 Wright & Miller, Federal Practice

& Procedure § 1350, at 556-58, 5 Moore’s Federal Practice

7 38.37 [2.-2], at 298-300; but see Marks Food Corp. v.

Barbara Ann Baking Co., 274 F.2d 934 (9th Cir. 1959).*

*Professor Moore summarizes the policy considerations supporting

this view as follows:

As a matter of policy, however, there is much to be said for

approaching problems of statutory coverage as triable to the

court when reasonably separable from the facts of violation.

The difference is this: if coverage is treated as substantive

for purposes of mode of trial, the issue of whether a cause of

action is stated must be left to the jury in cases in which

underlying facts are not in dispute, but different inferences

1-8

Even assuming, however, that the resolution of conflicts

in the evidence as to jurisdictional facts is the function

of the jur;, the jury must be given adequate instructions

as to the legal standard to be applied. Ratigan v. New

York Central R.R., 291 F.2d 548, 554 (2d Cir. 1961); 5A

Moore’s Federal Practice, supra, J 49.02, at 2206 n.7; 9

Wright & Miller, Federal Practice & Procedure, supra,

§ 2506, at 502. The interrogatory submitted to the jury in

this case (question “3,” supra note 2) did not inform the

jury of the constitutional tests for determining whether

the relationship between defendants’ conduct and interstate

commerce was such as to permit Congress to prohibit de-

fendants’ conduct. Nor was the general explanatory in-

struction given to the jury adequate to this purpose.‘

In any event, there was no conflict in the evidence as to

the facts relevant to jurisdiction. The undisputed facts

established that the necessary relationship to interstate

may be drawn from them. Thus on the same business arrange-

ments one case may be decided one way and another in a

different way, as the jury may find that the arrangements did

or did not affect commerce. . . . Surely these are matters that

should be treated as a matter of law so that the perimeter of

the statute can be worked out in the appellate courts. When

there is . . . in the case of the antitrust case a factual question

as to details of the defendant's business activities, such ques-

tions could be put to the jury as special interrogatories, or a

special verdict employed.

5 Moore’s Federal Practice § 38.36 [2.-2], at 300.

‘The only relevant portion of the instructions reads (Tr. 1310):

The Sherman Act applies to parties whose acts are in the

course or flow of commerce across state lines or whose acts,

although local, substantially affect interstate trade and com-

merce. By substantial the law means not de minimus—not

insignificant, an amount more than trifling. The amount of

interstate trade involved, if substantial, is not material, since

the Sherman Act brands as illegal the character of the restraint,

not the amount of commerce affected,

1-9

commerce did exist. In these circumstances, it was error

to submit the jurisdictional issue to the jury under Rule

49(a). Wirtz v. La Fitte, 326 F.2d 856, 858-60 (5th Cir.

1964); W. R. Grimshaw Co. v. Nevil C. Withrow Co., 248

F.2d 896, 902-03 (8th C

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — Gough v. Rossmoor Corp. · 440 U.S. 936 | Frix