Petition — Borden, Inc. v. Bergland

Supreme Court brief1979

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ILED

SEP 26 1978

—TICHAR. RODAK, JR. CLERK

In Tue

Supreme Court of the United States

Cctroper Term, 1978

No.7 5d 6

Borden, Inc.,

Petitioner,

vs.

Bob Bergland, Secretary of Agriculture,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit

Stuart S. Batt

H. Biarr Waite

Davin T. Pritikin

One First National Plaza

Chicago, Illinois 60603

Wa ter W. Kocuer

GLENN S. DENNIS

Epwarpb A. Matto

180 East Broad Street

Columbus, Ohio 43215

Siptey & Austin Counsel for Petitioner

One First National Plaza

Chicago, Illinois 60603

Of Counsel

September 26, 1978

Table of Contents

BSE SEER ET

I.

II.

IIT.

IV.

, 4

VL.

The Opinions Delivered in the Courts Below

and the Dates of the Judgments Sought to Be

The Statutory Provision Believed to Confer Ju-

weeceotiom om Ehts Court... .:........:........

The Questions Presented for Review ....

Statutes and Regulations Involved ......

mentemnent @f the Gees .......................

Reasons Why the Writ Should Be Allowed .....

A. The Order Reversing This Case Offends

Against the Orderly and Efficient Admini-

stration of Justice by Reversing the Prior

Rulings in the Same Case on Two Major

Points, in Defiance of the Doctrine of “Law

OE ES a

. The Court of Appeals in Reversing Its Ini-

tial Decision Is in Direct Conflict with the

Court of Appeals for the District of Colum-

bia in Fairmont and the Court of Appeals for

the Third Circuit in Abbotts. ...............

1. The Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia Held in Fairmont That, in Such

a Case As the Present, the Damages to

Be Awarded Are the Amount of the

Overpayments, Which Should Be Ascer-

tained by the District Court ......

i

li

Page

2. The Court of Appeals for the Third Cir-

cuit Held in Abbotts That Damages Were

to Be the Amount of the Overpayments

and That Remand to the Secretary for

Their Ascertainment Was Improper.....

C. In Holding That Borden’s Damages Are to

Be Determined by the Secretary Based on

an Undefined “Evaluation of Complex Eco-

nomic Relationships between Producers and

Handlers” Rather than by Simply Ascertain-

ing the Amounts of Borden’s Overpayments,

and by Holding That the Secretary Rather

Than the District Court Must Determine

Borden's Damages, the Court of Appeals

Has Decided Two Important and Recurrent

Issues under the Milk Marketing Act Erro-

neously and Contrary to Good Judicial Ad-

a A A as a ee

1. The Parties at No Time “Stipulated”

That Damages Were to Be Initially

Computed in Proceedings before the

Secretary, As the Secretary Improperly

and Incorrectly Argued to the Court of

Appeals and As the Court of Appeals

Was Misled to Believe.................

2. The Order Reversing the Earlier Holding

That Borden’s Damages Were Its Over-

payments Was Based on a Misapprehen-

sion of Basic Legal Principles ..........

3. There Was No Administrative Question

Requiring Reference to the Secretary ...

17

19

19

21

24

ill

Page

D. Eight Years After the Illegal Orders Were

First Imposed by the Secretary, the Orderly

and Efficient Administration of Justice

Demands That This Case Not Be Remanded

to the Secretary to Begin the Administrative

Process Anew, When the Only Genuine Issue

Remaining Is the Arithmetic Computation

of Borden’s Overpayments ..... .......... 27

rk perches a ee hi 29

Appendix

A. Excerpts from relevant statutes and regulations .... a-1

ee ee Eg Do oy ery co a-1

De ese es IN sds wp & dlgcicnn ck oalh'ee a-2

iy rs RL Core er oi a-2

B. Decision of the Court of Appeals on the initial ap-

peal, dated November 1, 1976 and reported at 544

ek Fre eer ee pe eee a-3

C. Transcript of oral opinion of the District Court on

remand, dated March 21, 1977

D. Minute entry of the District Court, dated March 23,

1977 and based on oral opinion................... a-23

E. Per Curiam Order of the Court of Appeals, dated

April 20, 1978, reversing the District Court ........ a-24

F. Per Curiam Order of the Court of Appeals, dated

June 30, 1978, denying Petition of Borden, Inc. for

I SON POC Soy po we SUR Gh > ced cle ves ses ase a-29

G. Excerpts from Slip Opinion in Abbotts Dairies Divi-

sion of Fairmont Foods Co. v. Bergland, Nos. 77-2245,

77-2246, and 77-2247 (3rd Cir., filed August 1, 1978). a-30

iv

. Borden’s Motion for Leave to File Instanter Re-

newed Petition for Rehearing and for Rehearing En

Banc, dated August 25, 1978 ............ eee eens a-43

Order of Court of Appeals, dated September 8, 1978,

denying Renewed Petition of Borden, Inc. for

Rehearing and for Rehearing En Banc ............ a-48

Letter dated August 10, 1973 from Lee A. Monroe,

counsel for Borden, lac., to Kdward Silverstein,

counsel for the Secretary of Agriculture ........... a-50

‘. Letter dated September 10, 1973 from Lee A. Mon-

roe, counsel for Borden, Inc., to Office of the Hear-

ing Examiners, U.S. Department of Agriculture .... a-52

_ In Re Borden, Inc., U.S. Department of Agriculture

AMA Docket No. M63-3, Respondent’s Response to

the Judicial Officer’s June 30, 1978 Decision and

Order, filed August 2, 1978 and stamped ‘Motion

Granted” by Judicial Officer ............00 ee eeeee a-53

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Page

Abbotts Dairies Division of Fairmont Foods Co. v.

Bergland, Nos. 77-2245, 77-2246, and 77-2247

(3rd Cir. 1977, filed August 1, 1978)........ 2, 4, 12, 17,

18, 22, 23, 24,

26, 27, 30

Abbotts Dairies Division of Fairmont Foods Co. v.

Bergland, 438 F.Supp. 629 (E.D. Pa. 1977) .. 3, 4, 9, 10, 22,

25, 27, 29

Adams v. Mills, 286 U.S. 397 (1937) .......... 21

Atlantic Coast Line v. Florida, 295 U.S. 301

ee ee 23

Baltimore & Ohio R. Co. v. Brady, 288 U.S. 448

BU ME Gel yal Se nS 26

Borden, Inc. v. Butz, 544 F.2d 312 (7th Cir.

ee 1, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9,

10, 12, 19, 22

Chattanooga Foundry & Pipe Works v. Atlanta,

203 U.S. 390 (1906) ...................... 21

Fairmont Foods Co. v. Hardin, 442 F.2d 762

I 2, 4, 6, 16, 17,

22, 27, 29, 30

Far East Conference v. United States, 342 US.

EE 25

Florida East Coast Ry. Co. v. United States,

368 F.Supp. 1009 (M.D. Fla. 1973), aff'd,

ee 24, 26

Great Western Tel. Co. v. Burnham, 162 U.S. 339

vi vii

Page . Page

Hanover Shoe, Inc. v. United Shoe Machinery, . STATUTES

392 US. 481 (1968) Peae be 6 06 e¥e 8s eee ee ee 22 Agricultural Marketing Agreement Act of

Hill v. Trustees of Indiana University, 537 F.2d 1937 (7 U.S.C. §608c)

DO Fe Ca i ag cl bb eek horeneaw se ts 20 Fs MI Sino iv cd nies socavcdes 5

Illinois Central Rd. Co. v. Mulberry Hill Coal on sgn ie iii rie ata tad ik 5

Coe Ue EPO OE ec bveds bcs ca hieg ee 26 Ae SOME O IE) oo cs bce seve viveee's 5

L & N Railroad Vv. Sloss-She ffield Co., 269 US. 28 U.S.C, §$1254(1) ‘ewe se eee 8 ee ee ee 2

EE SS ova ON sa ene ne dekae eee ta es 21

OrHer AUTHORITIES

Lewis-Simas-Jones Co. v. Southern Pacific Co.,

; Pe IE so Fa va oes bakes wee twee 5

rR Oe ae eT eee 21 7 CFR. $1063.89(d) ..... 0. ccc cceccececee. 5

Moss v. C.A.B., 521 F.2d 298 (D.C. Cir. 1975). . 23 Rule 35, Rules of United States Court of Ap-

Otten v. Stonewall Ins. Co., 538 F.2d 210 (8th peals for the Seventh Circuit.............. 8

a WP ka. Vea 14, 15 Pe

i Rule 56(e), Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.. 8, 28, 29

Pennsylvania Rd. Co. v. Puritan Coal Mining

om ei S| | ee eae 26

Pennsylvania Rd. Co. v. International Coal Min-

ing Co., 230 U.S. 184 (1913) ............... 26

Washington Gas Light Co. v. Baker, 188 F.2d 11

(ERE. Sn kd arena eeu eee enw eeans 24

White v. Murtha, 377 F.2d 428 (5th Cir. 1967) . 14

Williams v. Washington Met. Area Transit

Com'n, 415 F.2d 922 (D.C. Cir. 1968)....... 24

United States v. Dickinson, 476 F.2d 373 (5th

COE 5s ea oo Ge ah chee cies 14

United States v. Western Pacifu R. Co., 352 US.

SO RTIIE ics caviar ey sc vtulee see 25

Zdanok v. Glidden Company, 327 F.2d 944 (2d

CR FO) ei ios e cee ier 14

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser TERM, 1978

No. 78-

Borden, Inc.,

Petitioner,

vs.

Bob Bergland, Secretary of Agriculture,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit

THE OPINIONS DELIVERED IN THE COURTS BELOW

AND THE DATES OF THE JUDGMENTS SOUGHT TO BE

REVIEWED

The first decision of the Court of Appeals, dated No-

vember 1, 1976, is reported at 544 F.2d 312 and also appears

in the Appendix as Ex. B. The opinion of the district court

on remand has not been reported and appears in the Appen-

dix as Ex. C. The per curiam Order of the Court of Appeals,

reversing the district court and marked “not to be cited”’ was

dated April 20, 1978, and is not reported. It appears in the

Appendix as Ex. E. Petitioner’s petition for rehearing was

filed May 4, 1978. The Order denying Petitioner’s petition

for rehearing, dated June 30, 1978, appears in the Appendix

2

as Ex. F. The Order denying Petitioner's motion for leave to

file instanter a renewed petition for rehearing and for rehear-

ing en banc, dated September 8, 1978, appears in the Appen-

dix as Ex. I.

Il.

THE STATUTORY PROVISION BELIEVED TO CONFER

JURISDICTION ON THIS COURT

Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under Title 28 of the

United States Code §1254(1) providing for the granting of a

writ of certiorari upon the petition of any party to a civil

case after rendition of judgment by the Court of Appeals.

Il.

THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

A. Whether this Court should resolve the conflict that

now exists between the Court of Appeals for the Seventh Cir-

cuit in this case and the Courts of Appeals for the District of

Columbia in Fairmont Foods Co. v. Hardin, 442 F.2d 762, 766

(D.C. Cir. 1971), and for the Third Circuit in Abbotts Dair-

ies Division of Fairmont Foods Co. v. Bergland, Nos. 77-2245,

77-2246, and 77-2247 (3d Cir. 1977, filed August 1, 1978), by

reversing the decision below and directing that Borden's

damages for overcharges imposed by the illegal orders of the

Secretary of Agriculture should be the amount of the over-

payments and are to be ascertained by the district court?

(discussed infra, at pp. 15 to 18)

.

B. Whether the Court of Appeals has wrongfully decided

recurrent and important questions as to the interpretation

and administration of the Milk Marketing Act, which the

3

Secretary has admitted ‘will have wide-ranging ramifications

on the national milk market system”? (discussed infra, at pp.

3 to 4 and 19 to 29)

C. Whether it is consistent with the efficient administra-

tion of justice for the Court of Appeals, having decided on

appeal that the damages recoverable for overcharges imposed

by the illegal rulings of the Secretary of Agriculture were the

amount of the overpayments made by Borden and were to

be ascertained by the district court, then to hold on a second

appeal, in disregard of the doctrine of the “law of the case”

and without explication, that damages were to be determined

by a vague and indefinite standard of “equity and good con-

science” and were to be determined in additional hearings

before the Secretary? (discussed infra, at pp. 12 to 15)

D. Whether it is consistent with the efficient administra-

tion of justice for the Court of Appeals, on a second appeal,

to reverse two of its holdings on the prior appeal, without

any explanatory opinion and by an unpublished Order which

is not to be cited as sate: and which neither points out

any error in the holdings on the first appeal nor explains its

action in reversing them, except to cite the now-reversed dis-

trict court decision in Abbotts Dairies Division of Fairmont

Foods Co. v. Bergland, 438 F.Supp. 629 (E.D. Pa. 1977)? (dis-

cussed infra, at pp. 12 to 15)

The Importance of the Issues

The issues as to the proper administration of the statutes

and orders dealing with the marketing of milk here involved

are recurrent and important, having now been considered by

three Courts of Appeals. 7 U.S.C. §608¢ gives the Secretary

the authority to prescribe the minimum Order price for raw

4

milk which all handlers must pay and sets forth a procedure

for the review of such orders if those regulated .thereunder

are aggrieved. As the Fairmont and Abbotts cases coupled with

the present case make clear, the problem of recovering over-

payments after a Milk Market Order price is found illegal is

by no means of infrequent occurrence.’

A determination of the appropriate measure of damages

and the proper forum for ascertainment of these damages are

thus questions of great and immediate practical concern to

the industry. As the Secretary’s Brief to the Court of Ap-

peals pointed out (p. 28):

“The precedent involved in establishing the legal criteria

for a proper damage award in this case will have wide-

ranging ramifications on the national milk marketing

system,” ;

IV.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

The authority of the Secretary of Agriculture [‘Secre-

tary”] to promulgate Milk Marketing Orders derives from

the Agricultural Marketing Agreement Act of 1937, 7 U.S.C.

‘From March through August of 1974, Borden's Pekin, Illinois

plant was also subjected to an invalid and discriminatory adjust-

ment to the Order price, which the Chief Judicial Officer has

recently held to be unsupported by evidence and which is closely

parallel to those affecting the Des Moines plant held invalid in the

present case. In the Pekin proceeding, the same issues as to the de-

termination of damages are present as in this case, and the Secre-

tary has cited the unpublished Order of Reversal in the present

case as precedent for requiring “administrative hearings’ as to

damages. Jn re Borden, Inc., U.S. Department of Agriculture AMA

Docket No, M63-3, Decision and Order, filed June 30, 1978; Respon-

dent’s Response to the Judicial Officer’s June 30, 1978 Decision

and Order, filed August 2, 1978. (Appendix, Ex. L)

5

§$608c(5)(A). The proceedings before the Secretary out of

which this litigation grew were initiated in accordance with

7 U.S.C. §608c(15)(A), quoted in the Appendix (Ex. A).

Damages sought are payable under 7 C.F.R. §1063.89(d),

(Appendix, Ex. A), which was later contained in 7 C.F.R.

§1000.6. (Appendix, Ex. A) The jurisdiction of the district

court was initially invoked under 7 U.S.C. §608¢(15)(B). (Ap-

pendix, Ex. A)

V.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On September 1, 1970, Borden closed its obsolete milk

processing plant at Rock Island, Illinois, which had served

the Quad Cities-Dubuque Market Area (Order No. 63,

7 C.F.R. §1063), and began using its plant at Des Moines,

lowa to serve its customers in the Quad Cities Market Area

and the Des Moines Market Area (Order No. 79, 7 C.F.R.

$1079) as well as four other Market Areas.’ This resulted in

more milk from the Des Moines plant being sold in the Quad

Cities Area than in any dther Market Area, and under the

provisions of the applicable statute and Market Orders, the

prices for all raw milk used by the Des Moines plant became

subject to the price formulae prescribed by the Quad Cities

Order rather than the Des Moines Order. 544 F.2d at p. 313.

By a series of three “orders” (the first promulgated on Oc-

tober 1, 1970), the Secretary of Agriculture professing to

amend the Quad Cities Order took steps to void the effect of

’These included the Cedar Rapids-lowa City Area (Order No.

70), the North Central lowa Area (Order No. 78), the Greater Kan-

‘sas City Area (Order No. 64), and the Nebraska-Western Iowa

Area (Order No. 63). The Iowa Market Orders and the Quad Cities

Order were consolidated into a new Iowa Order on April 1, 1977.

(42 Fed. Reg. 17423)

6

these provisions, and eliminated Borden’s 19 cents per hun-

dredweight (“cwt.”) minus “location adjustment” that would

otherwise have applied to Borden under the formula set

forth ir ‘he Quad Cities Order, and in addition imposed a 15

cents per cwt. plus adjustment on all milk Borden purchased.

Neither adjustment affected any of Borden’s competitors

regulated under the Quad Cities Order, who continued to be

subject to the prior provisions and to pay the same price as

before. The Market Order was otherwise unchanged and its

lawfulness never challenged.

No claim has ever been made by anyone else regulated

under or affected by the Quad Cities Order that the Order it-

self and the general pricing formula it had promulgated were

in any way excessive, inadequate, or otherwise invalid; and

nothing in the original decision of the Court of Appeals

affected the validity of the Order in general, or its continued

applicability to Borden's competitors.

As the result of these three orders, the price which Borden

had to pay for the milk purchased for its Des Moines plant,

including that resold in the Quad Cities Area and in the

other Market Areas served by the Borden plant, was in-

creased first by 19 cents per cwt. and then by 34 cents per

cwt,

The three challenged ‘‘orders’”’ were reviewed and upheld

in extended proceedings before the Secretary, and then by

the district court. On appeal, the Court of Appeals reversed,

Borden v. Butz, 544 F.2d 312, holding that ‘the three rulings

of the Secretary at issue here are not in accordance with law

and are invalid.” 544 F.2d at 319.

Consistent with the disposition of a similar case in Fair-

mont Foods Co. v. Hardin, 442 F.2d 762, (D.C. Cir. 1971), the

Court of Appeals in its initial decision said:

—

‘

“As to damages, Borden is entitled to recover over-

payments which it made pursuant to the invalid orders.

Inasmuch as the Quad Cities-Dubuque marketing order

provides for payment by the market administrator to

handlers out of the producer-settlement fund where

claims are made pursuant to 7 U.S.C. §608e(15)(A),

7 C.F.R. §1063.89(d), we remand to the district court on

the issue of damages, with direction to enter judgment

for Borden in the amount ascertained after appropriate

proceedings. Fairmont, supra, at 773.” 544 F.2d at 319-20.

The Secretary made no effort to obtain a review of the

Court's initial decision by motion for rehearing or by writ of

certiorari. The ruling thus became “law of the case.” The man-

date clearly directed the district court “to ascertain plaintiff’s

damages” and clearly held that Borden’s damages consisted

of the overpayments which Borden had been compelled to

make.

From October 1, 1970 to July 31, 1971 (the date Borden's

plant was forced to close as the result of the three invalid

and discriminatory orders), the price Borden would other-

wise have been required to pay under the Quad Cities Order

was raised first 19 cents and then 34 cents per ewt. It is un-

disputed that in all Borden paid $249,978.38 above the other-

wise lawful Order price.

On remand, Borden moved, inter alia, for a summary judg-

ment as to the amount of the overpayments, pointing out the

evidence already in the record from which a specific and de-

tailed computation of overpayments could mathematically

be made—i.e., the handler’s reports filed by Borden with the

Milk Market Administrator, which set forth the quantity of

milk purchased by Borden during the relevant period, in-

cluding the quantity of Class I milk processed at Borden's

Des Moines plant. The illegal rulings by their very terms

fixed the excess amounts Borden had to pay above the other-

8

wise effective and valid price established under the Quad

Cities Order applicable to Borden’s plant: ie., first 19 cents

per cwt. and later 34 cents per cwt.

In answer to Borden’s motion, the Secretary was required

under Rule 56(e), Fed. R. Civ. P., to come forward with

“specific facts showing that there was a genuine issue for

trial.” The Secretary in response filed an Opposition, with

one affidavit attached. The district court correctly ruled that

the response filed by the Secretary had failed to show

“specific facts” raising a genuine issue as to any material

matter relating to the computation of overpayments, and on

the basis of the undisputed facts entered summary judgment

as to damages in the amount of $249,978.38 plus interest.

The Secretary thereupon appealed, and after briefs and

oral argument, the Court of Appeals reversed the judgment

in a three and a quarter page per curiam order, with no ac-

companying opinion. The per curiam Order stated on its face,

“not to be cited per Circuit Rule 35.””

All that the Order offered by way of explanation of its ac-

tion was that

“We now determine on this appeal that the district court

prematurely ascertained plaintiff's damages.

In view of the fact that the mandate previously issued had

directed the district court to ascertain damages “with direc-

tion to enter judgment for Borden in the amount ascertained

after appropriate proceedings” (544 F.2d at 319-20) and had

defined Borden's damages as the “overpayments which it

Circuit Rule 35 provides that “orders shall not be published and

opinions shall be published.” The rule further provides that “Un-

published orders .. . (IV) Except to support a claim of res judtcata,

collateral estoppel or law of the case, shail not be cited or used as a

precedent.”

9

made pursuant to the invalid orders” (544 F.2d at 319), just

how the carrying out of that mandate was “premature” was

nowhere explained.

The Court did state, without any further explanation, that

“we agree” with a recent district cowrt decision (Abbotts Dair-

1e8 Division of Fairmont Foods Co. v. Bergland, 438 F. Supp. 629

(E.D. Pa. 1977) ) “as to the procedure which should follow

the finding of the illegality of a milk marketing order.” Ab-

botts, however, has since been reversed by the Third Circuit,

undercutting the Court’s reliance upon the decision. (Appen-

dix, Ex. G)

Even at the time, however, reliance upon the district

court's decision in Abbotts was misplaced. The Order quoted

the following language as if it represented what the district

court had said in Abbotts:

“The determination of . . . [damages] obviously will

require evaluation of complex economic relationships

between producers and handlers during the time period

for which damages are sought. Such matters are pecu-

liarly within the special expertise of the Secretary.”

By omitting language and substituting the bracketed word

“damages”, the Court distorted the purport of this passage.

The omitted words are those italicized:

“The determination of whether Abbotts would have been

able to obtain an adequate supply of miik at the proposed

bracketed price and, if not, at what price an adequate supply

of milk would have been available to it obviously will

require evaluation of complex economic relationships

between producers, and handlers during the time period

for which damages are sought. Such matters are pecu-

liarly within the special expertise of the Secretary. .. .”

438 F. Supp. at 636.

10

The Court of Appeals’ substitution of the word “damages”

for the underscored words was wholly unwarranted and com-

pletely changed the meaning of the passage. As the passage

actually appeared in the Abbotts district court opinion, it had

no relevance to the present case, since on the initial appeal

the Court of Appeals had already demolished the argument

that Borden could not have obtained an adequate milk sup-

ply at regular Market Order prices. The initial opinion said

“It]here is no evidence in the record that Borden would

suffer in short supply.” 544 F.2d at 316. The Court went on

to point out:

“In the third place, the short supply statement is

contrary to the obvious economic factors. There could

be no general short supply at Des Moines because of

Borden’s presence inasmuch as Borden’s lower buying

price would, according to the Secretary, nqt attract

Des Moines producers and thus not divert suppliers

away from other milk handlers in Des Moines. Instead,

Borden had an assured supply from outside of the

Des Moines area, was attracting outside milk into

Des Moines and was alleviating the short supply at

Des Moines by freeing Mid-America’s supply for other

Des Moines-located handlers.” 544 F.2d at 317.

Thus the Court’s quotation from the Abbotts district court

opinion, once the distortion of it by the Court is corrected,

should have had no relevance to any issue in the present

Case,

After its misquotation, the Court of Appeals said:

‘We reverse the judgment of the district court insofar as

it fixes the amount of damages and remand the cause to

the district court with instructions to remand it to the

Secretary of Agriculture to conduct an evidentiary hear-

ing and to render an administrative decision on the

amount of the plaintiff's damages, which amount shall

11

not be less than $84,463 nor more than $249,978.33, and

in regard to which the Secretary shall determine

whether interest shall be added.”

Nothing was said as to the measure of damages to be applied

by the Secretary. Obviously, the determination of the

amount of overpayments required no “expertise”; hence the

measure laid down by the prior opinion of the Court was im-

pliedly rejected.

Borden filed a Petition for Rehearing of the Order of

Reversal, but this Petition was denied by another Order

reading as follows:

“On consideration of the petition for rehearing filed in

the above-entitled cause by plaintiff-appellee, Borden,

Inc., a majority of the judges on the original panel hav-

ing voted to deny the same,**

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the aforesaid peti-

tion for rehearing be, and the same is hereby DENIED.

**Circuit Judge Robert A. Sprecher has disqualified

himself from participation in the petition for rehearing.”

Judge Sprecher was the only member of this panel who

heard the first appeal; Judges Wood and Reynolds, who de-

nied the petition for rehearing, had not heard the arguments

on the first appeal and would not be expected to have been

familiar with the voluminous facts in the initial record which

provided the background for that decision.‘ Thus it was par-

ticularly inappropriate for them to sanction the overturning

of the decision on the first appeal.

“The Secretary's Briefs to the Court of Appeals were replete with

statements unsupported by. the record anu with misstatements of

what it did contain. These were pointed out with chapter and verse

in Borden's Brief. However, as is made clear by the statements in

the Order with respect to the alleged “stipulation” before the Ad-

ministrative Law Judge, discussed infra, the Court of Appeals was

obviously misled as to the actual record facts.

12

Subsequent to the denial of Borden’s petition for rehear-

ing, the Third Circuit, as noted above, reversed.the Abbotts

decision that was the sole authority relied upon by the Court

of Appeals here. Even though Borden was already preparing

this petition for writ of certiorari, it believed that the Court

of Appeals should be made aware of this important develop-

ment, and accordingly Borden promptly filed a Motion for

Leave to File Instanter a Renewed Petition -for Rehearing

and for Rehearing En Bane, along with a copy of the Third

Circuit’s opinion in Abbotts. (Appendix, Ex. H) The Motion

for Leave to File Instanter was denied by the Court of Ap-

peals on September 8, 1978. (Appendix, Ex. I) The Court

thereby implicitly reaffirmed its reliance on the reversed dis-

trict court opinion in Abbotts and consciously and deliberately

set up the conflict between the Circuits that should now be

resolved by this Court.

VI.

REASONS WHY THE WRIT SHOULD BE ALLOWED

A. The Order Reversing This Case Offends Against

the Orderly and Efficient Administration of Justice

by Reversing the Prior Rulings in the Same Case

on Two Major Points, in Defiance of the Doctrine

of ‘Law of the Case”.

The initial decision of the Court of Appeals clearly decided

three matters:

1. that the orders issued by the Secretary are “not in

accordance with law and are invalid”;

2. that Borden was entitled to recover as its damages

the “overpayments which it made pursuant to the in-

valid orders”; and

3. that the district court, not the Secretary, was to as-

certain the amount of the overpayments “after appro-

priate proceedings”. 544 F.2d at 319.

13

These decided points constituted the “law of the case,” which

sound judicial administration required the Court of Appeals

to follow on the second appeal, especially since the Secretary

neither asked for a rehearing of the first decision nor sought

certiorart. However, the Order of Reversal on the second ap-

peal rejected and in effect set aside points 2 and 3 above.

In its initial decision, the Court of Appeals ordered the

cause remanded to the district court “on the issue of

damages with direction to enter judgment for Borden in the

amount ascertained after appropriate proceedings.” This was

a clear holding that the district court and not the Secretary

was to ascertain the amount of the damages and to enter

judgment. In the Order of Reversal, however, the cause was

remanded to the district court with instructions to remand it

to the Secretary of Agriculture to conduct an “evidentiary

hearing” and to render an “administrative decision” on the

amount of the plaintiff's damages. The Court stated that the

ascertainment of damages would require “the evaluation of

complex economic relationships between producers and

handlers .. . peculiarly within the special expertise of the Se-

cretary,” even though the first decision had held that Bor-

den’s damages were to be the “overpayments which it made

pursuant to the invalid orders.”” The Order of Reversal ob-

viously repudiated the prior decision that Borden’s damages

are its Overpayments, since there was otherwise no purpose

for a remand to the Secretary.

The Court of Appeals’ departure from its prior decision

was totally unexplained. No change in facts had occurred; no

compelling contrary decision of superior or even parallel

authority had thrown doubt on the correctness of its prior

holding; and the Court did not even assert that it had a clear

conviction of error or explain of what the error consisted.

The Order simply referred to the procedure followed by a

district court in another Circuit in another case.

14

In speaking of the action of an appellate court which ap-

plied the principle of the “law of the case,” this Court once

said:

“In so doing, that court has done no more than this

court has always done, or than is necessary to enable an

appellate court to perform its duties satisfactorily and

efficiently, which would be impossible if a question, once

considered and decided by it, were to be-litigated anew

in the same case upon any and every subsequent ap-

peal.” Great Western Tel. Co. v. Burnham, 162 U.S, 389,

343-44 (1896).

Certainly there were no “unusual and compelling circum-

stances” mentioned by the Court here to justify a reversal of

its prior holding; nor do any exist. Only a “clear conviction

of error on a point of law that is certain to recur . . . will

prevail over ‘the law of the case’ whereas ‘mere doubt’ will

not.” Zdanok v. Glidden Company, 327 F.2d 944, 953 (2d Cir.

1964) The federal appellate courts agree, “Orderly judicial

procedure requires that there be an adherence to a decision

upon an earlier appeal of the same case.” United States vy.

Dickinson, 476 F.2d 373, 374 (Sth Cir. 1973). They also agree

that this rule is “salutary”. White v. Murtha, 377 F.2d 428,

431 (5th Cir. 1967). As the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals

reiterated just two years ago:

“This court has repeatedly held that the decision on

former appeal is the ‘law of the case’ on a question pre-

sented in that former appeal, unless the evidence in-

troduced at the subsequent trial is substantially differ-

ent from that considered on the first appeal, and must

be followed in all subsequent proceedings in such case in

both district and appellate courts, unless that decision is

clearly erroneous and works manifest injustice, * * *

While this rule of practice is not a limit of power, it is

nevertheless a salutary one, and should be departed

15

from only after careful consideration on situations aris-

ing in specific cases.” Otten v. Stonewall Ins. Co., 538 F.2d

210, 212 (8th Cir. 1976).

The Court of Appeals, in reversing the district court in

this case, clearly acted contrary to two major holdings it had

made in its first opinion.’ Doing this without explanation in a

brief unpublished Order defied the sound principles of

judicial administration embodied in the doctrine of the “rule

of the case.”

B. The Court of Appeals in Reversing Its Initial Deci-

sion Is in Direct Conflict with the Court of Appeals

for the District of Columbia in Fairmont and the

Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit in Abbotts.

1. The Court of Appeals for the District of Colum-

bia Held in Fairmont That, in Such a Case as the

Present, the Damages to Be Awarded Are the

Amount of the Overpayments, Which Should

Properly Be Ascertained by the Distriet Court.

‘The Secretary's Brief on the second appeal repeatedly attacked

the rulings on the first appeal. The Secretary devoted a section to

the argument that the decision below “measured Borden's damages

on the basis of an incorrect standard” (Sec. Br. 46), although the

standard used was that prescribed by the Court of Appeals on the

first appeal. Repeatedly, the Secretary argued that the proper mea-

sure was the “entirely different measure of recovery’ employed in

“restitution” cases rather than “overcharge” cases (Sec, Br. 47-48)

Similarly, the Secretary argued that fixing damages by the district

court, as ordered on the first appeal “violates the ‘primary jurisdic-

tion’ doctrine” (Sec. Br. 19) and “that the Secretary must rule on

the scope of Borden's damages in the first instance.” (Sec. Br. 31)

In reply, Borden repeatedly pointed out that “the Secretary now

tries to relitigate the very issues decided on the prior appeal,” and

“to reargue the prior appeal’ (Borden's Br. pp. 14, 15) and that

“this attack on the decision of this Court comes too late.” (Bor-

den’s Br. p. 18). Despite the law of the case doctrine, the Court of

Appeals nevertheless accepted the Secretary's arguments.

16

In Fairmont the Secretary imposed a “differential” between

the prices paid by some dairies as opposed to others. The

differential was held unlawful as not justified on the record.

No question was raised as to the validity of the basic rates

which had been promulgated, so that the amount of the over-

payments imposed by the “differential on the disfavored

dairies could be easily computed, Over the Secretary's pro-

tests that calculation of damages was more complex, the

Court said:

“As to damages, we think that Fairmont is entitled to

recover overpayments which it made pursuant to the in-

valid Order.” 442 F.2d at 773,

The repudiation by the Court of Appeals in this case of the

measure of damages held to be appropriate in Fairmont (i.e.,

“overpayments’) creates a clear conflict between’ the two

Circuits,

The Court in Fairmont further concluded, also over the

protests of the Secretary:

“In view of the ease with which payments can be made

once determined, we remand to the District Court on

the issue of damages, with direction to enter judgment

for appellant after appropriate proceedings.” 442 F.2d at

773.

Thus the Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Cir-

cuit held that the computation of overpayments is not an ad-

ministrative question which must first be decided by the

Secretary, The Order of Reversal here is thus diametrically

opposed to the decision of the District of Columbia Circuit

in Fairmont on each of two points: the first being the measure-

ment of damages and the second being who is to determine

the amount of damages.

17

The ruling of the Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

on the first appeal in the present case—that Borden's

damages were its ‘“overpayments’—was identical to the

holding in Fairmont. The first remand to the district court to

ascertain Borden's damages “after appropriate proceedings”

was identical to the remand ordered in Fairmont. Indeed, on

the first appeal here, the Court of Appeals cited and relied

upon Fairmont.

The Order of the Court to which this Petition is directed,

however, directly conflicts with the decision in Fairmont. No

reason whatsoever was given on the second appeal to distin-

guish that case, Rather, the Fairmont case was simply ig-

nored by the Court in its Order of Reversal.

2. The Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit Held

in Abbotts That Damages Were to Be the

Amount of the Overpayments and That Remand

to the Secretary for Their Ascertainment Was

Improper.

In Abbotts, unlike both Fairmont and this case, the entire

pricing mechanism of the Secretary's Order was questioned

and held invalid. By contrast, in Fairmont and the present

case, the minimum price established each month under the

applicable Market Order was neither challenged nor in-

validated, All that was condemned was a specific and con-

stant adjustment or differential to the Order price which a

single dairy was required to pay.

Despite the need for a more complicated inquiry to deter-

mine damages in Abbotts, the Third Circuit rejected the Secre-

tary’s claims that the case be remanded to him so he could,

in prolonged administrative proceedings, engage in recon-

structing economic history for purposes of computing

damages. The Court of Appeals held simply that the dairy’s

damages were to be its “overpayments,” measured by the

18

difference between the price which it was forced to pay and

the price which it had proposed to the Secretary but which

had been rejected. (Slip Opinion, at 11-14)

Again the Order of Reversal here is in direct conflict with

Abbotts on the same two points: ie., the measurement of

damages and the forum for determining damages.

With respect to the Secretary's insistence that he, rather

than the district court, be permitted to ascertain damages in

the first instance the Third Circuit held:

“There additionally appears to be no reason for a

remand to the Secretary. Attempting to ascertain in this

case the price at which Abbotts would have been able to

purchase milk seems meaningless in light of the district

court's statement that Abbotts continued to.purchase

milk at the proposed bracket price prior to the August

20, 1970, injunction. Even without this fact an inquiry

into what the price of milk would have been would not

likely contribute anything to the evidence since the

effect of the invalid Order itself during the period in

question would naturally ke considerable, reducing the

probative quality of any attempt at reconstructing

economic history. This or related litigation has already

extended over an eight year period and has received con-

siderable judicial and administrative attention, as de-

scribed earlier. At this stage we cannot view lightly the

possibility of further complication and delay.” Slip

Opinion, at 14-15.

The Third Circuit’s opinion in Abbotts is directly in conflict

with the Court’s Order here. Indeed, it would follow a fortiori

from Abbotts that the Court was right in its mandate after the

first appeal, setting forth the measure of damages as ‘“‘over-

payments,” which were to be ascertained by the district

court.

19

C. In Holding that Borden’s Damages Are to Be De-

termined by the Secretary Based on an Undefined

“Evaluation of Complex Economic Relationships

between Producers and Handlers,” Rather than by

Simply Ascertaining the Amounts of Borden’s Over-

payments, and by Holding That the Secretary

Rather than the District Court Must Determine

Borden’s Damages, the Court of Appeals Has

Decided Two Important and Recurrent Issues

under the Milk Marketing Act Erroneously and

Contrary to Good Judicial Administration.

1. The Parties at No Time “Stipulated” That

Damages Were to Be Initially Computed in

Proceedings before the Secretary, As the Secre-

tary Improperly and Incorrectly Argued to the

Court of Appeals and As the Court of Appeals

Was Misled to Believe.

In ordering the case remanded to the Secretary to compute

damages after the second appeal, the Court of Appeals ex-

plained:

“The record before us demonstrates that the parties

had stipulated before the Administrative Law Judge the

facts which were to constitute the exclusive basis for

deciding the legal issues involved, but expressly deferred

the submission of evidence establishing the monetary

damages to which the plaintiff would be entitled, if suc-

cessful, ‘until the legal issues have been resolved.’ ”

Rarely has a single sentence contained more errors of both

fact and law. There was no such “stipulation” of the parties;

the statement relied upon by the Court was taken out of con-

text from covering letters from Borden’s counsel which were

dei.ors the record.’ They were improperly quoted in the Secre-

tary’s Appendix without leave of court. They were thus not

before the Court of Appeals and should never have been

referred to by counsel or considered by the Court under its

‘The letters are reproduced in the Appendix (Ex. J, K).

20

own precedents. Hill v. Trustees of Indiana University, 537 F.2d

248, 251 (7th Cir. 1976). In any event, counsel could not, by

agreement between themselves, outside the record, have

bound the reviewing court as to its disposition of a case

before it or dictated the forum for the computation of

damages.

More basic, however, is that a reading of these letters in-

dicates clearly that there was no agreement whatsoever as to

how the damage issue was to be determined. Borden merely

agreed that some evidence that Borden wanted to introduce

at that time be withheld “and that the question of the refund

to which Borden . . . is entitled be resolved at a later date, in-

formally or otherwise.” (App., Ex. K) Resolution of the

damages question by the district court in summary judgment

proceedings was completely consistent with the procedures

contemplated in the letter quoted and fully appropriate. Cer-

tainly, there was no agreement that the Secretary was to de-

termine damages in an evidentiary hearing.’

The procedure before the district court was completely

consistent with any understanding expressed in the letters

that the determination of Borden's damages would be made

‘The only Stipulation agreed to by counsel for the Secretary and

for Borden was the Stipulation filed August 13, 1973, which was

part of the record below. It set forth the amount of Borden’s pur-

chases at the Des Moines plant from October, 1970 through July,

1971, and provided that the record should include “the handlers

reports submitted by Borden to the Market Administrator for the

relevant area and time period at. issue.” The documents thus

agreed to by the Secretary and relied on to support Borden’s mo-

tion for summary judgment below provided the information from

which the amounts of Borden's overpayments could be and were

computed in the district court. Additional facts as to Borden’s

damages such as those resulting from the forced closing of its plant

were not introduced but were not relevant to the damage question

once the Court limited damages to “overpayments.”

21

after the liability issue had been determined. Indeed, this is

precisely what the Court of Appeals had ordered after decid-

ing the “legal issues.” The determination was made pursuant

to the Rules of Civil Procedure—on a motion for summary

judgment where the Secretary had full opportunity to show

the existence of any evidence rebutting that advanced by

Borden. Despite the opportunity, he did not. The partially

quoted letters of counsel presented absolutely no basis for

the district court to be accused of acting “prematurely”

when it followed step by step the mandate of the Court of

Appeals.

2. The Order Reversing the Earlier Holding That

Borden’s Damages Were Its Overpayments Was

Based on a Misapprehension of Basic Legal

Principles.

The decision on the first appeal holding that Borden's

damages were the amounts of its overpayments followed and

was consistent with a long line of decisions of this Court.

When a party is compelled to pay more than a lawful rate,

tariff, or price, the overpayment or overcharge “is a tort,”

Lewis-Simas-Jones Co. v. Southern Pacific Co., 283 U.S. 654,

660 (1931), and one “for which the plaintiffs were entitled, as

for other torts, to compensation from the wrongdoer.” Adams

v. Mills, 286 U.S. 397, 407 (1937). In such cases, the victim

can recover “without specific proof of pecuniary loss, and.. .

the measure of damages is the amount of the excess exact-

ed.” L & N Railroad v. Sloss-Sheffield Co., 269 U.S. 217, 236

(1925).

The principle applies in all analogous cases, such as deal-

ing with overcharges due to illegal price-fixing in antitrust

cases. Chattanooga Foundry & Pipe Works v. Atlanta, 203 U.S.

390 (1906). In these cases, also, the amount of the over-

payments constitutes the damages:

22

“Hanover proved injury and the amount of its damages

_ when it proved that United had overcharged it dur-

ing the damage period and showed the amount of the

overcharge. . . .” Hanover Shoe, Inc. v. United Shoe Ma-

chinery, 392 U.S. 481, 482 (1968).

Hence, Fairmont and the first decision in the present case

were correct in stating that the damages in this case are the

amount of the overpayments. ‘

The Court of Appeals here, however, stated, “We agree

with the conclusion of the court which recently decided the

procedure which should follow the finding of the illegality of

a milk marketing order,” citing the district court decision in

Abbotts. 438 F.Supp. at 629. Abbotts, however, was not an over-

charge case but a “restitution” case, as the Third Circuit

made clear. (Slip Opinion, at 11-14)

The Court thus confused the type of issue involved in the

present case with the different type of issue discussed by the

district court in Abbotts. The present case is one sounding in

law for unlawful “overcharges,” while Abbotts was a case for

equitable restitution.

Ordinarily, in restitution cases, the exact amount of over-

charges cannot be readily ascertained. But in Abbotts, the

Third Circuit was able to find a basis for their ascertain-

ment, and on this point overruled the district court. In so do-

ing, the Third Circuit invalidated the procedure ordered by

the district court and accepted by the Seventh Circuit here.

Restitution cases, sounding in equity rather than in law,

are primarily instituted when for some reason an action at

law for overcharges is inadequate or inappropriate. The

typical case is one where the amount of the overpayments

cannot be accurately ascertained. When an existing tariff or

prescribed lawful rate is declared invalid in its entirety, no

23

way to prove the existence or amount of an overcharge by

legal standards is normally available. The old price has been

voided; and no lawful price can be shown to have been in

effect during the period when the invalid price had been pre-

scribed. In many cases no assumption can be made that the

fixed price in effect prior to the promulgation of the invalid

price would have continued or would under changed circum-

stances have been lawful. Those who claim to have been in-

jured by an invalid and excessive general rate therefore have

only one remedy—a suit for restitution, sounding in equity,

based on proof of overall actual “pecuniary loss” or of the

“unjust enrichment” of those receiving the overpayments.

This remedy involves many factors affecting such proof

which have nothing to do with the ascertainment of the

amount of illegally compelled overpayments.”

In Abbotts, a Market Order had been invalidated in its en-

tirety along with the entire mechanism by which the Order

price was set. The dairy asked specifically for “restitution.”

Because of rapid changes in the market, it could not be as-

sumed that the Order price in effect before the invalidated

order took effect would otherwise have remained unchanged

or if so would have then been valid. What the Court of Ap-

peals therefore utilized was a price schedule that had been

proposed by the dairy but never approved by the Secretary.

The Court properly held that in such a restitution case “the

reasonableness of the rate sought to be used as a measure

must appear before restitution of an overpayment can be

decided.” (Slip Opinion, at 13) In support of the reasonable-

‘Restitution cases are exemplified by Atlantic Coast Line v. Flor-

tda, 295 U.S. 301 (1935), and Moss v. C.A.B, 521 F.2d 298 (D.C. Cir.

1975), the two cases chiefly relied on and cited by the Secretary's

Brief. See the Secretary's Brief, pp. 47 et seq Both cases were dis-

tinguished by the Third Circuit in Abbotts. (See Slip Opinion pp.

11-13)

24

ness of the dairy’s proposed price schedule, the Court

referred to the Secretary’s failure to show that an adequate

supply of milk would have been unavailable at the proposed

prices. (Slip Opinion, at 13-14)

In the present case, however, no need exists to ascertain

the lawful price. The Quad Cities minimum price that Bor-

den would have been required to pay, but for the illegal

orders, is known. The price formula under the existing Quad

Cities Order was never challenged as unreasonable, and it

applied throughout the relevant period to all Borden’s com-

pe.itors.

In recognizing the fact that the equitable remedies sup-

plied in restitution cases apply only where overpayments

cannot be computed, the Third Circuit, in accord with the

many other cases, held that even in restitution cases, when

the overcharges are capable of computation, the overcharges

become the measure of damage: Williams v. Washington Met.

Area Transit Com'n, 415 F.2d 922, 944 (D.C. Cir. 1968);

Washington Gas Light Co. v. Baker, 188 F.2d 11, 23 (D.C. Cir.,

1950); Florida East Coast Ry. Co. v. United States, 368 F.Supp.

1009, 1021 (M.D. Fla. 1973; 3-judge court), affd, 417 U.S. 901

(1974).

Reference back to the Secretary is not only an inappro-

priate remedy in an overpayment case, but, as Abbotts illus-

trates, may well be improper even in a restitution case. Its

use in the present case offends logic and is contrary to sound

principles of judicial administration.

3. There Was No Administrative Question Requir-

ing Reference to the Secretary.

The Secretary on the second appeal openly attacked the

holding on the first appeal that the district court was to as-

certain the damages by asserting that “the issuance of the

25

damage award by the district court absent an initial admin-

istrative decision . . . violates the ‘primary jurisdiction’ doc-

trine” (Sec. Br. 19). This is an issue which should properly

have been raised only on an appeal from the first decision.

Furthermore, the primary jurisdiction doctrine has no

relevance to such an issue as the mere computation of over-

payments.

The sole issue before the district court and the Court of

Appeals—what were the amounts of Borden's over-

payments?—is not one to which the assumed “expertise” of

the Secretary has any relevance. Ascertainment of over-

payments requires merely a simple arithmetic computation

based on the amounts paid by Borden compared with what it

would have paid had the illegal rulings not been made. The

facts were set forth in Borden’s official handler’s reports filed

with the Milk Market Administrator and made part of the

record below. This is purely a judicial question within the

conventional experience of judges; and requires no prior sub-

mission to an administrative agency.’ The doctrine of

primary or exclusive jurisdiction in administrative agencies

applies only where

“in cases raising issues of fact not within the conven-

tional experience of judges or cases requiring the exercise

of administrative discretion, agencies created by

Congress for regulating the subject matter should not be

passed over.” Far East Conference v. United States, 342

U.S. 570, 574 (1952); quoted with approval in United

States v. Western Pacific R. Co., 352 U.S. 59, 64 (1956).

This Court has repeatedly held that suits for damages

because of illegal agency action, where the illegality has been

"As pointed out earlier, even the lower court in Abbotts recognized

that no submission would have been required had the record before

it permitted the computation of the compelled overpayments. 438

F. Supp. at 636.

26

established, do not require submission to the administrative

agency. Pennyslvania Rd. Co. v. International Coal Mining Co.,

230 U.S. 184 (1913); Pennsylvania Rd. Co. v. Puritan Coal Min-

ing Co., 237 U.S. 121 (1915); Illinois Central Rd. Co. v. Mul-

berry Hill Coal Co., 238 U.S. 275, 282-83 (1915); Baltimore &

Ohio R. Co. v. Brady, 288 U.S. 448 (1933). In the first of these

cases, this Court said:

“The rebate being unlawful, it was a matter where the

court, without administrative ruling or reparation order,

could apply the fixed law to the established fact... .

230 U.S. at 197”

As the Third Circuit said in Abbotts:

“In any event, the issues left to be decided in this case

are not of the kind which are peculiarly within the ex-

pertise of the Secretary and which might otherwise jus-

tify resort to the administrative process.” Slip’ Opinion,

p. 14, n. 16

Not being required to refer the matter to the Secretary,

the Court’s action in doing so violates sound principles of

judicial economy and administration. Assuming, as the Sec-

retary undoubtedly will, that he is to consider all matters

which he contends are appropriate to a “restitution” case,

any hearing before the Secretary will be protracted. The Sec-

retary’s Briefs before the Court of Appeals demonstrate that,

under his interpretation of the mandate, he will consider a

multitude of issues clearly not appropriate to an over-

payments case. The failure of the Court of Appeals to deny

their relevance will obviously be treated as an open invita-

tion to pursue them all.

"In Florida East Coast Ry. Co. v. United States, 368 F. Supp. at 1021

the Court noted that referral to the I.C.C. to make the computa-

tion of overcharges “is unnecessary and would permit plaintiffs to

relitigate many of the issues which have already been disposed of

herein.” This language is directly pertinent to the present case.

27

Furthermore, as the Secretary’s Brief to the Court of Ap-

peals emphatically demonstrates, totaNy extraneous issues

will be debated at length in any hearing he conducts. The

Secretary obviously intends to burden the record in the

proposed “administrative hearing” by retrying old issues and

dragging in many totally extraneous ones.

D. Eight Years After the Illegal Orders Were First Im-

posed by the Secretary, the Orderly and Efficient

Administration of Justice Demands That This Case

Not Be Remanded to the Secretary to Begin the

Administrative Process Anew, When the Only Gen-

uine Issue Remaining Is the Arithmetic Computa-

tion of Borden’s Overpayments.

The Order of the Court of Appeals in remanding this case

to the Secretary of Agriculture for further proceedings is an

affront to the efficient administration of justice. Having

spent s¢x years simply establishing that the orders of the Sec-

retary were unlawful, Borden should not be forced again to

run the gamut of lengthy administrative proceedings and

further appeals in order to secure a resolution of the minis-

terial matter of ascertaining “overpayments.”

Three Courts of Appeals have recognized the inefficiency

and injustice of remanding to the Secretary to ascertain

damages once orders affecting milk handlers have been

found unlawful. In Fairmont, supra, the order of the Secre-

tary challenged by Fairmont was imposed on February 4,

1965. Six years later, on February 26, 1971, when a final deci-

sion was issued by the Court of Appeals striking down the

order, the Court specifically remanded to the district court to

ascertain damages. Similarly, in Abbotts, supra, the chal-

lenged order was issued on August 2), 1969, and when the

Court of Appeals finally decided the question on August 1,

1978—nine years later—the Court made clear that damages

28

were to be ascertained forthwith by the district court. In the

present case, too, on the initial appeal, the Court of Appeals

recognized that after six years of litigation, it was appro-

priate for the district court to calculate Borden’s damages.

The practical effect of not permitting the district court to

award damages after an order of the Secretary has been in-

validated is apparent: it is to render illusory the possibility

of any actual recovery. The prospect of a second, prolonged

set of proceedings devoted to the issue of damages, in which

the Secretary would again seek to offer economic justifica-

tions for his invalidated orders in order to reduce the

damages awarded, would discourage and deter all but the

most determined of litigants.

Like the fictional case of Jarndyce v. Jarndyce in Dickens’

Bleak House, the present proceeding, as a result of the Court

of Appeals’ Order on the second appeal, has no end in sight.

Eight years after the first of the illegal orders was imposed

and almost two years after the orders were invalidated by

the Court of Appeals, Borden is still confronted with the

choice of engaging in many additional years of litigation to

recover its overpayments or simply giving up.

Following the Court’s mandate after the first appeal, sum-

mary judgment was the most efficient and appropriate means

of concluding this litigation. The initial appeal established

Borden's right to recover its overpayments. The Court of

Appeals’ subsequent capricious reversal of the summary

judgment was not only inconsistent with the efficient admin-

istration of justice but also in defiance of Rule 56(e) of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. That rule requires the

party opposing summary judgment to come forward with

“specific facts showing there is a genuine issue for trial.”

Nothing in the Secretary’s “Opposition” to Borden’s motion

29

for summary judgment as to damages satisfied this require-

‘ment, and on the second appeal the Court of Appeals did not

even make any pretext that the Secretary had raised any

triable issue. Indeed, the Court of Appeals avoided even

referring to Rule 56(e), neither stating what “specific facts”

the Court believed had been adduced by the Secretary nor

describing what the Court believed to be the “genuine issues

for trial” shown to exist.

Under these circumstances, the Order of the Court of Ap-

peals represented an abdication of the Court’s responsibility

to ensure that substantial rights of the parties are not effec-

tively forfeited as the result of the inefficient administration

of justice.

CONCLUSION

The Secretary's efforts to frustrate milk handlers’ chal-

lenges to his administrative rulings through endless litigation

of extraneous matters are notorious. In Fairmont, he unsuc-

cessfully sought the opportunity to apply his claimed exper-

tise in order to defeat the plaintiff's recovery of over-

payments, Again in Abbotts, the Secretary was rebuked by the

district court for having after the prior appeal “considered

matters far beyond the scope of [the court’s] order.” 438

F.Supp. at 637.

Once overcharges, like those at issue in Fairmont and here,

have been found unlawful by the courts, no room is left for

the application of administrative expertise in calculating

damages. To remand to the Secretary under such circum-

stances is to prolong the proceedings, to delay and possibly

to defeat any ultimate recovery, and to invite subsequent ap-

peals. The protracted and cumbersome procedure now man-

dated by the Court of Appeals will impose a wholly unneces-

sary burden on the parties and on the courts.

30

The proper standards and procedures for awarding

damages are set forth in Abbotts and Fairmont and in the

opinion of the Court below on the initral appeal. The conflict

between the Circuits on these important issues and the injus-

tice and inefficiency resulting from the Seventh Circuit's

unexplained reversal of its own prior mandate provide a

compelling need for review of the decision below.

For the foregoing reasons, certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Stuart 8. Batt

H. Brain Wuite

Davin T. Pritikin

One First National Plaza

Chicago, Illinois 60603

Warrer W. Kocuer

GLENN 8. DENNIS

Epwarp A. Marto

180 East Broad Street

Columbus, Ohio 43215

Counsel for Petitioner

Siptey & Austin

One First National Plaza

Chicago, Illinois 60603

Of Counsel

September 26, 1978

a-l

APPENDIX

Exhibit A

Excerpts from relevant statutes and regulations

7 U.S.C. § 608 ¢(15)

Petition by handler for modification of order or exemption;

court review of ruling of Secretary

(A) Any handler subject to an order may file a written pe-

tition with the Secretary of Agriculture, stating that any

such order or any provision of any such order or any obliga-

tion iniposed in connection therewith is not in accordance

with law and praying for a modification thereof or to be

exempted therefrom. He shall thereupon be given an oppor-

tunity for a hearing upon such petition, in accordance with

regulations made by the Secretary of Agriculture, with the

approval of the President. After such hearing, the Secretary

shall make a ruling upon the prayer of such petition which

shall be final, if in accordance with law.

(B) The District Courts of the United States in any dis-

trict in which such handler is an inhabitant, or has his prin-

cipal place of business, are vested with jurisdiction in equity

to review such ruling, provided a bill in equity for that pur-

pose is filed within twenty days from the date of the entry of

such ruling. Service of process in such proceedings may be

had upon the Secretary by delivering to him a copy of the

bill of complaint. If the court determines that such ruling is

not in accordance with law, it shall remauc such proceedings

to the Secretary with directions either (1) to make such rul-

ing as the court shall determine to be in accordance with law,

or (2) to take such further proceedings as, in its opinion, the

law requires. The pendency of proceedings instituted pur-

suant to this subsection (15) shall not impede, hinder, or

a-2

delay the United States or the Secretary of Agriculture from

obtaining relief pursuant to section 608a(6) of this title. Any

proceedings brought pursuant to section 608a(6) of this title

(except where brought by way of counterclaim in proceed-

ings instituted pursuant to this subsection) shall abate when-

ever a final decree has been rendered in proceedings between

the same parties, and covering the same subject matter, insti-

tuted pursuant to this subsection (15).

7 C.F.R. § 1063.89 (1970)

Termination of obligations.

The provisions of this section shall apply to any obligation

under this part for the payment of money.

* * +

(d) Any obligation on the part of the market administrator

to pay a handler any money which such handler claims to be

due him under the terms of this part shall terminate 2 years

after the end of the calendar month during which the skim

milk and butterfat involved in the claim were received if an

underpayment is claimed, or 2 years after the end of the cal-

endar month during which the payment (including deduction

or setoff by the market administrator) was made by the han-

dler if a refund on such payment is claimed, unless such han-

dler, within the applicable period of time, files pursuant to

section 8e(15)(A) of the Act, a petition claiming such money.

7 C.F.R. § 1000.6

Termination of obligations.

The provisions of this section shall apply to any obligation

under the order for the payment of money:

* * *

(d) Unless the handler files a petition pursuant to section

8c(15)(A) of the Act and the applicable rules and regulations

a-3

(7 CFR 900.50 et seq.) within the applicable 2-year period in-

dicated below, the obligation to the market administrator:

(1) To pay a handler any money which such handler

claims to be due him under the terms of the order shall

terminate 2 years after the end of the month during

which the skim milk and butterfat involved in the claim

were received; or

(2) To refund any payment made by a handler (in-

cluding a deduction or offset by the market administra-

tor) shall terminate 2 years after the end of the month

during which payment was made by the handler.

Exhibit B

BORDEN, INC., Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

Earl L. BUTZ, Secretary of Agriculture,

Defendant-Appellee.

No. 76-1478.

United States Court of Appeals,

Seventh Circuit.

Argued Sept. 24, 1976.

Decided Nov. 1, 1976.

Before SPRECHER and BAUER, Circuit Judges, and

KUNZIG, Judge.*

SPRECHER, Circuit Judge.

This appeal concerns the validity of certain amendments

to milk marketing orders by the Secretary of Agriculture

under a provision of the Agricultural Marketing Agreement

Act of 1937, 7 U.S.C. § 608e(5)(A).

*Honorable Robert L. Kunzig, Judge, United States Court of

Claims, is sitting by designation.

a-4

I

Prior to September 1, 1970, Borden operated a milk

processing plant at Rock Island, Illinois, which served the

Quad Cities—Dubuque Market Area and which was regulat-

ed under the Quad Cities—Dubuque Milk Marketing Order

No. 63, 7 C.F.R. Part 1063 (1970). Also prior to September 1,

1970, Borden operated another milk processing plant at

Des Moines, Iowa, which was regulated under the

Des Moines Milk Marketing Order No. 79, 7 C.F.R. Part

1079 (1970). This second plant served the Des Moines area,

but also served the Cedar Rapids—Iowa City area (Order

No. 70), the North Central Iowa area (Order No. 78), the

Greater Kansas City area (Order No. 64), the Nebraska—

Western Iowa area (Order No. 65) and the Quad Cities—

Dubuque area (Order No. 63).

The Rock Island plant purchased its principal milk supply

from Mississippi Valley Milk Producers Association and the

Des Moines plant purchased its principal milk supply from

Mid-America Dairymen, Inc.

On September 1, 1970, Borden discontinued bottling opera-

tions at the Rock Island plant and its fluid milk accounts in

the Quad Cities—Dubuque area were thereafter served from

the Borden plant at Des Moines. After September 1, the

Des Moines plant’s supplies of milk were purchased from

Mississippi Valley.

Under the terms of Order Nos. 63 and 79, any particular

plant is regulated in the market where it has the greatest dis-

tribution of milk. Consequently, upon the closing of the

Rock Island plant and the assuming of its business by the

Des Moines plant, the Des Moines plant became subject to

the Quad Cities— Dubuque Order.

Borden’s Des Moines plant was subject to the Quad Cities

—Dubuque Order from September 1, 1970 through July 31,

a-5

1971, when the Des Moines plant was shut down. During

that period the Class I price under the Quad Cities—

Dubuque Order was 15 cents per hundredweight lower than

the Class I price under the Des Moines Order.

The Quad Cities—Dubuque Order also provided that the

price for Class I milk should be reduced.

[a]t a plant located outside the marketing area and 70

miles or more, by the shortest hard-surfaced highway

distance .. . from the nearer of the City Hall, Rock Is-

land, Ill., or the Post Office, West Liberty, Iowa, by 10

cents and by an additional 1.5 cents for each 10 miles or

fraction thereof that such distance exceeds 80 miles.

7 C.F.R. § 1063.52(a)(2) (1970).

Inasmuch as Borden’s Des Moines plant was approximate-

ly 140 miles from the Quad Cities base point, it was entitled

to a “location adjustment” of 10 cents per hundredweight

plus 1.5 cents per 10 miles for the 60 miles by which 140 ex-

ceed 80 miles, or a total location adjustment of 19 cents per

hundredweight, which, when added to the 15 cents price

differential, resulted in Borden’s Des Moines plant paying 34

cents per hundredweight less than other milk handlers locat-

ed in Des Moines but subject to the Des Moines Order. How-

ever, any Des Moines plant which desired to distribute all or

the greater of its milk in the Quad Cities—Dubuque area

would have had exactly the same advantage in thereby

transferring its plant from the operation of the Des Moines

Order to the Quad Cities— Dubuque Order.

Borden had no competitive advantage over other handlers

subject to the Quad Cities Order, since those handlers also

paid 15 cents less than the Des Moines Order price for Class

I milk and the 19 cents location adjustment was offset by the

transportation costs involved in distributing milk to the Quad

Cities— Dubuque area from 140 miles away in Des Moines.

a-6

Borden had no competitive advantage in the Des Moines

market area since it voluntarily agreed with its producers to

pay the same price paid by other Des Moines handlers for

milk purchased for resale in the Des Moines area.

Under the milk marketing orders as they then existed,

Borden's closing down of the Rock Island plant and supply-

ing its Quad Cities customers froin the Des Moines plant

was entirely lawful and proper. Borden's mistake apparently

was an economic one of deciding to purchase milk from Mis-

sissippi Valley Milk Producers Association, an independent

dairy cooperative, after the changeover, instead of from Mid-

America Dairymen, Inc., another independent dairy coopera-

tive. Mid-America promptly requested the Department of

Agriculture to suspend the 19 cents location adjustment.

There followed the issuance of three orders of the Secre-

tary of Agriculture, the validity of which form the basis for

this appeal:

1. October 1, 1970, order. On September 12, 1970, the

Department of Agriculture caused to be published in the

Federal Register a notice of proposed suspension of 7 C.F.R.

§ 1063.52(a)(2) of the Quad Cities—Dubuque Order for the

months of September and October 1970. The notice did not

provide an opportunity for a hearing, and no hearing was

held. Borden submitted its exceptions to the proposed sus-

pension, noting that it would only affect Borden and none of

its competitors. On October 1, 1970, the Secretary issued an

order suspending 7 C.F.R. § 1063.52(a)(2) for the month of

October only. The order is worded in such a manner as to

apply only to Borden.

2. October 29, 1970 order. On September 30, 1970, notice

was issued, and on October 3 it was published, of a hearing

a-7

to be held on October 8 on five proposed amendments to

the Quad Cities—Dubuque, Cedar Rapids—Iowa City and

Des Moines marketing orders. An order was issued on Octo-

ber 29, effective November 1, 1970, amending the Quad

Cities—Dubuque Order No. 63 by permanently eliminating

the 19 cents minus location adjustment applicable to Bor-

den’s Des Moines plant and for a six-month period through

April 1971, providing for a 15 cent plus location adjustment

applicable to plants located within the Des Moines market-

ing area. The order increased Borden’s price for Class I milk

by 34 cents per hundredweight by amending 7 C.F.R.

§ 1063.52(a)(2), as follows (added language emphasized):

At a plant located outside the marketing area and out-

side the Des Moines, lowa, marketing area .. . and 70 miles

or more, by the shortest hard-surfaced highway distance

... from the nearer of the City Hall, Rock Island, IIL,

or the Post Office, West Liberty, Iowa, subtract 10 cents

and subtract an additional 1.5 cents for each 10 miles or

fraction thereof that such distance exceeds 80 miles.

The October 29, 1970 order also added a new § 1063.52(a)(3)

as follows:

During the period November 1, 1970, through April

1971 at a plant located within the Des Moines, Iowa,

marketing area, add any amount by which the price

specified .. . is less than the applicable Class I price at

the same location pursuant to . . . [Order No. 79]

regulating the handling of milk in the Des Moines,

Iowa, marketing area.

The October 29 order did not amend the Cedar Rapids—

Iowa City or the Des Moines marketing orders. Although

phrased in general terms, the order was worded so as to

apply only to Borden.

3. April 28, 1971 order. Pursuant to notices published on

April 7 and 9, 1971, hearing was held on April 13, resulting

a-8

in the issuance on April 28, 1971 of an order removing the

April 1971 expiration date from § 1063.52(a)(3), so as to re-

tain the plus 15 cents location differential.

On July 31, 1971, Borden closed its Des Moines plant and

discontinued operations in the Des Moines area. Thereafter,

on October 8, 1971, § 1063.52(a)(2) and (3) were again

amended to change the language which had applied solely to

Borden. '

In accordance with 7 U.S.C. § 608c(15)(A), Borden filed

petitions with the Secretary of Agriculture challenging the

three orders as ‘not in accordance with law and praying for

a modification thereof.” The orders were upheld in an Initial

Decision filed by an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) on

March 13, 1974. Borden appealed to the Judicial Officer in-

asmuch as final administrative authority to decide cases

under the Agricultural Marketing Agreement Act of 1937,

has been delegated to the Judicial Officer. 37 Fed.Reg. 18475;

38 Fed.Reg. 10795. The Judicial Officer on August 15, 1974,

' 7 C.F.R. § 1063.52(a)(2) and (3) (Jan. 1, 1972):

(2) At a plant located outside the marketing area, north of

U. S. Highway No. 80, and, except as provided in subpara-

graph (3) of this paragraph, 70 miles or more, by the shortest

hard-surfaced highway distance as determined by the market

administrator, from the nearer of the City Hall, Rock Island,

Ill., or the Post Office, West Liberty, Iowa, subtract 10 cents

and subtract an additional 1.5 cents for each 10 miles or frac-

tion thereof that such distance exceeds 80 miles; and

(3) At a plant located in that Iowa territory beyond 70 miles

from the nearer of the City Hall, Rock Island, IIl., or the Post

Office, West Liberty, Iowa, and south of U. S. Highway No.

80, or within the Des Moines, Iowa, marketing area as

specified in Part 1079, add any amount by which the price

specified in § 1063. 50(b) i is exceeded by the applicable Class I

price at the same location pursuant to Part 1079 regulating

the handling of milk in the Des Moines, Iowa, marketing area.

a-9

adopted the Initial Decision, added some conclusions, denied

the relief requested by Borden and dismissed the petitions.

In accordance with 7 U.S.C. § 608c(15)(B), Borden sought

review in the district court, which on February 11, 1976,

entered summary judgment on behalf of the Secretary of

Agriculture. Borden has appealed that decision.

II .

The Agricultural Marketing Agreement Act of 1937 as

amended provides that the Secretary of Agriculture may fix

minimum prices for each use classification which all handlers

shall pay for milk purchased from producers or associations

of producers, but “prices shall be uniform as to all handlers,

subject only to adjustments for: (1) volume, market, and

production differentials customarily applied by the handlers

subject to such order; (2) the grade or quality of the milk

purchased; and (3) the locations at which delivery of such

milk, or any use classification thereof, is made to such han-

dlers.” 7 U.S.C. § 608e(5)(A). |

[1] “The statute before us does not contain a mandate

phrased in broad and permissive terms.” Zuber v. Allen, 396

U.S. 168, 183, 90 S.Ct. 314, 323, 24 L.Ed.2d 345 (1969). The

Second Circuit has noted in Fairmont Foods Co. v. Hardin, 143

U.S. App. D.C. 40, 442 F.2d 762, 766 (1971):

. [I]t is important to keep in mind the limited scope of

authority that Congress delegated to the Secretary in

the field of milk marketing regulations. This is not a

case where the power of an agency or officer is bounded

only by the broad Congressional mandate that it be

exercised in the “public interest.” . . [T]he Secretary was

required to operate within the narrow confines of powers

expressly granted.

a-10

The Secretary is authorized to make only certain adjust-

ments and these are to “compensate or reward the producer

for providing an economic service of benefit to the handler.”

Zuber, supra, 396 U.S. at 184, 90 S.Ct. at 323. And “the per-

missible adjustments are limited to compensation for render-

ing an economic service.” Zuber, supra, at 188, 90 8.Ct. at 325.

Fairmont, supra, at 767. “The court must invalidate orders

resting on any basis others than such economic reasons,—

whether the orders are ascribable to whim, which seems un-

likely; or to the response of major farm interests, which may

be more likely; or merely bureaucratic error in supposing

that the wisdom of experts as to what is needed in the public

interest must be given dominance over the constraint of

Congress.” Fairmont, supra, at 766.

7 U.S.C. § 608c(4) requires that the Secretary issue a mar-

keting order based upon the evidence adduced at a hearing,

which in turn requires that an order be supported by sub-

stantial evidence. Fairmont, supra, at 767; Lewes Dairy, Inc. v.

Freeman, 401 F.2d 308, 317 (3d Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 394

U.S. 929, 89 S.Ct. 1187, 22 L.Ed.2d 455 (1969). The evidence

in the record here consists of that introduced in two hearings

on October 8, 1970 and on April 13, 1971. Borden has chal-

lenged the sufficiency of the evidence at every stage of these

proceedings (Judicial Officer’s Decision and Order, at 63; dis-

trict court complaint, paras. 35(b), 36(f) and 37(g); Borden

Brief on Appeal at 20, 26).

We proceed to examine the economic justifications ad-

vanced for the increase of Borden’s Class I milk price by 34

cents per hundredweight and the evidence adduced in sup-

port of such justifications.

The first economic justification was a “for Borden’s own

good” finding: “[I]t is not reasonable to expect producers to

a-1l

continue to deliver milk to the Borden, Inc., plant while

higher prices are available to them at most other regulated

plants in the region, including those located in the Quad

Cities— Dubuque marketing area” (October 1, 1970 order). It

can be noted at the outset that Des Moines was a “deficit

market” and that the only milk supply problem would have

been short supply rather than a glutted market or depressed

prices.

A vice president of Mid-America Dairymen, Inc., the dairy

cooperative which lost the Borden business at Des Moines

when the Borden Rock Island plant was shut down, testified

that the Des Moines area has historically been a deficit mar-

ket during the fall and winter months and that the primary

purpose of a fixed price “is to bring forth an adequate supply

of pure and wholesome milk.” Ex. E at 24.

In the thirteen months (ending September 1, 1970) prior to

the October 1, 1970 order, approximately 10% of the milk in

the Des Moines area was imported from outside that area.

Ex. E, attached Ex. 3, at 4. Milk was imported monthly to

Des Moines, primarily from the North Central Iowa, and

Cedar Rapids—Iowa City marketing areas (Ex. E at 17).

How would the presence of the Borden plant at Des Moines,

but regulated under the Quad Cities order, affect the short

supply of milk at Des Moines? The only testimony in the

record regarding Borden’s future supply of milk was that of

a Borden witness who said:

After receiving assurance from Mississippi Valley

[dairy cooperative] that it could supply Borden with an

adequate supply of milk, Borden decided to move its

bottling operation at Rock Island to its Des Moines

plant.

a-12

Ex. E at 49.

There is no evidence in the record that Borden would

suffer in short supply. The only evidence of short supply

generally was the testimony of the Mid-America representa-

tive:

[T ]here is some doubt as to the availability of a milk supply

for a Quad Cities—Dubuque pool plant located in the

City of Des Moines if present pricing provisions of the

Quad Cities—Dubuque Order prevail.

Ex. E at 24 (emphasis added).’

In the first place this testimony (“some doubt’) is purely

speculative.’ In the second place, if it is to be given any

weight whatever, being couched in general terms it would

not support the Secretary’s equally speculative finding (‘‘not

reasonable to expect” adequate supply) of a short supply for

Borden.

In the Initial Decision of the Administrative Law Judge,

adopted by the Judicial Officer, the following appears:

Thus the Assistant Secretary concluded in his suspen-

sion and amendment actions that the Order No. 63 Class

I price, less the 19 cent location differential, would not

attract a sufficient supply of milk to the Des Moines

plant of petitioner [Borden]. The Secretary did not make

‘This testimony was given on October 8, 1970. More than six

months later the same witness testified again on April 13, 1971, and

interestingly enough, he again used the words “some doubt.” Ex. I

at 86.

‘In Fairmont Foods Co. v. Hardin, 143 U.S. App. D.C. 40, 442 F.2d

762, 772 (1971), the court said: ““‘We can find no basis for the Secre-

tary’s findings beyond mere speculation, and therefore conclude

that... his ground of decision . . . must fail.”

a-13

or have cause to make such a finding for the other plants

which compete with petitioner in the lower priced markets.

Ex. 35 at 67 (emphasis added).

In the third place, the short supply statement is contrary

to the obvious economic factors. There could be no general

short supply at Des Moines because of Borden’s presence

inasmuch as Borden's lower buying price would, according

to the Secretary, not attract Des Moines producers and

thus not divert suppliers away from other milk handlers in

Des Moines. Instead, Borden had an assured supply from

outside of the Des Moines area, was attracting outside milk

into Des Moines and was alleviating the short supply at

Des Moines by freeing Mid-America’s supply for other

Des Moines—located handlers.

Finally, the only non-speculative testimony on the subject

of the supply of specific Des Moines handlers came from the

manager of the Beatrice Foods Company’s Des Moines

plant, who testified that “[w]hen our plant was receiving this

minus 10 cent location differential [under the Des Moines

order] we experienced no problem obtaining an adequate

supply of milk,” Ex. I at 163, and from the president of

Anderson-Erickson Dairy Company who testified:

Q. Do you feel you can get milk delivered to your

plant at Des Moines at 10 cents lower than'the price . . .

currently applicable?

A. I don't believe we would have too much problem.

Q. You believe you would continue to get milk from

your present suppliers?

A. I would feel so.

a-l4

Ex. I at 135.

The Seeretary’s decision, rendered prior to the October 29,

1970 order, actually belied the finding of inadequate supply

in the October 1 order, stating:

There is indication that additional milk supplies are

being added to the Des Moines market. The total

number of producers increased from 1,137 in August

1969 to 1,381 in August 1970. Total recefpts of milk in-

creased from 34.4 million pounds in August 1969 to 41.6

million pounds in August 1970.

Ex. G at 9-10.

The Secretary's three orders effectively shut down Bor-

den’s Des Moines plant and ultimately reduced Des Moines’

outside supply of milk. We have searched the record in vain

to find evidence supporting the first purported economic jus-

tification for the three orders—that is, inadequate supply of

milk for Borden—and find none.

The second finding intended to justify the October 1 order

and presumably also the other two orders provided:

Such price disparity as between a Quad Cities order

plant and a Des Moines order plant located in the

Des Moines marketing area would disrupt competitive

relationships among such handlers distributing milk in

that market. Moreover, it would also threaten orderly

marketing in several neighboring markets, such as Kan-

sas City, where milk is distributed from the Borden,

Inc., plant at Des Moines.

The Secretary then purported to remedy the alleged market

disruptions by dealing with the Quad Cities—Dubuque mar-

keting order instead of with the Des Moines order. In a

similar situation, the District of Columbia Circuit said:

Assuming that the Nebraska—Western Iowa Order is

a proper vehicle for remedying market disruptions in the

ee oS te eee .

i a ci GT a F

~

a-15

Eastern Colorado market, there must be substantial

evidence of such disruption in order to justify the impo-

sition of such price differentials for this purpose. Mere

speculation is no warrant for deviating from a principle

as paramount as that of uniform price structure within a

single order, particularly where the Secretary has other

techniques available.

Fairmont, supra, at 772.

‘Some preliminary observations are in order before con-

sidering the alleged evidentiary basis for the second justifica-

tion.

[2] There was nothing unusual or improper about the fact

that Borden’s Des Moines plant was regulated under the

Quad Cities—Dubuque marketing order. The Assistant Mar-

keting Administrator for both the Des Moines and Quad Cit-

ies orders testified that “some of these plants do switch from

market to market in their regulation.” Ex. E at 19. The

ALJ's Initial Decision, adopted by the Judicial Officer, found

that:

The volume of milk distributed from the Borden, Inc.,

plant in the Quad Cities—Dubuque, Des Moines, and

Greater Kansas City markets is nearly the same for

each market... . In this circumstance, with a relatively

small change in the sales volume from the plant in the

Quad Cities—Dubuque, Des Moines, or Greater Kansas

City markets, regulation of the plant could shift from

one to another.

Ex. 35 at 23.

Also, there was nothing unusual or improper in the fact

that Borden “agreed with its producers to pay an additional

amount of 15 cents per hundredweight on all milk purchased

for resale in the Des Moines Market Area.” ALJ Initial

a-16

Decision, adopted by the Judicial Officer, Ex. 35 at 18. The

Secretary's brief in this court states (p. 9):

It must be emphasized that the order prices set under

the Act are minimum prices only. Producers need not

sell their milk for these minimum prices; they can and

do bargain for effective prices which are above order

minimums; however, they must be paid at least the min-

imum prices under the order.

,

We now consider the evidence, if any, supporting the

second economic justification. In regard to raw milk pur-

chased for resale in Des Moines, Borden had already agreed

to pay plus 15 cents per hundredweight for such milk so that

no economic disruption or advantage could occur. Further-

more, if Borden even theoretically had a competitive advan-

tage and thereby increased its Des Moines sales, the slightest

increase in Des Moines sales would have resulted in Borden’s

selling the plurality of its Class I milk in Des Moines and

automatically transferred Borden’s plant to regulation under

the Des Moines order, thus eliminating the advantage. Nor

did Borden enjoy any competitive advantage over other milk

handlers in the Quad Cities—Dubuque market inasmuch as

they were all subject to the same Quad Cities order with the

same location adjustments. However, when the three orders

at issue here were promulgated, Borden immediately suffered

a 19 cents per hundredweight economic disadvantage. If

anything, the orders created, rather than tending to elimi-

nate, disruptive competitive relationships.

Significantly, shortly after Borden shut down its Des

Moines plant, the Secretary issued on August 6, 1971, an

order decreasing the Des Moines price by five cents and in-

creasing the Quad Cities price by three cents, thereby reduc-

ing the disparity between the two prices from 15 cents to

seven cents. 36 Fed.Reg. 14752. This left the two prices seven

a-17

cents more “disruptive” than under Borden’s voluntary 15

cent plus agreement.

In addition to the evidence adduced at the October 8, 1970

and April 13, 1971 hearings, we have examined the ALJ’s Ini-

tial Decision, the Judicial Officer’s ‘Additional Conclusions”’

and the Secretary’s brief on appeal, as well as the three

orders themselves in an attempt to find any basis upon which

to support the second purported economic justification. We

can find none. In fact, it is somewhat extraordinary that

with a record of the volume of that before us the Secretary

can point to no supportive evidence other than the expressed

desires of Mid-America and several milk handlers competing

with Borden that Borden be stripped of the 34 cents minus

price difference. The testimony of these witnesses consisted

of hortatory, conclusory and speculative opinions and predic-

tions. On the other hand, Borden was precluded from in-

troducing specific evidence of its transportation costs to the

Quad Cities in order to justify continuance of the 19 cent

minus location adjustment which was being taken from it

but from no other handlers. Ex. I at 198-201.

[3,4] We agree with the Fairmont court that “[w]hile nor-

mally the court defers to administrative expertise, the record

is so devoid of support for the Secretary’s finding[s] .. . that

the finding[s] cannot be allowed to stand,” 442 F.2d at 770,

particularly in view of the narrow construction of the Agri-

cultural Marketing Agreement Act of 1937 mandated by

Zuber, supra, 396 U.S. at 183-85, 90 S.Ct. 314°

“The case heavily relied on by the Secretary, Sunny Hill Farms

Dairy Co., Inc. v. Hardin, 446 F.2d 1124 (8th Cir. 1971), did not

address the sufficiency of evidence issue of Fatrmont inasmuch as

“Sunny Hill had not challenged the sufficiency of the evidence in

support of the Secretary’s findings that the differential was neces-

sary to ensure an adequate supply of milk... .” Sunny Hill, supra,

at 1127.

a-18

We have therefore determined that the three rulings of the

Secretary at issue here are uot in accordance with law and

are invalid inasmuch as they all ultimately rely upon the un-

supported findings of the October 1, 1970 order.’

Ill

It is unnecessary for us to consider the many procedural

issues which consumed most of the attention of the Adminis-

trative Law Judge, the Judicial Officer and the court below,

or to consider Borden’s argument that the penalties imposed

upon it by the three orders were similar to the subsidies de-

clared illegal by the Supreme Court in Lehigh Valley Coopera-

tive Farmers, Inc., v. United States, 370 U.S. 76, 82 S.Ct. 1168,

8 L.Ed.2d 345 (1962), as trade barriers prohibited by 7 U.S.C.

§ 608c(5)(G).

IV

[5] In regard to remedy, the three orders found invalid

here have since been replaced by a new order and Borden

has ceased doing business in Des Moines so there is no need

for injunctive or declaratory relief. As to damages, Borden is

entitled to recover overpayments which it made pursuant to

the invalid orders. Inasmuch as the Quad Cities—Dubuque

marketing order provides for payment by the market admin-

*The Initial Decision of the Administrative Law Judge, adopted

by the Judicial Officer, concluded that another “factor to be con-

sidered is the requisite producer approval of such an order or

amendment” in accordance with 7 U.S.C. § 608c(9) and (19). Ex. 35

at 70. In the Zuber case the Supreme Court noted that “[i]t is the

Secretary, not the farmers, who is responsible for administering the

statute and initiating orders.” 396 U.S. at 196, 90 S.Ct. at 329. In

the context of the present case, although the amending order of

October 29, 1970 was approved by two-thirds of the milk producers

in the marketing area, such approval does not constitute evidence

that the order or any of the three orders was justified.

a-19

istrator to handlers out of the producer-settlement fund

where claims are made pursuant to 7 U.SC. § 608¢(15)(A),

7 C.F.R. § 1063.89(d), we remand to the district court on the

issue of damages, with direction to enter judgment for Bor-

den in the amount ascertained after appropriate proceedings.

Fairmont, supra, at 773.

The judgment of the district court is reversed and the

cause remanded with directions to deny the defendant’s mo-

tion for summary judgment, to grant the plaintiff’s motion

for summary judgment and to ascertain plaintiff’s damages.

Reversed and remanded.

Exhibit C

Borden, Inc. v. Bergland, No. 74 C 2533, transcript of

oral opinion of Hon. James B. Parsons,

United States District Court for the

Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division,

March 21, 1977

Pursuant to the Seventh Circuit's mandate as found in

Borden vs. Earl A. Butz, 544 F.2d 312, Seventh Circuit in

1976, I enter an order denying defendant’s motion for sum-

mary judgment and granting plaintiff's motion for summary

judgment.

The sole matter still pending is the ascertainment of

damages which plaintiff is entitled to recover and which has

been stated by the Court of Appeals to be “the over-

payments which (Borden) made pursuant to the invalid

orders,’ Borden vs. Butz, id. 319. This sum amounts to

$249,978.38 and is calculated by taking the quantity of Class

I milk purchased by plaintiff for its Des Moines plant during

each month from October 1, 1970 through July 1, 1971 and

a-20

applying the price differences effected by the three orders

found to be invalid.

The Secretary of Agriculture opposes on several grounds

the entry of judgment in the amount referred to above.

The Secretary’s first contention is that Borden is not enti-

tled to overpayments on milk sold in the Des Moines area as

it had agreed with its supplier to make these payments

voluntarily. The Secretary goes on to assert, ‘This agree-

ment is prima facie evidence that milk would not be avail-

able for less than this (higher) price.”’

Defendant’s position that only a portion of the over-

payments paid by Borden pursuant to the invalid orders

should now be calculated as Borden’s damages is patently er-

roneous.

The arrangement by Borden to pay an additional amount

on milk resold in the Des Moines area was voluntary, and as

such subject to modification at any time. It was, however,

superseded and terminated by the subject orders once they

became effective.

Whether or not the voluntary arrangement would have

been maintained by the relevant parties is totally conjectural

and cannot be considered in the ascertainment of damages,

that is to say, the overpayments made by Borden by virtue

of the three orders.

Moreover, the Seventh Circuit found the record to be bar-

ren of any economic justifications for those orders. It should

be stressed that the Court of Appeals did not find explicitly

or implicitly that the three illegal orders were somehow valid

with respect to milk purchased for resale in any of the three

areas served by the Des Moines plant.

_

a-21

The Secretary next urges that adjustments or credits

which Mississippi Valley made to Borden should be subtract-

ed from the total amount of overpayments and that further

hearings are in order in this forum to ascertain whether

credits were in fact granted, and, if so, the amount.

In support of this contention an affidavit of one U. Grant

Greyson, Market Administrator for Order 63, has been sub-

mitted. That affidavit, however, reveals that the actual price

paid by Borden for milk delivered to its Des Moines plant

exceeded the federal order price.

Moreover, there is absolutely no basis in the record of this

case indicating that Borden had not paid at least the min-

imum order price for the relevant period being challenged

herein. It is the overpayments with respect to the minimum

order price which constitutes Borden's damages.

Any credits or adjustments by Borden’s suppliers for the

over-order payments do not fall within the Secretary of

Agriculture's jurisdiction and are irrelevant to these proceed-

ings.

I should also observe that the issue of credits is now

premature, as it is collateral to the assessment of Borden's

damages. The Secretary may properly reassert this question

at the time of seeking execution, if necessary, of the judg-

ment.

Therefore, no portion of the overpayments made by Bor-

den is to be deducted from the amount of damages because

of any asserted credits.

The Secretary also contends that Borden must prove its

damages, but this contention overlooks the nature of Bor-

den’s claim. Borden is not seeking damages for any economic

injury flowing from and as a result of the invalid orders, but,

a-22

rather, is seeking the overpayments it has made and which

has been defined by the Court of Appeals as the. measure of

Borden's damages.

The cases cited by the Secretary in support of its position

are inapposite. I have the footnote Anniston Manufacturing

Company vs. Davis, 301 U.S. 337; Rivera Manufacturing vs.

U.S., 307 Fed. Supp. 916, District of Colorado in 1969 and

Epstein vs. U.S., 357 F 2d 928, U.S. Court of Claims, 1966;

Gumpert vs. United States, 296 F 2d 927, U.S. Court of

Claims in 1961.

In each of the cases taxpayers sought to recover taxes al-

leged to have been illegally collected by the federal govern-

ment. The respective courts found that the taxpayers had

not made a requisite showing as to who actually, bore the

economic burden of paying the taxes.

Here, Borden was required to make the payments to its

suppliers by virtue of what has now been determined as in-

valid orders. Nothing more remains to be shown.

Finally, there is a question of when interest is to be ap-

plied. Allowance of interest is controlled by federal law

where the claim for relief is federally created. See Milwaukee

Towne Corporation vs. Foss, Inc., 200 F 2d 17, 20, Seventh

Circuit in 1952; Perkins vs. Standard Oil Company of

California, 487 F 2d 672, 675, Ninth Circuit, 1973.

Whether or not to award prejudgment interest in cases

arising under federal law has been placed within the sound

discretion of the district court where, as here, the applicable

federal statute provides no directive. See Blau vs. Lehman,

368 U.S. 403, 414, 1962; Lodges 743 and 1746, et cetera, vs.

United Aircraft, 534 F 2d 422, 446, Second Circuit, 1975.

ss

ee ae eee ee oe

le be

i Te

a-23

Moreover, the award of such interest is to provide just

compensation and is not in the nature of a penalty. Rosa vs.

Insurance Company of the State of Pennsylvania, 421 F 2d

390, 393, Ninth Circuit, 1970; Lodges 743 and 1746 vs. Unit-

ed Aircraft, which has been cited, that citation at page 447.

In the exercise of the sound discretion that is permitted

me, it is my firm conviction that prejudgment interest is par-

ticularly applicable in this case and is the only meaningful

manner by which plaintiff can be made whole. Borden has

been deprived of the use of its money, a sum certain, for a

period of time.

In addition, the Secretary denied Borden’s application for

interim relief by which the overpayments could have been

placed in an escrow fund and retain the interest on these

payments, and thereby could have preserved the value of the

sum Borden had been compelled to pay.

In view of this, Borden is awarded damages in the amount

of $249,978.38 plus interest at a rate of 6 per cent per annum

from the dates on which its overpayments were made. The

Court in this respect is guided in part by Illinois Revised

Statutes, Chapter 74, Section 3, merely guided as to the rate

of interest because of the absence of a federal interest rate.

No. 74 C 2533, Exhibit D

Borden, Inc. v. Earl Butz,

Secretary of the Department of Agriculture,

ruling motion of summary judgment on damages

In accordance with oral opinion delivered in open court

this March 21, 1977, the court hereby enters an order deny-

a-24

ing defendant’s motion for summary judgment and grants

plaintiff's motion for summary judgment in the. amount of

$249,978.38 plus interest at a rate of 6% per annum from the

dates on which its overpayments were made. Enter Rule 58

judgment order.

Exhibit E

United States Court of Appeals -

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

ARGUED JANUARY 16, 1978

DECIDED APRIL 20, 1978

Before

Hon. ROBERT A. SPRECHER, Circuit Judge

Hon. HARLINGTON WOOD, JR., Circuit Judge

Hon. JOHN W. REYNOLDS, Chief District Judge*

BORDEN, INC., } Appeal from the United

Plaintiff-A ppellee, States District Court for

the Northern District

No. 77-1805 vs. of Illinois, Eastern

Division.

BOB BERGLAND, No. 74 C 2533

SECRETARY OF AGRICULTURE, James B. Parsons,

Defendant-A ppellant. } Chief Judge

ORDER

In the prior appeal of this case we held that three amend-

ments to milk marketing orders, promulgated by the Secre-

tary of Agriculture under the Agricultural Marketing

Agreement Act of 1937, 7 U.S.C. § 608c(5)(..\), were not in ac-

cordance with law and were invalid because unsupported by

*Chief District Judge John W. Reynolds, of the Eastern District

of Wisconsin, is sitting by designation.

ee, Oe ee ee ee ee

a-25

the record. We, therefore, reversed a summary judgment en-

tered by the district court upon review in favor of the Secre-

tary. We also remanded the cause with directions to deny the

defendant’s motion for summary judgment, to grant the

plaintiff’s Borden, Inc. motion for summary judgment and to

ascertain plaintiff’s damages. In other words, we directed a

summary judgment for the plaintiff as to liability but direct-

ed further proceedings “to ascertain plaintiff's damages.”

No. 77-1805

Borden, Inc. v. Butz, 544 F.2d 312, 320 (7th Cir. 1976). We ex-

plained the damage aspects in further detail by saying that:

As to damages, Borden is entitled to recover over-

payments which it made pursuant to the invalid orders.

Inasmuch as the Quad Cities—Dubuque marketing

order provides for payment by the market administrator

to handlers out of the producer-settlement fund where

claims are made pursuant to 7 U.S.C. § 608c(15)(A),

7 C.F.R. § 1063.89(d), we remand to the district court on

the issue of damages, with direction to enter judgment

for Borden in the amount ascertained after appropriate

proceedings.

Id. at 319-20.

The statute' and regulation’? to which we specifically

referred deal with the petition and hearing before the Secre-

tary of Agriculture.

'7 U.S.C. § 608c(15)(A) provides:

Any handler subject to an order may file a written petition

with the Secretary of Agriculture, stating that any such order

or any provision of any such order or any obligation imposed

in connection therewith is not in accordance with law and

praying for a modification thereof or to be exempted there-

from. He shall thereupon be given an opportunity for a hear-

ing upon such petition, in accordance with regulations made

by the Secretary of Agriculture, with the approval of the Pres-

(Footnote continued on next page)

a-26

No. 77-1808

Upon remand to the district court, the court properly en-

tered an order dated March 21, 1977, denying defendant’s

motion for summary judgment. It was also proper at that

time to grant plaintiff's motion for summary judgment as to

liability only. The court, however, also fixed damages in the

amount of $249,978.38 plus interest at a rate,of 6 per cent

per annum from the dates on which overpayments were

made. We now determine on this appeal that the district

court prematurely ascertained plaintiff's damages.

The record before us demonstrates that the parties had

stipulated before the Administrative Law Judge the facts

which were to constitute the exclusive basis for deciding the

legal issues involved, but expressly deferred the submission

of evidence establishing the monetary damages to which the

plaintiff would be entitled, if successful, “until the legal is-

sues have been resolved.”

ident. After such hearing, the Secretary shall make a ruling

upon the prayer of such petition which shall be final, if in ac-

cordance with law.

‘7 C.F.R. § 1063.89(d) provides:

Any obligation on the part of the market administrator to

pay a handler any money which such handler claims to be due

him under the terms of this part shall terminate 2 years after

the end of the calendar month during which the skim milk and

butterfat involved in the claim were received if an under-

payment is claimed, or 2 years after the end of the calendar

month during which the payment (including deduction or set-

off by the market administrator) was made by the handler if a

refund on such payment is claimed, unless such handler, with-

in the applicable period of time, files pursuant to section

8c(15)(A) of the Act, a petition claiming such money. 25 F.R.

12987, Dec. 20, 1960, as amended at 34 F.R. 18665, Nov. 22,

1969.

SS

i lat i nl. a et a tena

a-27

We agree with the conclusion of the court which recently

decided the procedure which should follow the finding of the

illegality of a milk marketing order in Abbotts Dairies Division

of Fairmont Foods Co. v. Bergland, 438 F. Supp. 629, 636 (E.D.

Pa. 1977):

The determination of . . . [damages] obviously will

require evaluation of complex economic relationships

between producers and handlers during the time period

for which damages are sought. Such matters are pecu-

liarly within the special expertise of the Secretary.

We reverse the judgment of the district court insofar as it

fixes the amount of damages and remand the cause to the

district court with instructions to remand it to the Secretary

of Agriculture to conduct an evidentiary hearing and to

render an administrative decision on the amount of the plain-

tiff’s damages, which amount shall not be less than $84,463

nor more than $249,978.33, and in regard to which the Secre-

tary shall determine whether interest shall be added. The

Secretary's decision will, of course, be subject to statutory

review by the district court.

a-28

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

April 20, 1978

Before

Hon. ROBERT A. SPRECHER, Circuit Judge

Hon. HARLINGTON WOOD, JR., Circuit Judge

Hon. JOHN W. REYNOLDS, Chief District Judge*

a-29

Exhibit F

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Llinois 60604

June 30, 1978

Before

Hon. HARLINGTON WOOD, JR., Circuit Judge

Hon. JOHN W. REYNOLDS, Chief District Judge*

Hon.

BORDEN, INC., ) Appeal from the United

Plaintyff-A ppellee,

No. 77-1805 vs.

BOB BERGLAND, Secretary of the Department |

of Agriculture,

States Distsict Court for

Se Northern District of

Illinois, Eastern Division

No. 74-C-2533

BORDEN, INC., Appeal from the United

Plaintrff-A ppellee, States District Court for

No. 77-1805 vs the Northern District of

BOB BERGLAND,

Illinois, Eastern Division

No, 74 C 2533

Defendant-Appellant. | James B. Parsons, Judge.

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of the

record from the United States District Court for the North-

ern District of Illinois, Eastern Division, and was argued by

counsel,

On consideration whereof, it is ordered and adjudged by

this court that the judgment of the said District Court in

this cause appealed from be, and the same is hereby,

REVERSED, with costs, and the case is REMANDED with

instructions, in accordance with the order of this court en-

tered this date.

*Chief District Judge John W. Reynolds, of the Eastern District

of Wisconsin, is sitting by designation.

SECRETARY OF AGRICULTURE, James B. P

Defendant-Appellant Chief Judge

ORDER

On consideration of the petition for rehearing filed in the

ubove-entitled cause by plaintiff-appellee, Borden, Inc., a

majority of the judges on the original panel having voted to

deny the same, **

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the aforesaid petition

for rehearing be, and the same is hereby, DENIED.

**Chief District Judge John W. Reynolds, of the Eastern Dis-

trict of Wisconsin, is sitting by designation.

**Circuit Judge Robert A. Sprecher has disqualified himself

from participation in the petition for rehearing.

a-30

Exhibit G

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Nos. 77-2245

77-2246

77-2247

Apports Dairies Division oF FAIRMONT

Foops, INc.

vs

Earn M. Butz, Secretary of Agriculture

U.S. DepartTMeENt OF AGRICULTURE

» PennMarva DatrRYMEN’S CooPeraTIVE

Frperation Inc.

Lenicu Vattey Cooperative Farmers and

Caprrat Mink Propucers Cooperative, INc.

Intervening defts.

PENNMARVA DAIRYMEN’s CooPpERATIVE FEDERATION, INC.,

Intervenors.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

(D. C. Civil No. 71-549)

Argued

May 22, 1978

Before: ALDISERT, GIBBONS and HIGGINBOTHAM,

; Circuit Judges.

OPINION OF THE COURT

(filed Aug 1, 1978)

HIGGINBOTHAM, Circuit Judge

Under the Agricultural Adjustment Act of May 12, 1933,

48 Stat. 31, as amended, 7 U.S.C. §601 et seq., the minimum

a-31

price at which milk processors and distributors (‘handlers’)

may purchase unprocessed milk from farmers (“producers’’)

is subject to regulation by the Secretary of Agriculture. As a

result, milk prices are typically adjusted in accordance with

changing economic indices in order to assure, inter alia, “an

orderly flov cf the supply... [of milk] to market throughout

its normal marketing season to avoid unreasonable fluctua-

tions in supplies and prices.” 7 U.S.C. §602(4). This case

raises the question whether Abbotts Dairies Division of Fair-

mont Foods Company (‘Abbotts’), after succeeding ulti-

mately in invalidating a Milk Marketing Order of August

20, 1969, may now recover the difference between the invalid

order price and a lesser proposed price for the period between

September, 1969 and July, 1970.' Also before us, are the issues

whether the amount of Abbotts’ overpayment could be made

subject to reduction to the extent that Abbotts “passed on”’

any excess prices to its customers, and whether the Secretary

must in the first instance consider the restitution question.

The district court, rejecting the passing on defense deter-

mined that Abbotts could receive recompense in the amount

of the difference between the invalid order price and the

price at which Abbotts would have been able to purchase

milk during the period in question. The district court deter-

mined also that the case should be remanded to the Secre-

tary for ascertainment of that amount and the amount of in-

terest, if any, which should be awarded.’ For the reasons ex-

‘Abbotts states in its brief that the relevant period for calculat-

ing recovery extends from September, 1969 to September, 1970.

Brief for Abbotts at 12 n. 6. However, the amount Abbotts has at

oral argument indicated it seeks is calculated based on the Sep-

tember, 1969, to July, 1970 period. We will limit our consideration

to the latter period because it is the only one for which damages

were sought below and because of the assertions made on oral argu-

ment and elsewhere in Abbotts’ brief. See Brief for Abbotts at 3-4.

*We intimate no view on the merits of the interest question.

a-32

pressed below we reverse the district court’s order of remand

to the Secretary and instruct the district court to make

findings in the specified areas, as necessary, and enter judg-

ment accordingly.

The procedural history of this case cannot, unfortunately,

be stated so briefly as would be desired. Over a period of

nine years the issues in this case have been litigated, ad-

judicated, revised and reconsidered in several different ad-

ministrative and judicial proceedings. There have been three

rulings by the Secretary since the August 20, 1969, Order,

pursuant to three administrative proceedings; there has been

extensive litigation in the United States District Court, first

the Secretary's action for a preliminary injunction before

Judge Luongo and then the hearings before and adjudica-

tions by Judge Ditter on the validity of the August 20, 1969,

Order and the availability of damages; and, now, there have

been two appeals to this Court.

Decades ago scholars pressed for reform of the judicial

process; they were confident that the new administrative law

process would be above all far more expeditious, fair, and re-

sponsive than what had sometimes proven to be a slow, pro-

tracted judicial process. This case exemplifies one instance in

which those lofty expectations of expedition have not been

met, and it is difficult to imagine a case intertwined with

greater confusion and delay on a problem which, but for the

administrative process, was not extremely complex. Despite

this Abbotts is confronted with a request for yet another

remand which could extend this litigation into its second

decade.

The triggering event for this case took place on August 20,

1969, when the Secretary issued a Milk Marketing Order for

a-33

the Delaware Valley Marketing Area’ instituting what is

known as a “penny-by-penny” system for adjusting the min-

imum price which a milk handler (e.g., Abbotts) must pay to

milk producers. According to this system the minimum price

of milk would rise on a penny-by-penny basis in conformity

with rises in the price of milk in the Minnesota-Wisconsin

area. This penny-by-penny pricing constituted a departure

from the Delaware Valley Marketing Area tradition of

bracket pricing, by which the price of milk moved in steps

of twenty (20) cents when by the relevant economic formula

a different bracket became applicable. The practical effect

of the penny-by-penny system was that the price of milk

became indisputably higher during the period at issue. At a

hearing before the Secretary on October 30, 1969, to reopen

the matter of the August 20, 1969, Order, Abbotts as well as

all producers who were represented opposed the penny-by-

penny system in favor of bracket pricing.‘ Significantly, Ab-

botts’ proposal at that hearing was a bracket price different

from, and in excess of, the price under the previously valid

Marketing Order.’

After a hearing and upon finding that Abbotts had refused

to pay the August 20, 1969, Order price, Judge Luongo on

August 20, 1970, enjoined Abbotts to cease and desist viola-

‘On August 1, 1970, the Delaware Valley Marketing Area was

merged with two other marketing areas to form the Middle Atlan-

tic Marketing Area. 35 Fed. Reg. 7924, 10,273 (1970).

‘A hearing held on June 16 and 17, 1969, was found by Judge

Ditter not to have provided any evidence to sustain the Order. The

issue of the invalidation of the Order is, of course, not before us.

*The minimum price in effect just prior to the August 20, 1969,

Order was $7.17 per hundredweight. The operative Order price was

put into effect provided for bracketed pricing, although some tem-

porary emergency prices were established. Abbotts Dairies Div. of

Fairmont Foods v. Butz, 389 F.Supp. 1, 4-6 (E.D.Pa. 1975).

a-34

tions of the Marketing Order, to pay in the future the higher

minimum price provided in the Secretary’s Marketing Order

and otherwise adhere to that Order, and to pay $34,126.25

as its due share of the administrative expenses of maintain-

ing a producer-settlement fund.’ In enjoining Abbotts, Judge

Luongo rejected its request, contained in its April 22, 1970,

Answer, that if the Government’s prayer for an injunction

was granted those funds representing the difference between

the proposed bracket price Abbotts was willing to pay and

the penny-by-penny price the Secretary demanded should be

deposited with the court.’ In rejecting this request Judge

Luongo relied upon the view that the reserve in the

producer-settlement fund would stand as a ready source for

recovery of overpayments in the event the August 20, 1969,

Marketing Order was subsequently invalidated.

On November 27, 1972, Judge Ditter filed an opinion over-

turning the decision of the Secretary which upheld the

penny-by-penny August 20, 1969, Order as being based upon

no evidence whatever. 351 F. Supp. 561 (E.D. Pa. 1972). The

matter was remanded to the Secretary at his request, and

‘The producer-settlement fund provides a pool by which prices

paid to producers by handlers may be adjusted to reflect the value

of the use to which the purchased milk was ultimately put. In the

context of the complicated administrative scheme, the fund enables

producers to receive a uniform minimum price at the time of pur-

chase. See 7 C.F.R. §1004.1 ef seq; Zuber v. Aiien, 402 F.2d

660,661-62 (D.C. Cir. 1968), afd, 396 US. 168 (1969). The

$34,126.25 in administrative expenses is not at issue on this appeal.

"United States v. Abbotts Dairies Div. of Fairmont Foods, Co.,

315 F. Supp. 571 (E.D.Pa. 1970).

Judge Luongo determined that under United States v. Ruzicka,

329 U.S. 287 (1946), the issue of an Order's validity vel non could

not be raised as a defense to an injunction for compliance. Thus

the attempt to place monies on deposit with the court was meant

to preserve a fund which might later be the source of refunds

should the Order subsequently be invalidated.

a-35

later came before Judge Ditter again. In his opinion of Jan-

uary 9, 1975, he again held the August 20, 1969, Order to be

invalid, concluding: “[T]here is no substantial evidence to

support the decision and it is therefore arbitrary and ca-

pricious and must be set aside.” 389 F. Supp. 1, 12 (E.D. Pa.

1975). In 1976 Judge Ditter yet again spoke to the issue,

rejecting the Secretary’s motion for reconsideration. 421 F.

Supp. 415 (E.D. Pa. 1976), affd, 559 F.2d 1207 (3d Cir. 1977)

(judgment order).’ As detailed at the outset, the present appeal

follows Judge Ditter’s decision on monetary recovery only.

Throughout the procedural history of this case Abbotts

and the Government have been the only litigating adversar-

ial parties. A milk farmers’ cooperative, Pennmarva Dairy-

men’s Cooperative Federation, Inc. (‘“Pennmarva’’), having

been granted limited intervention for the determination of

the refund issue, is before us on this appeal asserting, inter

alia, that no in personam judgment can be filed against cur-

rent producers for receipt by producers in 1969 and 1970 of

overpayments which were required by a then operative min-

imum pricing Order.

I.

We will first consider the availability of the passing on

defénse in the present case.

* * *

II.

We turn now to the issue of the measurement of monetary

recovery and the related issue of the district court’s remand

‘Part of Judge Ditter’s decision denied a motion by some

producer cooperatives to intervene for all purposes including

review of the Order The c uurt limited intervention to the issue of

monetary recovery. This is the aspect of the case which was

affirmed by a panel of this court.

a-36

to the Secretary.’ In Fairmont Foods Co. v. Hardin, 442 F.2d

762 (D.C. Cir. 1971), the court faced a similar question aris-

ing not out of an invalid minimum price order but from an

invalid location price differential in a milk marketing order.

The location differential required some handlers to pay a

price greater than the minimum order price for milk received

from producers in designated areas. The court invalidated

the differential on the ground that the evidence was in-

sufficient to show “an economic service [by producers] of

benefit to the handler.” /d. at 767; see Zuber v. Allen, 396 U. 8.

168 (1969). The court then awarded a refund in the amount

of the invalid differential, without a remand to the Secretary:

The Secretary argues that had the invalidity of this

Order been apparent at the time, he would have chosen

to replace the differentials with a single Order price, one

which would have been higher than the 1966 Eastern

Zone price. Thus, according to the Secretary, not all, if

any, Of Fairmont’s payments above the Eastern price

can be considered overpayments subject to refund. This

argument, based as it is on mere conjecture and suppo-

sition, ignores the fact that such alternative measures

were not utilized, that the Secretary in fact assumed

that his Order was valid and imposed the price differen-

tials on the basis of that assumption. We are not

‘It is not clear from the present record or from the parties’ briefs

or arguments whether the invalid Order price for the period in is-

sue (a period preceding the August 20, 1970, injunction) was

required pursuant to a construction of the injunction’s commands

or by some other method. Abbotts maintains, and the district court

found, that Abbotts was able to obtain an adequate supply of milk

at its proposed bracket price up to the August 20, 1970, injunction.

Tr. Oral Argument, May 22, 1978, at 3 (statement by counsel for

Abbotts). Nevertheless, all parties are in agreement that as a result

of the Secretary's invalid August 20, 1969, Order, Abbotts has been

required to pay some substantial amount for milk in excess both of

the last valid marketing order price ($7.17 cwt.) and the inter-

mediary bracket price which Abbotts proposed. This matter can be

definitely determined on remand.

a-37

persuaded by the argument that had Fairmont not been

required to pay a differential, it might have been

required to pry the same price anyway as a result of

some alternative regulatory scheme.

Id. at 773; see Borden, Inc. v. Butz, 544 F.2d 312, 319-20 (7th

Cir. 1976). Were we to rely on the Fairmont analysis it would

appear that the amount of recovery in this case should be

the difference between the last valid order price and the price

paid by Abbotts. In Fairmont, the possibility that some inter-

mediary price might have been put into effect, had the Secre-

tary known immediately of the invalidity of the scheme, was

viewed as legally irrelevant. We need not, however, decide here

whether the last valid price should serve as a basis for mea-

suring a refund since Abbotts asks that its recovery be based

on the higher price which it proposed to the Secretary in 1969.

The Government and Pennmarva contend, in opposition

to the apparent simplicity of the Fairmont formula, that a

refund should be based on principle of equitable restitution

and hence should require consideration of whether the in-

valid price was nevertheless a reasonable price." For this

proposition they rely in part upon the more recent decision

of the District of Columbia Court of Appeals in Moss v. Civil

Aeronautics Board, 521 F.2d 298 (D.C. Cir. 1975), cert. denied,

424 U.S. 966 (1977). The court in Moss, applying equitable

restitution principles, declined to grant a refund to claimants

"In Atlantic Coast Line R. Co. v. Florida, 295 US. 301 (1935),

although the Court denied restitution to the party who paid, pur-

suant to an order later held invalid, freight rates in excess of the

last valid rates, the Court’s analysis rested on the view that resti-

tutionary power was “ancillary” to the power of the district court

to determine the validity of the Commission’s order. /d. at 314. It is

our view that an analogous equitable restitutionary power exists in

this case, subject of course to the equitable principles enunciated in

Atlantic Coast. See also Moss v. Civil Aeronautics Board, 521 F.2d

298, 306-07 (D.C. Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 424 U.S, 966 (1977).

a-38

who paid airline passenger rates which were ultimately held

invalid. Petitioner in Moss unsuccessfully argued that the

difference between the invalidated rate and the last lawful

rate should constitute the measure of overpayment recovery.

The court recited as findings of fact that the invalidated rate

was reasonable, that therefore there was no resulting excess

profit or enrichment, and that there existed no “fund of net

enrichment from which restitution could appropriately be

made.” /d. at 314. Nevertheless, the court rested its conclu-

sion on the view that

[t]he fares in question were charged by the carriers in

reasonable reliance on the Board’s explicit approval of

them. To the extent that the Board was mistaken about

the lawfulness of the filing, the consequences of that

mistake should not be visted upon the carriers, certainly

absent any actual unjust enrichment.

Id. at 314-15. To follow literally the quoted Moss prescription

in the instant matter might be to deny recovery to Abbotts

on the theory that the producers who received the over-

payments were not at fault. However, because the facts in

Moss indicate the reasonableness of the invalid fare and the

unreasonableness of the last valid fare and because the court

concluded that the airlines were not enriched and that there

was no fund from which restitution could be made, the hold-

ing may be narrowly circumscribed.

Atlantic Coast Line R. Co. v. Florida, 295 U.S. 301 (1935),

guides us on a path between Fairmont and Moss. The Court

there refused restitution of prices paid pursuant to an Inter-

state Commerce Commission order. In the time between the

issuance of the order replacing what was viewed by the Com-

mission as a discriminatory rate schedule, and the Court’s in-

validation of it, the claimant carrier had complied. Fourteen

months after the declaration of invalidity, the Interstate

Commerce Commission repromulgated the same order with-

a-39

out defect based upon new evidence and new findings." The

Court accepted as fact that the rate in effect prior to the in-

validated order was “less than compensatory and would re-

sult in confiscation .. .,” id. at 313, and further observed that

the claimants failed to show the unreasonableness of the rate

established by the invalid order. See id. at 318. The Court

rejected arguments for applying an intermediary rate in the

absence of a showing that the invalid one was unreasonable.

We view Atlantic Coast to instruct that the unreasonableness

of an invalid administrative agency rate and the reasonable-

ness of the rate sought to be used as a measure must appear

before restitution of an overpayment can be decided.

In the present case, unlike Atlantic Coast, Abbotts’ pro-

posed bracket price formula was also proposed at the Octo-

ber, 1969, Department of Agriculture hearing by the Inter-

state Milk Producers representing seventy-five percent of the

milk producers in the Delaware Valley area. This fact, as

determined by the district court and not urged to be clearly

erroneous, is itself persuasive of the reasonableness of the

proposed price. The area tradition of pricing at the required

minimum and availability of milk to Abbotts at the pro-

posed bracket prices up to the August 20, 1970, injunc-

tion,” although viewed insufficient by the district court, re-

affirm that conclusion. Furthermore, the Secretary’s penny-

by-penny price was itself unanimously opposed by the wit-

"The Court specifically observed: ‘During the years affected by

the claim there existed in very truth the unjust discrimination

against interstate commerce that the earlier decision had attempt-

ed to correct. If the processes of the law had been instantaneous or

adequate, the attempt at correction would not have missed the

mark.” Jd. at 311-12.

"The stated fact that Abbotts continued to obtain milk at the

proposed bracket price until the injunction seems to undermine the

district court’s decision to remand for a determination of the price

which Abbotts would have had to pay for milk for the relevant

period, since the relevant period preceded the injunction.

a-40

nesses at the October 1969 hearing. It was this total absence

of evidentiary support which led the district court to con-

clude that it was arbitrary and capricious. Indeed, we note in

passing that, unlike Atlantic Coast, the record reveals that in

six years since the invalidation of the 1969 Order there has

been no repromulgation based on evidence favoring penny-

by-penny pricing. Although Pennmarva states that a hearing

was held by the Secretary in October, 1977, that proceeding

could not reasonably be expected to affect the issue of the

fairness of the penny-by-penny Order in 1969 and 1970,

given the facts as alreedy described.

In view of these circumstances, the producers who received

overpayments did, we believe, receive enrichment in the form

of excessive and unlawful prices, though they were certainly

not at fault for the actual issuance of the Secretary’s order.

Equitable restitution to Abbotts to the extent of the monies

in the producer-settlement fund reserve is therefore appro-

priate in our view. Denial of restitution on the facts present-

ed here would virtually remove any possibility of recovery of

overpayments due to invalid milk pricing orders. We do not

believe that Atlantic Coast contemplated such a broad scale

denial.

There additionally appears to be no reason for a remand

to the Secretary." Attempting to ascertain in this case the

price at which Abbotts would have been able to purchase

milk seems meaningless in light of the district court’s state-

"The provision conferring jurisdiction to the Secretary, 7 U.S.C.

§608(c) 15(A), does not provide any specific indication that the Sec-

retary may go beyond the determination initially of the validity or

scope of a marketing order. In any event the issues left to be decid-

ed in this case are not of the kind which are peculiarly within the

expertise of the Secretary and which might otherwise justify resort

to the administrative process. See Nader v. Allegheny Airlines, 426

U.S. 290, 305-06 (1976).

ae

a-41

ment that Abbotts continued to purchase milk at the pro-

posed bracket price prior to the August 20, 1970, injunc-

tion. Even without this fact an inquiry into what the price of

milk would have been would not likely contribute anything

to the evidence since the effect of the invalid Order itself

during the period in question would naturally be consider-

able, reducing the probative quality of any attempt at recon-

structing economic history. This or related litigation has al-

ready extended over an eight year period and has received

considerable judicial and administrative attention, as de-

scribed earlier. At this stage we cannot view lightly the pos-

sibility of further complication and delay.

Ill.

The precise amounts determined by Herbert L. Forest" (as

the difference between the total price required to be paid by

“Mr. Forest calculated the difference between payment of penny-

by-penny prices and bracket prices by Abbotts for the relevant pe-

riod. Mr. Forest assumed that all Abbotts’ purchases of milk were

ultimately at the penny-by-penny rate. No party has contested the

accuracy of his calculations given the underlying assumption.

ABBOTTS’ CLASS I VALUE CHANGES WITH BRACKETED PRICE

Class I Change Change in

Months Lbs. of Milk in Price Value

PG. UE soc cacsccesvauscvsns 22,723,613 —9¢ $ —20,451.25

Ree ye eee es 24,594,803 +4¢ + 9,837.92

i OP CT ee ET ee 21,907,402 —5¢ —10,953.70

eke cb sbinck es thbveuns 22,800,526 —9¢ —20,520.47

PTR aos dic Hhbcawhes Onue 22,194,193 —10¢ —22,194.19

SOT proper ree 20,220,229 —1l4¢ —28,308.32

Drei ed brtcibeed shadk dps 21,701,959 —10¢ —21,701.96

BT in ine a ebb die aid nen wha 22,458,730 —5¢ —11,229.37

OT ccccccencvcacccensscss 21,252,311 —7¢ —14,876.62

Us dnU dic woe ce seeouns baer 19,923,017 —5¢ — 9,961.51

Milian ks kon ouwenei tenuis 20,221,225 —8¢ —16,176.98

$—166,536.45

See Affidavit of Herbert L. Forest, Director, Dairy Division,

Agricultural Marketing Service, Department of Agriculture, April

29, 1975, at 5; Abbotts Dairies Division of Fairmont Foods Com-

pany v. Bob Bergland, C.A. No. 71-549, Slip Op. at 4 (E.D. Pa.,

filed June 16, 1977).

a-42

Abbotts for milk from September, 1969, through July, 1970,

and the proposed bracket price) should serve as the basis for

an award of restitution to Abbotts unless: (1) the district

court, in addressing the matter of the amount of Abbotts’

overpayment, finds that not all of the milk purchased by Ab-

botts during the relevant period was paid for at the invalid

penny-by-penny price due to obligations stemming from the

invalid Order; or (2) the possibility of cost-plus contracts

between Abbotts and others is properly raised and the cost-

plus exception to Hanover is deemed applicable.” The reserve

in the producer-settlement fund will serve as the source for

the refund of this overpayment."

The district court’s Order remanding this case to the Sec-

retary will be vacated and the matter will be remanded to

the district court for disposition in accordance with the

above opinion. A. Leon HiIGGINBOTHAM

Circuit Judge

“The district judge must also consider the issue whether interest

is recoverable and, if so, its amount.

“At present both the Government and Pennmarva have acknowl-

edged the acceptability of employing the reserve in the producer-

settlement fund as the sole source of refund to Abbotts. Tr. of Oral

Argument, May 22, 1978, at 24-25 (statement of counsel for Penn-

marva); Government’s Brief at 7. This is so even though the over-

payments consist of money paid to producers directly in 1969 and

1970, and even though some producers presently in the market

were not direct beneficiaries of the excessive invalid order price for

the period in issue. We believe that this fluid fund, designed essen-

tially as a pool by which milk prices may be made uniform, is a

permissible source for the refunding of the overpayments at issue

here. See Borden, supra; Fairmont, supra. We emphasize that the

above decision is not based on any view that producers are liable in

personam and is intended to be applicable solely to the factual sit-

uation in which a reserve fund exists. We do not pass upon the

situation in which no fund exists or in which restitution is sought

from the producers themselves. Nor do we decide upon the avail-

ability of the passing on defense where producers are sought to be

held personally liable for overpayments.

seal Aik ie il bin an

ih

a-43

Exhibit H

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For the Seventh Circuit

BORDEN, INC.,

Piaintiff-Appellee,

vs. q No. 77-1805

BOB BERGLAND,

SECRETARY OF AGRICULTURE,

Defendant-A ppellant.

Appeal from the United States

District Court for the

Northern District of

Illinois, Eastern Division.

No. 74 C 2533

James B. Parsons, Chief Judge

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE

INSTANTER RENEWED PETITION

FOR REHEARING AND FOR

REHEARING EN BANC

Plaintiff-appellee Borden, Inc., by its attorneys hereby

moves for leave to file instanter a renewed petition for

rehearing and for rehearing en banc in order to bring to this

Court’s attention the reversal of Abbotts Dairies Division of

Fairmont Foods Co. v. Bergland, 438 F.Supp. 629 (E.D. Pa.

1977) by the United States Court of Appeals for the Third

Circuit on August 1, 1978.

DATED: August 25, 1978

By: Sruart 8. Batt

One of the attorneys for

Borden, Inc.

a-44

IN THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 77-1805

BORDEN, INC., Plains ff-Appellee,

vs.

BOB BERGLAND, Secretary of Agriculture,

Defendant-A ppellant.

Appeal from the United States District

Court for the Northern District of Illinois,

Eastern Division, No. 74 C 2533

Honorable James B. Parsons Presiding

Appellee’s Renewed Petition for Rehearing

and for Rehearing En Banc

Plaintiff-appellee, Borden, Inc., hereby renews its petition

for rehearing and further petitions for a rehearing en banc on

the grounds that the sole decision relied upon by this Court

in its Order of Reversal of April 20, 1978, Abbotts Dairies

Lrvision of Fairmont Foods Co. v. Bergland, 438 F. Supp. 629

(E.D. Pa. 1977), has, subsequent to the denial of Borden’s

initial petition for rehearing, been reversed by the Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit. A copy of the opinion of the

Third Circuit, filed August 1, 1978, is attached.* The

grounds for rehearing advanced herein are in addition to

those stated in Borden’s initial petition for rehearing, filed

May 4, 1978.

“A copy of the opinion of the Court in Abbotts Dairi

received by counsel for Borden until August 16, 1978. ia alia

””

a

a-45

I. In Its Order of Reversal, This Court, Ignoring the

Doctrine of “Law of the Case”, Reversed Its Own Man-

date on the Prior Appeal on Two Major Points, Relying

Exclusively on a District Court Decision in Abbotts Dair-

ies, Which Has Now Been Reversed.

Contrary to the law of the case doctrine, this Court’s

Order of Reversal of April 20, 1978 altered the mandate

previously issued by this Court in Borden, Inc. v. Butz, 544

F.2d 312 (7th Cir. 1976) in two important respects. First, the

Order of Reversal remanded the case to the Secretary of

Agriculture to calculate Borden’s damages, while the prior

mandate had specifically remanded to the district court for

that purpose. Secondly, the Order of Reversal stated that the

determination of damages would “require evaluation of com-

plex economic relationships”, while the prior mandate had

defined Borden's damages correctly and very simply as “over-

payments which it made pursuant to the invalid orders.” 544

F.2d at 319-20.

In reversing this Court’s own mandate on the initial ap-

peal, the Order of Reversal stated only:

“We agree with the conclusion of the court which

recently decided the procedure which should follow the

finding of the illegality of a milk marketing order in

[ Abbotts Dairies].”

The district court decision relied on was reversed by the

United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit on

August 1, 1978. This means that the Order of Reversal is

now not only in conflict with the decision of this Court on

the first appeal and with the decision of the Court of Appeals

for the District of Columbia in Fairmont Foods Co. v. Hardin,

442 F.2d 762 (D.C. Cir. 1971) but also with the decision of

the Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit. Since the Order

of Reversal gave no reason for its mandate other than the

now reversed district court opinion in Abbotts Dairies, this

Court should now reconsider the Order.

a-46

II. The Third Circuit’s Reversal of the Abbotts Dairies

Decision Undercuts This Court’s Order of Reversal, and

Its Opinion Sets Forth Principles That Should Also Be

Followed Here.

a-47

taining damages. (Slip Opinion, at 10-11). Fairmont, like

the present case, involved only the invalidation of

specific adjustments to an otherwise valid Order price.

Since ascertainment of damages is less complicated in

these circumstances than where, as in Abbotts Dairies, the

entire pricing mechanism has been invalidated, the rea-

soning of the Third Circuit would a fortiori dictate

against remand to the Secretary for prolonged eviden-

tiary proceedings here.

In its opinion, the Third Circuit made three points which

are directly applicable to this case and which should control

the disposition of Borden’s damage claims:

1. The Third Circuit firmly and unambiguously re-

jected the notion that the calculation of damages would

require evaluation of complex economic relationships, CONCLUSION

pointing out the futility of “any attempt at reconstruct-

ing economic history.” The Court found that the record

before it permitted the calculation of the overpayments

made by the dairy and held that this was the proper

measure of damages. Overpayments are even more

readily ascertainable in Borden’s case, and therefore

For the foregoing reasons, the Order of Reversal should be

vacated and the judgment of the district court after the ini-

tial remand affirmed. In the alternative, this case should be

set for reargument in light of the intervening Abbotts Dairies

should be the measure of damages, as this Court held on decision.

the first appeal. The Third Circuit in reversing the Dis- il bmitted

trict Court found this to be a far simpler ang more di- sans seins Oo bE

rect means of ascertaining damages than that urged by

the Secretary, both in that case and here, explaining, Stuart 8. Batt

“This or related litigation has already extended One of the attorneys for

over an eight-year period and has received consider- Borden, Inc.

able judicial and administrative attention, as de-

scribed earlier. At this stage we cannot view lightly

the possibility of further complication and delay.” [Relevant portions of the Slip Opinion of the Couri of

(Slip Opinion, at 15). Appeals in Abbotts, which opinion was appended to the above

2. The Third Circuit ruled that there was “no reason Petition for Rehearing and for Rehearing En Banc, are con-

for a remand to the Secretary” and that the damages tained in the Appendix, supra, as Ex. G.]

should be ascertained by the district court in accordance

with its opinion. (Slip Opinion, at 14-16).

3. The Third Circuit reaffirmed the correctness of

Fairmoni Foods Co. v. Hardin, 442 F.2d 762 (D.C. Cir.

1971) and cited as well the mandate of this court on the

initial appeal in this case both as to the measure of

damages and as to the procedure to be followed in ascer-

a-48

Exhibit I

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

September 8, 1978.

Before

Hon. HARLINGTON WOOD, JR., Circuit Judge

Hon.

a-49

STANTER RENEWED PETITION FOR REHEAR-

ING AND FOR REHEARING EN BANC” filed herein

on September 5, 1978 hy counsel for the defendant-

appellant.

On consideration thereof, this court being fully advised con-

cerning the circumstances of this matter,

IT IS ORDERED that the motion of the plaintiff-appellee

for leave to file instanter its renewed petition for rehearing

and suggestion for rehearing en banc is hereby DENIED.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, however, that the man-

date of this court be STAYED until September 15, 1978.

Hon.

BORDEN, INC., ) Appeal from the United

Plaintff-A ppellee, States District Court for

No. 77-1805 the Northern District of

Us. P

BOB BERGLAND, Secretary of the

Department of Agriculture,

Defendant-A ppellant.

Illinois, Eastern Division

No. 74-C-2533

James B. Parsons,

Judge

This matter comes before the court for its consideration

upon the filing herein of the following documents:

(1) The “MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE IN-

STANTER RENEWED PETITION FOR REHEAR-

ING AND FOR REHEARING EN BANC” filed herein

on August 28, 1978 by counsel for the plantiff-appellee.

(2) The “APPELLEE’S RENEWED PETITION

FOR REHEARING AND FOR REHEARING EN

BANC” received herein on August 28, 1978 by counsel

for the plaintiff-appellee.

(3) The “REQUEST FOR FURTHER EXTEN-

SION OF STAY OF MANDATE” filed herein on

August 29, 1978 by counsel for the plaintiff-appellee.

(4) The “APPELLANT’S OPPOSITION TO AP-

PELLEE’S MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE IN-

a-50

Exhibit J

SIDLEY & AUSTIN

1730 Pennsytvania Avenue, N.W. Cuicaco Orrice

Ww D.C. 20006 One First Nationat Piaza

agar Cuicaco, Ittinois 60670

TELEPHONE 202: 872-1730 TeLernone 312: 329-5400

TeLex 25-4364

Teex 89-463

AssociaTED European Orrice

27 AVENUE DE TERVUEREN

Founded in 1866 as 1040 Brussets, Betcium

Williams & Thompson Terex 346-24192

August 10, 1973

Edward Silverstein, Esquire

United States Department of

Agriculture

Office of the General Counsel

Washington, D.C. 20250

Re: In re Borden, Inc., AMA Docket M 63-2

Dear Mr. Silverstein:

With respect to the revised Stipulation accompanying Mr.

Chernauskos’ letter to me dated July 24, 1973, we were con-

cerned initially with the fact that the paragraphs contained

in our proposed stipulation relating to Borden’s Class I sales

qualifying under the Quad Cities-Dubuque Order during the

relevant time periods were eliminated.

However, after discussing this matter with you, we un-

derstand that these paragraphs were eliminated with the

thought that this proceeding be decided initiaily on the basis

a-51

of the legal issues only and that the question of the refund to

which Borden, if successful, is entitled be resolved at a later

date, informally or otherwise. This is entirely agreeable to us

and we are, accordingly, enclosing the signed Stipulation.

We also discussed the matter of a briefing schedule and

agreed that, subject to concurrence of the Administrative Law

Judge, Borden’s brief would be filed October 1, the Depart-

ment’s brief on November 1, and Borden’s reply on Novem-

ber 15, 1973.

I presume that you will advise us as to the precise briefing

schedule established by the Judge.

Very truly yours,

/s/ Lee A. Monroe

Lee A. Monroe

LAM: laf

Enclosure

a-52

Exhibit K

SIDLEY & AUSTIN

1730 Pennsyivania Avenue, N.W. Cuicaco Orrice

Wasninoton, D.C. 20006 One Finst Nationat Piaza

Cuicaco, Iitwwom 60670

Texernone 202: 872-1730 ee 312: 320-5400

Teiex 89-463 yo

Associ4teo Evrortan Orrice

27 Avenue ve Tervuener

Founded in 1866 as 1040 Baussets, Betoium

Willams & Thompson Terex 346-24192

September 10, 1973

Office of Hearing Examiners

U.S. Department of Agriculture

Washington, D.C. 20250

In re: Borden, Inc., AMA Docket M63-2

Dear Sir:

Enclosed for appropriate distribution in connection with

the above docket are four (4) copies of the Stipulation and

all of the documents which are incorporated therein. In ac-

cordance with the Stipulation, the factual recitations and at-

tached exhibits are to constitute the exclusive basis for decid-

ing the legal issues in this proceeding.

In accordance with our agreement with Mr. Silverstein,

the submission of evidence establishing the monetary refund

to which Petitioner, if successful, may be entitled has been

deferred until the legal issues have been resolved

Very truly yours,

/s/ Lee A. Monroe

Lee A. Monroe:bab

ce: John H. Sandor, w/o encls.

Edward Silverstein, w/o encls.

a-53

Exhibit L

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

BEFORE THE SECRETARY OF AGRICULTURE

In re:

Borden, Inc AMA Docket No. M63-3

Petitioner

Respondent’s Response to the Judicial Officer’s

June 30, 1978 Decision and Order

The Judicial Officer’s June 30, 1978 Decision and Order

and his July 18, 1978 denial of respondent’s ‘Motion to

Modify Remand Order” required respondent to engage in

further rulemaking. As directed, further rulemaking, by way

of analysis of the 1973 record, was conducted. Such analysis

led to the conclusion that additional findings, based on

adequate record evidence, could not be made to sustain the

Assistant Secretary's January 24, 1974 decision.

ln view of the above, respondent respectfully submits that

petitioner is entitled to a hearing to prove financial injury it

suffered as a result of the challenged decision. §8c(15) of the

Agricultural Marketing Agreement Act of 1937, as amended

(7 U.S.C. 608c(15)). Respondent respectfully requests that

this matter be remanded to the Adminstrative Law Judge

for such a hearing. See the April 20, 1978 decision of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit (Bor-

den, Inc. v. Bergland, No. 77-1805), attached to respondent’s

“Motion To Modify Remand Order” filed July 14, 1978, in

a-54

which the Court ruled that damage issues in this type of

proceeding must be initially ruled upon by the Secretary who

has primary jurisdiction under the Act.

Respectfully submitted,

Epwarp M. SILVERSTEIN

EDWARD M. SILVERSTEIN

Attorney for Respondent

Motion Granted

/s/Doxatp A. CAMPBELL

Donald A. Campbell

Judicial Officer

Office of the Secretary

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.