Amicus Brief — Califano v. Westcott

Supreme Court brief1979

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBER TERM, 1978

oo

No. 78-437 \"

JOsEPH A. CaLiFANo, Secretary of Health,

Education and Welfare, Appellant,

— |

Crnpy Westcort, et al., Appellees.

>

No. 78-689

ALEXANDER SHARP, II, Commissioner of the Massachusetts

Department of Public Welfare, Appellant,

—Vi—

Crnpy WeEstcort, et al., Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF AMICI CURIAE

AND BRIEF AMICI CURIAE

of American Civil Liberties Union, Center for Women Policy

Studies, Federally Employed Women, Federation of Organizations

for Professional Women, League of Women Voters of the United

States, National Association of Black Women Attorneys, Inc.,

National Organization for Women, National Women’s Health

Network, NOW Legal Defense and Education Fund, Rural Ameri-

can Women, Women’s Legal Defense Furd and Women’s Lobby.

Nancy Durr CAMPBELL RutH BapgeR GINSBURG

Women’s Rights Project Diana A. STEELE

Center for Law and American Civil Liberties

Social Policy Union Foundation

1751 N Street, N.W. 22 East 40th Street

Washington, D.C. 20036 New York, New York 10016

RosauinD M. Gordon Puyuuis N, SEGAL

1 Battery Park Plaza NOW Legal Defense and

New York, New York 10004 Education Fund

36 West 44th Street

New York, New York 10036

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

a

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Table GE AWVEHMOPLtiGS.«cccccccececcs aa. |

Motion for Leave to File Brief

Amici Curiae eoevre#e#e#e#e#e#eee#e#e#e#e#e#e#ee#e## @# @ l

DR Be rs nbc ccs ceccccccccce 4

De, es caw ecacccesecccocccece 5

Questions Presented.......ceeeeeeeeee 5

Statement of the Case......2.eeeeee00 5

Summary of the Argument............. 16

ARGUMENT :

I. Section 407, by authorizing pay-

ment of benefits to needy two-

parent families with children de-

prived of parental support or

care because of the father's un-

employment, but not to identical-

ly situated families deprived

because of the mother's unemploy-

ment, violates the equal pro-

tection component of the due

process clause of the fifth

MURINE ob wesc ccccciccscccccscs 29

A. Section 407 invidiously dis-

criminates on the basis of

Dc hbbheseebenseccoccce 29

Section 407 creates a sex-

based classification rest-

ing on archaic and stereo-

typical assumptions about

WOMB ng cece wasteceesense 29

Section 407 discriminates

against women and their

families by depriving them

of benefits granted to

identically situated men

and their families......38

The section 407 gender-based

Classification is not sub-

stantially related to any

important governmental

OPISCCAVR i cackevissessecvee 45

me

The proper standard of

review for the section

407 gender-based classif-

ication is set forth in

Craig v. Boren....cccce 45

Section 407 does not

fairly advance the objec-

tive it was enacted to

eee Mteeetvsecs SO

Prevention of paternal

desertion was not the

objective of the section

407 gender classification.

In any event, the sex

Classification does not

fairly serve the need of

deterring paternal deser-

ee

If.

Cc.

CeAeIERIAR ccc ccrvevseseacuce 66

The appropriate judicial remedy in

this case is to extend the AFDC-U

program to families in which either

parent is unemployed, not to com-

pletely restructure the program

through the addition of a prin-

cipal wage earner test........68

A.

B.

Introduction...... reer

Extension, not invalidation,

is the appropriate rem-

edy.

1.

eoenwnee <Cneawendssweeokeure

The presence of a sever-

ability clause in the

Social Security Act sup-

ports extension.......75

The congressional com-

mitment to the AFDC-U

program supports ex-

Cension..ccocccscecssscel®

Extension can easily be

accomplished within the

administrative framework

of the statute........78

Any restructuring of the AFDC-U

program to include a principal

wage earner limitation should

‘ce accomplished by Congress,

not this court......2+.++-93

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

1. Difficult policy ques-

tions would have to be

resolved by the Court

in order to accept

Massachusetts’ princi-

pal wage earner limita-

CIGN sc cocovesnssdatoenwaee

Abbott v. Mathews, No. 74-194

(N.D. Ohio, 1976), aff'd

sub nom,Califano v. Abbott,

Bae ue, Wee TACT ccc cccece ee yc

Bowen v. Hackett, 361 F.

Supe. G54 Rik. 19731... cvcce 74

2. The difficulty of pre-

dicting the remedy that

Congress would select. :

TYTTTiCT TTC ee

Browne v. Califano,

No. 77-1249 (E.D. Pa.

June 9, 1978), appeal held

in abeyance, No. 78-603

0.8. Dec. ib, 1976) ...14,36,75,%

3. If any prediction can be

made about the remedy

Congress would select, it

is that Congress would

favor simple extension

without a principal wage

earner limitation....116

Califano v. Goldfarb, 430 U.s. 199(1977)

coe 17,18,22,33,359,39,40,42 ,43,44,

45,48,49,65,66,72,76,85,86,114,123

Califano v. Jobst, 434 U.S.

47 (1977) 45

x.

4. Congress will act if it Califano v. Webster, 430 U.S.

prefers a remedy more

complex than straight- | 313 (1977) 48

forward extension....121

| Cleveland Board of Education

COMCTLGTION « ooo vd cniddvaccebeee | v- La Fleur, 414 U.S. 632 (1974)

2 ee re Ff

Craig v. Boren, 429 U.S. 190

(1977) eeeeeee oan ,19,45,48,49,57,58

vn

Cases: Page

Demiragh v. DeVos, 476

F.2d 403 (2d Cir. 1973) ecccccecel4

Frontiero v. Richardson,

411 U.S. 677 (1973) ecccccccccece

--17,18,23,33,35,39,42 ,44,47,65,72

Graham v. Richardson,

Se ee Se CEPT RL cascdevececante

Jablon v. Secretary of

HEW, 430 U.S. 924 (1977),

aff'g 399 F. Supp. 118

(D.Md. 1975).. 22,72,76,85,107,115

Jiminez v. Weinberger,

417 0.6. 626 (1974) evccesccccssvelé

Kahn v. Shevin, 416 U.S.

351 (1974) cccccccvccccccicccccccd&

Mathews v. DeCastro, 429

U.S. 181 (1976) saoctocccccrvcese c4S

Mathews v. Eldridge, 424

U.s. 319 PESO BR eeredesotocessecss

Mathews v. Lucas, 427 U.S.

495 (2976) 0c 6cbdcsoeseeecs643,45,49

Memorial Hospital v, Maricopa

County, 415 U.S. 250 (1974)..65,72

Miller v. Laird, 349 F. Supp.

1034 2.8.6 Det cdeaknaeeeeeeonte

met nk ee

iii.

Cases: p Page

Moritz v. Commissioner, 469

F. 2d 466 (10th Cir.

1972), cert. denied,

412 U.8. 906 (1973)... cee

Moss v. Secretary of

HEW, 408 F. Supp. 403

(M.D. Fla. 1976), dismissed

by stipulation, No. 74-721

(SUSY AO) DOPE) oc bckvencudsnnn

New Jersey Welfare

Rights Organization

v. Cahill, 411 U.S.

GLP CASTS civ eredkcnes osasdevee

Orr v. Orr, No. 77-

11L9 (U.8. Mer. 35,

oa Torre r rere err re err ey

Philbrook v. Glodgett,

421 Fe 708 (A97Oh decceanc sae

Reed v. Reed, 404 U.S.

71 (1971).....19,32,46,47,49,65,66

Richardson v. Davis,

409 U.S. 1069, aff'g

mem., 342 F. Supp. 588

(DO. Coma B91TS) vcctvcdedscucanae

iv.

Cases: Page

Rosado v. Wyman, 397

U.S. 397 (1970)

eoeeneneeeee Seatoecee

Silbowitz v. Secretary

of HEW, 397 F. Supp. 862

(D. Fla. 1975), aff'd

sub nom, Califano v. Sil-

bowitz, 430 U.S. 924

(1977)

GUNS G08D O00 O00 8 be 6 b4e Osh ORED

Stanton v. Stanton, 421

U.S. 7 (1975), eoereeeeee oeeesces es c4e

Stevens v. Califano, 448

F. Supp. 1313 (N.D. Ohio

1978), appeal held in

abeyance, No. 78-449 (U.S.

Dec. 11, 1978)...14,36,55,63,75,92

Townsend v. Swank, 404

U.S. 282 og | RE

United States Dep't of

Agriculture v. Moreno, 413

U.S. 528 (S070) 6h 0s b0e8sc000 68,72

Vacoarella v. Fusari, 369

F. Supp. 1164°(D. Conn. 1973)...74

Cases: Page

Weinberger v. Salfi, 422

Use 749 (1975) coccsvccccceve 44

Weinberger v. Wiesenfeld,

420 U.S. 636 (1975) wcccccoks silG,

23,33,35,39,40,42,43,44,45,72,76

Welsh v. United States,

298 U.S. 333 (1970)

eeeeeeeenseeneeneeeee 22 ,23,71,73,74

Statutes:

42 U8. $60L.cccccccccece eenee 6

42 UVsbeGe ft er

42 U.S.C. §606.......7,80,89,120

42 U.S.C. §607

cccensecdcceeGs latte toeeeeGe etal

42 Us eee BlIOs ccccecssoacveot

42 mm $1396 Bc cccscccecserse®

P.L. 94-566, §507,

90 Stat. Bs 60 60 0-00 606e0nnee

vi.

Statutes: Pages

P.L. 95-216, SN eid a an

Pub. L. No. 87-31,

75 Stat. ae ae ee ee re es

Regulations:

45 C.F.R. §206.10

RAE EE re,

45 C.F.R. §233.100

Bh sy) i ee oe

6 CHSR III, Pt. 303

Subpt. A §303.01-

ee ee re ee Lt

6 CHSR III, Subch. A,

Pt. 301, 2 | Rk nr ae |

—

ra

Legislative History:

aG7 Come. Rec. 2795 (i961)... ccecdd

107 Cong. Rec. 3759 (1961).......35

107 Cong. Rec. 3761 (1961).......60

107 Cong. Rec. 3765 (1961).......-60

107 Cong. Rec. 3766 (1961).......35

107 Cong. Rec. 3769 (1961)... 35,60

107 Cong. Rec. 6401 (1961)... 35,60

vii.

Legislative History: _ Page

108 Cong. Rec. 4272 (1962) .....35

108 Cong. Rec. 13879 (1962).....35

108 Cong. Rec. 14139 (1962).....35

113 Cong. Rec. 33193 (1967).....63

113 Cong. Rec. 33194 (1967) .....63

33 Fed. Reg. 17111 (Nov. 16,

1968)

34 Fed. Reg. 1146 (June 24,

SOOTE dons vekeancadudtacions6seear

H.R. 3864, 87th Cong,,l1st

Gass. (19G1) .cccastcccssccsneotn

H.R. 3865, 87th Cong.,lst

Sess. $2 (1961) .ccccecccldDd, 51,54

H.R. 10711, 95th Cong.,2d

Sess. $205 (1978) ..ccccccccccislh

S.2777, 95th Cong., 2d Sess.

§101 (1978) .cccccccccccccccscdsl

H.R. Rep. No. 1414, 87th Cong.,

2d Sess. (1962) ..ccccccccccceed®

H.R. Rep. No. 544, 90th Cong.,

lst Sess. 108 (1967) ...53,54,77

S. Rep. No. 628, 74th Cong.,

lst Sess. (1935) .ccceceessceeSO

S. Rep. No. 744, 90th Cong.,

lst Sess. 160 (1960), .......54

reprinted in 1967 U.S. Code

Cong. and Admin. News 2834,2997

S. Rep. No. 95-572, 95th Cong.,

lst Sess. 27-28 (1978) ......116

President's Message on Economic

Recovery and Growth, Feb. 2, 1961,

H.R. Doc. 81, 87th Cong.,lst Sess.

reprinted in 1961 U.S. Code Cong.

and Admin. News 1028 ,,..51,60,63

‘%

viii.

Legislative History: Page

Temporary Unemployment

Compensation and Aid

to Dependent Children

of Unemployed Parents:

Hearings on H.R. 3864

and H.R. 3865 Before The

House Committee on Ways

and Means, 87th Cong.,

lst Sess. 103-104 (1961) ..52,61

Books and Articles:

Bell, Working Wives and

Family Income,in Economic

Independence for Women 239

(Chapman, ed. 1976) ...........36

Collins, Social Welfare -

Effect of Eligibility for

Unemployment Compensation

On AFDC Benefits, 78

W.Va. L. Rev. 268 (1976),......54

Griffiths, Sex Discrimination

in Income Security Progmams,

49 Notre Dame Lawyer 534

Fe ee irre a

ix.

Books and Articles: Page

Guberman, Sex Discrimination in

Welfare Legislation, 12 Urban

L. Ann 125 (1976) occccccccccccceedII,9/

Gunther, The Supreme Court

1971 Term Forword: In Search

of Evolving Doctrine on a Changing

Court: A Model for a Newer Equal

Protection, 86 Harv. L. Rev. l

(1972) cccccccccccccccccccccscsccccccds

Hayghe, Families and the Rise of

Working Wives -- An Overview, U.S.

Department of Labor, Bureau of

Labor Statistics, Monthly Labor

Review 12 (May 1976) poeessaweeeeuae@e at

HEW, Health Care Financing Admin.,

Office of Research, Medicaid

Statistics April 1978 i (Nov. 1978)°°°

Johnston & Knapp, Sex Discrimina-

tion by Law: A Study in Judicial

Perspective, 46 N.Y.U.L. Rev.

675 (1971) eccceccccccceccccccescseredd

"Marital and Family Characteristics

of the Labor Force in March 1976,"

BLS Special Labor Force Report

Pe ee Oe re ee er eee ye ee

Memorandum for the United States as

Amicus Curiae, Cleveland Board of

Education v. La Fleur, 414 U.S.

Re |) ee eee Ti

Books and Articles:

Page

Randolph, Sex Discrimination

in the Family Benefits Section

of the Social Security Act, 8

Clearinghouse Rev. 535 (Dec.

LOPE) cccivcendceceessiscacesesenme

41 S . ] S it B 1] tj

(May 1976) ccscccescsccevcescee Sl

42 Social Security Bulletin

(Jan. 1979).......6,8,9,81,84,85

Pa

Task Force on Sex Discrimination

Civil Rights Division, United

States Department of Justice,

Interim Report to the President

(Oct. 3, 1978).

eoeeeoeenereeee 42,80

U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau

of Labor Statistics, Monthly

Labor Review

(April 1972) ...37

ae

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM 1978

NO. 78-437

JOSEPH A. CALIFANO, Secretary of Health,

Education and Welfare,

Appellant,

V.

CINDY WESTCOTT, et al.,

Appellees.

NO. 78-689

ALEXANDER SHARP, II, Commissioner of

the Massachusetts Department of

Public Welfare,

Appellant,

Vv.

CINDY WESTCOTT, et al.,

Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT

COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE

e l.

The American Civil Liberties Union, the

Center for Women Policy Studies, Federally

Employed Women, the Federation of Organi-

gations for Professional Women, the League

of Women Voters of the United States, the

National Association of Black Women Attor-

neys, Inc., the National Organization for

Women, the National Women's Health Net -

work, the NOW Legal Defense and Education

Fund, Rural American Women, the Women's Legal

Defense Fund and Women's Lobby respectfully

move, pursuant to Rule 42 of this Court's

Rules, to file the within brief amici

curiae in Sharp v. Westcott, et al. Counsel

for the appellees have consented to the

filing of this brief; counsel for appellant

Sharp has refused comment.

This brief is also filed on behalf

of the above-listed organizations in

Califano v. Westcott,with the written

y

consent of the parties as provided in

Rule 42 of this Court's Rules.

These organizations share a convic-

tion that individuals must be free to

participate in all facets of American

life without discrimination on the rye

of gender. Such discrimination is parti-

cularly intolerable when, as in the

statute challenged in this case, its

devastating impact falls upon women who

are poor and their families. These organ-

izations believe that such gender based

discrimination casts the weight of the

state on the side of traditional notions

about male/female behavior, shores up

artificial barriers to the attainment by

women and men of their full human poten-

tial and retards society's progress toward

equal opportunity. Because of these organiza-

Be | IN THE

tions' long-standing work towards the SUlras Gyyes OF SES UNSTED STATES

| OCTOBER TERM 1978

elimination of gender discrimination, they |

NO. 78-437

beliéve their brief will be of substantial :

JOSEPH A. CALIFANO, Secretary of Health

assistance to th r i

e Court in the resolution cheiiien ant Weitere.

of the issues raised by these cases. Appellant,

Respectfully submitted, | Vv.

CINDY WESTCOTT, et al.,

RUTH BADER GINSBURG Appellees.

DIANA A. STEELE

American Civil Liberties | NO. 78-689

Union Foundation |

22 East 40th Street

New York, New York 10016 ALEXANDER SHARP, II, Commissioner of the

| Massachusetts Department of Public Welfare,

NANCY DUFF CAMPBELL

t,

Women's Rights Project Siac

Center for Law and Social v.

Policy

1751 N Street, N.W. | CINDY WESTCOTT, et al.,

Washington, D.C. 20036

Appellees.

PHYLLIS N. SEGAL

;

NOW Legal Defense and ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES

Education Fund | DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

36 West 44th Street

New York, New York 10036

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE

ROSALIND M. GORDON | ; oe = ;

American Civ Liberties Union, Center For Women

A ee gl ga 4 Policy Studies, Federally Employed Women, Federation

- of Organizations for Professional Women, League of

Women Voters of the United States, National Associ-

Attorneys for Movants. ation of Black Women Attorneys, Inc., National

Women's Health Network, NOW Legal Defense and Edu-

cation Pund, Rural American Women, Women's Legal

Defense Fund and Women's Lobby.

5.

INTEREST OF AMICI

The interest of amici appears from

the foregoing motion.

I.

oe

declare unconstitutional and enjoin the en-

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether Section 407 of the Social

Security Act, by authorizing payment of

benefits for needy children of two-

parent families when the children are

deprived of parental support or care

because of the father's unemployment,

but not for identically situated

children of families deprived because

of the mother's unemployment, violates

the equal protection component of the

due process clause of the fifth amend-

ment.

Whether the appropriate judicial rem-

edy in this case is to extend the

AFDC-U program to families in which

either parent is unemployed, or

to completely restructure the program

through the addition of a principal

wage earner test. F

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is a class action commenced to

forcement of the gender classification

established in Section 407 of the Social

ee

6.

Security Act, 42 U.S.C. §607 (hereafter

Section 407), and the implementing Massa-

chusetts welfare regulations, 6 CHSR III,

Subch. A, Pt. 301, §301.03; Pt. 303

Subpt. A. §§303.01-303.04. Title IV of

the Social Security Act, of which Section

407 is a part, creates the Aid to Families

with Dependent Children Program (hereafter

AFDC), 42 U.S.C §601 et seq. Under this

program, states with an approved plan re-

ceive federal matching funds for cash

assistance paid to families with a "depen-

dent chila.* +/

Section 406(a) of the Act defines

dependent child as a needy child deprived

of parental support or care by reason of

the death, absence or incapacity of a

1/ The amount of benefits is determined by

each participating state, see Rosado v. Wyman,

397 U.S. 397(1970), and as of July, 1978, the

average payment per family ranged from a low

of $817 a year in Mississippi to a high of

$4707 a year in Hawaii. See 42 Soc. Sec. Bull.

77, Table M-35 (Jan. 1979).

7.

parent. 42 U.S.C. §606(a). Section 407(a),

held unconstitutional by the court below,

further defines the term "dependent child"

to include a "needy child ... who has been

deprived of parental support or care by

reason of the unemployment (as determined

in accordance with standards prescribed by

the Secretary) of his father...." 42 U.S.C.

§607(a). Eligibility for subsistence

benefits under this Aid to Families with

Dependent Children-Unemployed Fathers pro-

gram (hereafter AFDC-U) depends on meeting

rigorous financial and categorical criteria

designed to ensure that the recipient family

is needy and that the unemployed father has

a recent attachment to the work force and

a willingness to accept employment. 42 U.S.C.

§607; 45 C.F.R. §233.100(1977).

State participation in the AFDC-U program

8.

established under Section 407 is optional.+/

However, states electing to participate must

comply with the requirements of the Act

and implementing federal regulations.

See 42 U.S.C. §602. Since a dependent

child is defined as one deprived

because of a father's unemployment, federal

matching funds may not be provided for

AFDC-U benefits to children deprived

because of their mother's unemployment.

Families who receive AFDC-U benefits

(or, at state itt, vm are eligible but

who have not applied for cash assistance)

are also entitled to medical assistance bene-

fits under the federal-state Medicaid pro-

2/ Twenty-six states, the District of

Columbia and Guam participate in the AFDC-

U program. 42 Soc. Sec. Bull. 78 (Jan. 1979).

9.

gram. 42 U.S.C. §1396a(10) .-/ As with

AFDC-U, the Social Security Act does not per-

mit federal matching funds to be provided

for Medicaid benefits to needy children de-

prived of support or care because of the un-

employment of their mother.

Massachusetts has exercised its option

under Section 407 to make AFDC-U payments

and to provide Medicaid coverage to fam-

ilies with children deprived of parental

support or care because of the father's

unemployment and receives fifty percent of

the cost of its AFDC-U and Medicaid

payments from the federal govern-

_3/ Medicaid benefits are provided in the

form of direct payments to providers of

medical services. Participation in the Med-

icaid program is also optional with the states,

but all states that participate in the AFDC-uU

program also participate in Medicaid. Compare

42 Soc. Sec. Bull. 78 (Jan. 1979) (states par-

ticipating in the AFDC-U program) with HEW,

Health Care Financing Admin., Office of

Research, Medicaid Statistics April 1978 i

(Nov. 1978) (states participating in the

Medicaid program).

QV

10.

ment. Because federal funds are not avail-

able, the state does not provide AFDC-U or

Medicaid benefits to families with children

deprived of support or care because of the

mother's unemployment.

Appellees Cindy and John Westcott and

Susan and John Westwood are married couples

who reside in Massachusetts. Both are par-

ents of a son.

On November 26, 1976, the Westcotts'

application for AFDC-U benefits was denied

because William Westcott did not have suf-

ficient quarters of work to satisfy Section

407's definition of an unemployed father.

See note 7 infra. Cindy Westcott's

potential ability to qualify her family for

AFDC-U was not considered because of

Section 407's gender limitation. According

4/ See 6 CHSR III, Subch. A, Pt. 301,

§301.03; Pt. 303, subpt. A, §303.01,

§ 303.04.

11.

to an affidavit of Cindy and William

Westcott, their landlord, who was seeking

overdue payment of their rent, suggested that

they separate so that Cindy Westcott and her then

unborn child would be eligible to receive

AFDC benefits,J.S. of Appellant Califano,

App. 27A.

On March 2, 1977, Susan and John

Westwood's application for Medicaid benefits

was denied because John Westwood had in-

sufficient work history to meet the defini-

tion of an unemployed father.J.S. of

Appellant Califano, App. 10A. Susan West-

wood's potential ability to qualify egy Ce

ily for Medicaid was not considered because

of Section 407's gender limitation.

Pursuant to a stipulation for the pur-

poses of this litigation between the attor-

neys for the Westcotts and the Westwoods

and the attorneys for Massachusetts, the

Ce

ies

Westcotts' and Westwoods' eligibility under

Section 407 was redetermined. Based on

their work histories, Cindy Westcott and

Susan Westwood were found to meet the def-

inition of "unemployed," but for the

gender requirement. Pursuant to the

stipulation, the Westcotts were granted

AFDC-U benefits and the Westwoods were

granted Medicaid benefits. J.S. of

Appellant Califano, App. 9A-10A.

On April 20, 1978, the district court

held that the gender classification created

by Section 407 violated the equal protection

component of the due process clause of the

fifth amendment. [It applied the review

stamiard enunciated in Craig v. Boren, 429

U.S. 190, 197 (1977), that to withstand

constitutional measurement "classifications

by gender must serve important governmental

objectives and must be substantially related

aos

to the achievement of those objectives?

J.S. of Appellant Califano, App. 21A-29A.

The court first identified the governmental

objectives of Section 407: the protection

and care of needy children in families with-

out a wage earner's support and the mainten-

ance of family structure and stability. J.s. of

Appellant Califano, App. 27A. It then deter-

mined that the Section 407 sex-based classifi-

cation failed to further either interest. More

than that, the court concluded the male/fe-

male distinction in this context was irration-

al and ,indeed, thwarted the objective of

family stability- J.S. of Appellant Califano,

App. 27A. Additionally, the district court

reasoned that the sex classification was

impermissible because it was rooted in an

archaic and overbroad generalization about

the role of women in society.J.S. of

14.

Appellant Califano, App. 29A-30A. Finally,

the court ruled that the proper judicial

remedy was extension of the AFDC-U program

to all families with needy children in

which either parent is unemployed within

the meaning of the Act and implementing

regulations. J.S. of Appellant Califano,

App. 36A-37A.—/

The federal appellant, Secretary

Califano, has appealed only the holding

that Section 407 violates the due process

clause of the fifth amendment. The

>

a

_5/ In accord in all respects are Stevens v.

Califano, 448 F. Supp. 1313 (N.D. Ohio 1978),

appeal held in abeyance, No. 78-449 (U.S.

Dec. 11, 1978); Browne v. Califano, Civ.

Action No. 77-1249 (E.D. Pa. June 9, 1978),

appeal held in abeyance, No. 78-603 (U.S.

Dec. 11, 1978). To date no jurist has

reached a contrary conclusion

15.

Massachusetts appellant, Commissioner

Sharp, although initially arguing in

favor of the extension remedy, later

reversed his position.2/ He appeals

only the remedy ordered by the district

court.

6 _/Massachusetts, in its original argument

supporting extension in the event the gender

line was held unconstitutional, did not sug-

gest that the AFDC-U program should be

restructured to include a principal wage earner

limitation. Appellees' Motion to Affirm 5.

After the district court's April 20, 1978 order

and opinion, Massachusetts moved for amendment

or clarification to permit the state to redesign

its AFDC-U program to incorporate a principal

wage earner test. On August 9, 1978, the

court denied the motion on the grounds that

it was up to Congress to restructure the

AFDC-U program, beyond the court's remedy.

App. 43-48.

16.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The court below held that Section 407

of the Social Security Act, by authorizing

payments to needy two-parent families with

children deprived of parental support or

care because of the father's unemployment,

but not to identically situated families

deprived because of the mother's unemploy-

ment, violated the equal protection component

of the due process clause of the fifth amend-

ment. It ordered that the AFDC-U program,

established by Section 407, be extended to

all families with needy children in which

either the mother or the father is unemployed

within the meaning of the Act and implemen-

ting regulations. Its decision, supported in

all respects by this Court's precedents, legis-

lative history and the congressional policies

underlying the-AFDC-U program, warrants

swift and secure affirmation.

i

i.

This Court has made clear that laws

based on archaic and overbroad generalizations

about women's role in society, even when sup-

ported by empirical evidence, are inevitably

biased and therefore intolerable. Califano

v. Goldfarb, 430 U.S. 199 (1977); Weinberger

v. Wiesenfeld, 420 U.S. 636 (1975); Frontiero

v. Richardson, 411 U.S. 677 (1973). The

legislative history of Section 407 reveals

that it is predicated upon such a generaliz-

ation. Congress assumed that mothers were

not wage earners and that even when they

engaged in paid work, their employment would

not be significant to their families. This

legislative stereotyping is invidious not

only because it shapes official policy but

also because that policy then reinforces the

accuracy of the stereotype. In spite of this,

however, statistics both now and at the time

18.

Congress enacted Section 407 indicate that

women's work is significant to many families.

Although the Solicitor General concedes

that Section 407 is gender based, he then

argues that it is not gender biased. His

reasoning -- that in every case the family

unit affected by the grant or denial of aid

consists of one man, one woman and children

of both sexes -- cannot withstand even

cursory analysis. The classification is

indistinguishable on any sensible ground from

the classifications declared unconstitutional

in Frontiero, Wiesenfeld and Goldfarb, in which

the disfavored units were also families.

Indeed, the discrimination is more pernicious

here because gender operates not merely to

disadvantage but totally to disqualify, and

the disqualification is from a program offer-

ing only subsistence benefits.

19.

In Craig v. Boren, 429 U.S. 190 (1977),

the Court made explicit the elevated review

standard for sex-based classifications evolving

from its precedents since Reed v. Reed, 404

U.S. 71 (1971). It made clear that "[t]o with-

stand constitutional challenge ... classifica-

tions by sex must serve important governmental

objectives and must be substantially related

to those objectives." 429 U.S. at 197. It

has unequivocally reaffirmed this standard

in Orr v. Orr, No. 77-1119 (U.S. Mar. 5, 1979).

The legislative history of the AFDC-U

program demonstrates that its objective was

to alleviate the harsh financial and social

effects of parental unemployment upon the

family. It was proposed by President Kennedy

in 1961 along with a plan to extend the

duration of unemployment compensation. Its

declared purpose was to "make assistance

available to needy families in which the

breadwinner is unemployed." H.R. 3865, 87th

Tt i A tt

20.

Cong., ist Sess., §2 (1961). Although the

original statute was gender neutral, the

congressional hearings reveal that Congress

assumed that the families in need would be

those who had been financially supported by

the father. The 1968 amendment, changing

the word "parent" to "father", sought to

assure that AFDC-U would operate as intended --

as a program responsive to the unemployment

of one who had in fact earned wages for the

family. Congress viewed the change as a

means to correct the abuse of the program

by some states in which aid had been pro-

vided to full-time homemakers with no recent

attachment to the labor force. In lieu of

a gender-neutral method of determining

eligibility, Congress sex-typed the members

of the family and enacted the current

Section 407.

21.

Section 407 is not fairly related to

the objective of aiding families in need due

to parental unemployment. For the purposes

of a child benefit program, family units

faced with identical needs resulting from

unemployment should receive identical bene-

fits. Using the sex of a parent as a test

for inclusion or exclusion is irrational.

Deterring father desertion, a purpose

attributed to AFDC-U by the Solicitor General,

was seen by Congress as an effect rather than

a purpose of the program at its inception.

Moreover, the 1968 gender line curtailed

the original program's desertion-preventing

effect. By limiting eligibility to families

in which the father was unemployed, Congress

once again gave fathers incentive to leave

when need was caused by the mother's unem-

ployment. It also gave unemployed mothers

incentive to desert not present in the earlier

>

law.

II.

Because the decision to remedy a con-

stitutionally defective statute requires a

court to change a legislative provision,

the courts have generally limited themselves

to changes that can be accomplished in the

simplest fashion possible. The choice of

remedy presented has accordingly been re-

stricted to whether the statute should be

extended to bring in the individuals ex-

cluded by the legislature, or invalidated.

Welsh v. United States, 398 U.S. 333, 361

(1970) (Harlan, J.,concurring). When faced

with this choice in gender discrimination

caees, especially those involving public

benefits, this Court has consistently ex-

tended the coverage of the infirm statute.

See, e.g., Califano v. Goldfarb, 430 U.S.

199; Jablon v. Secretary of HEW 430 U.S.

23.

924 (1977), aff'g 399 F. Supp. 1118 (Dp.

Md. 1975); Weinberger v. Wiesenfeld, 420

U.S. 636 ; Frontiero v. Richardson, 411 U.S.

677.

The test to determine whether extension

or invalidation is the appropriate remedy for

a constitutionally infirm statute is "whether

it more nearly accords with Congress' wishes

to eliminate its policy altogether or extend

it ... to render what Congress plainly did

intend, constitutional." Welsh v. United

States, 398 U.S. at 355-56. In determining

the remedy that Congress would prefer, the

presence or absence of a severability

clause in the statute, the extent of Congress‘

commitment to the underlying policy of the

statute, the amount of disruption to the

statutory scheme that might accompany

extension or invalidation, and the degree

24.

to which the remedy selected might impair

legislative goals beyond those recognized

by the statute itself are all relevant. An

analysis of each of these factors ineluctably

supports the remedy ordered by the district

court in this case -- extension of the AFDC-U

program to families with unemployed mothers.

Massachusetts argues that the proper rem-

edy in this case is neither extension nor inval-

jdation, but rather judicial restructuring of

the program to include a principal wage earner

limitation. Judicial redesign of this character

is unprecedented. Indeed, the issue of the appro-

priate remedy for unconstitutionally underinclu-

sive statutes has been limited to whether a court

should extend or invalidate the statute

precisely to avoid the difficult policy

questions that are raised if the court is |

forced to sit as a legislature and evaluate

all other possible remedies that might be

available.

25.

The kinds of policy decisions in which

the court would have to become embroiled

in order to restructure the AFDC-U program

to include a principal wage earner limitation

illustrate why any such restructuring should

be left to Congress. First, the Court would

have to arrive at a definition of principal

wage earner, for there is nothing inherently

obvious in Massachusetts' definition and,

indeed, it is not even internally consistent.

Second, the Court would have to decide whether

families currently receiving AFDC-U should

have their benefits terminated by judicial

decree, for this would be the result in all

those families in which the father is not

the principal wage earner -- possibly as

many as twenty-nine percent of families current-

ly eligible. Third, the Court would have to

determine whether the cost savings attributed

to the-~ principal wage earner test by

26.

Massachusetts are sufficient to justify

the imposition of such a test. This is an

aimost impossible task, given the way in

which Massachusetts calculated those esti-

mates. Fourth, the Court must consider

whether the disparate impact that the prin-

cipal wage earner test has on women

should counsel against its adoption. All

of these policy considerations are better

resolved by Congress.

Consideration of remedies beyond ex-

tension or invalidation of the statute should

be left to Congress for the further reason

that it is difficult to predict the remedy

that Congress would select. Moreover, if

any prediction can be made, it is that Congress

would favor simple extension without a prin-

cipal wage earner limitation. The language

and structure of the current AFDC program

are inconsistent with a principal wage earner

27.

limitation. Nothing in the legislative

history that Massachusetts advances

supports the limitation. Further, although

bills have been introduced in Congress to

amend the AFDC-U program to render it gender-

neutral, noen of the proposals would impose

a principal wage earner limitation such as

that Massachusetts suggests.

Whether this Court decides to extend or

invalidate Section 407, its decision is

of course only a form of tentative adjudi-

cation, not a definitive response to any

issues raised by the sex classification's

unconstitutionality. The ultimate responsi-

bility for the structure of the AFDC-U program

rests with Congress. Should Congress decide

upon restructuring more complex than extension,

it is well-equipped to redesign the program

expeditiously.

28.

In short, the district court's con-

clusion that Section 407's sex classifi-

cation is based on an archaic and overbroad

generalization about women and that it does

not fairly advance the purpose for which

it was enacted warrants this Court's firm

approbation. fts extension of the AFDC-U

program to families in which either parent

is unemployed merits similar affirmance.

SECTION 407, BY AUTHORIZING PAYMENT

OF BENEFITS TO NEEDY TWO-PARENT

FAMILIES WITH CHILDREN DEPRIVED OF

PARENTAL SUPPORT OR CARE BECAUSE

OF THE FATHER'S UNEMPLOYMENT, BUT

NOT TO IDENTICALLY SITUATED FAMILIES

DEPRIVED BECAUSE OF THE MOTHER'S

UNEMPLOYMENT, VIOLATES THE EQUAL

PROTECTION COMPONENT OF THE DUE

PROCESS CLAUSE OF THE FIFTH

AMENDMENT .

A. Section 407 Invidiously Discriminates

On The Basis of Gender.

1. Section 407 creates a sex-based

classification resting on archaic

and stereotypical assumptions about

women.

Section 407 plainly draws a dis-

tinction on the basis of gender. The

challenged law distinguishes between a fe-

male wage earner in a needy two-parent

family and a similarly situated male wage

earner. Although the family of the former

is ineligible for AFDC-U benefits, the fam-

ily of the latter qualifies for these sub-

30.

sistence payments. The legislative message

is inescapable: the only wage earner who

counts is male. The female wage earner,

regardless of her demonstrated earning capa-

bility, wes does not even come in second; she

_7/ In addition to the gender criteria,

eligibility for AFDC-U benefits depends on

meeting certain financial and categorical

criteria. Each family is required to show

need under a state-established standard.

45 C.F.R. §233.100(a) (1) (1977). Further,

the applying parent must (1) meet the federal

definition of unemployment,i.e., be employed

less than 100 hours per month, 45 C.F.R.

§233.100 (a) (1) (iii) (1977); 42 U.S.C.607 (a);

(2) demonstrate a recent prior attachment to

the work force,i.@e., either have earned

fifty dollars or more in each of six quarters

within any thirteen-quarter period ending within

one year of the application for benefits, or have

received or qualified fer unemployment compensa-

tion within that one year period, 42 U.S.C. §607(b)

(1) (C); (3) neither have worked nor refused a

bona fide job offer without good cause for 30 days

prior to receipt of AFDC-U benefits, 42 U.S.C.

§§607 (b) (1) (A), (B); and (4) meet certain work

registration requirements. 42 U.S.C. §607(b) (2) (C).

31.

does not count at athe Nor is she seen as

helping tc keep the two-parent family in-

tact. If she is out of work, it is assumed

that she, unlike her husband, will remain

with the family. The gender classification

of Section 407, predicated upon this congress-

ional assumption about women's role in the

family, cannot pass constitutional muster.

The guiding principle emerging in the

current decade from this Court's resolution

of constitutional challenges to official

classification by gender is evident: govern-

mental action based on archaic and overbroad

generalizations about women's role in society

is inevitably biased and therefore intoler-

able. As stated by the Solicitor General,

"no law may be based on sexual stereo-

types." Brief for Appellant Califano at 26.

Ineluctably,therefore, the Section 407

gender classification must fall, unless the

Court casts off its previous decisions to

32.

embrace the misconception underpinning the

Solicitor General's argument. Stereotype,

as he would now have it, means “unsupported

belief," an assumption not backed up by

"solid-statistical evidence." Id. at 33.

But stereotype is not a synonym for myth or

false impression. It identifies the average.

Thus most of the sexual stereotypes this

Court has rejected as a basis for legis-

lative line-drawing have abundant empirical

support; "solid statistical evidence " has

backed them up.

For example, although it can be documen-

ted that men are generally more active than

women in business affairs, the Court did not

tolerate the statutory preference of men

over women in the appointment of estate

administrators. Reed v. Reed, 404 U.S. 71

(1971). The Court also invalidated a

dependency test in the Social Security Act,

33.

applicable to widowers but not widows,

in spite of "solid statistical evidence”

that 78.5 percent of all married women, and

88.5 percent of those over fifty-five, are

dependent on their husbands. Califano v.

Goldfarb, 430 U.S. 199, 238 n. 7(1977)

(Rehnquist, J., dissenting). See also Weinberger

v. Wiesenfeld, 420 U.S. 636, 643{(1975);

Frontiero v. Richardson, 411 U.S. 677, 681-682 (1973)

The insidious practice this Court has

consistently condemned is the lawmakers'

habit of treating men and women who do not

fit the generalization -- the stereotype --

as if they did. Patterning official policy

in this manner is intolerable, not because it

is without empirical support, but because it

relies on a stereotype accurate for some --

even many -- families and applies it to all,

with the result that the stereotype continues

ee

34.

to be accurate.—2/ As stated most recently

by this Court, "[l]egislative classifications ...

on the basis of gender carry the inherent risk

or reinforcing stereotypes about the proper

place of women..." Orr v. Orr, No. 77-1119

(U.S. Mar. 5, 1979), slip op. at 14. In

short, the "solid-statistical evidence"

argument, although advanced time and again

by the Solicitor General, merits no more

weight on this occasion than it has carried

in the past —/

The legislative history of Section 407

reveals that the provision is predicated

upon a conventional image -- a stereotype --

_8/ See Johnston & Knapp, Sex Discrimination

by Law: A Study in Judicial Perspective, 46

N.Y.U.L. Rev. 675, 725-26 (1971).

_9/ This Court has been receptive to the

argument only when the classification was

perceived as preferential to women. Kahn v.

Shevin, 416 U.S. 351 (1974). There has never

been a claim that Section 407 can be viewed

as preferential to women.

35.

identical to those condemned in this Court's

prior cases. See Goldfarb, Wiesenfeld and

Frontiero. Congress regarded "breadwinner"

and "father" as synonyms. Mothers as "bread-

winners" never entered the lawmakers' cal-

culus. Throughout the Committee hearings and

floor debates the terms "wage earner," "“bread-

winner" and "father" were used interchange-

ably. i Congress apparently assumed that

genuine need would occur only when the family

was deprived of the father's wages. That

Congress was operating under the traditional

assumption of the father's preeminent economic

role in the family unit,to the virtual ex-

clusion of the mother's, has been the firm

conclusion of the district courts which, to

date, have considered the issue. See

10/ See, e.g., 107 Cong. Rec. 1795, 3761,

3766 (1361) (remarks of Rep. Mills); 107 Cong.

Rec. 3769(1961) (remarks of Rep. Cohelan);

107 Cong. Rec. 3759(1961) (remarks of Rep.

Lane); 107 Cong. Rec. 6401(1961) (remarks of

Sen. McCarthy); 108 Cong. Rec. 14139(1962)

(remarks of Rep. Mills); 108 Cong. Rec. 4272

(1962) (remarks of Rep. Keogh); 108 Cong. Rec.

13879(1962) (remarks of Sen. Byrd); H.R. Rep.

No. 1414, 87th Cong., 2d Sess. 9(1962).

—_ .

36.

Stevens v. Califano, 448 F. Supp. 1313;

Browne v. Califano, No. 77-1249.

In spite of legislation such as Section

407 reflecting and reinforcing traditional

notions, the trend in today's labor market

runs in the opposite direction. Women's

work does count in many families. Today,

the dual wage earner family represents

wef

"the typical American pattern." In 1975,

wives contributed approximately twenty-six

percent of their families’ income and of

11/ Bell, Working Wives and Family Income,

in Economic Independence for Women 239, 254,

258 (Chapman, ed. 1976). In 1975, nearly half

of all husband-wife families had two workers

or more and about two-fifths of all children

under eighteen were in such families.

Hayghe, Families and the Rise of Working

Wives -- An Overview, U.S. Department of .

Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics,

Monthly Labor Review 12 (May 1976)

37.

these,approximately twelve percent con-

tributed fifty percent or more,=—/

Moreover, statistics contemporaneous

with the enactment and amendment to Section

407 demonstrate that women's employment at

that time was significant to their families.

From 1960 to 1970, the median proportion of

family income contributed by gainfully

etieved wives approximated twenty-seven

13

percent. This contribution rose to thirty-

. 14

nine percent for wives who worked full tine.’

12/ See Marital and Family Characteristics

of the Labor Force in March 1976, BLS

Special Labor Force Report 206, Table L, at

A-41. In March 1975, 72 percent of gain-

fully employed wives were working full time.

About 27 percent of mothers with preschool

age children worked full time in 1974. This

figure rises to 41 percent of mothers of

school age children. Hayghe, Families and

the Rise of Working Wives - An Overview,

supra, at 16 n. ll.

13/ U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of

Labor Statistics, Monthly Labor Review 8

(April 1972).

14/ id.

a

38.

Had the old notion that men are wage

earners and women their dependents been less

deeply ingrained, the 90th Congress might

have noticed that women's employment is

often crucial to their families' well being

and thus that women's unemployment, too, can

have a devastating impact. Instead, Section

407 reflects the habitual legislative dis-

regard of women workers, their status, and

the reality of family economic interdependence.

The classification diminishes the value of

women's contributicns to family income,

aggrandizes the value of men's contributions

and places an official imprimatur on categor-

ization of women as second-class workers.

2. Section 407 discriminates against

women and their families by depriving

them of benefits granted to identically

situated men and their families.

Although the Solicitor General concedes

that Section 407 “unquestionably entails a

39.

distinction on the basis of gender,'

Brief for Appellant Califano at 7, he then

argues that its application is not "gender

biased." Id. at 8. His reasoning -- that

"in every case the grant or denial of aid

to the entire family affects, to an equal

degree, one man, one woman, and children of

both sexes" -- cannot withstand even cursory an-

alysis. Id.The classification is indistinguish-

able on any sensible ground from the classifi-

cations declared unconstitutional in Frontiero,

Wiesenfeld and Goldfarb. Those decisions

ineluctably establish that Section 407

invidiously discriminates against both the

woman and her family.

In Frontiero, the Court invalidated a

dependency test for male but not female

military spouses. Only the servicewoman was

required to prove her spouse's dependency in

order to receive a housing allowance for the

40.

couple and medical and dental benefits for

the spouse. No such requirement was

imposed upon servicemen. Since the benefits

in question were designed only for family

units, every benefited unit, and correspond-

ingly, every disfavored unit, consisted of

aman and a woman. Nonetheless, the Court

ruled that the denial of a housing allowance

and medical and dental benefits to Sharron

and Joseph Frontiero was indeed gender based

and gender biased.

In Weinberger v. Wiesenfeld, and

Califano v. Goldfarb, in which the Court

held gender-based distinctions in the

Social Security Act invalid, the disparity

in family benefit eligibility when the cov-

ered wage earner was female was also at

41.

teanee’ For example, in Wiesenfeld, the

Court found the "gender-based distinction...

entirely irrational. The classification

discriminates among surviving children solely

on the basis of the sex of the surviving

parent." 420 U.S. at 65l. In Goldfarb,

requiring widowers but not widows to prove

dependency on a covered wage earner was held

impermissible because "Social Security is

designed ... for the protection of the fam-

ily and the section discriminates against

one particular category of family -- that in

which the female spouse is a wage earner cov-

ered by social security." 430 U.S. at 209.

15/ In addition to the Court's multiple

findings of unconstitutional gender discrim-

ination in the Social Security Act, commen-

tators have repeatedly criticized the dis-

criminatory, stereotypical assumptions upon

which many of the Act's benefit programs are

predicated. See,e.g., Randolph, Sex Dis-

crimination in the Family Benefits Section

of the Social Security Act, 8 Clearinghouse

Rev. 535 (Dec. 1974); Griffiths, Sex

Discrimination in Income Security Programs,

49 Notre Dame Lawyer 534, 543 (1974).

ee ee

42.

The statute in this case is as gender

based in origin and as gender biased in re-

sult as the statutory provisions invalidated

in Frontiero, Wiesenfeld and Goldfarb. In-

deed, in stunning contrast to the Solicitor

General's outlandish "no gender bias" argu-

ment, the Department of Justice's own Task

Force on Sex Discrimination has described

Section 407 as “overtly and substantively dis-

16/

criminat[ing] against women." Moreover,

the discrimination here is, if anything, even

more blatant and more harmful than that in

Frontiero, Wiesenfeld, or Goldfarb. First,

Frontiero and Goldfarb involved presumptions

that could be rebutted. In those cases,

spouses of female wage earners who could

prove dependency, albeit under a stringent

Task Force on Sex Discrimination, Civil

Rights Division, U.S. Department of Justice,

Interim Report to the President 1% (Oct.

3, 1978).

43.

income proportion test, could qualify for

benefits. Here, gender operates not merely

to disadvantage but totally to disqualify.

Under no circumstances could Cindy Westcott

or Susan Westwood establish eligibility for

their respective families, because it was

they, rather than their husbands, who met the

employment-related criteria of Section 407.

Second, as the court below observed,

the discrimination and deprivation of mone-

tary benefits is more harmful to the fam-

ilies here than in Wiesenfeld or Goldfarb

because "[t]he Social Security benefits

denied in Wiesenfeld and Goldfarb were not

subsistence or medical care payments de-

signed to meet the basic needs of the

plaintiffs as are the benefits denied the

plaintiffs in the instant case." J3.S. of

Appellant Califano, App. 33A. Cf. Mathews v.

Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319(1976).

> eee RRS US we a tl be

44.

In sum, Section 407 creates a classifi-

cation that is both gender based and gender

biased. This has been the conclusion of

the lower courts, the Department of Justice

Task Force on Sex Discrimination and,

apparently, even the Attorney General of

Massachusetts, who has not appealed the dis-

trict court's holding on this issue. The

Court's precedents in Frontiero, Wiesenfeld

and Goldfarb lead unavoidably to a determin-

ation that the instant classification

; 17

invidiously discriminates on the basis of gender .—/

17/ The Solicitor General's attempt to dis-

tinguish Frontiero, Wiesenfeld and Goldfarb

from the instant case because the former

involved benefits distributed as compensation

for work or in relation to the contributions

of covered employees simply ignores the

Court's precedents. Brief for Appellant

Califano at 25-26. Although it is true

that Congress has wide latitude to create

classifications that allocate non-contractual

benefits under a social welfare program,

Weinberger v Salfi, 422 U.S. 749, 776-777

(1975), these must fall within constitutional

(Footnote continued on next page)

45.

B. The Section 407 Gender-Based Classifi-

cation Is Not Substantially Related

to any Important Governmental Objective.

1. The proper standard of review for

the Section 407 gender-based classifi-

cation is set forth in Craig v. Boren.

In Craig v. Boren, 429 U.S. 190 (1977),

this Court set forth the standard for test-

ing the constitutional validity of gender-

based classifications. The Court announced:

"To withstand constitutional challenge,

limits. Califano v. Goldfarb, 430 U.S.

at 210-211.

It is now plain that in cases

involving social welfare legislation

generally, male/female classifications

are impermissible, although classifica-

tions drawn on other bases can withstand

constitutional review. Compare Weinberger

v. Wiesenfeld, 420 U.S. 636, and Califano

v. Goldfarb, 430 U.S. 199, with Mathews

v. Lucas 427 U.S. 495 (1976), Mathews v.

DeCastro, 429 U.S. 181 (1976) and Califano

v.- Jobst, 434 U.S. 47 (1977). Surely the

explicit male/female classification in the

social welfare legislation at issue in this

case ranks with Wiesenfeld and Goldfarb, not

with Lucas, DeCastro and Jobst.

ia ris Mt i a

46.

previous cases establish that classifica-

tions by sex must serve important govern-

mental objectives and must be substantially

related to those objectives." Id. at 197.

Although the Solicitor General has raised

a question of the Court's consistent adher-

ence to this heightened scrutiny standard,see

Brief for Appellant Califano at 24-27,

thoughtful analysis of the Court's gender-

based discrimination decisions since

Reed v. Reed, 404 U.S. 71 (1971), leaves

no doubt that the standard is firmly estab-

lished. Indeed, the Solicitor General's

invitation to the Court to retreat to a

lesser standard is inexplicable in light

of the position tendered by his predecessor,

that it "is now settled that the Equal

Protection Clause of the Fourteentl Amend-

ment (like the Due Process Clause of the

47.

Fifth) does not tolerate discrimination on

the basis of sex." Memorandum for the

United States as Amicus Curiae at 8,

Cleveland Board of Education v. LaFleur,

414 U.S. 632 (1974).

From the start, the Court plainly

indicated that the objective of a gender-

based classification had és be more than

merely "legitimate." In Reed v. Reed,

404 U.S. 71, the Court held that the

"legitimate" objectives of reducing the

workload of probate courts and avoiding

familial controversy --both recognized

as "legitimate" -- were not sufficiently

important to justify resort to a sex-based

criterion in the appointment of estate

administrators .29/ Similarly, in Frontiero

18/ Professor Gunther discerned from the

Court's opinion in Reed that "some special

sensitivity to sex as a classifying factor

[had] entered into the analysis." Gunther,

The Supreme Court 1971 Term, Forword: In

Search of Evolving Doctrine on a Changing

Court: A Model for a Newer Equal Protection,

86 Harv. L. Rev. 1, 34 (1972).

48.

v. Richardson, 411 U.S. 677, the Court

held administrative convenience

insufficiently important to justify automatic

labeling of the wife, but not the husband,

of a service member as "dependent."

Explicit statement in Craig v. Boren,

of an elevated review standard for gender-

based classifications simply confirmed the

Court's evolving precedents. See also

Stanton v. Stanton, 421 U.S. 7, 17 (1975).

Since Craig, the Court has utilized the

standard without reservation. In Califano

v. Goldfarb, 439 U.S. at 210-211, Justice

Brennan, speaking for a plurality, reiter-

ated the Craig formulation. The per curiam

opinion in Califano v. Webster, 430 U.S.

313, 316-17 (1977), expressly applies the

test, And most recently, Justice Brennan,

speaking for six members of the Court,

49.

confirmed the elevated review standard

of Craig for sex-kased classifications.

Orr v. Orr, No. 77-1119 (U.S. Mar. 5,1979).

In sum, sex-based classifications have

been given heightened scrutiny since Reed

v. Reed. The reason for close review was

well-stated by the court in Mathews v.

Lucas, 427 U.S. 495, 506 (1976): sex, like

race, is an "obvious badge" contributing

to "the historic legal and political dis-

crimination against women" that has been

severe and pervasive. Absent the

check of close review, the risk is high that

legislation distinguishing between men and

women based on "habit, rather than analysis

or actual reflection" will arbitrarily

restrict the options and activities of individ-

uals. Id. at 520. See Craig v. Boren, 429 U.S.

at 213 n.5; Califano v. Goldfarb, 430 U.S.

at 222 (Stevens, J.,concurring in both).

50.

2. Section 407 does not fairly advance

the objective it was enacted to serve.

(a) Legislative history demonstrates

that the governmental objective

of Section 407 was to alleviate the

harsh financial and social effects

of parental unemployment upon needy

families.

The paramount concern of the AFDC prog-

ram, originally proposed by President

Roosevelt to counter the effects of the

Depression, is the welfare of the chila .22/

The child entitled to aid was defined as

one who was needy and deprived of parental

support or care by reason of the death, absence

or incapacity of a parent .22/

19/ S. Rep. No. 628, 74th Cong., lst Sess.

16-17 (1935), quoting Message of the Pres-

ident Recommending Legislation on Economic

Security, House Doc. No. 81, 74th Cong.,l1st

Sess. 17 (1935).

20/ Children from two-parent households,

disadvantaged only by parental unemployment,

were presumed by the legisiators to be

benefited through "the work relief program

and still more through the revival of pri-

vate industry." S. Rep. 628, 74th Cong.,

lst Sess. 18 (1935).

51.

In 1961, in response to the nation's

economic recession and the concomitant

impact of increased unemployment, Presi-

dent Kennedy proposed two programs. The

first extended the duration of unemploy-

ment compensation to postpone the devasta-

ting impact on the family when those bene-

2V

fits ran out. The second authorized

the Aid to Families with Dependent Child-

ren - Unemployed Parent (AFDC-U) program

and was heralded as "an interim amendment

to the aid to dependent children program

to include the children of the needy un-

employed." 22/ The declared purpose of the

AFDC-U program was "to make assistance...

available to needy families in which the

23/

breadwinner is unemployed."

21/H.R. 3864, 87th Cong.,lst Sess. (1961).

22/ President's Message on Economic Recovery

and Growth, Feb.2,1961, H.R. Doc. 81,87th

Cong.,lst Sess.,reprinted in 1961 U.S. Code

Cong. and Admin.News 1028,1033.

23/ H.R.3865, 87th Cong.,l& Sess. §2 (1961).

ee ee

52.

While the animating purpose of the

AFDC-U program is clear, hearings on the

1961 bill and on the 1962 bill to extend

the program for five years display the stereo-

typical notions Congress entertained about

the family an unemployed parent provision

would aid. Representative Wilbur Mills, the

sponsor of the 1961 bill, repeatedly referred

to the "needy child...whose father is unem-

st

ployed." The terms "wage earner," "“bread-

winner" and "father" were used interchange-

ably throughout hearings in 1961 and again

25/

in 1962. In spite of the use of these

terms, however, the original AFDC-U program

and the five-year extension were gender neutral.

24/ Temporary Unemployment Compensation and

Aid to Dependent Children of Unemployed

Parents: Hearings on H.R. 3864 and H.R.

3865 Before the House Committee on Ways

and Means, 87th Cong., lst Sess. 103-104

(1961) (emphasis added).

25/ See note 10 supra.

53.

The 1968 amendments to AFDC-U gave the

Department of Health, Education and Welfare

the authority to define unemployment, re-

quired a prior attachment to the labor force,

made the program permanent and expressly

conditioned benefits on the unemployment

of the father instead of a parent. ES/

These amendments were designed to correct

the flaw in the prior law under which the

states had the authority to define unemploy-

ment. The result had been that "[in] some

instances the definitions [were] very narrow

so that only a few people were helped. In

other states, the definitions [went] beyond

anything that Congress originally envis-

tome

The 1968 amendments were designed

to provide a uniform definition of unemploy-

26 42 U.S.C. §607.

27/7 H.R. Rep. No. 544, 90th Cong., Ist Sess.

108 (1967).

+ eee a

54.

ment.

As part of this effort, Congress rede-

fined the needy child as one deprived of

parental support by reason of the unemploy-

ment of the father. The change was described

by the House and Senate Reports as follows:

"This program was originally

conceived as one to provide aid for

children of unemployed fathers.

However, some States make families

in which the father is working but

the mother unemployed eligible.

This bill would not allow such

situations.

By changing the term parent to _ father,

Congress sought to assure that AFDC-U would

operate as intended from the start -- as a

program responsive to the deprivation caused

29/

by unemployment of a family wage earner.

28/ H. Rep. No. 544, 90th Cong., lst Sess.

108 (1967); S. Rep. No. 744, 90th Cong.,

lst Sess. 160 (1967), reprinted in 1967

U.S. Code Cong. and Admin. News 2834, 2997.

29/ See H.R. 3865, 87th Cong., lst Sess.

§2 (1961). See also Collins, Social Welfare -

Effect of Eligibility for Unemployment

[Footnote continued on next page.]

55.

It viewed the change as a means to correct

the abuse of the program by some states in

which aid had been provided to full-time

homemakers with no recent attachment to the

labor force. As the court observed in

Stevens v. Califano:

The problem with the program ...

was that the language chosen in

the original enactment only required

one parent to be unemployed. Inasmuch

as the AFDC-U program added two parent

families, said language permitted needy

families in which the "breadwinner" was

fully employed to receive benefits based

upon the unemployment of the "non-bread-

winner." This problem was aggravated

by the fact that before 1968, no prior

connection to the work force was requis-

ite to receipt of benefits. The purpose

of the amendment to Section 407, there-

fore, was to eliminate benefits to

families in which the breadwinner was

fully employed. 448 F. Supp. at 1321.

Compensation on AFDC-U Benefits, 78 W.Va.L.

Rev. 268, 268-269 n. 6 (1976); Guberman,

Sex Discrimination in Welfare Legislation,

12 Urban L. Ann. 125, 147 (1976). See also

Griffiths, Sex Discrimination in Income

Security Programs, 49 Notre Dame Zawyer 534

(1974).

ee ee

56.

In lieu of designing a gender-neutral

method of determining eligibility, however,

Congress sex-typed the characters in the

family, denominating fathers as financial

providers whose unemployment would hurt the

family and mothers as perennial homemakers

whose unemployment was iiaberent. By

drawing this sex line, Congress demonstrated

the very brand of narrow, sex-role thinking

this Court has consistently rejected as

invidiously assigning second-class status to

women.

(b) Section 407's gender classifi-

cation does not fairly advance the

legislative objective of protecting

families rendered needy by the

unemployment of a parent.

Despite the Westcott family's dire need

and despite Cindy Westcott's ability to

satisfy the employment-related criteria of

Section 407, her family was ineligible for

AFDC-U benefits. The sole reason was that,

under the statute, Cindy belonged to the wrong

sex.

STs

This gender-based exclusion is not

fairly related to the objective of aiding

children in families rendered needy by

parental unemployment. For the purposes

of a child-benefit program, family units

faced with identical needs resulting from

unemployment should receive identical bene-

fits. Using the sex of a parent as a test

for inclusion or exclusion is entirely

ama 30/

irrational; it fails as a "legitimate,

accurate proxy" for determining these

needs. Craig v. Boren, 429 U.S. at 204.

As the district court in this case

pointed out:

[I]n denying assistance when the

female working parent becomes unemploy-

ed, many families with needy children,

the targets of the A DC program, go un-

aided.... Section 407 creates two groups

30/ See also Guberman, Sex Discrimination

in Welfare Legislation, 12 Urban L. Ann,

125,150 (1976).

noe OO. a he

58.

of two parent families with needy

children who are without support

because the wage earner is unemployed:

one group where the wage earner is

male, and the second where the wage

earner is female. The first group may

receive AFDC-U and Medicaid, but the

second may not. J.S. of Appellant

Califano, App. 27A.

!

In terms of familial need because of

parental unemployment, the two are iden-

tical. In terms of furthering the goal

of alleviating this type of familial need,

the gender-based distinction is not ration-

al. In short, the state does not govern

impartially when benefits are allocated

unevenly and arbitrarily solely along sex

lines. See Craig v. Boren, 429 U.S. at 211

(Stevens J.,concurring).

3. Prevention of paternal desertion

was not the objective of the Section

407 gender classification. In any

event, the sex classification does not

fairly serve the need of deterring

paternal desertion.

59. : 60.

Aithough ameliorating the devastating eaitenn Ot Although President Kennedy spoke

economic effects of parental unemployment of father desertion as an undesirable effect

upon the family was the legislative objective of the AFDC eieenee. 2” he saw the alleviation

Congress pursued in the AFDC-U legislation, the of family hardship occasioned by unemployment

Solicitor General posits another purpose for as the core purpose of the AFDC-U program,

the program generally and the gender classifi- as did then-Secretary of Health, Education

cation in particular: preventing father and Welfare Ribicoff. Thus, in 1961 testimony

desertion. However, at the inception of the Secretary Ribicoff explained the purpose of

program, deterring father desertion was seen twin administration bills introduced that

by Congress as an effect rather than a year -- one the AFDC-U proposal and the other

purpose. Moreover, the gender line later an extension of the duration of unemployment

drawn substantially detracts from the program's compensation. That purpose was to "provide

desertion-preventing effect.

31/ President's Message on Economic Recovery

and Growth, Feb. 2, 1961, H.R. Doc. 81,

i : | 87 Cong. 1 Sess. 2(1961). Ironically, al-

ene | though both the AFDC program and the proposed

AFDC-U program were gender neutral, isis seaman

Kennedy's message reflected the pervasive habi

President Kennedy, in his 1961 message

to dependent children program, children are

d

i i | thought that fathers are wage earners an

eligible for assistance if their fathers are ee a homemakers by its use of —

" ° the only parent whose inability

deceased, disabled or family deserters. | father” as YP

™ | to provide would adversely affect the family.

ee ee Se | 32/ A number of legislators expressed similar

views. See, e.g., 107 Cong. Rec. 3769 (1961)

(remarks of Representative Ryan); 107 Cong.

Rec. 3765 (1961) (remarks of Representative

Baldwin); 107 Cong. Rec. 6401 (1961) (remarks

of Senator McCarthy).

eligible if his father is a needy unemployed

61.

a temporary program ... under which States

could provide financial assistance to fam-

ilies in need because of unemployment." =

The design, as the Secretary put it, was

"to help the States provide income maintenance

to needy families of the unemployed as part

of the administration's program to stimulate

the national economy and relieve unemployment

and hardships resulting therefrom. "27/

The Administration's view that one of

the effects of the original AFDC-U program

would be to deter paternal desertion may

well have been accurate,for when either

parent's unemployment can qualify the family

for aid, neither has an incentive to leave

home to enable the family to qualify for

AFDC based on his or her absence. But by

33/ Hearings on H.R. 3864 and 3865 Before House

Comm. on Ways and Means, 87th Cong., lst

Sess. 94 (1961).

34/ Id.

ee en, See nt) Oe

62.

drawing the 1968 gender line, Congress

drastically curtailed any incentive to re-

main with the family it had earlier foateret.”

By limiting eligibility to families in which

the father was unemployed, Congress once

again gave fathers the incentive to desert

every home in which need was caused by the

35 / The statistics on desertion cited by

the Solicitor General do not aid his case.

He asserts they show that the rate of

father desertion in AFDC families decreased

in those states which adopted the AFDC-U

program. However, all of the data are from

the period 1961-1967, when the AFDC-U pr6-

gram was gender neutral. While the 1961-

1967 gender-neutral statute may have had a

beneficial effect on the problem of father

desertion, that is not germane to the

Solicitor's argument. Beyond question, 196l-

1967 statistics fail to demonstrate that

the gender line first introduced in the 1968

law in any way furthers the hypothesized

legislative objective.

63.

mother's unemployment .27 It also gave un-

employed mothers an incentive to desert not

present in the earlier law. In short,

Congress' only concern for even-handedness

was between fathers who, but for monetary

incentive, would desert their families and

those who out of "conscience and love," .

would remain.>/

36/ The weakness in the Solicitor General's

argument attributing to the gender line a

purpose to deter desertion is further in-

dicated in the legislative history surround-

ing the 1968 amendment. For example, in the

Senate debate on whether the AFDC-U program

should be mandatory rather than permissive

for all states, although Senators Harris

and Kennedy acknowledged the program's

desirable side effect of preventing paternal

desertion, no mention was made of accomplish-

ing such an effect by drawing the gender

re Ra Meat Cong. Rec. 33193 (1967)

remarks of Senator Harris); 113 Cona. °

33194 (1967) (remarks of Senator “sce

See also Stevens v. Califano, 4

at 1322. a ak ach

37 See President's Message on Economic

Recovery and Growth, supra note 31.

64.

The Westcotts' situation exemplifies

the way in which the alteration in the AFDC-U

formula,replacing "parent" with "father",

actually increased any incentive to desert.

But for her sex, Cindy Westcott could have

qualified her family for AFDC-U benefits.

Her husband, William, because of insufficient

work history, could not. The only route to

AFDC eligibility for the Westcotts was one

parent's abandonment of the home. This

incentive to desert, inherent in the gender-

based distinction, did not pass unnoticed

by the Westcotts -- or their landlord. In

fact, the landlord suggested that William

Westcott leave home so his family could

qualify. See J.S. of Appellant Califano,

App. 27A, n. 16.

In sum, the Solicitor General's attempt

to elevate the acknowledged effect of the

original Section 407 into the purpose of

65.

the 1968 gender line must fail. It is not

supported by the iegislative history nor by

the statistics he cites. Indeed, common

sense analysis demonstrates unequivocally

that the gender line reinserted into the

AFDC-U program incentives to desert

eliminated under the original program.2-/

38/ The Solicitor General has suggested no

other governmental objectives to be served

by the gender classification of Section 407.

The Solicitor General has abandoned the

argument, suggested for the first and only

time in his Jurisdictional Statement, that

Congress instituted the gender line in

Section 407 to save money. J.S. of

Appellant Califano, App. 7, n. 6. Further-

more, this Court's precedents make clear that

fiscal policy considerations cannot justify

otherwise invidious discrimination. See

e.g., Memorial Hospital v. Maricopa County,

415 U.S. 250 (1974); United States Depart-

ment of Agriculture v._Moreno, 413 U.S. 528

(1973); Califano v. Goldfarb, 430 U.S. at

204-205, 217. Nor can "administrative

convenience" serve as a cover for legislative

resort to sex-stereotyping. Reed v. Reed,

404 U.S. 71; Frontiero v. Richardson, 411

U.S. 678. Exclusion of families with un-

employed mothers from the AFDC-U program does

not qualify as a reasonable, economy-

minded substitute for a sex-neutral, functional

classification.

66.

C. Conclusion

Congress was confronted with the problem

of providing for the many families rendered

needy by unemployment during the economic re-

cession of the early 1960's. Instead of

designing a sex-neutral, functional classifi-

cation for determining eligibility for its

new program, Congress applied the archaic

and over-broad generalization that women

do not significantly contribute to their

families' financial support and, therefore,

that their unemployment will not have a

significant impact on their families'

well being. The sex classification does

not fairly address the problem Congress

faced. Based on this Court's secure line

of decisions from Reed through Goldfarb,

the district court concluded that invali-

dation of the gender line was the only

resolution consistent with the fifth amend-

67.

ment's command that government rule

impartially. See also Orr v. Orr, No. 77-

1119 (U.S. Mar. 5, 1979). That conclusion

warrants this Court's firm approbation.

68.

II

THE APPROPRIATE JUDICIAL REMEDY IN

THIS CASE IS TO EXTEND THE AFDC-U

PROGRAM TO FAMILIES IN WHICH EITHER

PARENT IS UNEMPLOYED, NOT TO COM-

PLETELY RESTRUCTURE THE PROGRAM

THROUGH THE ADDITION OF A PRINCIPAL

WAGE EARNER TEST.

A. Introduction

The district court decided that repair

rather than invalidation of the AFDC-U

program was the appropriate remedy for the

constitutional defect of Section 407.

The proper repair, the court held, was

simply to extend AFDC-U benefits

to needy families with unemployed mothers

under the same conditions that now apply

to unemployed fathers. In short, if either

parent satisfies the employment-related

criteria of Section 407, and the family

is needy, eligibility for both AFDC-U and

categorically-related Medicaid benefits is

%

69.

established. See note 7 supra.

Massachusetts, however, abandoning its

original argument for simple extension, see

note 6 supra, would further limit eligibil-

ity for AFDC-U by requiring that the parent

who meets the employment-related criteria of

Section 407 also be the family's "principal

wage earner." Under the state's definition

of principal wage earner, only the parent

who received greater earnings or unemploy-

ment compensation benefits during the six

months prior to application would be able

to establish the family's eligibility for

AFDC-U. J.S. of Appellant Sharp at 8a.

Repair of the constitutional infirm-

ity of Section 407 through simple extension

of the statute is clearly preferable to

invalidation or radical restructuring

of the AFDC-U program. The extension

remedy is consistent with the

70.

prior decisions of this Court and the

congressional policies underlying the AFDC-U

program, and is administratively simple to

effectuate within the framework of the cur-

rent AFDC and AFDC-U programs. it also

avoids the difficult policy questions that

this Court would have to resolve in order to

impose a principal wage earner limitation on

the AFDC-U program, questions that are

appropriately resolved by Congress. For

all these reasons, this Court should affirm

the decision of the district court to ex-

tend AFDC-U benefits to families whose

deprivation is the result of the unemploy-

ment of either parent, without a principal

wage earner limitation.

B. Extension, Not Invalidation, Is The

Appropriate Remedy.

Because the decision to remedy a con-

TL.

72.

stitutionally defective statute by its very

, i individuals to whom it applies. See, e.g.,

nature requires a court to change a legis- j

Califano v. Goldfarb, 430 U.S. 199(1977);

lative provision, the courts have gener-

Jablon v. Secretary of HEW, 430 U.S. 924

ally limited themselves to changes that can

(1977), aff'g 399 F. Supp. 118 (D. Md. 1975);

be executed in the simplest fashion possible.

Weinberger v. Wiesenfeld, 420 U.S. 636(1975);

The choice of remedy has accordingly been re-

Frontiero v. Richardson, 411 U.S. 677

stricted to whether the statute should be extend- 39

(1973)7

ed to bring in the individuals excluded by the

legislature, or invalidated. Welsh v. United States, 39/ Extension has similarly been ordered in

other equal protection cases involving

398 U.S. 333, 361(1970) (Harlan, J., concurring). government benefit programs. See, e.g.,

Jiminez v. Weinberger, 417 U.S. 628(1974)

Cf. Orr v. Orr, No. 77-1119 (U.S. Mar. 5,1979), (extending disability benefits to illegiti-

mate children born after onset of the par-

slip op. at 3. When faced with this choice in gen- ent's disability); Memorial Hospital v.

Maricopa County, 415 U.S. 250(1974) (extend-

der discrimination cases, especially those in- ing health care benefits to indigents with-

| out regard to length of residency); United

volving public benefits, this Court has States Dep't of Agriculture v. Moreno,

413 U.S. 528(1973) (extending food stamp ben-

consistently extended the coverage of the | efits to households composed of unrelated

; individuals); New Jersey Welfare Rights

infirm statute, usually by effectively sub- Organization v. Cahill, 411 U.S. 619(1973)

(extending state aid to the working poor

stituting one word for another in the defect- to families with illegitimate children) ;

Richardson v. Davis, 409 U.S. 1069, aff'g

ive statute or inserting words into the mem., 342 F. Supp. 588 (D. Conn. 1972)

(extending Social Security death benefits to

statute that would expand the class of illegitimate children); Graham v. Richardson,

403 U.S. 365(1971) (extending categorical

assistance benefits to resident aliens).

73.

The test to determine whether extension

or invalidation is the proper remedy for a

constitutionally infirm statute was most

clearly enunciated by Mr. Justice Harlan in

Welsh v. United States, 298 U.S. 333(1970)

(concurring opinion). That test, stated

briefly, is for the court "to decide whether

it more nearly accords with Congress' wishes

to eliminate its policy altogether or ex-

tend it...to render what Congress plainly did

intend, constitutional." Id. at 355-56. In

determining which of these remedies Congress

would prefer, several factors are relevant.

They include the presence or absence of a

severability clause in the statute, the

extent of Congress' commitment to the under-

lying policy of the statute, the amount of

disruption to the statutory scheme that might

accompany extension or invalidation, and the

degree to which the remedy selected might

74.

impair legislative goals beyond those recog-

nized by the statute itself. Id. at 365-

40 /

66. An analysis of these factors in-

40/ The extension question has been squarely

considered by several lower court cases in

which the Welsh test has been applied, and

extension generally been ordered. See, e.g.,

Moritz v. Commissioner, 469 F.2d 46

(10th Cir. 1972), cert. denied, 412 U.S.

906 (1973) (extending benefits of a tax de-

duction statute to never-married males) ;

VaccareJla v. Fusari, 365 F. Supp. 1164 (D.

Conn. 1973) (extending benefits of supplemen-

tal state unemployment compensation to all

workers standing in loco parentis to depen-

dent minors). See also Demiragh v. DeVos,

476 F.2d 403(2d Cir. 1973); Bowen v. Hackett,

361 F.Supp. 854 (D. R. I. 1973); Miller v.

Laird, 349 F. Supp. 1034 (D.D.c. 1972).

Extension was also the remedy ordered by

the district courts in the two other cases

challenging Section 407 on the grounds of

gender discrimination. See Stevens v.

Califano, 448 F. Supp. at 1323; Browne v.

Califano, No. 77-1249, slip op. at 7.

Oo

75. 76

eluctably supports the remedy ordered by affected thereby. 42 U.5.C. §1303.

the district court in this case -- ex- In order to protect "the application" of

the "invalid" provision, Section 407, to

a —

tension of the AFDC-U program to families

with unemployed mothers. “other persons," unemployed fathers, exten-

1. The presence of a severability sion rather than invalidation of the AFDC-U

clause in the Social Security Act 41,

' supports extension. program should be ordered.

2. The congressional commitment to the

The severability clause contained in AFDC-U program supports extension

the Social Security Act is evidence that As Amici have already demonstrated, the

Congress would prefer that an infirm a P

ia congressional objective in enacting the AFDC-

vision of that statute be repaired rath

er

U program was to alleviate the harsh finan-

than invalidated. That clause, which

, cali iaii cial and social effects of parental unemploy-

Section 407, provides:

ment upon needy families. The legislative

If any provision of this chapter, or the

application thereof to any person or

circumstance, is held invalid, the re-

mainder of the chapter, and the appli-

cation of such provision to other per-

sons or circumstances shall not be

history of the program evidences a strong

41/ Such relief is also consistent with the

remedy selected in Califano v. Goldfarb, 430

U.S. 199, Jablon v. Secretary of HEW, 430 U.S.

924, and Weinberger v. Wiesenfeld, 420 U.S.

636, involving the same severability clause.

See also Moritz v. Commissioner, 469 F.2d at

470.

77.

commitment to assisting such families be-

cause their deprivation was determined to be

as harsh as that suffered by other families

eligible for AFDC because of parental death,

absence or incapacity. See discussion supra

PP. 50-52 °

The congressional changes made in the

Ai’DC-U program in 1968, including the change

at issue in this case from eligibility

based on either parent's unemployment to

eligibility based on the father's unemploy-

ment only, do not suggest any deviation from

the program's original objective. The legis-

lative history demonstrates that the primary

focus of the 1968 amendments was on correct-

ing abuses by the states in je "un-

employment," through federalizing the defin-

ition of that term. See, e.g., H.R. Rep. No.

544, 90th Cong., lst Sess. 108(1967), dis-

78.

cussed supra pp. 53-55. The change from

"parent" to "father" received little

attention, and seems to have been based

simply on Congress' sex-stereotypical view

that mothers are perennial homemakers and

fathers are financial providers. See dis-

cussion supra pp.54-56. Clearly, therefore,

the change was not such a vital part of the

AFDC-U program that Congress weuld prefer

abrogation of that program to a return to the

gender-neutral eligibility standard that

existed prior to 1968 12 /

3. Extension can easily be accomplished

within the administrative frame-

work of the statute.

Extension of AFDC-U benefits to fam-

ilies of unemployed mothers under the same

42 / Some members of Congress also thought

the AFDC-U program would have a positive ef-

fect on family stability through the pre-

vention of parental desertion. See dis-

cussion supra pp. 59-61.Any such effect

would also only be served by extension.

79.

conditions that benefits are now afforded

families of unemployed fathers requires min-

imal judicial tampering with Congress’ word-

ing of the statute. Remedying the state's

unconstitutional exclusion of unemployed

mothers involves but one change in the text

of the AFDC-U provision: substitution of the

term "parent" for the term "father". With

this minor alteration of language, Section

407 would once again confer benefits on "a

needy child... deprived of parental support

or care by reason of the unemployment ... of

a parent. " See Pub. L. No. 87-31, 75 Stat.

43/

75(1961). Indeed, such a change also ren-

ders the AFDC-U program consistent with the

gender-neutral nature of the rest of the AFDC

43/ Extension through similar word substi-

tutions has also been the means reflected in

this Court's decisions involving unconstitution-

ally underinclusive statutes. See discussion

supra pp.70-72, and accompanying citations.

80.

program, in which eligibility for assistance

is based on the death, absence or incapacity

of either parent. See 42 U.S.C. §606(a)

(emphasis added) —

Administering such an extended AFDC-U

program would be no more difficult than ad-

ministering the AFDC-U program in its un-

constitutionally underinclusive form. AFDC-U

eligibility would be determined in precisely

the same manner whether based on the mother's

or the father's unemployment, for each would

have to satisfy the same categorical and

45 /

financial requirements. Moreover, although

44/ The Task Force on Sex Discrimination has

recommended that Section 407's infirmity be

cured by amending the statute "to permit fam-

ilies...to qualify for benefits on the basis

of the unemployment of either parent." Task

Force on Sex Discrimination, Civil Rights

Division, U.S. Dep't of Justice, Interim

Report to the President 157 (Oct. 3, 1978).

45/ See 42 U.S.C. §607 and 45 C.F.R. §233.100

(a) (1) (1977), described in note 7. supra.

81.

some increase in staff hours spent in de-

termining eligibility might be necessary

because of the increase in case-

load resulting from extension of the AFDC-U

program to unemployed mothers, it would be

relatively small, for the number of new

eligibles is small in comparison to the.

current AFDC sescbied

Nor should the incremental eosts of ex-

tending benefits to unemployed mothers impede

46/ Massachusetts' estimate of 8000 new

families per year, Affidavit of Jenny Netzer,

App. at 54, represents only six.percent of

the current Massachusetts AFDC caseload of

about 125,000 families, 42 Soc. Sec. Bull.

77, Table M-35 (Jan. 1979). Although

estimates of the numbers of families that

might be added to the AFDC-U rolls in other

states are not available, there is no reason

to believe they would constitute a larger

percentage of the current AFDC caseload in

those states than they do in Massachusetts.

82.

extension. Although the marginal

costs of extending benefits to unemployed

mothers are difficult to estimate, even accept-

ing calgulations made by Appellants Massachu-

setts and the Department of Health, Education

and Welfare (HEW), it is clear that the addition-

al costs that would flow from an expanded AFDC-U

, : 47/

program are comparatively minor.

47/ The costs of extension are difficult to

predict because of the presence of several

critical variables in a cost estimate formula:

1) the number of new eligibles, 2) the per-

centage of those eligibles that will actually

participate in the program, and 3) the average

expenditure for each recipient. Moreover,

there is ample reason to question both HEW's

and Massachusetts' estimates. First, the

wide discrepancy between the two sets of

figures undermines the credibility of both.

Second, empirical data from the state of

Pennsylvania indicate that Appellant Califano's

cost estimates for gender-neutral extension

of Pennsylvania's AFDC-U program are triple

the actual costs. Opposition of Amicus Curiae,

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, to Appellant

Califano's Application for a Stay Pending

Appeal at 5, Califano v. Westcott, No. 78-

437 (Jan. 2, 1979). This overestimation

would in itself inflate HEW's national cost

figures. Further, given HEW's failure to

explain its methodology, there is no reason

[Footnote continued on next page.]

_———

83. 84.

Massachusetts estimates that extension of Gilbert C. Fisher, App. B at 1.429/

of AFDC-U benefits to unemployed mothers in Although Massachusetts emphasizes that a

that state will result in an additional $21.5 million increase in costs in the AFDC-U

$21.5 million 4% in total annual AFDC costs, program would significantly enlarge the current

Affidavit of Jenny Netzer, App. at 54, while : figure of $30 million, Brief for Appellant

HEW predicts a total increase of $15.9 | Sharp at 36, any increase must be seen in

million, Application for Stay...of Appeilant the context of the entire AFDC program.

. ‘ i :

Califano, No. 78-437 (Dec. 1978), Affidavit P| A comparison of the state's estimate of the

increased costs of extension to current

aed AFDC costs in Massachusetts, $480 million

annually, 42 Soc. Sec. Bull. 77, Table M-35

to believe that its cost figures for the

remaining states, including Massachusetts,

are any more accurate. For discussion of

the accuracy of Appellant Sharp's estimates,

see pp. 100-108 infra. ‘

(Jan. 1979), reveals that there will be an

overall increase of no more than four per-

48 cent in the costs of the Massachusetts

/ Massachusetts considers the cost of ex-

tension to be $23 million. Brief of Appellant

Sharp at 35. But against this figure must

be set off savings to the wholly state-funded

general assistance program of $1.5 million

annually for families covered by the ex-

tended AFDC-U program who formerly received

general assistance benefits. Affidavit of

Jenny Netzer, App. at 54. Thus, Massachusetts’

estimate of $23 million has been reduced to

$21.5 million throughout the discussion here.

' AFDC program.

49/ This cost comparison does not take into

account Medicaid expenditures, for Mass-

achusetts has not included projections for

such expenditures in its calculations.

86.

85.

$447 million in new or increased benefit

Nationally, HEW estimates the costs of enerits

to 520,000 aged husbands or widowers pre-

extension to unemployed mothers at $283.2 pre

viously excluded from certain Social Secur-

SEY ais

million. J3.S. of Appellant Califano at 7 ;

ity benefits. Brief for Appellant Calif

n. 6. Current annual costs of AFDC and PP ano

at 39, Califano v. Goldfarb. Th t

AFDC-U nationally are $10.7 billion and SOLGLaAED. e estimated

cost increase in Goldfarb was small i

$515.2 million respectively, 42 Soc. Sec. ; in

. comparison to the expenditures for the -

Bull. 77-78, Tables M-35 and M-36 (Jan. xP en

ee ee ae 3,

tire Social Security program,

1979). Thus, although the increase in

41 Soc. Sec. Bull. 40, Table M-1

costs of the AFDC-U program itself might be

4 (May 1978), as are the predicted in-

substantial when compared to the costs

crements in this case small relative

of the entire AFDC program nationally,

to the costs of the entire AFDC

extended AFDC-U would result in an

program. The cost increase in Goldfarb,

overall increase in costs of less than

comparable to the largest estimate in the

three percent.

present case, was not sufficient to out-

Moreover, this Court has approved ex-

; weigh the policies favoring extension.

tensions which resulted in comparable ex-

Surely then, the comparable predicted in-

penditures. See, e.g., Califano v. Goldfarb,

crease here in both actual dollar and rel-

430 U.S. 199; Jablon v. Secretary of HEW,

ative costs should not prevent extension of

430 U.S. 924. In Goldfarb, the Solicitor

the AFDC-U statute in the limited way ordered

General estimated additional outlays of

87.

by the district court 22/

The devastating detrimental effect

on current AFDC-U recipients of invalidation

of the program must also be weighed against

any cost considerations. As of July 1978,

24,881 persons in Massachusetts and

510,627 persons in twenty-six states, the

District of Columbia, and Guam were receiving

AFDC-U benefits. 42 Soc. Sz. Bull. 78,

Table M-36 (Jan. 1979). Even more were

receiving Medicaid on the basis of their

AFDC-U eligibility. Invalidation would re-

sult in the severe disruption of the lives

of these individuals and of the administration

of public assistance in the states in which

they reside. Extension would enable these

50 / The cost increases here will also be

borne by the entire public through the

AFDC-U program's open-ended appropriation,

not by a public trust fund or private in-

dividuals, so that no significant costs

will accrue to any single party or group.

_— rn

bs — sree th ie

Fe ee ee

ik aad ¢

|

88.

individuals, and those rendered newly

eligible, to meet the financial and social

deprivation occasioned by unemployment,

whether that deprivation is attributable to

unemployment of the father or the mother 2+/

A final consideration in evaluating

whether extension can be easily accomplished

within the administrative framework of the

AFDC-U program is that the program is

optional with the states. See 42 U.S.C. §607.

A state which does not wish to extend benefits

to families with unemployed mothers may there-

fore elect to withdraw from the AFDC-U pro-

gram without jeopardizing its participation

in the basic AFDC program in which benefits

are based’on the death, absence or incapacity

ot Extension of course also affords the

Westcotts and the Westwoods the relief re-

quested in their complaints, while in-

validation places them in the anomalous

position of having won their lawsuits but

been denied any relief.

89.

of a parent. See 42 U.S.C. §606(a). In-

validation of the AFDC-U program, however,

would prevent states from exercising the

option to cover any families whose depriv-

ation is the result of parental unemployment,

significantly changing the structure of

the program envisioned by emanate?

Against these considerations, Massa-

chusetts argues that extension of AFDC-U

benefits to families in which either parent

is unemployed "would work a fundamental

change in the nation's system of public

assistance [by providing] a guaranteed annual

income to all needy families, including the

52/Moreover, invalidation might well also

encourage desertion, for it would result in

reversion to the pre-1961 program under which

two-parent families could qualify for assis-

tance only when one was incapacited.

90.

so-called working poor...." Brief for Appellant

Sharp at 15. This change in administrative frame-

work of the program is said to result from a simple

extension of AFDC-U because "the unemployment of

either parent [could] trigger assistance re-

gardless of the other parent's employment

status." Id. The state reasons that "[iJn this

guise, the AFDC-U program would no longer

serve just to tide families over the

temporary need occasioned by the breadwinner's

unemployment. It would instead furnish an

indefinite -- perhaps permanent -- supplement

tc the low wages earned by a family's prin-

cipal wage earner." Moreover, this supple-

ment would be provided to families whose in-

comes, the state concludes, render them

"not needy by conventional standards."

Td.

But the state's concerns in this area

91.

are not related to adoption of the extension

remedy. First there is nothing in a

gender-neutral AFDC-U program that "guaran-

tees" the provision of assistance to "the

so-called working poor." Under both the

current AFDC-U program and a simply extended

program the parent applying for isidiniein

must satisfy a series of complex employment-

related requirements. See note 7 supra.

If these requirements cannot be met, the,

family will not qualify for assistance even

if otherwise "poor."

Second, Massachusetts’ hypothesis

that "an indefinite . . . supplement to

the low wages earned by a family's principal

wage earner" might be provided to AFDC-U

families, even if true, is irrelevant.

It, too, is not the result of an expanded

gender-neutral program. Rather, the very

92.

nature of the AFDC program is such that

families are entitled to receive aid for as

long as they meet the eligibility criteria,

be it a few days or a few years. 42 U.S.C.

§602 (a) (10); 45 C.F.R. §206.10(a) (5) (1977).

This would be unchanged by extension of the

program. ‘

The state's last concern, that AFDC-U

would be provided to families who are "not

needy by conventional standards, is also

not related to any decision to extend the

program. It is the result of the inter-

relationship between Massachusetts" standard

of need and the federally-mandated income

disregards, see 42 U.S.C §602 (a) (8), neither

of which would be affected by the remedy

advocated here. as

In sum, the simplicity with which ex-

tension can be ordered, the ease with which

an extended AFDC-U program can be admin-

93.

istered, the relatively small marginal costs

of extension, the desirability of continuing

aid to current eligibles, and the ability of

states to opt out of the AFDC-U program if

dissatisfied,all demonstrate that the AFDC-U*

program can be readily extended within the

framework of the current law. Moreover, none

of the concerns that Massachusetts has

raised in objection to simple extension of

the program is apposite to that

remedy. Under these circumstances, it is

clear that the AFDC-U program should be ex-

tended to include needy families with

children deprived of support or care because of

the unemployment of either parent.

C. Any Restructuring of the AFDC-U Program

To Include A Principal Wage Earner

Limitation Should Be Accomplished By

Congress, Not This Court.

1. Difficult policy questions would

have to be resolved by the Court in

oe ss

- - .

nD atch Ae EN. bie aah alee

ee eee a

94.

order to accept Massachusetts' prin-

cipal wage earner limitation.

Massachusetts' argument that the proper

remedy in this case is neither extension

nor invalidation of the AFDC-U program,

but rather judicial restructuring of the

program to include a principal wage earner

limitation, is unprecedented .—/ Indeed,

the issue of the appropriate remedy for un-

constitutionally underinclusive statutes

has been limited to whether @4 court should

extend or invalidate the statute precisely

*

53/ In the two other cases challenging the

constitutionality of Section 407 on the grounds

of gender discrimination, this novel scheme

was neither advocated by the defendant states

of Pennsylvania or Ohio nor ordered by the

district courts. In Browne v. Califano, No.

77-1249 at 7, the parties stipulated that

simple extension of the AFDC-U program to

unemployed mothers was the appropriate remedy.

In Stevens v. Califano, 448 F. Supp. at 1323,

the state defendant argued for invalidation.

In both cases the federal defendant supported

extension, the remedy ordered by the district

courts.

95.

to avoid the difficult policy questions that

are raised if the court is forced to sit as

a legislature and evaluate all other possible

remedies that might be available. See

discussion supra pp. 70-75.

The kinds of policy decisions in which

this Court would have to become embroiled in

order to restructure the AFDC-U program to

include : etaelons wage earner limitation

illustrate why any such restructuring should

be left to Congress. First, the Court would

have to arrive at an appropriate definition

of "principal wage earner." Although Massachusetts

proposes acceptance of its definition of the prin-

cipal wage earner as the parent whose earnings

or unemployment compensation benefits were

greater during the six months preceding the

month of application, reapplication or

redetermination of eligibility, the state

offers no rationale for this definition.

aco \aiicatnon vito ee Zeamnsuicaiiaiall

re

Si ienetitals cbt IA at at aa hn see

3S.

Why, for example, include any

unearned income in the calculation, and if

any, why not other unearned income such

as workers' compensation, or Social Security

benefits? Why is income for the past six

months, rather than the past year, or the

past three months, or any other time period

the relevant income? Why, indeed, is in-

come the only determinant of the principal

wage earner, rather than, for example, the

number of hours worked? Unless the Court

is willing to resolve these questions, it

should be reluctant to restructure the AFDC-U

program to include a principal wage earner

limitation.

A second policy consideration that would

have to be weighed by the Court is whether

families currently receiving AFDC-U should

have their benefits terminated by judicial

97.

decree. Moreover, as Amici have already

demonstrated, the termination of eligible in-

dividuals involves not only policy con-

siderations but legal ones as well because it

would violate the Social Security Act's

severability clause, 42 U.S.C. §1303. See

discussion supra pp. 75-76 a!

Massachusetts acknowledges that Section

407 of the Social Security Act, with its

current limitation of AFDC-U to families

with unemployed fathers, has never been

interpreted to require that the father be

not only unemployed but also the family's

principal wage earner. The state has

afforded aid to such families regardless of

whether the father was the principal wage

54/ Termination of current recipients is also

inconsistent with Congress' more specific

concern in the AFDC-U and AFDC programs

that aid be furnished "to all eligible in-

dividuals," 42 U.S.C. §602(a) (10). See,

e.g.,Philbrook v. Glodgett, 420 U.S. 707

(1975); Townsend v. Swank, 404 U.S. 282,

286 (1971).

Riis beet eats we, aia Y

ae o>

98.

earner and HEW, pursuant to federal reg-

ulations, has provided federal matching

payments on the same basis. See 45 C.F.R.

§233.100(1977). Only now, to counter a

threatened extension of aid to families with

unemployed mothers, does the state suggest

that the unemployed parent should addition-

ally be required to establish that he or

she is the family's principal wage earner.

The result is that some families in

Massachusetts who are currently eligible for

and receiving AFDC-U because of the unemploy-

ment of the father will lose their eligibil-

ity for assistance. This could happen in

as many as twenty-nine percent of the currently

eligible families, because according to

the Census Bureau figures that the state it-

self relies on, in twenty-nine percent of

two-wage earner families the woman is the

99. 100.

55

principal wage earner.— If that woman can- : assistance benefits.

not satisfy the existing employment-related | Another policy issue that must be considered

requirements of Section 407, the family will ' | is whether the cost savings attributed to the

lose its assistance benefits despite the | principal wage earner test by Massachusetts

father's clear ability to satisfy those . are sufficient to justify its imposition

requirements. This Court should not permit a prin- Moreover, before this issue can be

cipal wage earner test unless it is also resolved, the accuracy of the state's

prepared to resolve the question of whether : cost estimates must be assessed, an almost

‘a Vai | ; 56/

currently eligible families should lose their ne impossible task.

Massachusetts estimates that the total

55/ To compare the impact of simple extension

of AFDC-U benefits to families in which either

parent is unemployed with the impact of the

i ee ee

additional cost of an AFDC-U program in which

principal wage earner test, Massachusetts either parent's unemployment would qualify

relies in part on 1974 Census Bureau data

indicating that women earn over fifty the family for assistance would be $21.5

percent of the income in twenty-nine percent |

of two-wage earner families earning less than i million per year. See discussion supra, pp. 83-84.

$7,000 a year. Affidavit of Jenny Netzer, :

App. at 54. See discussion infra pp. 110-113. / The state estimates the additional cost of an

If statistics about families with annual in-

comes of less than $7,000 are accurate for

making predictions about potential new | 36/ Some evaluation of costs is, of course,

AFDC-U recipients, they should also be necessary in choosing between extension and

accurate for predictions about current invalidation. See discussion supra pp. 81-87.

AFDC-U recipients. Cost considerations and, more importantly,

the accuracy of cost estimates are even more

critical, however, when a novel remedy be-

: yond extension or invalidation is proposed,

as in this case.

101.

AFDC-U program with a principal wage earner

test at $3.3 million per year. Affidavit of Jenny

Netzer, App. at 55.2_/ the remedy of

simple extension, according to these cal-

culations, would cost the state $18.2

million more per year than a restructuring

of the AFDC-U program to include a principal

wage earner test. Yet Massachusetts’ cal-

culations are based largely on several

assumptions not established by evidence in

the record, casting doubt on the accuracy

of the state's estimates.

Most open to challenge is the assumption

that the participation rate of eligible

families in a simply extended AFDC-U program

would be fifty percent. Id. at 52. In

deriving this figure, the state first cites

57/ Massachusetts does not include an

estimate for Medicaid costs in either of

these calculations.

gah Se bade dees atstdes 2.6 sued Weed

102.

HEW studies indicating that twenty-five

percent of eligible families participate

in the AFDC-U program, but then doubles that

number. In support of this multiple the

state merely speculates that "the AFDC-U

program had operated largely to provide a

short-term, last-resort source of financial

support when a father was between jobs" but

would now become a "long-term income supple-

ment for many families.” 1a. 28/ The state

analogizes this supposed "long-term" nature

58/ The seeming basis for this conclusion is

Massachusetts’ assertion that two-parent

families would maintain AFDC-U eligibility

by entering and leaving the labor force at

opportune times. Brief for Appellant Sharp

at 28. Although families might be rendered

eligible by the unemployment of firgt one and then

the other parent, the probability of this

occurring very often is unlikely because an

individual's "unemployment" is just one of

the rather complex categorical requirements

for receipt of AFDC-U benefits, See note 7

supra.

103.

of the expanded AFDC-U program to the basic

AFDC program, see 42 U.S.C. §606(a), in

which the participation rate is ninety-five

percent of those eligible, according to

an HEW estimate. Affidavit of Jenny Netzer,

App. at 52. In almost mystical fashion, defy-

ing understanding, the ninety-five percent

participation rate for basic AFDC is then

reconciled with the twenty-five percent

participation rate for AFDC-U, and the fifty

percent figure emerges. Id. at 53.

The impact on cost estimates of Massa-

chusetts' assumption about participation

rates in an expanded AFDC-U program is

obvious. By estimating that fifty percent

of eligibles will participate, Massachusetts

doubles the predicted costs that would re-

sult from extension if the participation

rate estimated by HEW were used in the calculation

Also subject to serious question are

ee es

104.

Massachusetts’ estimates of the costs

attributable to an AFDC-U program with a

principal wage earner restriction. The

basis for these cost estimates involves,

again, unsupported assumptions about the

number of participants in such a program.

Massachusetts arrives at its estimate of 700

newly eligible families by attempting to

reduce the universe of potential new

59

eligibles” to account for those assumed to be

59/ Because only families with unemployed

mothers would be added to the AFNC-U rolls

by either the simple extension or the princi-

pal wage earner remedy, and under the latter

remedy only families in which the mother

is the principal wage earner, Massachusetts

begins its cost evaluation of the principal

wage earner test with an examination of the

number of two-parent families in which women

earn more than fifty percent of the family's

income. The state then assumes that the new

recipient population under an AFDC-U program

with a principal wage earner test would bear

the same proportional rélationship to the

AFDC-U program's population prior to the

decision in this case as families in which

the mother is the principal wage earner,

bearto families in which the father is the

principal wage earner, i.e., twenty-nine to

[Footnote continued on next page.]

205.

already receiving AFDC and AFDC-U benefits. Id.

at 54-55. This factoring-out of families

60/,

already receiving benefits, while not in-

correct conceptually, is based on the

questionable assumption that the number of

families currently receiving aid and newly

eligible under a principal wage earner test

is equivalent to the number of families

receiving AFDC benefits who have earned in-

come (fifteen percent). Id. at 55. No

evidence is cited as support for the validity

or accuracy of this measure.

seventy-one percent of all two-parent fam-

ilies with an annual income of less than $7,000.

The resulting figure for the new recipient

AFDC-U population under a principal wage

earner test, the state estimates, is 2,380.

60/ The families "already receiving"

benefits are deemed to be those in which

"the father is unemployed or incapacitated,

although the mother is working." Id. at

55.

ae ee eke eT

ise h

106.

Yet Massachusetts’ estimates of the costs

of a principal wage earner AFDC-U program

are determined largely on the basis of this un-

supported figure. Because fifteen percent of

AFDC families have earned inccae, the same pro-

portion of Massachusetts' incapacity and

AFDC-U cases are assumed to be currently on

the AFDC rolls. Therefore, Massachusetts argues,

these families are not rendered newly

eligible by an expanded AFDC-U program with s

a principal wage earner test. Id. Asa

result, out of a universe of 2,380 poten-

tial newly eligible families, Massachusetts

posits that the actual number of such

families is only 700. Id. The

validity of the fifteen percent

figure in predicting the number of current

eligibles and costs is thus critical.

Without evidence of both its validity and

its accuracy as a measure of the number of

families with unemployed or incapacitated

107.

fathers now on the rolls, the state's

conclusion that only 700 new families would

be added should not be relied upon

by the Court as a basis for pre-

dicting the cost benefits of a principal

wage earner limitation.

Additionally, the state fails to

consider the increased administrative costs

that would accompany either extension or

implementation of a principal wage earner

61

‘est. Although administration of a

principal wage earner test would undoubtedly be

more costly than simple extension because it would

require examination of the work histories of

61/ The importance of an evaluation of ad-

ministrative costs is illustrated by Jablon

v. Secretary of HEW, 399 F. Supp. at 132,

in which the administrative costs attendant

to implementation of the remedy urged by

the defendant were found to be twice the cost

savings realized by that remedy.

108.

62

both parents for the first time, the absence

of any estimate of administrative costs

clearly renders Massachusetts' calculations

63/

invalid.

62/ For discussion of the costs attendant

to extension, see pp. 81-87 supra.

63/ HEW's cost estimates for extension, for

example, include a calculation for admini-

strative costs. See J.S. of Appellant

Califano at 7 n. 6.

Several other components of Massachusetts’

methodology in estimating the comparative

costs of the AFDC-U program simply ex-

tended and of the AFDC-U program with a

principal wage earner limitation are also

susceptible to criticism. For example, to

the district court, certification of the

class was initially "the most difficult

hurdle for plaintiff to surmount"; the likely

size of the class was no more than 346

families. J.S. of Appellant Califano, App-

at 12A, 14A-15A. The state offers no ex-

planation as to why its estimate of the

class of new eligibles is more than twenty

times as large as the district court estimated

the class to be. Massachusetts also makes

an allowance for the addition to the AFDC-U

rolls of families whose income falls between

initial and continuing eligibility limits when con-

fPootnote continued on next page.]

109

From these examples, the difficulties

in assessing the accuracy of the state's

comparative cost calculations are apparent.

In light of these difficulties it is

virtually impossible for this Court to

determine what the cost savings attributable

to the Massachusetts principal wage earner

test would be. Congress, not this Court, is

plainly the forum appropriate to consider

the proposal Massachusetts now presses. 64/

sidering the costs of simple extension,

Affidavit of Jenny Netzer, App. at 53, but

not when estimating the costs of Massachusett:

novel principal wage earner scheme. This

unjustified omission skews the relative

numbers of participants under the two

schemes, creating a discrepancy in costs

larger than if the methodology were applied

consistently.

647 Even if the state's characterization of

the cost savings attributable to the prin-

cipal wage earner test is accepted, those

savings are not sufficient to justify

imposition of the test. As Amici have

[Footnote continued on next page.]

110.

A fourth policy consideration incidental

to adoption of a principal wage earner

limitation is the disparate impact that the

limitation would have on women, which is

substantial.

Massachusetts defines the needy family's

principal wage earner as the parent who

received greater earnings or unemployment

compensation benefits during the six months

prior to application for assistance. Although

this test is gender-neutral on its face, because

noted, simple extension at a cost of $21.5

million per year represents an increase in total

annual AFDC costs in Massachusetts of only four

percent. See discussion supra pp. 83-84.

Imposition of a principal wage earner test,

costing an estimated $3.3 million annually,

represents a cost increase of about one per-

cent to the Massachusetts AFDC program. Thus, the

difference between the two remedies, although

arguably significant in dollar terms,

represents only three percent of the state's total

AFDC costs. Cost savings of this relatively

small magnitude should not be relied on

to justify imposition of a complex prin-

cipal wage earner test.

111.

the father has greater earnings in

the vast majority of two-wage earner fam-

ilies both in Massachusetts and nation-

wide ,->/ the effect of the test is to per-

petuate the same kind of gender discrimin-

ation that this case was brought to redress.

The 1974 Census Bureau data that -

Massachusetts uses to compare the impact of

simple extension of AFDC-U benefits with

the impact of the principal wage earner

test indicate that women are principal wage

earners in only twenty-nine percent of two-

wage earner families earning less than

$7,000 a year. Affidavit of Jenny Netzer,

65/ Although data do not seem to be avail-

able, because unemployment compensation bene-

fits are related to earnings, women are

also likely to have lesser amounts of un-

employment compensation than men.

112.

App. at 54. See note 59 supra. Massachu-

setts thereby acknowledges that the impact

of the principal wage earner test falls

much more heavily on families in which the

mother otherwise satisfies the employment-

related criteria of Section 407 than it

does on families in which the father satis-

fies those criteria. The result is that

seventy-one percent of the families that

would have been rendered eligible for

AFDC-U by the extension remedy could be

excluded from such eligibility by the

addition of the principal wage earner

66 /

restriction. Surely, an adverse impact

66/ This is precisely the effect that the

Massachusetts proposal would have on the

Westcott family, for Cindy Westcott, al-

though otherwise eligible for AFDC-U, has

not been the family's principal wage earner.

See Plaintiffs’ Notice of Massachusetts

Planned Action to Terminate the Westcotts'

AFDC-U...5, Westcott v. Califano, 461 F.Supp.

737 (D. Mass.1978).

113. 114.

on women of this magnitude —/ suggests illustrated by the congressional

that any decision io add such a test to response to this Court's decision on

the AFDC-U program should be left to Con- extension in Califano v. Goldfarb,

gress. 430 U.S. 199. In Goldfarb the

‘2. The difficulty of predicting the

remedy that Congress would select Court in effect extended the benefits

Consideration of remedies beyond ex- of the Old Age, Survivors and Disability

a

tension or invalidation of the statute Insurance Program under the Social

should be left to Congress for the further Security Act to widowers by eliminating

reason that it is difficult to predict the

the statutory proof of dependency

remedy Congress would select. This is well

requirement imposed on them but not

/Indeed, a March 1976 Bureau of Labor Sta- on widows. Indeed, this remedy was

tistics report indicates that in 1975 women earned

more than men in two-wage earner families selected over imposition of the

in only twenty-seven percent of the famil-

ies with annual incomes of under $7,000.

See Marital and Family Characteristics of

the Labor Force in March 1976, BLS Special

dependency requirement on widows

Labor Force Report 206, Table L, at A-41. despite the Court's explicit recog-

Under these figures, even more families

- seventy-three percent - might be excluded nition that the general purpose of the

from eligibility by a principal wage earner test.

115.

OASDI program is to protect the dependents

of covered wage earners. 430 U.S. at 213.

See also Abbott v. Mathews, No. 74-194

(N.D. Ohio, Feb. 12, 1976), aff'd sub nom.

Califano v. Abbott, 430 U.S. 924 (1977);

Jablon v. Secretary of HEW, 399 F. Supp.

118 (D. Md. 1975), aff'd, 430 U.S. 924 (1977);

Silbowitz v. Secretary of HEW, 397 F. Supp.

862 (D. Fla. 1975), aff'd sub nom. Califano

68 /

v. Silbowitz, 430 U.S. 924 (1977). Congress

then reacted to the Court's decision not

by imposing a dependency requirement,

68/ In this regard, Massachusetts’ reliance

on Moss v. Secretary of HEW, 408 F. Supp.

403 (M.D. Fla. 1976), is misplaced, for it

was effectively overruled by this Court's

decision in Goldfarb. See Stipulation of

Dismissal, No. 74-721 (M.D. Fla. July 28,

1977).

116.

but rather by providing that a claimant's

Title II benefits would be offset by the

amount of any public pension benefit. See

P.L. 95-216, §344; S. Rep. No. 95-572,

95th Cong., lst Sess. 27-28. This selection

by Congress of an entirely different way of

remedying the statute's prior unconstitution-

ality makes clear that it is virtually

impossible to predict what Congress might

ultimately decide as to recasting the

benefits at issue in this case.

3. If any prediction can be made

about the remedy Congress would

select, it is that Congress would

favor simple extension without a

principal wage earner limitation.

The language and structure of the

current AFDC program suggest that Congress

would favor simple extension of AFDC-U

benefits to families with unemployed mothers

without any principal wage earner limitation.

In brief, the statute provides that AFDC

117.

is to be afforded to families with dependent

children "deprived of parental support or

care by reason of the unemployment...of

[their] father." 42 U.S.C. §607(a).

Therefore, a needy family is eligible if

the father is unemployed even if the mother

is the principal wage earner. Thus the plain

language of the statute, the starting point

of any analysis, does not support a prin-

cipal wage earner test.

Although Massachusetts argues that the

legislative history of Section 407 demon-

strates a congressional intent to impose a

principal wage earner test when the statute

was amended in 1968, close reading

indicates only that Congress amended

the statute without fully considering the

implications of the change from "parent"

to "father." As Amici have already demon-

strated, the sparse legislative history that

does exist indicates only that this language

Nw

118.

change was a mere by-product of Congress'

more urgent concern with redefinition of

term “unemployment” in the statute. See

discussion supra pp. 53-56. The change from

"parent" to "father" that accompanied this

redefinition reflects simply Congress'

stereotypical assumption that mothers in

two-parent families were not wage earners. Id.

Indeed, there is no evidence whatever

that Congress actually considered the situ--

ation of two-parent families with two wage

earners, much less decided that only the

parent who was the principal wage earner

could qualify the family for AFDC-U. The

use of the term "breadwinner" in congression-

al discussions does not support Massachusetts’

contention that Congress intended a prin-

cipal wage earner test, for that word was

employed indiscriminately both during

Congress' consideration of the 1961 and 1962

119.

AFDC-U legislation providing aid to children

deprived because of the unemployment of a

"parent," and in Congress' consideration of

the 1968 legislation changing "parent" to

“father." See discussion supra pp. 52-55.

If Congress had intended to provide aid only

to families whose principal wage earners were

unemployed, surely it would have said so

explicitly when it amended Section 407 in

1968 , 69/

69/ HEW, the federal agency charged with

administering the statute, has never inter-

preted Section 407 or its legislative history

to require a principal wage earner test.

See 34 Fed. Reg. 1146 (Jan. 24, 1969), as

amended by 36 Fed. Reg. 13604 (July 22, 1971),

37 Fed. Reg. 12202 (June 20, 1972), 38 Fed.

Reg. 18549 (July 12, 1973), 38 Fed. Reg.

26608 (Sept. 24, 1973), 40 Fed. Reg. 50273

(Oct. 29, 1975). The agency also takes the

position in this case that the simple exten-

sion of AFDC-U to families in which either

parent is unemployed is the appropriate

remedy. J.S. of Appellant Califano at 6 n.5.

. ” . t ee eee ea

eh Na ca A he ce ere Nel CO

120.

The principal wage earner limitation

is also inconsistent with the general

structure of the AFDC program. AFDC has

since 1935 provided aid to needy families

whose deprivation is attributable to the

absence, death, or incapacity of either

parent. See 42 U.S.C. §606(a). Although

the result is that benefits are usually

provided to one-parent families, two-

parent families have always been eligible

for aid if their deprivation results from

an inability to provide support or care by

either parent. For example, only one parent

is usually incapacitated, but the incapacity

of either parent will qualify a family for

assistance. Massachusetts' proposed remedy

would be a departure from this structure,

however, for it would provide that the un-

employment of only one parent - the one who

is the principal wage earner - could qualify

y > 2

the family for assistance.

There is further direct evidence that if

Congress were to explicitly consider reform of

the AFDC-U program to render it gender-neutral

it would not impose a principal wage earner

limitation. For example, although various

welfare bills have been recently

introduced in Congress to amend the AFDC-U

program to provide that the unemployment

of either parent would qualify the family

for assistance, none of these proposals

would also impose a principal wage earner

limitation such as Massachusetts proposes.

See H.R. 10711, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. §205

(1978) (introduced by Rep. Ullman, Chairperson

of the House Ways and Means Committee) ;

S. 2777, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. §101 (1978).

4. Congress will act if_it prefers a

remedy more complex than straight-

forward extension.

os _— ee Te eee ee

bn

Whether this Court decides to extend

or invalidate Section 407, its decision is

of course only a form of tentative adjudi-:

cation, not a definitive response to any

issues raised by the sex classification's

unconstitutionality. The ultimate responsi-

bility for the structure of the AFDC-U

program, within constitutional boundaries,

rests with Congress. Moreover, this is a

responsibility that Congress has not

hesitated to exercise when it disagrees with

judicial interpretation of the statute.

For example, in the year following the

decision in Philbrook v. Glodgett, 420 U.S.

707 (1975), in which this Court interpreted

the former Section 407 (b) (2) (C) (ii), 81

Stat. 883, to provide unemployed fathers

with the option to receive AFDC-U or un-

employment compensation, Congress responded

by adopting the present Section 407 (b) (2) (c)

(ii) which requires that unemployed fathers

123.

both apply for and accept any unemployment

benefits to which they may be entitled

before eligibility for AFDC-U is determined.

P.L. 94-566, §507, 90 Stat. 2688. The

congressional response to this Court's

decision in Califano v. Goldfarb, 430 U.S.

199, was similarly prompt. See discussion

Supra pp- 113-116. Finally, if proposals similar

to those introduced in the 95th Congress are

introduced in the 96th Congress to eliminate

the gender-discrimination in the AFDC-U

program, see p, 121 supra, Congress

will have the direct opportunity to

decide whether a principal wage earner

limitation should also be added to Section

407.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the

judgment of the district court should be

affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

RUTH BADER GINSBURG

DIANA A. STEELE

American Civil Liberties

Union Foundation

22 East 40th Street

New York, New York 10016

NANCY DUFF CAMPBELL

Women's Rights Project

Center for Law and

Social Policy

1751 N Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

PHYLLIS N. SEGAL

NOW Legal Defense and

Education Fund

36 West 44th Street

New York, New York 10036

ROSALIND M. GORDON

1 Battery Park Plaza

New York, New York 10004

Attorneys for Amici Curiae 7

* Counsel gratefully acknowledge the

[Footnote continued on next page.]

assistance of Jonathan Rivin, a second-

year student at the University of Michigan

School of Law and Steven Wasserman, a

second year law student at Columbia

University School of Law.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.