Petition — Palmer v. Ticcione

Supreme Court brief1979

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

upreme Court, U.

FILED

IN THE |} AUG 11. 1978

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITEQ, STATES... cierk

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

“2-9 40

No °

LOIS PALMER,

Petitioner,

~ against -

FRANK TICCIONE, EDWARD HAYES,

BENJAMIN GIAMBABIO, WILLIAM O'CONNELL,

WILLIAM GARGUILO, ROBERT JACOBS, and

N. PAUL BESCEMI, and THE SCHOOL BOARD

OF COPIAGUE UNION FREE SCHOOL

DISTRICT #5, -

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT Of APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Jonathan A. Weiss

LEGAL SERVICES FOR

THE ELDERLY POOR

Counsel for Petitioner

2095 Broadway, Room 304

¢ New York, New York 10023

(212) 595-1340

August 10, 1978

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

No.

LOIS PALMER,

Petitioner,

~ against -

FRANK TICCIONE, EDWARD HAYES,

BENJAMIN GIAMBABIO, WILLIAM O'CONNELL,

WILLIAM GARGUILO, ROBERT JACOB, and

N. PAUL BESCEMI, and THE SCHOOL BOARD

OF COPIAGUE UNION FREE SCHOOL

DISTRICT #5,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Jonathan A. Weiss

LEGAL SERVICES FOR

THE ELDERLY POOR

Counsel for Petitioner

2095 Broadway, Room 304

New York, New York 109023

(212) 595-1340

August i090, 1978

INDEX

Opinions Below... .eeeceeseveeeevens

Jurisdiction. .ccccccccccccvcccsscses

Statutory Provisions Involved......

Questions Presented....-+-seeeeeees

Statement of the Case......-+e-eeee-

Reasons for Granting the Writ......

POINT I. TERMINATION OF

INTELLECTUAL EMPLOYMENT

ON THE BASIS OF AGE

WITHOUT REASON OR

HEARING VIOLATES THE

FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT

TO THE U.S.

CONSTITUTION;

IF THE STATE STATUTE

SO PROVIDES IT IS

UNCONSTITUTIONAL.......-.-

POINT II. THE DECISION OF THE U.S.

COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE SECOND CIRCUIT IN

THIS CASE EXPLICITLY

CONFLICTS WITH THE

DECISION OF THE U.S.

COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT IN

GAULT v. GARRISON, NOW

T

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI;

SUPREME COURT REVIEW IS

THEREFORE APPROPRIATE...

23

26

26

46

CEI, 6 6 6:6 6060604 dO 648K 6 Sw OO

Appendix A (Opinion of the

Second Circuit Court of Appeals)..

Appendix B (Opinion of the U.S.

WEOCEASS COURS) 56 kb os cee tocews es os

Appendix C (Opinion of the Seventh

Circuit Court of Appeals in

GOULE VV. GREFISOD) scccscccecccccce

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Arnett v. Kennedy, 416 U.S.

Se PG is 6b kad boo ne dean ee 38

Avco Corp. v. Aero Lodge 735,

390 U.S. 557 (1968),

rehearing denied 391 U.S. 929

CRED 6 666.606 605066 6866 db 08808 47, 48

Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. 535

CLP7 EL) cvcce SwdebSdweaweeeeocneteses 36

Bevan v. New York State

Teachers’ Retirement System,

44 A.D.2d 163, 355 N.Y.S.2d

LBS (1974) ccccvecessccssccccece es 26

Bingler v. Johnson, 394 U.S.

EE) 6606485 oseeveeseeeveer eevee eee 47

Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S. 67

60a; RAR rere co*oev wee wwe ere ee em ee err 37

Gault v. Garrison, 569 F.2d 293

7G GERs APTI Sesccecen Sa, 322, 46, 47

Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254

tle yer eeeeee oeeree eevee ee eee ee 36

Goldsmith v. Board of Tax

Appeals, 270 U.S. 117 (1926)..... 41

La Fleur v. Cleveland, 414 U.S.

* 1.) Peeper 42, 43, 44, 45

iii

Massachusetts Board of Retirement

v. Murgia, 427 U.S. 307

(1976) ......-. cece e reece sece 31, 32, 33

North Georgia Finishing v.

Di-Chem, 419 U.S. 601

thay) Pree ers Se re en aa Oe

Palmer v. Ticcione, No. 77-7444

(7a Cit. oe, SOTOR so caeceues 29, 47

Perry v. Sindermann, 408 U.S.

SSS Civlal 0546000400480 36, 38

Reed v. Reed, 404 U.S. 71

CEU TE) 00006 000sse un 6445 29

Roth v. Regents, 408 U.S. 564

CLOTS) ccccseceesetusesesasawanes 38

San Antonio School District v.

Rodriguez, 411 U.S. 1 (1973).... 29

Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539

CLOT) 6 06scake oereen er eeeeeeeeeeeee 37

iv

STATUTES

Page

New York State Education Law

§ 510 a, 26, 27, 34, 37, 39, 40, 44

© FBR s ke cwccsscceccves 3, 4, 5, 23, 27

1b Tree rererere ee 5, 6, 7, 8, 27

DB Pee sects bcccccosesretccsons 8, 9, 27

§ 3018... cece Sere eee Tee 9, 10, 27

DS DORM ew bce er sereeeesececccessoos 10, 27

ee SS Srrrerrerre ee re eee a8, Aid, 27

DS Bee cs ce cccvcescenceee Li, 27, 28, 35

BS JOZO—B. co ccccccccccccvccscess

a2, 22, 23, 14, 15, 16, 17, 27, 28, 35

BER eee c cree cv ecencnseccccs 17, 27, 35

§ 3022... ccccces 17, 18, 19, 20, 27, 35

§ 3027 (Cheweneeeeee eee ase 20, 21, 27

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Monaghan, Of "Liberty" and

property 62 Cornell L.Rev.

405 1977 oeereeeeeveeeneeeee eee @ 39

Revised Rules of the Supreme Court

of the United States, Rule 19

C2) ED) cc co vete ROE er ee ere ee 48

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

No.

LOIS PALMER,

Petitioner,

- against -

K TICCIONE, EDWARD HAYES,

BENJAMIN GIAMBABIO, WILLIAM O'CONNELL,

WILLIAM GARGIULO, ROBERT JACOB, and

N. PAUL BESCEMI, and THE SCHOOL BOARD

OF COPIAGUE UNION FREE SCHOOL

DISTRICT #5,

Respondents.

I

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORAR

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

The petitioner, LOIS PALMER,

respectfully prays that a writ of

certiorari issue to review the judgment

and opinion of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Second Circuit

entered in this proceeding

on May 16, 1978.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit,

as yet unreported, appears at Appendix

A, infra, pp. . The opinion of the

United States District Court for the

Eastern District of New York, 433 F.Supp.

653 (E.D.N.Y. 1977), appears at Appendix

B, infra, pp. .

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

was entered on May 16, 1978. The peti-

tion for certiorari was filed less than

ninety days from the date aforesaid.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

THE STATUTES INVOLVED

§ 510. Superannuation retirement

1. Retirement upon a superannua-

tion allowance shall be made under

the following conditions:

b. Any member who has attained

age seventy may be retired at his

own request or at the request of

his employer if he or his employer

files with the retirement board a

statement duly attested setting

forth at what time subsequent to

the execution and filing thereof

retirement is desired, and if

throughout the year immediately

preceding the filing of such

statement he shall have been in

service as a teacher in this

state. The retirement board

shall retire said member as of

the date so specified or as of

such other time within thirty

days thereafter as the retirement

board may find advisable.

§ 3012. Tenure: certain union

free school districts

1. Teachers, principals, super-

visors and all other members of

the teaching and supervising

staff shall be appointed by

the board of education of a

union free school district

having a population of more

than forty-five hundred

inhabitants and employment

of a superintendent of schools,

for a probationary period of

three years. The service of

a person appointed to any

such position may be discon-

tinued at any time during

such probationary period,

on therrecommendation of

the superintendent of

schools, by a majority vote

of the board of education.

At the expiration of the

probationary term of a

person appointed for such

term, subject to the

conditions of this section,

the superintendent of schools

shall make a written report

to the board of education

recommending for tenure those

persons who have been found

competent, efficient and

satisfactory. Such persons,

and all others employed in

the teaching, examining or

supervising service of the

schools of such union free

school district, who have

served the probationary

period as provided in this

section, shall hold their

respective positions during

good behavior and efficient

and competent service, and

shall not be removed except

for any of the following

causes, after hearing, as pro-

vided by section three thousand

twenty-a of such law: (a) insu-

bordination, immoral character

Gr conduct unbecoming a

teacher; (b) inefficiency,

incompetency, physical or

mental disability, or neglect

of duty. Each person who is

not to be recommended for

appointment on tenure, shall

be so notified by the

superintendent of schools

in writing not later than

sixty days immediately

preceding the expiration of

his probationary period.

Notwithstanding any other

provision of this section

no period in any school year

for which there is no required

service and or for which no

compensation is provided shall

in any event constitute a break

or suspension of probationary

period or continuity of tenure

rights of any of the persons

hereinabove described.

§ 3013. Tenure: certain other

school districts

Re

Teachers, principals, except

principals of the district,

supervisors and all other

members of the teaching

and supervising staff, of

school districts employing

eight or more teachers,

other than city school

districts and school districts

having a population of four

thousand five hundred or more

and employing a superintendent

of schools, shall be appointed

by a majority vote of the

board of education or trustees

upon recommendation of the

district superintendent of

schools from lists submitted

to such district superintendent

by the principal of the district

in which they are to be

employed for a probationary

period of not to exceed five

years. Any principal of the

Gistrict, however, shall be

appointed by such school

authorities upon the

recommendation of the district

superintendent of schools.

Services of a person so

appointed to any such positions

may be discontinued at any time

during such probationary

period, upon the recommendation

of the district superintendenc,

by a majority vote of the

board of education or trustees.

On or before the expiration of

the probationary term of a

person appointed for such term,

except the principal of the

district, the district super-

intendent of schools shall

make a written report to the

board of education or trustees

recommending for appointment

on tenure, from lists and

reports furnished by the

principal of the district,

those persons who have been

found competent, efficient

and satisfactory. Any

principal of the district,

however, shall be recommended

for appointment on tenure to

such school authorities by

the district superintendent

of schools. By a majority

vote the board of education

or trustees may then appoint

on tenure any or all of the

persons recommended by the

district superintendent of

schools. Such persons

shall hold their respective

positions during good

behavior and competent and

efficient service and shall

not be removed except for any

of the following causes,

after a hearing, as

provided by section three

thousand twenty-a of such

law: (a) Insubordination,

immoral character or

conduct unbecoming a

teacher; (b) Inefficiency,

incompetency, physical or

mental disability or neglect

of duty. Each person who

is not to be so recommended

for appointment on tenure

shall be so notified in

writing by the district

Superintendent not later

than sixty days immediately

preceding the expiration of

his probationary period.

Notwithstanding any other

provision of this section

no period of any school year

for which there is no

required service and/or for

which no compensation is

provided shall in any event

constitute a break or sus-

pension of probationary

period or continuity of

tenure rights of any of

the persons hereinabove

described.

§ 3014. Tenure: boards of

cooperative educational services

1.

Administrative assistants,

Supervisors, teachers and

all other members of the

teaching and supervising

staff of the board of

cooperative educational

services shall be apointed

by a majority vote of the

board of cooperative

educational services upon

the recommendation of the

district superintendent

of schools for a proba-

tionary period, upon the.

recommendation of the .

by a majority vote of the

board of cooperative

educational services.

On or before the expiration

of the probationary term of

a person appointed for such

term the district superin-

tendent of schools shall make

a written report to the board

of cooperative educational

services recommending for

appointment on tenure persons

who have been found competent,

efficient and satisfactory.

Such persons shall hold their

respective positions during

good behavior and competent

and efficient service and

shall not be removed except

for any of the following

causes, after a hearing,

as provided by section three

thousand twenty-a of such law:

(a) Insubordination, immoral

character, or conduct

unbecoming a teacher; (b)

Inefficiency, incompetency,

physical or mental disability

or neglect of duty. Each

person who is not to be so

recommended for appointment

on tenure shall be so

notified in writing by the

district superintendent not

later than sixty days

immediately preceding the

cate, by whomsoever granted,

and declare him unfit to teach;

and if the teacher holds a

certificate of the commission-

er of education or of a former

Superintendent of public

instruction or a diploma of

a state college for teachers

Or state teachers college, he

shall notify the commissioner

of education forthwith of such

annulment and declaration.

§ 3019. Penalty for teacher's

failure to complete contract

Any failure on the part of a

teacher to complete an agree-

ment to teach a term of

school without good reason

therefor shall be deemed

sufficient ground for the

revocation of the teacher's

certificate.

expiration of his probationary § 3019-a. Notice of termination

period. of service by teachers

§ 3018. Revocation of certificate A teacher who desires to

by district superintendent terminate his services to

A district superintendent

shall examine any charge

affecting the moral

character of any teacher

within his district, first

giving such teacher reasonable

notice of the charge, and an

opportunity to defend himself

therefrom; and if he finds

the charge sustained, he shall

annual the teacher's certifi-

a school district at any

time, shall file a written

notice thereof with the school

authorities of such school

district or with the board

of cooperative educational

services or county vocational

education and extension

board at least thirty days

prior to the date of such

termination of services.

School authorities or

such boards which desire

= 10 -

to terminate the services of

a teacher during the proba-

tionary period shall give a

written notice thereof to

such teacher at least thirty

days prior to the effective

date of such termination

of services.

§ 3020. Dismissal of teacher

Except as otherwise provided

in sections twenty-five

hundred twenty-three, three

thousand twelve and three

thousand thirteen, no teacher

shall be removed during a

term of employment unless for

neglect of duty, incapacity

to teach, immoral conduct,

or other reason which,

when appealed to the

commissioner of education,

shall be held by him

sufficient cause for such

dismissal.

§ 3020-a. Hearing procedures and

penalties

1. Filing of charges. Except

in cities having a population

of one million or more, all

charges against a person

enjoying the benefits of

tenure as provided in sub-

division three of section one

thousand one hundred two, and

sections two thousand five

hundred nine, two thousand

five hundred seventy-three,

three thousand twelve, three

= 32 «=

thousand thirteen and three

thousand fourteen of this law

shall be in writing and filed

with the clerk of the school

district or employing board

during the period between the

actual opening and closing of

the school year for which the

employee is normally required

to serve. Except as provided

in subdivision eight of

section two thousand five

hundred seventy-three of this

law, no charges under this

section shall be brought

more than five years after

the occurrence of the alleged

incompetency or misconduct,

except when the charge is

of misconduct constituting

a crime when committed.

2. Disposition of charges.

Upon receipt of the charges,

the clerk of the school

district or employing board

shall immediately notify

said board thereof. Within

five days after receipt of

charges, the employing board,

in executive session, shall

determine, by a vote of a

majority of all the members

of such board, whether proba-

ble cause exists. If such

determination is affirmative,

a written statement specifying

the charges in detail, and

outlining his rights under

this section, shall be

immediately forwarded to the

accused employee by certified

- 12 «

mail. The employee may be

suspended pending a hearing

on the charges and the final

determination thereof.

Within five days of receipt

of the statement of charges,

the employee shall notify

the clerk of the employing

board whether he desires a

hearing on the charges. Unless

the employee has waived his

right to a hearing within the

allotted time, the clerk of

the board shall, not later

than the end of said five-

day period, notify the

commissioner of education

of the need for a hearing.

If the employee waives his

right to a hearing the

employing board shall proceed,

within five days, by a vote

of a majority of all the

members of such board, to

determine the case and fix

the penalty or punishment,

if any, to be imposed in

accordance with subdivision

four of this section.

3. Hearings.

a. Notice of hearing. Upon

receipt of a request for a

hearing in accordance with

subdivision two of this

section, the commissioner

of education shall schedule

a hearing, to be held in the

- 13 «

ee

Nahe

local school district, or

county seat, within fifteen

days of his receipt of the

request therefor, and

immediately notify the employ-

ee and the employing board

of the time and place thereof

and the procedures to be

followed in selecting a

hearing panel.

b. Hearing panel members.

For the purposes of this

selection the commissioner

of education shall maintain

a list of hearing panel

members, composed of

professional personnel

without administrative

Or supervisory responsibility,

professional personnel with

administrative or supervisory

responsibility; chief school

administrators, members of

employing boards and others,

selected from lists of

nominees submitted by state-

wide organizations representing

teachers, school administra-

tors and supervisors and the

employing boards. Hearing

panel members shall be

compensated at the rate

of fifty dollars for each day

of actual service plus necessary

travel and subsistence expen-

ses incurred in carrying out

the duties of a panel member.

c. Hearing procedures.

The commissioner of education

- 14 -

shall have the power to

establish necessary rules and

procedures for the conduct of

hearings under this section.

Such rules shall not require

compliance with technical

rules of evidence. All such

hearings shall be held before

a hearing panel composed of

three members not resident,

nor employed, in the territory

under the jurisdiction of the

employing board, selected in

the following manner from the

list maintained by the

commissioner of education

for such purpose: one

member shall be selected

by the employee, one member

shall be selected by the

employing board and the

third member shall be

chosen by mutual agreement

of the first two, or, if

they fail to agree, by the

commissioner of education.

Each such hearing shall be

conducted by a hearing officer

designated by the commissioner

of education and shall be

public or private at the

discretion of the employee.

The employee shall have a

reasonable opportunity to

testify in his own behalf.

Each party shall have the

right to be represented by

counsel, to subpoena

witnesses, and to cross-~-

examine witnesses. All

testimony taken shall be

under oath which the hearing

- 15 -

officer in charge is hereby

authorized to administer.

A competent stenographer,

designated by the commissioner

of education, shall keep and

transcribe a record of the

proceedings at each such

hearing. A copy of the

transcript of the hearing

shall, upon request, be

furnished without charge

to the employee involved.

4. Post hearing procedures.

Within five days of the

conclusion of a hearing

held under this section, the

commissioner of education

Shall forward a report of

the hearing panel and their

recommendations as to penalty

if one is warranted, to the

employee and to the clerk of

the employing board. Within

five days of receipt of such

hearing report the employing

board shall determine the case

by a vote of a majority of

all the members of such board

and fix the penalty or

punishment, if any, which shall

consist of a reprimand, a fine,

Suspension for a fixed time

without pay or dismissal. If

the employee is acquitted he

shall be restored to his

position with full pay for

any period of suspension

and the charges expunged

from his record.

5. Appeal. Any employee

feeling himself aggrieved

may review the determination

« 16 «

of the employing board either

by appeal to the commissioner

of education as provided for

by article seven of this

chapter, or by a special

proceeding under article

seventy-eight of the civil

practice law and rules.

If the employee elects to

institute such proceeding,

the determination of the

employing board shall be

deemed to be final for the

purpose of such proceeding.

§ 3021. Removal of superinten-

dents, teachers and employees

for treasonable or seditious

acts or utterances

A person employed as

superintendent of schools,

teacher or employee in the

public schools, in any city

or school district of the

state, shall be removed from

such position for the

utterance of any treasonable

or seditious word or words

or the doing of any treason-

able or seditious act or acts

while holding such position.

§ 3022. Elimination of subversive

persons from the public school

system

1. The board of regents

shall adopt, promulgate,

and enforce rules and

regulations for the disquali-

fication or removal of

2 i7 «

SR Ne as tah nd Be rm

superintendents of schools,

teachers or employees in the

public schools in any city

Or school district of the

State and the faculty

members and all other

personnel and employees of

any college or other

institution of higher educa-

tion owned and operated by

the state or any subdivision

thereof who violate the

provisions of section three

thousand twenty-one of this

article or who are ineligible

for appointment to or

retention in any office or

position in such public

schools or such institutions

of higher education on any of

the grounds set forth in

section twelve-al of the

Civil service law and shall

provide therein appropriate

methods and procedure for

the enforcement of such

sections of this article and

the civil service law.

2. The board of regents

shall, after inquiry, and

after such notice and hearing

as may be appropriate, make

a listing of organizations

which it finds to be subver-

Sive in that they advocate,

advise, teach or embrace the

doctrine that the government

of the United States or of

any other state or of any

political subdivision thereof

shall be overthrown or over-

- 18 -

thrown or overturned by force,

violence or any unlawful

means, or that they advocate,

advise, teach or embrace the

duty, necessity or propriety

of adopting any such doctrine,

as set forth in section

twelve-al of the civil service

law. Such listings may be

amended and revised from time

to time. The board, in

making such inquiry, may

utilize any similar listings

or designations, promulgated

by any federal agency or

authority authorized by

federal law, regulation or

executive order, and for the

purposes of such inquiry,

the board may request and

receive from such federal

agencies or authorities any

supporting material or

evidence that may be made

available to it. The board

of regents shall provide

in the rules and regulations

required by subdivision one

hereof that membership in

any such organization

included in such listing

made by it shall constitute

prima facie evidence of _

disqualification for appoint~

ment to or retention in any

office or position in the

public schools of the state.

3. The board of regents shall

annually, on or before the

fifteenth day of February,

by separate report, render to

the legislature, a full state-

ment of measures taken by it

- 19 -

for the enforcement of such

provisions of law and to

require compliance therewith.

Such reports shall contain a

description of surveys made

by the board of regents, from

time to time, as may be

appropriate, to ascertain

the extent to which such

provisions of law have been

enforced in the city and

school districts of the state.

§ 3027. Discrimination based on

age prohibited

Notwithstanding any provi-

sion of law to the contrary,

no board of education in any

city, union free, common or

central school district in

this state shall hereafter

prohibit, prevent, disqualify

or discriminate against any

persons who is physically and

mentally qualified from

competing, participating,

Or registering for an

examination for or from

qualifying for, a position

as teacher, or be penalized

in a final rating by reason

of his or her age. Any such

rule, requirement, resolu-

tion, regulation or

penalization of such board

shall be void.

Nothing herein contained,

however, shall prevent such

board from adopting reasonable

minimum or maximum age

requirements for positions

- 20 =

which require extraordinary

physical effort, except

where age limits for such

positions are already

prescribed by law.

= 21 «

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Where a teacher adjudged and

admitted to be fully competent to

perform her duties was discharged,

pursuant to a retirement law, solely on

the basis of age:

(1) Was the Second Circuit Court

of Appeals correct in finding no consti-

tutional infirmity in the dismissal of a

civil rights action to remedy the

unwarranted discharge?

(2) Was the Second Circuit Court

of Appeals correct in disagreeing with

its sister Seventh Circuit Court of

Appeals which held that a teacher cannot

be discharged solely on the basis of

chronological age and that such a

discharge would be unconstitutional?

=- 22 -

STATEMENTS OF THE CASE

The facts in this case are not in

dispute. Mrs. Palmer, petitioner, has

engaged in a teaching career since 1943.

Beginning with the 1961-62 school year,

she was employed by the respondents,

COPIAGUE UNION FREE SCHOOL DISTRICT #5,

as a kindergarten teacher. Mrs. Palmer

became a tenured teacher within the

meaning of New York State Education Law

§ 3012 at the end of the 1963-64 school

year. During each year of her employ-

ment, up to and including the 1974-75

school year, Mrs. Palmer received

satisfactory evaluation of her per-

formance as a teacher. In her most

recent evaluation, on March 10, 1975,

her supervisor recommended that Mrs.

Palmer be rehired for the 1975-76 school

year. Nevertheless, in May, 1975,

respondent BUSCEMI informed

- 23-

Mrs. Palmer that she was to he retired

because she had turned 70. The School

Board of the COPIAGE UNION FREE SCHOOL

DISTRICT #5 met and ratified this

decision on June 16, 1975, and then

directed the New York State Teachers'

Retirement System to place Mrs. Palmer

On retirement on August 25, 1975.

After correspondence on the issue,

petitioner filed her complaint on

December 1, 1975. On January 27, 1977,

petitioner's motion for summary

judgment and respondents' motion to

dismiss were heard before Judge Neaher.

On July 5, 1977, Judge Neaher granted

respondents' motion to dismiss.

Petitioner filed her notice of

- 24 -

appeal July 29, 1977. The U.S. Court

of Appeals for the Second Circuit

affirmed the district court decision

on May 16, 1978. On August 13, 1978,

petitioner filed this petition for a

writ of certiorari.

- 25 ~

POINT I. TERMINATION OF INTELLECTUAL

EMPLOYMENT ON THE BASIS

OF AGE WITHOUT REASON OR

HEARING VIOLATES THE

FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT TO

THE U.S. CONSTITUTION;

IF THE STATE STATUTE SO

PROVIDES IT IS

UNCONSTITUTIONAL.

A. § 510 of the New York Education

Law violates the Equal Pro-

tection Clause because the

statute's system of classifica-

tion does not satisfy the

Wrational relationship" test.

The primary purpose of § 510 of

the New York Education Law is to pro-

mote efficient distribution of

retirement benefits to teachers.

Cf. Bevan v. New York State Teachers

Retirement System, 44 A.D.2d 163,

355 N.Y.S.2d 185 (1974) (construing

§ 511, a companion section related

- 26 -

to disability retirement). As part

of the definition of eligibility

criteria, § 510(1)(b), if interpreted

1

as urged by respondents, permits

1

Petitioner urged and continues to main-

tain that § 510 be construed consistently

with §§ 3012-14, 3018-22, and 3027 of the

New York Education Law, and read as requiring

that an employer's request of retirement of

a teacher against his or her will

meet the general requisites for removal

of any teacher or any age, i.e., immoral

conduct, neglect of duty, incapacity to

teach, or other reasons made explicit in

state or school board policy. This

point was briefed extensively below

and if certiorari is granted will

be briefed as a pendent claim.

- 2} -

the local school boards arbitrary

power to retire teachers age 70 or

Older. The statute thus conditions

job security on age. Tenured teachers

younger than seventy can only be

terminated for cause, § 3020, and by

specified procedure, § 3020-a,

Education Law. Teachers age seventy

or older receive different treatment;

they can be removed arbitrarily by

a mere request of the school board.

This type of statutory classifica-

tion is invalid if “different treatment

be accorded to persons placed by a

statute into different classes on

the basis of criteria wholly unrelated

- 28 -

to the objectives of that statute.”

Reed v. Reed, 404 U.S. 71, 75-76

(1972). This objective must be the

actual, “articulated” purpose of that

Statute and not a mere hypothetical

or speculative justification.

McGinniss v. Royster, 410 U.S. 263,

270 (1973); San Antonio School

District v. Rodriguez, 411 U.S. l,

17 (1973). It is therefore not enough

that, as Judge Hayes suggests,

".,...a state might prescribe mandatory

retirement for teachers in order to

[advance unstated objectives]", Palmer

v. Ticcione, No. 77-7444 (2d Cir.

May 16, 1978), at 306304 (see Appendix

A) (emphasis added), or that a local

- 29 -

school board might have adopted an

unstated policy to promote unstated

objectives in addition to the

primary one set forth by the state.

The objective of efficient

distribution of retirement benefits

is not furthered by granting local

school boards unlimited

discretionary power to compel retire-

ment of teachers age 70 or older.

In fact, such unlimited power may

frustrate efficient distribution

of benefits by adding

unpredictability to the system (the

status of each 70+ year old teacher

is problematic) and increasing the

- 30 -

rolls (to whatever extent forced

retirements occur).

This unlimited power also frustrates

one cf the general objectives of the

state education system: to hire and

retain qualified personnel. Although

this Court in Massachusetts Board of

Retirement v. Murgia, 427 U.S. 307

(1976), upheld a statute mandating

retirement for state troopers who

reached the age of 50, this Court

did that on the basis of specified

relevant factors. For example, in

Murgia, the defendants came forward

with evidence that physical ability

generally declines with age; the

retirement statute was therefore

sufficiently related to the state's

interest in the physical fitness

of its state troopers so as to with-

Stand an equal protection challenge.

Here, no evidence has been offered

that the skills required of a

kindergarten teacher deteriorate with

age. In Gault v. Garrison, 569 F.2d

993, 996 (7th Cir. 1977), the court

noted that, to the contrary, "...much

in the way of knowledge and experience,

so helpful to the educational

profession, is often gained through

years of practice." As Justice Marshall

noted in his dissent in Murgia:

That the Court concludes it

is rational to legislate on

the assumption that physical

strength and well being

decreased significantly with

age does not imply that it

will reach the same conclusion

with respect to legislation

based on assumptions about

mental...ability.

B. §510 of the New York Education

Law violates the Equal

Protection Clause because the

statute's procedure for

dismissal of teachers on the

basis of age provides no

safeguards, whereas state

procedure for dismissal of

teachers on any other

ground provide elaborate

427 U.S. at 327, fn. &. safeguards.

The Gault court, facing a record devoid New York Education Law has,

of evidence demonstrating a...» according to respondents, elaborate

"rational relationship” between procedural safeguards in its

deterioration of mental ability or provisions governing dismissal of

any tenured teacher - as long as the

2

teacher is less than 70 years old.

teaching skills and age, refused

to extrapolate from Murgia to a case

: j ‘ no 2

where the reasoning of Murgia made As discussed in footnote l,

petitioner takes issue with this

statutory interpretation, but if it

is carried then the statute is

unconstitutional.

sense. The equal protection

clause bars capricious discrimination,

to protect individuals such as Ms.

Gault and Mrs. Palmer.

§$§ 3020, 3020-a, 3021, 3022. But

New York Education Law has no procedural

safeguards written into its provisions

governing any dismissal of any tenured

teacher seventy years of age or older.

The Gault court held that

...ethe classification of teachers

between those who are afforded

and those who are not afforded

procedural safeguards before

their removal on its face

discriminates against persons

who are similarly situated.

Accordingly, we cannot sanction

the total lack of procedural

equality suffered by teachers

who have reached the age of 65

without a record showing the

presence or absence of a

justifiable and rational state

purpose. Gault v. Garrison,

569 F.2d 993, 997 (7th Civ. 1977).

The Gault argument is equally applicable

and equally ccmpelling in the case at

bar.

C. §510 of the New York Education

Law violates the Due Process

Clause because it allows the

taking of property without a

prior hearing.

Whenever property or liberty are

threatened by state action, due process

is triggered as a limitation upon that

action. Perry v. Sindermann, 408 U.S.

993 (1972). In general, procedural due

process must be afforded to those con-

demned by state action "to suffer

grievous loss." Goldberg v. Kelly,

397 U.S. 254, 262 (1970); see also,

Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. 535 (1971). In

particular, notice and some kind of

hearing are required before property is

finally taken. See North Georgia

- 36 -

Finishing v. Di-Chem, 419 U.S. 601 (1975)

and Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S. 67 (1972);

see also, e.g., Wolff v. McDonnell, 418

U.S. 539, 557-8 (1974). In this case,

however, despite the fact that Mrs.

Palmer's property right in continued

employment has been infringed by res-

pondents' interpretation of New York

Education Law §510(1)(b), no procedural

safeguards were accorded at any time.

Thus, the statute is violative of due

process as guaranteed by the Fourteenth

Amendment and as such must be invalidated.

(i) Mrs. Palmer has a property

richt to her job as a

Kindergarten teacher.

The right to public employment has

- 37 «

been accorded the protection of due

process in the past. See Perry v.

Sindermann, supra, enforcing another

teacher's employment as a property right

and the consistent line of citations

employed as its reasoned base. See also

Arnett v. Kennedy, 416 U.S. 134 (1974).

While it is well settled that a tenured

teacher has a property richt in continued

employment unless cause for dismissal is

shown, Arnett, supra, tenure is not a

prerequisite to the application of due

process, for property may be based upon

a need to "protect those claims upon which

people rely in their daily lives." Roth v.

Regents, 408 U.S. 564, 577 (1972).

38 -

Mrs. Palmer was arbitrarily ter-

minated after a period in which the

employment rights had become vested, i.e.

after a period of tenure. > Yet res-

pondents' interpretation of §510(1) (b)

permits termination by arbitrary act.

A board cannot either re-define Mrs.

Palmer's property right as not property

or affect it without due process, since

the right to property is protected by

the Federal Constitution. See in general,

Monaghan, Of "Liberty" and "Property",

62 Cornell L. Rev. 405, 440 (1977),

’ Although Murgia involved a non-

probationary employee discharged for age,

the due process issue was not specifically

raised there. Moreover, there was a

uniform rule applying to a class of

people which rule was based on defensible

generalization. Here respondents would

give unbridied discretion for selective

discrimination.

- 39 «

defining the Federal interest in state law

created property rights. Regardless of

its moorings in state law, once property

is created its protection can be federal,

and any abridgement must satisfy due

process standards.

(ii) §510(1)(b) of the New York

Education Law is violative

of due process in that it

delegates unfettered dis-

cretion to the School Board.

In a discussion of the constitu-

tionality of a rule of the Board of Tax

Appeals which allowed it to disbar an

attorney at its discretion without a

hearing or even a statement of reason,

this Court stated that discretionary

power "must be construed to mean the

- 40 -

exercise of a discretion to be exercised

after fair investigation, with such a

notice, hearing and opportunity to answer

for the applicant as would constitute

due process." Goldsmith v. Board of Tax

Appeals, 270 U.S. 117 (1926) (case dis-

posed of on other grounds). Mrs. Palmer

had a right to an appropriate hearing

appropriately conducted.

- 41 -

D. Discharge on age creates an

irrebuttable presumption.

The facts of Mrs. Palmer's case

bring it within the holding of La Fleur

v. Cleveland Board of Education, 414 U.S.

632 (1974). In La Fleur, the Court

struck down as a violation of the Due

Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment

mandatory maternity leave rules for school

teachers in Cleveland, Ohio, and Chester-

field County, Virginia. While recognizing

the school boards' interest in preserving

continuity of instruction and assuring

the physical capability of school

teachers, the Court found that the

mandatory termination provisions of the

- 42 -

Cleveland and Chesterfield County rules

"surely cperate to insulate

the classroom from the

presence of potentially

incapacitated teachers.

But the question is whether

the rules sweep too broadly

[citation omitted]...that

question must be answered

in the affirmative, for

the provisions amount to

a conclusive presumption

that every pregnant teacher

who reaches the fifth or

sixth month of pregnancy

is physically incapable

of continuing. There is

no individualized deter-

mination by the teacher's

doctor - or the school

board's - as to any

particular teacher's

ability to continue at

her job. The rules

contain an irrebuttable

presumption of physical

incompetency, and that

presumption applies even

when the medical evidence

as to an individual woman's

physical status might be

wholly to the contrary."

414 U.S. at 644.

- 43 -

The similarity of the fact

Situation in the case at bar to the

Situation in La Fleur is striking.

Here, age, a physical condition like

pregnancy, has been permitted to operate

as an irrebuttable presumption of mental

incompetency. The La Fleur decision

struck down mandatory pregnancy leave

rules, strongly implying that nothing

less than a case by case determination

of fitness would suffice. Allowing

§510(1) (b) of the New York Education Law

to operate as a license for school

boards to dismiss teachers over age 70

at will and in an arbitrary fashion,

even in the absence of a hearing on

- 44 =

fitness (indeed, in Mrs. Palmer's case,

in the face of an evaluation finding her

eminently qualified to continue teaching)

runs counter to the holding of La Fleur

and the Due Process Clause.

POINT II. THE DECISION OF THE U.S.

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

SECOND CIRCUIT IN THIS

CASE EXPLICITLY CONFLICTS

WITH THE DECISION OF THE

U.S. COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

IN GAULT V. GARRISON,

NOW THE SUBJECT OF A

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI;

SUPREME COURT REVIEW

IS THEREFORE APPROPRIATE.

The plaintiffs in both Palmer v.

Ticcione and Gault v. Garrison, 569

F.2d 993 (7th Cir. 1977), are public

school teachers who were retired

against their will and in spite of

their continued capability to teach,

because they had reached “retirement

age." The defendants in both cases

are the school personnel who

executed the retirement decision.

- 46 -

As Judge Hays wrote for the Second

Circuit, “...Gault fnmvolves a

factual situation very similar to

that of the instant case - the major

difference is that the retirement age

in Gault was 65, not 70 [as it was

in Palmer]..." Palmer v. Ticcione,

No. 77-7444 (2d Cir. May 16, 1978),

at 3061 (see Appendix A). :

The existence of conflicting

decisions on the same issue by

different U.S. Circuit Courts of

Appeals is a well-established reason

for granting a writ of certiorari.

See Bingler v. Johnson, 394 U.S.

741 (1969) and Avco Corp. v. Aero

Lodge 735, 390 U.S. 557 (1968),

- 47 ~

rehearing denied 391 U.S. 929 (1968);

Revised Rules of the Supreme Court

of the United States, Rule 19(1) (b).

Irreconcilable Circuit Court opinions

on the same important federal question

merit the clarification only the Supreme

Court can supply. A writ of

certiorari is therefore appropriate

in this case.

~- 48 -

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, 4 writ of

certiorari should issue to review the

judgment and opinion of the Second

Circuit.

DATED: NEW YORK, NEW YORK

August 10, 1978

Respectfully submitted,

JONATHAN A. WEISS, Esq.

Attorney for Petitioner

2095 Broadway, Suite 304

New York, NY 10023

(212) 595-1340

a? PERROTTA." a”

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For tHe Sreconp Circuit

No. 466—September Term, 1977.

(Argued January 23, 1978 Decided May 16, 1978.)

Docket No. 77-7444

tiie tie

es

Lois PaLMEr,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

FRaNK : ,

TICCIONE, Howarp Hayes, Beygamix G

Wriur1m O’C Ee

> a. ONNELL, Wittiam GancruLo, Rosert JACOB,

- auL Buscemi, and Tue Scuoon Boarp or THE

opiaGUE Union Free Scnoor Districr #5

‘ >

Defendants-A ppellees.

a

9

Y

Before:

Hays an ; x, Circuit

d Gurrery, Circuit Judges,

and Bryan, District Judge.*

_"

“+

a>»

oe

Pre 2 _— an order of the United Siates District

a Pa moe District of New York, the Si escenhle

arc veaher, Judge, dismissir .

s 1g plaintiff oAa-

tions of age discrimination in violation of the belaewe

‘ ‘O-

Honorable Frederi

derick van Pelt Br

yan, Unit

mw crete District of New York, si an - pie ame

gn v

es = ron to afiirm, He unfortunately passed at <n sip

was drafted. As a result, his concurrence could not Rotary

ec ec

300%)

A~3

tection and due process clauses of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment for want of a substantial federal question.

Affirmed.

JonatHan A. Weiss, New York, N.Y., for Plain-

tiff-A ppellant.

Cuartes D, Maurer, New York, N.Y., (Henry

Weinstein, New York, N.Y., on the brief),

for Defendants-Appellees.

~~

Se

Hays, Circuit Judge:

Appellant, Lois Palmer, commenced this action under 42

U.S.C. §1983 (1940) for age discrimination in violation of

the equal protection and due process guarantees of the

Fourteenth Amendment. The district court granted the

defendants’ motion to dismiss for want of a substantial

federal question. For the reasons stated below, we affirm

the dismissal of the compiaint.

I

The facts are undisputed. Appellant has heen a teacher

since 1943. She has been employed by the defendant Co-

piague Union Free District #5 as a kindergarten teacher

since the 1961-62 school year. She received tenure at the

end of the 1963-64 school year. In February 1973, she

reached the age of 70. On May 15, 1973, she met with de-

fendant N. Paul Buscemi, the Copiague superintendent of

schools. He informed her that she was to be retired at the

end of the school year because she had reached the retire-

ment age of 70. This decision was subsequently ratified by

the Copiague school board, and the New York State Retire-

ment System was directed to place Mrs. Palmer on retire-

ment status as of August 25, 1975.

3060

< A~2

It is not disputed that appellant is willing and able to

teach. Her performance as a teacher was rated satisfac-

tory in each year of her employment. In the last evalua-

tion, made just before she was retired in 1973, her principal

recommended that she be rehired, “[sJubject to review of

compulsory retirement under New York State Education

Law.”

Appellant contends that retirement solely on the basis of

her age violates her constitutional and state law rights.

Essentially, she claims: that compulsory retirement at age

70 violates the equal protection clause; that it creates an

irrebuttable presumption of incompetency based on age;

that, as a tenured teacher, she is entitled to a hearing be-

fore termination; and that, in the alternative, the New

York Education Law should be read to prohibit com pulsory

retirement or, if not, to require a hearing before termina-

tion.

II

Compulsory retirement systems have come under con-

stitutional attack in several contexts. These equal protec-

tion and due process challenges have been rejected by this

and other courts. The only exception is Gault v. Garrison,

- 569 F.2d 993 (7th Cir. 1977). In that case, the Seventh

Circuit ruled that a retired teacher is entitled to a trial on

her age discrimination claim. Because Gaulé involves a

factual situation very similar to that of the instant caso—

the major difference is that the retirement age in Gault was

65, not 70—and hecause we disagree with the Gault hold-

ing, we think it appropriate to focus on this issue ouce

again.

he ruling in Gaulf is premised on the implications of

the Supreme Court’s most recent decision in this area. Ty

Massachusetts Board of Retirement y. Murgia, 427 US.

3061

307 (1976), the Court upheld a state law requiring the

mandatory retirement of uniformed police at age 59. First,

Murgia established that the proper standard for equal pro-

tection review in a case challenging a compulsory retire-

ment statute is the rational basis test. Jd. at 312-14.

Applying this standard, the Court found that forced retire-

ment at age 50 did foster the purpose identified by the

state; it assured the continued physical preparedness of

the state’s uniformed police. Jd. at 314-16. In Wurgia, there

had been a trial, and there was evidence in the record to

support the conclusion that physical preparedness is ra-

tionally related to age.

As in the instant case, but unlike Jurgia, Gault involved

an appeal from an order dismissing the complaint. The

Gault court assumed that the strongest justification for a

retirement law for teachers is to remove those who are

unfit. Working from that premise, it held that, absent an

evidentiary showing, there was no reason to assume that

there is any relationship between advancing age and fit-

ness to teach. Gault distinguished Murgia as involving a

question of whether physical fitness declines with age, and

noted that there was evidence in the record to support the

conclusion that it does. It contrasted this with the ques-

tion whether teaching ability, which involves predomi-

- nately mental skills, similarly declines with age. Absent an

evidentiary showing, the court saw no reason to assume

that it does; in fact, it speculated that the knowledge and

experience necessary for teaching increases with age.?

1 Gault also distinguished Bfurgia on another ground. It noted that,

az between teachers and policemen, the consequences of Jack of fitness

differ substantially. If a police officer is not fit, his inability to perform

could become a matter of life or death. Thus, a general, perbaps overly

broad rule is justified to prevent such occurrences. If a teacher becomes

unfit, however, the consequences are not so immediate. There is adequate

Accordingly, it remanded for further proceedings to deter-

mine whether compulsory retirement of teachers at age 65

is rationally based. 569 F.2d at 9960.

We decline to follow Gault for two reasons. First, while

there is a valid distinction between the instant case and

Murgia, we cannot distinguish the prior cases that have

sustained compulsory retirement statutes for occupations

that involve primarily mental skills. In Johnson v. Lefko-

witz, 566 I’.2d 866 (2d Cir. 1977), we upheld the constitu-

tionality of §70 of the New York State Retirement and

Social Security Law (McKinney’s 1971), which requires

tenured civil servants to retire at age 70. In Johnson,

the plaintiff had been dismissed from his position as senior

attorney in the Real Property Bureau of the state’s law

department. In Rubino v. Ghezzi, 512 F.2d 431 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 423 U.S. 891 (1975), we upheld the constitu-

tionality of the mandatory retirement of state judges at

age 70. And, in Weisbrod v. Lynn, 383 F.Supp. 933 (D.D.C.

1974), aff'd, 420 U.S. 940 (1975), mandatory retirement of

federal civil servants at age 70 was upheld as constitu-

tional, even though the statute undoubtedly requires the

retirement of some civil servants who are engaged in oceu-

pations that involve primarily mental skills. Cf. Weiss v.

Walsh, 324 F.Supp. 75 (S.D.N.Y. 1971), aff’d, 461 F.2d

846 (2d Cir. 1972), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 1129 (1973) (de-

nial of state-endowed chair to college professor over 65

“is not unconstitutional age discrimination).

Second, Gault too narrowly conceives the possible ra-

tional bases for a compulsory retirement statute. Unrelated

to any notion of physical or mental fitness, a state might

prescribe mandatory retirement for teachers in order to

time to effect his or her removal via appropriate procedural means. 569

F.2d at 996,

While this distinction bas merit, we do not find it sufficiently persva-

sive in view of the considerations expressed below.

3053

A-5

-_"

open up employment opportunities for young teachers—

particularly in the last decade when supply has outpaced

demand, or to open up more places for minorities, or to

bring young people with fresh ideas and techniques in con-

tact with school children, or to assure predictability and

ease in establishing and administering pension plans. A

compulsory retirement system is rationally related to the

fulfillment of any or all of these legitimate state objec-

tives.

Thus, it would seem clear that, Gault notwithstanding,

the New York State compulsory retirement system for

teachers is immune from constitutional attack. However,

appellant seeks to distinguish the instant case on two

grounds. First, she argues that, since the statute must

“rationally [further] the purpose identified by the State,

.. -” Murgia, supra, 427 U.S. at 314 (emphasis added) ;

San Antonio School District v. Rodriguez, 411 U.S. 1, 17

(1973), we may only look to the purpose of the com-

pulsory retirement law as evidenced by the statutory

scheme. Section 510(1)(b) of the New York Education

Law (MciXinney’s 1969), which provides for compulsory

retirement at the employer’s discretion, is part of a statute

governing retirement benefits.? Thus, appellant contends

2 N.Y.Ed. Law §510(1)(b) (McKinney’s 1969) provides:

Any member who has attained age seventy may he retired at his

own request or at the request of his employer . . . if throughout

the year immediately preceding ... he shall have been in service

as a teacher in this state.

On its face, §510 seems to be rrore concerned with eligibility for re-

tirement benefits than with compulsory retirement. Article 11 of the

Education Law, of which §510 is a part, has been characterized as a

statute “primarily designed to provide benefits to certain qualified super-

annuated or disabled [teachers] . . .” not “to enforce a [teacher's]

retirement without consent....” Bevan v. New Yor? State Teachers’

Retirement System, 44 A.D.2d 165, 165, 355 N-Y.S.2d 185, 187-8 (1974)

(emphasis in original) (construing §521, a companion sectigg related to

disability retirement).

3064

A-6

that the only possible purpose of the statute is to further

the efficient distribution of retirement benefits. She argues

that compulsory retirement is not rationally related to

this purpose because the statute provides for compulsory

retirement at the discretion of the einployer. This encour-

ages unpredictability in the administration of the pension

program. Also, she contends that, to the extent that able

teachers are forced to retire at age 70, compulsory re-

tirement defeats the purpose of the statute by adding un-

necessarily to the retirement rolls. Second, appellant

argues that because this case involves a statute that pro-

vides for discretionary rather than mandatory compulsory

retirement, the precedents are inapposite.

Closer scrutiny of the statute provides the answer to the

first argument. Section 501(1)(b) is permissive; it allows

individual school boards to implement compulsory retire-

ment policies. See Harren vy. Middle Island Central School

District #12, No. 12656/74 (Sup. Ct. 1974), aff’d 49 A.D.2d

879, 373 N.Y.S.2d 20 (1975). Thus, if an individual school

board adopts a compulsory retirement policy, whether

mandatory or discretionary, it may be to further any of the

purposes suggested above, without regard to the narrow

context of the empowering statute. Since such a board

adopted policy would be supportable as rationally based,

“we would be constrained to uphold it as a legitimate exer-

‘cise of a statutorily authorized power.

With regard to the second argument, we fail to see its

relevance. The record is inconclusive on whether Copiague

has adopted a mandatory or discretionary retirement pol-

icy. There is nothing in the record to indicate that the

appellant was discharged under anything other than an

across-the-board, mandatory retirement policy. If so, then,

as noted above, the board’s action is clearly immune from

constitutional attack. However, even if appellant was re-

3065

A-7

tired under a discretionary policy, the result would be the

same. First, a discretionary retirement policy would still

be rationally related to a legitimate state goal: it would

further any of the purposes noted above, with the excep-

tion of those related to the maintenance of pension plans.

Second, the Johnson case would still be on point. Johnson

involved §70 of the New York Retirement and Social Se-

curity Law (McKinney’s 1971), a statute that is func-

tionally equivalent to discretionary retirement. Subsection

(c) provides that a civil servant may be retained beyond

age 70 under certain conditions. If he or she is retained,

however, he or she is subject to termination upon sixty

days’ notice. Johnson had been given two extensions and

was then summarily retired. The court found no constitu-

tional infirmity with that system. We find none in the

instant case either. |

We reach the same conclusion with regard to the due

process attack on compulsory retireinent as establishing an

irrebuttable presumption. That claim is analytically very

similar to the equal protection one. If the statutory classi-

fication is sustainable as rationally based, then it should

not fall because it might also be labeled a presumption.

Moreover, the due process claim was before the Court in

McIlvaine v. Pennsylvania, 415 U.S. 986 (1974), and Weis-

brod v. Lynn, 420 U.S. 940 (1975), aff’g 383 F.Supp. 933

- (D.D.C. 1974), and this court in Rubino v. Ghezzi, 512 F.2d

431 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 891 (1975). In each

case it was rejected.

Appellant also claims that she was entitled to a due

process hearing before being retired. However, we can see

no purpose for a hearing if appellant was retired under

an across-the-board, mandatory retirement system. And

even if a diserctionary system was employed, we would be

constrained to follow Johnson, supra, and deny this claim.

3055

°«

A-8 .

«

In Johnson, we held that a hearing is not required becanse

the benefits of holding such a hearing are outweighed

by the burdens imposed upon the state by requiring a hear-

ing in every case. 566 J".2d at S69.

Iii

Appellant also raises several state law claims. She con-

tends that compulsory retirement is forbidden by N.Y. Ed.

Law §3027 (McKinney’s 1969).2 She also asserts that

§510(1)(b) should be read in conjunction with §§3018-3022

of the Education Law, governing the dismissal and disci-

pline of tenured teachers, to, amongst other things, require

a hearing before termination.

The first question has, apparently, never been deter-

mined by the New York courts. The second, however, has

been, and the result has been unfavorable to the appellant.

Harren v. Middle Island Central School District +12, No.

12656/74 (Sup. Ct. 1974), af’d, 49 A.D.2d 879, 373 N.YS.

2d 20 (1975).* In any case, we do not think it necessary

3 N.Y.Ed. Law $3027 (McKinney’s 1970) provides:

Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, no board of

education . . . shall hereafter prohibit, prevent, disqualify or dis-

criminate against any person who is physically and mentally qual-

ified from competing, participating, or registering for an examina-

tion for or from qualifying for, a position as teacher, or be penalized

in a final rating by reason of bis or her age. Any such rule, require-

ment, resolution, regulation, or penalization of such board shall be

void.

Nothing hereia contained, however, shall prevent such board from

adopticg reasouable minimum or maximum age requirements for

positions which require extraordinary physical effort, except where

age limits for such positions are already prescribed by Jaw.

Section 3027 seems to be aimed at prohibiting age discrimination in

hiring. However, its language could be read to encompass a prohibition

against discrimination from continuing qualification

as a teacher, i.e.,

against compulsory retirement.

4 In various other contexts, the New York courts have consistently held

that retirement statutes or regulations are not inconsistent with or mod-

SUG6T

A-9

to decide these issues. Since the underlying federal claim

was properly dismissed, the denial of pendent jurisdic-

tion over the state claims was proper. United Mine Work-

ers v. Gibbs, 383 U.S. 715, 726 (1966); Chasteen v. Trans

World Airlines, Inc., 520 F.2d 714 (8th Cir. 1975). More-

over, pendent jurisdiction was properly denied because

the state courts are a more appropriate forum for these

issues. Pride v. Community Sch. Bd. of Bklyu, N.Y. Sch.

Dist. #18, 482 F.2d 257, 272 (2d Cir. 1973).

IV

Today’s decision is not intended as an endorsement of

compulsory retirement for teachers or compulsory retire-

ment in general. Rather, we are aware of the many older

Americans who continue to be able and eager to work

beyond age seventy. We are also aware of the debilitat-

ing effects that compulsory retirement has on many such

individuals, with regard to their economic situation, their

health, their outlook on life, and their continuing oppor-

tunities for fulfillment. However, in determining the de-

sirability of compulsory retirement, these considerations

ified by statutes providing for removal only for incompetency and/or

only after a hearing. See People ex rel. O’Brien ¥. Sccxnel, 53 A.D. 161,

65 N.Y.S. 832, aff'd, 164 N.Y. 572, 55 N.E. 1091 (1900) (Retirement

of fireman due to disability is not a “removal” for the purposes of a

statute requiring a hearing for removal for incompetency or miscon-

duct); Geary v. Philips, 53 Mise.2d 337, 278 N.¥.S.2d 506 (1967)

(Police: retiremect is not a removal without a hearing); Humbeutel v.

City of New York, 125 N.Y¥.S.2a 195 (Sup. Ct. 1953), cff’d, 283 A.D.

1011, 131 N.¥.S.2d 445 (1954), eff’é, 308 N.Y. 904, 126 N.E.24 569

(1955) (Police: retirement is not removal without cause barred by

statute).

5 Evidence documenting both the continved ability of older workers and

the hardships resulting from compulsory retirement is reported in the

legislative history of the 1978 amendments to the Ace Discrimination

in Employment Act of 1967, discussed infra. S.Rep. No. 95-193, 95th

Cong., Ist Sess., 3-4 (1977).

3068

A-10

must be weighed against the social goals that compulsory

retirement furthers. This is precisely the type of clash

of competing social goals that is best resolved by the

legislative process. The federal courts should not second

guess the wisdom or propriety of such legislative resolu-

tions as long as they are rationally based.

Congress has recently considered this issue and, after.

extensive hearings, has amended the Age Discrimination

in Employment Act of 1967.5 The amendments prohibit,

with some exceptions, the compulsory retirement of peo-

ple under seventy, and of federal employees at any age.”

The original Act requires the Secretary of Labor to make

annual reports concerning the effects of the Act, taking

into account demographic changes.* The 1978 amendments

impose on the Secretary the further duty of reporting, by

1981, on the effects of the amendments and the feasibility

of extending their coverage.? We note these developments

because we are persuaded that they reinforce today’s de-

cision. There is no question but that the passage of the

1978 amendments to the Age Discrimination in Employ-

ment Act was the result of a process that was fair, delib-

6 29 U.S.C. §612 et seg. (1976).

7 The Age Discrimination in Employment Act Amen@ments of 1978,

P.L. No. 95-256, §3(a) amending 29 U.S.C. §§631 and 633{a), and ¢5

amending 5 U.S.C. §8325 (1976) and repealing 5 U.S.C. $3322 (1976).

The 1978 amendments contain several exceptions. Tenured university

teachers and certain executives are excepted from coverage after age

65. P.L. No. 95-256, §3(2). Certain federal employees, including air

traffic controllers, law enforcement officers, firefighters, Alaskan Railroad

employees, and federal employees in the Panama Canul Zone, continue

to be subject to mandatory retirement. Id. §5, amending 5 U.S.C. §8335

(1976).

8 Section 13 of the Ago Discrimination in Employment Act of 3967, 29

U.S.C. §632 (1970).

9 Section 6 of the Age Discrimination ia Employment Act Amendments

of 1978, P.L. No. 95-256, amending {5 of the Age Di

Employment Act of 1967, 5 U.S.C. §624 (1976).

scrircination in

3069

A-11l ,

Pil

APPENDIX “* B

LOIS PALMER,

erate, and well informed. Moreover, Congress has provided Plaintiff

nd \ é inti

a mechanism for continually reassessing the effects and .

the wisdom of its actions on this issue. The superior abil- oa

ity of Congress to collect data and to resolve competing

o

social goals, as well as the flexibility resulting from its FRANK TICCIONE, BDWARD HAYES, BENUARM

GIAMBABIO, WILLIAM O'CONNELL, WILLIAM

ability to monitor the effects of its actions and to make GARGIULO, ROBERT JACOB, N. PAUL

adjustments accordingly, mark this issue as one which the : BUSCEMI, "and the School Board of

Constitution has appropriately left to the legislative pro- Copiague Union Free School District,

cesses, both state and federal.

Defendants.

Affirmed.

No. 75 C 2007.

United States District Court,

E.D. New York.

June 30, 1977.

Spizz & McEvilly, Community Legal

Assistance Corp., Hempstead, N.Y.,

for plaintiff; Jonathan Weiss, New

York City, Legal Aid for the Elderly

Poor, of counsel.

Henry A. Weinstein, Garden City,

N.Y¥., for defendants.

NEAHER, District Judge

A-13

3070

520—5-17-78 . USCA—4266

GARAKA PRESS, INC., 451 GREENWICH ST., NEW YORK, N. Y. 10013, (212) 226-1449

° A-12

t

This is an action seeking the

reinstatement of a kindergarten teacher

who was involuntarily retired because

she had reached seventy years of age.

The complaint alleges violations of

the First Amendment, the Equal Pro-

tection and Due Process Clauses, the

Older Americans Act, and various

State statutory and constitutional

provisions. Jurisdiction is asserted

under 28 UsS.C. §§ 1331 and 1343,

with pendent jurisdiction for the

State claims. Plaintiff has moved

for summary judgment and defendants

have cross~-moved to dismiss the

complaint for want of a substantial

federal question or for summary

judgment.

The facts are not in dispute.

Plaintiff, born in 1905, taught in

private nursery schools from 1943-59.

After two years at another public

school, she was hired in 1961 as a

kindergarten teacher in the Copiague

Union Free School District. At the

end of the 1963-64 school year she

became tenured under New York Education

Law § 3012.

On May 15, 1975, plaintiff, then

70 years old, was informed by

defendant N. Paul Buscemi, Super-

intendent of Schools in Copiague,

that she would be retired at the

end of the school year in accordance

with New York Education Law § 510(1)

(b), which states in pertinent part.

"Any member [of the teachers'

retirement system] who has attained

A-15

age seventy may be retired at his

own request or at the request of his

employer...." The School Board

Subsequently ratified plaintiff's

retirement without a hearing.

Plaintiff is willing and able to

work, and all evaluation reports of

her work were satisfactory. In her

most recent evaluation, on

March 10, 1975, plaintiff's principal

recommended that she be rehired

"[s]ubject to review of compulsory

retirement under N.Y. State

Educational Law.”

Defendants urge that the complaint

be dismissed for want of a

substantial federal question. Federal

claims are insubstantial only if

"prior decisions inescapably render

the claims frivolous." Hagans v.

Lavine, 415 U.S. 528, 538, 94 S.Ct.

A-16

1372, 1379, 39 L.Ed.2d 577 (1974).

A review of the pertinent decisions

shows this to be the case with respect

to plaintiff's claims.

In Massachusetts Board of Retirement

v. Murgia, 427 U.S. 307, 96 S.Ct. 2562,

49 L.Ed.2d 520 (1976), the Supreme

Court unequivocally rejected an equal

protection challenge to a statute

requiring State police officers to

retire at age 50. The rational

relationship test was applied to the

statute, for the aged is not a suspect

Class and a right of governmental

employment is not fundamental. Id.

at 2566-67, 96 S.Ct. 2562. The Court

held that, since physicai ability

generally declines with age, mandatory

retirement at age 50 rationally furthers

the State's interest in ensuring the

physical preparedness of its police.

A~-17

Id. at 2567-68, 96 S.Ct. 2562.

Murgia simply served to confirm

the Court's decisions in similar cases

in which it had dismissed the appeal

for want of a substantial federal

question, Campbell v. Aldrich, 305 U.S.

559, 59 S.Ct. 87, 83 L.Ed. 352 (1938);

McIlvaine v. Pennsylvania, 415

U.S. 986, 94 S.Ct. 1583, 39 L.Ed.2d

884 (1974), or summarily affirmed

dismissal of the complaint on the same

ground, Weisbrod v. Lynn, 420 U.S.

940, 95 S.Ct. 1319, 43 L.Ed.2d 420

(1975); Cannon v. Guste, 423 U.S.

918, 96 S.Ct. 257, 46 L.Ed.2d 245

(1975). All of these decisions rejected

equal protection attacks on mandatory

retirement statutes, and due process

arguments fared no better in Weisbrod

and McIlvaine. See Weisbrod v. Lynn,

383 F.Supp. 933, 936-37 (D.D.C. 1974).

A-18

On the basis of Weisbrod and

McIlvaine, the Court of Appeals for

this Circuit stated:

We are of the opinion that the

issue of age restrictions upon the

term of office of state judges

is properly one for the

legislative or electoral

processes of the State of

New York and that the effort to

clothe it in constitutional garb

is frivolous.

Rubino v. Ghezzi, 512 F.2d 431,

433 (2 Cir. 1975).

The Court of Appeals therefore

rejected as insubstantial the claim

that the mandatory retirement age

violates the Due Process and Equal

Protection Clauses and affirmed the

dismissal of the complaint for ,

want of a substantial federal

question.

Plaintiff argues tiat her claim

is not foreclosed by these decisions

because they dealt with mandatory

retirement statutes rather than a

A-i9

discretionary retirement statute such

as Education Law § 510(1)(b)-. When

faced with a similar challenge to

§ 510(1) (b), however, the Appellate

Division, Second Department, affirmed

dismissal of a 70-year-old school* 22.2...

teacher's complaint with the following

brief memorandum:

On the record in this appeal,

there is no evidence of

constitutional discrimination. A

mandatory retirement policy at

age 70 is not unconstitutional

under present standards, and

this record does not reveal

anything other than a statuto~

rily authorized mandatory retire-

ment policy.

Harren v. Middle Island Central

School No. 12, 49 A.D.2d 879,

373 N.Y.A.2d 20 (2nd Dept. 1975).

As in Harren, there is nothing in the

record of this action to distinguish

it from the mandatory retirement

cases decided by the Supreme Court.

Plaintiff also relies on a

suggestion by Justice Marshall, in

A-20

dissent in Murgia, that the majority

Opinion did not sanction a mandatory

retirement law for employees whose

jobs require mental alertness rather

than physical fitness. Murgia,

Supra, 96 S.Ct. at 2573 h. 8. This

comment does not aid plaintiff,

however, for a kindergarten teacher

Surely needs as much physical fitness

as mental alertness. In addition,

Justice Marshall's comment seems

questionable in light of the acceptance

of mandatory retirement statutes for

teachers in Campbell v. Aldrich, supra,

and for judges in Rubino v. Ghezzi,

Supra.

The remaining federal claims, which

are based on the First Amendment

and the federal policy against age

discrimination expressed in the Older

Americans Act, 42 U.S.C. § 3001, et

A-21

seg., are also insubstantial. The

First Amendment does not protect jobs

per se, and federal policy falling

short of a constitutional mandate

does not provide a basis for relief.

Weiss v. Walsh, 324 F.Supp. 75, 77-78

(S.D.N.¥. 1971), aff'd, 461 F.2d 846

(2 Cir. 1972), cert. denicd, 409 U.S.

1129, 93 S.Ct. 939, 35 L.Ed.2d 262

(1973).

Accordingly, defendants' motion

to dismiss for want of a substantial

federal question is granted.

SO ORDERED.

A-22

at?rEeepvizst * €

3n the

cinited States Court of Aoveale

For the Seventh Cirenit

No. 74-1579

JULIA GAULT, individually and on behalf of all others

Similarly situated,

Plaintiff-A ppellant,

v.

JAMES E. GARRISON, President, Board of Education,

School District 215, et al.,

Defendants-A ppellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division.

No. 74 C 931—Frank J. McGarr, Judge.

DECIDED DECEMBER 20, 1977

Before BARNES, Senior Circuit Judge,1 SWYGERT and

PELL, Circuit Judges.

SWYGERT, Circuit Judge. Julia Gault, on behalf of

herself and others similarly situated, filed suit under 42

U.S.C. § 1983 challenging the constitutionality of

governmental mandatory retirement requirements.

Plaintiff contends that defendant school board’s policy of

1 The Honorable Stanley N. Barnes of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit is sitting by designa-

_ tion.

A-23

2 No. 74-1579

forced retirement is unconstitutional as violative of both

equal protection (by discriminating against plaintiff on

the basis of age) and due process (by creating an

irrebuttable presumption and by terminating public

employment arbitrarily). Shortly after the complaint

was filed, the district court granted defendants’ motion

to dismiss and plaintiff appealed.?

After oral argument was heard, this court issued an

order staying the appeal pending a ruling in

Massachusetts Board of Retirement v. Murgia, 376 F.

Supp. 753 (D. Mass. 1974), prob. juris. noted, 421 U.S.

974 (1975). See 523 F.2d 205 (7th Cir. 1975). Following

the decision in Murgia, 427 U.S. 307 (1976), we ordered

the parties to file supplemental briefs. We now treat the

constitutional issues raised by plaintiff and, for the

reasons stated below, reverse the order of the district

court.

I

Although the facts were stated in our previous opin-

ion, a brief resume may be helpful. Upon reaching the

age of 65, plaintiff, a tenured biology teacher at Thorn-

ton Fractional Township South High School, located in

Cook County, Illinois, was informed by the district

school board that she would have to retire at the end of

the academic year.

The Illinois School Code of 1961, as amended, Chapter

122 of the Illinois Revised Statutes, does not require the

retirement of teachers at any age. It does provide,

however, that the tenure of public school teachers shall

end at age 65 and that any subsequent employment shall

be on an annual basis. Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 122, § 24-11.

Furthermore, the School Code does not afford teachers

over 65 the extensive procedures which a school board

2 This case, though filed as a class action, was dismissed

before the question of class certification was reached.

No. 74-1579 3

— follow to dismiss or remove a teacher.? Jd. at § 24-

This statutory scheme is supplemented by defendant

school board’s policy which states that “a teacher who

reaches the age of sixty-five before the end of a school

year shall retire on that date following his 65th birthday

....” Poiicy No. 4146. Phis policy thereby goes a step

further than the School Code and removes all teachers

over 65 under the board’s jurisdiction from any con-

' sideration for this annual retention. It was pursuant to

this policy to which plaintiff was terminated.

II

Plaintiff contends that the board policy of compulsory

retirement violates her equal protection rights both sub-

Stantively and procedurally: first, by requiring those

over 65 years of age to retire, and second, by denying

those over 65 those procedures granted to any other

teacher upon termination. We note at the outset that this

case does not involve a claim of a right to government

employment, but rather concerns only the access to con-

tinued eligibility for such employment.

Our first task in assessing an equal protection claim is

to determine- the proper standard of judicial review.

Memorial Hospital v. Maricopa County, 415 U.S. 250,

253 (1974). The Supreme Court has employed at least

two standards of review: the traditional rational basis

test wherein classifications are constitutional if they

bear a rational relationship to a permissible state in-

terest, Dandridge v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471, 485-86

(1970), and the standard of strict judicial scrutiny

wherein classifications are constitutional only if they are

necessary to promote a compelling state interest. Dunn

’ This procedure for dismissing or removing s teacher in-

cludes a hearing, written notice of charges, a bill of par-

ticulars, representation by counsel, cross-examination of

witnesses, maintenance of a record of the proceedings, and a

decision by majority vote of all members of the board. II].

Rev. Stat. ch. 122, § 24-12. None of these protections were af-

forded plaintiff as she was over 65.

A-25

4 | No. 74-1579

v. Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330 (1972); Shapiro v. Thompson,

394 U.S. 618 (1969). The latter, more rigid, test is

applied when reviewing state-created classifications

which interfere with the exercise of a fundamental right

or involve a suspect classification. Sun Antonio Indepen-

dent School District v. Rodriguez, 411 U.S. 1, 16-17

(1973).

Which standard to apply in determining whether a

compulsory retirement provision denies equal protection

was answered in Massachusetts Board of Retirement v.

Murgia, 427 U.S. 307 (1976). The Court in that case held

that the right of governmental employment is not fun-

damental and that age does not constitute a suspect

class. Jd. at 313-14. Accordingly, the Supreme Court

held the standard of strict scrutiny inappropriate and

examined the mandatory retirement statute under the

traditional rational basis test. Our inquiry in this case,

therefore, is directed to ascertain whether the ar-

ticulated state interest is legitimate and whether the age

65 classification for the retirement of school teachers is

rationally related to furtherance of that state interest.‘

In Murgia a uniformed state policeman challenged a

state statute which forced him to retire at age 50. The

Court observed that the purpose identified by the state

was a desire “to protect the public by assuring physical

preparedness of its uniformed police.” 427 U.S. at 314.

The record included testimony presented to the trial

court pertaining to the rigors and demands of uniformed

olice activities as well as medical testimony concern-

ing the relationship of age to the ability to perform those

functions. Based upon this evidence, the Court concluded

4 Plaintiff urges this court to apply an intermediate or third

equal protection test, wherein the challenged law must bear a

“substantial relation” to the purpose it seeks to accomplish.

The Supreme Court seems to have used such a test in the

areas of discrimination based on sex and illegitimacy. See,

e.g., Trimble v. Gordon, 430 U.S. 762 (1977); Craig v. Boren,

429 U.S. 190 (1976); Mathews v. Lucas, 427 U.S. 495 (1976);

Reed v. Reed, 404 U.S. 71 (1971). We are compelled to decline

plaintiff's invitation as Murgia is clearly dispositive in this

regard.

A-26

No. 74-1579 5

that a clear rational relationship exisied between the

classification and its articulated purpose. Jd. at 315.

In following the Supreme Court’s analysis, we look

first for an identifiable state purpose in the statutory

termination of tenure and the local board’s mandatory

retirement of schoolteachers at age 65. Because this case

was dismissed shortly after the complaint was filed, no

evidence has been presented and no affidavits have been

filed; the court did permit plaintiff to file an “offer of

proof.”> The defendants have not identified the purpose

of the requirements in question; their briefs only hint

that the purpose may be to remove unfit teachers. In

Murgia, the Court called upon “the purpose identified by

the State” as that to which the age classification must

bear a rational relationship. Without such a purpose

demonstrated in the instant case, we cannot, absent

further proceedings, justify the challenged provisions.

Even if we could assume that the purpose of these

provisions is to prevent the retention of unfit teachers,

the requirements must fall. Again, unlike the situation

in Murgia, there has been no evidence presented to in-

dicate any relationship between the attainment of the

age of 65 and a schoolteacher’s fitness to teach. The

physical demands of teaching do not even begin to ap-

proach those found by the Supreme Court, upon credible

evidence, to be critical to the performance of uniformed _

state police duties. No evidentiary proof is necessary to

note that teaching is a profession in which mental skills

are vastly more important than physical ability. We can-

not assume that a teacher’s mental facilities diminish at

age 65. On the contrary, as suggested by plaintiff’s offer

5 A hearing on defendants’ motion to dismiss was set for May

17, 1974. On May 16, however, the district court advised

plaintiff's attorney not to bring to the courtroom the witnesses

scheduled to testify on her behalf. The next day, the district

court announced from the bench its ruling granting the mo-

tion to dismiss. Following this announcement, the court

granted leave to plaintiff to submit an offer of proof sum-

marizing the evidence which would have been presented had

the hearing gone forward. On May 22 the district court issued

its memorandum opinion and order.

A-27

6 | No. 74-1579

of proof, much in the way of knowledge and experience,

so helpful to the educational profession, is often gained

through years of practice.

Another distinction must be drawn between this case

and Murgia. Because of the nature of the duties re-

quired of the policemen in the latter case and the immi-

nent possibility of unfitness shown to be related to ad-

vancing age, failure to perform properly in any given in-

stance could become a matter of life or death. In con-

trast, if a teacher becomes unift, whether because of age

or other factors, it does not become a matter of such im-

mediacy that there is not time or opportunity to take ap-

propriate procedural steps for his or her removal. By us-

ing the procedures normally taken for the removal of a

teacher alleged to be unfit, there is greater guarantee

that unfit teachers will be removed while the rest will

_ be able to continue performing their jobs, putting to use

the experience and knowledge gained over the years.

It is no answer to say that a state “does not violate the

Equal Protection Clause merely because the

classifications made by its law are imperfect,” Dan-

dridge v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471, 478 (1970), when these

classifications cannot be shown to be even rationally

related to the objective the state is attempting to achieve

(still assuming arguendo such an objective can be shown

by the defendants). In Murgia, the Court found no in-

dication that the mandatory retirement provision had

“the effect of excluding from service so few officers who

are in fact unqualified as to render age 50 a criterion

wholly unrelated to the objective of the statute.” 427

U.S. at 316. Unlike the Court in Murgia, we cannot say

that the provisions in the instant case would eliminate

any more unfit teachers (assuming again that such is the

purpose) than a provision to fire all teachers whose hair

turns gray.

The decision in Murgia was based upon an evidentiary

record showing the state’s purpose and how the

challenged legislation related to that purpose. Here,

there is no record. We cannot uphold as constitutionally

valid a classification of public schoolteachers based upon

age without a showing that it rationally furthers some

identifiable and articulable state purpose.

A-28

No. 74-1579 7

III

Plaintiff’s equal protection claim has yet an ,

aspect. She contends that the lack of any Eade vetage

both the automatic termination of her tenure and her

mandatory retirement resulted in treatment unequal to

that given to any other teacher who is released. Both

tenured and probationary teachers under age 65 are

guaranteed procedural safeguards prior to any termina-

tion. This .‘tuation is similar to that in a recent case

decided by this court. In Miller v. Carter, 547 F.2d 1314

(7th Cir.), cert. granted, 45 U.S.L.W. 3690 (April 18

1977), we sustained a constitutional challenge to a City

of Chicago ordinance which barred persons convicted of

certain crimes from obtaining a public chauffeur’s

license. The ordinance further provided that a person to

whom a license had been issued might have his license

revoked after conviction of such an offense; however

revocation was not automatic but was subject to ad-

ministrative discretion. Thus the ordinance created two

classes receiving unequal treatment, the distinguishing

fact being whether a person was in possession of the

license at the time of his conviction, although the

members of both classes were similarly situated in that

the type of crime was identical. We found this to be an

irrational distinction and held it violati

protection. eld it violative of equal

Here, as in Miller, the classification

between those who are afforded and those rg

afforded procedural safeguards before their removal on

its face discriminates against persons who are Similarly

situated. Accordingly, we cannot sanction the total lack

of procedural equality suffered by teachers who have

reached the age of 65 without a record showing the

lig or absence of a justifiable and rational state

Because plaintiff's complaint states i

a claim that h

rights under the Fourteenth Amendment have ‘hava

violated, the order dismissing the complaint is reversed

and the cause is remanded for furthe ;

sistent with this opinion. r proceedings con-

8 | No. 74-1579

BARNES, Senior Circuit Judge, concurring.

Strict scrutiny is not.the proper test for determining

whether a mandatory retirement provision denies

appellee equal protection, because strict scrutiny of a

legislative classification is required only when the

classification impermissibly interferes with the exercise

of a fundamental right (cases cited in Murgia, Note 3),

or operates to the peculiar disadvantage of a suspect

class (cases cited in Murgia, Note 4). If mandatory

retirement for a fireman at age 50 does not interfere

with the exercise of his fundamental right neither will

mandatory retirement interfere with the desire or right

of a teacher to teach at age 65. Nor is a teacher within a

suspect class. Appellant here has no fundamental right

to teach, either at 65, or at any other age. Cf. San An-

tonio School District v. Rodriguez, 411 U.S. 1, 16 (1978).

Here we must examine the state’s classification under

the less strict rational-basis standard. To paraphrase

Murgia, “Since physical ability generally declines with

age, mandatory retirement at 65 serves to remove from

teaching those whose fitness for work presumptively has

diminished with age. This clearly is rationally related to

the state’s objective.”

Whether 65 or 60 or 70 is a proper age for teacher

retirement is not here our concern, Imperfect

classifications made by legislative bodies are not

rendered unlawful by their imperfections. Dandridge v.

Williams, 397 U.S. at 485, cited in Murgia, p. 316-17.

But to apply these principles to the facts of this case is

taieaainia “Gokanie no evidence has been presented at

any time (as Judge Swygert’s opinion points out), and we

have no factual basis upon which to Judge the issues or

to apply the law.

I concur in Judge Swygert’s opinion.

No. 74-1579 9

PELL, Circuit Judge, dissenting.

The majority opinion draws distinctions found to be

persuasively supporting the result reached in the opin-

ion between the present case and Massachusetts Board of

Retirement v. Murgia, 427 U.S. 307 (1976); however, a

fundamental distinction between the two cases appears

to be ignored. Because it is a significant distinction in

my mind, and for other reasons set out herein, I re-

spectfully dissent.

Murgia drew the line for compulsory retirement at

the age of 50, “a certain age in middle life,” id. at 313.

While for personal reasons, as well as documented

studies, I would be hesitant to say that the person who

has reached 65 years of age is necessarily elderly either

physically or mentally, I also think as a matter of law

that that age was so well established at the pertinent

time as a point at which retirement age was reached

that if it is to be changed, the change should be ac-

complished by the legislative branch and not by judicial

action purportedly under the Constitution.

In 1967, the Congress, being aware that approximate-

ly half of the states had enacted age discrimination

legislation, 1967 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 2215,

enacted P.L. 30-302, sometimes referred to as the Age

Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967. In House

Report No. 805 on the pending legislation it was stated

that “the bill outlines a national policy against dis-

crimination in employment on account of age, provides a

vehicle for enforcement of the policy, and establishes

broad general guidelines for its implementation.” 1967

U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 2220. That national

policy insofar as age limitations were concerned was

stated to be “individuals who are at least forty years of

age but less than sixty-five years of age.” 29 U.S.C.

§ 631. In the statute itself the Congress stated that the

Act’s purpose was, inter alia, “to promote employment

of older persons based on their ability rather than age”:

and “to prohibit arbitrary age discrimination in employ-

ment...” 29 U.S.C. § 621(b). It appears plain that the

Congress by so stating the policy did not regard dis-

continuance of employment beyond the age of 65 to be

10 No. 74-1579

age discrimination of an arbitrary nature. Indeed,

House Report No. 805 indicates that the major concern

was not with the 65 year age standard but with the

lower limit, which had been lowered from 45 in the

original bill, with argument being considered that in

some occupations age discrimination could be found at a

lower point. Jd. at 2219.

That a legislative enactment establishes national

guidelines does not, of course, necessarily import con-

stutionality into those guidelines. Nevertheless, when

those guidelines are an interwoven part of a broader

pattern, as is obviously the situation in this country, of ©

pension and retirement plans and social security

statutes, the courts, it appears to me, should be extreme-

ly reluctant to tamper with one part of the broad social

scheme.

The Supreme Court has told us in Murgia, dealing

with compulsory retirement of state police officers at the

age of 50, that such action by a legisiature is presumed

to be valid, and that the judicial inquiry must employ a

relatively relaxed rational-basis standard reflecting

judicial “awareness that the drawing of lines that create

distinctions is peculiarly a legislative task.” 427 U.S. at

314. This approach to a “middle life” compulsory retire-

ment age directed at one specific occupation suggests

. that our examination of a compulsory retirement

procedure involving a significantly higher age max-

imum not only applicable to the particular occupation

but one generally applicable, and generally deemed ap-

propriate, should be on an a fortiori basis insofar as the

relativity of the relaxed rational-basis standard is con-

cerned.

The significance of a higher age equation with the

propriety of mandatory retirement was_ implicitly

recognized in the Murgia district court opinion by the

following observation of Judge Aldrich:

[W]e would anticipate the question of mandatory

retirement at age 70 not to be the same as at age

50, but perhaps we say this because of the in-

creasing difficulties that a plaintiff might have to

show that at that greater age the state had not

made out a factually rational argument.

A-32

No. 74-1579 11

Murgia v. Commonwealth of Massachusetts Board of

Retirement, 376 F. Supp. 753, 756 n.9 (D. Mass. 1974).

In any event, just as the courts should dispose of cases

if possible on grounds other than by reaching con-

stitutional issues, the courts should also, it seems to me,

where the federal legislative picture demonstrates an

alertness to and an orderly resolution of a complex

societal problem, exercise restraint in intervening under

the constitutional cloak in the developmental process on

what could only be a piecemeal! basis.

In the present context, Congressional concern and con-

tinuing interest is clear. In the original Act, the

Secretary of Labor was charged with undertaking an

education and research program and was specifically

directed to recommend to Congress any measures he

deemed desirable to change the lower or upper age

limits. 29 U.S.C. § 622. While employers were not

prevented by the Act from taking action otherwise

prohibited where age is a bona fide occupational

qualification reasonably necessary to the operation of a

particular business, or where differentiation is based on

reasonable factors other than age, or where there is

observance of the terms of seniority systems or pension

and similar plans which are not subterfuges to evade the

purposes of the Act, or where there is discharge for good

cause, § 623(f), the Act makes age itself within the Act’s

limits an unlawful basis for discrimination. § 623(a). In

the 1974 amendments, it was provided that the defini-

tion of an employer included “a State or political sub-

division of a State and any agency or instrumentality of

a State or a political subdivision of a State”. 29 U.S.C.

§ 630(b).

Currently, we find that the legislative process is an

unintermitted one. Both the House and Senate have

passed amendatory versions which are now in con-

ference committee, the conferees having been appointed

late in October of 1977. It, inter alia, has been agreed by

both houses that the maximum age limit shall be 70

rather than 65. See CCH Lab.L.Rep., Employment Prac-

_tices, Rep. 30, October 20, 1977.

A-33

’

12 . No. 74-1579

The comprehensive legislative scheme as it continues

to develop will not, of course, mean, as it does not now,

that every employee in every occupation is automatically

entitled to stay on to the maximum age limitation. This,

obviously, is on the assumption that legislation in the

future will continue to recognize § 623(f) factors permit-

ting under-maximum-age employment termination such

as good cause discharge, necessary occupational

qualification, and bona fide, non-subterfuge employee

benefit plans. The maximum age, however, as it is es-

tablished from time to time in the public interest

appears to me in and of itself to import rationality and

to preclude challenge by those exceeding the maximum.

Turning to the particular case before us, it is noted

that the Illinois Age Discrimination Act, as contrasted

to the federal statute and most state statutes, does not on

its face specify a maximum age. Kennedy v. Community

School District No. 7, Champaign County, 23 Ill. App.3d

882, 319 N.E.2d 243, 246-47 (1974). The court in

Kennedy, however, rejected a challenge to age 65 retire-

ment by a teacher not only on due process and equal

protection grounds but also under the Illinois Age Dis-

crimination Act pointing out that under that legislation,

similarly to the federal act, it was not intended to in-

terfere with the operation of non-subterfuge annuity and

pension plans. “Phe long existence of the statutory

system of annuities and pensions and its general applica-

tion to teachers throughout the State demonstrate that

the ‘retirement system’ is not a subterfuge to evade the

Age Discrimination Act.” 319 N.E.2d at 247.

In the case before us, there is not only the rational

relationship between the plaintiffs employment status

and a non-subterfuge employee benefit plan but also she

had gone beyond the maximum age so specified as a

matter of national policy at the time of her termination,

even though at the time state employees were not includ-

ed within the federal statutory coverage.

Further, under the relaxed Murgia standard which

would be applicable to a person past 65, it appears to

me, although it was not expressly articulated by the

defense, that the age 65 classification, aside from any

A-34

No. 74-1579 | 13

aspect of declining physical or mental vigor, rationally

furthers an educational purpose of the state. It is com-

mon knowledge that there is a growing surplus of

teachers with the forecast that this surplus will continue

to grow in size with many recent graduates majoring in

education being unable to find employment. With the

lifting of compulsory retirement and the continuing in

employment of teachers who otherwise would have

retired, it is reasonably foreseeable that those pursuing

higher education will turn to other lines of endeavor

with the result that when sheer physical or mental dis-

ability, or death, thins the ranks there will not be quan-

titative, and possibly qualitative, replacements.

I would hold therefore that the plaintiff has failed to

demonstrate an infringement of her constitutional equal

protection rights. She also has raised on this appeal a

claim of due process violation, both procedural and sub-

stantive. I discern no merit in this attack. Board of

Regents of State Colleges v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564 (1972),

Perry v. Sinderman, 408 U.S. 593 (1972); Weinberger v.

Salfi, 422 U.S. 749 (1975).

A true Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

USCA 4272—Midwest Law Printing Co., Inc., Chicago—12-20-77—275

A-35

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.