Petition — Fredonia Broadcasting Corp. v. RCA Corp.

Supreme Court brief1978

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

| mic Tai YAK. JR. CLERK |

NO. @8-1)1 ee ee

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1977

FREDONIA BROADCASTING CORP., INC.,

Petitioner

Vv.

RCA CORPORATION,

Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

JOSEPH D. JAMAIL

JAMAIL & KOLIUS

3300 One Allen Center

Houston, Texas 77002

Attorneys for Petitioner

"Alpha Low Brie} Co., One Main Plasa, No.1 Moin St, Houston, Texes 77002

INDEX

Page

NE IE, OI coca vccescccecccccsccccs i

an ca ckacsceccccsecccsess 2

Questions Presented for Review ..............0.00s000- 2

Constitutional Provisions, Statutes and Rules Involved... .. 3

Ek ob G0s 600 deat ceccccccces 4

Le RA Ceuh Ele eeeesebedevesscscescccccece 5

CECE. Cee peeasecddacdccnveccecccess 12

EE SCL ah Gua be dee bi0e de oweseeccocss 13

Appendix A (Opinion of Court of Appeals; March 8, 1978) 15

Appendix B (Opinion of Court of Appeals; July 2, 1973) 32

Appendix C (Fifth Amendment, U. S. Constitution)...... 96

Appendix D (Fourteenth Amendment, U. S. Constitution) . 97

Appendix E (Text of Statute Involved) ................ 99

Appendix F (Rule 7; United States Supreme Court)..... 100

Appendix G (Rule 19; United States Supreme Court).... 101

CITATIONS

CASES Page

Fredonia Broadcasting Corp., Inc. v. RCA Corp., 481 F.2d

ee PE Ee CEG CGC CRG REE SeCees ces ccccccceccs 12

STATUTES

EEE 2,3, 5,9, 10, 12

De ces cc owwesceccccecccs 2

ee Ca Dash ccscc cscs cacsceces 4

U.S. CONSTITUTION

Ne cs occa secccccccees 2,3,10

Ne ee eee eee dese ec ccececccscccce 2,3,10

SUPREME COURT RULES

eee eee e wes eceecesccccceces 3

PGE EE e ea cteccncocccsccccccs 3

NO.

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1977

FREDONIA BROADCASTING CORP., INC.,

Petitioner

Vv.

RCA CORPORATION,

Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

The petitioner, Fredonia Broadcasting Corp., Inc., prays

that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment

of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Cir-

cuit entered in the above case on March 8, 1978.

OPINIONS OF THE COURTS BELOW

The opinion of the court below is reported in 569 F.2d

251. The opinion is printed in Appendix A. A related

opinion in this same case is reported at 481 F.2d 781

(Sth Cir. 1973) see Appendix B.

2

Il.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court below was entered on

March 8, 1978 (Appendix A). Petitioner’s motion for

rehearing and for rehearing en banc was denied on

April 7, 1978, 572 F.2d 320.

This Court has jurisdiction of this application for the

writ of certiorari pursuant to 28 USCA § 1254(1).

Il.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

A. Whether a district judge must be disqualified as a

matter of law by an appellate court in a situation in which

a former law clerk — who had worked on the case while

law clerk during the first trial and had subsequently

joined the law firm representing one of the parties prior

to the second trial in the same case — had withdrawn

from all participation as counsel for such party prior to

the second trial; and whether such action by the appel-

late court, in disqualifying the district judge without a

hearing, contravenes 28 USCA § 144 and the Fifth and

Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitu-

tion.

B. Whether a district judge can be disqualified as a

matter of law by an appellate court in a situation in which

the party subsequently complaining on appeal has specifi-

cally advised the district judge prior to trial that the judge

is not disqualified, and in which the record fails to dis-

close any evidence of actual lack of impartiality or in-

tegrity on the part of the district judge or any other

grounds for disqualification; and whether such action by

the appellate court in disqualifying the district judge

3

without a hearing, contravenes 28 USCA § 144 and the

Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the United States

Constitution.

C. Whether reversal of the trial court’s judgment en-

tered pursuant to a jury verdict is proper under circum-

stances in which there is no holding whatsoever by the

appellate court that the errors, if any, in the court’s charge

were harmful, or that the errors, if any, resulted in an

erroneous verdict.

D. Whether the action of the appellate panel in dis-

qualifying the district judge in the absence of observance

of the statutory procedure and in the absence of observ-

ance of any other orderly process of law has “so far

departed from the accepted and usual cause of judicial

proceedings . . . as to call for an exercise of this court’s

power of supervision,” pursuant to Rule 19, of the Rules

of the United States Supreme Court.

IV.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES,

AND RULES INVOLVED

A. Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution,

see Appendix C.

B. Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Consti-

tution, see Appendix D.

C. 28 United States Code Annotated, Section 144, see

Appendix E.

D. Rule 7 of the Rules of the United States Supreme

Court, see Appendix F.

E. Rule 19 of the Rules of the United States Supreme

Court, see Appendix G.

4

Vv.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The basis for federal jurisdiction in the court of first

instance is diversity of citizenship pursuant to 28 USCA

§ 1332.

The opinion of the court below accurately summarized

the procedural aspects of the case. RCA Corporation

(RCA) entered into a contract with Fredonia Broad-

casting Corporation (Fredonia) to sell to Fredonia UHF

color television broadcasting equipment for the operation

of a television station in Lufkin, Texas. This station be-

gan broadcasting on July 30, 1969, and ceased operation

on March 18, 1970. Fredonia then sued RCA for fraud,

for breach of warranty, seeking actual and exemplary

damages totalling $2,650,000. RCA counterclaimed for

$506,333.80, the amount not yet paid for the equipment,

plus interest and attorneys’ fees. In the first trial, the

jury, in a special verdict, found in favor of Fredonia and

awarded $850,000 in actual damages and $150,000 in

exemplary damages. As for the counterclaim, the jury’s

response to the court’s question required the court to en-

ter judgment in favor of Fredonia.

RCA appealed, claiming error in the trial court’s treat-

ment of both the liability and the damages issues involved

in Fredonia’s claims. RCA also asserted that the district

court erred in not granting it a directed verdict on the

counterclaim. A panel of the Fifth Circuit found rever-

sible error in the instructions under which the district court

had submitted Fredonia’s claim of fraud to the jury and

remanded the case for a new trial. The panel also set aside

Fredonia’s judgment on the counterclaim.

5

On remand, Fredonia, following pretrial conferences

in which the liability issues were narrowed, proceeded

to trial the second time on its claim of fraud. The jury

again found for Fredonia, awarding $1,000,000 in act-

ual damages and $750,000 in exemplary damages. On

RCA’s counterclaim, the court awarded $511,182.11, the

amount due for the equipment on the date of Fredonia’s

default in payment and the costs awarded on the first

appeal.

On appeal from the second trial, a panel of the Fifth

Circuit again reversed the trial court, holding this time

that the trial judge should have disqualified himself. The

conclusion was apparently reached based on “findings

of fact” made by the appellate panel, even though no mo-

tion for disqualification of the trial judge, pursuant to the

required statutory procedure, was ever made by any

party at any stage in the proceedings.

VI.

ARGUMENT

A party seeking the recusal of a district judge is obliged

to follow the statute governing such procedure. Section

144 of 28 USCA provides as follows:

“Whenever a party to any proceeding in a district

court makes and files a timely and sufficient affi-

davit that the judge before whom the matter is pend-

ing has a personal bias or prejudice either against

him or in favor of any adverse party, such judge

shall proceed no further therein, but another judge

shall be assigned to hear such proceedings.

“The affidavit shall state the facts and the reasons

for the belief that bias or prejudice exists, and shall

6

be filed not less than ten days before the beginning

of the term at which the proceeding is to be heatd,

or good cause shall be shown for failure to file it

within such time. A party may file only one such

affidavit in any case. It shall be accompanied by a

certificate of counsel of record stating that it is made

in good faith.”

The Respondent RCA did not at any time file an affi-

davit pursuant to this procedure, and never at any time

requested permission to do so. Despite the absence of any

hearing before another judge, and despite the lack of

any affidavit from the Respondent RCA raising the mat-

ter of any disqualification, the Court of Appeals pro-

ceeded to make the following “findings:”

(a) “No matter how many assurances were given

by Fredonia’s counsel that the former law clerk

would withdraw from the case, we think it clear that

the propriety of continuing the proceedings before

this district judge had been irrevocably tainted, and

the impartiality of the judge had been reasonably

questioned.” (p. 2596)

(b) “What is offensive here is that the district

judge seemed to countenance the notion that the law

clerk could improperly use the specific knowledge

gained from working with him on this particular

case.” (p. 2597)

(c) “When, as here, a judge is confronted with a

situation where the appearance of impropriety is al-

ready established, a taint on the judicial system re-

mains as long as he presides over the case.” (p.

2598)

(d) “Because of the nature of the judge-law clerk

relationship, this trial judge invited serious questions

to his impartiality when he refused to recuse him-

self.” (p. 2598)

7

(e) “We hold that a reasonable man, viewing the

facts as they stood at the time of RCA’s motion,

would reasonably question this trial judge’s impar-

tiality and the integrity of the judicial system.” (p. .

2598)

In order to put in perspective the decision facing the

trial judge and the subsequent handling of that matter

by the appellate panel, the following points should be

observed:

First, the only motion filed by RCA concerning dis-

qualification was a motion directed to the disqualification

of the former law clerk or the law firm, and there was

no motion specifically directed to the disqualification of

the district judge. (Record at 289-90)

Second, counsel for RCA not only did not direct its

motion to disqualification of the district judge, he specifi-

cally stated on the record that the district judge was not

disqualified and specifically advised the district judge that

in his view, and in the view of his client, the district judge

was not disqualified. Counsel for RCA specifically ad-

vised the district judge as follows:

“RCA Corporation, the Defendant in this action,

Your Honor, moves for a declaration of disqualifica-

tion of Jamail and Gano to continue as Counsel in

the Fredonia case before the present Court. I would

like to say, Your Honor, that the motion is directed

to a disqualification of the firm of Counsel for the

Plaintiff in this case and not a disqualification of

the Court. J don’t believe that the Court is disquali-

fied in this case at all.” (emphasis added) (Record

at 289-90)

“I suggested earlier this morning during our in-

formal discussions that — not that this Court is in

8

any way disqualified and not that RCA Corporation

nor I as its Counsel has any question about the fair-

ness of this Court or any question of propriety on

the part of this Court, but that a solution to the

problem would be the referral of this case to another

judge of Jamail and Gano and Mr. Stein desire to

continue as Counsel in the case, ... .” (emphasis

added) (Record at 294)

Third, although one alternative to remedying the dis-

qualification of the law clerk or law firm suggested by

counsel for RCA was the recusal of the district judge, the

only rules or guidelines cited by counsel for RCA to the

district judge, and the only rules specifically in point

relied upon by the appellate panel in its decision, are the

rules pertaining to the disqualification of the law clerk,

and such rules in no way compel the conclusion under

the circumstances involved that either the law firm or

the district judge must be disqualified.

If the appellate panel is correct, and the Petitioner sub-

mits that it is not, the only remedy to be invoked in the

future will be recusal of the judge. This Court can easily

take judicial notice of the havoc that will follow in the

Southern District of Texas, Houston Division, or in any

other district with a large population and numerous dis-

trict judges. As each of two law clerks takes leave of one

of the eight or more district judges currently handling a

Houston Division docket, he will have to advise the firm

he joins of all cases he was handling as law clerk. If he

joins a large firm with a substantial federal practice, the

firm will immediately be disqualified from representing

any clients involved in those cases before that particular

judge. That judge will then recuse himself from those

cases and reassign them to another judge. This process

9

will then have to be repeated every year for each of two

law clerks for each of eight judges with respect to all cases

involved at the time of the clerk’s departure. Judge Jus-

tices’ solution, as approved by the local rules of the Su-

preme Court and the First Circuit, would appear to be

the better solution: withdrawal of participation by the

former law clerk, and not disqualification of the law

firm and trial judge.

Fourth, if counsel for RCA at any time reached the

conclusion, contrary to its assertions made in open court

and quoted above, that the district judge was in any way

biased or prejudiced, he could have filed an affidavit

specifically bringing this matter to the attention of the

district judge, pursuant to 28 USCA § 144. This procedure,

requiring a hearing by a different district judge, would

have clearly brought to the attention of the trial judge

in question that it was in fact his disqualification, and not

the disqualification of the law clerk or law firm, that was

being raised by counsel for RCA.

Finally, the district *udge in his order pertaining to

RCA’s motion for disqualification specifically acknowl-

edged that the former law clerk would no longer appear

as counsel for the Petitioner, and specifically acknowledged

not only the absence of any rule concerning such situa-

tion in the Fifth Circuit, but the relevance as well of the

rules concerning such situation in the Supreme Court

(see Appendix F) and First Circuit.

With respect to “findings” (a), (c), (d), and (e)

quoted from the appellate panel opinion above, the appel-

late court presumably finds as fact and holds as a matter

of law that the impartiality and the integrity of the dis-

trict judge had been reasonably questioned.

10

Although the appellate panel has obviously arrived at

a different conclusion from that of the district judge as

to the appropriate manner in which any impropriety, if

it did exist, should have been cured — i.e., recusal of

the judge rather than withdrawal of the law clerk —

the language employed by the appellate panel in reaching

its conclusion is calculated not to question the district

judge’s judgment, but his integrity. No lawyer involved

in this litigation has ever contended, and there is no evi-

dence in the record, that the district judge was actually

engaged in actions that compromised his integrity. The

case was tried to a jury; there were no facts for him to

find. The judge was called upon only to make rulings on

the law. There was no evidence whatsoever that this dis-

trict judge made his decisions on the law based on any

reasons Other than reasons that were honorable. The re-

versal of this judgment entered pursuant to a jury ver-

dict on the mere speculation, outside the record, as to the

lack of integrity or impartiality on the part of the trial

judge, without relying on any actual showing in the

record, or without requiring at a minimum that the dis-

trict judge be confronted directly with such allegations,

if any exist, by way of affidavit pursuant to the procedures

anticipated in 28 USCA § 144, is an abuse of the peroga-

tive of the appellate panel of the highest order. Such

action by the appellate panel violates the Petitioner’s

right to a fundamentally fair trial pursuant to statute and

pursuant to the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments.

With respect to “finding” (b) quoted above, the appel-

late panel finds as fact that the district judge “seemed

to countenance the notion that the law clerk could im-

properly use the specific knowledge gained from work-

ing with him on this particular case.” (p. 2597) There

ll

is absolutely no evidence, and there is in fact no con-

tention made by counsel for RCA, that the former law

clerk ever engaged in any improper action, or that the

district judge countenanced such behavior after the time

the matter was first brought to his attention. The record

clearly discloses that when the potential conflict was

first brought to the attention of the district judge on

April 1, 1974, the district judge in fact encouraged coun-

sel for RCA to put everything on the record concerning

the entire matter of disqualification. (Record at 289)

After the motion was heard, the former law clerk with-

drew from any further participation in the case, and coun-

sel for RCA never contended at any time that the former

law clerk had engaged in any improper conduct. Counsel

for RCA advised the court as follows:

“We do not know of any impropriety on Mr.

Stein’s part. If there has been any such, we are

completely unaware of it.” (Record at 292)

More importantly, although the district judge wrote the

former law clerk after he had resumed his new duties

with the law firm for the Petitioner in this cause, there

is absolutely no evidence, and certainly no contention

made by counsel for RCA, that of the hundreds of cases

handled by a district judge during any given year, he had

any recollection that this particular law clerk had worked

on this particular case at the time he first directed a

letter to him. The former law clerk may have recalled

that he had worked on the case; but to assume as a

matter of law that the district judge should have also re-

called this former law clerk’s association in this particular

case is unrealistic and is grossly unfair to the district

judge. As the record clearly reflects, the participation of

12

the former law clerk involved only rather insignificant

correspondence regarding the setting of a hearing, and

the former law clerk withdrew from any further participa-

tion in this case once ue matter had been raised at the

hearing by counsel for RCA. Counsel for RCA never

did thereafter bring directly to the attention of the district

judge by way of the procedure provided in 28 USCA

§ 144 that it was in fact the disqualification of the district

judge it was seeking, and not the disqualification of either

the law clerk or the law firm.

With respect to the appellate panel’s opinion concern-

ing “The Remaining Element of the Fraud Claim” and

“The Proper Measure of Damages,” there is no holding

by the court that the errors, if any, in-the court’s charge

were harmful or that the errors, if any, resulted in an

erroneous verdict. The Petitioner, Fredonia Broadcast-

ing Corporation, Inc., respectfully submits that the charge

was not erroneous, that it was correctly based on the

opinion of this court in the prior panel’s decision, Fredonia

Broadcasting Corp., Inc. v. RCA Corp., 481 F.2d 781

(Sth Cir. 1973), and that if there were any errors in such

charge, they were not harmful and did not result in an

erroneous verdict.

WHEREFORE, PREMISES CONSIDERED, the Peti-

tioner prays that its Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to

the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

be in all things granted; that the decision of such appel-

late court be reversed and the decision of the district

court be in all things reinstated and affirmed; and that

Pieces: +0

13

this Court grant such other and further relief to which

Petitioner may show itself justly entitled.

Respectfully submitted,

JAMAIL & KOLIUS

JOSEPH D. JAMAIL

3300 One Allen Center

Houston, Texas 77002

(713) 651-3000

Attorneys for Petitioner

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the

foregoing instrument was forwarded to opposing counsel

on this ____ day of , 1978, by certified mail, re-

turn receipt requested.

15

APPENDIX A

OPINION OF COURT OF APPEALS; March 8, 1978

FREDONIA BROADCASTING CORPORATION,

INC.,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

Vv.

RCA CORPORATION,

Defendant-Appellant.

No. 75-2702.

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit.

Action was brought by television station against seller

of broadcast equipment to recover damages arising out of

contract to purchase such equipment, and seller counter-

claimed for balance due on the equipment plus interest and

attorneys’ fees. Following remand, 481 F.2d 781, judg-

ment was entered in the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Texas, at Tyler, William Wayne

Justice, J., in favor of plaintiff for actual and exempla-

tory damages, and in favor of defendant on the counter-

claim in the amount due for the equipment on the date

of the default, and defendant seller appealed. The Court

of Appeals, Tjoflat, Circuit Judge, held that: (1) once it

appeared that plaintiff might have an unfair advantage

in litigation because counsel included lawyer who had

been law clerk for the trial judge during the first trial

of the case, the trial judge had no alternative to disqualify-

ing himself; (2) this would not preclude law firm repre-

16

senting plaintiff from continuing to serve as counsel be-

fore another district judge; (3) in order to recover ex-

emplary damages plaintiff would have to prove at new

trial that when seller made representation about the

equipment, it knew they were false and made them “reck-

lessly” without any knowledge of their truth; (4) plain-

tiff’s compensatory damages, if otherwise recoverable,

should be limited to actual damages and certain conse-

quential damages, but not lost profits or sum spent to

purchase replacement equipment, and (5) seller had not

waived interest claim.

Reversed and remanded on piaintiff’s fraud claim and

vacated and remanded on defendant’s interest claim.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Texas.

Before TJOFLAT and HILL, Circuit Judges, and MA-

HON*, District Judge.

TJOFLAT, Circuit Judge.

This diversity case is before us for the second time.

Briefly, RCA Corporation (RCA) entered into a contract

with Fredonia Broadcasting Corporation (Fredonia) to

sell to Fredonia UHF color television broadcasting equip-

ment for the operation of a television station in Lufkin,

Texas. This station began broadcasting on July 30, 1969,

and ceased operation on March 18, 1970. Fredonia

then sued RCA for fraud, for breach of the sales contract,

and for breach of warranty, seeking actual and exemplary

damages totalling $2,650,000. RCA counterclaimed for

$506,333.80, the amount not yet paid for the equipment,

* District Judge of the Northern District of Texas, sitting by

designation.

BE OP le iy

17

plus interest and attorneys’ fees. The jury, in a special

verdict,’ found in favor of Fredonia and awarded $850,-

000 in actual damages and $50,000 in exemplary dam-

ages. As for the counterclaim, the jury’s response to the

court’s questions required the court to enter judgment in

favor of Fredonia.

RCA appealed, claiming error in the trial court’s

treatment of both the liability and the damages issues in-

volved in Fredonia’s claims. RCA also asserted that the

district court erred in not granting it a directed verdict

on the counterclaim. A panel of this court found reversi-

ble error in the instructions under which the district

court had submitted Fredonia’s claim of fraud to the

jury and remanded the case for a new trial.? The panel

also set aside Fredonia’s judgment on the counterclaim.’

1. Fed. R. Civ. P. 49(a). The questions propounded to the j

can be found in the appendix to the opinion in the prior q

Fredonia Broadcasting Corp., Inc. v. RCA Corp., 481 F.2d 781,

806-11 (Sth Cir. 1973).

2. The panel also found that many of the issues raised by

Fredonia’s multiple theories of recovery had been correctly resolved

against Fredonia. To paraphrase the prior panel’s holding, 481 F.2d

at 805-806: (1) Fredonia’s breach of contract claims were precluded

by the terms of the contract, which the jury found Fredonia had

aifirmed; (2) Fredonia’s breach of warranty claim was foreclosed

unless the district court found on remand that the contract terms

were unconscionable; (3) Fredonia’s claims of misrepresentation as

to date of delivery and degree of supervision were negated by the

jury’s finding that Fredonia’s reliance upon RCA’s misrepresenta-

tions was not justified; (4) Fredonia’s claim of misrepresentation

as to the merchantability of the equipment stands. The prior panel

determined that Fredonia could not seek damages for lost profits

under Texas law. Because Fredonia’s fraud claims stand independent-

ly of its precluded contract claims, the case was remanded to the

district court for determinations of the actual damages from the

fraud and the availability of exemplary damages.

_ 3. The merits of RCA’s counterclaim were submitted to the jury

in the form of one issue, raised by Fredonia’s defense to the counter-

18

On remand, Fredonia, following pretrial conferences in

which the liability issues were narrowed, proceeded to

trial on its claim of fraud. The jury again found for

Fredonia, awarding $1,000,000 in actual damages and

$750,000 in exemplary damages. On RCA’s counterclaim,

the court awarded $511,182.11, the amount due for the

equipment on the date of Fredonia’s default in payment

and the costs awarded on the first appeal. In this second

appeal, RCA seeks reversal of the judgment against it on

two principal grounds. The first stems from the trial

judge’s disposition of RCA’s pretrial motion for disqualifi-

cation of either Fredonia’s counsel or the trial judge from

further involvement in the case. The second concerns,

once again, the judge’s instructions to the jury on dam-

ages. With respect to the counterclaim, RCA asserts

error in the court’s failure to include in the judgment

an amount representing the interest accumulated on the

balance due on the equipment.*

I

The principal issue in this appeal involves the trial

judge’s course of action when faced with RCA’s oral mo-

tion, made at a pretrial hearing on April 1, 1974, for

the disqualification of either Fredonia’s counsel or the

judge. That motion formally brought to the trial judge’s

claim. That issue was whether RCA had coerced Fredonia into exe-

cuting the sales agreement and accompanying promissory notes. The

panel found the evidence to be insufficient to support that defense

and thus concluded that the trial court had erred in not summarily

resolving the issue in favor of RCA.

4. The indebtedness due on the equipment was evidenced by

several promissory notes. These notes, the validity of which are no

longer in contest, expressly provide for interest from the date of

default.

19

attention the appearance of impropriety created by the

participation in the case of one of his former law clerks,

an associate in the law firm representing Fredonia. Ap-

parently, the judge had already known of the former

law clerk’s association with Fredonia’s counsel because

the judge had previously written to him and RCA’s coun-

sel of record about a pending pretrial matter. The former

law clerk was present at the April 1 hearing. During the

hearing, it was pointed out that he had been on the

judge’s staff during the first trial of the action. RCA sug-

gested that the former law clerk had therefore acquired

intimate knowledge of the case and of the judge’s in-

clinations about the issues involved. RCA’s counsel con-

sequently questioned the propriety of allowing the case

to go forward without the withdrawal from the case of

either the trial judge or Fredonia’s counsel.

On April 26, 1974, the district judge denied RCA’s mo-

tion. In its order denying the motion, the court acknowl-

edged that the former law clerk, had, as law clerk,

“worked on the case when it was tried for the first time”

and that he had “participated in the recent proceedings

in the case,” but was of the opinion that this was not

a sufficient ground to disqualify Fredonia’s counsel from

further participation in the case. The order also recited

that the former law clerk, according to Fredonia’s coun-

sel, would “participate no further in this case.” The court

thus determined that the recusal of the trial judge would

serve no useful purpose.

[1] In deciding not to disqualify Fredonia’s counsel,

the district judge considered the ethical canons and the

rules promulgated by the Supreme Court and the Court

20

of Appeals for the First Circuit.° Although these rules

explicitly forbid a former law clerk from participating in

a case which was pending before the court during his

term of service, the district judge found the absence in

this Circuit of a formal rule of that nature to be im-

portant. This was an erroneous assumption by the district

judge. These rules are express safeguards of the integrity

of the judicial process, a concern of all courts. The district

judge correctly noted that the canons and rules do not

require disqualification of an entire law firm when the

propriety of a former law clerk’s participation in a

case is drawn in question. Under the facts presented

es \

5. The Code of Professional Responsibility provides as follows:

A lawyer should avoid even the appearance of impropriety.

ABA, Code of Professional Responsibility, Canon 9.

A lawyer shall not accept private employment in a matter

in which he had substantial responsibility while he was a public

employee.

ABA, Code of Professional Responsibility, DR 9-101(B).

The rules of the Supreme Court of the United States provide as

follows:

No one serving as a law clerk or secretary to a justice of

this court shall practice as an attorney or counsellor in any

court or before any agency of government while continuing

in that position; nor shall he after separating from that position

practice as an attorney or counsellor in this court until two

years have elapsed since such separation; mor shall he ever

participate, by way of any form of professional consultation

and assistance, in any case that was pending in this court

during the period that he held such position.

Rules of the United States Supreme Court, Rule 7 (emphasis

added).

The Courts of Appeals of the First Circuit and the District of

Columbia have similar rules. The appendix to RCA’s brief to this

court, containing correspondence from the clerks of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit and various federal

district courts, indicates that numerous federal courts follow the

practice outlined in the Supreme Court’s rule although they have

not promulgated a formal rule. Brief of Appellant at A. 2 through

19. Fredonia does not dispute these representations.

ONS a sikine

21

in this case, however, we need not delve into the problems

involved in disqualifying a party’s counsel.

[2] The question here centers instead on the disqualifi- .

cation of the trial judge. Once it appeared that Fredonia

might have an unfair advantage in the litigation because

its counsel included a lawyer who had been exposed to

the trial judge’s innermost thoughts about the case, the

trial judge had no alternative to disqualifying himself. No

matter how many assurances were given by Fredonia’s

counsel that the former law clerk would withdraw from the

case, we think it clear that the propriety of continuing

the proceedings before this district judge had been irre-

vocably tainted, and the impartiality of the judge had been

reasonably questioned.

In order fully to appreciate the role of a law clerk and

to evaluate the taint of impropriety that occurred in this

case, we consider it appropriate to note briefly the role

of law clerks in our judicial system. Historically, the prac-

tice of employing federal judicial law clerks began in

1882 when Justice Horace Gray was appointed to the

Supreme Court. Justice Oliver Wendell Holmes, who

continued this practice when he succeeded Justice Gray,

termed law clerks “puisne judges.” Congress has pro-

vided that “district judges may appoint necessary law

clerks.” 28 U.S.C. § 752 (1970). The law clerk has no

statutorily defined duties but rather performs a broad

range of functions to assist his judge. A judicial clerk-

ship provides the fledgling lawyer insight into the law,

the judicial process, and the legal practice. The associa-

tion with law clerks is also valuable to the judge; in addi-

tion to relieving him of many clerical and administrative

chores, law clerks may serve as sounding boards for ideas,

22

often affording a different perspective, may perform re-

search, and may aid in drafting memoranda, orders and

opinions.°

This general knowledge and experience is an invaluable

asset to the law clerk and his subsequent utilization of

the knowledge is to be encouraged. See generally K. Lle-

wellyn, The Common Law Tradition: Deciding Appeals,

321-23 (1960). A law clerk, by virtue of his position,

is obviously privy to his judge’s thoughts in a way that

the parties cannot be. We are not holding that a former

law clerk may never practice before the judge for whom

he clerked. Such a holding would clearly be unwarranted

and would cast an undue burden on the law clerk. More-

over, it would hinder the courts in securing the best

qualified people to serve as law clerks. What is offensive

here is thaf the district judge seemed to countenance the

notion that the law clerk could improperly use the specific

knowledge gained from working with him on this par-

ticular case. The impartiality of a trial judge is seriously

open to question when the judge refuses to recuse him-

self after being made aware that his former law clerk

is actively involved as counsel for a party in a case in

which the law cleark participated during his clerkship.

In addition to the possibility that Fredonia might have

an unfair advantage because of its counsel’s former as-

sociation with the trial judge, we are concerned with the

6. We note, as did RCA in its brief to this court, that the

problem is exacerbated under the facts here, where the prior remand

was based on trial court error in fashioning the law in this case.

Although the record does not disclose which facets of the first trial

were participated in by the former law clerk, one could readily

infer that he had been involved in drafting the jury instructions

which the prior panel found to be erroneous.

P

¢

{

e

:

%

4

y

23

“purity of the judicial process and its institutions.” Kin-

near-Weed Corp. v. Humble Oil & Refining Co., 403 F.2d

437, 439-40 (Sth Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 941,

92 S.Ct. 285, 30 L.Ed.2d 255 (1971). The Supreme Court

has repeatedly stated that “justice must satisfy the appear-

ance of justice.” Offutt v. United States, 348 U.S. 11,

14, 75 S.Ct. 11, 13, 99 L.Ed. 11 (1954); accord, In re

Marchison, 349 U.S. 133, 136, 75 S.Ct. 623, 625, 99

L.Ed. 942 (1955); Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U.S. 510, 532,

47 S.Ct. 437, 444, 71 L.Ed. 749 (1927). The Code of

Judicial Conduct for United States Judges, approved by

the Judicial Conference of the United States, expresses

concern that the judicial system be protected from the

appearance of impropriety in the eyes of both the parties

and the general public.

A judge should avoid impropriety and the appearance

of impropriety in all his activities.

A. A judge . . . should conduct himself at all

times in a manner that promotes public confidence

in the integrity and impartiality of the judiciary.

Code of Judicial Conduct for United States Judges, Canon

2 & 2 A. The Commentary to Canon 2 states that

[p]ublic confidence in the judiciary is eroded by

irresponsible or improper conduct by judges. A judge

must avoid all impropriety and appearance of im-

propriety.

When, as here, a judge is confronted with a situation

where the appearance of impropriety is already estab-

lished, a taint on the judicial system remains as long

as he presides over the case. This court, moreover,

24

through the exercise of our supervisory powers, can pro-

hibit any practice which threatens the judicial process

and its integrity. United States v. Columbia Broadcast-

ing System, Inc., 497 F.2d 107, 109-10 (Sth Cir. 1974).

Because of the nature of the judge-law clerk relation-

ship, this trial judge invited serious questions to his im-

partiality when he refused to recuse himself. Congress, in

amending the statutory provision for the disqualification

of judges, adopted the language proposed in the American

Bar Association’s Canons for Judicial Conduct 3C(1)'

with the exception of making the disqualification manda-

tory by substituting the word “shall” for the ABA’s

“should.”* The statute provides, in part, “A judge shall

disqualify himself in a proceeding in which his im-

partiality might reasonably be questioned.” 28 U.S.C.

§ 455(a) (Supp. 1977). We have held this statutory

provision to be applicable in cases where, as here, the

effective date of the statute was after the commencement

of the trial but prior to the full submission of the issue

on appeal. Parrish v. Board of Commissioners of Alabama

State Bar, 524 F.2d 98, 102 (Sth Cir. 1975) (en banc);

Davis v. Board of School Commissioners, 517 F.2d 1044

(Sth Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 425 U.S. 944, 96 S.Ct.

1685, 48 L.Ed.2d 188 (1976).°

7. In amending 28 U.S.C. §455, Congress also intended to

codify the standards of Canon 2, discussed supra in the text. See

Overseas Private Inv. Corp. v. Anaconda Co., 418 F.Supp. 107, 111

n. 6 (D.D.C, 1976).

8. The Code of Judicial Conduct for United States Judges, ap-

proved by the Judicial Conference of the United States, also employs

the mandatory standard for disqualification. Code of Judicial Conduct

for United States Judges, Canon 3 C.

9. Even under the standards in effect at the time the district

judge refused to recuse himself, we would reach the same result.

25

Section 455(a) is a general safeguard of the appear-

ance of impartiality and establishes a “reasonable factual

basis — reasonable man” standard. Parrish, 524 F.2d at

103. We hold that a reasonable man, viewing the facts

as they stood at the time of RCA’s motion, would rea-

sonably question this trial judge’s impartiality and the

integrity of the judicial system. The district judge could

not remain in the case. Consequently, we find that we

must remand this case once again, this time for a trial

before a different judge.

[3] We note here that nothing in the record before

us would preclude the law firm representing Fredonia

from continuing to serve as counsel before another

district judge. Disqualification of counsel is a drastic mea-

sure and conceivably could have due process implications,

especially when counsel has served throughout proceedings

as involved and lengthy as these and the client’s invest-

ment in legal representation is substantial.

Il

The record of the second trial discloses some confusion

concerning the effect of the prior panel opinion. For the

The old standard, 28 U.S.C. §455 (1970) (prior to the 1974

amendment), left the decision whether recusal was required to the

discretion of the judge. In this circuit, there was a presumption

against disqualification. See, Edwards v. United States, 334 F.2d

360 (Sth Cir. 1964), cert. denied, 379 U.S. 1000, 85 S.Ct. 721, 13

L.Ed.2d 702 (1965) (judges have a “duty to sit”). Although few

district judges were reversed under the old standard, an appellate

court always has the inherent power to promote justice by holding

improper a trial judge’s failure to disqualify himself, Texaco, Inc.

v. Chandler, 354 F.2d 655 (10th Cir. 1965), cert. denied, 383 U.S.

936, 86 S.Ct. 1066, 15 L.Ed.2d 853 (1966), and an appellate court

could reverse for an abuse of discretion. See Note, Disqualification

of Judges and Justices in the Federal Courts, 86 Harv. L. Rev. 736,

740 (1973).

26

benefit of the parties and the court on remand, and to

expedite the anticipated third trial, we shall set forth

what must be determined on remand. For the sake of

clarity, we will discuss the element of Fredonia’s fraud

claim remaining to be tried; then we will address the

proper measure of damages. In many respects these mat-

ters are intertwined.

A. The Remaining Element of the Fraud Claim.

Following the remand of this case for a new trial,

Fredonia amended its complaint, thus modifying its theory

of recovery. By the conclusion of the final pretrial hearing,

the liability issues had been narrowed to a claim of

fraud, that RCA had misrepresented the merchantability

of the equipment sold to Fredonia. The nature of this

claim under Texas law requires further explication.

[4] The prior panel opinion held that Fredonia’s claims

of fraud were independent of its contract claims and that

the jury’s finding that RCA had misrepresented the mer-

chantability of its equipment was valid. The type of fraud

at issue in this case is fraud in the inducement to con-

tract. Two categories of fraudulent inducement to con-

tract are recognized in Texas: (1) “misrepresentation”

of a past or existing fact, sometimes called “false state-

ment” and (2) “false promise,” which may be described

as an intentional tort and is sometimes simply termed

“fraud.” Custom Leasing, Inc. v. Texas Bank & Trust

Co., 516 S.W.2d 138, 142-43 (Tex. 1974) (adopting the

Restatement of Restitution § 8, Fraud and Misrepresenta-

tion (1957) ); International Harvester Co. v. Kesey, 487

S.W.2d 799, 803 (Tex.Civ.App.—El Paso 1972), rev'd

on other grounds, 507 S.W.2d 195 (Tex. 1974).

27

[5] In order to recover damages for a claim of misrep-

resentation, it is necessary to show that a material mis-

representation was made, that the speaker made it with

the intention that it should be acted upon by the plaintiff,

and that the plaintiff acted in reliance upon it and there-

by suffered some actual injury. E. g., Custom Leasing, Inc.,

516 S.W.2d at 143; Traylor v. Gray, 547 S.W.2d 644,

650 (Tex.Civ.App.—Corpus Christi 1977). Fredonia

has already proved this claim as to the merchantability

of RCA’s equipment. 481 F.2d at 795-96, 806. It was not

necessary, in proving its case of misrepresentation, for

Fredonia to show that RCA’s representatives knew that

the questioned representations were false when they

made them. See Baker v. Moody, 219 F.2d 368, 371 (Sth

Cir. 1955); Griffin v. Phillips, 542 S.W.2d 432, 434 (Tex.

Civ.App.—Eastland 1976, writ ref'd n.r.e.); Custom

Leasing, Inc., 516 S.W.2d at 144; Success Motivation

Institute, Inc. v. Lawlis, 503 S.W.2d 864, 870 (Tex.Civ.

App.—Houston [1st Dist.] 1973, writ ref’d ua.r.e.).

[6-8] Exemplary, or punitive damages cannot be re-

covered for simple misrepresentation or false statements;

it is necessary to demonstrate the speaker’s knowledge

of the falsity of the representation to justify an award

of such damages. Baker, 219 F.2d at 371; Griffin, 542

S.W.2d at 434; Lawlis, 503 S.W.2d at 870. Under Texas

law, the mere failure to perform a promise is not itself

any evidence of an intent not to perform. Turner v. Bris-

coe, 141 Tex. 197, 171 S.W.2d 118, 119 (1943); Pre-

cision Motors v. Cornish, 413 S.W.2d 752, 756 (Tex.

Civ. App.—Dallas 1967, writ ref’d n.r.e.). It is this addi-

tional element that distinguishes misrepresentation, from

the second category of fraudulent inducement to contract,

“false promise.” False promise is an intentional tort,

28

requiring proof of intent not to perform the promise at

the time it was made. McDaniel v. Pettigrew, 536 S.W.2d

611, 616 (Tex.Civ.App.—Dallas 1976, writ ref'd n.r.e.).

Susanoil, inc. v. Continental Oil Co., 519 S.W.2d 230,

236 (Tex.Civ.App.—San Antonio 1975, writ ref’d n.r.e.).

Texas jurisprudence makes it clear that intent to de-

fraud is the gist of the tort of false promise. E. g., Collins

v. McCombs, 511 S.W.2d 745, 747 (Tex.Civ.App.—San

Antonio 1974, writ ref’d n.r.e.); Susanoil, Inc., 519 S.W.

2d at 236. Therefore, in order to recover exemplary

damages Fredonia must prove at the new trial that when

RCA made the representations about the equipment,

RCA knew they were false or made them “reckless-

ly”’® without any knowledge of their truth; that is, that at

the time RCA made them, RCA had the intent not to

fulfill the promise. Custom Leasing, Inc., 516 S.W.2d at

142-43; Susanoil, 519 S.W.2d at 235."

10. In Texas “recklessly” indicates a higher standard than negli-

gence in this context.

Even though the Court decisions and text writers use the

word “reckless” in support of an award of exemplary damages,

the measure of such conduct to support such an award must

involve conduct of an unconscionable nature, such as, malice,

fraud, oppression, bad faith, knowledge of the falsity, intention

to defraud, conscious indifference or wanton disregard of the

rights of others... .

International Harvester Co. v. Kesey, 487 S.W.2d 799, 804-05 (Tex.

Civ. App.—El Paso 1972, rev’d om other grounds, 507 S.W.2d 195

(Tex. 1974) (citations omitted).

11. The holding of the prior panel opinion is summarized in

481 F.2d at 805-06. The distinction between the two categories of

fraudulent inducement to contract, that is misrepresentation and

false promise with its additional element of intent, is implicit in

this summary. Compare holding three with holding four, id. at 806.

The panel stated that “Fredonia, on remand, can seek exemplary

damages if fraud is proven.” Jd. (Emphasis added). Insofar as there

are any statements in the prior opinion which are inconsistent with

the holding, those statements cannot stand.

-———

ms ane tee - whee,

29

B. The Proper Measure of Damages.

[9, 10] RCA correctly claims error in the trial court’s

instructions, in the second trial, on the measurement of

damages. Because of the confusion that apparently ex-

ists on the part of both parties, we find it necessary to

summarize the Texas law on damages in this type of

suit. In Texas, the common law measure of damages,

when the defrauded party has not sought recission of

the contract, is the value given for the goods less the fair

market value of the goods received. E. g., Sobel v. Jenkins,

477 S.W.2d 863, 868 (Tex. 1972); Morriss-Buick v. Pon-

drom, 131 Tex. 98, 113 S.W.2d 889, 890 (1938). Tray-

lor v. Gray, 547 $.W.2d 644, 656 (Tex.Civ.App.—Cor-

pus Christi 1977). Our review of Texas law shows that

consequential damages are also recoverable in actions for

fraud in the inducement to contract. Success Motivation

Institute, Inc. v. Lawlis, 503 S.W.2d 864, 866 (Tex.Civ.

App.—Houston (lst Dist.) 1973, writ ref’d n.r.e.);

El Paso Development Co. v. Ravel, 339 S.W.2d 360, 363-

64 (Tex.Civ.App.—El Paso 1960, writ ref’d n.r.e.). See

also, International Harvester Co. v. Kesey, 507 S.W.2d

195 (Tex. 1974), rev’g 487 S.W.2d 799 (Tex.Civ.App.—

El Paso 1972).

{11, 12] On retrial Fredonia may therefore recover as

consequential damages pecuniary losses that resulted di-

rectly, naturally, and proximately from the fraud. These

losses must be ascertained with reasonable certainty and

cannot represent fictitious, conjectural, speculative, or

contingent values. As the prior panel held in its opinion,

481 F.2d at 802-04, Fredonia is not entitled to recover

losts profits because “prospective profits from a new en-

terprise which has no history of profits are too remote

30

and speculative to be included in compensatory damages.”

Id. at 803 (quoting Southwest Bank & Trust Co. v.

Executive Sportsman Ass'n, 477 §.W.2d 920, 929 (Tex.

Civ.App.—Dallas 1972, writ ref’d n.r.e.) ). Fredonia’s

damages, if otherwise recoverable, should be limited as

follows:

(1) Actual damages for the unmerchantable RCA

equipment, i. e., the amount Fredonia paid, or obligated

itself to pay, for the equipment less the fair market

value of that equipment.

(2) Fredonia cannot recover the sums spent to pur-

chase from a different manufacturer items to replace

the RCA equipment. To allow recovery for this expendi-

ture, in addition to the actual damages relating to the un-

merchantable equipment, would doubly compensate Fre-

donia.

(3) The proper measure of consequential damages

for the loss of the FCC permit and the CBS affiliation

is the money Fredonia expended to obtain them. Allow-

ing Fredonia to recover their “value” is actually allowing

recovery for lost profits. As discussed above, such profits

would be purely speculative since Fredonia was never a

going concern.

(4) RCA should not be held accountable for the entire

cost of the television station structure, the wiring of the

station, and the engineering fees to supervise the con-

struction of the building. However, any sums spent by °

Fredonia to modify the building or wiring to accept re-

placement equipment obtained from other manufacturers

are recoverable from RCA as consequential damages.

31

In addition to the actual and consequential damages

we have outlined above, Fredonia may recover exemp-

lary damages if Fredonia proves that RCA acted from

the outset with the intent not to fulfill its promises. See

part II A, supra.

Il

{13] With regard to the judgment on RCA’s counter-

claim, our examination of the record convinces us that the

district court erred in determining as a matter of law.

that RCA had waived its claim to the interest by its

procedural conduct at the second trial. The counter-

claim and, therefore the interest, were not in issue at

trial, and no reference during that proceeding to the debt

due on the equipment could be deemed as a waiver by

RCA of the interest stipulated in the notes. On remand,

the district court must determine the merits of RCA’s

claim for the additional interest on the notes from the

date of default. ,

This case is REVERSED and REMANDED for fur-

ther proceedings, consistent with this opinion, on Fre-

donia’s fraud claim. The judgment of the district court on

RCA’s counterclaim is VACATED and REMANDED for

further proceedings on RCA’s interest claim. It is further

ordered that this case be assigned on remand to a different

district judge for all further proceedings.

32

APPENDIX B

OPINION OF COURT OF APPEALS; July 2, 1973

FREDONIA BROADCASTING CORPORATION, INC.,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

Vv.

RCA CORPORATION,

Defendant-Appellant.

No. 72-2341.

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit.

July 2, 1973.

Rehearing Denied Nov. 2, 1973.

Action was brought by television station against seller

of equipment to recover damages arising out of contract

to purchase such equipment. The United States District

Court for the Eastern District of Texas, at Tyler, William

Wayne Justice, J., entered a judgment awarding damages

to the buyer station and adverse to the seller on its counter-

claim for damages and the seller appealed. The Court

of Appeals, Coleman, Circuit Judge, held that the buyer’s

breach of contract claims were precluded by terms of.

contract which jury found that buyer had affirmed, in-

struction on repudiation was erroneous and that findings

that seller made misrepresentations as to dates of delivery

and degree of installation supervision were negated by

jury’s findings that reliance was not justified.

ee ee

33

Reversed and remanded with instructions.

Gewin, Circuit Judge, filed an opinion concurring in

the result.

James E. Coleman, Jr., Marvin S. Sloman, Earl F. Hale,

Jr., Dallas, Tex., for defendant-appellant.

_.. John Gano, Houston, Tex., Ben Johnson, Dallas, Tex.,

for plaintiff-appellee.

Before WISDOM, GEWIN and COLEMAN, ° Circuit

Judges.

COLEMAN, Circuit Judge:

RCA contracted to sell UHF color television broad-

casting equipment to Fredonia Broadcasting Corporation

for the operation of television station, KAEC-TV, in Luf-

kin, Texas. The station was designated as Channel 19 and

‘was to cover the Lufkin and Nacogdoches area. Fre-

donia’s operation failed. The station began broadcasting

on July 30, 1969, and ceased operation on March 18,

1970.

Fredonia sued’ RCA for fraud, for breach of sales

contract, and for breach of warranty. Fredonia sought

actual and punitive damages in the total amount of $2,-

650,000. RCA counterclaimed for $605,493.80 for the

value of the broadcasting equipment delivered.

The District Court submitted the case to the jury under

Rule 49(a), Fed.R.Civ.P.* The jury was asked to answer

1. RCA properly removed the case to the United States District

Court for the Eastern District of Texas under 28 U.S.C. § 1441.

2. Rule 49, Fed. R. Civ. P., states as follows:

(a) Special Verdicts. The court may require a jury to re

turn only a special verdict in the form of a special written

34

18 fact questions and two damages questions. The jury

found in favor of Fredonia and awarded $850,000 for

actual damages and $150,000 for exemplary damages.

finding upon each issue of fact. In that event the court

may submit to the jury written questions susceptible of

categorical or other brief answer or may submit written

forms of the several special findings which might properly

be made under the pleadings and evidence; or it may

use such other method of submitting the issues and requiring

the written findings thereon as it deems most appropriate. The

court shall give to the jury such explanation and instruction

concerning the matter thus submitted as may be necessary to

enable the jury to make its findings upon each issue. If in so

doing the court omits any issue of fact raised by the pleadings

or by the evidence, each party waives his right to a trial by

jury of the issue so omitted unless before the jury retires he

demands its submission to the jury. As to an issue omitted

without such demand the court may make a finding; or, if it

fails to do so, it shall be deemed to have made a finding in

accord with the judgment on the special verdict.

(b) General Verdict Accompanied by Answer to Interroga-

tories. The court may submit to the jury, together with ap-

propriate forms for a general verdict, written interrogatories

upon one or more issues of fact the decision of which is neces-

sary to a verdict. The court shall give such explanation or

instruction as tay be necessary to enable the jury both to make

answers to the interrogatories and to render a general verdict,

and the court shall direct the jury both to make written answers

and to render a general verdict. When the general verdict and

the answers are harmonious, the appropriate judgment upon

the verdict and answers shall be entered pursuant to Rule 58.

When the answers are consistent with each other but one or

more is inconsistent with the general verdict, judgment may

be entered pursuant to Rule 58 in accordance with the answers,

notwithstanding the general verdict, or the court may return

the jury for further consideration of its answers and verdict

or may order a new trial. When the answers are inconsistent

with each other and one or more is likewise inconsistent with

the general verdict, judgment shall not be entered, but the

court shall return the jury for further consideration of its

answers and verdict or shall order a new trial.

This case is under Rule 49(a) and not 49(b). The District Court

erroneously called the “questions” under Rule 49(a) “interrogatories”.

In this opinion we shall use the term “question”. All the “questions”

a Nee hee

35

On Appeal, RCA raises numerous issues concerning the

findings as to both liability and damages.

We reverse and remand for a new trial on both issues.

THE FACTS

On January 15, 1969, RCA and several other sup-

pliers of broadcast equipment made presentations to a

committee of Fredonia’s Board of Directors, composed

of Dr. Basil Atkinson, chairman of the Board; Al Cudlipp,

president; and Edward McFarland, attorney for Fre-

donia. William Carr, a consulting engineer for Fredonia,

was also present. RCA’s written proposal, titled Broadcast

Equipment Proposal, was explained by its field salesman,

George McClanathan, and by its area sales manager, Dana

Pratt. At this meeting Fredonia did not make any final

decision as to which supplier to choose, but decided to

ask for another meeting with RCA.

Cudlipp called McClanathan and asked him to come

to Lufkin for a final negotiation session. This meeting

was held on February 6, 1969. Atkinson, Cudlipp, and

McFarland were present on behalf of Fredonia.

At these meetings Fredonia claims that RCA made sev-

eral oral representations which induced it to enter into a

contract with RCA.

Fredonia claims that RCA represented (1) it would de-

liver the equipment in time for Fredonia to meet the on-the-

asked the jury by the District Court are set out fully in Appendix

A. The term “interrogatory” is used in Appendix A to avoid con-

fusion when there are cross-references. Throughout the remainder

of this opinion all “questions” will not be footnoted and the reader

is directed to refer to Appendix A.

_ Furthermore, in this case, no general verdict was requested of the

jury or entered by it.

36

air date of June 1, 1969; (2) it would supervise the installa-

tion; and (3) it would deliver used and new equipment

which would run and operate properly and would be suit-

able for the purposes for which it was intended. McFar-

land, Fredonia’s attorney, testified that he relied on these

representations in advising his client to enter into a con-

tract with RCA. Cudlipp also testified that he relied on

these representations.

These oral representations conflict with RCA’s written

broadcast proposal since that written proposal states: (1)

RCA would not be liable in damages for delays in de-

livery and the buyer could cancel if delivery was not

made within the date specified, (2) RCA would not

assume responsibility for the installation and operation

of equipment if the buyer requested RCA to furnish

a representative to supervise the installation, and (3)

RCA’s warranty for the equipment would not include

liability for damages of any kind connected with the use

of the equipment or its failure to function properly. RCA’s

written broadcast proposal also states that:

{the] proposal including any modifications or addi-

tions agreed to in writing by the parties prior to ac-

ceptance by RCA expresses the entire understanding

of the parties . . . and no agreement modifying or

supplementing the terms of this proposal shall be

valid unless in writing duly signed by the parties.

The evidence is conflicting as to whether RCA made

misrepresentations as to the date of delivery, degree of

supervision, and quality of the equipment and as to

whether Fredonia relied on these misrepresentations.

Both Cudlipp and McFarland testified that McClanathan

37

promised on February 6, 1969, that delivery could be

arranged so that Fredonia could meet its air date of June

1, 1969. McClanathan and Pratt both knew that Fre-

donja was attempting to meet an air date of June 1,

1969. An internal memorandum of RCA, titled Contract

Data Sheet, which informed RCA’s internal organization

of the expected air date, stated that the air date for the

new station was estimated to be May 15, 1969. This docu-

ment also stated that the required delivery date for

studio equipment was April 1, 1969, and the required

delivery date for the transmitter and the antenna was

May 1, 1969.

Other evidence was to the contrary and showed that

Fredonia did not expect to be on the air by June 1, 1969.

William Carr, Fredonia’s consulting engineer, testified for

the defendant that he advised his client that July 1, 1969,

was a reasonable air date. Carr also testified that Fre-

donia was delayed because Fredonia did not supply

enough personnel to work at installing the equipment.

The building to house the station’s equipment was not

completely finished on May 9, 1969. A letter from Fre-

donia’s Washington attorneys to the FCC states that the

anticipated air date was July 1, 1969. McClanathan’s

representations as to a delivery date can also be inter-

preted to mean that RCA would ship the equipment

within 120 days of Fredonia’s acceptance on February

6, 1969, and not that Fredonia would be on the air 120

days from February 6, 1969.

Finally, the evidence shows that permission to construct

microwave towers, which were. essential for the broad-

casting of network programs, was not received until June

5, 1969.

38

There was evidence that RCA represented through its

agents that it would supervise installation of the equip-

ment, but there was also other evidence which showed that

Fredonia intended to rely on Carr to supervise the installa-

tion. Carr testified that under the terms of his consulting

contract he was to be responsible for the installation of the

equipment. Correspondence between Carr and Cudlipp

corroborates Carr’s responsibility. Cudlipp also testified

that RCA’s Barbour did a lot of work Cudlipp expected

Carr to do. Cudlipp also testified that he felt Carr was not

at the station as often as he should have been.

While there was evidence to show that RCA repre-

sented to deliver operable and suitable equipment and did

not do so, there was also evidence to show that Fredonia,

itself, might have been at fault in causing the equipment

not to operate. Barbour, an RCA employee, testified that

when he arrived at the station on June 4, 1969, he found

that there were errors made in the installation of the equip-

ment. Barbour also testified that Fredonia experienced

problems that were normally to be expected in the starting

up of a television station. Other evidence showed that

Cudlipp wrote a letter stating that he had a good operating

crew, but that they were not very gocd in the maintenance

of the equipment. RCA also introduced testimony that

showed it had given Fredonia credit for two inoperable

cameras that RCA had delivered. Finally, after RCA’s

Parker had conducted a proof of performance on the

transmitter, Cudlipp wrote Barbour that for Fredonia he

accepted the proof of performance. This evidence tended

to show that RCA delivered operable equipment and that

any breakdowns in broadcast transmission was the fault of

Fredonia.

39

The parties disagree as to when a binding contract was

made between the parties and disagree as to which docu-

ments constituted the contract.

At the February 6, 1969 meeting Fredonia was not

satisfied with the exact written terms of RCA’s written

broadcast approval and requested three changes. McClan-

athan, RCA’s salesman, said that while he did not have

the authority to bind RCA to any revision, he could put

Fredonia in touch by telephone with Edwin Tracy, RCA’s

Division Vice-President of Broadcast Sales, who had au-

thority to accept and approve changes. The three changes

Fredonia requested concerned (1) additions and dele-

tions to the proposal, (2) freight charges, and (3) method

of down-payment. Tracy agreed to these changes for RCA.

RCA contends that these three changes were the only

ones made to the written agreement.

McFarland at this meeting [according to his testimony]

was concerned that RCA’s broadcast proposal did not bind

RCA. McFarland, therefore, prepared a letter of accept-

ance, dated February 6, 1969, which stated that Fredonia

accepted RCA’s broadcast proposal at a package price of

$471,967.00. Fredonia claims that the letter together with

the broadcast proposal constitute the contract between

the parties. This acceptance letter enumerated the three

changes that Fredonia wanted RCA to make in the broad-

cast proposal.

The letter also stated specifically that a down-payment

of 25% of the total price would be made. This 25%

down-payment was to be paid in part as follows: (1) $25,-

000 paid immediately, (2) $50,000 paid on notification

the transmitter was ready, and (3) the remainder paid

thirty days thereafter. Fredonia sent to RCA’s office at

40

Camden, New Jersey, the $25,000 on February 6, 1969.

RCA accepted the check and deposited it to its bank ac-

count. The February 6, 1969 acceptance letter also detailed

the arrangement for the payment of notes to cover the

balance of the amount due.

McFarland testified that it was agreed with Tracy that

this acceptance letter consummated a contract between

RCA and Fredonia. Tracy testified that an acceptance

was not given since it was RCA’s procedure that a con-

tract would be made only when approved by RCA at

its home office in Camden, New Jersey. Fredonia’s re-

liance on the acceptance letter to form a binding contract

conflicts with the procedure specified in RCA’s broadcast

proposal which states that the broadcast proposal “shall

not be binding upon RCA until accepted by it in writing

at Camden, New Jersey” and that “use [receipt] of a

downpayment shall not constitute an acceptance”. Mc-

farland testified that he relied on Tracy’s representation

that a binding contract had been made.

McFarland admitted that he knew that RCA would

require the signing of a conditional sales contract which

would incorporate a security agreement. McFarland also

testified that he felt that such an arrangement was pro-

vided for in the February 6, 1969, acceptance letter since

that letter details an arrangement for the payment of notes.

The broadcast proposal also anticipates that a conditional

sales agreement will be entered into since it states that

if the buyer desires deferred payment terms the buyer

“agrees to arrange for RCA’s standard form of deferred

payment contract and related instruments to be signed

prior to any shipment”.

— a

41

Cudlipp received the conditional sales agreement on

April 14, 1969, and executed the agreement on April 20,

1969. RCA approved the Conditional Sales Agreement

on April 28, 1969. RCA contends that only then was a

final binding contract concluded between the parties. The

terms of Conditional Sales Agreement are exactly the

same as the January 15, 1969, broadcast proposal except

thrat the later conditional sales agreement gives RCA

a security interest in the equipment.

Fredonia contends that it was coerced into signing the

conditional sales agreement because RCA would not ship

any equipment until such an agreement was signed. The

evidence shows that RCA withheld delivery until the con-

ditional sales agreement was signed by Fredonia. An

RCA interoffice memo verifies that no shipment was

to be made until the conditional sales agreement was

signed. No equipment was delivered until after the date

Fredonia signed the conditional sales agreement. The first

shipment of equipment was received at the end of April,

1969, and was not enough to get Fredonia on the air.

It was only in the beginning of July, 1969, that enough

equipment was received to put the station on the air.

Fredonia asserts that the delay in the shipment of the

equipment caused Fredonia to miss its scheduled air date

and thereby damaged Fredonia by the loss of advertising

revenues.

Fredonia introduced into evidence also instances where

RCA delivered defective equipment. Fredonia intended to

show by such evidence that such inoperabie equipment

caused the station to broadcast on an intermittent basis

and thereby lose advertising revenues.

42

The evidence showed that RCA did deliver three differ-

ent cameras which were inoperable. RCA sent Fredonia

a TK-42 camera, costing $27,000, which John Barbour,

an employee of RCA’s project management department,

testified was inoperable. The testimony of John Cassidy,

RCA’s Manager of Project Management and Administra-

tive Services corroborates Barbour’s account. RCA also

sent Fredonia a TK-26 camera which Barbour admitted

had been subject to cannibalization. An RCA internal

memorandum showed that this camera was intended to

be scrapped by RCA and not sold. A second internal RCA

memorandum chows that RCA considered the TK-26

camera not fit for resale or refurbishing after Fredonia

returned the camera to RCA. A TP-6 projector RCA sold

Fredonia was also intended to be scrapped as shown by an

RCA internal memorandum. RCA contends that the TK-

26 camera and the TP-6 projector were repaired before

the station went on the air and did not cause a delay.

Fredonia introduced other evidence to show that RCA

delivered defective equipment. Barbour testified that a

Klystron tube in the transmitter which was furnished by

RCA operated at reduced power. A Klystron tube is a

power source and produces a great increase in power

sufficient to cause the antenna system to radiate. Reduc-

tion in power of the Klystron tube causes the area re-

ceiving the station’s signal to be reduced. Barbour fur-

ther testified that the de-icer on top of the television tower

did not work properly. A malfunctioning de-icer requires

the station to reduce its power because otherwise other

equipment might be damaged. De-icers are used so that

the station can always operate at maximum power. RCA

also furnished a u-bend connector on the transmitter that

os Jas ek Re

DOT ee er.

43

did not work and required replacement. Lee Roy Frank-

lin an engineer for Fredonia, testified that the station

could not broadcast on its second day of operation be-

cause of a shorted capacitor on the blower motor inside

the transmitter. Franklin and another Fredonia engineer,

James Kirkland, enumerated other instances when broad-

cast equipment broke down.

* Cudlipp and McFarland repeatedly testified that the

delay of the initial broadcast date and interruptions in

broadcast service damaged the station because advertising

revenues were lost. Employees of RCA who made repre-

sentations as to dates RCA would deliver equipment and

as to the quality of the equipment knew that delay as to

the initial broadcast date and intermittent broadcast

operation would cause Fredonia to be damaged. Fredonia

never introduced evidence data showing exactly on what

dates broadcasting service was interrupted so that adver-

tising revenue was lost. Fredonia also never introduced

any financial analysis to concretely detail advertising reve-

nue that it allegedly lost. However, Norman Fischer, a

broadcasting consultant, did testify as an expert witness

for Fredonia. Over RCA’s objection, Fischer gave his

opinion as to the value of the station at various points

in time as follows: (1) value of the station just before

it went off the air taking in account its future potential—

$2,420,000; (2) value of the station just before it went

off the air without taking into account its future potential

—$850,000; (3) value of the station just after it went

off the air—$525,000; and (4) value of the station just

after it went off the air minus its CBS affiliation—$450,-

000.

44

THE LAW

1. Breach of Contract

[1] In its amended complaint Fredonia asserted three

different theories.* of relief: fraud, breach of contract,

and breach of warranty. Of course, under Rule 8(e),

Fed.R.Civ.P., Fredonia may state as many claims as it

has, regardless of their consistency. See Wright & Miller,

Federal Practice and Procedure: Civil § 1283, pp. 373-

375; Pulliam v. Gulf Lumber Co., 5 Cir. 1963, 312 F.2d

505, 507; and Breeding v. Massey, 8 Cir., 1967, 378

F.2d 171, 178.

In the answers to the questions submitted to it, the

jury found that RCA breached the contract, breached its

warranty as to representations about the equipment, and

also committed fraud.

{2, 3] In general, a defrauded party has three general

remedies as follows:

1. A right to damages for being led into the trans-

action;

2. Recission of the fraudulent transaction and resto-

ration of the situation which the parties occupied

before the fraudulent transaction was entered in-

to; and

3. Enforcement against the fraudulent person of the

kind of bargain he represented that he was mak-

ing.

3. Fredonia also raised repudiation of the contract in the pre-trial

order. The jury found in Question No. 11 that RCA repudiated the

contract. The jury’s determination of repudiation is discussed infra.

—

45

Williston on Contracts, Third Edition, § 1523, pp. 606-

607. The defrauded party cannot seek both to have the

contract rescinded and at the same time sue on the con-

tract for the damages resulting from the fraudulent trans-

action. Ringsby Truck Lines, Inc. v. Beardsley, 8 Cir.,

1964, 331 F.2d 14, 17 and authorities cited therein,

_ International Sec. Life Ins. Co. v. Finck, 475 S.W.2d 363

(Tex.Civ.App. 1971), Holley v. Corbell, 443 S.W.2d 63

(Tex.Civ.App. 1969), Dallas Farm Machinery Company

v. Reaves, 158 Tex. 1, 307 S.W.2d 233, 238-239 (1957).

[4] However, at the same time a judgment for fraud

and breach of contract can stand, Southwestern Packing

Co. v. Cincinnati Butchers’ S Company, 5 Cir., 1944, 139

F.2d 201, 203; Bankers Trust Company v. Pacific Em-

ployers Insurance Company, 9 Cir., 1960, 282 F.2d 106,

110; and International Sec. Life Ins. Co. v. Finck, supra

475 S.W.2d at 369. In Bankers Trust Co. v. Pacific Em-

ployers Insurance Co., supra, the Court said:

It is the law that one who has been fraudulently

induced into a contract may elect to stand by that

contract and sue for damages for the fraud. When

this happens and the defrauding party also refused

to perform the contract as it stands, he commits a

second wrong, and a separate and distinct cause of

action arises for the breach of contract. The same

basic transaction gives rise to distinct and inde-

pendent causes of action which may be consecutively

pursued to satisfaction. “Thus, an action on a con-

tract induced by fraud is not inconsistent with an

action for damages for the deceit; * * *.” 18 Am.

Jur. 139, El. of Rem. § 14 (1st ed. 1938). “A right

of action on a contract and for fraud in inducing

plaintiff to enter into such contract may exist at

the same time, and a recovery on one of the causes

46

will not bar a subsequent action on the other.” 50

C.J.S. Judgments § 676, p. 121 (1st ed. 1947). The

courts of many states have recognized the rule that a

suit on a contract and a suit for fraud in inducing

the contract are two different causes of action with

separate and consistent remedies, [Footnote omitted. ]

Id. 282 F.2d at 110. See also Falls Sand and Gravel Co.

v. Western Concrete, Inc., 270 F.Supp. 495, 500 (D.Mont.

1967).

In the present case, by the very terms of the contract,

Fredonia’s breach of contract claims cannot stand; the

contract precludes it.

The jury’s answers to Questions Nos. 7 and 9 show how

the jury viewed the contractual relationship of the parties.

[5] The jury found that a contract existed in Question

No. 7* when it found that the “parties intended” that the

defendant’s proposal of January 15, 1969, coupled with the

plaintiff's February 6, 1969, letter of acceptance, and the

4. The wording of Question No. 7 is unfortunately misleading.

Question No. 7 states:

Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence that the

parties intended that the defendaut’s proposal of January 15,

1969, coupled with the plaintiff's letter of acceptance of this

proposal, dated February 6, 1969, and oral representations, if

any, made to the plaintiff by the defendant, constituted the

contract between the parties?

Answer “It did” or “It did not”.

Question No. 7 starts out asking the Eg what the parties intended

to be the contract and concludes with the jury finding what was,

the contract. The finding of whether documents constitute a contract

is a conclusion of law and not for the jury’s fact finding determina-

tion. Success Motivation Institute, Inc. v. Jamieson Film Co., 473

S.W.2d 275, 280 (Tex. Civ. App. 1971) and cases cited therein.

We see Question No. 7 as telling what the jury believed the parties

intended the contract to be and not what the contract was.

47

oral representation made by the defendant to the plaintiff

“constituted the contract between the parties”.

{6] The jury further found in Question No. 9 that the .

defendant breached this contract by the following acts:

(a) By deliberately withholding shipment to the plain-

tiff of the items of equipment contracted for more

. than 75 days after February 6, 1969, and there-

after until plaintiff completed documents sub-

mitted to it by the defendant?

(b) By delivering such equipment contracted for on a

delayed, erratic, and incomplete basis?

(c) By delivering equipment that was not of a quality

such as is generally sold in the market and suit-

able for that which it is intended or for the par-

ticular uses to which the goods were to be put?

(d) By withholding personnel necessary to supervise

the installation of equipment until after June 1,

1969, and in failing to maintain such supervisory

personnel on the site, except on an intermittent and

irregular basis?

(e) By failing, after notice, if any, to correct or reme-

dy any such condition, or repair or replace any

such equipment?

The jury’s answer to Question No. 7 that a contract

existed between the parties and its answer to Question No.

9 that RCA breached the contract show that the jury

believed Fredonia affirmed the contract it had been in-

duced into by fraud.° In affirming the contract, Fredonia

is bound by the contract terms as were set out in RCA’s

January 15, 1969, proposal. In that proposal, as we

5. The jury found RCA committed fraud in Questions No. 1, 2,

and 3. These fraud claims are discussed infra.

48

have already discussed. RCA was absolved from any re-

sponsibility for late delivery, failure to supervise, and de-

fective equipment.’ Therefore, Fredonia’s claims for breach

of contract cannot stand.

6. The exact contract terms of the January 15, 1969, proposal

limiting RCA’s liability are as follows:

5. Delivery. (a) RCA will endeavor to meet the estimated

delivery dates specified in this agreement (and as may be from

time to time revised by mutual agreement) but shall not be

liable in damages or otherwise, nor shall you be relieved of

performance, because of delays in delivery; provided, however,

that, except as may otherwise be stated in this agreement

(including any revisions hereof), as to equipment items which

have not been shipped to you within four (4) months after the

estimated delivery dates applicable to such items, you shall

have the right, provided RCA is notified in writing, to cancel

any such items from this agreement to the extent that such

items shall not have been shipped to you prior to RCA’s

receipt of the notice of cancellation. In the event of cancellation

of any such items the contract price shall be reduced accord-

ingly, except that if unit prices are not set out opposite the

equipment items cancelled the reduction in contract price shall

be as mutually agreed upon.

8. Insiallation. RCA will furnish you with an instruction book

setting forth pertinent information relating to installation and

operation of the equipment. RCA will at your request and

subject to prior commitments, furnish a representative to super-

vise the installation of the equipment listed in Schedule A and

to instruct your personnel in the adjustment and operation

thereof. Unless otherwise provided in this proposal, charges for

’ furnishing such representative shall be at the current per diem

rate in effect at the time, plus transportation and reasonable

living expenses, and shall be = upon submission of in-

voices. Such supervisory service 1 not include the furnishing

or arranging for the furnishing of any equipment, materials

or services required for the actual installation. You will assume

complete responsibility for the installation and operation of the

equipment including, adequately staffing your organization with

technically qualified personnel, furnishing or arranging for the

furnishing by others of equipment, materials or services not

otherwise provided for in this proposal, and the obtaining of all

permits, licenses or certificates required by any regulatory body

for the installation or use of the equipment.

Sr, Bere ee Be on

0 ee eS

49

The District Court recognized the inconsistency be-

tween the breach theory and the terms of the contract.

It attempted to reconcile and explain the inconsistency

in its post-trial order as follows: 7

9. Warranty. RCA warrants the equipment of its manufacture

(except used equipment, electron tubes, transistors and television

tape recorder handwheel panel assemblies) purchased by you

-» hereunder to be free from defects in workmanship and material

for a period of one (1) year after delivery and RCA agrees

to male good f. o. b. its factory, all defective parts which are

returned to RCA’s factory, transportation prepaid, provided that

our examination discloses that the defects are due to defective

workmanship or material and that the equipment has not been

misused, altered, repaired, or improperly installed. Correction

of such defects by repair or replacement at RCA’s factory and

the shipment of the repaired or replaced parts to you f. o. b.

RCA’s factory, shall constitute the fulfillment of all of RCA’s

obligations in respect of the equipment furnished hereunder.

You agree that except for such repair and replacement, RCA

shall in no event be liable for damages of any kind connected

with the use of the equipment or its failure to function

properly. Used equipment shall bear no warranty unless other-

wise specified. Electron tubes, transistors and television tape

recorder headwheel panel assemblies shall bear the warranty

accompanying them at the time of delivery. Equipment furnished

by RCA but manufactured by another shall bear the warranty

given by such other manufacturer. No warranites other than

those set forth in this paragraph are given or are to be implied

with respect to the equipment furnished hereunder.

Il, Other Conditions. (a) Neither RCA nor you shall be liable

for general, special, indirect, or consequential damages in con-

nection with any obligations created by this agreement or arising

out of any acts performed in relation to such obligations. Both

RCA and you acknowledge that such lack of liability, without

limiting the generality of the foregoing, extends to loss of

actual or anticipated revenue, loss of air time, and damage

to the business reputations of either party to this agreement.

In affirming the contract, Fredonia was bound by all its provi-

sions. Included in the provisions was the agreement to be bound

by RCA’s deferred payment scheme. This deferred payment scheme,

as discussed infra, was set out in a conditional sales agreement.

This conditional sales agreement became part of the contract that

Fredonia affirmed.

50

[Ujnless there is some theory under which Fre-

donia can void the entire February 6 transaction,

or at least certain of its terms, it seems clear to

the court that Fredonia would be precluded from

recovery by the “terms and conditions” portion,

which specifically defines the relationship between

the parties as regards delivery dates, warranties, and

supervision of installation. The effect of the jury’s

finding on the fraud theory is obvious. Less ap-

parent is the effect of the jury’s determination that

RCA is liable also upon the warranty and breach of

contract theories. To uphold the jury’s verdict on

the theories of breach of warranty and breach of

contract, the court must assume that the jury tacitly

reformed the contract, on the basis that RCA fraud-

ulently represented that the warranty, delivery, and

supervision provisions were actually different from

those provisions as stated in writing in the formal

“terms and conditions” atteched to the McClanathan

proposal. Otherwise, Fredonia is left with the ex-

press written provisions of the February 6 pro-

posal which preclude RCA’s liability.

[7] We cannot agree that the jury could “reform”

the contract. The judgment of the District Court as to

breach of contract must be reversed and remanded for a

new trial since the jury’s answers do not “represent a

logical and probable decision on the relevant issues as

submitted”. Colvin, Prigmore v. Dempsey—Tegler & Co.,

Inc., 5 Cir., 1973, 477 F.2d 1283, 1285 (1973). See

also Griffin v. Matherne, 5 Cir., 1973, 471 F.2d 911,

915 and cases cited therein. z

Fredonia’s claim for damages for fraud may, how-

ever, stand independently of the contract claim.

Ds aiiee tsar: a

51

Il. Repudiation of the Contract

[8] In Question No. 11 the jury found that RCA

repudiated the contract by deliberately withholding ship-.

ment of the equipment until Fredonia executed the

Conditional Sales Agreement [Question il(a)]; by de-

livering equipment on a delayed, erratic, and incomplete

basis [Question 11(b)]; by delivering equipment not

suitable for the use for which it was intended and not

Suitable as is generally sold on the market [Question No.

11(c)]; by withholding personnel necessary to supervise

the installation of the equipment [Question No. 1i(d)];

and by failing after notice to repair defective equipment

[Question No. 11 (e)].

RCA objected to Question No. 11 at the trial level

and renews its objection on appeal. RCA argues that

Question No. 11 is improper for two reasons. First, RCA

contends that the actions of RCA found by the jury

to have been repudiation deal with the quality of RCA’s

performance and not with actions “which render perform-

ance impossible or demonstrate a clear determination not

to continue with performance”. RCA contends that this

is the way repudiation is described in Comment 1 to

U.C.C. § 2-610, V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2-610.’ Second,

RCA asserts that the jury was not instructed properly as

to U.C.C. § 2-610, V.T.C.A. Bus. & Co. § 2.610, since

7. Comment 1 to U.C.C. § 2-610, V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.610

states as follows: j

With the problem of insecurity taken care of by the preceding

section and with provision being made in this Article as to the

effect of a defective delivery under an installment contract

anticipatory repudiation centers upon an overt communication

of intention or an action which renders performance impossible

or Cemonstrates a clear determination not to continue with

performance.

52

there was no instruction that repudiation (as it is defined

in U.C.C. § 2-610, V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.610) required

a loss that would “substantially impair the value of the

contract to the other” party.

As to repudiation, the District Court instructed the

jury as follows:

Repudiation . . . is defined as such words or

actions by a contracting party as indicate that he is

not going to perform his contract in the future.

It is conduct which shows a fixed intention to aban-

don, renounce, and refuse to perform the contract.

No Texas Court has as yet interpreted U.C.C. § 2-610,

V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.610, nor has any Court of any

state in this Circuit.

RCA’s contention that the jury’s findings concerning

RCA’s actions only goes to the quality of the acts

and do not have the characteristics of acts of repudiation

is without merit. All the acts the jury found in Questions

Nos. 11(a)-(e) could have “demonstrated in the jury’s

mind a clear determination [by RCA] not to continue

with performance” or “actions [which would] render per-

formance impossible”. The jury was properly instructed

as to this aspect of repudiation when the Court instructed

the jury that “repudiation is denied by such words or

actions . . . [that] indicate [that the contracting party]

is not going to perform his contract in the future”.

However, the District Court’s instruction did not com-

ply with the plain language of U.C.C. § 2-610, V.T.C.A.

Bus. & C. § 2.610, which states:

When either party repudiates the contract with

respect to a performance not yet due the loss of

53

which will substantially impair the value of the

contract to the other, the aggrieved party may

(1) for a commercially reasonable time await per-

formance by the repudiating party; or

(2) resort to any remedy for breach (Section 2-703

or Section 2-711), even though he has notified

the repudiating party that he would await the

— performance and has urged retraction;

an

(3) in either case suspend his own performance or

proceed in accordance with the provisions of this

Article on the seller’s right to identify goods to

the contract notwithstanding breach or to salvage

unfinished goods (Section 2-704).

{9} Clearly, a repudiation is not actionable unless it

“substantially impairs the value of the contract”. Com-

ment 3 to U.C.C. § 2-610, V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.610,

describes the test to determine if the substantial value of

the contract has been impaired as whether a “material

inconvenience or injustice will result”.

[10] The District Court’s instruction was incorrect

since it did not tell the jury that for it to find repudiation

there must be a substantial impairment of the contract,

and it did not define substantial impairment. Therefore,

the jury’s determination that RCA repudiated the contract

cannot stand.*

Ill. Fraud

A. Delivery and Supervision

In Questions Nos. 1, 2, and 6 the jury made findings

as to whether RCA made certain fraudulent misrepresen-

8. See infra our discussion as to the measure of damages for

repudiation.

Se TM

54

tations to Fredonia. The jury found in Question No. |

that the defendant warranted and represented that if it

got the contract it would deliver the equipment so as to

meet the air date of June 1, 1969. The jury found in

Question No. 2 that the defendant warranted and repre-

sented that if it got the contract it would supervise the

installation of the equipment. The jury further found in

subparts to Questions Nos. 1 and 2 that (1) the represen-

tations as to delivery date and supervision were made for

the purpose of inducing the plaintiff into a contract

[Questions 1(b) and 2(b)]; (2) the representations as to

delivery date and supervision were believed and relied

upon by Fredonia [Questions 1(c) and 2(c)]; (3) the

representations as to delivery date and supervision were

made with the intent, design, and purpose of deceiving

the plaintiff [Questions 1(d) and 2(d)]; and (4) the

representations as to delivery date and supervision were

a proximate cause of Fredonia’s damages [Questions 1(e)

and 2(e)].

The jury found in Question No. 6(a) that the plaintiff

relied on the defendant’s agents’ statements as to delivery

date. The jury further found in Question No. 6(b) that

the plaintiff relied on the defendant’s agents’ statements

as to the supervision that the defendant would furnish.

However, in Question No. 6(c) the jury was asked

whether the plaintiff's reliance on the defendant’s agents’

statements as to date of delivery and supervision of the

installation was justified. The jury answered that the reli-

ance “was not justified”.

After the jury returned its answers to the questions on

liability, the District Court realized that there was a

eee

55

possible inconsistency® to the jury’s answer in No. 6(c)

{where the jury found reliance was not justified] with

the jury’s answers in Nos. l(c), 2(c), 6(a), and 6(b)

{where the jury found Fredonia relied on RCA’s state-

ments].

The District Court in its order denying RCA’s post-

_trial motions held it not to be required that the reliance

induced by the alleged fraudulent conduct must be reason-

able. The District Court, citing no cases, stated the law

to be:

[iJf an actor induces another by fraudulent mis-

representations to rely on a false promise, and a

detriment thereby is suffered by that other, the actor

is guilty of fraud although the other’s reliance on

the promise was unreasonable.

RCA contends that if the reliance was not justified as

to these two misrepresentations, then there can be no

recovery in damages stemming from these two misrepre-

sentations. RCA states that Texas cases require that for

fraud to attach the reliance must be reasonable.

This Court said in Edwards v. Allied Chemical, 5 Cir.,

1969, 414 F.2d 60 that:

Texas allows recovery for fraud only where the

defrauded party ‘had a right to rely’ on the misrepre-

9. The District Court contemplated resubmitting these questions

to the jury. After a discussion with attorneys for both sides, the

District Court decided that the verdict for the plaintiff was supported

by the jury’s findings in other questions where the jury found that

the defendant breached or repudiated the contract. Attorneys for

both parties agreed resubmission was not necessary. Under Rule

49(a) resubmission is not allowed. Rule 49(b), however, does pro-

vide for resubmission. See Griffin v. Matherne, supra at 917 n. 6.

56

sentation. Bell v. Henson, Ct. of Civil Appeals,

1934, 74 S.W.2d 455 (err. dism’d).

Id. at 64.

[11] We must agree with RCA that the District Court

erred and that the reliance must be justified. Any dam-

ages stemming from RCA’s fraudulent misrepresentations

as to date of delivery and installation of the equipment

cannot lie. Therefore, we need not consider other reasons

RCA alleged for overturning the jury’s findings in Ques-

tions Nos. 1 and 2.

B. Merchantability of the Equipment .

[12] In Question No. 3(a) the jury found that the

defendant represented that it would deliver in the future

goods suitable to be sold in the market and suitable for

the use which they are intended. The jury further found

in succeeding subparts to Question No. 3 that such repre-

sentation was untrue and made for the purpose of in-

ducing the plaintiff to enter into the contract [3(b)], such

representation was relied upon by the plaintiff [3(c)],

and such representation was a proximate cause of plain-

tiffs damages [3(d)]. Unlike in Questions Nos. 1 and 2

the jury was not asked to find in Question No. 3 whether

such representation as to the suitability of the goods was

made with the intent, design, and purpose of deceiving

the plaintiff.

RCA claims that as a matter of Texas law, the jury

cannot find fraud unless it finds the defendant had the

intent and design to defraud the plaintiff.

[13] This is correct, Hazle v. McDonald, 449 S.W.2d

343, 345 (Tex. Civ. App. 1969) and Dobbs v. Camco,

57

Inc., 445 S.W.2d 565, 570 ref. n.r.e. (Tex. Civ. App.

1969). When the fraud involves future performance as

was involved in Question No. 3 regarding the future

delivery of suitable equipment, then there must be at the

time the misrepresentation is made an intent not to

perform the promised act. Medina v. Sherrod, 391 S.W.2d

66 (Tex. Civ. App. 1965). Therefore, the District Court

“erroneously omitted a question as to whether RCA had

an intent to deceive at the time it represented it would

deliver suitable equipment.

However, Fredonia is correct in asserting that, under

Rule 49(a), Fed. R. Civ. P., as to any omitted question,

it is deemed that the court made a finding on the issue

omitted in accordance with the judgment on the special

verdict. L’Urbaine Et La Seine v. Rodriquez, 5 Cir.,

1959, 268 F.2d 1, 4 and John R. Lewis, Inc. v. Newman,

5 Cir., 1971, 446 F.2d 800, 805. Since RCA made no

objection at the trial to the omitted question, RCA’s

objection on appeal comes too late. 7d. and authorities

cited therein.

C. Misrepresentation as to What Constituted the Contract

[14] In Question No. 4 the jury found that the de-

fendant represented that the plaintiff's delivery of the

February 6, 1969, acceptance letter together with its

check for $25,000 would constitute an acceptance of the

plaintiffs proposal of January 15, 1969, so as to con-

stitute a valid binding contract between the parties. RCA

raises for the first time on appeal numerous obiections to

this question. RCA’s failure to object at trial is waiver

of the right to protest on appeal. Safeway Stores v. Dial,

5 Cir., 1963, 311 F.2d 595, 600 reh. den. 314 F.2d 33;

58

Simmons v. Union Terminal Company, 5 Cir., 1961, 290

F.2d 453, 454; and Clegg v. Hardware Mutual Casualty

Co., 5 Cir., 1959, 264 F.2d 152, 158.*°

D. Error in the Instructions as to Misrepresentation

[15] RCA also claims, as it did at trial, that th:

District Court erroneously allowed the jury to assess

damages for the misrepresentations as to which the jury

found that reliance was not justified. RCA contends that

this occurred when the District Court instructed the jury

as to damages as follows:

In assessing the actual damages, if any, sustained

by Fredonia Broadcasting Corporation, Incorporated,

you may consider all such damages as were proxi-

mately caused by the conduct you have already found

on the part of the Defendant, RCA... .

The Court before it made the statement about which

RCA complains instructed the jury as follows:

Fredonia Broadcasting Corporation, Incorporated,

must show a causal connection between the breach

and repudiation of the contract and the breach of

the warranty of merchantability and the alleged

damages. Thus, you should award to the Plaintiif

such damages, if any, as you find from a preponder-

ance of the evidence or the direct, natural and proxi-

mate result of the breach and repudiation of the

contract and breach of warranty of merchantability

and that were within the contemplation of the parties

at the time of the making of the contract.

10. This same waiver rule applies under Rule 49(b). See the

following cases: Nimnicht v. Evans, 5 Cir., 1973, 477 F.2d 133

(1973) and Wyoming Construction Company v. Western Casualty

& Surety Company, 10 Cir., 1960, 275 F.2d 97, cert. den. 362 U‘S.

976, 80 S.Ct. 1061, 4 L.Ed.2d 1011.

59

By this instruction, the Court limited the findings of

damages to three specific types of conduct on the part

of RCA. The court’s allusion to “all such conduct as

you already have found” would refer to these three types

of conduct mentioned previously and would not allow

the jury to consider other conduct which it had already

found.

[16] The Court's instruction did not permit the jury

to consider or award damages for any type of fraud

committed by RCA.”’ The charge to the jury must be

taken as a whole and not considered in fragments, Garrett

v. Campbell, 5 Cir., 1966, 360 F.2d 382, 386, 387 and

cases cited therein, and, therefore, we find no error in

the charge.

However, since the jury erroneously awarded damages

for breach of contract, as discussed supra, the jury’s

determination of the amount of damages cannot stand.

Damages are discussed infra.

E. Strict Liability

[17] Fredonia claims that the jury’s answers to Ques-

tions Nos. 3(a), 17(a), and 17(b) made RCA liable

under strict liability.

11. It should be noted that the District Court in a colloquy with

RCA’s counsel about the matter stated that “he didn’t submit to

the jury anything relating to the alleged fraudulent misrepresenta-

tion”. It should also be noted that the jury’s finding of fraudulent

warranty of the equipment in Question No. 3 was not effected by

the jury’s finding in Question No. 6(c) that the reliance was not

justified. Question No. 6(c) covered only RCA’s fraudulent repre-

sentation as to date of delivery and degree of supervision. In addi-

tion, the District Court in its instruction on damages quoted previ-

ously did not instruct the jury that damages could be awarded for

the fraudulent warranty.

60

Section 402A(1) of the Restatement of Torts 2d titled

Special Liability of Seller of Product for Physical Harm

to User or Consumer states:

One who sells any product in a defective condi-

tion unreasonably dangerous to the user or consumer

or to his property is subject to liability for physical

harm thereby caused to the ultimate user or con-

sumer, or his property.

No physical harm was done to Fredonia’s property

as a result of the defective condition of any product RCA

sold Fredonia. Fredonia suffered only economic loss, and

the doctrine of strict liability is not applicable to such

losses. Thermal Supply of Texas, Inc. v. Asel, 468 S.W.2d

927, 929 (Tex.Civ.App. 1971) and Eli Lilly and Com-

pany v. Casey, 472 S.W.2d 598, 599 (Tex.Civ.App.

1971).

IV. Damages

A. Warranty

[18] RCA argues that the damages for breach of

warranty should be limited by the language of the Jan-

uary 15, 1969, proposal which states that “the fulfillment

of RCA’s obligation in respect [to] the equipment fur-

nished” shall be correction of “defects by repair or re-

placement at RCA’s factory”. RCA contends that U.C.C.

§ 2-719, V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.719, expressly sanctions

the contractual limitation of a seller’s liability to the re- .

pair or replacement of nonconforming goods. RCA states

further that U.C.C. § 2-719, V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.719,

allows this contractual limitation to be the buyer’s sole

remedy.

a |

ESS BSN WEE PPE IE II a ETI Ege

61

Fredonia argues in response that the contractual limita-

tion cannot apply since (1) fraud “vitiated” the contract

and (2) U.C.C. § 2-719, V.T.C.A. Bus. & C § 2.719, is

inapplicable because of RCA’s fraud in inducing the con-

tract. Furthermore, Fredonia states that U.C.C. § 2-719,

V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.719, does not allow unconscion-

able and unreasonable limiting provisions.

; The language of the provision in the January 15, 1969,

proposal limiting RCA’s liability for breach of warranty

is as follows:

* * * RCA agrees to make good f.o.b. its fac-

tory, all defective parts which are returned to RCA’s

factory, transportation prepaid, provided that our

examination discloses that the defects are due to de-

fective workmanship or material and that the equip-

ment has not been misused, altered, repaired or im-

properly installed. Correction of such defects by re-

pair or replacement at RCA’s factory and the ship-

ment of the repaired or replacement parts to you

f.o.b. RCA’s factory, shall constitute the fulfillment

of all RCA’s obligations in respect of the equipment

furnished hereunder. You agree that except for such

repair and replacement, RCA shall in no event be

liable for damages of any kind connected with the

use of the equipment or its failure to function

properly.

Section 2-719, V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.719, provides as

follows:

(a) Subject to the provisions of Subsections (b)

and (c) of this section and of the preceding section

on liquidation and limitation of damages,

(1) the agreement may provide for remedies in

addition to or in substitution for those provided

Se

es

62

in this chapter and may limit or alter the measure

of damages recoverable under this chapter, as by

limiting the buyer’s remedies to return of the

goods and repayment of the price or to repair

and replacement of non-conforming goods or

parts; and

(2) resort to a remedy as provided is optional un-

less the remedy is expressly agreed to be exclusive,

in which case it is the sole remedy.

(b), Where circumstances cause an exclusive or

limited remedy to fail of its essential purpose, remedy

may be had as provided in this title.

(c) Consequential damages may be limited or

excluded unless the limitation or exclusion is uncon-

scionable. Limitation of consequential damages for

injury to the person in the case of consumer goods

is prima facie unconscionable but limitation of dam-

ages where the loss is commercial is not.

Section 2-719(a)(1), V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2-719(a)

(1), clearly provides that the seller may limit the buyer’s

remedy to “repair and replacement of non-conforming

goods or parts”. This same section -also states that this

remedy may be in “substitution for those [remedies] pro-

vided in this chapter”. (emphasis added.)

Section 2-719(a)(2), V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.719(a)

(2), provides that a remedy provided is optional unless

it is “expressly agreed to be exclusive”. The language of

limitation in RCA’s January 15, 1969 proposal does not

state explicitly that the remedy provided for is to be

the exclusive remedy. However, it is clear that the con-

tractual limitation is intended to be exclusive because

the language of the contractual limitation states that repair

and replacement “shall constitute the fulfillment of all

ote oe

Oi Riri etre tn cae ee. ela A

63

RCA’s obligations in respect of the equipment furnished”.

{Emphasis added.}] Cf. Dow Corning Corporation v.

Capital Aviation, Inc., 7 Cir., 1969, 411 F.2d 622, 626.

Section 2-719(a)(1), V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.719(a)

(1), allows a seller to limit the buyer’s warranty to re-

pair and replacement and thus limit liability. Southwest

Forest Indus., Inc. v. Westinghouse Elec. Corp., 9 Cir.,

1970, 422 F.2d 1013, 1020 and Lankford v. Rogers Ford

Sales, 478 S.W.2d 248, 251 (Tex.Civ.App. 1972). See

also Annot. 17 A.L.R.3d 1010, 1122 and cases cited

therein.

[19] Fredonia also claims that the contractual limita-

tion cannot apply because as stated in U.C.C. § 2-719(a)

(2), V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. §2.719(a)(2), the limited

remedy fails of its essential purpose. We do not agree,

for the facts clearly show that RCA obeyed the limitation

by repairing and replacing items which Fredonia claims

were defective. See Lankford v. Rogers Ford Sales, supra

at 251; County Asphalt, Inc. v. Lewis Welding & Engi-

neering Corp., 323 F.Supp. 1300, 1309 (S.D.N.Y. 1970),

affirmed 2 Cir., 1971, 444 F.2d 372; Jones & McKnight

Corp. v. Birdsboro Corp., 320 F.Supp. 39, 42 (N.D.

Ill., E.D. 1970), and Comment 1 to U.C.C, § 2-719,

V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.719.

Fredonia’s contention that the contract limitation can-

not apply because the contract was induced by fraud

has no merit sense, as we have already discussed, when

Fredonia decided to affirm the contract and sue for its

breach, it must be bound by the contract terms.

Fredonia’s claim that the contract limitation is un-

conscionable raises a question that the court below did

not decide.

< Pa |

64

The jury’s determination in (1) Question 4 as to what

the defendant represented the contract to be or (2) in

Question 3 as to what the defendant represented the

quality of the goods to be has no bearing on whether

the contract limitation was unconscionable.

U.C.C. § 2-302, V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.302, covers

unconscionability and provides as follows:

(a) If the court as a matter of law finds the

contract or any clause of the contract to have been

unconscionable at the time it was made the court

may refuse to enforce the contract, or it may en-

force the remainder of the contract without the un-

conscionable clause, or it may so limit the application

of any unconscionable clause as to avoid any un-

conscionable result.

(b) When it is claimed or appears to the court

that the contract or any clause thereof may be un-

conscionable the parties shall be afforded a reason-

able opportunity to present evidence as to its com-

mercial setting, purpose and effect to aid the court

in making the determination.

Comment 1 to Section 2-302, V.T.C.A. Bus. & C.

§ 2.302 states:

This section is intended to allow the court to

pass directly on the unconscionability of the contract

or particular clause therein and to make a conclu-

sion of law as to its unconscionability. The basic test

is whether, in the light of the general commercial

background, and the commercial needs of the par-

ticular trade or case, the clauses involved are so

one-sided as to be unconscionable under the cir-

cumstances existing at the time of the making of

the contract.

STL, LET EN LA,

65

[20] U.C.C. § 2-302, V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.302, re-

quires that the District Court make a determination

whether the limitation was unconscionable. On remand’?

the District Court should consider the commercial setting

in which the contract was formed. See County Asphalt,

Inc. v. Lewis Welding & Engineering Corp., supra 323

F.Supp. at 1308, and Comment 1 to U.C.C. § 2-302,

V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.302.

B. Consequential Damages

[21] Section 2-719(c), V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.719

(c), provides as follows:

Consequential damages may be limited or ex-

cluded unless the limitation or exclusion is uncon-

scionable. Limitation of consequential damages for

injury to the person in the case of consumer goods

is prima facie unconscionable but limitation of dam-

ages where the loss is commercial is not.

The language of the January 15, 1969 proposal limited

RCA’s liability for consequential damages by the follow-

ing language:

Neither RCA, nor you [Fredonia] shall be liable

for general, special, indirect, or consequential dam-

ages in connection with any obligations created

by the agreement or arising out of any acts per-

formed in relation to such obligations. Both RCA

and you acknowledge that such lack of liability,

without limiting the generality of the foregoing,

extends to loss of actual or anticipated revenue, loss

12. The provision in RCA’s contract which limits its damages

for breach of warranty makes it unnecessary for us to decide what

would be the correct measure of damages for breach of warranty

if the contract limitation did not apply.

=; owen - we -,

ee

CE ee Sa ae

OR ti eel

66

of air time, and damages to the business reputations

of either party to this agreement.

Such limitations are valid and enforceable. County As-

phalt, Inc. v. Lewis Welding & Engineering Corp., 323

F. Supp. 1300, 1308 (S.D.N.Y. 1970) affirmed 2 Cir.,

1971, 444 F.2d 372. Fredonia again contends that such

limitation was unconscionable.

The District Court below did not make such a finding

as required by U.C.C. § 2-302, V.T.C.A. Bus. & C.

§ 2.302, and therefore, we cannot decide the issue.

C. Repudiation

[22] RCA objected to the District Court’s instruction

on the measure of damages for repudiation. The District

Court’s instruction was as follows:

You are instructed that in assessing the actual

damages, if any, sustained by Fredonia Broadcasting

Corporation, Incorporated, you may consider. . .

[the] damages . . . [for repudiation to be] the loss

of value of Fredonia’s television station business,

taking into account the loss of value between the

value of the business and its future potential before

the station ceased operation and the value of the

business after it ceased operation, lost its CBS affilia-

tion and became insolvent.

You may also consider the replacement cost of

items of defective equipment furnished by RCA t

Fredonia. ,

RCA contends that the proper measure of damages for

repudiation is codified in U.C.C. § 2-713, V.T.C.A. Bus.

& C. §2.713, which provides as follows:

Biers init Sanat es

67

(a) Subject to the provisions of this chapter with

respect to proof of market price (Section 2.723),

the measure of damages for nondelivery or repudia-

tion by the seller is the difference between the market

price at the time when the buyer learned of the

breach and the contract price together with any in-

cidental and consequential damages provided in this

chapter (Section 2.715), but less expenses saved in

consequence of the seller’s breach.

(b) Market price is to be determined as of the

place for tender or, in cases of rejection after arrival

or revocation of acceptance, as of the place of arrival.

[23] Clearly, the District Court’s instruction on mea-

sure of damages for repudiation in light of U.C.C. § 2-713

(a), V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.713(a), was not correct.

No Texas Court has yet interpreted U.C.C. § 2-713,

V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.713, but that section is similar

to pre-Code Texas law which states that “the measure

of damages for undelivered goods . . . is the difference

in the contract price and the market price at the time

and place of the breach”. Henderson v. Otto Goedecke,

Inc., 430 S.W.2d 120, 123 (Tex. Civ. App. 1968); Otto

Goedecke, Inc. v. Henderson, 388 S.W.2d 728, 730

(Tex. Civ. App. 1965); Idalou Cooperative Cotton Gin

v. Gue, 317 S.W.2d 240, 247 (Tex. Civ. App. 1958);

Pace Corporation v. Jackson, 155 Tex. 179, 284 S.W.2d

340, 347 (1955); and Vise v. Foster, 247 S.W.2d 274,

281 (Tex. Civ. App. 1952). The only difference between

U.C.C, § 2-713(a), V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.713(a), and

pre-Code Texas law is that U.C.C. § 2-713(a), V.T.C.A.

Bus. & C. § 2.713(a), specifies that the market price

is the price at the time when the buyer learned of the

breach.**

13. U.C.C. § 2-713(b), V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.713(b ifie

that market price is to be determined as of the place od ‘ead. ‘

LIers -

— <>. + Sle aaa

68

RCA also contends that it was error for the trial judge

to permit damages for both repudiation of the contract

and breach of warranty of merchantability of the contract

since such theories of liability are mutually exclusive.

RCA states that these two theories of relief are incon-

sistent because “repudiation is a failure to make perform-

ance not yet due ander a contract” which “breach of

warranty of merchantability is necessarily a claim of

inadequate performance under a contract”.

[24] Fredonia argues in opposition that it can try

its case on several distinct theories and is not required

to elect one remedy to the exclusion of others. Fredonia

further states that the measure of actual damages does

not differ under the different liability theories it urges."*

[25] Fredonia is correct in stating that it can plead

under the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure as many

theories of relief it has regardless of their consistency.

Pulliam v. Gulf Lumber Co., 5 Cir., 1963, 312 F.2d

505, 507 and Breeding v. Massey, 8 Cir., 1967, 378

F.2d 171, 178. However, a judgment can not be sup-

ported by inconsistent theories if one theory precludes

the other or is mutually exclusive of the other. Cf. Telex

Corporation v. Balch, 8 Cir., 1967, 382 F.2d 211, 213.

_ Fredonia is also incorrect that the measure of damages for

aa of warranty and repudiation is the same. U.C.C. § 2-714(b),

V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.714(b), states that the measure of damages

for breach of warranty is as follows:

(b) The measure of damages for breach of warranty is the

difference at the time and place of acceptance between the

value of the goods accepted and the value they would have

had if they had been as warranted, unless special circumstances

show proximate damages of a different amount.

This measure of damages is obviously not the same as the measure

of damages for repudiation provided for in U.C.C. § 2-713(a),

V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.713(a), laid out in the text supra.

—_—

an 6 ewe een

Bbkins Ohne oe

69

[26] Under Texas law prior to the advent of the

Uniform Commercial Code, a party faced with anticipa-

tory repudiation could not claim damages for the an-

ticipatory breach and at the same time treat the contract

as in force. Lumbermens Mutual Casualty Company v.

Klotz, 5 Cir., 1958, 251 F.2d 499, 506 (citing Texas

cases). See also Reliance Cooperage Corp. v. Treat, 8

Cir., 1952, 195 F.2d 977, 981-982.

The Uniform Commercial Code Sections 2-610, V.T.

C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.610; 2-711, V.T.C.A. Bus. & C.

§ 2.711; and 2-106(d), V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.106(d)

require that prior Texas case law give way. No Texas case

nor any other state court in this Circuit has faced this

exact problem. Therefore, we look to the provisions of

the Uniform Commercial Code for an interpretation, as

would a Texas state court.

[27, 28] U.C.C. § 2-610, V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.610,

allows the aggrieved party to sue for breach and retain

any remedy for breach of the whole contract. U.C.C.

§ 2-610, V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.610, provides as follows:

When either party repudiates the contract with

respect to a performance not yet due the loss of

which will substantially impair the value of the

contract to the other, the aggrieved party may

(1) for a commercially reasonable time await per-

formance by the repudiating party; or

(2) resort to any remedy for breach (Section 2.703

or Section 2.711), even though he has notified

the repudiating party that he would await the

latter’s performance and has urged retraction;

and

yw , ~anin a ~

70

(3) in either case suspend his own performance or

proceed in accordance with the provisions of

this chapter on the seller’s right to identify

goods to the contract notwithstanding breach

or to salvage unfinished goods (Section 2.704).

The alternative remedies of U.C.C. § 2-610, V.T.C.A.

Bus. & C. § 2.610, are stated in the disjunctive. Under

U.C.C. § 2-610(1), V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.610(1) the

aggrieved party can refuse to accede to an anticipatory

repudiation and can choose not to sue for the anticipatory

repudiation. When the aggrieved party follows this course,

the contract remains in existence. Under U.C.C. § 2-610

(2), V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.610(2), the aggrieved party

can also treat the anticipatory repudiation as a breach

and resort to his remedies under U.C.C. § 2-711, V.T.

C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.711, U.C.C. § 2-711(a), V.T.C.A.

Bus. & C. § 2.711(a), provides as follows:

(a) Where the seller fails to make delivery or

repudiates or the buyer rightfully rejects or justifi-

ably revokes acceptance then with respect to any

goods involved, and with respect to the whole if the

breach goes to the whole contract (Section 2.612),

the buyer may cancel and whether or not he has done

so may in addition to recovering so much of the

price as has been paid

(1) “cover” and have damages under the next sec-

tion as to all the goods affected whether or not

they have been identified to the contract; or

(2) recover damages for non-delivery as provided

in this chapter (Section 2.713).

[Emphasis added]

~— ao

6S eperenr saree eee rea cates 2b ee ees

ee ee eee ee eS

71

The key word in U.C.C. § 2-711(a), V.T.C.A. Bus.

& C. § 2.711(a), is “cancel”’® which is defined in U.C.C.

§ 2-106(d), V.T.C.A. Bus. & C. § 2.106(d), as follows:

(d) “Cancellation” occurs when either party puts

an end to the contract for breach by the other and

its effect is the same as that of “termination” except

that the cancelling party also retains any remedy

oe breach of the whole contract or any unperformed

ance.

Thus, the aggrieved party when faced with an anticipa-

tory repudiation can seek his remedies for breach as

provided in U.C.C. § 2-711(a) and (b), V.T.C.A. Bus.

& C. §2.711(a) and (b), and can also maintain an

action for breach of the contract such as a suit for a

breach of warranty. See 67 Am. Jur. 2d, Sales § 516.

Therefore, Fredonia can seek under the Uniform Com-

mercial Code damages for the anticipatory repudiation

and for breach of warranty. However, as we have dis-

cussed previously, Fredonia’s claim for damages for

breach of warranty is negated by the terms of the con-

tract that it elected to affirm.

D. Fraudulent Representation

RCA contends that the District Court erroneously in-

structed the jury as to the measure of damages for fraud.

15. The definition of “cancellation” should be contrasted with

the definition of “termination” in 2-106(c), V.T.C.A. Bus. & C.

§ 2.106(c) which provides as follows:

“Termination” occurs when -ither party pursuant to a power

created by agreement or law puts an end to the contract other-

wise than for its breach. On “termination” all obligations which

are still executory on both sides are discharged but any right

based on prior breach or performance survives.

72

Specifically, RCA claims that the District Court’s in-

struction on damages [which is set out in toto in Part

III D of this opinion supra] was an instruction as to the

measure of damages for fraud.

The District Court’s instruction on damages as we

have previously said in Part III D does not instruct the

jury to consider damages for fraud. The instruction only

pertains to the three types of conduct that are specifically

enumerated. See our discussion in Part III D. Therefore,

there cannot be an erroneous instruction as to damages

on fraud.**

E. Lost Profits

The District Court initially instructed the jury as to

future or lost profits as follows:

[Y]Jou may consider all such damages as were

proximately caused by the conduct you have already

found on the part of the Defendant, RCA, including

the loss of value of Fredonia’s television station

business, taking into account the loss of value be-

tween the value of the business and its future po-

tential before the station ceased operation and the

value of the business after it ceased operation, lost

its CBS affiliation and became insolvent.

You may also consider the replacement costs of

items of defective equipment furnished by RCA to

Fredonia. [Emphasis added]

RCA objected to the charge of the District Court. RCA’

stated that under Texas law the jury under the facts of

16. If fraud is alleged at the new trial when the case is remanded,

the District Court must consider, as establishing the measure of

damages for fraud, the effect of U.C.C. § 2-721, V.T.C.A. Bus. &

C. § 2.721, and the other sections of the code to which it refers.

Pe Re Pa TE LPs. RE as es

73

this case could not award future profits to a new and

unestablished business. The District Court agreed to

correct its charge and or give an instruction on future

profits. The District Court’s corrected instruction was

as follows:

You are instructed that one of the elements of

damage as it relates to alleged future potential loss

—as it relates to the alleged future potential of

Plaintiff's television station, is a loss of profits that

the Plaintiff allegedly anticipated from the contract

in question.

In this connection are you instructed as to this

element the Plaintiff is entitled to recover only net

profits. The Plaintiff is not entitled to his expected

gross profits.

In determining the net profits which Plaintiff rea-

sonably anticipated from the performance of the con-

tract in question, you will determine that amount of

money that the Plaintiff reasonably would have made

over and above the expense that would have been

incurred. in the production of that income. As to

such anticipated future profits, which Plaintiff con-

tends that it could reasonably have been expected

to make in the ordinary course of business, but for

the breach and repudiation of the contract and the

breach of warranty, the Plaintiff has the burden of

proving that he actually lost business as a result of

the breach and repudiation of the contract and

breach of warranty, and that this loss of business

resulted in a loss of net profits.

RCA objected again to the new charge on the basis

that there was no evidence in the record to support a

finding of lost profits.

74

[29] Under Texas law future profits are allowed in

a contract action as part of the damages to an established

business. Atomic Fuel Extraction Corporation v. Slick’s

Estate, 386 S.W.2d 180, 188 (Tex. Civ. App. 1964),

writ ref'd n.r.e. 403 S.W.2d 784 (Tex. 1966). When

the business is new and unestablished, future profits have

been consistently denied under Texas law. Jd. at 189.

It was made very clear in Atomic Fuel Extraction Cor-

poration v. Slick’s Estate, supra, that in those cases where

future profits were allowed to be recovered, “there was

some data and history of profits from an established

business”. 7d. at 188 (citing Texas cases). In the more

recent Texas case of Southwest Bank & T. Co. v. Execu-

tive Sportsman Ass’n, 477 S.W.2d 920 (Tex. Civ. App.

1972), the Court reaffirmed this rule and said:

[T]he case . . . is governed by the well-established

rule that prospective profits from a new enterprise

which has no history of profits are too remote and

speculative to be included in compensatory damages

(citing Texas cases).

Id. at 929.

[30] Fredonia contends that future profits are per-

mitted to be awarded to new enterprises under our deci-

sion in Mechanical Wholesale, Inc. v. Universal-Rundle

Corp., 5 Cir., 1970, 432 F.2d 228. In that decision we

made it very clear that the factor that the enterprise was

new was not controlling, but rather what was conclusive

was the record of profits of the enterprise. We said in

Mechanical Wholesale, Inc. v. Universal-Rundle Corp.,

supra, as follows:

ee ee

22ST Oe

Sz

SH Be Si PRS.

y

2

v

)

*

{

:

a]

‘

.

75

{T]he mere fact that Mechanical was a new

business does not automatically exclude its claim

for future lost profits. Pace Corp. v. Jackson, supra

{155 Tex. 179, 284 S.W.2d 340]. Though new,

Mechanical had a rapidly growing business. There

was evidence from which the jury could have con-

cluded that but for the breach Mechanical’s com-

mercial business would have grown at the same rate

its other sales grew. Mechanical was entitled to

recover profits which would have accrued from any

normal increase in business if that increase failed to

occur as a result of Rundle’s breach.

Fredonia’s financial records show clearly that in no

month during the time that the station was on the air

did it make a profit. Fredonia was also operating in an

unfavorable business climate. Its station, which was a

UHF station, was in competition in the same town with

a VHF station. Fredonia’s president, Cudlipp, admitted

that a UHF station was not as favorable as a VHF station

since not all television sets are equipped to receive UHF

channels. Therefore, the District Court erred in submit-

ting lost prospective profits as an element of Fredonia’s

damages.

F. Exemplary Damages

[31] RCA is correct in stating that the District Court

erred in awarding Fredonia exemplary damages. We

stated previously in Part III D that the District Court’s

instruction did not permit the jury to consider or award

damages for fraud. Therefore, the District Court was

permitting the jury to award exemplary damages for

Fredonia’s claims based on breach of contract, breach

of warranty, or repudiation. Texas law is clear that ex-

emplary damages cannot be awarded for a contract action.

76

Success Motivation Institute, Inc. v. Jamieson Film Co.,

473 S.W.2d 275, 282 (Tex. Civ. App. 1971); Graham

v. Turner, 472 S.W.2d 831, 839 (Tex. Civ. App. 1971);

Export Ins. Co. v. Herrera, 426 S.W.2d 895, 900, ref.

n.r.e. (Tex. Civ. App. 1966); and McDonough v. Zamora,

338 S.W.2d 507, 513 (Tex. Civ. App. 1960).

G. Absence of Evidence of Damages”

RCA contends that the damages found by the jury

to have proximately resulted from RCA’s breach of con-

tract, breach of warranty, and repudiation were not sup-

ported by evidence of monetary loss.

We agree that Fredonia did not prove its damages to

the required reasonable certainty.

[32, 33] Of course, Fredonia’s recovery of damages

may not be defeated because it failed to prove its damages

with exactness. Southwest Battery Corp. v. Owen, 131

Tex. 423, 115 S.W.2d 1097, 1099 (Tex. S. Ct. 1938).

Damages in a contract action must be based on evidence

that affords a sufficient basis for estimating their amount

in money with reasonable certainty. Schoenberg v. For-

rest, 253 S.W.2d 331, 334 (Tex. Civ. App. 1952) and

authorities cited therein. While it is true that a party who

breaches a contract cannot escape liability because it is

impossible to state or prove a perfect measure of damages,

Southwest Battery Corp. v. Owen, supra 115 S.W.2d at

1099, it is also true that a defendant in a contract action

cannot be assessed with damages that are based on mere

17. We are not discussing in this section of the opinion the

proper measure of damages to be used, but are discussing only the

sufficiency of the evidence. In other parts of this opinion we have

discussed where appropriate the measure of damages for a particular

cause of action that was alleged.

77

opinion and do not rise to the level of a reasonable. cer-

tainty. Schoenberg v. Forrest, supra 253 S.W.2d at 336.

[34] Clearly, Fredonia should have presented evidence

of its damages that would have been more convincing.

This is not a case of proven damages uncertain in amount,

but rather damages that were not proved at all to a

reasonable certainty. Jordan v. Cartwright, 347 S.W.2d

799, 801 (Tex. Civ. App. 1961). Cf. Household Goods

Carriers’ Bureau v. Terrell, 5 Cir., 1969, 417 F.2d 47, 53.

RCA claims further that it was improper for the jury

to base its award of damages on the opinion of Fre-

donia’s expert witness, Norman Fischer, as to the value

of the enterprise at various points in time.

[35] In Texas, as contrasted to other jurisdictions,

witnesses are allowed to give their opinion as to the

value of property before and after it is injured. South-

western Bell Telephone Company v. Willie, 329 S.W.2d

466, 467 (Tex. Civ. App. 1959) and Houston & T.C.R.

Co. v. Ellis, 111 Tex. 15, 224 S.W. 471 (1920). The

distinction is not with the method Fredonia used in prov-

ing damages but rather with the method’s inexactness in

the present case.

V. The Counterclaim

RCA counterclaimed for the amount due on the broad-

cast equipment it delivered. The counterclaim was based

on the conditional sales agreement that Fredonia signed.

The counterclaim was denied on the basis of the jury's

answer to Question No. 18 where the jury found that

Fredonia signed involuntarily because of coercion by

RCA the condirional sales agreement and the accompany-

ing promissory notes.

78

On appeal RCA contends that the District Court erred

in not granting RCA’s motion for a directed verdict on

this issue because “there was no conflict in substantial

evidence which would create a jury question on the issue

of coercion”.

Fredonia claims that this court cannot consider on ap-

peal the sufficiency of the evidence because RCA did not

object to the instruction or Question No. 18 concerning

coercion. Fredonia further argues that the evidence was

sufficient to support the jury’s finding of coercion.

[36] Fredonia’s argument misses the point. RCA’s

objection to Question No. 18 does not go to the form

of Question No. 18 or the submission of Question No. 18

to the jury, but rather RCA’s objection is to the suffici-

ency of the evidence supporting the jury’s finding in

Question No. 18. Cf. Clegg v. Hardware Mutual Cas-

ualty Co., 5 Cir., 1959, 264 F.2d 152, 158 and Merrill

v. Beaute Vues Corporation, 10 Cir., 1956, 235 F.2d

893, 897. RCA preserved its objection to the sufficiency

of the evidence as to coercion by renewing its motion for

a directed verdict at the close of all the evidence and by

asking for a judgment notwithstanding the verdict after

entry of the judgment. Rule 50(b), Fed. R. Civ. P. See

Hernandez v. Employers Mut. Liab. Ins. Co., 5 Cir.,

1965, 346 F.2d 154, 155, Travelers Ins. Co. v. Stanley,

5 Cir., 1958, 252 F.2d 115, and 5A Moore’s Federal

Practice § 50.05[1].

[37] The evidence did not support a finding of coer-

cion. It clearly shows the following: (1) McFarland ad-

mitted that he knew at the time he prepared the accept-

ance letter of February 6, 1969, that RCA would re-

quire the signing of a conditional sales agreement, (2)

-

De ih a a hea A oan a las he RT a elites

eS eee

ee ee

PIL D B teat On a a,

79

McFarland further testified that the February 6, 1969,

acceptance letter contemplated the signing of a condi-

tional sales agreement, (3) the January 15, 1969, pro-

posal states that if the buyer agrees to deferred payment

terms then the buyer agrees to execute RCA’s standard

form of deferred payment contract, and (4) there was

no evidence that RCA made any demands that it did not

have a legal right to make. Therefore, on this evidence

there can be no doubt that reasonable men could not have

arrived at a contrary verdict. Boeing Company v. Ship-

man, 5 Cir., 1969, 411 F.2d 365, 374.

We conclude that the District Court erred in denying

RCA’s motion for a directed verdict on the coercion

issue.

VI. Summary

By reason of the complexity of this litigation, we deem

it appropriate to summarize our holdings:

(1) The jury found that Fredonia affirmed the con-

tract. Fredonia’s breach claims are precluded by

the terms of the contract it affirmed. Damages

awarded for breach of contract may not be al-

lowed.

(2) The jury’s determination that RCA repudiated the

contract cannot stand because the District Court’s

instruction on repudiation was erroneous. The

District Court also erroneously instructed the jury

as to the measure of damages for repudiation.

Fredonia can seek damages for both repudiation

and breach of warranty. If on remand, the District

Court finds that the terms are not unconscionable,

then Fredonia’s claim for breach of warranty will

be foreclosed.

80

(3) The jury’s findings that RCA made misrepresen-

tations as to date of delivery and degree of super-

vision are negated by the jury’s finding that such

reliance was not justified. The jury’s finding as to

RCA’s misrepresentation stands. However, we

find that the jury was never instructed as to dam-

ages for fraud. Therefore, any damages that the

jury awarded do not include damages for mis-

representations. On remand, if Fredonia seeks re-

lief under a claim for fraud, it need only seek to

prove damages as to the misrepresentation as to

merchantability. Fredonia’s fraud claims stand in-

dependent of its contract actions. Fredonia cannot

seek damages under the theory of strict liability.

(4) RCA’s contract language prevents Fredonia from

seeking damages for breach of warranty. On re-

mand the District Court is directed to determine

whether this contract language was unconscion-

able. The same applies to the contract’s terms

as to consequential damages. Fredonia cannot

under Texas law seek damages for lost profits.

Fredonia, on remand, can seek exemplary dam-

ages if fraud is proven. Fredonia must prove its

damages to a reasonable certainty.

Reversed and remanded with instructions.

APPENDIX A

INTERROGATORY NO. ONE

(a) Do you find from » preponderance of the evidence

that prior to or on February 6, 1969, the defendant repre-

sented, warranted, or agreed that if it got the contract

with plaintiff, it would ship and deliver the equipment

contracted for so as to meet the target on-the-air date of

June 1, 1969?

81

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

If you have answered the foregoing Interrogatory

No. 1(a) “yes”, and only in such event, you will com-

plete your answer to the following parts of Interrogatory

No. One.

(b) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that such representation, if any, by the defendant was

untrue, and made for the purpose of inducing plaintiff to

enter into the contract in question?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

(c) Do you find from a preponderance of the evi-

dence that the plaintiff believed and relied on such repre-

sentation, if any, by the defendant prior to February 6,

1969?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

(d) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that such representation, if any. was made with the in-

tention, design, and purpose of deceiving the plaintiff and

with no intention of performing that which was promised?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

(e) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that such representation, if any, was a proximate cause

82

of plaintiff's damages, if any, as a result of the loss of its

broadcasting business?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

INTERROGATORY NO. TWO

(a) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that the defendant represented, warranted, or agreed

prior to or on February 6, 1969, that if it should get the

contract it would furnish its representatives to supervise

the installation of the equipment supplied and furnished

by it and instruct plaintiff's personnel in the operation

and adjustment thereof?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

If you have answered the foregoing Interrogatory No.

Two (a) “Yes”, and only in such event, you will com-

plete your answer to the following parts of Interrogatory

No. Two.

(b) Do you find from the preponderance of the evi-

dence that such representation by the defendant was

untrue, and made for the purpose of inducing plaintiff

to enter into the contract in question?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

(c) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that the plaintiff believed and relied upon such represen-

tation by the defendant prior to February 6, 1969?

rr

et ee ee er En ale ee ee

“

ne ht ae anne SORT. oe &

83

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

(d) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that such representation was made with the intention, de-

sign, and purpose of deceiving the plaintiff and with no

intention of performing that which was promised?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

(e) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that such representation was a proximate cause of plain-

tiffs damages, if any, as a result of the loss of its broad-

casting business?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

INTERROGATORY NO. THREE

(a) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that the defendant warranted, represented, or agreed,

prior to or on February 6, 1969, that if it should get

the contract it would furnish goods of a quality such as

are generally sold in the market and suitable for that

which they are intended, or for the particular uses to

which the goods are to be put?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

If you have answered the foregoing Interrogatory No.

Three (a) “Yes”, and only in such event, you will com-

SESS AAE I Po Pe ae 7

ie

84

plete your answer to the following parts of Interrogatory

No. Three.

(b) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that such representation by the defendant was untrue, and

made for the purpose of inducing plaintiff to enter into

the contract in question?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

(c) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that the plaintiff believed and relied upon such repre-

sentation by the defendant prior to February 6, 1969?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

(d) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that such representation was a proximate cause of plain-

tiff’s damages, if any, as a result of the loss of its broad-

casting business?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

INTERROGATORY NO. FOUR

(a) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that at the February 6, 1969, meeting between officials

of the plaintiff and the defendant that the defendant

represented that the delivery of the plaintiffs letter of

acceptance together with its check for $25,000 would

constitute an acceptance of the plaintiff's proposal of

6 dima tA A ete

85

January 15, 1969, so as to constitute a valid, binding

contract between the parties?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

If you have answered the foregoing Interrogatory No.

Four (a) “Yes”, and only in such event, you will com-

plete your answer to the following parts of Interrogatory

No. Four:

(b) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that such representation by the defendant was untrue, and

made for the purpose of inducing plaintiff to enter into

the contract in question?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

(c) Do you find from the preponderance of the evi-

dence that such representation by the defendant was

believed and relied upon by the plaintiff?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes.

(d) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that such representation was a proximate cause of plain-

tiff's damages, if any, as a result of the loss of its broad-

casting business?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

a

86

INTERROGATORY NO. FIVE

Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that plaintiff at all times after January 1, 1969, and prior

to June 1, 1969, knew, or should have reasonably known,

that it was not able to begin UHF Television broadcasting

on June 1, 1969?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: No.

INTERROGATORY NO. SIX

(a) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that plaintiff did not rely on any statements of defendant's

agents, George McClanathan or Dana Pratt, as to the

delivery and installation of RCA equipment by June 1,

1969?

Answer “It did rely” or “It did not rely”.

ANSWER: It did rely.

(b) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that plaintiff did not rely on any statements of defendant’s

agents, George McClanathan or Dana Pratt, as to the

obligation of the defendant to furnish representatives to

supervise the installation of the equipment and instruct

plaintiff's personnel in its operation and adjustment?

Answer “It did rely” or “It did not rely”.

ANSWER: It did rely.

If you have answered “It did rely” to either or both

of the preceding Interrogatories Nos. 6(a) and (b), and

only in such event, you will answer the following:

dr ht ee tee Rt

87

(c) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that such reliance was not justified?

Answer “It was justified” or “It was not justified”.

ANSWER: It was not justified.

\ INTERROGATORY NO. SEVEN

Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that the parties intended that the defendant’s proposal of

January 15, 1969, coupled with the plaintiff's letter of

acceptance of this proposal, dated February 6, 1969, and

oral representations, if any, made to the plaintiff by the

defendant, constituted the contract between the parties?

Answer “It did” or “It did not”.

ANSWER: It did.

INTERROGATORY NO. EIGHT

Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that the Conditional Sales Agreement signed by the plain-

tiff on April 20, 1969, constituted the contract between

the parties?

Answer “It did” or “It did not”.

ANSWER: It did not.

If you have answered Interrogatory No. Seven “It did”,

and Interrogatory No. Eight, “It did not”, you will proceed

to answer the following Interrogatories. Otherwise, it

will not be necessary that they be answered by you.

88

INTERROGATORY NO. NINE

Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that the defendant breached the contract in any one or

all of the following particulars:

(a) By deliberately withholding shipment to the plain-

tiff of the items of equipment contracted for more than

75 days after February 6, 1969, and thereafter until plain-

tiff completed documents submitted to it by the defendant?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

(b) By delivering such equipment contracted for on

a delayed, erratic, and incomplete basis?

ANSWER: Yes

(c) By delivering equipment that was not of a

quality such as is generally sold in the market and suit-

able for that which it is intended or for the particular

uses to which the goods were to be put?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

(d) By withholding personnel necessary to supervise

the installation of equipment until after June 1, 1969,

and in failing to maintain such supervisory personnel on

the site, except on an intermittent and irregular basis?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

(e) By failing, after notice, if any, to correct or reme-

dy any such condition, or repair or replace any such

equipment?

b. RO ee ee RE OOO RTE,

BUN tania ek) 2 ee -

89

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

If you have answered “Yes” to any one or all of the

foregoing allegations of breach of contract, stated in In-

terrogatory No. Nine (a) through (e), and only in such

event, you will then answer the following interrogatory.

INTERROGATORY NO. TEN

Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that any conduct of the defendant stated in Interrogatory

No. Nine (a) through (e) was a proximate cause of the

damages, if any, sustained by the plaintiff as a result of

the loss of its television broadcasting business?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

INTERROGATORY NO. ELEVEN

Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence that

the defendant repudiated the contract in any one or all

of the following particulars:

(a) By deliberately withholding shipment to the

plaintiff of the items of equipment contracted for for

more than 75 days after February 6, 1969, and there-

after until plaintiff completed documents submitted to it

by the defendant?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

(b) By delivering such equipment contracted for on

a delayed, erratic, and incomplete basis?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

(c) By delivering.equipment that was not of a quality

such as is generally sold in the market and suitable for

that for which it was intended, or for the particuluar

uses to which the goods were to be put?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

(d) By withholding personnel necessary to supervise

the installation of equipment until after June 1, 1969,

and in failing to maintain such supervisory personnel on

the site, except on an intermittent and irregular basis?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

(e) By failing, after notice, if any, to correct or reme-

dy any such condition, or repair or replace any such

equipment?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

If you have answered “Yes” to any one or all of the

foregoing allegations of repudiation of contract, stated

in Interrogatory No. Eleven (a) through (e), and only

in such event, you will then answer the following inter-

rogatory.

INTERROGATORY NO. TWELVE

Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence that

any conduct of the defendant stated in Interrogatory

SPT eR

PRA ee SPE ARI re REP BBE Sk Ar

Sb Slee welt ate eS:

cae eee

91

No. Eleven (a) through (e) was a proximate cause of

the damages, if any, sustained by the plaintiff as a result

of the loss of its television broadcasting business?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

If you have answered “Yes” to either or both of In-

terrogatories Numbered Ten or Twelve, and only in such

event, you will answer the following Interrogatory.

INTERROGATORY NO. THIRTEEN

Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that plaintiff waived such breach or repudiation?

Answer “It did” or “It did not”.

ANSWER: It did not.

INTERROGATORY NO. FOURTEEN

(a) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that the management of plaintiff’s television broadcasting

business was not qualified professionally to operate a suc-

cessful UHF television broadcasting station?

Answer “It was” or “It was not”.

ANSWER: It was.

If you have answered Interrogatory No. Fourteen “It

was”, and only in such event, then you will answer the

following Interrogatory:

(b) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that such lack of professional qualifications on the part

of the plaintiff's management proximately caused the

= ae

92

damage, if any, resulting from the loss of plaintiff's tele-

vision broadcasting business?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: No.

INTERROGATORY NO. FIFTEEN

(a) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that the engineering and technical staff of plaintiff's tele-

vision broadcasting business was not qualified technically

by experience or training to operate successfully a UHF

television broadcasting station?

Answer “It was” or “It was not”.

ANSWER: It was.

If you have answered the preceding Interrogatory No.

Fifteen (a) “It was”, and only in such event, then you will

answer the following Interrogatory.

(b) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that such lack of technical experience and training was

a proximate cause of the damages,. if any, resulting

from the loss of plaintiff's television broadcasting business?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: No

INTERROGATORY NO. SIXTEEN

(a) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that plaintiff was undercapitalized and lacked the finan-

cial capability to conduct a successful UHF television

broadcasting station?

93

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: No

If you have answered the preceding Interrogatory No.

Sixteen (a) “Yes”, and only in such event, then you will

answer the following Interrogatory.

(b) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that such undercapitalization and lack of financial capa-

bility proximately caused the damages, if any, sustained

by the plaintiff as a result of the loss of its television

broadcasting business?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: No

INTERROGATORY NO. SEVENTEEN

(a) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that the goods furnished to the plaintiff by the defendant

were of a quality such as are generally sold in the market

and suitable for that for which they are intended, or for

the particular uses to which the goods are to be put?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: No

If you have answered the precechag interrogatory No.

Seventeen (a) “No”, and only in such event, then you will

answer the following Interrogatory.

(b) Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that the failure of the defendant to supply goods of a

quality such as are generally sold in the market and suit-

able for that for which they are intended, or for the

H

d

3

4

‘|

is

4

27

if

3

ft

4

ie |

y

4

94

particular uses to which the goods are to be put was a

proximate cause of the damage, if any, sustained by the

plaintiff as a result of the loss of its television broadcasting

business?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

INTERROGATORY NO. EIGHTEEN

Do you find from a preponderance of the evidence

that the plaintiff, acting through its president, involuntarily

signed promissory notes and the Conditional Sales Agree-

ment of April 20, 1969, because of the coercive effect, if

any, of the defendant’s deliberate withholding, if any, of

shipments to the plaintiff of items of equipment neces-

sary for plaintiff to meet its alleged target on-the-air date

of June 1, 1969?

Answer “Yes” or “No”.

ANSWER: Yes

INTERROGATORIES ON DAMAGES

INTERROGATORY NO. ONE

From a preponderance of the evidence, what sum of

money, if any, do you assess as actual damages sustained

by the plaintiff, Fredonia Broadcasting Corporation?

Answer in dollars and cents.

ANSWER: Eight hundred and fifty thousand dollars

95

INTERROGATORY NO. TWO

From a preponderance of the evidence, what sum of

money, if any, do you assess as exemplary damages

against RCA in favor of the plaintiff, Fredonia Broad-

casting Company?

Answer in dollars and cents.

ANSWER: One hundred and fifty thousand dollars.

GEWIN, Circuit Judge (concurring in the result):

I concur in the result reached by my Brother Coleman

in this case. In my view the district court committed errors

with respect to its rulings and jury instructions as to the

issues of liability and damages. Accordingly it is neces-

sary for us to reverse the judgment and to remand the

case for a new trial.

96

APPENDIX C

FIFTH AMENDMENT, U.S. CONSTITUTION

AMENDMENT V—CAPITAL CRIMES; DOUBLE

JEOPARDY; SELF-INCRIMINATION; DUE

PROCESS; JUST COMPENSATION FOR PROPERTY

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or

otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment of a

Grand Jury, except in cases arising in the land or naval

forces, or in the Militia, when in actual service in time

of War or public danger; nor shall any person be subject

for the same offense to be twice put in jeopardy of life

or limb; nor shall be compelled in any criminal case to

be a witness against himself, nor be deprived of life, lib-

erty, or property, without due process of law; nor shall

private property taken for public use, without just com-

pensation.

97

APPENDIX D

FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT, U.S. CONSTITUTION

AMENDMENT XIV.—CITIZENSHIP; PRIVILEGES

AND IMMUNITIES; DUE PROCESS; EQUAL

PROTECTION; APPORTIONMENT OF REPRE-

SENTATION; DISQUALIFICATION OF OFFI-

CERS; PUBLIC DEBT; ENFORCEMENT

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the

United States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are

citizens of the United States and of the State wherein

they reside. No State shall make or enforce any law which

shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of

the United States; nor shall any State deprive any per-

son of life, liberty, or property, without due process of

law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the

equal protection of the laws.

Section 2. Representatives shall be apportioned among

the several States according to their respective numbers,

counting the whole number of persons in each State, ex-

cluding Indians not taxed. But when the right to vote at

any election for the choice of electors for President and

Vice President of the United States, Representatives in

Congress, the Executive and Judicial officers of a State,

or the members of the Legislature thereof, is denied to

any of the male inhabitants of such State, being twenty-

one years of age, and citizens of the United States, or in

any way abridged, except for participation in rebellion,

or other crime, the basis of representation therein shall

be reduced in the proportion which the number of such

male citizens shall bear to the whole number of male

citizens twenty-one years of age in such State.

98

Section 3. No person shall be a Senator or Repre-

sentative in Congress, or elector of President and Vice

President, or hold any office, civil or military, under the

United States, or under any State, who, having previously

taken an oath, as a member of Congress, or as an officer

of the United States, or as a member of any State legis-

lature, or as an executive or judicial officer of any State,

to support the Constitution of the United States, shall

have engaged in insurrection or rebellion against the

same, or given aid or comfort to the enemies thereof. But

Congress may by a vote of two-thirds of each House,

remove such disability.

Section 4. The validity of the public debt of the

United States authorized by law, including debts in-

curred for payment of pensions and bounties for services

in suppressing insurrection or rebellion, shall not be

uestioned. But neither the United States nor any State

assume or pay any debt or obligation incurred

in aid of insurrection or rebellion against the United

States, or any claim for the loss or emancipation of any

slave; but all such debts, obligations and claims shall be

held illegal and void.

Section 5. The Congress shall have power to enforce,

by appropriate legislation, the provisions of this article.

——

SOR no ae!

CRE eects AAR Oe 4 Awe ae bord wes Ue Ur ne ba es eee re me

ET ee ee ee ae

etbBaia

99

APPENDIX E

TEXT OF STATUTE INVOLVED

(28 USCA § 144)

§ 144. Bias or prejudice of judge

Whenever a party to any proceeding in a district court

makes and files a timely and sufficient affidavit that

the judge before whom the matter is pending has a per-

sonal bias or prejudice either against him or in favor of

any adverse party, such judge shall proceed no further

therein, but another judge shall be assigned to hear such

proceeding.

The affidavit shall state the facts and the reasons for

the belief that bias or prejudice exists, and shall be filed

not less than ten days before the beginning of the term

at which the proceeding is to be heard, or good cause

shall be shown for failure to file it within such time. A

party may file only one such affidavit in any case. It

shall be accompanied by a certificate of counsel of

record stating that it is made in good faith.

As amended May 24, 1949, c. 139, $65, 63 Stat. 99.

100

APPENDIX F

RULE 7; UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT

Rule 7. Clerks to justices not to practice

No one serving as a law clerk or secretary to a justice

of this court shall practice as an attorney or counsellor

in any court or before any agency of government while

continuing in that position; nor shall he after separating

from that position practice as an attorney or counsellor

in this court until two years have elapsed after such

separation; nor shall he ever participate, by way of any

form of professional consultation and assistance, in any

case that was pending in this court during the period

that he held such position.

ee ee

101

APPENDIX G

RULE 19; UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT

Rule 19. Considerations governing review on certiorari

1. A review on writ of certiorari is not a matter of

right, but of sound judicial discretion, and will be

granted only where there are special and important rea-

sons therefor. The following, while neither controlling nor

fully measuring the court’s discretion, indicate the char-

acter of reasons which will be considered:

(a) Where a/state court has decided a federal ques-

tion of substance not theretofore determined by this

court, or has decided it in a way probably not in accord

with applicable decisions of this court.

(b) Where a court of appeals has rendered a decision

in conflict wit! the decision of another court of appeals

on the same matter; or has decided an important state

or territorial question in a way in conflict with applicable

State or territorial law; or has decided an important ques-

tion of federal law which has not been, but should be,

settled by this court; or has decided a federal question

in a way in conflict with applicable decisions of this court;

or has so far departed from the accepted and usual course

of judicial proceedings, or so far sanctioned such a de-

parture by a lower court, as to call for an exercise of

this court’s power of supervision.

2. The same general considerations outlined above

will control in respect of petitions for writs of certiorari

to review judgments of the Court of Claims, of the Court

of Customs and Patent Appeals, or of any other court

whose determinations are by law reviewable on writ of

certiorari.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.