Petition — Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v. City of Santa Clara

Supreme Court brief1978

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ee ee eS

i

i} JUL 3 j978 S|

In the Supreme Court ofthe. ..,

United States

—_——

Paciric Gas anp ELectric Company,

Petitioner,

VS.

City or Santa Cuara, CALIFoRNIA,

Respondent.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

Terry J. HouLtinan

Three Embarcadero Center

San Francisco, California 94111

Attorney for Petitioner

Pacific Gas and

Electric Company

Morris M. DoyLe

Cuar.es A. Fercuson

McCutcuHen, Dove, Brown & Enersen

Of Counsel

Joun C. Morrissey

Matcotm H. Fursvsy

THeEopoRE L. LinpBerG, JR.

Of Counsel

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

RE ONL TCE Se 1

cc cecesseee 2

oo etc gh OOS SST eo 2

EE Se 2

coc ccceeencsecerseencneen 3

Ee 5

Reasons for Granting the Writ 00000000 10

I. The Court of Appeals’ Interpretation of the Pref-

erence Clause Is Contrary to a Reasonable Ad-

ministrative Construction, and thus Presents Im-

portant Questions Not Settled by the Supreme

Court which Affect the Distribution of Federal

Power to Millions of People 200.000.000.000. 11

II. The Court of Appeals’ Ruling Concerning the

Retroactive Effects of a Decision in This Case

Conflicts with Applicable Decisions of the

Ee 15

III. Petitioner Seeks Review of Issues Fundamental

to the Further Conduct of this Lawsuit: Hence,

a Writ of Certiorari Should Issue ...... 19

Ee Bisa! 21

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

CASES Pages

Allen v. State Board of Elections, 393 U.S, 544 (1969) 17

Arizona Power Pooling Assoc. v. Morton, 527 F.2d 721

(9th Cir. 1975), cert. denied 425 U.S. 911 (1976) ........ 7

Arizona Power Authority v. Morton, 549 F.2d 1231

(Oth Cir, 1977) .-.ncecccscncsonsnsnscsecsnsoseserensnscccnsecnnvocnsnsvesoooses 7

Atlantic Richfield Co. v. Hickel, 432 F.2d 587 (10th

Cig, TOTO) sonconccncsanccscctsccacecscsonnenessennceneseteonevenstevensasasesosonsers 17

Bentex Pharmaceuticals, Ine. v. Richardson, 463 F.2d

363 (4th Cir. 1977), rev’d on other grounds, 412 U.S.

MES sR 8 RBIS Sa cemanre seeseeennennneeen essen 17

Bowles v. Seminole Rock Co., 325 U.S. 410 (1945) ........ 11

Chevron Oil Co. v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97 (1971) ..........--.--. 17

Cipriano v, City of Houma, 395 U.S. 701 (1969) ............ 18

City of Portland v. Munro, Civil Nos. 77-928 and

77-929 (D. Ore 1978) seseesennnnnnnnnnnnnnensntnnvnnneneenenceneresesstit 7

Corniel-Rodriguez v. ILN.S., 532 F.2d 301 (2d Cir. ;

0 en We teacnaaly 16, 17

Dugan v. Rank, 372 U.S. 609 (1963) ...2.2.----.seeseseseeeeeeees 5)

Federal Crop Ins. Corp. v. Merrill, 332 U.S. 380

CLIT) ccc ececsecibeciaecaneenstenprcenenesanmiannreincnomnmeionceniadenian 16

Fuel Cost Adjustment Clauses in Wholesale Rate

Schedule, Docket No. R-479, Order No. 517, 3 Federal

Power Service 5-36 (November 13, 1974) .................... 13

Fuel Cost Adjustment Tariff Provisions and Pro-

cedures, California Publie Utilities Commission Case

No. 9886, Decision No. 85731 (April 27, 1976) ............ 13

Gillespie v. United States Steel Corp., 379 U.S. 148

»

CRG ED aoncsccnenscecssccccsachnuniesibse nas splecoemeneaseseeananaenninimestecetanrnnt 20

Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401, U.S. 424 (1971) ............ 11

Hanover Shoe v. United Shoe Machinery Corp., 392

Uy, OBR CRO) cine alctertcones 17

TABLE oF AvuTHoRITIES CITED ili

Pages

Heirs of Denena v. Communication, Splicing and

Engineering Co., 474 F.2d 1249 (3d Cir. ss } ne 17

INS v. Hibi, 414 U.S. 5 (1978) once ccceccccecesccsssoecoccececoeees 17

Ivanhoe Irrigation District v. MeCracken, 357 U.S.

epi ceca, BN ee Ne ae ce NE Nee a 5

Land v. Dollar, 330 U.S, 731 (1947) oooccccccccccccccceeceoeee----. 20

Larson v. Domestic & Foreign Commerce Corp., 337

eS, pheketi Te inet RE Le eee 20

Lemon v. Kurtzman, 411 U.S. 192 DRED we 17

Linkletter v. Walker, 381 U.S, 618 (1965) ..................... 18

McLaren vy. Fleischer, 256 U.S. 477 PRED) cerca ot, 11

Montana v. Kennedy, 366 U.S. 308 (1961) ................ 17

Moore vy. N.Y. Cotton Exchange, 270 U.S, 593 (1926) .... 9

Moser v. United States, 341 U.S. 41 CID esscrciercnsinesnes 16

Power Reactor Co. v, Electricians, 367 U.S, 396 (1961) 11

Santiago vy. LN.S., 526 F.2d 488 (9th Cir. 1975), cert.

dented 425 U.S. 971 (1976) ......ccccccceccecoececoecosoeeee.-....... 17

Schlesinger v, Councilman, 420 U.S, 738 CREED eisssaccreas 20

Thompson v, Washington, 551 F2d 1316 (D.C. Cir.

cl, ER EIS ER SL ROL ra ase 18

Train v. Natural Resources Def. Council, 421 U.S.

NI ihe re aN 11

Ulman y. United States, 558 F.2d 1, 201 Ct. Cl. 888

ae ag: AEN STE Cn Sea 17

United States vy. City of Chicago, 400 U.S. 8 (1970) .... 11

United States v. General Motors Corp., 323 U.S. 373

On OPER a Ried enth Ace ao aa 20

United States v. Gerlach Live Stock Co., 339 U.S. 725

acs ole ctr EASIER Ae che 5

16 U.S.C.

16 U.S.C. §

16 U.S.C. §

16 U.S.C.

28 U.S.C.

28 U.S.C.

28 U.S.C.

28 U.S.C. §

42 U.S.C.

TaBLEe OF AvuTHORITIES CITED

$ 1361

EEE EE EEE EEE EEE EEE EEE TEETER EEE HEHEHE OOD

EEE EEE EEE EEE EE EEE REEL REEL E EEE EEE REEDS OS

eee eee eee ee eee eee eee eee

PPeeeee ee eee eee eee eee eee ee eee

STATUTES Pages

Atomic Energy Act of 1954, 42 U.S.C. § 2064 .............. 5

Bonneville Project Act, 16 U.S.C. § 832¢ .....22------ eee 3

Boulder Canyon Project Act, 43 U.S.C. § 617d(e) ........ 5)

Colorado River Storage Project Act, 43 U.S.C. § 620¢ .. )

Eklutna Project Act of 1950, P.L. 81-628, 64 Stat. 382 .. 5)

Faleon Dam Act of 1954, P.L. 83-406, 68 Stat. 255 ....... 5)

Federal Water Power Act of 1920, 16 U.S.C. § S00 ........ 5)

Flood Control Act of 1944, 16 U.S.C. § 825s -...........-...-.-- 5)

Fort Peck Project Act, 16 U.S.C. § 833¢ .0002.0......ceeceseees 5)

Niagara Project Act, 16 U.S.C. § 836(b)(1) -...........-.-.-- 5)

Raker Act of 1913, P.L. 63-41, 38 Stat. 242 .................... )

Reclamation Act of 1906, 48 U.S.C. § 522-000. 5, 14

Reclamation Project Act of 1939, 4° U.S.C. § 485h(e) — 1, 2,

d, 9, 13

Rural Flectrification Act of 1936, 7 U.S.C. § 904 ........-... 3, 5

Salt River Project Act of 1922, 43 U.S.C. § 598 .............- 5)

Tennessee Valley Authority Act, 16 U.S.C. §§ 831i, } .. 5

Water Conservation and Utilization Act of 1940, 16

WSC. © SOO B Tai 5

United States Code

7 USC. § 9h Wee 5

16 U.S.C. §00@e-7 See 5

16 U.S.C. SO0(@) eee 5)

16 U.S.C. § SOO cnc 5

16 UBC. § SBGe cnc eee Bs)

annmm oocirc

TABLE oF AvtTHorities CiTED

:

Pages

43 U.S.C. § 485h(e) 123,56

|) Se EE aoa » 2) 3, 0, 9, 10, 1

a a) a

| Se Tee ann ; 5)

Soe (aay). t( ag“

eee eee 5

LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS

84 Cong. Ree. 10224-6 (J ae ae 13, 14

S. Rep. 758, 76th Cong. Ist Sess., reprinted 84 Cong.

Rec. 9369 (July 18, 1939) 15

MISCELLANEOUS

30 Op. Att’y. Gen. 197 (1913) 14

K. Davis, Administrative Law Treatise, Section 17,02

a8 IEE SAE ah oa 16

In the Supreme Court of the

United States

Paciric Gas anv Evectrric ComMPAany,

Petitioner,

VS.

Crry or Santa Cuara, CALIFORNIA,

Respondent.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

PRAYER

Petitioner, Pacific Gas and Electric Company (“PGandE”

or “the Company”) asks that a writ of certiorari issue to

review a portion of the judgment and opinion below of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Cireuit in

this case. PGandE seeks review of two rulings by the Court

of Appeals: first, that certain electric power transactions

between PGandE and the United States sureau of Reela-

mation violate the preference clause of the Reclamation

Act of 1939, 43 U.S.C. § 485h(e), unless excepted from the

coverage of that clause, and, second, that PGandE had no

immediate right to receive over $50,000,000 held in escrow.

2

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals as amended on

April 4, 1975 is reported at 572 F.2d 660;* a copy is ap-

pended hereto as Appendix A. The order of the Court of

Appeals denying Santa Clara’s petition for rehearing,

granting PGandE’s and the government's petitions for re-

hearing or modification in part, and amending the Feb-

ruary 1, 1978 opinion is unreported; a copy is appended

as Appendix B. The District Court’s first opinion is re-

ported at 418 F. Supp. 1243; a copy is appended as Appen-

dix C. The District Court’s opinion modifying its original

opinion is reported at 428 F. Supp. 315: a copy is ap-

pended as Appendix D.

JURISDICTION

An opinion and judgment of the Court of Appeals was

entered on February 1, 1978. Petitions for rehearing were

timely filed by Santa Clara and PGandF, and the govern-

ment moved for modification. On April 4, 1978 the Court

of Appeals denied Santa Clara’s petition but granted the

eovernment’s motion and granted PGandk’s petition in

part (Appendix B). This petition is being filed within 90

days of April 4, 1978. This Court has jurisdiction to review

the judgment in question by writ of certiorari pursuant to

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTE INVOLVED

The preference clause of the Reclamation Project Act

of 1939, 43 U.S.C. § 485h(c), is the relevant statutory pro-

vision:

*The Federal Reporter advance sheet version of the opinion is

ipeorrect in that it ineludes a sentence ordered deleted by the Court

o: Appeals on rehearing. The third sentence in the second full para-

graph on page 672 of the advance sheet reporter should have been

deleted. See Appendix B at 42, paragraph 4.

3

“(e) ... Any sale of electric power or lease of power

privileges, made by the Seeretary in connection with

the operation of any project or division of a project,

shall be for such periods, not to exceed forty years.

and at such rates as in his judgment. will produce

power revenues at least sufficient to cover an appro-

priate share of the annual operation and maintenance

cost, interest on an appropriate share of the construe-

tion investment at not less than 3 per centum per

annum, and such other fixed charges as the Secretary

deems proper: Provided further, That in said sales

or leases preference shall be given to municipalities

and other public corporations or agencies: and also

to cooperatives and other nonprofit organizations

financed in whole or in part by loans made pursuant

to the Rural Electrification Act of 1936 and anv amend-

ments thereof. Nothing in this subsection ‘shall he

applicable to provisions in existing contracts, made

pursuant to law, for the use of power and miscel-

laneous revenues of a project for the benefit of users

of water from such project. The provisions of this

subsection respecting the terms of sales of electric

power and leases of power privileges shall be in

addition and alternative to any authority in existing

laws relating to particular projects. No contract relat.

ing to municipal water supply or miscellaneous pur-

poses or to electric power or power privileges shall be

made unless, in the judgment of the Secretary, it will

not impair. the efficiency of the project for irrigation

purposes. (emphasis added) 53 Stat. 1194-95, 43 U.S.C.

§ 485h(¢).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. The preference clause of the Reclamation Act of

1939, 43 U.S.C. § 485h(e), requires that a preference be

given to certain entities in the sale of federal hydroelectric

power generated at reclamation project dams. |

7

Should the preference clause be broadly construed

to prohibit the federal government from delivering

power to a non-preference entity under a conditional

sale arrangement which results in the later repurchase

and delivery of power to preference customers, which

is necessary to enable the government to meet the

long-term needs of those preference customers, and

which generates no profit to the non-preference entity?

2, The Court of Appeals held that because completed

power sales violated the preference clause they were “void”

and “of no effect.” 572 F.2d at 677; Appendix A at 535. The

Court of Appeals went on to suggest that such sales should

be rescinded and retroactively reallocated to a preference

customer, even though the power had been resold by the

purchaser at cost to its customers.

Whether, consistently with this Court’s decisions

governing the award of retroactive equitable relief,

a federal court may, after declaring unlawful a fed-

eral agency’s completed power sales to a good faith

purehaser who resold low-cost power at cost to non-

parties to the lawsuit,

a) declare void and order rescinded the ageney’s com-

pleted power sales to the good faith purchaser,

b) recognize the agency’s allegedly unlawful refusal

to sell power to a third-party to the lawsuit as an

equitable defense to the good faith purchaser’s con-

tract claim for higher cost replacement power sold to

and consumed by the third-party, and

ce) place upon the good faith purchaser the burden of

seeking relief against the federal agency for the

$50,000,000 difference in value between the lower cost

and higher cost power.

3]

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case began, and at base remains, a dispute among

preference customers over the allocation of low-cost federal

electric power generated at the Central Valley Projeet in

California (“CVP”). PGandE, as a mechanism for the

transmission of CVP power and a purchaser on an interim

basis of some power destined for future delivery to certain

preference customers, is caught in the middle of this

struggle.

The formation, functions, and purposes of the Central

Valley Project are described in the opinions of the courts

below and in Jranhoe Irrigation District +. McCracken.

3o0¢ U.S. 275 (1958); United States v. Gerlach Live Stock

Co., 339 U.S. 725 (1950), and Dugan +. Rank, 372 U.S. 609

(1963). Briefly, the CVP is a water reclamation project

subject to “the provisions of the reclaination law.” 50 Stat.

850 (1937), 16 U.S.C. $ 695(d). As an adjunet to water

reclamation, CVP generates electric power at various dams

and sells the power not required for its own water pump-

ing needs. The preference clause of the Reclamation Act

of 1939, 43 U.S.C. § 485h(e). requires that a preference be

given public entities, such as municipalities, in the sale of

CVP power.*

*There are other, not necessarily identical, clauses in manv

federal statutes governing federal power sales. Preference clauses

have been included in the following enactments: the Reclamation

Act of 1906, 43 U.S.C. § 522; the Raker Act of 1913, P.L. 63-41

38 Stat. 242; the Federal Water Power Act of 1920 16 USC

§ 800; the Salt River Project Act of 1922, 43 U.S.C. $598: the

Boulder Canyon Project Act, 43 U.S.C. § 617d(c); the Veiseense

Valley Authority Act, 16 U.S.C. §§ 831i.j: the Rural Electrification

Act of 1936, 7 U.S.C. § 904: the Bonneville Project Act 16 U.S.C

§ 832c; the Fort Peck Project Act, 16 U.S.C. § 833c; the Reclama

tion Project Act of 1939, 43 U.S.C. § 485h (ec): the Water Consery

tion and Utilization Act of 1940, 16 U.S.C. § 5902-7: the Flood

Control Act of 1944, 16 U.S.C. § 825s: the Eklutna Project (et of

1950, PI. 81-628, 64 Stat. 382; the Faleon Dam Act of 1954 PI

83.406, 68 Stat. 255; Atomic Energy Act of 1954, 42 US C. § 2064.

le Niagara Project Act, 16 U.S.C. § 836(b) (1) - the rado River

Storage Project Act, 43 U.S.C. i" on moe

6

The instant case concerns the plan developed by the

Secretary of the Interior, a party to this case below, for

marketing CVP power. The Secretary's marketing plan in-

eludes a power exchange arrangement with PGandk by

which PGandE acts as a “bank” for electric power de-

livered to it by the government, Under this arrangement, set

forth in the contract between the government and PGandk

referred to below as “Contract 20484," PGandk purchases

federal electric power subject to a commitment to resell an

equal amount of power in the future to the government for

delivery to preference customers of the CVP.

The CVP power exchange arrangement was developed

by the Secretary in 1964 to enable CVP to serve the full

demand of then existing CVP preference customers through

1980, even though the power requirements of those cus-

tomers would grow to exceed the capacity of CVP in the

latter part of that time period. The arrangement enables

CVP to serve the future needs of these customers which it

eould not otherwise meet. Among other reasons for adopt-

ing this plan was the government's belief that supplving all

the needs of these CVP customers until 1980 would provide

them with the time and savings to enable them to develop

their own sources of power independent of PGandF.

It is impossible to store the power “hanked” with

PGandE. Accordingly, the power conveyed to PGandE by

the government is immediately delivered hv PGandF to

its own customers, For accounting purposes, the power is

deemed sold to PGandE (subject to the government's right

to repurchase an equal amount later) and is then resold

by PGandE to its own 4,000,000 customers throughout

northern and central California, under rates which require

that the power he resold at PGandk’s cost. Tn other

words, PGandE makes no profit when it resells the federal

power.

7

CVP power facilities are integrated with the PGandE

system. Power from these plants flows into the PGandE

transmission system along with power from PGandF plants

and other resources. CVP customers take power from the

PGandE transmission system, not directly from CVP

plants. All customers thus receive a mix of power, but those

who have received a preference allotment from CVP are

deemed to have purchased CVP> power transmitted or

“wheeled” by PGandFk.

CVP power is cheap.* When PGandE buys federal power

for banking and resells it at rates which pass on its low

cost, PGandE spreads that benefit among all its customers.

PGandE customers include a number of municipal power

systems and other entities which qualify as “preference”

customers, but which do not purchase their power require-

ments directly from the government.

The City of Santa Clara, California (“Santa Clara”)

is a CVP customer and qualifies for preference in the sale

of power. The government did not, however, undertake to

supply all of Santa Clara’s needs through 1980. The goy-

ernment was able to supply all of Santa Clara’s load from

December, 1965 until August, 1971. Thereatter. the govern-

*As the cost of energy from non-hydroelectrie sources grows and

the value of preferential treatment inereases, litigation is unlikely

to diminish. Recently suits have been filed in the United States

District Court for the District of Oregon by the City of Portland

against the Administrator of the Bonneville Power Administration.

the Secretary of Energy and 150 other defendants challenging the

contracts for the marketing of Columbia River power by the Bonne-

ville Power Administration. City of Portland v. Munro, Civil Nos.

77-928 and 77-929 in that court. Other very recent eases challenging

the marketing of federal power are Arizona Power Pooling v.

Morton, 527 F.2d 723 (9th Cir, 1975), cert. denied 425 U.S. 911

(1976), and Arizona Power Authority v. Morton, 549 FP2d 1231

(9th Cir, 1977). Thus far this Court has not provided principles

of decision for disposing of eases arising under any of the various

preference clauses,

8

ment gradually reduced the amount of CVP power sold to

Santa Clara.

PGandE has a contract with Santa Clara requiring the

Company to supply the City’s electric power needs when-

ever they are not met by the federal government. As the

amount of federal power sold to Santa Clara has diminished

and as the City’s load has grown, PGandk has, in compli-

ance with its contract, delivered power to Santa Clara to

meet the City’s needs. Santa Clara refuses to pay for the

PGandE power, claiming that the government's withdrawal

of power from the City was illegal and that the power de-

livered to Santa Clara should therefore be deemed CVP

power. The disputed funds, essentially the difference in

cost between PGandii power and CVP power, have been

placed in an escrow account by Santa Clara pending the

resolution of its controversy with the government.

During the same period that the government has refused

to meet Santa Clara’s full demand, the government has sold

power to PGandE for banking. The quantity of power sold

to PGandk did in some months equal or exceed the amount

necessary to make up the difference hetween the limited

amount of CVP power sold to Santa Clara and the City’s

total demand.

Suit was brought on July 25, 1975 by Santa Clara against

the Secretary of the Interior and the Commissioner of the

Bureau of Reclamation seeking declaratory and injunctive

relief against the reduction in the amount of CVP power

sold to Santa Clara. Essentially Santa Clara claimed that

it had been unfairly treated and discriminated against in

the allocation of power among preference customers. Juris-

diction of the district court was properly inioked pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. § 1346(2), 28 U.S.C. $1361, and 28 U.S.C.

§ 2201.

9

PGandE was permitted to intervene as a defendant and

counterclaimant. The Company's counterclaim alleged that

since August 1971 the Company had fulfilled the obligation

imposed on it by its contract with Santa Clara to supply

electric power to the City but that Santa Clara had not

paid PGandE for the power so supplied. PGandE requested

the money due it—the funds in escrow. The district court

had jurisdiction over PGandk’s claim. Moore v. N.Y. Cotton

Exchange, 270 U.S. 593 (1926).

The district court issued its first opinion on July 23, 1976

on motions of the federal government for summary judg-

ment on all issues and of PGandE and Santa Clara for

summary judgment on specific issues. (Giranting Santa

Clara’s summary judgment motion in part, the district

court remanded the case to the Secretary of the Interior for

administrative hearings to review CVP allocations among

preference customers and entered a judgment of dismissal.

The distriet court did rule, among other things, that the

“hanking” transactions with PGandE do not violate the

preference clause of the Reclamation Project Act of 1939.

43 U.S.C. $485h(ce). With respect to PGandFE’s claim

against Santa Clara, the district court ruled that PGandE’s

right to he reimbursed for electrie power supplied by it to

the City would depend on whether a new allocation schenie

for CVP power was developed by the federal government

during administrative hearings ordered by the court. On

November 12, 1976, the district court issued a second

written opinion denying PGandF’s motion for reconsidera-

tion.*

*The trial court did recognize that the sum of monies plaeed in

escrow by Santa Clara was more than enough to preserve Santa

Clara’s rights against the federal defendants and consequently it

ordered the City to have 25% of the funds in escrow dishursed to

PGandE and to pay 25% of all future PGandE electric power bills

directly to the Company. The original judgment was amended

accordingly.

10

All parties appealed the district court’s judgment to the

Ninth Cireuit Court of Appeals. In its opinion the Ninth

Cireuit reversed most of the district court's rulings. The

Court of Appeals ruled that there was no ground for the

distriet court's order that the government hold administra-

tive hearings concerning how CVP power would be allocated

among preference customers. The Court of Appeals also

reversed the district court’s ruling as to the validity of the

Secretary's banking transactions with PGandF.

Mistakenly assuming that PGandE makes a_ profit or

benefits by purchasing power under the bank account pro-

visions of Contract 2948 A, the Ninth Cireuit held that bank-

ing power with PGandE would contravene the preference

clause if Santa Clara were ready, willing, and able to pur-

chase banked power, unless banking was necessary to maxi-

mize the efficiency of the CVP for irrigation purposes. The

exception to the Court of Appeals’ ruling was thought to be

required by the last sentence of 45 U.S.C. § 485h(e) which

prohibits power sales that “impair the efficiency of the

project for irrigation purposes.” With respect to PGandE’s

counterclaim, the Ninth Cireuit ruled that banking trans-

actions would be void if unlawful and “suggested” a retro-

active restructuring of the transactions hetween the

government, PGandF, and Santa Clara. With this unique

combination of rulings and “suggestions” the case was

ordered remanded to the district court for further proceed-

ings.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

T. The Court of Appeals’ interpretation of the prefer-

ence clause is contrary to a reasonable administrative eon-

struction, and thus presents important questions of federal

11

law not settled by the Supreme Court which affect the dis-

tribution of federal power to millions of people.

II. The Court of Appeals’ ruling concerning the retro-

active effects of « decision in this ease eonfliets with

applicable decisions of the Supreme Court and threatens

serious financial impact to an innocent third party.

IIT. Petitioner seeks review of issues fundamental to

the further conduct of this lawsuit, hence a writ of certiorari

should issue.

I.

The Court of Appeals’ Interpretation of the Preference Clause

Is Contrary to a Reasonable Administrative Construction, and

Thus Presents Important Questions Not Settled by the Su-

preme Court Which Affect the Distribution of Federal Power

to Millions of People.

This Court has ruled that a reasonable interpretation

given a statute by the government official charged with its

administration should not be rejected by a federal court

for some other “reasonable” construction which the court

deems preferable. Train v. Natural Resources Def. Council,

421 U.S. 60, 87 (1975); Grigas v. Duke Power Co.. 401 U.S.

424, 435-34 (1971); United States v. City of Chicago, 400

U.S. 8, 10 (1970); Power Reactor Co. v. Electricians, 367

US. 396, 408 (1961); Bowles +. Seminole Rock Co.. 325

U.S. 410, 417-18 (1945); WeLaren v. Fleischer, 256 U.S. 477.

480-81 (1921). This is especially so where the statute covers

a complex matter, where no one interpretation of the statute

exists which ean be said to be “correct.” and where others

have relied on the government official’s interpretation. Train

v. Natural Resources Def. Council, supra, 421 U.S. at 87: see

also McLaren v. Fleischer, supra, 256 U.S. at 481. In such

circumstances this Court will uphold a “reasonable” inter-

pretation of a statute by the agency assigned to administer

it and prohibit a Court of Appeals from substituting its

interpretation for that of the ageneyv. Train v. Natural Re-

sources Def. Council, supra, 421 U.S. at 87.

12

The Secretary's interpretation is a reasonable interpreta-

tion demonstrably consistent with the Congressional pur-

pose and scheme which the Court of Appeals should have

left undisturbed.

The district court held that sales of power to PGandE do

not violate the preference clause since it was necessary to

make provision in the Secretary’s marketing scheme for

some sort of power banking arrangement and the arrange-

ment involved conditional as opposed to unconditional

“sales” of power to PGand. 418 F.Supp. at 1251; Appen-

dix C at 58-59. Furthermore, the Court of Appeals itself

recognized that the “goal of the banking arrangement is

consonant with the preference clause, inasmuch as all CVP

power is ultimately committed to meet the needs of public

entities.” 572 F.2d at 671; Appendix A at 18.

The Secretary’s application of the preference clause in

this case was reasonable in part because he was not choos-

ing between two equal offers from PGandF and Santa

Clara. The sale to PGandFE was a conditional sale. That

condition, that PGandE agree to act as a bank for the

Secretary, was a condition Santa Clara could not and would

not meet. It has no generating facilities and no source of

power to enable it to resell purchased power back to CVP.

PGandE assumed an obligation that Santa Clara could not

meet. Only if Santa Clara had offered the same terms and

the Secretary had nonetheless sold the power to PGandE

would the requirement of “preference” have heen violated.

Under the circumstances the decision to sell to PGandE

was not only reasonable, it was consistent with the intent of

Congress in passing the preference clause. A basic concept

hehind the preference clause was to preclude private profit

from the purchase of federal hyvdroelectrie power where dis-

13

tribution of the benefits of such power directly to the public

was possible. As explained during the debate on the adop-

tion of this specifie clause in the Reclamation Act: “the

provisions of this amendment are merely prudent provi-

sions in order to prevent some intermediary corporation

from taking advantage of this publicly developed power

and charging an additional amount to the ultimate con-

sumer... .” 84 Cong. Ree. 10224 (July 27, 1939). Sales of

federal power to PGandE for hanking purposes are con-

sistent with this rationale. The power conditionally sold to

PGandF, ultimately goes to preference customers without

any profit to PGandE.* Thus, the Secretary's interpretation

did not contradict the intent of the Congress.

The legislative history of the Reclamation Act of 1939

also indicates that Congress intended to hestow on the

Secretary the discretion to sell power to a non-preference

entity which offered more favorable terms than a prefer-

ence entity. When the bill containing the preference clause

was reported out of the Conference Committee to the House

(which had previously stricken the preference clause),

Representative Leavy of Washington told the House:

~ “Tt has heen the poliev of the Reclamation Service,

made so by the act itself, the basic law. that they may

give preference to municipalities and publie eorpora-

tions in the purchase of power, This amendment goes

one step further and includes cooperatives and rural

*Both the PGandE retail rates and wholesale rates contain fuel

adjustment clauses whose coverage imeludes energy cost Savings

achieved through power purchase transactions. There is thus a

direct pass through to PGandE’s customers of any savings obtained

by PGandE through power purehase transactions. See e.g. Fuel

Cost Adjustment Clauses in Wholesale Rate hedule, Docket No.

R-479, Order No. 517, 3 Federal Power Serviee 5-36, 5-38 (Noy.

13, 1974): Fuel Cost Adjustment Tariff Provisions and Proc cedures,

California Public Utilities Commission Case No. 9886, Decision No.

85731 (April 27, 1976).

14

electrification projects. The gentleman from South

Dakota [Mr. Case] ... is under a misapprehension

when he says that this law will require that such pret-

erence be given irrespective of the bid. That is not the

fact. If a private corporation makes a better bid, then,

under this law, it will become the duty of the Commis-

sioner of Reclamation to consider that fact, but when

the two make bids that are equal, it becomes his duty

then to give preference to the public corporation, or

cooperative, whether it be a city, town, cooperative, or

rural electrification project.” S4 Cong. Reeord 10225

(July 27, 1939).

The conference report was thereupon agreed to by the

House. 84 Cong. Record 10226 (July 27, 1939).

Further evidence of the reasonableness of the Secretary's

construction of the “preference” requirement may be found

in the Attorney General’s construction of a similar provi-

sion in an earlier statute. The first reclamation law, the

Act of April 16, 1906 (84 Stat. 116, 117; 48 U.S.C. § 522

provided, inter alia, that the Secretary of the Interior could

lease surplus power from irrigation projects “giving

preference to municipal purposes.” Tn 1915 the Attorney

General rendered an opinion interpreting this original

preference proviso in which he stated:

“The duty to prefer municipal purposes in the making

of leases is secondary and incidental. If, where a sur-

plus of power became available, opportunities should

oceur to dispose of it for municipal uses, and the terms

offered in return were at least as advantageous to the

project as the terms offered in behalf of other uses,

it would be the duty of the Secretary to make the lease

for the municipal uses, but not so if, in his judgment,

the contract would prove more profitable if made in

the other way.” 30 Op. Att’y. Gen. 197, 201-2 (1913).

15

When the Senate Committee on Irrigation and Reclamation

considered the preference clause in the 1939 Aet it noted its

continuation of existing preference policy in reporting to

the Senate:

“This proviso is considered by the committee to be in

accord with the policy of Congress first incorporated

into law in the Act of April 16, 1906 (34 Stat. 116, 117),

and re-enacted in the Act of February 24, 1911 (36 Stat.

930). The proviso in question does not change this lonq-

continued policy under which surplus power from ree-

lamation projects has been disposed of to the mutual

satisfaction of privately and publicly owned utilities.

... It is therefore deemed appropriate that this proviso

be ineluded.” (emphasis added) S. Rep. 758, 76th Cong.,

Ist Sess., reprinted 84 Cong. Record 9369 (July 18,

1939).

Thus the district court, Congress and the Attorney General

all support the conclusion that the interpretation of the

preference clause adopted by the Secretary was reasonable.

Under the decisions of this Court it should have been

allowed to stand.

II.

The Court of Appeals’ Ruling Concerning the Retroactive Effects

of a Decision in This Case Conflicts with Applicable Decisions

of the Supreme Court.

The Court of Appeals ruled in this case that past, com-

pleted sales of CVP power to PGandE are “void if unlaw-

ful, for administrative actions taken in violation of statu-

tory authorization or requirement are of no effect.” 572

F.2d at 677; Appendix A at 33. The court went on to “sug-

gest” a retroactive reconstruction of completed transactions

between the government, PGandE, and Santa Clara. Both

the ruling and the suggestion appear contrary to controlling

decisions of this Court. They raise important questions con-

Roem

aes

16

cerning the award of retroactive equitable relief, and should

thus be reviewed.

The Court of Appeais’ ruling that unlawful CVP power

sales to PGandE would be void conflicts with this Court’s

holding in Moser v. United States, 341 U.S. 41 (1951), that

a federal agency’s action, though it exceeds statutory

authority, may nonetheless be binding on the ageney if the

other party affected by the action has acted in “justifiable

reliance” on the action. 7d. at 46. In the ease at bar, as in

Moser, the petitioner has relied to its detriment on ageney

actions which subsequently have been held to exceed statu-

tory authority. PGandE has not profited by these trans-

actions and is an innocent bystander to the clash between

the government and Santa Clara. PGandE has resold the

CVP power at rates reflecting its costs to customers who

have consumed the power. Those sales, to millions of indi-

viduals not parties to the suit, cannot be undone. Tf the

sales of CVP power to PGandE are retroactively declared

void, and accounts between the parties reallocated, PGandE

is relegated to claims against the United States instead

of against the escrow fund. PGandE has relied justi-

fiably and to its detriment on the Secretary's decision to

refuse CVP power to Santa Clara and instead to sell the

power to PGandF for banking.

To support its unqualified assertion that all unauthorized

administrative actions are retroactively void, the Court of

Appeals cited Federal Crop Insurance Corp, v. Merrill, 332

U.S. 380 (1947). The Merrill ease preceded Moser, however,

As the Second Cireuit has observed, the decision in Verrill

was “substantially undermined” by the subsequent decision

in Moser. Corniel-Rodriquez v. I.N.S.. 532 F.2d 301, 350

n. 15 (2d Cir, 1976). See K. Davis, Administrative Law

Treatise $17.02 (1958). The Court of Appeals’ failure to

17

recognize the more recent applicable decisions of this Court

should be reviewed.*

Not only has the Court of Appeals ruled that completed

unlawful sales of CVP power are, ipso facto, void, the court

also suggested the award of retroactive equitable rescission

and reallocation of these completed transactions. This

Court, however, recognizing that statutory “rules of law are

hard facts on which people must rely in making decisions

and in shaping their conduct,” has frequently invoked a

“dloetrine of non-retroactivity” to prevent the retroactive

application of its holdings regarding the interpretation or

constitutionality of a statute. Lemon v. Kurtzman, 411 U.S.

192, 197, 199 (1973); Chevron Oil Co. v. Iluson, 404 U.S, 97,

105-07 (1971).

The principles governing the application of the doctrine

of non-retroactivity are set forth in detail in Chevron Oil

Co. v. Huson, supra, 404 U.S. at 106 (1971). Retroactivity

is not appropriate where: (1) the decision establishes a “new

principle of law” either by overruling past precedent or by

deciding an issue of first impression whose resolution was

not predictable, see Hanover Shoe v. United Shoe Ma-

chinery Corp., 392 U.S. 481, 496 (1968), Allen v. State Board

*In INS v. Hibi, 414 US. 5. 8 (1973) and Montana v. Ke nnedy,

366 U.S. 308, 314-15 (1961), the Court reserved the question

whether, on an estoppel theory, a person's reliance on unauthorized

conduct of government officials should be recognized. In the absence

of guidanee from this Court, the federal] cireuit courts and the

Court of Claims have taken conflicting views of the propriety of

estoppel against the U.S. government and. the standard to be

applied. See Corniel-Rodriquez, supra (2d Cir.) : Heirs of Denena

v. Communication, Splicing and Engineering Co., 474 F.2d 1249

(3d Cir. 1973); Benter Pharmace uticals, Ine. v. Richardson, 463

F.2d 363 (4th Cir. 1972), rew'd on other grounds, 412 U.S, 645

(1973); Santiago v. ILNS., 526 F.2d 488 (9th Cir. 1975), cert.

denied, 425 U.S. 971 (1976): Atlantic Richfield Co. v. Hickel, 432

F.2d 587 (10th Cir. 1970): Timan v. United States, 558 F.2d 1, 201

Ct. Cl. 888 (1977).

18

of Elections, 393 U.S. 544, 572 (1969); (2) the purpose and

effect of the new principle of law will not be advanced by

its retroactive application, see Linkletter v. Walker, 381

U.S. 618, 629, 636-39 (1965); and (3) a retroactive applica-

tion of the new principle of law would create a substantial

inequitable result, for “[wlhere a decision of this Court

eould produce substantial inequitable results if applied

retroactively, there is ample basis in our cases for avoiding

the ‘injustice or hardship’ by a holding of nonretroactivity.”

Cipriano v. City of Touma, 395 U.S. 701, T06 (1969),

The application of those factors to this case mandates a

decision favorable to PGandki with respect to its ecounter-

claim, even if the Court of Appeals’ interpretation of 48

U.S.C. $ 485h(e) as prohibiting the Seecretary’s banking

transactions is correct. In the court below, petitioner care-

fully explained how it had relied in good faith and to its

detriment on the Secretary’s actions vis-a-vis Santa Clara.

But the Court of Appeals, though it recognized that

PGandFE was an “innocent third party caught between the

claims of Santa Clara and the position of the Secretary,”

572 F.2d at 678, simply asserted that if the Secretary could

not prove that the banking of power desired by Santa Clara

was within his statutory power his unauthorized actions

are retroactively “void” and “of no effeet”, id. at 677.

That simplistic reasoning directly conflicts with the analysis

followed by this Court when determining whether to afford

retroactivity to its decisional law.

As illustrated by this Court’s decisions cited above, the

basie question is no longer whether the law would approve

of a banking transaction if it were a new one, but rather

whether those who have relied on past transactions should

be permitted to continue to rely on them given the partieu-

lar cirenmstances of the transactions. See Thompson v.

19

Washington, 551 F.2d 1316, 1319 (D.C. Cir. 1977). By

choosing to regard PGandE’s counterclaim as if PGandk’s

right to the funds held in escrow are dependent on the

validity of banking transactions in the abstract. the Court

of Appeals has brought itself into direct conflict with

the applicable line of cases from this Court cited above.

Such a decision should be reviewed.

TTT.

Petitioner Seeks Review of Issues Fundamental to the Further Con-

duct of This Lawsuit; Hence, a Writ of Certiorari Should Issue.

It is necessary to confront these issues only on account

of the Court of Appeals’ decision to vaeate the district

court’s earlier decision upholding the legality of the bank-

ing arrangement.

The practical result of the Court of Appeals’ ruling is

to allow the eserow fund to continue to grow ata rate of

approximately $2,000,000 per month until the distriet court

ean try these issues. Tf the result on remand is adverse to

petitioner, petitioner will he forced to wait for the ease to

progress through the Cireuit Court of Appeals a second

time before it can finally seek review by this Court of the

points presented in this petition, vinless. of course, this

Court should grant this petition.

The escrow fund currently contains over $50,000,000, Tf

this petition is not granted, the escrow will surely more

than double hefore petitioner will be at this level of appel-

late review again. Meanwhile, petitioner must continue to

borrow at a higher rate of interest than the escrow returns

to replace the monies held in escrow,

As the Court of Appeals observed, PGandE is “an inno-

cent third party, canght between the conflicting elaims of

Santa Clara and the position of the Secretary.” 572 F.2d at

20

678; App. A at 55. The district court tried to mitigate the

harsh effects of the dispute en PGandk by erde: ing a por-

tion of the escrow disbursed to PGandE and ordering Santa

Clara to pay PGandE at least a specified portion of all

future PGandE bills. The Court of Appeals considered the

suit of such importance as to afford it expedited treatment,

notwithstanding—or even perhaps bhecause—the district

court ordered the controversy remanded to the Secretary

for further proceedings. Petitioner respectfully requests

this Court to afford a similar opportunity to avoid extended

proceedings that may not be necessary at all.

Tt is not uncommon fox this Court to review a case despite

its interlocutory status where there is an issue involved

which is “fundamental to the further conduct of the ease.”

United States v. General Motors Corp., 323 U.S. 373, 377

(1945): see also Gillespie v. United States Steel Corp. 379

U.S. 148, 158 (1964). A writ has been issued even where a

Court of Appeals has remanded the case for further pro-

ceedings, see Larson v. Domestic & Foreign Commerce

Corp., 337 U.S. 682, 685 n. 3 (1949): Land v. Dollar, 330

U.S. 731, 734 n. 2 (1947). More recently, important ques-

tions concerning the proper exercise of equitable juris-

diction by a federal court were considered sua sponte by

this Court, without prior consideration by the lower courts,

in Schlesinger v. Councilman, 420 U.S. 738, 745 (1975).

Since the only issues which remain to he considered hy the

district court coneern the legality of the PGandE. banking

transactions and the award of retroactive relief, the Court

of Appeals’ rulings of which we seek review ean fairly be

deseribed as fundamental to the further conduct of this

ease. We respectfully submit that this Court should issue

the writ.

9] P

IV.

CONCLUSION

A writ of certiorari should issue to review the portion

of the judgment and opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Cireuit deseribed in this petition.

Respectfully submitted,

Terry J. HovtiHan

Attorney for Petitioner

Pacific Gas and

Electric Company

Morris M. Dove

CHartes A. Fercuson

McCutcuen, Doytr, Brown & ENErRSEN

Of Counsel

Joun (. Morrissey

Matcoitm H. Fursvsn

Tueopore L. Lryppere, JR.

Of Counsel

ewer wes

—— ————

Appendix A

City of Santa Clara, California,

Appellant,

v.

Cecil Andrus, Individually and as Secre-

tary of the Interior, and R. Keith Hig-

ginson, Individually and as Commis-

sioner of the Burean of Reclamation,

United States Department of Interior,

Appellees.

Cecil Andrus, Individually and as Secre-

tary of the Interior, and R. Keith Hig-

ginson, Individually and as Commis-

sioner of the Bureau of Reclamation,

United States Department of Interior,

Appellants,

v.

City of Santa Clara, California,

Appellee.

Pacific Gas & Electric Company,

Appellant,

v.

City of Santa Clara, California,

Appellee.

Nos, 77-1110, 77-1270, 77-1189 and 76-3670.

United States Court of Appeals, Ninth Circuit.

Feb. 1, 1978.

As Amended on Denial of Rehearing and

Rehearing En Bane April 4, 1978.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of California.

Appendix

sefore DUNTIWAY and CARTER, Circuit Judges, and

BURNS.* District Judge.

DUNIWAY, Circuit Judge:

This case concerns sales by the Secretary of the Interior

le

of low-cost hydroelectric power generated by the Central

Valley Project in California. The city of Santa Clara filed

this action for declaratory and injunctive relief, challenging

the Secretary’s decisions to withdraw power from the City

and to deny it an allocation of “firm” (non-withdrawab.e)

power. The Pacifie Gas and Electric Company (PG&E) was

allowed to intervene and counterclaim for certain funds

being held in an escrow. All parties moved for summary

judgment. The district court granted the Secretary's motion

as to Santa Clara’s National Environmental Policy Act

(NEPA) claim, denied the other motions, and “remanded”

the case to the Secretary for the promulgation of rules and

procedures concerning the marketing power generated by

the Central Valley Project. The court’s judgment also dis-

missed the action without prejudice. All parties appeal.

We affirm in part, reverse in part, and remand in part.

FACTS

The Central Valley Project (CVP) is a multipurpose

federal reclamation project consisting of numerous dams,

hvdroelectrie power plants, transmission lines, and irriga-

tion canals, located in the Central Valley of California and

its surrounding mountains.’ While production of hydroelec-

trie power is not the primary purpose of the CVP, a

*The Honorable James M. Burns. United States District Judge

for the District of Oregon, sitting hy designation.

1. The CVP is deseribed in detail in Jvanhoe Irrigation District

v. McCracken, 1958, 357 U.S. 275, 280-83, 78 S.Ct. 1174, 2 L.Ed.2d

1313.

Appendir 3

substantial amount of electricity is generated by the project

and ultimately sold to a large and varied group of users

in Northern and Central California.

The Secretary of the Interior, through the Bureau of

Reclamation, sells the power generated by the CVP at a

price substantially lower than that charged by private

utilities such as PG&E? Consequently, CVP power does

not lack for willing purchasers. Section 9(e) of the Recla-

ination Project Act of 1939, 48 U.S.C. § 485h(¢), provides

that in sales or leases of electric power or power privileges,

made by the Secretary, “preference shall be given to

municipalities and other public corporations or agencies”

and REA cooperatives.

Santa Clara first sought an allocation of CVP power

on June 1, 1960, although it was then under contract to buy

power trom PG&E and so could not then take power from

CVP. In 1962, the Seeretary informed Santa Clara and

others that 250,000 kilowatts of firm power would become

available to preference customers upon completion of the

Trinity River Division of the CVP, and invited applica-

tions for this new power, Santa Clara renewed its request

for power on February 19, 1962, acknowledging that it

would be unable to receive the power until the expiration,

on August 27, 1967, of its re juirements contract with PG&E.

The Secretary responded that while he would not commit

himself to such a future allocation, Santa Clara’s applica-

tion would be kept on file for consideration nearer the time

when the City could actually begin purchasing federal

power. When the Trinity River Division of the CVP came

on line in early 1963, the additional power which became

2. In 1976, the price of CVP power ($.005 per kilowatt hour)

was roughly one-fourth of that charged by PG&E ($.019 per kilo-

watt hour).

+ Appendix

available was allocated to other preference customers which

were able to take it immediately.

Between 1963 and 1964, CVP’s generating capacity in-

creased further. Notice of the availability of additional

power was sent to all preference entities, Santa Clara

among them, asking for estimates of present load require-

ments and future load growth. The additional power was

ultimately allocated to then existing preference customers

and Santa Clara was again excluded because of its inability

to take power immediately.

Concerned that all CVP power was fast becoming spoken

for, Santa Clara telegraphed the Secretary in July, 1964,

asserting that its contract with PG&E was not binding

and requesting an immediate allocation of power, on a

withdrawable basis if necessary. The Secretary replied

that, while all anticipated power was committed to meet

the growth needs of other preference customers, 75,000

kilowatts could be offered to the City on a withdrawable

basis.

On November 30, 1965, Santa Clara finally contracted

with the Secretary for the supply of 75,000 kilowatts of

CVP power on a withdrawable basis. At the same time,

Santa Clara entered into an agreement with PG&E which

required the utility to supply the City with sufficient elec-

tricity to meet any power requirements not satisfied by the

CVP allotment.

Santa Clara’s original allotment of 75,000 kilowatts was

revised upward several times after 1965 by contract amend-

ment. The City’s allotment peaked at 120,000 kilowatts

in 1970, after which the Secretary, by unilateral ‘contract

amendment, began withdrawing power from Santa Clara

to meet the needs of its older preference customers.

Between 1971 and 1974, the City’s allotment was cut back

Appendix 3

from 120,000 kilowatts to 71,450 kilowatts. This amount

is likely to dwindle still further if the Secretary has his

way.

During the period when Santa Clara was receiving all of

its power requirements from the CVP, it continued to ask

the Secretary for a nonwithdrawable allocation. However,

as additional power became available. the Secretary decided

to hold it for preference customers already receiving non-

withdrawable allotments, rather than to offer it to custom-

ers with withdrawable allocations such as Santa Clara. On

February 4, 1972, the Secretary finally informed Santa

Clara by letter that he would not allocate nonwithdrawable

power to the City, then or at any time.

In 1971, when the government began withdrawing power

from Santa Clara, PG&E began monthly billings for that

portion of the City’s requirements not met by the CVP allo-

eation and supplied hy PG&F. Contending that the with-

drawals were unlawful and consequently ineffective, Santa

Clara insisted that its power needs were stil] heing fully

supplied by the Seeretary. The City began paving the

moneys demanded by PG&E into an escrow account and

has done so ever since.

PROCEEDINGS IN THE TRIAL COURT

On July 25, 1975, Santa Clara filed this action against the

Secretary and the Commissioner of the Bureau of Reclama-

tion (the federal defendants), seeking declaratory and

injunctive relief. In its complaint th City challenged the

withdrawal of CVP power and the Secretary’s refusal to

supply it with a nonwithdrawable allocation. PG&E inter-

vened as a party-defendant, counterclaiming for declara-

tory relief with respect to the funds held in escrow. Al]

-

parties moved for summary judgment,

=

me

2he En gb AE pete oe ge

6 Appendix

On July 23, 1976, the district court issued its opinion,

City of Santa Clara v. Kleppe, N.D.Cal., 1976, 418 F.Supp.

1245, holding as follows: (1) Santa Clara’s action is not

barred by sovereign immunity; (2) the Seeretary’s con-

tractual relationship with PG&E does not violate the recla-

mation laws: (5) the Seeretary’s decisions allocating CVP

power are reviewable; (4) Congress has not approved the

existing allocation scheme: (5) the Seeretary violated the

Administrative Procedure Act (APA) by failing to pro-

mulgate and publish rules of procedure governing the allo-

eation of CVP power: (6) the Secretary’s actions denied

Santa Clara due process; and (7) the National Environ-

mental Policy Act (NEPA) did not require the Secretary to

file an envircnmental impact statement before withdrawing

power from the City. The district court’s opinion contained

no ruling on defendants’ claim that Santa Clara’s action

was untimely and barred by laches.

Although the trial court held that the Seeretary’s market-

ing decisions were reviewable, it did not pass on the lawful-

ness of the existing allocation scheme. Instead, it remanded

the action to the Secretary with instructions to remedy the

due process and APA violations. With regard to PG&F’s

counterclaim, the court ruled that the utility’s right to be

reimbursed by Santa Clara would depend upon the alloea-

tion scheme adopted by the Secretary on remand. The court

therefore ordered that the disputed funds remain tempo-

rarily in eserow.* Tt also dismissed the action without

prejudice.

3. The court later modified this decision, ordering that one quar-

ter of the funds in escrow be disbursed to PG&E to enable the utility

to recoup the costs inevrred in purchasing the power ultimately

resold to Santa Clara. See City of Santa Clara v. Kleppe, N.D.Cal..

1976, 428 F.Supp. 315.

Appendix 7

I.

JURISDICTION ON APPEAL

Although the dismissal of the action “in its entirety” is

“without prejudice,” we find that the judgment based upon

it is a final judgment, appealable under 28 U.S.C. $ 1291.

The language “without prejudice” avoids the “on the mer-

its” effect of Rule 41(hb), F.R.Civ.P., and permits the filing

of a new action by any party dissatisfied with the Secre-

tary’s action on remand. Tt is still true, however. that the

judgment disposes of the action. Moreover, the remand is,

in substance, a mandatory injunction requiring certain ac-

tion by the Secretary, and so appealable under 28 U.S.C.

$ 1292(a)(1) assuming, but not deciding, that it is not a

final judgment under § 1291,

We have jurisdiction. See Gueory v. Hampton, 1974, 167

U.S.App.D.C. 1, 4, 510 F.2d 1222, 1295: Hines x. D’ Artois,

) Cir., 1976, 531 F.2d 726, 730.

II.

LACHES AND THE STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS

The federal defendants argue that this action is barred

by either the six-year statute of limitations, 28 U.S.C.

§2401(a), or the doctrine of laches. These arguments are

hased on the assumption that Santa Clara’s claim for relief

arose no later than 1965 when the City entered into a con-

tract with the Secretary for the supply of withdrawable

CVP power.

Long after 1965, however, the Secretary, through the

regional director of the Bureau of Reclamation, continued

to assure Santa Clara that its applications for nonwith-

drawable power would receive due consideration in the

future. It was not until 1972 that the Secretary informed

Sey ates great ere

8 Appendix

the City by letter that all firm CVP power was committed

to meet the growth needs of other preference customers.

Until that date, the City could reasonably have believed

that it could, in future, secure an allocation of firm power.

We therefore conclude that Santa Clara’s claim for relief

did not arise until 1972, when the Secretary finally told the

City, in unequivocal terms, that its applications for non-

withdrawable power would not be considered, then or later.

TTT.

REVIEWABILITY OF THE SECRETARY'S

DECISIONS

PG&E and the federai defendants assert that the Secre-

tary’s decisions concerning the allocation of CVP power

are immune from judicial review. Specifically, they contend

that the Secretary’s marketing decisions are actions “com-

mitted to ageney discretion by law” within the meaning of

the APA, 5 U.S.C. § 701(a) (2).

Judicial reviewability of administrative action is the rale

and nonreviewability a narrow exception, the existence of

which must be clearly demonstrated. Arizona Power Pool-

ing Ass’n v. Morton, 9 Cir., 1975, 527 F.2d 721, 727, cert.

denied, 1976, 425 U.S. 911, 96 S.Ct. 1506, 47 L.F.d.2d 761. The

Supreme Court has stated that review is precluded only “in

those rare instances where ‘statutes are drawn in such

broad terms that in a given case there is no law to apply.’ ”

Citizens To Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe, 1971, 401 U.S.

402, 410, 91 S.Ct. 814, 821, 28 L.F.d.2d 136. See also, Ness

Investment Corp. v. United States Department of Aqricul-

ture, Forest Service, 9 Cir., 1975, 512 F.2d 706, 713. Tf. how-

ever, no law fetters the exercise of administrative discre-

tion, the courts have no standard against which to measure

the lawfulness of agenev action. In such eases no issues sus-

Appendix 9

ceptible of judicial resolution are presented and the courts

are accordingly without jurisdiction. Arizona Power Au-

thority v. Morton, 9 Cir., 1977, 549 F.9d 1231, 1239, cert.

denied, 1977, ...... 1p . Sato »98S.Ct. 124, 54 L.d.2d 97,

In considering whether administrative action is “com-

nitted to ageney discretion by law” within the meaning of

the APA, the test “is not whether a statute viewed in the

abstract lacks law to be applied, but rather, whether ‘in a

given case’ there is no law to be applied.” Strickland ,

Morton, 9 Cir., 1975, 519 F.2d 467, 470 (emphasis in origi-

nal). Thus the existence of some law generally applicable to

the subject matter in question will not necessarily remove

administrative action from the “eommitted to agency dis-

cretion” rubric. There is “law to apply,” only if a specific

statute limits the agenev’s discretion to act in the manner

which is challenged,

A. The Refusal to Contract with Santa Clara for Firm

Power.

Santa Clara says that two statutes provide “law to ap-

ply” in evaluating the Seeretary’s decisions eoncerning the

sale of power generated by the CVP to Santa Clara. The

first is the Central Valley Project Authorization Act. 50

Stat. 850, which incorporates generally the provisions of

the reclamation laws. Section 9(e) of the Reclamation Proj-

ect Act of 1939, 43 T.S.C. $ 485h(e), defines a class of cus-

tomers which are to receive a preference in the sale of

power generated by federal reclamation projects, The class

of preference customers includes “municipalities and other

public corporations or agencies.”

Our recent decision in the ease of Arizona Power An-

thority v. Morton, sapra, forecloses Santa Clara’s arewment

that the Secretary, by“providing other public entities with

10 Appendix

nonwithdrawable power allocations while denying sueh a

“firm” allocation to Santa Clara, thereby violated the terms

of the preference clause, In that case a group of preference

customers for power in Arizona challenged the Seeretary’s

decision to alloeate most of the power produced by Colorado

River Storage Project (CRSP) generating facilities to

preference customers located in the “upper basin” states of

Wyoming, Colorado, Utah and New Mexico. We held that

the Secretary was obliged to market power generated by

CRSP facilities to preference customers in accord with the

dictates of the Reclamation Project Act of 1939, 43 U.S.C.

§ 485h(¢), but concluded that the preference clause permit-

ted the Secretary to discriminate against some preference

entities in favor of others. “[T]t would appear in light of

his broad discretion that the Secretary may adopt whatever

geographic preference he desires and that we have no juris-

diction to review his action.” 549 F.2d at 1241.

The preference clause requires only that publie entities

be given a preference over private entities in the marketing

of power generated by federal reclamation projects. Ari-

zona Power Pooling Ass’n ». Morton, supra, 527 F.2d at

726-28, It does not require that all preference customers be

treated equally or that all potential preference customers

receive an allotment. Arizona Power Authority v. Morton,

supra, 549 F.2d at 1241, 1252. Where, as here, one prefer-

ence entity challenges the Secretary's decision to diserimi-

nate against it in favor of other preference entities, the

reclamation laws provide no law to apply to the dispute. Tf

he so chooses, the Secretary can market al] available CVP

power to a single public entity without running afoul of the

preference clause.

In Arizona v. California, 1963, 373 U.S. 546, 83 S.Ct. 1468,

10 L.Fd.2d 542, the Court considered the seope of the Seere-

Appendix 11

tary’s authority to allocate the waters of the Colorado

River pursuant to the Boulder Canyon Project Act. The

Court stated:

The general authority to make contracts normally in-

cludes the power to choose with whom and upon what

terms the contracts will be made. When Congress in an

Act grants authority to contract, that authority is no

less than the general authority, unless Congress has

placed some limit on it... . |W Je are persuaded that

had Congress intended . . . to feter the Secretary’s

discretion, it would have done so in clear and unequivo-

eal terms... 373 U.S. at 580, 83 S.Ct. at 1487.

Nothing in the legislative history of the Reclamation Pro}-

ect Act of 1939 suggests that Congress intended to limit the

Secretary’s discretion to interpret the preference clause in

making decisions as to whether or how or on what terms he

will sell power to particular preference customers as com-

pared to other preference customers.

Santa Clara also relies on Section 5 of the Flood Control

Act of 1944, 16 U.S.C. § 825s, as providing an alternative

standard against which the Secretary's marketing decisions

can be measured. In pertinent part, seetion 5 provides that

power is to be disposed of “in sueh manner as to encourage

the most widespread use thereof consistent with sound

business principles.” By its terms this directive governs

only the sale of power generated by flood control projects

operated by the Department of the Army. The standard’s

applicability: to the sale of power generated by the CVP,

which is operated by the Burean of Reclamation, is there-

fore questionable. Santa Clara maintains that the federal

defendants themselves, as a matter of departmental pohiey,

have long regarded the provisions of the Flood Control Act

12 Appendix

as applicable to the marketing of CVP power. We find it

unnecessary to decide whether the Flood Control Act does

apply to the sale of power generated by the CVP because

the standard that it contains, even if applicable, is too

vague and general to provide law to apply.

The Flood Control Act’s directive to market power in

such a way as to “encourage the most widespread use there-

of” could be interpreted in many different ways, such as to

require that power be sold to as many different preference

entities as possible, thereby fostering the most widespread

geographic use of the power, or to mandate sale of the

power to those preference entities whose customers present

the most diversified mix of agricultural, industrial or resi-

dential users, or to require sale of federal power to those

preference entities which serve the largest number of ulti-

mate consumers,

Clearly, the “most widespread use” standard is suscepti-

ble of widely divergent interpretations. As we said of

another law in Strickland v. Morton, supra, “[t]he provi-

sions of this statute breathe discretion at every pore.” 519

F.2d at 469. The statute permits the exercise of the widest

administrative discretion by the Secretary. It does not sup-

ply “law to apply.” See Arizona Power Authority v. Mor-

ton, supra, S49 F.2d at 1252.

Tn Panama Canal Co, v. Grace Lines, Inc., 1958, 356 U.S.

309, TS S.Ct. 752, 2 L.led.2d 788, the Court was asked to

review the federally chartered Canal Company’s decision to

require ships passing through the Canal to pay particular

tolls. While the applicable statute set out in some detail the

criteria to be considered by the Company in prescribing

tolls, the Court concluded that the Company's diseretion in

interpreting the statute was so broad as to bring it within 5

U.S.C. § 701(a)(2) (formerly § 1009) and thus to preclude

judicial reviews:

Appendix 13

Where the matter is peradventure clear, where the

agency is clearly derelict in failing to act, where the

inaction or action turns on a mistake of law, then judi-

cial relief is often available ... But where the duty to

act turns on matters of doubtful or highly debatable

inference from loose statutory terms, the very con-

stri«tion of the statute is a distinet and profound exer-

cise of diseretion, 356 U.S. at 318, 78 S.Ct. at 757.

We conclude that the Seeretary’s refusal to allocate non-

withdrawable power to Santa Clara is unreviewable because

there is “no law to apply.” The preference clause contained

in the Reclamation Project Act of 1939 does not prevent the

Secretary from discriminating against some preference

entities to the benefit of others. The Flood Control Act of

1944, while arguably applicable to the sale of power gener-

ated by the CVP, is so imprecise that its interpretation

requires a “profound exercise of discretion” of the sort

deseribed in the Panama Canal ease. The trial court’s find-

ing that the Secretary's marketing decisions as to the terms

on which he will market power to preference customers are

reviewable is in error. Decisions concerning the proper

allocation of CVP power among preference entities are

“action committed to ageney diseretion by law” within the

meaning of the APA and as such are unreviewable/

4. Although the argument was not raised in the trial] court,

Santa Clara now argues on appeal that inclusion of the Folsom

Dam in the CVP network mandates application of a power market-

ing standard similar to that contained in the Flood Control Act,

Section 4 of the American River Act of 1949, 63 Stat. O82, directs

the Seeretary of the Interior to operate Folsom Dam “in such

manner as will effectuate the fullest and most economic utilization

of the land and water resources of the Central Valley project of

California for the widest publie benefit.” This marketing standard

is as imprecise as that contained in the Flood Control Act and we

reject the argument that it provides law. to apply to the instant

dispute.

14 Appendic

B. The Sale of Power to PG&E.

Santa Clara challenges the Secretary's decision to sell

massive quantities of CVP power to PG&E, a privately

owned utility While we have concluded that the preference

clause contained in section 9(¢) of the Reclamation Project

Act of 1959 does not provide law to apply to the Secretary’s

decision to allocate CVP power among preference customers

in one fashion rather than another, the statute clearly does

provide a standard against which the propriety of sales to

non-preference entities such as PG&E can be measured.

Arizona Power Pooling Ass’n v. Morton, suprae

PG&E and the federal defendants do not argue other-

wise. They concede the applicability of the preference

clause but contend that the present marketing scheme does

not violate the clause because power is not sold outright to

PG&E but is rather “banked” temporarily with the utility

pursuant to government contract. The contract provides

that all CVP power which is sold to PG&E is subject to the

5. As we said in East Oakland-Fruitvale Planning Couneil v.

Rumsfeld, 9 Cir., 1972, 471 F.2d 524:

Agency action is made unreviewable by 5 U.S.C. § 701(a) (2)

only “to the extent” that it is committed to ageney diseretion.

. An “all or nothing” approach to reviewability would, in

specifie cases, either be unfair to persons aggrieved by ageney

action, or impose an unwise burden upon the ageney or the

courts. Accordingly, separable issues appropriate for judicial

determination are to be reviewed, though other aspects of the

agency action may be committed to the agency's expertise and

discretion.

If a statute or regulation establishes a rule governing the

conduct of the ageney with respect to an aspect of the agency

action, a court may determine whether the agency has eom-

plied with that rule, although the court still may not review

other aspects of the ageney action as to which there are no

reasonably fixed rules to apply. The presence of a judicially

enforceable rule both justifies judicial review, and limits its

scope.

471 F.2d at 533-34.

Appendix 15

Secretary's right to repurchase at a later date, at the origi-

nal price plus a “handling charge,” plus the difference in

cost to PG&E of producing the power sold to the Secretary

over PG&E's similar cost at the time it bought.

The Secretary maintains that this arrangement is de-

signed to enable him to supply the growth needs of selected

preference customers until 1980, By “banking” power with

PG&E during periods when the total output of the CVP

exceeds the demands of these selected customers, the Sec-

retary creates an “account” which he can draw on to satisfy

their requirements when demand outstrips supply. It is more

accurate to state that the contract requires that an account

be kept of all power sold to PG&E and that the Secretary

may thereafter purchase power, up to that amount, from

PG&E. PG&E sells the power that it buys from the Seere-

tary to its customers at its price. To describe this arrange-

ment as “banking” is to use an inaccurate and somewhat

misleading figure of speech.

The relationship between the Secretary and PG&E and

the Secretary’s preference customers such as Sar ta Clara is

further complicated by two facts. The first is that CVP

power is fed into PG&E’s distribution system and is trans-

mitted by PG&E over its lines to preference customers and

to PG&E's own customers. At the same time. power pro-

duced by PG&E is also fed into the same distribution sys-

tem. Once that happens, it is physically impossible, or at

least not practicable, to identify any particular unit of

power as CVP power or as PG&E power. Thus, in theory,

PG&E receives CVP power from CVP and transmits it (or

“wheels” it) to Santa Clara over PG&E's lines. In fact, the

transinitted power cannot be and is not so identified. The

problem is solved by bookkeeping. Track is kept of the

amount of CVP power that enters the PG&E system. The

16 Appendix

Secretary tells PG&E how much of it is for each preference

customer. PG&E supplies that amount of power to each.

The Secretary then bills each preference customer for that

power at the Secretary's price. CVP power received by

PG&E and not treated as transmitted to preference cus-

tomers of the Secretary is treated as sold by the Secretary

to PG&E and PG&E pays the Seeretary for it. This is the

power that is said to be “banked” under the PG&E contract

with the Secretary.

The second fact is that there is now being fed into the

PG&Ir system more government produced power than is

being produced by CVP power plants. This is because of

the creation of the Northwest intertie, whereby substantial

amounts of power are being transmitted to the CVP area

from the Northwest. The PG&E contract with the Secretary

relates to that power as well as to CVP power. It is sug-

gested that the Northwest power never would have been

available to preference customers in the CVP area without

the cooperation of PG&i* embodied in the contract with the

Secretary. We assume that this is true, but that fact cannot

diminish the Secretary’s legal obligation to sell to prefer-

ence customers. Neither the Secretary nor PG&E argues

that the full “Project Dependable Capacity” as defined in

the contract, paragraphs 9(a) and (i) and 11, is not subject

to the preference clause. Their only argument is that the

“banking” provisions of the contract satisfy the require-

ments of the preference clause.

The trial court coneluded that the “banking” of CVP

power with PG&E was not violative of the preference

clause. We conclude that the present marketing scheme in-

volves the sale of power to PG&E and that the terms of the

preference provisions are not satisfied by the government's

repurchase right.

Appendix 17

The preference clause states a clear legislative intent and

requirement that the Secretary shall favor public entities

in the sale of power generated by federal reclamation

projects. As we noted recently in Arizona Power Pooling

Ass'n v. Morton, supra, “[t]he text of the preference provi-

sion is couched in mandatory terms, stating that ‘preference

shall be given’ (emphasis added) to certain public entities

in governmental sales or leases of electric power or power

privileges.” 527 F.2d at 727. The Secretary is thus given a

very specific directive to market federal power to preference

customers if any are ready and willing to purchase it. Tt is

only if the available supply exceeds the demands of inter-

ested preference customers that the Secretary may offer

federal power to private entities. 41 Op.A.G. 236, 1955,

Disposition of Surplus Power Generated At Clark ITill

Reservoir Preject®

In this case the Secretary has marketed CVP power to

PG&E, a non-preference entity, during times when a prefer-

ence customer was having its allotment gradually reduced,

6. In advising the Secretary as to the propriety of his proposed

scheme for allocating power generated by the Clark Hill Reservoir

Project, Attorney General Brownell was ealled upon to interpret

the Flood Control Act of 1944, whieh contains a preference clause

almost identical to that contained in the Reclamation Project Act

of 1939. The Attorney General construed the preference provision

to require that “when the Secretary of the Interior has before him

two competing offers to purchase power, one by a preference cus-

tomer, and the former does not have at the time the physical means

to take and distribute the power, he must contract with the preter-

ence customer on condition that such customer will, within a rea-

sonable time to be fixed by the Secretary, obtain the means for

taking and delivering the power.” Disposition of Surplus Power

Generated At Clark Hill Reservoir Project, supra, 41 Op.A.G. at

243-44. Thus, in Attorney General Brownell’s estimation. even ‘the

present inability of a preference customer to take federal power is

insufficient to justify a decision by the Seeretary to permanently

commit the power to a non-preference customer. Here, of course

Santa Clara is able to take its full power requirements from the

CVP and has done so in the past. . c

1 Appendix

over its objection. It is claimed that PG&E’s allotment was

more than adequate to satisfy Santa Clara’s full require-

ments.’ Nevertheless, the Secretary has, since 1971, pro-

gressively reduced Santa Clara’s withdrawable allocation.

In defense of the Secretary's arrangement with PG&E,

gD

he maintains that he is storing up power with the utility

for the future benefit of selected preference customers. In

the meantime, however, to the extent that Santa Clara could

have purchased the power, a private utility is profiting from

the low cost of federal power at the expense of a preference

entity. This result, we think, does violence to the plain

meaning and intent of the preference provision.

While the stated goal of the banking arrangement is con-

sonant with the preference clause, inasmuch as all CVP

power is ultimately committed to meet the needs of public

entities, the propriety of the goal cannot save the scheme

if its interim effects are violative of the statute. That may

be the case here. Congress intended publie entities, when-

ever possible, to benefit from the sale of low cost federal

7. The following is a comparison of the CVP power sold to

Santa Clara as compared to the amount sold to PG&E [in kilo-

watts]:

SANTA CLARA PG&E

BOUED accncttisiivindasmenanan 71,490 282.183

cae AIRES TIS. 78.863 198,063

} NT ER 89,367 81,377

WIRED wvicknccinmicnmaieeteaatae 92,031 79,713

POD cxcimasnicsacnessscibaiaaeannie 106,128 55,944

FOO ccntsininciiamcadiauaae 116,471 26,406

|; f ani HPS NINES 112,696 278,724

BPE niccssnsitiemepeemdalaea 89,200 382,000

BOE acicwscncinsen eee 86.550 382,000

[| RMN er we te 73,300 387,786

j | eames FCT, 73,800 337,000

The sales to PG&E are in such high quantity that this nonprefer-

ence customer has become the Bureau’s largest customer.

(Opening Brief of Santa Clara, pp. 4445). These figures are not

disputed by the Secretary or by PG&E.

Appendix 19

power. An arrangement which enables a nonpreference

entity to reap a benefit which Congress sought to bestow

upon public entities, even temporarily, flies in the face of

that intent.

It is no answer for the Secretary to say that he is merely

“banking” power with the utility, rather than selling it out-

right. A sale is no less a sale because the buyer is obliged,

upon the seller’s demand, to resell an equivalent amount to

the seller. The plain fact is that the power which is con-

veyed to PG&E does not sit idly in storage, awaiting with-

drawal by the government. Instead it is resold by PG&E to

its own customers at a substantial mark up. This is a sale,

regardless of the verbiage employed to characterize the

arrangement.

In United States v. City and County of San Francisco,

1940, 310 US. 16, 60 S.Ct. 749, 84 L.Ed. 1050 the Court

considered a challenge to the sale by San Francisco to

PG&E of power generated from the Heteh Hetchy project

in Yosemite National Park Section 6 of the Raker Act, 38

Stat. 242, which governed disposition of the power by San

Francisco, prohibited the City “from ever selling or letting

to any corporation or individual, except a municipality or

municipal water district or irrigation district, the right to

sell or sublet the water or the electric energy soid or given

to it” by the United States. San Francisco argued that

although it conveyed power to PG&E, section 6 was not

violated because the power was “consigned” and not sold, to

the utility, which acted as “agent” for the City in transmit-

ting and selling the power. The court concluded that San

Francisco's contractual relationship with PG&E contra-

vened the legislative intent behind the Raker Act regardless

of the words used to describe it:

20 Appendix

Terminology of consignment of power, rather than

of transfer by sale, and verbal description of the power

Company as the City’s agent or consignee, are not suffi-

cient to take the actions of the parties under the con-

tract out of $6. Congress, in effect trustee of public

lands for all the people, has by this Act sought to pro-

tect and control the disposition of a section of the

public domain. The City has in fact followed a course

of conduct which Congress, by § 6, has forbidden. Mere

words and ingenuity of contractual expression, what-

ever their effect between the parties, cannot by descrip-

tion make permissible a course of conduct forbidden

by law. When we look behind the word description of

the arrangement between the City and the power Com-

pany to what was actually done, we see that the City

has—contrary to the terms of § 6—abdicated its con-

trol over the sale and ultimate distribution of Hetch-

Hetechy power. 310 U.S. at 28, 60 S.Ct. at 756.

While the preference clause directs the Secretary to

extend a preterence to public entities in the sale of power

generated by federal reclamation projects, that mandate is

qualified slightly by the following proviso:

No contract relating to... electric power or power

privileges shall he made unless, in the judgment of the

Secretary, it will not impair the efficieney of the project

for irrigation purposes. 43 U.S.C. § 485h(e).

Thus the Secretary is prohibited from selling CVP power

to a preierence entity if, in his estimation, to do so would

have the effect of cutting back on the power necessary to

operate the project’s pumping facilities.

Before the trial court, the Secretary sought to justify

the sale of power to PG&E on the sole ground that the gov-

Appendix 21

ernment’s right to repurchase power “banked” with the

utility satisfied the preference clause. The issue of the

CVP’s efficiency for irrigation purposes, and the likely im-

pact of the present marketing scheme, or of Santa Clara’s

attack upon it, on that efficiency, were not addressed by

any of the parties in their moving papers upon which the

trial court rendered its decision.

In light of the paucity of information adduced on this

key issue, we are loathe to hold the sale of power to PG&E

at Santa Clara’s expense flatly invalid. Tt is conceivable

that the Secretary’s decision to favor PG&E over Santa

Clara in the marketing of CVP power could be justified as

a measure designed to maximize the project’s efficiency for

its primary purpose, which is irrigation.

PG&E and the Seeretary argue that during at least part

of the period beginning in 1972, when the Secretary was

gradually reducing Santa Clara’s allotment, CVP did not

have the energy necessary to supply Santa Clara, and

Santa Clara was not willing or able to take such intermit-

tent power as was being sold to PG&E. Tt is also claimed

that some of the power sold by the Secretary to PG&E may

not have heen subject to the preference clause. The trial

court did not decide these questions. They can be consid-

ered on remand, as can the issue of CVP’s efficiency for

irrigation purposes if the Secretary chooses to raise it.

C. Congressional Approval.

The federal defendants argue that Congress ratified the

existing power allocation scheme when it appropriated

moneys for the construction of an extra high voltage inter-

tie hetween the Pacifie Northwest and Pacifie Southwest.

To show ratification, the government must sustain the

heavy burden of demonstrating congressional knowledge

22 Appendix

of the precise course of action alleged to have been aequi-

esced in. United States v. Beebe, 1901, 180 U.S. 348, 354,

21 S.Ct. 871, 45 Led. 563; United States v. Georgia-Pacific

Co., 9 Cir, 1970, 421 F.2d 92, 102 n. 28.

We fully agree with the distriet court’s determination

that the record in this case “does not support a finding of

congressional knowledge of the exclusion of post-1964 pref-

erence customers from receiving nonwithdrawable CVP

power sufficient to equate passage of the appropriations

hills with ratification of the exclusion.” City of Santa Clara

vr. Kleppe, supra, 418 F.Supp. at 1256. Similar efforts to

infer congressional approval of specific ageney actions

from the enactment of general appropriations measures

proved unsuccessful in Arizona Power Pooling Ass'n v.

Morton, supra, 527 F.2d at 725-26. See also, Associated

Electric Cooperative Inc. v. Morton, 1974, 165 U.S.App.D.¢.

844, 951-52, 507 F.2d 1167, 1174-75, cert. denied. 1975, 423

TLS. 830, 96 S.Ct. 49, 46 L.ed.2d 47. We think that those

decisions are controlling here.

IV.

RULE MAKING AND THE

ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURE ACT

Santa Clara urges, and the district court found. that the

procedures followed by the Secretary in arriving at his

marketing decisions failed to comport with certain provi-

sions contained in the APA. While we have concluded that

the Seeretary’s scheme for allocating CVP power among

preference customers is substantially unreviewable, the

adequacy of the procedures utilized in formulating the

marketing scheme is a separable issue. Faust Oakland-F ruit-

vale Planning Council v. Rumsfeld, 9 Cir.. 1972, 471 F.9d

524, 555-35, See also, Moore-McCormack Lines. Ine. v.

Appendix 23

United States, Ct.Cl., 1969, 413 F.2d 568, 581; Saferstein,

“Nonreviewability: A Functional Analysis of ‘Committed

to Agency Discretion,’ ” 82 Harv.L.Revy. 367, 272 (1968),

The rule making section of the APA, 5 U.S.C. § 553, re-

quires federal agencies to notify the public, conduct hear-

ings, and consider the input of interested parties, before

promulating new substantive rules. However, that section

expressly exempts from the rule making requirements all

matters “relating to... public property.” 5 U.S.C. § 553(a)

(2). Power generated hy federal reclamation projects is

certainly public property: hence the Secretary, in deciding

how to allocate CVP output, is not hound to follow the

procedures mandated by 5 U.S.C. § 553. Associated Electric

Cooperative, Inc. v. Morton, supra, 165 U.S. App.D.C. at

394-55, 507 F.2d at 1177-78. Northern California Power

Agency «. Morton, D.D.C.. 1975, 396 F.Supp. 1187, 1191 n.

6, aff'd 1976, 176 U.S.App.D.C. 241, 339 F.2d 243.

Santa Clara nonetheless argues, and the trial eourt held,

that 5 U.S.C. § 552, the “Public Information” section of the

APA, requires the Secretary to promulgate rules to be

followed in arriving at power marketing decisions. In

pertinent part, 5 U.S.C. $552(a)(1) provides that each

agency shall publish in the Federal Register:

(B) statements of the general course and method by

which its functions are channeled and determined .. .

(C) rules of procedure...

(D) substantive rules of general applicability adopted

as authorized by law, and statements of general poliey

or interpretation of general applicability formulated

and adopted by the agency . .

As amended in 1966, section 352 also provides that “[felx-

cept to the extent that a person has actual and timely notice

24 Appendix

of the terms thereof, a person may not in any manner

be required to resort to, or be adversely affected by, a

matter required to be published in the Federal Register

and not so published.”

On its face, section 552 requires only the publication of

existing rules and not the promulgation of new ones.

The section requires agencies to make “available” proce-

dures by which their functions “are channeled and deter-

mined,” and the substantive rules and general policies

which have been “adopted” or “formulated and adopted.”

This interpretation is bolstered by the existence of an

entirely separate section, $553, headed “rule making,” and

by the legislative history of the APA itself. The legisla-

tive history suggests that in enacting § 552, Congress was

concerned exclusively with the dearth of published deserip-

tions concerning agency structure, function, and procedure.

In 1941, the Senate Judiciary Committee held extensive

hearings on the soon to be enacted APA. During those

hearings, spokesmen for numerous agencies repeatedly

voiced that fear that the publica’ion provisions contained

in the proposed law might be construed to require them

to develop new rules and regulations, Dean Acheson, Chair-

man of the Committee appointed by President Roosevelt

to make recommendations for improving administrative

procedure, addressed these fears in a formal statement

to the Senate Judiciary Committee. Of the predecessor

provision of section 552, Acheson said:

. . [I]n order that persons may know what the

policies and interpretations of an agency are, we

suggest in section 201(2) that all such policies and

interpretations, and the procedures whether formal

or informal, and the forms of an ageney be made

available.

Appendix 25

There has been some misunderstanding about the

scope of this subsection (2). It is not intended to

require agencies to make up policies and interpreta-

tions of law, or procedures, out of whole cloth merely

for the sake of making them. Rather this section is

intended to require agencies to make available to the

public those policies and procedures which have he-

come crystallized, which through experience have been

formulated and adopted. Hearings before a subeom-

mittee of the Senate Judiciary Committee on S, 674,

S. 675 and S. 918, 77th Cong., Ist Sess. 829 (1941)

The House and Senate Reports on the APA likewise

suggest that Congress, in enacting § 552. sought only to

insure that those administrative rules which had “erys-

tallized” would be made available to the publie:

The public information requirements of section 2

are In many ways the most important, far-reaching,

and useful provisions of the bill. For the information

and protection of the public wherever located, these

provisions require agencies to take the mystery out

of administrative procedure by stating it. The section

has been drawn upon the theory that administrative

operations and procedures are public property which

the general public, rather than a few specialists or

lobbyists, is entitled to know or to have the ready

means of knowing with definiteness and assurance.

Senate Committee on the Judiciary, Administrative

Procedure Act, S.Rep.No. 752, 79th Cong., Ist Sess.

198 (1945). See also House Committee on the Judici-

ary, Administrative Procedure Act, H.Rep. No. 1980,

79th Cong., 2d Sess, 255 (1946),

Santa Clara cites Vorton +. Ruiz, 1974, 415 U.S. 199, 94

S.Ct. 1055, 39 L.ed.2d 270, for the proposition that § 552

requires not simply the publication of established rules but

26 Appendir

also the formulation of new ones. In that case the Bureau

of Indian Affairs (BIA) refused to provide general assist-

ance benefits to an Indian couple who had left their reserva-

tion to settle in a nearby Indian community. In summarily

denying the couple’s application for benefits, the BIA

cited a provision contained in its Indian Affairs Manual, an

internal operations brochure, which restricted benefits to

Indians remaining on the reservation. The Court held that

this restriction was based on an impermissible construction

of the act which established the assistance program and

on this basis the Court held it invalid.

The Conrt went on to announce in dicta that even if the

restriction were consonant with congressional intent, section

552 required publication of the eligibility requirements for

receiving benefits. The policy of restricting benefits to

on-reservation Indians involved in orton v. Ruiz had

clearly “crystallized.” Indeed, it was enshrined in an in-

ternal operations manual. Because the rule had already

been formulated by the BIA and was routinely applied by

the ageney, section 552 required publication,

Here, in contrast, it is not alleged that the Secretary has

formulated any rules, substantive or procedural, for the

allocation of CVP power. That being so, there is apparently

nothing to publish. While some may deplore this state of

affairs, the rule making section of the APA, § 553, mani-

fests a clear legislative intent to permit ad hoc decision

making in the distribution of publie property. Senate Com-

mittee on the Judiciary, Administrative Procedure Act,

S.Rep.No. 752, 79th Cong., Ist Sess. 199 (1945).8 Duke City

8. With regard to the publie property exemption to the rule

making requirement, the Senate Report on the APA states:

The exception of proprietary matters is included because the

principal consideration in most such cases relate to mechanics

and interpretations or policy, and it is deemed wise to encour-

Appendix 27

Lumber Co, v. Butz, D.D.C., 1974, 382 F.Supp. 362, 373,

aff'd, 176 U.S.App.D.C, 218, 539 F.2d 220, cert. denied, 1977,

429 U.S. 1039, 97 S.Ct. 737, 50 L.Fd.2d 751. We cannot read

a rule making requirement into $552, or interpret the

section in such a way as to render meaningless the publie

property exemption contained in § 553.

In Gonzalez v. Freeman, 1964, 118 U.S.App.D.C. 180, 334

F.2d 570, and W. G. Cosby Transfer & Storage Corp. v.

Froehlke, 4 Cir., 1973, 480 F.2d 498, 5 U.S.C. $552 was

interpreted to require agencies to promulgate rules and

procedures which had not theretofore been “erystallized.”

The actual holding in each case was that the agency involved

could not terminate a business relationship existing be-

tween the agency and the plaintiff without affording a due

process type hearing. In each case there is language to the

effect that $552 required the agency to formulate and

adopt rules describing the grounds upon which the agency

would act and the procedures that it would follow. But in

neither case did the court do what the trial court did here,

order the agency to formulate and adopt such rules. To the

extent that these cases can be said to stand for the proposi-

tion that $552 requires an agency to formulate and adopt

rules, we decline to follow them. The trial court’s decision

in this case, insofar as it reqnires the Secretary to form-

ulate and adopt rules governing his decisions in marketing

power to preference customers, is in error,

age and facilitate the issuance of rules by dispensing with all

mandatory procedural requirements. None of these exceptions

however, is to be taken as encouraging agencies not to adopt

voluntary public rule making procedures where useful to the

agency or beneficial to the public. The exceptions merely

confer a complete diseretion upon agencies to decide what. if

any, public rule making procedures they will adopt in a given

situation. ... ;

S.Rep.No. 752, 79th Cong., Ist Sess., at 199 (1945),

28 Appendix

V.

DUE PROCESS

Santa Clara argues that it has a sufficient property

interest in CVP power to entitle it to due process protee-

tion. The trial court agreed, and further held that the

federal defendants had failed to accord Santa Clara that

process which was due. The court therefore ordered the

federal defendants, infer alia, to (1) re-evaluate the present

power allocation scheme with an eye toward possible revi-

sion: (2) announce the standards used in devising the

allocation scheme then proposed; (38) afford all interested

parties an opportunity to comment on the proposed market-

ing plan: (4) hold a public hearing on the proposed market-

ing plan; and (5) announce the specifie findings relied on

in devising the plan ultimately adopted. City of Santa

Clara v. Kleppe, supra, 418 F.Supp. at 1261-62.

PG&E argues that Santa Clara is not a “person” entitled

to due process protection under the Fifth Amendment.

PG&E relies primarily on South Carolina ve Katzenbach,

1966, 383 U.S. 301, 323-24, 86 S.Ct. 803, 15 L.ld.2d 769,

where the Court held that a state is not a “person” entitled

to due process protection, reasoning that a municipality

eannot be a “person” if its progenitor, the state, is not.

We are by no means convinced that PG&E's argument is

eorrect. See Township of River Vale v. Town of Orange-

town, 2 Cir., 1968, 403 F.2d 6S4, 686, holding that “a munici-

pal corporation like any other corporation is a ‘person

within the meaning of the [Constitution!.” See also, Aquavyo

v. Richardson, 2 Cir. 1973, 478 F.2d 1090, 1100-01, cert.

denied, 1974, 414 U.S. 1146, 94 S.Ct. 900, 39 L.ed.2d 101. We

need not decide the question. For the purpose of this case,

we assume that Santa Clara is a “person.”

Appendix 29

PG&E and the federal defendants assert that Santa

Clara has no protectible “property” interest in CVP power.

The trial court based its holding that Santa Clara has such

an interest on the City’s status as a preference customer

under the reclamation laws. In so holding, the trial court

was speaking of an interest of Santa Clara vis-a-vis other

actual and potential preference eustomers. The court had

already held that sales of CVP power to PG&E under the

contract between it and the Secretary did not violate the

preference clause. Thus the court had no occasion to decide

whether Santa Clara had a “property” interest vis-a-vis

PG&E.

We first consider “property” interest as against other

preference entities. While the test for identifying a prop-

erty interest sufficient to merit invocation of the Due Proc-

ess clause “is not clearly defined,” Pence v. Kleppe, 9 Cir.,

1976, 529 F.2d 135, 141, the Supreme Court has stated that:

To have a property interest in a benefit, a person

clearly must have more than an abstract need or desire

for it. He must have more than a unilateral expectation

of it. He must, instead, have a legitimate claim of

entitlement to it. Board of Regents v. Roth. 1972, 408

U.S. 564, 577, 92 S.Ct. 2701, 2709, 33 L.Ed.2d 548. ~

See also, Geneva Towers Tenants Organization v. Fed-

erated Mortgage Investors, 9 Cir., 1974, 504 F.2d 483 at

489,

The exact perimeters of the “entitlement” concept are

as yet unclear. See Note, “Statutory Entitlement and the

Concept of Property,” 86 Yale L.J.No. 4. p. 695 (1977).

After reviewing the Supreme Court’s recent decisions con-

cerning statutorily created property interests, the author

of the note concluded that “a statute will create an entitle-

ment to a governmental benefit either if the statute sets

30 Appendix

out conditions under which the benefit must be granted or

if the statute sets out the only conditions under which the

benefit may be denied.” 86 Yale L.J. at 696 (emphasis in

original). Under this test, Santa Clara has no “entitlement”

to CVP power, as against other preferred entities. We

think that Roth itself is dispositive of this phase of the

ease. There the Court held that an untenured teacher had no

property interest in being rehired because his employment

contract gave his employer unbridled discretion to refuse

to renew after one vear. The employer did not have to

justify its decision not to renew the contract by showing

“sufficient cause.” Thus Roth had only an “abstract concern

in being rehired,” rather than a legitimate claim of entitle-

ment. Roth v. Board of Regents, supra, 408 U.S. at 578,

92 S.Ct. 2701.

Having completed a vear of teaching, Roth, like Santa

Clara, could differentiate himself from others who sought

the government benefit in question. However, Roth’s desire

to be rehired, his eligibility for contract renewal, and his

special status as a former employee, were all insufficient to

clothe him with a “legitimate claim of entitlement.” Be-

eause the Board of Regents could refuse to rehire Roth

for any reason whatsoever, Roth’s interest did not rise to

the level of an entitlement.

Santa Clara’s situation vis-a-vis other preferred entities

is comparable. While the City enjoys a statutory preference

under the reclamation laws, the Secretary remains free to

allocate the total power output of the CVP to other pref-

erence users. The Secretary need not justify his decision

to discriminate against some preference entities in favor

of others and, as we hold today, his decision to so discrimi-

nate is not judicially reviewable, Given the discretion which

the reclamation laws vest in the Secretary in this respect,

Appendix 31

we cannot accept Santa Clara’s contention that it has any

“entitlement” to power generated by the CVP as against

other preferred entities. The trial court’s holding that

Santa Clara’s status as a preference entity supported a

claim of entitlement as against other preferred entities is

erroneous. The City has no “property” interest in CVP

power as against other preferred entities and consequently

no procedural safeguards are constitutionally required in

deciding between them.

We next consider “property” interest as against non-

preference entities such as PG&E. It is clear that Santa

Clara does have such an interest. In essence, our decision

in Arizona Power Pooling Ass’n v. Morton, supra, so holds.

To similar effect is Pence v. Kleppe, supra. There we held

that Alaska natives, seeking allotments under the Alaska

Native Allotment Act, had sufficient property interests to

entitle them to due process. 529 F.2d at 140-42.

What process is due? We have held in part TIT B, supra,

that it is a violation of the preference clause for the Secre-

tary to sell CVP power to PG&E to the extent that he is

refusing to sell it to an eligible preference entity that has

offered to buy it and is ready, willing and able to receive it.

There is but one justification possible for a refusal to sell

to such a preference entity while selling to a non-preference

entity: that, in the judgment of the Secretary, to sell to the

preference entity will “impair the efficiency of the project

for irrigation purposes,” 43 U.S.C. § 485h(e).

It is not disputed that Santa Clara is a preferred entity

that has asked for the power. The Secretary and PG&E

claim that Santa Clara was not willing or able to receive

what the Secretary could sell to it, and that during certain

times the Secretary did not have power available to sell to

Santa Clara. The Secretary may also claim that selling to

32 Appendix

Santa Clara would or will impair the efficiency of the

project for irrigation purposes. All of these claims can be

considered and decided by the trial court. We see no need

to remand this case to the Secretary for a due process type

hearing.

VL.

PG&E’S COUNTERCLAIM

In 1971, the Secretary began withdrawing power from

Santa Clara, gradually cutting back on the City’s 1970

allotment of 120,000 kilowatts. Pursuant to a contract be-

tween PG&E and Santa Clara, executed in 1969, PG&E. is

obligated to supply Santa Clara’s power requirements to

the extent that they are not met by the Secretary. Taking

the position that the Secretary’s attempted withdrawals

were illegal and therefore ineffective, Santa Clara refused

after 1971 to pay PG&E for any of the power purportedly

supplied by it. Because, as we have seen, PG&E transmits

CVP power over its own lines pursuant to government

contract, so that it is not possible to differentiate CVP

power from PG&E power except by reference to written

records, Santa Clara took the position that the power

purportedly furnished by PG&E was actually CVP power

coming in over PG&E’s transmission lines. Since 1971, the

money claimed by PG&E has been paid into an escrow

account which as of March 1, 1977, contained nearly

$30,000,000.

PG&E and the Secretary both argue that regardless of

the result in this case, PGCE is entitled to all of the money

in the escrow. As we have seen, the trial court has, as an

interim measure, awarded one-fourth of the money in the

escrow to PGCE. (note 3, supra)

If, as we surmise, the government cannot justify the

marketing of power to PG&E while denying it to Santa

Appendts 33

Clara as a measure designed to safeguard the CVP’s

efficiency for irrigation purposes, then the past sales to

~ PG&E of so much power as Santa Clara sought and was

refused exceeded the Secretary’s statutory authority under

the reclamation laws. These past sales are void if unlawful,

for administrative actions taken in violation of statutory

authorization or requirement are of no effect. Utah Power

& Light Co. v. United States, 1917, 248 U.S. 389, 410, 37

S.Ct. 387, 61 Led. 791; Federal Crop Insurance Corp. v.

Merrill, 1947, 332 U.S. 380, 384, 68 S.Ct. 1, 92 L.Ed. 10;

Federal Maritime Commission v. Anglo-Canadian Shipping

Co., 9 Cir., 1964, 335 F.2d 255, 258.

The trial court decided that PG&E's right to the disputed

funds hinges on the lawfulness of the Secretary’s decision

to sell power to PG&E while refusing to allocate as much

power to Santa Clara as that City requested. Consequently,

the court concluded, the fate of the escrow account must

await action by the district court on remand.

PG&E and the Secretary vigorously attack this ruling.

Their position, as stated by counsel for PG&E, is that

power cannot be retroactively allocated to Santa Clara

because “[a]t all times pertinent to this case all commer-

cially available CVP power was sold to someone... .

Accordingly, any retroactive reallocation of CVP power

would necessarily entail either a whole or partial recission

of some or even all of the sales transactions between the

United States and its CVP customers from Angust 1971 to

the present.” Opening Brief of PG&E at 17. We think,

however, that a reallocation of power to Santa Clara, retro-

active to 1971 when the withdrawals began, can be ae-

complished without affecting past sales to other CVP

customers. This is so because the Secretary has, over the

years, and pursuant to his contract with PG&E, built up a

34 Appendix

sizeable “bank account” with PG&E. Presumably, that bank

account is now available to retroactively satisfy the City’s

power needs.

Should the district court conelude on remand that the

marketing of power to PG&E cannot be justified by ref-

erence to the reclamation laws, the government’s “bank

account” can simply be adjusted downward to reflect past

sales to Santa Clara of so much power as the City sought

unsuccessfully in the vears after 1971. Such a readjustment

of the bank account need affect neither past sales of power

to other CVP users nor prior transactions between PG&E

and its customers, aside from Santa Clara.

Without intending to bind the trial court to our sug-

gestions, it seems to us that the consequences would be

substantially as follows:

First, PG&E would be entitled to draw from the escrow

the full amount (less, of course, what it has already re-

ceived) that Santa Clara would have paid to the Secretary

for the power that it is “receiving” retroactively. PG&E

has paid the Secretary for that power, thereby discharging

what should have been Santa Clara’s dutv. In addition,

because it is Santa Clara that withheld the money, PG&E

should receive interest at a reasonable rate on the moneys

paid to it from the dates when those moneys should have

been paid. (See 28 U.S.C. § 1961.) The remaining money in

the escrow would go to Santa Clara.

Second, the power reallocated to Santa Clara should be

treated as drawn from the Secretary’s “bank account” with

PG&E, thereby diminishing the amount of the power that

the Secretary is entitled, under the PG&E contract, to

repurchase.

Third, because PG&E will have received for the power

sold by it to Santa Clara only the price that Santa Clara

Appendix 35

would have paid to the Seeretary if he had allocated that

power to Santa Clara, but that power is being treated as

drawn by the Secretary from the “bank account,” it would

appear that PG&E will have a claim against the Seeretary.

Presumably, that claim would be for the contract price

applicable under the Secretary's contract with PG&E at the

times as of which reallocation is made, less the price

PG&E will have received from Santa Clara, plus reasonable

interest for late payment. (See 28 U.S.C. § 2411(b) and

$ 2516.)

Ifowever, PG&E has countereclaimed only against Santa

Clara. It has not filed any claim for relief against the

Secretary. We express no opinion as to whether such a

claim against the Secretary can be filed or considered by

the trial court, see 28 U.S.C. § 1346(a) (2), Lowell O. West

Lumber Sales +. United States, 9 Cir., 1959, 270 F.2d 12,

19-20, or in the Court of Claims, see 28 U.S.C. § 1491.

We base our assumptions as to interest upon a further

assumption that PG&E is an innocent third party, ecanght

between the conflicting claims of Santa Clara and the posi-

tion of the Secretary.

These suggestions are in line with the ancient and

favorite maxim of equity, that equity regards that as done

which ought to be done. It is readily applicable here, be-

cause all parties to the contracts that are involved, PG&E,

the Secretary, and Santa Clara, are before the court, and

because what we suggest does not invalidate or violate

either contract. The contract between PG&E and the Seere-

tary expressly provides that the Secretary is to supply all

of his preferred customers before sclling to PG&E. Tt also

expressly provides for the so-called banking arrangement.

The contract between PG&E and Santa Clara requires sale

by PG&E and purchase by Santa Clara of only that amount

36 Appendix

of power that exceeds the amount sold by the Secretary to

Santa Clara.

The foregoing suggestions are just that: they are not

directions because we recognize that the questions giving

rise to them have not been fully considered up to now, and

all parties should have an opportunity to present their

views about them to the trial court. That court is to arrive

at its own decision, tating into account, but not being

bound by, our suggestions.

VI.

SOVEREIGN IMMUNITY

On October 21, 1976, Congress enacted Public Law 94-

574, amending 5 U.S.C. § 702, to remove the defense of

sovereign immunity in an action seeking relief other than

money damages and stating a claim that an agency or

officer or employee thereof acted or failed to act in an

official capacity or under color of legal authority. In Hill v.

United States, 9 Cir., 1978, 571 F.2d 1098 at 1102 (Slip op.,

page 45 at 49) we held that this amendment is applicable

to a pending action. This statute would have the effect

of removing the defense of sovereign immunity, if it were

otherwise available in this case. However, it is not neces-

sary to rely on that statute here.

It has long been established that sovereign immunity

poses no bar to a suit against a federal officer who is alleged

to have acted unconstitutionally or in excess of his statutory

authority. Larson v. Domestic & Foreign Commerce Corp.,

1949, 337 U.S. 682, 689, 69 S.Ct. 1457, 93 L.Ed. 1628;

Starbuck v. City and County of San Francisco, 9 Cir., 1977,

556 F.2d 450, 457 n. 14: Washington v. Udall, 9 Cir., 1969,

417 F.2d 1310, 1314.

Appendix 37

PG&E and the federal defendants concede that Santa

Clara’s various claims fall squarely within these exceptions

to the general rule that an action cannot be maintained

against the soverign, absent consent. However, they cite

Larson v. Domestic & Foreign Commerce Corp., supra, for

the proposition that

. a suit may fail, as one against the sovereign, even

if it is claimed that the officer being sued has acted

unconstitutionally or beyond his statutory powers,

if the relief requested cannot be granted by merely

ordering the cessation of the conduct complained of

but will require affirmative action by the sovereign

or disposition of unquestionably sovereign property.

337 U.S, at 691, n. 11, 69 S.Ct. at 1462.

This court has never interpreted Larson as an absolute

bar to every action against the sovereign in which affirma-

tive relief or the recovery of government property is

sought. Washington +. Udall, supra, 417 F.2d at 1317-18.

We have construed the case more narrowly to mean “not

that a suit must fail but only that it may fail if the relief

sought would work an intolerable burden on the eovern-

ment which outweighs any considerations of private harm.”

De Lao v. Califano, 9 Cir., 1977, 560 F.2d 1384 at 1391.

The retroactive power allocation which Santa Clara seeks

would not, we think, work an intolerable burden on govern-

mental functioning. As noted above, the relief requested

by the City can be granted by simply adjusting the govern-

ment’s bank account with PG&E. Such an adjustment would

not affect prior transactions between the government and

its other CVP customers, It would merely hasten depletion

of the bank account and so would aceclerate the date upon

which customer demand for CVP power will exceed the

3

available supply. Inasmueh as all of the banked power

w

Appendix

is ultimately committed te preference users, depletion of

the account with PG&E is, in any event, inevitable. We

do not think that the government will bear an intolerable

burden if it is forced to repurchase banked power at an

earlier date than was initially anticipated. Balancing the

economie injury which Santa Clara has suffered by virtue

of its partial exclusion from the CVP against the minimal

inconvenience which the government will experience if the

Secretary is foreed to alter slightly his long-range market-

ing plan, we conclude that this action is not barred on

grounds of sovereign immunity.

VIII.

THE NATIONAL ENVIRONMENTAL

POLICY ACT

Santa Clara argued below and reiterates here that the

Secretary violated NEPA, 42 U.S.C. $ 4821 et seq., by fail-

ing to file an environmental impact statement before

denying the City’s requests for firm power and initiating

power withdrawals, NEPA, which requires agencies to file

environmental impact statements whenever “major Federal

actions” are contemplated, defines those actions as ones

“significantly affecting the quality of the human environ-

ment.” 42 U.S.C. § 4332(2)(C). The trial court concluded

that the Secretarv’s marketing decisions were not major

Federal actions of this kind and because no factual dispute

was presented with respect to that key issue, granted the

federal defendants’ motion for summary judgment.

Seeking to bring the Secretarw’s allocation decisions

within NEPA’s definition of major Federal action, Santa

Clara alleges that the government’s refusal to sell it firm

power will (1) foree the City to construct its own generat-

Appendir 39

ing facilities, and (2) cause industries to relocate to ecom-

munities where electricity is available at lower cost. These

effects, the City claims, will have a significant deleterious

impact on the environment.

Because the amount of low cost CVP power is finite,

demand will likely outstrip supply in the future as it has

in the past. Regardless of whether it is Santa Clara or

some other preference entity that forced to look to private

sources for the supply of eleetric power, the environmental

consequences will be similar. Tf the demand for power

exceeds the available supply, then new generating facilities

must be constructed somewhere, if not in Santa Clara.

Even accepting as true Santa Clara’s rather fanciful

hypotheses concerning the likely impact of the Secretary’s

decisions on its small piece of the environment, we think

it highly improbable that one allocation scheme will have

a more deleterious impact than any other when the total

geographic area served by the CVP is considered. As the

court stated in HTanly v. Nleindienst, 2 Cir., 1972, 471 F.2d

825, 850, cert. denied, 1973 412 U.S. 908, 93-S.Ct. 2290, 36

L.Ed.2d 974, an agency must consider “in deciding whether

a major federal action will ‘significantly’ affect the quality

of the human environment ... the absolute quantitative

adverse environmental effects of the action itself.” No such

absolute effeets are threatened by the Secretary’s decision

to allocate CVP power in one way rather than another.

CONCLUSION

The summary judgment against Santa Clara on its claim

under the National Environmental Policy Act is affirmed.

The judgment dismissing the action is reversed,

The decision that the Seeretary’s aetions in deciding

the terms on which he will sell power to one preference

40 Appendix

customer as compared to others are reviewable is reversed.

The decision that the Secretary’s sale of power to PG&E

does not violate the preference clause is vacated.

The decision that the Secretary is required to formulate

and adopt rules governing the sale of CVP power is

reversed. The remand of the action to the Secretary for

that purpose is reversed.

In all other respects the decision of the trial court is

affirmed.

The case is remanded to the trial court for further

proceedings consistent with parts ITI B, V, and VI of this

opinion.

Appendix B

United States Court of Appeals

lor the Ninth Circuit

City of Santa Clara, California,

Appellant,

Vs.

Cecil Andrus, Individually and as Secretary of

the Interior, and R. Keith Higginson, Indi-

vidually and as Commissioner of the Bureau

of Reclamation, United States Department

of the Interior,

Appellees.

Cecil Andrus, Individually and as Secretary of

the Interior, and R. Keith Iligginson, Indi-

vidually and as Commissioner of the Bureau

of Reclamation, United States Department

of the Interior,

Appellants,

City of Santa Clara, California,

Appellee.

Pacific Gas & Electric Company,

Appellant,

Vs.

City of Santa Clara, California,

Appellee.

Nos. 77-1110, 77-1270, No. 77-1189, No. 76-3670

ORDER

Before: DUNIWAY and CARTER, Circuit Judges,

and BURNS, District Judge

.

This court’s opinion of February 1, 1978 (1978 Slip

Opinions at 339), is amended as follows:

42 Appendix

1. The first full paragraph on page 351 of the slip

opinion is amended to read:

In this case the Secretary has marketed CVP power

to PG&E, a non-preference entity, during times when

a preference customer was having its allotment grad-

ually reduced, over its objection. It is claimed that

PG&E’s allotment was more than adequate to satisfy

Santa Clara’s full requirements. Nevertheless, the

Secretary has, since 1971, progressively reduced Santa

Clara’s withdrawable allocation.

2. The second sentence of the first full paragraph in

the right-hand column of page 351 is amended to read as

follows:

In the meantime, however, to the extent that Santa

Clara could have purchased the power, a private utility

is profiting from the low cost of federal power at the

expense of a preferred entity.

3. The sentence in the first line on page 352 is amended

to read:

That may be the case here.

4. The third sentence of the second full paragraph on

page 353, beginning with the words “Because we think,” is

stricken.

3. A new paragraph is added, in the first column on page

353, immediately preceding the heading “C. Congressional

Approval,” reading as follows:

PG&E and the Secretary argue that during at least

part of the period beginning in 1972, when the Secre-

tary was gradually reducing Santa Clara’s allotment,

CVP did not have the energy necessary to supply

Santa Clara, and Santa Clara was not willing or able

to take such intermittent power as was being sold to

PG&E. It is also claimed that some of the power sold

by the Secretary to PG&E may not have been subject

Appendir 43

to the preference clause. The trial court did not decide

these questions. They can be considered on remand,

as can the issue of CVP’s efficiency for irrigation pur-

poses if the Secretary chooses to raise it.

6. The first full paragraph in the second column on

page 358, beginning with the words “Here, the Secretary

does not deny,” is stricken, and a new paragraph is inserted

reading as follows:

It is not disputed that Santa Clara is a preferred

entity that has asked for the power. The Secretary

and PG&E claim that Santa Clara was not willing

or able to receive what the Secretary could sell to it.

and that during certain times the Secretary did not

have power available to sell to Santa Clara. The

Secretary may also claim that selling to Santa Clara

would or will impair the efficiency of the project for

irrigation purposes. All of these claims can be con-

sidered and decided by the trial court. We see no

need to remand this case to the Secretary for a due

process type hearing.

7. The footnote signal “9” at the top of page 361, and

the footnote at the hottom of that page, are stricken.

8. At the top of page 361, immediately following the

heading “SOVEREIGN IMMUNITY,” a new paragraph is

inserted reading as follows:

On October 21, 1976, Congress enacted Publie Law

94-574, amending 5 U.S.C. § 702, to remove the defense

of sovereign immunity in an action seeking relief other

than money damages and stating a claim that an

agency or officer or emplovee thereof acted or failed

to act in an official capacity or under color of legal

authority. In Hill v. United States, 9 Cir.. 1978,

gt Ee (Slip op., page 45 at 49) we held that this

amendment is applicable to a pending action. This

44 Appendix

Statute would have the effect of removing the defense

of sovereign immunity, if it were otherwise available in

this case. However, it is not necessary to rely on that

statute here.

Il.

The statement of amici curiae City of Palo Alto, et al.,

may be filed. Except as they have been granted in part by

the foregoing amendments, the Petition for Rehearing

of Pacific Gas and Electric Company and the Federal

Defendants-Appellees’, Cross-Appellants’ Motion for Modi-

fication are denied. The Petition for Rehearing of the City

of Santa Clara is denied.

The Suggestion of a Rehearing In Banc by the City of

Santa Clara has been transmitted by the Clerk to all

judges of the court who are in regular active service, and

no judge in reguiar active service, or who was a member of

the panel that rendered the decision, has requested a vote on

such suggestion. The suggestion of a rehearing in banc is

rejected.

Appendix C

City of Santa Clara, California,

Plaintiff,

v.

Thomas Kleppe, Individually and as Secretary

of the Interior, and Gilbert Stamm, Indi-

vidually and as Commissioner of the Bureau

of Reclamation, United States Department

of the Interior,

Defendants,

Paciric Gas & Evecrric Co.,

Intervenor-Def endant.

No. C-75-1574.

United States District Court,

N. D. California.

July 23, 1976.

DECISION

CONTI, District Judge.

This case brings for judicial resolution a controversy

over low cost federal hydroelectric power emanating from

the Bureau of Reclamation’s Calitornia Central Valley

Project (CVP). The principal parties are the California

City of Santa Clara on one side and the U. S. Department

of the Interior and its Bureau of Reclamation on the other.

Pacific Gas & Electric, a private utility company, has inter-

vened as party defendant. Simply stated, Santa Clara wants

more low cost federal power than the federal defendants

have allocated to it, and suggests that the Bureau's alloca-

tion scheme is legally defective. The Bureau responds that

how it allocates the CVP power under its control is unre-

viewably discretionary, but, for that matter, the allocation

46 Appendix

scheme was fairly formulated and is rationally based.

PG&E, long an integral part of the Bureau's power alloca-

tion plan, and the source to which Santa Clara would most

likely have to look for satisfaction of its power needs if

the court upholds the Bureau’s scheme, supports the Bu-

reau’s position. Santa Clara would prefer to purchase CVP

power at $.005 per kilowatt-hour rather than PG&E power

at $.019 per kilowatt-hour.'

I. Project Authority and Background.

CVP is a multipurpose project consisting of numerous

dams, hydroelectric power generation and transmission

facilities and irrigation canals, located in the Central Valley

of California and the surrounding mountains.? Although the

production of hydro-generated power is not the primary

purpose of the Project, the amount of electricity generated

is substantial and serves a large number of customers in

northern and central California.’

The Central Valley Project Authorization Act, 50 Stat.

850, provides in part:

Sec. 2... . The entire Central Valley project, Califor-

nia, heretofore authorized and established under the

1. See Plaintiff's Opposition to Defendants’ Motion for Sum-

mary Judgment, Doc.No. 16, at page 5, n. 1.

2. The Project is described in fine detail in Ivanhoe Irrigation

Dist. v. McCracken, 357 U.S. 275, 78 S.Ct. 1174, 2 L.Ed.2d 1313

(1958).

3. At the time the complaint in this action was filed, the direct

customers of the CVP were five municipal corporations in addition

to Santa Clara (Roseville, Palo Alto, Redding, Biggs and Gridley) ;

one public utility district (Shasta Dam Area Public Utility Dis-

trict) ; six federal agencies; five state agencies: one rural electric

cooperative (Plumas Sierra Cooperative) ; and PG&E. The number

of ultimate consumer-customers receiving power from these direct

customers is in the hundreds of thousands. See Defendants’ Motion

for Summary Judgment, Doe.No. 15, at page 5, n. 2.

Appendix 47

provisions of the Emergency Relief Appropriation Act

of 1935 (49 Stat. 115) and the First Deficieney Appro-

priation Act, fiscal vear 1936 (49 Stat. 1622), is hereby

reauthorized and declared to be for the purposes of

improving navigation, regulating the flow of the San

Joaquin River and the Sacramento River, controlling

floods, providing for storage and for the delivery of

the stored waters thereof, for the reclamation of arid

and semiarid lands and lands of Indian reservations,

and other beneficial uses, and for the generation and

sale of electric energy as a means of financially aiding

and assisting such undertakings and in order to permit

the full utilization of the works constructed to acecom-

plish the aforesaid purposes: Provided further, That,

except as herein otherwise specifically provided, the

provisions of the reclamation law, as amended, shall

govern the repayment of expenditures and the con-

struction, operation, and maintenance of the dams,

canals, power plants, pumping plans, transmission

lines, and incidental works deemed necessary to said

entire project, and the Secretary of the Interior may

enter into repayment contracts, and other necessary

contracts, with State agencies, authorities, associations,

persons, and corporations, either publie or private,

ine uding all agencies with which contracts are author-

ized under the reclamation law, . . .: -lnd provided

further, That the said dam and reservoirs shall be

used first, for river regulation, improvement of naviga-

tion, and flood control: second, for irrigation and

domestic uses; and third, for power. See also, Central

Valley Project Reauthorization Act, 16 U.S.C. § 695d.

Thus incorporated into the Central Valley Project Authori-

zation Act is the following provision of the Reclamation

Project Act of 1939, found in Section 9(¢), 43 U.S.C.

$485h(e):

Any sale of electric power or lease of power privileges,

made by the Secretary in connection with the opera-

48 Appendix

tion of any project or division of a project, shall be

for such periods, net to exceed forty years, and at

such rates as in his judgment will produce power

revenues at least sufficient to cover an appropriate

share of the construction investment at not less than

3 per centum per annum, and such other fixed charges

as the Secretary deems proper: Provided further, That

in said sales or leases preference shall be given to

municipalities and other public corporations or agen-

cies; and also to cooperatives and other nonprofit or-

ganizations financed in whole or in part by loans made

pursuant to the Rural Electrification Act of 1936 [and

any amendments thereof]... .

No contract relating to :1unicipal water supply or

miscellaneous purposes or to electric power or power

privileges shall be made unless, in the judgment of the

Secretary, it will not impair the efficiency of the

project for irrigation purposes.

There is no question, and no argument to the contrary, that

the “preference clause” of Section 9(c) applies to sales of

federaily-generated hydroelectric power from CVP, see Ari-

cona Power Pooling Assn. v. Morton, 527 F.2d 721 (9th Cir.

1975), nor does the government dispute that Santa Clara

is entitled to preference in the sale of the CVP power.

Rather, the controversy centers around the Bureau’s alloca-

tion decision which treats other preference customers more

favorably than Santa Clara in the fierce competition for

limited low cost federal CVP power.

Santa Clara has received varying amounts of CVP power

since 1965. The City had lodged many requests for power

with the Bureau, beginning in 1960, but its early requests

acknowledged that it could not provide a market for federal

power until late 1967, at which time its then existing power

Appendir 49

requirements contract with PG&E, which had been supply-

ing all the City’s power needs, would expire. Wishing to

insure a supply of federal power at the earliest opportunity,

however, the City sought a prospective allocation to satisfy

its future, post-1967, needs.4 The Bureau responded that

it could not then commit itself to such a future allocation,

in view of anticipated Project requirements, but that the

City’s application would he kept on file for consideration

nearer the time Santa Clara could actually purchase power,

free from the PG&E contract

Meanwhile, early in 1963 additional hydroelectrie power

became available to the CVP with the coming on line of

power from the Trinity River Division of the CVP.* More

energy hecame available as the generating units of that

division proceeded to completion in May of 1964. While

a notice of this additional power was sent to all entities

entitled to preference status, including Santa Clara,” re-

questing estimates of present load requirements and future

load growth, this additional power was allocated to then

existing preference customers only, excluding Santa Clara,

because of the City’s inability to take power immediately.’

Concerned that all CVP power was fast becoming spoken

for, and dissatisfied with the Bureau's repeated assurances

that the City’s application would receive due consideration,

the City, in July, 1964, telegraphed the Secretary of the

Interior directly, requesting an immediate allocation of CVP

power, on a withdrawable basis if absolutely necessary. The

4. See Plaintiffs’ Exhibit 2 and 4.

5. See Defendants’ Exhibit 3.

6. See Plaintiff’s Exhibit 3.

7. See Plaintiff’s Exhibit 3.

8. See Defendants’ Motion for Summary Judgment, Doe.No.15,

at page 7.

50 Appendix

City asserted that its contraet with PG&E was not binding

on it and should not bar its eligibility to receive CVP power.

The Secretary responded that 75 megawatts of power could

be offered if the City could make arrangements with PG&E

for its transmission. The letter warned, however, that the

power would be withdrawn when required to meet previously

promised, long-term firm allocations to other preference

customers.® The City thereupon submitted a formal applica-

tion for that amount, but again requested that it be kept in

mind for a firm, non-withdrawable allocation when and if

additional power became available, and set forth its pre-

dicted power needs through 1980."°

PG&E objected to the Department’s offering power to

Santa Clara while the utility’s requirements contract with

the City was still outstanding. The Secretary of the Interior

concluded, however, that the Department had to recognize

its statutory responsibilities in the marketing of federal

power to preference customers, including Santa Clara, and

that the fact of a dispute between the City and PG&E

over the validity of their power requirements contract

would not relieve the Department of its statutory duty to

provide available service to Santa Clara.”

On November 30, 1965, Santa Clara and the Bureau

finally contracted for the purchase of CVP power on a

withdrawable hasis.’*? Santa Clara’s allotment under the

9. See Plaintiff's Exhibit 9.

10. See Plaintiff’s Exhibit 10.

11. See Plaintiff’s Exhibit 12. The Secretary’s decision was

based in part on advice requested and received from the U.S. Solici-

tor’s office to the effect that the statute unequivocally mandated

offering available power to preference customers, and that the

Department could not legally be involved in the contract dispute

between Santa Clara and PG&E. See Plaintiff’s Exhibit 13.

12. See Defendants’ Exhibit 7.

Appendix 51

original contract was 75,000 kilowatts, but was revised

upward several times by amendments until it reached a

peak of 120,000 kilowatts in November, 1970. All these

increases had the City’s assent. In 1971, however, the

Bureau began to withdraw power from the City, by con-

tract amendments which were not consented to, such that

by July, 1974, the maximum kilowattage receivable wis

71,450. Subsequent withdrawals will most probably take

place,” and it is alleged that in the not too distant future,

the power and associated energy available for purchase

by Santa Clara from the federal CVP source will drop to

zero. At times when the City’s requirements could not be

met from federal power sources, Santa Clara has had

to purchase the difference from PG&E pursuant to an

existing contract.

During the period Santa Clara was receiving withdraw-

able power, it reiterated its request for a non-withdrawable

allocation. As additional power became available, however,

the Bureau decided to hold most, if not all, of it for

preference customers already receiving a non-withdrawable

allocation, so as to meet their load growth needs, rather

than to offer this power to existing customers with with-

drawable allocations, such as Santa Clara, on a non-with-

drawable basis.

13. See Plaintiff's Exhibit 24, which indicates that as of May 1,

1976, there was an anticipated withdrawal from Santa Clara of an

additional 24,200 kilowatts.

14. See Plaintiff’s Exhibits 17, 20, 21, and 22, and Defendants’

Exhibits 11, 12, and 13.

For example, on March 22, 1966, the Bureau agreed to sell to the

Sacramento Municipal Utility District up to 70,000 kilowatts of

power in addition to the District's then contract rate of delivery of

290,000 kilowatts. Between the contract execution date and April

1, 1978, the District could receive as much as 70,000 kilowatts in

addition to its then allotment by requesting such in writing. After

52 Appendix

It is this discrimination against Santa Clara, a prefer-

ence customer with only a short term, withdrawable

April 1, 1973, the contract rate of delivery to the District was set at

360,000 kilowatts. This new allocation to the District was not sub-

ject to withdrawal to meet the demands of other preference cus-

tomers, as was the allocation of power made to Santa Clara in 1965.

See Plaintiff's Exhibit 16, Letter Agreement between Sacramento

Municipal Utility Distriet and the Bureau, at par. 4 and 5. A simi-

lar contract was entered into in December, 1966, with Westlands

Water District. See Plaintiff's Exhibit 23.

Again, on August 22, 1967, the Bureau agreed to sell to the City of

Palo Alto, California, an additional 21,000 kilowatts of firm power

over its then contract rate of delivery of 79,000 kilowatts. Further,

the City of Palo Alto was promised its total future load growth

requirements through 1980, with the proviso that if total firm load

of all preference agencies exceeded the Project output, as preference

agency required load inereased in subsequent vears, a pre rata allo-

cation would be made, based on the ratio of city load to total load.

See Art. 7 of Contract between Palo Alto and Bureau, Plaintiff's Ex-

hibit 18. See also original Bureau-Palo Alto Contract, Plaintiff’s

Exhibit 8. Contrast the language found in Article 7 of the revised

Palo Alto-Bureau contract, Plaintiff's Exhibit 18, with the lan-

guage found in Article 9 of the Santa Clara-Bureau contract,

Plaintiff's Exhibit 14. The latter contract states, in pertinent part:

Provided, That power and energy deliveries made under the

terms of this agreement are deemed to be power and energy

temporarily available from unused allocated firm Central

Valley Project power and is also power and energy available

within the project dependable capacity for preference agency

use. Therefore, power and energy deliveries as contemplated

herein will be withdrawn upon 30 days written notice to

[Santa Clara], to any extent necessary to limit the total pref-

erence agency power demand to an amount within the project

dependable capacity of the Central Valley Project. With-

drawal of power and energy up to a total amount equal to the

contract rate of delivery specified herein shall constitute ter-

mination of this agreement.

The effect of this language vis-a-vis the language found in Bureau

contracts with other preference agencies with non-withdrawable

allocations, such as Palo Alto, is to provide for withdrawals of

power from Santa Clara and other customers with withdrawable

allocations, when such power is necessary to meet load growths of

preference customers with non-withdrawable allocations, within

project dependable capacity. Thus, once project dependable eapac-

ity is reached due to loan growths of these customers, which the

Bureau has contracted to satisfy, Santa Clara’s allocation will have

Appendix 53

been completely withdrawn, and its contract with the Bureau will

be considered terminated. It is only at this point—when project de-

pendable capacity is reached—that the eustomers with non-with-

drawable allocations will have to suffer a limitation on power to

meet load growth, according to the pro rata scheme in their eon-

tracts. See Defendants’ Exhibit 13. The effeet of this difference in

contract language is, of course, to treat Santa Clara substantially

differently from other preference customers in terms of the CVP

power it can receive.

Preference customers with contracts providing for a long-term,

non-withdrawable allocation of firm power, like Palo Alto’s, include

the California cities of Biggs, Gridley, Redding, and Roseville, the

Plumas-Sierra Rural Electrie Cooperative, and the Shasta Dam

Publie Utilities District, as well as the Sacramento Municipal Util-

ity District and the Westlands Water District noted above,

Preference customers with contracts providing for a short-term,

Withdrawable alloeation of power, like Santa Clara's, inelude Stan-

ford Linear Accelerator Center, A.E.C. Livermore, A.E.C. Sandia.

Beale Air Force Base, DeWitt Hospital, State of California, Grape-

vine Power Plant, State of California, Mather Air Force Base.

Mather Wherry Housing, Mare Island Naval Shipyard, NAS

LeMoore, NAS Moffett, Naval Communieations Station Stockton,

Naval Radio Station, Dixon, Naval Weapons Station, Concord,

Northern California Youth Center, University of California at

Davis, and U.S. I.A., Voice of America. As of May 1, 1971, Santa

Clara’s share of this short term, withdrawable power constituted

roughly two-thirds of the total CVP power marketed in this man-

ner. See Defendants’ Exhibit 16, particularly the attachment. to

the Bureau's letter showing anticipated withdrawals from each such

customer, Santa Clara is the only major municipality on the list of

preference customers with short-term, withdrawable allocations of

CVP power, Thus, as far as the record shows, all other municipal

users of CVP power fall into the category of preference customers

receiving a long-term, non-withdrawable allocation. See also De-

fendants’ Submission of CVP Data, Doe.No.23, which shows kilo-

watt and kilowatt-hour usage for each CVP customer for 1960-1975.

The 1975 consumption figures for municipal users are shown in that

submission to be as follows:

Municipal Customer Kilowatts

City of Biggs 2,440

City of Gridley 5,967

City of Palo Alto 139,793

City of Redding 52,980

City of Roseville 36,520

City of Santa Clara 73,800

Sacramento Municipal Utility Dist. 360,000

Shasta Dam Publie Utilities Dist. 4,186

Plumas-Sierra Rural Elee. Coop. 10,220

54 Appendix

allocation, in favor of other similarly situated™ preference

customers, who not only originally received a long-term,

non-withdrawable allocation but who also were afforded

additional non-withdrawable power as it became available,

of which the City primarily complains here. Santa Clara

alleges that the Bureau’s creation of this class of what the

City terms “super-preference customers” contravenes gov-

erning legal principles. The defendants do not dispute that

such discrimination between preference customers has been

practised ;’* rather, it is their position that it is within

the unreviewable discretion granted them by Congress to

so discriminate. Alternatively, they assert that the diserim-

inatory aspects of the allocation scheme are rationally

based.

li. Specific Legal Claims.

Santa Clara marshals the following legal arguments in

support of its claims:

(1) It contends that the federal government has

transgressed the commands of the Federal Reclama-

Even assuming that Santa Clara’s actual utilization of power is

presently somewhat in excess of 120,000 kilowatts (the maximum it

received from CVP in 1971), the above figures show that the City’s

power usage is neither significantly greater nor significantly lesser

than the usage of other municipal preference customers, who have

long-term, non-withdrawable allocations, and the difference in treat-

ment of Santa Clara cannot be attributed to any such factor.

When withdrawals from short-term allocation customers have be-

come necessary, apparently the Bureau has ecaleulated the amount

of such withdrawals per customer on some sort of pro rata basis.

For example, for the withdrawals anticipated during the summer

months of 1971, see Defendants’ Exhibit 16, attachment.

15. “Similarly situated” in the sense of being a municipal user

with load demands roughly equivalent to other municipal users of

CVP power.

16. See Defendants’ Motion for Summary Judgment, Doc.No.

15, at pages 6-9, 10.

Appendix 55

tion Laws, 43 U.S.C. § 371 et seq. (a) by selling power

to PG&E, a private entity not entitled to the statutory

preference contained in 43 U.S.C. § 485h(e), and (b)

by discriminating against one preference customer,

Santa Clara, in favor of other preference customers:

(2) It savs that if not the statute, then the Fifth

Amendment, with its equal protection concepts of due

process, bars such discrimination;

(5) The City claims a denial of the procedural due

process protected by the Administrative Procedure

Act, 5 U.S.C. $551 et seq., in the federal defendants’

failure to establish, by regulation or otherwise, with-

out opportunity for input by interested parties, any

standards or guidelines by which is regulated the

method of CVP power allocation among preference

customers;

(4) It likewise claims that whatever procedures

that might have been followed by the Bureau in deter-

mining allocations and types of allocations were so

deficient as to deny due process; and, finally,

(5) Santa Clara maintains that defendants’ actions

violate the National Environmental Poliev Act, 42

U.S.C. § 4321 et seq.

The Department and the Bureau, and PG&E, in addition

to maintaining that their allocatiorwscheme is unreviewable

or in any event rational, respond first, that this is an

unconsented suit against the sovereign and is, therefore,

barred; second, that Congress has approved the Bureau’s

allocation scheme; third, that the provisions of the Admin-

istrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. $551 et seq.. cited by

plaintiff are cither inapplicable or were satisfied: fourth,

56 Appendix

that the City has no property interest entitled to due

process protection; and fifth, that NEPA does not apply.

We now have before us (1) federal defendants’ motion,

joined in by PG&E, for summary judgment on all due

process issues and alleged violations of the Federal Reela-

mation Laws; (2) defendants’ motion for summary judg-

ment on the NEPA claim; (3) plaintiff’s motion for sum-

mary judgment on the due process issues; and (4) PG&E’s

motion for summary judgment on its counterclaim against

Santa Clara for monies due under its power sale contract.

For reasons hereinafter stated, the court denies (1), (3),

and (4), and grants (2).

A. Sovereign Immunity.

The threshold jurisdictional question raised interestingly

enough in the first instance by PG&E and not the sovereign’s

officers, of whether this suit is barred by the doctrine of

sovereign immunity, must logically be entertained first.

While the law of the subject in some respects is confusing,

Land v. Dollar, 330 U.S. 731, 67 S.Ct. 1009, 91 L.Ed. 1209

(1947), the inapplicability of the doctrine to this ease is

relatively clear. Since Ex parte Young, 209 U.S. 123, 28

S.Ct. 441, 52 L.Ed. 714 (1908), it has been established that

sovereign immunity is no defense in suits against officers

who allegedly act unconstitutionally or in excess of author-

itv. Georgia R. R. € Banking Co. v. Redwine, 342 U.S. 299,

72 S.Ct. 321, 96 L.Ed. 335 (1952); Philadelphia Co. v. Stim-

son, 223 U.S. 605, 32 S.Ct. 340, 56 L.Ed. 570 (1912) ; Ickes v.

Fox, 300 U.S. 82, 57 S.Ct. 412, 81 L.Ed. 525 (1937) ; United

States v. Lee, 106 U.S. 196, 1 S.Ct. 240, 27 L.Ed. 171 (1882).

This case presents just such allegations. PG&E’s cases,

Larson v. Domestic & Foreign Corp., 337 U.S. 682, 69 S.Ct.

1457, 93 L.Ed. 1628 (1949); Malone v. Bowdoin, 369 U.S.

643, 82 S.Ct. 980, 8 L.Ed.2d 168 (1962); Dugan v. Rank, 372

Appendix 57

U.S. 609, 83 S.Ct. 999, 10 L.Ed.2d 15 (1963); and City of

Fresno v. California, 372 U.S. 627, 83 S.Ct. 996, 10 L.Ed.2d

28 (1965), while presenting some fascinating questions

regarding the future course of the law of the doctrine

as it applies in suits against officers who act within valid

authority, are not to the contrary. See generally 3 Davis,

Administrative Law Treatise, $$ 27.03-27.05: and 1970

Supp. § 27.01.

Since we hold that under established law, the doctrine

of sovereign immunity does not bar this action, we need

not consider the possibility that the Administrative Pro-

cedure Act operates as a partial waiver of sovereign

immunity, which question is in a state of considerable

confusion. Compare Adams v. Witmer, 271 F.2d 29 (9th

Cir. 1958) (APA authorized suit against officer: sovereign

immunity not discussed), with State of Washington v.

Udall, 417 F.2d 1310 (9th Cir, 1969) (eourt avoided sov-

ereign immunity by holding that the Secretary exceeded

his authority): Scanwell Laboratories v. Shaffer, 137 U.S.

App.D.C, 371, 424 F.2d 859 (1970) (APA waives sovereign

immunity): Aletschka v. Driver, 411 F.2d 486 (2d Cir.

1969) (APA waives sovereign immunity concerning those

claims which come within its scope).

B. Violation of Federal Reclamation Laws.

(1) Preference Clause Issue.

Plaintiff notes that substantial amounts of CVP power

have been sold to PG&E over the vears'™ and maintains

that had this power been allocated to preference customers,

as the statute requires, there would be no controversy since

all of Santa Clara’s requirements for power wonld be

17. See Defendants’ Submission of CVP Data, Doe.No.23. Sinee

1965, PG&E has purchased in excess of 80,000 kilowatts annually;

the 1975 allocation to the utility was 337,000 kilowatts.

58 Appendix

met. There is no dispute as to the basic facts: the prefer-

ence clause clearly applies, and PG&E is not a preference

customer.

There is, however, some dispute as to whether this power

has actually been unconditionally “sold” to PG&E in the

standard sense. If so, the statute has heen violated, PG&E

and the Bureau maintain that while power is sold to PG&E,

it is subject to the Bureau’s right to repurchase an equiv-

alent amount of energy at a later date for delivery to

preference customers.

This is indeed the case. The contract hetween the Bureau

and PG&E" provides that capacity and energy sold to

PG&E must be recorded in special capacity and energy

accounts and is subject to Bureau repurchase rights. See

Contract 2948A, Article 20(a, b, e. & e) and Article 21.

In essence, energy is “hanked” by PG&E for future Bureau

use. The hank account provisions of the contract were

included to enable the Secretary of the Interior to carry

out a power marketing plan developed in 1964 to meet the

long-term needs of preference customers.’® The withdrawals

of power from Santa Clara beginning in 1971 were made

as a part of this plan.*° In order for the Burean to satisfy

load growth of the then existing preference customers

18. The PG&E-Bureau contract (Contract 2948A) is attached

as Appendix C to Supplemental Memorandum of PG&E in Support

of Defendants’ Motion for Summary Judgment, Doe.No.27.

19. The bank accounts and the Secretary’s marketing plan are

discussed in Defendants’ Exhibit 23, “Report to the Appropriations

Committees of the Congress of the United States Recommending a

Plan of Construction and Ownership of EHV Electrie Interties

Between the Pacifiie Northwest and the Pacifie Southwest” (Com-

mittee Print, 1964) at pp. 21. 35-37, 39, and 43-46. The discussion

at pages 35, and 43-46, describes the role of the bank accounts in

the power marketing scheme.

20. See Plaintiff's Exhibit 22, at pages 1-2.

Appendix 59

through 1980 (the time targeted in the 1964 marketing

scheme), and at the same time have power available for

anticipated Bureau loads coming on line (such as the San

Luis pumping unit scheduled for 1966-67), it was necessary

to make provision in the scheme for some sort of power

banking arrangement, and the Bureaun—PG&FE contract

does just that. Henee, the court finds that the “sales” of

power to PG&E do not violate the preference provisions

of 43 U.S.C. § 485h(¢).73

(2) Discrimmation in Treatment of Preference

Customers.

The relevant provisions of the Central Valievy Authoriza-

tion Act and the Federal Reclamation Laws are set out

above. For purposes of this section, the operative provision

is that found in 43 U.S.C. § 485h(¢) which mandates that

in the sales of CVP power, “preference shall he given to

municipalities.” Santa Clara argues that this language

should be read to mean that all preference entities shall

be treated equally in the allocation of CVP power.

(a) Reviewahbility of Defendants’ Actions.

The defendants and PG&E argue strenuously that the

federal statutes governing the sale of CVP power to pref-

erence customers represent such a broad grant of discretion

21. While there is no legitimate preference clause issue in this

ease, Santa Clara’s objection to the sales to PG&E is one aspect of

its larger challenge to the marketing scheme in general, under

which preference entities which were Bureau CVP customers in

1964, when the plan was devised, were promised not only non-with-

drawable present allocations of CVP power, but also allocations for

load growth through 1980. The sales to PG&E, and the banking of

such power by that company, were for the purpose of reserving

power for the existing preference customers’ load growth. As such,

Santa Clara would claim, these sales are just one more example of

discrimination between preference customers, because they are for

the purpose of satisfying the power needs of a group of preference

customers of which Santa Clara was not allowed to become a part.

60 Appendix

in the Secretary of the Interior that his actions thereunder

are not subject to judicial review. They rely on the Admin-

istrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. §$ 701(a)(2) which makes

that Act, with its provision for judicial review of agency

action under Section 702, inapplicable “to the extent that

. agency action is committed to agency discretion by

law.”

Judicial reviewability of administrative action is the

rule, and nonreviewability an exception which must. be

demonstrated, and which should result only from a showing

of “clear and convincing evidence” of a legislative intent

to restrict judicial review. Barlow v. Collins, 397 U.S. 159,

90 S.Ct. 832, 25 L.Ed.2d 192 (1969): Abbott Laboratories

v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136, 87 S.Ct. 1507. 18 L.F.d.2d 681

(1967); Arizona Power Pooling Assn. v. Morton, 527 F.2d

721 (9th Cir. 1975). See also Hf.R.Rep.No.1980, 79th Cong.,

2d Sess., 41.

As the Supreme Court has stated, the “committed to

agency discretion” exception is a very narrow one, applica-

ble only in “those rare instances where ‘statutes are drawn

in such broad terms that in a given case there is no law

to apply.’” Citizens to Preserve Overton Park v. V olpe,

401 U.S. 402, 410, 91 S.Ct. 814, 820, 28 L.Fd.2d 136 (1971).

Searching for law to apply, Santa Clara makes alterna-

tive contentions. First, the City says that the preference

clause itself, mandating as it does that “preference shall

be given” to municipalities, places limits on the Secretary’s

discretion sufficient to say that the agency action is not so

far committed to agency discretion that judicial review

is barred. This argument, like so many in cases seeking

to invoke Section 701, ignores the qualifving language

found there: “to the extent that ._ . agency action is

committed to agency discretion by law.” Looking for shakles

Appendix 61

on discretion in the abstract is of no aid; rather, there

Inust appear circumscription of discretion on the particular

issue sought to be challenged. While the Secretary cannot,

under the statutory mandate, sell power to a nonpreference

customer over a preference customer, see Arizona Power

Pooling Assn, v. Morton, supra, the statutory admonition

does not address the question of whether the Secretary can,

for example, sell all available power to one preference

customer while refusing to sell any to another preference

customer. Since on this particular issue 43 U.S.C. § 485h (e)

does not speak, theoretically, judicial review of such a deci-

sion, no matter how arbitrary or capricious, is barred under

the Administrative Procedure Act.

Looking beyond the confines of the Reclamation Laws.

however, Santa Clara finds in Section 5 of the Flood Control

Act of 1544, 16 U.S.C. § 825s, the following:

Eleetrie power and energy generated at reservoir proj-

ects under the control of the Department of the Army

and in the opinion of the Secretary of the Army not

required in the operation of such projects shall be

delivered to the Secretary of the Interior, who shall

transmit and dispose of such power and energy in such

manner as to encourage the most widespread use

thereof at the lowesfpossible rates to consumers con-

sistent with sound business principles.

It is admitted by the City that the power generated from

CVP is not statutorily controlled by the Flood Control

Act. Rather, Santa Clara notes that the Department and

the Bureau themselves, and their attorneys here, as a matter

of departmental policy consider the provisions of that Act

to be applicable to the marketing of CVP power.®? See

22. The Department’s position in this regard is found in a letter

from then Seeretary Udall to Representative Aspinall dated May

15, 1965: ;

The provisions relating to power marketing and power rates

in section 9(c) of the Reclamation Project Act of 1939 [43

62 Appendix

Northern Calif. Power Agency v. Morton, 396 F.Supp.

1187, 1189 (D.D.C. 1975), aff’d per curiam without written

opinion,” 539 F.2d 243 (D.C.Cir. 1976) (assumed by the

court to be the case.)

U.S.C. §485h(e) ], seetion 5 of the Flood Control Act of 1944,

and section 6 of the Bonneville Power Act are in pari materia,

and each may be examined to shed light on the Congressional

intent with respect to the others. Indeed, as a practical matter,

as illustrated by the Bonneville Power Administration, be-

cause a single system may be used to market power from three

different sources, the three statutes have to be read together

and interpreted as establishing identical criteria for power

rates. Consequently, the mandate of the Flood Control Act of

1944 to market power from Army projects “in such manner as

to encourage the most widespread use thereof at the lowest

possible rates to consumers cons stent with sound business

principles” applies also to power marketed from reclamation

projects under reclamation law. —_

See Federal Reclamation and Related Laws Annotated, Vol. I, at

649 (1972). See also 41 Opp.Atty.Gen. 236 (1955).

PG&E hastens to point out that this statement of Departmental

policy, which is in the utility’s view “unduly solicitous of Santa

Clara’s interests”, see PG&E’s Memo.Add.Pts. & Auth. in Support

of Defendants’ Motion for Summary Judgment, Doe.No.24, is

merely an interpretation of the Reclamation Laws by the Depart-

meni of the Interior, and, as such, is not binding on the Department

or the court. Wilbur v. United States, 281 U.S. 206, 50 S.Ct. 320,

74 L.Ed. 809 (1930). PG&E attempts to show that Congress would

not have wanted this aspect of the Flood Controi Act to control the

Interior Secretary’s power marketing discretion under the Recla-

mation Laws, by noting that Flood Control Act power rate strue-

tures are subject to regulatory jurisdiction of the FPC, whereas

Reclamation Act rates are not. Also, PG&E notes, under the Flood

Control Aet, the FPC is given standards to apply in regulating

rates, whereas under the Reclamation Laws there is no such regu-

latory ageney to oversee power sales; rather the Seeretary of the

Interior directly is given such standards and guide-lines. The stat-

utory difference in administration of power rate-setting is without

significance on the issue of how power should be marketed in the

publie interest. The rate structure guidelines in both statutes are

designed to insure that the government reeoups its investment and

covers operating expenses, and in no sense does the presence of the

FPC in one scheme give rise to an inference that discretion in for-

mulating power marketing plans is to be greater or lesser in one

statute or the other.

Appendix 63

While the Department's interpretation of the interrela-

tionship between the two Acts is not binding, it is the

opinion of the court that at least as far as power marketing

is concerned, Congress likely did intend that CVP power

was to he disposed of “in such manner as to encourage the

most widespread use thereof at the lowest possible rates

to consumers consistent with sound business principles.”

The court notes that the subject provisions of the Flood

Control Act, drafted in language of general applicability

to sales of public power, came just after the Reclamation

Laws, and thus represent the most recent, but at the same

time contemporaneous expression of Congressional desire

eoncerning the marketing of public power. Of greater

moment, there is no dearth of Congressional pronounce-

ments that public projects funded by public money should

inure to the henefit of the public as a whole to the greatest

extent possible.“ This is clearly the goal of the preference

clauses found in a multitude of Congressional acts. in-

cluding, not insignificantly, that governing power sales

from CYP. Publie agencies and co-ops were to get first shot

at the power generated by federal projects, a concept

tracing back to public ownership of water resources and

the power flowing therefrom.” Finally, as then Secretary

93. See, e. e. Cone.Ree.—Senate (Nov. 22, 1944) at 8323.

24. In addition to the present Reclamation Laws, the Bonneville

Power Act, and the Flood Control Act, noted above, preference

clauses appeared in the following: Reclamation Act of 1906, 34

Stat. 116: Raker Act of 1913, 38 Stat. 242: Federal Water Power

Act of 1920, 41 Stat. 1063. 16 U.S.C. § 800: Salt River Project Act

of 1922, 42 Stat. 847, 48 U.S.C. $598; Boulder Canyon Project Act

of 1928, 45 Stat. 1057, 43 U.S.C. § 617d(e) ; Tennessee Valley Au-

thority Act of 1933, 48 Stat. 58, 16 U.S.C. $831 et seq.; Rural

Electrification Act of 1936, 49 Stat. 1363, 7 U.S.C. $901 ct seq.:

Fort Peek Projeet Act of 1938, 52 Stat. 403. 16 T.S.C. $ 833 et seq.

25. See Preference to Public Bodies in the Marketing of Public

Power, Library of Congress, Legislative Reference Service, Jan 20,

1956.

64 Appendix

Udall stated,** as a practical matter, because the Depart-

ment may often find itself using a single system to market

power from

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v. City of Santa Clara · 439 U.S. 859 | Frix