Petition — Ford Motor Co. (Chicago Stamping Plant) v. NLRB

Supreme Court brief1979

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

]

Supreme Court. U. $ 1

rT =_— .

———— & D

JUN <4 1978

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United! BMitatesor. 1». vere |

OCTOBER TERM, 1977

No. 77-1806

FORD MOTOR COMPANY (CxHicaGo STAMPING PLANT),

Petitioner,

VS.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

and

LOCAL 588, UNITED AUTOMOBILE, AEROSPACE

AND AGRICULTURAL IMPLEMENT WORKERS OF

AMERICA, UAW,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT

OF APPEALS FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

THEOPHIL C. KAMMHOLZ

WILLIAM W. MCKITTRICK

MICHAEL G. CLEVELAND

115 South LaSalle Street

Chicago, Illinois 60603

WILLIAM J. ROONEY

JAMES R. JACKSON

Ford Motor Company

The American Road

Dearborn, Michigan 48121

Counsel for Petitioner

Of Counsel:

VEDDER, PRICE, KAUFMAN & KAMMHOLZ

115 South LaSalle Street

Chicago, Illinois 60603

Gunthorp-Warren Printing Company, Chicago e Financial 6-6565

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I so. 54059-0660 Ca de Mies Cap ed Séde cc tex

Ne ne a ee ewan |

eo cos waa eee 6d avkdlednescds eens

RE PO eee Oe ee er en Ee

Ne ond nGediewkwenue bas

i EL Cue cedeudecekiveibbeovabacuete

Reasons for Granting the Writ. .....ccccccccsccccces

I. The Decision Below Conflicts with Decisions of

the First and Fourth Circuits and with an Earlier

Decision of the Seventh Circuit.............

ll. This Case Presents Questions of Substantial and

Recurring Importance in Collective Bargaining

and Therefore Is Appropriate for Decision by

Se SES 6 5 KE dEd Ge bkee eh Eahbeeicecencs

Conclusion

reeves eeeCveseeesesee~eeceVPeeseeeceae@21eeo@eoed aoee es a 2

“s O”nUW WwW WN N N WN

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Allied Chemical & Alkali Workers v. Pittsburgh Plate Glass

Co., 404 U. S. 157, 187 (1971)... 0... cece cenees 9

Fibreboard Paper Products Corp. v. NLRB, 379 U. S. 203

SEED a pkcd SS TeR sa HeNed sant neseeereeeosanes 5

Ladish Co., 219 NLRB 354 (1975), enf. denied, 538

ve Gy ee, ts ©.) Peeerereerreriie 5, 8, 10

McCall Corp., 172 NLRB 540 (1968), enf. denied, 432

i % £. fo SS Tr eee 5,8

McCall Corp. v. NLRB, 432 F. 2d 187 (1970)........ 7,8

NLRB v. Ladish Co., 538 F. 2d 1267 (1976)..... 6, 7,9, 10

NLRB v. Package Machinery Corp., 457 F. 2d 936

tt “ued titubssihbaren ited enake baese eons 7,8

Package Machinery Co., 191 NLRB 268 (1971), enf.

denied, 457 F. 2d 936 (1st Cir. 1972)............. 5,8

Westinghouse Electric Corp., 156 NLRB 1080 (1966),

enf. denied, 387 F. 2d 542 (4th Cir. 1967)........ 5,7,8

Westinghouse Electric Corp. v. NLRB, 387 F. 2d 542

DE Gu set caneek seh ede u obe dead encaeoadeen 7, 8,9

Statutes

ase NE sc BEN en ch twa nceeaetkeecees 2

National Labor Relations Act, 61 Stat. 136, 29 U. S. C.

4 EF fer ee rrr ome 2, 5, 6, 7

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1977

ee

FORD MOTOR COMPANY (Cuicaco STAMPING PLANT),

Petitioner,

VS.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

and

LOCAL 588, UNITED AUTOMOBILE, AEROSPACE

AND AGRICULTURAL IMPLEMENT WORKERS OF

AMERICA, UAW,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT

OF APPEALS FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Ford Motor Company, Chicago Stamping Plant (Company),

prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment of

the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

entered on April 18, 1978, enforcing an order of the National

Labor Relations Board against the Company.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals (Appendix A, infra,

pp. Al-A17) is reported at 571 F. 2d 993 (1978). The Decision

and Order of the National Labor Relations Board (Appendix B,

infra, pp. A18-A45) is reported at 230 NLRB No. 101 (1977).

JURISDICTION

The decision of the Court below issued on February 22, 1978.

On March 23, 1978, the Court denied the Company’s Petition

for Rehearing En Banc (Appendix C, infra, p. A46). The

April 18, 1978, judgment of the Court below is reproduced as

Appendix D, infra, pp, A47-A48. The jurisdiction of this Court

is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The basic question is whether in-plant cafeteria and vending

machine food prices are “terms and conditions of employment”

within the meaning of Section 8(d) of the National Labor

Relations Act, as amended, and therefore mandatory subjects

of collective bargaining.

A subsidiary question is whether in-plant food services are also

“terms and conditions of employment” within the meaning of

Section 8(d) of the National Labor Relations Act.

STATUTE INVOLVED

The pertinent provisions of the National Labor Relations

Act, as amended (61 Stat. 136, 29 U.S.C. § 151 et seq.), are set

forth in Appendix E, infra, p. A49.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In this case a panel of the Court of Appeals enforced a

Decision and Order of the National Labor Relations Board in

which the Board, inter alia, found that the Company had unlaw-

fully refused to bargain with Local 588, International Union,

United Automobile, Aerospace and Agricultural Implement

Workers of America (Union), concerning in-plant cafeteria and

vending machine food prices and services, and ordered the

Company to bargain with the Union concerning food services

and changes in food prices (App. A, p. Al7; App. B, pp. A26-

A27).

A—The Facts

The Company operates an automotive parts stamping plant

in Chicago Heights, Illinois (App. A, p. A2). Hourly rated

production and maintenance employees are represented by the

Union (App. A, p. A2).

The Company provides its employees two air conditioned

cafeterias and five air conditioned food vending areas (App. A,

p. A2). Since 1970, an independent food caterer, ARA Services

(ARA), has serviced these areas, providing food and vending

machines (App. A, p. A2; App. B, p. A32).

The agreement between the Company and ARA, subject to

termination by either party on 60 days’ notice, provides that

the Company will reimburse ARA for its direct costs of the

food and vending operations plus a 9% surcharge for administra-

tive costs and service fees (App. A, p. A3). If receipts

exceed this amount, the excess will be returned to the Company

(App. B, p. A20). If receipts are less than costs plus the

surcharge, the Company is obligated to subsidize ARA up to an

annual amount not to exceed $52,000 (App. A, p. A3). In

recent years the operations have been on a loss basis and the

Company has made up annual losses to ARA (App. A, p.

A3).

4

All employees are provided a 30-minute lunch period and

two 22-minute rest periods daily (App. B, p. A20). Although

they may do so, very few employees leave the plant during

their lunch breaks (App. B, p. A20). They are not entitled

te leave during the 22-minute breaks (App. B, p. A20).

Employees may bring their own food into the plant and

store it in their personal lockers (App. A, p. A2). A Union

witness testified that the lockers are not air conditioned and,

during the summer, become hot (App. A, p. A2; App. B, p.

A35). This witness also testified that employees have complained

about spoilage of food stored in their lockers (App. A, p. A2;

App. B, p. A35).

The present controversy developed when the Company was

informed by ARA that, effective February 9, 1976, it would

increase the prices of certain food items sold in the cafeteria

and vending areas by either 5 or 10¢ (App. A, p. AS). The Com-

pany advised the Union of ARA’s plans and refused the Union’s

request to bargain about the increases prior to ARA’s im-

plementing them and subsequently refused to bargain with the

Union about food prices and services (App. A, p. A5).

On February 16, 1976, the Union began a boycott of the

food service operations in which over half the employees

participated. This boycott continued until June 7, 1976, and

did not result in a reduction of food prices (App. A, p. A5).

From time to time prior to the February, 1976, price in-

creases, the Company had bargained with the Unio concerning

various aspects of the food services provided its employees—

for example, agreeing that there would be adequate personnel

to serve food in the cafeterias, that a facility would be located

in a new addition and that broken vending machines would be

promptly repaired (App. A, p. A4). At no time, however,

did the Company bargain with the Union regarding the prices

of food sold in the cafeterias or vending areas (App. A, p.

AS).

B—The Board’s Decision and Order

The Board, reversing its Administrative Law Judge, found

that the Company violaied Section 8(a)(5) and (1) of the

Act by refusing to bargain about the price increases and about

the in-plant food services, and by refusing the Union’s request

for information about food services at the plant (App. B, pp.

A23-A25). The Board held that this conclusion was mandated by

its rulings in four prior cases that “in-plant food prices are a

mandatory subject of bargaining”, notwithstanding that each

of the decisions was denied enforcement by a Court of Appeals

(App. B, p. A22).* The Board rejected the reasoning of the

Administrative Law Judge that these Courts of Appeals deci-

sions, coupled with the Board's failure to seek certiorari in the

most recent of them, indicated that the Board had accepted the

judicial view that in-plant food prices were mandatory subjects

of bargaining (App. B, pp. A23-A24). The Board stated that

regardless of the reversal of its earlier decisions by the Courts

of Appeals, “we adhere to our position that cafeteria and vend-

ing machine prices are a mandatory subject of bargaining”

(App. B, p. A23). The Board, inter alia, ordered the Company

to bargain with the Union with respect to food services and any

changes, “now in effect or hereafter made or proposed,” in food

prices charged employees (App. B, p. A27).

C—The Decision of the Court of Appeals

Quoting at length from this Court’s opinion in Fibreboard

Paper Products Corp. v. NLRB, 379 U. S. 203 (1964), and

particularly from Mr. Justice Stewart's concurring opinion, the

Court of Appeals held that in-plant cafeteria and vending

1. Westinghouse Electric Corp., 156 NLRB 1080 (1966), enf.

denied, 387 F. 2d 542 (4th Cir. 1967); McCall Corp., 172 NLRB

540 (1968), enf. denied, 432 F. 2d 187 (4th Cir. 1970); Package

Machinery Co., 191 NLRB 268 (1971), enf. denied, 457 F. 2d 936

(Ist Cir. 1972); Ladish Co., 219 NLRB 354 (1975), enf. denied,

538 F. 2d 1267 (7th Cir. 1976).

6

machine food prices and services materially and significantly

affect and have an impact upon terms and conditions of employ-

ment, and are therefore mandatory subjects of bargaining

(App. A, pp. A&-A10).? The Court of Appeals viewed the issue

of whether in-plant cafeteria and vending machine food prices and

services are terms and conditions of employment within the

meaning of Section 8(d) of the National Labor Relations Act as

a question to be resolved upon an evaluation of the relevant facts

of each case (App. A, pp. A8-A12). On this basis the Court of

Appeals factually distinguished this case from an earlier decision

by a different panel of the same Court, NLRB v. Ladish Co.,

53° F. 2d 1267 (1976), and from decisions by the First and

Fourth Circuits,’ all holding that the matter of in-plant cafeteria

and vending machine prices is not a mandatory bargaining

subject (App. A, pp. All1-A17).

According to the Court of Appeals, these factual distinctions

were: the Company retained control over cafeteria and vending

machine prices; the Company might make a profit from the

food service operation; since 1967 the Company and the Union

had bargained over in-plaai food services; bringing their own

lunches was not a viable alternative for employees; over half of

the Company's employees had boycotted the food service opera-

tions; and employees were represented by a single union (App.

A, pp. Al6-Al7).

2. Although both the Board and the Court of Appeals found

that the Company violated the Act by refusing to bargain with

respect to food prices and services, the basic dispute between the

parties concerned only the February, 1976, increase in food prices.

Services were only incidentally mentioned in an exchange of

correspondence concerning prices. At no time did the Union indicate

any aspect of services as to which it desired to bargain.

3. See cases cited supra n. 1.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Decision Below Conflicts with Decisions of the First

and Fourth Circuits and with an Earlier Decision of the

Seventh Circuit

By virtue of the decision below, there now is a conflict in

Courts of Appeals on whether in-plant food prices are manda-

tory subjects of collective bargaining. The decision below con-

Sicts with decisions of the Courts of Appeals for the First and

Fourth Circuits, which reached the opposite conclusion. In

Westinghouse Electric Corp. vy. NLRB, 387 F. 2d 542 (1967),

the Fourth Circuit, sitting en banc, overruled the earlier panel

decision and held that Section 8(d), as interpreted by this

Court in Fibreboard Paper Products Corp., supra, did not re-

quire the employer to bargain about price increases implemented

by an independent contractor which operated cafeterias in the

employer's facility. Subsequently, in McCall Corp. v. NLRB, 432

F. 2d 187 (1970), a panel of the Fourth Circuit held that in-

plant cafeteria and vending machine prices were not mandatory

bargaining subjects under the earlier Westinghouse decision and

rejected the argument that a different result should be reached

hecause the employer and not an independent contractor set

food prices. The First Circuit in NLRB v. Package Machinery

Corp., 457 F. 2d 936 (1972), held that cafeteria and vending

machine prices charged by an independent contractor, which the

employer subsidized, were not mandatory subjects of bargaining.

Moreover, the decision below conflicts with the Seventh Cir-

cuit’s earlier decision in NLRB v. Ladish Co., supra. In that

case, the Court held that the employer was not required to

bargain about food prices charged in vending machines owned

and maintained by an outside contractor.

Accordingly, certiorari should be granted to resolve this con-

flict between the Circuits and between different panels of the

Seventh Circuit. The assertions of the Court below that this

8

case is distinguishable from other decided cases dealing with

in-plant food prices simply do not withstand analysis.

First, both the Board and the Administrative Law Judge

recognized that this case presents the same issue which was

raised in the decisions of the First and Fourth Circuits and in

the earlier Seventh Circuit decision. As the Board stated: “The

Administrative Law Judge correctly found . . . that the present

case falls within the factual and legal context of the Board’s

decisions in Westinghouse Electric Corporation, McCali Corpo-

ration, Package Machinery Company, and Ladish” (App. B,

p. A22; footnotes omitted).* However, the Board did not deem

itself bound to follow these decisions and criticized the Adminis-

trative Law Judge for following them rather than following the

Board’s prior rulings.

Second, and fully as important, the “distinctions” focused

on by the Court are not material or are without legal significance.

A. Influence over Prices. Although the Court below sought

to find that the Company controlled food prices and services by

virtue of its right to review prices and the “leverage” afforded

by the subsidy agreement, much greater employer control was

involved in McCall Corp. v. NLRB, supra, where the employer

in fact established food prices and supplied the food. Likewise, in

both Westinghouse Electric Corp. v. NLRB, supra, and NLRB v.

Package Machinery Co., supra, the employers subsidized food

operations by providing rent-free space and equipment or cash.

B. Possibility of Profit. Although the Court below suggested

that this case was different from the other decided cases be-

cause of the possibility of profit by the Company, such a possi-

bility was, obviously, present in McCall Corp. v. NLRB, supra,

4. The Administrative Law Judge stated:

“It is unnecessary, in my opinion, to have discussed [West-

inghouse, McCall, Package Machinery and Ladish] in greater

detail for it is beyond question that in-plant food prices are a

mandatory subject of bargaining on the basis of the . . . Board

decisions. It seems equally clear that such prices are not a re-

quired subject of bargaining if the . . . court decisions be con-

trolling. The present case is therefore not one that requires in-

yr _— of the cases and underlying theory” (App. B,

p. .

9

where the employer controlled the entire food operation. In

any event, the mere possibility that unprofitable operations might

become profitable should not be significant.

C. Prior Bargaining. The reliance pla: 2d by the Court be-

low on prior bargaining between the parties over certain as-

pects of the food service operation simply ignores this Court's

holding in Allied Chemical & Alkali Workers v. Pittsburgh Plate

Glass Co., 404 U. S. 157, 187 (1971), that “[b]y once bargain-

ing and agreeing on a permissive subject, the parties . . . do

not make the subject a mandatory topic of future bargaining.”

Thus, the Company's prior bargaining with the Union about

certain aspects of the in-plant food service cannot, as a matter

of law, serve to distinguish this case from the other cited de-

cisions.

D. Lack of Viable Alternative. As in Westinghouse Elec-

tric Corp. Vv. NLRB, supra, and NLRB v. Ladish Co., supra,

the Company’s employees had, and many utilized, the alterna-

tive of bringing food into the plant rather than purchasing it

from the cafeteria or vending machines. For example, during

the boycott, most employees brought their lunches (App. B, p.

A40).

E. Boycott. The mere fact that certain employees were

disturbed enough by the price increase to boycott the food

services cannot convert those prices into subjects of mandatory

bargaining. As this Court held in Pittsburgh Plate Glass, supra,

and in Fibreboard Paper Products Corp., supra, the Act estab-

lishes a limited list of mandatory bargaining subjects. That list

cannot be expanded simply because certain employees are

interested enough to undertake some form of economic action

or, for that matter, file an unfair labor practice charge.

F. Number of Unions Involved. That the Company would

be obligated to bargain with only one union on food prices, a

fact on which the Court below placed some reliance, cannot

expand the scope of the Act’s mandatory bargaining require-

ments, Obviously, the statutory obligation to bargain does not

depend on the number of unions involved.

10

In sum, the efforts of the Court below to distinguish this case

from the decisions of the First and Fourth Circuits and its earlier

decision in NLRB v. Ladish Co., supra, are unavailing. This

case presents the same issue as was considered in those cases

and reaches the opposite conclusion.

Il. This Case Presents Questions of Substantial and Recurring

Importance in Collective Bargaining and Therefore Is Ap-

propriate for Decision by This Court

The novel and difficult character of the issues presented in this

case is evidenced not only by the split that now exists in the

Circuits but also by the conflict between the Seventh Circuit's

decision in this case and its prior decision in NLRB v. Ladish

Co., supra. Furthermore, notwithstanding the previous repeated

reversals by the Courts of Appeals, the Board has zealously ad-

hered to the principle that bargaining about food prices is re-

quired by the Act. The resulting uncertainty about whether

prices for in-plant food services are or are not subject to manda-

tory bargaining is detrimental to the development and mainte-

nance of stable collective bargaining relationships.

As the Board pointed out in Ladish Co., 219 NLRB 354

(1975), enf. denied, 538 F. 2d 1267 (1976), many employers

provide food services for employees.* The Court below treated

5. The Board stated:

“In a recent survey, 54 percent of the responding companies

provided food services for employees in a lunchroom with vend-

ing machines. Employee cafeterias are provided in 43 percent of

all companies. Vending machines (but not in a lunchroom) are

provided by 25 percent of the companies, and lunchrooms with

snack bar service are provided in 15 percent. Because the serv-

ices vary from one company location to another and respondents

were asked to check any of the services provided, the percentages

add to more than 100. The extended use of vending machines

is shown by a survey made by the Field Research Division of

the Paper Cup & Container Institute, New York. Of 1,264 plant

officials who replied to the survey, better than 8 of 10 are using

vending machines, with over 1 of 5 depending entirely upon

automatic vending. 4 Labor Policy and Practice, 245: 201-203.

See also data and conclusions cited in fn. 30 of the Administra-

tive Law Judge’s Decision in McCall Corporation, supra.” (219

NLRB at 357, n. 27)

11

the subject as controlled by the details of each case and, in

particular, by the distinctions discussed above. The tenuous

nature of those distinctions, singly or in combination, necessarily

leaves employers at whose facilities in-plant food services are

provided uncertain about whether bargaining as to food prices

is required. This uncertainty is compounded by the differences in

the conclusions reached by the Circuits, and, indeed, by the

different panels of the Seventh Circuit. Thus an employer—and

for that matter the representative of the employees as well—

must, in the absence of a determination by this Court, conjecture

not only as to how much weight each combination of distinc-

tions will be accorded but also as to which Court of Appeals or

panel thereof will hear the case.

The confusion which now exists and which affects a large

number of employers and employees can only be resolved by

this Court.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, it is respectfully submitted that this peti-

tion for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

THEOPHIL C, KAMMHOLZ

WILLIAM W. MCKITTRICK

MICHAEL G. CLEVELAND

115 South LaSalle Street

Chicago, Illinois 60603

WILLIAM J. ROONEY

JAMES R. JACKSON

Ford Motor Company

The American Road

— Michigan 48121

tines ounsel for Petitioner

VEDDER, PricE, KAUFMAN & KAMMHOLZ

115 South LaSalle Street

Chicago, Illinois 60603

June, 1978.

Al

APPENDIX A

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

for the Seventh Circuit

No. 77-1707

ForD Motor COMPANY (CHICAGO STAMPING PLANT),

Petitioner,

vs.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

Respondent,

and

LocaL 588, UNITED AUTOMOBILE, AEROSPACE AND

AGRICULTURAL IMPLEMENT WORKERS OF AMERICA, UAW,

Intervenor.

On Petition for Review and Cross-Application for Enforcement of

an Order of the National Labor Relations Board.

Argued January 10, 1978— Decided February 22, 1978

Before SWYGERT and SPRECHER, Circuit Judges, and GRANT,

Senior District Judge.*

SPRECHER, Circuit Judge. The question in this appeal is

whether in-plant cafeteria and vending machine food prices and

services are “terms and conditions of employment’ under Sec-

tion 8(d) of the National Labor Relations Act, as amended, or

* Senior District Judge Robert A. Grant of the Northern District

of Indiana is sitting by designation.

A2

materially or significantly affect or have impact upon such

terms and conditions under the facts and circumstances of this

case.’

The appeal comes here for review of an order of the National

Labor Relations Board and upon the Board's cross-application

for enforcement. On December 1, 1976, an Administrative Law

Judge issued his decision recommending that the complaint be

dismissed. The Board’s decision and order issued on July 11,

1977, reversed the Administrative Law Judge and concluded

that cafeteria and vending machine services and prices are

mandatory subjects of collective bargaining. 230 NLRB No. 101

(1977).

I

The petitioner, Ford Motor Company (Company), operates

an automotive parts stamping plant in Chicago Heights, Illinois,

where it employs approximately 3600 hourly-rated production

employees working in three shifts and represented by the inter-

venor, Local 588 of the United Automobile, Aerospace and

Agricultural Implement Workers of America, UAW (Union).

The Company and Union have been parties to a series of

national collective bargaining agreements supplemented by local

agreements. There is no other union in the plant.

The Company provides its employees with two air-conditioned

cafeterias seating a total of 450-600 persons and five air-

conditioned and enclosed vending machine areas, called “coke

cribs,” with a total seating capacity of 235-300 persons. All

employees have a 30-minute lunch period. The parties agreed

that it was not feasible for employees to leave the plant during

their food breaks. Mobile food vending trucks are not permitted

on plant property. }

Employees are permitted to bring their own food into the

plant and it may be eaten in the cafeteria or coke crib areas.

However, the food brought in may only be stored in ventilated

1 29 U. S.C. § 158(d).

A3

but not air-conditioned locker rooms. The employees have no

refrigeration facilties and in the summer months the lockers be-

come “very hot and sticky and smelly” with temperatures fre-

quently ranging from 80 to 100 degrees and causing food

spoilage. The Company has occasionally employed exterminator

services because of unsanitary conditions in the locker rooms.

Based on physical counts of usage, it appeared that assuming

a normal 5-day workweek, about 20-30% of the employees used

the Company cafeterias each day and, assuming that all em-

ployees used the vending machines, each employee used vending

machines about 342 times per day,

The two cafeterias and five vending machine areas are serv-

iced by a caterer, ARA Services, Inc., under a contract with

the Company dated February 11, 1972, which provides that

ARA shall:

furnish products of quality in accordance with purchasing

specifications that shall have been submitted to and ap-

proved by Ford, and in accordance with a price and portion

list for said manual food service and vending machines that

shall have been submitted to Ford and that shall be subject

to review at the request of Ford or contractor.

Under the agreement the Company furnishes rent-free space,

rent-free equipment (except the vending machines), all needed

utilities and maintenance whereas ARA furnishes the vending

machines, all food and beverages, and management and labor.

The agreement further provides that ARA shall be reimbursed

for all direct costs of food and vending operations plus an

allowance of general administrative costs equivalent to 4% of

net receipts plus a service fee of 5% of net receipts. If gross

receipts are less than the sum of the costs of the operation plus

the service fee, the Company is obligated to reimburse ARA

for the deficit by an annual amount not to exceed $52,000.

For all recent years, the operation has been on a loss basis and

the Company has made up the annual loss to ARA. Finally, the

agreement provides that ARA is an independent contractor and

A4

that the contract is terminable by either party upon 60 days

written notice.

Beginning with a letter dated October 29, 1967, from the

Company to the Union entitled “Improved Vending and Cafe-

teria Service,” the parties have bargained over various aspects

of the quality of service provided by the caterer (at that time

a predecessor of ARA). The 1967 letter provided in part that:

The Company recognizes its continuing responsibility

for the satisfactory performance of the caterer and for

providing the Union with a means for registering and ex-

peditious handling of complaints concerned with such

performance.

The letter, which was incorporated into the 1970 local collective

bargaining agreement, dealt with the staffing of service lines,

adequate cafeteria supervision, certain sanitary conditions, re-

stocking and repairing of vending machines, and menu variety.

The local agreement in effect during the material times in-

volved in this case became effective June 20, 1974, and con-

tinued through September 1976. The 1974 agreement included

the above “recognition” clause in slightly modified language

and other provisions dealing with cafeteria and vending services.”

2. 1. CAFETERIA SERVICE

The company assures the Union that steam table items will be

available at all times during the regular lunch period and that a

comparable selection of entrees, salads and desserts will be

available during all regular lunch periods. In addition, the

Company will make arrangements for a delicatessen type sand-

wich service in the cafeteria. Cafeteria supervision will be avail-

able during all lunch periods to ensure that employees will be

served in a reasonable length of time through the main serving

lines as well as to provide for the adequacy of food service,

condiments and utensils.

2. VENDING SERVICE AND VARIETY

To assure that vending machines will receive prompt servicing

in the event of a mechanical breakdown, a sticker will be affixed

to each machine indicating the number to call for repair.

Further, the Company assures the Union that a greater variety

of selections will be maintained in the existing vending machines

(Footnote continued on next page.)

AS

The Company has consistently refused to bargain with the

Union concerning prices set by ARA with its approval. The

present controversy developed when the Company informed the

Union that cafeteria and vending machine prices would be in-

creased on February 9, 1976. By a letter to the Company dated

February 13, the Union sought “to bargain with you regarding

[cafeteria and vending] prices and services.” On February 18,

the Company responded by letter stating that “(s]imilar requests

have been made by the Union in the past, and the Corapany’s

response has been the same, that food prices and services are not

a proper subject for negotiations.”*

Beginning on February 16, 1976, there was a boycott by

Union members of the cafeteria and vending operations, which

ended as to the cafeteria on May 19, 1976, and as to vending

machines on June 7, 1976. The Administrative Law Judge found

that “a substantial reason for abandoning the boycott was its

ineffectiveness in reducing prices.” He also noted that employees

mostly brought in their lunches during the boycott and its termi-

nation was due in part to the onset of hot weather with conse-

quent problems of spoilage of food.

Meanwhile on April 12, 1976, the Union had filed an unfair

labor practice charge against the Company. On May 26, 1976,

(Footnote continued from preceding page.)

and that the quality of such items will ti -

ag bs y il continue to meet Com

The Company recognizes its continuing responsibility for the

satisfactory performance of the caterer and for the expeditious han-

dling of complaints concerned with such performance.

3. By letter of March 23, 1976, the Union requested from the

Company information regarding cafeteria and vending machine oper-

ations, including the Company's maintenance responsibilities, profits

from food operations, control of prices and contractual relations with

the caterer. On April 9, the Company denied the Union's request for

information. Most if not all the information requested was disclosed

in the proceedings before the Board. The Board found and con-

cluded that the requested information was relevant to food prices and

services, and that its disclosure was necessary to the Union's fulfilling

its duty as a bargaining agent.

on te

A6

the Regional Attorney for the Board’s General Counsel for

Chicago issued a complaint against the Company. Our juris-

diction is derived from Sections 10(e) and (f) of the Act as

amended (29 U.S. C. § 160), the alleged unfair labor practices

having occurred in Illinois.

II

As early as 1949, the National Labor Relations Board held

that an employer had a statutory duty to bargain regarding the

prices of meals served at logging camps. Weyerhaeuser Timber

Co., 87 NLRB 672 (1949). Through the years the Board has

persisted in its position that in-plant cafeteria and vending

machine food prices and services are terms and conditions of

employment and hence mandatory subjects of bargaining.

Westinghouse Electric Corp., 156 NLRB 1080 (1966); Mc-

Call Corp., 172 NLRB 540 (1968); Package Machinery Co.,

191 NLRB 268 (1971); and Ladish Co., 219 NLRB 354

(1975).

These last four cases were all reversed by courts of appeals.

Westinghouse Electric Corp. v. N. L. R. B., 369 F. 2d 891

(panel decision), 387 F. 2d 542 (supervening en banc decision,

4th Cir. 1967); McCall Corp. v. N. L. R. B., 432 F. 2d 187

(4th Cir. 1970); N. L. R. B. v. Package Machinery Co., 457

F. 2d 936 (ist Cir. 1972); and N. L. R. B. v. Ladish Co., 538

F. 2d 1267 (7th Cir. 1976).

The Board takes the view that an Administrative Law Judge's

duty is to apply established Board precedent which the Supreme

Court of the United States or the Board itself has not reversed,

despite reversals of Board precedent by courts of appeals. /owa

Beef Packers, Inc., 144 NLRB 615, 616 (1963). In the present

case, the Administrative Law Judge reasoned that despite the

Board’s precedents in Westinghouse, McCall, Package Machin-

ery and Ladish, the reversals of those cases by courts of appeals

followed by the failure of the Board to seek certiorari from the

Supreme Court in the most recent case, N. L. R. B. v. Ladish

A7

Co., 538 F. 2d 1267 (7th Cir. 1976), indicated thai the Board

had acquiesced and changed its former position. The Adminis-

trative Law Judge therefore recommended that the complaint

against Ford Motor Company be dismissed.

The Board rejected the Administrative Law Judge’s reasoning

and said that “[w]ith ail due respect to the First, Fourth, and

Seventh Circuits, we adhere to our position that cafeteria and

vending machine prices are a mandatory subject of bargaining.”

230 NLRB No. 101 (1977),

Ill

Section 8(a)(5) of the National Labor Relations Act, as

amended,‘ makes it an unfair labor practice for an employer

to “refuse to bargain collectively with the representatives of his

employees. . . .” Collective bargaining is defined in Section 8(d)

as:

the performance of the mutual obligation of the employer

and the representative of the employees to meet at reason-

able times and confer in good faith with respect to wages,

hours, and other terms and conditions of employment. . . .°

4. 29 U.S.C. § 158(a)(5).

5. 29U.S. C. § 158(d). The original National Labor Relations

Act of 1935 (the Wagner Act) did not contain a definition of

collective bargaining, but Section 9(a) provided that a majority

union shall be = ae mpemeananes of all employees in an

appropriate unit “for the purposes of collective bargaining in respect

to rates of pay, wages, hours of employment, or other conditions of

employment . . .” (Emphasis added.) When the Labor Management

Relations Act of 1947 (the Taft-Hartley Act) substantially amended

the National Labor Relations Act, Section 9(a) was left unchanged

and Section 8(d) was first included. The parties to this case have not

directed our attention to, nor has our own research located, any

legislative history which would be particularly persuasive in an

attempt to give further content to the phrase “terms and conditions

of employment” in Section 8(d) or “conditions of employment” in

Section 9(a). See Legislative History of the Labor Management

Relations Act, 1947 (G. P. O., 1948), Vols. I and II. Possi ly the

only assistance in interpreting these phrases which the history affords

is summarized by Mr. Justice Stewart in his concurring opinion in

Fibreboard Paper Products Corp. v. N. L. R. B., 379 U. S. 203 at

220-221 (1964).

A8

The Supreme Court decision giving definitive substance to

the words “terms and conditions of employment” is Fibreboard

Paper Products Corp. Vv. N. L. R. B., 379 U. S. 203 (1964).

Inasmuch as what may be the key message of F ibreboard seems

to have been overlooked or at least summarily considered in

subsequent cases, it is crucial to the outcome of this case to

examine Mr. Chief Justice Warren’s opinion for the Court and

Mr. Justice Stewart’s concurring opinion in some detail.

The Court's Fibreboard opinion goes to great pains to empha-

size that each categorization of what is or is not a term or

condition of employment or what has or has not sufficient effect

or impact upon a term or condition so as to convert it into a

mandatory subject of bargaining, must depend upon the facts and

circumstances of each case. At the outset of the opinion, the

Court said at 209:

We agree with the Court of Appeals, that, on the facts

of this case, the “contracting out” of the work previously

performed by members of an existing bargaining unit Is a

subject about which the National Labor Relations Act

requires employers and the representatives of their em-

ployees to bargain collectively.

(Emphasis added.)

At the end of the portion of the opinion dealing with this sub-

ject,® the Court said at 215:

We are thus not expanding the scope of mandatory bar-

gaining to hold, as = do now, that the type of “contracting

out” involved in this case—the replacement of employees

in the existing bargaining unit with those of an independent

contractor to do the same work under similar conditions of

employment—is a statutory subject of collective bargaining

under § 8(d). Our decision need not and does not en-

compass other forms of “contracting out” or “subcontract-

ing” which arise daily in our complex economy.

6. In the middle of the opinion the Court said that “[t}he facts of

the present case illustrate the propriety of submitting the dispute to

collective negotiation.” (Emphasis added.) 379 U. S. at 213.

A9

The Stewart concurrence expanded further on the same theme’

at 218:

The question posed is whether the particular decision

sought to be made unilaterally by the employer in this case

is a subject of mandatory collective bargaining within the

Statutory phrase “terms and conditions of employment.”

That is all the Court decides. The Court most assuredly

does not decide that every managerial decision which

necessarily terminates an individual's employment is subject

to the duty to bargain. Nor does the Court decide that

subcontracting decisions are as a general matter subject to

that duty. The Court holds no more thar: that this em-

ployer’s decision to subcontract this work, involving “the

replacement of employees in the existing bargaining unit

with those of an independent contractor to do the same

work under similar conditions of employment,” is subject

to the duty to bargain collectively. Within the narrow

limitations implicit in the specific facts of this case, 1 agree

with the Court’s decision.

(Emphasis added. )

Even as all “contracting out” situations are not necessarily

either mandatory bargaining subjects or not mandatory bargain-

ing subjects, not all in-plant cafeteria and vending machine food

prices and services are necessarily one or the other. What is

peculiarly and particularly a question of fact should not be

converted into a matter of law, as Fibreboard strained to make

clear. Having done this, Mr. Justice Stewart then sought to

establish some guidelines for making the factual distinction.

While much of his concurrence is applicable only to “contract-

ing out” situations, some of his observations are applicable

generally.

For example, he gave recognition to the standard that a

particular matter may be either a term or condition of employ-

ment or may affect or have such an impact upon a term or

7. More recently, in Allied Chemical Workers v. Pittsburgh

Plate Glass Co., 404 U. S. 157, 179 (1971), the Supreme Court

held that “in each case the question is . . . whether {a particular

matter] vitally affects the ‘terms and conditions’ of . . . employment.”

Al0

condition that it nevertheless becomes a mandatory subject of

bargaining. At the same time he limited that standard as not

encompassing all matters which have an “effect-impact.” He

said at 223:

While employment security has thus properly been

recognized in various circumstances as a condition of

employment, it surely does not follow that every decision

which may affect job security is a subject of compulsory

collective bargaining.

* * * * *

In many of these areas the impact of a particular man-

agement decision upon job security may be extremely

indirect and uncertain, and this alone may be sufficient

reason to conclude that such decisions are not “with

respect to . . . conditions of employment.”

(Emphasis added.)

Mr. Justice Brennan, writing for the Court in Allied Chemical

Workers v. Pittsburgh Plate Glass Co., 404 U. S. 157, 179

(1971), said “[w]e agree with the Board that the principle

of ... Fibreboard is . . . whether [a particular matter] vitally

affects the ‘terms and conditions’ of . . . employment.

Based principally upon the Stewart concurrence in Fibre-

board, the courts of appeals have sought to further develop the

standard for determining whether a particular matter “affects”

or “has an impact upon” a term or condition of employment.

Some courts have limited the “effect-impact” test by requiring a

“material” or “significant” effect or impact (see Seattle First

National Bank v. N. L. R. B., 444 F. 2d 30, 33 (9th Cir.

1971)), or a “substantial adverse effect” upon the employees

(see District 50, United Mine workers v. N. L. R. B., 358 F. 2d

234, 237 (4th Cir. 1966).°

8. As applied to in-plant cafeteria and vending machine food

prices and services see Westinghouse, supra 387 F. 2d at 548

(“. . . a significant or material relationship to wages, hours, or other

conditions of employment”) and McCall, supra 432 F. 2d at 188

(“whether the issue ‘materially affects the conditions of employ-

ment’”) (Sobeloff, J., dissenting).

All

IV

Applying the Fibreboard principles to the case at hand will

perhaps be simpler if we first determine how they have been

applied in this circuit generally and in this and other circuits

specifically to in-plant feeding.

This court adopted the case-by-case approach in interpreting

the analogous phrase “working conditions” in the Railway

Labor Act,’ holding that “[“t]he Act does not fix or authorize

anyone to fix generally applicable standards for working condi-

tions... .” Jn re Chicago North Shore & M. R. Co., 147 F .2d

723, 727 (7th Cir.) cert. denied, 325 U. S. 852 (1945).

In N. L. R. B. v. Ladish Co., 538 F. 2d 1267, 1272 (7th Cir.

1976), the Court said that “[w]Je hold that vending machine food

prices are not a material or significant condition of employment

at Ladish” (emphasis added). Furthermore, the opinion of

Judge Pell, which relies upon Fibreboard and upon Seattle First

National Bank v. N. L. R. B., supra, makes it clear that the

Court is applying the material or significant effect or impact

s‘andard rather than what may seem to be an entirely different

standard of “material or significant condition,” which, of course,

would be contrary to the statute itself.'°

The result in the Ladish case and the seemingly contrary dicta

in Inland Steel Co. v. N. L. R. B., 170 F. 2d 247, 251 (7th Cir.

1948), cert. denied, 336 U. S. 960 (1949), that “a provision

for in-plant feeding . . . could properly be designated as ‘wages,’

and... [is one of the] ‘conditions of employment,’ are easily

9. Section 2, First of the Railway Labor Act provides that “[i]t

shall be the duty of all carriers, their officers, agents, and employees

to exert every reasonable effort to make and maintain agreements

concerning rates of pay, rules and working conditions ... .” (Em-

phasis added.) 45 U. S. C. § 152, First.

10. 29 U.S.C. § 158(d) makes terms and conditions of employ-

ment mandatory subjects of collective bargaining, whether material

or significant or not. Fibreboard expanded the plain meaning of the

statute to include matters having material or significant effect or

impact upon terms or conditions.

Al2

reconciled on this basis, namely, that this circuit applies the

case-by-case approach and the standard of review of material or

significant effect or impact upon a term or condition of em-

ployment.

In two of the other three in-plant food cases, the case-by-case

approach was used. Westinghouse, supra 387 F. 2d at 547

(“. .. it appears that the Supreme Court's decision in Fibrebourd

was limited to a particular situation .. . .”); McCall, supra 432

F. 2d at 187 (Westinghouse was decided “under the circum-

stances of the case”). Nothing was said in this regard in Package

Machinery, supra, which relied heavily, however, on Westing-

house and McCall. Both Westinghouse and McCall also applied

the standard of review of material or significant effect or impact.

See footnote 8, supra.

Finally, in the closely-analogous cases determining whether

company-furnished housing is a term or condition of employ-

ment, courts have held that the result depends upon an evalua-

tion of the relevant facts of the particular case. See American

Smelting & Refining Co. v. N. L. R. B., 406 F. 2d 552, 553-

554 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 395 U. S. 935 (1969).

Whether in-plant cafeteria and vending machine food prices

and services are a term or condition of employment is a close

and difficult question.

Mr. Justice Stewart, concurring in Fibreboard Corp. v.

N. L. R. B., 379 U.S. 203, 222 (1964), said that “[i]n common

parlance, the conditions of a person’s employment are most

obviously the various physical dimensions of his working en-

vironment” and “[w]hat one’s hours are to be, what amount of

work is expected during those hours, what periods of relief are

available, what safety practices are observed, would all seem

conditions of one’s employment.” The food one must pay for

and eat as a captive customer within the employer’s plant can be

viewed as a physical dimension of one’s working environment.

Ladish itself recognized that some aspects of in-plant feeding

are terms and conditions of employment. The Court there noted

Al3

A _—Fa—EEEEe

that “[t}he Company does not dispute that it is required to

bargain over hours of employment, including the lunch period.”

538 F. 2d at 1271. This Court, in Ladish, however, distinguished

“the vague dicta in /nland Steel, which in any event could mean

nothing more than the obvious requirement that a company

would have to bargain on some phases of ‘in-plant feeding,’

e.g. the time for the purpose.” Jd. at 1272.

The following analogous matters have been held to be terms

or conditions of employment and hence mandatory subjects of

collective bargaining:

Safety rules and practices—N. L. R. B. v. Gulf Power

Co., 384 F. 2d 822, 825 (Sth Cir. 1967).

Rules concerning employee discipline, smoking and

dress—S. S. Kresge Co. v. N. L. R. B., 416 F. 2d 1225,

1229-1230 (6th Cir. 1969).

Rental rate for company-furnished housing—American

Smelting & Refining Co. v. N. L. R. B., 406 F. 2d 552

(9th Cir.), cert. denied, 395 U.S. 935 (1969);N. L. R. B.

v. Lehigh Portland Cement Co., 205 F. 2d 821 (4th Cir.

1953).

Gas price discount for employees—N. L. R. B. v. Cen-

tral Illinois Public Service Co., 324 F. 2d 916 (7th Cir.

1963).

Level of heat in plant—N. L. R. B. v. Washington

Aluminum Co., 370 U. S. 9 (1962).

But despite the fact that we are dealing with a close question,

we accept, as we must in the absence .of en banc consideration,

the holding of Ladish, which we interpret to mean that under

the facts and circumstances Ladish in-plant vending machine

food prices were not a term or condition of employment.

We hold, however, that under the facts and circumstances of

this case, in-plant cafeteria and vending machine food prices and

services materially and significantly affect and have an impact

QUON QUON QUON OUON L961 29u'S Sururesieg 10ug

QUON QUON QUON QUON pore, nookog paduony

QDUIPIAD ON SOA ce 4 POMo]e ION PAMOTe ION SIOPUDIA IIGOW

SA OWOg %09-SS MOE 219ISBIJ ION Suidseq-sodeg

[R4I9AI¢ aenbopy aenbopeuy POMO]e ION nenbopeuy JUBING}SII IPIsINO

SOANBUIDNY

“SUI ()E-OZ “SUI QE-OT “SUI Cb-OF “SUIW CT “SUI OE qoun’y Joj out |,

%86 %S6-ST ONSs! JB JON %OL Kup sad %¢ souryoew Surpus A

%OS BOUSPIAD ON YSv-Ov suON %OE-OT BOOED

” SONMMCA JO ISP]

< SOA SOA SOA ON SIR Ayyenb poo

SOA SoA SOA ON SIR SAL g

jonUO0D sJ90A0jdwy

ovess U0 NOSIS ON 000°%S$ (4ea4 sad) ysea

2 A paresado- SoA ON Sok souRUa UIE

-kuedwo> SOA S94 SOA sonny

2 A SOK ON S94 wourdinbs 901j-juay

A SOA SOA sok a0eds 903j-1Udy

UONPZIPISgns

l [B19A9§ € L I suotuf) Jo Joquinyy

aaeyoed Ir )>W asnoysunsa 44 ysrpe’y pi04

=

<

The facts and circumstances of this case (set forth in Part I)

differ from those in Ladish, Westinghouse, McCall and Package

upon terms and conditions of employment, and therefore are

Machinery as summarized in chart form as follows:

mandatory subjects of bargaining.

Al6

We continue to operate under the constraints of Universal

Camera Corp. v. N. L. R. B., 340 U. S. 474, 488 (1951),

which referred to the National Labor Relations Board “as one

of those agencies presumably equipped or informed by experi-

ence to deal with a specialized field of knowledge, whose findings

within that field carry the authority of an expertness which

courts do not possess and therefore must respect.” The Board

made the following distinctions between the present case and

Ladish:

Unlike Ladish, where the respondent had no input on

prices, the Respondent in this case retains influence over

cafeteria and vending machine prices by its right to review

prices and its leverage of the subsidy agreement. In addi-

tion, there also exists the possibility for the Respondent to

make a profit on the food service operation. Also, since

1967, the parties in this case have bargained over in-plant

food services. No such bargaining history was present in

Ladish. Moreover, in Ladish, the court implied that “brown-

bagging” is a viable alternative to purchasing lunch from the

commercial food service. However, in this case, employees

have complained about spoilage of food stored in their

lockers until lunch, as well as unsanitary conditions in the

locker room (wherein the Respondent has found it neces-

sary on occasion to exterminate). Additionally, the em-

ployees have apparently been so concerned with the food

pricing that over half of them participated in a boycott of

the Respondent’s food service operations. There was no

such labor strife involved in Ladish. Lastly, in Ladish the

employees were represented by seven unions. The court

therein projected that each time the food prices were raised

“the Company could be compelled to engage in seven

rounds of negotiations.” 538 F. 2d at 1272. This fact, the

court declared, “provides a good example of a situation in

which bargaining could be both disruptive of stable rela-

tions and economically wasteful.” Jd. In the instant case,

however, the employees are represented by a single union.

While we adhere to the view that the number of unions

representing employees at a single plant is not a factor in

resolving this issue, we nevertheless note that, even in the

6) atone a

Al7

court’s view, there is no potential for conflicting union

demands in this case.

We agree with the Board that the distinctions which it has

found are material and significant, that those distinctions have

an effect and impact upon terms and conditions of employment,

and that therefore, in-plant cafeteria and vending machine food

prices and services, are mandatory subjects of bargaining under

the facts and circumstances of this case.

This result will not be unduly burdensome to the Company.

The obligation to bargain upon terms and conditions of employ-

ment “does not compel either party to agree to a proposal or

require the making of a concession.” 29 U. S. C. § 158(d). The

order we are enforcing does not require the Company to bargain

about every proposed price change in food prices before putting

such change into effect but “to bargain on such price change

only after . . . [it is) determined unilaterally and upon a request

of the Union.”

The Board’s order of July 11, 1977, is enforced and the

Company’s petition for review as denied.

Al18

APPENDIX B

230 NLRB No. 101

FPM

D—2635

Chicago Heights, III.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

BEFORE THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

ForD Motor CoMPANY

(Chicago Stamping Plant)

. |

Case 13—CA—15340

LocaL 588, UNITED AUTOMOBILE,

AEROSPACE AND AGRICULTURAL

IMPLEMENT WORKERS OF AMER-

ICA ,

DECISION AND ORDER

On December 1, 1976, Administrative Law Judge Ralph

Winkler issued the attached Decision in this proceeding. There-

after, the General Counsel and the Charging Party filed excep-

tions and supporting brief and the Respondent filed an answering

brief.

Pursuant to the provisions of Section 3(b) of the National

Labor Relations Act, as amended, the National Labor Relations

Board has delegated its authority in this proceeding to a three-

member panel.

The Board has considered the record and the attached De-

cision in light of the exceptions and briefs and has decided to

Al9

affirm the rulings, findings,’ and conclusions of the Adminis-

trative Law Judge only to the extent consistent herewith.

The complaint alleges that Respondent Ford Motor Company

(hereinafter called Respondent), at its Chicago Stamping Plant,

refused to bargain and supply information to Local 588, United

Automobile, Aerospace and Agricultural Implement Workers of

America (hereinafter called Union), in regard to the plant's

vending machine and cafeteria prices and services. The Ad-

ministrative Law Judge found that, on the basis of the Board's

decisions, in-plant food prices are a mandatory subject of bar-

gaining. However, he nevertheless found that the Board’s action

in failing to seek review of the Seventh Circuit's reversal of

Ladish,’ to the latest Board decision in this area, considered in

light of other reviewing courts’ refusal to uphold Board decisions

in this area (see infra), was a decision to hold that in-plant food

prices are not a mandatory subject of bargaining.’ Accordingly,

he concluded that the Respondent did not violate Section 8(a)

(5) and (1) by refusing to bargain about such prices and by

not supplying the requested information in connection there-

with. We disagree on all counts.

The facts are not in dispute and may be summarized as

follows: The Respondent provides its employees with two air-

conditioned cafeterias and five air-conditioned vending areas (or

coke cribs). The cafeteria and vending areas are serviced by

ARA Services pursuant to a 1972 agreement with the Respond-

ent. Under the agreement, ARA furnishes food and machines.

Section 2(d) of the contract states that ARA shall:

furnish products of quality in accordance with purchasing

specifications that shall have been submitted to and ap-

proved by Ford, and in accordance with a price and postion

1. The General Counsel has made a motion to correct the tran-

script and states that all — agree to the corrections. In the

absence of any opposition thereto, the motion is hereby granted.

2. 219 NLRB 354 (1975), enforcement denied 538 F. 2d 1267

(C. A. 7, 1976).

3. The Administrative Law Judge did not discuss the allegations

that Respondent refused to bargain as to services.

A20

list for said manual food service and vending machines

that shall have been submitted to Ford and that shall be

subject to review at the request of Ford or Contractor.

Section 3(a) of the agreement provides that ARA be reim-

bursed for all direct costs of the food and vending operations

along with a surcharge consisting of an allowance for general

administrative costs equivalent to 4 perceat of net receipts

and a service fee of 5 percent of net receipts. Should the receipts

exceed cost plus the 9 percent surcharge, the excess funds shall

be returned to the Respondent. When revenues do not exceed

the costs of the operation plus the service fee, the Respondent

is obligated to subsidize ARA, and in recent years, at times, has

had to do so. The agreement further states that the contract is

terminable by either party upon 60 days’ notice.

Although Respondent has at all times refused to bargain as

to the prices set by ARA with its approval, it has in the past

bargained over the quality of services provided by that caterer.

Since 1967, the local contract has included provisions dealing

with vending and cafeteria services. The contracts have covered

the staffing of service lines, adequate cafeteria supervision, re-

stocking and repairing vending machines, and menu variety.

The 1974 local agreement also states, “The Company recog-

nized its continuing responsibility for the satisfactory perform-

ance of the caterer and for the expeditious handling of com-

plaints concerned with such performance.”

Employees have a 30-minute lunch period and two 22-minute

rest periods. They are not allowed to leave the plant during

the 22-minute breads, and it is not feasible for them to leave

during the lunch period. Mobile food vending trucks are not

permitted on plant property and are not usually available outside

the plant gate. Only an extremely small number of employees

(approximately 12 of the 3,600) actually leave the plant during

the lunch period.

Employees are permitted to bring their own food into the

plant. However, the food must be stored in personal lockers.

A21

These lockers are located in rooms which are ventilated but not

air-conditioned. There are no refrigeration facilities. During the

summer months, the rooms become very hot (temperatures

reaching between 80 to 100 degrees) and sticky, and employees

have complained about food spoilage. The Respondent has had

occasion to use exterminator services upon complaints as to

santiary conditions in the locker room.

On February 6, 1976, the Respondent informed the Union

that cafeteria and vending machine prices would be increased

by an unspecified ainount on February 9. The Respondent

refused the Union’s request to discuss the increase first, and on

February 9 the prices were increased from 5 to 10 cents an

item. On February 13, the Union sent the following letter to

the Respondent's industrial relations manager, Brown, asking to

bargain about prices and services:

Dear Mr. Brown:

As the certified Bargaining Agent for i

your Production

and Maintenance Employees, Local 588 is concerned

a — eo grag in cafeteria and vending opera-

ms. We wou e to bargain with yo i

iamaaaamiion g you regarding these

As you know this is a subject of great concern. Good

food at reasonable prices is considered to be a condition

of employment by our members. If we discuss this properly,

we may be able to reach full agreement prior to opening

negotiations for a new contract.

Sincerely,

RICHARD W. Marco

The Respondent responded to the letter on February 18:

Dear Mr. Marco,

This letter is in response to your letter dated February

} > ayy ee to meet with the Company for the

rpose negotiating prices and services provided

A.R.A. food service. a 7

Similar requests have been made by the Union in the

past, and that Company's response has been the same, that

A22

food prices and services are not a proper subject for nego-

tiations. Appropziately, your request is denied.

T. M. BROWN

In the meantime, the Union, on February 16, 1976, began a

boycott of the food services operations and over half of the

employees participated. The boycott lasted over a month, but

did not result in any changes in the prices. On March 23, 1976,

the Union requested information concerning the Respondent's

role in cafeteria and vending operations in order to administer

the existing contract and to prepare for upcoming negotiations.

The Respondent declined.

The Administrative Law Judge correctly found—and the

Respondent concedes in its brief—that the present case falls

within the factual and legal context of the Board’s decisions in

Westinghouse Electric Corporation, McCall Corporation Pack-

age Machinery Company,® and Ladish,’ and that on the basis of

these decisions in-plant food prices are a mandatory subject of

bargaining. Had he followed the principles established in such

cases, therefore, he necessarily would have found, as we do,

that Respondent violated 8(a)(5) and (1) when it refused to

bargain about such matters. However, as previously indicated,

the Administrative Law Judge, relying on the First,* Fourth,”

and Seventh,” Circuits’ reversal of the Board’s finding of a

violation in the above-mentioned cases, coupled with the

Board's failure to seek certiorari in Ladish, erroneously found

that the Board has since decided that in-plant food prices are

4. 156 NLRB 1080 (1966).

5. 172 NLRB 540 (1968).

6. 191 NLRB 268 (1971).

7. 219 NLRB 354 (1975).

8. Packaze Machinery Company v. N. L. R. B., 457 F. 2d 936

(C. A. 1, 1972).

9. Westinghouse Electric Corporation v. N. L. R. B., 387 F. 2d

542 (C. A. 4, 1967); McCall Corporation v. N. L. R. B., 432 F. 2d

187 (C. A. 4, 1970).

10. N.L.R.B. Vv. Ladish Co., 538 F. 2d 1267 (C. A. 7, 1976).

A23

not a mandatory subject of bargaining and hence there was no

violation in Respondent's refusal to bargain about them.

With all due respect to the First, Fourth, and Seventh Cir-

cults, we adhere to our position that cafeteria and vending

machine prices are a mandatory subject of bargaining." Nor

does the Board’s failure to seck certiorari in those cases indicate

an abandonment of its position that in-plant food prices are a

mandatory subject of bargaining, and any assumptions to the

contrary are totally unfounded and unwarranted.’* Accordingly,

11. We note that the instant case, on its facts, is in man

a stronger case than Ladish for adhering to our position. Unlike

Ladish, where the respondent had no input on prices, the Respondent

in this case retains influence over cafeteria and vending machine

prices by its right to review prices and its leverage of the subsidy

agreement. In addition, there also exists the possibility for the

Respondent to make a profit on the food service operation. Also,

since 1967, the parties in this case have bargained over in-plant food

services. No such bargaining history was present in Ladish. More-

over, in Ladish, the court implied that “brown-bagging” is a viable

alternative to purchasing lunch from the commercial food service.

ee oom. in this case, employees have complained about spoilage of

ood stored in their lockers until lunch, as well as unsanitary condi-

tions in the locker room (wherein the Respondent has found it

emmys on occasion to exterminate). Additionally, the employees

ave ay been so concerned with the food pricing that over

half o them participated in a boycott of the Respondent’s food

— operations. There was no such labor strife involved in Ladish.

— y, in Ladish the employees were represented by seven unions.

Ne court therein projected that each time the food prices were

= the Company could be compelled to engage in seven rounds

of negouations.” 538 F. 2d at 1272. This fact, the court declared,

= a good example of a situation in which bargaining could

both disruptive of stable relations and economically wasteful.”

Id. In the instant case, however, the emplovees are represented bv a

single union. While we adhere to the view that the number of unions

Po rma employees at a single plant is not a factor in resolving

this issue, we nevertheless note that, even in the court’s view, there

1s no potential for conflicting union demands in this case.

12. By relying on U. S. Court of Appeals’ decisions which

. are

—— to applicable Board precedent, the Administrative Law

ge in this case has committed an error. It is not for an Adminis-

trative Law Judge to speculate as to what course the Board shou!d or

— follow where a circuit court has expressed disagreement with

the Board’s views. That is the province of the Beard alone. It

(Footnote continued on next page.)

A24

we find that Respondent has violated Section 8 (a) (5) and (1)

of the Act by refusing to bargain about the price increases it

placed inio effect.

We further find that Respondent violated the same sections of

the Act by also refusing to bargain about the food services pro-

vided by it through a contract with ARA. The Respondent

acknowledge that certain aspects of food services are mandatory

subjects of bargaining and that the 1974 contract between itself

and the Union contained provisions concerning food services,”

Respondent, however, argues that it has not refused to bargain

about the food services provided here. We find no basis in the

record to support that argument. To the contrary, the Respond-

ent in its denial of the Union's request to bargain about the food

prices and services, supra, stated, ‘food prices and services are

not a proper subject for negotiations.” We cannot imagine a

more explicit refusal to bargain. Nor is there any evidence that

bargaining about such service occurred, or that Respondent,

its stated refusal to the contrary, stood ready or attempted to

bargain about food services. Accordingly, we find that Respond-

ent refused to bargain about the food services provided its

employees.

The Union also requested information about the Respondent’s

role in the cafeteria and vending machine operations in order

to police the existing contract and to prepare for bargaining.

(Footnote continued from preceding page.)

remains the Administrative Law Judge’s duty to apply established

Board precedent which the Supreme Court or the Board has not

reversed. lowa Beef Packers, Inc., 144 NLRB 615, 616 (1963);

Novak Logging Company, 119 NLRB 1573, 1575-76 (1958); The

Prudential Insurance Company of America, 119 NLRB 768, 773

(1957).

13. The Board and the courts have found a wide variety of- *

subjects to be material conditions of employment falling within the

scope of compulsory bargaining. Among such conditions are in-plant

feeding, Inland Steel Company V. N. L. R. B., 170 F. 2d 247 (C. A.

7, 1948); improvements in lunchroom equipment and supplies,

Preston Products Company, Inc., 158 NLRB 452 (1966); the

scheduling of coffeebreaks, and providing the service of free coffee,

Fleming Manufacturing Company, 119 NLRB 452 (1967).

A25

po Anse “pons that food prices and services are mandatory

.” . ) bargaining. The requested information is clearly

_ ea to those subjects and hence is necessary to the Union’s

ing its duty as a bargaining agent also to those matters."

The Remedy

Z pwnd ae that the Respondent has unlawfully refused

ch: 8 supply information to the Union concerning

prices and services, we shall order that it cease and desist

therefrom and take certain affirmative action to effectuate th

panes of the Act. As we held in Westinghouse Electric Cor ‘

supra, ‘It is sufficient compliance with the statutory iahaiies

ve if management honors a specific union request for bargai

ing about changes made or to be made.” 156 NLRB at 1081.

Accordingly, as in Westinghouse, our order will not require th .

Respondent “to bargain about every proposed price change i

food prices before putting such change in effect.” we wil re

quire the Respondent to bargain on such price change are

after they are determi :

rs Mond ermined unilaterally and upon a request of

Conclusions of Law

1. Respondent is an em i

ployer engaged in commerce withi

the meaning of Section 2(6) and (17) of the Act. dpi

2. The Union is a labor organizati ithi

: ganization within th i

of Section 2(5) of the Act. yhanareiines

Z 3. At all times material herein, the Union has been and is

e exclusive representative of all employees in the following

unit within the meaning of Section 9(a) of the Act:

All production and maintenance employees in the R

ent’s facility at Chicago Heights, ‘llinois, but jer 0

ee office employees and clerical employees other than

-s ipping and receiving clerks, employees in the Industrial

elations and methods and work standards department,

14. N.L. R. B. y. Acme Industrial Co., 385 U. S. 432 (1967).

A26

employees engaged in designing, drafting, ——s yen

tographic and other technical, experimental and/o Pa

search work, cafeteria and dining room = pie .

protection and fire department employees, guards, pro -. :

sional employees, foremen, trainee foremen and all othe

i in the Act, constitute a unit appro-

gy saga noir saan bargaining within the

meaning of Section 9(b) of the Act. |

4. By refusing, on and since February 18, 1976, to bargain

collectively with the Union as the exclusive representative - its

employees in the afore-said bargaining unit, concerning plant

vending machine and cafeteria services and Price ae

Respondent has engaged in and is engaging in unfair la

practices within the meaning of Section 8(a)(1) and (5) o

the Act. |

5. By refusing, on and since February 18, 1976, to bargain

and to supply the information requested by ithe Union concern-

ing the Respondent's role in the cafeteria and vending mactns

operation, which information is necessary for the Union’s per-

formance of its duty as exclusive bargaining agent, the Respond-

ent has engaged in and is engaging in unfair labor practices

within the meaning of Section 8(a)(1) and (5) of the Act.

6. The aforesaid unfair labor practices affect commerce

within the meaning of Section 2(6) and (7) of the Act.

ORDER

Pursuant to Section 10(c) of the National Labor Relations

Act, as amended, the National Labor Relations Board hereby

orders that the Respondent, Ford Motor Company, Chicago

Heights, Illinois, its officers, agents, successors, and assigns,

shall:

1. Cease and desist from:

(a) Refusing, upon request, to bargain collectively with Local

588, United Automobile, Aerospace and Agricultural Imple-

A27

ment Workers of America, as the exclusive bargaining repre-

sentative of its employees in the following appropriate unit with

respect to food services and changes in food prices in the vend-

ing machines and cafeteria:

All production and maintenance employees in the

Respondent's facility at Chicago Heights, Illinois, but

excluding general office employees and clerical employees

other than shipping and receiving clerks, employees in the

Industrial Relations and methods and work standards de-

partment, employees engaged in designing, drafting, labora-

tory, photographic and other technical, experimental

and/or research work, cafeteria and dining room em-

ployees, plant protection and fire department employees,

guards, professional employees, foremen, trainee foremen

and all other supervisors as defined in the Act, constitute a

unit appropriate for the purpose of collective bargaining

within the meaning of Section 9(b) of the Act.

(b) Refusing, upon request, to supply the aforesaid labor

organization with the information necessary for collective bar-

gaining, in relation to its role in the cafeteria and vending

machine operation.

(c) In any like or related manner interfering with, restrain-

ing, Or coercing employees in the exercise of the rights guaran-

teed them in Section 7 of the Act.

2. Take the following affirmative action which the Board

finds will effectuate the policies of the Act:

(a) Upon request, bargain with the above-named labor

Organization as the exclusive representative of all employees in

the aforesaid appropriate unit with respect to food services and

any changes, now in effect or hereafter made or proposed, in

food prices charged employees in the vending machines and

cafeterias.

(b) Upon request, supply the above-named labor organiza-

tion with information necessary for collective-bargaining, in

relation to its part or role in the cafeteria and vending machine

operations. |

A28

(c) Post at its plant in Chicago Heights, Illinois, copies of

the attached notice marked “Appendix.”*® Copies of said notice,

on forms provided by the Regional Director for Region 13, after

being duly signed by the Respondent's representative, shall be

posted by the Respondent immediately upon receipt thereof, and

be maintained by ‘t for 60 consecutive days thereafter, in con-

spicuous places, including all places where notices to employees

are customarily posted. Reasonable steps shall be taken by the

Respondent to insure that said notices are not altered, defaced,

or covered by any other material.

(d) Notify the Regional Director for Region 13, in writing,

within 20 days from the date of this Order, what steps the

Respondent has taken to comply herewith.

Dated, Washington, D. C. July 11, 1977.

JOHN H. FANNING,

Chairman

JoHN A. PENELLO,

Member

BETTY SOUTHARD MURPHY,

Member

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

(SEAL )

15. In the event that this ge —_— y | a — e -

jnit tates Court of Appeals, the words in the notice rea

“POSTED BY ORDER OF THE NATIONAL LABOR RELA-

TIONS BOARD” shall read “POSTED PURSUANT TO A JUDG-

MENT OF THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

ENF .CING AN ORDER OF THE NATIONAL LABOR

RELATIONS BOARD.”

A29

APPENDIX

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES

Posted by Order of the

National Labor Relations Board

An Agency of the United States Government

WE WILL NOT refuse to bargain collectively with Local

588, United Automobile, Aerospace and Agricultural Imple-

ment Workers of America, as the exclusive representative of all

our employees in the bargaining unit described below with

respect to food services and changes in food prices in the vend-

ing machines and cafeterias:

All production and maintenance employees in the

Respondent's facility at Chicago Heights, Illinois, but

excluding general office employees and clerical employees

other than shipping and receiving clerks, employees in the

Industrial Relations and methods and work standards de-

partment, employees engaged in designing, drafting, labora-

tory, photographic and other technical, experimental,

and/or research work, cafeteria and dining room em-

ployees, plant protection and fire department employees,

guards, professional employees, foremen, trainee foremen

and all other supervisors as defined in the Act.

WE WILL NOT refuse to supply the above-named Union

with information necessary for collective bargaining, in relation

to its role in the cafeteria and vending machine operation.

WE WILL NOT in any like or related manner interfere with,

restrain, or coerce our employees in the exercise of the rights

guaranteed them by Section 7 of the Act.

WE WILL, upon request, bargain collectively with the above-

named Union, as the exclusive representative of all our em-

ployees in the aforesaid unit with respect to food services and

any changes, now in effect or hereafter made or proposed, in

A30

food prices charged our employees in the vending machines

and cafeterias.

WE WILL, upon request, supply the above-named Union

with information necessary for collective bargaining in relation

to its role in the cafeteria and vending machine operation.

Forp Motor COMPANY

(Employer)

a ee Sipniabiliateissdentiates

This is an official notice and must not be defaced by anyone.

This notice must remain posted for 60 consecutive days from

the date of posting and must not be altered, defaced, or covered

by any other material. Any questions coacerning this notice or

compliance with its provisions may be directed to the Board’s

Office, Everett McKinley Dirksen Bldg., Rm. 881, 219 S.

Dearborn Street, Chicago, Illinois 60604, Telephone 312—

353—7597.

/

/

A31

JD-793-76

Chicago Heights, IL

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

BEFORE THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

DIVISION OF JUDGES

ForD Motor COMPANY (CHICAGO )

STAMPING PLANT)

and

LocaL 588, UNITED AUTOMOBILE,

AEROSPACE AND AGRICULTURAL IM-

PLEMENT WORKERS OF AMERICA . Case No.

Lawrence E. Dube, Esq., and Frank 13-CA-15340

J. Ziegler, Esq., for the Generai

Counsel.

William J. Rooney, Esq., Dearborn,

MI, for Respondent.

Jerome Schur (Katz & Friedman),

Chicago, IL, for the Union.

DECISION

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

RALPH WINKLER, Administrative Law Judge: This case was

heard on August 16, 1976, in Chicago, Illinois, upon a com-

plaint issued by the General Counsel on May 16, 1976, and an

answer filed by Respondent Ford Motor Company. Interna-

tional Union, United Automobile, Aerospace and Agricultural

Implement Workers of America intervened after the hearing,

and I shall refer to it and its Local 588 collectively as the Union

unless separate identification be necessary. The Company is an

employer within Section 2(6) and (7) of the Act, and the

International and Local 588 are labor organizations within

Section 2(5) of the Act.

A32

I. The Unfair Labor Practices

The issue

Respondent has a Stamping Plant in Chicago Heights, Mlinois.

The plant buildings occupy an area one-quarter mile by one-

quarter mile and employ approximately 3,600 hourly-rated

production employees on a three-shift operation. These em-

ployees are represented by the International Union, with Local

588 as its administrative component, and there is no other

union in the plant. Collective-bargaining agreements have been

operative between the parties at all material times here.

The principal issue is whether Respondent violated Section

8(a)(1) and (5) of the Act by refusing to bargain with the

Union concerning cafeteria and vending machine prices at the

Stamping Plant. Conceding this refusal to bargain, Respondent

asserts that cafeteria and vending machine prices are not “terms

and conditions of employment” within Section 8(d) of the Act

and, therefore, that it was under no obligation to negotiate over

that subject. Whether such prices are a mandatory subject of

bargaining under the Act is not a novel question. As will be dis-

cussed, Board decisions uniformly have held that it is mandatory,

while those Courts of Appeals dealing with the problem have just

as uniformly held otherwise.

Cafeteria and vending machine facilities

Respondent makes available to its employees certain in-plant

cafeteria and vending machine services which are provided by

ARA Services, Inc., pursuant to a 1972 “caterer-vending” agree-

ment between Respondent and ARA.' This agreement provides,

in part, that ARA will manage and operate the manual food

service at the plant and install, maintain, and service the vending

machines; provide all food, beverages, and materials for the

1. ARA has been providing such services since 1970. Another

caterer provided similar services before that time.

A33

operation along with necessary management and labor personnel;

furnish products of quality in accordance with specifications ap-

proved by Respondent and in accordance with a price and por-

tion list that shall also have been submitted to Respondent and

that shall be subject to review at either party’s request; permit

Respondent to inspect all machines and equipment to determine

compliance with established standards of quality and cleanliness.

The agreement provides that ARA be reimbursed for all direct

costs of food and vending operations along with an allowance for

general administrative costs equivalent to 4 percent of net re-

ceipts and a service fee of 5 percent of such receipts. If gross

receipts from the operation are less than the sum of the costs of

the operation plus the service fee, Respondent is obligated to

reimburse ARA for the deficit by an annual amount not to exceed

$52,000. The parties stipulated in this connection that

In some months revenues exceed costs and in some months

the opposite has occurred. When revenues exceed costs, the

Employer realizes income, and when costs exceed revenues

a loss occurs. For all recent years, the operation has been

on a loss basis and the Employer has made up the loss to

ARA.

The agreement further provides that ARA is an independent con-

tractor and that the contract is terminable by either party upon

60 days’ notice.

ARA maintains two cafeterias and five vending machine areas

(or coke cribs) in the plant for bargaining unit employees.* The

larger (or “hourly”) cafeteria, on the second floor of the plant,

serves hot food from steam tables and also houses coin-operated

vending machines which dispense beverages, hot and cold food,

pastry, and candy. This cafeteria is air-conditioned and seats

between 400 and 500 persons. It is open for breakfast between

5 a.m. and 8 a.m., and also during lunch periods. It is open dur-

ing shift changes, as well, but only food from the vending ma-

chines is available at those times.

2. ARA also maintains an Exccutive dining room and a salaried

cafeteria which are not available to bargaining unit employees.

A34

The second (or “satellite”) cafeteria also is air-conditioned,

it accommodates 50 to 100 persons and is open for two of the

three lunch periods on thé day and evening shifts. This cafeteria

does not have a steam table or cafeteria service; it does have ap-

proximately 12 vending machines serving hot and cold sand-

wiches, beverages, stews, soups, spaghetti, pastry, icc cream,

and candy.

The five coke cribs, which are air-conditioned and enclosed,

are scattered throughout the plant and are open during all meal

and rest periods. Each of four cribs accommodates 40 to 50

persons, and the fifth between 75 and 100. The cribs have vend-

ing machines dispensing the same food items available in the

satellite cafeteria.

Employees on all three shifts have a 30-minute lunch period.

In addition, employees working on production lines—approxi-

mately 1,600, or approximately 50 percent of the employees on

the first two shifts— have a 5-minute washup period before their

lunch break and two 22-minute rest periods.

The following table* is a representative showing of patronage

of cafeteria and vending machine services during the indicated

weeks:

Customer J. Total Vending

Ceunt in all Hourly Plant Sales

Week Cafeterias Cafeteria Population Unit

1. 10/12/75 through

SG/EC/TS cccccess 6.745 5,600 4,445 96,279

2. 11/15/75 through

BEJZE/TS covccecs 3,938 3,865 3,755 61,568

3. 1/10/76 through

y's) SPPrerrry 3,947 3,873 3,750 70,560

4. 2/28/76 through

e's. BPrrrrere 875 820 3,950 16,741

3. ~ Page 29 of the transcript is hereby corrected to conform with

the statistical data in the table. The record is also corrected to reflect

the changes indicated at page 5, note 5, of the General Counsel’s

brief.

A35

In the vicinity of Chicago Heights and within several miles

from Respondent's plant, are more than a dozen other industrial

plants employing several thousand employees. There are five

short-order eating places and five sit-down restaurants within 3

miles of the plant, and some 25 establishments within 4 miles.

Respondent agrees that it is not feasible, presumably because of

time limitations,‘ for employees to leave the plant during their

22-minute rest breaks, and, as indicated above, their lunch

period is only 8 minutes longer. Mobile food vending trucks are

not permitted on plant property, and are not usually available

outside the plant gate. Comparatively few employees actually

leave the plant during lunch periods.

Employees are permitted to bring their own food into the

plant which they may store only in their personal lockers and

not in working areas. Food may only be eaten in the cafeterias

or in break areas or coke cribs. The locker rooms are ventilated

but not air-conditioned and employees have no facilities for re-

frigerating food they bring in. According to Local 588’s presi-

dent, Richard Marco, the locker rooms are not well ventilated

and become “very hot and sticky and smelly” in summer months

when area temperatures frequently range between 80 and 100

degrees and go even higher. Marco further testified to having

received employee complaints concerning food spoilage resulting

from locker room conditions.’ And Respondent has had occasion

to use exterminator services upon complaints from employees

as to sanitary conditions in the locker room.

Respondent-Union relationship as to

in-plant food services

Respondent and International UAW have had a series of col-

lective-bargaining agreements covering plant employees since

, 4. Moreover, employees may noi leave the plant without permis-

sion during their 22-minute breaks.

5. Marco while testifying on August 16, 1976, said that he

received the last such complaint in May 1976.

A36

approximately 1956 when the International was certified as their

statutory bargaining repres-atative. These have actually been

national agreements, and the national contract at material times

here was effective from Nevember 1973 until September 1976.

Pursuant to practice, Local 588 and Respondent have also nego-

tiated a series of local agreements concerning local issues, and

the last such agreement ran from June 1974 until September

1976.

Neither the 1973 International Agreement nor the 1974 Local

Agreement contains any provision regarding cafeteria or vending

machine prices. (During negotiations for the 1974 Local Agree-

ment, Respondent had rejected Local 588’s request that it bar-

gain about in-plant food prices.) Respondent has meanwhile

recognized “its continuing responsibility for the satisfactory per-

formance of the caterer and for providing the Union with a means

for registering and expeditious handling of complaints concerned

with such performance.” This “recognition” appears as the last

paragraph in the following letter of understanding, dated Octo-

ber 29, 1967, from Respondent to Local 588, this letter being

included in the parties’ 1970 Local Agreement (Jnt. Exh. 8, pp.

5-6): .

Improved Vending and Cafeteria Service

This is to advise that in accordance with our discussion

during 1967 local negotiations, a meeting was held between

representatives of the Company and Al Green Enterprises,

Inc. for the purpose of improving cafeteria and vending

services. .

It was agreed there will be a reassignment of serving and

kitchen duties to ensure additional personnel for the serving

of steam table items at all times during regular lunch

periods. .

Additionally, assurance was given that the Cafeteria

Manager or an Assistant Manager, during all lunch periods,

will be stationed in the cafeteria to ensure the adequacy of

food, service, condiments, silverware and utensils.

Silverware will be subjected to continuing additional in-

spection after washing, and in the event of a temporary

A37

shortage of personnel due to absenteeism, etc., a standby

supply of clean silverware will be available to ensure an

adequate supply during all feeding periods.

To provide condiments for sandwiches dispensed in the

“Coke Cribs,” dispensers of mustard and catsup will be

installed.

It was further agreed that Al Green Enterprises, Inc. will

without undue delay following the strike provide a qualified

expert from its home office to study local conditions for the

purpose of providing attractive “weekly specials,” more

varied menus and to devise means for improving cashier

service.

Additionally, a vending service specialist will study the

plant’s vending requirements and facilities, including the

added milk, pastry and ice cream machines for the purpose

of recommending an improved servicing schedule and any

additional manpower necessary to implement such sched-

ules. Each vending crib will be serviced at least once a shift.

To ensure that vending machines will be given prompt

servicing in the event of mechanical breakdown, an instant

means of communication with the mechanic will be pro-

vided.

The Local Agreement of 1970 also contains two other com-

munications from Respondent to Local 588. The first, dated

November 15, 1964, reads (Int. Exh. 8, p. 40):

Supplemental Eating Facilities

This is to advise that in accordance with our discussions

during 1974 local negotiations, the Company intends to

install a permanent type eating facility equipped with vend-

ing machines in the new addition to serve those employees

working in the new addition and the shipping dock.

And the second, dated December 11, 1970, states (Jnt. Exh. 8,

p. 7):

Shipping Dock Cafeteria Hours

Following the conclusion of 1970 local negotiations, the

Company will arrange for the Shipping Dock Cafeteria to

be open on all shifts, at the same times that the main cafe-

teria is open.

A38

The 1974 Local Agreement contains a letter of understanding

from Respondent to Local 588, stating in relevant part that “as

discussed in 1973 local negotiations,” “The five (5) employee

break areas [which I presume are the aforementioned “coke

cribs”] will be enclosed and air-conditioned with an adequate

number of window type air-conditioning units” (Jnt. Exh. 7,

p. 2). In their Local Agreement of 1974 the parties also agreed

as follows, concerning “Vending and Cafeteria Service” Jnt.

Exh. 7, p. 5):

1. CAFETERIA SERVICE

The Company assures the Union that steam table items

will be available at all times during the regular lunch

period and that a comparable selection of entrees,

salads and desserts will be available during all regular

lunch periods. In addition, the Company will make

arrangements for a delicatessen type sandwich service in

the cafeteria. Cafeteria supervision will be available

during all lunch periods to ensure that employees will

be served in a reasonable length of time through the

main serving lines as well as to provide for the ade-

quacy of food service, condiments and utensils.

2. VENDING SERVICE AND VARIETY

To assure that vending machines will receive prompt

servicing in the event of a mechanical breakdown, a

sticker will be affixed to each machine indicating the

number to call for repair. Further, the Company assures

the Union that a greater variety of selections will be

maintained in the existing vending machines and that

the quality of such items will continue to meet Com-

pany standards.

The Company recognizes its continuing responsibility for

the satisfactory performance of the caterer and for the ex-

peditious handling of complaints concerned with such per-

formance.

The 1970 and 1974 Local Agreements also show that the parties

have discussed and that Respondent has agreed on various items

of plant maintenance, including the inspection and improvement

A39

of ventilation systems affecting, among others, the plant locker

room (Jnt. Exh. 7, pp. 3-4; Jnt. Exh. 8, p. 4).

The current dispute

On or about February 6, 1976, Respondent informed Local

588 that ARA would be increasing the prices of certain cafe-

teria and vending items, effective February 9, 1976. Local 588

had not been previously advised of the increases, and Respondent

did not furnish specific information on February 6 about the

amount of the increases. Local 588 requested at the time that

the increases be postponed until Local 588 could discuss the

matter with Respondent, but Respondent refused. The increases

went into effect on February 9; most affected items were raised

5 cents and some were raised 10 cents. By letter dated February

13, 1976, Local 588 asked Respondent to bargain concerning

“prices and services in cafeteria and vending operations,” and

Respondent again declined on February i9 for the stated reason

that “food prices and services are not a proper subject for

negotiations.”

By letter to Respondent on March 23, 1976, Local 588

requested certain information concerning Respondent’s role in

cafeteria and vending operations in order, the letter stated, to

administer existing collective-bargaining provisions (the June

20, 1974, agreement set forth above) and to prepare for up-

coming negotiations in September 1976 when, by their terms,

the national and local agreements between Respondent and the

Union would expire. Local 588 thus sought, among other things,

information as to Respondent’s maintenance responsibilities,

Respondent's profits from the food operations, Respondent's

control of prices, and Respondent's contractual arrangement

with any food supplier. On April 9, 1976, Respondent turned

down Local 588’s request for information and again refused,

and it has continued to refuse, to bargain about cafeteria and

vending prices.

A40

Meanwhile, on February 16, 1976, Local 588 began a boy-

cott of the food services operations. “Substantially in excess of

half of the members of Local 588” observed the boycott, accord-

ing to the parties’ stipulation, and most of these observing

employees brought in their lunches during the period. Local

President Marco testified that a few employees left the plant to

eat and that some employees did not eat at all. The boycott did

not cause any price reductions, with the possible exception that

some special dishes were made available. The cafeteria boycott

was ended by Local 588’s Shop Committee on May 19, 1976,

and the boycott of vending machines was terminated on June 7,

1976. Contributing to this decision to call off the boycott,

according to President Marco, was the onset of hot weather with

consequent problems of spoilage of food the employees brought

into the plant. It may be fairly said, however, and I find that a

substantial reason for abandoning the boycott was its ineffec-

tiveness in reducing prices.

In July 1976, the International notified Respondent of its

desire to terminate their current national contract and all local

agreements. While not in this record, the news media report that

Respondent and the International have concluded negotiations

for a new contract. However, no party has requested that the

results of these latest negotiations be made part of this record,

and nothing further need be said in that regard.

Does the Act require Respondent to bargain

concerning the prices of in-plant food?

Board and Court Decisions

By a divided vote (3-2) in Westinghouse Electric Corp., 156

NLRB 1080 (1966), the Board held that an employer in an

urban industrial setting is required under the Act to bargain

with a statutory representative of its plant employees concerning

food prices charged in on-site cafeterias. The in-plant cafeteria

facilities were overated by a catering service pursuant to contract

A4l

with Westinghouse; under the contract, the caterer paid West-

inghouse a rental of $1.00 a year and Westinghouse provided

the capital equipment necessary for operating the facilities. The

catering contract also provided, among other things, that the

“quantity and prices of the meals served, and the hours of

service thereof . . . shall at all times be reasonable” and it also

gave Westinghouse a right to conduct periodic audits of the

cafeteria accounts. The caterer announced an increase in the

price of a food item and the union involved sought to meet and

discuss the matter with Westinghouse. Westinghouse refused the

union’s request, and the Board concluded in finding a violation

of Section 8(a) (5) that it is “within the objective and meaning

of the Act to require parties to submit such controversies to the

healing processes of collective bargaining” (156 NLRB at

1082).

On review of the Westinghouse case, a divided Court of

Appeals, sitting en banc, reversed the Board and held that the

in-plant food prices were not a mandatory subject of bargaining.

Westinghouse Electric Corporation v. N. L. R. B., 387 F. 2d

542 (C. A. 4, 1967). The Court stated in part that “The case

before us does not even remotely involve any question of job

security or any other issue which employees could traditionally

consider vital. Nor is there any evidence that the inclusion of this

issue here within the collective bargaining framework is a wide-

spread industrial practice” (387 F. 2d at 548, emphasis added).°

In McCall Corporation, 172 NLRB 540 (1968), employees

were able to purchase food “in a company-owned and -operated

cafeteria” and “out of vending machines owned by a contractor

but supplied with company cafeteria-prepared and -priced food”

(172 NLRB at 541). There were some 16 unions in the plant,

and McCall refused to negotiate with one of them concerning

food prices. Citing its Westinghouse case, supra, and an earlier

Weyerhaeuser case (87 NLRB 672) involving a sawmill and

lumber camp setting, a Board panel concluded that food prices

6. Nor was such evidence offered in the present case.

A42

“constitute ‘conditions of employment’ and bargainable matters”

and that McCall violated Section 8(a)(5) by refusing to bar-

gain over such prices. By divided vote on review, the Fourth

Circuit found that “the difference between the indirect control

exercised in Westinghouse and the direct control in McCall over

the quality and prices of food is not of sufficient significance to

affect the result.” McCall Corporation v. N. L. R. B., 432 F. 2d

187, 188 (1970). The Court rejected the Board’s request that

the Court overrule its Westinghouse ruling and it set aside the

Board’s McCall decision.

The next in this series of cases cited by the parties is Package

Machinery Company, 191 NLRB 268 (1971), reversed 457

F. 2d 936 (C. A. 1, 1972). The company in this case had a

contract with a caterer to operate in-plant cafeteria and vending

machine services, and under their arrangement the company

paid a specific monthly subsidy to the caterer. The union

involved requested that the company furnish it a copy of the

company’s contract with the caterer and that the company

bargain with it concerning food and beverage prices. The com-

pany refused, and a Board panel found a violation of Section

8(a)(5) upon the basis of its Westinghouse and McCall deci-

sions. Referring to the aforementioned Court decision in West-

inghouse, the First Circuit set aside the Board’s Package

Machinery order and observed, inter alia, that “If food costs go

up from time to time, as inevitably they seem to, it would appear

more appropriate to bargain over wages... .” (457 F. 2d at

938).’

Finally we come to Ladish Co., 219 NLRB 354 (1975),

where, as the General Counsel mentions, the Board undertook a

“thorough examination” of the issue presented here (G. C. Br.,

p. 15). The employer in that case made hot and cold food

available to its employees through contracts with vending

machine companies (caterers). The caterers determined the

7. The 1973 contract between Respondent and the Union

included wage increases as well as a cost-of-living allowance geared

to the Combined Consumer Price Index (Jnt. Exh. 4, pp. 96-97).

A43

prices of food items and the employer received from the caterer

a commission on food sales to cover the use of floor space,

overhead, and operational costs. Employees received a 15-

minute paid lunch period and were not permitted to leave the

plant for lunch. About 70 percent of the employees purchased

their lunches from vending machines, 90 percent obtain

beverages from the machines, and the other employees bring

their lunches. One of several involved unions filed a grievance

protesting an increase in all food items, and the employer’s

response was to refuse to negotiate. In a full-dress discussion of

the issue, as indicated above, a Board panel (with one dissent

and one concurrence) concluded that in-plant food prices

“constitute ‘conditions of employment’ and bargainable matters”

(219 NLRB at 358), and it directed the employer to bargain

concerning those matters.

The Board brought enforcement proceedings before the

Seventh Circuit in the Ladish case. Denying enforcement and in

effect joining the First and Fourth Circuits, the Court held that

“vending machine food prices are not a material or significant

condition of employment at Ladish, The impact of these prices

is toO remote to require bargaining.” N. L. R. B. v. Ladish Co.,

538 F. 2d 1267, 1272 (C. A. 7, 1976).

The Board did not file a petition for certiorari in Ladish.

Discussion

The facts of the present case fall within the factual-legal

contexts of the Westinghouse, McCall, Package Machinery, and

Ladish cases, It is unnecessary, in my opinion, to have discussed

these cases in greater detail for it is beyond question that in-

plant food prices are a mandatory subject of bargaining on the

basis of the mentioned Board decisions. It seems equally clear

that such prices are not a required subject of bargaining if the

mentioned court decisions be controlling. The present case is

therefore not one that requires in-depth analyses of the cases

and of underlying theory.

A44

Administrative Law Judges are bound by Board decisional

law, needless to say, despite reversals on the same point of law

by Courts of Appeals. The question I have, however, is what

interpretation to accord the Board’s determination not to seek

certiorari in the Ladish case. Complicating the problem is the

fact that such determination might have been influenced by the

lack of a conflict between the Circuits and the Board’s aware-

ness of the difficulty of obtaining Supreme Court review without

a conflict. In other words, it is possible that the Board may still

be desirous of testing the issue in other Courts of Appeals before

giving up on the issue or before seeking certiorari without a

conflict.

With less certainty than I would like, I nonetheless conclude

that the action of the Board in not seeking certiorari in the

Ladish case is more significant than might generally be the

situation. When the Board decided the Ladish case, it had been

reversed by the First and Fourth Circuits, and its decision in the

Ladish case represented a “thorough examination” of the issue

and was, in fact, a major decisional effort. On its facts the case

was a strong one, in my opinion, for presenting the Board’s

position on the issue.’ Having made this major effort and lost

again and then determining not to seek certiorari in the Ladish

circumstances, the Board has now dccided to hold—at least I

so interpret its action—that in-plant food prices are not a

mandatory subject of bargaining. I thus conclude that Respond-

ent did not violate the Act by refusing to bargain about such

prices and that it also did not violate the Act by refusing to

furnish information in such connection. Nor is this result

affected by the fact that Respondent has bargained with Local

588 concerning other (non-price) aspects of its in-plant food

facilities. N. L. R. B. v. Ladish Co., 538 F. 2d at 1272.°

8. It is noted that in its Brief (p. 16) filed with the Court in the

Ladish case, the Board urged that the facts therein “are stronger”

than in the Westinghouse, McCall, and Package Machinery cases.

9. In view of these conclusions, it is unnecessary to consider

Respondent’s “zipper-clause” contention.

A45

I shall accordingly recommend that the complaint be dis-

missed.

Conclusions of Law

1. Respondent is an employer within Section 2(6) and (7)

of the Act.

2. The Union is a labor organization within Section 2(5) of

the Act.

3. Respondent has not engaged in the violations of Section

8(a)(1) and (5) alleged in the complaint.

Upon the foregoing, and pursuant to Section 10(c) of the

Act, I hereby issue the following recommended:

ORDER

It is ordered that the complaint be dismissed.

Dated at Washington, D. C.

/S/ RALPH WINKLER

Ralph Winkler

Administrative Law Judge

10. In the event no exceptions are filed as provided by Section

102.46 of : :

Boar a ya wy ho — _ Regulations of the National Labor Relations

shall, as provided in Section 102.48 of the Rul :

adopted by the Board and become its aaa mageations, be

Order, and all objections thereto

a ) shall be deem

conclusions, and recommended Order herein

onciusions, and

ed waived for all

A46

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

March 23, 1978

Before

Hon. LuTHER M. SwyGERT, Circuit Judge

“Hon. RoBerT A. SPRECHER, Circuit Judge

Hon. RoBErT A. GRANT, Senior District Judge*

Forp Motor Co. (CHICAGO )

STAMPING PLANT),

Petitioner,

No. 77-1707 aa On Petition for Re-

view and Cross-

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD, : Application for En-

Respondent, forcement of an

and Order of the Na-

tional Labor Rela-

LocaL 588, UNITED AUTOMOBILE, tions Board.

AEROSPACE AND AGRICULTURAL |

IMPLEMENT WORKERS OF AMER-

ica, UAW,

Intervenor. }

On consideration of the petition for rehearing and suggestion

for rehearing in banc filed in the above-entitled cause by peti-

tioner, Ford Motor Company, no judge in active service has

requested a vote thereon, and all of the judges of the original

panel have voted to deny a rehearing, Accordingly,

IT IS ORDERED that the aforesaid petition for rehearing be,

and the same is hereby, DENIED.

* Hon. Robert A. Grant, Senior District Judge for the Northern

District of Indiana, is sitting by designation.

A47

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES CoURT OF APPEALS

For the Seventh Circuit

Forp Motor COMPANY (CHICAGO )

STAMPING PLANT),

Petitioner,

vs.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

. No. 77-1707

and

LocaL 588, UNITED AUTOMOBILE,

AEROSPACE AND AGRICULTURAL

IMPLEMENT WORKERS OF AMER-

ica, UAW,

intervenor. |

JUDGMENT

Before: SwyGERT and SPRECHER, Circuit Judges and GRANT,

Senior District Judge.*

THis CAUSE came on to be heard upon the petition of Ford

Motor Company (Chicago Stamping Plant), to review an order

of the National Labor Relations Board issued against said

Petitioner, its officers, agents, successors and assigns and upon

the Board's cross-application for enforcement of said order. The

Court heard argument of respective counsel on January 10,

1978, and has considered the briefs and transcript of the record

filed in this cause. On February 22, 1977, the Court being fully

advised in the premises handed down its opinion denying the

* Senior District Judge Robert A. Grant of the Northern District

of Indiana is sitting by designation.

A48

petition for review and granting enforcement of the Board’s

order.

On CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is hereby ordered and ad-

judged by the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh

Circuit that the said order of the National Labor Relations

Board in said proceeding be enforced and that Ford Motor

Company (Chicago Stamping Plant), its officers, agents, suc-

cessors and assigns abide by and perform the directions of the

Board in said order contained.

It Is FURTHER ORDERED AND ADJUDGED by the Court that

costs shall be taxed against the Petitioner.

/s/RoBERT A. SPRECHER

Judge, United States Court of Ap-

peals for the Seventh Circuit

A49

APPENDIX E

Section 8(a)(1) and (5) and Section 8(d) of the National

Labor Relations Act (61 Stat. 140-3, as amended, 29 U. S. C.

158) provide in pertinent part:

“(a) It shall be an unfair labor practice for an employer

(1) to interfere with, restrain, or coerce employees in

the exercise of the rights guaranteed in section 7;

* * * * «

(5) to refuse to bargain collectively with the repre-

sentatives of his employees, subject to the pro-

visions of section 9(a).

* x * * *

“(d) For the purposes of this section, to bargain collectively

is the performance of the mutual obligation of the em-

ployer and the representative of the employees to meet

at reasonable times and confer in good faith with

respect to wages, hours and other terms and condi-

tions of employment. . .”

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.