Petition — Unification Church v. Bell

Supreme Court brief1978

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

“a Supreme Court, U. S,

FILED ,

| MAY 26 1972?

IN THE MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLERK

Supreme Court of the United

October Term, 1977

\o —=1 695

UNIFICATION CHURCH

Petitioner,

v.

ATTORNEY GENERAL

OF THE UNITED STATES

KEIKO ASAI, e¢ a/.

Petitioners,

v

IMMIGRATION AND NATURALIZATION SERVICE

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

David Carliner

Carliner & Gordon

Attorney for Petitioners

Su.te 931

1511 K Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20005

RS Pe PPE rrr ere reer er i

EE tee ch into daevodasveseveenae ras il

OE 6c. ck bs se bdec 66240 2 hands 60 08 ii

Constitutional provisions, statutes and

EE SINE oc bs ccc conwewonns od od ae v

ac dind chs cel) chun cinetechedh oe es 1

Reasons for granting writ .............00600eeeee 14

Cs baie nhcke sce ccdiledasii caves 38

Appendix A (Unification Church) ............... la

Opinion of the court of appeals ............... la

Memorandum opinion of the district

MR idintendddcdete bee weed 19a

Memorandum opinion of the district

Ch, Si Ms cccecs de ddedewre seed 27a

Decision of regional commissioner,

SD. Bh, HPs Kc Ge aR PEN w es dé cNVeowese 34a

Decision of regional commissioner,

BE Ol Wn LoL ie oto Jack is bu bwes 45a

Decision of regional commissioner,

Sey Ge TEE ab 00 0 6daWh dude cd sb eedecese 73a

Appendix B (Keiko Asai) ..........-2cccccccces 1b

Decision of Board of Immigration

Appeals, January 14, 1977

ERG ci ccchstcene teh tedaduacecee iste: Ic

I thio dhe s eS been dtebud iegeds 1d

IE cuens d6b00s%0ee baeekasnseses cous le

CITATIONS

Cases:

Accardi v. Shaughnessy,

EE cs. oa cvavasccseaied 23, 29

Armstrong v. Manzo,

ns oboe cetebesees 35

Ashbacker Radio Corp. v. F.C.C.,

er a ree oe 34, 35

Califano v. Sanders,

430 U.S. 99 (1977) .......cceceeeeee seuss 6, 33

Campos v. INS, 402 F. 2d 758

RS ee ee ree Oe er 37

Cantwell v. Connecticut,

CR Ee ee eer 17

The Chinese Exclusion Case,

kt: vhenetckua 36

Committee for Public Education &

Religious Liberty v. Nyquist,

GTS WS. THE AGED 5 oncccccccccccccccccss 16

Fiallo v. Bell,430 U.S. 787 (1977) ..........00085 36

Follett v. McCormick, 321 U.S. 573 (1943) .... 27, 29

Foti v. INS, 375 U.S. 217 (1963) ...........2006. 38

Fowler v. Rhode Island,

i: it nee tebe eens hbase eens 29

INS v. Stamisic, 395 U.S. 62 (1965) ..........644. 35

ICC v. Louisville & N.R. Co.,

227 U.S, OB (IDES)... 0... cc ccccccccccccccce: 33

Japanese Immigrant Case, 189 U.S. 86 (1903) ..... 32

Kleindienst v. Mandel,

408 U.S. 753 (1972) ............ i, 10, 17, 18, 36

Knauff v. Shaughnessy,

338 U.S. 537 (1950) ............eeeeeeeeeeee 37

Kwok v. INS, 392 U.S. 206 (1967) ..........644. 38

Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971) ........ 16

Mahler v. Eby, 264 U.S. 32 (1924) ........00005 33

Mathews v. Diaz, 426 U.S. 67 (1975) ............ 37

Matter of Brantigan,

11 I&N Dec. 493 (B.I.A. 1966) ...........000- 9

Matter of Sourbis,

11 I&N Dec. 335 (B.I.A. 1965) ............00. 12

Meek v. Pittinger, 421 U.S. 358 (1975) ........... 16

Murdock v. Pennsylvania,

319 U.S. 105 (1942) .......... iii, 24-5, 26, 27, 28

NLRB ». Pipefitters, 429 U.S. 507 (1976) ...... 18, 22

NLRB v. The Catholic Bishop of Chicago,

es 4 3 , Pe eile 2 ear oe 15

Pierre v. U.S., 547 F.2d 128 (Sth Cir. 1977)

judgment vacated, 434 U.S. 962 (1977) ........ 36

Roemer v. Maryland Public Works Board,

ce ee eusncis 16

Securities & Exchange Commission v.

Chenery Corp., 318 U.S. 80 (1942) ........ iii, 18, 22

Southern Railway Co. v. Virginia,

a ci wc oun dusddbess 6édees 33

Stokes v. INS, 393 F. Supp. 24

ti ens ea 2 37

Sung v. McGrath, 339 U.S. 23 (1950) ............ 35

U.S. v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683 (1974) ..........4.. 29

United States ex rel Ulrich v. Kellog,

30 F.2d 984, cert. denied, sub nom. United

States ex rel. Ulich v. Simpson,

SIN TEE, GUI 210 iG oh boc Vee ee 13

Vitarelli v. Seaton, 359 U.S. 535 (1959) .......... 29

Walz v. Tax Commission, 397 U.S. 664 (1970) .... 16

Wolman v. Walter, 433 U.S. 229 (1977) ......... 16

Constitution & Statutes: Miscellaneous:

Annual Report, Immigration & Naturalization

United States Constitution, First Amendment ... ii, v .

'¥, EE ETT 22

7,9, 14, 15, 17, sconse, S976. 9p

24, 25, 26 H.R. Rep. No. 1086, 87th Cong.. Ist Ses.

. ed in Foti v. U.S. ......... 38

Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. 701 ....... 6 SPSHIEER, Guanes 4

erpreter Releases 73, Feb. 24, 1978,

Immigration & Nationality Act ng ese by Senoed Castillo before House

= en ans te 1101 (a) (15) ceccees v, 31 Judiciary Subcommittee on Immigration,

- 106(a), 8 U.S.C. 110Safe) ............ 37, 38 ~— a hiatetitaes 36

Sec. 212(d)(3), 8 U.S.C. 1182 (d)(3) ........... 17 Citizenship & In

Sec. 214a, 8 U.S.C. 1184............ v, 17, 18, 34

Sec. 241(a)(2), 8 U.S.C. 1251 (a)(2)........... 12

Sec. 242(b), 8 U.S.C. 1252(b) ............. vi, 34

Regulations:

te 9 5 Pee see 29, 30

8 CFR 103.2(b)(2) ..........0-0-. vii, 7, 8, 29, 30

ft: § * ee ee 29,30

8 CFR 214.2(h)(4) ........... vili, 3, 6, 22, 28, 31

8 CFR 214.2(h)(6) ......... ix, 7, 8, 10, 29, 30, 31

OCP 204008.. ... << cccksecce cdQeueneee 22

DEBE. OOP 6 vccesdedsiceicccetenk eee 6

Se Ge GSD os coc 00050 kde eee eee 2

eS FS re 28

29 CFR 60.7 Schedule A, Group III(b) ......... 24

Foreign Affairs Manual, Volume 9-Visas,

23 ©.F.R. 43.25, Pas. BD, 4G os iivdeisices 2

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

October Term, 1977

No.

UNIFICATION CHURCH

Petitioner,

v.

ATTORNEY GENERAL

OF THE UNITED STATES

KEIKO ASAI, e¢ a/.

Petitioners,

v.

IMMIGRATION AND NATURALIZATION SERVICE

PETITION OR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Petitioners pray that a writ of certiorari issue to review

the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the District of Columbia Ciscuit which affirms the decision

of the United States District Court for the District of Col-

umbia and which sustained final orders of deportation by

the Board of Immigration Appeals.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals was rendered on

March 1, 1978 and is unreported, and is set forth in Ap-

pendix at pp. la-18a. The opinions of the District Court

are unreported and are set forth in the Appendix at pp.

19a-26a and 27a-33a.

753 (1972), modify one of the findings and con-

JURISDICTION vert it into a ‘‘threshold,’’ ‘‘facially legitimate

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on and bona fide reason’’ in order to sustain, the

March 1, 1978, Appendix A, pp. la-18a. The jurisdiction administrative finding?

of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether in adjudicating petitions to permit che

training of alien missionaries in the United

States, the Immigration and Naturalization Ser-

vice, consonant with the Free Exercise of Religion -

Clause of the First Amendment, may determine

whether a religious organization has an

‘“established and realistic training program’’ or

if it is ‘‘appropriate for the purpose for which it

is intended?’’

Whether the refusal to approve a missionary

training program upon the grounds that it is

‘‘too scholastic’, is not ‘‘firmly established’’,

has an ‘‘improper ratio of field experience to

classroom instruction’, is not ‘‘uniform’’, is

‘‘unnecessary’’, not ‘‘useful’’, and involves ‘‘ex-

cessive fund raising’’, is an interference with a

church’s right to the free exercise of its religion

and is a violation of the First Amendment?

Whether in reviewing an administrative decision

by the Immigration and Naturalization Service

which has relied upon many factors relating to

the ‘‘administration, the development, need, ef-

fectiveness, and utility of a bona fide training

program’’ to determine that the program is not

bona fide, the court of appeals may, upon the

authority of K/eindienst v. Mandel, 408 U.S.

Whether the modification of the administrative

findings and the failure to judge the grounds

upon which the administrative order was based is

in conflict with Securities and Exchange Commi-

sion v. Chenery Corp., 318 U.S. 80 (1942)?

. Whether the fact that a religious body relies

upon fund-raising to support its trainees in the

United States may, consonant with Murdock v.

Pennsylvania, 319 U.S. 105 (1942), be used as a

basis for determining that the training program

is not bona fide where the administrative regula-

tions preclude consideration of the ‘‘source of

any remuneration received by a trainee and

whether or not any benefit will accrue to the

petitioner?

Whether in circumstances where the Immigra-

tion and Naturalization Service permits commer-

cial and industrial employers to obtain approval

of training programs regardless whether the

trainees are engaged in ‘‘productive

employment,’ Ahe denial of petitions for a train-

ing program by a religious body upon the

ground that trainees will be engaged in fund-

raising is a permissible discrimination against a

religious institution?

Whether the procedures for adjudicating the

petitions for the approval! of a training program

have conformed with the administrative regula-

tions where the district director, who is vested

with responsibility to make the initial decision,

has failed, as required by the regulation, to per-

mit the petitioner ‘‘to inspect and rebut’’ ‘‘any

evidence not submitted by the petitioner’’

‘‘when an adverse decision is proposed’’ and

when the ‘‘denial decision of the district direc-

tor’’ has failed to ‘‘set forth the pertinent facts

adduced from the evidence considered and

give(n) the specific reasons for the decision in the

light of the facts’’?

Whether the failure to comply with the specific

terms of the administrative regulations may be

regarded as not “prejudicial” where it is found

that the regional commissioner, who functions in

an appellate capacity, has ‘‘fulfilled his obliga-

tions,’’ not withstanding the fact that the

regional commissioner failed to remand the case

to the district director and failed to ‘‘set forth

the pertinent facts adduced from the evidence

considered’’ in rendering an adverse decision?

Whether procedures, which permit a district

director to deny an application for an extension

of stay in the United States, without an inter-

view, a hearing, findings of fact, or an oppor-

tunity to submit supporting evidence; give con-

clusive effect to the district director's decision in

a deportation proceeding; and bar the immigra-

tion judge from determining whether the appli-

cant is a bona fide nonimmigrant and not sub-

ject to deportation, conform with Section 242(b)

of the Immigration and Nationality Act, 8

U.S.C. 1251(b), and meet the requirements of

due process for deporting an alien from the

United States.

iv

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS,

STATUTES, AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

The First Amendment to the United States Constitu-

tion provides in pertinent part:

“Congress shall make no law respecting an

establishment of sia or prohibiting the free

exercise thereof .

Section 101(a)(15) of the Immigration and Nationali-

ty Act, as amended, 8 U.S.C. 1101(a)(15), provides:

‘‘The term ‘immigrant’ means every alien except

an alien who is within one of the following

classes of nonimmigrant alicns -

(H) an alien having a residence in a foreign

country which he has no intention of abandon-

ing . . .(ii) who is coming ep Sie to the

United States as a trainee;

Section 214 of the Act as amended, 8 U.S.C. 1184, pro-

vides in part:

‘*(c) The question of importing any alien as

a nonimmigrant under section 101(a) (15)(H) or

(L) in any specific case or specific cases shall be

determined by the Attorney General, after con-

sultation with appropriate agencies of the

Government, upon petition of the importing

employer. Such petition shall be made and ap-

proved before the visa is granted. The petition

shall be in such form and contain such informa-

tion as the Attorney General shall prescribe. The

approval of such a petition shall not, of itself, be

Vv

procedure for determining the deportability of an alien

construed as establishing that the alien is under this section.’’

. — 4

Section 242(b) of the Immigration and Nationality Act,

8 U.S.C. 1252(b), provides, in part:

8 C.F.R. 103.2(b)(2) (1974 ed.) provides in pertinent

part:

'(2) Inspection of evidence. An applicant or

"*(b) A special inquiry officer shall conduct pro- petitioner shall be permitted to inspect the

c under this section to determine the

deportability of any alien, and. . . shall make

determinations, including orders of deportation.

Determination of deportability in any case sha!l

be made only upon a record made in a pro-

ceeding before a special inquiry offficer. . . .

ceedings before a special inquiry officer ac-

ron under the provisions of this section shall be

in accordance with such regulations, not incon-

sistent with this Act, as the Attorney General

shall prescribe. Such regulations shall include re-

quirements that -

the alien shall be given notice, reasonable

nt the damnmne eee

charges against him and of the time and place at

which the proceedings will be held;

= ili be valid

4) no decision of deportability shall be va

unless it is based upon reasonable, substantial,

and probative evidence.

The procedure so prescribed shall be the sole and exclusive

vi

i tN ta ey

record of proceeding which constitutes the basis

for the decision, except as hereinafter provided.

If the decision will be adverse to the applicant or

petitioner on the basis of derogatory

evidence considered by the Service and of which

the applicant or petitioner is unaware, he shall

be advised thereof and offered an Opportunity to

rebut it and present evidence in his behalf before

the decision is rendered, except that classified

evidence shall not be made available to him.

Any explanation, rebuttal, or evidence presented

by or in behalf of the applicant or petitioner

shall be included in the record of proceeding. A

determination of statutory ineligibility shall not

be valid unless based on evidence contained in

the record of proceeding. In exercising discre-

tionary power when considering an application

of petition, the district director or the officer in

charge, in any case in which he is authorized to

make the decision, may consider and base his

decision upon information not contained in the

record and not made available for inspection by

the applicant or petitioner, provided the

regional commissioner has determined that such

information is classified under Executive Order

No. 11652 of March 8, 1972 (37 F.R. 5209,

March 10, 1972; effective June 1, 1972), that it is

relevant to the disposition of the case and, in his

vu

discretion, has .comtluded that its —

would be prejudicial to he national security

safety. If the decision of the district director or

officer in charge is based in whole of in patt

upon information not contained in the record,

the decision shall so state agd cite the authority

therefor.’’

8 Code of Federal Regulations 214.2(h)(4)(1974 ed.)

provides:

*(4) Petition for alien trainee - (i) General. In

addition to purely industrial establishments, an -

individual, organization, firm, or other trainer

may petition for nonimmigrant trainees on Form

1-129B for the purpose of giving instruction of

training in agriculture, commerce, —

government, transportation, and the profes-

em Gi Productive employment. The aaee

any remuneration received by a trainee a

whether or not any benefit will accrue to

petitioner are not material, but a trainee shall

not be permitted to engage in —

employment if eX will displace

ited States resident. . .

er Description of training. There shall be

attached to each petition for a trainee a state-

ment describing the kind of training to be =~

and setting forth the proportion of that time -

will be devoted to =. eh t;

r of hours that w ; é

ra ec instruction, and in on-the-job po~

ing without supervision; the position of —_

for which this training will prepare him; th

reason why sych training cannot be obtained in

vill

ee es

BEST COPY AVAILABLE

ee a ee ow

a

i

the alien's country, and why it is necessary for

the alien to be trained in the United States.”’

8 Code of Federal Regulations 214.2(h)(6)(1974 ed.)

provides:

“'(6) Decision. In adjudicating the petition,

the district director shall consider all the

evidence submitted, and such other evidence as

he may independently require or procure to

assist his adjudication. If an adverse decision is

proposed on the basis of any evidence not sub-

mitted by the petitioner, he shall be so notified

before a final decision is made and invited to in-

spect and rebut such evidence. The petitioner

shall be notified of the decision and, if the peti-

tion is denied, of the reasons therefor and of his

right to appeal in accordance with the provisions

of Part 103 of this chapter. A denial decision of

the district director shall set forth the pertinent

facts adduced from the evidence considered and

give the specific reasons for the decision in the

light of the facts and the relating provisions of

section 101(a)(15)(H) of the Act.”’

pg

;

)

.

)

:

STATEMENT

H-3 Petitions by Unification Church

for the Training of Missionaries

The Unification Church,' also known as The Holy

Spirit Association for the Unification of World Christiani-

ty, is an interfaith religious movement, begun in 1954 and

now established in approximately 40 countries, with an in-

ternational membership in 1974 of 500,000 to 1,000,000,

including 10,000 members in the United States, of whom

3,000 were full-time missionaries operating from 10

regional headquarters in the United States. In developing

its worldwide evangelical program, the Church established

centralized facilities at Tarrytown and Barrytown, New

York to train missionaries. The United States was selected

as the place for the training particularly because of the

freedom of religion in this country and of the inter-

religious, multiethnic and interracial character of its

population, as well as because of the growing universal use

of the English language by people throughout the world.

Church, J.A. 4, 14, 23-27, 47-75, 100-111.

Because the membership of the Church was

predominantly in foreign countries and its missionaries

were to be brought to the United States for training, the

Church sought to comply with the relevant immigration

laws. After obtaining advice from officers of the Immigra-

tion and Naturalization Service? regarding the appropriate

method for bring aliens to the United States to participate

in a missionary training program, Church officials in

' Hereafter referred to as the Church.

? Hereafter referred to as INS.

she

1972-73 undertook * in B-1 or B-2 00

missionary trainees pete n Consuls abroad

visas from various

ultimate time req

44.

made in the original letter. Church, J.A. 1

agneed suggestion © approval of H-3 trainee

was Erle » pilot petiion for the : ¥. A.

status for one of

24-25.

~2 iene a to the

Depart of religion deuring % Pee, nor plan 10 take

engage in an evange and who will be

th LL

In accordance with this understanding, the Church

filed a visa petition on February 11, 1974 on behalf of one

missionary trainee, Herman Ten Bokkel Huinink. Subse-

quently, the Church filed three other petitions, one for

574 missionary trainees, another for three missionary

trainees, and the third for five missionary trainees. The

petitions and the supporting exhibits indicated that the

training program would consist of instruction in Chris-

tianity, the philosophy and principles of the Unification

Church, comparative religion, leadership training, church

business practice, and field experience in missionary ac-

tivities. Church, J.A. 5, 25, 44-75, 90-116.

On April 4, 1974, the district director denied the H-3

petition for Herman Ten Bokkel Huinink on the grounds

that the training program was ‘‘inadequately described,’’

that it was ‘‘more appropriate to a scholastic . . . than toa

training program’, that field training in ‘‘fund raising by

solicitation on the street. . . is. . . not usually found in

bona fide training situations’’ and did not entail adequate

supervision to prevent possible abuse and ruled that the

proposed training program is not ‘‘contemplated by the

pertinent section of the Act.’’ The decision was certified to

the regional commissioner for review. Church, J.A. 2, 5-6,

76.

On review before the regional commissioner, the

Church contended that the statute, as implemented by the

administrative policy, provided for instruction in any

‘field of endeavor’’, necessarily including the field of

religious endeavors; that the Church had complied with

the requirements of 8 C.F.R. 214.2(h)(4)(iii) for a descrip-

tion of the proposed training program; that the district

-3.

i rly

's finding that the program was imprope

rerer ert is anvificial: that his findings regarding wort

raising are based on evidence not disclosed to the C _

and 2 contrary to the substantial evidence in the recor

nary activity, which

range of the field experience im missio ~

included witnessing, street preaching, classroom ene

minars, revival tours by international, interreligious,

pememeer teams; and that there was close supervision oO

fund-raising activity. Church, J.A. 6-8, 77-89.

ional commissioner,

On oral argument before the regio

the Church was informed for the first time that the —

upon which the district director's — -~ poor

ocluded ‘‘adverse information”’ regarding the s°

ot fend. No opportunity had been provided prior to =

district director's decision to inspect or rebut

evidence. Church, J.A. 9, 80.

i issi ing also on INS

ional commissioner, relying ais

re e not included in the record or made available to =

Church affirmed the district director's decision on May

20, 1974. He:

“erated at the outset that it is neither our inten-

Pr desire to take issue with the —

upon which the Unification Church was vy

ed, to question the intense devotion = i

members have shown to their spiritual | , - s

to challenge the trainees’ wholehearted nd

tion to the work of the church and the = mis

sionary duties which they have — r- —

only concerned in this proceeding wi ‘ - o

mining whether the petitioner has an estab-s?

and realistic training program, if it is ———

to accomplish the purpose of which it is intend-

.4-

ed, and whether it is in conformity with the im-

migration laws and regulations.’’ App. 89a.

In his decision, the regional commissioner found that

there was no established training program, that the ratio of

classroom to practical training was unrealistic, that the

training was unnecessary in view of prior experience of the

intended missionaries, that the program was designed

primarily for fund raising and was excessive, that the

Church had not shown that it could support the trainees,

and that if the program were approved, the Service would

surrender control over the alien trainees.

In conclusion, the regional commissioner found ‘‘that

the training program which was proposed by the (Church)

is unrealistic and unacceptable.’ App. 94a. On May 23,

1974 the district director denied the three remaining peti-

tions, involving 582 missionary trainees, based upon the

regional commissioner's decision. Church, J.A. 9, 10,

77-89.

On the second appeal to the regional commissioner,

in addition to its earlier challenge of the district director's

original decision, the Church contended that the evidence

substantiated the fact that there is an ‘‘established training

program;’’ that the objection to the ratio of class studies to

training is arbitrary and capricious; that the findings that

the trainees were already experienced missionaries is fac-

tually wrong; that the findings regarding the fund raising

activities conducted by the Church disregarded the

substantial evidence in the record, are an impermissible

discrimination against the religious activities of the Church

in the light of INS approval of fund raising activities of

4p

commercial and industrial establishments that are permit-

ted to use trainees in income-producing functions, and is

in conflict with 8 C.F.R. 214.2 (h) (4) (iii); that the

Church had shown by substantial evidence that it has suffi-

cient assets and income to support the missionaries while

undergoing their training in the United States; and that

the information sought by INS regarding the individual

trainees was not required by the administrative regulations

or the prescribed form until following the approval of the

H-3 petition, when the trainee, pursuant to 8 C.F.R. 248,

seeks to change his nonimmigrant status in the United

States. Church, J.A. 10-13, 136-143.

On August 21, 1974, the regional commissioner affirm-

ed the district director’s denial of the petitions. He

doubted the credibility of the income statements submit-

ted by the Church, reasserted his belief that the training

program was unrealistic and not ‘‘established’’ and that

the Service would not be able to control the training,

acknowledged that Service regulations precluded con-

sideration of the source of a trainee’s remuneration but

held the regulation ‘‘did not envision the unique cir-

cumstances which presently confront us,’’ suggested that

the missionary trainees might be regarded as engaging in

productive employment, doubted that the training would

be useful to the trainees, held that ‘‘it has not been

satisfactorily established that the nature and amount of

training which it is proposed to accord the beneficiaries in

this country will actually prepare them to perform their

missionary functions abroad,’’ and concluded that the

training program ‘‘is not within the provisions of the

statute or regulations.’’ App. 71a.

The Church thereafter on September 10, 1974 sought

judicial review’ of the regional commissioner's decisions,

* The action was brought under the Administrative Procedure Act 5

Try prior to this Court's ruling in Califano v. Sanders, 430

$.99 (1977).

,

A ee ee -

Se ee Oe eee te WP em ORB ke ne we oe

on - i.

challenging them upon the grounds, inter alia, that the

decisions were made in violation of the requirements of

the administrative regulations, erroneously interpreted the

relevant sections of the Immigration and Nationality Act,

and that, to the extent that the decisions were based upon

the intended instructional and training activities as mis-

sionaries of the Unification Church, are a violation of the

Free Excercise Clause of the First Amendment.

On cross-motions for summary judgment, the district

court found it necessary to consider only one of the

grounds raised by the complaint: the failure of the district

director to comply with the provisions of 8 C.F.R. 103.2

(b)(2) (1974) and of 8 C.F.R. 214.2 (h)(6) (1974), requir-

ing disclosure of derogatory evidence to the petitioner with

an opportunity of rebuttal before a final decision is made.

The district court found that the INS had not complied

with the “‘affirmative duty .. . to proffer the informa-

tion to the petitioner for his inspection’ and remanded

the case to the regional commissioner to be reopened ‘‘to

provide (the Church) the opportunity to inspect and rebut

the adverse information.’’ In its memorandum opinion

the court stated that the INS ‘‘must then reconsider its

denial of all four petitions’, and entered an order reman-

ding the case to the ‘Regional Director’’ (sic) holding the

motions for summary judgment in abeyance ‘‘ pending the

receipt of the new decisions by the Regional Commis-

sioner’. App. 33a.

On remand, the regional commissioner ‘“‘reopened’’ the

cases ‘so that adverse information may be presented to the

petitioner for examination and the matters thereafter

reconsidered on the basis of representations made in re-

buttal.’’ Order of regional commissioner, May 2, 1975;

Church, J.A. 149-150. In the reopened proceedings, the

Me

‘onal commissioner failed to reopen che original deci-

ins endens by the district director and to erent

cases to that officer to permit compliance with 8 C.F.R.

214.2 (h)(6), which seemed to be intended by the _

of the district court's memorandum opinion. Inst ; a

made various materials available for a, -

the examiner to speculate which of the ‘‘mass ne :

ferentiated statements and reports’’ had been relied upon

in rendering the adverse decisions. The regional ome

sioner also declined to accord the Church the availabi uy )

the procedures set forth in 8 C.F.R. 103.2 (b) whic are

customarily relied upon by INS in obtaining —

cluding rebuttal evidence, in the determination of —

tions and petitions. See exchange of letters, Car con

Regional Commissioner, September 3-8, 1975. Church,

J.A. 151, 152-153, 154.

Pursuant to permission granted by the re ewe ve

issioner, the Church made ‘‘representations

ao “hie evidence’ in the files of the INS, read fairly

and in the context of the full investigative reports —

ing the activities of Church members, established ( on G

missionary teams were, in fact, attempting to utilize eir

educational training in working as missionaries in inter-

national, inter-religious, and interracial living —.

that they engaged in ‘witnessing’, street poy se

support activities for revival tours, as well as -_ a.

unique to the Unification Church through the o ae ~

tea, flowers, candles, peanuts, and candy . 7 (and) tha

the method of fund raising has religious over-

tones. .. .’’Church, J.A. 155-176.

oe am

On January 15, 1976, the regional commissioner

cluded that his prior ‘‘decision was proper and ——

material submitted in rebuttal of adverse information _

not establish a basis for overruling that decision; that the

-8-

5

4

i

:

|

“i

a

¥

:

|

Church has not met the ‘‘burden imposed . . . by regula-

tion,’ citing Matter of Brantigan, 11 1 & N Dec. 493

(B.I.A. 1966); and that it has not ‘‘shown that the

(challenged) decision is without a rational basis or that it is

arbitrary, capricious, or an abuse of discretion.” App. 34a,

44a.

On July 27, 1976, the district court again considered

cross motions for summary judgment and, finding that the

Attorney General is ‘‘entitled to judgment as a matter of

law’’, granted his motion for summary judgment. In its

memorandum opinion, the district court found that the

regional commissioner ‘‘acted within his prerogative in

not referring the petitions to the district director for an in-

itial decision ... (i)n the absence of regulation

specifically providing for such a procedure on remand.”’

The court also found that although the district director

‘did not specify which items of derogatory information he

relied upon,’’ the ‘‘access to the entire administrative

file’’ afforded to the Church and the ‘‘some measure of

specificity’ set out in the Regional Commissioner's deci-

sions were ‘‘legally sufficient and afforded (the Church)

full apprisal of the information and materials relied upon

by the Service.’’ App. 27a - 33a.

The district court rejected the Church’s contention

that the Attorney General exceeded his statutory authority

in imposing requirements upon the Church which are not

mandated by the statute and dismissed the Church's claim

that the ‘‘attempt to supervise and control (its) missionary

training activities (as being in conflict) with the free exer-

cise clause of the First Amendment’’ with the statements

that ‘‘no argument has been advanced that the Service has

interfered with or restricted the rights of United States

citizens to pursue their personal religious beliefs. Inciden-

tal restrictions, if any, on alien individuals’ rights to the

-9-

free exercise of their chosen religion resulting from defen-

dant’s enforcement of the immigration laws were in-

substantial and outweighed by the necessity for enforce-

ment of said law’’. App. 25a

On appeal, the District of Columbia Circuit affirmed

the decision of the district court. It held that the failure to

remand the case to the district director to comply with the

requirements of 8 C.F.R. 103.2 (b) (2) and 214.2 (h) (6)

was not prejudicial error; that the finding ‘‘essentially’’ of

the regional commissioner that ‘‘the Church was not train-

ing the intended beneficiaries of its H-3 petitions at all,

but was using them to solicit funds to support the

Church’’ could not be said to be an abuse of discretion,

but was merely a ‘‘legitimate threshold determination that

the Church's training program was not bona fide;'’ and

that the actions of the INS did not amount to ‘‘imposing

standards for the conduct of a religious training program,’’

citing Kleindienst v. Mandel, 408 U:S. 753, 769-70

(1972). App. la - 18a.

After the denial of the H-3 petitions by the New York

district director and the initial affirmance of the denial by

northeast regional commissioner, Asai filed an application

for the extension of her stay in the United States ‘‘to com-

plete (her) mission for the Church.’’ Asai, R. 189. The

district director denied her application on September 5,

1974, stating as his reason that she ‘‘failed to establish that

the purpose for which (she) was admitted has not been ac-

complished and that (her) requested extension is not mere-

ly an attempt to prolong (her) stay indefinitely."’

-10-

Asai, R. 170.’ She was instructed ‘‘to depart the United

States not later than September 20, 1974.'" Asai, R. 170.

No interview, no hearing, no opportunity was afford-

ed to Asai to establish that the purpose for which she was

admitted to the United States had not yet been ac-

complished and that she had no purpose to ‘‘prolong her

stay in the United States indefinitely.’’ Asai, R. 42-45.

When Asai failed to leave the United States, an order

was served upon her to show cause why she should not be

deported upon the ground that she had remained in the

United States beyond September 20, 1974, without

authority. Asai, R. 155.

At her deportation hearing, Asai denied that she was

‘‘authorized to remain in the United States only tarough

September 20, 1974"’ and that ‘“‘she remained in this

country thereafter without authority,’’ (Asai, R. 102),

claiming that she had been brought to the United States as

a B-1 nonimmigrant under arrangements originally sug-

gested by the INS officials, and that she was to be permit-

ted to remain in the United States pending the ‘‘final ad-

judication’’ of the H-3 petition on her behalf. Testimony

was admitted into the record that the purpose for which

she, among other trainees, had come to the United States

had not yet been accomplished, specifically that her train-

ing program was for a period of two years, that it had not

Suggestions had been made by INS officers that missionary

trainees of the Unification Church had ‘‘engaged in services and ac-

subsequently as a basis for Geponabilin Aad B. 155, 170.

-11-

yet been completed, (Asai, R. 138-142) and that there was

no plan or intention by her to remain in the United States

indefinitely. Asai, R. 142.

The immigration judge, relying upon Matter of Sour-

bis, 11 1 & N Dec. 335 (B.1.A. 1965), ruled that he does

not have ‘‘jurisdiction to make any determination as to the

propriety of the district director's decision’’ to require Asai

to leave the United States by September 20, 1974, (Asai,

R. 80-81); and basing his decision solely upon the district

director's order, found the petitioner's deportability ‘‘has

been established by clear, convincing, and unequivocal

evidence.’’ Asai, R. 78, 85.

The Board of Immigration Appeals agreed, holding

that regardless whether the district director's decision

ordering Asai to leave the United States ‘‘may be arbitrary,

capricious, or unwarranted, does not confer authority over

the area to the immigration judges .. . . Issues as to

whether an overstay was justified are not germane to the

questions of the alien’s deportability under Section 241 (a)

(2)'’ and that regardless of ‘‘any promises by the Service’’

to permit Asai, among other missionary trainees to remain

in the United States pending adjudication of their peti-

tions, the ‘‘decision by the Service as to when to com-

mence prosecution of these deportation proceedings is a

prosecutorial decision which is not reviewable by the im-

migration judge. . . and which has no bearing on the im-

migration status of the respondents (Petitioners).’’ App.

Sb-6b.

In its review of the order of deportation, the court of

appeals held that ‘‘petitioner’s deportation hearing did

not lack due process."’ App. 17a.

As the predicate for its decision, the lower court held

that ‘‘the granting of an extension (of stay in the United

-12-

ee Te

States to a nonimmigrant) is. . . a political decision com-

mitted to executive discretion, and is conceptually

analogous to the original granting of a visa.’’ Citing its

own prior decision in 1929, United States ex rel. Ulrich v.

Kellogg, 30 F. 2d 984, 986, cert. denied, sub nom. United

States ex rel. Ulrich v. Stimson, 279 U.S. 868 (1929), in-

volving an alien not within the United States, the Court

held that ‘due process of law requires no hearing if an ap-

plication for visa is denied."’

Since the petitioner was a lawfully admitted alien at

the time of her application for an extension of the period

of her temporary stay, the Court held that,

“the requirements of due process were met in

these circumstances by the availability of judicial

review under the Administrative Procedure Act

to determine if the district director's decision was

‘arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of discretion, or

otherwise not in accordance with the law.’

Since the district director's denial of the peti-

tioner's application did not violate due process,

neither did the immigration judge's reliance

upon it. . . . (Citations omitted) App. 17a.

-13-

REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Preliminary Statement

The treatment accorded to the Unification Church, as in-

dicated in the decision below, as well as in other decisions

which have been set forth in Appendix, 1c-2f. fairly in-

dicates that the Unification Church has been given treat-

ment by the Immigration and Naturalization Service

which is reminiscent of the conduct of state and local

governments in an earlier generation toward the Jehovah's

Witnesses. The result then was a series of historic decisions

by this Court affirming the First Amendment right of free

exercise of religion of persons who are not of ‘‘orthodox

religious faiths’.

What permeates all of the decisions by the regional com-

missioner here, and of the INS generally, is a barely con-

cealed intention to deny the petitions and applications of

the Unification Church and their members upon any and

all grounds possible. The findings are bizarre: a missionary

must be a ‘‘person who labors to spread the Gospel,

especially among a neglected population... and

(because) we cannot conscientiously consider the United

“che responsibilities and duties of a missionary with the

Unification Church. . . might be associated with any per-

son who is active with and supportive of his

Church. . . .(Since the applicant). . . has not distinguish-

ed himself in any way from the rank and file membership

of the church. . . "’ he is not eligible for classification as a

missionary (App. if); rae Riel

religious messages to lands and peoples not of own faith to

win converts and establish native churches. Provides

educational, nursing and other services. . (and that

-14-

because). . . the mission of beneficiaries (of an H-3 train-

ing program) will be to win converts only, without pro-

ere, SOY sepenas TONES so. tee Soe wees 98 com

-»"" the application cannot be approved (App. 3d);

sania! es talus uecie G te ‘profession’’, in

order for a missionary to qualify for training as a mis-

sionary, he must show that he has ‘‘attained knowledge or

learning---not merely skills---of an advanced type in the

‘missionary’ field of related religious studies, gained by

prolonged course or specialized instruction and study of at

least a baccalaureate level, which is a realistic prerequisite

to entry as an H-3 trainee into the missionary field of

endeavor’ (App. 5d).

With decisions such as these being rendered by district

directors, regional commissioners, and immigration judges

of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, it seems of

compelling importance for this Court to review the deci-

sion below, if today’s objects of governmental hostility are

to be given the protection which is afforded under our

Constitution for free exercise of religion.

Two substantial constitutional questions, touched upon in

previous decisions by this Court but never before decided,

are raised by the ruling of the District of Columbia Circuit

— one affecting the First Amendment right to the free ex-

ercise of religion by a Church under the Immigration &

Nationality Act;° the other, the nature of the process due

to aliens, lawfully admitted as nonimmigrants, who are ex-

pelled from the United States.

® A similar question ing the ication of the National

ean megeetes — oh rr

Church is i this National Labor

Relanon! Board's The Cato Bubop of Chicago @t al., No.

re

Petitions by Unification Church

The crux of the first issue appears in the principal

decision rendered by the regional commissioner stating the

INS criteria in adjudicating the petitions filed by the

Church for the training of its alien missionaries in the

United States:

‘‘We are only concerned in this proceeding with

determining whether the petitioner has an

established and realistic training program, if it is

appropriate to accomplish the purpose for which

it is intended, and whether it is in conformity

with the Immigration laws and regulations.’’

App. 89a.

It must be indisputable that the decisions of this Court for-

bid such intrusion in the conduct of a missionary training

program by a religious denomination. Wo/man v. Walter,

433 U.S. 229 (1977); Roemer v. Maryland Public Works

Board, 426 U.S. 736, 748 (1976); Meek v. Pittenger, 421

U.S. 385, 395-96 (1975; Committee for Public Education

& Religious Liberty v. Nyquist, 413 U.S. 756, 774 (1973);

Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602, 612 (1971); and Walz

v. Tax Commission, 397 U.S. 664 (1970).

In its attempt to preserve a decision which, on its face, in-

volves the most ‘‘excessive governmental a

with religion’’ possible (Meek v. Pittenger, op. cit.,

538), the Court below held that it ‘ail bis ae Oe

question of whether the INS’’ has ‘authority to pass on the

administration, development, need, effectiveness, and

utility of a bona fide training program.’ App. 8a. Instead,

it relied upon an elliptical construction of one of the many

findings made by the regional commissioner to uphold the

administrative decision that the training program was not

‘bona fide.”’

-16-

(A) The holding by the court below that ‘‘the ac-

tions of the INS in this case did not amount to. . . an in-

ion. . _-(in). . . the conduct of a religious training

program’’ and that ‘‘the commissioner merely made a

legitimate threshold determination that the Church's

training program was not bona fide’’ involves the question

whether this Court's opinion in K/eindienst v. Mandel,

408 U.S. 753 (1972), has been properly applied here. See

also Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296 (1939), in-

validating a statute that vested power in a secretary of ~

public welfare council to grant authorization to make

solicitations if he found that a cause was ‘‘religious,’’

‘‘bona fide’’, and ‘‘conformed to reasonable standards of

efficiency and integrity."’

The First Amendment rights of professors who ‘‘wish(ed)

to hear, speak, and debate’’ with an alien who was ineligi-

ble for admission to the United States were only

‘implicated’ in Mande/. 408 U.S. at 765. The petitioner

here, however, has a direct First Amendment right to be

free from intrusion in its religious training program by a

government agency acting upon its petition to train alien

missionaries in the United States. Moreover, whereas in

Mandel, this Court reviewed the exercise of ‘‘discretion’’

under 8 U.S.C. 1182 (d)(3), not otherwise defined, in

refusing to admit an alien into the United States ‘‘tem-

porarily despite his inadmissibility,’’ the right of the

Unification Church to obtain INS approval of its training

program for alien missionaries who seek to enter the

United States® is derived from statutory pro-

’ There is no issue here the admissi ha pein

Sedo of tock

shall not, of itself ny a

visions which authorize the Attorney General to determine

‘‘petition(s) of the importing employer’ ‘‘after consulta-

tion with appropriate agencies of the Government’’, and

to define the conditions under which an ‘‘alien as a

nonimmigrant’’ shall be admitted to the United States to

be prescribed by regulations. 8 U.S.C. 1184 (a), (c).

By contrast with Mande/, where this Court did not resort to

a judicial reconstruction of the reasons given by the At-

torney General to preserve his basis for a negative excercise

of discretion in order to sustain the administrative deci-

sion, the court below was required to ignore most of the

administrative findings, to enlarge and modify the

regional commissioner's findings regarding fund-raising,

and then to elevate one of his many reasons to be a

‘*legitimate threshold determination.’’ App. 9a.

In view of the fact that the decision below is bottomed

upon the holding of this Court in Mande/, a review of the

applicability of Mande/ to circumstances in which the exer-

cise of discretion is circumscribed by regulation is war-

ranted here. Such review is impelled especially because it is

the religious training program of the Unification Church

which is at issue here, rather than the admissibility of the

alien trainees to the United States.

(B) It has been a familiar rule, often cited, variously

applied, but never disturbed, since Securities & Exchange

Commission v. Chenery Corp., 318 U.S. 80, 87, 88 (1942)

that ‘‘the grounds upon which an administrative order

must be judged are those upon which the record discloses

that its action is based,’’ unless the decision ‘‘already

made . . . should properly be based on another ground

within the power of the appellate court to formulate.’’ Na-

tional Labor Relations Board v. Pipefitters, 429 U.S. 507,

522, 555, N. 9 (1976).

-18-

The record here indicates that the lower court indulged in

more than a grammatical construction of the ad-

ministrative decision where it stated, ‘‘Essentially, the

commissioner found that the Church was not training the

intended beneficiaries of its H-3 petitions at all, but in-

stead was using them to solicit funds to support the

Church,’’ citing the record at J.A. 88, 180. App. 9a.

The regional commissioner made no such finding at Chur-

ch, J.A. 88, App. 92a-93a. He stated:

‘“‘We have also considered the issue of the peti-

tioner’s inclusion of fund raising--which encom-

passes the outright sale of merchandise--as part

of the trainees’ field experience. We do not

dispute the right of any recognized religious or

charitable organization, including the instant

petitioner, to lawfully engage in the solicitation

of funds. However, the employment of nonim-

migrant aliens for such purpose is not consistent

with B-1 or B-2 status, or with the stated inten-

tion of the pending H-3 petitions. Even con-

ceding arguendo that instruction in fund raising

is important to a missionary’s training, the man-

ner and extent to which the instant beneficiaries

have been utilized towards that end transcends

the normal limits of training.

We have considered the necessity for fund

solicitation in the light of the fact that the peti-

tioning church--with total membership of

10,000 of which 7,000 have been described in

oral argument as ‘‘associate members’’--has

committed itself to the support of the 575 H-3

beneficiaries, in addition to other nonim-

migrants who have been admitted for training,

for a period in excess of two years. No evidence

-19-

has been furnished to substantiate the peti-

tioner’s financial ability to assume this obliga-

tion and even the basic information relative to its

gross annual income has been omitted from Item

4 of the petition, Form 1-129-B. At the time of

oral argument, the petitioner's representative

advised that the church would not entertain any

suggestion that fund raising be eliminated as

part of the training program. Despite the asser-

tion :hat such solicitations are only a small part

of the overall field experience, information

received from various Service officers throughout

the United States substantiates that the

beneficiaries have been widely and repeatdly

engaged in such pursuit. We are led to the in-

escapable conclusion that the petitioner's current

training program, which calls for three times as

much field work as formal study, has been

designed primarily for fund raising rather than

for training purposes.’’ App. 92a-93a.

However the above statement of reason given by the

regional commissioner may be read, there is no language

in it which justifies a judicial construction that ‘‘the com-

missioner found that the Church was not training the in-

tended beneficiaries of its H-3 petitions at all, but instead

was using them to solicit funds to support the Church.’”*

maken b an ooldanee te the sesegh ehecher any benotaciioe all

petition ha oe, Cages. Sane Eee cere.

the proposed tmining program wh. How the fund-

raising activities of ‘ Lm ¢- pt ne Ginette a wel oe

aliens not currently covered an H-3

petition--"’ A Rake aeen — ———o-

i

-20-

Neither do the views set forth by the regional commis-

sioner at Church, J.A. 180 (App. 40a) support the lower

court’s construction of his findings. As pertinent here, the

decision states:

‘“‘We contend that the evidence of record sub-

mitted by the Petitioner fails any reasonable test

to substantiate a viable training program within

the interpretation of law for the 20 months of

practical experience for 583 beneficiaries. A good

portion of the trainees’ activities must be viewed

as productive employment. This presumption is

not contingent on the beneficiary receiving a

salary, only that he is performing the day-by-day

duties that are necessary in the operation of the

Petitioner's endeavors. The record establishes

these functionary duties are being performed by

the 583 beneficiaries under consideration. We

submit that the evidence does not require a

highly skilled interpretation to reach this conclu-

sion."’

This finding is not at all a conclusion that the trainees’ ac-

tivities are ‘‘essentially fund-raising.’’ All that is said is

that ‘‘a good portion of the trainees’ activities must be

regarded as productive employment.’’ Even that employ-

ment is described as ‘‘the day-by-day duties that are

necessary in the operation of the petitioner's endeavors’

and described as ‘‘functionary duties.’’ Since the record

establishes that one of the purposes of the training pro-

gram is to create ‘‘an international, interreligious, inter-

racial living situation, both at the training center and in

the field experience’, Church, J.A. 106, the functionary

duties necessarily included those daily activities which are

required for housekeeping in a living situation, including

the housing, feeding, transportation, and provision of per-

sonal needs for the participants.

fhe

In any event, reliance upon the ground that the activities

of the missionary trainees is ‘‘productive employment’ is

precluded by the administrative regulation. 8 C.F.R.

214.2 (h) (4) (ii) explicitly provides with regard to produc-

tive employment: ‘‘(W)hether or not any benefit will ac-

crue to the petitioner (is) not material... .’’ All that is

precluded is that ‘‘a trainee shall not be permitted to

engage in productive employment if such employment

will displace a United States resident,’’ a contention not

made here.

The disposition which the court below gave to the ad-

ministrative decision seems clearly to be in conflict with

the rule established by Chenery. Not only did the gloss

which the court applied to the an transmute them,

but the court ignored the fact that the findings, whether as

originally made or modified, are based on considerations

forbidden by the administrative regulations. Cf. Nationa/

Labor Relations Board v. Pipefitters, op. cit.

Although this problem is familiar and recurrent in judicial

review of administrative decisions and perhaps, standing

alone, would require no renewed special attention by this

Court, it is suggested that in the circumstances here, where

fundamental constitutional freedoms have been impinged

upon by the administrative agency, the review of this par-

ticular issue by this Court is warranted especially because

of the frequent decisions by the Immigration and

Naturalization Service in questions relating to religious oc-

cupations.°

%In FY 1976, 1,387 ‘‘religious workers’’ were beneficiaries of oc-

cupational preference petitions or admitted otherwise as im-

migrants based u cir religious occupation. One hundred

ninety-six were itted as temporary workers. Annual Report,

Immigration and Naturalization Service, 1976, pp. 57, 97. No

statistics are set forth for the number of alien rel: $ workers

denied admission or for petitions and applications involving

religious training rams of religious educational institutions.

Cf. 8 C.F.R. 2145 ©) which set forth requirements for the ap-

proval of educational institutions for the attendance of nonim-

migrant students. Among other requirements, unless an ——

ontinue

x *

Decisions on each of these applications, rendered initial-

ly and sometimes finally by an INS district director, ac-

ting for the Attorney General, involve the exercise of

religious freedom in the country.'° Illustrations of recent

rulings are set forth in Appendices C-F.

Footnote 9 continued

is owned and operated as a public educational institution or is listed

by the Office of Education as an ‘‘accredited’’ institution, it must

submit evidence that ‘‘it confers upon its graduates recognized

bachelor, master, doctor, professional, or divinity degrees, of if it

does not confer such degrees that its credits have been accepted un-

conditionally by at least three institutions of higher learn-

ing. . . (that meet the accreditation requirements)."’ condi-

tions effectively preclude virtually all post secondary religious

educational institutions except those which are recognized

theological seminaries preparing students for the ministry. In addi-

tion, the regulation precludes the approval of ‘‘avocational’’ in-

stitutions.

'© The decisions, it is worth noting, are of a piece. While a variety

of reasons have been set forth for denials, as in the petition here,

there is a uniformity of result which suggests the on the

part of INS to deny all - nee ae filed by members

of the Unification Church, regardless of their merit. (App. 1c-2f).

Especially relevant here is a letter, with Accardi v Shaughnessy,

347 U.S. 260 (1953), implications of prejudgment, by the acting

New York district director to the assistant regional commissioner

for travel control in the northeast region. The letter which concerns

the first H-3 petition filed here, was written prior to the decision re-

quired to be made by the district director and states: ‘‘The attached

petition and supporting documents are forwarded for your advice

and guidance inasmuch as the matter is somewhat controversial in

mature.’" Church, J.A. 156. Although the letter refers to

‘numerous instances’’ of solicitation of funds B-1 or B-2

nonimmigrants, there is no further explanation why the matter

would be ‘‘somewhat controversial.’ As noted elsewhere, fund

— is permitted to B-1 ministers engaged in evangelical tours.

(See Infra at p.28). While there may have been uncertainty regar-

ding INS policy, this type of doubt does not usually rise to the

threshold of a ‘‘controversy."’

-23-

One which is now pending before the INS central office is

a decision by the western regional commissioner in which

an application for permanent residence by a missionary

was denied on the ground, among others, that because

‘‘Christianity is the dominate (sic) religion in the United

States,’’ ‘‘missionary activities in this country, can only be

considered as ‘proselytism,’ '’ a missionary being required

‘‘to be a person that (sic) labors to spread the Gospel,

especially among a neglected population. . . . (S)ince we

cannot conscientiously consider the United States as a

neglected population, religiously speaking,’’ the applicant

could not be regarded as a missionary within the meaning

of 29 C.F.R. 60.7, Schedule A, Group III(b). App.6c.

Inasmuch as INS rulings dealing with religious occupations

have never before been addressed by this Court, the ad-

ministrative practice, as exemplified below and illustrated

by numerous other decisions not easily susceptible to

judicial scrutiny, warrants review because of the sensitive

and substantial constitutional questions involved. Cf.

Murdock v. Pennsylvania, 319 U.S.105 (1942) and the

series of decisions in its wake involving Jehovah's

Witnesses who were subject to the same treatment that the

record here reflects has been given to members of the

Unification Church in their proselytizing efforts in various

places. Church, J.A. 155-176.

(C) A further question, the ultimate one, as framed

by the court of appeals, is the right of a religious body in

the United States to use its alien missionaries to engage in

fund-raising.

The program conducted by the Unification Church is not

unlike that described and affirmed as a First Amendment

right in Murdock v. Pennsylvania, 319 U.S. i105, 108

(1942):

‘*Petitioners spread their interpretations of the

-24-

Bible and their religious beliefs largely through

the hand distribution of literature by full or part

time workers. They claim to follow the example

of Paul, teaching ‘‘publickly, and from house to

house.’’ Acts 20:20. They take literally the man-

date of the Scriptures, ‘‘Go ye into all the world,

and preach the gospel to every creature.’ Mark

16:15. In doing so they believe that they are

cbeying a commandment of God.

The hand distribution of religious tracts is an

age-old form of missionary evangelism—as old as

the history of printing presses. It has been a po-

tent force in various religious movements down

through the years. This form of evangelism is

utilized today on a large scale by various religious

sects whose colporteurs carry the Gospel to

thousands upon thousands of homes and seek

through personal visitations to win adherents to

their faith. It is more than preaching; it is more

than distribution of religious literature. It is a

combination of both. Its purpose is as

evangelical as the revival meeting. This form of

religious activity occupies the same high estate

under the First Amendment as do worship in the

churches and preaching from the pulpits. It has

the same claim to protection as the orthodox and

conventional exercises of religion. It also has the

same claim as the others to guarantees of

freedom of speech and freedom of press.’’

The court of appeals regarded analogous activities'' by the

intended beneficiaries of the H-3 petitions here as a

justifiable determination that ‘‘the Church's training pro-

gtam was not bona fide.’’ App. 9a. The predicate of the

regional commissioner's finding, which the court of ap-

peals did not stop to examine, covered a wider ambit. Each

basis of the decision by the regional commissioner raised

additional constitutional and other questions regarding

the free exercise of religion insofar as they involve fund-

raising.

(1) The regional commissioner reached ‘ ‘the in-

escapable conclusion that the petitioner’s current

program. . . has been designed primarily for fund raising

rather than for training purposes.’’ He based his conclu-

sion upon what he regarded as the ‘‘necessity for fund

solicitation in the light of the fact that the petitioning

Church -- with a total membership of 10,000 of which

7,000 (are) ‘associate members’ -- has committed itself to

the support of the 575 H-3 beneficiaries, in addition to

other nonimmigrants who had been admitted for training,

for a period in excess of two years.’’ App. 92a.

Even were it so that the evidence which the regional com-

missioner has relied upon to hold that the training pro-

gram ‘‘has been designed primarily for fund-raising,’’ his

conclusion that it was necessary in order to support the 575

beneficiaries appears contrary to the teachings of this

a The record indicates that the trainees were engaged in a program

of ‘witnessing, street ane. ~~ phe omen re scluding the re-

a of offerings for

owers, candles, uts, woe whic were said to be sym-

bolic of Church doctrine. (Church, | A.83, 85- 86). The regional

commissioner characterized the transactions as the ‘‘outright sale of

merchandise.’ (App. 92a) Cf. Murdock v. Pennsylvania, op. cit. at

111: “‘The mere that the religious literature is ‘sold’ by

itinerant preachers rather than ‘donated’ does not transform

evangelism into a commercial enterprise.’

-26-

Court in the cases involving ‘‘peddling or selling’’ of

literature and religious objects by evangelical and other

religious groups:

“It is plain that a religious organization needs

funds to remain a going concern. But an

itinerant evangelist, however misguided or in-

tolerant he may be, does not become a mere

book agent by selling the Bible or religious tracts

to help defer his expenses or to sustain him.

Freedom of speech, freedom of the press,

freedom of religion, are available to all, not

merely to those who can pay their own way.’’

Murdock v. Pennsylvania, \d. at 111.

See also Follett v. McCormick, 321 U.S. 573, 577 (1943):

‘Freedom of religion is not merely reserved for

those with a long purse.”’

The thrust of these opinions by the Supreme Court,

although relating to licenses and taxes imposed upon per-

sons selling religious literature, raises a substantial doubt

regarding the administrative decisions that a training pro-

gram for alien missionaries is other than bona fide if the

missionary trainees are engaged in fund-raising activities to

support themselves.

(2) Apart from the question whether the need for

the missionary trainees to support themselves and to help

finance the Church renders their training program not

bona fide, the decisions here are in conflict with the ad-

ministrative regulations. In his final decision denying the

Church’s H-3 petitions, the regional commissioner stated

that he could consider the ‘‘alien’s activities which result

in a source of income for the Petitioner, when, as in this

instance, money is directly generated by the beneficiary-

trainee and the Petitioner has designated such soliciting to

-27-

be encompassed in his program.’’ App. 42a.

However, 8 C.F.R. 214.2 (h) (4) (ii) states: ‘‘Productive

employment: The source of any renumeration received by

a trainee and whether or not any benefit will accrue to the

petitioner are not material.’’

(3) The violation of the regulation here is

discriminatory against religious institutions in view of the

fact that under the regulation, INS approves such petitions

submitted by commercial and industrial firms which

receive income derived from the services which the trainees

perform for their employers. The fact that the Church is

engaged in religious activity, with no resulting marketable

merchandise to finance its missionary movement, should

not be used to disfavor it when commercial and industrial

establishments are permitted to use the income producing

activities of their trainees both for wages for the trainees

and for profit. The effect of the regional commissioner's

decision is to discriminate against institutions that do not

produce products, sell merchandise or perform roy -

must engage in ‘‘fund-raising.’’ Cf. Murdock v

sylvania, op. cit. at 115: Freedom of press, freedom Se

speech, freedom of religion are in preferred position.’

(4) The application of the regulations here also

result in a discrimination against religious workers who are

not ‘‘duly authorized ministers’’ of a ‘‘recognized

religious sect or denomination ‘exercising duties usually

performed by a regularly ordinated pastor or clergyman.”

The Immigration and Naturalization Service will permit

such persons to be ‘‘maintained through offerings, ”* but

“‘lay preachers. . . . cantors, lay brothers, or nuns’’ and, 4

; missionaries may not seek such offerings. App.

7la; 22 C. F.R. 42.25.

-28-

That such a discrimination is in conflict with the settled

decisions of this Court seems plain. See Fo//ett v. McCor-

mick, op. cit. at 576, 577; Fowler v. Rhode Island, 345

U.S. 67 (1952).

The questions suggested above are of obvious constitu-

tional import and justify review by this Court.

(D) Accardi v. Shaughnessy, 347 U.S. 260 (1953),

long ago established the principle for the Immigration and

Naturalization Service, and applied generally, that an ad-

ministrative agency must comply with its own regulations.

Vitarelli v. Seaton, 359 U.S. 535 (1959); United States v.

Nixon, 418 U.S. 683 (1974).

There can be no doubt that INS failed to comply with its

regulations for the adjudication of the present H-3 peti-

tions. The circuit court held that it was unnecessary to

decide this question’? (App. 6a-7a) because the Church

has not been prejudiced, citing 8 C.F.R. 103.1

(m)(11),103.3.

That the issue is not simply formalistic is underscored by

the differences between the administrative process for a

decision made by the district director and for the one made

by the regional commissioner on appeal.

'2 The court of — misstated the procedural issue raised here.

The issue was not whether ‘‘it was error for the district court not to

have remanded the case to the district director’’ rather than to the

regional commissioner. No issue is made of the district court's re-

mand to the regional commissioner. What was error, the Church

contended, was the failure of the regional commissioner, after re-

mand, to order reopening of the proceedings before the district

director in order to overcome the district director's prior failure to

comply with 8 C.F.R. 103.2 (b)(2) and 214.2 (h)(6).

-29-

8 C.F.R. 103.1(m)(11) delegates to regional commissioners

only ‘‘appellate jurisdiction’’ of various decisions, in-

cluding petitions for temporary workers or trainees. At

103.3, the regulations state that ‘‘[a]n appeal, cross-

appea!, answers thereto and accompanying brief, if any,

shall become part of the record of proceeding... .”’

Subsection (c) provides for oral argument, but makes no

reference, as would be expected in hearings before ap-

pellate bodies, for the submission of additional evidence.

The procedures specified for the appellate jurisdiction of

the regional commissioner are to be contrasted with those

for district directors who are granted authority ‘‘under the

executive direction ‘of a regional commissioner’’ to ad-

judicate the grant or denial or any application or petitions

submitted to the Service. 8 C.F.R. 103.1(n). It is in con-

nection with the determinations. by the district director,

not those of the regional commissioner, that thé provisions

of 8 C:F.R. 214.2(h)(6)'come into play, as the regulation

explicitly. seates.' Sintifar language appears at 8 C.F.R.

103.2(b)(2).

The regional commissioner’s decision is not de novo, be-

ing a review on appeal. The decision he made here telling-

ly notes the difference. In reconsidering his own prior deci-

sion on remand from the district court, the regional com-

missioner held that the standard which the Church was re-

quired to meet is to show that it,

‘“‘has met the burden imposed . . .by regula-

tion . . .or that (challenged)decision is without a

rational basis or that it is arbitrary, capricious, or

an abuse of discretion.’’ App. 44a.

Although the regional commissioner has stated that‘ ‘peti-

tioner has not met the burden imposed upon him by regu-

lation,’’ that reference in the context of the regulations

-30-

necessarily relates to the evidence submitted to the district

director, not to any independent submission to the

regional commissioner. The regional commissioner's state-

ment that the Church has not shown that the ‘‘challenged

decision’ is without a rational basis or that it is arbitrary,

Capricious, or an abuse of discretion,’’ is derived, of

course, from the usual standard for judicial review of ad-

ministrative decisions. It is obviously out of place here,

where the Church has established by the district court’s

first ruling (App. 27a-32a) that the initial decision by the

district director, never vacated, was improperly reached.

Since the rulings below have denied to the Church the

right assured by 8 U.S.C. 1101(a)(15)(H)(iii) and 8 C.F.R.

214.2(h)(4)(6) to have an initial decision on its petition

made by the district director, with the opportunity to

rebut adverse evidence, without a tilting hand put on the

regional commissioner’s scale of justice by a prior un-

favorable decision, it can scarcely be said that the pro-

cedures used here were not prejudicial.

The court of appeals also found that the regiona! commis-

sioner ‘‘has fulfilled his obligations under the regulations

when . . .he has made available to the (petitioner) the en-

tire file and can reasonably claim to have based his decision

that the Church’s missionary program was in actuality a

means of fund solicitation rather than a bona fide training

program on the ‘overall import of the evidence con-

sidered.’ ’’ App. 7a-8a.

However, the relevant regulation, 8 C.F.R. 214.2(h)(6),

imposes the obligation upon the ‘‘district direc-

tor . . . (to) set forth the pertinent facts adduced from the

evidence considered and (to) give the specific reasons for

the decision in the light of the facts... .”’

mm.

It seems obvious that the purpose served in vesting this

obligation upon the district director is not merely to re-

quire him to make a reasoned decision based upon factual

findings but to provide a basis for review on appeal. By

merging the functions of the district director and the

regional commissioner here, the coursof appeals has, in ef-

fect, deprived the Church of the procedures afforded by

the administrative regulations for a properly rendered de

novo decision made by the district director and its review

by the regional commissioner.

Given the other important questions presented in this

petition, it is suggested that the failure of the court of ap-

peals below to hold the INS to compliance with its regula-

tions is appropriate for review by this court.

Deportation Proceedings Against Asai

Since the Japanese Immigrant Case, 189 U.S. 86 (1903), it

has been settled that there is no power:

‘‘to cause an alien who has entered the country,

and has become subject in all respects to its

jurisdiction, and a part of its population,

although alleged to be illegally here, to be taken

into custody and deported without giving him

all opportunity to be heard upon the questions

involving his right to be and remain in the

United States. No such arbitrary power can exist

where the principles involved in due process of

law are recognized.’’ 189 U.S. at 100, 101.

The holding of the District of Columbia Circuit that

despite the fact that Asai was denied ‘‘a!l opportunity to

be heard upon the questions involving her right to be and

remain in the United States’’ before the immigration

judge in her deportation hearing, nonetheless ‘‘re-

-32.-

quirements of due process were met . . . by the availabili-

ty of judicial review ... ' is in conflict with the leading

decisions of this Court in JCC v. Louisville & N.R. Co.,

227 U.S. 88, 91 (1913) and in Southern Railway Company

v. Virginia, 290 U.S. 190 (1933).

In Southern Railway Company, the statute gave the

highway commissioner, an executive officer, power to

direct the construction of grade crossings, without notice

or hearing, when, in his opinion, it was necessary for

public safety and convenience, permitting the corporation

commission to approve or to modify construction plans.

Although the statute authorized judicial review for ‘‘ar-

bitrary actions,’’ this Court invalidated the procedure,

holding ‘‘there is nothing to indicate what the Court

would deem arbitrary action or how this could be

established in the absence of evidence or hearing.’’ 290

U.S. at 194, 198.

The decision is also in conflict with Mahler v. Eby, 264

U.S. 32, 36, 45 (1924). Mad/er invalidated a deportation

warrant because the Secretary of Labor failed to fulfill the

requirements that he find ‘‘after hearing’’ that an alien,

convicted of specified offenses, is an ‘‘undesirable resident

of the United States’. 264 U.S. at 36. This Court held

there, ‘‘when an administrative agency is required as a

condition precedent to an order to make a finding of facts,

the validity of the Order must rest upon the needed fin-

ding. If it is lacking, the Order is ineffective.’’ 164 U.S. at

45. Obviously, the need to make a finding after hearing

'SThe reference by the court of appeals to the Administrative Pro-

cedure Act as the source of jurisdiction has been undermined by the

recent holding of this Court in Califano v. Sanders, 430 U.S. 99,

105 (1977), decided a year before before the District of Columbia

Circuit decision.

-33-

cannot be met if the hearing is given only after the finding

by a reviewing court on judicial review.

It is no answer to say that the requisite finding is made, as

here, if the hearing and subsequent finding are limited

solely to the questions, whether a decision was rendered by

the district director permitting Asai to remain in the

United States only until September 24, 1974 and whether

she has remained beyond the date authorized.

This view of the nature of a due process hearing invites the

question whether the procedures applied by the Board of

Immigration Appeals and upheld by the District of Col-

umbia Circuit comply with the principle adopted by this

court in Ashbacker Radio Corp. v. FCC, 326 U.S. 327

(1945). The court below distinguished Ashbacker because

it is said to have concerned ‘‘a statutory interpretation of

conflicting sections of the Federal Communications

Act. . .”’ while here, there is no ‘‘contradiction between

8 U.S.C. 1184(a) authorizing the Attorney General to ad-

mit nonimmigrants for such time as he may by regulations

prescribe, and 8 U.S.C. 1252(b) requiring that special in-

quiry officers conduct proceedings to determine the depor-

tability of aliens.’’

The lower court shifted Asai’s claim for relief from a re-

quest that the court ‘‘pass on the validity of INS’ inter-

pretation of its own regulations making these decisions,

reached without the opportunity for a hearing, binding on

an Immigration Judge during a deportation hearing,’’

(App. 16a) to one that, ‘‘it disturb the regulation’’

established by the Attorney General to authorize district

directors to decide whether extensions should be granted.

(App. 17a). The latter request was not made by Asai, but

only that the regulations be harmonized to meet the con

-34.

stitutional and statutory requirements of a due process

hearing,'‘that is, one which is ‘‘fair,’’ Sung v. McGrath,

339 U.S. 23, 40 (1950) and ‘‘meaningful,’’ Armstrong v.

Manzo, 380 U.S. 545, 552 (1965).

Setting aside the incorrect rationale relied upon by the

court of appeals, the distinction which it cited does not ap-

pear to make a legal difference to the merit of Asai’s re-

quest to construe the regulations to afford her a full hear-

ing before an immigration judge. In Ashbacker, this Court

held ‘‘while the statutory right of the petitioner to hear-

ing. . .has, in form been preserved, it has, as a practical

matter, been substantially nullified by the grant of the

.. .application ...’’ to the competing applicant. 326

U.S. at 334. The two competing applicants in Ashbacker

at least had hearings, although separate, before the same

licensing body. Here, Asai has had no hearing, no oppor-

tunity to be heard before the director who denied her ap-

plication to remain in the United States; the hearing

before the immigration judge was more circumscribed

than the hearings in Ashbacker, there being no ‘‘jurisdic-

tional bar’’ to the consideration of Ashbacker’s applica-

tion. Here, conclusive effect has been given to the district

director's denial of Asai’s application for an extension of

her stay in the United States.

Assuming that the two regulations adopted by the At-

torney General are in actual conflict, the question whether

the Ashbacker rule is intended to be constricted only to

situations in which there is a statutory interpretation of

conflicting sections of an act of Congress but not to an in-

terpretation of conflicting regulations adopted by the Ex-

ecutive obviously is a major question affecting the right of

due process in administrative hearings. The specific issue

here is of critical importance, of course, to aliens who are

subject to deportation proceedings as a result of findings

and decisions made by district directors acting without any

of the elements of due process. Cf. Immigration and

Naturalization Service v. Stanisic, 395 U.S. 62 (1965),

'4 Brief for petitioners below, pp. 19-21. Reply Brief, 10-11.

-35-

in which this Court recognized ‘‘the distinction between a

determination whether an alien is statutorily deportable

--something never co:.tested by respondent (contrary to

Asai’s challenge here) -- aud a determination whether to

grant political asylum to an otherwise properly deportabie

alien.’’ Cf. Pierre v. United States, $47 F.2d (Sth. Cir.

1977); judgment vacated, 434 U.S. 962 (1977), following

a decision by the Commissioner of Immigration and

Naturalization that ‘‘the fairest and most efficient manner

of dealing with claims for asylum by aliens at U.S. ports of

entry’’ would be to allow the applicants for admission to

have evidentiary hearings in their asylum claims before im-

migration judges. See Statement by INS Commissioner

Leonel Castillo before House Judiciary Subcommittee on

Immigration, Citizenship, and International Law;

February 8, 1978, Press Release, Dep't of Justice, 55 Inter-

preter Releases 73, 82-83 (Feb. 24, 1978).

The court below justified its decision that the immigration

judge’s conclusive reliance upon the district director's

denial of petitioner’s application for an extension of stay

did not violate due process by treating her challenge before

the immigration judge as a request for a de novo deter-

mination of the application and analogizing all applica-

tions for extensions by nonimmigrants, although lawfully

admitted to the United States, to an application for a visa

before a Consular official abroad by an alien who is not in

the United States.

Although this Court has held that ‘‘an unadmitted and

nonresident alien had no constitutional right of entry to

this country as a nonimmigrant or otherwise,’’ K/eindienst

v. Mandel, op. cit. at 762; has repeatedly sustained the

plenary power of Congress to exclude and deport aliens on

whatever grounds, The Chinese Exclusion Case, 130 U.S.

581 (1889) and its progeny of cases through Fial/o v. Bell,

430 U.S. 787 (1977); and has held as to an

-36-

alien seeking entry to the United States, that ‘‘whatever

the procedure authorized by Congress is, it is due process

as far as an alien denied entry is concerned,’’ Knauff v.

Shaughnessy, 338 U.S. 537, 544 (1950); the question

whether an alien, admitted to the United States, who seeks

a statutory benefit under the Immigration and Nationality

Act, is circumscribed by these decisions has never been

determined by this Court. Cf. Campos v. INS, 402 F.2d

758 (9th Cir. 1968).

The view that ‘‘granting an extension’’ of a stay in the

United States of a nonimmigrant alien is a ‘political deci-

sion committed to executive discretion’’ is far reaching in

its implications as to the nature of the rights of lawfully ad-

mitted nonimmigrant aliens in proceedings before the Im-

migration and Naturalization Service. Cf. Stokes v. INS,

393 F. Supp. 14 (S.D.N.Y. 1976), requiring a due process

hearing prior to the denial of a visa petition on behalf of

an alien spouse.

In view of the recent holding of this Court in Mathews v.

Diaz, 426 U.S. 67 (1975), that ‘‘even one whose presence

in this country is unlawful, involuntary, or transitory,’’ is

entitled ‘‘to the protection of the due process clause,’’ the

question whether an ancillary determination, regardless

whether ‘‘political’’, cannot be challenged in a deporta-

tion hearing before an immigration judge, prior to the

finding of deportability, deserves review by this Court.

An additional factor is that the decision on this issue below

seems especially questionable in view of the legislative

history of Section 106(a) of the Immigration and Na-

tionality Act, 8 U.S.C. 1105a(a). The suggestion that the

ancillary determinations affecting deportability are

reviewable in a deportation hearing comports with the

legislative purpose ‘‘to create a single, separate, statutory

forrm of judicial review of administrative orders for the

-

deportation . . .of aliens... .’’ Foti v. INS, 375 U.S.

217, 225 (1963), citing H.R. Rep. No. 1086, 87th Cong.,

Ist Sess. 22-23 (1961). See also Kwok v. INS, 392 U.S.

206, 215 (1967). The bifurcated decision-making process

which the District of Columbia Circuit upholds here

makes the two-step procedure of obtaining judicial review

which Congress sought to eliminate a possible three-step

walk. The alternative of seeking judicial review in district

courts ‘‘to determine if the district director's decision was

arbitrary, capricious, and an abuse of discretion, or other-

wise not in accordance with the law,’’ carries with it the

right of appeal of that decision to a circuit court of appeals,

while presumably, in the meantime, the deportation pro-

ceedings against the alien are stayed. Following the

ultimate judicial disposition of the challenge to the district

director's decision, the alien would still retain the right to

challenge a fina! order of deportation in a circuit court of

appeals pursuant to 8 U.S.C. 1105(a).

In view of the fact that the alternative proposed by the

court of appeals invites a proliferation of litigation dealing

with the same subject matter, this is a further considera-

tion meriting review of the decision below.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons suggested above, it is urged that this peti-

tion for writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

DAVID CARLINER

931 Investment Building

1511 K Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20005

-38-

APPENDIX A

Notice: This opinion is subject to formal revision before publicati

— the poy ~~ e - U.S.App.D.C. Reports. Users a —

notify Clerk of any formal errors in order that corrections

made before the bound volumes go to press. i vest

Ruited States Court of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 76-1909

UNIFICATION CHURCH a/k/a HOLY SPIRIT ASSOCIATION

FOR THE UNIFICATION OF WORLD CHRISTIANITY,

APPELLANT

Vv.

THE ATTORNEY GENERAL FOR THE UNITED STATES

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of Columbia

(D.C. Civil 74-1840)

No. 77-1400

KEIKO ASAI, ET AL., PETITIONERS

v.

IMMIGRATION & NATURALIZATION SERVICE, RESPONDENT

Petition for Review of an Order of the

Immigration and Naturalization Service

Argued December 12, 1977

Decided March 1, 1978

David Carliner, for appellant/petitioner.

Richard I. Chaifetz, Attorney, Department of Justice,

for appellee/respondent.

Before: BAZELON, Chief Judge, LEVENTHAL and RoB-

INSON, Circuit Judges.

Opinion for the Court filed by Chief Judge BAZELON.

BAZELON, Chief Judge: The Unification Church, also

known as the Holy Spirit Association for the Unification

of World Christianity, is an interfaith religious move-

ment with membership in approximately 40 countries.

The Church has established facilities at Tarrytown and

Barrytown, New York, to train missionaries needed to

staff its worldwide evangelical program. These two cases

concern the efforts of the Church to bring aliens to the

United States for missionary training at these facilities.

In No. 76-1909 the Church appeals the Immigration and

Naturalization Service’s denial of the Church’s petitions

to have these aliens admitted as “trainees” under 8 U.S.C.

§ 1101 (a) (15) (H) (iii). See 8 U.S.C. §1184(ce). In

*8 U.S.C. § 1101 (a) (15) (H) (iii) reads, in the pertinent

part, that:

The term “immigrant” means every alien except an

alien who is within one of the following classes of non-

immigrant aliens—

-2a-

No. 77-1400, the Church urges us to vacate deportation

orders lodged against these aliens and to

deportation hearings until the validity of its H

tions* is conclusively determined.

I

A district director of the Immigration and Naturaliza-

tion Service (INS) initially denied the Church’s H-3

petitions. Joint Appendix (J.A.) at 76, 125-30." His

(H) an alien having a residence in a foreign country

which he has no intention of abandoning . . . (iii) who

0 ee eee a ee States as a

trainee .

Before an iin can achieve “H-8” status, an employer must

file an acceptable petition with the attorney general. 8 U.S.C.

§$ 1184(c) states:

The question of importing any alien as a nonimmigrant

under section 1101(a) (15) (H) or (L) of this title in

any specific case or specific cases shal] be determined by

the Attorney General, after consultation with appropri-

ate agencies of the Government, upon petition of the im-

porting employer. Such petition shall be made and ap-

proved before the visa is granted. The petition shall be

in such form and contain such information as the At-

torney General shall prescribe. The approval of such a

petition shall not, of itself, be construed as establishing

that the alien is a nonimmigrant.

These petitions are termed “H-3” petitions.

* See note 1 supra.

* The district director concluded that the Church had

failed to specifically or adequately describe the training

of classroom training, practice teaching anc public speak-

ing, is more appropriate to a scholastic program rather

than to a training program as contemplated under sec-

tion 101(a) (15) (H) (iii) of the Immigration and Na-

-3a-

4

decision was affirmed by the Northeast regional commis-

sioner. J.A. at 77. The commissioner stated that:

The record further reveals that many of the benefi-

ciaries—as well as other aliens not currently covered

by an approved or pending H-3 petition—were lo-

cated in various towns and cities throughout the

United States engaged in the sale of such merchan-

dise as tea, flowers, candles, peanuts and candy in

shopping centers, on the streets, and on a door-to-

door basis, and soliciting donations on behalf of the

Unification Church. In a number of instances, ar-

rests by police authorities resulted because the solici-

tation of funds was in violation of local o:dinances.

Some of these aliens had been in this country less

than a few weeks’ time, one such individual having

been admitted about one week earlier. Many of the

aliens encountered by Service officers were found to

be in the United States unlawfully by reason of hav-

ing remained here beyond their authorized period of

stay.

J.A. at 80. The commissioner concluded:

Despite the assertion that such solicitations were

only a small part of the overall field experience, in-

formation received from various Service officers,

throughout the United States substantiates that the

tionality Aét. Consequently, approval of this petition

would, in effect, permit the petitioner to circumvent the

regulations governing the admission of nonimmigrant

students. The second phase of the proposed training dur-

ing which the beneficiary would acquire experience in the

field consists, in part, of fund raising by solicitation on

the street. This aspect of the program is a condition of

employment not u.ually found in bona fide trainee situa-

tions. Moreover, the petitioner has not established that

trainees engaged in soliciting funds would receive suffi-

cient supervision to prevent possible abuses inherent in

such a situation.

J.A. at 76.

-4a-

5

beneficiaries have been widely and repeatedly en-

gaged in such pursuit. We are led to the inescspable

conciusion that the petitioner’s current training pro-

gram, which calls for three times as much field work

as formal study, has been designed primarily for

fund raising rather than for training purposes.

J.A. at 88.

The Church sought review in district court under the

Administrative Procedure Act, arguing that these pas-

sages revealed that the commissioner had violated INS

regulations prohibiting decisionmaking on the basis of

adverse information not made available to the affected

party. See 8 C.F.R. §$§108.2(b) (2), 214.2(h) (6)

(1977). The district court agreed and remanded the

case “to the Regional Commissioner” ordering that it be

reopened to provide the plaintiff the opportunity to in-

spect and rebut the adverse information.” J.A. at 32:

Civil Action No. 74-1340. (D.D.C. 4 March 1975).

On remand the regional commissioner made available

to the Church all adverse information in his files; the

Church submitted a2 memorandum in response to this

information. The commissioner reaffirmed his earlier

decision, and his ruling was in turn affirmed by the dis-

trict court. Civil Action No. 74-1340 (D.D.C. 27 July

1976). The Church appeals.‘

*8 C.F.R. § 103.2(b) (2) (1977) states that no applicati

presented to the Service can be denied on the basis of —

tory evidence unless the applicant is “advised thereof and

offered an opportunity to rebut it and present evidence in his

behalf before the decision is rendered.” In the adjudication

of petitions for alien trainees, 8 C.F.R. § 214.2(h) (6) (1977)

provides that: ; “If an adverse decision is proposed on the

basis of any evidence not submitted by the petitioner, he shall

be so notified before a final decision is made and invited to

inspect and rebut such evidence.”

"SO Seas aes Oe cape We sinks

is case an application for approval of a train

program was filed on February 11, 1974. The petition

-5Sa-

The Church argues, first, that it was error for the

district court not to have remanded the case to the dis-

trict director. The Church contends that this mistake

was harmful because the regional commissioner’s deter-

minations are not de novo and because he will set aside

the decisions of a district director only if they are arbi-

trary and capricious.

We find it unnecessary to decide whether the case

should have been remanded to the district director. We

note that the Church had initially challenged an action

of the regional commissioner. When the district court

ordered the case remanded to the commissioner, he might

have felt obligated by the order to himself proceed in the

matter. We need not pursue the problem, however, be-

cause it suffices to conclude that we see no prejudice to

the Church from the procedure that was followed.

The Administrative Procedure Act requires us to take

“due account . . . of the rule of prejudicial error.” 5

U.S.C. § 706. While the doctrine under which appellate

courts ignore harmless error may not insulate officials or

agencies to the same extent that it will trial judges,

still it has material application. Braniff Airways, Inc.

represented that the training program would have a dura-

tion of 26 months. It was also represented that the ap-

proximately 585 alien beneficiaries had already entered

this country in a variety of different nonimmigrant classi-

fications and that they had all commenced the training

course. Since 26 months from the date of application

passed in April or May of 1976, it is reasonable to assume

that all of the proposed beneficiaries have completed their

training program and should by now have departed the

United States.

Brief for appellees at 26-27.

We cannot agree with this argument for the simple reason

that there is no evidence in the record whether any benefici-

aries of the Church’s H-3 petition have in fact begun, much

less completed, the proposed training program.

-6a-

7

v. CAB, 379 F.2d 458, 465-66 (D.C.Cir. 1967). We can-

not hold on this record that appellant has been preju-

diced by the remand to the regional commissioner. The

commissioner invited appellant to introduce new evidence,

J.A. at 154, and appellant neither proffered nor intro-

duced any. Moreover, we do not find that the commis-

sioner’s decision was as constricted in scope as repre-

sented by appellant. The commissioner stated that:

The Petitioner has not met the burden imposed

upon him by regulation—Matter of Brantigan, 11

I. & N. Dec. 493—nor has he shown that the (chal-

lenged) decision is without a rational basis or that it

is arbitrary, capricious, or an abuse of discretion.

Accordingly, the denial of the petitions will be af-

firmed and the appeals will be dismissed.

J.A. at 182. Even assuming that “the (challenged) deci-

sion” referred to is that of the district director rather

than the regional commissioner’s own prior decision, the

commissioner independently concluded that appellant had

not met “the burden imposed upon him by regulation.”

This conclusion is not beyond the commissioner’s author-

ity under INS regulations. See 8 C.F.R. §§ 103.1(m)

(11), 103.8 (1977).°

* Appellant also contends that the regional commissioner

violated 8 C.F.R. 214.2(h) (6) which requires that the “per-

tinent facts” that are relied upon be “set forth” with the

“specific reasons for the decision in the light of the facts... .”

Although the commissioner concededly permitted the Church

access to the entire administrative file, appellant claims that it

“was left to speculate which of the mass of undifferentiated

statements and reports in the file were ‘pertinent facts’ for the

purpose of rendering an adverse decision.” Brief for appel-

lant at 14.

We find, however, that the commissioner has fulfilled his

obligations under the regulations when, as in this case, he

has made available to the appellant the entire file, and can

reasonably claim to have based his decision that the Church’s

-Ja-

The Church also argues on appeal that the regional

commissioner abused his discretion in denying its H-3

petitions. It contends that the INS has authority only to

decide if a proposed training program is bona fide, and

that it has “no authority to pass on the administration,

development, need, effectiveness, and utility of a bona

fide training program.”" Brief for appellant at 19. We

need not reach the question of whether the INS can rely

on any of these criteria,* however, since in our view the

missionary program was in actuality a means of fund solici-

tation rather than a bona fide training program on “the ro aa

all import of the evidence considered.” J.A. at 178.

* See note 1 supra for the statutory f i

OY pot neck ry framework governing

*The INS takes the i i ideri

wsttiten, position that in considering an H-3

the Service must determine both whether the training

program in question is a bona fide program and whether

a necessity exists for that particular training program.

This is necessary because Congress intended in enacting

8 U.S.C. 1101 (a) (15) (H) (iii) to provide training which

would be useful to the economic development of the vari-

ous foreign nations involved. S. Rep. 1515, 81st Cong.,

2d Sess., 567-573 [1950]. If the program in question does

not prepare the trainee to perform useful services in his

native land, it is highly questionable whether the pro-

gram is one which Congress envisioned i

eg An oned when it enacted

Brief for appellee at 12-13. INS tions i

petition to set out “the reasons ym lolitas amma che

obtained in the alien’s country, and why it is necessary for

the alien to be trained in the United States.” 8 C.F.R

§ 214.2(h) (4) (iii). In this case the regional commissioner

had concluded that since “the practice of public fund solicita-

tion is frowned upon by people of most other countries,” the

Church had not demonstrated “that any fund raising tech-

niques or related knowledge acquired in the United States

will be utilized by these aliens when they return to their re-

spective native lands.” J.A. at 148.

[Continued]

-B8a-

9

commissioner justifiably determined that the Church’s

training program was not bona fide. Essentially, the

commissioner found that the Church was not training

the intended beneficiaries of its H-3 petitions at all, but

instead was using them to solicit funds to support the

Church. J.A. at 88, 180. We cannot say that this find-

ing constitutes an abuse of discretion.

We also conclude that the denial of its H-3 petitions

did not deprive the Church of any First Amendment

rights. While we agree with appellant that the attorney

general is not vested by statute with the responsibility

of imposing standards for the conduct of a religious

training program, brief for appellant at 14, we find that

the actions of the INS in this case did not amount to

such an intrusion. As required by statute, the commis-

sioner merely made the legitimate threshold determina-

tion that the Church’s training program was not bona

fide. Kleindienst v. Mandel, 408 U.S. 753, 769-70 (1972).

* [Continued]

Suffice it to say that Senate Report No. 1515 does not appear

to stand for the proposition for which it is cited by the INS.

In fact the Report states that “[t]he promotion of trainee

programs has been adopted as part of the United States

foreign policy as a means of spreading a better understanding

of our country among the peoples of the world, and assisting

in the rehabilitation of war-devastated countries.” Jd. at 571-

72. In any event the Report is not a particularly reliable

source of insight into congressional intent, since it was com-

posed in response to a Senate resolution to investigate the im-

migration system and did not accompany any actual legislation.

Moreover, the Report actually recommended that a special

classification for trainee nonimmigrants not be created, id.

at 573, a recommendation set aside two years later by the

82d Congress when it enacted § 101 (a) (15) (H) (iii) of the

Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952, 66 Stat. 168.

-9a-

10

II

The approximately 585 beneficiaries of the Church’s

H-3 petitions were variously admitted to the United

States as visitors for business or as visitors for pleasure.

See 8 U.S.C. § 1101(a) (15) (B). The parties have stipu-

lated that this court treat Keiko Asai as representative

of these beneficiaries.*

When the Northeast regional commissioner denied the

Church’s H-3 petitions, Asai applied for an extension of

her stay in the United States. On September 5, 1974,

the district director denied her application, stating as

his reason that she “failed to establish that the purpose

for which [she was] admitted has not been accomplished

and that [her] requested extension is not merely an

attempt to prolong [her] stay indefinitely.” Appendix

(App.) at 17. Asai was instructed “to depart from the

United States not later than September 20, 1974.” Id.

No hearing was held before the district director.

When Asai failed to depart the United States by Sep-

tember 20, an Order was served upon her to show cause

why she should not be deported. At her deportation hear-

ing, the Immigration Judge ruled that her deportability

had “been established by clear, convincing, and unequivo-

cal evidence.” Id. at 13. Relying on Matter of Sourbis,

11 I & N Dec. 335 (1965), he ruled that it was not

necessary for him to determine whether the purpose for

which she was admitted to the United States had been

accomplished or whether she was merely attempting to

* The parties have agreed that “the administrative record

relating to Matter of Asai contains all of the relevant materials

required for this court to determine the issues; (and) that the

administrative records relating to the remaining named peti-

tioners are not required for the presentation of the factual and

legal questions to this court in considering the present appeal.”

Brief for petitioner at 2 n.4.

-10a-

11

prolong her stay indefinitely, because he did “not have

jurisdiction to make any determination as to the propriety

of the District Director’s decision.” App. at 9. The Judge

also ruled that the INS was under no obligation to stay

deportation proceedings pending a final judicial resolu-

tion of the Church’s H-3 petitions. On appeal, the Judge’s

decision was sustained by the Board of Immigration

Appeals.” In No. 77-1400, Asai petitions this court for

review.”

” Asai failed to depart voluntarily, and a warrant of de-

portation was issued on April 18, 1977.

3 The INS argues that this petition should be dismissed for

lack of venue. We do not agree.

Section 106(a)(2) of the Immigration and Nationality

Act, as amended, Sept. 26, 1961, Pub.L. 87-301, 75 Stat. 651,

8 U.S.C. § 1105(a) (2), provides:

the venue of any petition for review under this section

shall be in the judicial circuit in which the administrative

proceedings before a special inquiry officer were con-

ducted in whole or in part, or in the judicial circuit

wherein is the residence, as defined in this Act, of the

petitioner, but not in more than one circuit.

Section 101(a) (38) of the Act, 8 U.S.C. § 1101 (a) (33), de-

fines residence as follows:

The term “residence” means the place of general abode;

the place of general abode of a person means his prin-

cipal, actual dwelling place in fact, without regard to

intent.

This definition represents a codification of the Supreme

Court’s holding in Savorgnan v. United States, 338 U.S. 491

(1950), see H.R.REP. No. 1365, 82d Cong., 2d Sess. 33 (1952),

in which the Court noted that, as distinguished from domicile

or permanent residence, intent is not material to establish

actual residence, principal dwelling place, or place of abode.

In this case, the petitioners’ affidavits indicate that their

“official residence” for the purpose of al] communications

in the United States was originally established in Washing-

ton, D.C. Although having thereafter lived “temporarily” in

-lla-

12

Asai argues, first, that this court should invalidate the

deportation order issued against her and stay all further

deportation hearings pending a final judicial determina-.

tien of the Church’s H-3 petitions. Asai claims that the

deportation proceedings render her ineligible under 8

New York, petitioners state that they have now resumed their

residency in Washington. No effort is made to conceal the

motive behind their return to the District, it being to secure

venue before this court for the appeal of their deportations.

Respondent alleges that despite these statements, the peti-

tioners do not, in fact, reside in Washington, D.C. Respond-

ent’s affidavits on this issue, however, are less than dispositive.

In fact, all they conclusively indicate is that petitioners have

only spent a brief time physically present in Washington.

Currently, they note, petitioners are outside Washington, en-

gaging in “missionary” work in various parts of the country.

From this respondent concludes that petitioners have note

been present in Washington long enough to establish residency

and, therefore, must be considered residents of New York.

The fact that petitioners have spent only a short time physi-

cally present in the District, however, does not foreclose their

having established residency here. Residency does not require

continuous physical presence; in fact,

“Principal” admits of multiple stopping-places, just as

“general abode” admits of other specific habitation not

so qualified. . . . Thus, it is a question of fact in each in-

stance as to which is the “principal dwelling place.”

Toy Teung Kwong v. Acheson, 97 F.Supp. 745, 747 (N.D.

Calif. 1951). Consequently, there being no direct evidence

contrary to petitioners’ claims that they have abandoned their

New York residency, the remaining facts, on balance, favor

a finding that petitioners have now established residency in

Washington. Since, as the INS acknowledges, a major purpose

of section 1105a(a) (2) was to speed up the review of depor-

tation orders, and since the parties in this case have agreed

that all other similarly situated potential litigants will be

bound by the decision of this court on the merits, see note 9

supra, thus resulting in the expeditious disposition of approxi-

mately 175 pending matters before the INS, we hold that

venue exists.

-l2a-

13

U.S.C. § 1258 to change her nonimmigrant status to that

of a trainee should a court ultimately decide that the

Church’s H-3 petitions be granted.* She requests relief

under the Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. § 705,

which she urges authorizes this court to “issue all neces-

sary and appropriate process to postpone the effective

date of an agency action or to preserve status or rights

pending conclusion of the review proceedings.” ™*

Putting aside the fact that we have today upheld the

INS’s denial of the Church’s H-3 petitions, we find peti-

tioner’s argument to be without merit. Section 1258 of

Title 8 of the United States Code states:

The Attorney General may, under such conditions

as he may prescribe, authorize a change from any

nonimmigrant classification to any other nonimmi-

grant classification in the case of any alien lawfully

admitted to the United States as a nonimmigrant

who is continuing to maintain that status, ....

(Emphasis added.)

12 Following the order of the district court that the Church’s

H-3 petitions be reconsidered by the regional commissioner,

the INS deferred action to enforce the departure of the peti-

tions’ beneficiaries until entry of the district court’s final

decision. The question, therefore, is whether the deportation

proceedings should be stayed pending this court’s decision

and any further judicial appeals.

13 Petitioner argues that the APA requires the INS itself

to preserve her status and rights pending the conclusion of

judicial review. Brief for petitioner at 27. We need only point

out, however, that § 705 states only that, even if justice re-

quires such a stay, an agency “may postpone the effective

date of action taken by it, pending judicial review.” (Emphasis

added.)

Although there is considerable discussion in petitioner’s

brief about various representations made by INS officials, peti-

tioner does not rely on an estoppel theory, as indeed she cannot,

having not demonstrated any detrimental reliance on these

representations.

-l3a-

14

It is not clear from the statute whether an applicant

nonimmigrant must continue to maintain his “status” only

until he petitions for a change in classification,* or

whether he must continue to maintain it until his petition

is granted. In either case, however, the vacating of the

deportation order would not assist Asai in the assertion

of her rights under the statute. There is no question

that Asai was maintaining her status within the meaning

of INS regulations when she initially filed to change to

an H-3 nonimmigrant classification.** Her later deporta-

% This appears to be the position taken by the INS in its

regulations. See 8 C.F.R. § 248.1(a), (b) (1977), note 15

infra.

8 The pertinent INS regulations are to be found at 8 C.F.R.

§ 248.1(a), (b) (1977):

§ 248.1 Eligibility.

(a) General. ...[A]ny alien lawfully admitted to the

United States as a nonimmigrant, . . . who is continuing

to maintain his nonimmigrant status, may apply to have

his nonimmigrant classification changed to any nonim-

migrant classification other than that of a fiancee or

fiance under section 101 (a) (15) (K) of the Act.

(b) Maintenance of status. In determining whether

an applicant has continued to maintain his nonimmigrant

status, the district director shall consider whether the

alien has remained in the United States for a longer period

than that authorized by the Service, and shall consider

any conduct by the applicant relating to his maintenance

of the status from which the applicant is seeking a change.

An applicant may not be considered as having maintained

his nonimmigrant status within the meaning of this sec-

tion if he failed to submit his application for change of

nonimmigrant classification before his authorized tempo-

rary stay in the United States had expired, unless the

district director in his discretion is satisfied that the

failure to file a timely application was excusable, that the

alien has not otherwise violated his nonimmigrant status

and is a bona fide nonimmigrant, and the alien is not the

subject of deportation proceedings under Part 242 of this

chapter.

-l4a-

15

tion cannot change that fact.’* On the other hand, if the

statute is interpreted as requiring the applicant alien to

continue to maintain his status until a change in classi-

fication is granted, the deportation proceedings are equally

irrelevant. Asai ceased to maintain her status on Sep-

tember 20, 1974, when she failed to depart the United

States as instructed by the district director. App. at 19.

We conclude, therefore, that vacating the deportation or-

ders issued against the beneficiaries of the Church’s H-3

petitions will not serve to protect their rights under 8

U.S.C. § 1258 pending final judicial review of their case.

Asai’s second argument in this petition is that her

deportation hearing lacked due process of law because

the Immigration Judge refused to consider de novo the

district director’s denial of her application for an exten-

sion of her stay. The director had determined that Asai

had “failed to establish that the purpose for which [she

was] admitted has not been accomplished and that [her]

requested extension is not merely an attempt to prolong

[her] stay.” Asai’s position is that the director’s con-

clusion rests upon findings of fact, yet she was provided

neither with notice of these proposed findings nor with

a hearing in which to refute them.

** Thus the Board of Immigration Appeals stated specifically

that “[t]he remedies being sought by the respondents are not

relevant to the question of their deportability. Their presence

in the United States is not required for the pursuit of the peti-

tions for H-3 classification.” App. at 5.

Given this observation of the Board of Immigration Appeals,

we feel confident in interpreting the reference in § 248.1 (b)

to deportation proceedings as indicating merely an additional

factor that a district director may consider if an alien has

failed to submit an application for a change in nonimmigrant

classification “before his authorized temporary stay in the

United States had expired.” Asai, of course, applied before

her temporary stay had expired.

-15a-

16

The INS contends that we have no jurisdiction under

8 U.S.C. §1105a(a) to review decisions of a district

director that are collateral to a deportation proceeding.’

Such decisions, the INS urges, are reviewable in district

court. See Cheng Fan Kwok v. INS, 392 U.S. 206, 210

oe Butterfield v. INS, 409 F.2d 170 (D.C. Cir.

1969).

Petitioner responds that she is not asking this court to

review the decisions of the district director, but to pass

on the validity of INS’s interpretation of its own regula-

tions making these decisions, reached without the oppor-

tunity for a hearing, binding on an Immigration Judge

during a deportation proceeding. See Matter of Sourbis,

11 I & N Dec. 335 (1965); 8 C.F.R. §§ 103.1(f), 214.1

(a), 242.16 (1977).

We agree that we have jurisdiction to consider this

question, embracing as it does a final determination

“made during a proceeding conducted under § 242(b) [8

U.S.C. § 1252(b)].” Cheng Fan Kwok v. INS, 392 U.S.

206, 216 (1968). Nevertheless, we find that petitioner’s

deportation hearing did not lack due process.

There is no specific statute that grants the attorney

general the authority to extend the stay of a nonimmi-

grant in the United States. Section 1184(a) of Title 8

of the United States Code, however, authorizes the at-

torney general to admit nonimmigrants “for such time”

as he “may by regulations prescribe.” The attorney gen-

78 U.S.C. §1105a(a) provides that the procedures pre-

scribed by the Administrative Orders Review Act, 28 U.S.C.

§ 2341, et seq.

shall apply to, and shall be the sole and exclusive pro-

cedure for, the judicial review of all final orders of de-

portation heretofore or hereafter made against aliens

within the United States pursuant to administrative pro-

ceedings under section 242(b) of this Act [8 U.S.C.

§1252(b)]....

-l6a-

17

eral has authorized district directors to decide whether

extensions should be granted; these decisions are made

without a hearing and without appeal. See 8 C.F.R.

§ 241.1(a) (1977). The granting of an extension is thus

a political decision committed to executive discretion, and

is conceptually analogous to the original granting of a

visa. See 8 U.S.C. § 1201(a) (1970). Due process of law

requires no hearing if an appiication for a visa is

denied. See United States ex rel. Ulrich v. Kellogg, 30

F.2d 984, 986 (D.C.Cir.), cert. denied sub nom. United

States ex rel. Ulrich v. Stimson, 279 U.S. 868 (1929).

While we are aware that petitioner was a lawfully ad-

mitted alien at the time of her application for an exten-

sion of the period of her temporary stay, we hold that

the requirements of due process were met in these cir-

cumstances by the availability of judicial review under the

Administrative Procedure Act to determine if the district

director’s decision was “arbitrary, capricious, an abuse

of discretion, or otherwise not in accordance with law.”

5 U.S.C. § 706(2)(A). Cf. Foti v. INS, 375 US. 217,

228 & n.15 (1963).

Since the district director’s denial of petitioner’s ap-

plication did not violate due process, neither did the Im-

migration Judge’s reliance on it at her deportation pro-

ceeding. The attorney general is authorized by statute

to delegate the duties and powers conferred upon him by

the Immigration and Nationality Act, 8 U.S.C. § 1103,

and we will not disturb the regulations he has established

delegating these powers unless they violate the Act or the

Constitution.”

1* The cases petitioner presses upon us are unavailing to

establish her position. Ashbacker Radio Corp. v. FCC, 326 U.S.

327 (1945), concerned a statutory interpretation of conflict-

ing sections of the Federal Communications Act, id. at 329-30,

whereas we do not find any contradiction between 8 U.S.C.

§ 1184(a), authorizing the Attorney General to admit nonim-

-l7a-

| UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

18 FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

We therefore affirm the decision of the Board of Im-

migration Appeals in No. 77-1400, and we affirm the de-

cision of the district eourt in No. 76-1909. | UNIFICATION CHURCH,

So ordered. |

Plaintiff,

y. Civil Action

No. 74-1340

THE ATTORNEY GENERAL FOR

THE UNITED STATES,

ee ee ee ee ee eee ee eee ee ee

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM OPINION

This matter is back before the Court on

cross-motions for summary judgment. This

Court by Memorandum Opinion and Order dated

| March 4, 1975 determined that defendant had

not followed his own procedures with respect

| to the admission of derogatory information

concerning the plaintiff into the administra-

tive record. The Court found that defend-

ant had failed to advise plaintiff that de-

rogatory information would be used and had

failed to offer plaintiff an opportunity to

rebut such information and to present evi-

dence in its own behalf as required by 8

C.F.R. 103.2(b) (2) and 214.2(b) (6).

‘ coe Court ordered the case remanded to the

—— Regional Director of the Immigration and

— for such time as he may by regulations prescribe, Naturalization Service "for oa specific pur-

ms Tee. — —— comme sae Apr cog pose of allowing the plaintiff to comment on

proceedings depo ity ens. and rebut such evidence as was considered by

Similarly Mahler v. Eby, 264 U.S. 82 (1924), rested squarely

on questions of statutory interpretation; the case determined

what factual findings were necessary to support an order of

deportation under the Act of May 10, 1920, ¢. 174, 41 Stat. | ~19a-

-~18a-

the Regional Commissioner" in his decision

affirming the denial of the Church's petition

to classify various non-immigrant aliens as

trainees pursuant to 8 U.S.C. § 1101l(a) (15)

(h) (iii) (1970).

The motions for summary judgment were

held in abeyance pending the receipt of the

new decisions by the Regional Commissioner.

The decision by the Regional Commissioner

was rendered on Feburary 15, 1976. The Church

seeks a declaratory judgment that the denial

by the Immigration and Naturalization Service

of the Church's petition was arbitrary, capri-

cious and otherwise not in accordance with the

law.

The facts as recited in this Court's

prior Memorandum Opinion are repeated herein |

in the interest of clarity.

The Unification Church is a religious

organization chartered under the laws of the

State of New York and with its headquarters

in Washington, D.C. The Church maintains

missionary training facilities in Tarrytown

and Barrytown, New York. Since 1972, aliens

have entered this country and engaged in the

activities of the Church. Most have been ad-

mitted under the immigration laws as temporary

visitors for business or pleasure. But a small

number of Japanese were admitted pursuant to a

petition approved on June 7, 1972 as non-immi-

grant missionary trainees. The exact number

of aliens who have entered the country and who

remain at the present time is subject to some

dispute. The Church alleges that it has com-

plete records of all such aliens at its Central

Missionary Visa Office in Washington, D.C.

-20a-

Beginning in January 1974, plaintiff's

representatives filed four visa petitions in

an effort to obtain clarification of the

immigration status of plaintiff's trainees.

The first petition number NYC-N-42465, was

filed on behalf of Herman ten Bokkel Huinink.

The other three petitions, number NYC-N-43048

on behalf of 574 aliens, number NYC-N-43367

on behalf of three aliens, and number NYC-N

43579 on behalf of five aliens, were filed

shortly thereafter. During the time the peti-

tions were under administrative consideration,

no extensions of the temporary stay visas were

granted. The parties dispute the reasons for

the failure to extend these visas.

On April 4, 1974, the District Director

of the Immigration and Naturalization Service

denied the initial petition and certified it

for review to the Regional Commissioner in

Burlington, Vermont. Oral argument was heard

on May 9, 1974. Thereafter, on May 20, 1974,

the Regional Commissioner affirmed the Dis-

trict Director's decision. On May 23, and

June 6, 1974, the District Director denied

three additional petitions. Their denial was

also certified to the Regional Commissioner.

Argument was held in New York City on July ll,

1974, and on August 31, 1974, the Regional

Commissioner affirmed the District Director's

denial of the three petitions. Plaintiff filed

suit on September 10, 1974. Following remand

to the Immigration and Naturalization Service

and consideration of plaintiff's “Memorandum

in Reply to Adverse Information,” the Regional

Director's decision was rendered on January 15,

1976. The decision concluded that the prior

decision had been proper and that the rebuttal

material submitted by the petitioner did not

establish an adequate basis for overturning the

-?la-

decisions of the Commissioner.

The Attorney General is charged with the

administration of the laws relating to the immi-

gration and naturalization of aliens and is

specifically empowered in section 214(c) of the

Immigration and Nationality Act, 8 U.S.C. § 1184

(c), to determine whether petitions to classify

aliens as trainees should be granted.

Section 214 of the Act, as amended, provides:

(c) The question of importing any alien

as a non-immigrant under section 101l(a)

(15) (H) or (L) in any specific case or

specific cases shall be determined by the

Attorney General, after consultation with

appropriate agencies of the Government,

upon petition of the importing employer.

Such petition shall be made and approved

before the visa is granted. The petition

shall be in such form and contain such

information as the Attorney General shall

prescribe. The approval of such a petition

shall not, of itself, be construed as

establishing that the alien is a nonimmi-

grant.

Section 10l(a) (15) of the Immigration and '

Nationality Act, as amended, 8 U.S.C. §1101 (a)

(15), provides:

The term “immigrant" means every alien ex-

cept an alien who is within one of the fol-

lowing classes of nonimmigrant aliens -

(H) an alien having a residence in a

forign country which he has no intention

of abandoning. ..

-22a-

(iii) who is coming temporarily to

the United States as a

trainee ...

Plaintiff initially maintains that the

Service has failed to comply with the opinion

and order of this Court dated March 4, 1975.

Plaintiff contends that the Regional Commis-

sioner erred by reopening the appeals decided

by the District Director, permitting plaintiff

to examine material contained in the adminis-

trative record and to reply to adverse informa-

tion contained therein, reconsidering his own

decisions dismissing the appeals and ordering

once again that the appeals be dismissed.

Plaintiff contends that the proper procedure

on remand would have been for the Regional

Commissioner to reopen the case and remand the

petitions to the District Director for recon-

sideration and for compliance with Service

regulations, and if an adverse ruling were

rendered by the District Director, an appeal

to the Regional Commissioner for review would

lie. In the absence of regulations specifi-

cally providing for such a procedure on remand,

the Regional Commissioner acted within his pre-

rogative in not referring the petitions to the

District Director for initial decision. Since

the only function involved was the weighing of

rebuttal presentations of the plaintiff, there

was no function which could better have been

served by a referral to the District Director.

Secondly, plaintiff contends that the pro-

cedures followed by the District Director in

denying plaintiff's petitions were deficient in

that the Director did not specify which items

of derogatory information he relied upon.

The Regional Commissioner, however, afforded

plaintiff access to the entire administrative

-23a-

file in order to allow plaintiff to prepare

a meaningful rebuttal. The Regional Commis-

sioner also set out with some measure of

specificity the information relied upon by

the Service in denying plaintiff's petition.

The procedures utilized by the Service were

legally sufficient and afforded plaintiff

petitioner full apprisal of the, information

and materials relied upon by the Service.

Likewise, plaintiff's other arguments regard-

ing procedural irregularities are without merit.

Plaintiff also maintains thet the Attorney

General has exceeded his statutory authority

by imposing requirements on the petitioner which

are not mandated by the immigration laws. The

Court determines that the Attorney General was

not acting beyond the scope of his statutory

authority when he considered,among other rele-

vant factors, the administration, effectiveness

and utility of plaintiff's training program.

Having determined that the Immigration and

Naturalization Service and the Attorney General

acted within the scope of their authority and

followed the requisite procedural requirements,

the Court must consider whether the Attorney

General's decision was “arbitrary, capricious,

an abuse of discretion, or otherwise not in

accordance with law." 5 U.S.C. §706(2) (a).

See, Pesikoff v. Secretary of Labor, 501 F.2d

(D.C. Cir. 1974); Camp v. Pitts, 411 U.S.

138 (1973). After a careful review of the ad-

ministrative record, the Court determines that

the decision of the Attorney General and/or his

agents was based on a consideration of the rele-

vant factors and did not involve a clear error

of judgment on his part. The decision contained

a rational basis and was not "arbitrary, capri-

cious, an abuse of discretion, or otherwise not

in accordance with law."

-24a-

The Regional Commissioner, in determin-

ing that plaintiff had not submitted a bona

fide training program, indicated that the

training program was neither well established

nor realistic and was not appropriate to accom-

plish the purpose for which it was established.

The Commissioner also determined that the train-

ing program was devoted largely to fund raising

efforts on behalf of plaintiff in contravention

of the purpose envisioned by 8 U.S.C. § 1101

(a) (15) (BH) (iii). Defendant's determina-

tions based on these and other considerations

specified in the Regional Commissioner's deci-

sion do not constitute an arbitrary or capricious

decision, nor an abuse of the discretion vested

in the Attorney General. The Court may not

subsitute its own judgment for that of the

authority possessing the authority and the ex-

pertise to make such determinations. Secre-

tary of Labor v. Farino, 490 F.2d 885 (7th

Cir. 1973).

Finally, plaintiff maintains that defend-

ant's attempt to supervise and control plain-

tiff's missionary training activities conflicts

with the free exercise clause of the First Amend-

ment. No argument has been advanced that the

Service has interfered with or restricted the

rights of United States citizens to pursue the

personal religious beliefs. Incidental restric-

tions, if any, on alien individual's rights to

the free exercise of their chosen religion

resulting from defendant's enforcement of the

immigration laws were insubstantial and out-

weighed by the necessity for enforcement of

said law.

/s/

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Dated: July 26, 1976

-25a-

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

UNIFICATION CHURCH,

Plaintiff,

Civil Action

No. 74-1340

Vv.

THE ATTORNEY GENERAL FOR

THE UNITED STATES,

ee eee ee ee ee ee eet ee

Defendant.

ORDER

This matter having come before the Court

on cross motions for summary judgment, the

Court having considered the motions and the

other papers filed herein, including the com-

plete administrative record, and the Court

having determined that there exist no genuine

issues of material fact and that the defendant

is entitled to judgment as a matter of law,

and in accordance with the Memorandum Opinion

filed herein, it is by the Court, this 26th

day of July, 1976,

ORDERED that plaintiff's motion for sum-

mary judgment should be, and hereby is, denied,

and it is further

ORDERED that defendant's motion for summary

judgment should be, and hereby is, granted and

this matter is dismissed.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

-26a-

ee

FILED, March 4, 1975,

James F. Davey, Clerk

Civil Action No. 74-1340

MEMORANDUM OPINION

This matter is before the Court on cross

motions for summary judgment. Plaintiff, the

Unification Church, filed suit on Septem-

ber 10, 1974. The Church seeks a declara-

tory judgment that the denial by the Immigra-

tion and Naturalization Service of the Church's

petition to classify various nonimmigrant

aliens as trainees pursuant to 8 U.S.C.

§ 1101(a) (15) (II) (iii) (1970) is arbitrary,

Capricious or otherwise not in accordance

with law.

The Unification Church is a religious organi-

zation chartered under the laws of the State

of New York and with its headquarters in Wash-

ington, D.C. The Church maintains missionary

training facilities in Tarrytown and Barry-

town, New York. Since 1972, aliens have

entered this country and engaged in the acti-

vities of the Church. Most have been admitted

under the immigration laws as temporary visitors

for business or pleasure. But a small number

of Japanese were admitted pursuant to a peti-

tion approved on June 7, 1972 as non-immigrant

missionary trainees. The exact number of

aliens who have entered the country and who

remain at the present time is subject to some

dispute. The Church alleges that it has complete

records of all such aliens at its Central Mis-

sionary Visa Office in Washington, D.c.

-27a-

Beginning in January 1974, plaintiff's

conmtnannakines filed four visa petitions

in an effort to obtain clarification of

the immigration status of plaintiff's train-

ees. The first petition, number NYC-N-

42465, was filed on behalf of Herman ten

Bokkel Huinink. The other three petitions,

number NYC-N-43048 on behalf of 574 aliens,

were filed shortly thereafter. During the

time the petitions were under administra-~

tive consideration, no ro ay

rary stay visas were granted.

cation , Fntnn. the reasons for the failure

to extend these visas.

il 4, 1974, the District Director

of tan tnntaeehians and Naturalization Serv-

ice denied the initial petition and certi-

fied it for review to the Regional Commis-

sioner in Burlington, Vermont. Oral argu-

ment was heard on May 9, 1974. Thereafter,

on May 20, 1974, the Regional Commissioner

affirmed the District Director's decision.

On May 23, and June 6, 1974, the District

Director denied the three additional peti-

tions. Their denial was also certified to

the Regional Commissioner. Argument was ‘

held in New York City on July ll, 1974, an

on August 21, 1974, the Regional yaaa ge aaa

affirmed the District Director's denial o

the three petitions.

intiff asserts numerous grounds which,

Patong nl mandate the declaratory relief

it seeks. Only one ground need be consid-

ered at this juncture. The Church alleges

that the Immigration and Naturalization ‘err

Service violated its own regulations in fal

ing to give it the opportunity to rebut

-28a-

adverse evidence relied upon by the Region-

al Commissioner in his decision of May 20,

1974 affirming the denial of the petition

relating to Mr. Huinink.

8 C.F.R. §103(b) (2) (1974) states that no

application presented to the Service can be

denied on the basis of derogatory evidence

unless the applicant is "advised thereof

and offered an Opportunity to rebut it and

present evidence in his own behalf before the

decision is rendered." In the adjudication

of petitions for alien trainees, 8 C.F.R.

§214.2(b) (6) (1974) provides that: "If an

adverse decision is proposed on the basis of

any evidence not submitted by the petitioner,

he shall be so notified before a final deci-

sion is made and invited to inspect and rebut

such evidence."

The Regional Commissioner's decision

on petition number NYC-N-42465 states:

"The record further reveals that many

of the beneficiaries -- as well as other

aliens not currently covered by an approved

or pending petition ~- were located in

various towns and cities throughout the

United States engaged in the sale of such

merchandise as tea, flowers, candles, pea-

nuts and candy in shopving centers, on the

streets, and on a door-to-door basis, and

soliciting donations on behalf of the Unifi-

cation Church. In a number of instances,

arrests by police authorities resulted because

the solicitation uf funds was in violation of

local ordinances. Some of these aliens had

been in this country less than a few weeks'

time, one such individual having been ad-

mitted about one week earlier. Many of the

-29a-

aliens encountered by Service officers

were found to be in the United States

unlawfully by reason of having remained

here beyond their authorized period of

stay." Regional Commissioner's Decision

of May 20, 1974 at 4.

Further, the opinion states:

"Despite the assertion that such

solicitations were only a small part

of the overall field experience, informa-

tion received from variaus Service Offi-

cers throughout the United States

substantiates that the beneficiaries have

been widely and repeatedly engaged in such

pursuit. We are led to the inescapable

conclusion that the petitioner's current

training program, which calls for three

times as much field work as formal study,

has been designed primarily for fund ;

raising rather than for training purposes.

Regional Commissioner's Decision of May 10,

1974 at 12.

its opposition filed on February 5, 1975,

che Sabeumas admits. that the District Direc-

tor relied upon certain evidence in reaching

his decision on the first petition, but that

plaintiff was aware of this evidence by gy .

of appeal to the Regional Commissioner and tha

it did not formally request to see the evidence

and did not try to rebut it. Further, the

defendant argues that the plaintiff did not ob-

ject to its use and that it waived its rights

to raise that issue at a later time. Like ‘

argument is made in reyard to the denial of the

other petitions. .

-30a-

The decision of the District Director, Sol

Marks, on the initial petition, does not re-

flect the use of the adverse evidence as

claimed by the defendant, but it is clear

that the Regional Director did rely in part

upon such evidence in addition to the reasons

of the District Director. In this regard,

the transcript of the hearing held on May 9,

1974 states:

MR. CARLINER: Yes, but what I'm attempting

to say is that you can approve the peti-

tion based upon the evidence that has been

produced. If you disapprove the petition,

I won't say specifically it is inappropriate

to disapprove upon grounds which haven't been

relied upon by the District Dire€tor. But I

don't think that's good administrative

practice because we are reviewing the District

Director's decision and, if you're going to

use new grounds, we should have an opportunity

to meet them. All we've been able to do here

is that we were put on notice by Mr. Mark's

decision that he had specific reasons for

turning down the petition. . ." Trans-

cript of May 9, 1974 at 55-56.

At the second oral argument held on July 11,

1974, plaintiff's counsel again voiced objec-

tion to the use of adverse information with-

out the opportunity to rebut. Transcript of

July 11, 1974 at 2-3.

Clearly there was no waiver by the plaintiff

of the rights afforded it under the regulations.

Its objection was preserved. The regulations

represent an accommodation between the need

for a decision based upon all the evidence

from whatever source and the right in an

-3la-

adjudicatory proceeding to confront and

cross-examine that evidence. See K.

Davis, Administrative Law Treatise, §15.08

T1958) .They place an affirmative duty

upon the Immigration and Naturalization

Service to proffer the information to the

petitioner for his inspection. Such was

not done in this case.

The case must be remanded to the Regional

Commissioner and reopened to provide the

plaintiff the opportunity to inspect and

rebut the adverse information. The Immi-

gration and Naturalization Service must then

reconsider its denial on all four petitions.

When this process is completed and if the

denials are affirmed, the case will then be

in a posture for review on the merits by the

Court.

/s/

JUNE L. GREEN

U.S. District Judge

Dated: March 4, 1975

-32a-

FILED March 4, 1975 -

John F. Davey, Clerk

Civil Action No. 74-1340

ORDER

In accordance with the

. Memorandum ini

rhe es on this date, it is by the mote” wate”

th day of March, 1975. a

ORDERED that the ca j

' se is reman

enn Director of the santevatton ian -

| pe per aagere Service for the specific purpos

Owing the plaintiff to comment on Sad’ cobut

such evidence as w j

pte as considered by the defendant;

Phat ORDERED that the motions for summar

judgment are held in abeyance pending the te.

ceipt of the new decisi i

pane dine Remmnd cisions by the Regional

Ls/

JUNE L. GREEN

IU.S. District Judge

-33a-

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

Immigration and Naturalization Service

Northeast Regional Office

Burlington, Vermont

FILES: NYC-N-42465 (New York)

NYC-N-43048 (New York)

NYC-N-43367 (New York)

NYC-N-43579 (New York)

: itions of Holy Spirit Association

he ton he Unification of World Chris-

tianity a/k/a Unification Church in

behalf of one (1) alien, five hundred

seventy-four (574) aliens, three (3)

aliens and five (5) aliens respect-

ively.

GRANTS

PETITIONS TO CLASSIFY ALIENS OF NONIMMI

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF SECTIONS 214(c)

AND 10l(a) (15) (h) OF THE IMMIGRATION AND

NATIONALITY ACT, AS AMENDED

IN BEHALF OF PETITIONER: David Carliner, Esq.

1709 New York Avenue,N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

These cases are before us on remand

from the United States District Court for

the District of Columbia. Pursuant to the

directive of the Court, the Service hes re-

opened on its own motion the above four cases

and provided the Petitioner an opportunity to .

inspect and rebut all adverse information whic

was considered by the Regional Commissioner in

rendering his earlier denials of said petitions.

-34a-

On October 22, 1975, counsel for Peti-

tioner submitted his comments on the adverse

evidence in the form of a memorandum in reply

to adverse information. In his memorandum

counsel objects to the freedom afforded him in

replying to the adverse information and requests

that we direct him in the exact manner that his

rebuttal should be formulated and submitted. We

have left to counsel's discretion the broad

latitude of his presentation for rebuttal as

provided by regulation 8 CFR 103.2(b) (1). The

above reference prescribes that any additional

information or evidence may be submitted in

like form as the Griginal supporting documen-

tation of the petition or application. Counsel

also comments on the voluminous amount of

materials furnished for his review and notes on

the lack of the Regional Commissioner's speci-

ficity with the adverse information furnished.

Counsel implies that the Regional Commissioner

is remiss in not providing the Petitioner the

specifics within the adverse information on

which his decision was based. We respectfully

disagree with counsel's objection on this point

and contend the Petitioner has been provided an

Opportunity to review all evidence impugning

the petitions’ approval that was considered by

the Regional Commissioner.

We urge that the Regional Commissioner's

decision relative to the above petitions was

based on the overall import of the evidence con-

Sidered. It was an overview of all factors and

not a matter of limiting our considerations to

a few specifics. The conclusions rendered were

based upon our interpretation of the entire

record. Counsel seeks to encumber the Service

with an undue burden not contemplated within

3S CFR 103.2 by urging that the Regional

-35a-

Commissioner circumscribe the basis for his

denial of the petitions to a few specific

items.

Counsel urges the exclusion of various

factors considered by the Regional Commissioner

in these proceedings. We submit that since the

visa petition adjudication and review is an

administrative proceeding, civil in nature,

the rules of evidence followed criminal cases

in the courts are not controlling. Our cri-

teria in appraising evidence in this admini-

trative proceeding is whether it has probative

value - and relative to the issues - and wheth-

er its use is consistent with a fair proceed-

ing.

It is asserted in the transcript of the

oral argument heard on May 9, 1974, that the

Petitioner keeps a close record on everyone in

the United States who is involved with the Uni-

fication Church. A reasonable conclusion fol-

lows that the Petitioner was certainly aware of

the past actions of the benficiaries while parti-

cipating in church fund-raising activities. We

submit that the Petitioner could not reasonably

believe that the Service would ignore these fund-

raising activities or arrests in connection with

them in considering the instant petitions.

The records of apprehension furnished

the Petitioner in our adverse information are

identifiable to various individual aliens in the

United States under the direct auspices of the

petitioning church. These aliens when processed

by Service or local civil authorities were parti-

cipating in a fund-raising program administered

by the Petitioner that is not unlike his proposed

training activities now under consideration.

-3Sa-

The kKegional Commissioner's reference to

arrests’ records was not made in Fesetieaates

to the individual beneficiary's eligibility

but to demonstrate their conduct in general

while under the Petitioner's supervision.

For example, one of these arr ’

records relate to an individual who meni»

ed in Ocean Springs, Miss. on June 16, 1974

The report indicates that numerous complaints

had been received on the subject and his col-

leagues for going door to door in residential

neighborhoods and soliciting monies from the

citizenry. The report also shows that the sub-

ject was warned by local authorities on June 15

1974, to not solicit monies without a permit.

We contend that the evidence

in this case reasonably supports pd a oe

Commissioner's conclusion i.e., that the field

activities of the Petitioner, which comprise

two thirds of the training time, are to solicit

monies rather than provide substantial training.

Counsel has stated that t i

failed to sustain its Sakeiakenn saiees aan ca

field experience portion of the Petitioner's

program appears to be primarily a fund-raising

program. He charges that the Regional Commis-

sioner's decision was made in utter disregard

of the substantial evidence submitted by the

Petitioner. We contend that his opinion that

the supporting documentation of the petition

fairly establishes that the fund raising is

merely an incidental part of the overall reli-

gious training program of missionary activity

is purely conjecture on counsel's part - reached

by giving a desired and favorable interpretation

of the evidence and the impeachment of any fac-

tors not congenial to his views.

-37a-

He articulately brushes the picture of the

beneficiaries only receiving donations from

benefactors who feel a strong commitment toward

the Petitioner's aspirations and goals, an opin-

ion not corroborated by evidence of record.

Counsel has euphemized the sale of selected

articles, i.e., the exchange of an article for money.

Counsel has stated in oral testimony that ina

hard light the exchange may be viewed in the

light of a sale. The Petitioner confirmed that

the article given by the solicitor does have a

minimum fixed price, and the exchange in the

final analysis is conditioned upon the receipt

of money.

Page 7 of Record of oral argument of

May 9, 1974, reads as follows:

Ee Carliner:umnere is no question that

the Unification Church does raise funds by,

what they prefer to call, the soliciting of

donations on the street and I can't deny there

may have been abusiveness and maybe the tech-

nique varies from person to person ~ but the

exchange of peanuts, of candy, of flowers, of

geraniums and of candies, is not intended to be

a sale of merchandise as one would... although

if you look at it very coldly, it is a sale -

the person does not get the candy, I suppose,

unless he makes a contribution and it may very

well be . .. I've seen material which indicates

er.

We believe that a stiffer brush approach

would convey a more realistic interpretation on

the money-soliciting activities of the Petitioner.

Under Section 101(a) (15) (h) (iii) of the

Immigration and Nationality Act, it is contem-

plated that the training received be substantial,

-Va-

the beneficiary must have the background and

education to adequately assimilate the desig-

nated training... Such training cannot be a

continuation in the form of practical experience

Se an already acquired expertise. It has been

eld that the training of an individual must

— him more than further day-by-day, on-the-

re experience and application of his skills for

e sake of higher degree of proficiency, Matter

of Treasure Craft of California, Int. Dec. No

2163 (1972).

; We have held that the ratio i-

tioners training program of amotio 20

months'field experience versus 10 months'

classroom training is unrealistic. Counsel has

stated that this is a gratuitous conclusion

not supported hv evidence of record. He con-

tends that it is arbitrary and capricious to

deny the present petitions on the ground that

the training program is disproportionate to

jae ye a program." In the Matter of

easure Craft of California, supra i

guidelines are set forth on i

rFona fide training program for "-3 trainees

The decision states in part:

"A training program designed principal

for the purpose of seevidian the seg

ficiaries substantial and meaningful

training can reasonably be expected to

offer more than learing 'the separate

duties when, as, and where its oppor-

tunity affords.' Training in this man-

er will provide the beneficiaries little

if any, training which is not incidental.

to the employment of any worker in a posi-

tion which involves purely productive

Jabor." Emphasis added.

-39a-

We contend that the evidence of record

submitted by the Petitioner fails any reason-

able test to substantiate a viable training

program within the interpretation of law for

the 20 months of practical experience for 583

beneficiaries. A good portion of the trainees'

activities must be viewed:-as productive employ-

ment. This presumption is not contingent on

the beneficiary receiving a salary,only that

he is performing the day-by-day duties that

are necessary in the operation of the Petition-

er's endeavors. The record establishes these

functionary duties are being performed by the

583 beneficiaries under consideration. We

submit that the evidence does not require a

highly skilled interpretation to reach this

conclusion.

We submit that counsel is in error in

his assumption that an alien's past participa-

tion in the Petitioner's training program is

not now germane. Relativity arises to the mat-

ter in question because the same aliens are the

beneficiaries of the said petitions. As stated

by counsel, such possible violation of the

alien's nonimmigrant status could correctly be

applied should he be an applicant for a change

in nonimmigrant status under Section 248 of the

Act. However, his background and any training

which he may have already received is relative

to the question at hand in determining if the

prospective program for which he is being

petitioned is realistic; that if it is substan-

tial in the light of his past experience and

training or is it merely a repetition of

acquired knowledge. Additionally, the benefici-

aries ability to assimilate specified criteria

outlined in any training program must be

-tO0a-

a

considered.Judgment on the trainees capability

must be drawn from his past. The prior experi-

ence and training of an alien are factors to be

considered in adjudicating an H-3 training

petition. Matter of Miyazaki Travel Agency,

Inc., 10 I. & N. Dec. 644. Here it was held

that a beneficiary who had been employed as a

travel agent for the last three years was in-

eligible for a 50-week training program in the

same capacity.

On his belief that it was not required,

the Petitioner has declined to furnish much of

the information requested on the beneficiaries

prior training and activities while in the United

States under his supervision. We will not fur-

ther argue his prerogative on this issue but do

submit only that if, as in this case, there ex-

ists sufficient doubt to warrant denial, the

Service is not required to conduct an outside

investigation to resolve the issue. Matter of

Holmes, Int. Dec. No. 2274 (BIA 1974). The

burden of establishing eligibility in visa

petition proceedings never shifts from the Peti-

tioner to the Government, notwithstanding counsel's

argument to the contrary.

The Petitioner is seeking trainee status

for 583 aliens by four petitions and in doing

so must show that the training specified in each

petition is relative to each and every beneficiary.

The proposed training on one petition may not be

administered on an individual basis at the dis-

cretion or selection of the Petitioner based on

his interpretation of the individual's needs.

If the Petitioner desires an individual train-

ing program then each beneficiary must be sup-

ported by a separate petition designating a

training program geared to such individual's needs.

-4la-

Counsel holds that the source of the bene-

ficiaries’ income is precluded from considera-

tion by 8 CPR 214(h) (4) (ii) and contents that

it should be struck from the Regional Commis-

sioner's judgment in the petition. We believe

the souce of beneficiaries’ income is relative

invoked the fund-raising activities directly

into issue. The beneficiaries’ remuneration

is being derived from a fund-raising solicita-

tion program which the Petitioner has designa-

latitude was given to permit the prospective

trainee to receive a salary or living allow-

ance while in the United States from either

his foreign employer or United States host.

The salary for the trainee is not a control-

ling factor or subject to local salaries or

fair labor standards becuase the primary pur-

pose of che beneficiaries’ presence in the

United States is to participate in and

assimilate a sut mtial training program -

a@ program well defined and tied to a specific

time schedule and goal. We do not believe the

statute relied on by counsel in addressing

this issue precludes the Regional Commissioner

from considering the alien's activities which

result in a source of income for the Peti-

tioner when, as in this instance, money is

directly generated by the beneficiary-trainee

and the Petitioner has designated such solicit-

ing to be encompassed in his prograz.

We disagree with counsel in his analogy

that denial of the petitions is a violation of

the Petitioner's free exercise clause of the

First Amendment. The petitions in question

~4la-

were denied because the Petitioner failed to

satisfactorily establish a bona fide training

program within the interpretation of law. This

conclusion by the Regional Commissioner does

any way idge the Petitioner's exer-

cise of religious freedom. a

Counsel has also criticized the ion-

al Commissioner for not according the peri-

tioner and the beneficiaries procedures under

8 CPR 103.2 which, as he states, are customari-

ly utilized by the Immigration and Naturaliza-

tien Service in determining the eligibility of

Jiens to the benefits of petitions and for

randum that the Regional Commissioner by not

offering the Petitioner and beneficiaries the

opportunity to testify in person before a

service officer has denied them, as a group or

by individual, an opportunity to present their

case with all desired exposure. It is our posi-

tion that Service prerogative to not inter-

view all prospective beneficiaries as requested

by counsel did not pretermit the Petitioner

from any avenue of information that he wished to

pursue, and to submit the results of his in-

quiries by affidavit for consideration by

the Regional Commissioner.

In view of the foregoing, it has been

concluded the decision of the Regional Commis-

sioner was proper and the material submitted on

reputtal of adverse information does not estab-

lish a basis for overruling that decision.

August 21, 1974.

-4h-

The Petitioner has not met the burden

imposed upon him by regulation Matter

ntigan, 11 I. 6 N. Dec. 493 ~ nor has he

wm that the (challenged) decision is with-

out a rational basis or that it is arbitrary,

Files: NYC-N-43048 (New York)

NYC-N-43367 (New York)

NYC-N-43579 (New York)

In re: Petitions of Holy Spirit Association

for the Unification of World Chris-

tianity a/k/a Unification Church in

behalf of five hundred seventv-four

(574) aliens, three (3) aliens and

five (5) aliens respectively.

PETITIONS TO CLASSIFY ALIENS AS NONIMMIGRANTS

RSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF SECTIONS 214(c)

AND 101 (a) (15) (8) OP THE IMMIGE

NATIONALITY ACT, AS AMENDED.

IN BEHALF OF PETITIONER: David Carliner, Esq.

1709 New York Ave.NW

Suite 305

Washington, D.C. 20006

(Heard in Oral Argument)

These matters are before the Regional

Commissioner on appeal from the denial of the

petitions to classify the beneficiaries as

nonimmigrant trainees under section 101 (a) (15)

(#) (iii) of the Immigration and Nationality Act,

as amended. Inasmuch as the facts in all three

cases are similar, a single decision will be

entered.

The petitions and accompanying documenta-

tion reflect that formal instruction and

-4Se-

centers, mobile evangelical units and of

<> and foun the takaed Gataen ab aaah oS

ether Resto nent ee ee ee cutee Aa

coming or in the event there are insufficient

3 rogram will aid

in obtaining funds from other nations to pro-

vide for the missi ons to pro-

petitioner claims chet Ge 0 oe Ta

for the training of missionaries. _ t

seerts that euntenns facilties _

following considerations:

: ¢ heritage

of the United States

Scosthent cuviasmnent Ser asees

training.

The great movement toward spiritual

concerns in the United States pro-

vides the best atmosphere for training

new missiona , :

It is necessary to standardize trainir

of all missionaries and churct :.

and therefore one central rey

been developed.

h concluded that there

oho aaa iderations also dictate

ties and set of training ‘lie

one staff rather t! faci

in the —_wo aan train missionaries

where there tional setting

is a mixture of all possi-

ble races, religions, nationalities,

e beliefs. This place is the

tates. ,

English is nec ay a

and is one common denominator for

Europe and Asia and this is available

in the United States.

In connection with the proposed training the

instant petition for 574 aliens reflects a

period of from 28 to 32 months required to com-

plete such training whereas the other two

petitions reflect that a period of 24 months

will be required to complete the same train-

ing. The supporting evidence submitted by

the petitioner indicates that the complete

program is still being developed but basic-

ally it will consist of five levels of two

months’ study each interspersed with four

periods of four months’ field experience for

a total duration of 26 months. There has been

presented evidence in the nature of a general

ee eS Soe eS @ roster

pertinent

criteria which has er

mine eligibility for 2m a ‘ te

-67e-

fulfill in order to receive a certificate

of successful completion. The overall

program has been set forth in detail

as follows:

A. LEVEL 1

1. Divine Principle lectures

2. Bible study

3. Voc theory

4. Rev. Moon's speeches

5S. Group and individual counsel-

ling

6. History of Christianity

7. Introduction to Philosophy

8. English

9. Sports

B. LEVEL it

l. Divine Principle Lectures

2. Bible study

3. VOC theory

4. Rev. Moon's speeches

5. and individual counseling

6. Public relations

7. Comparative religions

9. English

10. Sports

C. LEVEL iit

Divine Principle lectures

Bible study

voc theory

Unification Thought

Rev. Moon's speeches

Group and individual counseling

New testament theolocy

-46a-

8. Unified Economics

9. English

10. Sports

- Divine Principle lectures

- Bible stody

« VOC theory

- Unification Thought

- Public relations

- Basic church business practice |

Unified Science :

8. Bible source study

9. English

10. Sports

ll. Individual leadership training

(counselling and training

directed at fulfillment of each

trainees' newly assigned mission

responsibility.)

It is noted the petitioner has stated that

training consists of five levels of study

although the detailed description of the

courses to be offered reflects the academic

program is actually divided into four levels.

The petitioner states that in the entire

program there is emphasis placed on the field

experience portion of the training, both in

time alloted and in examination, grading and

final examination. It is asserted that while

it may be sufficient for non-missionaries of

various fields and professions to train pri-

marily by lecture and examination, it certainly

is not the case for missionaries; that each

missionary must demonstrate capability to love

and serve others, to the extent of great self-

sacrifice, and these capacities are the result

of actual life experience rather than by class-

room or laboratory techniques alone.

-49a-

The instant petition for 574 trainees was

denied by the District Director on May 23,

1974. The other two petitions were denied

on June 6, 1974. The District Director's

decision in all three cases was as follows:

The petitioner seeks to accord the

several beneficiaries of your peti-

tion classification as trainees.

On April 4, 1974 in connection with

your petition NYC-N-42465 seeking

similar classification for another

beneficiary you were informend of the

denial and its certification to the

Regional Commissioner.

By order of the Regional Commissioner

dated tay 20, 1974, the denial of the

petition was affirmed. Inasmuch as

the issues of the instant petition are

exactly those of your prior petition

it must be found that the decision

previously reached, and of which you

are aware, must apply to the instant

petition.

The District Director's denial of these

three H-3 petitions was based on the Region-

al Commissioner's findings in the case of

Herman ten Bokkel Huinink, file NYC-42463,

in which the petitioner's overall missionary

training program was carefully examined. In

our affirmation of the District Director's

Decision, the following pertinent factors

were mentioned.

-50a-

(1) There is a serious question as

to whether the petitioning church has

an established training program inas-

much as they have, in a relatively

brief period of time, altered the

length of the proposed instruction,

the nature of the training and the

ratio of field experience to formal

classroom studies. Moreover, the

petitions call for 28-32 months'

training whereas the program which

has been outlined only covers an

approximate 22-month period.

(2) The evangelistic mission of the

Church requires its members to engage

in lay missionary work. Inasmuch as a

background of two years' church m

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.