Petition — County of Los Angeles v. Davis

Supreme Court brief1979

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

INTHE |i

SUPREME COURT ~

OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1977

No. .

771553

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES: BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

OF THE COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES; and CIVIL SERVICE

COMMISSION OF THE COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES,

Petitioners.

VS.

VAN DAVIS, HERSHEL CLADY and FRED VEGA, individually

and on behalf of all others similarly situated, WILLIE C. BURSEY,

ELIJAH HARRIS, JAMES W. SMITH, WILLIAM CLADY,

STEPHEN HAYNES, JIMMIE ROY TUCKER, LEON AUBRY,

RONALD CRAWFORD, JAMES HEARD, ALFRED R. BALTAZAR,

OSBALDO A. AMPARAH, individually and on behalf of all

others similarly situated,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

JOHN H. LARSON

County Counse!

WILLIAM F. STEWART

Chief, Labor Relations Division

648 Hall of Administration

Los Angeles, California 90012

(213) 974-1829

Attorneys for Petitioners

IN ‘THE

SUPREME COURT

OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1977

No.

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES; BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

OF THE COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES; and CIVIL SERVICE

COMMISSION OF THE COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES,

Petitioners,

VS.

VAN DAVIS, HERSHEL CLADY and FRED VEGA, individually

and on behalf of all others similarly situated, WILLIE C. BURSEY,

ELIJAH HARRIS, JAMES W. SMITH, WILLIAM CLADY,

STEPHEN HAYNES, JIMMIE ROY TUCKER, LEON AUBRY,

RONALD CRAWFORD, JAMES HEARD, ALFRED R. BALTAZAR,

OSBALDO A. AMPARAH, individually and on behalf of all

others similarly situated,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

JOHN H. LARSON

County Counsel

WILLIAM F. STEWART

Chief, Labor Relations Division

648 Hall of Administration

Los Angeles, California 90012

(213) 974-1829

Attorneys for Petitioners

a

TOPICAL INDEX

Table of Authorities

OPINION AND JUDGMENT BELOW

JURISDICTION

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE

PETITION

Ill

CONSTITUTIONAL, NOT TITLE VII,

STANDARDS OF DISCRIMINATION

SHOULD GOVERN CLAIMS UNDER

42 U.S.C. SEC. 1981; PURPOSEFUL

DISCRIMINATION IS THE CORRECT

CRITERION FOR ADJUDING A

VIOLATION OF SEC. 1981.

THE DECISION IS CONTRARY TO THE

SUPREME COURT'S RULING ON THE

INTENT STANDARD FOR CONSTITU-

TIONAL DISCRIMINATION IN

WASHINGTON V. DAVIS AND ITS

DECISION ON STANDING IN EAST

TEXAS FREIGHT CO. V. RODRIGUEZ

THE OPINION OF THE NINTH CIRCUIT

IS INCONFLICT WITH OTHER CIRCUIT

COURT OPINIONS.

10

1]

IV THE AFFIRMED QUOTA HIRING ORDER

CLEARLY EXCEEDS THE COURT'S

REMEDIAL AUTHORITY. 20

CONCLUSION

~~

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Arnold v. Ballard,

12 EPD par. 11, 224 (1976) 18

City of Milwaukee v. Saxbe,

546 F.2d 693 (1976) 19

Chicano Police Officers Association v. Stover,

426 U.S. 944 (1976) 16, 17, 18

Crocker v. Boeing Co.,

437 F.Supp. 1138 (1977) 18

East Texas Motor Freight v. Rodriguez,

431 U.S. 395, 14 FEP Cases 1505 (1977) 16

Franks v. Bowman,

424 U.S. 747 (1976) 22, 23

Griggs v. Duke Power,

401 U.S. 424 (1971) 14, 15

Harkless v. Sweeny Independent Schoo! District,

____ F.2d ___, 14 EPD, par. 7669,

§295 (1977) 20

Hazelwood School District v. United States,

___—-ULS. ___, 97 Sup.Ct. 2736,

15 FEP Cases | (1977) 21, 22

International Brotherhood of Teamsters v.

United States,

431 U.S. 324, 14 FEP Cases 1514

(1977) 12, 21, 11, 12

Johnson v. Alexander,

__ F.2d __, 16 FEP Cases 894

(8th Cir., February 17, 1978) 19

iii.

Johnson v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co.,

491 F.2d 1364 (5 Cir. 1974) 23

Johnson v. Ry Express Agency, Inc.,

421 U.S. 454 (1975) 13

Jones v. City of San Antonio,

568 F.2d 1224 (5 Cir., 1978) 12

Lewis v. Bethlehem Steel Corp..,

440 F.Supp. 949 (1977) 18

Mills v. Small,

446 Fed.2d 249 (1971) 22

United Air Lines v. Evans,

431 U.S. 553 (1977) 12, 22

United States v. Chicago,

549 F.2d 415 (1977) 19

United States v. State of So. Carolina,

__ F.Supp. ___, 15 FEP Cases 1196

(1977) 18

Van Davis, et al. v. County of Los Angeles, et al.,

566 F.2d 1334 (9th Cir. 1977) 2, 8, 11

Veizaga v. National Board of Respiratory Therapy,

13 EPD par. 11, 525 (N.D. Ill,,

January 27, 1977) 18

Wade v. Mississippi Cooperative Extension Service,

§28 F.2d 508 (1976) 20

Washington v. Davis,

426 U.S. 229 (1976) 7,8, 10, 11, 12

13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 19

Constitution

United States Constitution:

Constitution

United States Constitution:

Fifth Amendment 3, 19

Thirteenth Amendment 13

Fourteenth Amendment 3, 10, 19

Statutes

Rule 19(1 )(b) :

28 U.S.C.:

Section 1254(1) 2

Section 1343 2

42 U.S.C:

Section 1981 b> Fe % By 7

8, 10, 11, 12, 13

14, 14, 16,17

Section 1982 7

42 U.S.C.:

Section 1983 5, 7,10, 12

13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 19

Sections 2000e, et seq 4

Section 2000e-16 5

Miscellaneous

Army Reg. 40-501, par. 2-34(a) 19

INDEX TO APPENDICES

Appeadix A

Opinion on Rehearing of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

in “Van Davis, et al. v. County of Los Angeles,

etal.” Reported in 566 F.2d 1334 (Dec. 14,

1977), rehearing denied Jan. 30, 1978

Wallace, J., Dissenting

APPENDIX B

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit in “Van Davis, et al

v. County of Los Angeles, et al.”

(Unreported )

Wallace, J., Dissenting

APPENDIX C

Judgment of the United States District

Court, Central District of California, in

“Van Davis, et al. v. County of Los Angeles,

et al.”

APPENDIX D

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law of

the United States District Couri, Central

District of California, in ‘“‘Van Davis, et al

v. County of Los Angeles, et al.”

IN THE

SUPREME COURT

OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1977

No.

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES; BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

OF THE COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES; and CIVIL SERVICE

COMMISSION OF THE COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES,

Petitioners,

VS.

VAN DAVIS, HERSHAL CLADY and FRED VEGA, individually

and on behalf of all others similarly situated, WILLIE C. BURSEY,

ELIJAH HARRIS, JAMES W. SMITH, WILLIAM CLADY,

STEPHEN HAYNES, JIMMIE ROY TUCKER, LEON AUBRY,

RONALD CRAWFORD, JAMES HEARD, ALFRED R. BALTAZAR,

OSBALDO A. AMPARAH, individually and on behalf of all

others similarly situated,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners pray that a writ of certiorari issue to review

the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit entered on this proceeding on December 14, 1977.

OPINION AND JUDGMENT BELOW

The opinion of rehearing (including dissent) of the

United States Circuit Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit is

printed as Appendix A, p. 1, and is reported in Van Davis,

et al. v. County of Los Angeles, et al., 566 F.2d 1334 (9th Cir.

1977). The unreported original opinion of the circuit court

is printed as Appendix B. The judgment and findings of the

district court are printed as Appendices C, and D, respectively.

JURISDICTION

The opinion and judgment were entered on

December 14, 1977. A timely petition for rehearing was filed

by the respondents, Van Davis, et al. (plaintiffs-appellants below),

and was denied on January 30, 1978.

Jurisdiction of the District Court was based on

28 U.S.C. Sec. 1343.

This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

Sec. 1254(1), and Rule 19(1 )(b).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Is proof of purposeful racial discriminatory

intent required to establish a cause of action for employment

discrimination under 42 U.S.C. Sec. 1981 or can an employer

be held liable for pre-Title VII employment practices under

Sec. 1981, merely by a showing of disproportionate impact.

2. Isa racial quota hiring order to be effective

until the entire fire department achieves current racia! parity

with the general population beyond the jurisdiction of the court

W :

hen >

OO EO

a. The District Court expressly found no

discriminatory intent was present;

b. The quota hiring order attempts to remedy

hiring practices occurring prior to the effective date of Title VII

and time barred by the applicable 3-year Statute of Limitations

a

on Sec. 1981 actions;

c. The plaintiffs had no standing to represent

any pre-March 24, 1972 applicants and no discriminatory hiring

has occurred subsequent to Title VII's effective date.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

1. The Sth and 14th Amendments to the United

States Constitution; in particular, the due process and equal

protection clauses thereof;

2. The following provisions of the United States

Code:

42 U.S.C. Sec. 1981. Equal rights under the law:

All persons within the jurisdiction of the

United States shall have the same right in every

State and Territory to make and enforce contracts,

to sue, be parties, give evidence, and to the full

and equal benefit of all laws and proceedings for

the security of persons and property as is enjoyed

by white citizens, and shall be subject to like

3.

punishment, pains, penalties, taxes,

licenses, and extractions of every kind, and to

no other.

42 U.S.C. Sec. 2000e, et seq. (Title VII of the

Civil Rights Act of 1964 as amended in 1972).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In this proceeding, the County of Los Angeles was

found liable for employment discrimination under 42 U.S.C.

Sec. 1981 and Title VII and ordered to engage in quota hiring

of blacks and Mexican-Americans until the entire fire depart-

ment of 1760 firefighters achieved racial parity with the County’s

general population, despite the existence of the following facts:

1. No discriminatory hiring occurred after the

effective date of Title VII;

2. The trial court found that the County had

not engaged in purposeful discrimination and, to

the contrary, found that the County had engaged

in efforts designed to increase minority representa-

tion in the fire department;

3. None of the plaintiffs had been applicants

for any firefighter position prior to 1972, and the

Ninth Circuit held that the plaintiffs lacked standing

to challenge the County’s use of qualification tests

given at any time prior to 1972;

4.

—

4. All plaintiff applicants taking the 1972 written

exam passed, and all hiring from the resulting

eligibility list was conceded by plaintiffs prior to

trial to be accomplished in a non-discriminatory

manner.

The plaintiffs in their complaint filed on January 11,

1973 challenged two written employment tests of the County

of Los Angeles - one given in 1969 and the other in 1972.

While also claiming the 5°7” minimum height standard was

discriminatory, they expressly declined to seek an injunction

against its use in both the district and circuit courts. None

of the plaintiffs was disqualified by the minimum height

standard. In an amended complaint the plaintiffs conceded

that the hiring as a result of the 1972 test was not discriminatory.

Ultimately the Ninth Circuit in the decision sought to be reviewed

by this petition held that the plaintiffs had no standing to chal-

lenge the 1969 written tests or any hiring practices occurring

before 1972. The following summarizes the proceedings in

the case.

In July, 1973, the trial court found that petitioner

County of Los Angeles had violated 42 U.S.C. Secs. 1981,

1983, and Sec. 2000e-16 (Title VII) by administering a written

employment qualification test for entry-level firefighter in

1969, and January, 1972, which had an adverse effect on blacks

and Mexican-Americans and was not shown to be job-related.

_ The District Court upheld the departments 5°7” minimum

height standard. The court further found that neither the

defendants nor their officials had engaged in employment

practices with a wilfull or conscious purpose of excluding

blacks and Mexican-Americans from employment, but to the

contrary, had engaged in efforts designed to increase minority

representation in the Fire Department. App. D, p.4. Asa

remedy, the court ordered that the County hire all future

entry-level firemen in accordance with a hiring quota of 20%

black and 20% Mexican-American until such time as the per-

centage representation of those minorities in the entire Fire

Department in all ranks equaled their representation in the

County’s general population. L/

The only named plaintiffs in this case were individuals

who had applied for and taken only the 1972 written examina-

tion and who were certified on a hiring list from that exam

which was conceded by plaintiffs to have been prepared and

utilized in a non-discriminatory manner. No individual who had

been unsuccessful on the 1969 or any prior exam was named as

a plaintiff, nor did the plaintiffs seek to represent such prior

applicants, the complaint alleging that it was filed only on behalf

of “blacks or Mexican-Americans” who are current or future

applicants for employment as Los Angeles County Firemen.

(Clerks Transcript, lines 20-24, p. 62.)

1/

At the time of judgment, blacks and Mexican-Americans comprised

0.5% and 3% respectively of the Fire Department’s firefighter personnel

(approximately 1762) and 10.9 and 18.3% of the County’s general

population.

6.

Ee

On appeal, the United States Court of Appeals for

the Ninth Circuit, in its original decision, reversed the judgment

under Sec. 1983 because the County was not a “person,”’ and

affirmed the judgment finding the County in violation of Sec.

1981. The court found no violation of Tit!e VII because the

tests administered in 1972 had not been implemented; that is,

no civil service list was promulgated or hires made as a conse-

quence of the test results. Nevertheless, the court ruled that

Title VII standards were applicable to Sec. 1981 claims and that

a violation of Sec. 1982 could be established merely by a showing

that a hiring practice had a disparate effect on minorities and

the employer was unable to validate the test as job-related. The

circuit court reversed the trial court’s judgment upholding

petitioner’s 5’7” minimum height standard and remanded for

reconsideration of the quota.

Subsequent to its original decision, the Ninth Circuit,

upon petitioner's request, granted a rehearing to determine, in

light of this Court’s recent decision in Washington v. Davis,

426 U.S. 229 (1976), whether proof of purposeful discriminatory

intent is required for a violation of Sec. 1981. On rehearing,

the Ninth Circuit (Judge Wallace dissenting) affirmed its original

finding that there was no operational distinction between a

cause of action based upon Title VII and Sec. 1981 and that the

adverse impact standards evolving from Title VII cases were

sufficient to establish liability under Sec. 1981. It was held that

a showing of deliberate intent to discriminate was not a require-

ment under Sec. 1981 as it was under the United States Constitution,

4

/ .

as determined by this Court in Washington v. Davis. The

Ninth Circuit, however, did rule that respondents lacked

standing to represent prior unsuccessful applicants including

those taking the 1969 test because the class did not include

any prior unsuccessful applicants. Van Davis, et al. v. County

of Los Angeles, et al, 566 F.2d 1334 at 1338.

Judge Waliace dissented, being of the opinion that

constitutional standards were applicable to proving discrimination

under Sec. 1981 and noting that, even if it were otherwise, the

quota hiring order was improper in view of the court’s finding

that respondents lacked standing to represent former applicants.

The written civil service test challenged in this litiga-

tion was administered to applicants for entry-level firefigher

positions twice, once in 1969 and again in January 1972. The

oral interview and physical agility portions of the examination

process were not attacked because they had no disproprotionate

impact on minorities. The 1972 administered test was utilized

only on a pass-fail basis with 97% of all applicants passing. As

to these passing applicants, their subsequent oral interviews

and physical examinations had no adverse impact.

The County of Los Angeles hired no firemen from

well before March 24, 1972 (the effective date of Title VII)

until the Spring of 1973, when the first recruit class was composed

50% of minorities (10 blacks and 20 Mexican-Americans).2/

2/

The respondents, in their first and second amended complaints,

conceded that the hiring of this recruit class was done in a non-discriminatory

manner (Clerks Transcript p. 62, lines 20-22).

All subsequent hiring has been pursuant to the trial court’s

40% preferential minority hiring order of July,1973. At no

time was there any discriminatory hiring since March 24, 1972,

or as a consequence of the 1972 written test.

The 1969 written exam as utilized in the hiring of

new firefighters had an adverse impact on blacks and Mexican-

Americans. The County, however, in the administration of

the subsequent 1972 exam, initially intended (as ultimately

occurred) to set the cutoff score extremely low so that 97% of

the applicants passed, and then process through the oral interview

and physical agility phases of the selection process approximately

500 of those applicants. These 500 would be chosen totally

by random selection so that the minority applicant percentage

which approximated their community representation would be

maintained throughout the subsequent stages of the selection

process which had shown ro adverse impact.

A state lawsuit enjoined the proposed random

selection and after a year’s delay, the County, because of the

pressing need for new firemen, init ly contemplated interview-

ing the top 544 applicants on the 1972 written test. No such

selection or interviews were ever commenced. Instead, all passing

applicants were interviewed and hires were made in a non-

discriminatory manner.

During the five-year pendency of the appeal, the

petitioners observed and in most cases exceeded the quota

hiring order and as of July, 1977 had hired as firemen recruits

9.

er ae

267 persons, of which 158 (59.1%) were blacks or Mexican-

Ameircans. Pursuant to the terms of the judgment the district

court receives annual reports and retains jurisdiction over the

case until the entire department reaches community racial

parity.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE

PETITION

The reasons for granting the petition are

1. An important question of federal law of great

public importance should be settled by this court in order

to harmonize the standards for discrimination under 42 U.S.C.

Secs. 1981, 1983, and the United States Constitution. More

specifically, are Title VII standards of presumptive discrimina-

tion (without a requirement of purposeful intent) applicable

to actions under Sec. 1981 but not applicable to claims of dis-

crmination under Sec. 1983 or the 14th Amendment to the

United States Constitution?

2. The decision of the Ninth Circuit appears to be

in conflict with an applicable decision of this court, to wit:

Washington v, Davis, 426 U.S. 229 (1976).

3. The decision of the Ninth Circuit, ruling that

purposeful discriminatory intent is not required for a cause of

action under Sec. 1981, is in conflict with decisions of at least

two other Courts of Appeal.

10.

I

CONSTITUTIONAL, NOT TITLE VU,

STANDARDS OF DISCRIMINATION

SHOULD GOVERN CLAIMS UNDER

42 U.S.C. SEC. 1981; PURPOSEFUL

DISCRIMINATION IS THE CORRECT

CRITERION FOR ADJUDGING A

VIOLATION OF SEC. 1981.

A federal issue of extreme importance is created by

the Ninth Circuit's holding that “[w]e cannot conclude that

Washington embraced a ruling that a showing of disproportionate

impact no longer will suffice to establish a prima facie case of

employment discrimination under Sec. 1981. In our view, there

remains no operational distinction in this context between

liability based upon Title VII and Sec. 1981," Van Davis y.

County of Los Angeles, 566 F.2d 1334 at 1340. The liability

of the petitioner under Sec. 1981 was predicated solely upon

a showing of adverse impacton mincrities, the trial court

affirmatively finding that no deliberate intent to discriminate

was present. The application to Sec. 1981 of a presumption of

discrimination based on adverse-impact, originating from inter-

pretations of Title VII, is incorrect, at variance with this

Court’s decision in Washington v. Davis, and has ramifications

extending far beyond employment discrimination cases. Such

a holding would:

11.

1. Encompass non-employment discrimination actions

brought under Sec. 1981 which, as this Court observed in

Washington v. Davis, would raise serious questions about, and

perhaps invalidate, a whole range of tax, welfare, public service,

regulatory, and licensing statutes that may have a disproportionate

impact. This Court in Washington v. Davis, 426 U.S. 229 at

244-245, footnote 12, specifically rejected the application of

Title VII presumption standards to those areas of government

action;

2. Permit the procedural and statutory prerequisites

and administrative enforcement procedures of Title VII to be

circumvented by the mere allegation of a cause of action under

Sec. 1981, thus opening the federal courts to a flood of litigation

that Congress intended should be channeled through and

reduced by the EEOC administrative machinery;

3. Create differing standards for proving discrimina-

tion between Secs. 1983 and 1981, although both statutes are

premised on the protection of constitutional rights;

4. Negate the recent decisions of this Court and

circuit courts of appeal in /nternational Brotherhood of

Teamsters v. United States, 431 U.S. 324 (1977); Jones vy.

City of San Antonio, 568 F.2d 1224 (5 Cir. 1978), which held that

the extension of Title VII to governmental entities in March, 1972

was not retroactive and the decision in United Air Lines v. Evans,

431 U.S. 553 (1977), that a discriminatory act that has not been

made the basis of a timely charge cannot constitute a present

12.

violation of Title VII under the theory of a continuing effect of

past discrimination.

The filing of a Title VII charge and resort to Title VII

administrative machinery are not prerequisites for the institution

of a Sec. 1981 action. Johnson v. Ry Express Agency, Inc.,

421 U.S. 454 (1975). Thus, Title VII administrative require-

ments could be easily circumvented merely by casting the

complaint in the form of a Sec. 1981 action. Moreover, if

Title VII standards of proof and liability are equally applicable

to Sec. 1981 actions, there was little reason for Congress to

extend Title VII to public entities in 1972.

The decision of the Ninth Circuit in the instant case,

that the adverse impact standards enunciated in the Title VII

case of Griggs v. Duke Power are perforce applicable to Sec. 1981

actions, is inconsistent with this Court’s decision, in Washington

v. Davis, supra, holding that they are not applicable to consti-

tutional claims. Both Secs. 1981 and 1983 are statutes enacted

to enforce constitutional rights and are not specifically employ-

ment discrimination statutes supported by the same congressional

intent this Court ruled was present in the 1964 enactment of

Title VIL.

Section 1981 is a post-Civil War Reconstruction Era

statute enacted in 1866 to enforce the 13th Amendment to the

United States Constitution which prohibits involuntary servitude,

and extends to others the same right to make and enforce

contracts enjoyed by white citizens — that is, equal protection

13.

of the laws. Section 1981 was subsequently reenacted as

part of the Civil Rights Act of 1871, which was designed to

implement the 14th Amendment.

Section 1981 prohibits racial distinctions in the terms

of or in the right to make a contract. It does not incorporate

the subtleties and rigorous standards relating to adverse impact

and test validation that have evolved with the passage of

Title VII and its subsequent interpretation by the courts and

administrative agencies. Indeed, none of these concepts could

have possibly been in the minds of the enactors of that statute

in 1866.

The rationale enunciated by this Court in Washington vy.

Davis ,with regard to constitutional protections against discrimination

applies equally to Sec. 1981. Thus, if the employer deliberately

discriminates in making an employment contract based on race,

or specifies different terms and conditions thereof based solely

on race, then those statutes as well as the United States Consti-

tution have been violated. But this is clearly not what occurred

in the instant case or in Washington v. Davis. In both instances,

the same test was administered‘ to all races and the same grading

and scoring standards for determination of eligibility for appoint-

ment were applied equally and consistently to all races. The

respondents have predicated their entire case solely upon showing

an adverse impact and a claim that the defendants cannot prove

the test to be job-related -- evidentiary principies that have

evolved solely from Title VII decisions.

In addition to disagreeing with the application of the

Griggs standard in previous employment discrimination cases

under Secs. 1981-1983, this Court in Washington v. Davis expressly

ruled it inapplicable to constitutionai discrimination claims in

other contexts. Racial discrimination cases not involving employ-

ment have been and will continue to be brought under Sec.

1981 as well as Sec. 1983 and the Constitution. There is nothing

in the legislative history of Sec. 1981 which suggests that liability

is to be premised merely upon a showing of disproportionate

impact or that employment cases are to be accorded special

treatment or be subject to different standards of proof than other

civil rights cases brought under that statute.

Title VII, however, is a statute with a unique legislative

history intended to deal specifically with employment discrimina-

tion, and its adverse impact standard has evolved through

subsequent judicial interpretations premised on the seminal

case Of Griggs v. Duke Power Co. It is rightly accorded different

standards and methods of proof as distinguished from Secs.

1981, 1983, and the Constitution. Proof of intentional dis-

crimination, however, should be the consistent standard applic-

able to claims under Sec. 1981 as well as Sec. 1983 and the

United States Constitution.

itl

Il

THE DECISION IS CONTRARY TO THE

SUPREME COURT'S RULING ON THE

INTENT STANDARD FOR CONSTITU-

TIONAL DISCRIMINATION IN

WASHINGTON V. DAVIS AND ITS

DECISION ON STANDING IN EAST

TEXAS MOTOR FREIGHT V. RODRIGUEZ

In Washington v. Davis, supra, This Court ruled that

the standard for adjudicating claims of racial discrimination

under Title VII was not the same standard for adjudicating

such claims under the Constitution. Although the complaint

in Washington alleged a cause of action under Sec. 1981 as

well as the Constitution, the Court did not specifically refer to

Sec. 1981 in its opinion. The rationale behind the Court’s

decision, however, would appear equally applicable to actions

under Sec. 1981 because that statute, like Sec. 1983, was intended

to provide statutory protection to constitutional rights and,

while originating in the Civil Rigr*s Act of 1866, was reenacted

with Sec. 1983 as part of the Civil Rights Act of 1871. This

Court in footnote | 2 of Washington disagreed with a long line of

earlier employment discrimination cases brought under both

Secs. 1983 and 1981 applying Title VII standards of proof.

A few days after deciding Washington v. Davis,

this Court vacated the judgment and remanded the case of

Chicano Police Officers Association v. Stover, 426 U.S. 944

(1976), an action brought under Sec. 1981 and Sec. 1983 but

16.

not Title VII, for reconsideration in light of the opinion in

Washington v. Davis. In Chicano Police Officers Association,

the Tenth Circuit Court, similarly tc the Ninth Circuit in the

instant case, had concluded that the measure of a claim under

the Civil Rights Acts of 1866 and 1871 was the same as that

applicable to Title VII cases. In view of the district and

circuit court express findings of adverse impact and lack of job

relatedness, remand would not have been necessary if Title

VII standards were, in fact, applicable to Sec. 1981 claims,

regardless of the effect of Washington vy. Davis on the Sec.

1983 claim. It should be apparent that because Sec. 1981 has been

held to apply to a wide range of equal protection cases, congruent

with those actionable under Sec. 1983 and the Constitution, this

Court’s holding in Washington v. Davis, distinguishing claims

under Title VII from those under the Constitution, is subject

, to circumvention in most equal protection cases by the simple

expedient of alleging a claim under Sec. 1981. Since Sec.

1981 is applicabie in every case in which constitutional claims

of employment discrimination based on race are asserted, the

Supreme Court’s decision on employment discrimination in

Washington v. Davis would be rendered essentially meaningless.

ill

THE OPINION OF THE NINTH CIRCUIT

IS IN CONFLICT WITH OTHER CIRCUIT

COURT OPINIONS

The Courts of Appeals of the Tenth, Sixth, Seventh,

and Eighth Circuits have all held that purposeful intent is

17

{

j

a

4 required to prove a cause of action under Sec. 1981. Numerous

) District Courts have reached he same conclusion. 2/ With the excep-

tion of the Ninth Circuit in the instant case, no Circuit Court subse-

quent to Washington v. Davis has ruled that Title VII standards not

requiring proof of discriminatory intent are applicable to actions

under Sec. 1981.

The Tenth Circuit, upon remand in Chicano Police

Officers Assn. v. Stover, 552 F.2d 918 (March 2, 1977),

construed this Court’s purposeful intent ruling in Washington

v. Davis as pertaining to claims under Sec. 1981, and remanded the

case to the district court for a determination of whether such intent

existed.4/ The Sixth Circuit in Arnold v. Ballard, 12 EPD par.

11, 224 (1976), a suit brought under Sec. 1981, Sec. 1983, and

the U.S. Constitution, vacated their previous decision and

3/

Lewis v. Bethlehem Steel Corp.,440 F Supp. 949, 963 (1977).

United States v. State of So. Carolina, _ F Supp.___, 15 FEP

Cases 1196 (1977), (3-judge panel that included two circuit judges).

Crocker v. Boeing Co., 437 F Supp. 1138 (1977).

Veizaga v. National Board of Respiratory Therapy, 13 EPD par. 11,

525, 6878, 6881 (N.D. Ill., January 27, 1977).

4/

The circuit court’s opinion stated:

“[T] he error in our holding and the views expressed by us is

clear. We stated that we agreed . . . with the view that the

measure of a claim under the Civil Rights Act is in essence that

applied to a suit under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.

' 526 F.2d at 438, 11 FEP Cases at 1061. This was contrary to

the principle holding that came in Washington v, Davis, supra,

at 238, 12 FEP Cases at 1418. All of our reasoning and treat-

ment of the case which proceeded from the erroneous standard

must be corrected.” Supra, at 920.

;

:

z

|

é

“4

18.

;

:

~

c

Ss

%

“*

4

remanded the case to the district court for reconsideration in

light of Washington v. Davis. Upon remand the District Court

recently concluded that purposeful discriminatory intent was

required under Sec. 1981 and expressly declined to follow the

Ninth Circuit’s opinion in the case at bar, relying instead upon

the reasoning of Judge Wallace’s dissent (Memorandum Decision

and Order, C73-478, Mar. 14, 1978).

The Seventh Circuit in two recent cases appears to have

concluded that a showing of racially discriminatory purpose is

required to establish a violation of Sec. 1981. In United States

v. City of Chicago, 549 F.2d 415 (1977), the court affirmed

liability only under Title VII and reversed the district court’s

judgment on all other grounds, including Sec. 1981, because of

the failure to meet the intentional discrimination standard.

In City of Milwaukee v. Saxbe, 546 F.2d 693, 705 (1976), the

same court held that the burden in Sec. 1981 cases is the same

as the constitutional burden under the Fifth Amendment.

The Eighth Circuit most recently in Johnson v.

Alexander, __ F.2d __, 16 FEP Cases 894 (8th Cir.,

February 17, 1978), affirmed a district court judgment which,

in reliance on Washington vy. Davis, found inter alia that the

protection against racial discrimination under Secs. 1981, 1983

does not extend beyond the equal protection guarantees of the

Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the Constitution, and

that since the challenged Army regulation ®/ was not adopted

* 3

Army Reg. 40-501, par. 2-34(a), disqualifies prospective enlistees

who have had “frequent encounters with law enforcement agencies or

antisocial attitudes or behavior.” The Plaintiff, a black, contended

that disclosure of arrest records had an adverse impact on minorities.

19.

with any discriminatory intent, it did not violate Sec. 1981 simply

because in operation it bore harder on minority groups than

whites. The Eighth Circuit specifically rejected appellant’s

contention that Title VII standards should be applied to plain-

tiffs Sec. 1981 claim.

The Fifth Circuit in Harkless v. Sweeny Independent

School District, ___ F.2d __, 14 EPD, par. 7669, 5295 (1977),

held that Sec. 1981 requires a showing of purposeful discrimina-

tion. In accord was their decision in Wade v. Mississippi

Coqperative Extension Service, 528 F.2d 508, 518 (1976).

IV

THE AFFIRMED QUOTA HIRING ORDER

CLEARLY EXCEEDS THE COURT'S

REMEDIAL AUTHORITY.

The instant case was brought on behalf of the 1972

and future applicants, not one of which proved he had been

discriminatorily denied a job. The Circuit Court held that

respondents had no standing io represent any applicants prior

to the 1972 exam, and as to the hiring resulting from the 1972

examination process, the respondents conceded that it had

been done in a nondiscriminatory manner. With no post-Title

VII discriminatory hiring proven, it is clear that despite their

lack of standing the respondents were challenging pre-Title

Vil hiring practices. The quota order they sought and obtained

was solely intended to provide a remedy only for pre-Act

hiring. it was affirmed by the appellate court totally absent

20.

oo a0

a showing of discriminatory intent, and necessarily on the

theory that it remedied a violation of Sec. 1981 as no post-

Title VII discriminatory hiring had occurred. Assuming,

arguendo, that discriminatory intent is not required for a cause

of action under Sec. 1981, the quota order nevertheless is in

excess of the court’s jurisdiction because of the respondents’

lack of standing, as well as the sweeping scope of the order

requiring the entire department achieve racial parity.

The petitioners’ uneffectuated proposal to interview

the top 544 applicants on the 1972 written test cannot form

the basis of a violation of Title VII, much less justification for

an order requiring racial parity in the entire work force. A

violation of Title VII requires proof of a pattern and practice

of discrimination. Isolated incidents, even if effectuated, are

insufficient to establish liability under that statute. Hazelwood

School District v. United States, ___ U.S. ___, 97 Sup.Ctt.

2736, 15 FEPCases | (1977); Jnternational Brotherhood of

Teamsters v. United States, 431 U.S. 324, 14 FEP Cases 1514

at 1519 (1977).

Quota hiring orders unrelated to the injury established

are not within the remedial power of the court. The respondeits

in this action, suing only on behalf of present and future appli-

cants, did not establish that any of their number had been

discriminatorily refused a job. The proposal to interview the

‘top 544 candiates had no impact on the departmental composi-

tion as no hires were made as a result of such proposal and the

21

interviews were not restricted to the top 544 persons.

The decision of the Circuit Court affirming the quota

hiring order disregards the applicable statute-of limitations on

Sec. 1981 claims, &/ ignores this court’s ruling in the United

Airlines v. Evans, 431 U.S. 553 (1977), that past discriminatory

acts not the subject of a timely complaint have no present legal

consequences, and, to the extent Title VII is even applicable,

purports to retroactively remedy acts occurring before its

March 24, 1972, effective date.”/ It is clear that the majority

misconstrued the decision in United Airlines v. Evans in their

holding at page 1344, footnote 20, that time-barred claims may

be remedied retroactively.

Within the past two years, this Court has in several

opinions expressly declined to extend Title VII remedies

retroactive to the Act’s effective date, /nternational Brotherhood

of Teamsters v, United States, 431 U.S. 324; Franks v. Bowman,

424 U.S. 747 (1976). In Teamsters, and particularly in Hazelwood

School District v. United States, supra, this Court clearly dis-

tinguished between pre and post-Title VII hiring practices,

observing that the employer must be given an opportunity to

6/

The applicable Statute of Limitations is three years. See Mills v.

Small, 446 Fed.2d 249 (1971).

7/

: Indeed, unless one assumes that al/ of the 1760 firefighters on the

force had been hired in the eight years immediately preceding the lawsuit,

the quota order seeks to remedy unproven discrimination occurring even

before the original enactment of the Title VII in 1964.

22.

, —

show the claimed discriminatory pattern was a product of

pre-Act hiring rather than unlawful post-Act discrimination.

This necessarily implies not only a time limitation on Title

VII standards of proof, but also limitations on the reach of

judicially imposed remedies.

The Ninth Circuit’s decision establishes an unjustified

dichotomy between injunctive (preferential hiring) relief and

other accepted remedies, such as back pay and retroactive

seniority which have been consistently held to be limited in

scope by the applicable statute of limitations or the effective

date of Title VII and similar employment discrimination statutes.

Franks v. Bowman, supra; International Brotherhood of Teamsters

v. United States, supra, Back pay awards in Sec. 1981 employ-

ment discrimination suits have been held to be limited to the

applicable 3-year Statute of Limitations period preceding the

filing of the action. Johnson v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co.,

491 F.2d 1364 (S Cir. 1974).

The quota ruling has consequences extending far

beyond the impact on the parties herein. It, of course, effectively

makes Title VII retroactive, reduces the administrative filing

requirements of Title VII to Meaningless technicalities, and

provides a remedy for time-barred claims. Moreover, it permits

federal trial courts, on the most tenuous of grounds, to issue

quota orders requiring parity of the employer’s work force

with the current community ethnic representation.

23.

—

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, it is respectfully requested

that this Court grant the Petition for Writ of Certiorari herein.

Executed this 26th day of April, 1978, at Los Angeles,

California.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN H. LARSON

County Counsel

WILLIAM F. STEWART

Chief, Labor Relations Division

Attorneys for Appellants

46 FEDERAL REPORTER, 2d SERIES

APPENDIX A

T=

Van DAVIS et al., Plaintiffs-Appellarts, .

.*

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES et al. etc.

Defendants-Appcllees.

Van PAVIS et al., Plaintiffs-Appellees,

v

COUNTY OF LCS ANGELES et al., etc.,

Defendants-Appellants.

Nos. 73-3008 and 73-3009.

United States Court of Appeals,

Ninth Circuit.

Dec. 14, 1977.

Rehearing Denied Jan. 30, 1973.

a ‘firmed in part, reversed in part and

remanded.

Waliace, Cirevit Judge, dissented with

an opinion.

Before TUTTLE,* HUFSTEDLER ard

WALLACE, Circuit Judges.

TUTTLE, Circuit Judge:

This Court entered its original opinion in

this case on October 20, 1976. The Court

* Honorable Elbert P. Tuttle, Senior United States

Circuit Judge, Fifth Circuit, sitting by designa-

tion.

1. The plaintiff class also included all present

and future black and Mexican-American em-

plovees of the Fire Department, who alleged

racial discrimination im connection with de-

fendants’ promotion practices. These addition.

al allegations, however, were abandoned pror

to tral.

thereafter granted defendants-cross-appel-

lants’ motion for rehearing, and che case

was regularly set down for reheering and

oral argument. Although the principal ba-

sis for the rehearing motion was the Su-

preme Court’s decision in Washington v.

Davis, 426 U.S. 229, 96 S.Ct. 2040, 48

L.Ed.2d 597 (1976), the parties were permit-

ted to brief and argue all other issues as

well.

We now withdraw the original opinion

and decision, and this opinion and decision

are announced in their stead.

This suit was brought on behalf of all

present and future black and Mevxican-

American applicants for positions as fire-

men with the Los Angeles County Fire De-

partment,' alleging that the defendants Los

Angeles County, the County Board of Su-

pervisors and the County Civil Service Com-

mission had been guilty of racial discrimina-

tion in hiring in violation of the Fourteenth

Amendment, 42 U.S.C. §§ 1981, 1983 and

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42

U.S.C. ¢ 2000e et seq?

_ The district court found that the Los

Angeles County Fire Department employed

blacks and Mexican-Americans grossly out

of proportion to their number in the popula-

tion of Los Angeles County. The court

further found that the Fire Department,

despite i's admitted knowledge of its prior

discriminatory practices and its bad reputa-

tion as an employer in the minority commu-

nity, failed to undertake any effective posi-

tive steps to eradicate the effects of prior

discrimination. Accordingly, the court or-

dered accelerated hiring of racial minorities

in a ratio of one black and one Mexican-

Americen applicant for each three white

applicants until the effects of past discrimi-

nation had been erased?

2. Jurisdiction was based on 28 U.S.C. § 1343.

3. Data introduced by the plaintiffs showed that

this 1-1-3 ratio, given the present rate of hir-

ing. would produce a work force of minority

firemen in proportion to the number of minor.

ty persons in the community by 1979 for blacks

and 1953 fur Mesican-Arreoneans.

PRN I

DAVIS vy. COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES

1337

Cite as 566 F.2d 1334 (1977)

Despite the fact that the Mexican-Ameri-

can population of Los Angeles County was

approximately double the size of the black

population, the district court ordered identi-

cal accelerated hiring for both groups due

to its finding that the Fire Department's

5°17” height requirement for job applicants

was a valid requirement for employment

and that this height requirement had the

effect of eliminating 41% of the otherwise

eligible Mexican-American applicants from

consideration.

The plaintiffs appeal the trial court's

finding that the 57” height requirement is

valid and could therefore be used in limit-

ing the relief available to the Mexican-

American members of the plaintiff class.

The defendants cross-appeal the trial

court’s order of accelerated hiring. We af-

firm the district court’s finding of a current

violation of the rights of members of this

class by the improper post-1971 use of an

unvalidated written test as a selection de-

vice for entry level positions and its order

of accelerated hiring to cure past racial

discrimination; we disagree with the

court’s findings that plaintiffs have stand-

ing to challenge defendants’ pre-1971 use of

an unvalidated written test as a selection

device and that the 5’7” height reyuirement

has been sufficiently validated by the de-

fendants. Accordingly, we reverse and re-

mand for reconsideration of the proper ra-

tio of accelerated racial hiring to be or-

dered.

I. Written Examination Procedures

[1] Despite a minority population of ap-

proximately 29.1% in Los Angeles County,

only 3.3% of the firemen employed by the

defendants at the time of trial were black

or Mexican-American. Plaintiffs alleged,

4. The cases holding that statistics alone may

prove a prima facie case of employment dis-

cnmination, thereby shifting the burden to the

defendants to justify the racial imbalance, are

by this time legion. See, e. g, United States v.

Masonry Contractors Ass'n of Memphis, inc.,

497 F.2d $71, 875 (6th Cir. 1974); Pettwaw v.

American Cast Irun Pipe Co.. 494 F 2d 211, 225

(Sth Cur. 1974); United States v. N. L. Indus.,

Inc., 479 F 2d 354, 368 (Sth Cir. 1973), United

States v. Hayes Int'l Corp., 456 F.2d 112, 120

and the trial court found, that this severe

racial imbalance resulted in part from the

defendants’ utilization of unvalidated writ-

ten examinations to rank applicants for po-

sitions as firemen. The defendants do not,

and indeed cannot, dispute that these verbal

aptitude tests, administered to applicants in

August 1969 and in January 1972, had a

discriminatory impact on minority appli-

cants. Of the 244 blacks who took the 1969

examination, 5 were hired; of the 100 Mex-

ican-Americans, 7 were hired, while of the

1080 whites taking the test, 175 were hired.

Thus, while approximately 25% of the 1969

applicants were black or Mexican-Ameri-

can, based on the results of this test only

6.4% of the hires were minorities. Black

and Mexican-American applicants fared no

better on the 1972 examination. Specifical-

ly, while 25.8% of the white applicants were

among the top 544 scorers on the test, only

5.1% of the black applicants were included

in that group. Applying the now-familiar

standards announced in Griggs v. Duke

Power Co., 401 U.S. 424, 91 S.Ct. 849, 28

L.Ed.2d 158 (1971), the district court con-

cluded that such statistical data alone es-

tablished a prima facie case of racial! dis-

crimination in employment, thereby shift-

ing the burden to the defendants to estab-

lish that the tests were job-related We

agree that defendants failed to satisfy their

burden.$

Defendants have challenged the plain-

tiffs’ standing to complain of the use of the

unvalidated 1969 written test. In light of

the fact that plaintiffs’ class did not include

any prior unsuccessful applicants, it follows

that plaintiffs neither suffered nor were

threatened with any injury in fact from the

use of the 1969 examination. No firemen

were hired on the basis of success on this

(5th Cir. 1972); United States v. Ironworkers

Local 86, 443 F 2d 544, 550-51 (8th Cir.), cert.

denied, 404 U.S. S84, 92 S.Ct 447, 30 L.Ed.2d

367 (1971).

§. DUecfendants conceded that no studies estab-

lishing the validity of the wntten employment

tests have been conducted in accordance with

“professionally acceptable methods.” See Al-

bemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405, 95

S.Ct 2362, 45 L.Ed.2d¢ 280 (1975).

ee es

VR eh Oe Ad we Ee Ee Lat to Cele eerie es

nT ee ee ee P ‘

(=

iit i eines aaa ve a

1338

test after plaintiffs became applicants in

October 1971. The parties stipulated that

approximately 100 vacancies occur in the

ranks of firemen each year, and testimony

at trial established that 187 applicants were

placed on aa eligibility list followi..z the

1969 test. Based on these facts, we must

conclude that the 1969 list was depleted

before plaintiffs applied for employment as

firemen. -

[2] In the absence of a statute expressly

conferring standing, it is wel! settled that

in order to have standing a plaintiff must

suffer some actual or threatened injury as a

result of the alleged unlawful conduct.

See, e. g., Linda S. v. Richard D., 410 U.S.

614, 617, 93 S.Ct. 1146, 35 L.Fd.2d 536

(1973); Moose Lodge No. 107 v. Irvis, 407

U.S. 163, 166-67, 92 S.Ct. 1965, 82 L.Ed.2d

627 (1972); Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 83, 101,

88 S.Ct. 1942, 20 L.Ed.2d 947 (1968); Baker

v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186, 204-208, 82 S.Ct. 691,

7 L.Ed.2d 663 (1962). It is thus clear that

plaintiffs lacked standing to challenge de-

fendants’ prior use of the test in 1969.8

6. Our holding on this point makes it unneces-

sary to discuss defendants’ contention that the

recent decision in East Texas Motor Freight

Sys., Inc. v. Rodriguez, 431 U.S. 395, 97 S.Ct.

1891, 52 L.Ed.2d 453 (1977), precludes plain-

tiffs from attacking the defendants’ pre-1971

hiring procedures.

It is equally clear that defendants’ decision to

employ the 1972 written test as a s«!ection

device was an unlawful employment practice

which had adverse impact on the racial class of

plaintiffs. The plaintiffs thus have standing to

litigate the lawfulness of the 1972 test.

7. Only four other Courts of Appeals have had

occasion to apply or construe the decision in

Washirgton. The Court of Appeals for the

D.C. Circuit has stated that a plaintiff proceed-

ing under Title Vii and § 1981 need not show

the type of purposeful or intentional discrimi-

nation required to estublish a violation of the

Equal Prote.tion Clause Kinsey v. First Re-

gional Securities, Inc., 557 F.2d 330 (D.C. Cir.

1977) (dictum).

In United States v. City of Chicago, 549 F.2d

415 (7th Cir. 1977). the court reversed the trial

court’s finding that the defendants’ written ex-

amination violated the Fourteenth Amendment

solely because the plaintiffs failed to satisfy the

purposeful cescrimination requirement of

Washington, Id, at 435. Vhe City of Chicago

piauit:fis also had alleged that the exarunation

violated § 1981, and defendants here contend

that the appeals court equated 9 1981 with the

566 FEDERAL REPORTER, 2d SERIES

As previously indicated, the district court

reached the conclusion that defendants’ use

of unvalidated written examinations was an

illegal employment practice through appli-

cation of the principles announced in

Griggs, a Title VII case. Subsequent to

trial on the merits in this case, the Supreme

Court in Washington v. Davis, 426 U.S. 229,

96 S.Ct. 2040, 48 L.Ed.2d 597 (1976), held

that to establish a prima facie case of un-

constitutional employment discrimination,

discriminatory intent or purpose must be

shown rather than or in addition to a statis-

tical showing of disproportionate impact.

Defendants interpret Washington to re-

quire similar proof in cases alleging employ-

ment discrimination under § 1981. Accord-

ingly, defendants urge us to reverse the.

decision of the district court, since no show-

ing was made that defendants administered |

the 1972 examination with any intent or

purpose to discriminate against minority

applicants. The issue presented is one of

first impression in this Circuit.’ We have

Fourteenth Amendment for purposes of deter-

mining the burden of proof applicable to non-

Title VI! actions. The City of Chicago court,

however, made no mention of § 1981 in revers-

ing the district court's ruling but specifically

held that the defendants’ hiring and promotion

policies “did not violate the Constitution.” Id.

(emphasis added).

In Chicano Police Ofticer’s Ass'n v. Stover,

526 F.2d 431 (10th Cir. 1975), an employment

discrinunation action alleging violations of the

Equal Protection Clauss, §§ 1931, 1983 and

1985, the court held that “the measure of a

claim under the Civil Rights Act is in essence

that applied in a suit under Title VII 4

id. at 438. (citations omitted). Subsequently,

the Supreme Court granted certiorari, vacated

the judument and remanded for reconsideration

in light of Washinyton v. Davis. Stover v.

Chicano Police Officer's Ass'n, 426 U.S. 944, 96

S.Ct. 3161, 49 L.Ed2d 1181 (1976). Defend-

ants here argue that had the Supreme Court

intended the adverse impact rule of Title VII to

apply to § 1981 actions after Washington, the

Court sinply would have denied certioran in

Stover and allowed the judgment to stand on

the basis of a Miolation of § 198i alone. How-

ever, neither the district court nor the court of

appeals in Stover ever tound that defendants

had vichued § 1981. Further, it is clear Guat

the Supreme Court's action was necessitated

by the court of appeal’s failure to distinguish

causes of action under §$ 195i and Iys3 in

DAVIS v. COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES

1339

Clte as 566 F.2d 1334 (1977)

carefully reviewed the Court's opinion in

Washinyton and the post- Washington cases

brought to our attention by the parties.

We must reject defendants’ argument.

The primary controversy in Washington

involved the validity of a qualifying test—

“Tost 21"—administered to persons seeking

employment with the D.C. Metropolitan Po-

lice Department. The plaintiffs alleged

that Test 21€xcluded a disproportionately

high number of black applicants in violation

of their rights under the Due Process

Clause of the Fifth Amendment, 42 U.S.C.

§ 1981 and § 1-320 of the D.C. Code. 426

U.S. at 233, 96 S.Ct. 2040. Following vari-

ous preliminary proceedings before the trial

court, plaintiffs moved for partial summary

judgment on their constitutional claim

alone. Defendants also moved for summa-

ry judgment, asserting that plaintiffs were

entitled to relief on neither constitutional

nor statutory grounds. The district court,

after finding that plaintiffs’ statistical

showing of disproportionate impact estab-

lished a prima facie case of discrimination,

concluded that Test 21 was “reasonably and

directly related to the requirements of the

police recruit training program.” Davis v.

Washington, 348 F.Supp. 15, 17 (D.D.C.

1972). Accordingly, the court granted de-

fendants’ and denied plaintiffs’ motions.

Id. at 18.

On appeal, plaintiffs argued that their

summary judgment motion, which rested on

purely constitutional grounds, should have

been granted. The Court of Appeals for

the D.C. Circuit agreed and reversed. Da- -

vis v. Washington, 168 U.S.App.D.C. 42, 512

F.2d 956 (1975). Announcing that it would

be guided in its decision by the Title VI!

standards formulated in Griggs, the appeals

equating the “Civil Rights Act” and Title VU.

And although the case was eventually remand-

ed to the district court, Chicano Police Officer's

Ass'n v. Stover, 552 F.2d 918 (10th Cir. 1977),

the issue before this Court was not expressly

decided.

Finally, in Arnold v. Ballard, 12 E PD. © 11,-

224 (oth Cir. 1976) (per cura), the court va-

cated an evrlier decision and remanded for re-

consideration in light of Wustumton The per

curiam opinion, however, did not discuss the

court agreed that plaintiffs’ statistical

showing alone, without proof of a purpose

on the employer's part to discriminate,

made out a prima facie case, shifting the

burden of proof to the defendants. 168

U.S.App.D.C. at 47, 512 F.2d at 961. In

light of the district court’s finding of a

nexus between Test 21 and future success

in police training school, the court then

identified the “ultimate issue” to be

“whether that kind of proof [was] an ac-

ceptable substitute” for the job-relatedness

showing required by Griggs. Id, 168 US.

App.D.C. at 48-49, 512 F.2d at 962-63.

Concluding that it was not, the court direct-

ed that plaintiffs’ motion for partial sum-

mary judgment be granted and the defend-

ants’ motions denied.

The Supreme Court reversed, concluding

that plaintiffs “were entitled to relief on

neither constitutional nor _ statutory

grounds.” Washington v. Davis, 426 U.S.

229, 248, 96 S.Ct. 2040, 2052, 48 L.Ed.2d 597

(1976). Mr. Justice White prefaced Part II

of the majority opinion with this statement:

“Because the Court of Appeals erroneously

applied the legal standards applicable to .

Title VII cascs in resolving the constitution-

al issue before it, we reverse . . ..”

Id. at 238, 96 S.Ct. at 2046 (emphasis add-

ed). In holding that proof of racially dis-

criminatory intent or purpose is required to

show an equal protection violation, the

Court disavowed ever having ruled that “a

law or other official act is uncon-

stitutional solely because it has a racially

disproportionate impact.” Jd. at 239, 96

S.Ct. at 2047. It is significant that

throughout this discussion of “constitution-

al standards” and “Constitution-based

claims,"* the Court mentioned neither

issue now before us and did not explain the

rationale underlying the court's decision.

8. The language used by the Court clearly indi-

cates that Part Il of the opinion was directed

solely toward chums of unconstitutional em-

ployment discrimunation. The following pas-

sayes are illu trative: (1) “We have never held

that the censtitutemal standard tor adyudicat-

ing claims of invidious racial discrynination is

identical” to the Title VIP standerds 42€@ US.

at 239, 96 S.Ct. ut 2647 (emphasis added); (2)

“This ts not to sav that a law's dis-

1340

§ 1981 nor cases construing that statute.’

Nor can it be said that in resolving the

equal protection question before it, the

Court necessarily resolved the § 1981 claim

on the same basis.

{3} During recent history, every court

which has considered the question hus con-

strued § 1981 to bar discrimination in em-

ployment. See Long v. Ford Motor Co., 496

F.2d 500 (6th Cir. 1974); M&cklin v. Spector

Freight Sys., Inc.. 156 U.S.App.D.C. 69, 478

F.2d 979 (1973); Brady v. Bristol-Meyers,

Inc., 459 F.2d 621 (Sth Cir. 1972); Brown v.

Gaston County Dyeing Mach. Co., 457 F.2d

1377 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 982, 93

S.Ct. 319, 34 L.Ed.2d 246 (1972); Young v.

International Tel. & Tel. Co., 438 F.2d 757

(3d Cir. 1971); Sanders v. Dobbs Houses,

Inc., 431 F.2d 1097 (5th Cir. 1970), cert.

denied, 401 U.S. 948, 91 S.Ct. 935, 28

L.Ed.2d 231 (1971); Waters v. Wisconsin

Steel Works of Int’l Harvester Co., 427 F.2d

476 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 911, 91

S.Ct. 137, 27 L.Ed.2d 151 (1970). The courts

+ consistently have employed Title VII princi-

ples as a benchmark not only in cases in-

volving alleged discriminatory impact, see

Wade v. Mississippi Coop. Extension Serv.,

528 F.2d 508, 516-17 (5th Cir. 1976); King

v. Yellow Freight Sys., Inc., 523 F.2d 879,

882 (8th Cir. i975); Kirklamd v. New York

State Dept. of Correctional Servs., 520 F.2d

420, 425 (2d Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 429 US.

823, 97 S.Ct. 73, 50 L.Ed.2d 84 (1976); Bar-

nett v. W. T. Grant Co., 518 F.2d 543, 549

(4th Cir. 1975), but in other contexts as

well. See, e. g., Flowers v. Crouch-Walker

proportionate impact is irrelevant in cases in-

volving Constitution-based claims of racia! dis-

crimination.” Id. at 241, 96 S.Ct. ‘at 2048 (em-

phasis added), (3) “Disproportionate impact

' is not the sole touchstone of an invidi-

ous racial discriminai:inn forbidden by the Con-

stitution.” Id. at 242, 96 S.Ct. at 2049 (empha-

sis odiled), (4) “We are not disposed to adopt

(the) mere rigorous [Title VII] standard for the

purposes of applying the Fifth and the Four-

teenth Amendments * Id. at 247 48,

96 S.Ct. at 2051 (emphasis added).

9. Defendants contend that the Washington ma.

jority “specificaily referjred] to several & 19s]

cases and note(d) their Uisayvreemert with: the

appellate court's reliance upon the Title Vil

standards of proof.” The Court did nute its

566 FEDERAL REPORTER, 2d SERIES

Corp., 552 F.2d 1277, 1281 & n. 3 (7th Cir.

1977) (discriminatory discharge of employ-

ee); McCormick v. Attala County Bd. of

Educ., 541 F.2d 1094, 1095 (5th Cir. 1976)

(per curiam) (available remedies). Indeed,

the Supreme Court has recognized that Ti-

tle VII and § 1981 embrace “parallel or

overlapping remedies against discrimina-

tion.” Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co.,

415 U.S. 36, 47 & n. 7, 94 S.Ct. 1011, 1019, 39

L.Ed.2d 147 (1973). In the absence of any

express pronouncernent from the Supreme

Court—a pronouncement not delivered in

Washington —we are unwilling to deviate

from this established practice. Any unnec-

essary deviation not only could produce un-

desirable substantive law conflicts, see

Waters v. Wisconsin Stee! Works of Int.

Harvester Co., 502 F.2d 1309, 1316 (7th Cir.

1974), cert. denied, 425 U.S. 997, 96 S.Ct.

2214, 48 L.Ed.2d 823 (1976), but also would

dilute what has been a potent remedy for

the ills of countless minority employees sub-

jected to the unlawful discriminatory con-

duct of their employers. Thus, we cannot

conclude that Washington embraced a rul-

ing that a showing of disproportionate im-

pact no longer will suffice to establish a

prima facie case of employment discrimina-

tion under § 1981." In our view, there

remains no operational distinction in this

context between liability based upon Title

VII and § 1981.

[4,5] The defendants further argue that

the district court lacked jurisdiction under

either §§ 1981 or 1983 to decide these

disapproval of several cases but explained that

it was in disagreement only “to the extent that

those cases rested on or expressed the views

that proof of discriminatory racial purpose is

unnecessary in making out an equa! protection

violation.” 426 U.S. at 245, 96 S.Ct. at 2050

(emphasis added). Furthermore, each case cit-

ed in this context involved, in addition to a

§ 1981 claim, a claim under either the Equal

Protection Clause or § 1983.

10. Accord, League of Latin American Citizens

v. City of Santa Ana, 419 F Supp. 873 (C.D Cal.

1976). Bat see Ortiz vi fich, 14 F EP. Cases

1019 (D.Coio 1977), ms. tlovtman, 424

F.Supp. 490 (b.D.Mo 977), Resident Advisory

Bd v. Riz70, 425 F.Supp 987 (&.D.P2.1976).

Jods

DAVIS vy. COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES

1341

Cite as 566 F.2d 1334 (1977)

claims. As to § 1983, the defendants are

clearly correct. A municipality is not a

“person” suable under § 1983,"" and thus

the “hree municipal defendants are not sub-

ject w suit under § 1983. See City of

Kenosha v. Bruno, 412 U.S. 507, 511-13, 93

S.Ct. 2222, 37 L.Ed.2d 109 (1973); Monroe v.

Pape, 365 U.S. 167, 187-92, 81 S.Ct. 473, 5

L.Ed.2d 492 (1961). Since no individual de-

fendants wege named in this suit, the plain-

tiffs’ § 1983 claim is barred.” Section 1981,

however, is not subject to the same jurisdic-

tional limitations. See Sethy v. Alameda

County Water Dist., 545 F.2d 1157 (9th Cir.

1976) (en banc).

[6,7] In summary, we believe the dis-

trict court properly found defendants’ use

of the 1972 written examination as a selec-

tion device to be a violation of § 1981.

Plaintiffs produced overwhelming statisti-

cal data to establish the test’s dispropor-

tionate impact upon minority applicants,

and the defendants were unable to validate

the test in terms of job-relatedness." De-

fendants’ decision, prompted solely by the

filing of this lawsuit, to abandon the writ-

ten exam as a selection device does not

moot the claim. United States v. W. T.

Grant Co., 345 U.S. 629, 632-33, 73 S.Ct.

894, 97 L.Ed. 1303 (1953)

11. 42 U.S.C. § T983 provides:

“Every person who, under color of any stat-

ute . . Of any State subjects

any citizen of the United States .

to the deprivation of any rights. . Se-

cured by the Constitution and laws, sha!l be

lable to the party mjured in an action at law,

suit in equity, or other proper proceedings for

redress.” (emphasis added)

12. Individuals may be sued in their official ca-

pacity. See Sterzing v. Fort Bend Independent

School Dist, 496 F.2d 92, 93 n. 2 (Sth Cir.

1972); United Farmworkers of Florida Housinv

Project, Inc. v. City of Del Ray Beach, 493 F.2c

799, 802 (5th Cir. 1974); Harper v. Kloster, 486

F.2d 1134, 1138 (4th Cir. 1973). As the plain-

ffs did not allege federal question jurisdiction

under 28 U.S.C. § 1331, their Fourteenth

Amendment claim does not stand apart from

their § 1983 claim. A'thouwh it should be clear,

we also note that since no purposeful or inten-

tional discrimination by the defendant was

proved, plainufts’ Fourteenth Anwudment and

§ 1983 causes of action could not have been

sustained under Washington.

Il. The 5 Foot, 7 Inch Height

Requirement

Among the other of defendants’ practices

challenyed by the plaintiffs was the 5’7”

height requirement. In Dothard v. Rawlin-

son, —— US. —-—, 97 S.Ct. 2720, 53

L.Ed.2 786 (1977), the Supreme Court held

that Title VII forbids the use of height

requirements which have discriminatory ef-

fect unless the employer meets “the burden

of showing that [the] requirement [has]

a manifest relation to the employ-

ment in question.” Jd. at 2726, quoting

Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424,

432, 91 S.Ct. 849, 28 L.Ed.2d 158 (1971).

[8] Here there can be no question that

the 5’7” height requirement has discrimina-

tory impact. The parties stipulated that

41% of the otherwise eligible Mexican-

American applicants are excluded by the

requirement." The defendants further

conceded that no scientifically approved

test has been utilized to determine whether

the height requirement is in fact job-relat-

ed. The only testimony in the record on

point is that of Chief Stanley E. Barlow,

himseif only 5’8”, who testified that he

believed a smal] man might have difficulty

13. In Part Ill of the opinion in Washington v.

Davis, the majority agreed with the district

court's conclusion that Test 21 had been suffi-

ciently validated by a validation study and oth-

er evidence showing a nexus between success

on the test and success in police training

school. 426 U.S. at 250-51 & n. 17, 96 S.Ct.

2049. It is at least arguable that by not requir-

ing the defendants to meet the job-relatedness

standards of Title VII, the Court implicitly held

that emplovers sucd under § 1981 may escape

liability by showine something less than job-re-

latedness. We need not addvess that question

here, since defendants’ proof not only is insuffi-

cient under Gnryys, but also falls far short of

the quality and quantity of proof offered in

Washington.

14. Of course, this continued threat to use the

1972 test as part of the selection process mght

up to the filing of the corapiaint in this case is

admittedly a violation of Title VIT.

15. We accordingly note thai the continuing use

of Us heist requirement constitutes a contin-

ving vielation of Tile Vii and provides a basis

for rehef tm addition to § 198}.

1342

working with taller men in removing long

ladders and other equipment and might

have a slower reaction time in climbing on

and off equipment. Chief Barlow conceded

that in the past firemen under 5'7” have

been able to function without impairment

due to their height."

[9] It seems clear to us that this testi-

mony falls far short,of validating a height

requirement which has a serious impact in

restricting Mexican-American employment

in the County Fire Department."” The dis-

trict court did not have the benefit of Do-

thard, supra, and, therefore, did not apply

the standard of proof required by that case.

The evidence introduced was inadequate to

meet the Dothard requirement that the

height restriction was manifestly related to

employment by the Fire Department. Ac-

cordingly, the district court's finding of job-

relatedness must be reversed.

Ill. Affirmative Relief

{10} The defendants contest the affirm-

ative relief ordered by the district court.

However, as this Court has noted,

“[t}here can be little doubt that where

a violation of Title VII is found, the court

is veste’ with broad remedial power to

remove vhe vestiges of past discrimina-

tion and eliminate present and assure the

non-existence of future barriers to the

full enjoyment of equal job opportunities

by qualified black workers.”

United States v. Ironworkers Local 86, 443

F.2d 544, 553 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 404

U.S. 984, 92 S.Ct. 447, 30 L.Ed.2d 367 (1971)

(citations omitted). We do not believe the

court lacks equal power under § 1981 to

order relicf. Indeed, “{iJn fashioning an

appropriate remedy for employment dis-

crimination, Congress has granted courts

plenary equitable power under both Title

Vil and section 1981." Pettway

v. American Cast Iron Pipe Co., 494 F.2d

16. These shorter firemen were employed dur.

ing World War Il whea the standard was re

laxed gad when fiscmen ef other ertves euto-

matically josmed the L.A. County Fire Depart.

ment when their employing cies were an-

nexed by L.A. County.

566 FEDERAL REPORTER, 2d SERIES

211, 243 (Sth Cir. 1974) (footnotes omitted).

Although the decided cases have primarily

invoived either Title VII or § 1983, and not

§ 1981, we feel the extensive case law un-

der both sections approving affirmative re-

lief is directly applicable here. We see no

reason to limit the relief available under

§ 1981 merely because in the past § 1981

and Title VII have been read in tandem.

See, e. g., Boston Chapter, NAACP, Ince. v.

Beecher, 504 F.2d 1017 (1st Cir. 1974), cert.

denied, 421 U.S. 910, 95 S.Ct. 1561, 43

L.Ed.2d 775 (1975); Franks v. Bowman

Transp. Co., 495 F.2d 398 (5th Cir. 1974)

modified, 424 U.S. 747, 96 S.Ct. 1251, 47

L.Ed.2d 444 (1976); Pettway v. American

Cast Iron Pipe Co., 494 F.2d 211 (5th Cir.

1974); Johnson v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber

Co., 491 F.2d 1364 (Sth Cir. 1974). Similar-

ly, we note that Title VII and § 1983 cases

frequently have been cited as involving

analogous principles in fashioning equitable

relief, see Rios v. Enterprise Ass’n Steam-

fitters Local 638, 501 F.2d 622, 628 (2d Cir.

1974); Carter v. Gallagher, 452 F.2d 315,

329 (8th Cir. 1971) (en banc), cert. denied,

406 U.S. 950, 92 S.Ct. 2045, 32 L.Ed.2d 338

(1972), and cases involving one statute have

been cited in support of the relief ordered

in cases involving the other.

Eight Courts of Appeals, including this

one, have considered and approved the use

of accelerated hiring goals or quotas to

eradicate the effects of past discrimination.

See Boston Chapter, NAACP, Inc. v. Beech-

er, 504 F.2d 1017 (Ist Cir. i974), cert. de-

nied, 421 U.S. 910, 95 S.Ct. 1561, 45 L.Ed.2d

775 (1975) ($$ 1981 & 1983, Title VII); Rios

v. Enterprise Ass'n Steamfitters Local 638,

501 F.2d G22 (2d Cir. 1974) (Title VII);

United States v. Masonry Contractors Ass'n

of Memphis, Inc., 497 F.2d 871 (6th Cir.

1974) (Title VII); Franks v. Bowman

Transp. Co., 495 F.2d 398 (Sih Cir. 1974),

modified, 424 U.S. 747, 96 S.Ct. 1251, 47

L.Ed.2d 444 (1976) (Title VII); Morrow v.

17. Our earher comments with respect to valida-

tion of employment critenon chal'cogved under

§ isst are caee'iy applicable ut this content

See note 15, supe.

DAVIS v. COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES

1343

Cite as 566 F.2d 1334 (1977)

Cris'er. 491 F.2d 1053 (5th Cir.) (en banc),

cert. denied, 419 U.S. 895, 95 S.Ct. 173, 42

|. Ed 2d 139 (1974) (§ 1983); Vulean Society

v. Civil Serv. Comm'n, 490 F.2d 387 (2d Cir.

1473) (§ 1983); Associated Gen. Contractors

of Mass., Inc. v. Altshuler, 490 F.2d 9 (1st

Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 416 U.S. 957, 94

S.Ct. 1971, 40 L.Ed.2d 307 (1974) (Title VII);

Pridgeport Guardians, Inc. v. Civil Serv.

Comm'n, F.2d 1333 (2d Cir. 1973)

(§§ 1981, 1983); United States v. N.L. In-

dus., Inc., 479 F.2d 354 (8th Cir. 1973) (en

banc) (§ 1983); Pennsylvania v. O'Neill, 473

F.2d 1029 (3d Cir. 1973) (en banc) (§ 1983);

United States v. Local 212, IBEW, 472 F.2d

634 (6th Cir. 1973) (Title VII); United

States v. Wood Lathers Loca! 46, 471 F.2d

408 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 412 U.S. 939, 93

S8.Ct. 2773, 37 L.Ed.2d 398 (1973) (Title VII);

Castro v. Beecher, 459 F.2d 725 (lst Cir.

1972) (§ 1983); United States v. Carpenters

Local 169, 457 F.2d 211 (7th Cir.), cert.

deaied, 409 U.S. 851, 93 S.Ct. 638, 34 L.Ed.2d

94 (1972) (Title VII); Carter v. Gallagher,

452 F 2d 315 (8th Cir. 1971) (en banc), cert.

denied, 406 U.S. 950, 92 S.Ct. 2045, 32

L.Ed.2d 338 (1972) (§ 1983); United States

v. Ironworkers Local 86, 443 F.2d 544 (9th

Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 984, 92 S.Ct. 447,

30.L.Ed.2d 367_{1971) (Title VII); Contrac-

tors Ass'n of Eastern Pa. v. Secretary of

Labor, 442 F.2d 159 (3d Cir.), cert. denied,

404 US. 854, 92 S.Ct. 98, 30 L.Ed.2d 95

(1971) (Title VII); United States v. Local

38, IBEW, 428 F.2d 144 (6th Cir.), cert.

denied, 400 U.S. 343, 91 S.Ct. 245, 27

L.Ed.2d 248 (1970) (Title VII); Local 53,

Asbestos Workers v. Vogler, 407 F.2d 1047

(5th Cir. 1969) (Title VII). While the de-

fendants argue § 703(j) of Title VII forbids

the imposition of racial quota hiring, even

were this to be an order premised solely on

Title VII, we note this view has been uni-

formly rejected by the many courts which

have considered the question.

{11] We believe the district court prop-

erly exercised ite discretion in ordering af-

firmative action to be undertaken to erase

18. fiuper v. Kloster, 486 F.2d 1134 (ith Cor.

1973) did rot held to the contrary, but upheld

the district court's refusal tu timpose quot is

the effects of past discrimination. We do

not believe that such relief may be limited

to the identifiable persons denied employ-

ment in the past—for “the presence of iden-

tified persons who have been discriminated

against is not a necessary prerequisite to

ordering affirmative relief in order to elimi-

nate the present effects of past discrimina-

tion.” Carter v. Gallagher, 452 F.2d at 330.

Nor are remedial goals limited to any

specific or prescribed form. The precise

method of remedying past misconduct is

left largely to the broad discretion of the

district court. Goals have been expressed

in terms of specific numbers or ratios

e or percentages .

Rios v. Steamfitters Local 638, 501 F.2d at

631 (citations omitted).

While we remand because the district

court expressly stated that the reason it

ordered identical accelerated hiring of

blacks and Mexican-Americans in equal rat-

ios was because of the validity of the 5'7”

height requirement, we do not necessarily

believe a 1-1-3 ratio was incorrect. The

court, however, should reconsider its order

in light of our decision that the 57” height

requirement is invalid and that plaintiffs

lacked standing to challenge defendants’

use of the 1969 written examination.

{12} The defendants finally argue that

the imposition of an affir:native order to

hire minority applicants is unnecessary.

They aryue in effect that they have already

commenced and that they can be relied

upon further to improve their hiring prac-

tices without the added impetus of a court

order. The experience of the Court of Ap-

peals for the Fifth Circuit is useful in this

regard—"“protestations or repentance and

reform aimed to anticipate or blunt the

force of a lawsuit offer insufficient assur-

ance that the practices sought to be en-

joined will not be repeated.” Rowe v. Gen-

eral Motors Corp, 457 F.2d 348, 359 (Sth

Cir. 1972); aceord, United States v. Oregron

State Medical Soe’v, 343 CS. 326, 253, 72

tw

S.Ct. tho, (6 Lobd. $78 (1$52). Here the

within the facts of that case as not bewmy an

abuse of discretion.

1344

record shows that the defendants had decid-

ed to use an unvalicated verbal! aptitude

test to hire new candidates in 1973 and that

the only reason the test was not used was

notice of this suit. The personnel director

of the defendants testified at length at the

trial and acknowledged that ne was aware

of the discriminatory impact such a test

that defendants had failed and refused to

take necessa:y affirmative steps to over-

come the department’s bad reputation in

black and Mexican-American communities.

We emphasize that this was not a close

case—in a community of 29.1% minority

population, only 3.3% of the firemen em-

ployed by defendants were black or Mexi-

can-American. These factors are hardly

persuasive evidence of the defendants’ good

faith, even were such good faith relevant in

fashioning relief."* We agree with the dis-

trict court that an accelerated hiring order

is the only way “to overcome the presently

existing effects of past discrimination with-

in a reasonable period of time.”

In sum, we believe the district court was

wholly justified in deciding to impose af-

firmative hiring orders upon the defend-

ants.™

While it should be obvious to all, we

nevertheless repeat the ~admonition that

nothing said by this Court is to be taken as

a requirement that the defendants hire any

unqualified applicant for the performance

of these essentia! jobs.

AFFIRMED in part, REVERSED in part

and REMANDED for further proceedings

not inconsistent with this opinion.

WALLACE, Circuit Judge, dissenting:

I respectfully dissent.

Discrimination in employment based upon

race, creed or color is a practice inconsistent

with the views and aspirations of nearly all

Americans and clearly repugnant to the

19. In Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424,

91 S.Ct. 849, 28 L Ed.2d 158 (1971). a Title VII

case, the Supreme Court rejected pood faith as

adetense. “Congress directed the thrust of the

Act to the consequences of employment prec-

ices, not simply the motivation.” Jd. at 432,

566 FEDERAL REPORTER, 2d SERIES

principles upon which our society is built.

But even in rooting out such an evil prac-

tice, we are bound by certain procedural

and jurisdictional limitations which may

serve to protect the rights of others.

I think it is clear from the record that the

plaintiffs’ challenges to twe of the three

would have. Farther, the trie! judee found ° allegedly illegal employment practices are

barred by such a jurisdictional limitation.

The majority concedes that the named

plaintiffs have no standing to attack the

defendants’ pre-1971 hiring procedures. I

agree. I believe it equally plain that they

lack standing to challenge the height limita-

tion.

As to the remedy, I conclude that while

the plaintiffs may well have standing to

challenge the post-1971 hiring procedures,

there is a critica! issue as to whether the

imposition of minority hiring quotas is now

warranted given the limited scope of this

issue and the circumstances under which

the defendants’ objectionable conduct oc-

curred. Because the district court imposed

quotas based on conduct which in large part

has been rejected by the majority as a basis

for remedial action, the district judge may

well now believe that mandatory quotas are

no longer appropriate. Because the ques-

tion should be resolved in the first instance

by the trial judge, I would reverse and

remand for reconsideration of the appropri-

ate remedy in light of the limited standing

of the plaintiffs and the nature of the de-

fendants’ conduct within the new, limited

time frame adopted by the majority in this

case.

I. The Height Limitation

As an initial matter, it is clear to me that

the issue of the 5’7” height limitation was

never properly before the distri-t court.

The issue comes to us by a curious route.

The plaintiffs phrase their request for relief

as follows:

91 S.Ct. at 8&4. We believe good furth is equal-

ly inapplicable to § 1981.

20. We do not read U'naed Air Lincs vo Evans,

431 US. 553, 97 St. 1885, 5! L.td2d 571

(1977) to restr t m any way the affirmative

rehef ordered in this case

DAVIS v. COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES

1345

Cite as 546 F.2d 1334 (1977)

The only modification of the Judgment

sought in this appeal is an increase of the

Mexican-American hiring ratio, such in-

crease to be ordered if there is a reversal

by this Court of Appeal of the District

Court’s conclusion of law that the height

standard is job-related and legal. Plain-

tiffs-appellants did not seek below and do

not seek on this appeal, an order enjoin-

ing the’use of the 57” height standard.

Since the plaintiffs do not contest the legal-

ity of the height limitation, I do not see

how the district judge erred in taking the

height limitation into account in fashioning

the remedy.

But even assuming the height limitation

is properly at issue, the parties before us do

not have standing to pursue it. Nore of

the named plaintiffs is alieged to be shorter

‘than 57”. To the contrary, it has been

stipulated that all of the named plaintiffs

are present employees or presently on an

eligibility list. Since one of the require-

ments is a minimum height of 5’7”, each of

them must be at least that tall. Conse-

quently, none of them have suffered an

injury-in-fact from the alleged discrimina-

tory practice. In addition, since the class

was certified as “all present and future

: Mexican-American applicants,”

some of whom will surely be less than 5’7”

tall, the named plaintiffs cannot properly

represent them because their interests are

potentially antagonistic. Fed.R.Civ.P.

23(a)(3), (4). Indeed, applicants 5'7” or tal-

ler have an interest in limiting the number

of their competitors by retaining the height

requirement. This may be the reason why

the plaintiffs did not ask that the height

limitation be enjoined but merely now seek

a larger hiring quota for Mexican-Ameri-

cans in spite of it. These facts amply dem-

onstrate the necd for and the protection

built into standing requirements. Although

this lack of standing is obvious, it is not

even discussed by the majority.

Il. The Pre-1971 Examination Procedures

The villain of the pre-1971 examination

procedures was a discriminatory written

test used as a ranking device. All hiring

was done from an eligibility |ct which was

the final product of an examiiction process.

The process began with the written test and

a physical agility test and the top scorers

were then selected for oral interviews. A

total score was given each applicant, with

the discriminatory written test having a 35

percent weighted value. The highest rank-

ing candidates were certified for placement

on the eligibility list from which vacancies

were filled. When the list was exhausted,

which usually happened in about two years,

a new examination process would begin in

order to produce a new eligibility list.

The district court held that the plaintiffs

made out a prima facie case of employment

discrimination by proving that at the time

the complaint was filed in 1973, only 3.3

percent of the firemen employed by the

defendants were black or Mexican-Ameri-

can despite the fact that those minorities

accounted for approximately 29.1 percent of

the population of Los Angeles County.'

These employment statistics are necessarily

the result of the defendants’ pre-1971 hiring

practices since no firemen were hired there-

after until the complaint was filed. But

the majority admits that the plaintiffs

lacked standing to challenge these prac-

tices. Consequently, the pre-1971 practices

were entitled to only a narrowly restricted

role in the fashioning of the remedy in this

case, as explained in part III. C. below.

III. The Post-1971 Examination

Procedures

A. The Facts

Prior to accepting applications for a new

examination procedure in 1971, the entire

procedure was changed. Since the named

plaintiffs’ applications were processed un-

der these new procedures, they clearly have

standing to litigate their legality. Given

the limited scope of the claim, however, I

1. The district court found that 10.8 percent of the populution of Los Angeles County was

black and 18.3 percent Mexican-Amencan.

566 F24d—29

1346

question the appropriateness of the sweep-

ing injunctive relief granted.

The new procedures were to be as fol-

lows. Written tests were to be eliminated

as a ranking device, but because of the

large number of applicants (3500) and the

relatively few job openings (33), some

method had to be adopted to limit the num-

ber of applicants interviewed. Thus a new

i written test was designed in an attempt to

| eliminate cultural bias. The test was to be

given and graded on a pass-fail basis for

the sole purpose of screening out illiterates.

Five hundred of the passing applican

were to be selected at random for oral

interviews. This method eliminated the

written test as a ranking device and gave

every passing applicant an equa! opportuni-

ty to be chosen for an oral interview.

Ninety-seven percent of the applicants

passed the written test; 1,885 were white,

170 black and 283 Mexican-American. The

passing applicants were to be ranked solely

on the basis of the results of the physical

agility test and the oral interviews.

The new written test was administered in_

1972, but before the random selection could

be made, a lawsuit was filed in state court

aga'nst the county, charging that the ran-

dom selection process violated provisions of

the county charter-and civil service regula-

tions requiring that selection for oral inter-

views be made on merit. The county was

enjoined from using this method pending

trial on the merits. As a result, the exami-

nation process was halted for over two

years and no interviews or physical tests

were given and no eligibility list was certi-

fied.

As vacancies increased, the county fire

department urged that the applicants who

by this time had been waiting for almost 18

months, be interviewed and an eligibility

list certified. In desperation, the county

Department of Personne! proposed to inter-

view those applicants who had received the

top 544 scores on the 1972 written test. Of

this numbe., 492 were white, 10 black and

33 Mexican-American. These applicants

were not to be ranked on the basi. of the

test results, however, and the interviews

566 FEDERAL REPORTER, 24 SERIES

were not intended to eliminate the remain-

ing applicants from consideration. The

purpose was solely to expedite the hiring of

sufficient firemen to meet the immediate,

urgent requirements of the fire depart-

ment.

The plaintiffs herein objected to this pro-

posal. Upon learning of the complaint

about to be filed in this action, the Director

of Personnel abandoned the plan and imple-

mented a new procedure whereby all of the

passing applicants would be interviewed.

The interviews commenced on January 20,

1973.

The plaintiffs filed this civil rights action

naming as defendants the County of Los

Angeles, the Board of Supervisors of the

county and the Civil Service Commission.

The complaint alleged racial discrimination

in violation of 42 U.S.C. §§ 1981 and 1983;

it was later amended to invoke Title VII of

the Civil Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e et

seq. as well. The defendants completed

interviewing all of the applicants by the

end of March 1973 and certified an eligibili-

ty list. Of the top 315 applicants on this

list, 210 were white, 39 black, 59 Mexican-

American and 7 of other races (a total of

33.5 per cent “minorities”). It was conced-

ed by the plaintiffs that this examination

and ranking procedure did not have a dis-

criminatory impact on blacks and Mexican-

Americans.

At the conclusion of the trial, the district

court specifically found that the defendants

had not interfered with affirmative action

efforts designed to increase black and Mexi-

can-American participation rates and that,

to the contrary, several officials had en-

gaged in efforts designed to increase minor-

ity representation in the fire department.

The court further found that neither the

defendants nor their officials had engaged

in employment practices with a willful or

conscious purpose of excluding blacks and

Mexican-Americans from employment.

The court concluded, however, that the

defendants had engaged in the discrimina-

tury cinployment practice OF ulostny as a

selection device non-validated written tests

that had a disproportionate detrimental im-

DAVIS v. COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES

1347

Cite as 566 F.2d 1334 (1977)

pact on blacks and Mexican-Americans.

This evidently included the defendants’

short-lived intent to interview only the top

544 scorers on the 1972 examination. This,

of course, is the only examination procedure

of which the plaintiffs may complain since

they lack standing to challenge all previous

examinations.

B. Liability for the Attempted Use of

the-1972 Examination

In deciding that the attempted use of the

1972 written examination was illegal, the

majority relies almost exclusively upon 42

U.S.C. § 1981. Only in a footnote is it

mentioned that this same conduct also con-

stitutes a Title VII violation” I agree with

the majority that under United States v. W.

T. Grant Co., 345 U.S. 629, 632-33, 73 S.Ct.

894, 97 L.Ed. 1303 (1953), the defendants’

decision, prompted by the commencement

of this lawsuit, not to use improperly the

1972 examination as a selection device, does

not shield them from liability. But I would

base that liability on Title VII, not section

1981. The majority’s extensive discussion

of section 1981 is not only incorrect, but in

this case it is wholly unnecessary.

The district judge found as a matter of

fact that “neither the defendants nor their

officials had engaged in employment prac-

tices with a Willful or conscious purpose of

excluding blacks and Mexican-Americans

from employment.” Since a prima facie

case under Title VII clearly does not re-

quire proof of an improper purpose when a

discriminatory impact is alleged, Griggs v.

2. Even if they had had proper standing, the

plaintiffs could not have attacked defendants’

pre-1972 procedures under Title VII since that

Statute first became applicable to state public

employers on March 24, 1972. Since a stipula-

tion states that the defendants abandored their

plan to make a discniminatory use of the !972

exam on January 8, 1972. Title Vii is arguably

unavailable to the plaintiffs as a basis of liabili-

ty in this case. In that event, and in hght of

the subsequent analysis in the text, the defend-

ants would be absolved of all lability whatso-

ever. It appears, however, that the stipulated

date may be in error, and in addition 1 seems

to me that 3 persuasive arytement can be made

that the threat to use the 1972 eXamination ina

discriminatory manner can fairly be construed

as continuing after March 24, 1972. thus pro-

Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424, 91 S.Ct. 849,

28 L.Ed.2d 158 (1971), this finding does not

put defendants beyond the reach of Title

VIL.

The majority’s decision that section 1981

similarly requires no proof of intentional

discrimination is both unnecessary and un-

fortunate. The potential scope of section

1981 is exceptionally broad, going far be-

yond the Title VII realm of employment,

and conceivably reaching virtually all pri-

vate contractual arrangements. See Run-

yon v. McCrary, 427 U.S. 160, 168-71, 96

S.Ct. 2586, 49 L.Ed.2d 415 (1976). Since the

relief available under Title VII is extensive

enough to include the remedy approved by

the majority in this case,? the wiser course

would be to base the finding of liability on

that statute and to wait for a more appro-

priate opportunity to consider the reaches

of section 1981. Since the majority does

choose to rely upon section 1981, however, I

wish to make it clear that I cannot accept

its easy conclusion that a prima facie case

under that statute does not require proof of

discriminatory intent.

The majority asserts that the Supreme

Court’s opinion in Washington v. Davis, 426

U.S. 229, 96 S.Ct. 2040, 48 L.Ed.2d 597

(1976), does not address the question of

whether cases brought under section 1981—

like those brought directly under the Four-

teenth Amendment—always rcquire proof

of discriminatory intent, or whether—as in

Title VII cases—proof of discriminatory im-

pact alone may be sufficient.‘ I agree.

But Washington v. Davis serves at least to

viding a legitimate basis for some relief to the

plaintiffs.

3. “[T)he remedies available to the individual

under Title VII are co-extensive with the in-

div {ijdual’s rghit to sue under the provisions of

the Civil Rights Act of 1866, 42 U.S.C. § 1931

* Johnson v. Railway Express Agen-

cy, Inc., 421 U.S. 454, 459, 95 S.Ct. 1716, 1719,

44 L.Fd.2d 295 (1975), quoting H.R Rep. No.

92-238, 92nd Coreg. Ist Sess. 19 (1971).

4. As the majority notes in footnote 7 of its

opinion, few courts have had occssion to con

steue section TStoin hohe of Washioton vy.

Davis. Of those which have dealt with the

issug explicitly, most have cone so without

analysis, e. g., Ninsey v. Firsi Regional Secun-

1348

remind us that improper intent may be an

essential ingredient in some discrimination

cases where the lower courts have hereto-

fore thought otherwise. When it is neces-

sary to decide such cases on the basis of

authority other than Title VII or the Four-

teenth Amendment, therefore, a most care-

ful reconsideration of the role of discrimina-

tory intent is in order.

The majority reasons+that because both

Title VII and section 1981 apply to employ-

ment discrimination cases, because the rem-

edies available under these two statutes are

“parallel or overlapping,” Alexander v.

Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36, 47 & n.7,

94 S.Ct. 1011, 39 L.Ed.2d 147 (1974), and

because Washington v. Davis does not de-

cide that intentional discrimination is re-

quired under section 1981, “there remains

ties, Inc., 557 F.2d 820, 838 n.22 (D.C.Cir.1977),

or under the assumption, rejected by us today,

that Washington v. Davis did decide the section

1981 question. E g., League of United Latin

Am. Citizens v. City of Santa Ana, 13 FEP

Cases 1019-20 (C.D.Cal.1976). The only post-

Washington v. Davis cases | have located that

shed any light on the problem support the posi-

tion taken in this dissent. Croker v. Boeing

Co., 437 F.Supp. 1138 (E.D.Pa.1977); Johnson

v. Hoffman, 424 F.Supp. 490, 493-94 (E.D.Mo.

1977).

Significantly, the Supreme Court vacated and

remanded the Tenth Circuit's decision in Chica-

no Police Officer's Ass’mmv. Stover, 526 F.2d

431 (10th Cir. 1975), cert. granted, vacated, and

remanded, 426 U.S. 944, 96 S.Ct. 3161, 49

L.Ed.2d 1181 (1976), in which it was held that

“the measure of a claim under the Civil Rights

Act [i. e., section 1981 ef seq.} is in essence that

applied in a suit under Title VII of the Civil

Rights Act of 1964." 526 F.2d at 438. Stover

did not involve Title VII, but turned on sections

1981, 1983, and 1935, suggesting that the Su-

preme Court may well believe that constitu-

tional standards apply in section 1981 cases.

This is the interpretation placed on the Su-

preme Court's action by the Tenth Circuit pan-

el that originally decided Stover, as evidenced

by their treatment of the case on remand. Chi-

cano Police Officer's Ass'n v. Stover, 552 F.2d

918, 920 (10th Cir. 1977).

45. The majority's analysis is not helped by the

String of citations offered in support of the

propositions that section 1981 has been apphed

“to bar discrimination in empioyment,” and

that Title VII principles are a “benchmark” in

discrinunation cases The burden of these

cases is that section 1981 provides a cause of

action for private acts of employment ciscrimi-

nalion and that it was not implicitly repealed

566 FEDERAL REPORTER, 2d SERIES

no operational distinction in tiis context

between liability based upon Title VII and

section 1981.” This analysis is inadequate.$

That both statutes can apply to the same

facts and that both may afford similar rem-

edies is beside the point. The same can be

said of Tit! VII and the Fourteenth

Amendment, yet, after Washington v. Da-

vis, there remains an essential “operational

distinction” between them. The proper in-

quiry is whether the legislative history of

section 1981 indicates that it should track

the Fourteenth Amendment’s standards of

proof rather than those of Title VII. I

believe that the history of section 1981

strongly suggests precisely that.

Because section 1981 is peculiarly linked

to the Fourteenth Amendment, the stan-

by Title VII. I do not disagree. If any of these

decisions arguably imply that section 1981 and

Title VII are equivalent with respect to the

required elements of a prima facie case, it

should be noted that all but two of them were

rendered prior to Washington v. Davis, and of

those, none offers any analysis of the critical

issue of discriminatory intent which the opin-

ion in that case revived as a major factor in

discrimination law. The two post-Washington

v. Davis decisions, Flowers v. Crouch-Waiker

Corp., 552 F.2d 1277 (7th Cie. 1977) and

McCormick v. Attala County Bd. of Educ., 541

F.2d 1094 (5th Cir. 1976), make no reference to

Washington v. Davis or to the issues it dis-

cussed. Thus, none of these cases contributes

much to the resolution of the issue at hand.

Actually, one of the Fifth Circuit cases relied

upon by the majonty, Wace v. Mississippi

Coop. Extension Serv., 528 F.2d 508 (Sth Cir.

1976), undermines the majority's position.

Wade specifically rejected the lower court's

application to section 1981 of ‘the standard of

proof established by the regulations implement-

ing Title VII"" and held that “[u}nder the law of

this circuit, public employment tests

are to be judged under a constituticnal stan-

dard in suits brought under’ 42 U.S.C.A.

§§ 1981, 1983." Id at 518 (emphasis added).

The court in Wade, although it had the fore-

sight to recognize that Washington v. Davis,

then pending before the Supreme Court, could

affect its understanding of the issues in the

case before it. id. at 518 7, unavoidably

jacked the wisdom later supphed by Wash-

ington v. Davis that purposeful discrimination

is one element of the constitutions! standard.

But of interest here ts the Fitth Circunt’s recog-

nition that section 1951 tracks the Constitution,

not Title Vil, in its standards of proof.

DAVIS v. COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES 1349 ©

Cite as 566 F.2d 1334 (1977)

dards pertaining to that amendment shoul:

also control section 1981. Of course, Title

VII also depends in part upon the Four-

teenth Amendment for its validity.® Title

VII, however, was iytentionally structured

to rest upon a3 meny other constitutional

bases as possible.’ It is otherwise with

section 1981. Section 1981 originated in

two earlier statutes: section 1 of the Civil

Rights Act of 1866, 14 Stat. 27, and section

16 of the Voting Rights Act of 1870, 16

Stat. 144. “Runyon v. McCrary, supra, 427

U.S. at 168-70 n.8, 96 S.Ct. 2586. The 1866

Act is generally regarded as a “Thirteenth

Amendment statute,” see Jones v. A/fred

H. Mayer Co., 392 U.S. 409, 422, 437-38, 88

§.Ct. 2186, 20 L.Ed.2d 1189 (1968), but it has

also been found to rely upon the Fourteenth

Amendment. In fact, part of the motiva-

tion behind the congressional support of the

Fourteenth Amendment was to eliminate

doubts about the constitutionality of the

1866 Act. Id. at 436, 88 S.Ct. 2186. The

6. E g., Fitzpatrick v. Bitzer, 427 U.S. 445, 447-

48, 96 S.Ct. 2666, 49 L.Ed.2d 614 (1976) (1972

amendments to Title VII rely upon Fourteenth

Amendment). With respect to section 1981,

see subsequent text.

7. In his June 19, 1963 message to Congress,

President John Kennedy submitted a proposed

bill which developed into the Civil Rights Act

of 1964 and which contained the embryo of

what is now Title Vil. The proposed bill was

expressiy madé to rely upon |

the exercise by Congress of the powers con-

ferred upon it to reguiate the manner of hold-

ing Federal Elections, to enforce the provi-

sions of the fourteenth and fifteenth amend-

ments, to regulate commerce among the sev-

eral States. and to make laws necessary and

proper to execute the powers conferred upon

it by the Constitution.

H.R.Doc. No. 124, 88th Cong., Ist Sess 14

(1963). That the present version of Title VII

rests on more than the Civil Rights Amend-

ments may also be seen in the deliberate inclu-

sion of interstate commerce concepts in Title

VII's definitions, signifying a reliance upon the

Commerce Clause 42 USC. § 2000e(b) (e),

(g) & th). Cf Heart of Atlanta Motel, Inc. v.

United States, 379 U.S. 241, 249 50, 85 S.Ct.

348, 13 LEd.2d 258 (1964) (Title I of Civil

Rights Act of 1964 valid under the Commerce

Clause).

Several courts of appeals. inchiny our own,

have found that Tith Vil extends beyond the

reach of the Equa! Protection Clause. & zg,

Berg v. Richmond Uniticd School Dist, 528

second root of section 1981, section 16 of the

Voting Rights Act of 1870, is clearly a

“Fourteenth Amendment statute,” Runyon

v. McCrary, supra, 427 U.S. at 195-202, 96

S.Ct. 2586 (White, J. dissenting); its legisla-

tive history demonstrates that its precise

purpose was to implement the congressional

powers created by that Amendment. /d.

The significance of this is that section

1981 enjoys a unique historical and concep-

tual relationship to the Fourteenth Amend-

ment which is not shared by Title VII.*

Consequently, it is quite proper to assume,

absent a contrary holding by the Supreme

Court, that the standards for establishing a

prima facie case of discrimination under

section 1981 and the Equal Protection

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment

should be the same: there must be proof of

discriminatory intent.

Other factors reinforce this conclusion.

Interpreting section 1981 to require discrim-

inatory intent is consistent with the Su-

F.2d 1208, 1212 n.8 (9th Cir. 1975), cert. grant-

ed, 429 U.S. 1071, 97 S.Ct. 806, 50 LEd. 2d 788

(1977), Satty v. Nashville Ges Co., 522 F.2d

850, 855 (6th Cir. 1975), cert. granted, 429 U.S.

1071, 97 S.Ct. 806, 50 LEd2d 788 (1977);

Communications Workers v. American Tel. &

Tel. Co., 513 F.2d 1024, 1031 (2d Cir. 1975),

cert. granted, vacated and remanded, 429 U.S.

1033, 97 S.Ct. 724, 50 L.Ed. 2d 744 (1977). Al-

though the holdings in these cases that the

exclusion of pregnant women from certain in-

surance and other employment benefits have

been underinined or put in doubt by General

Elec. Co. v. Gilbert, 429 U.S. 125, 97 S.Ct. 401,

50 LEd.2d 343 (1976), the Gilbert decision it-

self does not question the itea that Tithe Vil

invokes congressional powers bevond those de-

rived from the Fourteenth Amendment. Rath-

er, Gilbert simply holds that the exclusion of

pregnancy benefits from an employer's disabilt

ty insurance plun does not con ‘titute a sex-

based discrimination capable of invoxmeg ether

Title Vil or the Fourteenth Amendment. Id. at

136, 97 S.Ct. 401.

8 As Runyon v. McCrary, 427 U.S. 160, 96 S.Ct.

2586, 49 L.Ed 2d 415 (1976), makes clear, sec-

tron 1981 is also very closely tied to the Thir-

teenth Amendment. Washirgton v. Davis did

not decide whether discrmnatory invent ts re-

quired m Thirteenth? Amendment cases. I

think that it is, but any uncertain'y in thts

asstumption merely ua formcotes thet the miapot

ity’S Gatsion to delve mto section 1951 is un-

wise

1350

preme Court's statement in Jones v. Alfred

H. Mayer Co., supra, that Congress intend-

ed section 1 cf the Civil Rights Act of

1866—the source of what is now section

' 1982 as weil a2 one source of section 1981—

“to prohibit a/! racially mctivated depriva-

tions of the rights enumerated in the stat-

ute . . ..” Id. 392 US. at 426, 88

S.Ct. at 2196 (emphasis partly added). -That

racial motivation was originally meant by

Congress to be a requirement in actions

under the 1866 Act is further suggested by

section 2 of the Act which imposes criminal

penalties upon anyone who, under color of

law, deprives another of the rights protect-

ed by section 1 “by reason of his color or

race.” 14 Stat. 27°

In addition, there are practical reasons

for requiring proof of discriminatory intent

in section 1981 cases, but not in Title VII

cases. Title VII is part of a complex stat-

ute; together with its accompanying ad-

ministrative regulations it identifies with

particularity the conduct it proscribes and

imposes a course of administrative remedies

that must be exhausted before the jurisdic-

tion of the courts may be invoked. 42

U.S.C. § 2000e-5; 29 C.F.R. §§ 1601.1 et

seq. Because these barriers tend to elimi-

nate claims that are frivolous or suffering

from obvious legal or factual defects, it is

not unreasonable to provide that a prima

facie case may be established without a

showing of discriminatory intent.

Section 1981 is a very different statute.

Its language is both brief and sweeping in

scope, and it does not have the screening

mechanism provided by a requirement of

the exhaustion of administrative remedies.

The section 1981 screening mechanism, as in

actions proceeding directly under the Four-

teenth Amendment, is the required demon-

stration of discriminatory intent.

9. In addition, the original draft of the 1866 Act,

as introduced by Senator Trumball of Minos,

prohibited “discrimination in civil mphts or im-

munities . . on account of race, color, or

previous condition of slavery ” MMe-

Donald v. Santa Fe Trail Transp. Co., 427 US.

273, 288, 96 S.Ct. 2574, 2562, 49 LEd 2d 393

(1976) (emphasis odded).

10. In Washington v. Davis, the plawtiffs did

plead section 1981 The defendants here argue

566 FEDERAL REPORTER, 2d SERIES

Indeed, because section 1981 can probably

be invoked in a great many cases brought

directly under the Fourteenth Amendment,

the consequence of judicially creating a less

demanding standard for section 1981 than

for the Fourteenth Amendment might of-

ten be to circumvent the holding in Wash-

ington v. Davis altogether. In the vast

array of cases such as the one before us

now and Washington v. Davis itself, where

Title VII does not apply but Section 1981

and the Fourteenth Amendment do, one

could easily avoid the intent requirement of

the Amendment by simply pleading section

1981. See Croker v. Boeing Co., 437

F.Supp. 1138 (E.D.Pa. 1977).

Finally, an observation made by the Su-

preme Court in Washington v. Davis is rele-

vant here. The Court was concerned about

the problems that might arise if the Four-

teenth Amendment could be invoked upon a

mere showing of disproportionate racial im-

pact:

A rule that 2 statute designed to serve

neutral ends is nevertheless invalid, ab-

sent compelling justification, if in prac-

tice it benefits or burdens one race more

than another would be far reaching and

would raise serious questions about, and

perhaps invalidate, a whole range of tax,

welfare, public service, regulatory, und

licensing statutes that may be more bur-

densome to the poor and to the average

black than te the more affluent white.

Given that rule,’ such consequences

would perhaps be likely to follow. How-

ever, in our view, extension of the rule

beyond those areas where it is already

applicable by reason of statute, such as in

the field of publie employment, should

await legis!ative prescription.

that in that dec:sion section 198] was imphicitly

held to require a showing of discruanatory

intent. The plaintiffs argue that the oppusite

implication exists. Both sides have a certain

lovical basis, but a close reading of the Su-

preme Court's open convinces me, as it does

the majority, that Washington v. Davis sunply

does not consider the standards po. erning sec-

ties PSI.

Pes Se 5

DAVIS v. COUNTY OF LOS ANGELFS

1351

Cite as 546 F.2d 1334 (1977)

426 U.S. at 248, 96 S.Ct. at 2051 (footnote

omitted) Section 1981, extending as it does

far beyond “the field of public employ-

ment” to the expansive realm of both public

and private contractual relationships, might

well precipitate many of these same conse-

quences if proof of discriminatory intent is

not required.

For these reasons I would base defend-

ants’ liability for the use of the 1972 exami-

nation of Title VII alone. The majority's

reliance on section 1981 is ill-advised be-

cause it is both unnecessary and incorrect.

C. The Scope of the Remedy

Even if the plaintiffs have established a

Title VII violation with respect to the de-

fendants’ use of the 1972 written test re-

sults, however, that violation does not nec-

essarily justify the imposition of minority

hiring quotas on the defendants. The use.

of quotas must be carefully weighed. As

the Supreme Court stated in Griggs v. Duke

Power Co., supra, 401 U.S. at 430-31, 91

S.Ct. at 853:

Congress did not intend by Title VII,

however, to guarantee a job to every

person regardless of qualifications. In

short, the Act does not command that any

person be hired simply because he was

formerly the subject of discrimination, or

because he is a member of a minority

group. Discriminatory preference for

any group, minority or majority, is pre-

cisely and only what Congress has pro-

scribed. What is required by Congress is

the removal of artificial, arbitrary, and

unnecessary barriers to employment

when the barriers operate invidiously to

Il. See McDonald v. Santa Fe Trail Transp. Co.,

427 U.S. 273, 96 S.Ct. 2574, 49 L.Ed 2d 493

(1976) (section 1981! and Title VII prohibit ra-

cial discrimination in private employment

against white persons as wel! as against non-

whites). Cf Franks v. Bowman Transp. Co.,

424 U.S. 747, 780-81, 96 S.Ct. 1251, 47 L.Fd.2d

444 (1976) (Burger, C. J, concurring and dis-

senting) (white employees injured by awa:d of

retroactive seniority to nonwhites may peiition

for equitable relief on their own behalf, Webor

v. Kaiser Alum. & Chem Corp, 415 & Supp.

761 (E.D La. 1976) (Title Vil prohibits discvm-

hauion against white employees; private em-

pluyment context).

discriminate on the basis of racial or oth-

er impermissible classification.

In this case the trial judge ordered that

20 percent of all newly-hired firemen be

black and that 20 percent be Mexican-

American, compared to the respective pro-

portions of those minorities in the popula-

tion of 10.8 percent and 18.3 percent. Im-

position of this hiring quota may well result

in discrimination against equally or better

qualified applicants solely on account of

their race. Here, for example, a native

American Indian, Asian-American, Hungar-

ian-American or Polish-American may not

be hired in order to provide a job for a

black or Mexican-American. While quotas

are sometimes necessary to correct past dis-

crimination against certain groups, the pos-

sible prejudicial effects upon others must be

weighed carefully by the district court.”

In civil rights cases, “[a]s with any equity

case, the nature of the violation determines-

the scope of the remedy.” Swann v. Char-

lotte-Mecklenburg Bd. of Educ., 402 U.S. 1,

16, 91 S.Ct. 1267, 1276, 28 L.Ed.2d 554

(1971). Accord, Milliken v. Bradley, 418

U.S. 717, 744, 94 S.Ct. 3112, 41 L.Ed.2d 1069

(1974). In fashioning remedies under Title

VII, it is therefore essential to identify

accur’tely the nature of the violations that

have occurred. Here, the district judge be-

lieved he had properly found the defendants

liable not only for their thwarted attempt

to use the 1972 exam resuits in a discrimi-

natory manner, but also for their use in

earlier years of the examinations which ae-

tually produced the racial imbalance in the

fire department's work force. It is obvious

that the quotas were imposed to remedy

that racial imbalance,!* and thus that in

1 agree, of course, thet equitable relief to

rectify past discrinunation will often impose

burdens on those innocent of any discriminato-

ry aciivity. Franks v. Bowrnan Transp Co..

supra, 424 U.S. at 773-79, 96 S.Ct. 1251. But,

as | explain in the subsequent text, relief appro-

priate to the vious. on in this case requires the

ImMposition of no such burdens.

12. In his conclusions of law, the district judge

Stated.

{{}t appears that unites: Cie Court orders ac-

celerated hiring at the Los Angeles County

Fire Department, there will not be sufficient

hiring of Blacks and Mexican- un. ricans as ts

necessary to overcome the presently exiting

1352

devising his hiring order, the district judge

relied heavily upon his conclusion that the

defendants were liable for their use of the

pre-1972 examinations. For the reasons

that follow, this reliance was misplaced.

The majority concedes that none of the

defendants’ examination procedures except

the aborted attempt to use the 1972 exam

results in a discriminatory manner were

properly before the district court. I agree.

The complete abséfce of standing on the

part of any plaintiff to contest the earlier

procedures makes them legally indistin-

guishable from the act described in United

Air Lines, Inc. v. Evans, 431 U.S. 553, 97

S.Ct. 1885, 52 L.Ed.2d 571 (1977), which

could have been, but was not, properly

brought before a federal court:

A discriminatory act which is not made

the basis for a timely charge is the legal

equivalent of a discriminatory act which

occurred before the statute was passed.

It may constitute relevant background

evidence in a proceeding in which the

status of a current practice is at issue,

but separately considered, it is merely an

unfortunate event in history which has no

present legal consequences.

Id. at 558, 97 S.Ct. at 1889." Therefore, the

district court was not entitled to treat the

pre-1972 examination procedures as sub-

stantive violations to be corrected, but only

as “relevant background” to the narrow

issues properly before him.

Moreover, even if the pre-1972 examina-

tions could be properly considered by the

district judge as background, their relation-

ship to the defendants’ Title VII violation

militates against taking them heavily into _

effects of past discrimination within a rea-

sonable period of time .

(Emphasis added).

13. It is not only the standing issue that made it

improper for the district court to rely upon the

pre-1972 procedures in fashioning its remedial

order, but also the fact that even a plaimtiff

with standing could probably not have shown

them to be illegal. Since Tithe VU fust became |

applicable to the defendants on Mareh 24,

1972, hability for the defendants’ conduct pre-

vious to that date must be evaluated under

566 FEDERAL REPORTER, 2d SERIES

account. The remedial obligation of the

district court was first and foremost to

grant relief for the violations of law proper-

ly found to exist. It is true that judicial

remedies sometimes attempt to correct past

discrimination as well, Albemarle Paper Co.

v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405, 418, 95 S.Ct. 2362,

45 L.Ed.2d 280 (1975), but this is because

present violations often “operate to ‘freeze’

the status quo of prior discriminatory em-

ployment practices.” Griggs v. Duke Pow-

er Co., supra, 401 U.S. at 430, 96 S.Ct. at

853.

The Title VII violation in this case had no

such effect. Both the majority and I agree

that the defendants are liable for nothing

more than devising a plan—never carried

out—which would have had a discriminato-

ry impact. The plaintiffs concede in their

brief that in fact “the post-March 1972 dis-

crimination . . had no ‘effects.’”

Because the racial imbalance of which the

plaintiffs complain was neither aggravated

nor perpetuated by the defendants’ actiona-

ble discrimination, the liability of defend-

ants for that limited threat of discrimina-

tion does not create a proper platform from

which to reach back to correct the racial

imbalance.

Even under the majority’s view of this

case, a remand is essential. Had the dis-

trict judge initially found the defendants

liable for as little as this court does today, I

cannot believe he would have imposed the

drastic remedy which the ma,ority now sus-

tains. It is conceded that the only objec-

tionable “use” of a written examination by

the defendants was their intent to narrow

the field of applicants to the top 544 scorers

section 1981. But that statute, as I explain

above, appears to require prooi of a discrimina-

tory intent, and the distact judge explicitly

found as a matter of fact that such intent was

lacking here.

14. “At the threshold we observe that Title VI

speaks only to the future. The only justitrca-

tion for a backward gaze is in deterertiing

whether a present employment prortice muy,

in fact, perpetusie past discrimimation.” EROU

v. University of N. M, 504 F.2d 1296, 1301

(10th Cir, 1974).

JACOBSON v. TAHOE REGIONAL PLANNING AGCY.

Cite as 566 F.2d 13523 (1977)

on the 1972 exam. This plan was made

only after an apparently nondiscriminatory

system (interviewing randomly selected ap-

plicants who passed the 1972 exam) was

enjoined in a state court proceeding. It

came when the defendants were under the

great stress of needing to fill mounting

vacancies and at a time when they were

affirmatively working to end prior discrimi-

natory practices.

In light of these facts, I would reverse

and remand to the district court for recon-

sideration of the appropriateness of quotas

in this case."* It is clear to me that the

court can fashion an effective order prohib-

iting any discriminatory use of the 1972

examination directly without imposing quo-

tas.

1353

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Van Davis, et al., }

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

= No. 73-3008

County or Los ANGELES, et al., etc.,

Defendants-Appellees.

iI

Van Davis, et al., OPTNEOR

Plaintiffs-A ppellecs, |

vs.

| No. 73-3009

County or Los ANGELES, ¢t al., ete.,

Defendants-Appellants. }

[October 20, 1976]

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Central District of California

Before: TUTTLE,* HUFSTEDLER and WALLACE,

Circuit Judges.

TUTTLE, Cirenit Judge: » Se

This suit was b behalf of all past, present and

future black and Mexican-American applicants for positions as

firemen with the Los Angeles County Fire Department, alleging

that the defendants Los Angeles County, the Board of Super-

visors of the County and the County Civil Service Commission had

been guilty of past discrimination in hiring in violation of the

Fourteenth Amendment, the Civil Rights Act of 1866, 42 U.S.C.

*Honorable Elbert P. Tuttle, Senior United States Cireuit Judge,

Fifth Cireuit, sitting by designation.

2 Van Davis, et al. vs.

§§1981, 1983 and Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42

U.S.C. §2000e ef seq."

The district court found that the L.A. County Fire Depart-

ment employed blacks and Mexican-Americans grossly out of

proportion to their number in the population of L.A. County.

The court further found that the Fire Department, despite its

admitted knowledge of its prior discriminatory practices and its

bad reputation as an employer in the minority community, failed

to undertake any effective positive steps to eradicate the effects

of prior discrimination. Accordingly the court ordered acceler-

ated hiring of racial minorities in a ratio of one black and onc

Mexican-American applicant hired for each five white applicants

hired until the effects of past discrimination had been erased.?

Despite the fact that the Mexican-American population of

L.A. County was approximately double the size of the black

population, the district court ordered identical accelerated hiring

due to its finding that the Fire Department's 5 foot, 7 inch

height requirement for job applicants was a valid requirement

for employment, and that this height requirement had the effect

of climinating 45% of the otherwise cligible Mexican-American

applicants from consideration.

The plaintiffs appeal the trial court’s finding that the 5’7”

height requirement is valid and could therefore be used in limit-

ing the relief available to the Mexican-American members of the

plaintiff class. The defendants cross-appeal the trial court’s order

of accelerated hiring. We affirm the district court’s order of

accelerated hiring to cure past racial discrimination; we disagree

with the court’s determination that the 5’7” height requirement

has been sufficiently validated by the defendants, and aeccord-

ingly we reverse and remand for reconsideration of the proper

ratio of accelerated racial hiring to be ordered.

1Jurisdiction was based on 28 U.S.C. §1343. The additional allega-

tions of racial discrimination in promotions were abandoned prior to

trial.

2Data introduced by the plaintiffs showed that this 1-1-5 ratio, given

the present rate of new hiring, would produce a work foree of minority

firemen in proportion to the number of minority persons in the work-

force by 1979 for blacks and 1983 for Mexican-Americans.

County of Los Angeles, et al., etc. 3

I. PROCEDURAL DEFENSE

Despite a minority population of approximately 29.1% in L.A.

County, only 3.3% of the firemen employed by the defendants

were black or Mexican-American at the time of trial. The defend-

ants do not, and indced cannot, dispute the trial court’s finding

that these data establish a prima facie ease of racial diserimina-

tion. This Court has recognized that such statisties can prove

past racial discrimination. [’nited States v. Ironworkers Local 86,

443 F.2d 544, 550 (%h Cir. 1971) cert. denied 404 US. 984

(1971). Unable to contest the indisputable legal effect of these

data, the defendants pose a number of procedural defenses all

involving the claim that whatever discriminatory practices they

might have been guilty of in the past have been ended. Specifically

the defendants argue: (1) that the plaintiffs lacked standing to

assert the interests of the class aggrieved by past discriminatory

practices; (2) that the discriminatory practices complained of

oceurred prior to March 1, 1972, the date on which Title VII

became applicable to cities and municipalities; and (3) that the

discriminatory practices complained of occurred prior to the

three year statute of limitations on the plaintiffs §§1981 an

1983 claims.‘ )

These three arguments are all based on the same undisputed

fact: the last time the defendants administered a test to job

8The cases holding that statistics alone may prove a prima facie

ease of racial diserimination in employment, thereby shifting the burden

to the defendants to justify the racial imsbalanee, are by this time

legion. See, ¢.g., United Statos v. Hayes International Corp., 456 F.2d

112 (5th Cir. 1972); Rowe v. General Motors Corp., 457 F.2d 348 (5th

Cir. 1972); Pettway v. American Cast Iron Pipe Co., 494 F.2d 211

(5th Cir. 1974); United States v. N.L. Industries, Inc., 479 F.2d 354

(8th Cir. 1973); United States v. Masonry Contractors Ass’n., 497 F.2d

871 (6th Cir. 1974).

‘The plaintiffs do not dispute the fact that Title VII beeame ap-

plicable to municipalities on March 1, 1972. See 42 U.S.C. §2000e(a).

‘Nor do they dispute the fact that their §§1981 and 1983 claims are

' governed by the state three year statute of limitations. See Mills v.

Small, 446 F.2d 249 (9th Cir. 1971) cert. denied 30 L.Ed.2d 543 (1971).

Beeanse plaintiffs’ complaint was filed on January 11, 1973, the oe-

eurrences complained of must have happened subsequent to January

11, 1970.

2

4 Van Davis, et al. vs.

applicants which had discriminatory effect was August 1969.5

Thus because none of the class representatives in this suit were

unsuccessful applicants in 1969, and because the test was admin-

istered prior to the three-year eut off for the §§1981 and 1983

claims, and well before March 24, 1972, aceordingly the defend-

ants argue their past discriminatory actions cannot give rise to

eurrent liability. The district court found that the past diserim-

inatory acts had continuing effect,** thereby justifying present

relief. We agrec. In our view the defendants claim that because

the 1969 examination was «dministered in 1969 it accordingly

had effect only in 1969 is manifestly incorrect.

The 1969 examination was administered to a large group of

applicants; the successful applicants who seored well on this

examination and in the subsequent interview were certified as

cligible candidates, and were placed on an eligibilty list for

later employment as vacancies occurred in the ranks of the fire-

5The defendants do not dispute the fact that this verbal aptitude

test had discriminatory impact, and could not be validated under the

requirements of Griegs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424 (1971). Of the

244 blacks who took this test, 5 were hired; of the 100 Mexican-

Americans, 7 were hired, while of the 1080 whites taking the test, 175

were hired. Thus while approximately 25% of the applicants were black

or Mexican-American, based on the results of this test only 6.4°% of the

5*The trial court’s Finding No. 6 contains the following language :

“The accelerated hiring to be ordered by the court is based on all

findings, including the following considerations :

(b) It is in the public interest to »ecelerate the elimination of the

racial imbalance at the Los Angeles County Fire Department caused by

the past discrimination of defendants.

(ce) It appears that unless the court orders accelerated hiring at the

Los Angeles County Fire Department there will not be sufficient hiring

of blacks and Mexiean-Americans as is necessary to overcome the

presently existing effects of past discrimination within a reasonable

period of time.”

Conelusion of Law No. 7 says:

“In order to eliminate the effects of past discrimination against

blacks avd Mexican-Americans, those effects Leing the currently

existing racial imbalance in the workforce of the Los Angeles

County Fire Department, it is appropriate and constitutional to

order the Defendants to enzaze in the hiring of blacks and Mexiean-

Americans on an accelerated basis as set forth in the Judgment

herein. . . .” (Emphasis supplied).

County of Los Angeles, et al., ete. 3D

men. The parties stipulated approximately 100 such vacancies

oceur each year. 187 applicants were placed on the eligibility list

following the 1969 examination. Based on these facts, the district

court found that the examination had effect past 1969, and we

think this was certainly correct. While the plaintiffs failed to

show that any candidate on this list was hired after March 24,

1972, it is obvious that most were hired after January 11, 1970.

Thus despite the failure of the plaintiffs to prove that specific

discriminatory acts occurred during the effective period covered

by Title VII, it is clear that discriminatory hiring did take place

within the three years prior to their §§1981 and 1983 claims.*

The defendants further argue that the district court lacked

jurisdiction under either $§1981 or 1983. As to §1983 the de-

fendants are clearly correct. A municipality is not a “person”

suable under §19837 and thus the three municipal defendants

are not subject to suit under $1983. Monroe v. Pape, 365 US.

167 (1961); City of Kenosha v. Bruno, 412 U.S. 507 (1973). No

individual defendants were named in the suit, and thus the

plaintiffs §1983 claim is barred. §1981 is not subject to the

same jurisdictional limitations: the language of the statute does

not require that a defendant be a “person” before suit may be

6We do not consider the plaintiffs’ additional arguments that such

factors as the defendants’ bad reputation in the minority community

or nepotistie word-of-mouth reeruiting and counselling may, alone, eon-

stitute sufficient discriminatory practices as to establish a valid Title

VII claim. The evidence on ihese points was extremely impressionistic

and the district court did not rely on these theories.

742 U.S.C. §1983 provides:

“Every person who, under color of any statute . . . of any state...

subjects . . . any citizen of the United States .. . to the depriva-

tion of any rights . . . seeured by the Constitution and laws, shal!

be liable to the party injured in any action at law, suit in equity,

or other proper proceedings for redress.” (emphasis added )

SIndividuals may be sued in their official capacity. See Harper v.

Kloster, 486 F.2d 1134, 1138 (4th Cir. 1973); United Farmworkers

of Florida Housing Project, Ine. v. City of Del Ray Beach, Florida, 493

F241 799, 802 (Sth Cir. 1974); Sterzing v. Fort Bend Independent

School District, 496 F.2d 92, 93 n.2 (5th Cir. 1972). As the plaintiffs

did not allege federal question jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. 61331,

their Fourteenth Amendment claim does not stand apart from their

§1983 claim.

6 Van Davis, et al. vs.

brought.® Indeed, $1981 speaks only of the rights of the person

denied the opportunity to make a contract due to his color—it

doesn’t attempt to specify who may be sued under its provisions.

The construction the Supreme Court placed on the term “person”

in Monroe v. Pape and City of Kenosha v. Bruno as it is used

in §1983 was based entirely on the legislative history of that

section, which was passed by the Congress entirely separately

from §1981. In our view the statutory construction of §1983's

use of a specific word does not constitute a blanket prohibition

against civil rights suits against municipalities based on other

code sections which don’t even contain the same limiting lan-

guage.1°

In our view there is no operational distinction in this case

between liability based on Title VIT and $1981. §1981 has been

construed to bar discrimination in employment by everv Circuit

which has considered the question. Waters v. Wisconsin Steel

Works of International Harvesters Co., 427 F.2d 476 (7th Cir.

1970), cert. denied 490 U.S. 911 (1970); Sanders v. Dobbs

ITouses, Inc., 431 F.2d 1097 (5th Cir. 1970), cert. denied 401

U.S. 948 (1971); Young v. International Tel. & Tel. Co., 438

F.2d 757 (3d Cir. 1971); Brady v. Bristol-Meyers, Ine., 459

F.2d 621 (Sth Cir. 1972): Brown v. Gaston County Dyeing

Machine Co., 457 F.2d 1377 (4th Cir. 1972); Macklin v. Spector

Freight Systems, Inc., 478 F.2d 979 (D.C. Cir. 1973); Long v.

942 U.S.C. $1981 provides:

“All persons within the jurisdiction ot the United States shall have

the same right in every state . . . to make and enforce contracts

. enjoved by white citizens. . . .”

19Arunga v. Weldon, 469 F.2d 675 (9th Cir. 1972) might be read as

applying the jurisdictional limits of §1983 to all civil rights sections.

This two paragraph per curiam does not explain the reasons for such a

holding, if that was in faet the basis for the holding, and we are re-

Inectant to infer such a broad and sweeping holding from it. After

cirenlating this opinion among all the members of this Court, this

panel has been authorized to announce that to the extent this opinion

is ineonsistent with Arunga, this latter opinion is the preferred view of

the majority of the members of this Court, as stated in Sethy v.

Aln»meda Co. Water District, F.2d _ (9th Cir., en bane, 1976)

(No. 73-1852 et seq. slip op’n Sept. 30, 1976.)

County of Los Angeles, et al., etc.

Ford Motor Co., 496 F.2d 500 (6th Cir. 1974). This line

of authority is so well-established the defendants do not even

attempt to dispute the applicability of $1981 to employment dis-

crimination. We join the seven other Circuits which have consid-

ered the question and hold §1981 is available as a remedy

against employment discrimination based on color.

Accordingly, we believe the distriet court properly found the

defendants guilty of employment discrimination. Despite the fact

they conceded that the discriminatory effects of the verbal apti-

tude test they used were known even prior to the giving of the

examination in 1969, the results of this examination had con-

tinued discriminatory effect as the 187 applicants hired after

1970 were employed on the basis of their suecess with the test.

The defendants thus practiced discrimination in hiring whieh

extended into the three year span subject to liability based on

the plaintiffs’ §1981 claim. As the named plaintiffs were appli-

eants for positions during this period, the fact that thev had not

previously applied in 1969 is irrelevant, and accordingly they

were proper elass representatives.

Il. THE 5 FOOT, 7 INCH HEIGHT

REQUIREMENT

Among the practices of the defendants which the plaintiffs

challenged was the 5’7” height requirement. In @rigas rv. Duke

Power Co., 401 U.S. 424 (1971) the Supreme Court unanimously

held that Title VII forbids the use of employment tests whieh

have discriminetory effect unless the employer meets “the burden

of showing that any given requirement [has]... a manifest

relation to the employment in question.” 401 U.S. at 432. This

burden arises only after the challenger proves that the tests in

question have the effect of selecting applicants for employment

or promotion in a racial pattern signifieantly different from that

11Se¢ gencrally Comment, Racial Discrimination and Employment

Under the Civil Rights Act of 1866, 36 U.Chi.L.Rev. 615 (1969):

ITerbert and Reischel, Title VII and the Multiple Approaches to

Fliminating Employment Discrimination, 46 V.¥.17.L. Rev. 449 (1971);

Peck, Remedies for Racial Diserimination in Employment. 46 Wash.

Rev. 495 (1971); Larson, The Development of Section 1981 as a Remedy

for Racial Discrimination in Private Employment, 7 Harv. Rights—

Civ. Lib. L. Rev. 56 (1972).

s Van Davis, et al. vs.

of the pool of applicants. See McDonnell Douglas Corp. v.

Green, 411 U.S. 792, 802 (1973). Discriminatory tests are im-

permissible unless shown “by professionally acceptable methods,”

Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 43 LW 4880, 4888 (1975) to

be “predictive of or significantly correlated with important

elements of work behavior which comprise or are relevant to the

job or jobs for which candidates are being evaluated.” 20 C.F.R.

$1607.4(¢), EEOC Guidelines.'?

Here there can be no question that the 5’7” height recuire-

ment has diseriminatory impact. The parties stipulated that

45° of the otherwise eligible Mexiean-American applicants are

excluded by the requirement.'? The defendants further conceded

that no scientifically approved test has been utilized to deter-

mine whether the height requirement is in facet job related. The

only testimony in the record on point is that of Chief Stanley

KE. Barlow, himself only 5’8”, who testified that he believed a

smaller man might have diffieulty working with taller men in

removing long ladders and other equipment, and might have a

slower reaction time in climbing on and off equipment. Chief

Barlow conceded that in the past firemen under 5’7” have been

able to function without impairment due to their height."

It seems clear to us that this testimony falls far short of

validating a height requirement which nad a serious impact in

restricting Mexican-American employment in the County Fire

12These EEOC Guidelines were recently approved by the Supreme

Court in Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 43 LW 4880 ( 1975) as

providing standards by which employment requirements may be vali-

dated.

13We accordingly note that the continuing use of this height require-

ment would constitute a continuing violation of Title VIT and would

provide a basis for relief under that section even were §1981 not

available. We do not snggest that the validation requirements of Title

VII and §1981 are ditferent, however. We believe Title VII validation

standards may also be applied in §1981 cases.

14These shorter firemen were employed during World War TI when

the standard was relaxed, and when firemen of other cities automatically

ioined the L.A. County Fire Department when their employing cities

were annexed by L.A. Connty.

County of Los Angeles, et al., etc. 9

Department. The district court erred in finding that the County

had proven that the height requirement was job related.'5

Ill. AFFIRMATIVE RELIEF

The defendants contest the affirmative relief ordered by the

district court. As this Court has noted,

“There can be little doubt that where a violation of Title

VII is found, the court is vested with broad remedial power

to remove the vestiges of past discrimination and eliminate

present and assure the non-existence of future barriers to

the full enjoyment of equal job opportunities by qualified

black employces.”

United States v. Ironworkers Local 86, 443 F.2d 544, 553 (9th

Cir. 1971) cert. denied 404 U.S. 984 (1971). We do not believe

the court lacks equal power under §1981 to order relief.

“In fashioning an appropriate remedy for employment dis-

crimination, Congress has granted courts plenarv equitable

power under both Title VII. . . and section 1981.”

Pettway v. American Cast Iron Pipe Co., 494 F.2d 211, 243

(5th Cir. 1974). Although the decided cases have primarily

involved either Title VIT or §1983, and not §1981, we do feel

the vast case law under both sections approving affirmative relicf

is directly applicable here. No other case we have found has

involved the same odd factual pattern where only §1981 is avail-

able to remedy employment discrimination, and we see no reason

to limit the relief available under $1981 merely beeause in the

past §1981 and Title VII have been read in tandem. See, ¢.¢.,

Boston Chapter, NAACP v. Beecher, 504 F.2d 1017 (1st Cir.

1975), cert. denied ... U.S. ... (1975); Pettway v. American

Cast Tron Pipe Co., supra; Frenks v. Bowman Transportation

Co., 495 F.2d 398 (5th Cir. 1974); Johnson v. Goodyear Tire

and Rubber Co., 491 F.2d 1364 (5th Cir. 1974). Similarly we

15Similar height requirements have been recently struck down in other

eases. See, Fox v. Washington, 43 LW 2468 (D.D.C. 4/22/75); Hardy

v. Stumpf, 37 Cal. App. 3d 958 (1974). Castro v. Beecher, 459 F.2d

72h (1st Cir. 1972) upheld a height requirement for firemen, but

only beeanse the plaintiffs had failed to prove diseriminatory impact

upon Puerto Rican applicants.

10 Van Davis, et al. vs.

note that Title VIT and §1983 cases have freyuently been cited

as involving analogous principles in fashioning equitable relief.

See Carter v. Gallagher, 452 F.2d 315, 329 (Sth Cir. 1971)

(en bane reversing in part panel opinion, 452 F.2d 315) cert.

denied 406 U.S. 950 (1972); Rios v. Enterprise Assn. Steam-

fitters Lo. al 638, 501 F.2d 622, 628 (2d Cir. 1974), and cases

involving one statute have been cited in support of the relief

ordered in cases involving the other.

Eight cireuits, including this one, have considered and ap-

proved the use of accelerated hiring goals or quotas to eradi-

eate the effects of past discrimination under either Title VIT

or §1983. United States v. Ironworkers Local 86, 443 F.2d 544

(9th Cir. 1971) cert. denied 404 U.S. 984 (1971) (Title VIT);

Boston Chapter, NAACP v. Beecher, 504A F.2d 1017 (1st Cir.

1974) (§§1981, 1983 and Title VIT); Ries v. Futerprise Assn.

Steamfitters Local 638, 501 F.2d 622 (2d Cir. 1974) (Title VIT);

United States v. Masonry Contractors Assn., 497 F.2d 871 (6th

Cir. 1974) (Title VII); Franks v. Bowman Transportation (Co.,

495 F.2d 398 (5th Cir. 1974) (Title VII): Morrow v. Crisler,

491 F.2d 1053 (5th Cir. 1974) (en bene) (81983; Associated

General Contractors of Massachusetts, Inc. v. Altshuler, 490 F.2d

9 (Ist Cir. 1973) affirming 361 F.Supp. 129 (D. Mess. 1973)

cert. denied 416 U.S. 957 (1974) (Title VII): Vuleon Society

v. Civil Service Commission, 490 F.2d 387 (2d Cir. 1973)

($1983); Bridgeport Guardians, Inc. v. Civil Service Commis-

sion, 482 F.2d 1333 (2d Cir. 1973): United States v. NL. Incus-

tries, Inc., 479 F.2d 354 (Sth Cir. 1973) (Title VIT); Confrac-

tors Assn. of Eastern Pennsylvanma v. Sec. of Labor, 442 F.2d

159 (3d Cir. 1971) cert. denied 404 U.S. 854 (1971) (Title

VII); Pennsylvania v. O'Neill, 473 F.2d 1029 (3d Cir. 1973)

(en banc) (§1983); United States v. Local 212, IBEW, 472 F.2d

634 (6th Cir. 1973) (Title VIL); United States v. Wood, Wire

and Metal Lathers International Union Local 46, 471 F.2d 408

(2d Cir. 1973) cert. denied 412 U.S. 989 (1973) (Title VII):

Castro v. Beecher, 459 F.2d 725 (1st Cir. 1972) (§1983); United

States v. Carpenters Local 169, 457 F.2d 210 (7th Cir. 1972)

cert. denied 409 U.S. 851 (1972) (Title VIL); Carter v. Gal-

lagher, 452 F.2d 337 (Sth Cir. 1971) (en bene) cert. denied 406

U.S. 950 (1972) ($1983); T’nited States v. IREW Local 28, 428

F.24 144 (6th Cir. 1970) cert. denied 400 US. 948 (1970)

County of Los Angeles, et al., etc. ll

(Title VII); Local 53, Asbestos Workers v. Vogler, 407 F.2d

1047 (5th Cir. 1969) (Title VII)."° While the defendants argue

§703j of Title VII forbids the imposition of racial quota hiring,

even were this to be an order premised on Title VII, we note

this view has been uniformly rejected by the many courts which

have considered the question.

We believe the district court properly exercised its diseretion

in ordering affirmative action to be undertaken to erase the

effects of past discrimination. We do not believe that such relief

may be limited to the identifiable persons denied employment in

the past—for “the presence of identified persons who have been

discriminated against is not a necessary prerequisite to ordering

affirmative relief in order to eliminate the present effects of past

discrimination.” Carter v. Gallagher, supra, 459 F.2d at 330.

“Nor are remedial goals limited to any specifie or pre-

seribed form. The precise method of remedying past miscon-

duct is left largely to the broad diseretion of the district

court. Coals have been expressed in terms of specifie numbers

or ratios . . . or percentages.”

Rios v. Enterprise Assn. Steamfitters Local 638, supra, 501 F.2d

at 631. While we remand because the district court expressly

stated that the reason it ordered identical accelerated hiring of

blacks and Mexican-Americans in equal ratios was because of the

validity of the 5’7” height requirement, we do not necessarily

believe a 1-1-1 ratio was incorrect (indeed, it was the relief

originally requested by the plaintiffs), but the court should

reconsider its order in light of our decision that the 5’7” height

requirement is invalid.

The defendants finally argue that the imposition of an affirm-

ative order to hire minority applicants is unnecessarv. They

argue in effect that they have already commenced and that thev

ean be relied upon further to improve their hiring practices

withont the added impetus of a court order. Certainly the experi-

ence in the Fifth Cireuit is useful in one regard—“protestations or

1SHarper v. Kloster, 486 F.2d 1134 (4th Cir. 1973) did not hold to

the contrary, but upheld the district court’s refusal to order the im-

position of quotas within the facts of that case as not being an abuse

of diseretion.

12 Van Davis, et al. vs.

repentance and reform timed to anticipate or blunt the for-e of

a lawsuit offer insufficient assurance that the practices senght to

be enjoined will not be repeated.” Rowe v. General Motors Corp.,

457 F.2d 348, 359 (5th Cir. 1972). Tiere the reeerd shows that

the defendant had decided to vse a similar verbal aptitude test

to hire new candidates in 1973, but that this decision was revoked

only upon being notified that this suit was to be filed. “he Per.

sonnel Director of the defendants testified at lenzth at the tria!

—and he acknowledeed that as carly as 1969 he was severe of

the diseriminatery impact of the aptitude test, and that ho had

recommended changes in reerujiment. but thet nothing was done

on these recommendations. He further testisted that the only ve.

sen the aptitude test wesn't used in 1973 was due te this srit,

This record hardly supports the view that loft to their own

deviees the defendants will devise on ffirmative action program

as effective as that of the district court's. We emphasized that

this was not a close case, in the sense that the disproportion

between minority candidates hired and the preportion of minority

persons in the L.A. community was not erossly out of preor.

tion. In a community of 28.50% minority population, only 3.56

of the candidates hired were Macks or Mexican-Americans. These

data are hardly persuasive evidence of the defendants’ eowl faith

—ven were such good faith relevant in fochienine relief.17

In sum, we believe the district court was wholly justifed jy;

deciding to impose affirmative hiring orders upon the deferda:'.

While it should be obvious to all, we pevertheless repent the

admonition that methine said by this court is to he taken n« a

requirement that the defendants hire anv unqualified ann). ant

for the performanes of these esseutial ihe.

AFFIRMED in part and PEVERSED in part and PE.

MANDED for reconsideration not inconsistent with this oninion.

In Grices v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424, 432 (1971), a Title

VIT ease, the Supreme Court rejected ood faith as a defense—

“Comwrress directed the thrust of the Act to the consequences of the

cmplovment practices, aot siaply the motiation.” We believe «rw

frith is equally inapplicable to §1981.

County of Los Angeles, et al., ete. 13

WALLACE, Cireuit Judge, Dissenting:

I respectfully dissent.

Discrimination in employment based upon race, erced or color

is a practice inconsistent with the views and aspirations of nearly

all Americans and elearly repugnant to the principles upon

which our society is built. But even in rooting out such an evil

practice, we are bound by certain procedural and jurisdictional

limitations which may serve to protect the rights of others.

I think it is clear from the record that the plaintiffs’ chal-

lenges to two of the three alleged illegal employment practices

are barred by such a jurisdictional limitation: the named plain-

tiffs have no standing to attack the defendants’ pre-1971 hiring

procedures or the height limitation. While the plaintiffs may

nevertheless have standing to challenge the post-1971 proeedures,

I question whether the imposition of minority hiring quotas is

warranted given the limited scope of this issue. Because this is

a question which should be resolved in the first instanee by the

trial judge, however, I would reverse and remand for reconsidera-

tion of the appropriate remedy in light of the limited standing of

the plaintiffs in this case.

I. Standing to Challenge the Pre-1971 Written Tests

The district court held and the majority affirms that the

plaintiffs made out a prima facie case of employment discrimina-

tion by proving that at the time the complaint was filed in

1973, only 3.3 pereent of the firemen employ.d by the defendants

were black or Mexican-American despite the fact thac those

minorities aceounted for approximately 29.1 percent! of the

population of Los Angeles County. These employme.. statistics

are necessarily the result of the defendants’ pre-1971 hiring

practices since no firemen were hired thereafter until the com-

plaint was filed. As the undisputed evidence showed, however,

these procedures were abandoned in 1971 in an effort to correct

the fire department’s racial imbalance. None of the named plain-

tiffs made application before October 1971. Given these facts,

the standing question is simple. Even in cases of racial dis-

crimination, a showing of injury in fact or threat of injury

'The district eourt found that 10.8 percent of the population of Les

Angeles County was black and 18.3 percent Mexican-American.

14 Van Davis, et al. vs.

in facet from the allegedly illegal conduct is necessary in order

to find standing. Moose Lodye No. 107 v. Irvis, 407 U.S. 163,

166-68 (1972). Neither named plaintiffs nor members of the

plaintiff class have suffered or were threatened with any injury

in fact from the pre-October 1971 hiring procedures and thev

therefore have no standing to litigate the legality of those

procedures,

The majority attempts to surmount this standing problem by

arguing that the effects of the pre-1971 proceedures continued

until after the plaintiffs applied for employment in October

1971. I cannot accept this argument.

The villain of the pre-1971 procedures was a discriminatory

written test used as a ranking device, All hiring was done from

an eligibility list which was the final product of an examination

process. The process began with the written test and a physical

agility test and the top scorers were then selected for oral inter-

views. A total seore was given cach applicant, with the dis-

eriminatory written test having a 35 pereent weighted value. The

highest ranking candidates were certified for placement on the

eligibility list from which vacancies were filled. When the list

was exhausted, which usually happened in about two years, a

new examination process would begin in order to prodnee a

new eligibility list.

The last of these examination processes was initiated in 1969

by the administration of the discriminatory written test. The

majority at page 4, ante, states that the distriet eourt found that

the “1969 examination had continuing effect.” The district court's

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law do not support the

majority’s statement. The district court’s language, fairly read,

establishes what no member of the panel disputes: discrimination

in 1969 and years prior thereto resulted in a “currently existing

racial imbalance in the workforee of the Los Angeles County

Fire Department.’? That language does not establish that the

discriminatory 1969 examination, or any prior diseriminatory

practice, adversely affected or “injured in fact” any of the

named plaintiffs in their efforts to seeure employment. Further,

it is apparent from the first page of the Findings of Fact and

— — eee

_ — ———ee ee ee

*See footnote 5a of the majority opinion.

County of Los Angeles, et al., etc. 15

Conclusions of Law that they were prepared by the attorneys

representing the class plaintiffs. Thus, even if there were a find-

ing as suggested by the majority, a careful examination of the

record must be made to determine whether it would be supported.

See United States v. El Paso Natural Gas Co., 376 U.S. 651,

656-57 (1964); Nissho-Iwai Co. v. Star Bulk Shipping Co., 503

F.2d 596 (9th Cir. 1974).

The supposed continuing effect of the 1969 examination appar-

ently stems from the belief that the pool of applicants produced

by this examination somchow affected the named plaintiffs’

chances of being hired. However, the evidence does not support

such a finding, even if made. I find nothing in the reeord

indicating how many firemen were hired in the years 1970-72.

There is a stipulation that there normally are 100 firemen hired

per year. There is also testimony that the 1969 examination

produced a 187-applicant cligibility list. But there were no find-

ings made on hirings.

These facts may support a finding (if made) that some firemen

were hired from the 1969 test list after January 11, 1970, and

obviate the statute of limitations problem. But projections from

these facts do not support a finding (which was never made)

that any applicants from the 1969 examination list were hired

after October 1971 when the named plaintiffs applicd or, more

importantly, after the January 1972 test when they became

eligible for oral interviews and eventual certification for appoint-

ment. Indeed, assuming 100 hirings per year, the 187-applicant

1969 list would have been exhausted some time in early 1971.

The only other evidence in the record, though meager, supports

this view of the facts. First, Mr. Nesvig, the Los Angeles County

Personnel Director, was asked why in December 1972 they

decided to interview only the top 544 scorers on the 1972 test

even though\they knew that would have a disproportionate

detrimental effect on minorities. His response was: “We were

desperate, in my opinion. ... We had geue for almost two years

[i.e., sinee carly 1971] with many vacancies ... .” Later, Mr.

Barlow, Chief Deputy Engineer and the number two man in the

Los Angeles County Fire Department, was asked why they had

not had any affirmative action since 1971. His response: “We

did not have a list to hire off of. and our first class off of this [the

16 Van Davis, et al. vs.

current] list, which examination [meaning the entire process

from initial application to eligibility list] started in 1971, .. .

was not started until April 9 [1973].”

Thus I think it clear that the pre-1971 procedures had no

impact on the named plaintiffs in this ease. They therefore have

no standing to challenge those proeedures and the district court

did not have jurisdiction to consider the results of those

examinations.

Il. The Challenge to the Post-1971 Procedures

As noted above, prior to acecpting applications for a new

examination procedure in 1971, the entire procedure was changed.

Since the named plaintiffs’ applications were processed under

these new procedures, they clearly have standing to litigate the

legality of these procedures. Given the limited seope of the claim,

however, I question the appropriateness of the sweeping injune-

tive relief granted.

The new procedures were to be as follows. Written tests were

to be eliminated as a ranking device, but beeause of the large

number of applicants (3500) and the relatively few job openings

(33), some method had to be adopted to limit the number of

applicants interviewed. Thus a new written test was designed in

an attempt to eliminate cultural bias. The test was to be given

and graded on a pass-fail basis for the sole purpose of sereening

out illiterates. Five hundred of the passing applicants were to be

selected at random for oral interviews. This method eliminated

the written test as a ranking devier and gave every passing

applicant an equal opportunity to be chosen for an oral interview.

Ninety-seven pereent of the applicants passed the written test;

1,885 were white, 170 black and 283 Mexican-American. The

passing applicants were to be ranked solely on the basis of the

results of the physical agility test and the oral interviews.

After administration of the written test, but before the random

selection could be made, a lawsuit was filed in state court against

the county, charging that the random selection process violated

provisions of the county charter and civil serviee regulations

requiring that selection for oral interviews be made on merit.

The county was enjoined from using this method pending trial

County of Los Angeles, et al., etc. 17

on the merits. As a result, the examination process was halted

for over two years and no interviews or physical tests were

given and no eligibility list was certified.

As vacancies inereased, the county fire department urged that

the applicants, who by this time had been waiting for almost

18 months, be interviewed and an cligibility list certified. In

desperation, the county Department of Personnel proposed to

interview those applicants who had received the top 544 scores

on the 1972 written test. Of this number, 492 were white, 10

black and 33 Mexican-American. The applicants were not to be

runked on the basis of the test results, however, and the inter-

views were not intended to climinate the remaining applicants

from consideration. The purpose was solely to expedite the hiring

of sufficient firemen to meet the immediate, urgent requirements

of the fire department.

The plaintiffs herein objected to this proposal. Upon learning

of the complaint about to be filed in this action, the Director

of Personnel abandoned the plan and implemented a new pro-

ecdure whereby all of the passing applicants would be inter-

viewed. The interviews commenced on January 20, 1973.

The plaintiffs filed this civil rights action naming as defend-

ants the County of Los Angeles, the Board of Supervisors of the

county and the Civil Service Commission. The complaint alleged

racial diserimination in violation of 42 U.S.C. §§ 1981 and 1983.

The defendants completed interviewing all of the applicants by

the end of March 1973 and certified an eligibility list. Of the

ft top 315 applicants on this list, 210 were white, 39 black, 59

Mexican-American and 7 of other races (a total of 33.5 percent

minorities). It was conceded by the plaintiffs that this examina-

tion and ranking procedure did not have a discriminatory impact

on blacks and Mexican-Americans.

At the conclusion of the trial, the distriet court specifically]

found that the defendants had not interfered with affirmative |

action efforts designed to increase black and Mexican-American |

participation rates and that, to the contrary, several officials had

engaged in efforts designed to increase minority representation |

in the fire department. The court further found that neither

the defendants nor their officials had engaged in employment }

18 Van Davis, et al. vs.

practices with a willful or conseious purpose of exeluding blacks

and Mexican-Americans from employment.

The court concluded, however, that the defendants had failed

to take the necessarv affirmative action to overeome the existence

in the minority community of a diseriminatory reputation and

had engaged in the discriminatory employment practice of

utilizing as a selection device non-validated written tests that had

a disproportionate detrimental impact on blacks and Mexiean-

Americans. I agree with the majority that the subjective dis-

eriminatory reputation of the fire department cannot be the

basis of a valid section 1981 elaim.

The challenge to the use of the 1972 written test as a selection

device is appropriate under section 1981. The claim is not

mooted by the decision, prompted by the filing of this lawsuit.

not to use the written test as a svlection deviee but instead to

interview all the applicants. United States v. W.T. Grant Co.,

345 U.S. 629, 632-33 (1953). There is nothing per se wrong

with written employment tests: violation of section 1981 occurs

only when the test is found to have a disproportionate detri-

mental impact on a minority group and has not been sufficiently

validated as reasonably related to job performanee. Sce Griggs v.

Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424 (1971). Ilere, the district eourt

found that the 1972 test violated the Griggs standard and T

cannot conclude that the finding was clearly erroncous.

Even if the plaintiffs have established a section 1981 violation

with respect to the defendants’ use of the 1972 written test

results, however, that violation «ives not neeessarily justify the

imposition of minority hiring quotas on the defendants. The use

of quotas must be carefully weighed. As the Supreme Court

stated in Griggs:

Congress did not intend by Title VIL [and inferentially by

section 1981], however, to guarantee a job to every person

regardless of qualifications. In short, the Act does not

command that any person be hired simply heeause he was

formerly the subject of diserimination, or beeause he is a

member of a minority group. Diseriminatory preference for

any group, minority or majority, is preeisely and only what

Congress has proseribed. What is required by Congress is

the removal of artifieial, arbitrary, and unnecessary barriers

County of Los Angeles, et al., etc. 19

to employment when the barriers operate invidiously to dis-

eriminate on the basis of racial or other impermissible

classification.

Id. at 430-31.

In this ease the trial judge ordered that 20 pereent of all

newly-hired firemen be black and that 20 percent be Mexican-

American, compared to the respective proportions of those mi-

norities in the population of 10.8 percent and 18.3 percent.

Imposition of this hiring quota may well result in diserimina-

tion against cqually or better qualified applicants solely on

account of their race. Here, for example, a native American

Indian, Asian-American, ITungarian-American or Polish-American

may not be hired in order to provide a job for a black or

Mexican-American. While quotas are sometimes necessary to

correct past discrimination against certain groups, the possible

prejudicial effects on others must be weighed closely by the

district court.’

Thus, in a reeent case very similar

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.