Petition — National Commission on Egg Nutrition v. Federal Trade Commission

Supreme Court brief1978

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

-

~ Supreme Court, U. &

FILED

APR 28 1978

MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CL

No. 7771551

3n the

Supreme Court of the Anited States

Octroser Term, 1977

NATIONAL COMMISSION ON EGG NUTRITION,

Petitioner,

vs.

FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

James L. Fox

Donatp P. CoLLeTon

Counsel for Petitioner.

Of Counsel:

Moses, Grsnons, ABRAMSON

& Fox

One East Wacker Drive

Chicago, Illinois 60601

(312) 644-8500

ann esis aletionteiaisieneieiinsiidaeteaniaieaadisaeaemiideaa ema

The Scheffer Press, Inc.—(312) 263-6850

INDEX

PAGE

Citations of Opinion Below ............:.c.cccccscsscssssssssessssesseees 1

Fh Ge I ccerenectateseciteincitniibceciaisttiniinion 2

ED SINE - crcinisassccnnitnenerereestecrininintnacisdcseninntieginnes 2

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved ...... 3

Ie WEE TUE CD cicercscesssinsinibnttoteidinsctnasetemeniionienns 3

Reasons for Granting the Wit .0...........:cccccccseesseeeeees 9

Be ID. cassnceseocensreeechsinesitcseniatidiiniotdnbiaenidicantnnbateas 10

ee nn eliaiedisiiadietieadiiaindaddadainids 21

UNNI. sseensaisnisshiciansstdesebbsceaiioceiteemeiehiadiailiibdadabasinlaneanadeiabiaienei 28

Appendix

Opinion of the Federal Trade Commission,

TE, Cts - NEY ‘eeiicapsicetcasdtenrserrieciastdethiiaiaicetdarcbiciaiataniliains la

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Cireuit, As Amended December

6, 1977, Supplemental Opinion FTC’s Motion

to Amend Judgment January 23, 1978 ............. 47a

Chicago Sun Times publication

SR Uk HIE chitdsdiisnseddiebsosteresucinienteinanitinibenbinceensse 7la

Chicago Daily News

SE TE SENUETT diideiniccissenneceesernicacininianasininedenes 72a

Chicago Daily News

SEE Tei EEE. ceneradceavsebdieaipatincenlindecbenbinidtensiebdinenintlicditi 74a

Chicago Tribune

SEITEN? TEL: TITIES sctestsieiceisicbniniepiiacliaisibitdsantenbicastiiaiamans 76a

II TID accsiansetecesntsecninnermnnseiiinienintedatanossicnensies 78a

ii

PAGE

Cases Crrep

Bates vy. State Bar of Arizona, ........ Us” sdebitiens 53

s & F © * ff) 5 een 12,19

Beneficial Corp. and Beneficial Managements Corp. v.

FTC, 542 F.2d 611, 619-620 (3rd Cir. 1976), cert.

denied, 430 U.S. 983 (1977) ......cccsccsesseeeees 10, 11, 16, 18, 21

Board of Education v. Barnette, 319 U.S. 624, 633-634

CIUENUET dncscnscseshessemetniltsaddiddemasiipatedeeesninctaddbunsibsanbetidianiiiainaisidants 20

Chrysler Corp. v. FTC, 561 F.2d 357, 364 (D.C. Cir.

ee oe eee ee ae 11,19

FTC vy. Colgate-Palmolwe Co., 380 U.S. 374, 392

STSTETEED: ssesitinhdeciipniiesceciiiieenanieie itemise dunniaieasaiakteamldtnaaiencdiaden 10, 22

FTC v. Henry Brach & Co., 368 U.S. 360, 364 (1962) 10

FTC v. National Commission on Egg Nutrition, 517

F.2d 485, 490 (7th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 426 U.S.

ST GUEIITTIED sctasesitcincinblccdbiiniencelanhaondasisteiealitamlackaiilaaiainiaisieedae 22

FTC y. Ruberoid Co., 343 U.S. 470, 473 (1952)... 10

FTC vy. Simeon Management Corp., 532 F.2d 708

EN TENG SITY Susciinaseaicticstbisenietiasdanigtihicusaeimesmedeeininiiains 15, 16

FTC v. Sperry & Hutchinson Co., 405 U.S. 233, 246-

SOUT SEMI" ‘issnivicnnrebinasbetinndatiidialiiniekestubieiibiascegiet aaa, 17

Grove Laboratories vy. FTC, 418 F.2d 489, 496-497

RENEE Ae eT SA Rea Oe 11

ITT Continental Baking Co., Inc. v. FTC, 532 F.2d

SS * Ff SS eee 11

Jacob Siegel Co. v. FTC, 327 U.S. 608, 613 (1946) ...... 10

Keytshian v. Board of Regents of New York, 385 U.S.

I I NE ce 21

Miami Herald Publishing Co. v. Tornillo, 418 U.S. 241,

NRO Ee Sea OLS SER INO 20

NAACP vy. Button, 371 U.S, 415, 432 (1963) vss 27

iii

PAGE

National Dairy Products Corp. v. FTC, 412 F.2d 605,

GEB-GBE (Tt Chr. 19GB) ecececsscccveesscesecssssesseescvscsscscossssees 11

NLRB v. Pipefitters, 429 U.S. 507, 522 (1977) ........... 17

SEC v. Chenery Corp., 318 U.S. 80 (1943) .....cccccceees 17

Spiegel, Inc. v. FTC, 411 F.2d 481, 484-485 0.0... ccessees 11

U.S. v. National Society of Professional Engineers,

(D.C. Cir.), cert. granted, ........ Wa aewess (1977) .... 20

Virginia State Board of Pharmacy v. Virginia Con-

sumer Council, Inc., 425 U.S. 748 (1976)... eee

I ld alii hadeleeiilidaaie 9, 10, 12, 16, 18, 19, 23

Warner-Lambert Co. v. FTC, 562 F.2d 749 (D.C.

Cir. 1977), cert. denied, ........ - fe \ = 12

Wooley v. Maynard, 430 U.S. 705, 714-717 (1977) ........ 20

Young v. American Mini Theaters, 427 U.S. 50, 68

ERED <csnsecssesdonietesveosmnannteneiodineneotinsmmsseneatesenteerenuienecenn 12

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

AND

Sratutes CIrTep

First Amendment of the United States Constitution .... 3

Section 5(a)(1) of the Federal Trade Commission

pp 8 Ry | eevee . 68(a)

Section 12 of the Federal Trade Commission Act,

I A a stemneteinlitnaitentniiibe 70(a)

Bie | o> +

In THe

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

Ocroser Term, 1977

NATIONAL COMMISSION ON EGG NUTRITION,

Petitioner,

vs.

FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

To Tae Hownoraste Crier Justice or THe Uwnirep

Srates anp Tue Associate Justices or Tue Supreme Court

or Tue Unirep Srates:

Petitioner respectfully prays that a writ of certiorari

issue to review the judgment and opinion of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit entered

November 29, 1977 and supplemented on January 23, 1978.

OPINIONS BELOW

After filing its complaint in this matter, the Federal

Trade Commission sought and was denied a temporary

injunction in the District Court pending the completion

—

of the administrative proceeding. The Court of Appeals

reversed. 517 F2d 485 (7th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 426

U.S. 919 (1976). The opinion of the District Court has

not been reported officially but appears unofficially at

1975-1 CCH Tradecases 960,246 (N.D. Ill. 1974).

The decisions of the administrative law judge and the

Federal Trade Commission on the merits are reported

at 88 F.T.C. 84 (1976). The decision of the Seventh

Cireuit on appeal and the supplement thereto — the

subjects of this petition — are officially reported at 570

F2d 157 (7th Cir. 1978).

JURISDICTION

The Court of Appeals rendered its judgment and opin-

ion on November 29, 1977 and issued its supplemental

opinion on January 23, 1978. On February 18, 1978,

Mr. Justice Stevens extended the time in which petitioner

might file a writ for a petition of certiorari to and in-

cluding April 28, 1978. This petition is filed within the

time allowed. Jurisdiction of the Court is invoked under

28 U.S.C. §$1254(1). Jurisdiction of the Court of Appeals

was based on §5(c) of the Federal Trade Commission

Act, 15 U.S.C. $45(e).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

(1) Whether the Court of Appeals abridged Petition-

er’s First Amendment rights and exceeded the remedial

powers under the Federal Trade Commission Act:

a) in forbidding all truthful, nondeceptive utterance on

the important public controversy about dietary cholesterol

and its possible relation to heart disease unless accom-

panied by judicially prescribed “corrective” statements:

b) in mandating an additional statement which seeks

—

to present as true the government’s opinion on the un-

settled diet-heart disease controversy when a more neutral

form of statement would remedy the evil found by the

Commission; and ¢) in mandating the use of additional

statements for “corrective” purposes for an unlimited

period of time.

(2) Whether the Court of Appeals abridged Peti-

tioner’s First Amendment rights in failing to delineate:

a) what speech must be accompanied by the forms of

additional statements it has mandated and b) what speech

may be uttered without any additional statement.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The First Amendment of the United States Constitu-

tion provides in relevant part:

“Congress shall make no law . . . abridging the free-

dom of speech, or of the press. .. .”

Sections 5(a)(1) and (ce) and 12 of the Federal Trade

Commission Act, 15 USC §45(a)(1) and 52 are set forth

in the Appendix.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Late in 1973 the National Commission on Egg Nutrition

(NCEN),' a not-for-profit corporation formed by five

members of the egg industry, published in the New York

Times and the Wall Street Journal what the Federal

Trade Commission (the Commission) found to be “the

honestly-held views” of NCEN members, App. 5a, that

‘This petition is also filed on behalf of Richard Weiner,

Ine., a co-respondent in the proceeding before the Com-

mission.

a

“there is no scientific evidence that eating eggs increases

the risk of heart disease.”** The Commission challenged

this and several ancillary statements in these publications

under the Federal Trade Commission Act (the Act).

An administrative proceeding followed in which the evi-

dence showed a division among reputable scientists on

the truth of NCEN’s principal statement, NCEN’s experts

testifying that the data offered against eggs would “not

convince anybody” that egg consumption was harmful

to health. App. 15a. On appeal, the Commission found

that “medical experts disagree” as to the relationship

of diet to heart disease. App. 20a. It “expressed no view

as to the merits” of the question, App. 38a, and declined

“to determine ... whose interpretation [of the research

regarding eggs and heart disease] . . . is superior.” App.

12a.

However, the Commission also found that NCEN’s

principal statement, expressed without qualification, might

* Hereafter referred to as NCEN’s principal statement.

*Petitioner’s publications do not raise the difficult

remedial questions surrounding long repeated misleading

advertising themes. See Warner-Lambert Co. v. FTC, 562

F.2d 749 (D.C. Cir. 1977), cert. denied, ........ el. concen

(1978). In this ease Petitioner’s principal statement

appeared in three issues each of the Wall Street Journal

and New York Times some four and one-half years ago

and was repeated by others in a few local papers during

the following six months. Aside from this, some point

of purchase material, a booklet and a display board,

used largely during the same period, the only repetition

given Petitioner’s principal statement has been in the

publications shown in the appendix published in Chicago

newspapers on January 9 and April 13 and 14, 1975.

The law judge found these publications “may warrant

First Amendment protection.” App. 60a.

ea la ly ll <A thle: tea ll ila encase Seie $a Na LN A A A NT GTS a A ie AR ~

oialiiids

also be interpreted to deny the existence of studies from

which qualified experts might reasonably hypothesize that

eating eggs does in fact increase the risk of heart disease.

App. 12a-13a, 17a-18a. The Commission concluded that

such an interpretation of NCEN’s principal statement

would be false and misleading and hence a violation of

the Act.* Id.

Notably, both the administrative law judge and the

Commission failed to predicate liability on several post

1973 publications, found also to make NCEN’s principal

statement, in which NCEN variously criticized govern-

mental action, App. 73a, 75a, reported the 1974 findings

of a panel of British experts on the subject of eggs and

heart disease, App. 7la-75a, and certain current research

findings and opinions in the diet-heart disease field. Jd.

The law judge said these materials “may warrant First

Amendment protection,” App. 60a, and the Commission

agreed, with the qualification that the materials are not

necessarily non-commercial. App. 40a-41a.

In its order the Commission enjoined NCEN from

making its principal statement when made unqualifiedly

but permitted it if accomplished by a disclosure that:

“many medical experts believe that existing evidence

indicates that increased consumption of dietary

cholesterol, including that in eggs, may increase the

risk of heart disease.” App. 45a.

More generally, the order forbade any representation

concerning the relationship between dietary cholesterol

and heart disease unless accompanied by the same dis-

*The Commission further found that the challenged

ancillary statements, most of which NCEN denied making

but whose falsity was not contested, violated the Act.

—

closure. Id. Further, the order forbade any statement

which represents as “insignificant” the available scientific

evidence that dietary cholesterol including that in eggs

may increase the risk of heart attack or misrepresents

the “amount” of scientific evidence that eating eggs

does not increase the risk of heart attack. 7d. Finally,

the order forbade the making of NCEN’s ancillary state-

ments. App. 43a-44a.

On appeal NCEN contended: (1) that the order was

unconstitutionally overbroad in that it forbade not solely

deceptive speech on eggs and heart disease but also a

wide range of truthful utterance on the subject unless

accompanied by governmentally mandated partisan state-

ment not required to forestall deception or misleading

connotation; and (2) that the order was unconstitution-

ally vague in failing adequately to delineate a) the cir-

cumstances under which NCEN’s principal statement

would be forbidden and, in light of the ruling of the law

judge and the Commission on NCEN’s post 1973 publica-

tions, App. 7la-75a, would not become a predicate for

a finding of violation; and b) how, in the face of an

admitted scientific controversy as to whether the data

offered against eggs are significant at all, NCEN was

to know when it was offending the injunction not to

represent the “insignificance” of anti-egg evidence and

not to misrepresent the “amount” of pro-egg evidence.

To illustrate its contentions of overbreadth and vagueness

of the order, NCEN attached to its appeal brief its most

current publication (dated January, 1976, App. 76a-77a)

and suggested that although it was plainly non-deceptive,

without further definition in the order no reasonable man

could determine whether it violated the order provisions.

ee ee ee

—

In its November 29, 1977 decision the Court of Appeals

addressed NCEN’s contention that truthful, non-mislead-

ing speech cannot be burdened under the circumstances

of this case by saying:

“(T jhe challenged condition on the right to make

an assertion that is not deceptive does not meet [the

constitutional test in that it] . . . would require

NCEN to argue the other side of the controversy,

thus interferring unnecessarily with the effective

presentation of the pro-egg position”. App. 62a-68a.

The court, however, then went on to prescribe a new form

of additional statement for use with nondeceptive speech

on the diet-heart subject, namely:

“that there is a controversy among the experts and

NCEN is presenting its side of that controversy.”

App. 68a.

The Commission-formulated statement was retained for

speech commenting on “the state of the available evidence

or information concerning the controversy.” Id.

Only in its January 23, 1978 Supplemental Opinion,

as NCEN continued to argue that on the record in this

ease truthful, non-misleading speech could not constitu-

tionally be conditioned on the making of any added

message, did the court intimate the basis for the order

overbreadth challenged by NCEN:

“we are entitled to asswme that . . . enough taint

[from NCEN’s conduct] remains to justify .. . cor-

rective advertising”. App. 64a.

The Court acknowledged it was making this assumption

even though the Commission had made no finding or

suggestion whatever regarding any continuing effect of

NCEN’s past statements with respect to future truthful

statements. Id.

—

The Court found NCEN’s vagueness contentions to be

without merit and hence did not disturb the Commission

order in this connection. App. 60a-62a. At tie same time,

however, the court declined to say whether NCEN’s post-

1973 publications are permissible under the order and

declined to give any guidance as to how, by or from what

NCEN was to determine what measure of significance

the Court had in mind in prohibiting representations

that evidence against eggs is “insignificant” or as to

what “amount” the Court had in mind in forbidding

misrepresentation of the “amount” of pro-egg evidence.

The Court also gave no hint whether NCEN’s January

1976 publication, App. 75a-77a, was forbidden or permitted

under its order or how NCEN was reasonably to make

that determination.

The Commission’s order, as modifiied and enforced by

the Court of Appeals in its January 23 Supplemental

Opinion, is set out below in relevant part.°

*Part B of the Court's order forbids any advertisement

which:

“1. Represents that eating eggs does not increase

the risk of heart attacks ... or...”

“2. Makes any representation concerning the relation-

ship of dietary cholesterol, including that in

eggs, to heart attacks. . .”

“unless it is clearly and conspicuously disclosed .. .

there is a controversy among medical experts con-

cerning the relationship of dietary cholesterol, in-

cluding that in eggs, to heart disease, and that

respondents are presenting their side of that econ-

troversy.”

+s! C of the Court’s order forbids any advertisement

which:

“1. Represents that there exists, or describes,

scientifie evidence which supports the theory

that consumption of dietary cholesterol, including

=

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case, one of first impression, presents the im-

portant federal question of concern to all commercial

advertisers of whether under the teachings of Virginia

State Board of Pharmacy vy. Virginia Consumer Council,

Inc., 425 U.S. 748 (1976) truthful, nonmisleading com-

mercial speech on matters of genuine scientific contro-

versy can be constitutionally conditioned on the making

of government prescribed “corrective” statements when

the record does not show and the Commission did not

allege or establish that such corrective statements are

necessary to prevent the speech in question from being

deceptive or misleading. At issue is not merely Petition-

er’s right to express itself truthfully and without govern-

ment interference on the cholesterol/heart disease con-

* (Continued)

that in eggs, does not increase the risk of heart

attacks. . .”

“2. Makes any representation concerning the state

of the available evidence or information concern-

ing the relationship of dietary cholesterol, in-

eluding that in eggs, to heart attacks. . .”

“unless it is clearly and conspicuously disclosed . . .

that many medical experts believe that existing

evidence indicates that increased consumption of

dietary cholesterol, including that in eggs, may in-

crease the risk of heart disease.”

ts My of the Court’s order forbids any advertisement

which :

“1. Represents as insignificant the available scientific

evidence that the consumption of dietary choles-

terol, including that in eggs, may increase the

risk of heart attacks . . . or otherwise misrepre-

sents the amount of scientific evidence that eating

eggs does not increase the risk of heart

attacks. .. .” App. 65a-68a.

—_— =

troversy, but the more general question of whether the

important societal interests advanced by vigorous truth-

ful expression in the mercantile world especially on

matters of scientific importance can flourish if govern-

ment is free to inhibit or forbid that expression without

reasonable cause. Resolution of this issue by this court

is also needed because there is a split hetween the Seventh

Cireuit in this case and the Third Cireuit® regarding

the First Amendment limitations on remedial orders of

the Commission in light of Virginia Board.

This case also presents the important federal question,

not heretofore decided by this court, of what degree of

vagueness is constitutionually permissible in remedial or-

ders of the Commission in light of Virginia Board.

I.

OVERBREADTH

While as a matter of statutory authority the Commis-

sion has wide discretion in fashioning orders, FTC v.

Colgate-Palmolive Co., 380 U.S. 374, 392 (1965), this court

has consistently stated that the Act authorizes only rem-

edies designed to prevent future repetition of conduct

found to be unlawful, FTC v. Henry Broch & Co., 368

U.S. 360, 364 (1962); FTC v. Ruberoid Co., 343 U.S. 470,

473 (1952) and that remedies must have a ‘‘reasonable

relation’’ to the offending practice. Jacob Siegel Co. v.

FTC, 327 U.S. 608, 613 (1946). Under this construction,

lower courts have repeatedly trimmed back Commission

orders which are so broad as to outlaw legitimate speech

° Beneficial Corp. v. FTC, 542 F.2d 611 (3rd Cir. 1976),

cert. denied, 430 U.S. 983 (1977).

—_—

or proscribe expression other than that which if continued

would directly aid in continuing the violation found.

Spiegel, Inc. v. FTC, 411 F 2d 481, 484-485 (7th Cir.

1969); ITT Continental Baking Co., Inc. v. FTC, 532 F

2d 207, 221-222 (2nd Cir. 1969); National Dairy Products

Corp. v. FTC, 412 F 2d 605, 623-624 (7th Cir. 1969);

Grove Laboratories v. FTC, 418 F 2d 489, 496-497 (5th

Cir. 1969).

With the demise of the commercial speech exception to

the First Amendment, the limitation on the Commission’s

remedial powers has engendered the requirement, as a

matter of First Amendment concern, that the remedy

for a violation of the Act be closely related to prevention

of future violations and not needlessly restrict lawful

utterance.

‘*!Djoubtless the Commission’s broad construction

of its §5 remedial authority cannot survive the demise

of the commercial speech exception to the first amend-

ment...

“The Commission, like any governmental agency,

must start from the premise that any prior restraint

is suspect, and that a remedy, even for deceptive ad-

vertising, can go no further than is necessary for the

elimination of the deception.’’ Beneficial Corp. and

Beneficial Managements Corp. v. FTC, 542 F 2d 611,

619-620 (3rd Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 430 U.S. 983

(1977).

See also Chrysler Corp. v. FTC, 561 F 2d 357, 364 (D.C.

Cir. 1977) in which the court deleted ‘‘sweeping pro-

hibitions’’ which were ‘‘potentially limitless’’ and lack-

ing in ‘rational justification’’. As a consequence the

Commission’s discretion in formulating remedies is more

circumscribed today and courts now have a distinctly

=—

heightened duty to assure that the remedy chosen does

not exceed the constitutional limit.

A.

Petitioner’s first overbreadth challenge, following directly

from these principles, is that the First Amendment for-

hids corrective advertising where the ‘‘corrective’’ state-

ment is not reasonably needed to prevent speech covered

by the order from being decentive or misleading.

Nothwithstanding, that the Commission found only a

few representations dealing with this immensely broad

scientific topic to be misleading, Parts B and C of the

order patently forbid virtually all discussion by Petitioner

on the diet/heart disease controversy, certainly all discus-

sion as to eggs and heart disease, unless accompanied by

one of two additional statements ordered by the govern-

ment. No question is raised here as to the power consti-

tutionally to condition the utterance of these few repre-

sentations or those reasonably related thereto upon the

making of some appropriate additional statement without

which they will mislead. Virginia State Board of Phar-

macy v. Virginia Consumer Council, Inc., 425 U.S. 748,

771-772, n.24 (1976): Young v. American Mini Theaters,

427 U.S. 50, 68 (1976); Bates v. State Bar of Arizona,...

U.S... . 53 L Ed. 2d 810, 835-836 (1977) ; Warner-Lambert

Co. v. FTC, 562 F.2d 749 (D.C. Cir. 1977) cert. denied, . ..

U.S. .. . (1978).

Parts B and C, however, reach far beyond the statements

challenged by the Commission and needlessly sweep within

their prohibition an almost unlimited variety of accurate,

nondeteptive scientific discussion on the diet-heart disease

'

2 EEEEE———eoO

=

question. It is the restraint of such discussion, illus-

trated in the footnote,’ which Petitioner challenges here.

* Petitioner posed some of the following illustrations

to the Court of Appeals:

(1) A researcher from the University of Missouri

has recently disseminated an in-press report of an

experiment accepted for publication in the American

Journal of Clinical Nutrition in which whole fresh

ege was added to the diet of 60 men for 12 weeks

and thereafter excluded from their diets for the

same period and in which a second group of 60 men

ate no visible eggs for 12 weeks and thereafter for a

similar period ate one egg daily. The report con-

cludes :

“The findings of this study suggest a high in-

dividual variability of response ... There was

a lack of significant association of change in

sCHOL [serum cholesterol] with dietary intake

of egg and of dietary CHOL itself. These results

are relevant to changes in the national diet cur-

rently recommended to lower sCHOL and [serum

triglycerides] of normal adults. The study sug-

gests that the indiscriminate exclusion of eggs

may prove to be a useless measure’’. Porter,

M.W. et al, Effect of Dietary egg on Serum Choles-

terol and Triglycerides of Human Males.

(2) A somewhat similar egg feeding experiment was

recently reported in the literature, Slater, G et al,

Plasma Cholesterol and Triglycerides in Men with

Added Eagqs in the Diet, Nutrition Reports Interna-

tional, Vol. 14, No. 3 (September 1976). The vounger

men in the study were thought to be in better than

average health and of them the report states:

‘*fT]t would appear that these healthy voung men

have mechanisms that can metabolize from 340

to 790 mg. of cholesterol per day over an eight

week period without any effect on either the plas-

ma cholesterol or triglyceride levels.’’

(3) Dr. Peter N. Herbert, Head, Section of Lipo-

protein Structure Molecular Disease Branch. National

Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute in late October,

1976 submitted to the Federal Trade Commission in

=

None of this requires any further disclosure, much less

that required by the order, to assure that it will not

mislead or deceive. On its face, each statement is literally

true and devoid of any connotation which is or might be

misleading. Yet because of the overbreadth of Parts B

* (Continued )

connection with hearings on a proposed trade regula-

tion rule a brief description of egg feeding experimen-

tation with humans. He concluded:

** These studies suggest that the total interdiction

of egg yolks in diets of hypercholesterolemics—

recommended by ourselves and others—is not

appropriate. ’’

(+) ‘‘Scientists disagee as to the extent to which a

reduction in cholesterol consumption will affect levels

of blood cholesterol’’, .

(5) ‘**Cholesterol, either from the diet or produced

by the body, is one of the constituents of every cell

including cells in the heart muscle.’ ;

(6) **Today, among some heart-research scientists,

theory is developing that particles in the blood which

carry cholesterol (as distinguished from the mere

level of total cholesterol in the blood) may provide

valuable information about the origins of heart

disease.’’

(7) ‘**Heart disease seems to be multifactorial in that

many suspected factors may contribute to the pro-

blem.”’

(8) **Some evidence is emerging that, at least for

some people, increases in dietary cholesterol do not

necessarily translate into increases in serum choles-

terol.’’

(9) **There is a bio-mechanism in man which regu-

lates the body’s syntheseis of cholesterol and sestumted

dietary cholesterol seems to have some influence on

the operation of that mechanism.”’’

(10) **A number of studies by researchers learned

in the field have suggested that the serum choles-

terol elevating effect of dietary cholesterol is signifi-

cantly less than that of some saturated fatty acids.”’

i a ee eee

= =

and C,* each is forbidden unless accompanied by a govern-

ment dictated recitation.

The Court's sole justification for this plain overbreadth,

seemingly added as an afterthought in the Court’s January

23rd Supplemental Opinion, is a supposed need for cor-

rective advertising:

“The past cannot be totally ignored . . . Concrete

evidence of past effects is likely to be difficult and

expensive, if not impossible to obtain in most adver-

tising cases, Even though such evidence is not present,

the FTC is entitled to draw reasonable inferences as

to the effects deceptive statements are likely to have

had upon consumers. Although the weight we can

give to these effects in the present case is limited

by the absence of any findings by the FTC on the

subject, we are at least entitled to asswme that many

persons interested in the egg-cholesterol question have

read NCEN’s advertisements, as it was intended they

should, and that therefore enough taint remains to

justify the limited corrective advertising order we

have approved.’’ App. 64a.

Corrective advertising, however, would be constitutional-

ly offensive here for several reasons. First, the record

contains no evidence’ whatever that there is a lingering

*See note 5, supra.

*In Warner-Lambert Co. v. FTC, 562 F.2d 749 (D.C.

Cir. 1977), cert. denied, ........ § (1978), the only

Court of Appeals decision to approve corrective adver-

tising of the kind involved here, the Court stressed re-

peatedly that future ads would have an inherently decep-

tive tendency unless qualified and that support for this

conclusion was established in the record: ‘‘The disclosure

that Listerine does not relieve colds is essential informa-

tion to correct a widely held, mistaken belief which was

cultivated by petitioner’s past advertising.”’ 562 F.2d

at 759. The order in FTC v. Simeon Management Corp.,

532 F.2d 708 (9th Cire. 1976) “was set aside because

aww 16

consumer misimpression regarding the relation of dietary

cholesterol to heart disease from petitioner’s late 1973-

early 1974 statements or that consumers seeing a truth-

ful statement by Petitioner today, including truthful

statements within Part B and C such as those illustrated,

would form any incorrect belief or otherwise be misled.

(Compare FTC vy. Simeon Management Corp., 532 F 2d 708

(9th Cir. 1976) and Warner-Lambert Co. vy. FTC, supra.

Second, there is no reasonable basis within or dehors the

record to support an ‘‘assumption’’’ that corrective dis-

* (Continued)

there was no evidence that consumers seeing the adver-

tisements formed an incorrect belief or were mislead. In

short, there was nothing to correct. That is not this case.’’

Id. **Here . . . it is the accumulated impact of past ad-

vertising that necessitates disclosure in future adver-

tising.’’ Jd. at 761. **|T)he Commission adduced survey

evidence. .. We find that the... survey data and the ex-

pert testimony there constitute substantial evidence in

support of the need fer corrective advertising in this

ease.”’ Id. at 762-763. In the present case the opposite

situation is presented. Not only was no evidence adduced

that future truthful statements (other than those reason-

ably closely related to those challenged by the Commission)

would mislead without some further cleansing disclosure,

but the Commission never even pretended to venture a

presumption that such was the case.

It seems apparent that if restraint of truthful speech

can be successfully justified on a unsupported ‘‘assump-

tion’’ of the kind here made by the Court of Appeals, the

protected status of truthful commercial speech declared

in Virginia Board is minimal if it exists at all and the

Third Cireuit plainly erred in holding that ‘‘the Com-

mission’s broad construction of its §5 remedial authority

cannot survive the uemise of the commercial speech ex-

a to the First Amendment.’’ Beneficial Corp. v.

C, 542 F.2d 611, 619-620 (3rd Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 430

U.S. 983 (1977). In that case, a split in the circuits exists

regarding the impact of Virginia Board on the remedial

powers of the Commission and this provides an added

reason for this court to grant the writ.

=

closures with truthful statements by Petitioner are needed

to prevent mistaken pro-egg beliefs today. On the con-

trary, the court can take judicial notice that commercial

misstatements and misleading health claims against dietary

cholesterol and eggs crowd the market place daily, and that

if anything anti, not pro-egg statements need deception-

preventing disclosures.

The third reason that corrective advertising is imper-

missible here is that until the Court of Appeals’ January

23, 1978 Supplemental Opinion, this was not a corrective

advertising case, the government having consistently as-

serted that it was not seeking corrective relief, in Peti-

tioner’s judgment for the obvious reason that there was

no basis for it. Indeed, although on each appeal in this

ease Petitioner has argued that the orders impermissibly

proscribed much truthful, nondeceptive speech which

could stand ‘*clean’’ without further disclosure or state-

ment, the government has never sought to justify such

proscription on principles of corrective advertising. For

the Court of Appeals now to make this a corrective ad-

vertising case by ordering and assaying to justify an

extensive restraint of truthful speech on its ‘‘assumption’’

of continuing consumer misunderstanding, neither asserted

nor found by the agency nor evidenced by the record,

both exceeds the scope of that Court’s reviewing authority,

FTC vy. Sperry & Hutchinson Co; 405 U.S. 233, 246-249

(1972); NLRB vy. Pipefitters, 429 U.S. 507, 522 (1977);

SEC vy. Chenery Corp., 318 U.S. 80 (1943), and offends

the most elemental concepts of procedural fairness.

Since there is no basis for corrective advertising here,

and in the absence of such a basis the prohibition of truth-

ful, nonmisleading speech by Parts B and C of the Court

of Appeals order cannot be justified, it follows that those

— 18—

Parts exceed the remedial power granted under Section

5 of the Act and abridge petitioner’s speech rights un-

der the First Amendment. Hence they cannot stand.

B.

Petitioner’s second overbreadth challenge is that the

language of the additional statement mandated by Part

C of the order, namely

‘‘many medical experts believe that existing evidence

indicates that increased consumption of dietary choles-

terol, including that in eggs, may increase the risk

of heart attack,’’ App. 67a,

impermissibly and unnecessarily forces Petitioner to ex-

press an anti-egg position on the merits of the diet heart

disease controversy.

It is one thing to require Petitioner, when expressing its

principal statement or some other view found to be mis-

leading unless accompanied by an additional disclosure,

to state, along the lines of Part B, that the matter is con-

troversial and that petitioner is merely expressing its

opinion. See Virginia Board, supra, u.24. It is quite

another thing, however, to require an additional state-

ment which does not merely assure that the listener will

understand Petitioner’s assertions to be subject to sub-

stantial expert disagreement but goes on to represent

that the point of view of Petitioner and the reputable

experts upon whom it relies is incorrect. This latter ap-

proach is constitutionally intolerable not only because the

remedy proposed is more ‘‘than is necessary for the

elimination of the deception,’’ Beneficial Corp. v. FTC,

542 F 2d 611, 620 (3rd Cir. 1976), cert, denied, 430 U.S.

a ot me et -

== 19 ...

983 (1977), but because it effectively restrains debate" on

one” side of an admittedly unsettled scientific controversy

While it may be true that some restraints upon com-

mercial speech will not undesirably inhibit expression in

cases where the truth of the commercial message is easily

verifiable and where the utterance of the advertisement is

a necessary element of promotion of the product involved,

Virgmia Board, n.24; Bates vy. State Bar of Arizona,

supra, 53 Led.2d at 835-836, no one contends that the

extent of chill a given remedial measure will liave on

legitimate commercial utterance is not pertinent to the

constitutional inquiry. Here speech deals with highly con-

troversial matters and the Commission was unable to find

which viewpoint, as to these controversial matters, is

correct. App. 12a, 38a, 4la. Moreover, the speaker here is

not directly engaged in product promotion. Under such

circumstances, the prospect of Petitioner (or any other

commercial speaker) having unvoluntarily to espouse the

government’s side of the controversy in future truth-

ful discussion, as the additional statement in Part C

requires, will surely chill even the boldest commercial

speaker on a matter of current debate. In such a chilling

ambiance, even the strong hearted will avoid speaking to

the controversy, even though substantial new scientific in-

formation of undeniable public interest on eggs and heart

disease becomes available for report. A measure of the

chill of legitimate speech by the the partisan disclaimer

(and order vagueness, infra 21-27) in this case is the

fact that Petitioner has been constrained from publish-

ing in the media for some twenty seven months by the

prospect of a remedial disclaimer which would foree it

to argue and give credence to a side of the controversy

it and its experts believe is scientifically in error. The

depth of this chill adds force to Petitioner’s argument

that the Part C additional statement exceeds the con-

stitutional limit.

"The Part C statement is not only partisan in that it

inappropriately takes a sition on the merits

on one side of the diet-heart disease controversy

but it places petitioner at a most unfair disad-

vantage, cf. Chrysler Corp. v. FTC, 561 F 2d 357, 364

— 0) —

(in its findings of fact the Commission declined to even

say whose view was ‘‘more authoritative’? App. 4la) con-

trary to established First Amendment protection for debate

where views differ, cf Wooley vy. Maynard, 430 U.S. 705,

714-717 (1977); Miami Herald Publishing Ce. v. Tornillo,

418 U.S. 241, 256-257 (1974); Board of Education v. Bar-

nette, 319 U.S. 624, 633-634 (1943) and because it im-

properly requires Petitioner to utter an opinion it believes

to he false. U.S. v. National Society of Professional En-

gineers, 59D F 2d 978 (D.C. Cir.), cert. granted, 006.

A eaninias (1977). Significantly, nothing in the record

suggests that legitimate regulatory concerns regarding

petitioner’s discussion of the diet heart disease question

cannot be entirely satisfied by an additional statement’,

where appropriate, along the lines of Part B.

Indeed, the Court of Appeals nowhere explains why the

Part B disclosure is in any way inadequate or how the

Part C disclosure can be constitutionally compelled in

light of its express finding that:

‘*The condition in its present form [i.e. as required by

Part C| would require NCEN to argue the other side

of the controversy, thus interferring unnecessarily

with the effective presentation of the pro-egg posi-

tion. The desired preventive effect can be achieved by

requiring the disclosure that there is a controversy

* (Continued)

(D.C. Cir. 1977), since the Commission continues a broad

tolerance of anti-cholesterol advertising. ‘The Part C

statement thus seems far better suited to shield anti-

cholesterol advertisers from challenge, to drive Petitioner

from the cholesterol debate on the expectation that it will

forego publishing protected speech rather than make the

odious disclosure, and to implant in the public mind the

inessage in the partisan disclosure than to prevent decep-

tion.

=

among the experts and NCEN is presenting its side

of that controversy.’’ App. 62a-63a.

It follows that the partisan language of Part C of the

order cannot be sustained on the record of this case.

a,

Petitioner’s last overbreadth challenge is that even if

the additional statements challenged here could be required

in connection with truthful utterance to serve some limited

corrective purpose, the requirement as drawn is mani-

festly unreasonable in that it is not limited as to time or in

any other manner. Apparently the court also “assumes” that

the lingering misimpression which it “assumes” has been

created by Petitioner’s statements in late 1973 and early

1974 will continue indefinitely." Without substantial sup-

port in the record for such an unrestricted assumption, it

cannot be denied that the additional statement require-

ments of Parts B and C of the order are far more than

necessary to cure the evil at hand and hence unconstitu-

tional as well as beyond Section 5 power. Beneficial Corp.

v. FTC, swpra.

II.

VAGUENESS

There is no doubt that constitutionally permissible re-

straints on speech must be drawn with narrow specificity

so that those affected may know with reasonable certainty

what speech is being proscribed while not being forced

to avoid protected speech for fear of violating proper

orders. Keyishian v. Board of Regents of New York, 385

U.S. 589, 603-604 (1967). The prohibitions in Commission

orders must therefore be sufficiently “clear and precise”

so as “to avoid raising serious questions as to their mean-

* See note 3 supra.

_— a

ing and application.” FTC v,.Colgate-Palmoliwve Co., 380

U.S. 374, 392 (1965).

The Court of Appeals’ order is fatally imprecise in three

respects :

A.

First, the court’s decision fails to resolve the question

whether Petitioner is free in the context of publications

such as App. 7la-78a to make its principal statement and

to report new research on the diet-heart controversy with-

out government restraint.

In January and April, 1975 and in January, 1976, Peti-

tioner published in the news media the results of certain

new research and scientific opinion favorable to eggs.

App. 7la-78a. Three of these publications were found by

the Commission to make Petitioner’s principal statement.

In its first consideration of this material (except the 1976

piece) the Court of Appeals stated enigmatically that it

was granting Petitioner’s motion to incorporate such ma-

terial into the record

“because we are framing the temporary injunction, and

the recent advertising bears on the nature of the pro-

visions that should be included in that injunction.”

FTC v. National Commission on Egg Nutrition, 517

F.2d 485, 490 (7th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 426 U.S.

919 (1976).

Petitioner believed the Court was thereby indicating that

publications such as the newly incorporated copy would

not be enjoined. The administrative law judge said

somewhat more directly that the materials in question

“may warrant First Amendment protection,” App. 60a,

and accordingly declined to predicate liability upon them.

Again Petitioner took this as approval of the mode of

presentation represented in these materials. The Commis-

ee eee

=< =

sion said nothing inconsistent with the law judge’s posi-

tion, instead declaring that these materials “do not form

the basis of our finding of liability.” App. 40a. The

Court of Appeals in its November 29th decision observed

that the Commission had eliminated any confusion about

the administrative law judge’s statement by stating:

“[ We] must reject the suggestion attributed to the Ad-

ministrative Law Judge ... that [the materials just

described] are not necessarily commercial publications

The fact that the message is conveyed by means of

selected quotations from the works of scientists and

popular writers does not alter the commercial char-

acter of the publication” (App. 60a).

The issue, however, is not solely whether the publications

in question are commercial, for it is now established that

speech is not unprotected merely because it is commercial.

Virginia Board. Assuming these materials to be commer-

cial, the question remains as to whether they are pro-

tected. It is this question the Court has not clearly an-

swered.

If these materials as presented are protected, Petitioner

has an unrestrainable right to publish them, and newer

data, in the same format. The failure of the Court of Ap-

peals’ order clearly to state what circumstances will give

rise to First Amendment protection and which will not

can only deter Petitioner from protected expression such

as publishing the late 1977 official position of the Canadian

government” on the relationship of eggs to heart disease. If

“Evidence is mounting that dietary cholesterol may

not be important to the great majority of people . . . Thus,

a diet restricted in cholesterol would not be necessary to

the general population.” (App. 77a-Sla).

= =

publishing of such a statement is not protected, only a

forthright judicial holding to that effect will cure the

vagueness from which the order suffers.”

The Court of Appeals order is also intolerably vague

in that supposedly distinct classes of utterances which

must be accompanied by one or the other of the two forms

of additional statement’ in Parts B and C of the order

are so overlapping as to be nearly synonymous. As a re-

sult virtually every publication requiring the “controversy

among medical experts” statement would also require the

partisan “many medical experts believe” statement.

For example, what “representation concerning the re-

lationship between eggs and heart disease” (which under

Part B would be enjoined unless accompanied by the

“eontroversy among experts” disclosure) cannot be said,

directly if not indirectly, also to be a representation con-

cerning “information” about the relationship of eggs to

heart disease or concerning the “state of available evi-

dence about the relationship of eggs to heart disease”

(which, under Part C of the order, must be accompanied

by the “many medical experts believe” recitation)? Cer-

tainly it cannot be constitutionally permissible to force

petitioner at risk of penalty to second guess the Commis-

sion as to which disclosure is required. And yet that is

undeniably what the order does.

The fact that Petitioner can request clarification from

the Commission under 16 C.F.R. §3.61(d), App. 61a, does

not justify abridgement of its First Amendment rights.

In any event, Petitioner has already presented the publi-

cations in question to the Commission only to receive the

enigmatic rulings described above.

See note 5 supra.

ones

ee ee eee

_—

C.

Petitioner’s last vagueness challenge relates to Part D

of the Court of Appeals’ order which forbids advertising

which

“represents as insignificant the available scientific evi-

dence that the consumption of dietary cholesterol, in-

cluding that in eggs, may increase the risk of heart

attacks, heart disease, atherosclerosis, arteriosclero-

sis, or any attendant conditions.”

or which

“otherwise misrepresents the amount of scientfic evi-

dence that eating eggs does not increase the risk of

heart attacks, heart disease, atherosclerosis, arterio-

sclerosis, or any attendant condition”. App. 68a.

Once again the order puts Petitioner in an impossible po-

sition. Without revealing what significance is the scientif-

ically “true” significance of existing data or what amount

is the scientifically “correct” amount, or how, by or from

what the “true” significance or “correct” amount is to be

determined, the order bars representations that certain

evidence is “insignificant” and representations that mis-

state the “amount” of certain other evidence. Since this

entire litigation concerns conflicting data evaluations by

equally reputable experts, in short, discussion of a present

scientific controversy which the Commission admittedly

cannot resolve, App. 12a, 20a, 38a, 40a, this provision

in the order gives Petitioner no measure at all of what

is being forbidden or, conversely, of what may be said.

Is it not true that the significance of data supporting

the government’s position is rendered increasingly less

reliable as more research such as the Porter, Slater, and

Herbert work alluded to earlier, App. 12a, 20a, 38a, 40a,

reach the public? Is the Commission prepared or equipped

=

to characterize the “significance” or “amount” of evidence

contained in this ever changing data base? How is Peti-

tioner to know what mode of expression is forbidden?

Does Petitioner’s January 29, 1976 publication (App. 75a-

77a) violate these order provisions? Whose view, evalu-

ation, quantification, interpretation of the “amount” of

evidence will the Commission suffer Petitioner to state?

If scientists cannot agree on this, how is Petitioner to

know what evaluation is acceptable under this order? Is

Petitioner to be held in violation of the order because it

espouses the British Panel’s view of “no evidence” App.

7la? Or Dr. Bernard Bellow’s view that there is ‘*no

authoritative proof” that cholesterol in a balanced diet

causes heart disease” (RX 6 B)'’? Or Dr. William Kannel’s

view that there is no confirmed efficacy in lowering blood

lipids (RX 30A)? Or Dr. George Mann’s belief that the

American Heart Association’s evidence on the diet heart

question is “puny” (RX 140 N.2)? Or the NIH’s stark

conclusion that:

‘*fT]t is not known whether dietary manipulation

has any effect whatsoever on coronary heart disease”

(RX 72K).

Or the respected Dr. Michael DeBakey’s opinion that ‘*in

normal individuals, there is no evidence that eating eggs

can eause heart attacks?’’ (Chicago Sun-Times, Living

Section, p. 3, Jan. 25, 1976) Or the expert opinions of

Petitioner’s own trial witnesses that no evidence exists

that eggs increase the risk of heart attacks? And what is

Petitioner permitted to do under the order with the

Canadian Department of National Health and Welfare’s

October, 1977 statement questioning the supposed case

“RX” refers to exhibits introduced by Petitioner in

the proceeding before the law judge.

ee ee ee

ee ee

a= 97

against eggs? Supra, note 14. Obviously, without further

definition in the order no reasonable man can determine

whether the foregoing representations, if quoted by Peti-

tioner, expressed as Petitioner’s own views, or disseminated

in their original published form ‘“‘by courtesy of Peti-

tioner’’, would violate the order although it would appear

that much if not all this material is protected.

Indeed it is hard to imagine how the line thus drawn

hy the order *‘hetween the permitted and prohibited activ-

ities’’ could be more ambiguous or how such a line could

ever be thought to satisfy the ‘‘standards of permissible

- Vagueness |which] are strict in the area of free ex-

pression”. NAACP y. Button, 371 U.S. 415, 432 (1963).

As the order now stands, it places Petitioner in the dilem-

ma of having to elect among: (1) unwilling adherence to

government orthodoxy by disseminating the government

dictated Part C statement; (2) complete avoidance of the

cholesterol debate including protected expression which,

but for the order provisions, could not be restrained; and,

(3) honest, robust utterance at the risk of contempt and

substantial civil penalties.

The exercise of First Amendment rights should not be

fraught with the perils of The Lady or the Tiger.

—

CONCLUSION

For the reasons given, the writ of certiorari should

issue.

Respectfully submitted,

James L. Fox

DonaLp P. CoLLETON

Counsel for Petitioner.

Of Counsel:

Moses, Gippons, ABRAMSON

& Fox

One East Wacker Drive

Chicago, Illinois 60601

(312) 644-8500

-_ ——_

— la—

APPENDIX

In tHe MATTER oF

NATIONAL COMMISSION ON EGG NUTRITION,

ET AL.

ORDER, OPINION, ETC., IN REGARD TO ALLEGED VIOLATION OF

secs. 5 AND 12 OF THE FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION ACT

Docket 8987. Complaint, July 23, 1974—Final Order,

July 20, 1976

Oprxion or THE COMMISSION

By Drxon. Commissioner:

[1] Complaint in this matter was issued on July 23,

1974, charging respondents, the National Commission on

Eee Nutrition (NCEN) and its advertising agency,

Richard Weiner, Ine., with violations of Section 5 of

the Federal Trade Commission Act (15 U.S.C. §45) in

connection with their dissemination of certain publications

pertaining to eggs and heart disease. Tn particular, the

complaint alleged that respondents had directly or in-

directly made the following claims, all alleged to be decep-

tive: (1) there is ahsolutely no competent and reliable

seientifie evidence that eating eggs, even in quantity, in-

ereases the risk of heart attacks or heart disease; (2)

there is overwhelming competent and reliable scientific

evidence that eating eggs does not increase the risk

of heart attacks; (3) there is competent and reliable

scientific evidence that dietarv cholesterol (cholesterol con-

tained in food), including that in eggs, decreases the risk

of heart disease; (4) there is competent and relic Je

scientific evidence that avoiding dietary cholesterol, in-

cluding that in eggs, increases the risk of heart disease:

(5) eating eggs does not increase the blood cholesterol

level (cholesterol contained in a person’s blood stream)

in a normal person; (6) a person’s blood cholesterol level

is prevented from being [2] raised or lowered by dietary

=

cholesterol intake because (a) the human body increases

its manufacture of cholesterol in an amount equal to a

decrease in Gietary cholesterol intake and (b) the human

hody eliminates the same amount of cholesterol as that

eaten: and (7) dietary cholesterol, including that in eggs,

is needed by the body for building sex hormones, for

transmitting nerve impulses and for maintaining life in

cells.

The complaint further alleged that respondents had

violated the law by making certain representations while

lacking a ‘‘reasonable basis’’ for so doing. These included

the claims that (1) eating eggs does not increase the risk

of heart attacks and heart disease; (2) dietary cholesterol,

including that in eggs, decreases the risk of heart attacks

and heart disease, and (3) avoiding dietary cholesterol, in-

cluding that in eggs, increases the risk of heart disease.

Hearings were held before Administrative Law Judge

(ALJ) Ernest Barnes, who rendered an initial decision

sustaining the allegations of the complaint, and recom-

mended entry of an order to cease and desist.

At the time it issued its complaint, the Commission also

sought a temporary injunction against certain claims

made by respondent, pending resolution of the adminis-

trative proceeding, pursuant to the provisions of 15 U.S.

C. §53. The District Court for the Northern District of

Tilinois denied the Commission’s request, (Federal Trade

Commission v. National Commission on Eqq Nutrition,

1975-1 CCH Tr. Cases, Par. 60, 246) but the Court of Ap-

peals for the Seventh Circuit reversed and ordered the

District Court to enter an injunction in a form specified

by the Court of Appeals. (517 F.2d 485, May 1975, re-

hearing denied, June, 1975). The District Court duly

entered the injunction. Respondents filed a petition with

the Supreme Court for a writ of certiorari, which peti-

tion the Court denied. 426 U.S. — — (No. 75-405; June

7, 1976).

The instant matter is before the Commission on the

appeal of respondents from the initial decision,

ee Se ee te ote dee

Fie Te ARO OO es cle,

eel tlh Sel ee Ol a ag 6! to

=

I. Jvurispiction

At the outset respondents contend that the Commission

lacks jurisdiction over NCEN because it is not a “cor-

poration” within the meaning of Section 4 of the Federal

Trade Commission [3] Act, which defines a corporation

for purposes of the Act as one “organized to carry on

business for its own profit or that of its members.” In

Community Blood Bank of Kansas City Area, Inc. v. FTC,

405 F. 2d 1011 (8th Cir. 1969), it was held that while the

Commission properly exercises jurisdiction over such

nonprofit corporations as trade associations which carry

on business for the sake of their members, it may not

exercise jurisdiction over nonprofit corporations which

are organized and actually engaged in business for purely

charitable purposes. (405 F. 2d at 222) NCEN argues

that it falls within the exemption recognized in the Blood

Rank case because it is a nonprofit corporation formed

for the eleemosynary purposes of facilitating research

by its “Commissioners” and expression of their individual

views on the “cholesterol issue.”

The administrative law judge concluded that NCEN

was organized to carry on business for the benefit of its

“members,” the egg industry, that its activities were of

a character designed to redound to the industry’s pecu-

niary well-being, and that consequently NCEN is a cor-

poration. within the contemplation of Section Four. (I.

D.p.72)'

* The following abbreviations are used herein:

I.D. —Initial Decision, Finding No.

I.D. p. —Initial Decision, Page No.

CX —Complaint Counsel’s Exhibit No.

RX #—Respondents’ Exhibit No.

Tr. —Transcript of Testimony, Page No.

RB —Respondents’ Appeal Brief to the Commission,

Page No.

CB = —Complaint Counsel’s Answer Brief to the Com-

mission, Page No.

RRB —Respondents’ Reply Brief to the Commission,

Page No,

—_

As the law judge noted, NCEN was created by the egg

industry, or segments thereof, in response to anti-cho-

lesterol attacks on eggs which had resulted in steadily

declining per capita egg consumption. (1.D. 2, CX 101

A,B) NCEN began operation in August 1971 (1.D. 3),

its membership consisting of a small, self-perpetuating

board of directors—Commissioners—who throughout these

proceedings have been individuals with commercial in-

terests in the egg industry. (I.D. 5, 13) From NCEN’s

inception five of its Commissioners were designated by

each of five different egg industry trade associations, (T.

D. 4, [4] CX 1544, 198B, 204a) whose commercial nature

is clear (1.D. 5). Virtually all of NCEN’s funding has

been provided by commercial, egg-industry related or-

ganizations, (I.D. 15, CX 162A) in particular the Ame-

riean Egg Board, which furnished all of NCEN’s staff,

office space, and other assistance, and which received

in advance of implementation itemized budgets of

NCEN’s operations. (I.D. 15) It further appears that

member trade associations were intimately aware of

NCEN’s activities (CX 96-98, 105) and in at least cer-

tain documented instances NCEN Commissioners re-

ported formally on NCEN’s activities to their respective

organizations and received organizational recommenda-

tions or instructions as to courses of action which NCEN

should pursue. (I.D. 14, CX 199A, 200A, 198B).

Newspaper advertisements sponsored hy NCEN, some

bearing the notation “Number — in a series of messages

from America’s egg producers” (CX1), were directed to

consumers, and touted the nutritive virtues of eggs as

well as conveying the message that no increased risk of

heart disease would result from egg consumption, even

“in quantity”. A more detailed recitation of NCEN’s

structure and relationship to the egg industry is contained

in L.D. 1-6 and 12-18.

Respondents argue in their defense that the principal

purpose of NCEN was “* * * To establish the true nu-

tritional values of eggs, particularly in the light of the

lite ue te

—

ON ee ee ee ee a es

out

—.

adverse publicity concerning cholesterol” (CX 150A),

and thereafter to disseminate the individual views of

NCEN Commissioners to the American public. NCEN

Commissioners at trial denied that they served as “re-

presentatives” of the commercial groups of which they

were simultaneously members, or were in any other way

influenced by these commercial groups in the dissemi-

nation of their claims about eggs. (I.D. 18)

This Commission has no reason to doubt that the re-

presentations of NCEN generally reflect the honestly-

held views of its Commissioners.? Nevertheless, our cre-

dulity, like that of the administrative law judge, is heav-

ily if not confiseatorily taxed by the suggestion that

NCEN was established, financed, and operated for the

sole, or even for the principal purpose of permitting

several individuals to disseminate their opinions [5] to

the American public. Rather, the evidence viewed as a

whole preponderates overwhelmingly in favor of the

conclusion that respondent NCEN is a corporation exist-

ing in substantial part for the pecuniary benefit of the

egg industry, and is therefore, like the traditional trade

associations which spawned and nurtured it, subject to

Commission jurisdiction.

In reaching our conclusion we have looked to the evi-

dence with respect to several facets of NCEN’s opera-

tions: (1) origin (a response by the egg industry to

economically harmful attacks on the safety of eggs); (2)

character of membership (egg industry executives, initial-

ly chosen by trade associations); (3) source of funding;

(4) relationships with profit-oriented groups (submission

of budget to AEB; reporting to trade associations, and

at least occasional instructions given by associations) ;

(5) nature of publications; and (6) stated purpose. Ex-

cept with respect to NCEN’s officially stated purpose

the record strongly suggests commercial goals and cha-

2 We do believe, however, that respondents should have

realized that certain of the statements used to convey

NCEN’s belief in the safety of eggs had the tendency and

capacity to deceive, infra., pp. 7-28.

—

racter, Even as to NCEN’s officially stated purpose, an

early version of its Articles of Incorporation lists as

one organizational objective “to promote the general in-

terests of the egg industry.” (CX 136B) In any event,

official characterizations of purpose, some of which ap-

pear to have been changed in suspicions proximity to

developments in this litigation (CB 28-29) can be given

little weight in the face of contradictory evidence as to

the circumstances in which an organization is formed and

the manner in which it actually functions. Similarly, we

must agree with the law judge’s skeptical assessment of

the NCEN Commissioners’ testimony, insofar as that

testimony is both internally inconsistent and contradicted

by contemporaneous documentary evidence. See I.D. 18.

While respondents contend that the factors cited by

the ALJ “neither alone nor taken together” support a

finding of jurisdiction (RB 7), their argument is at best

persuasive only as to the first half of their conclusion.

Obviously a determination of whether Commission ju-

risdiction is properly asserted over a nonprofit corpora-

tion or an individual engaged in activity which has the

effect of promoting a product requires analysis of a

large number of possible indicia of commercial purpose.’

The presence of one factor alone, such [6] as receipt of

financial benefit from a commercial source that happens

to favor the recipient’s viewpoint may well be insuf-

ficient.

Clearly, however, this case presents far more than

the example of an industry choosing to accord a measure

of financial support to an _ otherwise unrelated third

party whose views, when published, inure to the industry’s

benefit. Rather, respondent NCEN was founded and al-

> We do agree with respondents (RB 15) that the AL.!

termed the “stark falsity” of their representations (1.D.

p. 88) is not a relevant factor to be considered on the is-

sue of jurisdiction, assuming arguendo that the ALJ con-

sidered it so to be.

= 7@ =

most entirely funded by the egg industry, with the ob-

vious expectation that it would help counteract econo-

mically damaging publicity. It is staffed by egg industry

executives, originally required to be from specified egg

industry trade associations and, predictably enough, its

publications, whether they represent the “industry” view-

point or not, are of a sort which, if believed, would en-

courage the consumption of eggs. While the assertion of

particular viewpoints may not be a contractual prere-

quisite to NCEN’s receipt of funds, it is reasonable to

doubt that NCEN could continue to exist if its Commis-

sioners were somehow to reach and publicize the conclu-

sion that consumption of eggs in quantity may possibly

increase the risk of heart disease, just as it is doubtful

that any egg industry trade group would continue to

exist if it ceased to promote the interests of those whose

funds are its predominant source of support. We believe

these considerations taken together warrant the conclu-

sion that NCEN is a nonprofit corporation which exists

in principal part for the benefit of the egg industry, and

hence, is subject to Commission jurisdiction.

Respondents contend that whatever may have been

NCEN’s status at the time of the complaint, it has as of

the present time amended its bylaws so as to state ex-

plicitly that NCEN Commissioners shall “serve solely as

individuals and shall not, with respect to NCEN activities

directly or indirectly serve as agents for, or otherwise

represent any trade association, business or commercial

enterprise”. We find no reason in the record of this case

to conclude that this change in the wording of the by-

laws can in any significant respect alter the commercial

character of NCEN, given its origin, the manner in

which it has operated heretofore, and its continued do-

mination by egg industry members, whether or not they

are officially called egg industry “representatives” dur-

ing that portion of the day they devote to the affairs of

NCEN.

[7] This is simply not the case respondents seek to

make it in which an organization engaged primarily in

—

the noncommercial activity of disseminating for their

own sake its members’ views on a subject of scientific

importance incidentally performs a function valuable to

commercial interects. On the contrary, the evidence most

strongly suggests that NCEN is an organization created

and operated to benefit the egg industry through the

incidental medium of what is termed its Commissioners’

expression of their personal viewpoints. If respondents’

argument as to jurisdiction is to be accepted under these

circumstances, there is no company or industry in the

Nation which could not obtain a ready exemption from

laws prohibiting deceptive advertising merely by agree-

ing to fund the efforts of a group of its members or em-

ployees who decide that they wish to establish their own

“National Commission” to do research and _ publicize

their honestly held beliefs in the virtues of the product

they have spent a lifetime selling. We do not believe the

arm of the law was meant to be avoided so easily as

this.

“To defend the place of the egg in the American diet

by every legal means” —as NCEN on one occasion

characterized its goal (RX 139)—is, in sum, not an en-

deavor which entitles a group of egg industry executives

funded by egg industry trade groups to a blanket exemp-

tion from the scrutiny of a statute designed to prevent

the deceptive promotion of products, including eggs. Hav-

ing concluded that jurisdiction over respondents is pro-

perly asserted, we shall proceed to review the allegedly

deceptive representations challenged in this proceeding.‘

* Respondents also argue that in addition to establish-

ing jurisdiction generally over NCEN, the Commission

must establish jurisdiction over each challenged publica-

tion. We take this point to be a variant of respondents’

claim that their publications concerning the virtues of

eggs are not commercial advertisements and are shielded

from Commission scrutiny by the First Amendment, an

argument we discuss in Part III of this opinion. Respon-

dent Weiner does not challenge the ALJ’s finding of

jurisdiction as to it.

ee ee a ae

ial

II. CHaALLencep REPRESENTATIONS

A. “There is no evidence? ? ? ?”

The principal representation challenged in this proceed-

ing is respondents’ claim, made with slight variations of

wording in numerous instances, that there is absolutely

no scientific evidence that eating eggs, even in quantity,

increases the risk of heart attacks or heart disease. (I.

D. 32) The administrative law judge concluded that this

representation was false and misleading. (I.D. pp. 79-81)

[8] An evaluation of the law judge’s determination re-

quires some discussion of the state of medical opinion with

respect to the relationship between “dietary cholesterol’”®

and “coronary heart disease.” A matter of such consi-

derable complexity does not lend itself readily to simple

formulations, and the statements made herein must be

quialified in light of the far more extensive discussion

of the underlying issues contained in the initial decision

and in the record as a whole.

It is apparent from the record of this case that many

well-qualified medical science experts subscribe, with

varying degrees of conviction, to the view that ingestion

of cholesterol and “saturated fats’’ in the human diet is

positively related to the incidence or risk of coronary heart

disease, in the sense that, for many people, increased

consumption of dietary cholesterol and saturated fats

* Cholesterol is a fat-like waxy aleohol, with a sturdy

and durable ring chemical structure that cannot be bro-

ken down. (1.D. 57) “Dietary cholesterol” is that choles-

terol contained in food. Cholesterol is also produced by

the body.

* “Coronary heart disease” is generally defined as an

affliction of the heart muscle and its functions due to in-

adequate blood supply to the heart. See 1.D. 51-54.

* Saturated fats are described in LD. 57. Fat is a nu-

trient, and saturated fats occur in certain foods of

plant origin as well as in many foods of animal origin.

=

will result in an increased risk of heart disease, and

decreased consumption will lower that risk. For case of

reference we shall, like the ALJ, refer to this view as the

‘‘diet/heart disease’? hypothesis, although this generic

term obviously subsumes a wide variety of particular ap-

proaches.°

[9] Egg volks are the major source of readily assimi-

lated cholesterol in the American diet, with one yolk pro-

viding around one-third of average daily intake of ap-

proximately 600-800 mg. Egg yolk has substantially more

cholesterol than any other commonly eaten food (I.D.

55), and contains roughly four grams of saturated fat.

(1.D. 56)°

The diet/heart disease hypothesis proceeds from se-

veral underlying propositions. These are, in outline, that

(1) the amount of dietary cholesterol and saturated fat

* For example, proponents of the diet/heart disease

hypothesis differ among themselves with respect to the

relative importance of reducing consumption of dietary

cholesterol as opposed to saturated fat. Further, it should

be observed that some experts believe that the presence

or absence of various dietary constituents other than cho-

lesterol and saturated fat may be related to the risk of

heart disease. (Tr. 1378, 19-7) This proceeding does not

deal with these views. Also, it is generally believed that

coronary heart disease is multifactorial (I.D. 54), and

those who advocate dietary modification as a means of

lessening its likelihood of occurrence generally recom-

mend other preventive measures as well, examples of

which might include certain sorts of exercise and elimi-

nation of cigarette smoking.

* Average daily intake of fat in the American diet is

over 100 grams. (Tr. 2039) While some who counsel a

reduction in saturated fat intake would include limita-

tion of egg consumption as a partial means of accomplish-

ing this (e.g. Tr. 2157), eggs are primarily cited as a

contributor to the risk of heart disease by virtue of their

cholesterol content, which was the principal focus of the

proceeding before the law judge.

oe ae ant.

© oP 0 fe eet | en et ne i Cte ala oe gt

Ce i ee ee ee ee ee ee ee en a

Outen

ee ee

—lla—

in the diet directly affects the level of cholesterol in the

bloodstream (“serum cholesterol” or “blood cholesterol”)

of many people; (2) higher levels of cholesterol in the

bloodstream are statistically associated with higher levels

of risk of coronary heart disease in sample populations;

and (3) serum cholesterol is “causally implicated” in the

formation of the atherosclerotic lesions (I.D. 51) which

precipitate heart disease.’

The initial decision reviews at great length the results

of ‘a large body of clinical-pathological, experimental, and

epidemiological studies upon which scientists have relied

in formulating the propositions described in the preced-

ing paragraph, and from there the diet/heart disease

hypothesis itself. (1.D. 60-98) The ALJ concluded that:

The studies discussed in Findings 60-98 supra,

constitute competent and reliable scientific evidence.

They were conducted using scientific methodologies,

were performed by competent and highly regarded

investigators, have been reported in “recognized

scientific journals after peer review, and have been

generally accepted by experts in the field and by

the scientifie community. Moreover, reputable [10]

governmental and private scientific organizations have

reviewed the evidence and relied on it in making re-

commendations to the medical profession and to the

public for the treatment and prevention of [coronary

heart disease]. Finally, complaint counsel’s own wit-

nesses relied on the evidence to form expert opinions

regarding the relationship of diet to [coronary heart

disease] and as to the effect of adding an egg per

* In the words of the “Report of Inter-Society Com-

mission for Heart Disease Resources,” a causal relation-

ship between serum cholesterol and heart disease is “bio-

logically plausible in terms of reasonable pathogenetic

mechanisms and concepts of multifactorial etiology re-

lating apparent cause and disease. Alternative hypothes-

es to account for the associations do not fit the majority

of observations to date.” (CX 18-Z9) ;

— 12a —

day to the average American diet (Findings 100-105

infra). [1.D. 99]

Respondents do not deny that well-qualified experts

have relied upon competent and reliable scientific studies

in hypothesizing a relationship between dietary cholester-

ol and heart disease. Respondents argue, however, that

these experts have improperly interpreted the existing

studies, that such studies lend little or no support to the

diet/heart disease hypothesis, and that the studies con-

sequently do not rise to the level of “evidence that eat-

ing eggs will increase the risk of heart disease.” In sup-

port of their position respondents cite the testimony of

certain of their own experts who, when asked at trial

whether in their opinion there is any evidence that eat-

ing eggs will cause or increase the risk of heart disease,

responded in the negative. Respondents would have the

Commission conclude from this that the question of

whether there is evidence to incriminate eggs as a factor

in the risk of heart disease is, like the question of whether

eggs actually do increase the risk, a subject of heated

controversy upon which the Commission can and should

make no pronouncement.

It is certainly not the Commission’s intention to deter-

mine in this proceeding whose interpretation of a diffi-

cult and incomplete body of scientific literature is supe-

rior. It is, however, the Commission’s statutory duty to

ensure that commercial advertisements intended to con-

vince the public of the safety of a product are not de-

ceptive, and that oversimplified expressions of opinion

are not taken out of context and presented as fact in

order to misrepresent the nature of a complex scientific

issue and thereby promote misleadingly the consumption

of eggs.

It is manifest that “scientific evidence” as the term

is commonly understood, may exist in support of a prop-

osition whose truth is contested or, for that matter, in

support of a theory which is ultimately determined by

ee

= et ein ally, a ee ee ee eee een

isd bnbecttintnres. —

sta nalbaten St ——— ee a

— 13a —

general agreement not to be true at all. “Scientific evi-

dence for a proposition” as that phrase is reasonably

understood, means precisely those competent and reli-

able scientific studies of the sort summarized by the

AI.J which, in the view of a body of well-qualified ex-

perts would lend support to the proposition. To assert

flatly and [11] without qualification that “there is no

evidence for this hypothesis” if what one means is real-

ly that “we, along with one segment of the relevant ex-

pert community, do not believe that the existing evidence

supports this hypothesis” is misleading in the extreme.

We have reviewed with care the testimony of those

experts and sources cited hy respondents. In rendering

their testimony respondents’ witnesses did not dispute

the fact that many experts, in the exercise of reasonable,

albeit disputed, scientific judgment, have relied upon a

large body of scientifie studies in formulating the diet

/heart disease hypothesis. Respondents’ sources appear

to believe, however, that such studies provide so little

warrant for the hypothesis that they should not be de-

scribed as “evidence” for it.

Complaint counsel suggest that respondents’ experts

merely used “no evidence” in the sense of “no conclusive

evidence” or “no direct experimental evidence.” (For

example, there appears to be no good study relating ac-

tual limitation of cholesterol intake by a sample group

to a decline in expected incidence of heart disease.) Dr.

Stare, who testified for complaint counsel, may have

used “evidence” in the foregoing senses when he initial-

ly testified that he knew of no evidence “per se” that

eggs increased the risk of heart disease. His testimony

was subsequently qualified. (Tr. 1036ff) At least some

of those witnesses who testified for respondents, how-

ever, appear to have used “no evidence” in the somewhat

stronger sense described in the preceding paragraph.

(Tr. 2051, 2140, 2150, 1485-86)

It seems fair to say, nevertheless, that the difference

between the “evidence” and “no evidence” positions is

— l4a —

one of degree rather than of kind. As respondents’ wit-

ness Dr. Oliver noted in prefacing his account of the

“no evidence” statement of the British Advisory Panel”,

‘evidence in this context would be an aggregate of prob-

ability * * *’? (Tr. 2136) In Dr. Oliver’s view, presum-

ably, the existing research lends so little ( if any) weight

to the view that inereased consumption of eggs will [12]

inerease the risk of heart disease that he cannot con-

sider such research as “evidence” for the proposition.

However. Dr. Oliver did acknowledge that reduction of

serum cholesterol was one part of a regimen which might

in toto reduce the risk of heart disease (Tr. 2125), and

he also noted that he recommended a reduction in egg

consumption for his patients as part of a plan to reduce

saturated fat intake and thereby help reduce the risk

of heart disease. (Tr. 2157) In common with other wit-

nesses, Dr. Oliver further noted that his conclusions as

to the potential harm from dietary cholesterol and as to

the existence of evidence with respect thereto did not

apply to those suffering from gross abnormalities in the

metabolism of lipids, a small fraction of the population

but nonetheless a substantial number of people. (Tr. 2140

-2144)

The testimony of Dr. Yudkin, like Dr. Oliver an emi-

nently well-qualified medical expert, is similarly diffuse.

1 “Ty certain animal species a diet rich in cholesterol

induces the appearance of arterial lesions which have

some similarity to those seen in human subjects, and com-

parative studies of different human populations show

that those which have a diet rich in cholesterol have a

higher death rate from [coronary heart disease]. How-

ever, a diet rich in cholesterol is usually one which is

rich also in saturated fatty acids. Most of the dietary

cholesterol in western communities is derived from eggs,

but we have found no evidence which relates the numbers

of eggs consumed to a risk of [coronary heart disease. |”

(RX 112: Report issues by Britain’s Department of

Health and Social Securit, |

— la —

Asked his understanding of the “no evidence” statement

in the British Panel report (which he and Dr. Oliver

helped prepare), Dr. Judkin replied:

My understanding of this sentence is that i

not find that there was anything in the ARN

either directly saying that a population’s experience

of heart disease goes parallel with the number of

eggs consumed in that population—that is, that there

is no direct evidence, nor was there indirect evidence

that would be convincing that the consumption of

eggs raises the concentration of blood cholesterol

and that this rise in blood cholesterol would increase

the chances of getting a heart attack. (Tr. 1428)

rece interpret the term “evidence” Dr. Yudkin re-

I would say that I would interpret this w

meaning that I could convince a Ag by y Ax

ing them the same facts, to come to the same con-

clusion, that is if it were positive evidence, that the

facts would demonstrate that the number of eggs

does increase, the number of eggs consumed does in-

crease the number of ischemic (coronary) heart dis-

ease. This I would consider evidence. Or conversely

and this is how I meant the negative here, that the

information, the data I could provide, would not

convince anybody that the number of eggs consumed

— the risk of ischemic heart disease. (Tr.

[13] A later portion of Dr. Yudkin’s dir

ul ; ect testimo

similarly reflects the fine line between “no evidence” _

the evidence does not persuade me”:

Question. * * * Based on the data, results of

research as evidenced by those sapevte, based torte

er upon your own personal expertise, results of your

own experimentation and study, debate, based on

your contacts with your fellow scientists, medical

doctors throughout the world, I ask you, do you have

an opinion, based upon a reasonable degree of med-

=

ical certainty, whether or not there is any evidence

that eating eggs causes [coronary heart disease]?

Answer. No. hs |

Q. The answer to my question is yes or no, do you

have an opinion?

A. Yes, I have an opinion.

Q. And what is that opinion?

A. That all these studies were taken into considera-

tion by me and my fellow members of this Panel

when we wrote that report in which we said we

did not have, there is not sufficient evidence to

say that eating eggs causes heart disease.

Q. And do you have an opinion as to whether or not

based on that same factual presentation, whether

or not there is scientific evidence that eating eggs

increases the risk of [coronary heart disease]?

You can answer that question yes or no, do you

have an opinion?

A. Yes.

Q. And what is that opinion?

A. My opinion is that this evidence does not de-

monstrate that eating eggs increases the risk of

heart disease. (Tr. 1444-45)

A similar theme emerges in the following exchange

on recross examination between Dr. Yudkin and coim-

plaint counsel: [14]

Q. Doctor, just to pick up again on the point raised

by Mr. Fox on his redirect, the studies, the line

of studies which we have been talking about

which you assumed in your hypothetical when

you say that these studies are not evidence as

to the cause of heart disease, do you mean that

they do not conclusively establish the cause, or

that they are not evidence in support of the hy-

pothesis or theory that dietary cholesterol is

related to and serum cholesterol and saturated

fat is related to the increased risk of heart dis-

ease?

A. This is a little bit like asking me whether I have

stopped beating my mother, because I wanted to

say something slightly different. I think that the

—lia—

information as you asked me, by excluding other

possibilities, gave me no opportunity than to say

other than they are a part of the evidence. But

I would say, for instance, that the seven countries

study {“Coronary Heart Disease in Seven Coun-

tries,” CX 76] can be used not only as evidence

towards establishing the hypothesis that dietary

fat or dietary cholesterol, as the case may be,

may be involved in causing heart disease but

equally could be used to support the hypothesis

that dietary sucrose and several other factors

between the seven countries and the level of cho-

lesterol is just as great as with others.

Q. Could a competent scientist, including yourself

as a competent scientist * * * use those studies

to say that these studies constitute evidence sup-

porting the theory that the factor, in your case

dietary sucrose, is related to or contributes to

the development of heart disease?

A. Yes. If it is understood that in order to establish

the hypothesis one would need not only this but

lots of other sorts of evidence. (Tr. 1488-89)

[15] In the context of their testimony, subject as it

was to extensive qualification of the sort described in

the preceding pages, we do not dispute respondents’ ex-

perts’ use of the term “no evidence” to characterize the

evidence relied upon by proponents of the diet/heart

disease hypothesis. It is an entirely different matter,

however, for respondents to make the claim “no evidence”

in a setting totally devoid of any mention of the sub-

stantial scientific controversy, the extensive scientific

literature, and the fact that many well-qualified scien-

tists believe that such literature incriminates dietary cho-

lesterol, including that in eggs, as a contributor to the

risk of heart disease.

Respondents argue, in essence, that the claim “there

is no evidence” should be treated, and would be recog-

nized by readers merely as a statement of opinion, i.e.,

“in our opinion and that of certain experts on whom we

—

rely, the existing scientific studies pertaining to dietary

cholesterol, eggs and heart disease lend no support to

the hypothesis that eating eggs increases the risk of heart

disease.” Unfortunately, however, the phrase “there is

no evidence” is also, and perhaps more reasonably subject

to the interpretation that “there do not exist competent

and reliable scientific studies from which weil-jualified

experts could reasonably hypothesize that eating eggs

increases the risk of heart disease.” This latter message

is patently false and misleading.

It is well established, and critical to the notion of

preventing false advertising, that where an advertisement

conveys more than one meaning, one of which is false,

the advertiser is liable for the misleading variation.

Murray Space Shoe Corp. v. FTC, 304 F. 2d 270, 272 (2d

Cir. 1963): Rhodes Pharmacal Co. v. Federal Trade Com-

mission, 208 F. 2d 383, 387 (7th Cir. 1953), modified by

restating the Commission’s order, 348 U.S. 940 (1953).

Nor does our application of that principle in this instance

rest upon some mere semantic quibble or strained inter-

pretation of words, since that meaning of respondents’

claim which deceives is one which is likely to be under-

stood, and reasonably so, by many consumers. A more

appropriate statement of the principle in this ease might

thus be that an otherwise false advertisement is not

rendered acceptable merely because one possible interpre-

tation of it is not untrue.

Respondents ask whether the ALJ (and presumably

now the Commission) “take ncen or the public for fools

in asking them to believe that it is the existence of evi-

dence itself and not a particular interpretation thereof

that NCEN has denied?” (RB 29) We take neither NCEN

nor the public for fools, but quite clearly many members

of the public are not so well acquainted with the diet/

heart disease controversy as is NCEN [16] or this Com-

mission. Some consumers may indeed view the claim

“No evidence” and realize, in light of their prior reading

or consultation with a physician, that it is merely in-

— 19a —

tended to state respondents’ opinion as to the way in

which the existing evidence should be interpreted. Others,

however, without substantial knowledge of the subject

area, may well conclude that the claim means that those

who would identify eggs as a possible contributor to

heart disease have not based their indictment on a massive

body of competent and reliable scientific studies, because

such evidence does not exist.

After all, hardly a day passes on which one may not

read in a newspaper or magazine of charges levelled by

some self-appointed nutrition expert against the safety

of some food product. How many substances remain that

one can eat freely without, in the view of someone, increas-

ing the risk of cancer or some other dread affliction? For

certain of these charges the rejoinder “there is absolutely

no evidence” may be an appropriate response. There

is no scientific evidence. There are no competent and

reliable scientific studies which could lead a body of

well-qualified experts to subscribe to the charges. “No

evidence,” is, however, in the eyes of many people, strong

language, indeed the strongest possible means of dismissing

another’s position. It may do literal and figurative justice

when applied to the claims of quacks. It is not, however,

standing by itself, an accurate way to characterize the

position of those who hypothesize that consumption of

dietary cholesterol, including that in eggs, increases the

risk of heart disease.

The harm in this representation is, moreover, readily

apparent. No consumer who wishes to make well-informed

dietary selections should ignore the existing literature

(or a physician’s evaluation of it) with respect to the

relationship between dietary cholesterol and heart dis-

ease. To be sure, well-informed consumers, like well-

qualified scientists, are likely to draw different conclu-

sions from their studies. As the record shows, eggs are

a “complete food,” with many nutritive virtues. (I.D. 56)

A reasonable person might well decide that the current

state of learning and opinion with respect to dietary

=

cholesterol does not warrant limitation of egg consumption

to any degree. On the other hand, a reasonable person

might equally well conclude that the existing evidence

is sufficiently troublesome to [17] render some limitation

or reduction in consumption of dietary cholesterol (in-

eluding that in eggs) a prudent measure, as many experts

now recommend. In either event, the decision is one which

a consumer should make after a review of all available

information. By representing that “there is no evidence

that eating eggs will increase the risk of heart disease”

respondents discourage that review and represent that

there is no need for the consumer to go beyond their

advertisement, because in this case there is simply “no

evidence” to warrant further inquiry.

For the foregoing reasons we conclude as did the ALJ

that respondents’ principal representation is deceptive.”

[18]

* We also agree with the AI.J’s conclusion that sub-

stitution of the word “proof” in certain publications (7.e.,

“There is absolutely no scientific proof that eating eggs,

even in quantity, will increase the risk of heart disease”

does not cure the misrepresentation, because some people

will read “proof” in the sense of “evidence,” see @.g.

Webster's Third New International Dictionary, p. 1817,

ILD. 37). It should be apparent from the discussion

herein that our finding in this matter cannot be taken

in any measure as sanction for the representation that

“The FTC has determined that there is evidence that

dietary cholesterol may increase the risk of heart disease.”

Such a statement standing unqualified may be no less

misleading to some than respondents’ flat assertion that

there is no evidence. What we have determined is simply

that while medical experts disagree, many believe that

the existing evidence indicates that increased consumption

of dietary cholesterol may increase the risk of heart

disease,

i ln ne ie pe ee _

Pe | eee ee oe ee

os ae

— aoe TS

— 2la—-

B. Other Misrepresentations

Respondents were also charged with making certain

other deceptive representations to bolster their message

that eating eggs, even in quantity, is not harmful, and

in fact, positively desirable. Respondents do not contest

that the alleged claims are misleading, but deny having

made them. Our brief review of these issues follows:

(1) There is competent and reliable scientific evidence

that dietary cholesterol, including that in eggs, is needed

by the body for building sex hormones, for transmitting

nerve impulses, and for maintaining life in cells.

6 ® @ * e * ®

Respondents did not make this claim in so few words,

but it is clearly implied by advertisements such as CX 3

which states in relevant part:

* * * there are those who misguidedly advocate cutting

down on eggs because of their choleseterol content. So we

thought we’d offer a few facts in evidence about what

you’re being asked to give up “now.”

1. Cholesterol is the building block of sex hormones.

2. Cholesterol is needed for your nerves to transmit

their impulses throughout your body.

3. Choleserol is essential for life for every cel! in your

body se*

The clear purport of the foregoing is that the consumer

is being asked to “give up” a substance which is necessary

for important bodily functions. In fact, as respondents

acknowledge, dietary cholesterol, including that in eggs,

is not needed for the foregoing functions (since the body

produces its own), (I.D. 117) and the impression conveyed

by their claim is thus deceptive. The deception is heightened

by the context in which it appears, which is directed

towards explaining why the cholesterol contained in eggs

should not lead one to avoid [19] them. The fact that

cholesterol made by the body is indispensable is obviously

— 22a —

of no relevance to whether one should or should not eat

eggs. We affirm LD. 47 which discusses this issue at

greater length.

(2) there is competent and reliable scientific evidence

that dietary cholesterol, including that in eggs, decreases

the risk of heart disease; and that avoiding dietary choles-

terol increases the risk of heart disease.

e e * ° . * *

CX 2 represented:

There is absolutely no scientific evidence that eating

eggs, even in quantity, will increase the risk of a heart

attack. There is, in fact, preliminary evidence that the

opposite is true, which has led Dr. Roger Williams to

write, “Anyone who deliberately avoids cholesterol in his

diet may inadvertently be courting heart disease.”* In

one recent sudy, four hundred obese, mostly middle-aged

policemen were placed on a diet that included two or

more eggs each day, by Dr. Sam 8S. Berman, a Boston

physician. After eight years, there has not been a single

heart attack reported in the group.

(The asterisk refers to a citation of the book “Nutrition

Against Disease” by Dr. Roger J. Williams.)

The manifest implication of the above-quoted repre-

sentation is that there exists scientific evidence, albeit

“preliminary,” that eating dietary cholesterol, including

that in eggs, is helpful in preventing the risk of heart

disease. None of the experts who appeared for either side

in this proceeding was willing to offer any support for

that proposition. (1.D. 113) The quotation by Dr. Williams

cited in the advertisement is part of a larger selection

from which it is clear that the author meant only that

by avoiding dietary cholesterol, one might inadvertantly

deprive himself or herself of other valuable nutrients,

and the resulting state of malnutrition could increase

the risk of heart disease. We affirm I.D. 42-44, 48, 113,

and 114 which discuss these issues at greater length. [20]

=~ Be ...

(3) There is competent and reliable scientific evidence

that eating eggs does not increase the blood cholesterol

in a normal person.

There is competent and reliable scientific evidence that

a person’s blood cholesterol level is prevented from being

raised or lowered by dietary cholesterol intake because

(a) the human body increases its manufacture of choles-

terol intake and (b) the human body eliminates the same

amount of cholesterol as that eaten.

Respondents do not deny making the first claim, (RB

46) since CX 1 states that “Eggs contain cholesterol—as

do all foods of animal origin—but eating eggs does not

increase the blood cholesterol in a norma! person.”

The judge concluded that the foregoing assertion was

unsupported, and that the evidence of record led to the

opposite conclusion. (I.D. 115) It is clear that scientists

do disagree as to the extent to which a reduction in

cholesterol consumption will affect levels of blood choles-

terol. Moreover, it appears that for some people, increases

in dietary cholesterol do not necessarily translate into

increases in serum cholesterol. However, for other people,

it is equally apparent that increases in consumption of

dietary cholesterol, including that in eggs, will have an

impact on serum cholesterol. (I.D. 115) It is obviously

misleading, therefore, for respondents to claim, without

qualification, that eating eggs will not increase the blood

cholesterol level in a normal person.

With respect to the claims that the body’s mechanisms

operate to compensate for increases and decreases in

dietary cholesterol intake, respondents claim that they

merely represented that the body would produce or excrete

“just about” as much cholesterol as was deducted from

or added to the diet. While the “just about” language does

occur in some of the challenged advertisements, we agree

with the ALJ’s conclusion in I.D. 46 that the implication

of the claim in the context in which it is made is that

the body’s mechanisms operate to prevent an increase or

=

lowering of serum cholesterol in response to dietary modi-

fication. We affirm I.D. 45-46 and 115-116.[21]

C. Corporate Name

The ALJ concluded that the name “National Commis-

sion on Egg Nutrition” has the tendency and capacity to

mislead the public into believing that the corporation is

an impartial, independent, quasi-governmental health

commission, when in fact it is an association of persons

engaged in the egg industry. (I.D. 49) The judge reasoned

that the words “National Commission” in particular would

tend to enhance, misleadingly, the authority of NCEN’s

pronouncements in the eyes of the public, He therefore

recommended that respondent NCEN be required to dis-

close in close proximity to its name the fact that it is an

organization composed of egg producers and others of, or

relating to, the egg industry. While a few of NCEN’s

advertisements did acknowledge that “We're egg people”

or words to similar effect, none included this revelation

in close proximity to the corporate name, and many ad-

vertisements contain no disclosure of corporate composi-

tion whatsoever. (1.D. 49)

NCEN recognized the importance of “what’s in a name”

when it chose its present title to replace the somewhat

more accurate (perhaps too accurate) “Egg Industry

Cholesterol Commssion.” (I.D. 50) The name “National

Commission on Egg Nutrition,” unmodified, is likely to

mislead readers as to the nature of the organization,

given the number of “National Commissions” in the United

States which are, in fact, independent, quasi-governmental

bodies, see, e.g. Sullivan and Kruzas, Encyclopedia of

Governmental Advisory Organizations, pp. 620-21, 619 (2d

ed. 1975).

The deception is, moreover, highly material. Some people

will view with skepticism the claims of industry members

as to the virtues of that industry’s products, especially if

they are aware that the subject is a matter of some con-

troversy. They are less likely to be mistrustful of the

pronouncements of a “National Commission” which pub-

— “a

lishes lengthy excerpts from scientific studies “in the

public interest” (CX 176) and assures its audience that

it follows such matters very closely because “we're vitally

concerned with health and good, natural nutrition.” (CX

5) While —— of a misleading corporate or trade

name 1s at times an appropriate remedy, e.g. United

States Naval Weekly, Inc. v. Federal Trade Raladen

207 F. 2d 17 (D.C. Cir. 1953); Federal Trade Commission

v. Army and Navy Trading Co., 88 F. 2d 776 (D.C. Cir.

1937), we believe the. the clarifying disclosure proposed

by the ALJ is an entirely suitable and less drastic means

of curing the deception here, and we shall include such

a requirement in our order.{ 22]

D. Reasonable Basis Claims; *‘ There is (Overwhelming)

Evidence that Eating Eggs Does Not Increase the Risk of

Heart Disease’’

The order of the law judge would require that respon-

dents desist from the following representations unless

they possess ‘ta reasonable basis’’ for them. consisting of

competent and reliable scientific evidence upon which they

rely for making their claim:

1. eating eggs does not increase the risk of heart at-

tacks, heart disease * * * or any attendant condition.

* ¢@© @ @ @© @ &

* * # » bd . °

4. any representation concerning the relationship

of dietary cholesterol, including that in eggs, to heart at-

tacks * * * or any attendant condition.”

ee

_ Par. 1(B)(2) and (3) of the ALJ’s order would also

prohibit respondents from representing without a reason-

able basis that dietary cholesterol, including that in eggs

decreases the risk of heart attacks, heart disease, or any

attendant condition and that avoiding dietary cholesterol,

including that in eggs, increases the risk of heart attacks

* * or any attendant condition. Since Par. I(A) of

the order contradictorily forbids outright the claim that

there is scientifie evidence for these propositions, and. since

respondents concede there is no scientifie evidence to sup-

port the claims (and indeed deny having made them), we

shall omit the ALJ’s paragraphs I(B)(2) and (3) from

our order.

— 26a —

It is settled law that an advertiser in rendering an affir-

mative claim for a product must have a ‘‘ reasonable basis’’

therefor, consisting of such evidence as is appropriate

to provide substantiation for the type of claim being

made. Pfizer Corp., 81 F.T.C. 23 (1972); National Dy-

namics Corp., 82 F.T.C. 488 (1973), aff’d, 492 F. 2d 1333

(2d Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 993 (1974); Fireston

Tire & Rubber Co., 81 F.T.C. 398 (1973), aff’d, 481 F. 2d

246 (6th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 1112 (1973).

The justification for such a requirement is apparent. Many

consumers are likely to assume that when a product claim

is advanced which is in theory subject to objective verifi-

cation, the party making it possesses a reasonable basis

for so doing, and that the assertion does not constitute

mere surmise or wishful thinking on the advertiser’s part.

As a result, the rendition of a claim based upon inadequate

or nonexistent substantiation [23] violates Section 5 for

failure to state a highly material fact, whose omission js

deceptive."

With respect to respondents’ representation that eat-

ing eggs, even in quantity, does not increase the risk of

heart attacks and heart disease, the ALJ concluded:

Respondents had no reasonable basis for making the

representation * * * at the time the representation was

first made. [Citations omitted] The substantiation neces-

sary to form a reasonable basis for the representation

would be the existence of a consistent body of competent

“Compare **Our product is safe’? with ‘* We think our

product is safe, but we really have only the most incon-

clusive evidence upon which to base this statement.’’ The

latter formulation obviously cures the omission of fact

but it is likely to induce considerably fewer consumers

to buy the product. The Commission has also held that

failure to possess a reasonable basis is unfair within the

meaning of Section 5, Pfizer, Inc., supra. Under either

theory, however, the source of illegality is the same—the

abuse of legitimately held consumer expectations that ad-

vertising claims couched in objective terms are not merely

statements of unsubstantiated opinion.

=.

and reliable scientific evidence indicating that eating eggs

does not increase the risk of cup [coronary heart disease }.

Such evidence should come from each of the various dis-

ciplines of medical science and be of the same caliber of

design, analysis, and interpretation as the substantial

existing body of evidence which supports the opposite

conclusion—that eating eggs does increase the serum

cholesterol level of most people and that the serum choles-

terol level is related to an increase in risk of cup. The

substantiating data would also have to offer some rational

explanation for the discrepancy of results between the

claimed substantiating evidence and the existing body of

evidence, [Citations omitted] (I.D. 118) ,

It is not entirely clear from respondents’ brief on appeal

whether or not they challenge this finding of the law

judge. They do, in their brief, take exception to the ALJ’s

{24} finding that they represented that there was ‘‘over-

whelming evidence’’ that eating eggs does not increase

the risk of heart disease," though they apparently do

not object to the findings that they represented that there

is *‘evidence’’ that eating eggs does not increase the risk

of heart disease, and represented implicitly that they pos-

— a reasonable basis for their statement. (1.D. p.

r 6

’ It is clear to us, however, that respondents di’ make

the *‘overwhelming evidence’’ claim. CX 1 states, for in-

stance, *‘there is absolutely no scientifie evidence that

eating eggs in any way increases the risk of heart attack.

Yet the cholesterol bugaboo persists. The mystery is why.

Why, in the face of overwhelming evidence to the contrary,

do some people fear eggs, cholesterol, heart attacks ?’’ See

also 1.D. 39-41 which we aftirm.

‘* Note should be taken of the difference between denying

the existence of evidence implicating eggs and aflirming

the existence of evidence exonerating them. While respon-

dents’ experts may conclude that the evidence cited against

eggs does not warrant the hypothesis that their consump-

tion increases the risk of heart disease, this does not neces-

— 8a —

Of course, a conclusion that there does not exist affirma-

tive evidence to exonerate eggs does not mean that there

cannot be a sensible basis for declining to limit one’s

egg consumption. As noted before, it is obvious from the

record that some experts believe the existing evidence is

not sufficient to warrant a reduction in egg consumption.

It is deceptive, however, to buttress this conclusion with

the suggestion that it is supported by affirmative evidence

of eggs’ harmlessness if such does not exist.

[25] Respondents object strenuously, however, to that

portion of the law judge’s proposed order [Par. 1(B)(1)]

which requires that they possess a reasonable basis, con-

sisting of competent and reliable scientific studies, for

any claim that eating eggs will not increase the risk of

heart disease. They contend that the difficulty of deter-

mining what constitutes adequate substantiation for the

claim will prevent them from making any assertions on

this subject whatsoever. Respondents object similarly to

proposed Par. 1(B)(4) [RB 48].

In an ordinary case we would have little sympthy for

respondents’ contention. Parties making claims about the

attributes of products—and particularly about the safety

of products—owe to the public a high degree of precision

and care. Where there is doubt, not merely as to the

truth, but as to the substantiability of a claim, the public

is seriously disserved by a presentation which implies that

no doubt exists. Claims involving scientific judgments

necessitate careful scientific evaluation before they may be

made, and the difficulty and possible uncertainty involved

** (Continued )

sarily mean that such evidence supports the affirmative

conclusion that eggs do not increase the risk. The evidence

may in the view of these experts simply be supportive of

no conclusion on the subject.

— 9a —

in making such judgments should normally be no bar to

requiring them."

In the instant case, however, we believe a different ap-

proach is warranted. It is apparent that there is very

little which respondents might claim or wish to claim in

their publications that would not be construed by con-

sumers as stating or implying that eating eggs, even in

quantity, will [26] not increase the risk of heart disease.

To insist upon a ‘‘reasonable basis’’ for such assertions

in the face of an evolving body of scientific opinion would

inevitably place the Commission in the position of having

to resolve an issue as to which the record in this case

warns that competent, well qualified experts are peculiarly

likely to evince sharp disagreement.

The foregoing does not mean, of course, that merely

because a scientific question is the subject of intense con-

troversy an advertiser thereby achieves the right to re-

present unqualifiedly that truth resides on one particular

side, with no warning to consumers whatsoever that a

controversy exists and that substantial reputable authority

takes the opposite view. Clearly it is deceptive for respon-

dents to characterize the other side as armed with ‘‘no

evidence’’ and themselves as in possession of ‘‘over-

whelming evidence.’’ Similarly it is patently deceptive

* As the Commission noted in its Pfizer decision,

‘(tlhe question of what constitutes a reasonable

basis is essentially a factual issue which will be

affected by the interplay of overlapping considera-

tions such as (1) the type and specificity of the claim

made—e.q. safety, efficacy, dietary, health, medical;

(2) the type of product—e.g. food, drug, potentially

hazardous consumer product, other consumer product;

(3) the possible consequences of a false claim—e.g.

personal injury, property damage; (4) the degree of

reliance by consumers on the claims; (5) the type, and

accessibility of evidence adequate to form a reason-

able basis for making the particular claims.’’ (Pfizer,

Inc., supra at p. 64)

— 0a —

for respondents to assert or imply unqualifiedly that egg

consumption, even in quantity, will not increase the risk

of heart disease and selectively cite authorities to this

effect when, in fact, a substantial body of scientific opinion

holds to the contrary.

The simple solution to this deception, we believe, is for

respondents to indicate clearly and conspicuously in their

advertising that the claim they seek to make for eggs is sub-

ject to substantial disagreement by qualified experts with-

in the scientific community. This was basically the ap-

proach adopted by the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals in

eranting an injunction against respondents’ advertising.

Complaint counsel in their brief to the Commission suggest

a similar approach, (CB 54) although they would also

retain reasonable basis provisions. Once it is made clear

that respondents’ claims are the subject of controversy,

and that well-qualified reputable experts disagree, we

think that the deception which may result from respon-

dents’ assertions of eggs’ safety should be eliminated.

Consumers, including those who lack extensive prior

acquaintance with the cholesterol controversy, will recog-

nize that respondents are merely stating their side of a

complex, unresolved scientific debate, and treat such state-

ments accordingly.

We believe that this remedial approach to the problem

presented here is preferable from both the standpoint of

respondents and consumers. On the one hand, were the

Commission [27] to maintain a narrow view of what con-

stitutes a ‘‘reasonable basis’’ for respondents’ position

and require that as a condition for its expression, it might

indeed come at the expense of respondents’ ability to pub-

licize new developments in the field. On the other hand,

were the Commission to adopt a more expansive view of

‘*reasonable basis,’’ it would be granting carte blanche to

respondents to assure consumers directly or by implication

that egg consumption is safe, without mention of the sub-

stantial contrary opinion. A similar right to deceive could,

under the circumstances, hardly be denied those seeking to

promote various low-cholesterol food products with the

—3la—

unqualified claim that eating eggs or other high cholesterol

foods will increase one’s risk of heart disease.

_Respondents argue that a requirement of affirmative

disclosure is inappropriate because it forces them to make

a statement with which they disagree [RRB 17], namely

(in the case of the Seventh Circuit’s proposed disclosure

and that of complaint counsel) the statement that there

is evidence that eating eggs may increase the risk of

heart disease. While we do not agree that respondents

raise a valid objection, we believe it is possible to accom-

modate their concern by requiring merely that they indi-

cate in their advertisements that many medical experts

believe that existing evidence indicates that consumption

of dietary cholesterol, including that in eggs, may increase

the risk of heart disease. It appears from the ‘record of

this ease that respondents would not disagree with the

foregoing formulation, nor need it oceupy an inordinately

large share of the extensive prose which respondents have

of necessity been devoting to this very complex issue.

For the foregoing reasons we have omitted Sections

I(B) (1) and I(B)(4) of the ALJ’s proposed order. Para-

graph I(B) of the order we have entered will permit

respondents to make representations concerning the exist-

ence of scientific evidence or expert opinion supporting

the view that eating eggs does not increase the risk of

heart disease, or to deseribe such evidence, provided that

respondents also disclose clearly and conspicuously in

conjunction therewith the fact that many medical experts

believe that existing evidence indicates [28] that increased

consumption of dietary cholesterol, including that in eggs,

may increase the risk of heart disease.

* The Commission’s authority to require affirmative dis-

closure in advertising is well-established, e.g. J. B. Wil-

liams Company v. C, 381 F.2d 884 (6th Cir. 1967);

Keele Hair ¢ S Specialists, Inc. v. FTC, 275 F.2d 18

(5th Cir., 1960); Ward Laboratories, Inc. v. FTC, 276

F. 2d 952 (2d Cir. 1960), cert. denied, 364 U.S. 827 (1960) ;

Waltham Precision Instrument Co. v. FTC, 327 F. 2d 427

(7th Cir., 1964), cert. denied, 377 U.S. 992 (1964).

=

Respondents also object to Paragraph I(C)(1) of the

order proposed by the administrative law judge, which

would prohibit misrepresentations of the existence, ab-

sence, or quantum of scientific evidence or proof concern-

ing the relationship between eggs and heart disease. Re-

spondents contend that the provision is unduly vague, and

will thus prevent them from advertising. Whether or not

this claim is valid, the Commission has determined to

modify Paragraph I(C)(1) in slight measure in order to

clarify its purpose, without diminishing the necessary

protections against deception which it is designed to

provide. Paragraph I(C)(1) entered herein parallels both

Paragraph I(A)(2) of the notice order and the second

operative paragraph of the injunction entered by the

Seventh Cirenit, prohibiting representations that the evi-

dence that consumption of eggs will not increase the risk

of heart disease is insignificant, and misrepresentations

of the amount of evidence that consumption of eggs will

not increase the risk, or that such evidence is “over-

whelming.”

We respect respondents’ desire to discuss what they

view as the deficient character of the scientifie case here-

tofore made against eggs. Tt would be misleading for the

reasons discussed earlier, however, for them to do so by

claiming that “no evidence” exists against eggs. The

same effect would be achieved were respondents able to

dismiss the quantum of existing evidence (and by impli-

eation the extent of existing contrary authority) as insig-

nificant, and hence not worth considering. Paragraph

T(()(1). like the injunctive provision on which it is mod-

eled, will prevent this, without foreclosing respondents

from expressing their views as to the nature and quality

of the scientific case against eggs.[29]

Ill, FIRST AMENDMENT DEFENSE

Respondents contend that even if the Commission has

jurisdiction over NCEN, its pronouncements on the sub-

ject of eggs and cholesterol are protected from regulation

by the First Amendment. Respondents aver that they do

— 33a —

not claim a right to make false statements on matters

of health (RRB 1) but they appear to maintain that the

controversial nature of their subject matter and its status

as a subject of public debate render their speech immune

from regulation except perhaps insofar as it contains

provable falschoods.”

In its recent opinion in Virginia State Board of Phar-

macy v. Virginia Citizens Consumer Council, Inc., No.

74-895, 44 U.S.L.W. 4686 (May 24, 1976) [96 S.Ct. 1817]

the Supreme Court dispelled what doubts may have lin-

gered that speech does not lose all constitutional protec-

tion merely because it is designed to offer something for

sale or convince the public of a product’s virtues. At the

same time, the Court reiterated that commercial speech

is not “wholly undifferentiable” from other forms, and

that the indulgence of deception which may be necessary

for certain forms of expression to flourish is not essential

in the commercial arena. As the court noted, “Obviously,

much commercial speech is not provably false, or even

wholly false, but only deceptive or misleading. We foresee

no obstacle to a state’s dealing effectively with this prob-

lem.” (44 U.S.L.W. 4693, n. 24) Similarly, the Court

recognized that the nature of commercial speech may

make it “appropriate to require that a commercial mes-

* Of course, whether or not a statement is “provably

false’’ depends in the first instance on what it means.

Respondents themselves do not deny the falsity of the

claims discussed at pp. 18-20, for example, but deny that

their statements conveyed such claims. Similarly, respond-

ents would presumably not deny the falsity of the message

which we believe is clearly conveyed by their ‘‘no evi-

dence” advertisements, althongh they would deny that

such message is actually conveyed by their words. For

these reasons we take respondents’ First Amendment argu-

ment to be, in some measure, that the nature of their

speech is such that the Commission must refrain entirely

from evaluating it pursuant to the standards of Section

Five, even if such evaluation would lead the Commission

to conclude that it is false.

— 34a —

sage appear in such a form, or include such additional

information, warnings and disclaimer, as are necessary to

prevent its being deceptive.” (/d.)

[30] There is, to be sure, enormous public interest in

the vigorous dissemination of accurate product informa-

tion to consumers by commercial organizations. That in-

terest, which the Supreme Court perceived in the First

Amendment, is no less at the heart of Section Five, whose

goal of promoting competition is advanced in a climate

of useful consumer information. Neither the objectives of

the First Amendment, nor of the FTC Act are well-served,

however, by commercial speech which is deceptive—which

relies upon outright falsehoods or misleadingly oversim-

plified statements of complex issues to induce consumer

beliefs and behavior that might differ considerably if

greater precision were employed. As Justice Stewart noted

in concurring with the majority in Virginia Pharmacy

Board, “* * * the elimination of false and deceptive claims

serves to promote the one facet of commercial price and

product advertising that warrants First Amendment pro-

tection—its contribution to the flow of accurate and reli-

able information relevay. to public and private decision-

making.” (44 U.S.L.W. 4695-96)

Although Virginia State Board of Pharmacy had not

been decided at the time this matter was argued before

the Commission, we think it evident from respondents’

briefs that they do not view their representations as

properly subject to the requirement of non-deceptiveness

which the Court emphasized could appropriately be im-

posed upon commercial speech. Respondents argue in

their briefs that their speech, far from being commercial,

is rather akin to social or political advocacy, and that the

Commission, therefore, may not interfere ‘to any degree

in their expression of “viewpoint.” Alternatively they

seem to suggest that the Supreme Court’s decision in

Bigelow v. Virgima, 421 U.S. 809 (1975) requires a “hal-

ancing” of interests before even misleading commercial

—

speech may be regulated, and that such balancing weighs

here in favor of regulatory abstinence, We cannot agree.”

[31] While there are no doubt aspects of the cholesterol

controversy which impinge upon politics and governmental

policy, those are not the focus of respondents’ publica-

tions, all of which are directed toward conveying, by

varving techniques, the message that eggs are entirely

safe to eat, even in quantity, because consumption of

dietary cholesterol will not increase the risk of heart

disease, or at least has not been implicated by scientific

evidence, Respondents’ early publications (CX 1ff.) con-

vey the message in a conventionally commercial format

(e.q., “The Sexy Egg’’). Later publications make the

same point by means of excerpts from a small and not

particularly representative sample of the scientific litera-

ture, accompanied by appropriate commentary and pro-

fessions of charitable intent, e.g. ‘‘the public has the right

to know.’”’

There are significant differences, we believe, between

scientific health claims made about a product by a com-

mercial organization and commentary on genuine political

or social issues, differences which warrant their well-recog-

nized disparity in legal treatment. Arguments directed to

social and political issues, where made by individuals or cor-

porations, are likely to be recognized by the public as ex-

pressions of opinion, by their very nature subject to con-

troversy and substantial reputable disagreement. Even

interspersed ‘‘factual’’ statements are likely to be viewed

2? We do not wish to mischaracterize respondents’ posi-

tion. They do maintain, of course, that their represente-

tions are neither false nor misleading. On the other hand

they are apparently unwilling to concede that resolution

of this lawsuit depends solely on whether or not the de-

ciding tribunal agrees on that point. For this reason we

understand them to be asserting as defense that the First

Amendment does exempt their statements from liability,

even if they are misleading by the standards customarily

applied by the Commission in analyzing product claim.

— 36a —

with the skepticism reserved for an advocate’s expression

of a disputed point of view. We do not think that con-

sumers, or at least a substantial segment of consumers,

necessarily reserve the same skepticism in viewing what

puport to he largely or entirely factual scientific recita-

tions of the health and nutritive virtues of a food product

by a party presumptively in possession of all information

relevant thereto, ef. Virginia State Board of Pharmacy,

supra, p. 4693, n. 24. While few might still agree that

‘‘advertisements contain the only truths io be relied on

in a newspaper’? (Thomas Jefferson, ‘Letter to Nathaniel

Macon’’), they are clearly an important source of deci-

sion-guiding data for consumers.

Perhaps this is not the way it should be. Perhaps when

consumers read that ‘‘there is absolutely no scientific evi-

dence that eating eggs, even in quantity, will increase the

risk of heart disease’’ they should all recognize this as

merely the advertiser’s interpretation of a controversial

body of evidence, and view it with the appropriate skep-

ticism. But would respondents also desire, and would it

truly be in the public interest, if consumers were to ac-

cord the same intense degree of skepticism to statements

which oecur a few sentences earlier in their advertisement:

‘“* * * eges have fewer calories per gram of protein

than any other natural food * * *. Eggs are an important

source of vitamins A,B,D, and E and are a preferred source

of iron.’? (CX 2)

[32] To the contrary, we believe that some consumers

do, and have a right to place substantial faith in nutrition

and health claims made by commercial organizations. If an

advertiser assures them that the product being touted

contains plentiful quantities of a vitamin, or abundant

amounts of protein, they have a right to assume that these

statements would compel the assent of all or nearly all

experts within the relevant scientific community. Similarly,

when an advertiser, (or a ‘‘National Commission on Egg

Nutrition’’) which presumably knows everything there is

to know about the product being discussed, assures the

lit

— 37a —

public that product is safe, or that there is ‘‘No evidence”’

that it is unsafe, the public will, and we think has a right

to, assume that the advertiser is doing more than express-

ing an opinion that would at best obtain the qualified as-

sent of a mere fraction of those professionally competent

to evaluate it.

For the foregoing reasons we must reject respondents’

contention that their publications are, like true political

commentary, constitutionally immunized from the neces-

sity to adhere to the standards of Section Five of the

Federal Trade Commission Act. Similarly, we doubt that

the Bigelow case compels the application of a balancing of

interests test in each particular case before any regulation

whatsoever may be applied to misleading commercial

speech. That balance has already been struck on a

categorical basis, a fact recognized by the Supreme Court

in Virginia Board of Pharmacy if not in Bigelow itself.

Assuming, however, arguendo that such balancing is ap-

propriate, we conclude that it weighs heavily here in favor

of regulation for the following reasons:

There is scant public benefit and considerable actual

and potential publie harm (1.D. 109-110, 127) in adver-

tising which assures all members of the public that there

is no reason to doubt that they may eat as many eggs as

they wish without any increase in the risk of heart

disease, without a mention that a major segment, perhaps

a substantial majority, of the relevant expert community

strongly disagrees.

Respondents claim that their advertising serves the

worthy purpose of firing debate in an area marked bv

misinformation and misconception. To be sure, the ex-

hibits introduced by respondents demonstrate that they

have no monopoly on the dissemination of misinformation

concerning the relationship [33] between dietary choles-

terol and heart disease, although their advertisements are

probably more likely to catch the ey. than the nutrition

articles to which they object. Nevertheless, assuming

arguendo that respondents’ publications may indeed pro-

=

voke valuable consumer debate, there is no reason to con-

clude that such debate could not and will not be equally

well encouraged, without deleterious side effects, by ad-

vertising that is not misleading. As the Supreme Court

noted in Virginia Board of Pharmacy, **|s]lince adver-

tising is the sine qua non of commercial profits, there is

little likelihood of its being chilled by proper regulation

and foregone entirely.’’ 44 U.S.L.W. 4693, n. 24.

In addition to the public debate, respondents suggest

that regulation of their publications will chill ‘‘independent

thought and variance from government orthodoxy by

those who can contribute to the science of the matter.’’

(RB 36) We agree, of course, that the First Amendment

exists to foster the search for truth as well as the ex-

pression of opinion, and that search may entail societal

sufferance of many deceptions, real and imagined, along

the way. This consideration weighs overwhelmingly in

favor of the right of scientists to disseminate their views

free of scrutiny, or of journalists and publishers te report

upon or promote scientifie works, despite an incideniai

commercial effect, e.g. Scientific Manufacturing Co. v. FTC,

124 F. 2d 640 (3rd Cir. 1944).

The foregoing consideration is far less compelling, how-

ever, in the case of those who would simply use, or misuse,

the works of scientists for the purpose of convincing the

public of a scientific proposition in order to promote the

sale of a commercial product, e.g. Perma-Maid Co. v.

FTC, 121 F. 2d 282 (6th Cir. 1941); Koch, et al. v. FTC,

206 F. 2d 311 (6th Cir. 1953). It should be apparent that

the Commission in its decision has expressed no view as to

the merits of the diet/ heart disease hypothesis, and the

Commission’s opinion, like that the ALJ, simply cannot be

taken as an endorsement of anyone’s orthodoxy except

perhaps by those scientists who, in most unscientific

fashion, choose to draw conclusions about a document with-

out reading it. For these reasons we cannot take seriously

respondents’ suggestion that those who would do research

in this area will in any way be deterred by a Commission

— 39a —

decision adverse to NCEN, and we must similarly conclude

that no reason exists in this case to warrant the Com-

mission’s departure from its statutory duty to proscribe

false and misleading advertising.

[34] The foregoing is not to say, as should by now be

clear, that we view the issues raised by respondent and

the peculiar nature of this case to be wholly irrelevant

to our decision and particularly the question of appro-

priate relief herein. As noted in the preceding discussion

of ‘‘reasonable basis,’’ [Part II(D)] we do believe that

the nature of the dispute here in issue warrants a some-

what different order from that which might ordinarily be

appropriate. We believe that the order we have entered

herein should adequately accommodate those interests

which respondents claim warrant complete regulatory

exemption. Paragraph I(A) of the order will prohibit cer-

tain precisely defined and demonstrated falsehoods which

may be used to convince people of eggs’ safety and nutri-

tive virtue. It will also require respondents to disclose

that NCEN is an organization of egg industry people. At

the same time, the order will not prevent respondents from

presenting to consumers their point of view regarding

the safety of eggs, provided they make it clear that their

assertions are subject to substantial expert disagreement.

Substitution of affirmative disclosure for the requirement

of ‘‘reasonable basis’’ is intended to maximize the cer-

tainty with which respondents may advertise, since inclu-

sion of the disclosure in conjunction with a representation

described in Par. I1(B) will suffice to immunize the re-

presentation from liability under the order.

Respondents also object to the order on grounds that

while it purports to be applicable only to ‘‘advertise-

ments’’ it gives inadequate guidance as to what publica-

tions fall under that term. Complaint counsel suggest a

two-part test: (1) is the publication used in connection

with the sale or promotion of a product, and (2) does it

have a tendency or capacity to induce the sale of, or to

affect any other commercial behavior toward, the product?

—_

Cf. Koch, et al. v. FTC, swpra, at 318 (6th Cir. 1953). In

view of the nature of respondent NCEN, described in part

I of this opinion, it is obvious that any publication dis-

seminated by it in mass media to the lay public, and satis-

fying the second criterion, also satisfies the first. We

think the traditional standard of whether or not a publica-

tion has the tendency or capacity to induce the sale of a

product is also not unduly vague. Publications designed

to convey the point that consumption of a particular pro-

duet, will not increase the risk of heart disease, are clearly

likely to induce the purchase of that [35] product. The

fact that the message is conveyed by means of selected

quotations from the works of scientists and popular

writers does not alter the commercial character of the pub-

lication. Nor is it altered by self-serving professions of

eleemosynary intent, e.g. ‘‘Brought to you in the public

interest.’’ If anything the misleading effect of respon-

dents’ advertisements is enhanced by casting them in the

guise of a ‘‘public service message’’ presented by an un-

identified ** National Commission’’.*'

The term ‘‘advertisement’’ is one which has generally

heen thought sufficiently clear by courts applying it in

Section Five orders, including the Seventh Cireuit which

used the term in issuing an injunction in this matter. (517

F. 2d 485, 491.) We think it is sufficiently clear in this

ease. We do not doubt that if respondents wish, after

entry of an order, to continue the misrepresentations pro-

hibited therein, their ingenious efforts to create a ‘‘non-

advertisement” in which to do so may raise close ques-

tions of interpretation. That, however, can be no reason

in this, or in any other case, for withholding entry of an

order to prohibit the recurrence of what are clearly mis-

leading advertisements.

*' In this regard we must reject the suggestion attributed

to the ALJ (RB 21ff.) that CX 171-173 and 175-176 are

necessarily not commercial publications, although they do

not form the basis for our finding of liability in this matter.

i oS ee eS a ee ee

— 4la —

For the foregoing reasons the initial decision of the

administrative law judge is affirmed, except to the extent

modified herein.*? An appropriate order is appended.** [36 |

APPENDIX

The findings of fact and conclusions of Law set forth in

the initial decision of the administrative law judge are

adopted by the Commission, except to the extent they are

qualified in the Commission’s opinion and in this appendix:

LD 14, p. 9, Add to the end of line 3,

‘*in at least certain docu-

mented instances’’

delete ‘‘(Smith, 1635-36)’’

[Although the conclusion

of the aus for which cita-

tion is given in sup-

port is correct and ap-

parent from the face of

the advertisements, the

citation is inapposite.

delete ‘‘and most authora-

tative [sic]’’

LD. 21, p. 12,

LD 59, p. 32,

*21n addition to modifications described in the text, we

have reviewed the initial decision and respondents’ ob-

jections to it at RB la-Ga, and have made certain changes

in the initial decision findings adopted by the Commission.

These are recited in the Appendix to this opinion.

** We have modified a paragraph proposed by the ALJ

which would have required NCEN to require its members

to sign an agreement to abide by terms of the order as a

condition of membership. The order entered will simply

require that NCEN members be provided with copies of

the order. To the extent that NCEN acts through its mem-

bers, or that its members act on its behalf the corpora-

tion will be liable. While the signature provision is clearly

a necessary remedy in certain cases, we can perceive no

need for it here.

— 42a —

LD. 106, p. 57, change ‘‘The qualifications

as experts on CHD are un-

challenged’’ to ‘* They are

well-qualified as experts

on CHD’’

ILD. 110, p. 59, add at end of finding, ‘‘Of

course, Dr. Blackburn’s

estimate must be qualified

in light of his acknowl-

edgment that he cannot

be certain that increases

in serum cholesterol

levels would in fact re-

sult in increases in the

rate of cup. Tr. 377-79"’

I.D. 120, p. 65, amend final sentence on

this page to read:

**Rather, the proper con-

clusion with respect to

the viewpoint of those

experts quoted herein-

above is approximated by

this statement by the In-

ter-Society Commission

for Heart Disease Re-

sources (Finding 102

supra) :’’

LD. 120, p. 66, delete sentence beginning

‘‘The testimony relied

upon * * *’’ [This sub-

ject is more fully dis-

cussed in Part I of this

opinion. ]

Finat OrpeER

[1] This matter having been heard by the Commission

upon the appeal of respondent from the initial decision,

and upon briefs and oral argument in support thereof and

— 43a —

opposition thereto, and the Commission for the reasons

stated in the accompanying opinion having determined to

sustain the initial decision with certain modifications:

It is ordered, That the initial decision of the administra-

tive law judge, pages 1-95, be adopted as the Findings

of Fact and Conclusions of Law of the Commission, ex-

cept to the extent indicated in the accompanying opinion.

Other Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law of the

Commission are contained in the accompanying opinion.

It is further ordered, That the following order to cease

and desist be, and it hereby is ,entered:

ORDER

1

It is ordered, That respondents National Commission on

Egg Nutrition and Richard Weiner, Inc., corporations,

their successors and assigns, either jointly or individually,

and [2] respondents’ officers, agents, representatives, and

employees, directly or through any corporation, subsidiary,

division or other device, in connection with the advertising,

offering for sale, sale or distribution of eggs for human

consumption do forthwith cease and desist from:

A. Disseminating or causing the dissemination of any

advertisement by .eans of the United States mail or by

any means in or affecting commerce, as ‘‘commerce’’ is

defined in the Federal Trade Commission Act, which

directly or indirectly

1. Represents that there is no scientific evidence that

eating eggs increases the risk of heart attacks, heart

disease, atherosclerosis, arteriosclerosis, or any attendant

condition ;

2. Represents that there is scientific evidence that

(lietary cholesterol, including that in eggs, decreases the

risk of heart attacks, heart disease, atherosclerosis, ar-

teriosclerosis, or any attending condition;

enoliiininn

3. Represents that there is scientific evidence that avoid-

ing dietary cholesterol, including that in eggs, increases

the risk of heart attacks, heart disease, atherosclerosis,

arteriosclerosis, or any attendant condition;

4. Represents that eating eggs does not increase the

blood cholesterol level in a normal person;

5. Represents that the blood cholesterol level is pre-

vented from being raised or lowered by dietary choles-

terol intake;

6. Represents that the human body increases its manu-

facture of cholesterol in an amount equal to a decrease in

dietary cholesterol intake;

7. Represents that the average human body eliminates

the same amount of cholesterol as that eaten;

[3] 8. Represents that dietary cholesterol, including

that in eggs, ix needed by the body for building sex

hormones, for transmitting nerve impulses and for main-

taining life in cells; or

9. Utilizes the name ‘‘National Commission on Egg

Nutrition’’ unless it is clearly and conspicuously disclosed

in immediate conjunction with the name that the National

Commission on Egg Nutrition is composed of egg prod-

ucers and other individuals and organizations of, or re-

lating to, the egg industry.

B. Disseminating, or causing the dissemination of any

advertisement by means of the United States mail or by

any means in or affecting commerce, as ‘‘commerce’’ +s

defined in the Federal Trade Commission Act which

directly or indirectly

1. Represents that eating eggs does not increase the

risk of heart attacks, heart disease, atherosclerosis, ar-

teriosclerosis, or any attendant condition or represents

that there exists, or describes scientific evidence which

supports the theory that consumption of dietary choles-

terol, including that in eggs, does not increase the risk

3

aw (oe ..

of heart attacks, heart disease, atherosclerosis, arterios-

clerosis, or any attendant condition or

2. Makes any representation concerning the relation-

ship of dietary cholesterol, including that in eges, to heart

attacks, heart disease, atherosclerosis, arteriosclerosis, or

any attendant condition unless it is clearly and conspicu-

ously disclosed in immediate conjunction therewith that

many medical experts believe that existing evidence in-

dieates that increased consumption of dietary cholesterol,

including that in eggs, may increase the risk of heart

disease.

[4] C. Disseminating, or causing the dissemination of,

any advertisement by means of the United States mail or

by anv means in or affecting commerce, as ‘‘commerce’’

is defined in the Federal Trade Commission Act, which

directly or indirectly

1. Represents as insignificant the available scientific

evidence that the consumption of dietary cholesterol, in-

eluding that in eggs, may increase the risk of heart at-

tacks, heart disease, atherosclerosis, arteriosclerosis, or

any attendant condition, or represents that there is over-

whelming scientific evidence or otherwise misrepresents

the amount of scientifie evidence that eating eggs does not

inerease the risk of heart attacks, heart disease, atheros-

clerosis. arteriosclerosis, or any attendant condition.

2. Misrepresents in any manner the physiological effects

of consuming dietary cholesterol or eggs.

II

It ts further ordered, That respondents shall forthwith

distribute a copy of this order to each of their operating

divisions, and to all current and future members of respon-

deut National Commission on Egg Nutrition.

It is further ordered, That each respondent notify the

Commission at least thirty (30) days prior to any pro-

posed change in its corporate structure such as dissolu-

—

r sale resulting in the ee of _

i dissolution of sub-

successor corporation, the creation or =

sidiaries or any other change in the corporation ee

may affect compliance cbligations arising out oO e

order.

-: further ordered, That each respondent shall, within

Ps by? days after this order becomes final, file — beg

Commission a report, in writing. signed by aig

setting forth in detail the manner and form of its

plance with the order to cease and desist.

tion, assignment 0

— 47a —

NATIONAL COMMISSION ON EGG NUTRITION and

Richard Weiner, Inc.,

Petitioners-Appellants,

vs.

FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION,

Respondent-Appellee.

Nos. 76-1969 and 76-1975.

United States Court of Appeals, Seventh Circuit.

Argued June 17, 1977.

Decided No. 29, 1977.

As Amended Dec. 6, 1977.

Supplemental Opinion on FTC’s Motion to Amend

Judgment Jan. 23, 1978.

Following remand, 517 F.2d 485, Federal Trade Com-

mission entered order prohibiting false and misleading

advertising by egg industry trade association concerning

the relationship between cholesterol, eggs, and heart

disease. The Court of Appeals, Tone, Cireuit Judge, held

that: (1) evidence sustained determination that represen-

tations made by the industry and various advertisements

had been false; (2) the statements complained of were not

immune under the First Amendment from FTC action; (3)

order was not unconstitutionally vague, but (4) industry

should not have heen required to include, in any future

statements concerning the relationship between eggs and

heart disease, information that many medical experts be-

lieve that increased consumption of cholesterol may in-

crease the risk of heart disease.

Enforced in part.

1. Amicus —1

Argument which was not made before the Federal Trade

Commission or by the parties themselves in the Court

of Appeals was not properly before the Court of Appeals

when presented in brief filed by amicus curiae.

—

9. Trade Regulation — 802

Evidence sustained determination of Federal Trade Com-

mission that advertising statements made by trade as-

sociation of the egg industry concerning lack of relation-

ship between cholesterol, eggs, and heart disease were false.

3. Constitutional Law — 90(1)

First Amendment embraces the interests of both the

speaker and the prospective audience, U.S.C.A.Const.

Amend. 1.

4. Constitutional Law — 90.1(1)

Advertising statements of egg industry which categor-

ically and falsely denied the existence of evidence con-

sidering relationship between cholesterol, eggs, and heart

disease, which evidence in fact existed, were not immune

under the First Amendment from FTC order prohibiting

false advertising. U.S.C.A. Const. Amend. 1; Federal

Trade Commission Act §§ 5, 12, 15 U.S.C.A. §§ 45, 52.

5. Trade Reculation — 816

Neither the use of the term ‘‘advertisement’” in FTC

order prohibiting certain misleading statements in adver-

tising nor statement of the Administrative Law Judge

that he did not predicate a finding of violation on certain

materials published by the respondent rendered the order

uneonstitutionally vague. Federal Trade Commission Act,

§§ 5, 12, 15 U.S.C.A. §§ 45, 52.

6. Trade Regulation — 816

Provision of Federal Trade Commission order pro-

hibiting advertising which represented as insignificant the

available scientific evidence that the consumption of dietary

cholesterol, including that in eggs, may increase the risk

of heart disease or which otherwise misrepresented the

amount of scientifie evidence that eating eggs does not

inerease the risk of heart attacks was not unconstitu-

tionally vague. Federal Trade Commission Act, §§ 5, 12,

15 U.S.C.A. §§ 45, 52; U.S.C.A.Const. Amend. 1.

— 49a —

7. Trade Regulation — 812

Federal Trade Commission, in barring false and mis-

leading advertisements, was not limited to prohibiting the

precise misrepresentations which had occurred in the past.

Federal Trade Commission Act, §§ 5, 12, 15 U.S.C.A. §§

45, 52.

8. Constitutional Law — 90.1(1)

First Amendment does not permit Federal Trade Com-

mission to impose a remedy for false and misleading ad-

vertising which is broader than that necessary to prevent

deception or correct the effects of past deception. U.S.C.A.

Const. Amend. 1; Federal Trade Commission Act, 4§ 5, 12,

15 U.S.C.A. §§ 45, 52.

9 Trade Regulation — 812

In the absence of showing a long history of deception

on the part of egg industry with respect to advertisements

concerning relationship between cholesterol, eggs and heart

disease, Federal Trade Commission requirement that the

industry include in any future advertisements concerning

the relationship between eggs and heart disease the state-

ment that many medical experts believe the increased con-

sumption of dietary cholesterol, including that in eggs, may

increase the risk of heart attack; the egg industry should

not have been required to argue the other side of the con-

troversy; the requirement could be imposed only when

the industry chose to make a representation as to the

state of available evidence or information concerning the

controversy. U.S.C.A.Const. Amend. 1; Federal Trade

Commission Act, §§ 5, 12, 15 U.S.C.A. §§ 45, 52.

James L. Fox, Donald P. Colleton, Chicago, Ill., for

petitioners-appellants.

John T. Fischbach, Atty., F T. C., Washington, D. C.,

for respondent-appellee.

=

Before Sprecuer and Tone, Cireuit Judges, and Camp-

BELL, Senior District Judge.*

Tone, Cireuit Judge.

The subject of this appeal is commercial speech under

the First Amendment. Acting pursuant to its power to

prohibit false and misleading advertising, the Federal

Trade Commission has entered a final order directing

petitioners to cease and desist from disseminating adver-

tisements containing statements to the effect that there

is no scientific evidence that eating eggs increases the

risk of heart and circulatory disease.’ Certain statements

ancillary to the one just described are also prohibited, and

the right to make still others is limited and conditioned

by the order. We sustain the order, except for a provision

which we hold to be overbroad

Petitioners are a trade association that calls itself the

National Commission on Egg Nutrition (NCEN), and its

advertising agency, Richard Weiner, Inc. Despite its ofli-

cial-sounding title, NCEN was formed by members of the

egg industry, to counteract what the FTC described as

‘‘anti-cholesterol attacks on eggs which had resulted in

steadily declining per capita egg consumption.’’ To carry

out this mission, NCEN, with Weiner’s assistance, mounted

an advertising and public relations campaign to convey

the message that eggs are harmless and are needed in

human nutrition. In 1974 the FTC filed a complaint charg-

ing petitioners with having violated §§ 5 and 12 of the

Federal Trade Commission Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 45, 52, by

placing newspaper advertisements containing various false

"The Honorable William J. Campbell, Senior District

Judge of the United States District Court for the Northern

District of Illinois, is sitting by designation.

‘The term ‘‘heart and circulatory disease’’ is used in

this opinion to include, in the Commission’s phrase, ‘‘heart

attacks, heart disease, atherosclerosis, arteriosclerosis, or

any attendant condition.’’

—5la —

and misleading statements with respect to the relation-

ship between eating eggs and heart and circulatory disease.

In its answer, NCEN admitted that it had made represen-

tations in its advertising concerning the absence of scien-

tifie evidence that eating eggs increases the risk of heart

and circulatory disease and also had represented that eat-

ing eggs does not increase the blood cholesterol level in

a normal person, but stated that it was no longer making

such representations in its advertising. NCEN did not

contest that other representations charged were misleading

hut denied having made them.

After filing its complaint, the FTC sought a temporary

injunction in the District Court under § 13(a) of the

Federal Trade Commission Act, 15 U.S.C § 53(a), to

prohibit NCEN from continuing its allegedly false adver-

tising while the administrative proceeding was pending.

The District Court denied the relief sought by the FTC.

We reversed and directed the entry of an injunction for-

bidding the misrepresentations complained of but allowing

NCEN to make ‘‘a fair presentation of its side of the

controversy.’’ FTC vy. National Commission on Egg Nutri-

tion, 517 F.2d 485, 489 (7th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 426

U.S. 919, 96 S.Ct. 2623, 49 L.Ed.2d 372 (1976).

After hearing the evidence, an administrative law judge

sustained the allegations of the complaint and recom-

mended a cease and desist order. On appeal to the FTC,

the ALJ’s findings were sustained and the recommended

order was adopted with some modifications. NCEN and

Weiner have filed petitions for reveiew of that order by

this court. Only NCEN has filed a brief.

The order directs NCEN and Weiner to cease and

desist from disseminating, by mail or means in or affect-

ing commerce, advertising which directly or indirectly

makes certain specified representations. The one wiiich is

of principal concern here is ‘‘that there is no scientifie evi-

dence that eating eggs increases the risk of . . . heart

fand circulatory] disease... .”’ Other specifically pro-

— 52a —

hibited statements, which the FTC found petitioners had

made in the past, are variations on the same general

theme.* In addition, any representation concerning the re-

lationship of eating eggs, or of dietary cholesterol, in-

cluding that in eggs, to heart and circulatory disease, is

permissible only if

it is clearly and conspicuously disclosed in immediate

conjunction therewith that many medical experts be-

lieve that existing evidence indicates that increased

consumption of dietary cholesterol, including that in

eggs, may increase the risk of heart disease.

Also forbidden is any statement hich

[r]epresents as insignificant the :vailable scientific evi-

dence that the consumption of dietary cholesterol, in-

cluding that in eggs, may increase the risk of...

heart disease, ... or represents that there is over-

whelming scientific evidence or otherwise misrepresents

* Petitioners are forbidden from making any statement

which directly or indirectly represents

... that there is scientific evidence that dietary choles-

terol, including that in eggs, decreases the risk of

... heart [and cireulatory] disease .. .;

. that there is scientific evidence that avoiding

dietary cholesterol, including that in eggs, increases

the risk of .. . heart [and circulatory] disease . . .;

... that eating eggs does not increase the blood choles-

terol level in a normal person;

... that the blood cholesterol level is prevented from

being raised or lowered by dietary cholesterol intake;

.. . that the human body increases its manufacture of

cholesterol in an amount equal to a decrease in dietary

cholesterol intake;

. that the average human body eliminates the

same amount of cholesterol as that eaten;

. that dietary cholesterol, including that in eggs,

is needed by the body for building sex hormones,

for transmitting nerve impulses and for maintaining

life in cells. ..

— 53a —

the amount of scientific evidence that eating eggs does

not increase the risk of . .. heart disease ... [or]

[mJisrepresents in any other manner the physiologi-

eal effects of consuming dietary cholesterol or eggs.

The order also prohibits NCEN from using its name “‘. .

unless it is clearly and conspicuously disclosed in im-

mediate conjunction with the name that iic National Com-

mission on Egg Ntrition is composed of egg producers and

other individuals and organizations of, or relating to, the

egg industry.”’

{1} NCEN does not challenge the requirement that it

identify itself as a trade association if its wishes to con-

tinue using its current title. Nor does it specifically chal-

lenge the findings that the various statements found to

have been made, other than the ‘‘no scientific evidence’’

statement, were false and misleading. The debate before

us is focused on that statement, i.e., that there is no scien-

tifie evidence linking the eating of eggs to an increased

risk of heart and circulatory disease. NCEN argues, first,

that the statement is true; second, that even if it is mis-

leading, the FTC’s prohibition infringes upon NCEN’s

First Amendment rights; and, finally, that even if the

FTC’s holding of a violation is upheld, its order is

unconstitutionally vague and overbroad, going beyond

what is necessary to remedy that violation.°

*The Association of National Advertisers, Inc., in an

amicus brief filed in support of NCEN, argues that the

FTC’s hearing procedures violated the First Amendment

standards set forth in Blount v. Rizzi, 400 U.S. 410, 417,

91 S.Ct. 428, 27 L.E.2d 498 (1971). As the FTC points

out, however, this argument was not made before the

FTC or even by the petitioners themselves in this court

and is therefore not properly before us. See American

Meat Institute v. Environmental Protection Agency, 526

F.2d 442, 449 (7th Cir. 1975).

— §4e

I. Falsity

[2} What the FTC describes as the ‘‘diet/heart

disease’’ hypothesis, subscribed to by ‘‘many well-qualified

medical science experts .. ., with varying degrees of con-

viction,”’ is as follows: For many people, the amounts of

cholesterol and saturated fats which are ingested affect

the risk of heart and circulatory disease; increasing the

amounts increases the risk, and decreasing the amounts

decreases the risk.

Egg yolks contain substantially more cholesterol than

any other commonly eaten food and are a major contribu-

tor of cholesterol in the American diet. The yolk of one

egg provides cholesterol in an amount equal to about one-

third of the average daily per capita consumption of

cholesterol. (Although the yolk also contains saturated

fat, the amount per egg is equal to less than four percent

of the average per capita intake of that substance.)

The diet/heart disease hypothesis is based on several

propositions: First, in many people the cholesterol level

in the blood stream (serum cholesterol) is affected by the

amount of cholesterol and saturated fat in the diet. Second,

relatively high levels of serum cholesterol have been as-

sociated with relatively high incidence of coronary heart

disease in sample populations. Third, relatively high levels

of serum cholesterol contribute to the formation of

atherosclerotic lesions, which precipitate heart disease.

These propositions have been formulated by scientists

based upon, in the FTC’s words, ‘‘the results of a large

body of clinical-pathological, experimental, and epidemio-

logical studies.’’ After describing these studies, the ALJ

had found that they

were conducted using scientific methodologies, were

performed by competent and highly regarded inves-

tigators, have been reported in recognized scientific

journals after peer review, and have been generally

— 55a —

accepted by experts in the field and by the scientific

community.

These administrative findings of fact are not challenged

by NCEN. Instead, it relies upon testimony of its own

expert witnesses that some scientists and doctors are not

persuaded by the studies, and that in the opinion of the

witnesses the sudies are not ‘‘evidence’’ and, in the words

of one witness, ‘‘would not convince anybody that the

number of eggs consumed does increase the risk of ischemic

heart disease.’’

The FTC concluded that, impossible though it may be

to determine whether consuming eggs in fact increases the

risk of heart and circulatory disease, it is possible to

determine the existence and amount of evidence on that

issue. Referring to the testimony of NCEN’s experts

that, in their opinion, there was no evidence of a connec-

tion between eggs and heart and circulatory disease, the

FTC said that

in rendering their testimony respondents’ witnesses

did not dispute the fact that many experts, in the

exercise of reasonable, albeit disputed, scientific judg-

ment, have relied upon a large body of scientific

studies in formulating the diet/heart disease hy-

pothesis.

Responding to the argument that the ‘‘no evidence’”’ state-

ment would be recognized by readers as merely an ex-

pression of opinion, the FTC said,

Unfortunately, however, the phrase ‘‘there is no evi-

dence’’ is also, and perhaps more reasonably subject

to the interpretation that ‘‘there do not exist com-

petent and reliable scientific studies from which well-

qualified experts could reasonably hypothesize that

=_

eating eggs increases the risk of heart disease.’’ This

latter message is patently false and imsleading.*

As the Third Circuit observed in Beneficial Corp. v.

FTC, 542 F.2d 611, 617 (1976), cert. denied, 430 U.S. 983,

97 S.Ct. 1679, 52 L.Ed.2d 377 (1977), ‘‘[w]hether particu-

lar advertising has a tendency to deceive or mislead is

obviously an impressionistic determination more closely

akin to a finding of fact than to a conclusion of law.’’ Ap-

plying the ‘‘substantial evidence’’ rule, and giving due

regard to the FTC’s expertise, we cannot disturb the

finding.

Moreover, our own finding, if it were our province to

make one, would be less charitable to petitioners than that

of the FTC. The various scientific studies and that ex-

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.