Opposition — National Broadcasting Co. v. Niemi

Supreme Court brief1978

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 77 -1308

NATIONAL BROADCASTING CoMPANY, INC., and

CHRONICLE PUBLISHING Co.,

Petitioners,

VS.

Oxrv1a NiEMI, a Minor, by and through her

Guardian ad Litem, Valeria Pope Niemi,

Respondent.

REPLY TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

Marvin E, LEwIis,

Lewis, Roupa & LEwis,

690 Market Street, Penthouse,

San Francisco, California 94104,

Telephone: (415) 421-7616,

Attorneys for Respondent.

PERNAU - WALSH PRINTING CO. - 562 MISSION STREET - SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94108

A BOWNE COMPANY

Panik ee

ee eee ee

Subject Index

Page

_ Questions presented ..........ce cee eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeces 1

I: GE TD GD ok nbn 00 k9 04 0kss hc deesdércacneens 2

PU ID ; £56 55 0 ddundndedesonsdean€eennes esnse 6

ee I ID oo owe 6 ce ddaeedcducesenessecesudiesst 8

There is no reason for granting the writ ................. 8

BD, oo. nn. 0k nan ceed i insneecidies conssdecsctdensees 10

I

There is no defense of the First Amendment of the

United States Constitution to a negligence action .... 10

II.

Even assuming that the First Amendment is a defense

to a tort caused by words as well as conduct it is

Cad. Gh EE GD inc kv doknn vkscdaededintdica 24

A. There is no Louis IV absolutism concerning the

First Amendment defense ...............eeeee: 24

B. If the trier of fact in the instant case finds negli-

gence there will be no threat to the vigor of

journalistic and creative endeavors ............ 25

C. It has always been the law that every society has

a legitimate interest in protecting the health of

its children and when this interest clashes with

the First Amendment, the protection of the health

of the child predominates. (See Vol. 1, Modern

Constitutional Law, Antieau, pages 57 and 58

with decisions of the United States Supreme

a ere eee 29

D. Assuming that the First Amendment defense

applies, it does not mean Respondent should be

deprived of a trial. Disputes over constitutional

questions and the existence of constitutional facts

are no exception to the Seventh Amendment .... 46

E. Films and television are not entitled to the same

constitutional protections afforded newspapers or

other written publications .................e00. 53

F. Even protected speech is subject to a balancing

OE on cticice desi cdnieeddcdweteencsanbadduiees 59

I ks csesndvecdccccccctdaedebeds des sesadecakeaes 65

Table of Authorities Cited

Cases Pages

Akins v. County of Sonoma, 67 C.2d 185 ................ 30

Alioto v. Cowles Communications, Ine., 519 F.2d 777 (9th

Cir. 1975), eert. denied, 423 U.S. 930 (1976) .......... 50

Banzhaf v. FCC, 405 F.2d 1082 (D.C. Cir. 1968), eert.

ee. Be Ck. ee Lee) kvc cess cocccvesvovessesss eee

Bates v. State Bar of Arizona (...... UA cine aieaiis 53 L.Ed.

mail PE cn 6accseeeuceatdvaseetaveesnt Se

Beard vy. Alexandria, 341 U.S. 622, 95 L.Ed. 1233 ........ 28

Bigelow v. Virginia (1975) 421 U.S. 809, 44 L.Ed.2d 600,

CS lee eee eee eee Re eee ee eae 23

Brandenberg v. Ohio, 395 U.S. 444 .......... ccc cece ee ees 25

Bridges v. State of California, 86 L.Ed. 172 ............ 31

Buckley v. American Fed. of Television & Radio Artists,

8 eB Se eT eer eT Tr rT ee 60, 62, 64

Butler v. Michigan, 352 U.S. 380 (1957) .............06. 44

Carson v. Allied News Co., 529 F.2d 206 (7th Cir. 1976) 50

Columbia Broadeasting Sys. v. Demoeratie Comm., 412 U.S.

Pe GE peo ce we wesuce bebe hu cabo beds 0666646660005 57

Conners v. Riley, 395 F.Supp. 1244 (W.D. Ark. 1975) . .37, 48, 61

Cox v. New Hampshire, 312 U.S. 569, 61 S.Ct. 762, 85

i CEE ves ce eb eeu eWhee - 66606600CR NS tCKONS 60, 62

Danskin v. S. D. Unified School District, 28 C.2d 536 .... 31

Davis ». Macon Telegraph Publishing Co., 92 S.E.2d 619 .. 30

ee i Be, GE Ge Me 6.66 cree or cckeuscvetensccces 14

Egner vy. Texas City Independent School District, 338 F.

GD dubs nadebvesseesseepavescansesevitesencses 37

Erznoznik v. Jacksonville, 422 U.S. 205 (1975) ....40, 41, 45, 46

First Unitarian Chureh of Los Angeles vy. Los Angeles

Ce: Se D6 6 oe Sckccdcanesecdstcessceveces 30

Jertz v. Robert Welch, Inec., 418 U.S. 323 (1974) ........ 63

Gill v. Curtis Publishing Company, 38 C.2d 277 ....... 9, 20, 25

Ginsberg v. United States, 390 U.S. 629 ........... 35, 42, 43, 44

Gordon vy. Random House, Ine., 486 F.2d 1356 (3d Cir.

1973), vacated on other grounds, 419 U.S. 812 (1974) .. 53

oe

OSes tbe

Teiee ewes o

TasLe or AuTHOoRITIES CITED ili

Guam Fed’n of Teachers, Local 1581, A.F.T. v. Ysrael,

492 F.2d 488 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 872

SRNOED cuduvecebeseeetickecnsebsceeesesssneneeuluas 49, 50

Hotehner vy. Castillo-Puche, 404 F.Supp. 1041 (S.D.NLY.

1975), rev’d on other grounds, 551 F.2d 910 (2d Cir.

UR: 00odueoeeuneuuunecnthead chbeadaesssaleseees 51

Hughes v. Superior Court of California, 339 U.S. 460, 94

PAM UEP ocdonedbcsunbandénseensusdesecedencsaeucone 30

Interstate Cireuit v. Dallas, 390 U.S. 676 (1968) ......... 42, 61

Joseph Burstyn, Ine. v. Wilson, 343 U.S. 495 (1952) ...54, 55, 56

Kaplan v. Caley, 413 U.S. 115, 37 L.Ed.2d 492 .......... 32

Kingsley Pictures Corp. v. Regents of New York, 360 U.S.

See SEE kb6o+dantedoducedceneeendiencadaidanaueds 54

Koppinger v. City of Fairmont, 248 N.W.2d 708 ......... 38

Miller v. California, 413 U.S. 15, 37 L.Ed.2d 419 ........ 35, 36

Mt. Mansfield Television, Inc. v. FCC, 442 F.2d 470 (2d

eG - SEE aes rishwsvenkcduddacedeueupendexcadenees 58

National Lampoon, Ine. v. American Broadeasting Co., 376

ae Hee CS. ED Nuk Kcvecsevenestieesaee 57

New York Times Co. v. Sullivan (1964) 376 U.S. 254, 11

ES Sccvebavadedesanasesessusectaas 19, 20, 46, 47, 48

Pacifica Foundation v. PCC, 556 F.2d 9 (D.C. Cir. 1977)

ETT TT Te ee ee ee eee rer 40, 45, 46

Paris Adult Theater v. Slaton, 413 U.S. 49, 37 L.Ed.2d 446 31

People v. Garcia, 37 C.A.2d Supp. 753 ............. 0c eee 31

People v. Kahan, 206 N.E.2d 333 ........cccccccccsccccs 37

People v. Kitsis, 77 C.A.3d Supp. 1 (Cal. Rptr.) decided

PEPE Cue unuhies on66bdeeectntce viveebeeecabbednees 23

President’s Council District 25 v. Community School Board

ek es We Ee preter s nn dancdcwawndeus heseadeus 14

Prince v. Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158 (1943) ............ 32, 42

Quarterman v. Byrd, 453 F.2d 54 (4th Cir. 1971) ....... 36, 43

Red Lion Broadeasting Co. v. FCC, 395 U.S. 367 (1969) .. 57

Redrup v. New York, 386 U.S. 767, 18 L.Ed.2d 515 ...... 28, 31

iv TaBLeE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Pages

Rodriguez v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 12 C.3d 382 ......... 14

Rosenbloom v. Metro Media, 403 U.S. 29 ................ 17, 47

Roth v. United States, 354 U.S. 476, 1 L.Ed.2d 1498 ...... 31

Rowan v. Post Office Department, 25 L.Ed.2d 763 ........ 33

Russo v. Central School District No. 1, Town of Rush,

eee Wes, Ge ae GD GROUND 6 oc. ckcdceccdacccdecsds 37

Southwestern Promotional Limited v. Conrad, 420 U.S. 546

DE Cckadganvackebuevidecssbevedenaensakcseekeuun 54

Sullivan v. Houston Independent School District, 333 F.

PE EE 64444 5b 4560 decdnveteeeencubaseebussenkibs 37

Taggert v. Wadleigh-Maurice, Ltd., 489 F.2d 434 (3rd Cir.

1973), cert. denied, 417 U.S. 937 (1974) ..............51, 52

Tarasoff v. Regents of the University of California, 17 C.3d

Dy <cdnccedddeodeeatnnanekacaedasentee desk asaesewts« 14

Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S. 88, 84 L.Ed. 1093 ........ 30

Time, Inc. v. Pape, 401 U.S. 279 (1971) ................ 47

Times Film Corporation v. Chicago, 361 U.S. 48 ......... 53

Tinker v. Des Moines School Dist., 393 U.S. 503 (1969) .. 42

Trachtman v. Anker, 426 F.Supp. 198 (S.D. N.Y. 1976)

csauaduden idle ddeneeekenewhegesceteéeedchavdacas 38, 39, 42

United States v. O’Brien (1968) 391 U.S. 367, 20 L.Ed.2d

ek ee chien d cca cc weubecesnuaeeusdsassv ae 22

United States v. Pellegrino, 467 F.2d 41 (9th Cir. 1972) ..32, 43

Va. Pharmacy Bd. v. Va. Consumer Council (1976) 425

U.S. 748, 48 L.Ed.2d 346, 96 S.Ct. 1817 ............... 22

Virgil v. Time, Ine., 527 F.2d 1122 (9th Cir. 1975), cert.

Ss Ge Te CUD hW wee dnccccccsddndencecas 50

Weirum v. RKO General, Ine. (1975) 15 Cal.3d 40 ......

Jénle dunes ee he skanbiae bebe eekee cones 10, 11, 12, 14, 15, 16

Winters v. People of the State of New York, 330 U.S. 507,

a ee gs 31

Writers Guild of America West v. Federal Communications

Commission, 423 F.Supp. 1064 ................ 3, 15, 60, 64, 65

Young v. American Mini Theaters, 49 L.Ed.2d 310 ....... 33

Young v. American Mini Theaters, 427 U.S. 50 ..........

Ae NS EA DELTA IEE 40, 41, 44, 45, 46, 61

TABLE or AuTHoriITrEs CITED Vv

Pages

Zacchini v. Seripps-Howard Pub. Co., 45 U.S.L.W. 4954

eh: Ge Sy SE “Sic cbncn re deedeaeeadeens 19, 62, 63, 64

Constitutions

United States Constitution:

ee. I onda dptacnndseotenbansnéewesens passim

SE. MU os cnccccncucnddusdeusasceda 46, 48, 51

WPOmmOCeE BeROMGES onc ccccccccccccccccevccecs 1, 2,19

Texts

ee Se Bas Ge ED bcd bdcécedonscacscccecece 37

1 Modern Constitutional Law, Antieau, pp. 57, 58 ........ 29

Witkin, California Procedure, Trial (2d Ed. 1971) §73, p.

Se "cag Kcdedcdnndeenntdasendkddcnencteasneebeaadesds 7

alll

Iu the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

OcToBER TERM, 1977

No. 77-1308

NATIONAL BROADCASTING CoMPANY, INC., and

CHRONICLE PUBLISHING Co.,

Petitioners,

Vs.

Oxivia NIEMI, a Minor, by and through her

Guardian ad Litem, Valeria Pope Niemi,

Respondent.

REPLY TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

The Respondent, Olivia Niemi, a minor by and

through her Guardian ad Litem respectfully prays that

this Honorable Court deny a writ of certiorari.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Do the First and Fourteenth Amendments to

the United States Constitution constitute a defense

to an action based on negligence in the use of words

and conduct proximately causing harm and violating

a legal duty?

HNL CTEM

2

2. Assuming that the First and Fourteenth Amend-

ments to the United States Constitution constitute

a defense to an action of negligence should this be an

absolute defense to deprive the plaintiff of the right to

present her case before a jury?

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

That on September 10, 1974 NBC televised “Born

Innocent” to a national audience.

In the early segment of the television showing a

young girl is so graphically shown being raped by

other young girls with a plumber’s helper so as to

cause hundreds of viewers to believe that actual pen-

etration took place.

Congressional records will show that NBC was

warned in a congressional hearing concerning the dan-

ger of violence as portrayed by television on young

minds and promised that they would exercise their

duty in showing restraint in the types of scenes por-

trayed.

That they employed the services of a censor for

this very purpose.

That they had in their library books that had been

written by psychiatrists and professional experts on

the dangers of televising certain scenes that would

graphically show violence and warning them of the

danger that such scenes could cause to the minds of

minors.

were mee

3

James E. Duffy, President of ABC television net-

work confessed in a speech he gave on October 23,

1974 that audience ratings blind television networks

to their basic responsibility and in serving themselves,

they often do great dis-service to their viewers. Mr.

Duffy then pointed out that programs such as “Born

Innocent” should not have been shown at such an

early hour when children more often than not control

the dial.

That NBC network recognized that at the hours of

7:30 p.m. and 8:00 p.m. a large number of children

watch television and termed said period of time: “the

family hour”.

In the case of Writers Guild of America West v.

Federal Communications Commission, 423 F.Supp.

1064, Petitioner National Broadcasting Company, Inc.

prayed to the United States District Court that a

family hour shown from 7:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. dur-

ing which time no sex or violence would be shown

should be continued. The “Family Hour” was insti-

tuted because of the broadcast of “Born Innocent”.

The trial judge in the case of Writers Guild of

America West v. Federal Communications Commis-

sion, supra, made a finding that broadcasters were

more interested in dollars than the public interest and

used violence as a tool to hike program ratings if left

free to program in their own discretion. The Court

also found that the depiction of violence on television

had been a continuing source of congressional and

publie concern for more than two decades. The Court

further found that the United States Senate Appro-

4

priations Committee joined with the United States

House of Representatives to urge the proper agency

to exercise its power in the area of television program

violence particularly as to its effect on children. The

Court further recognized in the opinion that there had

been public outery surrounding scenes of violence par-

ticularly the televising of the movie, “Born Inno-

cent”.

That Petitioners, National Broadcasting Company,

Ine. and Chronicle Publishing Company operating a

local station in San Francisco broadeast said picture

“Born Innocent” at 7:30 p.m. in all of the midwestern

states and in the western states at 8:00 p.m. on Sep-

tember 10, 1974.

That before said program was aired, fifteen pro-

posed commercial sponsors after seeing the preview

of the show refused to permit their advertising to be

used in connection with said production.

That the Petitioners deliberately used national ad-

vertising to induce a youthful audience to watch the

program.

That on September 9, 1974 at the same hour that

“Born Innocent” was televised Petitioners televised

another show called “Born Free” which would be

particularly suited for children viewers and concerned

itself mainly with the lives of lion cubs.

That the advertisement of “Born Free” and “Born

Innocent” had the same makeup and occupied the

same place in the two pages of TV Guide and would

cause children and their parents to believe that they

AG OT wa Ate

bie wR eet yr ee

5

were again seeing “Born Free” on the following night

if they looked at the advertisement quickly.

That the advertisement concerning “Born Innocent”

featured the age of the star of said production namely,

Linda Blair who had starred in the movie, “The Ex-

orcist”. This advertisement featured the fact that

Linda Blair was fifteen years of age. This again was

to attract a youthful audience.

That proof that Petitioners believed that said ad-

vertisement would attract a youthful audience was

shown by their endeavors to unsuccessfully attempt

to secure the Walt Disney Productions, Ine. to be one

of the sponsors of the program “Born Innocent”.

That the crime of inserting an object in the vagina

of a female juvenile by other female juveniles is prac-

tically unheard of and is a rarity.

That four days after the televising of “Born Inno-

cent” young girls who had seen said rape scene de-

cided to imitate said unusual act and attacked the

eight-year old Respondent by inserting a beer bottle

in her vagina.

That it was discovered that for over one year after

“Born Innocent” was televised girls who had been

sent to a juvenile home in Tacoma, Washington were

subjected by inmates who had likewise seen the show

to an initiation called “Born Innocent Initiation”

where physical objects were also inserted in their va-

ginas,

6

PROCEEDINGS BELOW

The theory of liability set forth in Respondent’s

complaint was not based on censorship or obscenity

nor does it call for any actions of restraint or prohi-

bition or- injunctive relief. It sets forth actions of

willfulness and negligence and alleges a legal duty and

proximate cause and injury and then prays for dam-

ages as the prayer in any negligence action would do.

The pleading is limited to the facts of the instant case

and does not attempt to place a restraint on the tele-

vision industry. It merely asks damages under the

facts of the instant case should legal liability be shown

as a matter of law and proximate cause, negligence

and damages be proven to the satisfaction of the trier

of fact by a preponderance of the evidence.

Petitioners moved for summary judgment in the

Superior Court and did annex the film of “Born In-

nocent” to the moving papers [R.T. 13]. There is

nothing in the record which discloses that the trial

judge who denied the motion for summary judgment

did not view the film. Even if he did not view the

film, under the circumstances it would be immaterial

inasmuch as he in effect held that there were ques-

tions of fact to be decided. It would have been use-

less for the trial court to view the film without the

aid of an expert to interpret it. It would have been

the same if he had examined an x-ray without the aid

of the testimony of doctors.

Petitioners then filed a Writ of Mandamus before

the Intermediate Appellate Court of the State of Cal-

ifornia on August 31, 1976. It is not true that said

ee

i

:

5

7

Court did not affirm the denial of the summary judg-

ment motion. The Court of Appeal denied the Writ

of Mandamus for a summary judgment. The Court of

Appeal stated in the opinion that they did not deter-

mine the merits of the case as there was no need for

them to do so.

Petitioners then failed to file a Petition for Hearing

before the Supreme Court of the State of California

and thus the denial of their motion for summary

judgment became final and it was imperative that the

trial judge impanel a jury and allow the trial to pro-

ceed.

The trial court could not have heard a renewed mo-

tion for summary judgment under the California stat-

ute inasmuch as there were no new facts and consid-

eration of the question had already been decided

against them by the California Appellate Court which

opinion had become final and which mandated the

trial judge to proceed with the jury trial. [Refer to

R.T. p. 3, line 17 through p. 4, line 11; R.T. p. 5, lines

1-14; R.T. p. 11, lines 9-12; R.T. p. 12, lines 26-28;

p. 13, lines 1-4; R.T. p. 19, lines 17-27; R.T. p. 20,

lines 14-28; R.T. p. 21, line 1; R.T. p. 32, lines 2-7;

R.T. p. 32, lines 23-24; R.T. p. 34, lines 2-20; R.T.

p. 60, line 12; R.T. p. 86, lines 16-20].

The Court of Appeal correctly stated in its opinion

that the trial judge acted in excess of his jurisdic-

tion [Witkin, California Procedure (2d Ed. 1971)

Trial §73 p. 2908]. (See p. 6a of Appendix A to Pe-

tition for Writ).

8

The trial judge made a Finding of Fact and Con-

clusions of Law which he was not permitted to do in a

jury trial.

THE STAY APPLICATIONS

Petitioners have applied to the Court of Appeal and

to the Supreme Court of the State of California and

to this Honorable Court for a stay of the trial and

each of said Courts have denied said stay.

THERE IS NO REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

It is not true that Respondent has sued Petitioners

upon a tort of “initiation”.

Respondent has sued on many acts of willfulness

and negligence which have been outlined above and

which constitute a breach of their legal duty to the

public in using the public airwaves. These acts of

willfulness and negligence which constitute the tort

were caused by imitation by children who are not

parties to this action.

It is not true as Petitioners contend that Respond-

ent claims that those who create and exhibit dramatic

works are liable for injury if they cause imitation

of any aspect of the expression.

Petitioners have contended before all of the pre-

vious courts and in their petition to this Honorable

Court that if Respondent is successful, no drama can

be shown that involves a crime and no criminal event

ean be given to the public on the news.

en te OO PaO ates Po ebm,

PE Di ee SAP aNE ooh

ee ney

2

“a

a

a

4

7

‘a

4

%

9

We repeat that this case based upon tort should be

decided upon its own particular facts.

The same type of argument was advanced by the

media when they first opposed the tort of “invasion of

privacy”.

In the case of Gill v. Curtis Publishing Company,

38 C.2d 277 at page 278 the California Supreme Court

states that the dissemination of news and information

consistent with the democratic processes under the

Constitution guarantees of freedom of speech and of

the press must be balanced against the pubuec interest

in the consideration of the First Amendment of the

United States Constitution. The Court then states:

“It has been objected that a recognition of the

right of privacy would open up a vast field of liti-

gation, some of it bordering on the absurd. But

courts recognizing the right deny the validity of

this objection. According to the latter view, the

fact that a recognition of the right would involve

many cases near the border line, and would pre-

sent perplexing questions, is not a good ground

for denying the existence of such right or refus-

ing to give relief in a case where it is clearly

shown that a legal wrong has been done.”

The trial of this case would depend upon particular

facts of this case and will in no way freeze the cre-

ative arts.

10

ARGUMENT

I.

THERE IS NO DEFENSE OF THE FIRST AMENDMENT OF THE

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION TO A NEGLIGENCE

ACTION.

The California Court of Appeal in its opinion states

as follows:

“appellant having been deprived of her consti-

tutional right to present before a jury evidence

which she contends will show that, despite First

Amendment protections, the showing of the film,

‘Born Innocent,’ resulted in actionable injuries.”

(Cf. Weirum v. RKO General, Ine. (1975) 15

Cal.3d 40.)

The Superior Court of California in Weitrum v.

RKO General, Inc., 15 C.3d 40, held that there is no

defense to the First Amendment of the United States

Constitution in a negligence action.

Petitioners attempt to distinguish Wetrum v. RKO,

supra, upon the ground that the California Supreme

Court decided the case under the incitement exception

to the First Amendment.

It is their contention that in that case the radio sta-

tion actually urged motorists to speed and drive care-

lessly through crowded streets and specifically urged

motorists to be heedless of the lives and limbs of other

occupants of motor cars who may be in the near vi-

cinity.

Having reached this conclusion, they then claim

that the Supreme Court of California recognized that

such facts brought the Weirum case directly within

Ta ES Sk Am eh de

ie ieiie site se >. Weld

11

the incitement exception of the First Amendment and,

therefore, Wetrum cannot be cited to support the law

that the First Amendment is not a defense when

words cause physical injuries.

Where in the Weitrwm opinion does it appear that

the broadcaster told the motorists at what speed to

drive their cars?

The first part of the decision is devoted to the de-

termination of whether there was a duty owed by the

broadeasters to an innocent member of the public by

the negligent utterance of words.

The California Supreme Court in discussing the

question of duty was only considering whether there

was legal duty and not whether there was an excep-

tion of incitement to the First Amendment in the

case.

While an attempt is being made to distinguish the

act of negligence in the method of broadcasting in the

Weirum case from the alleged acts of negligence in

the instant case the distinction would be only one of

foreseeability which as stated by the said Supreme

Court is a question of fact for the jury. Furthermore

foreseeability is conceded by Respondents.

If as a matter of law there was no legal duty by the

broadeaster and a member of the public was killed

because of the independent act of someone who heard

the broadcast, then the plaintiff could never have won

in the Wetrum case.

The Weirwm case was not decided on the exception

of incitement to the defense of the First Amendment.

12

Thus, the Supreme Court of California has estab-

lished in the Weirum case that there is a legal duty

owed by one who uses the airwaves to carry words or

pictures not to injure another.

Once that duty has been established, then the ques-

tion of proximate cause and foreseeability, which are

questions of fact, must then be determined.

At page 47 the Supreme Court states:

“Reckless conduct by youthful contestants stimu-

lated by defendant’s broadcast constituted the

hazard to which decedent was exposed.”

The reckless conduct was a question of fact.

Whether the reckless conduct in this ease was stim-

wlated by the defendants’ broadcast was likewise a

question of fact.

The trial judge in this case made a Finding Of

Fact. That Finding Of Fact was that the picture

“Born Innocent”, televised by Petitioners, did not

stimulate the wrongful acts of the girls who artifi-

cially raped the appellant.

The issue of fact should never have been decided by

the judge, and particularly before any testimony, in-

cluding experts’ testimony, was even permitted to be

introduced in evidence.

Again at page 47, the Supreme Court states:

“Liability is imposed only if the risk of harm re-

sulting from the act is deemed unreasonable—-

i.e., tf the gravity and likelihood of the danger

outweighed the utility of the conduct involved.

(See Prosser, Law of Torts, 4 Ed. 1971, pp. 146-

149)”

13

It is interesting to note that the California Medical

Association has involved itself in this ease and filed a

brief amicus curiae. This brief advises the Court that

the doctors of this State believe that this type of

broadcast, under the circumstances of this case, caused

children to perform the wrongful act and the doctors

further believe that such conduct does stimulate vio-

lence by minors.

Conceding this to be true for the purpose of argu-

ment, this certainly involves serious danger of a very

grave nature. This charge made by the doctors of this

State is based on expert opinion. Regardless of this

warning of grave danger by the Medical Association

of this State can it be said there is no duty?

Now let us look at the utility of the conduct in-

volved.

Does not the prevention of injury or death to a per-

son greatly outweigh the conduct that is involved in

this case, which is to permit a large audience of

youths to view at an early evening hour the simulated

rape by a plumber’s helper into the vagina of a 15-

year-old child actress?

As so well stated by Your Honorable Court in the

ease of Young v. American Mini Theaters, 49 L.Ed.

2d 310, decided in June, 1976, at page 325:

“Few of us would march our sons and daughters

off to war to preserve the citizens’ right to see

specified sexual activities exhibited in the theaters

of our choice.”

To paraphrase this language of Your Honorable

Court, few of our parents would be willing to see

| F

14

their beys march off to war to enfore> the right for

children at either 7:00 p.m. or 8:00 p.n.. at night dur-

ing the family hour to be able to see an act of per-

version simulated upon the body of a 15-year-old girl.

In President’s C-uncil District 25 v. Community

School Board No. 25, 457 F.2d 289, the Court held that

public libraries did not violate the First Amendment

by refusing to make all hooks which they considered

had pornographic material available to minors.

The Supreme Court of California stated that they

were not persuaded that the imposition of a duty in

the Wetrum case would lead to unwarranted exten-

sions of liability.

The finding of duty in this case will likewise not

lead to the censorship of all plays and books and

newspapers as the briefs on the opposing side would

have the Court believe.

As in the Weitrum ease, the damages sought here

ean only be obtained if it is proven that the Respond-

ents committed a negligent or reckless act and that

harm was foreseeable and that harm was proximately

caused.

The Supreme Court of California has stated in the

ease of Tarasoff v. Regents of the University of Cali-

fornia, 17 C.3d 425, that the most important of the

considerations in establishing duty is foreseeability

and cites with approval the case of Wetrum v. RKO

General, Inc., supra, and Dillon v. Legg, 68 C.2d 728,

738, and Rodriguez v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 12 C.3d

382, 399.

Se ee ee

:

;

:

s

j

15

In the ease of Writers Guild of America West v.

Federal Communications Commission, 423 F.Supp.

1064, the Court states at page 1150:

“When broadcasters deviate from their own inde-

pendent determinations of what is in the public

interest, they violate their FIDUCIARY respon-

sibilities.” (Emphasis added)

Here the Federal District Court likewise recognized

the fiduciary responsibility of a television network to

the general public. Certainly where there is a fidu-

ciary responsibility, there is a legal duty.

After the California Supreme Court in Wetrum

had found under the tort of negligence that there was

duty and that the jury properly could find as a ques-

tion of fact foreseeahility this Court then turned to

the contention that the First Amendment was an ab-

solute defense.

There is only one paragraph of the entire decision

that deals with the applicability of the First Amend-

ment as a defense. That is the second paragraph of

the decision that appears on page 48 which reads as

follows:

“Defendant’s contention that the giveaway con-

test must he afforded the deference due society’s

interest in the First Amendment is clearly with-

out merit. The issue here is civil accountability

for the foreseeable results of a broadeast which

created an undue risk of harm to decedent. (7)

The First Amendment does not sanction the in-

fliction of phvsieal injury merely hecause achieved

by word, rather than act.”

16

If as Respondents contend Wetrwm is distinguish-

able because based on incitement which is an exception

to the First Amendment, then the California Supreme

Court would have stated that normally the First

Amendment would have been a defense in the Wetrum

ease but because of the exception of incitement, it did

not apply.

The Court clearly stated that deference to society’s

interest in the First Amendment is clearly without

merit where the issue of civil accountability for the

foreseeable result of a broadeast creates undue risk

of harm. The Court’s language also is crystal clear

that the First Amendment does not sanction the in-

fliction of physical injury merely because achieved

by word rather than act.

What greater proof of undue risk of harm is there

than the very fact that the California Medical Asso-

ciation has joined with appellant and has filed a

brief in this case setting forth the severe medical

effect on children by this particular broadcast?

Any attempt to distinguish the facts of the Wetrwm

ease from the facts in the instant case is meaningless

in the context of what the California Supreme Court

has stated with relation to a First Amendment de-

fense.

If the First Amendment cannot be a defense to the

infliction of physical injury achieved by word, then

what can be accomplished by attempting to compare

the facts of the Wetrum case with the facts in the

instant case ?

Rite ALD PD Sececrth

Pe ee

BW oheel aie ta Ed We aw diel IS poate et

17

For the purpose of this argument, Respondents

admit that the telecast inflicted physica) harm upon

the appellant.

The above admission squarely brings it within the

language of the Supreme Court which holds that

under such circumstances the First Amendment is not

a defense.

Whether those words were more provocative or

more inciting to action than those in the instant case

has nothing to do with the defense of the First

Amendment under the guidelines outlined by our

Supreme Court.

Once Petitioners admit, as they did, that their words

caused physical injury to another, the defense of the

First Amendment could not be urged and that ends

the matter.

Justice Harlan in the case of Rosenbloom v. Metro

Media, 403 U.S. 29, states at pages 323 and 324 of the

opinion as follows:

“T think we all agree on certain core purposes,

First, as a general matter, the States have a per-

fectly legitimate interest exercised in a variety of

ways in redressing and preventing careless con-

duct no matter who is responsible for it, that in-

flicts actual measurable injury upon individual

citizens. . . .”

And at pages 325 of said opinion:

“A business is not immune from paying damages

because it happens to be the media. THE MEDIA

HAS NO SPECIAL IMMUNITY FROM THE

GENERAL LAW OF NEGLIGENCE. THAT

18

DAMAGE HAS BEEN INFLICTED BY A

PICTURE RATHER THAN BY OTHER IN-

STRUMENTALITIES CANNOT INSULATE

IT FROM LIABILITY.” (Capitals ours)

“SO LONG AS THE EFFECT OF THE LAW

OF NEGLIGENCE IS SIMPLY TO MAKE

THE MEDIA PAY FOR HARM THEY HAVE

NEGLIGENTLY CAUSED TO THOSE TO

WHOM THEY OWE A DUTY, THE FIRST

AMENDMENT SHOULD NOT BE A DE-

FENSE.”

“Tf a network refused to pay its bills because

to do so would put it out of business, would the

First Amendment dictate that this be treated as a

defense ?”

“Tf an automobile carrying a newsman to the

scene of a history-making event ran over a pedes-

trian, should a verdict in favor of the pedestrian

be based upon generally applicable tort law prin-

ciples or must it be assessed against the probabil-

ity that it would deter broadcasters from news

gathering before it could pass muster under the

First Amendment ?”

“THE USUAL TORT RULE IS THAT ONCE

SOME FORESEEABLE INJURY HAS BEEN

INFLICTED, THE NEGLIGENT DEFEND-

ANT MUST COMPENSATE FOR ALL DAM-

AGES HE PROXIMATELY CAUSED IN

FACT, NO MATTER HOW PECULIAR THE

CIRCUMSTANCES OF THE PARTICULAR

PLAINTIFF INVOLVED. (Prosser, The Law

of Torts, Section 50 [3rd Ed.].”

“TT DOES NO VIOLENCE TO THE VALUE

OF FREEDOM OF SPEECH AND PRESS TO

19

IMPOSE A DUTY OF REASONABLE CARE

UPON THOSE WHO WOULD EXERCISE

THOSE FREEDOMS.” (Capitals ours)

The case of Zacchini v. Scripps-Howard Pub. Co.,

45 U.S.L.W. 4954, 4957 (U.S. June 28, 1977), was a

ease involving a suit to recover for the unauthorized

televising of a plaintiff’s circus act. The Court held

that the First nor the Fourteenth Amendment do not

immunize the media when they broadcast a performer

actor without his consent. At page 4958, it states:

“Petitioner does not seek to enjoin broadcast

of his performance; he simply wants to be paid

for it. Nor do we think that a state law damages

remedy against respondent would represent a spe-

cies of liability without fault contrary to the let-

ter or spirit of Gertz.”

So in the instant case, we do not seek to immunize

the media. We merely want to be paid for damages.

We do not seek to impose any prior restraint on the

media. We merely seek damages for a negligent and

reckless act that has already occurred by the improper

time, place and method of telecasting the production.

Petitioners have cited the case of New York Times

Co. v. Sullivan (1964) 376 U.S. 254, 11 L.Ed.2d 686,

for the legal proposition that the First Amendment

should apply in civil lawsuits between private parties

just the same as in criminal actions.

It was never the intention of Your Honorable Court

to hold that whenever words cause injuries that the

First Amendment is an absolute defense.

20

The very proof of this fact is that the New York

Times ease involved an Alabama statute which related

to the tort of libel.

While it is true that the tort of libel today is no

longer based upon strict liability but rather upon the

principle of negligence, yet the tort still exists.

The tort of invasion of privacy still exists.

Justice Carter in writing the opinion of the Court

in the case of John W. Gill v. The Curtis Publishing

Company, 38 Cal.2d 277, pointed out that while it is

true that the right of privacy does infringe upon the

absolute freedom of speech and of the press and it

also clashes with the interest of the publie in having

a free dissemination of news and information yet

these constitutional guaranties of freedom and speech

and of the press do not warrant the publication of

matter constituting an invasion of the right of privacy

any more than they give the right to defame a person.

Fraudulent representations of the intentional inflic-

tion of emotional distress by language or the wrongful

interference of a business contract involve speech and

yet in the balancing of interest, the innocent person

injured by these torts is entitled to redress.

Years ago this Honorable Court made famous the

distinction in freedom of speech cases with the ex-

ample of one who cries fire in a crowded theater.

The person who cries “fire” in a crowded theater

does not tell the people in the theater to block the en-

tries or jostle their fellow patrons or do anything

illegal.

at ead nmunnitieiesininsaaa Mail

oo ee ee oe SAN Ste rest

aig ORIN Oban UE Rat BAL Ne Re ete EP Ma eo

> aA ed

3

i

4

j

21

The use of the word “fire” instills fear and fear re-

sults in causing panic.

In the instant case, psychiatrists will testify that

just as the person who yelled “fire” may cause panic,

the type of scene that was shown in “Born Innocent”

may likewise stimulate injurious acts by minors.

The legal doctrine of “The Attractive Nuisance

Cases” came into being based upon the well known

principle that with children “monkey see, monkey do”.

The tort in the instant case was committed by both

words and actions.

The Petitioners did not do any imitating.

By their negligent actions it is alleged that they

caused someone other than a party to the action to

imitate and thus cause the psychic injury to the minor

plaintiff.

As Petitioners admit there was a warning given by

Petitioners preceding the showing of “Born Innocent”

in that parental discretion was advised because of the

nature of the production and that it might be harmful

to minors.

This warning could not have protected the Respond-

ent who is the innocent victim as she did not receive

her injury by viewing the televised picture.

On the other hand, this warning was an admission

by Petitioners that some parents might not want their

children to see this degenerate scene because it might

have a bad effect on their minds.

22

Whenever there is a compelling State interest in-

volved then there is a compelling interest of the

courts to limit it.

When speech and non-speech elements are combined

in the same course of conduct a sufficiently important

interest in regulating the non-speech element can jus-

tify incidental limitations on the First Amendment

freedoms.

The above principles of law were stated in the case

of United States v. O’Brien (1968) 391 U.S. 367

(20 L.Ed.2d 672, 88 S.Ct. 1673). In this opinion Your

Honorable Court stated:

“This court has held that when ‘speech’ and

‘non-speech’ elements are combined in the same

course of conduct a sufficiently important govern-

mental interest in regulating the non-speech ele-

ment can justify incidental limitations on First

Amendment freedoms. To characterize the quality

of the governmental interest which must appear,

the Court has employed a variety of descriptive

terms: compelling ; substantial; subordinating;

paramount; cogent; strong. Whatever imprecision

inheres in these terms, we think it clear that a

government regulation is sufficiently justified if it

is within the constitutional power of the Govern-

ment; if it furthers an important or substantial

governmental interest; if the governmental inter-

est is unrelated to the suppression of free expres-

sion; and if the incidental restriction on alleged

First Amendment freedoms is no greater than is

essential to the furtherance of that interest.” (See

Va. Pharmacy Bd. v. Va. Consumer Council

(1976) 425 U.S. 748 [48 L.Ed.2d 346, 96 S.Ct.

1817].)

Casts doa aun ee) a ee Cee eee Ma Ns! ve ie wr ‘

'

GPibn Wats Dek

4

4

*

q

%

:

4

:

+

ms

¥

7

3

4

ni 4

.

%

4

hd

“5

3

;

23

Your Honorable Court in Bates v. State Bar of

Arizona (.... U.S. pp. ._., ... 53 L.Ed. pp. ... ... 97

S.Ct. pp. 2701-2707) holds that the justifications of

the restriction of the price advertising by attorneys

of routine legal services is permissible. The Court,

however, pointed out that even though under the lim-

ited facts of this opinion in stating First Amendment

rights, a clear tenor of its opinion, including a specific

disclaimer of any intent to resolve the problems asso-

ciated with in-person solicitation, is that it would not

accord similar protection to in-person solicitation.

Again, Your Honorable Court in the case of Big-

elow v. Virginia (1975) 421 U.S. 809 (44 L.Ed.2d

600, 95 S.Ct, 2222) stated in effect that a communica-

tion that serves no discernible purpose other than the

attraction of clients is outside the scope of First

Ameudment protection.

Recently in the case of People v. Kitsis, 77 C.A.3d

Supp. 1 (Cal. Rptr.) decided 12/21/77, the Court held

that an attorney could not escape soliciting business

otherwise known as “ambulance chasing” by contend-

ing that he had freedom of speech under the First

Amendment.

The Court held that the First Amendment of the

Federal Constitution did not afford an attorney an

avenue of escape by claiming that he had the right of

free speech.

The Court held that the compelling State interest

was protection of its citizens from the probability of

fraud, deception and overreaching inherent in the

practice of “ambulance chasing”.

24

The compelling State interest involved in this case

which requires tort (negligence) liability is the com-

pensation for serious psychological injury proximately

caused to a child by the dissemination of a television

production during the family hour and by attracting

children to watch it by its type of advertising.

Tort liability is the compelling State interest to see

that an innocent victim of negligent or willful acts is

adequately compensated for the wrongdoing.

II.

EVEN ASSUMING THAT THE FIRST AMENDMENT IS A DE-

FENSE TO A TORT CAUSED BY WORDS AS WELL AS CON-

DUCT IT IS NOT AN ABSOLUTE DEFENSE.

A. There is no Louis IV absolutism concerning the First Amend-

ment Defense.

Your Honorable Court many years ago uttered the

famous quotation “One cannot yell fire in a crowded

theater”.

If, during oral argument before this Honorable

Court a spectator stood upon his seat and yelled out

his political beliefs he would either be immediately

rushed out of the chambers by the bailiff or most

likely arrested. Could he urge the defense of protec-

tion under the First Amendment?

Can one with a truck and loud speaker go through

a sleeping neighborhood at 1:00 a.m. proclaiming in

loud tones the Bill of Rights?

q

;

4

;

4

:

4

:

J

3

3

2

)

i

25

Can pornographic movies be displayed at a kiddie’s

matinee in a motion picture theater?

There must always be a balancing of place and time

and conditions when the defense of the First Amend-

ment is considered.

Certainly calling out fire in a theater does not con-

stitute fighting words. The result of yelling fire in a

crowded theater might lead to a rush by the crowd to

the doors thus causing a loss of life and injuries. This

is merely injury and proximate cause rather than the

test of incitement under the case of Brandenberg v.

Ohio, 395 U.S. 444.

B. If the trier of fact in the instant case finds negligence there

will be no threat to the vigor of journalistic and creative

endeavors.

The California Supreme Court’s language in Gill v.

Curtis, 38 Cal.2d 277, which states that if the recogni-

tion of the right involves many cases near the border

line and presents perplexing questions this is not good

ground for denying protection of such rights where it

is clearly shown legal wrong has been done, applies

here.

In considering the First Amendment defense there

is always bound to be a certain clash of interest and

the Court must balance the public interest.

The psychiatrists and psychologists and experts in

the trial will testify that this particular scene was dif-

ferent than the sword stabbing in Hamlet or the re-

lating of a rape or murder on the 6:00 p.m. news.

How often do we hear that girls insert foreign ob-

jects into the vaginas of other girls?

26

The girls that were portrayed in this scene were

modern day girls and in surroundings that were sim-

ilar and familiar to the children viewers.

The experts will testify that because of this these

children could place themselves in the scene and be-

come emotionally involved. Likewise there is the med-

ical likelihood that some of these children would want

to attempt to get the thrill out of actually experiment-

ing with this unusual type of act.

These professors and experts have been preaching

this message to the broadcasters for years and it has

fallen on deaf ears.

This case proves conclusively that the doctors and

experts were correct because the children in this case

confessed as to their motive in imitating the act and

further the very fact that such an unusual and bizarre

act was repeated only four days after it was televised

is positive proof in itself.

Thus this case must be looked at by itself and on its

own facts just as any other negligence case is exam-

ined.

If two cars hit at an intersection under certain

circumstances, one would not expect the Court to be

comparing with what might happen to the impact of

different types of cars hitting in different intersec-

tions at different times and under different circum-

stances. There are acts of negligence in this case that

would apply to this case and not to others.

Tn this case, we find commercial companies advising

respondents that they will not sponsor “Born Inno-

cent” because of this violent scene.

15

5

2

i

27

We will prove that Petitioners put this particular

picture on at this particular time for solely commer-

cial reasons in order to meet competition from other

networks at this time slot. We will show that the

advertisements for this picture were designed to at-

tract children audiences despite the knowledge of the

officers of Petitioners that this type of scene should

not be shown at this particular hour.

When one is told that at 7:30 p.m. and 8:00 p.m. a

five minute scene is presented where one girl simu-

lates jabbing a plumber’s helper between the legs of a

15-year-old girl while other children watch and that

the scene is so graphic that hundreds of people write

letters that they thought they saw penetration it can

hardly be believed. It shocks by the mere telling that

such an act took place.

How can this compare with an actor placing the

point of his sword at the chest of another actor and

then the actor pretending to fall dead? Shakespeare

contains scenes that suggest adultery and fornication,

yet the stark portrayal in textbooks of minors of

such acts shown to children would not be acceptable.

As yet, news reporters have found no necessity to

plant their cameras in lovers’ lane so that they may

be on the 6:00 p.m. news to show to the public that

fornicating is actually going on in parked ears or

even on the 6:00 p.m. news showing actual rapes if

they were fortunate enough to have their cameras

ready at the time.

Petitioners concede that the First Amendment

would not go so far as to permit pornographic movies

28

to be shown at a Saturday afternoon kiddies’ per-

formance even though adults may see them. Why not

if there is to be an unlimited defense of the First

Amendment ?

Perhaps some adults would like to join the audience

with the children and watch these pornographic pic-

tures.

We submit that a jury is entitled to hear the medi-

cal professors advise them as to their opinion why

these minors committed this unusual crime after

seeing the scene in “Born Innocent” and give their

medical reasons for the same.

Freedom of speech or press does not mean that one

ean talk or write where, when and how one chooses

(see Beard v. Alexandria, 341 U.S. 622, 95 L.Ed.

1233).

Your Honorable Court has held that words, pic-

tures and printed matter that come through the mail

and harm minor members of the household are not

protected (see Redrup v. New York, 386 U.S. 767, 18

L.Ed.2d 515).

Respondent contends that a theater can protect

children from seeing a pornographic picture or

x-rated pictures because they know who comes into

a theater and have the power to bar them.

Do Petitioners seriously contend that because they

use the public airwaves that belong to the people that

they can come into homes and cause harm to minors

because they have no control over the homes into

which broadcasts enter?

29

How many children watch television when their

parents are not home? Many children have televi-

sions in the bedrooms. Must their parents patrol the

room of the child after he closes his door?

The Petitioners justify their position by stating

that they put on the screen a warning that this pic-

ture may be harmful to the minds of minors.

This very warning is like a red flag in front of a

bull to a child. If he was never going to watch the

show, he will certainly watch it when this warning

appears.

The Petitioners are very careful that they do not

affect the minds of adults by commercial ads of

lingerie. They would never think of having a live

model appear in bra and panty hose because it might

invite some man to rape. Thus bras and panty hose

float through the air free of any human form.

Petitioners would not permit a glass of beer to

touch the lips of the actor or even permit the sight of

hard liquor on their screen. Here they do not seem

worried about the First Amendment.

C. It has always been the law that every society has a legiti-

mate interest in protecting the health of its children and

when this interest clashes with the First Amendment, the

protection of the health of the child predominates. (See Vol.

1, Modern Constitutional Law, Antieau, pages 57 and 58 with

decisions of the United States Supreme Court within the

text.)

Tne following United States Supreme Court opin-

ions held that whenever there is a clash between the

United States Constitution damaging the health of

30

children and freedom of speech, the former must pre-

vail: Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S. 88, 84 L.Ed.

1093; Hughes v. Superior Court of California, 339

U.S. 460, 94 L.Ed. 985; Prince v. Massachusetts, 321:

U.S. 158, 88 L.Ed. 645.

In the case of Akins v. County of Sonoma, 67 C.2d

185, the Court approved an instruction recognizing

the tender and complex character of children and the

need to exercise greater care for their protection and

safety.

Why did the Petitioners go to the Walt Disney

Productions who refused among 15 others to sponsor

this production if they did not anticipate through

their negligence and recklessness that they would se-

cure a children’s audience ?

Again, we state emphatically that this case must be

viewed narrowly and considered as any other action

based upon negligent and reckless conduct would be

considered.

There is a different constitutional standard concern-

ing the First Amendment defense when there is a

specific aim to direct words or pictures to juveniles

as distinguished from adults.

See First Unitarian Church of Los Angeles v. Los

Angeles County, 311 P.2d 508, which holds the well-

known principle of law that there is no absolute right

of free speech.

See the case of Davis v. Macon Telegraph Publish-

ing Co., 92 S.E.2d 619, that holds that free press and

responsible press should be synonymous.

31

We respectfully call to the Court’s attention those

cases which hold that whenever clear and present dan-

ger outweighs the utility of the speech or picture in-

volved, the First Amendmeni is no longer a defense.

Winters v. People of the State of New York, 330 U.S.

507, at page 510, 92 L.Ed. 840.

The question of what constitutes clear and present

danger is always a question of fact. Danskin v. S. D.

Unified School District, 28 C.2d 536, at page 542;

Bridges v. State of California, 86 L.Ed. 172; People

v. Garcia, 37 C.A.2d Supp. 753 at 761; Roth v. United

States, 354 U.S. 476, 1 L:Ed.2d 1498.

Your Honorable Court has always shown a special

regard for juveniles concerning publications by the

media. See Redrup v. New York, 386 U.S. 767, 18

L.Ed.2d 515, at page 517.

To the same effect, Your Honorable Court states

in the case of Paris Adult Theater v. Slaton, 413 U.S.

49, 37 L.Ed.2d 446 at page 486:

“The opinion in Redrup and Stanley v. Georgia

reflected our emerging view that the state inter-

ests in protecting children and in protecting un-

consenting adults may stand on a different footing

from the other asserted state interest ....

“If children are not possessed of that full ca-

pacity for individual choice, which is the pre-

supposition of the First Amendment guarantees,

then the state may have a substantial interest in

precluding the flow of obscene material, even to

consenting juveniles.”

The Court has recognized pictures as encouraging

or carrying anti-social behavior in juveniles. We call

32

the Court’s attention to the case of Kaplan v. Caley,

413 U.S. 115, 37 L.Ed.2d 492, at 497:

“For good or ill, a book has a continuing life. It

is passed hand to hand, and we can take note of

the tendency of widely circulated books of this

category to reach the impressionable young and

have a continuing impact. (Footnote—Report of

the Commission on Obscenity and Pornography

401 [ Hill-Link Minority Report]). A state could

reasonably regard the ‘hard core’ conduct de-

scribed by Suite 69 as capable of encouraging or

causing anti-social behavior, especially in its im-

pact on young people.”

It is interesting to note that Your Honorable Court

here recognizes that the media can produce an anti-

social behavior reaction by what it publishes in its

import on young people.

This is of particular importance when we observe

the language of other United States Supreme Court

decisions that are cited in Appellant’s Opening Brief

that emphasizes that motion pictures and television

have far more impact on their listening audience than

does the printed word,

The concern for young people with regard to the

media is again expressed by the Ninth Circuit in the

ease of United States v. Pellegrino, 467 F.2d 41 at

page 44:

“This is not to say that in cases of distribution

or exposure to juveniles or of intrusion upon un-

willing or unsoliciting adults, the First Amend-

ment protects distribution of all non-obscene

materials. Ginsberg v. New York, 390 US 629, 20

33

L.Ed.2d 195, holds to the contrary that certain

non-obscene (under general constitutional stand-

dards) material deemed harmful to youth is sub-

ject to regulation ... The point is that in these

areas special regulations are necessary to meet

these special problems. (Jacobellis v. Ohio, 378

US 184, 195, 12 L.Ed.2d 793; Emerson, Toward

a General Theory of the First Amendment, 72

Yale L.J. 877, 938-39; Magrath, The Obscenity

Cases; Grapes of Roth, 1966 Sup. Ct. Rev. 7,

75-76 and n.295.)”

The Court then held that in the instant case there

was no evidence that the appellant was attempting to

appeal to an audience of minors. The book involved

contained explicit color photographs of female geni-

talia.

It is obvious that photographs of the naked body

have never been considered obscenity. Yet the Ninth

Circuit let it be known that if such literature had

been distributed and aimed at audiences of juveniles,

the standard would be different.

The case of Rowan v. Post Office Department, 25

L.Ed.2d 763, reminds us that television intrudes upon

the privacy of the home.

Again Your Honorable Court considers minors dif-

ferent from adults in the case of Young v. American

Mini Theaters, 49 L.Ed.2d 310, decided in June, 1976.

In this case an ordinance was passed that adult

book stores and adult movie houses had to be located

more than 500 feet from a residential area.

34

In considering the constitutionality of such a stat-

ute in face of the alleged defense of the First Amend-

ment, Your Honorable Court states at page 321:

“The ordinances are not challenged on the ground

that they impose a limit on the total number of

adult theaters which may operate in the City of

Detroit. There is no claim that distributors or

exhibitors of adult films are denied access to

the market or, conversely, that the viewing public

is unable to satisfy its appetite for sexually ex-

plicit fare. Viewed as an entity, this commodity

is essentially unrestrained.”

It might be noted that there is no attempt here to

keep the public from viewing violence on children or

viewing child pornography but this is merely a case

seeking damages because of the negligent time and

manner in which these scenes were shown.

The Court continues at page 325: ;

“Indeed the members of the Court who would

accord the greatest protection to such materials

have repeatedly indicated that the state could

prohibit the distribution or exhibition of such

materials to juveniles. Surely, the First Amend-

ment does not foreclose such a prohibition ... .

Moreover, even though we recognize that the

First Amendment will not tolerate the total sup-

pression of erotic materials that have some ar-

guably artistic value, it is manifest that society’s

interest of expression is of a wholly different and

lesser magnitude than the interest in untram-

meled political debate that inspired Voltaire’s

immortal comment.”

35

In the case of Ginsberg v. United States, 390 U.S.

629, the facts involved the sale to a 16-year-old boy

of two girly magazines that can be found on all of

our newsstands. This sale was made in violation of

an ordinance that made it unlawful to sell that which

is obscene to minors rather than what is obscene to

adults. The Supreme Court states as follows in the

opinion:

“The ‘girly’ picture magazines involved in the

sales here are not obscene for adults. But 484-h

does not bar the Appellant from stocking these

magazines and selling them to persons 17 years

of age or older and, therefore, the conviction is

not invalid .... We have recognized that even

where it is an invasion of protected freedom ‘the

power of the state to control the conduct of chil-

dren reaches beyond the scope of its authority

over adults’. Prince v. Massachusetts, 321 US

158, 170, 88 L.Ed. 645, 654... . But despite the

vigor of the ongoing controversy whether obscene

material will perceptibly create a danger of anti-

social conduct or will probably induce its recip-

ients to such conduct, a medical practitioner

recently suggested that the possibility of harmful

effects to youth cannot be dismissed as frivolous.

Dr. Gaylin of the Columbia University Psycho-

analytic Clinie reporting on the views of some

psychiatrists in 77 Yale L.J. at 592-593.” (Italies

ours)

Miller v. California, 413 U.S. 15, 37 L.Ed.2d 419

at 430:

“This much has been categorically settled by the

Court that obscene material is unprotected by the

First Amendment.”

36

And at page 431: |

“It is possible, however, to give a few preliminary

examples of what a state statute could define for

regulations under part (b) of the standard an-

nounced in this opinion, supra;—(a) Patently

offensive representations or distributions of ulti-

mate sexual acts, normal or perverted, actual or

simulated. In resolving the inevitably sensitive

questions of fact and law, we must continue to

rely on the jury system.” (Italics ours)

Thus, Your Honorable Court points out that a state

statute under the standard now set forth by the Court,

can prevent an offensive perverted sexual act, even

if simulated, and certainly if performed on a 12-year-

old girl, as was done in the instant case. Again it is

interesting to note that in considering such standards,

the Supreme Court specifically points out that we

must rely on the jury system.

Your Honorable Court continues at page 435:

“The adversary system with lay jurors as the

usual ultimate fact finders in criminal prosecu-

tions has historically permitted the triers of fact

to draw on the standards of their community

guarded always by limiting instructions on the

law.”

Another case that points out the difference between

the standards for juveniles and the standards for

adults is Quarterman v. Byrd, 453 F.2d 54 at page 57:

“Free speech under the First Amendment, though

available to juveniles and high school students as

well as to adults, is not absolute and the extent of

its application may properly take into consider-

37

eration the age or maturity of those to whom it is

addressed. Thus, publications may be protected

when directed to adults, BUT NOT WHEN

MADE AVAILABLE TO MINORS. ( Footnote—

Prince v. Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158, 170; Gins-

berg v. New York, 390 U.S. 629, 638, Tinker v.

Des Moines School District, 393 U.S. 503.” (Capi-

tals ours)

In the case of Russo v. Central School District No. 1,

Town of Rush, New York, 469 F.2d 623 (1972), at

page 631:

“CHILDREN IN MANY INSTANCES HAVE

MORE LIMITED FIRST AMENDMENT

RIGHTS THAN DO ADULTS.” (Capitals ours)

The Federal Court again recognized the difference

between children and adults when considering a First

Amendment defense and states in the case of Egner v.

Texas City Independent School District, 338 F.Supp.

931 at 944 as follows:

“School officials are entitled to consider the special

characteristics of their charges, such as emotional

immaturity. See Ginsberg v. New York, 390 U.S.

629, 20 L.Ed.2d 195.”

The same holding may be found in the cases of

Sullivan v. Houston Independent School District, 333

F.Supp. 1149, 1162-1163; 82 Harvard L.Rev. 63, 124-

130; Conners v. Riley, 395 F.Supp. 1244.

Special legislation concerning censorship as applied

to books sold to children was upheld in the ease of

People v. Kahan, 206 N.E.2d 333 at 334:

38

“REASONABLE RESTRICTIONS MAY BE

PLACED ON BOTH THE TIME AND THE

PLACE AND THE MANNER OF THE EXER-

CISE OF FREE SPEECH. Chambers v. Mu-

nicipal Court for Oakland, Piedmont Judicial

District, Alameda County, 135 C.Rptr. 95.” (Capi-

tals ours)

To the same effect, see Koppinger v. City of Fatr-

mont, 248 N.W.2d 708.

It is interesting to note that in the Chambers case

the Court points out that REASONABLE RESTRIC-

TIONS MAY ALWAYS BE PLACED ON BOTH

THE TIME AND THE PLACE AND THE MAN-

NER OF THE EXERCISE OF FREE SPEECH.

This is particularly applicable to the instant case

where we claim that the negligence and reckless con-

duct of Petitioners consisted in the time in which they

broadcast the picture and the manner in which they

did so and the manner in which they framed their

advertisements in order to induce a youthful audience.

The Federal District Court of New York likewise

considered the different standards concerning children

than adults in the case of Trachtman v. Anker, 426

F.Supp. 198 (December, 1976). This case involved the

distribution of questionnaires in a school concerning

the sexual attitudes of the students. The Court states

at page 201:

“First Amendment rights must be applied in the

context within which they are asserted . . . what

is the potential for psychological harm as a result

of the distribution? .. . If defendants can prove

pats aan ae

alata lek oi te Sey done.

39

there is a strong possibility the distribution of

the questionnaire would result in significant

harm to members of Stuyvescent High School

then the distribution could be denied .. . The

thrust of defendants’ evidence is that serious harm

could result if certain students are confronted

with particular questions in the survey. The re-

sults, defendants claim, is that certain students

may become quite apprehensive or even unstable

as a result of answering this questionnaire. The

Court finds that this reason applies only to stu-

dents as young as 13 and 14 years of age. De-

fendants, therefore, did not violate the Constitu-

tion in prohibiting distribution at this level.”

At page 202:

“FREE SPEECH UNDER THE FIRST

AMENDMENT, THOUGH AVAILABLE TO

JUVENILES AND HIGH SCHOOL STU.

DENTS, AS WELL AS TO ADULTS, IS NOT

ABSOLUTE, AND THE EXTENSION OF ITS

APPLICATION MAY PROPERLY TAKE

INTO CONSIDERATION THE AGE OR MA.

TURITY OF THOSE TO WHOM IT IS AD.

DRESSED. Quarterman v. Byrd, 453 Fed.2d 54

57 (4th Cir. 1971) ... INFORMATION ABOUT

SEX, BOTH CORRECT AND INCORRECT

IS IMPARTED DAILY ON TELEVISION.

ON RADIO AND VIA THE RASH OF NEW

SEX MAGAZINES ABOUT TOWN. THE

COURT FINDS THAT THE SURVEY, AS TO

THE OLDER STUDENTS, WOULD OUT.

WEIGH ANY HARM. THE COURT FINDS

THAT THE DOCUMENTS SHOULD NOT BE

DISTRIBUTED TO THE 9TH AND 10TH

GRADE STUDENTS; THAT SAFEGUARDS

40

SHOULD BE PROVIDED FOR GRADES 11

AND 12.” (Capitals ours)

The Petitioners cite the cases of Erznoznik v. City of

Jacksonville and Pacifica Foundation v. FCC (which

relied on Erznoznik) for the proposition that dissem1-

nation of protected materials may be limited so as not

to reach minors only in very limited circumstances.

But both cases invalidated speech regulating statutes

on grounds of overbreadth, claiming that the laws in-

volved in each case could have been drafted more

narrowly. This case presents no overbreadth issue he-

cause no law, and no direct attempt at regulation by

the state, is being challenged; rather the Respondent

seeks merely to initiate a cause of action sounding in

tort and the Petitioners certainly can level no over-

breadth claim against the decisional precedent or

statutes sanctioning such an action.

Moreover, Erznoznik has since been distinguished

by Your Honorable Court. Young v. American Mint

Theaters, 427 U.S. 50, involved a Michigan ordinance

restricting the location of adult theaters. The Petition-

ers cited Erznoznik as a basis for invalidating the

ordinance. The Court said:

“The city council’s determination was that a

concentration of ‘adult’ movie theaters causes the

area to deteriorate and becomes a focus of «rime.

effects which are not attributable to theaters show-

ing other types of films. It is this secondary effect

which this zoning ordinance attempts to avoid,

not the dissemination of ‘offensive’ speech. In con-

trast, in Erznoznik ... the justification offered by

the city rested primarily on the city’s interest in

41

protecting its citizens from exposure to unwanted,

‘offensive’ speech.”

Here, the Respondent’s tort action is not instituted for

the purpose of stifling speech; nowhere does Respond-

ent contend that “Born Innocent” should never have

been televised at any time. Rather, she contends it was

negligent to telecast this film in early evening hours.

The purpose of her lawsuit, then, is focused upon a

“secondary effect” making Petitioners liable for their

negligent act. Thus, Respondent’s suit fits within the

exception engrafted by Young upon Erznoznik.

The New York Court of Appeals was asked to pass

upon the validity of a statute prohibiting the sale of

explicit but non-obscene materials to minors. It said:

The clear implication . . . is that material which

is protected for distribution to adults is not nec-

essarily constitutionally protected from restriction

upon its dissemination to children. In other words,

the concept of obscenity or of unprotected matter

may vary according to the group to whom the

questionable material is directed or from whom

it is quarantined. Because of the State’s exigent

interest in preventing distribution to children of

objectionable material, it can exercise its power

to protect the health, safety, welfare and morals

of its community by barring the distribution to

children of books recognized to be suitable for

adults.

Three years later, in a case involving a challenge

to the same law, Your Honorable Supreme Court ex-

pressed similar sentiments;

42

We do not regard New York’s regulation in de-

fining obscenity on the basis of its appeal to

minors under 17 as involving an invasion of

such minors’ constitutionally protected freedoms.

Rather [the challenged enactment] simply adjusts

the definition of obscenity “to social realities by

permitting the appeal of this type of material to

be assessed in terms of the sexual interest . . .”

of such minors... That the State has power to

make that adjustment, for we have recognized

that even where there is an invasion of protected

freedoms “the power of the state to control the

conduct of children reaches beyond the scope of

its authority over adults... .” Prince v. Massa-

chusetts, 321 U.S. 158, 170 [1943].

The rule of Ginsberg, supra, has been reiterated by

later decisions. Thus, the same term, in Interstate

Circuit v. Dallas, 390 U.S. 676, 690 (1968), the Court

said: “We have indicated more generally that because

of its strong and abiding interest in youth, a state

may regulate the dissemination to juveniles of, and

their access to, material objectionable as to them but

which a State clearly could not regulate as to adults.”

Similarly, it was noted in Trachtman v. Anker, 426

F.Supp. 198, 201 (S.D. N.Y. 1976) that Tinker v. Des

Moines School Dist., 393 U.S. 503 (1969) “did not

delineate the circumstances under which the school

authorities may proscribe students’ First Amend-

ment rights. If defendants can prove there is a strong

possibility the distribution of the questionnaire [con-

cerning students’ sexual attitudes] would result in

significant psychological harm to members of Stuy-

43

vesant High School, then the distribution could be

denied.”

Similarly, in Conners v. Riley, 395 F.Supp. 1244

1251 (W.D. Ark. 1975), the Court remarked: “The

Ginsberg doctrine applies not only in the context of

an actual sale of material in question to a minor but

is equally viable in the situation where the material

is displayed publicly or displayed in an area to which

children have access.” The Fourth Circuit has adopted

a similar stance: “Free speech under the First

Amendment, though available to juveniles and high

school students, as well as to adults, is not absolute

and the extent of its application may properly take

into consideration the age of maturity of those to

whom it is addressed. Thus, publications may be pro-

tected when directed to adults but not when made

available to minors. . . .” (Quarterman v. Byrd, 453

F.2d d4, 57-58 (4th Cir. 1971)). So has the Ninth

Circuit: “This is not to say that in eases of distribu-

tion or exposure to juveniles or of intrusion upon

unwilling or unsolicited adults the First Amendment

protects distribution of all non-obscene materials.

Ginsberg . . . holds to the contrary that certain non-

obscene (under general constitutional standards)

material deemed harmful to youth is subject to regu-

lation. The same surely applies to undue intrusion. . . .

The point is in these areas special regulation is

necessary to meet these special problems.” (United

States v. Pellegrino, 467 F.2d 41, 44-45 (9th Cir.

1972) ).

44

All these rulings sanction direct state control over

the dissemination of otherwise protected materials to

juveniles. They authorize regulation of both the sales

of and the access of such materials. Here, the State

is, if at all, regulating indirectly by providing a

forum for a tort suit against a broadcaster who tele-

vised such an objectionable program. Given the

State’s interests in protecting minors, this degree of

regulation is entirely permissible and well within the

parameters of the Ginsberg rule, But Petitioners

claim broadcasters, who have no control over their

audience, ought to be entitled to a special exemption

from this rule. They cite one case (Butler v. Michi-

gan, 352 U.S. 380 (1957)) decided by the Supreme

Court eleven years before Ginsberg to support their

view; but that case, besides expressing an antiquated

view of the problem, dealt with booksellers, not broad-

casters. Conversely, the cases cited (on pages 16-17)

refer generally to objectionable materials and make

no distinction among the disseminators of such ma-

terials.

This Honorable Court in the case of Young v.

American Mini Theaters, 427 U.S. 50, 69-71, did not

distinguish among the ways in which such objection-

able films could be accepted or the ability to exclude

minors from theaters. Written films could be regu-

lated on the basis of content which even protected

materials could be withheld from minors. Thus, the

Ginsberg-Y oung rationale evinces courts’ desire to

afford states great leeway in protecting juveniles and

that rationale is broad enough to support the prose-

cution of a tort action in State courts.

45

Petitioners would attempt to counter this argument

by citing cases like Erznoznik v. Jacksonville, 422

U.S. 205 (1975) and Pacifica Foundation v. FCC, 556

F.2d 9 (D.C. Cir. 1977). Both these cases invalidated

either a State law of a Federal regulation restraining

certain types of communications; but both did so on

grounds of overbreadth, in that the challenged enact-

ments were phrased too loosely to withstand judicial

scrutiny. In this case, no overbreadth issue exists.

Certainly Petitioners do not claim the judicial prece-

dent or State statutes vesting plaintiff with a cause

of action are themselves constitutionally infirm, In-

stead, Petitioners rely on dicta taken from these cases

to support their dubious thesis. But Young, too,

talked about Erznoznik. In Young, a challenge was

raised to a Detroit ordinance restricting the placement

of adult theaters. The Court distinguished Erznoznik

as follows:

The [Detroit] City Council’s determination was

that a concentration of “adult” movie theaters

causes the area to deteriorate and become a focus

of crime, effects which are not attributable to

theaters showing other types of films. It is this

secondary effect which this zoning ordinance at-

tempts to avoid, not the dissemination of “offen-

sive” speech. In contrast, in Erznoznik, supra,

the justifications offered by the city rested pri-

marily on the city’s interest in protecting its

citizens from exposure to unwanted, “offensive”

speech. The only secondary effect relied on to

support that ordinance was the impact on traffie—

an effect which might be caused by a distracting

open-air movie even if it did not exhibit nudity

(Young, supra at 71 n. 34),

46

Here, the State’s provision of a forum to try a tort

action is not aimed at stifling speech. The Respond-

ent’s claim is that a specific scene in a broadcast film

caused her harm, for which she seeks a recovery. The

focus of the tort action, then, is not on the curtailment

of a type of communication, but rather on ensuring

that a specific media defendant pays for the conse-

quences of his negligence. This goal is an example of

the “secondary effect” referred to by Young. There-

fore, Respondent’s use of State courts to impose

liability on the Petitioners falls within the specific

exception engrafted upon Hrenoznik (and, by ex-

tension, Pacifica Foundation, which relied on the

logic of Erznozntk) by Young.

D. Assuming that the First Amendment defense applies, it does

not mean Respondent should be deprived of a trial. Dis-

putes over constitutional questions and the existence of

constitutional facts are no exception to the Seventh Amend-

ment.

Even assuming that in this case there are “consti-

tutional facts” which we strongly dispute, constitu-

tional fact rubric requires de novo appeilate review

by judges.

Petitioners engaged in a lengthy discussion of

“constitutional fact” and the implications in that

term that have been explained by various decisions in

libel and obscenity cases.

Nowhere, however, do they indicate what constitu-

tional facts are at issue in this lawsuit. As defined by

New York Times Co, v. Sullivan, 376 U.S, 254, 284-

286, 11 L.Ed.2d 686 (1964), the rubric “constitutional

47

fact” will be invoked whenever “*‘. . . a conclusion of

law as to a Federal right and a finding of fact are so

intermingled as to make it necessary, in order to pass

upon the Federal question, to analyze the facts.” In

this case, however, it is never suggested that any

intermingling of law and fact (such as, for example,

the concepts of “actual malice” or “public figure” in

a libel action) exists with respect to any issue in this

lawsuit. Indeed, the Petitioners seem to suggest (p.

16) that the only constitutional fact involved herein

is whether or not “Born Innocent” is actionable. But

that, of course, involves the question of whether the

telecasting of that film engendered tortious liability,

a question for the jury to decide, and a question which

differs significantly from the types of problems re-

ferred to by Your Honorable Court in New York

Times, supra.

Even assuming, however, that this case presents an

issue of constitutional fact, Petitioners’ analysis of

the problems raised by such a designation is specious.

They point out, as they must, that whenever a case

contains such issues, appellate courts must engage in

a de novo review of the facts. This obligation has been

summarized well by the Court in New York Times:

“This Court’s duty is not limited to the elaboration of

constitutional principles; we must also in proper cases

review the evidence to make certain that those princi-

ples have been constitutionally applied . .. We must

‘make an independent examination of the whole rec-

ord.’” New York Times, supra, at 285-86. Accord,

Rosenbloom v. Metromedia, Inc., 403 U.S. 29, 54

(1971) ; Time, Inc. v. Pape, 401 U.S. 279, 284 (1971).

48

From such language the Petitioners derive the prin-

ciple that whenever a suit is based on a publication,

a Court must determine whether or not that publica-

tion is constitutionally privileged (p. 15). They claim

that the Court of Appeals erred in remanding this

ease for trial; in fact, the only error is in their

misapprehension of relevant precedent.

Although many eases contain dicta to the effect that

summary judgments or directed verdicts may be use-

ful in libel suits where media defendants are involved,

the following propositions are nevertheless control-

ling:

1. While New York Times announces a standard

by which evidence in libel cases will be judged, the

manner in which that standard is applied is the same

as in all other cases in which it is claimed no issue

exists for a jury to decide.

2. Disputes over constitutional fact are no excep-

tions to the Seventh Amendment.

3. The very fact that a case involves an issue of

constitutional fact requires independent de novo re-

view of the trial record by appellate courts; if a sum-

mary judgment is granted too hastily, there is no

appreciable record available for review and thus such

courts are, in effect, precluded from fulfilling their

constitutional duties.

4. The key case cited by Petitioners in support

of its conclusions about the rule regarding summary

procedures in suits involving the First Amendment

are (and have been) limited to their facts.

49

5. Regardless of the presumed need for summary

dismissals in libel cases that same necessity does not

exist in negligence actions such as this one.

First, Petitioners claim that questions of constitu-

tional fact ought to be decided by judges, not juries.

In support of this contention, they cite Guam Fed’n

of Teachers Local 1581, A.F.T. v. Ysrael, 492 F.2d 438

(9th Cir. 1974), to the effect that a presiding judge in

a case involving a media defendant should himself

closely scrutinize the evidence in order to determine

whether or not a suit should be terminated in the de-

fendant’s favor. But this citation is incomplete and

is, aS a consequence, misleading. The Ninth Circuit

went on to state:

“However, with respect we are not persuaded

... that in deciding these motions, the trial court

should judge the credibility of witnesses and draw

its own inferences from the evidence. We think

that in a libel case, as in other cases, the party

against whom a motion for summary judgment, a

motion for a directed verdict, or a motion for

judgment notwithstanding the verdict is made is

entitled to have the evidence viewed in the light

most favorable to him and to all inferences that

can properly be drawn in his favor by the trier

of fact. We think, too, that in such eases it is

not only not the duty of the judge, or of this

court of appeal, to weigh the credibility of the

evidence, or to draw inferences in favor of the

moving party ... but that neither the judge nor

this court on appeal has the authority to weigh

credibility or to choose among legitimate infer-

ences in such cases,

50

The standard against which the evidence must

be examined is that of New York Times and its

progeny. But the manner in which the evidence

is to be examined in the light of that standard

is the same as in all other cases in which it is

claimed that a case shouid not go to the jury.”

(Guam Fed’n of Teachers, Local 1581, A.F.T. v.

Ysrael, 492 F.2d 438, 441 (9th Cir.), cert. denied,

419 U.S. 872 (1974)).

In accord with the above citation we respectfully

eall the Court’s attention to Alioto v. Cowles Com-

munication, 519 F.2d 438, pp. 441-443 (9th Cir. 1975).

Thus, under Ysrael, the scope of a judge’s scrutiny

in response to a request for a summary dismissal ts

very limited; indeed, the decision indicates no special

procedures exist in suits against media defendants, at

least on this point. Later rulings of the Seventh and

Ninth Cireuits concur with this view. Carson v. Allied

News Co., 529 F.2d 206, 213 (7th Cir. 1976); Virgil

v. Time, Inc., 527 F.2d 1122, 1130-31 (9th Cir. 1975),

cert. denied, 425 U.S. 998 (1976); Alioto v. Cowles

Communications, Inc., 519 F.2d 777, 780 (9th Cir.

1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 930 (1976). The Court

in Virgil said at 1130:

We cannot agree that the First Amendment re-

quires that the question [of whether or not a

given publication concerns a matter of public in-

terest] must be confined to one of law to be de-

cided by the judge. Courts have not yet gone so

far in other areas of the law involving First

Amendment problems ... The testing of facts

against a standard founded on community mores

does entail judgment of the court itself. But if

51

there is room for differing views as to the state of

community mores or the manner in which it

would operate upon the facts in question, there is

room for the jury function. The function of the

court is to ascertain whether a jury question is

presented.

All these cases indicate that merely because a suit

involves First Amendment issues, the usual procedures

governing the granting or denial of a summary judg-

ment are not thereby displaced. The judge in such

cases is not licensed to view the evidence in any fash-

ion when a media defendant seeks dismissal of a com-

plaint, but must conform to the usual practice and

give the benefit of his doubts to the plaintiff.

Second, a plaintiff who sues a media defendant is

also entitled to trial by jury as guaranteeed by the

Seventh Amendment. If summary procedures are too

liberally relied upon in such cases, that entitlement is

unjustly abrogated. Several Federal courts have em-

phasized this point. In Hotchner v. Castillo-Puche,

404 F.Supp. 1041, 1050 (S.D.N.Y. 1975), rev’d on

other grounds, 551 F.2d 910 (2d Cir. 1977), it was

said: “Although summary judgment in a defamation

action might serve the prophylactic function of spar-

ing authors and publishers the chilling effect of liti-

gation, ‘[t]his procedural weapon is a drastic device

since its prophylactic function, when exercised, cuts

off a person’s right to present his case to the jury.’ ”

Similarly, in Taggert v. Wadleigh-Maurice, Ltd., 489

F.2d 434, 439 (3rd Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 417 U.S.

937 (1974) :

52

Article III, section 2 of the Constitution gave

the Supreme Court appellate jurisdiction “both

as to law and fact.” This clause produced an

adverse public reaction which resulted in the

Seventh Amendment preserving the right to trial

by jury in civil cases and providing further that

“no fact tried by a jury, shall be otherwise re-

examined in any Court of the United States,

than according to the rules of the common law.”

Disputes over “constitutional fact” are no ex-

ception to the seventh amendment. . . . just as

disputed facts in a nonjury case are determined

by trial and not on summary judgment motion,

a trial judge’s decision to instruct the jury with

the New York Times standard or an appellate

court’s de novo review of “constitutional fact”

are both made after a full trial on the contested

factual issues.

The plaintiff here asks only for the same considera-

tion.

Third, as noted earlier, when constitutional fact

issues exist in a case, appellate courts must engage

in an independent de novo review.

An appellate court, of course, can only review a

trial record. If, however, summary judgment is

granted too quickly, this precludes the compilation

of any trial record capable of being reviewed mean-

ingfully. As a result, a court of appeal is denied any

opportunity to fulfill its constitutional obligation.

This point has been aptly summarized by the Third

Cireuit in Taggert at page 438, wherein it said that

a ruling on constitutional privilege in the context

of an invasion of privacy claim

53

. . . Should be made on a record in which the

facts have been fully developed. Only with such

a record can the necessary balance between the

conflicting rights of personal privacy and of free-

dom of expression properly be struck. We realize

that requiring the defendants to defend in a trial

rather than to obtain summary judgment puts

them to additional expense, and arguably sub-

jects their First Amendment rights . . . to that

much extra “chill.” In the context of the problem

... this degree of “chill” seems to us de minimis

when compared with the unsatisfactory alterna-

time of ruling on a potentially serious conflict

between legally protected rights without a com-

plete record.

Accord, Gordon v. Random House, Inc., 486 F.2d

1356, 1360-61 (3d Cir. 1973), vacated on other grounds,

419 U.S. 812 (1974).

The above cited case holds that summary judg-

ments should never be granted with resolve by the

Court where the issue of a constitutional fact pre-

cludes compellation.

E. Films and television are not entitled to the same constitu-

tional protections afforded newspapers or other written

publications.

Your Honorable Court in the case of Times Film

Corporation v. Chicago, 361 U.S. 43 at p. 49 in re-

ferring to motion pictures states:

“Petitioner would have us hold that the public

exhibition of motion pictures must be allowed

under any circumstances, The State’s sole remedy,

it says, is the invocation of criminal process. . . .

o4+

But this position as we have seen, is founded

upon the absolute privilege against prior re-

straint under the First Amendment—a claim

without sanction in our cases.”

Similarly, in the case of Southwestern Promotional

Limited v. Conrad, 420 U.S. 546, 557 (1975) the Court

warned :

“Each medium of expression, of course, must

be assessed for First Amendment purposes by

standards suited to it, for each may present its

own problems.”

This cautionary stance had been evinced sixteen

years earlier, in Kingsley Pictures Corp. v. Regents

of New York, 360 U.S. 684, 689-90 (1959), wherein

the Court stated: “Nor need we here determine

whether, despite problems peculiar to motion pictures,

the controls which a State may impose upon this

medium of expression are precisely coextensive with

those allowable for news, books, or individual speech.”

All these cases stand for the proposition that be-

cause visual representations differ so significantly

from the written word, such representations are sub-

ject to distinctive constitutional protections,

Nowhere is this point made clearer than in Joseph

Burstyn, Inc. v. Wilson, 348 U.S. 495 (1952). That

litigation involved a challenge to a provision of New

York’s education code forbidding the commercial

showing of films without the approval of a state

censor and allowing that official to withhold his ap-

55

proval on the grounds that a film is sacrilegious. At

page 502, the Court said:

It is further urged that motion pictures possess

a greater capacity for evil, particularly among

the youth of a community, than other modes of

expression. Even if one were to accept this hy-

pothesis, it does not follow that motion pictures

should be disqualified from First Amendment

protection. If there be capacity for evil, it may

be relevant in determining the permissible scope

of community control but it does not authorize

the unbridled censorship such as we have here.

Unlike Burstyn, this case presents no “unbridled

censorship”. Respondent does not allege ‘‘Born In-

nocent” should never have been shown at any time;

nor does she advocate the creation of a censor from

whom the networks must seek permission before they

telecast a program. Instead, the Respondent merely

seeks to impose liability for negligence; the state’s

granting of such a cause of action is surely within

the “permissible scope of community control” to which

the Court referred. On pages 502-03, the Court

declared :

To hold that liberty of expression by means of

motion pictures is guaranteed by the First and

Fourteenth Amendments, however, is not the end

of our problem, It does not follow that the Con-

stitution requires absolute freedom to exhibit

every motion picture of every kind at all times

and places. ... Nor does it follow that motion

pictures are necessarily subject to precise rules

governing any other particular method of ex-

56

pression. Each method tends to present its own

peculiar problems.

Here, too, Respondent asks only for damages that

result from the Petitioners’ failure to telecast an

explicit film at a reasonable time. Certainly, her

expectation that the Petitioners would observe rea-

sonable restraints in its televising falls well within

the ambit of the limits referred to by Burstyn. More-

over, the Court went on to say at page 503:

The statute involved here does not seek to punish

as a past offense, speech or writing falling within

the permissible scope of subsequent punishment.

On the contrary, New York requires that per-

mission to communicate ideas be obtained in ad-

vance from state officials who judge the content

of the words and pictures sought to be commu-

nicated. This Court recognized many years ago

that such a previous restraint is a form of in-

fringement upon Freedom of expression to be

especially condemned.

Unlike Burstyn, this case involves no prior restraint.

The Respondent seeks to impose liability after the

fact for specified conduct. Burstyn notes this dis-

tinction and indicates that punishment for prior

conduct is constitutionally acceptable. The same should

be true in the case of the imposition of tortious

liability for such conduct. Thus, Burstyn and all

these cases establish the fact that the First Amend-

ment provides no absolute privilege for filmmakers,

but rather affords a degree of protection narrowly

circumscribed by the state’s ability to exact reason-

57

able restrictions on the time, place and manner in

which a motion picture may be exhibited.

Courts have expressed similar limitations with

respect to television. In 1969, in Red Lion Broad-

casting Co. v. FCC, 395 U.S. 367, 386-87 (1969), Your

Honorable Court noted “Although broadcasting is

clearly a medium affected by a First Amendment

interest . . . differences in the characteristics of new

media justify differences in the First Amendment

standards applied to them.” Four years later, the

Court explained in its holding this case as follows:

“,.. Red Lion ... makes clear that the broadcast

media pose unique and special problems not

present in the traditional free speech case. Un-

like other media, broadcasting is subject to an

inherent physical limitation. Broadcast frequen-

cies are a scarce resource; they must be portioned

out among applicants. All who possess the

financial resources and the desire to communicate

by television and radio cannot be satisfactorily

accommodated. The court spoke to this reality

when, in Red Lion, we said ‘It is idle to posit an

unabridgeable First Amendment right to broad-

cast comparable to the right of every individual

to speak, write or publish.” (Columbia Broad-

casting Sys. v. Democratic Comm., 412 U.S. 94,

101 (1973)).

Lower Federal courts have expressed similar views.

Thus, in National Lampoon, Inc. v. American Broad-

casting Co., 376 F.Supp. 733, 740 n. 2 (S.D.N.Y.

1974), it was said: “Jt has generally been recognized

that the freedom of expression, and indeed the First

58

Amendment rights of licensed broadcasters, are sub-

ject to more limitations than publishers, and per-

formers on the stage.” Similarly, in Mt. Mansfield

Television, Inc. v. FCC, 442 F.2d 470, 477 (2d Cir.

1971), the Court warned “However, the extent of

permissible regulation under the First Amendment is

not identical for all means of communication, The

peculiar character of the broadcast media requires the

application of constitutional standards to their regu-

lation which differ from those applicable to other

types of communication.” The point was best ex-

pressed in Banzhaf v. FCC, 405 F.2d 1082, 1100-01

(D.C. Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 396 U.S. 842 (1969):

The First Amendment is unmistakably hostile to

governmental controls over the contents of the

press, but that is not to say that it necessarily

bars every regulation which in any way affects

what the newspapers publish. Even if it does,

there may still be a meaningful distinction be-

tween the two media justifying different treat-

ment under the First Amendment. Unlike

broadcasting, the written press includes a rich

variety of outlets for expression and persuasion,

including journals, pamphlets, leaflets, and cir-

cular letters, which are available to those without

technical skills or deep pockets. Moreover, the

broadcasting medium may be different in kind

from publishing. ... Written messages are not

communicated unless they are read, and reading

requires an affirmative act. Broadcast messages,

in contrast, are “in the air.” In an age of omni-

present radio, there scarcely breathes a citizen

who does not know some part of a leading

cigarette jingle by heart, Similarly, an ordinary

59

habitual television watcher can avoid these com-

mercials only by frequently leaving the room,

changing the channel, or doing some such other

affirmative act. It is difficult to calculate the sub-

liminal impact of these pervasive propaganda,

which may be heard even if not listened to, but

it may reasonably be thought greater than the

impact of the written word.

All these cases conclude that the First Amendment

does not absolutely shield broadcasters from regula-

tion by the state. Each of these suits involved direct

control exercised by the FCC and, in each case, the

controls imposed were upheld as constitutionally per-

missible. Here, the state is regulating, if at all, only

indirectly, by providing the forum for a tort suit

against a broadcaster. If Federal courts are amenable

to allowing direct governmental interference with

broadcasting policies, surely the principles announced

in such cases should support the kind of indirect

“interference” at issue in this case. Any suggestion

that the First Amendm at exempts negligent tele-

casts from liability simply ignores the fact that the

First Amendment protections accorded broadcasters

are not coextensive with those granted other types of

media defendants.

F. Even protected speech is subject to a balancing test.

Even if ‘‘Born Innocent” were determined to be

protected speech that would not foreclose further

judicial inquiry. A number of courts have pointed

out, in the context of cases involving the media, that

even protected speech is subject to a balancing test

60

in order to determine whether or not it is thoroughly

immune from regulation in the public interest.

To this effect, see Buckley v. American Fed. of

Television & Radio Artists, 496 F.2d 305, at p. 311

where the Court states as follows:

‘‘Acts of speech and of expression, although

protected by the First Amendment are not so

exalted that they can never be, even indirectly,

obstructed. Cox v. New Hampshire, 312 U.S. 569,

61 S.Ct. 762, 85 L.Ed. 1049 (1941). Indeed, even

with reference to freedom of the press, the

Supreme Court has recently reaffirmed what has

long been understood to be the law: ‘[O]therwise

valid laws serving substantial public interest may

be enforced against the press as against others,

despite the possible burden that may be imposed.’

Branzburg v. Hayes, 408 U.S. 665, 682-683, 92

S.Ct. 2646, 2657, 33 L.Ed.2d 626 (1972). More

specifically, where there is a proper governmental

purpose for imposing a restraint and where the

restraint is imposed so as not to ‘unwarrantedly

abridge’ acts normally comprehended within the

First Amendment, there is no abridgment of

First Amendment rights.” Cox v. New Hampshire,

supra, at 574.

The Court is respectfully directed to the case of

Banzhaf v. FCC, supra, at page 1102 concerning this

question of balancing of interest.

The case of Writers Guild of America West, Ine.

v. FCC, 423 F.Supp. 1064, 1134-35, 1140, 1154 (C.D.

Cal. 1976) holds that the First Amendment is not

violated by self-regulations of the time and place of

televising a program, Here again, the Court is point-

61

ing out that television stations have a duty to the

public and must recognize times and places where

certain telecast matter is proper and that such self-

regulation does not violate the First Amendment.

That is the exact contention used by Respondent in

this case and that because Petitioners who had a duty

to the public negligently and with recklessness failed

to self-control themselves, a child was seriously in-

jured and for this tortious act on their part they

must pay damages. As stated by the Court, this has

nothing to do with the First Amendment.

In the case of Interstate Circuit v. Dallas, 390 U.S.

676, 690 (1968) the Court states:

“We have indicated more generally that because

of its strong and abiding interest in youth, a

state may regulate the dissemination to juveniles

of, and their access to, material objectionable as

to them but which a state clearly could not regu-

late as to adults.”

In Conners v. Riley, 395 F.Supp. 1244, 1251 the

Court states:

“The Ginsberg doctrine applies not only in

the context of an actual sale of material in ques-

tion to a minor but is eque!\y viable in the situa-

tion where the material is either displayed pub-

licly or displayed in an area to which children

have access.”

In Young v. American Mini Theaters, 44 U.S.L.W.

at 5005, it states that the context of material is

different involving children than adults. Thus, con-

62

text may be considered in addition to time and place

if the First Amendment is conceded to be a defense.

In Buckley v. American Fed. of Television & Radio

Artists, 496 F.2d 305, 311 (2d Cir. 1974), it was said:

Acts of speech and of expression, although

protected by the First Amendment, are not so

exalted that they can never be even indirectly

obstructed. Cox v. New Hampshire, 312 U.S.

569, 61 S.Ct. 762, 85 L.Ed. 1049 (1941). Indeed,

even with reference to freedom of the press, the

Supreme Court has recently reaffirmed what has

long been understood to be the law: ‘*[O]therwise

valid laws serving substantial public interests

may be enforced against the press as against

others, despite the possible burden that may be

imposed.” Branzburg v. Hayes, 408 U.S. 665, 682-

683, 92 S.Ct. 2646, 2657, 33 L.Ed.2d 626 (1972).

More specifically, where there is a proper govern-

mental interest for imposing a restraint and

where the restraint is imposed so as to not ‘‘un-

warrantedly abridge” acts normally compre-

hended within the First Amendment, there is no

abridgment of First Amendment rights. Cox v.

New Hampshire, supra at 574.

An illuminating example of such balancing is pro-

vided by Zacchini v. Scripps-Howard Pub. Co., 45

U.S.L.W. 4954 (U.S. June 28, 1977). That litigation

involved a tort action to recover for the unauthorized

televising of the plaintiff’s circus act. The Court ad-

mitted that entertainment enjoyed First Amendment

protection in general, but said at page 4957:

It is evident, and there is no claim here to the

contrary that Petitioner’s state-law right of pub-

63

licity would not serve to prevent Respondent

from reporting newsworthy facts about the Peti-

tioner’s act. Wherever the line in particular

situations is to be drawn between media reports

that are protected and those that are not, we

are quite sure that the First and Fourteenth

Amendments do not immunize the media when

they broadcast a performer’s entire act without

his consent.

At page 4958, the Court noted:

““Petitioner does not seek to enjoin broadcast

of his performance; he simply wants to be paid

for it. Nor do we think that a state-law damages

remedy against Respondent would represent a

species of liability without fault contrary to the

letter or spirit of Gertz [v. Robert Welch, Inc.,

418 U.S. 323 (1974) ].”

In Zacchini, supra, the Court never did decide

whether the speech in question was or was not un-

protected. It merely held that, upon balancing the

interests of the media vis-a-vis those of Petitioner,

one could not say that the First Amendment im-

munized the former from liability. The Court went

on to point out that Gertz did not bar tort actions

against the media premised upon some underlying

theory of fault. The principles of Zacchini apply in

this case. Here, too, Respondent is not alleging lia--

bility without fault. She claims that a specific act

of negligence on the part of the Petitioners proxi-

mately caused harm to her. Nor is the social utility

inherent in televising “Born Innocent” at 8 p.m.

(rather than 9 p.m. or 10 p.m.) so great as to pre-

64

clude a state-law damages remedy against the Peti-

tioners. Therefore, under the balancing test as stated

in Buckley and as applied in Zacchini, it can be seen

that the’ interests of the Petitioners simply do not

outweigh those of the Respondent, even assuming

that the speech involved in this case is protected.

Assuming that imposition of liability in this case

would lead to self-censorship such a result would not

be unconstitutional.

This conclusion is borne out by language appearing

in the case of Writers Guild of America West, Inc.

v. FCC, 423 F.Supp. 1064 (C.D. Cal. 1976), which

dealt, inter alia, with the constitutionality of the

family viewing hour. In that case, the Court repeat-

edly held that it was “constitutional (even assuming

state action) for the networks in the capacity as

station owners (i.e., licensees) to adopt a family view-

ing policy and independently apply it...” (ld. at

1134). Thus, the Court claimed: ‘‘The question of

what the needs of the community are at particular

times is peculiarly the province of the licensee. If

the licensee should determine that an audience is

likely to be composed of children and adults at

particular hours, nothing in the First Amendment

prohibits it from programming accordingly.” (/d.)

At page 1135, the Court went on to say: ‘Those

excluded from the airwaves call this censorship.

Those permitted to participate call it visionary edi-

torial decisionmaking. But such decisions are inherent

to the broadcasting function and constitutionally pro-

65

tected whether or not state action is present. There-

fore independent adoption of and application of a

family viewing policy by a licensee does not violate

the First Amendment.”

Here, Respondent does not ask for state regulation

of network telecasting policies; she merely wants to

recover for harm caused to her by Petitioners’

negligence.

Even assuming such an award will cause networks

to televise certain programs at later hours, this uni-

lateral decision is, according to Writers Guild, not a

violation of the First Amendment.

Thus, the regulatory policy which Petitioners claim

will be compelled by recognition of a damage remedy

here is itself constitutionally permissible because it

entails no more than self-regulation. Consequently,

Respondent perceives no harm in allowing her to

press a lawsuit where an alleged indirect effect of

that lawsuit will, at best, yield a course of conduct

affirmatively sanctioned by the First Amendment.

CONCLUSION

We respectfully submit that the First Amendment

is not a defense to a negligence action.

Respondent’s action does not call upon the Court

for any prior restraint or for any repression or

censorship involving broadcasting.

66

Even conceding for the purpose of argument only

that the First Amendment applies, for the reasons

above stated, a writ of certiorari would not be proper

at this time.

Dated, April 3, 1978.

Respectfully submitted,

MarvIN E. Lewis,

Lewis, Roupa & LEwIs,

Attorneys for Respondent.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.