Petition — Stouffer Corp. v. National Labor Relations Board

Supreme Court brief1978

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

sts

; | ~ Supreme Court, a

FILED. \

|

[ AEL RODAK, JR., CLERK

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1977

No. 27 =F729

THE STOUFFER CORPORATION, d/b/a STOUFFER’S

CINCINNATI INN,

Petitioner,

V.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Respondent,

HOTEL, MOTEL, RESTAURANT EMPLOYEES AND BARTENDERS UNION,

LOCAL 12 OF THE HOTEL AND RESTAURANT EMPLOYEES AND

BARTENDERS’ INTERNATIONAL UNION, AFL-CIO,

Intervenor.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

To the United States Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit

GERALD TOCKMAN

706 Chestnut, Suite 1010

St. Louis, Missouri 63101

(314) 241-8909

Attorney for Petitioner

St. Louis law Printing Co.. Inc., 812 Olive Street 63101 314-231-4477

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

ED, Sos cet bees 6 he Ot Reena wea ceD 2

ecient bebe se hha bheds saasaw es 2

Ee eee re eee ee 2

EE oS 24.5 nbn bbeewescs ceaetusteeasns 4

ye rey err re rrr 4

Reasons for Granting the Writ ............ccccceees 10

A. No “rule” of this Court denies review of final

determinations adverse to an employer party to rep-

POSSMAMTIOM PTOCCOGIMGS .. wc ccc cccceceees 14

B. “Parties” cannot be denied review when ag-

grieved by final board orders denying substantive stat-

See GD 6.44.60450 00s Camas ede heenns concede 18

C. Review of final board orders, adverse to an em-

ployer party to representation proceedings, is consist-

ent with the statutory scheme and constitutionally

PPP TELL TTT Pee CTT eT eT ee 21

D. The decision of the Court of Appeals is in con-

flict with principles of review confirmed by this Court

and determines the extent to which review should be

available under circumstances that should be decided

Be Ge GEE Waceccbeccevews cseveecueebesis 23

re eo a i ee eee a en 25

Table of Cases

Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136, 140

SR rh i ke as ean. are tl 12, 21, 22

American Federation of Labor v. National Labor Relations

ee ee esas 10, 11, 14, 15, 24

Bays v. Miller, 524 F.2d 631 (9th Cir. 1975) .......... 20

Bethesda-Chevy Chase Broadcasters v. FCC, 385 F.2d 967,

| I ae ee 22

Boire v. Greyhound Corporation, 376 U.S. 473, 11 L.Ed.

2d 849 (1964) ....... ee a ueue 14, 15, 16, 17, 20, 24, 25

Califano v. Goldfarb, — U.S. —, 51 L.Ed.2d 270 at 274,

ad ie eee ce eles 's wale 23

Califano v. Sanders, — U.S. —, 51 L.Ed.2d 192

NN rare hire one aera ke tee 11, 12, 21, 23, 24, 25

Cities Service Gas Company v. Federal Power Commission,

255 F.2d 860 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 385 U.S. 837

PRs ERP rr Or ay peer r ye 18

Citizens to Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe, 401 U.S. 402,

Geer GED 6 eRSEC cated eek nGutseneneeusiedes 22

Deering Milliken v. Johnston, 295 F.2d 856, 859 (4th

BC Vk dKecdeudeces ea enaareensdaweuen 12, 21

Eastern Greyhound Lines v. Fusco, 323 F.2d 477 (6th Cir.

SE hdd GG we evaressdecinndbetbetaccetads 14, 15, 16

Isbrandtsen Company v. U.S., 211 F.2d 51 (D.C. Cir.),

cert. denied, 347 U.S. 990 (1954) ............... 18, 22

Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319, 47 L.Ed.2d 18 (1976) 23

Prairie Construction Co. v. Operating Engineers, 425 U.S.

a Fe FT Pree 12

Retail Store Employees Union, Local 954 v. Rothman, 298

F.2d 300 (D.C. Cir. 1962) ....... cece cceeececees 21

Squillacote v. Teamsters Local 344, — F.2d —, 95 LRRM

- a. Be M.S eerrrr rr ere rere 20, 24

Templeton v. Dixie Color Printing Co., 444 F.2d 1064

EDs conc bdo ee See. coeeeeesocsseeses’s 21

Timken-Detroit Axle Co. v. NLRB, 197 F.2d 512 (6th

St, MEE sen sedeeadeeedion + eedersoewvevenenns 14, 15

U. S. v. Storer Broadcasting, 351 U.S. 192 (1956) ...... 22

Weinberger v. Salfi, 422 U.S. 749, 45 L.Ed.2d 522 (1975) 23

Table of Authorities

5 US.C. §§ 701-706 ...............005. 3,4, 8, 11, 12, 21

gg. ancdaccussvecpucsecs 2

29 US.C. $$ 151, et 809. ......... eee eeeee cece ees: 4

29 U.S.C. § 152(2) .......... eee eee eee 4, 8,9, 10, 12, 16

es cuss vwaisscnsusdwns 6

WOE bO0NND ........2...0.05..6: 3,4, 5,9, 13, 16

oo. cc uccaude duh wiisiadnas 3,4

29 US.C. § 159d) .......... 3, 6, 8, 10, 15, 16, 19, 22, 23

29 U.S.C. § 160(e) ........ 3, 6, 8, 10, 15, 16, 19, 20, 22, 23

29 U.S.C. § 160(f)......... 3, 6, 8, 10, 15, 16, 18, 19, 22, 23

H. Rep. No. 972, 74th Cong., Ist Sess 20 ............ 20

S. Rep. No. 573, 74th Cong., Ist Sess. 14 ............ 20

iV

INDEX TO APPENDICES

Page

Decision and Direction of Election of the National Labor

Relations Board Dated September 8, 1976 (225 NLRB

BE, BOER cccccccectiocesessunete A-1

Letter Dated November 22, 1976 From The Stouffer Cor-

poration to the Cincinnati S$.1. Company ............ A-18

Letter Dated November 22, 1976 From The Stouffer Cor-

poration to Hotel, Motel, Restaurant Employees and

Bastenders’ Union Local 12 ..........cccccccccees A-20

Letter Dated November 29, 1976 From Arthur H. Fried-

man to The Stouffer Corporation .................. A-22

Petition for Review of The Stouffer Corporation d/b/a

Stouffer's Cincinnati Inn Dated February 11, 1977 and

Docketed February 14, 1977 .................... A-24

Motion for Leave to Intervene of Hotel, Motel, Kestaurant

Employees and Bartenders’ Union Local 12 ........ A-27

Motion of Petitioner for Entry of Default Judgment Dated

Rags 06, GROG . . occesecceeesesucuene A-30

Order Entered and Filed April 29, 1977 ............. A-32

Motion of the National Labor Relations Board to Dismiss

Petition for Review and Memorandum of Points and

Authorities in Support, Dated April 29, 1977 ...... A-34

May 17, 1977 Notification of the Filing of the Certified

List, With Certified Lists Attached ................ A-41

Petitioner's Opposition to Motion to Dismiss and Support-

ing Memorandum of Points and Authorities Dated May

BB, GEUE oc cccccvcccassocsuneeaen eee A-46

a at ae ith tie alin: ana

Response of the National Labor Relations Board to Peti-

tioner’s Opposition, Dated June 2, 1977 ............ A-61

Intervenor’s Memorandum of Points and Authorities in

Support of Motion to Dismiss, Dated June 3, 1977 . .A-65

Joint Motion of the National Labor Relations Board and

Intervenor Local 12 to Extend Time for Filing Briefs

and Appendix, Dated July 15, 1977 .............. A-77

Order of the Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit Entered

ee coc chctcesesceccecce: A-80

Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing En

Banc of The Stouffer Corporation ................ A-82

Order of the Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit Entered

EE A, UY fo ccc ccc cccccccccccces A-91

eee eres eee ccc ce ecoesccess A-92

IN THE

_ SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1977

ae ra,

THE STOUFFER CORPORATION, d ba STOUFFER’S

CINCINNATI INN,

Petitioner,

V.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Respondent,

HOTEL, MOTEL, RESTAURANT EMPLOYEES AND BARTENDERS UNION,

LOCAL 12 OF THE HOTEL AND RESTAURANT EMPLOYEES AND

BARTENDERS’ INTERNATIONAL UNION, AFL-CIO,

intervenor.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

To the United States Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit

Petitioner, The Stouffer Corporation d/b/a Stouffer's Cin-

cinnati Inn, a party to a representation proceeding before the

National Labor Relations Board, seeks a writ of certiorari to

review the decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Sixth Circuit which became final on August 24, 1977. That

decision, dismissing petitioner's petition for review of a de-

|

to

|

cision of the National Labor Relations Board adverse to peti-

tioner, was premised solely upon an asserted “longstanding rule”

of this Court that certification proceedings are not subject to

review in the appellate courts.

OPINIONS BELOW

The unreported Order of the Court of Appeals dismissing

petitioner's petition for review is reproduced at Appendix A-80,

inten.

The unreported Order of the Court of Appeals denying peti-

tioner’s petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en

banc is reproduced at Appendix A-91.

The decision of the National Labor Relations Board adverse to

petitioner for which review was sought in the Court of Appeals

(App. A-1) is reported at 225 NLRB No. 170.

JURISDICTION

The order of the Court of Appeals dismissing petitioner's

petition for review was filed and entered on July 15, 1977 and

became final on August 24 when the order of the Court of Ap-

peals denying petitioner's petition for rehearing en banc was

filed and entered.

The jurisdiction of this Court to review the Court of Appeals’

dismissal of petitioner's petition for review is invoked under 28

U.S.C. Section 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

(1) Whether an employer party to representation proceedings

before the National Labor Relations Board, whose status as an

employer of and appropriate unit contentions with regard to

employees covered by a petition for representation under Section

9(c) of the National Labor Relations Act (29 U.S.C. Section

159(c)) are adversely determined by thé National Labor Rela-

tions Board, is barred from judicial review of such agency deter-

minations because such determinations foreclosed the “tra-

ditional” avenue of review of certification proceedings under

Sections 9(d), 10(e) and 10(f) of the Act (29 U.S.C. Sections

159(d), 160(e) and 160(f))?

(2) Whether an employer party to representation proceedings

before the National Labor Relations Board, whose position as a

joint employer and contention that a unit limited to the em-

ploying entity with which it jointly operates is not appropriate

under Section 9(b) of the Act (29 U.S.C. Section 159(b)) have

been finally and adversely decided by the National Labor Rela-

tions Board, can be constitutionally denied judicial review

simply because the “traditional” statutory method of review is

not available?

(3) Whether an employer party to representation proceedings

before the National Labor Relations Board whose status as a

joint employer and unit contentions have been adversely and

finally decided may challenge and obtain judicial review of such

federal administrative action under and pursuant to Section

10(f) of the Act (29 U.S.C. Section 160(f)) and Section 10 of the

Administrative Procedure Act (5 U.S.C. Sections 701-706)

where, as here, the “usual” (and only) statutory review scheme

has been made inoperative by conduct of anotner employer

party to the same representation proceedings?

(4) Whether access to judicial review of final agency action

under extraordinary circumstances not contemplated by Con-

gress or provided for under the statutory scheme of review can

be constitutionally proscribed where, as here, the conduct of

another employer party to the same representation proceedings

(i) denies petitioner its status as an “employer” under Section

vay yo

2(2) of the National Labor Relations Act (29 U.S.C. Section

152(2)) and (ii) results in a bargaining unit determined solely

upon decision of the “employer” issue, contrary to the provisions

of Section 9(b) of the Act (29 U.S.C. Section 159(b))?

STATUTES INVOLVED

The relevant provisions of the National Labor Relations Act,

as amended, 61 Stat. 136, 73 Stat. 519, 29 U.S.C. Sections 151,

et seq., are set forth at Appendix A-92.

The relevant provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act,

80 Stat. 392, 5 U.S.C. Sections 701 et seq., are set forth at

Appendix A-97.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case originated from a representation proceeding con-

ducted by the National Labor Relations Board (herein “Board”)

upon a petition filed by Hotel, Motel, Restaurant Employees

and Bartenders’ Local 12 of the Hotel and Restaurant Employ-

ees and Bartenders’ International Union, AFL-CIO (herein

“Local 12”) under Section 9(c) of the National Labor Relations

Act (29 U.S.C. Section 159(c)). Although Local 12’s petition

named only Cincinnati S. I. Company, a limited partnership

d/b/a Stouffer’s Cincinnati Inn (herein “CSI”) as the “em-

ployer” of the less than hotelwide unit of “accommodations

employees” sought at Stouffer's Cincinnati Inn, The Stouffer

Corporation (herein “Stouffer Corporation”) requested and was

accorded leave to intervene and participate as a party to the

representation proceeding. In that proceeding, both the Stouffer

Corporation and CSI maintained and introduced evidence to

show (i) that Stouffer Corporation and CSI are joint employers

(within the meaning of Section 2(2) of the Act) of all employees

— ve

at Stouffer's Cincinnati Inn and (ii) that a less than hotelwide

unit of employees working in “accommodations classifications”

and excluding “food and beverage” classification employees is

inappropriate under Section 9(b) of the Act in a highly inte-

grated convention hotel like Stouffer's Cincinnati Inn. Upon

transfer of the representation proceeding to the Board for deci-

sion and following the submission of briefs by all parties includ-

ing the Stouffer Corporation, the Board issued its Decision and

Direction of Election on September 8, 1976 (Appendix A-1).

The Board's September 8, 1976 order, for which Stouffer

Corporation sought review in the Court of Appeals, determined

(i) that Stouffer Corporation and CSI are not joint employers

of the employees at Stouffer's Cincinnati Inn and, particularly,

that only CSI is the “employer” of the “accommodations classi-

fication” employees sought by Local 12 (Appendix A-9) and

(ii) that a less than hotelwide unit limited to the employees of

CSI and excluding the “food and beverage” classification em-

ployees found to be the “employees” of Stouffer Corporation

only is appropriate under Section 9(b) of the Act (Appendix

A-16). The Board’s determination that a less than hotelwide

unit is appropriate at Stouffer's Cincinnati Inn rested solely

upon the finding that Stouffer Corporation and CSI are not

“joint employers” under the operating agreement and methods

extant at Stouffer's Cincinnati Inn between the two business

entities (Appendix A-16).

In accord with the Board's order of September 8, an election

was conducted among “accommodations classification” em-

ployees at Stouffer’s Cincinnati Inn on October 8, 1976 and

Local 12 received a majority of the votes. On October 18,

the Board certified the election results and the status of Local

12 as collective bargaining representative of “accommoda-

tions classification” employees. On November 22, 1976 and

following a number of conferences in which Stouffer Corpora-

tion expressed its disagreement with the Board's findings and

_—

urged CSI to seek judicial review of those findings by the “tra-

ditional” refusal-to-bargain statutory scheme for review of bar-

gaining unit determinations (Sections 9(d), 10(e) or 10(f) of the

Act) then available only to CSI as a result of the Board's “em-

ployer” determination, Stouffer Corporation informed Local 12

and CSI of its intention to seek judicial review of the Board’s

determinations adverse to Stouffer Corporation (Appendix A-18,

A-20). On November 29, CSI rejected Stouffer Corporation's

request to suspend bargaining pending review (Appendix A-22);

no response was ever received from Local 12.

CSI, as “the employer” by operation of the Board's Septem-

ber 8 order, was the only employer party to the representation

proceeding in a position to make use of the statutory method for

judicial review of that order—e.g., “technical” refusal to bar-

gain under Section 8(a)(5) of the Act (29 U.S.C. Section 158

(a)(5)) to obtain a bargaining order subject to judicial review in

enforcement proceedings under Section 10(e) (29 U.S.C. Section

160(e)) or review proceedings under Section 10(f) (29 U.S.C.

Section 160(f)) which proceedings, by operation of Section

9(d) (29 U.S.C. Section 159(d)), then make the Board's cer-

tification proceedings reviewable. With the “traditional” method

of statutory review thus barred by CSI, the Stouffer Corpora-

tion—as a party to the representation proceedings before the

Board—docketed its petition for review with the Court of Ap-

peals on February 14, 1977 (Appendix A-24). That petition

sought, and seeks, judicial review of the Board's finial determina-

tions adverse to the Stouffer Corporation (i) that Stouffer Cor-

poration is not the joint employer along with CSI of all em-

ployees at Stouffer's Cincinnati Inn, including those doing “ac-

commodations work” and (ii) that a less than hotelwide unit

limited to “accommodations classification” employees and ex-

cluding “food and beverage classification” employees is appro-

priate at a highly integrated convention hotel.

On March 2, 1977, Local 12 filed its motion for leave to

intervene in the review proceedings and was granted intervenor

— oo

status (Appendix A-27). On April 11, no response having been

filed by the Board to the Stouffer Corporation's petition for re-

view, a motion for entry of default judgment was filed (Ap-

pendix A-30); by order entered and filed April 29, 1977 (Ap-

pendix A-32), the Court of Appeals denied the motion for de-

fault and directed the Board to file the certified list within 14

calendar days. Under date of April 29, the Board filed its mo-

tion to dismiss the petition for review (Appendix A-34) contend-

ing, among other things, that only CSI and not the Stouffer

Corporation was a party to the representation proceeding be-

fore the Board and therefore the Stouffer Corporation had no

“standing” to seek review of determinations adverse to it (Ap-

pendix A-35). On May 17, 1977 the Board filed its certified list

and all parties were directed to file briefs (Appendix A-41) with

the date for the filing of the appendix and Stouffer Corporation's

opening brief as petitioner eventually being set by the Court of

Appeals for July 26, 1977 as a result of the grants of requests

for extensions of time by the Stouffer Corporation, intervenor

Local 12 and the Board (Appendix A-77).

On May 24, 1977, the Stouffer Corporation filed its opposi-

tion to the Board's motion to dismiss (Appendix A-46) demon-

strating, by attachment of copies of the official report of the

representation proceedings before the Board (Appendix A-56),

that the Stouffer Corporation in fact was an employer party to

those proceedings. On June 2 and June 3 respectively, the

Board (Appendix A-61) and intervenor Local 12 (Appendix

A-65) responded to the Stouffer Corporation's opposition to dis-

missal of its petition for review. With the exception of simplistic,

and incorrect, assertions that the Stouffer Corporation was not

an employer party to the representation proceeding (Appendix

A-63) and that the only review method available with respect

to certification proceedings under Section 9 of the Act (29

U.S.C. Section 159) is the “traditional” refusal-to-bargain

method available to CSI only (Appendix A-62), the Board

neither in its motion nor in its response to the Stouffer Cor-

—

poration’s opposition addressed the extraordinary circumstances

present in this case or the jurisdictional bases for review upon

which the petition for review is based. Although intervenor

Local 12 attempted to deal with the issues more squarely (Ap-

pendix A-68), there was no denial of the fact that the unusual

circumstances of this case had neither been contemplated by ‘

Congress nor determinatively dealt with in any decided case.

By order filed and entered July 15, 1977—after the Stouffer

Corporation had completed its brief on the merits for filing

with the Court of Appeals on July 26 in accord with its di-

rections (Appendix A-78)—the Court of Appeals dismissed the

petition for review finding “no reason” for departure from an

asserted “long-standing rule” that certification proceedings “can-

not be reviewed in a Court of Appeals” (Appendix A-80).

Neither that order nor the Court of Appeals’ order filed and

entered on August 24 (Appendix A-91) denying Stouffer Cor-

poration’s petition for rehearing en banc (Appendix A-82) ad-

dressed the issues arising out of the admitted facts that (i)

certification proceedings are reviewable in the appellate courts

by way of the “traditional” method of refusal-to-bargain and

Sections 9(d), 10(e) or 10(f) of the Act (29 U.S.C. Sections 159

(d), 160(e), 160(f)); (ii) the “traditional” method for reviewing

certification proceedings, solely as a result of the Board's find-

ing that CSI alone was “the employer” under Section 2(2) of

the Act (29 U.S.C. Section 152(2)) and the conduct of CSI

in bargaining with Local 12, is not available here to the Stouf-

fer Corporation; (iii) denial of review to the Stouffer Corpo-

ration, an employer party to the representation proceedings,

would make unreviewable final agency actions adverse to the

rights and interests of the Stouffer Corporation contrary to

the expressions of Congressional understanding and intention

evinced in Section 10 of the Administrative Procedure Act (5

U.S.C. Sections 701-706) that judicial review should be widely

available to challenge the actions of federal administrative of-

ficials; (iv) the “longstanding rule” against review has never

—

been applied under circumstances like those here to bar review

of adverse determinations made final against a party solely as

a result of the nature of the adverse order (e.g., denial of “em-

ployer” status under Section 2(2) of the Act); (v) failure to

accord review will render “unreviewable” all final orders of

the Board in representation proceedings on the important legal

issues of “single employer’) or “joint employer” status under

Section 2(2) of the Act (29 U.S.C. Section 152(2)) whenever,

as here, the Board’s order is adverse to the existence of such a

legal relationship and the employing entity found to be the only

“employer” (here CSI) accepts such determination as to it while

the other employing entity (here the. Stouffer Corporation) is

“aggrieved” by the decision with respect to its “employer”

status (e.g., Section 10(f) of the Act); and (vi) according “non-

reviewability” to final Board orders against the existence of

“single employer” or “joint employer” status under Section 2(2)

of the Act (29 U.S.C. Section 152(2)), in the extraordinary cir-

cumstances here, will to the same extent make “non-review-

able” Board unit determinations based solely on the “employer”

issue contrary to the mandate of Section 9(b) of the Act (29

U.S.C. Section 159(b)).

=

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Introductory

The ramifications of a definitive determination of the rights

to judicial review of an employer party to representation pro-

ceedings conducted by the National Labor Relations Board

under Section 9 of the Act where the “traditional” statutory

review method is rendered inoperable by reason of the nature

of the adverse final order of the Board are important, mani-

fold and undecided by this Court. Similarly undecided, and of

equal substantive impact not only to the formation of national

labor policy but also to the application of constitutional prin-

ciple where extraordinary circumstances combine to foreclose

the presumed availability of judicial review of final agency ac-

tion, is the extent to which Section 10 of the Administrative

Procedure Act provides a basis for federal judicial review of

agency action in combination with and as a supplement to a

statutory scheme of review (29 U.S.C. Sections 9(d), 10(e), 10

(f)) the intended operation of which has been frustrated by an

unanticipated “gap”.

The absence of any dispositive resolution of the review

rights of an employer party to representation proceedings barred

from the statutory avenue solely as a result of a decision ad-

verse to its status as an “employer” under Section 2(2) of the

Act and the need for this Court’s decisive instruction on that

important issue are made evident by the decision of the Court

of Appeals in this case. Thus, without consideration of the

extraordinary circumstances and statutorily unanticipated fore-

closure of review that occurred here, the Court of Appeals de-

nied the only review available on the basis of an asserted

“longstanding rule” derived from this Court’s 1940 decision in

American Federation of Labor v. National Labor Relations

Board, 308 U.S. 401 (Appendix A-80). Although the “rule”

cited by the Court of Appeals is “longstanding” it neither dealt

with the circumstances present here—where a party to the repre-

sentation proceedings, with respect to whom the statutory scheme

of review contemplated that judicial review would at some

point be available, is barred from the review provided by the

conduct of another party to the same proceeding in a way not

contemplated by the siaiutory scheme—nor operates to foreclose

the presumption of availability of judicial review, here under-

scored by the design of the statute itself. American Federation

of Labor, on the contrary, turned upon the congressional policy

against delay in representation proceedings where, as in that

case, an entity not a party to the representation proceedings

and not claiming the denial of any statutory right by direct oper-

ation of an adverse Board order sought judicial review of a

Board unit determination; not being within the ambit of those

for whom the statutory scheme was designed to make review

available at some point, this Court simply determined that the

statutory scheme manifested Congress’ intent to foreclose review

jurisdiction to the union seeking it. In the matter here, the

Opposite is the case—the statutory scheme evidences Congress’

intent to make review available to an employer party but the

scheme has been frustrated by an unanticipated “gap” in its

operation.

Similarly undecided and requiring this Court's dispositive in-

struction is the extent to which Section 10 of the Administra-

tive Procedure Act (5 U.S.C. Sections 701-706) remains avail-

able to fulfill Congress’ intention and understanding that judicial

review should be widely available with respect to final and

adverse agency decisions where the statutory review method,

by extraordinary circumstances and an unanticipated “gap”, can-

not fulfill its intended purpose of assuring judicial review. Al-

though this Court's decision in Califano v. Sanders, — U.S. —,

51 L.Ed.2d 192 (1977) determined that the statutory scheme

there considered, viewed against the 1976 congressional re-

structuring of the scope of federal-question jurisdiction in the

=

federal district courts, demanded the conclusion that the APA

does not provide an “implied grant” of subject-matter jurisdic-

tion for review in the district courts of agency action (Id. at 51

L.Ed.2d 200-201), that determination is not dispositive of

and in fact particularly left open the “review” issues here. First,

the “assurance of review availability” purpose and effect of the

1976 expansion of federal-question jurisdiction in the district

courts are of no significance with respect to the constitutional

question of the availability of judicial review in the appellate

courts concerning matters ordinarily reviewable in such courts

only. Secondly, this Court’s decision in Califano did not decide

the APA issue presented here—e.g., whether Section 10 (5

U.S.C. Sections 701-706) and the congressional purpose under-

lying it can be read, in conjunction with a statutory scheme

of review, not to “imply” or “create” but to make operative a

statutory system of review made inoperable because of an un-

anticipated “gap” in a system clearly directed to assure review

rights. Third, this Court's decision in Califano, in distinguishing

those situations like the case here where constitutional claims

flowing from the denial of statutory rights (e.g., “employer”

status under 29 U.S.C. Section 152(2)) are presented, reinforces

the presumption of the availability of judicial review applicable

to this case where no other recourse from final agency action

exists (Id. at 51 L.Ed.2d 201-202). Cf., Abbott Laboratories

v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136, 140 (1967); Deering Milliken v.

Johnston, 295 F.2d 856, 859 (4th Cir. 1961).

Dispositive determination of the undecided “review” issues

presented in this case is of particular importance when viewed

against this Court's decision in Prairie Construction Co. v. Op-

erating Engineers, 425 U.S. 800, 48 L.Ed.2d 382 (1976). Thus,

absent review availability in circumstances like the present case

where one employer party to a representation proceeding found

by the Board not to be a “joint” or “single” “employer” with

another business entity seeks to chalienge final orders of the

Board adverse to it on the “employer” and unit issues, the

—~ po

Board's resolution of the breadth or scope of an employer

entity or its Operation will be determinative of the unit scope

under Section 9(b) (29 U.S.C. Section 159(b)). Not only

is such a result contra this Court's determination that decision

of the “employer issue” is not dispositive of the appropriate unit

question (Id. at 425 U.S. 805, 48 L.Ed.2d 386-387) but, in

combination with the foreclosure of review improperly imposed

by the Court of Appeals, the result becomes unreviewable.

The summary set out here demonstrates that the problem of

clearly defining the review rights of an employer party to rep-

resentation proceedings conducted by the Board where the statu-

tory scheme of review is rendered inoperative solely as a result of

determinations adverse to the status of that employer as a

“party” is both a serious and recurring one, albeit the product of

an extraordinary set of circumstances not anticipated by Con-

gress. The absence of guidance from this Court with respect to

that problem, particularly in conjunction with the presumptive

availability of review of final agency action constitutionally man-

dated and often stressed by this Court, can only serve to pro-

mote expensive and time-consuming litigation as employer par-

ties to representation cases, unclear as to their rights upon denial

of their “employer” status in cases such as the present one, will

continue to seek judicial clarification with respect to the avenue

or avenues of judicial review available to them from final and

adverse Board orders.

Further, apart from the merits generally of resolution by this

Court of a problem which otherwise will inevitably give rise

to recurring disputes as adversely affected parties seek some

avenue of judicial review, certiorari is also sought because the

decision of the Court of Appeals is inconsistent with the dem-

onstrable intent of Congress in providing a statutory scheme for

the review of certification proceedings and conflicts with de-

cisions mistakenly cited by the Court of Appeals here in dis-

—"

missing the Petition for Review (Appendix A-81).' In addi-

tion, the decision of the Court of Appeals erroneously disre-

gards but, in effect, assumes as resolved the “review” issues not

disposed of by this Court's decisions in American Federation of

Labor v. National Labor Relations Board, supra, and Boire v.

Greyhound Corporation, 376 U.S. 473, 11 L.Ed.2d 849 (1964).

A. No “rule” of this Court denies review of final determi-

nations adverse to an employer party to representation pro-

ceedings.

In summarily dismissing the petition of the Stouffer Corpo-

ration for review of final agency orders adverse to its positions

in a representation proceeding to which it was party, the Court

of Appeals did not address the issues of the extent to which

an adversely affected party can obtain review where a statutory

scheme emphasizing the availability of review breaks down as

a result of circumstances unforeseen by Congress. Nor did the

Court of Appeals examine the correlative question of the ex-

tent to which Section 10 of the APA and the congressional ob-

jective of assuring judicial review of final agency action re-

quires the provision of judicial review availability in circum-

stances where the statutory scheme and its intent to provide

review are frustrated. On the contrary, the Court of Appeals

simply accepted as dispositive the so-called “longstanding” rule

against judicial review of certification proceedings urged upon

it by the Board (Appendix A-62) and intervenor Local 12

(Appendix A-67) without analysis or examination of the mean-

ing. application and underpinnings of that “rule” or the inap-

posite decisions cited in support of the rule’s “longstanding”.

Meaningful examination and analysis of the “rule” asserted

by the Court of Appeals as a bar to the review sought here

1 Eastern Greyhound Lines v. Fusco, 323 F.2d 477 (6th Cir.

1963): Timken-Detroit Axle Co. v. NLRB, 197 F.2d 512 (6th Cir.

1952).

eg —

—_ =

illustrates that, to the extent a “rule” exists, it is not applicable

and, on the contrary, its basis argues in favor of the review de-

nied by the Court of Appeals. In particular, this Court’s de-

cisions in American Federation of Labor v. National Labor Re-

lations Board, supra and more specifically in Boire v. Greyhound

Corporation, supra, demonstrate that the “rule” against non-

statutory review of Board certification proceedings is based

upon certain factors whose absence in this case not only make

the “rule” not applicable but require the review sought in the

Court of Appeals. First, in this Court's decisions as well as in

its earlier decisions cited by the Court of Appeals,? the entities

seeking review were either not parties to the underlying repre-

sentation proceedings or had available that review provided by

the “traditional method” of the statutory scheme of review. Thus,

in American Federation of Labor v. National Labor Relations

Board, supra and in Timken-Detroit Axle Co. v. NLRB,? neither

the union nor the employer entities respectively involved in those

cases were parties to the representation proceedings or, in the

“normal” operation of the statutory review procedures, would

have had any judicial review available under the “traditional

method” of Sections 9(d), 10(e) or 10(f) (29 U.S.C. Sections

159(d), 160(e) or 160(f)). In Boire v. Greyhound Corpora-

tion, supra and Eastern Greyhound Lines v. Fusco,* on the

other hand, the employers seeking review in those cases were

parties to the representation proceedings but sought review in

the federal district courts rather than availing themselves of the

Statutory scheme available to them through the “traditional

method.” Secondly, and the only rationale common to all these

cases in which non-statutory judicial review was denied, was the

fact that the provision of such review would work against the

2 Eastern Greyhound Lines v. Fusco, 323 F.2d 477 (6th Cir.

toate Timken-Detroit Axle Co. v. NLRB, 197 F.2d 512 (6th Cir.

l ).

* 197 F.2d 512 (6th Cir. 1952).

+ 323 F.2d 477 (6th Cir. 1963).

—_—

congressional policy expressed by Sections 9(d), 10(e) and

10(f) of assuring review in a manner that does not delay repre-

sentation proceedings. Third, in those cases in which an em-

ployer or union entity within the intended scope of the statutory

review scheme was involved (Boire v. Greyhound Corporation,

supra; Eastern Greyhound Lines v. Fusco, supra) no “rule” was

advanced that the adverse decisions were not subject to judicial

review but, on the contrary, that no reason existed for granting

an avenue of review in addition to the “traditional method”

available under the statute.

Thus, to the extent parties seeking review were not parties

to the underlying representation proceedings, the “rule” derived

from the decisions is simply that such parties have no “standing”

to seek judicial review from adverse Board orders not within the

scope of rights intended to be covered by the statutory scheme

of review. On the other hand, the “rule” derived from the de-

cisions dealing with parties to the underlying representation pro-

ceedings whose rights are within the intended scope of review

provided by the statutory scheme is simply that since that method

of judicial review is available, no reason consistent with the con-

gressional purpose of avoiding delay exists for departure from

the statutory scheme to “create” an additional method. Appli-

cation of these “rules” to the facts here, balanced against the

constitutionally mandated and congressionally expressed pre-

sumption of the availability of review, conclusively shows that

the Court of Appeals erroneously denied the petition for review

in that (i) the Stouffer Corporation was an employer party to

the underlying representation proceedings (ii) the statutory

rights of the Stouffer Corporation as an “employer” under Sec-

tion 2(2) of the Act and the unit contentions expressed by the

Stouffer Corporation with regard to the criteria deemed neces-

sary for determination under Section 9(b) of the Act were ad-

versely determined to the Stouffer Corporation by the Board

(iii) these adverse determinations of the Board, because of the

conduct of another employer party to the representation proceed-

ings, became final as to the Stouffer Corporation (iv) such final

—_

and adverse Board orders and the rights of the Stouffer Corpora-

tion denied by them are within the intended scope of rights as-

sured judicial review by the statutory scheme of the Act (v) as a

result of conduct of another employer party to the same repre-

sentation proceedings whose status as the only “employer” re-

sulted from the Board’s determinations adverse to the Stouffer

Corporation, the assurance of review for which the statutory

scheme was designed became unavailable in a manner neither

contemplated by the statutory scheme nor by Congress in enact-

ing it and (vi) no other recourse from the final agency action

of the Board adverse to the Stouffer Corporation exists other

than that sought in the Court of Appeals. These specific facts

and circumstances, therefore, present the obverse of the facts

and circumstances considered by this Court in Boire v. Grey-

hound Corporation, supra where the order for which district

court review was sought determined that the employer entities

party to the review proceeding constituted a “single” or “joint

employer” so that either employer party had available to it the

usual method of judicial review available under the statutory

scheme—that method being available, this Court saw no reason

to depart from it by allowing the additional review avenue of

proceeding in the district court. Here, on the contrary, the

Board's order for which review is sought in the Court of Appeals

determined that the Stouffer Corporation and CSI did not consti-

tute a “single” or “joint” employer thus giving to CSI only the

review method available under the statutory scheme and denying

the availability of that review avenue to the Stouffer Corporation.

Departure from the statutory method of review, accordingly, is

not sought by the Stouffer Corporation—that avenue being un-

available solely by operation of the Board's final and adverse

order, the judicial review intended by Congress to be available

to parties like the Stouffer Corporation is sought on the bases

set out in the petition for review filed with the Court of Appeals.

Under the circumstances present here, review must be afforded

upon such bases consistent with congressional purpose and con-

stitutional principle.

—=

B. “Parties” cannot be denied review when aggrieved by

final board orders denying substantive statutory rights.

The critical issues of law and policy involved in this case were

not considered by the Court of Appeals. Those issues must

be addressed and resolved by this Court. In that respect,

analysis shows that the factor critical to reviewability of adverse

agency orders—“finality’—is present under the extraordinary

circumstances here.

A “final agency order” is one which denies a right, establishes

or affects a legal relationship or imposes an obligation. Cities

Service Gas Company v. Federal Power Commission, 255 F.2d

860 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 385 U.S. 837 (1958). “Finality,”

and thus reviewability, must be evaluated through a “realistic

appraisal” of the consequences of agency action. _/sbrandtsen

Company vy. U.S., 211 F.2d 51 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 347

U.S. 990 (1954). These criteria, when meaningfully considered

and applied to the facts of this case, demonstrate the requisite

“finality” of the Board's adverse orders with respect to the

Stouffer Corporation and illustrate that non-statutory review

is the only proper judicial response to the unique, extraordinary

and extreme circumstances of this case.

The essential facts to be considered are that by direct operation

of the Board’s adverse orders, denying “employer” status, the

Stouffer Corporation has been denied all rights to effectively set

standards for and directly affect the employment conditions of

employees it maintains are its employees. In this respect as well

as by reason of the Board’s unit determination based only upon

denial of its “employer rights”, the Stouffer Corporation—as

a “party” to the representation proceeding—is “aggrieved”®

* Section 10(f) of the Act (Appendix A-97) provides, in pertinent

par*, that “any person (‘employer’) aggrieved by a final order of the

Board . . . may obtain a review of such order in any circuit court

of appeals . . .”

—

and, because of the unavailability of the “traditional” means of

review, faced with “agency finality” absent the review sought in

the Court of Appeals. Further, the Stouffer Corporation's legal

relationships with CSI have been prejudicially altered vis-a-vis

its now diminished and perhaps non-existent ability to affect

terms and conditions of employment of persons found by the

Board to be employees of CSI alone. A “realistic appraisal”® of

these facts, in the context of the unanticipated foreclosure of the

“traditional” statutory scheme of review that occurred here

solely by reason of the nature of the Board’s order, conclusively

establishes the finality of the adverse orders for which review was

sought in the Court of Appeals.

The Board's adverse orders, “finally” denying the statutory

rights of the Stouffer Corporation, are distinguishable from the

“usual” situations erroneously relied upon by the Court of Ap-

peals in which Board determinations have been deemed to lack

“finality” because a party failed to, or chose not to, avail itself

of the “traditional” method of review. The exceptional and ex-

treme circumstances of this case, involving final orders which

deny the substantive rights of a party to Board proceedings and

an unforeseen foreclosure of the method of review provided by

Congress, present a situation neither contemplated nor intended

by Congress nor previously dealt with by the courts. Accord-

ingly, the petition for review here must be evaluated on its own

merits, in conjunction with congressional purpose and constitu-

tional principle.

The statutory scheme of review (29 U.S.C. §§ 159(d), 10(e),

10(f)) evidences a clear-cut congressional purpose to assure ju-

dicial review to parties adversely affected by Board certification

proceeding orders, once “final”. Insofar as extant precedent

(discussed and analyzed at Part A, supra) has denied non-statu-

tory judicial review, such denial—in the case of “parties” to

8 Annot., 47 L.Ed.2d 843, 851-852 (1976).

— pa

representation proceedings—has been grounded upon considera-

tions consistent with the statutory scheme and the congressional

purpose underlying it. Thus, provision of an avenue of judicial

review to adversely affected parties has been withheld where the

availability of statutory review through the “traditional” refusal

to bargain method exists and allowance of an additional or al-

ternative review medium would cause the kind of “delay” of

Board certification orders that the statutory scheme is designed

to preclude. Boire v. Greyhound Corporation, supra; Bays v.

Miller, 524 F.2d 631 (9th Cir. 1975); S. Rep. No. 573, 74th

Cong., Ist Sess. 14; H. Rep. No. 972, 74th Cong., Ist Sess. 20.

Neither the policy considerations against delay nor any as-

sumption that “traditional” review will be available at some

point are present here. “Traditional” review is admittedly not

possible because of the effect of the Board's orders denying the

Stouffer Corporation “employer” status and “delay” cannot re-

sult from the review sought in this case.’ On the contrary, non-

statutory review is not only consistent with but effectuates the

clear intent of Congress to provide an accessible means of review

to aggrieved parties when “finality” of agency action is con-

clusively established, as it is here. Further, provision of such

review is constitutionally mandated where, as here, non-statu-

tory review is the only recourse for challenge of adverse and

final agency action.

* Squillacote v. Teamsters Local 344, — F.2d —, 95 LRRM

2977 (7th Cir. 1977), among other such decisions, squarely recog-

nizes that the “presumptive” availability of review at some point is a

major premise of Section 10 of the Act (29 U.S.C. Sections 160(e),

160(f)) and that any “rule” against departure from that scheme of

review is grounded only upon preventing “litigious interruptions” of

Board processes (Id. at 2982-2983). ere the statutory scheme

does not work to protect the review rights of parties intended to be

assured review and “delaying interruption” is not a consequence, the

question of availability of non-statutory review requires other con-

siderations.

_—

C. Review of final board orders, adverse to an employer

party to representation proceedings, is consistent with the statu-

tory scheme and constitutionally mandated.

Critical statutory and constitutional questions concerning the

requirement that judicial review be available at some point under

the unique and extraordinary circumstances of this case should

have been, but were not, considered by the Court of Appeals.

That the Stouffer Corporation, solely as a result of the Board’s

adverse “employer” decision, had no other judicial or adminis-

trative remedy available to it other than review by the Court of

Appeals was not questioned. Nor was there any argument that

the only policy reasons for precluding non-statutory review—

“delay” or “circumvention” of the “usual method”—applied to

the facts here. Considered in conjunction with the “final” and

adverse dispositions made of the Stouffer Corporation's statutory

rights and the unavailability of “traditional” review under unique

circumstances neither intended nor contemplated by Congress,

significant and unusual questions of that assurance of review de-

manded by Section 10 of the APA (5 U.S.C. Sections 701-706)

in supplementation of and within the interstitial “gaps” of statutes

designed to assure review as well as the due process rights to

review foreclosed by unanticipated circumstances demanded and

now demand consideration and resolution. Califano v. Sanders,

— U.S. —, 51 L.Ed.2d 192, 199 (1977); Abbott Laboratories

v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136, 140 (1967); Retail Store Employees

Union, Local 954 v. Rothman, 298 F.2d 300 (D.C. Cir. 1962);

Deering Milliken v. Johnston, supra at 859. Consideration and

meaningful determination of these questions, where as here it

is clear that judicial review has not been intentionally “withheld”

by Congress under extreme and unforeseen circumstances ad-

versely affecting and divesting a party of statutory rights to

which it claims entitlement, shows that review cannot be con-

stitutionally denied in this case. Templeton v. Dixie Color Print-

ing Co., 444 F.2d 1064 (Sth Cir. 1971).

=

In the unique circumstances present here and in light of an

express statutory recognition that judicial review should be

available to “parties” (e.g.. 29 U.S.C. Section 159(d), 160(e),

160(f)), review must be afforded within the purposes expressed

by the statutory scheme balanced against the congressional

intent expressed in Section 10 of the APA where “clear and

convincing” evidence that Congress sought to assure review is

shown. Citizens to Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe, 401 U.S.

402, 410 (1971); Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner, supra. The

established “finality” of the Board's orders here with respect

to the Stouffer Corporation's asserted rights underscores and

strengthens its rights of reviewability and the importance of

the statutory and constitutional principles which were not con-

sidered or applied by the Court of Appeals.

The statutory and constitutional assurances of the rights of

“aggrieved” parties to seek review from “final” and adverse

agency actions, under the kind of extreme and unforeseen

circumstances present in this case, demonstrate that denial of

review will not be tolerated where it results in the abrogation of

rights conferred by Congress. This is particularly the case

where, as here. no “policy” reasons for withholding review

exist. E.g., Citizens to Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe, supra;

Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner, supra, U. S. v. Storer Broad-

casting, 351 U.S. 192 (1956); Bethesda-Chevy Chase Broad-

casters v. FCC, 385 F.2d 967, 968 (D.C. Cir. 1967); Js-

brandtsen Co. v. U. S., 211 F.2d 51, 55 (D.C. Cir.), cert.

denied, 347 U.S. 990 (1954). Substantive “review” rights

cannot properly be disposed of by easy reference to an asserted

“longstanding rule”. Those rights and the principles which

support them were neither considered nor applied by the Court

of Appeals. Consideration and application of those essential

factors, under the circumstances present here, demonstrates that

review is not only statutorily but constitutionally demanded

here

—23—

D. The decision of the Court of Appeals is in conflict with

principles of review confirmed by this Court and determines

the extent to which review should be available under circum-

stances that should be decided by this Court.

The statutory scheme of the National Labor Relations Act

with respect to certification or representation proceedings (29

U.S.C. Sections 159(d), 160(e), 160(f)) is designed to assure

to “parties” judicial review of final and adverse Board orders

through a method that is counter-balanced against that “de-

lay” to certification proceedings which Congress found objec-

tionable. In providing this scheme of review, consistent with

the objective of expediting certification proceedings, Congress

gave effect to its intent to assure review jurisdiction to “ag-

grieved” persons consistent with the same expression of its

intention that judicial review should be widely available ex-

pressed in Section 10 of the APA. Although the statutory

scheme of review provided in the National Labor Relations

Act has been rendered unworkable under the unique circum-

stances of this extraordinary case, that unanticipated and un-

foreseen flaw in the NLRA's scheme of review cannot be

deemed to carry with it a corresponding defect in the jurisdic-

tional supports to administrative review provided by the APA.

The decision of the Court of Appeals, however, produces just

such an illogical and improper result, contrary to this Court's

continuing insistence that statutory schemes of review should

not be read to foreclose judicial review of final agency action

absent “clear and convincing” evidence of Congress’ intent to

do so. Califano v. Sanders, — US. —, 51 L.Ed.2d 192

(1977); Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319. 47 L.Ed.2d 18

1976); Weinberger v. Salfi, 422 U.S. 749, 45 L.Ed.2d 522

(1975); Cf., Califano v. Goldfarb, — U.S. —, 51 L.Ed.2d

270 at 274, footnote 3 (1977).

To the extent existence of a congressional intent is made evi-

dent by the statutory scheme for review of the National Labor

_~_

Relations Act, that intent “clearly” and “convincingly” mani-

fests a purpose to assure judicial review to parties aggrieved by

final agency action. Where, as here, that intent and purpose

can be given effect consistent with avoidance of any “delay” to

Board certification proceedings, due process and constitutional

demands that review be available require that review be pro-

vided. Unlike the situation in Califano v. Sanders, supra where

the party seeking non-statutory review had available to it the

statutory scheme of review there dealt with and unlike the situa-

tion in Boire v. Greyhound Corporation, supra where the party

there involved sought a method of review departing from the

statutory scheme available to it, there is no question that the

only avenue of review available to the Stouffer Corporation—as

a party aggrieved by decisions of the Board in representation pro-

ceedings—is the avenue sought in the Court of Appeals and

erroneously denied to the Stouffer Corporation. Such denial,

premised solely upon an asserted “longstanding” rule of this

Court derived from the inapposite decision in American Federa-

tion of Labor v. National Labor Relations Board, supra, disre-

gards the decisions of this Court as well as the decisions of other

courts of appeal* emphasizing the constitutional requirement that

review not be foreclosed where not otherwise available under the

Statutory scheme.

Further, the denial of review by the Court of Appeals, in im-

properly extending the asserted “longstanding” rule of this

Court's decision thirty-seven years ago in American Federation

of Labor v. National Labor Relations Board, supra to a matter

involving a party to representation proceedings barred solely

as a result of the adverse decisions made from availing itself of

the statutory scheme designed to provide it with review rights,

attempts to determine statutory and constitutional issues of the

extent to which review should be made available under cir-

cumstances specifically left unanswered by this Court in Boire

‘ Squillacote v. Teamsters, Local 344, — F.2d —, 9 LRRM

2977 at 2982-2983.

—

v. Greyhound Corporation, supra and Califano v. Sanders,

supra. Boire v. Greyhound Corporation, supra and Califano vy.

Sanders, supra read in conjunction with one another and juxta-

posed against this Court's repeated insistence upon the provision

of judicial review consistent with the presumption that judicial

review must be available to challenge the actions of federal ad-

ministrative officials, demand the review that was sought by the

Stouffer Corporation in the Court of Appeals.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, it is respectfully urged that this

petition for writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

GERALD TOCKMAN

706 Chestnut, Suite 1010

St. Louis, Missouri 63101

Attorney for Petitioner The Stouffer Corpo-

ration d/b/a Stouffer's Cincinnati Inn

APPENDIX

=

JPw

D—1593

Cincinnati, Ohio

225 NLRB No. 170

United States of America

Before the National Labor Relations Board

Cincinnati S.I. Company, a Limited )

Partnership d/b/a Stouffer’s Cincin-

nati Inn

Employer

and

> Case 9-RC-11305

Hotel, Motel, Restaurant Employees

and Bartenders’ Local 12 of the

Hotel and Restaurant Employees

and Bartenders’ International Un-

ion, AFL-CIO

Petitioner “

DECISION AND DIRECTION OF ELECTION

Upon a petition duly filed under Section 9(c) of the National

Labor Relations Act, as amended, a hearing was held before

Hearing Officer Felix C. Wade. Following the hearing and

pursuant to Section 102.67 of the National Labor Relations

Board Rules and Regulations and Statements of Procedure,

Series 8, as amended, this case was transferred to the National

Labor Relations Board for decision.

Pursuant to the provisions of Section 3(b) of the National

Labor Relations Act, as amended, the National Labor Relations

Board has delegated its authority in this proceeding to a three-

member panel.

— A-2 —

The Board has reviewed the Hearing Officer's rulings made at

the hearing and finds that they are free from prejudicial error.

They are hereby affirmed.

Upon the entire record in this case, the National Labor Re-

lations Board finds:

1. The parties stipulated and we find that Cincinnati SI.

Company, a limited partnership d/b/a Stouffer's Cincinnati

Inn, hereafter CSI, is a limited partnership, existing under the

laws of the State of Ohio, engaged in the operations of a hotel

facility in Cincinnati, Ohio. During the past 12 months, a

representative period, the Employer had gross sales in excess of

$500,000, and purchased goods valued in excess of $50,000,

from firms located outside the State of Ohio and caused such

goods to be shipped directly from locations outside the State

of Ohio to its facilities in Cincinnati, Ohio. In view of the fore-

going, we find that the Employer is engaged in commerce within

the meaning of the Act.

2. The labor organization involved claims to represent certain

employees of the Employer.

3. A question affecting commerce exists concerning certain

employees of the Employer.’

1 The Employer moved to dismiss the petition as untimely be-

cause of the allegedly expanding nature of the um. At the time the

hearing closed on March 25, 1976, there were 96 employees in

various classifications. The Employer is building a 33-story struc-

ture, attached to the present facilities, which will add 438 more

rooms, but no new job classifications. The anticipated date of com-

pletion is August 1, 1977. Those presently employed constitute 45

percent of the anticipated expanded 210 employee complement, and

they are performing in 100 percent of the projected job classifica-

tions. In these circumstances, we are satisfied that the present em-

ployee complement constitutes a substantial and representative

segment of the ultimate projected complement of employees. Ac-

cordingly, we conclude that the petition herein was not prematurely

filed, and the motion to dismiss the petition is hereby denied.

—_.

4. The Petitioner seeks to represent a unit including all setup

employees, doormen, bellmen, garage employees, parking

attendants maids, housemen, laundry employees, linen room

employees, elevator operators, seamstresses, maintenance emplc +

ees, and painters, but excluding office clerical employees, book-

keepers, desk clerks, PBX operator, reservationists, night audi-

tor, property auditor, accounts receivable clerks, health club

employees, lifeguards, confidential employees, sales employees,

security personnel, professional employees, and supervisors? as

defined in the Act. The Petitioner seeks a less than hotelwide

unit in that it would exclude the employees of Stouffer Corpora-

tion,*® hereafter called Stouffer, who work in the restaurant,

cocktail lounges, and banquet rooms.* The Employer con-

tends that CSI and Stouffer are joint employers, and that only an

overall unit including all these employees sought by Petitioner

plus the employees of Stouffer is appropriate.

There are two separate entities operating at Stouffer's Cincin-

nati Inn. One is CSI which operates the accommodations por-

tion of the motel, and the other is the Stouffer Corporation which

2 The parties stipulated, the record shows, and we find that the

teaten persons are supervisors: Barry Cholak, general manager:

Ed Nicholas, assistant manager; Earl Hatt, resident manager, Walter

Moore, garage manager; Herbert Brockschmidt, set-up manager;

Paul Craig, bell captain; Thelma Rupp, executive housekeeper;

James Smart, director of sales; George Nagengast, district mainte-

nance supervisor; and Ruben Grant, maintenance supervisor.

* The parties stipulated, the records shows, and we find that

Stouffer Corporation is an Ohio Corporation engaged in the hotel

and food business in several States. At its Cincinnati, Ohio, facility

during the past twelve months it had gross sales in excess of $500,000

and purchased goods valued in excess of $50,000 from firms located

outside the State of Ohio and caused them to be shipped directly to

its facility within the State of Ohio.

4 These empioyees are classified as: waiters’ waitresses, cooks and

pantry employees, bus help, food and beverage cashiers, hostesses,

bartenders, utility employees, receiving employees, and banquet

employees.

operates the restaurant, cocktail lounges, and banquet facilities.

CSI owns the building in which these functions are performed

and at which it operates a 462-room motel in Cincinnati, Ohio,

known as Stouffer’s Cincinnati Inn. CSI operates the motel

under a license agreement with Stouffer Foods Corporation of

Cleveland, Ohio, and the latter holds a lease agreement under

which it conducts the food and beverage operations of the

motel. Neither of these concerns has an interest in the other,

nor do persons in one hold an office in the other.> The license

agreement grants CSI the right to use the trade name “Stouffer’s”

for its motel. CSI in turn pays Stouffer a license fee equal to 5

percent of its gross room rental and agrees to adhere to “stand-

ards of quality for motel hotel operation” described in the li-

censes. The standards are predominantly physical standards

dealing primarily with the physical appearance of the property

and the manner in which it must be equipped and maintained.

The license contains a list of services which CSI must provide

for its guests. Insofar as is relevant herein, the license agreement

provides that CSI will not compete with Stouffer, will not ad-

vertise except in an acceptable manner, and will not sell or lease

the Stouffer name. The penalty for a breach of the license is

revocation. There is nothing in the license agreement which per-

tains to wages or fringe benefits for CSI’s employees. While

Stouffer provides CSI information on area wage rates, Stouffer

does not participate in the determination as to what the wage rate

shall be nor does it overrule CSI’s wage determinations. It is

significant that Stouffer’s quarterly inspection is aimed primarily

at the physical aspects of the facilities and is only incidentally

* AIRCOA, a management company, is retained by CSI to assist

it in m ing the accommodations portions of the motel for which

services CSI pays a fee. Stouffer does not retain AIRCOA in any

capacity, nor do any principals of either serve as officers of the other

and neither has an interest in the other. AIRCOA is owned by the

partners of CSI and performs management services for other motel/

hotel operations, located in various cities, which are owned by the

partners.

~~ wae

concerned with CSI’s employees. In fact, Cholak, CSI’s gen-

eral manager, testified this was “basically a physical inspection.

As you can see, there is very little in it that dealt with personnel.”

Cholak further commented on the items inspected saying: “the

inspector is more concerned about the physical compliance than

anything else, yes. He would not get into personnel training

or other items, you know, wage scales or anything else.”

Of ‘urther relevance herein are two aspects of the license

agreement, one of which provides that CSI “will not employ nor

seek to employ any person who is at the time employed by .. .

[Stouffer] and will not directly or indirectly induce any such

person to leave his or her employment.” This precludes transfer

or interchange of employees. Secondly, the agreement spe-

cifically negates any intention by the following language: “The

Company [Stouffer] and Licensee [CSI] are not and shall

not be considered as joint venturers, partners or agents of each

other, and neither shall have the power to bind or obligate the

other except as set forth in this agreement.” S

Stouffer leases from CSI certain areas of the motel for the sale

of food and beverages. Thus, on the first floor Stouffer has the

restaurant, cocktail lounge, kitchen storage, restaurant manager's

office, and three small offices for bookkeeping, personnel, and

assistant managers; in the basement near the elevator Stouffer

has a receiving area; and on the second floor, Stouffer has a

banquet kitchen, storage areas, and cocktail lounge. The rental

for these facilities is based on a percentage of the food and

beverage sales made by Stouffer. While Stouffer and CSI em-

ployees may, in isolated situations, be near one another, they do

not work with each other in the performance of their duties.

Stouffer maintains the restaurant and cocktail lounge at its own

expense. This includes plumbing, commercial refrigeration sys-

tems, kitchen exhaust systems, and other equipment situated in

the areas leased by Stouffer. Stouffer pays all expenses con-

nected with the conduct of its operations, such as taxes and in-

—_ =

surance. CSI agrees not to lease or use any other space in the

building for restaurant purposes and grants to Stouffer the sole

right to provide food and beverages in the building.

The record shows, and we find, that Cholak, CSI’s general

manager, is the overall supervisor of CSI’s employees and sets

the wage and fringe benefits of all CSI’s employees. He also

handles their grievances. He is responsible only to the partners

of CSI. Although as testified by Sparling, the labor relations

director for Stouffer, Stouffer makes a report to Cholak con-

cerning wages and fringe benefits, based on area surveys Stouf-

fer has conducted, Sparling further stated it is within Cholak’s

sole discretion to determine its applicability.

While the license provisions set forth standards dealing with

management and employee personnel, such standards are

couched in general language and are at best broad guidelines

which impose no significant personnel requirements on CSI.

Thus, the license significantly does not reserve in Stouffer the

right to determine wages, hours, or other conditions of employ-

ment, nor is there any evidence that Stouffer has the right to hire,

fire, or discipline CSI employees. Insofar as Stouffer employ-

ees are concerned, Sherwood, the restaurant manager, determines

their labor relations matters, including the setting of wages

and handling of grievances. Both CSI and Stouffer prepare

their own payroll, do their own bookkeeping, and have separate

immediate and overall supervision. Each firm also has sep-

arate wage scales, and health, hospitalization, and life insur-

ance. While Stouffer has a pension plan for its employees, CSI

has none. Moreover, contact between employees of CSI and

Stouffer is minimal. The greatest amount of contact are in-

stances where CSI banquet setup employees work in preparing

for Stouffer banquet functions. In this regard they set up tables,

chairs, and other necessary equipment for banquet functions and

remove them at the end of each function. However, these CSI

employees perform their function separately and do not work

—*

“with” Stouffer employees." For this service, CSI receives from

Stouffer 50 cents per meal for those dining in the banquet room.

There is also some contact between the maintenance employees

who are employed by CSI and the Stouffer employees inasmuch

as minor maintenance is performed in the food and beverage

areas by the maintenance staff. Similarly, the elevator operator

not only services the housekeeping department employees but

also provides elevator service for the room service waiters. The

Stouffer and CSI employees have separate lunchrooms, locker

rooms, and restrooms, and only CSI employees punch the time-

clock on the third floor. No Stouffer personnel attend CSI

department meetings. CSI and Stouffer both have their own

employee pamphlets setting forth benefits, general rules and

regulations, and location of services. In addition, the working

hours of CSI employees differ substantially from those of the

Stouffer employees.

Stouffer and CSI each pays one-half of the salaries of the em-

ployees in the sales and catering departments, and of the per-

sonnel coordinator.‘ The firms also share in the expense of

these operations. Stouffer carries a share of the salaries of

CSI’s district maintenance supervisor and of CSI’s service ele-

vator operator. CSI and Stouffer also have joint marketing

and advertising activities. They share in the use of such serv-

ices as window washing, pest control, and internal security, with

each paying its fair share of the cost.

6 The CSI banquet setup employees and bellman will also on

occasion work for Stouffer as waiters and in other capacities in the

banquet room and will be paid by Stouffer for such service. These

appear to be the only instances of interchange of employees.

* The sales department employees are concerned with attracting

business to the motel. The catering department is concerned with

coordinating room reservations and functions for groups once they

are booked into the motel. The personnel coordinater conducts the

initial employment interview with nonmanagement applicants for

both CSI and Stouffer and maintains certain employment records

for both. However, the final determination on hiring is done by Stouf-

fer or CSI personnel for their respective employees.

—

There is little contact between employees working in the food

and beverage operations and the remainder of the hotel em-

ployees, particularly those in the unit sought by Petitioner. It

is true that all employees involved herein are hourly paid and

have some of the same benefits, but it is also true that each of

these benefits is controlled by the respective Employers of the

employees.

The food-beverage and the motel operations are under sep-

arate management with, as stated before, separate immediate

and daily supervision. There is no evidence of interchange of

employees and no overlapping of duties beyond that mentioned

above. There have only been two transfers between CSI and

Stouffer employees. It is our opinion that the functions of the

hotel employees herein are definable and are clearly separate

from those of the food-beverage employees. The operations of

CSI and Stouffer are not such that either controls the labor re-

lations policy of the other.

We have long held that the critical factor in determining

whether a joint employer relationship exists is the control which

one party exercises over the labor relations policy of the other.

It is immaterial whether this control is actually exercised so long

as it may potentially be exercised by virtue of the agreement

under which the parties operate. Here Stouffer neither exercises

actual, not possesses potential, control over CSI’s labor relations

under the license agreement. It is undisputed that Cholak alone,

with his supervisors, hires, fires, and in every other respect sets

the terms and conditions of employment of the hotel’s employees.

The Employer in its brief advances the contention* that, be-

cause of the interrelations of Stouffer and CSI and their license

~ The joint employer issue was fully liti herein, whereas in

a prior proceeding, involving the same hotel, it was not raised. Ac-

cordingly, we base our finding herein on the evidence before us and

are not bound by the prior proceeding.

—_—

and lease provisions, there is control of labor relations. But,

as noted above, the agreements merely provide broad guidelines

and whatever relations Stouffer and CSI have with each other

they do not involve labor relations.

For the foregoing reasons, and on the record as a whole, we

find Stouffer and CSI are not joint employers of all the employ-

ees employed at Cincinnati S.1. Company, a limited partnership

d/b/a Stouffer’s Cincinnati Inn, within the meaning of the Act.

The unit Petitioner seeks is noted above. The parties disa-

greed as to the unit placement of certain individuals working for

CSI. Accordingly, we shall determine their status. Tom

Adamson is in training to become an assistant manager, but

does not possess the authority to hire or fire. His training was

to end 4 months from the end of January 1976, and Cholak testi-

fied that at that time, he would have acquired the authority to

hire and fire, and responsibly direct employees. As of the

hearing, he had only been employed about 22 weeks, but had

attended one department head meeting. In view of the fore-

going, we shall exclude Adamson, as a supervisor. As Rebecca

Niemann, the front office manager is salaried, possesses the au-

thority to hire and fire, and directs the work of about 20 per-

sons, we shall also exclude her as a supervisor. The following

individuals: Marge Nolting, sales manager; William Gryner,

sales director—state organizations; Lynette Kayden, corporate

sales manager; Peggy McAlpin, secretary to director of sales;

and Stephanie Graule, sales receptionist, are all employed in the

sales office, performing basically sales or clerical functions, work

in a different location than the employees requested, have

separate supervision, and do not interchange with or perform

any of the duties performed by the employees sought. Ac-

cordingly, we shall exclude them as office clerical employees

having no community of interest with the unit employees. Terry

Rehage, assistant director of catering, is salaried and has an

— A-10 —

office in the general office area. Her primary function is selling

group food and beverage business to convention and private

groups. As she does not interchange with or perform any

functions of employees of the unit, we find she has no community

of interest with the unit employees. The desk clerks, PBX

operators, reservationists, and night auditor are office clericals,

and, in conformity with Board policy to follow area practice

where clear, we shall exclude these classifications. As the

property auditor and accounts receivable clerk do not inter-

change with or perform any functions of unit employees, have

no contact with unit employees, are separately supervised, and

are in the general office area separated from unit employees, we

find they have a separate community of interest and shall also

exclude them as office clerical employees.

The parties agreed, and we find, that the executive house-

keeper, Rupp, is a supervisor and is thus excluded from the

unit. Under the executive housekeeper are two assistant house-

keepers and three employces classified as “supervisors” by the

Employer." The three “supervisors” are hourly paid, earning

30 cents more an hour than the maids; they are not paid over-

time; and they wear badges with their names and the word

“supervisor” and uniforms colored differently from those the

maids wear. Their responsibility is to see to it that the maids

do the work they are supposed to do. They inspect the rooms

to see that they are properly cleaned. They train new employ-

ees. When a new maid is hired, she is told she is under the

wing of a “supervisor.” If the maid wants to leave and has not

finished her work, the “supervisor” sends her to the executive

housekeeper; if the maid has finished her work, the “super-

visor” has authority to allow the maid to leave for legitimate

reasons. Each “supervisor” has from 11 to 14 maids working

for her and when there are 3 of them they each have 6 floors

* There are four employees with the title “supervisor.” However,

one is the linen room supervisor who, in fact, supervises no one.

— A-11 —

and 150 rooms to cover. If they are not satisfied with a maid's

work they direct the maid to redo any item. The night super-

visor has authority to allow maids to leave. early if the execu-

tive housekeeper is not in the house. “Supervisors” also report

rule infractions to the executive housekeeper. They do not

have. the power to hire or discharge maids. We are unable

on this record to determine whether the “supervisors” are su-

pervisors within the meaning of the Act, and, accordingly, we

shall have them vote subject to challenge.

The two assistant housekeepers are in charge of the house-

keeping department when the executive housekeeper is on va-

cation or has a day off. Rupp takes a 3-week vacation or has

at least 1 day off per week. These assistants are salaried. They

are not paid for overtime. They report to the executive house-

keeper what the maids are doing, the nature of their work,

and their attitude. They directly supervise those not “super-

vised” by one of the three “supervisors” discussed above. They

also have the authority to call to a “supervisor’s” attention

anything wrong that they observe on the “supervisor's” floor.

New employees are told the assistants are supervisors. When

Rupp is off, the assistants can bring in maids for overtime if

needed. The assistants make recommendations or evaluations

as to the maids’ job performance every 6 months. The assist-

ants only make formal reports on the job performance of house-

keeping employees. They do not perform any maid services.

On Rupp’s day off, the assistants have authority to order

laundry supplies and to permit maids to go home early on

personal business or for illness. They also have authority to

redistribute the rooms among the maids. Cholak testified that

the two assistant housekeepers were informed by Rupp that

they have authority to hire and fire, and that, at the time the

job was created, he and Rupp determined that the assistants

would have authority to hire and fire. The two assistant house-

keepers attend meetings of department heads when Rupp is

absent. They have badges on their uniforms with the title

— A-12 —

“Assistant Housekeeper.” In view of the foregoing, we shall

exclude the assistant housekeepers from the unit on the ground

that they are supervisors.

The Employer now, in agreement with the Petitioner, would

exclude the health club employees, who are separately located;

have different duties, hours, and conditions of employment;

are salaried and paid commissions on massages given, which

represent one-third of their income; and are licensed. They

have separate locker facilities in the health club and there is

no interchange between health club employees and other unit

employees. We find they have no community of interest with

the unit employees and shall exclude them.

The three lifeguards are students who are employed from

May | to October 1. They are contacted by the resident man-

ager during their spring break and given an opportunity to

return, but there is no certainty that they will return. The

three schedule their own hours. They are hourly paid, receive

a student minimum wage rate, and do not receive any fringe

benefits. They do not interchange or have contact with em-

ployees in the unit found appropriate herein. As they are stu-

dents hired only for the summer months, whose employment

terminates with the beginning of the school year, there is no

evidence these individuals have recurring jobs or are hired

each season; and they have no community of interest with the

unit employees. We shall exclude them from the unit found

appropriate herein.

General Manager Cholak’s secretary, Patricia Heidmann, is

salaried, makes out the payroll from the time cards, handles

Cholak’s correspondence and telephone calls, assists the prop-

erty bookkeeper and accounts receivable clerk, has access to

personnel files, and sits in staff meetings. Accordingly, we

find that she is a confidential employee and shall exclude her

from the unit.

— A-13 —

The setup men are engaged in setting up for meetings, both

food and nonfood functions. They provide tables, tablecloths,

ashtrays, and glasses for meetings. They subsequently break-

down the set-up, and clean the room. For a meal function,

they set up all tables and chairs in a prearranged table setting

arrangement. After the meal is finished, they break the tables

and chairs down, remove them, and clean the room. It is their

responsibility to clean and maintain the room itself as well as

provide the audiovisual equipment, public address system, lec-

tern, and easel, all of which belong to CSI. Setup men are

under the supervision of CSI personnel who direct their work

and supervise them in every detail. However, in certain re-

spects they are directed by Stouffer employees. This direction

is limited to setup employees following the prearranged table

setting arrangement that the Stouffer personnel has communi-

cated to the supervisor of the CSI employees. They work in

the same area as Stouffer employees when the latter are par-

ticipating in serving the banquet, and later when Stouffer em-

ployees remove food, china, crystal, glass, and silver. Setup

employees, however, have completed their work and departed

the area when Stouffer employees begin their tasks, and do

not reappear until the Stouffer employees have completed their

assignments and have left the area. Although they are in an

area where Stouffer employees work and are engaged in cer-

tain activities where they have certain related responsibilities

with Stouffer employees, as they are employees of CSI, share

CSI employee benefits and conditions of employment, and are

the only nonoffice clericals who would be unrepresented, we

shall include them in the unit.

The bellmen and doormen have the same immediate super-

vision and interchange their duties. Bellmen and doormen are

hourly paid, come in daily contact with unit employees, punch

the same tire clock, place their cards in the same rack, and

perform service functions for guests, not clerical in nature, as

do other unit employees. The garage employees and parking

— A-14—

attendants are under one supervisor. They receive free park-

ing in the garage, punch the same time clock as unit employees,

use the same rack for their time cards, and, like bellmen, per-

form a service function for guests and come in immediate con-

tact with guests. The one elevator operator’s hours coincide

with those of other housekeeping employees. Her main func-

tion is to facilitate delivery by housekeeping of fresh linens

and supplies to the guest floors. Her subordinate purpose is

to aid the food and beverage delivery for room service and

to bring restaurant supplies to the banquet level on occasion.

Her primary purpose is to keep the elevator in service and thus

prevent the food-beverage service employees from parking the

elevator on the floor where they are providing room service.

When she is not on duty, the elevator operates itself. She, like

others in the housekeeping department. with whom she is

grouped in CSI’s organizational chart, is under the executive

housekeeper, has the same hours as other housekeeping em-

ployees, punches the same timeclock, puts her timecard in the

same rack, and is used to insure housekeeping employees easy

and ready access to the elevator.

Under Executive Housekeeper Rupp are 10 laundry workers,

4 housemen, 37 maids, a seamstress, a linen room “super-

visor”, and the above service elevator operator. The laundry

employees launder all the motel’s linen on the premises. The

housemen clean the public areas of the Inn; substitute to op-

erate the washer in the laundry room; maintain the public

restrooms during the day; clean the stairways, various floors,

elevators, stairways, and lobby floors; move furniture; and take

new linens coming in from the street and take them to the

linen room. Their responsibility is largely janitorial. There are

37 maids, of whom 36 are referred to as production maids

and the other as a parlor maid. The production maids perform

the functions of changing the linen in the rooms, cleaning the

rooms, and supplying them with necessary items for guest use.

In so doing, they pick up linen and supplies, take them to the

— A-15 —

rooms, place them in the appropriate places, and clean the

rooms. The parlor maid cleans the offices of the general man-

ager, bookkeepers, reservation and front desk clerks, and the

health club. The seamstress works in the linen room on the

third floor. She works the same hours as unit employees. She

substitutes for maids when needed. There is no evidence that

the linen room “supervisor” possesses any supervisory author-

ity and we so find. She oversees the linen room, keeps supplies

moving, and takes care of glasses for guests. She gives out

linen and supplies to the maids, keeps the room tidy, takes

care of lost and found items, and answers the phone. All em-

ployees under the housekeeper wear uniforms of different types

for each of the separate job classifications.

The maintenance department is on the third floor next to

the housekeeper’s office. There are three maintenance employ-

ees and one painter. They are under the immediate supervision

of Grant, the maintenance supervisor. The maintenance em-

ployees are engaged primarily in painting, refurbishing, and

minor maintenance and mechanical duties in connection with

the entire building. They do not work in the area where Stouf-

fer has its facilities except to perform emergency work of a

minor nature, as all Stouffer fixtures and kitchen equipment is

maintained by an outside contractor. CSI’s major maintenance

is also contracted out.

The housekeeping, laundry, engineering, and maintenance

departments are on the third floor, as are the locker rooms of

the employees working in these jobs. They eat on the third

floor and punch the same timeclock, and put their timecards in

the same rack. They are all hourly paid and receive the same

fringe benefits. We shall include these employees in the unit.

Finally, the Employer contends that the unit sought by the

Petitioner is inappropriate on the ground that it is contrary

to area practice, which, it asserts, supports a unit hotelwide

— A-16 —

in scope. However, the record shows that the area practice is

not clearly defined and that there are a variety of arrange-

ments in the area. Accordingly, in view of our finding that

CSI and Stouffer are not joint employers, that the employees

sought by Petitioner share a community of interest, and that

there is no existing and well-defined area practice to the con-

trary, we find that the following employees of the Employer

constitute a unit appropriate for the purposes of collective

bargaining within the meaning of Section 9(b) of the Act:

All setup employees, bellmen, doormen, garage employ-

ees, parking attendants, maids, housemen, laundry em-

ployees, linen room employees, elevator operators, painter,

and maintenance employees at Employer's Stouffer's Cin-

cinnati Inn, 150 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, Ohio, but

excluding office clerical employees, bookkeepers, desk

clerks, PBX operator, reservationists, night auditor, prop-

erty auditor, accounts receivable clerks, health club em-

ployees, safeguards, confidential employees, sales employ-

ees, security personnel, professional employees, and

supervisors as defined in the Act.

Direction of Election

An election by secret ballot shall be conducted among the

employees in the unit found appropriate, as early as possible,

but not later than 30 days from the date below. The Regional

Director for Region 9 shall direct and supervise the election,

subject to the National Labor Relations Board Rules, Series 8,

as amended. Eligibe to vote are those in the unit who were

employed during the payroll period ending immediately be-

fore the date below, including employees who did not work

during that period because they were ill, on vacation, or tem-

porarily laid off. Also eligible are employees engaged in an

economic strike which commenced less than 12 months before

—

the election date and who retained their status as such during

the eligibility period and their replacements. Those in the

military services of the United States may vote if they appear

in person at the polls. Ineligible to vote are employees who

have quit or been discharged for cause since the designated

payroll period; employees engaged in a strike who have been

discharged for cause since the commencement thereof and who

have not been rehired or reinstated before the election date;

and employees engaged in an economic strike which com-

menced more than 12 months before the election date and

who have been permanently replaced.'® Those eligible shall

vote whether or not they desire to be represented for collec-

tive-bargaining purposes by Hotel, Motel, and Restaurant Em-

ployees and Bartenders Local 12 of the Hotel and Restaurant

Employees and Bartenders’ International Union, AFL-CIO.

Dated, Washington, D.C. September 8, 1976.

10 In order to assure that all eligible voters may have the oppor-

tunity to be informed of the issues in the exercise of their statutory

right to vote, all parties to the election should have access to a list

tend and their addresses which may be used to communicate with

them. Excelsior Underwear Inc., 156 NLRB 1236 (1966); N.L.R.B.

v. Wyman-Gordon Co., 394 U.S. 759 (1969). Accordingly, it is

hereby directed that an election eligibility list, containing the names

and addresses of all the eligible voters, must be filed by the Employer

with the Regional Director for Region 9 within 7 days of the date

of this Decision and Direction of Election. The Regional Director

shall make this list available to all parties to the election. No ex-

tension of time to file this list shall be granted by the Regional Direc-

tor except in extraordinary circumstances. Failure to comply with

this requirement shall be grounds for setting aside the election when-

ever proper objections are filed.

— A-18 —

STOUFFER'S

The Stouffer Corporation

1375 Euclid Avenue Cleveland, Ohio 44115

(216) 861-3450

November 22, 1976

Cincinnati S. I. Company

Cincinnati Towers

Attn: Mr. Barry Cholak

150 West Sth Street

Cincinnati, Ohio

Re: Cincinnati S. I. Company, a limited partnership,

d/b/a Stouffer’s Cincinnati Inn

225 NLRB No. 170

Gentlemen:

It is our understanding that you intend to proceed to bargain

with respect to the fragmented employee unit found appropriate

by the Board in the above-numbered case on September 8, 1976.

As the joint employer of the employees in the unit improperly

found appropriate by the Board, and as such employer of all

other employees working at Stouffer’s Cincinnati Inn, we are in

disagreement with the above-referenced unit determination, are

directly affected by that determination and constitute a “person

aggrieved” within the meaning and for the purposes of Section

10(f) of the National Labor Relations Act, as amended with

respect to the Board’s Order in this case.

It is our intention to take all appropriate steps to obtain ju-

dicial review of the above-mentioned Board Decision and, in

that connection, to secure the invalidation of the Board’s unit

— A-19 —

decision. In that connection, we wish to put both of you on

notice that should recognition be extended and bargaining con-

ducted in reliance upon the Board’s irregular unit determination

here, such recognition and bargaining will be at the peril and

jeopardy of both of you. Among other things, once it is ju-

dicially determined that the unit in question is not proper, each

of you will bear joint responsibility for repayment to any em-

ployees of all initiation fees, dues and assessments which may

be obtained through union security and check-off contract pro-

visions over the several years that it will require to obtain a

judicial reversal of this highly improper decision. In view of our

intended course of action, and particularly the fact that both

the Decision and your conduct in reliance upon it will preju-

dicially affect the rights and interests of this Company, we sin-

cerely suggest and demand that no conduct be taken by either

of you in reliance on this Board Decision until the matter is

finally determined in a judicial forum.

Sincerely,

STEVE SPARLING

Director

Labor and Employee Relations

SS:ep

— A-20 —

STOUFFER’S

The Stouffer Corporation

1375 Euclid Avenue Cleveland, Ohio 44115

(216) 861-3450

November 22, 1976

Hotel, Motel, Restaurant Employees and Bartenders

Local 12 of the Hotel and Restaurant Employees and

Bartenders International Union, AFL-CIO

Attn: Oscar G. Lee, President-Business Manager

1015 Vine Street, Room 710

Cincinnati, Ohio 45202

Re: Cincinnati S. I. Company, a limited partnership,

d/b/a Stouffer’s Cincinnati Inn

225 NLRB No. 170

Gentlemen:

It is our understanding that you intend to proceed to bargain

with respect to the fragmented employee unit found appropriate

by the Board in the above-numbered case on September 8, 1976.

As the joint employer of the employees in the unit improperly

found appropriate by the Board, and as such employer of all

other employees working at Stouffer's Cincinnati Inn, we are

in disagreement with the above-referenced unit determination,

are directly affected by that determination and constitute a “per-

son aggrieved” within the meaning and for the purposes of

Section 10(f) of the National Labor Relations Act, as amended

with respect to the Board’s Order in this case.

— A-21 —

It is our intention to take all appropriate steps to obtain

judicial review of the above-mentioned Board Decision and, in

that connection, to secure the invalidation of the Board’s unit

decision. In that connection, we wish to put both of you on

notice that should recognition be extended and bargaining con-

ducted in reliance upon the Board’s irregular unit determination

here, such recognition and bargaining will be at the peril and

jeopardy of both of you. Among other things, once it is ju-

dicially determined that the unit in question is not proper, each

of you will bear joint responsibility for repayment to any em-

ployees of all initiation fees, dues and assessments which may

be obtained through union security and check-off contract pro-

visions over the several years that it will require to obtain a

judicial reversal of this highly improper decision. In view of

our intended course of action, and particularly the fact that both

the Decision and your conduct in reliance upon it will preju-

dicially affect the rights and interests of this Company, we sin-

cerely suggest and demand that no conduct be taken by either

of you in reliance on this Board Decision until the matter is

finally determined in a judicial forum.

Sincerely,

STEVE SPARLING

Director

Labor and Employee Relations

SS:ep

— A-22 —

Arthur H. Friedman

Attorney-at-Law

816 Dixie Terminal Building

Cincinnati, Ohio 45202

Phone: 721-0712

November 29, 1976

Mr. Steve Sparling, Director

Labor and Employee Relations

The Stouffer Corporation

1375 Euclid Avenue

Cleveland, Ohio 44115

Dear Mr. Sparling:

The Cincinnati S. I. Co. acknowledges receipt of your letter of

November 22nd.

As you know, following a number of Labor Board hearings,

culminating in an election, the National Labor Relations Board

recognized the Hotel, Motel, Restaurant Employees and Bar-

tender’s Union, Local No. 12 as the duly authorized bargaining

agent for certain employees employed by the Cincinnati S. I.

Co. and ordered the Cincinnati S. I. Co. to enter into collective

bargaining with the said Local No. 12.

As a result of that order, the Cincinnati S. I. Co. and Local No.

12 have been engaged in collective bargaining over the past

two weeks. It is the feeling of the Cincinnati S. I. Co. that it

has no alternative but to continue this bargaining in good faith

to ultimately arrive at a labor contract as per the order of the

National Labor Relations Board. To do otherwise, unless sub-

sequent orders superseded this order, could result in the Cin-

cinnati S. I. Co. both being guilty of an unfair labor practice

and being held in contempt of the Board’s order.

— A-23 —

It is our position that we have no alternative but to continue

these negotiations unless ordered by a proper tribunal to cease

bargaining.

Very truly yours,

ARTHUR H. FRIEDMAN

AHF /kw

— A-24—

In the United States Court of Appeals

For the Sixth Circuit

The Stouffer Corporation d/b/a

Stouffer’s Cincinnati Inn,

Petitioner,

v. No. 77-1094

National Labor Relations Board,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR REVIEW

1. The Stouffer Corporation d/b/a Stouffer's Cincinnati Inn

(herein “Petitioner”), petitions the Court to set aside, suspend,

medify and otherwise review the Order of the National Labor

Relations Board entered on September 8, 1976 in the matter

known as “Cincinnati $.1. Company, A Limited Partnership

d/b/a Stouffer's Cincinnati Inn”, 225 NLRB No. 170 (Case

No. 9-RC-11305) before such agency. The National Labor Re-

lations Board erroneously determined that Petitioner and Cin-

cinnati S. I. Company, a limited partnership (herein “CSI”),

were not joint employers of the employees of Stouffer's Cincin-

nati Inn, arbitrarily and improperly held that a grouping of em-

ployees at Stouffer's Cincinnati Inn were employed by CSI only

and constituted a unit appropriate for collective bargaining un-

der Section 9(b) of the Labor Management Relations Act (29

USC § 159(b)) in compliance with the unit sought in the peti-

tion of Hotel, Motel, Restaurant Employees and Bartenders’

Locai 12 of the Hotel and Restaurant Employees and Bar-

tenders’ International Union, AFL-CIO (herein “the Union”)

and improperly ordered and conducted an election within such

an arbitrary and improper unit to the prejudice of this Petitioner

and the employees of Petitioner and CSI employed at Stouffer's

Cincinnati Inn.

— A-25 —

2. This Petition is filed and Petitioner is entitled to the relief

requested herein pursuant to 29 USC § 160(f) and 5 USC

§$ 704.

a. Petitioner is a party aggrieved and has suffered legal wrong

within the meaning of 5 USC § 702 because of the aforesaid

determinations of the National Labor Relations Board in 225

NLRB No. 170 (Case No. 9-RC-11305).

b. The Order of the National Labor Relations Board in 225

NLRB No. 170 (Case No. 9-RC-11305 is a final Order for

which judicial review is available since CSI, erroneously deter-

mined by the National Labor Relations Board to be an em-

ployer-entity separate and apart from Petitioner with respect to

some of the employees employed at Stouffer's Cincinnati Inn,

has negated the only other method through which review of a

National Labor Relations Board unit determination is afforded

(to-wit, refusal to bargain and subsequent review of the unit

determination under the provisions of 29 USC §§ 159(d),

160(e) and (f); see, Boire v. Greyhound, 376 U.S. 473 (1964) )

by bargaining with the Union for an arbitrary and improper

grouping of some of the employees employed at Stouffer's Cin-

cinnati Inn to the prejudice of this Petitioner and all employees

of Petitioner and CSI.

c. As a result of denial of the only other avenue of judicial

review available as described above, the issues presented and

resolved to Petitioner's detriment in 225 NLRB No. 170 (Case

No. 9-RC-11305) are not otherwise reviewable, and unless re-

view is afforded as sought here, Petitioner and the employees

of Petitioner and CSI employed at Stouffer’s Cincinnati Inn will

suffer and continue to suffer irreparable harm and injury both

in the present matter as well as in any other representation mat-

ter which may occur in the future involving the determination of

appropriate unit issues at other Inns in and around the United

States owned and operated by The Stouffer Corporation with

other entities similar in nature and scope to CSI.

—_e

3. Contrary to the determinations of the National Labor Re-

lations Board in 225 NLRB No. 170 (Case No. 9-RC-11305),

Petitioner operates Stouffer’s Cincinnati Inn as a joint employer

with CSI and the National Labor Relations Board’s contrary

determination and consequent limitation of a unit to those em-

ployees held to be employees of CSI only to the exclusion of all

other employees employed by Petitioner and CSI at Stouffer's

Cincinnati Inn are improper, arbitrary and capricious and not

supported by substantial evidence on the record as a whole.

Wherefore, Petitioner prays the Order of the National Labor

Relations Board in 225 NLRB No. 170 (Case No. 9-RC-11305)

be set aside, suspended, modified and otherwise reviewed.

Dated this 11th day of February, 1977.

—_Y

In the United States Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit

The Stouffer Corporation d/b/a )

Stouffer's Cincinnati Inn,

Petiti >ner,

v. . No. 77-1094

The National Labor Relations Board,

Respondent.

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO

INTERVENE

Comes now Hotel, Motel, Restaurant Employees and Bartend-

ers Union Local No. 12 of the Hotel and Restaurant Employees

and Bartenders International Union, AFL-CIO (herein “Inter-

venor”), pursuant to Rule 15(d) of the Federal Rules of Appel-

late Procedure and moves this Honorable court for leave to

intervene in this proceeding for the review of the decision and

order of the National Labor Relations Board, entered at Wash-

ington, D.C. on September 8, 1976, and in support of this mo-

tion respectfully represents:

1. Intervenor is the labor union which initiated the represeata-

tion proceeding before the National Labor Relations Board

(herein “Board”) which resulted in the Order entered on Septem-

ber 8, 1976, which is the subject of this Petition for Review.

2. Pursuant to that Order an election by secret ballot was

conducted among the employees of Cincinnati S.1. Company, a

Limited Partnership, d/b/a Stouffer's Cincinnati Inn (herein

“CSI") in accordance with the Rules and Regulations of the

Board on October 8, 1976. Thereafter, on October 18, 1976,

as a result of that election, Intervenor was certified pursuant

to Sec. 9(a) of the National Labor Relations Act, as amended,

a

— A-28 —

as the exclusive bargaining representative of all employees of

CSI in the unit found appropriate by the Board.

Motion granted, noting that any time for oral argument is

subject to agreement of the parties as to sharing allocated time.

s J. P. Hehman

Clerk

On December 28, 1976, Intervenor and CSI entered into a

collective bargaining agreement effective December 5, 1976

through December 4, 1979, covering the wages, hours of em-

ployment and other conditions of employment of said employees.

3. Intei1venor, if permitted to appear before this court as

herein requested, desires to present a brief and submit oral argu-

ment in support of said Order of the Board entered as aforesaid.

Intervenor respectfully submits that it has an important and

considerable interest in the outcome of this proceeding in that

any order of this court setting aside, suspending or otherwise

modifying the Order of the Board sought to be reviewed would

necessarily result in great harm and damage to Intervenor and

the employees of CSI whom it represents and who are covered

by the collective bargaining agreement between Intervenor and

CSI referred to above. Specifically, the setting aside. suspension

or modification of said Order may invalidate the Certification of

Representative issued by the Board, may invalidate the said

collective bargaining agreement, would deprive said employees

represented by Intervenor of their rights under and pursuant to

said agreement, may require repayment of the membership dues

paid to Intervenor by said employees pursuant to the union

security and check-off provisions of said agreement, and would

otherwise hinder and disrupt the bargaining relationship now

existing between Intervenor and CSI.

— A-29 —

Wherefore, Intervenor respectfully moves this honorable

court: (1) that it be permitted to intervene as a party in this

review of the decision and order of the National Labor Rela-

tions Board dated September 8, 1976, and that it further be

allowed the privilege of filing briefs and arguing orally before

this court; and (2) for such other and further relief as to the

court may seem just and proper and as the exigencies of the case

may appear.

Dated this 2nd day of March, 1977.

— A-30 —

In the United States Court of Appeals

For the Sixth Circuit

The Stouffer Corporation d/b/a .

Stouffer’s Cincinnati Inn,

Petitioner,

v. ‘ No. 77-1094

National Labor Relations Board,

Respondent. |

MOTION OF PETITIONER FOR ENTRY

OF DEFAULT JUDGMENT

Comes now Petitioner, the Stouffer Corporation d/b/a Stouf-

fer’s Cincinnati Inn, by and through its attorney, and respect-

fully moves the Court to enter a Judgment of Default against

Respondent National Labor Relations Board for the relief re-

quested in said Petitioner's Petition for Review, setting aside,

suspending or modifying the Order of the National Labor Re-

lations Board in 225 NLRB No. 170 (Case No. 9-RC-11305).

As grounds for this Motion, Petitioner states:

1. That the instant Petition for Review was docketed in this

Court and a certified copy thereof was served on Respondent

National Labor Relations Board by letter of the Clerk on Feb-

ruary 14, 1977.

2. Hotel, Motel, Restaurant Employees and Bartenders’

Union Local No. 12 of the Hotel and Restaurant Employees

and Bartenders’ International Union, AFL-CIO, filed a Motion

for Leave to Intervene on March 2, 1977 which Motion was

subsequently granted by this Court.

— A-31 —

3. Pursuant to the provisions of Rules 17 and 26(c) of the

Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, Respondent National

Labor Relations Board was to have transmitted the record of

the proceeding before it, 225 NLRB No. 17 (Case No. 9-RC-

11305), to the Clerk within 40 days after service of the in-

stant Petition for Review upon it, or before March 30, 1977.

4. No extension of time has been granted Respondent Na-

tional Labor Relations Board by this Court within which to file

the record as required by Rule 17 of the Federal Rules of

Appellate Procedure.

5. Respondent National Labor Relations Board has not, as

of the date of the filing of this Motion, complied with the pro-

visions of Rule 17 of the Federal Rules of Appellate Proce-

dure or the dictates of this Court regarding strict compliance

with the time schedules specified in the Federal Rules of Ap-

pellate Procedure, and has failed to transmit said record to the

Clerk.

6. Respondent Nationa! Labor Relations Board is disrupt-

ing and impeding the orderly process of the instant Petition

for Review and this Court's docket by its failure to transmit

the record to the Clerk within the time required by Rule 17

of the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure.

Wherefore, for the foregoing reasons, Petitioner The Stouf-

fer Corporation d/b/a Stouffer's Cincinnati Inn prays that the

Court enter a Judgment of Default against Respondent Na-

tional Labor Relations Board as hereinabove requested.

Dated this 9th day of April, 1977.

— A-32 —

No. 77-1094

United States Court of Appeals

For the Sixth Circuit

The Stouffer Corporation d/b/a Stouffer’s >

Cincinnati Inn,

Petitioner,

National Labor Relations Board,

Respondent, +

Hotel, Motel, Restaurant Employees and

Bartenders Union Local No. 12 of the

Hotel and Restaurant Employees and

Bartenders International Union, AFL-

CIO,

Intervenor. |

ORDER

Upon consideration of the petitioner’s motion for entry of

default judgment, the intervenor’s memorandum in opposition

thereto and the respondent’s motion in opposition thereto,

It is ORDERED that the motion for default judgment be

and it hereby is denied.

Upon further consideration of the respondent’s motion for

leave to file instanter a motion for extension of time for filing

the certified list, it is ORDERED that the motion be and it

hereby is granted.

Upon further consideration of the respondent’s motion for

extension of time to file the certified list, it is ORDERED that

— A-33 —

the motion be and it hereby is denied. Respondent is granted

leave to file the certified list not later than fourteen (14) cal-

endar days from the file date of this order.

Entered by Order of the Court

JOHN P. HEHMAN, Clerk

—_~

In the United States Court of Appeals

For the Sixth Circuit

The Stouffer Corporation d/b/a ,

Stouffer's Cincinnati Inn, )

Petitioner,

v. No. 77-1094.

National Labor Relations Board,

Respondent. J

MOTION TO DISMISS PETITION

FOR REVIEW

To the Honorable, the Judges of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Sixth Circuit:

The National Labor Relations Board, Respondent herein,

hereby- maves the Court to dismiss the petition for review

herein on the grounds that_the Board's Decision and Direction

of Election is not a final order subject to judicial review under

Section 10(f) of the National Labor Relations Act. (61 Stat.

136, 73 Stat. 519, 88 Stat. 395, 29 U.S.C. 151, et seg.) In

support of its Motion, the Board submits herewith its Memo-

randum of Points and Authorities.

WHEREFORE, the Board respectfully prays that its mo-

tion to dismiss be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

ELLIOTT MOORE

Deputy Associate General Counsel

National Labor Relations Board

By WILLIAM WACHTER

Assistant General Counsel for

Special Litigation

1717 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20570

Dated: Washington, D.C. April 29, 1977.

— A-35 —

Memorandum of Points and Authorities in

Support of Motion to Dismiss

Petition for Review

The petitioner, Stouffer Food Corp., (herein “Stouffer”) has

a license agreement with the Cincinnati S.I. Company (herein

“CSI”), a limited partnership, which grants to CSI the rights to

use the trade name “Stouffer's” for its motel located in Cincin-

nati, Ohio. Pursuant to this license agreement, CSI operates a

motel known as Stouffeur’s Cincinnati Inn (herein “the Inn”).

Stouffer holds a lease agreement with CSI under which Stouffer

conducts the food and beverage operations at the Inn. These

operations include a restaurant, cocktail lounges and banquet

rooms.

The Hotel, Motel Restaurant Employees and Bartenders’

Local 12 of the Hotel and Restaurant Employees and Bartenders’

International Union, AFL-CIO (herein “the Union”) filed a

_ petition for an election among employees of CSI who work at

the Inn. The unit sought by the Union was a less than “hotel-

wide” unit in that it did not include the employees of Stouffer

who work in the Inn’s restaurant, cocktail lounges and banquet

rooms. CS/ contested the unit sought by the Union contending

inter alia that CSI and Stouffer are joint employers of all em-

ployees working at the Inn, and that only an overall unit in-

cluding the employees sought by the Union plus the employees

of Stouffer is appropriate.

On September 8, 1976, following a hearing, the Board issued

its Decision and Direction of Election, 225 NLRB No. 170

(Attachment “A”) in which it found, contrary to CSIs con-

tention, that CSI and Stouffer do not constitute a joint employer.

The Board also found that the unit sought by the Union was an

appropriate one and accordingly, directed that an election be

conducted among the employees therein. Thereafter, Stouffer,

claiming to be a party aggrieved by a final Board order, filed a

petition with this Court to review the Board’s ruling.

— A-36 —

Argument

Courts of Appeals, unlike district courts, are “without the

jurisdiction over original suits conferred on district courts by

§$ 24 of the Judicial Code, as amended 28 U.S.C. § 41. Such

jurisdiction as [they do have], to review directly the action of

administrative agencies, is specially conferred by legislation

relating specifically to the determinations of such agencies made

subject to review, and prescribing the manner and extent of the

review.” A.F.L. v. N.L.R.B., 308 U.S. 401, 403 (1940). Here,

the provision of the National Labor Relations Act which gives

a right to review is Section 10(f) (29 U.S.C. § 160(f)). The

language and legislative history of this Section make clear that,

in the instant case, the Court does not have jurisdiction to enter-

tain Stouffer's petition for review.

Section 10(f) provides that “any person aggrieved by a final

order of the Board” may petition for review in an appropriate

Court of Appeals. “[I]t has long been established that the phrase

‘a final order of the Board,’ as used in this Section (10(f)),

refers to an order of the Board either dismissing a complaint in

whole or in part or directing a remedy for unfair labor practices

found—in either case an order entered at the culmination of

the procedure described in Section 10(b) amd (c) of the Act.”!

Laundry Workers Union v. N.L.R.B., 197 F. 2d 701, 703 (C.A.

5, 1952). See A.F.L. v. N.L.R.B., 308 U.S. 401 (1940); Boire

v. Greyhound Corp., 376 U.S. 423, 476-477 (1964); Eastern

Greyhound Lines v. Fusco, 323 F. 2d 477, 479 (C.A. 6, 1963);

Local 542 Operating Engineers v. N.L.R.B., 328 F. 2d 850,

853-854 (C.A. 3, 1964), cert. denied, 379 U.S. 826.

Similarly, it has long been settled that Board rulings in repre-

sentation proceedings under Section 9 of the Act—e.g., setting

' Section 10(b) and (c) authorizes the Board, after the filing of

a charge oe Section 8 unfair labor practices, to issue complaints,

hold hearings, find facts, determine issues, and enter orders dismiss-

ing complaints or directing remedies for unfair labor practices found.

—<

aside, directing, or refusing to direct an election, designating a

proper unit, or certifying a union as bargaining representative—

are non-adversary in nature and do not result in judicially re-

viewable final orders. Boire v. Greyhound Corp., supra; A.F.L.

v. N.L.R.B., supra; Modern Plastics v. McCulloch, 400 F. 2d

14, 19 (C.A. 6, 1968); Cameron v. N.L.R.B., 33 LRRM 2133

(C.A. 6, 1953); Timken Detroit Axle Co. v. N.L.R.B., 197 F.

2d 512, 513 (C.A. 6, 1952); Eastern Greyhound Lines v. Fusco,

supra, 323 F. 2d at 479. This is so because, as the Supreme

Court early recognized, the former order “authorized by § 10

may be reviewed by the court on petition of the Board for en-

forcement of the order, or of a person aggrieved, in conformity

to the procedure laid down in § 10, which says nothing of certi-

fications. On the other hand, the latter determination “author-

ized by § 9, is nowhere spoken of as an order, and no procedure

is prescribed for its review apart from an order prohibiting an

unfair labor practice,” A.F.L. v. N.L.R.B., supra, 308 U.S. at

404. See Section 9(d)? and cases cited supra, p. 3.

That Congress, by structuring the Act in this manner, in-

tended to preclude direct review of representation determinations

is clear. At the time Congress enacted the Wagner Act it con-

sidered and rejected the suggestion that all orders of the Board

should be reviewable in the Courts of Appeals. Instead, Con-

gress chose to exclude representation certifications of the Board

from federal appellate review, except in the circumstances speci-

fied in Section 9(d). See, discussion in A.F.L. v. N.L.R.B.,

supra, 308 U.S. at 409-410.

Moreover, legislative history of 1947 Amnedments to the Act

clearly reveals that Congress was aware that under this statutory

2 Section 9(d) of the Act provides for the certification by the

Board of the record of a representation proceeding in the case where

there is a petition for review of an order of the Board made pursuant

to Section 10(c) and based in whole or in part upon the facts certi-

fied in the representation proceeding. In that event, the record in the

certification proceeding becomes part of the record upon which the

decree of the Court reviewing the unfair labor practice order is based.

— A-38 —

scheme certain instances might arise, such as the instant case,

where Board representation decisions might not be subject to

Court review. See A.F.L. v. N.L.R.B., supra, 308 U.S. at 411;

Boire v. Greyhound, supra; Leedom v. Kyne, supra. Neverthe-

less, Congress determined that continued restricted judicial re-

view was necessary in view of the overriding need to expedi-

tiously resolve issues in countless representation cases. Thus,

the House Bill, H.R. 3020, contained provi sons permitting any

interested person to obtain court review of a Board certification

in the same manner as a final Board order. The House Report

accompanying the bill (H.R. Rep. No. 245, 80th Cong., Ist

Sess. at 43) explained that the changes were necessary because

employees and unions that had lost elections had no recourse to

judicial review “no matter how wrong the [Board’s] certification

may be.” The Senate bill (S. 1126), however, did not contain

a corresponding section and the House provision was subse-

quently deleted by the conference committee because such a

provision would permit dilatory tactics in representation pro-

ceedings. See Remarks of Senator Taft, 93 Cong. Rec. 6444.

The Board decision here—directing a representation election

—falls squarely within the category of rulings under Section 9

for which direct review in the Court of Appeals has been con-

sistently denied.* See A.F.L. v. N.L.R.B., supra; Cameron v.

N.LRB, supra; Local 542, Operating Engineer v. N.L.R.B.,

supra, 328 F. 2d at 853-854; Bays v. Miller, 524 F. 2d 631

% This general rule of nonreviewability applies to Board represen-

tation case decisions in all but a few rare circumstances, the principal

exception being a case in which the Board’s order, by its own ad-

mission, contravenes a specific prohibition of the Act. Leedom v.

Kyne, 358 U.S. 84 (1958). See, McCulloch v. Sociedad National,

372 U.S. 10 (1962). However, even the rare exceptions do not

permit direct review in the Courts of Appeals, which Stouffer’s seeks

here, but provides only for limited review in a district court. Boire

v. Greyhound, supra, 376 U.S. at 479-480; Eastern Greyhound Lines

v. Fusco, supra, 323 F. 2d at 479; Cameron v. N.L.R.B., 33 LRRM

2133 (C.A. 6, 1953), Local 542, Operating Engineer v. N.L.R.B.,

supra, 328 F. 2d at 853-854.

— A-39 —

(C.A. 9, 1975). Nor does this general rule of nonreviewability

fall here, merely because the party seeking relief has no readily

available avenue to court review. It is true that the Board’s

resolution of the joint-employer issue precludes Stouffer from

refusing to bargain and thereby precipitating an unfair labor

practice proceeding. (See, pet. for review, p. 2.) However, as

shown supra, pp. 4-5 (A. 37, 38), a full review of the legislative

history of the Act reveals a strong and lasting Congressional in-

tent to avoid delay in representation proceedings. And the Courts

have consistently held that this policy overrides any presumption

of the availability of judicial review, except in the rare situation

(not alleged here) where the Board has acted in direct contra-

vention of a specific mandate of the Act. See, supra, pp. 4, 5 (A.

37, 38), n. 3. Thus, the Ninth Circuit observed in Bays v.

Miller, supra:

To permit [a party seeking review] to go behind this formal

correctness and challenge the merits of the Board's finding,

even by application of a narrow “abuse of discretion” stand-

ard, would require the Court to make a time-consuming

analysis of the Board's factual findings and legal conclu-

sions. The availability of such chalienges would allow the

dilatory maneuvers which Congress chose to prevent.

In the instant case, Stouffer does no more than to challenge

the Board’s determinations that it is not a joint employer with

CSI of the latter’s employees at the Stouffer Cincinnati Inn, and

that a unit comprised of ColI’s, but not Stouffer’s, employees at

the Inn is appropriate. These are precisely the sort of deter-

minations which the Supreme Court has held are not subject to

judicial review except if, and when, they form the basis for a

final unfair labor practice order. A.F.L. v. Labor Board, supra;

Boire v. Greyhound, supra. It is therefore apparent that Stouffer's

position for review must be dismissed.

—

Conclusion

For all the foregoing reasons, the Board respectfully submits

that the petition for review must be dismissed for lack of juris-

diction.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN S. IRVING

General Counsel

JOHN E. HIGGINS, JR.

Deputy General Counsel

CARL L. TAYLOR

Associate Generai ~ounsel

ELLIOTT MOORE

Deputy Associate General Counsel

WILLIAM WACHTER

Assistant General Counsel for Special

Litigation

RICHARD COHEN

Attorney

National Labor Relations Board

1717 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20570

Telephone. (202) 634-1521

Dated: Washington, D.C., April 29, 1977

— A-41 —

Office of the Clerk

United States Court of Appeals

For the Sixth Circuit

Cincinnati, Ohio 45202

John P. Hehman

Clerk

May 17, 1977

Mr. Gerald Tockman

Mr. Louis N. Laderman

706 Chestnut Street, Suite 1010

St. Louis, Missouri 63101

Re: The Stouffer Corporation d/b/a Stouffer’s Cincinnati

Inn, Pet .oner v. National Labor Relations Board,

et al., Respondent

Our No. 77-1094

NLRB No. 9-RC-11305

Dear Counsel:

In accordance with Section 10(e) of the National Labor Re-

lations Act, as amended, you are hereby notified of the filing to-

day of the certified list of all documents, transcripts of testimony,

exhibits and other material upon which the order of the Board

was entered in the above case. The Board has filed this certified

list in lieu of transmitting the entire record to this Court. See,

Rule 17, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure.

A copy of the certified list is enclosed.

Your attention is directed to Rule 25(d), Federal Rules of

Appellate Procedure which requires that all papers presented for

filing must include a certification that service on opposing coun-

— A-42 —

sel has been effected. The certificate should indicate the date,

the manner of service and the names of those served.

Please acknowledge receipt of this letter.

Very truly yours,

John P. Hehman, Clerk

s/ By Suzanne W. Hogan

Suzanne W. Hogan

Deputy Clerk

cc: w/o encl.

Mr. Elliott Moore Mr. Jerry F. Venn

Deputy Assoc. General Counsel 1200 Mercantile Library Bldg.

N.L.R.B. 414 Walnut Street

1717 Pennsylvania Ave. Cincinnati, Ohio 45202

Washington, D. C. 20570

United States Court of Appeals

For the Sixth Circuit

The Stouffer Corporation d/b/a

Stouffer’s Cincinnati, Inn,

Petitioner,

v. >» No. 77-1094

National Labor Relations Board,

Respondent. —

Certified List of the National Labor Relations Board

The National Labor Relations Board, by its Executive Secre-

tary duly authorized by Section 102.115, Rules and Regulations

of the National Labor Relations Board—Series 8, hereby certi-

—S

fies that the list set forth below constitutes a full and accurate

transcript of the entire record of a proceeding had before said

Board and known upon its records as Case No. 9-RC-11305S.

Such transcript includes the pleadings and testimony and evi-

dence upon which the Order of the Board was entered and in-

cludes also the findings and order of the Board.

Volume 1—Exhibits introduced into evidence at the Hearing:

Board’s Exhibit Nos.:

1-A thru 1-F

2 thru 9

10 and 10(a)

11 and 11(a)

12 and 12(a)

13 thru 18

Employer's Exhibit Nos.:

1 (rejected )

2 thru 8

9 (rejected )

10 thru 40

Petitioner's Exhibit Nos.:

1 thru 3

4 and 4-A

5 (identified only)

6 thru 38

Volume Il Certified Record

Stenographic transcript of testimony taken before

Hearing Officer Felix C. Wade on January 6, 7,

19, 22, 24, 26, 27, 28, 29 and 30, 1976 ...... 1-731

—

Volume Ill

Stenographic transcript of testimony taken before

Hearing Officer Felix C. Wade on February 9, 10,

and March 15, 16, 17, 18, 24, and 25, 1976 ... 732-1444

Volume 1V—Pleadings

1. Copy of Union's Brief to the Board, dated

_ fy | PrTricrrer Te

2. Copy of Petitioner's Brief, dated June 1, 1976

3. Copy of Decision and Direction of Election

issued by the National Labor Relations Board

on September 8, 1976 ..........0ceeee-

1-5]

1-50

1-19

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, the Executive Secretary of

the National Labor Relations Board, being thereunto duly au-

thorized as aforesaid, has hereunto set his hand and affixed the

seal of the National Labor Relations Board in the city of Wash-

ington, District of Columbia, this 12th day of May, 1977.

John C. Truesdale

Executive Secretary

National Labor Relations Board

(Seal)

CHRONOLOGICAL LIST OF RELEVANT

DOCKET ENTRIES

In the Matter of: Stouffer Corporation

d/b/a Stouffer’s Cincinnati, Inn

Case No.: 9-RC-11305

11.19.75 Petition filed.

11.28.75

12.11.75

1. 6.76

1. 6.76

1. 6.76

1. 6.76

1.15.76

1.20.76

1.20.76

1.20.76

2.27.76

3. 2.76

3. 8.76

3.25.76

3.25.76

5.26.76

6. 1.76

9. 8.76

—_Y

Notice of Representation Hearing, dated.

Order Rescheduling Hearing, dated.

Hearing opened.

Petitioner's Interim Motion to the Regional Director,

dated.

Petitioner's Motion for Order to Show Cause why

the Petition should not be dismissed Administratively,

dated.

Petitioner's Motion to the Regional Director re-

questing a copy of his denial, dated.

Regional Director's Order denying Petitioner's

Interim Motion, dated.

Regional Director's Order denying Petitioner's Mo-

tion for Order to Show Cause, dated.

Petitioner’s request for extension of hearing date,

dated.

Telegram rescheduling hearing, dated.

Order Rescheduling hearing, dated.

Union's letter requesting rescheduling of the hear-

ing, dated.

Telegram rescheduling hearing, dated.

Hearing closed.

Order transferring Representation case to the Na-

tional Labor Relations Board, dated.

Union's Brief to the Board, dated.

Petitioner's Brief, dated.

Board’s Decision and Direction of Election, dated.

— A-46 —

In the United States Court of Appeals

For the Sixth Circuit

The Stouffer Corporation d/b/a .

Stouffer’s Cincinnati Inn,

Petitioner,

v. . No. 77-1094

National Labor Relations Board,

Respondent. |

PETITIONER’S OPPOSITION TO RESPONDENT'S

MOTION TO DISMISS

To the Honorable, the Judges of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit:

The Stouffer Corporation d/b/a Stouffer’s Cincinnati Inn,

Petitioner herein, moves the Court to deny the Motion to Dis-

miss filed by the National Labor Relations Board, Respondent

herein, for the reasons that said Motion is both untimely and

without merit under the extraordinary and exceptional circum-

stances presented by the Petition for Review herein. In support

of this Opposition, Petitioner submits herewith its Memoran-

dum of Points and Authorities.

Wherefore, Petitioner respectfully moves the Court to deny

Respondent’s motion to dismiss and to consider the instant pe-

tition for review on its merits.

Respectfully submitted,

GERALD TOCKMAN

Dated this 24th day of May, 1977.

ome fir G? ae

Memorandum of Points and Authorities in Support of

Opposition to Motion to Dismiss

I. Preface.

Petitioner, The Stouffer Corporation d/b/a Stouffer's Cincin-

nati Inn (herein “The Stouffer Corporation”) filed its petition

for review of the Order of Respondent National Labor Rela-

tions Board (herein the “Board”) in the matter known as “Cin-

cinnati S. I. Company, A Limited Partnership d/b/a Stouffer's

Cincinnati Inn and Hotel, Motel, Restaurant Employees and

Bartenders’ Local 12 of the Hotel and Restaurant Employees

and Bartenders’ International Union, AFL-CIO”, 225 NLRB

No. 170 (Case No. 9-RC-11305) [Attachment “A” to the

Board’s Memorandum of Points and Authorities, herein referred

to as “Board Memorandum”] on February 14, 1977. On March

2, Hotel, Motel, Restaurant Employees and Bartenders Union

Local No. 12 (herein “Local 12”) was granted leave to inter-

vene pursuant to Local 12’s motion therefor “to present a brief

and submit oral argument” in support of the Board’s Order

in 225 NLRB No. 170 (Motion for Leave to Intervene, para-

graph 3). On May 2, 1977, following notifications from the

Court and Intervenor Local 12' with respect to the filing of

the record herein, the Board instead filed its Motion to Dis-

miss in disregard of the fifteen (15) day time limitation for

such motions and without leave of Court for filing out of time.”

That Motion, as hereinafter demonstrated, is as inaccurate as

it is untimely.

1 In its April 19, 1977 Opposition to Petitioner’s Motion for

Entry of Default Judgment, Intervenor Local 12 stated that Inter-

venor had contacted the Board on a number of occasions concerning

the need to respond herein and that Intervenor was informed nothing

had been done “due to an oversight on the part of the attorney as-

signed to the matter”. Such “oversight” is further reflected in the

Board’s failure to file the certified list, pursuant to Fed.R.App.P.

17(b), within the time set by this Court’s Order of April 29, 1977.

2 6th Cir. R. 8; Fed.R.App.P. 27(d), 32(b).

—~

Il. Statement of the Case.

The Board's statement of the case that Cincinnati S. I. Com-

pany (“CSI”) “contested the unit sought” by Local 12 “con-

tending that CSI and Stouffer are joint employers” and that

the Board's Order for which review is sought here “found con-

trary to CSIs contention” (Board Memorandum, pps. 1-2) is

directly the opposite of what is involved here. The Board’s Order

(Attachment “A” to Board Memorandum) and the record of the

proceedings in the underlying representation matter No. 9-RC-

11305 on which it was based (Certified List of the National

Labor Relations Board, filed May 17, 1977) show: The Stouf-

fer Corporation and CSI, not CSI only, were parties to and

participated in the representation proceedings;* The Stouffer

Corporation and CSI, not CSI only, contested the unit sought

by Local 12; The Stouffer Corporation and CSI, not CSI only,

contended that The Stouffer Corporation and CSI were the

joint employer of the employees in the unit sought;* and, the

Board’s Order found contrary to the contention of The Stouf-

fer Corporation and CSI, not CSI only.* CSI determined to

accept the Board’s Order, thus foreclosing the “traditional

* In the hearings conducted in Case No. 9-RC-11305 (Volume

II, Certified List at pages 23, line 16-24, line 14; and 30, line 23-32,

line 1 of the Certified Record), in order that “all parties would be

before the Board”, Hearing Officer Felix C. Wade granted the motion

of the Stouffer Corporation to intervene (copies of the relevant record

pages are appended, for the Court’s convenience, as “Exhibit 1”).

+ The Brief filed with the Board was filed on behalf of The Stouffer

Corporation and CSI, summarizing the contentions of both parties

to the representation proceedings (Certified List, Volume IV, item 2).

> The Board’s Order (Attachment “A” to Board Memorandum),

in addition to specific determinations concerning the corporate and

interstate commerce aspects of The Stouffer Corporation (Attachment

“A”, p. 3 at fn. 3), expends nine (9) pages discussing and making

“conclusions” concerning the contentions and evidence elicited by

The Stouffer Corporation and CSI (Aitachment “A”, pps. 1-9) with

respect to the joint employer issue.

—_)

method” for review of the Board’s adverse determinations with

respect to The Stouffer Corporation and its contentions—The

Stouffer Corporation, being aggrieved by that Order and the

final consequences to The Stouffer Corporation flowing from

it, filed the petition for review now before this Court. That

petition, as hereinafter maintained, is a proper basis for that

judicial review of final administrative agency determinations

constitutionally mandated by fundamental due process.

III. Argument.

Although academically informative, the Board Memorandum

does not address the issues before this Court. Neither the de-

cisions cited by the Board nor the discussion of the “traditional

method” for review (Board Memorandum, pps. 2-6) deal with

the critical questions here. Those questions, simply put, are:

1. Whether a party to a representation proceeding (The

Stouffer Corporation), whose position and contentions

(e.g., “employer status” and “unit propriety”) are fi-

nally denied by Board Order, can obtain judicial re-

view of such “agency action”?

2. Whether the “traditional method” for such judicial re-

view, even if unavailable under the extraordinary cir-

cumstances here, is the only method for that judicial

® CSI, as noted by Local 12 in its Motion For Leave To Intervene,

participated in an election conducted in the employee unit found

“proper” by the Board’s Order for which review is sought here and,

following certification, entered into a collective bargaining agreement

with Local 12 (Motion For Leave To Intervene, paragraph 3). This

conduct, as the Board itself acknowledges (Board Memorandum,

pps. 5-6), denied to The Stouffer Corporation what the Board con-

tends is the “usual” and “only” avenue for review of Board repre-

sentation proceeding determinations, e¢.g., review when the represen-

tation determinations are the “basis” for a refusal to bargain order

(Board Memorandum, pps. 2-6).

—_—S

review of final agency action which due process re-

quires?

These issues, and the position of The Stouffer Corporation,

with respect to them, are set out infra.

1. “Finality” of agency action demands availability of ju-

dicial review.

Acceptance by CSI of the Board’s determinations that CSI

and The Stouffer Corporation do not constitute a “joint em-

ployer” and that a unit limited to some of the employees working

at Stouffer's Cincinnati Inn is proper,’ without question, finally

resolved such matters with respect to CSI and Local 12. Such

“finality”, however, is equally applicable to and determinative of

the contrary position and contentions of The Stouffer Corpora-

tion under the extraordinary circumstances present here. In fact,

the Board acknowledges such finality as to The Stouffer Corpora-

tion but simply maintains that such conclusive, adverse deter-

minations® are not subject to review (Board Memorandum, pps.

5-6).

All of the authorities cited by the Board in its Argument

(Board Memorandum, pps. 2-6) deal with situations where only

one party was involved in a Board representation proceeding

and that party sought to circumvent the readily available method

of “traditional review.” Here, notwithstanding the Board's fail-

7 See note 6 supra and text thereby supported.

* That adverse determinations of the kind for which review is

sought here are “final” cannot be Fong For example, Black’s

Law Dictionary (4th Ed. 1968) de “final order” at page 1247

as:

“One which terminates the action itself, or decides some matter

litigated by the parties, or operates to divest some right; or one

which completely disposes of the subject-matter and the rights

of the parties.” (emphasis added)

— A-51 —

ure to acknowledge the “party-status” of The Stouffer Corpora-

tion in the underlying representation proceedings, there are two

parties to the final determinations contained in the Board’s

Order—although one party (CSI) has closed off the “tradi-

tional” avenue of review, such closure does not make the Board’s

determination as to the other party (The Stouffer Corporation)

any less “final” or “reviewable”. On the contrary, absent the

“circumvention” and “delay” considerations underlying the

policies with respect to the “traditional review” authorities cited

by the Board,® the extraordinary circumstances here’® illustrate

why “finality” and thus “reviewability” exist.

The Board’s Argument does not and cannot seriously quarrel

with the facts that its Order is “final” and “aggrieves” The Stouf-

fer Corporation with respect to those determinations for which

The Stouffer Corporation, as a party to the underlying representa-

tion proceeding, seeks review in this Court. On the contrary,

the Board simply ignores the questions of finality and adverse

. disposition by the expedient of the “traditional review” argu-

ment it “traditionally” makes—e.g., the “usual method” is the

only avenue of review. But, Congress did not intend the “tra-

ditional review” procedure to serve as a “weapon” for denying

® Board Memorandum, pps. 3-5.

10 Although the Board makes light of the substantive adverse

determinations to the rights and interests of The Stouffer Corpora-

tion for which review is sought here (e.g., Board Memorandum, pe 6

at the last paragraph of Argument), it neither denies “finality

that The Stouffer Corporation is “aggrieved”. More importantly, the

Board does not and cannot cite any case like the one before this

Court wherein review has been denied in a two-party, joint employer

situation. Boire v. Greyhound Corporation, the only “joint em-

ployer” decision cited, instructs exactly the opposite of the Board's

conclusion. In Boire where the “joint employer” determination was

opposite that here, e.g., the two parties were determined to be a

“joint employer”, the only basis for denying review was the avail-

ability to either party of “the “traditional review” method. Absert

such availability, which under the circumstances present here is

clearly not available, the Court made clear that review would not

only have been proper but required.

— A-52 —

judicial review to an aggrieved party whose rights have been

affected or denied by what that party contends is an arbitrary

and improper administrative decision. The unavailability of

“traditional review”, under the extraordinary circumstances

here, demonstrates the “finality” and “reviewability” of the

Board’s Order as applied to The Stouffer Corporation.

“. . . [T]he courts must remain mindful of their position

as the only source of relief available to most claimants.

The courts enjoy a different perspective from the legis-

lature, however, for they also must sit as a check on gov-

ernmental excesses and into the calculus of interest they add

a general presumption of reviewability. Indeed, it would

be rare that a court was without jurisdiction to entertain

any objections whatever. Even under the committed-to-

agency discretion doctrine, partial review may be available

for separable issues, as to which discretion or expertise is

insignificant; this ‘vertical’ exception usually applies to

procedural issues. There are also issues of law which may

be reviewed without reaching factual disputes . . .

There is rarely any justification for holding that an agency

action is invariably unreviewable. Most Courts have ad-

mitted the possibility of review for claims of unconstitu-

tionality in substance or procedure and for allegations that

the agency violated clear statutory duties or exceeded its

Statutory jurisdiction.” Saferstein, “Nonreviewability: A

Functional Analysis of ‘Committed to Agency Discretion’ ”,

82 Harv.L.Rev. 367, 370, 372, 398 (Dec. 1968).

The Administrative Procedure Act, Chap. 10, 5 USC §§ 701-

706:

Lt)

. embodies the basic presumption of judicial review

to one ‘suffering legal wrong because of agency action, or

— A-53 —

adversely affected or aggrieved by agency action within the

meaning of a relevant statute, 5 U.S.C. § 702, so long as

no statute precludes such relief or the action is not one

committed by law to agency discretion, 5 U.S.C. § 701(a).

The Administrative Procedure Act provides specifically

not only for review of ‘[a]gency action made reviewable by

statute but also for review of final agency action for which

there is no other adequate remedy in a court,’ 5 U.S.C.

§ 704.” Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136,

140 (1967).

See also, Citizens to Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe, 401 U.S.

402, 410 (1971).

2. Direct review of final agency action is constitutionally re-

quired.

The argument advanced vy the Board here, that the appli-

cability of a special review statute (Section 10(f) of the Na-

tional Labor Relations Act, 29 USC §151, et seq.) excludes

nonstatutory review, might be of some relevance if CSI had

filed the instant petition for review. Although the continued

viability of that kind of argument has been seriously questioned

by decisional law directed toward assuring the wide availability

of judicial review for the challenge of federal “agency action”

(e.g., Califano v. Sanders, — U.S. —, 51 L.Ed.2d 192 (1977);

Bays v. Miller, 524 F.2d 631 (9th Cir. 1975)), it is clear

such a contention has no applicability where, as in the case

now before this Court, a party adversely affected by agency

action does not have an accessible review statute available to

it. Under such extraordinary circumstances, a party (here, The

Stouffer Corporation) subjected to “final agency action” (here,

denial of “employer status” and contra “unit findings”) for which

there is no other judicial remedy is entitled to the “basic (con-

Stitutional) presumption” of the availability of judicial review.

Citizens To Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe, 401 U.S. 402, 28

— A-54 —

L.Ed.2d 136 (1971); Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner, supra;

United States v. Storer Broadcasting Co., 351 U.S. 192 (1956).

The petition for review before this Court asserts, and for

purposes of the instant motion must be taken as showing with-

out dispute, that (Petition for Review, paragraphs 1-2):

The Stouffer Corporation, petitioner here, was a party to

and participated in the underlying representation proceed-

ings (9-RC-11305) upon which the Board’s Order at 225

NLRB No. 170 is based;

The Stouffer Corporation maintained that it was an em-

ployer along with CSI of the employees involved in the

representation proceedings and that the grouping sought

was not an appropriate unit;

The Board adversely determined the contentions of The

Stouffer Corporation;

Such adverse determinations affected and will affect the

positions and interests of The Stouffer Corporation not

only with respect to Stouffer's Cincinnati Inn but also in

connection with other such facilities owned and operated

by The Stouffer Corporation with other entities similar in

nature and scope to CSI; and,

The actions of CSI foreclosed any method other than the

petition for review here through which judicial scrutiny

of the Board’s final determinations as to The Stouffer Cor-

poration can be obtained.

Under the unique fact circumstances set out here, arguments

concerning the “traditional” method of review where available

are simply inappropriate. Such contentions are not applicable

to deny the constitutionally mandated requirement of judicial

review of final agency action that underlies current decisional

law (e.g., Bethesda-Chevy Chase Broadcasters v. FCC, 385 F.

2d 967, 968 (D.C. Cir. 1967); lsenbrandtsen Co. v. U.S., 211

— A-55 —

F.2d 51, 55 (D.C. Cir. 1954)) particularly where, as here,

the “policy” considerations advanced against review (delay of

representation proceedings) do not exist See, e.g., Note, “Juris-

diction to Review Federal Administrative Action: District Court

or Court of Appeals,” 88 Harv.L.Rev. 980, 987 (Mar. 1975).

Although inadvertently omitted from the Board’s motion and

supportive inemorandum, the party status of The Stouffer Corpo-

ration to the representation proceedings and the final, adverse

dispositions by the Board of its substantive rights and interests

are determinative of the propriety of tne present review proceed-

ing. Final, adverse affects by agency action are reviewable

where “extreme” circumstances exist. Retail Store Employees

Union, Local 954 v. Rothman, 298 F.2d 330 (D.C. Cir. 1962); |

Note, supra, at 88 Harv.L.Rev. 987, 993-994. “Extreme” cir-

cumstances are unquestionably present in this matter since final

Board action has adversely disposed of substantive, statutory

rights of The Stouffer Corporation for which agency actions

the “traditional” review method is not available under the statu-

tory scheme of the NLRA. Templeton v. Dixie Color Printing

Co., 444 F.2d 1064 (Sth Cir. 1971).

“. . [Jurisdiction af the Federal Courts, of course, is not

absolute. It exists only for the protection of those rights

which Congress intended to be judicially enforceable, and

for which there is no other adequate administrative or judi-

cial remedy.” Deering Milliken v. Johnston, 295 F.2d 856,

859 (4th Cir. 1961; emphasis added).

IV. Conclusion.

As a party to the underlying representation proceedings, ag-

grieved by the final Order of the Board adversely disposing of

its position and contentions concerning employer status and

proper employee unit, The Stouffer Corporation has standing to

maintain the instant Petition for Review. Unavailability of

— A-56 —

the “traditional” or usual method for review, under the extreme

and extraordinary circumstances here, does not displace but in

fact enhances the position of The Stouffer Corporation in this

matter. Accordingly, the Board’s Motion to Dismiss the Petition

for Review should be denied particularly where, as here, the

complex and substantive issues before the Court demand dis-

position of this matter on the merits and the record now filed

with this Court.

Respectfully submitted,

GERALD TOCKMAN

Dated this 24th day of May, 1977.

[*23] EXHIBIT 1

I didn’t talk about a written motion I am sure, Mr. Hearing

Officer. I think Mr. Venn is in error on that.

Mr. Venn: I didn’t finish. I thought you were going to give

him an opportunity to reargue or resubmit

Mr. Kennedy: Excuse me.

Mr. Venn: A motion on the same subject supported by other

evidence. Maybe that’s a technicality.

Hearing Officer: I will say it is my understanding a motion

will be refiled.

Mr. Kennedy: Restated?

Hearing Officer: Restated?

Mr. Kennedy: Yes.

Hearing Officer: Are you prepared to do that, to restate that

motion at this time?

* Numbers appearing in brackets in text indicate page numbers

of orginal stenographic transcript of testimony.

—_.Y

Mr. Kennedy: Yes. It will be substantially the same.

This is a motion by C. S. I. Company, a limited partnership,

and the Stouffer Restaurants and Inns, Division of the Stouffer

Corporation to intervene as a party employer in this matter for

the reason that the real employer, in fact in law, in this action

is the same employer as the employer involved in Case No.

9-RC-10528 which was the subject of an investigation and hear-

ing by the Board beginning on May 24, 1974 and ending on

July 1, 1974.

The record as it stands is neither complete nor accurate if the

position of the Petitioner is to maintain throughout [24] this

hearing—and it’s necessary that this Employer have a right to

to stand here in the sense that he’s more than a bystander, more

or less the subject of the testimony as it is adduced by the peti-

tioner.

I don’t precisely know what the extent of your last ruling

was, and that’s why I have tried to add something additional

to the motion in the present form by seeking by a motion from

you the right to be an actual party to this thing and the right

to stand so that what this Employer may say and do will be

effective tools in the hands of you as the Hearing Officer and

the Regional Director in the decision of this thing.

To that end and in support of that, I am prepared to submit

some evidence.

Hearing Officer: Mr. Venn, would you like to be heard on

that?

Mr. Venn: Yes, I really honestly feel Mr. Kennedy's motion

begs the question here.

I don't deny the record is before the Regional Director on the

previous “R” Case hearing. The Petitioner petitioned for an

overall unit of all the relevant employees at Stouffer's.

— A-58 —

In any event, we petitioned for an overall unit, and their

parties agreed that on that basis that the employer, the correct

employer, was the employer of the housekeeping * * *

* . > > > * aa

[30] table here a complete copy of the transcript of the record

in Case No. 9-RC-10528. Do you wish me to introduce this

into the record here or do you have in the Regional files the

original copy of this document?

Hearing Officer: We have the originals of that document.

Mr. Kennedy: Are they available to you, sir?

Hearing Officer: They are available at this time.

Mr. Kennedy: Do you want to——

Hearing Officer: I would prefer to have them introduced

through a witness at a somewhat later occasion.

Mr. Kennedy: Do you mean this record I am speaking of?

Hearing Officer: Yes, that record constituting 345 pages

wherein the record began on May 24, 1974 and closed on July

1, 1974.

Mr. Venn: I would object to the admission of the record at

this time.

Hearing Officer: It has not been admitted.

Mr. Venn: All right.

Hearing Officer: I stated that if it is admitted, it will be ad-

mitted later through a witness.

Mr. Venn: All right.

Hearing Officer: At this juncture, Gentlemen, I am disposed

to grant Mr. Kennedy's motion to intervene on behalf of Cin-

cinnati S. I. Company, a limited partnership, and [31] Stouffer

Restaurant's and Inns, Division of the Stouffer Corporation,

— A-59 —

d/b/a Stouffer's Cincinnati Inn as being taken in the conjunc-

tive rather than in the disjunctive.

That is the party upon whose behalf you wish to intervene

at this time, is that correct?

Mr. Kennedy: That's correct.

Hearing Officer: I do this for the purpose of assuring the

Regional Director that all possible parties to this hearing will

be present and represented throughout the course of this hearing.

It will be the Regional Director’s determination whether Cin-

cinnati S. I. Company, a limited partnership, and Stouffer

Restaurants and Inns, Division of the Stouffer Corporation,

d/b/a Stouffer's Cincinnati Inn or simply Cincinnati S. I. Com-

pany, a limited partnership, or any other employing entity con-

stitutes an employer of the employees sought or in an appro-

priate unit.

Therefore, the motion is granted at this time and I full-well

expect we will have extensive record testimony to the corpo-

rate relationship of these possibly different corporations.

I am not at this time aware as to whether or not they are

separate corporations or a single corporation; but I will expect

testimony to be adduced with respect to that and with respect

to employer employees, and as to the appropriateness [32] of

any appropriate bargaining unit.

At a somewhat later time, I would like to see proposed stipu-

lations with respect to commerce with respect to either these

employers jointly ar severally as the parties and I determine

at that time.

Mr. Kennedy: I was distracted for a moment, Mr. Hearing

Officer. Did you say you wanted to have some testimony pre-

sented on this?

Hearing Officer: Yes, sir.

Mr. Kennedy: Some testimony?

— A-60 —

Hearing Officer: Yes.

Mr. Kennedy: I just wanted to be sure I heard you.

Hearing Officer: You heard me.

Mr. Kennedy: Thank you.

Hearing Officer: Now is it possible for us to proceed?

I will retain Employer’s Exhibit 1 at this time and a list of

rejected exhibits until such time someone can identify it through

sworn testimony and place it in the record.

Mr. Venn, are you prepared to proceed?

Mr. Kennedy: I have some matters I would like to bring

before the Hearing Officer, please.

Hearing Officer: Prior to going on with testimony?

What do you wish to bring forward, Mr. Kennedy?

Mr. Kennedy: Are we off the record now?

— A-61 —

In the United States Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit

The Stouffer Corporations d/b/ a,

Stouffer’s Cincinnati Inn,

Petitioner,

v. \ No. 77-1094

National Labor Relations Board,

Respondent. )

RESPONSE TO PETITONER’S OPPOSITION TO MOTION

TO DISMISS THE PETITION FOR REVIEW

In its Opposition to the Board’s Motion to Dismiss the Pe-

tition for Review (herein “Pet. Opp.”), Stouffer argues that the

Board’s determination that Stouffer is not a joint employer of

the employees in the bargaining unit has created an “extreme”

circumstance necessitating Court review of the Board’s repre-

sentation decision under Section 10(f) of the Act (Pet. Opp.

10).1. The “extreme” circumstance cited by Stouffer is the fact

that the Board’s “joint employer” determination has made it

impossible for Stouffer to obtain review by refusing to bargain

and awaiting a Board order issued under Section 10(c) of the

Act. However, the courts have uniformly recognized that Con-

gress consciously designed Section 10(f) to prevent review of

1 Significantly, Stouffer has cited no case in which direct review

of a representation decision was permitted under Section 10(f).

Retal Store Employees Union, Local 954 v. Rothman, 298 F.2d 330

(C.A.D.C., 1962), cited 4 Stouffer as establishing the proposition

that “adverse affects (sic) by agency action are reviewable where

‘extreme’ circumstances exist” (Pet. Opp. 10) was, in fact, a case in

which the court granted the Board’s motion to dismiss an action

brought in district court (not pursuant to Section 10(f)) to review

the General Counsel’s refusal to issue an unfair labor practice com-

plaint. Id. at 332.

—_y

~

such representation determinations unless they become the sub-

ject of a Section 10(c) order and that, as a result, some parties

to representation proceedings may be precluded from obtain-

ing review of adverse determinations. See cases cited in the

Board's Motion to Dismiss, at pp. 3-4.

In A.F.L. v. N.L.R.B., 308 U.S. 401, 407-411 (1940),

which involved a situation analogous to the present case, the

Supreme Court held that where the Board's representation de-

cision resulted in the certification of one of two competing unions,

the other union could not obtain review under Section 10(f)

even though it claimed to represent a majority of the unit em-

ployees. There, as here (Pet. Opp. 8-10), the party suffering

the adverse determination claimed that due process required re-

view. The Court succinctly rejected this contention: “The argu-

ment too that Congress has infringed due process by withhold-

ing from federal appellate courts a jurisdiction which they never

possessed is similarly without force.” A.F.L. v. N.L.R.B., supra,

308 U.S. at 412. See also, Local 542, Int'l Union of Operating

Engineers v. N.L.R.B., 328 F.2d 850, 853-854 (C.A. 3, 1964),

cert. denied, 379 U.S. 826.

Indeed, it is apparent that the same reasons noted by the Court

in the A.F.L. case for Congress’ decision to preclude review of

representation decisions absent a Section 10(c) order are present

here. Thus, Congress weighed the benefits of permitting direct

court review of representation determinations against “the long

delays . . . resulting from applications to the federal appellate

courts for review of orders for elections” (/d. at 409-410) and

“made a deliberate choice of confliciing policies” (/d. at 411)

to preclude review. Stouffer contends (Pet. Opp. 6) that no

“delay” considerations exist in the present case. On the con-

trary, the identical “delay” factors in the A.F.L. case are present

here: If the Board's representation decision were subject to re-

view, the bargaining relationship between C.S.I. and the Union

— A-63 —

—neither of whom seek review—would be inhibited by the

possibility of the substitution of a new party to the bargaining

relationship or else by the potential for another elec..on.

In any event, Stouffer's interests under the Act have not been

injured, for Stouffer suffers no legal harm until the Board issues

an order against it arising out of unfair labor practice charges.

Should Stouffer be subjected to a Section 10(c) order that in-

volved its supposed “joint employer” status, it would, of course,

be able to obtain review of that issue under Section 10(e) or

(. To be sure, the negotiation of a contract between C.S.I.

and the Union may have some “practical” impact on Stouffer's

dealings both with its employees who work with the C.S.I. em-

ployees and with C.S.I. itself, but this is merely an incidental

result of the Board’s representation determination, not unlike

the effect that the negotiation of a bargaining agreement by a

subsidiary corporation might have on the parent corporation.

Such an interest is not sufficient to allow the incidentally affected

party the right to seek review under Section 10(f).?

2 Stouffer contends (Pet. . 2) that Rule 8 of this Court's

Local Rules Supplementing the Federal Rules of Appellate Proce-

dure required the filing of the Board's motion to dismiss herein within

fifteen days after Stouffer filed its petition for review. The apparent

Pp of Supplementary Rule 8 is to require an appellee to bring

to the Court's attention any ural defects in the man-

ner in which the j the Court has been involved—for

example, the filing of an untimely notice of appeal. The Rule cannot

reasonably be int to mean that subject matter jurisdiction

is automatically erred on this Court unless an objection is raised

within 15 days. Cf. Rule 12(h)(3), F.R.Civ.P., which states that a

defense of lack subject matter jurisdiction can be raised at any time.

- a Jordon v. Gilligan, 500 F.2d 701, 704, 710 (C.A. 6,

In any event, Stouffer fails to note that Local Rule 8 also provides

that the Court may waive the fifteen-day requirement sua sponte.

Since, as demonstrated in our original moving pa and above,

this Court has no jurisdiction to entertain a petition a of

Board's re niation decision, the interests of conserving judicial

and administrati ive resources warrant granting the Board's motion to

dismiss and waiving the fifteen-day requirement of Local Rule 8.

— A-64 —

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN S. IRVING

General Counsel

JOHN E. HIGGINS, JR.

Deputy General Counsel

CARL L. TAYLOR

Associate General Counsel

ELLIOTT MOORE

Deputy Associate General Counsel

/s/ WILLIAM WACHTER (KBH)

WILLIAM WACHTER

Assistant General Counsel for Special

Litigation

KENNETH HIPP

RICHARD COHEN

Attorneys, National Labor Relations

Board

1717 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20570

Telephone: (202) 634-1521

Dated: Washington, D.C.

June 2, 1977

— A-65 —

In the United States Court of Appeals

For the Sixth Circuit

The Stouffer Corporation d/b/a '

Stouffer's Cincinnati Inn,

Petitioner,

v. » No. 77-1094

National Labor Relations Board,

Respondent. /

INTERVENOR’S MEMORANDUM OF POINTS AND

AUTHORITIES IN SU.?ORT OF MOTION TO

DISMISS PETITION FOR REVIEW

I. Preliminary Statement

To the extent that any confusion may exist as to the proce-

dural posture of this review proceeding' Intervenor offers the

following brief statement of pertinent facts. Intervenor (herein

the “Union”) petitioned for an election among employees of

Cincinnati S.I. Company (herein “CSI"), a limited partnership

owning and operating Stouffer's Cincinnati Inn, Cincinnati,

Ohio pursuant to a license agreement with the Stouffer Cor-

poration (herein “Stouffer”). Stouffer operates the restaurant

facilities at the Inn under a lease with CSI as well as providing

food and beverage service at banquet functions. The Union

did not petition for an election among the employees employed

by Stouffer's at the Inn, only those employed by CSI. Stouffer

sought and was granted leave to intervene in the representa-

1 Petitioner claims that its status as an intervening party in the

Board representation proceeding was not made clear in the Board's

motion and supporting memorandum.

— A-66 —

tion proceeding before the Board. Stouffer urged two positions

in that proceeding, namely, that it was the joint employer (with

CSI) of the CSI employees the Union was petitioning for, and

that the only appropriate unit for an election was one en-

compassing the employees of CSI as well as those of Stouffer

employed at that Inn. The Board rejected both contentions

finding that Stouffer was not a joint employer of the CSI em-

ployees and that a unit limited to CSI employees was appro-

priate, both as urged by the Union. Subsequently, the Board

conducted an election among the CSI employees and the Union

was successful and was thereafter certified as the bargaining

agent of those employees. CSI and the Union then entered

into a collective bargaining agreement effective December 5,

1976 through December 4, 1979 covering the CSI employees.

No Stouffer employees are covered by that agreemen

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.