Petition — Indiana & Michigan Electric Co. v. City of Mishawaka

Supreme Court brief1978

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U. S.

a

NOV 14 1977

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United Beaty ve. cccen

October Term, 1977

Nog 7-689

INDIANA & MICHIGAN ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Petitioner,

CITY OF MISHAWAKA, INDIANA,

CITY OF NILES, MICHIGAN,

CITY OF COLUMBIA CITY, INDIANA,

CITY OF BLUFFTON, INDIANA,

CITY OF GARRETT, INDIANA,

CITY OF GAS CITY, INDIANA,

TOWN OF FRANKTON, INDIANA,

TOWN OF WARREN, INDIANA,

TOWN OF NEW CARLISLE, INDIANA, and

TOWN OF AVILLA, INDIANA,

municipal corporations,

Respondents.

—— — = ——————_

————-- ~~ —_— — -—— =

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

—-—

——

WauitNey NortH SEYMOUR

Counsel for Petitioner

One Battery Park Plaza

New York, New York 10004

(212) 483-9000

Of Counsel:

RicHarD M. DIcKE

PETER J. SCHLESINGER

Dennis G. JACOBS

Simpson THACHER & BARTLETT

Tuomas W. YODER

LAWRENCE A. LEvy

LIVINGSTON, DiILpDINE, HAYNIE & YODER

November 14, 1977

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Opinions and Orders Below ................ siiadliuadthapsindscaonenactaiion 2

I i ll eee | 2

FEET et ENE LE I ON 2

ESI. SUCP o0eAs Eee REA TORS OR 3

I oo disteaabcaaseauiklie 3

ek Te I prehiiscittietiisdctcinnnsibidndabtirnains, 4

B. I&M’s Motion to Dismiss ..............0.00...0000000..... 5

©. FPPC ¥. Comamaay COOP. .......r.cceccccsvscscescscscscsessssccees. 6

D. Court of Appeals Decision ..........0.00.0.0..00000.... 8

Reasons for Granting the Writ .........0.00....00.000.0000000. 10

Point I—The decision below disregards the natural

implications of Conway and will encourage the

growing practice of filing dual claims of price

squeeze with both FPC and the district court...... 10

Point II—The decision below conflicts with the prin-

ciples of implied repeal of the antitrust laws set

forth in Silver v. New York Stock Exchange, 373

U.S. 341 (1963); Gordon v. New York Stock Ex-

change, 422 U.S. 659 (1975) ; and United States v.

National Association of Securities Dealers, Inc.,

a chemi 16

Point I1I—The decision below relies on an over-ex-

pansive reading of Cantor v. Detroit Edison Co.,

428 U.S. 579 (1976), as this Court’s opinion in

Bates v. State Bar of Arizona, —— U.S. »

97 S.Ct. 2691 (1977) demonstrates .......00000.............. 20

II

PAGE

Point IV—Judicial economy requires that FPC exer-

cise primary jurisdiction over price squeeze alle-

(FRIESE 9 elie ri ore costes ev OSes 24

APR IN SE ae 28

ERENCE SSK A EO re la

Text of Statutes Relied On 0... la

Federal Power Act §205, 16 U.S.C. §824d a

Federal Power Act §206(a), 16 U.S.C. (824e(a)... 3a

Sherman Act §2, 15 U.S.C. §2 0 oo0oooocooocococococeeococeccscees 4a

Clayton Act §4, 15 U.S.C. §15 ooo. 4a

Clayton Act §16, 15 U.S.C. §26 ooo. 5a

Order and Judgment of the Court of Appeals __... 6a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals 0.0... 7a

Order and Memorandum of the District Court,

race EIR vase 3la

Order of the District Court, October 22,1976... d4a

I a 55a

Amendment to the Complaint 63a

Iil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE

Cases:

Bates v. State Bar of Arizona, —— U.S. ——, 97 S.Ct.

2691 (1977) .........0..... "REA CRERE Weert? A oA L OER SDT eT OOTT 21

Bluefield Water Works & Improvement Co. v. Public

Service Commission, 262 U.S. 679 (1923) ............., 13, 23

Borough of Elwood v. Pennsylvania Power & Light

Co., Civil No. 77-1145 (W.D. Pa.) ................::::ccs00e 11-12

Boston Edison Co., FPC Op. No. 809, Docket Nos. E-

7738 and E-7784, 12 F.P.S. 5-577 (July 6,1977) ... 10

Cantor v. Detroit Edison Co., 428 U.S. 579 (1976) ....8, 9, 10,

20, 22

Carolina Power & Light Co., FPC Docket No. ER76-

495 (Phase II), Initial Decision of the Adminis-

trative Law Judge (Sept. 7, 1977) 0... 13, 27

Central Power & Light Co., FPC Order, Docket No.

ER77-514 (October 14, 1977) .................:.:ccscssssoees 11

Cities of Batavia v. FPC, 548 F.2d 1056 (D.C. Cir.

ads 0 acc sa eaasincee lot iaaceesiaopiansodiienininnie 24

Cities of Batavia v. Commonwealth Edison Co., Civil

I a cess veliepeteenoiiloe 11

Cities and Villages of Plymouth v. Wisconsin Power

& Light Co., Civil No. 770223 (W.D. Wis.) .......... 11

City of Groton v. Connecticut Light & Power Co., Civil

a ee ceinseansioniaiaes 11

City of Kirkwood v. Union Electric Co., Civil No. 77-

ID I FN ooo scnssccsccccoresisernnsenines ie itis 11

City of Newark v. DelMarVa Power & Light Co., Civil

Nee aaedaliaebildas 11

City of Shakopee v. Northern States Power Co., Civil

a acesaniles 11

Columbus & Southern Ohio Electric Co., FPC Order,

Aug. 26, 1977, Docket No. ER77-529, 42 Fed. Reg.

I CS hy BUD iccteiceiniesecsncechicededinssnitinetinin 11

IV

PAGE

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania v. State of West Vir-

ginia, 263 U.S. S68 (19Z3) ...................ccessesseresereeee. 14

Conneeticut Power & Light Co., FPC Op. No. 761-A,

Docket No. E-7743, 12 F.P. Ss. 5-746 (July 20,1977) 11

Dayton Power & Light Co., FPC Order, Docket No.

EXB76-887 (October 13, 1977) ...............cccccceseeseeeees 11

Federal Power Commission v. Conway Corp., 510 F.2d

1264 (D.C. Cir. 1975), aff’d 426 U.S. 271 (1976) .... 7

Federal Power Commission v. Conway Corp., 426 U.S.

tee all 2, 6, 8, 10, 12, passim

Federal Power Commission v. Natural Gas Pipeline

Co., 315 U.S. 575 (1942) oon ccceccecceeee cere 13

Federal Power Commission v. United Gas Pipe Line

Co., 393 U.S. 71 (1968) o.oo eeeeeeeees 29

Gordon v. New York Stock Exchange, 422 U.S. 659

EEE ECC Cae ee 12, 17, 28

Gulf Power Co., FPC Docket No. ER77- +: ye 11

Louisiana Power & Light Co., FPC Order, Aug. 26,

1977, Docket No. ER77-533, 42 Fed. Reg. 44583-

585 (Sept. 6, 1977) 0 eecccccccceceeeeees 11

Minnesota Power & Light Co., FPC | nn Docket

No. ER77-427 (Sept. 26, 1977) veorseovesesceseesse

Parker v. Brown, 317 U.S. 341 (1943) 0... 9, 20, 21

Pennsylvania Power & Light Co., FPC Docket No. E-

8927, Order Affirming Initial Decision (March 24,

SI dilintiivisissuiinonsivsgsiieseimssvessnasvnpencvepeumnemaiandhmibszsasmmen 27

Philadelphia Electric Co., FPC Order No. 791, Docket

Nos. E-7795 and E-7989, 11 F.P.S. 5-906 (April 6,

BID scssecscccsesorncssrssossoncsusescsersesserenvesncsesvecsonersevsessavenareede 11

Public Service Commission v. F.P.C., 487 F.2d 1043

(D.C. Cir. 1973)... | Coe 18

Vv

PAGE

Richmond Power & Light v. Indiana & Michigan Elec-

tric Co., Civil No. 8 77-173 (N.D. Ind.) .................. 11

Silver v. New York Stock Exchange, 373 U.S. 341

I even sccisinicsuoesersesenscdammaameaaieaaae 16, 17, 28

Town of Norwood v. Boston Edison Co., Civil No. 74-

GEG CO TID ceceivccsscstincievscvtttsasntenmnananainns 11

Towns of Concord v. Boston Edison Co., Civil No. 76-

GED CRA TRIS « necsveisssessssissetsrcesvninscainiicaiaaennan 11

Union Electric Co., FPC Order, October 25, 1977,

Docket No. ER77-614, 42 Fed. Reg. 57515-516

Cae, BBG De . snsesvtsssscscrisercsnisittiensesenmencsiadahatmaan 11

United States v. National Association of Securities

Dealers, Inc., 422 U.S. 694 (1975) oo... 18, 28

United States v. Philadelphia National Bank, 374 U.S.

SE. GE schescaccvnitsictimnsiccseieecsmseiaiiaeeaan 18

Statutes and Regulations:

Sherman Act §2, 15 U.S.C. §2 0000... cceeteeeteeeeteees 3, 4

Clayton Act §4, 15 U.S.C. §15 oo... cccecceeeeseeeeteeeee 3

Clayton Act §16, 15 U.S.C. §26 20000. 3

Federal Power Act §205, 16 U.S.C. §824d - OER 25. 3, 23

Federal Power Act §206, 16 U.S.C. §824e ...................... 3, 23

Federal Power Act §313, 16 U.S.C. §825/ 2.0000... 6, 15

OD WB, GD vccscccctncirecccncininescictntescteanniadataiaens 2

St 1. C= EERE Eeee Remsen nin ne > 6

18 O.F.B. $35.13(b) (1) (1977) ...........ccccccsecsessscsssesseesees 26

Burns Ind. Stat. Ann., Title 8, §8-1-1-5 oo. 22

Mich. Stat. Ann., Title 22, §22.13(6) .................. headiamee 22

Miscellaneous Material:

FPC Order No. 563, issued March 21, 1977, 42 Fed.

Reg. 16131 (March 25, 1977), rehearing denied,

May 20, 1977, 42 Fed. Reg. 27574 (May 31,1977) 27

\

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1977

No.

rr

INDIANA & MICHIGAN ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Petitioner,

v.

CITY OF MISHAWAKA, INDIANA,

CITY OF NILES, MICHIGAN,

CITY OF COLUMBIA CITY, INDIANA,

CITY OF BLUFFTON, INDIANA,

CITY OF GARRETT, INDIANA,

CITY OF GAS CITY, INDIANA,

TOWN OF FRANKTON, INDIANA,

TOWN OF WARREN, INDIANA,

TOWN OF NEW CARLISLE, INDIANA, and

TOWN OF AVILLA, INDIANA,

municipal corporations,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner, Indiana & Michigan Electric Company, re-

spectfully prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review

the order and judgment and the opinion of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, entered

in this preceeding on August 16, 1977.

bo

Opinions and Orders Below

The order and judgment and the opinion of the Court

of Appeals, not yet officially reported, are reproduced in the

Appendix’ at 6a and 7a, respectively ; its opinion appears at

1977-2 CCH Trade Cas. §61,587. The May 1, 1975 order

and opinion of the district court, not officially reported, are

reproduced at 3le; its opinion appears at 1975-1 CCH

Trade Cas. {60,318 and at 18 P.U.R. 4th 175. The Octo-

ber 22, 1976 order of the district court, not otherwise re-

ported, is reproduced at 54a.

Jurisdiction

The order and judgment and the opinion (6a and 7a,

respectively) of the Court of Appeals were entered on

August 16, 1977. This petition for a writ of certiorari is

filed within 90 days of that date. This Court’s jurisdiction

is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

Questions Presented

Whether the United States Court of Appeals for the

Seventh Circuit erred in deciding that this Court’s de-

cision in Federal Power Commission v. Conway Corp., 426

U.S. 271 (1976), holding as it does:

1. that the Federal Power Commission has juris-

diction to consider allegations of an anticompetitive

‘price squeeze’’; and

2. that the Federal Power Commission must con-

sider allegations of an anticompetitive ‘price squeeze’’

in setting wholesale electric rates;

1. Citations with the suffix “a” are to the Appendix hereto.

3

does not vest in the Federal Power Commission? exclusive

or, alternatively, primary jurisdiction to hear and rule

upon plaintiffs’ ‘‘price squeeze’’ allegations.

Statutes Involved

This petition involves issues which require an accom-

modation between Sections 205 and 206(a) of the Federal

Power Act, on the one hand, and Section 2 of the Sherman

Act and Sections 4 and 16 of the Clayton Act, on the other

hand. These statutes are set out in the Appendix hereto

at la through 5a.

Statement of the Case

The jurisdiction of the district court was invoked by a

Complaint which purports to raise alleged violations of

the Sherman Act, §2, 15 U.S.C. §2, and of the Clayton Act,

§§4 and 16, 15 U.S.C., §§15 and 26 (1970). At issue on

this petition is whether or not there is an implied repeal

of antitrust jurisdiction in a district court, such repeal

being predicated upon the determination by this Court that

a regulatory agency must accept and exercise jurisdiction

over the identical allegations of specific antitrust violations

_ On October 1, 1977, pursuant to the provisions of the Depart-

wil of Energy Deseiadion Act, Public Law 95-91, 91 Stat. 565

(August 4, 1977) and Executive Order No. 12009, 42 Fed. Reg.

46267 (September 13, 1977), the Federal Power Commission ceased

to exist and its functions and regulatory responsibilities were trans-

ferred to the Secretary of Energy and the Federal Energy Regulatory

Commission which, as an independent commission within the Depart-

ment of Energy, was activated on October 1, 1977. We have, for

purposes of convenience, used the designation FPC” herein wherever

it is intended to re‘ cr to either the Federal Power Commission or the

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.

4

in a regulated industry which are presented for determina-

tion by the Complaint filed in a district court.

Indiana & Michigan Electric Company (‘‘I&M’’) is an

electric utility engaged in the generation, transmission and

distribution of electric energy for sale both at retail and

at wholesale for resale. This antitrust action was com-

menced on March 25, 1974 in the United States District

Court for the Northern District of Indiana, South Bend

Division, against 1&M by ten of its municipal wholesale-

for-resale customers, which are located in the States of

Indiana and Michigan (‘‘ Municipalities’’).®

Municipalities instituted this action during the pendency

of lengthy proceedings before FPC, and the Complaint and

the Amendment to the Complaint allege matters which were

and which, in part, are still the subject of proceedings be-

fore FPC. In addition, the Complaint alleges matters which

were, and are, subject to the }urisdiction of the Public Serv-

ice Commissions ef Indiana and Michigan (‘‘Indiana Com-

mission’’ and ‘‘ Michigan Commission,’’ respectively).

A. The Complaint

The Complaint seeks declaratory and injunctive relief

and treble damages for alleged violations of Section 2 of the

Sherman Act. 61a. The Complaint alleges that I&M mo-

nopolized and attempted to monopolize interstate trade and

commerce in the retail distribution and sale of clectric

power. Specifically, it is charged that I&M sought to elim-

inate Municipalities as competitors in the sale of electric

3. I&M has other wholesale-for-resale customers—municipalities,

rural electric cooperatives and investor-owned utilities—which are not

plaintiffs here.

5

power at retail by creating a difference, i.e., a ‘‘price

squeeze,’’ between (a) the wholesale price I&M charges

Municipalities for the sale of electric power and (b) the

retail price I&M charges its direct industrial customers for

electric power.* 58a-60a.

Municipalities allege that the price squeeze prevents

them from competing effectively with I&M for industrial

customers. The Complaint charges that the price squeeze

is reflected in a rate increase made effective by FPC, sub-

ject to refund, on January 13, 1973, which affected the rates

charged Municipalities by I&M. 58a-59a. On May 28, 1976,

I&M made a further filing with FPC for an increase in its

wholesale rates to Municipalities, and an Amendment to the

Complaint alleges that a further price squeeze was created

when that increase became effective, subject to refund, on

July 27, 1976. 63a-64a.°

B. I1&M’s Motion to Dismiss

On May 1, 1974, I&M moved the district court to dismiss

or, in the alternative, to stay the instant proceedings. On

May 1, 1975, the district court, per District Judge Grant,

issued an Order and Memorandum denying I&M’s motion.

dla.

4. I&M has approximately 31 retail Tariffs on file with the Indi-

ana Commission, five of which I&M would concede are industrial

Tariffs ; I&M likewise has approximately 14 retail Tariffs on file with

the Michigan Commission, two of which I&M would concede are

industrial Tariffs. The complaint does not specify which of I&M’s

retail Tariffs create the alleged price squeeze.

5. I&M’s answer to the Complaint was served on June 27, 1975

and I&M’s answer to the amendment of the Complaint was served on

November 5, 1976.

6

On May 12, 1975, I&M filed a motion to reconsider,

vacate, set aside and amend the district court’s May 1, 1975

Order, and to certify for appellate review, pursuant to 28

U.S.C. §1292(b), the questions of law which are raised in

this Petition. On October 22, 1976, District Judge Sharp

adhered to District Judge Grant’s May 1, 1975 Order and

Memorandum, but certified the issue to the United States

Court of Appeals of the Seventh Circuit. 54a. The Court

of Appeals thereafter accepted the certification.

C. FPC v. Conway Corp.

In the early stages of the proceedings before FPC in-

volving I&M’s June 13, 1972 filing for upward revisions in

its wholesale rates (FPC Docket No. E-7740), FPC ruled,

in an Order issued November 27, 1973 and affirmed on

rehearing on January 17, 1974, that the claim of Municipal-

ities, among others, of a wholesale-retail price squeeze

would not be considered in the pending proceeding.® On

March 7, 1974, Municipalities, among others, filed a Petition

for Review, pursuant to Section 313 of the Federal Power

Act with the United States Court of Appeals for the Dis-

trict of Columbia Circuit to review FPC’s Orders of No-

vember 27, 1973 and January 17, 1974 and three weeks

later, on March 28, 1974 the Complaint herein was filed with

the district court.

On June 7, 1976, this Court issued its decision in Fed-

eral Power Commission v. Conway Corp., 426 U.S. 271

6. On January 31, 1974, the Presiding Administrative Law Judge

assigned to FPC Docket No. E-7740 granted an FPC Staff Counsel’s

motion to eliminate all price squeeze testimony and exhibits from FPC

Docket No. E-7740.

7

(1976), holding that FPC has jurisdiction, which it must

exercise, to consider allegations of an anticompetitive price

squeeze in setting wholesale electric rates. All parties

recognize the impact of Conway on the issues in this action.”

Following this Court’s decision in Conway, Municipalities

and the other members of the Indiana and Michigan

Municipal Distributors Association (‘‘IMMDA’’)® re-

quested FPC to ‘‘confess error’’ before the District of

Columbia Court of Appeals for FPC’s prior refusal to con-

sider IMMDA’s price squeeze allegations in connection

with IMMDA’s challenge to I&M’s 1972 rate increase filing.

In August, 1976, a suecessor FPC Presiding Administra-

tive Law Judge ruled on the issues involving I&M’s 1972

rate increase filing, and, among other things, he recom-

mended that the price squeeze issues raised by Municipal-

ities through IMMDA be resolved by FPC in further pro-

ceedings.°

7. 1&M’s motion for reconsideration of District Judge Grant's

Order and Memorandum of May 1, 1975 was predicated upon the

Court of Appeals decision in Conway, 510 F.2d 1264 (D.C. Cir. 1975),

subsequently affirmed by this Court.

8. IMMDA is an ad hoc association of twelve of I&M’s municipal

wholesale-for-resale customers, ten of which are the plaintiffs here.

9. Initial Decision, issued August 19, 1976 in FPC Docket No.

E-7740. Issues raised in Docket No. E-7740 were the subject of an

Agreement of Settlement and Compromise entered inio between

IMMDA and I&M, and that Agreement was approved by FPC in its

Order issued June 1, 1977. Municipalities contended before the

Court of Appeals that that Agreement did not bear upon their ability

to prosecute antitrust claims arising out of I&M’s 1972 rate filing,

and the Court of Appeals has directed the district court to determine

whether that Agreement has mooted any of the antitrust claims in

this case. As the Court of Appeals has noted, however, the claims

premised upon 1&M’s Juiy 27, 1976 wholesale rate filing with the FPC

are still “active.” 30a.

8

D. Court of Appeals Decision

In its opinion dated August 16, 1977, the Court of Ap-

peals affirmed both the May 1, 1975 and October 22, 1976

orders of the district court and held that FPC’s jurisdic-

tion, under Conway, to hear and determine price squeeze

allegations is neither exclusive nor primary, and that the

district court may proceed to determine the antitrust al-

legations raised in this action.

The Court of Appeals ruled that FPC’s price squeeze

jurisdiction is not exclusive because its remedial powers

are not coextensive with those of the district court. Rely-

ing upon this Court’s observation in Conway, that FPC’s

power to remedy an anticompetitive price squeeze is limited

to a wholesale rate adjustment ‘‘at the very least’’ to the

lower range of the zone of reasonableness for the recovery

of fully allocated costs (426 U.S. at 279), the Court of

Appeals found that the powers of the district court, includ-

ing the power to grant treble damages and injunctive relief,

are required to supplement those of FPC. 14a-16a, 20a,

26a. Thus, the decision below turned on an erroneous as-

sumption that exclusive jurisdiction in a regulatory agency

can only be found when it has remedial powers that are co-

extensive with the remedial powers of a district court.

Moreover, the Court of Appeals erroneously analyzed

this Court’s decision in Cantor v. Detroit Edison Co., 428

U.S. 579 (1976), which held that that utility’s light bulb ex-

change program was not exempted from the federal anti-

trust laws by virtue of that program’s inclusion in a rate

tariff filed with, and approved by, a State public service

9

commission. Applying the language of Cantor to the in-

stant case, the Court of Appeals ruled that ‘‘[t]he state

utility commissions have only put the imprimatur of their

sanction on the retail rates charged by the defendant’’

(17a), and that the state action’® exception to the federal

antitrust laws was therefore inapplicable.

The decision below declared that FPC’s regulatory

process would not be disturbed by an award of damages for

past anticompetitive conduct or by a district court injuns-

tion regulating I&M’s conduct ‘‘in making and promoting

its rate applications’’ prior to their submission to varie’

regulatory agencies. Any conflict between deterininat*«

in the district court and FPC would be avoided, the Couir

of Appeals held, because ‘‘the district court would presum-

ably order [I&M] to file a new wholesale rate application

that would remove the disparity between the rates charged

plaintiffs and defendant’s industrial customers.’’ 26a.

The Court below therefore held that FPC’s jurisdiction to

hear and determine price squeeze claims is not exclusive

and, therefore does not oust the district court of its juris-

diction, under the federal antitrust laws, to determine the

same claims.

Further, the Court of Appeals rejected I&M’s argu-

ments that FPC’s jurisdiction to hear and determine price

squeeze claims is at least primary and that the district

court proceedings should be stayed pending a determina-

tion by FPC.

10. Parker v. Brown, 317 U.S. 341 (1943)

10

Reasons for Granting the Writ

The argument that follows demonstrates that the Court

of Appeals decision has so far departed from the accepted

and usual course of judicial proceedings and has so far

sanctioned such a departure by the district courts, as to

call for an exercise of this Court’s power of supervision.

The decision of the Court of Appeals will disrupt the or-

derly regulatory process because (1) the decision below

will encourage the growing practice of filing dual price

squeeze claims with FPC and with the district courts; (2)

the ruling of the court below directly conflicts with the

principles of antitrust repealer set forth in decisions of

this Court; (3) the decision below relies upon an over-

expansive reading of this Court’s ruling in Cantor; and

(4) judicial economy requires that FPC exercise primary

jurisdiction, at least, over price squeeze claims.

POINT I

The decision below disregards the natural implica-

tions of Conway and will encourage the growing prac-

tice of filing dual claims of price squeeze with both

FPC and the district court.

This Court’s decision in Conway directs FPC to resolve

claims of an anticompetitive price squeeze arising from

differing wholesale and retail rates, and to alleviate any

anticompetitive price squeeze found to exist to the extent

of its jurisdiction. Numerous price squeeze claims of the

kind at issue herein have been filed with FPC. E.g., Bos-

ton Edison Co., FPC Op. No. 809, Docket Nos. E-7738 and

11

E-7784, 12 F.P.S. 5-577 (July 6, 1977) ; Connecticut Power

dé Light Co., FPC Op. No. 761-A, Docket No. E-7743, 12

F.P.S. 5-746 (July 20, 1977); Dayton Power & Light Co.,

FPC Order, Docket No. ER76-887 (October 13, 1977);

Minnesota Power & Light Co., FPC Ruling, Docket No.

ER77-427 (Sept. 26, 1977); Central Power & Light Co.,

FPC Order, Docket No. ER77-514 (October 14, 1977) ; Gulf

Power Co., FPC Docket No. ER77-532; Lowisiana Power

& Light Co., FPC Order, Aug. 26, 1977, Docket No. ER77-

533, 42 Fed. Reg. 44583-585 (Sept. 6, 1977) ; Columbus &

Southern Ohio Electric Co., FPC Order, Aug. 26, 1977,

Docket No. ER77-529, 42 Fed. Reg. 44026-027 (Sept. 1,

1977); Union Electric Co., FPC Order, October 25, 1977,

Docket No. ER77-614, 42 Fed. Reg. 57515-516 (Nov. 3,

1977). See also Philadelphia Electric Co., FPC Order No.

791, Docket Nos. E-7795 and E-7989, 11 F.P.S. 5-906 (April

6, 1977) (reverse price squeeze asserted by utility). Simi-

larly, numerous price squeeze claims of the kind at issue

herein have been filed in the district courts across the coun-

try. E.g., Cities of Batavia v. Commonwealth Edison Co.,

Civil No. 76 C 4388 (N.D. Ill.) ; City of Newark v. DelMar-

Va Power & Light Co., Civil No. 77-234 (D. Del.) ; City of

Shakopee v. Northern States Power Co., Civil No. atin

(D. Minn.) ; City of Kirkwood v. Umon Electric Co., Civil

No. 77-0947-C(2) (E.D. Mo.) ; Town of Norwood v. Boston

Edison Co., Civil No. 74-4104T (D. Mass.) ; City of Groton

v. Connecticut Light & Power Co., Civil No. 15609 (D.

Conn.) ; Towns of Concord v. Boston Edison Co., Civil No.

76-4556 (D. Mass.) ; Richmond Power & Light vy. Indiana &

Michigan Electric Co., Civil No. S 77-173 (N.D. Ind.) ;

Cities and Villages of Plymouth v. Wisconsin Power &

Light Co., Civil No. 770223 (W.D. Wis.) ; Borough of El-

12

wood v. Pennsylvania Power & Light Co., Civil No. 77-1145

(W.D. Pa.).™

The Court of Appeals’ decision encourages the practice

of dual proceedings, administrative and judicial, and re-

quires the federal courts to hear and determine the same

issues that are being heard and determined by FPC. While

a district court’s determination in a price squeeze case

might appear to have the virtue of operating upon whole-

sale and retail rates, it has the concomitant and fatal dis-

advantage of interfering with all levels of the rate-making

process previously entrusted to FPC and to the State com-

missions. A second regulatory system for wholesale and

retail rate-making is thus being created in the federal

courts, whose background in the field does not commend

them to be preferred over the natural and specially chosen

regulatory agencies, federal and State.

I&M does not believe that this Court entertained and

decided the Conway case, mandating FPC to exercise its

jurisdiction to resolve antitrust price squeeze allegations

in the electric utility industry, in the expectation that the

district courts would coxduct parallel proceedings on pre-

cisely the same issue. The orderly distribution of juris-

diction, related both to convenience and natural compe-

tency, contemplated by Conway, is disrupted by the invi-

tation to multiple proceedings which is inherent in the

decision below. The logical corollary to this Court’s hold-

ing in Conway is that the district court is not expected to

exercise jurisdiction over the identical subject matter, since

existence of district court jurisdiction over these issues

would have obviated any necessity for this Court to re-

11. Clearly, the liminal jurisdiction issues raised by this petition,

and directly involved in each of the cited cases, can and should be

resolved at the outset of the litigation. Gordon v. New York Stock

Exchange, 422 U.S. 659, 686 (1975).

13

quire FPC, with its jurisdictionally limited ability to pro-

vide a remedy, to hear them as well.

The Court of Appeals indicates that the district court

is a necessary forum for allegations of anticompetitive

price squeezes because, under Conway, FPC’s ability to

remedy the squeeze is limited, ‘‘at the very least,’’ to the

setting of the wholesale rate in the lower range of the zone

of reasonableness. 14a-16a. That power may indeed be

quite sufficient. See Carolina Power & Light Co., FPC

Docket No. ER76-495 (Phase II), Initial Decision of the

Administrative Law Judge at 82 (Sept. 7, 1977). The

right course would seem to be to allow FPC to exercise

its jurisdiction as this Court has required, without pro-

ceeding on the assumption that it will administer relief

improperly and require a district court to be constantly

looking over its shoulder. Should FPC fail in its duty,

there is an obvious remedy without need for a perennial

monitor, for a rate set below the zone of reasonableness

would be confiscatory and therefore unconstitutional.

Federal Power Commission v. Natural Gas Pipeline Co., 315

U.S. 575, 585 (1942); Bluefield Water Works & Improve-

ment Co. v. Public Service Commission, 262 U.S. 679

(1923) ; Public Service Commission v. F'.P.C., 487 F.2d 1043,

1092 (D.C. Cir. 1973).

The Court of Appeals’ rationale for rejecting the prin-

ciple of exclusive jurisdiction in FPC is that its remedial

power is limited by Conway to its jurisdictional power to

set rates within the zone of reasonableness. However, a

wholesale rate level set below the zone of reasonableness

would be confiscatory and therefore unconstitutional

14

whether imposed by FPC or by the district court. Thus

any district court injunction affecting I&M’s rate submis-

sions to FPC and to the State Commissions would have to

consider the justness and reasonableness of the rate, in-

cluding the rate of return, a concept reflecting the public

interest in the financial soundness of essential private util-

ities, as well as all of the other public interest considera-

tions that animate the administration of the Federal Power

Act and the several State public utility regulatory stat-

utes. Under the procedure envisioned by the Court of

Appeals below, the district courts would be conducting

parallel and duplicative reviews of I&M’s submissions to

FPC and to the Indiana and Michigan Commissions, and

the district courts would have the power and obligation to

make parallel determinations in matters of regulatory

mechanics that have been delegated to administrative

agencies.

In Commonwealth of Pennsylvania v. State of West

Virginia, 262 U.S. 553 (1923), Justice Brandeis, in dissent,

viewed as unacceptable the assumption by this Court, and

impliedly by the federal court system, of suits requiring

the exercise of regulatory judgments in an area of com-

merce over which the Commission would later exercise

jurisdiction:

**Clearly, this Court could not undertake such de-

terminations. To make equitable distribution [of gas]

would be a task of such complexity and difficulty that

even an interstate public service commission with broad

powers, perfected administrative machinery, ample re-

sources, practical experience and no other duties, might

fail to perform it satisfactorily. As this Court would

be powerless to frame a deeree and provide machinery

15

by means of which such equitable distribution of the

available supply could be effected, it should, according

to settled practice, refuse to entertain the suits. Com-

pare Marble Co. v. Ripley, 10 Wall. 339, 358; Texas &

Pacific Ry. Co. v. Marshall, 136 U.S. 393, 406; Giles v.

Harris, 189 U.S. 475, 487, 488.’’ 262 U.S. at 623.

The duplication of judicial administrative effort would,

of course, have its counterpart in parallel and duplicative

review mechanisms. If FPC concludes that I&M’s whole-

sale rate is ‘‘just and reasonable’’ and that it does not

create an anticompetitive price squeeze, the appropriate

judicial forum for reconsideration of FPC’s determination,

as provided by statute, would be the court of appeals em-

powered to review FPC’s decisions under Section 313 of

the Federal Power Act, 16 U.S.C. §825/ (1971). If the dis-

trict court is not required to dismiss this action, as IGM

contends it is, or does not choose to stay this action for any

reason, the appellate procedure available in antitrust cases

would result in the delivery of a second complete record,

incorporating perhaps inconsistent findings of fact, to a

second court of appeals. One court of appeals might sit

in review of the district court’s action while another sits in

review of FPC proceedings; alternatively, a single court of

appeals might sit in review of two determinations on the

same issue, based upon two separate records, and would be

governed by disparate standards of review. In neither

event would judicial economy be served; inevitably there

would be duplication of effort on the part of courts, liti-

gants and witnesses. The danger of conflicting results is

patent.

16

POINT II

The decision below conflicts with the principles of

implied repeal of the antitrust laws set forth in Silver

v. New York Stock Exchange, 373 U.S. 341 (1963);

Gordon v. New_York Stock Exchange, 422 U.S. 659

(1975), and United States v. National Association of

Securities Dealers, Inc., 422 U.S. 694 (1975).

The Court of Appeals’ decision virtually assures that

complex issues of ratemaking will be made su}ject to con-

flicting and duplicative fact-finding and review and creates

a grave potential for irreconcilable collision between regu-

latory and judicial resolutions of price squeeze allegations

involving the electric utility industry. <A line of decisions

issued by this Court, and not followed by the Court of Ap-

peals, avoids just such conflict and duplication. This Court

should grant review to consider that, if as we believe, this

line of decisions is clearly applicable, the Court of Appeals

erred in not applying it.

In Silver v. New York Stock Exchange, 373 U.S. 341

(1963), this Court upheld application of the antitrust laws

to the Exchange’s act of severing plaintiff’s private tele-

phone wire connections with the Exchange’s member firms,

on the ground that the Exchange’s rule authorizing such an

act, while sanctioned by the Securities and Exchange Coni-

mission (‘‘SEC’’), was nevertheless not subject to SEC

jurisdiction with respect to the particular applications of

the Exchange’s rule. 373 U.S. at 357. The Court found no

implied repeal of the federal antitrust laws in Silver be-

cause the facts presented and the claims asserted did not

12. A Petition for a Writ of Certiorari was filed on September 8,

1977, in American Telephone & Telegraph Co. vy. United States,

Docket No. 77-372, which raises similar issues arising under different

procedural circumstances.

17

involve ‘‘any problem of conflict or coextensiveness of cov-

erage with the agency’s regulatory power.’’ 373 U.S. at

358. The Court noted, however, that a ‘‘different case’’

would have arisen if there had been SEC ‘‘jurisdiction and

ensuing judicial review for scrutiny of a particular ex-

change ruling.’’ 373 U.S. at 358 n.12.

The instant action presents such a ‘‘different case’’ be-

cause I&M’s rates are subject to searching review before

FPC and the State regulatory agencies. In that sense, it

presents the identical legal issue decided by this Court in

Gordon v. New York Stock Exchange, 422 U.S. 659 (1975).

There, the very conflict held absent in Silver was found to

exist, beceuse of the SEC’s power over fixed rates on bro-

kerage commissions and the district court’s jurisdiction

over the antitrust implications of those rates. In Gordon,

this Court found it critical that the SEC’s power was not

limited to approval or disapproval of the Exchange’s com-

mission rates and that the SEC ‘‘was permitted to require

alteration or supplementation of the rules and practices’’

where necessary. 422 U.S. at 685. Distinguishing Silver,

this Court noted that ‘‘there was no governmental oversight

of the exchange’s self-regulatory action’’ in that case, ‘‘and

no method of insuring that some attention at least was

given to the public interest in competition.’’ 422 U.S. at

684. The principles enunciated in Gordon, where the anti-

trust laws were held inapplicable to the rate because it was

subject to change by the regulatory authority (that is, be-

cause the SEC had a species of rate-making authority), are

applicable to the instant case. Here, pervasive rate-mak-

ing authority is vested in FPC and in the State regulatory

agencies, and F'PC is mandated, under Conway, to consider

the public interest in competition in setting the wholesale

rates paid by the Municipalities.

18

On the same day this Court decided Gordon, it also

ruled, in United States v. National Association of Securities

Dealers, Inc., 422 U.S. 694 (1975), that the SEC’s regula-

tory authority ‘‘displaces’’ the federal antitrust laws with

respect to fixed resale prices of mutual fund shares in see-

ondary market transactions. Even though the SEC had

never formulated any rule or regulation governing such

transactions, an implied repeal of the antitrust laws was

nevertheless held to exist by reason of the statutory au-

thority for mutual funds to impose the challenged restriec-

tions, provided, inter alia, that they did not conflict with

any SEC rule or regulation. This Court deduced the in-

tention of Congress to effect an implied repeal of the anti-

trust laws from the ‘‘substantial danger that appellees

would [otherwise] be subjected to duplicative and incon-

sistent standards.’’ 426 U.S. at 735. Thus the power of

the regulatory body to make rules and regulations, even

where that power had not been exercised, was sufficient to

create that ‘‘plain repugnancy’’ between the regulatory

scheme and the application of the antitrust laws required

to cifect an implied antitrust immunity, as earlier held in

United States v. Philadelphia National Bank, 374 U.S. 321,

351 (1963).

The Court of Appeals decision herein purports to avoid

the problem of conflict between regulatory and judicial

powers by noting that the district court could remedy an

alleged price squeeze by an injunction bearing upon the

formulation by I&M of its rate filings prior to their sub-

mission to FPC and to the State commissions. The district

court thus is encouraged to influence the outcome of the

various rate-making procedures by bringing its power to

19

bear upon the filings themselves prior to any regulatory

consideration of them. This formulation effectively stands

orderly administrative procedure for rate-making on its

head.

This Court stated in Conway that FPC has remedial

power ‘‘at the very least’’ to reduce 1&M’s wholesale rates

to the lower reaches of the ‘‘zone of reasonableness.’’ 426

U.S. at 279. The Court of Appeals decision below rests

heavily upon FPC’s inability fully to alleviate a price

squeeze between the wholesale and retail price structures,

irrespective of the zone of reasonableness for wholesale

rates. I&M submits that the limitation on FPC’s remedial

power embodied in Conway springs from the lively aware-

ness that an anticompetitive price squeeze is only one of

the myriad considerations to be taken into account by FPC

in a wholesale rate case and that its determination must

serve a complex set of competing public interests. These

competing interests cannot be sidestepped’or ignored by the

Court of Appeals’ expedient of endowing the district court

with its own supervisory powers over rate-making.

In Conway, this Court refrained from directing FPC to

sacrifice any and all other considerations to the alleviation

of an anticompetitive price squeeze. However, if electric

utilities are to be made subject to district court mandates

with respect to the formulation of their rate filings, the

federal courts will have rendered antitrust considerations

paramount to all other public interests served by rate-mak-

ing procedures. The Court of Appeals’ decision below ef-

fectively restricts FPC’s necessary flexibility in rate-mak-

ing by asserting district court jurisdiction over rate filings

prior to their submission to the appropriate regulatory

agency.

20

The Court of Appeals recognized that any clear repug-

nancy between the regulatory and judicial powers would

effect a repealer of the antitrust laws. Its decision there-

fore emphasized its view that there would be no conflict

between a district court injunction affecting the formula-

tion of I&M’s submissions, prior to filing, and whatever

rate order ultimately issued from FPC. The danger in-

herent in and created by that analysis, however, is that the

district court would render FPC helpless to set a higher

rate than the rate required to be submitted to FPC under

the district court mandate, even where a higher rate would

be necessary not only to provide a rate of return sufficient

to ensure the financial soundness and integrity of the public

utility, but also to assure that the rates themselves are not

confiscatory. Thus, although conflict in terms between the

regulatory and judicial determinations might appear to be

avoided, a clear repugnancy remains. This certainly exalts

furm over substance.

POINT III

The decision below relies on an over-expansive

reading of Cantor v. Detroit Edison Co., 428 U.S. 579

(1976), as this Court’s opinion in Bates v. State Bar of

Arizona, U.S. , 97 S.Ct. 2691 (1977) dem-

onstrates.

Orderly rate making procedures for the electric utility

industry have been imperiled by the Court of Appeals’ over-

expansive reading of Cantor v. Detroit Edison Co., 428 U.S.

079 (1976). In Cantor, this Court declined to apply the

Parker v. Brown exception to the antitrust laws with re-

spect to Detroit Edison’s policy of distributing free light

13. 317 U.S. 341 (1943).

21

bulbs. Despite the approval by the State utility commis-

sion of a tariff including-such a program, this Court noted

that the ‘‘option to have .. . such a program’”’ belonged

primarily to the utility. 428 U.S. at 594. The Court of

Appeals in its decision below has imperiled the rate-mak-

ing machinery by applying that rationale to I&M’s rate

applications in their totality; i.c., the Court of Appeals

ruled that a utility has the ‘‘option’’ of creating or not

creating a price squeeze at the time it formulates its rate

filings, and that no State has an ‘‘interest’’ in maintaining

a price squeeze.

Cantor held, as this Court has said in Bates v. State

Bar of Arizona, U.S. ——, 97 S.Ct. 2691 (1977), that

the Parker v. Brown exception is inapplicable to particular

programs or activities in which the ‘‘market’’ affected is

one in which the state has no ‘‘independent regulatory in-

terest.’’? The Parker v. Brown exception was thus unavail-

able in Cantor because the ‘‘State had no independent reg-

ulatory interest in the market for light bulbs.’’ Bates at

2697. However, the market affected by the type of order

envisioned by the Court of Appeals here is no less than the

retail market for the generation and distribution of electric

power, in which the states have a powerful regulatory in-

terest and over which they exercise and have legislated per-

vasive regulation.

The Court of Appeals has misconstrued the Cantor test

by looking to the ‘‘challenged activity’? rather than to the

market in which that activity takes place. The opinion

below suggests that the States have no interest in perpe-

tuating the challenged activity, ie., the alleged price

squeeze (17a), and has thus opened the entire field of rate-

22

making to district court supervision. The Court of Ap-

peals’ analysis improperly sidesteps any evaluation of the

States’ interests in the market affected, i.e., the sale of

electric power, even though that inquiry is critical to any

application of the Cantor principle.

The indiscriminate breadth of the Court of Appeals’

reading of Cantor is demonstrated by a comparison of the

relative impact of the rulings in Cantor and in the instant

case upon rate-making regulatory procedure. Under Can-

tor, the district court may direct the utility to remove from

its retail electric rate tariff a single discrete item whose

market is not subject to any pervasive regulatory scheme

and in the market for which the state has no ‘‘independent

regulatory interest’’; in the instant case, the district court

is given supervision over wholesale and retail tariffs for

electric power, a supervision which embraces the mechanics

of formulating the tariffs, the appropriateness of their in-

dividual elements, the fairness of the individual tariffs and

the interrelationship of different rates set by different reg-

ulatory jurisdictions.

The States of Indiana and Michigan have manifested

their interest in electric utility rate-making by implement-

ing pervasive administrative procedures for its regulation.

The Court of Appeals declared below that the Indiana and

Michigan Commissions ‘‘have only put the imprimatur of

their sanction on the retail rates charged by the defendant’”’

(17a); however, the Indiana and Michigan Commissions

function under broad grants of statutory authority: Burns

Ind. Stat. Ann., Title 8, §8-1-1-5 (1973); Mich. Stat. Ann.,

Title 22, §22.13(6) (1970). Although I&M’s retail electric

rates originated in the form of requests by I&M for rate

23

charges, they have emerged from the respective State com-

missions, after notice and adversary proceedings, as prod-

ucts of those commissions.'"* The Complaint herein does

not and could scarcely allege otherwise. It has been settled

for over half a century that

‘‘[t]he prescribing of rates is a legislative act. The

[Public Service Commission of West Virginia] isan

instrumentality of the State, exercising delegated pow-

ers. Its order is of the same force as would be a like

enactment by the legislature.’’ Bluefield Water Works

& Improvement Co. v. Public Service Commission, 262

U.S. 679, 683 (1923).

Similarly, FPC, as an instrumentality of Congress, pos-

sesses and exercises vast discretionary power over whole-

sale tariffs. Federal Power Act, §§205 and 206.

The grant of parallel regulatory power in the district

court to govern the relationship between the several retail

and wholesale rate structures, to issue findings of fact with

respect to each and to regulate by injunction the initial

submissions in their totality, raises a likelihood of conflict

between regulatory and judicial functions. The unseem-

liness of a struggle for priority and public acceptance con-

ducted by separate regulatory bodies over the same battle-

ground is evident and could be avoided by a proper reading

and appreciation of this Court’s decisions. The economic

and judicial waste inherent in such duplicative procedures

is no less disturbing.

14. As a matter of public record, I&M’s 1976 filing for a retail

rate increase of approximately $75 million from the Indiana Commis-

sion resulted in an order from that Commission granting an increase

of only about $41 million. While the factual allegations contained in

the Complaint are deemed to be true in the motion which is the sub-

ject of this petition, the Complaint nowhere indicates whether the

charge of a predatory retail rate is based upon I&M’s submissions to

the State commissions, or upon the orders of the State commissions.

POINT IV

Judicial economy requires that FPC exercise pri-

mary jurisdiction over price squeeze allegations.

The Court of Appeals also declined to rule that FPC

has primary jurisdiction over anticompetitive price squeeze

allegations, adding that this antitrust action could be held

in abeyance at some later time if deference to FPC would

avoid a ‘‘significant inconsistency’’ that would be ‘‘certain

to arise’’ between the judicial and regulatory proceedings.

23a. I&M submits that the Court of Appeals’ denial to

FPC of at least primary jurisdiction was error, particu-

larly since the chief justification offered by the Court of

Appeals for the conduct of parallel judicial and regulatory

proceedings was the superior remedial power of the district

court.

FPC is uniquely qualified by its expertise to render

determinations with respect to the threshold question of

whether or not an anticompetitive price squeeze exists. As

previously noted, that issue raises singularly complex ques-

tions involving numerous technical variables. In Cities of

Batavia v. FPC, 548 F.2d 1056 (D.C. Cir. 1977), decided

after Conway, the court vacated a pre-Conway FPC order™

declining to exercise jurisdiction over a price squeeze claim

virtually identical to that raised in this action. On review,

FPC argued that there was a justified differential between

the wholesale rate paid by plaintiff municipalities, whose

energy demands coincided with the peak load of the system,

and the retail rate paid by industrial customers, whose

15. Petitioners in that case appeared before the Seventh Circuit

as Amicus Curiae.

25

energy demands generally did not coincide with the peak

load of the system. In the exercise of its review powers

over FPC orders, the District of Columbia Circuit re-

manded, enumerating some of the complex issues to be

resolved by FPC::

‘‘Under the Conway doctrine the Commission func-

tion extends not only to consideration of the existence

of a difference between jurisdictional and non-juris-

dictional rates, but also to the anticompetitive impact

of the particular magnitude of rate differential. The

Commission’s counsel indicates that the amount of

the differential set by the Commission is more than

justified by the cost differences of the two services.

This contention, however, requires a knowledge of the

nature of the system’s costs, both fixed and variable,

as well as the basis for cost calculations. While it may

be that an engineer could make the calculation on the

basis of the data in the record, we cannot in a case

like this proceed on the basis of calculations by coun-

sel any more than we can accept a rationale by counsel

that is not in the Commission’s findings. Hence the

case must be remanded for consideration in the light

of Conway.

‘A commission engaged in consideration of rate

profiles in the light of Conway at the outset may also

discern a question as to the reasonableness of a classi-

fication that treats all industrials as a single class,

distinct from municipals, on the basis of underlying

timing of peak load, when the utility’s rate structure

does not set the demand and energy charges in terms

of the time of peak load of the customer. If a sub-

stantial number of industrial consumers have their

peak load at a time roughly the same as those of the

cities, there is a substantial ousting from the market

with no difference in conditions of service. And when

26

there is a competitive advantage to the utility in blan-

keting such industrials along with other industrials

(whose peak characteristics may produce cost savings),

there is room for concern on the part of the regulating

commission.’’ 584 F.2d at 1057-58.

There is, in short, no way to determine whether the electric

utility rate structures are discriminatory without a de-

tailed technical investigation and analysis of the rates and

of their components.

The existence of a price squeeze is a question further

complicated by the fact that differing ratemaking proce-

dures employed by different regulatory commissions vir-

tually mandate a differential of some magnitude between

and among the resulting rates. For example, the Indiana

Commission, upon receipt of a petition from I&M that an

adjustment in its retail tariffs is required, establishes the

test year to be employed; I&M thereupon prepares a cost

of service study for the test year so designated, together

with its claim of a fair and reasonable return on a fair

value rate base. Only then are revenue deficiencies deter-

mined and a request for specified rate relief made. To

date, the Indiana Commission has required the use of an

historic test year. By contrast, FPC regulations now re-

quire, for all rate increases in excess of $1 million, the use

of a prospective test year. 18 C.F.R. §35.13(b)(1) (1977).

Unless all costs remain static between the historic test year

designated by the Indiana Commission and the prospective

test year utilized by FPC, some differential between the

retail and wholesale rates is virtually inevitable.

FPC’s expertise is thus required to determine the ex-

istence of an anticompetitive price squeeze prior to the

27

consideration of appropriate remedies by any forum.

Thus, in Pennsylvania Power & Light Co., FPC Docket

No. E-8927, Order Affirming Initial Decision at 5 (March

24, 1977), FPC ruled that

‘‘ft}here is no evidence of any anticompetitive pur-

pose, the [wholesale] rates are at the bottom of the

zou.e of reasonableness and it appears that there still

is and can be competition for industrial loads.’’

Manifestly, if there is no anticompetitive price squeeze, an

issue that FPC is required to resolve under Conway, there

is no need for consideration by the district court of any

of Municipalities’ price squeeze allegations.”*

If FPC should find, in accord with the detailed proce-

dures for rendering Conway determinations set forth in

its Order No. 563, issued on March 21, 1977," that an anti-

competitive price squeeze does exist, FPC has the power

under Conway to provide a remedy by adjusting the whole-

sale rates at least to the lower range of the zone of reason-

ableness. In Carolina Power & Light Co., FPC Docket No.

ER 76-495 (Phase II), Initial Decision of the Administra-

tive Law Judge at 82 (Sept. 7, 1977), certain municipalities

which there intervened conceded that their proposed cost

of service adjustments, if adopted, would eliminate the

price squeeze of which they complained. Thus, given the

remedial powers of FPC as provided in Conway, there is

» ; , —_ —-

order to prevail in this action, plaintiffs would

cctablich that I&M has reached a decision artificially “to depress cer-

tain retail revenues” (426 U.S. at 279), or that I&M artificially raised

its wholesale rate, a rate that FPC has full power to adjust within the

zone of reasonableness.

ing denied, May

7. 42 Fed. Reg. 16131 (March 25, 1977), rehearing j

20, 1977, 42 Fed. 4 27574 (May 31, 1977).

28

no way to know whether a price squeeze exists, or whether

F’PC’s power to remedy such a price squeeze is adequate,

until FPC has fixed the wholesale rate. While we believe

that it would disregard the proper allocation of functions

between FPC and the district court to have FPC forced to

operate under the threat of a stay which would be naturally

disruptive of orderly administrative procedure, I&M sub-

mits that, at the very least, the district court should stay

its hand pending FPC determination of the threshold ques-

tions that FPC is mandated to resolve under Conway.

Conclusion

The decision of the Court below ignores what I&M

submits to be the manifest, although unstated import of

Conway, that the Federal Power Commission (now the

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission) has exclusive or

at least primary jurisdiction over anticompetitive price

squeeze allegations. The Court below also failed to give

proper weight to the rulings of this Court in Silver, Gordon

and NASD from which emerge the principle that the ex-

istence of pervasive regulatory controls, whether exer-

cised or not, ousts the district court of its antitrust juris-

diction. The decision of the court below will lead to a

massive duplication of effort between federal courts and

agencies equipped to deal with public utility rates. The

decisions of this Court clearly provide the self-protective

guides for avoiding so harmful and egregious a result,

and the court below erred in failing to invoke and apply

them. The Court should review this result and reverse.

29

We take the liberty of suggesting that if this Court

should consider the errors below so clear as not to require

the Court to put this case on its calendar for oral argument,

this matter can be effectively handled by summary reversal,

as was done in Federal Power Commission v. United Gas

Pipe Line Co., 393 U.S. 71 (1968), with appropriate direc-

tions to the Court below.

Respectfully submitted,

Wuitney NortH SEYMOUR

Counsel for Petitioner

One Battery Park Plaza

New York, New York 10004

(212) 483-9000

Of Counsel:

Ricwarp M. DICKE

PETER J. SCHLESINGER

DENNIS G, JACOBS

SimpsoN THACHER & BARTLETT

Tuomas W. YODER

LAWRENCE A. LEvy

Livincston, Ditpine, Haynie & YODER

November 14, 1977

Ne eee, Doe : . os ae i Lm ee Ce eo

APPENDIX

Text of Statutes Relied On

Federal Power Act §205, 16 U.S.C. §824d:

**§824d. Rates and charges; schedules; suspension of

new rates.

‘*(a) Allrates and charges made, demanded, or received

by any public utility for or in connection with the trans-

mission or sale of electric energy subject to the jurisdiction

of the Commission, and all rules and regulations affecting

or pertaining to such rates or charges shall be just and

reasonable, and any such rate or charge that is not just and

reasonable is hereby declared to be unlawful.

‘‘(b) No public utility shall, with respect to any trans-

mission or sale subject to the jurisdiction of the Commis-

sion, (1) make or grant any undue preference or advantage

to any person or subject any person to any undue prejudice

or disadvantage, or (2) maintain any unreasonable differ-

ence in rates, charges, service, facilities, or in any other

respect, either as between localities or as between classes

of service,

‘*(¢) Under such rules and regulations as the Commis-

sion may prescribe, every public utility shall file with the

Commission, within such time and in such form as the Com-

mission may designate, and shall keep open in convenient

form and place for public inspection schedules showing all

rates and charges for any transmission or sale subject to

the jurisdiction of the Commission, and the classifications,

practices, and regulations affecting such rates and charges,

together with all contracts which in any manner affect or

relate to such rates, charges, classifications, and services.

2a

Test of Statutes Relied On

‘*(d) Unless the Commission otherwise orders, no

change shall be made by any public utility in any such rate,

charge, classification, or service, or in any rule, regulation,

or contract relating thereto, except after thirty days’ notice

to the Commission and to the public. Such notice shall be

given by filing with the Commission and keeping open for

public inspection new schedules stating plainly the change

or changes to be made in the schedule or schedules then in

force and the time when the change or changes will go into

effect. The Commission, for good cause shown, may allow

changes to take effect without requiring the thirty days’

notice herein provided for by an order specifying the

changes so to be made and the time when they shall take

effect and the manner in which they shall be filed and pub-

lished.

**(e) Whenever any such new schedule is filed the Com-

mission shall have authority, either upon complaint or upon

its own initiative without complaint, at once, and, if it so

orders, without answer or formal pleading by the public

utility, but upon reasonable notice, to enter upon a hearing

concerning the lawfulness of such rate, charge, classifica-

tion, or service ; and, pending such hearing and the decision

thereon, the Commission, upon filing with such schedules

and delivering to the public utility affected thereby a state-

ment in writing of its reasons for such suspension, may

suspend the operation of such schedule and defer the use

of such rate, charge, classification, or service, but not for a

longer period than five months beyond the time when it

would otherwise go into effect; and after full hearings,

either completed before or after the rate, charge, classifica-

3a

Test of Statutes Relied On

tion, or service goes into effect, the Commission may make

such orders with reference thereto as would be proper in a

proceeding initiated after it had become effective. If the

proceeding has not been concluded and an order made at the

expiration of such five months, the proposed change of rate,

charge, classification, or service shall go into effect at the

end of such period, but in case of a proposed increased rate

or charge, the Commission may by order require the inter-

ested public utility or public utilities to keep accurate ac-

count in detail of all amounts received by reason of such

‘ inerease, specifying by whom and in whose behalf such

amounts are paid, and upon completion of the hearing and

decision may by further order require such public utility

or public utilitities to refund, with interest, to the persons in

whose behalf such amounts were paid, such portion of such

increased rates or charges as by its decision shall be found

not justified. At any hearing involving a rate or charge

sought to be increased, the burden of proof to show that the

increased rate or charge is just and reasonable shall be

upon the public utility, and the Commission shall give to

the hearing and decision of such questions preference over

other questions pending before it and decide the same as

speedily as possible.’’

Federal Power Act §206(a); 16 U.S.C. 824e(a):

‘*§824e. Power of Commission to fix rates and charges ;

determination of cost of production or transmission.

‘‘(a) Whenever the Commission, after a hearing had

upon its own motion or upon complaint, shall find that any

rate, charge, or classification, demanded, observed, charged,

4a

Test of Statutes Relied On

or collected by any public utility for any transmission or

sale subject to the jurisdiction of the Commission, or that

any rule, regulation, practice, or contract affecting such

rate, charge, or classification is unjust, unreasonable, un-

duly discriminatory or preferential, the Commission shall

determine the just and reasonable rate, charge, classifica-

tion, rule, regulation, practice, or contract to be thereafter

observed and in force, and shall fix the same by order.’’

Sherman Act §2, 15 U.S.C. §2:

**§2. Monopolizing trade a misdemeanor; penalty.

‘*Every person who shall monopolize, or attempt to

monopolize, or combine or conspire with any other person

or persons, to monopolize any part of the trade or commerce

among the several States, or with foreign nations, shall be

deemed guilty of a misdemeanor, and, on conviction thereof,

shall be punished by fine not exceeding fifty thousand dol-

lars, or by imprisonment not exceeding one year, or by both

said punishments, in the discretion of the court.’’

Clayton Act 44, 15 U.S.C. §15:

‘*§15. Suits by persons injured; amount of recovery.

‘*Any person who shall be injured in his business or

property by reason of anything forbidden in the antitrust

laws may sue therefor in any district court of the United

States in the district in which the defendant resides or is

found or has an agent, without respect to the amount in

controversy, and shall recover threefold the damages by

him sustained, and the cost of suit, including a reasonable

attorney’s fee.’’

da

Test of Statutes Relied On

Clayton Act §15, 16 U.S.C. §26:

‘‘§96. Injunc.ive relief for private parties; exception.

‘¢ Any person, firm, corporation, or association shall be

entitled to sue for and have injunctive relief, in any court of

the United States having jurisdiction over the parties,

against threatened loss or damage by a violation of the

antitrust laws, including sections 13, 14, 18, and 19 of this

title, when and under the same conditions and principles as

injunctive relief against threatened conduct that will cause

' loss or damage is granted by courts of equity, under the

rules governing such proceedings, and upon the execution of

proper bond against damages for an injunction improvi-

dently granted and a showing that the danger of irreparable

loss or damage is immediate, a preliminary injunction may

issue: Provided, That nothing herein contained shall be

construed to entitle any person, firm, corporation, or asso-

ciation, except the United States, to bring suit in equity for

injunctive relief against any common carrier subject to the

provisions of the Act to regulate commerce, approved Feb-

ruary fourth, eighteen hundred and eighty-seven, in respect

of any matter subject to the regulation, supervision, or

other jurisdiction of the Interstate Commerce Commis-

sion.’’

6a

Order and Judgment of the Court of Appeals

OPINION BY JUDGE CUMMINGS

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For tue Seventu Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

August 16, 1977

Before:

Hon. Wauter J. Cummrnas, Circuit Judge

Hon. Pumie W. Tone, Circuit Judge

Hon. Wiiu1am J. Baver, Cireuit Judge

No. 76-2226

$$

Crry or Misnawaka, Inp1ana, et al.,

Plaintiff s-Appellees,

vs.

Inpiana & Micuican Exectric Company,

Defendant-A ppellant.

$$$

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Indiana

South Bend Division

No. 8-74-72-Civil

Judge Grant and Judge Sharp

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of the

record from the United States District Court for the North-

ern District of Indiana, South Bend Division, and was

argued by counsel.

On consideration whereof, it is ordered and adjudged

by this court that the orders of the said District Court in

this cause appealed from on May 1, 1975, and October 22,

1976, are affirmed, with costs, in accordance with the opinion

of this court filed this date.

7a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

IN THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For THE Seventy Circuit

No. 76-2226

aaa

Ciry or Misnawaka, Inp1ana, et al.,

: Plaintiff s-A ppellees,

Inprana & Micuican Evectric Company,

Defendant-Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Indiana, South Bend Division.

No. S-74-72-Civ.—Rosert A. Grant and

ALLEN Suarp, Judges.

—_—_—eel ee"

Arcuep Aprit 28, 1977—Decwwep Aveust 16, 1977

Before Cummrines, Tone and Baver, Circuit Judges.

Cummines, Circuit Judge. One Michigan and nine Indi-

ana municipalities, members of the Indiana & Michigan

Municipal Distributors’ Association, filed this antitrust

action against defendant, a vertically integrated electric

power company which generates, transmits and delivers

electric power both to its wholesale customers, including

EEE

A, a Sa aw

8a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

plaintiffs, as well as directly to its own retail customers.

Each plaintiff operates its own electric utility through

which it purchases wholesale electric power from defendant,

then selling and distributing it at retail to industrial, com-

mercial, and residential customers within its corporate lim-

its and in nearby areas.

According to the complaint, defendant is the only firm

within its service area that transmits and wholesales elec-

tric power and is the plaintiffs’ only outside source of

supply for wholesale electric power. Eight of the plaintiffs

depend on defendant for all the electric power they distrib-

ute and sell to their retail customers. The other two plain-

tiffs, which operate generating facilities, depend on defend-

ant for more than 90% of their requirements for electric

power distribution and sale to their retail customers.

Plaintiffs alleged that defendant dominates and controls

the distribution and sale of retail electric power within its

service area and has acquired four of the twenty municipal

electric utilities there since 1957 and unsuccessfully at-

tempted to acquire a fifth. According to plaintiffs,

‘‘The defendant company now controls the distribution

and sale of retail electric power in more than 90% of

the communities within its service area, while munic-

ipally owned and operated electric systems serve retail

customers in fewer than 10%.’’ (Complaint {6.)

Plaintiffs have charged defendant with intentionally monop-

olizing and attempting to monopolize interstate trade and

commerce in the distribution and sale of retail electric

power, in violation of Section 2 of the Sherman Act (15

U.S.C. §2), by requiring them end other municipalities to

9a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

pay since January 13, 1973, a new wholesale price which is

substantially higher than the retail price it charges its own

industrial customers. Because of this ‘‘ price squeeze,’’ the

municipalities cannot sell electric power to their own in-

dustrial customers at prices that compete with defendant’s

retail prices. One consequence is that defendant may be

able to lease Fort Wayne, Indiana’s electric utility system

for 35 years. Fort Wayne is the largest city within the

defendant’s service area which still operates its own electric

_ utility. Other alleged consequences of the new wholesale

price are:

1. Plaintiffs’ ability to compete with defcidant for

retail and industrial exstomers has been impaired.

2. In those municipalities that have absorbed the

difference between defendant’s higher wholesale price

and its lower retail industrial prices, pressure has been

put on the municipalities to sell or lease their electric

utilities to defendant rather than to continue generat-

ing operating losses.

3. In those municipalities that increase their in-

dustrial retail prices to the level of the defendant’s

higher wholesale price to them, the disparity between

the municipalities’ higher retai! industrial prices and

defendant’s lower retail industrial prices threatens to

cause the municipalities’ industrial customers to exert

pressure on the municipalities to sell or lease their elec-

tric utilities to defendant so that those customers can

purehase electric power at defendant’s lower prices.

By a September 30, 1976, amendment to the complaint,

plaintiffs alleged that since July 27, 1976, defendant

required them and other municipalities to pay a new higher

10a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

wholesale price for electric power, resulting in their finan-

cial inability to buy power at the defendant’s new wholesale

price and sell it to industrial customers at prices competi-

tive with defendant’s retail prices. In its answer to this

amendment, defendant admitted that the Federal Power

Commission permitted its higher wholesale rates to become

effective on July 27, 1976, subject to refund.’

Plaintiffs requested a declaratory judgment that defend-

ant had violated Section 2 of the Sherman Act and an in-

junction under Section 16 of the Clayton Act (15 U.S.C.

§26) against violating it in the future. They also sought

an order ending defendant’s present rate structure which

requires plaintiffs to pay a higher wholesale price to de-

fendant for electric power than the retail prices at which it

sells to its own industrial customers. Under Section 4 of

the Clayton Act (15 U.S.C. §15), plaintiffs claimed damages

in excess of $1 million before trebling. The municipalities

also sought attorneys’ fees.

Subsequently, on May 1, 1974, defendant filed a motion

to dismiss the complaint for lack of subject matter jurisdic-

tion or for failure to state a claim or, in the alternative, to

stay the court proceedings until the Federal Power Com-

mission should conclude its regulatory proceedings involv-

ing defendant’s post-January 13, 1973, rates to wholesale

customers. Defendant and the Indiana & Michigan Munic-

ipal Distributors’ Association (of which plaintiffs are mem-

bers) were parties to these proceedings before the Commis-

1. In June 1975, defendant filed an answer containing three

counterclaims against plaintiffs. That pleading need not be sum-

marized herein because it is irrelevant to the issues involved on the

interlocutory appeal.

lla

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

sion. On May 1, 1975, Judge Grant denied that motion and

at the same time filed an extensive opinion disposing of

defendant’s arguments (App. 11-29). In the opinion, Judge

Grant noted that in March 1972, the Indiana Public Service

Commission set defendant’s new higher retail rates and

that in March 1973, the Michigan Public Service Commis-

sion approved an increase in defendant’s retail rates. Both

of these actions were instituted by defendant’s July 30,

1971, petitions for new rates filed with each of the state

Commissions. In June ]972, defendant submitted proposed

increases in the rates charged to its wholesale customers to

the Federal Power Commission. The new rates were later

made effective on August 13, 1972,? but the Commission

provided that if it determined that said rates were unjust

or unreasonable, it might order defendant to refund the

excess to its customers. The Commission began its hearings

on the lawfulness of these new wholesale rates on January

31, 1974.

Defendant contended that its retail rates, set by the state

utility commissions, were immune from attack under the

Sherman Act. The court held that under Parker v. Brown,

317 U.S. 341, it did not have authority to intrude upon the

Indiana and Michigan Public Service Commissions’ ap-

proval of defendant’s retail rates. However, after distin-

2. On August 13, 1972, the Commission suspended the use of

these rates until January 13, 1973, the date involved in the original

complaint herein. After an appeal to the District of Columbia Cir-

cuit by defendant on the grounds that the effective date should be

July 14, 1972, the Court proclaimed July 14, 1972, to be the effective

date but only allowed defendant to collect the difference between its

old and new rates from December 14, 1972, onward. J/ndiana &

Michigan Electric Co. v. Federal Power Commission, 502 F.2d 336

(D.C. Cir. 1974), certiorari denied, 420 U.S. 946.

12a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

guishing Ricci v. Chicago Mercantile Exchange, 409 U.S.

289, and Pennsylvania Power Company v. Federal Power

Commission, 193 F.2d 230 (D.C. Cir. 1951), affirmed, 343

U.S. 414, the Court found that it had jurisdiction over the

subject matter of the action, citing Georgia v. Pennsylvania

R. Co., 324 U.S. 439; Keogh v. Chicago & N.W. Ry., 260

U.S. 156; and Otter Tail Power Co. v. United States, 410

U.S. 366. In particular, Judge Grant held that

‘‘Just as the Court in Otter Tail was hesitant to

conclude that the authority of the Federal Power Com-

mission to order interconnections was intended to ‘be

a substitute for, or to immunize Otter Tail from, anti-

trust regulation for refusing to deal with municipal

corporations,’ this Court cannot conclude that the Fed-

eral Power Commission’s authority to review rates

was an intended substitute for the anti-trust laws in

a situation involving the alleged monopolizing effect of

a dual price structure.’’ (mem. op. at 16).

Judge Grant stated that if the Federal Power Commis-

sion finally found the defendant’s new wholesale rates to

be just, the court might be forced to order defendant to

initiate a new rate structure, eliminating the dual price

system of higher wholesale prices relative to retail prices.

On the other hand, if the Commission should find the new

wholesale rate to be unjust, he might only enjoin defendant

from any future dual system. Consequently the court held

that plaintiff had not failed to state a claim upon which

relief could be granted.

In conclusion, Judge Grant refused to stay the action

until the Federal Power Commission should hand down

13a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

a final decision because ‘‘the lawfulness of the defendant’s

wholesale rate is not determinative of the issue before’’

the court (mem. op. 19). The district court ended its opin-

ion as follows:

‘Since it is the initiation of a monopolistic structure

that the Court is asked to prohibit and not the rate

itself, final action by the agency will not by itself pro-

hibit the problem although it may alleviate it for a time.

Furthermore, if the Court found that damages were

recoverable in this case and that in determining the

damages the final decision of the Commission was nec-

essary and the Commission has not yet ruled on the

lawfulness of the wholesale rate the present action

could at that time be stayed by the Court for the

purpose of awaiting the Commission result.’’ (Jd.)

Thereafter the case was reassigned to Judge Sharp.

On October 22, 1976, he denied defendant’s motion to recon-

sider Judge Grant’s order of May 1, 1975. Thereupon, an

interlocutory appeal was taken to this Court and allowed

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1292(b). We affirm.

I. Exclusive Jurisdiction

When the district court handed down its opinion refus-

ing to dismiss the complaint and to grant a stay, the Federal

Power Commission had ruled that this alleged dual price

system and its anti-competitive effects were beyond its

jurisdiction (mem. op. 14). However, in Federal Power

3. The Indiana & Michigan Municipal Distributors’ Association

sought review of the FPC decision to eliminate from the case all

testimony, exhibits and consideration of the price squeeze issue.

(footnote continued on next page)

l4a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

Commission v. Conway Corp., 426 U.S. 271, the Supreme

Court subsequently held that such an anti-competitive price

squeeze between jurisdictional wholesale rates and non-

jurisdictional retail rates should be considered by the Com-

mission in fixing rates for interstate wholesale sales.

Speaking for a unanimous Court, Mr. Justice White said

the Commission can take retail rates into consideration in

setting the wholesale rate even though they are outside its

jurisdiction. 426 U.S. at 279-282. The Court explicitly ap-

proved the District of Columbia Circuit’s conclusion that

‘When costs are fully allocated, both the retail rate

and the proposed wholesale rate may fall within a

zone of reasonableness, yet create a price squeeze

between themselves. There would, at the very least,

be latitude in the FPC to put wholesale rates in the

lower range of the zone of reasonableness, without

concern that overall results would be impaired, in view

of the utility’s own decision to depress certain retail

revenues in order to curb the retail competition of its

wholesale customers. 167 U.S. App. D.C. at 53, 510

F.2d at 1274. (Footnote omitted.)’’ 426 U.S. at 279.

Appealing to the District of Columbia Circuit, IMMDA requested

the FPC to confess error in light of Federal Power Commission v.

Conway Corp., 426 U.S. 271, and obtain a remand to consider the

price squeeze issue. On August 13, 1976, the FPC filed such a

request. In an initial decision of August 19, 1976, in the wholesale

rate case commenced in June 1972, the administrative law judge

recommended that the price squeeze issue be resolved in further pro-

ceedings. This was in line with the parties’ agreement to dispose of

the 1972 wholesale rate case by a financial settlement based on the

initial decision without resolving the anti-competitive allegations (PI.

Br. 9-10). These facts were brought to the district court’s attention

before its October 22, 1976, denial of defendant’s Motion to Recon-

sider, Vacate, Set Aside and Amend [the] Court’s Order of May 1,

1975 (D. Br. 5-6). The settlement was approved by the FPC in an

order of June 1, 1977.

15a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

Such a remedy would only operate against the jurisdictional

rate.*

Nothing in the Supreme Court’s opinion in Conway

suggests exclusive jurisdiction, as defendant concedes

(D. Br. 32).5 Indeed, Conway suggests that the FPC rem-

4. A new regulation, 18 C.F.R. §2.17, entitled “Price discrimi-

nation and anti-competitive effect (price squeeze issue),”” was issued

on March 21, 1977, to implement the Commission’s mandate under

Conway. In the order issuing the regulation, provision was made

for the state commissions to be kept informed but, of course, no sug-

gestion was made to force them to change the non-jurisdictional

retail rates:

“Both the Federal Power Commission and the NARUC

mow Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners]

oard [of Consultants] recognize that state commission partici-

pation in rate proceedings before the Commission, particularly

in cases involving retail and wholesale rate comparisons, would

be desirable, and awareness of the state commission’s views on

ore squeeze issues would be valuable. We, therefore, adopt the

ARUC Board’s recommendation that in all cases where price

squeeze is at issue, the state commission, agency or body which

is responsible for regulation of retail rates in the state affected

shall be included in the service list maintained by the Secretary

under 18 CFR 1.17(c) as if that state commission, agency or

body had intervened in the proceeding. In proceedings where

the state commission does not take an active part, the NARUC

Board recommends that the Commission encourage FPC staff to

confer with state commission staff for the purpose of acquiring

information particularly within the knowledge of the state com-

missions in order to gain a more complete picture of the com-

petitive relationship of respective wholesale to retail rates.” (D.

Rep. Br. App. A8-A9.)

5. Defendant points to one sentence of dicta in Judge Leventhal’s

opinion for the D.C. Circuit in Conway arguably to the contrary:

“The FPC’s position would leave a regulatory gap—no institu-

tion would have authority to consider an undue preference be-

tween wholesale and retail rates, even where that preference was

deliberately instituted for the purpose of clogging competition,

and tu reduce interstate wholesale rates.” 510 F.2d at 1272:

Judge Leventhal’s opinion does not consider antitrust aspects at all.

When read in the context of the opinion as a whole, it is clear that the

“institution” meant a regulatory administrative body.

l6a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

edy is limited to setting the jurisdictional rate somewhere

above the lower boundary of the zone of reasonableness.

A rate set so low that it would fail to recoup fully allocated

wholesale costs seems to be beyond the Corhmission’s

power. 426 U.S. at 278. If the retail rates have been set so

low by the state utility commissions that a price squeeze

could only be fully remedied by setting the wholesale rates

below the lower boundary of the zone of reasonable recovery

for fully allocated costs, the squeeze would go unremedied

to the extent a wholesale rate set at the lower boundary. of

the zone of reasonableness did not cure the problem. AlI-

though Conway was brought to the district court’s atten-

tion, it refused to vacate its order declining to dismiss the

complaint and to stay the action.

Subsequent to Conway, the Supreme Court decided

Cantor v. Detroit Edison Co., 428 U.S. 579, refusing to

exempt Detroit Edison’s light bulb exchange program from

the federal antitrust laws even though it was an approved

element of the state rate tariff filed with the Michigan

Public Service Commission. Given a complaint that details

conduct which, if true, would constitute a substantive anti-

trust violation, Justice Stevens described two classes of

situations involving the interaction of state and federal law

where Sherman Act jurisdiction would, nevertheless, be

defeated. First, Congress in passing the Sherman Act may

not have intended for the Act to apply, in the first instance,

to state action. Parker v. Brown, 317 US. 341. Secondly,

although originally intended to be covered by the Sherman

Act, certain conduct may have become exempted from the

Act.

17a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

In a section of his opinion commanding orly a four-judge

plurality, Justice Stevens concluded that in Parker the

‘‘only Sherman Act issue decided was whether the

sovereign State itself, which had been held to be a per-

son within the meaning of §7 of the statute, was also

subject to its prohibitions.’’ 428 U.S. at 591.

As in Cantor, the plaintiff municipalities have named no

state officials or state agencies in the complaint, and there

is no claim that any state action violated the antitrust laws.

See 428 U.S. at 591-592. Thus under the plurality opinion,

Parker v. Brown does not even arguably apply to the facts

of our case. Nor do Chief Justice Burger or Justice Black-

mun’s concurrences in Cantor give defendant solace. The

challenged activity here is a dual rate structure. The state

utility commissions have only put the imprimatur of their

sanction on the retail rates charged by the defendant. The

price squeeze has not been blessed by Indiana or Michigan.

The fact that the district court has no authority to maintain

a direct attack on the defendant’s retail rates does not alter

the reality that the state commissions have in no way placed

a badge of approval on the defendant’s dual rate structure.

Consequently, defendant’s conduct is not immunized under

Parker v. Brown.

Having decided that the Sherman Act applies in the

first instance to the conduct at issue here, we must decide

whether an exemption nonetheless has been worked. Jus-

tice Stevens, in a portion of Cantor subscribed to by a

majority of the Court, suggested two geneses for such an

exemption. First, it might be unjust to hold a private citi-

zen liable for conduct imposed by the direct command of the

18a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

sovereign.® Secondly, if the sovereign is already regulating

an area, Congress may not have intended to superimpose

the antitrust laws as an additional and perhaps conflicting

regulatory scheme.’

In City of Shakopee v. Northern States Power Co., Civ.

No. 4-75-591 (D. Minn. 1976), a post-Cantor case involving

a virtually identical dual rate structure creating a price

squeeze between the wholesale and retail sale of electric

power, Judge Lord concluded that no exclusive jurisdiction

existed in the Federal Power Commission because an. ex-

emption from the antitrust laws could not be implied.

Judge Lord interpreted the first genesis for exemption

under Cantor to be based on the reasoning that

6. Although the facts of Cantor limited Justice Stevens’ con-

sideration to the state sovereign, a finding that conduct arising from

the command of the federal sovereign is subject to antitrust liability

may be assumed to be similarly unjust.

7. If the sovereign is the federal government, the question re-

duces to the traditional problem of exclusive jurisdiction. Here the

conceptual framework is a federal statute post-dating the Sherman

Act lodging the responsibility for regulating the conduct in issue in

some federal agency and impliedly repealing the application of the

Sherman Act as to this specie of conduct.

If the sovereign is the state government, an implied repealer of

a federal law such as the Sherman Act is of course foreclosed by the

Supremacy Clause. Presumably, the exemption is created here on

the conceptual framework that Congress did not intend the Sherman

Act to apply to areas of the economy pervasively regulated by the

states. Unlike the Parker exclusion, this exemption would not derive

from the character of a state’s involvement with certain conduct but

rather with the quality and scope of the regulatory mechanism im-

by the state over such conduct. The state commissions of

ndiana and Michigan are not alleged to have any power to regulate

the price squeeze in any sense. Since this conduct is not being regu-

lated by the state commissions, Sherman Act jurisdiction of course

is not ousted in favor of state regulation. The defendant does not

contend otherwise.

19a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

‘*if an anticompetitive practice is the product, at least

in part, of the company being regulated and could be

avoided if the company chose to do so, then the anti-

competitive condition is in reality the work of that

company and is not ‘necessary’ to the functioning of

the regulatory scheme and will not be immunized from

antitrust liability.’’ (mem. op. 6.)

Accordingly, the court noted that, as here, defendant North-

ern States Power Co. could have avoided the alleged mo-

nopolistic position by ‘‘tailoring its applications to allow

for competitive ‘wholesale’ and ‘retail’ power rates”’

(mem. op. 7) and that, given such company autonomy, this

position was not ‘‘necessary’’ to the functioning of the

regulatory scheme.

With respect to implying a repealer of the antitrust acts,

Judge Lord began with the now settled axiom that after

Otter Tail Power Co. v. United States, 410 U.S. 366, ‘‘there

can be no doubt about the proposition that the federal anti-

trust laws are applicable to electric utilities.’’ Cantor, su-

pra, at 596 n. 35. Since the antitrust laws are not generically

superseded by the regulation of electric utilities,* the only

' question open to debate is whether ‘‘the particular applica-

tion of the [antitrust laws] is irreconcilably repugnant to

the operation of the regulatory scheme.’’ Id. Judge Lord

decided that there was ‘‘little or no apparent conflict be-

8. In order to imply a general exemption for an economic sector

of an industry, mere conflicting standards are not enough. This

of a regulatory agency’s jurisdiction must be “imperative in

the continued effective functioning” of the r tory scheme over

the industry as a whole. Cantor, supra, at 596-597 n. 36 and n. 37.

Since Cantor distinguished and refused to apply Gordon v. New

York Stock Exchange, 422 U.S. 659, perhaps defendant’s principal

case on this ground, no purpose would be served in discussing it

further here. See 428 U.S. at 596-597 n. 36.

20a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

tween applying the antitrust laws to the type of conduct

complained of here and the smooth and efficient functioning

of the FPC’s regulatory system’’ (mem. op. 5). As in

Shakopee, the price squeeze alleged in our case

‘‘is not between rates set by one regulatory agency, as

was the case in Georgia [v. Pennsylvania R. Co., 324

U.S. 439], but rather is between the ‘wholesale’ rate

set by the FPC and the ‘retail’ rate over which the

FPC has no jurisdiction. Put simply, under these

circumstances, antitrust immunity is not ‘necessary’

to the functioning of the regulatory process because

the discrimination is ‘external’ to that process. The

FPC does not control both ends of the discriminatory

conduct.’’ (mem. op. 7 n. 6.)

If plaintiff proves it is entitled to relief on the Sherman

Act claim asserted in its complaint, the Federal Power

Commission’s regulatory process would not be disturbed

by the court’s awarding damages for past anti-competitive

conduct or by enjoining future anti-competitive conduct by

defendant in making and promoting its rate applications.

Thus relief could be granted without the district court’s

actually becoming involved in the process of setting rates.

Indeed the Federal Power Commission has conceded

that it does not have exclusive jurisdiction over conduct

such as that alleged here. Following Judge Lord’s denial of

Northern States Power’s motion to dismiss, Shakopee is

proceeding, we are advised, before the district court and

the Federal Power Commission in tandem. On May 23,

1977, the Federal Power Commission released an order in

Northern States Power Company, FPC Docket No. ER

76-818, stating that the Commission’s examination of the

21a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

alleged price squeeze would not affect the district court

action in Shakopee because

‘*That action seeks damages for allegedly anticompeti-

tive activity that occurred in the past. As the District

Court noted in its October 18, 1976, order denying

Northern States’ motion to dismiss, should Shakopee

prove itself entitled to relief the regulatory process

would not be disrupted by an award of damages for

past conduct nor by an enjoining of certain future con-

duct. These remedies are beyond our jurisdiction as we

cannot look to past rate schedules and, if a price

squeeze were found, we could not take any remedial

action. Accordingly there is no alternative to this issue

being litigated in both forums, one concerning itself

with present rates and the other with past rates and

possible future conduct.’’

This ruling equally applies here. Therefore, it is clear that

defendant is wrong in asserting that the Federal Power

Commission has exclusive jurisdiction over this matter.

II. Primary Jurisdiction

The more difficult question is whether the Federal Power

Commission has primary jurisdiction over the price

squeeze. Primary jurisdiction is concerned with the proper

allocation of responsibilities between the administrative

agencies and the courts. ‘‘Even when [antitrust actions]

and remedies survive and the agency in question lacks the

power to confer immunity from [antitrust] liability, it may

be appropriate to refer specific issues to an agency for

initial determination where that procedure would secure

22a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

‘{u]niformity and consistency in the regulation of business

entrusted to a partieular agency’ or where

‘‘ ‘the limited functions of review by the judiciary

[would be] more rationally exercised, by preliminary

resort for ascertaining and interpreting the cireum-

stances underlying legal issues to agencies that are

better equipped than courts by specialization, by in-

sight gained through experience, and by more flexible

procedure.’ Far East Conference v. United States, 342

U.S. at 574-575.”’ (Nader v. Allegheny Airlines, 426

U.S. 290, 303-304).

The defendant argues that since ‘‘some facets of the

dispute * * * are within the statutory jurisdiction of the

[Federal Power] Commission,’’ Ricci v. Chicago Mercan-

tile Exchange, 409 U.S. 289, 302—here the Conway-dictated

duty to set the jurisdictional rate with an eye to any price

squeeze between it and the non-jurisdictional rate—the Fed-

eral Power Commission must he deemed to preempt anti-

trust jurisdiction. However, that position was also fore-

closed by Otter Tail Power Co., supra. There only the

dissenting Justices would have required the antitrust court

to defer to the Commission proceeding. 410 U.S. at 392-

395. The other Justices affirmed a decree under Section 2

of the Sherman Act (except in one respect immaterial here)

without requiring a stay where there was only a potential

conflict between the federal judicial decree and a future

order of the Federal Power Commission. 410 U.S. at 376-

377. Any suspicions that the 4-3 vote in Otter Tail impairs

its authority seem wholly unwarrar.ted in light of the Can-

tor majority’s repeated citations of it with approval. See

23a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

also Gulf States Utilities Co. v. Federal Power Commis-

sion, 411 U.S. 747, 758.

Even if it cannot be maintained as a matter of course

that as between the dual jurisdiction in the district court

and in the Federal Power Commission the jurisdiction in

the Commission is primary, it may be that deferral to the

Commission makes sense as a matter of judicial administra-

tion. If a significant inconsistency between the antitrust

action and the regulatory scheme which was certain to arise

could be specifically shown to be avoidable by letting the

Commission proceed first, deferring to the Commission

would be advisable. In addition, if the ‘‘adjudication of

th[e] dispute by the Commission promises to be of material

aid in resolving the [antitrust] immunity question,’’ Ricci,

supra, at 302, or will advance the Court’s fact-finding cap-

acity, it may be desirable to hold the antitrust action in

abeyance pending the resolution of the proceeding before

the Commission. Nevertheless, we hold that the Federal

Power Commission does not have primary jurisdiction over

the price squeeze.

A. Uniformity

Where uniformity and consistency of the regulatory

scheme are at stake, primary antitrust coverage does not

necessarily follow even when there is a statutory grant

of express immunity as to certain other conduct approved

by a federal agency. Mt. Hood Stages, Inc. ». Greyhound

Corp., —— F.2d . (9th Cir. 1977) (slip op. at

1200). Where there is no statutory grant of antitrust im-

24a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

munity, so that the argument that Congress intended ‘‘con-

duct not within the exemption [to remain] subject to the

antitrust laws’’ is foreclosed (id.), the uniformity interests

in primary administrative jurisdiction are correspondingly

strengthened. But as Chief Judge Browning added:

‘‘Conduct is not immunized merely because it falls

within the jurisdiction of the regulatory agency, as it

did in this case. Immunity is not implied merely be-

cause the applicable regulatory standard requires the

agency to give weight to antitrust policy, as it did in

this instance.’’ (/d.)

Indeed, as noted in Gulf States Utilities Co. v. Federal

Power Commission, 411 U.S. 747, 758-759, the Federal

Power Act does not preclude the operation of the antitrust

laws even though the Federal Power Commission is re-

quired to give weight to antitrust policy. There Justice

Blackmun, speaking for six members of the Court, declared

that the Federal Power Commission should consider anti-

trust and anti-competitive issues before authorizing the

issuance of securities under Section 204 of the Act (16

U.S.C. §824e) in order to establish ‘‘a first line of defense

against those competitive practices that might later be the

subject of antitrust proceedings’’ (411 U.S. at 760). This

of course does not mean, as defendant urges (Reply Br. 5-

6n. *), that a district court which, as here, has assumed

jurisdiction over a price squeeze two years before the Com-

mission agreed to consider it must withhold relief that (as

the district court has already indicated) will not interfere

with the Commission’s rate-making function. In fact,

primary administrative jurisdiction based on uniformity

grounds is not even an issue in such a factual setting.

25a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

As in Georgia v. Pennsylvania R. Co., 324 U.S. 439, 455,

457, plaintiffs are seeking to enjoin conduct violative of the

Sherman Act and to recover damages therefor. That relief,

if appropriate to remedy a proven violation of the antitrust

laws, would cause defendant to end its purported current

price squeeze practice but need not interfere with rates

already approved by the state and federal commissions.

The antitrust and regulatory régimes accotumodate and

supplement each other in order to prove full protection from

anti-competitive practices. Here too the remedies afforded

under the two statutes can be meshed. As in Mt. Hood

Stages, supra, —— F.2d at —— (slip op. 1201), no plain

repugnancy exists between this federal regulatory statute

and the Sherman Act as applied to defendant’s conduct, nor

is it necessary to exempt that conduct from antitrust re-

straints to make the regulatory statute work. In truth, as

recognized as long ago as Consolidated Gas, Electric Light

& Power Co. v. Pennsylvania Water & Power Co., 194 F.2d

89, 97-99 (4th Cir. 1952), certiorari denied, 343 U.S. 963,

Part II of the Federal Power Act, which contains Section

205 involved in this case, is not repugnant to the antitrust

laws and therefore does not supersede them.

In the court below, defendant in effect recognized that

the Commission cannot afford the requested relief to plain-

tiffs because defendant stated it was

‘‘aware of the Commission’s inability to remedy a

claim of anti-competitive behavior, premised on the

differences in rates charged by [defendant] I & M to

its wholesale and retail customers, by raising the retail

rates to the level of the wholesale rates’’ (mem. op. 9).

Nor does Conway guarantee that the price squeeze may be

fully remedied by severely depressing wholesale rates to

26a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

eliminate the price squeeze. This is because, as we have

demonstrated above, the Federal Power Commission cannot

set wholesale rates below the lower boundary of the zone

of reasonableness even if the price squeeze could not be

eliminated without setting the wholesale price below the

zone of reasonableness limit. Primary jurisdiction is not

a doctrine that requires an exercise in futility. See Local

189, Amalgamated Meat Cutters v. Jewel Tea Co., 381 U.S.

676, 686. Thus antitrust relief is needed for full protection

from the anti-competitive conduct alleged in the complaint.

If plaintiffs prove their case, instead of interfering with

any rates approved by the Federal Power Commission, in

addition to possible damages, the district court would pre-

sumably order defendant to file a new wholesale rate appli-

cation that would remove the disparity between the rates

charged plaintiffs and defendant’s industrial customers.

The court would thus not be affording a remedy that would

‘‘starkly conflict with the explicit statutory mandate of the

Federal Power Commission * * * [or] improperly pre-

emp([t] the jurisdiction of the Federal Power Commission

***."” Otter Tail Power Co., supra, 410 U.S. at 395 (con-

curring and dissenting opinion of Justice Stewart). As

shown from the opinion below and from the opinion Shako-

pee, supra, the district court intends to apply the antitrust

laws ‘‘to the public utility industry only to the extent that

the antitrust claims asserted are not within the reach of the

regulatory agency’s supervision,’’ the very standard rec-

ommended by defendant (Br. 21). Under Otter Tail Power

Co., supra, and Gulf States Utilities Co., swpra, in fashion-

ing any relief that may be warranted under the Sherman

Me

27a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

Act, the judiciary must be careful to avoid or resolve any

inconsistency with Section 205 of the Federal Power Act.

We are confident that the district court will observe this

stricture.

Indeed the opinions of the district courts in this case

and in Shakopee show that they do not intend to interfere

with the Federal Power Commission’s jurisdiction, because

if the Commission should find the respective defendant’s

higher wholesale rates to be just, the courts would, on proof

of violations of Section 2 of the Sherman Act, order the

defendants to initiate new rate structures eliminating the

dual price system of higher wholesale prices. If the Com-

mission should find the present wholesale rates to be unjust,

then the courts would only enjoin the defendants from

future dual systems violative of the Sherman Act. Both

district courts noted too that it would not disrupt the regu-

latory process to award damages for any past anti-competi-

tive conduct proved at trial. Therefore, a stay is unneces-

sary to avoid a clash between the antitrust laws and the

Federal Power Act.

B. Agency Expertise.

Nor is a stay warranted on the grounds that the Federal

Power Commission’s expertise will materially advance the

district court’s fact-finding capacity or aid the district

court’s determination of the extent of any possible antitrust

immunity.

As amici curiae ‘Illinois Municipals.’” have stated,

Ricci v. Chicago Mercantile Exchange, 409 U.S. 289, has

9. Cities of Batavia, Geneva, Naperville, Rock Falls and St.

Charles, Illinois.

28a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

no bearing here because the district court does not need

to know the Commission’s expert views on what constitutes

a just and reasonable rate ‘‘as a prerequisite to a deter-

mination of whether defendants’ activities violate the anti-

trust laws’’ (Br. 24). Also, the Ricci Court thought the

Commodity Exchange Act probably limited the applicability

of the antitrust laws there (409 U.S. at 302-304) whereas

no such limitation exists here. Cantor, supra; Otter Tail

Power Co., swpra. Under the facts of the instant case,

where the district court has first asserted jurisdiction

over the antitrust proceedings, it may continue its probe.

Calforma v. Federal Power Commission, 369 U.S. 482;

Pennsylvania Water & Power Co. v. Consolidated Gas,

Electric Light € Power Co., 184 F.2d 552, 562-566 (4th Cir.

1950), certiorari denied, 340 U.S. 906.

III. Discretionary Stay

Assuming that a discretionary stay could be appropriate

even when primary jurisdiction is not in the Federal Power

Commission, the district court certainly did not abuse its

discretion here. Indeed, the equities weigh heavily in favor

of the plaintiff municipalities. The Ilinois Municipals point

out that the district court should be permitted to proceed in

order to avoid the typical lengthy delays that occur in

processing wholesale rate increases under Section 205 of the

Federal Power Act (16 U.S.C. §824d). Under that provi-

sion, a public utility files its rate increase application no less

than 30 days before the effective date thereof, and the Com-

mission typically suspends the proposed rate from one day

29a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

to five months, with refunds required if the rate is found

to be above the statutory ‘‘just and reasonable’’ standard.

The wholesale rate increase in the present case stems from

a June 13, 1972, application by defendant, and the case

was not terminated in the Commission until it approved a

settlement on June 1, 1977, a span of five years. Except

for the settlement, the case would still pend before the Com-

mission.

Thus far, the Commission has never rejected a rate fil-

ing on price squeeze or other antitrust grounds, and there

is no limit on the number of filed increases that may be

in effect at the same time under Section 205. Simply by

filing an anti-competitive increase anc waiting for time to

pass, a public utility like defendant can place a price

squeeze on wholesale customers. As the Commission has

stated, ‘‘electric utilities are permitted to file virtually any

level of costs and rates and after a period of suspension

charge those rates subject to refund, pending Commission

decision.’’ FPC Order No. 487, 50 FPC at 127 (1973).

Under this procedure, the price squeeze can continue

between the time the Commission allows the rates to go

into effect and its final order, for the new Conway remedy

as to price squeezes does not become effective until then.

Thus if a stay were granted to defendant, plaintiffs and

customers -in- similar positions would be unabie to secure

any relief from price squeezes like this until the Commission

finally approved the filed rates. As the Illinois Municipals

have picturesquely put it:

‘‘Delay, combined with the multiple rate increases,

could mean that the customer has been put out of

30a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

business by his supplier-competitor. You cannot give

refunds to a corpse.’’ (Br. 27-28.)

Furthermore, the Commission would be unable to afford

complete relief because the Federal Power Act does not

provide for damages or for an injunction against a utility

violating the antitrust laws. Thus a stay in this case

would excuse defendant’s alleged non-compliance with

the antitrust laws for a completely unnecessary length of

time.

IV. Disposition

At oral argument, we were advised that on January

14, 1977, defendant requested the Federal Power Commis-

sion to approve a negotiated settlement between it, these

plaintiffs and others for the period from January 13, 1973,

to July 27, 1976, when defendant’s new wholesale rate

schedule became effective. This settlement was approved

on June 1, 1977. See note 3 supra. Upon remand, the dis-

trict court will have to determine whether this settlement

agreement has mooted any of the antitrust claims in this

ease. Of course, the claims stemming from the July 27,

1976, higher wholesale prices are still active.

While we are holding that the district court need not

stay further proceedings herein, we agree with Judge

Grant that if the district court should ever find it necessary

to ascertain particular Commission action in order to

decide the exact scope of antitrust damages, or for other

purposes, the court may then stay its hand for the purpose

of awaiting the Commission result (mem. op. 19).

The orders of May 1, 1975, and October 22, 1976, are

affirmed.

a

3la

Order and Memorandum of the District Court,

May 1, 1975

| IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NortHERN District or INDIANA

Soutn Benp Drvision

Civil Action No. S 74-72

Ciry or MisHawaka, INDIANA,

Crry or Nixes, Micuican,

Crry or Cotumsia City, Iyprana,

Crry or Buurrton, Inp1ana,

Crry or Garrett, InpIANa,

Crry or Gas Crry, Inp1ana,

Town or Frankton, Inpiana,

Town or WakkeEN, INDIANA,

Town or New Car.uisiz, Inpiana, and

Town or Avia, Inprana,

— > Oe

Municipal Corporations,

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

Inpiana & Micuican Exectric Company,

a Corporation,

Defendant.

rl > ee

ORDER

The defendant, Indiana & Michigan Electric Company,

filed a motion to dismiss the above entitled action pursuant

32a

Order and Memorandum of the District Court

to Rule 12, F.R.C.P., or, in the alternative, that the pro-

ceeding be stayed in the event that defendant’s motion to

dismiss be denied.

The defendant seeks to dismiss on the grounds that this

Court lacks jurisdiction over the subject matter of this

action and that the complaint fails to state a claim upon

which relief may be granted.

The defendant has also filed a motion for leave to file

a supplementary affidavit in support of its motion to dis-

miss or in the alternative to stay, which motion is DENIED

for the reasons slated in the toilowing Memorandum.

After reviewing defendant’s motion, the parties’ briefs,

and oral argument having been held,

Ir Is THe Orper or THE Court that defendant’s motion

to dismiss or in the alternative to stay be, and the same is,

hereby DENIED.

Rosert A. Grant

District Judge

Enter: May 1, 1975

MEMORANDUM

The plantiffs, City of Mishawaka, Indiana; City of Niles,

Michigan; Cities of Columbia City, Bluffton, Garrett, and

Gas City, Indiana; and the Towns of Frankton, Warren,

New Carlisle, and Avilla, Indiana, filed the present action

on March 25, 1975, against Indiana & Michigan Electric

Company (hereinafter I & M). Plaintiffs have based juris-

diction of this action on Sections 4 and 16 of the Clayton

Act, 15 U.S.C. §§15 and 26, and allege that the defendant,

I & M, has monopolized and attempted to monopolize inter-

33a

Order and Memorandum of the District Court

state trade and commerce in the distribution and sale of

electric power at retail, in violation of Section 2 of the

Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. §2.

Plaintiffs in their complaint state that they are munic-

ipalities which operate their own electric distribution sys-

tems; that they are within the service area of the defendant,

I & M; and that they sell and distribute the electric power

at retail to industrial, commercial, and residential cus-

tomers within their corporate limits and in nearby areas.

Plaintiffs describe I & M as a vertically integrated

electric power company which generates electric power,

transmits the power throughout its service area, and deliv-

ers the power to its wholesale customers, including the

plaintiffs, and also directly to its retail customers.

Plaintiffs allege that the defendant company is the only

firm within their service area engaged in the business of

transmitting and selling electric power at wholesale and,

thus, the only outside source of supply for wholesale electric

power available to them. The complaint states that plain-

tiffs, Mishawaka, Indiana; Columbia City, Indiana; Gar-

rett, Indiana; Gas City, Indiana; Frankton, Indiana; War-

ren, Indiana; New Carlisle, Indiana; and Avilla, Indiana,

depend on the defendant for all of their requirements of

wholesale electric power. Plaintiffs Niles, Michigan, and

Bluffton, Indiana, which operate generating facilities, al-

lege that they depend on the defendant for more than 90%

of their requirements of electric power.

The plaintiffs further contend that the defendant domi-

nates and controls the distribution and sale of retail electric

power within its service area. They contend that the de-

|

34a

Order and Memorandum of the District Court

fendant has increased its control of the retail market by

acquiring municipal electric utilities. It is stated in their

complaint that since 1957 the defendant has purchased the

assets of four of the twenty (20) municipal utilities within

its service area, has absorbed their retail distribution into

the I & M system, and has taken over their retail industrial,

commercial and residential customers, as follows: Kendall-

ville, Indiana (1957), Decatur, Indiana (1959), Portland,

Indiana (1963), and Albion, Indiana (1966). Because of

this, the plaintiffs contend that the defendant company now

controls the distribution and sale of retail electric power in

more than 90% of the communities within its service area,

while municipally owned and operated systems serve retail

customers in fewer than 10%.

Plaintiffs allege that the defendant, I & M has monopol-

ized and attempted to monopolize interstate trade and com-

merce in the distribution and sale of electric power at retail,

in violation of Section 2 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. §2,

in the following ways:

(1) Since January 13, 1973, the defendant has required

municipalities to pay a new wholesale price for electric

power. The new wholesale price is substantially higher

than the retail price the defendant company charges its own

industrial customers. This causes the municipalities to be

unable to buy power at the defendant’s wholesale price and

sell it at competitive prices.

(2) On March 8, 1974, after fourteen months of requir-

ing the city of Fort Wayne to pay more for wholesale elec-

tric power than the defendant’s own retail industrial cus-

Pq eens os owe

35a

Order and Memorandum of the District Court

tomers pay, and after more than twenty (20) years of sell-

ing retail electric power to its own customers in the Fort

Wayne area for less than it sells retail power elsewhere,

the defendant obtained the agreement of the city officials

that the city of Fort Wayne will lease its entire electric

utility system to the defendant for thirty-five (35) years.

Under the lease agrement to be submitted to the voters,

I & M will take possession of all the property and facilities

of the city’s electric utility and will operate the electric

distribution system. The defendant will take over the city’s

retail customers and will sell electric power directly to

them.

The plaintiffs further contend that the adoption of a

wholesale price to municipalities in excess of the retail

prices at which it sells electric power has caused and threat-

ens to cause, the following consequences :

(1) It impairs the plaintiffs’ ability to compete against

the defendant.

(2) In municipalities that have absorbed the difference

between the defendant’s higher wholesale price and lower

retail price, the electric utility’s loss of earning exerts pres-

sure on the citizens and officials of the municipality to dis-

continue operating the utility and to offer to sell or lease

it to the defendant.

(3) In the municipalities that increase their own in-

dustrial retail prices to the level of the defendant’s higher

wholesale price, and above the level of the defendant’s

lower retail industrial prices, this situation threatens to

cause the municipalities’ industrial customers to exert pres-

36a

Order and Memorandum of the District Court

sure on the municipalities to sell or lease its utility to the

defendant so they can purchase electric power at the de-

fendant’s lower price.

It is the plaintiffs’ contention that these alleged prac-

tices have been done with the intent, and have the effect, of

monopolizing part of the trade and commerce among the

several states in the distribution and sale of electric power

at retail in violation of Section 2 of the Sherman Act and

have injured the municipalities in their business and prop-

erty. Plaintiffs thus seek declaratory and injunctive relief

and treble damages.

The defendant, I & M, has responded to plaintiffs’ com-

plaint by filing a motion to dismiss or in the alternative to

stay, pursuant to Rule 12 of the F.R.C.P. The defendant’s

motion to dismiss is based upon the following grounds:

The Court lacks jurisdiction over the subject matter of the

action and the plaintiffs’ complaint fails to state a claim

upon which relief may be granted.

In the motion to stay, defendant contends that in the

event the Court does not dismiss this action, the Court

should order this proceeding stayed until the conclusion of

the regulatory proceedings before the Federal Power Com-

mission involving defendant’s rates charges to wholesale

customers, including plaintiffs, to which proceedings de-

fendant and the Indiana & Michigan Distributors Associa-

tion (of which plaintiffs are members) are parties.

Subsequent to a hearing on defendant’s motion to dis-

miss, or in the alternative to stay, and while defendant’s

motion was under advisement by the Court, the defendant

filed a motion for leave to file supplementary affidavit and -~~

37a

Order and Memorandum of the District Court

exhibits in support of its motion to dismiss or in the alterna-

tive to stay. The Court finds from reviewing defendant’s

supplementary aftidavit and exhibits that they are sub-

mitted in support of the proposition that the dual pricing

structure of which plaintiffs complain does not exist and

that plaintiffs are in fact paying less under the present

wholesale rates than they would pay under the applicable

retail tariff and, therefore, there is no basis upon which the

plaintiffs can claim injury. The Court finds that the mate-

rial which defendant seeks to file, by way of supplementary

affidavit and exhibits, is not material in support of its mo-

tion to dismiss or in the al. _rnative to stay but, in fact, is

material in opposition to the substantive issue of plaintiffs

complaint, which issue is presently not before this Court.

The present motion before the Court and the motion de-

fendant seeks to supplement, involves the jurisdiction of

this Court and not the merits of plaintiffs’ complaint. If

and when the merits of plaintiffs’ complaint are at issue, the

defendant will be allowed to present its opposition to plain-

tiffs’ claim and the Court will then consider such material.

The Court finding defendant’s supplementary material to

be irrelevant to the present motion, it is the Order of the

Court that defendant’s motion for leave to file supplemen-

tary affidavit and exhibits be denied.

In considering defendant’s motion to dismiss or in the

alternative to stay, the Court has had to become familiar

with some of the proceedings that have gone on and are

going on in the Public Service Commissions of Indiana and

Michigan (‘‘Indiana Commission’’ and ‘‘Michigan Com-

38a

Order and Memorandum of the District Court

mission’’, respectively), and the Federal Power Commis-

sion (‘‘Commission’’) with respect to the approval of retail

and wholesale rates submitted by I & M since 1971. The

following is a summary of what has occurred in the respec-

tive Commissions :

Reta Rates

Dates Action Taken

July 30, 1971 I & M filed petition requesting the.

Indiana Commission to make an in-

vestigation and hold public hear-

ings in regard to I & M’s proposed

new rates.

March 24, 1972 Indiana Commission issued an or-

der setting I & M’s retail rates for

the State of Indiana. The rates

were effective March 29, 1972.

July 30, 1971 I & M filed a petition with the Mich-

igan Commission asking them to in-

vestigate and hold hearings on the

proposed rate increase for Michi-

gan.

March 20, 1973 The Michigan Commission granted

an increase in the rates. The rates

were effective March, 1973.

WHo.esaLeE Rates

June 13, 1972 Pursuant to 16 U.S.C. §824(d), I

& M submitted proposed rate in-

creases in the rates charged to

wholesale customers to the Federal

Power Commission.

39a

Order and Memorandum of the District Court

Dates

_ August 11, 1972

August 13, 1972

December 5, 1972

February 14, 1973

Action Taken

Public hearings were ordered and

the Indiana and Michigan Municipal

Distributors Association (IMMDA)

request to intervene in the proceed-

ing was granted.

The Commission designated this

date as the effective date for I &

M’s new rates and suspended the

effective date of the new rates for

five months thereafter, until Janu-

ary 13, 1973.

I & M appealed to the United States

Court of Appeals in the District of

Columbia Circuit, on the grounds

that the effective rate date should

be July 14, 1972. While it was sub

judice, the Commission on January

31, 1974, commenced its hearings

on the lawfulness of the proposed

rates.

The Court of Appeals ruled favor-

ably on I & M’s petition, vacated

the Commission’s suspension order

and remanded the proceeding to the

Commission, with instructions that

I & M’s rates be made effective ret-

roactive to July 14, 1972. A peti-

tion for rehearing was filed.

40a

Order and Memorandum of the District Court

Dates Action Taken

August 14, 1974 The rehearing was granted and the

Court modified its order as follows:

I & M may not collect retroactive

rate increases for the five-month

period from the effective date of its

rate filing, July 14, 1972, through

December 13, 1972; I & M may col-

lect the difference between its old

and new rates for the period from

December 14, 1972, through Janu-

ary 13, 1973. If the Commission

determines that I & M’s filed rates

are unjust or unreasonable, it may

order I & M to refund the amounts

collected after December 13, 1972,

in excess of the just and reasonable

rates. Indiana & Michigan Electric

Company v. Federal Power Com-

mission, No. 72-2168 (D.C.Cir.

1974).

April 16, 1974 The hearings on the lawfulness of

I & M’s rates were concluded and

a briefing schedule established, final

briefs being due on September 3,

1974. It is expected that the final

decision of the Administrative Law

Judge will be appealed.

I—Subject Matter Jurisdiction

Defendant I & M contends that its retail rates which

have been set by the Indiana Commission and the Michigan

Commission are immune from attack under the Sherman

4la

Order and Memorandum of the District Court

Act. It argues that it is a well settled principle of antitrust

law that conduct which violates the Sherman Act, if under-

taken by a private.individual, is immune from attack under

the Sherman Act if undertaken by the state or its agents

acting in the scope of their authority, Parker v. Brown, 317

U.S. 341 (1943). I & M alleges that nothing in the Sherman

Act is intended to restrain a state or its officers or agents

from activities directed by its legislature. It is defendant’s

position that congress has pre-empted the authority over

wholesale rates of electric utilities but has left the states

sovereign with respect to the rates and regulations concern-

ing retail sales within the states’ borders. Therefore, the

retail rates in Indiana and Michigan are subject exclusively

to regulation by the Indiana and Michigan Commissions.

Defendant states that because I & M’s retail rates derive

their authority and efficacy from the legislative commands

of Indiana and Michigan and cannot operate or be effective

without that command, they are immune from attack under

the Sherman Act.

It is also the defendant’s position that the Court cannot

issue an order affecting the wholesale rates since they are

within the exclusive or, alternatively, the primary jurisdic-

tion of the Commission. Defendant contends that should

the present proceedings not be terminated, they will result

in an order determining the just and reasonable rates for

I & M’s wholesale customers, inciuding the plaintiffs herein,

and these wholesale rates will be subject to the Commis-

sion’s approval as just and reasonable. I & M assert that

the rates which plaintiffs attack are clearly within the Com-

mission’s regulatory domain. The defendant also acknowl-

edges that anti-competitive conduct may be raised and con-

42a

Order and Memorandum of the District Court

sidered by the Commission in its rate determination, but it

may only deal with allegations of anti-competitive conduct

that are specifically articulated and that are within its

jurisdiction to remedy. I & M further agrees that the

Commission has no power over the retail rates which are

left to the regulatory power of the State Commissions.

Because the Commission has no power over the retail rates,

I & M is aware of the Commission’s inability to remedy a

claim of anti-competitive behavior, premised on the differ-

ence in rates charged by I & M to its wholesale and retail

customers, by raising the retail rates to the level of the

wholesale rates. The Commission also finds that its juris-

diction over wholesale rates is clear and that it cannot be

limited by the state’s action with respect to retail rates.

It is the defendant’s contention that the Commission cannot

set wholesale rates at a level equal to or lower than the

retail rates if the lower rate would not be adequate to cover

the utilities’ allocated cost-of-service or would result in an

inadequate rate of return. To do so would result in an ab-

dication of the Commission’s statutory responsibility to set

only just and reasonable rates.

The defendant sees the problem as one of inter-relation-

ship of two separate statutory schemes. The Sherman Act

has as its goal the determination of prices and services by

the working of a free market. The Federal Power Act

substitutes for competition the authority of a regulatory

agency to supervise the rates and prices charged by electric

companies on the grounds that the concept of prices set by

free market competition has no place in industries which are

monopolies because of public grant, the exigencies of na-

ture, or legislative preference for a particular way of doing

eT .

SS SS RR ET PE PE TT FT Et YET

43a

Order and Memorandum of the District Court

business. Thus the defendant contends that the antitrust

laws may only be applied to the extent that the matter in

question is not within the reach of tne regulatory agency’s

supervision.

The plaintiffs in response to defendant’s argument con- .

tend that the Court does have jurisdiction of the subject

matter of this case. If is plantiffs’ position that the use of

monopoly power to prevent competition is a violation of

the anti-trust laws over which this Court has jurisdiction.

They rely on Section 2 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. §2.

They further assert that Sections 4 and 16 of the Clayton

Act, 15 U.S.C. §§15 and 26, provide a right of action and

remedies to private parties who are injured by violation

of the Sherman Act.

The plaintiffs contend that the defendant’s motion

ignores the fact that this anti-trust action does not challenge

the defendant’s wholesale or retail prices, but challenges

the defendant’s act of allegedly monopolizing and attempt-

irig to monopolize the business of selling electric power at

retail. Plaintiffs contend it does so by abusing its dis-

cretion to file wholesale and retail prices and by instituting

a dual price structure that prevents competition and ex-

tends the monopoly control.

It is the plaintiffs’ position that this Court will not be

required either to issue an order raising the retail rates, or

issue an order lowering the wholesale rates. Plaintiffs as-

sert that the power to establish prices rests with the defend-

ant utility, subject only to the requirement that it be within

a zone of reasonableness and that they undergo agency

review. It is the plaintiffs’ position that the defendant it-

|

44a

Order and Memorandum of the District Court

self has the power to eliminate the dual price system by

changing its own price-setting practices and by making

such new filings before one or more of the state or federal

regulatory agencies as the defendant sees fit which will

remove the allegedly unlawful disparity between the price

at which the defendant sells electric power to its customers

and the price the defendant requires its competitors to pay.

Plaintiffs claim that the Federal Power Act does not

immunize the defendant’s alleged monoply from coverage

of the anti-trust laws, and that the defendant itself concedes

in its brief on Page 25 that the anti-trust laws may be ap-

plied ‘‘to the extent that the matter in question is not within

the reach of the regulatory agency’s supervision.’’ It is

argued by the plaintiffs that the Federal Power Act, as

interpreted by the Commission, does not itself provide a

pervasive regulatory scheme to control the defendant’s

practice of instituting a dual price system and requiring

its competitors to pay more for electric power than its

retail customers. Plaintiffs state that the Commission has

held that dual price systems and their anti-competitive

effects are beyond the Commission’s jurisdiction. Thus,

the Federal Power Act fails to replace tke anti-trust laws

with provisions that would regulate the defendant’s monop-

olization or immunize the defendant from the coverage of

the anti-trust laws.

After reviewing both parties’ arguments as to whether

the Court lacks jurisdiction over the subject matter of this

action, the Court finds that it does have jurisdiction over the

ease before it. The defendant has attempted to send the

Court down two paths of exclusive jurisdiction and then

inform it that because the Court has no control over the

7" —— _

45a

Order and Memorandum of the District Court

exclusive areas, it has no jurisdiction over the present ac-

tion. I & M first argues that the retail rates in dispute

are the products of approval by the Indiana and Michigan

Public Service Commissions and, as such, are protected

from the Sherman Act under the reasoning set out in

Parker v. Brown, supra. Next, I & M points out how the

Federal Power Act, 16 U.S.C. §824(d)(a) 1970 has granted

the Commission the power to decide if the rates and charges

made, demanded, or received by a public utility for or in

connection with the sale at wholesale of electric energy are

just and reasonable and therefore lawful. The Court agrees

with the defendant and the principles set forth in Parker v.

Brown. The Court in this case does not have any authority

under the Sherman Act to attack the Indiana and Michigan

Public Service Commissions’ findings that the retail rates

implemented by I & M were lawful. The respective state

commissions are empowered to determine whether the elec-

trie retailers’ rates are just and reasonable in relation to

cost and rate of return, and the Court in no way intends

to intrude upon that particular decision. Further, the Court

reeognizes that Congress has pre-empted the authority over

wholesale rates. There is no dispute but that the Federal

Power Commission has been given the task of reviewing

the lawfulness of the wholesale rates charged by the de-

fendant company. However, the plaintiffs themselves are

not attacking the action of the state commissions, nor the

role of the Federal Power Commission. What is really at

issue in this case is the action of the defendant, I & M.

I & M deals in both wholesale and retail electric power

and, therefore, has to init'ate vates which are subject to

the scrutiny of the state commissions on one level and the

Federal Commission when wholesale rates are put into

effect. The Commissions operate independently of one

ee

are cers

46a

Order and Memorandum of the District Court

another and in no way rely on the other’s actions when

deciding upon the lawfulness of the respective rates. The

defendant in this case is also the plaintiffs’ only outside

source of wholesale electric power, which position makes

the Federal Power Commission the only control over the

defendant’s price for wholesale power since competition

with other wholesalers does not exist in the area.

A great portion of the defendant’s argument focused on

a regulatory agency’s exclusive or primary jurisdiction

over the rates charged by the defendant. I & M cites the

eases of Ricci v. Chicago Mercantile Exchange, 409 U.S. 289

(1973), and Pennsylvania Power Company v. F.P.C., 193

F.2d 230 (D.C.Cir. 1951), aff’d., 343 U.S. 414 (1952), to

support the position that anti-trust laws have no applica-

tion upon an issue which has been placed under the control

of a regulatory agency. Here the defendant contends that

Congress has given the power over wholesale rates to the

Commission and that anti-trust criteria are not to be the

governing factor. In both Ricci and Pennsylvania Power

Company the Court was concerned with conduct covered by

the respective regulatory statutes. In Ricci the issue be-

fore the Court involved whether the defendant had violated

the rules of the Chicago Mercantile Exchange, an issue the

Supreme Court decided was with:n the jurisdiction of the

Commodities Exchange Commission. In Pennsylvania Pow-

er Company the Court would not allow anti-trust criteria

to be forced upon the Commission in its decision of what

rate was just and reasonable.

The case before us is distinct from both Ricci and Penn-

sylvania Power Company. Here, the alleged monopolistic

practice not only involves ra‘es which are subject to review

by the Federal Power Commission but also separate rates

47a

Order and Memorandum of the District Court

reviewed by state commissions. Further, it is not the deci-

sion by the commission, nor the criteria used in the com-

mission’s decision, that is under attack by the plaintiffs.

Instead, what is sought to be enjoined is beyond the reach

of both state and federal commissions and within the power

of the defendant; that is, the initiation of a dual rate struc-

ture whereby plaintiffs are allegedly being forced out of

the retail electric business by the defendant.

The Federal Power Commission itself has indicated that

the alleged dual price system and its anti-competitive effects

are beyond the Commission’s jurisdiction (Order Denying

Motion to Reject, Granting Petition to Intervene in Part

and Amending Prior Order, Indiana and Michigan Electric

Co., FPC Docket No. 7740, November 27, 1973 [Appendix

4] Plaintiff’s Brief in Opposition to Defendant’s Motion

to Dismiss or Stay).

The dilemma caused by the seemingly contrary purposes

of the regulatory agencies and the anti-trust laws is not a

new issue in anti-trust litigation. Although they are dif-

ferent forms of control, they have the same goal and that

goal is to serve the public interest. In the Supreme Court

case of Georgia v. Pennsylvania R.R., 324 U.S. 439 (1944),

the State of Georgia, as plaintiff, filed suit against twenty

railroad companies alleging that the companies conspired

to fix their rates in such a manner as to prefer the ports of

other states over the ports of Georgia in violation of the

anti-trust laws. The Court in Georgia stated that ‘‘[r]Jegu-

lated industries are not per se exempt from the Sherman

Act.’’

The Court in the Georgia case also cited Justice Bran-

deis’ words in Keogh v. Chicago & N.W. Ry., 260 U.S. 156

(1922) wherein he stated as fellows:

48a

Order and Memorandum of the District Court

All the rates fixed were reasonable and nondiscrim-

inatory. That was settled by the proceeding before the

Commission .... But under the Antitrust Act, a

combination of carriers to fix reasonable and nondis-

criminatory rates may be illegal; and if so, the Govern-

ment may have redress.

The Court further stated:

The fact that these rates had been approved by the

Commission would not, it seems, bar proceedings by

the Government... The type of regulation which Con-

gress chose did not eliminate the emphasis on com-

petition and individual freedom of action in rate mak-

ing.... The Act was designed to preserve private

initiative in rate-making as indicated by the duty of

each common carrier to initiate its own rates.

Although the Georgia case involved the Interstate Com-

merece Commission and not the Federal Power Commission,

it has many similarities with the present case. Here, as in

Georgia, the rates are not within the discretion of the Court.

It is also a fact that in the present case, the Federal Power

Commission has no power over the alleged anti-trust viola-

tion that is asserted here because it involves retail rates

over which it has no control. 16 U.S.C. §824.

Because the alleged dual structure is outside the juris-

diction of both the federal and state commissions, there is

actually no conflict between the anti-trust laws and the

regulatory agency. Georgia, supra. The defendant has at-

tempted to present the plaintiffs’ claim as one attacking the

rates themselves and not one attacking their effect.

The Court in Otter Tail Power Co. v. United States, 410

U.S. 366 (1972), faced a similar defense and stated as

follows :

49a

Order and Memorandum of the District Court

The anti-trust charge against Otter Tail does not in-

volve the lawfulness of its retail outlets, but only its

methods of preventing the towns served from establish-

ing their own municipal systems when Otter Tail’s

francise expired.

The Supreme Court in Ottter Tail further stated the

following with respect to the Federal Power Act, 16 U.S.C.

§824:

There is nothing in the legislative history which reveals

a purpose to insulate electric power companies from

the operation of the antitrust laws. To the contrary,

the history of Part IT of the Federal Power Act indi-

eates an overriding policy of maintaining competition

to the maximum extent possible consistent with the

public interest.

Just as the Court in Otter Tail was hesitant to conclude

that the authority of the Federal Power Commission to

order inter-connections was intended to ‘‘be a substitute

for, or to immunize Otter Tail from, anti-trust regulation

for refusing to deal with municipal cerporations’’, this

Court cannot conclude tiat the Federal Power Commis-

sion’s authority to review rates was an intended substitute

for the anti-trust laws in a situation involving the alleged

monopolizing effect of a dual price structure.

Because regulated industries are not immune from anti-

trust laws and because the present case concerns an issue

over which the regulatory agency uas no jurisdiction, the

Court finds that it has jurisdiction over the subject matter

of this action, and the defendant’s motion to dismiss for

lack of jurisdiction is denied.

50a

Order and Memorandum of the District Court

Il—Failure to State a Claim

The defendant also argues that the plaintiffs’ complaint

should be dismissed for failure to state a claim upon which

relief may be granted because their claim is premature and

because if defendant’s wholesale rates have been too high,

plaintiffs will not be injured because of a possible refund.

I & M contends that plaintiffs’ claim assumes the existence

of two established rates, one for I & M’s retail industrial

customers and one for the plaintiff municipalities, and that,

in fact, there is only one established rate, that being the

retail rate. It cites the United States Court of Appeals

for the District of Columbia Circuit on rehearing in India

& Michigan Electric Co. v. FPC, Docket No. 72-2168 (D.C.

Cir. Aug. 14, 1972), in which the Court altered the effective

date of I & M’s proposed wholesale rates for electric power

and permiited the rates to become effective subject to

refund based upon the Commission’s decision. It is the de-

fendant’s position that although I & M may collect the dif-

ference between its old and new rates from December 14,

1972, the rate has not yet been approved by the Commission

and thus is subject to being reduced by the Commission.

The facts of this case show that the state commissions

have established retail rates and that there is presently

pending before the Federal Power Commission the issue

of the lawfulness of I & M’s wholesale rates. The Court

notes that although the question of the rates’ lawfulness

has not been rescived by the Commission, the rates them-

selves are in effect and have been for collection purposes

since December 14, 1972. It is true that if the Commission

finds the rates to be unlawful, the defendant will have to

-— +e

a ee en —

5la

Order and Memorandum of the District Court

refund that portion of the rate found to be excessive. On

the other hand, if the rates are just in relation to cost and

fair rate of r turn, they will no doubt be upheld by the

Commission. In either situation, we are discussing a future

result which is in no way based on any of the anti-trust

considerations set forth in plaintiffs’ complaint.

The Court finds that there are presently in effect two

rates: one an established rate for retail electric power, and

one a rate for wholesale power, the latter being subject to

change by the Commission although it is presently being

collected. It would be notably different in this case if the

practice of the Commission was to not allow a rate increase

to go into effect until after approval by the Commission.

For if that were the situation, the plaintiffs would be com-

plaining about a future harm that might never come to pass.

Whether the rate presently being charged by the defendant

as wholesaler will be upheld by the Commission is not the

ultimate concern of the plaintiffs in this case. The real

concern here is the defendant’s present and future ability

to set up a dual price structure by going through two

reviewing commissions which have no control over the dual

structure.

The fact that the defendant has legally set both its

wholesale and retail prices is no ground to immunize it

from the anti-trust laws. Georgia, supra. The Court finds

that although the present wholesale rate is subject to

change by the Commission, the Commission has no power

over the alleged dual rate structure which is allegedly in

effect at this time. Thus, it has no jurisdiction over the

issue in this suit. The plaintiffs are not attacking the actual

rates charged by the defendant and, therefore, whether the

eerbheews pe oo

o2a

Order and Memorandum of the District Court

Commission finds the rate fair is irrelevant to the substan-

tive issue before the Court. The defendant has the right

to initiate a given rate, and the Commission has the author-

ity to make sure the rate is fair in relation to cost and rate

of return. The initiation of new rate schedules is a con-

tinuing process carried on by the defendant. It is also the

point over which this Court has the power to provide relief

if the plaintiffs can prove their allegation. Because the

Court is in reality focusing on the dual price structure and

not the actual prices charged for either retail or wholesale,

the results of the Commission’s decision would only affect

whether defendant would have to initiate new rates if the

plaintiffs can prove that defendant is violating the Sherman

Act, §2. That is, if the Commission finds the defendant’s

rates to be just, the Court would be forced to order defend-

ant to initiate a new rate structure which eliminated the

dual price system of higher wholesale prices. However,

if the Commission finds the present rate to be unjust, then

the Court would only enjoin the defendant from any future

dual system.

The defendant also contends that if the Commission

declares the present wholesale rates to be unlawful, the

defendant will have to refund the excessive amount and,

therefore, there will have been no damage. Whether the

plaintiffs are entitled to damages, although not clear at this

point, is no reason to deny the Court jurisdiction over this

action which seeks injunctive, declaratory and damage

relief. If, in fact, the plaintiffs can recover damages in this

action, the amount of those damages will have to be proved

by the plaintiffs at trial. It is, therefore, the Order of the

Court that defendant’s motion to dismiss for failure to state

a claim be denied.

53a

Order and Memorandum of the District Court

IlI—Stay the Proceeding

The defendant also asks that if the Court does find that

it has jurisdiction over the present action, the action be

stayed until a final decision is handed down by the Commis-

sion. As stated above, the Commission’s decision on the

lawfulness of the defendant’s wholesale rate is not deter-

minative of the issue before this Court. The issue of the

lawfulness of the defendant’s rate is in the exclusive juris-

diction of the Commission and is not for this Court to

decide. If that were the issue before the Court, the case

would have to be dismissed.

Staying the present action will not aid this Court in

deciding the matter before it as it did the Court in Ricci.

In this action the alleged wrong is occurring at this time,

and although there is a possibility that agency action may

change the situation, the same possibility exists that no

change will take place. The agency acts as a review agency

after the rate is initiated by the utility company. Since it

is the initiation of a monopciistic structure that the Court

is asked to prohibit and not the rate itself, final action by the

agency will not by itself prohibit the problem although it

may alleviate it for a time. Furthermore, if the Court found

that damages were recoverable in this case and that in

determining the damages the final decision of the Commis-

sion was necessary and the Commission has not yet ruleu

on the lawfulness of the wholesale rate the present action

could at that time be stayed by the Court for the purpose of

awaiting the Commission result.

It is, therefore, the Order of the Court that defendant’s

motion to stay be 4 nied.

o4a

Order of the District Court, October 22, 1976

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NortTHERN District or INDIANA

Sout Benp Drvision

Case No. 874-72

Date 10/22/76

Time—From: 1:30

To: 2:30

Deputy R. Timmons

Reporter—Gail

Judge—Allen Sharp

Crry or Misuawaka, Inp1ana et al.

vs.

Inprana & Micuican ELEctric ComMPANY

a x

Plaintiff(s) Represented By Thomas R. Ewald and

R. Wyatt Mick Jr.

Defendant(s) Represented By Peter J. Schlesinger and

Lawrence Levy

Proceedings :

Hearing had on pending motions. Court hears argument of

counsel. Defendant, Indiana & Michigan Electric Com-

pany’s motion to recosider, vacate, set aside and amend this

Court’s Order of May 1, 1975, is overruled. On verbal mo-

tion of counsel, Defendant is granted leave to file an appeal

from this Order, pursuant to Title 28 USC, Section 1292(b).

Court reserves its ruling on Pitfs.’ motions to dismiss

Deft’s. counterclaims and to strike parts of Deft’s. answer.

Deft. is given to November 8, 1976, within which to answer

the amendment to the Complaint. Srarp, J.

/

55a

Complaint

IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

For tHe NortHern District or INDIANA

Soutu Benp Drvision

Civil Action No. S 74-72

Ee

Crry or Mishawaka, InpIANA,

Ciry or Nims, Micuican,

City or Cotumsia City, Inpiana,

City or Buurrton, Inprana,

Crry or Garrett, Inprana,

Crry or Gas Crry, Inpiana,

Town or Frankton, Inprana,

Town or Warren, Inpiana,

Town or New Caruiste, Inprana, and

Town or Aviiua, Inprana,

municipal corporations,

Plaintiffs,

v.

Ivpiana & Micuican Exectric Company,

a corporation,

Defendant.

56a

COMPLAINT

Plaintiffs allege as follows:

L.

Jurisdiction and Venue

1. This is an action by ten municipalities that operate

their own electric distribution systems against the electric

power company that controls their supply of wholesale

electric power and also competes against them for retail

sales. The plaintiffs request relief against the defendant’s

monopolization of and attempt to monopolize the distribu-

tion and sale of electric power at retail within the area in

which it does business, in violation of Section 2 of the Sher-

man Act, 15 U.S.C. §2. The plaintiffs seek declaratory and

injunctive relief and treble damages.

2. This Court has jurisdiction of this case by virtue of

Sections 4 and 16 of the Clayton Act, 5 U.S.C. §4 15, 26.

The defendant company transacts business within the South

Bend Division of the Northern District of Indiana.

II.

Parties

3. Plaintiffs, City of Mishawaka, Indiana; City of Niles,

Michigan; City of Columbia City, Indiana; City of Bluffton,

Indiana; City of Garrett, Indiana; City of Gas City, Indi-

ana; Town of Frankton, Indiana; Town of Warren, Indi-

ana; Town of New Carlisle, Indiana; aud Town of Avilla,

Indiana, are municipal corporations located within the serv-

ice area of the defendant Indiana & Michigan Electric

/-rowe es er

d7a

Complaint

Company. Each of the plaintiffs operates its own electric

utility, through which it purchases wholesale electric power

from the defendant Indiana & Michigan Electric Company

and sells and distributes the electric power at retail to

industrial, commercial, and residential customers within its

corporate limits and in nearby areas.

4. Defendant Indiana & Michigan Electric Company

(sometimes referred to herein as ‘‘I&M’’ or ‘‘the com-

pany’’) is incorporated under the laws of the State of

Indiana and is doing business in the plaintiff municipalities

and elsewhere in the States of Indiana and Michigan. The

defendant I&M is a vertically integrated electric power com-

pany, which generates electric power, transmits the power

throughout its service area, and delivers the power both to

its wholesale customers, including the plaintiffs, and di-

rectly to its own retail customers.

Ii,

Nature of Trade and Commerce

5. The defendant company is the only firm within its

service area engaged in the business of transmitting and

selling electric power at wholesale. The defendant com-

pany is the plaintiffs’ only outside source of supply for

wholesale electric power. Plaintiffs Mishawaka, Indiana;

Columbia City, Indiana; Garrett, Indiana; Gas City, Indi-

ana; Frankton, Indiana; Warren, Indiana; New Carlisle,

Indiana; and Avilla, Indiana, depend on the defendant for

all of their requirements of wholesale electric power for

distribution and sale to their retail customers. Plaintiffs

Niles, Michigan, and Bluffton, 'ndiana, which operate gen-

erating facilities, nevertheless depend on the defendant for

Ska

Complaint

more than 90% of their requirements of electric power for

distribution and sale to their retail customers,

6. The defendant I&M also dominates and controls

the distribution and sale of retail electric power within its

service area, The defendant company has increased its

control of the retail market by acquiring municipal electric

utilities, Since 1957, the defendant has purchased the assets

of four of the 20 municipal utilities within its service area,

has absorbed their retail distribution facilities into the

I&M system, and has taken over their retail industrial,

commercial, and residential customers, as follows; Kendall-

ville, Indiana (1957), Decatur, Indiana (1959), Portland,

Indiana (1963), and Albion, Indiana (1966), In 1964, the

defendant attempted to acquire the municipal electric utility

of the City of South Haven, Michigan, but the sale was re-

jected by the voters of the City in three successive elections,

The defendant company now controls the distribution and

sale of retail electric power in more than 90% of the com-

munities within its service area, while municipally owned

and operated electric systems serve retail customers in

fewer than 10%.

IV,

Violations of Law

7. The defendant I8M has monopolized and has at-

tempted to monopolize interstate trade and commerce in the

distribution and sale of electric power at retail, in violation

of Section 2 of the Sherman Act, as follows:

(a) Since January 13, 1973, the defendant IGM has

required municipalities, including the plaintiffs, to pay a

59a

Complaint

new wholesale price for electric power, In contrast to its

previous practice, the defendant company’s new wholesale

price to municipalities is substantially higher than the retail

price the defendant company charges its own industrial

customers. As a result, the municipalities have become

financially unable to buy power at the defendant's new

wholesale price and sell it to their own industrial customers

at prices that are competitive with the defendant's present

retail prices ;

(b) On March 8, 1974, after fourteen months of requiring

the City of Fort Wayne, Indiana, to pay more for wholesale

electric power than the defendant I&M’s own retail in-

dustrial customers pay and after more than twenty years

of selling retail electric power to its own customers in the

Fort Wayne area for less than it sells retail power else-

where, the defendant I8M obtained the agreement of City

officials that the City of Fort Wayne will lease its entire

electric utility system to the defendant I&M for thirty-five

years. Under the lease agreement to be submitted to the

voters the defendant I&M will take possession of all of

the property and facilities of the City's electric utility and

will operate the electric distribution system, The defend-

ant company will take over the City’s retail customers and

will sell electric power to them directly, Fort Wayne is

the largest City within the defendant company's service

area which still operates its own electric utility.

& The defendant company's adoption of a wholesale

price to municipalities in excess of the retail prices at which

it sells electric power to its own industrial customers has

caused and threatens to cause the following consequences :

ee a ee

60a

Complaint

(a) The defendant company has impaired the plaintiffs’

ability to compete against the defendant for retail indus-

trial customers ;

(b) In those municipalities that have absorbed the differ-

ence between the defendant's higher wholesale price and

the defendant's lower retail industrial prices, the electric

utility’s loss of earnings exerts pressure on the citizens and

officials of the municipality to discontinue operating the

utility and to offer to sell or lease it to the defendant;

(c) In those municipalities that increase their own in-

dustrial retail prices to the level of the defendant’s higher

wholesale price, which they must pay for electric power, and

above the level of the defendant's lower retail industrial

prices, the disparity between the municipalities’ higher

retail industrial prices and the defendant [&M's lower

retail industrial prices threatens to cause the municipal-

ities’ industrial customers to exert pressure on the munic-

ipality to sell or lease its utility to the defendant I8M

so they can purchase electric power at the defendant's

lower prices.

9. The acts and practices of the defendant I&M alleged

herein have been done with the intent, and have had the

effect, of monopolizing part of the trade and commerce

among the several states in the distribution and sale of

electric power at retail and have injured the plaintiff munic-

ipalities in their business and property in an amount ex-

ceeding $1,000,000 before trebling. The plaintiffs’ losses

are continuing.

- Ea

6la

Complaint

10, Unless the relief requested by this Complaint is

granted, the defendant company will continue to violate 15

U.S.C, §2,

V.

Relief

Wuenerons, plaintiffs pray as follows:

1, For a declaratory judgment that the defendant com-

pany has violated 15 U.S.C. §2 by monopolizing and at-

tempting to monopolize the distribution and sale of electric

power at retail within its service area,

2. For an order enjoining the defendant company, its

officers, agents, employees, successors, and all persons in

active concert or participation with them, from violating

15 U.S.C, §2.

3. For an order enjoining the defendant I&M from

maintaining a disparity between the prices at which it

sells electric power and under which it requires the plaintiff

municipalities to pay a higher wholesale price than the

retail prices at which it sells and distributes power to its

own industrial customers.

4. For an order awarding the plaintiffs treble the

amount of damages they have sustained as a result of the

defendant's violations of 15 U.S.C, §2.

5. For an order awarding the plaintiffs reasonable at-

torney's fees, together with the costs and disbursements of

this action.

Complaint

6. For such other and additional relief as the interests Amendment to the Complaint

of justice may require.

| IN THE

s/ Tromas R, Ewan

Michacl Nussbaum = ana = UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

Ronald G. Preeup omas 5. HW For rue Nontuean Disraicr or Iwona

Karasik & M 1156 15th Street, N.W.

Burrey, Kar a Washington, D, C, 20005 Sovurn Benv Division

1156 15th Street, N.W. (202) 872-8686

Washington, D, C, 20005

(202) 331-4000 s/ BR. Wvarr Mick, Ja. Civil Action No, 8 74-72

Of Counsel R. Wyatt Mick, Jr.

Bingham, Loughlin, Means, a

Mick & M

400 Lincoln Way West Crry or Misnawaka, Lypiana, et al,

Mishawaka, Indiana 46544 Plaintiffs,

(219) 255-9616 v.

s/ James J. Ovson

James J, Olson

122 South Mill Street Defendant.

Mishawaka, Indiana 46544

(219) 259-5461

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

Inpiawa & Micnios» Exeornic Company,

AMENDMENT TO THE COMPLAINT

The plantiffs allege as follows :

7. (c) Sinee July 27, 1976, the defendant I & M has re-

quired municipalities, including the plaintiffs, to pay a new,

higher wholesale price for electric power. As a result, the

municipalities have become financially unable to buy power

at the defendant's new wholesale price and sell it to indus-

ee,

64a

Amendment to the Complaint

trial customers at prices competitive with the defendant's

present retail prices.

8/

Thomas R, Ewald

1156—15th Street, N. W.

Washington, D, C, 20005

* (212) 331-4053

R. Wyatt Mick, Jr.

Bingham, Loughlin, Means,

Mick & Myers

400 Lincoln Way East

Mishawaka, Indiana 46544

(219) 259-9616

James J, Olson

122 South Mill Streei

Mishawaka, Indiana 46544

(219) 259-5461

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

307 BAR PRESS, Inc., 132 Lafayette St., New York 10013 — 966-3906

(6517)

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — Indiana & Michigan Electric Co. v. City of Mishawaka · 436 U.S. 922 | Frix