Petition — Owen Equipment & Erection Co. v. Kroger

Supreme Court brief1978

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

| | 7 Court, U. x7¥)

| ; FILED \

: / Nov 1nig7? |

EL RODAK, JR., CLERK

In The 7

Siupreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1977

sy

ww

Be, none ra) 4 677

SI.

Ww

OWEN EQUIPMENT AND ERECTION COMPANY,

a Nebraska Corporation,

Petitioner,

v

vs.

GERALDINE KROGER, Administratrix of the Estate of

JAMES D. KROGER, Deceased,

Respondent.

r.™ be

Ww q

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

r=

Ww

Emm F. Soporo, Davi A. Jonson

and Ronap H. Srave of the

Law Offices of Emm F. Soporo, P.C.

200 Century Professional Plaza

7000 Spring Street

Omaha, Nebraska 68106

Attorneys for Petitwoner

COCKLE PRINTING CO., 1822 St. Mary’s Ave., Omaha

en

INDEX

Pages

Opinions Below 2

Jurisdiction 2

Questions Presented 2

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved... 4

Statement of Facts 7

Reasons for Granting the Writ:

1. The decision of the United States Court of Ap-

peals for the Eighth Circuit directly conflicts with

the decision of the Fourth Circuit Court of Ap-

peals in the case of Kenrose Mfg. Co., Ine. v.

Fred Whitaker Co., Inc., 512 F.2d 890 (4th Cir.

1972). 14

2. The decision of the United States Court of Ap-

peals for the Eighth Circuit directly conflicts

with the pronouncement of this Court in United

Mine Workers of America v. Gibbs, 86 S. Ct. 1130,

383 U.S. 715 (1966). 25

3. The decision of the United States Court of Ap-

peals for the Eighth Circuit directly conflicts

with the pronouncement of this Court in Aldinger

v. Howard, 96 S. Ct. 2413 (1976). 32

4. The finding of fact made by the Eighth Circuit

Court of Appeals violates petitioner’s rights under

the Fifth Amendment to the United States Con-

stitution.

Conclusion 44

&

ii

INDEX—Continued ;

Pages

Appendix A—Opinion of Court of Appeals for the

8th Circuit _App. 1

Appendix B—Order Denying Petition for Rehearing

En Banc by Evenly Divided Court App. 37

Appendix C—Affidavits of Counsel for Petitioner App. 38

CASES CITED

Aldinger v. Howard, 96 8. Ct. 2413 (1976) . ....32, 33, 34

Andrews v. Central Surety Insurance Company,

295 F. Supp. 1223 (1969) 28

Basso v. Utah Power and Light Co., 495 F. 2d 906

(10th Cir. 1974) 42

Buresch v. American LaFrance, 290 F. Supp. 265

(W. D. Pa., 1968) 16, 17, 18

Di Frischai v. New York Central Railroad, 279

F. 2d 141 (3rd Cir. 1960) 43

Emmke v. DeSilva, 293 F. 17 (8th Cir. 1923) .—.-. 42

Fawvor v. Texaco, Inc., 546 F.2d 636 (5th Cir.

1977) 34, 35

Gibson v. First Federal Savings & Loan Associa-

tion of Detroit, 504 F.2d 826 (1974) 30

Hodge v. Mountain States Tel. & Tel. Co., 555

F.2d 254 (9th Cir. 1977) 31

Kenrose Manufacturing Co. v. Fred Whittaker

Co., 53 F. R. D. 491 (1971) a 26, 27

ili

CASES CITED—Continued

Pages

Kenrose Mfg. Co., Inc. v. Fred Whitaker Co., Inc.,

512 F. 2d 890 (4th Cir. 1972) ..14, 16, 17, 22, 31, 33, 34, 39

Kurtz v. State of Michigan, 548 F.2d 172 (6th

Cir. 1977) 30

Municipal Leasing System, Inc. v. Northampton

National Bank of Easton, 382 F. Supp. 968 (1974) .27, 28

Myer v. Lyford, 2 F.R. D. 507 (M.D. Pa., 1942) 17

Olson v. United States, 38 F.R.D. 489 (D. Neb.

1965) ... 14, 16, 17, 18, 20

Page v. Wright, 116 F. 2d 453 (7th Cir. 1940) 38

Palumbo v. Western Maryland Railway Company,

271 F.Supp. 361 (1967) 18

Rivera Copper & Brass v. Aetna Casualty Co.,

426 F. 2d 709, 12 A. L. R. Fed. 389 (5th Cir., 1970)... 15

Skylar v. Hays, 1 F. R. D. 594 (E. D. Pa, 1941) 17

Union Bank & Trust Co. v. St. Paul Fire & Marine

Insurance Co., 38 F. R. D. 46 (D. Neb., 1965) 14

United Mine Workers of America v. Gibbs, 383

U.S. 715 (1966) 3, 14, 25, 29, 30

United States v. Lushbough, 200 F. 2d 77 (8th

Cir. 1951) 20, 21, 23, 24

Welder v. Washington Temperance Association,

16 F. R. D. 18 (1954) 25

iv

TEXTS CITED ;

Pages

Fed. R. Civ P. 8(b) 4, 40

Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(h) (3) 5, 38

Fed. R. Civ. P. 14 5, 21, 25

28 U.S.C. § 1332(a) 4

CONSTITUTION CITED

Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution 6, 35

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1977

OWEN EQUIPMENT AND ERECTION COMPANY,

a Nebraska Corporation,

Petitioner,

vs.

GERALDINE KROGER, Administratrix of the Estate of

JAMES D. KROGER, Deceased,

Respondent.

—_ *

— ae

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

s*.

“~

The Petitioner, Owen Equipment and Erection Com-

pany, a Nebraska corporation, prays that a Writ of Cer-

tiorari issue to review the opinion and judgment of the

Eighth Cireuit Court of Appeals rendered in these pro-

ceedings on August 16, 1977.

2

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals, as yet unre-

ported appears at Appendix A, infra, App. pp. 1-36. The

Order denying Petition for Rehearing en banc by an evenly

divided court is unreported and appears at Appendix B,

infra, App. p. 37.

JURISDICTION

The opinion and judgment of the Court of Appeals was

filed June 21, 1977. See Appendix A, App. pp. 1-36, infra.

Subsequent thereto a Petition for Rehearing, Moiion to Ex-

punge Portions of Opinion and Suggestion for Rehearing

in Bane was timely filed on the 16th day of August, 1977.

The Petition for Rehearing in Banc was denied by an even-

ly divided court (Appendix B). This Petition for Certiorari

was filed less than ninety days from the date of the over-

ruling of said Petition for Rehearing. The jurisdiction

of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254 (1).

Kroger, Respondent, alleged the amount in contro-

versy exceeded $10,000.00. The trial court, however, nev-

er acquired subject matter jurisdiction of this action. The

alleged basis of jurisdiction was diversity of citizenship.

However, the Respondent and Owen Equipment and Erec-

tion Company, Petitioner, were both citizens of Iowa at

the time of the filing of the complaint.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Geraldine Kroger, Administratrix of the Estate of

James D. Kroger, Deceased, brought an action for dam-

ages for the wrongful death of Respondent’s decedent. The

action was originally brought against the Omaha Public

Power District and Paxton-Vierling Steel Company. The

3

Omaha Public Power District then filed a third party

complaint against the Petitioner. The Respondent then

brought an amended third party complaint naming the

Petitioner as a defendant.

Paxton-Vierling Steel Company and the Omaha Pub-

lic Power District were both dismissed out of the suit

leaving as party plaintiff, Geraldine Kroger an Iowa citi-

zen and as party defendant, Owen Equipment and Erec-

tion Company, a Nebraska corporation having its prin- ‘

cipal place of business in Carter Lake, Iowa, therefore

being a citizen of Iowa.

The petitioner then filed a Motion to Dismiss or in

the Alternative for Directed Verdict claiming that the

Court did not have jurisdiction of the subject matter of

the action. But the trial court overruled the Motion to

Dismiss claiming the Court acquired power to hear the

whole matter under United Mine Workers v. Gibbs, 383

U. 8. 715 (1966). The United States Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit affirmed that judgment. The ques-

tions thereby arising are:

1. Whether the Trial Court acquired power to de-

cide the claim of the respondent against Petitioner.

2. Whether the Trial Court could exercise its dis-

cretion to create jurisdiction where none, in fact, existed.

3. \Whether the United States Court of Appeals for

the Eighth Circuit erred in making findings of fact that

Petitioner intentionally concealed its principal place of

business without giving Petitioner and its counsel a hear-

ing on that issue in violation of the Fifth Amendment

of the United States Constitution. 7

4

4. Whether the Trial Court erred in holding that an

independent basis of jurisdiction need not exist between

a plaintiff and a third-party defendant in order for that

plaintiff to assert a claim against the third-party defend-

ant.

5. Whether the Trial Court erred in finding that

jurisdiction existed between Respondent and Petitioner

(citizens of the same state) in Federal Court where no

federal question was presented and the main cause of ac-

tion between Respondent and the defendant Omaha Public

Power District (citizens of different states) had been dis-

missed prior to trial at request of defendant Omaha Pub-

lic Power District.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

28 U.S.C. $1332(a):

§ 1332. Diversity of citizenship; amount in controver-

sy; costs

(a) The district courts shall have original juris-

diction of all civil actions where the matter in contro-

versy exceeds the sum or value of $10,000, exclusive

of interest and costs, and is between—

(1) citizens of different States;

(2) citizens of a State, and foreign states or

citizens or subjects thereof; and

(3) citizens of different States and in which

foreign states or citizens or subjects thereof are addi-

tional parties.

Fed. R. Civ. P. 8(b):

(b) Defenses; Form of Denials. A party shall

state in short and plain terms his defenses to each

5

claim asserted and shall admit or deny the averments

upon which the adverse party relies. If he is without

knowledge or information sufficient to form a belief

as to the truth of an averment, he shall so state and

this has the effect of a denial. Denials shall fairly

meet the substance of the averments denied. When

a pleader intends in good faith to deny only a part

or a qualification of an averment, he shall specify so

much of it as is true and material and shall deny only

the remainder. Unless the pleader intends in good

faith to controvert all the averments of the preceding

pleading, he may make his denials as specific denials

of designated averments or paragraphs, or he may

generally deny all the averments except such desig-

nated averments or paragraphs as he expressly ad-

mits; but, when he does so intend to controvert all its

averments, including averments of the grounds upon

which the court’s jurisdiction depends, he may do so

+ ae denial subject to the obligations set forth

in Rule 11.

Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(h) (3):

_ (3) Whenever it appears by suggestion of the

parties or othewise that the court lacks jurisdiction

of the subject matter, the court shall dismiss the ac-

tion.

As amended Dec. 27, 1946, eff. March 19, 1948; Jan.

ay eff. July 1, 1963; Feb. 28, 1966, eff. July 1,

1966.

Fed. R. Civ. P. 14:

(a) When Defendant may Bring in Third Party.

At any time after commencement of the action a de-

fending party, as a third-party plaintiff, may cause

@ summons and complaint to be served upon a per-

son not a party to the action who is or may be liable

to him for all or part of the plaintiff’s claim against

him. The third-party plaintiff need not obtain leave

to make the service if he files the third-party com-

plaint not later than 10 days after he serves his orig-

inal answer. Otherwise he must obtain leave on mo-

tion upon notice to all parties to the action. The

person served with the summons and third-party com-

plaint, hereinafter called the third-party defendant,

shall make his defenses to the third-party plaintiff’s

claim as provided in Rule 12 and his counterclaims

against the third-party plaintiff and cross-claims

against other third-party defendants as provided in

Rule 13. The third-party defendant may assert

against the plaintiff any defenses which the third-

party plaintiff has to the plaintiff’s claim. The third-

party defendant may also assert any claim against

the plaintiff arising out of the transaction or occur-

rence that is the subject matter of the plaintiff's

claim against the third-party plaintiff. The plaintiff

may assert any claim against the third-party defend-

ant aticing out of the transaction or occurrence that

is the subject matter of the plaintiff’s claim against

the third-party plaintiff, and the third-party defend-

ant thereupon shall assert his defenses as provided in

Rule 12 and his counterclaims and cross-claims as

provided in Rule 13. Any party may move to strike

the third-party claim, or for its severance or separate

trial. A third-party defendant may proceed under

this rule against any person not a party to the action

who is or may be liable to him for all or part of the

claim made in the action against the third-party de-

fendant. The third-party complaint, if within the

admiralty and maritime jurisdiction, may be in rem

against a vessel, cargo, or other property subject to

admiralty or maritime process in rem, in which case

references in this rule to the summons include the

warrant of arrest, and references to the third-party

plaintiff or defen ant include, where appropriate, the

claimant of the property arrested.

Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution:

No peson shall be held to answer for a capital, or

otherwise infamous crime, nnless on a presentment or

indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arisi

in the land or naval forces, or in the Militia, cies

actual service in time of War or public danger; nor

shall any person be subject for the same offense to be

twice put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be com-

pelled in any criminal case to be witness against him-

self, nor be deprived of life, liberty, or property, with-

out due process of law; nor shall private property be

taken for public use, without just compensation.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

Respondent’s decedent, James D. Kroger, was an

employee of Paxton & Vierling Steel (C. A. Appendix II,

pp. 16,17).* On the 18th day of January, 1972 at the

request of a supervisor employed by Paxton & Vierling

Steel, respondent’s decedent assisted other Paxton & Vier-

ling employees in moving a large steel air tank (C. A.

Appendix II, p. 16). The steel air tank was obstructing

construction activity at a construction site within the Pax-

ton & Vierling Building (C. A. Appendix II, p. 179).

Lloyd Feller, an executive vice-president of operations

of Paxton & Vierling Steel, gave the original order to

move the steel air tank (C. A. Appendix II, p. 179). That

order was passed down to Mr. Clem Rosemaric, respond-

ent’s decedent’s immediate supervisor (C. A. Appendix II,

pp. 179, 180).

*Reference is to Appendices used on appeal before U

States Court of Appeals for the 8th Circuit. en

A large Lorraine crane was being used to move the

tank. The crane was mounted on a truck which could

move about inside the Paxton & Vierling Building (C. A.

Appendix II, p. 3).

A steel cable ran from the boom of the crane to the

chains which were wrapped around the air tank (C. A.

Appendix II, p. 19). Respondent’s decedent was standing

on the Pround next to the steel tank assisting in steady-

ing the tank as the crane moved from the construction

site to the west end of the building (C. A. Appendix II,

p. 20). When the crane reached the west end of the buitd-

ing and could go no further, the boom was raised so that

the tank could be lowered (C. A. Appendix II, pp. 20, 21).

Respondent’s decedent was still standing near the air tank

(C. A. Appendix IT, p. 23). As the boom of the crane was

lifted, it came in close proximity to overhead power lines

and an are of electrical current jumped from the air tank

into the body of respondent’s decedent, causing his death

by electrocution (C. A. Appendix IT, p. 9).

On the 24th day of November, 1972, respondent filed

her complaint in the United States District Court for the

District of Nebraska, claiming damages sustained as a re-

sult of the wrongful death of James D. Kroger (C. A.

Appendix I, p. 4). The action was brought against Omaha

Public Power District and Paxton & Vierling Steel Com-

pany (C. A. Appendix I, p. 4). Both Paxton & Vierling

Steel and Omaha Public Power District filed motions to

dismiss (C. A. Appendix I, pp. 12,18). Paxton & Vier-

ling Steel Company was dismissed out because of a juris-

dictional defect. Omaha Public Power District then

brought a third-party complaint against Paxton & Vierling

Steel Company and Owen Construction Company, Ine.

claiming that both said third-party defendants were liable

to the Omaha Public Power Company for any sums which

respondent would recover from OPPD on her complaint

(C. A. Appendix I, p. 7).

The third-party plaintiff was then granted permission

to file an amended third-party complaint naming Owen

Equipment and Erection Company, a Nebraska corpora-

tion, as an additional third-party defendant and dismiss-

ing Owen Construction Company, Inc., an Iowa corpora.

tion, from the third-party complaint (C. A. Appendix I,

pp. 13, 14). -

A motion to dismiss was then filed on behalf of Pax-

ton & Vierling Steel Company claiming that the complaint

failed to state a claim upon which relief could be granted

(C. A. Appendix I, p. 18). Owen Equipment and Erection

Company filed its answer (C. A. Appendix I, p. 19). Re

spondent was then granted leave to file amended plead-

ings adding Owen Equipment and Erection Company as

a party defendant (C.A. Appendix I, p. 23). The

amended complaint was then filed on November 9, 1973,

naming Owen Equipment and Erection Company as a

party defendant (C. A. Appendix I, p. 23). Owen Equip-

ment and Erection Company then filed its answer to the

plaintiff’s amended complaint (C. A. Appendix I, p. 31).

The trial court then granted Omaha Public Power Dis-

trict’s motion for summary judgment and dismissed it

from the lawsuit (C. A. Appendix I, p. 39). The United

States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit sustained

that order of the trial court (C. A. Appendix I, p. 42).

10

Petitioner also filed a motion for summary judgment

(C. A. Appendix I, p. 40). However, that motion was sub-

sequently overruled. Petitioner then filed an additional an-

swer to the plaintiff’s amended complaint alleging that the

United States District Court for the District of Nebraska

lacked jurisdiction of the subject matter of the action (C. A.

Appendix I, pp. 53, 54).

The basis for Petitioner’s claim that the United States

District Court for the District of Nebraska lacked juris-

diction of the subject matter of the action was that since

the Respondent and the Petitioner were both citizens of

the State of Iowa there was no diversity of citizenship

and thus no independent basis of jurisdiction. Petitioner

claimed that before a plaintiff could assert a claim

against a third-party defendant in the same action an

independent basis of federal jurisdiction was required.

Trial of this matter commenced on the 13th day of

January, 1976 (C. A. Appendix I, p. 51).

The jury returned a verdict in favor of the respond-

ent and against petitioner for $234,756.00 and that ver-

dict was reduced to judgment by the Clerk of the Court

(C. A. Appendix I, p. 84). The Court filed its memo-

randum and order overruling petitioner’s motion to dis-

miss for lack of subject matter jurisdiction (C. A. Ap-

pendix I, p. 87).

The trial court conceded in that memorandum (C. A.

Appendix I, p. 85) that:

“Plaintiff, an Iowa citizen, alleged that jurisdiction

was based upon 28 U.S.C. § 1332; that the defend-

ant is incorporated in the State of Nebraska and has

11

its principal place of business there. It is now un-

controverted, however, that defendant’s principal

place of business is in the State of Iowa. Hence, an

independent basis of jurisdiction does not exist.”

(C. A. Appendix I, pp. 85, 86). (Emphasis added.)

The trial court, however, went on to hold as follows:

“The law in Nebraska is that an independent

basis of jurisdiction need not exist in order for plain-

tiff to assert a claim against a third party defend-

ant. See Union Bank & Trust Co. v. St. Paul Fire

& Marine Ins. Co., 38 F.R.D. 486 (D. Neb. 1965);

Olson v. United States, 38 F. R. D. 489 (D. Neb. 1965).

Although this view was once the minority view, this

Court believes it is correct.

Properly read, United Mine Workers [v. Gibbs,

383 U. S. 715 (1966)], reemphasizes the funda-

mental principle that a federal court has jurisdic-

tional power to adjudicate the whole case, i. e., all

claims, state or federal, which derive from a com-

mon nucleus of operative facts. .. . [S]ince there

is jurisdictional power to hear the whole case, the

question is one of trial court discretion whether to

exercise that jurisdiction, considering all the fac-

tors of economy and convenience in the context of

federalism. 3 Moore’s Federal Practice § 14.27

[1], 14-569 to 14-570. “

This case is nevertheless novel, in that the third

party plaintiff was dismissed. However, having deter-

mined that ancillary jurisdiction exists, it is only

equitable that the Court now retain jurisdiction of this

‘pendant’ claim.’ Defendant waited until trial to pre-

1 The Court is aware that “pendent jurisdiction” refers to

state claims joined with federal claims and uses the

term here in its ordinary context.

12

sent its motion to dismiss. Should the Court grant

defendant’s motion, plaintiff would be left without a

cause of action, because the Iowa Statute of Limita-

tions has run. Despite the fact that defendant has

exclusive possession of the knowledge of the extent

of its own business in Iowa, it remained silent on this

issue until more than two years subsequent to the

filing of the amended complaint. No reason for the

delay has been offered and undoubtedly plaintiff was

lulled into believing defendant’s principal place of

business was in Nebraska. As a matter of sound pol-

icy and logic, ancillary jurisdiction existed once and,

under the facts presented in this case, this Court must

retain jurisdiction.”

(C. A., Appendix I, p. 86.)

Petitioner filed its motion for judgment notwith-

standing the verdict (C. A., Appendix I, p. 87) and mo-

tion for new tria! (C.A., Appendix I, p. 88), both of

which were denied by order of the Court (C. A., Appendix

I, p. 124). Petitioner then filed its notice of appeal, per-

fecting its appeal to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Cireuit (C. A., Appendix I, p. 125).

Among the issues presented on revier” to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit were:

1. Whether the trial court erred in holding that an

independent basis of jurisdiction need not exist between

a plaintiff and a third-party defendant in order for the

plaintiff to assert a claim against that third-party defend-

ant?

2. Whether the trial court erred in finding that jur-

isdiction existed between respondent and petitioner (citi-

zens of the same state) in federal court where no federal

questions were presented and the main cause of action be-

tween respondent and the defendant OPPD (citizens of

13

different states) had been dismissed prior to trial at de-

fendant OPPD’s request.

The Appellate Court found:

“. . . Im the case before us, the District Court stood

squarely upon its discretionary powers in the prem-

ises, relying on Gibbs. Defendant Owen attacks the

applicability of this doctrine to the case at bar, as-

serting that the dismissal of the plaintiff’s claim

against OPPD before trial limits the discretion of the

District Court. We do not so conclude. It is but one

factor, among many others, to be considered.” (Ap-

pendix A, App. p. 21).

The Court went on to hold:

“But beyond that, however, there are other consid-

erations. By subtle and adroit pleading the defend-

ant has gained a substantial advantage. If the trial

goes well, it can keep the jurisdictional point hidden.

If the trial seems to be going badly or, indeed, if it

loses on the merits, it asserts that it can even then

challenge jurisdiction and successfully, so it argues,

since it insists that it is clear to all that jurisdiction

may be challenged by anyone at any time.

“But plaintiff overlooks the application of the Gibbs

doctrine to ancillary the litigation. The District

Court had judicial power over the case initially and

we find no abuse of its discretion in the continued

exercise of that power. But beyond that, whether

the court’s discretion was abused or not in its re-

tention of the cause, defendant’s conduct estops it

from asserting abusive discretion, not only that under

the teachings of Murphy v. Kodz, supra, but also

under the most elementary considerations of judicial

fairness. ‘Despite the fact that defendant has ex-

clusive possession of the knowledge of the extent of

its own business in Iowa, it remained silent on this

issue until more than two years subsequent to the fil-

14

ing of the amended complaint. No reason for the de-

lay has been offered. .. .’

The doctrine of the perpetual availability of juris-

dictional challenge furnishes no sanctuary to appel-

lant in the light of such conduct.” (Appendix A,

App. p. 22).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT -

1. The decision of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Eighth Circuit directly conflicts

with the decision of the Fourth Circuit Court of

Appeals in the case of Kenrose Mfg. Co., Inc. v.

Fred Whitaker Co., Inc., 512 F. 2d 890 (4th Cir.

1972).

There is no dispute that had the respondent origi-

nally sued Owen Equipment & Erection Company, Inc.,

there would be no diversity of citizenship and thus, no

jurisdiction. However, the trial court held that under

“the law in Nebraska”, a plaintiff may assert a claim

against the third-party defendant without an independent

basis of jurisdiction. As authority for its holding, the

trial court cited cases of Union Bank & Trust Co. v. St.

Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Co., 38 F.R.D. 46 (D.

Neb., 1965); Olson v. United States, 38 F.R.D. 489 (D.

Neb., 1965); and United Mine Workers of America v.

Gibbs, 383 U. S. 715 (1966).

The first case cited hereinabove does not serve as au-

thority for the Trial Court’s holding, for in that case, a

claim was made by a third-party defendant against the

plaintiff and it was decided that no independent jurisdic-

tional base was required. This is, of course, substantially

different than the instant matter where a plaintiff is mak-

15

ing a claim against the third-party defendant. This dis-

tinction was pointed out in the case of Rivera Copper &

Brass v. Aetna Casualty Co., 426 F. 2d 709, 12 A. L. R. Fed.

389 (5th Cir., 1970). Therein, the Fifth Circuit Court of

Appeals stated:

_“A cursory review of the joinder situations to

which ancillary jurisdiction is applied reveals that

generally, it is made available to litigants in a de-

fensive posture, who would otherwise be prevented

or greatly burdened in adequately protecting their in-

terests. There is much to be said for allowing par-

ties who are involuntarily brought into federal court

to defendant against a claim or who must be allowed

to intervene in a federal action as a defendant to se-

cure their interests, to assert all their claims arising

out of the controversy in one proceeding and as this

is, or ought to be, one of the factors to be considered

_ determining the existence of ancillary jurisdic-

_ “Kchoing Professor Moore, Revere argues that

sjnce there must be an independent ground of juris-

diction to support the original plaintiff’s claim against

a third-party defendant, the same requirement must

be met by the third-party defendant in asserting a

counterclaim against the original plaintiff. Suffice it

to say that the two situations are the converse of

each other only superficially and that there are dif-

ferences which militate against identical treatment.

First of all, the plaintiff has the option of selecting

the forum where he believes he can most effectively

assert his claims, he has not been involuntarily

brought to a forum, faced with the prospect of de-

SEE dae eee Se oo: that

orum provides, or defending himself not at all. Since

the plaintiff could not initially join a non-diverse de-

so indirectly by way of a fortuitous impleader. More-

over, there is possibility, whether real or fanciful, or

16

collusion between the plaintiff and an overly coopera-

tive defendant impleading just the right third party.”

(Emphasis added. )

The differences are obvious. The Respondent here selected

the forum, Petitioner did not.

The trial court cited as further authority for its hold-

ing that the law in Nebraska is that an independent basis

of jurisdiction need not exist in order for the plaintiff

to assert a claim against the third-party defendant the

case of Olson v. United States, supra. In that case, Judge

Van Pelt chose to follow the minority rule and hold that

an independent basis of jurisdiction need not exist before

a plaintiff can assert a claim against a third-party de-

fendant. It must be emphasized, however, that this minor-

ity stand has- been taken by a very limited number of

courts that have addressed the issue. Other cases which

have commented on Olson have never followed this de-

cision, but have only criticized it.

In Kenrose Manufacturing Co. v. Fred Whitaker Co.,

53 F.R.D. 491 (1971), the United States District Court

for the Western District of Virginia stated:

“On the other hand, there are a few cases which

would not require the plaintiff to have an independent

basis of jurisdiction in order to amend his complaint

to include a third-party defendant with the same

citizenship. Buresch v. American LaFrance, 290 F.

Supp. 265 (W. D. Pa., 1968); Olson v. United States,

38 F.R.D. 489 (D. Neb. 1965). These cases regard

a plaintiff’s claim against a third-party defendant as

ancillary to the original action. In Buresch, supra,

Judge Gourley, Chief Judge of the Western District

of Pennsylvania, felt that to deny ancillary jurisdic-

tion in a case similar to the one at bar would defeat

the purpose of avoiding multiplicity of suits and

17

“Tt should be noted, however, that there is still

much disagreement on this point. For example, the

Buresch decision originated from the Western Dis-

trict of Pennsylvania in 1968. Subsequent to that

date two cases decided in that same district have re-

jected the view that no independent basis of jurisdic-

tion is required. Schwab v. Erie Lackawanna Rail-

road, 303 F. Supp. 1398 (W. D. Pa., 1969); Ayoub v.

Helm’s Express, Inc., 300 F. Supp. 473 (W.D. Pa.

rien (Judge Weber, District Judge, Decided Both

es 7?

The Kenrose Manufacturing Co. case was appealed to

the Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit. That ap

peal appears at 512 F. 2d 890 (4th Cir. 1972). That Court

cited four cases as following the minority view. Those

cases were: Buresch v. American LaFrance, 290 F. Supp.

265 (W. D. Pa., 1968) ; Olson v. United States, 38 F. R. D.

489 (D.C. Neb., 1965) ; Myer v. Lyford, 2 F.R.D. 507 (M.

D. Pa., 1942); and Skylar v. Hays, 1 F.R.D. 594 (E. D.

Pa., 1941). In discussing those cases that Court stated:

_ “The value of efficiency in the disposition of law-

suits by avoiding multiplicity may be readily con-

pomp ae rye not the only consideration a federal

co into account in assessing the pres-

ence or absence of jurisdiction. Especially is this

true where, as here, the efficiency plaintiff seeks to

18

avoid is available without question in the state courts.

The majority view, as outlined above, has its own

valid supporting reasons and we fail to discern any

movement away from the well-established rule, which

is directly contrary to appellant’s contention.

» “Tt is true that four lower court cases have fa-

vored appellant’s view. However, not only are these

in the minority among the decided cases, but they

have been far from convincing to other judges in the

very jurisdictions where they were rendered.”’

In a footnote discussing how other judges have re-

jected the minority view, the Court stated:

‘‘For example, subsequent to the Buresch case,

cited in note 9, two decisions issuing from the same

court specifically rejected Buresch. See Schwab v.

Erie Lackawanna R. R., 303 F. Supp. 1398 (W. D. Pa.

1969), and Ayoub v. Helm’s Express, Inc., 300 F.

Supp. 473 (W. D. Pa. 1969). In Ayoub, the Court

said :

‘¢¢There is no diversity of citizenship be-

tween the plaintiff and the present third-party

defendant against whom plaintiff wishes to assert

a direct claim. The great weight of authority

requires that there be diversity of citizenship be-

tween such parties. Although such a claim was

allowed to be asserted in Buresch * * * I do not

believe that this opinion represents the view of a

majority of the members of this District Court or

the view of the majority of the federal courts.’ ’’

In the case of Palumbo v. Western Maryland Railway

Company, 271 F. Supp. 361 (1967), Chief Judge Thomsen

of the United States District Court for the District of

Maryland, commented on Judge Van Pelt’s holding in

Olson v. United States in light of the comments of the

Advisory Committee on the Federal Rules of Civil Pro-

cedure and existing case law. Judge Thomsen stated:

19

“When Rule 14 was first adopt Professor

Moore ex pressed the opinion oe} independent

grounds of jurisdiction would be required to support

a plaintiff’s claim against a third-party defendant,

and most of the courts have taken that view. See

3A Moore’s Federal Practice, 2d ed., p. 24.27 (I) and

cases cited therein. In Friend v. Middle Atlantic

Transp. Co., 153 F. 2d 778 (2d Cir. 1946), cert. denied,

328 U. 8. 865, 66 S. Ct. 1370, 90 L. Ed. 1635, Judge

frome - we yeen. for the Second Circuit (as well as

experience as Chairman of the i

Committee on Rules) said: ee

* ‘May a defendant cause a third party to be

brought into a federal civil action under Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 14, 28 U.S.C. A.

following section 7230, to answer, along with it,

to the plaintiff’s claim, where the plaintiff and

such party are citizens of the same state and fed-

eral jurisdiction does not otherwise appear? That

is the issue squarely presented here, and we

think it must be answered in the negative. Not-

withstanding the undoubted convenience of exten-

sive joinder in cases such as this, we must ob-

— Sey pan boundaries of federal juris-

on, e rules do not enlarge. F. R. 82.'

153 F. 2d at 779.

‘‘When Rule 14 was amended in 1948, the Advis-

ory Committee noted that ‘in any case where the

plaintiff could not have joined the third party origin-

ally because of jurisdictional limitations such as lack

of diversity of citizenship, the majority view is that

any attempt by the plaintiff to amend his complaint

and assert a claim against the impleaded third party

would be unavailing. The note referred to a number

of cases and commentators. Since the amendment,

the weight of authority has continued to require in-

dependent grounds of jurisdiction for such a claim.

Moore, op. cit., p. 14.17 (1).

**Judge Van Pelt assembled all the arguments to

the contrary in his opinion in Olson v. United States.

38 F.R.D. 489, 490 (D. Neb. 1965), and refuses to

follow the majority view. He noted that some courts

have expressed ‘the danger of collusion between the

original parties thereby enabling a plaintiff to assert

a claim against a co-citizen in the federal courts

through the use of a third-party practice.’ Fear of

collusion is not the principal argument supporting the

majority rule. Wherever the law provides for con-

tribut'-r among joint tortfeasors, or a defendant has

a possible claim for indemnity, the defendant will

ordinarily file a third-party complaint, giving plaintiff

the opportunity to assert a claim against the third-

party defendant.

‘*The principal reason for the majority rule was

tersely stated in McPherson v. Hoffman, 275 F. 2d

466 (6 Cir. 1960), as follows:

‘**Under the Federal Employers’ Liability

Act the plaintiff could bring his action against

the railroad in Federal Court without diversity

of citizenship. Section 56, Title 45, U.S.C. A. He

could not have sued the McPhersons m Federal

Court separately nor could he have joined them

with Chesapeake and Ohio because there was no

diversity of citizenship between him and the Mc-

Phersons, Section 1332, Title 28, U.S.C. What

he could not do directly could not be done for

him indirectly. The court did not have jurisdic-

tion to enter a judgment against third-parties de-

fendant in favor of the plaintiff Hoffman. Juris-

diction cannot be waived.’ 275 F. 2d at 470.”’

Moreover, in one of its prior decisions the 8th Circuit

chose to follow the majority rule and hold contrary to the

ruling of Judge Van Pelt in Olson v. United Siates, supra.

In the case of United States v. Lushbough, 200 F. 2d

77 (8th Cir. 1951), plaintiff Lushbough brought an action

21

under the Federal Tort Claims Act against the United

States for damages he sustained in an automobile collision.

The United States impleaded Hoffman as a third-party

defendant, stating he was liable over to the United States

for any judgment Lushbough might obtain against it. The

District Court found that Hoffman’s negligence was the

cause of the collision and entered a judgment in favor of

the plaintiff Lushbough against the United States and

against Hoffman in the sum of $50,000.00. The District

Court also awarded judgment against Hoffman on the

third-party complaint of the United States. Both the

United States and Hoffman appealed from the judgment

in favor of Lushbough. This Court in reversing the judg-

ment in favor of Lushbough against Hoffman stated:

“We think the judgment against Hoffman in favor

of Lushbough must also be reversed. Lushbough

brought no action against Hoffman, asked for no

judgment against him. Rule 14(A) of the Rules of

Civil Procedure, 28 U.S. C. provides that: ‘The plain-

tiff may assert any claim against the third-party de-

fendant arising out of the transaction or occurrence

that is the subject matter of the plaintiff’s claim

against the third-party plaintiff.’ Lushbough asserted

no claim against Hoffman. But, conceding for the

argument that such an assertion was a formality not

required under the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure,

Lushbough’s right to maintain a claim against Hoff-

man is prohibited by 28 U.S. C., Section 2676, which

provides :

***The judgment in an action under Section

1346(B) of this title shall constitute a complete

bar to any action by the claimant, by reason of

the same subject matter, against the employee of

the government whose act or omission gave rise

to the claim.’

22

“The District Court, having awarded a judgment in

favor of Lushbough in his action against the United

States, could not in the face of the explicit provisions

of the Act order judgment against Hoffman in favor

of Lushbough in the same action. Prechtl v. United

States, D. D. 84 F. Supp. 889, 890; Lauterbach v.

United States, D. C. 95 F. Supp. 479, 482. Nor is

ihere any showing in the evidence of the necessary

diversity of citizenship as between Lushbough and

Hoffman. Since the reversal of the judgment against

the United States carries with it the reversal of the

judgment for the United States against Hoffman, it

is unnecessary to consider Hoffman’s contention that

the United States could not implead Hoffman as a

third-party defendant in the action.” (Emphasis ad-

ded.) |

In Kenrose Manufacturing Co. v. Fred Whitaker Co.,

supra, the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth

Cireuit set forth the majority view on the subject, stating:

“Rule 14 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

governs third-party practice and it has indeed been

held under that rule that, where there is diversity as

between plaintiff and defendant, defendant may im-

lead a third party of the same citizenship as the

plaintiff. In such case, it may be said that ancillary

jurisdiction confers power upon the court over the

third-party action.

“Rule 14 also contains language permitting a

plaintiff to

Assert any claim against the third-party defend-

ant arising out of the transaction or occurrence

that is the subject matter of the plaintiff’s claim

against the third-party plaintiff.

There is, however, no indication in the rule whether

a basis of jurisdiction independent of the main action

23

must be alleged to support plaintiff’s claim against

the third-party defendant. Where jurisdiction does

not otherwise appear, mere permission, in the rules,

to assert a claim, does not itself confer jurisdiction

over that claim. By express provision the rules are

not to be read as a source of jurisdiction. See Rule

82. To illuminate this point, we must necessarily look

elsewhere.

“Many courts have considered whether an inde-

pendent basis of jurisdiction is necessary to support

a plaintiff’s action against a third-party defendant.

With impressive consistency the overwhelming major-

ity has held an independent jurisdictional basis to be

a prerequisite to the maintenance of such a claim.

See, e.g., Stemler v. Burke, 344 F. 2d 393, 395-396

(6th Cir. 1965); McPherson v. Hoffman, 275 F. 2d

466, 470 (6th Cir. 1960); Patton v. B & O R. R. Co.,

197 F. 2d 732, 743 (3rd Cir. 1952); United States v.

Lushbough, 200 F. 2d 717, 721-722 (8th Cir. 1952);

Friend v. Middle Atlantic Transportation Co., 153 F.

2d 778, 779-780 (2nd Cir.), cert. denied, 328 U. S. 865,

66 S. Ct. 1370, 90 L. Ed. 2d 1635 (1946); Corbi v.

United States, 298 F. Supp. 521 (D. C. Pa. 1969);

Palumbo v. W. Md. Ry. Co., 271 F. Supp. 361 (D. C.

Md. 1967).

“Several supporting reasons have been advanced

by courts holding the majority view on this question.

Among them are that: (1) plaintiff should not be al-

lowed, by an indirect route, to sue a co-citizen under

diversity jurisdiction when he is not permitted to

sue that party directly; (2) the majority rule prevents

collusion between plaintiff and defendant to obtain

federal jurisdiction over a party who would otherwise

not be within the court’s reach; (3) the rule which

generally does not require diversity as between plain-

tiff and third-party defendant proceeds on the as-

sumption that the plaintiff is seeking no relief against

the third-party defendant; and (4) federal dockets

are so overcrowded that the federal courts should

24

not reach out for state law based litigation.’”’ (Em-

phasis added.) ‘

Even Judge Van Pelt acknowledged the ruling of the

majority, yet for some reason failed to follow it. He

stated :

“A number of courts have been impressed with

the fact that by not requiring diversity, the plaintiff

could assert a claim against a party whom he could

not have sued directly in the federal courts without

independent jurisdictional grounds. David Crystal,

Inc. v. Cunard 8. 8. Co., 223 F. Supp. 273 (S. D. N. Y.

1963); LaChanee v. Service Trucking Co., 208 F.

Supp. 656 (D. Maryland 1962); Pasternack v. Dalo,

17 F. R. D. 420 (W. D. Pa. 1955) ; Welder v. Washing-

ton Temperance Ass’n, 16 F. R. D. 18 (D. Minn. 1954) ;

(Dictum) United States v. Lushbough, 200 F. 2d 717,

721 (8th Cir. 1952); Hoskie v. Prudential Ins. Co. of

America, 39 F. Supp. 305 (E. D. N. Y. 1941). The

same decisions express the danger of collusion be-

tween the original parties thereby enabling a plaintiff

to assert a claim against a co-citizen in the federal

courts through the use of third party practice.” (Em-

phasis added.)

The trial court in its Memorandum addressed to the

defendant’s motion to dismiss for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction (C. A. Appendix I, p. 85), stated that the rule

that an independent basis of jurisdiction need not exist in

order for the plaintiff to assert a claim against ‘ third

party was once a minority view, but that the trial court

believed it to be correct.

Petitioner emphasizes that this still clearly remains

the minority view. No court of appeals in any circuit

in the Federal Judicial System has ever followed the

minority view, and, in fact, those addressing the issue

have criticized and dismissed the minority view as being

25

contrary to the intent and purpose of the Federal Rules

and certainly, contrary to the comments of the Advisory

Committee concerning Rule 14.

Other district courts sitting in the Eighth Circuit

have chosen to follow the majority rule. For example,

in Welder v. Washington Temperance Association, 16

F. D. R. 18 (1954), the United States District Court for

the Division of Minnesota, Second Division, stated:

“The interpleading of the third-party defendant

brought in the plaintiff’s amended complaint places

residents of Minnesota on both sides of the case,

thereby destroying the basis of this court’s jurisdic-

tion.

“Rule 14 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure,

28 U.S.C. A., was intended to avoid delay and mul-

tiplicity of actions and should be liberally construed,

but not to the extent of permitting such construction

to extend the jurisdiction of the court. What plain-

tiff proposed to accomplish by his amended complaint

was in effect to substitute another cause of action for

that originally commenced by him. This he cannot

do.”’

2. The decision of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit directly con-

flicts with the pronouncement of this Court in

United Mine Workers of America v. Gibbs, 86

S. Ct. 1130, 383 U. 8. 715 (1966).

But even if it be assumed that the minority view is

correct, the jurisdictional limit of a federal district court

had never been extended to that which it has in the pres-

ent action. The trial court acknowledged that:

‘‘This case is nevertheless novel, in that the third-

party plaintiff was dismissed.’’? (C. A. Appendix I,

p. 85).

The holding of the trial court in this matter is likewise

novel in finding that jurisdiction existed between citizens

of the same state in the Federal Court, where no federal

question was presented and the main cause of action be-

tween plaintiff and defendant, OPPD, had been dismissed

prior to trial at defendant’s request. Prior to the trial

court’s decision, jurisdiction has never been allowed to

exist in a similar situation. The trial court stated:

“However, having determined that ancillary jur-

isdiction exists, it is only equitable that the court now

retain jurisdiction of this ‘pendent’ claim.’’ (C. A.

Appendix I, p. 86).

In Kenrose Manufacturing Co. v. Fred Whittaker Co.,

53 F.R.D. 491 (1971), the plaintiff attempted to make

a claim against the third party defendant. The Court

stated :

\

“This court agrees with the majority view that

when plaintiff amends his eomplaint to assert a direct

claim against a third-party defendant of the same citi-

zenship as plaintiff, there no longer exists diversity

with regard to the main action. Furthermore, this

court feels that diversity existing between an original

plaintiff and a defendant is required to support any

claims based on ancillary jurisdiction. Since that

diversity was destroyed when the plaintiff amended

his complaint to assert a claim against a co-citizen

there no longer exists a basis for utilizing ancillary

jurisdiction.”

27

The Court in Kenrose then emphasized the distinction be-

tween the case which was before it and the cases follow-

ing the minority views stating:

“Furthermore, in the case at bar, the third-party

plaintiff has voluntarily moved to dismiss his third-

party complaint against Kilodyne. This court is of

the opinion that this factor distinguishes this case

from the cases following the minority view, in that,

in those cases the third-party complaint was not with-

drawn but remained in the action. By analogy, this

court finds that the principle laid down in the case of

State of Maryland to Use and Ben. of Wood v. Rob-

ison, 74 F’. Supp. 279 (D. Md., 1947), applies to the

case at bar. Robinson, supra, involved an action by

Virginia plaintiffs and the Maryland defendant, par-

ties to the main action, settled their dispute out of

court. Afterwards, the third-party defendants filed

a motion to dismiss the third-party complaint for lack

of diversity of jurisdiction. The Court, in granting

that motion, rejected the general proposition that once

Jurisdiction properly attaches, it will not ordinarily

be defeated by changes in situation. 7

“In the case at bar, this Court feels that the same

principles should apply. Since the third-party plain-

tiff has voluntarily moved for a dismissal of its claim

against the third-party defendant, and that motion

has been granted, the basis for allowing a direct com-

plaint by the plaintiffs against Kilodyne, without an

independent basis of jurisdiction, no longer exists.

That third-party complaint was the only foundation

upon which the plaintiff could, relying on the minor-

ity view, Support his claim that no independent basis

of jurisdiction is necessary. For the above reasons,

this Court feels that it is without jurisdiction to de-

cide the plaintiff's amended complaint against Kilo-

dyne, Inc.” (Emphasis added.)

In the case of Municipal Leasing System, Inc. v.

Northampton National Bank of Easton, 382 F. Supp. 968

(1974), the United States District Court for the Eastern

District of Pennsylvania, Judge VanArtsdalen stated:

‘‘Count IV ‘alleges liability and seeks relief pur-

suant to the ancillary jurisdiction’ of the court. In

plaintiff’s brief, it is conceded that this count, depend-

ing on ancillary jurisdiction is only maintainable if

there is some independent basis for federal jurisdic-

tion arising out of one or more of the other counts.

The count apparently charges that the defendant bank

improperly made charges against plaintiff’s bank ac-

count, refused to honor certain checks drawn against

the account and in other ways ‘mishandled’ plaintiff’s

bank account. This is purely a matter for state court

determination. There being no diversity jurisdictional

basis, and in view of the dismissal of all other counts,

this cause of action must likewise fall.”” (Emphasis

added. )

In the case of Andrews v. Central Surety Insurance

Company, 295 F. Supp. 1223 (1969), the United States

District Court for the District of South Carolina, Judge

Simons, stated:

“The ancillary jurisdiction of the federal courts

recognized by the foregoing authorities would not ex-

tend to a situation where the main suit had been fully

concluded and there were no assets actually or con-

structively within the court’s possession and control

as a result of the principal suit.: Such was the case

in Bounougias v. Peters, 369 F. 2d 247 (7th Cir. 1966).

In that case the original tort action filed and tried in

the federal district court in connection with Bounou-

gias’ injuries had been completely terminated and its

judgment satisfied and all funds distributed before

the attorney’s suit for his fee was commenced. The

court held under such circumstances that the district

court had no jurisdiction since ‘the district court had

no property connected with this litigation in its

custody or control.’” (Emphasis added.)

In denying Petitioner’s motion for dismissal on the

basis of lack of subject matter jurisdiction, the trial court

also relied on the case of United Mine Workers of Amer-

ica v. Gibbs, 86 S. Ct. 1130, 383 U. S. 715 (1966). The

trial court quoted from Moore’s Federal Practice, stating:

“Properly read, United Mine Workers [v. Gibbs, 383

U. S. 715 (1966) ], reemphasizes the fundamental prin-

ciple that a federal court has jurisdictional power to

adjudicate the whole case, i.e., all claims, state or

federal, which derive from a common nucleus of oper-

ative facts. . . . [S]ince there is jurisdictional power

to hear the whole case, the question is one of trial

court discretion whether to exercise that jurisdiction,

considering all the factors of economy and convenience

in the context of federalism. 3 Moore’s Federal Prac-

tice § 14.27[1], 14-569 to 14-570.”

However, in Gibbs this Court was dealing with pen-

dent jurisdiction and not with the question of ancillary

jurisdiction. But the approach of this Court in that case

is indeed pertinent to the plea of the petitioner in this

action. It is true that in Gibbs this Court stated that if

the federal and state claims “derive from a common nu-

cleus of operative fact”. If the plaintiff would ordinarily

be expected to try all of his cla’ms in one judicial pro-

ceeding; and, if the federal issues are substantial in

character, then there is power in the federal court to

hear all claims. The Gibbs opinion indicated, however,

that such power is not required to be exercised in every

ease even though it is found to be in existence. There-

fore, pendent jurisdiction is a “doctrine of discretion not

of plaintiff’s right.” This Court then stated: ©

“Its justification lies in considerations of judicial

economy, convenience, and fairness to litigants; if

30

these are not present, a federal court should hesifate

to exercise jurisdiction over state claims, even though

bound to apply State law to them, Erie R. Co. v.

Tompkins, 304 U. S. 64, 58 S. Ct. 817, 82 L. Ed. 1188.

Needless decisions of state law should be avoided both

as a matter of comity and to promote justice between

the parties, but procuring for them a surer-footed

reading of applicable law. Certainly, if the Federal

claims are dismissed before trial, even though not

insubstantial in a jurisdictional sense, the state claims

should be dismissed as well.’”’ (Emphasis Added.)

This statement has been consistently construed to limit

the discretion of the district court.

In the recent case of Gibson v. First Federal Savings

& Loan Association of Detroit, 504 F. 2d 826 (1974), the

United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

rigidly applied this Supreme Court mandate. The Court

stated therein:

“In the absence of a substantial federal claim

related to asserted state claims in such a way that

the entire case may properly be deemed one ‘case’,

federal courts do not have jurisdiction over purely

state claims. United Mine Workers of America v.

Gibbs, 383 U. S. 715, 725, 86 S. Ct. 59, 15 L. Ed. 2d 58

(1966). Dismissal of all federal claims before trial

requires dismissal of state claims as well. Id. at 726,

86 S. Ct. 59. A state court is the proper forum for

adjudication of issues of general law, particularly

where cuestions of fiduciary relationships are in-

volved.” (Emphasis added.)

See also Kurtz v. State of Michigan, 548 F. 2d 172 (6th

Cir. 1977) wherein the Court stated: 7

“Since all portions of the claims in this cause of

action which arise under federal law have now been

dismissed, the state law claims are no longer pendant

31

and must be dismissed likewise. i i

Workers v. Gibbs . . .” ee

and, Hodge v. Mountain States Tel. & Tel. Co., 555 F. 2d

254 (9th Cir. 1977), wherein the Ninth Circuit Court

stated:

_ “When a district court dismisses all federal

claims prior to trial, it should not retain jurisdiction

over pendant state claims.”

The Eighth Circuit, however, claims dismissal of the

federal claims prior to trial “is but one factor, among

many others, to be considered” by the Court in exercising

its discretion to retain jurisdiction of state law claims.

If, as the Court in Kenrose stated, the dismissal prior

to trial of the Defendant with whom an independent basis

of jurisdiction existed does distinguish those cases follow-

ing the minority view from those adhering to the majority

view it is then of great import to note that the Defendant

OPPD was not dismissed from this action until October 1,

1975 (C. A. Appendix I, p. 42) after the statute of limita-

tions had run. Petitioner certainly could not control the

dismissal of the Defendant OPPD by the trial court and

could not ingist that OPPD be dismissed prior to the run-

ning of the statute of limitations, so that it could assert

its claim that no independent basis of jurisdiction existed

between respondent and petitioner based on.the distinction

of Kenrose.

=F €

39.

3. The decision of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit directly conflicts

with the pronouncement of this Court in Aldinger

v. Howard, 96 8. Ct. 2413 (1976).

In Aldinger v. Howard, 96 S. Ct. 2413 (1976), this

Court addressed the question of whether a plaintiff who

asserted a claim against one defendant could implead a

different defendant on a state law claim where there is

no independent basis of federal jurisdiction, merely be-

cause the claim of the plaintiff against both defendants

“derived from a common nucleus of operative fact.”

In an opinion by Mr. Justice Renquist, this Court

stated : !

“The situation with respect to the impleading of

a new party, however, strikes us as being both fact-

ually and legally different from the situation facing

the Court in Gibbs and its predecessors. From a

purely factual point of view, it is one thing to auth-

orize two parties, already present in federal court by

virtue of a case over which the court has jurisdiction,

to litigate in addition to their federal claim a state

law claim over which there is no independent basis of

federal jurisdiction. But it is quite another thing to

permit a plaintiff, who has asserted a claim against

one defendant with respect to which there is federal

jurisdiction, to implead an entirely different defend-

ant on the basis of a state law claim over which there

is no independent basis of federal jurisdiction, simply

because his claim against the first defendant and his

claim against the second defendant ‘derive from a

common nucleus of operative fact.’ Ibid. True, the

same considerations of judicial economy would be

served insofar as plaintiff’s claims ‘are such that he

would ordinarily be expected to try them all in one

judicial proceeding...’ Ibid. But the addition of a

completely new party would run counter to the well-

established princig’e that federal courts, as opposed

to state trial courts of general jurisdiction, are courts

Ln ee RN Te a a ee ee

of limited jurisdiction marked out by Congress. We

think there is much sense in the observation of Judge

Sobeloff, writing for the Court of Appeals in Kenrose

Mfg. Co., Inc. v. Fred Whitaker Co., Inc., 512 F. 2d

890, 894 (C. A. 4, 1972):

** “The value of efficiency in the disposition of

lawsuits by avoiding multiplicity may be readily con-

ceded, but that is not the only consideration a federal

court should take into account in assessing the pres-

ence of absence of jurisdiction. Especially is this true

where as here the efficiency plaintiff seeks so avidly

is available without question in the state courts.’ ”

(Emphasis added.)

This Court quoted with approval the language of

Judge Sobeloff in Kenrose Mfg. Co., Inc. v. Fred Whit-

aker Co., Inc., supra. That case was cited extensively by

appellant in its original brief filed herein. This Court

emphasized that “the addition of a completely new party

would run counter to the well-established principle that

federal courts as opposed to state trial courts of general

jurisdiction, are courts of limited jurisdiction marked out

by thé Congress.” In the words of Judge Sobeloff in the

Kenrose Mfg. Co., Inc. case, “the efficiency the plaintiff

seeks so avidly is available without question in the state

courts.”

Aldinger holds that where jurisdiction is based not

on diversity of citizenship but on a federal statute other-

wise conferring jurisdiction over the subject matter, a

claim based on state law against an entirely different de-

fendant over which there is no independent basis of fed-

eral jurisdiction will only be allowed where the Court

satisfies itself (1) that Art. III of the United States

Constitution permits it and (2) that “Congress in the

statutes conferring jurisdiction has not expressly or by

implication negated its existence.” But jurisdiction does

34

not exist in a factual situation such as that which is

before the Court in the instant matter. It is stated in

Aldinger:

“From a purely factual point of view, it is one

thing to authorize two parties, already present in

federal court by virtue of a case over which the court

has jurisdiction, to litigate in addition to their fed-

eral claim a state law claim over which there is no

independent basis of federal jurisdiction. But it is

quite another thing to permit a plaintiff, who has

asserted a claim against one defendant with respect

to which there is federal jurisdiction, to implead an

entirely different defendant on the basis of the state

law claim over which there is no independent basis of

federal jurisdiction, simply because his claim against

the first defendant and his claim against the second

defendant ‘derived from a common nucleus of opera-

tive fact.’”

This Court then emphasized:

‘“‘That the addition of a completely new party

would run counter to the well-established | principle

that federal courts, as opposed to state trial courts

of general jurisdiction, are courts of limited juris-

diction marked out by Congress.”’

This is especially so where the plaintiff may seek

his remedy in the state court. In the instant matter,

respondent’s remedy was available in the state court.

There was no jurisdiction.

- In the ease of Fawvor v. Texaco, Inc., 546 F. 2d 636

(5th Cir. 1977) the Fifth Cireuit Court of Appeals con-

strued the case of Aldinger v. Howard, supra. Relying on

that decision plus the decision of the Fourth Circuit in

Kenrose Manufacturing Company, Inc. v. Fred Whitaker

Co., Inc., supra, the court stated:

35

“The authorities and cases cited above convince

this Court that an independent ground of jurisdiction

is necessary in order to support plaintiff’s claim

against the third-party defendant. No questions of

federal law are involved in either the original action

or in plaintiff’s action against the third-party defend-

ant. The basis of jurisdiction in the original com-

plaint is diversity, but no diversity exists between the

plaintiff and the third-party defendant. Neither is

there any other basis for the federal court’s asser-

tion of jurisdiction over plaintiff’s direct claim against

the third-party defendant. This is not a situation

where the same plaintiff and defendant seek to join

a state claim with a federal claim. Although it is

true that the defendant-third-party plaintiff has al-

ready brought in the third-party defendant, the de-

fendant-third-party plaintiff had no choice as to for-

um, and neither did the third-party defendant. Not

only did plaintiff have its choice of forum, but in fact

it could and did file the same action in state court.

The Constitution, statutes, rules of procedure, judicial

precedent and public policy dictate that this Court not

broaden the jurisdiction of the federal courts any

more than that clearly permitted by law. Therefore,

this Court concludes that an independent basis of jur-

isdiction is necessary for a plaintiff in a diversity

action to assert a non-federal claim against a non-

diverse third-party defendant.”

The decision of the Eighth Circuit in the instant mat-

ter most certainly conflicts with this decision of the Fifth~

Cireuit in Fawvor v. Texaco, Inc., supra.

4. The finding of fact made by the Eighth

Circuit Court of Appeals violates petitioner's

rights under the Fifth Amendment to the United

States Constitution.

Petitioner respectfully submits that the United States

Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit in its: opinion

36

filed June 21, 1977, made findings of fact which are not

supported by the record on appeal. The court misappre-

hended several points of law which are in direct conflict

with the decisions of other circuits and decisions of this

Court.

A finding was made concerning the conduct of peti-

tioner when that issue was never before the trial court.

The appellate court so concluded without giving petitioner

an opportunity to introduce evidence at a properly con-

ducted hearing, in violation of the due process clause of

the 5th Amendment of the United States Constitution.

The court’s opinion unequivocally claims petitioner

has perpetrated acts of fraud, not only upon respondent

but upon the Federal judicial system.

It is one thing for the trial court to assume jurisdic-

tion where none in fact exists, yet it is still another for

the Eighth Cireuit to justify its holding by claiming fraud

on the part of the petitioner. The issue of the conceal-

ment of the citizenship of the petitioner never matured

until oral argument was had before the Eighth Circuit.

Yet, a finding was made on appeal that petitioner con-

cealed the issue of diversity of citizenship until the statute

of limitations had run so as to gain “a substantial ad-

vantage” over respondent. The factual findings, however,

were not merely limited to a determination of conceal-

ment. The court elected to publish what it contended to

be the strategy underlying this fictional tactic of conceal-

ment, without ever having had the advantage of evidence

concerning the same.

“By subtle and adroit pleading the defendant has

gained a substantial advantage. If the trial goes

37

well, it can keep the jurisdictional point hidden. If

the trial seems to be going badly, or, indeed if it loses

on the merits, it asserts that it can even then chal-

lenge jurisdiction and successfully, so it argues, since

it insists it is clear-to all that jurisdiction may be

challenged by anyone at any time.” (Court’s Opinion,

Page 24). :

Now petitioner is not only expected to bear the loss,

but must wear the stain of indignity ihherent with allega-

tions and findings of“underhanded, unethical conduct.

Petitioner takes exception to the findings of the

Eighth Cireuit on the issue of concealment and the mo-

tives therefor, when no hearing has been had. The evi-

dence in the record sustained no finding other than that

petitioner was remiss in not raising the jurisdictional is-

sue at an earlier stage of the proceedings.

The only issue before the trial: court was that of

whether pendant or ancillary jurisdiction existed. Re-

spondent’s counsel commented on the lateness of the de-

fendant’s claim of no diversity of citizenship (C. A. Ap-

pendix II, pp. 156, 157).

Defendant’s attorney countered that argument and

the court agreed. The colloquy between the court and

counsel was as follows:

“Mr. Johnson: Also in regard to his initial com-

ment about our lateness in raising this, I would just

say this—

The Court: That can be raised at any time.

Mr. Johnson: That is right. This is not an equit-

able case.

The Court: That has been the rule since time

began.

"be

38

(Page 207) Mr..Johnson: As to laches, estoppel,

or waiver, the Court either has it or it doesn’t.

The Court: The only thing that concerns me is

this pendant or ancillary question. . . .” (C.A. Ap-

pendix II, pp. 159, 160).

If the trial court had indicated during ‘the trial that

concealment was an issue, Petitioner could have offered

evidence in support of its innocence. But, the trial court

emphasized that the only issue was the existence of pend-

ant or ancillary jurisdiction.

The effect of the Eighth Circuit’s finding is that a

Federal District Court may now acquire subject matter

jurisdiction over a cause of action where there is no

diversity of citizenship between the parties by the mere

running of the statute of limitations. The further effect

of the holding is that a defendant may never raise the de-

fense of lack of subject matter jurisdiction after the stat-

ute of limitations has run and any defendant that does

so is guilty of concealment and unethical conduct.

Rule 12 (h) (3) provides as follows:

“Whenever it appears by suggestion of the parties

or otherwise that the court lacks jurisdiction of the

subject matter, the court shall dismiss the action.”

That rules emphasizes that a subject matter jurisdiction

defect requires dismissal whenever that defect becomes

apparent, not merely prior to the running of the statutes

of limitations on the plaintiff’s claim.

In the case of Page v. Wright, 116 F. 2d 453 (7th

Cir. 1940), the Seventh Circuit stated:

“ . . (Jurisdiction) cannot be conferred by agree-

ment, consent or collusion of the parties, whether con-

tained in their pleadings or otherwise, and a party

cannot be precluded from raising the question by any

form of laches, waiver or estoppel. . . . The answer

of the defendant conceding jurisdiction amounted to

no more than consent, and as seen, jurisdiction can-

not be thus conferred irrespective of whether the con-

sent was the result of an honest mistake or other-

wise.

In the initial trial of Kenrose Manufacturing Co. v.

Fred Whittaker Co., found at 53 F. RB. D. 491 (1971), the

trial court stated:

“The plaintiff further contends that the third-

party defendant has waived his right to raise this

question of jurisdiction since he answered the amend-

ed complaint without challenging the lack of diversity

jurisdiction. In support of this contention the plain-

tiffs rely on Rule 12 (h) of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure. The plaintiffs’ contention is without

merit. Lack of diversity of citizenship of the parties

is a lack of the federal court’s subject matter juris-

diction. The third-party defendant’s motion to dis-

miss falls therefore within Rule 12 (b) (1) of the Fed-

eral Rules. A Rule 12(b) (1) motion to dismiss

raises a question of the federal court’s subject mat-

ter jurisdiction and is most typically used, as in this

case, when there is no diversity of citizenship. A

_motion attacking the court’s subject matter jurisdic-

tion may be made at any time by either party or by

the court sua sponte. If the court lacks subject mat-

ter jurisdiction, it lacks the power to hear the case.

5 Wright & Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure,

§ 1350 (1969). While it is true that Rule 12 (h) would

treat a motion to dismiss for lack of jurisdiction

over the person as waived if not timely made, such

is not the case when the court’s subject matter juris-

diction is challenged.” (Emphasis added.)

The amended complaint of respondent against the

petitioner was filed November 9, 1973 (C. A. Appendix I,

40

p. 23), approximately two months prior to the running of

the statute of limitations on January 18, 1974. In ‘its

answer to amended complaint filed November 27, 1973,

petitioner admitted that Owen Equipment and Erection

Company was a corporation organized and existing under

the laws of the State of Nebraska and denied each and

every other allegation in the Respondent’s complaint.

The Eighth Circuit found that the petitioner’s answer

did not comply with the terms of Rule 8 (b). Petitioner

emphatically claims that its answer conformed in all re-

spects to the requirements of this rule. It admitted that

Owen Equipment and Erection was a corporation organ-

ized and existing under the laws of the State of Nebraska

and denied all other al’egations. Rule 8(b) specifically

provides :

“ .. the pleader ... may generally deny all the

averments except such averments or paragraphs as

he expressly admits,. . .”

Less than two months after petitioner filed its an-

swer to the amended complaint, the statute of limita-

tions ran. No further action on the file occurred until

May 23, 1974 when a hearing on OPPD’s motion for sum-

mary judgment was had before Judge Denney (C. A. Ap-

pendix I, p. 31). The statute of limitations had already

run more than five months prior to that date. The issue

of the lack of subject matter jurisdiction of the court was

not raised by petitioner until its motion for dismissal filed

January 15, 1976, two days after trial had commenced

(C. A. Appendix I, p. 55).

If petitioner were intentionally “sandbagging” the

court, why then didn’t petitioner wait until the day after

==

41

the statute of ‘limitations had run on January 19, 1974

to raise the issue of lack of subject matter jurisdiction,

rather than waiting until the second day of trial to raise

the issue? Why wouldn’t the issue of lack of diversity of

citizenship have been raised in the answer which this

defendant filed January 13, 1976 (C. A. Appendix I, p.

49)?

The only reason this issue was not raised at an

earlier point in the proceedings was that counsel failed

to recognize that as an issue. During trial appellant’s

corporate counsel, Robert Becker of the law firm of

Swarr, May, Smith & Andersen, advised Attorney David

A. Johnson who was trying this case on behalf of Owen

Equipment and Erection Company that Owen was a Ne-

braska corporation, but that its principal place of business

was in lowa, and that there was no subject matter juris-

diction. Shortly thereafter, a motion to dismiss was filed

on hehalf of Owen Equipment and Erection Company.

This is the first time this matter was given any con-

sideration by petitioner. (See affidavits of corporate

and trial counsel from petition for rehearing in Appendix

C, App. pp. 38-39.) .

Likewise, it is obvious that the matter was never

considered to be an issue by counsel for respondent who

took at least four pre-trial depositions in the corporate

office of defendant in Carter Lake, Iowa. Two of these

depositions were taken of corporate officers.

But it is beyond the understanding of petitioner how

the issue of concealment could even come before the 8th

Cireuit. The rule in the Eighth Circuit as well as other

circuits throughout the nation has unanimously been that

42

there is @ presumption against the existence of Federal

jurisdiction, and thus the party involving the Federal

court’s jurisdiction bears the burden of proof as to its

existence. See Basso v. Utah Power and Light Co., 495

Fed. 2d 906 (10th Cir. 1974); Emmke v. DeSilva, 293 Fed.

17 (8th Cir. 1923).

The burden rested on the respondent to overcome

the presumption. Respondent discovered as early as June

3, 1974 that the principal place of business of Petitioner

was Carter Lake, Iowa. On that date at 1:30 P. M. re-

spondent’s counsel took the deposition of the President of

Petitioner in its office of Owen in Carter Lake, Iowa (C. A.

Appendix II, p. 92). During that deposition the following

questions were asked of Mr. Owen by respondent’s counsel:

**Q. And would you tell me where the headquarters of

Owen Equipment and Erection Company is?

A. Here, same headquarters.

Q. Same headquarters.

A. Webs cs

Q

I have the impression in my mind’s eye, and I

don’t know, that you have the headquarters at the

same place and you have the same officers and

it seems to be operated out of the same place. Is

one company just the same as the other?” (C. A.

Appendix II, p. 95).

On the 24th day of November, 1972 respondent filed

her complaint wherein she alleged under paragraph 5 as

follows :

“That on January 18, 1972, plaintiff’s decedent was

employed working in the capacity of a machinist for

the defendant, Paxton and Vierling Steel Company

at its place of business in Carter Lake, Iowa. . . .”

(Emphasis added.) (C. A. Appendix I, p. 4).

So on the 3rd day of June, 1974, respondent knew that it

could not go forward with its burden of proving subject

matter jurisdiction. However, the Eighth Circuit chose

to believe that petitioner connived respondent and the

trial court and concealed from both the principal place of

business of the petitioner until the second day of trial.

Isn’t it just as conceivable that the exact opposite

conclusion could have been reached by the Eighth Circuit

on these same facts? After June 3, 1974, it certainly

would have behooved respondent to conceal the jurisdic-

tional issue. Respondent had nothing .to lose for the

statute had already run. She could later claim tardiness

when the petitioner raised the issue. |

The court relies heavily on the case of Di Frischai v.

New York Central Railroad, 279 Fed. 2d 141 (3rd Cir.

1960) as authority for its findings. In his treatise of

Law of Federal Courts, Wright questions this decision

stating:

“This argument seems to assume that the court has

discretion to hear a case where jurisdiction is not

present, a very questionable assumption.” Law of

Federal Courts, Charles Alan Wright, West Publish-

ing Co., 1970, page 17.

°

44

CONCLUSION

The decision of the Eighth Cireuit Court of Appeals

in this matter most certainly conflicts with the decisions

of every other circuit which has addressed the question

presented by this Petition. A federal court may not ex-

ercise discretion to retain jurisdiction over a claim where

jurisdiction in fact does not exist. There is no such

power in the federal judicial system. This petitioner re-

spectfully submits that the trial court did not have jur-

isdiction over the subject matter of the action and thus

had no power to enter the verdict and resultant judgment

against this petitioner. A plaintiff may not sue a defend-

ant having a common state citizenship with the plaintiff

in a United States District Court in any state; but, both

the trial court and the Eighth Cireuit Court of Appeals in

this matter allowed the maintenance of such an action.

Petitioner has been found to have concealed the issue

of its citizenship from both the court and the respond-

ent. Information concerning the citizenship of the peti-

tioner was equally available to respondent and petitioner,

yet both the trial court and the Eighth Circuit have

chosen to place the responsibility for respondent’s failure

to prove citizenship upon the defendant. Claims of con-

cealment have been manufactured against this petitioner

so that the judgment in the amount of $234,756.90 in favor

of the plaintiff may be allowed to stand. There is no con-

stitutional or statutory power given to any court to create

jurisdiction when it is absent.

If this decision is allowed to stand then no defend-

ant may ever raise the issue of lack of subject matter

45

jurisdiction of a court after the statute of limitations has

run.

All federal courts, by virtue of this decision, may

now acquire jurisdiction once the statute of limitations ~

runs, whether or not the requisite diversity of citizenship

is present. Such a rule cannot be allowed to exist.

The Eighth Circuit has concluded that the petitioner

has played “fast and loose with the judicial machinery”,

yet the only act of which petitioner is guilty is answering

in accordance with Rule 8b of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure.

This petitioner, therefore, respectfully requests that

this court grant a writ of certiorari to the United. States

Court of Appeals to the Eighth Circuit to review the

opinion and judgment of the Eighth Cireuit Court of Ap-

peals, rendered in these proceedings on October 16, 1977.

Respectfully submitted,

Emi. F. Soporo

Daviy A. Jonson and

Ronatp H. Stave

of the Law Offices of Emu. F. Sopvoro, P.C.

200 Century Professional Plaza

7000 Spring Street

Omaha, Nebraska 68106

Attorneys for Petitioner

App. 1

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 76-1187

GERALDINE KROGER, ADMINISTRATRIX OF THE

ESTATE OF JAMES D. KROGER, DECEASED,

Appellee,

vs.

OWEN EQUIPMENT & ERECTION COMPANY,

a Nebraska Corporation,

, Appellant.

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT

COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEBRASKA

Submitted: November 10, 1976

Filed: June 21, 1977 \

Before LAY and BRIGHT, Circuit Judges, and TALBOT

SMITH,* Senior District Judge.

This case involves the death of a workman assisting

in moving a large steel tank. The tank was being moved

by a large crane, the boom of which came into contact

with high tension electric power lines, resulting in the

workman’s electrocution. At the time the deceased was

28 years of age with a wif2 and four children. The plain-

tiff, his widow, as administratrix of his estate, was award-

ed a jury verdict of $234,756. We affirm.

*TALBOT SMITH, Senior District Judge, Eastern District of

Michigan, sitting by designation.

App. 2

The crane involved was owned by the Owen Equip-

ment and Erection Company (hereafter “Owen”), and

leased by Paxton & Vierling Steel Company (hereafter

“Paxton”) for heavy lifting. The case was initiated by

a bili of complaint filed by plaintiff, an Iowa citizen,

against Omaha Public Power District (hereafter “OPPD”),

a Nebraska corporation, and Paxton, also a Nebraska

corporation. The course of the pleadings thereafter was

long and involved and will be found in the Appendix

hereto. We note here only that Owen was impleaded

as a third-party defendant by OPPD.

The relationship between defendant Owen and Pax-

ton was somewhat involved. Paxton was engaged in the

fabrication of structural steel and the manufacture of

farm and similar products. It is a non-union plant. To

avoid possible labor trouble in “erecting steel on the out-

side, which is strictly a union proposition,” it formed

Owen, both corporations having the same headquarters

and the same officers, Owen being 100% owned by Paxton.

Owen owned two cranes, operated by Fred (father) and

David (son) Morrow, both of whom were on Paxton’s

payroll. Both of them held union ecards. It was David

who was operating,the crane at the time of decedent’s

death. :

After Owen was organized it hired one Harry Flynn,

a qualified crane operator and member of the crane oper-

ator’s union, to be its erection superintendent. It was

he who trained Fred Morrow in the use and upkeep of

the cranes and it was Fred himself who trained his son

on the job. Fred Morrow retired in 1969. Mr. Flynn -

retired shortly before the accident and was not replaced

App. 3

by a successor. David Morrow then remained the sole

operator qualified to operate Owen’s big outside cranes.

When Paxton required the big cranes, the operators went

with the crane and “they ran that crane.” Mr. Owen,

President of Owen, agreed in his deposition that it

“wouldn’t do [Owen] a bit of good to own those cranes

unless [Owen] had operators for them * * *.”

After long and involved pleadings, a summary of

which, as we have noted, will be found in the Appendix,

the parties had, by trial date, January 12, 1976, been re-

duced to two: plaintiff Kroger, an Iowa citizen, and de-

fendant Owen, charged to be ‘‘a Nebraska corporation,”

and consistently self-admitted in the pleadings to be such.

So stood the description of the parties until noon on

the third day of the trial. At this juncture, defendant

Owen elicited from witness Petersen, Secretary of Owen,

that Owen’s principal place of business was in Carter

Lake, Iowa. Having done so, defendant, the same after-

noon, challenged the jurisdiction of the court on the

ground of lack of diversity.

The court and the plaintiff were taken by surprise

because of defendant’s pleadings. Plaintiff’s amended

complaint, filed on November 9, 1973, some two years

prior to trial, had unequivocally charged that “Owen

Equipment and Erection Co. is a Nebraska corporation

with its principal place of business in Nebraska.” De-

fendant had not denied this outright. It had utilized a

qualified general denial. It “[a]dmit[ted] that Owen

- Equipment and Erection Company is a corporation or-

ganized and existing under the Laws of the State of Ne-

braska,” and “[dJenie[d] each and every other allegation

App. 4

contained in said Amended Complaint * * *.” This form

of answer was in violation of fed. R. Civ. P. 8(b) which

provides that “[w]hen a pleader imtends in good faith to

deny only a part or a qualification uf an averment, he

shall specify so much of it as is true and material and

deny only the remainder.”* Thus, defendart’s admission

of part of an averment and denial of the baance in a

qualified general denial clearly does not meet the require-

ments of the Rule quoted. Nor, as also required by Rule

8(b), does it fairly meet the substance of the avermeni

denied.

Appellant finally admitted on oral argument to us,

after close questioning, a point clear from the pleadings,

namely, that it had not specifically challenged the diversity

jurisdiction of the court at any time during the long

course of the pleadings, and particularly had not done so

in response to the plaintiff’s amended bill of complaint,

filed on November 9, 1973, charging Owen to be “a Ne-

braska corporation with its principal place of business

in Nebraska.” Owen waited until near the close of the

trial to make its challenge. The point had been concealed

during the entire period of time since the filing of the

amended complaint some two years theretofore. Under

1 See Kirby v. Turner-Day & Woolworth Handle Co., 50 F.

_ Supp. 469, 470 (E.D. Tenn. 1943); 2A Moore’s Federal

Practice ¥] 8. 23, at 1828 (2d ed. 1975) (hereafter “Moore’s’’);

5 C. Wright & A. Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure

§ 1266, at 284 (1969) (hereafter “Wright & Miller’).

App. 5

similar circumstances, the Third Cireuit has held the alle-

gation as to defendant’s citizenship to be admitted.’

The District Court rejected the challenge to its juris-

diction, holding, in its Memorandum Opinion, that al-

though no independent basis of jurisdiction existed as to

Owen, nevertheless it had discretion under the Gibbs case,’

to exercise its judicial power over the case. It held, in

part, that:

The law in Nebraska is that an iadependent

basis of jurisdiction need not exist in order for plain-

tiff to assert a claim against a third party defend-

ant. See Union Bank & Trust Co. v. St. Paul Fire &

Marine Ins. Co., 38 F. R. D. 486 (D. Neb. 1965) ; Alson

v. United States, 38 F. R. D. 489 (D. Neb. 1965). Al-

though this view was once the minority view, this

Court believes it is correct.

Properly read, United Mine Workers [v. Gibbs, 383

U. S. 715 (1966) ], reemphasizes the fundamental prin-

ciple that a federal court has jurisdictional power to

2 In Biggs v. Public Service Coordinated Transport, 280 F. 2d

311 (3d Cir. 1964), the pleader asserted a proper amount

in controversy, and, further, that defendant was a New

Jersey corporation doing business in Pennsylvania. De-

fendant’s answer specifically denied that the amount in

controversy was in excess of the statutory minimum, but

the allegation that defendant was incorporated in New

Jersey was only met by a qualified general denial. The

Biggs court held:

We cannot for a moment believe that defendant's

counsel was denying in good faith that his client was

a New Jersey corporation. We think the only fair inter-

pretation of the pleading in this case is that the denial

does not run to the allegation of defendant's citizen-

ship. Therefore, that allegation must be deemed to be

admitted. Fed. R. Civ. P. 8 (d).

280 F.2d at 313-14 (footnote omitted; emphasis added).

3 United Mine Workers v. Gibbs, 383 U.S. 715 (1966).

App. 6

adjudicate the whole case, i. e., all claims, state or fed-

eral, which derive from a common nucleus of opera-

tive facts. . . . [S]ince there is jurisdictional power

to hear the whole case, the question is one of trial

court discretion whether to exercise that jurisdiction,

considering all the factors of economy and conveni-

ence in the context of federalism. 3 Moore’s Federal

Practice § 14.27[1], 14-569 to 14-570.

This case is nevertheless noyel, in that the third party

plaintiff was dismissed. However, having determined that

ancillary jurisdiction exists, it is only equitable that the

Court now retain jurisdiction of this “pendent” claim.‘

Defendant waited until trial to present its motion to dis-

miss. Should the Court grant defendant’s motion, plain-

tiff would be left without a cause of action, because the

Iowa Statute of Limitations has run.’ Despite the fact

that defendant has exclusive possession of the knowledge

of the extent of its own business in Iowa, it remained

silent on this issue until more than two years subsequent

to the filing of the amended complaint. No reason for

the delay has been offered and undoubtedly plaintiff was

lulled into believing defendant’s principal place of busi-

ness was in Nebraska. As a matter of sound policy and

logic, ancillary jurisdiction existed once and, under the

facts presented in this case, this Court must retain juris-

diction.

The problem presented arises in the area of ancillary

and pendant jurisdiction. We start, of course, with the

4 The Court is aware that eer jurisdiction” refers to

state claims joined with federal claims and uses the term

here in its ordinary context. (Footnote in original.)

5 We express no opinion on this point, it not having been

briefed by either party hereto and being only one of the

factors to be considered in the exercise of the Court's dis-

cretion. (Footnote ours.) y

a

App. 7

proposition that federal courts are courts of limited juris-

diction.6 However, under the developing doctrines of

pendent and ancillary jurisdiction,’ there has been ex-

pansion of federal jurisdiction into areas which ordinarily

do not come under the jurisdiction of the federal courts.

The limits of this expansion are our immediate concern.

Modern analysis starts with the landmark decision in

United Mine Workers v. Gibbs, 383 U. S. 715 (1966).* In

this case, the plaintiff, a mining superintendent and haul-

ing contractor, was prevented from the performance of

his contract by a local union which had forcibly prevented

the opening of the mine. Suit was brought in the federal

court alleging violation of section 303 of the Labor Man-

/

6 U.S. Const. art. Ill, § 2; Act of Sept. 24, 1789, 1 Stat. 73

(Judiciary Act).

7 Differentiations of many kinds may be made between the

doctrines of ancillary and pendent jurisdiction. As to the

utility thereof, see Aldinger v. Howard, 427 U.S. 1, 13

(1976):

Given the complexities of the many manifestations of

federal jurisdiction, together with the countless factual

rmutations possible under the Federal Rules, there is

ittle profit in attempting to decide, for example,

whether there are any “principled” differences between

pendent and ancillary jurisdiction; or, if there are,

what effect Gibbs had on such differences.

The historical development of both of these doctrines,

which had disparate origins, may be found in Comment,

Pendent and Ancillary jurisdiction: Towards a Synthesis

of Two Doctrines, 22 U.C.L.A. L. Rev. 1263, 1265-70

(1975) (and cases and articles therein cited); Note, The

Evolution and Scope of the Doctrine of Pendent Jurisdic-

tion in the Federal Courts, 62 Colum. L. Rev. 1018 (1962);

Note, Rule 14 Claims and Ancillary Jurisdiction, 57 Va. L.

Rev. 265, 267-72 (1971).

8 For a discussion of Gibbs, see Note, UMW v. Gibbs and

Pendent Jurisdiction, 81 Harv. L. Rev. 657 (1968).

App. 8

agement Relations Act,® to which was joined a state claim

for mal vivus interference with contract rights. Plaintiff

prevailed on both claims, but upon motion for judgment

n.0o.v. the federal claim was held non-actionable and

judgment entered on the state claim, with affirmation by

the Court of Appeals following.'°

The Supreme Court affirmed the assumption of jur-

isdiction over the pendent state claim."' The significance

of the Gibbs case for our purposes lies in its disearding

of the test established in Hurn v. Oursler, 289 U.S. 238,

246 (1933), for pendent jurisdiction, under which pendent

jurisdiction was present when “two distinct grounds in

support of a single cause of action’? [were] alleged, one

only of which present[ed] a federal question,” but not

“where two separate and distinct causes of action [were]

alleged, one only of which [was] federal in character.”

In place of the Hurn test, the Court held that pendent

jurisdiction is present whenever the state and federal

claims “derive from a common nucleus of operative fact”

to the degree that a plaintiff would ‘‘ordinarily be ex-

pected to try them all in one judicial proceeding.” If,

the Court continued, the state claim is so related to the

9 29 U. S. C. § 187.

10 aan v. United Mine Workers, 343 F.2d 609 (6th Cir.

11 In dealing with the merits, however, the Court reversed.

12 This phraseology had caused much difficulty in the lower

courts due to the metaphysical nature of “‘cause of action.”

See Gibbs, supra, 383 U.S. at 722-24; Note, The Evolution

and Scope of the Doctrine of Pendent Jurisdiction in the

Federal Courts, supra note 7, at 1029-30. (Footnote ours.)

13 383 U.S. at 725.

App. 9

federal claim thai there is “but one constitutional ‘case’,”

there is power to exercise pendent jurisdiction and it is

“unnecessarily grudging” to limit the availability of pend-

ent jurisdiction more narrowly than is constitutionally re-

quired."¢

Owen, as noted supra, was impleaded by OPPD as a”

third-party defendant pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 14 (a)."s

14 Id. at 725.

15 “(a) When Defendant May Bring in Third Party. At any

time after commencement of the action a defending

party, as a third-party plaintiff, may cause a summons

and complaint to be served upon a person not a party

to the action who is or may be liable to him for all or

part of the M nee ah claim against him. The third-

plaintiff need not obtain leave to make the serv-

ice if he files the third-party complaint not later than

10 days after he serves his original answer. Otherwise

he must obtain leave on motion upon notice to all

parties to the action. The person served with the sum-

mons and third-party complaint, hereinafter called the

third-party defendant, shall make his defenses to the

third-party plaintiff's claim as provided in Rule 12 and

his counterclaims against the third-party plaintiff and

cross-claims against other third-party defendants as

provided in Rule 13. The third-party defendant ed

assert against the plaintiff any defenses which the third-

party plaintiff has to the plaintiffs claim. The third-

party defendant may also assert any claim against the

laintiff arising out of the transaction or occurrence that

is the subject matter of the plaintiff's claim against the

third-party plaintiff. The plaintiff may assert any claim

against the third-party defendant arising out of the

transaction or occurrence that is the subject matter of

the plaintiff's claim against the or laintiff, and

the third-party defendant thereupon shall assert his

defenses as provided in Rule 12 and his counterclaims

and cross-claims as provided in Rule 13. Any party

may move to strike the third-party claim, or for its

severance or separate trial. A third-party defendant

may proceed under this rule against any person not a

party to the action who is or may be liable to him for

all or part of the claim made in the action against the

third-party defendant. * * *.”

App. 10

The provisions of Rule 14 (a) governing third-party prac-

tice are extremely broad, permitting the third-party de-

fendant to assert against the plaintiff “any claim * * *

arising out of the transaction or occurrence that is the

subject matter of the plaintiff’s claim against the third-

party plaintiff,” and the plaintiff to assert against the

third-party defendant “any claim * * * arising out of the

transaction or occurrence that is the subject matter of the

plaintiff’s claim against the third-party plaintiff.”

Rule 14, however, is silent as to whether independent

jurisdictional grounds are required for such claims and

thus arises our question. It is to be noted, however, that

Rule 14 (a) does not by itself extend the jurisdiction of

the federal courts."© It is clear that many of the claims

which Rule 14(a) permits to be joined with the main

‘claim asserted by the plaintiff have been allowed without

an independent basis of jurisdiction under the doctrine of

ancillary jurisdiction. Professors Wright and Miller state

that ‘*[t]he cases on point almost all hold that defendant’s

claim against a third-party defendant is within the an-

cillary jurisdiction of the federal courts,”” even though

there may be no diversity between these parties. See,

e. g., Waylander-Peterson Co. v. Great Northern Ry. Co.,

201 F. 2d 408, 415 (8th Cir. 1953). The courts have also

allowed, without an independent basis of jurisdiction, the

third-party defendant’s claim against the plaintiff, arising

16 Fed. R. Civ. P. 82 provides:

These rules shall not be construed to extend or

limit the jurisdiction of the United States district courts

17 6 Wright & Miller § 1444, at 223 (footnote omitted).

App. 11

out of the same transaction as the plaintiff’s main claim.” ~

Since much of what we are about to write concerns diver-

sity, we think it not inappropriate to point out that such

action against the plaintiff has been held to be within

the court’s ancillary jurisdiction, even when the main

claim is based upon diversity jurisdiction and both the

third-party defendant and plaintiff are citizens of the same

state."® Thus, in view of the breadth of Rule 14 (a), com-

bined with current ancillary and pendent jurisdiction doc-

trine it is not unusual for courts to adjudicate ancillary

claims having no independent jurisdictional basis.*°

On the other hand, the great numerical majority of

cases have held that if the plaintiff asserts a claim against

the third-party defendant, as permitted by Rule 14 (a),

there must be independent grounds for jurisdiction.** The

18 See Revere Copper & Brass Inc. v. Aetna. Cas. & Sur. Co.,

426 F.2d 709 (5th Cir. 1970), but note comments thereon

in Fawvor v. Texaco, Inc., 546 F. 2d 636, 642 (5th Cir. 1977);

General Dynamics Corp., 486 F. 2d 763, 772 (7th Cir. 1973),

cert. denied, 414 U.S. 1146 (1974) (adopting the reasoning

of the Fifth Circuit in Revere Copper); L & E Co. v. U.S.A.

ex rel. Kaiser Gypsum Co., 351 F.2d 880, 882 (9th Cir.

1965).

19 See, e.g., Revere Copper & Brass Inc. v. Aetna Cas. & Sur.

Co., supra note 18.

20 For a summary of the many instances in which the district

courts adjudicate ancillary claims having no independent

jurisdictional basis, see 13 Wright & Miller § 3523, at 66-70.

21 See, e.g., Fawvor v. Texaco, Inc., supra note 18. But see,

e. g., Morgan Suey 8 oe bg o., 69 ie D. 697 (D.

Kan. 1975) (holdin at ntiff, in ropriate cases, may

assert a claim pon B-. third-party defendant without there

being an wages eg basis of jurisdiction). The cases pro

and con on ther independent jurisdictional grounds are

uired for plaintiff to assert a claim against third-

defendant are gathered in Fawvor, supra, 546 F.2d at 63

n. 7, and in te, Rule 14(a) and Ancil Jurisdiction:

Plaintiff's Claim Against Non-Diverse Third-Party Defend-

ant, 33 Wash. & Lee L. Rev. 796, 798-99 nn. 10-12 (1976).

App. 12

older, pre-Gibbs, cases, including one from our court,”

support the proposition with almost complete unanimity,”

as did the first edition of Prof. Moore’s treatise.*

After the landmark decision in Gibbs, however, the

underpinnings of the restrictive rule were swept away.

Prof. Moore’s later edition, following the holding in Gibbs,

submitted that the matter of accepting jurisdiction should

be within the trial court’s discretion, arguing trenchantly

that:

Properly read, United Mine Workers reemphasizes the

fundamental principal that a federal court has juris-

dictional power to adjudicate the whole case, i. e., all

claims, state or federal, which derive from a common

nucleus of operative facts. Thus it is now possible

for lower federal courts to reach decisions allowing

jurisdiction over some joined claims and parties,

which previously would probably have been rejected

for lack of subject matter jurisdiction. If United

Mine Workers does signal such relaxation of the pro-

hibitory rule as to original joinder of claims and par-

ties, then, consequently its corrollary rule forbidding

22 United States v. Lushbough, 200 F.2d 717 (8th Cir. 1952).

We note the holding in Lushbough that diversity was re-

uired to “eee a judgment in favor of plaintiff against

ird-party defendant was an alternative ground of deci-

sion, the other ground being that plaintiff was precluded

from “—* against third-party defendant by 28 U.S. C.

§ 2676. In view of developments in the law of pendent

and ancillary jurisdiction subsequent to Lushbough, we

deem it wise to reexamine the position taken by us in that

case on the jurisdictional issue at bar.

23 But see L & E Co. v. U.S.A. Kaiser Lame ge Co., 351 F. 2d

880, 882 (9th Cir. 1965); Olson v. United States, 38 F. R. D.

489 (D. Neb. 1965); Myer v. Lyford, 2 F.R.D. 507 (M.D.

a} so Sklar v. Hayes, 1 F. R. D. 594, 596 (E. D. Pa.

24 1 Moore’s § 14.02, at 748 (1st ed. 1938).

App. 13

ancillary jurisdiction of a claim by the plaintiff

against the third-party defendant must also be re-

laxed.

But regardless of jurisdictional developments un-

der Rules 18 and 20, United Mine Workers can au-

thorize an independent relaxation of the rule against

ancillary jurisdiction over plaintiff’s amended claims

against the third-party defendant. At the outset, the

question must be redefined. It should not be a ques-

tion of pure law posing the choice “either there is an

ancillary jurisdiction and the court must take it, or

there is no ancillary jurisdiction, and the court cannot

take it.” Instead, since there is jurisdictional power

to hear the whole case, the question is one of trial

court discretion whether to exercise that jurisdiction,

considering all the factors of economy and conveni-

ence in the context of federalism. Once this basic

redefinition takes place, the traditional reasons given

for supporting a rule of flat prohibition do not neces-

sarily disappear. Instead they become factors for the

trial court to consider in exercising its discretion.*

25 3 Moore’s §[ 14.27 [1], at 14-569 to 14-570 (footnotes omit-

ted; emphasis in original).

In Kenrose Mfg. Co. v. Fred Whitaker Co., 512 F. 2d

890, 893-94 (4th Cir. 1972), Judges Sobeloff, summarized

the arguments ogten given in support of the majority

view that independent jurisdictional grounds are required

in order for plaintiff to assert claim against third-party de-

fendant:

Several supporting reasons have been advanced by

courts holding the majority view on this question.

Among them are that: (1) plaintiff should not be al-

lowed, an indirect route, to sue a co-citizen under

diversity jurisdiction when he is not permitted to sue

that party directly; (2) the majority rule precents collu-

sion between plaintiff and defendant to obtain federal

jurisdiction over a party who would otherwise not be

within the court’s reach; (3) the rule which generally

does not require diversity as between plaintiff and

(Continued on following page)

App. 14

(Continued from previous page)

third-party defendant proceeds on the assumption that

the plaintiff is seeking no relief against the third-party

defendant; and (4) federal dockets are so overcrowded

that the federal courts should not reach out for state

law based litigation. [Footnotes omitted. ]

Professor Moore has incisively criticized these arguments

in his treatise. See 3 Moore’s ¥ 14.27 [1], at 14-570 to

572. See also Morgan v. Serro Travel Trailer Co., supra, 69

F.R. D. at 702-04.

In response to the argument that plaintiff should not

be able to do indirectly what he cannot do directly, Pro-

fessor Moore replies:

ze shouldn’t A. B. [plaintiff] be able to do it in-

irectly? A.B. took his chance in suing C. D. [defend-

ant] alone in the federal court. It was C.D.’s choice,

not A. B.’s, .o bring in E. F. [third-party defendant], and

now that E. F. is before the court, judicial economy and

convenience may dictate that the court dispose of the

whole case by allowing all claims deriving from a com-

mon nucleus of operative fact.

3 Moore’s J 14.27 [1] at 14-570 to 571 (footnote omitted).

The argument that the majority rule prevents collusion

has been termed “the raison d’etre” of that rule; the

other arguments being described as ae ly ‘make-

weights’.” Morgan, supra, 69 F.R. D. at 702-03. Professor

Moore states and we agree, that 28 U.S.C. § 1359, which

provides that “[a] district court shall not have jurisdiction

of a civil action in which any party * * * has been improp-

erly or collusively made or joined to invoke the jurisdiction

of such court, is an adequate answer to the specter of

collusion.” 3 Moore’s 7 14.27 [1], at 14-571. “Fears of

—_— do not justify a wholesale denial of jurisdiction.”

The third argument given in support of the majority rule

rests on an overly narrow view of ancillary jurisdiction.

Professor Moore puts it this way:

Ancillary jurisdiction is a much broader concept resting

u mu reasons of economy and convenience.

us, it is clearly established that ancillary jurisdiction

tween C.D. [third-party plaintiff] and €. F. [third-party

tween C. D. [thi . F.

defendant] even those claims lack shout and

jurisdictional amount and could not have been brought

(Continued on following page)

7

App. 15

The solution to the problem presented as to the Dis-

trict Court’s retention of jurisdiction in the case at bar

is clearly outlined in Gibbs. That decision enunciated a

two step process for the resolution of the ancillary-pend-

ent jurisdiction problem: First, the determination of

whether or not there is power in the federal courts to hear

the whole matter. If there is, the Court continues, “That

power need not be exercised in every case in which it is

found to exist. It has consistently been recognized that

pendent jurisdiction is a doctrine of discretion, not of

plaintiff’s right. Its justification lies in considerations of

judicial economy, convenience and fairness to litigants

* * @ 9926

At the time the plaintiff amended her complaint to

assert a claim against Owen there is no question but that

(Continued from previous page)

as original law suits. The same broad principle and re-

sult should not be offensive when applied to ancilla

jurisdiction between A. B. [plaintiff] and E. F. If E. F.

ad voluntarily entered the suit as a non-indispensable

defendant by intervention under Rule 24(a), there clear-

ly can be ancillary jurisdiction over the claims between

fl F. and A. B. e same result should be obtained

whether E. F. enters voluntarily under Rule 24 or invol-

untarily by C. D.’s impleader under Rule 14. In brief,

there should be no rule forbidding building one ancil-

lary jurisdiction on another.

Id. at 14-571 to 572 (footnotes omitted).

The fourth argument in support of the majority rule,

that federal courts are too busy to “reach out for state law

based litigation,” rests upon a parochial view of federalism.

“If federal courts refuse to use conceptual tools to dispose

of all related claims with the test economy and con-

venience, the federal courts add to the total in-

economy and inconvenience which itigants must suffer to

obtain justice on the merits of their claims.” Id. at 14-572

(footnote omitted).

26 383 U.S. at 726 (footnote omitted).

App. 16

the court had jurisdiction over plaintiff’s claim against

OPPD and OPPD’s third-party claim against Owen,’

But the question presented is whether the court also had

power over the plaintiff-Owen’s claim.

Within the framework of the Gibbs decision, Kroger’s

claim against Owen arises out of the core of “operative

facts” giving rise to both Kroger’s claim against OPPD

and OPPD’s claim against Owen. All parties were before

the court and it is both paradoxical and anomalous to

hold in this situation that, although Kroger can go against

OPPD which can go against Owen, and Owen may pro-

ceed against Kroger, Kroger cannot proceed against Owen.

This result is not demanded by Rule 14 and has its origins

in the mists of the precedents of earlier days and crystal-

lized concepts that cannot stand the light of searching

modern examination.

It is an over-simplification of the result we seek to

cast the problem in terms of black and white, that is, jur-

isdiction or no jurisdiction. The matter is broader than

that. Once the court has before it all of the parties to

the controversy, sharing common and interrelated facts,

it has power in the jurisdictional sense to dispose of the

case. To say, in a modern court, under modern rules,#

that a third-party defendant may sue a plaintiff of the

same state, but not the converse, is a monument to the

27 The power as to the Kroger-OPPD claim rested upon

diversity, and as to the OPPD-Owen third-party claim, the

court had ancillary jurisdiction. Waylander-Peterson Co. v.

Great Northern Ry. Co., supra; 6 Wright & Miller 4 1444,

at 223 (quoted supra at p. 11).

28 “Under the [Federal Rules of Civil Procedure], the impulse

is toward entertaining the broadest possible scope of action

consistent with fairness to the parties; joinder of claims,

parties, and remedies is strongly encouraged.” Gibbs,

supra, 383 U.S. at 724 (footnote omitted).

App. 17

triumph of rule over reason, “a step backward to the time

when piecemeal litigation, tactical maneuvering by proce-

dural devices, inconvenience to litigants, duplication of

litigation in different courts, and a resulting waste of

judicial and litigant time and resources were the hallmarks

of formalistie rules of civil procedure.’’”

29 We bn 14 Claims and Ancillary Jurisdiction, supra note

, at .

Owen contends that the recent Supreme Court deci-

sion, Aldinger v. Howard, 427 U.S. 1 (1976), supports its

contention that the District Court was without power to

exercise jurisdiction over Kroger’s direct claim against it.

We disagree.

The Aldinger court’s holding was a narrow one:

All that we hold is that where the asserted basis of

federal jurisdiction over a municipal corporation is not

diversity of citizenship, but is a claim of jurisdiction

pendent to a suit brought against a municipal officer

within [28 U.S.C.] § 1343, the refusal of Congress to

authorize suits against municipal corporations under

the cognate provisions of [42 U.S.C.] § 1983 is suffi-

cient to defeat the asserted claim of pendent-party jur-

isdiction.

id. at 17-18 n. 12. The Aldinger court carefully limited its

decision to the context of claims brought under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1343 (3) and 42 U.S.C. § 1983:

[W]e decide here only the issue of so-called

“pendent party” jurisdiction with respect to a claim

brought under §4 1343 (3) and 1983. Other statutory

grants and other alignments of parties and claims might

call for a different result.

Id. at 18 (emphasis added).

The instant case presents an alignment of parties and

claims significantly different from that presented in Al-

dinger. In Aldinger, the municipal corporation over which

plaintiff sought to have the court assert pendent jurisdic-

tion, was a “new party * * * not otherwise subject to

federal jurisdiction.” Id. The impleading of such a party,

presents “a more serious obstacle to the exercise of pen-

dent jurisdiction than if parties already before the court

are required to litigate a state-law claim.” /Id. In the in-

stant case, Owen was already before the court on OPPD’s

third-party claim, a state law claim within the court’s ancil-

lary jurisdiction. See p. 11 and note 27, supra.

App. 18

The judicial power is there. Whether or not to use

it answers to no ipse dizit. The question is whether to

exercise that power, ‘‘considering all the factors of econ-

omy and convenience in the context of federalism.”*°

Thus remains the exercise of discretion. And it is for

this reason, we are convinced, that we are warned, from

the earliest cases to the latest, that there can be no blanket

rule governing all cases, no per se dogma to serve as an

easy substitute for thought.

As we indicated at the outset of this opinion, the

question of pendent-party jurisdiction is “subtle and

complex,” and we believe it would be as unwise as it

would be unnecessary to lay down any sweeping pro-

nouncement upon the existence or exercise of such

jurisdiction.+*

The factors governing the exercise of discretion were

expressed in Gibbs to be “judicial economy, convenience,

and fairness to litigants.”** The satisfaction here of the

first two requirements requires no exegesis. It is upon

the element of fairness that we shall speak. The defend-

ant before us has connived for himself an unfair advan-

tage. But what he has overlooked in all of this is the

court’s exercise of discretion in terms of fairness. It is

not without significance that well prior to Gibbs the dis-

cretion of the trial court was relied upon in denying be-

lated challenges to jurisdiction in situations of oppres-

sion.*? In the Di Frischia case, after a series of plead-

30 3 Moore’s ¥ 14.27 [1], at 14-570.

31 Aldinger, supra, 427 U. S. at 18.

32 383 U.S. at 726.

33 See Di Frischia v. New York Cent. R. R., 279 F.2d 141 (3d

Cir. 1960); Klee v. Pittsburgh & W. Va. Ry., 22 F.R. D. 252

(W. D. Pa. 1958).

App. 19

ings, preparations for trial, and a stipulation of diversity,

a defendant sought to amend its answer on the eve of

trial, once again bringing up the matter of jurisdiction.

The District Court dismissed the action, but the Court of

Appeals reversed, resting decision on the discretion vested

in the trial court and stating that “[a] defendant may not

play fast and loose with the judicial machinery and de-

ceive the courts.’

A situation similar in principle and with similar re-

sults in the retention of jurisdiction is found in Murphy

34 279 F.2d at 144. The Di Frischia court held in part:

We are equally cognizant of our or in Hospoder

v. United States, 3 Cir., 1953, 209 F. 2d 427, 429, where

we stated:

“It is axiomatic that jurisdiction may not be con-

ferred or waived by the parties and that courts at

every stage of the proceedings may and must

examine into its existence.”

However, the instant case is _—— by a different

line of authority that is equally well recognized. In

Young v. Handwork, 7 Cir., 1949, 179 F.2d 70, 16

A. L. R. 2d 825, certiorari denied 1950, 339 U.S. 949, 70

S. Ct. 804, 805, 94 L. Ed. 1363, we have a similar state

of facts, for after raising the question of lack of diver-

sity in its answer the defendants omitted such question

from their amended motion and in n court admitted

the facts in plaintiff's complaint. Following determina-

tion by the court on the merits, the defendant once

again attempted to raise the issue, but the court denied

leave to file the amendment and the action was sus-

tained by the court of appeals. Similarly, in the instant

case the defendant had its opportunity to have the issue

heard and to present its position but chose to admit

the allegations of plaintiff's complaint. Thereafter it

fully participated in the appropriate discovery and pre-

trial p ures preparatory to trial of the action on the

merits. Having done so, a further attempt to amend

its answer to return to its previous defense of lack of

diversity could certainly not be made as of right. Al-

lowance of such an amendment under the circum-

stances would be an abuse of discertion. Cf. Klee v.

(Continued on following page)

App. 20

v. Kodz, 351 F. 2d 163 (9th Cir. 1965). There the plain-

tiff’s decedent was killed in a mid-air collision, plaintiff

bringing action in state court against one Shupe and

other parties. Mr. Shupe, alleging that he was an officer

of the Fonrgst Service acting in his official capacity at

the time of the accident, had the case removed to the

District Court, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1442 (a) (1). No

head of federal jurisdiction was alleged as to the remain-

ing defendants. The trial resulted in a judgment in favor

of Shupe, but the jury was unable to agree on the liability

of the other defendants. As to them, a new trial resulted

in plaintiff’s favor, whereupon defendants moved to re-

mand the case to the state court, arguing that the federal

court had lost further jurisdiction of the case upon entry

of the judgment for Shupe, who was the sole party en-

titled to invoke that court’s jurisdiction.

The motions were denied by the District Court. The

Ninth Circuit affirmed, finding an analogy “in the penum-

bral area of federal jurisdiction, so-called ancillary or

pendent jurisdiction,” citing, among other cases, Hurn v.

Oursler, supra. After a review of the authorities appli-

cable to the particular area of jurisdiction at bar, which,

as the court noted, has analogies to pendent and ancillary

(Continued from previous page)

msg & West Virginia Railway Co., D.C. W. D. Pa.

1958, F.R.D. 252. A defendant may not play fast

and loose with the judicial machinery and deceive the

courts.

Id. See also Biggs, supra note 2. Di Frischia is commented

upon in C, a t, Handbook of the Law of Federal Courts

8, at 18-19 (3d ed. 1976); Stephens, Estoppel to Den

ederal Jurisdiction—Klee and Di Frischia Break Ground,

68 Dick. L. Rev. 39 (1963); 15 U. Miami L. Rev. 315 (1961);

7 Utah L. Rev. 258 (1960).

App. 21

jurisdiction, the court stated that the District Court had

discretion in the premises and concluded in language

equally applicable to the case before us:

We need not rest our decision on any claim of

judicial economy, for we are impressed that no op-

portunity for exercise of that discretion was accorded

the District Court by motion to remand at the close

of the federal facet of the case. That the District

Court proceeded with the non-federal claims does not,

in this instance, afford a ground for reversal: Fail-

ure of the appellants to bring to the attention of

the court considerations requiring an exercise of dis-

cretion estops them from asserting that privilege after

decision on the merits. [Citing cases.] To hold

otherwise would encourage litigants to wager on their

success on the merits, and if they lost, permit them

to call the contest a nullity.*s

In the case before us, the District Court stood

squarely upon its discretionary powers in the premises,

relying on Gibbs. Defendant Owen attacks the applicabil-

ity of this doctrine to the case at bar, asserting that the

dismissal of the plaintiff’s claim against OPPD before

trial limits the discretion of the District Court. We do

not so conclude. It is but one factor, among many others,

to be considered.*°

35 351 F.2d at 168.

36 See 6 Wright & Miller § 1444, at 234-237, and cases therein

cited. In language that is ee applicable to the case

at bar, Professors Wright and Miller state that “if there has

been a substantial commitment of the court’s or litigant’s

resources prior to the termination of the main claim, dis-

missal of Rule 14 claim will run counter to the rationale

justifying ancillary jurisdiction and third-party practice.”

- | on See aiso Dery v. Wyer, 265 F. 2d 804, 808 (2d

x ; |

(Continued on following page)

App. 22

But beyond that, however, there are other considera-

tions. By subtle and adroit pleading the defendant has

gained a substantial advantage. If the trial goes well, it

‘can keep the jurisdictional point hidden. If the trial

seems to be going badly or, indeed, if it loses on the

merits, it asserts that it can even then challenge jurisdic-

tion and successfully, so it argues, since it insists that it

is clear to all that jurisdiction may be challenged by any-

one at any time.*”

(Continued from previous page)

Generally, in a diversity action, if jurisdictional pre-

requisites are satisfied when the suit is begun, subse-

uent events will not work an ouster of jurisdiction.

Citing cases.] This result is not attributable to an

specific statute or to any language in the statutes which

confer jurisdiction. It stems rather from the general

notion that the sufficiency of jurisdiction should be

determined once and for all at the threshold and if

found to be present then should continue until final

disposition of the action. * * *

Considerations of policy * * * accord with

meno policy with our

37 Distinguished scholars have oe so far as to suggest,

with respect to the dogma of “challenge jurisdiction any

ave time” that we are becoming involved in mere

shism.”

lf the record fails to disclose a basis for federal juris-

diction, the court not only will but must refuse to pro-

ceed further with the determination of the merits of

the controversy unless the failure can be cured. This

is true whether the case is at the trial stage or the ap-

pellate stage, and whether the defect is called to the

court’s attention “by suggestion of the parties or other-

wise.” Probably it would be sible to fill the rest

of this book with citations and thumbnail abstracts of

cases illustrating the application of this principle.

This is established practice. Is it fetichism [sic]?

Or is it grounded on solid considerations of policy

and of legislative and j udicial statesmanship? Why

(Continued on following page)

App. 23

But plaintiff overlooks the application of the Gibbs

doctrine to ancillary litigation. The District Court had

judicial power over the case initially and we find no abuse

of its @iscretion in the continued exercise of that power.

But beyond that, whether the court’s discretion was abused

(Continued from previous page)

should not a party who has invoked federal jurisdiction,

or failed seasonably to object to it, be held to have

waived any defect, or be estopped from asserting it?

P. Bator, P. Mishkin, D. Shapiro, & H. Wechsler, Hart &

Wechsler’s The Federal Courts and The Federal System

835-36 (2d ed. 1973). Consider also the comments of the

distinguished American Law Institute reflecting the dis-

turbance, not only of distinguished scholars, but of many

courts:

At the present time and peng acme the history

of the federal judicial system, it has n possible for

either party to raise, or for the court on its motion to

consider, a question of jurisdiction over the subject

matter at any stage in the course of litigation. ,

e.g., Mansfield, Coldwater & Lake Mich. By. v. Swan,

111 U.S. 379 (1884). Even the party who has invoked

jurisdiction may subsequently challenge it if the result

of a trial on the merits is unfavorable. See, e. g., Amer-

ican Fire and Cas. Co. v. Finn, 341 U.S. 6 (1951). And

a wily defendant may conceal a known jurisdictional

defect until the period of the statute of limitations has

run, then obtain dismissal, and achieve total immunity

from suit. Some decisions indicate that he may even

do this by controverting jurisdictional facts previously

alleged or admitted. £.g., Page v. Wright, 116 F.2d

449 (7th Cir. 1940) [Ramsey v. Mellon Nat'l Bank &

Trust Co., 350 F.2d 874 (3d Cir. Lg) But see Di

on. v. New York Cent. R.R., 279 F.2d 141 (3d Cir.

1960).

As many commentators have noted, e. g., 1 Moore

Federal Practice §[ 0.60 (4) (2d ed. 1948), this fetish of

federal jurisdiction is wholly inconsistent with sound

judicial administration and can only serve to diminish

respect for a system that tolerates it. Some effective

limitation on the raising and consideration of jurisdic-

tional issues seems long overdue.

American Law Institute, Study of the Division of Juris-

diction Between State and Federal Courts 366 (1969)

App. 24

or not in its retention of the cause, defendant’s conduct

estops it from asserting abuse of discretion, not only un-

der the teaching of Murphy v. Kodz, supra, but also un-

der the most elementary considerations of judicial fair-

ness. “Despite the fact that defendant has exclusive pos-

session of the knowledge of the extent of its own busi-

ness in lowa, it remained silent on this issue until more

than two years subsequent to the filing of the amended

complaint. No reason for the delay has been offered

& & & 9798

The doctrine of the perpetual availability of jurisdic-

tional challenge furnishes no sanctuary to appellant in the

light of such conduct.

Proceeding to the merits, the case was submitted to

the jury under, among others, the following instruction:

A plaintiff may proceed in a case under more

than one theory of law. In this case, plaintiff alleges

two theories, as subsequently explained, only one of

which he need prove in order to recover: r

1, That the crane supplied by defendant was un-

safe for the purpose it was intended.

2. That the crane operator was in the employment

of defendant and that defendant is therefore

oe for the negligent acts of the crane opera-

r.

There was no error in this instruction. It is well es-

tablished that the trial court has the duty to submit to

the jury all issues raised by the pleadings which have

evidentiary support. Flentie v. American Community

Stores Corp., 389 F. 2d 80, 82 (8th Cir. 1968) (applying

Iowa law); Campbell v. Martin, 257 Iowa 1247, 136 N. W.

2d 508, 511 (1965). In addition the court properly in-

38 District Court Memorandum Opinion, quoted more fully

at pp. 5-6, supra.

App. 25

structed the jury on the establishment of negligence, caus-

ation, and damage.

Here there was ample and controverted evidence sub-

mitted on each of the theories of the plaintiff. The first

issue presented by the court in its instructions related to

the safe or unsafe condition of the crane concededly

owned by defendant Owen. On this issue plaintiff’s expert

testified, as to described safety devices, that

Well, with these safety devices available, I just don’t

think it is right to put a product out anywhere for

rent or use for anybody unless it is equipped with

it. You cannot assume, for example, that whoever

it goes to are necessarily trained in safety and are

going to take all the precautions and when a safety

device is available and is being used in the industry,

it is my opinion that these cranes and booms should

be so equipped.

One of the issues most vigorously argued at trial was

whether the crane operator, David Morrow, was a serv-

ant of Paxton or of defendant Owen, loaned by Paxton

to Owen for this particular job. What the court was faced

with was thus the notoriously complex “borrowed servant”

problem,’ that is, the problem of vicarious liability be-

tween the general employer, from whose employ the serv-

ant came, or the special employer, who was utilizing at

39 “The law that defines or seeks to define the distinction

between general and special employers is beset with

distinctions so delicate that chaos is the consequence.

No lawyer can with assurance in any situa-

tion when one enahe gee yee fap eye

The wrong choice of defendants is often made, with

instances, all too many, in which justice has miscarried.”

Cardoza, A Ministry of Justice, 35 Harv. L. Rev. 113, 121

(1921).

App. 26

the time the servant so obtained. On this issue, the trial

court instructed the jury, essentially, that it must decide

whether David Morrow was, at the time of the accident,

acting as Owen’s servant, and that the test of agency as

between the general and the special employer was which

had the right to control the manner of performance of

the work being done. The evidence as to control, as

well as other facets of the employment relation, was con-

flicting and presented a jury question. The instructions,

read in their entirety in the light of the unique facts ad-

duced as to Morrow’s employment and duties, summarized

supra, fairly presented the controlling issue to the jury

and we find no error therein. Bengford v. Carlem Corp.,

156 N. W. 2d 855, 863 (Iowa 1968); Houlahan v. Brock-

meier, 258 Iowa 1197, 141 N. W. 2d 545, 548 (1966); An-

derson v, Abramson, 234 Iowa 792, 13 N. W. 2d 315

(1° 4); Kanipe v. Grundy County Rural Electric Co-op,

231 Iowa 187, 300 N. W. 662, 665 (1941).+°

We find no merit in the Workmen’s Compensation

issue as to Kroger. He was in no sense an employee of -

Owen, borrowed or direct.

Affirmed.

BRIGHT, Circuit Judge, dissenting.

Regretfully, I am unable to join in Judge Talbot

Smith’s opinion determining that the district court pos-

40 Appellee relies also on Nepstad v. Lambert, 235 Minn. 1

50 N. W. 2d 614 (1951), citing Smith, Scope of the Busi-

ney: Poy Borrowed aves on : Mich. L. Rev.

, commen upon in Ohi I

553-57 (1967). c; AR fe

App. 27

sessed subject matter jurisdiction over the claims between

Kroger and Owen Equipment & Erection Company.

Concededly, the defendant, Owen Equipment, although

a Nebraska chartered corporation, maintains its principal

business in Iowa, and is, therefore, an Iowa citizen. Con-

gress made clear that for purposes of diversity jurisdic-

tion, a corporation “shall be deemed a citizen of any State

by which it has been incorporated and of the State where

it has its principal place of business.” 28 U.S.C. $1332

(c).

I do not believe that the holding in United Mine

Workers v. Gibbs, 383 U. S. 715 (1966), can be said to

authorize the exercise of jurisdiction over a claim made

by a plaintiff against an impleaded third-party defendant

without diversity between the parties. In Gibbs, the dis-

trict court already possessed subject matter jurisdiction

over a federal claim between the two parties, so it was

appropriate and within the federal court’s judicial power

to resolve a state claim appended to the federal claim.

Here, the threshold question is whether ancillary jurisdic-

tion supports Kroger’s claim even though she has no claim

against Owen with an independent jurisdictional basis.

I believe that the Supreme Court’s pronouncements

in Aldinger v. Howard, 427 U. S. 1 (1976), and cases

such as American Fire & Cas. Co. v. Finn, 341 U. S. 6

(1951), require that we dismiss the case for want of jur-

isdiction.

Aldinger was an action brought under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1343 (3) and 42 U.S.C. $1983 against several county

officials. The plaintiff attempted to join state law claims

against the county itself arising out of the same facts

App. 28

on a theory of pendent or ancillary jurisdiction. The

Supreme Court rejected that attempt and with it the sort

of reasoning found in the majority opinion.

In response to arguments that “pendent party” jur-

isdiction over a state law claim should be allowed even in

the absence of another claim between the same parties

with an independent jurisdictional base, the Court said:

From a purely factual point of view, it is one thing to

authorize two parties, already present in federal court

by virtue of a case over which the court has jurisdic-

tion, to litigate in addition to their federal claim a

state-law claim over which there is no independent

basis of federal jurisdiction. But it is quite another

thing to permit a plaintiff, who has asserted a claim

against one defendant with respect to which there

is federal jurisdiction, to implead an entirely differ-

ent defendant on the basis of a state-law claim over

which there is no independent basis of federal juris-

diction, simply because his claim against the first de-

fendant and his claim against the second defendant

“derive from a common nucleus of operative fact.”

[Gibbs, 383 U. S. at 725]. True, the same considera-

tions of judicial economy would be served insofar as

plaintiff’s claims ‘‘are such that he would ordinarily

be expected to try them all in one judicial proceed-

ing....” Ibid. But the addition of a completely new

party would run counter to the well-established prin-

_ ciple that federal court, as opposed to state trial

courts of general jurisdiction, are courts of limited

jurisdiction marked out by Congress. We think there

is much sense in the observation of Judge Sobeloff,

writing for the Court of Appeals in Kenrose Mfg. Co.

v. Fred Whitaker Co., 512 F. 2d 890, 894 (CA 4 1972):

“The value of efficiency in the disposition of

lawsuits by avoiding multiplicity may be readily

conceded, but that is not the only consideration

a federal court should take into account in assess-

App. 29

ing the presence or absence of jurisdiction. Es-

pecially is this true where, as here, the efficiency

plaintiff seeks so avidly is available without ques-

tion in the state courts.”

[427 U. S. at 14-15 (emphasis added).]

The situation is the same here. That the same facts may

have been involved in Kroger’s claim against Owen as

those in Kroger’s claim against the Omaha Public Power

District is not by itself sufficient basis for ancillary or

pendent jurisdiction over the claim against Owen. Had

Kroger wished to sue both Owen and the Power District

in a single forum, she could have done so in a state court.

See Fawvor v. Texaco, Inc., 546 F. 2d 636, 640-41, 643

(5th Cir. 1977). Aldinger’s reliance on Kenrose Mfg. Co.

v. Fred Whitaker Co., supra, 512 F. 2d 890, which also

involved an attempt by a plaintiff in a diversity case to

assert state law claims against a nondiverse third-party

defendant is especially instructive.

The majority in distinguishing Aldinger fails to ad-

dress the rationale for disclaiming federal jurisdiction

presented in Aldinger:

Before it can be concluded that such jurisdiction ex-

ists, a federal court must satisfy itself not only that

Art. III permits it, but that Congress in the statutes

conferring jurisdiction has not expressly or by im-

plication negated its existence. [Jd. at 18.]

As Aldinger makes clear, 427 U. S. at 15-16, United Mine

Workers v. Gibbs, 383 U. S. 715 (1966), explicates the

federal courts’ power under article ITI in the face of con-

gressional silence. See also Comment, Aldinger v. Howard

and Pendent Jurisdiction, 77 Colum. L. Rev. 127, 128-30,

140-42 (1977). Gibbs does not deal with the issue before

App. 30

us, for here the Congress expressly limits by statute, 28

U.S. C. § 1332, the parties to which diversity jurisdiction

extends.

Since Strawbridge v. Curtiss, 7 U. 8. (3 Cranch) 267

(1806), it has been the rule that general diversity juris-

diction over a state law claim requires complete diversity

between plaintiffs and defendants. The parties to this

claim do not satisfy this requirement. Congress has com-

manded that diversity jurisdiction not extend to claims

involving parties such as these. See Fawvor v. Texaco,

Inc., supra, 546 F. 2d at 638-39; Comment, supra, 77

Colum. L. Rev. at 147.4" As Judge Smith correctly ob-

serves, supra at 12 and 14 n. 25, citing Fawvor v. Texaco,

Inc., supra, 546 F. 2d 636, and Kenrose Mfg. Co. v. Fred

Whitaker Co., supra, 512 F. 2d 890, the majority of fed-

eral courts support the view that an independent basis

of jurisdiction is necessary to support a plaintiff’s action

against a third-party defendant. It also appears that we

are thé first court of appeals to rule to the contrary. In

41 A congressional intent to negate pendent jurisdiction

cannot be inferred from the majority of jurisdictional

statutes, which are intended as affirmative grants of

jurisdiction only. Some jurisdictional statutes, how-

ever, evince a congressional decision that certain claims

should not be heard in federal court. The federal ques-

tion and diversity statutes, in particular, require that

the claims exc $10,000, and, in the diversity statute,

that the parties be of diverse citizenship. The policies

which called for the exclusion of claims not meeting

pete lenener> also seem to demand that they not

‘be through the exercise of pendent jurisdiction.

Since Congress excluded these claims from federal

jurisdiction, their adjudication through pendent juris-

diction seems clearly to frustrate congressional intent.

[77 Colum. L. Rev. at 147 (footnotes omitted). ]

App. 31

addition to the cases cited by the majority, see Saalfrank

v. O’Daniel, 533 F. 2d 325 (6th Cir.), cert. denied sub nom.

Saalfrank v. Parkview Mem. Hosp., 429 U. S. 922 (1976) ;

Rosario v. American Export-Isbrandtsen Lines, Inc., 531

F. 2d 1227, 1233 & n. 17 (3d Cir.), cert. denied sub nom.

Rosario v. United States, 429 U. S. 857 (1976). Thus, I

would conclude that Congress did not intend that federal

courts take jurisdiction over a plaintiff’s claim against a

third-party defendant, in the absence of independent jur-

isdictional grounds.

I agree with Judge Smith’s critical comments relating

to Owen’s concealment of the facts concerning diversity

until well into the trial. However, it is well settled that

a party cannot by his conduct be precluded through laches,

waiver, or estoppel from raising a lack of federal subject

matter jurisdiction. See, e.g., American Fire & Cas. Co.

v. Finn, 341 U.S. 6 (1951) (party who removed case to

federal court, and successfully resisted plaintiff’s at-

tempts to have it remanded, can raise want of jurisdiction

after verdict for plaintiff); Mitchell v. Maurer 293 U.S.

237 (1934) (party never raised lack of jurisdiction in any

court); Mansfield, C. @ L. M. Ry. v. Swan, 111 U.S. 379

(1884) (same as Finn, supra). That counsel for defend-

ant played fast and loose with the court calls for sanctions

by the court against the responsible parties, not the exer-

cise of jurisdiction which the federal court does not other-

wise possess. See Mansfield, C. d L. M. Ry. v. Swan,

supra, 111 U.S. at 386-89; Basso v. Utah Power & Light

Co., 495 F.2d 906, 910 (10th Cir. 1974); Page v. Wright,

116 F. 2d 449, 454-55 (7th Cir. 1940).

When a litigant’s attorney has intentionally misled

the court as to the jurisdictional facts and thus ‘‘sand-

App. 32

bags’’ his opponent and the district judge, as appears to

be the case here, the court possesses ample power to im-

pose appropriate sanctions against the malefactor. Under

somewhat similar circumstances, the Tenth Circuit dis-

missed the plaintiff’s cause for lack of diversity, but

directed that ‘‘all reasonable costs and expenses should be

assessed against defendant including a reasonable attor-

ney’s fee on appeal.’’ That court also noted the existence

of a state ‘‘saving statute’’ which would permit the plain-

tiff to pursue a remedy in state court after the federal dis-

missal, despite the passage of the usual limitations period

for the type of action involved. Basso v. Utah Power &

Itght Co., supra, 495 F.2d at 910-11.

Similarly, I would remand this case to the district

court with directions to dismiss the action for want of

subject matter jurisdiction, leaving plaintiff free to pursue

her remedy in the Iowa state courts.*? Moreover, on re-

mand, I would direct the district court to conduct a hear-

ing relative to imposing sanctions against defendant or

defendant’s counsel, or both. If found appropriate, those

sanctions may include all costs and expenses incurred by

42 | do not agree with the district court’s conclusion that if

this action is dismissed for lack of jurisdiction, Kroger will

be barred from all relief by the statute of limitations. lowa

Code Ann. § 614.10 (West), provides that

If, after the commencement of an action, the plain-

tiff, for any cause except negligence in its prosecution,

fails therein, and a new one is brought within six

months thereafter, the second shall, for the purposes

paeete contemplated, be held a continuation of the

rst.

The facts of this case appear to bring it within this savings

provision.

App. 33

plaintiff, Geraldine Kroger, in pressing the action against

Owen Equipment and may include a reasonable sum for

attorneys’ fees for services, pretrial, trial, and on this

appeal.

In sum, while I disagree with the majority’s disposi-

tion of this appeal, I emphatically agree that a drastic

remedy is necessary to deter other litigants from engag-

ing in concealment and delay in presenting known juris-

dictional facts to the court by the party in possession of

those facts in order to obtain an advantage in the con-

duct of litigation at the expense, not only of the oppos-

ing party, but of the court itself. Such conduct substan-

tially hinders the proper and efficient administration of

justice and wastes the time of judges, court personnel, and

juries in the already overburdened federal courts. This

dissenter suggests that such sanctions may be a more ap-

propriate remedy for the abuse practiced in this case than

opening the door to even more diversity cases than those

already competing for judicial attention on the crowded

dockets of the federal courts, particularly when state

courts can dispose of all the state law claims involved in

such cases. See Ayoub v. Helm’s Express, Inc., 300 F.

Supp. 473 (W. D. Pa. 1969).

A true copy.

Attest :

CLERK, U. S. COURT OF APPEALS

EIGHTH CIRCUIT

App. 34

APPENDIX

The case was commenced by a complaint filed on No-

vember 24, 1972, by Geraldine Kroger, an Iowa citizen,

administratrix of the estate of James D. Kroger, deceased,

against the Omaha Public Power District (hereafter

“OPPD”), a public corporation existing under the laws of

the State of Nebraska, and having its principal place of

business in Omaha, for negligence in the construction,

maintenance, and operation of its power transmission line

alleged to have been the proximate cause of plaintiff’s

decedent’s death. The Paxton & Vierling Steel Company

(hereafter “Paxton”), also a Nebraska corporation, was

made a party defendant “for the sole and only purpose of

determining its rights under the Workmen’s Compensation

Act, if any * * *.” The parties agree that Paxton was

dismissed out of this phase of the action, appellant stat-

ing, “because of a jurisdictional defect.” The order with

respect thereto is not found in the record before us.

OPPD thereafter filed a third-party complaint against

Paxton and “Owen Construction Co., Inc.” (hereafter

“Owen Construction’). Shortly thereafter, OPPD filed a

motion for dismissal of Owen Construction, having ascer-

tained that its proper corporate name was Owen Equip-

ment and Erection Co. (hereafter “Owen Equipment”’).

The motion was granted and the court ordered that Owen

Construction, “an Iowa corporation,” be dismissed with

prejudice and granted OPPD permission to file an

‘Amended Third-Party Complaint naming Owen Equip-

ment and Erection Co., a Nebraska corporation, as an ad-

ditional Third-Party Defendant * * *.” OPPD’s amended

third-party complaint against Owen Equipment, “a Ne-

App. 35

braska corporation,” was subsequently filed. This ‘is the

Owen corporation remaining in the case.

Owen Equipment’s answer to OPPD’s amended third-

party complaint stated as follows:

1. Admits that Owen Equipment and Erection Com-

pany is a corporation organized and existing un-

der the laws of the State of Nebraska.

2. Denies each and every other allegation con-

tained in said Third-Party Complaint except those

allegations which would be in the nature of ad-

missions against the interest of the third-party

plaintiff.

Plaintiff Kroger moved also for an order permitting

her to add as a party defendant Owen Equipment, “a

Nebraska corporation.’’ Plaintiff filed such amended com-

plaint against Owen Equipment, on November 9, 1973,

describing it as “a Nebraska corporation with its prin-

cipal place of business in Nebraska.” Owen Equipment’s

answer thereto stated in pertinent part that it:

1. Admits that Owen Equipment and Erection Com-

pany is a corporation organized and existing un-

der the Laws of the State of Nebraska.

2. Denies each and every other allegation contained

in said Amended Complaint, except those allega-

tions which would be in the nature of admissions

against the interest of the plaintiff.

OPPD hcd moved for summary judgment on October

30, 1973. On September 9, 1975, this court affirmed the

District Court’s judgment in favor of OPPD against the

plaintiff, dismissing OPPD, a Nebraska corporation, from

the cause. Kroger v. Omaha Public Power District, 523

F. 2d 161 (8th Cir. 1975).

App. 36

Shortly thereafter Owen Equipment’s motion for sum-

mary judgment, which had been filed in September of

1974 was heard and denied by the court. This motion,

by Owen Equipment, “a Nebraska Corporation,” raised no

issue of jurisdiction, made no point as to lack of diversity,

nor did it make any mention of where Owen Equipment’s

principal place of business might be. The motion was de-

nied on November 14, 1975, and trial commenced on Jan-

uary 12, 1976.

On January 13, 1976, during the trial, Owen Equip-

ment filed an answer asserting that the court lacked sub-

ject matter jurisdiction, but failing to specify lack of

diversity as the reason therefor. On January 14, 1976,

after having raised lack of diversity, Owen Equipment

moved for leave to file another amended answer which

like the answer of January 13, asserted lack of subject

matter jurisdiction but failed to specify lack of diversity.

The court denied Owen Equipment’s motion for leave to

file an‘amended answer.

?

App. 37

‘APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

September Term, 1976

ty

Vw

76-1187

io)

GERALDINE KROGER, ETC.,

Appellee,

vs.

OWEN EQUIPMENT & ERECTION CO., ETC.,

Appellant.

st

Ww

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT

COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEBRASKA

The Court having considered petition for rehearing

en banc filed by counsel for appellant and, being fully

advised in the premises, it is ordered that the petition

for rehearing en banc be, and it is hereby, denied by an

evenly divided Court.

Considering the petition for rehearing en banc as a

petition for rehearing, it is ordered that the petition for

rehearing also be, and it is hereby, denied.

August 16, 1977

App. 38

APPENDIX ©

STATE OF NEBRASKA)

) APFIDAVIT

COUNTY OF DOUGLAS)

Af..ant, being duly sworn on oath deposes and states

as follows:

1. That he is an attorney associated with the law firm

of Swarr, May, Smith & Andersen, 3535 Harney Street, Omaha, Neb-

raska. That said firm represents Paxton & Vierling Steel Co. and

Owen Equipment and Erection Co. (during the period of the latter's

corporate existence) on a regular basis. That during 1972 and

1973 Paxton & Vierling Steel Co. and Owen Equipment and Erection

Co. were served with summons in a case in the United States District

Court for the District of Nebraska entitled Geraldine Kroger v.

Omaha Public Power District, case number 72-0-481. That defense

of any ciaims made against the above two parties was immediately

turned over to the parties’ liability carrier. The carrier

employed the law offices of Emil F. Sodoro to represent the

parties.

2. That the undersigned saw to it that all information,

documents and records of the parties requested by the carrier or

its attorneys was provided. Other than providing such documents,

being present at conferences, depositions of the employees of the

parties, and at trial, our firm was not involved in the above-

captioned litigation, nor familiar with the progression of said

litigation.

3. On the morning of January 6, 1976, I was informed

by Mr. David Johnson that trial was to commence at 1:30 P.M. of

that day. During the noon hour of January 6, 1976, another

lawyer in the firm and I were discussing the case in a conver-

sational manner when he inquired of me what the basis of federal

jurisdiction was and where Paxton & Vierling Steel Co.'s princi-

pal place of business was. He was interested in that he was in

the process of commencing suit in federal court on the client's

behalf. This conversation aroused my curiosity concerning the

Kroger case. Upon my return to the office, I examined our firm

file to determine whether plaintiff was an Iowa or Nebraska

resident. I discovered plaintiff was an Iowa resident. I

attemptéd to call Mr. Johnson but could not reach him.

4. Since someone from the firm had been asked by the

client to observe the trial, I went to the courthouse that after-

noon and arrived during voir dire examination. After selection of

the jury, there was a recess. During the recess, I informed Mr.

Johnson that it appeared to me that there was no jurisdiction

because in my view Owen Equipment and Erection Co. had its princi-

pal place of business in Carter Lake, Iowa. Mr. Johnson stated

that that fact had never occurred to him. I suggested he should

apprise the court of that possibility. Mr. Johnson stated he

would check it out first.

5. The following morning, I was present in Mr. Johnson's

office prior to trial. Mr. Johnson was interviewing Mr. David

Morrow. After the interview was completed, we again discussed

the question of jurisdiction. Prior to leaving Mr. Johnson's office,

we reviewed the pleadings and it appeared to us from the pleadings

that there had never been complete diversity. Mr. Johnson instruct-

ed a law clerk to research the question and submit a brief to Mr.

Johnson as quickly as possible.

Purther Affiant saith not.

App. 39

STATE OF NEBRASKA)

) ss APFPIDAVIT

DAVID A. JOHNSON, of lawful age, being first duly

sworn on oath, deposes and says:

l. That he is associated with the law firm of Emil

F. Sodoro, P.C., the firm that represented Owen Equipment and

Erection Company in this action. The litigation file was

assigned to this affiant on or about November, 1973, and this

affiant was actively involved as attorney for the said Owen

from that time through trial.

2. This affiant has carefully reviewed the opinion

of this court filed June 21, 1977, particularly in light of this

court's finding that defendant engaged in “subtle and adroit

pleading", that defendant “connived for himself an unfair

advantage” and that the question of the citizenship of Owen had

been “concealed” for some two years after the filing of the

Amended Complaint. This affiant adamantly denies that any of

the above findings by this court are true.

3. This affiant further states that he never engaged

in any intentional concealment of the citizenship of Owen. That

he is unaware of anyone associated or employed by defendant or

any of defendant's representatives or anyone, for that matter,

who intentionally concealed the citizenship of Owen at any time

before trial.

4. This affianc is unaware of the issue ever being

discussed, communicated, alluded to, or thought of by anyone

until the second day of trial when Mr. Robert Becker, corporate

counsel for Owen, mentioned the question to this affiant.

This affiant had the question researched and upon affirmation

that this was, in fact, a viable issue it was presented to the

court during trial.

Further affiant saith not.

Subscribed and sworn to before me s 29th day of

June, 1977.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.