Petition — City of Willcox v. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Supreme Court brief1978

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Court, U. &

ILED .-|

SEP 28 1978

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Mnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1977

“ Wy-4g9 |

CITY OF WILLCOX AND

ARIZONA ELECTRIC POWER COOPERATIVE, INC.

Petitioners,

v.

FEDERAL POWER COMMISSION

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

ARNOLD D. BERKELEY

Suite 407

1925 K Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

Attorney for Petitioner

September, 1977

Se ee ee

DICESARE - Printing — #314101 — Washington, D.C. 20006

ie. » P t , 4 a fz is

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

TN ci a dew Gas ediWanee se hae+ 6 |

eS shoes ceekke cbnen gh 00s. 60404568 50005 2

coos ounce tedes soning seb0040 2

eo 8 ee 3

SUPP eee Ce CON GR bbe b keke ce diwdecwessecsn 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.............. 7

ns A. vadeoatiaecne weet obese eens < 7

1). BOILER FUEL USE AND ABROGATION OF

SEE CUTE o.vdc bacdnae saeesbbneente 13

EE oa che Cay Cckuvepeeuvabscteess seen teee’ 20

APPENDICES

Appendix A— City of Willcox v. FPC, Opinion of June

YR erie hE ors a Se eee A-|

Appendix B— City of Willcox v. FPC, Opinion Denying

Rehearing of August 16, 1977.......cccccccccccecs A-63

Appendix C--FPC Opinion No. 697 .............5. A-75

Appendix D.—FPC Opinion No. 697-A............. A-125

Appendix E —Natura!l Gas Act, Section 4........... A-159

Appendix F —Natural Gas Act, Section 5........... A-163

Appendix G-—-Natural Gas Act, Section 19.......... A-165

LIST OF AUTHORITIES

American Smelting and Refining Co. v. FPC, 161 App.

D.C. 6, 494 F.2d 925, cert. denied 419 U.S. 882,

Be ee er reer ere Pry re err ee

City of Willcox v. FPC, decided June 14, 1977, rehearing

denied August 18, 1977 (D.C. Cir.) .............

Interstate Commerce Commission v. Louisville and

Nashville Railroad Co., 227 U.S. 88, 90-93 ......

Louisiana Power and Light Company v. FPC, 526 F.2d

Se CT a 6a CRE bS 064 dRR EW ESTE WESS Cad es oe

Morgan v. United States, 304 U.S. 1, 18

Ohio Bell Telephone Co. v. Public Utilities Commission,

ee es SO ED w6 6 d06b<c2cendstadiéons

N.L.R.B. v. Johnson, 322 F.2d 216, 220 cert. denied 376

RI aI GE EEE NT EM Sig ae ES OE SY re OO RCRD

Rodale Press, Inc. v. FPC, 132 U.S. App. D.C. 312, 407

ee EE PPT ee eee

SEC v. Chenery Corporation, 318 U.S. 80, 87-95.....

State of Louisiana v. FPC, 503 F.2d 844, 861........

United States v. Abilene and §.R. Co., 265 U.S. 274..

STATUTES:

Natural Gas Act, 52 Stat. 821-833, as amended:

15 U.S.C. 717(c)—717(r)

PE 5 bch G50 Saas eo Fo ee ae CONS SD Re gh erewes

DES invaberdciaes bee kk Vane ceiaaedtanees

NTI ME eee ee el pee bees «

Page

iv

ADMINISTRATIVE:

Pre Goby We. Gir, GP Pree Oe 38s cecdc ssseccenccwes a5 6

E! Paso Natural Gas, FPC Opinion No. 697, 51 FPC

BEOD ovevctiscecdtevaptaseesdscoedéackotneewnee 6,9

El Paso Natural Gas Co., FPC Opinion No. 697-A,

TE GEG: CPM ce ct bench eenessunvssenkikevianee 7,9

United Gas Pipe Line Co., order of November 30, 1973,

Docket Nos. RPTI-Z960 GF. onc cciveccccseccces 8, 12, 13

United Gas Pipe Line Co., Docket RP71-29e7 al, ......... 10

IN THE

Suprene Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1977

CITY OF WILLCOX AND

ARIZONA ELECTRIC POWER COOPERATIVE, INC.

Petitioners,

Y.

FEDERAL POWER COMMISSION

Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

The City of Willcox, Arizona and Arizona Electric Power

Coopcrative, Inc. (AEPCO) pray that a writ of certiorari be

issued to review the judgment and opinion of the United States

Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit entered in

this proceeding on June 30, 1977.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals in City of Willcox and

Arizona Electric Power Cooperative, Inc., et al. v. Federal Power

Commission, not yet reported, appears as Appendix A to this

petition. The principal order of the Federal Power Commission

(FPC), Opinion No. 697 issued June 14, 1974 (Appendix C) and

its order denying rehearing, Opinion No. 697-A, issued

December 19, 1974 (Appendix D), are reported at 51 FPC 2053

and 52 FPC 1876, respectively.

JURISDICTION

The opinion of the Court of Appeals was entered on June 30,

1977. Timely petitions for rehearing were denied by Order dated

August 18, 1977 (Appendix B). This petition for certiorari is filed

within 90 days of June 30, 1977, the date upon which the Court

below issued its mandate. The jurisdiction of this Court is

invoked under 28 U.S.C. Section 1254(1) and Section 19%b) of the

Natural Gas Act, 15 U.S.C. §717r(b).

STATUTES INVOLVED

The statutory provisions germane to the decision of this case

are Sections 4, 5 and 19 of the Natural Gas Act, 15 U.S.C.

§§717(c), 717(d) and 717(r). These statutory provisions are set

forth in full as Appendices E, F, and G, respectively.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the FPC denied due process of law, violated

Sections 4 and 5 of the Natural Gas Act, made findings

unsupported by any record evidence and stated reasons which

failed to justify its action in authorizing El Paso Natural Gas

Company (EI Paso) to allocate its inadequate gas supplies among

its customers on the basis of unverified “nominations” of

requirements in each of five hierarchical “end-use” priorities?

2. Whether the FPC denied due process of law, violated

Sections 4 and 5 of the Natural Gas Act, and stated reasons which

failed to justify its action in requiring all electric utility and

industrial boiler fuel use of natural gas to be cut-off completely

before any curtailment is imposed on other industrial users who

also can burs fuel oi! or coal, and in abrogating the superior

contractual rights of firm industrial users over interruptible users

in each priority?

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This petition challenges the failure of the United States

Court of Appeals i or the District of Columbia Circuit to reverse

FPC orders which completely invert preexisting contractual

service priorities, a'locate El Paso’s inadequate gas supply among

its customers ona basis which permits them to “nominate” more

gas in the higher prioritics than they require, and compels boiler

fuel customers to absorb, in the first instance and predominantly,

the entire burden of curtailment on this pipeline system. This

inversion of curtailment prioritics is extremely costly to the

ultimate consumers of the electricity generated by Arizona

Electric Power Cooperative, Inc. and to the residents of the City

of Willcox!

E! Paso is an interstate gas pipeline serving customers in

California and in several states east-of-California. Willcox is a

city buying gas for its own use and other gas for resale to Arizona

Electric Power Cooperative, Inc., which its a rural, non-profit

'On a comparable thermal energy basis, measured by per million

BTU, AEPCO’s cost for natural gas is $.934 and its cost for fuel ofl is

$2.768. Thus, AEPCO incurs an additional cost of $1.717 per Mcf of

curtailed gas volumes. The data upon which these calculations are

based is derived from the “March, 1977 Report on Fuel Cost and

Quality”, issued by the FPC in Press Release No. 23305, August 1, 1977.

electric cooperative association engaged in the generation and

transmission of electrical power sold, on a firm basis, to four

other REA cooperatives which are totally dependent upon it (R.

1823, 4089). Over 65% of the electricity sold by the cooperative is

for residential and commercial consumption (R. 7091, 8323).

Willcox obtains its entire gas supply from El Paso and cannot

purchase gas elsewhere.

Willcox buys firm gas from El Paso and sells firm gas to

the cooperative under a contract extending from March 31, 1970

to December 31, 1983. These long-term contractual

arrangements are geared to the firm daily quantity of gas

required to operate a 98.5 megawatt combined cycle gas and

stcam turbine generating unit under full load conditions on an

economical basis (R.7084). This plant was designed to burn only

natural gas and built and financed in reliance upon firm

contractual delivery rights. When curtailed, it burns only diesel

fuel, the lightest, purest and most expensive grade of fucl oil. It

cannot burn any other fuels.

The FPC proceeding in which the challenged orders were

issued was initiated by El Paso’s July 6, 1971 tariff filing which

proposed to modify its plan prescribing priorities of service

during curtailment. For over 20 years, El Paso’s customers had

operated without complaint under tariffs which differentiated

only between residential, commercial, and industrial use, and

which treated all industrial use alike, except for the

subordination of interruptible to firm customers and of direct to

resale customers (R.246; 248; 249; 377; 241-42; 346; 9,781; 7,744;

7,816; R.16,590, note 3; R.10,802-03; 10,838; 10,713-11,264). El

Paso’s 1971 tariff proposal was cast in the same mold. It allocated

the pipeline’s capacity entirely on the basis of historical takes and

contract rights. Hearings were held only in the context of El

Paso’s tariff proposals and the then-conventional framework of

inquiry governing curtailment proceedings, which did not

contemplate a hierarchy of service priorities within the industrial

use class. No agency notice in this case even intimated that steam

generating boiler fuel use might be cutoff ahead of all other

industrial uses. No party to the permanent curtailment

proceeding ever proposed such a drastic reordering of existing

curtailment delivery priorities.

Hearings were concluded and briefs on the so-called

“permanent curtailment plan” were filed with the Administrative

Law Judge on July 21, 1972. El Paso, however, withdrew its tariff

filing on August 17, 1972 and asked the FPC to prescribe a new

short-term interim curtailment plan to meet the “emergency”

(R.11,928-70). Acting under Section 5 of the Act, the FPC

granted that motion and ordered the record reopened for the sole

purpose of receiving evidence on the need for an interim

emergency plan (R.12, 225-29.) Reopened hearings were held on

this limited issue, and initial and reply briefs were filed on

October 3 and October 10, 1972.

On October 31, 1972, the FPC prescribed a five step

“end-use” curtailment plan which subordinated boiler fuel use to

all other industrial use (R.13,355-68.) This change in El Paso’s

curtailment plan was not necessary to protect residential or

commercial users since they already enjoyed a complete priority

in deliveries over all industrial users (R.9781; 7744, 7816.) Nor

did the subordination of boiler fuel uses to other industrial uses

afford any economic benefits to residential or commercial gas

users. On the contrary, this policy imposes the ultimate cost of

purchasing higher priced substitute fuels upon the residential and

commercial consumers of electricity—who are also the

residential and commercial consumers of gas. In other words, the

electric utility or industral firm does not pay its own fuel bill.

Rather, it passes this cost on to the ultimate consumers of the

electricity it generates or the product it manufactures. Thus, this

2 That limited record is now being used by the agency and the Court

below to support the subordination of boiler fuel.

new FPC “end use” policy benefits only the industrial concern

which uses gas for heat, or for power in a process other than

steam generation.

In prescribing this interim plan, the agency disclaimed any

intent to rule upon the merits of the permanent plan (R.13, 664,

13, 360). The plan was to be effective only until October 31, 1973,

unless earlier terminated by agency approval of a permanent

plan. During the life of the interim plan, proceedings directed

toward the formulation of a permanent plan continued.

But, on January 8, 1973, before the Administrative Law

Judge rendered an initial decision, the agency issued Order No.

467 in Docket R-469. This statement of policy fixed a uniform

hierarchy of curtailment-related service priorities for all

interstate pipelines. /n almost all respects, these priorities were

identical to those adopted on October 31, 1972 in the short-term,

interim, “emergency” plan for El Paso. Thus, boiler fuel was

permanently subordinated to all other industrial uses, although

no such proposal was ever made in the permanent plan hearings.

On June 14, 1974, the FPC issued Opinion 697 prescribing a

permanent curtailment plan for El Paso’s system identical to the

interim emergency plan except for one minor change which

conformed those priorities to Order No. 467.4

Thus, there was no notice and can be no record evidence, on

the “end-use” factors which the FPC made the sole basis for its

radical changes in El Paso’s preexisting contracts and tariffs.

AEPCO believed that it was unfair for the FPC to render a final

adverse decision without any notice or without affording it the

‘Except that it subordinated interruptible custorficrs in a Priority

SB.

‘Thus, a special Priority 2 was given for storage injection gas.

opportunity to submit record evidence. Therefore, AEPCO

requested a reopening of the record so that evidence might be

taken on the matters first introduced in the agency’s final decision

(R. 16,953). This request was denied by Opinion 697-A

(Appendix D).

Accordingly, AEPCO filed a timely petition for review with

the United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia

Circuit. That Court ruled in its favor on certain of the issues

discussed in its opinion (Appendix A), i.c., fuel storage, pp. 34-38

and turbine fuel, pp. 24-25, but rejected its claim for equality of

curtailment for boiler fuel and other industrial fuel use (pp.

20-23). It also rejected the claim that the FPC’s end-use

curtailment plan based ona hierarchy of priority end-uses among

industrial customers could only be fairly administered on the

basis of actual data showing past historic end-use in each priority

(pp. 52-55). This latter ruling sanctioned the permission granted

by the FPC to El Paso to administer its curtailment plan solely on

the basis of self-serving customer “nominations” of requirements

in each priority.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. END-USE DATA

1. This petition raises issues of first impression and

exceptional importance. The Court of Appeals decision here on

the issue of whether the FPC is Iegally obliged to compel

interstate pipelines to collect data on the actual end-use

requirements of their customers, and to verify such data, is of

transcendent importance to the administration of the Natural

Gas Act and will affect every pending and future curtailment

case.

2. The overstatement of high priority requirements by

customers to the pipeline or distributor suppliers creates

fictitious shortages in Priority | and 2. During a period when

there is a shortage of natural gas, such overstatement of high

priority requirements endangers (rue residential and small

commercial customers not able to convert to other fuels by

diverting high priority gas to low priority use. This is plainly nor

in the public interest.

Furthermore, the adverse impact is not limited just to that

interstate pipeline system whose customers have overstated their

higher priority requirements. The United States has not seen the

last period of acute natural gas shortages such as those which

occurred in the 1976-77 winter. During such periods, pipelines

with less severe shortages assist pipelines with greater deficiencies

by selling them surplus gas or gas earmarked for low priority use.

Any toleration by the Courts or the FPC of overstatement of high

priority needs on one pipeline system clearly and directly impairs

the ability of that pipeline to supply gas to other pipelines which

are actually suffering more severe curtailment.

3. Until this case, the uniform practice of pipelines in

curtailment was to collect end-use data from their customers and

to themselves police such data. Many pipelines formed so-called

Data Verification Committees which, while not an adequate

substitute for adversary hearing procedures, were better than El

Paso’s complete refusal to gather actual data, or in some way .

investigate and verify the accuracy of its customers’ priority

classifications.

4. The FPC recognized that both end-use data and an

assessment of impact were essential to the implementation of the

five priority end-use curtailment plan it prescribed for another

pipeline. Thus, in an order issued November 30, 1973, in United

Gas Pipe Line Co., Docket Nos. RP7I-29, et al. the FPC

postponed the implementation of a plan virtually identicaF to the

SExcept that it subordinated interruptible customers in a Priority

5B.

plan prescribed here because of the lack of such data.

Furthermore, a reversal of the FPC’s action in making Opinion

697 and 697-A effective without any end-use data would result in

restoration of the preexisting El Paso contract and tariff

curtailment plan. That plan is an end-use plan affording the first

and second highest priority to residential and commercial

customers and to those industrial consumers who use gas for

purposes for which fuel oil or coal are not readily available

substitutes. © Thus, the situation in this proceeding parallels the

situation in the United proceeding where the FPC’s action in

vacating its order prescribing the five-step plan restored a similar

three step plan. The KPC there stated:

We note that United's three-priority plan now in

effect is an end-use plan. We can, therefore, permit its

use temporarily without impairment of our decision to

require, nationally, curtailment to be based on end-use

considerations. Our action here should not, therefore.

be confused with those situations where we have

refused to allow a continuation of ratable curtailment

plans not based on end-use considerations. [Slip Op..

p. 5].’

5. The Court of Appeals recognized that if the FPC had

authorized El Paso to assign end-use priority classifications to

particular customer requirements without any data, its action

would have constituted reversible error (App. A, p. 53).

Unfortunately, the Court was unaware that El Paso had been

given a specific license to do just this.

*The latter feature results from the FPC’s action in prescribing a

Priority 2 for industrial feedstock, plant protection and process gas,

which was agreed to by all partics and has now become a final and

nonappealable element of any El Paso curtailment plan.

’Ratable curtailment plans are those where the same system

average curtailment percentage is imposed on each customer.

10

Every curtailment plan limits each customer to a so-called

“quantity entitlement” which is the volume of gas taken in a

specific pre-curtailment “base year”. This prevents attachments

of new requirements by some customers to the detriment of those

customers who adhere to this service moratorium. “End-use

data” means the actual gas volumes consumed at the burner tip

by an individual customer in each of the different end-use

priorities. This is actual end-use data of the type necessary to

preserve the lawfulness of any end-use curtailment plan and there

is no other kind of end-use data.

El Paso however has substituted customer “nominations”,

i.e., customer requests for gas in each curtailment priority for

end-use data. Thus, “wishes” have been substituted for “facts”.

No customer can distort end-use data on the volume of gas

actually burned in a past period. But, every customer can

“nominate” more high priority gas than it actually has ever used,

or now needs. The accuracy of end-use data can be verified by

resorting to historic facts, but it is impossible to verify

“nominations” by any method. The temptation for gas

distributors and direct industrial customers to overstate their gas

requirements is so compelling that it is the rule, not the exception.

This Court may judicially notice the position taken on this very

issue by the FPC’s Staff Counsel in the United Gas Pipe Line

Company curtailment case, Docket RP71I-29 ef al., Phase 11.

There, the Staff challenged Priority 2 process gas requirements

and “questioned the validity of more than 90 percent of the direct

market process [gas] entitlements allocated by United.” *

Thus, the Court of Appeals has inadvertently legalized the

arbitrary, capricious and unreasonable scheme of administering

a curtailment plan which it expressly found would be illegal.

"Fin. 125, p. 41, Staff Initial Brief, filed February 18, 1977.

1!

6. The holdings of the Court of Appeals that the FPC's

findings on end-use data can be sustained by presumptions and

need not be supported by evidence (App. A, p. 53) is plainly in

conflict with the unbroken succession of cases in this Court

holding that an administrative agency must base its findings of

fact upon evidence of record, and that nothing can be treated as

evidence which is not introduced as such. Morgan v. United

States, 298 U.S. 469, 480; United States v. Abilene and S.R. Co.,

265 U.S. 274.

Therefore, the assignment of end-uses to priorities here

cannot constitutionally be based upon a complete disregard of

the rules of evidence and mere administrative fiat. This Court has

specifically condemned claims to such authority by

administrative agencies as a deprivation of statutory fair hearing

and due process of law. Interstate Commerce Commission vy.

Louisville and Nashville Railroad Co., 227 U.S. 8&8, 90-93.

Likewise, in Ohio Bell Telephone Co. v. Public Utilities

Commission, 301 U.S. 291, 300-305, this Court struck down a

state regulatory commission's action in basing findings upon

facts officially noticed, without any opportunity to cross-

examine and present rebuttal evidence, as “condemnation

without trial” rather than “the fair hearing essential to due

process” (/d., at 300). It is vital to note that this Court insisted

that quasi-judicial proceedings be conducted in full compliance

with the “inexorable safeguard” of a fair and open hearing,

stating in words particularly pertinent here:

There can be no compromise on the footing of

convenience or expedience, or because of a natural

desire to be rid of harrassing delay when that minimal

requirement has been neglected or ignored. [Emphasis

added. ]

7. There is no factual basis in the record to support the

Court's view that collection and testing of actual end-use data

12

would be a burden. That collection would involve sending to each

ultimate consumer and to each distributor one “fill-in-the-blank”

questionnaire. If obtaining end-use data is so burdensome, why

has it been possible to collect it in other FPC pipeline proceedings

and in much more comprehensive Federal Energy

Administrastion questionnaires? °

8. The Court's argument that AEPCO must demonstrate

specific errors in the data before it is entitled to a hearing is clearly

without merit. For, by definition, AEPCO can only offer such

proof after, not hefore, end-use data ts first collected and it ts

afforded the right to cross-examine and present rebuttal

evidence. The Court has unlawfully shifted the burden of proof

from the FPC, which is the proponent of the lawfulness of the

permanent plan and its administration, to AEPCO.

Furthermore, AEPCO has shown specific and major defects

in F1 Paso’s so-called “data”. For exaraple, other pipelines which

have collected end-use data show usage in each of the separate

subpriorities of every priority, but El Paso has asked its

customers to furnish nominations only for the (total in each

priority. This fundamental flaw further impairs the already

limited value of these “nominations” because each priority

includes several distinct and unrelated elements. Thus, Priority 2

encompasses large commercial use, industrial plant protection

use, industrial feedstock use, industrial process gas use and

customer injections of gas into storage.

9. Apart from constitutional rights, Sections 4 and 5 of the

Natural Gas Act afford AEPCO the right to a full adjudicatory

hearing. The FPC applied this well settled doctrine to end-use

data in its Order ' in the United curtailment case, Docket RP71-

29, et al. The Court of Appeals plainly erred in accepting the

*FEA Form GI01-Q0O.

issued November 30, 1973.

13

FPC's efforts to distinguish United on the ground that in that

proceeding many complaints were made and here only AEPCO

complained. Certainly, the lawfulness of an administrative

agency's action cannot be determined by counting noses and this

novel test is surely no answer to our claim of denial of due process

rights. In any event, gas distributor customers of El Paso who

benefit from exaggerating their own high priority requirements

are not likely to complain and only low priority customers such

as AEPCO, who thereby lose gas, will protest. Nor is there any

merit to the Court’s claim that there was more “relative novelty”

to the El Paso five step plan than to the United five step plan

(App. A, p. 53). As we have already observed, infra, p. 9, in each

case, the difference between the preexisting curtailment plan and

the new proposed plan are nil.

If. BOILER FUEL USE

AND ABROGATION OF CONTRACT RIGHTS

1. The decision of the Court below sustains the FPC’s

antiboiler fuel policy although no evidentiary hearings were held

to evaluate the fairness of this policy or its economic

consequences which arc to impose a hidden tax of many millions

of dollars each year upon the residential and small commercial

consumers of electricity. Clearly, the legal issue presented here is

one which has an immediate and substantial dollar impact upon

every citizen of the United States. The FPC projects that 1977-78

winter season curtailments will rise to 22.8% of the total

nationwide gas requirements served by interstate pipclines. '' The

cost of replacing this vast quantity of gas with an equivalent

"Comparison of Actual (1976-77) and Projected (1977-78)

Interstate Pipeline Natural Gas Firm Deliveries, Firm Curtailments,

and Firm Requirements By States, for Winter Period November

through March” issued by the Federal Power Commission in Press

Release 23391, September 16, 1977.

14

quanity of fuel oil is $1,689,000,000 '?, to be borne primarily by

residential and small commercial consumers of electricity

through automatic increases in electric rates. Even greater

curtailments in future years will further increase this cost. The

FPC’s policy is clearly wrong and completely adverse to the

public interest.

While this FPC policy compels boiler fuel users to absorb all

curtailment on their pipeline system in the first instance, that.

burden is shared by non-boiler fuel industrial users when the

deficiencies become so severe that curtailment of the preferred

higher priority is needed. The key point is that boiler fuel users

have been compelled by the FPC to shoulder more than their fair

share of such curtailment. Even during the summer season when

gas for lower priority use is relatively abundant, the boiler fuel

users may still be completely cut-off.

The FPC’s anti-boiler fuel policy cuts off gas service to any

customer of an interstate pipeline using natural gas to generate

electricity, or to raise steam for industrial purposes, while

continuing service to other industrial users who are equally able

to burn fuel oil or coal as substitute fuels (R. 1453, 1465, 1475,

8277). The FPC does not deny that industrial gas users who use

gas for non-boiler fuel purposes are able to use other fuels

(R.16,605) but claims only that “alternate fuels could be more

easily substituted for natural gas in boiler fuel applications than

in other applications” (/d.). Even if true, this fact plainly does not

justify relieving the nonboiler fuel industrial user of a fair share

of the economic burden of the nationwide gas shortage. In any

event, the Court of Appeals rejected this first finding advanced by

the FPC to support the subordination of boiler fuel for lack of

record evidence (App. A, p. A-21).

"These incremental costs are based on the prices paid for such

substitute fuels by electric utilities, which generally pay slightly less than

other industrial consumers.

15

The FPC’s curtailment policy gives residential and

commercial consumers of natural gas a priority over industrial

users. But, this policy inconsistently imposes the highest cost

burden upon residential and commercial consumers of

electricity, who should be entitled to the same consideration and

treatment as direct users of gas. Although the FPC recognizes the

superior public and social interest of residential and comimcrcial

gas consumers, it has unrealistically treated the same type of

consumers of electricity gencrated by gas as industrial

consumers. In reality, they are the same consumers. The FPC

mistakenly limited its consideration entirely and exclusively to

one isolated factor, i.e., the ability of the direct gas consumer to

use substitute fuels, while ignoring all other factors.

Again, without any evidentiary support, the FPC has

ordered a transfer of funds from the pockets of industrial

consumers of electricity to those of industrial consumers of

natural gas. In some instances, the industrial gas user is able to

pass on the higher cost of substitute fuels, while the industrial

consumer of electricity is unable to raise its prices. In some

instances, fuel costs are a small and unimportant factor in the

costs of an industrial gas user, while the power costs incurred by

the industrial consumer of electricity may be a very large portion

of its total costs. Nevertheless, the FPC automatically prefers the

industrial gas user in every case. Yet, the FPC has neither made

an inquiry into these matters nor afforded the parties adversely

affected the opportunity to present any evidence. AEPCO

respectfully submits that the FPC should be complelled to hear

evidence on these highly relevant issues as to both human needs

and industrial electricity users.

2. The Court of Appeals unlawfully disregarded AEPCO's

statutory right to retain the contractual preference of a firm

customer over interruptible customers. These rights arise from

the terms of relevant contracts and tariffs. AEPCO’s contractual

entitlement affords it a delivery preference during curtailments

16

over El Paso’s own direct sale industrial customers and over the

interruptible industrial customers served by California

distributors (R. 9781).

The Court upheld the validity of such contract rights vis a vis

customer requirements in the same priority (App. A, pp. 47-50),

but eliminated the right to receive firm deliveries in lower

priorities over interruptible deliveries in higher priorities.

In this respect, the Court's decision is squarely in conflict

with two recent decisions of the Court of Appeals for the Fifth

Circuit in, respectively, State of Louisiana v. F PC, 503 F.2d 844,

861 (1974) and Louisiana Power and Light Company v. F PC, 526

F.2d 898, 905-907 (1976). In both these decisions, that Court

carefully distinguished between the evidence necessary to

subordinate boiler fuel and that required to overturn a

contractual curtailment priority. Thus, in State of Louisiana, it

found that there was sufficient evidence to relegate boiler fuel to

an inferior status (p. 860) but that a remand of the record was

required because the agency had failed to support its finding that

the contractual preference provided by a four priority plan was

unlawful because it violated Section 4(b) of the Act (p. 861).

3. The decision of the Court of Appeals unlawfully sustains

the FPC’s anti-boiler fuel policy by changing the agency's

findings of fact and its policy rationales. This decision by the

Court below squarely conflicts with the decision of this Court in

Securities & Exchange Commission v. Chenery Corporation, 318

U.S. 80, 87-95 (1942). Chenery restricts a reviewing Court

to consideration of the precise grounds relied upon by the agency

and prohibits affirmance on any other grounds, which might

have been, but were not adopted.

The FPC curtailment plan subordinated boiler fuel to all

other industrial use of gas for three reasons, the first of which the

Court rejected. Th: second reason is a more economical and

17

efficient control of pollution. The Court correctly found that this

advantage stemmed from an “efficiencies of scale” concept which

is based only on differences in size between one gas appliance and

other such appliance (R. 7052-53). Witness Markus recognized

this, and advocated a census of boilers based on size so that

curtailments could be imposed first on the largest units and last

upon the smallest unit (R. 7054-55). The FPC rejected this

“efficiency of scale” concept, and based curtailments upon the

aggregate volume of boiler and non-boiler gas usage in each

priority, at an individual plant location (R. 16,605-06). No census

of relative size of boiler fuel and non-boiler fue: appliances has

ever been taken. The Court of Appeals cannot lawfully sustain an

agency's action by changing its findings of fact and its policy

determinations.

in addition, the Court sustained the FPC’s second and third

rationales entirely on the mistaken view that relative size of gas

usage at each plant location was the dividing line between

Priority 3 on the one hand, and Priorities 4, and 5, on the other

hand. But, by definition, a Priority 3 non-boiler fuel industrial

user taking more gas each day than a Priority 4 or 5 boiler fuel

user enjoys a higher priority. Again, the Court changed the FPC’s

rationale and invaded its province.

4. The Court of Appeals decision upholding the FPC's

antiboiler fucl policy conflicts with this Court’s many decisions

guaranteeing parties to administrative agency proceedings the

right to know the claims of opposing parties and to present

appropriate rebuttal evidence (e.g., Morgan v. United States, 304

U.S. 1, 18). Here, the FPC held hearings on the short term,

interim curtailment plan which it advised parties would be

limited in scope to the provisions and one year term of that plan

(R. 12,225-229). In addition, the Administrative Law Judge

struck from the record all testimony and exhibits relating to any

period beyond that year (R. 8236-39). Its subsequent reliance on

that record eviscerates the right to cross-examine and present

18

rebuttal evidence and is, therefore, clearly unconstitutional

(Rodale Press, Inc. v. FPC, 132 U.S. App. D.C. 312, 407

F.2d 1252, 1256-57, 1258 (D.C. Cir. 1968).

The Court of Appeals decision is also squarely in conflict

with the decision of the Sixth Circuit in NV. L. R. B. v. Johnson, 322

F.2d 216, 220 (1963) cert. denied, 376 U.S. 951 (1964). Johnson

held that after an agency hearing examiner had given assurances

that evidence was admitted for one specific purpose, it was

improper to use that evidence fora different purpose. This is

precisely what the FPC has done here. The on/y evidence in

support of the FPC’s second and third justifications for its boiler

fuel policy is found in the hearing record of the short term,

interim, emergency curtailment plan. Thus, the Court below

relied upon evidence offered by witness Markus in connection

with the interim plan to sustain the FPC’s second and third

rationales for the permanent curtailment plan. Indeed, the Court

referred specifically only to transcript pages 7050-53 and 7062,

which is the Markus interim plan testimony. The Court generally

intimates that other testimony was cited by the FPC, but that

agency relied on only two pages of the permanent plan transcript.

At R. 1838, a witness advocated the subordination of electric

utility use only to process use and not to all other industrial use

(R. 1837-38). At R.4364, a witness testified that non-boiler fuel

users in Priority 3 could not use residual fuel oil. This implicitly

concedes that they could use iighter grades of fuel oil, such as

diesel oil. In any event, both of these citations bear only upon the

FPC’s first rationale, which was completely rejected by the

Court.

5. The Court below esred in relying on the FPC’s pollution

control rationale. The Priority 3 customers to whom the boiler

fuel customers were subordinated have already fully converted to

oil burning appliances and thus will not realize the alleged econ-

omies of pollution control. Furthermore, the Johns-Manville

witnesses relied upon by the FPC and the Court admitted that

19

their pollution control economies were valid only for the short

life of the interim emergency curtailment plan and that, in the

long run, all industrial users could install alternate fuel and

pollution control facilities (E.g., R.1829-30, 1832, 1837 (Truax);

R.7059 (Goldfield); R. 8280, 8288-89 (Markus)).

The Court below and the FPC have made an overly

simplistic analysis restricted to the single factor of economies in

pollution control. They have ignored the many other and equally

relevant factors in balancing the anti-boiler fuel factors and

countervailing factors. The latter factors include, among others,

elimination of discrimination against residential, commercial

and industrial electricity users in favor of their gas burning

counterparts, the social benefits of fairer and lower electric rates

versus the less crucial prices of industrial products, the good faith

and reasonable reliance by boiler fuel users on firm supplies of

naural gas which caused them to build plants unable to burn

abundant and cheaper alternate fuels such as coal, and the need

to use gas for boiler fuel in power plants located in metropolitan

arcas to minimize air pollution, e.g., Transcontinental Gas

Pipeline, 38 FPC 906 (1967). In American Smelting and Refining

Co., v. FPC. 161 App. D.C. 6, 494 F.2d 925 (1974), cert. denied,

419 U.S. 882, 945-946, the Court of Appeals insisted that the

agency perform exactly such a balancing process when it reversed

the FPC’s finding that boiler fuel was per se inferior to all other

industrial uses.

20

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, a writ of certiorari should issue to

review the judgment and opinion of the Court of Appeals for the

District of Columbia Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

ARNOLD D. BERKELEY

Suite 407

1925 K Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

Attorney for Petitioner

September 28, 1977

APPENDICES

A-1

APPENDIX A

Notice: This opinion is subject to formal revision before publication

in the Federal Reporter or U.S.App.D.C. Reports. Users are requested

to notify the Clerk of any formal errors in order that corrections may be

made before the hound volumes go to press.

united Stairs Court of Ayyprals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 74-2123

CITY OF WILLCOX AND ARIZONA ELEcTRIC POWER

CoorERATIVE, INC., PETITIONERS

Vv.

FEDERAL POWER COMMISSION, RESPONDENT

SAN Dineco GAs & Evectric Co.

AMERICAN SMELTING AND REFINING Co., ET AL.

SOUTHERN UNION GAs Co.

GENERAL Motors CoRPORATION

EL Paso NATURAL GAs Co.

NAVAJO TRIBAL UTILITY AUTIIORITY

DEPARTMENT OF WATER AND POWER ETC.

Tie PeorLe OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA, ETC.

Tucson GAS & ELEctTrRIC Co.

Paciric GAs & ELecrric Co.

NEVADA POWER COMPANY

SOUTHWEST GAS CORPORATION

SOUTHWEST NATURAL GAS CONSUMERS

ARIZONA FueL Users ASSOCIATION

PIONEER NATURAL GAS CoO., INTERVENORS

Bills of costs must be filed within 14 days after entry of judgment. The

Court looks with disfavor upon motions to file bills of costs out of time.

A-2

2

No. 75-1019

ARIZONA PuBLIC SERVICE COMPANY, PETITIONER

Vv.

FEDERAL POWER COMMISSION, RESPONDENT

SAN Dirco GAs & ILEctTric Co.

Crry oF WiLLcox, ARIZONA AND ARIZONA ELECTRIC

Power Coopr., INC.

AMERICAN SMELTING AND REFINING Co., ET AL.

SouTHeRN UNION GAs Co.

NAVAJO TRIBAL UTILITY AUTHORITY

}ENFRAL Motors CorroraTion

Tucson GAs & E1ecrric Co.

Paciric Gas & EvLectric Co.

SouTHeERN CALIFORNIA EDISON Co.

1, Paso NATURAL GAS Co.

PROPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA AND THE PUBLIC

UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

NEVADA Powgr CoMPANY

SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA GAS Co.

Souriwest NATURAL GAS CONSUMERS

SouTHuwest /GAS CoRrorRATION

Arizona Fue. Users Asso.

PIONEER NATURAL GAS Co., INTERVENORS

, ea soe A

No. 75-1062

NEVADA POWER COMPANY, PETITIONER

Vv.

FRDERAL POWER COMMISSION, RESPONDENT

A-3

3

AMERICAN SMELTING & REFINING Co., ET AL.

GENERAL Motors Corr.

Tucson Gas & Evectric Co.

SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA GAS Co.

SAN Dieco GAs & Evectrric Co.

Paciric GAs & ELrecrric Co.

CiTy OF WILLCOX ARIZONA AND ARIZONA ELECTRIC

Power Coor., ING.

NAVAJO TRIBAL UTiuiry AUTHORITY

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA AND TITE PUBLIC

UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

ISL PASO NATURAL GAs Co.

SALT River PRoIECT AGRICULTURAL

IMPROVEMENT AND POWER DIstRICT

SOUTHWEST GAs Corr.

SOUTHERN UNION GAs Co.

SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA EDISON Co.

SOUTHWEST NATURAL GAS CONSUMERS

ARIZONA Fur. Users Asso.

PIONEER NATURAL GAS Co., INTERVENORS

No. 75-1245

PACIFIC GAS AND ELECTRIC COMPANY, PETITIONER

Vv.

FEDERAL POWER COMMISSION, RESPONDENT

SOUTHERN UNION GAS Co.

CITY OF WILLCOX ARIZONA, ET AL.

NAVAJO TRIBAL UTILITY AUTHORITY

AMERICAN SMELTING AND REFINING Co., ET AL.

SouTHWEST GAs Corp.

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA, FT AL.

EL PAso NATURAL GAS Co.

GENERAL Motors CoRPORATION

A-4

4

SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA EDISON COMPANY

ARIZONA PUBLIC SERVICE Co.

NEVADA POWER Co.

TUCSON GAS AND ELectric Co., INTERVENORS

No. 75-1246

SAN Dieco GAs & ELECTRIC COMPANY, PETITIONER

Vv.

FEDERAL PowER COMMISSION, RESPONDENT

SOUTHERN UNION GAs Co.

City OF WILLCOX, ETC.

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA, ET AL.

GENERAL Motors CorRPORATION

Paciric GAs & ELectric Co.

NAVAJO TRIBAL UTILITY AUTHORITY

XL PASO NATURAL GAS Co.

SoutTiwest GAS Corr.

SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA EDISON Co.

NEVADA POWER COMPANY

AMERICAN SMELTING AND REFINING Co., ET AL.

+ ARIZONA Pusuic Service Co.

Tucson GAs & ELEctrIc Co.

SOUTHWEST NATURAL GAS CONSUMERS

ARIZONA FueL. Users ASSOCIATION

PIONEER NATURAL GAS Co., INTERVENORS

No. 75-1247

SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA GAS COMPANY, PETITIONER

Vv.

FEDERAL POWER COMMISSION, RESPONDENT

A-5

5

SAN DIEGO GAS, ET AL.

SOUTHERN UNION GAs Co.

CITY OF WILLCOX, ETC.

DEPARTMENT OF WATER AND POWER OF THE CITY OF

Los ANGELES

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA, ET AL.

PACIFIC GAS AND ELECTRIC Co.

NAVAJO TRIBAL UTILITY AUTHORITY

EL Paso NATURAL Gas Co.

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION

SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA EDISON Co.

AMERICAN SMELTING AND REFINING Co.

ARIZONA PUBLIC SERVICE Co.

SOUTHWEST GAS Corp.

NEVADA POWER COMPANY

Tucson GAs & ELECTRIC Co.

SOUTHWEST NATURAL GAS CONSUMERS

ARIZONA FUEL USERS ASSO.

PIONEER NATURAL GAS CO., INTERVENORS

No. 75-1248

SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA EDISON COMPANY, PETITIONER

Vv.

FEDERAL POWER COMMISSION, RESPONDENT

NEVADA POWER Co.

EL PASO NATURAL GAs Co.

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA, ET AL.

SAN DIEGO GAS AND ELECTRIC Co.

AMERICAN SMELTING AND REFINING CoO., ET AL.

NAVAJO TRIBAL UTILITY AUTHORITY

PACIFIC GAS AND ELECTRIC Co.

TucsON GAS AND ELECTRIC Co.

SOUTHWEST NATURAL GAS CONSUMERS

ARIZONA FUEL USERS ASSOCIATION

PIONEER NATURAL GAS Co., INTERVENOR

A-6

6

Petitions for Review of Orders of the

Federal Power Commission

Argued September 13, 1976

this date

theme

Decided June 30, 1977

Judgment entered

Arnold D. Berkeley, with whom David R. Straus was

on the brief, for petitioner in No. 74-2123 and inter-

venors City of Willcox and Arizona Electric Power Co-

operative.

Peyton G. Bowman, with whom C. Floyd Mathews was

on the brief, for petitioner in No. 75-1019.

Arnold Fieldman, with whom Reuben Goldberg was

on the brief, for petitioner in 75-1062 and intervenor

Nevada Power Company.

Howard V. Golub, with whom Malcolm H. Furbush

was on the brief, for petitioner in No. 75-1245 and in-

tervenor Pacific Gas and Electric Co. Daniel I, Gibson,

entered an appearance for intervenor PG&E Co.

Rollin. BE. Woodbury, with whom HH. Robert Barnes,

Alan N. Nedry, Edward C. Farrell and Arthur T. De-

vine were on the brief, for petitioner in No. 75-1248

and intervenors Southern California Fdison Company

and Department of Water and Power of the City of Los

Angeles. Frederick H. Ritts entered an appearance for

Department of Water and Power of the City of Los

Angeles.

John H. Rurns, Jr., Attorney, Federal Power Com-

mission, with whom Drexel D. Journey, General Counsel,

Robert W. Perdue, Deputy General Counsel, and Allan

Abbot Tuttle, Solicitor, Federal Power Commission, were

on the brief, for respondent. George V. McHenry, Jr.,

A-7

7

Solicitor, Federal Power Commission, at the time the

record was filed, also entered an appearance for respond-

ent. Richard C. Steffey and William J. Grealis, Attor-

neys, Federal Power Commission, entered an appearance

for respondent.

C. Frank Reifsnyder, with whom Harris S. Wood was

on the brief, for intervenor El Paso Natural Gas Com-

pany.

Edward J. Grenier, Jr., with whom Frazer F. Hilder

was on the brief, for intervenor General Motors Corpora-

tion. Richard J. Pierre, Jr. and Richard P. Noland also

entered an appearance for intervenor General Motors

Corp.

Randolph W. Deutsch, with whom Richard D. Gravelle

and J. Calvin Simpson were on the brief, for intervenors

People of the State of California and the Public Utilicies

Commission of the State of California. John S. Fick also

entered an appearance for intervenors People of the

State of California and Public Utilities Commission of the

State of California.

David R. Pigott was on the brief for petitioner in No.

75-1246. Donald J. Richardson, Jr. also entered an ap-

pearance for petitioner in No. 75-1246 and intervenor

San Diego Gas and Electric Company.

Thomas PD. Clarke was on the brief for petitioner in

No. 75-1247 and intervenor Southern California Gas

Company. Jeffrey A. Meith also entered an appearance

for intervenor Southern California Gas Company.

Jerome Ackerman, Ringham B. Leverich and Nicholas

W. Fels were on the brief for intervenors American

Smelting and Refining Company, et al. James R. Mc-

Cotter also entered an appearance for intervenors Amer-

ican Smelting and Refining Company, et al. Cameron R.

Graham, Robert J. Haggerty, A. S. Grenier and Phil W.

Jordan were on the brief for intervenors Pioneer Natural

Gas Company, Southern Union Gas Company and South-

A-8

8

west. Natural Gas Consumers. Constance L. Howard and

Charles 11. McCrea entered an appearance for intervenor

Southwest Gas Corporation. John T. Ketcham entered an

appearance for inlervenor Pioneer Natural Gas Company.

Lawrence V. Robertson, Jr., Thomas F. Brosnan and

John F. Harrington were on the brief for intervenor

Tucson Gas and Electric Co.

Cameron R. Graham was on the brief for intervenor

Southwest Natural Gas Consumers.

Richard H. Silverman was on the brief for intervenor

Salt River Project, Agricultural Improvement and Power

District in No. 75-1052. Joel L. Green entered an ap-

pearance for intervenor Salt River Project, Agricultural

Improvement and Power District in No. 75-1062.

David B. Graham, filed a brief on behalf of Natural

Rural Electric Cooperative Association, as amicus curiae

urging affirmance.

Waller F. Wolf, Jr. entered an appearance for inter-

venor Navajo Tribal Utility Authority.

James R. Bieke entered an appearance for intervenor

Arizona Fuel Users Association.

Before BAZELON, Chief Judge, and TAMM and MAc-

KINNON, Circuit Judges.

Opinion for the court filed by Circuit Judge Mac-

KINNON.

Opinion filed by Chief Judge BAZELON, concurring in

part and dissenting in part.

MACKINNON, Circuit Judge: The natural gas short-

age necessitating curtailment of deliveries on the El

Paso Natural Gas System is the subject of the present

appeal. Recognizing that decreasing availability would

soon cause severe hardship, the Federal Power Com-

mission issued Order No. 431 in April of 1971. By

that order, all jurisdictional pipelines were required to

A-9

9

file new tariffs with the Commission to provide for ration-

ing of natural gas among eventual users. El Paso com-

plied on July 6, 1971, submitting a contingency plan

that allocated scarce natural gas according to the ultimate

consumers’ contracts with their suppliers, and reflecting

the total amounts of gas that the consumers had used

in the past. )

In August of 1972, after hearings had been held be-

fore the FPC, the original proposal was withdrawn. Fl

Paso requested the FPC to issue an interim curtailment

plan, to be effective until a permanent plan could issue.

On October 31, 1972, the Commission released Opinion

No. 634 (J.A. 315, Tr. 13355) which established an in-

terim plan, awarding natural gas allotments to the var-

ious distributors on the basis of the eventual use to

which the gas would be put. A modification followed

with Opinion No. 634A (J.A. 339, Tr. 13746), issued on

December 15, 1972. The challenge to this interim plan

was decided in American Smelting and Refining Co. v.

FPC, 161 US.App.D.C. 6, 494 F.2d 925, cert. denied,

419 US. 882 (1974) (hereinafter, “ASARCO”). The

attack was made by many of the same petitioners here

and was, in large part, sustained.

On June 14, 1974, a permanent curtailment plan was

announced for the El] Paso System. See Opinion No. 697

(J.A. 411, Tr. 16587). Once again, a supplementary

opinion was required; this was issued in Opinion No.

697A on December 19, 1974 (J.A. 484, Tr. 17080). Opin-

ion No. 697 was also an “end-use” curtailment plan.

It was ordered to be treated only as an interim plan

(in Opinion No. 697A), until an environmental impact

statement had been completed. El Paso was required to

file a set of revised tariffs in keeping with Opinions No.

697 and 697A.‘ That is the present status of the plan.

*The ripeness aspects of this situation are discussed in

Part VI, p. 38, infra.

A-10

10

Opinions No. 697 and 697A classify all ultimate users

of natural gas into five priorities, with residential and

small commercial users receiving top priority, and large

volume industrial boiler users with alternate fuel ca-

pabilities receiving lowest priority.’

Seven petitioners now press objections to the proposed

permanent curtailment plan.’ Fifteen other parties have

intervened as amici curiae.*’ Many conflicting objections

? Subject to the modifications of Opinion No. 697A, the

priorities announced by the FPC for El Paso are:

Priority 1. Residential, small commercial (less than 50

Mcf on a peak day).

Priority 2. Large commercial requirements (50 Mcf or

more on a peak day), industrial requirements for plaat

protection, feedstock and process needs, and pipeline

customer storage injection requirements.

Priority 3. All industrial requirements not specified in

Priorities 2, 4 and 6.

Priority 4. Industrial requirements for boiler fuel use

at less than 3,000 Mcf per day, but more than 1,500

Mcf per day, where alternate fuel capabilities can meet

such requirements.

Priority 5. Industrial requirements for large volume (in

excess of 3,000 Mcf per day) boiler-fuel use where al-

ternate fuel capabilities can meet such requirements.

(Opinion No. 697, J.A. 424-25, Tr. 16599).

* They are:

City of Willcox and Arizona Electric Power Cooperative,

Inc.

Arizona Public Service Company

Nevada Power Company

Pacific Gas and Electric Company

San Diego Gas and Electric Company

Southern California Gas Company

Southern California Edison Company

‘They are:

El Paso Natural Gas

Salt River Project Agricultural Improvement and Power

District

[Continued]

A-11

11

are raised, some of which have merit. [ight questioned

areas will be separately addressed. In our review the

Federal Power Commission’s authority is to be especially

respected in matters of policy and logistics; consistency

must be maintained in applying the Commission’s policy

judgments; complaints rooted in particular circumstances

can best be treated on specific application for relief by

the concerned parties to the Commission; and the settled

law from this circuit and others which have addressed

curtailment will, in the absence of importantly differ-

ent circumstances, govern the resolution of complaints

raised here.

I. Scorr or Review

Initially, there is some dispute as to what provision

of the Natural Gas Act provides the Federal Power Com-

mission with the authority to review and promulgate

curtailment plans. In Opinion No. 634, dealing with an

interim curtailment plan, the Commission cited FPC v.

Louisiana Power & Light Co., 406 U.S. 621 (1972), which

* [Continued]

Tucson Gas & Electric Co.

ASARCO rs

Compania Minera de Cananea, S.A. de C.V.

Inspiration Consolidated Copper Co.

Kennecott Copper Corp.

Pioneer Natural Gas Co.

Southern Union Gas Co.

National Rural Electric Cooperative Ass’n

Southwest Natural Gas Consumers

Nevada Power Co.

Gencral Motors Co.

People of the State of California

Public Utilities Commission of the State of California

In addition, several of the petitioners also filed amicus briefs:

City of Willcox and Arizona Electric Power Cooperative,

Inc.

Pacific Gas and Electric Company

Southern California Gas Company

~33 =

| BEST COPY AVAILABLE)

A-12

12

upheld the Commission’s authority to issue Order No.

431 requesting natural gas distributors to file curtail-

ment plans. “While that affirmance was based primarily

upon a tariff filing under Section 4 of the Natural Gas

Act,” the FPC stated in Opinion No. 634, “we are also

operating pursuant to Sections 5* and 16° of the Act in

this case.” (Footnotes inserted.)

®15 U.S.C. § 717d(a) (1970) provides:

(a) Whenever the Commission, after a hearing had

upon its own motion or upon complaint of any State,

municipality, State commission, or gas distributing com-

pany, shall find that any rate, charge, or classification de-

manded, observed, charged, or collected by any natural

gas company in connection with any transportation or

sale of natural gas, subject to the jurisdiction of the

Jommission, or that any rule, rerulation, practice, or

contract affecting such rate, charge, or classification is

unjust, unreasonable, unduly discriminatory, or prefer-

ential, the Commission shall determine the just and rea-

sonable rate, charge, classification, rule, regulation, prac-

tice, or contract to be thereafter observed and in force,

and shall fix the same by order: Provided, howcver, That

the Cummission shall have no power to order any increase

in any rate contained in the currently effective schedule

of such natural gas company on file with the Commission,

unless such increase is in accordance with a new schedule

filed by such natural gas company; but the Commission

may order a decrease where existing rates are unjust,

unduly discriminatory, preferential, otherwise unlawful,

or are not the lowest reasonable rates.

(52 Stat. 823) (1938).

*15 U.S.C. § 7170 (1970) provides:

The Commission shall have power to perform any and

all acts, and to prescribe, issue, make, amend, and rescind

such orders, rules, and regulations as it may find neces-

sary or appropriate to carry out the provisions of this

chapter. Among other things, such rules and regulations

may define accounting, technical, and trade terms used

in this chapter; and may prescribe the form or forms of

all statements, declarations, applications, and reports to

A-13

13

When Opinion No. 634 was before this coutt in

ASARCO, we held that although section 16 of the Act

empowered the Commission to alter and promulgate pro-

posed curtailment plans, that section required reliance

on section 5(a) of the Act as a “core section” to pro-

vide the substantive counterpart to section 16's proce-

dural authority. The brief of El Paso as intervenor ar-

gues that the permanent curtailment plan, unlike the

interim plan, was premised on section 4 of the Act as

the “core section,” but there is no basis for this in the

Commission’s Orders No. 697 or 697A. Nor could there

be, since the Commissio.a in these orders is imposing

its changes on the curtailment plans, rather than merely

suspending 15] Paso’s proposed plan. For the purpose of

imposing an alternate plan, section 6 is necessary.

“Whenever the Commission . . . shall find that any

. . Classification . . . or that any practice, or contract,

affecting such . . . classification is unjust, unreasonable,

unduly discriminatory, or preferential, the Commission

shall determine the just and reasonable . . . classifica-

tion, . . . practice, or contract to be thereafter observed

and enforced, and shall fix the same by order .. .” 15

be filed with the Commission, the information which they

shall contain, and the time within which they shall be

filed. Unless a different date is specified therein, rules

and regulations of the Commission shall be effective thirty

days after publication in the manner which the Commis-

sion shall prescribe. Orders of the Commission shall be

effective on the date and in the manner which the Com-

mission shall prescribe. For the purposes of its rules and

regulations, the Commission may classify persons and

matters within its jurisdiction and prescribe different

requirements for different classes of persons or matters.

All rules and regulations of the Commission shall be filed

with its secretary and shal! be kept open in convenient

form for public inspection and examination during rea-

sonable business hours.

(52 Stat. 830) (1938).

A-14

14

U.S.C. § 717d(a) (1970). Sections 1(b) and 16 afforded

ample authority to issue the general order requesting

curtailment plans to be evaluated under section 4(b) (as

the Supreme Court held in Lowisiana Powcr) or to sus-

pend a proposed rate change, but nowhere in section 4

is there granted the power to impose alternate rates.

The importance of the statutory section from which

the Commission’s action takes its legitimacy was pointed

out by the Fifth Circuit in Louisiana v. Federal Power

Commission, 503 F.2d 844 (5th Cir. 1974). In Louisiana,

an interim curtailment plan had been issued, followed

by a permanent plan with modifications. Since the in-

terim plan had been promulgated after a section 4 hear-

ing, the Commission was on record as having found it

to be not unreasonable or discriminatory. “|W hen FP?C

holds a hearing and orders a new curtailment plan, or

revises an old one, it is exercising authority granted by

section 5(a) of the Natural Gas Act. . .. Under that

section, however, before FPC can issue a remedial order

it must find that the existing curtailment plan is ‘unjust,

unreasonable, unduly discriminatory, or preferential.’ ”

503 F.2d at 861.

Similarly, in this case, the interim plan was promul-

gated as one meeting the standard of not “unjust, un-

reasonable, unduly discriminatory, or preferential.” Ac-

cordingly, those aspects of Opinion No. 697’s rate struc-

ture that amend the structure of Opinion No. 634 must

be justified for reasons sufficient to uphold the change

(and not merely the new structure) under a substantial

evidence standard. Imposing this section 5 requirement,

however, does not mean that the court cannot take cog-

nizance of the fact that the Opinion No. 634 curtail-

ment structure was imposed on an emergency basis, and

without as full deliberation by the Commission as was

possible for the permanent curtailment plan.

A-15

16

Il. DEFINITIONS

The FPC has chosen to apply a set of definitions to its

curtailment order. Several petitioners raise the general

complaint that, since the definitions were promulgated

in Order No. 493-A, a proceeding which was closed after

the hearings on Order No. 697, to apply them to Order

No. 697 is not valid under the Administrative Procedure

Act.

In the first place, the definitions stated in Orders No.

493 and 493-A were reached after a full hearing, with

notice to the parties, in compliance with section 4 of the

Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. §553 (1970).

See “Utilization and Conservation of Natural Resources,”’

50 F.P.C. 831 & 1316 (1973). That these definitions

would be used by the Commission in implementing end-

use curtailment plans was obvious on the face of the

order. And several parties to the present proceeding

(including the City of Willcox, Arizona Electric Power,

Southern California Edison, and General Motors) were

among those whose objection to Order No. 493 led to the

revised Order No. 493-A. 50 F.P.C. 1316, 1317.

A second response is that the parties who took part

in the proceedings leading up to Order No. 697 were

given full opportunity to comment upon the curtailment

plan in all of the applications to which the Order No.

493-A definitions would refer, even if Order No. 493-A

itself was not yet promulgated. The Commission was

entirely within its authority to conclude that, based solely

upon the evidence adduced in connection with Order No.

697, the definitions announced in Order No. 493-A were

proper and useful to the implementation of Order No.

697."

* Various petitioners invoke our decision in Pacific Gas &

Electric Co. v. FPC, 164 U.S.App.D.C. 371, 506 F.2d 33

(1974), which held the Commission’s Order No. 467 to be

A-16

16

As a general matter, therefore, the Order No. 493-A

definitions may be used in Order No. 697. There could

be challenges to specific definitions, however, which would

merit this court’s intervention. Three definitions are

singled out in the briefs: turbine fuel, fuel for irriga-

tion, and fuel required for ignition and flame stabiliza-

tion. Turbine fuel will be considered separately in part

Ill, infra, p. 20.

Fuel For Irrigation Use

In Opinion No. 697-A, the Commission classified ir-

rigation as a Category 3 end-use, along with other in-

dustrial uses for natural gas. The decision at that time

anticipated the possibility of subsequent change, depend-

ing upon the unavailability of alternate fuel sources for

irrigation. In Opinion No. 745, issued on November 13,

1975, almost a year after Opinion No. 697-A, that pos-

sibility had developed and the Commission, after hear-

ings, reclassified irrigation use of natural gas on the El

Paso system as an “industrial process use,” to be placed

in Category 2. That treatment was confined in an or-

der denying rehearing, on July 2, 1976 (RP 72-6).

Hence, the origir . complaint lodged by several peti-

tioners, before Opinion No. 745, that the curtailment plan

improperly placed irrigation in a low priority, has lost

almost all of its force. What remains is the charge,

made most clearly by Southwest Natural Gas Consumers,

Pioneer Natural Gas Company, and Southern Union Gas

Company in their September 17, 1976, letter and sub-

sequent submissions, that the more favorable treatment

of gas intended for irrigation use was granted only as

merely a non-binding statement of policy, not applicable with-

out more to particular curtailment orders (and hence exempt

from the requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act).

For each of the two reasons just stated, however, that deci-

sion does not apply to the application of Order No. 493A.

A-17

17

a matter of extraordinary relief, affording them no as-

surance of the priority they desire. That position mis-

takes the nature of Opinion No. 745 on two counts.

First, petitioners suggest that the language “extraor-

dinary relief” in the opinion denying rehearing belies the

notion of permanent reclassification contained in Opinion

No. 745. But that verbeage was only concerned with

the procedural route leading to the order in RP72-6;

it in no way makes the substantive result in Opinion

No. 745 any less permanent. Opinion No. 745 was

reached in a quasi-extraordinary relief proceeding which

incorporated ‘elements of a genvral reclassification pro-

cedure as well as a hearing on extraordinary relief. The

decisions on several issues in that opinion emphasize

its reasonably pernianent nature. For example, on page

2 of the order denying rehearing, the Commission ex-

plicitly rejects a proposal that irrigation uses be re-

classified into a lower priority as soon as alternative fuel

sources became available. The reasons given by the Com-

mission for not adopting a short-term Category 2 clas-

sification, and also for rejecting General Motors’ proposal

for irrigation classification according to the cost of con-

version, were not expressions of short-term convenience,

but grave doubts as to the Commission’s own ability to

administer such systems over the long run.

The second line of argument that Opinion No. 745

should not moot petitioners’ claims regarding irrigation

relies on the Commission’s brief in Docket No. RP75-62,

involving curtailment on the Cities Service Gas Company

line. In that proceeding, the FPC presently indicates it

will advocate an industrial classification for irrigation

fuel. Passing over the problems of relying on an initial

brief of an agency as a conclusive statement of agency

policy, there is ample reason not to credit the FPC’s

position in Cities Service as relevant to El Paso. As the

initial brief in Cities Service clearly explains, the in-

A-18

18

dustrial classification of irrigation fuel on that system

was due to factors peculiar to that system, including the

historical practices of Cities Service and the extent of

likely curtailment. The Commission’s order in El Paso

will remain in effect unless and until need for further

hearings arises, at which proceeding petitioners may be

heard. That status is as permanent as any aspect of the

curtailment plan, and petitioners’ complaints regarding

irrigation fuel must be dismissed as moot.

Ignition and Flame Stabilization

It is argued that petitioners’ complaints concerning

ignition and flame stabilization utilization of natural

gas have over this same period become less ripe. In

Opinion No. 634, the Commission defined Priority Cate-

gory 2 as including “Large commercial requirements and

industrial requirements for plant protection, feedstock

and process needs.” Pursuant to that definition, E1 Paso

submitted a proposed tariff sheet defining the term

“process gas” as “gas required as a fuel for which there

is no feasible alternative. This term includes gas re-

quired for ignition. fuel and flame stabilization in the

generation of electric energy.” (J.A. 353, Tr. 13776).

That definition was applied for purposes of the interim

plan.

The Commission, meanwhile, was preparing its general

definition orders, Order No. 493 and Order No. 493-A.

Process gas was defined in the October 29, 1973, order as

“gas use for which alternate fuels are not technically

feasible such as in applications requiring precise tempera-

ture controls and precise flame characteristics.” “Utiliza-

tion and Conservation of Natural Resources,” 50 F.P.C.

1316, 1820 (1973). At the time of promulgating Opinion

No. 697, the Commission looked to this Order No. 493

definition and found that it adequately expressed the

characteristics of those ignition and flame stabilization

A-19

19

uses intended for special priority under Opinion No.

634. Hence, it was no longer necessary for the definition

of process gas to include explicitly ignition and flame

stabilization.

When El Paso filed its tariff sheets on March 27, 1975,

and April 11, 1975, in supposed compliance with Opinion

Nos. 697 and 697A, the priority of ignition and flame

stabilization fuel had been made explicit—but it was

Priority Category 3 rather than 2. This decision was

based upon El Paso’s judgment of the ability of its

users to substitute for natural gas in these functions.

A storm of protest followed, much of which is reflected

in petitioners’ complaints to this court.

However, we do not presently reach whether E] Paso’s

factual determination was adequate, or whether the Com-

mission’s explanation for the change in its language be-

tween the interim and permanent curtailment plans is

satisfactory. On December 24, 1975, the Commission

issued an order in Docket No. RP72-6 stating that “it is

necessary to hold a limited hearing in this proceeding . . .

to consider whether some or all alleged flame stabiliza-

tion and ignition requirements are Priority 2 uses as

the customers insist or are properly classified in El

Paso’s proposed tariff sheets.” The Commission ordered

that “a public hearing shall be held as soon as practical”

on this matter. (RP 72-6 at 15).

The possible availability of findings of fact relevant to

the ignition-flame stabilization-process gas question argues

for waiting. There has been no indication to this court

of action on the proposed hearing since it was announced

in December of 1975; however; and it is open to any of

the petitioners here to seek again our immediate review

should the hearing have been unwarrantedly postponed.

The present status of the curtailment order requires

some intermediate relief, however. Opinion No. 634 pro-

A-20

20

vided Priority 2 classification for ignition and flame

stabilization use of natural gas. The explicit reason

offered by the Commission in Opinion No. 697 for remov-

ing the reference to ignition and flame stabilization was

only that it was superfluous; not that those uses were ac-

tually more able to substitute alternate fuel than had

originally been thought. Hence, El Paso’s lowering of

the priority for all natural gas devoted to these uses can

only be seen as a substantial change in what was in-

tended by the interim and permanent curtailment or-

ders. The hearing proposed by the Commission will de-

termine whether there is adequate evidence justifying

this change; but in the meantime, the only curtailment

priority approved by the FPC and sustainable by sub-

stantial evidence was the one established by the interim

order, which, according to the FPC, was intended to be

carried over into the permanent plan. Until the Com-

mission determines, after a hearing, that there is sub-

stantial evidence proving that all flame stabilization and

ignition uses for natural gas can, with “technical feasi-

bility,” be replaced by alternate fuels (as all those terms

have been defined by the Commission), Priority 2 classi-

fication. must be accorded to flame stabilization and

ignition.

Ill. Borers

In ASARCO, supra, we reversed the subordination of

boiler fuel uses to other end-uses provided in the interim

plan because of the FPC’s failure to articulate the rea-

sons for such treatment. In Opinion No. 697, the Com-

mission atlempts to remedy this omission by listing

three reasons supporting the lower priority for boiler

fuel use: (1) alternate fuels could be more easily substi-

tuted for natural gas in boiler fuel applications than in

other applications; (2) the “increase in air pollution re-

sulting from the use of alternate fuels could be more

efficiently and economically controlled” on boiler installa-

A-21

21

tions because of their larger size; and (3) economic dis-

ruption would be minimized by curtailing single large

users such as boilers. (J.A. 431, Tr. 16,604-05). The sec-

ond and third of these are persuasive.

Because the FPC is sustained on other grounds, the

inadequacy of its first explanation will be considered only

in footnote."

*In its brief, the Commission points to three instances in

the record to defend its first reason. None of these sustain

the proposition that, as opposed to other industrial uses, boil-

ers were more able to use alternative fuels. The evidence all

related to different issues.

The first reference is to testimony by the witness Truax

that it would take time before substitutes could be developed

for industrial uses requiring natural gas as a process fuel.

At it strongest, the testimony would only support a conclusion

that boilers, as one example of non-process fuel users of natur-

al gas, could more easily find substitutes for natural gas than

could users of natural gas as a process fuel. (J.A. 67, Tr.

1837). This says nothing about boilers within the class of

non-process (industrial) fuel users.

The second record citation is to testimony by the witness

Helmut Frank. On the general issue of alternatives to natural

gas, the witness testified that “residual fuel oil is not a prac-

ticable alternative for current gas users,” except for under-

boiler use, as in steam-generated clectric plants.” (J.A. 91,

Tr. 4863). Once again, that single statement cannot support

the inference that all boiler fuel usage is more able to shift

to residual fuel than all other industrial uses for natural gas.

The last record evidence relied upon returns to the process-

industrial fuel distinction. The witness Markus commented

on the aiternative fucl availability for process use of natural

gas, and concluded that the capital costs of re-tooling those

plants using natural gas as a process fuel to permit them to

accept other fuels would be quite high. (J.A. 97-99, Tr. 7048-

7050).

Entirely lacking in all of the record evidence cited is a

simple statement by a single expert that alternative types of

fuel could more easily substitute for boiler fucl usage of

A-22

22

In the Commission’s second explanation, the larger size

of boiler installations, as compared with other natural gas

users, is suggested as a reason for the more economical

control of air pollution, which would result from the use

of alternate fuels, by boilers rather than by other opera-

tions. There is sufficient record evidence for this conclu-

sion. Among other testimony the Commission refers to

the witness Markus on this point. (J.A. 99-102, Tr. 7050-

7053). He draws a distinction between boilers at electric

natural gas than for any other industrial use of natural gas.

Had Order No. 697 subordinated all industrial use to all proc-

ess use, that would have been upheld by the record citations;

but the disadvantageous treatment of boiler fuel vis-a-vis

other industrial uses has not been sustained.

When Opinion Nos. 643 and 643A, involving curtailment on

the Arkansas Louisiana Gas Company system, were considered

by this court, and when Opinion Nos. 647 and 647A, involving

curtailment by United Gas Pipe Line Company, were ruled

on by the Fifth Circuit, Louisiana v. Federal Power Commis-

sion, 603 F.2d 844 (5th Cir. 1974), the subordination of

natural gas in boiler fuel uses was sustained. Arkansas Power

& Light Co. v. FPC, 170 U.S.App.D.C. 393, 398, 517 F.2d

1223, 1228 (1975), cert denied, 424 U.S. 933 (1976) ; Lozisi-

ana, supra, 503 ¥.2d at 860. It would be tempting to accept

this preference as a settled matter on the basis of these other

decisions. However, the nature of the issue prevents this.

As the Federal Power Commission itself has realized, “‘there is

no superior or inferior use of natural gas per se; it depends

upon the circumstances.” Chandeleur Pipe Line Co., 45 F.P.C.

370, 371 (1971). The fact has been amply justified by the

several pieces of record evidence that have been brought to

light: fuel use is quite different in electricity generation, in

turbines, in under-boiler applications, and in other boiler

usages. The purpose of our reversing and remanding the

boiler fuel provision in ASARCO was to obtain the type of

information, particular to the usages on the El Paso system,

that would sustain the logic of a “boiler-fuel vs. all-other-use”

distinction. The evidence to which the Commission now points

is of no more avail in this regard than the invocation of “es-

tablished Commission policy” that was found insufficient in

ASARCO. 161 U.S.App.D.C. at 26, 494 F.2d at OAK.

A-23

23

generating stations and boilers at industrial plants, with

the former being both more efficient and more able to

substitute alternative fuels. The basic difference is size;

electric generating boilers are of a larger magnitude, and

the witness notes that a “large pollution control installa-

tion can control pollution at a lower cost per unit of fuel

consumed than can a small installation.” Most important,

the witness gave testimony that the benefits to both kinds

of boiler uses “reflect efficiencies of scale not feasible for

the operator of a typical industrial boiler.” (J.A. 100,

Tr. 7062). This testimony provides the Commission with

an adequate defense for its pollution control argument.

In this connection, we recognize that the Arkansas-

Louisiana and United Gas curtailment plans’ boiler sub-

ordination mentioned above (see footnote 8) were not

sustained on the pollution-control argument. The fault in

each instance, however, was not a failure of logic, but an

absence of record support. At least for the El Paso sys-

tem, that fault has now been corrected.

The last justification offered is closely patterned to the

previous one. Since boilers are the largest users of natu-

ral gas, on a per plant basis, more natural gas can be

curtailed with fewer plants affected if boilers are the

first curtailed. The record portions cited by the FPC’s

brief are inapposite, but there is sufficient evidence al-

ready alluded to in the discussion of the second rationale

to uphold this explanation. We note that the phrasing of

this advantage has changed from that suggested by the

Commission in the Arkansas-Louisiana and United Gas

curtailment plans, supra. In those cases, the premise was

that boilers could more easily substitute alternate sources

of fuel, and for that reason the economic disruption from

curtailment would be minimized by cutting back boilers

first. The Commission no longer relies on that premise

for the justification based on minimization of economic

dislocation.

A-24

24

Opinion No. 697’s inclusion of natural gas used by

electricity-generating turbines within the boiler fuel cate-

gory raises a separate problem. The interim curtailment

order, Opinion No. 634, excluded “gas-powered turbines

utilized for electric generation” from the definition of

boiler fuel use (J.A. 341, Tr. 13,748), but this decision

was reversed in Opinion No. 697. The stated reason for

this change was that “[a]s a practical matter, we cannot

control the use of natural gas in electric generating boil-

ers without including volumes available for use in gas

turbines within the definition of boiler fuel use.” (J.A.

506, Tr. 17,102). Turbine use has been found to be less

efficient than boiler utilization for the generation of elec-

tricity. That finding is sustained on record evidence. See,

e.9., J.A. 100, Tr. 7051. But the Commission went on

from that fact to infer that natural gas allocated to tur-

bine use would be diverted to electricity generation

through boilers whenever possible. That step of inference

is totally without support in any piece of evidence of ac-

tual diversion. On this record, it is entirely surmise. No

doubt the Commission is entitled to a great deal of lati-

tude in predicting how its orders will be applied by the

industry. The Commission places its entire argument

concerning this question on that proposition.” But Opinion

No. 697 is not a new order, written as the Commission's

first venture into curtailment. It follows upon an interim

order, and changes in that interim order must be justi-

fied. (See Part I, supra). In the absence of the slightest

* The dissent would uphold the lower classification of natural

gas devoted to turbines on the basis that such a use is less

efficient than boiler use. That factor alone would not justify

lower priority since turbines might also use alternate fuels

less efficiently, or with more detrimental impact on the en-

vironment, than boilers. However that question may be re-

solved, the only basis upon which the Gommission's order

relied was the possibility of substitution (J.A. 506; Tr.

17,102), and that basis cannot be sustained.

A-25

25

reference of abuse during the period of the interim order,

there is nothing to sustain the Commission’s change of

mind on turbine fuel usage. Even if the provisions of

section 4(b) of the Natural Gas Act, rather than the

specific-finding of discrimination provision of section 5

(x), were held to govern the promulgation of Opinion No.

697, there is lacking here any evidence of “undue prefer-

ence or discrimination.”

The Commission also counters with the argument that,

since the turbine-fuel objection is principally raised by

Arizona Electric Power Company (AFPCO), it could

seek a special reclassification. (Brief for Respondent at

58). That is an attractive suggestion, but courts must

he careful not to close out legitimate claims on the hopes

that they will be otherwise redressed. Perhaps Arizona

Electric could obtain a reclassification, but to procced

by individual variance is to admit that the overall con-

cept is valid. Arizona Electric does not allege particular

facts whereby ils situation should be distinguished from

such a generally valid order, it attacks the fundamental

basis for the order. Before commending Arizona Electric

lo the particular relief suggested by the Federal Power

Commission, we would have to be convinced that the

general plan was, indeed, sustainable. And that case has

not been supported by substantial evidence.

IV. THe BASE PERIOD

The curtailment plan envisions a maximum limit on

the amount of natural gas going to each of El Paso's

customers. These “base volumes” become applicable when-

ever Fl Paso’s supply of natural gas falls short of the

current demand. They prescribe the total amounts of

natural gas by priority classification available for the _

various users. |

Three problems have arisen from the time periods in

the past which were used in establishing the base volumes.

Opinion No. 634, issued on October 31, 1972, established

A-26

26

the twelve month period immediately preceding that date

as the appropriate measuring lime. The first objection

raised 'o that procedure was that, by measuring actual

historical use of Kl Paso gas over that twelve month

period, the plan paid no attention to the then-developing

shortage of non-Kl Paso natural gas. That shortage was

allegedly critical to the California customers who, as

explained before, did not rely exclusively on Fl Paso.

rhe two California users maintained that setting the

Kl Paso gas supplied during the last twelve months as

the maximum volumetric entitlement in time of curtaii-

ment unfairly assumed that all users were otherwise

identically situated. Because of the developing searcily

of non-[I Paso natural gas, it was likely that the Cali-

fornia users would have to increase their reliance on

i Paso natural gas in the near future; but that con-

tingency had not been envisioned in the El Paso cur-

tailment plan.

When this complaint was before this court in the

context of the interim plan, we decided that, because of

the emergency, short-term nature of Opinion Nos. 634

and 634-A, it was not fatal to ignore the developing

pre-existing curtailment” of non-El Paso sources felt

by the California customers. ASARCO at 942. Our de-

cision there was explicitly premised on an expectation

that the Commission would consider the local California

natural gas shortage in promulgating a final, permanent

plan, and would “enunciate findings with respect to that

situation” as well. Now that the permanent plan has

come before us, we again consider whether the Commis-

sion’s decision to ignore the pre-existing shortage of local

gas in California was unduly discriminatory to the Cali-

fornia users.

Two related issues have also become involved in our

review of the time period established for calculating

hase volumes. First, no explicit’ prohibition against ad-

ding new users to the various distributors’ systems w?th-

A-27

27

in the general El Paso system was contained in the in-

terim curtailment order. Several of the EOC distributors,

subsequent to the date of Opinion No. 634, did add new

customers, including customers in the top priority levels."

Opinion No. 697A took account of this by establishing

a moratorium on adding new customers, for purposes of

receiving curtailment allotments of natural gas. As for

those new users added during the twenty-five and one

half month interval between the interim and final plan,

Opinion No. 697A provided that the base period for

volumetric calculation would be “actual historical takes

for the 12 month period ending October 31, 1972, ad-

justed to also reflect the annualized effect of attached

Priority 1 and 2 loads existing as of October 31, 1974.”

(J.A. 489, Tr. 17,085). In addition, penalties were im-

posed for all natural gas withdrawn in excess of the

volumetric limits, except where necessary to protect a

Priority I or 11 use. The date of Opinion No. 697A was

December 19, 1974.

Tucson Gas & Electric and Arizona Public Service

Company (“APS”) raise the objection that the gap be-

tween October 31, 1974, and December 19, 1974, places

them in a predicament. These companies during this

period were adding high priority users in reliance on the

interim order’s absence of any limitation on attach-

ments, only to be told later that those users could not

be included in the curtailment allocation. The argument

is carried even further that, since these utility com-

panics are required under state law to receive permis-

sion before they can refuse a requested extension of

service to a user in what has come to be a high priority

classification, it was unreasonable to impose a moratorium

on attachments even as of the date of the issuance of

” Tucson Gas & Electric Company added 3,000 residential

and commercial users during the October 31-December 19,

1974 period. (Brief of Tucson as Intervenor at 18). (The

term “EOC” means “East of California.”)

A-28

28

Order No. 697A. Instead, it is contended, the curtail-

ment plan should have taken cognizance of all new at-

tachments until such time as Tucson and AI’S could

receive authorily from the State of Arizona to refuse

such new requests for service.

The last problem arising out. of the base period de-

termination stems from the meteorology of the period:

the winter of 1973 and pre-November 1974 were un-

usually warm. Hence, the Arizona users allege, their

reliance on El Paso natural gas was abnormally low

and a more expectible average of natural-gas use should

have been employed.

The second of these three problems is most usefully

discussed first. It is arguable how justified was the re-

liance of those natural gas distributors who added cus-

tomers subsequent to the interim curtailment. order.

There was never any doubt that the conditions of the

eventual curtailment plan would require some calcula-

tion of a maximum amount of natural gas, and that for

each distributor, such a calculation would necessitate a

ceiling on the number of customers to be served. On a

fuller record, it might be concluded that those exceptions

should be afforded only to those distributors who, having

sought refusal powers from their state regulatory bodies

immediately upon the issuance of the interim plan, were

nevertheless denied. However that may be, the Com-

mission has stated quite a different position, which bears

upon all three problems here addressed. In Opinion No.

GHYTA, the FPC stated, “we recognize . . . that growth

in the higher priorities would in fact have occurred in

the normal course of load upgrading, since no express

prohibition was contained in the interim plan and in

view of our decision not to impose overrun penalties for

the interim plan. ... [We find that the only reasonable

alternative is to require El Paso to adjust the Opinion

No. 697 base period to reflect that growth.” (J.A. 488,

Tr. 17084).

A-29

29

The Commission's own judgment is that it is entirely

appropriate for the natural gas distributors to have

added customers up until the time they were explicitly

told not to do so. The logie of that position extending

their entitlement must be consistently applied. Aeccord-

ingly, it was arbitrary for the Commission to refuse to

order the inclusion of those users added up until the

date that Opinion No. 697A was actually promulgated,

and the explicit prohibition on attachment of further

high priorily users was declared. Uewever, because the

December 19, 1974, order by the Federal Power Com-

mission was preemptive it was reasonable to exclude from

the base used for the curtailment plans those users

added after that date, even if that was before the time

distributors obtained state permission to exclude them.

The FPC argues that APS and Tucson were dilatory in

requesting authority to refuse new, high priority users

on their respective systems. If that were so, that would

be an additional ground for excluding post-December 19,

1974, customers. Both APS and Tucson delayed until

late February. Whether the additional two-month in-

terval was excusable and reasonable or whether APS

and Tucson should be held to be bound from the date

they received notice of the Commission order providing

for the exclusion from the base period of new customers

added thereafter we leave to be settled at a hearing

before the Commission on remand. Nothing prevents

the FPC as a matter of discretion from granting special

relief to suppliers in this predicament, but that is not

required.

The Commission’s decision in Opinion No. 697A to

depart from the six-month time period ending on October

$1, 1972, was molivated by a desire to accommodate cer-

tain BOC customers of El Paso, who otherwise would

have had more actual demand on their system for natural

gas than had been recognized in the curtailment plan.

That disposition must be applied equally to the Cali-

A-30

30

fornia customers as well. Their position also involves

more demand on their system for natural gas (because

of a searcity of non-Fl Paso gas) than had been recog-

nized in the curtailment plan. To alter the curtailment

plan for EOC customers might not have been necessary ;

but, having done so, the FPC assumed an equivalent ob-

ligation for the California customers as well.

The Commission relies on four pages of Opinion No.

697, and two attached exhibits, to satisfy our mandate

in ASAR CO to “consider the pre-existing shortages in

California and to enunciate findings with respect to that

situation.” ASARCO, supra, 161 U.S.App.D.C. at 23,

AMA F.2d at 942. The evidence recited in those pages of

the opinion (J.A. 434-39, Tr. 16608-16611) refer to the

non-It] Paso sources of natural gas for the California

customers. The Commission admitted that “deliveries to

interruptible customers [by non-It] Paso sources| have

heen declining since 1970,” and concluded that “this

decline in service can he attributed to two factors only.

One, that the California source supplies are declining,

which is a fact of record, and (2) that the gross in-

dustrial market for natural gas in Southern California

has been growing, which is also a fact of record. (Tx.

105). Solutions to both of these causal factors are clearly

outside the scope of the Commission's jurisdiction.” (J.A.

436; Tr. 16609-16610).

These references do establish that the Commission paid

attention to the shortage of natural gas in California,

but they fall far short of providing a basis for justifying

the FPC’s failure to provide some relief to the California

users because of that shortage. To say that. scarcity is

due to high demand and low supply is simply to state a

tautology of economics. It is well within “the scope of

the Commission’s jurisdiction” to consider the need for

natural gas in the area even though the need has become

more critical because of a developing scarcity of local

A-31

31

gas, and to increase the supply by a more lenient cur-

lailment plan that did not treat as equivalents two sels

of customers in vastly different situations regarding their

supply of natural gas. Jt was precisely the factor of

growing demand (between the time of the interim and

final curtailment orders) that the Commission found to

be fully expectible and deserving of consideration for the

Arizona customers. California customers are entitled to

have their needs similarly considered.

The Commission parries by stating thal, even if true

that the California users will have more occasion to rely

on 1 Paso, as their alternate fuel sources dry up:

One significant and highly variable factor controls

the abilily of industrial consumers exposed to natu-

ral gas curtailment to continue their operations, to

wit, their abilily to use and secure alternate fuels.

There is no evidence in this record that industrial

consumers in California are in a worse posilion with

respect. to their ability to use or to secure alternate

fuels than consumers located in I-O-C. (J.A. 437,

Tr. 16610)

The simple refutation is thal. California consumers

will be forced more often to resort to alternate fuels

because of their heightened scarcity of natural gas. That

disparate scarcity, if such be the fact, between California

and EOC users, raises a prima. facie inference that FPC

treatment of both classes of consumers identically, in

terms of historical reliance on FE] Paso, is discriminatory

in the most important sense of the Act, the need for

natural gas. The Commission would have to establish

that. California consumers were singularly more able to

employ alternate fuels than EOC consumers before it

could rebut that prima facie case. The Commission has

not. done so.

The Commisison is required to give more considera-

tion to the peculiar shortages in California in order to

comply with our ASARCO opinion, and, also, as a matter

A-32

32

of affording equal treatment to California and EOC cus-

lomers. This does not mean that 1] Paso must supply

the full amount of the shortfall experienced in Cali-

fornia because of local conditions. Other factors such

as the difference in priorities of use, and a proven greater

ability lo use alternate fuels, might, in the end, support

a decision requiring less than full contribution. But the

precise resull cannot be foreseen, cannot be dispensed

with by the conclusory statement offered by the Com-

mission on this record, and must be made the subject

of explicit findings following a full hearing."

The final objection raised concerning the base volumet-

rie curtailment period does not necessitate intervention by

this Court, but may be amended by the Commission in

its reconsideration of the matters that are to be re-

manded. It was not mandatory for the Commission to

consider whether the periods of measurement used in

establishing the base volumes covered an unusually warm

period in Arizona. If the Arizona distributors claim they

have a right to additional volumetric entitlement because

the base period covered an unusually warm winter they

—_—_—_——_—

"The dissent reads too severely what is required by our

remand of this point. We do not hold that the Commission

policy of equal curtailment of full and partial requirements

customers, ov pipeline-by-pipeline regulation, be “subverted”

in any way. The problem we see, rather, is with the base

period, during which the California customers’ reliance on

1 Paso was allesred to be less than it has now become. The

Commission's own order recognizes that alternate supplies to

California usera have dropped since “the time the record was

compiled in this procecding” (J.A. 136, fn. 8; Tr. 16,609, fn.

8). Whatever policy the Commission wishes to follow, it must

be based on an appreciation of present needs of the several

areas relying on the Fl Paso system, rather than on historical

records of use measured in September of 1972 (J.A. 417; Tr.

16,592); particularly given the Commission's recognition

(supra) that California customers’ reliance on Fl Paso was

at that time in a stale of flux relative to EOC users.

A-33

33

are free to petition the FPC for a variance, but they will

be required to show that the weather in their area oper-

ated to discriminate against them relative to consumers

in other areas on the pipeline. If the effect of the weather

during the base period was reasonably uniform through-

out the entire system all distributors would be affected in

the same way and none would he entitled to special con-

sideration.

In sum, a remand to the FPC is necessary regarding

the base used for volumetric entitlements and the claims

of the Arizona distributors. Volumetric entitlements to

El Paso customers must reflect consideration of total na-

tural gas needs and the possibility of satisfying said needs,

at, least to some extent, from El Paso gas, rather than

rigidly reapportioning entitlements solely on the basis of

historical use of El Paso gas. This is what is required by

the Natural Gas Act's prohibition against discrimination,

15 U.S.C. $§ 717¢e, d (1970). It may be that the Com-

mission in ils judgment will decide that the increasing

California shortages cannot, in fairness to other users

of higher priority on the system, be met by additional

entitlements of El Paso gas, or can only partially be met

from that source, but this docs not mean that the Com-

mission can avoid its statutory obligation by a conclusory

finding that it lacked jurisdiction. It has jurisdiction,

even though the volume of available El Paso gas, the

higher priorities of other distributors, and the ability to

use alternate fuels may seriously restrict the ability or

need for the Commission to exercise its jurisdiction to

increase California entitlements.

The Commission must also turn its attention on remand

to the post-Opinion No. 634 additional users on the Ari-

zona systems. Unless the PC holds new hearings and

sustains a change in its position on including those users

in the volumetric entitlement calculations, it must extend

consideration to all new users added up to the time of

Opinion No. 697A’s promulgation, December 19, 1974, not

just to October 31, 1974.

A-34

34

No change is presently mandated concerning weather

conditions over the base period.

V. Fue. STORAGE

The injection of natural gas into storage tanks by

PG&E and SoCal, the two California customers of Fl

Paso, creates a difficulty in the curtailment categories

that was first addressed in our ASARCO opinion. The

interim plan on review there, Opinion No. 634, treated

natural gas retained in storage as outside the scheme of

any end-use deserving priority classification. Conversely,

when such natural gas was withdrawn from storage, it

was treated as though it had been supplied from an inde-

pendent source.

The interim plan had allocated natural gas between

the California and EOC users in accordance with the

percentage reliance of each user upon the El Paso sys-

tem. All the EOC users relied exclusively on El Paso,

but the California users had alternate sources for natu-

ral gas, with the result that they received about 80% of

their total supplies from El Paso. The central concept of

the curtailment plan is to accord as much natural gas as

possible within each priority category, up to a user’s

total needs, and then to progress to the next highest prior-

ity level. But in determining what a user’s total needs

were, the California customers were evaluated at their

needs from Fl Paso, or about 80% of their actual total

needs.

With a fixed amount of natural gas supplied by Fl

Paso, the California users made up the difference at

peak times from other sources, and at slack times, in-

jected the El Paso-supplied surplus into storage tanks.

The EOC customers, in contrast, stored no Fl Paso fuel

but altered their daily purchases depending upon condi-

tions.

A-35

3h

By treating the natural gas taken from the California

users’ storage tanks as coming from an_ independent

supply, Opinion No. 634 reduced the estimate of those

users’ reliance on Fl Paso. It seemed as though more

natural gas was coming from non-E] Paso sources than

was actually the ease. Accordingly, the allocations to the

California customers of curtailed gas were lower than

they should have been. It was this unfairness that

prompted the remand of the issue in ASARCO.

The response of Opinion No. 697 was to treat storage-

injection as an end use in itself, and afford it Priority 2

classification. The Commission’s reasoning was “Natural

gas used for injection into storage should also be accorded

a relatively high priority as the primary purpose of storage

is the protection of service to residential and other

temperature-sensitive consumers during the winter heat-

ing season.” (Tr. at 16,602; J.A. at 428). That state-

ment incorporates two separately distinguishable conclu-

sions concerning origin, and then priority, of storage gas.

Since Opinion No. 697, like Opinion No. 634, views

withdrawals from storage as an independent source of

fuel supply, our mandate in ASARCO is sought to be

complied with by recognizing the 1 Paso-origin of stor-

age fuel as it enters storage, rather than when it is taken

out. from storage. That is an acceptable way of guaran-

teeing that the California users are not viewed as less

deperdent. upon Kl Paso natural gas than they actually

are. The second step is to decide in which of the five

priorities the natural gas allocated to storage should be

placed. If the storage gas were measured as il was used,

this would present no problem, for then it would simply

be added to the other volumes of gas being utilized for

each of the priority classifications. But the Commission’s

decision to consider storage fuel as it enters storage pre-

sents it with a difficulty from which it is not fully ex-

tricated by Opinion No. 697A.

A-36

36

In Opinion No. 697, all storage gas was accorded Pri-

ority 2 classification. This solved the problem of under-

estimating California users’ reliance on El Paso. Uow-

ever, it accorded a high priority to substantial quantities

of natural gas that might not eventually be consumed in

a high priority end-use. The FP'C’s language in Opinion

No. 697, quoted above, was weak on its face: because the

primary purpose of storage gas was Priority 1 or 2 uses,

the exclusive priority classification for such gas would be

Priority 2.

The Commission’s proposed correction, in Opinion No.

GH97A, was to afford Priority 2 classification only to that

percentage of a customer’s storage gas equal to the per-

centage of natural gas actually devoted to a non-storage

Priority 1 or 2 end-use by the particular customer. This

meant that all other storage gas was treated as not com-

ing from the El Paso system, either at the time of in-

jection or at the time of eventual utilization. To that ex-

tent, the Commission has failed to comply with our

ASARCO decision, where, with reference to a proposal

by the FPC staff rejected by the Commission, it was

stated:

There is no suggestion that the proposed storage ad-

justment formula would impede implementation of

the interim plan. The mere fact that the solution is

complicated cannot justify the Commission in refus-

ing to provide just and reasonable interim curtail-

ment procedures. We therefore remand this matter

to the Commission for further consideration of the

proposed storage adjustment formula.

ASARCO, supra, 161 U.S.App.D.C. at 24, 494 F.2d at

943.”

* Opinion No. 697A did correct one weakness in Opinion

No. 697. Opinion No. 697 had recognized only net storage

fuel injections over the course of the year as being supplied

by El Paso. (Net storage fuel injection represented the ex-

A-37

37

Hence, the Commission failed to accomplish what it

set oul to do in Opinion No. 697A regarding the stor-

age fuel priority classification. Rather than relying on its

former assumption that storage fuel was primarily in-

tended for residential and other high priority uses, the

Commission offered the solution described above. But the

premise of that solution, that natural gas taken from

storage will be distribuled across all end uses and priority

classifications, is not correct. Storage gas is relied upon

primarily for low-priority end-uses. When the need for

storage use arises, it must ve that the other sources of

natural gas have not been able to supply all current de-

mand. But the higher priority uses would have been

met first. Hence, the function of storage gas must be

to supply the lower tier of priorities in the order of their

preference. Admittedly, there could be occasions where

the shortage was so severe, that in order to supply even

the top priority category, resort to storage would be

necessary. But as a general rule, at least for the im-

mediate present, the percentage of storage gas that is

cess fuel injection into storage over fuel withdrawn from

storage for consumption). Opinion No. 697A realized that,

over a year, that measure would not be reflective of the gross

volumeof Fl Paso gas thal was injected into storage. Opinion

No. 697A adopted a scheme that would approximately measure

the gross amount of El Paso gas being pul into storage. A

direct measure of that amount was not attempted. Instead,

the Commission took account of the fact that most storage

gaa is injected in the summer, and withdrawn for use in the

winter (although some withdrawals do occur in the summer,

and there are sometimes injections in the winter). Hence,

injections minus withdrawals in the summer months (7.¢., net

summer injections) are a rough approximation of gross total

injections over the year (J.A, 496-97; Tr. 17092-93). While

a more precise estimate would be desirable, the FPC's choice

of method in Opinion No. 697A is not so arbitrary as to com-

pel reversal—-particularly because an issue purely of measure-

ment technique is involved,

A-38

38

used for higher priority end-uses will be less than the

percentage of all gas that is used for higher priority

end-uses.

A remand to the Commission on the issue of storage

is therefore necessary. In revising ils permanent curtail-

ment plan for the E1 Paso system, the Commission must

guarantee: 1) That all use of FE) Paso-originating natural

gas (whether detained in storage for a period of time or

nol) be recognized in setling the percentage reliance of

California customers upon El Paso. 2) That double count-

ing be avoided either by considering the El Paso origin

of the natural gas as it is injected into storage, or as it

is withdrawn from storage; but not both. 3) That the

priority accorded to natural gas kept in storage be in

proportion to the eventual end uses of that gas, unless the

Commission wishes lo support with an evidentiary hear-

ing the importance of storage gas irrespective of the end

use to which it is eventually put. This last position was

strongly hinted at in the Commission’s brief, but. formed

no part of the storage-priorily decision by the Commis-

sion itself, and hence cannot be accepted as an explana-

tion before this court. Securities and Exchange Commis-

sion v. Chenery Corporation, 318 U.S. 80 (1943).

VI. ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT STATEMENT

A problem is raised by the intervenor Salt River Proj-

ect Agricultural Improvement and Power District con-

cerning the compliance of Order No. 697 with the Na-

tional Environmental Policy Act of 1969. Under that

Act, all federal agencies are required, “to the fullest

extent possible,” to

include in every recommendation or report on pro-

posals for legislation and other major Federal actions

significantly affecting the quality of the human en-

vironment, a detailed statement by the responsible

official on . . . the environmental impact of the pro-

posed action... .

A-39

39

42 U.S.C. § 4332 (1970). The proposed permanent cur-

tailment plan has been issned without any environmental

impact statement. Although the Commission at one time

maintained that curtailment plans were, because of their

contingent nature, exempt from the requirement of fil-

ing an environmental impact stalement, il now recog-

nizes that the court’s ASARCO opinion, and that of the

Fifth Cireuit in Louisiana v. FPC, 503 V.2d 844 (5th

Cir. 1974), have ruled unacceptable thal manner of

procedure. Accordingly, in Opinion No. 697A, the Com-

mission reluctantly concludes:

We are therefore constrained to remand this pro-

ceeding for the limited purpose of preparation and

circulation of an environmental impact stateraent in

accordance with Section 102(2)(c) of NEPA. This

step is taken in spite of our belief that the impact

statement. so developed will add little of substance

to the environmental record already developed in

this proceeding.

This left the question of what force the Commission

wished to attach to Opinion No. 697 before the environ-

mental impact statement issues. Finding that immediate

implementation of the plan was necessary, the Commis-

sion decided that Order No. 697 (and 697A) “should

therefore be considered as a revised interim plan until

such time as the Commission rules on its appropriateness

as a permanent plan for the Fl Paso system.” (J.A. 509-

510; Tr. 17105-17106). The Administrative Law Judge

to whom the opinion was remanded was given authority

“to modify the plan as may be required by the environ-

mental evidence” adduced at this hearing (/d.)

The fact that this plan is officially an interim one does

not oust the jurisdiction of this court. See ASARCO,

supra; Louisiana, supra. They are nonetheless final

FPC actions. And if the changes made on the basis of

the environmental hearings are as minor as the FPC ex-

A-40

40

pects, any review of the permanent curtailment plan

can be considerably abbreviated by reason of the opinion

in this case (except, of course, for challenges to the

adequacy of the environmental impact statement).

It is Salt River’s contention, however, that the issuance

of Opinion No. 697 should be held up, even as an interim

plan, until the environmental impact statement is pro-

vided. The effect would be the continued applicability of

the original interim plan, a matter of no small monetary

consequence even if the environmental statement were

furnishc'} within a few months. A related question is

whether it is consistent with NEPA to treat an environ-

mental impact statement in the begrudging manner that

admittedly characterizes the FPC’s action in this case.

More specifically, is there an obligation to consider en-

vironmental consequences as a major federal action is

being planned, or is it sufficient to proceed with the de-

velopment of the program, announce it, and only then

turn to a consideration of the environmental conse-

quences?

The second question can be disposed of as not yet ripe

for adjudication. The adequacy of the environmental

impact statement can only be judged once that document

has actually been produced. The Commission’s remand

to the administrative law judge affords him a wide bali-

wick for his authority to consider environmental effects,

and this court cannot say that no amount of post-hoc con-

sideration, study, and alteration of the curtailment plan

could ever satisfy NEPA’s requirements. However, it

is well to repeat the warning this court issued in

ASARCO, that “our ruling today is not a license for per-

manent or prolonged evasion of responsibilities under

NEPA.” ASARCO, supra, 161 U.S.App.D.C. at 30, n.47,

494 F.2d at 949, n.47. In Scientists’ Institute for Pub-

lic Information, Inc. v. AEC, 156 U.S.App.D.C. 395, 408,

481 F.2d 1079, 1092 (1975), we stressed that the pur-

pose of an environmental impact statement is to pro-

A-4]

4)

vide information “before the action is taken” so that al-

ternalives can be considered (emphasis added). Cf.

Kleppe v. Sierra Club, 427 US. 390 (1976). Similarly,

in Louisiana, the Fifth Cireuit, while recognizing that

speculation was unavoidable, interpreted NIGPA as_re-

quiring that the “FPPC, in formaating that plan, take

into consideration as best it can the plan’s probable ef-

fect on the environment.” Lonisiana at 876 (emphasis

added). Those two curtailment plan decisions recog-

nized that the environmental impact statement, to be use-

ful in the way intended hy the statute, must be issued as

part of the formulative process of the plan, rather than

serve merely as a post-hoc catalogue of the environmental

results of a complex plan developed without reference to

those impacts. Reliance on an interim curtailment plan,

and particularly one which the FPC states will in all

likelihood become the permanent plan, could well de-

velop. Once it does, the tardy issuance of an environ-

mental impact statement would unduly influence the

balance of considerations against change, even when

necessary to avoid serious environmental consequences.

Calvert Cliffs’ Coordinating Committee Inc. v. United

States Atomic Energy Commission, 146 U.S.App.D.C. 33,

AAD F.2d 1109 (1971). To all this we add a qualifying

nole. Any reasonable person will recognize that a mean-

ingful and final EIS cannot be prepared on all aspects

of any plan until the full details of that plan are known.

Ilowever, the mandate of the statule requires environ-

mental consequences to be considered throughout the

formulation of the plans to the fullest extent possible.

Some situations call for an interim EIS. The require-

ments of NEPA to any situation can be resolved by a

common sense application of these principles.”

42 U.S.C. § 4322 (Supp. V, 1975) provides:

The Congress authorizes and directs that, to the fullest

extent possible: (1) the policies, regulations, and public

laws of the United States shall be interpreted and ad-

aaa A-43

43

42

premised on the expectation that the Commission will

develop a complete environmental record, considering all

relevant alternatives as fully as though no interim cur-

Ilence, while we refrain from staying the applicability

of the interim plan until the environmental impact state-

ment has issued, we do caution that this forbearance is

ministered in accordance with the policies sct forth in

this chapter, and (2) all agencies of the Federal Govern-

ment shall—

respect to any environmental impact involved.

Gopies of such statement and the comments and

views of the appropriate Federal, State, and local

(A) utilize a systematic, interdisciplinary ap-

proach which will insure the integrated use of the

natural and social sciences and the environmental

design arts in planning and in decisionmaking which

inay have an impact on man’s environment;

(B) identify and develop methods and procedures,

in consultation with the Council on Environmental

Quality established by subchapter I] of this chapter,

which will insure that presently unquantified envir-

onmental amenities and values may be given ap-

propriate consideration in decisionmaking along with

economic and technical considerations;

(C) include in every recommendation or report on

proposals for legislation and other major Federal

actions significantly affecting the quality of the hu-

man environment, a detailed statement by the re-

sponsible official on—-

(i) the environmental impact of the proposed

action,

(ii) any adverse environmental effects which

cannot be avoided should the proposal be imple-

mented,

(iii) alternatives to the proposed action,

(iv) the relationship between local short-term

uses of man’s environment and the maintenance

and enhancement of long-term productivity, and

(v) any irreversible and irretrievable com-

mitments of resources which would be involved

in the proposed action shou'd it be implemented.

Prior to making any detailed statement, the re-

sponsible Federal official shall consult with and ob-

tain the comments of any Federal agency which

has jurisdiction by law or apecial expertise with

ayrencies, which are authorized to develop and en-

force environmental standards, shall be made

available to the President, the Council on FEnviron-

mental Quality and to the public as provided by

section 552 of Title 5, and shall accompany the

proposal through the existing agency review proc-

esses;

(D) Any detailed statement required under sub-

paragraph (C) after January 1, 1970, for any major

Federal action funded under a program of grants to

States shall not be deemed to be legally insufficient

solely by reason of having been prepared by a State

agency or official, if:

(i) the State agency or official has statewide

jurisdiction and has the responsibility for such

action,

(ii) the responsible Federal official furnishes

guidance and participates in such preparation,

(iii) the responsible Federal official independ-

ently evaluates such statement prior to its ap-

proval and adoption, and

(iv) after January 1, 1976, the responsible

Federal official provides early notification to, and

solicits the views of, any other State or any

Federal land management entity of any action

or any alternative thereto which may have sig-

nificant impacts upon such State or affected

Federal land management entity and, if there

is any disagreement on such impacts prepares a

written assessment of such impacts and views

for incorporation into such detailed statement.

The procedures in this subparagraph shall not relieve

the Federal official of his responsibilities for the

scope, objectivity, and content of the entire state-

A-44

44

lailment plan had intervened. Expectancy interests can

be kept alt a minimum by the understanding that since

the Administrative Law Judge under the statute will have

this broad authority to revise the plan, reliance on the

interim plan will not necessarily control his decision.

The issue still remains, however, of whether it was per-

missible to by-pass an environmental impact statement

even construing Order No. 697 as an interim plan. The

language of the National Environmental Policy Act in

its terms would require such a statement even for an

interim curtailment order. But the Natural Gas Act

requires the Commission “to take effective interim cur-

ailment action in the exigencies presented by gas

_-_—_——-—

ment or of any other responsibility under this chap-

ter; and further, this subparagraph does not affect

the legal sufficiency of statements prepared by State

agencies with less than statewide jurisdiction.

(Fr) study, develop, and describe appropriate al-

ternatives to recommended courses of action in any

proposal which involves unresolved conflicts concern-

ing alternative uses of available resources:

(F) recognize the worldwide and long-range char-

acter of environmental problems and, where consis-

tent with the foreign policy of the United States, lend

appropriate support to initiatives, resolutions, and

programs designed to maximize international cooper-

ation in anticipating and preventing a decline in the

quality of mankind's world environment;

‘ .

(G) mitke available to States, counties, munici-

eae institutions, and individuals, advice and in-

ormation use j intaini

a tion us ful in restoring, maintaining, and en-

ancing the quality of the environment;

(II) initiate and utilize ecological information in

the planning and development of resource-oriented

projects; and

( 1) assist the Council on Environmental Quality

established by subchapter I of this chapter.

(89 Stat. 424)

A-45

45

shortages,” Atlantic Gas Light Company v. FPC, 476

F.2d 142, 150 (5th Cir. 1973), and this obligation has

been held, in other circumstances, to override the NEPA

filing requirement.

Calvert Cliffs’ announced that only such a “statutory

conflict” could constitute an impossiblility sufficient to

overcome NEPA’s requirement of compliance “to the

fullest extent possible.”'"* In ASARCO, the impending

1972-1973 heating season created the need for an im-

mediate curtailment plan, without the delay involved in

the preparation of an environmental impact statement.

ASARCO, supra, at 948. In Atlantic Gas, supra, the

court was less specific as to immediacy, finding that

“A detailed evaluation of the environmental impact of a

curtailment order would entail precisely the sort of de-

lay which the Supreme Court noted and disapproved in

the course of a decision which held that the Natural

Gas Act authorizes the Commission to follow summary

procedures in exercising its curtailment power. Louisiana

Power & Light Co. v. Federal Power Commission.” 476

F.2d at 150. Salt River asserts that no case for im-

mediate need has been made out in the present setting.

The Commission responds that there is ample evidence

sustaining the changes made in Order No. 697, and that

it would be contrary to its obligation to the public to

postpone implementing a preferable curtailment plan. No

altempt to argue exigent circumstances is made by the

Commission. If we were to accept the Fifth Circuit’s

view, of course, exigent circumstances would not be re-

quired to uphold the FPC’s right to implement its new

curtailment order.

The choice is between (1) ordering the) reinstatement

of the previous interim curtailment plan under Order

No. 634, while remanding Order No. 697 in its entirety

1 See also Concerned About Trident v. Rumsfeld, ——

U.S. App.D.C. -— : - F.2d , ; No. 75-1515

(D.C. Cir, Oct. 13, 1976) at 10.

A-46

46

for reconsideration of environmental factors and the ul-

timate issuance of a permanent curtailment plan and en-

vironmental impact statement; and (2) approving the

continued applicability of Order No. 697 (subject to the

specific objections sustained elsewhere in this opinion)

with the understanding that the Administrative Law

Judge will have broad revision power to incorporate

changes called for by environmental considerations.

As a matter of common sense, the latter is the less

disruptive course. It should also vindicate NEPA’s con-

cern that major federal agency action be undertaken

only when fully informed of environmental consequences.

The Supreme Court, in an opinion subsequent to ASARCO

and Atlantic Gas, has shed light on the practical approach

that should be taken regarding the filing of environmental

Impact statements. In Aberdeen & Rockfish Railroad

Company v. SCRAP, 422 U.S. 289 (1975), the Court was

presented with a request for an environmental impact

statement in connection with proposed surcharges and

general rate increases approved by the ICC. The Court

held that a statement was not required until ICC ap-

proval of the railroads’ proposals had actually been is-

sued. “|The time at which the agency must prepare the

final ‘statement’ is the time at which it makes a recom-

mendation or report on a proposal for federal action.”

ye — Cf. Kleppe v. Sierra Club, 427 U.S. 390, 402

}.

Still, it might be contended (and Salt River does so

argue) that Opinion No. 697 was exactly what the Su-

preme Court had in mind as the type of agency recom-

mendation on proposed federal action that would require

an environmental impact statement. It is all the more

instructive, therefore, to observe that the Court went

on to say that, if “the ICC erred in failing to prepare

a separate formal environmental impact statement to

accompany its October 4, 1972, report or that the con-

sideration given to environmental factors in that report

A-47

47

was inadequate, the ICC need not have ‘started over

again.’” Jd. at 321 (emphasis in original). Rather, a

later consideration of environmental factors by the Com-

mission before issuing its final order of approval would

adequately accomplish NEPA’s purpose. Id. at 322.

The Supreme Court in Aberdeen had before it a record

demonstrating that full attention was eventually paid to

environmental considerations; whereas in the present case,

the FPC has not yet made such a record. But that dif-

ference is not determinative. What is important is the

approach taken by the Court in reconciling two poten-

tially conflicting Congressional mandates-—(1) that an

agency not postpone those urgent decisions which its

special qualifications require it to make in the public

interest, and (2) that environmental considerations be

taken account of to the fullest extent possible. Because of

the breadth of scope and extent of permissible revision

allotted to the Administrative Law Judge by the FPC on

remand from that Commission, which we here sustain and

emphasize, we believe the better course is to follow the

example set in Aberdeen. The issuance of Order No. 697

(as modified by 697A) should not be held up pending

an énvironmental impact statement.

VII. Contract ABROGATION

Several petitioners object that the permanent curtail-

ment plan, is allocating natural gas solely according to

end-use, has improperly ignored the agreements reached

by the parties themselves. The focus of complaint is that

users are no longer characterized as firm or interruptible,

with the former having priority over available natural

gas supplies, and paying a higher price for that privilege.”*

' Ag pointed out at oral argument, the customers being re-

ferred to are eventual users. Gas distributors are all inter-

ruplible to some degree, but can safely guarantee firm service

to a certain number of eventual customers desiring it.

———

A-48

48

But this argument is not new. It was raised in challeng-

ing the interim curtailment plan before this court. in

ASARCO, which was also an end-use plan. ASARCO,

supra, 161 U.S.App.D.C. at 16, 17, 494 F.2d at 935, 936.

Both the legal permissibility of relying on end-use as an

allocative scheme, and the substantiality of the evidence

underlying the FPC’s choice of the end-use method on the

El Paso system, were upheld. In Louisiana Power and

Light, supra, the Supreme Court held that the Natural

Gas Act “fully authorized” the pipeline’s tariff to impose

a curtailment plan despite contrary terms in existing con-

tracts and in so holding distinguished United Gas Pipe

Line Co. v. Mobil Gas Service Corp., 350 US. 332, 344

(1956). See 406 U.S. at 646-647.

In Opinion No. 697, the Commission relies on the fact

that regulations of the California Public Utilities Com-

mission require natural gas service to be interruptible for

industrial customers over 200 mef per day. As a result,

the informative function of an interruptible, as opposed

to a firm contract, is somewhat distorted. It is not the

free market allocating to the most productive user because

that user can pay the highest price, but a government-

imposed constraint upon the free market whereby at least

some California users who would have paid to be firm-

customers are subject to curtailment before EOC users.

(J.A. 421-421; Tr. 16,595-96).

It is not material, as petitioners urge on this court,

that an actual instance of curtailment of California resi-

dential users in the face of continuing EOC industrial

use has not yet arisen. The Commission acts within the

scope of its discretion when it considers contingencies,

for that is the nature of the emergency curtailment plans

originally required by Order No. 431.

While fully within its authority in establishing cate-

gories of end use, the Commission still paid slight at-

tention to the efficient allocation reflected in firm and

A-49

49

interruptible contracts. The Commission explicitly held

that it was abrogating existing contractual entitlements

only because and to the extent that they were not effec-

tively serving this allocative function. (J.A. 422, Tr.

16596). As the Commission has impliedly adopted the

premise that, in the absence of evidence of distortion, the

distributive scheme worked out by private parties will

accomplish the most efficient allocation of scarce resources,

its declaration of priority categories based on end use

should allow for private contractual arrangements. With-

in end-use priority categories, there is still room for

individual contracts to spring up, with some users re-

questing priority over others, and being willing to pay for

it. Such arrangements would evidence that the parties

themselves have agreed on a common unit. for measuring

their self-perceived needs. Hence, for example, if one

manufacty ing plant is able rather freely to substitute be-

tween natural gas and other fuels, it would not be will-

ing to pay as much for the gas as would a second manu-

facturer whose operations entirely rely on energy from

natural gas. Yet, under Opinion No. 697, both would be

classified in Priority 3.

The Commission’s present order should be read Lo

allow natural gas consumers to contract for firm or inter-

ruptible fuel within priority classifications until the

Commission rules otherwise. That interpretation is not

precluded by any position taken by the FPC in its Opinion

No. 697; rather, it is a necessary consequence of the Com-

mission's statement that “the value of the ‘firm-

interruptible’ contract distinction as a curtailment stand-

ard is thus largely dependent ips = sor gal ‘yom

hich it reflects the intensily of purchasers n

pei sation No. 697, J.A. 422, Tr. 16596). To the

extent that the California regulations require all serv-

ice to be interruptible, the Commission in some areas

may desire to prohibit consumers from contracting for

firm service even within priority categories. But that

A-50

50

would only affect industrial use in excess of 200 mef

daily; and would require an explicit ruling by the Com-

mission, if it so desires, on remand. For the present,

nothing in Opinion No. 697 or 697A should be read to

prohibit such contracting within priority categories.

VII[. COMPENSATION

The permitting of contractual arrangements within

end-use categories could also accomplish part of the

purpose intended by those distributors, like Arizona Elee-

tric Power Company, who advocate that the Commission

order a scheme of compensation from previously inter-

ruptible users who now enjoy a high priority classification

to be paid to users whose needs are now classified in the

lower categories. It is contended that such a system is

obligatory in order to avoid discrimination in the new

curtailment. plan.

A question of jurisdiction is presented. The Commis-

sion holds that its authority to set. rates under section 4

of the Act does not encompass the ability to require com-

pensation payments from one class of users to another.

That position has been squarely rejected by the Fifth

Circuit. Mississippi Public Service Commission v. FPC,

422 F.2d 1345, 1350 (1975), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 870

(1976). The question was also recently before a panel

of this court in the context of the Transcontinental Gas

Pipe Line curtailment. After vacation of our order and

remand of the case from the Supreme Court, FI’C ».

Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp., 423 U.S. 326

(1976), the majority ordered a remand to the Commis-

sion to provide the evidence it felt was needed concerning

the severity of the natural gas shortage before it could

rule on the validity of the suggested compensation pay-

ments. Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corporation v.

Federal Power Commission, ———- U.S.App.D.C. .

—— F.2d --——-, No. 74-2036 (D.C. Cir., Nov. 29, 1976).

A-SI

Hl

The suggestion for compensation payments is made in

an entirely general way, with no specific plan proposed

by the petitioners. Without judging the issue as it might

be presented in a particular case of hardship (for which

the Commission alway stands ready to afford individual

relief), the concept of a scheme of compensation cannot be

decided on this record. It is only proposed in a general

manner; and as a general proposal, it would be inconsist-

ent. with the entire purpose behind reallocation of natural

gas to order compensation payments. More narrowly, all

we hold is that nothing in the Natural Gas Act’s instruc-

Lions to the Commission to promulgate nondiscrimnatory

rales requires a compensation scheme.

A freely operating market would allocate natural gas

first. to those paying the most for it. If is the mandate

of the Commission to intrude into that process where the

social valuation on a particular use for natural gas ex-

ceeds the value to any one private person. To then force

the private persons receiving the direct benefits from that

reallocation to pay to the formerly favored users the

difference in price between the favored and disfavored

uses, however, defeats the entire rationale for the real-

location. If the newly favored users could afford to pay

this compensation, they would in most instances have paid

it at the start, and would have outbid the formerly fa-

vored users.

The California users could perhaps present a different

case. There, an interruptible user might actually have

placed a high value on the use of natural gas, but pays

the lower rate in keeping with the interruptible status of

industrial users over 200mef in California. Such a user,

however, could not be in any priority above level 3; so

it is quite unlikely that he would be enjoying a windfall

benefit for which he should be forced to compensate the

FOC users. The FPC was not required to order such

compensation.

We dispose of the compensation issue on this ground:

that it is not required by the Natural Gas Act in order to

avoid discrimination, that as a general matter, it would

contradict the whole purpose for the end-use plan, but

that the Commission will be free to consider compensa-

tion in particular cases subject to court review. We thus

find it unnecessary in this case to reach the question of

whether the Commission has jurisdiction to require com-

pensation.

IX. ISnD-UsE DATA

In making its allocations of natural gas to the dis-

tributors, Fl Paso has determined for each the amount

of gas consumed within priority categories. To accom-

plish these calculations, it was necessary to rely on in-

formation furnished by the ultimate consumers as to the

uses each made of natural gas. Arizona Electric Power

Cooperative and the City of Willcox object to that

method, especially because, “Since these nominations were

made after El Paso’s customers first suffered curtailment,

they may well be tainted by self-serving exaggerations of

requirements in higher priorities.” (Brief for Petitioners

City of Wilcox and Arizona Electric Power Cooperative,

Inc. at 53). The preferable practice, in petitiners’ esti-

mation, would be to require El] Paso to obtain from each

distributor actual data on residential, commercial, and in-

dustrial use of the natural gas furnished that distributor,

and to subject those figures to cross-examination by com-

peting distributors.

As large boiler users with firm contracts under the old

scheme, such petitioners fear being reduced from top pri-

ority Lo near lowest priority in almost all of their natural

gas allocations. It is expectable, accordingly, that they

would like to scrutinize with the utmost care the claimed

needs of distributors serving predominantly superior-

priority users. But the decision of the Commission being

challenged here is of the type to which courts customarily

A-53

53

accord a good deal of respect. It is not as though the

Commission wishes El Paso to proceed without any data

al all. If it had so ordered, that might have been so dis-

ruptive to the effective functioning of the Act as to have

constituted an error of law. At the least, substantial

evidence might well have been found lacking." But the

Commission has here merely chosen a method of obtain-

ing the data necessary to implement its end-use curtail-

ment plan. Absent a strong showing of unworkability,

methodology is best left to an enforcing agency’s own de-

termination.

In the United Gas Pipe Line curtailment plan, re-

viewed in Louisiana, supra, the Commission did suspend

the effective date of the end-use plan in order to obtain

its own measurements of natural gas utilization by pri-

ority category. United Gas and El Paso could be dis-

tinguished on the basis of the high number of complaints

received by the Commission in the former and, a related

point, the relative novelty of the proposed plan com-

pared with the plan that was already in force in United.

Ilowever, on a matter of logistics rather than a rule of

law, or even an agency’s interpretive policy, the need to

enforce consistency is much reduced. [i is sufficient to

hold that the Commission has taken a position that is

not arbitrary, capricious, or an abuse of discretion in

the El Paso curtailment plan. The position is that

distributors’ “nominations” will be presumptively accur-

ale."" Should petitioners single out specific evidence of

substantial abuse, where the “nominations” of natural gas

use were fraudulently or negligently different from the

priority classifications to which the natural gas was Aac-

1015 U.S.C. §717r(b) (1970) provides in part: “The find-

ing of the Commission as to the facts, if supported by sub-

stantial evidence, shall be conclusive.”

The presumption can be overcome in a hearing upon a mo-

tion by any gas distributing company, in accordance with 15

W.S.C. §717d(a) (1970).

5A

tually being put, then the Commission would be required

lo reconsider whether the “nomination” procedure was

reliable." At an earlier part of this opinion, we have

relied (to the benefit of the petitioners) on the presump-

tion the Commission’s orders would not be evaded, and

that it was impermissible for the designation of par-

ticular end use to turn on the unsubstantiated expectation

of fraud.” This same presumption must operate here.

Also, any new program of estimation is likely to in-

volve some inaccuracy. Given the wide range of con-

sumers involved, the extensive geographical areas where

they are located, and the magnitude of the operation,

such result would be inevitable. The Commission, in its

December 24, 1975, order, refused AIPCO's request to

challenge SoCal gas nominations, admitting, “Although

the data supplied with respect to SoCal is deficient, there

is presently neither an allegation nor any evidence of

error or impropriety with regard to its data or the data

of PG & FE.” (Brief for Respondent at Appendix D, p.

Jt). This court agrees with the Commission that “li}n

the absence of such an allegation or evidence, we find no

basis for requiring an investigatory hearing. ...” (Jd.)”°

™ See note 17.

'* See discussion of gas turbines, p. 24, supra.

7° Subsequent to oral argument, petitioners Willcox and

AEPCO submitted a memorandum pointing to what. they con-

sidered to he an erroneous submission of evidence by one

distributor, Arizona Public Service Company. In a special

hearing on ignition and flame stabilization, APS had submitted

an estimate of annual gas use equal to its maximum daily

use multiplied by 365. On direct examination, the Company's

attorney stated that a realistic estimate for annual use was

many times less than that. Although heralding this as evi-

dence of an egregious inconsistency requiring the adoption of

formal actual use surveying, AEPCO has merely located one

example, among many that are inevitable, of a misunderstand-

ing between data requested and data furnished. Had APS

been bent on fraud, it is doubtful that it would have attempted

A-55

55

It is no error to proceed under the assumptions that the

laws against fraud are being obeyed," and that the

possibility of innocent errors may be weighed against the

delays and costs of detailed hearings.

X. CONCLUSION

It is with great reluctance that this court remands the

instant ease for still more deliberation by the Federal

Power Commission. This would not have been necessary,

in large part, had the orders of this court in ASARCO

been fully complied with. The Commission has itself real-

ized, however, that Opinion No. 697 (as modified by

Opinion No. 697A) is not ready for implementation as

a permanent plan because of the need for resolution of

the environmental issues. The Commission will now have

more issues to concern itself with during those delibera-

tions. But that could be advantageous in allowing a

greater freedom, as a practical matter, to structure

a curtailment plan with more concern for environmental

matters from the ground up, rather than as an after-

thought. .

it on so grand a scale as to receive 23 times the amount to

which it was entitled of natural gas in the high priority use.

Perhaps such errors would be noticed more frequently if ad-

verse parties were permitted to challenge data submissions,

but it is for the Commission to weigh that likelihood against

the burden of adversary proceedings on such minute details.

2! Falsification of information required by the Federal Pow-

er Commission to be furnished to El Paso would constitute

a violation of 15 U.S.C. § 717t(b) (1970): “Any person who

willfully and knowingly violates any rule, regulation, restric-

Lion, condition, or order made or imposed by the Commission -

under authority of this chapter, shall, in addition to any other

penalties provided by law, be punished upon conviction there-

of by a fine of not exceeding $500 for each and every day

during which such offense occurs.”

Such conduct might :lso result in wilfully causing El Paso

to make a false statement to the United States Government

in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1001 (1970).

A-56

56

We have carefully considered the many challenges

raised against the El Paso curtailment plan, but have

not devoted particular attention in this opinion to all

of them. It is our decision that any challenges not spe-

cifically addressed be dimissed as insubstantial. This

case is remanded to the Federal Power Commission with

instructions to implement the holdings of this opinion in

revising Opinion 697 (as modified by Opinion No. 697A).

In brief summary,” those holdings are:

1) fuel devoted to ignition and flame stabilization must

receive Priority 2 status (Part IL);

2) electricily generating turbines must not be classi-

fied with boilers, in Priorities 4 and 5, but are entitled

to a higher priority (Part III);

3) attachments of new users up to December 19, 1974,

must be incorporated in measuring uses by priority clas-

sification during the base period (Part IV);

4) pre-existing shortages of natural gas in California

during the base period must be considered in determin-

ing California’s volumetric entitlement (Part IV); and

5) gas used from storage facililies must be taken

into account (i) to the extent its source has been from

E1 Paso, (ii) in proportion to the actual end use of such

storage gas, (iii) and with safeguards against according

priority to gas both as it is pumped into storage and as

it is withdrawn therefrom (Part V).

So ordered.

7? "To the extent that the following are abbreviations of di-

rections outlined in greater detail above, the more complete

directions shall prevail.

A-57

1

BAZELON, Chief Judge, cow urring in part, dissenting

in part: I agree with the result reached by the majority,

remanding the El Paso final curtailment plan to the

Federal Power Commission, and concur generally with

much of its opinion. I take exception, however, to the

majority’s discussion of three specific elements of the

plan:

1) Utilization of Gas for Electric Turbines

In Opinions No. 697 & 697-A, the Commission has de-

termined that the use of natural gas as boiler fuel should

have a lower priority than other end uses; the Commission

has also determined thal the use of gas to power turbines

which gencrate electricity should be considered boiler-

fuel use, and accorded the same low priority. The ma-

jority affirms the priority given boiler fuel, but rejects

the Commission's conclusion with respect to gas used in

turbines for electric generation. [ would affirm both por-

tions of the Commission’s decision. As the majority

points out, Maj. Op. at 13, the Commission has found

that turbine use is even less efficient than other sorts of

“boiler fuel” use. J.A. 100. Since, as the majority vir-

tually concedes, this finding is supported by substantial

evidence, the Commission’s decision must be affirmed. See

Mobil Oil Co. v. FPC, 417 US. 283 (1974).*

The challenge to the Commission's decision with respect

to turbine use was raised principally by Arizona Electric

Power Cooperative [AEPCO], which, in its brief, re-

peatedly refers to its situation as “unique.” Whatever

injury AFPCO has suffered because of its allegedly

unique situation could be adequately redressed by reclassi-

fication or an increased gas allotment, if appropriate,

by petitioning for extraordinary relief.

'Withoul in any way urging it as a ground for decision,

I note that the proposed national energy policy, 5.1468, 95th

Cong., Ist Sess. (1977), favors conversion from natural gas

to coal by utilities engaged in the generation of electricity.

A-58

2

2) Pre-existing Shortage in California

I agree with the court that remand to adjust base

period data to account for after-acquired attachments of

new (mostly high priorily) users up to December 19,

1974, is proper. However, I disagree with the majority

that the Commission's consideration of pre-existing short-

ages of local and non-E] Paso gas in California was insuf-

ficient, Maj. Op. at 15-16, and I see no need for re

mand for further consideration of that issue.

The record shows that the two California customers of

1 Paso, Pacific Gas & Electric Company and Southern

California Gas Company, were partial requirements cus-

tomers of the pipeline; that is, both had other suppliers

than El Paso during and before the base period for com-

puting volumetric entitlements. As the court acknow-

ledges, Maj. Op. at 21, the Commission in Opinion No.

697 specifically discussed the question of pre-existing

shortages suffered by these partial requirements cus-

tomers due to reduced deliveries by their other suppliers.

J.A. 434-39. However, the court feels that consideration

fell “far short of providing a basis for justifying the

FPC’s failure to provide some relief to the California

users. . .” Maj. Op. at 21.

Unlike the majority, I believe the Commission has com-

plied with the terms of our remand in American Smelt-

ing & Refining Co. v. FPC, 494 F.2d 925, 942 (D.C.

Cir. 1974, cert. denied, 419 U.S. 882 (1974) [ASARCO}.

The ASARCO court required that the Commission “con-

ider the pre-existing shortages in California and .. .

enunciate findings with respect to that situation.” 7d.

The Commission has responded by reviewing the matter

and relying upon two rational policies developed earlier

and consistently applied here.

In Opinion No. 697 the Commission cited its earlier

Opinion No. 647, in which it enunciated an approach of

“allocat|ing| the impact of curtailment equally, insofar

A-S9

3

as may be possible, upon full and partial requirements

customers treating both in the same manner.” J.A. 435,

citing Opinion No. 647, at 14. The Commission therein

noted:

modification of our treatment of partial requirements

customers might be necessary to protect small volume

residential service in the event of extraordinarily

severe shortages requiring curtailment in the highest

priority categories.

Id. Under this exception for severe hardship, some full or

partial requirements customers of a curtailed pipeline

would be more severely curtailed so that a partial re-

quirements customer could offset other shortages. Here,

however, the Commission found:

In reviewing the record in the instant proceeding, we

find no indication that the reduced supplies available

to the California partial requirements customers

from sources other than El Paso, in combination with

a curtailment of entitlements from El Paso prorated

equally . . . will result in a shortage of such severity

as to warrant special treatment for the partial re-

quirements customers.

J.A. 435. Moreover, the Commission has indicated that

its general policy for regulating curtailments’? contem-

plates pipeline-by-pipeline regulation. Therefore, a par-

tial requirement customer impacted by curtailment on

each of its supplier pipelines cannot ordinarily expect any

one of those suppliers to make whole the customer’s short-

fall. Because a partial requirements customer’s expec-

tations from any given supplier may respond elastically to

shortages and oversupply, the Commission has chosen here

to base fulure entitlements upon past volumes taken from

El Paso. It subverts the Commission policies of equal

curtailment of full and partial requirements customers

and pipeline-by-pipeline regulation lo suggest, as the court

? Orders 467 & 467-B, codified as 18 C.F.R. § 2.78.

A-60

4

does, that the two California customers’ historic takes

must now be disregarded in favor of spongy estimates

of the volumes which would have been taken had cus-

tomers been allowed to lean more heavily upon El] Paso

to overcome other supply shortages.

This court recently affirmed a Commission decision not

to permit a municipality to interconnect with an inter-

state pipeline and thereby obtain an allocation of its

gas offsetting curtailments by the municipality’s own in-

terstate pipeline supplier. City of Huntingburg v. FPC,

F.2d (D.C. Cir. No. 75-2152, April 26, 1977).

As applied to a partial requirements customer of several

interstate pipelines, that decision seems to buttress the

Commission policy of pro rata curtailment of all cus-

tomers by pipeline within end-use categories. Because

California customers could use or procure alternative

fuels to make up their deficits, and were not in a worse

position to do so than East-of-California customers, the

Commission refused to permit exception to its policy

against allowing adjustments to the E] Paso entitlements

to take up the slack. This, it seems to me, was reasonable

and comports with the decision in Mobil, supra. I would

affirm the Commission on this issue.

3. Compensation

I find most troubling the majority’s extended discus-

sion of ’compensation schemes”—i.e., plans whereby those

pipeline customers who are relatively less affected by cur-

tailment would be required to provide cash compensation

to those customers relatively more affected. I agree

with the majority’s narrow holding on this subject,

namely, that in the absence of a definite plan offered

(or agreed to) by the parties, the Commission did not

err in refusing sua sponte to fashion a compensation

plan. In my view, however, much of the majority’s dis-

cussion of compensation is irrelevant to this case, and un-

necessary to its holding. In particular, I see no need for

A-61

us to reach the broader issue-——with which we grappled

in Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp. v. FP?'C, ——

F.2d —— (D.C. Cir. No. 74-2036, et al., November 29,

1976) | 7'ransco|—-of whether the Commission has author-

ity under the Natural Gas Act to approve and regulate

compensation among distributor cuslomers of a jurisdic-

tional pipeline. The issue raised in T'ransco was permis-

sive in nalure—z.c., does the’ Natural Gas Act allow com-

pensation which has heen agreed to by the parties, or

does it flatly bar it on jurisdictional grounds? The ma-

jority there held that factual material about the nature

and duration of shortage was necessary to guide the court

in ils inlerpretation of the stautory standards of “just

and reasonable” and “non-discriminatory” rates in the

novel context of alleged extreme shortage and allocation

by end-use priorities. Here, the question posed is a

simpler mandatory one: Does the Act require compensa-

tion in conjunction with end-use curtailment, and does

it therefore preclude the Commission from approving a

final curtailment plan based upon end-use without pro-

viding compensation? I have little difficully answering

this latter question in the negative, and I therefore join

the court’s holding that “nothing in the Natural Gas

Act’s instructions to the Commission to promulgate non-

discriminatory rates requires a compensation scheme,”

where the Commission believes justice can be done with-

out one, and none has been endorsed by the parties.

A-63

APPENDIX B

Notice: This opinion it subject to formal revision before publication

in the Federal Reporter or U.S.App.D.C. Reports. Users are requested

to notify the Clerk of any formal errors in order that corrections may be

made before the bound volumes go to press.

Uuited States Court of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 74-2123

City OF WILLCOX AND ARIZONA ELECTRIC POWER

JOOPERATIVE, INC., PETITIONERS

v.

FEDERAL POWER COMMISSION, RESPONDENT

San Disco Gas & Evectric Co., ET AL., INTERVEiS9RS

No. 75-1019

ARrizZONA Pupiic SERVICE COMPANY, PETITIONER

Vv.

FEDERAL POWER COMMISSION, RESPONDENT

SAN Dieco Gas & ELECTRIC CO., BT AL., INTERVENORS

No. 76-1062

NEVADA POWER COMPANY, PETITIONER

Vv.

FEDERAL POWER COMMISSION, RESPONDENT

AMERICAN SMELTING & REFINING CO., &T AL.,

INTERVENORS

Bills of costs must be filed within 14 days after entry of judgment. Tho

court looks with disfavor upon motions to file bills of costs out of time.

A-64

2

No. 75-1245

Paciric GAS AND ELECTRIC COMPANY, PETITIONER

Ve

FreppraL POWER COMMISSION, RESPONDENT

SouTHERN UNION GAS Co., ET AL., INTERVENORS

No. 75-1246

San Disco Cas & ELectTric COMPANY, PETITIONER

Vv.

FEDERAL POWER COMMISSION, RESPONDENT

SouTnerRN UNION GAS CoO., ET AL., INTERVENORS

No. 75-1247

SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA GAS COMPANY, PETITIONER

V.

FreEDERAL POWFR COMMISSION, RESPONDENT

SAN Dieco GAS, ET AL., INTERVENORS

No. 75-1248

SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA EDISON COMPANY, PETITIONER

Vv.

FEDERAL POWER COMMISSION, RESPONDENT

NEVADA PowER Co., ET AL., INTERVENORS

On Motions for Clarification and/or Stay

and on Petitions for Rehearing

A-65

3

Filed August 18, 1977

Before BAZELON, Chief Judge, and TAMM and Mac-

KINNON, Circuit Judges.

Arnold D. Berkeley was on the motion of Petitioners,

City of Willcox and Arizona Power Cooperative, Inc., for

stay of second interim curtailment plan.

Thomas DPD. Clarke was on the response of Petitioners,

Southern California Gas Co., to motion for stay of sec-

ond interim curtailment plan.

Drexel D. Journey, Allan Abbot Tuttle, and Thomas

M. Walsh were on the response of Respondent, Federal

Power Commission, to motion for stay.

Arnold D. Berkeley was on the reply of Petitioners,

City of Willcox and Arizona Electric Power Cooperative,

Inc., to oppositions to the motion for stay of second

interim curtailment plan.

Thomas D. Clarke was on the answer of Petitioner,

Southern California Gas Company, to reply to Petitioners

(City of Willcox and Arizona Power Cooperative, Inc.)

for stay of second interim curtailment plan.

Joel L. Greene and Richard H. Silverman were on the

motion of Intervenor, Salt River Project Agricultural Im-

provement and Power District, for clarification of court’s

opinion.

Arnold D. Berkeley was on the petition for rehearing of

Petitioners, City of Willeox and Arizona Electric Power

Cooperative, Inc.

Thomas D. Clarke was on the petition for rehearing of

Petitioner, Southern California Gas Company.

A-66

4

Malcolm 11. Furbush and Howard V. Golub were on the

petition for rehearing of Intervenor, Pacific Gas and

Klectrie Company.

C. Frank Reifsnyder and George W. Wise were on the

petitioner for rehearing of Intervenor, E] Paso Natural

Gas Company.

ORDER

Upon consideration of the motion of petitioners in

Appeal No. 74-2123 for stay in the second interim cur-

tailment plan, the responses thereto, said petitioners’ re-

ply, and the answer of petitioner, Southern California

Gas Company to the reply, it is

ORDERED, by the Court that the motion for slay is

denied for the reasons set forth in the opinion for the

court filed this date.

Per Curiam

ORDER

Upon consideration of the motion of Intervenor, Salt

River Project Agricultural Improvement and Power Dis-

trict for clarification of this court’s opinion, it is

ORDERED, by the Court, that the motion is denied

for the reasons set forth in the opinion for the court filed

this date.

Per Curiam

ORDER

Upon consideration of the petitions for rehearing filed

by Petitioners in Appeal No. 74-2123 and by Intervenors,

El Paso Natural Gas Co., and Pacific Gas and Electric

C»., it is

ORDERED by the Court that the aforesaid petitions

are denied.

Per Curiam

A-67

5 ;

Opinion for the Court filed by Circuit Judge Mac-

KINNON.

MACKINNON, Circuit Judge: On June 30, 1977, this

court decided City of Willcox, et al. », Federal lower

Commission, No. 74-2123 et al. In that case, we re-

viewed an interim curtailment plan for deliveries of

natural gas on the El Paso Natural Gas System. This

plan, which was formulated in Federal Power Com-

mission Opinion Nos. 697 and 697A, was found deficient

in five respects. We remanded the case to the Commis-

sion with instructions to implement our holdings re-

garding those deficiencies. Slip Op. at 56.

On June J, 1977, the Commission issued Order Denyy-

ing Rehearing and Accepting Tariff Sheets, which had

the effect of directing the implementation on July 1, 1977

of the interim curtailment plan which was the subject

of our June 30, 1977 opinion. On July 14, 1977, the City

of Willcox (Willeox) and Arizona Electric Power Co-

operative, Inc. (AFPCO) petitioned this court to stay

the FPC’s June 1, 1977 order.

On July 12, 1977, Salt River Project Agricultural

Improvement and Power District (Salt River) presented

a motion for clarification of our June 30, 1977 opinion.

Several other parties have also each petitioned for re-

hearing on certain aspects of our opinion.’

We take judicial notice of the FPC’s Order Denying

Motion for Stay, Granting Rehearing, Modifying Cur-

tailment. Plan, Establishing Further Hearings, Consoti-

dating Ilearings, and Requiring Action to Obtain Re-

mand of Record, issued July 29, 1977. The Commission

ordered the interim curtailment plan developed in Opin-

' These parties are Willcox, AEPCO, Pacific Gas and Elec-

trie Co., and El Paso Natural Gas Co.

A-68

6

ion Nos. 697 and 697A? lo remain in effect, subject to

certain modifications we ordered in City of Willcox. Spe-

cifically, the Commission directed that fuel devoted to

ignition and flame stabilization remain in Priority 2

status" (see Slip Op. at 18-20, 56); that electricity-

generating turbine fuel be placed in Priority 3 rather

than Priorities 4 and 5 (see Slip Op. at 20-25, 56);

and that attachments of new residential and commercial

users up to December 19, 1974 be included in base period

requirements (see Slip Op. at 26-29, 33, 56). The Com-

mission also directed that hearings be held to provide a

record for determining (1) whether electricily-generating

turbine fuel should be reclassified from Priority 3; (2)

whether Arizona Public Service Co. and Tucson Gas and

Electric Co. were dilatory in obtaining state permis-

sion to reject new customers after December, 1974, and

whether an additional base period adjustment should be

permitted these customers for attachments occurring be-

tween December 19, 1974 and the date of state imposi-

tion of a new attachment moratorium (see Slip Op. at

29, 33); (3) how to take into account pre-existing short-

ages of natural gas

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.