Appellants Brief — Philadelphia v. New Jersey

Supreme Court brief1978

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

FILED

JAN 12 1978

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1977.

No. 77-404.

CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, CITY OF GLEN COVE, LANDFILL

AND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY, MAC SANITARY

LANDFILL, INC., KINSLEYS LANDFILL, INC., and

DeLORENZO-INTERSTATE WASTE REMOVAL CO., INC.

(Now INTERSTATE WASTE REMOVAL CO., INC.),

Appellants,

oD.

STATE OF NEW JERSEY, DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRON-

MENTAL PROTECTION OF THE STATE OF NEW

JERSEY and RICHARD J. SULLIVAN, Commissioner of the

Department of Environmental Protection of the State of New

Jersey,

Appellees.

On Appeal From the Supreme Court of the State of

New Jersey.

BRIEF OF APPELLANTS.

HERBERT F. Moore,

ARTHUR MEISEL,

Jamieson, McCaRDELL,

Joun R. Papova, Moore, Peskin & SPICER,

Soto & Papova, A Professional Corporation,

3rd Floor, Lewis Tower Building, 19 Chancery Lane,

15th and Locust Streets, Trenton, N. J. 08618

Philadelphia, Penna. 19102 (609) 396-5511

Special Legal Consultant to

Appellant City of Philadelphia. Attorneys for Appellants.

international Printing Co., 711 So. SOth St., Phila., Pa. 19143 — Tel. (215) 727-8711

7” Supreme Court, U. $,

a a cesatiede

a at lates

Co a ee ee

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ...............0.000cceeeee:

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ....................0000.

A.

C.

D.

The Interstate Movement of Solid or Liquid Waste

for Purposes of Resource Recovery, Treatment or

Disposal Is Commerce Within the Meaning of the

ESSE rE ara re

P. L. 1973, c. 363, on Its Face Discriminates Against

and Directly Burdens Interstate Commerce .......

A State Statute That Prohibits Persons From Bring-

ing Solid and Liquid Waste Into a State Is in Conflict

With a Federal Statute That (a) Requires Coopera-

tion in the Establishment of Solid Waste Manage-

ment Plans for Interstate Regions, and (b) Provides

for the Issuance of Federal Permits to Owners and

Operators of Hazardous Waste Treatment, Storage

OE has Ch ncaedadidecckccscedcs

Hazardous Waste Management ..............

Interstate Solid Waste Management ..........

Appellants Were Unconstitutionally Denied a Plenary

Hearing on the Merits of Their Claim ............

SPEED cc Se cbesceccwesscosecnevevscedcscceccce

TABLE OF CITATIONS.

Cases: Page

Alexandria Scrap Corporation v. Hughes, 391 F. Supp. 46

(Md. 1975), rev. 426 U. S. 794 (1976) ............... 31

Asbell v. Kansas, 209 U. S. 251 (1908) ................... 35

Baldwin v. G. A. F. Seelig, 294 U. S. 511 (1935) ........... 44

Best & Co. v. Maxwell, 311 U. S. 454 (1940) ..... iveauueen 35, 40

Bourjois, Inc. v. Chapman, 301 U. S. 183 (1937) ........... 34

Brimmer v. Rebman, 138 U. S. 78 (1891) ................. 37

Brinkerhoff-Faris Co. v. Hill, 281 U. S. 673 (1930) ......... 74

Cities Service Co. v. Peerless Co., 340 U. S. 179 (1950) ..... 34

City of Altus, Oklahoma v. Carr, 255 F. Supp. 828 (W. D.

Tex. 1966), affd 385 U. S. 35 (1966) ................. 44

City of Burbank v. Lockheed Air Terminal, 411 U. S. 624

DD istniducukdudenecaneenesdeaahehaenteadtuces 68

City of Philadelphia v. State Dept. of Environ. Protec., 73

DE cuteccdsconbbbeetedeotubehabenechas 2

City of Philadelphia v. State, 376 A. 2d 888 (N. J. Sup. Ct.

De Lidudvdiernubeatachsacddatakdsdendconkoisedaa 2

Colorado Comm'n v. Continental, 372 U. S. 714 (1963) ..... 68

Dahnke-Walker Co. v. Bondurant, 257 U. S. 282 (1921) .... 26

Dean Milk Co. v. Madison, 340 U. S. 349 (1951) .......... 34, 35

Douglas v. Seacoast Products, Inc., 431 U. S. 265 (1977) . .41, 62, 63

Federal Radio Commission v. Nelson Bros. Bond & Mortgage

Gis Se is Oe ED hike ccc vecdcesc cave vccesees 28

Foster-Fountain Packing Co. v. Haydel, 278 U. S. 110 (1928)

28, 32

FPC v. Florida Power & Light Co., 404 U. S. 453 (1972) .... 2

Gibbons v. Ogden, 22 U. S. 1 (1824) .................... 62

Grannis v. Ordean, 234 U. S. 385 (1914) ................. 73

Great A. & P. Tea Co. v. Cottrell, 424 U. S. 366 (1976) ..... 34

Hackensack Meadowlands v. Mun. Landfill Auth., 127 N. J.

Super. 160 (Ch. 1974), rev. 68 N. J. 451 (1975), prob.

juris noted 425 U. S. 910 (1976), remanded sub nom.

Philadelphia v. New Jersey, — U. S. — (1977) ....... passim

we

TABLE OF CITATIONS (Continued).

Cases (Continued): Page

Head v. New Mexico Boar” 774 U. S. 424 (1963) ......... 40

Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U. S. 52 (1940) ................ 60

Horn v. Community Refuse Disposal, Inc., 186 Neb. 43, 180

N. W. 2d GOL (Sup. Ce. 1970) .........ccccccccccess 56

H. P. Hood & Sous, Inc. v. Dumond, 336 U. S. 525 (1949) .. 41

Hunt v. Washington State Apple Advertising Commission, —

i et GED ac iweeddnescueehsacduuhsserndees ses 35, 45

Huron Cement Co. v. Detroit, 362 U. S. 440 (1960) ..... 40, 41, 63

Jones v. Rath Packing Co., 430 U. S. 519 (1977), reh. den. 431

a END Swan cdcéchedhteenscteccicsenncd 59, 60, 68

Judson v. Peoples Bank & Trust Co. of Westfield, i7 N. J. 57

SEED dsncdend Uhenedédesnbacodensddectecsacecenss 69

Mascaro & Sons, Inc. v. O'Hara, Inc., — F. 2d — (3 Cir.

1977), 1977-2 Trade Cases, § 61,727 ..............24:: 30, 42

Minnesota v. Barber, 136 U. S. 313 (1890) ............... 38

Mullane v. Central Hanover Tr. Co., 339 U. S. 306 (1950) .. 73

Myers v. City of Hagerstown, 214 Md. 312, 135 A. 2d 147

CG, Bee, BEBE) ecccccccvcccccccccccccccccccecsecs 56

Oklahoma v. Kansas Nat. Gas Co., 221 U.S. 229 (1911) .... 43

Oreg.-Washington Co. v. Washington, 270 U. S. 87 (1926) . .38, 39

Penna. v. West Virgina, 262 U. S. 553 (1923) ............. 43

Perez v. Campbell, 402 U. S. 637 (1971) ................- 60, 67

Philadelphia v. New Jersey, — U. S. — (1977), on remand

Be Be GE ene caccvesbcccesscqseseseoccsces passim

Pike v. Bruce Church, Inc., 397 U. S. 137 (1970) .......... 35

Pipe Line Cases, 234 U. S. 548 (1914) ...............-45. 28

Plumley v. Massachusetts, 155 U. S. 461 (1894) ........... 3, 37

Polar Ice Cream & Creamery Co. v. Andrews, 375 U. S. 361

CTD ccccccceccccecdecccccesesccsovetvcevecesece 44

Public Utilities Comm. v. Landon, 249 U.S. 236 (1919) .... 2

Railroad Co. v. Husen, 95 U. S. 465 (1877) ...... 36, 37, 38, 39, 40

Rasmussen v. Idaho, 181 U. S. 198 (1901) ................ 38, 39

Rearick v. Pennsylvania, 203 U. S. 507 (1906) ............ 28

TABLE OF CITATIONS (Continued).

Cases (Continued): Page

Rhodes v. Houston, 202 F. Supp. 624 (D. Neb. 1962), affd

309 F. 2d 959 (8th Cir. 1962), cert. den. 372 U. S. 909

CE Ge We GB GES CD ccccccesccscccceccceces 74

Rocchi v. Zoning Bd. of App. of Town of Glastonbury, 157

Conn. 106, 248 A. 2d 922 (Sup. Ct. 1968) ............ 56

Savage v. Jones, 225 U. S. 501 (1912) .................... 3

Schollenberger v. Pennsylvania, 131 U. S. 1 (1898) ......... 34

Scott v. Donald, 165 U. S. 58 (1897) ..................0.. 38

Shafer v. Farmers Grain Co., 268 U. S. 189 (1925) ......... 28

Southern Pacific Co. v. Arizona, 325 U. S. 761 (1945) ...... 34

Telegraph Co. v. Texas, 105 U. S. 460 (1882) ............. 28

Thornton v. United States, 271 U. S. 414 (1926) ........... 28

United States v. Pennsylvania Refuse Removal Ass'n, 242 F.

Supp. 794 (E. D. Pa. 1965), affd 357 F. 2d 806 (3rd

Cir. 1966), cert. den. 384 U. S. 961 (1966) ............ 29, 30

U. S. v. Underwriters Assn, 322 U. S. 533 (1944) .......... 28

Wood v. Town of Wilton, 156 Conn. 304, 240 A. 2d 904 (Sup.

Ek SD ndccdjoncceadncacesegebiyessequdchbawention 56

Statutes:

United States

Ph Tl denn cncenedebeneeedestesssesecndenasess 29

SED, <ccntddncvntahnccnebuvenesidenadenicn 3

ey Oe ED on ndcanédsennendectadcacsnaesasonss 3

Ct cL hivsne ceeenseceeteeonennnees Gahanna 23

EE vitnecnebecadddndabavensdpeneiennda 23, 54, 55

enn ddadddednedekadewmendumenn 62

ink cnc etteneceheucesntssekeneednnle 61, 62

a did ds behasendbeskimnrenweseaaue 61, 62

Ec dnbphunctedendeindadusndatéemiensadsens 61, 62

Eo bitinssesinctensscnsereeseduatansectas 61

CT coc cevnecencteshecebentmmnnaenell 61, 62

TABLE OF CITATIONS (Continued).

Statutes (Continued): Page

United States (Continued)

4B U. S.C. $OBEB(a) .. 22. cece ccc ccc cece cccceeeccccces 65

4B U.S. C. $ OBE 2... cc cece cece cece cece ccc ecccccees 45, 54

42 U.S. C. § OB4B(c)(1) .. 2.2... cece cece eee ee eee ee eees 65

42 U. S. C. § OB4B(c)(2) ... 0... cece cece eee ee ee ee eeeee 65

4B U.S. C. $OBIB(O) 2... ccc cc cccc cece cece ccccccencees 66

New Jersey

N. J. S. A. UB:UD-Ta 2.2... eee e cece eee e eee ee cence 47

N. J. S. A. IB:UD-IS 20.2... cece e cece cece cece cence eecees 47

N. J. S. A. UB:DBR] 20.2... c cece cece cece cece cccccceccs 31

N. J. S. A. IB:UE-Be 2.2... cc eee e cece cece eee neceeeee 32

N. J. S. A. UB:IE-GB ... 2... eee eee eee eee cece cece eeeees 63

Nk. snchnarseustscnsbecesensaraes 63

N. J. S. A. IB:IE-GB 2.0... cece cece cece cece eeeneees 47

N. J. S. A. 13:1I-1 et seq. ....-.---- ee ee cece eee eee ee eeees 45

N. J. S. A. UB:Ui-4e 2.1... eee eee eee eee eee reece eeeceee 46

N. J. S. A. QB:YA-T 2... c eee cece cece eee cent eet eeeeees 46

N. J. S. A. S2:22B-1 0... cece cece eee cent ee eeeee 8, 67

N. J. S. A. 32:27-1, et seq. .....---- eee eee e cece eee eeee 66

N. J. S. A. 4B:2-13 0.2... eee cece cece cence cence eeeceeee 31

N, J. S. A. 48:2-23 2.2... cece eee eee cece ence cece eeeee 53

N. J. S. A. 48:13A-L, et seq. ....- 6... cece cece e cece cece 31

aS eS Pee passim

Connecticut

C. G. S. A. § ID-BOD .. 2... ccc c ccc cece cece eee csccccccees 8, 67

Pennsylvania

BB B.S. GODOT 2... ccc cree cccccccccccccccccccccccces 44

TBD. DB. GTOB .ncccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccesccce 66

New York

McK Unconsol. Laws § 830 ............--20eeeee eee eeees 8, 67

TABLE OF CITATIONS (Continued).

Canstiiatiens Rete Page

U. S. Constitution

Aatiefe 1, Ses. G, oh. B ... ceccccccccncscccunensue 18, 19, 20

EE ——=—“_ 73, 76

TTT tt— Ke

Poustesmth Amendment ......cccccesccccccsscesesuuenee 73, 76

Administrative Regulations

United States

4D CPR OSES ..ccccccccecsccsessessannnuannnnee 66

4D CPR '§ SEEDS... cccccccccccescossesssseneueeeel 66

@ CPR GGURBMe) «. .0000c00cecccsssnnneeeeeee 66

GD CPR 6SEEED .. cccccccccccessecesennannnnnenenee 66

4D CPR §STEGS .... .ccccccccescecececesennnneneeee 66

4 CPR §SFEGMe) ....cccccscccccccsessccnunnaneeel 66

New Jersey

BE. 3. A. G. Feb .. ccccccccccecenssseucnueneeeee 15

MN. 3. A. G FebOS ..cccccccccccccececesenuunnene 15

N. J. A. C. 7:26-1, et seq. (proposed) ..............+.-- 18, 31, 48

BE. 3. A. C. THBEAGD .. cc ccccccccccssccsuscanneeeeeeee 58

ee ST tt— 57

BE. 3. A. GC. TBGRA .....<0:000000500ceueunneee 49, 58

2. A. C. TABOR . nn cvccccccccesceccesensneeeeeee 48

M. Bb A CG FBGRS ....cccccccccscscscugunnneeee 49

MB A. CG FB GBS .cciccccscccccscesssesenseeee 49

CB. A. G FDO 2. cccccscccvccccdcocusessnsneneeee 49

0. B.A. G FEBGRS .. ce ccccccccccsssescsunsuneneeeene 49

ME. A. G FeBOES ..ncccccecccceetsecsecussanneeuee 51

M.S. A. C. TABOR oc cccccccccccsscocscceusnsenenueee 51

BB. A G FBG 2. cvccccseccccsccoscsusneennaenee 51

0. 3. A. C, FeBGERD 2c ccccccccccessecscseccuseenenenn 51

i. B.A. C. FORE on ccccccccccccscecsaccsessneueee 50

BE. B.A. CG FAROE . ccccceccscocsssosncscossoesncnans 50

BE. B.A. GC FBGRR .ncccccccccccccesscsscesuesunanel 53

at

TABLE OF CITATIONS (Continued).

Administrative Regulations (Continued): Page

New Jersey (Continued)

ELL LEE 53

Ne es cca ccceeesnecccccesess 53

EE oe ccccccccecccesesesecesccescces 53

EELS EEE EE 53

Nee ced ccc ceeceececocecvcceees 53

sc cc cccccccececocecoecccevecess 49

Ne ee ccc cc ecececceccsceecess 52

Neda e rede cacesececcceccececcess 52

Ne eee aces en esoeeccesvecescces 52

Nees cece ececccceccones 52

EEE SEPP CETTE EET ETTT ES 51

EEE ET PTET TTT ETTTTTTT 52

EES SISSIES SEPA SEPT PEEP 52, 53

Other Authorities:

Annotation, “Public Dump as Nuisance”,52 ALR 2d 114... 56

Municipal Refuse Disposal, 3rd ed. (Chicago: Public Admin-

istration Service, 1970) ...........0cccccceecceuueess 56

New Jersey State Sanitary Code ................... 10, 46, 47, 48

New Jersey State Solid Waste Management Plan (Newark:

Planners Associates, Inc., 1970) ..................4.. 10, 47

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcrosBeR TERM, 1977.

No. 77-404.

CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, CITY OF GLEN COVE,

LANDFILL AND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY,

MAC SANITARY LANDFILL, INC., KINSLEY’S

LANDFILL, INC, anp DELORENZO-INTERSTATE

WASTE REMOVAL CO., INC. (Now INTERSTATE

WASTE REMOVAL CO., INC.),

Appellants,

0.

STATE OF NEW JERSEY, DEPARTMENT OF EN-

VIRONMENTAL PROTECTION OF THE STATE

OF NEW JERSEY anp RICHARD J. SULLIVAN,

COMMISSIONER OF THE DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRON-

MENTAL PROTECTION OF THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY,

Appellees.

On APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

STATE OF NEw JERSEY.

BRIEF OF APPELLANTS.

OPINIONS BELOW.

The opinion of the Superior Court of New Jersey, Law

Division, declaring P. L. 1973, c. 363 (N. J. S. A. 13:1I-9,

10) unconstitutional is not reported (A6). The opinion

2 Brief of Appellants

of the Superior Court of New Jersey, Chancery Division,

in the companion case Hackensack Meadowlands v. Mun.

Landfill Auth. is reported in the official reports at 127

N. J. Super. 160 (Ch. 1974), and in the unofficial reports

at 316 A. 2d 711 (Al4). The opinion of the New Jersey

Supreme Court, reversing the trial court’s decisions in each

of the aforesaid cases, is published in the official reports as

Hackensack Meadowlands v. Mun. Landfill Auth., 68 N. J.

451 (1975), and in the unofficial reports as Hackensack

Mead. Dev. Com’n v. Municipal L. A., 348 A. 2d 505

(N. J. Sup. Ct. 1975) (A32). Said opinion is cited as

Hackensack Meadowlands v. Mun. Landfill Auth., 68 N. J.

451 (1975) in the within Brief. The opinion of the New

Jersey Supreme Court, on remand from this Court, is pub-

lished in the official reports as City of Philadelphia v. State

Dept. of Environ. Protec., 73 N. J. 562 (1977), and in the

unofficial reports as City of Philadelphia v. State, 376 A. 2d

888 (N. J. Sup. Ct. 1977) (A62). Said opinion is cited as

Philadelphia v. New Jersey, 73 N. J. 562 (1977) in the

within Brief.

Brief of Appellants 3

JURISDICTION.

This matter is brought pursuant to 28 U. S. C.

§ 1257(2) and in the alternative, 28 U. S. C. § 1257(3)

to set aside two separate judgménts of the New Jersey

Supreme Court. The first judgment, which upheld the

constitutionality of P. L. 1973, c. 363 against an attack on

Commerce Clause grounds, was rendered on November

18, 1975 and entered on the same date. This Court noted

probable jurisdiction over the appeal on April 5, 1976, 425

U. S. 910 (1976). Following oral argument, the judg-

ment of the New Jersey Supreme Court was vacated and

the case remanded “for reconsideration in light of the

Resource Conservation and Recovery Act of 1976”, Phila-

delphia v. New Jersey, — U. S. — (1977) (Slip sheet opin-

ion, pp. 1-2) (A60). The second judgment, which was

rendered and entered on June 20, 1977, upheld the con-

stitutionality of P. L. 1973, c. 363 against an attack on

Supremacy Clause grounds, and additionally “reaffirm[ed]

the views expressed in our earlier opinion, reported in 68

N. J. 451 (1975), as well as the judgment there set forth,

supplemented and modified by what is stated above”

(A74). A notice of appeal to the Supreme Court of the

United States from both judgments was thereafter filed in

the New Jersey Supreme Court on July 22, 1977 (A307).

The jurisdiction of the Supreme Court of the United

States to review this suit (a) by direct appeal is conferred

by Title 28, United States Code, Section 1257(2), and

alternatively (b) by certiorari is conferred by Title 28,

United States Code, Section 1257(3).

4 3 Brief of Appellants

STATUTE INVOLVED.

The text of P. L. 1973, c. 363, the constitutional valid-

ity of which is involved in the present suit, reads as

follows:

“The legislature finds and determines that since

the enactment of P. L. 1973, c. 39 (C 13:1I-1

et seq.) the volume of solid and liquid waste

continues to rapidly increase, that the treatment

and disposal of these wastes continues to pose an

even greater threat to the quality of the environ-

ment of New Jersey, that the available and ap-

propriate land fill sites within the State are being

diminished, that the environment continues to be

threatened by the treatment and disposal of waste

which originated or was collected outside the

State, and that the public, health, safety and wel-

fare require that the treatment and disposal

within this State of all wastes generated outside

of the State be prohibited.

“No person shall bring into this State any solid

or liquid waste which originated or was collected

outside the territorial limits of the State, except

garbage to be fed to swine in the State of New

Jersey, until the commissioner shall determine

that such action can be permitted without en-

dangering the public health, safety and welfare

and has promulgated regulations permitting and

regulating the treatment and disposal of such

waste in this State. Any person violating this

provision shall be subject to the penalty and en-

forcement provisions of the “Waste Control Act,’

P. L. 1973, c. 39.”

Said statute is published in the pocket part of Title 13,

New Jersey Statutes Annotated, Section 11-9 and 11-10 at

pp. 85-86.

Brief of Appellants 5

QUESTIONS PRESENTED.

1. Is the interstate movement of solid or liquid waste

for purposes of resource recovery, treatment or disposal

“commerce” within the meaning of the Commerce Clause?

2. Does a state statute which prohibits the entry into

the state of any solid or liquid waste (except garbage to

be fed to swine in the state) collected in another state,

discriminate against or place and undue burden upon in-

terstate commerce?

3. Is a state statute that prohibits persons from bring-

ing solid and liquid waste into a state in conflict with a

federal statute that (a) requires cooperation in the estab-

lishment of solid waste management plans for interstate

regions, and (b) provides for the issuance of federal per-

mits to owners and operators of hazardous waste treat-

ment, storage or disposal facilities?

4. In reversing an order granting a motion for sum-

mary judgment, may an appellate court constitutionally

decide the case on its merits without offering the moving

parties an opportunity to be heard on the material issues

of fact raised by their complaint prior to the final deter-

mination?

6 Brief of Appellants

STATEMENT OF THE CASE.

This case challenges the constitutionality, on Com-

merce and Supremacy Clause grounds, of a statute which

prohibits a person from bringing into New Jersey “any

solid or liquid waste which originated or was collected

outside the territorial limits of the State... .” P. L. 1973,

c. 363.

Legislative efforts to prohibit the treatment or dis-

posal in New Jersey of solid waste collected outside the

State were first initiated seven and one half years ago with

the introduction of S. 834 in the New Jersey Senate on

May 4, 1970.’ Section 2 of that bill, entitled “An Act to

prevent the treatment and disposal within this State of

solid waste collected outside this State”, provided as

follows:

“Notwithstanding the provisions of any other law

to the contrary, no solid waste collected from any lo-

cation without the territorial limits of this State shall

be treated or disposed of in any solid waste disposal

facility located within this State.”

By written memorandum dated May 8, 1970,? the

Commissioner of the New Jersey Department of Environ-

mental Protection advised the Governor that the Depart-

ment supported “. . . the concept of prohibiting the im-

portation of out-of-state garbage” into New Jersey, and

recommended that the bill be signed, if passed by the

legislature. The reason for the Department's position was

explained by the Commissioner as follows:

“... The amount of land available in landfills

is rapidly being depleted. It is in the interests of the

1. Copies of bills introduced in the New Jersey ture are

available at the New Jersey State Library in Trenton, New Jersey.

2. Said memorandum is contained in the file of the Counsel to

the Governor, maintained in the State Archives at the New Jersey

State Library, Trenton, New Jersey.

Brief of Appellants 7

State to reserve the available land for the disposal of

solid wastes originating in the State.”

No mention was made of public health or environmental

quality.

Although S. 834 passed the Senate, it did not move

in the Assembly and died at the end of the legislative ses-

sion.*

A bill almost identical to S. 834, A. 1019, was intro-

duced in the New Jersey Assembly on April 12, 1972.

Like its predecessor, A. 1019 expressly prohibited the treat-

ment or disposal in New Jersey of any solid waste collected

outside the State.

Less than one month later, on May 4, 1972, a second

bill, A. 1132, denominated the Waste Control Act, was

introduced by the same Assemblyman. Unlike A. 1019

which contemplated direct statutory prohibition, A. 1132

conferred upon the Commissioner of the Department of

Environmental Protection the power to regulate and pro-

hibit the incineration and landfill in New Jersey of solid

waste collected outside the State.* In his “statement” at-

tached to the bill, the sponsor commented:

“, . . This bill recognizes that the citizens of New

Jersey do not have the luxury of unlimited resources

and disposal sites. The bill also reflects an aware-

ness that the continuing use of New Jersey lands for

solid waste disposal facilities . . . presents an un-

3. Information with respect to bills introduced in the New

Jersey Legislature is available in the New Jersey Legislative Index.

4. Section 4 of the Act ted to the Commissioner of the

Department of Environmental Protection the specific

“power to formulate and Pa, amend and repeal orders,

rules and regulations prohibiting, conditioning and controlling

the incineration or landfill of solid waste and the treatment or

disposal of liquid wastes within the State which originated or

were collected outside the territorial limits of the State.”

N. J. S. A. 13:11-4a

4 Brief of Appellants

fortunate picture of the State, particularly in the

Hackensack Meadowlands area.”

By memorandum dated October 3, 1972,° the Presi-

dent of the New Jersey Public Utilities Commission urged

the Governor to veto A. 1132, if passed, due to the poten-

tial for retributive action:

“If New Jersey prohibits waste collected outside

the State from being dumped within the State, it may

find that reciprocal action will be taken by neighbor-

ing states wherein New Jersey disposes of its solid

wastes; e.g., Philadelphia dumps in New Jersey and

New Jersey dumps in Pennsylvania.”

A. 1019 was never adopted, but A. 1132, the Waste

Control Act, passed the legislature and was signed by the

Governor on February 21, 1973. The adverse recom-

mendation of the President of the. New Jersey Public

Utilities Commission was not accepted.

Upon signing the bill, the Governor issued a press

release ® in which he stated that the Waste Control Act

represented “. . . a significant step in controlling the daily

influx of trash and garbage from adjoining states which

threatens to engulf New Jersey's remaining sanitary landfill

sites”.

Two and one-half months later, on May 7, 1973, at a

conference on waste management sponsored by the Tri-

State Regional Planning Commission," Grant F. Walton,

Director of the Division of Environmental Quality, New

5. See footnote 2, supra.

6. Press releases issued by the Governors of New Jersey are

now collected and maintained at the New Jersey State Library,

Trenton, New Jersey.

7. Said Commission was formed by virtue of an interstate com-

between the states of Connecticut, New Jersey and New York

. G. S. A. § 16-339 et seq.; N. J. S. A. 32:22B-1 et seq.; McK

Unconsol. Laws § 830 et seq.

Brief of Appellants 9

Jersey Department of Environmental Protection, made

reference to the newly-enacted statute, saying:

“I mentioned that New Jersey had just passed

legislation to give us control over the material that

comes in from out of state. . . .”

“, . » The great temptation would be just to pro-

hibit all materials from coming into the state of New

Jersey . . . but we don't feel that is responsible or

realistic.” *

(Emphasis added )

The expressed temptation to prohibit was unquestion-

ably motivated by political and not environmental con-

cerns. In his prepared address at the Waste Management

Conference, Mr. Walton readily acknowledged the en-

vironmental integrity of sanitary landfills and their poten-

tial for reclaiming ravaged lands for public recreational

use: “The health hazard, water and air pollution and

methane gas problems commonly associated with land-

fills,” he said, “can be eliminated through the proper design

and operation of the facility . . . Properly done, aban-

doned surface mines can become parks, playgrounds and

golf courses of the future with little or no detriment to

the environment.” *

8. Presentation by Grant F. Walton published in Proceedings

of the Waste Management Con , “Partnership for Waste

Management”, Tri-State Regional Planning Commission, New York,

1973, p. 101.

9. Id., at 74.

An identical conclusion was expressed in the New Jersey Solid

Waste Management Plan, app by the United States Environ-

mental Protection Agency as the official State Plan for New Jersey:

“There is no techno reason why we cannot dispose

of solid waste with mini contvenanentel | harm.”

o co s

“It is not unusual for a properly designed and constructed

sanitary landfill to become an asset to the local area.

10 Brief of Appellants Brief of Appellants ll

Consistent with Mr. Walton’s remarks no action was | Less than a month later, on November 8, 1973, the

taken by the Commissioner of the Department of Environ- Commissioner published proposed Rules Governing the

mental Protection to prohibit the incineration or landfill Bureau of Solid Waste Management. Consistent with the

in New Jersey of solid waste collected outside the state. October 19, 1973 directive from Acting Governor

Almost 8 months passed without further visible ac- Beadleston, the proposed Rules contained a provision un-

tivity. Then on October 19, 1973, Acting Governor Alfred conditionally prohibiting the disposal of out-of-state waste

N. Beadleston published a tersely worded press release in New Jersey," N. J. A. C. 7:26-1.8 (proposed ).

saying, in part: The New Jersey Department of Environmnetal Pro-

“I have today directed C issioner Richard J. tection expressed the reasons for the proposed ban in para-

Sullivan of the Department of Environmental Protec-

tion to initiate immediately the legal process to ban

all dumping of out-of-state garbage in New Jersey.

“[If a ban is not promptly imposed], the people

of New Jersey will be forced to pay much higher costs

for waste removal because available landfill dumping

areas are filled up.” *°

9. (Cont'd. )

“The Department of Environmental Protection, under

Chapter 39, continues to enforce the Public Health Council

State Sanitary Code as it pertains to refuse disposal. That is,

the Bureau of Solid Waste Management still has Chapter VIII

of the State Sanitary Code with which to regulate and assure

nuisance-free operation of di sites in conformance with

good practice and health standards.”

New Jersey State Solid Waste Management Plan ( Newark:

Planners Associates, Inc., 1970) pp. 2, 71 and 78.

10. The text of the entire press release reads as follows:

“I have today directed Commissioner Richard J. Sullivan

of the Department of Environmental Protection to initiate im-

mediately the legal process to ban all dumping of out-of-state

garbage in New Jersey. I have taken this action after con-

sultation by telephone with Governor William T. Cahill and

with his =

This ban will be accomplished either by legislation or by

regulation issued by Commissioner Sullivan pursuant to the

State Waste Control Act, Chapter 39 of the Public Laws of

1973. The State will proceed under whichever of those two

legal methods is faster and more effective.

I have issued this directive after thorough consultation

with Commissioner Sullivan and Attorney General Kugler. The

10. (Cont'd. )

ban against the dumping of garbage from either New York or

Pennsylvania will be strictly enforced, when it becomes effec-

tive, with the full resources of the Department of Environ-

— Protection and the State Department of Law and Public

_™ Jersey cannot continue to tolerate the grave environ-

mental dangers being created by the dumping of garbage in

New J from New York or any other state. This is a

sovereign State, not a dumping ground, and this State Govern-

ment will act decisively to protect the health and welfare of its

citizens. Not only does out-of-state dumping immediate

environmen — tal ' —~ oo but over Ay ney. the

e of New Jersey wi fe) to mu i costs

bor A ang removal because available landfill dumping areas are

Comafedionsr Sullivan will proceed immediately to draft

the necessary regulation under Administrative ures

Act, which prescribes a required timetable of public notice and

public hearings. The Legislature will return Nov. 12 and, if it

a that it would be the most expeditious route, will be

asked to approve the necessary legislation, under emergency

procedures if possible.”

1l. The text of the proposed rule read as follows:

7:26-1.8 Out of State Waste

—1.8.1 No person engaged in the collection and/or haul-

age of solid waste shall i of any solid waste which

originated or was collected outside the territorial limits of

this State in any solid waste facility located within the ter-

ritorial oy i this State. =

—1.8.2 No person owning or operating a solid waste

facility located within the territorial limits of this State

ey nee Se unas 8 San See ne See Say

solid waste which originated or was collected outside the

12 Brief of Appellants

graph IV of its “Basis and Background for the Proposed

Rules of the Bureau of Solid Waste Management” (A148).

Not unexpectedly, references to public health and environ-

mental quality were virtually non-existent. Rather, the

reasons presented for the proposed administrative prohibi-

tion were: (1) to assure the availability of landfill acres

in New Jersey for solid waste generated in said State, and

(2) to stabilize the cost of solid waste collection and dis-

posal for New Jersey residents.”

Four days after the publication of the proposed Rules

of the Bureau of Solid Waste Management, on November

12, 1973, S. 2367 was introduced in the New Jersey

Senate. The stated purpose of the bill was to prohibit the

entry into New Jersey of any solid or liquid waste which

originated or was collected outside of the state, except

garbage to be fed to swine within New Jersey.”

The Department of Environmental Protection was

requested to submit its comment on the bill to the Office

of the Counsel to the Governor. The comment submitted

by the Department, was surprisingly candid:

“A. Description of Bill’s Effect—

Amends the existing Waste Control Act of 1973

by reversing the present burden of proof so that

out-of-state solid and liquid waste will be banned

unless the Department issues regulations per-

mitting same. No doubt this approach was

to the Complaint in this action ( 2).

rose sume & Se See ee eens Gs So Bee

posed Rules of the of Solid Waste M ement”, the De-

13. When S. 2367 was ori introduced, the clause “. . .

except garbage to be fed to swine inthe State of New Jersey." was

en :

14. See footnote 2, supra.

Brief of Appellants 13

taken—as opposed to an absolute ban—so as not

blatantly to traverse the commerce clause of the

Federal Constitution.”

“E. Departmental Comments—

Out-of-state waste is clearly a problem but it is

not necessarily insurmountable. The Bureau of

Solid Waste reports that the major difficulty is

that New York ‘garbage’ competes with the land-

fill sites in heavily populated areas which will

tap out within a few years, in any case. Thus,

whereas such waste comprises no more than a

small percentage of the total waste collected in

the state, it is approximately 25% of the waste

disposed in the New Jersey portion of the New

York-New Jersey Metropolitan area. This is the

truly critical region for solid waste. However,

liquid waste from New York and Pennsylvania

may even be needed by New Jersey processing

plants, so as to reduce their per unit costs. The

bill will clearly permit the Department to issue

regulations allowing same where necessary or

desirable.”

(Emphasis added )

The “major difficulty” identified by the Department

was competition for the purchase of landfill disposal space.

Environmental considerations were noticable in their

absence.

S. 2367 was passed by the Senate on November 19,

1973, and by the Assembly on November 26, 1973. While

the bill was pending before the Governor for his review,

Richard W. DeKorte, Counsel to the Governor, wrote to

14 Brief of Appellants

David Quient, Esquire, City Attorney for Appellant City

of Glen Cove (A125-126), saying:

“Also, I might add that Senate Bill No. 2367 (OCR)

would not have been introduced had the sister states

of New Jersey permitted solid wastes originating in

their states to be disposed of at or near the point of

origination.”

S. 2367 was signed by the Governor on January 2,

1974, P. L. 1973, c. 363, to become effective February 1,

1974. -

On January 21, 1974, appellants filed a complaint at-

tacking the constitutionality of said statute on federal and

state constitutional grounds (A82). Their simultaneous

application for a temporary restraining order was sup-

ported, among other documents (A105, 108, 111, 118), by

an affidavit of a licensed professional engineer (A115)

which averred that the transportation, treatment or dis-

posal of solid waste in New Jersey in accordance with

applicable Federal and New Jersey state and administra-

tive laws, rules and regulations would not pose a threat to

the health, welfare and safety of the residents of said state:

“3. The transportation in New Jersey of solid waste in

accordance with the terms and provisions of ap-

plicable Federal and New Jersey state and adminis-

trative laws, rules and regulations is not hazardous to

the public health and does not constitute a threat to

the health, welfare or safety of the residents of the

State of New Jersey.

“4. The treatment and disposal in New Jersey of

domestic or foreign solid waste in accordance with

the terms and provisions of applicable Federal and

New Jersey state and administrative laws, rules and

regulations is not hazardous to the public health and

Brief of Appellants 15

does not constitute a threat to the health, welfare or

safety of the residents of the State of New Jersey.”

Based upon its conclusion that immediate and irre-

parable harm would be suffered by appellants if temporary

injunctive relief was not granted, the Superior Court of

New Jersey, Law Division, issued an Order to Show Cause

with Temporary Restraints on January 21, 1974, which,

inter alia, restrained the State from enforcing the provi-

sions of P. L. 1973, c. 363 (A128). On the return date of

the Order to Show Cause, February 1, 1974, the trial court

issued an interlocutory injunction continuing the restraints

theretofore issued, and further specifically enjoining the

enforcement of N. J. A. C. 7:1-4, until its further order *®

15. The conclusions ae in said paragraphs 3 and 4 have

never been attacked or rebutted. Quite the contrary, they have

been confirmed by appellees. See p. 9 supra.

16. N. J. A. C. 7:1-4, a rule governing the importation of solid

and liquid waste from outside New Jersey, was adopted by the

Commissioner of the New Jersey Department of Environmental

Protection on January 18, 1974, pursuant to authority conferred by

P. L. 1973, c. 363. Said rule, which was adopted as an emergency

measure to become effective February 1, 1974, provides, in pertinent

part, as follows:

N. J. A. C. 7:1-4.2

“(a) No person shall bring into this State, or accept for

i in this State, any solid or liquid waste which origi-

nated or was collected outside the territorial limits of this State.

This Section shall not apply to:

j (1) Garbage to be fed to swine in the State of New

ersey;

(2) Any separated waste material, including newsprint,

paper, glass ond eta, that is free from putrescible materials

and not mixed with other solid or liquid waste that is intended

for a recycling or reclamation facility;

(3) Municipal solid waste to be separated, or processed

into usable secondary materials, including fuel and heat, at a

resource recovery facility provided that not less than 70

cent of the thruput of any such facility is to be separated or

processed into usable secondary materials; and

( Pesticides, hazardous, waste, chemical waste, bulk

liquid, bulk semi-liquid, which is to be treated, processed or

in a solid waste disposal facility which is registered

16 Brief of Appellants

(A169). In granting interlocutory injunctive relief, the

trial court considered among others, an affidavit of the

Deputy Assistant Administrator for Solid Waste Manage-

ment Programs, United States Environmental Protection

Agency (A131), which averred in pertinent part, as

follows:

“It has not been established to the satisfaction of

EPA that the continuation of disposal, in an environ-

mentally sound manner, of solid waste generated out-

side New Jersey poses any greater immediate health

threat to its citizens than the continued disposal of

domestically generated solid waste. Therefore, there

appears to be no immediate health threat to justify

the precipitous passage and implementation of this

statute [P. L. 1973, c. 363] and these regulations.

[N. J. A. C. 7:1-4]

. a State importation ban such as that enacted

by New Jersey is in conflict with the national policy

set forth in Section 206 of the Solid Waste Disposal

Act. . . . Moreover, the continuation of such a re-

striction would establish an unfavorable precedent

which, if followed by a substantial number of other

States, would render regional and interstate solutions

to solid waste disposal problems impossible to attain.

°° ° °°

The foregoing is not to say that appropriate standards

should not be applied in the areas of treatment and

disposal of solid wastes and of land use planning.

16. (Cont'd. )

with the Department for such treatment, processing or re-

covery, other than by disposal on or in the lands of this State.”

A verbatim copy of the entire rule as same was adopted by the

Commissioner appears at A77.

Brief of Appellants 17

We strongly favor the adoption of standards appli-

cable to domestic and imported solid wastes so that

they apply on an equal basis with out-of-state waste

subject to the same statutory and regulatory treatment

as domestic waste.

° ° °

. . . A single thrust to ban out-of-state wastes im-

pedes rather than enhances environmenta! quality.

In conclusion, it is EPA policy that no municipality or

State should take action to prevent the free flow of

waste across municipal or state boundaries provided

the transport, processing, and disposition of the waste

is in accordance with the provisions of applicable

federal and state environmental and land use laws,

guidelines, regulations, and recognized engineering

practices.”

(Emphasis added )

A plenary hearing on the merits of appellants’ complaint

was scheduled by the Court for March 25, 1974.

On February 13, 1974, appellees filed their answer to

the complaint in this matter, wherein they specifically ad-

mitted that a principal concern of the New Jersey Legis-

lature in adopting P. L. 1973, c. 363 was to preserve land-

fill acres in New Jersey for solid waste generated in said

State (A96, 174). They further admitted that there is no

qualitative difference between the solid waste which orig-

inates or is collected outside the State of New Jersey and

that which originates or is collected within the State, and

there is no difference with respect to the disposal of same

(A86, 172). |

On March 13, 1974, appellants deposed the Principal

Environmental Engineer of the Bureau of Solid Waste

Management, New Jersey Department of Environmental

Protection. During the course of said deposition, the

18 Brief of Appellants

engineer admitted that the proposed Rules of the Bureau

of Solid Waste Management, N. J. A. C. 7:26-1 et seq.

(effective July 1, 1974) (A181-182), were entirely ade-

quate to protect the health, safety and welfare of the

people of the State of New Jersey and the quality of its

environment.” He also revealed that no effort had been

made by the Department of Environmental Protection to

calculate the total acreage available for sanitary landfill

purposes in the State of New Jersey or to identify the

location and availability of facilities which presently exist

or may hereafter be developed outside the State of New

Jersey (A184, 187).

Appellants thereafter moved for summary judgment

on two federal constitutional grounds which, in their

opinion, raised solely questions of law: (a) P. L. 1973,

c. 363, on its face, discriminates against interstate com-

merce in violation of Art. 1, Sec. 8, cl. 3 of the Constitution

of the United States, and (b) the Congress of the United

States has preempted the narrow field preventing the

adoption of laws, ordinances and regulations which pro-

hibit the interstate movement of solid waste for purposes

of treatment or disposal (A188).** Appellees cross-

moved for summary judgment on the same issues, and

urged in a portion of their brief filed with the trial court

(A192-193), that summary judgment not be granted to

appellants pending a hearing on the merits:

17. Said rules were designed to prohibit dumps and to compre-

hensively regulate solid and liquid waste disposal facilities. Par-

ticular attention was directed toward controlli Leapcy which

had regularly been associated with dumps, including (a) dust (b)

odor, (c) fire, (d) insects, (e) rodents, (f) ss of papers and

other a me ti) coll g) gas jae sony ( ) surface and

ground water quality, (i) collection and haulage, (j) open burning,

and other related me sN ig aha

18. The motion did not seek summary judgment with res

to the many remaining federal constitutional questions raised by

the complaint since those questions involved genuine issues of

material fact.

Brief of Appellants 19

“At this stage of the litigation sub judice the Court

has not had an opportunity to consider any of the

relevant facts and circumstances except for affidavits

submitted in favor of and in opposition to the issuance

of ad interim restraints.

“Among those proofs which the court must consider

are: the nature and extent of the dangers to the

health, safety, welfare and environment of New

Jersey presented by the disposal of wastes in New

Jersey; the nature and extent of the solid waste crisis

in New Jersey; the rapid exhaustion of landfill life

in New Jersey; the volume of out-of-state waste being

disposed of in New Jersey; the severe limiting effects

on the future development of property which has

been used for sanitary landfill purposes; the extent of

the effect on interstate commerce.”

Pending a determination of the motions, the hearing date

was rescheduled to April 15, 1974, if necessary.

On March 25, 1974, the trial court heard oral argu-

ment on the cross-motions for summary judgment, and de-

livered its opinion (A6) granting summary judgment to

appellants and striking down P. L. 1973, c. 363 on the

ground that same discriminates against interstate com-

merce in violation of Art. 1, Sec. 8, cl. 3 of the Constitution

of the United States:

“ . . I find that the statute in question here is at-

tempting to control material that is properly the

subject of interstate commerce, that the method of

attempting is discriminatory and, therefore, uncon-

stitutional.”

On April 23, 1974, appellees filed a notice of appeal

(A198), by which they appealed from the trial court’s

20 Brief of Appellants

grant of summary judgment to appellants, but not from

the denial of their own motion for summary judgment.

More than 4 months later, on July 26, 1974, appellees

moved before the Superior Court of New Jersey, Appellate

Division, for a stay of judgment (A200). Said motion was

denied by the Court on August 14, 1974 (A204).

Following the submission of briefs by all parties, and

prior to argument in the Appellate Division, the appeal

was certified directly to the New Jersey Supreme Court

and consolidated with Hackensack Meadowlands v. Mun.

Landfill Auth.”* by order dated October 7, 1974 (A206).

The consolidated cases were argued before the New Jersey

Supreme Court on December 2, 1974.

Almost one year later, on November 18, 1975, the

New Jersey Supreme Court reversed the judgment of the

trial court on the merits, and vacated the injunctive order

which had been in effect since the inception of the litiga-

tion. Although the Court agreed that certain solid and

liquid waste is merchantable and that the transportation

and disposal of solid and liquid waste represents a legiti-

mate subject of interstate commerce, Hackensack Meadow-

lands v. Mun. Landfill Auth., 68 N. J., supra at 466-469, it

nevertheless upheld the constitutionality of P. L. 1973, c.

363 on the grounds that same represented a reasonable ex-

ercise of the State’s police power and did not place an

undue burden upon or discriminate against interstate com-

merce in violation of Art. 1, Sec. 8, cl. 3 of the Constitution

19. In Hackensack Meadowlands, suit was brought by the

Hackensack Meadowlands Development Commission and the De-

See

located within the ene priate District any solid

waste originating from or collected outside the territorial limits of

New Jersey. The Superior Court, Chancery Division, held that the

exclusion of out-of-state solid waste from deposit in landfill sites

within the state was unconstitutional as representing a discrimina-

tion against interstate commerce.

Brief of Appellants 21

of the United States. It also concluded that Congress did

not preempt the field of solid waste disposal (A32).

By its ruling, the New Jersey Supreme Court disposed,

on the mertis, of a case concededly involving substantial

disputed issues of material fact which had never been

heard by the trial court.” Since a hearing was not held,

there was no testimonv from which to make findings of

fact with respect to either (a) the legitimacy of the exer-

cise of the State’s police power and the nature and degree

of the burden imposed upon interstate commerce, or (b)

the numerous issues of material fact raised by the remain-

ing counts contained in appellants’ complaint. Curiously,

such remaining counts were never mentioned by the New

Jersey Supreme Court in its opinion.

On November 18, 1975, the same date upon which

the case was decided, the New Jersey Supreme Court

granted appellants’ emergent motion for a stay of judg-

ment and interim injunctive relief pending its further

order (A212).

In an effort to remedy the aforesaid procedural im-

propriety, appellants moved the New Jersey Supreme

Court to retain jurisdiction pending a remand of the fac-

tual issues to the trial court on an expedited basis (A216).

The trial court indicated that it would hold a plenary hear-

ing within two weeks. In the alternative, appellants

22 Brief of Appellants

sought a stay pending an application for injunctive relief

to the Supreme Court of the United States.

On December 11, 1975, the New Jersey Supreme

Court denied appellants’ motion for a stay, vacated the

emergency stay that it had previously issued, effective

December 31, 1975, and further

“Ordered that the motion for a remand to the Superior

Court, Law Division, for such further proceedings, if

any, that that court may deem appropriate is granted;

provided, however, that any relief granted by the Law

Division shall not include the issuance or continuation

of a stay; and it is further

Ordered that this Court does not retain jurisdiction.”

(A299).

Based upon this order, appellants were compelled, as

a practical matter, to dismiss with prejudice every count

in their complaint which had not been specifically resolved

by the New Jersey Supreme Court in its decision of No-

vember 18, 1975, so that there would unquestionably be

a final judgment from which a direct appeal could be taken

to the Supreme Court of the United States. In the order

pursuant to which the unresolved issues raised by appel-

lants and intervenors complaints were dismissed (A300),

the trial court

“Further Ordered, that, in light of the dismissal of the

above counts, and the decision by the New Jersey

Supreme Court upholding the constitutionality of P. L.

1973, c. 363 as representing a valid exercise of the

State’s police power which does not unreasonably

burden interstate commerce and said Court thereby

having finally determined Counts I, VII and XIX of

plaintiffs’ complaint and Count One of plaintiifs-

intervenors complaint, no further proceedings are

Brief of Appellants 23

deemed appropriate by this Court in connection with

the above captioned matter.”

On December 22, 1975, appellants filed an application

for a stay of judgment with Mr. Justice Brennan. Said

application was granted on December 31, 1975 (A302).

Thereafter, appellants duly filed a notice of appeal and a

jurisdictional statement. Probable jurisdiction was noted

on April 5, 1976, 425 U. S. 910 (1976).

On October 21, 1976, thirteen days before the sched-

uled date of oral argument, the President of the United

States signed the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act

of 1976, Pub. Law 94-580, 42 U.S. C. § 6901 et seq., which

amended comprehensively the Solid Waste Disposal Act,

42 U. S.C. § 3251 et seq.

At oral argument held on November 3, 1976, a ques-

tion was posed by Mr. Justice White with respect to the

effect of the aforesaid federal legislation on the matter

before the Court. Appellants thereafter filed a motion

seeking leave to submit a supplemental brief dealing with

the effect-of the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act

of 1976 upon the validity of P. L. 1973, c. 363. Said

motion was granted by order dated November 15, 1976

and supplemental briefs were filed simultaneously by both

On February 23, 1977, a majority of the United States

Supreme Court issued a per curiam opinion vacating the

judgment of the New Jersey Supreme Court and remand-

ing the case for reconsideration in light of the Resource

Conservation and Recovery Act of 1976, Philadelphia v.

New Jersey, — U. S. — (1977) (Slip sheet opinion, pp. 1-2)

(A59), saying, in pertinent part, as follows:

“While federal pre-emption of state statutes is, of

course, ultimately a question under the Supremacy

Clause, U. S. Const., Art. VI, cl. 2, analysis of pre-

emption issues depends primarily on statutory and

24 Brief of Appellants

not constitutional interpretation. Therefore, it is ap-

propriate that the federal pre-emption issue be re-

solved before the constitutional issue of alleged dis-

crimination against or undue burden on interstate

commerce is addressed. We think it appropriate that

we have the views of the New Jersey Supreme Court

on the question whether or to what extent the Re-

source Conservation and Recovery Act of 1977 pre-

empts the New Jersey statute.” ™

On March 15, 1977, appellees moved the New Jersey

Supreme Court for clarification or, in the alternative,

“... for a stay of any lower court injunctive order which

may be found presently to bar enforcement of Chapter

363... .” (A320).” Appellees further moved for an

expedited schedule in connection with the remand.”

By order dated April 4, 1977, the New Jersey Su-

preme Court granted appellees’ motion for acceleration,

but reserved decision on the application for a stay:

“This matter having been duly presented to the

Court, it is . . . further

Orverep that the decision as to defendants’ mo-

tion for relief is reserved at this time in view of the

accelerated schedule fixed herein; and it is further

21. Mr. Justice Powell, speaking for four members of the Court,

commenting, “We decide this case on the merits

and not burden the parties and the Supreme Court of New Jersey

by a remand which unnecessarily creates delay, expense, and un-

certainty.”

22. On the date appellees’ motion was filed, the United States

Supreme Court—and not the New J Supreme Court—still had

urisdiction of the appeal. Pursuant to Rule 59 of the Rules of the

nited States Supreme Court, jurisdiction remains vested in the

Supreme Court until the issuance of its mandate, an event occurring

25 days after the issuance of its opinion.

23. The motion for acceleration was not opposed.

Brief of Appellants 25

Orperep that this matter be set down on Tues-

day, May 10, 1977, for argument on the merits and

as to whether defendants’ motion for a stay (M-725-

76) should be granted.” (A321).

Following oral argument, the New Jersey Supreme

Court handed down its opinion on June 20, 1977, holding

that P. L. 1973, c. 363 was not pre-empted, under the

Supremacy Clause, by the Resource Conservation and Re-

covery Act of 1976 (A62). However, it stayed its judg-

ment for a period of 30 days “to afford plaintiffs full op-

portunity to apply to the Supreme Court of the United

States for a stay of judgment”. Philadelphia v. New

Jersey, 73 N. J. 562, 575 (1977) (A74).

Appellants duly filed an application for a stay of

judgment with Mr. Justice Brennan. Said application was

granted on July 18, 1977 (A305). Thereafter, appellants

filed a notice of appeal on July 22, 1977, and a jurisdic-

tional statement on September 15, 1977. Probable juris-

diction was noted on November 28, 1977, — U. S. —

(1977).

26 Brief of Appellants

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT.

Solid and liquid waste, the service of collecting, trans-

porting, treating and disposing of same, and the sale of

landfill space for the disposal of solid and liquid waste

collected outside the state are recognized subjects of in-

terstate commerce.

A statute which prohibits the entry of a subject of

commerce, irrespective of condition or potential for harm,

is directed against commerce and may not stand.

If a threat is caused to the public health and en-

vironmental quality by solid and liquid waste, or the proc-

ess of treating, transporting and disposing of same, it is

based upon the nature of the substance being regulated

represents a legitimate exercise of the state’s police power,

or whether it really amounts to a discriminatory regulation

of interstate commerce and a direct burden thereon.

A police regulation which affects interstate commerce

must not go beyond the necessities of the particular case.

In light of the environmental integrity of properly de-

signed and operated incinerators and sanitary landfills,

there is no legitimate local public reason to prohibit entry,

treatment or disposal of solid or liquid waste which origi-

nated or was collected in another state.

New Jersey has improperly attempted to secure an

economic benefit for its residents, in contravention of the

Commerce Clause of the United States Constitution, by

adopting P. L. 1973, c. 363.

In addition, said statute must fall under the Supremacy

Clause because it stands as an obstacle to the accomplish-

ment and execution of the full purposes and objectives of

SEER ere ee ae ee = ee

Brief of Appellants 27

Congress contained in the Resource Conservation and

Recovery Act of 1976.

At any event, in light of the many genuine issues of

material fact, the New Jersey Supreme Court erred in

upholding the constitutionality of P. L. 1973 c. 363 as not

violative of the Commerce Clause absent a hearing, on

the merits, before the trial court. Appellants were thereby

denied due process of the law.

28 Brief of Appellants

ARGUMENT.

A.

The Interstate Movement of Solid or Liquid Waste for

Purposes of Resource Recovery, Treatment or Dis-

posal Is Commerce Within the Meaning of the

Commerce Clause.

In the proceedings before the New Jersey Courts,

appellees argued that solid and liquid waste are not legit-

imate subjects of interstate commerce, and therefore are

not within the purview of the Commerce Clause. This

contention was rejected below, Hackensack Meadowlands

v. Mun. Landfill Auth., 64 N. J. 451, 467 (1975), and is

wholly unsupportable in law and in fact.

Subjects of interstate commerce are determined by

“, . . practical consideration and the established course of

business.” Foster-Fountain Packing Co. v. Haydel, 278

U. S. 110 (1928); Shafer v. Farmers Grain Co., 268 U. S.

189, 198 (1925); Public Utilities Comm. v. Landon, 249

U. S. 236, 245 (1919); Rearick v. Pennsylvania, 203 U. S.

507, 523 (1906). This Court has consistently defined

commerce in broad terms to include all commercial inter-

course, including the component parts thereof, Dahnke-

Walker Co. v. Bondurant, 257 U. S. 282, 290 (1921).

Thus, the transmission of electric current, FPC v. Florida

Power & Light Co., 404 U. S. 453, 458 (1972) and radio

waves, Federal Radio Commission v. Nelson Bros. Bond

& Mortgage Co., 289 U. S. 266, 279 (1933), pastured cat-

tle ranging across a state line, Thorton v. United

States, 271 U. S. 414 (1926), the interstate movement of

petroleum, Pipe Line Cases, 234 U. S. 548, 560 (1914) and

telegraphic communications by wire, Telegraph Co. v.

Texas, 105 U. S. 460, 464 (1882), have all been treated

as commerce in a federal constitutional sense. See U. S.

v. Underwriters Assn., 322 U. S. 533, 549 (1944).

Brief of Appellants 29

Not surprisingly, the proposition that solid waste col-

lection and disposal is commerce has already been estab-

lished by the federal courts.

In United States v. Pennsylvania Refuse Removal

Assn., 242 F. Supp. 794 (E. D. Pa. 1965), certain defend-

ants were indicted and convicted for price fixing, allocat-

ing customers and rigging bids in connection with a refuse

removal business in the Greater Philadelphia area in viola-

tion of the Sherman Anti-Trust Act. That Act provides,

in pertinent part, “Every . . . conspiracy, in restraint of

trade or commerce among the several states, . . . is de-

clared to be illegal.” 15 U.S. C. § 1.

The Court held that the disposal in New Jersey of

substantial quantities of refuse collected in Pennsylvania

constituted an activity within the flow of interstate com-

merce. In responding to defendants’ argument that a

worthless commodity like trash cannot be the subject of

“trade or commerce” as those terms are used in the Sher-

man Act, the Court observed:

“That argument misses the point. Here, the real sub-

ject of ‘trade or commerce’ was not worthless debris,

but the valuable service of removing and disposing of

it. Since services are encompassed within the mean-

ing of the words ‘trade or commerce’ as used in the

Act, United States v. Nat’ Assn of Real Estate

Boards, 339 U. S. 485, 488-492, 70 S. Ct. 711, 94 L. ©

Ed. 1007 (1950), the defendants position has no

merit.”

United States v. Pennsylvania Refuse

Ass’n., 242 F. Supp., supra, at 700

(Emphasis added).

The decision of the Federal District Court was af-

firmed by the Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit which

30 Brief of Appellants

succinctly stated: “. . . refuse transported from Pennsyl-

vania to New Jersey and disposed of in the latter state . . .

was plainly a proper subject of interstate commerce.”

United States v. Pennsylvania Refuse Removal Ass‘n., 357

F. 2d 806, 808 (3 Cir. 1966). Certiorari was denied by

this Court, 384 U. S. 961 (1966).

While it is thus clear that the valuable service of col-

lecting and disposing of solid waste is an activity in inter-

state commerce, it is also clear that solid waste itself is

often a merchantable commodity.

In Hackensack Meadowlands v. Mun. Landfill Auth.,

127 N. J. Super. 160, 170 (Ch. Div. 1974), rev. other

grnds. 68 N. J. 451 (1975), the companion case to the

within matter, Judge (now Justice) Schreiber rejected

appellees argument that solid and liquid waste is neither

merchantable nor a legitimate subject of interstate com-

merce: “. . . refuse may be utilized for construction, land-

fill, recycling of paper, bottles and metal and production

of electricity.” The New Jersey Supreme Court agreed,

saying, “. . . certain types of solid waste may have legiti-

mate market value for recycling or other purposes.”

Hackensack Meadowlands v. Mun. Landfill Auth., 68 N. J.,

supra, at 467.

Appellees admit that solid waste collected outside

New Jersey has been disposed of at sanitary landfill fa-

cilities within the State (A123), and that certain com-

munities and industries in New Jersey dispose of all or a

portion of their solid waste outside the State of New

Jersey (A186-187, 326-332). It is also established that

the City of Yonkers, New York and Appellant City of

Glen Cove have heretofore purchased disposal space in

New Jersey from private solid waste disposal public

utilities, Hackensack Meadowlands v. Mun. Landfill

Auth., 68 N. J., supra, at 476 (A55, 347). In addition

More recently, see Mascaro & Sons, Inc. vo. O'Hara, Inc.,

— F. nod (3 Ce 1977), 1977-2 Trade Cases, { 61,727.

Brief of Appellants 31

automobile hulks, being a form of bulky waste,

N. J. A. C. 7:26-1.43, regularly move in interstate com-

merce, Alexandria Scrap Corporation v. Hughes, 426 U. S.

794 (1976). Indeed, the House Report on the Re-

source Conservation and Recovery Act of 1976 candidly

asserts “that most of our discarded materials have at some

time entered the flow of interstate commerce.”* It is

part of the established course of business.

Governed by the aforesaid authorities, the interstate

movement of solid waste for purposes of resource recovery,

treatment or disposal unquestionably involves commercial

intercourse.

Appellants’ solid waste collection and disposal com-

panies are New Jersey public utility corporations subject

to regulatory control by the Board of Public Utility Com-

missioners, N. J. S. A. 48:2-13, N. J. S. A. 48:13A-1 et seq.

Although a major component of their business activity is

service, see N. J. S. A. 48:13A-2, they may also engage in

the sale of methane gas, steam or other power-generating

sources and recovered materials such as paper, glass,

copper, steel, tin and aluminum (A351, 360).

In a very real sense, appellant solid waste disposal

companies which operate sanitary landfills derive their

principal business income from selling space for disposal

purposes rather than from providing a service. The cost

of operating sanitary landfills in an environmentally sound .

manner is enormous (A350, 366). Interestingly, the New

Jersey Legislature, in the Solid Waste Management Act,

N. J. S. A. 13:1E-1 et seq. felt compelled to observe:

“The Legislature recognizes that solid waste and re-

cycling facilities will be financed through long term

borrowing which requires the negotiation of long

term contracts with municipalities and other solid

25. House Report No. 94-1491 accompanying HR 14496

(Comm. on Interstate and Foreign Commerce), at 9.

32 Brief of Appellants

waste collectors to guarantee the flow of solid waste to

such facilities.”

N. J. S. A. 13: 1E-2c

If prevented from cbtaining sufficient minimum

quantities of solid waste, the business of Kinsley’s and of

other appellant sanitary landfill owners will be greatly

diminished or destroyed (A348-349, 366-367, 370, 373),

Foster-F ountain Packing Co. v. Haydel, 278 U. S. supra, at

8. This result would be particularly harsh and inequitable

in the present case since expenditures for environmental

controls approximating $500,000 have already been made

at appellant Kinslev’s Landfill, Inc. sanitary landfill site

upon the direction of the Department of Environmental

Protection (A366). The improvements would not have

been made but for a long term contract with the City of

Philadelphia (A366).

Appellant Landfill and Development Company is in

a similar position (A350-351, 370). Unless P. L. 1973, c.

363 is struck down, it will lose approximately $700,000 in

annual gross income (A369).

Moreover, if the interstate movement of solid waste

for purposes of resource recovery, treatment or disposal is

not commerce, then individual states can adopt repressive

laws with impunity, thereby materially affecting channels

of interstate commerce in solid waste.

Since probable jurisdiction was noted by this Court on

April 5, 1976, a statute was passed by the Louisiana Legis-

lature to proscribe the transportation of

“any waste material which originated or was col-

lected outside the territorial limits of the state into

Louisiana with the intent to bury, store or otherwise

dispose of suci» wastes in Louisiana until the office

of health services and environmental quality of the

Brief of Appellants 33

Department of Health and Humau Resources has de-

termined that such action can be permitted without

endangering the health, safety and welfare of any

member of the public or animal life.”

Prior to the adoption of said statute, seven states had

adopted laws which, to varying degrees, prohibited the

disposal of solid waste collected in another state.** Three

other states imposed various regulatory limitations.”

If each state was free to pass such laws, commerce in

solid waste collection and disposal services could be

brought to a halt at state lines.

P. L. 1973, c. 363, on Its Face Discriminates Against and

Directly Burdens Interstate Commerce.

The plain and unambiguous language of P. L. 1973,

c. 363, entitled: —

“An Act to prohibit any person from bringing into

this State any solid and liquid waste which originated

or was collected outside the State . . . ,”

reveals that its sole intent and purpose is to impose an

immediate, absolute and complete ban upon the movement

into or through New Jersey of any solid or liquid waste

which originated or was collected outside the State. Treat- -

ment of liquid waste, processing of solid waste, and dis-

26. Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Penn-

sylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont.

On December 30, 1974, the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

cnet Sibee were oe, © St eee

of solid —s . any location in ae ae that does

not accept waste from Pennsylvania. is legislation was

surel q i the

y prom by. ‘Ne ye against, the pro-

34 Brief of Appellants

posal or interstate movement of all waste collected outside

New Jersey is equally prohibited. Conversely, no attempt

whatsoever has been made in the statute to control, regu-

late or prohibit the movement, treatment, processing or

disposal of solid or liquid waste which originates or is col-

lected within the State of New Jeasey.

Activities in interstate commerce are not, by that fact

alone, immune from reasonable regulations adopted by a

state or local government pursuant to the exercise of its

reserved police power. U.S. Const., Amend. 10. Absent

controlling federal legislation, the Commerce Clause does

not deprive the states of the power to regulate matters of

legitimate local concern in areas where uniformity of regu-

lation is not necessary, even when interstate commerce is,

to some measure, regulated or affected thereby, Southern

Pacific Co. v. Arizona, 325 U. S. 761, 767 (1945).

However, in exercising its power, a state must be rea-

sonable in its requirements, promote its objectives without

discrimination, and not go beyond the necessities of the

particular case, Plumley v. Massachusetts, 155 U. S. 461,

471 (1894), Schollenberger v. Pennsylvania, 131 U. S. 1

(1898), Savage v. Jones, 225 U.-S. 501, 525 (1912),

Bourjois, Inc. v. Chapman, 301 U. S. 183, 187 (1937),

Dean Milk Co. v. Madison, 340 U. 8. 349, 354 (1951),

Great A & P Tea Co. v. Cottrell, 424 U. S. 366 (1976).

As stated by Mr. Justice Clark in Cities Service Co. v.

Peerless Co., 340 U. S. 179, 186-187 (1950):

“The only requirements consistently recognized have

been that the regulation not discriminate against or

place an embargo on interstate commerce, that it safe-

guard an obvious state interest and that the local in-

terest at stake outweigh whatever national interest

there might be in the prevention of the state re-

strictions.”

\)

Brief of Appellants 35

See also Pike v. Bruce Church Inc., 397 U. S. 137, 142

(1970); Hunt v. Washington State Apple Advertising

Commission, — U. 8, — (1977).

In approaching Commerce Clause questions, this

Court has consistently determined for itself whether a

regulation represents a valid exercise of the State’s police

power, or whether it is really and substantially a regula-

tion of interstate commerce, Asbell v. Kansas, 209 U. S.

251, 256 (1908). Mr. Justice Reed emphasized the Court's

responsibility in this area in Best & Co. v. Maxwell, 311

U. S. 454, 455-456 (1940) where he commented:

“The commerce clause forbids discrimination,

whether forthright or ingenious. In each case it is

our duty to determine whether the statute under at-

tack, whatever its name may be, will in its: practical

operation work discrimination against interstate com-

merce.”

In Dean Milk Co. v. Madison, 340 U. S, 349, 354

(1951), this Court struck down an ordinance of the City

of Madison, Wisconsin, which prohibited the sale of milk

as pasteurized unless it was processed and bottled at an

approved pasteurization plant within a five mile radius

from the central square of Madison. In response to

Madison’s argument that the ordinance was aimed simply

at protecting the health of the community, Mr. Justice.

Clark wisely noted that to sustain an ordinance simply be-

cause it denominates itself

“~~ . a health measure, would mean that the Com-

merce Clause of itself imposes no limitations on state

action other than those laid down by the Due Process

Clause, save for the rare instance where a state art-

lessly discloses an avowed purpose to discriminate

against interstate goods.”

36 Brief of Appellants

The aforesaid principles are not new. They were

applied in Railroad Co. v. Husen, 95 U. S. 465 (1877)

where this Court struck down a Missouri statute which

prohibited the entry of Texas, Mexican or Indian cattle

into any county in the State between the first day of March

and the first day of December of each year.

Speaking for a unanimous Court, Mr. Justice Strong

announced the general rule governing sanitary and health

laws as follows:

“While we unhesitatingly admit that a State may pass

sanitary laws, and laws for the protection of life,

liberty, health, or property within its borders; while

it may prevent persons and animals suffering under

contagious or infectious diseases, or convicts, &c.,

from entering the State; while for the purpose of self-

protection it may establish quarantine, and reasonable

inspection laws, it may not interfere with transporta-

tion into or through the State, beyond what is abso-

lutely necessary for its self-protection.

Railroad Co. v. Husen, 95 U. S. supra, at 472.

Applying this rule to the statute of Missouri, Mr. Jus-

tice Strong found a clear attempt to regulate interstate

commerce:

“It is not a quarantine law. It is not an inspection

law. It says to all natural persons and to all trans-

portation companies, ‘You shall not bring into the

State any Texas cattle or any Mexican cattle or Indian

cattle, between March 1 and December | in any year,

no matter whether they are free from disease or not,

no matter whether they may do an injury to the in-

habitants of the State or not; and if you do bring

them in even for the purpose of carrying them

through the State without unloading them, you shall

be subject to extraordinary liabilities.’ Such a statute,

Brief of Appellants 37

we do not doubt, it is beyond the power of a State to

enact. To hold otherwise would be to ignore one of

the leading objects which the Constitution of the

United States was designed to secure.”

Railroad Co. v. Husen, 95 U. S. supra, at 473.

In Plumley v. Massachusetts, 155 U. S., supra, at 469,

Mr. Justice Harlan had occasion to discuss the holding in

the Railroad Co. case. He noted that the object and effect

of said statute “. . . was to meet at the borders of Missouri

a large and common subject of commerce and prohibit its

crossing the state line during the larger part of each year.

...” (Emphasis added. )

A statute enacted to prevent the sale of unwholesome

meat was considered and struck down in Brimmer v.

Rebman, 138 U. S. 78 (1891). The statute declared it to

be unlawful to offer for sale within Virginia any beef, veal

or mutton, from animals slaughtered one hundred miles or

more from the place at which it is offered for sale unless

previously inspected and approved by local inspectors.

Inspection was not required of fresh meats from animals

slaughtered within one hundred miles from place of sale.

Rejecting the state’s contention that the statute repre-

sented a valid police regulation designed to protect the

public health, Mr. Justice Harlan stated:

“Whether there shall be inspection or no, . . . is made

to depend entirely upon the place where the animals

from which the beef, veal or mutton is taken, were

slaughtered . . . . [A state] may not, under the guise

of exerting its police powers, or of enacting inspection

laws, make discriminations against the products and

industries of some of the States in favor of the prod-

ucts and industries of its own or of other States.

Brimmer v. Rebmen, 138 U. S., supra, at 82.

38 Brief of Appellants

See also Minnesota v. Barber, 136 U. S. 313 (1890) and

Scott v. Donald, 165 U. S. 58 (1897).

In Rasmussen v. Idaho, 181 U. S. 198 (1901), this

Court upheld an Idaho statute which empowered the

Governor of Idaho to regulate or prohibit the importation

into the state of sheep from localities outside the state

where scab or other infectious disease has become epi-

demic. Speaking for a unanimous Court, Mr. Justice

Brewer distinguished the Railroad Co. case upon which

the plaintiff in error in Rasmussen largely relied:

“It will be perceived that the act in Railroad Co. v.

Husen was an absolute prohibition operative during

eight months of the year. It was an act continuous

in its force; provided for no inspection, and was

predicated on the assumption that the State had the

right to exclude for two-thirds of each year the intro-

duction of all those kinds of cattle, sick or well, and

whether likely to distribute disease or not.

In the case before us the statute makes no ab-

solute prohibition of the introduction of sheep, but

authorizes the Governor to investigate the condition

of sheep in any locality, and, if found to be subject

to scab or any epidemic disease liable to be com-

municated to other sheep, to make such restriction on

their introduction into the State as shall seem to him,

after conference with the State sheep inspector, to be

necessary.”

Rasmussen v. Idaho, 181 U. S. supra. at 201

(emphasis added )

A similar quarantine act was considered in Oreg.-

Washington Co. v. Washington, 270 U. S. 87 (1926). The

Washington Director of Agriculture, with the approval cf

the Governor, forbade the importation into the state of

alfalfa hay or meal (except in sealed containers) from

Brief of Appellants 39

designated counties outside the state in which, upon in-

spection, a weevil injurious to the alfalfa plant was found.

After reciting the general rule that, absent arbitrariness or

discriminatory motive, a state may prevent the introduc-

tion within its borders of human beings, animals or plants

which may cause disease, injury or destruction to the

State’s inhabitants and resources, this Court upheld the

statute commenting:

“We think that here the investigation required by the

Washington law and the investigation actually made

into the existence of this pest and its geographical

location makes the law a real quarantine law, and not

a mere inhibition aga‘nst importation of alfalfa from

a large part of the country without regard to the con-

ditions which might make its importation dangerous.”

Oreg.-Washington Co. v. Washington 270

U. S., supra, at 96.

The New Jersey statute in question imposes an un-

limited prohibition without regard to condition. It is an

embargo. There is no provision for inspection or for any

other deliberative process prior to exclusion. The statute

is erroneously predicated on the assumption that a state

has the right to exclude the introduction of all kinds of

solid and liquid waste, whether likely to impair public

health and environmental quality or not. Rasmussen v.

Idaho, 181 U. S., supra, at 201.

As in the Railroad Co. case, P. L. 1973, c. 363, is

neither a quarantine law nor an inspection law; and like

the statute in that case, P. L. 1973, c. 363 says to all nat-

ural persons and to all transportation companies: “You

shall not bring into the State solid or liquid waste of any

nature or description, for any purpose whatsoever, no mat-

ter whether it does an injury to the inhabitants of the State

40 , Brief of Appellants

or not; no matter whether it does an injury to the quality

of the environment or not; and if you do bring it in even

for the purpose of carrying it through the State without

unloading it you shall be subject to extraordinary lia-

bilities.”

The fact that Railroad Co. v. Husen dealt with cattle

and not with solid waste is neither material nor dis-

tinguishable. The principle is identical in each case; once

an activity is legitimately in interstate commerce there

can be no discrimination. Best & Co. v. Maxwell, 311

U. S. 454 (1940); Head v. New Mexico Board, 374 U. S.

424, 429 (1963).

A proscription against discrimination was similarly

noted in the leading environmental case Huron Cement

Co. v. Detroit, 362 U.S. 440 (1960), where an action was

instituted by a corporation engaged in operating federally

licensed steam vessels in interstate commerce to enjoin the

enforcement of certain provisions of the Smoke Abatement

Code of the City of Detroit. Finding that the ordinance

applied equally to all ships and did not destroy the right

of free passage, this Court held that the ordinance was a

valid exercise of the state’s police power:

“.., state regulation based on the police power, which

does not discriminate against interstate commerce or

operate to disrupt its required uniformity, may con-

stitutionally stand.

“It has not been suggested that the local ordinance,

applicable alike to any person, firm or corporation

within the city, discriminates against interstate com-

merce as such. It és a regulation of general applica-

tion, designed to better the health and welfare of the

community ....” Huron Cement Co. v. Detroit, 362

U. S., supra, at 448 (Citations omitted, emphasis

added. )

Brief of Appellants 41

Although a smoke abatement ordinance enacted to

promote the health and welfare of a city’s inhabitants will

generally support an exercise of the police power, the

power to adopt such ordinances is not unlimited.

“The basic limitations upon local legislative power in

this area are clear enough. The controlling princi-

ples have been reiterated over the years in a host of

this Court’s decisions. Evenhanded local regulation

to effectuate a legitimate local public interest is valid

unless preempted by federal action ... , or unduly

burdensome on maritime activities or interstate com-

merce...."

Huron Cement Co. v. Detroit, 362 U.S. supra,

at 443 (Citations omitted, emphasis

added ).

The Court in Huron stressed the fact that the local

ordinance there in question was applicable alike to all

persons, firms and corporations. Had the ordinance been

discriminatory, it would have been struck down.

Appellants respectfully contend that P. L. 1973, c.

363, while outwardly cloaked “in the currently fashion-

able garb of environmental protection”, Douglas v. Sea-

coast Products, Inc., 431 U. S$. 265, 285, n. 21 (1977), is

actually no more than a legislative effort to suppress com-

petition and stabilize the cost of solid waste disposal for

New Jersey residents, H. P. Hood & Sons, Inc. v. DuMond,

336 U. S. 525, 538 (1949).

The New Jersey Department of Environmental Pro-

tection explained the process this way:

“In an effort to slow down the landfill dépletion

process, the Department of Environmental Protection,

in conjunction with the Hackensack Meadowlands

Development Commission, recently instituted a ban

42 Brief of Appellants

on the disposal of out-of-state waste within the Hack-

ensack Meadowlands Development Commission dis-

trict. The Hackensack Meadowlands ban caused

collection of out-of-state waste to travel into the su-

burban regions of the state, thus threatening the life

expectancy of those disposal sites. This increased the

cost of solid waste collection and disposal for New

Jersey's residents, for when nearby disposal sites are

depleted, collectors must haul their waste longer and

longer distances into the State’s suburban and rural

areas.” (A123) (emphasis added )*

An identical sentiment was expressed by Acting Gov-

ernor Beadleston who, on October 19, 1973, directed the

Commissioner of the Department of Environmental Pro-

tection to initiate a ban upon the disposal in New Jersey

of out-of-state garbage: “. . . the people of New Jersey,”

he said, “will be forced to pay much higher costs for waste

removal because available landfill dumping areas are filled

up”, See p. 11, n. 10 supra. The record demonstrates over-

whelmingly that the motivation for imposing the embargo

was economic and not environmental.

Appellees admit that in enacting P. L. 1973, c. 363, a

principal concern of the New Jersey Legislature was to

preserve landfill areas in New Jersey for solid waste gen-

erated in the State (A96, 174). This it cannot constitu-

tionally do.

28. In Mascaro & Sons, Inc. v. O'Hara, Inc., — F. 2d — (3

Cir. 1977), 1977-2 Trade Cases, { 61,727, decided less than two

months ago, the Third Circuit commented to the same effect:

The haulers dump the refuse at a landfill location and pay

the operator for the privilege. The amounts paid for trans-

tion to the site and for landfill use are significant costs

which affect the prices charged customers. In order to keep

cupenene tom, bans prefer to utilize landfills as close to the

customers as is feasible.

Brief of Appellants 43

In Penna. v. West Virginia, 262 U. S. 553, 597-598

(1923), a West Virginia statute prohibited the exporta-

tion of its natural gas unless an adequate supply was avail-

able to meet the needs of its citizens. Although the

Supreme Court of the United States recognized that the

gas supply was a natural product of the State and would

be insufficient to meet the needs of the State if exporta-

tion was allowed, the statute had to fall because it repre-

sented “an attempt to regulate the interstate business to

the advantage of the local customers.”

Similarly, in Oklahoma v. Kansas Nat. Gas Co., 221

U. S. 229, 255 (1911), this Court declared unconstitutional

an Oklahoma “conservation” statute preventing a pipeline

company from transporting natural gas outside the state:

“If the States have such power a singular situation

might result. Pennsylvania might keep its coal, the

Northwest its timber, the mining states their minerals.

And why may not the products of the field be brought

within the principal? Thus, enlarged, or without

that enlargement, its influence on interstate com-

merce need not be pointed out. To what consequence

does such power tend? If one state has it, all States

have it; embargo may be retaliated by embargo and

commerce will be halted at state lines. And yet we

have said that ‘in matters of foreign and interstate

commerce there are no state lines’. In such com-

merce, instead of the States, a new power appears and

a new welfare, a welfare which transcends that of

any State. But rather let us say it is constituted of

the welfare of all of the States and that of each State

is made greater by a division of its resources, natural

and created, with every State, and those of every other

State with it. This was the purpose, as it is the result,

of the interstate commerce clause of the Constitution

of the United States. If there is to be a turning back-

44 Brief of Appellants

ward it must be done by the authority of another

instrumentality than a court.” (Emphasis added)

See als» City of Altus, Oklahoma v. Carr, 255 F. Supp.

828 (W. D. Tex. 1966), aff'd 385 U. S. 35 (1966).

The potential for retaliation is not a mere theoretical

possibility in the present case. The Commonwealth of

Pennsylvania has already enacted legislation to prevent

the disposal in that Commonwealth of solid waste col-

lected from any location in another state that does not

accept solid waste from Pennsylvania. 35 P. S. § 6007 et

seq. The legislation was intended to be retaliatory against

New Jersey in operation and effect (A374).

Exclusionary and retaliatory legislation is destructive

to the achievement of national goals. Such enactment

places the well-being of a few over the well-being of the

whole, and can lead to the kind of isolationism that the

commerce clause was intended to prevent.

Mr. Justice Cardozo expressed the principal elo-

quently in Baldwin v. G. A. F. Seelig, 294 U. S. 511, 523

(1935). In declaring unconstitutional a statute which

prohibited the sale in New York of milk purchased in an-

other state at a price lower than the minimum prescribed

by the New York statute, he observed:

“The Constitution was framed under the dominion

of a political philosophy less parochial in range. It

was framed upon the theory that the peoples of the

several states must sink or swim together, and that

in the long run prosperity and salvation are in union

and not division.”

A statute which facially prohibits entry without regard

to condition is “. . . hostile in conception as well as burden-

some in result”. Polar Ice Cream & Creamery Co. v.

Andrews, 375 U. S. 361, 377 (1964). It represents dis-

Brief of Appellants 45

crimination of the most basic kind, and is devoid of any

legitimate local concern.

But even if, for the sake of argument, a legitimate

local concern is found, that does not end the inquiry:

“When discrimination against commerce . . . is demon-

strated” said Mr. Chief Justice Burger less than 7 months

ago, “the burden falls on the State to justify it both in

terms of local benefits flowing from the statute and the

unavailability of nondiscriminatory alternatives, adequate

to preserve the local interests at stake.” Hunt v. Wash-

ington State Apple Advertising Commission, — U. S. —

(1977), slip opinion at 18.

Appellees have argued that a prohibition against out-

of-state solid waste will reduce volume and thereby pre-

serve further acreage from use as disposal sites. There are

two inherent fallacies with this reasoning. Firstly, sani-

tary landfills can be operated without any “reasonable

probability of adverse effects on health or the environ-

ment from disposal of solid waste at such facility.” 42

U. S. C. § 6944. Secondly, any prospective use of land is

subject to objection on the same grounds. For example,

the erection and operation of a manufacturing plant or a

school can be said to “forever ruin virgin land” and, if not

properly regulated, to cause a threat to public health or

environmental quality.

For the same reasons, appellees cannot justify the

statute on account of the unavailability of nondiscrimi-

natory alternatives. Less than nine months before P. L.

1973, c. 363 was introduced in the New Jersey Senate, the

Waste Control Act was signed by the Governor, N. J. S. A.

13:111 et seq. Pursuant to Section 4 of that Act, the Com-

missioner of the New Jersey Department of Environmental

Protection was granted express power to regulate and pro-

hibit the incineration or landfill in New Jersey of solid

46 Brief of Appellants

waste which originated or was collected outside the State,

N. J. S. A. 13:11-4a. Obviously, before Acting Governor

Beadleston directed to the contrary, the Commissioner

did not feel that a wholesale ban on interstate solid waste

disposal was either necessary or desirable, see pp. 8-13

supra. More importantly, under the Waste Control Act,

the Commissioner could impose a ban if other nondis-

criminatory alternatives proved unsuccessful to protect

the legitimate local interest of the State.

New Jersey has traditionally provided comprehensive

regulatory controls to protect the health of its citizens and

the quality of its environment. In 1958, the New Jersey

Health Council adopted Chapter VIII-Refuse Disposal! as

part of the State Sanitary Code pursuant to authority

conferred by N. J. S. A. 26:1A-7. Chapter VIII prohibited

the operation of dumps and authorized the disposal of

solid waste only through use of

“(a) sanitary landfills established, con-

ducted, operated and maintained in accordance

with standards set forth in Regulation 4, 5, and 6

of this Chapter

OR

(b) Incinerators constructed, operated and

maintained in accordance with Code or Regula-

tion of the New Jersey Air Pollution Control

Commission.

(c) Other methods of disposal as may be

approved by the State Department of Health.”

The regulations collected in Chapter VIII-Refuse Dis-

posal, were adopted, consistently with the mandate in

N. J. S. A. 26:1A-7, “. . . to preserve and improve the

public health in this State.” *

29. New Jersey State Sanitary Code (Trenton: New Jersey

State Department of Health, rev. September 1963) p. 1.

Brief of Appellants 47

On April 13, 1970, the Public Health Council adopted

a revision of Chapter VIII of the State Sanitary Code which

substantially expanded the previously-existing regulations.

The authorized methods of disposal were not changed or

altered in any way, but additional operational require-

ments were imposed to further protect the public health.

On April 22, 1970, the functions, powers and duties of the

Public Health Council were transferred to and vested in

the Division of Environmental Quality and the Commis-

sioner of the Department of Environmental Protection,

N. J. S. A. 13:1D-7a. Chapter VIII of the State Sanitary

Code was not repealed by the administrative reorganiza-

tion; it remained in full force and effect, under the juris-

diction of the Department of Environmental Protection,

N. J. S. A. 13:1D-15, 13: 1E-66.

Approximately three months later, on July 31, 1970,

the New Jersey Solid Waste Management Plan was pub-

lished. Said Plan, approved by the United States Environ-

mental Protection Agency as the official State Plan for New

Jersey, reported with candor:

“There is no technological reason why we

cannot dispose of solid waste with minimal en-

vironmental harm.

© °° oO

“The Department of Environmental Protec-

tion, under Chapter 39, continues to enforce the

Public Health Council State Sanitary Code as it

pertains to refuse disposal. That is, the Bureau

of Solid Waste Management still has Chapter

VIII of the State Sanitary Code with which to

regulate and assure nuisance-free operation of

disposal sites in conformance with good practice

and health standards.” *°

30. New Jersey State Solid Waste a Plan ( Newark:

Planners Associates, Inc., 1970) at pp. 2 and

48 Brief of Appellants

Chapter VIII of the State Sanitary Code continued in

effect until July 1, 1974, when it was superseded by the

Rules of the Bureau of Solid Waste Management,

N. J. A. C. 7:26-1 et seq. In adopting said Rules, the

Commissioner of the Department of Environmental Pro-

tection commented: “No rule was altered in such a way as

to provide less protection to the public health, safety or

welfare than provided by the Chapter VIII regulations.”

The principal environmental engineer of the Bureau

of Solid Waste management was more direct in his assess-

ment of the Rules. During a deposition conducted on

March 13, 1974, he grudgingly admitted that the Rules as

then proposed were entirely adequate to protect the health,

safety and welfare of the people of New Jersey and the

quality of its environment (A181-182).

The Rules, which are extremely comprehensive in

nature, provide that the exclusive methods by which solid

waste may be disposed in New Jersey are through use of:

“a. Sanitary landfills established, operated

and maintained in accordance with the regula-

tions set forth in this subchapter.

“b. Incinerators constructed, operated and

maintained in accordance with Regulations of the

New Jersey State Department of Environmental

Protection promulgated under authority of the

Air Pollution Control Act 1954 and regulations

set forth in this subchapter.

“c. Transfer station, composting facility, re-

source recovery or other processing facility, con-

structed and operated in accordance with regu-

lations set forth in this subchapter.”

N. J. A. C, 7:26-2.1.2

Brief of Appellants 49

Dumps are expressly prohibited. N. J. A. C. 7:26-2.1.1.

No person may engage in the disposal of solid waste

in New Jersey without having first obtained approval of a

registration statement and engineering design from the

Department of Environmental Protection. N. J. A. C.

7;26-2.2.2; 7:26-2.2.3. Designs for sanitary landfills, in-

cinerators, and other methods of disposal must be prepared

by a New Jersey licensed professional engineer and sub-

mitted to the Bureau of Solid Waste Management for its

review, N. J. A. C. 7:26-2.4. In addition to other require-

ments, each engineering design for a sanitary landfill must

include (a) a designation of the property or portion thereof

for which approval is being sought; (b) contours and pro-

posed final elevations; (c) proposed sequence of develop-

ment; (d) soil borings; (e) soil classifications; (f) soil

profile and aquifer information; (g) geological and ground

water data; (h) identification of registered wells and pub-

lic buildings within a one-half mile radius; (i) surface and

subsurface drains; (j) leachate collection system, if ap-

plicable; (k) profile views for excavation, and grades and

elevations for dikes, berms or other pollution protection

devices or techniques; (1) proposed landscaping, beauti-

fication and screening techniques; (m) gas venting and

monitoring system; (n) ground water monitoring wells;

and (0) estimated capacity. N. J. A. C. 7:26-2.12.2.

Special emphasis is placed upon the control and elim-

ination of ground and surface water pollution at sanitary

landfill sites. To accomplish this objective N. J. A. C.

7:26-2.5.4 provides, in pertinent part:

“No new sanitary landfill shall be conducted,

nor shall an existing landfill continue to be con-

ducted where the solid waste, in whole or in part,

or the leachate produced as a result of the sanitary

landfill, impairs the quality of the surface or

50 Brief of Appellants

ground waters of this state to a degree that would

degrade the quality of either the surface or

ground waters of this state beyond the classifica-

tion established by the Department for the surface

water in question ox the potable water standard

established by the Department in the case of

ground water.”

In addition, N. J. A. C. 7:26-2.5.22 requires the in-

stallation of ground water monitoring systems as a condi-

tion precedent to the operation of a new sanitary landfill

or the expansion of an existing facility:

“No new solid waste facility shall begin op-

erations without first installing a ground water

monitoring system constructed and located in

accordance with instructions furnished by the

Department. Further, no new facility shall be-

gin operations prior to obtaining ground water

samples, and analyses thereof, for the purpose of

establishing baseline information.”

The Department of Environmental Protection can re-

quire the installation of an impermeable liner (A238),

where necessary, to create a barrier between the deposited

solid waste and exposed surfaces that would otherwise be

unsatisfactory for land disposal purposes.

Gas venting systems must be installed at every exist-

ing sanitary landfill site, and at every new facility, as a

condition of continued operation. In this connection,

N. J. A. C. 7:26-2.5.21 provides:

“New facilities shall install the gas venting

and monitoring systems indicated on the ap-

proved engineering design prior to operating. A

Brief of Appellants 51

phase-in of the system is permitted if so indicated

on the approved engineering design. Existing

facilities shall be required to design, obtain de-

partmental approval of the design, and implement

a gas venting and monitoring system when so

ordered by the Department as a result of the de-

tection of landfill gases beyond the perimeter of

the designated fill area. Detection may be by

ground probing or vegetation damege. The re-

covery of landfill gases for use es a fuel is not

prohibited by this subsection. in no case shall

the accumulation of combuscible gases in excess

of their lower explosive limits within confined

structures on or adjacent to the facility be per-

mitted.”

In addition to the aforesaid, a sanitary landfill must

effectively control scattering of papers and other light-

weight material, N. J. A. C. 7:26-2.5.6, dust, N. J. A. C.

7:26-2.5.7, odor, N. J. A. C. 7:26-2.5.8, and insects and

rodents, N. J. A. C. 7:26-2.5.12. Other stringent and care-

fully conceived operational requirements, too numerous

to mention, are also imposed by the Rules.

The situation with respect to the regulation of in-

cineration is much the same. The construction and op-

eration of incinerators for solid waste disposal is governed

by both the Rules of the Bureau of Solid Waste Manage-

ment, and by the Rules of the Bureau of Air Pollution

Control, N. J. A. C. 7:27-11.1 et seq.

No person may construct a new incinerator, or use a

new or altered incinerator, unless a “Permit to Construct,

Install or Alter Control Apparatus or Equipment” and a

“Certificate to Operate Control Apparatus or Equipment”

have first been obtained from the Bureau of Air Pollution

52 Brief of Appellants

Control, Department of Environmental Protection, N. J.

A. C. 7:27-11.4. In order to assure that incinerators and

control equipment will not pollute the air,

“The Department may require such details

regarding the equipment or control apparatus as

it considers necessary to determine that the equip-

ment or control apparatus is designed to operate

without causing a violation of any provisions of

the New Jersey Air Pollution Control Act or any

provisions of codes, rules or regulations promul-

gated hereunder. . . .”

N. J. A. C. 7:27-8.4(b)

The Rules of the Bureau of Air Pouultion Control con-

tain specific emission standards with respect to particles

emission, smoke emission, unburned waste or ash emis-

sion, and odor emission, N. J. A. C. 7:27-11.4. Most im-

portantly, an incinerator cannot be constructed or used

unless it is “. . . effective for the purpose of air pollution

control”, N. J. A. C. 7:27-11.2. See also N. J. A. C. 7:27-

5.2(a) being a regulation of general applicability which

prohibits the emission into the outdoor atmosphere of sub-

stances in quantities which shall result in air pollution.

Open burning is specifically prohibited, N. J. A. C. 7:27-

2.3.

An incinerator cannot be used for solid waste disposal

purposes until an engineering design prepared by a New

Jersey licensed professional engineer has been filed with

and approved by the Bureau of Solid Waste Management.

Such design must contain information with respect to (a)

rated capacity, (b) current and anticipated daily loadings,

(c) unloading and storage facilities, (d) emergency stor

age facilities, (e) alternate unloading locations, (f) rodent

Brief of Appellants 53

and odor control techniques, (g) daily residue tonnage,

(h) disposal location residue, and (i) accompanying re-

cycling or reclamation activity, if any. N. J. A. C. 7:26-

2.12.3.

The Rules regulate the operation as well as the design

of incinerator facilities. Areas where putrescible waste is

stored or deposited must be cleaned within each twenty-

four hour period, and no such waste may be stored longer

than twenty-four hours without acceptable treatment to

prevent putrefaction. N. J. A. C. 7:26-2.11.1; 7:26-2.11.2.

A program to control the scattering of papers and other

lightweight material, N. J. A. C. 7:26-2.11.3, dust,

N. J. A. C. 7:26-2.11.4, odors, N. J. A. C. 7:26-2.11.5, and

insects and rodents, N. J. A. C. 7:26-2.11.8 must be imple-

mented at each facility.

The New Jersey Department of Environmental Pro-

tection is not the only state administrative agency au-

thorized to supervise the operation of solid waste facilities.

Regulatory control is independently conferred upon, and

may be exercised by, the Board of Public Utility Com-

missioners. N. J. S. A. 48:2-23 provides as follows:

“The board may, after hearing, upon notice,

by order in writing, require any public utility to

furnish safe, adequate and proper service, includ-

ing furnishing and performance of service in a

manner that tends to conserve and preserve the

quality of the environment and prevent the pol-

lution of the waters, land and air of this State,

and to maintain its property and equipment in

such condition as to enable it to do so.”

The fact that there is no existing substantial or un-

reasonable threat to public health or environmental quality,

54 Brief of Appellants

and that there is a reasonable, nondiscriminatory alter-

native to exclusion, is further independently confirmed by

applicable provisions of the Resource Conservation and

Recovery Act of 1976, 42 U. S. C. § 6901 et seq. Pursuant

to the terms of said Act, the Administrator of the United

States Environmental Protection Agency is directed to

establish criteria for determining which facilities may be

classified as sanitary landfills, and which will be classified

as open dumps. The criteria must, at a minimum, eliminate

any reasonable chance of adverse effects on health or the

environment from land disposal:

“Not later than one year after the date of

enactment of this section, . . . the Administrator

shall promulgate regulations containing criteria

for determining which facilities shall be classified

as sanitary landfills and which shall be classified

as open dumps. . . . Ata minimum, such criteria

shall provide that a facility may be classified as a

sanitary landfill and not an open dump only if

there is no reasonable probability of adverse ef-

fects on health or the environment from disposal

of solid waste at such facility.”

42 U.S. C. § 6944

(Emphasis added )

Sanitary landfills are not treated as a mere alternative

to other forms of disposal; they are viewed as the principal

disposal source. In describing the most effective approach

for dealing with discarded materials, the Committee on

Interstate and Foreign Commerce, United States House of

Representatives, commented:

“The Committee recognizes that the most

effective approach for alleviating the problems

created by discarded materials is a comprehensive

Brief of Appellants 55

discarded materials management approach. Such

an approach includes the use of techniques to

recover the greatest amount of energy and mate-

rials possible from the discarded materials, reduce

waste residuals to a minimum, and provide for

an environmentally sound disposal of the re-

mainder, principally through sanitary landfill.”™

Congress was familiar with the problems typically

associated with land disposal. It recognized that the im-

proper disposal of wastes may present a danger to public

health and environmental quality, 42 U. S. C. § 6901

(b)(2), but it also understood that “the effects on human

health and the environment from real sanitary landfill

should be slight.” *

Although countless opportunities were presented, ap-

pellees never contended by any affidavit that (a) the

transportation, treatment or disposal of solid or liquid

waste in accordance with applicable federal and state laws

and regulations poses any material threat to the health,

welfare and safety of the people of New Jersey or to the

quality of its environment; (b) an unsuspecting public

will be deceived or defrauded by the transportation, treat-

ment or disposal of solid or liquid waste collected in an-

other state; or (c) the inherent condition of solid waste

is such that it will always spread pestilence and disease.

Quite to the contrary, appellees have admitted that

properly designed and regulated sanitary landfills can be

operated with no reasonable likelihood of harm to the

public or to the environment (A181-182). This admission

is in total harmony with other judicial and scholarly

authorities.

31. H Report No. 94-1491 accompanying H. R.

(Camm. on Interstate and Foreign Commerce), at 32 (Emphasis

32. Id., at 37.

56 Brief of Appellants

In Horn v. Community Refuse Disposal, Inc., 186

Neb. 43, 180 N. W. 2d 691 (Sup. Ct. 1970), plaintiffs

brought an action to enjoin the establishment and opera-

tion of a sanitary landfill. The court denied the applica-

tion saying:

“The evidence is persuasive that it is pos-

sible to operate a sanitary landfill so that it will

not emit offensive odors, pollute ground waters,

or be attractive to rodents. The rules and regu-

lations adopted in 1969 enforcible by the State

Department of Health under statutory authority

are reasonably designed to produce that result.”

Horn v. Community Refuse Disposal,

180 N. W. 2d, supra, at 692.

The overwhelmingly accepted rule is that incinerators

and sanitary landfills which are properly maintained and

operated are not public nuisances; Wood v. Town of Wil-

ton, 156 Conn. 304, 240 A. 2d 904 (Sup. Ct. 1968); Rocchi

v. Zoning Bd. of App. Town of Glastonbury, 157 Conn.

106, 248 A. 2d 922 (Sup. Ct. 1968); Myers v. City of

Hagerstown, 214 Md. 312, 135 A. 2d 147 (Ct. App. 1957)

(and cases therein cited); Annotation, “Public Dump as

Nuisance”, 52 ALR 2d 1134.

All too often, the words “sanitary landfill” and “dump”

are confused with one another.** They are very different

33. See Municipal og Disposal, 3rd ed. (Chicago: Public

Administration Service, 1970), pg. 93, wherein it is stated:

Although the sanitary landfill as a method of refuse dis-

posal was given a clean bill of health many years ago, its

acceptance by the public is still far from unanimous. The

public has too often heard the terms “landfill”, “dump”,

and “sanitary landfill” used interchangeably and does not

understand the difference between a sanitary landfill and

a landfill or dump. Unfortunately there are too many

Brief of Appellants 57

entities.“ The Rules of the Bureau of Solid Waste Man-

agement define a sanitary landfill as:

“The land disposal site employing an engi-

neered method of disposal of solid waste in a

manner that minimizes environmental hazards,

including, but not limited to the spreading of

the solid waste in thin layers, compacting the

waste to the smallest practical volume, and ap-

plying cover material on a daily or more fre-

quest basis.”

N. J. A. C. 7:26-1.4.54 (Emphasis

added )

33. (Cont'd. )

disposal facilities labeled “sanitary landfills” which are

oy y deficient in some of the essential elements. The

968 National Survey shows that 94 cent of all landfill

refuse disposal projects fall short of complying with all

criteria for fully acceptable operations. The resulting

eet of sanitary landfills has been damaging.

A well-located, well-designed, and efficiently operated

sanitary landill meets public health standards tnd. re

uiremen con i i

— air and water pollution, fire,

_ 1. Vector breeding or sustenance is prevented

eliminating harborage and food supply for ian, flies, A

other vermin.

2. Air pollution by dust, smoke, and odor is controlled.

3. Fire hazards are controlled - g ional

phases. (They are negligible in a complet ail’)

4. Pollution or surface and ground waters is pre-

cluded.

5. All nuisance factors are effectively controlled; i.e.,

the system is aesthetically acceptable noise is kept to

a minimum.

3. Pictorial illustrations of a “sanitary landfill” and a “dump”

appear on the sheet facing page 58. . ’

58 Brief of Appellants

A dump, on the other hand, is separately defined as:

“A land site at which solid waste is disposed

of in a manner which does not protect the en-

vironment, is susceptible to open burning, or is

exposed to the elements, vectors, and scavengers.”

N. J. A. C. 7:26-1.4.23.

When dumps were determined to be hazardous to

human health, their operation was entirely prohibited in

the State of New Jersey, N. J. A. C. 7:26-2.1.1. No distinc-

tion was made between dumps which accepted for disposal

solid waste collected within New Jersey and those which

accepted waste collected outside the State. The regula-

tion acted in a non-discriminatory, even-handed manner

in addressing a legitimate public problem. It was the

method of disposal which posed a substantial threat to

public health and environmental quality, not the sub-

stances disposed of or the place of their origin.

Environmental hazards are minimized by the sanitary

landfill disposal method, and by incineration, due to the

emphasis placed upon design and sanitary operation.

Origin of wastes is not related to these criteria. The de-

gree to which a disposal mode presents a threat to public

health and environmental quality is entirely within the

regulatory control of the State.

Interstate disposal of solid waste has been carried on,

without interruption, for many years. During that period,

state regulations have applied equally to all solid waste

regardless of the place of its collection.

The interstate transportation of solid and liquid waste

for treatment and disposal represents a legitimate, indeed

a necessary and vital, activity in interstate commerce,

which shouid not be disturbed.

60 Brief of Appellants

supra, at 363-365; Swift & Co. v. Wickham, 230 F.

Supp. 398, 408 (SDNY 1964), appeal dismissed, 382

U. S. 111 (1965), aff'd 364 F. 2d 241 (CA 1 1966),

cert. denied, 385 U. S. 1036 (1967).”

Jones v. Rath Packing Co., 430 U. S.,

supra, at 525-526.

Appellants respectfully submit that P. L. 1973, c. 363

must fall under the Supremacy Clause because it “stands

as an obstacle to the accomplishment and execution of the

full purposes and objectives of Congress”, Hines v. Davido-

witz, 312 U. S. 52, 67 (1940).

The procedure for applying the Jones test to Su-

premacy Clause questions was set forth several years ago

by Mr. Justice White in Perez v. Campbell, 402 U. S. 637,

644 (1971) as follows:

“Deciding whether a state statute is in conflict with a

federal statute and hence invalid under the Supremacy

Clause is essentially a two-step process of first ascer-

taining the construction of the two statutes and then

determining the constitutional question whether they

are in conflict.”

P. L. 1973, c. 363 has already been construed by the

New Jersey Supreme Court: it prohibits any person from

bringing into New Jersey any solid or liquid waste which

originated or was collected outside the State, except gar-

bage to be fed to swine, until permitted and regulated by

the Commissioner of the New Jersey Department of En-

vironmental Protection (hereinafter “Commissioner” ),

Hackensack Meadowlands v. Mun. Landfill Auth., 68 N. J.

451, 468 (1975).

The Resource Conservation and Recovery Act of 1976

(hereinafter “RCRA”) has not yet been construed. How-

Brief of Appellants 61

ever, its expressed direction in relation to hazardous waste

management and to interstate solid waste management is

clear and unambiguous.

Hazardous Waste Management.

Not later than 18 months after the date of enactment

of Sections 3003, 3004 and 3005 of RCRA, 42 U. S. C.

§§ 6923, 6924 and 6925, the Administrator of the United

States Environmental Protection Agency (hereinafter “Ad-

ministrator’) must promulgate regulations (a) establish-

ing standards, applicable to transporters of hazardous

waste, as may be necessary to protect human health and

the environment, (b) establishing standards, applicable to

owners and operators of facilities for the treatment, stor-

age or disposal of hazardous waste as may be necessary to

protect human health and the environment, and (c) re-

quiring each person owning or operating a facility for

hazardous waste treatment, storage or disposal to secure a

permit for such facilities. The Administrator, or a State,

if applicable, cannot issue a permit unless a facility com-

plies with applicable requirements of RCRA, 42 U. S. C.

§ 6925(c); and proposed disposal sites must be separately

listed in permit applications, 42 U. S. C. § 6925(b).

Although a state may develope its own hazardous

waste program, 42 U. S. C. § 6926, it is specifically pro-

hibited, with certain exceptions not material here, from

imposing any requirements less stringent than those

adopted by the Administrator, 42 U. S. C. § 6929.

The Congressional approach to hazardous waste man-

agement is particularly significant for two reasons. Firstly,

since federal—and state—regulatory controls must, at a

minimum, be protective of “human health and the en-

62 Brief of Appellants

vironment”, 42 U. S. C. §§ 6922, 6923, 6924 and 6929,

then a fortiori, a state can adequately protect its vital land

resources by something less than total exclusion. Sec-

ondly, a federal permit issued to a person owning or oper-

ating a facility for the treatment, storage or disposal of

hazardous waste pursuant to 42 U. S. C. § 6925 “must be

understood to be what it purports to be, a legislative

authorization” to treat, store or dispose of hazardous waste

regardless of its point of origin, Gibbons v. Ogden, 22

U. S. 1, 214 (1824)."

The effect of restrictive state legislation upon federal

licensees was recently reviewed in Douglas v. Seacoast

Products, Inc., 431 U. 8. 265 (1977). Speaking for seven

members of the Court in striking down a Virginia statute

which, in effect, prohibited non-residents of Virginia from

catching menhaden in the Virginia portion of the Chesa-

peake Bay, Mr. Justice Marshall declared:

“A number of coastal States have discriminatory fish-

eries laws, and with all natural resources becoming

increasingly scarce and more valuable, more such

restrictions would be a likely prospect, as both pro-

tective and retaliatory measures. Each State’s fisher-

man eventually might be effectively limited to work-

ing in the territorial waters of their residence, or in

the federally controlled fishing beyond the three-mile

limit. Such proliferation of residency requirements

for commercial fishermen would create precisely the

35. In the context of the present litigation, the evident purpose

of a federal permit to operate a hazardous waste disposal facility is

to confer upon the holder the right to engage in the activity which

gives the permit its real value, namely acceptance from any source

of hazardous waste for storage, treatment or disposal, Douglas v.

Seacoast Products, Inc., 431 U. S., supra.

Brief of Appellants 63

sort of Balkanization of interstate commercial activity

which the Constitution was intended to prevent.”

Douglas v. Seacoast Products, Inc., 431

U. S., supra, at 285-286.

While a state may impose reasonable conservation

regulations to protect its vital resources, such measures

must be designed to effectuate a legitimate local public

interest in an evenhanded manner, Huron Cement Co. v.

Detroit, 362 U. S., supra at 443; Douglas v. Seacoast Prod-

ucts, Inc., 431 U. S., supra, at 278. This New Jersey has

not done.

Despite its unquestioned power to adopt reasonable

nondiscriminatory regulations, New Jersey chose the poli-

tics of exclusion when other non-restrictive alternatives

were both suitable and adequate.

Nothing demonstrates this better than the State’s ap-

proach to hazardous waste management.

Less than 1 year ago, the New Jersey Legislature ap-

proved a supplement to the Solid Waste Management Act

(1970) governing the disposal of hazardous waste, chem-

ical waste, bulk liquids and pesticides in the ground,

N. J. S. A. 13: 1E-38 et seq. Section 5 of said supplement

provides, in pertinent part, as follows:

“After March 15, 1980, no solid waste facility shall

accept or receive for disposal, any hazardous waste,

chemical waste, bulk liquid or pesticide unless such

facility has installed a system for the interception,

collection and treatment of any and all leachate gen-

erated at the facility, and has obtained approval from

the department [of environment protection] for the

entire system.”

N. J. S. A. 13: 1E-42.

64 Brief of Appellants

Not surprisingly, the Assembly Energy and Natural

Resources Committee which reviewed the Act prior to its

passage, discounted good-intentioned concerns about en-

vironmental degradation, saying:

“.. , As originally introduced, this bill would have

prohibited any solid waste facility located within . . .

2 miles of a major aquifer, from accepting such solid

waste for disposal. The Senate Energy and Environ-

ment Committee changed the ‘2-mile’ limitation to

‘1,000 yards.’

The Assembly Energy and Natural Resources Com-

mittee saw much merit in the sponsor’s intentions, but

felt that the prohibition of disposal within 1,000 yards

of a major aquifer was too stringent and would, un-

intentionally, prevent the location of such solid waste

disposal facilities where they would present no danger

to the public health and safety. . . .”

Assembly Energy and Natural Resources Com-

mittee Statement to S. 1493 dated August

2, 1976. (Emphasis added)

The position of the Assembly Committee was adopted

by the New Jersey legislature. The bill, as enacted, per-

mits the disposal of hazardous wastes and pesticides in all

sanitary landfill facilities—-even those located in or near

major aquifers—provided a system for the interception,

collection and treatment of leachate generated at the facil-

ity has been approved by the Department of Environ-

mental Protection and installed at the site.

Brief of Appellants 65

Since hazardous waste can be discarded in a properly

designed, operated and regulated disposal facility with no

reasonable prospect of harm to public health or to en-

vironmental quality, then there is no legitimate local public

interest to be effectuated by the unlimited exclusion from

New Jersey of out-of-state hazardous waste. That being

the case, P. L. 1973, c. 363 must fall under the Supremacy

Clause for improperly limiting the full use and enjoyment

of privileges inhering in a federal permit.

Interstate Solid Waste Management.

There is a second, equally compelling, Supremacy

Clause problem with P. L. 1973, c. 363 which necessitates

its invalidity: the statute stands as an obstacle to the

establishment of solid waste management plans for inter-

state regions.

Pursuant to Section 4002 of RCRA, the Administrator

must issue guidelines that identify areas “which have com-

mon solid waste management problems and are appropri-

ate units for planning regional solid waste management

services” within 180 days after the section’s enactment, 42

U. S. C. § 6942(a). In the event an area identified by

the Administrator is in two or more states, the respective

Governors are specifically required by federal law to con-

sult, cooperate and fix the precise boundaries of the re-

gion, 42 U. S. C. §6946(c)(1). Once the boundaries

have been established appropriate elected officials of gen-

eral purpose units of local government must establish or

designate an agency to develop a plan for the region, 42

U. S. C. §6946(c)(2). It is essential to note that the

public officials referred to in the federal Act have no dis-

66 Brief of Appellants

cretion in the matter. Congress has mandated that they

“shall” take the designated action.”

Consistent with the directive contained in 42 U. S. C.

§ 6942, on May 16, 1977, the Administrator promulgated

Interim Guidelines for the Identification of Regions and

Agencies for Solid Waste Management, 40 CFR § 255.

Among the criteria listed for identifying regions are “Geo-

graphical areas which have a history of cooperating to

solve problems in environmental or other related matters”,

40 CFR §255.10(a). Preliminary identification of re-

gions is to be made by the Govenor or his or her rep-

resentative, 40 CFR § 255.20, taking into consideration the

published criteria for identifying regions, 40 CFR § 255.10,

as well as the boundaries of Standard Metropolitan Statis-

tical Areas (hereinafter “SMSA”), 40 CFR § 255.24(c).

Once a Governor recommends the identification of an in-

terstate region, concerned officials in the entire recom-

mended region must be consulted, 40 CFR § 255.24.

Significantly, New Jersey and Pennsylvania have a

history of cooperating to solve environmental and other

problems. In 1966, the two States established the Dela-

ware Valley Urban Area Compact for the coordination of

regional planning ia the compact area, N. J. S. A. 32:27-1

et seq., 73 P. S. § 701. Said area specifically included the

counties of Burlington, Camden, Gloucester and Mercer

in the State of New Jersey, and the counties of Bucks,

Chester, Delaware and Montgomery and the City of Phila-

delphia in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, N. J. S. A.

32:27-2(b).

The Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commissiun,

which was created by the Compact, quickly identified

36. Suits to enforce any which has become effec-

tive pursuant to the Resource tion and Recovery Act of

1976 may be brought by any person, 42 U. S. C. § 6972(a).

Brief of Appellants 67

solid waste planning as one of its statutory responsibilities.

In 1969, the agency commissioned a 6 volume Regional

Solid Waste Management Study for the subject area,"" as

part of its recognized planning function.

Furthermore, the Philadelphia SMSA includes, with

the single exception of Mercer County, the very same

counties and city participating in the Delaware Valley

Urban Area Compact; and that is coterminus with one of

the geographical areas involved in this litigation.

New Jersey has also entered into a compact with the

States of Connecticut and New York, N. J. S. A. 32:22B-1

et seq., C. G. S. A. § 16-339 et seq., McK Unconsol. Laws

§ 830 et seq. Not unexpectedly, solid waste management

planning falls within the ambit of the compact, see p. 8

supra.

It is difficult to conceive how an interstate solid waste

management plan can be developed when a participating

state prohibits the entry within its borders of solid or

liquid waste which originates or is collected outside the

territorial limits of the state. A plan cannot be developed

and implemented between unwilling participants.

In Perez v. Campbell, 402 U. S., supra, at 652, the

United States Supreme Court re-emphasized the control-

ling principle “that any state legislation which frustrates

the full effectiveness of federal law is rendered invalid by

the Supremacy Clause.” State laws which prohibit the

interstate movement of solid and liquid waste are anti-

thetical to the accomplishment of the expressed Congres-

sional purpose. Regional plans cannot be developed if

states are free to prohibit the entry of solid waste origi-

nating in other states.

37. Re Solid Waste M. Design M

6 vols. :U Fels

68 Brief of Appellants

While it is true that the Committee on Interstate and

Foreign Commerce, U. S. House of Representatives, in its

report on H. R. 14496, commented: “At this time federal

preemption of this [discarded materials] problem is un-

desirable, inefficient, and damaging to local initiative,” p.

33, that remark was directed to the overall “discarded

materials problem”, and not to the relationship of specific

state legislation with particular provisions in RCRA. Con-

gress had no intention, either express or implied, to bar

concurrent state legislation in the discarded materials area,

but it also did not intend to sanction state enactments

which would frustrate “any part of the purpose of the

federal legislation.” Colorado Comm'n wv. Continental,

372 U. §. 714, 724 (1963).

Eleven states have already adopted laws which by

their express terms, in varying degrees, directly affect the

movement of solid waste in interstate commerce, see pp.

32-33, supra. Even if these laws are not in actual conflict

with RCRA (which appellants do not concede) they estab-

lish an unmistakable potential for conflict, City of Burbank

wv. Lockheed Air Terminal, 411 U. S. 624 (1973), Jones v.

Rath Packing Co., 430 U. S. 519 (1977). This they may

not constitutionally do under the Supremacy Clause.

D

Appellants Were Unconstitutionally Denied a Plenary

Hearing on the Merits of Their Claim.

In granting appellants’ motion for summary judgment

on March 25, 1974, the New Jersey Superior Court, Law

Division, declared P. L. 1973, c 363 unconstitutional as a

matter of law on the ground that same discriminates

against interstate commerce.

Brief of Appellants 69

The statements made by Mr. Justice Brennan, when

he sat upon the New Jersey Supreme Court, in Judson v.

Peoples Bank & Trust Co. of Westfield, 17 N. J. 57, 74

(1954), continue to represent the definitive expression of

the standards of decision governing the grant or denial of

a summary judgment motion:

“It is designed to provide a prompt business-

like and inexpensive method of disposing of any

cause which a discriminating search of the merits

in the pleadings, depositions and admissions on

file, together with the affidavits submitted on the

motion clearly shows not to present any genuine

issue of material fact requiring disposition at a trial.

The standards of decision governing the grant

or denial of a summary judgment emphasize that a

party opposing a motion is not to be denied a trial

unless the moving party sustains the burden of show-

ing clearly the absence of a genuine issue of material

fact. At the same time, the standards are to be ap-

plied with discriminating care so as not to defeat a

summary judgment if the movant is justly entitled to

one.” (Emphasis added )

Appellants’ motion for summary judgment was based

only upon those Commerce Clause issues which did not

involve questions of material fact. They, like appellees,

acknowledged the existence of other issues upon which

summary judgment could not be granted (A191, 192-193).

The trial judge’s opinion reveals his determination as

a matter of federal constitutional law (a) that the trans-

portation of solid or liquid waste across state lines is a

legitimate subject of interstate commerce, and (b) that

70 Brief of Appellants

P. L. 1973, c. 363, on its face, discriminates against inter-

state commerce. Had the trial court not reached those

conclusions, appellants’ motion for summary judgment

would have been denied, and the plenary hearing sched-

uled for April 15, 1974, would have been conducted.

By their notice of appeal (A198) appellees appealed

to the Superior Court of New Jersey, Appellate Division:

“. . from the final judgment of the Superior

Court, Law Division, Mercer County, entered on

March 26, 1974, by the Honorable George Y. Schoch,

declaring P. L. 1973, c. 363 unconstitutional as viola-

tive of Art. 1, Section 8, Clause 3 of the Constitution

of the United States in favor of plaintiffs, City of

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, City of Glen Cove, Long

Island, New York, Landfill and Development Com-

pany, MAC Sanitary Landfill, Inc., Kinsley’s Land-

fill, Inc. and DeLorenzo-Interstate Waste Removal

Co., Inc.”

Said notice of appeal also contained a certification

that a plenary hearing had never been held before the

trial court:

“I hereby certify that there was no testimony

taken in the above case. The matter was decided

on summary judgment.”

Appellees did not appeal from the denial of their

cross-motion for partial summary judgment. If they did,

and leave to file an interlocutory appeal was granted by

the Superior Court, Appellate Division, the only relief to

which appellees would have been entitled was a partial

summary judgment and a remand for a hearing of the

numerous remaining issues of material fact.

Although the New Jersey Supreme Court agreed that

the transportation and disposal of solid waste represented

Brief of Appellants 71

a legitimate subject of interstate commerce, it did not

agree that P. L. 1973, c. 363 discriminated against inter-

state commerce. However, instead of reversing the deci-

sion of the trial court and remanding the matter for a

hearing on the material factual issues presented by the

complaint, it disposed of the entire matter by upholding

the constitutionality of the statute. Appellants were

thereby entirely deprived of an opportunity to present

evidence on the reasonableness of the exercise of the

State's police power and the extent of the burden upon

interstate commerce. They were also deprived of their

right to present evidence with respect to the numerous

non-Commerce Clause issues raised by their complaint.

This result lacked fundamental fairness. Appellees

had never urged that they were entitled to judgment, as a

matter of law, on the merits of the entire action. Quite to

the contrary, they specifically argued to the trial court that

there were numerous unresolved questions of material fact

(A192-193):

“At this stage of the litigation sub judice the Court

has not had an opportunity to consider any of the

relevant facts and circumstances except affidavits sub-

mitted in favor of and in opposition to the issuance

of ad interim restraints.

Among those proofs which the court must consider

are: the nature and extent of the dangers to the

health, safety, welfare and environment of New

Jersey presented by the disposal of wastes in New

Jersey; the nature and extent of the solid waste crisis

in New Jersey; the rapid exhaustion of landfill in New

Jersey; the volume of out-of-state waste being dis-

posed of in New Jersey; the severe limiting effects on

72 Brief of Avpellants

the future development of property which has been

used for sanitary landfill purposes; the extent of the

effect on interstate commerce.”

Appellants petitioned the New Jersey Supreme Court

to reconsider their decision. They pointed out that a

plenary hearing had never been held on any issue raised

by the complaint, including the reasonableness of the

exercise of the State’s police power and the extent of its

burden upon interstate commerce, and that P. L. 1973, c.

363 was not being attacked on Commerce Clause grounds

alone.**

After considering appellants’ arguments, the New

Jersey Supreme Court remanded the case to the trial court

“ _ . for such further proceedings, if any, that that Court

may deem appropriate... .” (A299). No guidance was

given to the trial court as to what proceedings, if any,

might be “deemed appropriate” by the New Jersey

Supreme Court in light of its decision, on the merits, that

P. L. 1973, c. 363 represented a reasonable exercise of

the State’s police power and did not unreasonably burden

interstate commerce. Said decision was neither altered

nor amended in connection with the remand. In addition,

the Court refused to retain jurisdiction and specifically

prohibited the trial court from granting any interim in-

junctive relief. After effectively depriving appellants of

their day in court on the merits of their complaint, the

Court also foreclosed appellants from pursuing procedural

remedies in the trial court.

The net effect of these rulings was not only to place

appellants in a substantially worse position than they would

have been in had their motion for summary judgment ini-

38

c. 363 on

Brief of Appellants 73

tially been denied by the trial court, but also to deprive

them of a most basic and fundamental right: appellants

were never afforded an opportunity to be heard prior to a

final determination by the New Jersey Supreme Court that

P. L. 1973, c. 363 (a) represented a reasonable exercise of

the State’s police power, and (b) did not unreasonably

burden interstate commerce. In addition, they were fore-

closed from obtaining injunctive relief pending a resolution

of “. . . such further proceedings, if any, that . . . [the

trial] Court may deem appropriate... .”

As a practical consequence of this action, appellants

were constrained to dismiss, with prejudice, each and

every count in their complaint which had not been directly

addressed by the New Jersey Supreme Court, so that a

direct appeal could be taken to this Court.

Appellants respectfully contend that they have been

denied due process of law by the New Jersey Supreme

Court, in violation of the 5th and 14th amendments to the

Constitution of the United States, and in contravention of

the decisions of this Court.

The principle of federal constitutional law applicable

to the case at bar has been reiterated time and time again

by the United States Supreme Court:

“The fundamental requisite of due process of law is

the opportunity to be heard.”

Grannis v. Ordean, 234 U. S. 385, 394 (1914);

Mullane v. Central Hanover Tr. Co., 339

U.S. 306 (1950).

the event the status quo was not maintained, but rather

the revocation of the interlocutory injunction issued by

court, ap would have suffered immediate and ir-

reparable harm. egpears to be consistent with the conclusion

ay at be ustice Brennan, who twice stayed the mandate of

ersey Supreme Court.

74 Brief of Appellants

An opportunity to be heard includes an opportunity to

present a case and to be heard in its support. Brinkerhoff-

Faris Co. v. Hill, 281 U. S. 673, 681 (1930). Although

appellants scrupulously followed the procedural rules in-

hering in the courts in the State of New Jersey, they were

entirely deprived of an opportunity to be heard at a

meaningful time and in a meaningful manner in order to

defend their substantive right. They had no opportunity

to be heard on the merits of any issue of material fact

raised by their complaint prior to the final determination.

Rhodes v. Houston, 202 F. Supp. 624 (Neb. 1962), aff'd

309 F. 2d 959 (8th Cir. 1962), cert. den. 372 U. S. 909

(1963), 383 U. S. 971 (1966).

The denial of this fundamental right was raised to the

New Jersey Supreme Court at a conference meeting in the

presence of appellees on November 18, 1975, the very

same day that the case sub judice was decided. Accord-

ingly, the additional federal claim presented by the within

due process argument was raised by appellants at their

very first opportunity. Brinkerhoff-Faris Co. v. Hill, 281

U. S., supra, at 678. It was asserted a second time less

than two weeks later in a motion addressed to the New

Jersey Supreme Court which resulted in the aforesaid

order remanding the case to the trial court “. . . for such

further proceedings, if any, that that Court may deem

appropriate... .”

Upon appellants’ consent to dismiss all counts of its

complaint except Counts I, VII and XIX, no further pro-

ceedings were deemed appropriate by the trial court,

(A300),

“ . . in light of . . . the decision by the New Jersey

Supreme Court upholding the constitutionality of

P. L. 1973, c. 363 as representing a valid exercise of

the State’s police power which does not unreasonably

Brief of Appellants 75

burden interstate commerce and said Court thereby

having finally determined Counts I, VII and XIX of

plaintiffs’ complaint... .”

The action taken by the New Jersey Supreme Court

in upholding the constitutionality of P. L. 1973, c. 363

without affording appellants an opportunity to be heard

on the merits violates due process of the law. Funda-

mental rights canuot so lightly be discarded.

76 Brief of Appellants

CONCLUSION.

The New Jersey Supreme Court has decided issues of

national importance in a way not in accord with the deci-

sions of this Court. It has also so far departed from the

accepted and usual courses of judicial proceedings as to

violate appellants’ right to due process of the law in vio-

lation of the 5th and 14th amendments to the Constitu-

tion of the United States.

It is respectfully urged, in order of preference, and in

the alternative, (1) That the judgment of the New Jersey

Supreme Court be reversed and P. L. 1973, c. 363 be de-

clared unconstitutional either on the ground that same

directly burdens and discriminates against interstate com-

merce, or on the ground that same stands as an obstacle

to the accomplishment of the full purposes and objectives

of Congress in contravention of the Supremacy Clause; or

(2) that the judgment of the New Jersey Supreme Court

be reversed, and the matter remanded to the trial court

for a hearing on the factual issues raised by the Commerce

Clause questions, provided, however, that this Court retain

jurisdiction and continue the stay of judgment heretofore

granted pending 2 Snal determination of the matter by

this Court on its merits.

Respectfully submitted,

HERBERT F. Moore,

ARTHUR MEISEL,

Jamieson, McCCaARDELL, Moore,

PEskIN & SPICER,

A Professional Corporation,

Attorneys for Appellants.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.