Appellants Brief — FIRST FEDERAL S. & L. v. Massachusetts Tax Comm'n

Supreme Court brief1978

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

POR Aku wu —->+

CORRECTED Curt

—_——

In the |

Supreme Court of the United States.

Ocrosen Tem, 1977,

No, 77.36.

FIRST FEDERAL SAVINGS AND LOAN ASSOCIATION

OF BOSTON ef at.,

APPELLANTS,

».

STATE TAX COMMISSION ev au.,

APre. Lees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME JUDICIAL COURT

OF MASSACHUSETTS

Brief for Appellees.

Franc X. Beccorn,

Attorney General,

S. Srepven Rosenreo,

Assistant Attorney General,

Joun EB. Bowman, Ja.,

Assistant Attorney General,

Maroor Borsronn,

Assistant Attorney General,

One Ashburton Place,

Boston, Massachusetts 02108

BATEMAN & BLADE, INC,, POSTON, MASSACHUSETTS

FILED

Fee 17 1978

RODAK, JR., CLERK

Ses

-~ac&

he a ill}

(i : F 1i Hy H

Hi Hi le Me!

domiciliary corporation must share the costs

of state government. 40

V. The associations’ due proces and equal pro-

tection claims are insubstantial.

Conclusion 47

Statutory appendix

Table of Authorities Cited.

Case.

Amoskeag Savings Bank v. Purdy, 231 U.S, 373

(1913) 7

Atlantic Cleaners & Dyers, Inc. v. United States, 286

U.S. 427 (1032) 27n

Bank of Redemption v. City of Boston, 125 U.S. 60

(1888) 15, Mn

Bass, Ratoliff & Gretton, Ltd. v. State Tax Comm'n,

266 U.S. 271 (1024) 37n

Brady v, John Hancock Mut, Life Ins. Co., —

Miss, _., M2 So. 2d 205 (1977), app. diem'd,

—e US. —., 08 8, Ct, 38 (1977) 44n, 45n

Butler Brothers v. McColgan, 315 U.S. 501 (1942) 39n

Carmichael v. Southern Coal Co., 301 U.S. 405

(1937) 38, 47

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED. ii

Central Railroad Co. v. Pennsylvania, 370 U.S, 607

(1962) 44, 46

Clucel v. Tlinols, 356 U.S. 571 (1058) M

Colonial Pipeline Co. v. Traighe, 421 U.S. 100

(1975) 39n, 42n

Complete Auto Transit, Inc. v. Brady, 490 U.S, 274

(1977) 40n, 42n, 44

Dandridge v. Williams, 307 U.S. 471 (1970) 199

Data Procesing Service v. Camp, 307 U.S. 150

(1970) Wn

Davenport Bank v. Davenport Board of Equalize-

tion, 123 U.S. 83 (1887) 139

Doyle v. Mitehell Brothers Co., 247 U.S. 170 (1018) »”

Educational Films Corp. v. Ward, 282 U.S. 370

(1031) 37a

Erlenbaugh v. United States, 400 U.S. 239 (1072) 27a

Ferguson v. Skrupa, 372 U.S. 726 (1963) lin

First Agricultural Nat'l Bank v. State Tax Comm'n,

302 U.S. 3309 (1068) l4n, 20

First Ped. Sav. & Loan Aan v. Connelly, 142 Conn,

483, 115 A. Od 455 (1055), app. diem'd, 350 U.S.

027 (1056) Mu

Firet Ped. Sav. & Loan Amn v. State Tax Commis-

don, —.. Mas, —., Maas. Adv, Sh. (1077) 805,

963 N.E. Od 475 (1977) passim

First Nat'l Bank v. Anderson, 260 U.S. 341 (1926) 199

First Nat'l Bank v. Louisiana Tax Comm'n, 289 U.S,

60 (1933) %

First Nat'l Bank of Hartford v. City of Hartford, 273

U.S. 548 (1927) 18

iv TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED.

First Nat'l Bank of Wellington v. Chapman, 173 U.S.

205 (1800) ll, 15, 18

General Motors Corp. v. Washington, 377 U.S. 496

(1964) 4in, 42, 43, 44, 450

Gurley v. Rhoden, 421 U.S. 200 (1975) 37»

Harrison v. Northern Trust Co., 317 U.S. 476 (1063) 26n

Hawley v. City of Malden, 232 U.S. 1 (1014) 440

Hedgebeth v. North Carolina, 334 U.S. 806 (1048) es)

Ivan Allen Co. v. United States, 422 U.S. 617 (1075) 30n

Kokosrka v. Belford, 417 U.S. 642 (1974) 24

La Caise Populaire Ste. Marie v. United States, 563

F. Od 505 (ist Cir, 1977) M

Laurens Ped, Sav. & Loan Aw'n v. South Carolina

Tax Comm'n, 365 U.S. 517 (1061) 12, 15n, 25, 26

Lawrence v. State Tax Comm'n, 286 U.S. 276 (1932)

41,4

Lehnhausen v. Lake Shore Auto Parts Co., 410 U.S.

356 (1973) 46, 47

Lindsley v. Natural Carbonic Gas Co., 220 U.S. 61

(1911) 19n

Macallen Co. v. Massachusetts, 270 U.S. 620 (1920) T7n

Madden v. Kentucky, 309 U.S. 83 (1940) 47

Manchester Fed. Sav. & Loan Amn v. State Tax

Comm'n, 105 N.H. 17, 101 A. 2d 520 (1063) M

Matson Navigation Co. v. State Bd. of Equalization

of Calif., 207 U.S. 441 (1998)

McCulloch v. Maryland, 4 Wheat. 316 (1819) l4n

Memphis Natural Gas Co. v. Beeler, 315 U.S. 649

(1942) 4)

Mercantile Bark v. New York, 121 U.S. 138 (1887) 15, M4n

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED. Vv

Michigan Nat'l Bank v. Michigan, 365 U.S. 467

(1061) 11, 12;-13, 15, 17)/21, 34n et seq.

Miller Bros. Co. v. Maryland, 347 U.S. 340 (1954) 45n

Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167 (1961) 29

Moody v. Albemarle Paper Co., 417 U.S. 622 (1974)

29, 30

Muniz v. Hoffman, 422 U.S. 454 (1975) 24, 30

National Bellas Hess, Inc. v. Department of Revenue,

386 U.S. 753 (1967) 45n

National Geographic Society v. California Bd. of

Equalization, 430 U.S. 551 (1977) 45n

National Woodwork Mfrs. Ass’n v. NLRB, 386 U.S.

612 (1067) 26n, 27n

New Haven Inelusion Cases, 399 U.S. 392 (1970) 35

Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Minnesota, 322 U.S. 292

(1044) 40n, 42, 43n, 46

Northwestern States Portland Cement Co. v. Minne-

sota, 358 U.S. 450 (1959) 42, 44

Norton Co. v. Department of Revenue, 340 U.S. 534

(1951) 37n, 43

Owensboro Nat'l Bank v. Owensboro, 173 U.S. 664

(1899) 14n

People v. Weaver, 100 U.S. 539 (1879) 15

Perry v. Commerce Loan Co., 383 U.S. 392 (1966) 25

Postal Telegraph-Cable Co. v. Richmond, 249 U.S.

252 (1919) 42

Railroad Co. v. Commissioners, 103 U.S. 1 (1880) l4n

Shaffer v. Carter, 252 U.S. 37 (1920) 43

Sierra Club v. Morton, 405 U.S. 727 (1972) 38n

vi TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED.

South Carolina State Highway Dept. v. Barnwell

Brothers, Inc., 303 U.S. 177 (1938) 19n

Standard Oil Co. v. Peck, 342 U.S. 382 (1952) 40n, 44

State v. Minnesota Fed. Sav. & Loan Ass'n, 218

Minn. 229, 15 N.W. 2d 568 (1944) 34

Tidewater Oil Co. v. United States, 409 U.S. 151

(1972) 26n

Tradesmens Nat'l Bank v. Oklahoma Tax Comm'n,

309 U.S. 560 (1940) 11, 13n, 17n, 18, 36

Underwood Typewriter Co. v. Chamberlain, 254

U.S. 113 (1920) 42

Union Nat'l Bank of Clarksburg v. Home Loan Bank

Board, 233 F. 2d 695 (D.C. Cir. 1956) 27n

United States v. American Trucking Ass’ns, Inc., 310

U.S. 534 (1940) 25

United States v. Bacto-Unidisk, 394 U.S. 784 (1969) 29

United States v. City of Detroit, 355 U.S. 466 (1958) 14n

United States v. Cooper Corp., 312 U.S. 600 (1941) 27n

United States v. County of Fresno, 429 U.S. 452

(1977) 14n

United States v. Kirby Lumber Co., 284 U.S. 1

(1931) 39

United States v. State Tax Comm’n, 348 F. Supp.

397 (D. Mass. 1972), aff'd and modified, 481 F. 2d

963 (1st Cir. 1973) 4, 34

United States v. State Tax Comm’n, 481 F. 2d 963

(Ist Cir. 1973) 4, 5n, 12n, 16, 20, 21, 38n

United States Glue Co. v. Oak Creek, 247 U.S. 321

(1918) 42

Washington v. Davis, 426 U.S. 229 (1976) 19n

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED. vii

Western Live Stock v. Bureau of Revenue, 303 U.S.

250 (1938) 42n, 44

Wisconsin v. J.C. Penney Co., 311 U.S. 435 (1940) 4ln

Wisconsin v. Minnesota Mining Co., 311 U.S. 452

(1940) 42

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS.

United States Constitution

Commerce Clause 2, 6, 7, 9, 19n, 37n, 40 et seq.

Fourteenth Amendment

Due Process Clause 2, 6, 37n, 45

Equal Protection Clause 2, 6, 37n, 45

12 U.S.C. (1970 and Supp. V 1975)

§ 548 12, 13n, 14, 15, 34n, 38n

§ 1421 29

§§ 1421-1449 3

§ 1423 29

§ 1424 29

§ 1433 15n

§§ 1461-1468 3, 26

§ 1464(a) 26, 27n, 32

§ 1464(b) 32n

§ 1464(c) 32, 33, 42

§ 1464(d) 32n

§ 1464(e) 26n, 27, 28n, 32n

§ 1464(f) 29, 32n

§ 1464(h) 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 et seq.

§ 1464(i) 32n

§ 1464(k) 32n

§ 1465 27

viii TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED.

§§ 1724-1730c 3

§ 1726(b) 5n

§§ 1751-1790 28

§ 1752a 29

§§ 1753-1756 29

§ 1757 28n

§ 1766 29

§ 1768 22n

28 U.S.C. § 1257(2) (1970) 2

Act of October 20, i951, c. 521, Title III, § 313(d),

65 Stat. 490 24n

Act of October 16, 1962, Pub. L. 87-834, § 6(e)(1),

76 Stat. 984 24n

Act of August 3, 1976, Pub. L. 94-375, § 22, 90 Stat.

1078 32

Federal Credit Union Act of 1934, 48 Stat. 1216 28, 29

§ 2 29

§ 7 28n

§ 16 29

Home Owners’ Loan Act of 1933, c. 64, §§ 1-9, 48

Stat. 128 13n, 26, 27n, 28

§ 5(a) 26

§ 5(e) 26n

§ 5(h) 5, 12, 24n

§ 6 27n

Pub. L. 91-156, § 2(a), 83 Stat. 434 13n

M.G.L. c. 14, § 2 (West Supp. 1977) 2n

M.G.L. c. 59 (West 1973 and Supp. 1977) 25n

M.G.L. c. 63 (West Supp. 1977)

§ 11 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11 et seq.

§ 11(a)(1) 2, 3, 4n, 5, 8

§ 11(a)(2) 4, 5, 12n

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED.

§ 11(b)(1)

§ 11(b)(2)

M.G.L. c. 64D, § 1 (West 1969)

M.G.L. c. 64H, § 2 (West Supp. 1977)

M.G.L. c. 641, § 2 (West Supp. 1977)

M.G.L. c. 93, § 34 (West Supp. 1977)

M.G.L. c. 168, § 58 (West 1971)

c. 170, § 38 (West 1971)

c

§ 21

M.G.L. c. 231A, § 1 (West Supp. 1977)

Mass. Stat. 1909, c. 419

Mass. Stat. 1926, c. 273, § 24

Mass. Stat. 1966, c. 14

§§ 1-4

§ 11

. 171 (West 1971 and Supp. 1977)

ix

2, 3, 4n, 5, 8

4, 5, 12n

23n, 31

3ln

3ln

3ln

x TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED.

Mass. Stat. 1971, c. 555, §§ 26, 27 3n

Mass. Stat. 1975, c. 684, § 44 3n

Mass. Stat. 1977, cs. 15, 19, 20-24 33n

Conn. Stat. Ann. Tit. 36-196 (West Supp. 1978) 3ln

N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 394:5 (1968 Replacement

Ed.) ; 3ln

R.I. Gen. Laws § 19-21-5M (Bobbs-Merrill 1976) 3ln

RULES AND REGULATIONS.

12 C.F.R. (1977)

§ 500.3 32n

§§ 541.1-556.9 32n

§ 544.1 20

§ 545 32n

§ 563.13(a)(1) 6n

35 Fed. Reg. 4044 (March 4, 1970) 20

Internal Revenue Code

§ 11, subchapter H 24

§ 501(c)(14)(A) 22n, 24

§ 3112 22n

§ 3305 22n

Massachusetts Rules of Appellate Procedure, Rule 18,

365 Mass. 844, 864 (1974) 35n

Supreme Court Rule 36 35

LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS.

77 Congressional Record

2429 13n

2474-2507 13n, 26

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED. xi

2479 26, 28

2480 . 27

2481 28

2483-2486 28

2567-2588 13n

2579 27

3206 28

4930 13n

4974 13n

4987 28

4995 13n

7259 28

7259-7261 28

12218 28

12218-12226 28

12223 28

12224-12225 28

H.R. Rep. No. 55, 73d Cong., Ist Sess. (1933) 13n, 26n

H.R. Rep. No. 210, 73d Cong., Ist Sess. (1933) 13n

Senate Committee on Banking, Housing and Urban

Affairs, 93d Cong., lst Sess., Report of the Presi-

dent’s Commission on Financial Structure and

Regulation (December, 1972) Including Recom-

mendations of the Department of the Treasury

(Comm. Print 1973) 29n, 30n

S. Rep. No. 91, 73d Cong., Ist Sess. (1933) 26n

S. Rep. No. 91-530, 91st Cong., Ist Sess., reprinted

in [1969] U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 1594 13n, l4n

xii TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED,

MISCELLANBOUS.,

[1976) Credit Union Guide (Prentice-Hall) 25n

Hellerstein, State Taxation and the Supreme Court:

Toward a More Unified Approach to Constitu-

tional Adjudication, 75 Mich. L. Rev. 1496 (1977) = lan

{1968} Mass. Comptroller's Report, Mass. Pub. Doo,

140 (10969), abstracted in Mas. H.R. No. 500

(1969) 17a

{1970} Mass. Comptrolier's Report, Mass. Pub. Doo,

140 (1971), abstracted in Mas. H.R. No, 500

(1971) 17n

[1976] Mass. Comptroller's Report, Mass. Pub. Doo.

140 (1977), abstracted in Mas. H.R. No. 590

(1977) 17a

Snider, J.L., Credit Unions in Massachusetts (1939)

22n, 23n, Sin, 32

Surrey, S., and Warren, W., The Income Tax Pro-

ject of the American Law Institute: Gros In-

come, Deductions Accounting, Gains and Losses,

Cancellation of Indebtedness, 66 Harv. L. Rev.

761 (1953) 39n

In the

Supreme Court of the United States.

Ocrosen Trem, 1977,

No, 77-3M.

FIRST FEDERAL SAVINGS AND LOAN ASSOCIATION

OF BOSTON er at.,

APPELLANTS,

STATE TAX COMMISSION er at.,

Arre.Lers,

ON APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME JUDICIAL COURT

OF MASSACHUSETTS.

Brief for Appellees.

Questions Presented for Review.

i

1. Does a state tax statute discriminate against

savings and loan associations when it permits both the

federal institutions subject to the tax to deduct

income the additions which both are required by

to make to their guaranty funds

HE

2. Are credit unions “similar” to federal savings and loan

associations under the standards of 12 U.S.C. § 1464(h)

(1970)?

5. Does 12 U.S.C. § 1464(h) forbid states from imposing

on federal savings and loan associations a franchise tax

from real estate loans secured by out-of-state property?

5. Has Massachusetts violated either the Due Process or

Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment, by

Pron Proceepines.

This appeal is brought under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(2) (1970)

associations chartered under the provisions of 12 U.S.C.

§§ 1461-1468 (1970 and Supp. V. 10975); they all have

their home offices in Massachusetts, and the record discloses

no branch offices outside Massachusetts. They are members

of the Federal Home Loan Bank System, 12 U.S.C. §§ 1421.

1449 (1970 and Supp. V. 1975), and are insured by the

Federal Savings and Loan Insurance Corporation, 12 U.S.C.

§§ 1724-17300 (1970 and Supp. V. 1975) (A. 11).

The challenged statutory provisions, M.G.L. ©. 63, §§

ll(a)(l) and (b)(1), were enacted in substantially their

present form in 1066. Mass. Stat. 1966, © 14, § 11."

Sections ll(a)(l) and (b)(1) impose on state-chartered

principal

1966, ©. 14, §§ 1-4. The statute

amendments do not

1971, ©. S55, §§ 26, O7, Mass. Stat. 1975,

!

.

|

djopstists cfd Hin iE AL Hii

tHE Pit a | ie

iell EBS iin Tat iH

tet =38} Fr Hi ui ; nit

y Hy! 3 Feu pee} dead i

it TE t Hae Hae

srt 32 Kili ::

HH Hie ti He Ee etl

THE RETR mT

7 : : 7 e352 : }- sis i

folie hit +1 it HE i vi

JAP ae hGllly (del

Hy a : HUH TH i! faith

Ha ea Hen imate

ao L : a #

ti tty i ‘Ag THE HEHE Hil

than state law demands trom state savings and cooperative

banks." Their deduction under § 11 was therefore also

smaller, and this, they claim, represented discrimination

forbidden by § 1464(h). Further, the appellants sought to

invalidate § 11 because credit unions are not subject to the

tax. They claimed that the credit unions are “similar” to

federal savings and loan associations within the meaning of

§ 1464(h), and the exclusion of credit unions from § 11 was

therefore discriminatory. The appellants also claimed that

the type of tax imposed by § 11 was not among those

authorized by Congress in § 1464(h).

Appellants offered three constitutional grounds for invali-

dating § 11, all similar in substance to one another. On

account of the state's failure to exclude income derived from

Amendment.

The Supreme Judicial Court found the state statute valid.

It held that:

i

ts

*The guaranty fond requirements for savings benks are

M.C.L. ©. 168, § SB (West 1071). The total requirement & 7%

cent of deposits, except that the trustees may elect to transfer money to

surplus, rather than the guaranty fund, if the fund amounts to et least 5

per cent of deposits, The guaranty fund & held to meet lowes in the

business of the savings banks

oy Oy, ee ee ae banks, found at

M.G.L. ©. 170, § 38 (Wet 1971), are also to meet busines: losses as

well as for “changes in assets, or to eetablish reserves therefor.” The re

quirement totals 10 per cent of total assets, rather then of deposits. The

required additions are 5 per cent of net profits “at each distribution

date.”

7

1. The deduction for required additions to guaranty funds

is not diseriminatory under the terms of 12 U.S.C. §

1464(h), since “[t]he excise statute is wholly neutral.”

Moreover, the deduction did not frustrate the purposes of

§ 1464(h), because it was not shown to create a substantial

competitive disadvantage for the associations. Jurisdictional

Statement (“J.S.”) 40, Mass. Adv. Sh. (1977) at 909, 363

N.E. 2d at 482.

2. Massachusetts credit unions are not “similar” to federal

savings and loan associations in purpose, structure, or actual

practice, J.S. 43, Mass. Adv. Sh. (1977) at 913, 363 N.E.

Od at 484.

3. “The excise imposed by G.L. c. 63, § 11, is a franchise

tax,” measured by income. As such, it falls within the

categories of tax explicitly listed in § 1464(h), and cannot be

deemed wneuthorized by Congress. J.S. 36, Mass. Adv. Sh.

(1977) at 904, 363 N.E. 2d at 480.

4. The associations’ Commerce Clause attack failed

because (a) they had not shown “the extent of the contacts

of any association with any other State,” and (b) their asser-

tions abowt multiple taxation were speculative and un-

founded. J.S. 38, 39, Mass. Adv. Sh. (1977) at 907, 908,

963 NE. Od at 481, 482.

5. The due process and equal protection claims were

without merit. J.S. 40, Mass. Adv. Sh. (1977) at 910, 363

N.E. 2d at 482.

Summary of Argument.

Appellants’ principal claims arise under 12 U.S.C. §

1464(h). This statute reflects a Congressional policy

decision that states should be empowered to tax federal

savings and loan associations so long as the tax does not

favor state banking institutions which are in competition

with them. The judicial inquiry required by § 1464(h) has

two major parts: (1) whether the state taxes the state and

federal institutions in substantially equal measure and (2)

whether, as required by § 1464(h), the tax includes all state

institutions “similar” to federal savings and loan associa-

tions.

In argument I appellees show that the challenged excise

provisions, M.G.L. c. 63, §§ 11(a)(1) and (b)(1), are neutral

on their face and in their practical effect. The deduction

in § 11 for each institution’s minimum required additions to

its guaranty fund is designed to recognize that such

payments deserve to be offset against income. It does not

unfairly distinguish between appellants and their state

counterparts. Nor have appellants offered any proof that

their guaranty fund requirements actually result in a

pattern of disparate tax impact. In fact, the maximum

impact of the guaranty fund deduction is quite small. At

bottom, appellants are attempting to exempt themselves

from state taxation under § 11 altogether, on the ground

that the guaranty fund deduction does not achieve

mathematical equality between federal and state institu-

tions. Section 1464(h) does not demand such rigidity. The

appellants must pay their fair share in supporting the costs

of state government. (Pp. 10-21.)

The second argument shows that the exclusion of Massa-

chusetts credit unions from the tax imposed by § 11 does

not violate § 1464(h), since credit unions are not “similar

local mutual or cooperative thrift and home financing

institutions.” The purposes of federal associations and

credit unions are different. The federal associations were

created to provide home financing. Credit unions, in

_——— er

9

contrast, enable persons of moderate means to pool their

limited savings and obtain personal loans at low interest.

Massachusetts’ tax policy on credit unions mirrors that of

Congress; it exempts federal and state credit unions from

corporate taxation at the same time it taxes federal savings

and loan associations and state cooperative and savings

banks. Section 1464(h) should not be read to prohibit

states from adopting the same framework for taxation that

Congress itself espouses. Moreover, the legislative history of

§ 1464(h) confirms that Congress did not consider credit

unions to be “similar.” If federal savings and loan associa-

tions believe that credit unions ought to be taxed in the

same manner as they, their argument is properly directed to

Congress, not this Court. (Pp. 22-29.)

Finally, an analysis of the record shows that credit unions

actually operate differently and at a far more modest level

than appellants. Their activities are thus not similar. (Pp.

30-36.)

Argument III shows that the tax imposed by § 11, a fran-

chise tax measured by income, is authorized by Congress.

Section 1464(h) includes “franchise” taxes in its terms, and

the use of net income to measure the value of the franchise

is well-accepted by the Court. Moreover, contrary to

appellants’ argument, the determination of which deduc-

tions ought to be included in determining “net income” is

not a question for the Court but a classic policy issue for the

state Legislature. (Pp. 37-39.)

The fourth argument addresses appellants’ Commerce

Clause claim. Appellants are domiciled in Massachusetts,

and all their income-producing activity is centered in

Massachusetts. Under these facts, the Commonwealth’s tax

on the associations’ franchise does not raise a serious

Commerce Clause question, even assuming appellants’

activities have substantial interstate connections. What is

10

more, appellants have failed to establish the interstate

nature of their business. Their claims of multiple taxation

are therefore speculative, and their Commerce Clause claim

without merit. (Pp. 40-45.)

The fifth and final argument treats appellants’ due

process and equal protection claims. The arguments

advanced for both were long ago disposed by this Court as

insubstantial. (Pp. 45-47.)

Argument.

I. Tue Statute’s Depucrion FROM Gross INCOME FOR

REQUIRED ADDITIONS TO AN INSTITUTION’s GUARANTY FuND

pores Nor Vio.aTE 12 U.S.C. § 1464(h), Because rr ts A

Fair, NEUTRAL, AND NONDISCRIMINATORY MEASURE WHICH

Imposes No CompetirivE DISADVANTAGE ON THE FEDERAL

ASSOCIATIONS.

The tax imposed on appellants by § 11 is sound in policy

and evenhanded in operation. The associations’ challenge

focuses on the statutory deduction from gross income for

“minimum additions during the taxable years to [the tax-

payer's] guaranty fund or surplus required by law or the

appropriate federal and state supervisory authorities.”

State and federal institutions are all obliged to set aside a

specified portion of their funds for this purpose as a contin-

gency to meet business losses.* Each institution is disad-

vantaged in its profit-making activities to the degree that it

*The guaranty funds of federal savings and loan associations, savings

banks and cooperative banks are described above. See pp. 5-6, nn. 7,

8, supra.

ll

must take these funds out of circulation. Hence, the Massa-

chusetts Legislature’s decision to eliminate additions to the

guaranty fund from taxable “net operating income” under

§ 11 is plainly rational.’

The appellants’ claim of discrimination under the

standards of § 1464(h) is without merit. The statute on its

face treats all taxed institutions identically, and the differing

guaranty fund requirements do not unfairly differentiate the

associations from their state counterparts. Indeed, the asso-

ciations offer no evidence that their actual tax burden is any

greater than the state institutions’, as measured by income,

deposits, assets, or any other standard. This failure of

proof is fatal; it disregards the Court’s admonition that

when a taxpayer seeks to show discrimination on account of

a “greater” tax, the amount of the tax itself is the starting

point. E.g., Michigan Natl Bank v. Michigan, 365 U.S.

467, 478-479 (1961); Tradesmens Nat? Bank v. Oklahoma

Tax Comm'n, 309 U.S. 560, 567 (1940).

In the place of proof appellants seek to erect a rigid

standard of undeviating equality as the measure of the tax’s

validity. They assert that because the federally-set rate of

guaranty fund additions for the associations is currently,

and fortuitously, lower than the rate set for state institu-

tions, the associations should be exempt altogether from

taxation. The true measure, however, is not mathematical

equality. First Natl Bank of Wellington v. Chapman, 173

U.S. 205, 216 (1899).'' The associations, like other busi-

'°Such a law presents a poor target for judicial intrusion. Cf. Fergu-

son v. Skrupa, 372 U.S. 726, 730 (1963) (“courts do not substitute their

social and economic beliefs for the judgment of legislative bodies, who

are elected to pass laws”).

"It is a truism, as Chapman declared, that “mathematical equality

. . cannot be reached in any system of taxation, and it is useless and

12

nesses domiciled in Massachusetts, must pay their fair share

for the maintenance of their state government. '*

At bottom, the validity of § 11 turns on the meaning of

§ 5(h) of the Home Owners’ Loan Act, § 1464(h). It reads

as follows:

No State . . . taxing authority shall impose any tax

on such associations or their franchise, capital, reserves,

surplus, loans, or income greater than that imposed by

such authority on other similar local mutual or coopera-

tive thrift and home financing institutions. (Emphasis

added.)

The Supreme Court has addressed the meaning of § 1464(h)

twice. On both occasions the Court construed the “greater

than” language to refer to “discrimination” in the state’s

treatment of federal and state institutions. Michigan Nat7

Bank v. Michigan, supra, 365 U.S. at 481; Laurens Fed.

Sav. & Loan Ass’n v. South Carolina Tax Comm’n, 365

U.S. 517, 523 (1961). The Court has further stated that

the meaning of discrimination in this context is to be

derived from 12 U.S.C. § 548, the law governing state

taxation of national banks, which in the Courts words

idle to attempt it. Equality, so far as the differing facts will permit,

and as near as they will permit, is all that can be aimed at or reached.”

173 U.S. at 216.

'* The associations seek to recover all taxes collected by Massachusetts

since 1966, the date the taxing statute was enacted. See, e.g.,

Complaint, {§ 83, 88, and Prayer l(a) (S.J.C. App. 47, 48, 54). The

associations have already received refunds of all moneys collected under

the deposits-based portion of the tax (M.G.L. c. 63, § 11(a)(2), (b)(2))

pursuant to the mandate in United States v. State Tax Comm'n, 481 F.

2d 963 (ist Cir. 1973).

13

should be read “in pari materia” with § 1464(h).'* Michi-

gan Nat Bank v. Michigan, supra, 365 U.S. at 4817

Thus, appellants’ speculations in favor of a constricted

reading of the words “greater than” must face compari-

'*The reasons for the “in pari materia” relationship are not hard to

find. Section 1464(h) was enacted as one part of the Home Owners’

Loan Act of 1933, c. 64, §§ 1-9, 48 Stat. 128, a detailed scheme which

created the federal savings and loan associations. Like national banks,

the associations are chartered, regulated and insured by the federal

government. In creating the associations Congress was absorbed with

the primary issue of channeling loans to homeowners. In neither the

Congressional reports, see H.R. Rep. No. 55, 73d Cong., Ist Sess.

(1933); H.R. Rep. No. 210, 73d Cong., Ist Sess. (1933), nor the floor

debate, see 77 Cong. Rec. 2429, 2474-2507, 2567-2588, 4930, 4974,

4995, did Congress focus on the meaning of § 1464(h).

In the area of national banks, however, Congress has deliberated and

legislated over a long period on the question of state taxing power. The

result has been a policy designed to “prevent actual discrimination”

against national banks while “allow[ing] the states considerable freedom

in working out an equitable tax system .. ..” Tradesmens Nat? Bank v.

Oklahoma Tax Comm'n, 309 U.S. 560, 567 (1940); see, e.g., Davenport

Bank v. Davenport Board of Equalization, 123 U.S. 83, 85 (1887).

When the Home Owners’ Loan Act of 1933 was enacted, § 548 read

as set forth in the statutory appendix to this brief (Revised Statutes

§ 5219, infra, pp. 49-51). In 1969, Congress enacted the current

version of § 548. Pub. L. 91-156, § 2(a), 83 Stat. 434. It states:

For the purposes of any tax law enacted under authority of the

United States or any State, a national bank shall be treated as a

bank organized and existing under the laws of the State or other

jurisdiction within which its principal office is located.

Legislative history to this new § 548 stated: “The committee is in full

accord with the principle that every State government should be allowed

the greatest possible degree of autonomy with regard to the formulation

of its tax structure.” S. Rep. No. 91-530, 91st Cong., Ist Sess., re-

printed in [1969] U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 1594, 1595.

v. Clty of Boston, 125 U.S. 60, 67

fa ay? PE (fen

eH BN te Hil

Hat dlpy ie

PAH EO

Hits lly (HEE

ib fe Tigh feud

sé : 3§ 8 j ale

FHS er Pa

Hiern re

$7=3 7 : ii Th Hit

Hatt + PAE Heh

A Hees ei

Hie eh ine HH

ahi He ial it ait

: . <225 2 j p22 2 iii

Hie uy a3 i 1h

HE Hide Ae wet it

ji it | TRUGe it

Fu ys a Te jE

Leet asl dae ata: 1a

isd) He iN epee ih

Hilts “8 ag eihiad a

pc his Hie] aH ree 3

apni

HE he 1 ith

ie aati aie Li

> iil HE :

i ii ae

H RE HTHE r :

nail He lil

(1) Lack of Proof of Tax Impact.

The associations’ own argument is that impact is

(Appellants’ [“App.”] Br. 21, 29), but nowhere

i9

equality is the standard

Unless precise

under § 1464(h), appellants cannot prevail. This Court has

never permitted such a “mathematical nicety”" to become

the measure of discrimination in the banking'' or indeed in

any other sphere of discrimination analysis." It should not

This burden do so in this case.”

is particularly important when a tax statute is neutral on its

tax in question “discriminates in fact.” Tradesmens Nat?

568 (Court provided with stipulated facts regarding actual

tax burdens); see, ¢.g., Piret Natl Bank of Hartford v. City

of Hartford, 273 U.S. 548, 559 (1927) (ample uncontra-

face. First Natl Bank of Wellington v. Chapman, supra,

173 U.S. at 218-219,

Bank v. Oklahoma Tax Comm'n, supra, 309 U.S. at 567-

dicted evidence demonstrated discrimination).

(2) Ambiguity of Evidence Presented.

" B.g., in Piret Nat'l Bank v. Anderson, 260 U.S. 341, 348 (1026), the

Dandridge v. Wilkams, 907 U.S. 471, 485 (1970).

5

H

é

pil

Herr

fate el

Hy hilis i: HR

niin

ati

E

AIT

ar au :,

iid:

Moreover, these ratios show that in the most recent year,

1974, the associations received in the aggregate a larger

deduction for additions to the guaranty fund than either the

savings banks or cooperative banks (A. 130-132). Overall,

the ratios are in such close compass for all institutions as to

belie any injury on account of the deduction under § 11,

much less discrimination'* (A. 130-132).

ot

iali

a

ba¢s

20

(3) Unfriendly Motive.

In 1966, at the time § 11 was enacted, the federal savings

and loan associations were required under the terms of their

charter to maintain reserves equal to 10 per cent of their

1970, as noted in the Solicitor General's brief,” that the

associations’ reserve requirements were lowered to their

current level. 12 C.F.R. § 544.1, 35 Fed. Reg. 4044

(March 4, 1970; effective April 10, 1970)."" Thus, contrary

F. 2d at 970.

" See of Facts, ¢ 2 (A. 11), Charter N, ¢ 10 (S.).C. App

145), and Charter K (rev.), | 10 (S.J.C. App. 148).

“See p. 6, 0. 8, supra. Notably, the savings banks’ amets are far

21

Finally, the appellants’ characterization of their smaller

current guaranty fund additions as a burden is a self-

serving assertion contrary to reason. The smaller require-

ments permit them to use more of their money for lending

purposes or for distribution to members."* It is the institu-

tions with higher guaranty fund requirements which bear a

comparative burden, by having to take more money out of

circulation. The Massachusetts Legislature’s decision to

permit the guaranty fund deduction is plainly a reflection of

this fact. It is not surprising, therefore, that the associa-

tions have offered no credible inference of an unfriendly

legislative motive underlying the guaranty fund deduction."

See Michigan Natl Bank v. Michigan, supra, 365 U.S. at

473; of. United States v. State Tax Comm'n, supra, 481 F.

2d at 970.

The tax on appellants is rational and fair. The statute

should be upheld.

not required for guaranty fund additions could be distributed to members

. S. 40, Mass. Adv. Sh. (1977) at 909, 363 N.E. 2d

j

Il. THe Exemprion oF MassaAcuusertts Crepir UNIONS

FROM THE CHALLENGED TAx 1S CONSISTENT WITH THE

Provisions oF 12 U.S.C. § 1464(h), anp poes Nor Serve

TO INVALIDATE THE TAX.

A. Introduction.

The associations’ second line of attack under § 1464(h)

focuses on Massachusetts credit unions. Both state and

federally chartered credit unions are exempt from the § 11

excise. The associations complain that the exemption as to

the state credit unions*® violates § 1464(h) because these

entities constitute “other similar local mutual or cooperative

thrift and home financing institutions” within the meaning

of that section.

The claim demands rejection. Massachusetts credit

unions are in character, purpose and operation different

from the state-chartered banks and federal savings and loan

associations subject to the § 11 tax. Since the creation of

the state’s first credit union in 1892,*' credit unions have

always been cooperative membership organizations com-

posed of persons with moderate means who have pooled

their individual, limited savings or deposits together; the

purpose of the unions is to enable the members to obtain

**The associations limit their claim to state-chartered credit unions.

Congress has exempted federally-chartered unions from all federal and

state taxes except nondiscriminatory real and tangible personal property,

social security, Medicare and unemployment insurance taxes. 12 U.S.C.

§ 1768 (1970); I.R.C. §§ 501(c)(14)(A), 3112, 3305.

**The Globe Savings and Loan Association, a credit union with a

membership limited to employees of the Boston Globe, was established

in that year. See J.L. Snider, Credit Unions in Massachusetts at 6

(1939). Massachusetts was the first state to enact a credit union statute,

Mass. Stat. 1909, c. 419, which authorized the formation and incorpora-

tion of credit unions upon approval of the Commissioner of Banks.

<< —

23

personal loans at reasonable interest rates.** Unlike the

institutions taxed by § 11, a credit union is an organization

limited in membership to persons tied together by a

common bond of employment, association or residence; and

the members themselves control the operation of each

union. Predictably, given these characteristics, there are a

far greater number of credit unions than savings banks,

cooperative banks or savings and loan associations in

Massachusetts.** Predictably as well, the assets of credit

unions are far smaller than those of the other financial

institutions. **

Massachusetts’ policy decision to exempt its credit unions

from the franchise tax** represents a reasonable and valid

taxing judgment which Congress and a large majority of

states have also made. The legislative history of § 1464(h)

provides a further specific indication that Congress did not

intend to bring credit unions within the purview of the

“other similar . . . institutions” language of § 1464(h). In

light of these factors, the Court should not construe that

** See J.L. Snider, supra, at 3, 20. Put in statutory terms, credit

unions are corporations organized “for the purpose of accu.rulating and

investing the savings of its members and making loans to them for prov-

ident purposes ....” M.G.L. c. 171, § 2 (West 1971).

**In 1973, there were 370 credit unions (A. 145; Annual Report of the

Massachusetts Commissioner of Banks for 1973, Section B, at 84), 167

savings banks (A. 98-104), 144 cooperative banks (A. 46-51), and 34

federal savings and loan associations (A. 113-129).

**In 1973, Massachusetts credit unions’ assets totalled $1,011,568,892

(Annual Report of the Massachusetts Commissioner of Banks for 1973,

Section B, at 84); the total for savings banks was $18,456,156,660 (A.

131); the total for cooperative banks was $2,971,845,658 (A. 131); and

the total for federal savings and loan associations was $2,477,195,150 (A.

132).

** Massachusetts credit unions are subject to real property taxes, sales

and use taxes, and transfer taxes. See p. 25, n. 37, infra.

24

statutory language to include credit unions, and should

affirm the validity of the Massachusetts tax statute.

B. Congressional Taxing Policy Governing Credit Unions

and the Legislative History of § 1464(h) Both Indicate

that Credit Unions are Not “Similar” Institutions

within the Scope of § 1464(h).

When § 1464(h) is considered in the context of other

pertinent tax statutes and policies of Congress and its

legislative history, see, e.g., Kokoszka v. Belford, 417 U.S.

642, 650 (1974); see also Muniz v. Hoffman, 422 U.S. 454,

458, 468 (1975), it becomes clear that the section should not

be read to include credit unions.

1. Congressional Taxing Policy.

Congress exempts both state and federal credit unions

from federal income tax. I.R.C. § 501(c)(14)(A). It has

not granted the same income tax exemption to federal

savings and loan associations, savings banks, or cooperative

banks. Rather, since 1951 Congress has imposed a corpo-

rate income tax on these institutions. See I.R.C. § 11 and

subchapter H.**

** When Congress first created federal savings and loan associations in

1933, it exempted them from all federal taxes, including taxes on their

franchises, capital, reserves, surplus, loans, and income. Home Owners’

Loan Act of 1933, c. 64, § 5(h), 48 Stat. 133. In 1951 § 1464(h) was

amended to permit, inter alia, federal taxes on the associations’ income.

Act of October 20, 1951, c. 521, Title III, § 313(d), 65 Stat. 490. In

1962, Congress amended § 1464(h) to its present form, striking out all

the previously stated prohibitions on federal taxes. Act of October 16,

1962, Pub. L. 87-834, § 6(e)(1), 76 Stat. 984.

a

These statutes demonstrate that Congress itself has made

a tax policy determination in substance identical to that

espoused by the Massachusetts Legislature in § 11: savings

and loan associations, savings banks and cooperative banks

should be taxed on income; credit unions should not.*’ In

these circumstances, § 1464(h) should not be read as

meaning that a state which taxes federal savings and loan

associations — an activity explicitly permitted by § 1464(h)

— must apply the same tax to state-chartered credit unions.

Such an interpretation would require states either (a) to

impose a tax on a class of organizations which Congress has

consistently deemed worthy of tax protection, or (b) to

forgo collecting a tax on a class of institutions which

Congress has determined may properly be taxed. A reading

of § 1464(h) which requires this result must be avoided.

See, e.g., Perry v. Commerce Loan Co., 383 U.S. 392, 399-

400 (1966); United States v. American Trucking Ass’ns,i

Inc., 310 U.S. 534, 543 (1940). Cf. Laurens Fed. Sav. &

Loan Ass'n v. South Carolina Tax Comm'n, 365 U.S. 517,

524 (1961).

sales and use taxes on credit unions. See M.G.L. c. 59 (West 1973 and

Supp. 1977) (real property tax); c. 64H, § 2 (West Supp. 1977) (sales

tax); c. 641, § 2 (West Supp. 1977) (use tax); see also [1976] Credit

Union Guide (Prentice-Hall) { 60,003 at pp. 60,006, 60,007. In addi-

tion, Massachusetts, like the majority of states, imposes a stamp or trans-

fer tax on credit unions. See M.G.L. c. 64D, § 1 (West 1969); see also

[1976] Credit Union Guide (Prentice-Hall) { 60,003 at p. 60,005.

26

2. The Legislative History of § 1464(h).

Legislative history surrounding the enactment of the

Home Owners’ Loan Act of 1933, 48 Stat. 128, 12 U.S.C.

§§ 1461-1468, offers further guidance to the meaning of

“similar . . . institutions” in § 1464(h). The history reveals

that Congress did not consider credit unions as “similar,”

thus supporting their exclusion from the § 11 tax.**

The Home Owners’ Loan Act was designed to provide

individuals with access to credit at low cost to finance or

refinance their homes. See § 5(a) of the Act, 12 U.S.C.

§ 1464(a); 77 Cong. Rec. 2476-2477, 2479; Laurens Fed.

Sav. & Loan Ass’n v. South Carolina Tax Comm'n, 365

U.S. 517, 523 (1961). The savings and loan associations

which the Act provided for were created to offer direct,

local sources of home financing credit, particularly in

communities with inadequate institutional lending facilities.

Several sections of the Home Owners’ Loan Act contained

language very similar to the phrase “other similar local

mutual or cooperative thrift and home financing institu-

tions” appearing in § 1464(h).** Congressional debate

** Although the legislative history did not focus on § 1464(h) specifi-

cally, see p. 13, n. 13, supra, it did address the question of similar local

institutions in its discussion of other sections. When available, such in-

sights into the intent of Congress must be explored. See Tidewater Oil

Co. v. United States, 409 U.S. 151, 157 (1972); Harrison v. Northern

Trust Co., 317 U.S. 476, 479 (1963); see National Woodwork Mfrs.

Ass'n v. NLRB, 386 U.S. 612, 619-20 (1967); Laurens Fed. Sav. & Loan

Ass'n v. South Carolina Tax Comm'n, supra, 365 U.S. at 521, 523-524.

See H.R. Rep. No. 55, 73d Cong., Ist Sess. (1933), p. 2; S. Rep. No. 91,

73d Cong., Ist Sess. (1933), p. 2.

* See § 5S(a) of the Act, 12 U.S.C. § 1464(a) (Federal Home Loan

Bank Board to provide for creation of federal savings and loan associa-

tions, giving “primary consideration to the best practices of local mutual

thrift and home-financing institutions in the United States” [emphasis

supplied]); § 5(e) of the Act, 12 U.S.C. § 1464(e) (“[nJo charter [for

27

concerning these sections — §§ 1464(e) and 1465 in particu-

lar — provides a clear indication of the specific types of

local institutions with which Congress was concerned.

Credit unions were not included.‘*® See 77 Cong. Rec.

2480, 2579 (remarks of Representatives Luce and Celler);*'

a federal savings and loan association] shall be granted .. . unless the

same can be established without undue injury to properly conducted

existing local thrift and home institutions” [emphasis sup-

plied]}); § 6 of the Act, 12 U.S.C. § 1465 (appropriating sums for “the

promotion and development of local thrift and home-financing institu-

tions, whether State or Federally chartered”).

“The legislative history of §§ 1464(e), 1465 and other sections of the

Home Owners’ Loan Act is clearly pertinent to a consideration of

§ 1464(h). As a general rule, words used in one part of a statute are to

be given a consistent meaning when they appear in other parts of the

same statute. See e.g., United States v. Cooper Corp., 312 U.S. 600,

606-607 (1941); Atlantic Cleaners & Dyers, Inc. v. United States, 286

U.S. 427, 433 (1932); see also Erlenbaugh v. United States, 409 U.S.

239, 243-244 (1972). There is no indication that Congress intended

“other local mutual or cooperative thrift and home financing institutions”

in § 1464(h) to have any different meaning than the similar language it

used in §§ 1464(a), 1464(e) and 1465. See Union Nat’ Bank of Clarks-

burg v. Home Loan Bank Board, 233 F. 2d 695, 696 (D.C. Cir. 1956).

In particular, the use of the terms “mutual” and “cooperative” in

§ 1464(h) but not in the other sections seems without significance; Con-

gressional discussion of the other provisions shows that the entities con-

sidered as “local thrift and home financing institutions” were in fact

“mutual” or “cooperative” organizations.

*' The Congressmen here were debating the provisions of §§ 1465 and

1464(e). Representative Luce of Massachusetts, a sponsor of the Act,

indicated at 2480 that the purpose of encouraging the development of

federal savings and loan associations — the specific aim of § 1465 —

was to serve the many communities in the country that had no “building

and loan associations, mutual savings banks, and no insurance com-

pany ....” He defined “thrift institutions” in similar terms. (He also

explained that building and loan associations were essentially identical to

cooperative banks, id.) As a sponsor, Representative Luce’s views on

the Act’s meaning are entitled to great weight. See National Woodwork

Mfrs. Ass'n v. NLRB, supra, 386 U.S. at 640.

28

4987 (remarks of Representative Hebert);** see also 77

Cong. Rec. 2479 (remarks of Representative Luce); 2481

(remarks of Representatives Celler and Luce); 2483-2486

(Federal Home Loan Bank Board study of financing institu-

tions’ mortgage activities; credit unions not included).

The failure to mention credit unions in connection with

these sections of the Home Owners’ Loan Act cannot be

explained away as happenstance. The Congress which

passed that Act was well aware of credit unions. In its next

sitting it enacted legislation to establish a federal credit

union system. Federal Credit Union Act of 1934, 48 Stat.

1216, 12 U.S.C. §§ 1751-1790. This legislation was intro-

duced by the respective branches’ Committees on Banking

and Currency, which had also been responsible for the

Home Owners’ Loan Act. See 77 Cong. Rec. 3206 (Senate,

1933); 7259-7261 (Senate, 1934); 12218-12226 (House,

1934). Indeed, in the House of Representatives the same

individuals who had managed the Home Owners’ Loan Act

were also the sponsors of the Federal Credit Union Act.

See 77 Cong. Rec. 12218, 12223, 12224-12225. In Con-

gressional debate about the Credit Union Act, no link was

drawn or suggested between credit unions and savings and

loan associations, although the Act itself permitted credit

unions to take mortgages.‘* 77 Cong. Rec. 3206, 7259,

12223-12225. Moreover, the Federal Credit Union Act

established a regulatory system which lodged supervisory

** Representative Hebert debated the language in § 1464(e) providing

that no charter for a new federal savings and loan association should be

granted if it would unduly injure “properly conducted existing local

thrift and home-financing institutions.” His discussion makes clear that

he understood “local thrift and home-financing institutions” to refer to

building and loan associations and related home financing organizations;

this interpretation appears accepted by all.

** See § 7 of the Act, now 12 U.S.C. § 1757.

control in the Farm Credit Administration rather than in

the Federal Home Loan Bank Board. The credit unions

thus operated independently of the federal savings and loan

associations and the entire Federal Home Loan Bank system

of which the associations were and are a part. Compare 12

U.S.C. §§ 1421, 1423, 1424, 1464(f), with Federal Credit

Union Act of 1934, §§ 2, 16, 12 U.S.C. §§ 1752a, 1753-

1756, 1766.

The legislative record thus shows a Congressional under-

standing of credit unions as a class of organizations separate

from the lending institutions mentioned in connection with

§ 1464(h). Neither the Federal Credit Union Act nor

§ 1464(h) has been amended in a way that would suggest a

change in this view. In such circumstances, § 1464(h)

should be construed to reflect the limitations intended by its

framers. See, e.g., Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167, 191

(1961); see also Moody v. Albemarle Paper Co., 417 U.S.

622, 626 (1974); cf. United States v. Bacto-Unidisk, 394

U.S. 784, 799-800 (1969). The reasons advanced by appel-

lants and the United States in this case for extending

§ 1464(h) are essentially policy arguments, appropriately

addressed to Congress and not this Court. See First Agri-

cultural Natl Bank v. State Tax Comm'n, 392 U.S. 339,

345-46 (1968).*

“* First Agricultural Natl Bank, also involving a Massachusetts tax on

federally-chartered financial institutions, pointed out the special im-

portance of judicial deference in this field because it is an area of partic-

ular Congressional concern. Recent legislative action relating to credit

unions and savings and loan associations underscores the wisdom of this

observation. The lending, borrowing and investment powers and tax

treatment of these entities, among others, has recently been the subject

of a comprehensive study. See Senate Committee on Banking, Housing

and Urban Affairs, 93d Cong., Ist Sess., Report of the President’s Com-

mission on Financial Structure and Regulation (December, 1972) In-

cluding Recommendations of the Department of the Treasury (Comm.

Print 1973). As this Report shows, the President's Commission recom-

30

C. The Purposes, Powers and Operation of Massachu-

setts Credit Unions as Reflected in This Record Demon-

strate the Absence of Similarity Between Credit Unions

and the Associations.

Both the associations and the Solicitor General** avoid

any reference to the legislative history of § 1464(h) or to

other relevant taxing statutes that bear on the proper

construction of § 1464(h). They would have the Court

view the issue of “similarity” in a vacuum, divorced from its

historical underpinnings and proper context. This is a path

the Court has firmly rejected. See, e.g., Muniz v.

Hoffman, supra, 422 U.S. at 467; Moody v. Albemarle

Paper Co., supra, 417 U.S. at 626. However, even if

viewed on its own terms, the associations’ argument lacks

substance.

1. Statutory Purposes and Powers.

Appellants contend that the powers and purposes of

Massachusetts credit unions coincide with those of federal

mended equal tax treatment of credit unions and other deposit inter-

mediaries, including savings and loan associations, id. at 57-58, 71; the

Treasury Department, working from the President’s Commission's re-

commendations, supported continuing tax exemptions for credit unions.

Id. at 185; see id. at 186. Congress, however, has retained the income

tax exemption for state-chartered credit unions, and the broader tax

exemption for federally-chartered unions. Congressional inaction does

not justify judicial revision. The policy-making branches should con-

tinue the debate in their own spheres.

**In judging that the exemption of Massachusetts credit unions from

§ 11 violates § 1464(h) (U.S. Br. at 14-16), the United States has con-

tented itself with summarizing the associations’ brief. Its discussion of

the credit union claim does not rely on, or cite, a single decision of this

or any other court.

31

savings and loan associations. A brief review of the two

types of institutions contradicts their argument.

Massachusetts credit unions are cooperative organizations,

chartered by the state, M.G.L. c. 171, § 2, and created to

serve the personal credit needs of people with limited

incomes.** They operate “for the purpose of accumulating

and investing the savings of [their] members and making

loans to them for provident purposes.” Id. While they

may make mortgage loans, by specific statutory command

the major focus of their lending activities is on personal

loans. See M.G.L. c. 171, § 24(a)-(g) (West Supp. 1977).*’

Credit union members are united by a common bond of

occupation, association or residence. See M.G.L. c. 171,

§ 7 (West 1971).‘* Every member must hold at least one

share in the credit union, and every member, regardless of

**See j.L. Snider, Credit Unions in Massachusetts at 3-5, 6, 20-21

(1939).

*' These provisions list the seven types of loans credit unions may

make; personal loans (§ 24[a]) and “[l]oans secured by first mortgages of

real estate” (§ 24[b]) are two of the seven. The section then provides:

Personal loans shall always be given the preference and, in the

event there are not sufficient funds available to satisfy all loan ap-

plications approved by the credit committee, preference shall be

given to the smaller loan.

** Appellants claim there are no statutory limitations on credit union

membership. They overlook M.G.L. c. 171, § 7(c), which requires that

every credit union’s bylaws define “[t]he condition of residence, occupa-

tion or association which qualify [sic] persons for membership.” The

bylaws must be approved by the state Commissioner of Banks before the

credit union may operate, and the Commissioner must specifically ap-

prove any amendment to bylaws governing membership qualifications.

M.G.L. c. 171, §§ 9, 8 (West Supp. 1977). The Massachusetts statutory

provisions on credit union membership are virtually the same as many

other states’ credit union statutes. See, e.g., Conn. Stat. Ann. Tit.

36-196 (West Supp. 1978); N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 394:5 (1968 Replace-

ment Ed.); R.I. Gen. Laws § 19-21-5(M) (Bobbs-Merrill 1976).

32

how many shares, has one vote. This principle of democra-

cy in voting is combined with a high degree of membership

control over the operations of a credit union: members set

the ceiling on loans and, through their elected directors,

establish interest rates on loans and deposits and declare

dividends. See M.G.L. c. 171, §§ 13, 15, 16, 18, 21, 25

(West 1971 and Supp. 1977).

Federal savings and loan associations are structured to

operate differently. From the beginning, their mandate has

been to serve as organizations designed “to provide for the

financing of homes.” 12 U.S.C. § 1464(a). The detailed

statutory provisions governing the types and amounts of

loans which associations may make, 12 U.S.C. § 1464(c)

(Supp. V 1975, as amended by Act of August 3, 1976, Pub.

L. 94-375, § 22, 90 Stat. 1078), show that this statutory

purpose remains in full force today: virtually all permissi-

ble loans are related to real estate, and the associations’

powers to lend money for personal loans, or non-real es-

tate loans of any kind, is extremely limited. See 12 U.S.C.

§ 1464(c)(A), (B).*

The core of appellants’ complaint about credit unions is

their ability to make loans secured by first mortgages on

real property. Credit unions have had this power for many

years. See Mass. Stat. 1926, c. 273, § 24; J.L. Snider,

Credit Unions in Massachusetts at 13-16 (1939). While the

**In terms of organization as well, the federal savings and loan as-

sociations are markedly distinct from state credit unions. The associa-

tions’ operations are regulated in all important particulars by the Federal

Home Loan Bank Board. See 12 U.S.C. §§ 1464(a), (b), (d), (e), (f), (i)

(1970 and Supp. V 1975); 12 C.F.R. §§ 500.3, 541.1-556.9 (1977). In

addition, a federal savings and loan association, when designated as a

depository fiscal agent of the United States, 12 U.S.C. § 1464(k) (1970),

is subject to direct regulation by the Secretary of the Treasury. See 12

C.F.R. § 545 (1977). The central role played by the members in the

affairs of credit unions thus finds no parallel among the associations.

33

restrictions on credit unions’ abilities to make mortgage

loans have been relaxed over time,*® the terms and condi-

tions governing such loans overall remain very different

from those applicable to federal savings and loan associa-

tions.*' Compare G.L. c. 171, § 24(B), with 12 U.S.C.

§ 1464(c). The state court recognized this fact. See J.S.

43-44 and n. 9, Mass. Adv. Sh. (1977) at 913-914 and n. 9,

363 N.E. 2d at 484 and n. 9.

The relationship between state-chartered credit unions

and federal savings and loan associations is not an issue of

first impression. Three state courts in addition to the

examined the question and all have found that credit unions

fall outside § 1464(h). First Fed. Sav. & Loan Ass'n v.

Connelly, 142 Conn. 483, 492, 115 A. 2d 455, 459 (1955),

*°In citing maximum permissible amounts a credit union may accept

The maximum deposits and loans which smaller credit unions are per-

mitted to accept and make are more limited. See M.G.L. c. 171, §§ 10,

24(A), 24(B) (West Supp. 1977, as amended by Mass. Stat. 1977, c. 15,

19, 20-24).

34

appeal dismissed for want of a substantial federal question,

350 U.S. 927 (1956); State v. Minnesota Fed. Sav. & Loan

Ass'n, 218 Minn. 229, 239-241, 15 N.W. 2d 568, 573-574

(1944); Manchester Fed. Sav. & Loan Ass'n v. State Tax

Comm'n, 105 N.H. 17, 19-21, 191 A. 2d 529, 531-532

(1963); see also United States v. State Tax Comm'n, 348 F.

Supp. 397, 400 (D. Mass. 1972), aff'd and modified, 481 F.

2d 963 (1st Cir. 1973); cf. La Caisse Populaire Ste. Marie v.

United States, 563 F. 2d 505, 507-509 (lst Cir. 1977).

These decisions reflect reasoned judgments about the basic

nature of credit unions, and should be followed here.**

2. Actual Operation of Credit Unions.

The Supreme Judicial Court concluded that the test of

“similarity” for purposes of § 1464(h) was what credit

unions and federal savings and loan associations do “in

fact,” rather than what they might do. J.S. 43, Mass. Adv.

Sh. (1977) at 913, 363 N.E. 2d at 484. Under this standard

the associations claim to have demonstrated actual competi-

tion between themselves and the Massachusetts credit

** There is a final consideration. Decisions of this Court concerning

12 U.S.C. § 548, the national bank tax provision, recognize that the

states have wide latitude in deciding how to treat a class of its own

state-chartered financial institutions for tax purposes. See, e.¢., Michi-

gan Natl Bank v. Michigan, 365 U.S. 467, 482 (1961); Bank of Re-

demption v. City of Boston, 125 U.S. 60, 67-68 (1888); Mercantile Bank

v. New York, 121 U.S. 138, 160-161 (1887). All conclude that the states

could reasonably exempt savings banks from taxes they imposed on the

national banks. The same principle applies to Massachusetts’ exemption

of credit unions from the tax under attack. Its determination is a

reasonable exercise of legislative judgment which should not be interfered

with by this Court, particularly since it is one which is shared by Con-

gress and most other states. See pp. 24-25, nn. 36, 37, supra.

unions (App. Br. at 39-41). The assertion is without

support. |

In making their claim of competition, appellants rely

heavily on statistics and data drawn from the Annual

Report of the Massachusetts Commissioner of Banks for

1973, Section B (“Annual Report”), filed with the Legisla-

ture (App. Br. 40-41). Most of this information was never

introduced as part of the record before the Supreme Judicial

Court,*? and therefore cannot be considered by this Court

in this case.** New Haven Inclusion Cases, 399 U.S. 392,

450 n. 66 (1970); Ciucci v. Illinois, 356 U.S. 571, 573

(1958); Hedgebeth v. North Carolina, 334 U.S. 806 (1948);

Sup. Ct. R. 36.

On the record that was before the state court, the associa-

tions failed to support their claim of discrimination, for they

did not make any showing of the extent, if any, to which

the two classes of institutions were in direct or actual

competition with each other.** As the state court ruled,

to the Supreme Judicial Court after oral argument; the appellees filed a

timely objection (A. 145). That court did not rule on the inclusion of

this evidence in the record, but its rules prohibit the inclusion absent

affirmative permission. Mass. R. App. P. 18, 365 Mass. 844, 864 (1974).

Since that permission was not forthcoming, the material should not be

considered as part of the record before this Court.

In addition, the associations’ brief contains references to other portions

of the Annual Report that were not submitted at any time to the Su-

preme Judicial Court.

associations, however, it is appropriate that the Court have before it the

entire Annual Report. To that end, defendants have filed a separate

Motion To Accept Material to Supplement Record, which pertains to

this Report.

** The only evidence in the record is « comparison of the percentages

of assets which credit unions and federal savings and loan associations

hold in various categories (A. 135-144). As the Supreme Judicial Court

36

such a showing was essential. J.S. 44, Mass. Adv. Sh.

(1977) at 914, 363 N.E. 2d at 484. See Michigan Nat

Bank v. Michigan, supra, 365 U.S. at 477, 482; First Nat7

Bank v. Louisiana Tax Comm'n, 289 U.S. 60, 64-65 (1933).

The associations fare no better if the selected statistical

evidence on which they now depend is considered. They

rely in large part on the real estate lending practices of 20

of the 370 credit unions (App. Br. 40). It is settled that

proof of discrimination must show the evil to exist on a class

basis; it is not enough merely to show that, in a limited

number of individual instances, competition might be

present. Tradesmens Natl Bank v. Oklahoma Tax

Comm'n, 309 U.S. 560, 568 (1940); see also Michigan Nat7

Bank v. Michigan, supra, 365 U.S. at 476. A factual

comparison by class negates appellants’ selective marshalling

of data and defeats their claim.**

In sum, appellants have not shown as a matter either of

law or of fact that credit unions are “similar” institutions

within the meaning of § 1464(h). They cannot escape the

Massachusetts franchise tax on this ground.

pointed out, examination of these figures simply serves to highlight the

difference in real estate activities of credit unions on the one hand and

savings and loan associations, cooperative banks, and savings banks on

the other. J.S. 44, Mass. Adv. Sh. (1977) at 913-914, 363 N.E. 2d

at 484.

**In 1973, the year on which the associations have focused, there were

370 credit unions in Massachusetts. Annual Report at 84. Their average

assets were 3.45 per cent of those held by federal savings and loan as-

sociations. Compare id. at 84 with A. 132. Of the 370 credit unions,

220, or 60 per cent, placed no real estate loans during 1973. Annual

Report at 46-79. The credit unions’ aggregate investments in real estate

loans were approximately 15 per cent of the savings and loan associations’

aggregate investments. Compare Annual Report at 84 with A. 132, 143.

37

III. Tue Tyre or Tax CHOSEN BY THE MASSACHUSETTS

LEGISLATURE — A FRANCHISE TAX MEASURED BY INCOME

— 1s AUTHORIZED BY 12 U.S.C. § 1464(h).

The Supreme Judicial Court found that the tax imposed

by § 11 is a franchise tax measured by income, a levy on

the privilege of doing business in the Commonwealth. J.S.

36, Mass. Adv. Sh. (1977) at 904-905, 363 N.E. 2d at 480.

The terms of § 1464(h) explicitly authorize states to impose

a “tax on such associations or their franchise . . .” (empha-

sis added). Although the meaning intended by Congress in

using the word “franchise” may be subject to independent

inquiry by this Court,*’ appellants have offered nothing in

legislative history or any other source to contradict the

judgment of the court below that the § 11 tax falls into a

category permitted by the explicit terms of § 1464(h).**

Therefore, the state court’s determination that the tax is

authorized by Congress should stand.*°

** Compare Macallen Co. v. Massachusetts, 279 U.S. 620, 626 (1929)

(independent inquiry required), with, e.g., Norton Co. v. Department

of Revenue, 340 U.S. 534, 538 (1951) (state construction conclusive as

long as constitutional). Cf. Gurley v. Rhoden, 421 U.S. 200, 208 (1975).

** Appellants contend that the tax cannot be considered a “franchise”

tax imposed on the privilege of doing business in Massachusetts, because

it contains no apportionment provision (App. Br. 50-52). This is not so.

The Court has recognized that state corporate franchise taxes may be

measured by a variety of objects, including property exempt from direct

taxation. See Educational Films Corp. v. Ward, 282 U.S. 379, 389-391

(1931); Bass, Ratcliff & Gretton, Ltd. v. State Tax Comm'n, 266 U.S.

271, 280-285 (1924). The real issue is not whether the tax may properly

be called a “franchise” tax, but whether the absence of an apportion-

ment provision violates the Commerce Clause or Due Process and Equal

Protection Clauses of the Fourteenth Amendment. These questions are

discussed below. See pp. 40-47, infra.

**The court below accepted the appellants’ general proposition that

the state tax should it within one of the categories listed in § 1464(h) to

38

The associations’ other objections offered on appeal fail to

raise any points which were not answered satisfactorily by

the state court. They contend that the measure of the tax

in § 11 is defective because it imposes only an income-

related tax on appellants, while state institutions pay both

an income- and deposits-related tax*° (App. Br. 48, 60-61).

As the Supreme Judicial Court correctly observed, “ [tJhis is

not a circumstance of which the associations properly may

complain,” because the statute obviously does not forbid

“discrimination ... in favor of Federal savings and loan

associations.” J.S. 37-38, n. 8, Mass. Adv. Sh. (1977) at

906, n. 8, 363 N.E. 2d at 481, n. 8.

Appellants also argue that if the § 11 tax is considered as

a tax on “income” within the meaning of § 1464(h), it is not

sanctioned by that section because the income taxed is not

truly “net income.” Their complaint is that Massachusetts

does not recognize distributions to association members as a

be valid. However, the concern of the statute is nondiscrimination.

The type of tax a state chooses bears no relation to that issue. Congress

may therefore have intended its list as illustrative rather than exhaustive,

to make the point that whatever the method of taxation, equality in

treatment should be observed. Such a reading would be in harmony

with Congress’ current treatment of national banks. See 12 U.S.C.

§ 548, quoted at p. 13, n. 13, supra. Under such a reading, appellants’

argument about the proper definition of the state tax would be academic.

*° The difference in measures is the result of United States v. State Tax

Comm'n, 481 F. 2d 963 (lst Cir. 1973), which enjoined application of

the deposits-based tax to federal associations. See p. 5, supra.

*' Additionally, appellants lack standing to make this argument. Data

Processing Service v. Camp, 397 U.S. 150, 152 (1970) (the first question

in standing is whether the challenged action has caused plaintiff injury

in fact, economic or otherwise); Sierra Club v. Morton, 405 U.S. 727,

734-735 (1972) (party seeking review of government policy must himself

be among those injured by it).

39

deduction from gross income® (App. Br. 52-58). The

argument founders on a false premise. Appellants imply

that either Congress or this Court has enacted a single, fixed

definition of “net income” which the states are obliged to

follow. This is not the case. The Court has recognized

that “net income” is not a worthy candidate for judicial

definition. It treats the term’s meaning as a policy issue;

net income is gross income less those exclusions or

deductions authorized by the taxing authority. Doyle v.

Mitchell Brothers Co., 247 U.S. 179, 183-187 (1918). Cf.

United States v. Kirby Lumber Co., 284 U.S. 1, 3 (1931).**

The adoption of a particular definition would introduce a

rigidity especially inappropriate in the tax area, where state

policy judgments are given wide latitude. Carmichael v.

Southern Coal Co., 301 U.S. 495, 509-510 (1937).*

**In the state court appellants treated their grievance about distribu-

tions primarily as a state law issue, arguing that such distributions

should be included in the term “operating expenses” in § 11. The court

disagreed. J.S. 35, Mass. Adv. Sh. (1977) at 903-904, 363 N.E. 2d at

480. This judgment on state law has not been appealed, and in any

event should be deemed conclusive. See Colonial Pipeline Co. v.

Traigle, 421 U.S. 100, 109 (1975).

** Expert tax commentators share the Court’s recognition of the futility

in trying to “capture the concept of income and confine it within a

phrase.” S. Surrey and W. Warren, The Income Tax Project of the

American Law Institute: Gross Income, Deductions Accounting, Gains

and Losses, Cancellation of Indebtedness, 66 Harv. L. Rev. 761, 771

(1953).

** Appellants endeavor to gain support for their preferred definition of

net income from accounting texts, an inadequate surrogate for legislative

history, especially in light of federalism principles supporting state judg-

ments on tax policy. See Butler Brothers v. McColgan, 315 U.S. 501,

507 (1942); cf. Ioan Allen Co. v. United States, 422 U.S. 617, 635

(1975).

40

IV. THe Associations’ COMMERCE CLAUSE ARGUMENT

Lacks SUPPORTING EVIDENCE AND IS CONTRADICTED BY THE

FUNDAMENTAL PRINCIPLE THAT A DOomMICILIARY CoRPo-

RATION Must SHARE THE Costs OF STATE GOVERNMENT.

The associations are all institutions domiciled in Massa-

chusetts. They have their home offices in Massachusetts,

and the record shows no branch office in any other state.

Further, the appellants have introduced no evidence whet-

ever that any of their income derives from activities outside

Massachusetts.

Such circumstances do not merit the attention of the

Commerce Clause. The fact of domicile,** coupled with an

absence of proof that out-of-state property or activities are

being taxed, disposes of the issue. This Court has without

exception held:

The obligation of one domiciled within a state to pay

taxes there, arises from unilateral action of the state

government in the exercise of the most plenary of sover-

eign pow<cs, that to raise revenue to defray the expenses

of government and to distribute its burdens equably

among those who enjoy its benefits. Hence, domicile

in itself establishes a basis for taxation. Enjoyment of

the privileges of residence within the state, and the

** Unlike labels which emphasize “draftsmanship and phraseology,”

Complete Auto Transit, Inc. v. Brady, 430 U.S. 274, 281 (1977), domi-

cile imports a reasoned analysis of both the nexus between the taxpayer

and the state, and the benefits conferred on the taxpayer by the state.

Only in exceptional circumstances, not presented by the record in this

case, is domicile an insufficient foundation for taxation. See Standard

Oil Co. v. Peck, 342 U.S. 382, 383-384 (1952) (state cannot levy ad

valorem personal property tax on river barges lacking contact with the

state); but see Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Minnesota, 322 U.S. 292, 294-

295 (1944).

41

attendent right to invoke the protection of its laws, are

inseparable from the responsibility for sharing the costs

of government. Lawrence v. State Tax Comm'n, 286

U.S. 276, 279 (1932) (Stone, J.).

The Lawrence case concerned gn individual who brought a

due process challenge to his domiciliary state’s taxation of

income derived from activities elsewhere. The Court re-

jected the claim. Eleven years later, in Memphis Natural

Gas Co. v. Beeler, 315 U.S. 649 (1942), the Court (again

through Chief Justice Stone) applied parallel reasoning to

reject a corporation’s Commerce Clause attack op income

tax imposed by its state of “commercial domicile”:

[E]ven if taxpayer's business were wholly interstate

commerce, a nondiscriminatory tax by Tennessee upon

the net income of a foreign corporation having a com-

mercial domicile there ... is not prohibited by the

commerce clause on which alone taxpayer relies. 315

U.S. at 656.°*

** More recently, the Court has indicated that the cases which raise

substantial problems under the Commerce Clause involve nondomiciliary

taxpayers. In General Motors Corp. v. Washington, 377 U.S. 436, 441

(1964), the Court stated:

which the State has afforded. Where ... the taxing State is not

the domiciliary State, we look to the taxpayer's business activities

within the State . . . to determine ... “... whether the state has

given anything for which it can ask return” (quoting Wisconsin v.

].C. Penney Co., 311 U.S. 435, 444 [1940]) (emphasis added).

42

As with other domiciliaries, every federal savings and

loan association which is a party to this appeal bears a re-

sponsibility to “pay its way.” Postal Telegraph-Cable Co.

v. Richmond, 249 U.S. 252, 259 (1919). As long as the

center of activity is Massachusetts, income from business

with interstate elements may be taxed along with income

from purely intrastate business. General Motors Corp. v.

Washington, 377 U.S. 436, 439 (1964); Northwestern States

Portland Cement Co. v. Minnesota, 358 U.S. 450, 458-465

(1959); Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Minnesota, 322 U.S.

292, 294-298 (1944); Matson Navigation Co. v. State Bd. of

Equalization of Calif., 297 U.S. 441, 443-444 (1936); Wis-

consin v. Minnesota Mining Co., 311 U.S. 452, 453 (1940);

Underwood Typewriter Co. v. Chamberlain, 254 U.S. 113,

120 (1920); United States Glue Co. v. Oak Creek, 247 U.S.

321, 327 (1918).

Thus, even if the associations carried on interstate com-

merce, the tax imposed by § 11 would not be undermined.*’

Moreover, in this case the record contains no evidence that

interstate commerce is involved in the activities which are

taxed. The measure of the tax is each association’s net

operating income. The primary source of that income is

from interest paid by those who have borrowed money to

purchase real estate and build homes. See 12 U.S.C.

§ 1464(c). Appellants present no evidence as to how many,

if any, of these borrowers live outside Massachusetts. They

offer no proof that any of the loan transactions took place

*" It is axiomatic that the act of doing business in interstate commerce

does not relieve a corporation from its just share of the state tax burden

even though it increases the cost of doing business. Colonial Pipeline

Co. v. Traigle, 421 U.S. 100, 108 (1975); Western Live Stock v. Bureau

of Revenue, 303 U.S. 250, 254 (1938). See Complete Auto Transit, Inc.

v. Brady, supra, 430 U.S. at 288 (Court has rejected proposition that

interstate commerce is immune from taxation).

43

outside Massachusetts. Since the offices of the associations

are within the state, it is unlikely that loan transactions are

centered anywhere but Massachusetts. Appellants do pre-

sent evidence that a portion of their loans are secured by

out-of-state real estate (A. 134). But the tax is imposed on

income, not real estate, and the situs of the property is im-

material to Commerce Clause analysis.** The associations

have therefore failed to shoulder, much less carry, their

burden of proof.

This Court has left no doubt that it is the taxpayer who

must establish his case on the record:

The general rule, applicable here, is that a taxpayer

claiming immunity from a tax has the burden of es-

tablishing his exemption. Norton Co. v. Department

of Revenue, 340 U.S. 534, 537 (1951).

Accord, General Motors Corp. v. Washington, supra, 377

U.S. at 441; cf. Shaffer v. Carter, 252 U.S. 37, 55 (1920).

Similar practical principles dispose of appellants’ assertions

about multiple tax burdens. One danger in permitting any

state taxes on foreign corporations is that multiple taxes im-

posed by a number of states might, in cumulation, intrude

** Appellees recognize that Massachusetts has no power to impose a tax

on tangible property permanently located in another state. See North-

west Airlines, Inc. v. Minnesota, supra.

**In Norton Co. v. Department of Revenue, supra, the Court pointed

out that the appellants’ burden is not met by “showing a fair difference

of opinion which as an original matter might be decided differently. . . .

[W]e have power to examine the whole record to arrive at an inde-

pendent judgment as to whether constitutional rights have been invaded,

but that does not mean that we will re-examine, as a court of first in-

stance, findings of fact supported by substantial evidence.” 340 U.S. at

537-538.

44

impermissibly on interstate commerce. Western Live Stock

v. Bureau of Revenue, 303 U.S. 250, 256, 258 (1938); see

General Motors Corp. v. Washington, supra, 377 U.S. at

440. It is fear of multiple taxation which leads the Court

on occasion to insist that the state adopt a formula to ap-

portion income in such a way that only income related to

the taxpayer's business contacts in the state will be subject

to tax. Id. at 440-441. However, the Court does not ex-

press such fears or impose apportionment when the tax ema-

nates from the state of domicile and the subject of the tax

has not establsihed a “tax situs” elsewhere. Central Rail-

road Co. v. Pennsylvania, 370 U.S. 607, 612 (1962); cf.

Standard Oil Co. v. Peck, 342 U.S. 382, 384 (1952). In-

deed, a decision precluding state taxation of a domiciliary

corporation, solely on speculation that another state might

attempt to tax the same items, would serve to exempt a

corporation from any tax on its interstate operations.”

Such notions of immunity have long since been rejected.

Complete Auto Transit, Inc. v. Brady, 430 U.S. 274, 288

(1977). Accordingly, this Court — emphasizing that it

“cannot deal in abstractions” — has held that when “[tJhere

is nothing to show that multiple taxation is present(,]” a

taxpayer's claim fails of proof. Northwestern States Port-

land Cement Co. v. Minnesota, supra, 358 U.S. at 463.

The associations have not shown that they are victims of

multiple taxation, or that they are likely to be.” Their

Here, as in Hawley v. City of Malden, 232 U.S. 1, 13 (1914):

The real ground of complaint ... is not that ... [income is]

taxed in one place rather than in another but that . . . [it is] taxed

at all... ..

"' The associations’ reliance on Brady v. John Hancock Mut. Life Ins.

Co., __. Miss. ___., 342 So. 2d 295 (1977), appeal dismissed for want

of a substantial federal question, ___. U.S. ___., 98 S. Ct. 32 (1977), is

45

claim that § 11 violates the Commerce Clause is without

merit and should be rejected.

V. Tue Associations’ Due Process anp Equa

PROTECTION CLAIMS ARE INSUBSTANTIAL.

Appellants’ arguments under the Due Process and Equal

Protection Clauses of the Fourteenth Amendment restate

prior claims, in different dress. They contend that appor-

tionment of income according to state of origin is compelled

misplaced. The tax in Brady was upheld on the basis of specific -evi-

dence in the record that the taxpayer, an insurance company, had offices

the taxpayer to justify the tax. See National Geographic Society v. Cali-

fornia Bd. of Equalization, 430 U.S. 551, 560 (1977); see also General

Motors Corp. v. Washington, supra, 377 U.S. at 442-446.

en OE RNS 1 SEED Op Sning

t

[t}he record is devoid of any information with respect to the con-

tacts and activities of any individual Federal savings loan as-

sociation in any other jurisdiction. J.S. 39, Mass. Adv. Sh. (1977)

at 908, 363 N.E. 2d at 482.

On this record the associations fall within the protective ambit of Na-

tional Bellas Hess, Inc. v. Department of Revenue, 386 U.S. 753, 754-

758 (1967), and Miller Bros. Co. v. Maryland, 347 U.S. 340, 341-342

(1954), and could not be taxed by a

46

by due process, but they offer no evidence that income can

be fairly allocated to any state other than Massachusetts.

Moreover, their claim fails on an independent ground. The

associations are domiciled in Massachusetts, and, as indi-

cated above, § 11 comes well within the taxing powers of a

domiciliary state. This Court has stated:

If . . . property has had insufficient contact with States

other than the owner’s domicile to render any one of

these jurisdictions a “tax situs,” it is surely appropriate

to presume that the domicile is the only State affording

the “opportunities, benefits, or protection” which due

process demands as a prerequisite for taxation... .

Central Railroad Co. v. Pennsylvania, 370 U.S. 607,

612 (1962) (citation omitted).

See Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Minnesota, 322 U.S. 292,

294 (1944).

A taxpayer has a heavy burden of proof in trying to over-

come the strong presumption favoring the taxing power of

the domiciliary state. It must, at a minimum, show that

the subject of the tax, here the interest from mortgage loans,

may be similarly taxed in another jurisdiction. Central

Railroad Co. v. Pennsylvania, supra. This appellants have

failed to do.

Finally, the associations assert, without great vigor, that

the deduction for required additions to guaranty funds

denies them equal protection of the laws. It is doubtful

that the record establishes any inequality, in practical effect,

sufficient to invoke a constitutional inquiry into the statute’s

rationality. See Lawrence v. State Tax Comm'n, 286 U.S.

276, 283-284 (1932). In any event, the discretion of the

states in setting tax policy is very broad. Lehnhausen v.

47

Lake Shore Auto Parts Co., 410 U.S. 356, 359-365 (1973).

The Massachusetts Legislature is to be afforded “the widest

possible latitude within the limits of the Constitution,” Car-

michael v. Southern Coal Co., 301 U.S. 495, 510 (1937),

for “in taxation, even more than in other fields, legislatures

possess the greatest freedom in classification.” Madden v.

Kentucky, 309 U.s. 83, 88 (1940). The challenged de-

duction reflects rational policymaking, not “a hostile and

oppressive discrimination against particular persons and

classes.” Id. Appellants’ equal protection claim is therefore

insubstantial.

Conclusion.

For the reasons presented above the Court should affirm

the judgment of the Supreme Judicial Court.

Respectfully submitted,

FRANCIS X. BELLOTTI,*

Attorney General,

S. STEPHEN ROSENFELD,

Assistant Attorney General,

JOHN E. BOWMAN, JR.,

Assistant Attorney General,

MARGOT BOTSFORD,

Assistant Attorney General.

* The assistance of Jill Nexon and Robert J. Baum, Class of 1978,

Boston College Law School, is gratefully acknowledged.

49

Statutory Appendix.

Trrte 12, Unrrep States Cope, § 1464(h) (1970).

(h) Exemptions from taxation.

No State, county, municipal, or local taxing authority

shall impose any tax on such associations or their franchise,

capital, reserves, surplus, loans, or income greater than that

imposed by such authority on other similar local mutual or

cooperative thrift and home financing institutions.

Revisep Statutes, § 5219, 44 Star. 223 (1926).

The legislature of each State may determine and direct,

subject to the provisions of this section, the manner and

place of taxing all the shares of national banking associations

located within its limits. The several States may (1) tax

said shares, or (2) include dividends derived therefrom in

the taxable income of an owner or holder thereof, or (3) tax

such associations on their net income, or (4) according to or

measured by their net income, provided the following con-

ditions are complied with:

(a) The imposition by any State of any one of the above

four forms of taxation shall be in lieu of the others, except

as hereinafter provided in subdivision (c) of this clause.

(b) In the case of a tax on said shares the tax imposed

shall not be at a greater rate than is assessed upon other

moneyed capital in the hands of individual citizens of such

State coming into competition with the business of national

banks: Provided, That bonds, notes, or other evidences of

indebtedness in the hands of individual citizens not em-

ployed or engaged in the banking or investment business

and representing merely personal investments not made in

50

competition with such business, shall not be deemed mon-

eyed capital within the meaning of this section.

(c) In case of a tax on or according to or measured by the

net income of an association, the taxing State may, except

in case of a tax on net income, include the entire net in-

come received from all sources, but the rate shall not be

higher than the rate assessed upon other financial corpora-

tions nor higher than the highest of the rates assessed by the

taxing State upon mercantile, manufacturing, and business

corporations doing business within its limits: Provided, how-

ever, That a State which imposes a tax on or according to

or measured by the net income of, or a franchise or excise

tax on, financial, mercantile, manufacturing, and business

corporations organized under its own laws or laws of other

States and also imposes a tax upon the income of individuals,

may include in such individual income dividends from

national banking associations located within the State on

condition that it also includes dividends from domestic

corporations and may likewise include dividends from na-

tional banking associations located without the State on

condition that it also includes dividends from foreign corpo-

rations, but at no higher rate than is imposed on dividends

from such other corporations.

(d) In case the dividends derived from the said shares are

taxed, the tax shall not be at a greater rate than is assessed

upon the net income from other moneyed capital.

2. The shares of any national banking association owned

by non-residents of any State, shall be taxed by the taxing

district or by the State where the association is located and

not elsewhere; and such association shall make return of

such shares and pay the tax thereon as agent of such non-

resident shareholders.

3. Nothing herein shall be construed to exempt the real

property of associations from taxation in any State or in any

51

subdivision thereof, to the same extent, according to its

value, as other real property is taxed.

4. The provisions of section 5219 of the Revised Statutes

of the United States as heretofore in force shall not prevent

the legalizing, ratifying, or confirming by the States of any

tax heretofore paid, levied, or assessed upon the shares of

national banks, or the collecting thereof to the extent that

such tax would be valid under said section.

(Approved, March 25, 1926.)

Mass. Gen. Laws ANN. c. 63, § 11 (West 1977).

Every savings bank as defined in chapter one hundred

and sixty-eight, every cooperative bank as defined in chapter

one hundred and seventy and every state or federal savings

and loan association located in the commonwealth shall pay

to the commissioner an annual excise equal to the following:

(a) on or before the twenty-fifth day of the seventh month

of the taxable year, there shall be paid (1) six hundred

twenty-seven one thousandths per cent of a reasonable esti-

mate of its net operating income, as hereinafter defined, for

the taxable year, and (2) one-sixteenth of one per cent of

the average amount of its deposits or of its savings accounts

and share capital for the first six months of the taxable year,

after deducting from such average amounts (i) its real estate

used for banking purposes, valued at cost less reasonable

depreciation, and (ii) the unpaid balances on its loans se-

cured by the mortgage of real estate taxable in this com-

monwealth, or real estate situated in a state contiguous to

the commonwealth, and within a radius of fifty miles of the

main office of such bank or association, and in the case of a

bank or association not previously subject to tax by the

commonwealth the unpaid balances on such of its loans

52

secured by the mortgage of real estate located outside of the

commonwealth which are outstanding on March first, nine-

teen hundred and sixty-six, both as of the close of such six-

month period; and

(b) on or before the twenty-fifth day of the first month

following the close of the taxable year, there shall be paid

(1) one and two hundred fifty-four one thousandths per

cent of its net operating income, as hereinafter defined, for

the taxable year, less the estimated amount previously paid

with respect to such income, and (2) one-sixteenth of one

per cent of the average amounts of its deposits or of its

savings accounts and share capital for the second six months

of the taxable year, after deducting from such average

amount (i) its real estate used for banking purposes, valued

at cost less reasonable depreciation, and (ii) the unpaid

balances on its loans secured by the mortgage of real estate

taxable in this commonwealth, or real estate situated in a

state contiguous to the commonwealth, and within a radius

of fifty miles of the main office of such bank or association,

and in the case of a bank or association not previously

subject to tax by this commonwealth the unpaid balances

on such of its loans secured by the mortgage of real estate

located outside of this commonwealth which are outstanding

on March first, nineteen hundred and sixty-six, both as of

the close of the taxable year.

For the purpose of this section, “net operating income”

shall mean gross income from all sources, without exclusion,

for the taxable year, less (i) operating expenses, (ii) net losses

upon assets sold, exchanged or charged off as uncollectible

during the taxable year, and (iii) minimum additions during

the taxable years to its guaranty fund or surplus required by

law or the appropriate federal and state supervisory au-

thorities; and “taxable year” shall mean any fiscal or calen-

dar year or period for which the bank is required to make a

53

return to the federal government. Federal and state taxes

paid or accrued during the taxable year shall not be de-

ductible in computing “net operating income”.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.