Petition — White v. United States, 162 Ct. Cl. 876 (1963) (No. 77-60)

Supreme Court brief1963

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE JUL 12 «1977

: Supreme Court of the United

REDBAK, JR. CLERK

hi OCTOBER TERM, 1977 -

-T7-60

NATIONAL RatLroaD PassENGER CORPORATION, )

Petitioner,

Vv.

Rosert W. Buancuette, RicsarpC. Bonn}

and Jonn H. McArruvur,

Trustees of the Property of Penn

Central Transportation Company,

Respondents. |

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Kar J. ScrPHER

Cuarwes T. RICHARDSON

Baker & DANIELS

810 Fletcher Trust Building

Indianapolis, IN 46204

(317) 636-4535

F. HastineGs GriFFin, JR.

DecHeErT Price & RHoaDs

3400 Centre Square West

1500 Market Street

Philadelphia, PA 19102

(215) 972-3400

NATHANIEL H. Goopricx

E.yse G. WANDER

) Antuony L. MonDELLO

NATIONAL RAILROAD PASSENGER

CORPORATION

955 L’Enfant Plaza North, S.W.

Washington, D.C. 20024

(202) 484-7100

Counsel for the Petitioner

a

C. E. Pauley & Co., Inc., Indianapolis

Page

tN e Noe NTE NED LED (A Wc ea cutbindeieaecane 2

Questions Presented for Review ...............2..0...-.-...----0----+ 3

Statutes and Constitutional Provisions Involved .......... 5

NE EAR ES Soe a a DO a

Ia scasennsnnponiitinnnl 13

Fact 1. Background and the Contractual Relation-

ship Between Amtrak and Penn Central ...... 17

Fact 2. Penn Central Breached the Agreement ...... 20

Fact 3. The Arbitration Award of the National

ELLER ET CO 22

Fact 4. The Confirmation Judgment ......................... 23

Fact 5. The Rail Act and the April 1, 1976, Con-

ON soe 25

Fact 6. Amtrak’s Petition to the Reorganization

Court and Penn Central’s Answer ................ 27

Fact 7. The Declaratory Judgment Action .............. 28

Fact 8. The Decision of the Reorganization Court 30

Fact 9. The Decision of the Seventh Cireuit ............ 31

Reasons for Granting the Writ 2.200000. 32

Summary of Reasons for Granting the Writ —............ 32

1. The Indiana Court Had Jurisdiction Under the

Declaratory Judgment Act to Declare the Valid-

ity, Finality and Legal Significance of Its Own

Prior Confirmation Judgment ................................ 36

2. In Entering the Declaratory Judgment, the Indi-

ana Court Did Not Interfere with the Proper

Jurisdiction of the Reorganization Court. The

Reorganization Court Does Not Have the Power

to Go Behind the Confirmation Judgment and

Rehear All Defenses of Penn Central to the Arbi-

RE GRINDS NCSA SUE A ae ee 44

3. The Indiana Court’s Declaratory Judgment Cor-

rectly Decided that the Confirmation Judgment

Was Res Judicata on Penn Central’s Rail Act

eae ener en new eee leas Pa eect Pao CoO) IAG OED) Roe 58

NP IIEETE OOUD OTe PERG MIELE EN DENN Ore Oe) OTe 63

Page

Appendix A

2/15/77 Decision of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit,

551 F.2d 127 (7th Cir. 1977) ............ 65

Appendix B

6/25/76 Judgment Entry, Memorandum Order,

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of

Law of the United States District

Court for the Southern District of

Indiana, Indianapolis Division (De-

claratory Judgment) ........................ 81

Appendix C

3/24/76 Order of Confirmation Concerning

NAP Case No. 11; In Re: Level of

Rail Utility Final Decision and

Award as to Penn Central of the

United States District Court for the

Southern District of Indiana, Indi-

anapolis Division (Confirmation

ID saceciikichnesbabiinideninegdienneiiedites 89

Arbitration Award ...................... 91

Appendix D

9/30/76 Memorandum and Order No. 2569 of

and the United States District Court for

10/1/76 the Eastern District of Pennsyl-

vania, 422 F.Supp. 67 (E.D. Pa.

TIA Gdn ae EERE Seen 109

Appendix E

3/4/77 Decision of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit in

the Related Case Involving the

Chesapeake and Ohio Railway Com-

pany, 551 F.2d 136 (7th Cir. 1977) 123

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

CasEs

Page

Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Haworth, 300 U.S. 227, 57 S.Ct.

ee Ea A Aa teri oy agen ea ee ew 36, 37, 38

Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Martin, 108 F.2d 824 (8th Cir.

a ainamsoions 41

Allstate Ins. Co. v. Employers Liability Assur. Corp.,

I PEE CUED CD, BCE sciiscccieccitccrcnecessstoncremninonie 42

Armstrong v. Alliance Trust Co., Ltd., 112 F.2d 114

SO es iccceaniiebcthemanamnaincenton 47

Avery Freight Lines, Inc. v. White, 245 Ala. 618, 18

So.2d 394 (1944) ........ a adalithadeetaleliadbedindpsiaieaimsedhoidnmediinneees 42

Baker v. Gold Seal Liquors, Inc., 417 U.S. 467, 94A

I a cslaneiceteinbaeesnniananill 45, 46

Barnes v. Pierce, 36 Tenn.App. 181, 253 S.W.2d 33

SIE Si detiasaisensschcaheiussaicieeieshcesdbomedineedananidinitcueblasa ements 42

Beach v. Beach, 57 Ohio App. 294, 13 N.E.2d 581 (1937) 42

Bengtson v. Setterberg, 227 Minn. 337, 35 N.W.2d 623

SUE “aadineseser oe REED RRR NO Roh I ne 42

Boman v. Belyeu, 255 Ala. 281, 51 So.2d 27 (1951) ........ 41

Boynton v. Ball, 121 U.S. 457, 7 S.Ct. 981 (1887) -........... 49

Brown v. Bridgeport Rolling Mills Co., 245 F.Supp. 41

I I i catia 62

Chicot County Drainage District v. Baxter State Bank,

fk Be eT te eg) Reena 49, 53

City of Tacoma v. Taxpayers of Tacoma, 357 U.S. 320,

Se I TI i inueste 43

Cohens v. Virginia, 6 Wheaton 264 (1821) —.....000......... 44

Commissioner of Internal Revenue v. Sunnen, 333 U.S.

SU alii 59

Connecticut Sav. Bank v. First Nat. Bank & Trust Co.,

133 Conn. 403, 51 A.2d 907 (1947) .............0......ccccccecseeeee 41

County of Lancaster v. Philadelphia Electric Co., 386

of BR ED EP 62

De Veau v. Braisted, 336 U.S. 144, 80A S.Ct. 1146

RR RIT EEG ESIC Fe SSS AA ee Ae A RT OR 43

Diners Club, Ine. v. Bumb, 421 F.2d 396 (9th Cir. 1970) 48

Donovan v. City of Dallas, 377 U.S. 408, 84A S.Ct.

ERNE SAI AIT ENE LET Stee STONe SONIA 43

Fischer v. Pauline Oil & Gas Co., 309 U.S. 294, 60 S.Ct.

ARREARS TET SPCR ESAS 2 Sy ONO Sa ESRC a 49

iv

Page

Flynn v. St. Bd. of Chiro. Exam., 418 F.2d 668 (9th

CBR. RGD) nnnennsesinssninssnsssiectn<setelssenisheaiatighenaliinciianiasiaamnnnn ann 62

Foust v. Munson S.S. Lines, 299 U.S. 77, 57 S.Ct. 90

CTE) cenecscssscnscessdonsontbianesbsdainnianalnasleuiesisasiasmiaaaannnan 47

Freeman v. Marine Midland Bank-New York, 419

7 ape. 460. (TD. WY. BOGGD men :sniissinissiaeenaae 42

Galt v. Libbey-Owens-Ford Glass Co., 376 F.2d 711

ti Bt Sf Nee me 59

Gunn v. University Committee to End War in Viet

Nam, 399 U.S. 383, 90A S.Ct. 2013 (1970) ...000000000000.... 43

Gutensohn v. Kansas City Southern Ry. Co., 140 F.2d

SOO (Gee Cav. BOGGD nccscccscicccsecsiecsoniessniveneaneieel 56

Hayburn’s Case, 2 Dallas 409 (1792) 2... 57

Hurley v. Atchison, Topeka & Sante Fe Ry. Co., 213

U.S. 126, 29 S.Ct. 466 (1909) onc. eeccecceceeecccecccsseesseecene 52

In Re Chicago & E. I. Ry. Co., 121 F.2d 785 (7th Cir.),

cert. denied, 314 U.S. 653, 62 S.Ct. 102 (1941) 000... 49

In Re New York, New Haven and Hartford Ry. Co., 457

F.2d 683 (2d Cir.), cert. denied sub nom. Smith v.

Baker, 409 U.S. 890, 93 S.Ct. 106 (1972) 00000... 45, 46

In Re Patterson-MacDonald Shipbuilding Co., 284 F.

277 (W.D. Wash. 1922), aff’d., 292 F. 700 (9th Cir.

1923), appeal dismissed sub nom. Commonwealth of

Australia v. McLean, 266 U.S. 638, 45 S.Ct. 10 (1924) 52

In Re Universal Display & Sign Co., 541 F.2d 142 (3d

ORR. TG) an neisiecsessmncsvrnshennedinncieieieasaiaaeian 49, 53, 62

In Re Wonderbowl, Inc., 456 F.2d 954 (9th Cir. 1972) 47

Kalb v. Feuerstein, 308 U, S. 433, 60 S.Ct. 343 (1940) 45, 46

Kerotest Mfg. Co. v. C-O-Two Fire Equipment Co., 342

USS. 160, T2 B.C. S29-(2GGB) haicereccccecerseccteieaeneie 56

Lehigh Coal & Nav. Co. v. Central R. of N.J., 33

F’ Supp. 362 (B.D. Pa. 1940) .....2......0...-.sccccscccceseceeececeeeee 43

Maryland Casualty Co. v. Pacific Coal & Oil Co., 312

US. ie kee Tt |) ee 38

McCulloch v. Sociedad Nacional de Marineros de Hon-

duras, 372 U.S. 10, 83 S.Ct. 671 (1963) oo. 43

Meeks v. Town of Hoover, 286 Ala. 373, 240 So.2d 125

0) a mn ee 42

Meyer v. Lavelle, 389 F.Supp. 972 (.D. Pa. 1975) ........ 62

Nashville, C. & St. L. Ry. v. W — 288 U.S. 249, 53

S.Ct. 345 (1933)

V

Page

National-Ben Franklin Fire Ins. Co. v. Camden Trust

Co., 21 N.J. 16, 120 A.2d 754 (1956) .............................. 41

National R.R. Passenger Corp. v. National Ass’n of

R.R. Passengers, 414 U.S. 453, 94 S.Ct. 690 (1974) .... 55

New Haven Inelusion Cases, 399 U.S. 392, 90A S.Ct.

ESET ER 45, 46

Novo Enzyme Corp. v. Baker, 361 F.Supp. 337 (S.D.

ENS en ee 48

Regional Rail Reorganization Act Cases, 419 U.S. 102,

RE 25

Schokbeton Industries, Ine. v. Schokbeton Products

Corp., 466 F.2d 171 (Sth Cir. 1972) ....................--..-0000+ 52

Sobel v. Hertz, Warner & Co., 469 F.2d 1211 (2d Cir.

i iertieccisensiiaeitiveedsnsnsoeterenteproreneeeee 60

Stavros v. Bradley, 313 Ky. 676, 232 S.W.2d 1004 (Ky.

ES EEE A ea on 41

Stoll v. Gottlieb, 305 U.S. 165, 59 S.Ct. 134 (1938) _...... 49, 53

Talcott v. Talcott, 54 Cal.App.2d 743, 129 P.2d 946

RES EY Oc 41

The Hartbridge, 57 F.2d 672 (2d Cir. 1932), cert.

denied sub nom. Munson §.S. Line v. North of Eng-

land S.S. Co., Ltd., 288 U.S. 601, 53 S.Ct. 320 (1933) 61, 62

Thompson v. Magnolia Petroleum Co., 309 U.S. 478,

60 S.Ct. 628 (1940) —........ «EE 47

Tobin v. Plein, 301 F.2d 378 (2d Cir. 1962) -................ 52

United States v. Louisiana, 394 U.S. 11, 89 S.Ct. 773

ONS 43

Wallace Clark & Co. v. Acheson Industries, Ine., 532

F.2d 846 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, — U.S. —, 96 S.Ct.

te nieninseesatntoveentpenacretlsconere 62

Wilko v. Swan, 346 U.S. 427, 74 8.Ct. 182 (1953) -....... 60

World Brilliance Corp. v. Bethlehem Steel Co., 342

i os ceeerrspsnepunisonebesenesnebegeseveres 59

vi

STATUTES

Page

Federal Arbitration Act

I ao slssceeeabine 2, 5, 49, 58

Fe RET ce Lee Sere Ahn 28

I a ial idiahscaiibidibemecnaie as 5, 23, 49

aS Ae MCE CR I SF 6, 49

4 4 ESRI Re rencermeneecmerrner ye ee SE 60

§ | te, A EOR ee rea ener ET 3, 6, 15, 16,

25, 35, 38,

50, 56

Section 77 of the Bankruptcy Act

le I aia) i es lassie adaelaail 6, 13

Se I TTIIIIIID ' sscscescschinbesntietasepeseipibameneninnioinideiianataediions 7, 47, 55

a 15, 23, 48, 55

TT ee BAN APTN ee =e ae 7

Se I Tr IETS. 0.1 siscs sdissadeulhocsisimesiaiesbntniibasgiotthiiniasiamaadl 3

5 FIRRESRCEN TN Vieni OOM eT 49, 58

Declaratory Judgment Act

EET ME AE TORE BT: 3, 28, 32

| ERE eee renee: ena 7, 37, 42, 56

I a ee 7

Rail Passenger Service Act

Oe a I i deaeieaied 7,17

re 18

Oe iy TRIED? ' viccicicanconstdhcctsetomenbasaaabeaibdedaiebacditiatitteiee ta 55

ee I 18, 51

OR ae ee 18

ie 40

i I id s

oe 18

Oe a alae 8,18

Regional Rail Reorganization Act of 1973

a 3,8

OO a i)

ae Oe GI CD ctecccierndepidicecnissnhisicisansintinsatiatomisadh 11

Vil

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

Page

Constitution of the United States, Article I, § 8 .......... 11

Constitution of the United States, Article III, §$1

hy PRET ape arte TS Ra nonin Ren aa arr 11, 37, 58

MISCELLANEOUS

Borchard, Declaratory Judgments, p. 356 (2d ed. 1941) 42

1 Collier on Bankruptcy, 4 2.07, pp. 166-67 (14th ed.

ITI decikicicucleiidee escuela Diladtdleeciehaeaensiaichaitaioenibeeedibiadl 49

6 Collier on Bankruptcy, § 3.08[1] (14th ed. 1977) -....... 47

fF es 8 fC, ee een 42

SE ne Cae 42

1B J. Moore, Federal Practice § 0.405[4.-1] (2d ed.

UTE eis ninditciciascte tance iataitbaiAceiasiiueaaadmeaicanhadinssendianals 53

IN THE

Suprene Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1977

NationaL Rarcroap PassENGER CorPoraTION, |

Petitioner,

Vv.

Rosert W. Buancuetre, Ricnarp C. Bonp

and Jonn H. McArruvr,

Trustees of the Property of Penn

Central Transportation Company,

Respondents. |

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

The petitioner, National Railroad Passenger Corpora-

tion (‘‘Amtrak’’), respectfully petitions this Court to issue

a writ of certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit (‘‘Seventh Cireuit’’) to review the

decision of that Court in Cause No. 76-1829. The decision of

the Seventh Circuit is reported at 551 F.2d 127, (7th Cir.

1977), and is Appendix A, page 65.* The Seventh Circuit

reversed the decision of the United States District Court

* References to the Appen ‘ices attached hereto will be made by “App.”

followed by the page number.

1

2

for the Southern District of Indiana, Indianapolis Division,

Chief Judge William E. Steckler, presiding (‘‘Indiana

court’’), in Cause No. IP 76-274-C in favor of Amtrak and

against the respondents, Robert W. Blanchette, Richard

C. Bond and John H. McArthur, Trustees of the Property

of Penn Central Transportation Company (‘‘Penn Cen-

tral’’ or ‘‘trustees’’). The decision of the Indiana court,

consisting of a Judgment Entry and a Memorandum Order,

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, is Appendix B,

page 81. That decision is not reported.

JURISDICTION

On June 25, 1976, the Indiana court entered its decision

in favor of Amtrak and against Penn Central. That

decision was in the form of a declaratory judgment (‘‘de-

claratory judgment’’) interpreting an earlier, nonappealed

judgment by the same Indiana court confirming under

the Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. §§1, et seq., an

arbitration award in favor of Amtrak and against Penn

Central (‘‘confirmation judgment’’). The confirmation

judgment was entered on March 24, 1976, and is Appendix

C, page 89. The arbitration award (App. 91) is attached

to the confirmation judgment.

On February 15, 1977, the Seventh Circuit rendered its

decision, reversing the declaratory judgment of the Indiana

court. The Seventh Circuit held that issues raised by Penn

Central in proceedings before the United States District

Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania (the

court presiding over the Penn Central reorganization pro-

ceeding in Cause No. 70-347, hereafter the ‘‘reorganization

court’’), as a defense to the enforcement of the confirmation

j ent, which issues could have been raised before the

confirmation court but were not so raised, were not res

judicata and not barred by the confirmation judgment and

could be considered by the reorganization court. On March

3, 1977, and again on March 29, 1977, the Seventh Circuit

3

stayed the issuance of the mandate for a total of 90 days

to permit Amtrak to file a petition for writ of certiorari.

By Orders dated April 28, 1977, Justice Stevens extended

Amtrak’s time to file the petition to and including July

15, 1977, and stayed the mandate of the Seventh Circuit

pending the timely filing by Amtrak of the petition. This

Court has jurisdiction to review the decision of the Seventh

Circuit pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

The basic issues here are ones of judicial power and com-

petence and the authority and finality of judgments entered

by one federal court under the Federal Arbitration Act and

under the Declaratory Judgment Act as opposed to the

asserted bankruptcy power of another federal court to

entertain a direct attack upon the judgments of the first

court. In addressing those basic issues, the Court will need

to consider:

1. Did the Indiana court have jurisdiction under the

Declaratory Judgment Act, 28 U.S.C. §§ 2201-2202, to

declare the validity, finality and legal significance of its

own prior confirmation judgment entered upon an arbi-

tration award under the Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C.

§ 13, when Penn Central asserted that the confirmation

judgment was invalid because of the Regional Rai! Reor-

ganization Act of 1973, 45 U.S.C. §§ 701, et seq. (‘‘Rail

Act’’) and sought an injunction against the execution or

enforcement ~* that judgment?

2. By ente .~ the declaratory judgment declaring the

legal significa:. of tr confirmation judgment, did the

Indiana court interfere wit» the jurisdiction of the reorgan-

ization court? More specifically, can the reorganization

court restrict by its prior order the scope and meaning

given by Congress to a confirmation judgment under 9

U.S.C. §13 by reserving to itself the authority to review

+

the validity and the effect of all proceedings before the

Indiana court adjudicating the underlying liability of the

trustees of the bankrupt estate? Would such reservation

of authority permit Penn Central to elect not to raise

issues (such as the Rail Act defense) before the Indiana

court as to the validity and effect of the arbitration award,

but to wait and raise such issues in proceedings before the

reorganization court to enforce the confirmation judgment?

Can the reorganization court refuse to honor, and in effect

overrule, the decision of the Indiana court that issues

which were not raised before the Indiana court, but which

could have been raised, were res judicata as to the parties?

3. Assuming the Indiana court had the jurisdiction to

enter a judgment under the Declaratory Judgment Act

declaring the meaning of and legal rights arising out of its

own prior confirmation judgment, was the declaration of

the Indiana court legally correct that the confirmation

judgment barred Penn Central’s Rail Act defense? Can

Amtrak be made to litigate the validity of the arbitration

award in two forums—the confirming Indiana court and

the reorganization court?

5)

STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The following statutes and constitutional provisions

are involved in this case:

Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. §§ 1-14, and particu-

larly:

‘If the parties in their agreement have agreed

that a judgment of the court shall be entered upon

the award made pursuant to the arbitration, and

shall specify the court, then at any time within one

year after the award is made any party to the

arbitration may apply to the court so specified for

an order confirming the award, and thereupon the

court must grant such an order unless the award is

vacated, modified, or corrected as prescribed in

sections 10 and 11 of this title. * * *° 9 U.S.C. § 9.

‘‘In either of the following cases the United

States court in and for the district wherein the

award was made may make an order vacating the

award upon the application of any party to the

arbitration—

‘*(a) Where the award was procured by cor-

ruption, fraud, or undue means.

‘*(b) Where there was evident partiality or

corruption in the arbitrators, or either of them.

‘*(e) Where the arbitrators were guilty of mis-

conduct in refusing to postpone the hearing, upon

sufficient cause shown, or in refusing to hear evi-

dence pertinent and material to the controversy; or

of any other misbehavior by which the rights of any

party have been prejudiced.

‘“(d) Where the arbitrators exceeded their

powers, or so imperfectly executed them that a

mutual, final, and definite award upon the subject

matter submitted was not made.

‘*(e) Where an award is vacated and the time

within which the agreement required the award to

be made has not expired the court may, in its

6

discretion, direct a rehearing by the arbitrators.’’

9 U.S.C. § 10.

‘‘The party moving for an order confirming, modi-

fying, or correcting an award shall, at the time such

order is filed with the clerk for the entry of judg-

ment thereon, also file the following papers with

the clerk:

‘‘(a) The agreement; the selection or appoint-

ment, if any, of an additional arbitrator or umpire;

and each written extension of the time, if any, within

which to make the award.

‘“(b) The award.

‘*(e) Each notice, affidavit, or other paper used

upon an application to confirm, modify, or correct

the award, and a copy of each order of the court

upon such an application.

‘““The judgment shall be docketed as if it was

rendered in an action.

‘‘The judgment so entered shall have the same

force and effect, in all respects as, and be subject

to all the provisions of law relating to, a judgment

in an action; and it may be enforced as if it had

been rendered in an action in the court in which it

is entered.’’9 U.S.C. § 18.

Section 77 of the Bankruptcy Act, 11 U.S.C. § 205, and

particularly :

‘*(j) In addition to the provisions of section 29

of this title for the staying of pending suits against

the debtor, the judge may enjoin or stay the com-

mencement or continuation of suits against the

debtor until after final decree; and may, upon notice

and for cause showf, enjoin or stay the commence-

ment or continuance of any judicial proceeding to

enforce any lien upon the estate until after final

decree: Provided, That suits or claims for damages

caused by the operation of trains, busses, or other

means of transportation may be filed and prosecuted

to judgment in any court of competent jurisdiction

*

“4

7

and any order staying the prosecution of any such

cause of action or appeal shall be vacated. * * *’’

11 U.S.C. § 205(j).

28 U.S.C. § 959(a):

‘Trustees, receivers or managers of any prop-

erty, including debtors in possession, may be sued,

without leave of the court appointing them, with

respect to any of their acts or transactions in carry-

ing on business connected with such property. Such

actions shall be subject to the general equity power

of such court so far as the same may be necessary to

the ends of justice, but this shall not deprive a

litigant of his right to trial by jury.”’

Federal Declaratory Judgment Act:

‘In a case of actual controversy within its juris-

diction, except with respect to Federal taxes, any

court of the United States, upon the filing of an

appropriate pleading, may declare the rights and

other legal relations of any interested party seeking

such declaration, whether or not further relief is or

could be sought. Any such declaration shall have the

force and effect of a final judgment or decree and

shall be reviewable as such.’’ 28 U.S.C. § 2201.

‘‘Further necessary or proper relief based on a

declaratory judgment or decree may be granted,

after reasonable notice and hearing, against any

adverse party whose rights have been determined

by such judgment.’’ 28 U.S.C. § 2202.

Rail Passenger Service Act, 45 U.S.C. §§ 501-645 (‘*Am-

trak Act’’), and particularly:

**(a)(1) On or before May 1, 1971, the Corpora-

tion [Amtrak] is authorized to contract and, upon

written request therefor from a railroad, shall

tender a contract to relieve the railroad, from and

after May 1, 1971, of its entire responsibility for

the provision of intercity rail passenger service.

On or after March 1, 1973, but before January 1,

8

1975, the Corporation is authorized to contract, and

upon written request therefor, shall tender a con-

tract to relieve the railroad of its entire responsi-

bility for the provision of intercity rail passenger

service and such relief shall become effective upon

the date on which such contract is entered into.

Contracts may be entered into on or before May 1,

1971, notwithstanding the fact that the decision of

the Commission under section 502(6) of this title

with respect to avoidable loss has not become final.

Any contract entered into before such decision of

the Commission has become final shall be subject

to adjustment to assure that the contract is con-

sistent with such final decision of the Commission.

The contract may be made upon such terms and

conditions as necessary to permit the Corporation

to undertake passenger service on a timely basis.

Upon its entering into a valid contract (including

protective arrangements for employees), the rail-

road shall be relieved of all its responsibilities as a

common carrier of passengers by rail in intercity

rail passenger service under part I of the Interstate

Commerce Act or any State or other law relating

to the provision of intercity passenger service:

Provided, That any railroad discontinuing a train

hereunder must give notice in accordance with the

notice procedures contained in section 13a(1) of

Title 49.’’ 45 U.S.C. § 561(a)(1).

‘‘(a) The Corporation may contract with rail-

roads or with regional transportation agencies for

the use of tracks and other facilities and the provi-

sion of services on such terms and conditions as

the parties may agree. * * *’’ 45 U.S.C. §562(a).

Regional Rail Reorganization Act of 1973 (‘‘Rail Act’’),

45 U.S.C. §§ 701-794, and particularly :

‘‘The Corporation [ConRail] shall have all of the

powers and is subject to all of the duties vested in

it under this chapter, in addition to the powers

conferred upon it under the laws of the State or

States in which it is incorporated and the powers

9

of a railroad in any State in which it operates. The

Corporation is authorized and directed to—

‘*(a) acquire rail properties designated in

the final system plan to be transferred or con-

veyed to it;

‘‘(b) operate rail service over such rail prop-

erties except is provided under sections 744(e)

and 791(d)(2) of this title;

‘*(c) rehabilitate, improve, and modernize

such rail properties; and

‘“(d) maintain adequate and efficient rail

services.

‘*So long as 50 per centum or more, as determined

by the Secretary of the Treasury, of the outstanding

indebtedness of the Corporation consists of obliga-

tions of the Association or other debts owing to or

guaranteed by the United States, the Corporation

shall not engage in activities which are not related

to transportation.’’ 45 U.S.C. § 742.

‘*(a) Deposit with court.—Within 10 days after

delivery of a certified copy of a final system plan

pursuant to section 719(c¢) of this title—

**(1) the Corporation, in exchange for the rail

properties of the railroads in reorganization in the

region and of railroads leased, operated, or con-

trolled by railroads in reorganization in the region

to be transferred to the Corporation, shall deposit

with the special court all of the stock and other

securities of the Corporation and obligations of the

Association designated in the final system plan to

be exchanged for such rail properties;

**(2) each profitable railroad operating in the

region purchasing rail properties from a railroad

in reorganization in the region, or from a railroad

leased, operated, or controlled by a railroad in re-

organization in the region, as provided i in the final

system plan shall deposit with the special court the

compensation to be paid for such rail properties.

““(bh) Conveyance of rail properties.—(1) The

special court shall, within 10 days after deposit

10

under subsection (a) of this section of the securities

of the Corporation, obligations of the Association,

and compensation from the profitable railroads

operating in the region, order the trustee or trustees

of each railroad in reorganization in the region to

convey forthwith to the Corporation and the respec-

tive profitable railroads operating in the region, all

right, title, and interest in the rail properties of such

railroad in reorganization and shall itself order the

conveyance of all right, title, and interect in the rail

properties of any railroad leased, operated, or con-

trolled by such railroad in reorganization that are

to be conveyed to them under the final system plan

as certified to such court under section 719(d) of

this title.

‘*(2) All rail properties conveyed to the Corpo-

ration and the respective profitable railroads oper-

ating in the region under this section shall be

conveyed free and clear of any liens or encum-

brances, but subject to such leases and agreements

as shall have previously burdened such properties

or bound the owner or operator thereof in pursu-

ance of an arrangement with any State, or local or

regional transportation authority under which finan-

cial support from such State, or local or regional

transportation authority was being provided on

January 2, 1974, for the continuance of rail passen-

ger service or any lien or encumbrance of no greater

than 5 years’ duration which is necessary for the

contractual performance by any person of duties

related to public health or sanitation. Such convey-

ances shall not be restrained or enjoined by any

court.

‘*(3) Notwithstanding anything to the contrary

contained in this Act, if railroad rolling stock is

included in the rail properties to be conveyed, such

conveyance may only be effected if the profitable

railroad operating in the region or the Corporation

to whom the conveyance is made assumes all of the

obligations under any conditional sale agreement,

equipment trust agreement, or lease in respect to

such rolling stock and such conveyance is made

>

11

subject thereto; and the provisions of this chapter

shall not affect the title and interests of any lessor,

equipment trust trustee, or conditional sale vendee

or assignee under such conditional sale agreement,

equipment trust agreement or lease under section

205(j) of Title 11.’’ 45 U.S.C. § 743(a) and (b).

United States Constitution, Art. I, §8:

‘*Section 8. The congress shall have power * * *

‘.* * @

‘*To establish an uniform rule of naturalization,

and uniform laws on the subject of bankruptcies

throughout the United States ;

‘<* * ©

‘*To make all laws which shall be necessary and

proper for carrying into execution the foregoing

powers, and all other powers vested by this consti-

tution in the government of the United States, or in

any department or officer thereof.’’

United States Constitution, Art. III, §§ 1 and 2:

‘*Section 1. The judicial power of the United

States, shall be vested in one Supreme Court, and

in such inferior courts as the congress may from

time to time ordain and establish. The judges, both

of the Supreme Court and inferior courts, shall hold

their offices during good behavior, and shall, at

stated times, receive for their services, a compen-

sation, which shall not be diminished during their

continuance in office.

‘*Section 2. The judicial power shall extend to

all cases, in law and equity, arising under this con-

stitution, the laws of the United Staies, and treaties

made, or which shall be made, under their authority ;

—to all cases affecting ambassadors, other public

ministers and consuls ;—to all cases of admiralty

and maritime jurisdiction;—to controversies to

which the United States shall be a party ;—to con-

troversies between two or more states ;—between a

state and citizens of another state ;—between citi-

12

zens of different states;—between citizens of the

same state claiming lands under grants of different

states, and between a state, or the citizens thereof,

and foreign states, citizens or subjects.

‘<Tn all cases affecting ambassadors, other public

ministers and consuls, and those in which a state

shall be party, the Supreme Court shall have origi-

nal jurisdiction. In all the other cases before men-

tioned, the Supreme Court shall have appellate

jurisdiction, both as to law and fact, with such

exceptions, and under such regulations as the

congress shall make.

‘‘The trial of all crimes, except in cases of im-

peachment, shall be by jury; and such trial shall

be held in the state where the said crimes shall

have been committed; but when not committed

within any state, the trial shall be at such place or

places as the congress may by law have directed.’’

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case involves legal issues having significant impli-

cations for the future of Amtrak and the operation of

intercity rail passenger service in the United States and

for the proper interpretation of the Declaratory Judgment

Act, the Federal Arbitration Act, the Bankruptcy Act

and the Rail Act. At the heart of the controversy between

Amtrak and Penn Central lie the critical issues of (1)

what the proper role of a federal bankruptcy reorganiza-

tion court is after allowing its bankruptcy trustees to enter

into an agreement having a broad arbitration clause, after

allowing its trustees to participate in arbitration proceed-

ings leading to an award conclusively establishing that the

trustees breached their agreement, after allowing its

trustees to participate in confirmation proceedings and to

consent to the confirmation of the arbitration award

against the trustees by a judgment of a coordinate federal

district court, and after allowing its trustees to participate

in (and lose) a declaratory judgment action in a coordinate

13

federal district court concerning the final confirmation

judgment ; and (2) how far a reorganization court can go in

reviewing, vacating and setting aside final judgments of a

coordinate federal district court entered in proceedings

under the Federal Arbitration Act. This is a case in which

the Seventh Circuit has in effect sanctioned a significant

intrusion of one federal court into the statutory and con-

stitutional powers of another federal court. Amtrak asks

this Court to grant the petition for writ of certiorari so

that the line between the powers of sister federal courts

can be made clear.

Summary of Facts. The procedures in this case and

related cases are somewhat complex, but have become so

solely because of the refusal of Penn Central, the reorgani-

zation court, and to some extent the Seventh Circuit to

honor a final, unappealed judgment entered by Chief Judge

Steckler of the Indiana court. Much has happened since

1971, when the federal district court in Philadelphia then

having railroad reorganization responsibility for the af-

fairs of Penn Central under section 77 of the Bankruptcy

Act, 11 U.S.C. § 205, authorized Penn Central to enter

into two contracts with Amtrak; namely, The National

Railroad Passenger Corporation Agreement (‘Basic

Agreement’’) and The National Railroad Passenger Corpo-

ration Arbitration Agreement (‘‘ Arbitration Agreement’’).

For the Court to understand fully the legal significance

of the decision of the Seventh Cireuit which Amtrak asks

this Court to review, Amtrak in the following pages will

describe in chronological order what has transpired in the

four federal courts which have dealt with the controversy.

At the outset, however, it may be helpful for the Court

to keep several key facts in mind about which there is no

dispute—facts that hopefully will serve as signposts along

the treacherous path mapped by Penn Central which Am-

trak believes led the Seventh Circuit into error.

14

Fact 1. The federal reorganization court in Phila-

delphia permitted Penn Central, in order to be relieved

of its obligations to operate intercity rail passenger

service and to escape the large financial losses involved

in continuing to operate such service, to execute the

statutory Basic Agreement with Amtrak, dated as of

April 16, 1971, and effective May 1, 1971. The Basic

Agreement, under which each railroad contracting with

Amtrak agreed to furnish the necessary services to

run Amtrak trains on schedule over the railroad’s

tracks, provided that Penn Central and all of the other

railroads entering into similar Basic Agreements with

Amtrak would also enter into an Arbitration Agreement

under which the parties agreed to submit their disputes

under the Basic Agreement to binding arbitration.

Fact 2. Penn Central breached the statutory Basic

Agreement by failing to maintain approximately 360

miles of tracks between Chicago and Louisville and

Chicago and Cincinnati at the heart of the Amtrak sys-

tem in the Midwest at the level of utility required by

the Basic Agreement. As a result of this breach by

Penn Central of its obligation, Amtrak has not been

able to use the tracks since August 2, 1974, and since

that date, the Midwest has been deprived of the rail

passenger service which Congress in the Amtrak Act

directed Amtrak to provide.

Fact 3. The National Arbitration Panel issued its

award in favor of Amtrak on February 3, 1976, requir-

ing Penn Central to ‘‘institute, or cause to be instituted’’

a program to restore the tracks at no cost to Amtrak

and thus to return the required rail passenger service

to the Midwest.

Fact 4. On February 4, 1976, Amtrak invoked the

jurisdiction of the federal Indiana court to confirm the

award under 9 U.S.C. § 9, section 4.3 of the Arbitration

15

Agreement and 28 U.S.C. § 959, and asked the Indiana

court to enter its judgment upon the award under 9

U.S.C. §13. Penn Central asked the reorganization

court in Philadelphia to enjoin the confirmation proceed-

ings before the Indiana court. After holding a hearing,

the reorganization court declined to enter any such

injunction and the confirmation proceedings continued.

On March 24, 1976, the Indiana court entered judgment

against Penn Central confirming the arbitration award

under 9 U.S.C. §13. Penn Central did not object; in

fact, Penn Central consented to the entry of judgment

by the Indiana court under 9 U.S.C. § 13 without condi-

tion. Moreover, Penn Central did not appeal.

Fact 5. On April 1, 1976, the 360 miles of tracks

were conveyed by Penn Central to Consolidated Rail

Corporation (‘‘ConRail’’) pursuant to the Rail Act, a

conveyance that had been contemplated and understood

for some time by the parties, by the National Arbitra-

tion Panel, by the Indiana court and by the reorgani-

zation court. On that date (after the confirmation

judgment, but prior to the declaratory judgment), the

constructive possession of the reorganization court over

the conveyed properties was removed.

Fact 6. On April 9, 1976, Amtrak asked the reor-

ganization court to direct, instruct and authorize Penn

Central to comply with the Indiana court’s confirmation

judgment. Penn Central responded with the defense

that the conveyance of the 360 miles of tracks to ConRail

pursuant to the Rail Act excused any obligation of Penn

Central to comply with the Indiana court’s confirma-

tion judgment. Indeed, Penn Central asked the reorgan-

ization court to enjoin Amtrak from seeking execution

or enforcement of its rights under the confirmation

judgment.

Fact 7. Amtrak believed that the Rail Act issue,

like all other legal defenses to the validity of the arbi-

16

tration award and Penn Central’s underlying liability,

had already been resolved by the confirmation judgment

of the Indiana court, and that Penn Central’s response

in the reorganization court was a direct attack upon the

confirmation judgment and the power of the Indiana

court under 9 U.S.C. §13. Therefore, on May 5, 1976,

Amtrak filed its declaratory judgment complaint in the

Indiana court, the court that had issued the confirma-

tion judgment in the first place, asking the court to

declare the legal effect and validity of that prior judg-

ment—specifically, whether Penn Central was foreclosed

from raising the Rail Act defense after the confirma-

tion judgn#@nt was entered rather than before. On June

25, 1976, after the parties were fully heard, the Indiana

court entered its declaratory judgment in favor of

Amtrak and against Penn Central. Penn Central ap-

pealed to the Seventh Circuit and also obtained an

injunction from the reorganization court against Amtrak

from proceeding anywhere.

Fact 8. On September 30, 1976, in a related develop-

ment, the reorganization court denied Amtrak’s peti-

tion to direct, instruct and authorize Penn Central to

comply with the confirmation judgment, saying that

the Rail Act and the conveyance of the tracks to ConRail,

in effect, relieved Penn Central of all responsibility

for its defaults under the Basic Agreement, even though

the defaults occurred before the conveyance to ConRail.

The reorganization court’s decision, Order No. 2569,

is reported at 422 F.Supp. 67 (E.D. Pa. 1976) and is

Appendix D, page 109. That decision is now pending

on appeal to the United States Court of Appeals for

the Third Circuit, where oral arguments were heard

on April 1, 1977.

Fact 9. On February 15, 1977, the Seventh Circuit

below vacated the decision of the Indiana court, saying

17

that that court had exceeded its powers in entering the

declaratory judgment.

The effect of the decision of the Seventh Circuit is that

it was for the reorganization court to decide the issue of

whether the Rail Act was a bar to the enforcement of the

arbitration award, notwithstanding the fact that this issue

could have been raised before the Indiana court in the

confirmation proceedings and determined by that court.

The question here is whether the declaratory judgment of

the Indiana court is to be given effect, a judgment making

it crystal clear that the Indiana court’s confirmation judg-

ment had already adjudicated against Penn Central its

‘*defense’’ raised in the reorganization court that because

of the Rail Act, the arbitrators lacked power to compel

Penn Central to pay for the track restoration. Does the

reorganization court have the right to reconsider the under-

lving merits of the confirmation judgment? When all is

said and done, can Amtrak’s rights under a final judgment

of a United States district court mean nothing? Did Con-

gress intend for the power of one district court to enter

a judgment to be circumscribed by the power of another

district court? Is that consistent with Article III of the

United States Constitution?

Fact1. Background and the Contractual

Relationship Between Amtrak and Penn Central

Amtrak is a for-profit corporation created by the Rail

Passenger Service Act of 1970, 45 U.S.C. §§$ 501, et seq.

(‘‘Amtrak Act’’). The Act is Congress’s effort to save

the nation’s rail passenger transportation system from

demise. The declared purpose of Amtrak is set out in

section 101 of the Amtrak Act, 45 U.S.C. $501; namely,

‘*providing modern, efficient, intercity rail passenger serv-

ice.’’ Amtrak was granted the right initially to operate

intercity rail passenger service throughout the United

States within a ‘‘basic system’’ designed by the Secretary

18

of Transportation in accordance with the mandates of

section 201 of the Amtrak Act, 45 U.S.C. § 521. Under the

Amtrak Act, Penn Central and any other railroad that

wished to be relieved of the responsibility for the provision

of unprofitable intercity rail passenger service was required

to enter into a contract with Amtrak or in the alternative

to continue to operate its own passenger trains within the

basie system. 45 U.S.C. §561. Congress had directed Am-

trak to commence services on May 1, 1971, 45 U.S.C.

§ 561(b), and, to do that, had authorized Amtrak to ‘‘con-

tract with railroads * * * fer the use of tracks and other

facilities and the provision of services on such terms and

conditions as the parties may agree.’’ 45 U.S.C. §562(a).

For those who elected to contract with Amtrak, Congress

said in section 306(e) of the Amtrak Act, 45 U.S.C. § 546

(e):

‘‘(e) Persons contracting with the Corporation

for the joint use or operation of such facilities and

equipment as may be necessary for the provision of

efficient and expeditious passenger service shall be

and are hereby relieved from all prohibitions of ex-

isting law, including the antitrust laws of the United

States, with respect to such contracts, agreements, or

leases insofar as may be necessary to enable them

to enter into such contracts and to perform their ob-

ligations thereunder.’’

Penn Central elected to contract with Amtrak. The fed-

eral reorganization court in Philadelphia, by Order No. 238,

dated April 27, 1971, authorized Penn Central to execute

the statutory Basic Agreement’ and Arbitration Agreement

and to comply with all provisions thereof, with the uni-

lateral caveat, not agreed to by Amtrack, ‘‘that whenever

any matter is resolved by arbitration pursuant to the Main

[Basic] Agreement or the Arbitration Agreement, the

1 The reorganization court found that the Amtrak contract would have

a positive cash flow to the Penn Central estate of at least $267 million

over a seven-year period and that “the alternatives to approval of the

proposed contract are quite bleak.”

19

decision shall be submitted to this Court for review and

approval before becoming finally binding upon the Trustees

or the Debtor, during the pendency of these reorganization

proceedings.’ The Basic Agreement and the Arbitration

Agreement between Amtrak and Penn Central dated as of

April 16, 1971, and effective May 1, 1971, are identical to

contracts entered into by Amtrak with nineteen other rail-

roads to accomplish the goal of a national network of

interconnecting rail lines providing an alternative mode

of intercity passenger transportation. The terms of the

two agreements were the outcome of negotiations between

Amtrak and a committee of the Association of American

Railroads, chaired by a representative of the Penn Central

trustees. Under the Basic Agreement and the Arbitration

Agreement, Amtrak undertook to assume the intercity rail

passenger responsibilities of Penn Central and the other

contracting railroads, and in return, Penn Central and

the other railroads undertook to render certain services to

Amtrak and, among other things, to maintain the rail lines

‘‘at not less than the level of utility’’ existing on May 1,

1971. Section 4.2 of the Basic Agreement.

* As explained in part 2 of the Reasons for Granting the Writ below,

Amtrak believes that the reservation by the reorganization court of the

right of “review and approval” merely expressed the inherent power of

that court to fit into the overall administration of the bankrupt estate

obligations of the trustees adjudicated elsewhere. It was not a reservation

of the right t- re-adjudicate causes of action against the trustees litigated

to final judgment elsewhere. A bankruptey court does not have power to

do that. In other words, a bankruptey court can decide how and when

a judgment against the trustees is to be paid; it may not re-adjudicate

the question whether the trustees were liable in the first place. Amtrak’s

attorneys had put the reorganization court on notice in 1971, after Penn

Central had executed the contracts and Amtrak was first informed of

Order No. 238, that any blanket assertion that Order No. 238 wiped out

the meaning and effect of binding arbitration would be contested. Be-

tween 1974 and 1975, five arbitration cases were brought before the

reorganization court and never before this case has that court asserted

that it had an exclusive right to review the merits of arbitration awards.

The reorganization court has withheld decision on the earlier cases, and

Order No. 2569, discussed below, is the first time the reorganization court

has invoked Order No. 238 to invalidate an admittedly valid award and

confirmation judgment of a sister federal court.

20

Of critical importance to the accomplishment of Con-

gress’s goal of saving rail passenger service and of provid-

ing a restructured rail passenger system was the settlement

of all disputes by binding arbitration. Article Six of the

Basic Agreement states in relevant part as follows:

‘c* * * [A |ny claim or controversy between NRPC

[Amtrak] and Railroad [Penn Central] concerning

the interpretation, application, or implementation of

this Agreement shall be submitted to binding arbi-

tration in accordance with the provisions of the

Arbitration Agreement dated the date hereof among

NRPC, Railroad, and certain other railroads * * *.’’

(Emphosis added).

Section 4.2 of tue Arbitration Agreement provides:

‘c# * * [Ajny arbitration award hereunder made

by a majority of the members of any Arbitration

Panel shall be Linding upon the parties thereto. Any

arbitration award hereunder shall declare the rights

of the parties thereto and may make awards of

money or, enjoin or otherwise operate in such a way

as to require specific performance by a party of any

act or obligation.’’ (Emphasis added).

And section 4.3 of the Arbitration Agreement provides:

‘*‘ Judgment may be entered upon an arbitration

award hereunder * * * in any United States District

Court.’’ (Emphasis added).

Fact 2. Penn Central Breached The Agreement

Among the rail lines which Penn Central agreed to

maintain at the May 1, 1971, level of utility were approxi-

mately 360 miles of tracks traversing the State of Indiana

and connecting Chicago with Cincinnati and Louisville via

Indianapolis.* By late summer of 1972, when Amtrak first

% These are key lines in the Congressional program under the Amtrak

Act. Two routes are involved, both part of the basie system of inter-

connecting jassenger routes designed by the Secretary of Transportation

and enacted into law. One route connected Chicago and Washington via

21

began arbitration proceedings against Penn Central,‘ it

was clear that Penn Central was starting to abandon the

rail lines through neglect, making them unfit for passenger

train usage in violation of the Basic Agreement. On August

2, 1974, the Federal Railroad Administration condemned

the rail lines as unsafe, and all passenger service over the

lines ceased. While as a result of protracted litigation,

Amtrak was able to use as a substitute the freight tracks

of The Chesapeake and Ohio Railway Company (‘C &

O’’),° connecting Chicago with Cincinnati, the C & O tracks

do not serve the capital of Indiana, Indianapolis, do not

go to Louisville and are largely unsuitable for the efficient,

rapid rail passenger service contemplated by Congress.

Indianapolis and Cincinnati and was used by Amtrak’s eastbound train

“The George Washington” and by Amtrak’s westbound train “The James

Whiteomb Riley.” The other route connected Chicago with St. Petersburg

via Indianapolis and Louisville and was used by Amtrak’s northbound

and southbound trains both known as “The Floridian.” By August 1,

1974, the tracks owned by Penn Central along the two routes had been

allowed to deteriorate to a point where they could not be used for passen-

ger trains. The end result—compounded by Penn Central’s delays in

failing to maintain and restore the rails as promised and as ordered to

do—has substantially interfered with the Congressional plan for rapid,

safe intercity rail passenger service.

* The arbitration proceedings were initiated by Amtrak before the Na-

tional Arbitration Panel, not before the reorganization court as stated at

one place in the decision of the Seventh Cireuit (App. 67). The arbitra-

tion proceedings between Amtrak and Penn Central were consolidated

with like proceedings brought by Amtrak against Illinois Central Gulf

Railroad (“ICG”). An award was rendered against ICG requiring it to

restore over 1,000 miles of tracks, which ICG is now in the process of

doing.

* The status of the C & O litigation is best described by the decision

of the Seventh Circuit in Amtrak’s favor in Cause No. 76-1472 issued on

March 4, 1977, which is reported at 551 F.2d 136 (7th Cir. 1977) and

which is Appendix E, page 123. The C & O arbitration confirmation pro-

ceedings and the Penn Central arbitration confirmation proceedings were

consolidated by the Indiana court and the two confirmation judgments,

one against Penn Central and one against C & O, were issned in Amtrak’s

favor at the same time by the Indiana court. C & O's appeal of the

confirmation judgment against C & O and Penn Central’s appeal of the

later declaratory judgment interpreting the confirmation judgment against

Penn Centra) were considered together by the Seventh Circuit. The

Seventh Circuit affirmed the C & O confirmation judgment and reversed

the Penn Central declaratory judgment.

22

Everyone—Amtrak, Penn Central, the National Arbi-

tration Panel, the Indiana court, the reorganization court

and the Seventh Cireuit—agrees that between 1971 and

1976, Penn Central breached the Basic Agreement with

Amtrak and that the Midwest has been deprived of certain

rail passenger service since August 2, 1974.

Fact 3. The Arbitration Award of the

National Arbitration Panel

After extensive arbitration proceedings between Amtrak

and Penn Central spanning well over three years and cost-

ing hundreds of thousands of dollars, the National Arbi-

tration Panel, the body designated in the Arbitration Agree-

ment to hear and determine all disputes between Amtrak

and the 20 contracting railroads, issued its award on [eb-

ruary 3, 1976. That arbitration award is attached to the

Indiana court’s confirmation judgment and is reproduced

in Appendix C (App. 91).

The arbitration award declared that Amtrak had a con-

tract right to have the delapidated Penn Central tracks

kept at the May 1, 1971, level of utility under section 4.2

of the Basic Agreement. It held that Penn Central had

breached that duty by failing to keep the lines in the agreed-

upon state of repair and has consciously permitted the

tracks to so deteriorate through neglect that passenger

trains could no longer safely use them. The arbitration

award directed Penn Central, without cost to Amtrak, ‘‘to

institute, or cause to be instituted’’ (App. 97-98) the resto-

ration work on the tracks delineated in the detailed Panel

Program attached to the arbitration award. The Panel

Program also provided for a work schedule to be submitted

to Amtrak within 90 days of the issuance of the arbitration

award. The estimates of the cost of the repairs ranged

from $22,000,000, based upon independent evaluation, to

$11,000,000, estimated by Penn Central using its own em-

plovees.

23

Fact 4. The Confirmation Judgment

On February 4, 1976, Amtrak filed in the Indiana court

a petition to confirm the arbitration award pursuant to

9 U.S.C. § 9, section 4.3 of the Arbitration Agreement, and

28 U.S.C. § 959. However, on February 17, 1976, Penn

Central petitioned the reorganization court to stop the

confirmation proceedings. A show-cause hearing on Penn

Central’s petition was held before the reorganization court

on March 18, 1976. At that hearing, Amtrak made clear

that it recognized the jurisdiction of the reorganization

court to determine how and when payments from the assets

of the Penn Central estate would be made to enforce, satis-

fy, and execute the arbitration award, if confirmed by

judgment of the Indiana court. What Amtrak also made

clear was its position that the Indiana court, not the reor-

ganization court, had the power to decide any defenses Penn

Central had to the validity of the arbitration award under

the Rail Act. The following record was made at the March

18, 1976, hearing before the reorganization court, a copy

of which record was submitted to the Indiana court by

Amtrak as an exhibit in the later declaratory judgment

action:

‘*THE COURT: Let’s assume the decision [of the

arbitrators] is affirmed. As a decision ordering spe-

cific performance, I assume that is under equitable

jurisdiction, and the failure to comply with the de-

cree would give rise to contempt proceedings. Is that

your position?

“MR. VALENTINE [Counsel for Amtrak] : Your

Honor, our position would be this: That the judge

in Indiana is well aware of your Order 238, that

after we received the confirmation, which is to say

the finding that this is a valid award and that it is

res judicata insofar as the interpretation of the con-

tract, the fact that the panel did have the right to

issue the specific performance award, the fact that

there are no grounds under Section 10 of the Arbi-

tration Act to vacate the award, that all is res judi-

cata.

24

‘*We would then bring this case back to this [reor-

ganization] court for surely no other court but your-

self will be able to assign the assets of the estate to

accomplish the specific performance award, and we

think that that is very proper that we should bring

it back here.’’

o @ eo

‘*THE COURT: You miss the point.

‘*As I understand it, your arbitration award does

not award damages for past breaches. It orders

specific performance for future correction. It obvi-

ously can’t take effect until after conveyance date

[of the rail lines to ConRail under the Rail Act],

and at that point the whole ballgame has changed.

‘*Now what is your response to that?

“MR. VALENTINE: My response to that is that

is a proper question for the judge in Indiana, and

he is equally able to decide that question as this

oust: °° *;

eo 8 _

‘*‘Now, Your Honor, the point is that this is a past

breach that we are trying to rectify, not a future

obligation. The future obligation is quite different.

‘*The condition of the tracks now in this particular

State of Indiana are depriving the state and its

citizens of Indianapolis of railroad service that they

are intended to have under the Amtrak Act. My

point is that these people have been deprived of

this now for some two or three years.

‘*Now that is because the trustees through a caleu-

lated policy neglected to perform the necessary

maintenance to maintain these lines. That is a past

breach.

“THE COURT: That is ridiculous; to accuse

them of a ealeculated policy of not having enough

money to do everything that had to be done is just

idiotic. The fact is they were operating at a tremen-

dous loss during an extensive period, as mandated

by the federal government in order to permit reor-

ganization under the RRRA [the Rail Act].

25

‘Obviously, they would have been out of the rail-

road business years before had it not been for the

RRRA, and to say you can just proceed with this

litigation in Indiana as if there had not been a

RRRA is just to —

“MR. VALENTINE: No, Your Honor, we don’t

take that position at all, sir. We say we are pro-

ceeding in Indiana in the face of the RRRA, and

we say this is an Act which should be properly

brought to the attention of the court of Indiana,

which is proceeding with the original jurisdiction in

this case. He has the original jurisdiction, in our

view, and he has the right to proceed.”’

The reorganization court never enjoined the confirmation

proceedings before the Indiana court. Moreover, Penn

Central subsequently consented to the entry of the con-

firmation judgment on the arbitration award in favor of

Amtrak, and, for whatever reason, Penn Central did not

press the Rail Act defense, even though Penn Central had

argued at every step of the arbitration proceedings and

even to the Indiana court at a preliminary hearing on

February 10, 1976, that the award was possibly invalid

because of the Rail Act. On March 24, 1976, the Indiana

court entered the confirmation judgment against Penn

Central and in favor of Amtrak under 9 U.S.C. $13. That

judgment was not appealed by Penn Central and ++ is now

final.

Fact 5. The Rail Act and the

April 1, 1976, Conveyance to ConRail

While the arbitration proceedings between Amtrak and

Penn Central were going on, Congress supplemented sec-

tion 77 of the Bankruptcy Act with the Rail Act of 1973.°

Under the Rail Act, there was to be a reduction in the

number of freight routes serving the public according to

* For a description of the Rail Act and its relevance to Penn Central's

bankruptey, see the Regional Rail Reorganization Act Cases, 419 U.S. 102,

95 S.Ct. 335 (1974).

26

a Final System Plan designed by a federal agency, the

United States Railway Association. On July 26, 1975, the

Final System Plan was promulgated and the rail lines at

issue here were designated for transfer to ConRail, the

new corporation to take over the rail lines of seven major

railroads, including Penn Central.

The arbitrators of the National Arbitration Panel were

fully aware of the Rail Act. However, the majority of the

arbitrators did not consider the Panel the proper body

‘‘to decide whether, or to what extent the [Rail Act] or

the Final System Plan thereunder may affect the carrying

out of this award.’’ (App. 99). The dissenting arbitrator

strongly disagreed and wrote a lengthy dissent which ob-

viously made a complete record of his disagreement for

the Indiana court faced with Amtrak’s petition to confirm

the award.’

On April 1, 1976, the conveyance to ConRail occurred and

the section 77 jurisdiction of the reorganization court to

administer the operation of Penn Central’s property was

removed. However, the reorganization court retains juris-

diction over the remaining assets and nonrailroad proper-

ties of Penn Central, as well as over the substantial

proceeds to be received by the estate pursuant to the

reorganization under the Rail Act. The Rail Act and the

transfer to ConRail were the result of the realization by

Penn Central, by the reorganization court and finally by

7 The dissenting arbitrator thought it was a “dereliction in the discharge

of [the Panel’s] arbitration duties” to refrain from passing upon the im-

pact of the Rail Act, thus leaving the matter to the courts (App. 107).

The dissent says that “the majority appears to have adopted the contention

of Amtrak counsel: ‘On the other hand, if the Penn Central is lawfully

entitled to relief from their contract obligations freely undertaken on April

16, 1971, then it ean surely find adequate relief in the courts from any

award this Panel might grant. Thus, if the Panel has no power to issue the

specifie performance herein requested, an adequate remedy is available to

the Penn Central to protect itself from injury. The Award can be appro-

priately attacked under the provisions of the Federal Arbitration Act

for vacating an improper award.’ (Amtrak letter Dee. 23, 1975, to Panel

Chairman).” (App. 101-102).

27

Congress that Penn Central could not be reorganized on

an income basis under section 77.

Fact 6. Amtrak’s Petition to the

Reorganization Court and Penn Central’s Answer

When Penn Central did not take immediate steps to

comply with the confirmation judgment by instituting

proper procedures for review and approval by the reorgani-

zation court in compliance with Order No. 238, Amtrak

itself petitioned the reorganization court for an order to

‘‘direct, instruct, and authorize’? Penn Central to comply

with the confirmation judgment. Instead of joining with

Amtrak to carry out the mandate of a federal court, Penn

Central responded with an answer that the conveyance of

the rail lines to ConRail pursuant to the Rail Act had made

the confirmation judgment nonenforceable and asked the

reorganization court to enjoin Amtrak from seekine ‘‘exe-

cution or enforcement’? of the arbitration award in light

of that ‘‘new matter.”’

At this point a new controversy arose between the

parties over the ambiguity in and meaning of the con-

firmation judgment. Amtrak claimed the validity of the

award, even in the face of the Rail Act and the property

transfer to ConRail, had already been litigated in the

recently completed confirmation proceedings before the

Indiana court. Penn Central claimed it had not been, since

the effect of the Rail Act on the arbitration award was not

an issue there. Amtrak claimed that by these assertions

Penn Central was directly attacking the original juris-

diction of the Indiana court to enter its judgment upon the

award as prescribed by the Federal Arbitration Act and

was treating the judgment of the Indiana court as if it

were a nullity and not a final judgment on the merits.

28

Fact 7. The Declaratory Judgment Action

To settle the new controversy and dispute between Penn

Central and Amtrak over the ambiguity in and the mean-

ing of the confirmation judgment under the Federal Arbi-

tration Act, the Bankruptcy Act and the Rail Act, Amtrak

‘returned to Indiana. Amtrak’s feeling then was and now

is that there is no court better able to say what a judgment

means than the court that rendered the judgment in the

first place. On May 5, 1976, Amtrak filed a complaint for

a declaratory judgment in order to determine the nature

and scope of the legal rights which flowed from the con-

firmation judgment in the context of the judicial powers

and jurisdiction of the Indiana court to hear and decide

the legal validity of the arbitration award under sections

9 and 10 of the Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. §§ 9-10.

Jurisdiction was based upon 28 U.S.C. §$§ 2201-2202, alleg-

ing both diversity of citizenship and federal question

jurisdiction. Penn Central contested the jurisdiction of the

Indiana court to enter a declaratory judgment and claimed

that the Indiana court never had any judicial power in the

confirmation proceedings to pass upon the consequences

of the Kail Act or the lawfulness of the arbitration award.

A motion for summary judgment was made by Amtrak

since there were no genuine issues of material fact. Penn

Central moved to dismiss, asserting numerous legal argu-

ments, and later moved for summary judgment, agreeing

with Amtrak that there were no genuine issues of material

fact. Briefs were submitted, and both parties were fully

heard on the merits in oral argument. Penn Central liti-

gated and lost, without interference by the reorganization

court, Judgment was entered on June 25, 1976, in favor of

Amtrak and against Penn Central. The Indiana court held

it had jurisdiction to hear and decide the case before it

and that the Rail Act defense which had been raised by

Penn Central in its answer in the reorganization court

raised issues which had already been, or ought to have

29

been, litigated in Indiana. The declaratory judgment pro-

vided (App. 86-87) that the earlier confirmation judgment

upon the arbitration award was:

““* * * a conclusive bar against any further legal

claims which may be made by the Trustees that:

(a) the award of the National Arbitration Panel

and the judgment of this court is invalid or nonen-

forceable because of the Regional Rail Reorganiza-

tion Act of 1973 * * *.”

Within five days after the declaratory judgment had been

entered against it, Penn Central made an ex parte motion

to the reorganization court asking that court to enjoin

Amtrak from further appearing in the Indiana court and

to set down for immediate disposition Amtrak’s earlier

petition that Penn Central be directed to comply with the

confirmation judgment and Penn Central’s defense thereto

that the Rail Act made the award nonenforceable. The

injunction was granted,* and Amtrak was compelled to

® Order No. 2419 of the reorganization court, dated June 30, 1976, en-

joined Amtrak from appearing in any other court to defend the validity and

enforceability of the arbitration award pending “hearing of and decision

of” this question by the reorganization court. On July 2, 1976, Penn Cen-

tral filed post-judgment motions in the Indiana court for a stay of the en-

forcement of the declaratory judgment pending appeal and for an amend-

ment to the declaratory judgment. On July 6, 1976, Amtrak was served

with a copy of Order No. 2419, and thus was advised for the first time

to appear before the reorganization court on July 15, 1976 (later con-

tinued to July 30, 1976), or be forever enjoined from enforcing the

judgment of the Indiana court or the arbitration award. This led in turn

to a number of procedures. Under Order No. 2419 Amtrak’s attorneys

were forbidden to defend against the post-judgment motions of Penn

Central or to file briefs supporting the validity of the confirmation judg-

ment against Penn Central which, apparently mistakenly, had been ap-

pealed by C & O to the Seventh Circuit. Believing Order No. 2419 was

an unlawful exercise of section 77 reorganization court power and was

an attempt by the reorganization court to seize the jurisdiction of the

Indiana court, Amtrak asked the reorganization court for a stay of the

scheduled proceedings in the reorganization court pending an appeal of

Order No. 2419, an appeal which was filed with the Third Cirenit on

July 9, 1976. When no action was taken on this request, Amtrak made

an emergency motion to the Third Circuit for a stay and an expedited

hearing on the appeal of Order No. 2419. The reorganization court then

issued Order No. 2458 explaining it had no intention to interfere with

30

appear before the reorganization court upon questions

which Amtrak believes were finally decided in the Indiana

court by the entry of the confirmation judgment; namely,

whether Penn Central was liable for its past contract

defaults and whether the rail line restoration order of the

arbitrators was a valid arbitration award, notwithstanding

the operation of the Rail Act.

Fact 8. The Decision of the Reorganization Court

After a hearing, the reorganization court on September

30, 1976, found itself ‘‘unable to agree’’ with the declara-

tory judgment of the Indiana court, believing the Indiana

court had resolved the Rail Act defense of Penn Central

by ‘*procedural sleight-of-hand.’’ (App. 118-19) The reor-

ganization court concluded in Order No. 2569 that the Rail

Act excused Penn Central from any obligation to comply

with the confirmed arbitration award. It denied Amtrak’s

petition for satisfaction of its rights under the Indiana

court’s judgments. In short, the confirmation judgment and

the declaratory judgment of the Indiana court were re-

viewed by the reorganization court and declared nullities.

An appeal to the Third Circuit, Cause No. 76-2542, was per-

fected by Amtrak. The issues are fully briefed and oral

argument was heard on April 1, 1977. There has been no

decision.

the appeal in the Seventh Circuit. However, the blanket injunction re-

mained in effect pending hearing in the reorganization court on the

merits of the Rail Act defense to the validity of the arbitration award.

When on the day preceding the scheduled hearing in the reorganization

court no decision had been made by the Third Cireuit on the emergency

motion, Justice Brennan of this Court in No. A-80 did grant a stay on

July 29, 1976, which he later vacated. However, in the interim the post-

judgment motions of Penn Central in the Indiana court had been denied

sua sponte and C & O’s appeal of the confirmation judgment in the

Seventh Cireuit was dismissed. The reorganization court then reset the

hearing for September 8, 1976, continuing the injunction against Amtrak

“until decision.” On September 30, 1976, the reorganization court issued

its decision against Amtrak (App. 109).

31

Fact 9. The Decision of the Seventh Circuit

On February 15, 1977, the Seventh Circuit issued its

decision in favor of Penn Central and against Amtrak,

thus reversing and vacating the Indiana court’s declaratory

judgment and holding it was appropriate only for the

reorganization court (not the Indiana court) to determine

the effect of the Rail Act on the enforceability of the

confirmation judgment.

The Seventh Circuit said first that the Indiana court

was ‘‘without jurisdiction by declaratory judgment, or

other judicial means, to circumscribe the jurisdiction of

the [reorganization court] as to the enforcement of an

arbitration award which was subsequently confirmed by

the Indiana Court, and we now so hold.’’ (App. 77). The

Court went on to say that the reorganization court, not

the Indiana court, had the responsibility to decide whether

the issues before the reorganization court were barred by

the prior confirmation judgment of the Indiana court. The

Court said the confirmation proceeding ‘‘had only the

limited purpose to review the arbitration proceedings to

‘see that the award was a proper award and that the

arbitrators acted honestly, and did not exceed their

powers.’ ’” (Court’s emphasis) (App. 78). The Seventh

Circuit assumed there was a justiciable ‘‘controversy’’

between Amtrak and Penn Central and did not directly

discuss the contention of Penn Central that there was no

such controversy. The Seventh Circuit concluded its deci-

sion as follows:

‘*In view of the foregoing, we hold that the De-

claratory Judgment of the Indiana Court was an

improper exercise of its limited jurisdiction and

® As explained in part 3 of the Reasons for Granting the Writ below,

a confirming court also has the obligation to see that the arbitration

award is lawful and does not interfere with the statutory laws of the land,

e.g., the Rail Act.

32

was wrong on the merits.’® According, the judgment

of the Indiana Court is reversed. This case is re-

manded to the Indiana Court with directions to

vacate its declaratory judgment.

‘‘The issues hereinabove discussed are within the

exclusive jurisdiction of the Pennsylvania Reorgan-

ization Court and it may now proceed therewith.’’

(App. 79).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Summary of Reasons for Granting the Writ. There are

three basic reasons why Amtrak believes the Seventh Cir-

cuit’s decision is dead wrong and should be reviewed by this

Court, either (1) because the decision calls for the exercise

of this Court’s power of supervision, or (2) because the

Seventh Circuit’s decision decides important questions of

federal law which have not been, but should be settled by

this Court, or (3) has decided federal questions in ways

that conflict with the applicable decisions of this Court and

with the decisions of other Circuits.

The first reason discussed below is that the Seventh

Circuit is wrong in holding that the Indiana court had no

jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. §§ 2201-2202 to enter the

declaratory judgment. The Indiana court had the power

that every federal court has to declare what the law is and

10 Tf the Seventh Cireuit’s decision does hold that the Indiana court was

“wrong on the merits” in the sense that the Indiana court should have

held that the Rail Act does excuse Penn Central from its obligations

under the confirmation judgment, then the Seventh Circuit is doing pre-

cisely what it apparently said the Indiana court lacked the jurisdiction

to do: decide the Rail Act defense! Of course, no one has explained why

Congress could conceivably have meant by the Rail Act to take a valuable

asset from Amtrak obtained by final judgment for the sole purpose of

increasing the dollars in the Penn Central estate. But that question of

statutory interpretation—if it can be called that—is presently under

advisement in the Third Circuit. On the other hand, the Seventh Circuit’s

decision can more appropriately be read to say that the Indiana court

was “wrong on the merits” in the sense that the Indiana court should

have held that the confirmation judgment was not res judicata on the

question of whether the Rail Act does or does not excuse Penn Central.

33

what a judgment means, particularly where, as here, the

judgment is one rendered by that court in the first instance.

The second reason is that the reorganization court does

not have the power to go behind the final confirmation

judgment and rehear all defenses which Penn Central could

have and should have raised in the confirmation proceed-

ings as grounds to vacate the award. The reorganization

court cannot invalidate and set aside a valid judgment of a

sister federal court, for that is a result contrary to the

Basic Agreement, to the intention of Congress in enacting

the Federal Arbitration Act and the Declaratory Judgment

Act, and to Article III of the United States Constitution.

The declaratory judgment did not in any way interfere

with the legitimate powers of the reorganization court.

The third reason is that the Indiana court, vested

with the jurisdiction to hear the declaratory judgment

action and after hearing all the parties’ contentions,

decided the action correctly under the law. Penn Central

did have an obligation to raise the Rail Act defense in the

confirmation proceedings and, since it did not do so, it can-

not raise it later in the reorganization court.

Because the question of what the declaratory judgment

did vis-a-vis the reorganization court’s prerogatives was

obviously pivotal for the Seventh Circuit, Amtrak would

like to state at the outset and in the most unequivocal terms

what Amtrak was not trying to do in the declaratory

judgment action. Amtrak was not trying to ‘‘enforce’’ the

arbitration award as that word is used by Penn Central to

indicate interference with the jurisdiction of the reorgani-

zation court. Throughout the Seventh Circuit’s opinion are

the words ‘‘enforce’’ and ‘‘enforcement”’ in referring to

the arbitration award. Yet, those words do not accurately

describe what the declaratory judgment action was meant

to do. As shown below, the Seventh Circuit simply mis-

understood the function of the Indiana court vis-a-vis the

ot

reorganization court, which at that point in time had had

much of its powers removed by the Rail Act.

A reorganization court under section 77 of the Bank-

ruptey Act may have exclusive jurisdiction over the

property of the debtor and have plenary powers to carry

out the administration and reorganization of properties.

But that does not mean that the liability of the trustees of

the debtor’s property arising out of their operation of the

debtor’s business must always be determined in the reor-

ganization court. Other courts may be required by law to

fix this liability even though payment upon the liability

may still have to be administered by the reorganization

court. Stated briefly: liability of the trustees, under certain

circumstances, can be finally determined and fixed in a

nonbankruptcy court, even though the bankruptcy court

has the exclusive authority to say when and how payments

from the estate are to be made to satisfy that liability.

It is abundantly clear that when the Indiana court

entered the confirmation judgment on the award of the

arbitrators, the court was exercising a judicial power to

finally determine the liability of Penn Central and the

validity of the award. There was a line to be drawn between

the functions of the confirming Indiana court and the

reorganization court, both of which are enforcing arms

of the United States Government in applying the laws of

the land, including the application of the Rail Act. Because

of judicial comity, this line was shadowy and wavering

during the confirmation proceedings and the show-cause

hearing of the reorganization court, but it ultimately had

to be drawn by the Indiana court or its functions as a con-

firming court given up. The Indiana court did intend to

exercise its fullest judicial powers in deciding whether or

not Penn Central was liable to comply with the arbitration

award, even though satisfaction of the award from the

assets of the Penn Central estate would have to be admin-

istered by the reorganization court.

Having taken the jurisdiction to hear and decide the

case in the first instance, the Indiana court could not ignore

the opinion of the dissenting arbitrator who claimed the

award was invalid because of the Rail Act. The Indiana

court could not pass the eup of problems raised by the

Rail Act to the reorganization court and still remain re-

sponsible for confirming the legality of the award and for

merging it into a judgment. Chief Judge Steckler settled

the issue of the Rail Act’s application to the legitimacy

of the restoration award when he entered judgment upon

the award pursuant to 9 U.S.C. § 13.

In filing the declaratory judgment action, Amtrak was

not trying to interfere with the administration of the bank-

rupt estate by the reorganization court. The declaratory

judgment entered by the Indiana court certainly did not

do that. It only declared what the earlier confirmation

judgment meant and what the Indiana court believed the

applicable law to be concerning the contractual dispute

over past breaches by Penn Central and the corresponding

liability of Penn Central for those breaches. No assets of

the estate were affected by the declaratory judgment. No

determination was made as to how and when the confirma-

tion judgment was to be satisfied in dollars. The reorgani-

zation court’s grip on the purse strings of the estate was

not loosened. Suffice it to say that the reorganization

court’s jurisdiction was properly recognized by the Indiana

court. Unfortunately, the Indiana court’s jurisdiction was

not properly recognized by the seventh Circuit.

This Court should issue a writ of certiorari so that fed-

eral courts faced with the problem of marking properly the

jurisdictional line between bankruptcy and nonbankruptey

courts will not rely upon the erroneous decision of the

Seventh Circuit herein. This is a case having significant

questions of judicial power, questions which are also very

important to the future of Amtrak.

36

1. The Indiana Court Had Jurisdiction Under the Declara-

tory Judgment Act to Declare the Validity, Finality and

Legal Significance of Its Own Prior Confirmation Judg-

ment.

Amtrak would like to point out two things about the

conceptual framework within which the declaratory judg-

ment was rendered. First, Amtrak believes the Indiana

court had a legal right to declare what the law was and

what the confirmation judgment meant in light of the law.

On that point, the Seventh Cireuit said that it was ‘‘unable

to find any precedent * * * for referring back to the court

of first adjudication [the Indiana court] the question of

whether its judgment is res judicata in another court [the

reorganization court].’’ (App. 78). This is a question of

first impression in this Court which should now be decided

by the Court. Second, there was clearly a ‘‘controversy’’

between Amtrak and Penn Central sufficient to give the

Indiana court jurisdiction under the Declaratory Judgment

Act, after the confirmation judgment was entered and Penn

Central for the first time in a court raised the Rail Act as

a complete defense to Amtrak’s right to have Penn Central

live up to the obligations memorialized in the confirmation

judgment. The Seventh Circuit did not discuss this issue,

but merely assumed there was a ‘‘controversy’’ (App. 77).

This Court should grant the petition for writ of certiorari

because the Seventh Circuit’s decision, if allowed to stand,

could threaten to diminish the utility of the Declaratory

Judgment Act to courts and litigants alike.

The Declaratory Judgment Act has now been law for

more than forty years and debates over whether or not

decisions declaring legal rights and relationships are ‘‘ad-

visory opinions’’ (as alleged by Penn Central) should have

long since passed away, set to rest by the words of the

statute itself and by Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Haworth, 300

U.S. 227, 57 S.Ct. 461 (1937). The Declaratory Act pro-

vides:

37

‘*In a case of actual controversy within its juris-

diction, except with respect to Federal taxes, any

court of the United States, upon the filing of an

appropriate pleading, may declare the rights and

other legal relations of any interested party seeking

such declaration, whether or not further relief is or

could be sought. Any such declaration shall have the

force and effect of a final judgment or decree and

shall be reviewable as such.’’ 28 U.S.C. § 2201.

The words ‘‘actual controversy’’ of this statute were

intended to bring the Act within the Constitution, nothing

more. Article III, section 2, of the Constitution limits

federal justiciability to ‘‘cases’’ and ‘‘controversies,’’ and

the Congress could not enlarge the jurisdiction of federal

courts to declare legal rights beyond this constitutional

limitation. Chief Justice Hughes in Aetna Life defined an

actual controversy as contemplated by 28 U.S.C. § 2201 in

this manner:

‘*A ‘controversy’ in this sense must be one that

is appropriate for judicial determination. * * * A

justiciable controversy is thus distinguished from a

difference or dispute of a hypothetical or abstract

character; from one that is academic or moot. * * *

The controversy must be definite and concrete,

touching the legal relations of parties having ad-

verse legal interests. * * * It must be a real and

substantial controversy admitting of specific relief

through a decree of a conclusive character, as dis-

tinguished from an opinion advising what the law

would be upon a hypothetical state of facts. * * *

Where there is such a concrete case admitting of an

immediate and definitive determination of the legal

rights of the parties in an adversary proceeding

upon the facts alleged, the judicial function may be

appropriately exercised although the adjudication

of the rights of the litigants may not require the

award of process or the payment of damages. * * *’’

300 U.S. at 240-41, 57 S.Ct. at 464.

And these broad concepts were later reduced to more

JS

concrete terms in Maryland Casualty Co. v. Pacific Coal

& Oil Co., 312 U.S. 270, 61 S.Ct. 510 (1941). Speaking for

the Court, Justice Murphy stated:

‘‘The difference between an abstract question and

a ‘controversy’ contemplated by the Declaratory

Judgment Act is necessarily one of degree, and it

would be difficult, if it would be possible, to fashion

a precise test for determining in every case whether

there is such a controversy. Basically, the question

in each case is whether the facts alleged, under all

the circumstances, that that there is a substantial

controversy, between parties having adverse legal

interests, of sufficient immediacy and reality to

warrant the issuance of a declaratory judgment.

°° °° 312 US. at 273, 61 S.Ct. at 512.

In light of Aetna Life and Maryland Casualty, there was

clearly a new controversy between Amtrak and Penn

Central on May 5, 1976, when Amtrak filed its complaint

for a declaratory judgment.

The controversy was over the scope, meaning, effect

and validity of the Indiana court’s confirmation judgment

of March 26, 1976, and the ambiguity surrounding that

judgment. As stated above, Penn Central consented to the

entry of the confirmation judgment under the mandates of

the Federal Arbitration Act, including 9 U.S.C. §13,

which says in relevant part:

oo. ee

‘‘The judgmenc so entered shall have the same

force and effect, in all respects, as, and be subject

to all the provisions of law relating to, a judgment

in an action; and it may be enforced as if it had been

rendered in an action in the court in which it is

entered.”’

Yet, once the confirmation judgment was entered and

Amtrak’s hopes for restoring rail passenger service to

the Midwest were on the upswing, Penn Central cast

shadows upon these hopes for the future by refusing to

39

take steps to comply with the confirmation judgment and

stating in the reorganization court that all of Penn Cen-

tral’s obligations had vanished because of the Rail Act and

the transfer of the tracks to ConRail. Penn Central re-

sponded to Amtrak’s request in the reorganization court for

the issuance of an order to ‘‘direct, instruct, and authorize’’

Penn Central to comply with the confirmation judgment

by saying bluntly that the confirmation judgment was a

nullity so far as Penn Central was concerned. Penn Central

even went so far as to ask the reorganization court to

enjoin Amtrak from ‘‘seeking execution or enforcement.’’

When that response was filed, it was clear that neither the

end of the arbitration proceedings nor the confirmation

judgment on the arbitration award had set the rail line dis-

pute to rest. The parties remained in hopeless disagree-

ment as to the legal effect and validity of the confirmation

judgment.

On the one hand, Amtrak contended that the validity and

legality of the arbitration award under the Rail Act and

under all other laws of the United States had already been

adjudicated in the confirmation proceedings and could not

be relitigated elsewhere. The majority of the National

Arbitration Panel who fashioned the arbitration award

obviously believed Penn Central could cause the restoration

plan for the tracks to be carried out or they would not have

made an award, but they concluded their award by noting

their uncertainty as to the law and their belief that the

effect, if any, of the Rail Act upon the award was a matter

for the confirming court and not the arbitrators. Under

these circumstances it would make little sense to have the

Indiana court enter its judgment upon the arbitration

award if that court was not the proper tribunal to consider

the legality of the award under the laws of the United

States. Amtrak believed that Penn Central’s attempt to

relitigate the same issues that were settled by the con-

40)

firmation judgment was nothing more than vexatious

duplicative litigation.

Common sense or not, Penn Central contended on the

other hand that the Indiana court did not have the duty or

the power in the recently completed confirmation proceed-

ings to look beyond the contents of the award itself to

determine whether or not the restoration plan could be

lawfully carried out. Penn Central rationalized that since

the assets of the estate from which the cost of the restora-

tion would ultimately have to come™ were in the exclusive

custody of the reorganization court, only that court could

‘‘enforce’’ the arbitration award and hence only that court

could judge whether or not the restoration was or was not

compatible with the Rail Act or other statutes. This argu-

ment was summarized most simply during the declaratory

judgment proceedings when Penn Central said that:

‘‘Whether Amtrak * * * merely has an arbitration award

or a confirmed arbitration award, is immaterial.”’

To bolster its position that there was no justiciable dis-

pute between the parties after the confirmation judgment

was entered, Penn Central kept focusing attention upon

contractual obligations under the Basic Agreement, saying

that any contract dispute had been settled by the arbitra-

tion award. It is true that the contract dispute was settled

in Amtrak’s favor once there was a finding that Penn

Central had breached the Basic Agreement contemplated

by section 401(a) of the Amtrak Act, 45 U.S.C. § 561(a),

and was required under the Arbitration Agreement to make

reparation by causing the Indiana tracks to be restored in

accordance with the Panel Program. There was no dis-

agreement there. The disagreement is whether this program

11 Because the tracks at issue here were no longer in the constructive

possession of the reorganization court, gone was the underlying justifica-

tion for the broad injunctive powers of section 77 reorganization courts

in trying to prevent interference with the operation of bankrupt railroads

under court supervision.

41

is legally entitled to be enforced” in light of the judgment

entered upon it or whether the confirmation judgment was

a nullity and could be collaterally attacked. The declaratory

judgment complaint did not seek relief based upon the

contract dispute, but upon the confirmation judgment itself.

What was really in controversy was not the contract

default of Penn Central, but was the judicial power of the

Indiana court to fully decide the validity of the arbitration

award under the Federal Arbitration Act.

Thus, the problem for Amtrak was not one of enforce-

ment. The problem was only one of seeking and fostering

an authoritative, comprehensive and controlling under-

standing of the March 24, 1976, mandate of the Indiana

court’s confirmation judgment. In such a circumstance the

declaratory procedure used by Amtrak presented an ideal

method for resolving the conflict, and in past years nu-

merous courts have given declarations under both state and

federal declaratory judgment statutes to clarify an ambigu-

ous judgment or to determine its legal effect. See Connecti-

cut Sav. Bank vy. First Nat. Bank & Trust Co., 133 Conn.

403, 51 A.2d 907 (1947) (whether prior judgment was

collateral estoppel on an issue between the parties); Aetna

Life Ins. Co. v. Martin, 108 F.2d 824 (8th Cir. 1940) (clari-

fication of prior state court judgment under an insurance

contract) ; Boman v. Belyeu, 255 Ala. 281, 51 So.2d 27 (1951)

(determination of whether prior judgment was a personal

judgment) ; National-Ben Franklin Fire Ins. Co. y. Camden

Trust Co., 21 N.J. 16, 120 A.2d 754, 757 (1956) (resolution

of controversy over prior judgment); Talcott vy. Talcott,

54 Cal.App.2d 7438, 129 P.2d 946, 948 (1942) (determination

of rights under prior probate decree) ; Stavros v. Bradley,

313 Ky. 676, 232 S.W.2d 1004, 1006 (Ky.App. 1950) (det

12 When and how the award will be enforced is another question. Both

the time and manner of providing estate funds for enforcement are

matters for the reorganization court since the property of the debtor is

in its custody. See the next section of this petition.

42

mination of effect of prior judgment on parties’ rights) ;

Beach vy. Beach, 57 Ohio App. 294, 13 N.E.2d 581, 582 (1937)

(clarification of settlement agreement terms contained in

prior divorce decree) ; Barnes v. Pierce, 36 Tenn.App. 181,

253 S.W.2d 33, 36 (1952) (interpretation of prior consent

decree) ; Bengtson v. Setterberg, 227 Minn. 337, 35 N.W.2d

623, 626 (1949) (power of courts to declare rights based on

prior judgments) ; Avery Freight Lines, Inc, v. White, 245

Ala. 618, 18 So.2d 394, 398 (1944) (consideration of the

validity and legal effect of a former judgment); Weeks v.

Town of Hoover, 286 Ala. 373, 240 So.2d 125, 127 (1970)

(declaratory judgment was appropriate as to issues that

court had decided in a previous case). See generally,

Borchard, Declaratory Judgments, p. 356 (2d ed. 1941), 60

Harv. L. Rev. 979 (1947), and 62 Harv. L. Rev. 787, 841

(1949). The Declaratory Judgment Act by its express

words gives federal courts broad authority to declare

‘‘rights, status and other legal relations.’’ 28 U.S.C. § 2201.

Such declarations do not derogate from the binding force of

a prior decision, but rather they make its determination

more certain.

The ‘‘foree and will’? of federal courts’ judgments

seldom have to depend upon the sword. It is the high

degree of credit which society accords to legal decrees

which gives them their mystical power to influence and

shape behavior of men. The Declaratory Judgment Act

should therefore be liberally construed to obtain an under-

standing of ambiguous or challenged judgments by the de-

claratory remedy. The complaint for a declaratory judg-

ment by Amtrak was a lawful means for presenting a case

or controversy otherwise cognizable by federal courts. See,

Nashville, C. d St. L. Ry. v. Wallace, 288 U.S. 249, 264, 53

S.Ct. 345, 348 (1933) (declaratory procedure was within

appellate judicial power); Allstate Ins. Co. v. Employers

Liability Assur. Corp., 445 F.2d 1278, 1280 (Sth Cir. 1971),

Freeman v. Marine Midland Bank-New York, 419 F.Supp.

«*

43

440, 450 (E.D. N.Y. 1976), and Lehigh Coal & Nav. Co. v.

Central R. of N.J., 33 F.Supp. 362, 365 (E.D. Pa. 1940)

(granting a declaratory judgment rests in the sound dis-

cretion of the trial court, which discretion should be liber-

ally exercised in the public interest); City of Tacoma v.

Taxpayers of Tacoma, 357 U.S. 320, 78 S.Ct. 1209 (1958)

(prior decision upholding city’s right to condemn state

property for power project declared res judicata and city’s

bonds declared valid under federal law); De Veau v.

Braisted, 336 U.S. 144, 80A S.Ct. 1146 (1960) (plaintiff’s

suspension from waterfront union because of conviction of

felony, as required by New York law, declared valid) ;

McCulloch vy. Sociedad Nacional de Marineros de Honduras,

372 U.S. 10, 83 S.Ct. 671 (1963) (declaration regarding

coverage of NLRA); United States vy. Louisiana, 394 U.S.

11, 89 S.Ct. 773 (1969) (rights of parties in submerged

coastal lands declared); Gunn v. University Committee to

End War in Viet Nam, 399 U.S. 383, 90A S.Ct. 2013 (1970)

(declaratory judgment concerning a state disturbing-the-

peace statute).

The only case which the Seventh Cireuit cites to the

contrary is Donovan vy. City of Dallas, 377 U.S. 408, 84A

S.Ct. 1579 (1964), a case in which the Court was concerned

only with a state court’s lack of power to restrain a party’s

access to the federal courts. The Seventh Cireuit’s reliance

on Donovan is misplaced for at least two reasons." First,

the present case involves the jurisdiction of two federal

courts and the effect of the Indiana court’s judgments upon

the jurisdiction of the reorganization court. There is no

state court involvement here. Amtrak had a right given by

Congress to invoke the jurisdiction of the Indiana court

and, correspondingly, the Indiana court had a duty to

13 By issuing the declaratory judgment, the Indiana court was also

fostering a definitive understanding of the confirmation judgment and

helping to prevent the type of duplicative litigation discussed by Justice

Harlan’s dissent in Donovan, 377 U.S. at 415, S4A S.Ct. at 1583.

44

exercise that jurisdiction. Cohens v. Virginia, 6 Wheaton

264, 404 (1821). Second, the Indiana court’s declaratory

judgment determined that the prior confirmation judgment

was res judicata on certain issues between Amtrak and

Penn Central. The Indiana court did not enjoin Penn

Central from proceeding in the reorganization court or in

any other way to attempt to prevent Penn Central’s access

to another arm of the federal system.

The Indiana court had the right given by Congress to

every federal court to declare what the law was and what

the confirmation judgment meant, 7.e., to declare the scope

and nature of the confirmation judgment entered under the

mandate of the Federal Arbitration Act. The Seventh

Cireuit’s contrary holding presents an issue that is ripe for

consideration by this Court.

2. In Entering the Declaratory Judgment, the Indiana

Court Did Not Interfere with the Proper Jurisdiction of

the Reorganization Court. The Reorganization Court

Does Not Have the Power To Go Behind the Confirma-

tion Judgment And Rehear All Defenses of Penn

Central to the Arbitration Award.

The threshold question in this litigation when it began-

on February 4, 1976, the day Amtrak filed its petition to

confirm the arbitration award in the Indiana court, was

who would decide the liability of Penn Central—the Indi-

ana court or the reorganization court. After the Indiana

court entered the confirmatics judgment with the consent

of Penn Central and without intervention by the reorgani-

zation court, Amtrak would have thought that that thres-

hold question had been answered once and for all with the

unanimous response: the Indiana court. Amtrak still be-

lieves that that answer is the correct one, although part II

of the Seventh Cireuit’s decision (App. 74-77) means that

there is now something less than unanimity on the question.

As Amtrak will show below, the Seventh Circuit’s conclu-

-

«7

45

sion that the Indiana court’s declaratory judgment was an

improper interference with the jurisdiction of the reorgani-

zation court is simply not legally supportable. The Supreme

Court should grant certiorari so that Amtrak ean bring

to this Court a decision that Amtrak believes improperly

marks the boundary between the power of one federal

court to enter a judgment under the Federal Arbitration

Act and under the Declaratory Judgment Act, and the

power of another federal court under the Bankruptcy Act

to review and refuse to honor a final judgment of the first

federal court.

As Amtrak emphasized above, part II of the Seventh

Cireuit’s opinion discussing the purpose of the declaratory

judgment is couched largely in terms of ‘‘enforcement’’ of

the confirmation judgment and relies upon the exclusive

jurisdiction of a reorganization court to determine the

status of claims made in the bankruptcy estate. Amtrak

has never disputed the authority of the reorganization

court to carry out the administration and reorganization of

the debtor’s properties, including deciding how and when

payments out of estate assets are to be made and in what

priority. That has never been the issue, as the Seventh

Cireuit should have realized in quoting a paragraph from

one of Amtrak’s early briefs which acknowledged that

execution by Amtrak of the confirmation judgment would

need to be done in the reorganization court (App. 71).

Thus, by citing and relying upon cases like Baker y. Gold

Seal Liquors, Inc., 417 U.S. 467, 94A S.Ct. 2504 (1974),

the New Haven Inclusion Cases, 399 U.S. 392, 90A S.Ct. 2054

(1970), Kalb v. Feuerstein, 308 U.S. 433, 60 S.Ct. 343

(1940), and In Re New York, New Haven and Hartford Ry.

Co., 457 F.2d 683 (2d Cir.), cert. denied sub nom. Smith v.

Baker, 409 U.S. 890, 93 S.Ct. 106 (1972), the Seventh Cir-

cuit was merely stating the obvious—that the reorganiza-

tion court had exclusive jurisdiction over the assets of the

debtor and those assets cannot be appropriated for lia-

46

bilities of the estate until the reorganization court has a

chance to fit payment into the overall administration of

the estate.’* The issue here is whether or not a nonbank-

ruptey court can, with the consent of the bankruptcy

court, finally determine the liability of the trustees on

certain claims, even though that determination will eventu-

ally need to be taken back to the reorganization court by

the prevailing party for payment with all the other claims

against the estate. And, if it can, does some stretch of the

bankruptcy power permit the reorganization court to

readjudicate the question whether the trustees are liable

in the first place?

The reorganization court did permit claims between

Penn Central and Amtrak to be arbitrated and litigated

outside the confines of the reorganization court. Specifical-

ly, the reorganization court permitted its trustees to con-

tract with Amtrak and consented to the settlement by

binding arbitration before the National Arbitration Panel

14 Also, the facts and holdings in Baker, New Haren Inclusion, Kalb

and New York do not support the Seventh Circuit’s conclusion that the

declaratory judgment was an interference with the appropriate jurisdic-

tion of the reorganization court. Those four cases cannot be stretched as

far as the Seventh Circuit would need to stretch them to make the reor-

ganization court a ezar over other federal courts, the concept implicit

in the Seventh Circuit's opinion. For example, Baker held that the non-

bankruptcy court’s set-off of the creditor’s claim against the trustees for

damage to shipments, against the trustees’ claims against the creditor

for freight charges, resulted in a “preference to the claim of one creditor

over the others by the happenstance that it owes freight charges that-

the others do not.” 417 U.S. at 474, 94A S.Ct. at 2508-09. In New Haven,

the Court held that the value of a section 77 debtor’s estate should be

decided by the reorganization court, not the nonreorganization court.

Kalb involved a situation where-a state court had entered a foreclosure

decree after a section 75 bankruptey petition had been filed. This Court

held that the bankruptey proceedings had divested the state court of its

jurisdiction. That decision was based upon federal supremacy, an issue

not involved here. New York, like Kalb, involved one court’s attempt to

place a lien and constructive trust upon the bankrupt’s property which

was already within the constructive possession of the bankruptcy court.

In short, none of the cases cited by the Seventh Circuit addresses the

question of the permissible scope of a nonbankruptcy court’s ability to

determine the underlying liability of the debtor on claims which the

bankruptey court has permitted to be decided elsewhere.

47

of all disputes under the Basic Agreement and the Arbi-

tration Agreement (Article Six of the Basie Agreement and

section 4.2 of the Arbitration Agreement), and to the entry

of a confirmation judgment upon an arbitration award

entered by the Panel by any United States district court

(section 4.3 of the Arbitration Agreement). Order No. 238

of the reorganization court authorized Penn Central to

comply with the Basic Agreement ‘‘without further order

or action’’ by the reorganization court but said a ‘‘deci-

sion’’ resolving a dispute in accordance with the Basic

Agreement or the Arbitration Agreement should be sub-

mitted to the reorganization court ‘‘for review and ap-

proval before becoming finally binding upon the Trustees

or the Debtor.’’ From the outset, Amtrak construed Order

No. 238 to mean that no execution could be had against the

estate’s assets, and that the trustees could not authorize

the expenditure of estate funds to comply with an award

until a review was made by the reorganization court as to

how and when the award should be satisfied. There was a

sound legal basis for this construction.

It is well established that a section 77 reorganization

court need not draw to itself all questions or rights of

action affecting the estate. Jurisdiction can be relinquished

and the trustees sent to be sued in another court as long as

the reorganizat‘on court’s authority to administer and

reorganize the railroad was not impaired and the property

of the debtor remained in the reorganization court’s exclu-

sive custody until released. See Thompson v. Magnolia

Petroleum Co., 309 U.S. 478, 60 S.Ct. 628 (1940); Foust v.

Munson S.S. Lines, 299 U.S. 77, 57 S.Ct. 90 (1936); Arm-

strong v. Alliance Trust Co., Ltd., 112 F.2d 114 (Sth Cir.

1940); and 6 Collier On Bankruptcy ©3.08[1] (14th ed.

1977). Accord, In Re Wonderhowl, Inc., 456 F.2d 954 (9th

Cir. 1972). In some instances, the Bankruptcy Act itself ex-

pressly permits suits against trustees to be brought in other

courts, e.g., 11 U.S.C. § 205()). Amtrak, therefore, consid-

48

ered it was quite free to bring an arbitration award to any

United States district court for confirmation, and later to

seek the declaratory judgment interpreting the confirma-

tion judgment outside the reorganization court.” The Arbi-

tration Agreement expressly provided for confirmation

outside the reorganization court, and since the Basie Agree-

ment clearly fell within the provisions of 28 U.S.C. § 959,

the leave of the reorganization court to carry out the

Arbitration Agreement was not required. See Novo En-

zyme Corp. v. Baker, 361 F.Supp. 337 (S.D. N.Y. 1973)

(a case involving Penn Central); and Diners Club, Inc. v.

Bumb, 421 F.2d 396 (9th Cir. 1970).

These are the general principles and they provide no

support for the Seventh Circuit’s adoption of Penn Cen-

tral’s position that some inherent bankruptcy power per-

mits the reorganization court to reserve to itself the power

to relitigate issues determined elsewhere. The same is true

of the Seventh Cireuit’s apparent reliance, at least in part,

upon Order No. 238 of the reorganization court as a ground

for vacation of the declaratory judgment. In the first place,

the trustees were authorized to enter into the Basic Agree-

ment and the Arbitration Agreement with Amtrak, con-

tracts which contained the ‘‘level of utility’’ basis for Penn

Central’s obligation and the arbitration provisions as well.

Second, the jurisdiction of other federal courts to fix the

liability of Penn Central upon an arbitration award is

determined by statute, not by Order No. 238. The Bank-

ruptey Act may or may not have authorized the reorgani-

zation court to stay the confirmation or the later declara-

tory judgment proceedings in Indiana or to order they

be heard only in the reorganization court notwithstanding

15 Amtrak felt very strongly about its right to have the arbitration

award confirmed by the Indiana court, not only because of the importance

of the whole concept of binding arbitration and confirmation in any

federal court to the rail passenger system required by the Amtrak Act,

but also because the situs of the tracks, as well as the related C & O case,

were both in Indiana.

49

the Arbitration Agreement or the Amtrak Act. But this

is not the question here, since the reorganization court

took none of these actions. The Bankruptcy Act gives a

bankruptey court the discr tion to permit litigation against

trustees to proceed in another court, either state or federal,

and Penn Central appeared in Indiana with the approval

of the reorganization court. When this is done, the judg-

ment of the other court resolves the liability issue and

liability may not be relitigated in the bankruptey court.

Fischer v. Pauline Oil & Gas Co., 309 U.S. 294, 60 S.Ct. 535

(1940); and Boynton vy. Ball, 121 U.S. 457, 7 S.Ct. 981

(1887). A judgment validly entered by another court of

competent jurisdiction against the trustees is binding upon

the bankruptey court when a claim based upon such judg-

ment is presented. In re Chicago & E. 1. Ry. Co., 121 F.2d

785, 789 (7th Cir.). cert. denied, 314 U.S. 653, 62 S.Ct. 102

(1941). The doctrine is well stated in 1 Collier On Bank-

ruptcy 4 2.07, pp. 166-67 (14th ed. 1974), as follows:

‘** * * But, once the controversy is properly sub-

mitted to a non-bankruptey court, that court has

jurisdiction of all the incidents of the litigation,

and the judgment thereon is binding on the trustee

or receiver as the case may be.”’

What might have been done by the reorganization court by

injunction or otherwise, prior to the entry of the con-

firmation judgment or the declaratory judgment in Indiana,

is immaterial. Chief Judge Steckler heard and decided the

Amtrak petition for confirmation’® without interference

16 The jurisdiction of the Indiana court to enter its judgment upon the

award was, of course, anchored in 28 U.S.C. § 1332 and 9 U.S.C. §$1, 9

and 10. There is no controversy about that. The parties are agreed on

this. point. Furthermore, the Indiana court itself had jurisdiction to

determine the question of its own jurisdiction and, having done so, this

determination is res judicata and not subject to collateral attack. Chicot

County Drainage District v. Baxter State Bank, 308 U.S. 371, 60 S.Ct.

317 (1940); Stoll v. Gottlieb, 305 U.S. 165, 59 S.Ct. 134 (1938); and

In Re Universal Display & Sign Co., 541 F.2d 142, 144, 146 (3d Cir.

1976). If the trustees had any doubts about the authoritative competence

of the Indiana court to enter a final judgment upon the arbitration award,

20

and in fact with the consent of Penn Central and the reor-

ganization court, and having found no grounds for vacating

the award, he entered his jndgment upon it in aecordance

with the statutory mandates of the Federal Arbitration Act.

Sections 9 and 13 of this Act provide in relevant part as

follows:

‘‘If the parties in their agreement have agreed

that a judgment of the court shall be entered upon

the award * * * any party to the arbitration may

apply * * * for an order confirming the award, and

thereupon the court must grant such an order un-

less the award is vacated, modified, or corrected as

prescribed in sections 10 and 11 of this title. * * *”’

$9 (Emphasis added).

and

‘tt? 662 6

‘*The judgment shall be docketed as if it was ren-

dered in an action.

‘*The judgment so entered shall have the same

force and effect, in all respects, as, and be subject

to all the provisions of law relating to, a judgment

in an action; and it may be enforced as if it had

been rendered in an action in the court in which it

is entered.’’ 9 U.S.C. § 13.

Order No. 238 cannot serve to change this statutory lan-

guage, nor can it sap from the Indiana court its authority

to rule upon the cases that were before the court. In con-

firming the award and later declaring its meaning, the

Indiana court was exercising the judicial powers of the

United States, and its powers to finally settle the contro-

versy as to the legal liability of Penn Central did not

depend upon the consent of the reorganization court, but

only upon Article III of the United States Constitution.

The second problem with the Seventh Circuit’s reliance

upon Order No. 238 is that the order was conceived out

the trustees could have appealed the confirmation judgment. But they

obviously did not have any doubts and no appeal was taken.

a1

of an erroneous concept. In 1971, the reorganization court

had a notion that the Arbitration Agreement might in

some way have contravened the requirements of the Bank-

ruptcy Act, and the court was not sure it could authorize

the submission of controversies affecting the estate to final

and binding arbitrations Therefore, when objection was

voiced by a single creditor to court approval of the Agree-

ment, the reorganization court now says that Order No.

238 was fashioned to meet this objection (App. 114-15)."* If

that was the purpose of the order, it was wholly unneces-

sary. Even had there been a prohibition in the Bank-

ruptey Act against such a submission (which there is not),

section 306(e) of the Amtrak Act relieved Penn Central’s

trustees ‘‘from all prohibitions of existing law’’ as was

necessary to enable them to enter into the Agreement ‘‘and

to perform their obligations thereunder.’’ 45 U.S.C. § 546

(e).

Lastly, if the underlying purpose of Order No. 238 was

to protect the estate from unforeseeable erosions growing

out of the obligations of Penn Central under the Basic

Agreement, as the reorganization court now says it was,

1 The reasons given for the “review and approval” notion in Order

No. 238 are clouded and hence do not supply any insight into the scope

of the review that was intended. Indeed, the standards of this review are

not described, but the judicial review of arbitration awards prescribed

by the Federal Arbitration Act apparently is not in the reorganization

court’s mind a “meaningful judicial review.” (App. 114). In Order No.

2569, the reorganization court states Order No. 238 was in response to

a “heavy attack” made agsiast the Arbitration Agreement by the credi-

tors at an April 23, 1971 \-aring to decide whether the Amtrak contracts

should be approved (App. 116). But in its opinion written in 1971 in

support of Order No. 238, the reorganization court stated: “The only

opposition to the proposed contract has been expressed by the United

States Trust Company of New York. * * * These objections are with-

out merit.” The changed view concerning the weight of the opposition

may have been due to hindsight. Compliance with the rail line obliga-

tions of the Basie Agreement became more burdensome in 1976 than

was contemplated in 1971 when there was every expectation that Penn

Central's rail lines would be properly maintained in the normal opera-

tion of the railroad under section 77 of the Bankruptey Act. However,

this cannot be a legal standard for voiding awards.

52

then the order was not properly designed from the very

first. There is no doubt that whenever administrative costs

were incurred by Penn Central under the Basie Agree-

ment, there was bound te be at least some injury to the

pocketbook interests of all creditors of the same or lesser

priority. However, it does not follow that for this reason

all arbitration awards arising out of the Agreement are

therefore legally vulnerable if their impact upon these

creditors is too great. To contend that there must be such

a remedy for these creditors whenever Amtrak claims

serious injury to itself because of Penn Central’s defaults

is to contend that Amtrak is ‘‘fair game’’ when Penn

Central must hunt for the monies to finance the proper

railroad operations of the debtor. This cannot be so. Am-

trak should not be singled out from all other creditors and

penalized to save some of the administration expenses of

the estate.

The only injury to the estate from valid arbitration

awards arising out of the Basic Agreement is that Penn

Central must do what the Basie Agreement requires.

Trustees cannot accept the benefits of an executory con-

tract without accepting the burdens as well. Schokbeton

Industries, Inc. v. Schokbeton Products Corp., 466 F.2d

171, 175 (Sth Cir. 1972) ; and Hurley v. Atchison, Topeka &

Sante Fe Ry. Co., 213 U.S. 126, 29 S.Ct. 466 (1909). Penn

Central could not be permitted to speculate on the outcome

of an arbitration proceeding, accepting the agreed upon

process only if the award was favorable and rejecting it if

it was not. See Tobin v. Plein, 301 F.2d 378, 381 (2d Cir.

1962); and In Re Patterson-MacDonald Shipbuilding Co.,

284 F. 277, 281 (W.D. Wash. 1922), aff’d., 292 F. 700 (9th

Cir. 1923), appeal dismissed sub nom. Commonwealth of

Australia v. McLean, 266 U.S. 638, 45 S.Ct. 10 (1924).

Order No. 238 gives the reorganization court no legal basis

for a de novo review of arbitration awards or any power

to say a valid arbitration award confirmed by another

a3

federal court shall have no impact. Had the reorganization

court wished to do this, the court ought to have disapproved

acceptance of the tendered Amtrak contracts; but then

matters would have been ‘‘quite bleak’’ for the creditors,

and Amtrak would have saved the hundreds of millions of

dollars which it has spent in the past five years by assum-

ing the common carrier obligations of Penn Central to

operate intercity rail passenger service in the Northeast

and Midwest.

From all of the above, it is abundantly obvious that the

question of who should decide all issues surrounding the

liability of Penn Central—Judge Fullam or Chief Judge

Steckler—was answered when the reorganization court

took no action to enjoin or stay the confirmation or decla-

tory judgment proceedings in Indiana. Penn Central ap-

peared before Chief Judge Steckler, presented their cases,

responded to Amtrak’s pleadings with reorganization court

approval, and judgments were entered against Penn Cen-

tral as prescribed by the Arbitration Act and the Declara-

tory Judgment Act.’* As to the confirmation judgment,

the reorganization court recognized this when it said in

Order No. 2569:

‘‘The judgment confirming the award is a final

judgment, and is entitled to be given res judicata

effect in these proceedings. No one has ever con-

tended otherwise. In short, it is now finally settled

that the Trustees had not fully complied with their

obligation to maintain the trackage involved, and

that Amtrak was entitled to have the situation speed-

ily remedied. * * *’’ (App. 118).

18 The confirmation judgment is now a final one and valid even if

erroneous. See Stoll v. Gottlieb, 305 U.S. 165, 59 S.Ct. 134 (1938);

Chicot County Drainage District v. Barter State Bank, 308 U.S. 371,

60 S.Ct. 317 (1940) ; In Re Universal Display and Sign Co., 541 F.2d 142,

144 (3d Cir. 1976); and 1B J. Moore, Federal Practice § 0.405 [4.-1 J

(2d ed. 1974).

54

Unfortunately, the reorganization court and now the Sev-

enth Circuit fail to realize that the same principles make

the declaratory judgment equally valid.

These, then, are some of the important legal reasons

why Amtrak believes that part II of the Seventh Circuit’s

opinion is patently incorrect. In addition, there are con-

stitutional considerations here, as well as questions of

judicial propriety which compel Amtrak to seek review

of the Seventh Cireuit’s decision in this Court.

Inasmuch as the Constitution does not require bank-

ruptey to be administered by the judiciary, the mischief

implicit in the idea that the Bankruptcy Act grants an all

inclusive kind of revisory power over the judgments of

our constitutional courts is apparent. As in a” »atters,

federal courts sitting in bankruptcy, though |. ¢ very

broad and far-reaching powers, are courts of lim...ed juris-

diction. Their authority over other federal courts exists

only to the extent that it is granted by the Bankruptcy Act

and the Federal Judicial Code. Amtrak contends the Bank-

ruptey Act does not grant a reorganization court by an

Order No. 238 the power to modify section 13 of the Federal

Arbitration Act or the power to change the nature of a

confirmation judgment from a final judgment to one which

merely certifies the legitimacy of the arbitration process.

Nor does the Federal Judicial Code give reorganize ‘tion

courts appellate review over awards held to be valid in

confirmation proceedings. Order No. 238 could not possibly

have prohibited the Indiana court from applying the laws

of the land to the arbitration award when judgment was

entered upon the award since the Bankruptcy Act does

not grant section 77 reorganization courts general veto or

supervisory power over district court judgments.

The judicial expressions that the Bankruptcy Act is

paramount law and a section 77 reorganization court is

armed with extensive powers to avoid judicial liens, prefer-

ences or fraudulent transfers and can stay proceedings of

DD

other courts do not go as far as to make reorganization

courts the ezars over our judicial system. The notion that

the Bankruptcy Act can impose such limitations upon the

judicial powers of an Article III court to apply the laws of

the United States in deciding cases or controversies arising

between opposing parties is quite different from the legal

principle that the exclusive and paramount authority of a

reorganization court over the debtor gives it inherent

powers to stay proceedings in other courts to protect its

ability to administer the estate and reorganize the railroad

debtor. The notions of Penn Central as to the exclusive

competency of the reorganization court to resolve all

disputes concerning the Penn Central estate is a serious

oversimplification of what is involved. As in the whole

field of federal jurisdiction, there is a delicate task in

bankruptcy jurisdiction of balancing political expediency

and procedural efficiency. The simplest procedure might

have been to require a reorganization court to adjudicate

all litigation arising out of the operation of the debtor

railroad, but the Congress did not pursue this course of

action. Quite the opposite is true. Congress decided differ-

ently and enacted 28 U.S.C. § 959 and 11 U.S.C. § 205(j),

which permit suits outside the reorganization court.

Moreover, Congress, not reorganization courts, decide not

only which of the various federal courts is appropriate to

take jurisdiction over suits falling within the definitions of

28 U.S.C. § 959, but also whether the special rules of see-

tion 306(e) of the Amtrak Act, 45 U.S.C. §546(a), are

appropriate for the statutory scheme for preserving and

restoring rail passenger service. See National R.R. Pas-

senger Corp. v. National Ass’n of R.R. Passengers, 414

U.S. 453, 94 S.Ct. 690 (1974).

Penn Central and the Seventh Circuit invoke no statutes

which make arbitration awards under the statutory Basic

Agreement and Arbitration Agreement reviewable by the

reorganization court or which make exceptions to the

provisions of the Declaratory Judgment Act so questions of

06

law concerning the bankruptey estate must be decided ex-

clusively by the reorganization court. There are none, and

Gutensohn vy. Kansas City Southern Ry. Co., 140 F.2d 950,

953 (Sth Cir. 1944), teaches us that in a suit against a trus-

tee, a declaration of rights on a question of law, without

ordering anything done, will not ipso facto be considered an

interference with the jurisdiction of a reorganization court.

There is no interference with the administration and reor-

ganization of the debtor’s estate and the reorganization

court’s custody over the debtor’s property is not disturbed.

There is no statutory or other legal basis for stripping the

Indiana court of declaratory judgment jurisdiction simply

because of the pendency of the Penn Central reorganization

proceeding. It goes without saying that the Indiana court

is an experienced and disciplined one and would not abuse

its 28 U.S.C. § 2201 powers by interfering with the juris-

diction of a section 77 reorganization court. See generaliy,

Kerotest Mfg. Co. v. C-O-Two Fire Equipment Co., 342

U.S. 180, 72 S.Ct. 219 (1952). Hence, there is no basis for

saying the declaratory judgment jurisdiction of the Indiana

court or any other jurisdiction granted to it by the Con-

gress is automatically vitiated because it merely threatens

the reorganization and administration of Penn Central’s

estate.

There are constitutional as well as legislative objections

to the views of Penn Central, accepted by the Seventh

Circuit, as to the reach of Order No. 238 and the powers

which Penn Central asserts are in the reorganization court

to limit the scope of the judgments of the Indiana court

or to oust it from jurisdiction to hear a declaratory judg-

ment proceeding. The Indiana court is a constitutional

court vested with the judicial powers of the United States,

and as such its jurisdiction to decide upon the validity of

the arbitration award had to amount to more than examin-

ing the arbitration proceedings and certifying their in-

tegrity to another decision maker. Section 13 of the Federal

o7

Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. §13, makes clear that district

court judgments upon arbitration awards are to be fully

equated with ‘‘judgments in an action.’’ Hence, the con-

stitutional authority of the Indiana court to enter judg-

ment upon the legality of the restoration award is not open

to question. Like any judgment in an action, the confirma-

tion judgment is a final judicial decision. As such, it has

complete dominion over all questions concerning the merits

and legal validity of the award to the broadest reach

allowed the federal judiciary by Article III of the United

States Constitution in the settlement of any case or con-

troversy. Were this not so, the aspect of the ‘‘case’’ con-

cept emphasized in Hayburn’s Case, 2 Dallas 409 (1792),

would be turned upon its head.

From the earliest days of our Republic, our constitu-

tional courts have refused to enter judgments which are

subject to revision elsewhere, and this concept merges

with the prohibition against ‘‘advisory opinions’’ since

such a situation was thought of as a rendering of advice

to the revising authority. This concept is further supported

by the doctrines of Marbury v. Madison, that courts were

not empowered full blown by the Constitution to sit in

judgment over the actions of the other branches of gov-

ernment but only upon the compulsion of a ‘‘case or con-

troversy’’ which no one else will decide, invoking the

judicial power of Article III only as a last resort, and

reluctantly.

The Indiana court did not become seized with the con-

troversies over the validity of the arbitration award and

Penn Central’s liability to Amtrak simply to advise the

reorganization court about the arbitration process. The

court had to dispose of the controversies—first the con-

firmation proceedings and then the declaratory judgment

proceedings—and to do so, had to apply the laws of the

United States. As has been seen, no statute authorized

or required the Indiana court to limit its function to

something less than a judicial one required by the con-

38

stitutional dimensions of Article II]. Likewise, Order No.

238 did not impair the judicial power of the Indiana court

granted to it by 28 U.S.C. $1332, 9 U.S.C. §$ 1-14, and

Article Lil of the Constitution.

Suffice it to say that the Indiana court did not in any

way ‘‘circumscribe’’ the appropriate jurisdiction of the

reorganization court ‘‘as to the enforcement of an arbi-

tration award whiich was subsequently confirmed by the

Indiana Court’ as concluded by the Seventh Circuit (App.

77). The reorganization court had a function and the

Indiana court had a function. The Seventh Cireuit’s de-

cision to the contrary :s wrong.

3. The Indiana Court’s Declaratory Judgment Correctly

Decided That the Confirmation Judgment Was Res

Judicata on Penn Central’s Rail Act Defense.

Any claim by Penn Central that the arbitration award

was invalid or nonenforceable under the provisions of the

Rail Act ought to have been made to the Indiana court in

the confirmation proceedings which had the exclusive juris-

diction to decide the question of the liability of Penn

Central under the laws of the land. All legal defenses to

the validity of the award had to be raised in the con-

firmation proceedings in Indiana. Defenses not raised were

waived. Therefore, the confirmation judgment upon the

award was res judicata between the parties and estopped

Penn Central from raising the Rail Act defense to its

liability for rail line restoration under the award when

the matter was presented by Amtrak to the reorganiza-

tion court for satisfaction. That is Amtrak’s position,

pure and simple, and that position leads ineseapably to

the conclusion that the declaratory judgment was _ per-

fectly correct. The Seventh Circuit cited no authority

to the contrary in part IV of its decision, except to em-

phasize the ‘‘limited purpose’’ of the confirmation pro-

ceedings to see that the arbitration award was a ‘‘proper

a9

award and that the arbitrators acted honestly and did not

exceed their powers.’’ (App. 78). Amtrak respectfully dis-

agrees.

The confirmation judgment should have -put an end to

Penn Central’s Rail Act defense. The federal policy be-

hind the Arbitration Act was to promote arbitration of

disputes and to eliminate the need for litigation on the

merits, thereby easing court congestion and effectuating

the parties’ intention to avoid expensive and time-consum-

ing litigation. World Brilliance Corp. v. Bethlehem Steel

Co., 342 F.2d 362, 365-66 (2d Cir. 1965) ; and Galt v. Libbey-

Owens-Ford Glass Co., 376 F.2d 711, 714 (7th Cir. 1967).

By clarifying the legal effect of its confirmation judgment

upon the arbitration award, the Indiana court by the

declaratory judgment made its determinations more cer-

tain and reduced the risk of renewed and prolonged litiga-

tion on the question of the validity and appropriateness

of the arbitration award—a question which should have

been put to rest aad settled in Indianapolis and ought not

again have been raised in Philadelphia.

The doctrine of res judicata was explained by this Court

in Commissioner of Internal Revenue v. Sunnen, 333 U.S.

091, 597, 68 S.Ct. 715, 719 (1948) :

‘ss * * The general rule of res judicata applies to

repetitious suits involving the same cause of action.

It rests upon considerations of economy of judicial

time and public policy favoring the establishment of

certainty in legal relations. The rule provides that

when a court of competent jurisdiction has entered

a final judgment on the merits of a cause of action,

the parties to the suit and their privies are there-

after bound ‘not only as to every matter which was

offered and received to sustain or defeat the claim

or demand, but as to any other admissible matter

which might have been offered for that purpose.’

Cromwell v. County of Sac, 94 U.S. 351, 352, 24 L.Ed.

195. The judgment puts an end to the cause of action,

which cannot again be brought into litigation be-

60

tween the parties upon any ground whatever, absent

fraud or some other factor invalidating the judg-

ment. * * *’’ (Emphasis added).

The fact is that both Penn Central and the reorganiza-

tion court knew full well that the place for raising the

Rail Act defense to the arbitration award was before the

confirming Indiana court under the Federal Arbitration

Act. There is no conflicting law on that. That is the law.

Under the Act, the confirming judge may vacate an cward

under 9 U.S.C. §10(d) ‘‘[w]here the arbitrators exceeded

their powers.’”* If the Rail Act prevents Penn Central

from causing the restoration of the tracks which Penn

Central abandoned to weeds and weather or relieves Penn

Central from past contract defaults, that is a legal ground

for vacating the award. As such it had to be raised in the

confirmation proceedings. The dissenting arbitrator noted

that fact. Counsel for Amtrak told the reorganization court

precisely that when counsel argued that the reorganization

court had no right to interfere with the confirmation pro-

ceedings in Indiana:

‘THE COURT: * * * It [the restoration ordered

by the arbitrators] obviously can’t take effect until

after conveyance date [of the rail lines to ConRail

under the Rail Act], and at that point the whole

ball game has changed.

‘*Now what is your response to that?

19In Wilko v. Swan, 346 U.S. 427, 436-37, 74 S.Ct. 182, 187 (1953),

the Court implied that an award by an arbitrator disregarding the ap-

plicable securities law would constitute a ground for vacation under § 10

(d). Justice Frankfurter’s dissent emphasized that “[a)rbitrators may

not disregard the law.” 346 U.S. at 440, 74 S.Ct. at 189. While it is

now clear that an arbitration award will not be vacated for a mistaken

interpretation of law, to ignore the applicable law is another matter. To

“manifestly disregard” the law may compel vacation. See Sobel v. Hertz,

Warner & Co., 469 F.2d 1211, 1214 (2d Cir. 1972). In short, awards in

violation ot the law are not enforceable and Penn Central had to concede

the award was perfectly valid under the Rail Act and all other laws of

the land when Penn Central agreed to the entry of the confirmation

judgment.

61

_ “MR. VALENTINE: My response to that is that

is a proper question for the judge in Indiana, and

he is equally able to decide that question as this

oun.” * *"

‘ce * * We say we are proceeding in Indiana in

the face of the RRRA [Rail Act], and we say this

is an Act which should be brought to the attention

of the court [in] Indiana, which is proceeding with

the original jurisdiction in this case. * * *”’

The reorganization court never stopped the confirmation

proceedings or the declaratory judgment proceedings be-

fore the Indiana court.

It is well established that a petition to confirm an

arbitration award requires the opposing party to bring

forward his objections and grounds for vacating the award

in the confirmation proceedings. He cannot interpose a ‘‘no

objection’’ and then later seek a vacation of the award in

another proceeding. In The Hartbridge, 57 F.2d 672, 673

(2d Cir. 1932), cert. denied sub nom. Munson S.S. Line v.

North of England S.S. Co., Ltd., 288 U.S. 601, 53 S.Ct.

320 (1933), the Second Circuit stated:

‘e* * * Upon a motion to confirm the party op-

posing confirmation may apparently object upon any

ground which constitutes a sufficient cause under

the statute to vacate, modify, or correct, although

no such formal motion has been made. * * * As we

understand the statute a motion to confirm puts the

other party to his objections. He cannot idly stand

by, allow the award to be confirmed and judgment

thereon entered, and then move to vacate the award

just as though no judgment existed. * * *’’ 57 F.2d

at 673.

2°The Seventh Circuit attempts to distinguish The Hartbridge (App.

76) by saying that Penn Central was not trying to vacate the award when

it raised the Rail Act in the reorganization court as a complete defense

to the validity of the award and the confirmation judgment. Regardless

of what word is used to describe Penn Central’s pleadings, the effort was

unmistakably to vacate the award, erase all liability of Penn Central and

nullify the confirmation judgment.

62

More recently, in Brown v. Bridgeport Rolling Mills Co.,

245 F.Supp. 41 (D. Conn. 1965), the district court relied

upon and quoted The Hartbridge in concluding that:

> - a

in a proceeding to confirm an award not

only may an opposing party object upon grounds

which might be urged in support of a proceeding to

vacate an award; he must do so, or he waives his

right to do so.’’? 245 F.Supp. at 45. (Court’s em-

phasis).

Penn Central was required to raise its Rail Act conten-

tions in Indiana before the entry of judgment or it waived

its right to do so. See Flynn vy. St. Bd. of Chiro. Exvam..,

418 F.2d 668 (9th Cir. 1969) ; Meyer v. Lavelle, 389 F.Supp.

972, 976 (E.D. Pa. 1975); and County of Lancaster v.

Philadelphia Electric Co., 386 F.Supp. 934, 937-38 (1.D.

Pa. 1975). In accord, In Re Universal Display & Sign Co.,

541 F.2d 142, 144 (3d Cir. 1976). Even a consent judgment

is entitled to res judicata effect. See Wallace Clark & Co.

v. Acheson Industries, Inc., 532 F.2d 846, 848 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, — U.S, —, 96 S.Ct. 2177 (1976) and the cases

cited therein.

Thus, Penn Central cannot under the law have a chance

for a second bite at the apple, when it gave ‘up its oppor-

tunity to take the first bite. The confirmation judgment

is res judicata on the Rail Act defense and the Indiana

court’s declaratory judgment is correct. This Court should

grant a writ of certiorari and reverse the Seventh Circuit’s

decision, with the direction to reinstate the Indiana court’s

declaratory judgment. If that occurs, the proper boundary

between the duties of the Indiana court and the reorgani-

zation court will have been marked and the reorganization

court can proceed with its job of fitting Amtrak’s con-

firmation judgment into the administration of the estate

and deciding how and when Amtrak’s legal rights under a

judgment of a United States district court will be

recognized.

63

CONCLUSION

The legal issues here are novel and deserve the attention

of the Supreme Court, not only because those issues touch

the life blood of Amtrak, but also because of the jurisdic-

tional questions implicit in the Seventh Cireuit’s decision.

This case is of utmost importance to the future of Amtrak

in the Midwest which has been deprived of the intercity

rail passenger service contemplated by Congress in the

Amtrak Act, and also in other parts of the nation where

Penn Central operated.

Amtrak believes the Seventh Circuit erred for three basic

reasons: (1) the Indiana court did have declaratory judg-

ment jurisdiction; (2) the Indiana court’s entry of the

declaratory judgment did not interfere with the proper

jurisdiction of the reorganization court; and (3) the de-

claratory judgment correctly decided that the confirmation

judgment barred Penn Central’s Rail Act defense. The

Seventh Cireuit’s contrary decision sanctions such a

departure from the accepted and usual course of judicial

proceedings that this case calls for an exercise of the

Court’s power of supervision. Accordingly, a writ of cer-

tiorari should issue to review the decision of the Seventh

Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

KARL J. STIPHER

CHARLES T. RICHARDSON

Baker & DANIELS

810 Fletcher Trust Building

Indianapolis, IN 46204

(317) 636-4535

F. Hastines Grirrin, Jr.

Decuert Price & Ruoaps

3400 Centre Square West

1500 Market Street

Philadelphia, PA 19102

(215) 972-3400

NATHANIEL H. Goopricu

E.yse G. WANDER

AntTuony L. MONDELLO

NATIONAL RAILROAD PASSENGER

CORPORATION ;

955 L’Enfant Plaza North, S.W.

Washington, D.C. 20024

(202) 484-7100

Counsel for the Petitioner

Appendix A

IN THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 76-1829

NaTionaL RarLroap PassENGER CORPORATION,

Plaintiff-A ppellee,

v.

Rosert W. BuLancHette, Rionarp C. Bonp and Joun H. Mc-

ArtuurR, Trustees Or THe Property Or Penn CENTRAL

TRANSPORTATION Company, Destor,

Defendants-Appellants.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Indiana, Indianapolis Division

No. IP 76-274-C — William E. Steckler, Chief Judge.

ArcuEep OctToser 29, 1976—Decipep Frsruary 15, 1977

Before Hastines, Senior Circuit Judge, Moorr, Senior

Circuit Judge*, and Sprecuer, Circuit Judge.

Hastines, Senior Circuit Judge.** We are concerned

here with various issues arising out of an order by the

district court,’ entered on March 24, 1976, confirming an

arbitration award compelling the restoration of certain

* The Honorable Leonard P. Moore, Senior United States Cireuit Judge

of the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, is sitting

by designation.

** This opinion was written and approved by the panel and sent to Mid-

west Law Printing Co., Inc., for printing prior to Judge Hastings’

death on February 7, 1977.

1 United States District Court for the Southern District of Indiana,

Indianapolis Division, the Honorable William E. Steckler, Chief Judge,

presiding.

65

66

tracks by Penn Central Transportation Company (Penn

Central); and also with the judgment entry and memoran-

dum order by the district court entered on June 25, 1976,

granting the motion of the National Railroad Passenger

Corporation (Amtrak) for summary judgment in a declara-

tory judgment action, thereby enforcing the district court’s

previous order of confirmation. Penn Central has appealed.

I

For purposes of clarity we first mention three relevant

substantive legislative enactments of the Congress:

1. The Bankruptey Act of 1898, which was amended

in 1933 by adding Section 77 thereto, which provided for

the reorganization of railroads. Section 77 furnished the

structural framework by which Penn Central commenced

its reorganization proceedings before the United States

District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

(Reorganization Court). Bankruptey Act of 1898, as

amended, 11 U.S.C. § 205, Reorganization of Railroads.

2. The Rail Passenger Service Act of 1970, 45 U.S.C.

§ 501, et seg., which created the National Railroad Passen-

ger Corporation, a for-profit corporation, pursuant to the

District of Columbia Business Corporation Act, to provide

intercity rail passenger service over a designated basic

national rail passenger system, as a private enterprise,

but with federal financial assistance. The need for such a

corporation arose from the specifie Congressional finding

that a modern, efficient, intercity railroad passenger service

was a necessary part of a balanced transportation system

and was in the national interest. The National Railroad

Passenger Corporation (Amtrak) was authorized to con-

tract with each railroad operating passenger trains in a

basic system, for use by Amtrak of railroad tracks, facili-

ties and services ‘‘on such terms and conditions as the

parties may agree.’’ See 45 U.S.C. §562(a). Subsequent

amendments to 45 U.S.C. § 501, et seq., have merely sup-

plemented the basic legislation. See Amtrak Improvement

Act of 1974 (Public Law 93-496, October 28, 1974, 88

Stat. 1527). The Amtrak Improvement Act of 1974, supra,

amended the name of the Railroad Passenger Service Act

of 1970 to become the Rail Passenger Service Act. See Sec-

67

tion 12 of the 1974 amendment. The Act is referred to by

the parties and will herein be referred to simply as the

‘*Amtrak Act.”’

3. The Regional Rail Reorganization Act of 1973, 45

U.S.C. § 701, et seq. (Public Law 93-236, January 2, 1974,

87 Stat. 986), referred to by the parties and by our court

as the ‘‘Rail Act,’’ provided for the establishment of the

United States Railway Association and the Consolidated

Rail Corporation (ConRail), both with enumerated powers

and duties. The United States Railway Association was

created as a Government corporation, incorporated under

the District of Columbia Nonprofit Corporation Act, and

was empowered to prepare and implement a Final System

Plan. ConRail was created as a for-profit corporation, in-

corporated under the laws of a state, with its principal

office in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Pursuant to Section

742, ConRail was to acquire, operate, rehabilitate and main-

tain efficient rail service over the rail lines designated in

the Final System Plan.

Amtrak brought the instant declaratory judgment action

on May 5, 1976, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 2201 and 2202,

alleging both diversity of citizenship and federal question

jurisdicton. The relief sought was an order to show cause

upon Penn Central why a quarterly work schedule for the

restoration of 360 miles of Penn Central tracks had not

been submitted to Amtrak on May 3, 1976, as required by

the order of confirmation and the arbitration award re-

ferred to earlier. This declaratory action was brought in

the United States District Court for the Southern District

of Indiana, Indianapolis Division.

Amtrak initiated arbitration proceedings on August 18,

1972, in the Reorganization Court, pursuant to a broad

arbitration clause entered into by the parties in The Na-

tional Railroad Passenger Corporation Agreement of April

16, 1971. This agreement is referred to by the parties as

the ‘‘Basic Agreemert,’’ and was mandated by Section

061(a) of the Amtrak Act, 45 U.S.C. § 501, et seq., whereby

Amtrak was directed to contract with the railroad ‘to

relieve the railroad of its entire responsibility for the

provision of intercity rail passenger service’’ under ‘‘such

terms and conditions as necessary to permit the Corpora-

68

tion [Amtrak] to undertake passenger service on a timely

basis.’’

Under the terms of the Basic Agreement, Amtrak under-

took to assume the intercity rail passenger responsibilities

of the Trustees of Penn Central and all other contracting

railroads, and Penn Central undertook to render certain

services to Amtrak and to maintain its rail lines used by

Amtrak at an agreed upon ‘‘level of utility.”’

Under Article Six of the Basic Agreement any ‘‘claim

or controversy’? between Amtrak and Penn Central was

to be resolved by binding arbitration in accordance with

the provisions of The National Railroad Passenger Corpo-

ration Arbitration Agreement separately contracted to by

the parties on April 16, 1971. Referred to by the parties as

the ‘‘Arbitration Agreement,’’ Section 4.2 provides:

««* * * [A]ny arbitration award hereunder made

by a majority of the members of any Arbitration

Panel shall be binding upon the parties thereto.

Any arbitration award hereunder shall declare the

rights of the parties thereto and may make awards

of money, or enjoin or otherwise operate in such a

way as to require specific performance by a party of

any act or obligation.’’ (Emphasis added.)

Section 4.3 of the Arbitration Agreement further provides:

‘‘ Judgment may be entered upon any arbitration

award hereunder * * * in any United States District

Court.’’

A dispute arose between Amtrak and Penn Central con-

cerning the ‘‘level of utility’’ of about 360 miles of certain

rail lines of Penn Central connecting Kankakee, Illinois,

with Louisville, Kentucky, and Cincinnati, Ohio, via Indi-

anapolis, Indiana, under the Basic Agreement of 1971.

Amtrak’s claim that Penn Central had defaulted in its

obligation to maintain the track was duly submitted to the

National Arbitration Panel.?

2 The National Arbitration Panel is a special arbitration panel created in

Article One of the Arbitration Agreement of April 16, 1971. The panel

is composed of three arbitrators representing both railroad and Amtrak

interests, and convenes in Washington, D. C. The jurisdiction of the

panel is limited to “claims or controversies” that may arise under the

Basic Agreement.

69

After the parties submitted extensive written memoranda

and oral testimony was heard, the arbitration was in-

terrupted by an ‘‘Emergency Order’’ of the Federal Rail-

road Administration on August 1, 1974. This emergency

order terminated Aiatrak’s service on the above-mentioned

Penn Central line because the track had been found to

7 “in an — gp eel creating ‘‘an emergency situ-

ation involving a hazard of death inj

affected by the use thereof.’’ ied rate cae

Without objection from Penn Central and in accordance

with its rules, the Panel began additional hearings, ac-

cepted a revised request for an award from Amtrak, and

received additional evidence on September 11, September

24, September 29 and December 16, 1975, and J anuary 20

1976. Thereafter, on February 3, 1976, the National Ar.

bitration Panel issued a written award in NAP Case No.

11, In Re: Level of Utility, with the following declarations

and awards:

_First, the Panel declared that Amtrak had a contract

right to have the Penn Central rail lines connecting Kanka-

ae mr sg and with Louisville via Indianapolis

ept ‘‘at no less than the level of utility’’ which exi

Mek On. y existed on

Second, the Trustees of Penn Central had defaulted in

keeping this bargain.

Third, the Trustees were ordered to ‘‘cause’’ the restora-

tion of these lines to their proper condition by January 1

1978, in accordance with a ‘‘Panel Program,’’ which pro-

vided, inter alia, for a detailed work schedule to be sub-

mitted to Amtrak within ninety days of this award.

The estimates of the cost of these repairs ranged from

22 million dollars, based upon independent evaluation, to

11 million dollars, estimated by Penn Central using its

own employees. Costs were estimated in terms of October

1975. The Panel’s award further provided that Penn Cen-

tral would bear the entire financial burden of the repairs.

A dissenting opinion was handed down by Panel Mem-

ber Johnson, recommending the denial of Amtrak’s claim

for specific performance. He noted that in 1971 the rail

lines were already in a state of deterioration and that the

70

present award would upgrade the lines beyond the May 1,

1971, level at the total expense of Penn Central. Although

conceding that Penn Central had in fact defaulted by per-

mitting the lines to deteriorate generally since 1971, Ar-

bitrator Johnson stated that, upon the record, the issue of

what constituted maintenance on the one had and rehabili-

tation on the other, had not been answered. Johnson, there-

fore, concluded that the inequity of ordering Penn Central

to pay the entire cost of the ‘‘Panel Program’’ was an

arbitrary interpretation of Section 4.2, supra, and suggested

that the expense of the program be shared equally.

On February 4, 1976, pursuant to 9 U.S.C. §9, United

States Arbitration Act, and Section 4.3 of the Arbitration

Agreement, supra, Amtrak petitioned the United States

District Court for the Southern District of Indiana, Indi-

anapolis Division, tor confirmation of the arbitration award.

However, on February 17, 1976, Penn Central petitioned

the Reorganization court in ihe Eastern District of Penn-

sylvania for an order requiring Amtrak to show cause ‘‘why

it should not be required * * * to comply with the provisions

of Order No. 238 and, pending the filing of said petition,

why it should not be enjoined from proceeding further in

the [Confirmation Proceeding].’’

In authorizing the Trustees of Penn Central to enter

into the Basie Agreement with Amt.ak, the Reorganization

Court in Order No. 238, in pertinent parts, stated:

‘$1. The Trustees are authorized to execute a con-

tract with Amtrak in substantially the form sub-

mitted to the Court at the hearing, PROVIDED,

however, * * * (b) that whenever any matter 1s

resolved by arbitration pursuant to the Main Agree-

ment or the Arbitration Agreement, the decision

shall be submitted to this court for review and ap-

proval before becoming finally binding upon the

Trustees or the Debtor, during the pendency of these

reorganization proceedings.

a. 2. oe

‘‘4. The Court reserves jurisdiction over said

contract for the purpose of directing such actions

and granting such iurther relief as may be necessary

to protect the interests of the Debtor’s Estete.’’

71

The Reorganization Court, however, never ruled on

Penn Central’s February 17, 1976, petition to show cause

because the Trustees of Penn Central subsequently con-

sented to the entry of a judgment in the Indiana Court

The consent of the Trustees, and by implication that of

the Reorganization Court, was induced by the assurances

of counsel for Amtrak that it was only attempting to

liquidate its claim in the Indiana court, and that Amtrak

was well aware of and, in fact, accepted the primary

jurisdiction of the Reorganization Court.

Language from Amtrak’s memorandum, as it appears

in the record in the Reorganization Court, reads:

‘‘any judgment entered by the Indianapolis District

Court upon Amtrak’s Petition to Confirm will not

serve to make the award of the National Arbjtra-

tion Panel finally binding upon the Trustees. To

become finally binding, execution on the judgment

would be necessary. Yet execution in any court other

than this Reorganization Court would so manifestly

interfere with the Court’s exclusive jurisdiction to

control the administration of the estate that it would

be impossible to support in law or fact. Therefore

in order for Amtrak to make the award finally bind-

ing upon the Trustees, the entire matter will eventu-

ally have to be submitted in the bankruptey proceed-

ings * * * The mere fact that the arbitration claim

has been reduced to a judgment will not prevent this

Court from making an inquiry since the merger of

a claim into a judgment does not change its nature

as far as provability is concerned.’’

Thereafter, the Trustees consented to the entry of jude-

ment in the Confirmation Proceedings in Indiana based

upon the above assertions in the Reorganization Court

that the Indiana Court would review the arbitration pro-

ceedings ‘‘to see that the award was a proper award and

that the arbitrators acted honestly and did not exceed their

powers.’’ Thereafter, the Indiana Court entered

of Confirmation on March 24, 1976. an Order

On April 9, 1976, Amtrak petitioned the Reorganiza-

tion Court for enforcement of the now confirmed Arbitra-

72

tion Award. Penn Central, thereafter, filed an answer to

the petition for enforcement, asserting that the award

could not be enforced against Penn Central because the

rail tracks in question had been conveyed to ConRail pur-

suant to the Rail Act, and, therefore, Penn Central’s ob-

ligation to restore the tracks was terminated. Amtrak

secured an indefinite postponement of its petition in the

Reorganization Court, returned to the Indiana Court and

filed its instant declaratory judgment action in Indiana.

During the arbitration proceedings between the litigants,

Congress supplemented Section 77 of the Bankruptcy Act

with the Rail Act, as herein earlier set out.* The Rail Act,

like the Amtrak Act, was designed to revitalize the nation’s

rail system, and the rail lines in issue here were designated

for transfer to ConRail. Penn Central contends that such

a transfer to ConRail relieved it of the responsibility to

restore the 360 miles of track, and that, in any event, the

issue was One in the exclusive jurisdiction of the Reorgani-

zation Court pursuant to its Order 238, supra.

At the center of this controversy is the Indiana Court’s

conclusion of law that:

**5. The judgment upon the arbitration award of

the National Arbitration Panel entered by this Court

on March 24, 1976, is res judicata concerning and is a

conclusive bar against any further legal claims

which may be made by the Trustees that:

(a) the award of the National Arbitration

Panel and judgment of this Court entered thereon

is invalid and nonenforceable because of the pro-

visions of the Regional Rail Reorganization Act

of 1973; or

(b) the rehabilitation of the rail lines which

are the subject of this controversy at the sole

3 As the Supreme Court recognized in the Regional Rail Reorganization

Act Cases, 419 U.S. 102, 153 (1974) :

“Congress, in enacting these provisions, clearly intended to legislate

pursuant to the bankruptcy power. The Rail Act, like §77 of the

Bankruptcy Act, which the Rail Act supplements, merely ‘advances

73

cost of the Trustee is unreasonable or inequitable

in view of the April 1, 1976, transfer of these lines

to ConRail; or

(c) the judgment should not be carried out

because of any facts, circumstances or legal de-

fenses which could have been or ought to have

been asserted during the confirmation proceedings

as a ground for vacating the award under the pro-

visions of Section 10 of the Federal Arbitration

Act or for modifying or correcting this award un-

der Section 11 of the Federal Arbitration Act, 9

U.S.C. §§ 10 and 11.”’

It is quite clear to us that the Indiana Court intended

to and did set up its judgment upon the arbitration award

as a final and conclusive judgment, holding that it was res

judicata concerning the arbitration award and a complete

bar to further consideration of the claims set out in sub-

paragraphs (a), (b) and (c) above.

At this point it appears relevant to report a late hap-

pening. On September 30, 1976, Judge Fullam of the Re-

organization Court entered Order No. 2569 which denied

Amtrak’s petition for an order authorizing, instructing and

directing the Trustees of Penn Central to carry out the

judgment of the Indiana District Court to restore or cause

to be restored certain rail lines in Indiana. Judge Fullam

further enjoined Amtrak, pursuant to Order 238, supra, as

follows:

‘The Petitioner, National Rail Passenger Corpo-

ration (‘Amtrak’), is enjoined from instituting or

furthering any legal proceeding for the assertion

or enforcement against the Trustees or the estate of

the Debtor of any alleged obligation or liability for

track maintenance or improvement, in any jurisdic-

tion or before any tribunal except this Court, (or, if

appropriate, in the Special Court), or as otherwise

ordered by this Court. Nothing in this order shall be

deemed to apply to the appeal now pending in the

Circuit Court of Appeals of the Seventh Circuit, nor

another step in the direction of liberalizing the law on the subject of

bankruptcies,’ .. . .” (Citations omitted.)

74

to any appeal from this or any other Order of this

Court.’’ (Emphasis added).*

On October 1, 1976, Judge Fullam handed down a Memo-

randum and Order with respect to his Order No. 2569. This

appears in Appendix F of Amtrak’s brief filed here in

the instant appeal. Judge Fullam, inter alia, gave an an-

alysis of the procedural history of this proceeding with

respect to the Indiana Court. He fully considered the effect

of the Rail Act as it related to ConRail. He paid his respects

to Amtrak’s intentions, absent the injunctive restrictions

hereinabove set out, to return to the Indiana Court, or

perhaps other courts in an attempt to obtain a further

expansion of the confirmed arbitrator’s award, or perhaps

in some other fashion to obtain ‘‘reparations.’’ Judge

Fullam, stating that he was unable to fully understand the

legal theory or basis for Amtrak’s attempts, held that the

injunction should remain in effect.

Il

We first consider whether the Indiana Court had juris-

diction by declaratory judgment or any other judicial means

to circumscribe the jurisdiction of the Pennsylvania Re-

organization Court, as to the enforcement of an arbitration

award which was subsequently confirmed by the Indiana

Court.

At the outset it seems quite clear to us that in a railroad

reorganization, the power to resolve all disputes involving

the estate and to determine the enforceability and status

of all claims is vested exclusively in the Reorganization

Court. See the injunctive powers in Section 77(j) of the

Bankruptey Act, 11 U.S.C. § 205(j). Baker v. Gold Seal

Liquors, 417 U.S. 467, 477 (1974), Mr. Justice Stewart con-

curring. Baker was a Penn Central reorganization case in

which the Seventh Circuit was reversed. In the New Haven

Inclusion Cases, 399 U.S. 392 (1970), a similar question

was presented concerning a railroad reorganization under

Section 77. Two groups of creditors sought relief in differ-

4 Amtrak has in fact appealed from Judge Fullam’s Order No. 2569, as

we were advised by counsel during oral argument. This appeal is now

pending before the Court of Appeals for the Third Cireuit.

79

ent tribunals. The two courts reached different decisions

as to the proper compensation.

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — White v. United States, 162 Ct. Cl. 876 (1963) (No. 77-60) | Frix