Petition — City of Los Angeles Department of Water v. Manhart

Supreme Court brief1978

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United 5

October Term, 1976

a ee ae 76-1810

CITY OF LOS ANGELES, DEPARTMENT OF WATER AND

POWER, a body corporate and politic; MEMBERS OF THE

BOARD OF WATER AND POWER COMMISSIONERS OF

THE DEPARTMENT OF WATER AND POWER, CITY OF

LOS ANGELES; MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF ADMIN-

ISTRATION OF THE DEPARTMENT OF WATER AND

POWER EMPLOYEES’ RETIREMENT, DISABILITY AND

DEATH BENEFIT INSURANCE PLAN; HENRY G. BOD-

KIN, JR.; KATHERINE B. DUNLAP; BURTON J. GIND-

LER; MICHAEL GLAZER. HERBERT C. WARD; LOUIS

J. WEIDNER, JR.; RALPH E. POWELL; LEO W. SUD-

MEIER, JR.; WILLIAM D. SACHAU; and ROBERT V.

Petitioners,

vs.

MARIE MANHART, CAROLYN MAYSHACK, MARGERIE

STOOP, ALICE F. MULLER and ETHEL L. LEHMAN, in-

dividually and on behalf of all other persons similarly situated;

COMMITTEE TO PROTECT WOMEN’S RETIREMENT

BENEFITS; and INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF

ELECTRICAL WORKERS, LOCAL UNION NO. 18,

Respondents.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court

of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

BURT PINES, City Attorney,

EDWARD C. FARRELL, Chief Assistant City

Attorney for Water and Power,

J. DAVID HANSON, Deputy City Attorney,

DAVID J. OLIPHANT, Deputy City Aitorney,

By DAVID J. OLIPHANT, Deputy City Attorney,

Me North pm Fog 2 obese, Box 111,

pag cine = ob Defendants-A ppellees.

Parker & Son, Inc., Law Printers, Los Angeles. Phone 724-6622

SUBJECT INDEX

Page

Citations to Opinions Below .................-.....---0--00++- 2

SII: = sicllacbidcindlsiencltecinsiohaciiestiitaiaeplitcnnihitindesiteiilaga 3

NE BN © ciasncstiiatapsiiniinniinsintaciasdlaclabecteisaiidtii 3

Statutes and Rules Involved ......................2...c---00000+0 4

SE Sete I III saeliticenintecicieshsescecsicpsacnicaesiobtpstihaiandlon 4

Reasons for Granting the Writ -........................--....- 9

I. The Court of Appeals Decided This Federal

Question in Direct Conflict With the Su-

preme Court’s Decision in General Electric

ae i EE deccinciectinterinshasitnigeniniiceeieniienne 9

A. The Will of Congress on Pay Differ-

IRIEED < sutnbcterenitisenicnaictieanutaeniianndtnchiutitebiinadten 10

B. Will of Congress on Administrative In-

ND | decisneciiclaivsstplictticieciaginichanipalesinatscen 17

II. The Decision of the Court of Appeals Pre-

sents an Important Federal Question Which

Has Nationwide Impact on the Pension, An-

nuity and Insurance Industry, as Well as on

Se I TINE who cchisincinischesnhhetlalscttreintlacintsctadhene 25

Ill. An Award of Back Contributions From a

Local Government Entity and the Permanent

Injunction Is in Excess of the Court’s Juris-

diction as Limited by Title VII and by Ar-

ticle III and the 10th, 11th and 14th Amend-

ments of the United States Constitution ........ 28

EES soe ee Tee ae a eT 35

ii.

INDEX TO APPENDICES

Page

Appendix A. Fair Labor Standards—29 U.S.C.

iy Y diehennbbdiiaalnadiphigiadibansinisintpeainihiatladaaasidlaaiinihiae App. A-1

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2. Unlawful Employment

III -watnishietliinisishiaiiestinisiectieesapdibetenenibatasibaicindsdibiaiie A-2

ie Ts ND ctiietescnerlssiecitnseaeenntinasionn A-4

Appendix B. Memorandum and Order Granting

Plaintiffs’ Motion for Preliminary Injunction ...... B-1

TIT scsi cscrcses cients ci hdeleidetaialspehbidigeiteshutheibiate B-9

SE AE TT aE TTI B-11

Appendix C. Opinion of the Court of Appeals for

Se SE TIE shiteccsicseserienibmchapiehcetiidnamsaniaaionctiamnial C-1

Appendix D. Opinion of the Court of Appeals

SUE, SERINE ~ sicrusiceisissconstntpssistinamnmecelentiednecntih D-1

Kilkenny, Circuit Judge Dissenting .................... D-4

Letter to West Publishing Company for Changes

in Opinion Dated May 3, 1977 .................... D-10

IONS BOUND GO MEET Ccikespsisptiniaktnsdtinienienesibaitensaiitntote’ D-12

Appendix E. Legislative and Administrative His-

Se SI snichandtinsnssnsialncepiisisirniicliiesaeiiininianinies E-1

I.

ee IE. sitenniicaenseientntinincnttaianttiinns E-1

II.

Title VII of Civil Rights Act ..........................202- E-6

Ill.

Administrative Authority and Interpretations .. E-11

oe Page

1972 Congressional Action ...................-...-----+- E-16

V.

Legislative Intent vs. Interpretive Bulletin in

EY SERINE cicinstrditcieserasnviciientoctiinnibetios E-20

Appendix F. Charter Sections 220.1(1)(a) and

OG) annnvenervereveenerseressnsnnsnererenenneseoeesvonenecenesoenecsooonen F-1

iv.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases Page

American Nurses Assoc. et al. v. Board of Gov-

ernors of the University of North Carolina et al.

(USDC Mid. D. N. Carolina C 75-558-G) .. 27

Ammons v. Zia Co., 448 F.2d 116 (10th Cir.

EDVED wwneuctiate ~dtiesinisceatiiadaaie 11

Bailey v. Los Angeles County (75-3863 C.D. Cal.)

connsasestinsieieinienetemmeennseatinasegtaisasn ae

Califano v. Goldfarb, .... U.S. ..... 45 USLW 4237

(IGT) ermccienscenancevncosississinemmiaiaaan 7

Corning Glass Works v. Brennan, 417 U.S. 188,

41 L.Ed.2d 1, 94 S.Ct. 2223 (1974) ........ 7, 28, 30

Craig v. Boren, .... U.S. ...., 50 L.Ed.2d 397 (1976)

sevevescentessesasaimebetstintetinminiamann 7

Diana L. Spirt v. TIAA-CREF (N.Y., S.D. 74 Civ.

BIG) cncocecweevstininiontiinisticieaaan 27

Dred Scot v. Sanford, (1856) 19 How. 393, 15

a) 8 | a 32

Edelman v. Jordan (1974) 415 U.S. 651 ...... 31

EEOC v. Colby College (Maine D.C. S.D. 75-136)

ssievesvecenssvensecenseteieuiiensnsinsadsacuiasan ian 27

Espinoza v. Farah Mfg. Co., 414 U.S. 86, 38 L.Ed.

26 267, 94 BO. 3346 CIGTS) cccneccteee 26

Fitzpatrick v. Bitzer, 427 U.S. 445 .................... 32

Garland M. Fitzpatrick v. Frederick Bitzer, 427

oe 6, ) en ae 28

Geduldig v. Aiello (1974) 417 U.S. 484, 41 L.Ed.

y e~ e ee) . ee tp oo

v.

Page

General Electric Co. v. Gilbert, .... U.S. ...., 50 L.

Eu.2d 343, 97 S.Ct. ..... 45 USLW 4031 (1976)

----2, 3, 8, 9, 10, 15, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21, 24, 36

Henderson v. Oregon, 405 F.Supp. 1275 (1975) ..

Houghton v. Long Beach, 164 QGal.App.2d 298

Ce cceesumnetnens 30

International Brotherhood of Teamsters v. United

States, et al., ...... US. ......, 45 L.W. 4506

ELON LLL 13

Kahn v. Shevin, 416 U.S. 351, 40 L.Ed.2d 189, 94

a ceeemenes 7, 28

Lauf v. E. G. Skinner & Co., 303 U.S. 323 (1938)

ins siplinnsnnntinstetaetncetncecanssnsoneseusessdencsossneserececooces 34

Marbury v. Madison, 1 Cranch 137, 2 L.Ed. 60

Il ri centiedncmsevestbndindttivendininieséisenguacepetes 31

McCardle, Es Parte (U.S., 1869) 7 Wall. 506,

SE a ee 33, 35

National League of Cities v. Usery (1976) 426

U.S. 833, 49 L.Ed.2d 245, 96 S.Ct. 2... 2200. 30

Peters et al. v. Wayne State University et al. (Mich.

EEE 27

Rosina Smith et al. v. County of Los Angeles (Cal.

dh ca tiecenitcihtatneccncicsedecseocesnscese 27

Schlesinger v. Ballard (1975) 419 U.S. 498, 42

DG.26 GIO, 9S SCL. 72 ........0ccececceecseosccsee 28, 29

Vi.

Page

Schultz v. Wheaton Glass Co., 421 F.2d 259 (3d

Cir. 1970) cert. den. 398 U.S. 905 ............ 11, 29

Sheldon v. Sill (U.S. 1850) 8 How. 440, 12 L.Ed.

GIDUIT - <caussninnnenenintinictistiteniigambeidineisiibaanaieatonatuaied a, we

Skidmore, et al. v. Swift & Co., 323 U.S. 134

CUP TTTED dississhsceniinisinietstacuittantaiinepiaiitisisamstsiaunsaidainetasmmasiiad 18

Stanton v. Stanton, 421 U.S. 7, 95 S.Ct. 1373

III iad niecmssnnendnnesantnenetaiadiommamnaiea

United States v. Stapf, 375 U.S. 118, 84 S.Ct. 248,

Se Se GID deiisoninicninciniie 19

Federal Register

30 Federal Register 14926, 14928, Dec. 2, 1965,

I, TERED. scsitcnssnsnscrescinschicapacetenittigindaiiatene Ninna 21

40 Federal Register 24135, June 4, 1975 .......... 17

40 Federal Register 57980, 57982 ...................... 26

Miscellaneous

110 Congressional Record 7218, 5803, 5437, 7477

siopehiianiidetiingptanaiieinanitiainabdindlcetidisduiiadenamenmnidias 34

ere enre ay OO

Regulations

Code of Federal Regulations, Title 29, Sec. 800.116

GD CSOD | niensdccvttihineniniicnnpiigiiniaiimininianiaiintieraitil 16

Code of Federal Regulations, Title 29, Sec. 1604.9

GED CEP EEE ctacinsacinttcidnisupnivijnuminncegpiimeialiniiaanidgs 20

Code of Federal Regulations, Title 29, Sec. 2610 .. 26

Code of Federal Regulations, Title 29, Sec. 2611 .. 26

Code of Federal Regulations, Title 41, Secs. 60-20.3

CREE OD cenneisiasinscititiinstensiaonmasaiemiidie 17

Statutes Page

California Government Code, Sec. 45342 .......... 27, 30

California Statutes of 1937, Chap. 3, Resolutions, .

Fe ere CEE Tee ME an eee 30

OO. |) nee 4

Equal Employment Opportunity Act of 1972, 42

Ns I iia Ee 2

Equal Employment Opportunity Act of 1972, 42

U.S.C. §2000e-2, Title VII, Sec. 703 -....00.00000.2... 4

Equal Employment Opportunity Act of 1972, 42

U.S.C. §2000e-2, Title VII, Sec. 703(h) ......

Equal Employment Opportunity Act of 1972, 42

E.SUN. snsniaciiisciseensettnispindgniennisebeitiodinans 4

Equal Pay Act of 1963 (Pub. L. 88-38, 77 Stat.

PR TS UP. Giiintddaichasidtichcluicenteenda biedipaniesbinanh tnedanunsiei 4

Los Angeles City Charter, Sec. 220.1 ............. 30

Los Angeles City Charter, Sec. 220.1(1)(a)(g) .. 4

Pension Reform Act of 1974, P.L. 93-406, 88 Stat.

I, 26

United States Code, Title 26, (IRC 1954), Sec. 410

United States Code, Title 28, Sec. 1254(1) .......... 3

United States Code, Title 29, Sec. 206(a)(1) .... 14

Vill.

Page

United States Code, Title 29, Sec. 206(d)(1) ..

RESON SPON IESE MON LIONS ATO EOD i Ag)

United States Code, Title 42. Sec.2000e-2(a) ....4, 35

United States Code, Title 42, Sec. 2000e-5 ...... 25

United States Code, Title 42, Sec. 2000e-5(g) ..4, 36

United States Constitution, Art. I -.....................-.--.- 31

United States Constitution, Art. II, Sec. 3 .......... 23, 33

United States Constitution, Art. III -.....................

United States Constitution, Tenth Amendment ...... 3

28, 32, 36

United States Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment

BO OR eh a re 3, 25, 28, 29, 31, 32, 35, 36

United States Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment,

I a seinen 28, 29, 33

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1976

See

CITY OF LOS ANGELES, DEPARTMENT OF WATER AND

POWER, a body te and politic; MEMBERS OF THE

BOARD OF WA AND PO COMMISSIONERS OF

THE DEPARTMENT OF WATER AND POWER, CITY OF

LOS ANGELES; MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF ADMIN-

ISTRATION OF THE DEPARTMENT OF WATER AND

POWER EMPLOYEES’ RETIREMENT, DISABILITY AND

DEATH BENEFIT INSURANCE PLAN; HENRY G. BOD-

KIN, JR.; KATHERINE B. DUNLAP; BURTON J. GIND-

LER; MICHAEL GLAZER; HERBERT C. WARD; LOUIS

J. WEIDNER, JR.; RALPH E. POWELL; LEO W. SUD-

MEIER, JR.; WILLIAM D. SACHAU; and ROBERT V.

PHILLIPS,

Petitioners,

vs.

MARIE MANHART, CAROLYN MAYSHACK, MARGERIE

STOOP, ALICE F. MULLER and ETHEL L. LEHMAN, in-

ee FAL ST similarly situated;

TO PROTECT WOMEN’S RE

BENEFITS; and INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF

ELECTRICAL WORKERS, LOCAL UNION NO. 18,

Respondents.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court

of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

Petitioners respectfully pray that a writ of certiorari

issue to review the judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit entered in

this action on November 23, 1976, as to which rehear-

ing was denied, with dissenting opinion, on April 18,

1977. That decision affirmed the granting of summary

judgment by the United States District Court for the

=

Central District of California in favor of respondent

plaintiffs on a cause of action alleged under Title

VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended

in 1972 [42 U.S.C. §2000¢e et seq.}.

The first opinion of the Court of Appeals preceded

by just two weeks the decision of this honorable Court

in General Electric Co. v. Gilbert, .... U.S. ...., 50

L.Ed.2d 343, 97 S.Ct. ..... 45 USLW 4031 (1976).

The Court of Appeals rejected the legislative history

that this honorable Court expressly relied on in General

Electric. Such legislative history would directly control

this case even if General Electric had not been decided.

Petitioners filed for a rehearing on the day the General

Electric decision was announced. A divided Court of

Appeals denied rehearing. Judge John F. Kilkenny,

dissenting, stated in part:

“I am convinced that the legal principles enunci-

ated in General Electric Co. v. Gilbert, .... U.S.

.. (Dec. 7, 1976), are here controlling and that

the district court erred in granting a summary

judgment against the appellants. At a minimum,

the court should have conducted a trial on the

issue of whether the appellants’ retirement plan

was justified on the basis of recognized actuarial

tables showing the difference in longevity between

males and females.” (App. D-4.)’

Citations to Opinions Below.

The findings and conclusions on summary judgment

and opinion on the injunction of the United States

1Citations to “App. A-1, B-1, C-1” etc., are to pages of the

Appendices to this Petition.

—

intliiies

District Court for the Central District of California

reported at 387 F.Supp. 980, are printed as Appendix

B. The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit (not yet officially reported) af-

firming the judgment of the District Court, is printed

as Appendix C. The opinion of the Court of Appeals

denying rehearing, with dissenting opinion, is printed

as Appendix D.

Jurisdiction.

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit was entered on November 23, 1976, and amend-

ed December 23, 1976. Petitioners’ timely petition for

rehearing was denied on April 18, 1977.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked panes

to 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

Questions Presented.

1. Where females receive the same monthly pension

benefits as do males, but for longer life expectancies

than males, do Title VII and the Equal Pay Act

prohibit different pension plan contributions for females

and males?

2. In deciding the above question, did the Court

of Appeals properly follow the opinion of the Supreme

Court in General Electric Co. v. Gilbert?

3. May the lower courts adopt a rule of law re-

quiring a municipal employer to pay higher compen-

sation to females than m ‘e~ in view of the jurisdictional

limitations of Title VII, 1. .-,wal Pay Act, and Article

III and the 10th, 11th . i4ih *aendments of the

United States Constitution?

—4—

Statutes and Rules Involved.

Involved herein are Section 3 of the Equal Pay Act

of 1963 (Pub. L. 88-38, 77 Stat. 56), 29 U.S.C.

§206(d)(1); and Sections 703(a)(e)(h) and 706(g)

of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as

amended in 1972 (the Equal Employment Opportunity

Act of 1972), 42 U.S.C. §2000e-2(a), (e), (h) and

§2000e-5(g), the texts of which are printed in Appendix

A hereto. A summary of legislative history of the Equal

Pay Act, Title VII and the 1972 amendments is printed

in Appendix E. The Charter of the City of Los Angeles,

a state law, §220.1(1)(a)(g) is printed as Appendix F.

Statement of the Case.

This case was brought under Title VII of the Civil

Rights Act as amended in 1972 (hereafter “Title

VII"), claiming a violation of Section 703 of the

Act (42 U.S.C. §2000e-2).

Plaintiffs are civil service employees of the City

of Los Angeles Department of Water and Power and

as such are members of a compulsory retirement Plan

of such City Department (hereafter referred to respec-

tively as the “Plan” and the “Department”).

The Plan provides for several kinds of pension bene-

fits at the employee’s option. The most common is a

“formula pension”. Such formula is a monthly pay-

ment equal to 2% of average monthly salary paid

during the last year of employment times the number

of years of employment. This monthly benefit is guar-

anteed for life. It is a vested right of the employee.

—_ =

Because women outlive men, the total amount paid as

pension to a woman is greater than that paid to a man.

For clarity, this Plan should be contrasted with those

pension systems which pay men and women the same

total pension benefits during their respective life spans,

but pay women smaller monthly pension amounts. See,

e.g., Henderson v. Oregon, 405 F.Supp. 1275 (1975),

on appeal in the Ninth Circuit.

The two systems may be analogized to loaves of

bread accrued at the date of retirement. In the Hender-

son system, women receive the same size loaf as men

but because the life expectancy is longer, the monthly

“slices” received by a woman are smaller than those

received by a man. In contrast, under the Department’s

Plan, women are to receive the same size “slice” of

bread each month after retirement but because they

live longer they must have a longer loaf in order

to pay all the “slices”.

To fund the Plan, the employees and the Depart-

ment contribute thereto. To fund the “longer loaf”

payable to females, higher contributions are necessarily

required for women than for men. Although contribu-

tions made by the women themselves were slightly

higher than the contributions made by men, the Depart-

ment also contributed disproportionately more for wo-

men than for men.

Further, since each employee has an absolute right

to the return of all his or her contributions, plus

a vested pension right, the present worth of all compen-

-

sation paid to female employees is higher than the

present worth of all compensation paid to male em-

ployees.

The following table shows an example of the present

value at age 30 of pension benefits of a male and

a female; and the present value of contributions neces-

sary to fund a formula pension for each, retirement

being at age 65.

Male Female

1. Age hire 30 30

2. Monthly salary during career $1,000 $1,000

3. Monthly allowance at 65 700 700

4. Present Value of Pension discounted

at 542% interest and 1951 GA Mor-

tality Table: 9,257 11,886

5. Monthly employee contribution to Plan 22.20 25.49

(x 1.1484—

6. Department’s 110% monthly matching

contribution 24.42 28.04

7. Present value (at age 30) of contribu-

tions to fund above pension at 542%

and 1951 table:

a) Member Contribution 4,069 4,743

b) Department’s 110% matching 4,476 5,217

c) Additional Department contribution 712 1,926

d) Total Department contribution 5,188 7,143

The contributions by the Department for a woman

employee were always greater than for a corresponding

man. The total amount of compensation for a woman

was greater than for a corresponding man.

The plaintiffs herein contended in the trial court

that differential contributions by men and women were

per se illegal. The trial court erroneously held that

even rational differentiation was illegal if related to sex:

“In short, under the Equal Employment Opportunity

Act of 1972, all stereotypic treatment of persons based

on ... sex whether rational or irrational is dead.”

==

(Emphasis added) (App. B-7) (This Court has never

held that gender-based differentiations are per se il-

legal. )?

The District Court enjoined requiring larger contribu-

tions from females and ordered payment of prior “excess

contributions” with interest to be paid to plaintiffs

forthwith. The effect of this decision is to require

a City to compensate its female civil service employees

at an even higher rate than males.

Your petitioners appealed contending that by relying

on a 1972 EEOC “guideline” as if it were a regulation,

the trial court failed to exercise its explicit statutory

responsibility to impartially and independently interpret

the law de novo, and that in all events the “guideline”

was contrary to Title VII and the Equal Pay Act.

Your petitioners contended that they had committed

no unlawful employment practice and that the decision

penalized the employer and discriminated against men,

by requiring the employer to compensate women at

a higher rate than men.*

Similarly, to attempt to lump males and females to-

gether as in a so-called “unisex,table” would necessarily

result in males’ contributions subsidizing the females’

2Kahn v. Shevin, 416 U.S. 351, 40 L.Ed.2d 189, 94 §.

Ct. 1734 (1974); Stanton v. Stanton, 421 US. 7, 95 S.Ct.

1373, 1377 (1975); Geduldig v. Aiello, 417 U.S. 484, 495,

41 L.Ed.2d 256, 94 S.Ct. 2485 (1974); Craig v. Boren,

cians US. ......, 50 L.Ed.2d 397 (December 20, 1976); Califano

v. Goldfarb, ...... U.S. ....... 45 USLW 4237 (March 2, 1977).

8The Equal Pay explicitly prohibits this. “[A]n employer

who is paying a wage rate differential in violation of this sub-

section shall not, in order to comply with the provisions of this

subsection, reduce the wage rate of any ee [29 U.S.C.

§206(d)(1), Appendix A-1.] (Emphasis added.) To raise the

“wage rate” as to women generally, “reduces” the wage rate

as to men by comparison. See Corning Glass Works v. Brennan,

417 US. 188, 207, 41 L.Ed.2d 1, 17, 94 S.Ct. 2223 (1974).

—

benefits, and would consequently discriminate against

males (see footnote 4, Court of Appeals Dissent, App.

D-13). It’s like having men and women appear to

contribute to equal size “loaves” but then taking part

of the loaf of the shorter-living men, to pay “slices”

to the longer-living women.

The Court of Appeals repeated the errors of the

trial court. Even when the General Electric opinion

was issued, a majority failed to recognize those errors.*

Such ruling undermines this Honorable Court’s authority

and nullifies its holding and reasoning in General Elec-

tric Co. It interferes with sovereign authority, and

establishes an erroneous nationwide precedent for pen-

sion, annuity and insurance plans, mandating discrimi-

nation against males, and preferential compensation

for females.

Additionally, the holdings of the lower courts confer

on the agencies lawmaking powers that Congress spe-

cifically determined not to grant, which Congress spe-

cifically intended the agencies not exercise, and which

this Court in General Electric said the agencies did

not have. Your petitioners were thereby effectively de-

prived of an impartial de novo determination of issues

of law and fact, which Congress specifically intended

your petitioners be afforded by independent determina-

tion of the courts.

4We believe footnotes 17 and 18 (General Electric, supra, 50

L.Ed.2d 343, 356-357) specifically demonstrate the error of

the Court below and met the precise issues raised by this case.

vulien

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.

I. The Court of Appeals Decided This Federal Ques-

tion in Direct Conflict With the Supreme Court’s

Decision in General Electric Co. y. Gilbert.

In its initial opinion, the Court of Appeals took

a position which was to p ove directly contrary to

the Supreme Court in General Electric Co. v. Gilbert,

_, ee aes , 50 L.Ed.2d 343. Then, when

the General Electric case came down two weeks later,

the majority of the Court of Appeals refused to follow

it.

The majority’s decision below is directly contrary

to the Supreme Court in the following particulars:

1. It fails to follow the will of Congress as to

pay differentials as found by the Supreme Court in

General Electric.

2. It results in the court below abdicating its re-

sponsibility to render impartial de novo judgment by

improperly deferring to edministrative interpretations of

the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (here-

inafter “EEOC”) which were rejected by the Supreme

Court in General Electric.

3. It departs from the long standing meaning of

“discrimination” in the Constitutional sense. The Su-

preme Court in General Electric rightly indicated it was

not the intent of Congress to depart from that meaning

in adopting the “sex” provisions of Title VII. (Gen-

eral Electric, supra, ........ | , 50 L.Ed.2d 343,

356-357, fn 18, and 360.)

4. It fails to permit the use of actuarial tables

to afford equality of treatment in employment under

a city’s benefit plan, which the Supreme Court in

==

General Electric indicated was permissible so long as

not a mere pretext to effect invidious discrimination.

(General Electric, supra, ........ CRE cxcnndin , 50 L.Ed.2d

343, 351 and 355-356.)

A. The Will of Congress on Pay Differentials.

Congress never intended to prohibit the payment

of different compensation to males and females when

that differential was for a factor other than sex, even

though the factor might be directly correlated with sex.

The Court recognized this in General Electric,

‘nsinings U.S. ......... 50 L.Ed.2d 343, 358-359) when it

determined that the Bennett Amendment to Title VII

[§703(h) of the Civil Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. §2000e-2

(h)] permitted denial of disability benefits for preg-

nancy, a condition correlated with a sex classification.

But even if this Court had not reached that conclusion,

the legislation requires it.

“Differentiation upon the basis of sex” is not ipso

facto unlawful. The Bennett Amendment to Title VII

provides that it shall not be an unlawful employment

practice for an employer to “differentiate upon the

basis of sex” for purposes of employee compensation

“if such differentiation is authorized by the provisions

of section 6(d) of the Fair Labor Standards Act”

[42 U.S.C. §2000e-2(h) }.

Such Section 6(d) was added to the Fair Labor

Standards Act by the Equal Pay Act of 1963 (77

Stat. 56). Section 6(d) provides that employers may

not discriminate between employees in compensation

on the basis of sex “except where such payment is

pursuant to (1) a seniority system (2) a merit system

(3) a system which measures earnings by quantity or

— >

quality of production, or (iv) a differential based on

any other factor other than sex” [29 U.S.C. §206(d)

(1)] (Emphasis added).

It is the payment differential based on an “other

factor other than sex” which Congress thus inserted

in both Acts to allow differences in compensation for

factors such as pension payment or pension cost dif-

ferentials based on different longevity. (See Dissent

Op. at App. D-4.)

The pertinent legislative history of the Equal

Pay Act and Title VII is detailed in Appendix E,

and summarized below.

1. Equal Pcy Act. In enacting the Equal Pay

Act, The 88th Congress specifically intended that em-

ployers might continue to differentiate upon the basis

of sex for compensation purposes so long as the clas-

sification involved actual or good faith differences as

the basis for the differences in pay and was not a

mere subterfuge to pay women less. The concept was

equal pay for equal work. The House Committee noted,

for example, that an employer might pay male pack-

agers and female packagers differently where there

were real and not merely nominal differences as the

basis for the different pay. If the male packagers were

required to lift heavy boxes and the female packagers

were not, more compensation might be paid to the

sale *9ckagers. Previous cases have so understood

he ~: cal Pey Act. Schultz v. Wheaton Glass Co.,

4Zi <.2a 259 (3d Cir. 1970) cert. den. 398 US.

905; Ammons v. Zia Co., 448 F.2d 116 (10th Cir.

1971).

Congress also specifically intended that the employer

would not be required to classify men and women

— =

in the same way if to do so would penalize the employer

by requiring direct or indirect payment of more for

work done by one class (“women”) than for the same

work done by the other class (“men”). (App. E-

1.)

The House Committee rejected the administration’s

bill which would have prohibited differentiation on

the basis of sex.

To ensure the result it intended, the House adopted

statutory exceptions which were to be not merely “de-

fenses” but were rather “exemptions from the operation

of the statute.” (App. E-1, 2.) The Committee Report

stated that it was only prohibiting those pay differentials

that were based solely on sex, and that it had provided

the three specific exceptions and one broad general

exception to operate as “exemptions” from the Act.

Thus, the broad general exception for “any other factor

other than sex” was meant to permit classification

by sex for purposes of different compensation if there

were some other factor other than sex (e.g., lifting

heavy packages as opposed to light packages or dif-

ferences in other costs in employing women), that

was the basis of the pay differential.

The controlling legislative history demonstrates it

was not the intent of Congress to require the employer

to pay women more than men, but only to prohibit

paying women less when there was no rational basis

for the differential. Longevity and the cost of funding

for it was an “other factor” specifically recognized by

both houses. (App. E-4 fn.2.)

The Senate history shows the same intent. The Senate

Committee bill provided only the broad exclusion in its

bill. Its report stated that the broad exception would

aniiiices

be allowed not only in the specific cases the Committee

mentioned but also where “an employer will be eco-

nomically penalized by the elimination of a wage dif-

ferential.” The House history shows the House likewise

intended such as part of the broad exception (App.

E-3, 4.) The Senate adopted the House bill as better

expressing its intent. (App. E-5.)

2. Title VII. In enacting Title VII, the same 88th

Congress always intended to legislatively treat discrimi-

nation on account of “sex” differently than discrimina-

tion on account of “race or color.” After it was proposed

to add “sex” to the bill in the House, the one serious

argument advanced in favor of such amendment was

that the Amendment was necessary to ensure the “color-

blind” impact of the law among women in the labor

market. After the “sex” amendment was passed, the

House then added “sex” as a bona fide occupational

qualification (without objection of any member). In

conirast the House explicitly rejected an amendment

to make “race or color” a bona fide occupational

qualification. (App. E-6.)

When the House Bill (HR 7152) reached the Senate,

questions were raised by Senator Dirksen and others

as to the possible conflict with the Equal Pay Act.

Interpretive Memoranda’ were introduced to the ef-

fect that classification by sex “where there is a rational

basis” was not prohibited; and further that the standards

of the Equal Pay Act would be applicable even under

Title VII of the House Bill. (App. E-8.) This inter-

pretation was given as to the House Bill, before Senate

amendments enacted these points into express law.

5This Honorable Court also relied on such Memoranda in

International Brotherhood of Teamsters v. United States, et al.,

maiite US. ......, 45 L.W. 4506, 4513 (May 31, 1977).

anlitien

An amendment in the nature of a substitute bill

(Amendment No. 1052) was then introduced by Sen-

ators Dirksen, Humphrey, ef al. It provided that

three of the Equal Pay Act exceptions would also

be exceptions to the Title VII prohibitions—differen-

tials based on a good faith merit system, quantity

and quality of work or seniority system. (42 U.S.C.

§2000e-(h); A-3; 29 U.S.C. §206(a)(1); App. E-8).

The fourth exception of the Equal Pay Act and

its general policy were expressly adopted by the Bennett

Amendment. The manner in which the amendment

was adopted demonstrates the intent.

Prior to the introduction of the Dirksen-Humphrey

substitute, Senator Bennett proposed to amend the pend-

ing House Bill. Thereafter, both Senator Dirksen and

Senator Humphrey expressly accepted the Bennett pro-

posal as an amendment to their proposal in the nature

of a substitute bill. All three Senators explained the

effect of so accepting the Bennett Amendment. Senator

Dirksen explained that the pending amendment recog-

nized those exceptions that were carried in the earlier

Act. (App. E-9.)

The Senate then voted to substitute the language

of the Humphrey-Dirksen bill (as amended by the

Bennett Amendment) for the language of the House

bill. Such bill was then the pending business and subject

to amendment.®

®Proper procedure requires of course that an amendment in

the nature of a substitute be voted on “twice”. “Even if the

[amending] paragraph constitutes the entire resolution and the

motion to substitute is adopted, it is necessary then to vote

on adopting the resolution as amended since it has only been

voted to substitute one paragraph for another.” Roberts’ Rules of

Order (rev. ed.), p. 142. This procedure protects the right of

—_ =

Senator Humphrey was specifically asked about the

impact of the pending bill on retirement systems. Sen-

ator Randolph, who asked the question, had been co-

author of the Senate subcommittee’s equal pay bill.

Senator Humphrey was the floor manager of the pend-

ing civil rights bill and had introduced the Senate

Committee equal pay bill on the Senate floor. He

also had expressly accepted the Bennett Amendment

to clarify the intent of the Humphrey-Dirksen bill.

In answer to Senator Randolph’s question Senator

Humphrey said that accepting the Bennett Amend-

ment made it unmistakably clear that “differences of

treatment in industrial benefit plans, including earlier

retirement options for women, may continue in opera-

tion under this bill if it becomes law.” (Emphasis

added.) (See General Electric, supra, 50 L.Ed.2d 343,

359.)

The House thereafter adopted the Senate bill. In

so doing it specifically affirmed this intent. (App.

E-10, 11.)

When we set forth to the Court below the intent of

the law as expressed by Senator Humphrey, the Court

improperly rejected it as an “erroneous interpretation”.

(App. C-17, 18.) After this Honorable Court relied

on Senator Humphrey’s views as expressing the intent

of the law (General Electric, supra, 50 L.Ed.2d 343,

359) the Court of Appeals still failed to follow that

intent. Thus, while both Congress and the Supreme

Court had indicated the proper administration of the

Bennett Amendment and the specific legislative intent,

the Court of Appeals ignored them both.

an individual to vote in favor of substituting the language of

p osal “R” in reference to proposal “4 and then to vote

against enacting Be as law,

enditin

Its rationale on rehearing was the further erroneous

conclusion of law that this Honorable Court in the

General Electric case did not exercise its impartial

judgment on legislative intent but relied “more heavily”

on “finding” a conflict between interpretations of the

Wage and Hour Administrator and the EEOC, and

therefore deferred to the Wage and Hour Administrator

instead of the EEOC to decide General Electric. Such

rationale besides being incorrect, was also an egregious

error of law as to the Courts’ responsibility and the

effect to be given administrative interpretations.

While this Honorable Court in General Electric rec-

ognized the conflicts, the majority below chose to find

no conflict. (Compare the comments of the Dissent

noting clear conflicts among the agencies and internal

inconsistency within the rulings of the EEOC, App.

D-7, 8). Although legislative intent was clear the lower

courts “deferred” completely to a contrary adminis-

trative “interpretation”.

What the majority below ignored was the fact that

this Honorable Court exercised its independent, im-

partial judgment as to legislative intent and found

that the Bennett Amendment allowed pay differentials

for an “other factor other than sex” although the

factor was correlated with sex, e.g., pregnancy. In sup-

port of that position, this Honorable Court recognized

that “longevity” was another “other factor other than

sex” which could be the basis for differential compensa-

tion and was already accepted as such by the Wage and

Hour Administrator of the Department of Labor. 29

CFR §800.116(d) (1975). (General Electric, supra,

50 L.Ed.2d 343, 359; see Dissent at D-7.)

The lower courts refused to accept 29 CFR §800.116

(d) (1975) as administrative recognition of sex-corre-

| 7—

lated longevity as a factor other than sex allowing

pay differentials.

Yet, until this case, everyone has understood the

administrative bulletin to mean that longevity was an

“other factor other than sex” which would warrant

pay differentials by the employer.

For example, as recently as 1975 the Secretary of

Health, Education and Welfare said:

“Accordingly [the Secretary] continues to follow

the Executive Order regulations in requiring that

fringe benefit plans provide either equal periodic

benefits to members of each sex or equal contribu-

tions by the employer for members of each sex.

. . . (vol. 40 Fed. Reg. p. 24135, June 4,

1975) (emphasis added). (See also similar ruling

by Office of Federal Contract Compliance, 41 CFR

§60-20.3(c) (1970).)

Given greater female longevity it is impossible to

have equal periodic benefits unless either the females

or the employer or both contribute more for females,

or the males subsidize the females. These rulings thus

implicitly recognize the fact that longevity is a factor

other than sex for which differential compensation may

be paid to the sexes.

Congress enactment of the Pension Reform Act also

recognizes this fact. (See p. 26 infra.) For the Court

of Appeals to refuse to recognize longevity as an “other

factor other than sex” and to rule that a pay differen-

tial based thereon is prohibited is a failure to give

effect to the law as enacted by the Congress, and

as interpreted by this Court in General Electric.

B. Will of Congress on Administrative Interpretations.

In its original opinion the Court of Appeals also

found conflicts among administrative interpretations.

= =

(App. C-19.) In its subsequent opinion the majority

could “find” no inconsistency. (App. D-3.) Thus the

holding of the latter decision seems to be that lower

courts may use fluctuating and conflicting interpreta-

tions of administrative interpretations as the basis for

rejecting both the decision of this Honorable Court

and explicit Congressional intent in enacting the law.

Such view is contrary to this Court’s holding in

General Electric,—that the courts shall independently

and impartially construe the statute. It is also contrary

to specific legislative intent to the same effect, which

intent would be controlling even if General Electric

had not been decided. Further the conient of the specific

administrative interpretation relied on in the second

Court of Appeals’ decision contradicts the statutory

language and explicit legislative history. Finally, in

giving effect to one of the conflicting administrative

interpretations in order to hold against the defendant,

the Court of Appeals gave an effect thereto directly

opposite to Congressional intent, as to the effect to

be given any administrative intrepretation.

In enacting the Equal Pay Action, the 88th Congress

was well aware of the Skidmore decision construing

the Fair Labor Standards Act. (Skidmore, et al. v.

Swift & Co., 323 US. 134 (1944); See App. E-

12-13.) In view of that decision, Congress acted specifi-

cally to ensure that administrative interpretations not

be given the status of “interpretive regulations” and

not be used against the defendant. They are not to

be used as a substitute for the court’s impartial judgment

on matters of law or on matters of fact. One basic

reason for so limiting the administrator was to ensure

that the will of Congress as expressed in the statute

="

be given effect, and that any broader interpretations

by a partisan administrator not be substituted therefor.

(App. E-13.)

In considering legislative intent it is as important

to see what Congress rejected as what it enacted.

In the 88th Congress, the equal pay bill proffered

by the Administration would have given the adminis-

trator authority to issue “legislative regulations”. Con-

gress determined not to give either that authority or

the authority to issue “interpretive regulations”. Con-

gress expressly limited his authority to interpretative

bulletins, which “have no other significance, except

that if an employer relies on this interpretative bulletin,

he is protected. He is not in violation if he has done

something in reliance upon those interpretative bulletins

...” (App. E-13.) (Emphasis added. )

Under the Equal Pay Act, the Secretary is a prosecu-

tor. As a Prosecutor, the Secretary has inherent author-

ity to inform the public what cases he will prosecute,

and Congress expressly recognized that inherent author-

ity. However Congress specifically intended that the

Secretary’s interpretations could be used in court only

as a shield by the defendant, and not as a policy-

making sword in the hands of the administration (App.

E-13.)

It is well established that the weight (if any) “to

be given to interpretative rule varies with its statutory

and administrative context. . . .” United States v. Stapf,

375 U.S. 118, 127 n. 11, 84 S.Ct. 248, 255, 11

L.Ed.2d 195 (1963). And here Congress intended

that bulletins be given no weight in the scales of

justice against a defendant, but only in defendant's

favor.

—

It is significant that in 13 years under the Act,

no employer so far as we know, has been prosecuted

either for paying different pension benefits to men

and women or for requiring different contributions

from men and women, based on longevity.

Even if the Secretary were to issue a new bulletin

saying that Labor was going to prosecute plans requir-

ing differential contributions such bulletin would be

entitled to “no standing in court,” as a matter of

legislative intent. (App. E-13.) The defendant would

be entitied to rely as a defense, on the plain meaning

of the previou dministrative bulletin, just as the Su-

preme Court relied on the plain meaning of such bulle-

tins in General Electric. Finally, the question would

be not whether the defendant violated any bulletin

but whether the statute had been violated. The Legis-

lature has directed that the Secretary show that the

exceptions do not apply. On that issue the defendant

is entitled to the impartial decision of the court. To

give effect to a position advocated by the Secretary

because previously published in a bulletin denies the

defendant an impartial determination by the Court

that Congress intended the defendant have.

However, in the instant case five days before oral

argument in the Court of Appeals, an attorney for

the Secretary of Labor filed an “amicus” brief urging

the court to disregard the plain meaning of its bulletins

on pensions. Instead, the “amicus” urged that a different

bulletin was now “controlling” and it should now be

construed so that it did not conflict with a post-1972

EEOC position. That new EEOC position was that

a retirement plan had to have equal benefits and equal

employee contributions (29 CFR §1604.9(f) (1972);

onlin

compare prior position 30 F.R. 14926, 14928 Dec.

2, 1965, Section 1604.7).

Obviously the latter is impossible unless women as

a matter of law must be paid more compensation;

the several administrative positions are irreconcilable.

(See Dissent, App. D-7, D-8.)

The issue of law, however, is the intent of Congress

and not whether there is unanimity among administra-

tive interpretations. By giving “deference” to a supposed

lack of conflict among some of the administrative inter-

pretations, the lower court failed to exercise its consti-

tutional and statutory responsibility to independently

and impartially determine Congressional intent.

General Electric clearly holds the courts should not

so abdicate their responsibility. Further, the specific

Congressional intent under both the Equal Pay Act

and Title VII is that the courts, not the administrative

agencies, should be the law-interpreting body.

Moreover, even where an agency has express Con-

gressional authority to issue “legislative regulations”,

a defendant may challenge a regulation on the ground

that it is invalid because inconsistent with the statute

and the intent of Congress. Obviously where such a

challenge is raised, the agency’s interpretation of the

law as expressed by its regulation is not the measure

of the intent of the law. For the Court of Appeals

to have rejected the legislative history which showed

the law’s intent, as an “erroneous interpretation” of

the law’s intent, and to do so based on newly advanced

administrative interpretations, was not only fallacious

but also denied your petitioners a hearing and determi-

nation on one of the precise issues of law your peti-

—_ 2

tioners raised, namely that the content of the adminis-

trative interpretation was not in accordance with the

statute and its intent.

On that issue, the language of the Bennett Amend-

ment and the legislative history of the equal pay bills

flatly contradict the content of the administrator’s bulle-

tin that the majority relied on in its second opinion

below. The Bennett Amendment says “it shall not

be an unlawful employment practice . . . to differentiate

upon the basis of sex in determining the amount of

the wages or compensation paid or to be paid.

. . .”’ (Emphasis added.) On the equal pay bills,

the Senate Committee Report said that under the single

broad exception provided in its bill, wage differentials

based on employer cost differentials were not outlawed.

In the House, specific legislative history likewise shows

the same express intent not to prohibit differentiation

by sex as to wages and costs. (App. E-4.) The House

bill, noted Senator Dirksen, better expressed Senate

intent and was thereafter adopted by the Senate. (App.

E-4.)

In sharp contrast to this statutory language and

clear history that “to differentiate upon the basis of

sex” is not ipso facto unlawful, the bulletin of the

Secretary says that compensation differentials may not

be based on cost differentials because (it says) a com-

parison of cost differentials upon the basis of sex

is ipso facto unlawful because differentiation upon the

basis of sex is ipso facto unlawful. (App. E-18.) This

contradicts the statute and the bulletin on pensions.

Yet this is the bulletin the majority relied on in denying

rehearing. (App. D-3.)

=— =

The bulletin is not faithful to the law. It would

seem that even the issuance of that bulletin by the

Secretary exceeds the constitutional authority of the

executive branch which is constitutionally charged “to

take care that the laws be faithfully executed.” (Const.

Art. II, §3.)

For the Court of Appeals to rely on such bulletin

not only exalts the agent over the principal, when

the principal has expressly stated that the agents’ inter-

pretations shall have no standing in court except as

a defense for the defendant, but it also implies to

the executive branch that it is “above the law”, that

it has no duty to be faithful to the laws Congress

enacts, that it need not take care regarding the will

of Congress, but may instead follow the dictates of

its own will.

The Legislature directed that the Secretary must show

that a pay differential is not based on an “other factor

other than sex,” or any other statutory excention. For

the Court of Appeals to “rely” on the administrator’s in-

terpretation that compensation differentials may not

be based on employer cost differentials is tantamount

to a repeal of all the statutory exceptions, since all

depend on cost. It says not only are there no exemptions

but also that the courts will hear no defenses. It is

to adopt the erroneous rationale of one bulletin of

the administrator (that differentiation by sex is prohibit-

ed by the statute), when the statute on its face and

its legislative history states the exact opposite.

By hypothesis, any pay differential would rest in

part on differences in other costs as its practical justifi-

cation. So if costs correlated to sex differentiation were

no justification for a pay differential correlated to

aiiices

sex, there would be no statutory exceptions. But

Congress expressly stated and intended the contrary.

Finally, this Honorable Court has relied on bulletins

to hold in favor of defendant in General Electric, but

the court below relied on a bulletin to hold against

defendant. This also was contrary to congressional in-

tent.

Moreover, as recently as 1972 Congress specifically

rejected proposals to grant the EEOC quasi-legislative

and quasi-judicial authority, and rejected proposals to

define unlawful discrimination more broadly.

Having failed in the Legislature, the EEOC then

issued new “guidelines” post-1972 and sought as an

“amicus” in both courts in the instant case to have

the courts adopt those new interpretations as defining

prohibited conduct under the statute.

The success of this improper action by the EEOC

is shown by the fact that the District Court made

an express finding that the EEOC “amended its regula-

tions” in 1972, and the District Court based its judg-

ment on such “amended regulation.” (App. B-10-12.)

The EEOC had similar success in the Court of

Appeals. While this Court explicitly pointed out in

General Electric that “guidelines” are not regulations,

even the Dissenting Opinion expressly referred to them

as “regulations.” (App. D-8.)

The EEOC is a prosecutor. But it has clothed itself

with authority it does not have, which this Court has

plainly said it does not have, and yet which the lower

courts persist in erroneously assuming that it does

have, all to the injury of your petitioners.

In fact, Congress in 1972 declined to grant such

authority to the agency, based on its finding that the

= =

agency was not impartial, but an advocate of policies

beyond those which Congress chose to enact into

law. (App. E-16-17.)

For the lower courts to give effect to “guidelines”

as if they were impartial pronouncements above the

highest court and the Constitution was to act in excess

of the courts’ own jurisdiction as conferred by statute.

(42 U.S.C. §2000e-5, App. A-4.) Congress expressly

limited that jurisdiction in enacting Title VII in 1964.

It expressly reaffirmed certain of those limitations in

1972. App. E-16.)

The jurisdictional limitations of the statute contem-

plate that the courts give effect to the statute both

in respect to what conduct is prohibited and in respect

to the absence of quasi-legislative and quasi-judicial

authority in the agency. For the lower courts to have

disregarded the Congressional intent on either point

_is to act outside their own jurisdiction as expressly

limited by the statute. It also denies to the Petitioners

that right to an impartial determination of issues that

both the Constitution and the statutes guarantee. As to

your individual petitioners it is a denial of due process

of law guaranteed by the 14th Amendment.

Il. The Decision of the Court of Appeals Presents an

Important Federal Question Which Has Nationwide

Impact on the Pension, Annuity and Insurance

Industry, as Well as on Cities and States.

The funding of pensions, annuities and insurance

plans depends upon an actuarial determination of aggre-

gate risk, dividing the projected cost among the mem-

bers of the group covered. This is universally done by

the use of separate mortality tables for males and

females because of the significant difference in life ex-

pectancy between females and males. For example,

—26—

a graph offered by amicus for respondents in tiie

Court of Appeals, showed that given a sample of

100,000 males and 100,000 females who retire at

age 65 and live through age 107, by the median

age 83 where the two mortality curves intersect, 65,600

males will have died and only 48,800 females, 34,400

males would remain, and 51,200 females. This statistic

means there would be 48% more females to pro-

vide retirement benefits for at age 83 than for the

males at that age. In other words, beginning at age

65, and each year until age 83, more males die than

females. Couicecuently more funds must be available to

provide benefits to the larger number of females alive

after that age.

The entire industry depends upon actuarial tables

which thus separate males from females. Indeed, Con-

gress under ERISA [Pension Reform Act of 1974,

P.L. 93-406, 88 Stat. 829] set up three agencies for

federal pension law enforcement, the Internal Revenue

Service, the Department of Labor and the Pension

Benefit Guarantee Corporation. Actuarial requirements

are stressed under the Act [26 U.S.C. (IRC 1954)

§410 et seqg., Act §§302-305]. The Pension Benefit

Guarantee Corporation in December 1975 specifically

set up no less than six such sex-differentiated tables for

funding [40 F.R. 57980, 57982, 29 C.F.R. 2610,

2611]. The Court may properly look to recent Congres-

sional action in the pension area to assist in its inter-

pretation of other laws as applied to pension problems.

Espinoza v. Farah Mfg. Co., 414 U.S. 86, 38 L.Ed.2d

287, 94 S.Ct. 334 (1973). On the other hand there

are to our knowledge no unisex mortality tables. (Dis-

senting Op., D-4.) Even if there were, their use would

discriminate against males.

= =

The decision of the Court of Appeals will have

a heavy financial impact on retirement plans across

the country. For example, in an affidavit filed in the

New York case of Diana L. Spirt v. TIAA-CREF

(N.Y., S.D. 74 Civ. 1674), the actuary estimated

that changing that system alone (which involves

equal contributions for unequal monthly benefits) to

a unisex system, over the collective lifetimes of 100,000

retired males and 100,000 retired females would cost

2.3 billions of dollars. Whether a court orders equalizing

monthly employee contributions or monthly benefits,

the cost of the system must increase, not to mention

the additional cost of refunds ordered. Cases in this area

are now proliferating in the federal courts across the

country. To name a few: Spirt v. TIAA-CREF, supra;

Henderson v. Oregon, 405 F.Supp. 1271 (1975) on

appeal in the Ninth Circuit; Rosina Smith et al. v.

County of Los Angeles (Cal.C.D. 74-253); Peters et al.

v. Wayne State University et al. (Mich. E.D. 670-

165); EEOC v. Colby College (Maine D.C. S.D. 75-

136); Bailey v. Los Angeles County (75-3863 C.D.

Cal.); American Nurses Assoc. et al. v. Board of

Governors of the University of North Carolina et al.

(USDC Mid. D. N. Carolina C 75-558-G).

Your petitioners have been contacted by other public

retirement systems which have either unequal contribu-

tion rates or unequal benefit rates based upon recog-

nized actuarial tables. They await the outcome of this

case to decide whether they must change their systems

at great expense and face additional extensive liability

for “back pay,” as a result of complying with laws

such as California Government Code §45342 which

require actuarial soundness (See App. F).

—_ =

The Court of Appeals, in a simplistic error, said

that equalization could be arrived at by spreading

the cost over all of the members. Aside from the

fact that such discriminates against the male employees,

it would be in violation of the Equal Pay Act. This

Court held in Corning Glass Works v. Brennan, 417

U.S. 188, 207, 41 L.Ed.2d 1, 17, 94 S.Ct. 2223

(1974) that increasing the burden on one class of

employees to provide “equal pay” for another class

is in violation of the Equal Pay Act. (See also 29

U.S.C. §206(d)(1), A-1.)

To allow the decision below to stand will invite

an unnecessary multiplicity of lawsuits to “equalize”

benefits or contributions, or both; and to recover back

contributions or increase future benefits, or both.

Ill. An Award of Back Contributions From a Local

Government Entity and the Permanent Injunction

Is in Excess of the Court’s Jurisdiction as Limited

by Title VII and by Article III and the 10th, 11th

and 14th Amendments of the United States Con-

stitution.

There are several major jurisdictional limitations ex-

ceeded by the decisions below.

The 1972 Amendments to Title VII were enacted

by Congress pursuant to §5 of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment which empowers Congress to enforce the Four-

teenth Amendment by appropriate legislation. (Garland

M. Fitzpatrick v. Frederick Bitzer, 427 US. 445

(1976).

The Honorable Court has construed the Due Process

and Equal Protection provisions as not prohibiting clas-

sifications such as defendants’ Plan where there is a

rational basis therefor. Kahn v. Shevin (1974) 416

U.S. 351, 40 L.Ed.2d 189, 94 S.Ct. 1734; Schlesinger

ollie

v. Ballard (1975) 419 U.S. 498, 42 L.Ed.2d 610, 95 S.

Ct. 72; Geduldig v. Aiello (1974) 417 U.S. 484, 41

L.Ed.2d 256, 94 S.Ct. 2485. :

Similarly the statute on its face and its legislative

history show that a classification related to sex “where

there is a rational basis” (App. E-9) is not prohibited

unless the plaintiffs show such is not in good faith

or is a subterfuge. See Schultz v. Wheaton Glass Co.,

421 F.2d 259 (3d Cir. 1970) cert. den. 398 US.

905 (Dissent, D-9).

It cannot be supposed that Congress is empowered

by Section 5 of the 14th Amendment to enact legisla-

tion prohibiting classifications that are permitted by

the 14th Amendment. Hence if Congress had enacted

a law prohibiting rational classifications or requiring

irrational ones, it would be acting in excess of its

14th Amendment power.

Consequently, assuming arguendo that the trial court

was correct that “rational” classification is prohibited

(and irrational classification therefore required) by

Title VII, it would follow necessarily that to that

extent Congress acted in excess of its 14th Amend-

ment power.

Such exercise of power would therefore have to

be sustained, if at all, under some other grant of

power—the commerce clause, for example.

But this Honorable Court has held that the Tenth

Amendment is a limitation on the exercise of the

commerce clause power in respect to cities. Such amend-

ment provides that powers not delegated to the United

States are reserved to the States, and the authority

of Congress to regulate in a manner which invades

local sovereignty is limited thereby.

—_ =

Thus this Honorable Court has held that Congress

may not regulate compensation of civil service em-

ployees. The court stated in National League of Cities

v. Usery (1976) 426 U.S. 833, 49 L.Ed.2d 245,

tee.

“We have repeatedly recognized that there are

attributes of sovereignty attaching to every state

government which may not be impaired by Con-

gress, not bécause Congress may lack an af-

firmative grant of legislative authority to reach

the matter, but because the Constitution prohibits

it from exercising the authority in that manner.”

(Emphasis added. )

Management of the City Department’s retirement

plan is likewise a function of local government under

state law (Charter §220.1, California Stat. 1937, Chap.

3, Resolutions, p. 2627). (App. F.) The City Charter

Section 220.1, and similarly, California Government

Code Section 45342, require that the Plan be main-

tained on a sound actuarial basis. Requiring refunds

of previous contributions prior to retirement interferes

with actuarial soundness in a manner not required

by equal protection or due process.

Further, despite the Court’s Opinion (App. C-24)

that the Department could pass on the cost of refunds

by increasing all contributions or lessening bene-

fits, such is not permitted by State law or by the

Equal Pay Act. (State Law) Houghton v. Long Beach,

164 Cal.App.2d 298, 306 (1958); Henry v. City of

Los Angeles, 201 Cal.App.2d 299, 314; (Equal Pay

Act) (Corning Glass Works v. Brennan, 417 U.S. 188,

207, 41 L.Ed.2d 1, 17, 94 S.Ct. 2223 (1974), 29

U.S.C. §206(d)(1)). The Department is penalized by

—

the decision because it must now reach into other

city revenues to pay the difference. (See Edelman

v. Jordan (1974) 415 U.S. 651, 653.)

It is likewise interfered with by the permanent injunc-

tion. Any legislation of Congress under either the Four-

teenth Amendment or under the commerce clause, for

example, which interferes with the authority of local

governmental entities to establish pension plans for

its civil service employees would be an invalid invasion

of local sovereignty. So would a law requiring payment

of higher compensation to female civil service employees

than males.

For the same reasons, the permanent injunction of

the lower court and its award of back contributions

exceeds the limitations of the Tenth Amendment. Such

amendment is a limitation on al! the powers delegated

to the United States, including the judicial power dele-

gated by Article III, and not merely a limitation on

those legislative powers that have been delegated to

the Congress by Article I. As the Congress may not

enact a law which interferes with local sovereignty,

so the Court may not issue a decree which so interferes.

Assuming arguendo that by enacting Title VII Con-

gress had enacted a law which required the payment

of higher compensation to female civil service employees

than to males, for the courts to give effect to such

a law would exceed the constitutional limitations on

the courts’ power. The court may not so act. That

was the precise holding of Marbury v. Madison, 1

Cranch 137, 2 L.Ed. 60 (1803). The Court held

that it would not exercise a power (even though Con-

gress purported to confer or acknowledge it) when

to do so would have the effect of the Court exceeding

onlin

constitutional limitations upon it. The duty of the Court,

the Chief Justice said, is to “read and obey” the law

which limits the Court’s power.’

For the same reasons dealing with the Tenth Amend-

ment, we submit that there also is a violation of the

Eleventh Amendment by the decisions below. In Fitz-

patrick v. Bitzer, supra, 427 U.S. 445, 456, fn. 11,

the Court noted that such challenge was not raised

there. We have raised and do raise such « challenge.

There is another major jurisdictional limitation ex-

ceeded by the decisions below. Section 5 of the 14th

Amendment gives the Congress the authority to enforce

that article by appropriate legislation. That grant of

authority is, we submit, exclusive. Especially where

(as here) the Congress has exercised that authority,

where it has enacted certain policies into law, it is

not within the powers of either the executive or the

judicial branch to give effect to different policies even

for the purposes of “enforcing” the 14th Amendment.

Any different view would lead to governmental chaos.

7A different view of judicial power was indicated by the

infamous and erroneous Dred Scott decision more than half a

century later. The latter view was that the Constitution gives “pre-

rogative authority” to the Courts to “review” legislation. Dred

Scot v. Sanford, (1856) 19 How. 393, 15 L.Ed. 691. In contrast,

the rationale of Marshall, C.J. was that the Court did not have

prerogative power; it would give effect to a law of

unless by so doing the Court would itself exceed some constitu-

tional limitation, which limitations apply to the Court as well as

to Congress. The Dred Scott decision was the second in history

to nullify congressional action. In his first Inaugural Address,

President Lincoln rejected the Dred Scott theory of the Court's

power. The errors of Dred Scott have never been judicially

acknowledged.

= =

We have above noted the express jurisdictional limita-

tion on the executive’s following different policies. The

executive is charged that “the laws be faithfully exe-

cuted” (Art. II §3). The limitation of faithfulness

likewise applies to any agent (such as EEOC) that

is an agency of Congress, its principal.

Express limitations also exist with respect to the

courts’ authority. Congress has clear constitutional au-

thority to specify the jurisdiction of the courts. Const.

Art. Ill. Sheldon v. Sill (U.S. 1850) 8 How. 440,

12 L.Ed. 1147, Ex Parte McCardle (U.S., 1869) 7

Wall. 506, 19 L.Ed. 264. °

Thus, where, as here, Congress has not only exercised

the authority granted by Section 5 of the 14th Amend-

ment, but has also limited the courts’ jurisdiction under

that statute to those “adverse actions” as are defined

by the statute and are “intentionally engaged in”, it

is not within the courts’ power to develop broader

definitions of unlawful discrimination in terms of “sys-

tems or effects” or otherwise. In fact it was to prevent

that possibility that led to adopting the jurisdictional

limitation in 1964. While in 1972 it was proposed

to permit the development of a broader definition of

unlawful discrimination in terms of “systems and ef-

fects”, that proposal was rejected and the jurisdictional

limitations expressly reaffirmed. (App. E-15-18.)

Since 1972 the courts may now exercise broader

remedial authority than under the 1964 statute, after

it has been found that an “adverse action” as statutorily

ial

defined has been “intentionally engaged in”. However

Congress in 1972 again precluded the courts from

any “common-law-making” role in defining unlawful

employment practices by express reaffirmations of the

jurisdictional limitations of Title VII. (See App. E-

16.)

Of course Congress may so limit the courts. “There

can be no question of the power of Congress to define

and limit the jurisdiction of the inferior courts of

the United States.” Lauf v. E. G. Skinner & Co.,

303 U.S. 323, 330 (1938).

The trial judge herein seemed unconcerned with the

statutory language. He did not even make the findings

which the statute requires as the condition precedent

to the exercise of the courts’ remedial jurisdiction under

the statute (App. B-10-12), namely that the City was

“intentionally engaging in” an unlawful employment

practice as stautorily defined. The trial court likewise

ignored the jurisdictional limitation on an award of

“back pay”—that such shall not be awarded if the

action of the employer was “for any reason other”

than discrimination® on account of sex (App. A-5).

These lapses of the trial court, plus its reliance on

the EEOC “amended regulation” demonstrate that the

ere was extensive and careful attention given to the

mm of “discrimination” in the 1963-64 debates. The Con-

gressional Record is very clear that although the opponents of

the bill charged it had a new broad, sweeping a the

proponents of the bill whose intent is controlling said that

it had the same well established meaning it already had under

a number of already existing statutes. (110 Cong. Rec. 7218,

5803, 5437, 7477.)

= =

trial court was not exercising its statutory judicial juris-

diction, but some new legislative jurisdiction.

That the Court may not act in excess of statutory

jurisdiction (even if it had “enforcement” authority

under the Fourteenth Amendment) is one of the founda-

tions of the “checks and balances” of American gov-

ernment. See Sheldon v. Sill (U.S. 1850), 8 How.

440, 12 L.Ed. 114); Ex Parte McCardle, 7 Wall

506, 19 L.Ed. 264.

Conclusion.

Here, classification for purposes of the pension sys-

tem does not adversely affect the “employment status”

of any individual woman employee. While there is

differentiation between men and women, upon the basis

of sex there is no discrimination “against” an individual

with respect to compensation because of sex. Therefore

no adverse action or unlawful employment practice

as defined by statute has been shown under either

subsection of 42 U.S.C. §2000e-2(a).

Additionally Title VII specifically provides that it

shall not be an unlawful employment practice to “dif-

ferentiate upon the basis of sex in determining the

amount of wages or compensation” if such differential

in payment is for any “other factor other than sex.”

Here the factor was life expectancy or longevity. For

the courts below to expand the definition of unlaw-

ful employment practices to prohibit differential pay-

ment for that factor where made on a rational basis,

without any showing that such was done as a subter-

=

fuge and not in good faith, exceeded the courts’ power

as limited by Article III of the Constitution and Title

VII, (42 U.S.C. §2000e-5(g)) in addition to violating

the 10th, 11th and 14th Amendments.

Hence, a writ of certiorari should issue to review

the judgment and opinion of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit or alternatively to

command the Court below to re-examine its decision

in the light of General Electric Co. v. Gilbert, the

statutes, the legislative history, and the United States

Constitution.

BuRT PINES,

City Attorney,

EDWARD C. FARRELL,

Chief Assistant City Attorney

for Water and Power,

J. Davip HANSON,

Deputy City Attorney,

Davip J. OLIPHANT,

Deputy City Attorney,

By Davip J. OLIPHANT,

Deputy City Attorney,

Attorneys for Defendants-A ppellees.

a

APPENDIX A.

Fair Labor Standards—29 U.S.C. § 206. .

(d) (1) No employer having employees subject to

any provisions of this section shall discriminate, within

any establishment in which such employees are em-

ployed, between employees on the basis of sex by paying

wages tc emrloyees in such establishment at a rate

less than the rate at which he pays wages to employees

of the opposite sex in such establishment for equal

work on jobs the performance of which requires equal

skill, effort, and responsibility, and which are performed

under similar working conditions, except where such

payment is made pursuant to (i) a seniority system;

(ii) a merit system; (iii) a system which measures

earnings by quantity or quality of production; or (iv)

a differential based on any other factor other than

sex: Provided, That an employer who is paying a

wage rate differential in violation of this subsection

shall not, in order to comply with the provisions of

this subsection, reduce the wage rate of any employee.

(2) No labor organization, or its agents, represent-

ing employees of an employer having employees subject

to any provisions of this section shall cause or attempt

to cause such an employer to discriminate against an

employee in violation of paragraph (1) of this subsec-

tion.

(3) For purposes of administration and enforce-

ment, any amounts owing to any employee which have

been withheld in violation of this subsection shall be

deemed to be unpaid minimum wages or unpaid over-

time compensation under this chapter,

anion

(4) As used in this subsection, the term “labor

organization” means any organization of any kind, or

any agency or employee representation committee or

plan, in which employees participate and which exists

for the purpose, in whole or in part, of dealing with

employers concerning grievances, labor disputes, wages,

rates of pay, hours of employment, or conditions of

work.

42 U.S.C. § 2000¢-2.

Unlawful Employment Practices.

(a) It shall be an unlawful employment practice

for an employer—

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge

any individual, or otherwise to discriminate against

any individual with respect to his compensation,

terms, conditions, or privileges of employment,

because of such individual’s race, color, religion,

sex, or national origin; or

(2) to limit, segregate, or classify his em-

ployees cr applicants for employment in any way

which would deprive or tend to deprive any in-

dividual of employment opportunities or otherwise

adversely affect his status as an employee, because

of such individual’s race, color, religion, sex, or

national origin.

* * *

(e) Notwithstanding any other provision of this sub-

chapter, (1) it shall not be an unlawful employment

practice for an employer to hire and employ employees,

for an employment agency to classify, or refer for

employment any individual, for a labor organization

to classify its membership or to classify or refer for

employment any individual, or for an employer, labor

—_<

organization, or joint labor-management committee con-

‘trolling apprenticeship or other training or retraining

programs to admit or employ any individual in any

such program, on the basis of his religion, sex, or

national origin in those certain instances where religion,

sex, or national origin is a bona fide occupational

qualification reasonably necessary to the normal opera-

tion of that particular business or enterprise, and (2)

it shall not be an unlawful employment practice for

a school, college, university, or other educational in-

stitution or institution of learning to hire and employ

employees of a particular religion if such school, college,

university, or other educational institution or institution

of learning is, in whole or in substantial part, owned,

supported, controlled, or managed by a particular reli-

gion or by a particular religious corporation, associa-

tion, or society, or if the curriculum of such school,

college, university, or other educational institution or

institution of learning is directed toward the propaga-

tion of a particular religion.

° * * *

Seniority or merit system; quantity or quality of produc-

tion; ability tests; compensation based on sex and

authorized by minimum wage provisions

(h) Notwithstanding any other provision of this sub-

chapter, it shall not be an unlawful employment prac-

tice for an employer to apply different standards of

compensation, or different terms, conditions, or priv-

ileges of employment pursuant to a bona fide seniority

or merit system, or a system which measures earnings

by quantity or quality of production or to employees

who work in different locations, provided that such

differences are not the result of an intention to discrim-

niiiglien

inate because of race, color, religion, sex, or national

origin, nor shall it be an unlawful employment practice

for an employer to give and to act upon the results

of any professionally developed ability test provided

that such test, its administration or action upon the

results is not designed, intended or used to discriminate

because of race, color, religion, sex or national origin.

It shall not be an unlawful employment practice under

this subchapter for any employer to differentiate upon

the basis of sex in determining the amount of the

wages or compensation paid or to be paid to employees

of such employer if such differentiation is authorized

by the provisions of section 206(d) of Title 29.

* * *

42 USC § 2000e-5(g).

Injunctions; appropriate affirmative action; equitable

relief; accrual of back pay; reduction of back pay;

limitations on judicial orders

(g) If the court finds that the respondent has in-

tentionally engaged in or is intentionally engaging in

an unlawful employment practice charged in the com-

plaint, the court may enjoin the respondent from en-

gaging in such unlawful employment practice, and order

such affirmative action as may be appropriate, which

may include, but is not limited to, reinstatement or

hiring of employees, with or without back pay (payable

by the employer, employment agency, or labor organiza-

tion, as the case may be, responsible for the unlawful

employment practice), or any other equitable relief

as the court deems appropriate. Back pay liability

shall not accrue from a date more than two years

prior to the filing of a charge with the Commission.

—v

Interim earnings or amounts earnable with reasonable

diligence by the person or persons discriminated against

shall operate to reduce the back pay otherwise allow-

able. No order of the court shall require the admission

or reinstatement of an individual as a member of

a union, or the hiring, reinstatement, or promotion

of an individual as an employee, or the payment to

him of any back pay, if such individual was refused

admission, suspended, or expelled, or was refused em-

ployment or advancement or was suspended or dis-

charged for any reason other than discrimination on

account of race, color, religion, sex, or national origin

or in violation of section 2000e-3(a) of this title.

ee ee

Yo

APPENDIX B.

Marie Manhart et al., Plaintiffs, v. City of Los

Angeles, Department of Water and Power, a body

corporate and politic, et al., Defendants. Civ. No. 73-

2272-HP.

United States District Court, C. D. California.

Jan. 15, 1975.

Female employees of city water and power depart-

ment brought action challenging requirement that

female employees make larger monthly contributions

than their male counterparts in order to receive the

same monthly retirement benefit as the male employees.

Plaintiff moved for a preliminary injunction. The Dis-

trict Court, Pregerson, J., held that such practice vio-

lated the Equal Employment Opportunity Act notwith-

standing that such differentiation was based on actuarial

tables indicating that women as a class tend to live

longer than men, that the Act requires that each

person be treated as an individual and not on the

basis of characteristics generally attributed to any racial,

religious or sex group and that a preliminary injunction

would issue.

Motion granted.

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER GRANTING

PLAINTIFFS’ MOTION FOR PRELIMINARY

INJUNCTION

PREGERSON, District Judge.

This matter arises upon a motion for preliminary

injunction. Plaintiffs, Marie Manhart, Carolyn May-

shack, and other employees of the Los Angeles Depart-

ment of Water and Power initiated this action against

the Los Angeles Department of Water and Power be-

—3B-2—

cause female employees of the Department are required

to make larger monthly contributions than their male

counterparts in order to receive the same monthly retire-

ment benefits as these male employees. In plaintiffs’

view, this practice violates § 703 of the Equal Employ-

ment Opportunity Act of 1972, 43 U.S.C.A. § 2000e-

2 (West 1974). According to defendants, however,

this differentiation between male and female employees

is justified by actuarial tables which indicate that

women as a class tend to live longer than men and

that therefore female employees are likely to receive

retirement benefits for a longer duration than their

male counterparts. In short, defendants argue that

women should pay more to get more.

In order to issue a preliminary injunction, the court

must make the following determination: (1) that plain-

tiffs are likely to prevail on the merits, (2) that plain-

tiffs will suffer irreparable harm without preliminary

relief, (3) that defendants will not be unduly injured

by the injunction, and (4) that an injunction promotes

the public interest. Seamen v. Spring Lake Park Inde-

pendent School District No. 16, 363 F.Supp. 944,

945 (D.Minn.1973); United States v. Local 638, 337

F.Supp. 217, 220 (S.D.N.Y.1972). See King v. Saddle-

back Junior College Dist., 425 F.2d 426 (9th Cir.

1970).

The major. question on this motion is whether

plaintiffs have a reasonable likelihood of success on

the merits. To make this determination, the court must

decide whether the Department’s practice of requiring

women to make larger monthly contributions to the

retirement plan than men constitutes “[ discrimination]

against any individual with respect to his compensation,

>

_— YY

terms, conditions, or privileges of employment, because

of such individual’s . . . sex . . .” within the meaning

of § 703(a)(1) of the Equal Employment Opportunity

Act of 1972. 42 US.C.A. § 2000e-2(a)(1) (West

1974).

Several sources of authority support the conclusion

that the Department’s practice in question here consti-

tutes sexual discrimination under § 703(a)(1). Initially,

it should be pointed out that this section applies to

retirement plans. Bartmess v. Drewrys USA, Inc., 444

F.2d 1186 (7th Cir. 1971); Rosen v. Public Service

Electric & Gas Co., 477 F.2d 90 (3d Cir. 1973).

Moreover, current regulations of the Equal Employ-

ment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) issued under

the authority of § 713 of the Act, 42 US.C.A. §

2000e-12 (West 1974), not only suggest that § 703(a)

(1) applies in this case, but also indicate that the

Department’s practice gives rise to sexual discrimina-

tion. According to these current regulations, “it shall

not be a defense under Title VII to a charge of

sex discrimination in benefits that the cost of such

benefits is greater with respect to one sex than the

other,” 29 C.F.R. § 1604.9(e), and “it shall be an

unlawful employment practice for an employer to have

a pension or retirement plan . . . which differentiates

in benefits on the basis of sex.” 29 C.F.R. § 1604.9(f).

The EEOC has recently applied these standards

to an analogous case in which retired female employees

received lower monthly payments under their annuities

than their male counterparts. Decision No. 74-118,

CCH EEOC Decisions 4 6431 (Employment Practices

Guide, 1974). Under the facts of that case, female

employees had contributed the same amounts for the

= vo

annuity benefits as male employees. In rejecting the

argument that equalization of monthly payments would

discriminate against males, who, as a class, would

receive less because they tend to die sooner, and in

favor of females, who would receive more because

they generally die later, the EEOC stated:

A argues that equal payments to female retirees

would in fact discriminate in their favor because

females, statistically, live longer than men. The

logic of this argument is that usually used to

support discrimination: an appeal to the average

characteristics of a particular sex, race, or other

group protected under Title VII. But no person

knows when he or she will die.

* * *

Thus we think that A’s argument misses the

point. All that A’s sex-segregated actuarial tables

purport to predict is risk spread over a large

number of people; the tables do not predict the

length of any particular individual's life.

In our view, any use of sex-segregated actuarial

table that results in payment of different periodic

pension benefits to males and females is highly

suspect. Because actuarial tables do not predict

the length of any individual’s life, any claim that

such tables may be used to assure equal pension

payments over a lifetime between males and fe-

males must fail. In order to achieve compliance

with Section 703(a) of Title VII and with the

Commission’s Guidelines on Discrimination Be-

cause of Sex the periodic pension benefits paid

to males and females in equivalent circumstances

must be equal. Moreover, it would not be a defense

to Charging Party’s charge that equalizing males’

iliiiinn

and females’ periodic pension benefits would result

in higher costs to Respondents if indeed this were

shown to be a fact. Guidelines on Discrimination

Because of Sex, 29 CFR Sec. 1604.9(3). See,

also, Taylor v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co.,

5 EPD Para. 8545, 6 FEP Cases 50 (N.D.Ala.,

1972).

(Footnotes omitted.) EEOC Decision 74-118, pp. 3-

5

As plaintiffs correctly point out, the only difference

between the facts of EEOC Decision 74-118 and the

facts of the case at bar is that instead of taking

equal contributions from both sexes and supplying lower

benefits to females, the defendants in the present action

take more contributions from females and supply equal

benefits to both sexes. In either case, the reason for

this differential treatment is the actuarial fact of female

longevity which, in effect, involves the application oi

characteristics that may be true of a class of people

to individuals within the class fur which the characteri-

zation May or may not be true. Therefore, EEOC

Decision 74-118 is directly applicable to the present

case, and dictates a finding of sexual discrimination

here. As such, it is entitled to great deference in

this court. Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424,

433-434, 91 S.Ct. 849, 28 L.Ed.2d 158 (1971).

The conclusion that the defendants’ differential treat-

ment of female employees violates § 703(a)(1) is

supported by a recent Harvard Law Review comment,

Employment Discrimination and Title VII of the Civil

Rights Act of 1964, 84 Harv.L.Rev. 1109, 1172-1176

(1971). In its discussion of discrimination based on

statistical differences and life insurance benefit pro-

ailtiiiinn

grams, the comment takes the position that employers

must provide the same life insurance benefits to male

and female employees even though employers must

pay higher premiums for males than for females due

to actuarial female longevity. The comment reaches

this conclusion because “Title VII, in the field of

employment, requires evaluation on an individual basis

rather than a prediction made on the basis of a sex-

defined group,” and because “Title VII focuses on

presenting each employee in an individual light, free

from conclusions that may be drawn from the individ-

ual’s membership in one sex or the other.” 84 Harv.L.

Rev. at 1174.

The basic principle which emerges from these authori-

ties and from the case law is that sexual discrimination

under § 703(a)(1) exists whenever general fact charac-

teristics of a sex-defined class are automatically applied

to an individual within that class. See Phillips v. Martin

Marietta Corp., 400 U.S. 542, 91 S.Ct. 496, 27 L.Ed.2d

613 (1971); Rosenfeld v. Southern Pacific Co., 444

F.2d 1219 (9th Cir. 1971); Sprogis v. United Air

Lines, 444 F.2d 1194 (7th Cir. 1971); Willingham

v. Macon Telegraph Publishing Co., 482 F.2d 535

(Sth Cir. 1973). In passing Title VII, Congress estab-

lished a policy that each person must be treated as

an individual and not on the basis of characteristics

generally, and often falsely, attributed to any racial,

religious, or sex group. See Rosenfeld v. Southern Pacif-

ic Co., supra 444 F.2d at 1225. More particularly,

Congress intended in regard to sexual discrimination

cases to strike at the entire spectrum of disparate

treatment of individual men and women resulting from

sex stereotypes. Sprogis v. United Air Lines, Inc., supra

444 F.2d at 1198. In short, under the Equal Employ-

= * =

ment Opportunity Act of 1972, all stereotypic treatment

of persons based on race, religion, or sex whether

rational or irrational is dead. Because the Department

of Water and Power’s practice in question here violates

these considerations by applying the general actuarial

characteristic of female longevity to individual female

employees who in reality may or may not outlive

individual male employees, the court concludes that

plaintiffs have established a case of discrimination under

§ 703(a)(1) of the Equai Employment Opportunity

, Act.

Defendants attempt to establish a defense under §

703(h) of the Equal Employment Opportunity Act

of 1972. 42 U.S.C.A. § 2000e-2(h) (West 1974).

This section states in part that “it shall not be an

unlawful employment practice under this subchapter

for any employer to differentiate upon the basis of

sex in determining the amount of wages or compensa-

tion paid or to be paid to employees . . . if such

differentiation is authorizec by the provisions of section

206(d) of Title 29.” Section 206(d) states in part

that “no employer . . . shall discriminate . . . between

employees on the basis of sex by paying wages to

employees . . . at a rate less than the rate at which

he pays wages to employees of the opposite sex . . .

for equal work . . . except where such payment is

made .. . (iv) a differential based on any other

factor other than sex: Provided, That an employer

who is paying a wage rate differential in violation

of this subsection shall not, in order to comply with

the provisions of this subsection, reduce the wage rate

of any employee.” 29 U.S.C.A. § 206(d) (1).

Defendants fail to explain how § 206(d)(1) justifies

higher retirement contributions for women. Instead,

alive

they cite § 703(h) and immediately refer to 29 C.F.R.

§ 800.116(d), a regulation of the Wage-Hour Adminis-

trator which implies that segregated actuarial treatment

of men and women does not violate the Equal Pay

Act. Even if § 206(d)(1) applies to this case, the

court believes that differentiation based on sex segre-

gated actuarial tables constitutes a differential based

on the “factor” of sex in violation of that section.

The court also concludes that the other elements

necessary to support a preliminary injunction are pres-

ent in this case. Where statutory civil rights of em-

ployees are found to have been violated, irreparable

injury may be presumed from loss of human dignity

which such violations engender. See United States

v. Hayes International Corp., 415 F.2d 1038, 1045

(Sth Cir. 1969). Moreover, as plaintiffs’ affidavits

suggest, the potential for irreparable injury is great

in that we deal with the present ability of female

employees to provide the necessities of life for them-

selves and their families. Finally, the very subject of

this action, sexual discrimination, and the number of

persons affected by the Department’s practice, supports

the conclusion that a preliminary injunction would serve

the public interest.’

Accordingly, it is ordered that plaintiffs’ motion for

a preliminary injunction is granted.

It is further ordered that this Memorandum and

Order shall constitute the court’s findings of fact and

While this opinion was in draft form, the court was noti-

fied by defendants in a copy of a letter dated December

26, 1974 that the Department of Water and Power and the

Board of Administration of the Department of Water and Power

Employees Retirement Plan had adopted a resolution on Decem-

ber 23. 1974, equalizing male and female contributions to

the Retirement Plana.

onlin

conclusions of law as authorized by Rule 52 of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

It is further ordered that the Clerk of the Court

shall serve copies of this Memorandum and Order,

by United States mail, upon the attorneys of record for

the parties herein.

Findings of Fact.

It is true that:

1. The plaintiffs, Carolyn Mayshack, Margerie

Stoop, Alice F. Muller and Ethel L. Lehman, are

employees of the defendant, Department of Water and

Power of the City of Los Angeles (“Department”).

The plaintiff, Marie Manhart, is a former employee

of the Department. The plaintiff, Committee to Protect

Women’s Retirement Benefits, is an association of fe-

male, supervisory employees of the Department. The

plaintiff, International Brotherhood of Electrical Work-

ers, Local Union No. 18 (“Union”), is an unincorpo-

rated labor organization, whose members include certain

women who are employed by the Department.

2. The defendant, Department of Water and Power

of the City of Los Angeles, employs approximately

2,000 females. The defendant, Board of Commissioners

of the Department of Water and Power, directs the

affairs of the Departm ~.. The defendant, Board of

Administration of the Department of Water and Power

Public Employees’ Retirement, Disability, and Death

Benefit Insurance Plan, administers the benefit plans

maintained for employees of the Department.

3. The Department maintains a Public Employees’

Retirement, Disability, and Death Benefit Insurance

Plan (“Plan”). The Plan is funded by compulsory

—B-10—

employee contributions which are matched 110% by

compulsory employer contributions. The Plan is also

funded by earnings on all contributions.

4. Between March 24, 1972 and December 31,

1974, the Plan paid the same monthly benefits to

male and female retirants of the same age and length

of service. However, higher contributions were required

of female employees than males because acturarial

tables used in the administration of the Plan indicate

that women in general live longer than men and that

women would therefore tend to collect monthly pay-

ments for a longer period of time.

5. On or about June 5, 1973, the Union filed

with the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

(“EEOC”) a charge alleging that the Plan discriminated

against females because it required them to contribute

more than their male counterparts. The United States

Department of Justice issued a notice of right to sue

letter on or about September 17, 1973. The plaintiffs

filed a complaint in this court on September 26, 1973.

6. The plaintiffs employed legal counsel, who ren-

dered valuable services to the classes in the litigation

of the issues presented in this case.

7. On April 5, 1972, the EEOC amended its regula-

tions to state: “It shall not be a defense under Title

[VII] to a charge of sex discrimination in benefits

that the cost of such benefits is greater with respect

to one sex than the other.” 29 C.F.R. 1604.9(e).

The following Conclusions of Law, insofar as they

may be considered Findings of Fact, are so found

by this court to be true in all respects.

—— ee

—B-11—

Conclusions of Law.

1. The court has jurisdiction of the plaintiffs’ action

which was brought pursuant to Section 706(f) of Title

VII of the Equal Employment Opportunity Act of

1972 (“Act”) (42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(f) ).

2. The plaintiff Union filed a timely charge with

the EEOC. After receiving a notice of right to sue

letter from the United States Department of Justice,

the plaintiffs filed a timely complaint in this court.

The plaintiffs have satisfied the jurisdictional prerequi-

sites of the Act for bringing suit in this court.

3. The Department is an employer within the mean-

ing of Section 701(b) of the Act (42 U.S.C. §2000e

(b)).

4. With respect to the cause of action brought

under Title VII of the Act, on January 25, 1974,

the court certified classes which included (a) all female

employees presently working for the Department who

are members of the Plan, (b) all female members

of the Plan who retired from the active service with

the Department on or after March 24, 1972, (c)

all female employees who resigned from active service

with the Department on or after March 24, 1972

and who left their compulsory employee contributions

on deposit with the Plan, and (d) all women hired

by the Departr:ent who became members of the Plan

prior to the resolution of this action.

5. The Department’s practice of requiring females

to make larger monthly contributions to the Plan than

their male counterparts is an unlawful employment

practice within the meaning of Section 701(a)(1) of

the Act (42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a)) and no defenses

—B-12—

under Section 703(e) and (h) of the Act have been

stated (42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(e), (h)).

6. The Eleventh Amendment to the United States

Constitution does not bar a money recovery against

the defendants in this action.

7. The defendants should have been placed on

notice that their practice of differential contributions

constituted an unlawful employment practice under Sec-

tion 701(a)(1) of the Act when the EEOC amended

its regulations on April 5, 1972 to include what is

now 29 C.F.R. 1604.9(e).

8. Under Section 706(g) of the Act, each meraber

of the classes defined in Paragraph 4 of these Con-

clusions of Law is entitled to a refund me “ed by

the difference between the contributions s as re-

quired to make on and after April 5, 1972 and the

contributions required of a male who entered the service

of the Department at the same age, and on the same

date, and earned the same rate of pay throughout

his service as the female member of the class. In

addition, each member of the class is entitled to interest

at seven percent (7%) on her overpayments running

from the date of contribution.

9. Counsel for the plaintiffs are entitled by Section

706(k) of the Act (42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(k)) to

reasonable attorneys’ fees payable by the defendants.

Dated: June 20, 1975.

HARRY PREGERSON

Harry Pregerson

United States District Judge

— 1

APPENDIX C.

Opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

(Amended: December 23, 1976)

United States Court of Appeals, for the Ninth Cir-

cuit.

Marie Manhart, et al., Plaintiffs-Appellees, vs. City

of Los Angeles, Department of Water and Power,

a body corporate and politic, et al., Defendants-Appel-

lants. No. 75-2729, No. 75-2807, No. 75-2905.

[November 23, 1976]

Appeal from the United States District Court for

the Central District of California

Before: CHAMBERS, DUNIWAY and KILKENNY,

Circuit Judges

DUNIWAY, Circuit Judge:

The question presented in this case is whether a

retirement plan which requires women employees to

contribute from their wages 15% more than similarly

situated male employees because of the longer average

life expectancy of women violates the Civil Rights

Act of 1964, Title VII, as amended by the Equal

Employment Opportunity Act of 1972, 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000e-2. The district court held that the plan violated

Title VII,’ enjoined the employer from charging the

1The relevant provision of Title VII reads:

§ 2000e-2

(a) It shall be an unlawful employment practice for an

employer—

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge any individual,

or otherwise to discriminate against any individual with

respect to his compensation, terms, conditions, or priv-

= of employment, because of such individual’s race,

or, religion, sex, or national origin.

-_ . e

higher contribution rate against women, and awarded

a refund of all excess contributions made on or after

April 5, 1972. Manhart v. City of Los Angeles, De-

partment of Water and Power, C.D. Cal., 1975, 387

F.Supp. 980.

This is a class action brought by women employees

and retirees of the City of Los Angeles, Department

of Water and Power [hereinafter “Department”]. The

defendants are the Department, the members of the

Board of Commissioners of the Department, the mem-

bers of the Board of Administration of the Department’s

Employees’ Retirernent, Disability, and Death Benefit

Insurance Plan, the Department’s chief accounting offi-

cer, and the Department’s general manager.

All employees of the Department are required to

participate in the established retirement plan which

is funded and managed solely within the Department.

Each employee must make a monthly contribution to

the retirement plan, and the Department matches that

contribution 110%. These funds are deposited with

the city treasurer but are kept separate and apart

from all other monies of the city. The chief accounting

employee of the Department is the only person au-

thorized to withdraw money from the retirement ac-

count.

The aspect of this program which gives rise to this

case is that women employees are required to contribute

approximately 15% more than men employees who

are identically situated. The Department’s justification

is that because women get the same monthly benefits

upon retiring and because, on the average, they live

approximately five years longer, they must, as a group,

contribute more.

~~

_—

In June of 1973, the International Brotherhood of

Electrical Workers, Local #18, representing the named

plaintiffs, filed a charge with the Equal Employment

Opportunity Commission [EEOC] alleging that the

higher contribution requirement for women was sex

discrimination in violation of the Civil Rights Acts

of 1871 and 1964. The United States Department

of Justice issued a Notice of Right to Sue letter in

September of 1973, and this action was filed during

that same month.

In their second amended complaint, filed on July

18, 1974, the plaintiffs stated four separate claims

for relief, each of which, however, was based upon

the same set of facts. The first claim was based upon

Title VII, the second upon the Civil Rights Act of

1871, 42 U.S.C. § 1983, the third upon the Fourteenth

Amendment to the Constitution, and the fourth, a

pendent claim, upon Article 1, §§ 1 and 21, of the

Constitution of California.

The plaintiffs’ first amended complaint had also as-

serted claims resting on the same four theories, but

had not set them up as separate claims. On March

26, 1974, the court granted in part and denied in

part the defendants’ motion to dismiss. It granted the

motion of the Department, the two boards, and their

members in their capacities as members, to dismiss

the claim that was based upon 42 U.S.C. § 1983,

on the ground that the Department and the Board

are not “persons” within the meaning of that section.

It denied the motion of the Board members in their

individual capacities to dismiss the § 1983 claim, hold-

ing that they are “persons,” and that they are not

immune from suit under § 1983. It granted the motion

Ye

of all defendants to dismiss the § 1983 claim insofar

as any of it accrued more than three years before

the action was filed on September 26, 1973. It denied

the motion to dismiss the Title VII claim, except that

it granted the motion as to any claim arising before

March 24, 1972. It dismissed the claim under the

California Constitution. It did not rule on the claim

under the Fourteenth Amendment. And it allowed 20

days for the filing of a second amended complaint.

After the second amended complaint was filed, no

motion was made by any of the defendants to strike

or otherwise dispose of those of the allegations that

were inconsistent with the court’s order of March 26,

1974.

On June 20, 1975, the court granted the plaintiffs’

motion for summary judgment, holding that the plan

violated Title VII. On the same day it entered a

judgment, declaring that the plan, insofar as it requires

larger contributions from female employees than from

their male counterparts, violates Title VII, and specifi-

cally § 701(a)(1) (42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a)). The

judgment also enjoins requiring larger contributions

from females and orders that the Department refund

the excess contributions collected on and after April

5, 1972, plus interest at 7%, and that defendants

pay counsel for plaintiffs’ reasonable attorneys’ fees.

The judgment says nothing about the claims based

on § 1983, the Fourteenth Amendment, or the Califor-

nia Constitution.

On July 7, 1975, the defendants appealed from

the judgment. This appeal is our No. 75-2729. On

July 11, 1975, the plaintiffs appealed from “that portion

of the judgment . . . which denies relief to the plaintiffs

_ va

based on the causes of action and defendants dismissed

by the Court in its Order Granting and Denying in

Part Defendants Motion to Dismiss, entered on or

about March 26, 1974.” This appeal is our No. 75-

2807. On July 17, the district judge denied a motion

by the defendants for a stay of the judgment. They

appealed on July 30, 1975. This is our No. 75-2905.

We later entered an order staying the judgment pending

appeal, insofar as it requires the refund of contributions.

After oral argument before us, and in response to

an inquiry from the bench, counsel for plaintiffs stipu-

lated, and we ordered, that the plaintiffs “have hereto-

fore abandoned all claims under 42 U.S.C. § 1983

against individual officials in their individual capaci-

ties.”

I. Our Jurisdiction.

A. No. 75-2729.

The judgment of J: ae 20, 1975, embodies an injunc-

tion against requiring large. contributions from women

than from men, and requiring restitution of excess

contributions previously paid. As an injunction, it is

appealable under 28 U.S.C. § 1292(a)(1). It is not

appealable as a final judgment under 28 U.S.C. §

1291. It does not dispose of any claim except the

claim under Title VII. It runs only against the defend-

ants, the Department, the two Boards, and their mem-

bers as such, but not the defendant members individual-

ly. It says nothing about the claims or defendants

dismissed in the district court’s order of March 26,

1974. There is no “express determination that there

is no just reason for delay” nor “express direction

for the entry of judgment.” (F. R. Civ. P. 54(b)).

—C-6—

B. No. 75-2807.

We have no jurisdiction of this appeal. The judg-

ment does not do what the notice of appeal says

that it does. The order of March 26, 1974, was inier-

locutory. It did not purport to determine any issue

finally. It permitted amendment of the complaint, and

the amendment restated, separately, all of the claims

asserted but commingled in the original complaint.

The plaintiffs were entitled to amend as they did,

and the defendants, to protect their record, should

have called to the attention of the court the fact

that the amended complaint did not fully comply with

the court’s order of March 26, 1974. The court was

not required to reconsider that order but the defendants

should have at least suggested that it embody in its

subsequent judgment the decision that it made in its

March 26, 1974, order, thus disposing of the plaintiffs’

claims. The claims remain pending because the judg-

ment does not dispose of them. We have no jurisdic-

tion in No. 75-2807.

It is no answer to say that the plaintiffs have volun-

tarily abandoned their claims under 42 U.S.C. § 1983

against the individual defendants. That abandonment

binds the plaintiffs, but it does not affect their claims

against the Department and its Boards and their mem-

bers and employees in their official capacities under

§ 1983. Those claims are still pending in the district

court and are not properly before us.

C. No. 75-2905.

Because we have granted a stay, and because we

are now affirming the judgment in No. 75-2729, this

appeal is moot.

_..

Il. The Merits of the Judgment.

The basis of the defendants’ appeal is that, while

requiring women to make larger contributions discrimi-

nates against women, there is a sound basis for the

requirement, making it a discrimination based on lon-

gevity, not sex, and therefore not the kind of invidious

discrimination that Title VII was intended to abol-

ish. We disagree.

It is undisputed that the overriding purpose of Title

VII is to require employers to treat each employee

(or prospective employee) as an individual, and to

make job related decisions about each employee on

the basis of relevant individual characteristics, so that

the employee’s membership in a racial, ethnic, religious,

or sexual group is irrelevant to the decisions. See

Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 1971, 401 U.S. 424, 436.

To require every individual woman to contribute 15%

more into the retirement fund than her male counterpart

must contribute because women “voi the average” live

longer than men is just the kind of abstract generaliza-

tion, applied to individual women because of their

being women, which Title VII was designed to abolish.

Not all women live longer than all men, yet each

individual woman is required to contribute more, not

because she as an individual will live longer, but because

the members of her sexual group, on the average,

live longer.

The Department argues, however, that Congress did

not intend Title VII to prohibit drawing sexual distinc-

tions when there is a statistically valid basis for doing

so and when it is impossible to determine ahead of

time when the individual employee is going to die.

Thus it is argued that, because it is undisputed that

_..

women on the average do live longer, and because

it is not possible to predict which women will actually

live longer, Title VII ought to permit a higher contribu-

tion requirement for all women.

The problem raised by this case is unique. There

have been two basic policies which have guided the

courts in prior Title VII litigation: (1) the policy

against attributing general group characteristics to each

individual member of the group, the major thrust of

the statute, and (2) the policy allowing relevant employ-

ment factors to be considered in differentiating among

individuals. See Bernstein & Williams, Title VII and

the Problem of Sex Classifications in Pension Programs,

74 Col. L. Rev. 1203, 1219 (1974). Heretofore, these

two policies have not conflicted because in cases where

general group characteristics were attributed to the

individual employee, the relevant employment character-

istics were capable of being individually measured. Id.

at 1220. For example, in Rosenfeld v. So. Pacific

Co., 9 Cir., 1971, 444 F.2d 1219, we held that refus-

ing to hire women for positions which entailed long

hours and heavy physical effort violated Title VII

because it entailed attributing the generally weaker

physique of women to all women. An important basis

of our decision was the fact that each individual woman

applicant could actually be tested to see whether the

relevant characteristic of strength was or was not in

fact lacking.

This same consideration has been present in cases

finding illegal: (1) the refusal to allow women to

work overtime because of a belief that women as

a group cannot work the long hours that men can,

Schaeffer v. San Diego Yellow Cabs, Inc., 9 Cir.,

- =

1972, 462 F.2d 1002; (2) the forced retirement of

all women at an earlier age than men because of

a belief that; on the average, men were capable of

adequate performance longer than women, Rosen v.

Public Service Electric and Gas Co., 3 Cir., 1973,

477 F.2d 90, Bartmess v. Drewrys U.S.A., Inc., 7

Cir., 1971, 444 F.2d 1186; (3) the termination of

women employees who married because of a belief

that, on the average, women could not work effectively

and keep an adequate home life, Sprogis v. United

Air Lines, Inc., 7 Cir., 1971, 444 F.2d 1194; (4)

the refusal to hire men as flight attendants because

men, on the average, are said to be emotionally unsuited

for that type of work, Diaz v. Pan Am. World Airways,

Inc.. 5 Cir., 1971, 442 F.2d 385; (5) the refusal

to hire women as telephone switchmen because of

a belief that, on the average, women are incapable

of working the long hours and doing the leavy lifting

involved, Weeks v. Southern Bell Telephone & Tele-

graph Co., 5 Cir., 1969, 408 F.2d 228; (6) requiring

pregnant women to take mandatory leave after six

months of pregnancy because, on the average, pregnant

women are supposed to be incapable of working ade-

quately after that point, Berg v. Richmond Unified

School Dist., 9 Cir., 1975, 528 F.2d 1208; (7) the

refusal to hire women with preschool children because

of a belief that family responsibilities would interfere

with their job performance, Phillips v. Martin Marietta

Corp., 1971, 400 U.S. 542.

In the present case a relevant characteristic in deter-

mining how large an individual’s retirement contribution

should be is an informed prediction as to how long

the person will live. But this characteristic, unlike those

1p

in the prior cases, is impossible to determine on an

individual basis at the time when the contribution must

be made. Thus, the policy of allowing relevant factors

to be considered can be met only by allowing the

group longevity statistics to be attributed to the in-

dividual members of the group. Yet this is exactly

what the thrust of Title VII prohibits. We are therefore

faced with the unique case in which the policy against

per se discrimination directly conflicts with the policy

of allowing relevant factors to be considered.

To support its argument that the actuarial distinctions

are permitted under Title VII, the Department points

to both the “bona fide occupational qualification excep-

tion” in 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(e) and the Bennett

Amendment to Title VII, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(h).

Reconciliation of the conflicting policies noted above

would be easy if Congress had specifically covered

the kind of actuarial distinction that is before us in one

of the exceptions which the Department cites. Both,

however, are very general and have no language relating

to actuarially determined discrimination, much less to

pension plans.

A. The Bona Fide Occupational Qualification

[BFOQ] Exception.

Title 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(e) states that an employer

may discriminate on the basis of religion, sex, or na-

tional origin “where religion, sex, or national origin

is a bona fide occupational qualification reasonably

necessary to the normal operation of that particular

business or enterprise.” EEOC, which is charged with

administering and enforcing Title VII and whose inter-

pretations of that statute are entitled to great deference,

x)

Griggs v. Duke Power Co., supra, 401 U.S. at 433-

34; Hutchinson v. Lake Oswego School Dist. #7, 9

Cir., 1975, 519 F.2d 961, 965, has issued guidelines

directing that the BFOQ exception “be interpreted nar-

rowly.” 29 C.F.R. § 1604.2(a). In one of the few

cases ruling on this exception, the Fifth Circuit has

said:

the use of the word “necessary” in [§$ 2000e-

2(e)] requires that we apply a business necessity

test, not a business convenience test. That is to

say, discrimination based on sex is valid only

when the essence of the business operation would

be undermined... .

Diaz v. Pan Am. World Airways, Inc., supra,

442 F.2d at 388 [italics in original].

See also Weeks v. Southern Bell Telephone & Tele-

graph Co., supra, 408 F.2d at 232.

Discriminating against women in setting the amount

of retirement contributions in no way affects the ability

of the Department to provide water and power to

the citizens of Los Angeles. Even if it could be said

that the relevant business function here involved is

that of providing employees with a stable and secure

pension program there is no showing that sexual dis-

crimination is necessary to protect the essence of that

function. Actuarial distinctions arguably enhance the

ability of the employer and the pension administrators

to predict costs and benefits more accurately, but it

cannot be said that providing a financially sound pen-

sion plan requires an actuarial classification based whol-

ly on sex. This is especially true when distinctions

based on many other longevity factors (e.g., smoking

and drinking habits, normality of weight, prior medical

Sip

history, family longevity history) are not used in deter-

mining contribution levels. Thus, we find that the BFOQ

exception does not permit the sexual classification chal-

lenged in this case.

B. The Bennett Amendment.

In its original proposed form, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-

2(h) stated that discrimination among employees was

permitted if based on a bona fide seniority or merit

system, a system rewarding quantity or quality of pro-

duction, different work locations, or professionally de-

veloped ability tests. Because the inclusion of “sex”

as one of the categories of discrimination made illegal

by Title VII was done by last minute amendment,

received almost no attention, and produced no legislative

history, see 110 Cong. Rec. 2720 (Rep. Green’s re-

marks, Feb. 10, 1964); Berstein & Williams, supra,

74 Col. L. Rev. at 1216-17, Senator Bennett became

concerned that the Act might inadvertently conflict

with the Equal Pay Act of 1963, which had received

careful attention the year before. Therefore, he pro-

posed, and Congress approved, an amendment to §

2000e-2(h), which reads:

It shall not be an unlawful employment practice

under this subchapter for any employer to differ-

entiate upon the basis of sex in determining the

amount of the wages or compensation paid or

to be paid to employees of such employer if such

differentiation is authorized by the provisions of

section 206(d) of Title 29 [the Equal Pay Act].

Title 29 U.S.C. § 206(d)(1), which was thus incor-

porated into the Civil Rights Act of 1964 by the

Bennett Amendment, says that it shall be unlawful

to discriminate on the basis of sex in paying wages:

—-13—

except where such payment is made pursuant to

(i) a seniority system; (ii) a merit system; (iii)

a system which measures earnings by quantity

or quality of production; or (iv) a differential

based on any other factor other than sex.

It is exception iv which the Department says permits

the kind of actuarially based discrimination that is

in question here. However, it does not seem reasonable

to us to say that an actuarial distinction based entirely

on sex is “based on any other factor other than sex.”

Sex is exactly what it is based on.

Additionally, the legislative history of the Equal Pay

Act indicates that the general language of § 206(d)(1)

was not intended to exempt pension plans, or any

actuarially based employee program, from its coverage.

The House Committee on Education and Labor, which

reported out the E.ual Pay Act, commented on the

exceptions as follows:

Three specific exceptions and one broad general

exception are also listed. It is the intent of this

committee that any discrimination based upon any

of these exceptions shall be exempted from the

operation of this statute. As it is impossible to

list each and every exception, the broad general

exclusion has been also included. Thus, among

other things, shift differentials, restrictions on or

differences based on time of day worked, hours

of work, lifting or moving heavy objects, differ-

ences based on experience, training, or ability

would also be excluded. It also recognizes certain

special circumstances, such as “red circle rates.”

This term is borrowed from War Labor Board

parlance and describes certain unusual, higher than

14

normal wage rates which are maintained for many

valid reasons. For instance, it is not uncom-

mon for an employer who must reduce help in

a skilled job to transfer employees to other less

demanding jobs but to continue to pay them a

premium rate in order to have them available

when they are again needed for their former jobs.

House Report #309 to accompany H.R. 6060,

May 20, 1963, Committee on Labor and Educa-

tion, reprinted in 1963 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.

News 687, 689 (88th Cong., Ist sess. ).

This is the only legislative history coming from the

House concerning the exceptions upon which the De-

partment relies. It seems clear that, at least in the

House, exception iv was seen only as a catch-all cate-

gory which would permit distinctions similar to those

based on seniority, merit, or production but which do

not literally fall into any of those categories, and not a

disguised grant of legitimacy for pension plan discrim-

ination based on sex.”

The report of the Senate Committee on Labor and

Public Welfare indicates that, unlike the House com-

mittee, the Senate committee did specifically consider

how pension and insurance plans would fit into the

scheme of the Equal Pay Act. It commented:

Furthermore, questions can legitimately be raised

as to the accuracy of defining such costs as pension

and welfare payments as related to sex. It has

2It is especially significant that the Committee made no

mention of pension plans, because the problem was specifically

brought to its attention during the —s conducted on the

Equal Pay Act. Hearings before the House Special Subcommittee

on Education & Labor, 88th Cong., Ist sess., 1963 (Equal

Pay Act, H.R. 3861) at p. 103.

nf 3$-—

been pointed out that the higher susceptibility

of men to disabling injury can result in a greater

cost to the employer, and that these figures as

to health and welfare costs can only be applied

plant-wide. It may be that it is more expensive

to hire women in one department but it is more

expensive to hire men in another, and overall

cost figures may demonstrate conclusively that the

employer has made a sound decision to hire women

and pay them on an equal basis.

It is the intention of the committee that where

it can be shown that, on the basis of all of

the elements of the employment costs of both

men and women, an employer will be economical-

ly penalized by the elimination of a wage dif-

ferential, the Secretary can permit an exception

similar to those he can permit for a bona fide

seniority system or other exception mentioned

above. &

Senate Report #176 to accompany S. 1409, May

13, 1963, Committee on Labor and Public Welfare,

at p. 4 (88th Cong., Ist sess. ).

This seems to indicate that the Senate had a broader

view of exception iv than did the House in that, when

an employer can demonstrate that he incurs significant

costs because of employing a particular sex, exception

iv would allow the Secretary of Labor, through the

Wage-Hour Administrator, to grant an exception from

the provisions of the Act.

However, in this case there is nothing in the record

to show, and the Department does not claim, that

it requires higher contributions from women because

it would be economically penalized if it did not; it

a "

requires the higher contributions only because it be-

lieves that the pension fund itself will thereby be better

funded and easier to administer. Thus, whatever the

Senate committee had in mind about the Equal Pay

Act, it would not, when grafted onto the provisions

of Title VII, be the kind, of broad exception to the

rule against per se discrimination which the Department

needs to justify the contribution rate differential here

involved. Neither the clear language of the statute,

§ 206(d)(1), nor the legislaive history supports the

Department’s position.

Nonetheless, the Department -points to a dialogue

between Senator Humphrey, the floor manager of the

1964 Civil Rights Act, and Senator Randolph, which

occurred during the floor debate on the 1964 Act

(not the Equal Pay Act) and Title VII.

SEN. RANDOLPH: Mr. President, I wish to

ask of the Senator from Minnesota [Mr. Hum-

phrey], who is the effective manager of the pend-

ing bill, a clarifying question on the provisions

of title VII.

I have in mind that the social security system,

in certain respects, treats men and women different-

ly. For example, widows’ benefits are paid automat-

ically; but a widower qualifies only if he is dis-

abled or if he was actually supported by his de-

ceased wife. Also, the wife of a retired employee

entitled to social security receives an additional

old age benefit; but the husband of such an em-

ployee does not. These differences in treatment

as I recall, are of long standing. Am I correct,

I ask the Senator from Minnesota, in assuming

that similar differences of treatment in industrial

benefit plans, including earlier retirement options

—C-17—

for women, may continue in operation under this

bill, if it becomes law?

SEN. HUMPHREY: Yes. That point was

made unmistakably clear earlier today by the adop-

tion of the Bennett amendment; so there can be

no doubt about it.

110 Cong. Rec. 13663-64, June 12, 1964.

Although this does seem to give support to the

Department’s position, we do not find it to be persua-

sive legislative history. The discussion occurred hours

after passage of the Bennett Amendment and cannot

be said to be part of the legislative history of that

amendment. The Department claims that although the

statement was made after the Bennett Amendment was

adopted, it was still made before the Senate voted

on the entire Civil Rights Act. Thus, it claims that

Senator Randolph and others who may have wanted

to preserve such distinctions were misled into not offer-

ing a further amendment for that purpose. This argu-

ment might have some merit were it not for the fact

that the same Congress (the 88th) passed both the

Civil Rights Act and the Equal Pay Act, and it seems

unlikely that Senator Humphrey’s erroneous interpreta-

tion of the latter misled many, if any, senators. It

certainly misled no members of the House. So far

as appears, members of the House never heard of

it.

We note, too, that every case that has considered

whether sex-based early retirement options violate Title

VII has held that they do, although it does not appear

that the colloquy between Senators Randolph and Hum-

phrey was called to the attention of the courts. See

Chastang v. Flynn and Emrich Co., 4 Cir., 1976,

.... F.2d .... (slip op. June 10, 1976); Rosen v. Public

—f-1§—

Service Electric & Gas Co., supra; Bartmess v. Drewrys

U.S.A., Inc., supra; Fitzpatrick v. Bitzer, D. Conn.,

1974, 390 F. Supp. 278, 287-88, aff'd, 2 Cir., 1975,

519 F.2d 559, rev’d on other grounds, 1976, .... U.S.

iat See also Peters v. Missouri Pacific R. Co., 5

Cir., 1973, 483 F.2d 490, 492, n.3.

As we have noted, Senator Humphrey’s remark re-

flects an erroneous interpretation of the Equal Pay

Act. Because all that the Bennett Amendment did

was to incorporate the exemptions of the Equal Pay

Act into Title VII, it is questionable whether the Sena-

tor’s statement, made during the debates on the incorpo-

rating statute, would be significant when it erroneously

interprets the incorporated statute.

The Department cites as additional authority interpre-

tations of the Equal Pay Act by the Administrator

of the Wage and Hour Division of the Department

of Labor. As the official charged with enforcing and

interpreting the Equal Pay Act, his interpretations of

that Act are entitled to great deference. Udall v. Tal-

man, 1965, 380 U.S. 1. However, the interpretation

relied on by the Department, appearing at 29 C.F.R.

§ 800.116(d), merely states that in providing benefit

plans for employees through outside insurers an em-

ployer does not violate the Equal Pay Act if either

the amount contributed by the employer for each em-

ployee is the same and resulting benefits are different

or if the amount of the benefit is the same while

the employer contributions differ. While this reflects

the Wage-Hour Administrator’s general thinking, it does

not deal directly with our case of an employer requir-

ing greater pension plan contributions from women

employees when the plan is funded and administered

by the employer and its employees.

so

We note, too, that to the extent that the Wage-

Hour Administrator’s interpretation does deal with the

present case, his interpretation conflicts with that of

EEOC, which administers Title VII and whose interpre-

tations of Title VII must be given great deference.

Therefore, the EEOC interpretations of the Bennett

Amendment are worthy of more deference than are

those of the Wage-Hour Administrator relating to the

Equal Pay Act. The EEOC regulation, 29 C.F.R. §

1604.9(e & f), makes it a violation of Title VII

where a benefit plan provides unequal benefits to em-

ployees even if employer contributions are equal. How-

ever, like the Wage-Hour Administrator’s, these regula-

tions do not squarely cover the present case. Thus,

the Department’s reliance on administrative interpreta-

tion is misplaced.

Our opinion of the effect of Title VII in this case

is reinforced by the fact that following the passage

of Title VII Congress did expressly exempt actuarially

based pension and retirement funds from the provisions

of the Age Discrimination Act of 1967, 29 U.S.C.

§ 623(f)(2). In fact, during deliberations on the 1964

Civil Rights Act, Senator Smathers moved to add “age”

as one of the types of discrimination made illegal

by Title VII, but the amendment was defeated in

part because of a concern that inclusion of “age”

as a Title VII protected category might have “tre-

mendous implications” on industrial group insurance

and pensions. Equal Employment Opportunity Com-

mission, Legislative History of Titles VII and IX of

Civil Rights Act-of 1964, at 3174 (1968). This tends

to indicate that Congress did foresee that actuarially

based plans would fall under the provisions of Title

VII, and that it felt that age discrimination, but not

-62p—

sex discrimination, on such a basis was proper. Thus,

by not adding “age” to Title VII in 1964 and not

making a pension plan exception to its terms for “sex,”

and by later prohibiting age discrimination in a separate

bill which does make a pension plan exception to

its terms for age, Congress gave a strong indication

that it did intend to place sex discrimination in pension

and retirement plans, even when based on actuarially

sound tables, within the type of discrimination forbidden

by Title VII.

We emphasize that our holding rests on the clear

policy behind Title VII of requiring that each employee

be treated as an individual. Setting retirement contribu-

tion rates solely on the basis of sex is a failure to

treat each employee as an individual; it treats each

employee only as a member of one sex. We do not

pass judgment on the legality of a plan which determines

contribution rates based on a significant number of

actuarially determined characteristics, one of which is

sex. Our holding is limited to the proposition that

when sex is singled out as the only, or as a predom-

inant, factor, the employee is being treated in the

manner which Title VII forbids.

One district court case has dealt with a situation

very similar to ours. In Henderson v. Oregon, D.

Ore., 1975, 405 F. Supp. 1271, the court relied heavily

on the lower court decision in the present case in

holding a scheme similar to that involved here illegal

under Title VII.

Our holding agrees with the only administrative rul-

ing dealing with the exact question before us, one

made by the EEOC, EEOC Dec. #75-146, Jan. 13,

1975, 2 CCH Employment Practices 4190, ¢ 6447.

—O3i—

Relying in part on its earlier interpretation, noted supra,

the Commission held:

An inescapable corollary to this principle is that

an employer may not require a higher contribu-

tion from members of one sex where benefits

to members of both sexes are the same.

[This] is based upon the fundamental Title VII

precept that generalizations relating to sex, race,

religion, and national origin cannot be permitted

to influence the terms and conditions of an in-

dividual’s employment, even where the generaliza-

tions are statistically valid.

Ill. The Reimbursement Issue.

The Department finally argues that even if the higher

contribution required of women violates Title VII, it

would be unfair to refund to the plaintiffs the amounts

that they contributed in excess of the amounts that

similarly situated male employees contributed. The De-

partment says that it was acting in good faith in

that it believed that state law requiring that retirement

plans be run on a “sound actuarial basis” (Cal. Gov't

Code § 45342) mandated the use of sex-based actuarial

tables, and that paying these contributions back to

the women employees would leave the retirement plan

underfunded.

The rule that we have adopted relating to monetary

awards for past violations of Title VII is stated in

Schaeffer v. San Diego Yellow Cabs, Inc., 9 Cir.,

1972, 462 F.2d 1002.

In the case of damages of this naturs, a court

must balance the various equities between the

parties and decide upon a result which is consistent

—aa—

with the purposes of the Equal Employment Op-

portunities Act, and the fundamental concepts of

fairness. Jd. at 1006.

The defendant in Schaeffer argued that in denying

women overtime work it has relied in good faith on

a state statute requiring that women not work more

than eight hours a day, and that therefore it was

unfair to make it pay damages for an unwitting viola-

tion. We rejected that defense with the following com-

ment:

Rather than drawing any hard and fast rule con-

cerning the defense of good faith reliance on a

state statute, we believe that in each case the merits

of the plaintiff's claim and the public policy be-

hind it must be balanced against the hardship

on a good faith employer. Jd. at 1007.

Applying this test to the case at bar, we find that

the district court did not abuse its discretion in award-

ing plaintiffs a refund of their excess contributions.

In the first place, the state statute requiring that

such plans be administered on a sound actuarial basis

by no means requires that the Department use sex-

based, and only sex-based, distinctions. In Schaeffer.

where we found a back pay award proper, the statute

prohibiting women from working more than eight hours

a day placed a much greater compulsion on the em-

ployer to refuse women overtime work than the statute

in the present case placed on the Department to re-

quire higher retirement contributions.

Second, Schaeffer was a case where back pay was

awarded to women for work that they did not perform

but which they had sought. The plaintiffs did not

—AZG—

earn the award; they were merely denied the opportunity

to earn it. This case involves restitution, a situation

where the plaintiffs actually earned the amount in

question, but then had it taken from them in violation

of Title VII. It is one of the primary purposes of

Title VII, to “make persons whole for injuries suffered

on account of unlawful employment discrimination.”

Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 1975, 422 U.S. 405,

418. In light of this purpose we find plaintiffs’ claim

to recover money rightfully theirs to be very compelling.

In contrast to the plaintiffs’ compelling claim, we

find the Department’s “good faith” defense to be less

than compelling. The Supreme Court has recently com-

mented on this “good faith” defense as follows:

But, under Title VII, the mere absence of bad

faith simply opens the door to equity; it does

not depress the scales in the employer’s favor. If

backpay were awardable only upon a showing

of bad faith, the remedy would become a punish-

ment for moral turpitude, rather than a compensa-

tion for workers’ injuries. This would read the

“make whole” purpose right out of Title VII,

for a worker’s injury is no less real siinply because

his employer did not inflict it in “bad faith.”

Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, supra, 42? U.S.

at 422.

The impact of returning the excess contributions

to the plaintiffs in this case is far from oppressive.

The amount involved is only 15% of the contributions

made by a minority of the Department’s employees

for the 33-month period from April 5, 1972, to De-

cember 31, 1974. This might leave the plan somewhat

underfunded, but a number of solutions to that problem

—C-24—

are readily available. Benefits could be lowered. Cur-

rent contributions from all employees could be in-

creased. The Department could raise its matching per-

centage on current contributions, or it could make

a lump sum payment into the fund to offset the reim-

bursements. However, whatever the adjustments that

would have to be made, we do not find that the

burden on the pension plan or the Department is

sufficient to offset the compelling claim of the plaintiffs

to recover the money which they were wrongfully re-

quired to contribute. See also Rosen v. Public Service

Electric and Gas Co., supra, 477 F.2d at 95-96.

In No. 75-2729, the judgment is affirmed.

In No. 75-2807, the appeal is dismissed.

In No. 75-2905, the appeal is dismissed as moot.

The stay heretofore granted by this court will expire

when the mandate issues.

APPENDIX D.

MANHART v. CITY OF LOS ANGELES, DEPT. OF WATER & POWER 699

Marie MANHART et al.,

Plaintiffs- Appellees,

v.

CITY OF LOS ANGELES, DEPART-

MENT OF WATER AND POWER, a

body corporate and politic, et al., De-

fendants-Appellants.

Nos. 75-2729, 75-2807 and 75-2905.

United States Court of Appeals,

Ninth Circuit.

April 18, 1977.

Suit was brought challenging retire-

ment plan which required women em-

ployees to contribute from their wages

15% more than similarly situated male

employees because of the longer average

life expectancy of women. On motion

for summary judgment, the United

States District Court for the Central Dis-

trict of California, Harry Pregerson, J.,

held that the plan violated Title VII of

the Civil Rights Act of 1964, enjoined

the municipal employer from charging

the higher contribution rate against

women, awarded a refund of all excess

contributions made on or after April 5,

1972, and the defendants appealed. The

Court of Appeals, Duniway, Circuit

Judge, held, inter alia, that the retire-

ment plan was violative of Title VII,

notwithstanding defendants’ claim that

the discrimination was based on longevi-

ty, not sex, and was not the kind of

invidious discrimination thai Title VII

intended to abolish. On petition for

rehearing, the Court of Appeals, Duni-

way, Circuit Judge, held that the Su-

preme Court’s recent “General Electric”

decision, which held that the exclusion of

pregnancy from a program of disability

insurance is not discrimination based on

sex as such, did not require a change in

the judgment entered.

Petition for rehearing denied.

Kilkenny, Circuit Judge, filed a dis-

senting opinion.

Federal Courts #925

Court of Appeals’ prior determina-

tion that retirement plan, which required

women employees to contribute from

their wages 15% more than similarly sit-

uated male employees, violated Title VII

of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 was not

affected by Supreme Court’s recent

“General Electric” decision, which held

that the exclusion of pregnancy from a

program of disability insurance is not

discrimination based on sex as such,

since the pension plan in question was

clearly discriminatory on the basis of

sex, since, unlike the situation in “Gener-

al Electric,” the plan was facially dis-

criminatory, and since, again unlike the

“General Electric” situation, there were

no inconsistent administrative rulings.

On Petition for Rehearing.

Before CHAMBERS, DUNIWAY and

KILKENNY, Circuit Judges.

DUNIWAY, Circuit Judge:

Appellants petition for a rehearing

and suggest a rehearing in banc. Their

principal reliance is upon the decision of

the Supreme Court in Genera! Electric

Co. v. Gilbert, 1976, US. --—-, 97

S.Ct. 401, 50 L.Ed.2d 343, which was de-

cided on December 7, 1976, just two

weeks after our decision was filed on

November 23, 1976. We conclude that

the General Electric case does not re-

quire a change in our judgment, for sev-

eral reasons.

Synopses, Syllabi and Key Number Classification

COPYRIGHT © 1977, by WEST PUBLISHING CO

The Synopses, Syllabi and Key Number Classifi-

cation constitute no part of the opinion of the court

a

ee ey OS 2 ee ee es ee

76 MANHART v. CITY OF LOS ANGELES, DEPT. OF WATER & POWER

First, in that case, as in Geduldig v.

Aiello, 1974, 417 U.S. 484, 94 S.Ct. 2485,

41 L.Ed.2d 256, upon which the Court

primarily relied, the facts were different

from the facts in the case at bar. In

each of those cases, a program of disabil-

ity insurance was involved, and in each

pregnancy was excluded as a disability.

The Court held that the exclusion was

not a discrimination based upon gender

as such. It pointed out that the exclu-

sion of pregnancy as a disability “divides

potential recipients [of benefits] into two

groups—pregnant women and nonpreg-

nant persons. While the first group is

exclusively female, the second includes

members of both sexes.” General Elec-

tric, supra, —— U.S. at , 97 S.Ct. at

407, quoting from Geduldig, supra, 417

U.S. at 496-97, n. 20, 94 S.Ct. 2485.

Thus, said the Court, the exclusion of

pregnancy “was not in itself discrimina-

tion based on sex,” —— US. , at

, 97 S.Ct. 401, at 407.

The same cannot be said of the pen-

sion plan of the Department in the case

at bar. A greater amount is deducted

from the wages of every woman employ-

ee than from the wages of every man

employee whose rate of pay is the same.

How can it possibly be said that this

discrimination is not based on sex? It is

based upon a presumed characteristic of

women as a whole, longevity, and it dis-

regards every other factor that is known

to affect longevity. The higher contri-

bution is required specifically and only

from women as distinguished from men.

To say that the difference is not based

on sex is to play with words.

In addition, as the Court pointed out

in Genera! Electric, under the disability

programs in that case and in Geduldig,

“The ‘package’ going to relevant identi-

fiable groups . . .—male and fe-

male employees—covers exactly the

same categories of risk, and is facially

nondiscriminatory in the sense that

‘{t}here is no risk from which men are

and women are not. Likewise,

there is no risk from which women are

protected and men are not.’ Geduldig,

417 U.S. at 496-97, 94 S.Ct. at 2492”

General Electric, —— U.S. »P- ;

97 S.Ct. 401, p. 409. “[G)jender-based dis-

crimination does not result simply be-

cause an employer's disability benefits

plan is less than all inclusive.” Id. at

———., 97 S.Ct. at 409 (footnote omitted).

The pension plan in the case at bar is

different. The monthly benefit is the

same for men and for women, but the

cost to women is higher than the cost to

men, and this is solely because they are

women. Thus the plan is facially dis-

criminatory because, while the plan is all

inclusive as to retirement benefits, it is

discriminatory, on the basis of sex alone,

as to costs to the employees.

Finally the Court’s opinion in General

Electric requires that we reconsider our

analysis of the legislative history of the

Bennett Amendment (see part II. B. of

our opinion). However, upon that recon-

sideration, we conclude that a different

result is not required in this case. Ap-

pellants stress the Court’s reliance, in

Genera! Electric, upon the colloquy be-

tween Senators Humphrey and Ran-

dolph, discussed in Genera] Electric at

— US. , at , 97 S.Ct. 401 at

412, and in our opinion at ——— - ——-

(slip op. at 12-13). We did not find it to

be persuasive legislative history; the Su-

preme Court did find it persuasive. We

are, of course, bound by that conclusion,

but we do not think that it follows that

the judgment in this case is erroneous.

In General Electric, the Court relied

also, and, we think, more heavily, on rul-

ings of the Wage and Hour Administra-

tor construing the Equal Pay Act, and

nell cin

MANHART v. CITY OF LOS ANGELES, DEPT. OF WATER & POWER 701

on the fact that EEOC rulings were in-

consistent with each other as well as

with the rulings of the Administrator

(—— U.S. ——-, at ——- - ——,, 97 S.Ct.

401 at 411-412). In our case, there are

no such inconsistencies.

In his brief as amicus curiae in this

case, the Secretary of Labor points out

that he (or the Administrator acting for

him) “has never approved a practice of

requiring women employees to make

contributions to a pension plan which are

larger than those required of similarly

situated men employees.” (Brief at 6)

The rulings of the Secretary on which

the Department relies do not deal with a

requirement that female employees must

make greater contributions to the plan

than male employees, a requirement

which diminishes the current available or

“take home” wages of women, as com-

pared to those of men.

In his June 18, 1964 opinion letter

(BNA’s WHM 95:607), the Administrator

disapproved of a wage differential be-

tween men and women based upon al-

leged higher costs of employing women,

a part of those costs being for pensions.

In an Interpretive Bulletin issued Febru-

ary 11, 1966 (3 F.R. 2657, 29 C.F.R.

§ 800.151), the Administrator said:

A wage differential based on claimed

differences between the average cost

of employing the employer’s women

workers as a group and the average

cost of employing the men workers as

a group does not qualify as a differen-

tial based on any “factor other than

sex,” and would result in a violation of

the equal pay provisions, if the equal

pay standard otherwise applies. To

group employees solely on the basis of

sex for purposes of comparison of costs

necessarily rests on the assumption

that the sex factor alone may justify

the wage differential—an assumption

plainly contrary to the terms and pur-

poses of the Equal Pay Act. Wage

differentials so based would serve only

to perpetuate and promote the very

discrimination at which the Act is di-

rected, because in any grouping by sex

of the employees to which the cost

data relates, the group cost experience

is necessarily assessed against an indi-

vidual of one sex without regard to

whether it costs an employer more or

less to employ such individual than a

particular individual of the opposite

sex under similar working conditions

in jobs requiring equal skill, effort.

and responsibility.

There are no rulings of the Secretary

or Administrator inconsistent with this.

The one which the Department cites, is-

sued September 9, 1965, and amended

May 6, 1966, 30 F.R. 11504 and 31 F.R.

6770, 29 C.F.R. § 800.116(d) deals with

employer contributions, not compulsory

employee contributions which are here

involved, and which, under 29 C.F.R.

§ 800.151 cannot be unequal.

No ruling of EEOC conflicts with 29

C.F.R. § 800.151. Nor has EEOC taken

inconsistent positions in relation to the

problem before us. Its position is stated

in 29 C.F.R. § 1604.9, issued April 5,

1972, 37 F.R. 6836, and in EEOC Dec.

# 75-146 of Jan. 13, 1975, 2 CCH Em-

ployment Practices 4190, 4 6447, both di--

cussed in our opinion. We know of no

prior inconsistent rulings. Thus this

case is quite unlike General Electric,

where there was conflict between EEOC

rulings and between rulings of EEOC

and those of the Secretary of Labor.

Here, the administrative rulings, as they

relate to the problem before us, are con-

sistent and support the result that we

have reached.

The petition for a rehearing is denied.

The suggestion of a rehearing in banc

a <a

—— a eee sew e

ee NE eR em ee ee wr ee

Oe a ee ee ee

=

702 MANHART v. CITY OF LOS ANGELES, DEPT. OF WATER & POWER

has been transmitted to all judges of the

court, and no judge has requested a vote

on the suggestion. Rule 35(b) F.R.

App.P. The suggestion of a rehearing in

banc is rejected.

KILKENNY, Circuit Judge, dissent-

ing:

I share the views of the majority on

the jurisdictional issues, but have serious

reservations with respect to the manner

in which the majority disposes of the

appellants’ claims in No. 75-2729. In my

opinion, they should have been allowed

to prove their case.

I am convinced that the legal princi-

ples enunciated in General Electric Co. v.

Gilbert, —— U.S. ——, 97 S.Ct. 401, 50

L.Ed.2d 343 (1976), are here controlling

and that the district court erred in

granting a summary judgment against

the appellants. At a minimum, the

court should have conducted a trial on

the issue of whether the appellants’

retirement plan was justified on the ba-

sis of recognized actuarial tables show-

ing the difference in longevity between

males and females. As it now stands,

the lower court here made the same mis-

take as the district court in General

Electric in its refusal to consider any

cost differential defense. As stated by

the Supreme Court:

“The District Court was wrong in as-

suming, as it did, 375 F.Supp., at 383,

that Title VII’s ban on employment

discrimination necessarily means that

‘greater economic benefit[s]’ must be

required to be paid to one sex or the

other because of their differing roles

in ‘the scheme of human existence.’”

Genera! Electric at , 97 S.Ct. at

410, n. 17.!

1. The Supreme Court also noted that the dis-

trict court “ . declined to find that the

present actuarial value of the coverage was

The uncontroverted affidavits in the

record before the district court and now

before us show clearly that women live

substantially longer than men and that

the higher female contribution [approxi-

mately 15% more then male employees]

is fully justified on an actuarial basis.

These affidavits further show that this

plan, like all annuity plans, is based upon

the life expectancy of its beneficiaries,

and that mortality tables in use through-

out the western commercial world sepa-

rate male mortality rates from female

mortality rates. Moreover, one affiant

states that the plan before us was adopt-

ed as a result of his 1972 study of the

mortality rates of the appellants’ em-

ployees. The plan follows the “1951

Group Annuity Mortality Table” publish-

ed in the Transactions of the Society of

Actuaries.

Consistent with all available studies

and plans, this particular plan uses sepa-

rate mortality tables for men and wom-

en and was used to determine the total

monies that had to be set aside for the

lifetime retirement allowances of em-

ployees. Many other relevant facts are

set forth in these affidavits, including

the undisputed statement that no tables

have as yet been developed which meas-

ure life expectancy on a unisex basis, as

required by the majority. Furthermore,

these affidavits attest to the fact that

unisex mortality tables, if developed,

could lead to a result which adversely

affects the financial integrity of annuity

or pension plans such as here before us.

GENERAL ELECTRIC v. GILBERT

Against this background, the majority

purports to distinguish General Electric.

From the general finding in General

~~ ve

y

MANHART v. CITY OF LOS ANGELES, DEPT. OF WATER & POWER 703

Electric that the exclusion of pregnancy

was not in itself discrimination based

upon sex, it is apparent to me that the

Supreme Court has rejected the broad

doctrines espoused by the majority.

Moreover, neither Craig v. Boren, — -

US. , 97 S.Ct. 451, 50 L.Ed.2d 397

(1976), nor Califano v. Goldfarb, —-

US. —-, 97 S.Ct. 1021, 51 L.Ed.2d

——— (1977), detract from what is said in

General Electric. To summarily con-

clude, like the majority, that “[t]o say

that the difference [here] is not based on

sex is to play with words. a

simply an inadequate response to the is-

sues presented. I am of the ir pression

that the majority, rather than he appel-

lants, is playing with words. The appel-

lants’ claim deserves more consideration

than this conclusory statement.

The majority similarly glosses over the

language in Genera! Electric regarding

the effect of the exclusion of pregnancy.

The Court recognized that a proper

showing of “gender-based effects” may

be sufficient to establish a prima facie

ease under Title VII, but it was not

‘oo present, and it is not here present.”

This is made manifest by a comparison

2. The Court recognized that a proper showing

of cause and effect may be sufficient:

“The instant suit was grounded on Title VII

rather than the Equal Protection Clause, and

of the circumstances here present with

those of General Electric. As stated in

General Electric:

' . As in Geduldig, supra, [417

US. 484, 94 S.Ct. 2485, 41 L.Ed.2d 256

(1974)] we start from the indisputable

baseline that {tJhe fiscal and actuarial

benefits of the program . ac-

crue to members of both sexes,’ 417

U.S., at 497 n. 20, [94 S.Ct. at 2492).

We need not disturb the findings of

the District Court to note that there is

neither a finding, nor was there any

evidence which would support a find-

ing, that the financial benefits of the

Plan ‘worked to discriminate against

any definable group or class in terms

of the aggregate risk protection de-

rived by that group or ciass from the

program,’ id., at 496 [, 94 SCt., at

2492]. The Plan, in effect (and for all

that appears), is not*ing more than an

insurance package, which covers some

risks, but excludes others, see id., at

494, 496-497, [94 S.Ct. at 2491 -2492).

The ‘package’ going to relevant identi-

fiable groups we are presently con-

cerned with—General Electric’s male

ar 1 female employees—covers exactly

Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424, 431,

{91 S.Ct. 849, 853, 28 L.Ed.2d 158] (1971).

Even assuming that it is not necessary in this

case to prove intent to establish a prima facie

violation of § 703(aX1), but cf. McDonnell

Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792, 802-806

{. 93 S.Ct. 1817, 1824-1826, 36 L.Ed.2d 668)

General Electric, —. US. at —-— -——, 97

S.Ct. at 408-409. [Emphasis Added] [Foot

notes Omitted.)

burden of proof:

burden of establishing that the acts they com-

plain of constituted discrimination in violation

of Title Vil. . . .” [Emphasis Added]

—

ee er

ee a een

704 MANHART v. CITY OF LOS ANGELES, DEPT. OF WATER & POWER

the same categories of risk, and is fa-

cially nondiscriminatory in the sense

that {‘jhere is no risk from which men

are protected and women are not.

Likewise, there is no risk from which

women are protected and men are

not.’ Geduldig, 417 U.S., at 496—497,

[94 S.Ct., at 2492]. As there is no

proof that the package is in fact worth

more to men than to women, it is im-

possible to find any gender-based dis-

criminatory effect in this scheme sim-

ply because women disabled as a result

of pregnancy do not receive benefits;

that is to say, gender-based discrimina-

tion does not result simply because an

employer's disability benefits plan is

less than all inclusive. For all that

appears, pregnancy-related disabilities

constitute an additional risk, unique to

women, and the failure to compensate

them for this risk does not destroy the

presumed parity of the benefits, accru-

ing to men and women alike, which

results from the facially evenhanded

inclusion of risks. To hold otherwise

would endanger the common-sense -no-

tion that an employer who has no dis-

ability benefits program at all does not

violate Title VII even though the ‘un-

derinclusion’ of risks impacts, as a re-

sult of pregnancy-related disabilities,

more heavily upon one gender than

upon the other. Just as there is no

facial gender-based discrimination in

that case, so, too, there is none here.”

General Electric at -—— --— —, 97

S.Ct. at 409-410. [Emphasis Added.]}

[Footnotes Omitted.]

Similarly, it is obvious here that the

fiscal and actuarial benefits of the plan

accrue to the members of both sexes.

As in General Electric, the plan is facial-

ly nondiscriminatory to the extent that

there is no risk for which one sex is

covered and the other is not. Because of

the additional contribution made by both

the employer and the women employees,

the aggregate risk protection for men

and women is identical. As a conse-

quence of objectively identifiable charac-

teristics [reflected in actuarial statistics],

this plan impacts more heavily upon

women than men. [But women live

longer than men and ultimately recover

as much if not more.] This was also the

case in Genera] Electric and the Court

there refused to find a Title VII viola-

tion. Its reasoning is made abundantly

clear in Footnote 17, which reads:

“Absent proof of different values,

the cost to ‘insure’ against the risks is,

in essence, nothing more than extra

compensation to the employees, in the

form of fringe benefits. If the em-

ployer were to remove the insurance

fringe benefits and, instead, increase

wages by an amount equal to the cost

of the ‘insurance,’ there would clearly

be no gender-based discrimination,

even though a female employee who

wished to purchase disability insurance

that covered all risks would have to

pay more than would a male employee

who purchased identical disability in-

surance, due to the fact that her insur-

ance had to cover the ‘extra’ disabili-

ties due to pregnancy. While respon-

dents seem to acknowledge that the

failure to provide any benefit plan at

all would not constitute sex-based dis-

crimination in violation of Title VII,

see note 18, infra, they illogically also

suggest that the present scheme does

violate Title VII because

‘A female must spend her own money

_ to buy a personal disability policy cov-

ering pregnancy disability if she wants

to be fully insured against a period of

disability without income, whereas a

male without extra expenditure is ful-

ly insured by GE against every period

—D-6—

MANHART v. CITY OF LOS ANGELES, DEPT. OF WATER & POWER 705

of disability.’ Supplemental! Brief for

Martha Gilbert et a/. on Reargument,

at 11. Yet, in both cases—the instant

case and the case where there is no

disability coverage at all—the ultimate

result is that a woman who wished to

be fully insured would have to pay an

incremental amount over her male

counterpart due solely to the possibili-

ty of pregnancy-related disabilities.

Title VII's proscription on discrimina-

tion does not require, in either case,

the employer to pay that incremental

amount. . . .” General Electric

at ——-, 97 S.Ct. at 409-410.

In one respect, at least, the present

facts are more compelling than those of

General Electric because the employer

here was actually paying more for each

female employee than for each male em-

ployee. The just quoted language woula

have allowed the employer/appellants to

pay the same amount for each, in which

case each female employee would have

received less insurance protection than

each male employee. If no insurance at

all was provided under the plan, each

female employee, if she purchased out-

side insurance, would have to pay more

than her male counterpurt for the same

amount of insurance. In either case, af-

ter General Electric it is illogical to ar-

gue that a Title VII violation would re-

sult.

Throughout its opinion, the majority

substantially exaggerates the strength of

its position. It suggests that the Su-

preme Court was more concerned with

inconsistent administrative interpreta-

tions than it was with our original and

erroneous view of the legislative history.

To support its position, the majority

finds that there are no such inconsisten-

cies in the case before us. I disagree.

The Wage and Hour Administrator of

the Department of Labor has promulgat-

ed a number of regulations. After Gen-

eral Electric, | question the vitality of

the one quoted by the majority; one [29

CFR § 800.116(d)] noted by the Supreme

Court in General Electric is more in

point. This regulation states

“If employer contributions to a plan

providing insurance or similar benefits

to employees are equal for both men

and women, no wage differential pro-

hibited by the equal pay provisions

will result from such payments, even

though the benefits which accrue to

the employees in question are greater

for one sex than the other. The mere

fact that the employer may make un-

equal contributions for employees of

opposite sexes in such a situation will

not, however, be considered to indicate

that the employer’s payments are in

violation of section 6(d), if the result-

ing benefits are equal for such em-

ployees.” [Emphasis Added.}

The majority’s tortured views on the ob-

vious breadth of Genera! Electric become

apparent in its writing around and fail-

ure to accept the Supreme Court's appli-

cation of this regulation. This regula-

tion, as I read it, contemplates the actu-

arial equivalent of the scheme before us.

If employer contributions are equal for

men and women, there is no statutory

violation even though the resulting bene-

fits are not equal as between men and

women. The majority fails to appreciate

the significance of this. In the context

of pension plans, this rule makes sense

only if it is read to impliedly authorize

the funding of employee pension plans

upon the basis of separate mortality ta-

bles. This regulatory justification for a

plan with equal contributions and un-

equal benefits cannot be ignored in the

variation before us.

In 1965, the EEOC promulgated regu-

lations under which it agreed to follow

a

ee we ee

706 MANHART v. CITY OF LOS ANGELES, DEPT. OF WATER & POWER

the relevant interpretations of the Wage

and Hour Division. 29 CFR § 1604.7(b)

provided:

“Accordingly, the Commission will

make applicable to equal pay com-

plaints filed under Title VII the rele-

vant interpretations of the Adminis-

trator, Wage and Hour Division, De-

partment of Labor. These interpreta-

tions are found in 29 Code of Federal

Regulations, Part 800.119-800.163.

Relevant opinions of the Administrator

interpreting ‘the equal pay for the

equal work standard’ will also be

adopted by the Commission.” 30 F.R.

14928. [Emphasis Added.]}

This regulation was maintained until the

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — City of Los Angeles Department of Water v. Manhart · 435 U.S. 702 | Frix