Amicus Brief — Scott v. United States

Supreme Court brief1978

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

eal...

IN THE Supreme Court, U. $,

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1977

NO. 76-6767

FRANK R. SCOTT and BERNIS L. THURMON,

Petitioners

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent

ON TO ERTIORARI TO THE T TATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

BRIEF FOR CHLOE V. DAVIAGE AS AMICUS CURIAE

Peter S. Smith

Adrienne E. Volenik

Maryland Juvenile Law Clinic

500 W. Baltimore Street

Baltimore, Maryland 21201

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

Il.

[I

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Interest Of Chloe V. Daviage-----------------

‘Opinions Be loW------------------- ~~ ~~ ee

purisdiction wo ee ee ee ee

Constitutional And Statutory Provisions

INVO]VCd + 99m wn nn ne a on en ne ee ee eee

Questions Presented-<--<<-<<<<<<-<<eee-e"-----

USCateMeN tooo ooo ooo oooooeeoooroooessocosocese

Summary Of ArgquMment---<<---<<<<<<<<<-<<<----

Daviage And Scott, As Parties To Intercepted

Telephone Calls, Have Standing To Move To

Suppress Communications Seized In Viola-

tion Of The Wiretap Order. ---<-<<<<<<<<-<<---

The Government's Round-The-Clock Sur-

veillance, Entailing Interception Of

Every Conversation With No Good Faith

Attempt To Minimize The Interception

Of Non-Pertinent Communications,

Constituted A Blatant Violation Of

18 U.S.C. § 2518(5) . ------- 2-22 --------- =

A. The Constitutional Significance Of

The Minimization Issue. ----<<<-<<<<<-----

B. Standards Governing The Determina-

tion Of Compliance With 18 U.S.C.

§ 2518 (5) . eer enn mm we own meee eee eoeeo--

l. The Good Faith Test. ----------------

2. The Application Of The Good Faith

Test In The Scott Litigation. -------

3. Reasonableness Of The Efforts To

Minimize Interceptions Of Non-

Pertinent Communications. --<-<--------

i) Scope Of The Criminal Enterprise

Under Investigation. -------------

ii) Location and Operation Of The

Wiretapped Telephone. -----------

iii) Government Expectation Of The

Contents Of The Calls. ---------

iv) Judicial Supervision By The

Authorizing Judge. --------------

Because The Government Made No Good Faith

Attempt To Abide By The Minimization Re-

quirements, This Case Is An Appropriate

One In Which To Invoke The Sanction Of

Complete Suppression. -----<9e<+<<<<<------

A. The Statutory Suppression Mechanism.--

B. The Government's Suppression Renesy Is

Inadequate--- --- << ene nn nn ne en en nnn

10

25

43

44

© ii «

C. The Policy Underlying 18 U.S.C.

§ 2515 Warrants Suppression Of

The Entire Intercept. ----------------

D. The Minimization Requirement Of 18

U.S.C. § 2518(5) Plays A Central Role

In Enforcing The Privacy Requirements

Of Title III. -----------------~-------

E. Failure To Comply With The Minimization

Provision Of 18 U.S.C. § 2518(5) Re-

quires Suppression Of The Entire In-

COLCEDt. me mer n nn nn nn nn nn nn ee = ==

|} Conclusilon]-<<<<<--<<<<2<2222202--- ~~ eee

TABLE OF CITATIONS

| Cases

jAdams v. Maryland, 347 U.S. 179 (1954) -------

Alderman v. United States, 394 U.S. 165

(1969) -- ee en nn nn a ee = 16

\Berger v. New York, 388 U.S. 41 (1967) ------- 5,16,27-29

\Boyd v. United States, 116 U.S. 616 (1886)---

yars v. United States, 273 U.S. 28 (1927)---

Bynum v. United States, 423 U.S. 952 (1975)--

Camara v. Municipal, 387 U.S. 523 (1967) -----

Gelbard v. United States, 408 U.S. 41 (1972)-

Goldman v. United States, 316 U.S. 129

Jones v. United States, 362 U.S. 257 (1960)--

atz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347 (1967) -- 5,16,17,20

opez v. United States, 373 U.S. 427 (1963)--

Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643 (1961) ------------

rron v. United States, 275 U.S. 192 (1927)-

‘ene v. United States, 302 U.S. 379 (1937)-

a v. United States, 308 U.S. 338 (1939)-

ardone v. United States, 127 F.2d 521 (2d

~“@ir.), cert. denied, 316 U.S. 698 (1942)-

Olmstead v. United States, 277 U.S. 438 (1928)-

On Lee v. United States, 343 U.S. 747 (1952)--

Osborn v. United States, 385 U.S. 323 (1966)--

People v. Brenes, 42 N.Y.2d he 396 N.¥.S.2d 629

Lael v. Fiorillo, 63 Misc. 2d 480, 33}, N.Y.

" ntgomery Cty. Ct. 19 @ euece

|

Page

56

59

61

66

57

,17,19-21

,32,60,61

26

24,41

28

25,61

14,58

26

15,17,19

,21,27-29

32,50,61

26

57,58

54

57

57

57

20,26

26

27,28

34,64

22,23

e iii =

People v. rats. 41 N.Y¥.2d 245, 392 N.Y.S8.2d

) «ss + S++ +++ eee es e226 62 2 &@ = = = = =

People v. Holder, 69 Mise.2d 863, 331 N.Y¥.S8.2d

SS7 (Sup.Ct. of Nassau Cty. 1972) «<=«----

Schwartz v. Texas, 344 U.S. 199 (1952) «-<«<-<-

United States v. Armocida, 515 F.2d 29

(Trd Circ), cert. denied, 423 U.S.

858 (1975) «eee meee meee eee eee eee

United States v. Bellosi, 501 F.2d 833

. . r.

United States v. Best, 363 F.Supp. ll

United States v. Bynum, 475 F.2d 832 (2d

united States v. Bynum, 360 F.Supp. 400

(S DN.Y.) vat?'d, 485 F.2d 490 (2d

Cir.1973), vacated on other grounds,

Tr974

417 u.s. 907°

SSS

United States v. Bynum, 485 F.2d 490 (2d

r. ), Vacated on other grounds,

417 U.S. 903

United States v. Bynum, 513 F.2d 533 (2d Cir.),

ane eee aentee ng enied, 423 U.S. 952 (1975) --------

1099

) Hee eee eee eee eee eee

nited States v. Carubia, 377 F.Supp

>_—--

. . . .

United States v. Ceraso, 355 F.Supp. 126

(M.5. Pa. Toy) ee SC SF SK SH eS eK ee ee ee eS ee |. )

United States v. Ceraso, 467 F.2d 647 (3rd

+ » » Oieetiedtiedid mm me

United States v. Chavez, 416 U.S. 562 (1974)-

United States v. Chavez, 533 F.2d 491 (9th

r.), Cert. denied, 426 U.S. 911

(1976) ee eoeoeeoae «ee eee ee ee eeee eee = oe =

United States vy.

r.

Clerkley, 556 F.2d 709

United States v. Cox, 462 F.2d 1293 (8th

r. , cert. denied, 417 U.S.

918 (19.74) ennneeemem meme meneame nne

United States v. Curreri, 363 F.Supp. 430

United States v. Daly, 535 F.2d 434 (8th

United States v. DiGirlomo, 550 F.2d 404

t‘----

r. 7+ ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee

paited States v. DiRe, 332 U.S. 581 (1948) --

United States v. Donovan, 429 U.S. 413

28,29,37,43,52

18,19

13

17,18,24

50

29,35,52

18

18,24

18,24

63

60

37,44

28,29,32,36,44,51

29,32,51,54,63

63,65

32,37,43

60

24,41

60,66

-iv -

n, 465 F.2d 1057

aes states Vv. Falcone, 364 F.Supp. 877

IS73), aff'd, 505 P. 2a 478

(3rd Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 420

U.S. 955 (1978) «nnnnenn nee n mn nnne 32,42

ited States v. Fino, 478 F.2d 35 (2d Cir.

» Cert. deniod, 417 U.S. 918 (1974)- 36

ted States v, rey ane 340 F.Supp. 1033

, a oy nom. United States

Vv. Giordano, To Fl td sad (ith Cr.

» rev'd on other grounds, 416

U.S. 50 ee eneenoneseseeeeeesese=s 26,29,3)1,32,43,51,55

61-63

ited States v. Fury, 554 F.2d 522 (2nd Cir.

’ ve on for cert. filed,

U.Ss. . © ee ay ; ‘

16=6828) monn ccnnnmnnnwnnwcceccncncnnnns 19,22,23

63

12,13,59-61

543 F.2d 1002 (2nd

ed, 429 U.S. 980 (1976)- 19,21,23,32,35

James, 494 F.2d 1007 (D.C.Cir.),

U.Ss. 1020 (1974) ewww nnnns 6,29,38,42-47,50

$2

United States v. Kahn, 415 U.S. 143 (1974) ----- 12,33

United States v. King, 335 F.Supp. 523 (8.D.

al. » rev'd on other grounds, 478

F.2d 494 (9th CI IST), Cert, denied,

417 U.S. 920 (1974) een nnn nnn nme m nn mmen nnn 30,31,35,41,43,49

54,55,63

United States v. mn 478 F.2d 494 (9th Cir.

, Cert. denied, 417 U.S. 920 (1974). 17,24

United States v. LaGorga, 336 F.Supp. 190

Langa, 349 F.Supp. 929 (M.D.

United States v. Leta, 332 F.Supp. 1357 (M.D.

Fredi, 488 F.2d 588 (2d

E. Genied, 417 U.S. 936

(1974) eememeuecceeceeceeeeeseceecceccess 35

26,31,63,65

d Sta Vv. Po » 455 F.2d 117 (2d Cir.),

r ° ; U.S. 948 (1972) «<<< «<==

» $31 F.2d 1132 (2d

, 430 U.S. 905

19-21,23

36,43,48,5)

~ vi -

- Vv -

| ' Page

j Pa e : .

| cage 18 U.S.C. § 2518(1) (b) (iv) --<<-<00--00- 12,60

lUnited States v. Ramsey, 503 F.2d $24 (7th

| Cie. 18787 cert, denied, 420 U.S, ; 18 U.8.C. § 2518 (1) (0) -nnnnnnnnnnnnnnne 19

, 932 (1975) nnn wmennnmmmnmnnenenennennns 19,21,23

| HSS 6 16 U.8.C. § 2518 (5) ennnnnnnnnccnnnnnnns 3,4,8,9,10,25,26,28-

‘United States v. Rizzo, 491 F.2d 215 (2nd 30,32,33,35,37,42,43

j Ee ; cer ‘ enied, 416 U.S. 990 50,52,56,59,61

(19.74) esece cece ce ww www en wewewecceecesens 32

18 U.S.C. § 2518 (6) mnnnnnnncnnccncccunn 51

United States v. Serrano, 317 F.2d 386 (2nd

mms ote cc ie eel 23 16 U.S.C. § 2518(8) (4) -nnnnnnnnccccccns 60,66

United States v. Sisca, 361 F.Supp. 735 L8 U.S.C. § 2518(10) (a) -----== swowwomm= 4,10,11,13,17,18-19,

| . ,*f . , ’ aff'd, 503 F.2d 1337 53

(24 Cir.), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 1008

| (1994) ecccncccccceeeeesecncescececeesce 32,42,45,54,63 18 U.S.C. § 2520 -nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnans 3?

United States v. Sklaroff, 323 F.Supp. 296 20 U.8.C. § 1284 (1 poeeecenennneeecnnnn 3

| (S.0.FYa T97l), aff'd, 506 F.2d 837

| (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 874 cts By Popular Name

(1975) ennnnnnccceceneeeseseeenenes “<<== 34

pe a oe The Omnibus Crime Control

nited States v. Thweatt, 433 F.2d 1226 and Sate Streets Act of 1968, 18 U.S.C,

. Ti bbeacses seueseaneouceds 54 $§ 2510-2520 (1970) «nanan --- eneneemm= §8,10,12-19,23,28,29,

32,37,46,56,58-61,66

United States v. Tortorello, 480 F.2d 764

~~ (ad Cir. J, Gert, denied, 414 U.S. 866 State Statutory Provisions

973 eeeeoe Seccecce @2eeee e2eeeee0 @2eoeoeoeoeoee , , = , ;

(1 ) 23,30,32-36,38 ead: New York Criminal Procedure Law

§ 700.30 subd, ee 34

United States v. Turk, 526 F.2d 654 (Sth RULES

Cir.), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 823 eae

(1976) ene ewww wmwmww ewww n ween wena nenans 17,25

Revised Rules of the Supreme Court of

United States v. Turner, 528 F.2d 143 (9th the United States, U.S. Sup. Ct,

Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 996 ae

(199§) esccccscccccceccececces ee 29,32,37,51,63,65 yes oa th RUC alee ae cnacee maralee ‘

United States v. Vento, 533 F.2d 638 (3rd Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure

c. @) eacesneqcnsseaconseccescenes 41 RUL@ 41 (@) ee meen nnn nnn nnn nnnnnnnnns 15

Walder v. United States, 347 U.S. 62 (1954)- $7 MISCELLANEOUS

Warden, Maryland Penitentiary v. Hayden,

yo U4. 297 (1967) ------- See 21,54 Brief for the United States in Opposition

to the Petition for Writ of

Weeks v. United States, 232 U.S. 383 (1914)- 58 Certiorari, fury v. United spatre

No. 76-6828 upreme Court o °

Wong Sun v. United States, 371 U.S. 471 (1963)- 57 United States, Oct. Term, 1977) «««««««<«« 23

Ztweibon v. Mitchell, 516 F.2d 594 (D.C.Cir. Rep. sprinned’ ip 1968 Udcete eon

~ TOTS), cert. denied, 425 U.S. 944 (1976)-- 37 reprin .§.Code Cong.

ae onied : é ix N@WS, 215 3eeeneeewn cee eeennnnnnne 14,16,29,53,57,61

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

Note, Minimization of Wire Interception:

United States Constitution Presearch Guidelines and Postsearch

a Remedies, 26 Stan. L.Rev. 1411 (1974) -- 46

Fourth Amendment +<<<<<<<<<8<<nnnnnnnnnnn 3,19,20,25-27,33

United States Code .

18 U.S.C. § BSLO(LL) annnn ee mennnnnnnnnnn 3,10,11,13,17,19

18 U.S.C. § 281 Sennnnn nnn nnnnnnnnnnnnnn=3,8,13,14,53,56-59 ;

18 U.S.C. § 2516 (1) eennn wenn nn nnnnnnnnnnn 12,59

18 U.S.C. § 2517(S8) enmnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn 55

18 U.S.C. § 2510----nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn= 5,18

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1977

NO. 76+6767

FRANK R. SCOTT and BERNIS L. THURMON,

Petitioners

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

BRIEF FOR CHLOE V. DAVIAGE AS AMICUS CURIAF

INTEREST OF CHLOE V. DAVIAGE

On June 24, 1970, a District of Columbia Grand Jury handed

down indictments charging amicus Chloe Daviage and petitioners

|| Frank Scott and Bernis Thurmon with violation of federal narcotics

laws. For the next seven years, Daviage, as a direct party to

the proceedings, vigorously asserted her rights in extensive

pre-trial hearings, the trial itself, three decisions of the

court of appeals, and two petitions for writ of certiorari.

Although this Court granted the joint petition for writ of

Certiorari filed by Scott and Thurmon (No. 76-6767), it has not

acted on Daviage's petition (NO. 76-6637) .¢

This Court's review of Scott's and Thurmon's claims involves

consideration of the identical court of appeals opinion and

judgment to which Daviage was a party below and from which she

filed a separate and timely petition for writ of certiorari. Hence,

any action the Court takes in the instant case will apply to

Daviage, not simply as precedent but because she is a party to the

|judgment of the court of appeals which this Court will reverse,

affirm or vacate.

ds

The legal issues in Scott's and Daviage's cases are identical

ontending that he lacks standing to raising minimization claims.

pen Thurmon case is different only insofar as the Government is not

,

In a letter to the Clerk of this Court, dated October 14,

1977, counsel for Daviage pointed out that his client was placed

in the position of having her case determined solely by the

factions of counsel for her co-petitioners. The letter also noted

that because this Court had not ruled on Daviage's petition to

proceed in forma pauperis, she would be unable to file an amicus

curiae brief due to the cost of printing. On October 17, the

Clerk telephoned counsel for Daviage and stated that she would

not be required to comply with the requirement of Rule 42.5, of

the Revised Rules of this Court that an amicus curiae brief be

printed,

In @ letter dated October 25, 1977, counsel for petitioners

Scott and Thurmon consented to Daviage's participation as amicus

Curiae. In a letter dated November 4, 1977, the Solicitor

General gave his consent. Those letters have been filed with the

Clerk of this Court.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Memorandum Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit, filed on March 29,

1977, i unreported. The text of the opinion is set forth in the

Joint Appendix. No opinion was rendered by the United

States District Court for the District of Columbia upon the

conviction of the petitioners and the amicus.

Other opinions in this case prior to the conviction of the

petitioners and the amicus are as follows: The first opinion

f the United States District Court for the District of Columbia,

granting the joint motion to suppress evidence, is reported at

311 F.Supp. 233 (D.D.C, 1971). The opinion of the United States

ourt of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit upon the

vernment's first interlocutory appeal is reported at 504 F.2d 194

(D.C.Cir, 1974). The second opinion of the district court, again

ranting the renewed suppression motion, is unreported. The text

f the opinion is set forth in the Joint Appendix and in the

dendum to this Brief. The opinion of the court of appeals upon

e Government's second interlocutory appeal is reported at 516 7606

51 (D.C.Cir. 1975). The order of the court of appeals denying a

A — a

suggestion for rehearing en bane of the Government's second inter-

locutory appeal and the statement of Circuit Judge Robinson are

reported at 522 F.2d 1333 (D.C.Cir. 1975). The order of this

Court denying the petition for writ of certiorari to review the

court of appeals' opinion on the second interlocutory appeal, and

the dissenting opinion of Mr. Justice Brennan are reported at

425 U.S. 917 (1976),

JURISDICTION

The Memorandum and Judgment of the Court of Appeals for the

District of Columbia Circuit were filed on March 29, 1977. This

Court's jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) (1970).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

United States Constitution - Amendment IV

The right of the people to be secure in their

persons, houses, papers, and effects, against

unreasoneble searches and seizures, shall not be

violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but upon

probable cause, supported by Oath or affirmation,

and particularly describing the place to be searched,

and the persons or things to be seized.

United States Code - 18 U.S.C, § 2510(11) (1970)

As used in this chapter -

(ll) “aggrieved person” means a person who was a

party to any intercepted wire or oral communica-

tion or 4@ person against whom the interception

was directed,

United States Code - 18 U.S.C, § 2515 (1970)

Whenever any wire or oral communication has

been intercepted, no part of the contents of

such communication and no evidence derived there-

from may be received in evidence in any trial,

hearing, or other proceeding in or before any court,

grand jury, department, officer, agency, regulatory

body, legislative committee, or other authority of

the United States, a State, or a political subdivision

thereof if the disclosure of that information would be

in violation of this chapter.

inited States Code - 18 U.S.C, § 2518(5) (1970)

(5) No order entered under this section may

authorize or approve the interception of any wire

Or Oral communication for any period longer than

is necessary to achieve the objective of the authoriza-

tion, nor in any event longer than thirt days. Exten-

sions of an order may be granted, but ealy upon appli-

cation for an extension made in accordance with sub-

section (1) of this section and the court making the

findings required by subsection (3) of this section.

The period of extension shall be no longer than the

authorizing judge deems necessary to achieve the pur-

poses for which it was granted and in no event for longer

than thirty days. Every order and extension thereof shall

contain 4 provision that the authorization to intercept

wo See

-

shall be executed as soon as practicable, shall

be conducted in such a way as to minimize the

interception of communications not otherwise subject

to interception under this chapter, and must terminate

upon attainment of the authorized objective, or in any

event in thirty days.

United States Code - 18 U.S.C. § 2518(10) (a) (1970)

(10) (a) Any aggrieved person in any trial,

hearing, or proceeding in or before any court,

department, officer, agency, regulatory body, or

other authority of the United States, a State, or

a political subdivision thereof, may move to

suppress the contents of any intercepted wire or

oral communication, or evidence derived therefrom,

on the grounds that --

(i) the communication was unlawfully

intercepted;

(ii) the order of authorization or

approval under which it was intercepted

is insufficient on its face; or

(iii) the interception was not made in

conformity with the order of authorization

Or approval.

Such motion shall be made before the trial, hearing,

or proceeding unless there was no opportunity to

make such motion or the person was not aware of

the grounds of the motion. If th<z motion is granted,

the contents of the intercepted wire or oral commu-

nication, or evidence derived therefrom, shall be

treated as having been obtained in violation of

this chapter. The judge, upon the filing of sucii

motion by the aggrieved person, may in his discre-

tion make available to the aggrieved person or

his counsel for inspection such portions of the

intercepted communication or evidence derived there-

from as the judge determines to be in the interests

of justice.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Do parties to telephone conversations intercepted pursuant

to a wiretap order have standing under 18 U.S.C. § 2518(10) (a) to

move to suppress the communications seized in deliberate violation [

of the minimization directives contained in that wiretap order?

| 2. Did the court of appeals err in concluding that federal

| narcotics agents, in executing a wiretap, complied with the

| Provision of the intercept order which, pursuant to 18 U.S.C.

§ 2518(5), required the agents to minimize the interception of

non-pertinent conversations, even though the agents conducted

round-the-clock surveillance, monitored each and every communica-

oe

—- =

tion, and admittedly made no good faith effort to comply?

3. Is suppression of the entire intercept and any evidence

derived therefrom required because the executing agents totally

suant to 18 U.S.C. § 25i8(5), directed them to minimize the inter-

mony and flagrantly violated the wiretap order which, pur-

i se e 6 «

: Opinion, finding that all the defendants had standing to raise

- versations?

preption Gf asa=pertinent cen : a minimization claim. The court further held, however, that the

| trial court had applied an impro standard i

STATEMENT ; pp mproper ncarad in assessing the

| : merits of the minimization issue, and that the issue must be

| Petitioners Frank Scott and Bernis Thurmon, and amicus

determined by the standard indicated in its decision in Uni

| Curiae Chloe Daviage were indicted in the United States District y ‘ = in Seated

States v. James, 494 F.2d 1007 (D.C.Cir. 1974). The court of

|| Court for the District of Columbia on June 24, 1970, on four : .

a als found the record insufficient to ap ly the James standard,

| counts of alleged violations of federal narcotics laws. The “ PP*y — .

; and remanded for further hearing, particularly wih regard to the

| charges resulted from evidence obtained through the use of wire-

| . analysis by the United States attorney of the intercepted calls

| tap intercepts conducted by the Government, pursuant to 18 U.S.C.

submitted by the Government in Support of its motion for recon-

§ 2518, from January 24 to February 24, 1970.

, ; sideration in the district court in 1971. United States v. Scott,

On April 29, 1971, the district court Granted defense motions

\* 504 F.2d 194 (D.C.Cir. 1974) (hereinafter referred to as "Scott

| to suppress all wiretap evidence because of the Government's

I").

failure to comply with the requirement, contained in both § 2518 =

ht ep Hearings on the minimization issue were held in the district

jjand the Order authorizing the wiretap, that its agents minimize

| court between October 15 and November 8, 1974. The court found,

| the interception of non-pertinent conversations. The court relied

* inter alia, that the monitoring agents made no attempt to comply

upon testimony to the effect that sixty percent of the conversa-

! . . .

with the minimization provision of the Wiretap order, and

tions did not involve narcotics, and found no evidence that the P P what the

; ae : pnly time the agents even considered minimization occurred when

executing agents made any attempt to comply with the minimization

: : they mistakenly tapped into the wrong line. Based on the admitted

requirement. The court held that to allow continued monitoring :

; ; failure by the monitoring agents even to attempt compliance, the

when the intercepted communications are Clearly non-narcotic re-

ee ; . court again suppressed the wiretap evidence and entered an order

lated would render the minimization requirements of the statute

6 ok to that effect on November 17, 1974. See Joint Appendix,

mnugatory and violate the principles of Berger v. New York, 388 U.S.

and the Addendum to this Brief.

41 (1967) and Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347 (1967). The

; ; The Government took a second interlocutory appeal on

court also found that the application for an order authorizing

December 3, 1974. The case was argued before the court of appeals

the wiretap and the supporting affidavit were sufficient to satisfy

3 on April 23, 1975. On July 25, 1975, that court rendered its

the requirements of the statute. United States v. Scott, 33i F. ;

H Opinion, ruling that even if sixty percent of the calls were non-

Supp. 233 (D.D.C. i971).

narcotic related and that the agents made no attempt to minimize

On May 26, 1971, the Government moved for reconsideration

the interception of innocent conversations, it could find no

by the district court of its order. It presented an analysis

instance where the agents' conduct in intercepting conversations

tee by the United States ettorney, fourteen months after the

; ; was unreasonable. Pursuant to United States v. James, supra, it

actual surveillance, in which the intercepted calls were categorized ~

reversed the lower court's suppression order. The court went on to

and a conclusion presented that only two percent of the calls

note that had the district court been correct in its ruling that the

were unreasonably intercepted. The court denied the motion on

| minimization requirement had been breached, total suppression of

June 29, 1971.

the evidence would not appear to be the proper remedy, and

The Government filed an interlocutory appeal to the United

| 4 ;Suggested that only conversations which were non-narcotic related

tates Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit on | ,

be suppressed. United States v. Scott, 516 F.2d 751 (D.c.

une 23, 1971. On June 27, 1974, the court of appeals issued its

Cir. 1975) (hereinafter referred to as "Scott II").

On August 8, 1975, Scott, Thurmon, and Daviage petitioned

the court of appeals for a rehearing en banc. On October 3, 1975,/|

the court of appeals denied the request, four judges dissentins.

United States v. Scott, 522 F.2d 1333 (D.C. Cir. 1975). |

On November 3, 1975 Scott, Thurmon,and Daviage petitioned the |

Supreme Court for a writ of certiorari. On April $5, the petition

was denied with three justices dissenting. Scott v. United States,

425 U.S. 917 (1976).

The case was then remanded for trial, pursuant to Scott II.

'

i

i

|

On July 6, 1976, motions on behalf of all defendants for dismissal |

of the indictments on speedy trial grounds were denied. On July

25, 1976, Scott, Thurmon, and Daviage were tried on a stipulation of

facts and all were found guilty of violating one or more provi-

sions of the federal narcotics laws. Scott and Thurmon were each

sentenced to ten years' imprisonment. The trial court, noting |

that Daviage's participation in the offenses was only peripheral, * |

sentenced her to three years'imprisonment, suspending all but six

months. |

The defendants filed notices of appeal to the court of appeals,

in which they claimed that they were denied the constitutional right

to a speedy trial. They also preserved for review in this Court

the minimization issue.

The case was argued on March 21, 1977. On March 29, 1977 |

the court of appeals filed a memorandum opinion denying all of the |

contentions. |

On April 22, 1977, Daviage petitioned this Court for a writ

of certiorari. On May 19, Scott and Thurmon filed a joint petition

for writ of certiorari. Both petitions raised the minimization

Scott's and Thurmon'

and speedy trial issues. On October 11, 1977,

petition was granted, limited to the statutory minimization issue.

The Court further directed the parties to brief and argue the

3238 (1977).

question of standing. 46 U.S.L.W. Daviage’s petition

is still pending.

=

“-

Daviage was found guilty only of one count of using a tele-

phone to facilitate the purchase of narcotics.

:

A ot ~ | hei we et owe

a ee ee + eee

oes -se ase ©

| difference in determining standing.

- a ae

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. Standing of the parties in this case to raise the

minimization claim is conferred by the plain meaning of the

statute in that a party to an intercepted communication is an

“aggrieved person” and, as such, is entitled to invoke the suppres-

sion sanction of 18 U.S.C. § 2515. The fact that Scott and

Daviacge, were not subscribers to the tapped telephone is irrelevant

Although the intercepted calls in which Scott and Daviage

participated were exclusively inculpatory, this fact also makes no

To the extent that the nature

of the intercepted calls is relevant at all, that factor Only serv

as one kind of evidence in demonstrating a failure to minimize.

Moreover, such a construction requires no expansion of the current

law of standing. Recent case law reflects this Court's concern

with protecting privacy rights and insuring that those who fall

victim to official intrusion can seek redress.

II. Although this Court has not yet given workable criteria

to the minimization requirement, a discernible standard has

developed in the federal courts. This standard requires that, to

Satisfy the directive of 18 U.S.C. § 2518(5), (1) the agents

must make good faith attempts to minimize the intercepticn of

nonpertinent conversations, and (2) the attempts to minimize must 7

reasonable. This two-prong standard, widely adopted by the courts,

implements the approach of the drafters of Title III of the

Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets Act of 1968 in balancing

the competing values of law enforcement and privacy. It further

seeks to mitigate the problems of hindsight evaluations of reason-

ableness. The record in this case manifests the flagrant viola~

tion and purposeful disregard of the minimization requirement by

the agents who conducted the surveillance. The admitted failure

even to attempt to minimize precludes a finding of compliance

with § 2518(5), and requires reversal of the case. However,

should this Court find the good faith test inapplicable and seek

to determine whether the actual minimization accomplished was

reasonable, it is equally clear that, under the circumstances,

100% interception was unreasonable. Given the relatively small

scope of the criminal enterprise, the residential nature of the

tapped telephone, the development of patterns of unrelated

communications, and the inadequate judicial supervision, a sub-

stantial degree of minimization was required. Absent even the

attempt at minimization, § 2518(5) was clearly violated.

III. Should this Court determine that the Government violated

the minimization requirement, the appropriate remedy is suppression

of the entire intercept. The statutory suppression remedy

provided for in § 2515 directs a court to suppress intercepted

communications and any evidence derived therefrom where the

interception was not made in conformity with the order of authori-

zation or approval. Confining suppression to those calls which

fall outside the scope of the warrant, as the Government seems to

uggest, is essentially no remedy since, unlike a tranditional

earch, the improper items (i.e. conversations) seized will be

mnocent or at least irrelevant to the criminal matter which is the

ubject of the wiretap. To suppress only non-pertinent communica-

ions is to discredit the centrally important function of § 2518(5),

hich is to insure that electronic surveillance is conducted pur-

uant to the directives of Berger and Katz.

Whether the remedy of exclusion cf evidence taken in violation

£ minimization requirements is confined to cases where no good

aith efforts were taken to implement any plan for minimization,

c whether the remedy may be applied more broadly to cases where

i

the violation is the failure to take adequate steps to minimize,

exclusion is required in this case because the monitoring agents

‘ain and deliberately disregarded the minimization requirement.

—-

rey |

- 10 -

I. DAVIAGE AND SCOTT,AS PARTIES TO INTERCEPTED TELEPHONE CALLS,

HAVE STANDING TO MOVE TO SUPPRESS COMMUNICATIONS SEIZED IN

VIOLATION OF THE WIRETAP ORDER.

Daviage and Scott have standing to request suppression of

the wiretap evidence in the instant case. The plain language of

Title III of the Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Street Act of 1968,

18 U.S.C. §§ 2510-2520 (1970), (hereinafter referred to as

“Title III"), and the relevant decisions of this Court and other

federal courts support this position. Their position is grounded

on the fact that 1) they were parties to intercepted conversations,

and 2) the agents executing the wiretap did not adhere to the

minimization requirement contained in the wiretap order.°

According to the terms of Title III itself, these two factors

trigger the standing provisions outlined in the statute.

Section 2518(10) (a) of Title III sets forth the statutory

requirements for standing to request suppression. It states

in pertinent part:

Any aggrieved person in any trial...may

move to suppress the contents of any

intercepted wire or oral communication,

Or evidence derived therefrom, on the

grounds that - -

(iii) the interception was not made in

conformity with the order of

authorization or approval. 4

An “aggrieved person” is defined in § 2510(11) as

a person who was a party to any intercepted

wire or oral communication or a person against

whom the interception was directed.

3.

Section 2518(5) states, in pertinent part:

Every order and extension thereof shall contain

a provision that the authorization to intercept

shall be...conducted in such a way as to minimize

the interception of communications not otherwise

subject to interception under this chapter....

4.

The entire text of § 2518(10) (a) is set forth, supra, at p.4}

- ll «-

« 12 e

| in the instant case, Daviage and Scott were parties to This Court has previously determined that Title III should

’ | intercepted telephone communications; indeed, the wiretaps were . be strictly construed to implement the clear Language of the

| the sole evidence against them. Upon hearing the initial motions statute itself and the underlying congressional intent to limit

'

to suppress, the trial court rejected the Government's contention electronic surveillance. In United States v. Giordano, 416 U.S.

j “MOS Chey lacked standing to raise the minimisation wry see $05 (1974)) the Court interpreted § 2516(1) of Title IIZ. Mr,

United States v. Scott, 331 F.Supp. 233 (D.D.Cc, 1971), At Justice White, speaking for a unanimous Court, stressed that

6 the first interlocutory appeal, the Government pressed its standing Congress legislated in considerable detail

in providing for applications and orders

argument. See Scott I, 504 F.2d 194 (D.C.Cir. 1974), The authorizing wiretapping and evinced the

Clear'intent to make doubly sure that the

court of appeals, resting its decision entirely upon the plain statutory authority be used with restraint

and only where the circumstances warrant

language of §§ 2510(11) and 2518(10) (a), correctly rejected the the surreptitious interception of wire and

Government's claim, ruling that all of the defendants satisfied oral communications. 416 U.S. at 515.

the requirements as stated in Title III: Giordano involved the Government's attempt to broaden § 2516(1) to

There appears to be no question that each permit the Attorney General to delegate his power to authorize

+ Ba Re. ne ol gh. Ay. i of interceptions to his administrative assistant instead of to an

Ne gs nr ot Brea < sttratttt authorized Assistant Attorney General. The Court refused to

mindudee saaeaanenene oa pers 1 ll accept an interpretation of § 2516(1) which would not only ease

a catia sete te eee the ability of the Government to seek warrants (thereby violating

Tiss aauelanenee hee ce eameniar aaa, o the Congressional intent behind Title III) but also was Clearly

caikanena porn La Bane Banya ike aueead not warranted by the plain words of the statute.

couhteniia Gith ik Geaat ar Ga In United States v. Kahn, 415 U.S. 143 (1974), the Court con-

= 133 thesetees aa 304 F.2d strued the language of § 2518(1) (b) (iv) which requires the wiretap

It is not disputed that Scott, Thurmon, and Daviage were applicant to state “the identity of the person, if known,

parties to intercepted telephone communications. Yet despite committing the offense and whose communications are to be inter-

the unequivocal language of § 2518(10) (a), conferring upon such cepted." The Kahns unsuccessfully argued that this language

persons the right to move for suppression of the interceptions should be interpreted to mean the applicant must name all possible

that did not conform to the wiretap order, the Government con- people whose communications may be intercepted. 415 U.S. at 152.

tinues to urge that Scott and Daviage lack standing. ° Mr. Justice Stewart, speaking for the Court, stressed that in

resolving the sometimes contrary considerations of law enforcement

Ly with the need for individual privacy, it was important to begin

Explicit reference to the trial court's determination that

all the defendants had standing to raise the minimization issue is with “the precise wording chosen by Congress in enacting Title III.?

found in the first court of appeals decision. Scott I, 504 F.2d 194

(D.C.Cir. 1974). In that opinion, the court stated in reference to 415 U.S. at 151. The Court held, therefore, that since § 2528(2) (b]

the standing issue:

Although the opinion does not so indicate, (iv) stated two requirements-- identification of the person

the transcript of the hearings reveals that Tin. 6 cont'd.)

the Government unsuccessfully pressed this ’ States, in Nos. 76-6637 and 76-6767 (Supreme Court of the United

argument upon the District Court. Id. at 197 n.6, States, Oct. Term, 1977), (hereinafter “Government's Brief in Opposi+

6. one Government bases its argument on the notion that, since tion") at 6-7. Of course, such a contention rests squarely on the

’ . ” a c °c Ss

the intercepted calls in which Daviage and Scott participated were Panera po Fo Dr - Header pstay, Saga so. 1-860

‘ related to the purpose of the wiretap, — were not injured. ree P ‘ . ‘

Scott I, 504 F.2d at 197; Brief for the United States in Capes on

jto the Petitions For Writ of Certiorari, Scott, et al. v. United

|

portion of the Senate committee report which amplifies the defini-

‘the defendants moving to suppress wiretap evidence had been parties

° 13 «

committing the offense and of the person whose conversations were td

be intercepted; hence, the government agents were not required to

name those whom they did not yet know to be committing the offense.

The message of Giordano and Kahn is clear: the detailed

provisions of Title III should be precisely implemented. These

cases further suggest that, should interpretation be necessary,

any ambiguities should be construed in favor of limiting the

government's surveillance authority and showing a high regard for

individual privacy. See United States v. Giordano, 416 U.S. at 515.

A finding that Daviage and Scott are aggrieved persons and

have standing is also consistent with the general purpose of Title

IIt and fourth amendment Standing principles. The legislative

history of § 2510(11), itself, is not particularly revealing. The

tion of “aggrieved person", says simply:

This definition defines the class of those

who are entitled to invoke the suppression

sanction of section 2515 diecussed below,

through the motion to suppress provided for

by section 2518(10) (a), also discussed below.

It is intended to reflect existing law.

» Rep. No, ’ ong. ess. 91, re-

rinted in 1968 U.S. Code Con News,

a -50. (emphasis supplied).

The legislative history of §§ 2515 and 2518(10) (a), while shedding

Light on those particular sections, does not add meaning to the

Gefinition of “aggrieved person." See S. Rep. No. 1097, supra, 96,106

7

eprinted in 1968 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad, News at 2184-85, 2195.

However, an examination of the total legislative history of

Title III does reveal that permitting one in Daviage's or Scott's

position to raise standing is consonant with the general thrust of

Title III to show a high regard for individua) privacy. The

legislative history establishes that the purpose of Title III is

twofold: (1) to protect the privacy of wire and oral communications}

and (2) to delineate the precise circumstances under which certain

limited interception may be warranted. See S. Rep. No. 1097, 90th

a

There is nothing in the legislative hitcory of these section

which suggests that persons in the position of Daviage and Scott do

not have standing. See United States v. font 363 F.Supp. ll, 17

(S.0.Ga. 1973), in while e court eld that as long as

to some of the interceptions, they had standing.

|

| -u4-

:

Cong., 2nd Sess. 66, reprinted in 1968 U.S.Code Cong. & Ad. News,

at 2153. The Senate Report also states:

The tremendous scientific and techno-

logical developments that have taken

place in the last century have made

possible today the widespread use and

abuse of electronic surveillance

techniques. As a result of these deve lon-

ments, privacy of communication is

seriously jeopardized by these

techniques of surveillance. Id. at 67

reprinted in 1968 U.S.Code Cong. & Ad.

Newb at 71574

Title III is explicitly constructed to protect the privacy

interests of iadividuals from electronic invasion. The policy of

protecting privacy is further stated in the commentary accompanyin

8

§ 2515. In speaking of this section, the Senate Report states:

The provision thus forms an integral

part of the system of limitations designed

to protect privacy. Along with the criminal

and civil remedies, it should serve to

guarantee that the standards of the new

chapter will me gee pd curtail the unlawful

interception of wire and oral communication.

Id. at 96, reprinted in 1968 U.S. Code Cong.

fAd. News aes

Thus, while Title III seeks to employ limited electronic

‘eateenenens against certain kinds of organized crime, at the same

time a premium is placed on respect for the privacy interests of

the citizenry. The protection of privacy was stressed by the

Court in Gelbard v, United States, 408 U.S. 41 (1972). The Court

stated that the underlying policy of the wire tapping provisions of

Title III is “strictly to limit the employment of those techniques

of acquiring information," Id. at 47. In order to implement that

policy,

Title III authorizes the interception of

private wire and oral communications, but

only when law enforcement officials are

investigating specified serious crimes and

receive prior judicial approval, an approval

that may not be given except upon compliance

with stringent conditions, Id. at 46,

The policy of limiting electronic surveillance, then, is clear

both from the legislative history and from the Court's own inter-

am “eer

Section 2515, discussed in detail, infra, at pp.56-59

e evidentiary sanction by prohibiting the use as evidence of wire

r oral communications intercepted in vigtation of *itle IIL. The fu

ext of § 2515 is set forth supra, at p.3.

pretation of that history. The question of standing must be meds.

ll

- 1§ -

with an awareness that the congressional policy underlying Title

Ill recognizes the obtrusiveness of electronic surveillance. The

standing provisions, therefore, were drafted with the understand-

ing that the potential for invasion of privacy was great. So,

while not intending to expand existing law, Congress did intend to

insure that those persons whose privacy was invaded would be in a

position to assert the proper statutory remedy.

An examination of existing fourth amendment standing oe

which Title III's standing requirements were meant to reflect,

reveals further support for Daviage's and Scott's position.

in Jones v. United States, 362 U.S. 257, (1960), this Court

discussed standing under Rule 41(e), Fed. R. Crim. P. Jones

discussed the dilemma facing a defendant charged with a crime of

which possession is a key element. In such a situation, a defen-

dant admitting his possession for the purpose of establishing

standing to move to suppress the item would also necessarily be

admitting to one of the key elements of the substantive crime. The

Court determined that requiring a defendant to make this Hobson's

choice violated the purpose behind Rule 4l(e). Mr. Justice

Frankfurter, speaking for the Court, said that the search and

Seizure restrictions were “designed for protection against

official invasion of privacy,” and that an “aggrieved person" is

one who “belongs to the class for whose sake the Constitutional

protection is given.” 362 U.S. at 261, quoting New York ex rel.

Hatch v. Reardon, 204 U.S. 152, 160 (1907). Indeed, as the Court

pointed out, the very purpose behind judicial refusal to view

evidence gathered in violation of the fourth amendment is to make

“effective the protection of privacy." Id. at 261,

The Jones case developed the rule that “anyone legitimately on

premises where a search occurs may challenge its legality....'

362 U.S. at 267. This rule sweeps aside subtle distinctions of the

common law of property as the basis for determining standing, and

5,

See the legislative history quoted, Supra at pp. 13-14

0.

: In Jones, the Court held that the petitioner had standing

under 4l(e) to raise the levality of a search of an apartment in

which he was only occasionally aquest,

| tery ie ae

"Lie are heme ee ee

indicates che Court's concern with insuring that those whose

constitutionally protected privacy rights fall victim to official

intrusion can seek redress. Mr. Justice Frankfurter further

stated, with specific reference to “aggrieved person" status, that

we are dealing with carrying out an

important social policy and not a narrow,

finicky procedural requirement. Id. at 264,

In Alderman v. United States, 394 U.S. 165 (1969), this

Court further elaborated on standing to raise a fourth amendment

violation:

In these cases, therefore, any petitioner

would be entitled to the suppression of

government evidence originating in electronic

surveillance violative of his Fourth Amend-

ment right to be free of unreasonable searches

and seizures. Such violation would occur if

United States unlawfu

gations occurring on S premises, whether

Or not he was present or participated in

those conversations. Id. at 176 (emphasis

supplied).

The Alderman Court explicitly kept its holding within the bounds

of fourth amendment standing doctrine. See Id. at 175-76, +4 However)

by its very terms --"if the conversation of a petitioner were over-

heard"+= the Alderman Court makes Crystal clear that Daviage and

Scott would have had standing under pre-Title III law. +?

II.

Indeed, the decision refers to the then proposed Title III

legislation as support for the notion that either Congress or the

state legislatures could expand constitutional standing doctrine,

- that the proposed Title III did not do so. Id. at 175 n.9.

12.

In Berger v. New York, 388 U.S. 41 (1967), this Court held

that the petitionse had standing to challenge the New York State

bois ora surveillance statute even though his conversations were

nly overheard during the bugging of someone else's office. The

erger Court stated:

Since petitioner clearly has standing to

pr renee the statute, being indisputabl

affected by it, we need not consider... the

standing of petitioner to attack the search

and seizure made thereunder. Id. at 55.

erger was one of the primary opinions used by the drafters in con-

tructing Title III. The narrow proscriptions of both apeder and

» 389 U.S. 347 (1967), were explicitly built into Title IIT:

In the course of the opinion [perger Vv. lew fork ly

the Court delineated the constitutional criteria

that electronic surveillance legislation should

contain. Title III was drafted to meet these

standards and to conform with Kar? Vv. Te

States, 389 U.S. 347 (1967). Ss. .

Pp ‘ ’

ERas' ews ee -7TeT in 1968 U.S.Code Cong.

The Alderman case, unlike the instant one, involved the

telephone of Bynum's paramour from whose residence Bynum placed

surreptitious placement of a “bug". However, the pre-Title III

>

his narcotics-related calls. The court said that because calls

Standing rule was no different when the device used to obtain

of Bynum's were intercepted,

information was a wiretap. This fact was made clear in Katz v.

Bynum was clearly an “aggrieved person" as

United States, 389 U.S. 347 (1967), where the Court, after noting defined in 18 U.S.C. § 2510(11) and there-

fore is given leave to raise the legitimacy

that the fourth amendment covered electronic interceptions, went of the Sie etattene under 18 U.S.C. § 2518(10).

Id. at 835-36*{footnote omitted).

| On to state that one who uses a telephone

See also United States v. Carubia, 377 F. Supp. 1099, 1107 (E.D.

is surely entitled to assume that the words

he utters into the mouthpiece will not be N.Y. 1974); United States Vv. Ceraso, 355 F.Supp. 126, 127 (M.D. Pa.

broadcast to the world. To read the

Constitution more narrowly is to ignore 1973).

the vital role that the public telephone has

come to play in private communication. Although interpreting a different subsection of § 2518, United

Id. at 352.

14

States v. Bellosi, 501 F.2d 833 (D.C.Cir. 1974) lends further

The thiust of Jones, Alderman, and Katz is that standing

support to Daviage's and Scott's standing argument. In that case,

doctrine is designed to afford persons whose conversations have

the Government had procured a wiretap order without informing the

been overheard a means of challenging the validity of the inter-

authorizing judge that one of the targets of the wiretap had been

ceptions. Those cases indicate that "(p)rivate conversations...» |

a target of a prior wiretap relating to a different offense. The

at the core of the area in which indiviauals may have reasonable

defendants challenged the propriety of the authorization in their

expectations of privacy”. United States v. Turk, 526 F.2d 654 (5th

motion to suppress, and the Government argued that only the

Cir.), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 823 (1976) (footnote omitted).

specific defendant who had been the target of the prior wiretap had

—_"

This policy has been articulated in several lower federal court

Standing to challenge the surveillance evidence. The Government's

decisions relating specifically to minimization. In United States

13.

This decision was the first appeal in Bynum. Its complete

itation is United States v. Bynum, 475 F.2d 833 (2d Cir.), on

emand, 360 F.Supp. 400 SDNY, , aff'd, 485 F.2d 490 (2d Cir. 1973},

acated on other grounds, 417 U.S. 503, on remand, 386 F.Supp. 449

S.D.N.Y. , a * 513 F.2d 533 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 423

-S. 952 (1975).

A subsequent decision in the Bynum litigation, United States vi

num, 513 F.2d 533 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 423 u.s. 352 (1975),

s cited in the Government's Brief in Opposition for the proposi-

ion that Congress did not intend to broaden standing principles

n Title III. Id. at 6. This later Bynum decision, however, does

othing to weaken Daviage's and Scott's position. It simply held that

leven of the defendants did not have standing because none of them

as a party to intercepted calls or possessed a proprietary interes

n the premises in which the tapped telephone was located. The cour

ent on to hold, however, that two other defendants, including Bynum,

id have standing because they had been parties to intercepted com-

unications.

14-peliosi deals with the impropriety of the authorization to

eek a wiretap, whereas the instant case concerns the legality of th

xecution of a legally authorized wiretap. This distinction, however,

s not significant in determining the question of standing. Section

518(10) (a) cites three occasions for suppressing wiretap evidence:

1) the communication was unlawfully seized, (2) the order of autho-

ization or approval was facially insufficient, or (3) the inter-

eption was not made in accordance with the order of authorization

r approval. Certainly these reasons go to both authorization and

xecution. There is nothing in the language of § 2518 (or § 25107(T1))

hich suggests that Congress intended different standing rules to chal

enge the authorization of a wiretap as opposed to its actual omeuGe

Vv. King, 478 F.2d 494 (9th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 417 U.S. 920

(1974), the court addressed the issue of standing to raise

minimization. Concluding that one of the defendants, Maack, was

i "aggrieved person” with standing to raise minimization, the court

aid:

On at least one occasion a message sent

at his direction and a reply thereto were

intercepted by Government agents. His

privacy was thus invaded to the same extent

as if he had taken the phone in hand and

Spoken on the line himself. Id. at 506.

The circumstances of King are certainly more attenuated than those

/n the instant case. While Maack had relayed at least one message

phrough someone else, Daviage and Scott were actual parties to

everal conversations themselves.

In United States v. Bynum, 475 F.2d 832 (2nd Cir. 1973), the

court relied on §§ 2510(11) and 2518(10) (a) to confer standing to

raise minimization. In Bynum, the actual wiretap was placed on the ’

en

@ 19 «

argument was basec on the purpose of suppression, i.e., that

violations of § 2518(i) (e) would be sufficiently deterred if the

evidence were suppressed only as to the specific victim of the

Gouble wiretap. The court responded by relying on the language

of Title III:

Though we would question the Government's

judgment on how much a zealous law enforce-

ment official would be deterred under its

standing formula, we do not need to do so.

It is sufficient to state that the Govern-

ment's position has not been accomodated

by the unambiguous criterion of standing

set forth in Sections 2518(10) (a) and

2510(11).,301 F.2d at 842 (footnote

omitted).

Despite the clear language of §§ 2518(10) (a) and 2510(11),

the legislative history of Title III, and judicial interpretations

of standing to raise fourth amendment claims both before and

after Title III's enactment, the Government continues to argue

that Daviage and Scott lack standing. In its Brief in Opposition,

the Government seems to be making two arguments. It asserts that

because the intercepted calls to which they were parties were

all related to the purpose of the wiretap, they therefore lack

Standing. However, the Government parenthetically injects a

second notion -- that Daviage and Scott lack standing because

they were not the subscribers to the tapped telephone. See Brief

in Opposition at 6.26 For these arguments, the Government cites

Alderman v. United States, supra; United States v. Poeta, 455 F.2d

117 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,406 U.S. 948 (1972); United States v.

Ramsey, 503 F.2d 524 (7th Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 420 U.S. 932

(1975); and United States v. Hinton, 543 F.2d 1002 (24 Car. de

Cert. denied, 429 U.S. 980 (1976); and United States v. Fury, 554

F.2d 522 (2d Cir. 1977), petition for cert. filed, (May 27, 1977)

(No. 76-6828).

i5.

In footnote 22, the Bellosi court relies on the legislativ

history of Title III, Alderman and Jones in Support of its holding

that all of the defendants had standing.

16-7, is noteworthy that Thurmon, whose standing the Govern-

ment does not contest, was likewise not the subscriber to the

telephone. The subscriber was, in fact, Geneva Jenkins, although

Thurmon apparently shared the premises.

|

|

|

a

aw ee eee

———

—_—_—

- 20 -

Taking the second argument first, the Government looks for

Support to the one paragraph statement in United States v. Poeta,

455 F.2d at 122. In dealing with Poeta's allegation that the

agents failed to execute minimization provisionsin the wiretap

order, the Poeta court says, Simply, that although Poeta was a

party to intercepted calls, the wiretap itself was on someone

else's telephone, and, therefore, Poeta's rights were not invaded.

The only authority the Poeta court cites for its ruling is

Alderman v. Un ted States, supra, and to the extent that it

relies on Alderman, it plainly misreads that Opinion. Alderman

states that fourth amendment rights are "personal" and cannot be

“vicariously asserted." 394 U.S. at 174. Alderman, however,

explains what is meant by violation of these “personal” rights by

saying:

Such violation would occur if the United

States unlawfully overheard conversations

of a petitioner himself.... 394 U.S. at 176.

There is nothing in Alderman which limits standing to the actual

subscriber of the telephone. By its very terms, the opinion says

that one's own privacy is invaded if he is a party to intercepted

communications.

Alderman states only the obvious: a telephone conversation

jdoes not "belong" to either participant alone. Spoken words which

jexist as electrical impulses along a wire cannot be said to be the

“property” of one conversant and not the other. It is even more

wee to assert that, should such a proprietary interest exist

in a telephone conversation, that "interest" fluctuates between

Jones and Smith, depending on whether the Government attaches its

listening device to Jones' telephone (while he is talking to Smith)

Dr Smith's telephone (while he is talking to Jones). As Mr. Justice

randeis noted in his famous dissent in Olmstead v. United States,

77 U.S. 438, 476 (1928):

Moreover, the tapping of one man's telephone

line involves the tapping of the telephone of

every other person whom he may call or who may

call him. -

If there were any doubt as to —_ © a possessory interest

in the telephone is required, such doubt was laid to rest in Katz v.|

21 - 22 -

; . ursuing the wiretap. Both kinds of evidence w r i

. | United States, supra. As Mr. Justice Stewart noted, “the Fourth iy © ’ 4 a pee ie

the instant case in su t of th i ims.

Amendment protects people, not places.” 389 U.S. at 351. In Katz — ae epanees eigins See intra

| | at ° However, there is a fund i

the Government argued that since the petitioner's conversations | i PP. 38-39. undamental distinction between

| | evidence which goes to decidi j band

were intercepted by tapping a telephone in a glass booth, he could. ) 9 ng the merits of a minimization claim

| and facts which must be sh

mot reasonably expect privacy. In rejecting this argument, the | Own in order to have standing to raise

, _ . such a claim.

Court said that by using a telephone, petitioner meant to exclude

"not the intruding eye— it was the uninvited ear." Id. at 352. | : *n support of its “evidence on merits equals standing”

Id | | | | 19

Indeed, the Court explicitly recognized the sanctity of conversa- | —s BS, the Gover nt cites United States v. Fury, supra.

tion itself: | in Fury, two wiretaps were authorized - the "Schnell" tap and the

Me leee than on infividuel in © beatsies | | "Fury" tap. After noting that some of the defendants did not have

pea $04 .: wy ig oe oe i | standing because they were not parties to any intercepted communi-

rely upon the protection of the Fourth cation, the Court,at p. 526, says:

Amendment. Id. at 352 (footnotes omitted).

:; , ~— - | Fury, on the other hand, has standin

See also Warden, Maryland Penitentiary v. Hayden, 387 U.S. 294, a | as an aggrieved person to challenge ate”

=" aa . ey the Schnell and Fury wiretaps. See New

304 (1967); United States v. Hunt, 505 F.2d 931 (Sth Cir. 1974). York Civil Practice Law and Rules ("CPLR")

et . | § 4506(2). Fury does not have standing,

The Government's principal argument is that, as Daviage and | however, to raise the issue of improper

| ” . : : ”"

Scott were parties to inculpatory calls and not to calls unrelated oa ae —a — ge epee

| d the Sed lave ie édadnios x henetenahene

an i

to the purpose of the wiretap, they do not have standing to raise | | intercepted is an invasion of Schnell's

; y/ rivacy, not Fury's. United States v. Po ta,

minimization. The fundamental fallacy of this position is that | ase > is 117, 19% (24 Gir.), cert. denie aa

oe oat | § 406 U.S. 948, 92 S. Ct. 2041, 32 L.Ed.2d 337

it confuses standing with evidence of a failure to minimize. there | (1972); People v. Fiorillo, 63 Misc. 2d 480,

' acts ; 481, 311 N.W.S 72d 574 (Montgomery Cty. ct.

are several types of evidence which show a failure to minimize. i i 1970). See Alderman v. ani ted Fron 394

. te bie aaa — i=<% U.S. 165, 171-76, Ct. ’ -Ed.2d 176

One consists of particular interceptions which could not possibly | (1969); United States v. Hinton, $43 F.24 1002

. 10ll, n. ir. .

have been interpreted as related to the wiretap when they were over

The Fury analysis is obscure at best. In the initial sentence

heard. See infra, at p.48n.64.Another is the agents' own in-court | |

Statements as to their conduct and the procedure followed | che “oust unequivocally states that yusy "as etanding ee on

I7 | j aggrieved person. Yet, the court then takes back in the second

“The Government attempts to bolster its proprietary interest

argument by citing United States v. Ramsey, supra, and United | sentence what it had seemed to confer in the first sentence. Thus,

States v. Hinton, supra. These two cases, however, both cite and

explicitiy rely on Poeta, thereby incorporating Poeta's misapplica- it would appear that Fury is setting up two standards: one for

tion of Alderman. Therefore, they suffer from the same analytic

weakness which afflicts Poeta. Standing to challenge wiretap evidence generally, and a second to

18. one Court of Appeals in Scott Ialso recognized this

distinction:

The question presented by the Government's T.

challenge [to standing] is really cage + 2 | Although it is not entirely clear what authority the Govern+

some of the appellees can introduce evidence | ment cites in support of this argument,Daviage assumes that Fu

based on og pen ge > a ro hn A 1 | is intended as support for the proposition. This assumption is

participate in order to attempt emons | | based on the court's citing of People v. Fiorillo, 63 Misc.2d

| that the intercepted conversations to which they ' 480, 311 N.¥.5. 574 (Montgomery Cty Ft STO) a Hen York trial

— a party were not, in = yee mage | a mcoe M | court decision squarely supporting "evidence on merits equais

=e Se yh ye ny Be or | Stancing.” See the discussion of Fiorillo, infra, at p. 23.

. . ad

| —_

—— ome ee |

Fury seeks to invoke the reasoning of those cases, it is incorrect

or t

- 23 -

20

raise tne minimization violation specifically. The opinion

then cites People v. Fiorillo, 63 Misc.2d 480, 31l N.Y.S.2da 574,

(Montgomery Cty. Ct., 1970). That trial court decision squareiy

supports the Government's “evidence on merits equals standing”

argument. The defendants had objected to the absence of provi-

sions in the warrant to minimize interception of innocent tele-

phone calls. After noting that the defendants had no innocent

calls intercepted, the court ruled: "The aggrieved persons would

be those whose unrelated telephone calls were intercepted." 63

Misc.2d at 481,

361 N.Y¥.S.2d at 576. Fiorillo is the only case

Daviage has discovered which supports this argument of the

21

Government. Regrettably the Fiorillo opinion contains no reason-

ing or relevant case authority. ?? Fury's mere citation of Fiorillo

thus adds no light.??

ae

The New York wiretap statute has its own standing and mini-

New York statute virtually tracks the language of Title III ,"™

United States v. Tortorello, 480 F.2d 764, 772 (2d Cir.), cert.

denied, 414 U.S. 866 (1973), it is admittedly difficult to con-

clude that New York's law sets out a double level standing criteria

but that Title III does not. Nevertheless, Daviage indulgés in the

assumption that Fury's reference to standing under the New York

statute was somehow not meant to pertain to standing under the

minimization provision. Otherwise, the first sentence of the above

quoted passage in Fury is directly contradictory to the second

sentence.

21-ohere is a hint of this argument at the conclusion of the

brief discussion of standing in United States v. Ramsey, 503 F.2d at

532. The court makes reference to the interpretation that "any

casual caller engaging in innocent conversation ,“would have stand-

ing. Id. (emphasis supplied). The court then notes that because all

of the calls in which Ramsey participated were inculpatory, he did

not have standing. See also Brief for the United States in Opposi-

tion to the Petition for Writ of Certiorari, Fury v. United States,

No. 76-6828 (Supreme Court of the United States, Oct. Term, 1977)

at 4-5.

22. where is virtually no analysis in Fiorjllo, and the only

authority it cites is United States v. Serrano, 317 F.2d 356 -(@@ Cis

1963). Serrano is not a minimization case, nor is it even an *

electronic surveillance case. The two paragraph per curiam decision

apparently holds (the facts are not stated) that Serrano could not

move to suppress evidence seized incident to the arrest of someone

else. Serrano does not stand for the proposition that one must have

made calls unrelated to the purpose of a wiretap order to have

Standing to raise minimization. '

23m make matters even more confusing, Fury invokes the pro-

prietary interest language of Poeta and Hinton. To the extent that

he reasons already given.

— - -—— =

mization provisions, and its own exclusionary remedy. secause "(t]he

~~!

.

iCarubia, 377 F.Supp. at 1107; United States v. Ceraso,

@ 24 -

Ultimately, the logic of the “evidence equals standing”

position rests squarely on a bootstrapping argument relying on

the nature of the calls intercepted rather than the parties to the

calls intercepted. Since the calls to which Daviage and Scott

were parties were inculpatory, so the argument goes, they should

not be heard to complain that those calls were intercepted in

gross and flagrant violation of the wiretap order. This reasoning

does violence to well-established fourth amendment principles. As

this Court said in Byars v. United States, 273 U.S. 28 (1927):

Ner is it material that the search was

successful in revealing evidence of a

violation of a federal statute. A search

prosecuted in violation of the Constitution

is not made lawful by what it brings to

light; and the doctrine has never been

recognized by this Court, nor can it be

tolerated under our constitutional system,

that evidences of crime discovered by a

federal officer in making a search...may

be used against the victim of the unlawful

search.... Id. at 29-30.

332 U.S. 581

See also United States v. DiRe, (1948).

The nature of the call was clearly not deemed rele-

vant in a number of minimization cases. For example, in United

States v. King, 478 F.2d 494, 506 (9th Cir. 1973), cert. denied,

417 U.S. 920 (1974), one defendant was held to have standing on

the basis of having had one messace sent at his direction over the

tapped line. Although this message was apparently inculpatory,

the court never inquired into the nature of the call in order to

resolve the standing issue. Rather, it determined that the cefendan!

had either been a party to an interception or been the person

against whom the interception order was directed. This approach

was followed in United States v. Bynum, 475 F.2d at 835-36, in

which, again, the court never determined the nature of the inter-

ceptions before ruling on standing. See also United States v.

355 F.Supp.

at 127.

By focusing on the nature of the calls, the Government would

ave one believe that because the calls were inculpatory there was,

fortiori, no conceivable minimizaticn issue. Daviage submits,

owever, that the issue remains vital regardless of the type of

re

- 25 -

calls intercepted. If a government agent attached a tape

recorder to a private telephone line and left it running for

thirty days with no monitoring, “*it would be difficult to argue

that the victim of those interceptions did not have standing to

raise failure to minimize. > If, fortuitously, it turned out that

all of the interceptions related to the purpose of the tape, the

Situation would nonetheless be that of a very fruitful general

warrant. In short, to make standing to raise minimization or,

for that matter, to make the merits of a minimization claim rest

on the nature of the items seized, injects into search and seizure

doctrine, a process that is tantamount to a general warrant-- the

very evil which the fourth amendment was designed to eliminate. 7°

Il. THRE ROR ET are SER CONOR Re EE EANCE pEUTALLING a

ereaan THE INTERCEPTION OF NON-PERTINEN OMMUNICATIONS,

A. The Constitutional Significance Of The Minimization Issue.

In the case under review, this Court confronts, for the

first time, the problem of construing the minimization requirement

of 18 U.S.C. § 2518(5) and of defining the appropriate criteria by

24.

Plainly the tape recording of a conversation without the

contemporaneous reception by a human ear constitutes an inter-

ception within the § 2510(4) definition of “intercept ."" Indeed,

this very point was decided in United States v. Turk, 526 F.2d at

658:

If a person secrets a recorder in a room and

thereby records a conversation between two

others an “acquisition” occurs at the time

*he recording is made.

25.

This hypothetical fact situation differs from the instant

case insofar as there was actual monitoring in this case. Of

course, where there is a live ear overhearing each call, the

Situation is aggravated.

26.

See Camara v. Municipal Court, 387 U.S. 523 (1967).

- 26 -

which compliance is determined. It is important to note at this

point, however, that this Court's construction of § 2518(5) is

laden with constitutional implications and its delineation of

standards is necessarily limited by fourth amendment considera-

tions. *’re is well-settled that the concerns which guided the

drafting of the fourth seinen oni equally applicable to a

search and seizure effected by electronic Surveillance. Indeed,

it is precisely the revulsion toward the general warrant which

prompted some to insist that electronic surveillance can never be

“reasonable” within the meaning of that amendment. *? As stated

by Mr. Justice Brennan in his dissenting opinion in Lopez v. wana

States, 373 U.S. 427 (1963),

electronic surveillance is almost in-

herently indiscriminate, so that com-

pliance with the requirement of particularity

in the Fourth Amendment would be difficult;

Id. at 463,

Nevertheless, this Court has unequivocally established, in the last

decade, that the stringent requirements of the fourth amendment

applicable to conventional search and seizures are equally appli-

cable to electronic surveillance; it is no longer open to question

2/.

Mr. Justice Miller, in his concurring Opinion in Boyd v.

United States, 116 U.S. 616 (1886), stated the underlying {=F

While the framers of the Constitution

had their attention drawn, no doubt, to

the abuses of this power of searching

private houses and seizing private papers,

as practiced in England, it is obvious

that they only intended to restrain the

abuse, while they did not abolish the power.

Hence it is only unreasonable searches and

seizures that are for en, and the means

of securing this protection was by abolishing

searches under warrants, which were called

general warrants, because they authorized

searches in any place, for anything. Id. at 641.

(Emphasis in original).

“— e.g., United States v. Leta, 332 F.Supp. 1357, 1360 n.

4 (M.D.Pa. 19 ; Unit tates v. Focarile, 340 F.Supp. 1033, 1046

(D.Md.), aff'd. gs nom. Unit States v. Giordano, 469 F.2d 522

(4th Cir. I5%0), rev.'d on other grounds, -S. 505 (1974).

29+ ur, Justice Brennan posits that the “anomalous exceptions”

to fourth amendment principles in Olmstead v. United States, 277

-S. 438 (1928), Goldman v. United States, -S. 42), and

n Lee v. United States, oBe 52), were in part the resu]

e pervasive fear that if electronic surveillance were deemed

be within the reach of the Fourth Amendment, a useful technique

f law enforcement would be wholly destroyed,...” Id. at 463.

- 27 = » wh

that electronic surveillance may be “reasonable.” Osborn v. United

Tt the surveillance was limited, both in

| States, 385 U.S. 323 (1966); Berger v. New York, 388 U.S. 41 ' scope and in duration, ... . The agents

2S confined their surveillance to the brief

(1967); Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347 (1967). periods during which he [petitioner] used

the telephone booth, and they took great

In establishing the standards by which the constitutionality care to overhear only the conversations

of the petitioner himself. Id. at 354.

| of electronic surveillance under the fourth amendment is assessed, | (footnotes omitted).

| this Court focused on the requirement of particularity which acts The constitutionality of a search and seizure, then, is

| as protection against the general warrant. In Osborn v. United heavily dependent upon satisfying the requirement of particularity.

| States, supra, an attorney for James R. Hoffa was convicted of The drafters of Title III, seeking to meet the standards de-

| endeavoring to bribe a member of the jury panel ina prospective lineated in Osborn, Berger and Katz, were well aware of this and

federal criminal trial. Admitted into evidence was a tape record- forged a procedure meant to conform with constitutional demands. °°

ing of a conversation made between the attorney and a government This Court, in deciding what compliance with § 2518(5) entails,

informer, who had a recording device concealed on his person during must do so with this constitutional background in mind. However,

that conversation. Noting that the device was used “under the this question, “fraught as it is with substantial constitutional

most precise and discriminate circumstances, circumstances which overtones", °+ can be settled as a matter of statutory construction.

fully met the ‘requirement of particularity',” Id. at 329, this B. Standards povernang The Determination Of compliance

Court held that the use of the device and the recording itself was

Section 2518(5) of Title 18 provides in pertinent part:

permissible “for the narrow and particularized purpose of ascer-

Every order...shall contain a provision

taining the truth oi the affidavit's allegations.” Id. at 330. . that the authorization to intercept...,

shall be conducted in such a way as to

In its landmark decision in Berger, supra, this Court ; minimize the interception of communications

not otherwise subject to interception....

vigorously reasserted the importance of the fourth amendment's

The statute provides no further clarification as to the meaning

requirement of particularity. Mr. Justice Clark stated that

Jot “minimize. ">* Although this Court has not previously construed

the statute's failure to describe with

particularity the conversations sought the provision, several lower federal covwrt decisions make it

gives the officer a roving commission to

"seize" any and all conversations... . AS clear that § 2518(5) does not prohibit tha incerception of any non-

with general warrants this leaves too much ha

to the discretion of the officer executing rtinent conversations, but directs the Government to conduct the

the order. Id. at 59. (emphasis supplied).

iretap in a manner designed to reduce to the smallest degree

Relying for the most part on this defect, but also noting the lack

ssible the interception of conversations unrelated to the criminal

of other protective procedures, this Court held that the New York

ctivity under investigation. United States v. Clerkley, 556 F.2d

statute permitted "a trespassory invasion of the home or office,

709, 716 (4th Cir. 1977); United States v. Armocida, 515 F.2d 29

by general warrant, contrary to the command of the Fourth Amendment."

30.

Id. at 64, (emphasis supplied.) See Bynum v. United States, 423 U.S. 952 (1975) (Mr. Justice

_ rennan, dissenting from denial of petition for writ of certiorari).

The most recent case of this trilogy, Katz, supra., again 31

"Scott v. United States, 425 U.S. 917, 925 (1976) (Mr. Justi

emphasized that the requirement of particularity is an essential rennan, dissenting from denial of petition for writ of certiorari).

32.

The legislative history of Titie III offers no definition

f "minimize", but merely reiterates the language of §2518(5). See

-Rep. No. 1097, 90th Cong. 2nd Sess. 103, reprinted in 1968 U.S.

Code Cong. & Ad. News at 2192. a

component of a reasonable search and seizure. This Court held that,

sent antecedent judicial authorization and determination of

: robable cause, the surveillance in that case violated the fourth

ndment. However this Court also noted that

ySee Berger, 385 U.S. at 57. Section 2518(5), then, “requires that

- 29 -

(3rd Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 858 (1975); United States v.

Cox, 462 F.2d 1293 (8th Cir. 1972), cert. denied, 417 U.S. 918

(1974),

Such a construction of the requirement, while entirely con-

Sistent with the text of § 2518(5), also accurately reflects the

intention of the drafters of Title 111. The statutory scheme

represents a balance, fashioned by Congress, between the competing

Values of law enforcement and the right to privacy. ?? By carefully

prescribing the circumstances under which electronic surveillance

may be authorized in accord with Berger v. New York, Supra, and

Katz v. United States, Supra., Congress sought to afford effective

techniques to combat Organized crime while preventing “improper

invasion of the right of privacy provided by the Fourth Amendment

and...the indiscriminate seizure of communications...." United

States v. Focarile, 340 F.Supp. at 1044. In a similar manner, the

“minimization” provision is a balance between these conflicting

goals. While recognizing that a requirement of absolute elimina-

tion of interceptions of innocent communications would seriously

jeopardize the Statutory purpose of crime control, °4 the drafters

of Title Irr designed minimization as a safeguard against any

invasion of privacy greater than necessary under the circumstances.

measures be adopted to reduce the extent of such interception to a

practical minimum while allowing the legitimate aims of the Govern-

ment to be pursued.” United States v. Turner, 528 F.2d 143 (9th CirJ

ert. denied, 423 U.s. 996 (1975). 35

3+ See Pp.12-14, supra.

34.

See United States v. B num, 485 F.2d 490, 500 (24 Cir. 1973)

acated on other grounds, 417 U.S. 903 (1974).

M4

'

35.

“What is important is that the facts in the application on a

¢ase-by-case basis justify the period of time of the Surveillance.”

- Rep. No. 1097, 90th Cong., 2nd Sess. 101, reprinted in 1968 U.S.

Ode Cong. & Ad. News at 2190. United States ¥. James, 494 F.2d 1007

-C.Cir.), cert. denied, -S. ; see also

nited States v. Armoci &, supra; United States v. Clerkley, supra.

,

*

_—~-

ee 0 ee eee eee

- 30 - a

l. The Good Faith Test.

Proceeding on the proposition that the surveillance

must be "reasonable" to comport with § 2518(5), the federal

courts have shaped a standard by which compliance with the minimi-

zation requirement can be assessed. The cases establish that the

statutory command of minimization is Satisfied if (1) the agents

manifest a good faith effort to minimize the interception of

innocent communications, and (2) the methods employed in minimiza-

tion are reasonable in light of the circumstances. The courts

have made clear that absent good faith efforts to minimize, the

second inquiry should not be reached; the conduct of the surveil-

lance is unreasonable per se. On the other hand, where attempts

to comply are found, they must still conform to a standard of

reasonableness.

This two-pronged standard’ began its development in the

early cases addressing the minimization issue. In United States v.

King, 335 F.Supp. 523 (S.D. Cal. 1971), rev'd on other grounds, 478

F.2d 494 (9th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 417 U. Ss. 920 (1974),

the district court found that the Government had failed t> comply

with the minimization requirement. The authorizing order

specified the communications which could be lawfully intercepted.

However, the court found that the wiretap was in operation for

forty-five days, twenty-four hours a day, and that the agents

recorded every conversation regardless of the parties to or nature

of the communication. Stating that"compliance with the provisions

lot the authorizing order requires those responsible for the execu-

tion of the wiretap to devise some means of limiting intercepticn.”"

to specified conversations, 335 F.Supp. at 541, the court was

skeptical of the agents' adnerence to the minimization requirement.

—ee—_-—- oe

a

It referred to one intercepted conversation which entailed forty-

four pages of transcript. The conversation was completely irrele-

7 with the exception of two pages in the middle of the tran-

36 «me Standard was first, and most clearly, articulated in

nited States v. Tortorello, 480 F.2d 764 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,

- See scussion, infra, at Pp. 33-35.

eee ee eee ae ee ee ee

script. The Court stated:

Nevertheless this Court is reluctant

to find that this conversation should have

been intercepted. The object of minimiza-

tion is to prevent the wiretap from turning

into the kind of general search and whole-

sale invasion of privacy decried by the

Supreme Court in Berger v. New York, supra,

and Katz v. United States, supra. By justi-

fying blanket surveillance on the ground

that something relevant might turn up at

any moment, the requirement of minimization

would be rendered nugator

pr Lacy non-existent. Id emphasis

suppli ;

The court acknowledged the difficulties inherent in electronia

surveillance but clearly recognized the threat to privacy should

those difficulties be employed as justification for total inter-

ception. Indeed, the court pointed out that when the competing

interests of law enforcement and privacy clash, deference must

be given to the latter “out of respect for the parties’ constitu-

tional rights and for the limited system which Congress s0

painstakingly created.” Id, at 542,

The opinion in United States v. Focarile, supra, represents

an early effort by a court to carefully analyze the issue of

minimization and to articulate guidelines for determining com-

pliance with § 2518(5).

In Focarile, as inthe instant case, there was total intercep-

tion for thirteen days. Finding neither clarity nor consistency

among the three cases construing the minimization provision -

United States v. King, 335 F.Supp. 523 (S.D.Calif. 1971); United

States v. Leta, 332 F.Supp. 1357 (M.D.Pa. 1971)?’ and United States

v. Scott, 331 F.Supp. 233 (D.D.C. 1971) = the Court stated:

Scott, King and Leta, as well as a common

sense approach to the problem lead one to the

conclusion that there can be essentially two

different types of violation of the minimiza-

tion requirement of § 2518(5). The first type

of violation would be the one committed if

there had been no attempt at all to minimize

the interception of “innocent” calls. This

ee ee

37.

Although Leta does not elaborate on the issue of minimiza-

| tion, it is significant insofar as it substantiates the good faith

| test. Recognizing that 1008 interception may be necessary under

| Some circumstances, and that while this is not unreasonable per se,

| "it may also be that 100% recording will take place without an

effort to minimize where possible. In such a situation, 18 U.S.C.

,; § 2518(5) will have been violated...." Id. at 1360 n. 4.

first type of violation would obviously

be a blatant violation of the provisions

of Title III and, in addition, would

probably violate the precepts of the

Fourth Amendment. The second type of

violation of the minimization require-

ment would be the se committed if there

is an inadequate method or effort to

minimize. Id. at 1046. (footnote omitted).

Thus the court emphasized that the threshold question is

whether there has been any effort or “good faith” attempt to

comply with § 2518(5). Absent such attempt, the agents' conduct

is unreasonable under the terms of Title III and, under the

command of Berger and Katz, violative of the fourth amendment. But,

should there be manifestations of good-faith attempts to comply

with § 2518 (5) >*the inguiry then focuses on the adequacy of those

attempts. As numerous cases make clear, those efforts are

measured in terms of reasonableness. >” See discussion, infra, at

pp. 43-52.

On the issue of compliance with the statute, Forcarile pur-

ports to distill several fundamental ideas from the few previous

cases. But more importantly, it establishes a basic test for

ascertaining the propriety of governmental conduct ,and that

approach has been accepted in subsequent decisions.

A further illustration of the development of this test is

United States v. Sisca, 361 F.Supp. 735 (S.D.N.Y. 1973), aff'd,

303 F.2d 1337 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 1008 (1974). The

lGovernment sought to justify total interception because of the

Yo

The cases have come to recognize several factors as mani-

festing the government's good faith efforts to comply with the

nimization requirement. See, e.g., United States v. Hinton, 543

-2d 1002, 1012 (2d Cir.), cert. ol 429 U.S. 980 (1976); United

tates v. Rizzo, 491 F.2d 215, Cir.), cert. denied, 416 U.S,

+ United States v. Daly, 535 F.2d 434, 441 (8th Cir. 1976)

(system of “spot-checking” to insure that Pye ree Ee initially

nnocent did not turn to pertinent subjects); Unit States v.

lerkley, 556 F.2d at 718; United States v. Tortorello, 480 F.2d at

; United States v. Cox, -2d at , (judicial supervision) ;

nd United States v. Turner, 528 F.2d at 158; United States v.

alcone, - Supp. , 887 (D.N.J. 1973), aff'd, 505 F.2d 478

r r. 1974), cert. denied, 420 U.S. 955 (1975); United States

~ Lanza, 349 F.Supp. 925, 932 (M.D.Pla. 1972) (instructions to the

gents executing the wiretap).

39+ one Focarile court found the efforts to minimize reasonable

under the circumstances.

=o 9

- 33-

Suppressed the wiretap evidence. Tortorello concluded: “In short,

inherent difficulties faced by the monitoring agents. The court

the court [in United States v. Scott, 331 F.Supp. 233 (D.C.C. 1971)]

; ided that

acknowledged the practical problems involved, yet decided tha found that there was no attempt by the officers to devise some

the absence of any precautions to insure

minimization here, the number of such means Of limiting interceptions.” 480 F.2d at 784.

j lack of ,

Sceueedanen aiaindemas Gale the con- The court in Tortorello compared the conduct of the agents

infant aah scan ; }

ments were pot satisfactorily ro + al who executed the wiretap in that case with the conduct of the

Id. at 745.

agents in Scott. It noted that the agents in the case before it

The import of this language is precisely that the agents made showed "good judgment" in devising patterns to guide their minimi-

no attempts to minimize. zation efforts. Moreover, they considered the identity of the

The good faith test developed by these district court cases caller, the guarded nature of the conversation, the tone of voice

has been uniformly adopted among the circuits. The appellate and the subject matter and "[a]s soon as it was determined that

opinions consistently require that the monitoring agents make good any conversation overheard was not pertinent, all interception

faith attempts at minimization, either explicitly, by finding the immediately ceased." 480 F.2d at 783. Referring to United States

bequisite good faith effect, of inplicitiy, by immediately pre- v. King, supra, and United States v. Sklaroff, 323 F.Supp. 296

: . With

Seating te Ceteeming the reasenablenses Of the ettenpts 7 (S.D.Fla. 1971), the court framed the test which should govern

the notable exception of the Court of Appeals for the District

= + the determination whether there has been compliance with the

of Columbia in Scott II, no court has found compliance with § 2518 minimization requirement:

(S) where the record shows, as it does here, that the agents made Tt is clear from these Gecisions thet o

n> effort to minimize the interception of non-pertinent communica- ; - cdi

eteds. s after reviewing the monitoring log and hearing

the testimony of the monitoring agents, it is

In United States v. Tortorello, supra, the appellant contended emgwiedly Eas anna glo he praged

that the surveillance was conducted in a manner that resulted in seeamee suite a vat ptr Be: er Mw 1 Al

unnecessary monitoring and recording of irrelevant conversations. 480 F.2d at 784.

This, he urged, violated the fourth amendment and the provisions Since “the officers respected the privacy of the persons under

of the authorizing order requiring minimal interception of non- surveillance and utilized effective safeguards against excessive

pertinent communications pursuant to § 2518(5). The court stated: intrusion", Id. at 785, the court ruled that the wiretap evidence

“The question raised here is whether the executing officers took was properly admitted. *?

reasonable measures to minimize the interception of irrelevant

communications." 480 F.2d at 783 (emphasis supplied). Looking to 41+ See Peopis 1 Fioxs 41 N.Y¥.2d 245, 392 N.¥.S.2d 257 (1976),

here the court of appeals construed the virtually identical mini-

the existing case law for guidance, the court chen discussed the

ization requirement of New York C.P.L. 700.30, subd. 7. Quoting

nited States v. Tortorello, Supra, the court stated:

Minimization may be defined as a good faith

and reasonable effort to keep the number of 39 j--

district court's initial opinion in the instant case which

a non-pertinent calls intercepted to the

Because the motion to suppress the evidence derived from smallest practicable number. Id. at 262.

the wiretap was not timely made, the court's discussion on the at court recently reaffirmed this application of the two-prong

merits is dicta. The Court felt, however, that a discussion would tandard in People v. Brenes, 42 N.¥.2d 41, 396 N.¥.S.2d 629 (1977),

be "desirable" in light “of the importance and relative novelty of tating that "the prinasy ausstion is whether, realistically con-

the minimization question and the evolving law or the subject.” idered, there was a good faith attempt to affirmatively avoid inter-

Id. at 742. ption of conversations unrelated to the crime or crimes authorized

be investigated...." Id. at 633.

- 3§ «

The Tortorello test for assessing compliance with the mini-

— — _——

mization requirement clearly contemplates more than merely

reasonable results. reasonableness of conduct

At the very least,

must include a good-faith effort to avoid that intrusion. |

This good faith test in assessing compliance with the minimi-

zation requirement has been consistently applied in the Second

Circuit. In United States v.

Bynum, 485 F.2d 490, 501 (24 Cir.

1973), vacated on other grounds, 417 U.S. 903 (1974), where total

interception was held reasonable under the circumstances, the

- urt discusses the good faith requirement in the context of

= 42 . J a

judicial supervision, stating that “the degree of judicial super-

vision is an important factor in determining whether a good faith

effort to minimize was attempted.” In United States v. Manfredi,

|

|

488 F.2d 588, 600 (2d Cir. 15973), cert. denied, 417 U.S. 936

(1974), the court of appeals again had occasion to determine com-

pliance with § 2518(5). It reiterated the principle established

in Tortorello, stating that the statute requires "that the methods

used to effect minimization be in good faith and reasonable.”

}

|

re

court held that the Government had made a prima facie showing of |

compliance with the minimization provision, attaching great

significance to the trial court's finding of good faith. *?

The validity of the good faith test was most recently affirmed

in United States v. Hinton, 543 F.2d 1002 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,

429 U.S. 980 (1976). In that case, the agents conducting the |

surveillance took several steps to minimize the interception of |

innocent communications, such as “spot checkinc” to insure that

conversations initially non-pertinent did not become ones subject

to interception, and employing a maximum time period of five

minutes to ascertain the nature of the call. Further, this was

“not a case where every conversation coming into and emanating

from the wiretapped residences was recorded and overheard in its

642.

See infra,

43.

The court stated: “We are aided by the trial court's find-

ing that the law enforcement agents here made a ‘good faith effort

to minimize’... ." 488 F.2d at 599.

at p. 36.

a

ae LIE re

- 36 -

entirety,” Id. at 1012, as is the instant case. To determine com-

pliance with the minimization requirement, the court stated:

We must look to whether the agents devised

a reasonable means of limiting interception,

anc to whether they utilized those safe-

wards in good faith. Id. at 1012 (emphasis

supplied).

The court held that the agents complied with the requirement,

Stating that “it appears that a good faith attempt was made to

i

_limit intrusion into private intimacies so as to preserve the

|Privacy interests of those whose conversations were eines

| Id. at 1012. 4

This standard has been widely adopted in the other circuits.

al

In Unitec States v. Clerkley, supra, the Court of Appeals for the

Fourth Circuit agreed that a showing of reasonableness necessarily

requires a showing of a good faith attempt to minimize. Quoting

Tortorello, it stated:

The statute is deemed to be satisfied

if "on the whole the agents have shown

a high regard for the right of privacy

and have done all they reasonably could

to avoid unnecessary intrusion.” 556 F.2d

at 716.

|The court's holding that the Government had complied with the

requirement was due in part to its finding that "[w]here the

authorizing judge required and reviewed interim reports, courts

have been more willing to find a good faith attempt at minimiza-

tion.” Id. at 718. Similar language of good faith is present in

United States v. Quintana, 508 F.2d 867 (7th Cir. 1975) 45

44 +See also United States v. Fino, 478 F.2d 35 (24 Cir. 1973)

icert. denied, 417 U.S. 4), where the court accepted "the

finding of the district court that ‘the evicence established a good

faith effort on the part of the monitoring agents to discontinue

all calls believed to be of a non-pertinent nature.'" Id. at 38.

45-75, the instant case, the judicial supervision was exercised

in an effort to enforce minimization was inadequate at best. See

Ciscussion infra, at 51-52.

@ 37 «

Numerous other cases amply demonstrate the continued vitality

of the requirement that the executing agents make good faith

attempts to minimize. See United States v. Daly, 535 F.2d 434,

442 (8th Cir. 1976); United States v. Armocida, 515 F.2d 29, 42

(3rd Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 858 (1975); United States v.

Chavez, 533 F.2d 491 (9th Cir.), cert. denied 426 U.S. 911 (1976);

United States v. Turner, 528 F.2d 143, 156-57 (9th Cir.), cert.

denied, 423 U.S. 996 (1975). 46

The good faith requirement is not Only firmly embedded in the

case law but is essential in order to insure that the protection

for privacy which is built into Title III is more than theoretical:

Once the decisive test of the validity

of an interception becomes its "“objec-

tive reasonableness,” there is grave

danger that determinations of reason-

ableness will be dictated by hindsight

evaluations of evidence uncovered by

wiretaps.

- -

[Such a test] appears to destroy any

incentive for law enforcement agents

conducting wiretap surveillances to

respect the rights of citizens to

privacy in non-criminal telephone

conversations in advance of their

intrusion.

The good faith test effectively mitigates the dangers of retro-

active validation. By requiring an initial regard for the right of

privacy, it insures that, at the very least, § 2518(5) will

encourage the development of techniques designed to limit unnecessai

intrusion. To the extent that the good faith test is eliminated

Or relegated to a subordinate role,* the minimization provision

cert. denied, 425 U.S. 944

40.0. Zweibon v. Mitchell, 516 F.2d 594 (D.C.Cir. 1975),

1976), where the court found that a

goo ait efense to liability under 18 U.S.C. § 2520 will be

Sstablished where the agents demonstrate that they had a subjective

ood faith belief that it was constitutional to install warrantless

iretaps under the circumstances of the case and that this belief

as itself reasonable.

*"-goott 12, $22 F.24 at 1336 (Statement of Ciresit Judge

Robinson, as to why he would grant rehearing en banc).

48. onis is precisely what the court in Scott II did. See

Hiscussion, infra, at p.40.

ee ee

- 38 -

becomes largely a hollow protection.

2. The Application Of The Good Faith Test In.The

Scott Litigation.

In the first interlocutory appeal in these proceedings,

the court of appeals determined that the lower court had applied

an improper standard in finding that the agents failed to comply

with the minimization requirement. *? The court stated:

As James and other cases make clear,

any minimization determination requires

an assessment of the reasonableness of

the agents’ efforts in light of the

purpose of the wiretap and the information

available to them at the time of inter-

ception.

7- *

It appears that the trial court's

conclusion that the agents made no

attempt to minimize stemmed in large

part from its conclusions that they

failed to succeed. The court relied

heavily upon the fact that some sixty

percent of the intercepted conversations

appeared to be unrelated to narcotics

transactions.

-

This court's intervening opinion in

James indicates that an assessment of

the reasonableness of agents’ attempts

to minimize must be judged on a consider-

ably more particularized basis. Scott I,

304 F.2d 194at198. (D.C. Cir. 1974).

Following remand, the district court made the following

findings of fact:

3. That Special Agent Cooper and the

monitoring agents knew that the Statute

and the authorization required such

minimization.

4. That the monitoring agents made no

attempt to comply with the minimization order

of the Court but listened to and recorded all

calls over the Jenkins telephone. They showed

no regard for the right of privacy and did

nothing to avoid unnecessary intrusion.

——3—-

“The decision in this first interlocutory appeal was held

in abeyance pending issuance of the opinion in United States t¥974)

James, 494 F.2d 1007 (D.C.Cir.), cert. denied, 7I5 U.S. 1020 (I ‘

In James, the court unequivocally adopte e Tortorello standard.

Nevertheless, in applying the test, James did not discuss the .

good faith efforts of the agents. It is not Clear from the = on

whether the court implicitly found good faith efforts or merely

ignored this standard despite the purported adoption of the

Tortorello test.

_

= 39 «

10. That at the hearings in April,

1971, Special Agent Glennon L. Cooper

testified under oath...that he and the

agents working under him knew of the

minimization requirement but made no

attempt to comply therewith. At the

hearing on remand Agent Cooper repeated

that testimony as follows [in part]:

Q Do I understand from you then that

the only time that you considered minimiza-

tion was when you found that you had been

connected with a wrong number?

A That is correct, Your Honor.

Se 8 ©@

13. An examination of the totality of

the conduct of the monitoring agents in

this case during the duration of the

authorized interception reveals a knowing

and purposeful failure to comply with or

even attempt to comply with the minimization

requirements of ths statute and the order

of authorization.

These findings of facts are amply supported by the testimony of

the Government's witnesses. They repeatedly stated that there were

no efforts to minimize the interception of innocent conversations.

Agent Cooper conceded that "there were no limitations placed on the

interception of calls in this particular operation, in this

51

particular instance." Indeed, this issue is not disputed by the

Government, whose counsel stated during argument on remand that

"we have never disputed at any point in this litigation that any

attempts were made as a discretionary matter to minimize and I

52

think that's what the agent said." Confronted with the Govern-

30. pindings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order, United

States v. Scott, et al., Crim. Nos. 1088-70 and 1089-70 (United

States District Court for the District of Columbia) at 3-6. See the

Addendum to this Brief, infra, at III-vI.

31+ transcript of Proceedings of October 15, 1974 in United

States v. Scott, et al., Crim. Nos. 1088-70 and 1089-70 (United _

States District Court for the District of Columbia), at 98. A copy

lof the transcript is included in the original record in this Court.

32+ nranscript of Proceedings of October 18, 1974 in United

States v. Scott, et al., Crim. Nos. 1088-70 and 1089-70 (United

tates District Court for the District of Columbia), at 1.

A copy of the transcript is included in the original record in this

Court.

P|

- 40 -

ment's concession that no efforts were made to comply with the

minimization requirement, the district court held that "{t)he

admitted knowing and purposeful failure by the monitoring ascents

to comply with the minimization order was unreasonable">- and

suppressed all the evidence derived from the wiretap.

Following the Government's second interlocutory appeal, the

court of appeals again reversed the district court's decision to

Suppress the wiretap evidence. In assessing compliance with the

minimization requirement, the court focused on the reasonable-

ness of the ultimate results, and discarded the subjective intent

s

of the agents as an independent factor to be satisfied:

For example, the agents could publicly

declare their intent to disobey the

minimization provisions of the wiretap

order, and yet it is possible that the

ultimate interceptions will be found to

Rave been reasonable. On the other hand,

even if the agents make their best efforts

ad to comply, the ultimate integceptions may

prove to be so unreasonable that suppression

is necessary. The presence or absence of

a good faith attempt to minimize on the part

of the agents is undoubtedly one factor to

be considered in assessing whether the

minimization requirement has been satisfied

but the decision on the suppression motion

must ultimately be based on reasonableness

of the actual interceptions and not on whether

the agents subjectively intended to minimize

their interceptions. Scott II, 516 F.2d at 756

(footnote omitted and emphasis supplied).

In effect, Scott II utilized a “Monday-morning quarterback”

mn

standard where the interception of a communication is justified

on the basis of a hindsight evaluation of reasonableness. This

approach distorts the Tortorello standard and, as a practical

matter, makes the agents' subjective intent irrelevant. By stating

that "if every call intercepted had been narcotic related, there

would have been no occasion to consider whether it was necessary

to minimize", Id., the court permits the ultimate results to

justify an admitted failure even to attempt compliance with the

minimization. This is tantamount to permitting an illegal search

53. pindings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order, United

States v. Scott, et al., Crim. Nos. 1088-70 and 1089-70 ‘United

States District Court for the District of Columbia) at 7. See the

7?

al

Po to this Brief, infra, at VII.

i

|

eee ee

| is it material that the search was successful in revealing

= 4] «-

to be legitimized by what is found. In the context of traditional

search anc seizure doctrine, this Court has made it clear that the

results of a search are not to be utilized in determining reason-

ableness.

In United States v. DiRe, 332 U.S. 581 (1948), this

Court spoke to the argument that the fruits of the search manifest

its reasonableness, responding: "We have had frequent occasion to

point out that a search is not to be made legal by what it turns

up," Id. at 595 (footnote omitted). See also Byars v. United

States, 273 U.S. 28, 29 (1927) in which the court stated: "Nor

evidence of a violation of a federal statute." To the extent that

the courts prefer "to consider wiretaps within the framework

of the general law of search and seizure and to follow its

principles," this Court has already declared the impropriety of

post-search justification. See,e.g., United States v. King, supra,

Allowing post-hoc analyses to control the determination of

compliance places too high a value on the Government's law enforce-

ment objectives at the expense of constitutionally protected

privacy. The court in United States v. King stated:

The requirements of the Fourth Amendment

cannot be met by interceptions executed

in a blanket fashion with the hope that

the passage of time may invest them with

a relevance not immediately apparent.

335 F.2d at 543.

Moreover, as the courts have recognized, retrospective analyses

are often misleading and inaccurate. They represent merely an

advocate's portrayal or characterization of what appeared to the

agents during the surveillance.»

The call analysis relied upon by Government in the instant

case suffers from these infirmities. The district court found:

12. The "call analysis" was made by Mr.

Kellogg in his capacity as an advocate

without consultation with any federal

narcotics agent and the categories were

) >4-uinimi zation is not to be judged by a rigid hindsight that

ignores the problems confronting the officers at the time of the

investigation. United States v. Vento, 533 F.2d 838 (3rd Cir. 1976) .

@ 62 «

not shown to, looked at or validated by

any such agent as “actual and realistic

categories for agents to use in manning

a wiretap." Mr. Kellogg described the

"call analysis” as "...purely and simply

an after-the-fact analysis, designed to

provide the Court with a means of factually

analyzing the conduct of the agents. It

was not in an effort to infer, or assert

that the agents followed these relativel

sophisticated delineations in the course

of the intercept. They did nolt) insofar

as I understand. Tr. Hearing on Remand,

De 436 coves

12. [sic] The "call analysis" conflicts

with the reports and characterizations of

the intercepted calls as made and deter-

mined by the monitoring agents whese con-

duct is controlling in this case.

The courts which have addressed this issue have uniformly stated

that reasonableness of interception and of compliance with

§ 2518(5) must be determined in light of the facts known to the

agents at the time. See,e.g., United States v. James, 494 F.2d 1007,

1022 (D.C.Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 426 U.S. 911 (1976); United

States v. Laborga, 336 F.Supp. 190, 196 (W.D.Pa. 1971); United

States v. Falcone, 364 F.Supp. 877, 887 (D.N.J. 1973), aff'd, 505

F.2d 478 (3rd Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 420 U.S. 955 (1975).

Establishing reasonableness of the agentg' conduct via a call

analysis prepared after-the-fact and incorporating characteriza-

tions admittedly foreign to those used by the executing agents

contradicts the general principle that “[t]he test of whether or

not the minimization requirements are complied with is not retro-

spective but contemporaneous." United States v. Sisca, 361 F.Supp.

56

at 735.

55. bindings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order, United

States v. Scott, et al., Crim. No. 1988-70 and 1089-70 (United 4

th

States District Court for the District of Columbia) at 5-6. See

Addendum to this Brief, infra, at V-VI.

56.

The district court emphasized this problem during a “ene

call” hearing:

This "call Analysis" differs from the call

analysis that was made by the agents who were

on the spot and the ones who were directed to

comply with the order of minimization. Under

mes 4 circumstances, there was a complete viola-

tion and I consider that even if the "Call Analysis”

were correct, it is in the teeth and in derogation

of the characterizations that the persons who were

charged with the duty to make the characterizations

ma

de.

Transcript of Proceedings of November 8, 1974, in United States v.

Scott, et al., Crim.Nos. 1088-70 and 1039-70 (Unit ates strict

rt for

e District of Columbia), at 14-15.A copy of the besoin

is included in the original record in this Court.

-_—_— = - -

\for recorded conversations. See, e.g., United States v. King, supra,

fwhere the Government argued that only fourteen per cent of the calls

= 43 <-

Daviage does not contend that such “"Monday-morning quarter-

backing” is totally inap>ropriate. Although post-hoc analysis

cannot be utilized as the sole basis for establishing compliance

with § 2518(5), it can provide a "starting point”, United States

v. Armocida, 515 F.2¢ at 43, or "offer some insight on that issue."

United States v. Focarile, 340 F. Supp. at 1049. However, such use

must be narrowly limited when there is other direct and explicit

evidence pertaining to the agents' compliance with the minimization

reguirement. Indeed, in the instant case, the circumstantial evi-

gence provided by the call analysis must be viewed with

-

caution.> There was ample testimony from the agents concerning

their knowledge, conduct and intentions which makes their clear disre-

gard for § 2518(5) manifest; the call analysis is an obvious

attempt to rationalize the agents' behavior and should be accorded

appropriate weicht.

3. Reasonableness Of The Efforts To Minimize Interception

of Non-Pertinent Communications.

The application of the two-pronged Tortorello standard

to the facts of this case requires reversal because of lack of

good faith attempts to comply with § 2518(5). However, should this

Court find that the agents'good faith has been demonstrated, or

Gecide that this test should not be applied, it is necessary to

determine the reasonableness of the actual minimization. The

courts have identified several factors that determine the decree

of minimization required in a given case. Typical of these cases is

Unitec States v. James, supra , which delineates four factors:

i) scope of the criminal enterprise under investigation; ii) loca-

tion and operation of the wiretapped telephone; iii) the Govern-

ment's expectation of the contents of the calls; and iv) judicial

Supervision by the authorizing judge. See United States v. Clerkley,

556 F.2d at 716-718; United States v. Daly, 535 F.2d at 441-442;

United States v. Quintana, 508 F.2d at 874-875. Assuming arguendo,

—— —

of ern the instant case, the Government's call analysis focuses

On categories of calls and relies on percentages to show proper

minimization. However, more revealing might be percentages of time

were subject to minimization. The court deemed such percentage mis-

leading because the percentage of calls was not necessarily propgr- |

tional to time. 335 F.Supp. at 542.

EDS NY |

<7)

—————— =

ee:

Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order, United States

e 44 «

that this Court needs to reach the issue of the reasonableness

of actual minimization efforts, the record demonstrates that 100%

interception was not reasonable compliance with the statutory

requirement of minimization.

i) Scope of The Criminal Enterprise Under

nvestigation.

Although the court in Scott II stated that "[t]he

trial court made no specific findings with respect to this

factor," 516 F.2d at 758, the district court did consider it:

That the intercept revealed that the criminal

Operation under investigation was of lesse;

dimension than was originally anticipated.

Scott IT makes short shrift of this factor, asserting that a

“thorough surveillance” was justified because of the "(operation

of] a fairly extensive narcotics business." Id. at 758. The sur-

veillance here was much more than "thorough"; it was unlimited.

Moreover, the scope of the enterprise was considerably less than

that in James, which involved forty-five persons charged in seven

separate indictments. Although the cases have recognized that

large-scale, far-flung criminal enterprises may justify a lesser

a the testimony adduced at the evidentiary

Gegree of minimization,

hearing revealed that the identities of conspirators gradually

became known and that the actual scope of the operation was sub-

stantially narrower than originally believed. However, despite the

trial court's explicit finding of fact, the court of appeals found

that, while smaller geographically, the conspiracy's complexity

District Court for the District of Columbia) at 3. See the Addendum

to this Brief, infra, at III. Note, however, that Scott II incorrectl

applies this finding only to the third criterion.

99+ united States v. Chavez, 533 F.2d at 493-494; United States

v. Clerkley, " at "

iv. Scott, et al., Crim. Nos. 1088-70 and 1089-70 (United States

- 45 -

remained unchanged. Scott II, at 759. The mere fact that the

criminal operation was a local, retail business rather than an

interstate, international enterprise necessarily means a change in

complexity.

The James court, in noting that more complex conspiracies

may justify greater surveillance, added that "if this thesis is

taken to the extreme, the minimization requirement could be

emasculated.” 494 F.2d at 1020. Clearly, where the conspiracy

under investigation is not particularly sophisticated, where its

contours and members are increasingly well-defined, and where the

scope narrows, it is an extreme position to allow total intercep-

tion. °°

In relation to this factor, Scott II claimed that the use of

coded language or “jargon” justified greater surveillance. Assuming

that such a circumstance is appropriately considered® the record

80. See United States v. Sisca, 361 F.Supp. 735 (S.D.N.Y. 1973),

aff'd, 503 F.2d 1337 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 1008 (1974)

where the court acknowledged the nature and extent of the criminal

narcotics enterprise being carried on and the great difficulties

confronted by the agents. It noted, inter alia, the large number

of participants in varying roles, the constantly expanding informa-

tion pertaining to the operation; and the guarded and coded language.

Nevertheless, it held that

the absence of any precautions to insure

minimization here, the number of such calls

intercepted and the lack of supervisory

techniques impel the conclusion that the mini-

mization requirements were not satisfactorily

observed. Id. at 745.

$2. The fact that many criminal conversations

are carried on in guarded language, code words,

Or jargon peculiar to the particular subculture

should not be invoked as justifying circumvention

of the minimization requirement It is reasonable

to assume that agents assigned to a specific case,

regardless of whether or not electronic surveillance

is involved ordinarily are familiar with the argot

of the group under investigation. Deliberately

evasive conversations pose more of a problem, but

not one that is insoluble. In many cases of cryptic

conversations, a literal interpretation of the

words exchanged would render them nonpertinent; the

tone and manner of discussion, however, would in-

dicate, even to the ear untrained in the art of

law enforcement, that the innocuous exchange is a

camouflage for criminal conversation. See, e.g,,

the two conversations transcribed in United States

v. Bynum, 360 F.Supp. 400, 412-13 n.10 (S.D.N.Y.),

aff'd, 485 F.2d 490 (2d Cir. 1973), petition fcr

sertfiled, 42 U.S.L.W. 3353 (U.S.Nov. 11, 1973)

(No. 73-856). Furthermore, a law enforcement

officer who has screened hundreds of calls between

criminal suspects should be in a good position to

- 46 -

completely contradicts this conclusion. The testimony demon-

Strates that, while code terms were used, the executing agents

were we..-versed in the language and were not handicapped by it. °

ii) Location and Operation Of The Wiretapped

Telephone.

James found that where "a telephone is used

exclusively to conduct illegal business and is located in a place

which serves no residential or [legitimate] business purpose...

less stringent minimization standards are both reasonable and

permitted by Title III." 494 F.2d at 1020. It is not disputed

that the telephone tapped in the instant case was located at a

residence; further, at least sixty per cent of the calls inter-

cepted were not related to narcotics. This is certainly a dif-

ferent situation from that in James where the telephone was used

entirely for conducting an illegal enterprise and the apartment

where it was located was used exclusively for the operation of the

(fn. 61 cont'd.)

sift the coded conversations from the innocuous

ones. If he reasonably and in good faith in-

tercepts an entire conversation that he believes

to be coded, the Government should not be penalized

for his judgmental error if, in retrospect, the

call turns out to be nonpertinent. On the other

hand, facially innocent calls must be presumed to

be nonpertinent, and the reasonableness of an

agent's belief that a conversation is in code

must be tested by objective standards. Cf. note 118

infra. If the rule were otherwise the Government

could point to the possibility of coded calls as

a rationale for interception of most, if not all,

nonpertinent calls. 26 Stanford Law Review 1411,

1419-1420 n. 42 (1974).

O32... [Agent Cooper] Well, there were numerous

code terms used. It appears that certain

individuals who becane identified as callers,

Or customers, or suppliers, or whatever, would

use their own terminology; not everyone used

the same type of terminology. Once this termi-

nology had been learned by us, that is, by

agents of the Bureau during the operation of

the wire intercept that had been completed not

too long before this one, so we were alert for

this type of language.

=» * *

Q. (Mr. Dreos - Daviage's trial counsel] Well, I'm

asking you, you did indicate that most of these

people were experienced, isn't that correct?

A. [Agent Cooper] They had at least a year's

experience and were aware of the code of

language that was being used.

ranscript of Proceedings of October 15, 1974, in United States v.

cott, et al., Crim. Nos. 1088-70 and 1089-70 (United States Distric

e District of Columbia) at 75-76, 170. A copy of the tra

cript is included in the original record in this Court.

ee

| - 47 «

able where the surveillance does not reveal patterns of innocent

sale of narcotics. Scott II found "that [the telephones] were not conversations, once those patterns develop minimization is required!

entitled to the same extent of protection as would be afforded in ; | See also United States v. Quintana, 508 F.2d at 874 (7th Cir.

the case of telephones used primarily for lawful purposes." 516 | 1975).

| F.2d at 759. Yet, the telephone here was primarily used for In the instant case, certain patterns did develop, yet the

:

| lawful purposes. The district court concluded that the telephone agents made no adjustments whatever of their policy of total

was "notthe type of ‘business’ phone as was used in James. 063 interception. The district court in its first suppression opinion

iii) Government Expectation Of The Contents Of The noted that

Calls. a ;

— there comes a time when an officer should

James stated that the Government's expectation reasonably assume that a particular conver-

—— Sation does not involve drugs. The conversa-

of the contents of the calls is a factor to be considered in deter- tions between Geneva and her mother serve as

the most blatant examples of this. 331 F.Supp.

mining the degree of minimization required. For instance, if an at 247-48.

agent knows the identities of those suspected or the times During the period of the wiretap, the agents intercepted in their

frequently used to transact "business", the agent can tailor entirety seven calls between Geneva Jenkins, a suspected con-

minimization efforts to avoid monitoring non-pertinent calls. spirator, and her mother. The conversations usually entailed

James noted that while “[t)hese considerations affect the initial several pages of transcript and afforded ample opportunity for

minimization tactics employed by the government,” 494 F.2d at 1020, appropriate adjustment by the agents. However, while the wiretap

: ; 65

they also are directed to the agents' minimization policy during revealed that the mother was not involved in the conspiracy, the

.

the wiretap, as categories of innocent communications develop. Id. i 64. mhe instant case presented a situation where categories of

. . nonpertinent calls were apparent at the outset of the surveillance.

at 1020-1021. ; The district court noted:

The court in Scott II adopted this notion that the degree ; For example, the intercept transcript at

page 47 shows a call from Riggs National

of minimization required may change in accordance with the infor- Bank to Thurmon seeking to verify a signature

on a check; at pages 148-150 shows a conversa-

mation revealed by the ongoing wiretap: tion between Geneva and another female about

ita 7 . af a possible job opening and Geneva's qualifications

Thus the only feasible approach to for it; and at page 280 a call to the Weather

minimization is the gradual development, Bureau and the response. It is common knowledge

during the execution of a particular wire- : that when one calls for a weather report he will

tap order, of categories of calls which get a tape recorded response. 331 F.Supp. at 247.

most likely will not produce irformation 65.

relevant to the investigatic: Once the Q. iMr. Palmer] And you never had any single piece

conclude that a particular t),e of conver- volved in any way with this illicit dealing in

sation is unrelated to the criminal inves- narcotic drugs, did you?

tigation, the minimization requirement A. [Agent Cooper] No, we did not.

obliges them to avoid intercepting future

conversations as soon as they can determine

that it falls within that category. Until

such categories become reasonably apparent,

however, interception of all calls will be

justified under the wiretap authorization.

516 F.2d at 754-755 (footnote omitted).

Transcript of Proceedings of April 16, 197l,in United States v.

cott, et al., Crim. No. 1088-70 and 1089-70 (United States Distric

ourt for the District of Columbia) at 325. A copy of the transcrist

is included in the original record in this Court.

Oat

Thus Scott II conceded that, while total interception is reason-

63+ Bindings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order, United States

v. Scott, et al., Crim. Nos. 1088-70 and 1089-70 (United States

District Court for the District of Columbia) at 3. See the Addendum

to this Brief, infra, at III.

— en ee ee

i - 50 -

- 49 -

: advance to minimize, the procedure to be employed was so cumber-

agents made no attempt to minimize these conversations. °® This . | Some as to be meaningless. It required the monitoring agents to

pattern had clearly developed by the time Miss Jenkins and her | continue interception of the suspected privileged call until

mother were talking for about the fourth or fifth time, yet the . | Assistant United States Attorney Harold J. Sullivan could be

agents, despite their admitted awareness of this "category,"°”

68

contacted. Only when Sullivan determined that the conversation

continued total interception. | Was between lawyer and client, discussing the case under investiga-

0 ee re eee eee

Other patterns were also evident. °? As early as the fifth

tion, would interception cease. It appears that surveillance would

day of the surveillance, it became apparent that the period of |continue unabated if the lawyer-client conversation related to

|

7

| | @ Matter not connected to the case under investigation. Lsuch

time from midnight to six a.m. was rarely used to conduct "busi-

ness" and that the agents were aware of this fact. still no ja procedure creates the precise evil that § 2518(5) is designed to

, , 7 ; ' : ,

consideration was given to reducing the operation of the wiretap. remedy, i.e., the interception of unrelated communications.

Despite the development of patterns of innocent communica-

ee eee

——_

Government's plan in connection with those calls perhaps best

Another pattern was lawyer-client communications. The |

' jtions and the agents’ awareness of those patterns, there was no

i

’

reveals how lightly it regarded the statutory minimization require~ adjustment whatsoever of the minimization policy. The entire

}

'

ment. The agents were instructed to cease monitoring these | jsurveillance entailed 100% interception. Such conduct is patently

conversations if they were determined to be privilesed. While unreasonable and demonstrates the Government's blatant disregard

this is the only instance where the agents developed a plan in | jof the minimization requirement.

iv) Judicial Supervision By The Authorizing Judge.

66.

Id. at 350, 353. | James states that "[t]he most striking feature

67-14, at 356. | of Title III is its reliance upon a judicial officer to supervise

68 scott II admits that had this pattern been more fully wiretap operations.” 494 F.2d at 102i20¢ the four criteria stated

developed, “the agents could no longer have had a reasonable

expectation of discovering material evidence and thus should have in James, the degree of judicial supervision is most often relied

acted to minimize the interceptions.” 516 F.2d at 758. To post- ' Cae

pone minimization on the merest chance that a conversation will pon by the courts in finding reasonable compliance with minimiza-

turn toapertinent subject would make the requirement meaningless.)

See United States v. King, 335 F.Supp. at 543. ftion provision. The effect of that supervision is to force agents

69.5 has already been noted that the interception revealed | pn a continuing basis to conform their actions to the law. See

a local retail operation instead of the anticipated interstate

importation and distribution enterprise. Even assuming the pro- United States v. Bynum, 360 F.Supp. at 410. Moreover, where the

priety of total interception with the expectation of the latter,

it follows that the subsequent discovery of a smaller conspiracy

would require a greater degree of minimization.

'0-nranscript of Proceedings of October 15, 1974, in United |

States v. Scott, et al., Crim. Nos. 1088-70 and 1089-70 (United

States District Court for the District of Columbia) at pp. 192-98.

A copy of the transcript is included in the original record in

this Court.

a eecenserint of Proceedings of April 16, 1971, in United States

vy. Scott, et al., Crim. Nos. 1088-70 and 1089-70 (United States

istrict Court for the District of Columbia) at 308. A copy of the

transcript is included in the original record in this Court.

72-0 fundamental importance of judicial scrutiny within the

itle III context is demonstrated by Congress’ expressed intent to

onform that statute to the principles enunciated in Katz v. United

tates. See supra, at p.16 n.12,In Katz, this Court found that the

iBurveillance Setated the fourth amendment despite its narrow limits).

e decision was based on the lack of a neutral predetermination by

judicial officer. Minimization cases, like Katz, emphasize the

ssential protection afforded by judicial supervision. See e.g.

nited States v. Bynum, 360 F. Supp. 400 (S.D.N.Y.), aff'd. F.2d

, vacated on other grounds, 417 U.S. 903 (1974).

ee ee

ee ee ee

| - $1 -

authorizing judge required and reviewed interim reports, ’° courts | os

- | ~ _ -

have been more willing to find a good faith attempt to minimize

|

‘ : | ; ri 6 . .

unnecessary interceptions. United States v. Clerkley, 556 F.2d at | complexity. “As a result Judge Smith was unable to provide the

718; United States v. Quintana, 508 F.2d at 875; United States v. | judicial supervision contemplated by James and similar cases.

Focarile, 340 F.Supp. at 1048. In summary the fact that every conversation is intercepted

Judicial supervision necessarily contemplates full awareness | does not necessarily render the surveillance violative of § 2518

and understanding by the judicial officer of the nature and scopeof (5). See United States v. Armocida, 515 F.2d at 42-43; United

and parties to the conspiracy. Absent complete knowledge of the States v. Bynum, 485 F.2¢ at 500. However, the analysis required

investigation, the protection afforded by judicial supervision by James of the factors relevant to assessing compliance with

is impossible. ’4 The trial court in Scott found: § 2518(5) clearly indicates that 100 percent interception was not

9. That according to the reports and justified in the instant case, and that the Government did not

classifications of the monitoring agents

that were ultimately submitted to Judge do all that it could to avoid unnecessary intrusion. Even if

Smith 40% of the intercepted calls were | |

narcotic related and 60% were not narcotic this Court findsthat the intentional flouting of the statutory

related. Judge Smith was never informed .

that the agents were making no,attempt to command by the executing agents was not unreasonable per se,

minimize. (emphasis supplied).

Daviage contends that total interception, under the circumstances,

The reports submitted to Judge Smith revealed no more , : ad

was a violation of the minimization requirement.

than the total number of communications per day and the number ;

III. BECAUSE THE GOVERNMENT MADE NO GOOD FAITH ATTEMPT TO ABIDE BY

of those that were narcotic related. The reports contained some See a ENTS aS CASE iS AN APPROPRIATE

ONE IN ICH TO INVOKE THE SANCTION OF COMPLETE SUPPRESSION.

highlights, “but none of them revealed that the agents were

; : In neither Scott I nor Scott II did the court of appeals

listening to and recording in full and indiscriminately all

find a breach of the minimization provision. Consequently, neither

conversations passing through the subject telephone." Scott, 331 en

— of those opinions had addressa@ito reach the remedy issue. Neverthe-

F.Supp. at 248. Further, it may well be that the Government's

less, the court in Scott II, in an extensive footnote, 516 F.2d at

failure to indicate in its report the actual scope of the criminal enterprise under

i 760 n. 19, suggests that had it reached the issue, it would have

investigation, resulted in judicial supervision geared to an investigation of |

ruled in favor of suppression of only the non-relevant eee:

The district court, however, held that the minimization

73-18 u.s.c. § 2518(6) authorizes the judge to require that

reports be submitted to him periodically showing progress and wisteetes Gemeated euaneecaion of the -

justifying the need for continued interception. PP entire intercept. The remedy

' issue is very much ali :

74-see united States v. Cox, 462 F.2d 1293 (8th Cir. 1972), ane live in the instant case, as well as a subject

cores, = os oo bb, United States v. Turner, 528 of controversy throughout federal and state jurisdictions. Notions

. . , . , . . .

73+ bindings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order, United Of judicial economy call for this Court to determine appropriate

States v. Scott, et al., Crim. Nos. 1088-70 and 1089-70 (United guidelines.

States District Court for the District of Columbia) at 4. See the

Addendum to this Brief, infra, at IV.

76.

It is unclear from the record whether Judge Smith was

ver made aware of the proper conspiracy under investigation. The

onspiracy revealed by the intercept, i.e., local, intra-Washington

ales, was of an admittedly lesser scope than that anticipated.

e affidavits for the original tap and for the extension,

mphasized the international, interstate conspiracy. See Affidavits

£ Glennon L. Cooper, dated January 24, 1970 and February 4, 1970,

espectively. Copies of the Affidavits are included in the original

‘ ecord in this Court.

@ §3 <«

A. The Statutory Suppression Mechanism.

The Government made no effort to adhere to the judicially

authorized wiretap order. For this reason, the entire intercept

should be suppressed. This result is supported by the statutory

exclusionary mechanism codified in 18 U.S.C. § 2515, as well as

by case law and the traditional rationale underlying the judicially

created exclusionary rule.

Section 2515 provides, in pertinent part: ’’”

Whenever any wire or oral communication

has been intercepted, no part of the

contents of such communication and no

evidence derived therefrom may be re-

ceived into evidence in any trial...if

the disclosure of that information

would be in violation of this chapter.

This section is the statutory remedy for the right provided in

5 2518(10) (a). 78 This latter section provides that an aggrieved

person’ ?may invoke the suppression sanction if "the interception

was not made in conformity with the order of authorization or

approval." Section 2518(10)(a) further states:°°

If the motion [to suppress] is granted,

the contents of the intercepted wire or

Oral communication, or evidence derived

therefrom shall be treated as having been

obtained in violation of this chapter.

The language of § 2518(10) (a) indicates, therefore, that upon

proving that the monitoring agents failed to comport with the

provisions of the judicial order of approval, the aggrieved person

may invoke the explicit suppression remedy of § 2515. °

1) sone entire text of § 2515 is quoted supra, at p. 3.

18 - See S. Rep.No. 1097, supra, 106, reprinted in 1968 U.S.Code

Cong. & Ad. News at 2195.

19+ see discussion supra, at pp. 10-21.

80. one entire text of § 2518(10) (a) is quoted supra, at 4.

8l.

The legislative history highlights the close interplay

wees §§ 2515 and 2518(10) (a):

[Section 2515] must, of course, be read in light

of section 2518%(10) (a) discussed below, which

defines the class entitled to make a motion to

suppress. ie! as a

This provision [§ 2518(10) (a)] must be read in

connection with sections 2515 and 2517, discussed

above, which it limits. It provides the remedy

for the right created by section 2515.

S. Rep. No. 1097, supra, 96, 106, reprinted in 1968

U.S. Code Cong. & - News at 2185, "

- §4 <-

B. The Government's Suppression Remedy Is Inadequate.

Insofar as the Government's position can be gleaned from

32,

~

-

its briefs filed in prior stages of this litigation,

apparently urges that only the "innocent" conversations should be |

;

"suppressed". Its position presumably rests on an anology to the |

|

doctrine of the over-extended search in cases involving traditional

search and seizure of tangible items. See Marron v. United States, |

275 U.S. 192 (1927), and United States v. Thweatt, 483 F.2d 1226

(D.C.Cir. 1970). This argument states that evidence seized other

than that specified in the warrant itself should be suppressed,

but that evidence gained by that part of the search conducted

appropriately or evidence which falls within a recognized

exception, e.g., the “hot pursuit” exception, Warden, Maryland

Penitentiary v. Hayden, 387 U.S. 294 (1967), is nevertheless

admissible. This approach was taken in three cases involving

minimization violations. United States v. King, 335 F. Supp. 523,

543-44 (S.D.Cal. 1971) rev'd. on other grounds, 478 F.2d 494 (9th |

Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 417 U.S. 920 (1974); United States v.

Sisca, 361 F.Supp. 735, 746-47 (S.D.N.Y. 1973); and United States

v. Cox, 462 F.2d 1293 (8th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 417 U.S. 918

(1974).

The Government's analogy between the search and seizure of

tangible items and the monitoring of a conversation overlooks

several critical distinctions. Electronic surveillance is a much

more intrusive mechanism than is a traditional search and seizure.

The latter involves the taking of an item with the resulting in-

vasion of privacy. This invasion, however, can be at least partially

corrected by return of the items wrongfully seized. The seizure of

a conversation, however, is irrevocable. As the court in United

B2 cee, e.g., the Government's Brief in Scott I (Nos. 71-1702

and 71-1703, United States Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia); and the Government's Motion for Summary Reversal in Scot

I (Nos. 70-2097 and 70-2098, United States Court of Appeals for @

strict of Columbia) (by order of March 5, 1975, the Court of

peals directed that the motion be treated as the Government's

rief).

- §§ «

States v. Focarile, 340 F. Supp. at 1047 noted:

A conversation once seized can never

truly be given back as can a physical

object. The right of privacy protected

by the Fourth Amendment has been more

invaded where a conversation which can

never be returned has been seized....

This distinction was also recognized in United States v. King,

335 F. Supp. at 544.

It is possible that the great delicacy

which inheres in a wiretap situation sets

it so far apart from other types of searches

and seizures that error as to the conduct

of a part of the surveillance renders the

entire interception invalid.

Moreover,

in a typical search, the authorities do not seize

“innocent” items.

Whether the executing officers stay within the

particulars of a warrant or not, only inculpatory items are

taken. The same cannot be said of electronic surveillance.

Indeed, at its core, a wiretap constitutes a complete survey and

a total intrusion into the target individual's life. Whereas a

typical search warrant specifically defines the area to be

searched and the items to be seized, a wiretap order, by its very

nature, permits seizure of everything. °?

In fact, the whole point

of minimization is to prevent a general inquiry into a person's

life and to inject some particularity into an inherently intrusive

mechanism. The failure to adhere to the minimization requirement

does not go to any single interception; rather it goes to the

conduct of the monitoring agents over the entire span of the wire-

tap. If the agents fail to minimize, then it is the complete life

of the wiretap that is infected.

Furthermore, the remedy of exclusion of the improperly seized

items, while meaningful in a traditional search case, is no remedy

at all in a wiretap case.

In the former situation, the exclusion

53+ onis is partigularly true in view of § 2517(5) which per-

mits the executing agents to receive after-the-fact judicial

orders to justify the monitoring and recording of inculpatory

conversations unrelated to the purpose of the original wiretap

lorder.

‘biccities Ae

" MO ES

|

- 56 -

of the improperly seized items punishes the over-reaching law

enforcement officer by denying him the use of evidence that tends

to establish the defendant's guilt. In the wiretap situation,

however, the evidence unlawfully seized is non-inculpatory or, at

a minimum, wholly irrelevant to the purpose of the wiretap. Thus,

the remedy suggested by the Government is no remedy at all,

since it permits the use of inculpatory material while "conceding"

that the material gained as a direct result of an unlawful inva-

sion of privacy should be “suppressed”. The Government conveniently

overlooks the fact that no one would ever seek to introduce the

innocent calls; indeed their introduction would be objected to

on relevancy grounds. The district court correctly noted that

such an approach to exclusion would gut § 2518(5):

If this Court were to allow the Government

agents to indiscriminately intercept every

conversation made and to continue monitoring

such calls when it becomes clear that they

are not related to the “authorized objectives”

of the wiretap and in violation of the limiting

provisions of the order such order would become

meaningless verbiage and the protections to the

right of privacy outlined in Berger and Katz

would be illusory. 331 F.Supp. at 248.

C. The Policy Underlying 18 U.S.C. § 2515 Warrants Suppres-

sion Of The Entire intercept.

Daviage urges this Court to suppress the entire wiretap

evidence. Such a remedy for a minimization violation does not

require any extension of existing exclusionary principles, but

does recognize the unique nature of electronic surveillance.

Unlike the Government's position, which would permit virtually

unlimited surveillance with “suppression” of items totally irrele-

vant, this remedy is consistent with the legislative mandate

of protecting privacy found in Title III.

The legislative history makes abundantly clear the crucial

role of the evidentiary sanctions in insuring that the privacy

of individuals is respected. After setting out the specific

provisions of § 2515, the Senate Committee report states:

It largely reflects existing law. It applies

to suppress evidence directly (Nardone v.

United States, 302 U.S. 379 (19 or in-

rectly tained in violation of this chapter.

(Nardone v. United States, 308 U.S. 338 (1939)).

— ee

ee

ee ee ee + _ —_

e $7 <-

There is, however, no intention to change

the attenuation rule. See Nardone v.

United States, 127 F.2d 52 , certiorari

denied, 316 U.S. 698 (1942); Wong Sun v.

United States, 371 U.S. 471 (T86s7 Nor

generally to press the scope of the sup-

pression role beyond present search and

seizure law. See Walder v. United States,

347 U.S. 62 (1954). But it does apply

across the board in both Federal and

State proceeding. Compare Schwartz v.

Texas, 344 U.S. 199 (1952). And it is not

limited to criminal proceedings. Such a

suppression rule is necessary and proper

to protect privacy. Compare Adams v.

Maryland, 347 U.S. 179 (1954); Mapp v.

Ohio, 367 U.S. 643 (1969). The provision

thus forms an integral part of the system

of limitations designed to protect

privacy. Along with the criminal and

civil remedies, it should serve to guarantee

that the standards of the new chapter

will sharply curtail the unlawful inter-

ception of wire and oral communications.

S. Rep. No. 1097, supra,96, reprinted in

1968 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News at

An examination of the cases relied on in the committee

report confirms that the drafters of § 2515 intended to incor-

porate into the statute principles generally supportive of the

suppression position urged by Daviage. The two Nardone cases

are cited for the basic proposition that illegally seized

evidence is inadmissible, Nardone v. United States, 302 U.S. 379,

(1937), as well as evidence obtained solely by information derived

from illegal seizure, Nardone v. United States, 308 U.S. 338

(1939). The “attenuation rule” for which Nardone v. United

States, i27 F.2d 521 (2dCinjcert. denied, 316 U.S. 698 (1942), and

Wong Sun v. United States, 371 U.S. 471 (1963), are cited bears

solely on the extent to which indirect evidence gained from

information received from an illegal search or seizure can be used

and is not an issue in the instant case. The report further cites

Walder v. United States, 347 U.S. 62 (1954) for the proposition

that the scope of suppression called for in § 2515 is not to

exceed present limits. Walder permits illegally seized information

to be used for impeachment purpeses at trial - a proposition

clearly irrelevant to the matter now before the Court. Schwartz v.

Texas, 344 U.S. 199 (1952), Adams v. Maryland, 347 U.S. 179 (1954),

and Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643 (1961), are all cited to support

wide ranging scope intended for this rule. That is, the

=— Ss

- 58 -

7”

exclusionary principle is to be applied in virtually all kinds of

judicial or quasi-judicial proceedings in both state and federal

jurisdictions.

In Gelbard v. United States, 408 U.S. 41 (1972), this Court

stressed the importance that Congress attributed to the § 2515

84

statutory sanction. The Court noted that the fundamental policy

of Title III was to limit permissible electronic surveillance in

a manner designed to afford great protection for privacy. Id.at

50. The Court went on tec say that § 2515 is crucial to this

protection:

The unequivocal language of § 2515 ex-

presses the fundamental policy adopted

by Congress on the subject of wire-

tapping and electronic surveillance.

As the congressional findings for

Title III make plain, that policy is

strictly to limit the employment of

those techniques of acquiring infor-

mation....

+ * =

Section 2515 is thus central to the

legislative scheme. Its importance

as a protection for "the victim of

an unlawful invasion of privacy”

could not be more clear. The purpose

of § 2515 and Title III as a whole

would be subverted were the plain

command of § 2515 ignored.... 408 U.S.

at 49-51 (footnote omitted).

As well as implementing and protecting the privacy safe-

guards, § 2515 serves the traditional policies underlying the

judicially fashioned exclusionary rule. As originally set forth

in Weeks v. United States, 232 U.S. 383 (1914), the judicially

established exclusionary rule prohibits the use of otherwise com-

petent evidence when that evidence was seized in violation of the

fourth amendment. The purpose of this policy is primarily to deter

unlawful police conduct, Mapp v. Ohio, supra, and further, to

insure that the courts "do not become partners to illegal conduct

+++." Gelbard, 408 U.S. at 51.

Bs one petitioners in Gelbard had refused to answer questions

based upon irtercepted tele »hone conversations to which they had been

rties until they had c<eceived an opportunity to challenge the

egality of the wiretap. As a result of the refusal to testify, the

titioners had been cited for civil contempt. The Court held that

itnesses were entitied to invoke the prohibition of § 2515 as a

efense to contempt charges.

- §9 -

The instant case is one in which suppression of the entire

intercept serves the policies underlying § 2515 particularly

| ell. The minimization provision of § 2518(5) would be rendered

| eaningless if the agents executing a wiretap were permitted to

| urposely disregard that directive and conduct a wholesale

jBearch. Moreover, were the Government to benefit from such wire-

| apping conduct, there would be no incentive for the monitoring

| gents ever to abide by the minimization requirement. Any

eterrent effect of § 2515 would be neutralized. Finally, per-

litting the use in court of wiretap evidence seized in flagrant

isregard of the wiretap order would constitute judicial approval

£ such wiretarping methods.

D. The Minimization Requirement Of 18 U.S.C. § 2518(5) Plays

A Central Role In Enforcing The Privacy Requirements Of

Title III.

Although this Court has not yet construed the minimization

rag of Title III, its decisions interpreting other provi-

ions of that statute strengthen Daviage's contention that minimiza-

tion is central to the statutory scheme and should be made

meaningful through invocation of the remedy of total suppression.

Thus, in United States v. Giordano, 416 U.S. 505 (1974), this

Pourt was confronted with an argument similar to the one now

urged by the Government. In Giordano, the Government violated § 2516

(1) which vequired the Attorney General or a specially designated

ssistant Attorney General to authorize all wiretaps. Then Attorney

neral Mitchell had delegated this responsibility to his Executive

sistant. The government admitted violating § 2516(1) but argued

at the violation was only technical and did not require suppres-

ion of the interception. This Court held that, in attempting

to balance law enforcement needs against the intrusiveness of

lectronic surveillance, Congress specifically intended only

enior Justice Department officials to have authorization power.

ence, departure from the statutory scheme constituted too great

mn encroachment on “the Congressional intention to limit the use

mae in Giordano. It is , in fact, crucial in preventing a

£ intercept procedures...." 416 U.S. at 527. In reaching this

ecision to suppress the illegally seized wiretap evidence Mr. |

- 60 -

Justice White stated:

We think Congress intended to require

suppression where there is failure to

satisfy any of those statutory require-

ments that directly and substantially

implement the Congressional intention

to limit the use of intercept procedures

to those situations clearly calling

for the employment of this extra- 85

ordinary investigative device. Id. at 527.

United States v. Donovan, 429 U.S. 413 (1977) is the C .urt's

st recent statement interpreting Title III's suppression anual

uilding on Giordano, the Court stated that suppression of the

ntire intercept is appropriate where the Government violates a

ection of Title III that plays "a ‘central role' in the statutory

ramework." Id. at 434.

Daviage contends that the minimization requirement plays as

bentral a role in the statutory scheme as did the provision dis-

iretap from becoming a general search. In Berger v. New York,

as this Court struck down a New York electronic surveillance

law, in part, because that statute permitted

a long and continuous (24 hour a day)

period [during which] the conversations

of any and all persons coming into the

area covered by the device will be seized

indiscriminately and without regard to

their connection to the crime under inves-

tigation. 388 U.S. at 59.

85.

Giordano's companion case, United States v. Chavez, 416

U.S. 562 (1974), held that where the proper Justice Department

fficial authorized the intercept, but that official was later mis-

dentified as one without statutory authorization power, the error

as not significant enough to warrant suppression. The Court

etermined that the Chavez violation was merely technical, and not

every failure to comply fully with any

requirement provided in Title III would render

the interception of wire or oral communication

"unlawful." 416 U.S. at 574-75.

86-75 Donovan, the Government violated Title III by failing

to inform the approving judge of 1) all of the principal targets of

e wiretap as required by § 2518(1) (b) (iv); and 2) all people

ose conversations were intercepted for the purpose of sending the

st-wiretap notice as required by § 2518(8)(d). The Court held

at both of these omissions violated Title III, but that the viola-~

ions were not significant enough to warrant suppression. The Court

uggested, however, that had the violations been willful or deliberaft

very different result might well have followed. Id. at 436, n. 23.

e also United States v. DiGirlomo, 550 F.2d 404 (8th Cir. 1977).

the limits explicated in Berger and Katz. See pj6n12 , supra.

The minimization provision goes to the core of Title III insofar

° 61 «

Recognizing both the particular intrusiveness of electronic

surveillance and its potential for extreme invasion of privacy,

Congress attempted to limit the extent of permissible wiretapping.

Indeed, Congress explicitly sought to make Title III conform to

s it prevents blanket searches or seizures and attempts to imple-

ent the particularity requirement of the fourth amendment. See

Rep. No. 1097, 103, reprinted in 1968 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News

t 2192. Were it not for the minimization requirement, law

nforcement officials would be permitted to conduct twenty-four

our searches and seizures of private conversations. No one would

rgue that the Government could seek all papers which a person

fli write for the next thirty days. Such a request would

ndoubtedly be denied as constituting a general warrant. Camara v.

unicipal Court, 387 U.S. 523 (1967). It is, however, even more

xtreme for the Government to seize all conversations for a future

eriod. Title III attempts to carefully balance the

ompeting interests of efficient law enforcement and preservation

f individual privacy. The minimization provision is central in

reventing the scales from tipping too far on the side of electronic

ntrusion at the expense of personal privacy.

E. Failure To Comply With The Minimization Provision Of

18 U.S.C. § 351815) Requires Suppression Of The Entire

Intercept.

Although minimization issues have been subjected to con-

siderable scrutiny by the courts, few opinions have dealt exten-

sively with the issue of remedy. Perhaps the most detailed dis-

cussion of the appropriate remedy for a failure to mininize is

found in United States v. Focarile® supra, in which the United

States District Court for the District of Maryland analyzed the two

. *“Focarile is the district court case which, on appeal, be-

came United States v. Giordano, supra. At the district court level,

the issue of improper Justice Department authorization had not yet

merged. Once that issue did appear, however, it pre-empted the

inimization issue.

ee eee a oe

- 62 -

basic kinds of minimization violation. It described a Type I

violation as one in which government agents - as in the instant

case - consciously disregard the minimization provision. A Type

II violation, on the other hand, arises when the agents attempt to

minimize but their efforts are unreasonably inadequate. 340 F.

Supp. at 1046.° The court went on to say, however, that regardles

of the type of minimization violation, the appropriate remedy was

lsuppression of the entire intercepted communication, It rested

this analysis squarely on the rationale of effective enforcement

pf the minimization requirement:

In either type of violation of the

minimization requirement, a question

necessarily arises as to the extent of

the prophyloctic remedies necessary to

give the requirement meaning. In this

Court's opinion the minimization require-

ment of § 2518(5) would be illusory if it

were enforced on an item-by-item basis by

means of suppressing unauthorized seizures

at trial after the interception is a fait

accompli. Id.

Daviage urges that this Court adopt the reasoning of Focarile, and

rule that either a Type I or Type II violation of the minimization

requirement results in the suppression of the entire intercept.

Because the minimization provision plays such a significant role

in protecting individuals from unreasonably broad electronic

surveillance, logic and fairness require giving full effect to

that safeguard.

BB. one specific facts of Focarile presented the possibility

f a Type II violation, i.e. where the agents' efforts at minimiza-

tion were unreasonably inadequate. The Court went on to rule,

however, that there was a good faith effort to comply coupled with

actual compliance and hence, no violation.

-_--— |

e 63 «

The Focarile position presently represents the minority

viewpoint, with most courts agreeing to suppress only when a Type

I violation has occurred. Nevertheless, should this Court adopt

same - suppression of all the wiretap evidence. The majority

89

position is a two-step process, ’turning on the same distinction

drawn by Focarile. If the violation of she minimization provision

|

'

|

|

i

}

|

the majority position, the result in the instent case would be the |

|

}

|

in the order of approval is conscious and deliberate, as in the

resent case, then total suppression of the entire intercept is |

ppropriate. If, however, the violation is one in which the

gents attempted to minimize but inadequately implemented those

fforts, then suppression is limited to those interceptions beyond

the scope of the wiretap order. An examination of several cases

which have applied this two-step process in differing factual

rontexts is instructive.

In United States v. George, 405 F.2d 772 (€th Cir. 1972), the

ourt faced a factual situation nearly identical to the instant one.|

fhe monitoring agents were not supplied with a copy of the wiretap

protective limitations contained in the order were entirely cizcum-|

order. Without the order or any other special instructions, the

vented and as a result, the agents intercepted conversations out- |

side the permissible scope of the authorization. The court found

that the surveillance had been conducted in "utter disrecard of the

provisions of the order of the District Court.” Id. at 774. In |

89.

See United States v. Lanza, 349 F.Supp. 929 (M.D.Pla. 1972);

nited States v. Leta, 332 F. Supp. 1357 (M.D.Pa. 1971), rev'd on

rounds sub nom, United States v. Cerasco, 467 F.2d 647 '

; United States v. King, supra; United States v. |

rreri, 363 F. Supp. 430 (D.Md. S73, nited States v. Tortorello,

480 F.2d 764 (2nd Cir.), cert. denied, Sif U.S. 866 (1573);

United States v. Turner, 5 ; (9th Cir.), cert. denied,

423 U.S. 996 (1975); United States v. Principie, 531 F.2d 1132 ‘2nd

Cir. 1976), cert. denied,430 U.S. 905 (197°); Cf. United States v.

Cox, 462 F.2d 1293 (eth Cir. 1972), cert. denied, 417, U.S.

74); United States v. Sisca, 361 F. Supp.

aff'd, 50 ;

90-onis two-step approach to suppression closely parallels

(S.D.N.¥. 1972),

(2nd Cir.), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 1008 (1974).

nd complements the two-step method of deciding the actual merits of

minimization claim. See supra, at p. 30. )

'

i

- 64 -

suppressing the entire intercept, the court stated:

If the agents of the Government are not

required to comply with the limitations

contained in an order authorizing inter-

ception of telephone calls then the purpose

of such order would be defeated.... Id. at 775.

In People v. Brenes, 42 N.Y¥.2d 41, 396 N.Y.S.2d 629 (1977),

the Court of Appeals of New York articulated the two-step approach

in formulating a remedy for a minimization violation under New

91 In Brenes, as in the instant matter, every

York's wiretap law.

conversation totalling 743 in all, was recorded over the course of

twenty days. There were no advance procedures worked out for

minimizing and no attempt to minimize was made. The court declined

state a "blanket" suppression rule, People v. Brenes, supra,at

35, but went on to say that

a distinction must be drawn between, on

the one hand, cases where, as here, the

order is executed as if in defiance of

the existence of statutory and decisional

minimization requirements and, on the other,

cases where in retrospect it appears that

the minimization efforts have merely fallen

short. While an unlimited intrusion requires

a remedy as broad as the unlawful act, a limited

One may not. Since, in our view, the present

case falis within the first category, total

suppression was warranted. Id. at 635 (emphasis

supplied). 2

In several other cases where the courts found substantial

compliance and therefore did not suppress, they nevertheless

made clear that suppression would have been appropriate if lack

of good faith had been demonstrated, For example, in United States

. Lanza, 349 F. Supp. 929 (M.D.Fla. 1972) the court found that of

the 4,098 calls intercepted, only 1,066 (26%) constituted

Si.

See supra, at p. 34 n.4l.

92.

See also People v. Holder, 69 Misc. 2d 863, 331 N.Y.S.2d

7 (Sup. Ct. of Nassau Cty. 1972) holding that failure by the

mitoring agents even to attempt "lip service” compliance with

e minimization provision requires suppression of the entire

tercept.

——

- 65 <-

93

recorded non-pertinent calls.” The court decided that these

statistics, combined with the fact that the agents, in fact, made

reasonable efforts to minimize, 349 F. Supp. at 932, indicated

that there had been no minimization violation. In reaching its

decision, the court contrasted the facts in Lanza with those in the

instant case:

The statute does not prohibit the inter-

ception of non-pertinent calls; rather

it requires the agents to conduct the

wiretap so as to minimize such inter-

ception. When, as in Scott, this mandate

is so blatantly ignored, the proper

result is the suppression of the entire

intercept. On the other hand, where non-

pertinent calls are intercepted despite

the agents’ effort at minimization, only

the unauthorized interceptions should be

suppressed. Id. at 932.

See also United States v. Curreri, 363 F.Supp. at 437 ("If the

government totall; ignores the minimization directive, total

suppression may well be in order."); United States v. Turner, 528

P23 at 156 ("In a case where it is clear that the mini

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Amicus Brief — Scott v. United States · 436 U.S. 128 | Frix