Petition — Sapia v. New York

Supreme Court brief1977

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

JOSEPHL SAPLA,

Petitioner,

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK,

Respondent.

- - - os ——— =

“ ———— SS —— ~—

Petition for Certiorari to the Court of Appeals, State of

New York.

— — Ee — — -=—-- — ee

Inving ANOLIK

Attorney for Petitioner

225 Broadway

New York, N. Y. 10007

TABLE OF CONTENTS.

Statement : . . . . : : 1

Opinion Below ° . “ . : . 2

Jurisdiction . . . . . . 2

2

Questions Presented . : . ‘ ‘

Constitutional and Statutory

Provisions Involved : : : 4

The Background of the Case. . . 4

Argument . . ° . ° ° . 9

Point I. The prosecution's case

relied heavily upon the hearsay

utterances and aes recordings

of conversations involving an

undercover informer, Earl

Fodderell, whom the prosecutor

incredibly failed to call as

his witness. The appellant

was severely prejudiced by the

trial judge's ruling that Sapia

could not compel Fodderell to

testify for the defense in the

face of Fodderell's assertion

of the Fifth Amendment privi-

lege against self-incrimina-

tion, rejecting appellant's

contention that as a cooperat-

ing informer-agent, Fodderell

had no basis for ete that

privilege. . , . . 9

A.

C.

ii.

Page

The trial court below, rea-

lizing that the people had

utilized Fodderell to its

great advantage through

the lips of police offi-

cers and tape recordings

without risking his im-

peachment by preventing

the defendant from con-

fronting him in cross

examination, implored the

District Attorney to

agree to grant Fodderell

immunity in this case,

which supplication the

prosecutor scorned ° ° 9

The petitioner maintains

that by using Fodderell

in an undercover sopeeewy

there was no possibility

of his incrimination since

he was in the locus standi

of a police officer who

aided an arrest. The

petitioner was therefore

denied a Sixth Amendment

right of cross examina-

tion (confrontation) as

well as the right to com-

pel witnesses in his

behalf . . . >. . 10

Fodderell wanted to testify

and told the court, out of

the presence of the jury,

that he had exculpatory

information and that Sapia

iii.

was innocent, but insisted

that he first be assured

that the testimony he

wanted to give would not

be used ee him by

the District Attorney.

This the court would not

do . . . . 7

Point II. The trial court pre-

cluded the defense from inter-

posing an entrapment defense

by ruling that a tape record-

ing and registered letter pre-

pared ante litam motum could

not be introduced: nor could

the defense counsel (Mr.

Bobick) testify. Finally,

the court rules that the

informer Fodderell could not

be made to testify despite

his revelation that Sapia

was innocent . ; , ,

Point III. Although there was no

conspiracy charged nor any

allegation of acting in con-

cernt, the court in essence

judicially amended the indict-

ment to the surprise and

prejudice of Sapia, bY ruling

that Sapia was _ of an

uncharged conspiracy with

Gardner. This was an error

of constitutional dimension

(Fifth and Fourteenth Amend-

ments) . ; . . . ;

Page

10

43

47

iv.

Page

Point IV. Other Errors: (A) The

(B)

people, via oo Rollo inter-

rogated petitioner after arrest

and indictment in the absence

of retained counsel and refused

to disclose the contents of the

tape. This was a violation of

Massiah v. United States and

Spano v. New York. It also

had a chilling effect on Sapia's

taking the stand as the remarks

might be used in cross examina-~-

tion (Harris v. New York) . ; 57

The trial court charged incor-

rectly by refusing to charge

that in order to use circum-

stantial evidence, the jury

must eliminate to a moral

eoatenesy every reasonable

hypothesis, but that of guilt. 57

Conclusion . . : . . . . 58

Appendix:

Order of Appellate Division . ; , 59

Opinion of the Appellate Division , 61

Dissenting Opinion of Murphy, J. . 69

Order of the Court of Appeals :

Opinion of the Court of Appeals .

75

76

Vv.

CASES CITED.

Page

Alderman v. United States, 394 U. S.

165 (1969) . : " . , 17, 20

Alford v. United States, 282 U. S.

267 : . . ° , . : 20

Brady v. Maryland, 373 U. Ss.

83. . . . . ; 20, 34, 36

Bruton v. United States, 391 U. S.

123 . . . , . ‘ . . 22

Chambers v. Mississippi . . . ; 44

Cole v. Arkansas, 333 U. S. 196,

202 >. . . > >. . 56

Dennis v. United States, 384 U. S.

855 (1966) . . . . : 17, 19

Douglas v. Alabama, 380 U. S. 415

(1965) . . . . . . . 17

Ex Parte Bain, 121 U. S. 1, 12 . . 56

Glasser v. United States, 315 U. Ss.

60, 75, 76 (1942) . ; : : 51

Harris v. New York, 401 U. S.

222 . . . . . . 3, 8, 57

Hinds v. John Hancock Mutual Life

Ins. Co., 155 A. 24 721, 723

(Maine, 1959) . . . ‘ : 41

In re Oliver, 333 U. S. 286 (1948) . 17

Jencks v.

Keys v. State,

Mar.

vi.

United States, 353 U. S&S.

at 670, 672 . .

14, 1975, 337 A.

(17 Cr. L. 2043) .

Krulewitch v. United States,

U. Ss.

Massiah v. United States, 377 U. S.

201

Moore v. Illinois, 408 U. S. 786 at

457. . .

809-810 : : .

Delaware

,

24 18

11, 12,

336

O'Chiato v. People, 214 Pac. 404,

405 (Sup. Ct. Colo., 1923) .

O'Connell v. United Ctates, 40 F.

24 201, 205 (C. A. 2, 1930)

People v.

People v.

429

People v.

145,

People v.

Pointer v.

Cleague, 22 N. Y.

Harris, 136 N. Y.

Kennedy, 32 N. Y.

146 . . .

Taddio, 292 N. Y.

Texas, 380 U. S.

(1965) . . . :

2a 363

423,

141,

4e68 .

400

Poller v. Columbia Broadcasting

System,

(1962) . . : .

368 U. S. 464, 473

Page

. 19

14, 32

. 51

: 57

32, 35

. 41

. 42

. 58

. 58

. 58

. 58

. 17

vii.

Powell v. Alabama, 287 U. S. 45,

57-58 (1932) .

Sartor v. Arkansas Natural Gas

Corp., 321 U. S. 620 (1944)

Smith v. Illinois, 390 U.

131, 132 . .

Snyder v. Massachusetts, 291 U. S.

97, 105 . .

129,

Spano v. New York, 360 U. S. 315

Stirone v. United States,

212 : . .

361 U.

Twining v. New Jersey, 211 U. S.

78, 91 (1908) .

United States v. Allied Stevedoring

Corp., 241 F. 2d 925, 933 (2d

Cir. 1957), cert. denied 353

U. Ss. 984, 77 s. ct. 1282,

L. Ed. 24 1143 (1957)

United States v. Andolschek,

1944) . . .

United States v.

2144 (decided 10/16/75)

United States v. Arcuri, C. A. 2d,

142

lada, 18 Cr. L.

403 F. 24 491, cert. denied

394 U. S. 1003.

1

19,

15

54

23

17

viii.

United States v. Austin-Bagley

Corp., 31 F. 2d 229 . . .

Unitea States v. Baum, 482 F. 2d

1325 (2d Cir. 1973) ° . .

United States v. Benjamin, 120 F. 24

521 (C. A. 2, 1941) . ; °

United States v. Coplon, 185 F. 2d

629, 639, 2a Cir. 1950 . . .

United States v. Esteppa and

Catino, C. A. 24 403 F. 24

491, cert. denied 394 U. S.

1003 . >. > > . . >

United States v. Falcone, 109 F. 24

579 (2d Cir., 1940), aff'd 311

U. Ss. 205 (1940) . . . .

United States v. Gomez-Rojas, F.

2d 16, Cr. L. 2451, decided

Pebruary 10, 1975. . . °

United States v. Housing Foundation

of America, 176 F. 2d 665

(C. A. 3, 1949) . . . .

United States v. Hysohian, 448 F. 24

343 . . . . . . 49,

United States v. Miller, 80 F. Supp.

979, 981 (E. D. Pa., 1948) . :

United States v. Peoni, 100 F. 24

401, 403 (2d Cir. 1938) . °

17

43

42

53

42

ix.

United States v. Robel, 389 U. S.

258 (1967) . . . .

United States v. St. Pierre, 132 F.

2d 837, 840 (C. A. 2, 1942) .

United States v. Suba, 227 F.

Supp. 445 . . . . . 7

Walder v. United States, 347 U. 8S.

62 J . >. . >. >. . >.

Washington v. Texas, 388 U. S. 14

(1967) . . . . . . .

Williams v. North Carolina, 317

U. S. 287, 292 . . . : "

Willis v. Hunter, 166 F. 2d 721,

723 (10th Cir.), cert. denied

334 U. S. 848 (1948) . .

STATUTES CITED.

28 U. S. C. §1257(3) ; ; ,

5 Wigmore Evidence §1367 (3d Ed.

1940) . . . . . . .

6 Wigmore Evidence $1834 (34 Ed.

1940) . ° ° ° . . °

8 Wigmore on Evidence (3d Ed.),

Page

19

39

49

57

46

56

18

17

17

§2268, page 402 . . : 40, 42

OTHER AUTHORITIES.

Donnelly, Judicial Control of

Informants, Spies, Stool-

pigeons, and Agents Prova-~-

cateurs, 60 Yale L. J. 1091,

llli (1951) . . . .

Goldstein, "The State and the

Accused: Balance of Advantage

in Criminal Procedure," 69

Yale L. J. 1149, 1175 (1960)

Mayers, “Shall We Amend the Fifth

Amendment” (1959) at 187 :

Page

Page

. 45

38, 39

In the

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term 1976.

JOSEPH SAPIA,

Petitioner,

v.

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI TO THE COURT OF

APPEALS, STATE OF NEW YORK.

STATEMENT .

Petitioner Joseph Sapia respectfully

prays that this Court will grant a writ

of certiorari to the Court of Appeals of

the State of New York, to review its de-

termination rendered the 28th day of

December, 1976, which affirmed the order

of the Appellate Division of the Supreme

Court, First Department, which in turn

affirmed the judgment of the Supreme Court,

New York County, rendered the l4th day of

November, 1974, convicting petitioner of

the criminaly sale of a dangerous drug in

the first and third degrees, after trial

before Sandler, J., and a jury.

Sapia is presently incarcerated pur-

suant to a mandatory prison term of 15

years to life.

In the Appellate Division, First

Department, Justice (now Presiding Jus-

tice) Francis T. Murphy, Jr., dissented

with an opinion.

OPINION BELOW.

The opinions of the Court of Appeals

and the Appellate Division, First Depart-

ment, are reprinted in the appendix hereto.

JURISDICTION.

The jurisdiction of this Court is pre-

dicated upon 28 U. S. C. §1257(3). The

Court of Appeals of New York affirmed the

order of the Appellate Division, First De-

partment, on the 28th day of December,

1976.*

QUESTIONS PRESENTED.

l. Whether petitioner was denied a

Sixth Amendment right to confrontation

* Petitioner is incarcerated and informed counsel

just recently that he wished a petition filed. He

had to borrow funds to do so.

and a Fifth Amendment right to a fair

trial by virtue of his inability to call

a prosecution informant, Earl Fodderell,

as a witness, despite the fact that the

indictment was predicated in part upon

his testimony, and tapes containing his

conversations were played to the jury?

2. Whether the prosecution violated

the Fifth Amendment right to a fair trial

by indirectly using the informant, Earl

Fodderell, as a witness, through the play-

ing of tape recordings, but denying a

right of cross examination by failing to

call Fodderell as a witness, and by re-

fusing the Trial Court's request that it

grant Fodderell immunity so that petitioner

could compel him to testify?

3. Whether the use of a statement

taken by the police from petitioner, after

his indictment, while he was in jail, in

the absence of his attorney, violated

Sapia's rights under the Fifth and Sixth

Amendments of the United States Constitu-

tion?

4. Whether the Trial Court erred in

declining to permit petitioner's counsel

or petitioner to learn what statement he

had made to the police after his arrest

and while he was in custody? This ruling

had a chilling effect on petitioner's

determination whether to take the stand

(Harrie v. New York, 401 U. S. 222).

5. Whether petitioner was given a

fair trial?

6. Whether petitioner was deprived

of a Sixth Amendment right to call wit-

nesses and of a Fifth Amendment right to

DS

a fair trial, when the Court precluded

him from adducing evidence from his attor-

ney and from other witnesses who were

available, that he was entrapped?

ew

7. Whether petitioner was deprived

of due process of law by the Trial Court's

presentation of a conspiracy to the jury

when none was charyed in the indictment?

8. Whether petitioner's Fifth Amend-

ment right to a fair trial was violated

by the prosecution's failure to apprise

him of the fact that a hearing had been

held wherein witnesses testified concern-

ing Sapia, but the identities of which

were withheld from Sapia.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

INVOLVED.

The Fifth and Sixth Amendments of

the United States Constitution are in-

volved herein.

THE BACKGROUND OF THE CASE.

Petitioner had been indicted on June

27th and July 6th, 1973, for drug viola-

tions predicated upon information sup-

plied as a result of the efforts of a

confidential informant by the name of

Earl Fodderell.

The indictments were consolidated

for trial and both failed to allege any

conspiracy.

ee

We submit that it is fair to say

that without the assistance of Fodderell,

it is not likely that an indictment could

have been returned against the petitioner

herein. Although the record is somewhat

prolix, we s t that the legal issues

to which we shall advert, infra, mandate

reversal irrespective of the factual con-

siderations. We do not concede that the

facts adduced warranted conviction for

criminal "sale" of a dangerous drug.

1 - But the transcendant issue which

stalks through the pages of the record

is the use by the People of a "“confiden-

tial informant,” Earl Fodderell. Fodder-

ell was the essential link necessary to

arrest and indict Sapia.

It was Fodderell whose voice was on

tape; who told the police about Sapia; who

was present at or instrumental in the

various transactions leading up to Sapia's

arrest.

Yet, incredible as it may seem, the

defense was precluded from confronting

this most important of all witnesses to

the alleged transgressions. The People

elected not to use him as their witness,

since they were more than content to

utilize him via the testimony of the

undercover officer, Heyward, and through

the tapes.

Conversations in which Fodderell was

quoted, were revealed to the jurors.

Since Fodderell was a cooperating

informer, and for all intents and pur-

poses was playing out & stenario written

and directed for him by the police when

he met appellant, we submit that he could

not be deemed a co-"defendant" and there-

fore, could not be incriminated by any-

thing that was said or done by him while

playing that role. This was true since

Fodderell was a police agent, working

hand-in-glove with Officer Neyward and

the others.

Yet, when the defense called Fodder-

ell as their witness, he was permitted

to plead the "Fifth Amendment!" and fore-

stall any examination since the prosecu-

tion urged that he could be incriminated,

and also refused to offer him immunity,

which the Court suggested it do as a

matter of fairness.

To make the matter worse, Fodderell

admitted on the stand, out of the jury's

presence, that if permitted to testify,

he would SS Sapia, whom he des-

cribed as “an innocent man."

2 - The Trial Court also precluded

the petitioner from interposing an en-

trapment defense by ruling that the defend-

ant would have to waive his Fifth Amend-

ment privilege and testify if he chose to

urge such a defense.

The Court was told that a tape re-

croding and sealed, self-mailed regis-

tered letter was in the possession of the

defense, which was prepared before the

petitioner knew he was indicted, which

would raise an entrapment defense. His

trial attorney Boblick was ready to tes-

tify, but was not permitted to do this.

Nor was he permitted to produce available

witnesses to establish the authenticity

of the tape and registered letter through

trustworthy testimony.

To exacerbate the matter further,

however, the Trial Court and the prose-

cutor also effectively foreclosed using

the People's informer, Fodderell to estab-

lish entrapment, since the prosecutor

successfully combined with Fodderell's

attorney (Mr. Schmuckler) that Fodderell

could invoke the Fifth Amendment privi-

lege, despite his role as informer, and

police agent.

3 - The Trial Court read into the

record a portion of Officer Williams’

self-serving report, the thrust of which

was that on July 6, 1973, Sapia sold a

kilo of heroin to Fodderell. This was

pure hearsay, and the Court conceded

error. The damage was done.

4 - The Court charged the existence

of a conspiracy which was not charged in

either of the two indictments upon which

the case proceeded, One Gardner, accord-

i to the testimony, was the main cul-

nn and used Sapia as an agent, giving

the best view the People can advance.*

This in essence amended the indictment

without approval of the grand jury.

5 - It was also conceded that Sg.

Rollo and others had interrogated the

defendant~-petitioner in jail, following

his indictment and arrest, in the absence

of his lawyer. It is not denied that the

* Two indictments, one relating to June 27 and

the other to July 6, 1973 were combined for trial.

Neither alleged any conspiracy, nor acting in

concert.

officers were aware that Sapia had a

lawyer. The Court would not permit the

defense to see the transcript or other-

wise to learn of thé nature of this im-

proper interview. (The Rollo tape was

Exhibit 20 for ident.). This chilled

Sapia's desire to testify (Harrie v. New

York, 401 U. S. 222).

6 - The Trial Court moeaoves, Bs -

mitted the unsworn tapes which included

Fodderell's conversations to be consi-

dered, as evidence-in-chief, and thus

permitted the jurors to predicate guilt

on unsworn statements which were not sub-

ject to cross examination.

7 - The Trial Court refused to

correctly charge on the law of circum-

stantial evidence, namely, that in order

for the jury to consider such material,

it had to be satisfied that the evidence

excluded, to a moral certainty, every

reasonable hypothosis, but that of guilt.

There are other errors, but the fore-

going, we contend, are sufficient in this

ntroductory to establish a need to grant

certiorari.

ARGUMENT.

POINT I.

THE PROSECUTION'S CASE RELIED HEAVILY UPON

THE HEARSAY UTTERANCES AND TAPE RE-

CORDINGS OF CONVERSATIONS INVOLVING

AN UNDERCOVER INFORMER, EARL FODDER-

ELL, WHOM THE PROSECUTOR INCREDIBLY

FAILED TO CALL AS HIS WITNESS. THE

PETITIONER WAS SEVERELY PREJUDICED BY

THE TRIAL JUDGE'S RULING THAT SAPIA

COULD NOT COMPEL FODDERELL TO TESTIFY

FOR THE DEFENSE IN THE FACE OF FOD-

DERELL'S ASSERTION OF THE FIFTH

AMENDMENT PRIVILEGE AGAINST SELF-

INCRIMINATION, REJECTING PETITIONER'S

CONTENTION THAT AS A COOPERATING

INFORMER- » FODDERELL HAD NO

BASIS FOR INVOKING THAT PRIVILEGE.

A. The Trial Court below, realizing that

the people had utilised Fodderell to

ite great advantage through the lipe

of poltece officere and tape record-

inge without risking hte impeachment

by preventing the defendant from con-

fronting him in croee examination,

implored the Dietrict Attorney to

agree to grant Fodderell immunity in

thie case, which eupplicatton the

prosecutor ecorned.

B. The petitioner maintaine that by

using Podderell in an undercover

capacity, there wae no possibility

of hie inorimination einece he was

in the locus standi of a police

offieer who aided an arrest. The

petitioner wae therefore denied a

10

Stzth Amendment right of croese exam-

ination (confrontation) ae well ae

the right to compel witnesses in hie

behalf.

C. FPodderell wanted to teetify and TOLD

THE COURT, out of the presence of

the jury, that he had EXCULPATORY

information and THAT SAPIA WAS INNO-

CENT, but ineteted that he firet be

aseured that the testimony he wanted

to give would not be used againet

him by she Dietrict Attorney. Thie

the court would not do.

The defendant-petitioner was charged

with very serious crimes, "A" felonies.

The case rested in large measure upon an

unsworn “witness,” whose name was men-

tioned innumerable times, and whose voice

was heard on tapes, and whose statements

were repeated by police officers. This

tom was Earl Fodderell, an undercover

nformer, who was himself facing a prison

term for a federal drug offense.

The People, obviously as a calculated

trial stratagem, omitted to call Fodderell

as a witness since they reaped great bene-

fit from the use of his “testimony” through

“unsworn” tape recordings, and hearsay

references to his utterences via the libs

of police officers.

The People therefore, effectivel

precluded any confrontation of this wit-

ness.

The Supreme Court of Delaware re-

cently dealt with a surprisingly similar

ll

situation and reversed a burglary-kidnap-

ping conviction in an incisive opinion.

While there was a statute involved, the

Delaware Court made it clear that the

result rested upon non-statutory grounds

including “the practicalities of a fair

criminal trial."

Thus, in Xeye v. State, --Delaware--,

Mar. 14, 1975, 337 A. 2d 18 (17 Cr. L.

2043), the Supreme Court of Delaware

opined (id. at 21):

"* * * We do not find it

necessary to determine whether

the admission of [Wells']) state-

ments was error under the con-

frontation provision of the

Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments

of the United States Constitu-

tion [Pointer v. Texas, 380

U. S. 400 (1965) ) because we

find the admission violated the

Statute itself and was there-

fore error. And we say so for

two general reasons: the stat-

utory language used by the

General Assembly and the prac-

tiealities of a fair criminal

trial.

"In view of the fact that

this statute represents a de-

parture from the common law

rule that prior out-of-court

etatemente are not admiesible

except for epecial purposes,

it should be strictly construed.

12

"We find that the Statute

was not intended by the General

Assembly to dispense with the

traditional requirement that

the State produce the live tee-

timony of the witnees. More-

over, we feel this interpreta-

tion is compelled by the sta-

tutory language.”

The Court continued 337 A. 2d at 23

(17 Cr.

2044):

"We find a second general

reason also compelling. The

admission of out-of-court state-

ments can have an impact on the

practical ebb and flow of the

criminal trial drama * * *"

"(In this case the trial

court considered that Wells'

presence at trial was suffici-

ent and allowed the statements

to be introduced through tes-

timony of a police investiga-

tor and a prosecutor. In front

of the jury the judge advised

defense counsel that "Mr. Wells

still remains in the courtroom

subject to your cross examina-

tion if you desire to call him

as ——— and cross examine

him.

"This scene dramatizes the

chief issue in this appeal. The

prosecution, instead of bearing

the burden of sponsoring as a

13

witness the out-of-court decla-

rant (who, for a while at least,

appears to have been an accom-

plice and who had been granted

immunity and whose testimony

is thus doubly suspect], is able

to present the out-of-court

statement through an officer

of the law and an officer of the

Court. ([T)he Court refused to

give the customary cautionary

charge about accomplice testi-

mony or the testimony of one

granted immunity because '[i)t

should be noted Mr. Wells was

not a witness.') Additionally,

the burden is shifted to the

defendant to call the witness

and it thus appears to the jury,

regardless of technicalities of

cross examination and formal

vouching for the witness, that

the defendant is sponsoring the

witness or refusing to sponsor

him. That burden is not fair.

If the State carried ite posi-

tion to ite logical extreme,

The State could rest ite case

without calling a single eye-

witnese to any pertinent fact.

That is not a trial as we know

it. The State should not be

able to rest its case without

calling the witnesses it re-

lies upon to prove it. This is

particularly true when the State

relies on witnesses who have

obvious vulnerability as to

credibility.

15

14

rove ite case through a single

“We are unable to say that Sotéee witness who 40d not abe

the error here was harmless or the incident and who relied

harmless beyond a reasonable solely on what eyewitnesses told

doubt. Superior Court Criminal him. It would be unfair for the

Rule 52; Chapman v. California, speeding defendant to have to

386 U. S. 18." See, Point III, defend against such an attack.

supra. (Emphasis ours.) The principle is no less valid

in a serious case carrying a

severe punishment."

The concurring opinion of Chancellor

Quillen explains the serious undermining

of the hearsay rule and contrary holding See, United States v. Allied Stevedoring

would have (337 A. 2d at 24): Corp., 241 F. 2a 925, 933 (2d Cir. 1957),

; "“Coneurrence: First, I

think it is important to attempt

in capsule form to demonstrate

for public understanding how

the issue in this case is one

of broad application and signi-

ficance which could affect any

citizen. It is important to

do so because this case and

others now pending on appeal,

involving similar or related

issues, concern criminal ac-

tions of some of the most seri-

ours crimes in our free society.

I am keenly mindful of the

seriousness of the allegations,

from the state's point of view

as well as the defendant's.

But the princtple involved te

aleo vital to the individual

freedom of everyone. The de-

eteton ia not based on an irrel-

evant technicality. The aver-

age citizen accused of speeding

would feel great resentment

if the State were permitted to

cert. denied 353 U. S. 984, 77 S. Ct.

1282, 1 L. Ed. 24 1143 (1957).

"This Court has recognized

the value to the fact finder of

contradictions which were the

consequence of live testimony.

Husband v. Wife, Del Supr., 253

A. 24 63 (1968). The Supreme

Court of the United States has

emphasized the importance of

live testimony in factual de-

terminations where credibility

is a factor. Uvrivereal Camera

Corp. v. National Labor Rela-

titone Board, 340 U. S. 474, 495,

71S. Ct. 456, 468, 95 L. Ed.

456 (1951). Even the cases

which hold that, given an ade-

quate opportunity for cross ex-

amination, a physical confron-

tation of the witness before

the defendant, Court and jury

is not required by Confrontation

Clause of the Sixth Amendment

16

emphasize the value ‘of compel-

ling (the witness) to stand

face to face with jury in order

that they may look at him, and

judge by his demeanor upon the

stand and the manner in which

he gives his testimony whether

he is worthy of belief.' Mattox

v. United States, 156 U. S. 237,

242-243, 15 S. Ct. 337, 339,

39 L. Ed. 409, 411 (1895);

Douglae v. Alabama, 380 U. S.

415, 418, 85 S. Ct. 1074, 1077,

13 L. Ed. 24 934, 937 (1965).

"The witness's presence

before the tribunal is import-

ant because the demeanor while

testifying will enable the

trier of fact to better deter-

mine the worth of his testimony.

See 5 Wigmore, supra, at 126.

This is why the hearsay rule

requires that the tribunal ob-

serve the witness testifying

in order to receive his testi-

mony. A witness's demeanor is

part of his testimony * * *"

“Live testimony can give

rise to contradictions and a

demeanor which puts an entirely

different light on the bare

word. Such contradictions and

such demeanor are properly the

burden of the offering party.

Indeed, some courts go so far as

to say demeanor can be used to

establish facts contrary to the

words used by the witness."

17

See, United States v. Areurt, C. A.

2d 403 F. 2d 491, cert. denied 394 U. S.

1003, and United Stated v. Esteppe and

Catino, C. A. 24 403 F. 2d 491, cert.

denied 394 U. S. 1003..

That the confrontation clause re-

guires an opportunity for cross examina-

tion is so obvious that it scarcely re-

quires extended discussion.

In any adversary proceeding, liti-

gants, generally have four basic rights:

public trial, cross examination and con-

frontation, compulsory process, and assis-

tance of counsel. The right to public

trial is a safeguard against mendacity

and incorrectness. In re Oliver, 333

U. S. 286 (1948); 6 Wigmore Evidence §1834

(34 Ed. 1940), and United Statee v. Cop-

Lon, 185 F. 2d 629, 639, 2d Cir. 1950.

The right of cross examination, “the

greatest legal engine ever invented for

the discovery of truth" insures that the

eavesdropping agents' claims about the

scope of their activities and the People's

attorney's claim about the limits on dis-

closure are subject to testing by counsel

for the defense, who alone has an interest

in showing them up as ill-founded or mis-

taken (see Alderman v. United States, 394

U. S. 165 [1969]; Douglae v. Alabama, 380

U. S. 415 [1965]; Pointer v. Texas, 380

U. S. 400 [1965]; Dennie v. United States,

384 U. S. 855 (1966); and 5 Wigmore Avi-

dence, §1367 [3d Ed. 1940)).

It is not fanciful to argue herein

that the defendant Sapia was pro tanto

denied the assistance of counsel because

18

counsel was refused access to materials

which may prove the difference between

imprisonment and freedom. This analyti-

cally is cognate to denying counsel

access to his client (see Powell v. Ala-

bama, 287 U. Ss. 45, 57-58 [1932]}). It

also denies Sapia and his attorney “ample

opportunity to acquaint himself with the

facts." Willie v. Hunter, 166 F. 2d 721,

723 (10th Cir.), cert. denied 334 U. S.

848 (1948).

At this juncture, it may be appro-

priate to remind this Court that a tape

was made of a post indictment interview

of Sapia by the authorities in the ab-

sence of his reteined attorney, while he

was in custody. The prosecution and the

Court refused to reveal this tape to

appellant, and would not furnish a trans-

cript or summary (882-897; 1478; People

Exhibit 20 for ident.).*

In addition, the People had failed

to reveal that there had been a hearing

on the Sapia case where statements of

People's witnesses had been uttered, but

not furnished to the defense for cross

examination. By the sheerest luck, Sapia

learned of this (1509-1519; 1505).

If the State may insulate itself

behind such epithets as “national secur-

ity” or “confidential informant” or “no

standing,” then, of course, for all in-

tents and purposes, the defendant is

denied proper means of defending himself

* Numerals in parentheses refer to pages of the

official Court Reporter's minutes of trial.

19

(see, Goldstein “The State and the Accu-

sed: Balance of Advantage in Criminal

Procedure,” 69 Yale L. J. 1149, 1175

(1960]}).

This is a task for open hearing and

not for summary procedures for the proof

is surely in the hands of the State and

“hostile witnesses thicken the plot."

Poller v. Columbia Broadcasting System,

368 U. S. 464, 473 (1962). See, Sartor

v. Arkaneae Natural Gae Corp., 321 U. S.

620 (1944); United States v. Coplon,

eupra.

The Supreme Court has held in a re-

lated context that fundamental freedoms

are not to be held out for sacrifice with-

out full exploration of alternative means

of dealing with the evils their exercise

gives rise to. United Statee v. Robel,

389 U. S. 258 (1967).

The rationale of United Statee v.

Andolechek, 142 F. 24 503, 506 (2d Cir.

1944), cited with approval in Dennie v.

United Statee, 384 U. S. 53 (1967), dic-

tates that unless the government is will-

ing to open its files to the extent neces-

sary to insure, through adversary proce-

dures in open court that its unlawful con-

duct did not produce leads or evidence

which contributed to defendant's convic-

tion, the case must be dismissed (see

Jencke v. Untted Statee, 353 U. S. at

670, 672). Moreover, the claim that in-

vestigative files reflecting lawful tech-

niques should be kept free from scrutiny

would be more graciously received if ex-

perience showed that the government con-

sistently and carefully separated illegally

20

gathered material from that legally

gathered, to permit easy identification

of the source of any given communication

or item of intelligence.*

The Court's actions would seem to

be wholly inconsistent with Alderman v.

United States, supra, to say nothing of

Brady v. Maryland, 373 U. S. 83. The

defense was entitled to confront Fodderell

under the Sixth Amendment. Such refusals

have been held to be error of a grave

nature; Smith v. Illinote, 390 U. S. 129,

131, — Alford v. United States, 282

U. Ss. Ve

The Sixth Amendment guarantees not

only a right to be "confronted with the

witnesses against him,” but also “to have

compulsory process for obtaining witnesses

in his favor."

Fodderell was working in close asso-

ciation with the police. Officer Heyward,

who acted in an undercover capacity, as

well as Officer Bruno and others conceded

that Fodderell was a certified undercover

confidential informant who had even been

assigned an official number (Bruno, 26,

96-98; Heyward, 476, 936).

Officer Bruno admitted that Sapia

was mentioned to him by Fodderell and

that is how Sapia came under investiga-

tion by him (21-26). Incidentally, Bruno

had never seen Sapia carry anything (98).

* We refer to the revelations of the Ellsburg

and Watergate cases.

21

Heyward met Fodderell on June 26,

1973 (476).

One Robert Gardner, who was appar-

ently the chief culprit in the investiga-

tion seemed to give Sapia orders, and he

too was linked into the case by Fodderell.

In order to permit the hearsay utterances

of Fodderell and Heyward and Gardner to

be used against Sapia at times he was not

said to be present, the prosecution, with

the blessings of the Court concocted a

“conspiracy” theory (486, 487). It is

noteworthy that the Court itself conceded

that there was no conspiracy charged in

either indictment (1353-1369).

Just as a glaring example of the

hearsay use of Fodderell's statements, it

is appropriate to look at page 1062 of

the record where the Court read a hearsay

report of Officer Williams, quoting Fod-

derell when Sapia was not present:

"On July 6, 1973, one kilo

was purchased from Sapia * * *

by undercover, UC 14547 [Fod-

derell)]. First meeting was in

the vicinity of Sapia's resi-

dence and the buy was trans-

acted in the vicinity of 55

West 100th Street, 24th pre-

cinct."

At pages 1083 and 1084, the Court was

told of the grave error it had committed,

and admitted it was error. The jury was

not informed that this was hearsay and

22

was not binding on Sapia. An instruction

would exacerbate the situation.

The Court further ruled that it would

admit any conversations involving Fodder-

ell and Gardner (484-6). But the Court

permitted conversations between Officer

Heyward and Fodderell, even without the

presence of either Gardner or petitioner

(508; 648 tapes).

It was pointed out to the Court that

if Fodderell was to have his statements

admitted on the theory of his being a co-

conspirator (a fact we reject), then there

is a clear violation of Bruton v. United

States, 391 U. S. 123, since it is the

admissions of a non-testifying co-defend-

ant or conspirator. Some conversations

were post indictment, so the conspiracy

had to have terminated by then (1355;

1354).

A perusal of the record reveals in-

numerable references to and conversations

with, or statements of Fodderell.

Turning now to the grave error that

was made by the Court and the prosecutor

combining to preclude the defense from

using Fodderell as a witness because of

the implied threat by the District Attor-

ney that he would be prosecuted if he so

testified for the defense, we wish to

quote some portions of the record.

Bear in mind, that Fodderell said

that he could establish "Sapia's inno-

cence” and that his testimony would be

exculpatory of Sapia!

23

The prosecutor had no right to deny

that Fodderell was not subject to prose-

cution for testimony about his role in

this case. It is just as if Officer

Heyward would have refused to testify on

the grounds of self incrimination, even

though everyone knew that he was an under-

cover agent and could not be involved

since he was a police agent, and there-

fore could not have had any criminal in-

tent.

A recent case decided by the United

States Court of Appeals for the Second

Circuit, United Statee v. Anglada, 18

Cr. L. 2144 (decided 10/16/75), confronted

a similar issue to that of the case at

bar wherein a witness-informer called to

the stand invoked the Fifth Amendment.

The Second Circuit held that some "“care-

fully phrased, limited questions” would

have been permissible. In remanding the

case to the Court below, he Second Cir-

cuit cited the failure of the Trial Judge

oe submit the entrapment issue to the

ury.

In Anglada, as in the case at bar,

the defendant sought to obtain the testi-

mony of one Santana, whom he called as a

aan a Rag oe there also held a

outs of the ju

and learned that while Santana A By

to be interviewed by defense counsel, he

had nevertheless spoken freely to the

prosecutor and the police about the

events of the case. Santana's assigned

counsel advised him to assert his Fifth

Amendment privilege inst self-incrin-

ination. (Fodderell in the instant case

followed similar advice from his assigned

counsel).

Court treats the situation as follows:

24

The opinion of the Circuit

"Over defendant's objec-

tion, the judge sustained the

privilege and excused Santana

from testifying. Appellant

claims that this ruling was

erroneous considering the unique

nature of Santana's testimony

in establishing the entrapment

defense (he was the only other

participant in the crucial con-

versation), the protection

afforded Santana against a cri-

minal charge in the Anglada

transaction because Santana was

acting at the Government's re-

quest, the lack of connection

between the Anglada sale and

the state charge, the possible

waiver of his Fifth Amendment

rights by his conversations with

the prosecutor, and the possi-

bility that his reluctance to

testify was based upon fear of

Anglada's retaliation rather

than on the Fifth Amendment.

"The question thus posed

is not a simple one. Such

cases as UJ. S. v. Domenech, 476

F. 24 1229, 1231 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 414 U. S. 840

(1973); Uv. S. vw. Llanes, 398 F.

24 880, 884-85 (2d Cir. 1968),

25

are not necessarily controlling.

Only in Llanee was the reluct-

ant witness asked to shed light

on an entrapment issue, and,

unlike this case, there was

nothing to indicate that the

witness had been a police infor-

mer who had allegedly ‘set up’

the defendant. As against the

lesser showing there of the

defendant's need for the evi-

dence, the reluctant witness

‘was himself under indictment

for a narcotics violation which

allegedly occurred at the same

time and place as appellant's

alleged violation,’ which was

‘a classical situation for the

full exercise of the privilege. '

398 F. 24 at 884. In this case,

there was no apparent connection

between the state drug charge

used to justify the privilege

and the incident on which tes-

timony was sought. It may be

that on retrial the issue will

be simpler since the state

charge may already be disposed

of. In any event, we suggest

that if the situation arises

again, the trial judge take a

harder look at any blanket

assertion of privilege and also

at the possibility of allowing

some carefully phrased, limited

questions by Anglada's counsel.”

(Emphasis ours.)

cert. denied, 393 U. S. 1032 It will therefore be noted that the

(1969); and U. S. wv. Chandler, Circuit Court would have permitted some

380 F. 24 993, 997 (2a Cir. 1967),

26

questioning, albeit limited. Moreover,

since in the case at bar Fodderell was

only to be questioned about the case on

trial, there was no reason to exclude

his testimony altogether since admittedly

he had been a cooperating witness playing

an undercover role for the police. He

could not possibly have incriminated him-

self with respect to the charges on trial,

as the dissenting opinion in the Appellate

Division correctly observes. Thus the

following quotations are important (1585-

1586):

"THE COURT: You understand

you were brought here from West

Street at the request of the

counsel for Mr. Sapia as someone

they wished to ask questions of

as a witness in this case. Do

you understand that? That's

all I'm asking at this point.

"THE WITNESS: {[Fodderell }

Yes, sir.

"THE COURT: Now, Mr.

Schmukler has told us he aM

spoken to , and after talk-

ing to aie yee have indicated

that if you were asked questions

about your activities in connec-

tion with the matters that led

to Mr. Sapia’s arrest, that you

would invoke a privilege against

self-incrimination unless the

Court granted you immunity from

prosecution for the matters you

will be talking about. That's

what he told us.

27

"Now I'm sure he was tell-

ing us in good faith what he

thought your position was, but

z want to know from you, is that

your position?

“THE WITNESS: Well, my

position is that I don't know.

I just tried to explain to him,

I hope I'tl be able to speak

freely. I don't want to eee an

imnocent man go to jail for

something he's totally not

reeponetble for. Then on the

other hand, I don't want to

incriminate myself. I don't

want to be prosecuted because

I'm doing enough time."

The Court was deeply concerned with

the dilemma posed by the Fodderell matter,

but the prosecutor was adamant (1566-1567):

"THE COURT: My prelimin-

ary reading of the appropriate

section is to the effect the

Court would not have the power

to confer immunity without con-

sent of the District Attorney's

office.

"As to what the testimony

would be, I think it would be

a fair summary that if believed

by the jury, would be ezculpa-

tory. Whether or not the testi-

mony had been indicated on the

record on behalf of Mr. Fodder-

ell, if called as a witness, he

would invoke the privilege

against self-incrimination and

your criminal practice act seems

to indicate the Court cannot

confer immunity, although on

the basie of what was told to

me, tf he invoked the privilege

and I had that power, I would

have done 8o.

"Mr. Wilson indicated he

did not feel the District Attor-

ney should cooperate or consent

to such granting of immunity.

I believe that is your position

still, Mr. Wilson?

"MR. WILSON: That is cor-

rect."

29

it's fair to say that my belief

is that it would be appropriate

and helpful for the District

Attorney to consent to immunity

and I am genuinely saddened they

would not do so.”

The defense responded (1567-1568) :

"MR. ANOLIK: I will have

to express an exception on the

record for several grounds.

"THE COURT: Yes.

"MR. ANOLIK: I think when

the prosecution undertakes to

use an individual as an informer

and is even given a number as a

police informer, and utilizing

The Court then adverted to the same

position taken by the chief of the divi-

sion and expressed its sadness (1566-1567):

his evidence to get the indict-

ments and to prosecute a defend-

ant, and then it develops that

"THE COURT: I think it

would be fair to add that I had

a telephone conversation in Mr.

Wilson's presence on my side of

the phone with Mr. Rogers, in

which I expressed the view that

the District Attorney should

consent to immunity and Mr.

Rogere dieagreed and I don't

say that as a criticism of him,

because I don't think it's that

clear an issue from his stand-

point, and on the basis of the

information he has, but I think

that same informer has informa-:

tion which would be perhaps

exculpatory to the defense, that

the prosecution must, not may,

but must grant immunity in the

event the informer becomes a

talisman, for the reason is

that in that case, this is a

witness who is not subject to

examination through the tapes,

that is, as being used against

us by the prosecution to their

advantage, and then they util-

ize their power, not given to

a defendant, only to a prosecu-

tor, to forestall and prevent

Mr. Anolik continued (1568):

30

us from gleaning and develop-

ing exculpatory material or

material which might show the

informer or is under pressure

or perjured himself or entrap-

ped the defendant. We think

it's a denial of the equal pro-

tection of the laws.

"I know it's a novel area,

but I think under these unusual |

circumstances, that the prose-

cution has an ethical duty to

grant immunity.”

"Now on the other aspect

of it, I would ask the Court to

consider the possibility, which

I think te proper, that by be-

coming an informant and by assie-

ting tn the prosecution of thie

case, chis individual, Mr.

Podderell, has waived hie right

againet self-incrimination.

"He can't have it both

ways, because in effect, he has

already testified.

——s

"THE COURT: I take it, if

I may address you from the wall

of the Court, Mr. Schmukler,

you don't share the last opinion

expressed, do you?

"MR. SCHMUKLER: No, I

don't."

31

The Court agreed that the testimony

of Fodderell, if believed, would be ex-

culpatory (1570).

On 1572, the following occurred:

"MR. BOBICK: Anybody who

says he can't have immunity.

In this case, I say it's prose-

cutorial misconduct for the

District Attorney's office to

say to a man, go out and entrap

somebody; go out and do some-

thing which you don't ordinarily

do; go out and be a confidential

informer and if somebody says

to you, what's the truth of the

matter, we will stop them from

talking to you * * *,

"THE COURT: I believe the

point you are making has some

possible merit.

"MR. ANOLIK: The question

must be broached. Whether or

not they have the right -- they

being the prosecution -- whether

or not they have the right to

use an informer and insulate

him from cross examination by

saying, don't worry, we won't

give you immunity. You just

get there and take the Fifth

Amendment, so they can never

cross examine you."

Regrettably, the People did not act

fairly with the petitioner as is seen

32

from the foregoing and as will be demon-

strated, infra, as well. The People should

have volunteered the information that

there had been a hearing at which state-

ments of the People's witnesses were made

before a federal Judge (Gagliardi). The

prosecutor should have disclosed the tape

and conversation that Sgt. Rollo had of a

post-indictment, post-arrest interview

with Sapia in the absence of counsel. To

date, we still have not seen that.*

The District Attorney should have

joined with the defendant in seeking the

testimony of the crucial witness, Fodder-

ell -- indeed, the prosecutor should have

called him as its own witness initially

(Keys v. State, supra). Instead, the

prosecution threw every conceivable road-

block in the way of adducing testimony

from Fodderell and spurned the trial

Judge's entreaties to remove the aura of

prejudice by acknowledging that Fodderell

would not be exposed to prosecution if he

testified about this case. Again the

District Attorney rejected the suggestion.

We must remember the fact that Fodderell

said that he had exculpatory evidence and

would testify that Sapia was innocent of

the charges. Yet by dint of questionable

procedural barriers and ploys, he was

kept from disclosing this information.

In Moore v. Illinotie, 408 U. S. 786, at

809-810, the Court ruled:

* Chambere v. Mississippi, 410 U. S. 284; United

States v. Pacelli, 491 F. 2d 1108, 1119; United

States v. Phinget, 477 F. 24 177, 194-195.

33

"When the State possesses

information that might well

exonerate a defendant in a

criminal case, it has an affir-

mative duty to disclose that

information. While frivolous

information and useless leads

can be ignored, if evidence is

clearly relevant and helpful

to the defense, it must be dis-

closed.

"Obviously some burden is

placed on the shoulders of the

prosecutor when he is required

to be responsible for those

persons who are directly assist-

ing him in bringing an accused

to justice. But this burden

is the essence of due process

of law. It is the State that

tries a man and it is the State

that must insure that the trial

is fair. ‘A citizen has the

right to expect fair dealing

from his government, see Vitar-

ellit v. Seaton, 359 U. S. 535,

and this entails * * * treating

the government as a unit rather

than as an amalgam of separate

entities.' S & E Contractors,

Inc. v. United States, 406 U. S.

1, 10 (1972). ‘The prosecutor's

office is an entity and as such

it is the spokesman for the

Government.’ Giglio v. Untted

Statee, 405 U. S. 150, 154

(1972). See also Santobello

v. New York, 404 U. S. 257, 262

(1971); Barker v. Wingo, 407

U. S. 514 (1972)."

34

In view of what transpired with re-

spect to Fodderell and his prognostica-

tions that he would exculpate Sapia, we .

have no recourse but to assume that the

People deliberately proferred false im-

pressions and allowed incorrect evidence

to be heard by the jury. Thus in Brady

v. Maryland, 373 U. S. 83, 87, the Supreme

Court said:

ee ee - ee

"The Third Circuit in the

Baldi case construed that state-

ment in Pyle v. Kaneae to mean

that the ‘suppression of evi-

dence favorable’ to the accused

was itself sufficient to amount

to a denial of due process.

195 F. 2d at 820. In Napue v.

Illinois, 360 U. S. 264, 269,

we extended the test formulated

in Mooney v. Holohan, when we

said: 'The same result obtains

when the State, although not

soliciting false evidence,

allows it to go uncorrected

when it appears.' And see

Aleorta v. Texas, 355 U. S. 28'

Wilde v. Wyoming, 362 U. S. 607.

Cf. Durley v. Mayo, 351 U. S.

277, 285 (dissenting opinion).

"We now hold that the sup-

pression by the prosecution of

evidence favorable to an accused

35

"The principle of Mooney

v. Holohan is not punishment

of society for misdeeds of a

prosecutor but avoidance of an

unfair trial to the accused.

Society wins not only when the

guilty are convicted but when

criminal trials are fair; our

system of the administration

of justice suffers when any

accused is treated unfairly.

An inscription on the walls of

the Department of Justice

states the proposition candidly

for the federal domain: ‘The

United States wins its point

whenever justice is done its

citizens in the courts.' A

prosecution that withholds evi-

dence on demand of an accused

which, if made available, would

tend to exculpate him or reduce

the penalty helps shape a trial

that bears heavily on the de-

fendant. That casts the prose-

cutor in the role of an archi-

tect of a proceeding that does

not comport with standards of

justice, even though, as in the

present case, his action is not

‘the result of guile,' to use

the words of the Court of

Appeals. 226 Md., at 427, 174

A. 2d at 160."

upon request violates due pro- In Moore v. Illinote, supra, the

cess where the evidence is ma- Supreme Court further cautioned (408 U. Ss.

terial either to guilt or to at 808):

punishment, irrespective of the

good faith or bad faith of the

prosecution.

36

"In my view, both Brady v.

Maryland, 373 U. S. 83 (1963),

and Napue v. Illinote, 360 U. S.

264 (1959), require that the

conviction in this case be re-

versed. WNapue established that

the Fourteenth Amendment is

violated ‘when the State, al-

though not soliciting false

evidence, allows it to go un-

corrected.' Id., at 269. And

Brady holds that suppression of

material evidence requires a

new trial ‘irrespective of the

good faith or bad faith of the

prosecution.' Supra, at 87.

There can be no doubt that

there was suppression of evi-

dence by the State and that the

evidence that the State relied

on was ‘false’ in the sense that

= was incomplete and mislead-

ng.” :

In Brady, supra, the Court further

ruled (373 U. S. at 86):

"This ruling is an exten-

sion of Mooney v. Holohan, 294

U. S. 103, 112, where the Court

ruled on what nondisclosure by

a prosecutor violates due pro-

cess:

"'It is a requirement that

cannot be deemed to be satis-

fied by mere notice and hearing

if a State has contrived a con-

viction through the pretense

37

of a trial which in truth is

but used as a means of depriv-

ing a defendant of liberty

through a deliberate deception

of court and jury by the pre-

sentation of testimony known

to be perjured. Such a contri-

vance by a State to procure the

conviction and imprisonment of

a defendant is as inconsistent

with the rudimentary demands

of justice as is the obtaining

of a like result by intimida-

tion.'"

To make matters worse, the Trial

Court would not permit the defense to call

Fodderell to the stand in the presence of

the jury, so that it could hear him invoke

the Fifth Amendment. True, the Court ex-

plained this to the jury, but that is not

the same as calling the witness, especi-

ally when the veniremen must have been

——y ~~~. h~ > Fodderell since his name

was ment so often in testimony and

the tapes.

The Fifth Amendment guarantees that:

"No person * * * shall be

compelled in any criminal case

to be a witness against himself

* *

It is apparent that the language of

the Constitution refere to an accused and

not a witnese.

39

38

its terms is probably owing to a misun-

"Taken by themselves the derstanding of the Amendment:

words nor can he be compelled

to gtve evidence againet him-

self are, doubtless, broad enough "It [the privilege against

to a8 a witness as well as self-incrimination] was in fact

an accused. But occurring in a | unknown in the nineteenth cen-

sentence beginning with the tury. It does not occur in

words in all capttal or ertminal either of the two historic

prosecutions, and sandwiched Supreme Court decisions on the

as they are between clauses privilege toward the end of that

which can only relate to the century (the Boyd decision in

accused, they seem unmistakably 1886 and the Counselman decision

intended to apply only to him: in 1892). It does not occur in

a conclusion which the word he, the 1891 edition of Story's

already used just a few words Commentaries on the Consetitu-

previously to refer unmistak- tion or in the 1893 edition of

ably to the accused, strongly Greenleaf's Evidence--both

reinforces. standard works of the period."

"* * * Quite clearly, had

the framers of these provisions Mayers, id. at 311, 312 footnote 16.

intended them to include the

witness, the fact that the con- Arguendo, even if it be conceded

text might be construed as nega- that the privilege against self-incrimi-

tiving such a construction would nation protects witnesses, other serious

have been apparent to them; and questions are raised by the trial court's

they would have rewritten the | actions.

provision to remove the ambigu-

ity. One must conclude that In United States v. St. Pierre, 132

the thought that the witness FP. 2d 837, 840 (C. A. 2, 1942), Judge

might be regarded as included Learned Hand observed:

never occurred to them. And the

reason why it did not seems

clear." Mayers, Shall We Amend "The result of using this,

The Pifth Amendment (1959) at like any other privilege, is to

187. deprive people of evidence

which would be otherwise avail-

able; at best, a disastrous

In a footnote, the same author notes necessity, for disputes ought

that the supposition that a “witness”

as well as an accused is protected by

40

to be settled so far as they

can by resort to the whole

truth.”

The privilege is designed and inter-

preted “to protect the innocent" even

though it may prove "a shelter to the

guilty." Twining v. New Jersey, 211 U. S.

78, 91 (1908).

Even if the witness had the privi-

lege to invoke, the Trial Court committed

egregious error in denying Sapia the

right to put the questions to the witness

in the presence of the jury.

Petitioner did not intend to, and

could not, abuse the opportunity to ques-

tion the witness despite his expressed

intention to invoke the Fifth Amendment.

He only sought permission to put questions

to the witness.

The trial judge acted on the erron-

eous premise that the Fifth Amendment pro-

hibits inquiry.

However, the Trial Court was plainly

wrong. The witness was merely privileged

not to answer them--as probative as they

were. Actually, “except in the case

of an accused in a criminal case [for an

accused cannot be called as a witness,

the privilege against self-incrimination |

is merely an option of refusal, not a

prohibition of inquiry." 8 Wigmore on

Evidence (3d Ed.) $2268, page 402.

41

"The right to trial by

jury includes the right to have

the jury present when tent

questions are propounded to a

witness. While a witness may

refuse to answer if the answer

would tend to incriminate him,

yet the privilege does not bar

the asking of the question."

O'Chiato v. People, 214 Pac.

404, 405 (Sup. Ct. Colo., 1923).

See also, Hinde v. John Hancock

Mutual Life Ine. Co., 155 A. 2a

721, 723 (Maine, 1959).

In United Statee v. Benjamin, 120 F.

24 521 (C. A. 2, 1941), it was held that

a witness, as compared to an accused,

does not have the constitutional privi-

lege of refusing to take the witness stand,

but only the privilege of declining to

give answers, when interrogated. Judge

Augustus N. Hand, writing for the Court

stated (at 522):

"It is to be remembered

that the appellant has not

the constitutional privilege

to refuse to testify which be-

longs to a defendant on trial.

He was subject to call as a

witness to decline to give

answers when inter ated

which might tend to incrimin-

ate him. O'Connell v. United

Statee, 2 Cir., 40 F. 2d 201,

205; Mulloney v. United Statee,

1 Cir., 79 F. 24 566. As

42

Professor Wigmore has said, the

privilege is ‘an option of re-

fusal and not a prohibition of

inquiry.' Wigmore Evidence 2d

Ed., §2268."

Accord:

United States v. Houetng Found-

ation of America, 176 F.

2d 665 (C. A. 3, 1949);

O'Connell v. United States, 40

F. 24 201, 205 (C. A. 2,

1930);

United States v. Miller, 80 F.

Supp. 979, 981 (E. D. Pa.,

1948).

The Sixth Amendment again met with

disfavor at the hands of the trial Judge.

He made empty defendant's right to "com-

pulsory process for obtaining witnesses

in his favor." If the Court were obliged

to balance the privilege of the witness

under the Fifth Amendment with Sapia's

right to process for obtaining witnesses

in his favor, guaranteed by the Sixth

Amendment, it should have at least afforded

petitioner a right to put questions to

the witness in front of the jury. The

Court still could have enforced the wit-

ness' right not to answer, provided he

invoked the privilege.

By its action, the Trial Court also

deprived Sapia of the right to inquire

of the witness under oath whether his

assertion of the Fifth Amendment privilege

43

was in good faith. Perhaps it was in-

duced by others~--perhaps the prosecutor.

See, too, Unitéd Statee v. Gomez-

Rojas, F. 24 16, Cr. L. 2451, decided

February 10, 1975.

POINT II.

THE TRIAL COURT PRECLUDED THE DEFENSE FROM

INTERPOSING AN ENTRAPMENT DEFENSE BY

RULING THAT A TAPE RECORDING AND REG-

ISTERED LETTER PREPARED ANTE LITAM

MOTUM COULD NOT BE INTRODUCED: NOR

COULD THE DEFENSE COUNSEL (MR.

BOBICK) TESTIFY. FINALLY, THE COURT

RULES THAT THE INFORMER FODDERELL

COULD NOT BE MADE TO TESTIFY DESPITE

HIS REVELATION THAT SAPIA WAS INNO-

CENT.

The testimony clearly revealed that

the petitioner was brought into the case

which ultimately resulted in his arrest,

indictment, and conviction by an under~

— confidential informer, Earl Fodder-

ell.

There was a virtual dearth of evi-

dence, except through Fodderell that

Sapia was involved with narcotics. Gard-

ner was apparently not apprehended, and

in any event did not testify.

The Trial Court was told that the

defendant wanted to interpose an entrap-

ment defense and produced a tape record-

ing and a self-mailed, unopened regis~

tered letter indicating that before he

45

44

(

At 1419 of =

was aware of an indictment, or that he on eapentahe the record, defense coun

would be arrested, the petitioner be-

lieved that Fodderell and perhaps others

were “setting him up” (1375-1389). No

bad faith was alleged by the Court which

acknowledged that the tape and letter

were not spurious. The Trial Court stated

that they were hearsay (1392). This was

error (Chambere v. Misstiesippt, supra).

"MR. ANOLIK: Your Honor,

we of course except to your

Honor's ruling as we did, but I

would just like to articulate

for the record that we believe

that your Honor is curtailing

fendant' -

The Trial Court would not even con- pe v5 a onde, Bg

duct a voir dire or allow Sapia to testify One of the defeneee he has been

at such a voir dire (1396): seeking to interpose te a de-

fenee of entrapment under 40.05,

I believe it is, of the penal

"THE COURT: Entrapment is law."

an affirmative defense.

"MR. BOBICK: We stated Defendant-petitioner Sapia maintains

in our option, we didn't use that he was the victim of entrapment.

the word ‘entrapment.’ We said

from the very beginning that

Fodderell was the owner of thie "Clearly entrapment is a

narcotics, that Fodderell was facet of a broader problem.

the recipient of the money. Along with illegal search and

seizures, wiretapping, false

“THE COURT: I don't mean arrest, illegal detention and

to cut you short. I think you the third degree, it is a type

and Mr. Anolik have ably ex- of lawless law enforcement.

pounded your views. I do not all spring from common

believe there is any merit. motivations. Each is condoned

by the sinister sophism that

"MR. BOBICK: I think your the end, when dealing with known

Honor--May we have a hearing, criminals or the criminal clas-

ex parte--a votr dire hearing ses, justifies the employment

out of the presence of the jury, of illegal means."

put Mr. Sapta on the etand and

Let him teetify. Donnelly, Judicial Con-

trol of Informants, Spies,

"THE COURT: You may not."

46

Stoolpigeons, and Agents Pro-

vocateurs, 60 Yale L. J. 1091,

1111 (1951).

Fodderell was used as an agent pro-

vocateur to entrap the defendant. Appar~

ently he was sentenced to 12 years impri-

sonment by the federal Judge and was not

hopeful of any benefits from the govern-

ment or the State. Thus, it is under-

standable that the District Attorney

wanted to stifle this witness who now

apparently had no motive to lie to help

himself. As a matter of fact, he would

be more likely to be truthful in aiding

the defendant, since Sapia could be of

no help to him.

The error of the Trial Court is made

obvious by a reading of Washington v. |

Texas, 388 U. S. 14 (1967), which held it

to be a denial of a Sixth Amendment right

to compulsory process to bar an accom-

plice no less an informer, from testify-

ing on behalf of a defendant. The Supreme

Court explained:

"The rule disqualifying an

alleged accomplice from testify-

ing on behalf of the defendant

cannot even be defended on the

ground that it rationally sets

apart a group of persons who

are particularly likely to com-

mit perjury. The abeurdity of

the rule is amply demonstrated

by the exceptions that have

been made to it. For example,

the accused accomplice may be

47

called by the prosecution to

testify against the defendant.

Common sense would suggest that

he often has a greater interest

in lying in favor of the prose-

cution rather than against it,

especially if he is still await-

ing his own trial or sentencing."

Since Fodderell was an informer, he

did not participate as an "accomplice"

and had no privilege against self-incrim-

ination.

POINT III.

ALTHOUGH THERE WAS NO CONSPIRACY CHARGED

NOR ANY ALLEGATION OF ACTING IN CON-

CERT, THE COURT IN ESSENCE JUDICI-

ALLY AMENDED THE INDICTMENT TO THE

SURPRISE AND PREJUDICE OF SAPIA, BY

RULING THAT SAPIA WAS PART OF AN

UNCHARGED CONSPIRACY WITH GARDNER.

THIS WAS AN ERROR OF CONSTITUTIONAL

DIMENSION (FIFTH AND FOURTEENTH

AMENDMENTS) .

There were two indictments, both

charging sales of narcotics. There was

admittedly no allegation of conspiracy

or acting in concert. Yet, the Court in

essence judicially amended the indict-

ments to permit the prosecutor to pro-

— os conspiracy mee H so that evi-

dence, otherwise inadmissible

allowed (486) : gnc

48

"THE COURT: The setate-

mente inferred by the witness

of a oriminal coneptracy are

binding on all the coneptratore

even tf the coneptracy te not -

alleged in the tndictment. In

regard to the people who are

not established in the conspir-

acy at the time the statements

are made, if by their actions —

they adopt the conspiracy, make

themselves parties to it, they

are equally bound by statements

to it or to which they subse-

guently express their adherence

and that rule does not involve

any requirement of a charge in

the indictment of acting in

concert.

"MR. BOBICK: There is

only one defendant on trial here.

"MR. WILSON: It doesn't

make a difference.

"MR. BOBICK: You are

claiming you can have a conspir-

acy by one?"

The Court admitted it presented an

appellate issue:

"THE COURT: I believe

conceivably with regard to the

26th, my ruling may be, leave

you in the event of a convic-

tion, with an interesting iesue

on eppeal, but if he presses

49

it, I have to rule on the law

as I understand it.

"MR. BOBICK: Of course.

It is understood I would object

to it. I don't, have to object

to it when he introduces it.

I object to it at this point.

"THE COURT: You have an

ongoing objection to all con-

versattione in which your defend-

ant was not a participant. I

am not encouraging you to pur-

sue this. I am not convinced

that from the appropriate stand-

point, that is helpful to your

case, but I believe the basic

legal priciples are clear, in

the event there was ultimately

an adherence to the basic agree-

ment by the defendant in the

case that all statements made

in furtherance of it even be-

fore he became adherent to it

are admissible against him."

Where a single defendant stands con-

victed of a conspiracy, the verdict is

contrary to law (United Statee v. Suba,

227 F. Supp. 445); see also, United Statee

v. Hysohtan, 448 F. 2d 343; United States

v. Austin-Bagley Corp., 31 F. 2d 229.

The conspiracy addendum opens t:he

floodgates for hearsay evidence at trial.

The People extensively uses various means

to gather statements by various partici-

pants in the alleged transgression of

law. We have seen in the case at bar what

50

lengths the prosecution went to get state-

ments or at least some conversations,

between Sapia and Heyward by setting up

a “straw man" in the figure of Fodderell

to coax and cajole and entice Sapia into

having a conversation with him concerning

the case.

Thus, evidence ordinarily receivable

only against a particular individual, is

made binding upon all of the alleged co-

conspirators by virtue of the inclusion

of a conspiracy court.”

* See Developmente in the Law--Criminal Conepir-

acy, 72 Har. L. Rev. 920, 923 (1959), where one

legal commentator has addressed himself to this

very problem:

"By means of evidence inadmissable

under usual rules the prosecutor can im-

plicate the defendant not only in the

conspiracy itself but also in the sub-

stantive crimes of his alleged co-con-

spirators. In a large conspiracy trial

the effect produced upon the jury by the

introduction of evidence against some

defendants may result in conviction for

all of them, so that the fate of each

may depend not on the merits of his own

case but rather on his success in dis-

associating himself from his co-defend-

ants in the minds of the jury.”

See also United States v. Falcone, 109 F. 2d 579,

581 (2d Cir. 1940), aff'd 311 U. S. 205 (1940);

Note, The Conspiracy Dilemma; Prosecution of Group

Crime or Protection of Individual Defendants, 62

Harv. L. Rev. 276, 277 (1948).

51

In KXrulewiteh v. Untted Statee,

supra, Justice Jackson, after a survey

and criticism of the federal law of con-

Spiracy declared (336 U. S. at 457):

"There is, of course,

strong temptation to relax rigid

standards when it seems the

only way to sustain convictions

of evil doers. But statutes

authorize prosecution for sub-

stantive crimes for most evil-

doing without the dangers to

the liberty of the individual

and the integrity of the judi-

cial process that are inherent

in conspiracy charges * * *

and I think there should be no

straining to uphold any conspir-

acy conviction where [as herein |

the purpose served by adding

the conspiracy charge seems

chiefly to get procedural ad-

vantages to ease the way to

conviction."

In Glaeser v. Untted States, 315 U. S.

60, 75, 76 (1942), the Supreme Court ex-

plained:

"In conspiracy cases * * *

liberal rules of evidence and

wide latitude accorded the

prosecution —¢ and sometimes

do, operate unfairly against

an individual defendant * * *"

52

As a practical matter, the jury does

not distinguish between the separate

defendants’ cases when conspiracy has

been charged. The indiscriminating jury

deliberations in cases like these are

the real motivation for the adding of a

separate conspiracy charge to a substan-

tive crime which includes conspiracy as

one of its elements. This Court is thus

given another opportunity to express its

displeasure and disagreement with this

ever-mushrooming prosecutorial practice.

Prosecutors must be told, once and for

all, that our system of criminal justice

does not tolerate such unfair tactics.

There is no question but that the

use of an uncharged conspiracy count per-

mitted the introduction of evidence other-

wise inadmissible.

In United Statee v. Falcone, 109 F.

2d 579 (2d Cir. 1940), aff'd 311 U. S.

205 (1940), Judge Learned Hand of this

Court aptly declared (id. 581):

“* * * Today when so many

prosecutors seek to sweep with-

in the dragnet of conspiracy

all those who have been asso-

ciated in any degree whatever

with the main offenders * * *

there are opportunities of

great oppression in such a doc-

trine is very plain, and it is

only by circumscribing the

scope of such all comprehensive

indictments that they can be

avoided.”

53

We think it is appropriate for this

Court to consider the recent decision in

United States v. Hysohien (2a Cir. 1971),

448 F. 2d 343 at 247, where that Court

explained:

"We hold that this finding

so jeopardizes Rimbaud's con-

viction on the conspisacy count

as to require us to order his

acguittal on that count also.

We think that the district

court's finding that Rimbaud

was no more than ‘a mere casual

facilitator’ negates the court's

finding that Rimbaud conspired

to facilitate the Roupinian-

Everett sale. While it is true

that one co-conspirator need

not actually’ personally deal

in or custodially possess the

narcotics themselves, the Gov-

ernment must prove an ‘unlaw-

ful agreement and an overt act

committed in pursuance of the

agreement.' United States v.

Aguect, 310 F. 24 817, 828

(24 Cir. 1962), cert. denied;

Guippone v. United Statee, 372

U. Ss. 959, 83 Ss. ct. 1013, 10

L. Ed. 24 11 (1963). We find

no evidence in the record and

nothing in the findings below

which would support the exist-

ence of an unlawful agreement.

The fact that Rimbaud told

Everett, a willing buyer, how

to make contact with a willing

seller does not necessarily

54

imply that there was an agree-

ment between that seller, who

was Roupinian, and Rimbaud.”

In United Statee v. Peont, 100 F. 24

401, 403 (2a Cir. 1938), Judge Learned

Hand explained:

"Nobody is liable in con-

Sspiracy except for the fair

import of the concerted purpose

= agreement as he understands

Be™

In United States v. Andolecheck, 142

FPF. 24 503, 507 (2d Cir. 1944), this Court

further elucidated:

"It is true that at times

courts have spoken as though,

if A makes a criminal agreement

with B, he becomes a party to

any conspiracy into which B may

enter, or may have entered,

with third persons. That ie

of couree an error; the scope

of the agreement actually made

always measures the conspiracy,

and the fact that B engages in

a conspiracy with others is as

irrelevant as that he engages

in any other crime." (Emphasis

added. )

55

Paradoxically, the Trial Court con-

ceded that there was no charge of conspir-

acy and none of acting in concert. Yet,

it refused to dismiss (1353):

"MR. ANOLIK: I'd also like

to point out your Honor there

were tapes, having been here

and also having read a record,

your Honor, there were tapes

that contained references to

and articulation of conversa-

tions with Earl Fodderell.

There was no testimony by Earl

Fodderell in the People's pre-

sentation your Honor.

"Now, we are moving to dis-

miss on that basis as well be-

cause we consider that even

though they allege, they allege

that this was something that

occurred, I suppose, in a con-

spiratorial veih, although it

is my understanding from the

indictment there is no conepir-

acy count in; the indictment.

"THE COURT: That's true.

"MR. ANOLIK: And there is

no acting in concert allegatton.

"THE COURT: That's also

true."

The Fifth Amendment of the United

States Constitution precludes any charge

for a felony, except upon an indictment

of a Grand Jury.

56

A person can be charged and tried

only upon the indictment in a felony case

and especially solely upon the language

found i: the charging part of the instru-

ment (S irone v. United States, 361 U. S.

212, wherein a variation between pleading

and proof was held to have deprived the

petitioner of his right to be tried only

upon the charges set forth in the indict~-

ment).

A change in the indictment without

action of a grand jury, deprives the

court of jurisdiction to try the case

(Ex Parte Bain, 121 U. S. 1, 12).

It ie to be noted that where a ver-

dict may be baeed upon more than one

theory, one of which may be invalid under

the Constitution, the judgment must be

reversed (Williame v. North Carolina, 317

U. S. 287, 292). (See, too, Cole v.

Arkansas, 333 U. S. 196, 202).

Basic to the very idea of free gov-

ernment and among the immutable principles

of justice which no State of the Union

may disregard, is the necessity of due

"notice of the charge and an adequate

opportunity to be heard in defense of it.”

(Powell v. Alabama, 287 U. S. 45, 68; and

Snyder v. Massachusette, 291 U. S. 97,

105) .

The whole case smacks of "trial by

ambush" (United States v. Baum, 482 F. 2d

1325--2d Cir. 1973). This was true with

respect to Fodderell, the defense of en-

trapment, the use of hearsay tapes against

petitioner, and the uncharged conspiracy

"count."

57

POINT IV.

OTHER ERRORS: (A) THE PEOPLE, VIA SGT.

ROLLO INTERROGATED PETITIONER AFTER

ARREST AND INDICTMENT IN THE ABSENCE

OF RETAINED COUNSEL AND REFUSED TO

DISCLOSE THE CONTENTS OF THE TAPE.

THIS WAS A VIOLATION OF MASSIAH v.

UNITED STATES AND SPANO v. NEW YORK.

IT ALSO HAD A CHILLING EFFECT ON

SAPIA'S TAKING THE STAND AS THE

REMARKS MIGHT BE USED IN CROSS EXAM-

INATION (HARRIS v. NEW YORK).

(B) THE TRIAL COURT CHARGED INCORRECTLY

BY REFUSING TO CHARGE THAT IN ORDER

TO USE CIRCUMSTANTIAL EVIDENCE, THE

JURY MUST ELIMINATE TO A MORAL CER-

TAINTY EVERY REASONABLE HYPOTHESIS,

BUT THAT OF GUILT.

The People concededly interrogated

Sapia after his arrest and indictment,

in the absence of his retained counsel

while he was in custody. The People and

the Trial Court refused to permit the

petitioner or his counsel to hear a tape

that was made thereof, or to otherwise

learn of its contents (882-891).

This was a violation of Massiah v.

United States, 377 U. S. 201, and Spano

v. New York, 360 U. S. 315.

Since the evidence might be used for

impeachment on cross examination should

Sapia take the stand, it cast a chilling

effect on his option to testify (Harris

v. New York, 401 U. S. 222; Walder v.

United States, 347 U. S. 62).

58

The Trial Ccurt was advised that it

had not charged correctly on circumstan-

tial evidence (1850). The Court refused

to correct the charge by telling the jury,

as requested that the jury might not use

circumstantial evidence unless they eli-

minated to a moral certainty every rea-

sonable hypothesis but that of guilt

(People v. Cleaque, 22 N. Y. 2d 363;

People v. Taddio, 292 N. Y¥. 488; People

v. Kennedy, 32 N. Y. 141, 145, 146; and

People v. Harris, 136 N. Y¥. 423, 429).

CONCLUSION.

The petition for certiorari should

be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

IRVING ANOLIK,

Attorney for Petitioner.

APPENDIX.

59

ORDER OF APPELLATE DIVISION.

At a term of the Appellate Divi-

sion of the Supreme Court

held in and for the Fi~st

Judicial Department in the

County of New York, on

July 15, 1975.

PRESENT: HON. HAROLD A. STEVENS, Presiding

Justice,

HON. FRANCIS T. MURPHY, JR.,

HON. VINCENT A. LUPIANO,

HON. MYLES J. LANE,

HON. EMILIO NUNEZ, Justices.

782

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK,

Reepondent,

-agatnet-

JOSEPH SAPIA,

Defendant-Appellant.

An appeal having been taken to this

Court by the defendant-appellant from the

judgment of the Supreme Court, New York

County (Sandler, J.), rendered on November

14, 1974, and said appeal having been

60

argued by Mr. Irving Anolik, of counsel

for the appellant, and by Mr. Robert K.

Hood, of counsel for the respondent; and

due deliberation having been had thereon,

and upon the opinion of this Court filed

herein

It is ordered and adjudged that the

judgment so appealed from be and the same

is hereby, in all things, affirmed.

(Murphy, J., dissents in an Opinion.)

ENTER:

HYMAN W. GAMSO

Clerk

61

OPINION OF THE APPELLATE DIVISION.

SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE DIVISION,

FIRST DEPARTMENT, JUNE 1975.

HAROLD A. STEVENS, P.J.,

FRANCIS T. MURPHY, JR.,

VINCENT A. LUPIANO,

MYLES J. LANE,

EMILIO NUNEZ, JJ.

782

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK,

Respondent,

-against-

JOSEPH SAPIA,

Defendant-Appellant.

Appeal from a judgment of the Supreme

Court, New York County (Sandler, J. and a

jury), rendered November 14, 1974, con-

victing defendant of Criminally Selling a

Dangerous Drug in the First Degree (former

Penal Law Sec. 220.40) and Criminally

Selling a Dangerous Drug in the Third De-

gree (former Penal Law Sec. 220.30).

62

Irving Anolik, attorney for defend-

ant-appellant.

Robert K. Hood of counsel (Peter L.

Zimroth with him on the brief; Robert M.

Morgenthau, District Attorney) for res-

pondent.

LANE, J.:

Joseph Sapia was convicted after a

jury trial of criminally selling a dan-

gerous drug in the first degree and crim-

inally selling a dangerous drug in the

third degree. The charges arose from two

separate transactions: one on June 27,

1973, resulting in the sale by defendant

of four ounces of heroin, and the second

taking place on July 6, 1973, resulting

in the sale by defendant of one kilo of

heroin.

The sales were made to an undercover

police officer who was closely monitored

by his backup team. The closely coordin-

ated police work included the taking of

tape recordings and videotaping, which

resulted in the submission for the con-

sideration of the jury of a case over-

whelmingly proving the guilty participa-

tion of the defendant.

Defendant, however, urges that he

was prejudiced in the presentation of

his case by his inability to call an

undercover informant to testify, which

inability constitutes reversible error.

The initial contact by undercover

Police Officer Hayward was made through

Earl Fodderell, who was known to the

63

police as a major narcotics dealer. fFod-

derell, already under Federal indictment,

acted as an agent of the police and

arranged for Hayward to meet one Robert

Gardner, who ultimately arranged for the

meeting with Sapia.

Fodderell's only other connection

with the case, as presented to the jury,

was his making a telephone call to the

defendant to arrange for a new meeting.

This was because the initial four-ounce

sale was scheduled to be made on June 26.

Wh a that meeting was aborted due to .

detendant's failure to appear on time, a

new meeting had to be arranged.

Fodderell, who was in a Federal pri-

son at the time of this trial, had been

brought to court as a potential defense

witness. He was interviewed in chambers

by the Trial Justice without the presence

of defense counsel or the D. A. The

court then expressed its opinion that

Fodderell's testimony might be beneficial

to the defense. However, Fodderell, who

had already been sentenced in Federal

Court to a l2-year term of imprisonment

and had an additional Federal indictment

genties. declined to testify unless granted

ty, which immunity the D. A. refused

to confer.

The court then informed the jury that

Fodderell was available but that he re-

fused to testify, claiming his constitu-

tional right to remain silent.

Defense counsel attempted to intro-

duce alleged exculpa statements tend-

ing to show a defense of entrapment via

64

an interview held between defendant and

his attorney. That interview took place

after the narcotics sale but before the

arrest. The court properly denied the

admissibility of those statements since

they clearly were self-serving.

My dissenting brother finds it ques-

tionable whether Fodderell can claim Fifth

Amendment immunity and, furthermore,

whether the failure of the D. A. to confer

~ ed warrants reversal of the convic-

tion.

It is to be noted that an agent of

a governmental authority, when questioned

about occurrences related to his official

duty, has the right to claim his Fifth

Amendment privilege (Gardner v. Broderick,

392 U. S. 273; Spevack v. Klein, 385 U. S.

511; Malloy v. Hogan, 378 U. S. 1). The

right to assert this privilege is, as

Mr. Justice Brennan stated in Malloy v.

Hogan (378 U. S&S. l, 8):

"(T)he right of a person

to remain silent unless he

chooses to speak in the unfet-

tered exercise of his own will,

and to suffer no penalty * * *

for such silence."

A penalty in the context of that

statement means ition of any sanction

which makes assertions of the Fifth Amend-

ment privileges “costly” (Spevack v.

Klein, 385 U. S. 511, 515). Therefore,

in the context of the case at bar, Fodder-

ell, though acting as an informer for the

police, did not lose his right to claim

his Fifth Amendment privilege. Indeed,

two immediate reasons for his invoking

the privilege come to mind: It is possible

that, while Fodderell was performing his

duties on behalf of the police, he at

the same time, and intertwined in the same

transaction, performed acts which were

of a criminal nature and which were un-

authorized to be performed. He has a

right to protect himself against prose-

cution because of his performance of

those acts. In addition, Fodderell had

already testified in Federal Court regard-

ing s transaction. Defense counsel

conceded on the record that the testi-

mony Fodderell would give at the trial

was substantially different from the tes-

timony already given in Federal Court.

He would therefore be exposing himself

to a possible perjury indictment which

even a grant of transactional immunity,

requested by the D. A. and conferred by

the court, could not prevent (CPL, §§

50.30; 50.10[1)).

However, the mere right of a witness

to assert his Fifth Amendment privilege

does not reach the question as to whether

defendant was able nonetheless to get a4

fair trial. We have nothing in the record

other than conjecture as to what testi-

mony Fodderell would give had he been

granted immunity.

The court, after an in camera inter-

view alone with Fodderell, stated:

"As to what the testimony

would be, I think it would be a

fair summary that if believed

by the jury, would be exculpa-

tory. Whether or not the tes-

timony would be completely ex-

culpatory if believed by the

jury, is by no means clear to

me at this point. I am not at

all clear the attorneys who

have ken to him, his attor-

neys, ve a sufficiently de-

tailed understanding of all the

aspec*s of it, lead me to form

an o,. -.nion on that, but there

is no question at all it would,

at least in part, be exculpa-

tory, would be material evi-

dence in the case, and evidence

that a jury ought to hear.”

The court later stated:

"I'm not persuaded that

if every word he were to say

would be believed, it would

constitute a complete defense

in the case, nor as a factual

matter, would avoid a convic-

tion, but it might."

Clearly, the court felt that further

probing by defense counsel would reveal

the true value of Fodderell's testimony.

Such probing by defense counsel took

place an? they found his statements at

the interview to be “wholly inconsistent”

with statements he made to the Federal

Government.

67

The defense made no offer of proof

which would have clearly delineated the

parameters of the testimony to be elicited

from Fodderell and would have indicated

whether or not there could be an eviden-

tiary articulation of the defense of en-

trapment.

Despite the fact that the prosecution

requested defense counsel to make an offer

of proof, none was forthcoming. The

court's estimate of the exculpatory nature

of the testimony was, as stated by the

court, subject to in-depth interview by

counsel with greater knowledge of the

background facts. Counsel conceded that

the gross inconsistency between Fodder-

ell's proposed testimony at trial (which

proposed testimony they did not outline)

and the statement given in Federal Court

could well subject Fodderell to a perjury

indictment and, on that basis, they re-

jected calling him unless he were granted

immunity.

In view of the overwhelmirg evidence

against defendant and in view of the con-

jectural nature of the missing testimony,

we cannot hold that the failure to grant

immunity constituted reversible error.

This is especially true since there

was no affirmative duty upon the prosecu-

tion to call Fodderell as a witness. He

did not participate in the sale itself,

nor did he act to identify the defendant

(ef. People v. Goggins, 34 N. Y. 2d 163).

The People's duty was fulfilled when

Fodderell's identity was made known and

he was made physically available to the

defense (U. S. v. LaCouture, 495 F. 2d

1237, cert. den., U. S. , 95 Ss.

Ct. 631; People v. Goggine, 34 N. ¥. 2d

163).

The D. A. expressed no knowledge of

exculpatory statements and, absent an

offer of proof, could not formulate their

validity or for that matter their exist-

ence. Absent knowledge of specific ex-

culpatory material or a specific source

of such material, the People have no duty

to grant inimunity based on speculation

and conjecture as a pseudo~fulfillment of

the rule prohibiting suppression of "evi-

dénce favorable to an accused” (cf. Brady

v. Maryland, 373 U. S. 83, 87).

Accordingly, the judgment of the

Supreme Court, New York County, convict-

ing the defendant after jury trial of the

crimes of criminal sale of a dangerous

drug in the first degree and criminal sale

of a dangerous drug in the third degree,

should be affirmed.

All concur except Murphy, J., who

dissents in a dissenting opinion.

69

DISSENTING OPINION OF MURPHY, J.

782 - People v. Joseph Sapia

Murphy, J. (dissenting)

I cannot vote to affirm the instant

conviction, carrying with it a prison

sentence of 15 years to life, in view of

the Trial Judge's candid concession that

exculpatory testimony was being withheld

from the jury.

Earl Fodderell, reputed to be one of

the ten largest distributors of narcotics

in New York City, decided to cooperate

with local police officers after pleading

guilty to federal charges; and was event-

ually "registered" as a confidential in-

formant. Though Fodderell received no

money for his subsequent services, the

fact of his cooperation was brought to

the attention of the sentencing judge in

his federal case.

Fodderell's disclosures involved

defendant Sapia and an individual named

Gardner, all of whom shared the same

Bronx residence address. Through Gardner,

undercover Officer Hayward met defendant

and, on two separate occasions, purchased

from him a substantial sum of narcotics

icr approximately $40,000.

Defendant's involvement ir.._these

sales is undisputed. Aside from the

"live" testimony of the undercover offi-

cer and his back-up team, tape recordings

and videotapes were introduced into

70

evidence clearly establishing defendant's

"guilt." My only concern is whether de-

fendant was improperly precluded from

establishing a viable entrapment defense.

Although tape recordings of conver-

sations with Fodderell were introduced

as evidence-in-chief, he was not called

as a prosecution witness. Appellant's

contention that the People were required

to call Fodderell as a witness in order

to permit confrontation and cross examin-

ation is not persuasive. Fodderell's

role in the investigation which led to

defendant's (and Gardner's) arrest was

limited. His information initiated the

inguiry; and he introduced the undercover

officer to the potential source of drugs.

Under the circumstances of this case, I

would agree with respondent that, except

to the extent hereinbelow indicated, its

constitutional obligations were met when

Fodderell's identity was disclosed.

However, the inability of the defense

to obtain Fodderell's testimony presents

a much different situation.

Entrapment is an affirmative defense.

(CPL § 40.05.) Defendant initially

attempted, unsuccessfully, to interpose

such defense through the introduction of

a pre-arrest (but post-sales) tape record-

ing of a conversation between himseif and

his attorney in which it was allegedly

claimed that Fodderell provided the nar-

cotics sold to the undercover officer and

was the recipient of the proceeds of

such sales. The trial judge ruled this

evidence inadmissible and suggested that

Fodderell be called as a defense witness.

71

Defense counsel opposed the suggestion;

but reconsidered after the court adhered

to its ruling on the proffered tape.

Fodderell was interviewed by defense

counsel at the Federal House of Detention

(where he was serving a 12-year sentence

on federal drug charges, awaiting deter-

mination of a resentence application pred-

icated on his police coopération and dis-

position of other pending charges).

After the interview, he was brought to

court with his attorney who stated that

his client would invoke his privilege

against self-incrimination and refuse to

answer all material questions unless

granted immunity.

After an in camera discussion with

Fodderell's lawyer, the Trial Judge sum-

marized Fodderell's potential testimony

"if believed by the jury, [as] exculpa-

tory;" and declared that he would have

granted the witness immunity, in the

event the privilege was invoked, if he

had the power to do so. The prosecutor,

however, despite the court's telephone

call to the trial assistant's superior,

refused to expressly r st the confer-

ring of immunity (CPL, $50.30); a decision

which "genuinely" “saddened” the court.

An obviously still disturbed and

dissatisfied Trial Justice put Fodderell

on the stand, outside the presence of the

jury, and asked him to state his position

with respect to answering questions con-

cerning his activities in the instant

case. Fodderell responded:

72

"Well, my position is that

I don't know. I just tried to

explain to him, I hope I'll be

able to speak freely. I don't

want to see an innocent man go

to jatl for something he's

totally not reeponetble for.

Then on the other hand, I don't

want to incriminate myself. I

don't want to be prosecuted

because I'm doing enough time.”

« (Emphasis added.)

Fodderell vacillated between testify-

ing and not testifying, finally deciding

not to become a witness; apparently con-

cerned because a statement given in fed-

eral court might expose him to a perjury

conviction.

Although it does not conclusively

so appear in the record, the Trial Judge

clearly indicated that Fodderell's pro-

posed testimony would have been relevant

to an entrapment defense. Even under the

"subjective" theory of entrapment (depend-

ing on whether Sapia had the requisite

predisposition to commit the crimes), a

factual issue was presented which requires

a jury determination. (See United States

v. Ruesell, 411 U. S. 423.) The District

Attorney's speculations to the contrary

notwithstanding, we can only conjecture

as to the verdict if, for example, it

was disclosed that Fodderell gave Sapia

the drugs which were then passed on to

Hayward and received all of the money paid

by the undercover officer.

73

Equally devoid of merit, in my view,

are respondent's surmises as to the here-

tofore undiscovered crimes possibly com-

mitted by Fodderell which will escape

prosecution if he is given transactional

immunity. (CPL, § 50.10.) No amount of

guesswork should be permitted to deprive

a defendant sentenced to a 15-year-to-

life prison term of a fair trial. In the

circumstances of this case, assuming

FPodderell could invoke his Fifth Amend-

ment privilege (which is somewhat ques-

tionable since he was cooperating with

the police and lacked the criminal intent

necessary to commit the instant crimes),

the refusal of the prosecutor to request

immunity for Fodderell effectively de-

prived defendant of his Sixth Amendment

right to have compulsory process for ob-

taining witnesses in his behalf. It seems

to me that respondent's fear of Fodderell's

disclosure of unrelated crimes, thereby

obtaining complete absolution, if legally

or factually valid, could have been dis-

pelled by appropriate agreement or stipu-

lation framing the questions to be asked

and limiting them to these transactions.

A right sense of justice required no

less.

Additionally, I believe the court's

refusal to allow defense counsel to hear

a tape recording of defendant's post-

indictment interview by the police was

prejudicial error.

Defendant was concededly interroga-

ted after arrest and indictment, in the

absence of his retained counsel. The

interview was for the purported purpose

74

of enlisting his cooperation in an assert-

edly unrelated matter. Although the trial

judge, who heard the tape, concluded that

it had no bearing on the instant case, a

transcript thereof should have been fur-

nished defense counsel. Though the in-

formation disclosed was apparently not

used as evidence against defendant (Maseiah

v. United States, 377 U. &. 201), any dis-

closure obtained could have been used to

impeach defendant and thus could have had

a chilling effect on his option to testify

in his own behalf. (cf. Harrie v. New

York, 401 U. S. 222.)

In light of the foregoing, defend-

ant's conviction should be reversed and

a new trial directed.

75

ORDER OF THE COURT OF APPEALS.

STATE OF NEW YORK,

COURT OF APPEALS.

eeeeneneaeceeeceeneaeeececece x

1 No. 548

THE PEOPLE éc.,

Reepondent,

ve.

JOSEPH SAPIA,

Appellant.

eeeeenneceneneaececnanaeeaeeaeee X

Irving Anolik, N. ¥. C., for appellant.

Robert M. Morgenthau, D. A., N. Y.

County (David I. Pincus & Peter L. Zimroth

of counsel) for respondent.

The order of the Appellate Division

should be affirmed.

Order affirmed.

Opinion by Jones, J.

All concur. {

Decided December 28, 1976.

76

OPINION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS.

STATE OF NEW YORK,

COURT OF APPEALS.

1 No. 548

THE PEOPLE é&c.,

Respondent,

ve.

JOSEPH SAPIA,

Appellant.

Irving Anolik, N. Y. C., for appellant.

Robert M. Morgenthau, D. A., N. Y.

County (David I. Pincus & Peter L. Zimroth

of counsel) for respondent. .

JONES, J.:

With respect to the principal issue

tendered on this appeal we hold that in

the circumstances of this case the prose-

cution had no obligation, after identify-

ing and producing an informer, to grant

him immunity when, in the exercise of his

77

privilege ~— y self-incrimination, the

informer refused to give what, assumedly,

would have been exculpatory testimony.

Earl Fodderell was one of several

persons arrested and indicted on federal

officers. After Fodderell, reputedly a

large narcotics distributor in New York

City, had pleaded to the federal charges,

he indicated his willingness to cooperate

with the New York City police in further

investigations and was registered as a

confidential informer. In consequence of

ner, a friend of defendant destined to be

the intermediary, and assisted in arrang-

irst appointment which was never

kept by defendant. Fodderell again was

active in setting up a second meeting

between the undercover officer and defend-

ant on June 27, 1973 at which both Fodder-

ell and Gardner were ——- The +"

chase money, together a payment for

Gardner's services, was handed to Gardner

and the details of a transfer from defend-

ant were worked out. Fodderell tly

tness to the sale at chat

time by defendant to the undercover offi-

cer °

to

s

f heroin. Defendant

e the same undercover

6, 1973, this time of one

o of heroin. While this sale, too,

78

could be attributed to Fodderell's earlier

cooperation, it does not appear that he

had any direct part in arranging it, nor

was he a witness to its execution.

At his trial, defendant sought to

in the defense of entrapment. -

course of lengthy arguments inci-

dent to adverse rul as to the admissi-

bility of evidence of by defendant

in support of such defense, the trial

court suggested that defendart call Fod-

Gerell to give testimony concerning his

claim. After initially opposing this

suggestion, and iy because of

the court's exclusion of other evidence,

the defense decided to interview Fodderell

who was then serving a l2-year sentence

on the federal drug charges. After an

initial interview, defense counsel re-

quested that Fodderell be brought to

court. The prospective witness appeared

with his attorney who stated that ——

ell would invoke his privilege

self-incrimination and refuse to +

unless granted immunity.

After an in camera discussion with

Fodderell's attorney out of the presence

both of defense counsel and of the prose-

cutor and without disclos the nature

or particulars of Fodderell's prospective

testimony, the trial judge concluded that,

if believed, the test would be ex-

culpatory and constituted material evi~

dence which the jury should hear. The

prosecution decl the trial court's

repeated suggestion that the witness be

granted immunity (CPL, § 50.30). Fodder-

ell's attcrrney thereupon reported that

his client refused to be interviewed fur-

ther by the defense.

The trial judge apparently was not

satisfied with the representa of

Podderell's attorney in this regard, and

acco ly Fodderell was himself called

to the tness stand out of the presence

of the j + Following discussion of

the situat with the court, Fodderell

agreed to confer further with defense

counsel. After such conference defense

counsel became less than enthusisstic to

call the witness, conceding some weak-

nesses in the prospective testimony.

The foll day ,the dilemma was

resolved. On advice of his counsel Fod-

Gerell informed the court that he had

reconsidered his predicament and would

invoke his privilege against self-incrim-

ination. The prosecution restated his

opposition to any grant of immunity.

The defense requested permission to call

Fodderell to the stand, to ask questions

and to require the witness to exercise

his constitutional privilege in the pre-

sence of the jury. This request was de-

nied, but the court did instruct the jury

that FPodderell had been called as a de-

fense witness and in its absence had

invoked his privilege against self-incrinm-

ination. The jury was advised not to

speculate about the reasons for Fodder-

ell's exercise of his constitutional

rights, and the Fodderell chapter was

closed.

Defendant now advances several

for reversal of his conviction

by the jury. Principally his contentions

revolve around Fodderell. First, it is

asserted that defendant was prejudiced by

the People's failure to call Fodderell, so

frequently and importantly referred to

in the People's proof, as a prosecution

witness, which effectively denied defend-

ant his constitutional right of confron-

tation. We know of no instance, however,

in which court has dictated to a

cutor whom he shall call to the tness

stand. (Clearly to be distinguished are

both the extent of the obligation, if

any, of the prosecutor to make potential

witnesses available to the defense, and

the entitlement of the defendant to an

instruction as *o inferences which may

be drawn from the failure of the prose-

cution to call a witness; but neither of

such issues has any place in this case.)

Additionally, defendant contends

that it was prejudicial error to deny

defense counsel's request to call Fodder-

ell to the witness stand and to put him

to his claim of privilege against self-

incrimination in the presence of the

jury. We have no hesitancy to state our

conclusion that there was no abuse of

discretion by the trial judge in this

regard. (United Statee v. Martin, 526

F. 24 485, 487.)

More troublesome is the question

identified and addressed in the opinions

at the Appellate Division and adverted to

by the People -- whether in the circum-

stances of this case the failure of the

prosecution to confer immunity, and there-

by to make Fodderell's testimony available

to the defendant, warrants reversal (c/.

People v. Tyler, N. ¥. 24 ,» dec.

herewith).

81

There can be no serious doubt as to

Podderell's right to assert his consti-

tutional privilege in this case. Even

if the content of his prospective testi-

mony were to be deemed insulated by his

conviction on the federal charges -- a

proposition which is not entirely clear --

there is substance to the argument that

his proposed testimony would have been

so inconsistent with prior statements he

had made to federal authorities as to

expose him to conviction for perjury. No

serious contention is now advanced that

the privilege was not warranted; the focus

is rather on the prosecution's failure to

respond to the court's urgings that the

witness be granted immunity.

In our analysis, if it be assumed

both that the witness properly exercised

his right to refuse to testify and that

the testimony he would have given would

have been materially exculpatory (as

s to have been the conclusion of

the trial court),1 the failure of the

prosecution to grant immunity did not

deny defendant due process or deprive

him of his right to a fair trial in the

circumstances of this case.

Preliminarily we observe that the

right guaranteed a defendant under the

Sixth Amendment to our Federal Constitu-

tion, “to have a process for

obtaining witnesses in his favor," like

so many other rights, whether of consti-

tutional sanction or of lesser stature,

is not absolute. The right exists only

to the extent that witnesses may other-

wise be compelled to attend and to tes-

tify; the Constitution mandates no more.

Thus, there is manifestly no constitu-

tional right to obtain the atterdance of

a witness who has died or disappeared or

is otherwise unavailable. Similarly there

is no right to compel testimony over a

claim of recognized privilege such as

that of client-attorney or of penitent-

priest. Nor may testimony be extracted

from a witness who appears but persis-

tently refuses to testify despite the

sanction of punishment ‘or contempt.

Furthermore, in none of such instances

do our courts accord a broader meaning

to the Sixth Amendment guarantee by hold-

ing that where the desired testimony may

not be compelled, such circumstance re-

guires that the conviction of the defend-

ant be set aside. So, too, it must be

where the testimony is unavailable be-

cause the witness takes ref in his

constitutional privilege against self-

incrimination. “The Government cannot

be penalized, either under the Compulsory

Process Clause of the Sixth Amendment or

the law of entrapment, because [Fodderell )

chose to exercise his Fifth Amendment

rights, thus making himself as unavail-

able for purposes of testimony as the

ee ee ——

83

ueceased informant in United Statee v.

Soto (504 F. 24 557)." (United States

v. Gomez-Rojae, 507 F. 2a 1213, 1220,

cert. den. eub nom. Gomez-Rojae v. United

Statee, 423 U. S. 826.)

The issue in the present case must

be approached, therefore, not in the per-

spective of defendant's rights under the

Sixth Amendment, but rather in the per-

spective of defendant's right to due pro-

cess. “We now hold that the suppression

by the prosecution of evidence favorable

to an accused upon request violates due

process where the evidence is material

either to guilt or to punishment, irre-

spective of the good faith or the bad

faith of the prosecution” (Brady v. Mary-

land, 373 U. S. 83, 87). The critical

issue, of course, is when may it be said

that the prosecution is “suppressing”

such testimony? In its normal context

suppression is thought to connote a wil-

ful, or, in rare instances, an uninten-

tional, withholding of evidence. There

was no such suppression here, however,

inasmuch as defendant was apprised of the

identity of the informer and afforded an

opportunity to interview him. Fodderell

was later produced at the courthouse.

In these circumstances, no issue can be

raised as to any violation of defendant's

right to disclosure of the identity of

the informer (cf. People v. M4 hme 34

NW. ¥. 24 167), or as to any failure of the

prosecution to produce the informer. The

question here is whether more may be re-

— of the prosecution; was this de-

endant's constitutional right to a fair

trial denied because the prosecution did

84

not take substantial affirmative steps

and by granting effective immunity make

the critical testimony available to the

defense?

We agree, arguendo, that there might

be substance to a contention that if an

informer has also been an active partici-

pant in the criminal transaction -~- as

an agent of the law enforcement authori-

ties -- the prosecution may not block a

defendant's access to the testimony of

such a witness by refusing to grant

immunity. In those circumstances it could

be argued that the People had placed them-

selves on the horns of a dilemma and must

either grant effective immunity (thus mak-

ing the testimony available to the defend-

ant so far as it lies within the power of

the prosecution to do so), or, alterna-

tively, accept a dismissal of the prose-

cution (Rovario v. United States, 353

U. S. 53, 61). The delineation of the

obligations of the prosecution and of the

rights of the defendant in such a situa-

tion, however, must await another day.

That is not the case now before us.

In the present instance, at most

Fodderell was a facilitator and an ob-

server. He was the source of the infor-

mation which led to investigation of

defendant and he participated in the prep-

arations for the sales. He may have been

an eyewitness to one of them. [In short,

his was the now familiar role of the

informer; he was not an actor in the

criminal transactions. The limited ex-

tent of Fodderell's involvement is deter-

minative. The prosecution here was not

obliged to grant immunity and its failure

- —=

85

to do so does not entitle this defendant

to a reversal of his conviction (United

States v. Bautista, 509 F. 2d 675, 677,

cert. den. eub nom. Monetvate v. United

States, 421 U. S. 976, Farl v. United

States, 361 F. 2d 531, cert. den., 388

U. S. 921).

We have examined the other assertions

of error advanced by defendant and find

them to be without merit. In particular,

it was not error to deny defense counsel

access to a tape recording of a post-

indictment interview between defendant and

the police. The trial court listened to

the entire recording and concluded that

it was of an interview in which the police

sought defendant's cooperation in wholly

unrelated matters, and that there was

nothing therein having any relevance to

the case on trial. The assertion that

there might be material oh the tape which

could be used on cross examination of

defendant and that that possibility

chilled defendant's readiness to take the

witness stand in his own behalf, to the

extent that it is not met by the trial

court's evaluation of the recording, is

the product only of sheer, unsupported

speculation.

Nor was it error to deny defense

counsel's request to play to the jury

another tape recording of a conversation

between defendant and his counsel, assert-

edly prepared ante Litem motam, designed

to substantiate the claimed defense of

entrapment. This would have been self-

serving hearsay of the most evident na-

— (cf. Richardson, Evidence [10th Ed.],

356).

Finally, we find no error in the

trial court's instructions to the jury

with respect to the tape recordings made

of the criminal transactions which con-

stituted the basis for the charges against

defendant or in its refusal to give the

circumstantial evidence charge requested

by defense counsel.

The order of the Appellate Division

should be affirmed.

Order affirmed.

Opinion by Jones, J.

All concur.

Decided December 28, 1976.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.