Petition — County Board of Arlington County v. Richards

Supreme Court brief1977

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

MICHMEL RODAK, JR.

IN THE — .A.

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1976

7681418

COUNTY BOARD OF ARLINGTON COUNTY, VIRGINIA,

BERT VW. JOHNSON, County Manager, and ROY McLAREN,

Chief of Police of Arlington County,

Petitioners,

RUDOLPH A. RICHARDS, MARIO A. CARBONI, FRANK

TOMEK, THOMAS BECK, BRAXTON H. TABB, JR., MICH.

ELLE McKENZIE, ELMER P. BORKOWSKI, ERNEST G.

WALLACE, JOSEPH F. BELFIORE, JR., CAROLYN BOL.

LING, HOWARD E. HURLEY, IR., JAMES MOTT, H.D.

MORRIS, GEORGE A. RISCILI, and RAY ELBERT PARKER,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF VIRGINIA

Jerry K. Emricn

County Attorney

Counsel for Petitioners.

CHARLES G. FLINN

Deputy County Attorney

1435 North Veitch Street

Arlington, Virginia 22201

(703) 558-2705

Counsel for Petitioners and

Counsel of Record.

Wastington, O.C. + THIEL PRESS - (202) 638.4621

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

r céousnedosedeuneecs:

0 es casedee

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ........

STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

UV VED ccc „...

STATEMENT OF THE CAS

REASONS FOR GRANTING A WRIT OF

A mmol.

I. The Virginia Supreme Court has Misconstrued

the Equal Protection Clause of The Fourteenth

ö States Throughout the County

Appendix E — United States Environmental Protec-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Akron v. Davies, III Ohio App. 103, 170 N.E.2d

Gee... vy „„ „„ „ „ „„ 0

Berman v. Parker, 348 U.S. 26, 75 S.Ct. 98, 99

Eat BF CEGRD ccccccccvccscesessceces

City of New Orleans v. Dukes, 427 U.S. 297, 96

I

(ii

Cases, continued: _Page

Commonwealth v. Sargent, 330 Mass. 690, 117 N.E.2d

SS 66:666 0666 eb060065000 0066660 6edece 19

Detroit Police Officers Ass'n v. City of Detroit, 190

N.W.2d 97 (Mich. 1971), Appeal dismised for

want of a substantial federal question, 405 U.S.

Suey Ge GER, BETS cccccccccccceceececccesess 20n

Ferguson v. Skrupa, 372 U.S. 726, 83 S.Ct. 1028,

Sp Es SP CURED cc cccecesccecccoeececees 14

Fishmen d. Massachusetts, Supreme Judicial Court of

Massachusetts No. 729 (1977)...... 7 „ „ „„ 60 2 0 19

Funeral Directors Ass'n v. Groth, 202 Va. 792, 120

eee. „eee eee eee 19

Georgetown Ass'n of Businessmen v. District of

Columbia, D.C. Civ. Action Nos. 7242-76 ........... 19

Goreib v. Fox, 274 U.S. 603, 47 S.Ct. 675 (1927)....... 14

Lochner u. New York, 198 U.S. 45, 25 S.Ct. 539,

U 15

Markham Advertising Co. v. State, 73 Wash. 2d 405,

439 P.2d 248 (1968), Appeal dismissed for want

of substantial federal question, 393 U.S. 316,

89 S.Ct. 553, 21 L.Ed.2d 512 (1969).............. 18n

Morey v. Doud, 354 U.S. 457, 77 S.Ct. 1344, 1

Re GED GOST ccccccccscccceccceseeeess 13

Railway Express Agency v. New York, 336 U.S. 106,

69 S.Ct. 463, 93 L.Ed. 533 (1949 14

Silver u. Silver, 280 U.S. 117, 50 S.Ct. 57, 74 L.Ed.

II.... 14

South Terminal Corp. v. EPA, 504 F.2d 646 (Ist

Ar...... „. „„ eee eee eee 20

State v. Whisman, 24 Ohio Misc. 59, 263 N. E. 2d

Ge...... . .... „„ „eee eee ee 19

Town of Leesburg v. Tavenner, 196 Va. 80, 82

Be Be CORE s cccccccccceccssecesecesens 19

Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas, 416 U.S. 1, 94

S.Ct. 1536, 39 L.Ed.2d 797 (197 11. 12, 13, 17

(ui

Cases, continued: _Page

Village of Euclid u Ambler Realty Co., 272 U.S.

365, 47 S.Ct. 114, 71 L.Ed. 303 (1926)....... 10, 11, 12

Whalen v. Roe, U.S., 97 S.Ct. 869 (1977)....... 15

Williamson u. Lee Optical Co., 348 U.S. 483, 75

S.Ct. 461, 99 L.Ed. 563 (1959) eee ee eee 14, 16

Young v. American Mini Theatres, Inc., 427 U.S.

50, 96 S.Ct. 2440 (197) 11, 12, 13, 14, 17, 180

Positive Law:

U.S. Constitution Fourteenth Amendment, Section 1

WETTTTUTTINILILTIL TTT passim

28 U.S.C. 81257 (00 2

Zoning Ordinance of Arlington County, §29D....... 2. 3. 4

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1976

No.

COUNTY BOARD OF ARLINGTON COUNTY, VIRGINIA,

BERT W. JOHNSON, County Manager, and ROY McLAREN,

Chief of Police of Arlington County,

Petitioners,

v.

RUDOLPH A. RICHARDS, MARIO A. CARBONI, FRANK

TOMEK, THOMAS BECK, BKAXTON H. TABB, JR., MICH.

ELLE McKENZIE, ELMER F. BORKOWSKI, ERNEST C.

WALLACE, JOSEPH F. BELFIORE, JR., CAROLYN BOL.

LING, HOWARD K. HURLEY, IK. JAMES MOTT, H.D.

MORRIS, GEORGE A. RISCILI, and RAY ELBERT PARKER,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF VIRGINIA

Petitioners, the governing body of Arlington County,

Virginia, the County's chief administrative officer and its

chief of police, ask that a writ of certiorari issue to review

a judgment of the Supreme Court of Virginia invalidating

one of the County's ordinances which classifies vehicles

for purposes of parking for repugnance to the Equal

Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to the

United States Constitution.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Virginia is

reported at 217 Va. 231 S.E.2d 231 and is appended

to this petition, as Appendix A (pp. la-13a, infra). The

letter opinion of the Circuit Court of Arlington County is

not reported. It is appended to this petition as Appendix

B (pp. 14a-22a, infra).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Supreme Court of Virginia (App.

C, pp. 23a-24a, in fra] was entered on January 14, 1977.

This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. §1257(3).

QUESTION PRESENTED

Does a municipal ordinance restricting parking on the

streets of residential neighborhoods by non-residents who

have no purpose in the neighborhood except to use its

streets for parking when those streets are crowded with

parked cars violate the Equal Protection Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitu-

tion?

STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

INVOLVED

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution provides in pertinent part:

“SECTION I. . Vo State shall... deny to any

person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of

the laws.”

Section 29.D of the Zoning Ordinance of Arlington

County, Virginia, entitled “Restriction on Parking in

Districts in Which Commercial and Industrial Uses Are

Not Permitted.” is et forth in Appendix D at pages

244-28, infra.

3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Arlington County, Virginia, is a small, densely popu-

lated community near the center of the metropolitan area

of Washington, D.C. A county in name and in form,

Arlington is otherwise like a suburban city, with

approximately 157,000 residents living in its 25.75

square miles in 1975.

In Arlington, as in many other communities, there are

residential neighborhoods that border or are very near

intensely used commercial and industrial districts. Streets

in these residential neighborhoods tend to be used

heavily, for travel and even more for parking, by those

who drive to and from their jobs in the nearby business

districts. When the streets of such a neighborhood

become overcrowded with cars parked by the commuters,

that neighborhood has a special problem that is not

shared by the average residential neighborhood. The cars

parked in the usual residential neighborhood are parked

there only because their drivers and passengers live or are

visiting or have business in the neighborhood.

Arlington reacted to this special problem faced by

some of its residential neighborhoods by adopting an

amendment to its zoning ordinance authorizing the

restriction of on-street parking in residential sections of

the County where specified conditions of parking

congestion obtain. The purposes of the amendatory

ordinance were expressly stated in its preamble to be:

“to reduce hazardous traffic conditions resulting

from the use of streets within areas zoned for

residential uses for the parking of vehicles by

persons using districts zoned for commercial or

industrial uses or the conditional uses allowed in

Special Districts under the Zoning Ordinance of

Arlington County; to protect those districts from

polluted air, excessive noise, and trash and refuse

4

caused by the entry of such vehicles; to protect the

residents of those districts from unreasonable

burdens in gaining access to their residences; to

preserve the character of those districts as residential

districts; to promote efficiency in the maintenance

of those streets in a clean and safe condition; to

preserve the value of the property in those districts;

and to preserve the safety of children and other

pedestrians and traffic safety, and the peace, good

order, comfort, convenience and welfare of the

inhabitants of the County.” (App. D, 25a.)

The County Manager is directed by the ordinance to

determine the residential areas where on weekdays of any

month more than 75 percent of the on-street parking

capacity is used and at the same time more than 25

percent of such capacity is used by operators of vehicles

whose destination is not the residential area itself but a

commercial or industrial area. When the tests which

establish these facts have been made, parking during

weekday business hours is restricted to vehicles displaying

permits and service and delivery vehicles. Permits are

issued to residents of the neighborhood for their own

cars licensed in the County, for cars or trucks of those

doing business with them and, to a limited extent, for

their visitors’ cars. (App. D, 26a-27a).

The Arlington residential neighborhood where this

parking permit ordinance was made effective is Aurora

Highlands. That neighborhood is near U.S. Route 1,

adjacent to a district of large office and commercial

buildings called Crystal City. After the required survey,

the County Manager designated a permit parking zone

consisting of just a few streets in Aurora Highlands. The

zone has 192 parking spaces along portions of three

streets containing 101 residences in 81 buildings. On the

occasion of the most thorough study, 188 of the 192

spaces were occupied, and the drivers and passengers of

—

5

156 of the parked vehicles were destined for Crystal City.

All but two of the 81 residential buildings have

driveways; but some of these had been added after the

Crystal City-induced parking congestion began in ie

1960's. (Va. Appendix, pp. 371, 373, 383 and 385.)

An action challenging the constitutionality of the

ordinance in its application in Aurora Highlands was

brought by a group of commuters who worked in Crystal

City, and most of them had been parking all day every

working day on the residential streets of Aurora

Highlands where the restriction was in effect. The

commuters alleged that the ordinance, among other

things, denied them the equal protection of the laws in

violation of the Fourteenth Amendment. Their suit was

brought in the Arlington County Circuit Court, which

held a trial. Plaintiffs sought to show at the trial either

that there were no such problems in Aurora Highlands as

the ordinance was designed to counteract or that the

problems were not caused by them and their fellow

commuter parkers. (Va. Appendix, frequently through-

out pp. 46-222.) Their evidence also went to the

availability and cost of commercial parking near their

jobs in Crystal City. (Va. Appendix, pp. 137-139.)

The County introduced evidence to demonstrate the

rational basis for the legislative judgment that (1)

problems of parking congestion caused by outsiders do

exist in neighborhoods which have the amount of parking

established as a prerequisite for the restrictions of the

ordinance (as such problems are conceded to have existed

in Aurora Highlands) and (2) that the resident parking

permit plan is an appropriate way to deal with them.

Wherever the record in the Virginia Supreme Court is boing

referred to, it will be referred to as the Va. Appendix.

6

The County introduced the testimony of residents of

the affe ted streets, land use planners, transportation

planners, and experts on air quality. The evidence tended

to show that, when streets became overcrowded with cars

that are in the neighborhood only to park, there is more

trash and refuse, more noise (especially in the early

morning), more likelihood of conflicts between residents

and parkers, more traffic and parking violations, more

problems of street cleaning and trash collection, more

difficulty for residents and their visitors getting in and

out of driveways and finding places to park near their

houses, a likelihood that residential streets may have to

be rebuilt to the higher standards of streets in commercial

areas, a threat to property values, a reduction in the

desirability of the neighborhood as a place for residential

and family values to be preserved and an aesthetic harm

to the neighborhood. There was evidence that in Aurora

Highlands these problems were reduced by a reduction in

the number of cars from outside parked on the streets.

(Va. Appendix, p. 347 for example.) Environmental and

transportation experts expressed their opinions that an

appropriate way to reduce air pollution is to reduce the

number of vehicle miles travelled and a way to do this is

to encourage the use of mass transit facilities and

discourage the use of cars for commuting by restricting

the supply of free parking near areas to which many

persons commute. At the time of the trial a proposed

Environmental Protection Agency order would have

required the County to control parking, and the

ordinance had been conditionally approved as a method

of meeting the EPA requirement. (Va. Appendix, pp.

256-293 and Defendant's Exhibit #1, App. E.)

The County’s position was that the ordinance had

worked and would continue to achieve its goals. This was

illustrated in part by the testimony of one of the

residents of the affected streets, a service station

7

operator, who told about the problems caused by the

excessive parking, the flood of trash and damage to

vehicles caused by vehicles squeezing into tight spaces,

saying at the time of trial:

“You'd have to be down there constantly every day

to see just what it was like. It was bumper to

bumper. You could hardly get in and out of the

driveways. The neighbors really seemed upset, to tell

you the truth. There was a lot of tension in the

neighborhood because of this. You know, the streets

were a lot dirtier then.” (Va. Appendix, pp.

340-41.)

When asked about the effect of the restriction, he said:

“Well, miraculously they're clear. You don’t have

the congestion that you did. They're cleaner. It’s

quieter. You don't hear them coming in the morning

like you did...

“You don’t see as many cigarette butts and the like

on the streets. It’s a lot cleaner, a lot quieter, and I

notice that the neighbors seem to be all getting

along better. This is kind of like somebody has

released all the pressure.” (Va. Appendix, p. 347.)

While reciting that it had “had the benefit of the

testimony of transportation experts, planners, ecologists,

a representative of the Environmental Protection Agency

as well as others,” the trial court made no findings on any

of the points at issue except as to the adequacy of

parking facilities at Crystal City. (App. B, p. 15a.) It

concluded broadly that the evidence did not show that

the classification made by the ordinance, which it

described as the creation of two classes—“those who

reside in the permit area, and those who do not“ bears

any reasonable relationship to the stated objectives of the

ordinance.” which it termed “laud[able].” (App. B. p.

21a.) That bare conclusion, unsupported by any interme:

diate findings, led the court to find violations of the duc

process clauses of state and federal constitutions and of

the Equal Protection Clause of the Federal Constitution.

It enjoined enforcement of the ordinance. (App. B. p.

22a.)

On the County’s appeal, the Virginia Supreme Court

disregarded the evidentiary record and treated the

question posed as one of law, that is to say as a question

of facial validity. (App. A, p. 5a.) Its conclusion was that

the objectives set forth in the statement of purpose of the

ordinance clearly “constitute a legitimate governmental

interest:” (App. A, 7a), but that in no circumstances

could an ordinance that created a class consisting of

residents and personal and business visitors to their

neighborhood on the one hand, and a class of non-

residents on the other be a valid means of furthering that

legitimate interest because the classification does not bear

the required “reasonable relation to those objectives”

(App. A, p. 12a.) The court, so concluding, found it

unnecessary to consider “arguments concerning ‘special’

legislation proscribed by... the Va. Const., or those

related to the due process and provileges and immunities

clauses of the Constitution of the United States for [it]

was of [the] opinion that this ordinance offends the

equal protection clause of the 14th Amendment.” and

again that “the ordinance on its face offends the equal

protection guarantee of the 14th Amendment.” (App. A,

pp. 5a-6a & 12a.) On that basis it affirmed the trial

court’s judgment.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The decision below conflicts with the entire body of

law that has grown up around this Court’s application of

the Equal Protection clause to economic and social

legislation. It is important that the decision of the

Virginia Supreme Court be reviewed (and reversed)

because residents’ parking permit ordinances generally

9

similar to Arlington’s have been enacted or are being

considered in many communities. Debate as to the

wisdom (or the legality, under state law) of such

ordinances should not be clouded by any question of

their conformity with the United States Constitution

when there is no such question.

1. To say that this Court has not decided the

question which was decided below would be to show

contempt for the process by which lawyers reason from

the particulars of decided cases to general principles and

then back to the particulars of a new case. The particulars

of the Arlington County permit parking ordinance do not

differ in their legal significance from the particulars of

dozens of cases in which this Court has sustained

economic or social legislation against challenges based on

the Equal Protection Clause.

This does not mean that the Virginia Supreme Court

did not cite the usual language of interpretation, because

it said:

“The 14th Amendment does not forbid classifica-

tion in legislative enactments. Rather, it commands

that classification be reasonably structured to serve

a proper governmental interest. Classifications based

upon race, national origin, and alienage are suspect

and subject to strict judicial scrutiny and survive

equal protection attacks only when designed to

achieve an ‘important’, ‘overriding’, or ‘compelling’

governmental interest. [Citation omitted.] When the

basis is not suspect, the classification is constitu-

tionally permissible if the governmental objective is

‘legitimate’ and the classification bears a ‘reasonable’

or ‘substantial’ relation thereto.

* * *

“Classifications in municipal ordinances enjoy a

presumption of validity, but that presumption may

be ‘overcome by unreasonableness apparent on the

10

face of the ordinance’. [Citation omitted.] Clearly

the objectives stated here constitute a legitimate

governmenta! interest.“ (App. A, pp. 6a-7a.)

The court even said that the method chosen to deal with

the problem “may relieve the problem“, but then made

an ill-considered omission in the reasoning process and

jumped to the conclusion that the classification

amounted to invidious discrimination. This resulted in a

failure to apply the principles of interpretation which it

had quoted. If the Equal Protection Clause is to be

applied this way in every case where it is in issue before

the Virginia Supreme Court, then every new legislative

classification in Virginia can be classified as invidious or

not at the discretion of the state court and Virginians will

be told that their legislative enactments violate the

Federal Constitution on a different basis than has been

established by this Court.

The long standing acceptance by this Court of

regulations which try to create or preserve sanctuaries for

residences when those regulations have been attacked as

denying Equal Protection is the most obvious starting

point for a lawyer who must determine the general

principles which apply in this case. This is because the

goals of the Arlington County ordinance are the same

goals as have been approved in cases like Euclid v. Ambler

Realty Co., 272 U.S. 365, 47 S.Ct. 114, 71 L. Ed. 303

(1926) which approved the exclusion of industries and

apartments from residential areas to keep them free of

“disturbing noises,” “increased traffic“, and the hazards

of “moving and parked automobiles” as well as to

provide “children [with] the privilege of quiet and open

spaces for play, enjoyed by those m more favored

localities.” Id. at 394, 47 S.Ct. at 120-21. (Emphasis

added.) Berman v. Parker, 348 U.S. 26, 75 S. Ct. 98, 99

I. Ed. 27 (1954) was not a zoning case, but it recognized

11

that the police power included “the power of the

legislature to determine that the community should be

beautiful as well as healthy, spacious as well as clean, well

balanced as well as carefully protected.” Id. at 33, 75

S.Ct. at 102-03. The importance of this power has been

more recently affirmed by the upholding of an ordinance

restricting the number of unrelated persons who might

live in a single family home because such ordinances by

restricting, among other conditions, the number of cars

which pass through a neighborhood and park there,

create a “sanctuary for people.” Village of Belle Terre v.

Boraas, 416 U.S. 1, 9, 94 S.Ct. 1536, 1541, 39 L.Ed.2d

797 (1974) A fair-minded observer ought to be able to

reason that if a distinction between persons who are

related by blood or marriage and those who are not can

be made without invidiously discriminating, then a

distinction between persons who are parking on streets to

go to the residences abutting on those streets and persons

who are merely using those streets as parking lots and

proceeding to non-residential land use activities is equally

free from invidious discrimination.

The Court’s recognition that “a reasonable margin to

insure effective enforcement, will not put on a law,

otherwise valid, the stamp of invalidity” stated in Euclid

v. Ambler, supra at 388, 47 S.Ct. at 118, was also

reaffirmed by Village of Beile Terre v. Boraas, supra. This

principle should give reader of the case additional

confidence that a legislative body may make classifica-

tions in light of practical realities. Then too, Mr. Justice

Powell’s concurring opinion in Young v. American Mini

Theatres, Inc. 427 U.S. 50, 96 S.Ct. 2440 (1976)

(quoting with approval Mr. Justice Marshall’s dissent in

Village of Belle Terre, supra) makes it clear that the

Court will not find that debatable or controversial

classifications are prohibited by the Equal Protection

Clause when those classifications have been created to

protect the quality of life in residential areas and do

12

not have any basis in such categories as race, indigency

or alienage:

“Without stable neighborhoods, both residential and

commercial, large sections of a modern city quickly

can deteriorate into an urban jungle with tragic

consequences to social, environmental, and eco-

nomic values. While I agree with respondents that no

aspect of the police power enjoys immunity from

searching Constitutional scrutiny, it also is undenia-

ble that zoning, when used to preserve the character

of specific areas of a city, is perhaps ‘the most

essential function performed by local government

for it is one of the primary means by which we

protect that sometimes difficult to define concept

of quality of life.’ Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas,

[Citation omitted.] (Marshall. J. dissenting).“

Young v. American Mini Theatres Inc. supra at 80,

96 S.Ct. 2440, 2457 (Powell, J. concurring).

Just last term, the Court considered the particulars of

another case which helps to determine how the Equal

Protection Clause is being applied, and reaffirmed the

guiding principle of deference to legislative judgment in

drawing lines separating one class from another. In City

of New Orleans v. Dukes, 427 U.S. 297, 303, 96 S. Ct.

2513, 2516-17 (1976), the Court said:

“When local economic regulation is challenged

solely as violating the Equal Protection Clause, this

Court consistently defers to legislative determina-

tions as to the desirability of particular statutory

discriminations. . . . Unless a classification trammels

fundamental personal rights or is drawn upon

inherently suspect distinctions such as race, religion,

or alienage, our decisions presume the constitu-

tionality of the statutory discriminations and re-

quire only that the classification challenged be

rationally related to a legitimate state interest.”

13

The holding of the case is as significant as the foregoing

statement of the governing principle. The Court sustained

a New Orleans ordinance that, by a grandfather clause,

gave two long-time pushcart operators a monopoly of the

pushcart business in the French Quarter. In doing so, the

Court overruled Morey v. Doud, 354 U.S. 457, 77 S.Ct.

1344, 1 L.Ed.2d 485 (1957), the only case in decades in

which the Court has held that ordinary state or local

legislation dealing with business affairs denied someone

the Equal Protection of the laws.

If it is objected that the Arlington parking ordi-

nance is not “local economic regulation” but some-

thing else, it ought to be enough to refer again to

Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas, supra, where the issue

was the validity under the Equai Protection Clause

of an ordinance that limited the number of unrelat-

ed persons who could live together in a single fam-

ily house. In deciding that there was no denial of

Equal Protection, the Court included “social legisla-

tion“ with the economic legislation that is the more usual

subject of Equal Protection challenges which fail. It said

that in the case of “economic and social legisla-

tion .. . legislatures have historically drawn lines which

we respect against the charge of violation of the Equal

Protection Clause if the law be ‘reasonable, not arbi-

trary’... and bears ‘a rational relationship to a | permissi-

ble] state objective.“ Id. at 8, 94 S.Ct. at 1540. The

purpose of the Belle Terre ordinance was similar to that

of the Arlington ordinance, to preserve the quality of

residential life by protecting, “[a] quiet place, where

yards are wide, people are few, and motor vehicles

restricted.“ Id. at 9, 94 S. Ct. at 1541. Young v. American

Mini Theatres, Inc. supra, also sustained, against First

Amendment and Equal Protection challenges, an ordi-

nance that drew a line between so-called adult motion

picture theaters and others and restricted where the

14

former could be operated. The prevailing opinion there

did not treat the ordinance as economic regulation but

said that the city’s interest in attempting to preserve the

quality of urban life is one that must be accorded high

respect” and that the city must be allowed a reasonable

opportunity to experiment with solutions to admittedly

serious problems.“ Id. at 71, 96 S.Ct. at 2440. Neither

the prevailing opinion nor the concurring opinion treat

this as any different from economic regulation. In

addition, the economic regulation in City of New Orleans

v. Dukes, supra, is all but indistinguishable from

regulations promoting the quality of life because it was

presumed by the Court to reach its economic goal by

enhancing the tourist-oriented charm of the French-

Quarter of New Orleans /d. at 299, 96 S.Ct. at 2516.

The cases that stand for and apply the general standard

of deference to rational legislative judgments about where

to draw the line in regulating such matters as businesses,

professions, living arrangements, buildings and motor

vehicle traffic are numerous. See Ferguson v. Skrupa, 372

U.S. 726, 732, 83 S.Ct. 1028, 1032, 10 L.Ed.2d 93

(1963), Williamson v. Lee Optical Co., 348 U.S. 483,

488-490, 75 S.Ct. 461, 465, 99 L.Ed. 563 (1955); Goned

v. Fox, 274 U.S. 603, 607, 47 S.Ct. 675, 676 (192).

The motor vehicle is a frequent object of such remedial

legislation. The use of the automobile as an instrument

of transportation is peculiarly the subject of regulation.”

Silver v. Silver, 280 U.S. 117, 122, 50 S.Ct. 57, 58, 74

L.Ed. 221 (1929). The Court has been deferential to

legislative judgments embodied in such regulation. In

Railway Express Agency v. New York, 336 U.S. 106, 69

S.Ct. 463, 93 L.Ed. 533 (1949), a New York City

ordinance prohibiting the operation of vehicles carrying

advertising other than of the vehicle operator’s own wares

was upheld on the theory that it was a traffic safety

15

measure. In rejecting an Equal Protection challenge, the

Court accepted New York's traffic-safety justification of

its ordinance and a further assumption that a rational

legislative judgment might have been made that general

advertising on a delivery truck was more distracting to

other motorists and pedestrians and therefore more of a

traffic hazard than advertisements of one’s own wares.

The Arlington ordinance deals in a realistic, not

fanciful, way with an admittedly serious problem, and it

does not leave its purpose to conjecture. The problem is a

particular aspect of the general problem of motor vehicle

traffic congestion. The evils that result from allowing

residential neighborhoods to be burdened with commuter

parking are set out in the ordinance. The Virginia

Supreme Court concluded, as it must, that eliminating

these evils was a legitimate governmental objective. (App.

A, p. 7a.) It is self-evident that prohibiting commuter

parking is rationally calculated to achieve that objective.

Arlington proved at trial the rational relationship of the

means to the end, though the point scarcely needed

proof, and it proved also that the ordinance had worked,

though such proof is by no means essential to the validity

of the ordinance. As for the commuters’ evidence at trial,

even if they showed that the ordinance had been a

failure, that it was wholly unnecessary Which they did

not such a showing would be relevant, as this Court

indicated just the other day, only if Lochner v. New

York, 198 U.S. 45, 25 S.Ct. 539, 49 L.Ed. 937 (1905),

were still good law. In Whalen v. Roe, S

97 S.Ct. 869, 875, (1977) the Court said that, contrary

to the holding of Lochner, “State legislation which has

some effect on individual liberty or privacy may not be

held unconstitutional simply because a court finds it

unnecessary, in whole or in part.”

16

The court below saw only a general parking problem as

the object of concern in the Arlington ordinance. It said:

“Local governments have a legitimate interest in

regulating the cause of the manifold problems which

result from parking congestion. But the cause of

such problems is the use of public streets by

motorists in general, wherever they live or work. A

regulation which treats the cause by favoring the

motorists who happen to reside along a public street

at the expense of those who live elsewhere may

relieve the problems, but solutions achieved at the

ice of invidious discrimination are too dear.”

(App. A, | la-12a.)

This view of the problem has led the Virginia Court to

ignore the permissibility of a step-by-step approach. If

the Arlington ordinance is seen as one which attacks the

general problem of parking congestion, it would not be a

Constitutional objection that it deals with only one class

of parkers. Williamson v. Lee Optical of Oklahoma, supra

at 489, 75 S.Ct. at 465. The legislature could conclude

that the phase of the problem of parking congestion it

wished to attack first was the particular problem of

congestion found only where residential neighborhoods

have been overcrowded with parked cars from outside the

neighborhood. If the problem is not seen as the general

problem of parking congestion, then it is not necessary

here to invoke such cases as these sustaining the

Constitutionality of dealing with one cause of a problem

at a time. The problem sought to be resolved by the

Arlington ordinance can be seen as a problem special to

residential neighborhoods affected by commuter parking.

The Arlington ordinance does not need to be read as one

concerned with congestion generally or with all kinds of

congestion. Rational legislative responses to the multiple

problems of traffic and parking congestion will of course

vary with areas and circumstances. In business districts,

17

for example, limited-time parking enforced by parking

meters, along with bus zones, taxi zones and loading

zones may be the appropriate response.

When a residential neighborhood is subject to being

crowded by cars from outside, there are, broadly, only

three choices for the responsible governing body; (1) to’

leave parking unrestricted with the risk that the quality

of the neighborhood residents’ life will be degraded; (2)

to restrict all parking and by doing so put a new burden

on those using the residential area itself—a burden the

ordinary residential area does not have and a burden that

could destroy neighborhoods whose residences have no

driveways or garages; or (3) to restrict parking and except

from the restriction vehicles that are parked on the

streets in connection with the use of property abutting

on the streets where the restriction is in effect.

There is no guidance given by any reported case which

shows how the third solution works an “invidious

discrimination.” The commuter has no right to park all

day every business day in any residential district. Those

excepted from the restriction are those who most need to

use residential streets for parking, just as taxis, buses and

trucks need to use taxi zones, bus stops, and loading

zones—or just as those who have a special need to park on

the streets around the Capitol and the building that

houses this Court, may park there by permit to the

exclusion of others. For most of us, free parking on a

street convenient to our jobs is not seen as a right and

rarely reaches the level of a reasonable expectation. Such

a “right” cannot be seriously compared with the

“fundamental personal rights” mentioned in City of New

Orleans v. Dukes, supra or the First Amendment rights of

speech and association raised by the litigants in Young

and Belle Terre. Just as state statutes may permit

highway billboards to advertise businesses located in the

neighborhood but not elsewhere,” so also there is nothing

inherently “invidious’. in a classification that permits

parking on the streets of a neighborhood when the person

parking is using that neighborhood but forbids parking on

the streets of a neighborhood when the destination of the

person parking is elsewhere. It is not remotely like

“suspect classifications such as race, religion, or alien-

age. that the Court recognized in Dukes may call for

stricter than usual equal protection scrutiny.

2. Many communities throughout the country have

acted or are considering acting as Arlington has to protect

some of their residents from the threats to their health,

safety, comfort, convenience and dignity that are posed

by having cars jammed into the parking places in front of

their houses all day every working day. Counsel for

petitioners know of similar ordinances in Boston and

Cambridge, Massachusetts; Wilmington, Delaware; San

Francisco, California; Montgomery County, Maryland;

Richmond and Charlottesville, Virginia; and the District

of Columbia. The Cambridge and District of Columbia

ordinances are the subject of judicial challenges compara-

ble to the Crystal City commuters’ complaint in this case.

The Cambridge case is pending on appeal to the Supreme

"Markham Advertising Co. v. State, 72 Wash. 2d 405, 439

P.2d 248 (1968) appeal dismissed for want of a substantial federal

question 393 U.S. 316, 89 S.Ct.553, 21 L.£d.512 (1969), where

the Washington court said:

“A factual distinction exists between signs advertising

activities conducted on the premises and signs advertis-

ing activities being conducted off-premises, because

on-premises signs are part of the on-premises business

not otherwise related to activities conducted on the

land.” Jd. 439 P.2d at 256.

Young v. American Mini Theatres, Inc. supra at 68, 96 S.Ct. at

2440 cites Markham as authority for its acceptance of the class

fication distinguishing advertising of businesses in the neighbor-

hood of the sign and those clsewhere.

a — —2E—äꝓ—:ͤ7ü

»»‚„ẽH5k n; «ꝝ!ñé0 m T11½b u

19

Judicial Court of Massachusetts from a decision uphold-

ing the ordinance. Fishman v. Massachusetts, No. 729. In

the District of Columbia litigation, a judge of the

Superior Court has issued a preliminary injunction against

residents’ permit parking in Georgetown and surrounding

neighborhoods. Georgetown Ass'n of Businessmen v.

District of Columbia, Civ. Action Nos. 7242-76 et al. In

the only other reported decision of which we are aware, a

common pleas court in Ohio invalidated a residential

parking ordinance with some points which are compara-

ble to Arlington's. State v. Whisman, 24 Ohio Misc. 59,

263 N.E.2d 411 (1970). Other kinds of parking

classifications have been upheld, although the Virginia

Supreme Court did not find helpful the cases of Akron v.

Davies, 111 Ohio App. 103, 170 N.E.2d 494 (1959),

which upheld a prohibition on on-street parking around

public buildings by all except publicly owned vehicles;

Commonwealth v. Sargent, 330 Mass. 690, 117 N.E.2d

154 (1953), which upheld an on-street parking prohibi-

tion in the area of the State Capitol for all except

members of the state legislature; Town of Leesburg v.

Tavenner, 196 Va. 80, 82 S.E.2d 597 (1954), which

upheld a prohibition of on-street parking for all except

common carriers and commercial vehicles; and Funeral

Directors Ass'n v. Groth, 202 Va. 792, 120 S.E.2d 467

(1961), which upheld a prohibition of on-street parking

during funerals for all but those participating in the

funerals. The classifications of these cases were distin-

guished because “in none was the classification based

upon residence”. (This is the kind of specious differentia-

tion which is very disappointing to persons trying to

interpret the Equal Protection Clause. There is no

principle of interpretation which says residence“. is a

forbidden basis of classification.*) In each of the

Sin some cases concerning residence the decisions are very

much to the contrary. For example, a requirement that city

[footnote « ontinucd|

20

foregoing cases, unlike the instant case, people other than

government workers, legislators, funeral attendees, com-

mercial vehicle operators and common carriers who also

wished to park in the area because of the “activities

conducted on the land“ adjoining the streets on which

they wished to park were prohibited from parking. Thus,

the classification of the instant case is more inclusive than

those of the cases distinguished by the lower court,

because in the Arlington case all who use the residential

area are permitted to park there.

A number of the current ordinances are like Arling-

ton’s in that they have been adopted or are being

considered to some degree in response to Environmental

Protection Agency plans to improve air quality by

controlling automobile traffic. On review of such a plan

for Metropolitan Boston, the Court of Appeals for the

First Circuit considered a part of the plan that would ban

on-street parking and restrict off-street parking during the

morning commuting hours in the Boston core area. Quite

to the contrary of the state courts of the District of

Columbia, Ohio and Virginia, this iederal court said that

it approved the plan only on EPA’s representation that

residential parking spaces and certain other spaces were

exempt from the on-street parking ban. In addition, the

court said that off-street facilities could be separated

between residential and commercial parkers so that the

former could remain parked during the restricted hours.

South Terminal Corp. v. EPA, 504 F. 2d 646, 671-72 (Ist

Cir. 1974). Surely this federal court is correct in its

judgment that a parking preference for residents is not

employees and police officers maintain residences in the locality of

their employment was upheld against an argument that it denied

Equal Protection Detroit Police Officers Ass'n v. City of Detroit,

190 N.W.2d 97 (Mich. 1971) appeal dismissed for want of a

substantial federal question 92 8 Ct. 1173.

21

only appropriate but may be necessary to make a parking

restriction program reasonable, and the state court judges

are wrong in believing that the United States Constitution

prevents a local governing body from putting such a

preference in a parking control plan.

CONCLUSION

The Arlington ordinance is a practical and down-to-

earth solution to a hard problem, and it is easy to argue

not only that it is a permissible classification, but that it

is a wise one. The petition should be granted. As noted

above, the Virginia Supreme Court treated the question

before it as one of law to which the record made in the

Circuit Court was irrelevant. We agree that the case may

be decided based on the conceivable basis for the

legislative action (although the case for the ordinance is

given additional weight by the evidence actually pre-

sented at trial). Because there is one or more than one

conceivable basis on which to uphold the ordinance

without considering the evidence introduced at trial, this

Court does not need to refer to any substantial record in

22

deciding the case. The authorities are familiar to the

Court. In the circumstances we suggest to the Court that

the appropriate disposition of the case may be summary

reversal of the judgment below.

Respectfully submitted,

Jerry K. EMRicH

County Attorney

Counsel for Petitioners.

CHARLES G. FLINN

Deputy County Attomey

1435 North Veitch Street

Arlington, Virginia 22201

(703) 558-2705

Counsel for Petitioners and

Counsel of Record.

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

COUNTY BOARD OF ARLINGTON

COUNTY et al.

V.

Rudolph A. RICHARDS et al.

Record No. 760056.

Supreme Court of Virginia.

Jan. 14, 1977.

Charles G. Flinn, Deputy County Atty.

(Jerry K. Emrich, County Atty., on briefs),

for appellants.

Herbert C. Harper, Fairfax (Ray Elbert

Parker, pro se, on brief), for appellees.

Arlington Chamber of Commerce

(Charles McDonnell Radigan, Barham, Ra-

digan, Suiters & Brown, Arlington, on

brief), amicus curiae, for appellants.

Before CARRICO, HARRISON, COCH-

RAN, HARMAN, POFF and COMPTON,

JJ.

2a

POFF, Justice.

Appellants! challenge the trial court's

judgment declaring a county ordinance au-

thorizing permit parking on certain public

streets unconstitutional as applied to appel-

lees.?

On May 18, 1974, County Board of Ar-

lington County amended and reenacted § 29

D of its zoning ordinance. The preamble

stated the legislative purpose to be:

to reduce hazardous traffic con-

ditions resulting from the use of streets

within areas zoned for residential uses for

the parking of vehicles by persons using

districts zoned for commercial or industri-

al uses or the Conditional Uses allowed in

Special Districts under the Zoning Ordi-

nance of Arlington County; to protect

those districts from polluted air, excessive

1. County Board of Arlington County, Bert W.

Johnson, County Manager of Arlington County,

and Roy McLaren, Chief of Police of Arlington

County.

2. Rudolph A. Richards, Mario A. Carboni,

Frank Tomek, Thomas Beck, Braxton H. Tabb,

Jr., Michelle McKenzie, Elmer P. Borkowski,

Ernest G. Wallace, Joseph F. Belfiore, Jr., Caro-

lyn Bolling, Howard E. Huriey, Jr., James Mott,

H. D. Morris, George A. Riscili and Ray Elbert

Parker.

3a

noise, and trash and refuse caused by the

entry of such vehicles; to protect the

residents of those districts from unrea-

sonable burdens in gaining access to their

residences; to preserve the character of

those districts as residential districts; to

promote efficiency in the maintenance of

those streets in a clean and safe condi-

tion; to preserve the value of the proper-

ty in those districts; and to preserve the

safety of children and other pedestrians

and traffic safety, and the peace, good

order, comfort, convenience and welfare

of the inhabitants of the County.”

The county manager was empowered to

implement § 29 D (hereinafter, the ordi-

nance) in those residential areas in which he

determined that “on the weekdays of any

month” 75% of street parking capacity was

filled and more than 25% of capacity was

being occupied by “operators of vehicles

using districts in which commer-

cial or industrial uses are permitted”. In

such residential areas, parking privileges

were restricted to “service or delivery vehi-

cles” and vehicles displaying permits.

Parking permits were to be issued to “per-

sons who are residents” of a restricted zone

for “every vehicle owned by those persons

and registered in the County”; “persons

who are visitors of any residents”; and

4a

“persons who do business with any resi-

dents”. Parking violations were declared

unlawful.

Aurora Highlands, a residential communi-

ty consisting largely of single-family homes,

is located aiong State Route 1 opposite

“Crystal City”, a complex of high rise office

and commercial buildings where 20,000

workers are employed. Based upon an en-

gineering study, the county manager desig-

nated a portion of Aurora Highlands as a

permit parking zone. The zone embraced

81 buildings containing 101 residences and

192 parking spaces along portions of three

streets. All but two of the single-family

homes had off-street parking facilities.

Appellees were employed in Crystal City.

Most commuted to work by automobile and

parked on streets in Aurora Highlands.

When the permit zone was established, they

filed two motions against appellants seek-

ing a declaratory judgment that the ordi-

nance, as applied to them, denied them due

process of law and equal protection of the

laws, and praying for an injunction against

its enforcement. The two motions were

consolidated for trial, and the trial court,

sitting without a jury, heard evidence ore

tenus.

By final order entered September 16,

1975, incorporating a letter opinion dated

5a

June 18, 1975, the trial court found that the

classification bears no “reasonable relation-

ship to the stated objectives”, ruled that

“the classification is arbitrary

and unreasonable”, and declared that “the

application of the ordinance to the petition-

ers is found to be violative” of their rights

to due process and equal protection of the

laws. The trial court decreed that appel-

lants be “enjoined permanently from en-

forcing the provisions of _ [the

ordinance] against the petitioners“.“

On brief, appellants posed the question:

“Is the ordinance as it is applied to the

appellees who are denied permits, a denial

of due process or

equal protection At bar, how-

ever, both parties agreed that the effect of

the final order was to declare the classifica-

tion arbitrary and the ordinance unconstitu-

tional on its face, and we will consider the

question in that posture.

We find it unnecessary to address argu-

ments concerning special legislation pro-

scribed by Article IV, § 14 of the Va.Corst.,

3. In the court below, the Board of Supervisors

of Prince William Courty filed a brief amicus

curiae in support of appellees but did not ap-

pear on appeal. Arlington Chamber of Com.

merce moved this Court for leave to file a brief

amicus curiae in support of appellants, and we

granted the motion.

6a

or those related to the due process and

privileges and immunities clauses of the

Constitution of the United States, for we

are of opinion that this ordinance offends

the equal protection clause of the 14th

Amendment.

{1-3} The lach Amendment does not

forbid classification in legislative enact-

ments. Rather, it commands that classifi-

cation be reasonably siructured to serve a

proper governmental interest. Classifica-

tions based upon race, national origin, and

alienage are suspect and subject to strict

judicial scrutiny, and survive equal protec-

tion attacks only when designed to achieve

an “important”, “overriding”, or “compel-

ling” governmental interest. Sandiford v.

Commonwealth, 217 Va. 117, 225 S.E.2d 409

(1976). When the basis is not suspect, the

classification is constitutionally permissible

if the governmental! objective is “legiti-

mate” and the classification bears a “rea-

sonable” or “substantial” relation thereto.

This is true even when the basis of the

classification involves First Amendment

guarantees. Young, Mayor of Detroit v.

American Mini Theatres, Inc., US.

, 96 S.Ct. 2440, 49 L.Ed.2d 310 (1976);

see also McWhorter v. Commonwealth, 191

Va. 857, 68 S.E.2d 20 (1951).

The ordinance creates two classes, and we

must first decide what they are. Appel-

. ———————c— . — — —

7a

lants say they are two classes of vehicles.

Some appellees view them as a government-

employee class and a non-government-em-

ployee class. One appellee treats them on

brief as a property-owner class and a non-

property-owner class. In our view, the or-

dinance creates one class consisting of resi-

dents of a defined zone who own automo-

biles registered in the county and persons

who are visitors of or do business with such

residents, and another class consisting of all

other persons.

[4,5] Hence, it appears from the face of

the ordinance that the crucial basis of the

classification is residence in a selected area.

Classifications in municipal ordinances en-

joy a presumption of validity, but that pre-

sumption may be “overcome by unreason-

ableness apparent on the face of the ordi-

nance”. Kisley v. City of Falls Church, 212

Va. 693, 697, 187 S.E.2d 168, 171 (1972).

Clearly, the objectives stated here consti-

tute a legitimate governmental interest.

The question, then, is whether the classifi-

cation bears a reasonable relation to those

objectives.

Defending the ordinance, appellants cite

two Virginia cases and several cases in oth-

er jurisdictions upholding ordinances regu-

lating parking on public streets. Town of

Leesburg . Tavenner, 196 Va. 80, 82 S.E.2d

8a

597 (1954) (parking zone restricted to all

but common carriers and commercial vehi-

cles); Funeral Directors’ Ass'n v. Groth, 202

Va. 792, 120 S.E.2d 467 (1961) (parking for-

bidden during funerals); Akron v. Davies,

111 Ohio App. 108, 170 N.E.2d 494 (1959)

(street parking around public buildings lim-

ited to public vehicles); Commonwealth v.

Sargent, 330 Mass. 690, 117 N.E.2d 154

(1953) (parking by legislators permitted in

no-parking zones).

We do not find the Virginia cases control-

ling or the other cases helpful. In each, the

classification was sustained, but in none

was the classification based upon residence.

Nor is the decision in State v. Rush, 324

A.2d 748 (Me.1974) relevant to our determi-

nation of the validity of the classification

here, for there the ordinance prohibiting

overnight parking treated motorists as a

single class.

[6] In response to appellees’ argument

that the objectives of the ordinance could

be better achieved by other parking regula-

tions applied to motorists as a single class,

appellants say that they are not required to

select the optimum solution to a public

problem. It is true that a legislative*body

is not required to choose “the least restric-

tive alternative” except when “state action

impinges on the exercise of fundamental

a,

9a

constitutional rights or liberties”, San Anto-

nio Independent School District v. Rodri-

guez, 411 U.S. 1, 51, 93 S.Ct. 1278, 1306, 36

L.Ed.2d 16 (1973), but it is never free to

adopt an alternative so restrictive that it

violates rights secured by the equal protec-

tion clause.

[7] Appellants rely, in part, upon gener-

al authority delegated to local governments

under the zoning statutes. They argue that

“many of the goals of Article 8, Chapter 11

of Title 15.1 are more effectively promoted

by the parking regulation than by some

other use regulation.” Whatever authority

local governments may derive from the zon-

ing statutes to protect the distinctive char-

acteristics of residential neighborhoods,

such authority does not include the power

to adopt ordinances which grant residents a

parking monopoly in the public streets of

their neighborhood.

[8-10] An owner of property abutting a

public street has the right of ingress and

egress and “the right to use the street as

one of the public”. Nusbaum v. Norfolk,

151 Va. 801, 805, 145 S.E. 257, 259 (1928)

But ownership of such property gives the

owner no right to the use of the street

superior to that enjoyed by the public at

large.

“The right to park in a public street is

not a right incident to the ownership of

10a

abutting land but rather one which is

incident to the use of the street for travel

and which is shared by the property own-

er in common with all other members of

the traveling public.” Brown v. Jackson,

268 Or. 111, 113, 519 P.2d 87, 88 (1974).

Cf. Town of Leesburg v. Tavenner, supra,

196 Va. at 85, 82 S.E.2d at 600, where we

held that “(t}he fact that specific zones are

designated on a public street for the loading

and unloading of passengers by common

carriers does not render the ordinance un-

reasonable or discriminatory as to owners

of property or private enterprises adjacent

to such areas. See also 7 AmJur.2d Auto-

mobiles and Highway Traffic § 240 (1963).

Necessarily, the parking privileges of res-

idents are no greater than those of property

owners. Nor is a resident’s privilege inferi-

or to that of the public at large‘ The

classification at bar cannot, therefore, be

sustained on the theory that it protects

different rights or privileges of the classes

it creates.

The court in State v. Whisman, 24 Ohio

Mise. 59, 263 N.E.2d 411 (1970) considered

4. In Kaufman v. West, 133 Wash. 192, 233 P.

321 (1925), the court invalidated as discrimina-

tory an ordinance which prohBited owners,

occupants, visitors, and employees of an apart

ment house from parking across the street ad-

jacent to the building.

a a a

lla

an equal protection challenge to a permit

parking ordinance much like the one at bar.

There, upon a finding that “an extreme

parking problem exists for the residents of”

two streets in New Boston, the ordinance

provided that parking be prohibited within

a designated zone except by permit. A city

official was instructed to issue permits to

“bona fide residents” of the zone “who own

or operate a motor vehicle” and, on a space-

available basis, to “residents of the City of

New Boston”. Delivery vehicles “loading

and unloading” in the zone were exempt,

and “limited permits” were authorized “for

visitors to the homes” located in the zone.

The ordinance fixed a fine for parking vio-

lations.

Unlike the classification before us, the

classification in Whisman did not grant the

parking privilege to residents of the re-

stricted zone to the exclusion of other resi-

de:.cs of New Boston. Yet, the court found

that “it absolutely discriminates against all

persons who are not residents of New Bos-

ton”, that “no valid justification for the

classification exists”, and that the ordi-

nance “merely grants a parking right to

residents in contravention of the well estab-

lished rights of the general public.” I., 24

Ohio Misc. at 65, 263 N.E.2d at 415.

Local governments have a legitimate in-

terest in regulating the cause of the mani-

12a

fold problems which result from parking

congestion. But the cause of such problems

is the use of public streets by motorists in

general, wherever they live or work. A

regulation which treats the cause by favor-

ing motorists who happen to reside along a

public street at the expense of those who

live elsewhere may relieve the problems,

but solutions achieved at the price of invidi-

ous discrimination are too dear.

We agree with the trial court that the

classification created by this ordinance

bears no reasonable relation to its stated

objectives, and we hold that the ordinance

on its face offends the equal protection

guarantee of the 14th Amendment.

We do not condemn all permit parking

ordinances. The one at bar was not enact-

ed under autnority of Code § 46.1 252.01

(Repl. Vol. 1974). That statute empowers

local governing bodies “to provide for the

issuance of permits for motor vehicles park-

ing on public streets” and to set the “rates”

and fix the terms!“ of such permits. In

setting permit “rates”, local governments

are authorized to “differentiate” between

two classes of motor vehicles, viz., “motor

vehicles upon which a license fee is paid to

the political subdivision issuing such permit

and other motor vehicles.” Significantly,

the statute does not allow local govern-

ments to deny permits to nonresidents.

13a

Code § 46.1 252.01 is not in issue here,

and we express no opinion upon its validity

or the validity of an ordinance enacted pur-

suant thereto. Our decision affects only

parking permit ordinances, such as that

here, which create classifications not rea-

sonably related to legitimate governmental

objectives.

Affirmed.

l4a

APPENDIX B

CIRCUIT COURT OF ARLINGTON COUNTY

VIRGINIA *

June 18, 1975

Charles G. Flinn, Esquire

Assistant Commonwealth Attorney

Arlington County

Arlington, Virginia 22201

Herbert C. Harper, Esquire

4085 Chain Bridge Road

Fairfax, Virginia 22030

Ray Elbert Parker, Esquire

7702 Schelhorn Road

Alexandria, Virginia 22306

Re: Parker v. Wholey, In Chancery No. 24527

Richards v. County Board, In Chancery No.

24659

Gentlemen:

The County Board of Arlington County enacted Sec.

29-D of its zoning ordinance to deal with parking

problems in certain residential areas. In doing this the

governing body stated its objectives in the preamble to

the ordinance. They are to reduce hazardous traffic

conditions, to protect from pollution, excessive noise,

and the throwing of trash and refuse from vehicles, to

protect residents from unreasonable burdens in gaining

access to their residences, to preserve the residential

character of the district, to promote the maintenance of

the streets in a clean and safe condition, to preserve

property values, to preserve the safety of children,

pedestrians and traffic safety and in general to promote

the peace, good order, comfort, convenience and welfare

of the inhabitants of the county. The ordinance then

provides that parking may be restricted to the residents

15a

of the residential area who hold parking permits when the

County Manager, or his designee, has found that the

conditions stated in Paragraph 1 of Sec. 29D have been

found to exist. Briefly stated it requires a finding that

twenty-five percent of the parking spaces in the

residential area are being used by vehicles whose

operators are then using a commercial or industrial area

and that the total number of spaces used by any vehicles

exceeds seventy-five percent of the parking spaces on

such streets. A study was made and the condition which

permits the ordinance to be utilized was found to exist.

In passing it should be noted that the residential area

involved here is a part of the South Arlington community

of Aurora Highlands. In this area there are 101 residences

including a thirteen unit apartment and eighty eight

duplexes or single family homes. There were 103 permits

issued which came from applicants living in sixty-nine of

the dwelling units. No requests were made for permits by

the occupants of thirty-two of the dwelling units. Of the

single-family dwelling units there was evidence that all

but two of them have off-street parking.

The commercial area involved is Crystal City. Although

not yet complete, there are over 20,000 persons who

work there. Many of them use public transportation.

Most of the petitioners in this case, however, arrive at

their work at seven o’clock in the morning and come

from places where the use of public transportation at that

time is not feasible. There is some parking in the office

buildings, but it is not adequate to meet the needs of

those who work there and it is not designed or intended

to be adequate. In the general area of Crystal City are

also the National Airport, motels and commercial

development, the Potomac Yards and the county dump.

The dispute between the commuters and the neighbor-

hood residents had been of long standing and the subject

of litigation in both the Federal and state courts.

16a

The petitioners contend in this case that the ordinance

is unconstitutional under both the state and Federal

constitutions in that it abridges their privileges and

immunities as citizens of the United States, denies them

their liberty or property without the due process of law,

and denies to them the equal protection of the laws.

The County contends that it may make such classifica-

tions as it pleases so long as they have some rational basis,

unless the classifications fare in the area of “strict

scrutiny”, viz., race, voting rights, sex, residence, or

economic status, where they then become suspect“.

Further, the County says that the validity of its action

does not depend upon a showing of the presence of some

compelling governmental interest.

In reaching its decision, the Court will briefly review

the principal cases cited by counsel in their briefs and in

oral argument.

In the case of Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas, 416 U.S.

J. 94, S.Ct. 536, (1974) the Supreme Court of the United

States upheld the validity of a zoning ordinance which

defined the word “family” to exclude communes. In

deciding the case the Court found no procedural disparity

inflicted on some but not on others, and found that the

case involved no “fundamental” right guaranteed by the

constitution.

We deal with economic and social legislation where

legislatures have historically drawn lines which we

respect against the charge of violation of the Equal

Protection Clause if the law be ‘reasonable, not

arbitrary’... and bears a ‘rational relationship to a

|permissible] state objective’ “, p. 1540 of 94 S.Ct.

The Virginia case of Thompson v. Smith, 155 Va. 367,

recognized the right of the citizen to travel on the public

highways and to transport his property on them to be a

common right entitled to constitutional protection.

17a

“The exercise of such a common right the city may,

under its police power, regulate in the interest of the

public safety and welfare; but it may not arbitrarily

or unreasonably prohibit or restrict it, nor may it

permit one to exercise it and refuse to permit

another of like qualifications, under like conditions

and circumstances, to exercise it.” p. 378 of 155 Va.

The Virginia Supreme Court has defined the difference

between special and general legislation and has upheld

legislation which it found to be general, although it

applied only to a numerically small class of persons,

“provided the classification itself be a reasonable and not

an arbitrary one, and the law be made to apply to all of

the persons belonging to the class without distinction.”

Farmer v. Christian, 154 Va. 48, 53.

“A law is ‘special’ in a constitutional sense when by

force of an inherent limitation it arbitrarily sepa-

rates some persons, places or things from those upon

which, but for such separation, it would operate.“

Farmer v. Christian, supra, 54.

The Court in Farmer pointed out that a useful guide is

to look to the underlying reason for the limitation.

“It follows, therefore, that if a law bears on its face

no evidence of an exclusive or discriminative

purpose, it is prima facie valid.... “The test of a

special law is the appropriateness of its provisions to

the objects that it excludes. It is not, therefore,

what a law includes that makes it special. . . . If the

only limitation contained in a law is a legislative

classification of its objects, it is a general law.’ ”

Farmer v. Christian, supra, p. 55.

Although the Court in Farmer was dealing with the

validity of legislation under the Virginia Constitution as

general rather than special, the reasoning used by the

Court is analogous to that employed by courts in

18a

determining the reasonableness of classifications in the

equal protection sense.

Richmond Funeral Directors v. Groth, 202 Va. 792,

was a mandamus proceeding to compel the city’s director

of public safety to reinstate certain regulations which had

previously been promulgated relating to the restricting of

parking where funerals were being conducted.

“It is fundamental that streets and highways belong

to the public. Subject only to the limitation that

constitutional rights must not be invaded, supreme

control over the streets and highways is vested in the

state, which, acting under its police power and

through the legislature, may prescribe reasonable

restrictions and regulations for their use.

* * *

“This power of the state over the streets and

highways may lawfully be delegated to local

governing bodies, and when so delegated, may be

exercised by such bodies to the full extent of the

power conferred.

* * *

“It is immaterial that property owners might be

temporarily deprived of their privilege to park, or

that those conducting and attending funerals might

be benefitted. These effects are merely incidental to

a valid exercise of police power by the municipal-

ity.“ Richmond Funeral Directors v. Groth, supra,

pp. 795, 796.

Although the validity of the regulations was not before

the Supreme Court in the Funeral Directors case, it

pointed to an earlier holding in a case where it had dealt

with the validity of a parking ordinance, viz., Town of

Leesburg v. Tavenner, 196 Va. 80. In Tavenner the Court

sustained an ordinance which prohibited all parking

within a certain distance of an _ intersection. The

ordinance permitted common carriers to take on or

i f — . ð ꝙꝗ —

19a

discharge passengers there and other vehicles to load or

unload freight or merchandise. The attack on the

ordinance was made by an abutting landowner, who

failed when it was held that his right was subordinate to

that of the town’s to so control the use of the streets as

to promote the safety, comfort, health, and general

welfare of the public. In sustaining the validity of the

ordinance, the Court found that the classifications were

natural, reasonable, and appropriate to the purposes

sought to be accomplished. Town of Leesburg v.

Tavenner, supra, at p. 84.

“The ordinance is not discriminatory within the

class to which the parking privileges are granted for

it gives the same rights to all common carriers. The

fact that specific zones are designated on a public

street for the loading and unloading of passengers by

common carriers does not render the ordinance

unreasonable or discriminatory as to owners of

property or private enterprises adjacent to such

areas. The time limit fixed for the common carriers

to park for such purpose is reasonable, and the

permitted use in the interest of the public.” p. 85 of

196 Va.

A case cited to the Court which was decided in 1925 in

the Supreme Court of the State of Washington shows that

the sometimes rough treatment which the automobile

receives in legislative bodies is nothing new. It is the case

of Kaufman v. West, 233 P. 321. There an ordinance

made it unlawful for any owner, occupant or visitor of

any apartment house or the servant or employee of any

of the foregoing to park his automobile on any street

adjacent to an apartment house, except “adjacent to and

on the same side of the thoroughfare . . to which said

apartment house is or shall be appurtenant.” The Court

found the ordinance to be plainly violative of the

privileges and immunities clause of its state's constitu

tion.

Oe

20a

It is... discriminatory in that it does not operate

alike on all persons and property under the same

circumstances and conditions, and is therefore class

legislation in discriminating against some and favor-

ing others. 233 P.321, 322. |

The case of State of Maine v. Rush, 324 A.2d 748,

(Sup. Jud. Ct. of Me., 1974) was an appeal from a

conviction of the violation of a parking ordinance in the

city of Portland. The ordinance prohibited the parking of

any motor vehicle on any street for longer than thirty

minutes between the hours of two o'clock A.M. and six

o'clock A.M. except for physicians or others on

emergency calls. The defendant conceded the authority

to enact the ordinance but asserted that the public

protection gained was not equally available to all resident

tenants in the city. His contention was that the

application of the ordinance to him was so burdensome

to become discriminatory. The ordinance made no

classifications and was applicable to all.

The Rush case and the Belle Terre case were argued to

stand for the principle that (1), s0 long as the legislative

objective is legitimate, (2) the means employed appro-

priate, and (3) the manner of exercising the power not

unduly arbitrary, then a governing body may discriminate

in making its classifications unless it is operating in the

“sensitive” areas of race, religion, sex, etc. That appears

to be an over-simplification, for in Rush the Court said:

“Although variously expressed, it is established that

the requirements of due process exact that the law

shall not be unreasonable, arbitrary or capricious

and that the state’s police power can be properly

exercised only when there is a reasonable relation-

ship to the public nealth, safety, morals, or

welfare.” 324 A.2d 752.

214

The case of State v. Whisman, 263 N. E. 2d 411, is

interesting in that it is the only case which could be

found dealing with the subject of parking permits. It was

decided in a Court of Common Pleas in Ohio, a trial court

which was exercising its appellate jurisdiction irom a

mayor's court. The ordinance which was under scrutiny

prohibited the parking of vehicles on a certain street. It

further provided for the issuance of parking permits to

vehicle owners who resided on that street and if there

were spaces to spare then other residents of the town

could get them. The Court found that no valid

justification for the classification existed and declared the

ordinance unconstitutional.

A review of these authorities indicates that the two

ordinances which attempted to restrict parking based on

the residence of the car’s owner have met unhappy

endings in the courts. Those ordinances were not as

carefully drawn as the one here, but their purpose was to

create two classes of people and to favor one at the

expense of the other. In the Whisman case if one did not

live on Stanton Street, he got no parking permit. In

Kaufman, if one lived or visited or worked in an

apartment, he couldn't park across the street.

In this case the Court has had the benefit of the

testimony of transportation experts, planners, ecologists,

a representative of the Environmental Protection Agency

as well as others. The ordinance’s preamble sets forth

laudatory objectives. The evidence in the case, however,

does not show that the classification made bears any

reasonable relationship to the stated objectives. The

classification to be valid must not be arbitrary or

capricious and it must be reasonable. The classification

made in this ordinance creates two classes, ic, those who

reside in the permit area, and those who do not. The

place of residence of the owner of a motor vehicle or his

22a

place of employment have nothing to do with the traffic

conditions, pollution, noise, trash and refuse thrown

from vehicles, access to one’s residence, the cleanliness

and safety of the streets, property values, the safety of

children or pedestrians, or the general welfare of the

people of Arlington. The Court therefore concludes that

the classification made here is arbitrary and unreasonable.

For the foregoing reasons the application of the

ordinance to the petitioners is found to be violative of

their rights under the due process clauses of both the

state and Federal constitutions as well as a denial of the

equal protection of the laws secured under the Federal

constitution.

A question was raised at oral argument of the status of

petitioners Borkowski and Richards to question the

validity of the ordinance. Both have standing although

neither used the permit zone before it became restricted.

Counsel should prepare a decree in the consolidated

case incorporating therein by reference this letter

memorandum, dissolving the temporary injunction and

granting the petitioners relief.

Very truly yours,

/s/William L. Winston

William L. Winston

Judge

WLW:kw

|

23a

APPENDIX C

VIRGINIA:

In the Supreme Court of Virginia held at the Supreme

Court Building in the City of Richmond on Friday the

14th day of January, 1977.

County Board of Arlington County,

Bert W. Johnson, County Manager

of Arlington County, and Roy

McLaren, Chief of Police of Arling-

ton County, Appellants,

against Record No. 760056

Rudolph A. Richards, Mario A. Car-

boni, Thomas Beck, Braxton H.

Tabb, Jr., Michelle McKenzie,

Elmer P. Borkowski, Emest G.

Wallace, Joseph F. Belfiore, Jr.,

Carolyn Bolling, Howard E. Hurley,

Jr., James Mott, H. D. Morris,

George A. Riscili and Ray Elbert

Parker, Appellees.

Upon an appeal from final orders

entered by the Circuit Court of Arling-

ton County on the 16th day of

September, 1975.

This day came again the parties, by counsel, and the

court having maturely considered the transcript of the

record of the orders aforesaid and arguments of counsel,

is of opinion, for reasons stated in writing and filed with

the record, that there is no error in the orders appealed

from. It is therefore adjudged, ordered and decreed that

the said orders be, and the same are hereby, affirmed, and

that the appellants pay to the appellees thirty dollars

damages, and also their costs by them expended about

their defense herein.

24a

Which is ordered to be certified to the said circuit

court.

A Copy,

Teste:

/s/ H.G. Turner

Appellees’ costs: Clerk

Attorney’s fee $50.00

Cost of printing briefs not to

exceed $200 for each appellee—

Code, §14.1-182 ?

Teste:

V H.G. Turner

Clerk

APPENDIX D

May 18, 1974

AMENDMENT AND REENACTMENT OF SECTION 29,

ZONING ORDINANCE, RE STREET PARKING IN

RESIDENTIAL DISTRICTS.

On motion by Mrs. Bozman, seconded by Mr. Purdy

and carried by a vote of 4 to 0, Mr. Fisher having left the

meeting, voting recorded as follows: WHOLEY—AYE;

BOZMAN—AYE; MUNSEY—AYE; PURDY—AYE; the

Board adopted the following amendment and reenact:

ment of Section 29 of the Zoning Ordinance as contained

in the Appendix of the Arlington County Code, to create

new Subsection D, relative to restricting street parking in

districts in which commercial and industrial uses are not

permitted:

Fim «.

25a

The County Board of Arlington County, Virginia,

hereby ordains that in order to reduce hazardous traffic

conditions resulting from the use of streets within areas

zoned for residential uses for the parking of vehicles by

persons using districts zoned for commercial or industrial

uses or the Conditional Uses allowed it. Special Districts

under the Zoning Ordinance of Arlington County; to

protect those districts from polluted air, excessive noise,

and trash and refuse caused by the entry of such vehicles;

to protect the residents of those districts from unreasona-

ble burdens in gaining access to their residences; to

preserve the character of those districts as residential

districts; to promote efficiency in the maintenance of

those streets in a clean and safe condition; to preserve the

value of the property in those districts; and to preserve

the safety of children and other pedestrians and traffic

safety, and the peace, ‘good order, comfort, convenience

and welfare of the inhabitants of the County,

Section 29D of the Zoning Ordinance is enacted as

follows:

D.RESTRICTIONS ON PARKING IN DISTRICTS IN

WHICH COMMERCIAL AND INDUSTRIAL USES

ARE NOT PERMITTED.

1. Whenever the County Manager or his designee

shall determine that the streets of a particular district or

discrete portion of a district in which residential uses are

permitted and commercial and industrial uses are not

permitted, except transitional uses or by conditional use

permit, are being used for parking by the operators of

vehicles while the operators of those vehicles are using

districts in which commercial or industrial uses are

permitted or portions of districts in which Conditional

Special Uses have been permitted under Section

3.A.9.a-c. of the Zoning Ordinance and the average

number of vehicles parking in such a manner is in excess

26a

of 25% of the number of parking spaces on such streets

and the total number of spaces actually occupied by any

vehicles exceeds 75% of the number of spaces on such

streets on the weekdays of any month, as disclosed by an

engineering study, the County Manager or his designee

shall prohibit parking during the hours when such use has

been found on those streets of those districts or portions

of districts found by the survey to have been so affected.

In such cases the County Manager shall cause appropriate

signs giving notice of the prohibition to be posted on

those streets restricting all parking except parking by the

holders of permits to be granted only under the following

conditions:

a. To persons who are residents of any particular area

in which parking is so restricted for every vehicle owned

by those persons and registered in che County;

b. To persons who are visitors of any residents of any

particular area in which parking is so restricted, to be

limited to that particular area in which parking is so

restricted, to be valid for a stated period but no more

than 30 days, and not to be to any more than two

persons who are visitors at a residence during any period

in which another visitor to that residence holds such a

permit; and

c. To persons who do business with any resident of

any particular district in which parking is so restricted

during the hours of such restriction, to be limited to that

particular area or areas in which parking is so restricted

and in which any such person so transacts business.

However, the parking prohibitions of this section 29D

shall not apply to service of delivery vehicles which are

being used to provide services or make deliveries to

dwellings.

27a

On the application of any resident of the district, the

Chief of Police or his authorized designee may issue

permits to be valid for only one day and for no more

than four hours on that day upon a showing by the

resident that during the hours for which the permits are

to be issued, his residence will be used in such a way

consistent with its residential character and other

provisions of law that visitors to his residence would not

be able to park without violating the law. If the Chief of

Police shall find the foregoing facts and further find that

the issuance of the permits will not unduly impair tratfic

safety during the time of their validity, he shall issue such

permits and may limit the streets or portions of streets on

which they shall be valid. The number of such permits

shall not any time exceed 50% of the number of spaces in

which they are valid.

2. Any such person shall show to the County

Manager or his authorized representative satisfactory

evidence that he fulfills all the conditions for such a

permit. Whenever the conditions no longer exist, the

person holding such a permit issued under subparagraph

l(a) or 1(c) shall surrender it to the County Manager or

his authorized representative. It shall be unlawful for any

person to represent that he is entitled to such a permit

when he is not so entitled, to fail to surrender a permit to

which he is no longer entitled, or to park a vehicle

displaying such a permit at any time when the holder of

such permit is not entitled to hold it. No permit issued

hereunder shall be valid for more than one year, but may

be renewed upon expiration, provided the conditions for

issuance exist.

3. The signs placed in such areas shall be of such

character as to inform readily an ordinarily observant

person of the existence of the rules and regulations

imposing the foregoing restrictions. It shall be unlawful

for any person to violate such rules and regulations.

28a

4. Wherever metered parking is in effect in any

portion of a district that becomes subject to the

restrictions of this paragraph D, the parking spaces

controlled by meters may be excepted from the provision

of this paragraph so long as the control by meters

continues.

5. Nothing in this Section 29.D. shall repeal or

supersede any other provision of law which provides

authority to regulate parking.

00000000000

APPENDIX E

Seal]

UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL

PROTECTION AGENCY

Washington, D.C. 20460

November 18, 1974

Mr. Charles G. Flinn

Assistant County Attorney

Office of the County Attorney

Greely Building

2100 14th Street, North

Arlington, Virginia 22201

Dear Mr. Flinn:

Your letter of September 24, 1974, requested approval

of the Arlington County ordinance regarding on-street

parking in residential areas. The ordinance was submitted

in partial satisfaction of the requirements of 40 CFR

52.2435(c), which requires Arlington County, among

others, to impose on-street parking restrictions on work

commuters in areas of high employment density which

29a

are defined as “‘adequately served by mass transit.“ The

Commonwealth of Virginia is required to sub at for

approval by the Environmental Protection Agency a list

of areas designated as “adequately served.” It was

suggested in the Preamble to 40 CFR 52.2435(c) (Daily

Ed., 38 FR 33706, December 6, 1973) that Crystal City

is such an area, but final designation has not yet been

made by the Commonwealth.

In its present form, Arlington’s ordinance relates only

to residential areas and not to other commercial portions

of Crystal City. Thus, the ordinance will be approvable

only in partial satisfaction of the requirements of 40 CFR

52.2435(c). To comply fuliy with the regulation,

on-street parking would have to be restricted alse in those

portions of Crystal City which are nonresidential, and the

restriction would have to be effective in both commercial

and residential portions from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Mondays

through Fridays.

However, as far as it goes, it is our judgment that the

ordinance can be approved. It appears to be a reasoned

approach to address, among other community needs,

degrading air quality due to excessive commuter parking.

We appreciate the lead Arlington County is taking in

this matter and look forward to full submission following

final designation of “‘adequately served” areas by the

Commonwealth.

Sincerely yours,

/s/Alan G. Kirk II

Alan G. Kirk II

Assistant Administrator for

Enforcement and General Counsel (EG-329)

ec: Mr. Daniel Snyder, Administrator, Region III

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.