Petition — Arado v. United States

Supreme Court brief1977

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLERK

— — ee ee

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBerR TERM, 1976

No. 76-1380

LOUIS ARADO, ET XL.,

Petitioners,

VS.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT.

NORMAN J. BARRY,

ROTHSCHILD, BARRY & MYERS,

Two First National Plaza,

Chicago, Illinois 60603,

(312) 372-2345,

Attorney for Petitioners.

Pill B. KURLAND,

DANIEL D. Po.ssy,

Jos yH A. Morris,

Of Counsel

Gunthorp-Warren Printing Company, Chicago e Financial 6-6565

PAGE

, ¶ ( been 1

PE webebbbenddocespedcendtecescesecnnec 2

, eee eee 2

Constitutional and Stati ory Provisions Involved 2

eee eee eee ee 3

Reasons for Granting the Wit. 6

r eee esse 15

Append A: Opinions of the Court of Appeals Al

Appendix B: Police Sergeant Examination (1973) A63

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED.

Boston Chapter NAACP, Inc. v. Beecher, 504 F. 2d 1017

(Ist Cir.), certiorari denied, 421 U. S. 910 (1975)... 10

Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U. S. 424 (1971)...... 9,13

Hazelwood School District v. United States, No. 76-255,

certiorari granted, 45 U. S. L. W. 346 (January 10,

r 6

Heart of Atlanta Motel, Inc. v. United States, 379 U. S.

. . 7

Local 53, Heat Workers v. Vogler, 407 F. 2d 1047 (Sth

r ˙ —·0—»»W mne 10

Maryland v. Wirtz, 392 U. S. 183 (1969) 7

National League of Cities v. Usery, 426 U. S. 833 (1976). 7

Patterson v. American Tobacco Co., 535 F. 2d 257 (4th

...... v x 10

Rios v. Enterprise Ass n. Steamfitters Local 638 of UA,

ILL 10

Southern Illinois Builders Ass'n. v. Ogilvie, 471 F. 2d

II.. 9

United States v. City of Chicago, Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152,

76-1205, and 76-1344 (7th Cir., January 11, 1977)

United States v. City of Chicago, 411 F. Supp. 218 (N. D.

III. 1976)

United States v. City of Chicago, 395 F. Supp. 329 (N. D.

.... l

United States v. City of Chicago, 385 F. Supp. 543 (N. D.

.es es sss eee eee 4, 14

iii

United States v. International Brotherhood of Electrical

Workers, 428 F. 2d 144 (6th Cir.), certiorari denied.

re eee eee eee e 10

United States v. International Union of Elevator Constru. -

tors, 538 F. 2d 1012 (3d Cir. 1976).............. 10

United States v. Iron Workers Local 86, 443 F. 2d 544

(9th Cir.), certiorari denied, 404 U. S. 94 (1971).... 10

United States v. N. L. Industries, Inc., 479 F. 2d 354 (8th

D een 10

Village of Arlington Heights v. Metropolitan Housing De-

velopment Corporation, 45 U. S. L. W. 4073 (January

%/ͤAAAAAAAA. . 8

Washington v. Davis, 426 U. S. 229 (1976).......... 5,7,8

Wickard v. Filburn, 317 U. S. 111 (1942)............ 7

/

Constitutional and Statutory Material.

United States Constitution, Art. I, S888. 7

United States Constitution, Amendment X............ 7

United States Constitution, Amendment XIV.......... passim

3 OL ER ee ee 2

e EMPTToTTITITT TTT TTT Tee 6,7

eee ese passim

ener. eee eee ee eee ee eee 12, 13

Other Authorities.

110 Cong. r ccnuasees 9

——

Supreme Court of the United States

Octoper Term, 1976

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT.

Petitioners, Louis Arado and the other intervening defend-

ants, respectfully pray that a writ of certiorari be issued to

review the decision in this case of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.

The opinion of the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Illinois is reported at 411 F. Supp. 218

(1976). The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit is as yet unreported, and is reproduced

herein as Appendix A. An earlier interlocutory appeal in this

case was decided sub nomine United States v. City of Chicago,

at 534 F. 2d 708 (7th Cir. 1976), reviewing the district court's

memorandum de ion of April 21, 1975, reported at 395

2

F. Supp. 329 (N. D. Ill. 1975). The district court's still earlier

preliminary injunction order is reported at 385 F. Supp. 543

(N. D. Ill. 1974).

The court of appeals entered its judgment on January 11,

1977. This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U. S. C. § 1254.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED.

1. Whether either Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of

1964 or the Constitution authorizes a federal district court to

order an agency of state government to engage in racial quota

hiring, absent proof of purposeful racial discrimination?

2. Whether Congress authorized the use of racial or ethnic

quotas under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 as a

remedy for unlawful discrimination?

3. Whether the district court's use of the guidelines of the

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission establishes a rule

that mere disproportion in the performance of black and white

police officers taking a promotional examination is conclusively

and irrebuttably presumptive of unlawful discrimination?

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED.

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution

provides in pertinent part:

“Section 1. ... No State shall . . deny to any person

within its jurisdiction the equal protectior. of the laws.

“Section 5. The Congress shall have power to enforce,

by appropriate legislation, the provisions of this article.”

Section 703 of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

provides in pertinent part:

3

“(a) Employer Practices.

866 be ae — pm a a

employer—

(i) to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge any indi-

(2) to limit, segregate, or classify his employees in any

way which would deprive or tend to deprive any individual

various employment practices of the Chicago police depart-

ment. The third of those suits was brought in August, 1973, by

the United States, under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of

1964, 42 U. S. C. §§ 20006¢ er seq. It alleged patterns and prac-

in hiring, assignment, promotion, and discipline. It is in the third

case, and in that case alone, that petitioners intervened as

parties-defendant.

4

high-priority positions on the then-current sergeants’ promotional

eligibility roster, were allowed to intervene as defendants, because

the means by which officers were qualified for entry on this roster

was attacked as invalid by the United States in its lawsuit.

Arado and the other members of his class are the petitioners

herein.

The sergeants’ eligibility roster at issue in the May, 1974,

hearing was filled according to three criteria developed with

LEAA approval: (1) an applicant's seniority; (2) his efficiency

rating in his past and current police work; and (3) the results of

istered by the Chicago Civil Service Commission pursuant to

Illinois law. The examination was prepared in conformity with

LEAA standards. The examination administered in 1973 is the

one at issue herein, and is set forth as Appendix B hereto.

In November, 1974, the district court handed down a

preliminary injunction order which included findings of fact

based on the hearing. The court determined, among other

things, that the City of Chicago had discriminated in promotion

practices. One foundation for this finding was that the city

placed significant reliance on the results of the 1973 sergeants’

examination in deciding whom to promote. The court prelimi-

narily enjoined any further promotioas from eligibility rosters

whose composition was based on the 1973 examination.

On March 10, 1975, trial on the merits of the consolidated

cases was begun in the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Illinois. On January 5, 1976, the court

handed down a memorandum decision, generally reiterating the

findings of discrimination in promotion that it had made in its

November, 1974, preliminary injunction order. (385 F. Supp.

5

543.) One month later, on February 2, 1976, the district court

made its preliminary injunction permanent with respect, inter

alia, to sergeants’ promotions, and further established a racial

was allowed, but not required, to make use of persons on the

1973 eligibility roster in making its non-quota promotions.

On January 11, 1977, the United States Court of Appeals for

the Seventh Circuit affirmed this decision. It said:

6

black and white examinees; a greater proportion of white officers

than of black officers taking the examination passed with a high

score. The applicable seniority standards and efficiency ratings

were not found to be discriminatory. (App. A at 17, n. 12.)

Although petitioners presented evidence that the examination

was both construct-valid and content-valid according to the exist-

ing norms of professional testing, this evidence was rejected on

the ground that the validation procedures followed by the city

were inadequate under the testing guidelines of the Equal Em-

ployment Opportunity Commission. Both lower courts accorded

to those guidelines the force and effect of law. The examination

itself, as this Court will observe, contains virtually no matter

other than questions concerning proper police procedures.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.

This case presents three constitutional questions which, by

virtue of the great number of cases in the federal courts to

which the questions are relevant, are of extraordinary im-

portance. This first is whether a finding of unlawful employ-

ment practices under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

may be sustained as to an agency of state government without

proof of purposefully discriminatory acts.* The second is

whether, assuming that some act prohibited under Title VII has

been proved, the imposition by a district court of mandatory

racial quotas is a permissible remedy. The third is whether the

courts can create an essentially conclusive presumption of dis-

crimination by faulting defendants’ failure to comply with

E. E. O. C. guidelines for “validating” examinations which are

impossible to meet.

1. Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as originally

enacted, did not apply to state and municipal government em-

ployers; applicability of these provisions to the states came only

in the Equal Employment Opportunity Act of 1972, 42 U. S. C.

* This question is now before the Court in Hazelwood School

District v. United States, No. 76-255, certiorari granted 45 U. 8.

L. W. 3463 (January 10, 1977).

J

§ 2000(d) and (e). This extension of the Civil Rights Act does

not expressly state that public and private employers should be

subject to different substantive standards under Title VII. Never-

theless, this conclusion unavoidably emerges from interpreting

the statute in the light of National League of Cities v. Usery,

426 U. S. 833 (1976).

The Civil Rights Act of 1964 generally rests on two con-

stitutional bases—the Commerce Power of Art. I, § 8 of the

Constitution, and §5 of the Fourteenth Amendment. The

breadth of Congress’ power under the Commerce Clause is, of

course, great. See Wickard v. Filburn, 317 U. S. 111 (1942);

Heart of Atlanta Motel, Inc. v. United States, 379 C. S. 241

(1964). Nevertheless, as a matter of federalism under the Tenth

Amendment, this Court has made it clear that the Commerce

Power does not teach the terms and conditions on which state

governments hire, promote, and compensate their employees.

National League of Cities v. Usery, 426 U. S. 833 (1976),

overruling Maryland v. Wirtz, 392 U. S. 183 (1968). It

follows, accordingly, that Section 5 of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment must be the basis, and the only possible constitutional basis,

on which to rest the extension of the terms of Title VII to state

and local government pursuant to the Equal Employment Op-

portunity Act of 1972.

Section 5 of the Fourteenth Amendment provides: “The Con-

gress shall have power to enforce, by appropriate legislation, the

provisions of this article.” In order to determine the meaning

of Title VII as applied to state government, it is therefore neces-

sary to inquire what substantive rights are protected by the

Fourteenth Amendment and, in particular, Section 1 thereof.

Last Term, in Washington v. Davis, 426 U. S. 229 (1976),

this Court made it clear that “the basic equal protection prin-

ciple lis] that the invidious quality of a law claimed to be

racially discriminatory must ultimately be traced to a racially dis-

criminatory purpose.” 426 U. S. at 240. And while the Court did

not insist that “the necessary discriminatory racial purpose must

be express or appear on the face of the statute,” 426 U. S. at 241,

it did declare that mere evidence of race-linked disparities in

examination performance does not, in itself, establish a prima

facie constitutional violation. Again, this Term, the Court

stressed that differential racial impact is not in itself proof of a

constitutionally-prohibited discrimination. Village of Arlington

Heights v. Metropolitan Housing Development Corporation,

U. S. 45 U. S. L. W. 4073 (January 11, 1977).

These holdings have a singular importance in this case, for

here it cannot be argued that any racially motivated purpose-—

whether overt or covert—was present. The Court of Appeals for

the Seventh Circuit so held:

There is no evidence in the record before us that the Chi-

cago Police Department engaged in purposeful discrimina-

tion. .4 . Accordingly we hold that the hiring and promo-

tion policies of the Chicago Police Department did not

violate the Constitution. (App. A at 30.)

If there were no purposeful discrimination by the City, then there

cannot be a basis in the Fourteenth Amendment for the district

court to prohibit the administration of the selection and pro-

motion examinations themselves, let alone for contriving the

extensive relief decreed in this case.

2. Even if purposeful discrimination had been shown, how-

ever, the remedies selected by the district court here and en-

dorsed by the court of appeals are unauthorized by the Civil

Rights Act. Indeed, they are obviously contrary to the provisions

of Title VII itself. The key element in the district court’s remedy

was the mandatory racial and ethnic quota: a certain percentage

of new promotions must be reserved for persons of a particular,

specified race or national origin. Yet Title VII makes it an un-

lawful employment practice for an employer to prefer or

punish an employce on account of his skin color or the accident

of his ancestry. And § 703(j) amplifies this rule by forbidding

the use of preferential hiring policies to change the “racial bal-

ance” of an employer's workforce. In Griggs v. Duke Power

~~

9

Co., 401 U. S. 424, 430, 431 (1971), this Court pointedly

observed that Title VII:

does not command that any person be hired simply because

he was formerly the subject of discrimination, or because

he is a member of a minority group. Discriminatory pref-

erence for any group, minority or majority, is precisely

and only what Congress has proscribed.

Actions that would constitute a violation of the Civil Rights

Act if done by an employer cannot be denatured and legiti-

mated just because they were ordered by a federal court. Con-

duct forbidden to employers by Title VII because it constitutes

racial discrimination is certainly not entrusted by this Title to

district courts as a remedy for racial discrimination. On the

contrary, the Civil Rights Act contemplated precisely the op-

posite result. This point was made clear by Hubert H.

Humphrey, the Whip of the Senate majority at the time of the

passage of the 1964 Civil Rights Act, and that statute’s floor

manager and chief draftsman as well. In defending proposed

Title VII to his colleagues, Senator Humphrey stressed:

Contrary to the allegations of some opponents of this

title, there is nothing in it that will give any power to the

Equal Employment Opportunity] Commission or to any

court to require hiring, firing, or promotion of employees

in order to meet a racial “quota” or to achieve a certain

racial balance.

That bugaboo has been brought up a dozen times, but

it is nonexistent. In fact, the very opposite is true. Title

VII prohibits discrimination. In effect, it says that race.

religion and national origin are not to be used as a basis

for hiring and firing. Title VII is designed to encourage

hiring on the basis of ability and qualifications, not race

and religion. (110 Cong. Rec. 6549 (1964).)

Tacitly recognizing the illicit character of mandatory racial

quotas under Title VII, a number of federal courts which have

imposed this remedy have sought to disguise the true nature

of their action by the use of such gingerly euphemisms as

“numerical objectives,” Southern Illinois Builders Association

v. Ogilvie, 471 F. 2d 680, 686 (Ich Cir. 1972), “preferential

10

relief,” Patterson v. American Tobacco Co., 535 F. 2d 257,

273 (4th Cir. 1976), or, more simply, “goals,” Rios v. Enter-

prise Ass'n. Steamfitters Loc. 638 of U. A., 501 F. 2d 622, 629

(2d Cir. 1974). Emboldened by the use of such mandatory

quotas in at least nine circuits“ and perhaps by this Court's

refusal thus far to review the imposition of such relief, the court

of appeals here has abandoned the modesty of circumlocution

and declared without pretense that mandatory quotas are an

allowable remedy under Title VII (App. A at 32-33). In the

light of the language and purpose of Title VII, and the un-

ambiguous clarity of its legislative history,** this holding by the

court of appeals is little less than judicial legislation, not com-

plementing, but contradicting, the Act of the Congress.

3. The 1973 sergeants’ examination of the Chicago police

department is one of the most carefully designed and construct-

validated standardized examinations ever used by an employer.

It corresponds to the requirements for such tests set out by

the Law Enforcement Assistance Administration of the Depart-

ment of Justice. The examination does not include questions

* First Circuit: Boston Chapter, NAACP, Inc. v. Beecher, 504

F. 2d 1017, 1026-28; certiorari denied, 421 U. S. 910 (1975);

Second Circuit: Rios v. Enterprise Association Steamfitters Local

638 of U. A., 501 F. 2d 622, 628-31 (1974);

Third Circuit: United States v. International Union of Elevator

Contractors, 538 F. 2d 1012, 1017-20 (1976);

Fourth Circuit: Patterson v. American Tobacco Co., 535 F. 2d

257, 273-74, certiorari denied, 45 U. S. L. W. 3330 (October 29,

1976);

Fifth Circuit: Local 53, Heat Workers v. Vogler, 407 F. 2d 1047,

1053-54 (1969);

Sixth Circuit: United States v. International Brotherhood of Elec-

trical Workers, 428 F. 2d 144, 149-51, certiorari denied, 400 U. S.

943 (1970);

Seventh Circuit: Southern Illinois Builders Assn. v. Ogilvie, 471

F. 2d 680, 686 (1973);

Eighth Circuit: United States v. V. L. Industries, Inc, 479 F. 2d

354, 377 (1973);

Ninth Circuit: United States v. lronworkers Local 86, 443 F. 2d

544, certiorari denied, 404 U. S. 984 (1971).

** This legislative history is epitomized by J Hays in his

dissenting opinion in Rios, supra, 501 F. 2d at 634-636.

11

meant to test “aptitude,” “attitude,” or any such elusive qualities

supposed to make for success as a police sergeant. Instead, the

examination confines itself exclusively to matters of law and

established police policies and procedures which the City insists

be mastered by anyone performing the duties of police sergeant.

The relevance of this information on law, policy, and pro-

cedure was not assumed or left either to “common sense” or to

chance. The examination was not drafted until a comprehensive

job analysis of a sergeant’s duties was performed by the Chicago

Civil Service Commission, which required four man-years to

complete. It included, in addition to numerous on-the-job obser-

vations, interviews with 147 active sergeants, drawn from all

geographic districts of the City and representing every field

of police work. From these observations and interviews, the

Commission identified 137 separate operations or jobs which

police sergeants must perform; these operations were further

organized into a dozen “critical task” categories. From this

analysis, an examination was prepared by professional psycholo-

gists on the Commission’s staff. Each question on the resulting

examination was then double-checked, that is. analyzed by the

Commission staff in order to verify that it did in fact address

matters substantially related to one or more of the “critical

tasks” that had previously been identified. .

The examination set out in Appendix B hereto was the out-

come of these efforts. Every question is directed to some matter

which has been found by painstaking empirical research to be

germane to the police sergeant’s work. Who is responsible for

notification of the hospital when an absconded mental patient is

apprehended? (Question 5.) If an off-duty police officer is

involved in a tavern brawl, might he be liable for civil damages

under the federal civil rights laws? (Question 19.) When may an

officer not search or seize an arrestee? (Question 55.) Must a

supervisor's approval be secured before police dogs may be sum-

moned to the scene of a crime? (Question 66.) Does an arrest

for attempted suicide require the preparation of a case report?

(Question 72.)

12

If the City is entitled to insist that its sergeants actually be

familiar with such elementary details of their jobs, it surely

entails no excessive leap of logic to conclude that candidates

who know that patrolmen are authorized by department policy

to summon police dogs to the scene of a crime on their own

initiative, or who know that the watch commander is the person

responsible for notifying a hospital that an escaped mental

patient has been arrested, will be able to answer these questions

correctly; and that, contrariwise, candidates who do not know

the answers for purposes of the examination will not know

them in practice on the job. The examination is thus “construct-

valid,” and fully corresponds to the most exacting professional

standards for such validity.

The district court, however, found that the test had not

been validaied by a measurable criterion relationship. Criterion-

related validation—the validation technique preferred by the

guidelines of the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission,

29 C. F. R. § 1607.5(a)—may be accomplished by one of

two possible strategies, the “predictive” or the “concurrent.”

The predictive strategy requires the promotion examination to

be administered over a period of years on an essentially experi-

mental basis. Promoiions would be made disregarding candi-

dates’ examination scores. Eventually, after several years’ ex-

perience, the performance of the sergeants on the examination

would be correlated with some presumably-valid criterion of

actual performance on the job in order to determine whether

there existed a significant statistical correspondence between

the two.

The “concurrent” strategy, the one followed by the City

with respect to this examination, produces faster results than

the predictive strategy. This technique calls for the administra-

tion of the examination to existing incumbents to determine

whether scores on the examination bear some regular relationship

to aciual performance on the job, as ascertained by some presum-

ably-valid criterion of performance. The evidence of concurrent

validity of this examination showed not only that there was

13

a statistically significant relationship between the test scores

and the performance criterion, but that when the examination

was given to 176 sergeants, half of them black and half of them

white, and matched for age and performance ratings, the exami-

nation did not produce a disparate racial impact. Sergeants of

both races did equally well.

The district court refused to accept the construct-validity of

the examination, however, and did not credit the City’s evi-

dence of a concurrent relationship between the scores on the

test and some criterion of on-the-job performance. The court

left it unclear, moreover, what evidence might be received to

rebut the presumption of discrimination which arises when an

examination produces an adverse impact on candidates from

minorities protected by Title VII. It suggested, however, that

prediction “of performance on the job . is the test we are

to apply in testing the testers.” 411 F. Supp. at 238.

The court of appeals approved of this holding on the apparent

premise that it was based on the City’s failure to meet the

requirements of the E. E. O. C. guidelines on tests of this sort,

29 C. F. R. Part 1607. This is an enigmatic holding indeed, for

the guidelines clearly do authorize the use of construct-valid

tests, 29 C. F. R. § 1607.5(a); and indeed, this Court has said

that an examination is acceptable under Title VII if the traits

which it was designed to test are “significantly correlated with

important elements of work behavior.” Griggs v. Duke Power

Co., 401 U. S. at 433, n. 9 (1971). There seems to be little

question that the sergeants’ examination does, in fact, test for

knowledge of police policy and procedure. The issue would then

appear to be whether it is lawful for the City to insist on sergeants

knowing this information, when the need for such knowledge has

been empirically established beforehand, although this insistence

produces a performance disparity along racial lines. Neither

court below could cite any authority for the proposition that

this insistence is unlawful; and indeed, no such authority exists.

Race-linked examination performance disparities, in and of

themselves, were not prohibited by Title VII. Only examina-

14

tions which cannot be shown to have a relationship to the job

for which they are administered are banned. It is thus apparent

that the dissatisfaction of the courts below with the sergeants’

examination was the City’s failure to bear the burden of per-

suading that knowledge of police department policies—and not

just any policies, but those which have been systematically ob-

served to be part of a sergeant’s job—is a skill related to the

business of being a police sergeant.

When the lower courts’ holdings descend to this level of ten-

dentiousness and cavil, it seems appropriate to ask whether there

has not been introduced into Title VII a clause which Congress

never enacted—that racial disparities in examinatio perform-

ance conclusively show the existence of employment practices

prohibited by Title VII.

The elimination by the lower courts of examinations validated

as in this case will have paradoxical results. If the City were to

rely solely on a relationship between the examination scores and

some asserted index (or “criterion” ) of actual performance, what

would that criterion be? If police sergeants’ performance were

easily quantifiable, a non-controversial criterion might be easy to

find—batting average, number of tons processed, number of sales

made. But given the variability and complexity of a sergeant's

job, the only criterion which is available for use is the com-

posite judgments of other policemen, that is, efficiency ratings.

However, both the E. E. O. C. guidelines, 29 C. F. R. § 1607.5(4),

and the trial court below, 385 F. Supp. at 560, recognized that

such performance ratings are themselves “highly subjective” and

unusually vulnerable to contamination for racial bias. It is in

order to avoid, and to ameliorate, this possibility of contamina-

tion by bias that a construct-valid examination was chosen in the

first place. The criterion-validation evidently required by the

courts below, then, is as subject, or more subject, to challenge

for racial bias as the validation procedure primarily relied upon

by the City here.

©

a ey

-@ + w*

The practical effect of the court of appeals’ judgment is es-

sentially to rule that examinations of this sort—paper-and-

pencil examinations, as they were characterized by the trial court

may never be used if they produce a disparate racial impact.

This, in spite of evidence showing the manifest relationship of

the examination to the sergeant's job, in spite of evidence that

the questions on the examination were conceived from racially-

neutral data, and in spite of the incontrovertible fact that no

other method of merit selection for promotion—including selec-

tion by means of a criterion-valid examination—would be so

free of racial bias. In such circumstances, it is fair to conclude

that racially-disparate performance on the examination is what

the courts below find objectionable; and there is no warrant,

in Title VII or in any other provision of law, for any such rule.

CONCLUSION.

For the foregoing reasons, this petition for a writ of certiorari

should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Norman J. BARRY,

Roruscum p. Barry & Myers,

Two First National Plaza,

Chicago, Hlinois 60603,

(312) 372-2345,

Attorney for Petitioners.

Pini B. KURLAND,

DANIEL D. Posey,

JosEFH A. Morris,

Of Counsel.

*“#APPENDIX

*

Al

In the

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205. & 76-1344

UniTeD STATES OF AMERICA, et al.,

Plaintiffs-A ppellees,

City Or CHICAGO, et al.

Defendants-A ppellants.

Appeais from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Illinois. Eastern Division

No 73 C 2080—Prentice H. Marshall, Judge

ARGUED JUNE 14. 1976—Decipep JANUARY 11. 1977

Before FAIRCHILD, Chief Judge, SWYGERT and PELL,

Circuit Judges.

Re 41 — . ed case * — —

eivil rights action ye nging emp t

practices of the Chicago Police Department. The district

court in its Jan 5, 1976 memorandum decision

found that the utilized by the Police Department

in hiring and promoting police officers resulted in

discrimination against blacks, Hispanics, and women in

violation of federal civil rights statutes and the Con-

stitution. On February 2, 1976 the court entered a final

order which enjoined those employment practices found

to be discriminatory, — numerical hiring and

promotion quotas, and continued its injunction against

A2

2 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

payment of federal revenue sharing funds to the City of

Chic pending compliance with the court's order. The

defendants cha lenge both the court's findings of dis-

crimination and its choice of remedies.

|

We will briefly review the proceedi in the district

court, which have been thoroughly detailed i previ

reported decisions. : N —

On September 9, 1970 Renault Robinson, a black

Chicago police officer, and the Afro-American

Patrolmen's N filed a complaint against the

Superintendent of Police, the City of Chicago, and the

members of the Police Review Board charging raciai

discrimination in the assignment, tion, and di

cipline of Chicago police officers.* Robinson plain-

tiffs sought declaratory and injunctive relief and

damages under the first, fifth, thirteenth. and

the Civil, Rights "Acts of 1506 men See: and under

; cts o a 1871, S.C.

§§ 1981 and 1983. a

A second action was brought on 13, 1973

the City, the Superintendent of Police and the Chicago

Civil Service Commission and its Secretary by Tadeo

Robert Camacho and ten blacks and Hispanics who were

unsuccessful applicants for positions as Chicago police

officers. The Camacho plaintiffs challenged the full

range of departmental ices with recruit-

ing. pcrecning. and hirve ! connie | ied eae 42

U.S.C. §§ 1981 and 1985, the fourteenth amendment.

' United States v. City of Chi 411 F. Su 18 (N.D. Ill

1976); 395 F. Supp. N. B. Tl. 1975); 388 9. 543

renn F. Sen 85

The is an association formed by members of the

Chicago Police De t to represent interests 1

1 officers the black — — = ieee

. original complaint. which also challenged

Separate hiring practices, was dismissed by the 12

) anon ied — &

allegations with respect to hiring. „ ——

A3

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 3

and Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

(which had been amended and licable to

municipalities in 1972), 42 U.S.C. § 2000(d) and (e).

A third suit was filed August 14, 1973 by the United

States against the City, the Superintendent of Police,

and the Chicago Civil Service Commission alleging a

— and practice of discrimination within the

hicago Police Department against blacks, Hispanics,

and women in the hiring, assignment, promotion, and

discipline of police * Government t

relief under Title VII, under sections 1981 and 1985,

and under the anti-discrimination guidelines and

regulations of the Department of Justice and the Law

Enforcement Assistance Administration, 28 C.F.R.

§§ 42.201 et seg. and 42.301 et seg. U plaintiffs’ joint

motion, the three cases were consolidated in the district

court before Judge Prentice H. Marshall.

An evidentiary hearing on plaintiffs motion for a

reliminary injunction commenced on May 30, 1974.

Plaintiffs sought to restrain further hiring by the City

from the patrolman’s eligibility roster and furtner

promotion to the rank of sergeant from the sergeant's

eligibility roster. The patrolman’s eligibility roster was

based on the results of the 1971 patrolman’s examination

given by the Chicago Civil Service Commission and a

series of physical and medical tests. The sergeant’s

eligibility roster was based on the results of the 1973

sergeants examination given by the Commission, de-

partmental efficiency ratings, and seniority. Plaintiffs

amy 1. F ——— as a as f r criteria

u ice Department in hiring an con

— — discriminated against blac Hispanic

candidates. In addition, the Government sought prelim-

inary relief against the disparate treatment of women

within the Department. Just prior to the hearing, Louis

Arado and other police officers who held positions on the

1973 sergeant’s eligibility roster were permitted to

intervene as defendants.

The limi injunction hearing consumed seven-

teen trial days. During the hearing, consent decree

was entered which resolved challenges to the Police

Ad

4 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

Department's physical and medical requirements. On

November 7, 1974 the district court issued findings of

discrimination in hiring and promotion and preliminari-

3 enjoined the defendants from utilizing practices that

iscriminated against minorities and women. The court

also specifically prohibited any further hiring or promo-

tion from eligibility rosters based on the 1971

patrolman’s and the 1973 sergeant’s examinations. Rely-

ing on representations by the City that a new

patrolman's examination was being developed, the court

declined to impose any preliminary hiring or promotion

quotas.

A fourth action alleging employment discrimination in

the Chi Police Department was filed on February 7,

1974 in the district court for the District of Columbia

against the Secretary of the Treasury and the Office of

Revenue — In this action plaintiffs Robinson. the

Afro-American Patrolmen's League, and the National

Association for the Advancement of Colored People

sought to enjoin further payment of revenue sharing

funds earmarked for the City of Chi under the State

and Local Fiscal Assistance Act of 1972, 31 U.S.C.

1221 et seg. They all that a substantia! portion of

unds paid to the City of Chicago under the Act were be-

ing allocated to the Police Department, that the Police

Department was engaged in discriminatory employment

practices, and that payment of further funds to the City

was consequently prohibited the nondiscrimination

rovision of the Act, 31 U.S.C. § 1242. This suit was

rought because the plaintiffs were dissatisfied with the

response of the Secretary and the Office of Revenue

Sharing to an administrative complaint filed in

September 1973.

On May 29, 1974 the Secretary responded to the ad-

ministrative complaint and recommended to the At-

torney General, pursuant to 31 U.S.C. § 1242(b), that he

bring a civil suit against the City. Government

The details of these „ are set out in the distriet

court's decision in 395 F. Supp. and in our own decision in

2 981 4 in this case, 534 F.2d 708 (7th

ir. .

ors

A5

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 5

accepted this recommendation on May 30, 1974 b

amending its complaint in the Northern District of II-

linois to allege violations of the Fiscal Assistance Act.

The District of Columbia district court then initially

denied the requested injunctive relief on June 28, 1974,

reasoning that the Secretary had already fulfilléd his

statutory duty. Following entry of the preliminary in-

junction against the Chicago defendants in the

— in the Northern District of Illinois,

owever, the District of Columbia court reconsidered

panes motion for injunctive relief. In reliance on

udge Marshall's findings. the court on December 18,

1974 enjoined further payment of revenue sharing funds

to the City until such time as the Secretary and

the Office of Revenue Sharing determined that the

Police Department was in compliance with the non-

discrimination 1 1 of the Fiscal Assistance Act.

Subsequently the City intervened in the Distriet of

Columbia proceedings and unsuccessfully sought

modification of that court’s order. The action was then

transferred at the City’s request from the District of

Columbia to the Northern District of Illinois, where it

was consolidated with the other cases pending against

the City. In the following months, the district court

twice denied motions by the City to modify the order

forbidding payment of revenue sharing funds.

While the parties litigated the revenue sharing ques-

tion, the original actions moved forward. After extensive

negotiations, all interested parties consented to an in-

terim hiring agreement that permitted the City to hire

six hundr lice officers from the 1971 patrolman’s

and the 1972 police woman's matron's lists in three

groups of two hundred, with one hundred positions in

each group to be filled by minority male candidates,

thirty-three by women, and the remaining sixty-seven

by white males. The court approved the agreement on

December 16, 1974. The City then notified the first

group of two hundred to report to the police training

academy on January 6, 1975. However, on January 2 the

City unilaterally suspended the interim hiring agree-

ment and instructed the * notified applicants

not to report for training. On March 10, the opening day

A6

6 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205. & 76-1344

of the trial on the merits. the City announced, again

unilaterally, a new examination for patrol officers and

a program for the appointment of temporary sergeants

not be selected from the 1973 sergeant's list. Plaintiffs

moved to enjoin the promotion of temporary sergeants,

but this motion was denied on June 6. The court,

however. did grant in part the motion of the Camacho

plaintiffs to compel compliance with the interim hirin

agreement. On April 21 it ordered the City to proc

with the suspended hiring of the two hundred applicants

previously notified. It declined, however, to enforce the

remainder of the agreement because of the City’s

assurance that results of the new patrolman’s examina-

tion soon would be forthcoming.

The trial on the merits in the four consolidated cases

vegan on March 10, 1975. Prior to trial the court allowed

the intervention as plaintiffs of Carolyn Burauer and

other named individuals who aspired to become police

officers anc who charged that they had been the victims

of discrimination because they were women. It also per-

mitted Roy Isakson and others who held positions on the

1971 patrolman’s eligibility roster to intervene as defen-

dants. All parties agreed that evidence adduced at the

evidentiary hearing on the motion for a preliminary

injunction would be considered as part of the trial on the

merits pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. Gia 2)

On January 5, 1976 the district court entered a

memorandum decision reaffirming in most respects the

preliminary findings of discrimination in hiring and

promotion made in its November 1974 decision. It found

no discrimination, however, in the Police Department's

procedures governing promotion to the rank of lieute-

nant and found no racial discrimination in the

Department's assignment of personnel. It deferred final

decision on the allegations of discrimination in discipline

and on the pe.sonal claims of the Robinson plaintiffs.

In its implementing order of February 2, the district

court made permanent the —— aspects of the

preliminary injunction. To fill immediate vacancies in

patrol officer ranks, it ordered the hiring of four

A7

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 7

hundred patrol officers pursuant to the uncompleted

rtion of the interim hiring agreement and authorized

urther hiring from the 1971 patrolman's list and the

1972 policewoman’s/matron’s list in accordance with the

racial and sexual percentages specified in that agree-

ment. The court also permit the appointments of

temporary sergeants to be made permanent.

In addition, the court imposed racial and sexual

quotas on future hiring and promotion as a long term

goal to remedy the past effects cf discrimination. It

required that at least sixteen percent of new patrol

officer vacancies be filled by women and that at least

forty-two percent of those vacancies be filled by black

and Spanish-surnamed men. The City was permitted,

though not required, to utilize persons remaining on the

1971 and 1972 rosters in filling vacancies after these

quotas were satisfied.

The court further ordered that forty percent of the of-

ficers promoted to sergeant be black or Spanish-

surnamed. The City was allowed at its option to use the

1973 roster in determining who would be promoted

after this guideline was met.

Finally, the court continued the withholding of federal

revenue sharing funds until the City brought itself into

compliance with the nondiscrimination provision of the

State and Loca! Fiscal Assistance Act. It ordered the

parties to submit proposed timetables for the release of

those funds subject to action by the City to cease its dis-

criminatory conduct and comply with the court's order.

II

As a preliminary matter, the defendants contend that

the Robinson complaint must be dismissed for lack of

subject matter jurisdiction.’ The Robinson complaint

alleged general federal question jurisdiction under 28

There is no jurisdictional issue with respect to the other

laintiffs, since they all y= violations of Title VII. The

binson plaintiffs could not bring their action within the am-

bit of Title VII since that statute was not applicable to

municipalities when they filed their complaint in 1970.

AS

—

8 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

U.S.C. § 1331 for violations of the first, fifth, and

fourteenth amendments and civil rights jurisdiction un-

der 28 U.S.C. § 1343(3) for violations of the Civil Rights

Acts of 1866 and 1871, 42 U.S.C. §§ 1981 and 1983. The

district court concluded that no action lay for violation

of section 1983 against the City or the Police Review

Board since municipal corporations are not “persons”

subject to suit under that provision. City of Kenosha v.

Bruno, 412 U.S. 507 (1973); Monroe v. Pape. 365 U.S.

167 (1961). The court held, however, that jurisdiction

was proper both under section 1331 and under section

1981 through its jurisdictional counterpart, section

1343(3). Robinson v. Conlisk, 385 F. Supp. 529 (N. D. III.

1974). We agree with these conclusions.

The availability of general federal question jurisdic-

tion under section 13317 as an alternative to civil rights

jurisdiction under section 1343 for a plaintiff alleging

constitutional deprivations against a municipal corpora-

tion has been recognized by the Supreme Court and by

this court. City of Kenosha v. Bruno, 412 U.S. at 514;

Calvin v. Conlisk, 520 F.2d 1, 8 (7th Cir. 1975), vacated

on other grounds, 424 U.S. 902 (1976). Section 1331,

however, unlike section 1343, requires the plaintiff to

meet a $10,000 amount in controversy requirement. The

general principle governing dismissal for want of

jurisdictional amount is that, unless the law gives a

* 42 U.S.C. § 1983 provides:

Every person who, under color of any statute, ordinance,

a. custom, or usage, of any State or Territory,

subjects, or causes to be subjected, any citizen of the

United States or other person within the jurisdiction

thereof to the deprivation of any rights, privileges, or im-

munities secured by the Constitution and laws, shall be

liable to the party injured in an action at law, suit in

equity, or other proper proceeding for redress.

28 U.S.C. § 1331 provides in pertinent part:

(a) The district courts shall have original jurisdiction

of all civil actions wherein the matter in controversy ex-

ceeds the sum or value of $10,000, exclusive of interest

and costs. and arises under the Constitution, laws or

treaties of the United States.

AS

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 9

different rule, the sum claimed in good faith by the

laintiff at the time of filing controls. St. Paul Mercury

ndemnity Co. v. Red Cab Co., 303 U.S. 283, 288 (1937);

Calvin v. Conlisk, 520 F.2d at 9. The district court con-

cluded that Robinson satisfied this test by alleging in

good faith that he had lost $30,000 in pay because of the

defendants’ discriminatory acts. The court also found

that the requirement was met by the good faith allega-

tions of the Afro-American Patrolmen’s League that it

had suffered damages of $100,000 because defendants’

discriminatory acts discouraged membership in and

support for the League.

The City contends, however, that because the plaintiffs

asked for damages only from the Superintendent of

Police and merely requested injunctive and declaratory

relief against the City and the Police Review Board, sec-

tion 1331 jurisdiction is improper with respect to the

City and the Board. We reject this argument. In a suit

seeking injunctive relief, the amount in controversy is

the value of the right to be protected or the extent of the

injury to be prevented. 1 Moore’s Federal Practice {

0.96 [3.-1] at 939. The Robinson plaintiffs have alleged

that discriminatory practices by the City will, unless en-

joined, cause them future damages well in excess of

$10,000. This is enough to satisfy the statute.

The district court alternatively found that subject

matter jurisdiction with respect to the claims made

against the City and the Board could be grounded on

section 1981* through section 1343(3), its jurisdictional!

counterpart, which has no amount in controversy re-

quirement. We agree. As the court noted, the lan N

purpose, and legislative history of section 1981 differ

substantially from those of section 1983. Unlike section

Section 1981 provides:

All persons within the jurisdietion of the United States

shall have the same right in every State and Territory to

make and enforce contracts, to sue, be give

evidence, and to the full and equal benefit of all laws and

proceedings for the security of persons and property as is

enjoyed by white citizens, shall be subject to like

yg penalties, taxes, licenses, and exactions

of every kind, and to no other.

Al

10 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

1983, which requires action under color of state law, sec-

tion 1981, intended to enforce the thirteenth amend-

ment, prohibits all racial discrimination which deprives

any person of the “full and equal benefit of all —

Runyon v. McCrary, 44 U.S. L. W. 5034, 5037 (U.S. June

25, 1976); Jones v. Alfred H. Mayer Co., 392 U.S. 409,

37-44 (1968). The exception from liability for munic-

ipalities that can be discerned from the legislative

history of section 1983 is absent in the langu or

history of section 1981.“ Moreover, it would be

anomalous to hold that section 1981 proscribes racial

— — — * F actors but not by

municipalities. See Ma 8 . aham, 378 F. .

913, 917 (E.D. Pa. 1974). * Supp

III

We turn now to the merits of this case. The district

court held that the employment practices of the Police

Department discriminated against racial minorities and

women in violation of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of

1964 and the equal protection clause. We shall evaluate

the court’s conclusions with respect to each of these

sources of law proscribing discrimination.

In reviewing the court’s decision, we are bound under

Fed.R.Civ.P. 52(a) to accept findings of fact unless they

are clearly erroneous. Stewart v. General Motors Corp.,

542 F. 2d 445, 449 (7th Cir. 1976); Prince v. Packer Mig.

The City has cited cases in which an action brought against

a municipal corporation under both sections 1981 and 1983

was dismissed for want of jurisdiction without separate con-

sideration of the section 1981 claim. See Flood r. Margis, 461

F. 2d 253, 256 (7th Cir. 1972); Hampton v. City of Chicago, 484

F.2d 602 (7th Cir, 1973); Percy v. Brennan, 284 F. Supp. 800

S PD. N.Y. 1974). These cases merely held that a municipality

is not a — within the meaning of the Civil Rights Act,

citing Monroe, City of Kenosha, or Moor v. County of

Alameda, 411 U.S. 693 (1973). Because those cases construe

section 1983, not section 1981, and because section 1981 in fact

does not even speak in terms of a “person” as a defendant, we

> a — we * bound by previous * — in which

gave no consideration to the quite di

and history of section 1981. 8 W

All

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 11

Co., 419 F.2d 34, 36 (7th Cir. 1969). The statement that

discrimination exists for the pur s of establishing

liability under Title VII or under the Constitution,

however, is as much a conclusion of law as a finding of

fact. A distinction must be drawn between subsidiary

facts to which the “clearly erroneous” standard applies,

and the ultimate fact of discrimination necessary to

trigger a statutory or constitutional violation, which is

the decisive issue to be determined in this litigation. See

Stewart v. General Motors Corp., 542 F.2d at 449 (Title

VII); East v. Romine, Inc., 518 F.2d 332, 338-39 (5th Cir.

1975) (Title VII). Accordingly, we will make an indepen-

dent examination of whether the Police Department's

employment practices, as a matter of law, were

— under Title VII or the equal protection

clause.

A. THE MECHANICS OF HIRING AND PROMOTION WITHIN

THE CHICAGO POLICE DEPARTMENT

Hiring and promotion within the Chicago Police

Department is governed by state law. The Illinois

Municipal Code, Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 24, § 10-1-7, provides

that applicants for positions in a municipal police force

must take competitive examinations. The statute states

that “[sJuch examinations shall be practical in their

character, and shall relate to those matters which will

fairly test the relative capacity of the persons examined

to discharge the duties of the positions to which they

seek to be appointed, and shall include tests of physical

qualifications and health, and when appropriate of

manual skill.” A roster of eligible candidates is then to

be Poa from the results of the examinations, with

rank on the roster to be determined by each candidate’s

scores. The roster is to include “the persons whose

= average one upon examination. . is not

ess than the minimum fixed by the rules of. . [the]

commission, and who are otherwise eligible.” III. )

Stat. ch. 24, § 10-1-12. When a vacancy occurs, it must

be filled by the candidate standing highest on the roster.

Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 24, § 10-1-14. A person’s name may be

struck from the eligibility roster after two years. Id. If

more than one examination is given within two years,

Al2

12 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

however, or if the administering commission gives

another examination after two years without striking

from the roster the names of those remaining from the

old examination, rank on the roster is to be determined

by relative excellence without reference to the time of

examination. Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 24, § 10-1-12.

Pursuant to these statutory commands, the Chicago

Civil Service Commission periodically administered a

patrolman's eligibility examination to individuals who

met certain age, height, weight, and residency re-

quirements. The examination from which appointments

were being made at the time the Government filed suit

was administered on December 4, 1971. It was a two-

hour written examination containing 120 multiple choice

questions designed to test vocabulary, grammar, word

choice, arithmetic, and verbal and mathematical reason-

ing. Those who received a passing score on the written

examination were required to submit to a physical and

medical examination. The names of applicants who

passed the physical and medical screening were then

posted on a patrolman’s eligibility list in rank order ac-

cording to their scores on the written test.

Whenever the Police Department needed patrolmen,

the Commission supplied a list of names from the top of

the eligibility list. The Department then conducted a

background investigation of the individuals whose

names had been 3 An applicant was disqualified

and removed from the eligibility list if the investigation

proved that he had made false statements to the Com-

mission or violated its rules in connection with his

application or his examination, that he had ever been

discharged from public employment for cause, or that

evidence established his “bad character, dissolute habits,

or immoral conduct.”

The Municipal Code similarly provides that

promotional rosters must be based on competitive ex-

aminations, as well as “ascertained merit” and seniority.

Vacancies must be filled by one of the three candidates

at the top of the roster, and a high-ranking candidate

cannot be passed over more than twice. Candidates can

be struck from the promotional roster after two years if

——

Al3

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 13

there are no existing vacancies. III. Rev. Stat. ch. 24.

§ 10-1-13.

The Chicago Civil Service Commission accordingly re-

quired patrolmen who sought promotion to the rank of

sergeant to take a written examination. The examina-

tion at issue in this case was administered on August 18,

1973, and contained one hundred multiple choice

— designed to test a candidate's knowledge of

epartmental regulations and procedures, and his judg-

ment in situations that might confront a police sergeant.

An eligibility roster was then derived from a weighted

combination of scores on the written examination (sixty

percent), recent patrolman efficiency ratings (thirty

percent), and points for seniority (ten percent).

who achieved a composite score of seventy were placed

on the roster in rank order according to their composite

scores. Promotions were to be made from the top of this

list as positions became available.

The Illinois Municipal Code makes no distinction

between the sexes in providing procedures for hiring

and promotion to municipal police forces. Nonetheless.

the Police Department has always maintained sexually

segregated procedures for hiring and promotion. For the

purposes of this case, the hiring of women was based on

the 1972 policewoman's matron's list, derived from a

separate examination. Based on the record, there

appears to have been no organized procedure governing

the promotion of women within the Department.

B. TitTLe VII

1. GENERAL PRINCIPLES

The basic legal standard to be utilized in litigation un-

der Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C.

2000e et seg., was developed by the Su Court in

Ss . Power Co., 401 U.S. 424 (1971), and

amplified in Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S.

405 — In Griggs, the —— 4 that a test .

employment or promotion having a disproportionately

adverse effect on black applicants was unlawful under

Title VII unless it was demonstrably related to job per-

formance. The Court stated:

Al4

14 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

The Act proscribes not only overt discrimination

but also practices that are fair in form, but dis-

— in operation. The touchstone is business

necessity. If an employment practice which

to exclude Negroes cannot be shown to be re to

iw performance, the practice is prohibited. 401

S. at 431.

Therefore, a prima facie case of discrimination is es-

~ ap — 2 — 1 tests in soe

tion se applicants for hire or in à rac

pattern signi! icantly different from that of the pool of

applicants.” Albemarle, 422 U.S. at 425; Stewart v.

neral Motors Corp., 542 F.2d at 449. — such a

showing of disparate effect on minority applicants,

burden shifts to the employer to show “that any gi

requirement {has} a manifest relationship to the employ-

ment in question, and Gat te nperty be Be pretest

of nondiscriminatory factors.” Griggs, 401 U.S. at 432;

Stewart, 542 F.2d at 450. Where employment tests are at

issue, courts have often required an employer to prove

job-relatedness by evidence that the tests have been

“validated” g accordance with the Guidelines issued by

the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

the professional — Be of the American

chological Association that the Guidelines 0

6.9. v. Hampton, 512 F.2d 976, 986 (D.C.

18757 United States 1. Georgia Power Co., 474 F.2d 90

913 (5th Cir. 1973). The Supreme Court has held that in

considering evidence of job-relatedness the EEOC

Guidelines are entitled to oe ee = ad-

ministrative interpretation i agency

desi to enforce it. See Albemarle, U.S. at 430-

31; Gri 401 U.S. at 433-34.

Moreover, - Title VII explicitly 7 ibits —¥--

ll as raci iscrimination, see ips v. Martin

Marietta Corp., 400 U.S. 542 (1970), the standards laid

down in Griggs should be pplied when sex, as well as

race, is at issue. See Bowe v. Colgate, Palmolive Co., 489

F.2d 896, 900 (7th Cir. 1973).

7 Guidelines on Employment Selection Procedures, 29

CFR § 1607 T1 — 1 Association, Standards

for Educational and Tests and Manuals (1966).

Pay:

See.

Cir.

906,

Al5

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 15

2. RaciAL DISCRIMINATION

The district court, in applying these standards, per-

manently enjoined further hiring and promotion from

the 1971 man's and the 1973 sergeant's eligibility

rosters. This decision was based on the court's findi

that the 1971 patrolman’s examination, the

Departments background investigation, and the 1973

sergeant's examination each had an adverse impact on

minority candidates and that these selection devices had

not been shown to be job-related. Based on an indepen-

dent review of the record, we hold that the district

court's conclusions were correct.

a. DISPROPORTIONATE IMPACT

Hiring. The district court found that thirty-four per-

cent of the total pool of applicants taking the 1971

patrolman’s examination were black or Hispanic, but

that only ten percent of the candidates actually hired

from the 1971 roster at the time its use was suspended

were members of those minority groupe. In analyzing

the evidence, the court also examined separate com-

ponents making up the hiri process within the

Chicago Police t, and determined that each of

them had a discriminatory impact. We find the court's

factual findings to be supported by substantial evidence

and hold that the disparity produced by

of these components is enough to establish a prima facie

case that the Department's em nt practices were

discriminatory in violation of Title VII.

The district court first looked at comparative success

on the 1971 patrolman’s examination and found that

blacks and ~——— failed at twice the rate of white

applicants.!! endants contend that this evidence is in-

icient to show discrimination because intiffs

failed to show that the disproportionate ilure rate

Al6

16 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

conceives the legal standard to be utilized in deter-

mining whether a prima facie case of discrimination ex-

ists within the meaning of Title VII. Plaintiffs did not

need to show that the examination was devised with the

intent to exclude racial minorities or that a direct causal

relationship exists between an applicant's race and his

applicants as a group: at that poi burden

be on the City t demonstrate chet the 22

fact tested related qualifications. See Griggs, 401

4789, 4794 (U.S. June 8, 1976). „

Second. the distriet eourt found that the Department's

background investigation disqualified a significantly

greater percentage of minority applicants then white

applicants. For example, blacks were disqualified at

twice the rate of white applicants because of a previous

arrest record and at three times the rate of white

applicants because of a tive employment record.

Since 1968, 25.7 percent of black applicants who un-

derwent background investigations were disqualified as

groups. While black

proximately five-thirds

about eight-sevenths the rate of the black group.

latter figure is less impressive than the former one

the rurposes of establishing discriminatory impact.

the background screening in finding that the

Department's employment practices were dis-

criminatory. The court utilized the disparity in screen-

ing results. however, only in conjunction with other

evidence in reaching its conclusion. It was certainly en-

titled to do this, whether it viewed the statistics in terms

— — —

Al7

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 17

Garry or failing. See Green v. Missouri Pac. R.R.,

F.2d 1290, 1294-95 (8th Cir. 1975). Moreover, the

court's ultimate finding was based on the percentage of

white applicants ly hired in contrast to the per-

centage of minority applicants hired. This emphasis on

selection rather than disqualification conforms with the

defendants’ wishes.

Promotion. The district court's finding that the use of

the 1973 sergeant’s roster had an adverse impact on

minority ps is also supported by substantial evi-

dence. the 6,555 patrolmen who took the 1973

sergeants examination, 1,298 were black or Hispanic.

While 1,918 patrolmen achieved a passing composite

score of seventy by combining their examination score

and points for efficiency ratings and seniority, the -

ties agreed, based on previous experience, that only four

hundred of those who passed had any chance for promo-

tion. Only twenty-nine of these first four aundred men

were black or Hispanic. Thus, 2.23 percent of the

minority candidates taking the examination had a prac-

tical chance of being promoted, compared to 7.07 per-

cent of the white candidates.“ We with the dis-

trict court that a prima facie case of discrimination can

be based on this disparity.

Defendants mount two principal attacks on the validi-

ty of these statistics. First, they assert that the

difference between the average performance of black

and white candidates on the written examination is too

slight to support an inference of discrimination. This

argument misses the point, for it is the impact of the ex-

amination on the racial composition of the first four

hundred finishers, not the average impact, that is

significant. The ultimate question is whether substan-

tially fewer minority men than white men

were promoted to the rank of t. average

scores are irrelevant in answering question.

ionate impact on minority applicants is at-

tributable to written examination since the district court

found neither the efficiency ratings nor the seniority fac-

tor had an appreciably differential impact on minorities.

Als

18 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

Second, defendants attack the district court's reliance

on combined statistics for blacks and Hispanics, conten-

ding that separate statistics indicate that Hispanic can-

didates for promotion in fact were as successful as

whites on the examination both in terms of pass rate

and practical success rate. Even assuming that this con-

tention is correct, however, plaintiffs have still made out

a prima facie case that the examination produced a dis-

criminatory impact. If black and Hispanic candidates

are considered separately, the adverse impact which the

testing procedure had on blacks is even more

striking: roy | 1.77 percent of the black candidates,

compared to 7.07 percent of the white candidates, made

the top four hundred places on the roster. Defendants’

argument only goes to the appropriateness of including

Hispanics in the remedy to be imposed to correct dis-

crimination in promotional practices.

b. JOB-RELATEDNESS

The defendants attempted to justify the use of the

selection and promotion practices that excluded minori-

ty candidates at disproportionate rates b introducing

Statistical studies and expert opinion evidence urpor-

ting to establish the job-relatedness of the challenged

devices. The district court found that the validity stu ies

offered by defendants failed to comply with ihe re-

uirements of the EEOC Guidelines and APA Stan-

ards for test validation and that defendants’ experts

failed to establish that any of the selection and promo-

tion devices were demonstrably job-related.

On appeal the defendants seek to challenge the district

court's conclusions by relitigating the probativeness of

the evidence introduced and rejected at trial. The find-

ings of the trial court with respect to this evidence—

Statistical studies and the testimony of expert

witnesses—are perfect examples of subsidiary facts to

which the clearly erroneous standard applies. As this

court has observed, “[t}he resolution of evidentiary con-

flicts is the precise function for which our trial courts sit

land it] is “y | necessary for us to determine on review

whether the findings supporting the 1 — have an

evidentiary base.” Harry Alter Co. v. Chrysler Corp.,

Al9

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 19

: 8, 906 (7th Cir. 1961); Prince v. Packer Mfg.

Co, “io 820 34, 36 (7th Cir. 1969). We should reverse

the district court's findings only if, with due deference

to the trial judge's resolution of conflicting evidence and

to his determination of credibility, we are left with the

definite and firm conviction that a mistake has been

committed. Guzman v. Pichirilo, 369 U.S. 698, 702

(1962). We conclude that no mistake has been made and

affirm the findings of the district court.

The 1971 Patrolman’s Examination. Defendants

sought to show that the 1971 patrolman's examination

was job-related through the testimony of an outside ex-

pert commissioned by the City to conduct a validity

study of the 1971 examination.“ This was a “criterion

validity” study designed to determine whether scores on

patrolman's entry examinations correlated with subse-

quent performance on the job measured by criteria

selected to indicate job success.“ Comparisons were

made between success on the examinations and four

criteria: (1) patrolman efficiency ratings, (2)

43 rt principally relied on results of the 1970 pa-

1. amination. which was accepted by the court *

the parties as the substantial rr of the 1971 test. Me

note that the 1970 examination had the same disproportionate

effect on minorities as the 1971 examination, disqualifyin

blacks at the rate of 77 percent, Hispanics at 70 percent, an

whites at 42 percent.

ve Court nas recently described the

ee — methods for validating employment

tests:

ional standards developed by the [APA Standards,

— —1 note 10] accept three basic methods of

validation: ‘empirical’ or ‘criterion’ validity

(demonstrated by identifying criteria that indicate

successful job performance and then correlating test

scores and the criteria so identified), ‘construct’ validity

(demonstrated by examinations structured to measure the

degree to which job applicants have identifiab

characteristics that have been determined to be important

in successful job performance), and ‘content’ validity

(demonstrated by tests whose content closely 17

imated tasks to be performed by the cant).

(Emphasis added). Washi v. Davis, 44 U.S.L.W. 4789,

4794 n. 13 (U.S. June 8, 1976).

A20

20 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

departmental awards, (3) disciplinary actions, and (4)

performance on sergeant’s promotion examinations and

actual promotion to command ranks. Although the

defendants’ expert testified that this study established

the validity of the patrolman's examination, we are per-

suaded that the district court properly rejected this

evidence under the governing EE Guidelines. Com-

pliance with these Guidelines is generally required ab-

sent some showing that a cogent reason exists for ron-

compliance. United States v. Georgia Power Co., 474

F.2d 906, 913 (5th Cir. 1973).

The correlations between the examinations and each

criterion failed to meet minimum professional re-

quirements. The study showed no correlation between

test performance and disciplinary actions. There was

some correlation with efficiency ratings, but it did not

reach the level of statistical significance required by the

EEOC Guidelines to ensure it was attributable to some

factor other than chance. See 29 C. F. R. § 1607.5(c)(1).

The study did discover a small but statistically signifi-

cant correlation between test performance by white

applicants and departmental awards, but found no cor-

relation for that criterion with respect to black

applicants. The EEOC Guidelines require, where

technically feasible, that an examination separately

validated for both minority and nonminority candidates.

29 C. F. R. 5 1607.5(bX5). The Supreme Court in

Albemarle cited this Guideline with approva!. 422 U.S.

at 435. See also Rogers v. I. Paper Co., 510

F.2d 1340, 1350 (8th Cir.), vacated on other nds, 423

U.S. 809 (1975); Georgia Power Co., 474 F. 2d at 913-14.

Since an adequate minority sample made differential

validation in this study technically feasible, the

Guidelines were not satisfied.

The only valid correlation revealed by the study was

between success on the patrolman’s examination and

subsequent success on the sergeant's examination,

28 to ya ag to command ranks. Under the

EE Guidelines, however, promotability is a proper

criterion for validation only where the “great majority”

of employees can expect promotion within a “reasonable

AZ2l

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 21

period of time.” 29 C. F. R. § 1607. 44e“). This approach

was endorsed by the Supreme Court in Albemarle. 422

U.S. at 434. The district court found thai only four hun-

dred out of twelve thousand patrolmen could expect pro-

motion within a reasonable time.“ negating the impor-

tance of any correlation between performance on the

two examinations. Moreover, the EEOC Guidelines

discount promotability as a valid criterion when the

potential of employees to os high level jobs will

change over time. 29 C. F. R. § 1607.4(c)(1). This would

certainly be the case with a patrolman’s ability to

perform command duties, because some patrolmen will

gain more from experience than others.

The study suffers from a further inadequacy in that it

failed to comply with 29 C. F. R. § 1607.5(b)(3), which re-

quires that the criteria used to predict job performance

“must represent major or critical work behaviors as

revealed by careful job analyses.” See Albemarle, 422

U.S. at 432 n. 30. As the APA Standards note:

[T]he logie of criterion-related validity assumes

that the criterion possess validity. All too often,

tests are validated against any available criterion

with no corresponding investigation of the criterion

itself. The merit of a criterion-related validity study

depends on the appropriateness and quality of the

criterion chosen .... Criterion-related validity

studies based on the ‘criterion at hand’ chosen more

for availability than for a place in a carefully

reasoned hypothesis, are to be deplored. APA Stan-

dards at 27.

No job analysis of the position of patrolman was con-

ducted before the 1971 examination or the 1974 validity

study, indicating that the criteria used in the study were

This statistic is supported by the accepted evidence that

only fifty to one hundr trolmen are promoted to the rank

of sergeant each year. fendants challenge the statistics

relied on by the district court and cite statistics indicatin

that the ratio of promoted persons to patrolmen is one to 3.5.

Even these statistics, however, do not establish that the “great

majority” of patrolmen can expect promotion and that promo-

tion will occur within a reasonable time.

A22

22 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

in fact chosen for their availability rather than because

they would accurately predict job performance. The

Civil Service Commission’s Secretary, Dr. Pounian.

testified that a job description of several paragraphs

was maintained and updated from time to time, but this

was not introduced into evidence. Furthermore, both the

efficiency ratings and the 1973 sergeant's examination

which the study used as criteria of job performance

were found by the district court not to be job-related.

Defendants, relying on the Supreme Court’s recent

decision in Washington v. Davis, 44 U.S. L. W. 4789 (U.S.

June 8, 1976), assert that the district court erred in re-

jecting evidence that performance on the patrolman’s

examination correlated with success in the police train-

ing academy as proof of job-relatedness.!’ The Supreme

Court in Washington held that under the nondiscrimina-

tion statutes applicable in that case,“ a police depart-

ment may use an entry test that predicts success in a re-

quired training program even if that test is not shown to

predict job performance. Although the applicability of

the Court's holding to cases arising under Title VII is

not clear,’* even if a relationship between examination

performance and police academy performance would be

enough to establish job-relatedness for Title VII pur-

poses, we do not read the district court’s opinion as ex-

pressing a finding that such a relationship exists.

16

Although the court eventually concluded that the efficien-

cy ratings were not discriminatory, that conclusion was based

on the absence of a clear disparate impact rather than on con-

vineing evidence of their reliability as measures of job perfor-

mance.

7 In its Costeien granting the preliminary injunction, the

district court stated:

Finally, Defendants sought to show a correlation between

the results of the 1971 patrolman’s exam (and earlier ex-

ams) and performance in the police academy. Again one

would expect a correlation between performance on

written exams. But significantly, defendants established

no corresponding correlation between academy perfor-

mance and patrol job performance. 385 F. Supp. at 556.

D.C. Code § 1-320; see also the Federal Civil Service Act. 5

L.S.C. § 3304a.

See 44 U.S. LW. at 4800-01 (Stevens. J. concurring).

A23

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 23

Moreover, we cannot find convincing proof of this

relationship in the record before us. The only evidence

that would support such a finding is testimony by Dr.

Pounian at the preliminary injunction hearing that

studies in the 1960's showed some correlation between

earlier patrolman examinations and training academy

success. No studies, however, were ever introduced into

evidence. Mere testimony that a test has been validated,

without a record of validation, is insufficient to prove job

relatedness. Albemarle, 422 U.S. at 428 n. 23; 29 C. F. R.

§ 1607.4(a). We therefore conclude that the evidence was

insufficient to establish a relationship between success

on the 1971 patrolman's examination and performance

in the police training academy.

The Back nd Investigation. The district court

found that the Department's background investigation,

which disqualified applicants for employment without

written regulations, standards, or guidelines, was not

demonstrably related to job performance. Defendants

assert that a background investigation to determine the

fitness of individuals to serve in responsible positions of

authority as municipal police officers is job-related on

its face. We recognize that careful screening through in-

vestigation of an applicant’s background can be a useful

device in determining whether an applicant has the per-

sonal qualities required of a police officer. But we are

persuaded that the district court properly concluded

that the particular 1 .— investigation devised

and administered by the Chieago Police Department did

not achieve that purpose.

2 In their supplemental briefs, defendants rely on a section

of the 1972 ow Enforcement Assistance Administration

Report on discrimination in the Chicago Police Department

that cites a 1968 study by the Department showing a correla-

tion between entry examination success and scores on tests

given in the training academy. The LEAA Report, however,

was offered into evidence by plaintiffs over defendants’ objec-

tion and was admitted on a limited basis upon a stipulation by

the parties. The section on which defendants now seek to rely

was not part of the stipulation and consequently was not

before the district court nor before us on appeal.

A24

24 Nos. 76-1115, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

The Department’s background investigation

procedures required disqualification of applicants who

evidenced “bad character, dissolute habits or immoral

conduct.” At trial, however, the administrative chief of

the Department’s investigation section was unable to

define these criteria. The evidence showed that as part

of the background investigation the Department in-

quires into an applicant’s social status, financial condi-

tion, arrest and driving records, military, employment

and educational background, and the arrest record of

his family. Yet no evidence indicated what specific

negative information in these areas would trigger dis-

qualification. Moreover, as the district court correctly

noted, courts have found disqualification or discharge in

private sector employment to be impermissible when

based on several of these factors. See, e. g., Gregory v. Lit-

ton Systems, Inc., 472 F.2d 631 (9th Cir. 1972) (arrest);

Wallace v. Debrorn Corp., 494 F.2d 674 (8th Cir. 1974)

(financial condition); Johnson v. Pike Corp., 332 F. Supp.

490 (C.D. Cal. 1971) (financial condition).

Job-relatedness can only be determined where the

criteria for selection are clearly identified. Here, the

vagueness of the governing criteria and the defendants’

failure to offer any articulable standards to guide the

application of these criteria make it impossible to deter-

mine whether the background investigation actually

served to select applicants according to real differences

in job-related qualifications. See Afro-American

Hatrol mans League v. Duck, 503 F.2d 294 (6th Cir.

1974). Accordingly, the district court did not err in

holding that defendants failed to demonstrate that the

background screening procedure as administered by the

Police Department was job-related.

The 1973 Sergeant's Examination. At the

preliminary injunction hearing, defendants introduced

expert testimony and statistical evidence which pur-

ported to establish the concurrent validity and the con-

*: Concurrent validation is a form of criterion-related valida-

tion. See note 14 supra. Two types of criterion-related valida-

tion are professionally recognized: (1) predictive validation,

(Footnote continued on following page)

A25

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 25

tent validity?? of the 1973 sergeant’s examination. To

support a finding of concurrent validity, defendants

offered into evidence a study conducted by Dr. Pounian,

who administered the 1973 sergeant’s examination to

176 incumbent Chicago police sergeants? and then com-

puted the correlations between their scores and their

most recent departmental efficiency ratings. Dr. Pou-

nian testified that his computations established the con-

current validity of the sergeant’s examination. His

testimony was supported at trial by defendants’ expert

Dr. Philip Ash, who performed additional computations

based on data from Dr. Pounian’s study.

The district court rejected their conclusion because

the study failed to meet the EEOC Guidelines. This find-

ing was based on substantial evidence and we affirm it.

First, the use of efficiency ratings as the sole criterion

against which the test was validated was defective un-

der the Guidelines in view of the court’s finding that

those ratings did not accurately measure job perfor-

mance.** See 29 C. F. R. §§ 1607.50b 3) and (el). The

continued

in which test scores are compared with subsequent perfor-

mance on criteria selected to measure job performance,

and (2) concurrent validation, where test scores are com-

pared with current performance on job criteria. APA Stan-

dards at 26. While predictive validation is preferred, “data

obtained in a concurrent study may be used to estimate the

predictive validity of a test.” Id.

An examination has content validity if the content of the

examination matches the content of the job.” Vulcan Society v.

Civil Service Commission, 409 F.2d 387, 395 (2d Cir. 1973).

See note 14 supra; APA Standards at 28.

The 176 sergeants included 88 black/white pairs matched

according to age and efficiency ratings.

There was a good dea! of testimony revealing the vagaries

of the Departments means of measuring efficiency. See

Supp. at 560-61. The efficiency ratings were supposed to be

computed from a checklist of separate ratings for quantity of

work, quality of work, and other specified indicia of job per-

formance. Defendants’ experts computed correlations for each

of these ratings as well as for the overall rating. However

supervisors often assigned the overal! efficiency score an

then manipulated the ratings for each factor to conform to

that score. Thus, the specific ratings gave no better indication

of actual job performance than the overall ratings.

A26

26 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

entire rationale of a criterion-related study requires that

the criterion with which test results are compared be a

good measure of job performance. APA Standards at 27.

Second, even assuming the validity of the criterion

used, the results of the study did not show any cor-

relations for blacks at levels of practical significance.

See 29 C. F. R. § 1607.5(c\(2). As we have already noted,

the EEOC Guidelines require that an examination be

validated for both minorities and whites. 29 C.F.R.

§ 1607.5(b)(5). We do not consider this uirement a

mere technicality. See Albemarle, 422 U.S. at 435.

Where a test excludes minorities from promotion at

disproportionate rates, those who use the test must show

that its use enhances their ability to predict job

rformance for minorities as well as whites and thus

egitimately excludes minorities because of deficiencies

in their qualifications for the job.

The district court also found that the validity of the

study was undermined by serious problems as to Dr.

Pounian’s credibility. That finding is supported by sub-

stantial evidence and we will not disturb it.

The defendants further attempted to show that the

sergeant's examination had content validity as well as

concurrent validity. In support of a finding of content

validity, Dr. Pounian testified that a comprehensive job

analysis was developed in preparation for the 1973 ex-

amination. From this analysis a sergeant’s task list was

drawn up, and these tasks were broken down into six

areas to be covered on the examination: personnel

supervision (twenty-five percent); community relations

(ten percent); investigatory skill: (ten percent); crowd

control and special events (five percent); laws, rules, and

regulations (twenty percent); and judgment (thirty

percent). Dr. Pounian also testified that the items on the

examination bore a direct relationship to the tasks

performed by police sergeants in each area.

The district court found that the sergeant’s examina-

tion lacked content validity, based on evidence derived

from the concurrent validity study. Defendants’ claim of

content validity required them to show that the tasks on

A27

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 27

the examination substantially represented equivalent

tasks on the job.?“ Yet the evidence indicates that incum-

bent sergeants performing successfully in their —1

did not score well on the examination, even though it

consisted of questions that allegedly tested functions

which they perform regularly on the job. The concurrent

validity study showed that when the 1973 sergeant's ex-

amination was administered to incumbent sergeants

who were performing satisfactorily, their average score

was only fifty-three percent, just two percent more than

the average patrolman’s score of fifty-one percent. The

district court noted that the average sergeant could not

have made the practical cut-off point on the sergeant’s

roster even with maximum seniority and a perfect one

hundred percent efficiency rating.

In view of the conflicting evidence, the district court

was not required to accept the conclusions of defendants’

experts that the examination was valid. See Vulcan

Society v. Civil Service Commission, 490 F.2d 387, 397

(2d Cir. 1973). The court could properly conclude that

the evidence of the poor performance of incumbent

sergeants on the examination instead demonstrated that

it was not content valid.

3. SEXUAL DISCRIMINATION

The unchallenged findings of the district court present

a clear pattern of sexual discrimination in the Chicago

Police Department. Women in the Department have

been traditionally segregated into separate positions as

policewomen or police matrons. The number of these

positions has been severely limited. In August 1973 only

115 women held sworn positions within the .

which employed at that time approximately 13.500

sworn personnel. At the time of the preliminary hearing

in 1974, this number had increased to only 160, or about

one percent of the Chicago police force. Policewomen

and police matrons were principally assigned duties

2 The EEOC Guidelines provide that evidence of the content

validity of an employment test may be accepted as evidence of

job relatedness for tests “that consist of suitable samples of

the essential knowledge. skills or behaviors composing the job

in question.” 29 C. F. R. § 1607.5(a).

A28

28 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

relating to the processing and custody of female

risoners and certain duties in the Youth Division.

‘omen were not entitled to compete on the patrolman’s

entry examination nor assigned to patrol work. Only two

women held command positions in the Department, and

their authority extended only to other women.

established policies and practices continued after the

1972 amendments to Title VII brought municipalities

within the ambit of that statute. Evidence that women

have been “limited, segregated and classified” in em-

ployment within the department is undisputed in this

case. These — could be justified only by proof

that sex is a bona fide occupational qualification of those

sitions from which women have been excluded. 42

S.C. § 2000e-2(e1); Weeks v. Southern Bell Telephone

and Telegraph Co., 408 F.2d 228, 232 (5th Cir. 1969);

Bowe v. Colgate, Palmolive Co., 416 F.2d 711, 715-16 (7th

Cir. 1969). The City neither asserted nor attempted to

prove that only men could perform the full range of

police duties.

Instead, the City urges reversal of the district court’s

holding that the Department's practices violated Title

VII on the ground that the initiation of a pilot 4

to study the feasibility of female patrol officers following

the 1972 amendments to the Act was a rational ap-

proach” to compliance. Even assuming that the sup-

porters of the 1972 amendments envisioned some grace

period for municipalities to meet the requirements of Ti-

tile VII. however, the district court concluded, and we

agree, that the City’s actions did not exhibit an intent to

promptly and voluntarily end discrimination. Under the

1972 amendments, Title VII became applicable to

municipalities on March 21. 1972, and the Government

brought suit alleging sexual! discrimination on August

14, 1973. Yet not until June 1974 were the first women

experimentally assigned to patrol duties under the pilot

program. Not until April 1975 were women first en-

titled to compete with men on an entry examination for

patrol officer positions. And not until June 1975 did the

City announce a policy of nondiscrimination against

women in Police Department assignments. Moreover,

these latter actions were taken under compulsion of the

court's November 7, 1974 preliminary injunction.

A29

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 29

The City further contends that it has not illegally dis-

criminated against women because there is evidence of

sexual discrimination in other law enforcement agen-

cies. As the district court correctly observed, it is no

defense to a charge of discrimination that not everyone

else is in compliance with the law. We therefore affirm

the district court’s holding that sexual discrimination

within the Police Department violated Title VII.

C. THE EQUAL PROTECTION CLAUSE

The district court stated that:

[the evidence shows that the City defendants

have knowingly engaged in racial and sexual dis-

crimination in employment and promotion within

the Chicago Police Department. Accordingly, they

have knowingly violated the equal protection clause

: oe Fourteenth Amendment. . 411 F. Supp. at

45.

We reverse the district court’s holding of a constitutional

violation as to racial discrimination and remand the con-

stitutional sexual discrimination issue for further

proceedings.

Our disagreement with the district court on the racial

discrimination issue is the result of the Supreme Court's

decision in Washington v. Davis, 44 U.S.L.W. 4789 (U.S.

June 7, 1976), handed down after the district court’s

final order. In Washington, the Supreme Court held that

racial discrimination within the meaning of the equal

protection clause could not be demonstrated solely by a

racially disproportionate impact. Rather, the Court held,

for constitutional purposes it is necessary to show an in-

tent or purpose to discriminate by reason of race. Thus,

the Court has differentiated between the stand

necessary to prove a violation of Title VII and the stan-

dard required under the Constitution. Under Title VII a

disproportionate racial impact remains enough to es-

tablish a prima facie case while under the Constitution

evidence of intention must be proved. 44 U.S.L.W. at

4791-92, 4794.

A30

30 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

There is no evidence in the record before us that the

Chicago Police Department engaged in purposeful dis-

crimination.” The Department merely followed the com-

mand of Illinois law in administering tests which on

their face were racially neutral. When the district court

stated that the City knowingly engaged in racial dis-

crimination, it may have been referring to the fact that

the Department must have been aware of the racially

disproportionate impact of those examinations. Under

Washington, this is not enough to show intent for pur-

poses of the equal protection clause. See 44 U.S. L. W. at

4792-93. Accordingly, we hold that the hiring and

promotion policies of the Chicago Police Department did

not violate the Constitution.

We remand the case to the district court as to the con-

stitutional sexual discrimination issue because the dis-

trict court, equating the equal protection clause with Ti-

tle VII, failed to deal with the difficult problems which

arise when a claim is made that a sex-based classifica-

tion violates the equal protection clause. See, 8

Weinberger v. Weisenfeld, 420 U.S. 636 (1975);

Schlesinger r. Ballard, 419 U.S. 498 (1975); Note, The

Supreme Court, 1974 Term, 89 Harv. L. Rev. 49, 95-103

(1975). On remand, the district court should also face the

question of whether the intent requirement which

Washington imposed on claims of racial discrimination

also applies to claims of sexual discrimination and if so,

whether the plaintiffs have satisfied the requirement in

this case.?

IV

Based on its findings, the district court entered a final

decree designed both to remedy the effects of past dis-

crimination and to ensure that the City will comply with

the law in the future. The City, the individ defen-

This statement is not intended to apply to the individual

= of the Robinson plaintiffs, which are not at issue in this

appeal.

We note that the district court’s consideration of these

issues is contingent upon the willingness of the parties to

further litigate them.

A3l

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 31

dants, and the Burauer plaintiffs have appealed various

aspects of the decree. We shall consider each of their

contentions individually.

A. MANDATORY QUOTAS

The City and the individual defendants challenge the

propriety of the mandatory quotas for hiring and promo-

tion which the district court imposed as long term goals.

The court ordered the City to appoint at least sixteen

rcent females and forty-two percent black or“

panish-surnamed males to fill future patrol officer

vacancies. It also required that forty percent of the

trol officers promoted to the position of sergeant be

lack or Spanish-surnamed. These standards were to be

in force until further order of the court.”

We hold that the district court did not abuse its dis-

cretion in imposing mandatory quotas upon the Police

Department. Under Title VII Congress has equipped the

courts with wide discretionary power to remedy

statutory violations by fashioning the most complete

relief possible. See 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(g); Fra v.

Bowman Transp. Co., 424 U.S. 747, 763-64 (1976);

Albemarle, 422 U.S. at 421. The district court had a

duty to construct a rome 82 — we npn as

far as ible the past effects of discrimination and pre-

vent — in the future. Albemarle, 422 U.S. at

417-18. Moreover, even though Title VII did not become

The decree actually uses “and” rather than “or.” However,

the context makes it clear that the disjunctive form was in-

tended. 0

% In a postdecree order issued September 7, 1976, the dis-

trict court suspended the hiring quotas to allow the City to ap-

point patrol officers from the roster of 1,091 candidates de-

rived from new examinations given by the Department in

1975. The results of that examination, which the district court

found not to have a discriminatory impact against racial

minorities or women, had not been available when the court

entered its final order. Although we are not considering

appeals from the September 7 order as part of this case, we

have ordered that it be made part of the record to ensure that

appeals from the imposition of mandatory quotas contained in

the final decree are not now moot. After considering the

statements of the parties on this question, we hold that the

propriety of the quotas is not a moot issue because they are

still in force as to promotions and because they could be

reinstated as to hiring at any time.

A32

32 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

applicable to the City until 1972, the court had an

obligation to correct the present consequences of dis-

criminatory conduct that occurred before that date.

Robinson v. Lorillard Corp., 444 F.2d 791, 795 (4th Cir.).

cert. dismissed, 404 U.S. 1006 (1971); Local 189, Paper-

makers v. United States, 416 F.2d 980, 987-88 (5th Cir.

1970), cert. denied, 397 U.S. 919 (1971); Quarles v.

Phillip Morris, Inc, 279 F. Supp. 505, 515-16 (E.D. Va.

1968).

At least seven circuits, including our own, have heid

that a court may authorize the use of mandatory racial

or sexual quotas in the exercise of its remedial powers

under Title VII. Southern Illinois Builders Association

„. Ogilvie, 471 F.2d 680 (7th Cir. 1973); Patterson v.

American Tobacco Co., 535 F.2d 257, 273-74 (4th Cir.

1976); Rios v. — 1 ey Local 638, 501 F.2d 622. 628

31 (2d Cir. 1974); United Stotes u. N. L. Industries, Inc.,

479 F.2d 354, 377 (8th Cir. 1973); United States v.

Ironworkers Local 86, 443 F.2d 544, 552-3 (9th Cir.

1971); United States v. Local 38, IBEW, 428 F.2d 144,

149-51 (6th Cir. 1970); Local 53, Heat Workers v. Vogler,

407 F.2d 1047, 1053-54 (5th Cir. 1969). In addition, this

court has held that such preferential relief violates

neither the equa! protection clause nor any provision of

Title VII. Crockett v. Green, 534 F.2d 715, 718 (7th Cir.

1976); Southern Illinois Builders, 471 F.2d at 683-86.

Preferential numerical relief nevertheless remains an

extraordinary remedy, and its use must be justified by

the particular circumstances of each case. In this case

the district court initially rejected numerical relief in its

preliminary injunction order in the hope that a remedy

could be fashioned by agreement of the parties. In its

final order, however, the district court determined that

numerical standards were necessary in view of the are

recalcitrance in voluntarily taking steps to correct the

racial and sexual imbalances within the Police Depart-

ment. In light of the frustrations which the district

court has faced since the beginning of this litigation in

attempting to construct a remedy that did not require

mandatory quotas and its caution in finally imposing

A33

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 33

them, we cannot say that its action was an abuse of dis-

cretion.*

The Burauer plaintiffs also challenge the quotas im-

posed by the district court because, they assert, the re-

quirement that sixteen percent of new appointments to

patrol officer positions be women is both arbitrary and

too low in proportion to the number of female

applicants. There is substance to this contention because

the sixteen percent figure appears to be what was left

after the district court allocated equal quotas of forty-

two percent for both white and nonwhite males. More-

over, 25.9 percent of the applicants for the 1975 patrol

officer’s examination were female.

However, the district court itself noted these problems

in an order issued on March 31, 1976 which is part of

the record in this case. We therefore decline to interfere

with the district court’s discretion until it has had a

chance to correct any underrepresentation of females

that has become apparent since its fina! decree.*!

% Our conclusion that the district court only resorted to the

use of mandatory quotas when no other solution was possible

is buttressed by the September 7, 1976 order in which the hir-

ing quotas were suspended because new testing procedures

yielded nondiscriminatory results. See note 29 supra.

_ We also hold that the district court did not abuse its discre-

tion in. imposing promotion quotas for Hispanics even though

they did as well as whites on the sergeant's examination. in

view of the strong evidence of discrimination against

Hispanics with respect to hiring and their underrepresenta-

tion in command positions, the court may well have deter-

mined that special protection was advisable during the period

of adjustment in the Department's employment practices.

Another reason for not granting specific relief to the

Burauer plaintiffs at this time is that females are not un-

derrepresented on the roster derived from the 1975 examina-

tion, which is the current source for new appointments to the

Department. See note 29 supra.

A34

34 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

B. THE INDIVIDUAL CLAIMS OF THE ISAKSON DEFEN-

DANTS

The Isakson defendants, representing candidates for

patrol officer positions on the 1971 patrolman’s roster,

contend that the district court’s final decree illegally

deprived them of vested rights by permitting the City,

at its option, to disregard the 1971 roster in making new

appointments as long as the mandatory quotas were

met.“ We agree, and vacate this aspect of the decree.

As we have previously noted, the hiring procedure of

the Chicago Police Department is governed by the II-

linois Municipal Code. That statute unequivocally states

that only persons who pass a qualifying examination

may be placed on the eligibility roster for a position

covered by the Code and that hiring for that position

must be hem the eligibility roster, in rank order. III.

Rev. Stat., ch. 24 §§ 10-1-12, 10-1-14. Of course, insofar

as these provisions, as applied, violate the command of

Title VII, their operation must be suspended under the

— clause. Moreover, the City has an affirmative

obligation to develop new tests, within the constraints of

state law, which do not produce illegally discriminatory

results. But the fact that the general testing procedure

set up by the Illinois legislature, as put into practice by

the City, produced results which conflicted with federal

civil rights legislation did not give the district court an

unbridled license to replace the state’s method for selec-

ting police officers with its own. “When a state statute is

assailed because of alleged conflict with a federal law,

the same consideratons of forbearance, the same regard

for the lawmaking power of States, should guide the

judicial judgment as when this Court is asked to declare

The final order, at Part I. subpart 8(b), 411 F. Supp. at

249, laid out the numerical quotas which we have previously

discussed and then went on to state: “So long as they comply

with this requirement of this decree, the Chicago defendants

are authorized to appoint, at their election, but in rank order,

rsons who remain on the eligibility lists based upon the

971 Patrolman's Examination and the 1972 Police-

woman / Matron's Examination.

A35

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 35

a statute unconstitutional outright.” Farmers Union v.

WDAY, Inc., 360 U.S. 525, 546 (1959) (Frankfurter, J.

dissenting). Accordingly, the district court should have

constructed its remedy to preserve as much of the II-

linois statutory scheme as possible.

It failed to do this when it allowed the City to depart

from the 1971 and 1972 rosters in selecting new patrol

officers. It was unnecessary to permit the City to discard

the rosters entirely in compelling it to correct racial and

sexual imbalances in the Police Department. The forty-

two percent of the patrol officers who would be hired

under the decree after the fifty-eight percent quotas for

blacks, Hispanics, and women have been filled must be

— mg from the applicable eligibility rosters, in rank

order.

The Isakson defendants also ask us to hold that per-

sons on the 1971 roster must be hired ahead of persons

on the roster derived from new examinations given by

the Chicago Civil Service Commission in 1975. We

decline to rule on the precedence of the 1971 examina-

tion vis-k-vis subsequent examinations. The district

court’s final order, from which this appeal is taken, was

issued before the results of the 1975 examination were

available. It therefore would be inappropriate at this

point for us to decide the difficult issues of state law

that may arise in determining the rights of persons on

the 1971 roster in light of the existence of the new roster

derived from the 1975 examination.“ We limit our

The decree, while not requiring nonquota patrol officers to

be hired from the rosters, curiously does appear to require

that blacks, Hispanics, and women within the fifty-eight N

cent mandated by the quotas come from the rosters. The

decree states, at Part I, Subpart 8b), 411 F. Supp. at 249

that the quotas shall be followed “subject to the availability of

gualified black, Spanish-surnamed and female applicants.”

Qualified” in this context seems to refer to candidates who

have been listed on an eligibility roster pursuant to Illinois

law. While none of the parties is appealing this portion of the

decree, we note our approval of this requirement.

We again note the existence of the district court’s order of

September 7, 1976, in which it ordered subsequent hiring to

be from the roster derived from the 1975 examinations to the

exclusion of persons on the 1971 roster. A separate appeal

frorn that order has been taken to this court.

A36

36 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

holding in this case to the statement that the City must

utilize the results of some examination given pursuant to

Illinois law in appointing patrol officers.

C. THE INDIVIDUAL CLAIMS OF THE ARADO DEFENDANTS

The Arado defendants, representing patrolmen on the

1973 sergeant's eligibility roster, challenge the portion

of the final order that permitted the City to make per-

manent the temporary promotions to the rank of

sergeant which had been effective since June 1975. The

Arado defendants contend that even if quotas are to be

imposed, the district court erred in allowing the City to

go outside the 1973 roster except to correct racial and

sexual imbalances. For the reasons we stated with

respect to the Isakson defendants, we agree, and vacate

this portion of the final order.

Promotions within the Police Department, like ap-

intments, are strictly govern by the Illinois

funicipal Code. The Illinois legislature has limited

promotions to any position covered by the Municipal

Code to the top three candidates on the relevant eligibili-

ty roster. Ill. Rev. Stat: ch. 24, § 10-1-13. While the dis-

trict court was required under Title VII to suspend this

statutory scheme to remedy illegal discrimination, it

should not have authorized actions contr to the

Municipal Code which were not necessary to achieve this

goal. The temporary appointments to ser t were

made completely at the discretion of the Police Depart-

ment. The Code appears to have been r. exactly

to prevent this exigency. Therefore, we hold that those

appointments cannot be made permanent. Promotions to

sergeant after the forty percent quota has been filled“

— be made from a roster derived pursuant to state

aw.

„ Fulfillment of the forty percent promotion quota, as in the

case of the hiring quota, is subject to the availability of

“qualified” black and Hispanic applicants. Again, this

language presumably directs the Police Department to select

black and Hispanic patrol officers to fill the quota from the

applicable eligibility list—in this case, the 1973 roster.

A37

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 37

D. THE INJUNCTION AGAINST PAYMENT OF REVENUE

SHARING FUNDS

The City defendants finally contend that the district

court exceeded its authority in continuing to enjoin the

federal government from paying the City $76,000,000"

in revenue sharing funds under the State and Local

Fiscal Assistance Act of 1972. We hold that the district

court’s action, based on the Act’s nondiscrimination

provision, was both in tune with the intent of Congress

in enacting the statute and a proper exercise of

equitable discretion in compelling the City to find a

method of hiring and promoting police officers, consis-

tent with state law, that did not discriminate against

racial minorities and women.“

Section 122(a) of the Fiscal Assistance Act. 31 U.S.C.

§ 1242(a), states:

No person in the United States shall on the grounds

of race, color, national origin, or sex be excluded

from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or

be subjected to discrimination under any program

or activity funded in whole or in part with funds

made available under [the Act].

Tze amount withheld appears to be at least this much. The

district court noted that 895.000.000 might be a more ac-

curate figure while the City claimed that over $114,000,000

has been withheld.

* Congress has recently passed, and the President has

signed. a bill adding amendments to the Fiscal Assistance Act

that specifically grant federal courts the power to withhold

funds for violations of the Act's nondiscrimination provision.

See State and Loca! Fiscal Assistance Amendments of 1976

§ 8. Pub.L. No. 94-488, 90 Stat. 2341. These amendments,

which do not take effect until January 1, 1977, have been

made part of the record in this case. The Robinson plaintiffs

have urged that the amendments clarify the original intent of

Congress to permit the district courts to withhold funds. The

City replies that the fact that Congress amended the Act to

add this power indicates that it did not — exist. We

will not resolve this probably unanswerable question because

in determining that the district courts presently have the

power to withhold funds we do not rely in any way on the

passage of the amendments.

A38

38 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

The district court concluded that the City had violated

this provision, based on the court’s prior finding of

employment discrimination in violation of Title VII and

on the admitted use of federal revenue sharing funds to

pay police salaries. The validity of the district court's

conclusion is buttressed by the regulations issued by the

Secretary of the Treasury under section 142(a) of the

Fiscal Assistance Act, 31 U.S.C. § 1262(a), which state

in pertinent part:

In any program or activity funded in whole or in

part with entitlement funds, a recipient government

may not... subject any individual to discrimina-

tion on the ground of race, color, national origin, or

sex in its employment practices. 31 C. F. R.

§ 51.53(a).

Moreover. these regulations state that the standards to

be used in determining whether employment dis-

crimination exists for purposes of the Fiscal Assistance

Act are ordinarily the same as the standards used by the

EEOC under Title VII. 31 C.F.R. § 51.53(b). Since

regulations promulgated pursuant to rulemaking

authority granted by statute have the force of law, see,

e.g.. Federal Crop Ins. Co. v. Merrill, 332 U.S. 380, 384-

85 (1947), we hold that the district court was correct in

finding that the Department’s hiring and promotional

8 violated the Fiscal Assistance Act as well as

tie .

Therefore, the only issues remaining on appeal are

whether the district court had the power to order the

withholding of the federal revenue sharing funds which

are distributed under the Fiscal Assistance Act because

the Act's nondiscrimination provision had been violated

and whether, even if the court had that power, its action

was a proper exercise of discretion. The question of

power can be resolved by examining the structure of the

Act, as illuminated by the administrative regulations

promulgated under it.

The Act provides alternative procedures for enforce-

ment of section 122. First, the Secretary of the Treasury

must seek voluntary compliance by asking the governor

A39

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 39

of the state where the violation is occurring to correct it.

31 U.S.C. § 1242(b). The Secretary took this required

step in April 1974. See 395 F. Supp. at 334.

If the governor fails or refuses to secure compliance,

the Secretary may either refer the matter to the At-

torney General with a recommendation that an ap-

propriate civil action be instituted, initiate ad-

ministrative proceedings.“ or take ~ other actions

provided for by law. 31 U.S.C. § 1242(b). In this case,

the Secretary pursued the first option, and the Attorney

General followed the Secretary's recommendation by

amending the Government’s complaint to allege violation

of the Fiscal Assistance Act. Under section 122(c) of the

statute, the Attorney General may request “such relief

as may be appropriate, including injunctive relief.” 31

U.S.C. § 1242(c).

In view of this statutory scheme, the power of the dis-

trict court to withhold revenue sharing funds is ap-

parent. The phrase “injunctive relief” in section 122(c)

can have only two possible applications: to the dis-

criminatory conduct itself and to the payment of

revenue sharing funds. It would be anomalous to con-

strue “injunctive relief” to allow a court to directly in-

terfere with the activities of state or local governments

but not to permit the less drastic step of enjoining the

payment of federal funds in an effort to force the non-

complying government to itself choose a means of en-

ding ill discrimination. The former involves a

greater abridgement of state or local autonomy by a

federal court than the latter, and therefore the latter is

to be preferred on federalism grounds.

Moreover, to deny the district court the power to with-

hold revenue sharing funds would seriously cripple it in

its efforts to enforce the nondiscrimination provision and

would be contrary to the established policy of permitting

a court to use the full range of its discretion in fashion-

ing equitable remedies. “When Congress entrusts to an

equity court the enforcement of prohibitions contained

* The administrative proceedings are provided for in Title

VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000d et seg.

A40

40 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

in a regulatory enactment, it must be taken to have

acted cognizant of the historic 114 of equity to

provide complete relief in light of the statutory pur-

poses.” Mitchell v. DeMario Jewelry, Inc., 361 U.S. 288,

291-92 (1960). See also Porter v. Warner Holding Co.,

328 U.S. 395, 397-98 (1946). A court is not limited to

simply prohibiting action in violation of a statute, but

may also require affirmative acts to be taken to assure

compliance. See, e.g., Green v. Connally, 330 F. Supp.

1150, 1177-78 (D.C. D.C. (prom court), affd sub

nom. Coit v. Green, 404 U.S. 997 (1971).

Finally, the regulations promulgated by the Secretary

governing enforcement of the nondiscrimination provi-

sion specifically authorize a district court to withhold

revenue sharing funds in a civil action brought by the

Attorney General.“ In light of the deference which we

must give to the interpretation of a statute by the agen-

cy assigned that task by Congress, as well as the other

factors we have enumerated, we hold that the district

court had the power to withhold revenue sharing funds

in order to secure compliance with the Fiscal Assistance

Act’s nondiscrimination provision.

The City advances two arguments to support its con-

tention that the district court lacked the power to

withhold revenue sharing funds. First, it asserts that

funds may not be withheld unless the state or local

government in question is out of compliance with a court

order, and that it has fully complied with all the affir-

mative requirements of the district court’s preliminary

injunction and final order. As a matter of law, it is

dubious whether a district court’s power to withhold

funds is contingent upon the defendant’s disobedience of

„31 C. F. R. § 51.59(d) states in pertinent part:

Nothing in these regulations is intended to preclude the

United States, in a civil action initiated by the Attorney

General of the United States pursuant to section 122(c) of

the Act, from seeking, or a court from granting, an order

to require the repayment of funds previously paid under

the Act, or an order that the payment of funds under the

Act be terminated or withheld.

44

A4l

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 41

the court’s own injunction or order.“ In addition,

however, the City’s statement that it has fully complied

with the district court's injunction and final order is at

odds with the district court’s finding that “the City

defendants have done virtually nothing to alleviate the

effects of their discrimination” since the issuance of the

preliminary injunction, contrary to the mandate of that

injunction and the Fiscal Assistance Act. See 411 F.

Supp. at 244. The key to complying with the

4 4—— and ending discrimination within

the Police Department was the development of new tests

that would produce nondiscriminatory results. At the

time the district court entered its final order, the City

had not yet demonstrated that it was willing to

construct nondiscriminatory examinations, and the

withholding of revenue sharing funds during the inter-

val between the issuance of the preliminary injunction

and the entry of the final order was properly perceived

by the district court as a necessary tool in prodding the

City toward ending discrimination.

The City relies on Adams v. Richardson, 351 F. Supp. 636

(D.C. D.C.. affd in part. 480 F.2d 1159 (D.C. Cir. 1971) fen

banc), and Lee v. Macon County Board of Education, 270 F.

Supp. 859 (M.D. Ala.) (three-judge court) (per curiam), affd

sub nom. Wallace v. United States, 389 U.S. 215 (1967), as

authority for this proposition. Both of those cases, however,

dealt with the authority of the Secretary of Health, Education

and Welfare to withhold federal funds in the face of a federal

court order. courts in Adams and Lee refused to allow ex-

ecutive branch officials to interfere with the equitable discre-

tion of federal courts in choosing particular remedies to end

discrimination. There are regulations promulgated under the

Fiscal Assistance Art permitting the Secretary of the

Treasury to withhola revenue — funds on his own

authority pending action by a court; following the logic of

— I. that the court has not yet resolved the

uest ion of withholding. 31 C. FR. § 51.59(c). But the power of

the court itself to withhold funds when a state or loca! govern-

ment is subject to a court order enjoining discrimination—

particularly as in this case when the court that seeks to

withhold the funds is the same court that issued the

injunction—presents far different considerations. The danger

of interference with the discretion of the district court enter-

ing 1 —— order designed to end discrimination is

muc

A42

42 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

Furthermore, the district court retained the power to

continue the withholding of funds after it had issued its

final order. Given the recalcitrance of the City in devis-

ing its own remedy, the court could logically require

that portions of the funds be paid out only after the City

had taken steps to comply with the order.

The City’s second argument is that the district court

lacked the power to withhold funds absent a con-

stitutional violation. But as we have already noted, dis-

criminatory conduct which violates Title VII is enough,

without proof of a constitutional infirmity, to establish a

violation of the Fiscal Assistance Act’s nondiscrimina-

tion provision. It would be anomalous to not permit the

district court to enforce that provision, which is itself

statutory, simply because the City has not violated the

Constitution as well as Title VII.

The City also asserts that even if the district court had

the power to withhold funds, it abused its discretion in

doing so in this case. We disagree. The district court has

demonstrated unusual patience with the defendants

throughout the course of this litigation. We have already

alluded to the City’s failure to take affirmative steps to

end discrimination in the Police Department following

the preliminary injunction in 1974. In addition, the

City’s unilateral suspension of the interim hiring agree-

ment and its failure to promptly eliminate purposeful

sexual discrimination in the Department after entry of

the preliminary injunction lend support to the district

court's decision both initially to withhold revenue shar-

ing funds and to continue to withhold them until com-

pliance with its order is assured.

The City further urges that the district court should

only have withheld that portion of the funds allocated to

the Police Department, rather than the entire sum ear-

marked for the City of Chicago, because any discrimina-

tion occurred solely within the Department. The City

relies on Gautreauz v. 457 F.2d 124 (7th Cir.

1972), where this court held a district court could

not enjoin the payment of federal funds to Chicago's

Model Cities because of discrimination in

federally financed activities of the Chicago Housing

Authority.

ee

A43

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 43

The key to the Gautreaux decision was that an insuf-

ficient nexus existed between the failure of the Chi

City Council to approve blic housing sites in

predominantly white areas and payments by the Depart-

ment of Housing and Urban Development to the Chicago

Model Cities program, which was untainted by dis-

crimination. This case presents different facts. In

contrast to the situation in Gautreauz, all of the funds

withheld by the district court were to be paid to one set

of local officials pursuant to one statute. Also, between

1972 and 1974, when payments were suspended, 97.7

percent of the revenue sharing funds paid to the City

were allocated to — safety, with 75 percent of those

funds going directly to the Police Department. Thus, the

relationship between the funds withheld and the dis-

criminatory conduct at issue was considerably closer in

this case than in Gautreaux. Moreover, there was

evidence that if the district court withheld only of

the funds the City might change the allocation of funds

to the Police Department in order to avoid the effects of

the district court’s order. See 395 F. Supp. at 344. Ac-

cordingly, we nold that the district court did not abuse

its discretion in withholding all of the funds earmarked

for the City of Chicago under the Fiscal Assistance Act.

The judgment of the district court is affirmed in part

and reversed in part, and the cause is remanded for

further proceedings consistent with this opinion.

A44

44 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

PELL. Circuit Judge, dissenting.

Being of the conviction that some one hundred

millions of dollars of federal revenue sharing funds were

improperly and needlessly withheld from the City of

Chicago and that what should have been stayed was the

equitable hand of the district court rather than the flow

of essential operating funds to one of the largest

metropolises of this country, I respectfully dissent from

that portion of the majority opinion dealing with the

withholding! of the revenue sharing funds.“

We need not take judicial knowledge of the financial

light of large cities, that is a matter of common

nowledge; yet when a reading of the necessarily

extended opinion written by Judge Swygert is com-

pleted we find that only one paragraph has n devoted

to whether the withholding of this substantial sum

constituted such an abuse of equitable discretion as to

require reversal. Irrespective of whether the district

court had the power it exercised with regard to these

funds, and I generally entertain the idea that a federal

court acting in equity inherently must and does possess

the power to fashion a remedy appropriate to the

accomplishment of proper ends,’ it appears to me from a

review of the reported proceedings that the district

Although the funds were escrowed, the district court re-

fused to place the withheld funds in an interest-bearing

account.

Other than with regard to the withholding issue, I am in

genera! eement with the result reached in the majority

opinion. Although basically confining ay dissent to the matter

of the withheld revenue sharing funds, | will. after discussing

that issue, set forth a few observations which | believe to be

appropriate to other matters raised by the present litigation.

ln an equity case, the nature of the violation determines the

scope of the remedy. Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of

Education, 402 U.S. 1, 16 (1971). This would not appear to me

to be the basis for justifying a remedy where there has been

no violation or justifying a remedy substantially broader than

tnat called for by the violation. *

+ United States v. Cit Chicago, 385 F.Supp. 540 (1974);

385 F.Supp. 543 i974), N 4 329 1973) 411 F.Supp.

218 (1976); 416 F.Supp. 788 (1976); 420 F.Supp. 733 (1976).

(All in the Northern District of Illinois, and all references in

this dissent. unless otherwise noted. to “district court” will be

to that court.)

A45

Nos. 76-1113. 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 45

court, assuming for the sake of the argument that it

ed the power it exercised, prematurely and

improvidently exercised it.

The reported cases referred to above as well as the

majority opinion set forth in considerable detail the

events and happenings in this protracted litigation

which has occupied an inordinate amount of time of the

district court and a substantial amount of time of this

court in its several trips here. Nevertheless, it appears

advisable to me to set forth the salient factors which

apoeee to me to have culminated in the improper action

of withholding.

On April 24, 1974, the district court consolidated

various cases charging discrimination in police depart-

ment practices.“ More than two months prior to that

date, following unsuccessful efforts in administrative

proceedings to cut off the flow of revenue sharing funds

to Chicago (the City) certain of the individual plaintiffs

filed a civil suit in the district court of the District of

Columbia (D.C.) to achieve the same objective. The City

was not made a gt! although it was aware of the

litigation. The D.C. litigation had not been met with

success as of November 7, 1974, at which time Jud

Marshall entered a aay wy injunction in the

Northern District of Illinois.“ The Marshall injunction in

no way was concerned with the matter of the disburse-

ment of revenue sharing funds. Although the D.C.

—— were also plaintiffs in the Northern District of

llinois, where the City was a party, the efforts at

stopping the money to the City were at that time

confined to the D.C. litigation.

The Marshall preliminary injunction that was

— putting it very simply, prohibited further

iring of patrol officers and the advancement of officers

to the rank of sergeant discriminatorily toward females

and black and Spanish surnamed males. The district

court recognized that because of the pending action the

385 F. Supp. 540.

* 385 F. Supp. 543.

A46

46 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

City had refrained from hiring patrol officers and from

promoting officers to the sergeant rank, and that

eventually, the shortage of patrol officers will become

critical in a city the size and complexity of Chicago.“

The court nevertheless was of the opinion that the

injunctive relief “would be required as the only effective

remedy pending development by defendants of valid

testing procedures.“ (Emphasis added.) Nowhere do |

find in the record of this case any persuasive reason for

thinking that if this injunction had been enforced by

normal and traditional means available to equity courts

the desired objective of elimination of discrimination

could not have been achieved without resorting to the

extraordinary procedure of stopping operating funds,

the lifeblood of a complex metropolis, which city in this

case ultimately had to turn to commercial banks for

loans with which to meet the crisis when the federal

funds were in fact stopped.

Further, it is quite clear that the City had no intention

to violate the crisp and explicit terms of the preliminary

injunction. Indeed in the month following its entry, the

parties had reached an agreement which the court

approved on December 16, 1974, for the hiring of police

officers according to a specified schedule. The purpose

of the agreement was to alleviate a critical shortage of

police officers attributable in part at least to the

preliminary injunction.’ It is patent, of course, that those

plaintiffs concerned with non-discriminatory hiring of

lice officers were in agreement that the scheduled

irings were not discriminatorily tainted. Equally

obviously the agreed order did not purport to correct

any existent disproportionment, for the preliminary

injunction was keyed only to future hiring and did not

mandate discharge of existing police officers to achieve

a balance in the existing force. Indeed, the preliminary

injunction itself did not require any one to be hired; it

merely, as stated, enjoined discrimination when hiring

did occur.

Id. at 547.

Id. at 548.

* 395 F. Supp. at 336.

A47

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 47

As of December 16, 1974, the defendants had every

reason for thinking that everyone was well on the way to

an amicable solution to formidable problems. The aim |

—1— of the City based upon examinations whic

ad been thought of as achieving job-related results had

been found wanting by a federal judge who had

determined that the resulting disproportionate impact

required judicial correction in future hiring practices.

Following negotiation by the litigants steps were

outlined for going forward with interim hiring, and in

the meantime work was underway for devising new

examinations which — happily achieve both job-

relatedness and a racially and sexually proportionate

situation.

The rosiness vanished from the picture two days later,

December 18, 1974, when Judge John Lewis Smith, Jr.,

in the D.C. district court entered an injunction enjoining

the Office of Revenue Sharing officials from making

further payments of federal revenue sharing funds to

the City until further order of the court and in no event

until the entry of a final order in the Northern Illinois

litigation with the defendants in that litigation (they

were still not parties in the D.C. litigation) giving

formal assurances of compliance and continuing to

monitor compliance thereafter. Inasmuch as Judge

Smith's injunction was based upon the November 7

decision of Judge Marshall, we must turn to that to

attempt to discern why the D.C. judge thought it

necessary to impose what I regard as an extraordinarily

unitive sanction. There could have been nothing before

udge Smith to show lack of compliance or lack of intent

to compiy with the November injunction; nor was there

any basis for thinking that the final order of injunction,

if one were entered, would be any broader than the

November preliminary injunction. Indeed, the final

injunction was narrower in scope.“

© The district court had preliminarily enjoined the use of

departmental! efficiency ratings based on a finding that they

were 1 — discriminatory. In its final decree the court

reversed itself and found that such efficiency ratings were not

discriminatory. The same is true for assignments within the

department which the court found to be nondiscriminatory.

The court also rejected claims that a 1970 lieutenant's ex-

amination was invalid under Title VII.

A48

48 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

When we turn to the November findings of. Judge

Marshall upon which the withholding injunction of

Judge 1 based, we must note that the judge

who made those findings regarded them only as

establishing “a prima facie case of de facto discrimina-

tion in employment and promotion.“ (Italics in the

original.) The prima facie case was established by the

resultant imbalance which followed the past hiring and

promotion practices and did not rest upon any deter-

mination of an intentional and invidious determination

to discriminate. This imbalance, however, was deemed

sufficient to warrant a preliminary injunction. The

infirm basis that the findings and reliminary injunc-

tion of November constituted for Judge Smith's order is

clearly demonstrated by the following characterization

by Judge Frank in Hamilton Watch Co. v. Benrus Watch

Co., 206 F.2d 738, 742 (2d Cir. 1953):

The judge's lega’ conclusions, like his fact-

findings, are subject w ge after a full hearing

and the opportunity for more mature deliberation.

For a preliminary injunction—as indicated by the

numerous more or less synonymous adjectives used

to label it—is, by its very nature, interlocutory,

tentative, provisional, ad interim, impermanent,

mutable, not fixed or final or conclusive, character-

ized by its for-the-time-beingness. It serves as an

equitable policing measure to prevent the parties

from harming one another during the litigation; to

keep the parties, while the suit goes on, as far as

possible in the respective positions they occupied

when the suit began.

Further, it is to be noted that Judge Marshall rested

the granting of the preliminary injunction on the doubie

prongs of constitutional and statutory deficiency. But as

we now know from the subsequently decided Washing-

ton v. Davis. U.S. ..... (1976), official acts are not

unconstitutional solely because they have a racially

disproportionate impact.

i 385 F. Supp. at 55°

449

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 49

Eventually, after some unsuccessful efforts to remove

the ban on receipt of the revenue sharing funds by way

of collateral attack in the Illinois district court and this

court, the City hied to Washington, as with hindsight it

should have in the first place, and, after unsuccessfully

attempting to secure direct relief there, did secure the

transfer of the D.C. proceedings to the Northern District

of Illinois whereby they became a part of the ongoing

litigation before Judge Marshall. It might appear that

the story was now ready for a happy ending but in the

meantime the City’s expeditious negotiation followin

the November injunction provided the stumbling block

rather than the paving stone to early solution of

problems. Under the December agreed order, which, it

must be understood was not an order emanating from

Judge Marshall to which he secured agreement but was

instead one upon which the parties had agreed and

which the judge then approved, the first group of

applicants were to report for training on January 6,

1975. On January 2, 1975, the Acting Superintendent of

Police issued the following notice:

It now appears unlikely that the federal revenue

sharing funds due on Monday, y <9! 6, 1975, will

be received by the City on that date. Inasmuch as a

substantial portion of these funds was to be used for

the payment of 4 — salaries, the Comptroller has

suggested, and I have directed, that the proposed

hiring of 200 police candidates on Monday, January

6, 1975, be deferred until this matter is resolved in

the pending litigation in the federal court. I have

also directed that the 200 candidates scheduled to

report for training on Monday, January 6, 1975, be

immediately notified of this unfortunate, but neces-

sary decision.

The novelist who charts his plot line so as to embroil

his characters in confrontations finds timing a necessary

instrument. As in the case of the contrived plot, if

something had — 4 — earlier or later, how different

the results would have been! Here if the ———

injunction had come down before the negotiations ha

reached agreement, it is entirely reasonable to think

that the City would have first addressed itself to getting

A50

50 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

its rating funds restored. | have no reason for

thinkin that the City would not have been successful

before Judge Marshall, who was aware at the time that

the City was progressing toward the — x of a

new patrol officers’ examination which, hopefully would

meet the requirements of law.“ and who had recently

expressed the opinion that “(ijt is far better in cases of

this nature that the remedy come from the parties

rather than the court.” There simply would have been

insufficient motivation before the court to require the

continuance of the crippling suspension of revenue

sharing fund payments. Conversely, if the order by

Judge Smith had been delayed until after the agreed

order plan had been implemented, Judge Marshall when

asked to reconsider Judge Smith’s injunction when it

was properly before him would have been able to do so

in the light of the fact that the City was not only obeying

the purely negative aspects of his November injunction

by not hiring or promoting but was also affirmatively

going forward with a negotiated plan for elimination of

the disproportionate aspects resulting from_ practices

found by him to be deficient statutorily and constitu-

tionally.

iming, however, was not right and early January

of 1958 ( — one of the largest municipalities in the

nation facing the immediate loss of nearly 20 million

dollars which had been budgeted by ft and which the

paying Government had thus far intended to pay, not

doing so solely because of a court injunction. The

prospect was that a like amount would be stopped eac

quarter thereafter unless the injunction could be lifted.

Quite understandably, the City findin — r —

introduced as to the matter of payment of those a J

on the payroll abandoned its planned yt —

increases and turned its attention to getting itself bac

on the federal payroll. The same period of time found a

federal judge, who had regarded the agreed — as

permissive although the parties had cast it in mandatory

2 385 F.Supp. at 548.

d. at 561.

4 *

As!

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152. 76-1205. & 76-1344 51

language.“ now incensed at the ex parte failure to

comply with that order, which refusal the district court

later characterized as “the arrogant, contumacious

refusal by the City defendants to honor their interim

hiring agreement and our order approving it of

December 16, 1974.”5 The confrontation and its resul-

tant deleterious effect on the working out of the societal

problems inherent in this litigation were inevitable as

was the snowballing crystallization of antagonistic

attitudes between these two branches of government.

Early in the period of confrontation it might have

seemed that the simple judicial answer would have been

that jurisdiction of the withholding injunction now bein

in Illinois, the withholding injunction would be vacated

until further order of the court provided that there was

promot compliance with the December agreed order.

his would seem to have been the position of the federal

government which on January 20, 1975, responded,

consistently with the position it had taken when the

action was pending in the District of Columbia, that the

withholding order should be modified as requested by

the City. The Government added, however, that in view

of the City’s refusal to implement the interim hiring

agreement and to give assurances that it would com ly

with the court’s order of November 7, 1974, further

revenue sharing payments should not be made to the

City. Although the Government thereby was retreatin

from its earlier position that the flow of the funds should

not be stopped, nevertheless the fact is patent that the

appropriate authorities of the Government having to do

with the payment of these funds were willing to have

the payment released that should have been paid on

January 6, 1975. Further, while the City had perhaps

not given formal assurances that it would comply with

the November order, there had been no failure to

comply nor any indication that there would be such a

failure. The only real factor in the Government's new

position on future payments was the failure of the City

to proceed with the interim hiring notwithstanding the

cutoff of revenue sharing funds. Indeed. as late as

2395 F.Supp. at 346.

411 F.Supp. at 224.

A2

52 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

January 5, 1976, the court stated that the Office of

Revenue Sharing defendants had been ambiguous and

faltering on the matter of withholding and that “it is not

clear that they would continue to withhold those

payments should the injunction be dissolved.” The

court also at that time observed that the Department of

Justice had taken an ambiguous stance.”’

Also, when early in 1975, the district court had before

it the matter of modifying or vacating the D.C.

injunction, it could have resorted to traditional methods

of enforcement of injunctions, as it was urged to do by

the plaintiffs as to the mandatorily worded interim

hiring agreed order. Although expressing regret subse-

quently that it had not done so, the court took what

appeared to it at the time to be the wiser course!“ and

neither compelled compliance by traditional methods

with the interim hiring order nor ruled on the City’s

motion to modify the D.C. injunction. Instead the court

deferred these matters until the trial was underway,

and they were not the subject of formal judicial action

until the memorandum decision of April 21, 1975. In the

meantime positions had solidified, and the resultant

aggravations increased the difficulties of negotiated

solutions which had seemed so happily on the way prior

to the granting of the D.C. injunction. Reality, of course,

requires recognition of the fact of litigation life that,

while parties have relatively great freedom in nego-

tiating with each other toward an agreement, a judge

who believes. rightly or wrongly, that his order has been

willfully violated is less amenable to a bargaining

process to secure compliance.

Another fact which appears inescapable to me is that

at the time these early 1975 motions were before the

court, the course which appeared wiser to the court was

also probably the easier way. A last resort remedy,

which I consider the withholding of revenue sharing

funds to be, implicitly is the one that is most likely to be

% 411 F.Supp. at 245.

d. at 246.

1 Jd. at 224.

2395 F.Supp. at 338.

A53

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 53

drastic in its effect. Certainly the withholding of

millions of dollars from financially plagued megapolitan

cities is a device 23 to bring them quickly to their

knees. It is because of the stringency of this remedy that

I regret the majority opinion of this court did not come

down hard on the proposition that such withholding

while a potential remedy is a last resort one by holding

that in this case the last resort stage had not been by

any means reached. A trial judge confronted with the

problems of the type here involved should not be

permitted to yield to the song of the siren.

In addressing the issue of whether the withholding

injunction should be vacated,” the district court, after

reciting the background, dealt with and denied various

legal arguments advanced by the City. Irrespective of

whether I am able to agree with the district court's

disposition of these, I shall not lengthen this dissent by

treating them because my principal concern is with

what I regard to be the larger issue of the misuse of

equitable power. The district court disposed of the

equitable discretion issue in seven par:.graphs*! with

principal reliance being placed upon the City’s uni-

lateral suspension of the hiring which was to have taken

place under the December 16 agreed order. The court

found inescapable the conclusion that the City canceiled

the interim hiring program, found by the court to

involve $350,000 for the first quarter of 1975, in an

attempt to lever loose $19,000,000 in revenue sharing

funds. Indubitably the City did abandon further hiring

despite its needs for replacement patrol officers; how-

ever, the court's reasoning ignores the facts that the sum

of $350,000 was just the first quarter cost estimate and

would be a continuing cost item in the future. At this

point because of the inaction of the court, the prospect of

a change in the receipt of revenue sharing funds was a

bleak one. Further, whiie $350,000 may have —

on the petty side to the court when compared with

$19,000,000, the City was now facing the fact that

without the larger sum it would still nave to meet the

*» 395 F.Supp. at 339 et seg.

2) Jd. at 344-45.

A54

54 Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

budgeted payroll of the existing police force. A third of

a million dollars it would reasonably seem would con-

stitute the aphoristic straw.

The district court also in considering the equitable

discretion issue referred to the fact that the promised

new patrol officer examination had not been forthcom-

ing. Over and above the fact that the incentive to forge

ahead with the development of this plan had been

seriously diluted when it was becoming evident that the

City was going to have difficulty in securing a substan-

tial portion of the sum needed to pay the patrol! officers

already on the payroll, the fact appears obvious to me

from an examination of the massive record in this cause

that the matter of an a priori determination that a plan

for the hiring of police officers would achieve those best

qualified to serve in that capacity is an extremely dif-

ficult task. A federal district judge who is faced with

the awesome task of saving that methods of selection are

truly job-related or not jab-related is deserving of great

sympathy. Certainly Judge Marshall in the instant case

can be said to have given every ounce of devoted atten-

tion to the best possible resolution of the thorny

questions involved. Nevertheless, from the point of view

of the devisers of the plan who had to produce methods

which at once would achieve job-relatedness and would

not be violative of Title VII, the problems were also

awesome. From my own observation of this record, I

could entertain real doubts as to whether the matter of

an equation between performance on examinations and

performance in the field would be susceptible of advance

determination but would necessarily be dependent upon

an examination of the actual performance. Even this

post hoc approach would not seem productive of scien-

tific certitude as at least some of the evaluation of actual

performance would be based upon human subjective

considerations.

The majority opinion of this court obviously does not

agree with my evaluation of the stringency of the

withholding remedy and states that the direct inter-

ference with activities of local government is more dras-

tic than the withholding of federal funds. While the

district court here engaged in both the direct and in-

direct forms of interference, I cannot agree with the

majority premise that the withholding lacks stringency

Ass

Nos. 76-1113. 76-1152. 76-1205. & 76-1344 55

of the greatest magnitude. Stopping the flow of lifeblood

to a body is certainly more fatal than enjoining that body

from certain activity. In the context of the states’ power

to tax, a great Chief Justice long ago observed that the

power to tax involves the power to destroy.“ It appears

to me that the power to withhold operational funds from

a municipality has an equally destructive potential. As

the district court itself observed, the philosophy of the

Fiscal Assistance to State and Local Government Act. 31

U.S.C. § 1221, “is to return to state and local govern-

ment a portion of the individual federal income taxes

paid by the inhabitants of the territory governed by the

state and local government.” (Emphasis added.)“ Implicit

in the recognition that upon ultimate analysis the City

was Just getting its inhabitants’ tax money back for its

own uses was the court’s further observation that “(t]he

funds are payable to the state and local governments

almost as a matter of right on a quarterly basis.“

Illumination upon the stringency of the withholding of

federal funds is found in an analogous situation in the

remarks of Senator Hubert Humphrey. the Senate

Manager of the 1964 Civil Rights Act:

The objective of title VI is, and should be, to end

discrimination, and not to cut off Federal funds. In

its present form, title VI is drafted on the theory

that cutoff of funds should be avoided if racial

discrimination can be ended by other means. It

encourages Federal departments and agencies to be

resourceful in finding ways of ending discrimina-

tion voluntarily without forcing a termination of

funds needed for education, public health, social

welfare, disaster relief, and other urgent programs.

Cutoff of funds needed for such purposes should be

the last step, not the first, in an effective program

t end racial discrimination. Title VI would require

that funds be refused or terminated if other

methods of ending discrimination are not available.

or have not proved effective. But it would allow

Federal departments and agencies to try such other

methods first.

* MeCulloch u Maryland, 17 U.S. (4 Wheat.) 159. 210 (1819).

* 411 F.Supp. at 244.

2 Id.

A356

5% Nos. 76-1113. 76-1152. 76-1205. & 76-1344

Mandatory, immediate cutoffs of Federal funds

would defeat important objectives of Federal legis-

lation, without commensurate gains in eliminating

racial discrimination or segregation. {110 Cong.

Rec., p. 6546.)

Termination of assistance, however. is not the

objective of the titlhe—I underscore this point—it is

the last resort. to be used only if all else fails to

achieve the real objective. the elimination of

discrimination in the use and receipt of Federal

funds. This fact deserves the greatest possible

emphasis: Cutoff of Federal funds is seen as a last

resort, when all voluntary means have failed. Id. at

— 6544.)

This attitude toward the stringency of the remedy was

also reflected in the present litigation by the response of

the federal defendants to plaintiffs’ renewed motion for

summary judgment:

The withholding of revenue sharing payments to

a recipient govenment can have the result of

ted programs being terminated, taxes being

increased, employees being laid off. services being

denied and other adverse effects. The fact that these

funds will eventually be released some time in the

future certainly does not mitigate the present fiscal

plight which they would be experiencing. .. .

It is also of some significance that in the district court

the position of the City in seeking vacation or modifica-

tion of the withholding order was supported by amici

curvae briefs filed by the following responsible civic

organizations: the Chi Bar Association, the Chica-

o Crime Commission, the Civic Federation, and the

Southeast Chicago Commission. These organizations

which recorded their long standing stance against

sexual and racial discrimination asserted that the eco-

nomic sanction of revenue sharing termination was in-

appropriate in the circumstances of this case. The

district court 2 found little significance in

their support of the City because of eir lack of

familiarity with the record of this case.“ Nevertheless,

411 F.Supp. at 228-29.

457

Nos. 76-1113. 76-1152. 76-1205. K 76-1344 57

1 f } . } * i

The majority opinion finds a preference wi

ing funds as an enforcement’ means 22 —

grounds. The Stringency of the remedy, however, ap-

pears to me to be inconsistent with the trend of recent

controlling decisions in the federalism area. See the dis-

cussion in § 52A. “Our Federalism.” of Professor Charles

Alen Wright's Law of Federal Courts. 3rd ed., 1976 at

<4 et seq. tracing the developments initiated by

Younger *. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (197 1), through Huffman

6. Purewe, Ltd.. 420 U.S. 592 (1975). We also should not

unmindful that the Congress at one time provided for

procedures, now happily substantially eliminated from

ederal jurisprudence. whereby interference with fun-

damenta! State procedures required the convening of a

three-judge district court because of the likelihood of

public resentment at such action occurring as the result

of the action of a single judge. See Wright, supra at 213.

While I would entertain serious d 8

power of the district court at the e

enjoin the payment of the federa! funds in the absence of

é showing that there had been noncompliance with an

injunction against discriminatory action, a situation

which was certainly true at the time Judge Smith

entered the origina! withholding injunction, in the light

or cases such as Adams and Lee, cited in note 40 of the

— 7 opinion, I have. as previously indicated, not

th . it necessary to pursue this aspect of the case in

view of what I regard as the serious misuse of the power

to the extent to which it may have existed.

Unfortunately in the realm of hu

"ei man relat

oration of problems arising therefrom hove io —

thing as instant replay. The crystallization of attitudes

* Further, the situation as to the existence of the power in

; and

Fiscal Assistance Amendments of 1976. l w

4946. | would, however,

1 > agves merely 20 nintitis’ contention that the

existence all along of the — — oe

AS8

5 Nos. 76-1113. 76-1152. 76-1205. & 76-1344

and aggravations, real or believed to be real, all too

often nullify the possibility of retracing steps toward an

amicable and desirable solution. Here | am convinced

that the withholding of needed revenue funds came

about not because of any necessity but through a set of

unfortunate circumstances which improperiy delayed

ae ag which the district court was so assiduously

seeking. ,

As a culmination of the developments which have been

set forth—the antagonisms, the cross-pur and,

indeed, the loss of perspective inevitably the order of

February 2. 1976. under review here. perpetuated this

unfortunate comedy of errors. I would therefore reverse

the order enjoining the 3 of the revenue sharing

funds and order all suc funds not heretofore released

paid forthwith to the City.

As previously indicated in this dissent. J am in

general agreement with the result reached otherwise in

the majority opinion. I nevertheless find it necessary to

remark upon certain phases of the issues presented to

this court in the present appeal.

I. Mandatory Quotas. Despite the fact that several

courts have found resort to the imposition of mandatory

quotas to be the only practicable solution to the

problems presented by either racial or sexual discrimi-

nation, it appears to me that this resort should only

occur when the circumstances ar of an in extremis

nature. I regard this to be particularly true when the

matter is the composition of a police aepartment. In

today’s climate of increasing crime, with accompanying

increase of public indignation and fear. the only

standard for police department composition at every

echelon should be, in my opinion, the very best possible

person obtainable for the work to be performed.

meeting this standard means that the makeup of th

department is disproportionately high with minority

groups in relation to their position in the population

jicture, this would be more desirable than their being

imited by the artificial limitation which is implicit

when a quota has been imposed. It is for that reason no

doubt that minority groups themselves do not consistent-

lv favor a quota system. It would appear fortunate that

AS9

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152. 76-1205, & 76-1344 59

in later proceedings in the district court in the present

litigation, which proceedings are not now before this

court for review, the district court is amenable to

deviating from strict adherence to the quota system in

accordance with its own expressed distaste for that

system.

2 The Isakson Defendants. The majority opinion at

one point in relation to these defendants indicates that

the 42 percent of the patrol officers “must be selected

from the applicable eligibility rosters, in rank order.”

Insofar as this is stating, which it appears to be doing.

that the 42 percent should have been hired from the

1971 patrolman’s roster, it would seem to me to be

inconsistent with the result thereafter reached in the

opinion that it would be inappropriate for this court to

decide the difficult. questions of state law that might

arise in determining the rights of persons on the 1971

roster in the lignt of the existence of the new 1975

examination roster. I think the court weuld have been

better advised simply to leave the matter of determina-

tion of the applicable state law to the district court,

which is the ultimate holding on the Isakson issue.

3. The Background Investigation. The majority opin-

ion recognizes “that careful screening through investiga-

tion of an applicant’s background can be a useful device

in determining whether an applicant has the personal

qualities required of a police officer.” I regard it as

more than a useful device: rather it appears to me to be

an essential instrument for the purpose. As the district

court observed, “Of course, the Department must protect

itself from those who would undermine it or work at

cross purposes with it.” (Emphesis added. What the

district court did not add but is obvious is that the

Department must protect itself not for its own self-

preservation as an institution but because it is in the

public interest that the police duties be performed

effectively.

2385 F.Supp. at 557.

A460

60 Nos. 76-1113. 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344

I cannot quarrel with the position of the district court

affirmed by this court that there be articulable stan-

dards for guidance of those conducting the background

investigations. Broadly stated criteria too easily lend

themselves to subjective whim. Nevertheless, I am

concerned with an implicit suggestion in both the

writing of the district court and the majority opinion

which might be construed as minimizing the importance

of good character on the part of police officers. Perhaps

the supervisor of the Recruit Processing Section was

unable to put into words what “dissolute habits” meant.“

but I have little doubt that if one’s neighbors thought a

person had dissolute habits, he would have little respect

from them as a police officer without which respect he

could not capably perform his duties. To paraphrase a

famous reference in another field of law, the neighbors

also might not be able to define in words “bad character,

dissolute habits. and immoral character,” but most of

them would be able to recognize the existence of these

attributes in those with whom they are acquainted.

It perhaps is too much to expect that every police

officer will be an exact duplicate of Caesar’s wife, but

the nearer tnat goal is approached the more effective the

police department will be. Frequent arrests or poor

regard for financial obligations may be explicable and

he shown not to detract from the ability to be an

effective police officer. On the other hand, either or both

may be demonstrative of an underlying disrespect for

the law. a deficiency which should not exist in a person

holding this position. It should also be remembered that

in the city scene with the overload on the prosecutorial!

staffs and the courts and the reluctance of witnesses to

become involved, many arrests which do not result in

convictions nevertheless are arrests of guilty persons.

The police department, in my opinion, is a questionable

forum for rehabilitation. The job of articulating objec-

tive standards in the present area is certainly a

tremendously difficult one. I merely express the hope

that when the difficult task is completed the reviewing

385 F.Supp. at 556.

A6él

Nos. 76-1113, 76-1152, 76-1205, & 76-1344 61

courts will permit the inclusion of aspects therein on a

realistic basis consonant with the achievement of as high

as possible regard on the part of the public toward those

performing the duties of police officers.

4. The Constitutional Sex Discrimination Issue. The

majority o

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — Arado v. United States · 434 U.S. 875 | Frix