Appellants Brief — Ray v. Atlantic Richfield Co.

Supreme Court brief1978

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ee

SUPREME COURT"

OF THE

UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM

No. 76-930

Dixy Ler Ray, Governor of the State of Washington;

Stave Goi.ton, Attorney General of the State of Wash-

ington; Joun C. Hewitt, Chairman, and Harry A. GREEN-

woop, BENJAMIN W. Joyce, Pump H. Lutuer, and J.Q.

Pautt, Members, Board of Pilotage Commissioners;

Davip S. McEacuran, Whatcom County Prosecuting At-

torney; CHristopHER T. Baytey, King County Prose-

cuting Attorney; CoaLition Acatnst Or POLLUTION;

NATIONAL WILDLIFE FeperaTIon; Srerra Cus; and En-

VIRONMENTAL DEFENSE Funp, INC.,

Appellants,

Vv.

ATLANTIC Ricnritztyp Company, and SEATRAIN LINES, INC..

Appellees.

BRIEF OF APPELLANTS

SLADE GoRTON,

Attorney General, State of

Washington

CHARLES B. Roe, Jr.,

Senior Asstistant Attorney

General

Ropert E. Mack,

RIcHARD L. KirKBy,

Assistant Attorneys General

Davin E. ENGDAHL,

Special Assistant Attorney

General

Temple of Justice

Olympia, Washington 98504

(206) 753-2354

Attorneys for Appellants

Dixy Lee Ray, Slade Gorton.

John C. Hewitt, Harry A.

Greenwood, Benjamin W. Joyce.

Philip H. Luther and J. Q. Paul!

Davin S. McEacuran,

Whatcom County Prosecuting

Attorney

Whatcom County Prosecuting

Attorney’s Office

311 Grand Avenue

Bellingham, Washington 98225

(206) 676-6784

Attorney for Appellant

David S. McEachran

CHRISTOPHER T. BAYLEY.

King County Prosecuting

Attorney

THOMAS A. GOELTZ,

Joun E. KEEGAN,

Rosert D. JOHNs,

Deputy Prosecuting Attorneys

King County Prosecuting

Attorney’s Office

King County Courthouse

516 Third Avenue

Seattle, Washington 98104

(206) 344-7398

Attorneys for Appellant

Christopher T. Bayley

Evpon V. C. GREENBERG,

RICHARD A. FRANK,

Center for Law and Social! Policy

1751 N Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 872-0670

Tuomas H. S. Brucker,

Durning, Smith & Brucker

1411 Fourth Avenue

Seattle, Washington 98101

(206) 624-8901

Attorneys for Appellants

Coalition Against Oi! Pollution

National Wildlife Federation.

Sierra Club, and Environmenta!

Defenses Fund, Inc

STATE PRINTING PLANT >a OLYMPIA, WASHINGTON

IN THE

SUPREME COURT

OF THE

UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM

No. 76-930

Dixy Lee Ray, Governor of the State of Washington;

Stave Gorton, Attorney General of the State of Wash-

ington; Joun C. Hewitt, Chairman, and Harry A. GREEN-

woop, BENJAMIN W. Joyce, Puitie H. Luruer, and J.Q.

Pautt, Members, Board of Pilotage Commissioners;

Davip S. McEacuran, Whatcom County Prosecuting At-

torney; CuristopHerR T. BayLey, King County Prose-

cuting Attorney; Coatirion AGAINST OIL POLLUTION;

NaTIONAL WILDLIFE FEDERATION; SIERRA CLUB; and EN-

VIRONMENTAL DEFENSE FUND, IVc.,

Appellants,

Vv.

ATLANTIC RicnFrreLp CoMPANY, and SEATRAIN LINEs, INC.,

Appellees.

BRIEF OF APPELLANTS

SLADE GoORTON,

Att General, State of

Washington

CuHaARLEs B. Rog, JR.,

Senior Asstistant Attorney

General

Rosert E. Mack,

RicHarp L. KIrKBy,

Assistant Attorneys General

Davin E. ENGDAHL,

Special Assistant Attorney

General

Temple of Justice

Olympia, Washington 98504

(206) 753-2354

Attorneys for Appellants

Dixy Lee Ray, Slade Gorton,

John C. Hewitt, Harry A.

Greenwood, Benjamin W. Joyce.

Philip H. Luther and J. Q. Paull

Davip S. McEACHRAN,

Whatcom County Prosecuting

Attorney

Whatcom County Prosecuting

Attorney’s Office

311 Grand Avenue

Bellingham, Washington 98225

(206) 676-6784

Attorney for Appellant

David S. McEachran

CHRISTOPHER T. BAYLEY,

= County Prosecuting

ttorn

Tuomas A. r,

JOHN E. KEEGAN,

Rosert D. Jouns,

Deputy Prosecuting Attorneys

King County Prosecuting

Attorney’s Office

King County Courthouse

516 Third Avenue

Seattle, Washington 98104

(206) 344-7398

Attorneys for Appellant

Chri her T. Bayley

Evpon V. C. GREENBERG,

RICHARD A. FRANK,

Center for Law and Social Policy

1751 N Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 872-0670

Tuomas H. S. Brucker,

Durning, Smith & Brucker

1411 Fourth Avenue

Seattle, Washington 98101

(206) 624-8901

Attorneys for Appellants

Coalition Against Oi! Pollution

National Wildlife Federation,

Sierra Club, and Environmental

Defenses Fund, Inc.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

GED cncucecéendkecccccctcncunccancsescece sabes. ae

ED ccncccedsctcusccencsdncuncueudnecdes 1

EEE gcncnceessdaccdseeseeesesesesennancees 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES

DED cinncasenadaseeseeeneeqoesesosveensess 2

SEED 6 venccccoseccccnscccuccusces 3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..... 2. cece cccccccsccecees 4

A. Parties and Prior Proceedings ................. 4

B. Puget Sound and Its Adjacent Shorelands....... 10

1. Physical Environment .....................: 10

2. The Multiple Values and Uses of Puget Sound 11

3. Oil Transport on Puget Sound .............. 13

4. Washi n State Has Responded to the Risk

Oe Ge CEE weceveucoceccesescecccees 17

5. The Impact of vay 125 on Oil Transporta-

tion on Puget Sound ................... 18

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ................00ceeeeees 20

CE Wacaesweesnee ch eehededenvesascocncenesee: 23

I. Chapter 125 Is Not in Conflict with and Has Not

Been Expressly or Implicitly Preempted by the

Ports — | Waterways Safety er 23

A. There Is No Preemptive Conflict between

the Ports and Waterways a. Act and

Chapter 125 because It Is Possible To Comply

ee Ee ED dn cicedcccoaveccoteeseacce 29

B. Congress in the Ports and Waterways Safety

Act Did Not “Unmistakably Ordain” That

Federal Law Is Exclusive ................. 31

1. The Language and Structure of the Ports

and Waterways Safety Act Demonstrate

That No Preemption Is Intended......... 32

2. The Legislative History of the Ports and

Waterways Safety Act Reveals No Intent

We ES cecccccceccessetessensseues 36

Cc. ae Is No Implicit Preemption of Chapter

BD Wad ecoeeccecapcseusconsssensesseseess

1. The Regulatory Scheme Established by

the Ports and Waterways Safety Act Is

Not So Extensive As To Preclude State

GED hwccccccecececoccsuccceseseseves 41

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS (Cont.)

2. Tanker Regulation Does Not Require Uni-

form National Implementation ..........

3. Chapter 125 Is Consistent with the Ports

and Waterways Safety Act and Overall

Federal Policy for Protection of the Ma-

rine and Coastal Environment ..........

a. The Goals of State and Federal Laws

I i a Shi ne

b. Chapter 125 Does Not Impede the En-

forcement or Accomplishment of the

Objectives of the Ports and Waterways

DED ccdeluabhudesskounnsebeveses

c. The Ports and Waterways Safety Act

Must Be Interpreted Consistently with

Overall Federal Policy for Protection

of the Marine and Coastal Environ-

PE Cee heeecesecccececeeseseseeecss

II. Chapter 125 Does Not Conflict with the Certifi-

cation and Permit Provisions of the Tank Vessel

Act, with Federal Vessel Registration, Enroll-

ment and Licensing Laws, or with the Merchant

Marine Act of 1970 and the Federal Maritime Ad-

ministration’s Tanker Construction Program ...

A. Chapter 125 Does Not Conflict with Federal

Certification and Licensing of Oil Tankers. .

B. Chapter 125 Is Not in Conflict with the Mer-

chant Marine Act of 1970 ..................

III. Chapter 125 Does Not Interfere with Interna-

tional Agreements or with Federal Powers To

Make Treaties and To Conduct Foreign Affairs. .

A. Application of Chapter 125 Has Not Violated

the Right to Innocent Passage of Foreign

Se REY pg cGGAcu Sede ekdbenenedéskceecs

B. Chapter 125 Does Not Violate Boundary Water

BOONES WOE COMBED 2. cc ccccccccceccccces

C. Chapter 125 Does Not Conflict with Any

Multilateral Marine Pollution Treaty, Con-

vention or Agreement .....................

1. The International Convention for the Pre-

vention of Pollution of the Sea by Oil,

0 RR are eee ae

2. The International Convention for the

Safety of Life at Sea, 1960 ..............

49

54

55

56

59

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS (Cont.)

3. The International Convention for the Pre-

vention of Pollution from Ships, 1973 .... 81

IV. Chapter 125 Is a Valid Exercise of the State

Police Power under t ommerce Clause...... 82

A. The Subject Matter Regulated Does Not Re-

quire a Uniform National Rule ............ 83

B. Chapter 125 Does Not Unconstitutionally

Burden Interstate Commerce .............. 87

V. The Eleventh Amendment Precludes Jurisdiction

of the District Court over the State of Wash-

ington Appellants ...............6eceeeeees 94

GOURD vc icccseseseccdscececcnsdsrssesseces: oes 101

CITATIONS

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

U.S. Const., art I, § 8, Clause 3 (Commerce Clause)... .2, 4, 8,

82, 83, 85, 88

es Ge GUE, Fa ee GD Evo ccccccccccceeccessecss 3, 72

U.S. Const., art. VI (Supremacy Clause) .......... 2, 8, 23, 73

ee Ge, CEE. ct tec eemensanednesenleeeeét 23, 24

U.S. Const. amend. XI ...... 3, 4, 8, 9, 23, 94, 95, 96, 98, 100, 101

a, SE en a eees ceeneeees 100

CASES

Acme Finance Co. v. Huse, 192 Wash. 96, 73 P.2d

Se re errr 96

A. E. Nettleton Co. v. Diamond, 27 N.Y. 2d 182, 264

N.E. 2d 118 (1970), appeal dismissed sub nom.

Reptile Products Association, Inc. v. Diamond,

4 § ( RSE err errr er 36

Alaska v. Bundrant, 546 P.2d 530 (Alaska), appeal

dismissed sub nom., Uri v. Alaska, 97 S.Ct. 40 (1976)... 72

American Apparel Manufacturers Association v.

Sargent, F.Supp. 289 (D. Mass. 1974) ........... 92

American Can Co. v. Oregon Liquor Control Com-

mission, 15 Ore. App. 618, 517 P.2d 691 (1973),

review denied, Id. LEED snecseacdesetececes« 25, 88

Anderson v. Pacific Coast Steamship Co., 225 U.S.

ff ees e re rrr orry Ty 10, 26

Askew v. American Waterways Operators, Inc., 411

§ F re re 14, 25, 27, 30, 42, 55, 74

Askew v. Coleman, Civil Action 76-2005 (D.D.C.

SE Ee ED Gdaducddescansededuecscoceccases 53

Vv

CASES (Cont.)

Atlantic Richfield Company v. Evans, ..... F. Supp. ....... ,

9 E.R.C. 1876 (W.D. Wash., 1977) .............-20005. 1

Bibb v. Navajo Freight Lines, Inc., 359 U.S. 520 (1959) . .82, 87

Boeing Co. v. State, 74 Wn.2d 82, 442 P.2d 970 (1968) ... 10

Boston Stock Exchange v. State Tax Commission,

ED adbenenwdas eeeeyndnc6uenedess ened 83

Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen & Enginemen v.

Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railroad Co., 393

eS EY ecole ecavegeasacuscuinases 88, 89, 92

Burbank v. Lockheed Air Terminal, Inc., 411 U.S. 624

At et ie eee eee de eee ee ee eee 29, 43, 56

Burnet v. Coronado Oil & Gas Co., 285 U.S. 393 (1932)... 98

California v. Zook, 336 U.S. 725 (1949) ................. 83

Castle v. Hayes Freight Lines, Inc., 348 U.S. 61 (1954) .... 67

Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railroad Co. v. Arkansas,

I io id eee a eee ce eeeeaddend des 85

Chrobuck v. Snohomish County, 78 Wn.2d 858, 480 P.2d

ft sg BR er ere 25

Chrysler Corp. v. Tofany, 419 F.2d 499 (2d Cir. 1969) ..... 54

Cities Service Gas Co. v. Peerless Oil & Gas Co., 340

SS Ferree eerrrrrr 84

Clyde Mallory Lines v. Alabama, 296 U.S. 261 (1935) .... 84

Colorado Anti-Discrimination Commission v. Continental

Air Lines, Inc., 372 U.S. 714 (1963) .................. 83

Construction Industry Association v. Petaluma, 522 F.2d

897 (9th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 424 U.S. 934 (1976).. 88

Cooley v. Board of Wardens, 53 U.S. (12 How.) 299 (1851). 26

DeCanas v. Bica, 424 U.S. 351 (1976) ..... 27, 28, 31, 42, 43, 60

Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651 (1974) .................. 99

Employees v. Department of Public Health and Welfare,

E Ff ({~ Ale eer 94

Erb v. Morasch, 177 U.S. 584 (1900) ...................... 85

Escanaba Co. v. Chicago, 107 U.S. 678 (1882) ............ 26

Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co., 272 U.S. 365 (1926) ........ 24

Fenner v. Boykin, 271 U.S. 240 (1926) .................. 99

Fitzpatrick v. Bitzer, 427 U.S. 445 (1976) ................ 99

Florida Lime & Avocado Growers, Inc. v. Paul, 373

U.S. 132 (1963) .......... 27, 28, 29, 31, 36, 44, 49, 55, 66, 67

Foster v. Neilson, 27 U.S. (2 Pet.) 253 (1829)............ 73

Geer v. Connecticut, 161 U.S. 519 (1896) ................ 84

Gibbons v. Ogden, 22 U.S. (9 Wheat.) 1 (1824) .......... 67

oa

vi

CASES (Cont.)

Gilman v. Philadelphia, 70 U.S. (3 Wall.) 713 (1865) ... 85

Goldstein v. California, 412 U.S. 546 (1973) ............ 30, 55

Great Atlantic and Pacific Tea Co. v. Cottrell, 424 U.S.

MD. 7. ctndsddesaseenecwataasentenseesnéatende 89

Great Northern Railway Co. v. United States, 315 U.S.

DT tccshsisucusgenaanhanbecheesennnudeeues 62

Hans v. Louisiana, 134 U'S. 1 (1890) ...............4... 95

Head v. New Mexico Board of Examiners in Optometry,

Ec Cie dadeananendsneenseuseeee 29

Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52 (1941) ................. 44

H. P. Welch Co. v. New Hampshire, 306 U.S. 79 (1939) . .47, 49

Hudson County Water Co. v. McCarter, 209 U.S. 349

DE ceudneedkscdaGsastentneciessecnnnes ds oussase 84

Huntamer v. Coe, 40 Wn.2d 767, 246 P.2d 489 (1952) ...... 96

Huron Portland Cement Co. v. Detroit, 362 U.S. 440

Dl. sett¢tdepanendeeeneeedesens . .25, 26, 30, 42, 66, 85

The James Gray v. The John Fraser, 62 U.S. (21 How.)

RISE er En nenamipE tins ap Es ep 72

Jones v. Rath Packing Co., 97 S.Ct. 1305 (1977) ........ 27, 28

Juidice v. Vail, 97 S.Ct. 1211 (1977) ...............6445. 96

Kelly v. Washington, 302 U.S. 1 (1937) ............ 26, 42, 68

Kewanee Oil Co. v. Bicron Corp., 416 U.S. 470 (1974).... 55

Manchester v. Massachusetts, 139 U.S. 240 (1891) ...... 25, 84

Marshall v. Consumers Power Co., 66 Mich. App. 237,

ff - ) | FREE ry 25

Massachusetts State Grange v. Benton, 272 U.S. 525

eee Me eee ie Se cael ed uh sepansecebens 99

Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc. v. Ware,

ne eld ad oh eedaucss sessneedt 28, 61

The Merrimac, 81 U.S. (14 Wall.) 199 (1871) ............. 73

Milk Control Board v. Eisenberg Farm Products, 306 U’S.

DET bicvcccneceenchbendaduéedaseescsanesseces 83

Mitchum v. Foster, 407 U.S. 225 (1972) .................. 99

Morgan’s Steamship Co. v. Louisiana Board of Health,

I DD 6c cand ncndddadudevedddeseeesé 26

Moe v. Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes,

* ) 2 PSS Serre 2

Napier v. Atlantic Coast Line Railroad Co., 272 U.S.

SPD Snbeetdnbsscedankededededusceadseccneceos 49

National League of Cities v. Usery, 426 U.S. 833 (1976) ... 25

New State Ice Co. v. Liebmann, 285 U.S. 262 (1932) ...... 64

Vil

CASES (Cont.)

New York Department of Social Services v. Dublino,

EERE ee 38, 42, 43, 55, 56

Northern States Power Co v. Minnesota, 447 F.2d 1143

(8th Cir. 1971). aff'd noim., 405 U.S. 1035 (1972) .28, 43, 56

Nostrand v. Little, 58 Wn.2d 111, 361 P.2d 551 (1961),

appeal dismissed, 368 U.S. 436 (1962) ............... 96

Packet Co. v. Catlettsburg, 105 U.S. 559 (1881) ........... 26

Palladio, Inc. v. Diamond, 321 F. Supp. 630 (S.D.N_Y.

1970). aff'd, 440 F.2d 1319 (2d Cir.) cert. denied,

) § | er pete eee 36

Parden v. Terminal Railway, 377 U.S. 184 (1964)......... 94

Parker v. Brown, 317 U.S. 341 (1943) .................... “44

Pearl Assurance Co. v. Harrington, 38 F. Supp. 41i

it Mn: - .cessdendecunecaaweneaeebases neues 99

Perez v. Campbell, 402 U.S. 637 (1971) .................. 65

Perkins v. Northern Pacific Railway Co., 155 Fed.

Se EE ED cddndnniadsaneddescaecccacedacss 97

Portland Pipe Line Corp. v. Environmental Improve-

ment Commission, 307 A.2d 1 (Me.), appeal dis-

missed, 414 US. 1035 (1973)................ 26, 42, 68, 79

Pound v. Turck, 95 U.S. 459 (1877) .................-055. 26

Procter & Gamble Co. v. Chicago, 509 F.2d 69 (7th Cir.),

cert. denied, 421 U.S. 978 (1975) ................ 25, 30, 92

Reid v. Colorado, 187 U.S. 137 (1902) ................... 29

Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218

RCI TS aR Scar es «op ere era 27. 28, 31, 41

Silver v. New York Stock Exchange, 373 U.S. 341 (1963). .28

Sinnot v. Davenport, 63 U.S. (22 How.) 227 (1859) ....... 29

Skiriotes v. Florida, 313 U.S. 69 (1941) ................ 25, 84

South Carolina State Highway Department v. Barnwell

Brothers, Inc., 303 U.S. 177 (1938) ................ 85, 86

Southern Pacific Co. v. Arizona ex rel. Sullivan, 325

I he cc eae i 43, 47, 86, 87

Sperry v. Florida, 373 U.S. 379 (1963) ............ pe errry 67

Spraigue v. Thompson, 118 U.S. 90 (1886) ................ 10

State v. Anderson, 81 Wn.2d 234, 501 P.2d 184 (1972) .... 10

Steffel v. Thompson, 415 U.S. 452 (1974) ................ 97

Terminal Railroad Association v. Brotherhood of

Railroad Trainmen, 318 U.S. 1 (1943) .......... 44, 49.83

Toye Brothers Yellow Cab Co. v. Irby, 437 F.2d 806

Pn ov ceeedh ceusenucledGunaubaunc coupe 67

viii ix

CASES (Cont.) FEDERAL STATUTES (Cont.)

Transportation Co. v. Parkersburg, 107 U.S. 691 (1882) .. 26 ee ey SR Gidudue ninnnndudbueGadaedbeesecceeesse 2,8

United States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336 (1971) ................ 27 ee OE eh dn edad CasuWeeecesbbedeeeeeseess 2,8

United States v. Louisiana, 394 U.S. 11 (1969) .......... 74 SF ee ee 10

Willson v. Black Bird Creek Marsh Co., 27 US. rr rr es os. eddkbacecsceeden 65

dd edna caw ads egubenneeeteses 26 ER 10

Ex parte Young, 209 U.S. 123 (1908) ...... 9, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100 | 7

Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1970) ................... 99 INTERNATIONAL AGREEMENTS

Zshernig v. Miller, 389 U.S. 429 (1968) .................. 7 Treaty with Great Britain in Regard to Limits West-

: o ward of the Rocky Mountains, June 15, 1846, 9

DERAL TAT T ‘ eee lick alee de ees Ore eee a eb éseees 76

shes S vies Treaty with Great Britain relating to Boundary Waters

Atomic Energy Act, 42 U.S.C. $§ 2051 et seq. (Supp. between the United States and Canada, January

Dt catbnciesedanokweaeedasacunanwinsetenedvsed« 56 ss FF | & frre Ter TT ee 76

Clean Air Act, as amended, 42 U.S.C. §§ 1857 et seq. International Convention for Civil Liability for Oil

(Supp. ITB) 2... cccccseccccceccccccscccesescceees 34 Pollution Damage [1969] ..................0000000e 77

Coastal Zone Management Act of 1972, 16 U.S.C. $§ 1431 International Convention for the Prevention of Poliu-

et seq. (Supp. 1975) ..............-000e. 59, 61, 62, 84, 86 tion from Ships [1973] (“1973 Marine Pollution

Dangerous Cargo Act, ch 777 § 1, 54 Stat. 1023 (1940), TD be Cokes Cen eu iad bdedeweeeusedihe one es 81

as amended by Act of July 16, 1952, ch. 887, 66 Iniernational Convention for the Prevention of Poiiu-

St Tl ntti niet 54666 nt tte cede eduabbnheewe e< 37 tion of the Sea by Oil [1954] 12 U.S.T. 2989,

Deepwater Ports Act of 1974, 33 U.S.C. §$§ 1501-1524 and T.LA.S. No. 4900, as amended at 17 U.S.T. 1523,

43 U.S.C. § 1333 (Supp. 1975) .52, 53, 58, 59, 62, 67, 7, 84, 86 ee ee ke ae wees 78, 79

Estuarine Areas Act of 1968, 16 U.S.C. §§ 1221 et seq. International Convention for the Safety of Life

DD schenkexesckcanindeeRansdddelédokenauss secs 61 at Sea [1960] 16 U.S.T. 185, T.1L.A.S. No. 5780

Farm Labor Contractor Registration Act, 7 U.S.C. (“SOLAS”) SSSR OHSEHHSSSSESEEEHEOHEOSEOSESESEOES 78, 79, 80

TL ‘iccceduans scuhereaeneseus Maakabeeesé 60 International Convention on Load Lines [1966] 18

Federal Aviation Act, 49 U.S.C. §§ 1301 et seq. (1970) .... 56 ans Sy SHOR GU GED ccc cccccccccccccecccces 77

Federal Water Pollution Control Act Amendments of International Convention on the Establishment of

1972, 33 U.S.C. §§ 1251 et seq. (Supp. 1975) . .59, 61, 62, 84 an International Fund for Compensation for Oil

Immigration and Nationality Act. 8 USC. NS 1101 et seq. Pollution Damage [i971] te eeteevccevesees eeesees |

iy CRT 6 BRR RETREAT Sati, ieee 60 mn Seren, hy see . peeves

on the Hig as in the Cases of Oil Pollution

Magnuson Act, fl ee ee 37 Casualties [1969] 26 U.S.T. 765, T.LAS. No. 8068,

Merchant Marine Act of 1936, as amended, 46 U.S.C. as amended by 1973 P ”

y Ns kecGuesnieeesen des cus 77

§§ 1101 et seq. (Supp. 1975) ................ 23, 64, 65, »9 I . all

nternational Convention on the Territorial Sea and

Ports and Waterways Safety Act of 1972, 33 U.S.C. the Contiguous Zone [1964] 15 US.T. 1606

$§ 1221 et seq. & 46 U.S.C. § 39la (Supp. 1975)..... 2, 3, 8, TIAS No. 5639 S.T. ‘ =

20, 21, 22. 23.24, 29. 31,39. 33, 34. 39.42. 43. 44 LAS. No. cee ere sete eees

47. 48, 49, 50.51. 52. 54. 55. 56.57.59. 60. 62 nternational Regulations for Preventing Collisions

'63, 64, 65, 75, 80, 84, 101 at Sea [1960] 16 US.T. 794, T.I.A.S. No. 5813, as

a See 8, 21, 32, 35, 36, 37, 38, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 51 a oe ek ee als baw aes 78

ers: 8, 21, 35, 36, 40, 48, 50, 55, 81 CONGRESSIONAL MATERIALS

Tank Vessel Act of 1936, ch. 729, 49 Stat. 1889 ...... 37, 64, 65 S. Rep. No. 666, 87th Cong., Ist Sess. (1961) .............. 79

Ses ED cncdenssdncuesnessnnscicceviewiended 2 S. Rep. No. 91-1080, 91st Cong., 2d Sess. (1970) ........ 69

—_ |

xX

CONGRESSIONAL MATERIALS (Cont.)

H.R. Rep. No. 92-563, 92d Cong., Ist Sess. (1971)

(“PWSA House Report”) . 32, 37, 38, 39, 40, 45, 46, 51, 52, 84

S. Rep. No. 92-724, 92d Cong., Ist Sess. (1972) (“PWSA

eg 15, 32, 37, 38, 40, 41, 46, 50,

51, 52, 57, 58, 59, 75, 80, 84, 91

S. Rep. No. 93-1217, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. (1974) ........... 53

Hearings on H.R. 17830, H.R. 18047, H.R. 15710 before

the Subcommittee on Coast Guard, Coast and

Geodetic Survey and Navigation of the House

Committee on Merchant Marine and Fisheries,

91st Cong., 2d Sess., ser. 91-34 (1970) ................ 39

Hearings on H.R. 867, H.R. 3635, H.R. 8140 and H.R.

6232 before the Subcommittee on Coast Guard,

Coast and Geodetic Survey and Navigation of

the House Committee on Merchant Marine and

Fisheries, 92d Cong., Ist Sess, ser. 91-12 (1971)

(“PWOA Tlowse HeasiMgs’) ..cccccccccscccess 34, 36, 45

Hearings on S. 2074 before the Senate Commerce

Committee, 92d Cong., Ist Sess.. ser. 92-34 (1971) .... 40

Hearings on the Navigable Waters Safety and En-

vironmental Quality Act before the Senate Com-

merce Committee, 92d Cong., Ist Sess., ser. 92-39

(1971) (“PWSA Senate Hearings”) ............... 38

Hearings on the 1973 IMCO Conference on Marine

Pollution from Ships before the Senate Com-

mittee on Commerce, 93d Cong., Ist Sess., ser.

Ge GERUNDS vce cnnss0nssseeneuenseeeaneeeeee 81

Joint Hearings on J. 1751 and S. 2232 before the

Special Joint Subcommittee on Deepwater Ports

Legislation of the Senate Committees on Com-

merce, Interior and Insular Affairs and Public

Works, 93d Cong., Ist Sess., ser. 93-59 (1973)... .53, 58, 71

Hearings on Vessel Traffic Control before the Sub-

committee on Coast Guard and Navigation of the

House Committee on Merchant Marine and Fish-

eries, 94th Cong., Ist Sess., ser. 94-39 (1975) ........ 38

Hearings on Recent Tanker Accidents before the

Senate Commerce Committee, 95th Cong., Ist

Sea, GED. GS Geeee 00060ceseseceseene 15, 16, 44, 62

Hearings on S. 182 before the Senate Committee on

Commerce, Science and Transportation, 95th

Corg., ist Sess., ser... (March 18, 1977)

(“Adams Statement”) snes eeaaeeskase eee 49,59

116 Cong. Rec. 16588-615 (1970) ........... 02... cece cues 69

xi

CONGRESSIONAL MATERIALS (Cont.)

116 Cong. Rec. 32487-512 (1970) ............ ccc eee eeue 70

118 Cong. Rec. 11058-60, 22983-86 (1970) ................ 40

120 om. Rec. 34625 (1974) (remarks of Senator

ee cae nascecoent 71

121 Cong. . 17575 (daily ed. October 1, 1976) (re-

marks of Senator Magnuson) ...................... 41

FEDERAL ADMINISTRATIVE MATERIALS

ac cccncoce 31

33 C.F.R. Part 157 (1976), amended at 41 Fed. Reg.

nn. cn cccecececeees 31

35 C.F.R. Part 161 (1974), as amended by 42 Fed. Reg.

I EE EE otk cn ccacceceseecesce< 30, 35, 48

33 C.F.R. Part 164, adopted at 42 Fed. Reg. 5955

EE re 31, 35

38 Fed. Reg. 21227 coc econ 48

39 Fed. Reg. 24157 (June 28, 1974) ................00455. 84

41 Fed. Reg. 18766 (May 6, 1976) ...................... 47, 84

42 Fed. Reg. 3182 (January 17, 1977) .................... 30

U.S. Coast Guard, Final Environmental Impact State-

ment on Regulations for Tank Vessels Engaged

in the Carriage of Oil in Domestic Trade, (Au-

RR CEE 48, 51, 59

Federal Maritime Administration, Final Environ-

mental Impact Statement on Tanker Construc-

tion Program, N.T.LS. Report No. EIS 730 725-F

ETE a . 70

Public ket, CGD 73-158 PH, Coast Guard Head-

quarters, Washington, D.C. | 48

STATE STATUTES

Chapter 125, Laws of Washington 1975, lst Extraor-

dinary Sess., codified at Wash. Rev. Code §§

88.16.170 et seq. (Supp. 1976)....... 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 14,

15, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 27, 29, 30, 31, 32,

41, 42, 46, 47, 49, 50, 52, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59,

62, 63, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 77,

81, 82, 83, 85, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 100, 101

ee ee eresasassccesseccecees 5, 6,14

EE ee 6

EE SEES PEPE OPPETTTTTT 6

EEE PEPE T PPCTETTTTETE 6-7, 19, 31

Chapter 7.24 Wash. Rev. Code (Supp. 1976) .............. 95

Wash. Rev. Code 7.24.020 (Supp. 1976) ................ 95, 96

Wash. Rev. Code § 43.21A.410 (Supp. 1976) ............. 18

Wash. Rev. Code § 88.16.050 (Supp. 1976) ...... inven o

xii

FEDERAL STATUTES (Cont.)

Wash. Rev. Code § 90.48.330 (Supp. 1976) ................ 18

Wash. Rev. Code § 90.48.335 (Supp. 1976) ................ 18

Wash. Rev. Code § 90.48.380 (Supp. 1976) ................ 18

Wash. Rev. Code § 90.58.030(2)(3) ... 2... 0... cece cceeees 18

Se, Gey Ga IED a cvcccccnccceqncecegeccsoese 18

Wash. Rev. Code ch. 90.58 (Supp. 1976) (“State Shore-

line Management Act of 1971”) ..............045. 18, 69

Laws of Washington 1974, Third Extraordinary Sess.,

i, ee ee ED oc crccccesnesessnsvéaneses: 18

Laws of Washington Territory 1860, p. 124 (Criminal

SD MEE pn ccucéudcsbdbaseneemisaceaedactdaae: 76

Laws of Washington Territory 1860, pp. 329 et seq. ....... 76

Laws of Washington Territory 1868, pp. 33 et seq......... 76

STATE LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS

Joint Hearings before the Washington State House

and Senate Energy Transportation Committees

(November 1975) (remarks of U.S. Senator Mag-

PD - ccuceucdseneceonscceuahuneeddunedenddesenss 41

STATE ADMINISTRATIVE MATERIALS

Washington Administrative Code § 173-201-080 (120)

SUED ‘dnckacautennedeceeeen cusbaesduuséandecuunéds 17

TREATISES, ARTICLES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Bloomfield & Fitzgerald, Boundary Water Problems

of Canada and the United States (1958) ............. 77

Colombos, The International Law of the Sea (6th Ed.

I it id lk a el eS ee ea 74, 75

Cullison, Interpretation of the Eleventh Amendment

(A Case of the White Knight’s Green Whiskers),

jf} 8% SS £=x37 eee re 95, 98

Davis, Suing the Government by Falsely Pretending

to Sue an Officer, 29 U. Chi. L. Rev. 435 (1962) ..... 98

25 Encyclopedia Americana 544 (1962) .................. 14

Jacobs, Eleventh Amendment and Sovereign

I ii Ba hs oe 99. 100

Peck, Standing Requirements for Obtaining Review

of Governmental Action in Washington, 35 Wash.

i 96

O'Connell, II International Law (1970) ................. 75

Tribe, Intergovernmental Immunities in Litigation,

Taxation, and Regulation: Separation of Powers

Issues in Controversies about Federalism, 89

I, i A i i a il oe a 99

Whiteman, Digest of International Law (1965)........... 81

Wright, Federal Courts § 48 (1963) ..............ccceeees 98

a

IN THE

SUPREME COURT

OF THE

UNITED STATES

October Term, 1976

No. 76-930

Dixy Lee Ray, Governor of the

State of Washington, et al.,

Appellants,

Vv.

ATLANTIC RICHFIELD COMPANY, et al.,

Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE WESTERN

DISTRICT OF WASHINGTON

BRIEF OF APPELLANTS

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the three-judge district court is

reported in Atlantic Richfield Company v. Evans,

F. Supp. , 9 E.R.C. 1876 (W.D. Wash.,

1977). A copy of the opinion is included in the Juris-

dictional Statement as Appendix C, pages 5a through

12a.

a eee

2

JURISDICTION

This is a direct appeal from an order granting

a permanent injunction issued pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

$$ 2281 and 2284 against enforcement of a state

statute. The order was entered by the United States

District Court for the Western District of Washing-

ton November 12, 1976, and is set forth in the Juris-

dictional Statement as Appendix B, p. 3a. Notice of

appeal was filed in the United States District Court,

Western District of Washington, on November 19,

1976, and is set forth in the Jurisdictional Statement

as Appendix EK, pp. 14a-20a. Jurisdiction of this

Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1253, which au-

thorizes an appeai to the Court from such an order

of a three-judge district court. Moe v. Confederated

Salish and Kootenai Tribes, Etc., 421 U.S. 707

(1976). The Court noted probable jurisdiction on

February 28, 1977. 97 S. Ct. 1172 (1977).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND

STATUTES INVOLVED

The primary constitutional and statutory pro-

visions involved in this case are the Supremacy and

Commerce Clauses of the United States Constitution

(Article V1, Clause 2; Article I, Section 8, Clause 3) ;

Chapter 125, Laws of Washington, 1975, First Extra-

ordinary Session, codified at Wash. Rev. Code

$$ 88.16.170 et seg. (“Chapter 125”) ; and the Ports

and Waterways Safety Act of 1972, Pub. L. No.

92-340, 86 Stat. 424, 33 U.S.C. $$ 1221 et seq., and

46 U.S.C. § 391a (the “PWSA”). They are set forth

3

in the Jurisdictional Statement as Appendix G, H, I,

and J, respectively.

Other provisions of the United States Constitu-

tion involved are the Treaty Making Clause (Article

II, Section 2, Clause 2) and Amendment XI to the

United States Constitution. They are set forth in the

Jurisdictional Statement at Appendix K and L, re-

spectively.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

In 1975 the State of Washington enacted legis-

lation, Chapter 125, designed to protect certain highly

valued and economically important navigable waters,

their underlying beds and adjoining shorelines of the

State of Washington against damage arising from

spills ef oil carried, in very substantial quantities,

by large oil tankers. This appeal presents the follow-

ing principal question:

Whether the historic police powers of a state to

protect its citizens and navigable water re-

sources from oil pollution, by ensuring safe

methods of oil transportation by tankers in its

inland marine waters, have been wholly ousted

by the Ports and Waterways Safety Act of

1972—a federal statute which does not express

an explicit intent to do so and which creates a

scheme compatible with continuing state regu-

lation?

Related questions before the District Court, but

not answered by the Court, are:

Whether Chapter 125 is invalid on the basis it

impermissibly conflicts with:

a

4

1. Other federal statutes affecting oil

tankers,

2. International agreements, or

3. The Commerce Clause.

A final question presented is:

Whether, in light of the Eleventh Amendment

to the United States Constitution, the District

Court erred in denying a motion to dismiss the

defendant officials of the State of Washington,

Governor Dixy Lee Ray, et al.?

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Parties And Prior Proceedings

Chapter 125 became effective on September 8,

1975. On the same day, Atlantic Richfield Company

(“ARCO”), which owns and operates an oil refin-

ery and related facilities at Cherry Point, Washing-

ton, filed a Complaint in the United States District

Court for the Western District of Washington seek-

ing a judgment declaring the State statute uncon-

stitutional and void, and enjoining its enforcement.

Named as defendants were State officials responsible

for enforcement of Chapter 125, including Daniel J.

Evans, Governor of the State of Washington,’ Slade

Gorton, Attorney General of the State of Washing-

ton, the five members of the Board of Pilotage

'On January 12, 1977, Dixy Lee Ray became Governor of the

State of Washington and John C. Hewitt became chairman of the

Board of Pilotage Commissioners. Pursuant to Rule 48(3) of the Rules

of the Supreme Court, they have been substituted respectively as ap-

pellamts for former Governor Evans and for James Rondeau, successor

of William C. Jacobs.

5

Commissioners of Washington and David S. Mc-

Eachran, Prosecuting Attorney of Whatcom County,

the county in which ARCO’s refinery is located.”

All who are acquainted with the State of Wash-

ington know of Puget Sound and its great signifi-

cance to the essential character of the State and its

citizens." The case involves the validity of a state

legislative enactment designed to protect Puget

Sound, its waters, beds and adjacent uplands, from

damage arising from the spillage of oil carried by

extremely large oil tankers as they ply Puget Sound

and adjacent waters. Chapter 125 provides, in its

first section, the following findings:

Because of the danger of spills, the legisla-

ture finds that the transportation of crude oil

and refined a ye products by tankers on

Puget Sound and adjacent waters creates a

great potential hazard to important natural re-

sources of the state and to jobs and incomes

dependent on these resources.

The legislature also recognizes Puget Sound

and adjacent waters are a relatively confined

salt water environment with irregular shorelines

and four non-profit environmental organizations—National Wildlife

Federation, Sierra Club, Environmental Defense Fund, Inc. and

Coalition Against Oil Pollution, intervened as defendants in the

District Court. Seatrain Lines, Inc. (Seatrain) intervened as a plaintiff

in the District Court, Seatrain, a Delaware corporation with its prin-

cipal place of business in New York, builds, owns and operates vessels.

**Puget Sound” is described for purposes of this proceeding as

that area including the marine waters within the State of Washington

lying east of a line drawn from Discovery Island Light (on the

southern tip of Vancouver Island, British Columbia) to the new

Dungeness Light (approximately halfway between Port Townsend

and Port Angeles, Washington). A map setting forth the western one-

third of the State of Washington, including Puget Sound, is attached

to the inside back cover of this brief.

OO a ae ee

and therefore there is a greater than usual like-

ae of long-term damage from any large oil

spill.

legislature further izes that cer-

tain areas of Puget Sound and adjacent waters

have limited s for maneuvering a large oil

tanker and that these waters contain man

natural navigational obstacles as well as a hig

density of commercial and pleasure boat traffic.

Section 1 closes by describing the “intent and pur-

pose” of the chapter to be:

T]o decrease the likelihood of oil spills on

get Sound and its shorelines.

The means provided to reach this “intent and pur-

pose” are three:

1. Section 2 thereof requires that

“* * * any oil tanker * * * of fifty

thousand deadweight tons or greater, shal! be

required to take a Washington State licensed

ilot while navigating PugetSound * * *.”"

Wash, Rev. Colle § $8.16 180.

2. Section 3(1), the “access limit’, pro-

hibits any oil tanker of more than 125,000

deadweight tons (DWT) from entering Puget

Sound. Wash. Rev. Code § 88.16.190(1).

3. Section 3(2) provides that an oil tanker

of 40,000 to 125,000 DWT may enter Puget

~ Sound if it either:

(a) Possesses the following safety fea-

tures: minimum shaft horsepower of at least

one horsepower for each 2.5 DWT; twin screws ;

‘The term “deadweight tons” is defined by the Washington State

Board of Pilotage Commissioners for purposes of Chapter 125 as the

cargo-carrying capacity of a vessel, including necessary fuel cils,

stores, and potable water, as expressed in long tons (2240 pounds

equals one long ton).

a * —i sae TOG

7

double bottoms underneath all oil and liquid

cargo spaces; two radars, one of which must be

collision-avoidance radar; and any other navi-

— systems as may be prescribed by the

rd of Pilotage Commissioners; or

(b) Is “* * * under escort of a tug

or tugs with an aggregate shaft horsepower

equivalent to five percent * * *” of its

deadweight tonnage (‘tug escort’) ; or,

(c) Is in ballast. Wash. Rev. Code §

88.16.190(2).

The provisions of Chapter 125 are precisely

drawn to address problems of large oil tanker move-

ment on Puget Sound. The principal operative provi-

sion is the “tug escort.” In practice, tankers have not

incorporated the alternative design and equipment

features of Section 3(2), Chapter 125. These design

and equipment features are optional under the state

regulatory scheme; in essence they constitute a leg-

islative expression of what the State would like to

see incorporated on tankers used in Puget Sound

in order to protect these ecologically sensitive waters.

Since September 8, 1975, the effective date of Chapter

125, all tankers between 40,000 and 125,000 DWT

have used tug escorts; no tanker has been denied

entry to Puget Sound for failure to have the alterna-

tive design features of Section 3(2).

The other operative provision of Chapter 125

is the access limit. The access limit reflects the State’s

concern about the movement of supertankers in the

confined waters of Puget Sound.

ARCO’s primary claims were that Chapter 125

|

was invalid under the Supremacy Clause of the

United States Constitution (Article VI, Clause 2),

because it had been preempted by federal law, par-

ticularly the PWSA, and that Chapter 125 imposed

an undue burden on interstate commerce in violation

_ of the Commerce Clause of the United States Con-

stitution (Article I, Section 8, Clause 3).° ARCO also

claimed Chapter 125 was invalid based upon federal

foreign affairs and treaty-making powers. Because

the action sought injunctive relief against enforce-

ment of a state statute on the grounds of unconstitu-

tionality, a three-judge court was convened pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. $§ 2281, 2284, to determine the case.

Although ARCO in its Complaint requested a

temporary injunction, it did not pursue that request

and no preliminary relief was issued by the District

Court. ARCO continued to comply with Chapter 125

during the pendency of the litigation in the District

Court.

The District Court heard the case on June 25,

1976, upon an agreed statement of facts.

On September 23, 1975, the District Court,

relying upon the PWSA, held that Chapter 125 was

void on the basis that federal law has “preempted the

field.’ (Juris. St., App. C, p. 7a). The District Court

*ARCO’s challenge relies in large measure upon the Ports and

Waterways Safety Act of 1972. That act authurizes the Coast Guard

to establish vessel traffic systems in selected ports and waterways

(Title I) and to impose minimum standards for the design, con-

struction and operation of oil tankers (Title II). The Act's provisions

are discussed in detail infra.

*The District Court also held, contrary to the contention of the

defendant officials of the State of Washington, that the Eleventh

did not “reach” the other contentions raised by

ARCO. (Juris. St., App. C, p. 12a). A judgment de-

claring Chapter 125 invalid was entered on Septem-

ber 24, 1976.

The District Court on November 12, 1976, en-

tered an erder enjoining the enforcement of Chapter

125.’ At the request of the Appellants, the District

Court stayed the effectiveness of the injunction until

December 15, 1976. The Appellants by application

filed with this Court on December 6, 1976, sought a

further stay of the mandate of the District Court.

On December 9, 1976, Mr. Justice Rehnquist referred

the application for a stay to the full Court at the con-

ference following December 10, 1976, and continued

the stay of the District Court’s mandate pending fur-

ther order. On January 10, 1977, the full Court

granted the stay pending final disposition of the ap-

peal by the Court.*

All Appellants request that the Court reverse

the District Court decision by holding that Chapter

Amendment of the United States Constitution did not preclude the

Dictrict Court’s jurisdiction. In so ruling, the District Court wrote:

Aware of the rule in Ex Parte Young, 209 U.S. 123 (1908),

the State invites us to “overrule” it, or at least to restrict

the scope of cases falling within the Young “exception” to the

Eleventh Amendment. The invitation is attractively and per-

suasively argued, but we decline it. The Supreme Court, if it

chooses to do so, will have ample opportunity to reconsider

Young. (Juris. St., App. C, p. lla.)

7See the Order of the District Court, dated November 12. 1976.

(Juris. St., App. B, p. 3a.)

“The order of Justice Rehnquist, dated December 9, 1976, and

the Order of this Court, dated January 10, 1977 appear at (A. 370) and

(A. 373), respectively US. . 97 S. Ct. 544 (1976), US.

. 97 S. Ct. 729 (1977).

ee

10

125 is valid.” In addition, the State of Washington

appellants, Governor Dixy Lee Ray, et al., request

that the Court reverse the District Court’s conclu-

sion it had jurisdiction over them.

B. Puget Sound And Its Adjacent Shorelands.

l. Physical environment.

Puget Sound is a beautiful and extremely valu-

able body of inland water located in northwest Wash-

ington. Connected to the Pacific Ocean and Washing-

ton’s seacoast by the 75 mile long Strait of Juan de

Fuca, its sinuous arms penetrate deeply into West-

ern Washington. Puget Sound is an estuary” con-

sisting of 2500 square miles of inlets, bays and

sion which held invalid that portion of Section 2 of Chapter 125 which

required “enrolled vessels,” i.e., vessels engaged in trade between

United States ports, to take state licensed pilots. Appellants recognize

that the interaction of 46 U.S.C. § 215 and 46 U.S.C. § 364, as con-

strued by the Court, see Sprague v. Thompson, 118 U.S. 92, 95-96

(1886) and Anderson v. Pacific Coast Steamship Co., 225 U.S. 187

(1912), precludes regulation of pilotage on such vessels. It must be

emphasizea that the pilotage requirement of Section ? is plainly valid

insofar as it is applied to “registered” vessels; ic.. vessels trading

between United States and foreign ports whether flying United

States or foreign flags. Moreover, under the Court’s decision in

Anderson v. Pacific Coast Steamship Co., supra, the Washington

State pilotage requirement may be applied to vessels in coastwise trade,

carrying federally licensed pilots aboard, if such vessels are “regis-

tered.” This minor defect in Chapter 125 has no detrimental impact

upon the validity of the remainder of the Chapter because of the long

recognized and firmly established concept of severability embodied in

Washington State law and the “severability clause” of the 1975 state

enactment. Section 6, Chapter 125, Laws of Washington, 1975 Ist Ex.

Sess.; State v. Anderson, 81 Wn.2d 234, 501 P.2d 184 (1972); Boeing

Co. v. State, 74 Wn.2d 22, 442 P.2d 970 (1968).

‘Estuaries are zones of ecological transition between fresh and

salt water. Tere is water and light in the estuarine zone, together

with dissolved nutrients derived from both land and sea. (A. 68.)

ie Sh ae

en Oe ae

11

State’s magnificent and unique island cluster. More

than 200 islands are found throughout Puget Sound,

and numerous marshes, tidal flats, wetlands and nar-

row beaches, often backed by cliffs, are characteristic

of the more than 2,000 miles of shoreline. The distinc-

tive topographic characteristics of Puget Sound are

shared by no other large estuarine system in the

United States outside of Alaska" (A. 69.)

2. The multiple values and uses of Puget Sound.

The importance of Puget Sound to Washington

arises both from its estuarine character and its prox-

imity to Washington’s residents. It provides highly

productive habitats and serves as spawning and nurs-

ery areas for over 2,000 different marine species."

(A. 68, 69.) Further, Puget Sound provides year

round as well as migratory habitats for waterfowl

and wintering areas for waterfowl from Alaska,

Western Canada and Eastern Russia."* (A. 72.)

Additionally, the waters and shorelines of Puget

Sound provide employment, recreational, scientific

and educational opportunities and support naviga-

tion, commerce and other water related economic

uses. Since approximately 65‘, of Wast:agton’s

citizens reside within the twelve counties which

border on Puget Sound, its waters and shorelines are

''The only other comparable estuarine systems are Cook Inlet,

Prince William Sound and Alexander Archipelago, all in Alaska.

!12For example, resident mammals include whales, sea lions, seals

and porpoises. (A. 72.)

Puget Sounm is one of the habitats in the United States of the

Bald Eagle. Larrison and Sonnenberg. Washington Birds, (90-91)

(1968).

Tee

12

accessible to and subject to multiple, and at times

competing, uses. (A. 73, 75.)

Washington and its citizens have a substantial

economic interest in the natural resources of Puget

Sound. The value of the beds, tidelands and water-

front lands adjacent to Puget Sound are estimated

to exceed $2,000,000,000." (A. 73.) The State

has a substantial proprietary interest in these lands,

owning nearly all of the beds and approximately

43‘. of the tideland frontage. (A. 73.) The Puget

Sound fisheries industry, including commercial and

sport fishing, packing and canning, contributes

$170,000,000 annually to Washington’s economy."

(A. 71.) Puget Sound also supports aquaculture

programs, including commercial clam and oyster

farming and salmon rearing."*

Puget Sound and its adjacent uplands are also

significant recreational resources for the State, sup-

porting tourism" and resident recreational activities

“This valuation excludes all industrial, commercial and resi-

dential improvements. (A. 73.)

‘These figures are bas.d on State of Weshington estimates for

1973, including finfish harvest (e.g. salmon, steelhead, herring, smelt

and lingcod) and shellfish harvest (e.g. crab, oyster, clam and

octopus). (A. 71.)

'*For example, the Lummi Indian Tribe conducts an aquacul-

ture program for the propagation and sale of salmon, steelhead, trout,

and oysters at a site only five miles from ARCO’s refinery. The fed-

eral government has expended a total of $3.4 million dollars on behalf

of the aquaculture program of the Tribe. (A. 72.) Total employment

in the State in the aquaculture industry is approximately 1250-1500.

(A. 72.)

''The State of Washington estimates in 1973 that $92.1 million

was spent by tourists in the twelve counties adjacent to Puget Sound.

(A. 74.)

13

such as boating, swimming, water skiing and scuba

diving. Puget Sound residents own a multitude of

pleasure boats and in the summer literally thousands

of these craft are cruising throughout Puget Sound.

Access to the Sound is provided in part by 158

federal, state and local parks and recreation sites.

(A. 74.)

Puget Sound is the site of a number of fish and

wildlife preserves, including 13 federal refuges, 2

state oyster preserves and 4 bird refuges operated by

a non-profit conservation organization. (A. 74.)

In addition, a number of colleges and universities,

state agencies and the National Oceanic and Atmos-

pheric Administration conduct research and educa-

tional programs through marine stations located in

Puget Sound."*

3. Oil transport on Puget Sound.

Located on the uplands adjacent to Puget Sound

are six oil refineries. (A. 44-45, 47-48.) These refin-

eries have a total combined processing capacity of

359,500 barrels of oil per day. (A. 44-45, 47-48.) The

four largest, including ARCO’'s at Cherry Point, are

situated in northern Puget Sound, which contains

most of the Sound’s 200 islands, passes and channels

(map).

The refineries are supplied by tankers which

carry vast quantities of oil. A tanker of 120,000 DWT

'*The University of Washington annually spends $1 million on its

Institute of Marine Studies at Friday Harbor on San Juan Island

Its marine station borders the main oil shipping route to ARCO’s

refinery. Several other marine stations are located near Puget Sound

oil refineries. (A. 75, and Exhibit G.)

eater carnal eines ilies um

14

has the capacity to carry approximately 34,500,000

gallons of oil.’ (A. 45, 80.) The tanker route through

Puget Sound to ARCO’s refinery is through Rosario

Strait, one of the narrowest shipping channels in the

Sound.” (A. 64, and Ex. G.) Further, there are depth

limitations on supertankers.*' Portions of the shipping

route to ARCO’s refinery have a depth of only 60

feet. (A. 65.) Five of the six refineries on Puget

Sound cannot dock a tanker greater than 125,000

DWT because the dockside depth will not accom-

modate the draft of such a vessel. (A. 47-48, 80.)

Only ARCO can receive tankers greater than 125,000

DWT, but it is also restricted by a dockside depth

of 55 feet. (A. 55.) The natural navigational haz-

ards, as well as the “high density of commercial! and

pleasure boat traffic,” Chapter 125, Section 1.

(Wash. Rev. Code § 88.16.170) are compounded

'"A tanker of the 40,000 to 125,000 DWT class is huge. For

example, a 120,000 DWT tanker has an approximate draft of 52 feet,

a width of 138 feet and a length of 850 feet, almost three times longer

than an American football field. Further, the immensity of the

supertankers excluded from Puget Sound by Chapter 125, i.e., those

greater than 125,000 DWT, is difficult for most people to comprehend.

(A. 80.) The general physical dimensions of an “oil-berg” of

250,000 DWT is 1,085 feet long by 170 feet wide, with a draft of 65

feet. Vessels of this class dwarf more well-known ships such as the

“Queen Mary” (81,237 DWT). 25 Encyclopedia Americana 544 (1962).

The Court had occasion to consider the size of these oi] tankers, noting

that ship officers have been issued bicycles to patrol the decks of a

166,890 ton oil tanker. Askew v. American Waterways Operators,

Inc., 411 U.S. 325, 340 (1973).

““At its narrowest point the Rosario Strait passageway is less than

one-half mile wide. (Ex. G.)

*"A 120,000 DWT tanker has a draft of 52 feet and a 190,000 DWT

tanker has a draft of 61 feet. (A. 80.) Vessel draft refers to the

distance the hull extends below the waters’ surface.

15

by tidal currents, fog and visibility limitations and

prevailing winds. (A. 69, and Exs. G and I.)

These tankers are remarkable for their lack of

maneuverability. Congress noted the “propulsion

units [on 250,000 tun tankers are] the equivalent to

a one-third horsepower motor on a 40-foot boat.”

S. Rep. No. 92-724, 92d Cong., Ist Sess. 18 (1972).

(“PWSA Senate Report’). The stopping distance

of 120,000 and 190,000 DWT tankers at 16 knots

is almost two and one-half and three and one-half

miles respectively. (A. 80.) Congress also noted

that during a “ ‘crash stop’ procedure, the vessel

cannot be adequately steered.”” PWSA Senate Report

at 18.

The vast amounts ot .:] carried by tankers,

plus the problems of maneuverability in the face of

navigational obstacles on Puget Sound, create sub-

stantial risks of oi! pollution. In the year preceding

enactment of Chapter 125, three oil tanker polluting

incidents of major propoitivi vecurred worldwide.

(A. 81.) And things are getting worse, not better.

On January 11 of this year, Chairman Magnuson in

his opening remarks in the Hearings on Recent

Tanker Accidents before the Senate Commerce Com-

mittee, 95th Cong., Ist Sess., 1-2, ser. 95-4 (1977),

made two alarming observations:

[T}his country has just witnessed the worst

rash of tanker accidents ever.

He continued with this sad statement:

And on top of that, last year was the worst for

16

vessel losses in history. These ships seem to be

going down everywhere.

Those of us who have studied this area closely

feel that the worst a be yet to come. In other

words, what is possible is going to happen.

* * Harbors are congested ; our vital

waterways are dangerously crowded.

In the first nine months of 1976, prior to the calami-

ties of the winter of 1976-77, nearly 200,000 tons of

oil were spilled—more than in any previous year.”

Few incidents have brought home the reality of the

risks of oil spills more than the grounding of the

Argo Merchant, which spilled approximately 7.3

million gallons off Nantucket Island, Massachusetts.

Fortunately, Puget Sound has not yet experi-

enced a major oil spill. However, there have been at

least 13 tanker casue!ties and there have been oil

spills by tankers in transit and at dockside on Puget

Sound. (A. 121-122, and Ex. P.) Moreover, Alaskan

oil is expected to begin flowing in 1977. The oil in-

dustry plans to transport by tanker 15‘. of the

Alaskan oil to the Puget Sound area. (A. 49.) Thus,

the potential for a disastrous spill is ever present and

growing.

_ An oil spill on Puget Sound has significant po-

tential for destruction of or damage to the marine

life of Puget Sound, industry and jobs dependent

thereon, as well as damage to publicly and privately

owned property. (A. 76.) The National Academy

**Tanker Advisory Center, Worldwide Tanker Casualty Returns:

Third Quarter 1976 (December 23, 1976). Hearings on Recent

Tanker Accidents before the Senate Commerce Committee, 95th Cong.,

ist Sess., 244-47, ser. 95-4 (1977).

a

ee eee

17

of Sciences has found estuaries, such as Puget Sound,

are “particularly vulnerable” to oil spill damages.

(A. 79.) While the extent of damages to natural

resources varies with the circumstances of a particu-

lar oil spill, the greater the amount of oil spilled, the

greater is the potential injury, death or damage.

(A. 76.) The spillage of oil may impair Puget

Sound waters, beaches and shorelines for a number of

public uses. (A. 76.) Since the Sound contains

numerous islands and irregular shorelines, oil may

quickly reach beaches and the shore. It is unknown

whether a spill on Puget Sound greater than approxi-

mately 476 barrels can be contained and cleaned up

without significant property damage first occurring.

(A. 84.) Even a spill contained prior to reaching

shore may cause economic and environmental dam-

age, as well as high costs of cleanup.”

4. Washington State has responded to the risk of

oil spillage.

Protection of Puget Sound from oil pollution has

been and is now the centerpiece of Washington’s ef-

fort to preserve water quality. Over the past ten

years, the State has enacted extensive legislation to

protect the Sound,” and federal, state and local gov-

“°There has been one spil) on Puget Sound of approximately 476

barrels (20,000 gallons). The cleanup cost for this spill exceeded

$50,000. (A. 84.)

-4Following the mandates of federal] water pollution control laws,

the State established substantially ail of the waters of Puget Sound

as Class AA “extraordinary” waters—the highest classification

given to any waters. Washington Administrative Code § 173-201-

080(120). After this designation, the State set upon establishing an

integrated program of insuring the integrity of Puget Sound's water

18

ernments have expended hundreds of millions of

dollars to enhance the Sound’s water quality. In

1975, in response to increasing traffic of large oil

tankers and the navigational constraints of Puget

Sound, the State adopted Chapter 125. The scheme

of protection against oil spill risks contemplated by

Chapter 125 is an integral part of the overall effort

of the State of Washington to preserve and enhance

the environmental quality of Puget Sound.

5. The impact of Chapter 125 on oil transportation

on Puget Sound.

Because ARCO and others have complied with

Chapter 125 since September 8, 1975, appreciation of

the impact of Chapter 125 on oil tanker operations

is based in part on actual experience. Chapter 125

has not caused any reduction in the amount of oil

processed at any Puget Sound refinery. (A. 68.) The

Puget Sound refineries are being fully supplied by

tankers of less than 125,000 DWT. Since these tank-

against the threat from oil spills. In rapid succession, during 1969

through 1971, the State established an oil spill clean-up capability

(Wash. Rev. Code § 90.48.330), strict liability for damages caused

by oil spills (Wash. Rev. Code § 90.48.335), and the regulation of

the“ * * ® tires, places and methods * * *” of transferring

of oil from ship to shore (Wash. Rev. Code 90.48.380). Further, the

Shoreline Management Act of 1971 designates most of Puget Sound

a “shoreline of statewide significance” where drilling for oil is

prohibited. (Wash. Rev. Code § 90.58.030(2)(3); and Wash. Rev.

Code § 90.58.160.) As part of the State’s continuing effort to pre-

vent and control oil pollution, “a continuing, comprehensive pro-

gram of systematic baseline studies” of Puget Sound and other State

marine waters was established in 1973. Wash. Rev. Code § 43.21A-

410. This long-term effort was coupled with the authorization of a

feasibility study of “offshore monobuoy and related petroleum facil-

ities.” Section 14, Chapter 197, Laws of Washington, 1974, First Ex.

Sess.

19

ers do not possess the design and equipment features

enumerated in Section 3(2) of Chapter 125, (Wash.

Rev. Code § 88.16.190), oil tankers between 40,000

DWT and 125,000 DWT are using the alternative

compliance mechanism of tug escorts while navigat-

ing Puget Sound. The cost of compliance for those

tankers is only the cost of tug escort. Tankers calling

at ARCO’s refinery have experienced a tug escort fee

of approximately $7,500, or $.0087 per barrel, for a

120,000 DWT tanker. (A. 68.) This cost compares

with the total transportation cost of crude oil from

Valdez, Alaska to Puget Sound of approxi.aately $.40

per barrel and from the Persian Gulf to Puget Sound

of $1.40 per barrel for a 120,000 DWT tanker.

(A. 63, 64.)

Chapter 125, as a practical matter, has had and

will continue to have little impact on supertanker

use on Puget Sound. Prior to the effective date of

Chapter 125, only six vessels (15 calls) greater than

125,000 DWT ever entered Puget Sound. (A. 46,

113.) The largest of these supertankers was a 138,-

000 DWT vessel. (A. 113.) ARCO, the only Puget

Sound refinery able to handle 125,000 DWT tankers,

intends to supply its entire refinery capacity with

Alaskan oil beginning in 1977. (A. 45, 49.) By law,

this Alaskan oil must be shipped to Puget Sound by

United States flag vessels. (A. 88.) In the whole

United States flag fleet, there are only four tankers

greater than 125,000 DWT. (A. 58-59.) ARCO has

never used and does not intend to use these four

tankers to serve its Puget Sound refinery. (A. 59.)

Rather, ARCO intends to use seven existing tankers

in the Alaska-West Coast trade, none of which is

greater than 125,000 DWT.” (A. 50.)

Chapter 125 is a statute of modest impact on oil

transportation through Puget Sound. Chapter 125 is

a State police power exercise which, by striking a

balance between competing land and water uses on

Puget Sound, is designetl to protect extremely valu-

able resources against the very great risks of oil

spills.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Chapter 125 is a valid exercise of the State of

Washington’s police power, which is not in conflict

with and not expressly or implicitly preempted by

the Ports and Waterways Safety Act. Chapter 125

is part of a comprehensive State effort, encouraged

by a variety of federal legislation, to preserve and

promote the environmental integrity and associated

economic and human values of a delicate inland

marine waterbody, i.e., Puget Sound. The provi-

sions of Chapter 125 are tailored to the local con-

ditions and values of Puget Sound for the purpose

of reducing the substantial risks of oil spillage from

tankers.

ARCO has contracted for construction of two tankers of 150,000

DWT which are intended for West Coast Trade. (A. 50.) Alaskan

oil ts intended for Long Beach, California and San Francisco, Cali-

fornia, as well as Puget Sound. (A. 49.) There are presently

monobuoys off the coast of California near Long Beach, one of which

can accommodate tankers with a draft of 56 feet. (A. 50.) The two

tankers of 150,000 DWT which have been contracted for by ARCO

will have a draft of 55 feet. (A. 50.)

ee me me

21

It is undisputed that all oil tankers navigating

Puget Sound can comply with all federal regulations

as well as with Chapter 125. Full compliance with

both federal and state regulation has occurred since

September 8, 1975, the effective date of Chapter 125.

Congress did not expressly preempt Chapter

125. Neither the language nor the legislative history

of the PWSA contains the required clear and mani-

fest indication of preemptive intent. Title I of the

PWSA, which provides the Coast Guard with discre-

tionary power to establish vessel traffic systems in

congested waters, expressly recognizes and contem-

plates continued regulation in local waters by state

and local authorities. Indeed, a number of existing

local traffic control schemes were called to the atten-

tion of Congress prior to enactment of the PWSA,

and Congress did not indicate when adopting the

PWSA that such local control was precluded. While

one section of Title I, which preserves state authority

to set higher standards for onshore structures,

may preclude by implication some aspect of state

authority over vessels, the provisions of Chapter

125 are not embraced within even the broadest

reading of any negative implication of this section.

The types of controls contained in Chapter 125 are

unrelated to the vessel traffic system which the Coast

Guard has established for portions of Puget Sound.

Title II of the PWSA contains no language of

preemption. In fact, its reference to the “minimum

standards” to be set by the Coast Guard strongly

suggests other governmental bodies, such as states,

may set more stringent requirements to meet local

conditions.

Chapter 125 is not implicitly preempted. The

PWSA does not constitute a pervasive federal scheme

which leaves no room for supplemental state action.

Even if the PWSA were construed as granting broad

authority to the Coast Guard to act in certain ports

and waters, that grant of authority in itself cannot

be deemed as demonstrating a congressional intent

to oust all state regulation. Given the scope of the oil

tanker pollution problem, comprehensive federal

authority is both likely and appropriate wholly apart

from any preemptive intent. Significantiy, neither

the PWSA nor its implementation is all-inclusive.

Chapter 125 is a response to the particuiar naviga-

tional hazards of Puget Sound and has no impact on

any national transportation system. Further, the

goals of Chapter 125 and the PWSA are similar,

and the provisions of Washington’s law support,

rather than obstruct, federal efforts to protect

marine environments from the risks of oil pollution.

Far from reflecting a “Balkanization” of regula-

tory authority, Chapter 125 is the kind of creative

state effort, consistent with and supplemental to

federal efforts, needed in a healthy federal system.

The District Court did not reach several claims

raised below by ARCO. If it had, it would have

found that Chapter 125 is consistent with all federal

laws dealing with certification and registration of

23

vessels and the Merchant Marine Act. Similarly,

since the type of regulation contained in Chapter 125

is not the subject of any treaty or convention, Chap-

ter 125 does not interfere with international agree-

ments or the ability to conduct foreign affairs. Fur-

ther, Chapter 125 does not interfere with any needed

uniformity in or create an impermissible burden on

interstate commerce.

Finally, the appellant State of Washington pub-

lic officials contend that the Eleventh Amendment to

the Constitution precluded the federal district court

from entertaining ARCO’s chaiienge to the validity

of Chapter 125.

ARGUMENT

I. CHAPTER 125 IS NOT IN CONFLICT WITH

AND HAS NOT BEEN EXPRESSLY OR IM-

PLICITLY PREEMPTED BY THE PORTS AND

WATERWAYS SAFETY ACT.

Pursuant to the Supremacy Clause of the Con-

stitution, Article VI, Clause 2, state legislation is

presumed valid unless an actual conflict exists be-

tween state and federal regulations or Congress

curtails or totally ousts state regulation of a subject

area. Congress may expressly preempt by so declar-

ing in federal! legislation. In addition, a court may

find implicit in federal regulation a congressional

intent to preempt even consistent or supplemental

state regulation. However, in the absence of clear

evidence of such congressional intent, the Tenth

24

Amendment to the Constitution preserves the author-

ity of states to exercise their traditional police

powers.

The District Court, construing the PWSA for

the first time, held this statute preempted the entire

field of oil tanker regulation. (Juris. Stat., App. C,

p. 7a.) The sweeping preemption holding of the

District Court radically upsets an area of traditional

state authority, ousting coastal states from their

historically recognized police powers over coasta! and

harbor uses to prevent oil pollution directly. The

result of the Distvict Court’s holding is that state

legislatures are stripped of vitally important powers

to protect state resources and the jobs and industry

dependent on those resources. Such a far-reaching

result cannot have been, and indeed, was not intended

by the framers of the PWSA.

Chapter 125 represents the exercise of the State

of Washington’s police power to conserve land and

water resources and to promote the genera! welfare

of its citizens by maintaining the quality of the

State’s waters.” The distribution of oil by tanker in

the State involves inseparable land use, water use

and water pollution problems. Normal tanker traffic,

as well as casualties from oil spillage, substantially

affect and may alter the use of both water and

adjacent land. Traditionally, land use authority has

been the prerogative of state government.” For ex-

26ARCO has never claimed that Chapter 125 is not a valid exer-

cise of the police power of the State.

27See, e.g., Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co., 272 U.S. 365 (1926).

— eee

25

ample, the decision whether to allow an oil refinery

and the authority to control its location, size and

other features reside with state and local govern-

ments.” The District Court decision creates an incon-

sistent situation whereby state and local govern-

ments have absolute veto power over refinery location

on Puget Sound to protect land and water resources,

yet would be ousted of any authority to protect those

same resources from hazards created by the trans-

portation of crude oil across State waters to local

refineries.

It is weil recognized that innovative state en-

vironmental legislation, enacted by those who are

often better equipped to resolve particular local prob-

lems, is integral to a healthy federal system. See,

e.g., Askew v. American Waterways Operators, Inc.,

411 U.S. 325 (1973); Huron Portland Cement Co. v.

Detroit, 362 U.S. 440 (1960) ; Manchester v. Massa-

chusetts, 139 U.S. 240 (1891); Skiriotes v. Florida,

313 U.S. 69 (1941) ;* cf., National League of Cities

v. Usery, 426 U.S. 833 (1976).

The salutary power of the states to act does not

2“ARCO submitted to zoning requirements in seeking a location

for its Puget Sound refinery. The refinery location that ARCO pre-

viously sought in Snohomish County on Port Susan Bay was denied in

1969, and the denial upheld by the Washington State Supreme Court,

because of its potential “detrimental effect on water and land re-

sources.” Chrobuck v. Snohomish County, 78 Wn.2d 858, 872, 480

P 2d 489 (1971).

“*Lower federal and state courts have reached similar conclusions.

See. e.g., Proctor & Gamble Co. v. Chicago, 509 F.2d 69 (7th Cir.). cert.

denied, 421 U.S. 978 (1975); American Can Co. v. Oregon Liquor

Control Comm'n, 15 Ore. App. 618, 517 P.2d 691 (1973): review denied.

Id. at 691 (Ore. 1974); Marshall v. Consumers Power Co., 66 Mich.

App. 237, 237 N.W.2d 266 (1975).

26

stop at the water’s edge. Since Cooley v. Board of

Wardens, 53 U.S. (12 How.) 299 (1851), the Court

has consistently emphasized that the different needs

and unique features of different port areas demand

particularized local regulation.” Thus, for example,

in Packet Co. v. Catlettsburg, 105 U.S. 559, 563

(1881), the Court upheld loca! harbor regulations

prescribing times and locations for the landing of

vessels, stating:

{The regulation] belongs also, manifestly, to

that class of rules which, like pilotage and cer-

tain others, can be most wisely exercised by

iocai authorities, and in regard to which no

neral rules, applicable alike to all ports and

anding places, can be properly made.

State police power control of vessels is long-standing

and extensive.”

—

“The Court stated in Cooley, 53 US. (12 How.) at 320:

{T)he nature of the subject [pilotage) * * * is such as to

leave no doubt of the superior fitness and propriety, not to say the

absolute necessity, of different systems of regulation, drawn

~~ Hypa knowledge and experience, and conformed to local

wants.

"See, e.g., Morgan’s S.S. Co. v. Louisiana Board of Health, 118 U.S.

455 (1886) (upholding state maritime quarantine regulations); Ander-

son v. Pacific Coast S.S. Co., 225 U.S. 187 (1912) (upholding state

pilotage requirements for “enrolled vessels” in coastwise trade

which are “registered”); Willson v. Black Bird Creek Marsh Co., 27

US. (2 Pet.) 245 (1829) (upholding state construction of a dam

blocking navigable waters); Escanaba Co. v. Chicago, 107 U.S. 678

(1882) (upholding state construction of bridge partially obstructing

traffic on navigable waters); Transportation Co. v. Parkersburg, 107

U.S. 691 (1882) (upholding, local fees for wharfage imposed on vessels

in interstate commerce) ; Pound v. Turck, 95 U.S. 459 (1877) (uphold-

ing state construction of dam blocking traffic on navigable river) ; see

also Kelly v. Washington, 302 U.S. 1 (1937); Huron Portland Cement

Co. v. Detroit, 362 U.S. 440 (1960); Portland Pipe Line Corp. v.

Environmental Improvement Comm’n, 307 A.2d 1 (Me.), appeal dis-

missed, 414 U.S. 1035 (1973).

= e-em

27

Only four years ago, in upholding a state oil

spill liability scheme, the Court termed oil spills:

[A]n insidious form of pollution of vast concern

to every coastal city or port and to a!! the estu-

aries on which the life of the ocean and the lives

of the coastal people are greatly dependent.

Askew v. American Waterways Operators, Inc., 411

U.S. 325, 328-29 (1973).

Where a state has enacted lerislation, such as

Chapter 125, in an area of trai)’ onal state com-

petence, the Court, in evaluating claims of preemp-

tion, begins with the strong presumption that the

challenged statute is valid. The rule is that the:

[ H]istoric police powers of the States [are] not

to be superseded by the Federal Act unless that

was the clear and manifest purpose of Congress.

Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218, 230

(1947); Florida Lime & Avocado Growers, Inc. v.

Paul, 373 U.S. 132, 146 (1963); DeCanas v. Bica,

424 U.S. 351, 357 (1976); Jones v. Rath Packing

a | Cf , 97 S. Ct. 1305, 1309 (1977).

As the Court stressed again this term, this presump-

tion of validity :

[P]rovides assurance that “the federal-state

balance,” United States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336,

349 (1971), will not be disturbed unintention-

ally by Congress or unnecessarily by the courts.

Jones v. Rath Packing Co., supra, 97 S. Ct. at 1309.

Only a demonstration that complete ouster of

state power—including the ouster of state power to

promulgate laws not in conflict with federal laws—

was plainly contemplated by Congress justifies a

28

conclusion that state regulation designed to protect

vital state interests must give way to paramount fed-

eral legislation. DeCanas v. Bica, 424 U.S. 351, 357

(1976). Preemption involves:

Nd — “+: between stat-

tes adop y separate, yet coordinate,

federal — ftyhe sovereignties * *

refore} (t proper saevensh | is to recon-

cile “the operation of both statutory schemes

with one another rather than holding one com-

pletely ousted.”

Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc. v. Ware,

414 U.S. 117, 127 (19738), quoting Silver v. New

York Stock Exchange, 373 U.S. 341, 357 (1963).

In essence, three inquiries are warranted to

determine whether state regulation is precluded:

A. The Court must determine whether it is

eae Dea yr wate fed-

jeory + — ., Northern States Power

Co. v innesota, 447 “2d 1143, 1146 (8th Cir.

1971), aff'd mem., 405 U.S. 1035 (1972), ons

Florida Lime & Avocado Growers, Inc. v. Paul,

373 U.S. 132, 142-43 (1963).

B. The Court must determine whether Con-

has “ ‘unmistakably * * * ordained’ ”

t federal law alone is to late a particular

subject mater. Jones v. Rath Pac Co., 97

S. Ct. 1305, 1309 oye ee Lime &

Avocado Growers, Inc. v

C. The Court must determine M+ oll in the

—- = of conflict or express preemption, pre-

emption should be inferred in light of the nature

scope of the federal tory scheme. See,

, Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 US.

218, 230 (1947); Florida Lime & Avocado

Growers, Inc. v. Paul, supra.

—_— ow ee

— -

Each case mut necessarily turn on its own

particular facts, e.g., “on the peculiarities and spe-

cial features of the federa! regulatory scheme in

question.” Burbank v. Lockheed Aix Terminal, Inc.,

411 U.S. 624, 638 (1973). In the instant case, not

only is compliance with both federal and state regu-

lation possible, but it is clear that Congress did not

intend, either by express declaration or by implica-

tion, the complete ouster of state authority.

A. There Is No Preemptive Conflict Between The

Ports and Waterways Safety Act And Chapter 125

Because It Is Possible To Comply With Both

Statutes.

The rule as to the existence of actual conflict is

stated in Head v. New Mexico Board of Examiners

in Optometry, 374 U.S. 424 (1963), to the effect a

state statute cannot be upheld if there is found to be:

[S]uch actual conflict between the two schemes

of regulation that both cannot stand in the same

area.

374 U.S. at 430, citing Florida Lime & Avocado

Growers, Inc. v. Paul, 373 U.S. 132 (1963).

Actual conflict is only found where compliance

with federal and state statutes is a “physical im-

possibility,” Florida Lime & Avocado Growers, Inc.

v. Paul, 373 U.S. 132, 142-43 (1963), or where the

“repugnance or conflict [is] direct and positive, so

that the two acts could not be reconciled or consist-

ently stand together.” Reid v. Colorado, 187 U.S.

137, 148 (1902), citing Sinnot v. Davenport, 63 U.S.

(22 How.) 227, 243 (1859).

30

The absence of actual conflict is demonstrated

by full compliance of ARCO and others with both

Chapter 125 and federal regulation since September

8, 1975, the effective date of Washington’s law.”

Obviously, the tug escort requirement and access

limit for supertankers can stand consistently with

the Puget Sound Vessel Traffic System (or “VTS”)

adopted by the Coast Guard. See 33 C.F.R. Part

161, Subpart B (1974).” That system does not in-

volve comprehensive control of tanker movement but

simply establishes separated lanes, partial radar

tracking, and periodic reporting requirements.

The Vessel Traffic System is unaffected by the

use of tug escorts or by the absence of supertankers

greater than 125,000 DWT from Puget Sound. There

is no evidence in the record which even remotely

suggests, and the District Court did not find, that

Chapter 125 has any effect on the operation of the

Puget Sound Vessel Traffic System.

“2It is clear there must be a concrete, specific conflict before a stat-

ute can be struck down. As the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals

stated in Proctor & Gamble Co. v. Chicago, 509 F.2d 69, 77 (7th Cir.),

cert. denied; 421 U.S. 978 (1975), “[I]}n a case involving environmental

legislation it is actual conflict not potential conflict that is relevant.”

See also Askew v. American Waterways Operators, Inc., 411 U.S. 325,

336-37 (1973); Goldstein v. California, 412 U.S. 546. 554-55 (1973).

“[T)he teaching of this Court’s decisions * * * enjoin seeking

out conflicts between state and federal regulation where none clearly

exists.” Huron Portland Cement Co. v. Detroit, 362 US. 440, 446

(1960).

“Although certain amendments to this system have been pro-

posed, see 42 Fed. Reg. 3182 (January 17, 1977), they are not material

to the instant litigation.

31

Since Chapter 125 does not impose any design,

construction or equipment standards, no conflict is

even possible. Even assuming the Coast Guard had

rejected double-bottoms, twin screws, collision avoid-

ance radar and shaft horsepower requirements as

mandatory, their inclusion as an alternative to tug

escorts under the State regulatory scheme poses no

conflict. Further, it is beyond dispute that any oil

tanker between 40,000 DWT and 125,000 DWT

which has the design and equipment features em-

bodied in Section 3(2) of Chapter 125 (Wash. Rev.

Code § 88.16.190(2)) can also comply with all

rules and regulations promulgated under the PWSA

for vessels in both domestic and foreign trade.”

B. Congress In The Ports And Waterways Safety Act

Did Not “Unmistakably Ordain” That Federal Law

Is Exclusive.

In order to explicitly preempt the historic police

power of the state, Congress must expressly and

unequivocally declare that federal authority is exclu-

sive. See, e.g., DeCanas v. Bica, 424 U.S. 351, 357

(1976); Florida Lime & Avocado Growers, Ine. v.

Paul, 373 U.S. 132, 146-47 (1963) ; Rice v. Santa Fe

Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218, 230 (1947). The

PWSA does not declare federal exclusivity and the

*4See 33 C.F.R. Part 151 (1975) (general rules for tankers in do-

mestic trade); 33 C.F.R. Part 157 (1976) (general rules for tankers in

domestic trade) ; 33 C.F.R. Part 157, as amended by 41 Fed. Reg. 54177

(December 13, 1976) (general rules for tankers in foreign trade); 33

CFR. Part 164, adopted at 42 Fed. Reg. 5955 (January 31, 1977)

(navigational safety rui.s).

32

District Court found no express preemption of

Chapter 125.”

1. The language and the structure of the Ports and

Waterways Safety Act demonstrate that no

preemption is intended.

Neither the language nor the structure of Title

I of the PWSA lends itself to a finding that Congress

has acted to exclude all state tanker regulation. Title

I does not deal with the entire field of tanker regula-

tion. It is legislation which grants discretionary

authority to the Coast Guard, but which does not

mandate any regulatory measures. Moreover, Title

I is directed primarily toward establishing vessel

traffic systems or services to ensure port safety.

Section 101(1). See generally H. R. Rep. No. 92-563,

92nd Cong., Ist Sess. (1971) (“PWSA House Re-

port’); PWSA Senate Report.” Title I does not

provide the Coast Guard with authority to establish

design and construction standards for vessels, and

indeed, contains no provision which even relates to

equipment requirements for vessels outside of the

limited context of equipment needed to utilize vessel

traffic services or systems. Section 101(2).

A reading of the PWSA indicates Congress did

not consider this legislation to be preemptive, but

rather to be additional authority to be carefully

placed beside existing federal, state and local regula-

35ARCO did not claim that any federal legislation, other than the

PWSA, explicitly preempts the matters regulated by Chapter 125.

**The establishment of vessel traffic systems is “the heart of the

iegislation.”” PWSA House Report at 8.

33

tions over the same subject. At least two sections of

the PWSA not only recognize state police power

authority over vessels but also contemplate continu-

ation of state and local regulation of vessels and

related matters after passage of the PWSA:

In determining the need for, and the substance

of, any rule or regulation or the exercise of other

authority hereunder the Secretary shall, among

other things, consider—-

. * * *

(6) Existing vessel traffic control systems, serv-

ices, and schemes; and

(7) local practices and customs,

Section 102(e), (emphasis supplied).

The statute further provides:

In the exercise of his authority under this title

* * * * [t]he Secretary may also con-

sider, utilize, and incorporate regulations or

similar directory materials issued by port or

other State and local authorities. Section

102(c).”

The only language in the entire PWSA which

could arguably indicate an intent by Congress to

preempt some aspect of state authority is contained

in Section 102(b), which provides:

Nothi.., contained in this oe Lae I] sup-

plants or modifies any treaty or Federal statute

or authority granted thereunder, nor does it

revent a State or political subdivision thereof

rom prescribing for structures only higher

safety equipment requirernents or safety stand-

* * * *

‘Si$ection 101(5) also recognizes and preserves continued state

authority. The Coast Guard may require pilots “where a pilot is not

otherwise required by State law to be on board until the State having

jurisdiction of an area involved establishes a requirement for a

pilot in that area or under the circumstances involved ”

34

ards than those which may be prescribed pur-

suant to this title. Section 192(b).

No prohibition of any state action is expressly stated.

Rather, this section is phrased as a preservation of

state authority over onshore structures.” Any nega-

tive inference of Section 102(b) regarding state

authority is so ambiguous and obscure as to be insuf-

ficient, as the District Court implicitly recognized,

to demonstrate the requisite congressional preemp-

tive intent.”

Section 102(b) applies only to Title I of the

PWSA, which is directed primarily at Coast Guard

authority to establish vessel traffic systems. More-

over, by its terms, Section 102(b) refers to “safety

equipment” or “safety standards”. The vessel “equip-

"The language in Section 102(b) was in part a response to a con-

siderable number of witnesses before the House Committee who

were fearful that the Coast Guard would extend its “safety equip-

ment requirements for structures” in Section 101(7) of the PWSA to

structures only remotely related to the water and create an onshore

permit program as extensive as the Army Corps’ navigation permit

program. Hearings on H.R. 867, H.R. 3635, H.R. 8140 and H.R. 6332,

before the Subcommittee on Coast Guard, Coast and Geodetic Survey

and Navigation of the House Committee on Merchant Marine and

Fisheries, 92d Cong., Ist Sess. 141, ser. 91-12 (1971). (“PWSA House

Hearings”).

“Congress, it must be emphasized, knows well how to explicitly

preempt state legislation. Thus, for example, in the Clean Air Act

Amendments of 1970, 42 U.S.C. § 1857 et seq., Congress expressly

preempted the field of adopting and enforcing new car emission

standards to prevent air pollution in the following language:

§ 1857f-6a State Standards

(a) No State or any political subdivision thereof shall adopt

or attempt to enforce any standard relating to the control of

emissions from new motor vehicles or new motor vehicle engines

subject to this part. No state shall require certification, inspection,

or any other approval relating to the control of emissions from any

new motor vehicle or new motor vehicle engine as a condition prec-

edent to the initial retail sale, titling (if any) or registration

35

ment” which the Coast Guard is authorized to require

under Title I consists of “electronic or other devices

necessary for the use of the [vessel traffic] service

or system.’ Section 101(2). Thus, one cannot prop-

erly conclude that Congress intended the language

“safety equipment” and “safety standards” in Sec-

tion 102(b) to embrace Washington’s access limit,

tug escort or alternative design provisions.

However, even if the broadest interpretation is

taken of any negative preemptive implications of

Section 102(b) upon state power, Chapter 125 is

still valid. Section 102(b) specifically deals with

situations in which a state may prescribe higher

standards than those established by the Coast Guard.

In this case the Coast Guard has established a vessel

traffic system for Puget Sound. The requirements of

Chapter 125 are unrelated to that system; thus they

cannot be construed as “higher standards” which

would be preempted.

Title II of the PWSA, for its part, authorizes

the Coast Guard to promulgate “minimum stand-

ards” for the “design, construction, alteration, re-

pair, maintenance and operation” of tankers in order

to protect the marine environment. Title II contains

‘Equipment required in the Puget Sound Vessel Traffic System

is limited to “a radio telephone that is capable of operation on the

navigational: bridge of the vessel,” 33 C.F.R. § 161.122 (1974). In ad-

dition, the Coast Guard requires all vessels over 1,600 DWT operating

in navigable waters to be equipped with a radar system, a steering

compass, a gyrocompass, a rudder angle indicator, and an echo

depth sounding device. 33 C.F.R. Part 164, adopted at 42 Fed. Reg. 5955

(January 31, 1977). None of these equipment requirements are af-

fected by the presence or absence of tug escorts

36

no language whatsoever with respect to preemption

of state standards. In fact, if anything, the language

and structure of Title II contain the inference that

state standard setting is permissible. If federal

standards are “minimum,” there would appear to be

nothing to prevent other governmental bodies, such

as state legislatures, from establishing standards

more stringent than the minimum.”

2. The legislative history of the Ports and Water-

ways Safety Act reveals no intent to preempt.

The legislative history of both Title I and II of

the PWSA equally fails to reveal an intent to pre-

empt all state regulation of oil pollution hazards.

The genesis of Title I indicates concurrent fed-

eral and state regulation was contemplated.” Prior

to 1972, the Coast Guard’s authority to regulate port

safety was fragmented. It acted under three separate

‘The use of “minimum” language in a statute is indeed strong

evidence that Congress did not intend to displace state regulation.

Florida Lime & Avocado Growers, Inc. v. Paul, 373 U.S. 132, 147-148

(1963); cf., Palladio, Inc. v. Diamond, 321 F. Supp. 630 (S.D.N_Y.

1970), aff'd, 440 F.2d 1319 (2nd Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 983

(1971); A. E. Nettleton Co. v. Diamond, 27 N.Y.2d 182, 264 N.E.2d

118 (1970), appeal dismissed sub nom. Reptile Products Association,

Inc. v. Diamond, 401 U.S. 969 (1971) (state statute regulating importa-

tion of endangered species upheld when state endangered species list

more comprehensive that that established under federal endangered

species legislation) .

**Secretary of Transportation John Volpe, in transmitting to

Congress the Administration's bill in a form almost identical to the

enacted Title I of the PWSA, stated:

[W]e would expect to continue to encourage greater involve-

ment and allocation of resources by state and local port author-

ities. Though the regulatory authority of our proposal will

assure appropriate federal coordination and general uniformity.

the — of the ° pave aunty task as well as unique local conditions

and problems ly compels local as well as federal effort.

PWSA House Hearings at 4. (emphasis supplied).

37

grants of authority: the Tank Vessel Act of 1936, ch.

729, 49 Stat. 1889, which gave it authority to issue

regulations with respect to vessels carrying “inflam-

mable or combustible cargoes” ; the Magnuson Act, 50

U.S.C. § 191 (1970) which authorized the promulga-

tion of rules governing the movement, inspection, and

guarding of vessels, harbors, ports and waterfront

facilities in the United States upon a determination

that our national security was in danger; and the

Dangerous Cargo Act, ch. 777 § 1, 54 Stat. 1023

(1940), which provided authority to issue regula-

tions governing the carriage of explosives or danger-

ous substances, including oil. Significantly, the first

two statutes were wholly silent as to preemption,

while the third contained a specific waiver of pre-

emption.“ It thus can scarcely be said that prior to

1972 regulation of the movement of oil in our ports

and waterways was recognized by Congress as an

exclusively federal function.

The purpose of Title I was simply to place Coast

Guard regulation on a more permanent and broader

statutory footing, confirming existing Coast Guard

authority and extending it to permit the establish-

ment of vessel traffic control systems made possible

by newly developed technology. PWSA House Report

at 3, 7; PWSA Senate Report at 2791-92. The mere

“Section 1 a) of the Dangerous Cargo Act, ch. 777. 54 Stat. 1023

(1940), provided:

Nothing contained in this section shall be construed as preventing

the enforcement of reasonable local regulations now in effect or

hereafter adopted, which are not inconsistent or in conflict with

this section or the regulations of the Commandant of the Coast

Guard established hereunder.

38

enactment of Title I cannot lead to the conclusion

that preemption was intended where it never had

existed before. Furthermore, prior to the passage of

PWSA, at least ten vessel traffic systems were in

operation in various ports and harbors.“ Several of

these were specifically brought to the attention of

Congress, including those in Chesapeake Bay, the

Delaware River, Los Angeles-Long Beach Harbor,

Honolulu and the Saint Mary’s River.” As recognized

by this Court in New York Department of Social

Services v. Dublino, 413 U.S. 405, 414 (1973), con-

gressiona!l awareness of such systems, coupied with

the absence of direct and unambiguous preemptive

language, is a very strong indication that Congress

did not intend to preempt and thereby abolish exist-

ing state and local regulation.“

While the legislative history of Title I reflects

some concern about the regulation of vessels by state

and local authorities, this concern was directed pri-

marily at situations where conflict might arise be-

Coast Guard and Navigation of the House Committee on Merchant

Marine and Fisheries, 94th Cong., Ist Sess. 183, ser. 94-39 (1975).

“PWSA House Hearings at 26, 317-18. Hearings on the Navigable

Waters Safety and Environmental Quality Act before the Senate

Committee on Commerce, 92d Cong., Ist Sess. 137-138. ser. 92-39

(1971). (“PWSA Senate Hearings’).

**In Dublino, the Court, rejecting a claim of preemption, noted

that 21 states had welfare work requirements in existence when the

Federal Work Incentive Program legislation was enacted:

If Congress had intended to preempt state plans and efforts in

such an important dimension of the AFDC program as employ-

ment referrals for those on assistance, such intentions would in

all likelihood have been expressed in direct and unambiguous

language. No such expression exists, however * * * * (em-

phasis supplied) .

39

ment of James Reynolds, President, American In-

stitute of Merchant Shipping, in Hearings on H.R.

17830, H.R. 18047, H.R. 15710, Before the Subcom-

mittee on Coast Guard, Coast and Geodetic Survey

and Navigation of the House Committee on Merehant

Marine and Fisheries, 91st Cong., 2d Sess. 181-182,

ser. 91-34 (1970), particularly regarding equipment

regulations and safety standards which relate direct-

ly to implementation of vessel traffic systems. See,

e.g., Testimony of John Reed, Chairman of the Na-

tional Transportation Safety Board, PWSA House

Hearings at 348-49 (1971); see also Statement of

Clayton Peavey, Chief, Central Planning Division,

Port of New York Authority, id. at 185-86.

Although the House Report’s discussion of Sec-

tion 102(b) at one point states that “state regulation

of vessels is not contemplated,” the remainder of the

Report’s discussion of Section 102(b), set in the con-

text of other legislative history, indicates that a nar-

rower reading of Section 102(b) is appropriate. Any

preemption, at best, is limited to equipment or stand-

ards which may conflict with or are deemed necessary

to utilize a vessel traffic system."

‘The full discussion of Section 102(b) in the House Report is as

follows:

This amendment was suggested since it was felt that H.R. $140

[the bill which became the PWSA] does not make it absolutely

clear that the Coast Guard regulation of vessels preempts state

action in this field. The inserted language is a positive statement

retaining State jurisdiction over structures and making clear that

State regulation of vessels is not contemplated.

Last year in the hearings on H.R. 17830, Subcommittee Counsel

asked the Coast Guard [Chief] Counsel whether it was the inten-

tion of the Coast Guard that states should prescribe safety equip-

ment standards for vessels. The Coast Guard witness said that it

was their intention that higher vessel equipment regulations and

standards by States should apply to structures only and not to

40

The legislative history of Title II of the PWSA

is almost wholly silent on the question of preemption.

In fact, the issue of preemption was not focused upon

during the course of the Senate Commerce Commit-

tee’s hearings. See Hearings on S.2074 Before the

Senate Commerce Committee, 92d Cong., lst Sess.,

ser. 92-39 (1971). It is not mentioned in the Senate

Report on the PWSA, and it was not alluded to

during either Senate or House consideration of the

legislation on the floor. See 118 Cong. Rec. 11058-60,

22983-86 (1972).

In sum, neither the language nor the history of

the PWSA will support a conclusion that Congress

clearly and manifestly intended to preempt the field

of regulation of oil tanker pollution. Appellants sug-

gest that the reaction of Senator Warren Magnuson,

the Senate sponsor of the PWSA, to the decision of

the District Court is precisely in point:

As the sponsor of that Act [the PWSA] in the

Senate, I have made known my disagreement

with the decision. I think it is wrong; I feel the

Court has simply misread the intent of Congress

as contained in the Ports and Waterways Safety

Act. The weakness of the decision is highlighted

by the complete absence of any analysis of the

terms of the Act. The Court’s reasoning was

simplistic at best. Preemption is not favored in

the law. Congress must show a clear intent to

vessels. He agreed that the language of H.R. 17830 was not clear in

this regard and that we should put some clarifying language in the

section.

Your committee adopted the suggested language since it will

make clear the intent mentioned above. PWSA House Report at 15.

The Senate Report, for its part, discussing the section which became

102(b), contains no reference to preemption. PWSA Senate Report

at 2793.

41

preempt before such a finding is made. This

court summarily reached its decision on the

thinnest of reasoning. I say they are wrong. 121

Cong. Rec. 17575 (daily ed., October 1, 1976).*

C. There Is No Implicit Preemption Of Chapter 125.

The District Court, rather than finding conflict

or express preemption, in essence held Chapter 125

unconstitutional on the basis of implicit preemption.

Such a holding was unsupported by authority and is

unsupportable based upon the factors generally con-

sidered in an implicit preemption analysis.”

1. The regulatory scheme established by the Ports

and Waterways Safety Act is not so extensive

as to preclude state action.

The District Court found preemption in part

based on its conclusion that the PWSA established a

“comprehensive federal scheme” for regulating oil

‘Senator Magnuson expressed similar views when he submitted

a statement to a joint session of the Washington State House and

Senate Energy and Transportation Committees, in November, 1975,

where he stated:

I wish I could report that the Ports and Waterways Safety Act

has been an 4 success. It has not. It has only been a

limited success, ause the power to regulate vessel operations

and tanker construction standards has simply not been used by

the Coast Guard as we in Congress expected—and as we were

promised. The Coast Guard has done an excellent job with the

vessel traffic control system established by that Act, and particu-

larly here in Puget Sound. It has not, however. gone beyond that

stem to require the controls needed.

ortunately, that federal law does not prevent you from enacting

regulations over vessel operations here at the state level. (emphasis

supplied.)

*"The District Court cited no authority for its analytical approach

However, the factors relied upon by other courts to find implicit

preemption are: (1) whether the federal scheme is so pervasive that

there is no room for state action, (2) whether there is a dominant

federal interest in uniform federal regulation so as to preclude en-

forcement of state laws, and (3) whether the state policies pro-

duce a result inconsistent with the objectives of federal legislation

See, e.g., Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp.. 331 U.S. 218. 230 (1947)

42

tankers. (Juris. St., App. C, p. 7a.) However, the

extent of the federal scheme established by the

PWSA is not sufficient grounds for finding Chapter

125 preempted.” The Court has often emphasized

that comprehensive statutory schemes, enacted in the

exercise of what may be broad federal powers, may

nonetheless leave the states with extensive leeway to

achieve complementary goals under state legislation.

See, e.g., DeCanas v. Bica, 424 U.S. 351 (1976); New

York State Department of Social Services v. Dublino,

413 U.S. 405 (1973). Detailed statutory schemes

are necessarily appropriate, quite apart from pre-

emptive intent, in most areas of modern life. As the

Court stated in Dubline, 413 U.S. at 415:

“While ARCO argued below that, quite apart from the PWSA,

there was a “maze of federal legislation”, a “seamless web” which

left no room for state action, the patent speciousness of such an

argument is borne out by the numerous cases which have upheld

state regulation of vessels in the face of claims of federal preemp-

tion. Thus, in Kelly v. Washington, 302 U.S. 1 (1937), the Court

upheld the State's inspection and regulation of tugboats which were

either registered, or enrolled and licensed under federal laws. In

Huron Portland Cement Co. v. Detroit, 362 U.S. 440 (1960), the Court

upheld Detroit's Smoke Abatement Code, which required structural

alterations in vessels, even though those ships met all federal design

and equipment requirements. In Askew wv. American Waterways

Operators, Inc., 411 U.S. 325 (1973), the Court upheld the Florida

Oil Spill Prevention and Pollution Control Act, which provided for

the State's recovery of clean-up costs and imposed strict, no fault lia-

bility on vessels entering state waters, even though the Federal Water

Quality Management Act established “a pervasive system of federal

control over discharges of oil.” 411 U.S. at 330. See also Portland Pipe

Line Corp. v. Environmental Improvement Comm'n, 307 A.2d 1 (Me.).

appeal dismissed, 414 U.S. 1035 (1973). Each of these cases rests, to

some extent, on its own special facts, but each serves to demonstrate

the extent to which there is room under the overall federal scheme

of oil tanker regulation for local pollution control efforts. See also

discussion at 25-26, supra, of extensive state police power regulation

of vessels.

a,

43

We reject, to begin with, the contention that

pre-emption is to be inferred merely from the

comp ive character of the federal work

incentive provisions. The subjects of modern

social and regulatory legislation often by their

very nature ire intricate and complex re-

sponses from Congress, but without Con-

gress necessarily intending its enactment as

the exclusive means of meeting the problem.

Given the complexity of the matter addressed

by Congress in WIN, a detailed statutory scheme

was both likely and appropriate, completely

apart from any questions of pre-emptive intent.

(citations omitted ).”

The inquiry is whether Congress, having failed to

expressly preempt, has created a scheme which leaves

no room for state action.

The PWSA is not so comprehensive, in intent or

implementation, as to oust the states from a regula-

tory role in the marine pollution area.” Title I does

“In the District Court, ARCO relied on two decisions, Burbank

». Lockheed Air Terminal, Inc., 411 U.S. 624 (1973), and Northern

States Power Co. v. Minnesota, 447 F.2d 1143 (8th Cir. 1971).

aff'd mem.. 405 US. 1035 (1972), for the proposition that a com-

prehensive federal regulatory scheme must necessarily preclude

complementary state regulation. However, both cases are limited

to rather special circumstances: radiation standards in Northern

* States and air space management in Burbank, where there was a

history of exclusive federal control and no history of state police

power regulation. As such, they have little application to an area

such as port and waterway safety, where a state has long been

held to have “exceptional scope for the exercise of its regulatory

power * * * *®*” Southern Pacific Co. v. Arizona ex rel. Sullivan.

325 U.S. 761, 783 (1945).

“In determining whether the federal scheme is so pervasive

as to leave no room for state laws, the Court examines what in fact

has been federally regulated. As repeated in DeCanas wv. Bica, 424

US. 351, 360 at n.8 (1976):

Little aid can be derived from the vague and illusory but often

repeated formula that Congress * occupying the field’ has ex-

cluded from it all state legislation. Every Act of Congress occupws

44

not contemplate that vessel traffic systems or services

will necessarily include all aspects of navigational

safety within a particular port or harbor area, nor

does it require such systems for all ports. Since

Congress contemplated there may be widespread

variations from port to port in the specifics of tanker

regulation, any comprehensiveness of the federal

program is of little relevance. Cf., Terminal Railroad

Association v. Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen,

318 U.S. 1, 8 (1943); Florida Lime & Avocado

Growers, Inc. v. Paul, 373 U.S. 132, 148-49 (1963).

The Coast Guard recently agreed that Title I left

room for supplemental state regulation, specifically

stating that states could require tug escorts to ad-

dress particular local risks.”

The PWSA was the result of a deliberate effort

by Congress to carefully define the scope of the Coast

Guard’s authority, including the types of waters in

which it could establish vessel traffic systems, the

elements of such a system, and the manner in which

direct vessel movement would be controlled. In ex-

plaining Title I, and how it had been modified in

response to extensive criticism of a prior port safety

bill, Coast Guard Admiral! Bender characterized the

language of the PWSA as:

some field, but we must know the boundaries of that field before

we can say that it has precluded a state from the exercise of any

power reserved to it by the Constitution * * * * Hines v.

Devidowitz, 312 U.S. 52, 78-79 (1941) (Stone, J., dissenting) (em-

phasis supplied.)

“Coast Guard Response to Questions asked of Admiral! Siler by

Senator Magnuson, Hearings on Recent Tanker Accidents, before

the Senate Commerce Committee, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. 412, 463,

ser. 95-4 (1977). A more complete discussion of the Coast Guard

response is contained at 62-63, infra.

45

[Carefully limiting the scope of the authority

granted more precisely defining the activi-

ties and regulations so authorized. PWSA House

Hearings at 21."

The primary regulatory objective of Title I was

the authorization of the Coast Guard to establish

vessel traffic systems in “waters subject to congested

vessel traffic” and to require the “installation of

electronic or other devices necessary” to use that

system. Sections 101 (1 and 2). While other regula-

tory measures were authorized, see, e.g., Sections

101(3), (4) and (5), it was understood that any

direct control of vessel movement by the Coast Guard

would be done only in limited circumstances:

Mr. Clark. To what degree and under what cir-

cumstances would the Coast Guard employ firm

control of traffic?

Admiral Bender. There are many degrees of

control that might be employed, Mr. Chairman.

First would be the simple matter of regulation,

such as for example, establishing one-way chan-

nels, or the en the channel, but as for the

direct control of traffic, while it is aged in

its movement we would generally rely upon

advice, and only issue direct orders to the master

or to the pilot under circumstances of extreme

emergency. *~ * *

We do not see the extent of traffic control that

the Federal Aviation Administration requires

'4In 1970, the Administration introduced in Congress H.R. 17830,

which would have provided very broad authority to prescribe marine

traffic control procedures. In 10 days of hearings, the bill was

heavily criticized as “loosely drawn and * * * both vague

and exceedingly broad in its scope.” PWSA House Report at 4: PWSA

House Hearings at 1. The bill was not enacted. See also comparison of

changes between H.R. 17830 and H.R. 8140. PWSA House Hearings at

27-28.

46

either on airways or at the airport. PWSA

House Report at 8-9. (emphasis supplied.)

Thus, Title I does not contemplate that a vessel

traffic system, even if established for a port, will

necessarily include all aspects of vessel regulation.

What in practice are the operative provisions of

Chapter 125, i.e., tug escorts and the access limit,

are barely addressed in the PWSA, let alone in a

comprehensive manner. For example, the legislative

history of the PWSA contains no discussion of tug

escorts. To the extent the PWSA authorizes the

Coast Guard to consider tugs or access limits, that

authority is contained in Sections 101(3) (iii) and

(iv), which refer respectively to “establishing vessel

size and speed limitations and vessel operating condi-

tions” and “restricting vessel operation.” These

Coast Guard powers, however, relate primarily to the

operation of vessel traffic control systems.” More-

over, they may be limited by the preambular lan-

guage of 101(3) to areas which are “especially haz-

ardous” or to temporary hazardous conditions, such

as those which might be caused by adverse weather

or reduced visibility.

The District Court apparently concluded mere

enactment of the PWSA preempted state authority.”

As discussed at pages 33-34, supra, such a View

ignores the statutory language recognizing existing

state and local traffic systems. See, e.g., Sections

“PWSA Senate Report at 2791-92.

“The District Court concluded that since the PWSA granted

the Coast Guard the authority to require tugs and exclude tankers,

these provisions in Chapter 125 were thereby preempted. (Juris. Stat.,

App. C, pp. 7a-8a.)

47

102(c) and (e). Furthermore, the District Court’s

conclusion that the “comprehensive federal scheme’”’

preempted “the field” (Juris. Stat., App. C, p. 7a)

overlooks the fact that Title I does not require the

Coast Guard to take any action in any port. Section

101 provides the Coast Guard may establish vessel

traffic systems. Given the clear congressional objec-

tive of protecting marine environments from vessel

pollution, it is unlikely Congress intended enactment

of the PWSA to preclude states from protecting their

waters, even “congested” or “hazardous” areas, while

leaving it to the Coast Guard in its discretion to de-

cide, for whatever reasons, whether or not to exercise

the powers granted it.”

The implementation of Title I also leaves room

for state regulatory activity. In the case of Puget

Sound, although the Coast Guard Vessel Traffic

System establishes a general routing and reporting

system, that system is scarcely all-encompassing.

For example, while its traffic lanes keep vessels sep-

arated, the system does not purport to address other

problems of tanker movement, such as lack of maneu-

verability and loss of power—problems addressed by

Chapter 125."

‘In determining preemptive intent, the Court may consider the

distinction between a duty imposed and an action permitted. Sec,

e.g., H. P. Wetch Co. v. New Hampshire, 306 U.S. 79, 84-85 (1939):

In view of the effort of governmental authorities everywhere to

mitigate the destruction of life, limb and property resulting from

the use of motor vehicles, it cannot be inferred that Congress in-

tended to supersede any state safety measure prior to the taking

effect of a federal measure found suitable to put in its place.

See also Southern Pacific Co. v. Arizona ex rel. Sullivan, 325 U.S.

761, 765-66 (1945).

‘*While the Coast Guard has published an Advance Notice of

Proposed Rulemaking, 41 Fed. Reg. 18770 (May 6, 1976), indicating

48

The Coast Guard has neither proposed nor

adopted regulations establishing general access

limits for Puget Sound. Indeed, the subjects of tug

escort requirements and access limits were never

considered by the Coast Guard when it established

the Puget Sound VTS. See generally Notice of Pro-

posed Rulemaking, Puget Sound Vessel Traffic Sys-

tem, 38 Fed. Reg. 21227 (August 6, 1973); Final

Rules and Regulations for Vessel Traffic Systems in

Puget Sound, 33 C.F.R. Part 161 (1974). Not a

single person who testified on or submitted comments

with regard to the proposed Vessel Traffic System -

rules suggested that tug escort or vessel access

limits be established—they were simply outside the

scope of the rulemaking. See generally Public Docket,

CGD 73-158 PH, Coast Guard Headquarters, Wash-

ington, D.C. 20590.

It is equally clear that the design and construc-

tion standards authori7ed and adopted under Title

II are not comprehensive in the sense of precluding

all state efforts to protect their waters.” Certainly,

that it is considering the possibility of proposing general regulations

for tug escorts, it has not actual'y proposed, let alone adopted, such

regulations.

“The regulations adopted to date by the Coast Guard under the

PWSA, and the new tanker safety initiatives announced by Presi-

dent Carter on March 18, 1977, leave room for state action. Regula-

tions currently in effect under Title II of the PWSA have been

recognized by the Coast Guard itself as “not a complete and compre-

hensive answer” to the tanker pollution problem. United States Coast

Guoerd, Final Environmental Impact Statement on Regulations for

Tank Vessels Engaged in the Carriage of Oil in Domestic Trade at 1

(August 15, 1975) (“CG EIS,” Ex. X., A. 207). They have, moreover,

primarily been directed at the reduction of operational pollution, CG

EIS at 1, 2, 6, Ga, 60e, GOf (A. 212-213, 219-220, 286) whereas the

49

there is nothing in the PWSA, no matter how com-

prehensive its intent, which would make it inappro-

priate for a state to specify optional design and

equipment features, which features are deemed

equivalent to tug escorts in providing protection to a

unique marine environment. Yet this is all that

Chapter 125 does.

In sum, the field is left open for state action to

supplement federal requirements in order to protect

local marine environments and the jobs and indus-

tries dependent on their natural resources. C/.,

Parker v. Brown, 317 U.S. 341 (1943); H. P. Welch

Co. v. New Hampshire, 306 U.S. 79 (1939).

2. Tanker regulation does not require uniform

national implementation.

To the extent the District Court found preemp-

tion based on a need for uniformity, the Court

was speaking primarily of vessel design and con-

thrust of Chapter 125 is to reduce accidental pollution risks. The Presi-

dential initiatives would go substantially beyond existing Coast Guard

requirements in establishing new design, equipment, construction and

manning requirements. Statement of Brock Adams at Hearings on

S.182 et al. before the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and

Transportation, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. (March 18, 1977) (“Adams State-

ment”). However, there is much that they leave untouched. The Presi-

dential initiatives contain nothing with respect to access limits on traf-

fic in sensitive or hazardous environments, the need for tug assistance,

or the use of pilots, all integral elements of Chapter 125.

*°To the extent that a case such as Napier v. Atlantic Coast R.R.

Line, 272 U.S. 605 (1926), stands for any different proposition, it

simply no longer represents the law. Its basic holding that unimple-

mented federal power is still preemptive has been completely eroded.

See, e.g., Terminal R.R. Ass'n v. Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen,

318 U.S. 1 (1943). Napier’s emphasis on the scope of federal regulation

alone as the dispositive criterion in preemption cases cannot be

squared with later cases. E.g., Florida Lime & Avocado Growers, Inc.,

supra.

50

struction standards which the Coast Guard promul-

gates under Title II of the PWSA. However, the pro-

tection of marine environments, such as Puget Sound,

from the risks of oil tanker pollution does not inher-

ently require exclusive national supervision.”

The District Court’s conclusion that Title I

mandates uniform design and equipment standards

is incorrect for several reasons. First, the language

of Title II itself, calling for “minimum standards”

by the Coast Guard, negates any conclusion the

PWSA requires exclusive national control to achieve

uniformity. Second, the District Court ignored the

fact that tankers on Puget Sound have complied with

Chapter 125 since its effective date without any

design or equipment modifications, and failed to dis-

cuss how Washington’s optional design features, as

alternatives to tug escorts, can interfere with any

purported need for uniformity of design and equip-

ment standards. Third, design and equipment stand-

ards may vary as a function of local conditions. Con-

sistent with the “systems approach” mandated by

Title II of the PWSA, PWSA Senate Report at 2773,

the Coast Guard acknowledges that particular design

and construction features may depend upon such

factors as the environment and the geographic loca-

tion in which a ship is operating. For example, with

respect to maneuverability features such as twin

“Par from requiring uniform regulation, protection of local woters

demands diverse responses. See generally cases cited at p. 26, fn. 30,

supra.

51

screws, the Coast Guard has stressed that the effec-

tiveness of such features in improving tanker “con-

trollability” may depend upon “the environment in

which the specific ship is operating” and “the con-

straints imposed by the geographic location within

which the ship is operating.” CG EIS at 64. (A. 293.)

In other words, in certain environments, specified

maneuverability features may make substantial

sense, even if not mandated on a national basis.

Tug escorts and access limits, as with design

and equipment standards, do not require national

uniformity. The PWSA, as well as Coast Guard

implementation thereof, recognize that a diversity

of local conditions may call for a diversity of appro-

priate solutions. Title I of the PWSA is specifically

adapted to the promulgation of different regulations

for each port. Thus, Section 102(e) provides:

In determining the need for, and the substance

of, any rule or regulation or the exercise of other

authority hereunder, the Secretary shall, among

other things, consider * *

(1) the scope and degree of hazards;

(2) vessel traffic characteristics * * *;

(3) port and waterway configurations and the

differences in geographic, climatic, and

other conditions and circumstances;

(4) environmental factors;

(5) economic impacts and effects;

(6) a vessel traffic control systems, serv-

ices and schemes; and

(7) local practices and customs * * * *

(emphasis supplied).

Both the Senate and House Reports on the PWSA

emphasize the port by port approach mandated by

52

the Act, taking into account varying local environ-

mental hazards. PWSA Senate Report at 2791-92;

PWSA House Report at 8.

Chapter 125 responds to local conditions. Tug

escorts supplement maneuverability of oil tankers

between 40,000 and 125,000 DWT, in response to

natural conditions in Puget Sound such as the depth

and width of channels, location of islands and other

navigational hazards, tidal currents, prevailing fog

and visibility conditions and prevailing winds.

(A. 69.)

The access limit on oil tankers ygrealer than

125,000 DWT also responds to natural conditions.

Five of the six refineries adjacent to Puget Sound

cannot handle a tanker as large as 125,000 DWT.

Each has a controlling dockside depth of 45’ or less,

and a 120,000 DWT tanker has a 52’ draft. Although

ARCO can receive tankers greater than 125,000

DWT, ARCO is also restricted by a dockside depth

of approximately 55’. Further, along the tanker’s

route through the San Juan Islands, the depth in

places is only 60 feet. (A. 65. )

The absence of a need for exclusive federal con-

trol over access limits is demonstrated by the Deep-

water Port Act of 1974, 33 U.S.C. $§ 1501 et segq.,

which establishes a federal scheme for the licensing

of offshore terminals for supertankers beyond the

existing territorial jurisdiction of the states. The

*2The largest tanker to call at ARCO’s refinery was 138,000 DWT.

(A. 113.)

53

Act specifically vests in adjacent states an absolute

veto over port proposals, 33 U.S.C. §§ 1503(c) (9)

and 1508(b), thereby reflecting a congressional

judgment that individual states should have final

authority over supertanker use off their coasts.” It

is highly unlikely that Congress intended that the

State of Washington could exclude supertankers at

offshore ports but not do so in inland waters where

the dangers of transportation are greater, as are the

environmental values to be preserved.

Thus, given the wide variance in local environ-

mental needs and sensitivities, there is no inherent

reason to have exclusive federal control and thus no

grounds to infer preemption. Where, as here, the

congiessional objective of reducing the risk of eco-

nomic and environmental damage caused by oil spills

“Contrary to the suggestion of ARCO below, states were given

this authority to protect the marine environment from oil spills, as

well as to control landside impacts. The congressional judgment is

well expressed in the Senate Report on the Act, which states:

The Committees believe that such provisions [the state veto pro-

vision] are necessary to protect the interests of coastal states in

the deepwater port development process.

States and localities will ultimately experience economic and

environmental impacts as a result of deepwater port development.

a * ”

The Committees believe that any coastal State which chooses to

forego benefits associated with deepwater ports to avoid potential!)

adverse environmental impacts should be allowed to veto the issu-

ance of a license for deepwater port development off its shores.

The Deepwater Port Act of 1974 creates this explicit veto power

in section 4(c)(9) and section 9(b) because a state wouid not

otherwise have such authority over a Federal license. Joint Report

on S.4076 of the Senate Committees on Commerce, Interior and

Insular Affairs and Public Works, S. Rep. No. 93-1217, 93rd

Cong., 2d . 10. (October 2, 1974). (emphasis added).

State power has in fact been recognized in implementation of the Act

as extending to the design, construction, equipment and operation of

supertankers. See stipulation of settlement and voluntary dismissal

dated January 14, 1977, in Askew v. Coleman, civil action No. 76-2005

(D.D.C., filed October 28, 1976).

54

is furthered by the exercise of traditional state police

powers supplementing federal programs operating in

related but distinct areas, a preemptive intent can-

not be reasonably found.”

3. Chapter 125 is consistent with the Ports and

Waterways Safety Act and overall federal policy

for protection of the marine and coastal environ-

ment.

The District Court characterized the PWSA as

not “inviting” state participation in its regulatory

scheme (Juris. Stat., App. C, pp. 9a-10a.), and

ARCO argued below that any state regulation would

interfere with the balance which must be struck by

the Coast Guard in implementing the PWSA. How-

ever, an examination of (a) the goals of Chapter 125

and the PWSA, (b) the effect of implementation of

Chapter 125 on the accomplishment, both nationally

and internationally, of the goals of the PWSA, and

(c) the necessity of interpreting the PWSA consist-

ently with overall federal policy for protection of

the marine and coastal environment, serves to demon-

strate that Chapter 125 is fully compatible with, and

indeed helps achieve, the objectives of the federal

legislation.

"'This judgment has been well expressed by Chief Judge Lum-

bard of the Second Circuit in Chrysler Corp. v. Tofany, 419 F.2d 499,

511 (2d Cir. 1969):

We have already stated that the express purpose of the federal

statute before us is the reduction of traffic accidents. Uniformity

through national standards is of course desirable, but in these

cases it is truly a secondary objective. * * * * If traffic

safety is furthered by a traditional type of state regulation under

the police power, as we feel that it is here, a narrow construction

of the preemptive effect of the federal Act and Standard No. 108

is required.

a. The goals of state and federal laws are consistent.

The full purpose and objectives of the PWSA

are to prevent maritime damage and “to protect the

navigable waters and the resources therein from

environmental harm resulting from vessel or struc-

ture damage, destruction or loss.” Section 101."

Chapter 125 seeks to achieve like goals. Its essential

purpose is “to decrease the likelihood of oi! spills

on Puget Sound and its shorelines.” Chapter 125,

Section 1 (Wash. Rev. Code § 88.16.170).

Obviously, there is “overlap,” as the District

Court indicated (Juris. Stat., App. C, pp. 10a-1lla.),

between the purposes of Chapter 125 and those of the

PWSA. Such overlap, however, is emphatically not

grounds for inferring a preemptive intent and up-

setting state police power regulation. The Court has

consistently upheld state laws where their purposes

have been parallel to, complementary with, or in

furtherance of the goals of the federal act by which

it is claimed they are preempted. See, e.g., Florida

Lime & Avocado Growers, Inc. v. Paul, 373 U.S. 152

(1963); Kewanee Oil Co. v. Bicron Corp., 416 U.S.

470 (1974); Goldstein v. California, 412 U.S. 546

(1973); Askew v. American Waterways Operators,

ine., 411 U.S. 325 (1973).

As the Court stated in New York State Depart-

“In addition to the general goals of the PWSA enunciated in Title

1, Title II is intended to achieve the improvement of “existing stand-

ards for the design, construction, alteration, repair, maintenance and

operation of {certain bulk cargo vessels, including oi] tankers) for

the adequate protection of the marine environment.” Section 201 (1)

56

ment of Social Services v. Dublino, 413 U.S. 405, 419

(1973):

It would be incongruous for on the

one hand to promote [a given i

and on the r to prevent States from under-

taking | ppenannEny efforts toward this very

same end.

b. Chapter 125 does not impede the enforcement

or accomplishment of the objectives of the

Ports and Waterways Safety Act.

Not only are the purposes of Chapter 125 and

the PWSA consistent, but it is also clear that, con-

trary to the claims of ARCO below, Chapter 125

does not upset any delicate “balancing of competing

interests” which must be made under the PWSA

before regulations are issued, nor does it interfere

with any goal of encouraging international agree-

ment.

ARCO below sought to analogize the decision-

making process under the PWSA to that created by

the Federal Aviation Act, 49 U.S.C. $§ 1301, et seq.,

and the Atomic Energy Act, 42 U.S.C. $§ 2051, et

seq., federal regulatory schemes in which it was held

in Burbank v. Lockheed Air Terminal, Inc., 411 U.S.

624 (1973), and Northern States Power Co. v. Min-

nesota, 447 F.2d 1143 (8th Cir. 1971), aff'd mem.,

405 U.S. 1035 (1972), that a federal balancing of

competing factors excluded state regulation. The

statutory scheme at issue here is significantly differ-

ent. Whereas the Administrator of the Federal Avia-

tion Administration and the Commissioners of the

57

Atomic Energy Commission were charged with the

dual functions of both regulating and promoting an

industry, thereby making balancing of commercial!

and safety factors the essence of the decision-making

process, the Secretary of Transportation is charged

under the PWSA solely with regulatory functions.

A fundamental purpose of the PWSA is to provide for

environmental protection. Economic and commercial

considerations, although relevant, see Sections 102

(e)(5), 201(4), are incidental to the accomplish-

ment of the basic purposes of the statute. See, ¢.v.,

PWSA Senate Report at 2777. The requirements of

Chapter 125 cannot be interpreted as “interfering”

with any “delicate balance” established under the

PWSA. Rather, with a parallel goal of environ-

mental protection, its implementation helps to fulfill

the PWSA’s general objectives.

It is equally clear that the specific provisions of

Chapter 125 do not upset the administration of the

PWSA. In the District Court, ARCO did not seri-

ously contend that tug escorts impeded the accomp-

lishment of PWSA purposes. The exclusion of super-

tankers from Puget Sound is consistent with the

intent of Congress that vessel size limitations not be

imposed universally, but only be established on a

port by port basis, based on a consideration of local

needs. PWSA Senate Report at 2792. Indeed, this

is precisely what the State of Washington has done.“

“The findings of Chapter 125 are explicit in this regard: |

The legislature further recognizes that certain areas of Puget

Sound and adjacent waters have limited space for maneuvering 4

58

Furthermore, this action is fully compatible with and

indeed contemplated by the state veto over super-

tanker use embodied in the Deepwater Port Act of

1974, 33 U.S.C. $$ 1503(c)(9), 1508(b). Indeed

it is in furtherance of the environmental purpose

of the Deepwater Port Act that, because of the

risk of major spills, supertankers should be utilized

at offshore ports, away from sensitive areas such

as Puget Sound.” Joint Report of the Senate Com-

mittee on Commerce, Interior and Insular Affairs

and Public Works on 8.4076, S. Rep. No. 93-1217,

93rd Cong., 2d Sess. 101 (October 2, 1974).

Chapter 125 also does not interfere with the

PWSA’s goal of encouraging development of desir-

able international design standards for vessels. See

PWSA Senate Report at 2783, 2788. It cannot be

emphasized strongly enough that Chapter 125 does

not involve the “unilateral imposition” of design

standards on any vessels, including foreign flag

tankers. Foreign flag tankers smaller than 125,000

DWT tons, regardless of their design or eyuipment,

are perfectly free to trade in Puget Sound, and have

done so, if they take state pilots and tug escorts.

Pilotage and tug escort requirements have always

been considered a local prerogative and are not the

subject of international accord. Finally, the exclu-

large oil tanker and that these waters contain many natural

navigationa! obstacles as well as a high density of commercial and

boat traffic. Chapter 125, Section 1 (Wash. Rev. Code §

88.16.170).

““The committees specifically noted that the West Coast states

had expressed the belief that Alaskan oi! should be unloaded at

offshcre deepwater ports.

59

sion of supertankers from Puget Sound is unrelated

to design, construction, and equipment requirements

of the sort embodied in international agreements and

thus in no way impinges on U.S. efforts to promote

the adoption of such agreements.”

c. The Ports and Waterways Safety Act must be

interpreted consistently with overall federal

policy for protection of the marine and coastal

environment.

Chaper 125 and the PWSA must be set in the

context of the overall federal approach to the protec-

tion of marine and coastal resources. Other federal

statutes, including the Federal Water Pollution Con-

trol Act Amendments of 1972, 33 U.S.C. $$ 1251

et seq., the Coastal Zone Management Act of 1972,

16 U.S.C. $$ 1451 et seqg., and the Deepwater Port

Act of 1974, 33 U.S.C. $$ 1501 et seqg., expressly

*“'Even if Chapter 125 were deemed related in some obscure way

to the process of achieving international agreement, it must be

remembered that the primary thrust of the PWSA is to protect the

domestic marine environment by all appropriate means. The PWSA

does not commit the United States to an exclusive international

regime. Rather, the Senate Commerce Committee, in its Report on

the PWSA, made it clear that environmental protection should not be

“sacrificed” on the principle of international regulation. PWSA Senate

Report at 2783, 2788. In announcing hi initiatives on March 18, 1977,

President Carter reaffirmed the appropriateness of unilateraliy mov-

ing ahead of the international community to establish environ-

mentally sound vessel source pollution standards. See Adams state-

ment. In so doing, he implicitly rejected the rationale, often expressed

by the Coast Guard in the past, see CG EIS at 4-8 (A. 216-222), that it

was necessary to defer to international standards in order to jeopardize

ratification of international agreements or risk other adverse inter-

national repercussions. In such circumstances, Chapter 125 cannot

realistically be regarded as inteffering with any federal policy of

deference to international forums.

preserve state authority to address sources of water

and coastal! pollution.”

The District Court acknowledged these statutes

to be part of the congressional policy of “cooperative

federalism” in environmental regulation, and recog-

nized state involvement “in virtually all of [Con-

gress’] water-related regulatory programs.” (Juris.

Stat., App. C, p. 9a). However, the District Court

concluded that since these statutes “explicitly invited

state participation,” while the PWSA had no express

invitation, Congress did not intend to share any regu-

latory authority over oi] tankers and attendant pollu-

tion risks. (Juris. Stat., App. C, pp 9a-10a.) The

Court in effect reversed the established requirement

that state police powers are preempted only where

Congress clearly and manifestly intends such a re-

sult. The District Court suggested states are pre-

empted unless Congress invites state action. Further-

more, the District Court ignored the teaching of this

Court that, absent a clear expression of congressional

intent to preempt, the proper approach is to strive

“The Court, in DeCanas v. Bica, 424 U.S. 351 (1976), recognized

the importance of examining other federal statutes to determine

congressional intent with regard to preemption. The Court found no

intent to preempt California's alien employment law based on the

scope and detail of the Immigration and Nationality Act (“INA”), 8

U.S.C. § 1101 et seq. The Court found evidence in other federal legis-

lation, i.e., the Farm Labor Contractor Registration Act, 7 U.S.C. § 2041,

et seq., that Congress intended that states could, consistent with fed-

eral law, regulate employment of illegal aliens. The Farm Labor Act

expressly reserved state authority to supplement federal action, al-

though it did not cover all activities covered by the California statute.

Nevertheless, the Court found this related federal legislation was

“persuasive evidence that the INA should not be taken as legislation

by Congress expressing its judgment to have uniform federal regula-

tions * * * *” 424 U.S. at 362.

61

to the fullest extent possible to hold the federal and

state regulatory efforts in harmony. See, e.g., Mer-

rill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith v. Ware, 444 U.S.

117, 127 (1973).

The fundamental national policy stated in the

Federal Water Pollution Control Act Amendments

of 1972, is “to recognize, preserve and protect the

primary responsibilities of the states to prevent, re-

duce and eliminate pollution * * * *” 33 U.S.C.

§ 1251(b). The Coastal Zone Management Act of

1972, 16 U.S.C. $§ 1451 et seqg., which established a

program of federai grants to coastal states for devel-

oping coastal zone management programs, is based

in part upon the finding that,

The key to more effective protection and use of

the land and water resources of the coastal zone

is to encourage the States to exercise their full

authority over the land and waters in the coastal

zone * * * * 16 U.S.C. § 1451(h).”

The Estuarine Areas Act of 1968, 16 U.S.C. $$ 1221

et seq., provides:

[I]t is declared to be the policy of Con-

gress to recognize, preserve and protect the

responsibilities of the States in protecting, con-

“©The Coastal Zone Management Act encourages implementation

of zoning-type controls to govern the use of land and water resources

comprising the coastal zone, which includes Puget Sound. State man-

agement programs establishing controls must consider, inter alia,

economic development. This economic development, including “‘trans-

portation and navigation,” was found to place increasing and com-

peting demands upon the land and waters of the coastal zone. 16

U.S.C. § 1451(c). On June 1, 1976, the Secretary of Commerce ap-

proved Washington State’s management program for regulation of

uses within the state’s coastal zone (A. 343). This management

program includes all state statutes applicable to the coastal zone,

including Chapter 125. With this federal approval all federal pro-

grams must be consistent with the state program. 16 U.S.C. § 1456(c).

62

servin , and restoring the estuaries of the

United States. 16 U.S.C. $ 1221.

The Deepwater Port Act of 1974, 33 U.S.C. $$ 1501

et seq., which provides for federal licensing of off-

shore po ts for supertankers, declares that its pur-

poses are, inter alia, to:

(3) protect the interests of the United States

and of adjacent coastal States in the loca-

tion, construction, and operation of deepwater

pars and (4) protect the rights and responsi-

ilities of States and communities to regulate

growth, determine land use, and otherwise pro-

tect the environment in accordance with law. 33

U.S.C. $$ 1501{a)(3) and (4).

It is difficult to perceive that the same Congress

which passed the Federal Water Pollution Control

Act and the Coastal Zone Management Act could

have intended a complete erasure of state and local

authority over one of the prime potential sources

of marine and coastal pollution. Passage of the Deep-

water Port Act two years later further reinforces

the dominent role of states in the regulation of oil

transportation and delivery in and adjacent to their

marine waters.”

Indeed, the Coast Guard itself has advised Con-

gress that, in the absence of conflict, state action on

tanker safety is not a hindrance to federal regula-

tory efforts under the PWSA. See Coast Guard re-

sponse to questions asked of Admiral Siler by

Senator Magnuson, Hearings on Recent Tanker

‘“Subsequent, as well as contemporaneous, legislation may be used

to determine congressional purpose. See, e.g..Great Northern Railway

Co. v. United States, 315 U.S. 262 (1942).

Accidents Before the Senate Commerce Committee,

95th Cong., Ist Sess. 412-64, ser. 95-4 (1977).

After noting that states have traditionally and legit-

imately required that vessels in foreign trade employ

pilots familiar with local waters and environmental

conditions, the Coast Guard went on to indicate that

other state standards which did not “contradict”

existing federal and international requirements

were acceptable, specifically stating:

If the state wished to add on to the existing

federal standard, rather than to conflict with it,

say to require the use of tugs to address some

particular local risks, and if that standard did

not impede innocent passage, then the Coast

Guard would support that action.

Id. at 463. (emphasis supplied).

The Coast Guard’s own statements thus belie any

claim that Chapter 125 is preempted as incompatible

with the federal regulatory role under the PWSA.

The District Court, accepting the arguments of

ARCO in reference to design and construction stand-

ards, stated, “Balkanization of regulatory authority

over this most interstate, even international, of

transportation systems is foreclosed by the national

policy embodied in the PWSA.” (Juris. Stat., App. C,

p. 8a.) Appellants do not believe that this case has

anything to do with mandatory design standards.

But in any event to view state standard setting as

“Balkanization,” with all its negative connotations,

reflects a mistaken perspective of the proper relation-

ship between state and federal governments in this

area. Appellants suggest that Chapter 125 ought

64

more properly to be viewed as providing a needed and

diverse solution to a difficult environmental problem

—the kind of creative action which is vital to a

healthy federal system. As Mr. Justice Brandeis

stated in New State Ice Co. v. Liebmann, 285 U.S.

262, 311 (1932):

It is one of the happy incidents of the federal

system that a single courageous State may, if

its citizens choose, serve as a laboratory; and

try novel social and economic experiments with-

out risk to the rest of the country.

Chapter 125, a statute which in no way inter-

feres with federa! pollution control efforts, is pre-

cisely the kind of progressive state action which

should be upheld and encouraged.

Il. CHAPTER 125 DOES NOT CONFLICT WITH

THE CERTIFICATION AND PERMIT PRO-

VISIONS OF THE TANK VESSEL ACT, WITH

FEDERAL VESSEL REGISTRATION, EN-

ROLLMENT AND LICENSING LAWS, OR

WITH THE MERCHANT MARINE ACT OF

1970 AND THE FEDERAL MARITIME AD-

MINISTRATION’S TANKER CONSTRUCTION

PROGRAM.

In the District Court, ARCO argued that, al-

though actual conflict in the sense of impossibility

of dual compliance did not exist, Chapter 125 none-

theless interfered with the administration and ob-

structed the realization of the goals of a number of

federal enactments, including the certification and

permit provisions of the Tank Vessel Act of 1936,

i

65

federal vessel registration, enrollment and licensing

laws, and the Merchant Marine Act of 1936, as

amended in 1970 and the Federal Maritime Admin-

istration’s tanker construction program." The Dis-

trict Court did not reach the conflict issue, except as

regards Chapter 125’s provisions for state-licensed

pilots on “enrolled vessels.” If it had, it would have

found ARCO’s claims without merit.

A. Chapter 125 Does Not Conflict With Federal Certi-

fication And Licensing Of Oil Tankers.

Oil tankers subject to Chapter 125 must obtain

federal certificates under the Tank Vessel Act, as

amended, 46 U.S.C. § 391a, in order to engage in the

transportation of oil, and all United States flag ves-

sels over 20 tons must have federal licenses in order

to engage in commerce. The certificates and licenses

held by oil tankers do not, however, represent an

affirmative and absolute grant of authority to engage

in the transport of oil at all times and in all places.

Certificates obtained by oil tankers under Section

201(6) of the PWSA, for example, merely indicate

that the vessel is in compliance with the rules and

regulations promulgated thereunder. Likewise, li-

censes which may be granted to engage in coastwise

trade, see 46 U.S.C. $§ 251-335, are basically issued

as a registration device, designed to insure that only

certain vessels, i.e., U.S. flag vessels, may engage in

trade between U.S. ports. It is clear, in any event,

TLARCO claimed that Chapter 125 was invalid under the authority

of Perez v. Campbell, 402 U.S. 637 (1971).

72 See discussion at p. 10, n. 9, supra.

that federal certification and licensing does not pre-

clude the State of Washington either from acting

in the area of tug escort and alternative design fea-

tures, or from excluding supertankers from certain

parts of the State’s waters.

Insofar as Chapter 125’s alternative tug escort

and design provisions are concerned, these provisions

in no way affect the ability of ARCO to utilize fed-

erally certificated or federally licensed tankers to

carry oi] to Puget Sound. Indeed, ARCO has been

complying with Chapter 125 since it became effective.

Numerous vessels have carried oil to the Cherry Point

refinery in that time.” In any case, the Court has

rejected the contention that the licensing and en-

rolling of vessels by the federal government gives

them a “dominant federal right to use the navigable

waters of the United States, free from the local im-

pediment that would be imposed by * * * fa

local] ordinance.”” Huron Portland Cement Co. v.

Detroit, 362 U.S. 440, 440-47 (1960). As the Court

stated at 447:

The mere possession of a federal license

* * does not immunize a ship from the

operation of the normal incidents of local police

power, not constituting a direct regulation of

commerce.

See also Florida Lime & Avocado Growers, Inc. v.

Paul, 373 U.S. 132, 141-42 snstanss assantined li-

‘All six oil companies operating refineries on Puget Sound in fact

presently supply such refineries using federally licensed and certified

tankers.

-

67

censed commerce not immunized from “‘more demand-

ing state regulations.” )

Similarly, insofar as the exclusion of super-

tankers from Puget Sound is concerned, this exclu-

sion, which involves not the whole State but only one

particular area of high environmental sensitivity,"

is not only consistent with the general federal policy

of the Deepwater Port Act of 1974, discussed at pages

52 to 53, supra, but simply represents the exer-

cise of a traditional state power to refuse entry, for

safety’s sake, to a vessel whose operation in state

ports and waterways is hazardous.’ Thus, the Court

“There are other. areas within the State where supertankers might

be accommodated. The Northern Tier Pipeline Company has an-

nounced plans to construct an oil receiving terminal at Port Angeles,

Washington, capable of receiving tankers in excess of 125,000 DWT.

(A. 51.) Such a terminal would not be subject to Chapter 125. Ad-

ditionally, the Oceanographic Commission of Washington reported in

January 1975 on three sites located west of Puget Sound within the

State of Washington (and therefore not subject to Chapter 125)

which are considered reasonably developable as port sites capable

of receiving tankers in excess of 125,000 DWT. (A. 75.)

The cases relied on below by ARCO for the proposition that a

state may not exclude federally licensed vessels from its waters do

not support its argument. Toye Brothers Yellow Cab Co. v. Irby,

437 F.2d 806 (5th Cir. 1971), was an economic discrimination and

Commerce Clause case in which the Court found that the local au-

thority had “‘no justifiable local interest” in excluding federally licensed

carriers. In Castle v. Hayes Freight Lines, Inc., 348 U.S. 61 (1954),

the Court simply held that a state’s exclusion of a federally licensed

carrier from its highways for violating weight limitations was in-

appropriate when there were conventional forms of punishment

available which would accomplish the same purpose. In Sperry v.

Florida, 373 U.S. 379 (1963), the State of Florida sought to bar an

individual who had been granted the right to practice before the

Federal Patent Office from engaging in such practice on the grounds

that it constituted the unauthorized practice of law. The federal

authority specifically granted an unqualified authorization to perform

a very narrow function, viz., practice before the Patent Office. Finally,

Gibbons v. Ogden, 22 U.S. 1 (1824) involved an express license to

68

stated in Kelly v. Washington, 302 U.S. 1, 14 (1973) :

When the State is seeking to prevent the opera-

tion of unsafe and unseaworthy vessels in going

to and from its ports, it is exercising a protec-

tive power akin to that which enables the State

to exclude diseased persons, animals and plants.

These are not proper subjects of commerce, and

an unsafe and unseaworthy vessel is not a

proper instrumentality of commerce.

In this case, the State of Washington has made the

judgment that operation of supertankers in Puget

Sound is “unsafe” and has properly sought to protect

itself against their use. Such limited health or safety-

related exclusions have been consistently upheld. See,

e.g., Florida Lime & Avocado Growers, Ine. v. Paul,

$73 U.S. 1382 (1963) (upholding California regula-

tion excluding federally certified avocados measur-

ing less than 8‘. oil content); cf., Portland Pipe

Line Corp. v. Environmental Improvement Com-

mission, 307 A.2d 1 (Me.), appeal dismissed, 414

U.S. 1035 (1973) (upholding the Maine Coastal

Conveyance Act which, inter alia, authorized the

Maine Environmental Improvement Commission to

restrict oil tanker operation in sensitive coastal

waters).

engage in interstate business between two points, which was abridged

by state economic discriminatory action. Not one of these cases holds

that the grant of a general federal license, by itself, immunizes the

licensee from a limited exclusionary effect of state police power

regulations.

It should additionally be noted that what Washington State has

done directly in Chapter 125 is no different from what it, and every

state, can accomplish de facto through its power to regulate land use in

harbor areas, approve docking facilities, and authorize dredging in

ports and harbors. Every port and harbor is unique; with its own draft

B. Chapter 125 Is Not In Conflict With The Merchant

Marine Act of 1970.

ARCO argued to the District Court that the ex-

clusion of supertankers from Puget Sound conflicts

with the Merchant Marine Act of 1970, as amended,

46 U.S.C. $§ 1101 et seg., and the Federal Maritime

Administration's tanker construction subsidy pro-

gram implementing that Act. The thrust of its argu-

ment was that the Merchant Marine Act of 1970 and

the tanker construction program establish a federal

policy of encouraging and supporting the construc-

tion of supertankers, and that the exclusion of

tankers larger than 125,000 DWT “discourages the

construction of large tankers,” and “threatens the

success of the federal program.” Such an argumen

is without basis in law or fact." :

First, although there are snecific references in

the legislative history of the Merchant Marine Act

of 1970 to the need to “produce ships of high produc-

tivity” and of increased “lift capacity,” there is no-

where in the legislative history a specific reference

to the need to construct “supertankers.” See generally

S. Rep. No. 91-1080, 91st Cong., 2nd Sess. (1970);

116 Cong. Rec. 16588-615 (1970) (House Debate) ;

limitations and specific hazardous conditions. If the state prohibits.

as it validly may, the construction of a docking facility for the super-

tankers or the dredging of deeper channels, they are effectively

excluded. State of Washington Shoreline Management Act. Wash Rev

Code ch. 90.58. The State of Washington has exercised analogous

power to achieve proper state goals.

TAs discussed at 52. supra, the exclusion of supertankers from

Puget Sound is primarily the result of natural geographic condi-

tions, rather than Chapter 125.

70

116 Cong. Rec. 32487-512 (1970) (Senate Debate).

In fact, the program is a broad-based one designed

generally to “modernize” the U.S. fleet and is not

aimed exclusively at oil tankers.”

Second, and more importantly, the tanker con-

struction program, insofar as it has sought to en-

courage supertanker construction as part of a “bal-

anced fleet,” has been and is integrally related to a

program to develop new, offshore port facilities spe-

cifically to accommodate supertankers which cannot

be accommodated in existing ports. See Federal Mari-

time Administration, Final Environmental Impact

Statement on Tanker Construction Program 11-3,

IV-63, IV-102 (N.T.LS. Report No. EIS 730725-F,

May 30, 1973). The Maritime Administration’s goals

in this regard have in effect been achieved through

the enactment of the Deepwater Port Act of 1974, 33

U.S.C. $$ 1501 et seg. The salient fact about that

legislation, as it affects ARCO’s claims, is that it

reflects a general agreement that the environmental

risks associated with the use of supertankers should

be minimized by siting port facilities for them far

*The oil tankers to be subsidized, it should be noted, are only those

used in U.S.-foreign trade. (A. 60, 61.)

**Supertanker construction, it must be emphasized, is only one

part of the tanker construction program. Through the spring of 1976,

two-thirds of the tankers whose construction had been or was being

subsidized by the Maritime Administration had been smaller than

125,000 DWT. (A. 60.) Moreover, in light of the huge surplus capac-

ity an the world tanker fleet, and the continuing cancellation of orders.

It is open to question how many new. larger tankers will be ordered

im the next five to ten years, regardless of any federal policies.

71

offshore, away from sensitive estuarine environments

and crowded, existing ports and waterways, such as

Puget Sound.” The environmental purpose of the

legistration is well expressed by one of its sponsors,

Senator Hollings:

Deepwater ports are also considered preferable

from an environmental point of view. Keeping

oil-earrying vessels off lessens the possi-

bility of collisions and grounding in crowded

harbor areas where most oil spill mishaps occur.

In addition, estuaries and coasta! wetlands are

the most sensitive to oil spill damage. Deepwater

would remove oil vessel movements out to

r water. The possibility of damage to coast-

al ecosystems from an oil spill from such a port

ismuch reduced * * * * Overall, it has

concluded that offshore supertanker terminals

offer the greatest environmental advantages of

deep draft harbor design.

Statement of Senator Ernest Hollings, 120 Cong.

Rec. 34625 (1974).

Chapter 125, far from being inconsistent with the

Merchant Marine Act tanker construction program,

supports and implements the general federal judg-

ment that supertanker use should be confined to off-

shore terminals, where environmental risks can be

minimized, and kept at a distance from sensitive es-

tuaries such as Puget Sound.

“’This was indeed the view of the Maritime Administration. See

Statement of Clayton Cook, General Counse! of the Maritime Admin-

istration, Joint Hearings on S.1751 and S.2232 Before the Special Joint

Subcommittee on Deepwater Ports Legislation of the Senate Com mit-

tees on Commerce, Interior and Insular Affairs and Public Works, 93rd

Cong. Ist Sess. 283, 284 (1973).

72

Ill. CHAPTER 125 DOES NOT INTERFERE WITH

INTERNATIONAL AGREEMENTS OR WITH

FEDERAL POWERS TO MAKE TREATIES

AND TO CONDUCT FOREIGN AFFAIRS.

Appellants have already discussed the contention

that Chapter 125 interferes with the process of nego-

tiating international marine pollution agreements.

Chapter 125’s provisions are simply unrelated to the

kind of international agreement on standards of

tanker design, construction or operation which the

United States has sought or might seek. Accord-

ingly, Chapter 125 has no impact on the treaty-

making or treaty ratification process. See discussion

on pages....., supra. Thus, it cannot be deemed in-

consistent with the federal power to make treaties

(Article II, Section 2, Clause 2 of the Constitution)

and any implied power to conduct foreign affairs.”

“Even assuming that such an impact could be found, there is no

case which hvids that, independent of a statute or treaty, and in the

absence of any undue burden on foreign commerce, state legislation

designed to protect the health, safety and environment of state citi-

zens may be heid unconstitutional on the grounds that it interferes

with federal power to make treaties and the implied federal powers

to conduct foreign affairs. To the contrary, it has been held that

State police power regulation may be proper even when it may

have indirect effects on foreign affairs. Alaska v. Bundrant, 546 P.2d

530 (Alaska), appeal dismissed sub nom. Uri v. Alaska, 97 S. Ct. 40

(1976). Zshernig v. Miller, 389 U.S. 429 (1968), on which ARCO

relied below, involved adjudication of property rights by a state

probate court, based upon determinations of an explicit international

or foreign affairs nature, e.g.. whether the representation of counsels.

ambassadors or other representatives of foreign nations is credible or

made in good faith, and is plainly inapposite here. Not only are no

such foreign affairs determinations made by state authorities in the

instant case, but it would be a remarkable and unprecedented exten-

sion of Zshernig to apply its holding to area in which states are exer-

cising well-established powers to protect the health and safety of their

— ’

73

ARCO, however, made several additional for-

eign affairs-related arguments which, in essence,

boil down to claims of conflict with treaty obliga-

tions: (1) that Chapter 125 interferes with the

rights of innocent passage of foreign flag vessels

transiting Puget Sound; (2) that Chapter 125 in-

terferes with certain bilateral boundary water treat-

ies with Canada; and (3) that Chapter 125 inter-

feres with multilateral instruments aimed at reduc-

ing marine pollution. The District Court reached

none of these arguments. None is valid.

A. Application Of Chapter 125 Has Not Violated The

Right To Innocent Passage Of Foreign Flag Tankers.

Application of the requirements of Chapter 125

to foreign flag vessels in transit through Puget Sound

has not violated the so-called right of “innocent pas-

sage” embodied in Article 14 of the Convention on the

Territorial Sea and the Contiguous Zone [1964],

15 U.S.T. 1606, T.1.A.S. No. 5639 (the “Territorial

Sea Convention”). Because there is no evidence that

eittasns through veguiation of vessels carrying hesasdous cargoes—

regulation long held lawful as to vessels of all registries. See, e.g., The

James Gray v. The John Fraser, 62 U.S. (21 How.) 184, 187 (1858):

The Merrimac, 81 U.S. (14 Wall.) 199, 203 (1871).

**Because a treaty is “the supreme Law of the Land” under Article

VI. Clause 2, of the Constitution, sec, ¢.g., Foster v. Neilson, 27 US.

(2 Pet.) 253 (1829), conflicting state law cannot stand. While it is un-

disputed that no existing treaty, convention or agreement to which the

US. is or may become a party contains any provision which by its

terms would prohibit parties from prescribing additional, more strin-

gent standards for vessels entering their jurisdiction (A. _..... ) ARCO

nonetheless has maintained that Chapter 125 in effect obstructs the

realization of their objectives. This argument, of course. simply in-

volves application of general rules of preemption and has nothing to

do with interference with foreign affairs powers as such.

74

there has been any traffic to British Columbia ports

by tankers larger than 125,000 DWT (A. 66),

and because it is hypothetical and speculative

whether such traffic will ever occur, the only inno-

cent passage issue ripe for determination at this

time relates to the application of the pilotage and tug

escort provisions of Chapter 125 to vessels between

40,000 and 125,000 DWT. Cf., Askew v. American

Waterways Operators, Inc., 411 U.S. 325, 336-37

(1973). As to such traffic, U.S. obligations to re-

spect innocent passage are unaffected by Chapter

125.

First, to the extent that Puget Sound (or parts

thereof) constitute “internal waters” of the Nation,

as distinguished from the “territorial sea,” the right

of innocent passage just does not apply. Colombos,

The International Law of the Sea, 87-88 (6th Ed.

1967); see also United States v. Louisiana, 394 U.S.

11, 22 (1969). The State of Washington legislature

has generally defined “Puget Sound” only to mean

“all the inland waters of the State of Washington in-

side the international boundary line between the State

of Washington and British Columbia * * * *.”

Wash. Rev. Code § 88.16.050 (emphasis added.) The

U.S. Government, moreover, has never indicated that

any parts of Puget Sound, including Haro and

Rosario Straits are other than “internal waters” of

the United States, in which foreign ships do not have

the right of innocent passage.

Second, even if the doctrine of innocent passage

75

were applicable, it is subject to reasonable regulatory

requirements to protect the coastal state, such as those

embodied in Chapter 125.”

The problem of innocent passage was fully con-

sidered during congressional deliberations on the

PWSA itself. It was the conclusion of the Senate

Commerce Committee that reasonable regulations

designed to protect our national environment would

not impede the right of innocent passage. The Senate

Commerce Committee stated :

Md right of innocent passage is not absolute

and it is recognized under international! law that

foreign flag vessels may be obligated to comply

with orders and maritime regulations whic

contribute to the safety of navigation or that

are of a sanitary or police character. It seems

clear that the regulations contemplated in H.R.

8140 are of this nature. PWSA Senate Report

at 2793-94.

If regulations for the safety of navigation or of a

sanitary or police character under the PWSA do not

impede innocent passage, neither does application

of the requirements of Chapter 125—a State statute

intended to accomplish the same purpose.

B. Chapter 125 Does Not Violate Boundary Water

Treaties With Canada.

Various treaties and international agreements

define the boundary line between the United States

and Canada (A. 95.) Vessels bound for Vancouver

from the Pacific Ocean do occasionally pass through

“See generally Colombos, The International Law of the Sea 88

(6th ed., 1967); O'Connell, II International Law 630 (1970).

76

U.S. waters in making this transit (A. 64), al-

though it is possible to navigate to British Columbia

ports without entering Washington State waters.

Two treaties are claimed to have an effect on this

traffic: (1) the Treaty with Great Britain in Regard

to Limits Westward of the Rocky Mountains, 9 Stat.

869, signed June 15, 1846, entered into force July 17,

1846 (the “1846 Treaty”) ; and (2) the Treaty with

Great Britain Relating to Boundary Waters Be-

tween the United States and Canada, 36 Stat. 2448,

signed January 11, 1909, proclaimed May 13, 1910

(the “1910 Treaty”). Even if ripeness were not

again a bar to adjudication, it is clear that neither

treaty is violated by Chapter 125.

The 1846 Treaty provides, in Article I, that “the

navigation of the whole of the said channel and straits

* * * [shall] remain free and open to both par-

ties [i.e., the United States and Great Brita

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.