Amicus Brief — Minnesota, Etc. v. Clifford L. Alexander, Secretary of the Army
Supreme Court brief1977
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
FilFOD
JAN 2S i977
IN THE | MICHAEL RODAK, JR, CLERK |
Supreme Court of the Gnited States an
OCTOBER TERM, 1976
No.
STATE OF MINNESOTA, by its Attorney General,
WARREN SPANNAUS, and its Pollution Control
Agency,
Appellants,
VS.
MARTIN R. HOFFMAN, as Secretary of the Army, et al.,
Appellees.
On Appeal From, and Petition for Certiorari to, the
United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit
BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF THE SIERRA CLUB AND THE IZAAK
WALTON LEAGUE OF AMERICA, INC., IN SUPPORT OF
APPELLANTS’ JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT
RICHARD N. FLINT
300 Roanoke Building
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55402
Telephone: (612) 339-9501
OF COUNSEL:
FORD M. ROBBINS
KAY SILVERMAN
STEPHEN J. SNYDER
Attorneys for Amici Curiae Sierra
Club and The Izaak Walton
League of America, Inc.
1977—Northwest Brief Printing Co., 316 Chicago Avenue, Minneapolis 55415—338-5078
TABLE OF CONTENTS
INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE ........... 2
SUBSTANTIALITY OF THE ISSUE PRESENTED 5
A. The Dredging Activities of the United States
Army Corps of Engineers Present a Real and
Present Danger to the Citizens of the Several
IN ell a ee a Se 5
B. A Review by this Court at this Time Would
Settle a Substantial Controversy and Prevent
Peapetitinows Litigatios. .. 2... cece cc cccces 5
C. The Issue of Whether Federal Agencies, Includ-
ing the United States Army Corps of Engineers,
Must Comply With State Substantive Limita-
tions and Standards Under the Federal Water
Pollution Control Act is One of First Impres-
ee ee 6
D. Consideraiion of This Case by This Court at
the Present Time Will Advance the Partner-
ship Being Forged Between the State and Fed-
eral Governments in Restoring the Quality of
Our Waters and Thereby Enhancing the Health
and Well-being of Our Citizens. ........... 7
Argument:
THE DREDGING OPERATIONS OF APPEL-
LEE WITHIN MINNESOTA ARE SUBJECT TO
MINNESOTA’S SUBSTANTIVE :EFFLUENT
LIMITATIONS AND WATER QUALITY STAN-
DARDS, WHICH WERE PROMULGATED PUR-
SUANT TO THE FEDERAL WATER POLLU-
TION CONTROL ACT AMENDMENTS OF 1972. 7
A. Congress Clearly Expressed its Policy and Es-
tablished the Regulatory Authority of the States
With Regard to Effluent Limitations and Wa-
ter Quality Standards in the Federal Water
Pollution Control Act Amendments of 1972.
B. The Decision of the Eighth Circuit In Minne-
sota v. Hoffman Flies in the Face of This
Court’s Decision in EPA v. California. .....
C. The Decision of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Eighth Circuit that Appellees
are Totally Immune from State Substantive Re-
quirements is Contrary to the Federal Water
Control Pollution Act Amendments of 1972
Re Bree a CI, gg civic cievcnuuneecs
OE ibe bs pWddGes ch vbeLade cena sa
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Case Authority:
EPA v. California, — U.S. —, 96 S. Ct. 2022, 48
L.Ed. 2d 578 (1976) ...4, 6, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14,
Hancock v. Train, — U.S. —, 96 S. Ct. 2006, 48
i & Pp - Ei. Speer cere cet 4, 6, 10,
State of Minnesota v. Hoffman, 543 F.2d 1198 (8th
ls SY Su ENS ie bokeh des oe, 4,
Statutory Authority:
Federal Water Pollution Control Act Amendments of
1972, 33 U.S.C.A. §§1251 et. seq. ity aie
alas bats ohare ok Goer >% 536 7, 8 & ih, 1.14
13
15
15
13
13
15
IN THE
Supreme Court of the Anited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1976
No.
STATE OF MINNESOTA, by its Attorney General,
WARREN SPANNAUS, and its Pollution Control
Agency,
Appellants,
vs.
MARTIN R. HOFFMAN, as Secretary of the Army, et al.,
Appellees.
On Appeal From, and Petition for Certiorari to, the
United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit
BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF THE SIERRA CLUB AND THE IZAAK
WALTON LEAGUE OF AMERICA, INC., IN SUPPORT OF
APPELLANTS’ JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT
The Sierra Club and the Izaak Walton League of
America, Inc., as amici curiae pursuant to Rule, 42 of the
rules of this Court, respectfully submit that the Appeal of
the State of Minnesota in the instant appeal should be
fully heard by the Court. The amici curiae submit that
Appellants’ reasons for requesting review show a need for
consideration of the decision below by this honorable
Court.
2
INTEREST OF THE AMIC/ CURIAE
The interest of the Sierra Club and the Izaak Walton
League of America, Inc. in the federal agency jurisdic-
tional question presented herein is twofold:
1. The Sierra Club, a national conservation organiza-
tion, is a non-profit California corporation with its prin-
cipal place of business in the City and County of San
Francisco, California, and has a membership in excess of
150,000 members. The purposes of the Sierra Club are to
enhance and protect by all lawful means the natural re-
sources and human environment of the United States and
the earth in general; to explore, enjoy and preserve scenic
resources of the United States and its forests, water, wild-
life and wilderness; to undertake and to publish scientific,
literary and educational studies concerning them; to edu-
cate the people with regard to the national and state navi-
gable rivers and streams, forests, parks, monuments and
other natural resources of a special scenic beauty and to
enlist public interest and cooperation in protecting them.
The Izaak Walton League of America, Inc., (herein-
after referred to as the League) is a long-established citizen
organization concerned with the environment and the
preservation and use of natural resources. The League
sponsors and actively involves itself in programs ranging
from local conservation projects to programs involving the
entire spectrum of environmental interests; from wilderness
and wildlife to urban matters such as water quality, air
quality, solid waste and rapid transit. The upper Mississippi
River has been especially important to the League with
its strong membership in Iowa, Illinois, Minnesota and
Wisconsin. The League has been extensively involved in
—— ~
3
considering the impact of a 9-foot navigation channel on
the upper Mississippi. It has insisted that commerce on the
river not devastate wildlife resources and recreational op-
portunities. The League is especially interested in the im-
pact of dredge removal and disposal on river recreational
and wildlife opportunities. Problems involved with the cur-
rent methods of disposal include the suspension of toxic
materials in the river, the choking off of a fresh water
supply in backwater areas by disposal, and increased
turbidity and its possible effects on aquatic vegetation and
animal life.
2. The Sierra Club and the League are, in addition,
vitally interested in assuring that water pollution control
standards established by the United States and the re-
spective states be enforced so as to provide the greatest
degree of protection to United States water resourcs.
The impact of dredge removal and disposal on the ecol-
ogy, recreation and wildlife as supported by United States
water resources is of major concern to the Sierra Club and
the League. Water is a finite resource. The quality of wa-
ter affects the health, welfare and quality of life of each
citizen of the United States and the quality of many of its
industries. Because water quality affects United States citi-
zens and industry, Congress in 1972 enacted Amendments
to the Federal Water Pollution Control Act* to strengthen
its efforts to meet the need for water quality, declaring as
a national goal that “the discharge of pollutants into the
navigable waters be eliminated by 1985.’ The Amend-
1The Act was first passed in 1948, Act of June 30, 1948, 62 Stat. 1155,
and has been frequently amended. See annotation following 33 U.S.C.
$1251 (Supp. IV). Before the 1972 Amendments, the Act was codi-
fied at 33 U.S.C. §§1151 ef. seq.
28101(aX1), 33 U.S.C.A. §1251(aX(1) (1976) (emphasis added).
4
ments were aimed at achieving maximum limitations on
effluents discharged into navigable waters as well as
achieving acceptable water quality standards.* A National
Pollution Discharge Elimination System was established
as a means of achieving and enforcing the effluent limita-
tions.‘ Congress also desired that “every federal agency
provide national leadership in the control of water pollu-
tion in [its] operations.”
In the instant proceedings, the State of Minnesota seeks
inter alia to require that the United States Army Corps
of Engineers abide by Minnesota’s water pollution control
standards promulgated pursuant to the Federal Water Pol-
lution Control Act, as amended. The Eighth Circuit
Court of Appeals, in a clear misreading of both the Act
and this Court’s recent decisions in Hancock v. Train’
and EPA v. California,* has held that the Corps of Engi-
neers need not follow Minnesota’s substantive water pol-
lution control standards.’ As a result, the clear mandate
of the Act has been ignored and the congressional goal
that the discharge of pollutants into the navigable waters
of the United States be eliminated by 1985 will not be
attained to the serious detriment of all citizens of the United
States.
It is perhaps unusual that an overriding federal objec-
tive is to be achieved by subjecting federal agencies in
certain instances to state substantive laws. But in enacting
the Federal Water Pollution Control Act Amendments of
§102(a), 33 U.S.C.A. §1252(a) (1976).
*§402, 33 U.S.C.A. $1342 (1976).
Senate Report quoted in EPA v. California, — U.S. —, 48 L.Ed.2d
578, 585 (1976).
*State of Minnesota v. Hoffman, 543 F.2d 1198 (8th Cir. 1976).
7 U.S. —, 96 S. Ct. 2006, 48 L.Ed.2d 555 (1976).
5— U.S. —, 96 S. Ct. 2022, 48 L.Ed.2d 578 (1976).
®*State of Minnesota v. Hoffman, 543 F.2d 1198 (8th Cir. 1976).
5
1972, Congress recognized that water quality conditions
varied greatly from place to place, and that the rate and
level of cleanup might therefore vary from state to state.
Accordingly, Congress established certain minimum stan-
dards and authorized the states to promulgate stricter stan-
dards. At the same time, Congress directed that federal
agencies be subject to these stricter state standards, unless
expressly exempted by the President of the United States.
SUBSTANTIALITY OF THE ISSUE PRESENTED
A. The Dredging Activities of the United States Army
Corps of Engineers Present a Real and Present
Danger to the Citizens of the Several States.
The threat of pollution from the dredging activities of
the Corps of Engineers will endanger the health and wel-
fare of the citizens of the numerous states in which the
dredging is conducted. The pollution has already seriously
lowered the water quality in Minnesota and has adversely
affected the natural environment of its rivers and lakes.
B. A Review by This Court at This Time Would Settle
a Substantial Controversy and Prevent Repetitious
Litigation.
The issue in the instant appeal will arise repeatedly be-
cause the Federal Water Pollution Control Act (FWPCA)
Amendments allow the individual states to establish efflu-
ent limitations and water quality standards for navigable
waters within their jurisdictions. It is possible that all fifty
states may adopt limitations and standards and then seek
compliance by federal agencies, including the Corps of
Engineers. Briefs by amici in the instant case indicate the
extent of the controversy. |
6
C. The Issue of Whether Federal Agencies, Including
the United States Army Corps of Engineers, Must
Comply With State Substantive Limitations and
Standards Under the Federal Water Pollution Con-
trol Act is One of First Impression Before This Court.
In Hancock v. Train, the EPA conceded that federal
agencies must comply with state substantive requirements
under the Clean Air Act: “The parties rightly agree that
§118 obligates federal installations to conform to state air
pollution standards or limitations and compliance sched-
ules." As shown above, the EPA made the same con-
cession for state effluent limitations and water quality stan-
dards under the Federal Water Pollution Control Act in
EPA vy. California.“ Thus, this Court has not decided the
important issue presented in the instant appeal. Moreover,
because the Eighth Circuit reached its decision without
reopening briefing or oral argument after this Court’s de-
cisions in Hancock v. Train and EPA v. California, the
application of those leading decisions to the issue presented
in the instant appeal has never been argued before any
federal court.
996 S. Ct. at 2013, 48 L.Ed.2d at 566 (emphasis added).
196 S. Ct. at 2027, 48 L.Ed.2d at 588. '
7
D. Consideration of This Case by This Court at the
Present Time Will Advance the Partnership Being
Forged Between the State and Federal Govern-
ments in Restoring the Quality of Our Waters and
Thereby Enhancing the Health and Well-being of
Our Citizens.
Effective implementation of the congressional policy un-
derlying the Amendments to the Federal Water Pollution
Control Act would be enhanced if this Court at this time
declared the validity of the federal and state partnership
to restore the quality of our waters.
ARGUMENT
THE DREDGING OPERATIONS OF APPELLEE WITHIN
MINNESOTA ARE SUBJECT TO MINNESOTA’S SUBSTAN-
TIVE EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND WATER QUALITY STAN-
DARDS, WHICH WERE PROMULGATED PURSUANT TO THE
FEDERAL WATER POLLUTION CONTROL ACT AMENDMENTS
OF 1972.
A. Congress Clearly Expressed its Policy and Estab-
lished the Regulatory Authority of the States With
Regard to Effluent Limitations and Water Quality
Standards in the Federal Water Pollution Control
Act Amendments of 1972.
Congress significantly strengthened the Federal Water
Pollution Control Act by the 1972 Amendments.” The
congressional declaration of policy expressly set forth in
the 1972 Amendments established the environmental con-
cerns of Congress and its desire that individual states have
12§§101 et. seq., 33 U.S.C.A. §§1251 et. seq. (1976).
the primary right and responsibility to eliminate water
pollution:”
(a) The objective of this chapter is to restore and
maintain the chemical, physical, and biological integ-
rity of the Nation’s waters. In order to achieve this
objective it is hereby declared that, consistent with
the provisions of this chapter—(1) it is the national
goal that the discharge of pollutants into the naviga-
ble waters be eliminated by 1985;
* * a
(b) It is the policy of the Congress to recognize,
preserve, and protect the primary responsibilities and
rights of States to prevent, reduce, and eliminate pol-
lution ....
Section 313 of the Amendments declares in clear and
unambiguous language that federal departments and
agencies engaged in any activity which may cause the dis-
charge of pollutants shall comply with state requirements
related to the control and abatement of pollution to the
same extent as any private person:*
Each department, agency, or instrumentality of the
executive, legislative, and judicial branches of the
Federal Government (1) having jurisdiction over any
property or facility, or (2) engaged in any activity
resulting, or which may result, in the discharge or
runoff of pollutants shall comply with Federal, State,
_ interstate, and local requirements respecting control
and abatement of pollution to the same extent that any
person is subject to such requirements, including the
payment of reasonable service fees. The President
may exempt any effluent source of any department,
13§101(a) & (b), 33 U.S.C.A. §1251(a) & 1976) (emphasis added
1#§313, 33 U.S.C.A. $1323 (1976) (cophaste added ,
9
agency, Or instrumentality in the executive branch
from compiiance with any such a requirement if he
determines it to be in the paramount interest of the
United States to do so....
The term “pollutant,” used within Section 313, is defined
by the Amendments to include “dredged spoil,” and other
waste items.** This Court has held that the phrase “State
requirements” of Section 313 does not include the option-
al permit programs authorized under the National Pollu-
tant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES).” The Sierra
Club and the League do not contest that portion of the
Eighth Circuit’s opinion dealing with permit programs.
However, Congress meant by Section 313 that state *sub-
stantive effluent limitations and other water quality stan-
dards shall govern federal activities and also the activities
of private persons. The contrary holding by the Eighth
Circuit in the instant case would render Section 313 mean-
ingless. The Sierra Club and the League as amici curiae
to this Court, submit that Congress meant what it said.
Moreover, in EPA v. California this Court has already
decided that state substantive requirements are binding
upon all federal activities.
B. The Decision of the Eighth Circuit in Minnesota v.
Hoffman Flies in the Face of This Court's Decision
in EPA v. California.
In EPA v. California, this Court construed a portion of
the Federal Water Pollution Control Act Amendments of
1972 and decided whether federal installations discharg-
15§502(6), 33 U.S.C.A. §1362(6) (1976).
EPA v. California, 96 S. Ct. 2022, 48 L.Ed.2d 578 (1976).
10
ing water pollutants within a state must secure permits
from that state or from the Environmental Protection
Agency. A similar issue concerning the related Clean Air
Act was decided at the same time in Hancock v. Train.”
The Supreme Court held in both cases that a state permit
system was not one of the “requirements” with which fed-
eral installations must comply.
Mr. Justice White, writing for the Court, analyzed the
1972 Amendments and explained that two major changes
had been effected. First, the Amendments established max-
imum effluent limitations and acceptable water quality
standards. Second, the Amendments created the National
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System which established
a permit system to be administered either by EPA or by
the states. This Court held that Section 313—which re-
quires all federal departments, agencies, and instrumentali-
ties to comply with state requirements respecting control
and abatement of pollution—did not comprehend the
NPDES state permit programs.
In reaching his conclusion in EPA v. California, Mr.
Justice White explained that Section 313 does not obligate
federal departments and agencies to comply with state
procedural requirements, as opposed to state substantive
requirements. In fact, the EPA through Justice Depart-
ment attorneys conceded that federal departments and
agencies were bound by the state substantive require-
ments:*
1796 S. Ct. 2006, 48 L.Ed.2d 555 (1976).
896 S. Ct. at 2027, 48 L.Ed.2d at 588 (emphasis added). Defendants’
brief to the Eighth Circuit in the instant case also conceded that, at
a minimum, federal agencies must comply with state effluent limita-
tions and water quality standards: “[WJhether, as a general rule, Sec-
tion 313 requires federal agencies to comply with State laws requiring
discharge permits or only State effluent limitations and water quality
11
EPA’s position is that the Amendments made clear
“only that facilities of the executive, legislative and
judicial branches operating within the states must
comply with the applicable effluent limitations and
compliance schedules promulgated by the particular
state pursuant te its EPA—approved implementa-
tion plan,” as incorporated in EPA—issued permits
not that they comply with “state regulations demand-
ing that sources of discharges—including federal
facilities—obtain discharge permits.”
Mr. Justice White quoted favorably from the Ninth Cir-
cuit’s examination of legislative history of the 1972
Amendments to conclude that:”
“[C]ertain parts of the legislative history would seem
to indicate that the ‘requirements’ language of Sec-
tion 303 refers simply and solely to substantive”
standards, to effluent limitations and standards and
schedules of compliance.
He noted that Section 510 of the Amendments permitted
the states to set more restrictive standards, limitations, and
requirements than those imposed upon the Amendments.
The presence of stronger standards, reasoned Mr. Justice
White, did not mean that state permits must be obtained
by federal agencies, but did mean that federal permits
must be utilized to enforce the state standards:”
standards is now before the United States Supreme Court in EPA, et
al v. People of California, ex rel. State Water Resources Board, et al,
.... The argument of EPA in that case . . . is hereby adopted and
incorporated herein. Brief for the Appellants, at 21 (January 1976)
ol May the government now in good faith contest that
all federal agencies and departments are in fact required to comply
with state effluent limitations and water quality standards?
S. Ct. at 2029, 48 L.Ed.2d at 589. ;
S. Ct. at 2031-32, 48 L.Ed.2d at 590-92 (emphasis added).
38
12
Section 510 quite plainly was intended to strengthen
State authority. It may also have been intended to per-
mit the States to impose stricter standards and efflu-
ent limitations on federal installations than would
have been imposed under an EPA permit in the ab-
sence of an approved state NPDES program. But this
hardly answers the question before us, which is wheth-
er these higher standards are to be enforced through
a State rather than an EPA permit system.
* * x
We must also assume that Congress contemplated
that there may be some States, which would elect not
to develop an NPDES program but would nonethe-
less determine—as §510 permits—to adopt water
quality standards or other limitations stricter than
those EPA itself had promulgated and would other-
wise apply. This being the case, Congress must have
contemplated that EPA was capable of issuing per-
mits in that State—to both federal and non-federal
— of enforcing those stricter stan-
The presence of EPA as a permit-issuing authority
means that although federal dischargers are not se-
curing state NPDES permits they are nevertheless be-
ing subjected to the administrative authority of a
federal agency which is required to make a State's
“more stringent liinitation[s], including those neces-
sary to meet water quality standards, treatment stan-
dards, or schedules of compliance” part of the con-
ditions of the permits it must issue.
In short, this Court held in EPA v. California, and the
United States conceded, that State effluent limitations and
water quality standards shall be enforced through federal
permits for federal agencies and departments.
13
The contrary conclusion of the Eighth Circuit in Min-
nesota v. Hoffman that “there is insufficient evidence to
meet the clear and unequivocable standard for finding
Congressional authorization for state regulation . . .,
whether by authorization under the NPDES or indepen-
dently thereof,’™ is contrary to both the express language
of Section 313 and this Court’s decision in EPA v. Cali-
fornia.
C. The Decision of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eighth Circuit That Appellees Are Totally
immune From State Substantive Requirements Is
Contrary to the Federal Water Control Pollution
Act Amendments of 1972 and EPA v. California.
The instant case was submitted for decision before the
Eighth Circuit on May 12, 1976. Approximately one
month later this Court issued its two important decisions
in EPA v California and Hancock v. Train. Unfortunately,
despite the important contributions of this Court’s guid-
ance in those two cases, the Eighth Circuit did not reopen
the instant case for additional briefings or arguments. In-
stead, on October 28, 1976, the Eighth Circuit decided
both the procedural (permit) and substantive (effluent lim-
itations and water quality standards) requirements ques-
tions adversely to the State of Minnesota. The Sierra Club
and the League submit that the Eighth Circuit would have
been assisted in its interpretation of EPA v. California if
the instant case had been reopened for additional briefing.
For example the Eighth Circuit chose to rely upon Sec-
tion 404 of the amendments,” which concerns only a per-
21543 F.2d 1198, 1209 (8th Cir. 1976).
22§404, 33 U.S.C.A. §1344 (1976).
14
mit program for the Corps of Engineers and not substan-
tive standards, to support its conclusion that the Corps is
not required to follow state effluent limitations and water
quality standards. Section 404, while allowing -the
Corps of Engineers to assist in promulgating standards with
regard to proposed discharges of dredged or filled ma-
terial, was not enacted to enable the Corps to become a
fiefdom unto itself. The Corps’ standards promulgated
pursuant to Section 404 must be reviewed by the adminis-
trator of the Environmental Protective Agency to deter-
mine that they are in accordance with EPA environmental
standards. The EPA, in turn, must take into considera-
tion state effluent limitations and water quality standards
in its review of the Corps’ proposed standards.* Adequate
briefing of that issue after EPA v. California would have
shown the Eighth Circuit the important distinction between
substantive and procedural standards.
— 33 U.S.C.A. §1344(b) (1976).
15
CONCLUSION
The Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals has erroneously
construed the 1972 Amendments to the Federal Water
Pollution Control Act and has failed to apply the law set
forth in EPA v. California. The resulting decision in Min-
nesota v. Hoffman is of immense concern to environmental
groups such as the Sierra Club and the Izaak Walton
League. We respectfully request that this Court hear the
appeal of the State of Minnesota and reverse the court
below.
Respectfully submitted,
RICHARD N. FLINT
Attorney for the Sierra Club and
The Izaak Walton League of
America, Inc.
300 Roanoke Building
Minneapolis, MN 55402
Telephone: (612) 339-9501
OF COUNSEL:
FORD M. ROBBINS
KAY SILVERMAN
STEPHEN J. SNYDER
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.