Petition — CPC International, Inc. v. Costle

Supreme Court brief1977

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

a

a Supreme Court, U. S. |

FILED

6-98 1a JAN 14 0977

— : sapere me, CLERK |

—

fu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1976

No.

CPC INTERNATIONAL INC., ET AIL.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

RusSELL E. TRAIN, as Administrator of the

Environmental Protection Agency, et al.,

Respondents.

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The

United States Court Of Appeals For The

Eighth Circuit

ROBERT C. BARNARD

CHARLES F. LETTOW

1250 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D. C. 20036

Attorneys for Petitioners

OF COUNSEL:

CLEARY, GOTTLIEB, STEEN & HAMILTON

1250 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D. C. 20036

JANUARY 14. 1977

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION a os

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ____

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

STATUTES, REGULATIONS, AND REGULATORY

OrpErRS INVOLVED

ED ee ee ee

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT __

1.

I.

Il.

CONCLUSION ..__—-—

THe EicutTuH Crracurt’s DECISION REsTs UPON AN

ASSUMED ANSWER TO THE QUESTION WHETHER

EPA’s New Source STANDARDS SHOULD CONTAIN

A “SAFETY VALVE” PROCEDURE

THERE Is A CONFLICT AMONG THE CouRTS OF AP-

PEALS OVER WHETHER EPA Is OBLIGED TO PROVIDE

IN Its STANDARDS FOR STATISTICALLY EXPECTED

“EXCURSIONS” FROM THE EFFLUENT VALUES

SPECIFIED IN THE STANDARDS _____

----

THE EIGHTH CircuIt’s DEvISION Errs IN APPROV-

ING THE AGENCY'S FAILURE Tc MAKE ANY PRo-

VISION IN THE New Source STANDARDS FOR

PRODUCT-MIx VARIATIONS AND THE DIFFERENT

EFFLUENTS RESULTING FROM MANUFACTURE OF

DISPARATE AND DIVERSE Propucts aT CornN WET

MILLs

11

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES:

American Petroleum Institute v. Environmental Pro-

tection Agency, 540 F.2d 1023 (10th Cir. 1976). 12

Citizens To Preserve Overton Park, Inc. v. Volpe, 401

2 Rtg SARS rn acon mee em 13

CPC International Inc. v. Train, 515 F.2d 1032 (8th

Cir. 1975) (“CPC I”) * eso YY

E. I. du Pont de Nemours & Co. v. Train, Nos. 75-978,

75-1473, and 75-1705 ‘ 2,10, 11, 14

Essex Chemical Corp. v. Ruckelshaus, 158 U.S. App.

D.C. 360, 486 F.2d 427 (1973), cert. denied sub

nom. Appalachian Power Co. v. Environmental

Protection Agency, 416 U.S. 969 (1974) _..____ 12

FMC Corp. v. Train, 539 F.2d 973 (4th Cir. 1976) __ 11

WAIT Radio v. Federal Communications Commission,

135 U.S. App. D.C. 317, 418 F.2d 1153 (1969)... 9

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

Clean Air Act

§ 109, 42 U.S.C. § 1857c-4 _ car ae

Federal Water Pollution Control Act

$301(8), 33 USC. ¢ 131106) — >_>. 6

§ 304(b), 33 U.S.C. § 1314(b) ap ociagiiilidaiads 6

§ 306, 33 U.S.C. § 1316 SPE TEN I 2,3, 4,5, 12

§ 306(a)(1), 33 U.S.C. § 1316(a)(1) 4,5, 13

§ 306(b)(1)(A), 33 U.S.C. § 1316(b)(1)(A) 4

§ 306(b)(1)(B), 33 U.S.C. § 1316(b)(1)(B)_._ 4

§ 306(b)(2), 33 U.S.C. § 1316(b)(2) 13

§ 306(e), 33 U.S.C. § 1316(e) 11

620 UE ON i ei 11

(on Bene ci a

ii

Page

§ 402(a), 33 U.S.C. § 1342(a) 4

§ 402(a)(1), 33 U.S.C. § 1342(a)(1) 04

§ 402(b), 33 U.S.C. § 1342(b) 4

§ 402(b)(1)(A), 33 U.S.C. § 1342(b)(1)(A) 4

§ 402(c), 33 U.S.C. § 1342(c) ae 4

§ 408(d), 33 USC. §1348(d) tC

§ 402(e), 33 U.S.C. § 1342(e) 4

§ 402(f), 33 U.S.C. § 1342(f) 4

§ 402(k), 33 U.S.C. § 1342(k) ——

LS a |

§ 509(b), 33 U.S.C. § 1369(b) 6

§ 509(b)(1), 33 U.S.C. § 1369(b)(1) _._._§, 12

§ 509(b)(2), 33 U.S.C. § 1369(b)(2) 12

JUDICIAL CODE:

ES LES

CoDE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS:

As I scien ns ~ccenciiamnineniiecinatinineetsion 12

EEE

40 C.F.R. § 406.10 _. __ piaainiceinanatliiaceaiaidesthiemliaialiiriadabad 5

40 C.F.R. § 406.15 pS ih at Sele eaaiienlileed 3, 6,11

40 C.F.R. § 415.225 da Pas ,

MISCELLANEOUS:

Federal Register Notices

38 Fed. Reg. 33438 (December 4, 1973) _..._-_-_-_-»__ 4

39 Fed. Reg. 10512 (March 20, 1974) 3,4,5

40 Fed. Reg. 52016 (November 7, 1975) ___. 3, 7, 8,13

41 Fed. Reg. 50823 (November 18, 1976) ____.___. - &e

iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1976

No.

CPC INTERNATIONAL INC., ET AL.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

RUSSELL E. TRAIN, as Administrator of the

Environmental Protection Agency, et al.,

Respondents.

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The

United States Court Of Appeals For The

Eighth Circuit

Petitioners CPC International Inc., et al., ask that a

writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit en-

tered in this case on August 18, 1976.

Opinions Below

The opinion of the court of appeals is reported at 540

F.2d 1329. The »pinion and the judgment of the court are

annexed hereto as Appendix A.

The decision of the court of appeals was the second

decision by the court in a continuing proceeding over which

the court had and has retained jurisdiction. In the first

decision, reported at 515 F.2d 1032, the court of appeals

ruled that the new source standards issued by the Environ-

mental! Protection Agency for the corn wet milling industry

were invalid, and the court remanded the standards to the

1 Petitioners are CPC International Inc. and the Corn Refiners Associa-

tion, Inc. Respondents are Russell E. Train, Administrator, Environ-

mental Protection Agency, and John Quarles, Deputy Administrator,

Environmental Protection Agency.

,

pee |

Agency for further inistrative proceedings. The second

decision, the subject of this petition, reflects the court's

review of the Administrator’s decision made in the proceed-

ings on remand from the court's first decision.

Jurisdiction

The judgment of the court of appeals here sought to be

reviewed was entered on August 18, 1976. On November

8, 1976, Mr. Justice Blackmun, acting in his capacity as

Circuit Justice for the Eighth Circuit, issued an order ex-

tending the time in which to file a petition for certiorari in

this case to and including January 15, 1977. The jurisdic-

tion of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

Questions Presented

1. Whether standards of performance promulgated

under Section 306 of the Act to control effluent discharges

from sources constructed after the publication of proposed

standards (“new sources”) are “presumptively applicable”

to, rather than always binding on, such sources, such that

the Agency must provide a “safety valve procedure” ena-

bling an individual new source to obtain a discharge permit

different from the standards upon a proper factual show-

ing.”

2. Whether under the Act the Agency must provide in

its new source standards for the statistically expected “ex-

cursions” from the efflueni ievels specified in the standards.

3. Whether the Agency’s new source standards for the

corn wet milling industry are arbitrary and capricious in

ignoring product-mix variations and in failing to make any

provision for the different effluents resulting from manu-

facture of disparate and diverse products at corn wet mills.

Statutes, Regulations, And Regulatory Orders Involved

1. The Federal Water Pollution Control Act, as amended.

Sections 306 and 402 of the Act (33 U.S.C. §§ 1316 and

1342) are set forth in Appendix B, infra.

2 This question is presently before the Court in E. I. du Pont de

Nemours & Co. v. Train, Nos. 75-978, 75-1473, and 75-1705.

3.

2. “New Source Sta iards” for the Corn Wet Milling

Subcategory of the Grain Mills Point Source Category. The

regulations initially issued by the Administrator under Sec-

tion 306 which constitute standards of performance for new

sources in the corn wet milling industry are found at 40

C.F.R. § 406.15, added by 39 Fed. Reg. 10512-10515 (March

20, 1974). These regulations and portions of the rule-

making order by which they were promulgated are set

forth in Appendix C, infra.

3. The Administrator's “Decision Not To Revise New

Sources Performance Standards”. After the court of ap-

peals in its first decision in this case had ruled that the

Agency’s new source standards were invalid and had re-

manded them for further administrative proceedings, the

Agency requested further submissions and comments on its

standards and engaged a contractor to reevaluate the ef-

fluent results obtainable at new plants in the industry.

Based upon the initial administrative record and upon addi-

tional information compiled on the remand, the Adminis-

trator issued a “Decision Not To Revise New Sources

Performance Standards”. That decision was published in

the Federal Register at 40 Fed. Reg. 52016-52019 (Novem-

ber 7, 1975). Excerpts from the decision are set forth in

Appendix D, infra.

4. The Agency's recent amendment to the new source

standards. The Agency has recently amended its regula-

tions. The rulemaking order making the amendment is

found at 41 Fed. Reg. 50823 (November 18, 1976); portions

of this order are set forth in Appendix E, infra. The amend-

ment constitutes the Agency's action to comply with the

decision and remand of the court of appeals at issue in

this petition.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Federal Water Pollution Control Act Amendments of

1972 restructured the federal government’s program for

water pollution control. Among other things, the 1972

4

Amendments added to the Federal Water Pollution Control

Act (“the Act”) a new provision, Section 306, 33 U.S.C.

§ 1316, which requires the Administrator to issue in the

form of regulations “Federal standards of performance for

new sources”. ({ 306(b)(1)(B).) These standards for the

control of the discharge of pollutants are to reflect “appli-

cation of the best available demonstrated control technol-

ogy” to sources the construction of which is commenced

after publication of proposed regulations prescribing the

standards.* (§ 306(a)(1).) Section 306(b)(1)(A) man-

dates that the Administrator of the Environmental Protec-

tion Agency (variously “the Administrator”, “EPA” or “the

Agency”) must issue standards for at least 27 separate

industrial categories of sources, including “grain mills”.

This petition relates to EPA’s new source standards for

the Corn Wet Milling Subcategory of the Grain Mills Point

Source Category.

1. Initial administrative proceedings and the first deci-

sion of the court of appeals. EPA published proposed new

. source standards for corn wet mills on December 4, 1973.

(38 Fed. Reg. 33438, 33442.) At the same time, the Agency

published proposed “effluent limitations guidelines” for

existing plants in the industry. (Id.) After the Agency had

received and evaluated comments on its proposed stand-

ards, final standards were issued which were slightly dif-

ferent from the proposal in format and in section-number

designations, but which contained precisely the same nu-

merical values for the pertinent pollutant parameters

(BOD:;, TSS, and pH ).* (39 Fed. Reg. 10512, 10515 (March

20, 1974).) Like the proposed standards, the final stand-

3 New sources, like existing sources, must obtain a permit to make a

discharge of pollutants into waters of the United States. Section 402

of the Act, 33 U.S.C. § 1342, provides the authority and basis for issu-

ance of permits both by EPA (§ 402(a)) and by qualified and approved

State authorities (§ 402(b)-(f)). Permits for new sources are to apply

the requirements of Section 306. See §§ 402(a)(1) and 402(b)(1)(A).

* “BOD,” is five-day biological oxygen demand, “TSS” is total sus-

pended solids, and “pH” refers to the logarithmic scale of values repre-

senting relative acidity or alkalinity. See CPC International Inc. v.

Train, 515 F.2d 1032, 1044 nn.21-23 (8th Cir. 1975) (“CPC I”).

5

ards applied to all new sources in the industry notwith-

standing the variety of end products manufactured at such

plants.* EPA set out its asserted technical basis for the

regulations in a book-like “Development Document”.

The petitioners, representatives of the corn wet milling

industry, filed a timely petition for review of the new source

standards in the Eighth Circuit.* That petition was con-

sidered by the court of appeals along with two separately

filed petitions to review EPA’s simultaneously issued guide-

line regulations for existing plants.

In CPC International Inc. v. Train, 515 F.2d 1032 (8th

Cir. 1975) (“CPC I”), the court of appeals ruled that the

new source standards were invalid because the Agency had

premised the standards upon a technology which had not

been “demonstrated” for the industry as required by Section

306(a)(1). (Id.,515 F.2d at 1047-1051.) EPA had asserted

that “deep bed filtration” was a technology which had been

used in some other industrial applications and at municipal

treatment works, and that it could make a projection of

results for the corn wet milling industry in reliance upon a

“transfer” of this technology. (Id., 515 F.2d at 1047-1048. )

The court held that the record showed no basis for use of

“transfer technology”. (Id., 515 F.2d at 1048-1049.) It

rejected the new source standards and remanded them to

the Agency.’

5 The regulations applied “to discharges resulting from the process in

which shelled corn is steeped in a dilute solution of sulfurous acid and

then processed by wet means into such products as animal feed, regular

and modified starches, corn oil, corn syrup, and dextrose.” (40 C.F.R.

§ 406.10, added by 39 Fed. Reg. 10512, 10514 (March 20, 1974).) This

specification of the coverage of EPA’s standards also pertains to the

Agency’s “efiuent limitations guidelines” applicable to existing plants in

the indusiry.

6 Section 509(b)(1) of the Act, 33 U.S.C. § 1369(b)(1), provides that

“[rjeview of the Administrator's action (A) in promulgating any stan-

dard of performance under section 306 .. . may be had by any inter-

ested person in the Circuit Court of Appeals of the United States for the

Federal judicial district in which such person resides or transacts such

business . . . [where the petition for review is filed within 90 days].”

TInm the same decision, the court of appeals ruled that for existing

plants EPA was mandated by the Act to issue guideline regulations

6

2. Further administrative proceedings and the second

decision of the court of appeals. As instructed by the court

of appeals in CPC I, EPA conducted further administrative

proceedings respecting the new source standards for corn

wet mills. Representatives of the industry made numerous

submissions to the Agency. Among the major issues in

these further proceedings were the questions (1) whether

the Agency had an obligation under the Act to provide in

its standards for the statistically expected “excursions”

from the effluent levels specified in the standards,* and (2)

whether in a standard based upon quantity of raw material

processed rather than products produced, the Agency

under Section 304(b), 33 U.S.C. § 1314(b), and that the Agency had

no authority to promulgate “limitations” by regulation under Sec-

tion 301(b) of the Act, 33 U.S.C. § 1311(b). Because the jurisdictional

provisions of Section 509(b) of the Act, 33 U.S.C. § 1369(b), did not

and do not provide that actions to review such guideline regulations

should be brought initially in the court of appeals, the court dismissed

the companion petitions for review of the simultaneously issued guide-

line regulations for the industry. (Id., 515 F.2d at 1037-1038.)

8 This issue arises because the numerical values in EPA’s standards

do not reflect lorz-term average performance results. Rather, for

enforcement purposes, EPA set the values in the regulations on a short-

term basis, i.e., for each pollutant parameter, as a “[m]aximum for

any 1 day” and as a maximum “[a]verage of daily values for 30

consecutive days.” See 40 C.F.R. § 406.15. Thus, the long-range aver-

age performance values on which EPA based its standards had to be

converted into the short-range values actually present in the regulations.

This conversion is most accurately and easily provided by a statistical

analysis of historical results from a plant or plants employing the

requisite technology and thus providing the long-range performance

values. “Variability factors” are obtained; these factors are multipliers

to convert the lower long-term average values into the higher values for

the particular short-range periods selected by the Agency as suitable for

regulatory purposes. The statistical calculations are made such that

the resulting short-term values will encompass a set tage (e.g.,

ordinarily 99 percent or perhaps 95 percent) of the expected results.

The remaining results (e.g., one percent or 5 percent, as the case may

be) are denominated “excursions”.

EPA stated the principle underlying such calculations, and their use

in setting standards, as follows: “Variability limitations will be set such

that all the mills listed as not violating the BOD and TSS annual

average will also not violate the thirty day average and daily maxi-

mums.” (Joint Deferred Appendix in the court of appeals, at N 3224.)

Petitioners do not contest this principle, but rather petitioners have

asserted and now assert that EPA has not followed it in these standards.

Lod

‘

should take product-mix variations into account by provid-

ing in the standards for the differing effluent results ob-

tained from the manufacture of disparate and diverse

products at corn wet mills.° At the conclusion of the pro-

ceedings, the Administrator issued a “Decision Not To

Revise New Sources Performance Standards”, in which he

rejected each of the positions advocated by the corn wet

mills. Respecting statistically expected “excursions”, the

Administrator said the Agency had chosen not to rely upon

the “effluent variability analysis of historical treatment

data contained in the Supplemental Development Docu-

ment... .” (40 Fed. Reg. at 52019.) Rather, statistical

calculations were “presented in the Supplemental Develop-

ment Document only as an illustretion that the new source

performance standard is reasonable and attainable in rela-

tion to existing overall industry practice.” (Id.) This re-

sponse avoided rather than answered the issue posed by

the milling companies. As to the differing effluent results

obtained by manufacture of a variety of products at the

mills, the Administrator responded that

“EPA has acknowledged, and continues to

acknowledge, that product mix variations may in-

deed have some 0d er on raw waste character-

istics of corn wet milling wastes. However, no

reliable and meaningful relationships between

roduct mix and waste flow characteristics has

n demonstrated to date either by EPA or in-

dustry.”

: (Id. at 52017-52018. )

EPA concluded that product mix differences were “inter-

related in a very complex and presently undefinable man-

ner” with other factors bearing on effluent results (id. at

® Most of EPA’s industry-category regulations are written on a differ-

ent basis than are these regulations. The majority of EPA’s regulations

are expressed in terms of pounds of allowable effluent per pounds of

production of a given product. See e.g., 40 C.F.R. § 415.225 (Inorganic

Chemicals Category—Titanium Dioxide Production Subcategory). The

regulations for corn wet mills, however, are premised upon the raw

material input (shelled corn) to the mills, and not upon the variety of

products manufactured from the shelled corn.

8

52018), and that no provision need be made in the stand-

ards for the manufacture of the different end products.

The petitioning companies returned to the court of

appeals seeking review of the Agency's refusal to revise

the standards. In its second ruling, CPC International Inc.

v. Train, 540 F.2d 1329 (8th Cir. 1976) (“CPC II”), the

court approved the Administrator’s decision in part and

rejected it in part. The court of appeals concluded that the

effluent values for BOD; in EPA’s standards were sup-

ported by results obtained at Clinton Corn Processing Co.’s

plant at Clinton, lowa, where a new treatment system had

been constructed, if the Clinton Corn data were adjusted

and interpreted to upgrade them for projected operations

at a new plant. (540 F.2d at 1334-1338; Appendix A infra

at 8a-15a.) However, the court rejected EPA’s values for

the TSS parameter, on the ground that neither the Clinton

Corn results nor results obtained at other plants in other

industries supported the TSS values in the standards. (540

F.2d at 1338-1340; Appendix A infra, at 15a-19a.) The

court again remanded the TSS portions of the standards to

the Agency, but with the explicit instructions either to

revise the originally set TSS values upward to particular

values which the court opined were supported by the

record,’® or to conduct further administrative proceedings

in an effort to justify lower values.

In its second ruling on the new source standards for the

corn wet milling industry, the court of appeals among other

things implicitly dealt with the matter of whether EPA's

standards for new sources are always binding on such

sources and have to be applied by rote in permits. The

court of appeals held that EPA need not provide in its corn

wet milling new source standards for the statistically ex-

pected “excursions” from the numerical values in the

10 The court concluded that the record supported a 30-consecutive-day

value of 25 pounds of TSS per “MSBu” (thousand standard bushels of

shelled corn) and a daily-maximum value of 75 pounds of TSS per

MSBu. (540 F.2d at 1340; Appendix A infra, at 19a.) These values

are 250 percent greater than those set initially by EPA and maintained

by the Agency as a result of the decision stemming from the first

remand.

9

standards, because in the court’s view the federally-issued

or State-issued discharge permit for a particular new source

could contain provisions allowing for excursions even

though the standards themselves did not do so. (540 F.2d

at 1338; Appendix A infra, at 14a-15a.) On the other hand,

the court of appeals did not consider or refer to possible

different pe-mit terms in addressing and rejecting the mill-

ing companies’ ciaiin that the new source standards were

invalid because EPA had failed to take into account higher

raw waste loads and resulting increased effluents at those

plants which would have a product mix including modified

starches rather than just sweeteners and syrups. (540

F.2d at 1336; Appendix A infra, at 12a. )

3. The Agency's recent amendment of the standards to

comply with the second decision of the court of appeals.

EPA did not conduct further administrative proceedings

after the second remand. Instead, the Agency adopted the

court's suggestion that it amend the originally-set TSS

values upwards to the values which in the court’s view had

some support in the record. See 41 Fed. Reg. 50823 (No-

vember 18, 1976), set out in Appendix E, infra.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Eighth Circuit’s Decision Rests Upon An As:

sumed Answer To The Question Whether EPA’s New

Source Standards Should Coatain A “Safety Valve”

Procedure.

The court of appeals did not address directly the issue

whether EPA’s new source standards should contain a

“safety valve procedure”.'' Its decision does, however,

touch upon the matter by implication. As noted supra, at

8, the court refused to hold that EPA had to provide in

its new source standards for the statistically expected ex-

cursions from the values in the standards, on the ground

11 The reference to a “safety valve procedure” stems from WAIT

Radio v. Federal Communications Commission, 135 U.S. App. D.C. 317,

418 F.2d 1153, 1157 (1969).

10

that a permit with terms to “remedy the problem” could be

issued for a particular new source.’? (540 F.2d at 1338;

Appendix A infra, at 14a-15a.) In the du Pont cases in this

Court, EPA has contended that its new source standards

are “ironclad” and that they must be applied by rote in

permits for new plants. Brief for the Administrator at 7-9

and 13, E. I. du Pont de Nemours & Co. v. Train, Nos. 75-

1473 and 75-1705. By asserting that its standards are “iron-

clad”, EPA thus would not allow the permit adjustment for

excursions upon which the court of appeals relied. In addi-

tion, the decision of the court was itself not consistent on

the matter of a “safety valve”. In the court’s disposition of

the issue arising because of variations in products at the

corn wet mills, the option of permit limitations differing

from the standards was not recognized. (540 F.2d at 1336;

Appendix A infra, at 12a.)

The decision of the court of appeals thus demonstrates

the close interrelationship between the effect to be accorded

the standards and the matters which must be reflected in

them lest they be arbitrary and capricious. Because this

Court has before it in the du Pont cases the issue which is

presented here, the corn wet milling petitioners suggest

that it would be appropriate for this Court to grant this

petition and to remand the matter summarily in light of the

Court's decision in the du Pont cases.'* Whichever way this

12 Permits could correct the deficiency in the standards by providing

that the maximum short-term pollutant limitations in the permit could

be exceeded on a specified number of occasions during a year, with the

number of allowable excursions determined on the basis of the statistical

premise for calculating the standards. See supra, at 6 n. 8.

EPA’s “national primary and secondary ambient air quality standards”

issued under Section 109 of the Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1857c-4,

contain provisions for such “excursions”. See 40 C.F.R. § 50.9 (stan-

dard for photochemical oxidants—“maximum 1-hour concentration not

to be exceeded more than once per year” ).

13 Then, in light of this Court’s discussion in the du Pont decision,

the court of appeals could reassess its rulings respecting the second and

third questions presented here. While petitioners believe the court of

appeals could consequently order appropriate provisions to be incorpo-

rated in EPA’s standards, especially respecting excursions, this sug-

gested disposition would leave in existence the conflict among the

circuits over excursions.

11

Court resolves the “safety valve” issue in the du Pont cases,

a remand to the court of appeals in this case would seem to

be necessary. As discussed, the court here arguably adopted

by implication an inconsistent stance on the issue. It should

reconsider its ruling in light of this Court’s action in the

du Pont cases.

II. There Is A Conflict Among The Courts Of Appeals

Over Whether EPA Is Obliged To Provide In Its

Standards For Statistically Expected “Excursions”

From The Effluent Values Specified In The Standards.

EPA’s effluent regulations, whether they be new source

standards or “effluent limitations guidelines” express the

values for pollutant parameters as “never to be exceeded”

terms. See e.g., the standards at issue here, 40 C.F.R.

§ 406.15, reproduced infra, at 3e. Yet the statistical meth-

ods used to calculate the short-range values present in

the regulations do not by definition account for all the

values obtained by use of the requisite technology at well-

run representative plants. See supra, at 6 n.8 and 10

n.12. A very small but important set of expected values

(“excursions”) remain unaccounted for by the short-term

values in the regulations. A new source would be subject to

civil or criminal penalties when the excursions occurred,

unless the regulations or the plant’s permit exempted the

excursions. (See §§ 306(e), 309, 402(k), and 505. )

In FMC Corp. v. Train, 539 F.2d 973, 986 (4th Cir. 1976),

the Fourth Circuit considered EPA’s failure to provide for

excursions in the Agency’s new source standards and ef-

fluent limitations guidelines for the plastics and synthetic

materials category. The court opined that “[p]!ant owners

should not be subject to sanctions when they are operating

a proper treatment facility.” (Id., 539 F.2d at 986.) It con-

cluded that “EPA should provide an excursion provision

that will offset the expected . . . violations” (id. ), while ob-

serving that EPA had previously incorporated such provi-

sions in regulations issued under the Clean Air Act—

12

“Such excursions are provided for by the ambient

air standards established under the Clean Air Act,

40 C.F.R. §§ 50.4-50.10, and this Court sees no

reason oy appropriate excursion provisions

should not be incorporated in these water pollu-

tion regulations.”

(Id. )

See also Essex Chemical Corp. v. Ruckelshaus, 158 U.S.

App. D.C. 360, 486 F.2d 427, 432-433 (1973), cert. denied

sub nom. Appalachian Power Co. v. Environmental Pro-

tection Agency, 416 U.S. 969 (1974).

By way of contrast, the Tenth Circuit in American

Petroleum Institute v. Environmental Protection Agency,

540 F.2d 1023, 1035-1036 (10th Cir. 1976), refused to rule

that EPA had erred in not providing for excursions, while

Saying that there was “a theoretical chance that a plant

achieving the limitations on a long-term basis will exceed

the monthly and daily limits.” (Id., 540 F.2d at 1036.)

In the present case the Eighth Circuit reached a com-

promise on the issue by declaring that the standards did

not have to contain an “excursions” clause but that a permit

for a particular new source could “remedy the problem”.

(540 F.2d at 1338; Appendix A infra, at 14a-15a. )

These conflicts among the Fourth, Eighth, and Tenth

Circuits are especially troublesome because the issue in

conflict will arise both in the context of regulations and

permits and in the area of enforcement.'* The conflicts

justify the grant of certiorari to review the Eighth Circuit’s

judgment in this case.

14 As matters now stand, given EPA's failure to carry out the de-

cisions either of the Fourth or of Eighth Circuits, in those circuits a

permittee w__id have available an “excursions” defense to a charge of

violation cf a permit, notwithstanding the provisions of Section 509(b)

(2) of the Act, 33 U.S.C. § 1369(b)(2). (These provisions bar “review

in any civil or criminal proceeding for enforcement” of any action by

the Administrator which could have been the subject of review under

the jurisdictional grant provided by Section 509(b)(1), including, for

example, the Administrators promulgation of new source standards

under Section 306.) In the Tenth Circuit such a defense arguably

would not be available.

13

Ill. The Eighth Circuit’s Decision Errs In Approving

The Agency’s Failure To Make Any Provision In The

New Source Standards For Product-Mix Variations

And The Different Effluents Resulting From Manu-

facture of Disparate And Diverse Products At Corn

Wet Mills.

In the Administrator's decision of November 1975 not to

revise the new source standards for corn wet mills, the

Agency conceded that “product mix variations may indeed

have some influence on raw waste characteristics of corn

wet milling wastes.” See supra, at 7. Nonetheless, the

Agency says that it has to date found no method to corre-

late this factual circumstance to the standards. (40 Fed.

Reg. at 52018; Appendix D, infra, at 2d-3d.) The stan-

dards fix single values dependent upon quantity of raw

materials processed, without regard to the varying products

manufactured and the varying effluents resulting from the

different product mixes. The court of appeals approved this

approach, or rather, lack of approach, on the ground that

the Agency had not ignored the matter. (540 F.2d at 1336;

Appendix A, infra, at 12a.) The court erred; it did not fully

meet its obligation to determine “whether the decision was

based on a consideration of the relevant factors and

whether there has been a clear error of judgment.” Citizens

To Preserve Overton Park, Inc. v. Volpe, 401 U.S. 402, 416

(1971).

A new corn wet milling plant manufacturing a product

such as a modified starch which generates an effluent sig-

nificantly greater than a plant producing corn syrups or

sweeteners should be subject to effluent requirements which

reflect “best available demonstrated control technology”

(§ 306(a)(1)) for its own operations, not those of the

syrup or sweetener plant.”

15 Section 306(b)(2) specifies that the Administrator “shall consider

the type of process employed (including whether batch or continuous )”

in adopting new source standards for an industry. In the corn wet

milling plants, physically separate and technologically different proces-

sing lines are used for corn syrups, corn sweeteners, modified starches,

and other classes of products.

14

In any event, the decision of the court of appeals should

be reassessed in light of this Court’s decision in the du Pont

cases respecting whether EPA’s new source standards are

“ironclad” or whether they should incorporate a “safety

valve procedure”.

CONCLUSION

A writ of certiorari should issue to review the judgment

and opinion of the Eighth Circuit. The second and third

questions presented by this petition are important and

deserve the Court’s attention.

Alternatively, because the first issue in this case is also

presented by the du Pont litigation presently pending

before this Court, and because the other two issues in this

case are Closely tied to this issue, this Court may deem it

appropriate to grant the petition and summarily to remand

this case to the Eighth Circuit for further proceedings to

be taken in accordance with this Court’s du Pont decision.

This suggested disposition would not resolve the present

conflict among the circuits respecting the issue arising

with statistically expected excursions from the values in

EPA’s standards. It would nonetheless offer the court of

appeals an opportunity to clarify the issues in light of the

du Pont case.

Respectfully submitted,

RoBERT C. BARNARD

CHARLES F. LETTOW

1250 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D. C. 20036

Attorneys for Petitioners

OF COUNSEL:

CLEARY, GOTTLIEB, STEEN & HAMILTON

1250 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D. C. 20036

JANUARY 14, 1977

la

APPENDIX A

Anited States Court of Appeals

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 74-1448

CPC INTERNATIONAL INC., ET AL.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

RUSSELL E. TRAIN, ET AL.,

Respondents.

Petition for Review of

‘Action of the Administrator

of the Environmental

Protection Agency.

Submitted: March 9, 1976

Filed: August 18, 1976

Before MATTHES, Senior Circuit Judge, HEANEY and

WEBSTER, Circuit Judges.

HEANEY, Circuit Judge.

The petitioners, representatives of the corn wet milling

industry, seek direct review of regulations promulgated by

the Environmental Protection Agency setting forth stand-

ards of effluent discharges for new plants in this industry

under §306 of the Federal Water Pollution Control Act

Amendments of 1972. 33 U.S.C. §1316.

2a

The new plant standards are before us for the second

time. In CPC International Inc. v. Train, 515 F.2d 1032,

1034 (8th Cir. 1975) (CPC I), we held that this Court had

jurisdiction to directly review the standards for new plants

under (509(b) of the Act. We also held that this Court did

not have such jurisdiction with respect to existing plant

guidelines, a position to which we continue to adhere. Id.

at 1036-1043.' We also held that there was not sufficient

1 Three other Circuits have reached a contrary interpretation. See

American Frozen Food Institute v. Train, No. 74-1464, at slip op. 5,

37-38 (D.C. Cir. May 11, 1976); American Iron & Steel Institute v.

E.P.A., 526 F.2d 1027, 1042 (3rd Cir. 1975); Amer. Meat Institute v.

Environ. Protect. Agcy., 526 F.2d 442, 452 (7th Cir. 1975). Two other

Circuits have decided that they need not decide the question of the

Administrator's power, and that “any action taken by the Administrator

under §304(b) should properly be considered to be pursuant to the

provisions of §301,” permitting such action to be directly reviewed

pursuant to §509(b). E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company v. Train,

528 F.2d 1136, 1142 (4th Cir. 1975), cert. granted, 44 U.S.L.W. 3385

(U.S. April 20, 1976) (No. 75-978). Accord, American Petroleum In-

stitute v. Train, 526 F.2d 1343, 1346 (10th Cir. 1975).

The District of Columbia Circuit suggests that we “failed to see the

forest for the trees.” Americcn Frozen Food Institute v. Train, supra at

slip op. 37 n.5. We deny fwilty vision. The italicized quotations from

the legislative history in the American Frozen Food decision, id. at slip

op. 10-25, are ambiguous. For that reason, this Court, which was the

first to attempt to unravel the Gordian knot, felt it essential to probe the

legislative history more deeply and to go beyond the ambiguous passages

relied upon by the Court in American Frozen Food. As a result of our

study, we reached the conclusion that nonambiguous passages of the

legislative history and of the statute itself compelled an interpretation

of the Act which differed from that of the EPA. These nonambiguous

clues to the statute’s meaning are discussed at length in our decision

in CPC International Inc. v. Train, 515 F.2d 1032, 1038-1043 (8th Cir.

1975) (CPC I).

For example, one fundamental impediment to the EPA’s interpreta-

tion of the Act remains unanswered. Section 402(d)(2) expressly pro-

vides that the EPA may halt issuance of any state-issued permit if it

determines that the conditions of the permit do not comply with the

guidelines issued under §304(b). See id. at 1037 n.11, 1038 and 1038

n.14. The reference in this veto provision to the §304(b) guidelines and

the extensive debate which preceded the addition of §402(d)(2) to the

final draft of the statute are inconsistent with the EPA’s contention that

it has the power to issue effluent limitations for existing plants by

regulation under §301. The District of Columbia Circuit and the

Seventh Circuit ignore this language. The Third Circuit deals with the

language, see American Iron & Steel Institute v. E.P.A., supra at 1040-

1041, but its reasoning is unpersuasive.

3a

evidence in that record to support the new plant standards

promulgated by the EPA and remanded the matter to it

with instructions to either:

furnish support for the new source standards pre-

viously published, or establish new ones which

can be achieved with the best available demon-

strated control technology.

Id. at 1050 ( footnote omitted ).

We also instructed the EPA to update its projected cost

figures.

On remand, the EPA undertook a review and reconsid-

eration of the new plant standards. Following appropriate

Conclusory statements to the effect that our interpretation of the

EPA’s power “emasculates” the Act, American Frozen Food Institute v.

Train, supra at slip op. 36, are a distortion of reality. As we noted in

CPC International Inc. v. Train, supra at 1037 n.11, the guidelines

promulgated under §304(b) are to be as precise as possible. Coupled

with the EPA’s veto power over permits which fail to comply with their

requirements, the guidelines will achieve the goals which the EPA seeks

to achieve by means of effluent limitations promulgated under its pur-

ported §301 power. Under our ruling, the limitations written into in-

dividual permits for existing point sources should be substantially

similar to those written into permits if the EPA's theory of the Act were

to be adopted.

The only practical difference resulting from this Court's interpretation

of the statute is that the §304(b) guidelines for existing sources must

be reviewed first in the District Court, while the §306(b) standards of

perfomance for new plants—often based on the same scientific research

and conclusions—must be reviewed first in the Court of Appeals. This

practical anomoly is demonstrated here. Compare CPC International

Inc. v. Train, supra at 1046, 1046 n.29 (finding that the “1977 tech-

nology,” when employed in a new plant, would enable it to comply with

the 1977 guidelines) with Grain Processing Corporation v. Train, 407

F.Supp. 96 (S.D. Iowa 1976) (finding that the “1977 technology,” when

employed in an existing plant, cannot assure compliance with the 1977

guidelines). We acknowledge this practical difficulty. But the presence

of this anomoly does not justify the conclusion that the Act is “emascu-

lated;” nor does a court emasculate an enactment by enforcing it as

written. We cannot disregard the intention of Congress and rewrite the

statute simply because of the practical problem of initially reviewing

two closely related sets of regulations at two different levels in the

judicial system. We also acknowledge that judicial resources will be

wasted by requiring review at the District and Appellate Court levels.

The recent grant of certiorari by the Supreme Court in E. I. du Pont

de Nemours and Company v. Train, supra, is a hopeful sign that a

definitive resolution of these issues is forthcoming.

4a

administrative procedures, the EPA resubmitted the stand-

ards previously promulgated.

The petitioners contend that:

(1) the EPA failed to give a fair and reasoned considera-

tion of its new source standards and instead prematurely

and arbitrarily adopted its original standards;

(2) the EPA erred in determining that the 1977 guide-

lines can be met by new plants utilizing proposed 1977

technology;

(3) the EPA erred in holding that the addition of deep

bed filtration will enable industries to meet the proposed

new source standards; and

(4) the EPA erred in determining that the suggested

technology could be acquired within the cost figures pro-

jected by it and in determining that the industry could

afford to build new plants incorporating the technology

necessary to achieve the new source standards.

I. THE EPA ACTED PROPERLY ON REMAND.

We are not entirely satisfied with the record made by the

EPA on remand. Much of the data in the record is presented

without careful collation, evaluation and simplification.

Much of the statistical information is quantified in units of

measurement other than those used in the proposed stand-

ards, pounds per thousands of bushels, thus making it

difficult for us to determine whether the data supports the

EPA’s conclusion. Expert opinion is frequently unsup-

ported and little, if any, effort is made to make scientific

testimony understandable.

Nonetheless, we cannot say that the new source stand-

ards should be set aside in their entirety on the grounds

that the EPA prematurely and arbitrarily rubber stamped

the previously approved standard. It did substantially more

than this. It retained expert consultants to assist in the

decision-making process, it undertook a review of the

experience of other municipal and industria! users in the

United States and abroad, it undertook a review of the

5a

literature in the field, and it made a serious and a partially

successful effort to obtain all available information from

presently operated corn wet milling plants.

Il. THE RECORD SUPPORTS THE CONCLUSION

OF THE EPA THAT THE 1977 EXISTING

PLANT GUIDELINES CAN BE MET BY NEW

PLANTS UTILIZING THE PROPOSED 1977

TECHNOLOGY.

The petitioners, in effect, seek to relitigate issues de-

cided in our first opinion. In CPC I, we held that:

(1) the new source standards are identical to the 1983

guidelines for existing plants;

(2) the new source standards/1983 guidelines “are

predicated on the availability of the 1977 technology plus

the addition of deep bed filtration;”

(3) the EPA did not err “in determining that the 1977

technology, when employed in a new plant, would enable

it to comply with the 1977 guidelines;” and

(4) the EPA adequately considered contentions of the

industry pertaining to “shockloads,” “variability” and “ex-

cursions” in determining the 1977 existing plant stand-

ards. CPC International Inc. v. Train, supra at 1045, 1046

and 1046 n.30 (footnotes omitted ).

The petitioners suggest that the data presented initially

and on remand does not support the EPA’s conclusion that

the 1977 existing plant guidelines, upon which the final

new plant standards are based, can be met. They argue

that the EPA has failea to adequately consider the raw

wasteload of the corn wet milling industry, the variation

of the wasteloads according to the particular product pro-

duced, the temporary “shockloads” of waste created upon

shifts from one product process to another or the “excur-

sions” or high waste level concentration that occurs in this

industry from time to time.”

2 Since we determined in CPC I that the 1977 guidelines could be met

by new plants, the petitioners’ attempt to relitigate this issue would

ordinarily be barred by the doctrine of the law of the case. See United

6a

We have carefully reviewed the entire record and remain

convinced that new plants constructed with proper in-plant

controls and an adequate activated sludge or similar treat-

ment facility can meet the 1977 existing plant guidelines

of removing all but 50 pounds each of BOD; and TSS per

MSBu.* The record discloses that two existing plants with-

out all of the available technology proposed for use in a

treatment facility or appropriate in-plant controls have

met or nearly met the 1977 guidelines. At the American

Maize plant, the monthly figures of January through

March, 1975, are below the 1977 standards. At CPC-Corpus

Christi during the period of December, 1974 through April,

1975, the monthly BOD; effluent level is just above the

maximum thirty-day period 1977 guidelines. These plants

have achieved this level of effluent reduction even though

they have been inhibited in their efforts by space and

design limitations. New plants are being designed to avoid

such limitations.

We recognize that the District Court for the Southern

District of Iowa in Grain Processing Corporation v. Train,

407 F.Supp. 96 (S.D. Iowa 1976), held that the 1977 guide-

lines cannot be met by existing plants. That decision is

not before us here. We are concerned only with the stand-

ards for new plants. The District Court’s decision is on

appeal to this Court and will be considered in due course.

We note only that a new plant can incorporate in-plant

controls and surface condensers with moderate expense

States of America v. Burton A. Librach, No. 76-1060, slip op. at 8 (8th

Cir., June 17, 1976); Hawkes v. Internal Revenue Service, 507 F.2d 481,

482 n.1 (6th Cir. 1974); Thornton v. Charter, 109 F.2d 316, 320 (8th

Cir. 1940). However, after examining this augmented record, we deter-

mined that it would be helpful to expand upon and reassert our prior

decision as the ability of new plants to meet the 1977 guidelines is an

important intermediary step in ascertaining whether new plants can

meet the final proposed new plant standards.

3 BOD, is the five-day biochemical oxygen demand pollution factor,

explained more fully infra. TSS is the total suspended solids pollution

factor, explained more fully infra. MSBu expresses these pollutant

measurements in terms of pounds per thousand standard bushels of

corn processed. The 50-pound guideline refers to the maximum average

of daily values for a thirty consecutive day period, the guideline period

and measurement proposed by the EPA.

7a

and inconvenience while existing plants have more diffi-

culty in converting to this technology.

We affirm our decision in CPC I that the EPA did not act

arbitrarily or capriciously in concluding that the 1977

technology employed in a new plant would enable it to

meet the 1977 existing plant guidelines.

Ill. THE PROPOSED NEW PLANT STANDARDS

FOR BOD, CAN BE MET; THE PROPOSED

NEW PLANT STANDARDS FOR TSS CANNOT

BE MET.

Section 306(a)(1) of the Act, 33 U.S.C. §1316(a)(1),

states that the new source standards are to reflect:

| T |he greatest degree of effluent reduction which

the Administrator determines to be achievable

through application of the best available demon-

strated control technology, processes, operating

methods, or other alternatives, including, where

—— a standard permitting no discharge of

pollutants.

Our task is to determine whether the EPA’s decision is

“arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of discretion, or otherwise

not in accordance with law.” 5 U.S.C. §706(2)(A); Citizens

to Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe, 401 U.S. 402, 416

(1971); CPC International Inc. v. Train, supra at 1044.

The EPA has proposed that a new plant in the corn wet

milling industry shall achieve an average of daily values

for thirty consecutive days that shall not exceed an effluent

level of 20 pounds of BOD; and 10 pounds of TSS per

MSBu. This standard is to be reached through the use of a

complete activated sludge system to reduce the wasteload

to 50 pounds each of BOD; and TSS per MSBu, the 1977

guidelines, and a subsequent reduction of 30 pounds of

BOD; and 40 pounds of TSS per MSBu through the addition

of a deep bed filtration system. The EPA asserts that the

experience of the Clinton corn plant treatment facility,

which includes the use of deep bed filtration, supports the

new source standards. It contends that deep bed filtration

is a demonstrated technology in the treatment of waste-

‘eve

8a

water in municipal and industrial plants and its use has

resulted in effluent discharges containing essentially no

suspended solids. It finally asserts that deep bed filtration

technology can be transferred to the corn wet milling in-

dustry with approximately the same successful rate of

BOD; and TSS effluent level reduction. The petitioners

deny these assertions.*

A. BOD,

We consider initially whether the conclusion of the EPA

that the 20-pound BOD; standard can be met, is arbitrary

and capricious.®

1. Clinton Corn Results.

On remand, data from the Clinton Corn plant became

available. Clinton Corn is a large corn wet milling plant

at which a new waste treatment facility has been con-

structed. It utilizes much of the EPA proposed technology,

including deep bed filtration. The Clinton treatment facility

began operations on January 1, 1974, and data for the pe-

riod from November, 1974 to September, 1975, was utilized

by the EPA in setting the proposed standards.

4 One of the principal difficulties in reviewing this record and that of

the EPA in setting a new plant standard, is the lack of any existing

plant within the industry that includes all of the proposed in-plant

controls and suggested treatment facilities. The need to be able to rely

on an exemplary existing plant or to create a pilot system to demon-

strate the efficacy and availability of the proposed technology is recog-

nized by the EPA. A newsletter published by the EPA and included in

the record of this case states:

Despite the widely varying opinions found in the waste water

filtration literature, a few areas of agreement are apparent.

One is the need to perform pilot plant studies in order to

properly design waste water filters.

J. Kreissel, “Granulor Media Filtration of Secondary Effluent” in News

of Environmental Research in Cincinnati (December 13, 1974).

5BOD, is a pollutant measurement of the five-day biochemical

oxygen demand. It reflects the oxygen-consuming capability of organic

matter which will be fulfilled as the matter in the wastewater decom-

poses. It is a common measurement employed in the field of water:

quality.

9a

The parties disagree as to the results achieved at

Clinton.“ The EPA concludes that a monthly average of

7.1 pounds per MSBu of BOD; for the eleven-month period

and a monthly average of 4.5 pounds for the last seven

months was achieved. The petitioners conclude that the

averages were 15.0 and 7.5 pounds, respectively. Even if

the petitioners’ higher figures are used, it appears that:

(1) the eleven-month average is less than the standard

set by the EPA;

(2) the seven-month average is at least 60% below the

standard set by the EPA;

(3) only one month in the last seven exceeded 50% of

the standard set by the EPA; and

(4) the treatment facility removed an average of 98%

of the BOD; in the wastewater.

Moreover, the record supports the EPA’s view that lower

effluent standards can be reached if all known in-plant

controls to prévent spills and to equalize the effect upon the

treatment facility if spills do occur are incorporated in the

new plant.

The petitioners assert, however, that because only 65%

of the wastewater flow generated at the Clinton plant goes

through the treatment facility, the Clinton results are unre-

liable. The wastewater by-passing the treatment facility is

generated from barometric cooling condensers and is dis-

charged directly into receiving waters without treatment.

The EPA suggested technology for cooling is surface con-

densers. This technology allows the cooling water to be

recycled. The resulting wastewater volume is substantially

reduced but it has higher concentrations of BOD;. This

waste must then be treated in the regular treatment facility.

6 The calculation to determine the amount of pollutant in terms of

pounds per thousand standard bushels of corn processed (MSBu) re-

quires several factors including the flow of water, actual grind data

and the concentration of the effluent. Exact grind data was not made

available for the Clinton plant. Both the EPA’s and the petitioners’

conclusion in terms of MSBu differ, at least partially, because of differ-

ent assumed grind levels.

~ nt ince ery

10a

The EPA projected model plant, discussed infra, has a

production capacity of 30,000 bushels and a proposed treat-

ment facility capable of handling a wasteflow of 1.0 mil-

lion gallons a day (mgd). The Clinton plant has a produc-

tion capacity of 120,000 bushels or four times that of the

model, but its present treatment facility is designed to treat

only 3.0 mgd. As Clinton changes over to surface con-

densers, its treatment facility will have to be enlarged

accordingly. There is no evidence in this record to suggest

that this additional waste volume cannot be treated in the

enlarged facility as effectively as the waste now being

treated at Clinton. For our purposes, the crucial factor is

that the Clinton treatment facility is effectively treating the

BOD; wasteload it is designed to treat at a level which is

consistent with the EPA proposed standards.

The petitioners also argue that the Clinton data should

not be used because its treatment plant includes a “double

Stage” treatment process before filtration while the EPA

model facility consists of a single stage. They argue that

even if the Clinton plant performance for BOD; removal

approaches that of the EPA standard, it does so only with

more extensive technology at a higher cost than the EPA

model facility.’

The EPA concedes that Clinton uses a double-stage pre-

treatment facility but properly notes that the raw waste

equalization basin at Clinton is not designed to hold the

raw wastes for the time required. It again calls attention to

the lack of good in-plant controls.

We are convinced that the record supports the EPA’s

conclusion that the performance of the Clinton plant dem-

onstrates that new plants designed and built to EPA stand-

ards can meet the BOD; standard of 20 pounds per MSBu.

2. EPA’s Model Plant.

In preparation of the standards, the EPA synthesized a

model corn wet milling plant and corresponding treatment

* The adequacy of the size and cost of the treatment facility proposed

by the EPA will be discussed in Section III, Part 2, infra, and Section

IV, infra, respectively.

lla

facility from data received from the corn wet milling indus-

try and from other industries that encounter similar

wastewater. The model contained most of the best tech-

nology and procedures presently used or practiced in the

industry. It is from this model and its estimated ability to

reduce the projected wasteloads that the EPA set the pro-

posed new plant standards.

The petitioners challenge two of the projections made by

the EPA in synthesizing its model plant. First, they assert

that the EPA erred in not considering the additional waste-

water flows of between 90 and 250 pounds of BOD: per

MSBu that result from the use of wet water scrubbers.

Second, they assert that the EPA erred in failing to accu-

rately account for the higher concentrations of BOD; that

result from the production of modified starches. These

errors, they assert, render the effluent-level reductions inac-

curate.

The petitioners do not dispute that the alleged additional

wastewater flows could not be effectively treated by the

proposed technology. They argue only that the capacity of

the model treatment plant may be insufficient to handle the

volumes or concentrations of this additional wastewater.

Our review of the record discloses that the petitioners’

conclusion on the increased wastewater generated by the

wet water scrubbers is based upon preliminary and con-

flicting data. The most persuasive of these inconclusive

estimates is that an additional flow of 90 pounds of BOD;

per MSBu may be created." As set forth above, the Clinton

treatment facility has consistently achieved a 98% BOD;

reduction over an eleven-month period during which the

influent has varied considerably in terms of concentration

and amount. If this additional 90 pounds were treated at

the Clinton facility, the seven months BOD: effluent aver-

ages of 4.5 of the EPA and 7.5 of the petitioners would be

increased to 6.3 and 9.3, respectively. Both of these figures

8 There is also evidence in the record that the wastewater from the

wet scrubbers could be recycled and reused in the production process

with a result that little of the wastewater would reach the treatment

facility directly.

fe

12a

remain well below the EPA proposed standard of 20 pounds

of BOD; per MSBu.

The record also discloses that the EPA did take into con-

sideration the increased wasteloads generated by the pro-

duction of modified starches. The EPA compiled data of

actual performance results from newer existing mills that

produce both conventional corn syrups and modified

starches and also the projections for new plants, submitted

by the industry, in order to determine the wastewater flow

and influent levels for the model plant. Moreover, it is

undisputed that the Clinton plant produces a variety of end

products including modified starches. Both the Clinton

wastewater load and influent levels of BOD; approximate

the projections set out for the EPA’s model plant.

Furthermore, the data relied upon by the petitioners to

show increased wasteloads because of modified starch pro-

duction must be contrasted with other data showing no

appreciable influent increase. As stated by a representative

of CPC in a report to the EPA, there were a number of

occasions when the production of modified starches in-

creased the wasteload substantially and:

about an equal number of times when there did

not seem to be any effect. No explanation has

been found for this problem.

Letter from R. L. Hap of CPC International to Dr. H. E.

Schwartz, Jr., June 25, 1975.

Based on the model plant data, we cannot say that the

EPA ignored the effects of additional waste produced by the

production of modified starches nor did it act in an arbi-

trary or capricious manner in calculating the effect of this

waste in preparing its model plant.

3. Variability and Excursions.

The petitioners also assert that the EPA’s standard for

the average maximum values for thirty consecutive days of

20 pounds of BOD; per MSBu fails to adequately account

for variability factors. They argue that if the EPA desires

to set short-term thirty-day standards based on long-term

————— eT

~ —_—r-—

13a

averages, that the EPA must ensure that miils not violating

the annual averages will also not violate the thirty-day

average and daily maximums. The petitioners argue that

the EPA considered variability factors only upon the ex-

pected results of its model plant and that the EPA failed to

adequately consider the variability factors realized at exist-

ing plants.

The record discloses that the EPA did adequately con-

sider variability. It took the long range effluent data from

the CPC—Pekin and American Maize plants and deter-

mined the 99% to the mean monthly variability factor to be

2.7 and 1.9, respectively. This range encompasses the 2.6

variability factor for the Clinton plant estimated by the

petitioners. Multiplying these factors upon the monthly

average for the last seven months at Clinton as increased

by additional effluent from the wet scrubbers, the range is

between 12 and 17 pounds of BOD; per MSBu utilizing the

EPA’s figures and between 17.7 and 25.1 pounds utilizing

the petitioners’ conclusions of the Clinton data. Ali but the

last projection is within the proposed BOD; standard.

Moreover, there is support for the EPA’s contention that

strict statistical computation of the variability factor for

new plants based upon existing plant results creates an arti-

ficially high number. New plants equipped with comple: -

in-plant controls and a properly designed and operating

treatment facility should be less prone to the variations of

influent created by the lack of similar facilities in existing

plants and, therefore, the variation factor in a new plant

should be lower.

There is also support in the record for the maximum

value for any single day of 60 pounds of BOD; per MSBu.

This single day allowance of three times the thirty-day

average provides sufficient flexibility for high effluent days.

Finally, the petitioners contend that even if the varia-

bility factors utilized by the EPA are accurate and provided

that the maximum day and thirty-day averages can be met,

the EPA has not included sufficient consideration for the

“excursions” above these levels that will occur in setting

these standards. They argue that the variability factors

2 Ne

14a

utilized account for 99% of all predictable performance

with the remaining one percent of the results from a plant

expected to exceed the value calculated as the 99% maxi-

mum. The petitioners assert that because the EPA has not

provided any variances for these excursions, effluent levels

may exceed the allowable maximum daily level several days

within a year despite the fact that the plant is meeting the

yearly average.

The record reflects that this complaint is not well

founded. The excursions in this industry are primarily the

result of inadequate facilities, including insufficiently-

sized aeration or retention basins and the failure to provide

dikes and other in-plant controls to reduce the effect of

in-plant spills. New plants, properly designed and con-

structed, should not experience this same difficulty. Dr.

Raymond C. Loehr, an expert in the treatment of high

strength organic wastes, has concluded:

No excursions are necessary. The variability

factors that are developed are based upon existing

data. There are many steps that industry can take

to reduce the variability and not exceed the limita-

tions. It is reasonable to expect that based upon

the use of better treatment technology and con-

trol, attention to treatment plant maintenance

and operations, and concern about in-plant waste

control, industry can reduce the existing variabil-

ity by at least 1%, the amount inferred by the use

of the 99/50 ratio, to obtain the limitations. In

fact it is reasonable to expect that such variability

can be reduced by perhaps 5% by means of the

variability controls identified earlier.

R. C. Loehr, EPA Memorandum on “Effluent Variability

Factors,” (June 26, 1975).

The record indicates that there remains the possibility

of a rare occasion when the daily effluent level may exceed

the maximum daily standard of 60 pounds because of inad-

vertent error or Act of God. The EPA has established the

policy of informally working with the plant that suffers

from such infrequent or isolated violations to attempt to

remedy the problem causing the violation without the

necessity of bringing any formal or court action. See EPA,

15a

“Guidelines for Water Pollution Enforcement,” 8 (July 23,

1974). If the effluent limitations in a federally-issued per-

mit prove to be unreasonable or cannot be met for cause

beyond the control of the permittee, the permit may be re-

vised. Id. See also {306(b)(1)(B), 33 U.S.C. {1316(b)(1)

(B).

The EPA has not acted arbitrarily or capriciously in its

consideration of variability or excursions.

4. Conclusion.

The EPA has set the new plant effluent standards for

BOD: at 20 pounds per MSBu as a maximum average daily

value for thirty consecutive days and 60 pounds per MSBu

as the daily maximum. The Clinton Corn plant treatment

facility contains much of the “end of the pipe” technology

proposed by the EPA. During the last seven months of

available operational data, the Clinton plant achieved a

thirty-day average BOD, effluent of 4.5 pounds, utilizing the

calculations of the EPA or 7.5 pounds if the calculations of

the petitioners are used. If these amounts were increased

because of additional waste flow from the wet scrubbers

and when a variability factor of hetween 1.9 and 2.7 is

applied, the results range from 12 to 17 pounds of BOD;

per MSBu utilizing the EPA’s calculations and 17.7 and

25.1 pounds if the calculations of the petitioners are used.

When these final totals are considered in the light of the

problems experienced in the Clinton treatment facility and

the lack of in-plant controls in the Clinton processing plant,

they provide adequate support for the EPA’s proposed

standard of 20 pounds of BOD; per MSBu as a thirty-day

average. We find, on the basis of this record, that the BOD;

standard set by the EPA is neither arbitrary nor capricious

and is in accordance with law.

B. TSS

We turn to a consideration of whether the conclusion of

the EPA that the 10-pound TSS standard can be met is

arbitrary and capricious.”

® TSS is the pollutant measurement of the total amount of suspended

solids, inorganic and organic, in the wastewater.

16a

1. Clinton Corn and Other Corn Wet Milling

Plant Results.

As in the BOD; measurements at the Clinton plant, there

is a disagreement in the pounds per MSBu figure for the

effluent level of TSS. The EPA concludes that a monthly

average of 17.6 pounds for the last eleven-month period and

an average of 16.0 pounds for the last seven months was

achieved. The petitioners conclude that the averages were

34.8 anc 25.6 pounds, respectively.

The EPA argues that data for the months of July, August

and September of 1975 supports the TSS standard of 10

pounds per MSBu. Considering the EPA’s conclusions of

the Clinton data and eliminating one usually high effluent

day, the following effluent levels were achieved:

1975 BOD; (Ibs/MSBu) TSS (Ibs/MSBu )

July 4.6 9.3

August 2.1 8.5

September 1.7 5.2

This data reveals:

(1) that the 10-pound standard would be exceeded in

every month when a variability factor of between 2.2 and

2.6 is applied to these results; and

(2) that the TSS levels are uniformly higher than BOD,

levels even when the treatment is achieving maximum per-

formance levels.

The EPA suggests that this second conclusion indicates

that the BOD, standard could be lowered. We find little

merit to this suggestion. When surface condenser wastes

and variability factors are given appropriate consideration,

the BOD; standard appears to be as low as can be con-

sistently achieved.

In each of the eleven months of data available from

Clinton, the TSS effluent levels have exceeded the cor-

1° This variability factor range is derived from long range data at CPC

—Pekin and American Maize. It encompases the 2.3 TSS variability

factor for the Clinton plant estimated by the petitioners.

17a

responding BOD: levels.'' Specifically, the TSS levels range

from 3.5 to 24.5 pounds higher than BOD; levels. In short,

the TSS standard proposed by the EPA finds no support

from the Clinton plant data. The effluent levels achieved at

other corn wet milling plants, namely CPC—Pekin and

American Maize, is equally unsupportive.

2. Effluent Level Reduction in Other Industries.

Recognizing the lack of support for its proposed TSS

standards from results within the corn wet milling indus-

try, the EPA points to the use of deep bed filtration in other

industries. It argues that these results support the proposed

TSS standards for the corn wet milling industry. In our

judgment, the results from other industries indicate that

deep bed filtration will remove suspended solids but not

with the efficiency or the consistency necessary to satisfy

the proposed TSS standard for this industry.

The studies relating to municipal treatment plants indi-

cate that deep bed filtration will remove an average of 70%

of the susperided solids in the wastewater. However, the

record also establishes that the removal rates range from a

low of 20% to a high.of 95% with no indication of con-

sistency. Moreover, the level of suspended solid influent in

most municipal treatment plants is considerably less than

that found in the corn wet milling industry.

The record indicates that the strength or concentration

of the influent wastewater substantially affects the success

of deep bed filtration. If the wastewater has been effec-

tively pretreated in a biological treatment system, deep bed

filtration will remove a substantial percentage of the re-

maining suspended solids. However, one cannot say that

a properly functioning system will reduce the TSS level

below that of the BOD; level. In the winery industry, for

example, treatment of heavily concentrated wastewaters

similar to those found in the corn wet milling industry

produce TSS levels that exceed the BOD: level by as much

11 This fact is recognized by the Illinois state standard which provides

for 20 mg/1 of BOD, and 25 mg/1 of TSS for corn wet milling plant

effluent.

18a

as 48 mg 1. Moreover, the deep bed filtration system there

appears to remove less than 40% of the suspended solids."*

Data from the brewery and edible oil industries is largely

unuseable because it is set forth in milligrams per liter and

because it is not clear whether deep bed filtration is used

or not in these industries. This data gives some support to

the finding that corn wet milling plants can meet the 1977

existing plant guidelines but little or no support that 1983

or new source standards can be met. Again, TSS levels are

often higher than BOD: levels.

The data from Morton Frozen Foods indicates only that

TSS levels are often higher than BOD; levels and that there

are wide variations in TSS levels between the minimum

and maximum days.

3. Expert Testimony.

The EPA did present testimony from an acknowledged

authority on filtration of wastewaters. Dr. Robert Bauman

stated that he “would expect” a new corn wet milling plant

utilizing complete pretreatment facilities and filtration sys-

tems to be able to meet the proposed new source standards.

However, Dr. Bauman’s report is replete with qualifications

and, standing alone, is insufficient grounds to support this

standard, particularly in light of the inability of any exist-

ing plant or pilot project to demonstrate the efficacy of this

technology to consistently meet the proposed standard.

4. Conclusion.

The decision of the EPA that new corn wet milling plants

can meet a TSS standard of 10 pounds per MSBu is an

arbitrary and capricious one.

There remains the question of what our response to this

inadequacy should be. Ordinarily, we would simply remand

and instruct the EPA to develop a new standard for TSS

12 Again, data from other industries has not been prepared in a man-

ner to make direct comparison with the proposed new standards pos-

sible. Much of the data is in milligrams per liter and in some instances,

the charts presented are unreadable.

19a

and retain jurisdiction to review that new standard in an

accelerated appellate proceeding. But there has been one

remand, and more than eighteen months have been lost in

achieving the national goal of cleansing our water. We,

thus, feel the need to adopt a more flexible approach, one

which will, hopefully, permit a new standard to be imple-

mented forthwith. We are convinced from this record that

a standard of 25 pounds of TSS per MSBu would not be an

arbitrary and capricious one. Results at the Clinton Corn

plant lend support to such a standard.'*

On remand, therefore, the EPA may adopt a new source

standard of a maximum average of daily effluent levels for

thirty consecutive days of 20 pounds of BOD: and 25

pounds of TSS per MSBu and a maximum daily effluent

level of 60 pounds of BOD: and 75 pounds of TSS per MSBu.

We urge it to do so.

The EPA retains the authority, however, to take addi-

tional evidence in support of a lower TSS standard. If it

adopts that course, we retain jurisdiction. We direct that

the administrative process be completed in sixty days. The

only question to be addressed on that limited remand would

be the TSS standard. Issues raised and answered in CPC I

or in this opinion should not be relitigated.

Ill. COSTS.

Section 306(b)(1)(B), 33 U.S.C. §1316(b)(1)(B) states

in part:

In establishing or revising Federal standards of

performance for new sources under this section,

the Administrator shall take into consideration

13In the five months when the treatment plant at Clinton was

operating most effectively, the TSS levels averaged approximately 5

pounds more than the BOD, levels. During these five months, the TSS

level, when multiplied by a variability factor of 2.6, averaged 25 pounds.

Although the seven-month average of 16.0 exceeds 25 pounds, when the

variability factor is considered, the record discloses that shockloads

and malfunction of the filtration equipment at Clinton affected the

TSS levels much more than it did the BOD, levels. There is support

for the conclusion that improvements in the management and opera-

tion of the treatment facility and the filter would enable Clinton to

consistently average 25 pounds of TSS per MSBu.

‘

20a

the cost of achieving such effluent reduction, and

any non-water quality environmental impact and

energy requirements.

In CPC I, we instructed the EPA to reconsider its pro-

jections on the cost of achieving the effluent reduction pro-

posed in its standards. We asked that operating and capital

costs be projected independently and that the cost compu-

tations be based on current economic data. We noted that

costs were of particular importance to this industry because

profit margins are usually low, raw material costs are vola-

tile and competitive substitutes sometimes make it difficult

to pass on increased costs to the consumer. CPC Interna-

tional Inc. v. Train, supra at 1050-1051.

The EPA states that it has responded to the instructions

of this Court. It asserts that its obligation under the Act

is to demonstrate that the costs to be incurred in meeting

the new source standard are reasonable. It asserts that

capital and operating costs meet this standard.

The petitioners assert that the Act requires a “cost-benefit

analysis” and that the EPA failed to make such an analysis;

that the technology proposed by the EPA to meet the new

source standards is insufficient to achieve the effluent

reduction necessary; that the capital and operating costs

for the necessary technology will impose an unreasonable

burden on the industry; and that calculation errors make

the economic analysis completed by the EPA inadequate.

A. A Cost-Benefit Analysis is Not Required; the Appro-

priate Test is One of Reasonableness.

The 1977 existing plant guidelines are to be determined

by the use of the “best practicable control technology cur-

rently available.” (301(b)(1)(A), 33 U.S.C. §1311(b)(1)

(A). The legislative history of the Act indicates that the

term “practicable” is to limit the use of available technology

only where the additional technology necessary to achieve

a marginal level of effluent reduction is wholly out of pro-

portion to the cost realized. A Legislative History of the

Water Pollution Control Act Amendments of 1972, 93rd

Cong., Ist Sess. (Comm. Print 1973), at 170 [hereinafter

a ~ eee ee

a mm

2la

cited as Leg. Hist.|; American Iron and Steel Institute v.

EPA., 526 F.2d 1027, 1051 (3rd Cir. 1975).'"' The 1983

existing plant guidelines, set by the application of the “best

available technology economically achievable,” ‘301(b)

(2)(A), 33 U.S.C. §1311(b)(2)(A), are to be governed by

a standard of reasonableness .;ithout the necessity of a

thorough cost-benefit analysis. Leg. Hist. at 170; Amer.

Meat Institute v. Environ. Protec. Agcy., 526 F.2d 442, 462-

463 (7th Cir. 1975).

The new source standards are to attain the “greatest

degree of effluent reduction” achievable through the use of

the “best available demonstrated control technology.” Sec-

tion 306(a)(1), 33 U.S.C. §1316(a)(1). This standard ex-

ceeds the effluent level reduction of that required in the

1977 existing plant guidelines for the corn wet milling

industry while the proposed 1983 existing plant guidelines

are the same as the new source standards. The legislative

history indicates that Congress felt that new plants could

14 The concurring opinion of Judge Adams sets forth the obligation

of the EPA clearly and succinctly:

Section 304(b)(1)(B) instructs the Administrator to con-

sider “the total cost of application of [the best practicable

control technology currently available] in relation to the efflu-

ent reduction benefits to be achieved from such applica-

tion .. .” when establishing guidelines for the 1977 effluent

limitations. The elements of the total cost of applying the

technology are not identified in the law itself. However, the

legislative history of the Act nay be used to support the notion

that the term “total costs of application” encompasses not only

the expense of erecting pollution control facilities but also the

“external cost of potential unemployment, dislocation, and

rural area development sustained by the community... .”

Having accounted for the total costs of applying the requi-

site technology, the Administrator must consider those costs

in relation to the benefits to be achieved from the application

of the technology. The Act does not mandate an exacting

quantitative comparison in the form of a technical benefit/cost

analysis. Nevertheless, from the remarks of Senator Muskie in

support of the conference bill it appears that, with respect to

the 1977 guidelines, the Act does require the Administrator to

make an analysis sufficient to indicate that “the additional

degree of effluent reduction is [not] wholly out of proportion

to the costs of achieving such marginal level of reduction... .”

American Iron and Steel Institute v. E.P.A., supra at 1075 (emphasis

added, footnotes omitted ).

22a

realize effluent level reductions at a lower cost than existing

sources because of the lower cost of constructing a new

plant in comparison to retrofitting an existing facility and

because technical alternatives may be made available for

new plants which would not be suited for existing plants.

Leg. Hist. at 172 and 797.

There is no language in {306 requiring a cost-benefit

analysis. Rather, the EPA is required only to take costs

under “consideration.” We conclude, therefore, that a cost-

benefit analysis is not required in determining the reason-

ableness of the cost of achieving the new source standards.

Accord, American Iron and Steel Institute v. E.P.A., supra

at 1059. What is required for new source standards is a

thorough study of initial and annual costs and an affirma-

tive conclusion that these costs can be reasonably borne by

the industry.

B. The Technology Proposed by the EPA is Sufficient;

the EPA’s Capital Cost Estimates are Accurate.

The petitioners’ argument that in-plant facilities, in addi-

tion to those proposed by the EPA, are necessary to meet

the new source standards does not have support in this

record. They suggest that additional evaporators costing

$4.2 million must be installed solely for the purpose of

reducing the volume of wastewater and to prevent over-

loading of the treatment facility. The record, however,

supports the EPA’s contention that evaporation is a com-

mon production process used in the industry without regard

to pollution controls. Evaporation is used in most corn wet

milling plants to concentrate the liquid corn syrup into

products which can be readily shipped without the need to

transport excess water. This process is also used to con-

centrate steepwater to recover the solids in the water for

animal feed. Indeed, the EPA model new plant projects an

estimated capital cost of $3 million for evaporation equip-

ment in the production process. The only support for

petitioners’ claim that additional evaporation equipment is

required is their own conclusory statement.

23a

The petitioners’ contention that additional entrainment

separators, costing $634,000, are necessary must also be

rejected. They have failed to support the need for this

technology. Moreover, they argue, in another section of

their brief, that the effectiveness of such separators has not

been documented.

The petitioners also argue that the EPA’s estimate of the

incremental cost of installing surface condensers of

$250,000 is too low. They claim that this cost will be $1

million. They argue that a new 30,000-bushel plant will

require six condensers rather than the three proposed by

the EPA and that the cost of each condenser is twice that

projected by the EPA.

The petitioners base their conclusion that six condensers

are needed on the experience of the CPC—Pekin plant. In

our view, the comparison is not appropriate. The CPC—

Pekin plant has a capacity of at least 60,000 bushels and

a present water flow much larger than the amount pro-

jected for the proposed model plant. There is also no sup-

port for the petitioners’ contention that each surface con-

denser will cost twice the amount projected by the EPA.

We also reject petitioners’ contention that the capital

costs of the treatment facility will significantly exceed those

estimated by the EPA. All parties agree that the basic bio-

logical facility, designed to treat a BOD: load of 400 pounds

per MSBu, would be approximately $3 million.

There is disagreement as to the cost of constructing the

filtration unit. The petitioners’ contention that the cost

would be about $100,000 more than that estimated by the

EPA " has strong support in the record."

15 The EPA’s estimated cost for filtration equipment of $160,000 is

not supported by the record, while the petitioners’ projection of $260,000

is. The petitioners’ estimate is based on a detailed consultant's report

as to the cost of filtration equipment for the treatment plant at CPC—

Pekin which treats a wasteload of 1.0 mgd, the amount projected for the

30,000-bushel model plant.

16 The petitioners’ argument that a “second stage” biological treat-

ment costing $2.1 million is required to ensure that a new plant will

meet the proposed standard based on the Clinton experience was re-

jected earlier. In fact, the only equipment used at Clinton that is not

24a

In summary, the record supports the conclusion of the

EPA that additional in-plant equipment, surface con-

densers, would have a capital cost of $250,000. The record

also supports the conclusion that a basic biological treat-

ment facility capable of handling 400 pounds of BOD; per

MSBu would have a capital cost of $3 million. An addi-

tional capital cost of $260,000 would be realized in pur-

chasing and installing the equipment needed for the filtra-

tion system.'* The record does not support the contentions

of the petitioners that additional equipment is necessary

to meet the proposed new standards.

C. The EPA’s Revised Operating Cost Estimates are Not

Arbitrary or Capricious.

The operating cost estimates include capital recovery

costs and operating and maintenance expense. The EPA

estimates an annual capital recovery cost of $402,000 and

an annual operating expense of $300,000. The petitioners

suggest that annual capital recovery costs will be $1,359,000

and annual operating expense will be $906,000.

The major differences in capital recovery expense re-

lates to petitioners’ contentions that technulogy in addition

to that suggested by the EPA is required and that the

capital cost of some of the equipment is underestimated

by the EPA. We have answered those contentions in an

earlier section of this opinion. On the basis of our earlier

discussions and assuming an annual capital recovery rate

of approximately 12% (a rate agreed to by both parties),

the annual capital recovery costs would be approximately

$414,000.

included in the model treatment plant is a biological-packed tower or

trickling filter. Evidence in this record suggests that such a facility, if

needed, would cost $150,000 and would allow a reduction of the size of

other equipment proposed in the model treatment facility.

17 The petitioners also estimate that $409,000 must be added for

filtration site preparation. This estimate includes a 35% contingency

cost and a 44% related site expense among others. The EPA suggests,

and our review of the record supports, the conclusion that this expense

is encompassed within the $3 million basic treatment facility cost.

25a

The parties agree that the operation and maintenance

expense for the surface condensers will be $40,000. The

EPA projects that similar expenses for the treatment

facility, including filtration, will be $260,000. The peti-

tioners project that these expenses will be $414,000

annually. The EPA’s estimates are based upon the actual

operating expense at the CPC—Corpus Christi plant from

January to May, 1974, while the petitioners’ estimate is

based on data from the CPC—Pekin plant during this same

time period. Both of these plants employed some of the

elements of the EPA’s proposed treatment facility, but

neither utilized a filtration system. Both plants experi-

enced higher operational costs than would be realized at

a new plant because the treatment facilities were added in

a piecemeal fashion and have been subject to numerous

malfunctions. The wastewater flow to the Pekin treatment

facility is 1.0 mgd, the amount proposed for the model

plant, while that at Corpus Christi is less.

While we think petitioners’ estimates to be more accu-

rate, we cannot say that EPA’s estimates are arbitrary and

capricious. We, accordingly, accept EPA’s finding that

annual operating and maintenance will be approximately

$300,000."*

In conclusion, the record supports the projection that

the total operating cost for water pollution control equip-

ment in a new 30,000-bushel corn wet milling plant will

be approximately $714,000, including $414,000 capital

recovery expense and $300,000 for actual operating and

maintenance expense.

D. Despite Calculation Errors by the EPA, the Cost of

Achieving the Effluent Reductions Required by the

New Source Standards is Not Unreasonable.

To determine the economic impact of meeting the new

source standards, the EPA hired a consultant to prepare an

18 Jt should be noted that the waste sludge that is created by the

biological treatment system can be centrifuged and concentrated for

use as animal feed. The Clinton plant presently recovers a portion of

its operating expense from this process.

26a

economic analysis. Utilizing the treatment facility pro-

posed by the EPA and historical cost data made available

by the industry, the consultant estimated that a new 30,000-

bushel plant would realize a return of investment of 17.1%

without controls and 15.8% with the proposed controls.”

He also forecasted a return on sales of 14.1% without con-

trols and 13.4% with controls. He estimated larger returns

on investment and sales for 60,000 and 90,000-bushel

plants. Based on his analysis, the EPA concluded that the

costs ne -- ~~ “reasonable” and set forth the proposed

new standards for comment interested parties

quired by law. - oy res

More than thirty days after the formal comment period

expired, a representative of the corn wet milling industry

informed the EPA that the consultant had erred in deter-

mining revenue utilizing a dry basis corn syrup price with

an estimation of the amount of product produced on a

liquid basis. The correct calculation requires a liquid corn

syrup price. The EPA’s consultant, after review, con-

ceded that he had erred. He admitted this error was sub-

stantial and suggested that estimated revenues should be

reduced by as much as 20% and after-tax income by as

much as 50% ”*.

This error has a major impact on the earlier projections.

A return on investment with this revision is now estimated

to be 6.9% without controls and about 5.8% with controls.

The return on sales with this revision is now calculated

to be 6.6% without and about 5.7% with controls.”!

Despite this reduction of the estimated economic via-

bility of a new corn wet milling plant with or without pro-

P 19 All conclusions by the consultant are expressed in after-tax income

gures.

20 An error of this magnitude reflects either a lack of com

petence or

diligence by the consultant and the EPA. Part of the blame must be

shared, however, by the industry for its procrastination in making the

original data available in a logical form and in its tardiness in com-

menting upon the consultant’s report.

21 An increase in the costs of control by 20% would further decrease

the return on investment by .3% ; an increase in cost of controls by 20%

would further decrease the return on sales by .1%.

27a

posed controls, the consultant concluded that all three

sized plants remain “economically viable in relation to

general food processing industry standards of perform-

ance.” Neither the consultant nor the EPA elaborated upon

this conclusion.

The petitioners have not aided the Court in this matter.

After raising the calculation error, they do not specifically

challenge, either in their briefs or at oral argument, the

conclusion of viability by the EPA and its consultant. They

state only that:

{a]ny further sensitivity adjustment to reflect

lower revenues, higher waste treatment plant

costs, or higher costs of capital, could reduce the

net present value to the point at which new corn

wet milling plants were not economically viable.

The only implication that can be drawn from this failure is

that the rate of 6.9% on invested capital is adequate, a

conclusion that we would find hard to accept or that the

actual rate of return might be higher than that and it was

better to let sleeping dogs lie.** No argument is made that

the relatively minor sensitivity adjustment which we have

made with respect to additional filtration capital cost of

$100,000 is sufficient to affect the economic viability of a

new plant.

Moreover, no argument is made that new plants without

controls are economically viable with an estimated after-

tax return on invested capital of 6.9% but are not viable

if the additional cost of controls reduces the return on in-

vested capital to approximately 5.7%.

Based on a careful review of a generally unsatisfactory

record, we reluctantly conclude that the EPA has not

abused its discretion or acted arbitrarily in asceriaining

that the cost of achieving the proposed effluent level reduc-

tion for new sources in this industry is reasonable.

22 There is evidence in the record that five new corn wet milling

plants are presently being constructed. These new plants will increase

the existing number by 30%.

?

i

28a

Vv. SUMMARY.

We hold that the new source standard of 20 pounds of

BOD; per MSBu as a maximum average of daily effluent

values for a thirty consecutive day period set forth by the

EPA is not arbitrary or capricious.

We hold that the new source standard of 10 pounds of

TSS per MSBu as a maximum average of daily effluent

values for a thirty consecutive day period set forth by the

EPA is arbitrary and capricious.

We hold that neither capital costs nor capital recovery

and operating costs have been shown to be arbitrary and

capricious.

We remand to the EPA with directions to it to revise the

TSS standard to 25 pounds per MSBu or to compile addi-

tional evidence to support a lower standard. If the EPA

decides to present a lower TSS standard, we retain juris-

diction and direct that the administrative process be com-

pleted within sixty days The only question to be addressed

on that limited remand would be the TSS standard. Issues

raised and answered in CPC I, or in this opinion, should

not be raised.

Costs shall be divided equally among the parties.

A true copy.

Attest:

CLERK, U.S. COURT OF APPEALS,

EIGHTH CIRCUIT

29a

[JUDGMENT]

ORDER

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 74-1448

CPC INTERNATIONAL, INC., and

CORN REFINERS ASSOCIATION, INC.,

Petitioners,

vs.

RUSSELL E. TRAIN, as Administrator,

Environmental Protection Agency and

JOHN QUARLES, as Deputy Administrator,

Environmental Protection Agency,

Respondents.

FILED AUG. 18, 1976

3 September Term, 1975

ROBERT C. TUCKER, CLERK

Petition for Review of Action

of the Administrator of the

Environmental Protection Agency

This cause came on to be heard on petition for review of

action of the Administrator of the Environmental Protec-

tion Agency, appendix and briefs of the respective parties

and was argued by counsel.

On Consideration Whereof, it is now here ordered and

adjudged by this Court that this cause be and is hereby

remanded to the said Administrator of the Environmental

Protection Agency for proceedings consistent with the

opinion of this Court this day filed herein.

August 18, 1976

Order entered in accordance with the opinion:

RosBert C. TUCKER

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, 8th Circuit.

lb

APPENDIX B

The pertinent provisions of the Federal Water Pollu-

tion Control Act, as amended, 33 U.S.C. §§ 1251 et seq.,

are as follows:

$1316 [306]. National standards of performance—

Definitions

(a) For purposes of this section:

(1) The term “standard of performance” means a

standard for the control of the discharge of pollutants

which reflects the greatest degree of effluent reduction

which the Administrator determines to be achievable

through application of the best available demonstrated

control technology, processes, operating methods, or other

alternatives, including, where practicable, a standard per-

mitting no discharge of pollutants.

(2) The term “new source” means any source, the con-

struction of which is commenced after the publication of

proposed regulations prescribing a standard of perform-

ance under this section which will be applicable to such

source, if such standard is thereafter promulgated in

accordance with this section.

(3) The term “source” means any building, structure,

facility, or installation from which there is or may be the

discharge of pollutants.

(4) The term “owner or operator” means any person

who owns, leases, operates, controls, or supervises a

source.

(5) The term “construction” means any placement,

assembly, or installation of facilities or equipment (in-

cluding contractual obligations to purchase such facilities

or equipment ) at the premises where such equipment will

be used, including preparation work at such premises.

Categories of sources; Federal standards of performance

for new sources

(b) (1) (A) The Administrator shall, within ninety days

after October 18, 1972, publish (and from time to time

2b

thereafter shall revise ) a list of categories of sources, which

shall, at the minimum, include:

pulp and paper mills;

paperboard, builders’ paper and board mills;

meat product and rendering processing;

dairy product processing;

grain mills;

canned and preserved fruits and vegetable processing;

canned and preserved seafood processing;

sugar processing;

textile mills;

cement manufacturing;

feedlots;

electroplating; ;

organic chemicals manufacturing;

inorganic chemicals manufacturing; :

plastic and synthetic materials manufacturing;

soap and detergent manufacturing;

fertilizer manufacturing;

troleum refining;

iron and steel manufacturing;

nonferrous metals manufacturing;

phosphate manufacturing;

steam electric powerplants;

ferroalloy manufacturing;

leather tanning and finishing; —

glass and asbestos manufacturing;

rubber processing; and

timber products processing.

(B) As soon as practicable, but in no case more than one

year, after a category of sources is included in a list under

subparagraph (A) of this paragraph, the Administrator

shall propose and publish regulations establishing Federal

standards of performance for new sources within such

category. The Administrator shall afford interested per-

sons an opportunity for written comment on such proposed

regulations. After considering such comments, he shall

promulgate, within one hundred and twenty days after

publication of such proposed regulations, such standards

with such adjustments as he deems appropriate. The Ad-

ministrator shall, from time to time, as technology and

alternatives change, revise such standards following the

procedure required by this subsection for promulgation of

3b

such standards. Standards of performance, or revisions

thereof, shall become effective upon promulgation. In

establishing or revising Federal standards of performance

for new sources under this section, the Administrator shall

take into consideration the cost of achieving effluent re-

duction, and any non-water quality environmental impact

and energy requirements.

(2) The Administrator may distinguish among classes,

types, and sizes within categories of new sources for the

purpose of establishing such standards and shall consider

the type of process employed (including whether batch

or continuous ).

(3) The provisions of this section shall apply to any

new source owned or operated by the United States.

State enforcement of standards of performance

(c) Each State may develop and submit to the Admin-

istrator a procedure under State law for applying and

enforcing standards of performance for new sources lo-

cated in such State. If the Administrator finds that the

procedure and the law of any State require the application

and enforcement of standards of performance to at least

the same extent as required by this section, such State is

authorized to apply and enforce such standards of per-

formance (except with respect to new sources owned or

operated by the United States).

Protection from more stringent standards

(d) Notwithstanding any other provision of this chap-

ter, any point source the construction of which is com-

menced after October 18, 1972, and which is so constructed

as to meet all applicable standards of performance shall

not be subject to any more stringent standard of perform-

ance during a ten-year period beginning on the date of

completion of such construction or during the period of

depreciation or amortization of such facility for the pur-

poses of section 167 or 169 (or both) of Title 26, whichever

period ends first.

4b

Illegality of operation of new sources in violation of

applicable standards of performance

(e) After the effective date of standards of performance

promulgated under this section, it shall be unlawful for

any owner or operator of any new source to operate such

source in violation of any standard of performance ap-

plicable to such source.

x x *

.

§ 1342 [402]. National pollutant discharge elimina-

tion system—Permits for discharge of pollu-

tants

(a) (1) Except as provided in sections 1328 and 1344 of

this title, the Administrator may, after opportunity for

public hearing, issue a permit for the discharge of any

pollutant, or combination of pollutants, notwithstanding

section 1311(a) of this title, upon condition that such dis-

charge will meet either all applicable requirements under

sections 1311, 1312, 1316, 1317, 1318, and 1343 of this

title, or prior to the taking of necessary implementing ac-

tions relating to all such requirements, such conditions as

the Administrator determines are necessary to carry out

the provisions of this chapter.

(2) The Administrator shall prescribe conditions for

such permits to assure compliance with the requirements

of paragraph (1) of this subsection, including conditions

on data and information collection, reporting, and such

other requirements as he deems appropriate.

(3) The permit program of the Administrator under

paragraph (1) of this subsection, and permits issued there-

under, shall be subject to the same terms, conditions, and

requirements as apply to a State permit program and per-

mits issued thereunder under subsection (b) of this section.

(4) All permits for discharges into the navigable waters

issued pursuant to section 407 of this title, shall be deemed

to be permits issued under this title, and permits issued

under this title shall be deemed to be permits issued under

section 407 of this title, and shall continue in force and

5b

effect for their term unless revoked, modified, or Luspended

in accordance with the provisions of this chapter.

(5) No permit for a discharge into the navigable waters

shall be issued under section 407 of this title after Octo-

ber 18, 1972. Each application for a permit under sec-

tion 407 of this title, pending on October 18, 1972, shall be

deemed to be an application for a permit under this section.

The Administrator shall authorize a State, which he deter-

mines has the capability of administering a permit pro-

gram which will carry out the objective of this chapter, to

issue permits for discharges into the navigable waters

within the jurisdiction of such State. The Administrator

may exercise the authority granted him by the preceding

sentence only during the period which begins on October

18, 1972, and ends either on the ninetieth day after the

date of the first promulgation of guidelines required by

section 1314(h) (2) of this title, or the date of approval by

the Administrator of a permit program for such State

under subsection (b) of this section, whichever date first

occurs, and no such authorization to a State shall extend

beyond the last day of such period. Each such permit shall

be subject to such conditions as the Administrator deter-

mines are necessary to carry out the provisions of this

chapter. No such permit shall issue if the Administrator

objects to such issuance.

State permit programs

(b) At any time after the promulgation of the guidelines

required by subsection (h) (2) of section 1314 of this title,

the Governor of each State desiring to administer its own

permit program for discharges into navigable waters

within its jurisdiction may submit to the Administrator a

full and complete description of the program it proposes to

establish and administer under State law or under an

interstate compact. In addition, such State shall submit a

statement from the attorney general (or the attorney for

those State water pollution control agencies which have

independent legal counsel ), or from the chief legal officer

in the case of an interstate agency, that the laws of such

6b

State, or the interstate compact, as the case may be, pro-

vide adequate authority to carry out the described program.

The Administrator shall approve each such submitted pro-

gram unless he determines that adequate authority does

not exist:

(1) To issue permits which—

(A) apply, and insure compliance with, any ap-

plicable requirements of sections 1311, 1312, 1316,

1317, and 1343 of this title;

(B) are for fixed terms not exceeding five years;

and

(C) can be terminated or modified for cause in-

cluding, but not limited to, the following:

(i) violation of any condition of the permit;

(ii) obtaining a permit by misrepresentation,

or failure to disclose fully all relevant facts;

(iii) change in any condition that requires

either a temporary or permanent reduction or

elimination of the permitted discharge;

(D) control the disposal of pollutants into wells;

(2) (A) To issue permits which apply, and insure com-

pliance with, all applicable requirements of section 1318 of

this title, or

(B) To inspect, monitor, enter, and require reports to at

least the same extent as required in section 1318 of this

title;

(3) To insure that the public, and any other State the

waters of which may be affected, receive notice of each

application for a permit and to provide an opportunity for

public hearing before a ruling on each such application;

(4) To insure that the Administrator receives notice of

each application (including a copy thereof) for a permit;

(5) To insure that any State (other than the permitting

State), whose waters may be affected by the issuance of a

7b

permit may submit written recommendations to the per-

mitting Siate (and the Administrator) with respect to any

permit application and, if any part of such written rec-

ommendations are not accepted by the permitting State,

that the permitting State will notify such affected State

(and the Administrator) in writing of its failure to so

accept such recommendations together with its reasons for

so doing;

(6) To insure that no permit will be issued if, in the

judgment of the Secretary of the Army acting through the

Chief of Engineers, after consultation with the Secretary

of the department in which the Coast Guard is operating,

anchorage and navigation of any of the navigable waters

would be substantially impaired thereby;

(7) To abate violations of the permit or the permit pro-

gram, including civil and criminal penalties and other

ways and means of enforcement;

(8) To insure that any permit for a discharge from a

publicly owned treatment works includes conditions to

require adequate notice to the permitting agency of (A)

new introductions into such works of pollutants from any

source which would be a new source as defined in section

1316 of this title if such source were discharging pollutants,

(B) new introductions of pollutants into such works from

a source which would be subject to section 1311 of this title

if it were discharging such pollutants, or (C) a substantial

change in volume or character of pollutants being intro-

duced into such works by a source introducing pollutants

into such works at the time of issuance of the permit. Such

notice shall include information on the quality and quan-

tity of effluent to be introduced into such treatment works

and any anticipated impact of such change in the quantity

or quality of effluent to be discharged from such publicly

owned treatment works; and

(9) To insure that any industrial user of any publicly

owned treatment works will comply with sections 1284(b),

1317, and 1318 of this title.

8b

Suspension of federal program upon submission of State

program; withdrawal of approval of State program

(c) (1) Not later than ninety days after the date on

which a State has submitted a program (or revision thereof)

pursuant to subsection (b) of this section, the Administra-

tor shall suspend the issuance of permits under subsection

(a) of this section as to those navigable waters subject to

such program unless he determines that the State permit

program does not meet the requirements of subsection (b)

of this section or does not conform to the guidelines issued

under section 1314(h) (2) of this title. If the Administrator

so determines, he shall notify the State of any revisions or

modifications necessary to conform to such requirements

or guidelines.

(2) Any State permit program under this section shall

at all times be in accordance with this section and guide-

lines promulgated pursuant to section 1314(h) (2) of this

title.

(3) Whenever the Administrator determines after pub-

lic hearing that a State is not administering a program

approved under this section in accordance with require-

ments of this section, he shall so notify the State and, if

appropriate corrective action is not taken within a reason-

able time, not to exceed ninety days, the Administrator

shall withdraw approval of such program. The Adminis-

trator shall not withdraw approval of any such program

unless he shall first have notified the State, and made

public, in writing, the reasons for such withdrawal.

Notification of Administrator

(d) (1) Each State shall transmit to the Administrator

a copy of each permit application received by such State

and provide notice to the Administrator of every action

related to the consideration of such permit application,

including each permit proposed to be issued by such State.

(2) No permit shall issue (A) if the Administrator

within ninety days of the date of his notification under

9b

subsection (b) (5) of this section objects in writing to the

issuance of such permit, or (B ) if the Administrator within

ninety days of the date of transmittal of the proposed per-

mit by the State objects in writing to the issuance of such

permit as being outside the guidelines and requirements of

this chapter.

(3) The Administrator may, as to any permit applica-

. fon, waive paragraph (2) of this subsection.

Waiver of notification requirement

(e) In accordance with guidelines promulgated pursu-

ant to subsection (h) (2) of section 1314 of this title, the

Administrator is authorized to waive the requirements of

subsection (d) of this section at the time he approves a

program pursuant to subsection (b) of this section for any

category (including any class, type, or size within such

category ) of point sources within the State submitting such

program.

Point source categories

(f) The Administrator shall promulgate regulations

establishing categories of point sources which he deter-

mines shall not be subject to the requirements of sub-

section (d) of this section in any State with a program

approved pursuant to subsection (b) of this section. The

Administrator may distinguish among classes, types, and

sizes within any category of point sources.

Other regulations for safe transportation, handling,

carriage, storage, and stowage of pollutants

(g) Any permit issued under this section for the dis-

charge of pollutants into the navigable waters from a ves-

sel or other floating craft shall be subject to any applicable

regulations promulgated by the Secretary of the depart-

ment in which the Coast Guard is operating, establishing

specifications for safe transportation, handling, carriage,

storage, and stowage of pollutants.

10b

Violation of permit conditions; restriction or prohibition

upon introduction of pollutant by source not previously

utilizing treatment works

(h) In the event any condition of a permit for dis-

charges from a treatment works (as defined in section 1292

of this title) which is publicly owned is violated, a State

with a program approved under subsection (b, of this

section or the Administrator, where no State program is

approved, may proceed in a court of competent jurisdiction

to restrict or prohibit the introduction of any pollutant into

such treatment works by a source not utilizing such treat-

ment works prior to the finding that such condition was

violated.

Federal enforcement not limited

(i) Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit

the authority of the Administrator to take action pursuant

to section 1319 of this title.

Public information

(j) A copy of each permit application and each permit

issued under this section shall be available to the public.

Such permit application or permit, or portion thereof, shall

further be available on request for the purposes of repre.

duction.

Compliance with permits

(k) Compliance with a permit issued pursuant to this

section shall be deemed compliance, for purposes of sec-

tions 1319 and 1365 of this title, with sections 1311, 1312,

1316, 1317, and 1343 of this title, except any standard

imposed under section 1317 of this title for a toxic pollu-

tant injurious to human health. Until December 31, 1974,

in any case where a permit for discharge has been applied

for pursuant to this section, but final administrative dis-

position of such application has not been made, such dis-

charge shall not be a violation of (1) section 1311, 1316,

or 1342 of this title, or (2) section 407 of this title, unless

1lb

the Administrator or other plaintiff proves that final ad-

ministrative disposition of such application has not been

made because of the failure of the applicant to furnish

information reasonably required or requested in order to

process the application. For the 180-day period beginning

on October 18, 1972, in the case of any point source dis-

charging any pollutant or combination of pollutants imme-

diately prior to such date of enactment which source is not

subject to section 407 of this title, the discharge by such

source shall not be a violation of this chapter if such a

source applies for a permit for discharge pursuant to this

section within such 180-day period.

Ic

APPENDIX C

Regulations Involved

“New Source STANDARDS” FOR THE CORN WET MILLING

SUBCATEGORY OF THE GRAIN MILLS POINT SOURCE

CATEGORY.

The rulemaking order promulgating the foregoing regu-

lations is found at 39 Fed. Reg. 10512 (March 20, 1974).

A portion of the preamble of the order and the text of the

standards is as follows:

Title 40—Protection of the Environment

CHAPTER I—ENVIRONMENTAL

PROTECTION AGENCY

Subchapter N—Effluent Guidelines and Standards

PART 406—GRAIN MILLS POINT SOURCE

CATEGORY

On December 4, 1973, notice was published in the FEp-

ERAL REGISTER (38 FR 33438), that the Environmental

Protection Agency (EPA or Agency ) was proposing effluent

limitations guidelines for existing sources and standards

of performance and pretreatment standards for new

sources within the corn wet milling, corn dry milling, nor-

mal wheat flour milling, bulgur wheat flour milling, normal

rice milling, and parboiled rice processing subcategories of

the grain mills category of point sources. ;

The purpose of this notice is to establish final effluent

limitations guidelines for existing sources and standards of

performance and pretreatment standards for new sources

in the grain mills category of point sources by amending

40 CFR Chapter I, Subchapter N, to add a new Part 406.

This final rulemaking is promulgated pursuant to sec-

tions 301, 304 (b) and (c), 306 (b) and (c) and 307 (c)

of the Federal Water Pollution Control Act, as amended,

(the Act ); 33 U.S.C. 1251, 1311, 1314 (b) and (c), 1316 (b)

and (c) and 1317 (c); 86 Stat. 816 et seq.; Pub. L. 92-500.

Regulations regarding cooling water intake structures for

2c

all categories of point sources under section 316(b) of the

Act will be promulgated in 40 CFR Part 402.

The legal basis, methodology and factual conclusions

which support promulgation of this regulation were set

forth in substantial detail in the notice of public review

procedures published August 6, 1973 (38 FR 21202), and

in the notice of proposed rulemaking for the corn wet

milling, corn dry milling, normal wheat flour milling,

bulgur wheat flour milling, normal rice milling, and par-

boiled rice processing subcategories. In addition, the regu-

lations as proposed were supported by two other docu-

ments: (1) The document entitled “Development Docu-

ment for Proposed Effluent Limitations Guidelines and New

Source Performance Standards for the Grain Processing

Segment of the Grain Mills Point Source Category” (De-

cember 1973) and (2) the document entitled “Economic

Analysis of Proposed Effluent Guidelines, Grain Milling

Industry” (August, 1973). Both of these documents were

made available to the public and circulated to interested

persons at approximately the time of publication of the

notice of proposed rulemaking.

* + *

(f) Final rulemaking. In consideration of the foregoing,

40 CFR Chapter I, subchapter N is hereby amended by

adding a new Part 406, Grain Mills Point Source Category,

to read as set forth below. This final regulation is pro-

mulgated as set forth below and shall be effective May 20,

1974.

Dated: March 12, 1974.

JOHN QUARLEs,

Acting Administrator.

Subpart A—Corn Wet Milling Subcategory

Sec.

406.10 Applicability; description of the corn wet milling

subcategory.

406.11 Specialized definitions.

3c

406.12 Effluent limitations guidelines representing the

degree of effluent reduction attainable by the

application of the best practicable control tech-

nology currently available.

406.13 Effluent limitations guidelines representing the de-

gree of effluent reduction attainable by the appli-

cation of the best available technology eco-

nomically achievable.

406.14 [Reserved]

406.15 Standards of performance for new sources.

406.16 Pretreatment standards for new sources.

* * *

§ 406.15 Standards of performance for new sources.

The following standards of performance establish the

quantity or quality of pollutants or pollutant properties,

controlled by this section, which may be discharged by a

new source subject to the provisions of this subpart:

Effluent limitations

Average of daily

values for 30

consecutive

Effluent Maximum for days shall not

characteristic any 1 day exceed—

Metric units (kilograms per 1,000 kg

of corn )

EES 1.08 0.36

a 54 18

eh Within the range 6.0 to 9.0.

English units (pounds per 1,000

stdbu of corn )

BOD5 60 20

, Nat ed aetna asa 30 10

iol ietdientiapeainmingocss Within the range 6.0 to 9.0.

* * *

ld

APPENDIX D

The Administrator's “Decision Not To Revise New

Sources Performance Standards” was published in the

Federal Register at 40 Fed. Reg. 52016 (November 7, 1975).

A portion of the text follows:

PART 406—GRAIN MILLS POINT

SOURCE CATEGORY

Decision Not To Revise New Sources

Performance Standards

On August 25, 1975, notice was published in the FEDERAL

REGISTER (39 FR 10512), announcing the availability of

documents relating to and to request comments on the

tentative decision of the Environmental Protection Agency

(EPA or Agency) not to revise standards of performate

for new sources in the Corn Wet Milling subcategory of the

Grain Mills Point Source Category.

The purpose of this further notice is to announce EPA’s

decision not to revise standards of performance for new

sources in the Corn Wet Milling subcategory of the Grain

Mills Point Source Category. On May 5, 1975, the U.S.

Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit remanded to EPA

the new source performance standards and the pretreat-

ment standards for new sources for the Corn Wet Milling

subcategory of the Grain Mills Point Source Category (40

CFR 406.15 and 406.16) promulgated by EPA under sec-

tion 306 and 307 of the Federal Water Pollution Control Act

Amendments of 1972. EPA has reviewed its new source

performance standards for these point sources pursuant to

the remand and has concluded that these standards should

not be revised.

* * *

Interested persons were invited to participate in this

evaluation by submitting written comments in triplicate. .. .

The EPA has considered carefully all of the comments

received and a discussion of these comments with the

Agency’s response thereto follows.

2d

(a) Summary of Comments. The following groups re-

sponded to the request for comments which was in the

notice of availability of supplemental documents: Corn

Products: CPC International, Inc., National Canners Asso-

ciation, Grain Processing Corporation, Anheuser-Busch,

Inc., CPC International, Inc., and The Hubinger Company.

Each of the comments received was carefully reviewed and

analyzed. The following is a summary of the significant

comments and EPA’s response to these comments.

* * *

(3) A common comment was made that the concept of

product mix as affecting waste load and technology was

not properly considered in formulation of the new source

performance standards.

EPA has acknowledged, and continues to acknowled¢e,

that product mix variations may indeed have some influ-

ence on raw waste characteristics of corn wet milling

wastes. However, no reliable and meaningful relationship

between product mix and waste flow characteristics has

been demonstrated to date either by EPA or industry.

EPA’s evaluation of industry-supplied data utilizing stand-

ard statistical approaches indicated no directly correlatable

relationships between raw waste load and other individual

factors such as plant age, plant size, product mix, etc.

Industry representatives have commented on several

instances that new plants to be constructed will likely con-

vert a large part of their grind into syrup, and this conclu-

sion is amply verified by present trends within the industry.

In any case, the new source performance standards would

be equally as applicable irrespective of product emphasis.

Waste load variation has been determined as not being

attributable directly to any one factor or condition alone in

a reliable and predictable manner. Obviously, any influ-

ence on waste load for this industry caused by various fac-

tors to any extent that it may exist is interrelated in a very

complex and presently undefinable manner.

The industry has yet to provide data or information to

responsibly disprove the considered conclusions of EPA.

3d

More importantly, evidence supports that any variations

in product mix as affecting raw waste load do not preclude

compliance of existing or new sources with present effluent

guidelines and new source performance standards. Manu-

facturing processes employed in the corn wet milling indus-

try are not separate and unique from other processes em-

ployed within the food processing industry as a whole.

Neither is.the inherent waste contribution variability and

any treatment difficulties experienced with the corn wet

milling industry a unique experience as compared to other

industries. Many other related industries (as cited in the

Supplemental Development Document) that produce a

variety of different products have demonstrated the capa-

bility to successfully employ biological treatment and other

treatment methods to accomplish high levels of pollutant

reduction.

-_ & *

(6) Several commenters indicate confusion as to the

interpretation and intent of EPA’s effluent variability analy-

sis of historical treatment data contained in the Supple-

mental Development Document and supportive record in

relation to its application to the new source performance

standard.

Effluent variability as reflected in the new source per-

formance standards are based solely on treatment technol-

ogy and variations anticipated for a well-designed, well-

operated treatment system as experienced within operating

biological treatment systems on an overall multi-industry

basis. EPA has never asserted that statistically derived

variability factors are a desirable or even appropriate

means for determining effluent guidelines and new source

performance standards for the corn wet milling industry.

Factors were calculated and are presented in the Supple-

mental Development Document only as an illustration that

the new source performance standard is reasonable and

attainable in relation to existing overall industry practice.

There obviously is no statistical data available with respect

to treatment systems for new sources. In this respect,

variability data for existing sources would not be entirely

4d

representative of and comparable with effluent variability

to be expected for new sources inasmuch as no present

corn wet milling plant is now completely “exemplary” in

terms of the established new source performance standard.

Upsets in most instances at existing plants (e.g. Clinton

Corn ) may be attributed to specific events or occurrences of

poor operation (e.g. spills) rather than product variability

changes or other production-related factors. It should be

emphasized that no existing plants incorporate full in-plant

controls or equalization that materially affect raw waste

load variability and sustained biological treatment per-

formance.

* a s

(c) Basis for decision not to revise new source perform-

ance standard. On the basis of the original and additional

investigative work performed, EPA finds no justification

for revision of the New Source Performance Standard for

the Corn Wet Milling Subcategory of the Grain Mills

Category on either technological or economic grounds.

Therefore, EPA has determined not to revise the standard,

and therefore, the New Source Performance Standard as

promulgated by the Agency for the Grain Mills Point

Source Category on March 20, 1974 (39 FR 10512) shall

remain applicable.

Dated: October 30, 1975.

RUSSELL E. TRAIN,

Administrator.

le

APPENDIX E

The Agency’s recent amendment to its new source

standards for the corn wet milling industry is found at

41 Fed. Reg. 50823 (November 18, 1976). The text of the

amendment and of the attendant rulemaking order is as

follows:

PART 406—GRAIN MILLS POINT SOURCE

CATEGORY

Subpart A—Corn Wet Milling Subcategory

NEw SourRCcE PERFORMANCE STANDARDS

Notice is hereby given that the Environmental Protec-

tion Agency (EPA) is amending 40 CFR 406.15, the new

source performance standards for the corn wet milling

subcategory (Subpart A) of the Grain Mills Point Source

Category, 40 CFR Part 406.

40 CFR Part 406 was promulgated on March 20, 1974,

(39 FR 10515) pursuant to section 306(b) of the Federal

Water Pollution Control Act as amended, 33 U.S.C.

1316(b), 86 Stat. 816 et seq., Pub. L. 92-500.

The change being made is to the limitation of the dis-

charge of total suspended solids (TSS) found in 4 406.15.

This amendment of the new source standards follows

the decision issued by the Court of Appeals for the Eighth

Circuit on August 18, 1976, in the case of CPC International

Inc., et al. v. Russell E. Train, et al., No. 74-1448. In the

opinion, the Eighth Circuit affirmed EPA’s new source per-

formance standards in all respects save one. The Court,

after reviewing available operating data from the biological

and multimedia filter system at the Clinton Corn Process-

ing Company in Clinton, Iowa, among other sources of

information, determined that although BOD; could be re-

moved to the 20 pounds per day level set by EPA, total

suspended solids (TSS) could not be removed to attain

a more stringent level of 10 pounds per day. The Court

made its own assessment of the data and determined that

2e

the appropriate limit should be 25 pounds per day of total

suspended solids on a monthly average. That assessment

is set forth below:

On remand therefore, the EPA may adopt a new

source standard of a maximum average of daily

effluent levels for thirty consecutive - sin of 20

pounds of BOD; and 25 pounds of TSS per MSBu

and a maximum daily effluent level of 60 pounds

of BOD; and 75 pounds of TSS per MSBu. We

urge it to do so.

We remand to the EPA with directions to it to

revise the TSS standard to 25 pounds per MSBu

or to compile additional evidence to support a

~ lower standard. If the EPA decides to present a

lower TSS standard we retain jurisdiction and

direct the administrative process be completed in

sixty days.

The issue of the appropriate suspended solids standards

has been subjected to protracted controversy and litigation.

Rather than gather additional evidence which might sup-

port a more stringent standard than the 25 pounds standard

and thereby protract the rulemaking even more, the Agency

has determined that the 25 pounds supported by the present

record is an appropriate standard. It is theretore in the

public interest to proceed with this alternative indicated

in the 8th Circuit Court’s opinion.

In view of the sixty day period for action set by the

Court and in view of the fact that no additional data are

being assessed as the basis for this amendment, the Agency

is dispensing with a notice of proposed rulemaking prior to

this amendment.

In accordance with the above opinion, the new source

standards for the corn wet milling subcategory of the grain

mills point source category (40 CFR 406.15) (Subpart A),

are amended as set forth below and are effective on Novem-

ber 18, 1976.

Dated: November 12, 1976.

JOHN QUARLES,

Acting Administrator.

3e

40 CFR Part 406 is amended by revisirig Subpart A,

§ 406.15 to read as follows:

§ 406.15 Standards of performance for new sources.

The following standards of performance establish the

quantity or quality of pollutants or pollutant properties,

controlled by this section, which may be discharged by a

new source subject to the provisions of this subpart:

Effluent limitations (Metric units—

kilograms per 1,000 kg of corn )

Average of daily

values for 30

Effluent Maximum for consecutive days

characteristic any 1 day shall not exceed

BOD;_____. 1.08 0.36

Si aiinteddinausthnithe. 1.35 45

* ab Ete, (1) @)

(English pt pon per 1,000

stdbu of corn )

BOD; __. fe 60 20

| Re cern of 75 25

~ Seeee a) (2)

* Within the range of 6.0 to 9.0.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — CPC International, Inc. v. Costle · 430 U.S. 966 | Frix