Petition — FLM Collision Parts, Inc. v. Ford Motor Co.

Supreme Court brief1977

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

= ; Supreme Court, U. S,

« KF] iF D

In The DEC 29 1976

Supreme Court of the United Brates”

~

October Term, 1976

No. 76-9204

FLM COLLISION PARTS, INC.,

Petitioner,

-against-

FORD MOTOR COMPANY and FORD MARKETING

CORPORATION,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

SECOND CIRCUIT

JULIEN & SCHLESINGER, P.C.

A.torneys for Petitioner

and Cross-Appellant

2 Lafayette Street

New York, New York 10007

(212) 962-8020

ALFRED S. JULIEN

STUART A. SCHLESINGER

DAVID JAROSLAWICZ

DAVID L. WASSER

Of Counsel

(9592) LUTZ APPELLATE PRINTERS, INC.

Law and Financial Printing

South River, N.J. New York, N.Y. Philadelphia, Pa. Washington, D.C.

(201) 257-6850 (212) 563-2121 (215) 563-5587 (201) 783-7288

INDEX

Page

Preliminary Statement ........... > os

Opinions Below ..... eotoevccccesces 2

PURSSGLSECAGR coccccecccssccccoeses 2

Questions Presented ........... o° 3

Statutes and Regulations

BRVGLVOE ccccccececesececeesese 6

Statement of the Case .......eeee 9

Reasons for Granting the Writ... 19

l.

The Court of Appeals

Decision Makes Section

2(a) of the Robinson-

Patman Act a Nullity ..... 19

The Second Circuit's Finding

that Ford's Wholesale Incen-

tive Plan Does Not Violate

Section 1 of the Sherman Act

and the Doctrine Set Out

in United States v. Arnold,

Schwinn & Co. is Directly

Contrary to the Holdings

of the Fifth and Eighth

a ae ee 35

Ee a 45

APPENDIX

Court of Appeals Opinion re

Rehearing ........ TTT CCT CT a-l

Court of Appeals Opinion re

Rehearing En Banc ...... oeeces

Court of Appeals Opinion ........

Opinion by Thomas P. Griesa,

D.J. e*eeseeernre#esesseeteeneteeeeneteeetee#es # @#

Supplemental Opinion by Thomas

DP. GRESGRse Dede cocccsceeseoces

ii

Table of Citations

Albrecht v. Herald Company,

390 U.S. 145 (1968) ...cccccccces .

Bird & Son, Inc., 25 F.T.C.

Den Cher) 46006 o48 6006060666660 66

F.T.C. v. Anheuser-Busch, Inc.,

263 B.8. SSO CESS) cocecoescececes

F.T.C. v. Borden Co., 383 U.S.

BRP CRESS) cascoeteoessocececeseeess

F.T.C. v. Cement Institute,

235 G8. Gee CAs ceccoecveseoos

F.T.C. v. Fred Meyer, Inc.,

390 U.S. 341 (1968) ccc cccccees

Hampton v. Graff Vending Company,

478 F.2d 527 (5th Cir. 1973) .....

Janel Sales Corp. v. Lanvin

Parfums, Inc., 396 F.2d 398

(2d. Cir.), cert. den., 393

U.S. 938 (1968) w.cccccccccccecees

Mennen Co. v. F.T.C., 288 F. 744

(2d. Cir.), cert. den., 262 U.S.

Tae GED 606606664660 6660000006064

Mueller Co. v. F.T.C., 323 F.2d

44 (7th Cir. 1963), cert. den.,

STF ©.8. Bad CAROGP cecccesevesses

Otter Tail Power Co. v. United

States, 410 U.S. 366 (1973) ......

iii

Table of Citations

Perkins v. Standard Oil Co. of

California, 395 U.S. 642

(1969) sere eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeweeneene

Reed Brothers, Inc. v.

Monsanto Company, 525 F.2d

486 (8th Cir. 1975), cert.

Gems De SeGGe For CRETE) ccccces

Response of Carolina, Inc.

v. Leasco Response, Inc.,

537 F.2d 1307 (5th Cir.

Dee BON 66000060040 666600% boo 6e

Simpson v. Union Oil Co. of

Caine, 377 GB. 13 (1964) .cccccs

United States v. General Motors

Corp., 384 U.S. 127 (1966) .....

United States v. Arnold, Schwinn

& Co., 388 U.S. 365 (1967) .....

iv

Table of Citations

Page

Statutes Cited:

15 U.8.C. 12 coccccesescesssseses 4, 6,

17, 18,

35, 38,

39, 40,

41, 42,

43, 44

158 U.8.C. 2 cseccesvessoeeeunnee 17

15 U.S.C. L(A) ceoccccescccseses Se Ve

i7, 49,

20, 22,

23

18 0.8.C. 19 crccoseosessesesuen 16

15 U.8.C. 26 coccceecsseseeeeenn 17

Other Authorities Cited:

74 Cong. Second Sess. 3; S. Rep.

No. 1502 (1966) .cccccccsccceces 21

80 Cong. Rec. 9417 (1936) ...... 22

Kelly, Functional Discounts

Under the Robinson-Patman Act,

40 Cal. Le. Rev. 320 Capea: sence 26

Table of Authorities

Page

Note: 12 N.Y.L.F. 91 (1966) ....... 24

The Report of the Attorney

General's National Committee

to Study the Antitrust Laws

EE EEE ee 27

Rowe: Price Discrimination Under

the Robinson-Patman Act (1962) .... 21, 26

Rowe: "The Evolution of the Robin-

son-Patman Act: A Twenty Year

Prospective", 57 Col. L. Rev.

DP T~TE wOGee6eeececocoecoceceoocs 21

vi

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1976

FLM COLLISION PARTS, INC., °

Petitioner,

-against-

FORD MOTOR COMPANY and FORD MARKETING

CORPORATION,

Respondents.

ee x

Petition for Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court of

Appeals for the Second Circuit

The petitioner, by its attorneys, :

Julien & Schlesinger, P.C., respectfully

pray that a writ of certiorari issue to

review the order of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

entered in this proceeding on September

30, 1976 and the order denying a rehear-

ing and/or a rehearing en banc entered on

November 16, 1976.

Opinions Below

The Court of Appeals opinion is not

yet officially reported. It is found in

1976-2 Trade Cases, 4 61,103 at p. 69,998.

The opinions of the district court are

found at 406 F.Supp. 224 (S.D.N.Y. 1975),

and a supplemental opinion on damages

is found at 41ll F.Supp. 627 (S.D.N.Y.

1976).

Jurisdiction

The Court of Appeals order was

entered on September 30, 1976 and the

order denying a rehearing and/or rehear-

ing en banc was entered on November 16,

1976. This petition for certiorari was

filed within ninety days of that date.

This Court's jurisdiction is being

invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

o2e

Questions Presented

1. Does the Robinson-Patman Act,

15 U.S.C. 13(a), permit a manufacturer to

discriminate in price between different

purchasers of the exact same auto part

which discrimination is based solely

upon whom its purchaser resells those

auto parts to?

2. Can a manufacturer of auto parts

obviate the Robinson-Patman Act by selling

the same goods to different purchasers at

different prices based solely upon whom

its purchasers resell those goods to by

claiming that there is no discrimination

so long as all of its direct purchasers

are charged the same price depending upon

whom the goods are resdéld to?

3. Does a manufacturer imposing

a radical price difference upon his dis-

tributors depending upon whom they

resell its products to in essence limit

the customers to whom its distributors

may freely sell the manufacturer's

products in violation of Section 1 of

the Sherman Act and particularly the

doctrine enunciated in United States v.

Arnold, Schwinn & Co., 388 U.S. 365

(1967)?

4. In order to constitute a

contract in restraint of trade prohibited

by Section 1 of the Sherman Act and by

Schwinn, supra, must a contract clearly

state that the distributor is prohibited

from reselling to certain customers or

does the fact that the distributor is pro-

hibited from reselling to customers except

at a highly inflated price in itself

aga

contain an economic restriction as to

which customers the distributor may deal

with as found by the Eighth and Fifth

Circuits in Reed Brothers, Inc. v.

Monsanto Company, 525 F.2d 486 (8th Cir.

1975), cert. den., 96 S.Ct. 787 (1976);

and Response of Carolina, Inc. v. Leasco

Response, Inc., 537 F.2d 1307 (5th Cir.

1976)?

Statutes and Regulations Involved

15 U.S.C. 1

"Every contract, combination in the

form of trust or otherwise, or conspiracy,

in restraint of trade or commerce among

the several States, or with foreign

nations, is declared to be illegal:

Provided, That nothing contained in sec-

tions 1 to 7 of this title shall render

illegal, contracts or agreements prescrib-

ing minimum prices for the resale of a

commodity which bears, or the label or

container of which bears, the trademark,

brand, or name of the producer or

distributor of such commodity and which

is in free and open competition with

commodities of the same general class

produced or distributed by others, when

contracts or agreements of that descrip-

tion are lawful as applied to intrastate

transactions, under any statute, law,

or public policy now or hereafter in

effect in any State, Territory, or the

District of Columbia in which such

resale is to be made, or to, which the

commodity is to be transported for such

resale, and the making of such contracts

or agreements shall not be an unfair

method of competition under section 45 of

this title: Provided further, That the

preceding proviso shall not make lawful

any contract or agreement, providing

for the establishment or maintenance of

minimum resale prices on any commodity

herein involved, between manufacturers,

or between producers, or between whole-

salers, or between brokers, or between

factors, or between retailers, or

~~ =

between persons, firms or corporations in

competition with each other. Every person

who shall make any contract or engage in

any combination or conspiracy declared

by sections 1 to 7 of this title to be

illegal shall be deemed guilty of a

felony, and, on conviction thereof,

shall be punished by fine not exceeding

one million dollars if a corporation,

or, if any other person, one hundred

thousand dollars or by imprisonment

not exceeding three years, or by both

said punishments, in the discretion of

the court."

15 U.S.C. 13(a)

"It shall be unlawful for any person

engaged in commerce, in the course of such

commerce, either directly or indirectly,

to discriminate in price between different

purchasers of commodities of like grade

and quality, where either or any of the

purchases involved in such discrimination

are in commerce, where such commodities

are sold for use, consumption, or resale

within the United States or any Territory

thereof or the District of Columbia or

any insular possession or other place

under the jurisdiction of the United

States, and where the effect of such

discrimination may be substantially to

lessen competition or tend to create a

monopoly in any line of commerce, or

to injure, destroy, or prevent competi-

tion with any person who either grants

or knowingly receives the benefit of

such discrimination, or with customers

of either of them: Provided, That

nothing herein contained shall prevent

aFe

differentials which make only due allowance

for differences in the cost of manufacture,

sale, or delivery resulting from the differ-

ing methods or quantities in which such

commodities are to such purchasers sold

or delivered: Provided, however, That the

Federal Trade Commission may, after due

investigation and hearing to all interested

parties, fix and establish quantity limits,

and revise the same as it finds necessary,

as to particular commodities or classes of

commodities, where it finds that available

purchasers in greater quantities are so

few as to render differentials on account

thereof unjustly discriminatory or promo-

tive of monopoly in any line of commerce;

and the foregoing shall then not be

construed to permit differentials based

on differences in quantities greater than

those so fixed and established: And

provided further, That nothing herein

contained shall prevent persons engaged

in selling goods, wares, or merchandise

in commerce from selecting their own

customers in bona fide transactions and

not in restraint of trade: And provided

further, That nothing herein contained

shall prevent price changes from time to

time where in response to changing

conditions affecting the market for or

the marketability of the goods concerned,

such as but not limited to actual or

imminent deterioration of perishable

goods, or obsolescence of seasonal

goods, distress sales under court process,

or sales in good faith in discontinuance

of business in the goods concerned."

@8-

Statement of the Case*

FLM Collision Parts, Inc. ("FLM")

is a New York Corporation founded in

1965. FLM has been in the business of

purchasing crash parts for Ford Motor

Company ("Ford") automobiles from

franchised Ford dealers at two to five

percent above the franchised dealer's

cost and reselling those crash parts to

independent service stations and repair

shops. Crash parts are those automobile

parts used to replace damaged parts on

automobiles usually after an automobile

has been involved in a collision.

*A complete statement of facts is

contained in the district court's

initial decision, 406 F.Supp. 224

(S.D.N.Y. 1975) (a-27).

Ford crash parts are manufactured

only by Ford and available only through

Ford. Ford sells crash parts only to

franchised Ford dealers. The franchised

Ford dealers use crash parts both in

their own repair work and for resale to

independent service stations and repair

shops. All persons who wish to obtain

crash parts must necessarily obtain

them through franchised Ford dealers.

Crash parts differ from other Ford

automobile parts such as batteries and

spark plugs in that crash parts are

"captive" parts available only through

Ford and distributed through its fran-

chised dealers while other parts are

distributed by Ford through a different

system involving independent distributors

as well as franchised Ford dealers.

-10-

Once a franchised Ford dealer

purchases crash parts from Ford, all

title and risk of loss with respect to

those crash parts passes to the franchised

dealer.

Some time prior to November 1, 1968,

the Federal Trade Commission advised

Ford that its method of distributing

crash parts was an unfair method of

competition and placed independent

repair shops in an unfavorable competitive

position. Since crash parts were only

available through franchised Ford dealers

who used these parts for both repairs

in their own shops and at the same time

acted as wholesalers of crash parts to

independent repair shops, the independent

repair shops were at a disadvantage in

competing for repair work since they

were compelled to buy crash parts from

franchised Ford dealers at a price

ollie

naturally above that paid by the fran-

chised Ford dealer for the same part

used in its own repair operation.

The Federal Trade Commission

recommended that Ford make arrangements

to sell crash parts directly to independent

repair shops and wholesalers. Ford, to

avoid having to sell crash parts to any

one other than franchised Ford dealers,

and seeking to avoid a proceeding by

the Federal Trade Commission, instituted

a "wholesale incentive allowance" for

crash parts to be effective on or about

November 1, 1968. The wholesale incen-

tive allowance gave the franchised Ford

dealer an additional discount (20 - 25

percent) on all crash parts which the

dealer did not use in its own repair

operation, but for which it acted as a

wholesaler and resold to other persons.

-12<

From the time this wholesale allow-

ance was created by Ford, the franchised

Ford dealers from whom FLM would purchase

crash parts would pass this allowance

along to FLM and FLM continued to

compete with Ford dealers in the sale

of crash parts to independent repair

shops.

Some time prior to July l, 1971

Ford changed its wholesale incentive

plan so that franchised Ford dealers

would no longer receive the wholesale

incentive on parts sold to FLM. The

franchised dealer would only receive

the wholesale incentive on sales made

directly to independent repair shops.

The district court found that at

the time Ford made this change in its

wholesale incentive plan, FLM was the

sole non-franchised Ford dealer which

o13=

was acting as a wholesaler of crash

parts (406 F.Supp. at 234), and that

Ford personnel responsible for the

change in the wholesale incentive policy

had FLM specifically in mind as the type

of successful independent wholesaler

Ford was attempting to discourage (406

F.Supp. at 236).

Ford's change in its wholesale

incentive plan in essence made it

impossible for FLM to successfully

compete with franchised Ford dealers in

the sale of crash parts. To use the

example used by the Court of Appeals

(a-12), a $10 retail part would cost

a franchised Ford dealer $6, however,

once the franchised Ford dealer received

the wholesale incentive allowance --

25% -- its price for that part would now

be $4.50, while FLM would be paying the

full $6 since there would be no whole-

-14-

sale incentive permitted plus the

additional five percent franchised

Ford dealer mark-up, for a total of $6.30.

Ford claims that its wholesale

incentive plan was revised in order to

avoid independent wholesalers from acting

as conduits between franchised Ford

dealers where one franchised Ford dealer

would sell crash parts to an independent

wholesaler, thus receive the 25 percent

wholesale incentive allowance, the

independent wholesaler would then reseil

the crash parts to a second and different

franchised dealer who would again seek

the 25 percent wholesale incentive allow-

ance upon selling the same parts.

Admittedly, FLM did not act as a

conduit in transferring crash parts from

one franchised dealer to another and

Ford who had on two separate occasions

-15-

in 1969 and 1970 audited FLM's books

found that FLM had done nothing im-

proper and had obtained NO unwarranted

wholesale incentive allowances. In

fact, as the district court found, Ford

had not experienced any difficulties

with respect to the wholesale incentive

allowance relating to crash parts. Ford's

difficulties had been with other parts

which it sold through a wholly different

distribution system involving independent

distributors as well as franchised

dealers (406 F.Supp. at 245).

FLM commenced this action in the

United States District Court for the

Southern District of New York pursuant

to 15 U.S.C. 15.

After a seven-day trial before the

Court without a jury, Judge Griesa,

United States District Judge, for the

Sy =

Southern District of New York, found

that Ford had violated Section 2(a)

of the Robinson-Patman Act, 15 U.S.C.

13(a) by charging franchised Ford dealers

different prices, i.e., a 25 percent

difference, depending upon whether or not

crash parts were resold by franchised

dealers to independent repair shops or to

other persons, to wit, FLM. Judge Griesa

dismissed FLM's claims under Sections 1

and 2 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. 1 and

2.

In a supplemental opinion regarding

damages, 411 F.Supp. 627 (S.D.N.Y. 1976),

Judge Griesa awarded FLM $291,502 in

damages, which amount was trebled and, in

addition, awarded FLM a reasonable

attorneys' fee in the sum of $135,000 and

enjoined Ford from further violations of

the Robinson-Patman Act pursuant to 15

U.S.C. 26.

-l7J<-

The Court of Appeals for the Second

Circuit affirmed Judge Griesa's decision

with respect to the dismissal of FLM's

Sherman Act claims and reversed the

district court's findings that Ford

violated the Robinson-Patman Act.

The Court of Appeals' decision is

directly contrary to the clear mandate

of this Court and this Court's interpre-

tation of the Robinson-Patman Act in

Perkins v. Standard Oil Co. of California,

395 U.S. 642 (1969); and F.T.C. v. Fred

Meyer, Inc., 390 U.S. 341 (1968).

Similarly, the Court of Appeals'

decision affirming the dismissal of

FLM's claims under Section 1 of the

Sherman Act is directly contrary to this

Court's decision in United States v.

Arnold, Schwinn & Co., 388 U.S. 365 (1967).

-18-

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT Ford's position, which was

accepted by the Court of Appeals ina

1. The Court of Appeals Decision

Makes Section 2(a) of the

Robinson-Patman Act a Nullity

superficial decision and does not with-

stand analysis, and which would make a

Section 2(a) of the Robinson- mockery of the Robinson-Patman Act, is

Patman Act provides in pertinent part: that there was no price discrimination

since all franchised Ford dealers were

"It shall be unlawful for any

person engaged in commerce, in the

course of such commerce, either

directly or indirectly, to

discriminate in price between

different purchasers of commodities

of like grade and quest ty ee he

* «x * where the effect of such

discrimination may be substantially

to lessen competition or tend to

create a monopoly in any line of

commerce, or to injure, destroy,

Or prevent competition with any

person who either grants or know-

ingly receives the benefit of such

discrimination, or with customers '

of either of them... a.” . Robinson-Patman Act.

(emphasis added)

charged the same price for crash parts

depending upon whom they resold to.

If one looks at the history and

purpose of the Robinson-Patman Act, it

becomes clear that the Court of Appeals’

decision is improper and would basically

make a nullity of Section 2(a) of the

The purpose behind the Robinson-

In our case, Ford admittedl

4 Y Patman Act was to prevent chain stores

charges a franchised dealer 25 percent

g P from driving the small merchant out of

more for the exact same crash part if , , ;

business who because of superior purchasing

that crash part is resold to FLM or some-

power were able to demand price conces-

one other than an independent repair shop.

-19-

=20-

sions from suppliers against which small

merchants could not compete. See, Rowe:

Price Discrimination Under the Robinson-

Patman Act, Chapter 1 (1962); and Rowe,

"The Evolution of the Robinson-Patman

Act: A Twenty Year Prospective", 57

Col. L. Rev. 1059, 1062 (1957).

The purpose of the Robinson-Patman

Act was "for preservation of equal §

opportunity to all" (S. Rep. No. 1502,

74 Cong. Second Sess. 3 (1936) ) and to

make certain that everyone received the

same price except to the extent that the

price difference was "cost justified" --

the supplier saved packing, shipping or

other expenses.

Congressman Utterback in reporting

to the House of Representatives on the

Robinson-Patman bill stated what the Act

intended:

=2j-

"A customer granted the benefit

of a discrimination may receive

it only on the basis of the

difference between his methods

Or guantities Of purchase and

delivery and those of other

customers not receiving the

erential.

The differential granted a

particular customer must be

traceable to some difference

between him and other particular

customers, either in the quantities

purchased by them or in the methods

by which they are purchased or

their delivery taken." 80 Cong.

Rec. 9417 (1936) (emphasis added)

If Ford's position which was

accepted by the Court of Appeals is

permitted to stand, Section 2(a) of the

Robinson-Patman Act would for all

practical purposes become non-existent.

A supplier that wishes to give a chain

store or other favored customer a

favorable price which is not cost

justified would simply have to act

through a wholesaler rather than sell

directly to the chain store in order to

@22@

avoid Section 2(a) of the Robinson-

Patman Act. A supplier would simply

charge its wholesalers a different price,

not cost justified, depending upon whom

the wholesaler resold the goods to, e.g.,

charging a wholesaler 50¢ for an item

if the wholesaler resells that item to

a chain store and a dollar for the

very same item if it is resold to any-

one other than the favored customer.

According to the Court of Appeals

decision, there would be no discrimination

in price so long as all of the wholesalers

were charged the same price by the

Supplier, depending upon whom they resold

to.

If the Act is construed in the

manner it has been construed by the Court

of Appeals in our case, it would make a

mockery of the Robinson-Patman Act and

-23-

"would allow price discriminators to avoid

the sanctions of the Act by the simple

expedient of adding an additional link

to the distribution chain." Perkins v.

Standard Oil Company of California, 395

U.S. 642, 647 (1969). See, also,

Note: 12 N.Y.L.F. 91, 99 (1966) where

the author points out that even prior to

Perkins, if a supplier could insulate

itself from liability by simply adding

an additional link in the chain of

distribution, it would make a mockery of

the Robinson-Patman Act.

A supplier is permitted to sell

to all purchasers at the same price

regardless of whether they are whole-

salers or retailers. See Bird & Son,

Inc., 25 F.T.C. 548 (1937). A supplier,

however, is not permitted to charge

different prices to its customers when

prices are not cost justified and the

-24-

price difference is based solely upon the

Supplier's arbitrary determination that

its customers should be charged less if

they sell to certain favored persons and

more if they resell to others. An

arbitrary classification of purchasers

by a supplier does not permit it to

charge different prices for the same

goods. See Mueller Co. v. F.T.C.,

323 F.2d 44, 45 (7th Cir. 1963), cert.

den., 377 U.S. 923 (1964).

The Court of Appeals in its

decision states that the Robinson-

Patman Act does not prohibit a supplier

"from offering different prices

to each of its purchasers, such

as one price when he functions

as a retailer and a lower price

when he functions as a wholesaler."

(a-13)

and compares Ford's discriminatory whole-

sale incentive plan to a standard "func-

=2S-

tional discount" (a-18) which is entirely

without a basis in fact. As the district

court pointed out in its decision, func-

tional discounts are permitted by the

Robinson-Patman Act. That is, Ford may

charge a Ford distributor less for parts

which it sells as a wholesaler than for

parts which it sells as a retailer.

However, what Ford is doing here is an

Alice in Wonderland construction of what

the functional discount is. The standard

functional discount always operates so

that a higher price is charged to

purchasers at a level farther from the

supplier in the chain of distribution,

i.e., a retailer is charged more than a

wholesaler. See Rowe: Price Discrimina-

tion Under the Robinson-Patman Act, 173,

et seq. (1962). See, also, Kelley,

"Functional Discounts Under the Robinson-

Patman Act", 40 Cal. L. Rev. 526 (1952);

-26-

and The Report of the Attorney General's

National Committee to Study the Antitrust

Taws (1955) in considering functional

discounts stated:

"The typical functional or trade

discount system provides for

graduated discounts to customers

classified according to place in

the distribution chain - ee:

the seller's schedule may specify

percentage reductions to whole-

salers, jobbers, and retailers in

diminishing amounts."

The practice of permitting "functional

discounts" or different prices to be

charged to wholesalers than to retailers

has been permitted because the charging

of different prices to whclesalers and

to retailers does not have an adverse

effect on corpetition since wholesalers

and retailers do not compete with each

other. See Mennen Co. v. F.T.C., 288

F. 774, 781 (2d. Cir.), cert. den.,

262 U.S. 759 (1923).

@2Je

In our case, a Ford distributor

selling crash parts to FLM is acting as

a wholesaler and not as a retailer. If

anything, FLM is higher on the distribu-

tive chain than the independent repair

shop. Accordingly, if Ford's wholesale

incentive plan were a valid functional

discount and not an attempt by Ford to

prevent independent dealers from dealing

in crash parts, then at the very least,

a franchised dealer.would be entitled to

the same wholesale incentive allowance

on the sale of crash parts to FLM as it

receives on the sale of crash parts

directly to independent .epair shops.

Pord's wholesale incentive plan

which charges its franchised dealers 25

percent more for sales to FLM than for

sales to independent repair shops has

turned upside down what is commonly known

-28-

as the “functional discount" which the

Court of Appeals was compelled to admit

provides for lower prices to those higher

up on the distributive chain.

Similarly, the Court of Appeals'

references to the fact that Ford under-

took its wholesale incentive allowance

program on crash parts at the behest of

the Federal Trade Commission in an

attempt to somehow give the impression

that the Federal Trade Commission has

approved Ford's wholesale incentive

allowance in its present form is mislead-

ing. The Federal Trade Commission has

made it clear that:

"The Commission will not approve

any standards whereby a wholesaler's

eligibility for added discounts

is contingent upon the imposition

of specified restrictions upon

his customers by him." 16 CFR

15.333.

-29-

Also incomprehensible is the Court

of Appeals’ distinguishing of F.T.C. v.

Anheuser-Busch, Inc., 363 U.S. 536 (1960),

which has always been understood to stand

for the simple proposition that:

"* * * a price discrimination

within the meaning of (§2(a) )

is merely a price difference."

on the ground that Anheuser-Busch was a

primary line territorial price discrimina-

tion case. This is a distinction without

a difference. That a price discrimina-

tion is simply a price difference has

been accepted as the standard definition

of price discrimination by the various

courts of appeals following Anheuser-

Busch and in situations not dealing with

primary line cases. See, e.g., Hampton

v. Graff Vending Company, 478 F.2d 527,

532 (Sth Cir. 1973).

-30-

Prior to Anheuser-Busch, price

discrimination had likewise been

defined as a difference in price or the

selling of the same kind of goods cheaper

to one person than to another. See, e.g.,

F.T.C. v. Cement Institute, 333 U.S. 683,

721 (1948).

The Court of Appeais' decision

below is also the first time that any-

one has attempted to cite F.T.C. v.

Borden Co., 383 U.S. 637 (1966), for the

proposition that a supplier may sell the

same product to different purchasers for

different prices. The sole question in

Borden was whether or not evaporated

milk of the same grade amd quality sold

under the Borden label and at the same

time sold under private brand labels

must be construed as being of “like grade

and quality” for purposes of the Robinson-

Patman Act or whether service and market

-3l<

acceptance of the Borden label

constitutes a difference in product for

purposes of the Robinson-Patman Act.

The Court in Borden found that if

both the private label and the Borden

label milk were made available to all,

then there would be no price discrimina-

tion since any purchaser could buy either

label it desired at the same price as any

other purchaser.

This Court has never before been

construed as having held in Borden that

a supplier may charge its customers two

greatly varying prices, e.g., 25 percent

more for the exact same crash part,

depending solely upon whom Ford's

customers resold those crash parts to.

The Court of Appeals in a super-

ficial fashion and in no way even attempt-

@32-

ing to distinguish the careful analysis

set forth in the district court's decision

(406 F.Supp. 224), found that the Robinson-

Patman Act had not been violated simply

because Ford charged all of its franchised

dealers the same price depending upon

whom they resold crash parts to, thus

totally ignoring the real basis and

purpose of the Robinson-Patman Act which

is that the price for which goods are

sold may not be contingent upon who the

purchaser is, but only upon the fact

that the same price must be charged to all

unless the price difference is cost

justified.

If this Court does not grant

certiorari and reverse the decision of

the Second Circuit, in essence, the law

in the Second Circuit will be directly

contrary to what this Court said it is

in Perkins and the Robinson-Patman Act

-33-

will become a mockery in the Second

Circuit which could be avoided by the

simple expedient of adding a level

to the chain of distribution and then

discriminating in price between purchasers

of the exact same product. If the

Robinson-Patman Act is to be repealed, it

is for Congress to do so, not for the

Second Circuit to construe the Act ina

fashion directly contrary to this Court's

mandate in F.T.C. v. Fred Meyer, Inc.,

390 U.S. 341 (1968), that the Act should

not be construed:

"in a manner which runs counter

to the broad goals which Congress

intended it to effectuate."

390 U.S. at 349.

The Second Circuit's decision if

permitted to stand not only runs counter

to the broad goals which Congress set

forth for the Robinson-Patman Act, but

-34-

turns the Robinson-Patman Act into a dealers. * * * Ford unilaterally

established its prices to its dealers

toothless tiger which can be evaded by oe not oa resale prices

or terms. a-

the simplest subterfuge of having an

intermediate level of distribution. The Second Circuit's position is

directly contrary to this Court's man-

2. The Second Circuit's Finding

that Ford's Wholesale Incen-

tive Plan Does Not Violate

date in Schwinn and directly contradicts

Section 1 of the Sherman Act the position taken by the Eighth Circuit

and the Doctrine Set Out in

United States v. Arnold, in Reed Brothers, Inc. v. Monsanto

Schwinn & Co. is Directly

Contrary to the Holdings Company, 525 F.2d 486 (8th Cir. 1975),

of the Fifth and Eighth

Circuits. cert. den., 96 S.Ct. 787 (1976), and by

the Fifth Circuit in Response of Carolina,

The Second Circuit in affirming Inc. v. Leasco Response, Inc 537 F.2d

. . ’ ef °

the dismissal of FLM's claim under

1307 (Sth Cir. 1976).

Section 1 of the Sherman Act held that

Ford's wholesale incentive plan did not This Court in Schwinn stated:

violate Section 1 of the Sherman Act under

"Once the manufacturer has parted

che doctrine of United States v. Arnold, with title and risk, he has parted

with dominion over the product, and

Schwinn & Co., 388 U.S. 365 (1967), because his effort thereafter to restrict

territory or persons to whom the

product may be transferred--whether

by explicit agreement or by silent

combination or understanding with

his vendee--is a per se violation

of § 1 of the Sherman Act." 388

U.S. at 382 (emphasis supplied)

o 3Se -36-

there was not:

"a contract, combination--or

conspiracy between Ford and its

In our case, Ford after admittedly

parting with title and risk to crash parts

restricted the persons to whom the crash

parts could be transferred by charging

franchised dealers 25 percent more if

they sold crash parts to FLM rather

than directly to independent repair shops.

In Reed Brothers, supra, Monsanto

adopted basically the same plan that

Ford did in order to prevent independent

distributors from dealing in its product.

Monsanto offered its dealers a rebate

on sales which it made directly to

retailers. The plaintiff, an independent

distributor of Monsanto's products was

thus no longer able to compete in the

sale of Monsanto herbicide products.

The Eighth Circuit held that no formal

agreement among Monsanto and its distri-

butors was necessary and that its rebate

program was a cooperative one sufficient

~37a

to constitute a contract, combination

or conspiracy under Section 1 of the

Sherman Act, since in order for the

rebate program to work, it required the

cooperation of both Monsanto and its

distributors.

Similarly, in Response of Carolina,

supra, the defendant franchised the

sale of computer time-sharing services.

The agreement provided that a franchisee

was to pay the defendant 15 percent

of its sales to customers within its

area and 70 percent to customers outside

its area. The Fifth Circuit held that

the radical increase in royalty payments

for sales made outside of the area in fact

resulted in the imposition of a restric-

tion upon the persons and territory in

which a franchisee could sell computer

time, 537 F.2d at 1319. Again, the Court

found after an extensive discussion that

-38r

no formal agreement was necessary for

there to be a violation of Section 1

of the Sherman Act.

The Second Circuit's finding that

there was no agreement in our case

between Ford and its distributors

sufficient to constitute a combination

or conspiracy in violation of Section l

of the Sherman Act is directly contrary

to this Court's decision in Albrecht v.

Herald Company, 390 U.S. 145 (1968) where

this Court clearly held that where a

Supplier compels distributors to adhere

to a policy and enforces that policy, a

combination in violation of Section 1

cf the Sherman Act has occurred.

Even those cases like Janel Sales

Corp. v. Lanvin Parfums, Inc., 396 F.2d

398 (2d. Cir.), cert. den., 393 U.S. 938

-39-

(1968), which placed a gloss upon

Schwinn to the extent of reading

Schwinn to require that the supplier

be firm and resolute in obtaining

compliance with its policy before a

violation of Section 1 of the Sherman

Act would occur, would still not prevent

a violation of Section 1 of the Sherman

Act from having occurred in our case.

There can be no question that Ford was

firm and resolute in enforcing its whole-

sale incentive policy with its radical

price difference depending upon whom its

franchised dealers resold crash parts to.

Ford maintained a right to audit

all of its franchised dealers and did so

on a consistent basis including an audit

of FLM on two separate occasions as well

as of the franchised Ford dealer who was

supplying FLM to insure that its policy

o4@e

was being firmly complied with. It is

clear that Ford's restriction upon its

franchised dealers as to whom they could

freely sell crash parts to through the

means of imposing a radical price differ-

ence of 25 percent so as to prevent

franchised dealers from selling crash

parts to FLM or other independent distri-

butors was a per se violation of Section

1 of the Sherman Act.

Even before Schwinn, this Court made

it clear in United States v. General

Motors Corp., 384 U.S. 127 (1966), that

once a manufacturer has parted with

title to its product it cannot prevent

its distributors from selling directly to

retailers or consumers or choosing to

deal through sub-jobbers or sub-distri-

butors if it chose to do so.

-41-

Here, Ford's admitted purpose in

changing its wholesale incentive policy

was to prevent franchised dealers from

selling to independent distributors

such as FLM if they chose to do so.

This is a per se violation of Section 1

of the Sherman Act.

Ford's excuse that this restriction

on its franchised dealers as to whom they

can deal with makes it easier for Ford

to police its own franchised dealers to

make certain that they are complying with

its policy does not excuse Ford's

conduct. This Court in Otter Tail Power

Co. v. United States, 410 U.S. 366 (1973),

cited Schwinn and stated:

"The promotion of self-interest

alone does not invoke the rule of

reason to immunize otherwise

illegal conduct." 410 U.S. at

380.

-42-

If the Court of Appeals decision

in this case is permitted to stand, then

the entire Schwinn doctrine would become

a nullity. Ford or any other manufacturer

would no longer have to place a customer

or territorial restriction upon its

franchised dealers. It could simply

obviate Schwinn by charging its dealers

a radically higher price as Ford is

doing in our case if the dealer resells

the goods outside of its territory

or to a customer other than that chosen

by the supplier. Schwinn cannot be so

easily avoided. In enforcing the anti-

trust laws, the courts must look at the

arrangement as it operates in practice

rather than the veneer given to an

arrangement by skillful drafting.

Simpson v. Union Oil Co. of Cal., 377

U.S. 13 (1964).

~43-

The Eighth Circuit in Reed Brothers,

supra, and the Fifth Circuit in Response

of Carolina, supra, recognized that simi-

lar arrangements to that utilized by

Ford were merely subterfuges to avoid

Schwinn and found that they were viola-

tive of Section 1 of the Sherman Act.

The Second Circuit's decision in

our case is in direct conflict with

the Eighth and Fifth Circuits and is

likewise contrary to this Court's

decisions in Schwinn and General Motors,

and if the Second Circuit's decision

in this case is not reversed, suppliers

will be able to avoid Section 1 of the

Sherman Act with impunity in the Second

Circuit.

-44-

Conclusion

A Writ of Certiorari should issue

and the order of the Second Circuit

should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

Julien & Schlesinger, P.C.

By otitank ( Sch aeons.

Stuart A. Schlesing

Attorneys for Petitioner

Alfred S. Julien

Stuart A. Schlesinger

David Jaroslawicz

David L. Wasser

Of Counsel

-45-

APPENODI X

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

SECOND CIRCUIT

At a Stated Term of the United

States Court of Appeals, in and for the

Second Circuit, held at the United States

Court House, in the City of New York, on

the sixteenth day of November, one thou-

sand nine hundred and seventy-six

Present: HON. WALTER R. MANSFIELD,

HON. JAMES L. OAKES,

HON. MURRAY I. GURFEIN,

Circuit Judges

FLM Collision Parts, Inc.,

Plaintiff-Appellee-Cross-Appellant

V.

Ford Motor Company & Ford Marketing

Corp.,

De fendants-Appellants-Cross-

Appellees.

ee ee ee ee ee ee _— ——

A petition for a rehearing having been

filed herein by counsel for the

Upon consideration thereof, it is

Ordered that said petition be and

hereby is DENIED

A. Daniel Fusaro,

Clerk

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

SECOND CIRCUIT

At a stated term of the United

States Court of Appeals, in and for

the Second Circuit, held at the United

States Court House, in the City of New

York, on the sixteenth day of November,

one thousand nine hundred and seventy-

six.

FLM Collision Parts, Inc.,

Plaintiff-Appellee-Cross-Appellant,

Vv.

Ford Motor Company and Fort Marketing

Corp.,

Defendants-Appellants-Cross-

Appellees.

A petition for rehearing containing

a suggestion that the action be reheard

en banc having been filed herein by

counsel for the Plaintiff-Appellee-

a-3

Cross~Appellant, and no active judge or

judge who was a member of the panel having

requested that a vote be taken on said

suggestion,

Upon consideration thereof, it is

Ordered that said petition be and

it hereby is DENIED.

IRVING R. KAUFMAN,

Chief Judge

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For Tue Seconp Cikrcvuir

—

wes

Nos. 1192, 1260—September Term, 1975.

(Argued June 16, 1976 Decided September 30, 1976.)

Docket Nos. 76-7161, 76-7202

MLM Coniston Parrs, Ine.,

Plaintiff -A ppellee-

Cross-Appellant,

—against—

Forp Motror Company and

Forp Marketinc Corporation,

Defendants-A ppellants-

Cross-Appellees.

a

>

v

Before:

MANSFIELD, Oakes and GuRFEIN,

Circuit Judges.

-—_ =

oe

Appeal! and cross-appeal from a decision and judgment

entered after a non-jury trial in the United States District

Court for the Southern District of New York, by Thomas

P. Griesa, Judge, finding that Ford’s allowance of certain

discounts on automobile parts constituted price discrimi-

nation in violation of §2(a) of the Robinson-Patman Act,

dismissing Shermen Act claims based on the same dis-

count system, and awarding plaintiff treble damages, at-

torneys’ fees and injunctive relief. See 406 F.Supp. 224.

a-5

Judgment on the Robinson-Patman claim reversed. Dis-

missal of Sherman Act claims affirmed.

a ae

Rosert MacCrate, Esq. (William M. Dallas, Jr.,

Esq., Sullivan & Cromwell, 48 Wall Street,

New York, N.Y.)

—and—

SranLey D. Rostnson, Esq. (Michael Malina,

Esq., Kaye, Scholer, Ficrman, Ilays &

Ilandler, 425 Park Avenue, New York, N.Y.

10022)

—and—

Wittram A, Zotnent, Esq. (Office of General

Counsel, Ford Motor Company, of coun-

sel), for Appellants.

Davin Janostawicz, Esq. (Alfred S. Julien, Esq.,

Stuart A. Schlesinger, Esq., Julien & Schies-

inger, P.C., 2 Lafayette Strect, New York,

N.Y., David L. Wasser, Esq., of counsel),

for Appellee.

— ase

MansritLp, Circuit Judge:

In this civil anti-trust suit for damages in the Southern

Distriet of New York by FILM Collision Parts, Ine. an

independent wholesaler of automobile parts, against Ford

Motor Co. and its wholly owned subsidiary, Ford Market-

ing Corporation (herein collectively referred to as “Ford”),

the subject of attack is a Ford incentive allowance plan

under which Ford grants to each of its franchised dealers

a discount on the dealer’s purchases of “crash parts” for

resale to independent automobile repair shops but not on

the dealer’s purchases for its own use or for resale to

a-6

other classes of customers, including FLM. FI.M claims

that this pricing practice amounts to a price discrimina-

tion in violation of §2(a) of the Clayton Act, as amended

by the Robinson-Patman Act, 15 U.S.C. §13(a), and also

constitutes a conspiracy in restraint of trade violative of

§1 of the Sherman Antitrust Act, 15 U.S.C. §1, and a

monopolization of the market in violation of §2 of the

Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. §2.

After trial of the action before Thomas P. Griesa, Judae,

sitting without a jury, he handed down an opinion, re-

ported at 406 F.Supp. 224, agreeing with LM that the

incentive payment plan was a form of price discrimination

and thus a violation of §2(a) of the Robinson-Patman Act.

He dismissed I°I.M’s Sherman Act claims, however, finding

that the plaintiff had failed to prove its allegations of

conspiracy and monopolization. A supplemental opinion

awarded FLM treble damages of $874,506, $136,000 in

attorneys’ fees, and injunctive relief. Ford appeals from

this judgment, and FLM cross-appeals from the dismissal

of its Sherman Act claims. We hold that the district judge

erred in finding price discrimination in violation of §2(a),

since Ford's incentive plan treated all of its purchasers

equally, and accordingly we reverse the judgment in favor

of FLM. We affirm the dismissal of the Sherman Act

claims.

Tue Facts

“Crash parts”, as the name indicates, are fenders, grills,

and other sheet metal parts used principally to repair

automobiles damaged in collisions. They are custom-

designed for particular years and models of automobiles,

and Ford is the sole source of such parts for Ford cars.

The distribution system of the parts thus begins with

Ford, which makes some parts itself and licenses the

manufacture of other parts. Ford sells its crash parts

a-7

exclusively to its franchised Ford dealers, of which there

are 3ome O800 in the United States. The dealers use some

of the parts in their own repair shop operations, in effect

selling them directly to the car owner and to this extent

functioning as retuilers. With respect to the balance the

Ford dealers functioli as wholesalers, reselling the parts

to independent auto repair shops for use in those shops’

repair operations and to other users such as owners of

large fleets of automobiles and insurance companies,

FLM entered the crash parts business in 1965 as an inde-

pendent wholesaler. Its request to buy crash parts direetly

from lord was refused, since lord sold parts only to its

franchised Ford dealers. SLM then made arrangements to

buy lord parts from a franchised lord dealer, Central

Lincoln Mereury Corp. (“Central”). The ILM-Central

agreement allowed FLM to buy the parts at 2% above the

price Central paid Ford for them. ILM then in turn

resold the parts to independent repair shops.

Prior to 1968, Ford priced its crash parts to its fran-

chised dealers at approximately 60% of Ford's suggested

list price.' ‘Thus, a part retailing at $10.00 would be sold

by Ford to its dealers, including Central, at $6.00, which

was described as the “dealer net” price (i.c., 40% off the

suggested list price). Central would resell the part to LM

at $6.12. (Dealer net plus 2%). While f' LM was thus

at a slight price disadvantage in competing with Ford

dealers for sales of crash parts to independent repair

shops, its sales grew from $245,738 in the fiscal year end-

ing Sept. 30, 1966 to $389,987 in the fiscal year ending Sept.

30, 1968. However, FLM did not show any net profit over

this period.

| Until 1968 the price was 58% of the suggested list price; in 1968

this was changed to 60%. We use the 60% figure throughoct for ease

in computing the examples given.

a-8

Putting FLM to one side for the moment, Ford’s pre-

1968 distribution system for crash parts clearly put inde-

pendent auto repair shops at a disadvantage in competing

with Ford-franchised dealers for repair jobs on Ford cars.

This arose from the fact that while Ford dealers could buy

the parts needed for such repairs from Ford at the “dealer

net” price (e.g., $6.00 for a part with a $10.00 suggested

retail) the independent repair shops had to buy the same

part from a lord dealer at dealer net plus whatever markup

the Ford dealer imight choose to add. Thus, if a Ford

dealer charged a 10% markup on the parts it resold, an

independent repair shop would have to pay $6.60 for the

part which the ord dealer could buy for $6.00. This situa-

tion attracted the attention of the Federal Trade Commis-

sion, which informed Ford that it considered the prices

charged to independent repair shops to be an unfair trade

practice in violation of §5 of the Federal Trade Commis-

sion Act, 15 U.S.C. §45. The FTC never began formal pro-

eecdings against Ford; the matter was settled when lord

adopted the “wholesale incentive” allowance to dealers

which was designed to equalize the prices at which indepen-

dent repair shops could obtain Ford parts with the prices

paid by Ford dealers for the same parts.*

Under the wholesale incentive plan Ford sold crash parts

to its dealers at lower prices when they were resold to

independent auto repair shops than when they were re-

tained by the Ford dealer for use in his own repair opera-

tions. For a part having a $10.00 suggested retail list price

the Ford dealer would still pay $6.00 when he bought it for

2 The parties dispute the part the FTC played in the development of

the incentive plan, with Ford suggesting that the PTC played a major

role in the adoption of the plan, and FLM arguing that the PTC ae-

cepted the plan only reluctantly. As might he expected, the record seems

to indicate that the truth falls somewhere in between; it appears that

the plan was Ford's idea, but the FTC found it acceptable.

a-9

use in his own repair shop. Ifowever, when he bought it

for resale to an independent repair shop he would receive

back from Ford an incentive allowance of 20% cf the dealer

net price, reducing the ord dealer’s bottom line price to

$4.80 (dealer net of $6.00 less 20%).2 Tins, under the plan

the independent repair shop would be able to buy the part

at $4.80 plus the lord dealer’s markup, which allowed him

to compete effectively for repair business with the Ford

dealer who would have a dealer net cost of 46.00 for the

sale part when retained for use in his repair operations.

The incentive payment plan as originally adopted in

1968 allowed sales of crash parts by Ford dealers to inde-

pendent wholesalers to qualify for the incentive payments

to the dealers. Central, which now charged LM a 3%

markup over dealer net on crash parts, simply paid over

to FLM the incentive payments it received on parts sold

to FLM. Thus FLM’s cost for the part with a $10.00 sug-

gested retail price was now $4.68. [$6.00 dealer net plus

$.18 (Central’s 3% markup) less $1.20 (the 20% ineentive

payinent)}. However, the objective of the incentive plan,

which was to reduce prices to independent repair shops,

was not initially achieved, principally because neither Ford

dealers nor FILM made any appreciable reduction in their

resale prices to such shops. The principal effect of the

flow-through of the ineentive payments to FLM was to

inerease its profitability dramatically; from a net loss of

$769 in fiscal 1968 FF LM leaped to a net prolit of $25,418

in fiseal 1969, and enjoyed similar profits in the next three

years. Thus FLM rather than the independent repair shops

became a principal beneficiary of the plan.

Beginning in 1969, the amounts Ford paid out in whole-

sale incentive allowances on crash parts, and on other types

of parts for which it made similar incentive payments, ran

3 The incentive payment was :acreased to 25¢% in 1970.

a-10

higher than expected. Worried that Ford dealers might

be claiming incentive allowances to which they were not

entitled, Ford audited the accounts of 37 dealers whose

claims for incentive payments ran especially high. Central

was one of the dealers sclected for an audit; Ford examined

its books and those of LM as well. While the audit of

Central and F'LM disclosed some improper claims, they

were insubstantial in amount, and Ford concedes that this

audit and a similar one made in 1970 showed that Central

and FLM were complying with the terms of the incentive

program,

While Central and Fi.M may not have been engaged in

any improper use of the incentive plan, the same could

not be said of all of Ford’s dealers, Ford’s statistical analy-

sis of the overall results of the 37 audits conducted in 1969

indicated that as much as $2.1 million of the $44.5 million

in incentive payments claimed might be improper. Among

other things, some dealers were selling parts to wholesale

intermediaries and then elaiming an incentive allowance

for doing so, even though the wholesaler then resold the

part to another Ford-franchised deaicr. As a result of the

audit, Ford began considering ways to alter the incentive

payment plan to avoid the use of such tactics. In July 1971,

it promulgated a revised version of its incentive plan,

under which Ford dealers would be eligible for the pay-

ment only wnen they resold yarts to an independent repair

shop, not when they resold them to wholesalers such as

FLM or tc other classes of customers, such as fleet owners

and insurance companies. It is this revision of the plan

which is at the heart of the present suit.‘

4 Another aspect of the evidence is the fact that in 1971 Ford withdrew

a special dealer code number which it had issued to Central, and which

FLM used for direct billing on parts it purchased. We mention this only

for the sake of completeness, since it is peripheral to the issues raised

on this appeal.

a-ll

Despite the fact that the revised version of the incentive

plan would not allow incentive payments on parts resold

to wholesalers such as FLM, Atlas Lincoln Mercury,

(“Atlas”), the corporate successor to Central, continued to

claim incentive allowances on parts it resold to FILM under

the same arrangements as the latter had with Central. This

continued through mid-1972 when Ford discovered that the

payments were being claimed for sales to FLM and pro-

posed to recover from Atlas some $24,000 in payments

made to Atlas on account of its sales to FLM. Atlas then

withheld its payments of incentive allowances over to FLM,

which retaliated by withholding monies due to Atlas. In

the end, though Ford refused to allow any further incen-

tive payments to Atlas on account of sales to FILM, it

agreed not to recoup the past payments to Atlas. Atlas

and FLM ceased doing business together.

Since 1972, FLM has purchased crash parts from other

Ford dealers, paying them 5% above dealer net cost. Under

the present system, a Ford dealer selling a part to FILM

will receive no incentive payment on it. Thus, a $10.00

retail part resold to FILM will cost the dealer $6.00 [the

dealer net price], and FILM a total of $6.30, including the

Ford dealer's 5% markup. When, however, the part is

resold to an independent repair shop, it will cost the Ford

dealer only $4.50 [the dealer net price, less the incentive

payment, which was raised to 25% in 1970]. The differ-

ence between the cost to FILM and the cost to the Ford

dealers has put Fi.M under pressure in the competition

for resales to independent repair shops. While FLM’s net

sales for fixcal 1973 rose over its 1972 sales, it experienced

a net loss of $85,707 for the 1973 year, as compared to a

$21,091 profit the year before. Preliminary estimates in-

troduced at trial indicated that during fiscal 1974, FILM’s

sales fell to $694,000, some $100,000 less than in 1973.

a-12

Discussion

The Robinson-Patman Claim

Section 2(a) of the Clayton Act, as amended by the

Robinson-Patman Act, provides in pertinent part that:

“Tt shall be unlawful for any person engaged in com-

merce ... to discriminate in price between different

purchasers of commodities of like grade and quality

..” 15 U.S.C. $13(a).

The district judge concluded that Ford’s incentive pay-

ment plan as it functioned after the 1971 change violated

the Act’s prohibition of price discrimination, stating:

“Tt is not disputed that, since November 1972, Ford

has charged to Ford dealers who sell to FLM a higher

price than Ford charges for the same crash parts when

a Ford dealer sells directly to an independent body

shop. Putting aside for the moment the question of

the purpose of Ford’s price differentials, it would ap-

pear at least that the basic elements of a Section 2(a)

violation are out. Ford charges different prices to

different purchasers—Ford denlers—for the same

crash parts.” 406 I°, Supp. at 236.

We disagree with this conclusion. The district court’s

‘holding runs contrary to the plain language of the Act,

which limits its prohibition to price discrimination “he-

tween different purchasers.” The statute thns proclaims

in substance that a seller must extend equality of treat-

ment to its competing purchasers and may not discriminate

in price between them. However, it does not prohibit the

seller from offering different prices to each of its pur-

chasers, such as one price when he functions as a retailer

and a lower price when he functions as a wholesaler,

a-13

provided all competing purchasers are treated equally. In

this ease Ford, the seller, treated all of its purchasers

(franchised dealers) equally, offering each the same prices

us those offered to every one of its other dealers. Ifence

Ford’s incentive payment plan did not discriminate against

any of its purchasing dealers. All Ford dealers could

receive the incentive payments resulting in lower prices

for parts they resold to independent repair shops, and all

were denied these payments when the parts were not so

resold. For instance, FIL.M’s suppliers, Central or Atlas,

are entitled to the incentive payments from Ford when

they resell its crash parts to independent auto repair shops,

and there is no indication that under its amended plan

Ford allows the incentive payments to any Ford dealers

for resale of parts to customers (such as F-LM) who are

not independent auto repair shops. In short, while the

incentive payment plan did not set a single uniform price

for all types of sales made by Ford to its dealers, it was

administered with an even hand, without any discrimina-

tion among the dealers who purchased from Ford.

Reiying on FTC vy. Anheuser-Busch, Inc., 362 U.S. 536

(1960); F7'C v. Fred Meyer, Inc., 390 U.S. 341 (1968); and

Mueller Co. v. FTC, 323 V.2d 44 (7th Cir. 1963), cert.

denied, 377 U.S. 923 (1964), FLM argues that §2(a)

obligates Ford to charge one uniform price to each of its

custome:s and that dual pricing, even though equally

available to all, is discriminatory. We disagree and fail

to find support for such a rule in these or any other

authorities. The statement quoted from the Court’s

opinion in Anheuser-Busch to the effect that “a price

discrimination within the meaning of [§2(2)] is merely a

pric’ difference” is taken out of an entirely different and

distinguishable context, which renders it wholly inappli-

cable to this case. There the court was dealing with a

claim of primary-line territorial price discrimination under

a-14

which Anheuser granted lower prices to dealers in the

St. Louis area, but not to those located elsewhere, for the

purpose of driving out competition. The court’s quoted

comment was in response to Anheuser’s argument that the

FTC was obligated to prove that the lower prices to the

St. Louis customers were below cost or unreasonably low

and were subsidized by the higher prices charged to others.

See id., at 548-49. No such charge or situation exists here;

Ford makes the same prices available to all its customers.

Were there any doubt about the matter, the Supreme

Court’s later decision in F'7'C v. Bordon Co., 383 U.S. 637

(1966), makes it clear that the language in Auheuser-

Busch does not imply that the Robinson-Patman Act

requires the uniform pricing rigidity ILM here asks but,

on the vontrary, permits a seller to offer dual prices to

its customers on an equal basis. Although the Borden

Company there charged purchasers a higher price for its

brand-name milk than it charged for private label brands

“of like grade and quality” within the meaning of Section

2(a), the court remanded the ease for a determination of

“whether the differential under attack is discriminatory

within the meaning of the Act,” and of whether Borden

had established any of the statutory defenses, Jd. at 646,

Thus it was recognized that the difference in price would

not fall under the Act’s ban on price discrimination if all

purchasers were given an equal opportunity to purchase the

less expensive milk. See id. at 641 n. 4; 643.° In his dissent

on the “like grade and quality” issue, Justice Stewart

furtner underlined the point that the Act requires only

equal treatment of al! purchasers, not a single unvarying

price:

5 On the remand, the Court of Appeals set aside the FTC's cease and

desist order against Borden on various grounds, including that the pri-

vate brand milk had heen sold to any customer who asked for it. Sec

Borden Co. v. FTC, 381 F.2d 175 (5th Cir. 1967).

a-15

[T]he existence of price discrimination is an issue

that remains open in the Court of Appeals. If Borden

is able to demonstrate that the price differential

between its preminm and private label brands is not

a price discrimination, the inquiry by the Commission

is at an end, and no issue of injury to competition or

cost justification under §2(a) is reached. Nothing in

FTC v. Anheuser-Busch, Inc., 363 U.S, 536, a case con-

cerned only with territorial price discrimination,

requires an equation in all circumstances between a

price differential and price discrimination. So long

as Borden makes private label brands available to all

customers of tts premium milk, it ts unlikely that price

discrimination within the meaning of §2(a) can be

made out.” Id, at 659 n. 17 (emphasis added).

Thus, even when a seller has a dual pricing system, if the

lower price is available to all purchasers, not only in theory

but in fact, see FTC v. Morton Salt Co., 334 U.S. 37, 42

(1948), there is no violation of §2(a).°

In short the Act, as its language indicates, requires

equality of treatment among purchasers, but it does not

require a seller to adopt a single uniform price under all

circumstances. Cf. Sun Cosmetic Shoppe, Inc. v. Elizabeth

Arden Sales Corp., 178 F.2d 150, 152 (2d Cir. 1949) (“The

Act does not undertake to forbid a seller to grant favors

to his custoraers ... it only insists that the distribution,

if any, shall be equal.”) This principle has been applied

in cases which found no violation of §2(a) in pricing plans

which, though varying prices according to different terms

6 Perkins v. Standard Oil Co. of California, 395 U.S. 642 (1969), does

not cast any doubt on this conclusion. In that case, it was established

that the seller had discriminated in price against some of its purchasers;

the only question was level of distribution at which the requisite com-

petitive injury could be shown.

a-16

of sale, were administered equally to all purchasers. Sce

Chapman v. Rudd Paint & Varnish Co., 409 F.2d 635, 643

(9th Cir. 1969) (discounts for advance deposits); Boss

Manufacturing Co. v. Payne Glove Co., 71 F.2d 768 (8th

Cir.), cert. denied, 293 U.S. 590 (1934) (dual product

lines); William Inglis &€ Sons Baking Co. v. ITT Con-

tinental Baking Co., 389 F. Supp. 1334, 1341 (N.D. Cal.)

(dictum) (private label breads), rev’d on other grounds,

526 F.2d 86 (9th Cir. 1975); F. Rowe, Price Discrimina-

tion Under the Robinson-Patman Act 97-98 (1962).

Accepting as we do the Supreme Court’s observation in

FTC v. Fred Meyer, Inc., 390 U.S. 341, 349 (1968), that

the Robinson-Patman Act should not be construed “in a

manner which rins counter to the broad goals which Con-

gress intended it to effectuat,”7? we find nothing in that

decision to support FLM’s position here and nothing in

the present case to indicate that Ford’s incentive allow-

ance plan is aimed at defeating or circumventing the Act.

In the first place, Fred Meyer did not involve §2(a)’s ap-

plicability to price adjustments, much less to any of the

type challenged here. The question there was whether pro-

motional allowances paid by a manufacturer directly to

certain retailers, but not to intervening wholesalers who

resold to other competing retailers, violated §2(d) of the

Act, 15 U.S.C. §2(d).* In holding that the manufacturer

7 While we do not adopt a narrow construction of the Robinson-Patman

Act in this ease, it should ne noted that such a mode of constrmnetion

of the Act has frequently been advocated. See, e.g., FTC v. Fred Meyer,

Inc., supra, 390 1.8. at 359-60 (Harlan, J., dissenting); Friendly, The

Gap in Lawmalking—Judqes Who Can't and Legislators Who Won't, 63

Colum. L. Rev. 787, 794 (1963).

8 The incentive payments here under attack were not related to any

advertising or promotional activities by the Ford dealers who resold the

crash parts to independent repair shops; they were merely adjustments

to price, and as such, not within the ambit of the stricter prohibitions

imposed by §2(d). See Rutledge v. Electric Hose ¢ Rubber Co., 511

a-17

was required to give the same promotional allowances to

retailers purchasing from the wholesalers as those given

by it directly to retailers, the Court did not suggest that

it intended, by analogy or otherwise, to interpret §2(a)

as requiring a manufaeti.rer to equalize prices charged to

those performing different functions in the line of dis-

tribution. Indecd, to do so, as Justice Harlan’s dissent in

Fred Meyer noted, 390 U.S. at 361, would be to run afoul

of the Sherman Act. If, in order to avoid violation of the

Robinson-Patman Act, Ford were required to fix the prices

at which FLM purchased parts from Ford dealers so that

the prices to both would he equalized, Ford would be open

to the charge of illegal price fixing.

We do not suggest or imply that, if a manufacturer

grants a price discount or allowance to its wholesalers

(whether or not labelled “incentive”), which has the pur-

pose or effect of defeating the objectives of the Act, §2(a)’s

language may not be construed to defeat it. But that is

quite different from the situation before us. IIere the

incentive allowance is given by Ford to its dealers in ree-

ognition of the fact that in reselling to independent repair

shops the dealer acts as a wholesaler rather than a retailer.

Although denial of the allowance on resale of parts to

others may have the practical effect of placing a floor under

the price at which dealers can resell to interinediate whole-

salers, the same could be said generally of standard fune-

tional discounts, the legality of which is not questioned.

F.2d 668, 678 (9th Cir, 1975); Kirby v. PR. Mallory §& Co., 989 P.2d

904 (9th Cir, 1973), cert. denied, 417 U.S. 911 (1974). It is true that

in some instances the word “customer” in §2(d) and the word “pur-

chaser” in §2(a), sre te be given the samo meaning, see, e.4g., Amerivan

News Co. v. F.T.C., supra, 300 F.2d at 109, bat the Supreme Court

limited its holding in Fred Meyer, Inc. (that a manufacturer was re-

quired to give the same promotional allowances to retailers purchasing

from wholesalers as to retailers buying directly from him) to §2(d)

cases. See 390 U.S. at 348-52.

a-18

| pct COPY. AVAILABLE:

See Rowe, Price Discrimination Under the Robinson-

Patman Act 173-174 (1962); Shniderman, “Zhe Tyranny

of Labels”—A Study of Functional Discounts Under the

Robinson-Patman Act, 60 Harv. L. Rev. 571 (1947);

Doubleday and Co., Ine., 52 F.T.C, 169, 207-208 (1955).

The record furthermore fails to provide the basis for an

inference that Ford’s incentive payment plan has been

simply a device to achieve indirectly a price discrimination

forbidden by the Act. The original plan was adopted in

response to the FTC's coneern that independent auto repair

shops be permitted to obtain erash parts at prices that

would enable them to compete with Pord dealers in the

repair business. The revision of the plan of which FLM

complains came after Ford’s audits disclosed that under

similar incentive plans involving other types of automo-

bile parts’ dealers were, in effect, selling to each other

through the medium of outside wholesalers, thus allowing

Ford dealers to obtain the parts at the same price or less

than independent shops and undercutting the objective

of the plan. While FILM was not involved in such dealings,

its position as an intermediary raised the possibility of this

problem.’® In these circumstances, it was not unreasonable

for Ford to make a general change in its incentive plans,

both those in which such difficulties had arisen, and the

erash parts plan, where they were posed as a potential

problem. Thus the record indicates that the 1971 revision

of the plan was an attempt to further implement Ford’s

original intention of funnelling crash parts at reasonable

9 While a limited amount of evidence was presented dealing with these

other incentive plons, their structure appears to be essentially the same

as that of the erash parts plan.

10 We cannot fathom the trial judge’s contrary conelusion that FILM was

not even “potentially” such an intermediary hetween Ford dealers. We

see no evidence of any aspect of FLM’s operations which would assure

against such dealings.

a-19

prices to independent repair shops so a to improve com-

petition in the auto repair business, and was not a device

to circumvent the Act.

Nor do we find support for FLM’s contention in Mueller

Co, v. FTC, 323 F.2d 44 (7th Cir. 1963), cert, dented, 377

U.S. 923 (1964). There the seller had divided its pur-

chasers into two classes—regular and “stocking” jobbers.

Tt granted an extra 10% discount to stocking jobbers to

compensate them for their expenses in maintaining ware-

house stocks of the seller’s product. Ifowever, not all

jobbers were able to become stocking jobbers and thus

take advantage of the 10% discount. Specifically the ITC

found that the seller “discriminated in the selection of

stocking jobbers.” 7d. at 45. In affirming the PTC's finding

on this point, and rejecting the petitioner’s argument that

there was no price discriminat. since all jobbers could

become stocking jobbers, the Seventh Circuit stated that:

“There were no objective standards to guide regular

jobbers in qualifying as acceptable and there is sub-

stantial evidence to support the Commission’s finding

as well as evidence that petitioner’s decisions on this

point were influenced by whether it had already ade-

quate distribution ‘in that particular area’ and by its

concern to protect fold established jobbers.” Theoret-

ically, these discounts were available to ail, but fune-

tionally they were not.” 323 F.2d at 46. (Citation

omitted)

Thus the gravamen of the discrimination found in Mueller

was not the provision of the 10% discount to jobbers as

compensation for their wholesaling services, but rather

the fact that eligibility to enter this favored class was only

selectively recognized and not made equally available to

all jobbers. Here, in contrast, Ford did not arbitrarily

a-20

select some of its dealers and limit incentive payments to

them. Rather, such payments were available to all Ford

dealers purchasing from Ford. Mueller thus simply re-

affirms the principle that treatment of purchasers must be

even-handed. Having treated its dealers equally here, Ford

fulfilled its duties under the Act.

We need not dwell at length on FILM’s alternative sug-

gestion—understandably brief—that it should be treated as

an “indirect purchaser” from Ford and thus entitled to the

same prices us those charged by Ford to its dealers. The

“indirect purchaser” doctrine originaied in Araft-Pheniz

Cheese Corp., 25 #.V.C, 587 (1937), as a menus of prevent-

ing a manufacturer from insulating itself from: Robinson-

Patman liability by using a “dummy” wholesaler to make

sales at terms actually controlled by the manufacturer.

See American News Co. v. FTC, 300 F.2d 104, 109-10 (2d

Cir.), cert. denied, 371 U.S. 824 (1962); F. Rowe, supra,

at 57-59. The doctrine comes into play when the manufac-

turer “deals directly with the retailer and controls the

terms upon which he buys.” American News Co., supra,

300 F.2d at 109; see K.S. Corp. v. Chemstrand Corp., 198

F.Supp. 310 (S.D.N.Y. 1961); Kraft-Phenix Cheese Corp.,

supra,

Ford’s direct dealings with FLM were at best frag-

mentary," and the company did not attempt through the

medium of a suggested price or otherwise to set the prices

at which its dealers would sell crash parts to FLM. The

most that can be said is that as a practical matter Ford’s

wholesale price to its dealers serves as a floor for their

resale prices. As Judge Gricsa noted, see 406 F. Supp. at

241, to equate this with the “control” required by American

11 The only direct dealings appear to he Ford's delivery of parts di

rectly to FILM when the latter was buying them through Central and

using a dealer number assigned to Centrai, and the audits of FLM, to

which it consented.

a-21

News Cc., supra, would reach the absurd result of extend-

ing the Coctrine to cover every resale of goods. The “in-

direct purchaser” doctrine, therefore, has no application

to this cease. If Congress desired to bar a ‘nanufacturer

from granting functional discounts that mi.sht affeet its

wholesaler’s resale policies, further legislation would be

required. Under the Act as it stands the man vfacturer is

free to grant such discounts on an equally aviilable basis

to all of its customers, even though the cifeet may be to

limit the development of additional layers of intermedi-

aries which might occur if the discount or allowance were

not limited to the performance of a speci'ie type of whole-

saler function in the line of distribution.

In view of our conclusion that Ford did not engage in

price discrimination, it becomes unnecessary to reso've the

other contentions raised by the parties, including whether

FLM would have standing to litigate such a claim, whether

the incentive plan was injuriovs to competi‘ion, and

whether damages were properly prov.

Sherman Act Clains

Turning to the district court’s distr issal of TM's claims

based on §$1 and 2 of the Sherman Act, 15 1.8.0. 691, 2,

froin which FLM appeals, the §1 ciaim appears to mix,

rather unclearly, two somewhat different theeries: first,

that the incentive system was the product of a conspiracy

between Ford and its dealers to drive FLM out of business,

and second, that even if the incentive system was adopted

by Ford on its own initiative it is nonetheless a per se

violation of §1 under the doctrine of United States v.

Arnold, Schwinn & Co., 388 U.S. 365 (1967). FLM’s §2

claim asserts that Ford, having a monopoly over the manu-

facture of Ford crash parts, was attempting to extend

that monopoly to the wholesale market. Judge Griesa

a-22

found that FILM had not proved the existence of any con-

spiracy between Ford and its dealers (or between Ford

Motor Co. and its wholly-owned subsidiary, Ford Market-

ing Corp.), and that sinee MLM had failed to establish

that lord was vertically integrated into the wholesale

market for Ford erash parts no basis existed for charging

that if ded extended its monopoly power at the manu-

facturing level info that market in violation of °2

Sinee the question of whether the imcentive allowance

plan sid its TOTP aiendment to PLM s dissdvantage was

the product of a comspiracy between lord and its dealers

to drive FILM ont of business or to fix the prices of parts

sold to it is essentially one of faet, sce Taxi Weekly, Inc. Vv.

Metropolitan Tasieal ourd of Trade, lne., (Dkt. Nos,

16-7042, 76-7175) (2d Cir, July 18, 1976), slip opin, 4925,

$931; Michelman vo Clark-Schwebel Fiber Glass Corp.,

(Dkt. Nos. 75 7532, 75-7508, 75-7504, 75-7598) (2d Cir.

April 21, 1976), slip opin. 3333, 3344, the scope of our

review of the trial judge’s finding on this issue is limited,

Fed. R. Civ. PL 52(a). Faced with a record containing

conflicting proof, we cannot say that the trial judge clearly

erred in finding that I'l.M had failed to prove a conspiracy

between Ford and its dealers to eliminate LM or to fix

resale prices to it."* There was evidence, to which we have

alluded, that Ford changed the incentive plan on its own

initiative in order to avoid abuses of the system which

would undercut its effectiveness in giving independent auto

repair shops a chance to compete with Ford dealers. More-

over, FILM concedes that, after the change in the incentive

12 The record discloses nothing even vaguely resembling the course of

conduct, ineluding extensive policing efforts and threats of puysical

violence to dealers, which led the Supreme Court to conclude that a

“classic conspiracy in restraint of trade” had been shown in United

States v. General Motora Corp., 384 U.S. 127, 140 (1966), on which

FILM relics.

plan, Ford dealers continued to do business with it, albeit

on less favorable terms, which tends to undercut the pos-

sibility of such a conspiracy.

We also agree with Judge Griesa, for the reasons he

stated, see 406 I’. Supp. at 245, that LM did not prove a

conspiracy between Ford Motor Co., and its subsidiary; we

can only regard as frivolous FILLM’s argument that Ford is

estopped from denying such a conspiracy existed by virtue

of certain comments in the charge in Rea v. Ford Motor

Co., 355 I’. Supp. $42, 864 (W.D. Pa. 1973), rev'd on other

grounds, 497 I'.2d 577 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 419 US.

868 (1974).

Nor do we read the Supreme Court’s decision in United

States v. Arnold Schwinn & Co., supra, as providing a

basis for holding Ford’s pricing system per se illegal un-

der §1 of the Sherman Act on the ground that it enables

Ford, after parting with title to the crash parts, to fix

the prices at which dealers will resell the parts to FLM

or to stop them from dealing with FLM. Schwinn did

not do away with an essential element of §1 which was

hero found lacking—“a contract, combination—or con-

spiracy,” between Ford and its dealers. There the exis-

tence of such an agreement was undisputed, and the Court

was careful to note that an “explicit agreement or

silent combination or understanding” restricting the per-

sons to whom the goods might be resold was an essential

condition of a per se violation. 388 U.S. at 382; cf. Carter-

Wallace, Inc. v. United States, 449 F.2d 1374, 1380-81

(Ct. Cl. 1971); Modern Home Institute, Inc. v. Hartford

Accident & Indemnity Co., 513 F.2d 102, 108-9 (2d Cir.

1975). Here no such understanding existed. Ford uni-

laterally established its prices to its dealers and did not

fix their resale prices or terms. Although the dealers

would be most unlikely as a practica] matter to resell

below cost, they were free to, and some did, resell to

FLM at prices close to their cost. To hold that Ford’s

establishment of a discount level based on the wholesaler’s

function in reselling a Ford product violates $1 of the

Sherman Act because of its effect on the wholesaler’s

resale practices would not only ignore the language of

$1 but in effect require that all functional discounts be

outlawed. We do not find any support for such a holding

in $1 or clsewhere.

FLM’s §2 claim also suffers from a failure of proof.

Where the defendant is charged with monopolization, its

possession of monopoly power in the relevant market

must be demonstrated, ¢.g., United States v. Grinnell Corp.,

384 U.S. 563, 570-71 (1966); United States vy. Aluminum

Co. of America, 148 F.2d 416, 422-32 (2d Cir. 1945), which

requires proof of the approximate share of that market

controlled by the defendant. See Note, Attempt to Monop-

olize Under the Sherman Act: Defendant’s Market Power

as a@ Requisite to a Prima Facie Case, 73 Colum. Ll. Rev.

1451, 1459 (1973). Where the defendant is charged with

an attempt to monopolize, a “dangerous probability” of

success must be shown. /’.9., Lorain Journal Co. v. United

States, 342 U.S. 143, 153 (1951); Swift & Co. v. United

States, 196 U.S. 375, 396 (1905); Areager v. General Elec-

tric Co., 497 F.2d 468, 471 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 419

U.S. 861 (1974). But see Lessig v. Tidewater Oil Co., 327

F.2d 459 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 377 U.S. 993 (1964).

Here the only relevant market which FLM attempted to

define was the wholesale market in Ford crasi parts.

However, FLM failed completely to prove that Ford, as

distingushed from its dealers, had any significant share

of that market, mucli less that it was using its monopoly

at the manufacturing level to extend such a share. Cases

such as Fastman Kodak Co. v. Southern Photo Materials

a-25

Co., 273 U.S. 359 (1972), where the manufacturer sought

illegally to use its: power as a manufacturer to extend its

proven share of the retail market are therefore inapposite

and lend no support to FLM’s claim. FILM’s alternate

theory of its 42 claim—that Ford was conspiring with its

dealers to help them maintain their shared monopoly of

the market--amounts to nothing more than its §1 claim

under another name, and its proof on the point is no more

impressive when viewed under the rubric of §2.

For the foregoing reasons, we reverse the judgment

entered on the Robinson-Patman Act claim, and affirm the

dismissal of the Sherman Act claims.

FILM COLLISION PARTs, INC.,

Plaintiff,

v.

FOKD MOTOR COMPANY and Ford

Marketing Corporation,

Defendants.

No. 73 Civ. 713.

United States District Court,

S. D. New York.

Dec. 19, 1975.

OPINION

GRIESA, District Judge.

This is an antitrust action under Sec-

tion 2(a) of the Clayton Act, as amended

by the Robinson-Patman Antidiscrim-

ination Act, 15 U.S.C. § 13(a) (hereafter

referred to as Section 2(a) of the Robin-

son-Patman Act), and Sections 1 and 2

of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1 and

2.

Plaintiff FLM Collision Parts, Inc.,

is a small company located in Yonkers,

New York, and is in the business of deal-

ing in “crash parts” for cars made by

defendant Ford Motor Company—i. e¢.,

Ford, Mercury and Lincoln cars. Crash

parts consist of fenders, grills, panels,

and other parts used to repair a car

a-27

which has been in an accident or needs

replacement of such parts for some oth-

er reason.

These crash parts are manufactured

only by Ford Motor Company or by oth-

er manufacturers who make the parts to

Ford’s specifications. With certain ex-

ceptions not here relevant, these crash

parts are sold by Ford! only to fran-

chised Ford and Lincoln-Mercury deal-

ers. The franchised dealers? either use

the crash parts in their own repair work

for customers, or resell them to inde-

pendent repair shops.

The problem in this case arises from

the circumstances under which Ford

grants a so-called “wholesale incentive”

allowance in the sale of crash parts ¢o

Ford dealers. Ford grants, or does not

grant, the wholesale incentive allowance

to the dealers depending on the use they

make of the particular parts. If a dealer

uses a part in repair work for a customer,

this involves a retail sale of the part,

and the dealer does not obtain a wholesale

incentive allowance on that part. But

if a dealer sells the part to an independent

repair shop, this involves a wholesale

transaction, and the dealer may obtain

the wholesale incentive allowance on that ©

part.

Ford Marketing Corporntion was iieorper

rated in 1970, and commencing in July 10

wax responsible for the marketing of Ford,

Mereury and Lincoln autenebiles amd related

products. Drier te July 170 this marketing

function bad been performed by the jane

fucturer, Ford Motor Company. [Tt appears

that subsequent to the trial of this action

Ford Marketing (Corporation was dissolved,

and the marketing function was returned to

ord Motor Company, For the purpones of

thix come, defendants Ford Motor Compuny

and Ford Marketing Corporacion will usually

be treated as a single entity, and will be

referred to ax “Ford”.

2. For purposes of simplicity, in thin opinion

1 will refer to franchised Ford, Mercury and

Lincoln dealers us “Ford dealers”.

a-28

FLM set itself up to supply Ford crash

parts to independent repair shops. At

first it sought to buy directly from Ford,

but when this request was refused, FLM

commenced purchasing crash parts from

a Ford dealer in Brooklyn to whom FLM

was referred by Ford. FLM then pro-

ceeded to sell crash parts, purchased

from the Brooklyn dealer, to independent

repair shops, mainly in Bronx and West-

chester counties.

The wholesale incentive allowance was

established by Ford in 1968. Thereafter,

until 1972, Ford permitted the Brooklyn

Ford dealer to receive the wholesale al-

lowance on parts sold to FLM, which al-

lowance was almost entirely passed on to

FLM, thus substantially reducing FLM’s

costs. Commencing in 1972, Ford refused

to grant the wholesale incentive allowance

on parts sold to PUM, and restricted the

allowance to those parts which were sold

by franchised Ford dealers directly to

independent body shops.

FILM contends in this action that

Ford's current pricing policies violate

Section 2(a) of the Robinson-Patman

Act in two regards: First, that Ford,

by charging one price to a franchised

dealer when it sells to an independent

repair shop, and a higher price to a

franchised dealer when it sells to FLM,

is engaging in unlawful price discrimina-

tion in its sales to the franchised dealers,

resulting in injury to FLM for which

FLM has standing to recover; second,

that FLM is itself a “purchaser” from

Ford—i. ¢., an “indirect” purchaser—

and as such has standing to sue Ford

under the Robinson-Patman Act. FLM

further contends that Ford has violated

Section 1 of the Sherman Act in com-

bining and conspiring with its franchised

dealers to injure FLM competitively.

a-29

Finally, FLM contends that Ford has

violated Section 2 of the Sherman Act

in that Ford has monopolized or at-

tempted to monopolize the wholesale

market for Ford crash parts. FLM seeks

injunctive relief and treble damages.

The case has been tried to the Court

without a jury. This opinion constitutes

the Court’s findings of fact and con-

clusions of law on the liability phase of

the case. The record on damages has

not been completed. A supplemental

opinion will be issued on the award of

damages, including attorneys’ fees.

Summary of Conclusions

The following is a summary of my

conclusions. J hold that FILM has prov-

ed a violation of Section 2(a) of the

Robinson-Patman Act based upon the

first theory described above—-that Ford

is engaging in unlawful price discrimi-

nation in sales of crash purts to its deal-

ers, resulting in injury to FILM for

which FLM has standing to sue. 1

reject the Robinson-Patman claim of

FILM based on the “indirect purchaser”

theory. 1 also reject FLM's claims un-

der both Sections 1 and 2 of the Sher-

man Act.

Facts

FLM commenced its business in 1965.

The two principals of the company are

Stephen McKee and John Andidero,

both of whom had been employed pre-

viously by Ford dealers in parts opera-

tions. FLM's first idea was to buy

crash parts directly from Ford and sell

them to independent repair shops. ILM

discussed this with a representative of

Ford, but was advised that Ford would

only sell its crash parts to franchised

dealers. In early 1965 an employee of

a-30

Ford in New York City by the name of

Joe Collura introduced McKee and Andid-

ero to Central Lincoln Mercury Corp.., lo-

cated in Brooklyn, New York. This led

to an arrangement for FLM to buy crash

parts from Central at 2% over Central's

cost.

At this time there was no wholesale

incentive allowance available on crash

parts to franchised Ford dealers. The

dealers paid the same _ price-—“dealer

price’—for crash parts whether they

used* them in their own repair shops

(7. «., made retail sales) or sold them to

independent repair shops (made whole-

sale sales). The “dealer price” was the

“suggested list” or retail price, less

42%."

It is useful to examine the effects of

the crash parts price structure as it ex-

istee at the time FLM commenced busi-

ness in 1965 until the advent of the

Wholesale incentive allowance, which was

instituted in 1968. Let us assume the

sale by Ford of a crash part to a deal-

er, carrying a suggested list price of

$10.) The dealer would pay the dealer

price of Sh.x0 f, ., the suggested list

price less 42° or $4.20.) The Ford

dealer could use the part in his own re-

It appears that prior to 19S the Amount of

the allowance used in enleulating the denler

price was 429%, wil that commeneing in TGS

the amount of thix allownues was 1.

There were certain other discounts or allow-

auces granted, under certain circumstances,

to dealers in connection with the purchase of

erash parts, FILM makes cininw for lanages

based on certain allegations of inubility to

Obtain these allowances. These claims will

be discussed in the supplemental Opinion re-

garding damages.

pair operation, and would presumably

charge the customer the suggested list

price of $10, thus making a gross profit

of $4.20. The Ford deaicr could also

sell the part to an independent repair

shop. In such a sale the Ford dealer

would presumably make some markup

over the dealer cost of $5.80, The in-

evitable result would be that the Ford

dealer and the independent repair shop,

both potentially competing for the re-

pair business of Ford owners, would be

incurring different costs for the same

type of crash part—the dealer paying

$5.80, the repair shop $5.80 plus.

To return to the situation of FLM,

FLM was buying parts from Central

Lincoln Mercury for 2° over dealer

price. Using the same $10.00 part as an

example, FILM would purchase this part

for the dealer cost of $5.80 pius the 2%

markup, or a total of $5.92. FLM would

be competing with franchised Ford deal-

ers for the business of the independent

repair shops. Although there is no ex-

plicit testimony about the price which

FLM was charging to repair shops in its

early years, a reasonable inference from

the evidence is that this was suggested

retail price less 25°%. Applying this

percentage to the hypothetical $10.00

part would give the figure of $7.50 as

FLM’s price to the repair shops, for a

part costing it $5.92.

With respect to FLM’s competition

with Ford dealers for the business of

independent repair shops, there is no

explicit evidence regarding what prices

the dealers were charging to the inde-

pendent repair shops during this per-

iod. However, the reasonable inference

is that FILM's prices were at about the

same level as the prices charged by the

Ford dealers. In any event, FLM was

able to compete effectively.

a-32

The business of FLM grew steadily

FLM offered certain services to the in-

dependent repair shops which the fran-

chised Ford dealevs generally did not

provide. FLM would visit repair shops,

inspect damaged vehicles and advise re-

specting exactly what parts would b

needed to make the proper repairs.

FLM carried sufficient inventory so

that it could often fill an order the

sume day it was placed. If FLM did

not have a part in its own inventory,

it would attempt to procure the part and

deliver it no later than the following

day. FLM delivered parts to the repair

shops, something apparently not done

by most of the franchised dealers.

c

The following figures show the re-

sults of FLM’s operations commencing

with the fiscal year ending September

30, 1966 (the first full year of FLM's

operations ) through the fiseal year end-

Ing September 30, 1968. The latter was

the last full year prior to the advent of

the wholesale incentive allowance.

Fiscal 1966

Sales $245,738.00

Cost of Parts $201.376 00

Gross Profit $44 362 00 16.1%)

Other Expense:

Cluding office:

salaries Of $16 680) $44,256 00

Net Operating Profit

After Taxes $80 70

Fiscal 1967

Sales

$337 0

Cost of Ports “276 oe

=e 4 ae 8 | j

Gross Prot 1194.00

7 ort $61,136.00 (18.1%)

Other Experses (9

Ciuding o.ficers

salaries of $22 529)

Net Operating Profit

After Taxes

$60.927.00

$109 00

Fiscal 1968

Sales $389,987 00

Cost of Parts $32 3959 00

Gro's Profit $66 C2800 (16 9%)

Other [xpenses (in

chadeng olliers

shames Of $26,520) $65,658 00

Net Gperating Loss

After Taxes $769 00

Ford maintained a parts depot at

Teterboro, New Jersey. Central Lin-

coln Mercury provided FLM with an

authorization so that FLM could pick

up parts at Teterboro. Kills were ren-

dered by Ford to Central, who would

then segregate the bills relating to the

FLM purchases from the bills relating

to other purchases made by Central.

In its dealings with Ford, Central was

identified by a “dealer code number”—

1128:3.

ln order to simplify the accounting for

the FLM purchases, Central requested

that a separate code number be given by

Ford to Central for the parts which it

purchased for resale to FLM. Ford

agreed to this, and commencing In late

1968, Ford assigned a second code num-

ber to Central —13430. This code num-

ber was in the name of Central, but the

billing address was the address of FLM

in Yonkers

The wholesale incentive allowance for

crash parts was instituted in November

196%. At some time prior thereto, the

Federal Trade Commission advised Ford

that the distribution of crash parts to

independent repair shops at higher

prices than those charged to franchise

dealers for use in the dealers’ repair

shops violated Section 5 of the Federal

Trade Commission Act. No formal pro-

ceedings were instituted. The matter

a-34

was settled when Ford agreed to allow

a discount from dealer's prices for cer-

tain classes of crash parts when the

franchised dealers resold such parts for

use by independent repair shops. The

amount of this wholesale incentive al-

lowance on crash parts was initially set

at 20%. It applied to some, but not all,

crash parts, The record shows that in

1971 there were a total of 10,000 kinds

of crash parts sold by Ford, of which

about 4.800 were eligible for a whole-

sale incentive allowance.

The agreement between Ford and the

Federal Trade Commission did not ex-

pressly provide whether or not a whole-

sale incentive allowance should be al-

lowed in the event of sales by a Ford

dealer to a party such as FILM, acting

us middleman between the Ford dealer

and the independent repair shop. llow-

ever, it has been stipulated that from the

inception of the wholesale incentive al-

lowance for crash parts until a Ford

poly change ono mid-1971, a fran tised

Ford dealer reselling crash parts to

FLM was entitled to claim the wholesale

incentive allowance on such resales.

In 1968 Ford changed the amount of

the discount used to reach the basic

dealer price fromm 42% to 40°. Thus,

after 1968, the basic dealer price on a

part whose suggested retail price Was

S1lu.00 was 56.00 instead of 35.80. In

January 1970 Ford increased the whole-

sule incentive allowance from 20 to

25°% for those crash parts to which the

allowance applied

a-35

The wholesale incentive allowance was

obviously a great benefit to FLM. This

is illustrated by returning to our ex-

ample of the $10.00 crash part. The

price paid by FLM’'s supplier, Central,

was $6.00. However, when Central sold

this part to FLM, Central received a

Wholesale incentive allowance equal to

25°; (using the post-January 1970 per-

centage) of the S600 of S150.) Thus

Central paid only $4.50 for the part.

Following the institution of the whole-

sale incentive allowance, Central chary-

ed FLM a markup of 3% of the basic

dealer price—here $6.00. In the ex-

ample this markup would be 1&¢. Thus

FLM paid Central $4.68. As already

noted, it appears that the wholesalk in-

centive allowance was granted by Ford

on only about half the crash parts sold

by Ford Ob. iously, In the example of

the $10.00 part, if the wholesale incen-

tive allowance were not in effect, FLM

would pay $6.18

With regard to FLM’'s resale prices

to the repair shops, and the resale prices

of FLM's competitors, the Ford dealers

selling directly to the repair shops, there

is no exploit evidence in the record as to

what such prices were during the time

PLM was receiving the benefit of the

Wholesale incentive allowance The

Federal Trade Commission had contem-

pluted that, following the institution of

the wholesale incentive allowance, the

Ford dealers would reduce their prices

on the covered parts to the same level

pani by the lord dealers when these

dealers sold at retail In the example

of the Sloan part this would be S6.00.

The Commission contemplated that, if

the Ford dealer obtained a_ further

wholesale incentive discount when the

part was sold to independent repair

shops, the dealer could afford to resell

the part to the repair shops at the $6.00

price.

a-36

Apparently there was substantial un-

willingness on the part of Ford dealers

to reduce the prices charged to the re-

pair shops to the levels contemplated by

the Federal Trade Commission. Since

the present case does not involve a com-

plaint by an independent repair shop

regarding prices charged by a Ford

dealer, this issue was not pursued in

any depth at the trial.

The only relevance of this matte

lo the present case is to explain that

after the institution of the wholesal

Incentive allowance for crash parts in

108, the prices charged by the Ford

dealers, at least in FLM's area of com-

petition, do not appear to have been

reduced substantially. It appears like-

wise that FLM did not reduce its prices

substantially, and that the principal ef-

fect of the wholesale incentive allowances

on FLM was to increase its profitabilit

The following figures show the profit

prtures of FILM after the win

tive (liscanr Peeve cannes otfect

Thiet

Agen thy basesal ears rele ti ,ecur™s

ending September 30

4 ae

sa $

4 «

r $ +

Diner Expense

meg

rr i

r $19 Se

Net Profit After ¢ $25 4:8

ASt 6

ure . ‘

ther E ape

Liud } oO

saiaries and cor

missions of $62.7 $i- ‘

Net Profit After Tawes $22 847 ¢

4

Fiscal 1971

Sales $654 382 00

Cost of Parts $448 264 00

Gross Profit $206,118.00 (31 5%

Otner t «pens

uding « e

salaries of $83 < $1799

Net Profit After Taxes $18 699 00

st of F t $ .

wr , t sea = .

¢ af

3 } rie

pe of § $ 4232

Net ro , t c *

It should be noted at this point tha

ford markets a wide varicls of spare

parts other than crash parts Thes

other parts include spark plugs, filters

carburetors, etc, and are marketed un

der the Ford brand name and unde

the tberand mares \utolite and “Motor

Wi rid ? nl i ‘

; | ; ? thet ? ‘ ,

phar had lnstituted pros ] ‘des

‘| t ti heave testal i? ‘

1 i | . bs i ul t

hy neoent iow ine were ru

ing f her than had been mated

T‘oe)'? Cris 1 i wi! sa NCweneays«

i Vuitn rn? ! } mrad ior | LVIh's

I ’ to “4 Ss bli

vnhict $12.7 mi or related ‘ cras!

i art

bord ras cuhncerhned about POssSIUle

large-scale Violation bey kde ol

Ford Ss ruces regarding the wh le Salic IT

centive allowance Ford's rules prohib-

Thix ix a restated figure. chet ug trom 1!

cost of parte the amount of $21. 807.00 whol

ile imecentive allowance wetibend am Cosew] 19TS

rnd ajplicnble to 1972

a-38

ited, among other things, payment of

the allowance on parts sold by one Ford

dealer to another Ford dealer cither di-

rectly or through an intermediary. Ford

was concerned about the possibility of

one Ford dealer obtaining the allowance

for purported use in wholesale sales,

and then transferring the parts to an-

other Ford dealer, who would sell them

at retail In this imstance, the first

Ford dealer would simply be a conduit,

and the second Ford dealer would be

geiting the benefit of the allowance ail-

though not making the wholesale sales

which the allowance was intended to

cover

Another “abuse” of the wholesale in

contlive allowance, in Ford’s view, was

the claiming of the allowance by Ford

dealers for parts seld to insurance com-

panies in commection with the repair of

curs Ford regarded these as retail

sules, eligible tor the allowance Still

another abuse was claiming the whol

Slale jamoerrntive gi bao cannes r" puarts which

had not been purchased from Ford

lt 19 Jeary 1 = ected 37 out al its

ove dealer for audits toe determine the

validity of the wholesale tneentive allow-

ances the selected dealers had claimed.

These 27 dealers were ones with unus-

ually high claims for wholesale incentive

aliowances

Central Lincoln Moreury, FLM's sup-

pulcr, Was one the dealers audited

This audit covered not only the recoras

of Central, but alse the records of FLY

FLM consented to wh an examination,

It is conceded by the Ford witnesses that

the amount of incorrect wholerale allow-

anee claims involving FLM was “mini

mal” and that this was a “clean audit.”

The audit covered the perion! from No-

vember 1968 through September 19609

a-39

The finding of the audit report dated

November 21, 1969 was that there were

total “discrepancies” of $2,185.28, of

which $1,458.34 related to sales to Ford

dealers The balance of the diserep-

ancies related to “return sales not de-

ducted.” There were no discrepancies

arising from sales to insurance com-

panies or purchases from outsid

SOUrCES For seme reason, the audit

report does net disclose the total aniount

of wholesale incentive allowances claime

with reward to FILM fer the Novemlay

908 September L969 period, although

‘tutes that for the

period Junuary through May 1:0 the

the wuudit re prort

total clams were $24,446. In any event

the amount of the disci Ppancies Was COon-

sidered minimal as compared with the

total claims

Following the completion of the 37

audits. Ford made a statistical evalua-

tion in order to estimate the overall

proportion of improper wholesale allow-

ance claims for ail dealers. The est:

mate was that for the period of the audit

there were between $1.2 million and $2.1!

million in improper claims out of a total

of $445 million claims

In the fail of 1970 theve- was a second

audit of Central and FLM,. resulting

in an audit report dated November 6

1970. The audit report stated that tl

wholesale incentive claims “were tested

and found to be generally weural

properiy supported, and submitted in a

cordance with the provisions of ti

wholesale parts incentive program.” No

discrepancies were noted

a-40

During 1970 Ford undertook a _ re-

consideration of the second parts code

number which had been issued to Cen-

tral for use in connection with its sales

to FLM lhe second code number was

discontinued as of the end of Januar

1971 (Central continued to sell to

and to obtain the wholesale incentive

allowance on sales to FLM until a sub

sequent time, as will now be described.

In July 1971 Ford amended its rules

regarding the Wholesale incentive ailow-

a ¢

Sith the eff hata kord dealer

, , , ’ ,

, i i? i Nail ivts

‘ ’ ’ ’ ; . T

; prea il Pt | } i ‘] it .

‘

this lr) ‘ ’ TP nis wivet |

+) ,

J

‘

i ! ‘ c ifiis haa Mgrs ree ra

lige tri wi a"Maiit ceniive AiOow alice

i if ‘ it thrives Cons ‘ i

, ' +} +} ’ ;

A tie . i ~ i c cou t)

‘

; ; ~ I \i , rygrhit “

‘

‘ ‘ ~~ i

;

;

i ¥

.

’ ‘

owe

; } ‘

il t

: + FL) hy

‘ ‘ '

i that . = ‘

’ r

' «i i i csd

‘ i . ‘ ix to

| ,

ri vs . >

.

’ ‘ a? rw

al ‘ } ; ter “ 4

oa . ™

tT) . +; ,

. \ i

. > > >

pa avs 4 jis¢ ssji0 T ‘

‘

matte wit t I : Paste

, >

Row is H i th:

: ’ .

cLatii my y’s\ 48 “i Pare | YU ri |

connection with the amendment of

the wholesale incentive allowance rules

in July 1971 He testified that the

discussions were in general terms, in

order to arrive at a consistent overall

policy applicable to all types of spar

jaurts, including but not limited to crash

parts

Certain facts should be noted with re-

spect to the three considerations de-

scribed above. As ic the first. there

was not the slightest indication that

FILM was either actually or potentialls

the kind of intermedury between Ford

dealers which Ford was concerned about

It is undisputed that PLM, aside fron

an occasional sale to a Ford dealer in

an emergency, sold | crasn parts 1

tirely to independent repair shops. Th

“discrepancies” found in the 196% audit

were minimal, and in the 1970 audit

were nonexistent

As lwo thi cond Comsideriation

Ford's alleged desore to grant the whok

Sui’ INcentlive ullowanes Onivy where hr rt

dealers are performing what Ford cor

ders to te the “wholesale function”

this faises a q tron of law, to be di

ssed hereafter. as to whethe Ford 1s

wyally entitled to s¢ the wholesal

contive allowame I . o} a Wa is te

sure that a bFord dealer sell qgdirect

1 retaier rather tNMhan selling j

rectis hrough a party sucn a riLLM

\s to the third considerats bored

i that Ford deak ‘ii 4 iM’

re | rs Ww i «ciain if pit foot ti

Tia rord admits that whates: rn

problem may have been, it relate

ho “wut to ctl ish , rts mr te i J |

Ford's evidence is that it Was conmcerTs

im this regard alout Autolite and Moto;

craft, where one channel of distributior

involved distributors Ford allegedly

believed that if Ford dealers were en-

couraged to compete with the distrit

a-42

tors in marketing Autolite and Motor-

craft parts to wholesalers, then the

Ford dealers would claim a distributor's

allowance. Thus Ford was not willing

to grant any ‘ncentive at all to Ford

dealers in order to encourage them to

sell these parts to wholesalers.

Ford contends that, although this

problem did not relate directly to FLM

or to crash parts, Ford desired to have

a uniform policy for the wholesale in-

centive allowance applicable to all types

of parts, rather than to have one policy

for crash parts and a different policy

for Autolite and Motorcraft parts.

I must note here that, even as to the

Autolite and Motorcraft parts, there is

no showing that any Ford dealers were

in fact demanding distributors’ allow-

ances for sales of spare parts to whole-

sulers

In any event, as already described,

Ford's rules were changed in July 197]

lo provide that a Ford dealer could

obtain the wholesale incentive allowance

on parts which were sold direetly to

independent repair shops, but could not

sbtain the allowance for parts sold to

h as FLM, who would resell

harties sud

them to the independent shops.

Although Ford denies that this chang:

tf policy was specifically directed to

MLM, it should be noted that there was

no other company besides FLM who

had saccesstully established a business

of acting as middleman between Ford

dealers and independent repair shops in

the sale of crash parts

Apparently because of some adminis-

trative crror on the part of Ford, the

July 1971 change of policy was not im-

med ately enforeed with regard to sales

by Central to FLM. Central continued

to sell crash parts to FLM and to re-

ceive wholesale incentive allowances on

such sales.

a-43

In July 1972 the business of Central

Lincoln Mercury was taken over by Atlas

Lincoln-Mercury. It was agreed be-

tween Atlas and FLM that Atlas would

miuke sales to FLM in the same way

that Central had done.

At some point in the summer or fall

of 1972 Ford awoke to the fact that

Atlas was still claiming and receiving

wholesale incentive allowances on sales

of parts to FLM, contrary to Ford's

current policy. Ford approached Atlas

and proposed to charge huck some $24,-

000.00 in wholesale incentive allowances

which had been paid to Atlas. Atlas

argued that FILM was a valuable whole-

sale account and urged that the whole-

siule incentive allowance should be con-

tinued with respect to sales to FLM.

Atlas particularly resisted any charge-

back of allowances already paid. These

discussions between Ford and Atlas oc-

curred in late October 1972.

During this controversy, Atlas held

up certain payments of wholesale in-

centive allowances to FLM. As a result,

FLM held up certain payments which

were due to Atlas. Apparently at some

pomt the Ford depot at Teterboro, New

Jersey refused to deliver parts to FLM

for the account of Atlas.

FLM's attorney approached Ford re-

questing the continuation of the whole-

sale incentive allowance on sales to FLM

and also complaining about the refusal

of the Teterboro depot to deliver parts

to FLM. Ford advised FLM's attorney

that it would not neyotiate directly with

a representative of FLM, but would

negotiate only with its dealer.

a-44

The upshot of these events was as

follows. Ford persisted in its refusal

to allow the wholesale incentive allow-

anee oon paurts seld by Atlas, or any

other dealer, te hLM. ord withdrew

its claim of charge-back against Atlus

The business relationship between Atlas

and FLM was terminated All this

occurred by the end of November 1972

Subsequently FLM_ has pur hased

crash parts from -ertain Ford dealers

without getting the benefit of the

Wholesale incentive allowances Com-

mencing in November 1972 FIM pur:

chased parts from Thomas Motors and

Parkview Lincoln-Mercury, both of

Yonkers, New York, FLM paid Thomas

and Parkview 5° over dealer cost

FILM dealt with Thomas Motors until

June of 19738, when a new owner of

that avency terminated the account. It

appears that FLAM continues to pur bat ne

parts from Parkview Lincoln-Mercury

to the present time

In June 1972 FLM commenced put

chasing parts trom Pleasantville Ford

‘of Pleasantville, New York. Again, EM

pays Pleasantville 5° over dealer cost

FILM continues to deal with Pleasantville

to the present lume

5. PLM eontend not only that Pom wath

drow so the viverloeles Gpeceetine geblenweanmee, deat

that Tord clieeetedd Atlas to completely cemse

doit business with eu M, 1 vegoet EAD Ss

Tevbatierth cote the latter purr "The Mord

witthes~es «cloeteyv Chaat mney teh oclreewtion wae

eaverte, thane PT eroutit this clheiminl

a-45

With respect to parts which FLM has

purchased from Thomas Motors, Park-

view Lincoln-Mercury and Pleasantville

Ford, FLM has resold these parts to

independent repair shops for 25°) off

the suggested list or retail price.

The withdrawal of the wholesale in-

centive allowance had a detrimental ef-

fect on FLM's profitability, The finan-

cil results for the fiscal year ending

September 30, 1973 were as follows:

ristal 1973

6 ri09 $798.94? 00

Cost of Port $684,758 00

7Oss Profit $11° 18900 (14.5%

Other £ apenses (in

vding ofrecers

salaries of

$82.860 00 $199. 896.00

Net Loss ($85,707.00)

As of November t, 1073, the salaries of

the two offtecrs were reduced from

SKHO0.00 por week each to $600.00) per

week each (Contributions to pension

funds were suspended,

At the time of the trial the final

figures of FLM for fiscal 1974 were not

available ilowever, it was estimated

that sales for fiscal 1974 were approxi-

mately $604,000.00, The fiseal 1974 sales

were down approximately $100,000.00

from the fiscal 1973 level. It was esti-

mated that, at the end of fiscal 1974,

FILM would have a deficit in its earned

surplus account amounting to $18,607.00,

ufter a $20,000.00 income tax refund

This contrasts with an earned surplus

of $81,913.00 as of September 30, 1972.

FLM is suffering from a shortage of

working capital which has restricted its

ability to purchase inventory and equip-

ment. With regard to price competition

with Ford dealers for the business of

repair shops, PLM is generally charging

the repair shops the suggested retail

price less 25°. McKee of FLM has

textified, albeit in a general way, that

FLM is experiencing price competition

from some Ford dealers which FLM can-

not afford to meet

1 find that PILAL has suffered tapare

ment of its ability to compete effectively

in the wholesale market of Ford crash

parts,

FLM has sought to prove that Ford's

withdrawal of the wholesale incentive

allowance resulted at least in part from

complaints from Ford dealers competing

with FLM and a desire by Ford to protect

such denier There is no sufficient

proof to support this point, However,

it is clear that Ford understood in general

that its discontinuance of the wholesale

incentive allowance on crash parts sold

ty parties such as FLAL would substan-

tially impair the ability of such parties

to participate in the distribution of Ford

parts in competition with the regula

Ford dealers, Also T cannot believe that

the Ford personnel responsible for the

change of policy respecting the wholesal

incentive allowance did not have FLM

apecifically in mind as a shining exampl

of the type of successful middleman Ford

was attempting to discourage.

Conclusions of Law

Robinson-Patman Act

[1] Section 2(a) of the Robinson-

Putman Act, 15 U.S.C. § 10a), provides

in pertinent part:

“(a) Tt shall be unlawful for any

person engaged in commerce, in the

course of such commerce, cither di-

rectly or indirectly, to discriminate in

price between different purchasers of

commodities of like grade and quality,

where cither or any of the purchasers

involved in such discrimination are in

commerce, where such commoditics

are sold for use, consumption, or resale

within the United States or any Ter-

ritory thereof or the District of

Columbia or any insular possession or

other place under the jurisdiction of

the United States, and where the ef-

fect of such discrimination may be

substantially to lessen competition or

tend to create a monopoly in any line

of commerce, or to injure, destroy, or

prevent competition with any person

Whe cilhber grants or khnowinwely re.

ecrves Che benmetit of such diserimina

tion, or With customers of cither of

them

Ld

It is not disputed that, since November

1972, Ford has charged to Ford dealers

who sell to FLM a higher price than

Ford charges for the same crash parts

when Ford dealer sells directly to aii

independent body shop Putting aside

for the moment the question of the pur

pose of Ford's price differentials, it

would appear at least that the basic

clements of a Section 2.4) violation are

made out. Ford charges different prices

to different purchasers—Ford dealers—

for the same crash parts

Ford asserts two defenses to the

Robinson-Patman Act claim: First, that

FLM has no standing to assert such a

claim, since FLM is not a purchaser from

Ford; second, that Ford's price dif-

ferentials are not prohibited by Section

2(a) since they involve “functional dis-

counts.”

au. The Standing of FLM to Sue

For its argument against FLM's stand-

ing to sue, Ford relies upon dicta in a

line of cases commencing with Klein v.

Lionel Corp, 247 F.2d 13 (hrd Cir, 1956),

The opinion of the Third Circuit contains

the statement (pp. 14-15);

“The decisions of many cases have

crystalized the rule that an individual

cun have no cause of action under

Section 2(a) of the Clayton Act unless

he os an actual purchaser from the

person charged with the discrimina-

tion.” (footnote omitted)

This statement wus cited with approval

in dicta in Barm & Blank, Ine. v. Phileo

Corp, 148 F.Supp. 541, 548 (R.D.NLY

M857): Boliek-Gillman Co. v. Continental

Raking Co, 206 F Supp, 161, 154 OD Nes

obi); United Banana Co. v, United

Fruit Co., 245 F.Supp. 161, 168 (D.Conn.

1965).

For reasons to be deseribed hereafter,

Tam not at all certain that the Third

Cireuit intended to lay down any rule

about standing under Section 2(a) as

sweeping fis the literal language of the

dictum might indicate, loo any event,

] have concluded that any such rule is

contrary to the intention of Congress us

expressed in the Robinson-Patman and

Clayton Acts.

Although Section 2(u) defines the

conduct which is illegal, it does not

explicitly deal with the question of what

parties do ov do not have standing to

sue for violations, The statutory pro-

vision expressly dealing with the question

of standing ix Section 4 of the Clayton

Act, 15 U.S.C. § 15, which provides:

“Any person who shall be injured

in his business or property by reason

of anything forbidden in the anti-

trust laws may sue therefor in any

district court of the United States in

the district in which the defendant

resides or is found or has an ayent,

without respect to the amount in con-

troversy, and shall recover threefold

the damages by him sustained, and

the cost of suit, including a reasonable

attorney's fee.”

On its face, Section 4 of the Clayton

Act would appear to be broad enough

to provide for a civil action by any

party who could make out a factual case

of injury to his “business or property”

by reason of any violation of the anti-

trust law. However, the courts have

taken the view that Congress did not

intend to confer such broad standing.

See Calderone Enterprises Corp. v.

United Artists Theatre Cireuit, Ine., 454

F.2d 1292 (2d Cir. 1971), cert. denied,

406 U.S, 930, 92 S.Ct. 1776, 32 L.Ed.2d

132 (1972) (“target area” doctrine ap-

plied in Sherman Act case),

(2) In dealing with the standing

problem in the present case, the most

compelling consideration is presented

by the implications of Section 2(a) of

the Robinson-Patman Act, indicating the

intention of Congress as to the ambit of

the statute's protection. I refer to the

a-50

languaye of Section 2(a), which pro-

hibits price discrimination between pur-

chasers,

oe where the effect of such

discrimination may be ——

injure, destroy, or prevent competition

with any person who cither grants or

knowingly receives the benefit of such

discrimination, or with customers of

either of them:

Aithough the forbidden conduct under

Section 2(a) is discrimination “between

different purchasers,” the language

quoted above expressly recognizes that

the competitive effects of such injury

resulting from the discrimination may

reach beyond the purchasers themselves.

The statute, as quoted above, applies

where competition is prevented (1) with

au person who grants the discriminatory

price, (2) a customer of the person who

yrants a discriminatory price, (3) a

person Who knowingly receives the bene-

fit of a discriminatory price, or (4) a

customer of «a person who knowingly re-

ceives the benefit of a discriminatory

price

(‘onsidering this language in concrete

terms, let us assume that a manufacturer

M) sells to two wholesalers (WA and

Wh WA resells toa retailer (RA), and

WE resells to a retailer (RB) M dis-

criminates in price in favor of WA, This

lLenefit is passed on to RA. RB is in-

jured in its competition with RA

Applying Section 264) to this situa

tion, there would appear to be a violation

of the statute, because M has diserimi-

nated in price between two purchasers,

WA and WK, and because this discrimi

nation has injured competition by RB

with a customer (RA) of one who has

received the benefit of the discrimination

(WA)

{3} It would seem to be perfectly

clear that Congress intended in Section

2(a) to confer protection upon those

parties who are injured in their compe-

tition with the types of beneficiaries

of the discrimination described in the

statute. There is no doubt that such

protected parties have standing under

Section 2(a) to sue the party guilty of

the discrimination. In our example, this

would mean that RB would have the

right to sue M, as well perhaps as WA

and RA, if the latter parties had know-

ingly received benefit of the discrimina-

tion. This would be true even though

RB is not a purchaser from M.

In Perkins vw. Standard Oil Co. of

California, 295 U.S. 642, 89 S.Ct. 1471,

23 L.ed.2d 590 (1969), plaintiff Perkins

purchased gasoline and oil from Stan-

dard. Perkins was both a wholesaler, and

a retailer through his own Perkins sta-

tions. Standard also sold to Signal, who

resold to Signal’s subsidiary Western

Hyway, who in turn, sold to Western's

subsidiary, Regal. Standard’s prices to

Signal were lower than its prices to Per-

kins, and the benefit of the discrimina-

Lion was passed on to Regal. Regal op-

erated service stations which were able to

undersell Perkins’ service stations. The

Supreme Court held that Perkins had a

valid claim for this competitive injury.

The Court noted (p. 647, 89 S.Ct. p.

1874):

“Here, Perkins’ injuries resulted in

part om impaired competition with a

customer (Regal) of a customer ( West-

ern Hyway’) of the favored purchaser

(Signal).”

The Court went on to state (p. 648, #o

S.Ct. p. 1874):

“Here Standard discriminated in price

between Perkins and Signal, and there

was evidence from: which the jury

could conclude that VDerkins was

harmed competitively when Signal’s

price advantage was passed on to

Perkins’ retail competitor Regal.

These facts are sufficient to yive rise

to recoverable damages under the

Robinson-Patman Act.

“Before an injured party can _ re-

cover damages under the Act, he must,

of course, be able to show a causal

connection between the price discrimi-

nation in violation of the Act and the

injury suffered. This is true regard-

less of the ‘level’ in the cha... of dis-

tribution on which the injury occurs.”

See dso F. T. C. v. Sun Oil Co., 371 US.

505, 514, 83 S.Ct. 358, 9 L.Ed.2d 466

(1963).

[4) The Perkins case does not. of

course, expressly deal with the question

of the standing of a non-purchaser to

sue under Section 2(a) for competitive

injury resulting from discrimination

practiced upon a party farther up the

line of distribution. The plaintiff in the

Perkins case was a purchaser from

Standard. However, the decision makes

it clear that Section 2(a) is to be con-

strued as covering competitive injuries

ut levels of distribution beyond the

level of the purchasers from the defend-

ant The basic test cnunciated by the

Court for recovery of damages by an

injured party was that he must “be able

to show a causal connection betwes n the

price discrimination in violation of the

Act and the injury suffered” (/d. 395

U.S. at 648, 89 S.Ct. at 1874)

In my view, the Perkins decision is

entirely inconsistent with the view that

parties having standing to sue under

Section 2(a) are limited to purchasers

from. the defendant.

a-53

I now return to the line of cases com-

mencing with Klein v. Lionel Corp., 237

F.2d 13 (3rd Cir. 1956), referred to

earlier. The plaintiff in Klein was a

retailer selling Lionel cleetric trains.

Pinintiff purchased trains from whole-

salers at sugyested retail price less 40%.

These wholesalers purchased from Lionel

at suggested retail price less 52%.

Lionel sold its trains directly, not only

to wholesalers, but also to chain stores

and mail order houses. Lionel charged

the same price to the chain stores and

mail order houses as it did to the whole-

salers. Plaintiff sued, claiming that he

was in competition with the chain stores

and the mail order houses and that under

Section 2(a), he should have been able

to obtain his trains at the same prices

as were charged to these chain stores

and mail order houses. District Judge

Rodney dismissed the complaint on a

motion for summary judgment, on the

ground that there had been no price

discrimination by Lionel in its sales to

its purchasers. Judge hodney expressly

left open the question of whether a re-

tailer would have standing to sue for

injury he sustained in the event there

was ciscrimination practiced against

his wholesaler. Alein v. Lionel Corp.,

138 F.Supp. 560, 564 (D.Del.1956).

The Court of Appeals for the Third

Cireuit affirmed. However, the opinion

of the court of appeals did not limit its

discussion to the precise problem at hand,

as Judge Rodney had carefully done

The Court of Appeals stated (237 F.2d

at 14-15):

“The decisions of many cases have

crystallized the rule that an individual

can have no cause of action under

Section 2(a) of the Clayton Act un-

less he is an actual purchaser from

the person charged with the discrimi-

nation. In Shaw’s,-Jnc., v. Wilson-

Jones Co., 3 Cir., 1939, 105 F.2d 331,

333, we stated: ‘The discrimination

in price referred to must be practiced

“between different purchasers”.

Therefore at least two purchases must

have taken place. The term purchasers

mean simply one who purchases, a

buyer, a vendee.’ Klein did purchase

Lionel products, but not from Lionel.

It follows that the necessary requisite

of two purchasers from the same

vendor is not met and Klein therefore

can claim no protection under the

Act as a direct purchaser.” (footnote

omitted )

I should note that the cases cited by

the court of appeals in Alein in support

of its dictum about standing do not in

fact support the proposition. More-

over, in my view the dictum in Alein

is contrary to the clear meaning of Sec-

tion 2(a), and cannot be followed in

view of the implications of the Supreme

Court decision in Perkins v. Standard

Oil Co. of California, 395 U.S. 642, 89

S.Ct. 1871, 23 L.ed.2d 599 (1969).

tis necessary at this pomt to examine

the nature of the competitive injury suf-

fered by FLM and to determine whether

it is within the purview of Section 2(a).

In the hypothetical example given above,

the competitive injury occurred between

RA and RB, who were both retailers.

Both were on the same “functional level

of distribution.” It is fairly easy to

conceive of competitive injuries on the

same functional level of distribution

i. ¢«., Wholesalers vis-a-vis wholesalers,

or retailers vis-a-vis retailers—-as coming

within the purview of Section 2(a).

a-55

There is a distinction between such

a situation and the present case which

must be noted. Let us consider that in

the present case M is Ford, WA is a

Ford dealer selling direetly to an in-

dependent repair shop, and RA is this

independent repair shop. WB is a Ford

dealer selling to FLM, who stands he-

tween that Ford dealer and the inde-

pendent body shop «RB) who is. the

customer of FILM, LM claims to be

harmed because Ford has discriminated

in price between WA and WB, charging

a higher price to WB, who sells to FLM.

But FLM is not complaining about being

at a competitive disadvantage with

another FLM-type middleman. Because

of the relatively low markup it has been

able to negotiate with WB, and because

FLM has been able to offer superior

services to certain independent repair

shops, FLM has been able to compete

with Ford dealers such as WA.

Is FLM on the same functional ievel

of distribution as the party it is com-

peting with—WA? In one sense it is,

in that FILM competes with WA for the

business of the independent repair shops.

jut in another sense FLM is not on the

sume functional level with WA, because

FILM is twice removed in the chain of

sales from Ford. Moreover, FLM is not

secking to have its purchase price equal-

ved with the purchase price of WA,

It is only secking to have the purchase

price of WB equalized with that of WA.

The question is whether Section 2(a)

protects, among other things, the type or

competition engaged in by FILM, which

is with parties not precisely on the same

functional level of distribution. In

F. T. C. v. Fre” Meyer, Inc., 390 U.S.

a-56

$41, 88 S.Ct. 904,19 L.Ed.2d 1222 (1908),

a case under Section 2(d) involving pro-

motional allowances, the Supreme Court

held, on the facts of that case, that the

competitive injury contemplated by See-

tion 2(d) was that occurring on the

same functional level of distribution.

However, the Court noted that no such

limitation is made in Section 2(a). The

Court stated (pp. 356-57, 88 S.Ct. 904,

p. 912):

“We noted in FTC v. Sun Oil Co., 371

U.S. 505, 83 S.Ct. 358, 9 L.Ed.2d 466

(1963), that when Congress wished

to expand the meaning of competition

to include more than resellers operat-

ing on the same functional level, it

knew how to do so in unmistakable

terms. It did so in § 2(a) of the Act

by prohibiting price discrimination

which may ‘injure, destroy, or prevent

competition with any person who either

grants or knowingly receives the bene-

fit of such discrimination, or with

customers of cither of them.’ ”

(9]} 1 hold that the type of compe-

tition engaged in by FLM with Ford

dealers is within the protection of 2(a).*

6. Section 2(a) has been held to apply to

competitive injury occurring where the com-

petitors are on different functional levela of

distribution. Purolator Products, Ine, 65

S (1964), aff'd, 352 Fy S74 (7th

1). cere. denied, BO ToS. 1O5, SSN

TOS, 1 Ped NT (TGS). here

Commission found a competitive injury

covered by Section -(4), where jobbers com-

peted with wholesale dealers from whom the

jobbers purchased ends The faets in Luro-

were substantially different from the

frets presented in the present case, and resort

was had in l’urelater to the “indirect pur-

chaser” doctrine, which, for reasons described

hereafter, I hold inapplicable to the present

I alluded earlier to the “target area”

doctrine enunciated in such cases ag

Calderone Enterprises Corp. v. United

Artists Theatre Circuit, Inc. 454 F.2d

1292 (2d Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 406

U.S. 930, 92 S.Ct. 1776, 32 L.Ed.2d 132

(1972). The target area doctrine has

been applied in a case Which involved,

in part, the Robinson-Patman Act. Billy

Baxter, Inc. v. Coca-Cola Company, 431

F.2d 18 (2d Cir. 1970), cert. deni d, 401

U.S. 923, 9] S.Ct. 877, 27 L.Bu.2d 826

(1971).

16) Applying the “target areca” test

to the present cause, it would seem to be

clear that FLM is Within the target area

of the alleged Wrongful price discrimina-

tion practiced by Ford, The Purpose of

Ford's change of policy regarding the

Wholesale incentive allowance was to

withdraw. this price benefit from Ford

dealers who sold to middlemen such as

LM. It was the Obvious desire of Ford

to cut the middleman out of the channel

of distribution, and have the Ford dealers

sell directly to the independent body

shops. As Ford has candidly admitted

in its Trial Memorandum filed in this

action, FLM “is neithe needed nor de-

sired” in the distribution of Ford crash

parts (p. 287).

llowever, Purclaty, dees iustrate th,

wont that Seetion 2(n) can be applied, in gn

Appropriate Cuse, fo on Competitive mmojury

COmMpetiturs ure pot on the sume

funetionnal dey el,

Slates 3 Chere ral Vi fous Corp,

"°

a8 Me ST TRE MW Leb 40g

Ine describe hore fully luter il

eniiion, the Supreme Court found @

Act Violation where (Gaeneral Motors

combined with eort Hh ot its Chevrolet dealers

fo prevent other Chevrolet dealers from selling

discount houses, thereby preventing the

discount houses from competing with dealers.

a-58

{ conclude therefore that FLM has

suunding to sue Ford claiming (1) that

Ford discriminates in the price of erush

(7) FLM argues that Ford “con

trols” the prices charged by a lord

dealer selling to FLM, so that the i

purty in favor of Ford dealers who si aa )

) ce fade of a rect purehasel duetrine shpopr dda |

i

directly to indep ndent body shor and

true that a Ford dealer is not likely to

charge FLM less than what Ford has

charved to the de ule Hlowever, this

is not the type of “control” which bring

against any Ford dealer who sells to

PLM, and (2) that FLM is harmed by

this discrimination its uallempt to com

pete with Ford dealers for the business into play the indirect purchaser doctrine

of the independent repair shop:

C)the rw ise the doctrine Would app t

LM Naas urged, us ulter alive every fe ie 1 goods Th cructart pr nt

xrounds for its standing under Sectior in the present iso 6is that Ford ha

o,, ;

o\a the appiecation of the ~ called never sought to yprest ) j e }

indirect purchase) doctrine or the any way the markup charged by a Fon

SOMCW hu reidLed Goctrine of I i ( deale) ty) I LM I} ietiyvy a mi ‘

Fred Mi fer, ine., OU LU Ss 341, Ss SS of negotiation betwee! tre Ford are

Ct. 904, 19 L Ed.2d 1222 | L908). | ha er and FI \! There j no | igsested

concluded that neither of thes theories price to FLA. as there is in the ili

is applicable to the present casi case involving the indireet purchases

. prin n Ne ( se

The indirvet purchaser doctrine hus doctring A | ;

, , P , baa

ven developed to cover situation wher ( im i sien ‘ :,

: ; noe are "uy { yt)

‘ wiendant hu di fact cont 1 OW supra Ch Ty 4 i .

*) } , 44) " i er sup

purchust | ‘ paid for 4 TA im i *

t 7 +} ’ , nly Co. of New York, 37 F.T.( $45

+c)

ATU tris Ue it int } t} iy ' }

tribut . idea ta ( M t would be whol

Sucl i stat | t ’ wie’ rity j ite to up t re re t { i

the pri t } heyy , " T ahene +} 7" ‘ ,

im) ty } | } ‘ ‘o } ‘ !

they \ ! roc? } i ‘ 1) \ rt 1 ! rt

Tt yi? il thie } i} vy ‘ ‘ it ; Dl ? c(t | | i

~ | \ { ' mpcting rat .

Li (iy ce

1] ; ‘a j qa

7 mo “ i‘? " , ‘

- rey i t)} : ) “ R up’

iT j ;

‘ 3 , " bing ‘ ;

{ _ , TT ; ,

i j ;

Sid ‘ul { ‘ ] tr .

| ;

lO4d5. &R OS POs. LO J } " ? "

' \ \ i i ‘

iOS KY) rf }?i ) i’ (

4 ‘ , .\ @ bit ‘ | »

i a .\ ‘ i i‘) ‘ f j j hh

th ivi «\ vhol rah il { ) \

Meyer, Ine, 300 US i]. &* t ne

‘ ' ” : «) i io be a tomel \ } he

ID L.Ed.2d 1222 (106s

meaniny 1 { ( Ath vant

held that i Cianle _ t

to equal promotional aio }

a-59 awe direct-buying retail Th our

mphusized bt nt botl retail Were on

Lina prvi 1 Lio | \ Ol ii} ty)! { uli

o-oo BEST COPY AVAILABLE

4s

’

;

i

;

)

}

’

-»~

}]

lit

‘ ’

!

,

rt

}?

pit ‘

tule

‘”

mito argu that | t

; 5

od Meyer

; grantor of the wholesale incentive allow

+}

{

Ance it hus the leg rvnt to dewty

| j thy ‘ +} we ;

' ' i if i | Lift ‘ tT

"

sad . ) ty: ’ + >) ; ; j .

‘i t ui | is lt ing ;

; if} My to direet I | rad i) to }

! r Go ' ,

. ep if t repaail nol es tal ti? t ex

}

tal | | >) ; i.

abe Mitt nrouygel " ( it\ ube

; , ? ; , , ;

I LeU ) j \| I | it t! t when

( L

wit lealer sells to FLM, it is not perfor

Vail ‘ | { NOL il ru? t ’ TM | t

’ ; ’ 7 , , , , |

’ ‘ re ‘ hy ret ig } 4

Ldete r | a4 a that ‘ ' . , oe

} i; aT Cont ‘

; _ ’ ‘ " +) ‘ ;

i reat j 4

‘ . \ ; "

’ . t} “Ar Tt " ; ’ ,

et ti : 10 i ] 1a | t { I)

'} notion of the extent of its powers wi

iff ren ‘ ; ; ; . ; ne ; ‘

’ "

, S| , , , ’ ’

permissibl ; t it { rhe I? i? )

Peate \ct ra loul has tl

I > t r » ' Li re? { \

} ; } ; | ;

j I 1 i

Wri il t? ti ) } ine ; .

’ } ; ; ; >

' i tu

T*) ‘ ; ;

‘ i a i ii i iT

r ’ ‘f,

j ¥ ii

t ’ ceive ; , ‘ ,

| ‘ t, , nl ; a)

} haryed to t

if +) | a nr ;

’ , " J , ;

, 1} ;

Lr Wahl it iT

1] i] ’ tha

bisa) lif ' i wit) , f .

ttuce > s ‘ ‘

i p> titi i

the wv ri neenti' i

away as to den the nilowanees

parts are solid to !? _ 2 rperitip

| ty ; wal j

to FLM than Ford charges to a dealer

When it sells dircetly to the independent

repair shop. The pricing differential

here is nof between purchasers at dif-

ferent functional levels of distribution.

Viewed realistically, the Ford dealer

selling to FLM is on the same function-

ul level us the Ford dealer selling to

the independent repair shop. Both of

these Ford dealers are in practical fact

selling at the wholesale level, although

one Wholesales directly to independent

repuur shops and the other wholesales

indirectly through FLM. At least it

is clear beyond question that the Ford

dealer which sells to FLM is not retail-

ing the parts. But the prices which

such a dealer must pay Ford for parts

resold to FLM are the same prices as

u dealer pays to Ford when he retails

the purts.

Basically Ford's policy respecting the

Wholesale incentive allowance amounts

to discrimination in prices charged to

purchasers at the same functional level

of distribution (the wholesale level)

with the purpose and effect of limiting

or inhibiting the type of resale trade

engaged in by these purchasers. This

is not valid functional discounting.

Neither the Robinson-Patman Act nor

the original Seetion 2 of the Clayton

Act, S8& Stat. 730*(1914), mukes any

express reference to functional dis-

counts. llowever, in a case arising un-

der Clayton Act § 2, the Second Circuit

upproved in dictum the practice of

charging different'prices to wholesalers

and retailers because of no adverse ef-

fect on competition. Mennen Co. v.

F. T. C., 288 F. 774, 781 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 262 U.S. 759, 43 S.Ct. 705,

67 L.Ed. 1219 (1923).

a-63

When the 1936 amendments to Sec-

tion 2 of the Clayton Act were being

considered, provisions about functional

discounts were proposed in both the

Senate and the House. The proposal in

the Senate was as follows:

“Promded, That nothing herein con-

tained shall prevent differentials in

prices as between purchasers depend-

ing solely upon whether they purchase

as factors, or wholesalers, or retail-

ers, or consumers, or for use in fur-

ther manufacture a "BO

Cong. Rec, 6428 (1936)

The proposal in the House was:

"That nothing herein contained

shall prevent or require differentials

as between purchasers depending sole-

ly upon whether they purchase for

resale to wholesalers, to retailers, or

to consumers, or for use in further

manufacture; for the purpose of such

clissification of customers as whole-

sulers or jobbers, or retailers, the

character of the selling of the pur-

chaser and not the buying shall de-

termine the classification, and any

purchaser who, directly or indirectly,

through a subsidiary or affiliated

concern or broker, does both a whole-

sale and retail business shall, irre-

spective of quantity purchased, be

classified (1) as a wholesaler on pur-

chases for sale to retail dealers only,

not owned or controlled, directly or

indirectly, by the purchaser; and (2)

as a retailer on purchases for sale

to consumers.” H.R.Rep.No.2287, 74th

Cong., 2d Sess. 1-2 (1936).

a-64

However, reference to functional dis-

counts was entirely omitted from the

Robinson-Patman Act as finally passed.

This omission was apparently the result

of farm opposition, based on the fear

of disadvantages to farmers’ coopera-

tives. 80 Cong.Rec. 8113, 8139 (1936),

The Congressional refusal to enact an

express sanction for functional discounts

has not been interpreted as indicating

an intent to absolutely prohibit such

discounts. It is assumed that Congress

intended functional discounts to be judg-

ed under the yveneral provisions of the

statute in the same way as other pricing

differentials, without any special trent

ment. Shniderman, “The Tyranny of

Labels"—A Study of Functional Dis-

counts Undcr the Robinson-Patman Act,

60 Harv.L.Rev. 571 (1947); Kelley,

Functional Discounts Under the Robin

sor-Patman Act, 40 Calif.L.Rev. 526

(1952); Rowe, Price Discrimination Un-

der the Robinson-Patman Act, 173

(1962)

The basic test for the validity of a

functional discount is whether there is

ain injury to competition. The Rowe

text states (/bid.):

“The nature of the competition be-

twee. the customers paying the high-

er and the lower prices is the key

to the legality of ‘functional discounts’

or trade price differentials under the

Robinson-Patman Act.”

In general, it is accepted both from an

economic and a legal standpoint, that

a valid functional discount is one where

the lower price is charged to the fune-

tional level nearer to the supplier, and

the higher price is charged to the fune-

tional level farther from the supplier—

1. «.,, Where distributors pay less than

Wholesalers, and wholesalers pay less

than retailers. The Rowe text describes

it as follows (/d, at 174):

a-65

“In practice, the competitive effects

requirement permits a supplier to

quote different prices between differ-

ent distributor classes—-so long as

those who are higher up (nearer the

supplier) on the distribution ladder

pay less than those who are further

down (nearer the consumer). Put

another way, wholesalers or jobbers

(or their equivalent) may receive

greater discounts or lower prices than

retailers or dealers—so long as the

wholesalers or jobbers sell only to

retailers or dealers but not to con-

sumers in competition with the re-

tailers paying more.”

This is basically the view taken by the

Federal Trade Commission, as express-

ed in Doubleday and Co., Inc., 52 F.T.C.

169, 207 208 (1955), and General Foods

Corp, 52 FLTC. TOR (1956). ln Gene

eral F'oods the Commission stated (/d.

at 824):

“While the Robinson-Patman Act

does not mention functional pricing,

it was written nevertheless against

the background of the distribution

system then in effect. As pointed out

by respondent, a seller is not forbidden

to sell at different prices to buyers in

different functional! classes ind orders

have been issued permitting lower

prices to one functional class as against

another, provided that injury to com-

merce as contemplated in the law does

not result.”

However, I hold that neither the stat-

i.te nor the authorities interpreting it

sanction the price differentials of Ford

complained about by FLM. As described

earlier, Ford is discriminating in price

between Ford dealers who are operating

at the same functional tevel of distribu-

a-66

tion. Ford does this for the specific

purpose of inhibiting sales to middlemen

such as FLM and for the purpose of dis-

couraging such middlemen from com-

peting in the distribution of crash parts.

Ford contends that it should not be

compelled to make provision in its dis-

tribution system for what it regards as

a superfluous intermediary such as FLM.

Ford contends that it should not be re-

quired to give a wholesale incentive al-

lowance to a Ford dealer who fails to

perform a “wholesale function” and mere-

ly delegates this responsibility to PLM.

These contentions do not provide a valid

defense to Ford.

FLM is not seeking to have Ford set

up any special or unique discount—such

as a distributor’s discount—for Ford

dealers who sell to FLM. FLM is not

secking to have any “suggested” price

for sales by Ford dealers to FLM, which

would establish FLM as a part of Ford's

regular, contemplated distribution sys-

tem. What FLM is seeking is simply

to have Ford charge the same wholesale

price to its dealers whether they sell to

FLM or directly to an independent body

shop. FLM is secking the opportunity to

purchase crash parts from Ford dealers,

and t» freely participate in competition

for ti. distribution of these parts, with-

out the positive hindrance presented by

Ford’s price discrimination.

{12} I also reject the contention of

Ford that Ford can charge a higher price

a-67

for crash parts to a Ford dealer because

Ford views that dealer as not performing

the “wholesale function” when it is

selling to FLM. A Ford dealer buying

parts for wholesale should be basically

free to choose its own channels of dis-

tribution—i. e., be free to decide whether

it will sell directly to an independent

repair shop or sell to a middleman such

as FLM who in turn sells to the inde-

pendent repair shop. Moreover, a com-

pany such as FLM should be free to

purchase from the Ford dealer and to

compete, through offering superior

service, for the business of the inde-

pendent repair shops.

The case of United States v. General

Motors Corp. 384 U.S. 127, 86 S.Ct.

1321, 16 L.Ed.2d 415 (1966), is instruc-

tive in this regard. Although this case

was brought under Section 1 of the

Sherman Act, it illustrates the type of

competitive interests which are involved

in the present case. There General

Motors had combined with franchised

Chevrolet dealers in Los Angeles to

prevent discount houses from purchasing

cars from certain franchised dealers.

The discount houses were competing with

the dealers in the retail sales of Chevrolet

cars. The Supreme Court held that this

was an illegal restraint of trade in that

it was calculated “to deprive franchised

dealers of their freedom to deal through

discounters if they so choose” (Jd. at

140, 86 S.Ct. at 1328). The Court

further described the fact that there was

action by the defendants “to eliminate

the discounters from participation in

the market, to inhibit the free choice of

franchised dealers to select their own

methods of trade . . .” (Jd. at 144,

86 S.Ct. at 1830).

a-68

These passages describe the basic vice

of Ford’s actions in the present case.

Ford's revised wholesale incentive policy

was designed to discourage franchised

Ford dealers in their freedom to deal

through middlemen such at FLM if they

so choose. Moreover, Ford's revised

policy necessarily has the ultimate effect

of eliminating, or sharply curtailing,

middlemen such as FLM from participa-

tion in the market.

[13] I referred carlier to Ford's evi-

dence that two of its considerations

giving rise to the amendment in its

wholesale incentive allowance rules were

the concern that a middleman such as

FLM might operate as a conduit between

Ford dealers, and the concern that a Ford

dealer selling to such a middleman would

seek a special distributor's allowance.

The fact is, os | have found, that nothing

in connection with the activities of FF LM,

or the Ford dealers’ sales to FLM, pro-

vided the slightest basis for either of

these concerns. Ford does not reallv

argue to the contrary. Ford’s contention

is that these were concerns respecting

other parties and other areas of Ford's

spare parts business, giving rise to the

need for general rules and regulations,

which perchance apply to FLM.

This situation constitutes no valid

justification, under the statute or the

applicable authorities, for the anti-com-

petitive price discrimination which Ford

has instituted. This is particularly true

in view of the fact that there is no evi-

dence of any real attempt by Ford to

solve its alleged problems by means that

do not involve price discrimination.

For these reasons, I hold that Ford's

discrimination in the price of crash parts

between Ford dealers who wholesale di-

rectly to independent repuir shops and

Ford dealers who sell to middlemen such

as FLM is a violation of Section 2(a) of

the Robinson-Patman Act and does not

constitute valid functional discounting.

Sherman Act

I hold that FLM has not made out a

valid case under either Section 1 or

Section 2 of the Sherman Act.

For its Section 1 claim, FLM relies

on cases such as United Statcs v. Arnold,

Schwinn & Co., 388 U.S. 265, 87 S.Ct.

1856, 18 L.ed.2d 1249 (1967) and United

States v. Parke, Davis & Co., 362 U.S.

29, 80 S.Ct. 503, 4 L.Ed.2d 505 (1960),

involving agreements between a supplier

and its dealers or distributors fixing re-

sale prices and allocating territories.

The short answer to this argument is that

no such agreement has been shown by

the evidence in this case

(14! The illegal activity of Ford is

in the setting of discriminatory prices

it charyes to dealers selling to FLM. The

sole activity of the dealers vis-a-vis Ford

is to pay the prices charged by Ford.

FLM has not proved the existence of any

agreement between Ford and any dealers

that the dealers would not sell to bIM,

fndeed certain Ford dealers are still

selling to FLM. There is no evidence

that any Ford dealers have entered into

an agreement with Ford as to what

prices the dealers will charge to FLM.

The dealers pay Ford the prices charged

by Ford, and then sell to FLM at a mark-

up above these prices—the markup being

negotiated with FLM. This is by no

means a resale price agreement within

the meaning of the authorities.

a-70

{15} In support of its Section 1 claim

FLM urges that there was a combination

or conspiracy between defendant Ford

Motor Company and defendant Ford

Marketing Corporation. There is no evi-

dence to support this contention. Ford

Marketing Corporation did not come into

existence until 1970. It assumed the

marketing responsibility for Ford auto-

mobiles and parts commencing in July

1970. Ford Marketing Corporation was,

of course, in existence during 1971 and

1972 when the events complained of in

this action occurred. The essential point

is that the relevant actions with respect

to the wholesale incentive discount were

undertaken, as far as the evidence shows,

solely by personnel in the marketing arm

of Ford, whether this arm was a division

within Ford Motor Company or was a

separate corporation, Ford Marketing

Corporation. There is no evidence of

any combination or conspiracy between

the two corporations.

For its Sherman Act § 2 claim, FLM

relies upon cases such as Eastman Kodak

Co. v. Southern Phote Materials Co., 273

U.S. 359, 47 S.Ct. 400, 71 L.Ed. 684

(1927). and Poster Exchanye, Inc. v.

National Screen Service Corp., 431 F.2d

334 (5th Cir. 1970), holding that Section

2 prohibits the use of monopoly power

on one level of distribution to destroy

competition on another level. See also

Otter Tail Power Co. v. United States,

410 U.S. 366, 93 S.Ct. 1022, 35 L.Ed.2d

359 (1973); United States v. Aluminum

Co. of America, 148 F.2d 416, 437-39

(2d Cir. 1945).

However, these cases involved vertical |

integrations between the two levels. In

Kodak, the defendant manufactured film

products and owned the retail! stores that

sold these products in competition with

plaintiff. In Otter Tail the defendant

a-71l

ae

generated power, and distributed it

through its own retail distribution sys-

tem, which sold power in competition

with municipally owned retail distribu-

tion systems.

[16] In the present case Ford dis-

tributes automobiles and crash parts, but

it does not own the franchised dealers

who wholesale these parts in competition

with FLM. The exception to this is the

so-called dealer development franchise,

where Ford has a temporary ownership

interest in the dealer for financing pur-

poses. However, the evidence in this

case about dealer development franchises

is fragmentary and is hardly sufficient

to permit a finding of vertical integra-

tion between Ford and its dealers.

On the basis of the record in the

present case as a whole, I decline to

extend the rule of the Eastman Kodak Co.

case and the other cases referred to

above to cover ‘he situation of Ford and

its franchised dealers.

Ford's Refusal to Sell Directly to FLM

(17) FLM has advanced the conten-

tion (although not forcefully) that Ford

has violated the antitrust laws in re-

fusing to sell crash parts directly to FLM

rather than selling exclusively to fran-

chised Ford dealers. | reject this con-

tention for reasons whieh I will set forth

briefly.

Section 2(4) of the Robinson-Patman

Act expressly provides:

“. . . That nothing herein con-

tained shall prevent persons engaged

in selling goods, wares, or merchandise

in commerce from selecting their own

customers in bona fide transactions

and not in restraint of trade; o

a-72

Based on well-established law, Ford

had the right to distribute automobiles

and crash parts manufactured by it

solely to franchised dealers. United

States v. Colgate & Co., 260 U.S. 300,

39 S.Ct. 465, 63 L.Ed. 992 (1919);

Atalanta Trading Corp. v. F. T. C., 258

F.2d 365, 372-78 (2d Cir. 1958); Naifer

», Ronson Art Works, 218 F.2d 202 (10th

Cir, 1954); Chicago Svating Co. v. S.

AKaurpen & Bros., 177 F.2d 863 (7th Cir.

1949).

I have already held that it is illegal

for Ford, by means of price discrimina-

tion, to inhibit a dealer from selling to

a middleman such as FLM, and to inhibit

FLM from freely purchasing crash parts

from a Ford dealer in order to compete

in the distribution process. With this

price discrimination removed, Ford is

free to restrict its sales to its dealers.

There is ample evidence of valid economic

and administrative justification for such

restriction.

Conclusion

FLM is entitled to injunctive relief

and damages on its claim of price dis-

crimination under Section 2(a) of the

Robinson-Patman Act. FLM is entitled

to no rehef or recovery under its other

antitrust claims. Following the comple-

tion of the record as to the amount of

damages, there will be a supplemental

opinion on that subject.

FLM COLLISION PARTS.

INC., Plaintiff,

v.

FORD MOTOR COMPANY and Ford

Marketing Corporation, Defendants.

No. 73 Civ. 713,

United States Distriet Court,

S. D. New York.

March 17, 1976.

SUPPLEMENTAL OPINION

GRIESA, District Judge

On December 19, 1975 1 filed an opin-

ion holding that plaintiff FLM Collision

Purts, Inc. is entitled to injunctive relief

and damages under Section 2a) of the

Clayton Act, as amended by the Robin-

son-Patman Anti-Diserimination Act, 15

U.S.C. § Miia) 1 stated that a supple-

mental opinion would be issued on the

amount of damages to be awarded fol-

lowing completion of the record on that

subject

The record is now complete, This sup-

plemental opinion contains my findings

of fact and conclusions of law as to the

amount of damages, and also as to the

amount of the attorneys’ fee to be

awarded pursuant to Seetion 4 of the

Clayton Aet, 1b USO. § 15,

Damages

There are five items of damajes

claimed by FLM which require specific

discussion. Certain other damage claims

have been made by FLM based upon its

theories of Sherman Act violation

Since these Sherman Act theories were

rejected in my earher opinion on habili-

ty, | will not deal further with the relat-

ed issues of damages.

a-74

Wholesale Incentive Allowances

FLM claims that it should recover the

total amount of the wholesale incentive

allowances which were denied by Ford

commencing November 1, 1972.

Ford, in its Post-Trial Brief (pp. 92

96), basically coneeded that, if there

were liability, FLM would be entitled to

recover the amount of these wholesale

incentive allowances, provided that such

umounts were accurately proved. In

further proceedings, Ford has advanced

two contentions. Ford argues that there

is no showing that the entire amount of

these wholesale incentive allowances

would have been “passed on” by the

Ford dealers to FLM. Ford also con-

tends that the amount of the award for

such allowances should be diminished by

the alleged additional bookkeeping: costs

which FLM would have been required to

incur in order to claim the wholesale in-

eentive allowances

PLM has weeurately proved the

amount of the wholesale incentive allo-

wances which should have been granted

on Ford crash parts purchased by it dur-

ing the relevant period, This period

runs from November 1, 1972 to early

1976, when the final evidence was being

introduced on the subject of damages

For the sake of convenience, a reasona-

ble cutoff date for the damage period

was selected —February 6, 1976. 1 find

that FLM has proved wholesale incentive

allowances withheld in the total amount

of $246,766

a-75

{1} | rejeet the contention that FILM

haus failed to show that the entire

amount of these wholesale incentive allo-

wanees would have been passed on to

PLM by the Ford dealers. Prior to the

withdrawal by Ford of the wholesale in-

centive allowances on sales to FLM,

these allowances were — consistently

passed on to FLM.! There is not the

sliyrhtest reason to believe that this prac-

tice would not have continued had it not

been for the auction of Ford in halting

the granting of the wholesale incentive

allowances on crash parts sold to FILM.

12) 1 also find no merit in Ford's eon-

tention that the amount of the award

for wholesale incentive allowances with-

held should be diminished to take inte

account alleged additional bookkeeping

costs. Ford points to the allegation of

PLM that about $46,000 was spent on

accounting services rendered to FLM jn

the present lityration, Ford assumes

quile reasonably that some peer tian of

this $46,000 relates to Une detailed re.

view of invoices and other records neces.

sury to reconstruct the amount of whole-

sile aneentive allowanees which should

have been granted during the period No-

vember 1, 1972 to February 6, 1976, and

urrues that this indicates that there

would have been additional bookkeeping

eNptses be Couleulute the wholesale in-

eontive allowanees even if allowance

claims had been handled in the normal

course of business.

of course, that the bord euler

supplying ELM with parts charged a markup

of 3%, duriny the Game the wholesale moentice

allowance was in etfect lor sales to TLM The

application of this 5% markup is described om

my earher opinion. However, there would be

he pustitication tor deduct the 4% markup

from the damage award 11M has already

puna tharkep touts supplyeny bord dealers as

the parts on which the damage award us calew

luted

Indeed the markup nas been 5%

a-76

Ford's argument is unrealistic. There

is a prreat difference between calculating

Wholesale incentive allowances in the

normal course of business and recon.

structing this calculation for the purpose

of litigation. There is no sufficient indi-

cation that FLM would have ineurred

any appreciable additional expense in or-

idler to Process the wholesale incentive

allowance chums in normal course,

For these reasons | find that FLM is

entitled to damages in the amount of

$246,766 representing wholesale incen-

tive allowances which should have been

granted,

Lost Sales

13] FILM claims that its sales were

consistently yrowing ala rapid rate until

the time that Ford denied the wholesale

incentive allowance, and that its sales

would have continued to grow at the

same rate duringg the years following the

cutoff of the wholesale incentive allows

ance, FLM eontends that this growth

Was preva rite! ty Ford's wrongdoing,

umd that camiagres should be awarded

based upon the alleged loss of growth

1 have coneluded that this cham, a

jer'e wentod by ILM, ws entirely too specu.

lative to justify an award of damages

Hlowever, PLM is entitled to damages

on on related, but some what different

Linoory As deserthed in my eurher opine

won, PLM 's sales porew steely for sever.

al yours from ils commencement of bus

ness in 1965. During the fiseal year end-

ing September 30, 1972—-the last full fis-

cal year prior to the withdrawal of the

wholesale incentive allowance - LM's

sales were $736,967. The wholesale in-

centive allowance was cut off about No-

vember 1, 1972

a-77

The economic effects of this cutoff

were felt by PLM in stages. FILM was

able to continue its growth in sales in

fixeal 197%. The sales for that year were

$79K,947. However, the severe cut in

FLM's profit margin produced a net loss

of $85,707.

Prior to 1974 both FLM and the fran-

chised Ford dealers with whom FILM

competed in the sale of crash parts yen-

erally sold these parts to the indepen-

dent repair sh ps at a 25% discount off

the sugyested retail price. Commencing

in 1974 three of FLM's competitors—

Empire Ford in Mt. Vernon, Ruckle Ford

in Yonkers, and W. H. Jackson Ford

Sales in Ossining -commenced geranting

substantially larger discounts than 25%.

Sinve

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.