Petition — Southern Concrete Co. v. United States Steel Corp.

Supreme Court brief1977

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Ruited States

- --t-

OcToBEeR TERM, 1976

Now 6 = 8564

SouTHERN CoNcCRETE COMPANY,

Petitioner,

vs.

Untrep Stares STEEL CorPoRATION,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit

Joun H. Boonr,

Suite 420 Russ Buildina

235 Montgomery Street

San Francisco, California 94104

Attorney for Petitioner

Southern Concrete Company

i

JOHN V. SKINNER, JR.

Eart B. Wirson, Jr.

SKINNER, WILSON, Bears

& STRICKLAND

1” iG Peachtree Center

Atlanta, Georgia 30303

A, Mims WiLkKINSON, Jr.

Law Orrices of A. Mims WILKINSON

1069 Spring Street, N.W.

Atlanta, Georgia 30309

Of Counsel

SS

—_———onn—n—n—n— — _ ___—a—_O_—O_— en

PERNAU -WALSH PRINTING CO. - 562 MISSION STREET - SAN FRANCISCO. CA 94105

oO

- 7

~ } a

|

® 4 ,

» | rd

Subject Index

Page

ee I Be 5 cc vccectecccsessscsécsccaces 2

I 856 os wind ee ROR H 6S 36bs bs bbb eb eOKbsO* - Ktsas 2

9 § Sr er cree eet ee 2

EY nnd od ian da ccs eae cGneleen abe Cekhaceress 3

Ee id ond i caeneennesenesesucten 4

EE ceri cu end Mane 400 en asean set eenheninks 4

I a ee

EL bs vids sb dudedebanionsds cobiene Oobeustaes 16

Reasons for granting the Wit ........ccccscccscccscccees 19

I

I FSi bo dec th kde oho kbcdsows oedtescdevasenke 19

II

The conflict among the circuit courts of appeals regard-

ing “standing” to recover damages under Section 4

a EY UD Cicanidccians ccededesecéantaces 21

III

The instant case is exceptionally suited for resolution

of the confusion surrounding Section 4 of the Clayton

TEE. cn tag GUM RRUs oes UAE NEES Mie donne eeeus 28

A.

To date this Court has only sanctioned a requirement

of causation in fact although recognizing a further

limitation by the Courts of Appeals ............. 31

B.

The duty concept has never been applied to antitrust

DT Jecusdhecdbeedks sued denatiebiaesahaenuues 32

C

Even if the duty concept is read into the Clayton Act

the opinion of the Fifth Circuit is too restrictive.. 34

D.

To date this Court has not sanctioned the concept of

proximate cause although its existence has been

IED vn 0's on. dbdnse cédee des dex inudtbuckecwas 35

CE, adic debncndanedecs sive dead ev ictdedecatenns 38

Table of Authorities Cited

Cases Pages

Ash vy. International Business Machines, Inc., 353 F.2d 491

Se Ee ED. ove vaceetbedesbaeucedaecasuedceaéde cs 23

Battle v. Liberty National Life Insurance Co., 493 F.2d 39

‘. |) te Me, EE <b oue Gua s soph ckeced Chacbsnarsenuaies 26, 28

Buckley Towers Condominium, Ine. vy. Buchwals, 533 F.2d

a ee ek Sn oo ueatbe ahd s 6anbbaes alana deete 28

Conference of Studio Unions v. Loew’s Ine., 193 F.2d 51

tS EE un Wines. sdab we We een tb eee ee emee eee 21

Congress Building Corp. v. Loew’s, Inc., 246 F.2d 587 (7th

Cir. 1957) ..... oeduenueedencbabhisedsceeatnsesedens 27

Continental Ore Co. v. Union Carbide & Carbon Corp., 370

ee Ge WE. witaomennueheeeeeuseunesianeendbaece 31

Cromar Co. v. Nuclear Materials and Equipment Corp.,

1976-2 Trade Cas. 961,073 (3rd Cir. 1976) ............ 24, 25

Daily v. Quality School Plan, Inc., 380 F.2d 484 (5th

Se SE Keccuadsdockwenksanwnss chen Gleisatnsenns 26

Fields Productions, Ine. v. United Artists Corp., 482 F.2d

1010, affirming per curiam, 318 F.Supp. 87 ........... 27

Fortner Enterprises v. United States Steel Corp., 394 U.S.

Se ED ddd ban eh UNG aads Cw ends l 065 0458 Has boss RKeR 16, 17

Harrison v. Paramount Pictures, Ine., 115 F.Supp. 312

(E.D. Pa. 1953), aff’d per curiam 211 F.2d 405 (3rd Cir.

DE K<esnab duane dhis eben enanteeehde een sdeas 24, 27

Hawaii v. Standard Oil Co., 405 U.S. 251 .............. 32, 38

In Re American Cement Corp. C-681 (1964) ............ 7

In Re Lone Star Cement Co., FTC Dkt. #8585 (1963) ... 7

In Re Martin-Marietta Co., FTC Dkt. #8280 (1961) ..... 7

In Re Mississippi River Fuel Corp., FTC Dkt. #8657

CEE. nae chains duaun Rathah ed eae k heat bl weeeeed 7

In Re Multidistrict Vehicle Air Pollution M.D.L. No. 31,

ee EE EE os éxidae Ga woken s Kale tains caaneae ld ebide as 21, 23

In Re National Portland Cement Co., FTC Dkt. +8654

(1965) ..... PONE ne RARE es SO Pr mR em OE PCR 7

In Re Texas Industries, Inc., FTC Dkt. #8656 (1965) ... 7

In Re United States Steel Corp., FTC Dkt. #8655 (1965) 4,7

International Association of Heat and Frost Insulation and

Asbestos Workers v. United Contractors Ass’n., Inc. of

Pittsburgh, Pa., 483 F.2d 384 (3rd Cir. 1973), amended

GS Fae eee CRUE GR TOE) 6 cscvcccccescccescecsss 24

Tasie or Autrsorities Crrep lil

Pages

Jeffrey v.. Southwestern Bell, 518 F.2d 1129 (5th Cir.

SED ckudcuhadnuhual oeeebacedecrseevecceauc as couss 27, 28

Karseal Corp. v. Richfield Oil Corp., 221 F.2d 358 (9th

ek SEE | -s Saccccedeuudxeukdeckecestabenncane 21, 22, 35, 36

Kauffman v. Dreyfus Fund, Inc., 434 F.2d 727 (3rd Cir.

DD | 2s so ddvaeauasnsededsensenbesecctnaseseseuess 23, 24

Kestenbaum v. Falstaff Brewing Corp., 514 F.2d 690 (5th

Gh vcel vid daee pandageaeansnnseeedeacashseeers 28

Loeb v. Eastman Kodak Co., 183 Fed. 704 (3rd Cir. 1910) 23

M. C. Manufacturing Co. v. Texas Foundries, Ine., 517

p & FF % | eter rer ane ee 28

Malamvud vy. Sinclair Oil Corp., 521 F.2d 1142 (6th Cir.

BD: -Lictbuandseeseeceaesebekeaceueenavnss 21, 23, 25, 34, 35

Melrose Realty Co., Inc. v. Loew’s, 234 F.2d 518 (3ra Cir.

i ee ee id ee eee eee cal 24, 27

Mulvey v. Samuel Goldwyn Productions, 433 F.2d 1073

PC Se ccc cckcnseeteseduuseveeeeeeewanseess 27

North Texas Producers Association v. Metzger Dairies, Inc.,

Bs £ &: 2. Ep errrrrrTT TT Tre 18

Perkins y. Standard Oil Co., 396 F.2d 809 (9th Cir. 1968),

reversed 395 U.S. 642 (1969) ........cccccccccccccees 22, 23

Perma-Life Mufflers, Inc. v. International Parts Corp.,

a i, Gh Bet SED neces jucendeeobedbnesseware 20, 31, 32

Shumate & Co. v. National Ass’n of See. Dealers, Ine., 509

- & & YF & GE er ey year 28

South Carolina Council of Milk Producers, Ine. v. Newton,

BD ae ee CU Gs PEE dno cee ccdecccedccccncbees 26

State of Alaska v. Standard Oil of California, 487 F.2d

ee Me GE, ED a ce.db'seeecckbaessnhe tenes ceaue 22, 27, 37

Steiner v. 20th Century-Fox Film Corp., 232 F.2d 190 (9th

i ditdiadehiakn 6¥de ih vob hee Sens 6eebn es ees 27

Twentieth Century Fox Film Corp. v. Samuel Goldwyn, 328

FR rrr err cr rer Tree 22, 37

U.S. v. Griffith Amusement Co., 334 U.S. 100 (1948) ..... 18

Volaseo Products Co. v. Lloyd A. Fry Roofing Co., 308

ee ee Se GO ED vs cain ce caductccbecedécvécene 25

iv TaBLE oF AUTHORITIES CITED

Constitutions | Pages

United States Constitution, Seventh Amendment ......... 3

Statutes

Clayton Act, as amended by the Robinson-Patman Act:

Bestia B uc cccccccceseéeséesseenseseeeeeseanneee 16

ate. B ..cccoscctcescsveccenaeueeneun Kin neatins une 16

RE © cccdcevcecvcsseneacuan 2, 3, 20, 21, 27, 28, 30, 31, 33

tee Fon cc cccccnccseeuceeeensesseeeeeeee 16

Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C.:

Geis Bo. cccscssvbeccesssdveaeeeeee 2, 3, 16, 17, 18, 19

Bettie B cccocvcccesecccenesseeaceuuesneasee .16, 18, 19

Texts

Bean, Antitrust: Standing And Passing On, 26 Baylor L.

Rev. (1974) :

ys ££ BT. he 23

Economie Reports On Mergers and Vertical Integration

in the Cement Industry (FTC April, 1966):

Passe GREER .. ccccseccetssscunetbaucseesueneea 7

Damen BERGER co. cccccceseguveeesenesemsseaneneaye 7

McLaughlin, Proximate Cause, 39 Harv. L. Rev. (1925) :

Fame BED. .coccccoceccccovvscsedcetecesbeecdeneer eens 38

Page BD .cccccccccsencdscctdseupensetnedesneaneel 38

Pollock, Standing to Sue, Remoteness of Injury, and The

Passing-On Doctrine, 32 Antitrust L.J. (1966):

ame © cccocccccovcccesvcsscsecokeceedennaueenneann 36

BERD DO ncccccvccccceccceds cececeunsueeneeenaneneeen 36

Prosser, Torts (4th Ed., 1971):

Section SE, we. FRSe ccccdsccccccvcscteusteauan 33, 34

LE ES Pe ee 31

Bestiom -46, wm. GEE ociccciccdsvcssshecveuseuseusen 38

Prosser, Torts (2d Ed., 1955) Section 47, p. 252 ......... 36

Restatement, Second, Torts:

Bestion 255, op. BD 6b GOB, .cccceccdccnccedveuusenes 33

Mastiom GER . .ccccccedeccvcesseeeensssee eee 38

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

Runited States

October. TERM, 1976

No.

SovuTHERN CONCRETE COMPANY,

Petitioner,

vs.

UntTep States STEEL CORPORATION,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit

Petitioner, Southern Concrete Company, Inc., prays

that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment

‘ of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth

Mireuit entered on July 19, 1976.

2

CITATION TO OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the District Court for the Northern

District of Georgia granting partial summary judg-

ment to Respondent is printed in Appendix B hereto

and is reported at 394 F.Supp. 362. The opinion of

the Court of Appeals which affirmed the judgment of

the District Court for the Northern District of

Georgia is printed in Appendix A hereto and is re-

ported at 535 F.2d 313. -

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered

on July 19, 1976. The Court of Appeals denied Peti-

tioner’s Motion for Rehearing and Motion for Re-

hearing En Banc on September 24, 1976.

THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED )

1. Whether a horizontal competitor of a recipient

of loans extended in violation of Section 1 of the

Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. 1, has standing under Section

4 of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. 15, to recover damages

caused by said violations.

2. Where a plaintiff proves an antitrust viola-

tion, causation in fact and damage, is there a further

requirement under Section 4 of the Clayton Act re-

quiring that the antitrust violation constituted a

breach of a duty owed to the plaintiff, ie., “standing”.

3

a. If there is such a requirement, is the test

one of determining the purpose of the antitrust

prohibition or one of determining the necessary

consequence of the Defendant's illegal acts.

b. If there is such a requirement and the test

is one of determining the purpose of the antitrust

prohibition, is horizontal competitor exclusion in

the market for the tied product the only purpose

of the antitrust prohibition against a credit-tie-in.

3. Where a plaintiff proves an antitrust violation,

causation in fact and damage, is there a further re-

quirement under Section 4 of the Clayton Act requir-

ing that the causation be proximate.

a. If there is such a requirement, is the test

of proximate cause correctly stated by the “tar-

get area” test, the “direct injury” test, the “area

of the economy” test, the new tests of either the

Sixth or Third Circuits or some other test.

4. Whether the issue of proximate cause should

have been submitted to the jury and, in granting the

motion for partial summary judgment, did the Trial

Court deny petitioner’s constitutional right to a trial

by jury. :

STATUTES INVOLVED

The statutory provisions involved are Section 1 of

the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. $1, Section 4 of the Clay-

ton Act, 15 U.S.C. §15 and U.S. Const. Amend. VII.

These statutes are set out in Appendix C.

4

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

INTRODUCTION

This is a private antitrust case brought by Southern

Concrete Company (a defunct Atlanta ready-mix com-

pany hereinafter referred to as “Southern”) against

United States Steel Corporation (a manufacturer of

cement for sale to ready-mix producers in Atlanta

hereinafter referred to as “U.S. Steel”) and against

Williams Brothers Concrete Company (another At-

lanta ready-mix company hereinafter referred to as

“Williams Brothers”).

The basic facts upon which this case was brought

were that U.S. Steel, stymied in its efforts at vertical

integration by enforcement by the Federal Trade

Commission vlocking vertical mergers of cement and

ready-mix companies, adopted a new technique of

vertical integration, Le., the loan of substantial sums

of money to a puppet ready-mix company (Williams

Brothers) with the understanding that Williams

Brothers would purchase its cement from U.S. Steel.’

By reason of the vast sums of money available to Wil-

liams Brothers from the deep pocket of U.S. Steel,

Williams Brothers was able to enjoy substantial ad-

vantages over its competitors, incinding petitioner

Southern Concrete Company. With the deep pocket

'1The Federal Trade Commission later held this practice illegal,

In Re United States Steel Corp., Dkt. #8655, CCH Trade Reg.

Rep. FTC Complaints, Orders & Stipulations, § 20,139.

s

5

of U.S. Steel, Williams Brothers was able to acquire

vast amounts of new equipment (trucks and plants),

hire numerous salesmen, enjoy lower costs because of

the new equipment and plants and lower interest

rates, needed less cash for debt servicing, and, with

lower costs, cut the price of ready-mix, resulting in

the elimination of many producers including South-

ern. (Appendix on Appeal, pp. 168-183).?

THE FACTS OF THE CASE

Southern was organized in 1959 as a producer of

ready-mix concrete. With an initial capitalization of

$25,000, Southern started business with a small ready-

mix concrete plant near Atlanta, Georgia. In 1961,

Southern opened a second plant in downtown Atlanta.

Southern’s business was not immediately profitable

and in early years moderate start-up losses were in-

curred. However, by 1964, Southern had turned the

corner and made a moderate profit of $2,610. In 1965,

the business was in full swing and enjoyed a profit of

$87,764 (R. 2984-2985).

The Atlanta ready-mix market in 1965 was highly

competitive with numerous small companies vying for

*Hereinafter the Appendix on Appeal wil’ be cited as “App.

p. .....”, and Plaintiff’s Exhibits not included in the Appendix on

Appeal will be cited as “PX ....... oe!

6

the available business. This competitive position is

best illustrated by the following table:

Ready-Mix*

Annual Purchases Produced

Of Cement and Sold % of

Ready-Mix Companies (in bbls.) (in cu. yds.) Market

Whitley Concrete 350,000 497,500 28

Peavy Concrete 300,000 411,000 24

MacDougal Warren 225,000 308,250 18

Southern Concrete 100,000 137,000 8

Humphries Ready-Mix 65,000 89,000 5.2

D. B. Thornton 50,000 68,500 4

Jackson’s Ready-Mix 50,000 68,500 4

East Side Lumber 35,000 47,950 2.8

Turner’s Ready-Mix 30,000 41,100 2.4

College Park Ready-Mix 25,000 34,250 2

Harralson Conerete 20,000 27,400 1.6

Total 1,250,000 1,712,500 100

*On the average 1 barrel of cement is required to produce 1.37

eubie yards of ready-mix concrete.

The situation with regard to cement producers was

equally competitive.

Cement Company Cement Sold (in bbl.) % of Market

Southern Concrete 262,500 21

Lehigh 236,250 18.9

Lone Star 215,000 17.2

Marquette 201,250 16.1

Signal Mountain 117,500 9.4

Penn-Dixie 90,000 7.2

U.S. Steel /UAC* 67,500 5.4

Giant 60,006 4.8

Total 1,250,000 1

(Calculated from App. p. 238)

*UAC refers to the Universal Atlas Cement Company, a Divi-

sion of U.S. Steel.

Unlike several other metropolitan ready-mix concrete

markets, Atlanta had not been the target of the verti-

7

cal mergers by cement companies, which over the past

several years had plagued other metropolitan ready-

mix concrete markets. See generally, Economic Re-

PORTS ON MERGERS AND VERTICAL INTEGRATION IN THE

CemENT INDustRY, pp. 91-111, 122-123 (FTC April,

1966).

The cement companies were not unaware of FTC

enforcement attacks against such mergers. See gener-

ally, In Re Martin-Marietta Co., FTC Dkt. #8280

(1961); In Re Lone Star Cement Co., FTC Dkt.

#8585 (1963); In Re American Cement Corp. C-681

(1964); In Re Mississippi River Fuel Corp., FTC

Dkt. #8657 (1965) ; In Re National Portland Cement

Co., FTC Dkt. #8654 (1965); In Re Tezas Indus-

tries, Inc., FTC Dkt. #8656 (1965); In Re United

States Steel Corp., FTC Dkt. #8655 (1965).

But, while Atlanta enjoyed the benefit of free com-

petition and, with FTC enforcement activity, was

protected from vertical integration, the seeds were

being planted which would change this market.

At the end of 1964, another small family business,

Williams Brothers Lumber Company, began seriously

planning to enter the ready-mix concrete market.

Having accumulated a small amount of capital

($100,000) and having banking connections from

which they expected to obtain another $250,000

[$60,000 unsecured but endorsed by Johr Williams

and $190,000 secured by ready-mix trucks] (App. p.

227), Williams Brothers planned to build a ready-mix

plant in Chamblee, Georgia. It was estimated that

the new plant would use approximately 75,000 barrels

8

of cement—an amount which would give them be-

tween 5.7 and 6 percent of the market. (App. p 233).°

This in itself would not have been unusual, nor

wouid the state of competition in the Atlanta market

have been changed. In a competitive market new entry

is to be expected and encouraged. But far larger

forces were at work which would dramatically change

the market.

In September, 1974, U.S. Steel received word that

Williams Brothers was contemplating a ready-mix

plant and a U.S. Steel salesman began to solicit their

business. (App. p. 268)

On December 15, 1974, the Regional Sales Manager

of U.S. Steel reported:

“Tt is our opinion the Trust Company of Georgia

ean be of definite help with this firm and we

would appreciate the Treasury Department’s as-

sistance in this area.” (App. pp. 221-222)

The next day the treasurer for U.S. Steel, David

Adams III, wrote the Trust Company of Georgia (an

Atlanta bank) requesting a good word (App. p. 223)

and on December 28, 1964, the Trust Company of

Georgia reported :

‘* . . the new operation will be operated on as

little-paid-in capital as possible and any extended

credit will be a factor in their selection of a sup-

plier.” (App. p. 225)

The sales department was quick to respond to this

situation. The next day, December 29, 1964, the Reg-

8The 1964 total market was 1,250,000 barrels. If no growth is

assumed, 75,000 barrels -- 1,250,000 = 6.0%. If a growth of

75,000 barrels in 1965 is assumed, 75,000 -- 1,325,000 = 5.66%.

9

ional Manager of Sales of U.S. Steel wrote the Gen-

eral Manager in New York:

“It might be an excellent idea for Von Bevern

and Raggio to give some thought to this to see

what could be done in the way of placing us in a

position to serve their requirements.” (App. ».

226)

Both Mr. Von Bevern and Mr. Raggio were in the

financial departments of U.S. Steel.

On January 8, 1965, the Regional Sales Manager

again asked the Treasury Department to meet with

the Williams Brothers, noting:

‘*In my opinion this is the best opportunity we

have had in a long time in the Atlanta market.

We will be the sole supplier of a ready-mixed

concrete producer which I believe will grow and

expand. I am recommending that we comply with

their request.” (App. p. 230)

At this time, the Williams Brothers were requesting

$50,000 to $75,000—the equivalent of 90 day credit

terms. (App. pp. 227-228)

The sales motivation of this transaction was not lost

on the finance people. On January 8, 1975, Mr. Von

Bevern wrote Mr. Raggio:

‘“‘T believe this will constitute a highly desirable

outlet for our new Atlanta facility [a cement

terminal] and that we should act positively and

promptly on this request.” (App. pp. 231-232)

The following proposal was suggested :

1. The Trust Company of Georgia would loan Wil-

liams Brothers $375,000, simple interest at 415%, pay-

10

able in five years, minimum payments of $50,000 with

the balance at the end of the term. (App. 235)

2. U.S. Steel would make arrangements for the

loan and would guarantee payment. “In such a man-

ner the bank would relieve Williams Brothers and the

individuals of their liability, substituting the credit

standing of U. S. Steel Corporation.” (App. p. 236)

3. U.S. Steel would receive an option to purchase

the concrete company in the event the Williams

Brothers should decide to sell the company. (App.

p. 236).

In the proposal it was made clear that the purpose

of the loan was to capture a large part of the Atlanta

ready-mix business. The president of U. S. Steel

wrote:

“This proposal is a must from a commercial and

business standpoint and represents the only pres-

ent opportunity for UAC to increase its market

participation in the expanding Atlanta market.”

(App. p. 244)

On February 23, 1965, the proposal was submitted

to the U.S. Steel Board of Directors and a resolution

was passed authorizing the transaction on either a

direct loan or a guarantee basis. (App. p. 245)

Mr. Raggio then went to Atlanta to present the

package to Williams Brothers. On March 2, 1965, Mr.

Raggio explained to the Southern Sales Manager that

while the Board of Directors had approved either a

direct loan or a guarantee, he preferred to sell the

Williams Brothers on the guarantee.

11

‘*Prior to the meeting, Mr. Raggio explained to

me his desire to sell a right of first refusal and a

fully collateralized loan of 444% with the Bank

holding all papers. We simply endorsed for the

Bank and would not be shown making any loans

to Williams Brothers, and I felt that was an

excellent idea.” (App. p. 246)

Having reached an agreement with Williams

Brothers, the papers were executed. (App. pp. 249-

257 ; 259; 267)

At this point the agreement was clear. U.S. Steel

agreed to loan money to Williams Brothers and Wil-

liams Brothers agreed to buy cement from UAC. As

Mr. Evans, an officer of the Trust Company of

Georgia, testified :

““Q. Now did any officer or employee of U.S.

Steel ever tell you why they were willing to

guarantee this $275,000 loan?

A. They were willing to do it in order to sell

cement to Williams Brothers Concrete Company.

* * ”

Q. Did anyone with Williams Brothers ever

express this information to you?

A. Yes, sir.” (App. p. 305-307) (Emphasis

added)

While this was the first illegal effort of U.S. Steel

to vertically integrate into the Atlanta market, all

that had been done was to finance a new ready-mix

competitor. If nothing else had occurred, the Atlanta

market in all probability would have continued as a

competitive market of small companies, and Peti-

12

tioner as well as several other ready-mix producers,

would still be in business.

But U.S. Steel did not stop with doubling its

cement sales. Avarice was too compelling. 75,000 bar-

rels were good but 300,000 barrels were even better.

The way was clear—more U.S. Steel investment into

the Atlanta ready-mix market. And, the vehicle had

the safety of avoiding an FTC attack because it

avoided the obviousness of vertical mergers.

As early as the time of the first loan closing, Wil-

liams Brothers had expressed their willingness to un-

dertake further expansion with U.S. Steel’s money.

(App. p. 246)

On September 9, 1965, the Southern Sales Manager

for U.S. Steel wrote a “private” memorandum to the

UAC General Sales Manager:

‘In talking with Kirby Ward the other day, he

said they were thinking of a one million dollar

plant to be built next year, and this is the amount,

I am sure, that they will be talking about when

we see them in November.

I believe it would be a good idea to discuss this

matter with Mr. Raggio in the meantime so that

he can be prepared.” (PX 43)

The plans of U.S. Steel and Williams Brothers

were worked out in the next two months, and on

November 16, 1965, the President of UAC sought

U.S. Steel’s approval of a total loan of $1,300,000.

The purpose of the loan was to sell cement.

‘*Since commencing operations on March 1965

through October, the company has purchased

13

90,000 barrels of cement. Its purchases of UAC

cement during this period amounted to 76,000 bar-

rels—approximately 85% of requirements. The

company represents a potential outlet of 200,000

to 300,000 barrels to UAC in the next three years,

with over 500,000 barrels projected within five

years.” (PX 43)

The papers were prepared and U.S. Steel guaran-

teed an $800,000 loan from the Trust Company of

Georgia at 544% for 10 years. (App. pp. 273-275;

276-283. In addition, U.S. Steel received a 10-year

right of first refusal to purchase the stock of Wil-

liams Brothers Concrete.

This investment by U.S. Steel in the Atlanta mar-

ket was unprecedented. It was to have a devastating

effect on competition as well as on competitors. No

ready-mix concrete company had ever entered the

Atlanta market with 1 and 4 million dollars backing

from a cement supplier. In the following two years,

U.S. Steel would further intensify this situation by

guaranteeing an additional loan of $100,000 at 4%

over the prime interest rate for five years. (App. pp.

286, 287-289), and by making a direct U.S. Steel

loan of $150,000 at 14% over the prime interest rate

for five years. (App. pp. 294-296)

It cannot be said that Williams Brothers could

have procured such favorable financing from other

sources. As the affidavit of Walter Dobbins, the Pres-

ident of Southern Concrete, states, most of the other

ready-mix producers were paying 12 to 14 percent

interest on their loans and were required to repay

14

their loans in a shorter period of time—generally in

less than 5 years. (App. pp. 171-173) This statement

is supported by the fact that the Trust Company of

Georgia, without a U.S. Steel guarantee, offered only

short term credit to Williams Brothers. (App. p. 284)

The effect of these loans on the growth of Williams

Brothers and on the Atlanta ready-mix concrete mar-

ket was phenomenal. The cement shipments of U.S.

Steel to Williams Brothers illustrates the growth of

Williams Brothers:

Year BBL Cement

1965 107,000

1966 266,000

1967 379,000

1968 440,000

(PX 149)

The 1968 U.S. Steel sales of cement to Williams

Brothers represented approximately 80% of their

total purchases of cement. (PX 151) In 1965, U.S.

Steel had 85% of Williams Brothers total cement pur-

chases. (PX 43, p. 2) Accordingly, the total cement

purchases and ready-mix concrete sales (assuming

80%) for Williams Brothers were:

Year Purchases (BBL)! Sold (cu yd.)?

1965 133,750 183,238

1966 332,500 455,525

1967 473,750 647,037

1968 550,000 753,500

1UAC bbl. sold X 1.25 = total cement purchased.

2Cement purchased X 1.37 = cu. yd. cement sold.

15

The evidence further indicates that the Atlanta

consumption of ready-mix was relatively stable in

the years 1964 through 1969 [1,712,500 eu. yd. in 1964

and 1,659,328 eu. yds. in 1969]. (App. p. 297) Assum-

ing a 1,700,000 cubie yard market, Williams Brothers’

percent of the available business grew as follows:

Year Market Share

1964 0%

1965 10.78%

1966 20. 8%

1967 38. 2%

1968 44. 2%

Nor was this growth the result of anything but U.S.

Steel’s money. As the U.S. Steel Administrative Vice

President and Treasurer said after infusion of

$1,225,000 in 1966:

“(t]hey still are dealing in the cement business

with other people’s money.” (App. p. 285)

In October, 1967, Mr. Raggio said Williams Broth-

ers

‘‘was securing about 40% of the Atlanta concrete

market.” (App. p. 292), and wrote:

‘‘Other major producers are unhappy over the

fact that Williams Bros. have closed most of the

important orders for the past year. The recent

price list trends reflect their attitude.” (App. p.

290)

As explained in the affidavit of Walter Dobbins,

this financing gave Williams Brothers an advantage

in both costs and cash flow which was not available

16

to other ready-mix concrete producers, (App. p. 171-

174). The ultimate effect of the U.S. Steel-Williams

Brothers relationship was that Williams Brothers,

as the price leader, was able to price other ready-mix

concrete producers out of the market. As a result,

Southern and several other concrete producers were

forced out of the market.

THE LITIGATION

On the preceding facts it was obvious that the heart

of Petitioner’s case was the tying arrangement viola-

tive of Section | of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. $1,

as this Court declared in Fortner Enterprises v.

United States Steel Corp., 394 U.S. 495 (1969).

Southern also charged the defendants with a viola-

tion of Section 7 of the Clayton Act (because of U.S.

Steel’s right of first refusal to purchase Williams

Brothers Conerete), Section 3 of the Clayton Act (ex-

clusive dealing arrangement), Section 2 of the Clay-

ton Act, as amended, by the Robinson-Patman Act

(discrimination), Section 2 of the Sherman Act (at-

tempt and conspiracy to monopolize and monopoliza-

tion) and Section 1 of the Sherman Act (exclusive

dealing and reciprocity). Southern settled its claims

‘against Williams Brothers and an order of dismissal

was subsequently entered.

Prior to trial U.S. Steel made a motion for partial

summary judgment which the District Court granted

insofar as Southern’s claims of tying, reciprocal deal-

17

ing and exclusive dealing were concerned.* This ruling

of the District Court fatally crippled Petitioner’s case;

yet, because of the final order rule Southern Concrete

was forced to trial. As a result of the partial summary

judgment, the jury was never informed during the

course of the trial that if they found that U.S. Steel

had sufficient economic power with respect to credit

to appreciably restrain free competition in the sale of

ready-mix cement and if a not insubstantial amount

of interstate commerce was affected, then the loans

of U.S. Steel to Williams Brothers, on the under-

standing that Williams Bros. purchase cement from

U.S. Steel, were per se illegal and in violation of

Section 1 of the Sherman Act. As this Court said

in Fortner Enterprises v. U.S, Steel Corp., 394 US.

495 (1969) :

**. . . Although money is a fungible commodity—

like wheat or, for that matter, unfinished steel—

credit markets, like other markets, are often im-

perfect, and it is easy to see how a big company

with vast sums of money in its treasury could

wield very substantial power in a credit market.

Where this is true, tie-ins involving credit can

cause all the evils that the antitrust laws have

always been intended to prevent, crippling other

companies that are equally, if not more, efficient

in producing their own products. . . .” 394 U.S.

at 509.

4The District Court also dismissed Petitioner’s Section 7 of the

Clayton Act claim, holding the right of first refusal did not con-

stitute a merger or acquisition. Southern did not press this claim

nor the claim of Robinson-Patman discrimination.

18

Equally important, the jury, without the knowledge

that U.S. Steel’s credit tie was per se illegal, was

denied an important aid in determining whether U.S.

Steel had the requisite intent to violate Section 2 of

the Sherman Act. As this Court said in U.S. v. @rif-

fith Amusement Co., 334 U.S. 100, 106 (1948):

‘*[A Defendant] usually does not violate Section

2 of the Sherman Act unless he has acquired or

maintained his strategic position, or sought to

expand his monopoly, or expanded it by means

of those restraints of trade which are cognizable

under Section 1. For those things which are

eondemned by Section 2 are in large measure

merely the end products of conduct which vio-

lates Section 1.”

Similarly, the Fifth Circuit has held that evidence

that a defendant dairy cooperative association had

engaged in boycotts illegal under Section 1 of the

Sherman Act was evidence from which a jury could

find an attempt to monopolize in violation of Section

2 of the Sherman Act. North Texas Producers As-

sociation v. Metzger Dairies, Inc., 348 F.2d 189 (5th

Cir. 1965).

In moving for partial summary judgment, U.S.

Steel assumed, arguendo, that its practices with re-

gard to the loans of money to Williams Brothers

were violations of Section 1 of the Sherman Act as

illegal tying or reciprocal dealing arrangements. Nev-

ertheless, the District Court held as a matter of law

that only competitors of U.S. Steel in the sale of

cement, or Williams Brothers, had standing to sue

for damages sustained as a result of the illegal credit

19

tie. This ruling cut the heart out of the both South-

ern’s Section 1 case and the Section 2 case. Conse-

quently, Southern had to proceed to trial and the jury

returned the verdict for U.S. Steel.

Southern then appealed the partial summary judg-

ment to the Fifth Cireuit Court of Appeals. The

Fifth Circuit affirmed the District Court and in

doing so affirmed a rule which is contrary to the

rule in other circuits and which will seriously under-

mine the effectiveness of private enforcement of the

antitrust laws. According to the rule adopted by the

Fifth Cireuit in this case, a private plaintiff must

not only show that he is within the sector of the

economy in which there was a threatened breakdown

of competitive conditions, but also that each specific

antitrust prohibition has as an intended purpose which

is the prevention of the type of injury sustained by

the plaintiff. This result obtains because the Court

went on to hold that the Petitioner lacked standing

because the only reason for the prohibition against

tying arrangements was the exclusion of other cement

sellers and protection of the tied buyer.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I

SUMMARY

By holding as a matter of law that Southern

lacked standing to recover damages sustained because

of U.S. Steel’s use of a credit tie to create a puppet

competitor, the Court of Appeals has seriously

20

threatened the effectiveness of the private action as

a vital means for enforcing the antitrust policy of

the United States.

In a similar situation this Court said:

“Because these rulings by the Court of Appeals

[holding in pari delicto a defense to a private

action] seemed to threaten the effectiveness of the

private action as a vital means for enforcing

the antitrust policy of the United States, we

granted certiorari.” Perma-Life Mufflers, Inc. v.

International Parts Corp., 392 U. 8S. 134, 136

(1968).

The rule of standing adopted in the instant case

goes far beyond the requirements imposed by any

other Circuit Court decision. If unreviewed, this de-

cision will create a dangerous anomaly in the law,

confusingly conflicting with opinions of other Courts

and of this Court, and it will be an open invitation to

the predatory use of deep pocket vertical integration

through the flagrant implementation of the credit tie.

This case arises in the context of a credit tie, an

issue which this Court has now pending for considera-

tion in Fortner Enterprises, Inc. v. United &tates

Steel Corp., Dkt. No. 75-853. It also raises two issues

of importance from the standpoint of effective anti-

trust enforcement. These issues are:

1. Is there a “duty” concept inherent in See-

tion 4 of the Clayton Act and, if so, what is it?

2. Is there a “‘proximate cause” concept in-

herent in Section 4 of the Clayton Act and, if so,

what is it?

21

Both concepts mentioned above have resulted in ex-

treme confusion and conflict among the Circuit Courts

of Appeals. In a recent opinion, Malamud v. Sinclair

Oil Corp., 521 F.2d 1142 (6th Cir. 1975), the Sixth

Circuit noted :

‘‘The question of a party’s standing to sue under

Section 4 of the Clayton Act has been and con-

tinues to be troublesome to the courts.” 521 F.2d

at 1146.

II

THE CONFLICT AMONG THE CIRCUIT COURTS OF APPEALS

REGARDING “STANDING” TO RECOVER DAMAGES UNDER

SECTION 4 OF THE CLAYTON ACT

The ‘‘troublesome nature” of the questions raised

by this petition for certiorari has resulted in confus-

ing conflicts between the Circuits and in some cases

within the Circuits. To cite some examples:

In the Ninth Circwt: There appears to be a test,

sometimes referred to as the ‘‘target area” test, which

is expressed in the following language:

‘‘He must show that he is within that area of

the economy which is endangered by a breakdown

of competitive conditions in a particular indus-

try.” Conference of Studio Unions v, Loew’s

Inc., 193 F.2d 51, 54-55 (9th Cir. 1951). See also

In re Multidistrict Vehicle Air Pollution, M.D.L.

No. 31, 481 F.2d 122, 127-8 (9th Cir. 1973).

In Karseal Corp. v. Richfield Oil Corp., 221 F.2d

358 (9th Cir. 1955), the Court said,

22

U.S. 1, 5-6, 78 S.Ct. 514, 2 L.Ed.2d 545 (1958). The

seller uses his leverage in the market for the tying

product in order to gain an advantage in the tied

murket. Id. Thus, the buyer is “coerced” into agree-

ing to take a product he does not want in order to

obtain an article he desires, United States v. Loew’s,

Ine., 371 U.S. 38, 45, 83 S.Ct. 97, 9 L.Ed.2d 11 (1962) ;

and the result is that competing sellers in the tied

market are “foreclosed” by the tie-in and competition

“on the merits” in the tied product is prevented. Id.;

Times Picayune Publishing Co. v. United States, 345

U.S. 594, 605, 73 S.Ct. 872, 97 L.Ed. 1277 (1953).°

Thus, the Supreme Court cases make clear that the

area of the economy in which a tying arrangement

threatens a breakdown of competitive conditions is

the market for the tied product and that those who

would be proximately injured by such an arrangement

would be the purchasers® of the tied product and the

sellers of the tied product in competition with the

seller who imposes the tie-in, Similarly, where

in an exclusive dealing arrangement a party binds

himself to purchase a product only from a cer-

tain seller, he is foreclosed from obtaining the

product at a lower price or of higher quality from

other sellers. Thus, competition as to the product is

threatened and the purchaser and other sellers of the

5In Fortner Enterprises v. United States Steel Corp., 394 U.S.

495, 89 S.Ct. 1252, 22 L.Ed.2d 495 (1969), the Supreme Court

held that an extension of credit by a subsidiary of a manufactur-

ing company conditioned on the borrower’s promise to purchase

the product of the parent company could amount to an illegal

tie-in.

®See note 13, infra.

23

product are injured. A similar analysis applied to a

reciprocal dealing arrangement leads to a conclusion

that purchasers of the products which are the subject

of the arrangement and the competitors for the sale

of such products are the injured parties and competi-

tion as to such products is foreclosed.

[6] In the instant case, the tying arrangement’

was the extension of direct and indirect loans (the

tying product) by U.S.S. to Williams Brothers con-

ditioned on the purchase from U.S.S. of cement (the

tied product) by Williams Brothers.’ Similarly, the

challenged reciprocal dealing arrangement’ involves

U.S.S.’s guaranteeing of a loan and/or U.S.S.’s pro-

viding the services of Mr. Millhouse to Williams

Brothers in return for purchase of cement by Wil-

liams Brothers from U.S.S. The exclusive dealing

violation’® arises from the sale of cement on the condi-

7For purposes of this motion U.S.S. assumes arguendo that the

arrangement as to credit and cement purchases from U.S.S. by

Williams Brothers could be termed a tying, exclusive dealing, or

reciprocal dealing arrangement and that it is a violation of the

antitrust laws. "The court’s reference to a tying, exclusive dealing

or reciprocal dealing arrangement between these defendants is

not, of course, a finding or conclusion that the arrangements

between these defendants were such or violated the antitrust laws.

8See Counterstatement of Material Facts in plaintiff’s brief in

opposition at page 9: “. . . UAC was in full agreement with

U.S.S.’s proposed ‘tying arrangement’ to secure 2 captive Atlanta

market for sale of UAC’s cement product. . . .” (Emphasis

added.) It is important to note that in all the briefs submitted

in connection with the motion, the parties assume that cement

and ready-mix concrete are not one and the same, ie. that they

are not interchangeable, and that sellers of cement are not in

competition with sellers of ready-mixed concrete. Thus, the rel-

evant market for cement sales differs from the relevant market

for ready-mixed concrete sales.

®See note 7, supra.

10See note 7, supra.

24

tion or understanding that the purchaser of cement

would not use or deal in the cement of any other

cement producer. In each of these arrangements the

tied product or the product which is the subject of

the agreement is cement. Thus, the area of the econ-

omy threatened with a breakdown of competitive

conditions is cement sales and those who could claim

to be proximately injured by such arrangements by

U.S.S8. are purchasers" of cement from U.S.S. pur-

suant to such an arrangement or competitors of

U.S.S. in cement sales. Since plaintiff nowhere de-

nies the assertions in U.S.S.’s Statement or Material

Facts” that it did not purchase cement from U.S.S.

during the relevant statute of limitations period,"

and that it was never a seller of cement, as distin-

guished from ready-mixed concrete, in competition

with U.S.S./U.A.C., the court finds that it does not

compete in the area of the economy which would be

threatened with a breakdown of competitive condi-

11S¢e note 13, infra.

12Pursuant to Local Court R. 91.72 “[a]ll material facts set

forth in the statement required to be served by the moving party

will be deemed to be admitted unless controverted by the state-

ment required to be served by the opposing party.” We do not

rely solely on the failure of Southern to controvert these asser-

tions, however, as its brief makes clear that it does not contend

that it purchased, directly or indirectly, cement from U.S.S./

U.A.C. during the statute of limitations period, or that it was a

manufacturer or seller of cement at any time.

13Since Southern does not allege that it was either a direct or

indirect purchase of cement from U.S.S./U.A.C., the issue of

whether an indirect purchaser, that is, a purchaser of the product

at a subsequent level in the chain of distribution may recover

for the alleged violations asserted herein is not presented. As a

result, we need not and do not decide herein whether such indi-

rect purchasers could claim to be proximately injured “by rea-

son of” antitrust violations such as the one here in question.

25

tions by the challenged arrangements, cement sales,

and further, finds that it would not be proximately

injured by such arrangements. Thus, applying the

test utilized in the Fifth Circuit to determine whether

a party can allege to be injured “by reason of” an

antitrust violation, and thus has standing to claim

damages pursuant to §4 of the Clayton Act for such

antitrust violation, we find that Southern does not

have standing to seek damages on account of the al-

leged tying, reciprocal dealing or exclusive dealing

arrangements between U.S.S./U.A.C. and Williams

Brothers with respect to U.S.S./U.A.C.’s sale of ce-

ment to Williams Brothers.

[7] We reject the contention made by plaintiff

that the question of causation is necessarily a ques-

tion of fact which cannot be decided on a motion for

summary judgment and must be submitted to the

jury. Plaintiff’s assertions of injury in its brief are

general allegations of injury due to an alleged con-

spiracy between U.S.S. and Williams Brothers to re-

strain trade in and to monopolize the ready-mixed

concrete market; it makes no attempt to specify in-

juries to it due to the alleged tying, exclusive dealing

or reciprocal dealing arrangements. Further, as noted

above, plaintiff has made no attempt to show that it

was a seller of cement or a purchaser of cement from

U.S.S./U.A.C. This fails to satisfy the burden im-

posed on a party opposing summary judgment. Rule

56(e), Fed.R.Civ.P. As stated in First Nat’l Bank v.

Cities Service Co., supra:

To the extent that petitioner’s burden-of-proof

argument can be interpreted to suggest that Rule

26

56(e) should, in effect, be read out of antitrust

cases and permit plaintiffs to get to a jury on the

basis of the allegations of their complaints, cou-

pled with the hope that something can be devel-

oped at trial in-the way of evidence to support

those allegations, we decline to accept it. While

we recognize the importance of preserving liti-

gants’ rights to a trial on their claims, we are

not prepared to extend those rights to the point

of requiring that anyone who files an antitrust

complaint setting forth a valid cause of action be

entitled to a full-dress trial notwithstanding the

absence of any significant probative evidence

tending to support the complaint.

Id. 391 U.S. at 289-90, 88 S.Ct. at 1593.

[8] The court also rejects plaintiff’s contention

that in Terrell III, supra, the Fifth Cireuit Court of

Appeals expanded the class of protected private plain-

tiffs by holding that a private right of action under

§ 4 of the Clayton Act should be recognized when the

plaintiff makes a mere showing that defendants’ al-

leged violation of the antitrust laws had “materially

contributed” to plaintiff’s injuries. The Terrell III

opinion involved an appeal by the defendant from

a trial on damages. Earlier in the action the district

court judge, after a jury verdict in plaintiff’s favor,

had entered judgment on the verdict against this de-

fendant and judgment notwithstanding the verdict

in favor of the individual defendants. On defendant’s

(first) appeal a majority of the original panel in the

Court of Appeals vacated the judgment against the

defendant and remanded the case for a new trial.

Household Goods Carriers’ Bureau v. Terrell, 417

27

F.2d 47 (5th Cir. 1969). Upon rehearing en bane, a

majority of the Court affirmed the district court’s

judgment against the defendant, but reversed for a

new trial on the issue of damages. Household Goods

Carriers’ Bureau v. Terrell, 452 F.2d 152 (5th Cir.

1971) (en banc). In Terrell III the panel reviewed

this subsequent trial on damages. That it did not in-

tend to set forth a new test on standing nor deal with

causation in fact is made perfectly clear in the Ter-

rell III opinion; the Court emphasized that “the en

banc decision establishing liability finally adjudicated

the issue of causation” and that “the decision of this

court sitting en bane at an earlier stage of this same

case represents the law of the case.” 494 F.2d at 19.

The Terrell III Court was thus concerned with the

measure of proof as to amount of damages rather

than causation. As stated in Story Parchment Co. v.

Paterson Parchment Paper Co., 282 U.S. 555, 562, 51

S.Ct. 248, 250, 75 L.Ed. 544 (1931) (and quoted in

Terrell III):

[T]here is a clear distinction between the meas-

ure of proof necessary to establish the fact that

petitioner had sustained some damage and the

measure of proof necessary to enable the jury to

fix the amount. The rule which precludes recov-

ery of uncertain damages applies to such as are

not the certain result of the wrong, not to those

damages which are definitely attributable to the

wrong and only uncertain in respect of their

amount. (Emphasis added.)

See also Shumate & Co. v. National Ass’n of Securi-

ties Dealers, Inc., 509 F.2d 147, 153 (5th Cir. 1975)

28

(“although [the Court is] generally lenient as to evi-

dence required to show the amount of damages in an-

titrust matters once liability is determined, courts do

not permit the fact of damage necessary to prove

liability to be based on speculation.”); Hobart Bros.

Co. v. Maleolm T. Gilliland, Ine., 471 F.2d 894, 901-02

(5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 412 U.S. 923, 93 S.Ct.

2736, 37 L.Ed.2d 150.

The court’s conclusion is that plaintiff does not have

standing to claim damages on account of the tying,

exclusive dealing or reciprocal dealing arrangements

between U.S.S./U.A.C.; it is not a ruling on admissi-

bility of evidence with respect to claims which are not

foreclosed by this order, for example, the alleged con-

spiracy to restrain trade in or to monopolize the

ready-mixed concrete and cement markets. Cf. Conti-

nental Ore Co. v. Union Carbide & Carbon Corp., 370

U.S. 690, 82 S.Ct. i404, 8 L.Ed.2d 777 (1962). Rul-

ings on admissibility of evidence as distinguished

from sufficiencies of claims, is best reserved for trial.

We hold that plaintiff lacks standing under § 4 of

the Clayton Act to recover damages “by reason of”

the alleged tying, exclusive dealing or reciprocal deal-

ing arrangements between defendants U.S.S. and Wil-

liam Brothers. To that extent, this portion of the mo-

tion for partial summary judgment is granted.

B. Alleged Conspiracy to Attempt to Monopolize

[9] U.S.S. further seeks partial summary judg-

ment on the ground that Southern cannot assert the

claims that U.S.S. has violated §2 of the Sherman

- — + mer ge SR ET FS

29

Act, by engaging in a “conspiracy to attempt to mo-

nopolize” the production and sale of both cement and

ready-mixed concrete for the reason that such does

not assert a violation of any law. Plaintiff opposes

this portion of the summary judgment motion con-

tending that its charged violation, “conspiracy to at-

tempt to monopolize,” is within the Congressional

intention of §2 of the Sherman Act and that the

violation is distinguishable from the charge of attempt

to monopolize in that it does not require the showing

of specific intent, but, rather is established upon com-

mission of predatory acts pursuant to the alleged

conspiracy to monopolize.

Section 2 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. § 2, pro-

vides :

Every person who shall monopolize, or attempt

to monopolize, or combine and conspire with any

other person or persons, to monopolize any part

of the trade or commerce among the several

States, or with foreign nations, shall be deemed

guilty of a misdemeanor, and, on conviction

thereof, shall be punished by fine not exceeding

fifty thousand dollars, or by imprisonment not

exceeding one year, or both said punishments,

in the discretion of the court.

The court agrees with defendant U.S.S. that three

distinct offenses are to be found in this provision: (1)

monopolization, (2) attempt to monopolize, and (3)

combination or conspiracy to monopolize. Plaintiff’s

contention that in United States v. Dunham Concrete

Prod., Inc., 501 F.2d 80 (5th Cir. 1974), the Fifth

Cireuit Court of Appeals recognized the crime of a

30

conspiracy to attempt to monopolize “by failing to

hold that its inclusion in the lower Court’s charges

to a jury was reversible error” is totally without

merit. Dunham involved an appeal from an order

granting a new trial pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2255.

The court held that the submission to the jury of a

form for recording their verdict’* which listed as sep-

arate counts “Conspiracy to attempt to monopolize

in violation of Section 2 of the Sherman Act” and

“Conspiracy to attempt to extort”, which form had

been prepared by counsel for defendant, did not

warrant relief from judgment pursuant to § 2255. Aec-

cordingly, it reversed the trial court as to this por-

tion of its order. The Court’s reversal was not based

on a finding that there is a separate crime of “con-

spiracy to attempt to monopolize” in § 2 of the Sher-

man Act. It was based on the finding that the “error

in wording of this form for recording the verdict did

not contribute to [the] conviction.” Jd. at 84 (empha-

sis added).’® It further mentioned that when Govern-

ment counsel objected to the form, “[u]naccountably”

the court adopted it as presented and sent it out with

the jury. There is nothing in the opinion to suggest

14]t is clear from the opinion that the phrase “conspiracy to

attempt to . . .” appeared twice on the form for recording the

jury verdict; the charges to the jury were not the subject of the

appeal.

15The Court stated that “ iracy to attempt to monopolize”

could have only four conceivable meanings: (A) conspiracy to

monopolize, (B) conspiracy to fail to monopolize, (C) attempt

to monepolize and (D) attempt to fail to monopolize. Since mean-

ings B and D are “nonsense” and since the jury had been unable

to agree as to the count which charged a iracy to monop-

olize (meaning A), the Court construed the verdict as finding an

attempt to monopolize. 7d. at 84.

31

that a separate offense exists for “conspiracy to at-

tempt to monopolize”; the entire opinion indicates

that no such crime exists.

Accordingly, insofar as U.S.S. seeks partial sum-

mary judgment on the claim that it conspired to at-

tempt to monopolize the production and sale of cement

or ready-mixed concrete in any geographic market,

the motion is granted.

C. Alleged Acquisition of Stock or Assets

U.S.S. seeks summary judgment in its favor as to

Southern’s claim for damages for an alleged violation

of §7 of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. § 18. The acqui-

sition complained of is alleged to be the “acquisition”

of Williams Brothers by U.S.S. The latter seeks

summary judgment on this issue based on the allega-

tions that it has never pwrchased, possessed, or other-

wise acquired a single share of stock in Williams and

that it has never purchased, possessed or otherwise

acquired any asset of Williams. See U.S.S.’s State-

ment of Material Facts, No. 15 and 16. It argues that

plaintiff’s contention that the right of first refusal as

to Williams Brothers’ stock granted to U.S.S. and

exercisable in the event of default on a loan made by

Trust Company of Georgia to Williams Brothers and

guaranteed by U.S.S., amounts to an “acquisition” of

stock and assets is insufficient as a matter of law.

U.S.S. further contends that even if viewed as an

‘‘acquisition” within the meaning of § 7 of the Clayton

Act, plaintiff was not, and could not, have been dam-

aged by such arrangement.

32

Plaintiff opposes this portion of the motion with

the following contentions:

1. The circumstances surrounding the vertical fi-

nancing and business arrangement existing

between U.S.S. and Williams Brothers were tan-

tamount to vertical integration (a supplier’s ac-

quisition of its customer) and as such indicate a

probability that U.S.S. used and will continue to

use its dominant guarantor’s position as lever-

age to put pressure upon the debtor to substan-

tially lessen competition in the Portland cement

and ready-mixed concrete industries in the rele-

vant geographic markets.

2. This vertical arrangement afforded Williams

Brothers decisive cost advantages in these mar-

kets over its nonintegrated competition, such as

Southern in the purchase of the costliest con-

crete ingredient, Portland cement, which advan-

tages when passed on in the form of lower con-

erete prices to consumers resulted in prices

lower than Southern’s costs, ultimately forced

Southern out of business in October, 1969.

It contends that U.S.S.’s “undue influence” over Wil-

liams Brothers of the “collateral security option to

purchase Williams Brothers’ outstanding stock” is an

“acquisition” within the meaning of §7. It argues

that this arrangement is ipso facto violative of § 7,

but if the court is “not disposed” to enter such a

determination, it is “critical” that the term “acquisi-

tion”, as used in § 7, “encompasses such coercive loan

arrangements and its anticompetitiveness is reserved

8 AR ORS REET) TR EI eR) Te Or

33

for jury deliberation.” Plaintiff stresses that “sum-

mary judgment is manifestly inappropirate on the is-

sues of intent and state of mind necessarily raised

by inquiry into the circumstances surrounding the

creation and operation of this vertical combination.”

Both parties to this motion rely on Metro-Goldwyn-

Mayer v. Transamerica Corp., 303 F.Supp. 1344 (S.D.

N.Y.1969) (hereinafter “MGM”) in support of their

contentions.

[10] Section 7 of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. § 18,

provides, in pertinent part:

No corporation engaged in commerce shall ac-

quire, directly or indirectly, the whole or part of

the stock or other share capital and no corpora-

tion subject to the jurisdiction of the Federal

Trade Commission shall acquire the whole or any

part of the assets of another corporation engaged

also in commerce in any section of the country,

the effect of such acquisition may be substan-

tially to lessen competition, or to tend to create

a monopoly. ...

There can be a claim for money damages, pursuant

to § 4 of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. § 15, for a viola-

tion of §7 of the Clayton Act. Dailey v. Quality

School Plan, Ine., supra; Gottesman v. General Mo-

tors Corp., 414 F.2d 956, 961 (2d Cir. 1969). See

Minnesota Mining & Mfg. Co. v. New Jersey Wood

Finishing Co., 381 U.S. 381, 85 S.Ct. 1473, 14 L.Ed.

2d 405 (1965).

fll, 12] A claim for damages for violation of

§7 presents the questions of whether there has heen

an acquisition of stock or assets within the meaning

34

of §7; if so, whether plaintiff can claim damages on

account of such acquisition; what is the appropriate

section of the country; and whether there is a reason-

able probability of a substantial lessening of compe-

tition. Where there is no “acquisition” of stock or

assets, therefore, the other questions need not be an-

swered and a claim for damages will not lie. See

infra, at note 7 and accompanying text. The words

“acquire” and “assets” are not terms of art or tech-

nical legal language; they are generic, imprecise terms

encompassing a broad spectrum of transactions

whereby the acquiring party may accomplish the ac-

quisition by means of purchase, assignment, lease,

license, or other otherwise. United States v. Colum-

bia Pictures Corp., 189 F.Supp. 153, 181-82 (S.D.

N.Y. 1960).

In the instant case it is not in dispute that in 1965

and 1966 the Trust Company of Georgia (TCG)

granted three loans to Williams Brothers. U.S.S.

agreed with TCG that it would guarantee repayment

of the loan in the event of default by Williams

Brothers. These guarantees were secured by the right

of first refusal to purchase stock of Williams Broth-

ers, a right which was to remain effect only while

there were outstanding balances on the loans.'* Two

of the loans have been repaid in full by Williams

Brothers; and thus, the right of first refusal in the

event of default on these loans no longer exists. The

16.8.8. explains in its brief in support of its motion for par-

tial summary judgment that the option to purchase stock would

come into play only if Williams Brothers notified U.S.S. that a

third party had offered to buy the Williams Brothers’ stock.

35

guarantee with respect to the third loan has been

withdrawn by U.S.S. See U.S.S.’s Statement of Ma-

terial Facts, No. 11, 12, 13 and 14.

[13] It is clear that the right of first refusal in

the event of default was never exercised and will

never be exercised because such right is now non-

existent. Thus, U.S.S. never possessed, in any mean-

ingful sense of the word, the stock of Williams Broth-

ers. The court finds that characterizing the right of

first refusal for the purchase of stock granted to a

guarantor of a loan furnished by a third party as an

“acquisition” within the purview of §7 of the Clay-

ton Act stretches the language of this section to ab-

surd lengths and, further, that such characterization

could have serious deleterious effects on the commer-

cial transactions of corporations and lending insti-

tutions.

As both parties rely to some extent on MGM, supra,

a short discussion of that opinion and a comparison

to the situation here involved is appropriate. In the

MGM case plaintiff M.G.M. sought to enjoin the

defendants from proceeding with a cash tender offer

by Tracy Investment Company for M.G.M. stock. 303

F.Supp. at 1346. The cash tender offer was being

financed by Transamerica Financial Corporation,

whose parent corporation Transamerica Corporation,

owned 99.6% of United Artists Corporation, a major

competitor of M.G.M. The court found that the ac-

quisition by the Transamerica-United Artists group

of working control of M.G.M. stock “would violate”

§7 of the Clayton Act, 303 F.Supp. at 1348 (em-

36

who is only incidentally injured by a violation of

the antitrust laws,—the bystander who was hit

but not aimed at—cannot recover against the

violator.” (emphasis added) 221 F.2d at 363

The rules of proximate cause as developed in tort law

are based on concepts of intervening cause, super-

seding cause and foreseebility.

“*Proximate cause’ or ‘legal cause’ is the name

given to the limitation which the courts have

been compelled to place, as a practical necessity,

upon the actor’s responsibility for the conse-

quences of his conduct. The limitation is nearly

always a matter of various considerations of pol-

icy which have nothing to do with the fact of

causation. The tendency of the courts to state

these considerations in terms of causation often

obscures the real issue involved.” Prosser, Torts,

§ 47 p. 252 (2nd Ed. 1955).

A similar justification has been given for the “stand-

ing” rules in antitrust.

“Tnstead of being merely a collection of technical

rules and doctrines, ‘standing’ is basically the

device by which a court determines whether the

harm alleged by the plaintiff is of a type which

is—or ought to be—entitled to judicial protec-

tion. After all, the chain of causation extends

indefinitely from a given act; and once that chain

is traced the real problem is determining the

point where the chain should be cut off—where

the line should be drawn—in imposing liabil-

ity.” Pollock, Standing To Sue, Remoteness of

Injury, and ‘The Passing-On Doctrine, 32 Anti-

trust L.J. 5, 9 (1966).

37

In application this test means nothing more than

that a plaintiff’s injuries (assuming causation in fact)

were foreseen or foreseeable. In Twentieth Century

Fox Film Corp. v. Samuel Goldwyn, 328 F.2d 190

(9th Cir. 1964), the test was expressed as follows:

“(T]he plaintiff must show that whether or not

then known to the conspirators, plaintiff’s af-

fected operation was actually in the area which

it could reasonably be foreseen would be affected

by the conspiracy.” (emphasis added) 328 F.2d

at 220.

Similarly, in the Western Liquid Asphalt Cases,

the Ninth Circuit applied the foreseeability test in

the following language:

“We think that appellants here are clearly

within the area of the economy which appellees

reasonably could have or did foresee would be

endangered by the breakdown of competitive con-

ditions.” State of Alaska v. Standard Oil of Cali-

fornia, 487 F.2d i391, 199 (9th Cir, 1973).

This test is substantially the same as that prevalent

in the general tort law of proximate cause where,

assuming causation in fact, the rule has been that a

defendant is responsible for all foreseeable conse-

quences of its action. This is true whether there is a

foreseeable intervening cause or not.

An intervening force has been defined as follows:

“An intervening foree is a foree which is

neither operating in the defendant’s presence,

nor at the place where the defendant’s act takes

effect at the time of the defendant’s act, but

38

comes into effective operation at or before the

time of damage.” McLaughlin, Proximate Cause,

39 Harv. L. Rev. 149,159 (1925).

“An intervening force is one which actively op-

erates in producing harm to another after the

actor’s negligent act or omission has been com-

mitted.” RESTATEMENT, SECOND, Torts, § 441.

“An intervening cause is one which comes into

active operation in producing the result after the

negligence of the defendant.” Prosser, Torts § 44

p. 271 (4th Ed. 1971)

While this Court recognized the limitations by the

Circuit Courts in Hawaii v. Standard Oil Co., 405

U.S. 251, 263, n.14, and this Court may well wish to

impose a requirement of proximate cause, effective

antitrust policy suggests the conflicts among the Cir-

cuits be resolved in favor of the foreseeability analy-

Sis as the most appropriate test for standing.

CONCLUSION

The instant petition presents this Court with an

opportunity to clarify and strengthen the nation’s

antitrust policy by bringing certainty to an area in

which the Circuit Courts have floundered for years.

This case presents the range of possible solutions and

it arises in a context which could well be affected by

this Court’s decisions in Fortner Enterprises, Inc. v.

United States Steel Corp., Dkt. No. 75-853, Bruns-

wick Corporation v. Pueblo Bowl-O-Mat, Inc., Dkt.

No. 75-904 and Tilinois Brick Co. v. State of Illinois,

Dkt. No. 76-404.

39

For all the reasons stated above, Petitioner respect-

fully requests that the Writ of Certiorari issue.

Dated, December 17, 1976.

JOHN H. Boone,

Attorney for Petitioner

Southern Concrete Company

JOHN V. SKINNER, JR.

Eart B. WILson, JR.

SKINNER, WILSON,

BEALs & STRICKLAND

A. Mims WILKINSON, JR.

Law Orrices oF A. Mims WILKINSON

Of Counsel

(Appendices Follow)

| APPENDICES

Appendix A

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit.

.

Southern Concrete Company,

Plaintiff-A ppellant,

vs. . No.

75-2987

United States Stee] Corporation,

Defendant- Appellee. ;

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Georgia

Before: GewiIn and AINSworRTH, Circuit Judges,

and Markey,* Chief Judge.

Gewin, Circuit Judge:

In this private antitrust suit Southern Concrete

Company, plaintiff below, appeals from a partial

grant of summary judgment in favor of defendant-

appellee United States Steel Corporation. From the

late 1950’s until 1969 appellant Southern Concrete

was engaged in the manufacture and sale of ready-

mix concrete in the Atlanta metropolitan area; it is

now defunct. Appellee United States Steel Corpora-

tion, through its Universal Atlas Cemew? Division

(hereinafter United States Steel), is a supplier of

cement, a major ingredient of ready-mix concrete, in

*Of the U. S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals, sitting

by designation.

2

the Atlanta area. In 1965 the principals of Williams

Brothers Lumber Company, a building supplies busi-

ness, decided to enter the expanding ready-mix con-

erete business in Atlanta. Upon learning this, United

States Steel contacted Williams Brothers to solicit

its business.

Thereafter, on three occasions from 1965 through

1967, an Atlanta bank, Trust Company of Georgia,

loaned over $1.25 million to Williams Brothers on

favorable terms; United States Steel agreed to serve

as guarantor on each of Williams Brothers’ three

notes to the bank. These loan guarantees were secured

by rights of first refusal to purchase the stock of Wil-

liams Brothers. These rights of first refusal remained

in effect only while there were outstanding balances

on the loans, Williams Brothers repaid each of the

three loans, and United States Steel never acquired

or purchased any Williams Brothers’ stock. In addi-

tion, on one occasion in 1969 United States Steel made

a direct loan to Williams Brothers, which the latter

repaid. Williams Brothers bought almost all of its

cement requirements from United States Steel. South-

ern Concrete did not purchase any cement from

United States Steel within the period here involved

and never manufactured or sold cement in competi-

tion with United States Steel. Williams Brothers’ ce-

ment business prospered and expanded; Southern

Concrete, on the other hand, went out of business in

1969.

In 1971 Southern Concrete instituted this antitrust

action against both United States Steel and Williams

3

Brothers,’ at whose feet Southern Concrete would lay

the blame for its demise. The favorable financing

which United States Steel had been able to arrange,

Southern Concrete contended, had enabled Williams

Brothers to undersell its competitors and force them

out of business. The complaint set forth a plethora

of alleged antitrust violations’? by the two defendants

including the following, the only claims involved in

this appeal: ;

1. A tying arrangement violative of section 1 of

the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1. Southern Con-

erete alleged that United States Steel had

granted lean guarantees (the alleged tying prod-

uct) to Williams Brothers conditioned upon

Williams Brothers’ agreement to purchase ce-

ment (the alleged tied product).®

1Southern Concrete settled its claim against Williams Brothers

on March 28, 1975, and an order dismissing Williams Brothers ©

was subsequently entered.

2—Discriminatory sales of cement to Williams Brothers; conspir-

acy to restrain trade in the production and sale of cement; con-

spiracy to restrain trade in the production and sale of ready-mix

concrete; conspiracy to attempt to monopolize the production and

sale of both cement and concrete in three separate geographic

markets (the Atlanta area, the state of Georgia, and the south-

eastern United States), each constituting a distinct antitrust viola-

tion; conspiracy to monopolize production and sale of both cement

and ready-mix concrete in the three market areas; attempt to mo-

nopolize the production and sale of both cement and ready-mix

concrete in the three market areas; and an achieved monopoly in

the production and sale of both cement and ready-mix concrete in

the three market areas. :

83See Fortner Enterprises v. United States Steel Corp., 394 U.S.

495, 89 S.Ct. 1252, 22 L.Ed.2d 495 (1969). In Fortner the Su-

preme Court found that the defendants, United States Steel and

its wholly-owned subsidiary had engaged in an unlawful tying

arrangement; the subsidiary had extended credit for purchasing

land (the “tying product”) on the condition that the steel com-

pany’s prefabricated homes (the “tied product”) be purchased for

use on the land. Fortner, however, did not alter the requirements

for standing to challenge an alleged tying agreement.

4

2. An exclusive dealing arrangement violative of

section 3 of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. §14.

Southern Concrete asserted that United States

Steel had sold cement to Williams Brothers on

the condition that Williams Brothers purchase

all its cement requirements from United States

Steel.

3. A reciprocal dealing arrangement violative of

section 1 of the Sherman Act. Southern Concrete

alleged that United States Steel had agreed to

guarantee loans to Williams Brothers if the lat-

ter would agree to purchase cement.

4. A reciprocal dealing arrangement violative of

section 1 of the Sherman Act. Southern Con-

crete alleged that United States Steel had agreed

to provide Williams Brothers the services of one

of its employees (a cement technician), if Wil-

liams Brothers would provide United States

Steel with storage facilities.

After more than three years of discovery, United

States Steel moved for partial summary judgment

with respect to some of the claims asserted by South-

ern Concrete including, inter alia, the four aforemen-

tioned alleged violations of section 1 of the Sherman

Act and section 3 of the Clayton Act. For purposes

of this motion, and on this appeal, United States Steel

assumes arguendo that the alleged violations had oe-

curred; it argues, however, that Southern Concrete

lacks standing under the provisions of section 4 of

5

the Clayton Act to assert these four claims. The trial

court agreed and granted the motion for partial sum-

mary judgment on these claims. The exhaustive opin-

ion of the district court is reported at 394 F.Supp. 362

(N.D.Ga.1975). On the bulk. of its claims, however,

Southern Concrete had a jury trial. After a trial last-

ing approximately three weeks, the jury found in

favor of United States Steel and against Southern

Concrete on every issue.* Southern Concrete has not

appealed from the adverse jury findings. Rather, the

only issue before us on this appeal is whether the

court erred in granting United States Steel’s motion

for summary judgment on the four claims of recip-

‘The case was submitted to the jury by way of special interrog-

atories. The jury found:

1. That United States Steel did not engage in a contract,

combination, or conspiracy to restrain interstate trade in vio-

lation of Section 1 of the Sherman Act;

2. That United States Steel did not monopolize the manv-

facture, sale, and distribution of cement in the Atlanta metro-

politan area in violation of Section 2 of the Sherman Act;

3. That United States Steel did not attempt to monopolize

the manufacture, sale, and distribution of cement in the At-

lanta metropolitan area in violation of Section 2 of the Sher-

man Act;

4. That United States Steel did not combine or conspire to

monopolize the manufacture, sale, and distribution of cement

in the Atlanta metropolitan area in violation of Section 2 of

the Sherman Act;

5. That United States Steel did not monopolize the manufac-

ture, sale, and distribution of ready-mix concrete in the At-

lanta metropolitan area in violation of Section 2 of the Sher-

man Act;

6. That United States Steel did not attempt to monopolize

the manufacture, sale, and distribution of ready-mix concrete

in the Atlanta metropolitan area in violation of Section 2 of

the Sherman Act; ;

7. That United States Steel did not conspire to monopolize

the manufacture, sale, and distribution of ready-mix concrete

in the Atlanta metropolitan area in violation of Section 2 of

the Sherman Act.

6

rocal dealings, exclusive dealings, and a tying arrange-

ment. We affirm.

[1] Section 4 of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. § 15

provides:

Any person who shall be injured in his business

or property by reason of anything forbidden in

the antitrust laws may sue therefor in any dis-

trict court of the United States...

Although the statute contains no language of limita-

tion, the Supreme Court has recognized that

[t]he lower courts have been virtually unanimous

in concluding that Congress did not intend the

antitrust laws to provide a remedy in damages

for all injuries that might conceivably be traced

to an antitrust violation.

Hawai v. Standard Oil Co., 405 U.S. 251, 263, 92

S.Ct. 885, 891, 31 L.Ed.2d 184, 193 n, 14 (1973) (cita-

tions omitted). To establish that he has been injured

“by reason of” an antitrust violation within the mean-

ing of section 4, the private antitrust plaintiff must

show that he was within the “target area” of the al-

leged violation. That is, he must “show himself within

the sector of economy in which the violation threat-

enc i a breakdown of competitive conditions.” Jeffrey

v. Southwestern Bell, 518 F.2d 1129 (5th Cir. 1975) ;

Battle v. Liberty Nat’l Life Ins. Co., 493 F.2d 39, 49

(5th Cir, 1974), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 1110, 95 S.Ct.

784, 42 L.Ed.2d 807 (1975); Dailey v. Quality School

Plan, Inc., 380 F.2d 484, 487 (5th Cir, 1967).

7

[2,3] To determine whether a particular plaintiff

meets the “target area” test for standing, it is neces-

sary to examine the nature of the specific antitrust

violations of which he complains and to ascertain

what areas of the economy would be affected thereby.

Southern Concrete alleged a tying agreement and

reciprocal dealings violative of Section 1 of the Sher-

man Act, and exclusive dealings violative of Section

3 of the Clayton Act. A tying arrangement is “an

agreement by a party to sell one product but only on

the condition that the buyer also purchases a different

(or tied) product... .” Northern Pac. Ry. v. United

States, 356 U.S. 1, 5, 78 S.Ct. 514, 518, 2 L.Ed.2d 545,

550 (1958). The evil inherent in an illegal tie-in “is

the fact that the agreement or the effect thereof less-

ens competition in the tied product.” David R. Mc-

George Car Co. v. Leyland Motor Sales, Inc., 504 F.

2d 52, 58 (4th Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 420 U.S, 992,

95 S.Ct. 1430, 43 L.Ed.2d 674 (1975). See also Times

Picayune Publishing Co. v. United States, 345 U.S.

594, 614, 73 S.Ct. 872, 883, 97 L.Ed. 1277, 1293 (1953)

(“The common core of the adjudicated unlawful tying

arrangement is the forced purchase of a second dis-

tinct commodity with the desired purchase of a domi-

nant ‘tying’ product, resulting in economic harm to

competition in the ‘tied’ market.”) (emphasis added) ;

Wendkos v. ABC Consol. Corp., 379 F.Supp. 15, 17

(E.D.Pa.1974). The anti-competitive effects of tying

agreements are two-fold: “they may force [the party

subject to the tie] into giving up the purchase of sub-

stitutes for the tied product, ... and they may de-

8

stroy the free access of competing suppliers of the

tied product to the consuming market.” United States

v. Loew’s, Inc., 371 U.S. 38, 45, 83 S.Ct. 97, 102, 9

L.Ed.2d 11, 18 (1962). Consequently, the area of the

economy threatened with a breakdown of competitive

conditions because of a tying agreement is the market

for the tied product; and those who will be proxi-

‘ately injured thereby—in addition to the party sub-

ject to the tie—are competitors in the tied product.

[4] In the case before us the alleged “tied” prod-

uct is cement, which Williams Brothers was purport-

edly forced to buy from United States Steel. Southern

Concrete did not sell cement; it sold ready-mix con-

crete. Moreover, Southern Concrete did not purchase

cement from United States Steel. Thus, even if there

did exist a tying agreement obligating Williams

Brothers to buy cement from United States Steel, it

neither restricted the market for Southern Concrete’s

product, ready-mix concrete, nor confined Southern

Concrete’s sources of supply for cement.

In Holleb & Co. v. Produce Terminal Cold Storage

Co., 5 CCH Trade Reg. Rep. 160,346 (N.D.II1.1975),

the court confronted an analogous situation. Holleb,

a distributor of frozen foods, alleged that Produce

Terminal, a competing distributor, had engaged in an

illegal tying agreement by refusing to purchase the

products of a frozen food producer that did not store

its products in Produce Terminal’s public frozen food

warehouse facilities (the “tied product”). The court

found no evidence of a tying agreement, but con-

cluded that even if such an agreement did exist,

9

‘‘it would not be an agreement of which the plain-

tiff could complain. . . . Were plaintiff engaged

in the business of frozen food warehousing, it could

complain of such an agreement, if it existed.” Id. at

66,921. By the same token, had Southern Concrete

been in the cement business and had the market for

its product been restricted because a potential cus-

tomer was required by a tying agreement to purchase

all its cement requirements from a competitor, South-

ern Concrete might well have been injured “by rea-

son of” the agreement within the meaning of Section

4; however, that simply is not the case.

[5, 6] This same type of analysis can be applied

to the other types of antitrust violations alleged by

Southern Concrete: reciprocal dealing and exclusive

dealing. “Reciprocal dealing” generally involves the

use of buying power to secure an advantage in the

sale of one’s products, W. L. Gore & Assoc. v. Carlisle

Corp., 381 F.Supp. 680, 702 (D.Del.1974), or an

inter se agreement to purchase from each other be-

tween two parties who stand on equal footing with

reference to purchasing power, United States v. Gen-

eral Dynamics Corp., 258 F.Supp. 36, 59 (S.D.N.Y.

1966). It has been identified by the Supreme Court

as an anticompetitive practice. FTC v. Consolidated

Foods Corp., 380 U.S. 592, 594, 85 S.Ct. 1220, 1221, 14

L.Ed.2d 95, 97 (1965). The evil attendant upon this

practice is the foreclosure of markets to competitors

through the use of purchasing power. United States

», Airco, Inc., 386 F.Supp. 915, 917 (S.D.N.Y.1974).

The first reciprocal dealing arrangement alleged by

10

Southern Concrete involved Williams Brothers’ pur-

chase of cement in exchange for United States Steel’s

loan guarantees; the second involved Williams Broth-

ers’ providing the steel company with storage facil-

ities in exchange for the services of a cement techni-

cian. Southern Concrete dealt in none of the goods

or services subject to the alleged reciproce’ dealing

agreements. Consequently, even assuming the exis-

tence of such agreements, the market for no Southern

Concrete products was affected as a result thereof,

and Southern Concrete could not have suffered injury

thereby.

[7] Southern Conecrete’s claim of an exclusive

dealing arrangement stands on no better footing.

Under section 3 of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. § 14, it

is unlawful to require a purchaser not to deal with

others as a condition of dealing with the seller. The

obvious vice of such an arrangement is that it both

restricts the purchaser from looking elsewhere for a

more competitive source of supply and excludes the

supplier’s competitors from the purchaser’s business.

In this case Southern Concrete is neither the pur-

chaser subject to this alleged arrangement nor a

competitor of the supplier, United States Steel.

‘*Standing to sue under § 3 of the Clayton Act has not

been extended to those who are neither competitors

of the alleged violating supplier nor themselves re-

tricted purchasers.” Thomas v. Amerada Hess Corp.,

393 F.Supp. 58, 76 (M.D.Pa.1975).

[8, 9] Lastly, throughout this proceeding South-

ern Concrete has failed to specify what injuries, if

11

any, it suffered as a result of the violations alleged. As

the court below recognized, instead of setting forth

“specific facts” in compliance with F.R.C.P. 56(e),

Southern Concrete chose to rely upon

. general allegations of injury due to the

alleged conspiracy between U.8.S. and Williams

Brothers to restrain trade in and to monopolize

the ready-mix concrete market [making} no at-

tempt to specify injuries to it due to the alleged

tying, exclusive dealing or reciprocal dealing

arrangements.

394 F.Supp. at 370. Rather than coming forward with

credible evidence to support its allegation of injury

—the sine qua non for stating a cause of action by

a private antitrust plaintiff, Shumate & Co. v. Na-

tional Ass’n of Sec. Dealers, Inc., 509 F.2d 147, 152

(5th Cir. 1975)—Southern Concrete chose to rely on

the statement by the Supreme Court in Poller vy,

Columbia Broadcasting System, Inc., 368 U.S. 464,

473, 82 S.Ct. 486, 491, 7 L.Ed.2d 458, 464 (1962), that

summary disposition is not favored in antitrust cases.

In Poller the Court was considering charges of con-

spiracy to restrain trade; such charges normally re-

quire proof of specific intent and necessitate trial.

There is no such requirement of proof with regard

to the alleged antitrust violations involved in this

appeal. Capital Temporaries, Inc. of Hartford v.

Olsten Corp., 506 F.2d 658, 667 (2d Cir. 1974). South-

ern Concrete may not “bootstrap [its] hollow claim

of an anticompetitive effect into a triable issue by

relying on” Poller. Conigho v. Highwood Services,

Inc., 495 F.2d 1286, 1292 (2d Cir. 1974), cert. denied,

12

419 U.S. 1022, 95 S.Ct. 498, 42 L.Ed.2d 296 (1974).

Mere conclusory allegations of an antitrust violation

will not suffice to defeat a motion for summary judg-

ment. Solomon v. Houston Corrugated Box Co., Inc.,

526 F.2d 389 (5th Cir. 1976).° ©

AFFIRMED.

5We feel it appropriate to state that this is not the usual sum-

mary judgment case. When the partial summary judgment was

granted there had been extensive discovery and the facts were well

established, as will be seen by reference to the opinion of the dis-

trict court.

13

Appendix B

United States District Court

N. D. Georgia,

Atlanta Division

Civ. A. No. 15378.

Southern Concrete Co.

vs.

United States Steel Corporation, et al.

March 31, 1975

ORDER

RicHarD C. FREEMAN, District Judge.

This private antitrust action was instituted by

plaintiff Southern Concrete Company (hereinafter

“Southern”), a now-defunct subsidiary of Southern

Products Company. From the late 1950’s until Oc-

tober, 1969, plaintiff was engaged in the production

and sale of ready-mixed concrete in the Atlanta area.

The action is brought against United States Steel

Corporation (hereinafter “U.S.S.”) which, through

its Universal Atlas Cement Division (hereinafter

“U.A.C.”), is a major supplier of portland cement,

one of the ingredients of ready-mixed concrete, and

14

against Williams Brothers Concrete, Inc. (hereinafter

“Williams Brothers”), a producer of ready-mixed

concrete in the Atlanta area.’ The action has been

submitted to the court on the motion of U.S.S. for

partial summary judgment; on its motion to strike

the affidavit of Walter B. Dobbins, which affidavit

was submitted with the brief in opposition to the mo-

tion for partial summary judgment; and on U.S.S.’s

second motion for partial summary judgment. In this

order the court will rule on U.S.S.’s first motion for

partial summary judgment and on its motion to

strike. An order on the second motion for partial

summary judgment will be issued forthwith.

I. MOTION FOR PARTIAL

SUMMARY JUDGMENT

U.S.S. seeks summary judgment as to the following

issues for the reasons indicated: (1) Southern lacks

standing under the provisions of §4 of the Clayton

Act, 15 U.S.C. § 15, to assert the claim that U.S.S.

has violated §1 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. $1,

by engaging in an illegal tying arrangement where

the granting of a loan guarantee (the alleged tying

product) to Williams Brothers’ was conditioned upon

Williams Brothers’ agreement to purchase cement

(the alleged tied product) from U.A.C.; (2) Southern

lacks standing under § 4 of the Clayton Act to assert

the claim that U.S.S. and Williams Brothers have

1The complaint also named Gifford-Hill & Company, Inc. as a

defendant. Pursuant to a consent stipulation filed on December 26,

1973, that party was given until thirty days after final judgment

and final decision on any appeal therefrom as to U.S.S. and Wil-

liams Brothers to respond to the amended complaint.

15

violated §1 of the Sherman Act by engaging in re-

ciprocal dealings wherein U.S.S. agreed to supply a

loan guarantee to Williams Brothers if the latter

would agree to purchase cement from U.A.C.; (3)

Southern lacks standing under §4 of the Clayton

Act to assert the claim that U.S.S. violated § 3 of the

Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. § 14, by selling cement to Wil-

liams Brothers on the condition that Williams Broth-

ers not use or deal in the cement of any other cement

producer; (4) Southern lacks standing under the pro-

visions of §4 of the Clayton Act to assert the claim

that U.S.S. and Williams Brothers have violated §1

of the Sherman Act by engaging in reciprocal deal-

ings wherein Williams Brothers agreed to provide

storage facilities to U.S.S. if U.S.S. would agree to

provide the services of one Roy Millhouse to Williams

Brothers; (5) Southern cannot assert the claims that

U.S.S. has violated § 2 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C.

§ 2, by engaging in a “conspiracy to attempt to mo-

nopolize” the production and sale of both cement and

ready-mixed concrete in any geographic market for

the reason that such does not assert a violation of

any law; (6) U.S.S. has not violated §7 of the Clay-

ton Act, 15 U.S.C. §18, by aequiring the stock or

assets of Williams Brothers since it is undisputed

that U.S.S. has never acquired any stock or assets

of Williams; (7) U.S.S. has made no discriminatory

sales to Williams in violation of §2 of the Clayton

Act, as amended by the Robinson-Patman Act, 15

U.S.C. §13(a), since Southern has at no relevant

time purchased cement from U.S.8.; and, (8) U.S.S.

cannot have violated §2 of the Sherman Act by (a)

16

monopolizing and (b) attempting to monopolize the

production and sale of ready-mixed concrete for the

reason that it would be impossible as a matter of law

for U.S.S. to be found to have attempted to monopo-

lize or to have monopolized a product which it nei-

ther manufactures nor sells. In compliance with Local

Court R. 91.1 and 91.72, U.S.S. has filed a brief in

support of its motion and a separate short statement

of the material facts as to which it contends there is

no genuine issue to be tried. It has also attached to

the motion two affidavits in support thereof.

In response plaintiff has filed a lengthy brief in

opposition to the granting of any portion of the

motion for partial summary judgment. This brief in-

cludes a counterstatement of facts necessary to de-

termine the issues presented by the motion. The

affidavit of Walter B. Dobbins was filed several days

later “for use as evidence” in opposition to U.S.S.’s

motion for partial summary judgment.

[1] Included in plaintiff’s brief in opposition to

the partial summary judgment motion is an extensive

dissertation on the “judicial standards governing ser-

iatim summary dispositions sought by the instant

motion.” It has cited extensive case law for the fol-

lowing propositions: (1) summary judgment is to be

very carefully employed when a jury trial has been

requested; (2) the court must construe all allegations

in the light most favorable to the opposing party,

(3) summary judgment should not be granted if

there are conflicting inferences from the uncontested

facts, (4) on a motion for summary judgment the

17

court can only decide if there are issues to be decided,

and (5) the moving party must shoulder the burden

to establish the absence of genuine material facts. The

court agrees with these propositions* and is aware of

the requirements of Rule 56, the heavy burden on the

movant, and the importance of a jury trial. However,

the court also agrees with the assertion of U.S.S. that

summary judgment can be appropriate as to claims

under the antitrust laws, and that the burden im-

posed on the moving party by Rule 56(¢)* applies to

parties seeking relief under the antitrust laws as well

as any other civil action. First Nat’l Bank v. Cities

Service Co., 391 U.S. 253, 290, 88 S.Ct. 1575, 20 L.Ed.

2d 569 (1968). See also Searer v. West Michigan

Telecasters, Inc., 381 F.Supp. 634 (W.D.Mich.1974).

2With respect to the proposition that the court can only decide

if there are issues to be decided, plaintiff’s brief stresses that if

the court determines on a motion for summary judgment that

material issues of fact exist, it cannot decide the fact issues at

that time, even if the adverse party is unlikely to prevail at trial

as to that issue. We agree. As Rule 56(d), Fed. R.Civ P. itself

makes clear, however, if on a motion for summary judgment

under Rule 56 judgment is not rendered upon the whole case

or for all the relief asked and a trial is necessary, the court

shall if practicable, ascertain what material facts exist without

substantial dispute; upon the trial of the action the facts so speci-

fied are deemed established.

Rule 56(e) provides, in pertinent part:

When a motion for summary judgment is made and sup-

ported as provided in this rule, an adverse party may not

rest upon the mere allegations or denials his pleading,

but his response, by affidavits or as otherwise provided in

this rule, must set forth specific facts showing that there is

a genuine issue for trial. If he does not so respond, sum-

mary judgment if appropriate shall be entered against him.

18

A. Claims as to Illegal Tying Arrangements,

Reciprocal Dealings, and Exclusive Deal-

ings between Defendants U.S.S. and Williams

Brothers

U.S.S. contends that Southern cannot assert a claim

for damages on account of tying arrangements re-

ciprocal dealings or exclusive dealing arrangements

between U.S.S. and Williams Brothers pursuant to

§4 of the Clayton Act because it is not within the

limited class of persons who could raise such a claim.

U.S.S. contends that the only persons who could raise

such a claim are the competitors of U.S.S./U.A.C.

and the customers of U.S.8S./U.A.C. which are sub-

ject to the alleged restraint. It contends that there is

no dispute that U.S.S., through U.A.C., is a producer

and supplier of cement and has sold, and does sell,

cement to Williams Brothers; that U.A.C. has never

produced or sold ready-mixed concrete in competition

with Southern; that Southern has never manufac-

tured or sold cement in competition with U.A.C.; and

that Southern has not purchased cement from U.A.C.

within the period of limitations. See U.S.S.’s State-

ment of Material Facts, No. 1, 3, 4, 5, 10. U.S.S.

further contends that plaintiff could not have been

“injured in his business or property by reason of”

these alleged violations within the meaning of § 4 of the

Clayton Act. It sets forth the main test or standards

used by the various Courts of Appeals to determine

whether a particular action or claim may be asserted

under 44 and asserts that Southern cannot pursue

these claims against U.S.S. under these tests.

19

Southern contends that whether or not the tying,

exclusive dealing and reciprocal dealing arrangements

of defendants “were a substantial factor in causing

damages” claimed by plaintiff is a question of fact

and, thus, not susceptible to summary disposition. It

argues that §4 of the Clayton Act is to be given a

liberal construction and that it is within the “zone

of protected interests”* contemplated by that section.

It defines the interests which it seeks to protect as

follows:

its rights to purchase gray Portland cement and

other ready-mixed concrete ingredients, along

with the services incidental to the purchase of

these goods; and thereby to produce and sell

ready-mixed concrete in a market unaffected by

unlawful restraints.

Plaintiff argues, that in Terrell v. Household Goods

Carriers’ Bureau, 494 F.2d 16, 20 (5th Cir. 1974)

(hereinafter “Terrell III”), the Fifth Circuit Court

of Appeals expanded the class of protected private

plaintiffs by holding that a private right of action

under § 4 of the Clayton Act should be recognized

when the plaintiff makes a mere showing that defend-

ant’s alieged violation of the antitrust laws had

“materially contributed” to plaintiff’s injuries. Plain-

tiff further contends that it is within the sector of

the economy threatened hy defendant’s practices,

which area he seeks to define as the production and

sale of ready-mixed concrete in the Atlanta Metro-

politan market area.

4See Association of Data Processing Service Organizations, Inc.

v. Camp, 397 U.S. 150, 90 S.Ct. 827, 25 L.Ed.2d 184 (1970).

20

[2-4] Section 4 of the Clayton Act authorizes a

private plaintiff to sue for injuries sustained as a

consequence of an antitrust violation. Battle v. Lib-

erty Nat’l Life Ins. Co., 493 F.2d 39, 48 (5th Cir.

1974). This section provides:

Any person who shall be injured in his busi-

ness or property by reason of anything forbidden

in the antitrust laws may sue therefor in any

district court of the United States in the district

in which the defendant resides or is found or has

an agent, without respect to the amount in con-

troversy, and shall recover threefold the damages

by him sustained, and the cost of suit, including

a reasonable attorney’s fee. (Emphasis added.)

By the terms of §4, therefore, two criteria must be

satisfied before standing is established: the plaintiff

must show that he has suffered injury to “business or

property” and he must show that his injuries were

incurred “by reason of” the defendant’s illegal ac-

tivities. Battle v. Liberty Nat’l Life Ins. Co., supra;

In re Multidistrict Vehicle Air Pollution M.D.L. 31,

481 F.2d 122, 126 (9th Cir. 1973). And see Dailey v.

Quality School Plan, Inc., 380 F.2d 484, 487 (5th Cir.

1967). While § 4 is to be accorded a liberal construc-

tion, see Mandeville Island Farms, Inc. v. American

Crystal Sugar Co., 334 U.S. 219, 68 S.Ct. 996, 92

L.Ed. 1328 (1948), it does not accord a right of

action to every person who may have felt some

“ripple effect” of the violation. Billy Baxter v. Coca

Cola Co., 431 F.2d 183, 187 (2d Cir. 1970). The Su-

preme Court has acknowledged that the lower federal

courts have been virtually unanimous in concluding

21

that Congress did not intend the antitrust laws to

provide a remedy in damages for all injuries that

might conceivably be traced to an antitrust violation.

Hawaii v. Standard Oil Co., 405 U.S. 251, 262 n. 14,

92 S.Ct. 885, 31 L.Ed.2d 184 (1972). In In re Multi-

district Vehicle Air Pollution M.D.L. 31, supra, the

various limitations employed by the Courts of Ap-

peals are set forth. We need not apply each of those

tests to the claims addressed by this portion of the

summary judgment motion; in this circuit a plaintiff

who asserts that he has suffered injuries “by reason

of” the defendants’ illegal activities must show that

he is “within the sector of the economy in which the

violation threatened a breakdown of competitive con-

ditions and that he was proximately injured there-

by.” Battle v. Liberty Nat’l Life Ins. Co., supra at

49; Dailey v. Quality School Plan, Ins. supra at 487

quoting South Carolina Council of Milk Producers,

Ine. v. Newton, 360 F.2d 414 (4th Cir. 1966).

[5] Clearly, to determine the sector of ‘the econ-

omy in which an antitrust violation threatened a

breakdown of competitive conditions and to determine

who can be considered to be proximately injured by

an antitrust violation, the court must look to the

nature of the antitrust violation itself. A tying

arrangement may be defined as an agreement by

a party to sell one’s product but only on the

condition that the buyer also purchase a different

(or tied) product, or at least agrees that he

will not purchase that product from any other sup-

plier. Northern Pac. Ry. Co. v. United States, 356

22

U.S. 1, 5-6, 78 S.Ct. 514, 2 L.Ed.2d 545 (1958). The

seller uses his leverage in the market for the tying

product in order to gain an advantage in the tied

market. Jd. Thus, the buyer is “coerced” into agree-

ing to take a product he does not want in order to

obtain an article he desires, United States v. Loew’s,

Inc., 371 U.S. 38, 45, 83 S.Ct. 97, 9 L.Ed.2d 11 (1962) ;

and the result is that competing sellers in the tied

market are “foreclosed” by the tie-in and competition

“on the merits” in the tied product is prevented. Id.;

Times Picayune Publishing Co. v. United States, 345

U.S. 594, 605, 73 S.Ct. 872, 97 L.Ed. 1277 (1953).°

Thus, the Supreme Court cases make clear that the

area of the economy in which a tying arrangement

threatens a breakdown of competitive conditions is

the market for the tied product and that those who

would be proximately injured by such an arrangement

would be the purchasers® of the tied product and the

sellers of the tied product in competition with the

seller who imposes the tie-in. Similarly, where

in an exclusive dealing arrangement a party binds

himself to purchase a product only from a cer-

tain seller, he is foreclosed from obtaining the

product at a lower price or of higher quality from

other sellers. Thus, competition as to the product is

threatened and the purchaser and other sellers of the

5In Fortner Enterprises v. United States Steel Corp., 394 U.S.

495, 89 S.Ct. 1252, 22 L.Ed.2d 495 (1969), the Supreme Court

held that an extension of credit by a subsidiary of a manufactur-

ing company conditioned on the borrower’s promise to purchase

the product of the parent company could amount to an illegal

tie-in.

6See note 13, infra.

eS

23

product are injured. A similar analysis applied to a

reciprocal dealing arrangement leads to a conclusion

that purchasers of the products which are the subjec:

of the arrangement and the competitors for the sale

of such products are the injured parties and competi-

tion as to such products is foreclosed.

[6] In the instant case, the tying arrangement’

was the extension of direct and indirect loans (the

tying product) by U.S.S. to Williams Brothers con-

ditioned on the purchase from U.S.S. of cement (the

tied product) by Williams Brothers.* Similarly, the

challenged reciprocal dealing arrangement’ involves

U.S.S.’s guaranteeing of a loan and/or U.S.S.’s pro-

viding the services of Mr. Millhouse to Williams

Brothers in return for purchase of cement by Wil-

liams Brothers from U.S.S. The exclusive dealing

violation’® arises from the sale of cement on the condi-

7For purposes of this motion U.S.S. assumes arguendo that the

arrangement as to credit and cement purchases from U.S.S. by

Williams Brothers could be termed a tying, exclusive dealing, or

reciprocal dealing arrangement and that it is a violation of the

antitrust laws. The court’s reference to a tying, exclusive dealing

or reciprocal dealing arrangement between these defendants is

not, of course, a finding or conclusion that the arrangements

between these defendants were such or violated the antitrust laws.

8See Counterstatement of Material Facts in plaintiff’s brief in

opposition at page 9: “. . . UAC ©» im full agreement with

U.S.S.’s proposed ‘tying arrangement’ » secure a captive Atlanta

market for sale of UAC’s cement product. . . .” (Emphasis

added.) It is important to note that in all the briefs submitted

in connection with the motion, the parties assume that cement

and ready-mix concrete are not one and the same, i.e. that they

are not interchangeable, and that sellers of cement are not in

competition with sellers of ready-mixed concrete. Thus, the rel-

evant market for cement sales differs from the relevant market

for ready-mixed concrete sales.

®See note 7, supra.

10See note 7, supra.

24

tion or understanding that the purchaser of cement

would not use or deal in the cement of any other

cement producer. In each of these arrangements the

tied product or the product which is the subject of

the agreement is cement. Thus, the area of the econ-

omy threatened with a breakdown of competitive

conditions is cement sales and those who could claim

to be proximately injured by such arrangements by

U.S.S8. are purchasers’ of cement from U.S.S. pur-

suant to such an arrangement or competitors of

U.S.S. in cement sales. Since plaintiff nowhere de-

nies the assertions in U.S.S.’s Statement or Material

Facts’® that it did not purchase cement from U.S.S.

during the relevant statute of limitations period,"

and that it was never a seller of cement, as distin-

guished from ready-mixed concrete, in competition

with U.S.8S./U.A.C., the court finds that it does not

compete in the area of the economy which would be

threatened with a breakdown of competitive condi-

11S¢e note 13, infra.

12Pursuant to Local Court R. 91.72 “[a]ll material facts set

forth in the statement required to be served by the moving party

will be deemed to be admitted unless controverted by the state-

ment required to be served by the opposing party.” We do not

rely solely on the failure of Southern to controvert these asser-

tions, however, as its brief makes clear that it does not contend

that it purchased, directly or indirectly, cement from U.S.S./

U.A.C. during the statute of limitations period, or that it was a

manufacturer or seller of cement at any time.

18Since Southern does not allege that it was either a direct or

indirect purchase of cement from U.S.S./U.A.C., the issue of

whether an indirect purchaser, that is, a purchaser of the product

at a subsequent level in the chain of distribution may recover

for the alleged violations asserted herein is not presented. As a

result, we need not and do not decide herein whether such indi-

rect purchasers could claim to be proximately injured “by rea-

son of” antitrust violations such as the one here in question.

25

tions by the challenged arrangements, cement sales,

and further, finds that it would not be proximately

injured by such arrangements. Thus, applying the

test utilized in the Fifth Circuit to determine whether

a party can allege to be injured “by reason of” an

antitrust violation, and thus has standing to claim

damages pursuant to § 4 of the Clayton Act for such

antitrust violation, we find that Southern does not

have standing to seek damages on account of the al-

leged tying, reciprocal dealing or exclusive dealing

arrangements between U.S.S./U.A.C. and Williams

Brothers with respect to U.S.S./U.A.C.’s sale of ce-

ment to Williams Brothers.

[7] We reject the contention made by plaintiff

that the question of causation is necessarily a ques-

tion of fact which cannot be decided on a motion for

summary judgment and must be submitted to the

jury. Plaintiff’s assertions of injury in its brief are

general allegations of injury due to an alleged con-

spiracy between U.S.S. and Williams Brothers to re-

strain trade in and to monopolize the ready-mixed

concrete market; it makes no attempt to specify in-

juries to it due to the alleged tying, exclusive dealing

or reciprocal dealing arrangements. Further, as noted

above, plaintiff has made no attempt to show that it

was a seller of cement or a purchaser of cement from

U.S.S./U.A.C. This fails to satisfy the burden im-

posed on a party opposing summary judgment. Rule

56(e), Fed.R.Civ.P. As stated in First Nat’] Bank v.

Cities Service Co., supra:

To the extent that petitioner’s burden-of-proof

argument can be interpreted to suggest that Rule

26

56(e) should, in effect, be read out of antitrust

cases and permit plaintiffs to get to a jury on the

basis of the allegations of their complaints, cou-

pled with the hope that something can be devel-

oped at trial in the way of evidence to support

those allegations, we decline to accept it. While

we recognize the importance of preserving liti-

gants’ rights to a trial on their claims, we are

not prepared to extend those rights to the point

of requiring that anyone who files an antitrust

complaint setting forth a valid cause of action be

entitled to a full-dress trial notwithstanding the

absence of any significant probative evidence

tending to support the complaint.

Id. 391 U.S. at 289-90, 88 S.Ct. at 1593.

[8] The court also rejects plaintiff’s contention

that in Terrell III, supra, the Fifth Circuit Court of

Appeals expanded the class of protected private plain-

tiffs by holding that a private right of action under

§ 4 of the Clayton Act should be recognize’1 when the

plaintiff makes a mere showing that defendants’ al-

leged violation of the antitrust laws had “materially

contributed” to plaintiff’s injuries. The Terrell III

opinion involved an appeal by the defendant from

a trial on damages. Earlier in the action the district

court judge, after a jury verdict in plaintiff’s favor,

had entered judgment on the verdict against this de-

fendant and judgment notwithstanding the verdict

in favor of the individual defendants. On defendant’s

(first) appeal a majority of the original panel in the

Court of Appeals vacated the judgment against the

defendant and remanded the case for a new trial.

Household Goods Carriers’ Bureau v. Terrell, 417

27

F.2d 47 (5th Cir. 1969). Upon rehearing en banc, a

majority of the Court affirmed the district court’s

judgment against the defendant, but reversed for a

new trial on the issue of damages. Household Goods

Carriers’ Bureau v. Terrell, 452 F.2d 152 (5th Cir.

1971) (en banc). In Terrell III the panel reviewed

this subsequent trial on damages. That it did not in-

tend to set forth a new test on standing nor deal with

causation in fact is made perfectly clear in the Ter-

rell III opinion; the Court emphasized that “the en

banc decision establishing liability finally adjudicated

the issue of causation” and that “the decision of this

court sitting en banc at an earlier stage of this same

ease represents the law of the case.” 494 F.2d at 19.

The Terrell III Court was thus concerned with the

measure of proof as to amount of damages rather

than causation. As stated in Story Parchment Co. v.

Paterson Parchment Paper Co., 282 U.S. 555, 562, 51

S.Ct. 248, 250, 75 L.Ed. 544 (1931) (and quoted in

Terrell III):

[T]here is a clear distinction between the meas-

ure of proof necessary to establish the fact that

petitioner had sustained some damage and the

measure of proof necessary to enable the jury to

fix the amount. The rule which precludes recov-

ery of uncertain damages applies to such as are

not the certain result of the wrong, not to those

damages which are definitely attributable to the

wrong and only uncertain in respect of their

amount. (Emphasis added.)

See also Shumate & Co. v. National Ass’n of Securi-

ties Dealers, Inc., 509 F.2d 147, 153 (5th Cir. 1975)

28

(“although [the Court is] generally lenient as to evi-

dence required to show the amount of damages in an-

titrust matters once liability is determined, courts do

not permit the fact of damage necessary to prove

liability to be based on speculation.”) ; Hobart Bros.

Co. v. Malcolm T. Gilliland, Ine., 471 F.2d 894, 901-02

(5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 412 U.S. 923, 93 S.Ct.

2736, 37 L.Ed.2d 150.

The court’s conclusion is that plaintiff does not have

standing to claim damages on account of the tying,

exclusive dealing or reciprocal dealing arrangements

between U.S.S./U.A.C.; it is not a ruling on admissi-

bility of evidence with respect to claims which are not

foreclosed by this order, for example, the alleged con-

spiracy to restrain trade in or to monopolize the

ready-mixed concrete and cement markets. Cf. Conti-

nental Ore Co. vy. Union Carbide & Carbon Corp., 370

U.S. 690, 82 S.Ct. 1404, 8 L.Ed.2d 777 (1962). Rul-

ings on admissibility of evidence as distinguished

from sufficiencies of claims, is best reserved for trial.

We hold that plaintiff lacks standing under § 4 of

the Clayton Act to recover damages “by reason of”

the alleged tying, exclusive dealing or reciprocal deal-

ing arrangements between defendants U.S.S. and Wil-

liam Brothers. To that extent, this portion of the mo-

tion for partial summary judgment is granted.

B. Alleged Conspiracy to Attempt to Monopolize

[9] U.S.S. further seeks partial summary judg-

ment on the ground that Southern cannot assert the

claims that U.S.S. has violated §2 of the Sherman

— oe a

29

Act, by engaging in a “conspiracy to attempt to mo-

nopolize” the production and sale of both cement and

ready-mixed concrete for the reason that such does

not assert a violation of any law. Plaintiff opposes

this portion of the summary judgment motion con-

tending that its charged violation, “conspiracy to at-

tempt to monopolize,” is within the Congressional

intention of §2 of the Sherman Act and that the

violation is distinguishable from the charge of attempt

to monopolize in that it does not require the showing

of specific intent, but, rather is established upon com-

mission of predatory acts pursuant to the alleged

conspiracy to monopolize. |

Section 2 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. § 2, pro-

vides :

Every person who shall monopolize, or attempt

to monopolize, or combine and conspire with any

other person or persons, to monopolize any part

of the trade or commerce among the several

States, or with foreign nations, shall be deemed

guilty of a misdemeanor, and, on conviction

thereof, shall be punished by fine not exceeding

fifty thousand dollars, or by imprisonment not

exceeding one year, or both said punishments,

in the discretion of the court.

The court agrees with defendant U.S.S. that three

distinct offenses are to be found in this provision: (1)

monopolization, (2) attempt to monopolize, and (3)

vombination or conspiracy to monopolize. Plaintiff’s

contention that in United States v. Dunham Concrete

Prod., Inc, 501 F.2d 80 (5th Cir. 1974), the Fifth

Circuit Court of Appeals recognized the crime of a

30

conspiracy to attempt to monopolize “by failing to

hold that its inclusion in the lower Court’s charges

to a jury was reversible error” is totally without

merit. Dunham involved an appeal from an order

granting a new trial pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2255.

The court held thai the submission to the jury of a

form for recording their verdict’* which listed as sep-

arate counts “Conspiracy to attempt to monopolize

in violation of Section 2 of the Sherman Act” and

“Conspiracy to attempt to extort”, which form had

been prepared by counsel for defendant, did not

warrant relief from judgment pursuant to § 2255. Ac-

cordingly, it reversed the trial court as to this por-

tion of its order. The Court’s reversal was not based

on a finding that there is a separate crime of “con-

spiracy to attempt to monopolize” in § 2 of the Sher-

man Act. It was based on the finding that the “error

in wording of this form for recording the verdict did

not ecntribute to [the] conviction.” /d. at 84 (empha-

sis added).'® It further mentioned that when Govern-

ment counsel objected to the form, “[u]naccountably”

the court adopted it as presented and sent it out with

the jury. There is nothing in the opinion to suggest

14Jt is clear from the opinion that the phrase “conspiracy to

attempt to .. .” appeared twice on the form for recording the

jury verdict; the charges to the jury were not the subject of the

appeal.

15The Court stated that “ iracy to attempt to monopolize”

could have only four conceivable meanings: (A) conspiracy to

monopolize, (B) conspiracy to fail to monopolize, (C) attempt

to monopolize and (D) attempt to fail te monopolize. Since mean-

ings B and D are “nonsense” and since the jury had been unable

to agree as to the count which charged a ee to monop-

olize (meaning 1), the Court construed the verdict as finding an

attempt to monopvlize. Id. at 84.

31

that a separate offense exists for “conspiracy to at-

tempt to monopolize”; the entire opinion indicates

that no such crime exists.

Accordingly, insofar as U.S.S. seeks partial sum-

mary judgment on the claim that it conspired to at-

tempt to monopolize the production and sale of cement

or ready-mixed concrete in any geographic market,

the motion is granted.

C. Alleged Acquisition of Stock or Assets

- U.S.S. seeks summary judgment in its favor as to

Southern’s claim for damages for an alleged violation

of §7 of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. §18. The acqui-

sition complained of is alleged to be the “acquisition”

of Williams Brothers by U.S.S. The latter seeks

summary judgment on this issue hased on the allega-

tions that it has never purchased, possessed, or other-

wise acquired a single share of stock in Williams and

that it has never purchased, possessed or otherwise

acyuired any asset of Williams. See U.S.S.’s State-

ment of Material Facts, No. 15 and 16. It argues that

plaintiff’s contention that the right of first refusal as

to Williams Brothers’ stock granted to U.S.S. and

exercisable in the event of default on a loan made by

Trust Company of Georgia to Williams Brothers and

guaranteed by U.S.S., amounts to an “acquisition” of

stock and assets is insufficient as a matter of law.

U.S.S. further contends that even if viewed as an

‘‘acquisition” within the meaning of § 7 of the Clayton

Act, plaintiff was not, and could not, have been dam-

aged by such arrangement.

32

Plaintiff opposes this portion of the motion with

the following contentions:

1. The circumstances surrounding the vertical fi-

nancing and business arrangement existing

between U.S.S. and Williams Brothers were tan-

tamount to vertical integration (a supplier’s ac-

quisition of its customer) and as such indicate a

probability that U.S.S. used and will continue to

use its dominant guarantor’s position as lever-

age to put pressure upon the debtor to substan-

tially lessen competition in the Portland cement

and ready-mixed concrete industries in the rele-

vant geographic markets.

2. This vertical arrangement afforded Williams

Brothers decisive cost advantages in these mar-

kets over its nonintegrated competition, such as

Southern in the purchase of the costliest con-

crete ingredient, Portland cement, which advan-

tages when passed on in the form of lower con-

crete prices to consumers resulted in prices

lower than Southern’s costs, ultimately forced

Southern out of business in October, 1969.

It contends that U.S.S.’s “undue influence” over Wil-

liams Brothers of the “collateral security option to

purchase Williams Brothers’ outstanding stock” is an

“acquisition” within the meaning of 47. It argues

that this arrangement is ipso facto violative of § 7,

but if the court is “not disposed” to enter such a

determination, it is “critical” that the term “acquisi-

tion”, as used in § 7, “encompasses such coercive loan

arrangements and its anticompetitiveness is reserved

33

for jury deliberation.” Plaintiff stresses that “sum-

mary judgment is manifestly inappropirate on the is-

sues of intent and state of mind necessarily raised

by inquiry into the circumstances surrounding the

creation and operation of this vertical combination.”

Both parties to this motion rely on Metro-Goldwyn-

Mayer v. Transamerica Corp., 303 F.Supp. 1344 (S.D.

N.Y.1969) (hereinafter “MGM7”) in support of their

contentions.

[10] Section 7 of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. § 18,

provides, in pertinent part:

No corporation engaged in commerce shall ac-

quire, directly or indirectly, the whole or part of

the stock or other share capital and no corpora-

tion subject to the jurisdiction of the Federal

Trade Commission shall acquire the whole or any

part of the assets of another corporation engaged

also in commerce in any section of the country,

the effect of such acquisition may be substan-

tially to lessen competition, or to tend to create

a monopoly. ...

There can be a claim for money damages, pursuant

to § 4 of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. § 15, for a viola-

tion of §7 of the Clayton Act. Dailey v. Quality

School Plan, Inc., supra; Gottesman v. General Mo-

tors Corp., 414 F.2d 956, 961 (2d Cir. 1969). See

Minnesota Mining & Mfg. Co. v. New Jersey Wood

Finishing Co., 381 U.S. 381, 85 8.Ct. 1473, 14 L.Ed.

2d 405 (1965).

[11, 12] A claim for damages for violation of

§7 presents the questions of whether there has been

an acquisition of stock or assets within the meaning

34

of §7; if so, whether plaintiff can claim damages on

account of such acquisition; what is the appropriate

section of the country; and whether there is a reason-

able probability of a substantial lessening of compe-

tition. Where there is no “acquisition” of stock or

assets, therefore, the other questions need not be an-

swered and a claim for damages will not lie. See

infra, at note 7 and accompanying text. The words

“acquire” and “assets” are not terms of art or tech-

nical legal language; they are generic, imprecise terms

encompassing a broad spectrum of transactions

whereby the acquiring party may accomplish the ac-

quisition by means of purchase, assignment, lease,

license, or other otherwise. United States v. Colum-

bia Pictures Corp., 189 F.Supp. 153, 181-82 (S.D.

N.Y. 1960).

In the instant case it is not in dispute that in 1965

and 1966 the Trust Company of Georgia (TCG)

granted three loans to Williams Brothers. U.S.S.

agreed with TCG that it would guarantee repayment

of the loan in the event of default by Williams

Brothers. These guarantees were secured by the right

of first refusal to purchase stock of Williams Broth-

ers, a right which was to remain effect only while

there were outstanding balances on the loans.'* Two

of the loans have been repaid in full by Williams

Brothers; and thus, the right of first refusal in the

event of default on these loans no longer exists. The

161).$.S8. explains in its brief in support of its motion for par-

tial summary judgment that the option to purchase stock would

come into play only if Williams Brothers notified U.S.S. that a

third party had offered to buy the Williams Brothers’ stock.

35

guarantee with respect to the third loan has been

withdrawn by U.S.S. See U.S.S.’s Statement of Ma-

terial Facts, No. 11, 12, 13 and 14.

[13] It is clear that the right of first refusal in

the event of default was never exercised and will

never be exercised because such right is now non-

existent. Thus, U.S.S. never possessed, in any mean-

ingful sense of the word, the stock of Williams Broth-

ers. The court finds that characterizing the right of

first refusal for the purchase of stock granted to a

guarantor of a loan furnished by a third party as an

“acquisition” within the purview of §7 of the Clay-

ton Act stretches the language of this section to ab-

surd lengths and, further, that such characterization

could have serious deleterious effects on the commer-

cial transactions of corporations and lending insti-

tutions.

As both parties rely to some extent on MGM, supra,

a short discussion of that opinion and a comparison

to the situation here involved is appropriate. In the

MGM case plaintiff M.G.M. sought to enjoin the

defendants from proceeding with a cash tender offer

by Tracy Investment Company for M.G.M. stock. 303

F.Supp. at 1346. The cash tender offer was being

financed by Transamerica Financial Corporation,

whose parent corporation Transamerica Corporation,

owned 99.6% of United Artists Corporation, a major

competitor of M.G.M. The court found that the ac-

quisition by the Transamerica-United Artists group

of working control of M.G.M. stock “would violate”

§7 of the Clayton Act, 303 F.Supp. at 1348 (em-

36

phasis added), and thus, that the existing Financial-

Tracy loan arrangement “pose[d] a threat of viola-

tion of § 7.” 303 F.Supp. at 1349 (emphasis added).

The court granted M.G.M. preliminary injunctive re-

lief restraining defendants from further proceeding

with the tender offer until the Financial-Tracy’ loan

agreement was terminated or amended to provide

that any M.G.M. shares acquired by Tracy would

not be delivered or pledged with Financial, its par-

ent Transamerica, or any of their affiliates. 303 F.

Supp. at 1354.

The MGM ease is distinguishable from the actio.

sub judice in several respects. In MGM, the court

was faced with a creditor-debtor relationship with the

loan secured by the shares to be acquired in the tender

offer. Herein, the challenged relationship is that of

guarantor and principal debtor with the guarantee

secured by the right of first refusal as to the pur-

chase of stock. Secondly, the creditor in MGM con-

trolled a major competitor of the corporation whose

stock was the subject of the tender offer. Here it is

not alleged that U.S.S., the guarantor, was itself or

through its subsidiaries, in the ready-mixed concrete

business. Finally, and most important, MGM is a de-

cision on a motion for a preliminary injunction. Here

damages are being sought.

Section 16 of the Clayton Aet, 15 U.S.C. § 26, per-

mits a private party to seek injunctive relief against

“threatened loss or damage by.a » olation of the

antitrust laws.” (Emphasis added).'? In Credit Bu-

reau Reports, Inc. v. Retail Credit Corp., 476 F.2d

‘1Cf. §4 of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. § 15, quoted on page

Oo, supra.

37

989 (5th Cir. 1973) the Fifth Cireuit Court of Ap-

peals explained:

Section 16 of the Clayton Act entitles private

litigants to injunctive relief from threatened in-

jury resulting from a violation of the antitrust

laws. To obtain such relief the complaining party

must prove that the alleged offender either al-

ready has violated the antitrust iaws or that such

violation is impending and that, because of this

violation, he is threatened with loss or injury.

Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine Research, 395

U.S. 100, 130, 89 S.Ct. 1562, 23 L.Ed.2d 129

(1969).

Td. at 992 (emphasis added). The MGM court specif-

ically found that the ‘‘threat” of a §7 violation war-

ranted injunctive relief. Its finding that acquisition

of the M.G.M. stock ‘‘would violate” § 7 indicates that

there would be no violation thereof until default and

the resulting acquisition. The distinction between a

private party seeking injunctive relief and one claim-

ing damages is crucial.

Further, the Second Circuit Court of Appeals, in

F. T. C. v. PepsiCo., Inc., 477 F.2d 24 (2d Cir. 1973),

stated that it is “elementary” that intentions of thé

acquiring corporation are not to be considered in de-

termining whether a §7 violation occurred, but that

it was helpful to examine them in light of the extraor-

dinary relief [a preliminary injunction] which was

sought. Jd. at 30. Thus, plaintiff’s contention that the

intent of U.S.S. must be considered and that intent

is a matter for the jury does not preclude summary

relief. Again, the distinction between a claim for

damages and a request for injunctive relief is crucial.

38

The court wonders whether counsel for plaintiff

was attempting to actively mislead the court in its

discussion of the MGM decision; the brief in opposi-

tion to the partial summary judgment motion reads

as follows:

Finally, that the court premised its holding

—that the subject loan arrangements posed such

a threat to competition as envisioned by the lan-

guage of Section 7—on its implicit finding that

the subject loan arrangements were tantamount

of [sic.] an acquisition. In arriving at that deter-

mination, the court opined that whether a partic-

ular creditor debtor relationship ts violative of

Section 7

“depends upon whether such probability is re-

vealed from the surrounding circumstances, in-

cluding the expressed purpose of the relation-

ship, the debtor’s solvency or insolvency, the

terms, and the size of the loan, the percentage

which it bears to the debtor’s entire debt and

capital structure, the existence or non-existence

of other contracts of [sic.] relationships be-

tween the parties, ete.

It would be naive, of course, to believe that

a powerful creditor, which has placed a debtor

in a position as leverage to put pressure upon

the debtor to conduct its business including its

control over others, in a way that would accord

with the creditor’s interest. If the evidence re-

vealed such an intent, or tf the likelihood of

such conduct could be reasonably inferred from

the surrounding circumstances,

tbid, private recovery would be appropriate.

39

Plaintiff’s brief at p. 59 (emphasis in MGM quotation

supplied by plaintiff; emphasis in rest of quotation

supplied by the court). Reference to the published

opinion shows that the MGM court was not discussing

“whether a particular creditor debtor relationship is

violative of Section 7” and did not opine that “pri-

vate recovery would be appropriate.” The quotation,

seemingly deliberately pulled out of context, begins

with: “In our view, therefore, the question of whether

a debtor creditor relationship must be enjoined as

threatening competition in violation of §7 depends

upon ...”; the last sentence of this quotation reads

(in its entirety): ‘‘If the evidence revealed such an

intent, or if the likelihood of such conduct could

reasonably be inferred from the surrounding circum-

stances, a case for injunctive relief might exist.”

303 F.Supp. at 1351 (emphasis added). If counsel

for plaintiff assumed that this court would rely on a

quoted portion of another decision without referring

to the test of the opinion in the officially reported

form, they were seriously mistaken.

In light of this court’s conclusion that the guaran-

teeing of a loan in return for a right of first refusal

for the purchase of the debtor’s stock is not an acqui-

sition of stock or assets and, thus, does nct give rise

to a claim for damages" due to a violation of § 7, this

portion of U.S.S.’s motion for partial summary judg-

ment is granted.

18The court does not erpress any opinion on the question of

whether Southern could have obtained injunctive relief, pursuant

to § 16 of the Clayton Act, while the loans were outstanding.

40

D. Alleged Price Discrimination in Cement Sales

The next portion of U.S.S.’s motion for partial

summary judgment seeks summary judgment on

Southern’s claims under §2 of the Clayton Act, as

amended by the Robinson-Patman Act, 15 U.S.C.

§2(a), for the reason that Southern has made no

purchases of cement from U.S.S./U.A.C. Movant re-

lies on Klein v. Lionel Corp., 237 F.2d 13 (3d Cir.

1956) and National Auto Brokers Corp. v. General

Motors Corp., 376 F.Supp. 620 (S.D.N.Y. 1974), as

support for its contention. It states in its reply brief

that for purposes of its motion it is assumed argu-

endo that U.S.S. sold cement to certain purchasers

in the Atlanta metropolitan area at discriminatory

prices. It further states in this brief that the parties

are not in dispute as to the issue presented to the

court: “Whether plaintiff’s status as a non-purchaser

of cement from U.S.S. deprives plaintiff of a right

of action against U.S.S. for discriminatory sales of

cement by U.S.S.”

In opposition to this portion of the partial sum-

mary judgment motion plaintiff relies solely on Per-

kins v. Standard Oil Co., 395 U.S. 642, 89 S.Ct. 1871,

23 L.Ed.2d 599 (1969). After an extensive discussion

of the Perkins decision plaintiff concludes:

The only possible interpretation of this holding

is that despite the number of distributive levels

through which the price increment passed, the

injury to Perkins, as to Southern, was direct and

proximate.

Under either of these analyses, the indirect

purchase claims of Southern must stand. If the

41

Perkins case holds that no privity is required,

then the entire premise of U.S.S. in this section

must fail.

Plaintiff’s brief in opposition at 69 (emphasis added).

The court agrees with movant that plaintiff’s re-

liance on the Perkins decision is misplaced. Perkins

was an action brought by a direct purchaser of gaso-

line and oil from Standard Oil Company, the defend-

ant, for price discrimination in sales of gasoline by

Standard. The question before the Court was not

whether plaintiff Perkins had standing; the decision

makes clear that Perkins purchased gasoline and oil

from Standard at a higher price than that charged

by defendant to its own Branded Dealers and to

Signal Oil Company. 395 U.S. at 644, 645, 89 S.Ct.

1871. Rather, the question before the Court was

whether plaintiff could recover for damages suffered

by plaintiff as a result of the price advantage granted

by defendants to Signal, pas.ed on by Signal to its

subsidiary, and then passed on by the subsidiary to

its subsidiary. The Court held that if the injured

party was able to show a causal connection between

the price discrimination in violation of the Act and

the injury suffered, he could recover damages “re-

gardless of the ‘level’ in the chain of distribution on

which the injury oceur[red].” 395 U.S. at 648, 89 S.

Ct. at 1874. It noted that there was substantial evi-

dence from which the jury could infer causation [of

injury due to the price discrimination]. Td. Review

of the decision indicates that the Court was not pre-

sented with an issue of standing to sue but rather

42

with the extent of damages recoverable. With refer-

ence to the question of whether the plaintiff could

recover for financial losses he suffered as an individ-

ual because his two failing corporations were unable

to pay him agreed brokerage fees for securing gaso-

line, rental on leases of service stations and other

indebtedness, the Court stated:

It is clear, in this case, however, that Perkins

was no mere innocent bystander; he was the prin-

cipal victim of the price discrimination practiced

by Standard. Since he was directly injured and

was clearly entitled to bring this suit, he was

entitled to present evidence of all of his losses

to the jury.

Id. at 649-50, 89 S.Ct. at 1875 (emphasis added).

The Court does not take issue with plaintiff’s dis-

cussion of the Perkins decision; but we do not accept

its conclusions as to the Perkins holding or its applica-

bility to this case. Further, we do not understand its

reference to “the indirect purchase claims of South-

ern.” Plaintiff does not dispute defendant’s Statement

of Material Fact that it never purchased cement from

U.S.S. during the statute of limitations period. It of-

fers no allegation or evidence to indicate that it pur-

chased cement from U.S.S. “indirectly.” We agree

with U.S.8S. that “there is a dispositive difference

between being an indirect purchaser and having never

purchased at all.” U.S.S. reply brief at 14.

Our conclusion that plaintiff’s reliance on Perkins

is misplaced does not, however, automatically lead to

the conclusion that summary judgment on this issue

is appropriate. Having concluded that the holding in

43

Perkins is not concerned with standing, we must look

to other case law to determine whether plaintiff’s

status as a “non-purchaser” deprives it of the right

of action for damages on account of alleged price dis-

crimination in cement sales by U.S.S.

[14] The cases cited by defendant seem to support

it conclusion that a plaintiff seeking to recover dam-

ages for price discrimination must be a purchaser

from the price discriminator. See Klein v. Lionel

Corp., supra at 14-15; National Auto Brokers Corp.

v. General Motors Corp., supra at 626. However, a

recent decision by the Fifth Cireuit Court of Appeals,

sitting en banc, indicates that a plaintiff’s status as a

“non-purchaser” does not automatically deprive him

of a right of action for damages. In Littlejohn v.

Shelli Oil Co., 483 F.2d 1140 (5th Cir. 1973) (en banc),

cert. denied, 414 U.S. 1116, 94 S.Ct. 849, 38 L.Ed.2d

743, the Court was presented with an appeal in an

action brought by an operator of an independent

gasoline station against several major gasoline sup-

pliers. Plaintiff therein alleged that defendants

- through two stations within a mile of his station

began selling gasoline to the public below his selling

price although selling to others in the Dallas area at

normal prices. Plaintiff alleged that defendants’ pur-

pose was to drive him out of business. The court con-

eluded that plaintiff had alleged a classic case of

violation of § 2(a) by discrimination in sales at whole-

sale by sellers to their purchaser who competed with

plaintiff and with resulting injury to his business

within the contemplation of § 4 of the Clayton Act.

In a footnote the court added:

44

We put aside the alternative theory of the district

court that the plaintiff was not possessed of stand-

ing under § 2(a) to sue. The reasoning was that

the purpose of § 2(a) was to prevent injury to

purehasers from the discriminatory pricing prac-

tices of the same seller. This is only one purpose

of the Act. It is settled that the Act also grants

protection to a competitor whose business is

injured by the discriminatory pricing policies.

Id. at 1143 n. 3 [citations omitted]. In Littlejohn plain-

tiff was the competitor of the persons who had re-

ceived the benefit of the discriminatory pricing policies

from defendants.”

As this portion of U.S.S.’s motion seeks summary

judgment solely on the ground that plaintiff was not

a purchaser from U.S.8., and as the Littlejohn deci-

sion indicates that such a finding is not dispositive as

to standing to sue, this portion of the summary judg-

ment motion is denied. This denial does not, however,

mean that the issue must be submitted to the jury.

Before plaintiff’s claim can be submitted to the jury,

it must, inter alia,”® present evidence not only of price

discrimination in cement sales by defendant U.S.S.,

but also it must present evidence sufficient to support

an inference that it was injured by reason of the price

discrimination. While plaintiff has not submitted evi-

19Reference to the panel decision vacated by the Court en dane

shows that a separate corporation (Sooner Oil Company) was one

of the defendants’ local wholesale dealers. 456 F.2d 225, 226 (5th

Cir. 1972). Thus, the reference to protection of competitors seems

to include competitors of purchasers from the price discriminator

as well as competitors at the same level.

on e.g., Bacon v. Texaco, Inc., 503 F.2d 946, 948 (5th Cir.

1974).

45

dence of any injury on account of the discrimination

in prices rather than injury due to low prices gen-

erally, the issue of sufficiency of the evidence was not

presented by this portion of U.S.S.’s motion. Thus,

the question of whether plaintiff was so injured must

be left for trial.

E. Alleged Monopolization and Attempted Monop-

olization of Ready-Mixed Concrete Markets

In the last portion of its partial summary judgment

motion U.S.S. seeks summary judgment as to allega-

tions of violation of § 2 of the Sherman Act by monop-

olization and attempted monopolization™ of ready-

mixed concrete in any relevant market for the reason

that U.S.S. has never competed or been involved in

such markets. In its brief it recognizes that both

monopolization and attempted monopolization can be

effected by concerted activity. It argues, however, that

where concerted monopolization or attempts to monop-

olize have come before the courts, the concerted

action has involved horizontal combinations, with each

of the multiple defendants having itself manufactured

or sold within the relevant product market.

Plaintiff's opposition to this portion of the motion

is somewhat confusing. It speaks of U.S.S.’s “inaccu-

rate supposition that Southern has charged UAC

unilaterally with attempting to monopolize or with

monopolizing the production and sale of ready-mixed

concrete product in three relevant geographic mar-

kets” (emphasis added); then, it continues with the

21See also Part I, B, supra.

46

statement that “[t]o the contrary, Southern has ex-

plieitly alleged only that U.S.S. (UAC) im conjunc-

tion with Williams Brothers, have jointly and

severally engaged in [a contract, combination and

conspiracy to monopolize and to attempt to monopo-

lize? and an attempt to monopolization.]” Most of

the rest of plaintiff’s brief on this issue is concerned

with combination or conspiracy to monopolize, which

claim, as U.S.S. emphasizes in its reply brief, is not

before the court on this summary judgment motion.

[15} Section 2 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. § 2,

provides :

Every person who shall monopolize, or attempt

to monopolize, er combine or conspire with any

other person or persons, to monopolize any part

of the trade or commerce among the several

States, or with foreign nations, shall be deemed

guilty of a misdemeanor, and, on conviction there-

of, shall be punished by fine not exceeding fifty

thousand dollars, or by imprisonment not exceed-

ing one year, or by both said punishments, in

the discretion of the court.

A private party is entitled to sue for damages on

account of violation of this section if he meets the

requirements set out in § 4 of the Clayton Act, 15

U.S.C. § 15.” It is clear from the statute that three

distinct offenses are proscribed: (a) monopolization,

(b) attempted monopolization and (c¢) combination or

conspiracy to monopolize. Defendant U.S.S. is clearly

not seeking summary judgment with respect to allega-

22See Part I, B, supra.

23See Part I, A, supra.

47

tions with respect to the third mentioned offense:

combination or conspiracy to monopolize. If, as the

brief im opposition perhaps suggests, plaintiff is alleg-

ing and will attempt to prove only that U.S.S. com-

bined (or conspired) with Williams Brothers to

monopolize the ready-mixed conerete markets, then,

of course, issues as to monopolization or attempted

monopolization of sueh markets by U.S.S. would not

be submitted to the jury:

[16, 17] The fact that this portion of the partial

summary judgment motion is opposed, however, sug-

gests that plaintiff is still attempting to hold U.S.S.

liable to it for monopolization and attempted monopo-

lization of the ready-mixed conerete markets. To be

guilty of monopolizing a “line of commerce” or rele-

vant market, there must be the power of controlling

prices or unreasonably restricting competition in the

product. See United States v. E. I. duPont de

Nemours & Co., 351 U.S. 377, 76 S.Ct. 994, 100 L.Ed.

1264 (1956); Credit Bureau Reports, Inc. v. Retail

Credit Co., 358 F.Supp. 780 (S.D.Tex. 1971), aff’d,

476 F.2d 989 (5th Cir. 1973). The essence of the

eharge of attempted monopolization is not that

monopolization is a fatt accompli, but that defendant

or defendants have manifested a specific mtent to do

what the law forbids.

_ The eourt finds that this portion of U.S.S.’s motion

must be denied for two reasons. First, while its brief

in support of its motion states that U.A.C. has never

made or marketed ready-mixed concrete anywhere

within the defined territories, such factual allegation

does not appear in its Statement of Material Facts

48

and, even in the brief, is not supported by reference

to evidentiary material in the record. Since the allega-

tion does not appear in its Statement of Material

Facts, it cannot be deemed admitted even though

Southern’s brief in opposition does not specifically set

the matter in dispute. See Local Court R. 91.72.

[18] Second, it has been recognized that where

by monopolizing one field, a party secured dominant

market power in a second field, such party has monop-

olized the second field in violation of § 2 of the Sher-

man Act. See Credit Bureau Reports, Inc. v. Retail

Credit Co., supra at 793; Coleman Motor Co. v.

Chrysler Corp., 376 F.Supp. 546 (W.D.Pa. 1974);

United States v. United Shoe Mach. Corp., 110 F.

Supp. 295 (D.Mass. 1953).

[19] While it may be difficult for plaintiff to prove

that U.S.S./U.A.C. monopolized or attempted to mo-

nopolize the ready-mixed concrete market if, in fact,

U.S.8./U.A.C. never manufactured or sold ready-

mixed concrete, the motion is not based on lack of

proof. As movant’s allegation as to nonparticipation

in this market is not referenced to evidentiary mate-

rial in the record nor found in its Statement of

Material Facts, and as this portion of the motion is

not based on an alleged lack of proof, the court de-

clines to foreclose plaintiff from the opportunity to

submit proof on these issues; thus, whether plaintiff

has sufficient evidence as to these violations to warrant

submission thereof to the jury must await trial.

Accordingly, the court finds that movant has not

satisfied its burden under Rule 56(c), Fed.R.Civ.P.,

“49

as to this issue and that summary judgment thereon

must be, and hereby is, denied.

Il. MOTION TO STRIKE AFFIDAVIT

Defendant U.S.S. has moved to strike the affidavit

of Walter LB. Dobbins, which was submitted in support

of the brief in opposition to partial summary judg-

ment, on the ground that it does not conform to the

requirements of Rule 56(e),. Fed.R.Civ.P.% Specif-

ically, U.S.S. contends that the affidavit does not

show affirmatively that the affiant is competent to

testify to the matters stated therein and contains

unsupported “facts” “obviously” not within the per-

sonal knowledge of the affiant and which would not

be admissible in evidence. U.S.S. lists a number of

statements made in the affidavit which, according to

U.S.S., could not be within the personal knowledge

of the affiant, or would normally call for expert testi-

mony.

Plaintiff has filed a brief in opposition to the motion

to strike. While plaintiff states that the motion to

strike is “clearly void of merit,” it “does not deny,

and will not mislead the court by doing so, that in

several instances the affiant’s statements are argu-

mentative and contain conclusionary statements.’”°

24Rule 56(e), Fed. R.Civ.P., as See “s part: _—

S ing or opposing vits made on

neem ay shall set forth such facts as would be issible

in evidence, and shall show affirmatively that the affiant is

competent to testify to the matters stated therein. . . .

251'nfortunately, plaintiff does not identify which portions he

admits are argumentative or contain coneclusionary statements.

Thus, it is somewhat difficult to determine the extent to which

U.S.S.’s contentions as to noncompliance with Rule 56(e) are

disputed.

50

Plaintiff argues that it is not necessary to strike the

entire affidavit and urges the court to disregard those

portions of the affidavit which may be conclusionary

or otherwise objectionable. Plaintiff has submitted

with its brief in opposition to the motion to strike

another affidavit executed by Mr. Dobbins. He states

that together these affidavits indicate that the affiant

“is as knowledgeable as any person in the ready-mixed

concrete business” and further show that there was a

close comradery between producers in that industry

so that they “became personally aware of virtually

every aspect of each other[’]s business.”

(20, 21] An affidavit submitted in connection with

a summary judgment motion is subject to a motion

to strike if it does not measure up to the standards

of Rule 56(e). 6 Moore’s Federal Practice 156.22

(1974). While the court may strike or disregard the

inadmissible portions of such affidavit not in con-

formity with the rule and consider the rest of the

affidavit, the entire affidavit may be disregarded if

inadmissible matter is so interwoven or inextricably

combined with the admissible portions that it is

impossible, in the practical sense, to separate them.

Id. And see cases cited at td. nn. 49-51.

In the instant case, while plaintiff’s Counterstate-

ment of Material Facts in opposition to the summary

judgment motion is quite a contrast to U.S.S.’s State-

ment of Material Facts, the statements in the latter

are not specifically disputed in the Counterstatement.

The motion for partial summary judgment presented

numerous questions of law; for the most part it did

51

not address itself to insufficiency of proof. In ruling

on the motion, the court granted certain portions

thereof based on facts which were not in dispute.

Other portions were denied as the court found that

the contentions of law relied upon by U.S.S. were

too broad and that it had not satisfied its burden, pur-

suant to Rule 56(c), so as to entitle it to summary

judgment in its favor.

The court does not feel that it is necessary to strike

the affidavit of Mr. Dobbins, which was filed on Janu-

ary 31, 1975, at this time. As the material in that

affidavit did not warrant denying such portions of

the motion as were granted, and as it was not the

ground for denial of other portions of the motion, a

ruling is not now required.

[22%] While in some cases a request, pursuant

to ltule 56(g), for reasonable expenses which the

affidavit caused the other party to ineur might neces-

sitate a ruling on the motion to strike, the court does

not feel that the request of U.S.S. for such expenses

necessitates a ruling on the motion at this time. Rule

56(g) authorizes an award of such expenses when it

should appear to the satisfaction of the court that

“any of the affidavits presented pursuant to [Rule 56]

are presented in bad faith or solely for the purpose

of delay.” (Emphasis added.) The court finds that the

record herein does not provide sufficient support for a

finding of bad faith or purposeful delay to warrant

a Rule 56(g) award of expenses.

Accordingly, the motion to strike the January 31

affidavit of Mr. Dobbins is denied at this time.

52

This denial, however, does not constitute a ruling

or indication that the affidavit, or similar statements

by the affiant as a witness, would be admissible at

trial. Further, it does not constitute a ruling or indi-

cation that it is proper for a party to submit a new

affidavit after a motion to strike to show that the

affiant is competent to testify as to the matters in the

first affidavit. Rule 56(e) states that the affidavit sub-

mitted in support of or in opposition to the motion

for summary judgment, rather than a subsequent

affidavit, “shall show affirmatively that the affiant is

competent to testify to the matters stated therein.”

In sum, the court has today granted in part, denied

in part the motion of defendant United States Steel

Corporation. It has denied at this time its motion to

strike the January 31, 1975 affidavit of Mr. Walter B.

Dobbins.

It is so ordered.

ee ee me ow

53

Appendix C

Section 1 of the Sherman Act, 26 Stat. 209 (1890)

as amended 50 Stat. 693 (1937) ; 69 Stat. 282 (1955),

88 Stat. 1708 (1974), 15 U.S.C. § 1 (1975).

Every contract, combination in the form of

trust or otherwise, or conspiracy, in restraint of

trade or commerce among the several States, or

with foreign nations, is declared to be illegal:

Provided, That nothing contained in sections 1 to

7 of this title shall render illegal, contracts or

agreements prescribing minimum prices for the

resale of a commodity which bears, or the label

or container of which bears, the trademark, brand,

or name of the producer or distributor of such

commodity and which is in free and open com-

petition with commodities of the same general

class produced or distributed by others, when

contracts or agreements of that description are

lawful as applied to intrastate transactions, under

any statute, law, or public policy now or here-

after in effect in any State, Territory, or the

District of Columbia in which such resale is to

be made, or to which the commodity is to be

transported for such resale, and the making of

such contracts or agreements shall not be an un-

fair method of competition under section 45 of

this title: Provided further, That the preceding

proviso shall not make lawful any contract or

agreement, providing for the establishment or

maintenance of minimum resale prices on any

commodity herein involved, between manufac-

turers, or between producers, or between whole-

salers, or between brokers, or between factors, or

between retailers, or between persons, firms, or

54

corporations in competition with each other. Every

person who shall make any contract or engage in

any combination or conspiracy declared by sec-

tions 1 to 7 of this title to be illegal shall be

deemed guilty of a felony, and, on conviction

thereof, shall be punished by fine not exceeding

one million dollars if a corporation, or, if any

other person, one hundred thousand dollars or by

imprisonment not exceeding three years, or by

both said punishments, in the discretion of the

court.

Section 4 of the Clayton Act, 38 Stat. 731, §4

(1914), 15 U.S.C, § 15 (1952).

Any person who shall be injured in his busi-

ness or property by reason of anything forbidden

in the antitrust laws may sue therefor in any

district court of the United States in the district

in which the defendant resides or is found or has

an agent, without respect to the amount in con-

troversy, and shall recover threefold the damages

by him sustained, and the cost of suit, including

a reasonable attorney’s fee.

U.S. Const. amend. VII

In Suits at common law, where the value in contro-

versy shall exceed twenty dollars, the right of trial by

jury shall be preserved, and no fact tried by a jury,

shall be otherwise reexamined by any Court of the

United States, than according to the rules of the

common law.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.