Petition — Nance v. Union Carbide Corp.

Supreme Court brief1977

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

|. supreme Court, U. S.

FILED

| DEC 16 1976

MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1976

No. 26 824

WINIFRED S. NANCE,

Petitioner,

VS.

UNION CARBIDE CORPORATION, CONSUMER

PRODUCTS DIVISION,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

ROBERT BELTON

Post Office Box 6057

Station B, University Station

Nashville, Tennessee 37235

JONATHAN WALLAS

Suite 730

East Independence Plaza

951 South Independence Blvd.

Charlotte, North Carolina 28202

Attorneys for Petitioner

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co.. INC. - RE 7-6002 - WASHINGTON, D. C. 20001

TABLE OF CONTENTS

IES IS eee aoe ae Ee

EES ES ee NR

, dd

Statutcry Provisions Involve gn

, cseindenimlipnmenteneisiniaietinhotaben

Reasons for Granting the Wriltt

I. The Petition Presents An Important Question

II.

III.

Of Federal Law Concerning the Relationship

Between the Class Action Procedures Under

Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

and the Remedial Authority of the Federal

Courts Under Section 706 (g) of Title VII ........

The Decision Below Conflicts With Decisions of

Other Courts of Appeals On the Same Matter..

The Decision Below Represents A Legally Insup-

portable Departure From the Doctrine of Stand-

— A ⅛˙— ̃ —˙————— ORS

r SAS ae a a RE Pe a

Appendix

Decison of the Court of Appeals

Judgment of the Court of Appeals

Order of the Court of Appeals Denying Petition

for Rehearing and Suggestion of Rehearing En

2 E

Findings of Fact and Conclusion of Law of the

r

Judgment of the District Court

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 23

oo wo do do —

10

10

21a

CITATIONS

Cases

Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405

69 — 10, 11,

American Pipe & Construction Co. v. Utah, 414

r basis

American Propeller & Mfg. Co. v. United States,

fie 2, a ee

Ass’n. of Data Processing Service Organizations,

Inc. v. Camp, 397 U.S. 150 (1970)

Baumgartner v. United States, 322 U.S. 665

— .

Carey v. Greyhound Bus Co., Inc., 500 F.2d 1372

1K — —ñ

Carter v. Butz, 479 F.2d 1084 (8rd Cir.), cert. de-

nied, 414 U.S. 1094, 1103 (1973) — . .

Craft v. Memphis Light, Gus and Water Division,

534 F. 2d 684 (6th Cir. 1976)

Danner v. Phillips Petroleum Co., 447 F.2d 159

ccc

Detroit Edison Co. v. EEOC, 515 F.2d 301 (6th

Cir. 1975), pet. for cert. pending, 44 U.S.L.W.

3150, 3214 (U.S. August 14, 1975) (No. 75-

00 ̃ 2 8

Doctor v. Seaboard Coast Line R. Co., 540 F. 2d

Gehen,, eee

East v. Romine, Inc., 518 F.2d 332 (5th Cir.

— ͥ————— ntiataiensiiadiesiammieiaeaaiimmaaia

Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin Co., 417 U.S. 156

TK .

Franks v. Bowman Transportation Co., 424 U.S.

920 9 ————ůů————— 10, 11,

Gamble v. Birmingham S. R. R. Co., 514 F.2d 678

/ / xx

Graniteville Co. (Sibley Division) v. EEOC, 438

A bf ££ | YS | a een on

Gray v. Greyhound Lines, East, No. 75-1631 (U.S.

D.C. App., October 13, 1976), 12 EPD {] 11,211 ..

Page

12, 13

14, 16

11

12, 18

18

18

19

— ee ee ee

CITATIONS—Continued

Hackett v. McGuire Brothers, Inc., 445 F.2d 442

D,, .

Ihre v. Northern States Power Co., 459 F. 2d 566

(8th Cir.), vacated and remanded to dismiss as

moot, 409 U.S. 815 (1972) ee.

Love v. Pullman Co., 404 U.S. 522 (19717

Martinez v. Richardson, 472 F.2d 1121 (10th Cir.

— ͤͤͤ ͤ a iai tk hei Sa

Mohr v. Jordan, 370 F. Supp. 1149 (D. Md. 1974),

aff'd. No. 74-1496, (4th Cir., filed July 31,

REESE aaa neces ar weaken Me Se Oe

Pettway v. American Cast Iron Pipe Co., 411 F.2d

, rIraeiEr ser se or

Rogers v. EEOC, 454 F.2d 248 (5th Cir. 1971),

cert. denied, 406 U.S. 957 (1972) ⸗:· 7

Sanchez v. Standard Brands, Inc., 431 F.2d 455

% / ahaa igen

Sibbach v. Wilson & Co., 312 U.S. 1 (19417

Simon v. Eastern Kentucky Welfare Rights Or-

ganization, 96 S. Ct. 1917 (19760)

Sprogis v. United Air Lines, Inc., 444 F.2d 1194

(7th Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 991 (1971)

Sullivan v. Little Hunting Park, 396 U.S. 229

WW G ace ee

Tipler v. E. I. duPont de Nemours Co., 443 F.2d

ee, See

Trafficante v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 409 U.S.

1 K AA 8

United States v. Forness, 125 F.2d 928 (2nd Cir.),

cert. denied, 316 U.S. 694 (1942) 8

Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490 (1975)

Waters v. Heublein, Inc., — F.2d ——, 45

U.S. L. W. 2260 (7th Cir. November 12, 1976)

Wells Benz, Inc. v. United States, 333 F. 2d 89 (9th

/ d aes le areas

Wilson v. Zarhadnick, 534 F.2d 55 (5th Cir.

1—è HH ie biatiealid

Page

19

16

17

16

16

17

19

18

13

18

14, 15

Iv

CITATIONS—Continued

Page

Constitutional Provision:

ee 18, 19

Statutes and Rules:

| x ————— . a 3%. ©

42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e et seg. [Title VII of the Civil

Rights Act of 196444 5, 11, 12, 18, 14, 15, 17

42 U.S.C. § 20000-2(a) (1!) ————————— 3,13

423 U.S.C. 6 20000-B(a) ( ——— 3, 19

E ——— 8

42 U.S.C. 5 2000e-5 (b) n 3, 17, 19

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(g) )) 4, 8, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

Rule 7 (e) — — — 14

Rule 23 6 4, 5, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16

1111111 7, 9, 21

Other Authorities:

Comptroller General: Report to Congress: The

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

Has Made Limited Progress in Eliminating Em-

ployment Discrimination (19700 20

5 Wright & Miller, Federal Practice & Procedure

— ͤ ͤ — 14

— a ee

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1976

No.

WINIFRED S. NANCE,

vs.

UNION CARBIDE CORPORATION, CONSUMER

PRODUCTs DIVISION,

Respondent.

Petitioner,

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner, Winifred S. Nance, respectfully prays that

a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment and

opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Fourth Circuit entered in this proceeding on July 28,

1976, rehearing and rehearing en banc having been de-

nied September 23, 1976.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion and judgment of the Court of Appeals,

reported at 540 F.2d 718, are reprinted in the Appendix

infra at 1a-20a and 21a, respectively. The order of the

Court of Appeals denying Petitioner’s petition for re-

hearing is set out in the Appendix infra at 22a. The

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law of the United

States District Court for the Western District of North

Carolina, reported at 397 F. Supp. 436, are set out in

2

the Appendix infra at 23a-72a. The judgment of the

District Court, which is not reported, is set out in the

Appendix infra at 73a-81a.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered

on July 28, 1976. Petitioner’s timely petition for re-

hearing and rehearing en banc was denied on September

23, 1976. This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28

U.S.C. § 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure can be applied as a matter of law to limit the

remedial authority of the district courts under § 706(g)

of Title VII to grant comprehensive “make whole” relief

to an individual employee who has been found to be a

victim of systemic and institutional employment discrim-

ination but who has opted not to seek class certification

under Rule 23?

2. Whether the Court of Appeals erred in its reliance

upon matters contained in letters from the district court

to counsel as the proper standard by which to review

the claims of an individual employee challenging systemic

and institutional employment discrimination?

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Rules Enabling Act, 28 U.S.C. § 2072, as amended:

The Supreme Court shall have the power to pre-

scribe by general rules, the forms of process, writs,

pleadings, and motions, and the practice and pro-

cedure of the district courts and courts of appeals

of the United States in civil actions, including ad-

miralty and maritime cases, and appeals therein,

and the practice and procedure in proceedings for

the review or enforcement of orders of administra-

tive agencies, boards, commissions, and officers.

Such rules shall not abridge, enlarge or modify

any substantive right and shall preserve the right of

trial by jury as at common law and as declared by

the Seventh Amendment to the Constitution.

The pertinent sections of Title VII of the Civil Rights

Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e et seg., as amended,

provide:

Sections 703 (a) (1) and (a) (2) 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-

2 (a) (1) and 2(a) (2):

It shall be an unlawful employment practice for

an employer

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge any

individual, or otherwise to discriminate against any

individual with respect to his compensation, terms,

conditions, or privileges of employment, because of

such individual’s race, color, religion, sex, or national

origin.

(2) to limit, segregate, or classify his employees

or applicants for employment in any way which

would deprive or tend to deprive any individual of

employment opportunities or otherwise adversely

affect his status as an employee, because of such in-

dividual’s race, color, religion, sex, or national origin.

Section 706 (b), 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5 (b):

Whenever a charge is filed by or on behalf of a

person claiming to be aggrieved, or by a member

of the Commission, alleging that an employer, em-

ployment agency, labor organization, or joint labor-

management committee controlling apprenticehip or

other training or retraining, including on-the-job

training programs, has engaged in an unlawful em-

ployment practice, the Commission shall serve a

notice of the charge (including the date, place and

circumstances of the alleged unlawful employment

practice) on such employer, employment agency,

4

labor organization, or joint labor-management com-

mittee (hereafter referred to as the respondent“)

within ten days, and shall make an investigation

thereof. Charges shall be in writing under oath or

affirmation and shall contain such information and

be in such form as the Commission requires.

Section 706(g), 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5 (g):

If the court finds that the respondent has inten-

tionally engaged in or is intentionally engaging in

an unlawful employment practice charged in the

complaint, the court may enjoin the respondent from

engaging in such unlawful employment practice, and

order such affirmative action as may be appropriate,

which may include, but is not limited to, reinstate-

ment or hiring of employees, with or without back

pay (payable by the employer, employment agency,

or labor organization, as the case may be, respon-

sible for the unlawful employment practice), or any

other equitable relief as the court deems appropriate.

Back pay liability shall not accrue from a date more

than two years prior to the filing of a charge with

the Commission. Interim earnings or amounts earn-

able with reasonable diligence by the person or per-

sons discriminated against shall operate to reduce

the back pay otherwise allowable. No order of the

court shall require the admission or reinstatement

of an individual as a member of a union, or the hir-

ing, reinstatement, or promotion of an individual as

an employee, or the payment to him of any back pay,

if such individual was refused admission, suspended

or discharged for any reason other than discrimina-

tion on account of race, color, religion, sex, or na-

tional origin or in violation of section 704 (a).

FEDERAL RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE

The case involves the provisions of Rule 23, Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure, fully set out in the Appendix

infra at 82a-85a.

5

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This action was filed in the United States District

Court for the Western District of North Carolina on

August 18, 1972 in which Petitioner, a female employee

of the Respondent, alleged discrimination based on sex

in employment as being in violation of Title VII of the

Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. 88 2000e et seg.

Petitioner alleged that the Respondent had engaged in

systemic and institutional practices of discrimination

_ based on sex prior to the effective date of Title VII

(July 2, 1965); that the effects of those practices were

continuing into the post-Act period; and that she was a

person aggrieved by these practices. Petitioner began

her employment with Respondent on July 8, 1952.

The district court ordered Petitioner to file a state-

ment on the class aspects of the case and on November

20, 1972, she filed the following statement:

This action was not brought as a class action

pursuant to Rule 23(a) (b) (2) of the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure, when the action was initially

filed in Court on August 18, 1972. [Petitioner]

does not contemplate at this time seeking to amend

the Complaint to allege a class action, however,

[Petitioner] is of the opinion that whatever bene-

fits she may obtain in this action should inure to

the benefit of other similarly situated females of

the [Respondent] in the Mecklenburg County fa-

cilities of the [Respondent].

However, Petitioner filed her action as an individual

action and at no time sought class certification pursuant

to Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

Respondent, relying upon the charges Petitioner filed

with the Equal Employment Opportunity (EEOC), chal-

lenged the standing of Petitioner to seek relief from

across-the-board sex based employment practices and

6.

moved the court to restrict Petitioner’s action to the

narrow question relating to the correctness of her sen-

iority date. The district court rejected this challenge after

reviewing the complete files from the District Office of

the EEOC. (64a-66a) The court found that Petitioner’s

claims of sex based discrimination in “promotions, job

classifications, and terms and conditions of employment“

were fully advanced before the EEOC and were con-

sidered or should have been considered by the EEOC?

prior to its issuance of notice of her right to seek relief

in the district court. (65a; 66a)

The trial began on March 12, 1974 and was adjourned

after eight days. Shortly after the adjournment, the

district judge sent several letters to counsel requesting

the submission of proposed findings of fact to help

1 Petitioner filed a number of charges with the EEOC between

March 30, 1970 and February 25, 1971. In a February 25, 1971

charge, which was the principal charge relied upon by the district

court to decide whether Petitioner had standing to raise broad based

claims of employment discrimination (64a), Petitioner alleged:

“I and other females allege discrimination in terms and con-

ditions of our employment because of sex in that,

1. Jobs are being changed so that they can be classified

as male jobs.

2. Males are recalled with less seniority in preference to

females with more seniority.

3. Females are denied an opportunity to use company

service date at times of lay-off.

4. Males have job rights and department rights over

women.

5. Males are allowed to quit and return and gain com-

pany service while females are denied.

6. Rules are being changed to deny females and favor

males.

7. Females are told if they accept a heavy job and can-

not perform, they will be discharged.

8. Routine inspection test does not pertain to the job

and never given the results of the test.”

7

“sharpen the issues” as an aid to the court in arriving

at an “orderly final decision.” ?

More than seven months after these letters, the trial

was resumed and concluded on December 11, 1974. There-

after, on April 28, 1975 the district court entered com-

prehensive and detailed Rule 52(a) findings of fact. The

On April 1, 1974, the district judge sent the following letter:

Gentlemen:

I have not yet been able to set a time to complete the taking

of evidence. It has occurred to me that we might save some

wheel spinning if we do a little skull work before the resump-

tion of hostilities.

With this in mind, and to sharpen the issues so that I can

tell what I am trying to decide, I shall be grateful if you

gentlemen will do the following: ‘

Plaintiffs are requested to draft proposed findings of fact

in brief form, including a simple statement of the facts on the

basis of which plaintiffs say that Mrs. Nance and others lost

seniority before 1967 because of sex. In other words, what

were the events which produced a loss of seniority and what

amount of seniority was thereby lost and why was it dis-

criminatory? Plaintiffs are further requested to indicate what

methods may be possible to remedy any residual effects of such

loss of seniority, if the court finds such loss to have occurred.

Defendants are requested to prepare proposed findings of

fact in favor of the defendants on all of the separate issues that

were raised at trial which do not have to do with the single

issue of loss of seniority.

If you will prepare and file this information by April 15th or

thereabout, I shall be grateful. It will help in winding up the

remaining testimony, and also in trying to arrive at an orderly

final decision.

On April 18, 1974, the district court sent the following letter:

Dear Mr. Ogletree:

* * * *

My April 1, 1974 letter may have been too broad in the last

paragraph on Page 1. Although I do not remember the testi-

mony very well, it seems to me there is probably evidence

which would suggest a change in past or in existing practices

about posting or not posting notices of vacancies and avail-

able promotions. Perhaps I should therefore have asked plain-

tiffs’ counsel to draft something on that subject, but I shall

be glad for you to tender something on that point also.

district court found that Petitioner had been a victim

of comprehensive and systemic sex based discriminatory

employment practices.“ (28a-64a) The practices found

to be unlawful included the seniority system (28a-33a) ;

lay-off and recall procedures (41a-43a); testing prac-

tices (43a-46a); supervisory selection procedures (48a-

49a); and a disguised form of sex stereotyped job clas-

sifications (34a-39a; 54a). None of these practices were

held to be supported or required by business necessity

(57a) nor protected under the bona fide occupation

qualification exception provided in 3 703 (e) of Title

VII, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(e). (57a-58a)

In October, 1975, the district court entered a com-

prehensive judgment (73a-8la) under its authority in

706 (g) of Title VII, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(g). The dis-

trict court deemed the judgment necessary “to remedy

the present and continuing discrimination based on sex

and to remedy the competitive seniority disadvantage to

[Petitioner] stemming from the [Respondent’s] practices

of maintaining segregated jobs and rosters, and promo-

tions, transfers, lay-offs and recall procedures based on

sex.” (58a-60a) Specific relief in the nature of back

pay was awarded only to Petitioner. (79a)

For example: The district court found that from 1956 until

November 18, 1969—more than four years after the effective date

of Title VI1I—Respondent maintained an open and declared policy

and practice of segregating its work force based on sex. (29a)

The first female foreman at the Respondent’s Charlotte plant was

not selected until shortly after the complaint was filed (48a);

and the court found that supervisory selection procedures were

based on “purely subjective standards [with] no safeguards in these

procedures designed to avert discrimination against females.”

(49a) Femarles were not allowed to take tests used by the

Respondent at least since 1952 for certain jobs designated male jobs

until five years after the effective date of Title VII; even then the

court found that these “old tests” had a disparate impact on females

and were not job related. (43a-46a) New tests were instituted

in 1971, but the court found these “new tests” invalid under de-

cisions of this Court and the EEOC guidelines. (54a; 59a)

On Respondent’s appeal, the Court of Appeals vacated

the judgment of the district court and limited Petitioner’s

relief to only a consideration of an adjustment of her

seniority date and the recognition of her right to back

pay, costs and attorneys’ fees. (la-20a) The Court of

Appeals held as a matter of law that a federal court is

without authority to award comprehensive injunctive re-

lief to an individual found to be a victim of discrimina-

tion prohibited by Title VII unless the action has been

properly certified as a class action under Rule 23 of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. (2a-9a) In reliance

upon several letters that the district judge sent to coun-

sel requesting proposed findings prior to the entry of

Rule 52(a) findings the court below held also that cer-

tain of Petitioner’s allegations made in her EEOC charges

were not entitled to plenary consideration. The Rule

52(a) findings of broad based sex discriminatory prac-

tices of the Respondent other than Petitioner’s seniority

status were “briefly discussed” by the court below caly

because the parties had “devoted some parts of their

argument” to them. (9a-10a) Petitioner’s petition for

rehearing and rehearing en banc was denied on Sep-

* These letters are set out at n. 2, supra. In refusing to accord

plenary treatment to all of Petitioner’s claims, the court of appeals

held:

. . . It must be assumed from [the district judge’s letter of

April 1, 1976] that the trial judge found that, so far as her

individual claim was concerned, the [Petitioner] was only

“aggrieved” by her loss of seniority status, and he intended

to limit her relief to this single specific claim of discrimina-

tion. The testimony at trial, it is true, had churned up some

other issues not concerned with broad, continuing sex dis-

crimination on [Respondent’s] part, but issues involving prac-

tices long since abandoned by the [Respondent]. These ad-

ditional issues, the trial court seemingly regarded as wanting

in substance, according to his joint letter to counsel to which

we have previously referred. Since, however, both parties have

devoted some parts of their argument to these other issues,

we shall briefly discuss them.

(10a).

10

tember 23, 1976 except for correction of a factual mis-

take. (22a)

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Petition Presents An Important Question of Fed-

eral Law Concerning the Relationship Between the Class

Action Procedures Under Rule 23 of the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure and the Remedial Authority of Fed-

eral Courts Under Section 706(g) of Title VII

The critical issues of employment discrimination law

at present involve remedies. This Court has decided

several significant Title VII cases over the past several

Terms involving the scope of the remedial authority of

the federal courts under § 706(g) of Title VII, 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000e-5(g). These cases were race discrimination cases

that had been certified as class actions under Rule 23

of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. Franks v.

Bowman Transportation Co., 424 U.S. 747 (1976) ; Albe-

marle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405 (1975). This

case brings before the Court an important question of

federal law involving the authority of the federal courts

to award “make whole” injunctive relief to an individual

plaintiff who has been found to be a victim of past and

continuing systemic employment discrimination but who

has opted not to pursue the action as a class action under

Rule 23. That question is: Upon a finding of systemic

and institutional employment discrimination as the find-

ings of the district court herein so clearly demonstrate,

is an individual who has been found to be a victim of

that discrimination entitled to injunctive relief under

706 (g) of Title VII that affirmatively disestablishes

that system, even though the action is not brought as a

class action under Rule 23 and even though the dises-

tablishment of the offending system would also operate,

of necessity, in favor of other similarly situated persons?

4

‘

'

:

|

:

11

The decision of the Court of Appeals interposes a

general prohibtion on the authority of federal courts to

award comprehensive and necessary relief to individual

victims of employment discrimination. The court found

a barrier neither in the s.atutory language nor the legis-

lative history of Title VII nor in the findings of fact

made by the district court, but in the provisions of

Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. If the

decision is correct, no federal court would have the au-

thority to grant effective relief from systemic and in-

stitutional employment discrimination to an individual

victim unless the case is certified as a class action® or

brought as a “pattern and practices” case by the EEOC.*

The principle announced below is inconsistent with the

remedial purposes of Title VII and with the construc-

tion of § 706(g) of the Act established by this Court in

Franks v. Bowman Transportation Co., 424 U.S. 747

(1976) and Albemarle Paper Co., 422 U.S. 405 (1975).

The decision below also abridges Petitioner’s substantive

rights under Title VII in contravention of the Rules

Enabling Act, 28 U.S.C. § 2072, as amended.

This Court has emphatically confirmed the Congres-

sional mandate in § 706 (g) that gives federal courts

plenary remedial power to make victims of unlawful

discrimination whole because the attainment of this ob-

jective requires that persons aggrieved by the conse

quences of the unlawful employment practice be, so far

‘Efforts to obtain class certification under Rule 23 can add

troublesome roadblocks to persons already aggrieved by employ-

ment discrimination as is illustrated in the Fourth Circuit’s opin-

ion in Doctor v. Seaboard Coast Line R. Co., 540 F.2d 699, 704-710

(4th Cir. 1976); see also Hisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, 417 U.S

156 (1973).

*§ 707, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-6; see Detroit Edison Co. v. EEOC, 515

F. 2d 301, 310-312 (6th Cir. 1975), pet. for cert. pending, 44 U.S.L.W.

3150, 3214 (U.S. August 14, 1975) (No. 75-393) (EEOC not sub-

ject to class action rules under Rule 23).

12

as possible, restored to a position where they would have

been were it not for the unlawful discrimination. Thus

this Court has established a remedial standard that ef-

fective relief in Title VII cases can be denied “only for

reasons which, if applied generally, would not frustrate

the central statutory purposes of eradicating discrimina-

tion throughout the economy and making persons whole

for injuries suffered through past discrimination.” Franks

v. Bowman Transportation Co., supra at 771; Albemarle

Paper Co. v. Moody, supra at 421.

The construction of 706(g) established by this Court

is premised on Congressional recognition that unlawful

systemic and institutional employment discrimination re-

quires substantial modification or abolition of all of the

systemic features that create or perpetuate these prac-

tices because,

Employment discrimination as viewed today is

a... complex and pervasive phenomenon. Experts

familiar with the subject now generally describe the

problem in terms of ‘systems’ and ‘effects’ rather

than simply intentional wrongs, and the literature

on the subject is replete with discussions of, for ex-

ample, the mechanics of seniority and lines of pro-

gression, perpetuation of the present effects of pre-

Act discrimination through various institutional de-

vices, and testing and validation requirements.

Franks v. Bowman Transportation Co., supra at 764 n.

21, citing, S. Rep. No. 92-415, p. 5.

The Court of Appeals did not disturb the ultimate

finding’ of the district court that Respondent had en-

The Court of Appeals ruled that,

It is conceded by the [Respondent] that in the pre-Act

period, the jobs in certain departments were reserved exclu-

sively for male employees and that in periods of layoff only

qualified male employees could bid on the jobs in these depart-

ments. Such a system obviously gave the male employee a pre-

ferred opportunity to protect his ‘company service’ over the

— — —

„„

5

A

1

13

gaged in discrimination made unlawful under § 703 (a)

of Title VII thus requiring a grant of relief under § 706

(g). Nevertheless, the Court of Appeals denied complete

relief on the basis that comprehensive and systemic re-

lief is available only upon a showing that an individual

plaintiff has sought and was granted class certification

pursuant to Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Proce-

dure. (4a-9a)

The Court of Appeals’ theory of borrowing Rule 23

to limit the authority of the district courts is incom-

patible not only with the obligation of the federal courts

under § 706 (g) as construed by this Court in Franks,

supra and Moody, supra, but that theory abridges Peti-

tioner’s substantive rights under Title VII in contraven-

tion of the Enabiing Act, 28 U.S.C. § 2072, as amended,

in 1966. The Enabling Act of 1934 gives this Court the

authority to prescribe the Federal Rules of Civil Proce-

dure. An important proviso in the Enabling Act is that

the rules so prescribed “shall not abridge, enlarge, nor

modify substantive rights” in the guise of regulating

procedure. 28 U.S.C. § 2072; American Pipe & Construc-

tion Co. v. Utah, 414 U.S. 538, 556 (1974); Sibbach v.

Wilson & Co., 312 U.S. 1, 11 (1941). The principal pur-

pose of Rule 23 is to provide a procedure for efficient

and economical litigation designed to avoid multiplicity

of activity where class action designation is found to be

superior to other methods for the fair and efficient ad-

female employee. This more extensive opportunity in bidding

for vacancies during layoffs on part of male employees was a

discrimination against female employees, and because that dis-

crimination was carried over in the operation of the post-Act

system. To such extent as the [Petitioner] was prejudiced

thereby in the computation of her, company service, or seniority

rights, she is entitled to relief.

(18a) See Baumgartner v. United States, 322 U.S. 665, 671 (1944);

East v. Romine, Inc., 518 F.2d 332, 338-339 (5th Cir. 1975) on

distinction between “ultimate fact” and “subsidiary fact” for pur-

poses of appellate review.

14

judication of the controversy. American Pipe & Construc-

tion Co. v. Utah, 414 U.S. 588, 551, 553 (1974).

Rule 23 is a procedural device of judicial administra-

tion. The relief to be awarded in any Title VII case—

class action or individual—is substantive rather than

administrative. Thus the decision of the court below

holding that Rule 23 limits the remedial authority of

federal courts provided in § 706 of Title VII is reminis-

cent of the days when the substantive rights of parties

were decided on the basis of procedural technicalities.

See Rule 7(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure;

5 Wright & Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure

§ 1181 (1969).

II

The Decision Below Conflicts With Decisions Of Other

Courts of Appeals on the Same Matter

The decision below holding that Rule 23 limits the

authority of the federal court to grant systemic relief to

individual victims of employment discrimination conflicts

with decisions of other courts. In Carey v. Greyhound

Bus Co., Inc., 500 F.2d 1872 (5th Cir. 1974), the Fifth

Circuit held that a single employee found to have suf-

fered from a violation of Title VII is entitled to “make

whole” relief requiring the abolition of the offending

discriminatory system even if a district court, under

correct standards, decides that class certification under

Rule 23 is inappropriate:

. . Carey also seeks to have provisions of the

collective bargaining agreement declared discrimina-

tory and defendant enjoined from applying them.

If the class action is allowed, this question becomes

moot. If class action is denied, plaintiff’s point would

be well taken, and he should be afforded abolition

of the system—not just the prevention of its applic-

ability to him.

500 F.2d at 1381.

—— ete ** ä—— 8

— te aioe

:

:

|

15

In Sprogis v. United Air Lines, Inc., 444 F.2d 1194

(7th Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 991 (1971), the Sev-

enth Circuit held that, Rule 23 notwithstanding, § 706

(g) of Title VII grants federal courts plenary power to

enter a judgment in an action brought as an individual

action that affords class wide relief to other similarly

situated employees. 444 F.2d at 1201-1202. Sprogis is

bottomed on the recognition that Title VII protects im-

portant substantive rights and that a Title VII suit is

necessarily a class action as the evil sought to be reme-

died is discrimination on the basis of class characteristics,

e. g., sex. The Seventh Circuit accorded the necessary

recognition to the fact that federal courts have a special

responsibility in the public interest to devise remedies

which effecutate the policies of Title VII as well as to

afford private relief to the individual employee institut-

ing the complaint.

In Tipler v. E. I. duPont de Nemours Co., 443 F.2d

125 (6th Cir. 1971), the Sixth Circuit held that although

a Title VII action is not labeled a class action, it is per-

force a sort of class action for fellow employees simi-

larly situation. Thus the Sixth Circuit held that if an

individual plaintiff is successful in establishing a viola-

tion of the Act, the relief would inure to the benefit of

fellow employees by providing relief against a wide range

of past and present discriminatory employment prac-

tices. 443 F.2d at 130.

The conflict between the circuit courts is not limited

to Title VII cases. In an analogous line of cases, courts

have denied class certification on the ground that in cases

in which injunctive relief is sought, such relief to the

extent granted, will inure to the benefit of others simi-

larly situated. The ruling in these cases is based upon

the notion that no useful purpose would be served by

certifying the action as a class action because the legality

or non-legality of the challenged rules and regulations

16

can be determined to be constitutional or unconstitu-

tional regardless of whether the action is treated as an

individual action or as a class action. Craft v. Memphis

Light, Gas and Water Division, 534 F.2d 684, 686 (6th

Cir. 1976) ; Ihrke v. Northern States Power Co., 459 F.

566, 572 (8th Cir.), vacated and remanded to dismiss as

moot, 409 U.S. 815 (1972); Carter v. Butz, 479 F.2d

1084, 1089 (3rd Cir.), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 1094, 1103

(1973) ; Martinez v. Richardson, 472 F.2d 1121, 1126-27

(10th Cir. 1973).

The conflict between the circuits on whether Rule 23

limits the remedial authority of the federal court is not

likely to be resolved by future cases in the courts of

appeals. For example, in a case decided prior to Carey

v. Greyhound Bus Co., Inc., supra, the Fifth Circuit held

in a Title VII sex discrimination case that Rule 23 pro-

hibits a court from entering relief in an individual case

that inures to other similarly situated females unless

the action is a certified Rule 23 class action. Danner v.

Phillips Petroleum Co., 447 F.2d 159, 164 (5th Cir.

1971). But in a case decided subsequent to Carey, supra,

the Fifth Circuit held in a plaintiff-prisoner case that

Rule 23 prohibits a court from granting injunctive re-

lief that requires a state to provide access to legal mate-

rials unless a class action is pleaded in the complaint.

Wilson v. Zarhadnick, 534 F.2d 55 (5th Cir. 1976).

Similarly, the Fourth Circuit affirmed without opinion

a decision of a lower court which had denied class action

certification on the ground that the injunctive relief

would inure to the benefit of others similarly situated

even absent Rule 23 class certification. Mohr v. Jordan,

370 F. Supp. 1149, 1151 n. 3 (D. Md. 1974), aff'd. (No.

74-1496, 4th Cir., filed July 31, 1974). However, in the

instant case, the Fourth Circuit ruled that an individual

plaintiff is not entitled to broad injunctive relief unless

class certification is granted.

—

ee aE, Vata

—

17

The conflict among the circuits on this question justi-

fies the grant of certiorari to review the judgment below.

III

The Decision Below Represents A Legally Insupportable

Departure From the Doctrine of Standing

The Court of Appeals summarily rejected practically

all of Petitioner’s claims of employment discrimination

for two reasons. First, the court failed to apply the ap-

propriate standing test to the allegations made by Pe-

titioner in charges that she had filed with the EEOC.

Secondly, the court focused upon a letter, see n. 2, supra,

that the district judge sent to counsel—rather than the

charges Petitioner had filed with the EEOC—as the basis

upon which to determine what claims of Petitioner were

entitled to plenary judicial consideration. (9a-10a) The

decision below thus raises important constitutional, statu-

tory and policy considerations growing out of the bona

fide efforts of “laymen, unassisted by trained lawyers,” “

to invoke the jurisdiction of the federal courts to seek

vindication of their rights under Title VII.

1. The Appropriate Standing Test: A person claim-

ing to be aggrieved by a violation of Title VII may not

invoke the jurisdiction of a federal court until he has

first unsuccessfully pursued certain avenues of potential

administrative relief which must be initiated with the

filing of a charge with the EEOC. § 706, 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000e-5; Love v. Pullman Co., 404 U.S. 522 (1971).

The courts have thus adopted a rule that a complaint

filed in the federal courts under Title VII may allege

and raise issues of employment discrimination “like or

related” to the claims contained in the charge filed with

the EEOC and/or growing out of such allegation during

See Love v. Pullman Co., 404 U.S. 522, 527 (1971); Pett Vv

American Cast Iron Pipe Co., 411 F.2d 998, 1005 (5th Cir. 1969). N

18

the pendency of the charge before the EEOC. E. g.,

Gamble v. Birmingham Southern R.R. Co., 514 F. 2d

678, 689 (5th Cir. 1975); Graniteville Co. (Sibley Di-

vision) v. EEOC, 438 F.2d 32, 38 (4th Cir. 1971);

Sanchez v. Standard Brands, Inc., 431 F.2d 455, 463

(5th Cir. 1970). The “like and related“ doctrine is thus

rooted in traditional notions of standing.

The law of standing has two aspects. As a constitu-

tional doctrine, founded in the restrictions imposed on

the judicial power by Article III of the Constitution, the

standing rules impart justiciability: whether the plain-

tiff has made out a “case or controversy” within the

meaning of Article III. Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490,

498 (1975) In sum, when plaintiff’s standing is brought

into issue the relevant inquiry is whether, assuming

justiciability, the plaintiff has shown injury to himself

that is likely to be redressed by a favorable decision,

Simon v. Eastern Kentucky Welfare Rights Organiza-

tion, 96 S.Ct. 1917, 1925, 1926 (1976) or “injury in

fact.” Ass’n. of Data Processing Service Organizations,

Inc. v. Camp, 397 U.S. 150, 152 (1970). In addition

to its constitutionally based requirement, the standing

doctrine incorporates a prudential limitation on the ju-

dicial power by demanding that the interest of the plain-

tiff, regardless of its nature in the absolute, at least be

arguably within the zone of interests to be protected

or regulated by the statutory framework within which

his claim arises. Simon v. Eastern Kentucky Welfare

Rights Organization, supra at 1924; Ass’n. of Data Proc-

essing Service Organizations, Inc. v. Camp, 317 U.S. at

153.

In some statutory schemes, Congress has itself de-

termined that standing should be granted to anyone who

satisfies the constitutional requirements. Sullivan v. Little

Hunting Park, 396 U.S. 229, 237 (1969); cf. Franks

v. Bowman Transportation Co., supra at 752-757. Title

PONE Senora wen we Ne ete a acne lei ilies

RAR Re ae

a eee eee eed

|

)

19

VII is such a statute. The use in § 706 (b), 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000e-5(b) of the language “a person claiming to be

aggrieved” shows a Congressional intention to define

standing as broadly as is permitted by Article III of

the Constitution. Gray v. Greyhound Lines, East, No.

75-1631 (U.S.D.C. App., October 13, 1976), 12 EPD

11,211; Hackett v. McGuire Brothers, Inc., 445 F.2d

442, 446 (3rd Cir. 1971) ; Waters v. Heublein, Inc., ——

F.2d —— (7th Cir., November 12, 1976), 45 U.S.L.W.

2260. See also Trafficante v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co.,

409 U.S. 205 (1972) citing with approval Hackett v.

McGuire Bros., Inc., supra. Petitioner made claims that

she is a person aggrieved within the meaning of § 706

(b) and the allegations that she made in her charges

filed with the EEOC and in her complaint filed in the

district court were broad based claims of systemic,

across-the-board allegations of sex discrimination which

the district court found caused her “injury in fact”. See

n. 3 supra. The allegations asserted by the Petitioner

in her charges are interests clearly within the scope of

Title VII’s protection against sex discrimination in

“terms, conditions, or privileges of employment.” § 703

(a) (2), 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a) (2). Indeed, if such ma-

ters as supervisory selection procedures, weight lifting

limitations, posting of job notices, assignment of work,

ete., were not consider2d “terms, conditions or privileges

of employment,” it would be difficult to give that language

any meaning at all. Gray v. Greyhound Lines, East,

supra at 5582. In Rogers v. EEOC, 454 F.2d 234, 238

(5th Cir, 1971), cert. denied, 406 U.S. 957 (1972), the

court held that the language in § 703 of Title VII, 42

U.S.C. § 2000e-2

. evinces a Congressional intention to define

discrimination in the broadest possible terms. Con-

gress chose neither to enumerate specific discrimin-

atory practices, nor to elucidate in extenso the

parameters of such nefarious activities. Rather, it

20

pursued the path of wisdom by being unconstric-

tive, knowing that constant change in the order of

the day and that seemingly reasonable practices of

the present can easily become the injustices of the

morrow. Time was when employment discrimination

tended to be viewed as a series of isolated and dis-

tinguishable events, manifesting itself, for example,

in an employer’s practices of hiring, firing, and pro-

moting. But today employment discrimination is a

far more complex and pervasive phenomenon, as the

nuances and subleties of discriminatory employment

practices are no longer confined to bread and butter

issues. (emphasis supplied)

The standard adopted by the court below to determine

Petitioner’s standing was not the substantive “like and

related” constitutionally based standard but rather a

standard apparently fashioned for this case and premised

upon a procedural trial practice of the district court

in requesting counsel to submit proposed finding designed

to facilitate a final disposition. The standard adopted

by the court below is no standard at all when measured

against well established principles of standing. The de-

cision, if allowed to stand, will have a severe adverse

impact not only upon the efforts of individual plaintiffs

claiming to be aggrieved, cf. Doctor v. Seaboard Coast

Line R. Co., 540 F.2d 641 (4th Cir. 1976), but also

upon the effectiveness of the EEOC to carrying out its

mandate under Title VII.“

2. Reliance Upon Letter to Counsel: Finally, the

procedure used by the court below to test the sufficiency

of the decision made by the district court is open to seri-

ous question. The record shows clearly that the district

„The comptroller general has issued a report showing that as of

June 30, 1975, the EEOC had a backlog of charges that totaled

123,340, some of which dated back to fiscal year 1968. Comp-

troller General: Report to the Congress: The Equal Employment

Opportunity Commission Has Made Limited Progress in Eliminat-

ing Employment Discrimination, at 9 (1976).

See SS ae

Paes a

— —

21

court carefully reviewed the charges filed by the Peti-

tioner with the EEOC and found not only that all of the

claims were properly before the EEOC (64a-66a) but

also that Petitioner was a victim of all of these claims.

The refusal of the court below to respect those facts and

those findings and the action of the Fourth Circuit re-

viewing the record de novo and in making its own find-

ings as to the discrimination to which Petitioner was

and was not subject cannot be justified. It is a well

established rule that an appellate court cannot refer to

extraneous matters or opinions for the purpose of im-

peaching Rule 52(a) findings.“ American Propeller &

Mfg. Co. v. United States, 300 U.S. 475, 479 and n. 2

(1937) ; Wells Benz, Inc. v. United States, 333 F.2d 89,

93-94 (9th Cir. 1964); United States v. Forness, 125

F.2d 928, 942 (2nd Cir.), cert. denied, 316 U.S. 694

(1942).

10

. it is well settled that an appellate court may not refer

to a memorandum opinion for the purpose of impeaching find-

ings .... and the same rule, in our estimation applies with

particular force to oral observations and comments. ‘Often a

strong impression that, on the basis of the evidence, the facts

are thus-and-so gives way when it comes to expressing that

impression on paper.’

Wells Benz, Inc. v. United States, 333 F.2d 89, 94 ;

(citations omitted.) (9th Cir. 1964)

22

CONCLUSION

The Court should grant a writ of certiorari to review

the judgment and opinion of the Court of Appeals.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT BELTON

Post Office Box 6057

Station B, University Station

Nashville, Tennessee 37235

JONATHAN WALLAS

Suite 730

East Independence Plaza

951 South Independence Blvd.

Charlotte, North Carolina 28202

Attorneys for Petitioner

rrr hh

APPENDIX

— — ——

la

DECISION OF THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

NANCE

V.

UNION CARBIDE CORP.

Before BUTZNER, RUSSELL and WIDENER, Circuit Judges

Decided July 28, 1976

RUSSELL, CIRCUIT JUDGE:

This appeal arises out of an action charging sex dis-

crimination in employment rights under Title VII. After

trial, the District Court granted both individual and

broad class relief. The defendant has appealed. We

modify the decree and remand for entry of decree as

hereinafter indicated.

The plaintiff is a female employee at the Charlotte,

North Carolina battery plant of the defendant. Her em-

ployment began in 1952 and has been continuous since,

save for layoffs. Following a layoff in January, 1970,

she filed with the Equal Employment Opportunity Com-

mission over a period of some eleven months a suc-

cession of five charges alleging sex discrimination. All

1 Hereafter referred to as EEOC.

2a

arose basically out of her layoff. Following receipt from

the EEOC of a “suit letter,” this judicial action was

begun, and after trial, resulted in the judgment from

which this appeal is taken.“

A preliminary issue, earnestly pressed by the defendant

and briefed by both parties, is whether this action is to be

treated as a class action or as an individual action.

Concededly it was brought as an individual action.* This

individual character of the action was not merely af-

firmed in the complaint as filed, it was so stipulated

categorically in the record by the plaintiff herself at an

early stage of the proceedings. This stipulation resulted

from a motion by the defendant for a more definite state-

ment by the plaintiff, setting forth the persons or class,

if any, the plaintiff sought to represent. By this motion

the defendant manifestly sought to establish definitely and

finally whether the plaintiff intended to make any claim

that her action was a class action. The motion was

denied by the Court on the express condition “that the

plaintiff would] plead or file stipulations with regard

to the class action aspects of the case, indicating more

specifically the make-up of the class and the identity of

the plaintiffs.” By way of answer to such order, the

plaintiff filed of record a stipulation to the effect that

she did “not contemplate at this time seeking to amend

the complaint to allege a class action, however, the plain-

tiff is of the opinion that whatever benefits she may

obtain in this action should inure to the benefit of other

similar situated females” at the Charlotte plant.’

18 397 F. Supp. 436.

2 See Katz v. Carte Blanche Corporation (3d Cir. 1974) 496 F. 2d

747, 760, cert. denied 419 U.S. 885 (1974):

“* * * the plaintiff, not the judicial system, controls whether

or not to ask for class action treatment.” (Emphasis added)

* The latter part of this statement represents, as we understand

it, an expression of plaintiff’s counsel’s opinion that any legal issue

3a

At no time after the entry of this stipulation did the

plaintiff seek to convert her individual action into a class

action; she made no motion to amend her complaint to

state a class action; she at no point endeavored to de-

clare “specifically the make-up of the class and the iden-

tity of the plaintiffs” she would represent as a class rep-

resentative; in sum, she did nothing thereafter to comply

with or satisfy the requirements for both alleging and

establishing a right to proceed as a class action under

Rule 23. Moreover, in a formal order, entered on Jan-

uary 24, 1974, on the eve of the commencement of trial

in March of that year, and some eighteen months after

this action was commenced, the District Court sustained

the plaintiff's objections to certain interrogatories sub-

mitted by the defendant because of, as the Court put it,

“representations of Plaintiff’s counsel that this suit was

brought and remains an individual action and not a

class action and that back pay is not sought for, and

cannot extend as a result of this suit to anyone other

than the named plaintiff.“ Nor did the District Court

ever hold a hearing on class certification under Rule

23 or enter an order of class certification or set forth

any definition of class or classes of which plaintiff was

declared a representative or make any provision for no-

tice to any identified class, all as contemplated under

decided favorably to the plaintiff in this suit against the defendant

may be availed of by way of collateral estoppel in any individual

suit instituted or tried subsequently by one asserting the same

seniority claim as the plaintiff against the defendant. Katz v.

Carte Blanche Corporation, supra, at 762; Bradford v. Peoples

Natural Gas Company (W. D. Pa. 1973) 60 F.R.D. 432, 436.

This order creates another difficulty in possibly considering

this as a class action. Such order, entered on the eve of trial and

circumscribing defendant’s right of discovery on the assumption

the action was purely an individual one, would put the defend-

ant at a likely disadvantage at trial, if thereafter, without notice

to the defendant, the action were converted into a class action.

Such possible prejudice under such circumstances to the defendant

would make treatment of the action as a class action inequitable.

4a

Rule 23. The issue thus is whether, in these circum-

stances, and in the face of two express “representa-

tions” by the plaintiff to the Court that her action was

strictly an individual action, and in the absence of any

order of any class certification by the Court itself, this

action can fairly be declared a class action in compliance

with Rule 23.

Despite the fact that Title VII actions often are de-

scribed as “inherently class suits“ and that the require-

ments of Rule 23 “must be read liberally in the context

of suits brought under Title VII and Section 1981, .

the plaintiff in such an action, in order to establish the

right to proceed as a class representative, “must [like

any other plaintiff] establish that the action meets the

requirements of Rule 23(a) ;’ employee discrimination

suits do not represent exemptions from the terms of

such Rule.“ Rule 23 contemplates that every plaintiff, in

order to qualify for class treatment thereunder, will seek

“class relief in the complaint,“ and in the absence

of such an allegation, class treatment is generally con-

sidered inappropriate. An express ruling to this effect

was made in Danner v. Phillips Petroleum Co. (Sth

Cir. 1971) 447 F. 2d 159, a case very similar in its

facts to the one under review here. In Danner, the

plaintiff, a female, contended that, under the defend-

ant’s seniority practices, female employees were discrimi-

nated against in favor of male employees and that, as a

result of such discriminatory seniority system, she had

5 Rodriguez v. East Texas Motor Freight (5th Cir. 1974) 505

F. 2d 40, at 50 (U.S. Appeal Pending).

$ .: Senter v. General Motors Corp. (6th Cir. 1976) 532 F. 2d

wa 4 — v. Crown Zellerbach Corp. (5th Cir. 1968) 398

F. 2d 496, 499; Pointer v. Sampson (D.C.D. 1974) 62 F.R.D. 689,

696; Kinsey v. Legg, Mason & Company, Inc. (D.C.D. 1973) 60

F.RD. 91, 99.

Rodrigues v. East Texas Motor Freight, supra, 505 F. 2d at 50.

ee Bs

5a

been laid off in violation of the terms of Title VII. She,

as has the plaintiff here, filed her action under Title VII

as an individual action. In holding “that class action

relief must be predicated upon a proper class action

complaint satisfying all the requirements of Rule 23,” *

the Court said, at p. 164:

“* * * none of the Rule 23 prerequisites have been

satisfied. Mrs. Danner sued as an individual plain-

tiff; she established a prima facie case of sex dis-

crimination against herself by proving that she had

been discharged in a plant economy move because

she possessed no seniority or bidding rights, and

that no women in the plant had such rights. She

showed further that the work she was doing was

substantially similar to the work of men in the plant

who had seniority and bidding rights, and that she

was replaced by men who possessed those rights.

Mrs. Danner, however, never took up the banner

of women’s liberation for all the female employees

in the Phillips plant. This, of course, does not mean

that female employees of Phillips may not take ad-

vantage of Mrs. Danner’s judicial victory in the

future, or, indeed, that they may not join together

in a class action against Phillips if they feel one is

justified. But if they decide to bring a class action,

i, must be brought and identified as such, and the

predicate for class action relief must be carefully

laid. In the meantime, Mrs. Danner’s victory is for

her alone to taste and enjoy.”

A similar result was reached in Washington v. Safe-

way Corporation (10th Cir. 1972) 467 F. 2d 945, 947,

and by us in Carracter v. Morgan (4th Cir. 1973) 491

F. 2d 458, 459. In fact, in the latter case, the plain-

tiffs had indicated in their complaint that they were su-

ing both individually and as representatives of a class

but, in the absence of any certification or identification

* 447 F. 2d at 164, n. 10.

6a

of the class before a decision on the merits,’ it was held

„that class treatment was inappropriate, the Court stat-

ing:

“Because of plaintiffs’ failure to bring to the at-

tention of the trial court, at any time, the matter

of the determination of whether the action would

be maintained as a class action, and also because of

lack of notice to any class of the proposed final

order, we are of opinion that the district court was

correct in its actions and the opinion below ought

to be affirmed. No determination was ever made at

any time that the action be maintained as a class

action. F.R.Civ.P. 23 (e) (1). No notice was ever

given. F.R.Civ.P. 23(e).””

® guage of Rule 23(c) makes it quite clear that the deter-

3 class status is * made before the decision on the

merits.” See Peritz v. Liberty Loan Corporation (7th Cir. 1975)

523 F. 2d 349, 354; cf. Indianapolis School Comm'rs v. Jacobs

(1975) 420 U.S. 128, and Jimenez v. Weinberger (7th Cir. 1975)

523 F. 2d 689, U.S. Appeal Pending.

10 The reasoning in Carracter is confirmed substantially, it

would seem, by the later decision in Indianapolis School Comm'rs.

v. Jacobs (1975) 420 U.S. 128. In that case the action was clearly

declared a class action in the complaint but no order was entered

certifying it as a class action. The plaintiff prevailed both in the

District Court and in the Court of Appeals as if on a class action

but, during oral argument in the Supreme Court, it developed that

the action was moot as to the individual plaintiff. Since, in the

absence of actual certification as a class action, the action remained,

in the opinion of the Court, but an individual action, the mootness

of the individual claim rendered the case subject to dismissal. The

Supreme Court accordingly vacated the judgment, stating at p. 130:

In Franks v. Bowman Transportation Company, Inc. (1976) ——

US. ——., 44 LW 4356, slip opinion p. 5, n.6, the Court explained

the ruling in Jacobs, decided a few weeks ago, thus:

“In Board of School Commissioners v. Jacobs, supra, the

named plaintiffs no longer possessed a personal stake in the out-

come at the time the case reached this Court for review. As

7a

Nor do Senter v. General Motors Corp., supra, and

Bing v. Roadway Express, Inc. (5th Cir. 1973) 485 F.

2d 441, relied on by the plaintiff in support of the class

relief granted herein by the District Court, support her

contention. In Senter, the Court at the outset emphasized

that there was “no question but that the suit [involved

there] was filed as a class action and it proceeded to

trial as a class action” and then added that “Appellant

had] identified the suit as a class action in his opening

remarks at trial and Appellee [had] responded by freely

admitting that the suit had been filed as a class ac-

tion.” In that context, where, as the Court went on to

comment, “all the parties had] proceeded on the as-

sumption that the action was a class action,” the Court

concluded, citing Bing v. Roadway Express, Inc. (5th

Cir. 1973) 485 F. 2d 441, 446-47, that the action was

not improperly treated as a class action. Bing, in its

pertinent facts and ruling, was not substantially different

from Senter. In Bing, lilt was apparent, the Court

said, from the beginning that Bing intended his suit

to be a class action;” he had clearly proclaimed it as

such in his complaint; and, “all parties to the action

knew [throughout trial] of its class nature and acquiesced

in it.“ These factual differences—the treatment as a

class action from the filing of the complaint throughout

the proceedings with the knowledge and “acquiescence”

of all parties—were the circumstances which distinguished

Bing and Senter from Danner.“ They are similarly dis-

tinguishable from this case.

the action had not been properly certified as a class action by

the District Court, we held it moot.”

522 F. 2d at 521-22.

* 485 F. 2d at 446.

The distinction between Bing and Danner was restated in the

subsequent case of Rodriquez v. East Texas Motor Freight, supra,

where Judge Wisdom, after stating that, “[w]hen class relief is

8a

The plaintiff contends, however, that because she filed

broad interrogatories that could be construed as relevant

to a class action, the defendant was given proper notice

that the plaintiff intended to proceed as a class action,

and that, though no motion for certification was ever

made or an order granting certification entered, the

defendant was put on notice that plaintiff was proceed-

ing by. way of a class action. To accept such an argu-

ment would make a nullity of Rule 23 and the procedure

it mandates. Moreover, the plaintiff had stipulated and

entered representations on the record, not once but twice,

as we have already said, that she was not proceeding

by way of a class action. She had unequivocally declared

in such record that if she intended her action to be a

class action, she would amend her complaint to evidence

such intention. She at no time made such motion to

amend. Entitled to rely on the plaintiff’s positive dis-

claimers of any intention to proceed by way of a class

action—disclaimers appearing in formal representations

to the Court—the defendant was not obligated to read

every interrogatory filed by the plaintiff to determine

whether it indicated an unexpressed but implied inten-

tion on the part of the plaintiff to disavow her previous

disclaimers and to assert a right to proceed as a class

action. Furthermore, we do not perceive in the inter-

rogatories any unmistakable sign or notice that the plain-

tiff contemplated a class action.“ And this is particularly

so, since, even on the eve of trial, the plaintiff was rep-

sought in the complaint, * * * the court should liberally apply the

— of Rule 23 (a),“ explained Danner as holding that

class action relief must be predicated upon a proper class action

complaint satisfying all the requirements of Rule 23.’” 505 F. 2d

at 50 and n. 11.

%* The prerogative of designating the action as a class action

rested entirely with the plaintiff, see note 2.

15 Those interrogatories had at least some peripheral connection

with the plaintiff's individual charges.

a ee a ee

resenting unequivocally to the Court, in opposition to

defendant’s interrogatories, that she was not prosecuting

a class action and was not seeking class relief, and the

District Court, in reliance on that representation, had

entered its order of January 24, 1974, denying in part

defendant’s right to answers to its interrogatories. Even

if it could be thought that plaintiff’s interrogatories gave

some implied notice that she sought class relief, that im-

plication would have been nullified by the representation

made to the trial court, as stated in the order of January

24.

On this record, then, we find no warrant for treating

this case as anything more than what the plaintiff her-

self has designated it, to wit, an individual action, lim-

ited as it is to plaintiff’s individual claim or claims. It

is perhaps not too much to add that, by failing to amend

her complaint to seek class relief, and by failing to take

any steps either in her pleadings or in positions taken

during trial, to comply with Rule 23, and by her several

representations to the trial court, the plaintiff herself

has “precluded any class certification in this case.“

The real issue in this case is accordingly the validity

of plaintiff’s individual claim. In that connection, it

should be noted that the plaintiff’s claim revolves basi-

cally around her “company service” status, the computa-

tion of which resulted, she alleged, in her layoff in 1970.

It was this layoff that precipitated her initial complaint

to the EEOC, and it was this layoff which was the sole

claim stated by the plaintiff in the first four charges she

filed with the EEOC—as a matter of fact, it was not

until some eleven months after the filing of her initial

charge that she raised any other claim or claims. Nor

was the trial judge apparently impressed at trial with

10 Peritz v. Liberty Loan Corporation (7th Cir. 1975) 523 F. 2d

349 at 354.

10a

these additional claims, belatedly set up by the plaintiff

in her fifth amended charge. In a joint letter to counsel

for the parties, the trial judge indicated his proposed

disposition of the case and, incident thereto, he requested

counsel for the plaintiff to “draft proposed findings of

fact in brief form” dealing exclusively with loss of sen-

iority “before 1965” and “what methods may be possible

to remedy any residual effects of such loss of seniority,

if the court finds such loss to have occurred,” and re-

quested counsel for the defendant in turn “to prepare

proposed findings of fact in favor of the defendant(s] on

all of the separate issues that were raised at the trial

which do not have to do with the single issue of loss of

seniority.” It must be assumed from his statements in

this letter that the trial judge found that, so far as her

individual claim was concerned, the plaintiff was only

“aggrieved” by her loss of seniority status, and he in-

tended to limit her relief to this single specific claim of

discrimination. The testimony at trial, it is true, had

churned up some other issues, issues not concerned with

broad, continuing sex discrimination on defendant’s part,

but issues involving practices long since abandoned by

the defendant. These additional issues, the trial court

seemingly regarded as wanting in substance, according

to his joint letter to counsel to which we have previously

referred. Since, however, both parties have devoted some

parts of their argument to these other issues, we shall

briefly discuss them.

The first of these additional claims dealt with the

weight and hours-of-labor qualifications for certain jobs

in defendant’s plant. These qualifications are invalid

under the Act, according to the plaintiff's contention.

17 Some days later the trial judge wrote that there “is probably

evidence which would suggest a change in past or in existing prac-

tices about posiing or not posting notices of vacancies and available

promotions.”

.

e

e.

11a

The defendant does not seriously argue otherwise. Any

layoffs suffered by the plaintiff because of the unavail-

ability of certain jobs for bidding by her occurred in the

pre-Act period. These restrictions, however, had no ad-

verse effect on the plaintiff and her seniority rights.

Continuously from the effective date of the Act until her

layoff in January, 1970, she was employed, suffering

layoffs and earning an uninterrupted “company service”

record for such period in the computation of her seniority

Following the enactment of Title VII and in anticipation of its

effective date, the defendant, according to the record, sought to

amend its employment rules to conform. There was uncertainty at

the time even on the part of the EEOC itself whether Title VII

overrode state weight and hours-of-labor statutes regulating the

employment of females. There was a general feeling, shared at

least tentatively by the EEOC, that Title VII did not invalidate such

laws. The weight and hours-of-labor regulations adopted by the

defendant and inaugurated, it was asserted, represented the de-

fendant’s attempt to satisfy the requirements of both the federal

and state law. There was some inconsistency, however, because the

defendaut operated plants in both Ohio and North Carolina; and it

sought, according to its contention, to develop regulations which

would comply with the laws of either state and thus to have uni-

form employment rules in all plants. These rules so adopted were

thought to comply with the formal guidelines or regulations issued

in 1965 by the EEOC itself, which specifically provided that “re-

strictions on lifting weights will not be deemed in conflict with

Title VII except where the limit is set at an unreasonably low level

which could not endanger women; and that hours-of-labor statutes

would be considered ordinarily “as a basis for application of the

bona fide occupational qualification exception.” 29 C. F. R. § 1604.1(c).

In late 1968, however, the EEOC reversed its position on these two

points and it was because of this change in the position of EEOC

and the decision in Bowe v. Colgate-Palmolive Company (7th Cir.

1969) 416 F. 2d 711, that the defendant claims it abandoned in

1969 its employment rules on weight and hours-of-work require-

ments for female employees. The changes in the regulations of the

EEOC between 1965 and late 1968 are fully discussed in Note, 61

Cornell L.Rev. 460 at 465-7 (1976) ; Williams v. General Foods Corp.

(7th Cir. 1974) 492 F. 2d 399, 402-3; Kober v. Westinghouse Elec-

trie Corporation (3d Cir. 1973) 480 F. 2d 240, 243-5; Vogel v. Trans

World Airlines (M. D. Mo. 1970) 346 F. Supp. 805, 809-11. See, also,

§ 2000e-12, 42 U.S.C.

12a

and fringe benefit rights.“ Moreover, all designations

of any such jobs as male jobs and all weight qualifications

therefor were discontinued entirely early in 1969, after

the opinion in Bowe v. Colgate-Palmolive Company (7th

Cir. 1969) 416 F. 2d 711, and the change in the regula-

tions by the EEOC and before plaintiff’s layoff in Jan-

uary, 1970. Nor is there the slightest suggestion in the

record or reason to believe that there is any threat that

such qualifications, abandoned by the defendant in 1969,

will be reinstituted. In fact, as the evidence clearly

reveals, the defendant has been attentive to any changes

in either the regulations or the construction of the law

and alert to conform its practices to such changes.

The plaintiff made some point, too, that she had not

been considered for promotion to a supervisory position.

She offered no real proof of her qualification for such

promotion nor did she suggest in her testimony that she

had ever applied for promotion. Such evidence as there

is in the record on this point is represented by the ex-

planation offered by the defendant why the plaintiff

had not been given consideration for a supervisory posi-

tion. This explanation consisted of undisputed testimony,

concurred in by the plaintiff herself, that the plaintiff

was unable to work amicably with her fellow employees

and had been embroiled in difficulties with them. This

was a perfectly valid reason for not considering plaintiff

for a supervisory position. There is nothing in the record

that would justify an inference that the reason was

pretensive or pretextual; nor did the trial court find that

it was pretensive. The defendant accordingly met any

% There is another reason for finding this claim without merit.

At the time of her layoff in January, 1970, the plaintiff was offered

a substantial number of “heavy” jobs. She refused and refused

by her own explanation because she doubted her ability to perform

these jobs. It would thus appear unlikely that, had a “heavy”

job been open to her between 1965 and 1970, the plaintiff would

have accepted one.

——— pda Nila on 6 ate ol noe

—

blew

CRSA Bis

13a

burden that may have rested on it for sustaining its

failure to promote the plaintiff. Cf., McDonnell Douglas

Corp. v. Green (1973) 411 U.S. 792, 803-4. Nor did the

plaintiff apparently consider that she had been treated

unfairly or discriminately in this particular, for she did

not in any one of her five charges assign this as a com-

plaint. It is highly questionable under these circum-

stances that this issue was properly before the Court.”

We have recently held that a suit under Title VII “may

encompass only the ‘discrimination stated in the charge

itself or developed in the course of a reasonable investiga-

tion of that charge.“ King v. Seaboard Coast Line Rail-

road Company (4th Cir. 1976) —— F. 2d ——, slip

opinion p. 3 (decided April 29, 1976).

The final peripheral issue concerns a test required by

the defendant of employees seeking certain specialized

work in three departments at defendants’ plant. This test

was inaugurated in 1970. Until 1970 all persons em-

ployed in these departments were required to take two

other tests. These earlier tests, however, were discon-

tinued in 1970 in favor of a new simplified mechanical

aptitude test. This new test, which was required of all

employees seeking to transfer to these departments after

1970, did not have any “discriminatory impact” on fe-

male applicants; on the contrary, the testimony shows

20 In Oatis v. Crown Zellerbach Corp. (5th Cir. 1968) 398 F. 2d

496, 499, the Court said:

“We thus hold that a class action is permissible under Title

VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 within the following limits.

First, the class action must, as it does here, meet the require-

ments of Rule 23(a) and (b) (2). Next, the issues that may be

raised by plaintiff in such a class action are those issues that

he has standing to raise (i.e., the issues as to which he is

aggrieved, see § 706(a), supra), and that he has raised in the

charge filed with the EEOC pursuant to § 706(a).”

See, also, Equal Employment Opportunity Commission v. General

Electric (4th Cir. 1976) — F. 2d ——.

l4a

that percentage-wise more females passed the test than

males. And at the time of trial the employees in at

leas: one of these departments had more female em-

ployees than male employees. In that situation, there

was no obligation on the defendant to validate this new

test. The burden of establishing the job-relatedness of a

test arises “only after the complaining party or class

has made out a prima facie case of discrimination, i.e.,

has shown that the tests in question select applicants

for hire or promotion in a racial pattern significantly

different from that of the pool of applicants.” Albemarle

Paper Co. v. Moody (1975) 422 U.S. 405, 425. The

trial court, however, found the new test improper be-

cause the then existing employees in those departments

had not been required, as a condition of retaining their

jobs, to take the new, less exacting tests. If the exist-

ing employees had been given their jobs without any

21 This was recognized by the trial court, which, in a colloquy

with plaintiff’s counsel, stated that “unless the test as administered

shows that women flunk more than men, there is no question pre-

sented about the testing.”

See, also Cooper and Sobol, Seniority and Testing Under Fair

Employment Laws, 82 Harv. L. Rev. 1598, 1659. The authors add

(p. 1660) :

“Psychologists have criticized this test by claiming that it will

not predict job performance, but there is evidence that the

criticism may be inaccurate. More important, this criticism is

not relevant to the equal employment issue. So long as the test

does not prefer whites over blacks or any other protected

minority group, it does not violate equal employment require-

ments. If an employer hired every fifth applicant on a random

basis, his selection procedure would be arbitrary and might

not relate well to job performance, but it would not deny equal

employment opportunity * * *.”

This is so because the Act itself very specifically declares that a

party is only entitled to relief if his discharge or layoff or loss of

any right was because of “discrimination on account of race, color,

religion, sex, or national origin * * *.” § 2000e-5(9), 42 U.S.C.

Cf., Washington v. Davis (1976) —— U.S. ——, 44 LW 4789, for

comparison of rule under due process and under Title VII.

ee

15

testing or after taking less stringent“ tests, we would

find this argument appealing, but all these employees

had secured their positions after successfully completing

two tests, considerably more exacting and broader in

scope than the test presently required (i.e., the simplified

mechanical test). It would obviously be unfair to impose

on these employees, who had qualified for their jobs by

taking both the Modified Alpha and Bennett Mechanical

Tests, to condition their continued right to their jobs on

their taking the new simplified mechanical test. Nor

do the guidelines established by the EEOC require

such unfair treatment. These guidelines expressly pro-

vide that only when older employees have qualified]

under less stringent selection standards [as] previously

enforced “will the validity of the new tests depend on

whether these older employees have qualified under the

new tests. 29 C.F.R. § 1607.11. Such guidelines, while

not binding on the courts, are to be given great def-

erence.” We find them reasonable and fair and consonant

with the purposes of Title VII, et seg. Since obviously

the new test was “less stringent” than the earlier tests,

under which these employees qualified for their jobs, there

was no basis in the record for holding that unless such

employees again qualified by taking the new test, no

subsequent applicant for employment on such jobs could

be required to take the new test, which admittedly had

no discriminatory impact. *

We come now to the plaintiff’s individual claim that

the layoff in 1970 resulted from an improper deduction

in her “company service” record of time lost due to

alleged sex-discriminatory layoffs in the pre-Act period

of her employment. Under the defendant’s seniority sys-

tem, “company service” is an employee’s period of em-

ployment, less layoffs. Such “company service” fixes the

22 Griggs v. Duke Power Co. (1971) 401 U.S. 424, 433-4.

16a

priority rights of employees in bidding for other job

vacancies in cases of layoff and in qualifying for cer-

tain fringe benefits. It is obviously of great value to

an employee; it has been well characterized as an em-

ployee’s “personal investment in a job.“ Plaintiff's

claim is that the defendant, by following a discrimina-

tory practice of limiting female employment to certain

job classifications, narrowed the opportunity of its female

employees to bid on an equal basis with male employees

for job vacancies in the plant, thereby causing a female

employee to suffer generally more layoff time than a

comparably qualified male employee. To illustrate the

effect of such practice in her case, she points out that

she has suffered five layoffs between 1952 and July 2,

1965, whereas males employed subsequent to the plain-

tiff suffered no layoff time prior to January, 1970. These

layoffs of the plaintiff changed the beginning date of

her “company service” from 1952 to 1955, and it was

this latter date she was required to use in bidding for

job vacancies.

The defendant does not dispute the method of calcu-

lating “company service” as claimed by the plaintiff. It

does suggest that all of plaintiff’s layoffs prior to Janu-

ary, 1970, took place before July 2, 1965, the effective

date of Title VII and that such layoffs, whether discrimi-

natory or not, were not illegal at the time. It does not

follow, however, that, though they occurred before the

effective date of the Act, these layoffs may not result in

a violation of the Act if they have an adverse effect on

the employee’s seniority rights after the Act became ef-

fective. The bellwether authority in this area is the oft-

23 For a pertinent statement of the importance of such standing,

see Franks v. Bowman Transportation Co., Inc., supra, at pp. 16-19,

slip opinion.

24 Note, Remedies: Retroactive Seniority—The Courts as Per-

sonnel Director, 29 Okla. L. Rev. 215 (1976).

17a

cited case of Quarles v. Philip Morris, Incorporated (E. D.

Va. 1968) 279 F. Supp. 505, 517-8. That case held (a)

that only a bona fide seniority system was protected

under the Act, (b) that “one characteristic of a bona

fide seniority system must be lack of discrimination,” and

(c) that a seniority system, however neutral facially, is

not a bona fide seniority system if it “has its genesis in

racial [or sex] discrimination,” whether pre-Act or post-

Act.“ Accordingly, Quarles established that any seniority

system which carried over into the post-Act period the

effects of a pre-Act discriminatory job assignment policy

disadvantaging a black [or a female] in seniority rights

was not a bona fide seniority system under the Act and

had to be adjusted to remedy that disadvantage. This

decision has been consistently followed by this Circuit *

and its ruling has been adopted in repeated decisions of

other Circuits since“ and has been approved by the legal

20 [bid., 517.

26 United States v. Chesapeake and Ohio Railway Company (4th

Cir. 1972) 471 F. 2d 582, 587-8, cert. denied 411 U.S. 939 (1973);

Brown v. Gaston County Dyeing Machine Company (4th Cir.

1972) 457 F. 2d 1377, 1382, cert. denied 409 U.S. 982 (1972):

Robinson v. Lorillard Corporation (4th Cir. 1971) 444 F. 2d 791,

795, cert. dismissed 404 U.S. 1006, 1007; United States v. Dillon

‘Supply Company (4th Cir. 1970) 420 F. 2d 800, 803-4; United

States v. Continental Can Company (E.D.Va. 1970) 319 F. Supp.

161, 166.

27 United States v. T.1.M.E.-D.C. (5th Cir. 1975) 517 F. 2d 299,

315, U.S. Appeal Pending; United States v. Navajo Freight Lines

(9th Cir. 1975) 525 F. 2d 1318, 1324-25; Pettway v. American Cast

Iron Pipe Company (5th Cir. 1974) 494 F. 2d 211, 224; United

States v. N.L. Industries, Inc. (8th Cir. 1973) 479 F. 2d 354, 360-1,

where many of the authorities are cited; United States v. Inter-

national Bro. of Elec. Wkrs., L.No. 38 (6th Cir. 1970) 428 F. 2d

144, 150, cert. denied 400 U.S. 943 (1970); Jones v. Lee Way

Motor Freight, Inc. (10th Cir. 1970) 431 F. 2d 245, 248, cert. denied

401 U.S. 954 (1971); United States v. Bethlehem Steel Corporation

(2d Cir. 1971) 446 F. 2d 652, 660-1; Schaefer v. lannian (E.D.Mich.

1975) 394 F. Supp. 1136, 1142. Cf., however, Jersey Cen. Pow.

E LI. Co. v. Local Un. $27, etc. of I. B. F. W. (3d Cir. 1975) 508 F. 2d

18a

writers.“ It is conceded by the defendant that in the

pre-Act period, the jobs in certain departments were re-

served exclusively for male employees and that in periods

of layoff only qualified male employees could bid on the

jobs in these departments. Such a system obviously gave

the male employee a preferred opportunity to protect

his “company service” over the female employee. This

more extensive opportunity in bidding for vacancies dur-

ing layoffs on the part of male employees was a discrimi-

nation against female employees, and because that dis-

crimination was carried over in the operation of the

post-Act seniority system it tainted such post-Act system.

To such extent as the plaintiff was prejudiced thereby in

the computation of her “company service” or seniority

rights, she is entitled to relief. This the District Court

correctly concluded.

The plaintiff is accordingly entitled to a judgment

requiring an adjustment in her “company service” status

sufficient to remove the adverse effect of any pre-Act

discriminatory layoffs. The District Court left for fur-

ther determination the extent of such adjustment and

the plaintiff’s right, if any, to back pay.” The District

687, 706-7, U.S. Appeal Pending; and Waters v Wisconsin Steel

Works of Int. Harvester Co. (7th Cir. 1974) 502 F. 2d 1309, 1319-

20, U.S. Appeal Pending.

28 See, Cooper & Sobol, supra, at pp. 1617, et seq.; and Sheeran,

Title VII and Layoffs Under “Last Hired, First Fired“ Seniority

Rule, 26 Case West. Res. L. Rev. 409, 449, et seq. (1976).

20 In her representation to the District Court, as set forth in the

District Court’s order of January 24, 1974, to which reference has

heretofore been made, the plaintiff disclaimed any intention of

claiming back pay. In making such concession she may have been

considering whether such a claim had any reasonable basis in the

record. After all, at the time of her layoff in 1970 and again in 1973,

the plaintiff had been offered a large number of jobs in the plant,

some of them at least being jobs theretofore classified as “heavy”

jobs. She refused all such proffers. She would justify her refusal

of those which might be classified as “heavy” on the ground that

—— 2

19a

Court, however, did not confine its ruling to plaintiff’s

individual claims, but proceeded as if it were dealing

with a class action, despite the representations in the

record and the limitation in discovery imposed on the

defendant by the ruling that the action was purely an

individual suit, to grant relief which required a general

re-arrangement of the defendant’s entire seniority sys-

tem, as applied to both male and female employees, in-

cluding new rules for determining vacancies and super-

visory promotions, even though it is well settled that a

finding of either racial or sex discrimination in the es-

tablishment or operation of a seniority system, even in

a class action, requires that such seniority system “be

modified only as it applies to those employees who were

previously subjected to discrimination, only to the extent

necessary to remove the elements perpetuating that dis-

crimination, and only for a limited period of time. Such

she was told that, if she chose one of such jobs and was unable to

do the job, she would be “fired.” We have been pointed to no evi-

dence where she justified her refusal of the offer of those jobs

which were not classified as “heavy.” So far as the rule with refer-

ence to “heavy” jobs of which she complained, it did not appear

to be disputed that the rule, both for male and female employees,

was that an employee who took such a job and failed to perform

satisfactorily would be fired. In imposing such a standard on the

plaintiff in connection with her right to bid for so-called “heavy”

jobs, the defendant was imposing no different standard than that

it imposed on male employees. See, Williams v. American Saint

Gobain Corp., Okmulgee, Okl. (10th Cir. 1971) 447 F. 2d 561, 568.

Assuming this to be true, there would seem to be no impropriety on

grounds of sex discrimination in the requirement, the exaction

of which the plaintiff claims as an excuse for refusing these job

offers. Whether such offers of other jobs, some “heavy” and some

not, as well as her formal representation that she did not seek

back pay, operated as a bar to a right to back pay we leave, as

we have said, to further proceedings in the District Court. See

§ 2000e-5(g), 42 U.S.C.: “Interim earnings or amounts earnable

with reasonable diligence by the person or persons discriminated

against shall operate to reduce the back pay otherwise allow-

able. * * *” See, also, Williams v. American Saint Gobain Corp. at

pp. 567-8, and United States v. Bethlehem Steel Corporation (2d

Cir. 1971) 446 F. 2d 652, 665-6.

a system should be allowed to apply unabated to all em-

ployees, black and white, against whom the employer did

not discriminate.” Stevenson v. International Paper Co.,

Mobile, Alabama (5th Cir. 1975) 516 F. 2d 103, 118.“

The additional relief provided in the District Court’s

order, going beyond that to which plaintiff was properly

entitled, was inappropriate and the order of the District

Court should be modified to eliminate such provisions and

terms. What we have said would apply to the inappro-

priate injunction against weight and hours-of-work rules

of the defendant, such rules having been abandoned in

1969 and there being no reasonable basis to assume that

they will ever be reinstituted.

The judgment below should accordingly be modified to

include relief only in plaintiff’s seniority rights as rep-

resented by the calculation of her “company service”

records to such extent as she may show she was preju-

diced as a result of defendant’s policy of reserving cer-

tain jobs for male employees in the pre-Act period, and

all other relief granted in the order of the District Court

herein, should be vacated, other than a recognition of

the right of the plaintiff to costs and an award of attor-

neys’ fees. The cause is accordingly remanded for the

entry of a decree in accordance with the foregoing and

for such other proceedings as may be consistent here-

with.

REMANDED FOR ENTRY OF DECREE

IN ACCORDANCE WITH FOREGOING.

8° This conclusion is supported by the recent case of Franks v.

Bowman Transportation Compery, Inc., supra, 44 LW 4356, 4363-5,

where the Supreme Court con.irued Title VII to allow seniority

relief, in a class action, only for identifiable victims of the illegal

hiring discrimination.

2la

JUDGMENT OF THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

NANCE

* * V.

o

UNION CARBIDE CORP.

*

Appeal From the United States Distriet Court

For the Western Distriet of

North Carolina

Before BUTZNER, RUSSELL and WIDENER, Circuit Judges

(Filed July 28, 1976)

APPEAL FROM the United States District Court for

the Western District of North Carolina.

THIS CAUSE came on to be heard on the record from

the United States District Court for the Western Dis-

trict of North Carolina, and was argued by counsel.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now here

ordered and adjudged by this Court that the cause is

remanded to the United States District Court for the

Western District of North Carolina, at Charlotte, for the

entry of a decree in accordance with the foregoing and

for such other proceedings as may be consistent here-

with.

22a

OPINION AND ORDER OF THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

DENYING PETITION FOR REHEARING

NANCE

v.

UNION CARBIDE CORP.

(Decided September 23, 1976)

RUSSELL, CIRCUIT JUDGE:

Upon consideration of the petition for rehearing by

the appellee, it is

ORDERED, That the first six lines, and the words

“After all” on line 7, of footnote 29, on page 30 of the

Slip Opinion be deleted; and that the following “as well

as her formal representation that she did not seek back

pay,” appearing in the first and second lines of the same

footnote 29 on page 31 of the Slip Opinion, be deleted.

The original opinion is reaffirmed in all other respects,

and

The suggestion for en banc consideration fails, no

judge having asked that the court be polled.

...en N

War ee ee

q SN Por

23a

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

OF THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE

WESTERN DISTRICT OF NORTH CAROLINA

CHARLOTTE DIVISION

NANCE

V.

UNION CARBIDE CORP.

(Filed April 28, 1975)

McMILLAN, District Judge.

Winifred S. Nance, the plaintiff, a white female, filed

this suit on August 18, 1972, against Union Carbide

Corporation of Charlotte, North Carolina, alleging that

she was subjected to discrimination because of her sex

in the matter of employment, classification, promotion

and other incidents of employment. The complaint al-

leged violations of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of

1964, 42 U.S.C. 5 2000e et seq. This matter came on

for a hearing in March, 1974 and December, 1974 and

the Court, after consideration of the evidence, enters

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law as follows:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Plaintiff, Winifred S. Nance, is a female citizen

of the United States and the State of North Carolina,

residing in Charlotte, Mecklenburg County, North Caro-

24a

lina. The plaintiff has been employed by the defendant

at its Charlotte piant since July 8, 1952.

2. The defendant, Union Carbide Corporation (de-

fendant” or Company“), is a corporation organized

under the laws of the State of New York and does busi-

ness in all fifty states, including the State of North

Carolina. The defendant maintains its corporate head-

quarters in New York City, New York.

3. The defendant operates a battery manufacturing

facility in Charlotte, Mecklenburg County, North Caro-

lina (“Charlotte plant“).

4. The majority of the work performed ( 80-90 % )

at the Charlotte plant is pursuant to contracts with var-

ious federal agencies and the majority of these contracts

are with the Department of the Army.

5. The hourly paid work force at the Charlotte plant

is organized into approximately sixteen (16) depart-

ments. The departments and a general description of

the work performed in each are as follows:

By virtue of the fact that the majority of the work performed

by the defendant at its Charlotte plant is pursuant to contracts

with the federal government, the defendant is subject to Execu-

tive Order 11246 and the Regulations implementing this Order. See

Local 189, United Papermakers and Paperworkers v. United States,

416 F.2d 980, 984, n.3 (5th Cir. 1969), cert. denied, 397 U.S. 919,

90 S.Ct. 926, 25 L.Ed.2d 100 (1969). Executive Order 11246 is a

federal regulation that requires all employers subject to this Order

not to discriminate against its employees or applicants for employ-

ment because of race, color, religion, sex or national origin. Execu-

tive Order 11246 became effective on October 24, 1965. 30 F. R.

12319; 3 C. F. R. 339. This Order was amended by Executive Order

11375, signed on October 13, 1967, which became effective in part

on November 12, 1967, and in part on October 14, 1968, by sub-

stituting the word “religion” for “creed” as a prohibited basis

of discrimination, and by adding sex as a prohibited type of dis-

crimination. 32 F.R. 14303.

nee EIEN i Mie A ink Th ROS eee

25a

Department 107: Blends proper amounts of ingre-

dient into mixes to be used in the manufacture of

Magnesium and LeClanche cells.

Department 161: Produces magnesium cells to be used

in the manufacture of magnesium batteries.

Department 208: Produces LeClanche flat cells by the

non-refrigerated method and ties into appropriate stacks

for subsequent use in scheduled LeClanche battery types.

Department 209: Produces LeClanche flat cells by the

refrigerated method and ties into appropriate stacks for

subsequent use in scheduled LeClanche battery types.

Department 210: Repairs cell stacks rejected at test-

ing in the battery finishing department.

Department 215: Produces LeClanche round cells to

be used in the manufacture of LeClanche batteries.

Department 225: Assembles all required parts into

finished batteries.

Department 235: Manufactures parts to be used in

the production of cells and finished batteries.

Department 300: Cleans-up plant and machinery.

Department 304: Provides employee relations depart-

ment duties, such as pick-up and delivery mail; picks-up

machinery parts; operates the canteen and operates the

cash register in the cafeteria.

Department 311: Cooks, serves meals and cleans-up

cafeteria.

Department 327: Provides upkeep of the plant build-

ing and services, installs, repairs, builds and maintains

plant equipment.

Department 342: Warehousing-shipping-receiving, and

supplying parts for the manufacturing departments as

requested.

Department 354: Provides production line inspection

of all operations.

Department 355: Sets up and checks on all inspec-

tion procedures within an assigned area.

Department 440: Machine operator adjuster.

6. There are over 160 different job classifications in

the 16 departments at the Charlotte plant. The over-

whelming majority of these job classifications are un-

skilled jobs.

7. The wage rate of each job is determined by the

job class to which it is assigned. Unskilled jobs are

designated as job classes 1 through 12 with job class 1

with the lowest rate and job class 12 with the highest

rate. Skilled jobs are separately designated as job classes

1 through 7 and are some of the highest paying jobs

at the Charlotte plant.

8. The majority of the female employees as of July

2, 1965, and August 8, 1972, were employed in unskilled

job classes 1-7. All of the female employees in job class

9 were employed in departments 225 and 355; these de-

partments have been two of the departments in which

females have been employed.

9. Many of the jobs designated as “heavy” jobs do

not, in fact, have a weight lifting (or exerted force

factor) of 30 pounds or more. For example, the oiler’s

position in department 327 has an average exerted force

of 15 pounds 50% of the time during the course of an

eight-hour working day; outside warehouse operator in

department 342 has an average exerted force of 2 pounds

75% of the time and 30 pounds 5% of the time; round

cell machine operator/adjuster in department 440 has an

average exerted force of 18 pounds 33% of the time and

a maximum force of only 70 pounds 1% of the time; and

process repair in department 225 has an average exerted

force of 5 pounds 25% of the time (or 10 pounds 10%

of the time) and only 85 pounds 1% of the time.

27a

10. On July 2, 1965 (the effective date of Title VII),

July 2, 1970, and August 18, 1972 (the date the com-

plaint was filed in this Court) the staffing of the various

departments by sex at the Charlotte plant was as follows:

Department 7-2-65 7-2-70 8-18-72

M F M F M F

161 — — — — 4 7

107 6 — 1 — 3 —

208 23 49 8 19 6 17

209 18 37 11 29 6 17

210 — — — 3 1 5

215 — — — — — —

225 74 57 37 65 50 77

235 19 5 15 2 11 1

300 14 — 9 2 5 8

304 — — 1 — — 1

311 2 3 1 4 1 4

320 — — 2 — 2 —

327 36 — 39 — 44 —

342 10 — 10 — 12 —

354 — 38 — 31 — 29

355 17 2 12 3 11 7

440 9 — 7 — 7 —

Totals 228 191 156 158 163 173

11. An analysis of the work force by sex as set forth

in Finding No. 10 above shows the following:

(a) As of July 2, 1965, there were 419 hourly paid

employees at the Charlotte plant; of these 228 were males

and 191 were females. Of the 191 females, 181 or ap-

proximately 95% of the females were employed in only

four (4) of the sixteen (16) departments (208, 209, 225

and 354). Only 115 or 50% of the males were employed

in these same four departments. There were no males

in department 354 and no females were employed in

department 327 (skilled trades department).

(b) As of July 2, 1970 (five years after the effective

date of Title VII), there were 314 employees; of these

156 were males and 158 were females. Of the 158 fe-

males 144 or approximately 91% were employed in only

28a

four (4) of the sixteen (16) departments (208, 209, 225,

354) and 56 or approximately 36% of the males were

employed in these same four departments. There were

no males in department 354 and no females in depart-

ment 327. ä

(e) As of August 18, 1972 (date complaint filed),

there were 336 employees, of these 163 were males and

173 were females. Of the 173 females, 140 or approxi-

mately 181% were employed in only four (4) of the

sixteen departments (208, 209, 225 and 354), whereas

only 62 or 38% of the males were employed in these

same four departments. There were no males in depart-

ment 354 and no females in department 327.

12. An analysis of Plaintiff’s Exhibits 19(A) through

19 (J) (Labor Reports) shows that the overwhelming

majority of the females were employed in only four (4)

of the sixteen (16) departments (208, 209, 225 and 354)

The percentages of females in these four (4) depart-

ments ranged from about 96% as of June 1, 1965, to

about 78% as of June 1, 1973.

13. The defendant does not maintain lines of progres-

sion within the departments. Promotions, demotions,

transfers, layoffs and recalls are governed by “company

service credit” which is the seniority standard.

14. Company service, i. e., seniority, is the length of

time an employee has been employed at the Charlotte

plant from his or her most recent date of hire minus any

and all times during which the employee has been on

lay-off because of a reduction in the work force. For

example, the plaintiff, originally employed on July 8,

1952, has a company service date of July 21, 1956 for

job progression and lay-off purposes. Plaintiff’s seniority

standing has been reduced by approximately four years

because of five lay-offs she was forced to take before

July 2, 1965, and the several times she has been laid off

29a

peed July 2, 1965 (January 23, 1970 and April 18,

15. From 1956, when the Charlotte plant re-opened,

until November 18, 1969—more than four years after

the effective date of Title VII—the defendant maintained

an open and declared policy and practice of segregating

its work force based on sex.

16. The job assignment policy set forth in the 1959

employee handbook provided that:

For the purpose of job placement, increases and

reduction in force, the following related job groups

have been established:

(1) All female jobs and (2) all male jobs, except

as may be included in other special groups as ma-

chine shop, routine inspection, mail service em-

ployees, female service employees, ete.

J ob assignment procedures [i. e., promotions, demo-

tions, lay-offs and recalls] shall be applied within

each job group separately and action resulting there-

from shall be limited to each such group. (Brackets

supplied).

17. The job assignment policy set forth in the 1964

employee handbook provided that:

For the purpose of job placement, increases and re-

ductions in force, the following related job groups

have been established:

(1) — female jobs except those ineluded in Group

#2.

(2) Female employees—Control Laboratory.

(3) All male jobs except those included in Groups

#4, 5 and 6.

(4) Machine Shop.

(5) 440 Department.

30a

(6) Male employees—Control Laboratory.

Job Assignment procedures shall be applied within

each such group separately and action resulting

therefrom shall be limited to each such group.

18. The number of jobs limited to males was almost

twice the number of jobs available to females.’

19. Prior to June 23, 1965, separate male and female

seniority rosters were maintained. Males were hired

into, promoted to, and laid off from those jobs limited to

males and were credited with company service (senior-

ity)* only as to the male jobs. The same practice was

followed with respect to the jobs limited to females.

20. Prior to July 2, 1965, female employees were al-

lowed to perform male jobs if they so requested; however,

if females took male jobs, they were not allowed to qual-

ify for the jobs, nor could they keep the jobs to avoid

lay-offs because of the defendant’s strict policy and prac-

tice of laying off employees based on the sex-segregated

seniority rosters.

21. One result (but an important result for purposes

of this case) of the separate male and female job classifi-

cations and seniority rosters set out in Findings 15, 16,

17, 18 and 19, supra, was that it was possible, and in-

deed did occur, that female employees would be laid off

on the basis of their company service as compared to

other females, while male employees with less company

service and/or even later dates of original hire were re-

tained. Whenever this situation did occur, the junior

2 Defendant, in answers to interrogatories (Plaintiff's Exhibit

2(B)), identified approximately 97 jobs (including the trainees

II and I and the A and B classifications in department 327) as

exclusively reserved for males, and approximately 47 jobs as ex-

clusively reserved for females.

See Finding No. 14, supra.

— — — -

—

31a

males who were retained gained company service and

the females who were laid off lost company service.

22. The result set out in Findings No. 21 is exactly

the situation of what has happened to the plaintiff. The

plaintiff was initially hired at the Charlotte plant on

July 8, 1952. Between July 8, 1952 and August 20, 1973

she was laid off seven (7) times, thereby losing company

service of about four years. A summary of plaintiff’s

lay-offs is as follows:

Hired 7-2-52 Original company service (CS)

date of 7-2-52

Laid off 12-13-53

Rehired ° 5-2-55 Adjusted CS 11-14-53

Laid off 7-15-55

Rehired 9-28-55 Adjusted CS 1-25-54

Laid off 2-24-61

Rehired 8-21-61 Adjusted CS 7-21-54

Laid off 9-28-62

Rehired 2-11-63 Adjusted CS 12-3-54

Laid off 4-3-64

Rehired 1-25-65 Adjusted CS 9-25-55

Laid off 1-23-70

Rehired 7-20-70 Adjusted CS 3-20-56

Laid off 4-18-73

Rehired 8-20-73 Adjusted CS 7-21-56

23. All of the lay-offs in which plaintiff was involved

prior to 1965 were the result of the sex segregated policies

*The opposite result could also occur, and did. But see Bowe

v. Colgate-Palmolive Co., 416 F.2d 711 (7th Cir. 1969), reversing

in part, 272 F.Supp. 332, 344-345 (N.D.Ind. 1967) where the dis-

trict court found that the sex segregated seniority system there

ae had a similar effect on males and females as in the in-

8 case.

5 Recall from lay-off is referred to as a “rehire”.

32a

of the defendant; none of these lay-offs were the result

of pregnancy leaves.

24. The following males have original hire dates sub-

sequent to that of the plaintiff and none of them have

been laid off at any time, ineluding the January, 1970,

and the April, 1973 lay-offs in which plaintiff was in-

volved. Each has as his company service date his date

of original hire; thus each has a competitive advantage

as to seniority standing for job progression and protec-

tion from lay-offs superior to that of the plaintiff:“

Date of Most Company

Name Recent Hire Service

George Hall 2-6-56 2-6-56

Bonner David Twitty 1-11-56 1-11-56

Carroll J. Stokes 1-2-56 1-2-56

Willard Paige 11-28-55 11-28-55

Hallbrook McCraw 11-14-55 11-14-55

Craig Barbee 10-31-55 10-31-55

Marvin Sutton 10-31-55 10-31-55

Bobby Joe McCorkle 10-31-55 10-31-55

Howard Morris 10-26-55 10-26-55

25. The following table shows the average time lost

from company service credit (“company seniority” as

currently defined by the defendant) of males and fe-

males within the same year of hire as of the week end-

ing November 26, 1972:

* Other male employees who were initially employed after the

plaintiff and who have a superior competitive seniority standing

are set forth in Laslie’s deposition (Plaintiff’s Exhibit 9(A)), and

Plaintiff's Exhibit 36(B), which shows hire dates and company

service dates of male and female employees.

33a

Average Time Lost By Males and Females Between Year of Hire

and Week Ending November 26, 1972.7

MALE FEMALE

(Average) (Average)

Year of Hire

Months Days Months Days

1952 10 26 66 20

1953 14 4 (no hires shown)

1954 (no hires shown) (no hires shown)

1955 5 69 3

1956 1 26 85 17

1957 15 6 (no hires shown)

1958 13 10 122 14

1959 (no hires shown) (no hires shown)

1960 7 25 (no hires shown)

1961 11 20 50

1962 10 16 (no hires shown)

1963 10 18 (no hires shown)

1964 8 15 (no hires shown)

1965 9 20 24 3

1966 15 16 25 18

1967 18 12 25 1

1968 25 19 31 27

1969 27 13 (no hires shown)

1970 10 6 16 7

1971 8 7 10 29

The table is based on Plaintiff's Exhibit 3608). The table was

prepared by the plaintiff as follows: First, the difference in months

and days between hire date and company service date as of No-

vember 26, 1972 was determined. This total was computed for each

male hired in the same year and divided by that number. The same

procedure was used for females. Each month was assumed to be

30 days with the exception of those employees who had a hire date

or service date that falls on the 31st of the month. For example,

entry No. 316, p. 12 of Plaintiff's Exhibit 36(B), Leazer—1578,

male, hire date 12-31-58, continuous service date 12-31-58. Frac-

tions of days equaling .5 and below were dropped and fractions of

days exceeding 5 were added to the total; e.g., 20.42 days was

entered as 20 days and 19.55 days was entered as 20 days.

34a

26. In June, 1965, just over a week before the effective

day of Title VII (July 2, 1965), the defendant adopted

a twenty-five (25) pounds weight limitation policy. This

policy was announced to employees at he Charlotte plant

on June 23, 1965, by the plant manager. The pertinent

portion of that policy is as follows:

Beginning July 2, 1965, in order to comply with the

effective date of the new Civil Rights Act, we will

consider men and women, based on Company Serv-

ice, for any job opening for which they can meet the

qualifications. Only in cases where State or Federal

law place restrictions on use of females will a job

be considered as a “Male job” only. Generally, for

instance, most state laws prohibit the employment of

females in plants on the following occupations or

capacities: “freight handling, trucking, or the fre-

quency or repeated lifting of weights over 25

pounds”. The State of North Carolina leaves the

weight factor to the judgment of management. In

order that our plants may have a consistent policy,

we have adopted the 25 pound maximum weight

limitation. North Carolina does have a law re-

stricting all female employees to a maximum of a

nine hour day in a manufacturing plant. We will,

of course, have to comply with this and use this law

in determining whether or not a job will be male or

female. In addition, the duties of such job as jani-

tor or matron may require limiting them to male

and female employees.

This makes it necessary to abolish our present prac-

tice of having separate male and female employee

seniority groups other than those jobs requiring

specific skills, such as machine shop, 440 depart-

ment, and Routine Process Inspector.

In the future job placement procedures, as well as

laying-off and rehiring employees, will be handled

35a

on the basis of length of service* regardless of

whether it is male or female, except in such in-

stances where the job requires males only or females

only. (Emphasis supplied).

27. The State of North Carolina does not have (and

never did have at any time material to this case) a law

imposing a weight limitation on jobs females could per-

form, and the decision to adopt a weight lifting require-

ment was based on federal court decisions from other

jurisdictions.

28. The twenty-five pounds weight limitation policy

adopted by the defendant in June, 1965, was a new policy

and jobs as either male jobs or female jobs. Jobs requir-

ing lifting or an exerted force“ of twenty-five pounds or

less were considered female jobs and jobs requiring ex-

erted force of twenty-five pounds or more were considered

male jobs. See Finding 9, supra.

29. The defendant, at or about the same time that it

adopted the weight lifting requirement, abandoned its

sex segregated jobs and rosters and classified the jobs

as “male” or “either”. The jobs classified as “either”

were open to males and females whereas the jobs classi-

fied as “male” were limited solely to males. All of the

jobs previously reserved for females were opened to males;

however, only a few jobs previously reserved for males

were opened to females.

30. The restriction on jobs designated as “male jobs”

instituted in June, 1965, remained in effect until No-

Length of service” is the same thing as company service. See

Finding No. 14, supra.

*The terms “weight lifting” and “exerted force” may be used

interchangeably herein, but both terms will have the same meaning

whenever used. The term “exerted force” is the term used in the job

analyses (Plaintiff's Exhibit 24(A)), whereas the term “exerted

force (or lifting)” may be used in the job descriptions (Plaintiff's

Exhibit 24(B) ).

vember 18, 1969, and female employees were not con-

sidered for these jobs and were not given the oppor-

tunity to demonstrate their ability to perform these un-

der any circumstances.

31. In addition to the weight restriction to carve out

certain jobs for males, the defendant also relied on

N.C.G.S. § 95-17 which limited the number of hours an

employer could employ a female person to not more than

forty-eight hours a week, or nine hours in any one day,

or no more than six days in any period of seven con-

secutive days. However, between July 2, 1965, and No-

vember 18, 1969, when the defendant of its own accord

eliminated the restriction on the number of hours a

female could work in any one week, the work schedules

established at the Charlotte plant were so arranged such

that if females were allowed to qualify for male jobs,

the defendant would not have been in violation of

N.C.G.S. § 95-17.

32. As a result of the policies and practices set out

in Findings 28 and 29, the plaintiff, between July 2,

1965, and November 18, 1969, was denied the oppor-

tunity to qualify for certain jobs reserved for males be-

cause of her sex on the basis of the defendant’s stereo-

typed characterization of the sexes without regard to

plaintiff’s individual preferences and ability.

33. On November 18, 1969, a notice was posted on

the bulletin boards at the Charlotte plant announcing

the adoption of a new policy. The pertinent portions of

that November 18, 1969, notice are as follows:

From a plant standpoint we will be guided by these

new decisions, and put into effect the following

changes immediately:

1. All restrictions regarding the nwmber of hours a

woman can work in any one day or week are

eliminated.

37a

2. — offering procedures will be handled as fol-

ows:

a. Jobs having weight lifting requirements of

thirty pounds or less, which are referred to as

“Light” jobs will be offered according to the

present regular job placement procedures. (This

represents no change).

b. Jobs requiring lifting of over thirty pounds,

or comparable exerted force, referred to as

“heavy” jobs, will be offered to men in accord-

ance with present procedure. However, any fe-

male may request any “Heavy” job and will be

considered, in line with her company service

credit, for such opening. Naturally all qualifi-

cations for and requirements of the job would

have to be satisfactorily met.

3. In case of a reduction-in-force, a female em-

ployee will not be forced into a “heavy” job, and

may elect lay-off if that is the only job available.

The practice of not forcing a female employee to

take “heavy” jobs will also be followed on any re-

duction within any department or related group.

(Emphasis in the original).

34. The thirty-pound weight limitation adopted in No-

vember, 1969, as was the twenty-five pound limitation

adopted in June, 1965, was based on court decisions and

was used to distinguish between male and female jobs.”

10 Several months before the November 1969 announcement, a

memorandum from the defendant’s Rocky River, Ohio, Divisional

Headquarters was sent to the plant manager at the Charlotte plant

stating, inter alia:

Subject: Weight Limitations—Female Employees

Several months ago a study was made to determine the effect

of allowing women to lift more than 25 pounds at our plants

and warehouses. The study was precipitated by recent Federal

Court decisions which ruled that the use of 30 and 35 pound

weight limitations in establishing female jobs is considered

to be reasonable and fair. These court cases were brought

38a

35. The notice of the policy change announced in No-

vember, 1969, provided that female employees had to re-

quest heavy jobs. The intendment of this notice was that

if females did not specifically request “heavy” jobs, they

would not be considered for the “heavy” jobs. Although

Moffitt, the then Charlotte plant manager, testified that a

decision was made at the corporate level that the part of

the November, 1969 policy providing that females had to

specifically request heavy jobs would not be enforced,

he also testified that his corporate decision was never

formally announced to the employees.

36. Male employees were automatically considered for

heavy jobs as a result of the November, 1969 policy

change; they did not have to specifically request these

jobs. In addition, male employees were eligible for all

jobs previously reserved for females as a result of the

policy adopted by the defendant in June, 1965. Finding

No. 29, supra.

87. The decision to institute a weight-lifting limita-

tion for female jobs at the Charlotte plant was made at

the defendant’s Divisional Headquarters in Rocky River,

Ohio. The weight-lifting requirement was made appli-

cable to the Charlotte plant because the defendant wanted

the policy to be consistent at all of its plants. The de-

fendant’s weight lifting limitation policy was based on

the Ohio statute, R. C. § 4107.43, which prohibited the

employment of females in jobs requiring frequent or

repeated lifting in excess of 25 pounds.

about by female employees who questioned a company’s right to

set a maximum weight limit on the weight females could lift.

In view of this development and the fact that questions had

been asked by a few of our hourly female employees about this

matter, we felt we should reconsider our long-standing position

of limiting female employees to a 25 pound maximum. After

considering all factors we feel we can increase the maximum

lifting limitations to 30 pounds and be within what would be

considered to be a fair standard. (Emphasis supplied).

39a

88. In 1972 the Ohio Supreme Court in Jones Metal

Products Co. v. Walker, 29 Ohio St.2d 173, 281 N.E.2d

1 (1972) ruled that R.C. § 4107.43 was pre-empted by

Title VII under the Supremacy Clause of the Constitu-

tion and that it could not be enforced in Ohio for that

reason. The United States District Court for the South-

ern District of Ohio reached the same results on March

24, 1971 in Ridinger v. General Motors Corp., 325 F.

Supp. 1089, 1093-1097, and the Sixth Circuit in General

Electric Co. v. Hughes, 454 F.2d 730 (1972) affirmed

the granting of an injunction against appropriate officials

of Ohio in the enforcement of R.C. § 4107.43.

59. The policy announced in the November 18, 1969,

notice remained in effect until shortly before the J anuary

19, 1973, lay-off. In January, 1973, the defendant no-

tified the employees that beginning with the job moves

associated with the January 19, 1973, lay-off, men would

be offered the opportunity to accept lay-off rather than

being forced to take a “heavy” job.

40. The defendant’s thirty-pound weight limitation

policy has not been eliminated; it remains in full force

and effect, notwithstanding the fact that the defendant

in November, 1969, eliminated its policy of not allowing

females to work on certain jobs because of defendant’s

alleged reliance on N.C.G.S. § 95-17 ( Finding No. 31,

supra), even though the Attorney General of North

Carolina issued an opinion on November 25, 1969 (40

N. C. A. G. 363) stating that N.C.G.S. § 95-17 would be

enforced, and notwithstanding Finding No. 38, supra.

41. The policies and procedures for filling vacancies

at the Charlotte plant are as follows:

* Both the procedures for filling job vacancies and for reduction

in the work force (lay-offs) involve all kinds of modifications and

priorities. Compare Plaintiff’s Exhibit 3(B), pp. 59-73; Plaintiff’s

Exhibit 3(D), pp. 65-83, and Plaintiff’s Exhibit 3( E), pp. 68-80.

Officials of the Company have recognized that these procedures are

4

40a

(a) Employees within the particular department

where the vacancy occurs are given first preference.

This preference is, in effect, departmental seniority.

(See Plaintiff’s Exhibit 17 which is an announce-

ment made to employees on January 13, 1970, where-

in it was stated. . . our regular job-filling pro-

cedure has always recognized departmental rights”. )

(b) Second preference is given to employees in other

departments who have, prior to the time the vacancy

occurs, submitted a written request for a transfer

to the department in which the vacancy occurs, and

the desired shift must be indicated on the request

for a departmental transfer.”

(c) A request for departmental transfer is valid

only until the employee has accepted, refused or is

laid off.

complicated. Shore, plant manager, so testified. (See also Plain-

tiff’s Exhibit 9A. Laslie, p. 71, “It is complicated“; Plaintiff's

Exhibit 11, Humphreys, p. 52). A more apt description is con-

fusing”. The Court will not attempt to summarize all of the modi-

fications and priorities for the reason that most of the more detailed

modifications and priorities probably will be eliminated as a result

of the modifications that will be ordered.

The Company has abandoned its practice with respect to the use

of “home department” in determining the priorities for filling

vacancies. However, reference to “home department” was still used

in setting forth the vacancy filling procedures in the 1973 Employee

Handbook. Presumably, the Company will delete the reference

to “home department” in the next printing of the handbook.

12 The defendant has a separate form which is used in connection

with a job change within a particular department. Requests for

departmental transfers are filed with the Head of Employee Rela-

tions; requests for job changes within departments are filed with

the departmental supervisor.

If an employee does not specifically request a transfer to de-

partment 327 (skilled trades) on the request for departmental

transfer, generally the employee will not be considered for vacancies

in 327.

The 1973 Employee Handbook provided that an employee could

not specify a specific job in the request for departmental transfer.

4la

(d) Notices of vacancies are not posted and em-

ployees must rely on word-of-mouth information

about vacancies.

(e) The only reason advanced by the defendant for

not posting vacancies is that it has never been the

policy of the company to do so.

(f) A regular job vacancy is defined as a job open-

ing which is expected to exceed or does exceed two

(2) weeks duration and does not result from dis-

ability, scheduled vacation, leave of absence or loan

of the regular job holder. All other vacancies are

temporary vacancies, including job openings of reg-

ular employees who are absent due to disability not

to exceed 26 weeks.

(g) The significance of defining a temporary va-

cancy so as to include job openings due to dis-

ability is that employees who cover the jobs during

the period of disability assume the company service

standing of the disabled employees and assume all

of the job rights of the absent employee.

42. The policy of the defendant to give first preference

to employees in the department in which vacancies occur

puts female employees at a competitive disadvantage

vis-a-vis their male counterparts because the overwhelm-

ing majority of the female employees are in only four

of the sixteen departments. See Findings 10, 11 and 12,

supra.

43. The lay-off procedures presently in effect at the

Charlotte plant as of January 13, 1970, are set forth in

Exhibit A attached hereto.

44. The lay-off procedures set forth in Exhibit A at-

tached hereto are the same procedures used in the April

18, 1973 lay-off, except that males were given the op-

tion of refusing to take “heavy” jobs.

42a

45. In addition to the lay-off procedure set forth in

Exhibit A hereto, the following practices are applicable

to lay-offs:

(a) Lay-offs are based on company service.

(b) None of the lists of employees to be laid off

(original or final) are posted.

(c) Jobs to be operated during lay-off are not posted

and employees are notified of whatever jobs may be

available to them by word of mouth.

(d) Job rights of absent disabled employees are

exercised by less senior employees who are per-

forming the jobs of the absent disabled employees.

See also Findings 42 and 43, supra.

(e) Prior to the April, 1973, lay-off, employees in

department 327 (skilled jobs), 355 (routine or

process inspectors) and 440 (machine adjusters)

were not subject to the lay-off procedures applicable

to other employees. The jobs in these departments

are some of the highest paying, nonsalaried positions

at the Charlotte plant. Traditionally, the positions

in these departments have been reserved for male

employees. See Finding No. 7, supra. Employees

entering into these departments are required to pass

several tests. See Findings Nos. 49 and 59 infra.

However, female employees were not permitted to

take these tests until late 1970.

(f) Male employees in departments 327, 355 and

440 who were laid off out of these departments

had a choice of either accepting lay-off from the

department, or if they had enough company serv-

ice and had been upgraded from one of the produc-

tion departments, they could “bump down” into pro-

duction to avoid lay-off.

(g) In April, 1973, the special protection given to

employees in departments 355 and 440 was elimin-

ated and jobs in these departments were subject to

48a

regular lay-off procedures. The special protection

for male employees in department 327 was not re-

moved and employees in this department continue

to enjoy special protection.

46. Prior to recalling any employees from lay-off, em-

ployees then in the plant are given first preference to

available job vacancies. One of the officials of the Com-

pany described the effect of the longstanding policy and

practice by stating that.. . when we were going to

increase our production the first thing that we would

do is that we would re-arrange the plant and therefore,

as a rule the more desirable jobs are taken by those

people wno are in the plant and the less desirable jobs

are left for new people being hired or people being called

back from layoffs.”

47. The defendant does not have any standardized

procedure for advising employees on lay-off of the avail-

ability of job openings. In some instances employees are

notified by telephone; in other instances they are notified

by letter simply stating that jobs are available without

specifying what jobs are available; yet in other instances,

employees are notified by letter that jobs are available

and the available jobs are listed.

48. Ninety-five percent (95%) of the female employees

who have been laid off have returned as compared to

sixty to seventy percent (60-70%) of the males who

have returned from lay-off."

49. Between 1950 and 1952 the defendant adopted

the Test of Mechanical Comprehension (“Bennett Me-

chanical”) and the Modified Alpha Examination, Form

1 The high rate of return of females from lay-offs formed the

basis for the defendant to conclude in its 1973-74 Affirmative Ac-

tion Plan that the Charlotte plant has been a desirable place for

women to work and that the defendant had experienced no diffi-

culty in obtaining female employees with requisite skills to fill

jobs.

44a

9, that persons interested in jobs in departments 327,

355 and 440 were required to successfully pass before

they were considered for these jobs.“ Incumbent male

employees already in these departments at the time tests

were instituted were not required to take or pass these

tests in order to retain their jobs.

50. Female employees were not allowed to take the

Modified Alpha and the Bennett Mechanical until late

1970.*°

51. Between 1965 and August, 1970 (before any fe-

males were permitted to take the tests), over 100 males

were permitted to take the Modified Alpha and the Ben-

nett Mechanical; of these, more than twenty (20) had

scores sufficient to qualify them for consideration for

employment in either 327, 355 or 440. (See Plaintiff’s

Exhibit 33, e. g., Entries Nos. 3, 4, 9, 13, 14, 15, 16, 30,

33, 38, 39, 40). Many others had scores sufficient to

qualify them for jobs in at least one of the departments.

52. Of the fourteen (14) females who took the Ben-

nett, only three had scores sufficient to qualify them

for jobs in department 327 (Id., Entries Nos. 131, 139,

157, and 159). Moreover, defendant’s own expert wit-

ness testified that males tend to score higher than fe-

males on the Bennett.

14 Different passing scores on each test were established for each

department:

Mechanical

Department Alpha Comprehension

440 75 33

327 85 35

355 100 30

1 The plaintiff testified that she was not aware of the tests until

shortly before she first took the tests in 1970. The Plaintiff's

Exhibit 33, which was compiled from Plaintiff’s Exhibit Nos. 14c

and 156 which are documents showing the test scores of employees,

males and females, who took the Bennett Mechanical and the Modi-

fied Alpha.

45a

53. Of the females who took both the Bennett and

the Modified Alpha, only one (1) scored sufficiently to

qualify her for a position in either of the three de-

partments (/d., Entry No. 131).

54. Of the 132 males and the 17 females who took

the Bennett Mechanical between 1965 and December, 1970

(when test discontinued), the average (mean) score for

females was 25.44 and for men 34.02—a difference of

8.58 points. A larger percentage of males than females

received scores exceeding the passing or cut-off levels on

the Bennett necessary for consideration for promotion

to vacancies in departments 327, 355 and 440. The high-

est cut-off score for obtaining a job was 35 (department

327). Fifty-seven percent (57%) of the males but only

twenty-four percent (24%) of the females who took the

Bennett scored above 35. The lowest cut-off score for

a job was 30 (department 355). Sixty-seven percent

(67%) of the males and only forty-one percent (41%)

of the females scored above 30. This Finding is based

on Plaintiff’s Exhibit 33).

55. On the Modified Alpha, a general intelligence test,

females who took the test had a mean score of 76.97

and males had a mean score of 79.56 (Id.)

56. Defendant’s own testing expert testified on direct

examination that females tend to score less well on the

Bennett than do males.

57. In December, 1970, the defendant stopped using

the Bennett Mechanical and the Modified Alpha and on

June 30, 1971, and so notified its employees. The deci-

sion to discontinue these tests was made by the then

plant manager, Moffett.

58. The Modified Alpha and Bennett Mechanical were

never validated (i. e., shown to be job related) because

it was determined by the defendant that the size of the

46a

sample at the Charlotte plant would not be large enough

to be statistically significant.

59. On July 30, 1971, one month after the employees

had been notified that the modified Alpha and Bennett

Mechanical had been discontinued, the defendant substi-

tuted new test requirements for departments 355 and

440; and on September 8, 1972, new test requirements

were substituted for department 327.

60. A passing score of 70% was established for the

new tests. The 70% passing score was established based

on the experience as a teacher of one of the officials at

the Charlotte plant.“

61. No validation studies were conducted with re-

spect to the new tests.

62. Incumbent employees (all males in departments

355 and 440) were not required to take the new tests in

order to retain their jobs and were thus “grandfathered”

into their positions in these departments on the basis

of tests which the defendant has not demonstrated to

be job related.“

16 The official was unable to state whether an employee making a

score of 65 on these tests might be able to successfully perform

on the jobs in question.

„There were over sixty (60) males in departments 327, 355 and

440 as of July 2, 1965 as compared to two (2) females (See Finding

No. 8, supra). See Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 420 F.2d 1225, 1247

(4th Cir. 1970) (dissent by Sobleoff, J.).

18 The EEOC, “Guidelines on Employment Selection Procedures”,

provide in Section 1607.11 that:

The principle of disparate or unequal treatment must be dis-

tinguished from the concepts of test validation. A test or

other employee selection standard—even though validated

against job performance in accordance with the guidelines in

this part—cannot be imposed upon any individual or class

protected by Title VII where other employees, applicants or

members have not been subjected to that standard, Disparate

treatment, for example, occurs where members of a minority or

47a

63. The defendant compiles two com service

rosters—one showing the standing of — by de-

partment and another roster showing the plant- wide com-

pany service standing. If an employee wants to know his

departmental standing he must ask his departmental

foreman if the employee wants to know his plant-wide

standing he must go to the Employee Relations Depart-

ment. Neither of these rosters has ever been posted.”

64. The defendant maintains and compiles job descrip-

tions and job evaluations. If an employee has any ques-

tions about whether the work he is asked to perform is

covered in his job, he has an opportunity to see the job

description; however, he is not given the opportunity

to see the job evaluation. The job evaluations are more

detailed than the job descriptions setting forth such

factors as exerted force, training time, rate of pay and

other items.“

sex group have been denied the same employment, promoti

transfer or membership opportunities — oy SS

available to other employees or applicants. Those employees or

applicants who have been denied equal treatment, because of

prior discriminatory practices or policies, must at least be

afforded the same opportunities as had existed for other em-

ployees or applicants during the period of discrimination.

Thus, no new test or other employee selection standard can be

imposed upon a class of individuals protected by Title VII who

but for prior discrimination, would have been granted the

opportunity to qualify under less stringent selection standards

previously in force. (Emphasis supplied).

#® Seniority rosters are computerized and are readily available.

0 All or substantially all of the job descripti

— contain the Sillewtng pasageen Job descriptions and job evalua-

“The description of this job covers only a general i

the duties of the job. Due to the varied 44 of 1. A =

eration, it is impossible to include in detail all of the miscel-

laneous tasks that the job may require from day to day. In

every instance, the operator is expected to produce a full

eight-hour’s task and that the supervisor, when possible, will

endeavor to provide a full eight-hour’s work.”

48a

65. Even though the job evaluations may have both

an average and a maximum weight lifting or exerted

force factor, the job descriptions which are shown to the

employees state only the maximum weight lifting or

exerted force element.

66. The defendant never had a female foreman at

the Charlotte plant until shortly after the complaint

was filed on August 18, 1972.“ Foreman is a salaried

position.

67. The procedure for selecting foremen (forepersons)

is as follows: Whenever a vacancy for additional per-

sonnel occurs, the Plant Manager, the Head of Employee

Relations, and the General Foreman, each makes in-

dividual lists of candidates. Each then rates each of the

candidates as their first, second and third choices. The

respective lists of candidates are then compared and the

names of candidates with the most first choice votes are

submitted to divisional headquarters in Rocky River,

Ohio. Three names are generally submitted to divisional

headquarters for a final decision.

68. Frances Black was the first female foreman at the

Charlotte plant.

69. Frances Black was employed on January 3, 1967,

as a secretary to the Head of Industrial Engineering and

held that position until she was promoted to foreman on

September 1, 1972. At the time of her promotion to

foreman her salary increased from $7,140 to $9,000

yearly.

70. The defendant has hired or promoted more than

20 persons as foremen or salaried personnel since July

2, 1965; of these, only three have been females.”

21 The defendant had several females who were classified as lines-

men during World War II; however, they were hourly-paid em-

ployees whereas foremen are salaried personnel (PX 9A, Laslie,

pp. 49, 52).

22 Frances Black, Johnnie Covington and Carol Betzold.

49a

71. None of the female employees promoted to or as-

signed to foreman or supervisory positions after 1965

were formerly hourly paid employees, whereas a number

of the males promoted after this date were formerly

hourly paid employees.

72. The procedures used by the defendant for the selec-

tion of foremen and salaried personnel are based on

purely subjective standards and there are no safeguards

in these procedures designed to avert discrimination

against females in selecting foremen and other salaried

personnel.“

73. As a Federal Government Contractor, the defend-

ant has an obligation to prepare and execute affirmative

action programs. See n. 1 supra. Notwithstanding the

defendant’s commitment and obligation to the principle

of the affirmative action programs, no efforts were made,

nor were any programs established, nor were any de-

tailed analyses of defendant’s female work force made

until the defendant prepared its 1973-74 Affirmative

Action Program.

74. Although the defendant stated in its 1971 Affirma-

tive Action Program that an in-depth analysis of its

— practices had been made, it simply had not been

one.

75. There has never been a labor organization to rep-

resent employees at the Charlotte plant.

76. On or about August 22, 1972, shortly after the

complaint was filed in this court, the defendant posted

a notice on the bulletin board about the filing of the

complaint. The notice stated, among other things, that

the company had expected a ruling from EEOC that no

discrimination was involved prior to the time that the

complaint was filed, and that prior to the filing of the

See Rowe v. General Motors Corp., 457 358-359

(5th Cir, 1972). 7 a

50a

complaint in federal court, the company believed that

the employment discrimination claim asserted by the

plaintiff was more of a personal matter between the

company and the plaintiff. The defendant says that

notice of the complaint was posted because of media cover-

age of the filing of the case and the number of questions

raised by other employees concerning the filing of the

case. The Court finds no impropriety in the posting of

the notice.

77. On January 31, 1973 plaintiff accepted a con-

nector’s job.“ Although the plaintiff had worked as a

connector before this date and was considered a qualified

connector, she had never performed this particular job

which she was assigned in January, 1973. Plaintiff was

advised that she would have six days to qualify; how-

ever, she was not given any instructions or training prior

to the assignment. During the six days qualifying period

Jimmy Smith was assigned to plaintiff as back up help,

to catch those connections missed by the plaintiff. Jimmy

Smith had never before been assigned to do this par-

ticular connection on a regular basis when the line was

running. Three days after the plaintiff had been on this

connection, she requested and received some assistance

from Jessie Teeter because she did not believe that she

was “catching on” as quickly as she should. At no time

during plaintiff's qualifying period did her foreman or

supervisor advise her that she was not making sufficient

progress or that her reject rate was higher than the

established standards, even though both her departmental

foreman (C. R. Garner) and her immediate foreman

(Clyde Williams) testified that they observed through-

out the qualifying period that the plaintiff was not per-

forming at a satisfactory pace. Plaintiff was never ad-

vised by her supervisor and foreman that she was not

24 A connector’s duties are to connect wires to a battery with the

use of a soldering iron.

5la

performing satisfactorily until the actual date of her

disqualification.

78. On February 9, 1973, plaintiff was notified that

she was disqualified as a connector. She was given a

choice of “giving up” the job or being disqualified. Dur-

ing the qualification period plaintiff was earning $3.65

per hour; when she was disqualified, she was assigned

to a job at a rate of $3.00 per hour.

79. Plaintiff filed a grievance protesting her disquali-

fication. During the process she discussed the matter

with Florence Laslie, Head of Employee Relations. Laslie

advised plaintiff at one point that if piaintiff were willing

to state that she was “nervous and upset” during the

six-day qualification period, the disqualification would

be removed from her record and plaintiff would be eligible

for future connecting jobs.

80. At the time plaintiff was disqualified in February,

1973, the defendant had a policy that if an employee

is disqualified as a connector, the only circumstances

under which an employee can return to that classifica-

tion is if there is a major change in the operation of the

job or if there are extenuating circumstances approved

by the plant management allowing the person to return

to the classification.

81. Notwithstanding the practice set out in Finding

80, supra, plaintiff was assigned a different connecting

job in the socket department to cover for an employee

absent because of illness.

82. When plaintiff was recalled from lay-off, she was

advised by John Vann, then Head of Employee Rela-

tions, of a number of jobs available to her; however,

it was only after plaintiff specifically inquired about a

connecting job that she was advised of the availability

of this position. She was then advised by Vann that

the rate of pay for connecting was $3.80 per hour; how-

52a

ever when she returned to work from recall to a con-

necting position she was given a learner’s rate of $3.65

per hour, and had to qualify for the position again.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Court has jurisdiction under Section 706(f)

(1), of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. Section

2000e-5(f) (1). (Ruling of the Court made during the

trial).

2. The defendant Union Carbide Corporation is an

employer within the meaning of Section 701(b) of Title

VII, 42 U.S.C. Section 2000e(b) and is engaged in an

industry affecting commerce within the meaning of 42

U.S.C. Section 2000e(b).

3. The plaintiff has complied with the procedural re-

quirements of Sections 706(b), (e) and (f)(1) of Title

VII, 42 U.S.C. Sections 2000e-5 (b), (e) and (f) (1).

4. The relevant time period for determining defend-

ant’s liability and plaintiff’s entitlement to relief is at

and before the suit was filed. While the defendant’s

more recent practices may have a bearing on the question

of relief, they do not affect the determination whether

the defendant previously violated Title VII. United

States v. International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers,

Local 38, 428 F.2d 144, 151 (6th Cir. 1970), cert. denied,

400 U.S. 943, 91 S.Ct. 245, 27 L.Ed.2d 248 (1970);

United States v. Dillon Supply Co., 429 F.2d 800 (4th

Cir. 1970) ; United States v. Chesareake & Ohio Ry. Co.,

471 F.2d 582 (4th Cir. 1972); cert. denied sub nom.,

Local 268 Broth. of R. R. Trainmen v. United States,

411 U.S. 939, 93 S.Ct. 1893, 36 L.Ed.2d 401 (1973);

United States v. Central Motor Lines, Inc., 338 F. Supp.

532, 556 (W.D.N.C. 1971).

5. Statistics carry much weight in cases brought un-

der Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. Brown

53a

v. Gaston County Dyeing Machine Co., 457 F.2d 1377,

1382 (4th Cir. 1972), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 982, 93

S.Ct. 319, 34 L.Ed.2d 246 (1972); McDonnell Douglas

Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792, 805, 93 S.Ct. 1817, 36

L.Ed.2d 668 (1973); United States v. Central Motor

Lines, Inc., 338 F.Supp. 532, 556 (W.D.N.C. 1971) ;

Young v. Edgcomb Steel Co., 363 F.Supp. 961 (M. D. N. C.

1973), reversed on issue not here involved, 499 F.2d 97

(Ath Cir. 1974).

The statisties in this case which reflect that the over-

whelming majority of females, including the plaintiff, in

the Charlotte plant are employed in only four (4) out of

the sixteen (16) departments, establish a prima facie

showing that the defendant has discriminated against

its female employees because of sex. Wetzel v. Liberty

Mutual Insurance Co., 372 F.Supp. 1146, 1154 (W.D.

Pa. 1974); Bowe v. Colgate Palmolive Co., 416 F.2d

711 (7th Cir. 1969), affirming in part and reversing in

part, 272 F.Supp. 332 (S.D. Ind. 1967) ; Parham v. South-

western Bell Telephone Co., 483 F.2d 421 (8th Cir. 1970).

6. The statistics and other evidence further establish

that at the defendant’s Charlotte plant females were, as

recently as August, 1972, totally excluded from all jobs

in Departments 327 and 440.

7. The prima facie case of discrimination in violation

of Section 703 (a), 42 U.S.C. Section 2000e-2 a) estab-

lished by the statistics is confirmed by evidence that the

defendant has engaged in the following discriminatory

employment practices:

A. In June, 1965, the defendant, although abandon-

ing its separate seniority rosters and job classifications

based on sex, established categories designated “male” or

“either”. Females were not considered under any cir-

cumstances for those jobs designated as male jobs.

54a

B. In June, 1965, the defendant established a twenty-

five (25) pound weight limitation, the effect of which

was to continue the male and female job classifications

which existed prior to that date.

C. In November, 1969, the defendant adopted a policy

of designating jobs as either “heavy” or “light”. The

defendant also increased its twenty-five (25) pound

weight limitation to thirty (30) pounds. The thirty (30)

pounds weight limitation and the designation of jobs as

either “heavy” or light“ had the effect of distinguishing

jobs at the Charlotte plant as either male or female.

Females were not considered for jobs designated heavy

unless they specifically requested such a job.

D. Female employees were not allowed to take any

tests administered for entry into departments 327, 355

and 440 prior to August, 1970; and when the defendant

abandoned the Modified Alpha and the Bennett Mechani-

cal because it could not demonstrate that these tests were

job related, the employees in these departments, all of

whom were males, were not required to take the new

tests instituted in 1971 as a prerequisite to retaining

their jobs. The new tests instituted in 1971, and which

are presently in use, have not been shown to be job re-

lated under the EEOC, “Guidelines on Employee Selec-

tion Procedures”. 29 C. F. R. Section 1607.1-14, 29 C. F. R.

1607; 35 Fed. Reg. 1233 (Aug. 1, 1970).

E. The weight limitation policies established by the

defendant are based on sterotyped characterization of

females and males because of sex.

8. Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 was de-

signed “to achieve equality of employment opportunities

and remove barriers that have operated in the past to

favor an identifiable group of . . . employees over other

employees. Under the Act, practices, procedures, or tests

neutral on their face, and even neutral in terms of intent

55a

cannot be maintained if they operate to ‘freeze’ the status

quo of prior discrimination practice“. Griggs v. Duke

Power Co., 401 U.S. 424, 429-430, 91 S.Ct. 849, 853, 28

L. Ed. 2d 158 (1971); Collins v. Union Carbide Corp.,

371 F.Supp. 260, 264-265 (S. D. Tex. 1974); Bowe v.

Colgate-Palmolive Co., 416 F.2d 711 (7th Cir. 1969) and

489 F.2d 896 (7th Cir. 1973); Danner v. Phillips Pe-

troleum Co., 447 F. 2d 159 (5th Cir. 1971); Quarles v.

Philip Morris, Inc., 279 F.Supp. 505 (E. D. Va. 1968).

9. Where, as in this case, a company has in the past

operated a sexually segregated system of employment in

which assignments to particular job classifications and

departments were restricted on the basis of sex, the con-

tinued reliance on a seniority system (i. e., company

service) which gives male employees a competitive ad-

vantage over female employees in terms of promotions,

transfers, lay-offs and recalls, perpetuates the effects of

past discrimination and constitutes a present pattern or

practice of impermissible discrimination against female

employees, depriving them of employment opportunities

and adversely affecting their status as employees because

of their sex within the meaning of Section 703(a) (2),

42 U.S.C. Section 2000e-2(a)(2). Bowe v. Colgate-

Palmolive, supra; Ostapowicz v. Johnson Bronze Co., 369

F.Supp. 522 (W.D.Pa. 1973); Danner v. Phillips Petro-

leum, 447 F.2d 159 (5th Cir. 1971), affirming 3 EPD

7 8336 (W.D.Tex., May 18, 1970); Diaz v. Pan Ameri-

ean World Airways, Inc., 442 F.2d 385 (5th Cir. 1971),

cert. denied, 404 U.S. 950, 92 S.Ct. 275, 30 L.Ed.2d 267

(1971); Chrapliwy v. Uniroyal, Inc., 6 FEP Cases 98

(N.D.Ind., July 5, 1973), and 7 FEP Cases 343 (N.D.

Ind., February 27, 1974). See also, Robinson v. Lorillard

Corp., 444 F.2d 791 (4th Cir. 1971); United States v.

Chesapeake & Ohio Ry. Co., 471 F.2d 582 (4th Cir.

1972); Rock v. Norfolk & Western Ry. Co., 473 F.2d

56a

1344 (4th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, sub. nom. United

Transportation Union, Lodge No. 550 v. Rock, 412 U.S.

933, 93 S.Ct. 2754, 37 L.Ed.2d 161 (1973); United

States v. Central Motor Lines, 338 F.Supp. 532 (W..

N. C. 1971); Hairston v. McLean Trucking Co., 62

F. R. D. 651-669 (M. D. N. C. 1973); Russell v. The Ameri-

can Tobacco Co., 374 F.Supp. 286 (M. D. N. C. 1973);

Young v. Edgeomb Steel Co., 363 F.Supp. 961 (M. D. N. C.

1973), reversed on ground here not relevant, 499 F. 2d 97

(Ath Cir. 1974).

10. Where, as in this case, a company has in the past

operated a sexually segregated system of employment in

which assignment to, lay-off from, and recall to job clas-

sifications were done on the basis of sex, the adoption

of a job allocation procedure which distinguishes between

“light” and “heavy” jobs constitutes an unlawful em-

ployment practice where it operates as a disguised form

of classification by sex, and creates unreasonable ob-

stacles to the advancement by females into jobs which

females would reasonably be expected to perform. EEOC,

“Guidelines on Discrimination Because of Sex”, 29 C. F. R.

1604.3(a) and (b); Laffey v. Northwest Airlines, Inc.,

366 F.Supp. 763 (D.D.C. 1970), order entered 374 F.

Supp. 1382 (D.D.C., April 3, 1974); Rinehart v. West-

inghouse Electric Corp., 4 EPD f 7520 (N. D. Ohio, Au-

gust 11, 1970); Cheatwood v. South Central Bell T. &

T. Co., 303 F.Supp. 754 (N. D. Ala. 1969); Bowe v.

Colgate-Palmolive Co., supra; Trivett v. Tri-State Con-

tainer Corp., 368 F.Supp. 137 (E. D. Tenn. 1973); Tay-

lor v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., 6 FEP Cases 50, 57

—— Ala., July 31, 1972) (jobs designated heavy and

ight).

11. Where, as in this case, a company has historically

classified its employees on the basis of sex, it is impermis-

sible for the company to rely on word-of-mouth notice

of job vacancies. Brown v. Gaston County Dyeing Ma-

57a

chine Co., 457 F.2d, supra, at 1383; United States v.

Dillon Supply Co., 429 F.2d 800, 802 (4th Cir. 1970).

12. The question whether the defendant discouraged

its female employees, including the plaintiff, from accept-

ing heavy jobs in 1970 and thereafter is immaterial to

the issue whether the defendant practiced discrimination

in its employment practices from and after July 2, 1965.

Wetzel v. Liberty Mutual Ins. Co., 372 F.Supp. 1146,

1154 (W.D. Pa. 1974).

13. Under Title VII, 42 U.S.C. Section 2000e-7, re-

liance on state laws cannot justify discriminatory prac-

tices where such laws conflict with federal laws. Schaef-

fer v. San Diego Yellow Cabs, Inc., 462 F.2d 1002, 1005

(9th Cir. 1972) (state law on work week for women) ;

Rosenfeld v. Southern Pacific Co., 444 F.2d 1219, 1225-

1227 (9th Cir. 1971).

14. Only if a challenged practice is found to be es-

sential to overriding, legitimate, non-sexual business pur-

pose, such as safety and efficiency, can the practice in

question be allowed to stand. Robinson v. Lorillard Corp.,

444 F.2d 791, 797-798 (4th Cir. 1971) (there must be

no acceptable alternative which would better accomplish

the business purpose) ; Griggs v. Duke Power Co., supra;

Wetzel v. Liberty Mutual Ins. Co., supra. The defend-

ant has failed to show that the practices here challenged

are supported or required by business necessity.

15. In order to rely on the bona fide occupation qual-

ification exception set forth in Section 703(e), 42 U.S.C.

Section 2000e-2(e) with respect to its weight lifting

policy, the defendant has the burden of proving by a pre-

ponderance of the evidence that all or substantially all

females would be unable to perform safely and efficiently

the duties of the jobs involved. Weeks v. Southern Bell

T. & T. Co., 408 F.2d 228, 232 (5th Cir. 1969) ; Bowe v.

Colgate-Palmolive Co., 416 F.2d supra, at 717-719; Spro-

58a

gis v. United Air Lines, Inc., 444 F.2d 1194, 1199 (7th

Cir. 1971) ; EEOC Guidelines on Discrimination Because

of Sex, 29 C.F.R. Section 1604.3(b). The defendant has

not met this burden.

16. Where an employer has engaged in a pervasive

practice of discrimination on account of sex, affirmative

and mandatory relief is required in order to insure full

enjoyment of the right to equal employment opportunities.

In ordering relief, a court should not parrot the Act,

but should offer affirmative relief which is appropriate

to insure the full enjoyment of employment rights.

United States v. Dillon Supply Co., 429 F.2d 800, 804

(4th Cir. 1970); Local 53, Asbestos Workers v. Vogler,

407 F.2d 1047, 1052-1053 (5th Cir. 1969).

17. In such cases the court has not merely the power

but the duty to render a decree which will as far as

possible eliminate the discriminatory effects as well as

bar like discrimination in the future. Louisiana v. United

States, 380 U.S. 145, 154, 85 S.Ct. 817, 13 L.Ed.2d 709

(1965); Rosen v. Public Service Electric and Gas Co.,

477 F.2d 90, 95-96 (3rd Cir. 1973) (sex discrimination).

18. In order to remedy the present and continuing

discrimination based on sex and to remedy the competi-

tive seniority disadvantage to the plaintiff stemming from

the defendant’s pre-1965 practices of maintaining segre-

gated jobs and rosters, and promotions, transfers, lay-

offs and recall procedures based on sex:

A. There must be a modification of reliance on com-

pany service seniority and departmental preference in

defendant’s vacancy filling procedure.

B. The defendant will be required to institute a sen-

iority system based on revised senioiity dates for pur-

poses of promotions, departmental transfers, lay-offs and

recalls. Collins v. Union Carbide Corp., 371 F.Supp. 260,

266-268 (S.D. Tex. 1974); Bowe v. Colgate Palmolive

59a

Co., 489 F.2d 896 (7th Cir. 1973), affirming, 6 FEP

Cases 1123 (S.D. Ind. 1972); Watkins v. United States

Steel Workers of America, AFL-CIO, 369 F.Supp. 1221

(E.D. La. 1974); United States v. Central Motor Lines,

Inc., 338 F.Supp. 532, 560 (W.D.N.C. 1971) ; Chrapliwy

v. Uniroyal, supra; Danner v. Phillips Petroleum Co.,

supra; Guthrie v. Colonial Bakery Co., 6 FEP Cases 663

(N.D. Ga., March 8, 1973).

C. The defendant will also be required to post in

conspicuous places throughout the Charlotte plant notice

of all vacancies and rosters showing such revised sen-

iority standing of all employees. Young v. Edgcomb

Steel Co., 363 F.Supp. supra, at 972 (M.D. N.C. 1973),

reversed on issue here not relevant, 499 F.2d 97 (4th Cir.

1974). Guthrie v. Colonial Bakery Co., 6 FEP Cases

662, 665 (N.D. Ga., March 8, 1973).

D. The defendant will be enjoined from giving first

preference to employees in the plant when vacancies oc-

eur during the periods when a reduction in the work

force is in effect, and all vacancies at all times will be

offered to employees on the basis of the revised date of

seniority. Guthrie v. Colonial Bakery Co., 6 FEP Cases

662 (N.D. Ga., March 8, 1973); Bowe v. Colgate-Pal-

molive Co., 489 F.2d 896 (7th Cir. 1973).

E. The defendant will be enjoined from requiring

the plaintiff to successfully pass any tests currently used

for jobs in departments 327, 355 and 440 because her

male counterparts in these departments were not re-

quired to take these tests. Griggs v. Duke Power Co..

420 F.2d 1225, 1231 (4th Cir. 1970) (see also dissent

by Sobeloff, J., 420 F.2d at 1247); Ostapowicz v. John-

son Bronze Co., 369 F.Supp. 522, 539 (W.D. Pa. 1973) ;

NAACP v. Beecher, 504 F.2d 1017 (Ist Cir. 1974).

Russell v. American Tobacco Co., 374 F.Supp. 286 (M.D.

N.C. 1973); Young v. Edgecomb Steel Co., 363 F.Supp.

961 (M.D. N.C. 1978).

60a

F. The defendant’s weight lifting limitation policy

should be discontinued. Weeks v. Southern Bell T. & T.,

supra; Schaeffer v. San Diego Yellow Cab, supra; EEOC

Guidelines on Discrimination Because of Sex, 29 C. F. R.

1604.4.

19. Where employment discrimination has been clearly

demonstrated, employees who have been victims of that

discrimination must be compensated if economic loss can

be established. Johnson v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co.,

491 F.2d 1364 (5th Cir. 1974) ; United States v. Georgia

Power Co., 474 F.2d 906, 921 (5th Cir. 1973); Moody

v. Albemarle Paper Co., 474 F.2d 134 (4th Cir. 1973);

Rosen v. Puvlic Service Electric and Gas Co., 477 F.2d

90, 95-96 (3rd Cir. 1973).

20. The statistics showing the foreman and super-

visory work force by sex and the defendant’s reliance on

subjective criteria for the selection of its supervisory

work force demonstrate that defendant has discriminated

against its female employees in the selection of its su-

pervisory personnel. Rowe v. General Motors Corp., 457

F.2d 348 (5th Cir. 1972) ; Gilmore v. Kansas City Termi-

nal Ry., 509 F.2d 48 (8th Cir. 1975); Brown v. Gaston

County Dyeing Machine Co., 457 F.2d 1877, 1382-1385

(4th Cir. 1972).

21. The defendant has intentionally engaged in the

unlawful employment practices described herein within

the meaning of Section 706(g) of the Civil Rights Act

of 1964, 42 U.S.C. Section 2000e-5(g). Griggs v. Duke

Power Co., 401 U.S. 424, 91 S.Ct. 849, 28 L.Ed.2d 158

(1971); Robinson v. Lorillard Corp., 444 F.2d 791 (4th

Cir. 1971); Schaeffer v. San Diego Yellow Cabs, Inc.,

462 F.2d 1002, 1006 (9th Cir. 1972).

22. Plaintiff is entitled to recover her costs and reason-

able attorneys’ fees as part of her costs.

6la

23. The clerk is requested to set this case for a con-

ference among court and counsel to try to arrive at a

method of establishing appropriate revised seniority dates

for the plaintiff and other female employees, and to

draft an appropriate order.

EXHIBIT A TO FINDINGS OF FACT

RULES GOVERNING THE LAYOFF ON

JANUARY 23, 1970, AT THE CHARLOTTE PLANT

1. Determine the level of operation needed to meet the

demand for batteries.

2. Determine the number of employees needed to op-

erate at this level and make staffing sheets accord-

ingly.

3. Determine the excess number of employees in the

plant. This becomes the number of employees to be

laid off.

4. Departmental Foremen announced the layoff and ex-

plained the effect on this layoff of the new court

ruling governing weight restrictions for women. One

member from the Plant Manager’s Department or

Employee Relations Department attended the de-

partmental meetings to help answer questions.

5. Make a temporary layoff list by listing the youngest

employee in the plant according to company service

until the prescribed number for layoff is reached.

6. On paper, remove the laid off employees from the

departments.

7. On the basis of the new requirements, determine the

employees to remain in each department and the

employees to be set aside on the surplus list.

8. The surplus employees from each department com-

prise the plant wide surplus list.

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

62a

The jobs left unfilled by the removal of che em-

ployees on layoff become the job opening list.

After laid off and surplus employees are removed

from the departments, rearrangements are made

within each department.

Those remaining in the departments may turn down

jobs within their department. The opening created

will be filled by offering it to those employees from

that department on the surplus list. If no one wants

the opening, the youngest employee in terms of com-

pany service from that department will be forced to

take the opening. An employee who elects to go on

the surplus list loses his home department rights

unless it is a case of a woman being offered a heavy

job. 7

After all departments have completed their respec-

tive rearrangements, the resulting job openings are

offered in accordance with company service to those

employees who are on the surplus list or who have in

requests.

Men on the list may take light jobs if they have

enough company service to get them. If only heavy

openings are left, men are required to take them.

Women can take heavy or light openings if their

company service warrants. However, women can-

not be forced to take heavy openings.

The point is reached where there are only heavy

openings available and only women are left to take

them and they refuse. The youngest employees in

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.