Petition — Carpenters District Council v. Reid Burton Construction, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1976

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, ta 5 |

FiliLED

AUG 2 we

"AnAY ID MeoK

a7}

~

45.4

Iu the

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1976

CARPENTERS DISTRICT COUNCIL OF )

SOUTHERN COLORADO and its )

affiliated LOCAL UNION 1340 )

of the United Brotherhood of )

Carpenters & Joiners of America, AFL-CIO, )

Petitioners )

vs )

REID BURTON CONSTRUCTION, INC.,

a Colorado corporation,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

JOHN W. McKENDREE

LAW OFFICES OF JOHN W. McKENDREE

1050 Seventeenth St., Suite 2500

Denver, Colorado 80202

Attorneys for Petitioners

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

I I inactticccisrcinstntnicstinsinisinncscuricainiticiicainil 2

TEES PA: ENE AT 2

QUESTION PRESENTED 0000...:...2..ssssssssssssssssesesesesesseeseeeeee 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 22..........cccccccccccccssssecessseeeseeeeee 2

REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT...» 7

THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISION PRE-

SENTS AN ISSUE OF SUBSTANTIAL FEDERAL

IMPORTANCE WHICH HAS NOT, BUT SHOULD

BE, DETERMINED BY THIS COURT ....... 7

SMITTEN wnisccsissscidliicciapssinicnshiituaiaiiaiiitintinissnieimcanaiininumisetes 15

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE .........................-2--00- 15

APPENDIX

A. DISTRICT COURT MEMORANDUM OPIN-

ION AND AMENDMENT THERETO

1. Memorandum Opinion (November 17, 1974) .. A-1

2. Order Amending Findings and Conclusions

(December 27, 1974) seidhiialicibibanansinametndie A-13

B. TENTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS’

TIDE: .snsnsiniietiibiiniatieas scamesdcindsinianippaniiintbncaptaianiieania B-l

C. SELECTED PLEADINGS

1. Respondent’s Complaint for Damages And

Injunction (July 13, 1973) -............--....--0---0-0+ C-1

2. Colorado Building and Construction Trades

Council’s Motion to Dismiss (August 6, 1973).. C-6

3. Petitioners’ Motion to Dismiss

0S ee sai C-6

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

ii

Excerpts from Petitioners’ and Colorado

Building and Construction Trades Council’s

Brief in Support of Motions to Dismiss

(August 20, 1973) o..-sssssocccsssssoccecsssesnneceeeeee

Respondent’s Amended Complaint

ee

. Petitioners’ Answer and Counterclaim

I occas icsinatital

Excerpts from Respondent's Pre-Trial

Statement (March 11, 1974) _..0002.. eee eee

Excerpts from Petitioners’ Pre-Trial

Statement (March 11, 1974) .......2...2.22...-..20----

. Petitioners’ Suggestion to Dismiss Pursuant

to Rule 12(h) (3) (July 10, 1974) 00... C-40

Excerpts from Petitioners’ Brief in Support

of Suggestion to Dismiss Pursuant to

Rule 12(h) (3) (July 10, 1974) —....022....

Excerpts from Petitioners’ Amended Pre-

Trial Statement (July 23, 1974)...

Excerpts from Respondent’s Pre-Trial

Statement (July 23, 1974) 2.2... eesssccseeeeee

Excerpts from Pre-Trial Order

Co gS

Excerpts from Respondent's Trial

ee

Respondents’ Reply to Counterclaim

I i i as ataretsinatiaiitsnniseniil

. GRIEVANCE AND ARBITRATION PRO-

VISIONS OF APPLICABLE COLLECTIVE

BARGAINING AGREEMENT .....................--.-e0-00+0

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CAsEs PAGE

Boys Markets, Inc .v. Retail Clerks Local 770,

RF Nea 3,6,9

Carey v. Westinghouse Electric Corp.,

| Lf A nnn NT 9

Controlled Sanitation Corp. v. Machinisis District 128,

524 F.2d 1324 (3d Cir. 1975), cert. denied,

ee 14

Drake Bakeries, Inc. v. Bakery Workers Local 50,

LF a es 9,12

Gateway Coal Co. v. United Mine Workers,

I ae cemsilatthigenslapinniennnetl 9

Granny Goose Foods, Inc. v. Teamsters Local 70,

F.Supp. ___, 88 LRRM 2029

8 nee 13,14

John Wiley & Sons, Inc. v. Livingston,

ee SI I OIE" inisciceliicsateeeadiericidiotnimeponmmnincniancoenna 9,14

Operating Engineers Local 150 v. Flair Builders, inc.,

440 F.2d 557 (7th Cir. 1971), reversed, 406 U.S.

GT CITI) acest sercesescnnecnnescnrersecnevnencunanmsenasscatevemecgenesenaneets 13

Operating Engineers Local 150 v. Flair Builders, Inc.,

kh | ee 6,7,8,9,12,13,14

Operating Engineers Local 542 v. Penn State Constr., Inc.,

356 F.Supp. 512 (M.D.Pa. 1973) .........-.-.-0--0+--se0ce00+0- 13,14

Retail Clerks Local 128 v. Lion Dry Goods, Inc.,

eS Se ee - 9

Teamsters Local 174 v. Lucas Flour Co., 369 U.S. 95 (1962)....9

iv

Textile Workers Union v. Lincoln Mills of Alabama,

353 U.S. 448 (1957) 9 3u the

United Steelworkers v. American Mfg. Co., Supreme Court of the United States

363 U.S. 564 (1960) 9

United Steelworkers v. Enterprise Wheel & Car Corp., OCTOBER TERM, 1976

363 U.S. 593 (1962) 9,12

United Steelworkers v. Warrior & Gulf Navigation Co.,

CARPENTERS DISTRICT COUNCIL OF _)

363 U.S. 574 (1960) 9,10

SOUTHERN COLORADO and its )

affiliated LOCAL UNION 1340 )

Statute: of the United Brotherhood of )

§301 of the Labor Management Reiations Act of 1947, Carpenters & Joiners of America, sm i

as amended, 29 U.S.C. §185 2,3,9,11,12 tenes )

vs )

REID BURTON CONSTRUCTION, INC.,

a Colorado corporation,

Respondent.

~~

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

The Petitioners, Carpenters District Council of Southern

Colorado and Local 1340 of the United Brotherhood of Car-

penters & Joiners of America, respectfully request that a writ

of certiorari issue to review the judgment and opinion of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit entered

| in this proceeding on May 6, 1976.

2

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported at F.

2d , 92 LRRM 2321, and appears in Appendix B hereto,

The District Court opinion is reported at F.Supp. —_,

91 LRRM 2873, and appears in Appendix A hereto.

JURISDICTION

The Court of Appeals’ judgment and opinion was dated

and entered of record on May 6, 1976, reversing in part the

judgment of the District Court and remanding the case to

the District Court for further proceedings. The jurisdiction

of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C, §1254(1).

QUESTION PRESENTED

Where there is no intentional or express waiver of the

right to insist on arbitration in a §301(a) action for breach of

a no-strike clause, should the District Court or an arbitrator

determine whether alleged dilatory pleading tactics constitute

constructive waiver of the right to insist on arbitration?

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On July 13, 1973 the Respondent Reid Burton Construc-

tion, Inc. [hereinafter referred to as Burton] filed a com-

plaint [App. C at C-1] in the United States District Court for

the District of Colorado against the Petitioner Carpenters

District Council of Southern Colorado [hereinafter referred

to as District Council], the Petitioner Local 1340 of the United

Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America [hereinafter

referred to as Local 1340] and the Colorado Building and

Construction Trades Council [hereinafter referred to as Build-

') Pore

3

ing Trades Council]. The complaint alleged jurisdiction under

§301 of the Labor Management Relations Act of 1947, as

amended [hereinafter referred to as Act], 29 U.S.C. §185

[{Id. at C-2]. The complaint stated, inter alia, that the District

Council and Local 1340 were “parties” to and had breached

certain provisions of a collective bargaining agreement with

Burton “known as ‘Carpenters’ Agreement, Carpenters District

Council of Southern Colorado” "by (1) attempting to modify

Burton’s obligations under such agreement during its term

and (2) inducing, encouraging and/or coercing employees to

respect a picket line established by the Building Trades Coun-

cil. [Id. at C-3-4]. The complaint was silent as to the existence

if any, of grievance and/or arbitration provisions in the collec-

tive bargaining agreement.

All Defendants filed motions to dismiss pursuant to Fed.

R.Civ.P. 12 [Id. at C-6-7]. The District Council and Local

1340 did not, in their motion or brief in support thereof, note

the existence of arbitration provisions in the collective bar-

gaining agreement but did argue that the injunctive relief re-

quested in Burton’s complaint was barred under the Norris-

LaGuardia Act, 29 U.S.C. §101 et seq., in the absence of alle-

gations satisfying the criteria for injunctive relief set forth in

Boys Markets, Inc. v. Retail Clerks Local 770, 398 U.S. 235,

254 (1970) [Id. at C-14-15]. On September 14, 1973 Burton

filed an Amended Complaint deleting all requests for injunc-

tive relief. [Id. at C-16]. The District Court subsequently

denied the District Council’s and Local 1340's Motion to Dis-

miss, and on November 9, 1973 they answered the Amended

Complaint. [Id. at C-21]. The Answer admitted jurisdiction

under §301 as to the District Council and denied jurisdiction

'The correct denomination of the collective bargaining agreement was

“Carpenters Building Construction 1972 - 1975 Agreement — Coerpenters

District Council of Southern Colorado.”

4

thereunder as to Local 1340. The Answer further admitted that

the District Council was a party to the collective bargaining

agreement but denied such status as to Local 1340. [Id. at

C-21]. The Answer asserted ten affirmative defenses, the

third of which read:

“This Court has no jurisdiction over the subject matter

of this action because it involves the interpretation and

application of the collective bargaining agreement...

which is within the sole and exclusive province of the dis-

pute resolution machinery contained therein which pro-

visions contain the exclusive remedy for breaches thereof.”

[Id. at C-25].

Joined with the Answer was a Counterclaim by the Dis-

trict Council alleging, inter alia, that Burton, by failing to

pursue the grievance and arbitration procedures contained in

the collective bargaining agreement, was in violation of the

agreement. [Id. at C-27]. Burton’s Reply to the Counterclaim

affirmatively alleged that the “Defendants’ [sic] Counterclaim

is barred by the application of the doctrine of laches.” [Id. at

C-77]. The Reply further alleged that the Counterclaim it-

self was subject to the grievance and arbitration procedures of

the collective bargaining agreement and that the District

Court was, as a consequence, without jurisdiction over it.

[Id. at C-77].

Burton’s Reply to the District Council's Counterclaim was

filed on December 5, 1973. On March 11, 1974 the parties filed

Pre-Trial Statements which, generally speaking, reiterated the

several positions assumed in earlier pleadings. [Id. at C-29,32].

Burton’s Pre-Trial Statement, however, did not mention any

issue of arbitration as a question of law or fact to be deter-

mined by the court. [Id. at C-31-32]. The District Council's

5

and Local 1340's Pre-Trial Statement certified as issues of fact

and law questions dealing with the arbitrability of the subject

matter of the Amended Complaint. [Id. at C-37-39]. On July

18, 1974 the District Council and Local 1340 filed with the

District Court a Suggestion to Dismiss pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P.

12(h)(3) and a supporting brief. [Id. at C-40-41]. In the

supporting brief tiie District Council and Local 1340 stated,

“(a)Ithough heretofore the Defendants have questioned

whether the Defendant Local 1340 was a party to the collec-

tive bargaining agreement entered into by Reid Burton and

the Carpenters District Council of Southern Colorado, the

Defendants herein state that Local 1340 is subject to the terms

and provisions of the agreement... As a consequence, both

Defendant Carpenters District Council of Southern Colorado

and Defendant Local 1340 would be bound by an arbitral

award issued in accordance with the provisions of Article XIV

of the collective bargaining agreement.” [id. at C-44]. Simul-

taneously, the District Council and Local 1340 filed an

Amended Pre-Trial Statement which, inter alia, admitted 4301

jurisdiction as to Local 1340 but denied that it was a “party”

to the collective bargaining agreement. [Id. at C-44,46]. Burton

then filed an additional Pre-Trial Statement on July 23, 1974

which, as its initial Pre-Trial Statement, was silent as to any

issue involving the arbitrability of the subject matter of its

Amended Complaint or the Counterclaim.

On September 23, 1974 the court entered a lengthy Pre-

Trial Order. The Pre-Trial Order did not list as a contested

issue of fact or law any equitable defense by Burton to its

obligation to arbitrate. On the first day of trial, however, Bur-

ton raised the equitable defense issue in its Trial Brief, noting

that, “(u)ntil recently, Defendant Local 1340 was denying it

was party to the collective bargaining agreement. Thus, be-

cause of the pleading tactics of the Defendant Union (sic),

6

the matter has progressed up to the point of trial and therefore

the right to arbitrate, if it ever existed, should be deemed

waived.” [Id. at C-75].

On November 19, 1974 the District Court issued its

Memorandum Opinion in which it made “findings and conclu-

sions on all questions directly or indirectly, and properly or

improperly before me.” [App. A at A-4-5]. Included in such

findings and conclusions was a determination that District

Council and Local 1340 had “flagrantly violated” the no-strike

provision gf the collective bargaining agreement and that

Burton had been damaged thereby in the amount of Ten

Thousand Eight Hundred One Dollars and Ninety-Seven Cents

($10,801.97 . [Id. at A-10]. The District Court nonetheless

then held that the arbitration provisions of the collective bar-

gaining agreement were broad enough to encompass employ-

er-initiated grievances alleging breach of its no-strike provi-

sion. The court further held that Operating Engineers Local

150 v. Flair Builders, Inc., 406 U.S. 487 (1972), required that

an arbitrator determine “whether defendants can insist on

arbitration in light of their conduct leading up to and during

this case.” [Id. at A-11].

The Court of Appeals sustained the District Court’s reso-

lution of those issues dealing with whether the grievance and

arbitration provisions of the collective bargaining agreement

admitted resolution for employer-initiated grievances alleging

breach of its no-strike provisions. This determination is not the

subject of the within Petition. However, the Court of Appeals

reversed the District Court as to its determination that an ar-

bitrator should resolve all equitable defenses raised by Burton

to its duty to arbitrate. Specifically, the Court of Appeals re-

manded the case to the District Court for determination of

“whether the union should be prevented from demanding ar-

7

bitration because of ‘evasive’ and ‘dilatory’ pleading practices

before the court.” [App. B at B-12].

REASON FOR GRANTING WRIT

THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISION PRESENTS

AN ISSUE OF SUBSTANTIAL FEDERAL IMPOR-

TANCE WHICH HAS NOT, BUT SHOULD BE, DE-

TERMINED BY THIS COURT,

This Court determined in Operating Engineers Local 150 v.

Flair Builders, Inc., supra, that, where the substantive cover-

age of an arbitration clause extends te “any difference,” the

parties to the agreement were required to arbitrate the defense

of laches even if “extrinsic to the arbitrable process.” Id. at

491. The Court of Appeals herein held that Flair “did not

determine that every equitable defense was an arbitrable issue,

but that its arbitrability hinged on the scope of the arbitration

clause.” [App. B at B-4]. It then reasoned that the substan-

tive scope of the instant arbitration provisions was not broad

enough “to include the arbi':ation of equitable defenses

arising out of actions by a party in proceedings before a Dis-

trict Court.” [Id. at B-11]. More significantly, the Court of

Appeals added:

“,. Indeed, even had the parties so intended, we would

conclude that such an agreement would clearly exceed the

proper subject matter of a collective bargaining agreement

and would not be enforceable in court; it would be im-

proper for the prospective parties of a lawsuit to attempt

by contract to bind the exercise of a court’s inherent judi-

cial function.” Id.

The instant collective bargaining agreement provides for

8

arbitration of all disputes “involving the application of inter-

pretation of (its) terms....” [App. D at D-1]. Section 5 of

the arbitration provision further states in relevant part:

“Any party to this Agreement who fails to abide by or

refuses to adjust a dispute by the terms of this Article

shall be in violation of this Agreement. ...” [Id. at D-3].

Thus, without doubt and as the Court of Appeals held, the

scope of the above arbitration provision “would probabl(y)

cover the type of laches defense raised in Flair Builders... .”

[App. B at B-11]. It is, therefore, submitted that the sub-

stantive scope of the instant arbitration provisions and that

of Flair are of comparalle breadth. Moreover, insofar as Bur-

ton’s equitable defenses turn on the allegedly dilatory recourse

by the District Council and/or Local 1340 to arbitration, an

issue is raised as to whether either of them has failed “to ad-

just a dispute by the terms” of the arbitration provision. The

Court of Appeals’ off-handed determination of substantive ar-

bitrability vis-a-vis equitable defenses arising from the conduct

of a party during a judicial proceeding is patently without

merit unless, as it argues, such issues are as a matter of policy

excluded from arbitration.

Realistically viewed, the Court of Appeals decision is not

based on its determination of substantive arbitrabilit: but on

its generic exclusion of equitable defenses from arbitration “if

such defenses arise solely during the course of the judicial

process....” [Id. at B-13]. The District Court's decision in

this regard, furthermore, is to be made upon the basis of the

conduct before it, i.e., “the union’s conduct in pleading... .”

However, despite the Court of Appeals’ attempt to distinguish

in a neat fashion “in-trial conduct” and non-“in-trial conduct,”

9

policy considerations underlying §301 of the Act are still of

direct relevance.

Commencing with Textile Workers Union v. Lincoln Mills

of Alabama, 353 U.S. 448 (1957), the Court has evolved an

intricate body of federal substantive law under $301. The

core principle governing such evolution has been the Court’s

recognition of §301’s integral importance to the maintenance of

labor peace. Thus, the term “contract” in §301(a) has been

expansively construed to include all agreements “between

employers and labor organizations significant to the mainten-

ance of labor peace between them.” Retail Clerks Local 128 v.

Lion Dry Goods, Inc., 397 U.S. 17, 28 (1962). Lincoln Mills

itself clearly determined that specific performance of contract-

ual undertakings served such purpose. Id. at 455. Of particular

relevance instantly is that the contractual undertaking

sought to be specifically enforced in Lincoln Mills was an

agreement to arbitrate disputes. Id. at 449. Decisions of the

Court subsequent to Lincoln Mills have firmly established labor

arbitration as the prime means of effecting §301’s objectives.

United Steelworkers v. American Mfg. Co., 363 U.S. 564

(1960); United Steelworkers v. Warrior & Gulf Navigation

Co., 363 U.S. 574 (1960); United Steelworkers v. Enterprise

Wheel & Car Corp., 363 U.S. 593 (1960); Drake Bakeries, Inc.

v. Bakery Workers Local 50, 370 U.S. 254 (1962); Teamsters

Local 174 v. Lucas Flour Co., 369 U.S. 95 (1962); Carey v.

Westinghouse Electric Corp., 375 U.S. 261 (1964); John Wiley

& Sons, Inc. v. Livingston, 376 U.S. 543 (1964); Boys Markets,

Inc. v. Retail Clerks Local 770, supra; Operating Engineers

Local 150 v. Flair Builders, Inc., supra; Gateway Coal Co. v.

United Mine Workers, 414 U.S. 368 (1974). However, “(a)r-

bitration is a stabilizing influence only as it serves as a vehicle

for handling every and all disputes that arise under the agree-

ment.” United Steelworkers v. American Mfg. Co., supra at 567.

10

Those decisions noted above reiterate either directly or

indirectly the singular importance and expertise of the labor

arbitrator. “The ablest judge cannot be expected to bring the

same experience and competence to bear upon the determi-

nation of a grievance, because he cannot be similarly in-

formed.” United Steelworkers v. Warrior & Gulf Navigation

Co., supra at 582. Further, because parties to a collective bar-

gaining agreement have a continuing relationship, the use of

arbitration in a given case often has, as a practical matter, an

effect on other aspects of their relationship unrelated to the

particular dispute at issue. Thus, while a court will likely be

cognizable only of the precise legal issues before it, an arbitra-

tor’s judgment will be tempered by a recognition not only of

the realities of the collective bargaining relationship giving rise

to a dispute but also of the effect his determinations will have

on the future relationship between the parties. An arbitrator's

perspective is, therefore, broader than that of a court and,

optimally, more highly sensitized to the nuances of the col-

lective bargaining relationship.

The Court of Appeals’ decision herein tacitly assumes

that “in-trial” conduct is distinct from the ongoing bargaining

relationship of the parties and that Flair is thus distinguishable.

“In-trial” conduct is different, the court in effect posits, be-

cause courts must “...maintain judicial control of their own

proceedings.” [App. B at B-9]. The District Council and

Local 1340 do not, of course, contest the notion that the judi-

cial process should not be abused. But, with due deference to

the Court of Appeals, abuse of the judicial process is simply

not a bona fide issue herein. Rather, the question presented is

whether a court or an arbitrator, under the facts of this case,

should determine any equitable defense to the duty to arbi-

trate asserted by Burton arising from alleged dilatory pleading

tactics,

“erm

ll

In the present case there is no apparent dispute that the

District Council and Local 1340 timely asserted in their

Answer the affirmative defense of Burton’s failure to comply

with its obligation to arbitrate. As indicated by the District

Court’s and the Court of Appeals’ decisions, Burton con-

tested this duty unsuccessfully. There was, nonetheless, a

threshold difference between the parties as to whether Bur-

ton was required to arbitrate. The District Council in the

Answer admitted that it was a party to the collective bargain-

ing agreement and that §301 jurisdiction was present; Local

1340 denied both. As the litigation was to progress, the only

significant change of position by the petitioners was Local

1340's admission of $301 jurisdiction. It is submitted that, as a

matter of law, such an admission cannot be construed as an

intentional waiver of the right to insist on arbitration. Since

there can thus be no legitimate contention that either the

District Council or Local 1340 intended to waive the right to

insist upon arbitration, the District Court’s decision can be

based only on considerations essentially punitive in nature;

i.e., both the District Council and Local 1340 should be re-

quired to forego their insistence upon arbitration because

Local 1340 chose to abandon a given defense. A correspond-

ing result is to sanction Burton's selection of an improper

forum.

The policy implications of the Court of Appeals’ decision

are thus significant. The court, without guidelines, holds that

(1) a District Court may deprive a party to a collective bar-

gaining agreement of its right to insist upon arbitration as a

form of punishment for alleged “dilatory” pleading conduct, and

(2) the District Court’s determination in this regard is to be

made only with reference to the allegedly recalcitrant party’s

“jn-trial conduct.” The salutary purpose of arbitration is nega-

tived not by policy considerations stemming from $301 but by

12

the discretion of the District Court; the court’s decision is not

made with any regard for the ongoing relationship between

the parties but solely upon pieces of paper which, realistically

viewed, imperfectly mirror the realities of any lawsuit. Con-

versely, in determining whether Burton has posed a viable

equitable defense, the District Court would not consider the

non-judicial relationship and conduct between the parties

during the course of the lawsuit nor the effect of his decision

on their future relaticaship. While an arbitrator “does not

sit to dispense his own brand of industrial justice,” he is used

“to bring his informed judgment to bear in order to reach a

fair solution to the problem.” United Steelworkers v. Enter-

prise Wheel & Car Corp., supra at 597.

Further, the Court of Appeals’ decision herein raises with

clarity an issue left unanswered in Drake Bakeries, Inc. v.

Bakery Workers Local 50, supra, and Flair. In Drake Bakeries

the Court sustained the District Court’s determination that a

union was not in default in requesting a stay of action pend-

ing arbitration. The Court noted that the union had moved

“promptly” for a stay. Id. at 266-67. Drake thus appears to

recognize that the right to insist upon arbitration can be

waived by untimely assertion. Where, as instantly, there is no

contention that the defense was untimely asserted as a pro-

cedural matter but rather subsequently waived through alleged

dilatory conduct, does Flair compel arbitration of the defense?

Should a District Court be concerned with the equities of per-

mitting the continued insistence upon arbitration? The District

Council and Local 1340 assert that the above questions can-

not be answered by mere reference to a court’s “inherent judi-

cial function.” Rather, they are integrally intertwined with and

affected by the federal body of substantive law which has

evolved, and is evolving, under §301. The Court of Appeals’

decision can serve only to weaken the federal commitment to

13

arbitration under §301 and to create incentive for parties to

seek direct recourse to the judicial process in hopes that the

course of litigation will present a fortuitous “equitable defense”

to their duty to arbitrate. Such a result runs counter to the

legal and practical significance of the Steelworkers Trilogy

and subsequent decision of this Court. “Unless arbitration pro-

cedures command labor's respect, less civilized methods of

resolving disputes will be employed with greater frequency.”

Operating Engineers Local 150 v. Flair Builders, Inc., 440 F.2d

557, 561 (7th Cir. 1971) [Stevens, J., dissenting].

In Flair the Court held that, given a sufficiently broad

arbitration provision, “extrinsic” as well as “intrinsic” issues of

untimeliness were to be resolved in the arbitral forum. As

used by the majority in the Seventh Circuit’s Flair opinion,

“extrinsic untimeliness” referred to “delay in the mere notifi-

cation of the existence of a dispute. . .without regard to wheth-

er procedural prerequisites to arbitration have been followed.”

440 F.2d at 560. The rationale for the Seventh Circuit’s de-

cision was the possible prejudice which would accrue to the

employer if the union were permitted to proceed to enforce the

agreement or any provision thereof. In reversing, this Court

in Flair was thus referring claims of such prejudice to the ar-

bitrator. Instantly, Burton claims prejudice because of alleged-

ly dilatory pleading tactics. While arguably far less prejudice

is present herein than in Flair, it nonetheless stems from the

same source: the passage of time. Presumably, therefore, an

arbitrator would be equally capable of resolving the equitable

defense asserted by Burton as that by Flair. Two District

Courts have, in effect, so held. Operating Engineers Local 542

v. Penn State Contsr., Inc., 356 F.Supp. 512 (M.D.Pa. 1973);

Granny Goose Foods, Inc. v. Teamsters Local 70, __ F. Supp.

14

, 88 LRRM 2029 (N.D.Cal. 1974).? Fairly viewed Bur-

ton’s equitable defenses cannot be separated from the vortex

of a dispute which has improperly spilled over into the courts.

Such defenses are, further, directly analogous to “(q)uestions

concerning the. . .prerequisites to arbitration (which) do not

arise in a vacuum; they develop in the context of an actual dis-

pute about the rights of the parties to the contract or those

covered by it.” John Wiley & Sons, Inc. v. Livingston, supra

at 557.

Lastly, the Court of Appeals’ decision herein, while focus-

ing on a factual distinction between Flair and the present case,

fails to point to any legitimate policy rationale for its “im-

portant limitation” upon Flair. The Court of Appeals’ decision

raises directly the issue of whether a District Court shall be

permitted on equitable grounds to relieve one party to a collec-

tive bargaining agreement of its obligation to arbitrate. Alter-

natively phrased, the question is whether a District Court in

its discretion should be permitted to frustrate the strong federal

policy favoring arbitral resolution of disputes between employ-

ers and employees as discipline for allegedly improper “in-trial

conduct.” The Court has never addressed this issue, and in

view of the Court of Appeals’ decision it will become of in-

creasing importance. In sum, the policy implications of the

Court of Appeals’ decision are significant, and it writes on a

“The Court of Appeals’ decision herein indicated that Controlled Sanita-

tion Corp. v. Machinists District 128, 524 F.2d 1324 (3rd Cir. 1975),

cert. denied, __ U.S. __, 96 S.Ct. 1114 (1976), “called for the arbitra-

tion of equitable defenses not arising out of the processing of grievances

or the formation of the collective bargaining agreement.” [App. B at

n.6]. A careful review of Controlled Sanitation, however, indicates that,

while the employer apparently raised arguments similar to Burton’s, the

majority dismissed them perfunctorily. Id. at 1326 nn. 3-4. While the

District Council and Local 1340 agree with Judge Rosenn’s characteriza-

tion of the import of the majority’s reasoning, the issue was not specifi-

cally decided therein. Nonetheless, the majority did cite Penn State,

supra, and Granny Goose, supra, with apparent approval.

ata

15

blank sheet. The District Council and Local 1340 believe that

this Court should establish the parameters, if any, within

which courts may utilize their equitable discretion to find

constructive waiver of the right to insist upon arbitration. The

failure to resolve this issue promptly can only result in rampant

forum shopping by litigants with a concomitant diminution

of the salutary purpose of labor arbitration.

CONCLUSION

The Petitioners respectfully request the Court to issue a

writ of certiorari to the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals to re-

view its decision in this matter.

Respectfully submitted,

LAW OFFICES OF JOHN W. McKENDREE

John W. McKendree

Attorneys for Petitioners

1050 Seventeenth St., Suite 2500

Denver, CO 80202

Telephone: (303) 572-8585

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify on this day of July, 1976 two

copies of the within PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CER-

TIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF AP-

PEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT, were mailed, postage

prepaid, to Robert G. Good, Esq., Law Offices of Robert G.

Good., 733 Guaranty Bank Building, 817 Seventeenth St.,

Denver, Colorado 80202.

A-l

APPENDIX A

DISTRICT COURT MEMORANDUM OPINION

AND AMENDMENT THERETO*

er

1. Memorandum Opinion (November 17, 1974)

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

Civil Action No. C-5184

REID BURTON CONSTRUCTION, INC.,

a Colorado corporation,

Plaintiff

SOUTHERN COLORADO, LOCAL 1340

of the UNITED BROTHERHOOD OF

CARPENTERS & JOINERS OF AMERICA,

AFL-CIO, COLORADO BUILDING AND

CONSTRUCTION TRADES COUNCIL,

: unincorporated associations and labor

)

)

)

)

)

)

| CARPENTERS DISTRICT COUNCIL OF )

)

)

)

)

)

)

organizations, )

)

REET OR: er toner

A-2

MEMORANDUM OPINION

WINNER, Judge

By amended complaint brought under 29 U.S.C. $185,

plaintiff sought damages against (a) Carpenters District

Council of Southern Colorado, (b) Local 1340 of the Inter-

national Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America,

AFL-CIO, and (c) Colorado Building and Construction Trades

Council. The amended complaint alleged in material part:

“5. Plaintiff and Defendants, Carpenters District Council

of Southern Colorado and Local 1340 of the International

Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America, AFL-

CIO, are parties to a collective bargaining agreement

known as ‘Carpenters’ agreement, Carpenters District

Council of Southern Colorado.’ At all times material here-

in such collective bargaining agreement was in full force

and effect and governed the relationship between the

aforementioned parties. [emphasis supplied].

“6. Said collective bargaining agreement contains prom-

ises by Local 1340 and by the Carpenters District Council

of Southern Colorado and (sic) they and their members

will not strike or picket during the term of the agreement

“7. .. . Defendant Colorado Building and Construciion

Trades Council is authorized by its constituent unions,

including Defendant Local 1340 and Defendant

Carpenters District Council of Southern Colorado, to rep-

resent them for purposes relating to labor relations, and

as such the Defendant Colorado Building and Constric-

tion Trades Council is an agent of its constituent unions.”

By order of November 23, 1973, Colorado Building and

Construction Trades Council was dismissed from the case

a

A-3

under rules of contract and agency law, because, “Under the

averments of the complaint here, and taking into account the

actual parties to the contract, it can be said that Colorado

Building and Construction Trades Council is concerned with

this dispuce only as an agent for a disclosed principal.

The other two defendants answered, and in paragraph 5

of the amended answer it is said:

“5. The above named defendants deny the allegations in

paragraph 5 of the Amended Complaint. By way of fur-

ther answer, the above named defendants aver that plain-

tiff and defendant District Council of Southern Colorado,

the Defendants herein state that Local 1340 is subject to

the terms and provisions of the agreemnt. . . . As a con-

sequence, both Defendant Carpenters District Council of

Southern Colorado and Defendant Local 1340 would be

bound by an arbitral award issued in accordance with the

provisions of Article XIII of the collective bargaining

agreement.”

July 10, 1974, the Local said that it is bound by the con-

tract and that the dispute is subject to arbitration and that

the case should be dismissed. Defendants argue that they

have not changed their position, and they explain that the time

spent by plaintiff's counsel and the court in preparing the

case for trial was wasted time because plaintiff's counsel and

the court should have read more literally defendants’ assertions

that Local 1340 was not a party to the contract and should not

have been taken aback by defendants’ July 10, 1974, assertion

that the non-party local was bound by a contract to which it

is not a party, and this even though defendants had denied

that they were governed by the agreement. I have said on the

record and I repeat here that sophistry such as this does not

A-4

help a court in its futile efforts to keep up with an over-

crowded docket.

Another pretrial conference was held after the suggestion

to dismiss was filed, and the pretrial oider contains the follow-

ing partial statement of defendants’ position as to the court's

jurisdiction.

“Although the Defendant Carpenters District Council of

Southern Colorado and Defendant Local 1340 submit that

this Court does not have jurisdiction under Section 301 to

reach the merits of the Plaintiff's claims for breach of con-

tract, this Court does have threshold jurisdiction under

Section 301 to determine whether the provisions of Article

XIII of the cgllective bargaining agreement provide for

final and binding arbitration of the subject matter of

Plaintiffs claim. Threshold jurisdiction for this deter-

mination lies under Section 301 because Plaintiff's claim

involves an alleged violation of a contract between an

employer and a labor organization. Furthermore the

stance that the existence of applicable arbitration pro-

visions deprives this Court of subject matter jurisdiction

is not inconsistent with the stance that the Court has

threshold jurisdiction under Section 301. Simply stated,

the Court has jurisdiction to determine whether the Plain-

tiff’s claims of breach of contract are substantively arbitra-

ble, but once such claims are determined to be substan-

tively arbitrable, the jurisdictional grant of authority un-

der Section 301 ceases.”

With this latest version of defendants’ ever changing posi-

tion being filed a scant week in advance of the trial date, the

case proceeded to trial on all issues, the case was taken under

advisement and post trial briefs were allowed. They have been

filed, and, have been beleagured by this case to the extent that

I have, J shall make findings and conclusions on all questions

ow owe

A-5

directly or indirectly, and properly or improperly before me.

I do this to avoid if possible any risk of having to try the case

all over again if the Court of Appeals disagrees with my con-

clusions.

Plaintiff and Carpenters District Council of Southern

Colorado are purties to a labor contract, and defendant Local

1340 of the United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of

America, AFL-CIO has now made a judicial admission that it

is bound by that contract. Article XIII of the contract is the

important article here. It provides in material part:

“ARTICLE XIII

“CONTRACTURAL DISPUTES

“Section 1 - In the event that a dispute arises involving the

application or interpretation of the terms of this agree-

ment, reasonable and diligent effort shall be exerted by

the employee with the employer's representative, the em-

ployee contacting the business representative through the

steward, and/or the business representative with the em-

ployer’s representative. If the two parties are unable to

reach a settlement, the dispute shall be reduced to writing

and the aggrieved party shall notify the other party the

dispute is being referred to a Board of Adjustment.

“Section 2 - The Board of Adjustment shall be composed

of two representatives selected by the employer from con-

tractors signatory to this agreement and two representa-

tives selected by the union. The Board of Adjustment shall

meet not later than five (5) days after a grievance has

been presented to it.

“Should the Board of Adjustment be unable to render

a majority decision after convening and hearing the dis-

pute, the Board shall, within 48 hours, select an impartial

A-6

chairman who is not directly connected with the building

or construction industry, either as contractor or union.

Should the parties be unable to agree on the selection of

the chairman within said 48 hours, the same shall be se-

lected from a panel of five (5) names submitted by the

director of the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service

in Washington, D.C. The party initiating the dispute shall

strike first on said list.

“Section 3 - The majority decision of the Board of Adjust-

ment shall be final and binding upon each party to the dis-

pute in each instance and shall be within the scope and

the terms of this agreement.

“Section 5 - The parties agree there shall be no strike,

work stoppage, slowdown, lockout or other interruption

of the continuity of the work in progress during the life

of this Agreement unless a party refuses to abide by or to

implement the majority decision of the Board of Adjust-

ment.”

While the contract was in full force and effect, and while

A-7

jobsite work only to contractors who are parties to a con-

tract with one of the unions affiliated with our council. A

proposed draft of such agreement is enclosed for your con-

sideration. You will note that it applies only to future

work for which no sub-contract has been executed. Your

signiag of the proposed agreement would therefore not

require you to terminate the services of any contractor for

any job which is a'!-eady under contract.

“We intend to acquaint the public, by means of pick-

eting and other forms of communication, with the names

of builders and general contractors who do not enter into

our sub-contracting agreement. In the event that your

company is the subject of such picketing, it will be con-

ducted at your general offices and other places in which

you may be engaged in business. The picketing will be

directed to the public, and not to your contractors, sup-

pliers, or employees. Its sole purpose will be to contest

your right to the goodwill of the community. We wish to

emphasize that we are not requesting or seeking, and do

not desire, you to cease or refrain from doing business

with any person, firm or corporation. Nor do we claim to

represent, or seek or organize, any of your employees, and

we do not request or desire your recognition as their rep-

resentative.

plaintiff was living up to all of its terms, Colorado Building and

Construction Trades Council wrote a letter to plaintiff which “If you have any comment or question concerning this

said: matter, please communicate the same by letter, which

P will be referred to our Executive Board for appropriate

Gentlemen: consideration and action. Neither the undersigned, nor

any other person, has authority to discuss this matter in

“We are presently engaged in a program to standard- behalf of the union.”

ize wages and working conditions in the construction in-

dustry in this area. To assist in accomplishing this, we are

requesting builders and general contractors to sub-contract

Plaintiff didn’t go along with the request of the Building

and Construction Trades Council, and, true to its word, pickets

a

A-8

showed up at two of plaintiff's jobs in Fort Collins, Colorado,

(a) the Everitt Office Building job, and (b) the Markley

Motors job. Leaflets were handed out by the pickets, and these

leaflets said:

“MESSAGE TO THE PUBLIC

“We are picketing REID BURTON because of his refusal

to sign a sub-contracting agreement for future job site

work. If you believe in the cause of fair wages and work-

ing conditions for American workers, please telephone or

write to Reid Burton and request him to sign our sub-

contracting agreement for future job site work.

“Our picket is not directed against any other employer,

and we have no dispute with any other employer on this

project.

“Thank you!

“COLORADO BUILDING AND CONSTRUCTION

TRADES COUNCIL

“The person giving you this leaflet is not authorized to

discuss this or any other matter in behalf of the Colorado

Building and Construction Trades Council.”

Additionally, signs were posted which read:

“REID BURTON CONST. CO. Has No Contract With

Colorado Building & Constr. Trades Council. We have

no dispute with any other person or Co. on the project.”

9 sae

A-9

A responsible officer of the Local admitted to a repre-

sentative of plaintiff that there was no claim by defendants of

a contract violation by plaintiff, and defendants made a tongue

in cheek disavowal any intention of a strike. However, for the

most part the carpenters didn’t show up for work, and defend-

ants say that their failure to work was not because of any strike,

but, rather, the mens’ conduct was purely “voluntary” indi-

vidual action. Defendants assert that they neither influenced,

persuaded nor coerced the union carpenters not to work. The

record belies defendants’ pious contentions. Two of the union

carpenters didn’t “voluntarily” stay away from work. They

made the mistake of voluntarily showing up for work. Retribu-

tion was swift. The business representative of Local 1340 filed

charges against each of the carpenters who didn’t “voluntarily”

stay home. They were charged with, “Working behind a picket

line duly authorized by a subordinate body of the United

Brotherhood ( Building and Construction Trades Picket ) Work-

ing on Markley Motors Building, South College Avenue, Fort

Collins, Colorado, 80521, on or about the 13th of March, 1973.”

To add insult to injury, although one of the carpenters lived

in Longmont and the other in Ft. Collins, Colorado, their trial

was held in Montrose, Colorado. As sure as death and taxes,

they were convicted and fined, but as a result of later N.L.R.B.

action, the fines were set aside. Although I have admitted to

naivete in relying on the good faith of counsel, I am not so

gullible as to accept defendants’ protestations of innocence of

violation of the no strike clause of the contract. Communica-

tions between all three named defendants were open at all

times, and the entire episode was one of tripartite self help.

The record in this case convinces beyond peradventure that

Carpenters District Council of Southern Colorado violated the

no strike clause of the labor contract to which it was a party

and that Local 1340 of the International Brotherhood of Car-

penters & Joiners of America, AFL-CIO violated the same pro-

A-10

vision of the same contract which the local has now judicially

admitted was binding on it. The defendants flagrantly violated

the contract jointly and severally.

Plaintiff sustained damage as a result of those violations.

The fact of damage is certain, although the amount of damage

is somewhat less certain. Defendants did not controvert the

damage testimony, and the record made in this case permits a

finding, and I find that as a result of defendants’ contract viola-

tions, plaintiff was damaged in the amount of $6,392.52 on the

Markley Motors job and in the amount of $4,409.45 on the

Everitt job. Thus plaintiff was damaged in the total amount of

$10,801.97 as a direct and proximate result of defendants’

flagrant violations of the contract’s provisions.

Having found that defendants broke their promise not to

strike and having found the amount of damages resulting to

plaintiff as a result of defendants’ breach of contract, I must

face up to the question of whether I have jurisdiction to enter

judgment against defendants. To do this, I must decide

whether the arbitration clause covers the dispute and makes

arbitration mandatory, and, I must decide whether because of

waiver, repudiation ,estoppel, laches or any other reason, the

matter should not be sent to an arbitrator for decision.

The scope and effect of the arbitration clause in question

must be decided under Drake Bakeries v. Bakery Workers

(1962) 370 U.S. 254, and Atkinson v. Sinclair Refining Co.

(1962) 370 U.S. 238, opinions by Justice White handed down

the same day. Atkinson held that only employee grievances

were subject to arbitration, while Drake Bakeries held that all

contract disputes had to be arbitrated. In Atkinson, Justice

White explained:

“In Drake Bakeries, Inc. v. Local 50, post, decided this

day, the question of arbitrability of a damage claim for

A-ll

breach of a no strike clause is considered and resolved in

favor of arbitration in the presence of an agreement to

arbitrate ‘all complaints, disputes or grievances arising

between them [i.e. the parties] involving . . . any act or

conduct re relation between the parties.”

Admittedly, Article XIII of the Carpenters’ contract is not

word for word with either Atkinson or Drake Bakeries, and

plaintiff says that it is more comparable to Atkinson than it

is to Drake Bakeries. Defendants, of course, take the opposite

position. Without extended discussion, but after much thought,

and after study of the many Supreme Court cases favoring

arbitration, I must reluctantly agree with defendants, and I

hold that the dispute is encompassed within the mandatory

arbitration provisions of the labor contract in question.

The question then arises as to whether defendants can

insist on arbitration in light of their conduct leading up to

and during this case. That is to say, are defendants prevented

from insisting on arbitration under principles of waiver, re-

pudiation, estoppel, laches or other equitable principles; and

is this question to be decided by me or by an arbitrator? What

I shall say presently will emphasize why I wholeheartedly

agree with the views expressed by Justice Powell in Interna-

tional Union of Operating Engineers, Local 150, AFL-CIO v.

Flair Builders, (1972) 406 U.S. 487, but Justice Powell was

speaking in dissent joined in by the Chief Justice. I am bound

by the majority view, and as I read Flair Builders, it is for the

arbitrator to decide whether defendants can still insist on

arbitration.

This conclusion presents the difficult question of whether

I should dismiss this case or stay it pending arbitration. If I

dismiss the case, plaintiffs appellate rights are certain, but if

A-12

I stay it, plaintiff may have to go through an arbitration before

it can appeal, and the Court of Appeals may hold that I am

wrong in saying the disputes should be arbitrated. These fac-

tors argue in favor of dismissal.

On the other side of the coin, defendants have already

made a 180 degree turn on the arbitrability question, and if I

dismiss and plaintiff wants to arbitrate, defendants may make

it a 360 degree turn. In this event, plaintiff would have to start

all over again. Moreover, there is more than remote chance that

the arbitrator will hold that under principles of waiver, re-

pudiation, estoppel or laches, defendants cannot insist on arbi-

tration. Should either of these eventialities come to pass, if the

case has been dismissed, plaintiff would have to commence a

new lawsuit. Indeed, if there be no limit on the rule of Flair

Builders, a recalcitrant party can stall a dispute forever. These

factors argue in favor of a stay.

My inclination is to order a stay of this case pending arbi-

tration, but plaintiff is the one burdened with the dilemma

stemming from defendants’ stalling. Accordingly, I shall and

I do order that this case be stayed pending arbitration of the

questions, but, if plaintiff would prefer a dismissal to perfect

an appellate record, I will probably grant a motion to alter and

amend these findings and conclusions in this regard.

Dated at Denver, Colorado, this 19th day of November,

1974.

s/Fred M. Winner

United States District Judge

A-13

2. Order Amending Findings And Conclusions (December

27, 1974)

By memorandum opinion of November 19, 1974, I set

forth my findings of fact and conclusions of law. They contain

an inadvertent error on page 2. The following language should

be stricken from page 2:

“The other two defendants answered, and in paragraph 5

of the amended answer it is said:

5. The above named defendants deny the allegations

in paragraph 5 of the Amended Complaint. By way

of further answer, the above named defendants aver

that plaintiff and defendant District Council of South-

ern Colorado, the Defendants herein state that Local

1340 is subject to the terms and provisions of the

agreement.... As a consequence, both Defendant

Carpenter District Council of Southern Colorado and

Defendant Local 1340 would be bound by an arbitral

award issued in accordance with the provisions of

Article XIII of the collective bargaining agreement.’ ”

The following should be substituted thereior:

“Plaintiffs complaints (both the original and amended

complaint ) pleaded that plaintiff and defendants, Carpen-

ters District Council of Southern Colorado and Local 1340

were parties to the collective bargaining agreement. Both

the original answer and the amended answer filed by

Carpenters District Council of Southern Colorado and

Local 1340 denied that Local 1340 was a party to the con-

tract. Defendants did not admit in the pleadings that

Local 1340 was subject to the agreement and they did not

admit that both defendants would be bound by an arbi-

trator’s decision.”

A-14

The quotation contained in the original opinion was from

defendants’ brief submitted with the “Suggestion to Dismiss,”

and the memorandum opinion erroneously says that the quota-

tion was from paragraph 5 of the amended answer.

On page 10 of the memorandum opinion, I ordered:

“. .. that this case be stayed pending arbitration of the

questions, but, if plaintiff would prefer a dismissal to per-

fect an appellate record, I will probably grant a motion to

alter and amend these findings and conclusions in this

regard.”

Plaintiff has asked that I do amend the findings and con-

clusions to order a dismissal of the action rather than a stay.

I grant this request, and for the reasons set forth in the mem-

orandum opinion of November 19, 1974,

IT IS ORDERED that judgment enter in favor of defend-

ants and against the plaintiff, and that the action be dismissed.

Dated at Denver, Colorado, this 27th day of December,

1974.

s/Fred W. Winner

United States District Judge

B-1

APPENDIX B

TENTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS OPINION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT

REID BURTON CONSTRUCTION, INC., )

a Colorado corporation, )

Plaintiff-Appellant, )

)

v. ) No. 75-1149

)

CARPENTERS DISTRICT COUNCIL OF ) (C-5184)

SOUTHERN COLORADO, LOCAL 1340 of

the UNITED BROTHERHOOD OF CAR-

PENTERS AND JOINERS OF AMERICA,

AFL-CIO, COLORADO BUILDING AND

CONSTRUCTION TRADES © ‘UNCIL,

unincorporated associations and labor

organizations,

ee ee eee ee ee”

Defendants-Appellees.

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

Robert G. Good, Denver, Colorado, for Appellant.

John W. McKendree, Denver, Colorado, for Appellees.

Before LEWIS, Chief Judge; SETH and McWILLIAMS, Cir-

cuit Judges.

LEWIS, Chief Judge.

B-2

Two clearly drawn but different issues are involved in

this appeal: (1) Whether Reid Burton Construction’s claim for

damages arising out of the unions’ alleged violation of the no-

strike clause was arbitrable, and if so, (2) whether the unions,

because of certain pleading and procedural tactics employed

by them in the district court, were prevented by the equitable

doctrines of waiver, estoppel, repudiation, or laches from as-

serting the arbitrahility of Burton Construction’s complaint.

Finding both of these issues arbitrable, the district court dis-

missed the present action.

Since this appeal is not concerned with the merits of the

underlying damage claim, we necd only outline those facts

which led to the filing of this action. Burton Construction, a

signatory to a collective bargaining agreement with the Car-

penters District Council of Southern Colorado and its affiliated

local unions of the United Brotherhood of Carpenters and

Joiners of America, AFL-CIO, was approached by the Colo-

rado Building and Construtcion Trades Council to sign an

agreement whereby it would only subcontract with other em-

ployers who were in contractual relationship to labor organiza-

tions affiliated with the Building Trades Council. Burton Con-

struction refused to sign the agreement and the Building

Trades Council picketed several of Burton Construction’s

building sites during parts of March and April of 1973.

In spite of a no-strike clause in the collective bargaining

agreement, union carpenters refused to cross the picket lines.

As a result, on July 13, 1973, Burton Construction filed this

damage claim in district court against the Colorado Building

and Construction Trades Council, the Carpenters District

Council of Southern Colorado, and Local 1340 of the United

Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners. All three of the de-

fendants made motions to be dismissed from the lawsuit. The

B-3

court did dismiss the Building Trades Council, but denied the

similar motions of the District Council and Local 1340.

In their answers filed on November 9, 1973, the District

Council and Local 1340 admitted jurisdiction under section

301 of the National Labor Relations Act as to the District

Council, but asserted that “Local 1340 is not a party to the

aforementioned collective bargaining agreement.” Also in their

answer, as an affirmative defense the District Council and

Local 1340 alles |:

This Court has no jurisdiction over the subject matter

of this action because it involves the interpretation and

application of the collective bargaining agreement... .

which is within the sole and exclusive province of the dis-

pute resolution machinery contained therein which pro-

visions contain the exclusive remedy for breaches thereof.

The unions also counterclaimed against Burton Construction,

Alleging that it had breached the collective bargaining agree-

ment by filing this action for failure to have first used the

grievance and arbitration procedures contained in the agree-

ment for processing disputes. In Burton Construction’s answer

to the counterclaim, it contended that the unions had waived

their right to arbitration and that the counterclaim was barred

because of laches.

More than a year after the complaint was filed, the unions

admitted that while they did not consider Local 1340 to be a

“party” to the collective bargaining agreement, they did con-

sider it to be “bound by the substantive terms of the agree-

ment.” The case proceeded to a trial on October 1, 1974,

wherein the trial court determined that both the alleged vio-

lation of the no-strike clause and the issue of whether estoppel,

B-4

waiver, repudiation, or laches should prevent the unions from

demanding arbitration were arbitrable issues. The trial court

based the latter determination on its reading of Operating

Engineers Local 150 v. Flair Builders, Inc., 406 U.S. 487. The

trial court initially intended to order a stay pending the arbi-

tration of these two issues, but noted that if Burton Construc-

tion would prefer, the court would dismiss the action in order to

perfect the appellate record. Burton Construction opted for

the latter and this appeal followed.

I.

The first issue of whether Burton Construction’s damage

claim for alleged breach of a no-strike clause was an arbitrable

issue must be decided by a careful analysis of Drake Bakeries

Inc. v. Local 50, Bakery Workers, 370 U.S. 254, and Atkinson

v. Sinclair Refining Co., 370 U.S. 238. Both of these cases,

which were decided the same day, were damage actions

brought by employers against the unions for violations of no-

strike or work stoppage provisions in the respective collective

bargaining agreements. In each case the unions argued that

the issues were arbitrable and that the courts should stay the

actions pending arbitration. Basing its opinion on the intended

scope and effect of each collective bargaining agreement, the

Court reached different results.

The fact that the Supreme Court reached different con-

clusions in Atkinson and Drake Bakeries is consistent with its

earlier observation in Warrier & Gulf Navigation where it

stated that “arbitration is . matter of contract and a party can-

not be required to submit to arbitration any dispute which he

has not agreed so to submit.” United Steelworkers v. Warrior

& Gulf Navigation Co., 363 U.S. 574, 582. Our first question

therefore is one of contractual interpretation—whether a viola-

ee

B-5

tion of the no-strike clause was intended by Burton Construc-

tion and the Unions to be subject to Article XIII, the grievance

and arbitration provisions of the collective bargaining agree-

ment.

Neither Drake Bakeries nor Atkinson definitively answers

our question, since the language of Article XIII falls some-

where in between the pertinent grievance and arbitration pro-

visions in those cases. In Atkinson, the Court found it per-

suasive that the grievance and arbitration clause applied only

to employee-initiated grievances and was not intended to

include “all of their possible disputes.”* The applicable griev-

ance provision in Drake Bakeries, however, was much more

broadly written—it was to include “all complaints, disputes,

or grievances arising between [the parties]”—and clearly indi-

cated that either labor or management could process a griev-

ance.? The standard of analysis used by the Court apparently

'The procedure for filing a grievance under the collective bargaining

agreement in Atkinson clearly applied only to the employee- and/or

union-initiated grievances:

It is the sincere desire of both parties that employee grievances be

settled as fairly and as quickly as possible. Therefore, when a

grievance arises, the following procedure must be followed:

2. For the purpose of adjusting employee grievances and dis-

putes as defined above, it is agreed that any — sndividually

or accompanied by his committeeman, if desired shall

(a) Seek direct adjustment of any grievance or dispute with

the foreman under whom he is employed. . .

(b) If the question is not then settled the employee may sub-

mit his grievance in writing, on forms supplied by Union... .

Quoted in Atkinson v. Sinclair Refining Co., 370 U.S. 238, 250

(Emphasis added)

“Unlike the language in Atkinson, the grievance procedure in Drake

Bakeries unequivocally was designed to allow either the employee or the

employer to initiate grievance procedures:

(a) The parties agree that they will promptly attempt to adjust

all complaints, disputes or grievances arising between them involv-

B-6

fixes on two factors: (1) Whether the grievance and arbitra-

tion provisions were wholly employee and union initated or

could be initiated by either the employees or the employer, and

(2) whether disputes over the violation of no-strike clauses

were intended by the parties to be subject to grievance and

arbitration procedures.

Each of the cases that has ruled that a violation of a no-

strike clause is not subject to arbitration has done so when the

grievance and arbitration provisions were wholly employee

and union initiated.* Burton Construction contends that Article

XIII is wholly employee initiated, citing the following lan-

guage:

ing questions of interpretation or application of any clause or matter

covered by this contract or any act or conduct or relation between

the parties hereto, directly or indirectly.

In the adjustment of such matters the Union shall be represented

in the first instance by the duly designated committee and the Shop

Chairman and the Employer shall be represented by the Shop

Management. It is agreed that in the handling of grievances there

shall be no intereference with the conduct of the business.

(b) If the Committee and the Shop Management are unable to

effect an adjustment, then the issue involved shall be submitted in

writing by the party claiming to be aggrieved to the other party.

The matter shall then be taken up for adjustment between the Union

and the Plant Manager or other representative designated by man-

agement for the purpose. If no mutually satisfactory adjustment is

reached by this means, or in any event within seven (7) days after

the submission of the issue in writing as provided above, then either

party shall have the right to refer the matter to arbitration as herein

provided.

Quoted in Drake Bakeries Inc. v. Local 50, Bakery Workers, 370 U.S.

254, 257 n.2. (Emphasis added)

’See, e.g., Friedrich v. Local 780, IUE, 5 Cir., 515 F, 255; Faultless

Division v. Local 2040, I.M. & A.W., 7 Cir., 513 F, 987,, 990; Affiliated

Food Distributors, Inc. v. Local 229, Teamsters, 3 Cir., 483 F, 418, cert.

denied, 415 U.S. 916; Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Rubber Workers

Union, 5 Cir., 476 F,, 603, 605-06; G.T. Schjeldahl Co. v. Local 1680,

Machinists, 1 Cir., 393 F, 502; Boeing Co. v. UAW Local 1069, 3 Cir.,

370 F., 969.

B-7

In the event that a dispute arises involving the appli-

cation or interpretation of the terms of this agreement,

reasonable and diligent effort shall be exerted by the

employee with the employer's representative, the em-

ployee contacting the business representative through the

steward, and/or the business representative with the em-

ployer’s representative|.]

We find this language ambiguous as to whether an employer

can initiate a grievance, but in the context of the sentence im-

mediately following the quoted le~vuage, it becomes apparent

that the parties intended that either party could process a griev-

ance:

If the two parties are unable to reach a settlement,

the dispute shall be reduced to writing and the aggrieved

party shall notify the other party the dispute is being re-

ferred to a Board of Adjustment.

(Emphasis added.) Reference to the parties as “the aggrieved

party” and “the other party” is, as was the case in Drake Bak-

eries, indicative that under the agreement either party could

initiate the grievance procedure.

The second prong of the Atkinson-Drake Bakeries analysis

is one of contractual interpretation—whether the language of

Article XIII is broad enough to include alleged violations of

the no-strike clause. Article XIII provisions were intended to

cover any “dispute . . . involving the application or interpreta-

tion of the terms of th[e] agreement.” This language is much

more analogous to the language in Drake Bakeries, which the

Court determined was broad enough to cover a violation of a

no-strike clause, than to the corresponding provision in Atkin-

B-8

son.* The similarity between Article XIII and the language in

Drake Bakeries together with the Warrior & Gulf presumption

of arbitrability—that disputes should be arbitrated “unless it

may be said with positive assurence that the arbitration clause

is not susceptible of an interpretation that covers the asserted

dispute”—convinces us that the district court correctly con-

cluded that under this collective bargaining agreement, the

alleged violation of the no-strike clause was an arbitrable issue.

Il.

In its trial memorandum, Burton Construction raised the

issue of whether the unions were estopped from claiming any

right of arbitration on the basis of certain equitable principles

(e.g., repudiation, laches, waiver) because of their dilatory

pleading practices before the district court. Before confronting

this issue, however, the district court had to determine whether

judicial proceedings or arbitration was the proper forum for

determining the merits of the equitable defenses raised by

Burton Construction. Reluctantly, the district court answered

that equitable defenses should also be decided by arbitration

as mandated by Operating Engineers Local 150 v. Flair Build-

ers, Inc., 406 U.S. 487. We cannot agree with the district

court’s conclusion that in every instance where the parties of

a section 301 action are bound by a collective bargaining agree-

ment Flair Builders requires questions of waiver, repudiation,

estoppel, laches or other equitable defenses to be determined

by an arbitrator. We deem this broad conclusion to be subject

to an important limitation.

‘The parties in Drake Bakeries had agreed to attempt adjustment

of “all complaints, disputes or grievances arising between them involv-

ing questions of interpretation or application of any clause or matter

covered by” the agreement, whereas in Atkinson, the grievance procedure

only applied to “any difference regarding wages, hours or working

conditions. . . .”

B-9

The issue in Flair Builders was whether a party to a col-

lective bargaining agreement may be so dilatory in making

the existence of a “vaguely delineated dispute” known to the

other party that a court is justified in refusing to compel the

submission of an otherwise arbitrable issue to an arbitrator.

The Supreme Court did not directly answer this question, but

instead ruled that the arbitration clause in that case was so

broadly worded as to include also the arbitration of the laches

issue. The Court, noting that its decision did not excuse a

judicial examination of the scope of an arbitration clause as to

whether equitable defenses should be decided by the arbitrator

or the court, concluded that

once a court finds that, as here, the parties are subject to

an agreement to arbitrate, and that agreement extends to

“any difference” between them, then a claim that par-

ticular grievances are barred by laches is an arbitrable

question under the agreement.

Operating Engineers Local 150 v. Flair Builders, Inc., 406 U.S.

487, 491-92. Thus, Flair Builders did not determine that every

equitable defense was an arbitrable issue, but that its arbitra-

bility hinged upon the scope of the arbitration clause.

The equitable defense in the instant case arose from al-

leged “evasive” and “dilatory” pleading tactics by the unions

in the district court proceedings, specifically the fact that the

unions claimed that Local 1340 was not a party to the collec-

tive bargaining agreement, later admitting that while Local

1340 was not a party it was still bound by the provisions of

the agreement. Courts must, of course, maintain judicial con-

trol of their own proceedings. Such power, we assert, is broad

enough to include a court’s determination of the validity of

equitable defenses arising out of the action of parties before

B-10

the court. To hold otherwise would unnecessarily hamper a

court’s control of its proceedings.

We do not read Flair Builders nor its progeny as requiring

a district court to flatly forego the exercise of its traditional

powers in favor of arbitration in determining the merits of al-

leged equitable defenses. After analyzing and reviewing Flair

Builders and the subsequent cases citing it, we conclude that

Flair Builders can be confined to the proposition that certain

broadly-worded arbitration clauses require the arbitration of

equitable defenses arising out of the formation of a collective

bargaining agreement or the processing of a grievance,’ be

they intrinsic procedural questions or extrinsic questions as

defined by John Wiley & Sons, Inc. v. Livingston, 376 U.S. 543.°

This is not an unduly narrow reading of Flair Builders. Surely,

no one would contend that an express waiver of a party's right

to demand arbitration during the course of a case in district

5See, e.g., H & M Cake Box, Inc. v. Bakery Workers Local 45, 1 Cir.,,

493 F, 1226, cert. denied, 419 U.S. 839; General Dynamics Corp. v.

Local 5, Marine and Shipbuilding Workers, 1 Cir., 469 F, 848; Operat-

ing Engineers Local 139 v. Carl A. Morse, Inc., E.D. Wis., 387 F. Supp.

153; Local 552, Brick and Clay Workers v. Hydraulic Press Brick Co..,

S.D. Mo., 371 F. Supp. 818. But see Ladies’ Garment Workers’ Union v.

Ashland Industries, Inc., 5 Cir., 488 F,, 641, cert. denied, 419 U.S. 840.

*Two cases citing Flair Builders, however, have called for the arbitration

of equitable defenses not arising out of the processing of a grievance or

the formation of a collective bargaining agreement. Controlled Sanitation

Corp. v. District 28, LM. & A.W., 3 Cir., 524 F, 1324, cert. denied, 44

U.S.L.W. 3471; Local 542, Operating Engineers v. Penn State Construc-

tion, Inc., M.D. Pa., 356 F. Supp. 512. In each of these section 301

actions, the defendants alleged arbitrability of the underlying dispute.

Because of certain pleading delays on the part of the defendants, the

plaintiffs in each case countered the arbitrability claim, asserting that

the defendants had waived or repudiated their right to arbitrate the dis-

pute. As was the case with the district court in this instance, the courts

held that Flair Builders mandated the arbitration of the waiver and

repudiation defenses, but neither court focused on what we have deter-

mind to be a crucial distinction—a court’s inherent and unrestricted

power to control the judicial functions.

B-11

court would not be adequate legal grounds for the disttict

court to proceed to the merits of an otherwise arbitrable dis-

pute without requiring arbitration.

The test employed by the Supreme Court in Flair Builders

to determine the arbitrability of the laches issue was whether

the parties had, by the language of the collective bargaining

agreement, intended that such a dispute be arbitrable. Follow-

ing this test, we must determine whether Burton Construction

and the unions agreed to arbitrate any questions of equitable

defenses arising out of misconduct in court cases in which the

two were parties, As discussed eariier, the language of Article

XIII was broad enough to include disputes dealing with viola-

tions of the no-strike provision and would probable cover the

type of laches defense raised in Flair Builders, but we do not

believe that the parties ever intended to include the arbitration

of equitable defenses arising out of actions by a party in pro-

ceedings before a district court. Indeed, even had the parties

so intended, we would conclude that such an agreement would

clearly exceed the proper subject matter of a collective bar-

gaining agreement and would not be enforceable in court; it

would be improper for the prospective parties of a lawsuit to

attempt by contract to bind the exercise of a court’s inherent

judicial function.

Allowing federal courts to retain jurisdiction under section

301 of the National Labor Relations Act of an otherwise arbi-

trable dispute because of certain misconduct of one of the

parties in the judicial proceedings themselves which gives rise

to some type of estoppel to claim arbitrability is not inconsis-

tent with the strong national labor policy favoring arbitration

of labor disputes. As noted earlier, this policy is partly pre-

mised on the understanding that

B-12

arbitration is a matter of contract and a party cannot be

required to submit to arbitration any dispute which he has

not agreed so to submit. . . . An order to arbitrate .. .

should not be denied unless it may be said with positive

assurance that the arbitration clause is. not susceptible of

an interpretation that covers the asserted dispute.

United Steelworkers v. Warrior & Gulf Navigation Co., 363

U.S. 574, 582-83. If it can be concluded with “positive assur-

ance” that the parties did not intend to arbitrate certain dis-

putes, the policy favoring arbitration does not come into play.

As discussed above, the parties in this case neither intended

nor had the power to require arbitration of certain equitable

defenses that have traditionally been decided exclusively by

the courts.

In conclusion ,therefore, we hold that the trial court erred

in ruling that it was “bound” by Flair Builders to submit to

arbitration the question of whether the unions should be pre-

vented from demanding arbitration because of “evasive” and

“dilatory” pleading practices before the court. It is entirely

appropriate in some instances for a district court to retain sec-

tion 301 jurisdiction of an arbitrable dispute where, because

of conduct vefore the court, it may be deemed that a party is

prevented on the basis of some equitable principle from assert-

ing a right to arbitration. Whether the instant case is one

such instance has not been decided. Therefore, we remand

this case for such a determination. If the district court finds

that there has been no estoppel or waiver because of the

unions’ conduct in pleading, then it is proper to order arbitra-

tion of the underlying dispute—the alleged violation of the no-

strike clause. If on the other hand it is determined that the

unions have waived their right to arbitration, or in some other

way should be prevented from asserting this right, because of

B-13

conduct which falls within the control of the court, then the

district court can properly proceed to the merits of the under-

lying dispute.

In sum we conclude that the enumerated equitable de-

fenses discussed are, in general, mandated by Flair Builders to

the arbitrator for determination of the continued vitality of the

contractual arbitration process. However, if such defenses

arise solely during the course of the judicial process the arbi-

trator is not the one to determine whether the judicial process

has been abused by either party or at all or whether an equit-

able defense to the main dispute has been established during

the course of the judicia) trial by in-trial conduct.

Remanded.

C-l

APPENDIX C

SELECTED PLEADINGS*

1. Respondent's Complaint for Damages and Injunction

(July 13, 1973) —

COMES NOW the Plaintiff, Reid Burton Construction,

Inc., by its attorneys, Law Offices of Robert G. Good, Denver,

Colorado, and for a cause of action against Defendants alleges

and states as follows:

1. Plaintiff is a corporation organized under and existing

by virtue of the laws of the State of Colorado, with principle

office and place of business at Fort Collins, Colorado.

2. Defendants, and each of them, are labor organizations

within the meaning of the National Labor Relations Act, as

amended, 29 U.S.C. §151, et seq. Defendant Local 1340 has

its principle office at Fort Collins, Colorado, Defendant Car-

penters District Council of Southern Colorado has its principle

office at Colorado Springs, Colorado, and Defendant Colorado

Building and Construction Trades Council has its principle of-

fice at Denver, Colorado.

3. Defendants, and each of them, represent employees

in an industry affecting commerce and Plaintiff is an employer

C-2

in an industry affecting commerce, as that term is defined in

the National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 152.

4. Jurisdiction over this action is granted the Court by

the provisions of 29 U.S.C. §185.

5. Plaintiff and Defendants, Carpenters District Council

of Southern Colorado and Local 1340 of the International

Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America, AFL-CIO,

are parties to a collective bargaining agreement known as “Car-

penters’ Agreement, Carpenters District Council of Southern

Colorado.” At all times material herein such collective bar-

gaining agreement was in full force and effect and governed

the relationship between the aforementioned parties.

6. Said collective bargaining agreement contains prom-

ises by Local 1340 and by the Carpenters District Council of

Southern Colorado that they and their members will not strike

or picket the Plaintiff during the term of the agreement. Said

collective bargaining agreement further defines the relation-

ship of the Plaintiff to Plaintiff's contractors or subcontractors

on construction sites in so far as all the requirements, condi-

tions and intents of the said collective bargaining agreement

applies to said contractors or subcontractors of Plaintiff.

7. Defendant, Colorado Building and Construction Trades

Council, is an unincorporated association and an amalgamation

of numerous labor organizations in the building and construc-

tion industry in the State of Colorado, including Defendant

Local 1340 and Defendant Carpenters District Council of

Southern Colorado. Defendant Colorado Building and Con-

struction Trades Council is authorized by its constituent

unions, including Defendant Local 1340 and Defendant Car-

penters District Council of Southern Colorado, to represent

C-3

them for purposes relating to labor relations, and as such the

Defendant Colorado Building and Construction Trades Council

is an agent of its constituent unions.

8. On or about February 25, 1973, a representative of

Defendant Colorado Building and Construction Trades Coun-

cil, submitted to Plaintiff herein for its requested signature a

labor agreement which would require, inter alia, that Plaintiff

contract only with union subcontractors in the future on all its

construction sites, which union subcontractors must have

signed union agreements with the various construction trades,

including subcontractors performing carpenter work.

9. When Plaintiff refused to sign the labor agreement

described above in paragraph eight, Defendant Colorado

Building and Construction Trades Council commenced picket-

ing a Fort Collins construction site of Plaintiff on or about

March 8, 1973 and continued to do so until on or about

March 16, 1973. On or about April 3, 1973, and continuing to

on or about . pril 13, 1973, such picketing was resumed by

Defendant Colorado Building and Construction Trades Council

where the object thereof was to force Plaintiff to sign the sub-

mitted labor agreement.

10. The picketing described above in paragraph nine was

implicity and/or expressly authorized by and/or ratified by the

constituent labor organizations which are members of the Colo-

rado Building and Construction Trades Council, including De-

fendants Local 1340 and Defendant Carpenters District Coun-

cil of Southern Colorado, and at all times Defendant Colorado

Building and Construction Trades Council was acting within

the scope of its authority from its members.

11. During the period of the picketing described above

C-4

in paragraph nine, Defendant Local 1340 and Defendant Car-

penters District Council of Southern Colorado, by its repre-

sentatives, induced, encouraged or coerced its employee mem-

bers to cease performing work for Plaintiff on the subject con-

struction site and otherwise endorsed, enforced and supported

the picket of Defendant Colorado Building and Construction

Trades Council.

12. The picketing of Defendant Colorado Building and

Construction Trades Council, as described above in paragraph

nine, resulted in Plaintiff's construction site being temporarily

shut down in whole or in part during the period of said picket-

ing, thus subjecting Plaintiff to monetary losses in the approxi-

mate amount of $1,000.00 per day, which amount cannot be

definitely ascertained at this time, but will be at the time of

trial of this cause.

13. The labor agreement submitted for signature by De-

fendant Colorado Building and Construction Trades Council,

as agent for Defendant Local 1340 and Defendant Carpenters

District Council of Southern Colorado, among others, would

require Plaintiff to conduct his business at its construction sites

relative to labor relations in a manner that is not required under

its existing agreement with Defendant Local 1340 and Defend-

ant Carpenters District Council of Southern Colorado. By the

action of the Defendant Colorado Building and Construction

Trades Council as agent for Defendant Local 1340 and De-

fendant Carpenters District Council of Southern Colorado, the

two aforementioned Carpenter Defendants are attempting to

change the provisions of their existing collective bargaining

agreement and thus have violated the terms of that agreement

and have caused Plaintiff damages in their attempt to make

such change.

14. The action of Defendant Local 1340 and Defendant

——— rr re err errr > tre nr 0 ns crm err re = a eee

C-5

Carpenters District Council of Southern Colorado in endors-

ing and supporting the picket line established by its agent,

Defendant Colorado Building and Construction Trades Coun-

cil, and the action of the two Carpenter Defendants aforemen-

tioned in inducing and encouraging and/or coercing its mem-

bers to refuse to work for Plaintiff, also constitutes a breach of

their contract promises not to strike or picket Plaintiff during

the term of their collective bargaining agreement. By such

action, the two Carpenter Defendants further contributed to

the damages suffered by Plaintiff as described above.

15. Defendant Colorado Building and Construction

Trades Council, by its representatives, continues to request

Plaintiff to sign its labor agreement as described above, and

continues to threaten to picket Plaintiff as done previously

where the object thereof is to force Plaintiff to sign said agree-

ment and it can be reasonably anticipated that unless enjoined,

Defendant Colorado Building and Construction Trades Coun-

cil, as agent for the two Carpenter Defendants herein, will

continue to do so.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff prays this Honorable Court to

enter judgment in favor of Plaintiff ogainst all Defendants

jointly and severally, in the approximate amount of $16,000.00

to compensate Plaintiff for its monetary losses during said

picketing, such amount to be more definitely ascertained at

the time of trial of this action. The Court is further requested

to enter an order forever restraining Defendant Colorado

Building and Construction Trades Council, as agent for the

two Carpenter Defendants herein, from picketing Plaintiff

where the object thereof is to force or require Plaintiff to sign

the aforementioned labor agreement; the Court is further re-

quested to restrain Defendant Local 1340 and Defendent Car-

penters District Council of Southern Colorado from authoriz-

C-6

ing the Defendant Building Trades Council to picket Plaintiff

or to solicit Plaintiff's signature on the subject labor agreement,

and from supporting and endorsing the picket line of Defend-

ant Building Trades Council and from inducing, encouraging

and/or coercing their members to respect the picket line of

said Building Trades Council.

‘

;

FURTHER, this Court is urged to award Plaintiff reason-

able attorney's fees, costs, interest, and such other and further

relief as this Court may deem proper.

2. Colorado Building and Construction Trades Council’s

Motion to Dismiss (August 6, 1973)

COMES NOW the defendant Colorado Building and Con-

struction Trades Council, by and through its attorneys Horn-

bein & Hornbein, and moves this Honorable Court to enter an

Order dismissing plaintiff's Complaint;

AND AS GROUNDS THEREFORE defendant Colorado

Building and Construction Trades Council shows unto this

Honorable Court:

1. That this Honorable Court lacks jurisdiction over the

subject matter of plaintiff's Complaint;

2. That plaintiff has failed to join parties necessary and

indispensable under Fed R. Civ. P. 19;

3. That plaintiff's Complaint fails to state a claim upon

which relief can be granted.

3. Petitioners’ Motion to Dismiss (August 6, 1973)

eee ee

Ce el

C-7

COME NOW the defendants, Carpenters District Council

of Southern Colorado and Local No. 1340 of the International

Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America, AFL-CIO

by and through their attorneys, Hemminger, McKendree,

Vamos & Elliott, P.C. and move this Honorable Court to enter

an Order dismissing plaintiffs Complaint,

AND AS GROUNDS THEREFORE defendants Carpen-

ters District Council of Southern Colorado, Local No. 1340 of

the International Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of

America, AFL-CIO show unto this Honorable Court:

1. That this Honorable Court lacks jurisdiction over the

subject matter of plaintiff's Complaint;

2. That plaintiff has failed to join parties necessary and

indispensable under Fed R. Civ. P. 19;

3. That plaintiff's Complaint fails to state a claim upon

which relief can be granted.

4. Excerpts from Petitioners’ and Colorado Building and

Construction Trades Council's Brief in Support of Motions

to Dismiss (August 20, 1973)

IV. THE COURT LACKS JURISDICTION OF

THE SUBJECT MATTER OF PLAINTIFF'S

COMPLAINT, AND THE COMPLAINT FAILS

TO STATE A CLAIM UPON WHICH RELIEF

CAN BE GRANTED BY VIRTUE OF THE

NORRIS-LAGUARDIA ACT, 47 STAT. 70, 29

U.S.C, $101 - 115.

A careful analysis of the Complaint reveals that plaintiff

is actually asking this Honorable Court to enjoin the Building

Trades Council from picketing with an objective to force or

C-8

require plaintiff to sign an agreement with defendant Building

Trades Council. As regards defendants District Council and

Local 1340, plaintiff seeks an order from this Honorable Court

directed to such defendants directing them not to authorize

defendant Trades Council to picket plaintiff or to solicit plain-

tiffs signature on a labor agreement and further, to restrain

defendants District Council and Local 1340 from supporting

such picket as may be established by defendant Trades Council

or from inducing, encouraging and/or coercing their members

to respect picket lines allegedly established by defendant

Trades Council.

As demonstrated herein, this court lacks jurisdiction to

order the relief requested in plaintiff's Complaint. The Norris-

LaGuardia Act forbids the exercise of injunctive powers by

Federal Courts in cases involving or growing out of a labor

dispute. The interdictions of the Norris-LaGuardia Act has

not been limited or repealed either expressly or impliedly by

§301(a) or the Labor Management Relations Act of 1947, as

amended. In addition, the Complaint on its face fails to state

a claim upon which injunctive relief can be granted in this

case, since the Norris-LaGuardia Act prescribes rigid require-

ments which must be met before the strictly limited exceptions

of the statute may be applied in granting jurisdiction to the

Court. In addition, the Complaint wholly fails to allege any

conduct on the part of any of the defendants herein in the

nature of which the Court might find as being unlawful with-

in the meaning of §7 or any other provision of Norris-

LaGuardia. Inasmuch as the applicable law is somewhat dif-

ferent with respect to defendant Building Trades Council as

opposed to defendants Local Union 1340 and the District

Council, the applicable legal requirements are discussed sep-

arately for these defendants. Preliminarily, however, certain

C-9

general legal principals are applicable for both and are initially

described herein.

In view of the recent decision of the United States Su-

preme Court in Boy’s Market, Inc., v. Retail Clerks, 398 U.S.

235, 75 LRRM 2257 (1970), it is appropriate to examine the

scope of that decision at some length at it relates particularly

to the allegations in plaintiff's Complaint herein that the al-

leged agreement with defendant Local 1340 and defendant

District Council contains a promise that such organization will

not strike or picket plaintiff.

In the Boy’s Market decision the Supreme Court re-

examined its holding in Sinclair Refining Company v. Atkinson,

370 U.S. 195, 50 LRRM 2420 (1962) to the effect that the anti-

injunction provisions of the Norris-LaGuardia Act preclude a

Federal Court from enjoining a strike in breach of a no-strike

obligation under a collective bargaining agreement even though

that agreement contains provisions enforceable under $301 (a)

of the Labor Management Relations Act for binding arbitration

of the grievance dispute concerning which the strike was

called.

Briefly stated, the facts involved in Boy’s Market are as

follows: the parties had a collective bargaining agreement

which contained a provision for adjustment of disputes and

arbitration which arose during the life of the agreement and

a no-strike provision. The dispute giving rise to the litigation

arose when a company supervisor and certain members of his

crew were not members of the bargaining unit described in

the collective bargaining agreement began to perform certain

bargaining unit work. A union representative insisted that all

the work should be re-done by union persononnel. When the

——

C-10

company did not accede to this demand of the union a strike

was called and the union began to picket the company’s estab-

lishment. Thereupon, the company demanded that the union

cease the work stoppage and picketing and sought to invoke

the grievance and arbitration procedures specified in the agree-

ment. When the strike was not terminated pursuant to such

demand a civil action was instituted in the state courts which

resulted in the issuance of a temporary restraining order.

Thereafter the union removed the case to the Federal District

Court and moved to quash the state’s temporary restraining

order. The company countered by moving for an order com-

pelling arbitration and enjoined continuation of the strike. The

United States District Court thereafter concluded that the dis-

pute was subject to arbitration under the collective bargaining

agreement, that the strike was in violation of the agreement,

and the Court ordered the parties to arbitrate and simultan-

eously enjoined the strike and all picketing.

The United States Supreme Court initially determined

that the doctrine of stare decisis does not bar a re-examination

of its earlier decision in Sinclair v. Atkinson. The majority's

decision opined that because Sinclair stood as a significant

departure from its otherwise consistent emphasis upon a Con-

gressional policy to promote peaceful settlement of labor dis-

putes through arbitration and its efforts to accomodate and

harmonize this policy with those underlying the anti-injunction

provisions of the Norris-LaGuardia Act, that Sinclair had to be

reconsidered. The court went on to state that in view of the

developments since Sinclair, including its own decision of Avco

Corp. v. Aero Lodge 735, 390 U.S. 557, 67 LRRM 2881 (1968)

its earlier Sinclair decision had resulted in a serious frustration

of important goals in the nation’s labor policies. The U.S. Su-

preme Court went on to then review its decisions interpreting

a Federal Labor policy promoting peaceful settlement of

C-1l

labor disputes through arbitration by concluding that the

Norris-LaGuardia Act did not deprive Federal Courts of juris-

diction to mandate parties to utilize the contractual grievance

and arbitration machinery, In this connection the Court ex-

earnined its decisions in Textile Workers Union v. Lincoln Mills,

supra., Charles Dowd Box Co. v. Courtney, Supra., Teamsters

Local 174 v. Lucas Flour Co., Supra., and Avco Corp. v. Aero

Lodge 735, Supra. Thereafter the Supreme Court stated:

“IV. We have also determined that the dissenting opinion

in Sinclair states the collect principals concerning the ac-

commodation necessary between the seemingly absolute

terms of the Norris-LaGuardia Act and the policy consid-

erations underlying §301(a).”

| 370 U.S., et 215.

Although we need not repeat all that was there said, a few

points should be emphasized at this time:

“The literal terms of $4 of the Norris-LaGuardia Act must

be accommodated to the subsequently enacted provisions

of §301(a) of the Labor Management Relations Act and

the purposes of arbitration. Statutory interpretation re-

quires more than concentration upon isolated words;

rather, consideration must be given to the total corpus of

pertinent law and the policies which inspired ostensible

inconsistent provisions. (Citations omitted).

The Norris-LaGuardia Act was responsive to a situation

totally different from that which exists today... .”

“In 1932 Congress attempted to bring some order out of

the industrial chaos that had developed and to correct the

abuses which had resulted from the interjection of the fed-

C-12

eral judiciary into union-management disputes on the be-

half of management. See declaration of public policy,

Norris-LaGuardia Act, §2, 47 Stat. 70 (1932). Congress,

therefore, determined initially to limit severely the power

of the Federal Courts to issue injunctions ‘in any case in-

volving or growing out of any labor dispute. . . .’ 47 Stat.

70. Even as initially enacted, however, the prohibition

against Federal injunction was by no means absolute. See

Norris-LaGuardia Act, §$7, 8, 9, 47 Stat. 70 (1932). Short-

ly thereafter, Congress passed the Wagner Act, designed

to curb various management activities which tended to

discourage employee participation in collective action.

As labor organizations grew in strength and developed

towards maturity, Congressional emphasis shifted from

protection of the nascent labor movement to the encour-

agement of collective bargaining and to administrative

techniques for the peaceful resolution of industrial dis-

putes. This shift in emphasis was accomplished, however,

without extensive revision of many of the older enact-

ments, including the anti-injunction section of the Norris-

LaGuardia Act. Thus, it became the tasks of the court to

accommodate, to reconcile the older statutes with the

more recent ones.”

“. . we conclude therefore, that the unavailability of

equitable relief in the arbitration context presents a serious

impediment to Congressional policy favoring the volun-

tary establishment of a mechanism for the peaceful resolu-

tion of labor disputes, that the whole purpose of the Nor-

ris-LaGuardia Act is not sacrificed by the limited use of

equitable remedies to further this important policy, and

C-13

consequently, that the Norris-LaGuardia Act does not bar

the granfing of injunctive relief in the instant case.”

74 LRRM at 2262-2264.

The United States Supreme Court in this decision, how-

ever, did not find the Norris-LaGuardia Act unconstitutional

and sweep it away, but, on the contrary, reached a very narrow

decision with respect to the application of the Norris-La-

Guardia Act on Federal Court jurisdiction. Specifically, the

Supreme Cour: stated, “we do not undermine the vitality of

the Norris-LaGuardia Act.” The Court stated, “we deal only

with the situation in which a collective bargaining contract

contains, a mandatory grievance or arbitration procedure.” The

Court went on ¢w state:

“,.- nor does it follow from what we have said that injunc-

tive relief is appropriate as a matter of course in every case

of a strike over an arbitrable grievance. The dissenting

opinion in Sinclair suggests the following principles for

the guidance of the District Courts in determining whether

to grant injunctive reliem — principles which we now

adopt:

‘A District Court entertaining an action under $301

may not grant injunctive relief against concerted ac-

tivity unless and until it decides that the case is one

in which an injunction would be appropriate despite

the Norris-LaGuardia Act. When a strike is sought to

be enjoined because it is over a grievance which both

parties are contractually bound to arbitrate, the Dis-

trict Court may issue no injunctive order until it

first holds that the contract does have that affect; and

the employer should be ordered to arbitrate, as a con-

dition of his obtaining an injunction against the strike.

C-14

Beyond this, the District Court must, of course, con-

sider whether issuance of an injunction would be war-

ranted under ordinary principles of equity — whether

breaches are occurring and will continue, or have

been threatened and will be commited; whether they

have caused or will cause irreparable injury to the

employer; and whether the employer will suffer more

from the denial of an injuction that will the union

from its issuance.’ 370 U.S. at 228...” See 74 LRRM

at 2264; (emphasis supplied ).

As a consequence, the Supreme Court in its Boy's Market

decision determined that in that particular case there was no

dispute, that the grievance in question was not only the reason

for the strike and picketing, but was also a dispute which was

subject to adjustment and arbitration under the collective bar-

gaining agreement, and that the company was ready to proceed

with arbitration at the time the injunction against the strike

was sought and obtained. In addition the Supreme Court

noted the conclusion by the District Court that the alleged

violation of the no-strike obligation resalted in the employer

suffering irreparable injury and the fact that the company

would continue to suffer irreparable injury unless the strike

was enjoined. For those reasons the Supreme Court then over-

ruled Sinclair and the Court of Appeals, who had relied on the

Supreme Court’s decision in Sinclair.2 As one examines this

decision in light of the allegations contained in plaintiff's

Complaint, several deficiencies in plaintiff's Complaint emerge.

For example, plaintiff does not allege that it will suffer irre-

parable harm and that it will continue to suffer such irrepar-

able harm and injury unless the court enters the restraining

order requested. Courts ought not to lightly infer jurisdiction,

particularly when complaints which seek jurisdiction are de-

2Justice Stewart concurred and Justices Black and White dissented.

C-15

fective in their pleadings. But more importantly, not only

does plaintiff's Complaint fail to allege the existence of a

grievance and arbitration machinery, it even fails to allege

that the dispute or alleged dispute upon which it seeks injunc-

tive relief is a dispute which is also subject to the grievance

and arbitration machinery of the collective bargaining agree-

ment. In this connection, the United States Court of Appeals

for the 5th Circuit in its Amstar Corp. v. Meatcutters decision,

F.2d 81 LRRM 2644 (1972) held that the dis-

trict court erred when it granted an employer an order enjoin-

ing a strike, and compe'iing arbitration of a dispute involving

the refusal of union members to cross the picket line estab-

lished by another union because the strike was not over a griev-

ance which was subject to the arbitration provisions of the

collective bargaining agreement involved. The 5th Circuit in

reaching this decision concluded that the United States Su-

preme Court, in an attempt to accommodate the literal terms

of §4 of the Norris-LaGuardia Act to the subsequently enacted

provisions of §301(a) of the Taft-Hartley Act established pre-

requisites to jurisdiction in a Federal Court before it can en-

join a strike. These criteria are {1) the strike must be in breach

of a no-strike obligation under an effective collective bargain-

ing agreement. (2) The strike must be “over” an arbitrable

grievance. And, (3) both parties must be contractually bound

to arbitrate the underlying grievance which caused the strike.

As regards the allegations in the instant Complaint, plaintiff

has failed to allege any of these criteria. Also see Paradise

Publications, Inc. v. Philadelphia Mailers Union, Local No. 13,

3rd Cir., 459 F. 2d 369 (80 LRRM 2264) (1972).

Regarding plaintiff's allegations against defendant Build-

ing Trades Council, however, no allegations have been made,

as required under Norris-LaGuardia, in order to provide unto

this Court jurisdiction to enter an order seeking injunctive

relief, as discussed in greater detail infra.

C-16

The United States District Court for the District of Mary-

land has followed a similar rationale in its decision General

Cable Corp. v. I.B.E.W. Local 1644, 331 F.Supp. 478, 77

LRRM 3053 (1971). In this case the United States District

Court ruled that it did not have jurisdiction to issue an injunc-

tion against a union that engaged in strike activity allegedly in

violation of a no-strike clause of a collective bargaining agree-

ment where the strike was not over a grievance which was sub-

ject to arbitration under such agreement. In its decision, the

District Court opined:

“,.. in the present case the strike or work stoppage is not

over a grievance which is subject to arbitration under the

collective bargaining agreement. (Citations ommited).

The only dispute between the company and Local 1644 is

the result of the strike and not the cause of the strike. It

does not come within the narrow exception created by the

rule in Boy’s Market to the applicability of the Norris-

LaGuardia Act.”

Here again, plaintiff's Complaint fails to meet even any allega-

tion that the alleged activities of any of the defendants upon

which alleged picketing occurred concerns itself with a griev-

ance which is subject to arbitration under the contract.

5. Respondent’s Amended Complaint (September 14, 1973)

COMES NOW the Plaintiff, Reid Burton Construction

Inc., by its attorneys, Law Offices of Robert G. Good, Denver,

Colorado, and for a cause of action against Defendants alleges

and states as follows:

1. Plaintiff is a corporation organized under and existing

C-17

by virtue of the laws of the State of Colorado, with principle

office and place of business at Fort Collins, Colorado.

2. Defendants, and each of them, are labor organizations

within the meaning of the National Labor Relations Act, as

amended, 29 U.S.C. § 151, et seq. Defendant Local 1340 has

its principle office at Fort Collins, Colorado, Defendant Car-

penters District Council of Southern Colorado has its principle

office at Colorado Springs, Colorado, and Defendant Colorado

Building and Construction Trades Council has its principle

office at Denver, Colorado.

3. Defendants, and each of them, represent employees in

an industry affecting commerce and Plaintiff is an employer in

an industry affecting commerce, as that term is defined in

the National Labor Relations Act, 29, U.S.C. §152.

4. Jurisdiction over this action is granted the Court by the

provisions of 29 U.S.C. $185.

5. Plaintiff and Defendants, Carpenters District Council

of Southern Colorado and Local 1340 of the International

Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America, AFL-CIO,

are parties to a collective bargaining agreement known as

“Carpenters’ Agreement, Carpenters District Council of South-

ern Colorado.” At all times material herein such collective

bargaining agreement was in full force and effect and governed

the relationship between the aforementioned parties.

6. Said collective bargaining agreement contains promises

by Local 1340 and by the Carpenters District Council of

Southern Colorado and they and their members will not strike

or picket the Plaintiff during the term of the agreement. Said

collective bargaining agreement further defines the relation-

C-18

ship of the Plaintiff to Plaintiff's contractors or subcontractors

on construction sites in so far as all the requirements, condi-

tions and intents of the said collective bargaining agreement

applies to said contractors or subcontractors of Plaintiff.

7. Defendant, Colorado Building and Construction Trades

Council, is an unincorporated association and an amalgamation

of numerous labor organizations in the building and construc-

tion industry in the State of Colorado, including Defendant

Local 1340 and Defendant Carpenters District Council of

Southern Colorado. Defendant Colorado Building and Con-

struction Trades Council is authorized by its constituent unions,

including Defendant Local 1340 and Defendant Carpenters

District Council of Southern Colorado, to represent them for

purposes relating to labor relations, and as such the Defendant

Colorado Building and Construction Trades Council is an

agent of its constituent unions.

8. On or about February 25, 1973, a representative of

Defendant Colorado Building and Construction Trades Coun-

cil submitted to Plaintiff herein for its requested signature a

labor agreement which would require, inter alia, that Plaintiff

contract only with union subcontractors in the future on all its

construction sites, which union subcontractors must have

signed union agreements with the various construction trades,

including subcontractors performing carpenter work.

9. When Plaintiff refused to sign the labor agreement de-

scribed above, in paragraph eight, Defendant Colorado Build-

ing and Construction Trades Council commenced picketing a

Fort Collins construction site of Plaintiff on or about March 8,

1973 and continued to do so until on or about March 16, 1973.

Or. or about April 3, 1973, and continuing to on or about April

1%, 1973, such picketing was resumed by Defendant Colorado

—

C-19

Building and Construction Trades Council where the object

thereof was to force Plaintiff to sign the submitted labor agree-

ment.

10. The picketing described above in paragraph nine was

implicitly and/or expressly authorized by and/or ratified by

the constituent labor organizations which are members of the

Colorado Building and Construction Trades Council, including

Defendants Local 1340 and Defendant Carpenters District

Council of Southern Colorado, and at all times Defendant

Colorado Building and Construction Trades Council was act-

ing within the scope of its authority from its members.

11. During the period of the picketing described above

in paragraph nine, Defendant Local 1340 and Defendant Car-

penters District Council of Southern Colorado, by its repre-

sentatives, induced, encouraged or coerced its employee mem-

bers to cease performing work for Plaintiff on the subject con-

struction site anc otherwise endorsed, enforced and supported

the picket of Defendant Colorado Building and Construction

Trades Council.

12. The picketing of Defendant Colorado Building and

Construction Trades Council, as described above in paragraph

nine, resulted in Plaintiff's construction site being temporarily

shut down in whole or in part during the period of said picket-

ing, thus subjecting Plaintiff to monetary losses in the approxi-

mate amount of $1,000.00 per day, which amount cannot be

definiately ascertained at this time, but will be at the time of

trial of this cause.

13. The labor agreement submitted for signature by De-

fendant Colorado Building and Construction Trades Council,

as agent for Defendant Local 1340 and Defendant Carpenters

C-20

District Council of Southern Colorado, among others, would

require Plaintiff to conduct his business at its construction sites

relative to labor relations in a manner that is not required

under its existing agreement with Defendant Local 1340 and

Defendant Carpenters District Council of Southern Colorado.

By the action of the Defendant Colorado Building and Con-

struction Trades Council as agent for Defendant Local 1340

and Defendant Carpenters District Council of Southern Colo-

rado, the two aforementiosed Carpenter Defendants are at-

tempting to change the provisions of their existing collective

bargaining agreement and thus have violated the terms of that

agreement and have caused Plaintiff damages in their attempt

to make such change.

14. The action of Defendant Local 1340 and Defendant

Carpenters District Council of Southern Colorado in endorsing

and supporting the picket line established by its agent, De-

fendant Colorado Building and Construction Trades Council,

and the action of the two Carpenter Defendants aforemen-

tioned in inducing and encouraging and/or coercing its mem-

bers to refuse to work for Plaintiff, also constitutes a breach of

their contract promises not to strike or picket Plaintiff during

the term of their collective bargaining agreement. By such

action, the two Carpenter Defendants further contributed to

the damages suffered by Plaintiff as described above.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff prays this Honorable Court to

enter judgment in favor of Plaintiff against all Defendants

jointly and severally, in the approximate amount of $16,000.00

to compensate Plaintiff for its monetary losses during said

picketing, such amount to be more definitely ascertained at

the time of trial of this action.

FURTHER, this Court is urged to award Plaintiff reason-

C-21

able attorney’s fees, costs, interest, and such other and further

relief as this Court may deem proper.

6. Petitioners’ Answer and Counterclaim (November 9,

1973)

ANSWER

COMES NOW the defendants, Carpenters District Coun-

cil of Southern Colorado and Local 1340 of International

Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America, by their

attorneys, Hemminger, McKendree, Vamos & Elliott, P.C., and

file the within Answer and Counterclaim to the Amended

Complaint in this matter as follows:

1. Defendants Carpenters District Council of Southern

Colorado and Local 1340 of International Brotherhood of Car-

penters and Joiners of America admit the allegations contained

in paragraph 1 of the Amended Complaint.

2, 3. Defendants above-named admit the allegations con-

tained in paragraph 2 and 3 of the Amended Complaint, except

to the extent that said allegations relate to the defendant Colo-

rado Building and Construction Trades Council.

4. Defendants above named admit in part and deny in

part the allegations contained in paragraph 4 of the Amended

Complaint; admitted as to defendant Carpenters District

Council of Southern Colorado and denied as to defendant

Local 1340 and defendant Colorado Building and Construction

Trades Council.

5. The above named defendants deny the allegations con-

tained in paragraph 5 of the Amended Complaint. By way of

ee Se ee ae

C-22

further answer, the above named defendants aver that plaintiff

and defendant Carpenters District Council of Southern Colo-

rado are parties to a collective bargaining agreement known as

“Carpenters Building Construction 1972-75 Agreement” effec-

tive May 1, 1973 until April 30, 1975. Defendant Local 1340

is not a party to the aforementioned collective bargaining

agreement.

6. Defendant Local 1340 denies the allegations contained

in paragraph 6 of the Amended Complaint. Defendant Car-

penters District Council of Southern Colorado denies as stated

the allegations contained in paragraph 6 of the Amended Com-

plaint. By way of further answer the defendant Carpenters

District Council of Southern Colorado avers that the afore-

mentioned collective bargaining agreement contains in Article

XIII the following provision pertinent to strikes, work stop-

pages, etc.:

“Section 5. — The parties agree there shall be no strike,

work stoppage, slowdown, lockout or other interruption of

the continuity of the work in progress during the life of

this Agreement unless a party refuses to abide by or to

implement the majority decision of the Board of Adjust-

ment. P

Any party to this Agreement who fails to abide by or

refuses to adjust a dispute by the terms of this Article

shall be in violation of this Agreement, and any other

party or parties may take such appropriate economic

action as deemed necessary against such person or parties.”

and contains in Article IV the following provision pertinent to

subcontractors:

C-23

“ARTICLE IV

SUB-CONTRACTORS

The Employer agrees that contractors or subcontrac-

tors to whom subcontracts are let verbally or written shall

be required to comply with all requirements, conditions

and intents of this Agreement, and shall continue to do so

throughout all parts of their subcontract work as to all

carpenter work performed on any construction site coming

under the jurisdiction of the United Brotherhood of Car-

penters and Joiners of America,

The subcontract shall further require the Subcontrac-

tor to sign an Agreement with the Union requiring the

Subcontractor to make payments to the Vacation Fund,

Health Benefit Plan, Carpenters’ Retirement Plan and

Colorado Carpenters’ Apprenticeship Trust Fund referred

to in Articles XIV, XV, XVI, and XVII of this Agreement.

Such payments shall be made only for work performed on

the particular project by the Subcontractor’s employees.

Such payments shall be made to the same trusts, in the

same amounts, and upon the same terms and conditions as

required of the Contractor under this Agreement.”

Furthermore, Article XIII, Section 4 provides, inter alia, that

“The Board of Adjustment is empowered to hear and de-

cide disputes growing out of the interpretation and ap-

plication of this agreement. . . .”

including disputes growing out of the above-cited contractual

provisions. .

7. The defendants above named admit in part and deny

C-24

in part the allegations contained in paragraph 7 of the Amend-

ed Complaint. Defendants Carpenters District Council of

Southern Colorado and Local 1340 are members of the Colo-

rado Building and Construction Trades Council. However, the

above named defendants do not have sufficient knowledge or

information with which to form a belief as to the truth or

falsity of all of the other allegations contained in paragraph 7

of the Amended Complaint, some of which constitute legal

conclusions, and therefore deny same.

8,9. The above named defendants do not have sufficient

knowledge or information with which to form a belief as to the

truth or falsity of the allegations contained in paragraphs 8 and

9 of the Amended Complaint, and therefore deny same.

10. The above named defendants deny all of the allega-

tions contained in paragraph 10 of the Amended Complaint.

By way of further answe ‘he defendants named above aver

that all of the allegations contained in paragraph 10 of the

Amended Complaint constitute legal conclusions which require

no answer.

11. The above named defendants deny all of the allega-

tions contained in paragraph 11 of the Amended Complaint.

12, 13, 14. The above named defendants do not have suf-

ficient knowledge or information with which to form the be-

lief as to the truth or falsity of the allegations contained in

paragraphs 12, 13 and 14 of the Amended Complaint, and

therefore deny the same. Defendants deny paragraph 14.

15. Defendants Carpenters District Council of Southern

Colorado and Local 1340 deny each and every other allegation

contained in plaintiffs Amended Complaint not otherwise

herein expressly admitted or denied.

C-25

First Affirmative Defense

The Amended Complaint fails to state a cause of action

upon which relief can be granted.

Second Affirmative Defense

This Court has no jurisdiction over the subject matter of

this action because it is pre-empted by the National Labor

Relations Board.

Third Affirmative Defense

This Court has no jurisdiction over the subject matter of

this action because it involves the interpretation and applica-

tion of the collective bargaining agreement previously referred

to in paragraph 5 of the within answer which is within the sole

and exclusive province of the dispute resolution machinery con-

tained therein which provisions contain the exclusive remedy

for breaches thereof.

Fourth Affirmative Defense

The plaintiff is barred from bringing this action by its

failure to exhaust the exclusive contractual remedies contained

in Article XIII of the collective bargaining agreement previous-

ly referred to in paragraph 5 of the within answer.

Fifth Affirmative Defense

The plaintiff is barred by the doctrine of laches from

bringing this action.

Sixth Affirmative Defense

C-26

The plaintiff has waived the right to make this claim and

is estopped by its conduct from doing so.

Seventh Affirmative Defense

This Court has no jurisdiction over the subject matter of

this action since the jurisdictional requirements of 29 U.S.C.

§185 are not fully satisfied herein.

Eighth Affirmative Defense

The defendants Carpenters District Council of Southern

Colorado and Local 1340, without waiving their contention

that the interpretation and application of the provisions of the

aforementioned collective bargaining agreement is within the

sole and exclusive province of the disputes resolution machin-

ery agreed to therein, assert that they have neither waived

their right, nor the right of the employees they represent, to

honor a picket line,established by another L.oor organization.

Ninth Affirmative Defense

The plaintiff has failed to join necessary or indispensable

parties under Federal Rules Civil Procedure No. 19.

Tenth Affirmative Defense

This Court lacks jurisdiction over defendant Local 1340.

WHEREFORE, the defendants Carpenters District Coun-

cil of Southern Colorado and Local 1340 pray that the Amend-

ed Complaint be dismissed in its entirety and that the defend-

ants be awarded costs and such other and further relief as to

this Court seems proper.

C-27

COUNTERCLAIM

1. Defendant Carpenters District Council of Southern

Colorado is a labor organization within the meaning of the

National Labor Relations Act, as amended, 29 U.S.C. $151, et.

seq., is an unincorporated association, and has its principal

office in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

2. Defendant Carpenters District Council of Sotuhern

Colorado represents employees in an industry effecting com-

merce and plaintiff is an employer in an industry effecting

commerce, as that term is defined in the National Labor Rela-

tions Act, as amended, 29 U.S.C. $152.

3. Plaintiff is a corporation organized under and existing

by virtue of the laws of the State of Colorado with principal

office and place of business at Fort Collins, Colorado.

4. Jurisdiction over this Counterclaim is granted the Ou

by the provisions of 29 U.S.C. $185.

5. Plaintiff and defendant Carpenters District Council of

Southern Colorado are parties to a collective bargaining agree-

ment known as “Carpenters Building Construction 1972-75

Agreement” effective May 1, 1972 to, through, and including

April 30, 1975.

6. Said collective bargaining agreement provides in Article

XIII entitled “Contractural (sic) Disputes” a mandatory dis-

pute settlement procedure culminating in a Board of Adjust-

ment hearing and the selection of an impartial chairman. Said

Board of Adjustment has final and binding authority to resolve

disputes involving the application or interpretation of the terms -

of said agreement.

C-28

7. A dispute involving the application or interpretation of

the above mentioned agreement within the meaning of Article

XIII, Section 1 of said agreement has arisen between the plain-

tiff and defendant Carpenters District Council of Southern

Colorado in that plaintiff alleges in its Amended Complaint

that said defendant has violated Article XIII, Section 5 per-

taining to strikes, work stoppages, etc. and Article IV pertain-

ing to subcontracts.

8. In accordance with Article XIII of the above men-

tioned collective bargaining agreement, plaintiff has a manda-

tory obligation at the time the above described dispute arose

to utilize the dispute settlement procedures provided for in

said article, and the plaintiff's failure to abide by the terms of

said article constitutes an express violation of said collective

bargaining agreement, thereby giving rise to the express right

in the defendant Carpenters District Council of Southern

Colorado to take appropriate economic action against the plain-

tiff.

9. By commencing the within lawsuit against defendants

Carpenters District Council of Southern Colorado and Local

1340 for breach of their contractual promises not to strike and

for violating their agreement by attempting to change the pro-

visions of Article IV entitled “Sub-contractors” of the above

mentioned collective bargaining agreement, the plaintiff has

flagrantly disregarded its mandatory obligation to abide by

the contractual dispute settlement procedures set forth in said

collective bargaining agreement, and the plaintiff violated the

express terms of Article XIII of said collective bargaining

agreement.

10. As a proximate result of plaintiff's above described

breach of the above mentioined collective bargaining agree-

C-29

ment, the defendant has suffered damages including, inter

alia, the cost of defending the within lawsuit.

WHEREFORE, defendant Carpenters District Council of

Southern Colorado prays that this Honorable Court grant the

following relief:

1. That judgment be entered in favor of the defendant

Carpenters District Council of Southern Colorado against the

plaintiff and that the defendant be awarded all costs incurred,

including resonable attorney's fees, in defending the within

lawsuit.

2. That the Court award defendant such other and further

relief as this Court may deem proper.

7. ee od from Respondent’s Pre-Trial Statement (March

, 1974

Il. JURISDICTION

Admitted in part and denied in part. Plaintiff asserts this

action arises under Section 301(a) of the Labor-Management

Relations Act, as amended, 29 U.S.C.A. §185. Defendant Car-

penters District Council of Southern Colorado admit to the

jurisdictional allegation. Defendant Local 1340 denies that

the Court has jurisdiction by virtue of said Act.

III. AMENDMENTS TO PLEADING

Plaintiff attaches hereto a Motion to Amend Complaint

pursuant to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 14.

_ IV. PRELIMINARY MOTIONS REMAINING TO BE

DETERMINED

C-30

Remaining to be determined is Plaintiff's Motion to

Amend Complaint.

V. GENERAL NATURE OF THE CLAIM TO THE

PARTIES

A. Plaintiff's Claim

Plaintiff is a party to a collective bargaining agreement

with Defendants Carpenters District Council of Southern Colo-

rado (hereafter called Council) and Local 1340 which agree-

ment contains promises by the Carpenters Union that its mem-

bers will not strike or picket Plaintiff during the period of that

agreement. Plaintiff claims that the agent of Defendants, the

Colorado Building and Construction Trades Council, requested

the Plaintiff to sign a different labor agreement, which, if

signed, would change some of the provisions of the Carpenter

Union labor agreement. Plaintiff further claims that when it

refused to sign that agreement, the Building Trades Council

pickete? two of its construction sites on or about March 8 and

16, 1973, and on or about April 3, 1973. When the picketing

commenced, that picketing should be construed as picketing

being done by the Carpenters Union since the Building Trades

Council is their agent and, therefore, the mere act of picketing

by the Building Trades Council is violative of the no-strike, no-

picketing promises of the Carpenter agreement.

Plaintiff further claims that when the Carpenter Union

respects any picket line, including a Building Trades Council

picket line, whether or not the picketing is being conducted

by an agent of Defendants, the Union thereby violates its

promises to Plaintiff not to strike during the course of that

collective bargaining agreement.

C-31

Plaintiff further claims that it suffered damages due to the

picketing of Defendants’ agent, the Building Trades Council,

and that it also suffered damages due to the strike conducted

by the Defendants.

C. Uncontroverted Facts

It appears to Plaintiff that almost all relevant facts are

controverted herein. It is uncontroverted that Plaintiff and

Defendant Carpenters District Council of Southern Colorado

are parties to the subject collective bargaining agreement. It

is also uncontroverted that the Colorado Building and Con-

struction Trades Council commenced picketing a Fort Collins

construction site of Plaintiff on March 8, 1973 and continued

that picket until March 16, 1973. It is also uncontroverted that

on April 3, 1973 and continuing to April 13, 1973 the Building

Trades Council resumed picketing construction sites of Plain-

tiff. It is also uncontroverted that Defendant Carpenters Dis-

trict Council of Southern Colorado and Defendant Local 1340

are members of the Colorado Building and Construction Trades

Council.

VI ISSUES OF FACT AND LAW

A. Contested Issues of Fact

The contested issues of fact are the following:

1. Is Defendant Locai 1340 a party to the subject labor

agreement?

2. When the Building Trades Council picketed in the in-

stant case, was it acting as the agent of Defendants?

C-32

3. Did Plaintiff suffer monetary damages by the picketing

of the Building Trades Council and/or by the strike of Defend-

ants and if so, how much?

4. Did Defendants or either of them induce or coerce their

members into respecting the Building Trades Council picket

line?

5. Did the members of Defendants refuse to perform ser-

vices for Plaintiff in violation of the collective bargaining

agreement?

B. Contested Issues of Law

In addition to the issues of law implicit in the foregoing

issues of fact, the outstanding issues of law are:

1. As a matter of law, does the action of the Defendant

herein constitute a breach of their no-strike, no-picket promises

to Plaintiff?

8. Excerpts from Petitioners’ Pre-Trial Statement (March 11,

1974)

2. JURISDICTION

This action arises under 29 U.S.C. §185.

3. AMENDMENTS TO PLEADINGS

The Defendants above-named have filed a Motion to

Amend Answer simultaneously herewith in which the Defend-

ants request that their Answer be amended to add the follow-

ing:

C-33

Eleventh Affirmative Defense

The Plaintiff has failed to mitigate its damages.

and to correct Paragraph 7 to read as follows:

7. The defendants above-named admit in part and

deny in part the allegations contained in Paragraph 7 of

the Amended Complaint. Defendant Local 1340 is an

affiliate of the Colorado Building and Construction Trades

Council, whereas defendant Carpenters District Council

of Southern Colorado is not. Nevertheless, the above-

named defendants do not have sufficient knowledge or

information with which to form a belief as to the truth

or falsity of all of the other allegations contained in Para-

graph 7 of the Amended Complaint, some of which con-

stitute legal conclusions, and therefore, deny same.

4. PRELIMINARY MOTIONS REMAINING TO BE DE-

TERMINED

There are no other preliminary motions to be determined

at this time. However, because discovery by both parties is

presently in progress, Defendants above-named reserve the

right to move for a summary judgment or other appropriate

motions based upon present or future discovery.

5. (A) GENERAL NATURE OF THE CLAIMS OF THE

PARTIES

b. Defendants’ Claim

The Plaintiff contends that the Defendant Carpenters’

unions have a labor agreement with the Plaintiff which con-

C-34

tains a promise not to strike or picket the Plaintiff and that

said promise was violated by the picketing of the Colorado

Building Construction Trades Council in March and April,

1973 because the Trades Council was acting as the agent of

the Carpenter Defendants at this time. In addition, the Plain-

tiff also contends that the Carpenter Defendants coerced their

members into not working for Plaintiff during this same period

and thereby directly violated the no-strike promises contained

in the collective bargaining agreement with the Plaintiff.

The Defendant Carpenter unions deny Plaintiff's allega-

ions of direct and indirect violation of the Carpenters’ collec-

tive bargaining agreement, which is known as the “Carpenters’

Building Construction 1972-75 Agreement.” It is the Defend-

ant Carpenter unions’ position that the Colorado Building

Construction Trades Council is a separate and distinct labor

organization with its own purposes and goals and that in sub-

mitting its own subcontract agreement to the Plaintiff for sig-

nature and in conducting picketing against Plaintiff in March

and April, 1973, the Colorado Building Construction Trades

Council was acting on its own initiative pursuing its own goals

and was not acting as the agent of the Carpenter Defendants

_ herein. The Defendant Carpenters District Council of South-

ern Colorado is a party to the aforementioned collective bar-

gaining agreement with the Plaintiff, but is not a member of

the Colorado Building Construction Trades Council and, there-

fore, has no agency relationship to the Trades Council. On the

other hand, Defendant Local 1340 is an affiliate of the Colo-

rado Building Construction Trades Council, but neither it nor

the Defendant Carpenters District Council of Southern Colo-

rado authorized or ratified the Trades Council picketing. Fur-

thermore, the Defendant Local 1340 is not a party to the afore-

mentioned collective bargaining agreement with the Plaintiff.

It is also the Defendant Carpenter unions’ position that

C-35

even if the alleged agency relationship were found, the alleged

picketing does not constitute a violation of the collective bar-

gaining agreement, as the no-strike provision contained in

Article XIII therein does not preclude the union from honoring

the picket line of another labor organization.

Furthermore, the Plaintiff alleges at Paragraphs 13 and

14 of its Amended Complaint that the Carpenter Defendants

have violated the aforementioned collective bargaining agree-

ment by attempting to change the provisions of Article IV,

entitled “Subcontractors,” by means of the Trades Council

picket and have violated Article XIII relating to strikes, work-

stoppages, etc., respectively. It is the Defendant Carpenter

unions’ position that these two alleged violations of the collec-

tive bargaining agreement are clearly disputes involving the

interpretation and application of said collective bargaining

agreement, and therefore, the resolution of these disputes lies

solely and exclusively within the province of the dispute reso-

lution machinery contained in Article XIII of said collective

bargaining agreemnt. Thus, this Court has no jurisdiction over

the subject matter of this action and the Plaintiff is barred from

seeking recovery in this action by its failure to exhaust the ex-

clusive and mandatory contractual remedies provided in Article

XIII of said collective bargaining agreement.

It is also the Defendant Carpenter unions’ position that

this Court lacks jurisdiction over the subject matter of this

action because it is pre-empted by the National Labor Rela-

tions Ant oe ene ee ee ee

or indi ble parties under Federal Rules i

por ote. the numerous other labor organizations

which are members of the Colorado Building Construction

Trades Councii and which are responsible for the damages the

Plaintiff allegedly sustained, that the Plaintiff has failed to

C-36

mitigate its damages, that the Plaintiff is barred by laches and

is estopped from bringing the within lawsuit, and that the

Plaintiff has failed to state a claim upon which relief can be

granted.

(B) UNCONTROVERTED FACTS

The Defendants above-named contend that the following

facts are uncontroverted:

1. Plaintiff and Defendant Carpenters District Council of

Southern Colorado are parties to the collective bargaining

agreement known as “Carpenters’ Building Construction 1972-

75 Agreement.”

2. Said collective bargaining agreement contains in Article

XIII, entitled “Contractural Disputes,” a provision relating to

strikes, working-stoppages, etc., against Plaintiff, and contains

in Article IV, entitled “Subcontractors,” a provision relating

to the Plaintiff's obligations vis-a-vis its subcontractors per-

forming carpenter work.

3. The Carpenters Building Construction Trades Council

submitted to the Plaintiff for its requested signature a labor

agreement which would require, inter alia, that the Plaintiff

contract only with union subcontractors in most, if not all,

phases of its construction work in the future.

4. The Colorado Building Construction Trades Council

picketed Plaintiff in Fort Collins, Colorado, in the Spring of

1973, whereas the Carpenter Defendants herein did not picket

the Plaintiff during all times material herein.

5. Defendant Local 1340 is not a party to the aforemen-

C-37

tioned collective bargaining agreement, whereas Carpenters

District Council of Southern Colorado is a party to said agree-

ment.

6. The Plaintiff has failed to invoke or pursue its contrac-

tual remedies provided for in Article XIII of the aforemen-

tioned collective bargaining agreement, including reducing its

dispute to writing, referring its dispute(s) to the Board of Ad-

justment or to arbitration before an Impartial Arbitrator.

6. ISSUES OF FACT AND LAW

(A) Contested Issues of Fact:

1. Does the aforementioned collective bargaining agree-

ment preclude the right of the Carpenter Defendants to honor

the picket line of another labor organization?

2. Whether the parties to the aforementioned collective

papnanges age fee to ag Samah

are ject to dispute resolution procedures provided

for in said collective bargaining agreement.

3. Whether the Plaintiff took any steps toward invoking

or pursuing the dispute resolution procedures provided under

the aforementioned collective bargaining agreement.

4. To what extent did the Carpenter Defendants cause

the damages allegedly sustained by the Plaintiff, ar: to what

extent were said damages caused by other labor organizations?

5. Whether the Building Construction Trades Council is

a separate labor organization from the Carpenter Defendants.

C-38

6. Whether the decision of the individual carpenter em-

ployees not to cross the within picket line constitutes a breach

by the Carpenter Defendants of the no-strike provision of the

within mentioned collective bargaining agreement.

(B) Contested Issues of Law:

1. Whether the Colorado Building Construction Trades

Council was the agent of the Carpenter union Defendants as

alleged in the Amended Complaint.

2. Whether the picketing of the Colorado Building Con-

struction Trades Council was authorized or ratified by the

Carpenter Defendants, and whether or not the Trades Council

acted within the scope of said authority.

3. Whether the picketing of the Colorado Building Con-

struction Trades Council constituted a violation by the Car-

penter Defendants herein of the aforementioned collective

bargaining agreement.

4. Whether the Carpenter union Defandants induced,

encouraged, or coerced their members into refusing to work

for Plaintiff, and if so, whether such conduct constitutes a

breach of the aforementioned collective bargaining agreement.

5. Whether the alleged conduct of the Carpenter Defend-

ants caused the cessation or interruption of work complained

of, and whether said Defendants are legally responsible for all

damages allegedly sustained.

6. Whether Carpenter Defendants attempted to change

Article IV, entitled “Subcontractors,” of the aforementioned

collective bargaining agreement by the action of the Colorado

C-39

Building Construction Trades Council in seekin

g its own col-

lective bargaining agreement from the Plaintiff. ee

7. Whether the contractual violations alle

Seseell die iaiehen dlitn tae endiaten ot aadw wee a

titled “Contractural Disputes,” of the aforementioned collective

bargaining agreement, and whether the pursuit of the dispute

resolution machinery provided for in Article XIII of said col-

lective bargaining agreement, including participation in an

arbitration hearing before an Impartial Chairman of the Board

of Adjustment is a prerequisite or pre-condition to the Plain-

tiff's right to sue for breach of said agreement, and whether the

Plaintiff's failure to exhaust its contractual remedies bars re-

covery herein.

8. Whether the dispute resolution machi provid

huthile SA0t ch Gis dhceaitatad waethns bangles cape.

ment is mandatory and exclusive and whether the Plaintiff's

failure to invoke said dispute resolution machinery entitles the

Defendant Carpenters District Council of Southern Colorado

to recover the damages it has sustained as a result of Plaintiff's

failure to do so.

9. Whether the exercise of free choice by an individual

carpenter einployee in regard to the decision of to cross or not

ne en eS LE Op

orementioned collective bargaining agreement, and if so,

whether such alleged breaca gives rise to a claim for damages

against the Defendant Carpenters District Council of Southern

Colorado, against Defendant Local 1340 or against both.

10. Whether the Defendant Carpenters District Council of

Southern Colorado and/or Defendant Local 1340 are respon-

sible in damages for the acts of the Colorado Building Con-

C-40

struction Trades Council which is a separate and distinct labor

organization.

11. Whether the Carpenter Defendants as well as their

individual employee members are precluded by the aforemen-

tioned collective bargaining agreement from honoring the

picket line of the Colorado Building Trades Construction

Council which is another labor organization.

12. Whether the Plaintiff has mitigated its damages.

13. Whether Plaintiff has failed to join necessary or in-

dispensable parties under the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

No. 19.

14. Whether this Court lacks jurisdiction over the subject

matter of this action because it is preempted by the National

Labor Relations Act as it is amended.

15. Whether or not the Plaintiff has stated a claim upon

_ which relief can be granted.

9. Petitioners’ Suggestion to Dismiss Pursuant to Rule 12(h)

(3) (July 10, 1974)

COME NOW the Defendants, Carpenters District Coun-

cil of Southern Colorado and Local 1340 of the International

Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America, and move

this Honorable Court to Dismiss the above-captioned Action

on the grounds that the Court lacks jurisdiction over the sub-

ject matter because the Pleadings and the Depositions on file

show on their face that the controversy described therein is

one within the exclusive jurisdiction of an arbitrator selected

and acting pursuant to the provisions of Article XIII of the

C-41

collective bargaining agreement upon which this Action is

EE a

to Dismiss Pursuant to Rule 12(h) (3) (July 10, 1974)

PRELIMINARY STATEMENT

COME NOW the Defendants, Carpenters District Coun-

cil of Southern Colorado and Local 1340 of the International

Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America, by and

through its attorneys, the LAW OFFICES OF JOHN W.

McKENDREE, and suggest pursuant to Rule 12(h)(3) of the

Fed.R.Civ.P. that this Court is without jurisdiction over the

subject matter of the within controversy and hence should

Order dismissal of the Action. Bank v. U.S., 16 F.R.D. 310,

312-313 (S.D. Calif. 1954). See also Arcaya v. Estrada, 24

F.R.Serv. 12 h. 234, Case 1 (S.D.N.Y. 1957).

ARGUMENT

THE COURT DOES NOT HAVE SUBJECT MATTER

JURISDICTION OVER THE INSTANT DISPUTE BE-

CAUSE: (1) THE DISPUTE IS SUBSTANTATIVELY

ARBITRABLE; (2) THE FINAL AND BINDING ARBI-

TRATION PROCEDURES PROVIDED FOR IN THE

COLLECTIVE BARGAINING AGREEMENT ARE

AVAILABLE TO THE PLAINTIFF; and (3) THE PLAIN-

TIFF FAILED TO UTILIZE SUCH PROCEDURES 3E-

FORE INSTITUTION OF THE PRESENT ACTION.

In United Steelworkers v. American Mfg. Co., Inc., 363

U.S. 564 (1960), the Supreme Court expressly delimited the

role of the judiciary in suits under Section 301(a) of the Labor

Management Relations Act of 1947, as amended, 29 U-S.C.

$185(a):

C-42

... The function of the Court is very limited when the

parties have agreed to submit all questions of contract

interpretation to the arbitrator. It is then confined to

ascertaining whether the parties seeking arbitration is mak-

ing a claim which on its face is governed by the contract.

Whether the Moving Party is right or wrong is a question

of contract interpretation for the arbitrator. In these cir-

cumstances the Moving Party should not be deprived of

the arbitrator's judgment, when it was his judgment and

all that it connotes that was bargained for. (emphasis sup-

plied) 363 U.S. at 567-8

... When the judiciary undertakes to determine the merits

of the grievance under the guise of interpreting the griev-

ance procedure of collective bargaining agreements, it

usurps a function which under that regime is entrusted

thearbitration tribunal. (emphasis supplied) 363 U.S. at

569.

Although American Mfg. was a Section 301 action to compel

arbitration, the courts recognized that the Federal policy fav-

oring arbitration of disputes manifested in that case, as in the

other Steelworker Trilogy cases, United Steelworkers v. Warrior

Gulf and Navigation Co., 363 U.S. 574 (1960); United Steel-

workers v. Enterprise Wheel and Car Corp., 363 U.S. 593

(1960), imposed a general mandate to give way to the juris-

diction of the arbitrator unless it could be said with “positive

assurance” that a particular dispute was not substantatively

arbitrable. United Steelworkers v. Warrior Gulf and Naviga-

tion Co., 363 U.S. at 582-3. ,

Thus, in Operating Engineers v. Dow Chemical Co., 348

F. Supp. 1149, 1151 (S.D.Tex. 1972), the District Court found

the dispute before it to be substantively arbitrable and thus

dismissed the action for lack of jurisdiction, commenting:

C-43

... The Supreme Court has made it clear that when the

collective bargaining agreement contains an arbitration

procedure and the arbitration procedure covers the ques-

tion in dispute, a federal court has no jurisdiction under

Section 301 unless the arbitration procedure has first been

utilized. ... The court’s function is to determine if it is an

arbitrable dispute — if it is, and if the arbitration proce-

dure has not been followed, the court must dismiss for

lack of jurisdiction. (citations omitted )

See also Printing Industries of St. Louis, Inc. v. Bindery Local

55, 347 F. Supp. 339 (E.D. Mo. 1972); Royal Industrial Union

v. Royal McBee Corp., 217 F.Supp. 277 (D.Conn. 1963). Com-

pare Republic Steel Corp. v. Maddox, 379 U.S. 650 (1965)

with U.S. Bulk Carriers, Inc. v. Arguelles, 400 U.S. 351 (1971).

Indeed, the Plaintiff Reid Burton has recognized that fail-

ure to exhaust contractual disputes’ remedies acts as a bar to

subject matter jurisdiction of the Court in the Fourth Defense

of its December 5, 1973, Reply to the Defendants’ Counter-

claim.

Instantly, there is no doubt that Plaintiff Reid Burton’s

claim is: (1) based on an alleged breach of the collective bar-

gaining agreement by the Defendants Carpenters District

Council of Southern Colorado and Local 1340; (2) that such

claim is substantatively arbitrable; and, (3) that the Plaintiff

failed to exhaust its contractual remedies before institution of

the present Action. Consequently, the Defendant Unions sug-

gest that the Court is without subject matter jurisdiction

and that the instant dispute must be dismissed.

~

In its most recent Motion to Amend Complaint, filed with

the Court on March 7, 1974, the Plaintiff stated as grourds for

he IE toes Pe ee

C-44

the addition of Paragraph 15 to its Amended Complaint the

following: ©

... That, as previously expressed in briefs to this Court,

Plaintiff is proceeding herein on two theories: (a) That a

Building Trades Council picket line, since the Building

Trades Council is an agent of Defendant, breaches the

collective bargaining agreement; and (b) That Defend-

ant, because of their no-strike pledges to the Plaintiff,

breached their collective bargaining agreement when they

refused services to the Plaintiff because of any picket line.

Although heretofore the Defendants have questioned whether

the Defendant Local 1340 was a party to the collective bar-

gaining agreement entered into by Reid Burton and the Car-

penters District Council of Southern Colorado, the Defend-

ants herein state that Local 1340 is subject to the terms and

provisions of the agreement. Consolidation Coal Co. v. United

Mine Workers, Local 5869, 362 F.Supp. 1073 (S.D.W.Va.

1973). As a consequence, both Defendant Carpenters District

Council of Southern Colorado and Defendant Local 1340

would be bound by an arbitral award issued in accordance

with the provisions of Article XIII of the collective bargaining

agreement.

11. Excerpts from Petitioners’ Amended Pre-Trial Statement

(July 23, 1974)

2. JURISDICTION

The Court has jurisdiction over the above-described De-

fendants pursuant to Section 301(a) of the Labor Management

Relations Act of 1947, as amended, 29 U.S.C. 185(a).

C-45

3. AMENDMENT TO PLEADINGS

At a prior Pre-Trial Conference, the Court permitted the

Defendants to amend their Answer by allegin Eleven

Affirmative Defense. P = .

4. PRELIMINARY MOTIONS REMAINING TO B

E DE-

The Defendants have with the filing of the within Amend-

ed Defendants’ Pre-Trial Statement, filed a Suggestion to Dis-

miss pursuant to Rule 12(h)(3) of the Fed. R. Civ. P. Con-

sequently, the Suggestion to Dismiss remains to be determined

by the Court.

5. GENERAL NATURE OF THE CLAIMS OF THE

PARTIES

(A) b. Defendants’ Claim

The Defendant Carpenter unions <ieny P'aintiff’s allega-

tions of direct and indirect violation of the Carpenters’ collec-

tive bargaining agreement, which is known as the “Carpenters”

Building Construction 1972 - 1975 Agreement.” It is the De-

fendant Carpenter unions’ position that the Colorado Building

Construction Trades Council is a separate and distinct labor

organization with its own purposes and goals and that in sub-

mitting its own subcontract agreement to the Plaintiff for sig-

nature and in conducting picketing against Plaintiff in March

and April, 1973, the Colorado Building Construction Trades

Council was acting on its own initiative pursuing its own goals

and was not acting as the agent of the Carpenter Defendants

herein. The Defendant Carpenters District Council of South-

ern Colorado is a party to the aforementioned collective bar-

,

eS ie OE

C-46

gaining agreement with the Plaintiff, but is not a member of

the Colorado Building Construction Trades Council, and,

therefore, has no agency relationship to the Trades Council.

On the other hand, Defendant Local 1340 is an affiliate of the

Colorado Building Construction Trades Council, but neither it

nor the Defendant Carpenters District Council of Southern

Colorado authorized or ratified the Trades Council picketing.

Furthermore, the Defendant Local 1340 is not a party to the

aforementioned collective bargaing agreement with the Plain-

tiff.

It is also the Defendant Carpenter unions’ position that

even if the alleged agency relationship were found, the alleged

picketing does not constitute a violation of the collective bar-

gaining agreement, as the no-strike provision contained in

Article XIII therein does not preclude the union from honor-

ing the picket line of another labor organnization. The indi-

vidual carpenters who refused to cross the picket line did so of

their own volition.

Furthermore, the Plaintiff alleges at Paragraphs 13 and

14 of its Amended Complaint that the Carpenter Defendants

have violated the aforementioned collective bargaining agree-

ment by attempting to change the provisions of Article IV,

entitled “Subcontractors,” by means of the Trades Council

picket and have violated Article XIII relating to strikes, work-

stoppages, etc., respectively. It is the Defendant Carpenter

unions’ position that these two alleged violations of the collec-

tive bargaining agreement are clearly disputes involving the

interpretation and application of said collective bargaining

agreement, and therefore, the resolution of these disputes lies

solely and exclusively within the province of the dispute re-

solution machinery contained in Article XIII of said colle .e

bargaining agreement. Thus, this Court has no jurisdiction over

C-47

the subject matter of this action and the Plaintiff is barred

from seeking recoyery in this action by its failure to exhaust

the exclusive and mandatory contractual remedies provided

in Article XIII of said collective bargaining agreement.

It is also the Defendant Carpenter unions’ position that

this Court lacks jurisdiction over the subject matter of this

action because it is pre-empted by the National Labor Rela-

tions Act, as amended, that the Plaintiff has failed to join ne-

cessary or indispensable parties under Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure No. 19—i.e., the numerous other labor organizations

which are members of the Colorado Building Construction

Trades Couficil and which are responsible for the damages the

Plaintiff allegedly sustained, that the Plaintiff has failed to

mitigate its damages, that the Plaintiff is barred by laches and

is estopped from bringing the within lawsuit, and that the

Plaintiff has failed to state a claim upon which relief can be

granted.

The Defendants have further counterclaimed for damages

suffered, including, inter alia, the cost of defending the within

lawsuit, by reason of the fact the Plaintiff commenced the

instant lawsuit in violation of its mandatory obligation to

utilize the dispute settlement procedure provided for in the

subject collective bargaining agreement. Defendants claim that

Plaintiff's failure to abide by the terms of said collective bar-

Sei tdbcdas dea dmetaaa hae

agreement rise to a right to recover damages

such breach. ¥ ie

(B) UNCONTROVERTED FACTS

The Defendants above-named contend that the following

facts are uncontroverted.

C-48

1. Plaintiff and Defendant Carpenters District Council

of Southern Colorado are parties to the collective bargaining

agreement know as “Carpenters’ Building Construction 1972 -

1975 Agreement.”

2. Said collective bargaining agreement contains in

Article XIII, entitled, “Contractual Disputes,” a provision re-

lating to strikes, workstoppages, etc., against Plaintiff, and

contains in Article IV, entitled, “Subcontractors,” a provision

relating to the Plaintiff's obligations vis-a-vis its subcontractors

performing carpenter work,

3. The Carpenters Building Construction Trades Coun-

cil submitted to the Plaintiff for its requested signature a labor

agreement which would require, inter alia, that the Plaintiff

contract only with union subcontractors in most, if not all,

phases of its construction work in the future.

4. The Colorado Building Construction Trades Council

picketed Plaintiff in Fort Collins, Colorado, in the Spring of

1973, whereas the Carpenter Defendants herein did not picket

the Plaintiff during all times material herein.

5. The Plaintiff has failed to invoke or pursue its con-

tractual remedies provided for in Article XIII of the afore-

mentioned collective bargaining agreement, including reduc-

ing its dispute to writing, referring its dispute(s) to the Board

of Adjustment or to arbitration before an Impartial Arbitrator.

6. It is uncontroverted that Defendant Local 1340 is a

member of the Colorado Building and Construction Trades

Council.

6. ISSUES OF FACT AND LAW

C-49

(A) Contested Issues of Fact:

1. Does the aforementioned collective bargaining agree-

ment preclude the right of the Carpenter Defendants to h

the picket line of another labor organization? a etm

2. Whether the parties to the aforementioned collec-

tive bargaining agreement intended that the disputes involved

herein be subject to the dispute resolution procedures provided

for in said collective bargaining agreement.

3. To what extent did the Carpenter Defendants cause

the damages allegedly sustained by the Plaintiff, and to what

extent were said damages caused by other labor organizations?

4. Whether the B: \ding Construction Trades Council

7 — labor organization from the Carpenter Defen-

ants.

5. Whether the decision of the individual carpenter em-

ployees not to cross the within picket line constitutes a breach

by the Carpenter Defendants of the no-strike provision of the

within-mentioned collective bargaining agreement.

6. To what extent have the Defendants been damaged

by Plaintiff's failure to exhaust its contractual remedies before

commencement of the instant action?

(B) Contested Issues of Law:

1, Whether the Colorado Building Construction Trades

Council was the agent of the Carpenter union Defendants as

alleged in the Amended Complaint.

C-50

2, Whether the picketing of the Colorado Building Con-

struction Trades Council was authorized or ratified by the

Carpenter Defendants, and whether or not the Trades Coun-

cil acted within the scope of said authority.

3, Whether the picketing of the Colorado Building Con-

struction Trades Council constituted a violation by the Car-

penter Defendants herein of the aforementioned collective bar-

gaining agreement.

4. Whether the Carpenter union Defendants induced,

encouraged, or coerced their members into refusing to work for

Plaintiff, and if so, whether such conduct constitutes a breach

of the aforementioned collective bargaining agreement.

5, Whether the alleged conduct of the Carpenter De-

fendants caused the cessation or interruption of work com-

plained of, and whether said Defendants are legally responsible

for all damages allegedly sustained.

6. Whether Carpenters Defendants attempted to change

Article IV, entitled, “Subcontractors,” of the aforementioned

collective bargaining agreement by the action of the Colorado

Building Construction Trades Council in seeking its own col-

lective bargaining agreement from the Plaintiff.

7. Whether the contractual violations alleged by the

Plaintiff are disputes within the meaning of Article XIII, en-

titled, “Contractual Disputes,” of the aforementioned collective

bargaining agreement, including participation in an arbitration

hearing before an Impartial Chairman of the Board of Ad-

justment is a prerequisite or pre-condition to the Plaintiff's

right to sue for breach of said agreement, and whether the

Plaintiff's failure to exhaust its contractual remedies bars re-

covery herein.

C-51

8. Whether the dispute resolution machinery provided in

Article XIII of the aforementioned collective bargaining agree-

ment is mandatory and exclusive and whether the Plaintiff's

failure to invoke said dispute machinery entitles the Defend-

ant Carpenters District Council of Southern Colorado to re-

cover the damages it has sustained as a result of Plaintiff's

failure to do so.

9. Whether the exercise of free choice by an individual

carpenter employee in regard to the decision of to cross or not

to cross the within-mentioned picket line is a breach of the

aforementioned collective bargaining agreement, and if so,

whether such alleged breach gives rise to a claim for damages

against the Defendant Carpenters District Council of Southern

Colorado and against Defendant Local 1340 or against either.

10. Whether the Defendant Carpenters District Council

of Southern Colorado and/or Defendant Local 1340 are re-

sponsible in damages for the acts of the Colorado Building

Construction Trades Council which is a separate and distinct

labor organization.

11. Whether the Carpenters Defendants as well as their

individual employee members are precluded by the aforemen-

tioned collective bargaining agreement from honoring the

picket line of the Colorado Building Trades Construction

Council which is another labor organization,

12. Whether the Plaintiff has mitigated its damages.

13. Whether the Plaintiff has failed to join necessary or

indispensable parties under the Federal Rules of Civil Pro-

cedure No. 19.

C-52

14. Whether this Court lacks jurisdiction over the subject

matter of this action because it is pre-empted by the National

Labor Relations Act as it is amended.

15. Whether or not the Plaintiff has stated a claim upon

which relief can be granted.

12. Excerpts from Respondent's Pre-Trial Statement (July 23,

1974)

II. JURISDICTION

Admitted in part and denied in part. Plaintiff asserts this

action arises under Section 301(a) of the Labor Management

Relations Act, as amended, 29 US.C.A. §185. Defendant Car-

penters District Council of Southern Colorado admit to the

jurisdictional allegation. Defendant Local 1340 denies that

the Court has juridiction by virtue of said Act.

Ill. AMENDMENTS TO PLEADING

Subsequent to the filing of the Complaint and Answer

Plaintiff moved to amend the Amended Complaint on

peer of clarification, and Defendant also moved to amend

the Answer by alleging an Eleventh Affirmative Defense. At

a prior pre-trial conference, the Court permitted both amend-

ments and it was agreed that the allegations contained in each

of the amendments would be presumed denied by the oppos-

ing party.

IV. PRELIMINARY MOTIONS REMAINING TO BE

DETERMINED

None

C-53

V. GENERAL NATURE OF THE CLAIM OF THE

PARTIES

A. Plaintiff's Claim

Plaintiff is a party to a collective bargaining agreement

with Defendants Carpenters District Council of Southern Colo-

rado (hereafter called Council) and Local 1340 which agree-

ment contains promises by the Carpenters Union that its mem-

bers will not strike or picket Plaintiff during the period of that

agreement. Plaintiff claims that an agent of Defendants, the

Colorado Building and Construction T

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.