Jurisdictional Statement — Kubo v. Agricultural Labor Relations Board

Supreme Court brief1976

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

, Supreme Court, iS 4 |

r* RILED ™“y,}

;

5A

"’ of

JUN 2 1976 |

|

ales. JR., CLERK

——

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Unit

oe ae. 1 7 5 4

PANDOL & SONS, a California partnership; JASMINE

VINEYARDS, INC., a California corporation,

Appellants,

vs.

AGRICULTURAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Appellee.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

JosEPH HERMAN,

GEORGE PREONAS,

JorL KAPLAN,

Attorneys for Appellant.

SEYFARTH, SHAW, FAIRWEATHER &

GERALDSON,

1801 Century Park East,

Los Angeles, Caiif. 90067,

(213) 277-7200,

Of Counsel.

Parker & Son, Inc., Law Printers, Los Angeles. Phone 724-6622

SUBJECT INDEX

Page

FE aE Ec ee ee 1

ea ee ee Bee de 2

ELE EE SER rs Le" 3

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved .... 3

ee Se Ts sak ccchlh eels chvensenindectiniiiniie 4

The Federal Questions Are Substantial .............. 10

A. The Constitutional Standard Requires the

Accommodation of Conflicting Rights ........ 11

B. A Case-by-Case Determination Is Constitu-

Se ee 14

C. The California Supreme Court Applied an

Incorrect Standard of Review ...................... 17

D. The Access Regulation Is Unconstitutional —

0 TE BIE ncteniendicmnsiertinangdegniciaetereas 19

E. The Access Regulation Establishes an Un-

constitutional Irrebuttable Presumption ........ 20

I | cisncttscietccevctntetedelintiadelitnenbitiitaitienuiitiatedas 23

ii.

INDEX TO APPENDICES

Page

Appendix A. Onplebatt ..........-ccoccceeccocccccesees App. p. 1

Clash, J.” TORR GIMII cnccecsscceccccccconccnccrscscssnscsceeseres 38

Appendix B. Notice of Appeal to the Supreme

Court of the United States .................---.---00000++ 55

Appendix C. Title 8. Agricultural Labor Rela-

tions Board. Chapter 9. Access to Workers in the

Fields by Labor Organizations ................-...--.--- 57

Appendix D. Temporary Restraining Order ........ 60

Appendix E. Interim Order .................::--:s-00-++ 66

Appendix F. Onder ..............--ccsccsssssssreseseeesseesoees 67

Appendix G. Order to Show Cause and Temporary

Passteateine TANG acsccnccccenesniiennmsissinnensetnntinsictaninnae 69

Appendix H(1). Preemptory Writ of Mandate .... 71

Appendix H(2). Judgment .............----.-ssse--e-esees 73

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases Page

Camara v. Municipal Court, 387 U.S. 523 (1967)

Central Hardware Company v. National Labor Re-

lations Board, 407 U.S. 539 (1972) ....10, 13,

Cleveland Board of Education v. LaFleur, 414 U.S.

Te Ciba taints ciciintiledtaetsidticcrtendewesion

Erznoznik v. City of Jacksonville, 422 U.S. 205

19

16

19

22

i Eee ER en 2

Hamilton v. Regents of the University of California,

| & ee FS) | ) ES La en 2

Lake Erie Railroad Co. v. State Public Utilities

Commission, 249 U.S. 422 (1919) ...............-+. 2

Live Oak Water Users Association v. Railroad

Commission of the State of California, 269 U.S.

I isaac aes idatatinirermpteemnmintnnsenginnte 2

Lloyd Corporation Ltd. v. Tanner, 407 U.S. 551

) 13, 18

Lynch v. Household Finance Corp., 405 U.S. 538

PIII: dundisscteiiclinsematiiabicetuatiientiibemnatantgenmnindte 18

NLRB v. Babcock & Wilcox Co., 351 U.S. 105

EER 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 18

NLRB v. Cities Service, 122 F.2d 149 (2d

ee | 15

NLRB v. Kutsher’s Hotel & Country Club, Inc.,

427 F.2d 200 (2d Cir. 1970) .......22.-2...-.00--+- 15

NLRB v. S & H Grossinger’s, Inc., 372 F.2d 26

(2B Clk. 19GB) ..cccrceeseccccrcoseeseccccccccceccescsceseccceosees 15

iv.

Page

NLRB v. Sioux City & New Orleans Barge Lines,

Inc., 472 F.2d 753 (8th Cir. 1973) ............ 15

Pando! & Sons and Jasmine Vineyards, Inc. v. Ed-

mund G. Brown, Jr., Governor of the State of

California, of all., NO. ArBE6. .<«taicwcmenten 7

Scott Hudgens v. NLRB, .... U.S. ...., 96 S.Ct. 1029

C {, ) NET 13

See v. City of Seattle, 387 U.S. 541 (1967) ...... 19

Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645 (1972) ............ 21, 22

Sultan Railroad and Timber Co. v. Department of

Labor and Industries of State of Washington, 277

US. 1335 (1GZB) cccccceccccssscensssesnniae 2

United States Department of Agriculture v. Murry,

413 US. SOB CIGTS) ncccercessseten 22

Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas (1974) 416 US.

1, 94 3.Cr. 1336, 39 L.GSS FOP cee 17

Viandis v. Kline, 412 U.S. 441 (1973) .......... 21

Williams v. Bruffy, 96 U.S. 176 (1877) ............ 2

Statutes

Agricultural Labor Relations Act, Sec. 1152 ........ 10

California Administrative Code, Title 8, Part II,

Chap. 9, Secs. 20900-20901 ...................... a

California Labor Code, Sec. 1141-20000... 2... 4

National Labor Relations Act, Sec. 7 ........... . 10

United States Code, Title 28, Sec. 1257(2) .......... 2

United States Code, Title 29, Sec. 141 .......0........ 4

United States Code, Title 29, Sec. 152(3) .......... 5

United States Code, Title 29, Sec. 157 ..............

United States Constitution, Fifth Amendment ......

Textbook

Broomfield, “Preemptive Federal Jurisdiction Over

Concerted Trespassory Union Activity,” 83 Harv.

L. Rev., pp. 552, 573, 575-576 (1970) ........ 15,

20

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1975

enact at heel

PaNnpoL & Sons, a California partnership; JASMINE

VINEYARDS, INC., a California corporation,

Appellants,

vs.

AGRICULTURAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Appellee.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

Appellants appeal from a decision of the Supreme

Court of the State of California, issued on March 4,

1976, upholding the validity of an administrative regula-

tion which was challenged, inter alia, as unconstitu-

tional. This Jurisdictional Statement is submitted to

demonstrate that the Supreme Court of the United

States has jurisdiction of this appeal and that a sub-

stantial federal question is presented.

Opinion Below.

The opinion of the Supreme Court of the State of

California is reported at 16 Cal.3d 392, 546 P.2d

687, 128 Cal.Rptr. 183 (1976). A copy of the opinion

is attached hereto as Appendix A.

=

Jurisdiction.

This appeal is taken from a final decision of the

Supreme Court of the State of California (with three

of the seven Justices dissenting) upholding the validity

of an administrative regulation enacted by the California

Agricultural Labor Relations Board: California Ad-

ministrative Code, Title 8, Part Il, Chapter 9, Sections

20900-20901. This regulation was challenged, inter alia,

on the grounds that it deprived Appellants of property

without due process of law, in violation of the Fifth

and Fourteenth Amendments to the Constitution of

the United States.

The decision of the Supreme Court of the State

of California was entered on March 4, 1976. Notice

of Appeal to this Court was filed with the clerk of

the Supreme Court of the State of California on March

8, 1976. (A copy of the Notice of Appeal is attached

hereto as Appendix B.)

The Supreme Court has jurisdiction to review this

case on direct appeal pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(2).

The following decisions sustain the jurisdiction of the

Supreme Court to review this case on direct appeal:

Williams v. Bruffy, 96 U.S. 176 (1877); Lake Erie

Railroad Co. v. State Public Utilities Commission, 249

U.S. 422 (1919); Live Oak Water Users Association

v. Railroad Commission of the State of California,

269 U.S. 354 (1926); Sultan Railroad and Timber

Co. v. Department of Labor and Industries of State

of Washington, 277 U.S. 135 (1928); Hamilton v.

Regents of the University of California, 293 U.S. 245

(1934); Erznoznik v. City of Jacksonville, 422 US.

205 (1975).

—

Question Presented.

Does an administrative regulation, which grants non-

employee union organizers an absolute right to enter

the private property, including working areas, of an

agricultural employer irrespective of the fact that other

means of communicating effectively with the employer's

employees are available, deprive Appellants of property

without due process of law, in violation of the Fifth

and Fourteenth Amendments to the Constitution of

the United States?

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved.

This case involves the Fifth and Fourteenth Amend-

ments to the Constitution of the United States.

This case also involves California Administrative

Code, Title 8, Part II, Chapter 9, Sections 20900-

20901 (pp. 1051-1053), a copy of which is attached

hereto as Appendix C. This regulation provides in

pertinent part:

“§ Accordingly, the Board will consider the

rights of employees under Labor Code Sec. 1152

to include the right of access by union organizers

to the premises of an agricultural employer for

the purpose of organizing, subject to the following

limitations:

“a. Organizers may enter the property of an

employer for a total period of 60 minutes before

the start of work and 60 minutes after the com-

pletion of work to meet and talk with employees

in areas in which employees congregate before

and after working.

“b. In addition, organizers may enter the em-

ployer’s property for a total period of one hour

during the working day for the purpose of meeting

a

and talking with employees during their lunch

period, at such location or locations as the em-

ployees eat their lunch. If there is an established

lunch break, the one-hour period shall include

such lunch break. If there is no established lunch

break, the one-hour period may be at any time

during the working day.

“c. Access shall be limited to two organizers

for each work crew on the property, provided

that if there are more than 30 workers in a

crew, there may be one additional organizer for

every 15 additional workers.

“d. Upon request, organizers shall identify

themselves by name and labor organization to

the employer or his agent. Organizers shall also

wear a badge or other designation of affiliation.

“e. The right of access shall not include con-

duct disruptive of the ciaployer’s property or agri-

cultural operations, including injury to crops or

machinery. Speech by itself shall not be consid-

ered disruptive conduct. Disruptive conduct by

particular organizers shall not be grounds for ex-

pelling organizers not engaged in such conduct,

nor for preventing future access.

“f. Pending further regulation by the Board,

this regulation shall not apply after the results

of an election held pursuant to this act have

been certified.”

Statement of the Case.

On August 28, 1975, the Agricultural Labor Re-

lations Act (ALRA), California Labor Code, Section

1141 et seqg., went into effect. The ALRA, which

is modeled upon the National Labor Relations Act,

as amended, 29 U.S.C. § 141 ef seq., applies to labor

= =

relations between agricultural employers and employees

in the State of California, Agricultural employees are

specifically excluded from coverage under the National

Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 152(3).

On August 29, 1975, the Agricultural Labor Re-

lations Board (ALRB), the agency charged with the

administration of the ALRA, adopted an administra-

tive regulation which grants to nonemployee union or-

ganizers the right to enter any agricultural employer’s

private property to organize employees—California Ad-

ministrative Code, Title 8, Part II, Chapter 9, Sections

20900-2090 1—(hereinafter referred to as the “access

regulation”). The regulation requires an employer to

grant such organizers access to working and nonwork-

ing areas of his property, during both working and

nonworking hours. Significantly, this right of access is

granted to nonemployee union organizers regardless of

whether other means are available by which such or-

ganizers can effectively reach and communicate with

an agricultural employer’s employees. Access to an

employer’s private property is required without any

showing whatsoever that it is needed by the union to

organize.

Appellants are agricultural employers in California

and are subject to the ALRA. Their properties are

private and posted against trespass. It is undisputed

that union organizers could communicate with Appel-

lants’ employees through various means other than by

entry upon Appellants’ private property. As found by

the United States District Court (Appendix D at 62):

“The evidence presented plainly demonstrates that

labor organizations seeking to organize and repre-

sent Plaintiffs’ agricultural employees have avail-

a

able numerous means of contacting and com-

municating with Plaintiffs’ agricultural employees

outside the private property and particularly the

agricultural fields of Plaintiffs.”

On September 3, 1975, Appellants filed suit in the

United States District Court for the Eastern District

of California at Fresno seeking declaratory and injunc-

tive relief against the application and enforcement of

the access regulation and requesting the convening of

a three-judge court. On that same date, Judge M.

D. Crocker issued a Temporary Restraining Order (a

copy of which is attached hereto as Appendix D)

enjoining and restraining Appellees from “applying,

implementing, and/or enforcing” the access regulation.

In that Order, Judge Crocker found that:

“{T]|hese Emergency Regulations violate the Fifth

and Fourteenth Amendments of the Constitution

of the United States in that they deprive Plaintiffs

of their property without due process of law and

also constitute a taking of Plaintiffs’ property for

public use without just compensation. In addition,

these Emergency Regulations are constitutionally

overbroad in violation of the Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendments of the United States Constitution

in that even if Plaintiffs were required to grant

access to non-employee union organizers—and this

Court has found that such access is not required—

the Emergency Regulations require access at im-

permissible times and locations and do not properly

minimize the invasion of Plaintiffs’ private property

by non-employee union organizers.” (Appendix

D at 62-63.)

_

On September 5, 1975, the three-judge District Court

issued an Interim Order continuing in effect the Tem-

porary Restraining Order until 12:00 noon on Septem-

ber 10, 1975, and stating that the court would “abstain

from adjudicating all issues in this case until they

are determined by the state courts of the State of

California.” (A copy of this Order is attached hereto

as Appendix E.)' On September 10, 1975, the three-

judge court issued an Order (a copy of which is

attached hereto as Appendix F) in which it retained

jurisdiction, stating:

“Since this case raises questions involving possible

impairment of Federal Constitutional rights, this

court continues to maintain jurisdiction. Upon ap-

plication of any party, the court will consider

whether further orders should be made in the

exercise of such jurisdiction.” (Appendix F at

68.)

In accordance with the three-judge court’s Order,

Appellants filed suit in the Superior Court of California

in and for the County of Tulare, challenging the con-

stitutionality of the access regulation under the Fifth

and Fourteenth Amendments to the Constitution of

the United States and also challenging the regulation

on various state law grounds. On September 10, 1975,

that court issued an Order to Show Cause and Tempo-

1On September 10, 1975, Appellants filed with this Court

an Application for a Stay and for Continuance of the Temporary

Restraining Order, which was denied by Mr. Justice Douglas

on September 28, 1975. Pandol & Sons and Jasmine Vineyards,

Inc. v. Edmund G. Brown, Jr., Governor of the State of

California, et al., No. A-222.

rary Restraining Order enjoining and restraining Appel-

lees from “applying, implementing, and/or enforcing”

the access regulation. (A copy of this Order is attached

hereto as Appendix G.) On that same date, the Superior

Court of California in and for the County of Fresno,

in an unrelated action brought by a group of agricul-

tural employers, issued a Peremptory Writ of Mandate

and a Declaratory Judgment in which it decreed that

the access regulation “is an unconstitutional infringe-

ment upon Plaintiffs’ property rights as guaranteed

by the California and United States Constitutions.”

(Copies of these Orders are attached hereto as Appen-

dices H(1) and H(2).)

On September 12, 1975, the ALRB filed with the

Supreme Court of the State of California a Petition

for a Writ of Prohibition and/or Writ of Mandate,

which sought an order prohibiting the Superior Courts

for the Counties of Tulare and Fresno from taking

any further action, including the enforcement of their

outstanding Orders, an immediate stay against the en-

forcement of the Orders of said courts, and other

and further relief. On September 18, 1975, the Supreme

Court of the State of California stayed the Orders

of the Superior Courts pending its decision on the

ALRB’s Petition for a Writ of Prohibition and/

or Writ of Mandate. On October 29, 1975, the

Supreme Court of the State of California issued an

Alternative Writ of Mandamus directing the Superior

Courts to set aside their Orders or in the alternative

to show cause why a Peremptory Writ of Mandate

should not issue.

On March 4, 1976, the Supreme Court of the State

of California (with three of its seven Justices dissent-

ing) issued its decision, holding that the access regula-

i

ee

cuties

tion was not invalid under California law, did not

violate Appellants’ rights under the United States and

California Constitutions, and directing that a Peremp-

tory Writ of Mandate issue.

The majority decision, although recognizing that the

access regulation inevitably requires that an employer

grant to nonemployee union organizers access to his

private property even where access is unnecessary to

enable such organizers to effectively communicate with

his workers, upheld the validity of the regulation.

The court ruled that this admittedly unnecessary

infringement of an employer’s property rights was per-

missible because property rights were not “fundamental

personal liberties.” Stating that the decisions of this

Court were silent on the issue, the court held that the

required accommodation between an employer’s prop-

erty rights and the right of access to that property by

union organizers need not be made on a case-by-case

basis, but could be resolved by a general regulation of

state-wide applicability.

The dissent concluded that prior decisions of this

Court required a balancing between these competing

interests and that the resulting accommodation must

necessarily be on a case-by-case basis in order to satisfy

the constitutional mandate of this Court’s decision in

NLRB v. Babcock & Wilcox Co., 351 U.S. 105 (1956),

that “accommodation between the two [organizational

rights and property rights] must be obtained with as

little destruction of one as is consistent with the mainte-

nance of the other.” Appendix A at 52. The dissent

also concluded that “by permitting . . . access to work-

ing areas, the board’s regulation is contrary to Babcock

and Central Hardware... .”

= =

The Federal Questions Are Substantial.

The issues presented by this appeal involve the ac-

commodation of the statutory right of employees to

engage in union organizational activities with the con-

stitutional right of employers to the use and control

of their private property. These identical issues were

dealt with by this Court in NLRB v. Babcock & Wilcox

Co., 351 U.S. 105 (1956), and Central Hardware Com-

pany v. National Labor Relations Board, 407 U.S. 539

(1972).* The decision below is an unprecedented de-

parture from the rule announced by this Court in those

cases and raises significant questions of constitutional

law and public policy.

As the California Supreme Court stated, “the issues

presented are of great public importance and must

be resolved promptly.” Appendix A at 9. Because of

the national scope of union organizing activities in

agriculture and the national impact of these activities

by way of widely publicized product boycotts, these

issues are important to agricultural employers, employ-

ees, and unions, not only in California, but throughout

the country.

The issues are also of great importance to persons

covered by the National Labor Relations Act, for if

the ALRB has the constitutional authority to adopt

a general access regulation requiring employers to allow

nonemployee union organizers on their property without

any showing of need, the National Labor Relations

"It is true that in Babcock and Central Hardware the source

of the statutory rights was federal law. However, Section 1152

of the ALRA, the provision of California law which is the

basis for employee organization rights (and which is cited

as such in the access regulation itself), is identical to Section

7 of the National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 157.

—

Board would have such authority as well. For this

reason, the case also is of importance to persons ¢xX-

cluded from coverage under the National Labor Rela-

tions Act, but covered by various state labor relations

statutes.

As to the constitutional questions raised by the access

regulation, there can be no question that they are sub-

stantial. Judge M. D. Crocker, of the United States

District Court, ruled that the regulation is unconstitu-

tional. The three-judge United States District Court

retained jurisdiction over the case because it “raises

questions involving possible impairment of Federal Con-

stitutional rights.” Two California Superior Courts also

found that the regulation is unconstitutional. Finally,

both the majority and the dissent in the California

Supreme Court dealt at length with the constitutional

issues in their opinions.

A. The Constitutional Standard Requires the Accommodation

of Conflicting Rights.

In NLRB v. Babcock & Wilcox Co., 351 U.S. 105

(1956), this Court reversed NLRB decisions requiring

employers to permit nonemployee union organizers to

enter and use the employers’ private property for organi-

zational purposes, holding:

“Organization rights are granted to workers by

the same authority, the National Government, that

preserves property rights. Accommodation between

the two must be obtained with as little destruction

of one as is consistent with the maintenance of

the other. The employer may not affirmatively

—

interfere with organization; the union may not

always insist that the employer aid organization.

But when the inaccessibility of employees makes

ineffective the reasonable attempts by nonem-

ployees to communicate with them through the

usual channels, the right to exclude from property

has been required to yield to the extent needed

to permit communication of information on the

right to organize.

* * *

“[I]f the location of a plant and the living quarters

of the employees place the employees beyond the

reach of reasonable union efforts to communicate

with them, the employer must allow the union

to approach his employees on his property.” 351

U.S. at 112-113.

The Court made clear, however, that where such

inaccessibility cannot be shown, a quite different rule

applies:

“[A]n employer may validly post his property

against nonemployee distribution of union litera-

ture if reasonable efforts by the union through

other available channels of communication will

enable it to reach the employees with its message

and if the employer’s notice or order does not

discriminate against the union by allowing other

distribution.” Jd. at 112.

Applying this principle to the cases before it, this

Court held that the employers were not required to

permit nonemployee union organizers to come onto

private parking lots since other means of communicating

with the employees were available.

= =

In Central Hardware Company v. NLRB, 407 U.S.

539 (1972), this Court again reversed an NLRB deter-

mination that access by nonemployee organizers was

required and held that such persons did not have a

constitutional or statutory right of entry to an employer’s

parking lot even though the parking lot was open to

the public. The principles originally expressed in Bab-

cock were clearly affirmed:

“The principle of Babcock is limited to this

accommodation between organization rights and

property rights. This principle requires a ‘yielding’

of property rights only in the context of an organi-

zation campaign. Moreover, the allowed intrusion

on property rights is limited to that necessary

to facilitate the exercise of employees’ § 7 rights.

After the requisite need for access to the employer’s

property has been shown, the access is limited

to (i) union organizers; (ii) prescribed nonwork-

ing areas of the employer’s premises; and (iii) the

duration of organization activity. In short, the prin-

ciple of accommodation announced in Babcock

is limited to labor organization campaigns, and

the ‘yielding’ of property rights it may require

is both temporary and minimal.” /d. at 544-545.

These principles were recently reaffirmed by this

Court in Scott Hudgens v. NLRB, ........ ) Se

96 S.Ct. 1029 (1976). See also, Lloyd Corporation Ltd.

v. Tanner, 407 U.S. 551 (1972).

—-

B. A Case-by-Case Determination Is Coustitutionally Required.

Applying these principles to the present case, it is

clear that the access regulation cannot stand, for the

constitutionally required accommodation cannot be

made by general regulation. Ouly a case-by-case determi-

nation will insure that any “yielding” of property rights

is “temporary and minimal” and that the accommoda-

tion between organization rights and property rights

is “obtained with as little destruction of one as is

consistent with the maintenance of the other.” To justify

an infringement of an employer’s property rights, there

must be a showing in each case that such an infringe-

ment is necessary because alternative means of com-

municating with the employees, means which do not

infringe on the employer’s property rights, are not avail-

able.

The National Labor Relations Board has never at-

tempted to deal with the subject of access by non-

employee union organizers through a general regulation.

The reason is that a case-by-case approach is constitu-

tionally required:

“The balance envisioned by Babcock & Wilcox

appears to be one which requires case-by-case ad-

judication.

* * *

“[A]|ny question of access must involve a counter-

balancing of the employer’s property rights which

will vary in importance, depending on the character

—15—

of the property and the extent to which it is

open to the public.

“The multiplicity of the potential combination

of relevant factors amd the possible presence of

certain special circumstances limit the practicability

of Board action by rule-making.” Broomfield, “Pre-

emptive Federal Jurisdiction Over Concerted Tres-

passory Union Activity,” 83 HARV. L. REV.

552, 573, 575-576 (1970).

Even as to employers in a particular industry or

of a particular type or size, the NLRB has never adopted

a general rule. Indeed, the NLRB and the courts have

required nonemployee organizers to be given access to

one employer’s property but not to the property of

another employer in the same industry. Compare NLRB

v. S & H Grossinger’s, Inc., 372 F.2d 26 (2d Cir.

1967), with NLRB v. Kutsher’s Hotel & Country Club,

Inc., 427 F.2d 200 (2d Cir. 1970) [involving resort

hotels in the Catskill Mountains]; NLRB v. Sioux City

& New Orleans Barge Lines, Inc., 472 F.2d 753 (8th

Cir. 1973), with NLRB vy. Cities Service, 122 F.2d

149 (2d Cir. 1941) [involving ships’ crews].

The California Supreme Court rejected the need

for a case-by-case analysis, stating that Babcock and

Central Hardware are silent on the subject. Ap

pendix A at 20. To be sure those cases did not present

this Court directly with the question of whether access

could be required by means of a general regulation.

However, this Court expressly recognized in Babcock

=

that “[t]his is not a problem of always open or always

closed doors for union organizers on company prop-

erty” and “the union may not always insist that the

employer aid organization.” 351 U.S. at 112. Similarly,

Babcock held that the balance to be struck “does

not require that the employer permit the use of its

facilities for organization when other means are readily

available.” 351 U.S. at 114. Because the access regula-

tion requires an employer in all cases to open the

door for union organizers on his property, even where

“other means are readily available,” it clearly is at

odds with Babcock.

Indeed, Babcock and Central Hardware admit to

no interpretation other than requiring balancing on a

case-by-case basis. This was expressly recognized by

the three dissenting Justices, who noted:

“This court is apparently the only court unable

to grasp that the appropriate standard for review

is one of balancing and not of rational relation-

ship.

* * *

“If this were otherwise then the United States

Supreme Court’s use of the word ‘accommodate’

is meaningless, as is the federal Courts of Appeals’

continual use of a balancing approach.” Appendix

A at 52.

= =

In view of the undisputed availability to unions

of effective alternative means of communicating with

Appellants’ employees, it is clear that application of

the access regulation to Appellants runs counter to

the balancing process mandated by Babcock and Central

Hardware. Thus, as applied to Appellants, rather than

balancing competing interests, the access regulation vi-

tiates their property rights without any significant en-

hancement of organizational rights.

C. The California Supreme Court Applied an Incorrect Standard

of Review. :

The majority of the California Supreme Court held

that because the ALRB chose to act by means

of a general regulation rather than by making a case-

by-case determination, the test to be applied by a

reviewing court was whether the regulation “has a

reasonable relation to a proper public purpose and

is neither arbitrary nor discriminatory.” Appendix A

at 21. According to the majority, this departure from

the balancing standard mandated by Babcock and Cen-

tral Hardware is proper because “the access rule is

not a deprivation of ‘fundamental personal liberties’

but a limited economic regulation of the use of real

property imposed for the public welfare. (Cf. Village

of Belle Terre v. Boraas (1974) 416 U.S. 1, 7-8,

94 S.Ct. 1536, 39 L.Ed.2d 797).” Appendix A at

21.

In view of Babcock and Central Hardware, which

specificaily deal with the issues presented, the reliance

upon Belle Terre, a zoning case, is clearly misplaced.

Moreover, under the approach of the majority decision,

the NLRB could have required the employers in Bab-

cock and Central Hardware to open their parking

lots to nonemployee union organizers simply by adopting

— =

a general access regulation, thus accomplishing precisely

what this Court held to be constitutionally impermis-

sible.

Additionally, the rationale asserted by the California —

court for its departure from Babcock and Central

Hardware is clearly erroneous:

(1) “[T]he access rule is not a deprivation of ‘funda-

mental personal liberties’. . . .” Precisely the opposite

conclusion was reached by this Court in Lynch v.

Household Finance Corp., 405 U.S. 538, 552 (1972):

“T]he dichotomy between personal liberties and

property rights is a false one. Property does not

have rights. People have rights. The right to enjoy

property without unlawful deprivation, no less

than the right to speak or the right to travel,

is in truth, a ‘personal’ right, whether the ‘prop-

ert,’ in question be a welfare check, a home,

or a savings account. In fact, a fundamental inter-

dependence exists between the personal right to

liberty and the personal right in property. Neither

could have meaning without the other. That rights

in property are basic civil rights has long been

recognized. .. .”

See also Lloyd Corporation Ltd. v. Tanner, 407

U.S. 551 (1972).

(2) “[T]he access rule is . . . a limited economic

regulation of the use of real property imposed for

the public welfare.” The dissent provides the correct

response:

“In promulgating such a regulation the government

is requiring a property owner to surrender the

use of his private property not for public use

but for the use of other private parties—nonem-

ployee organizers.” Appendix A at 52.

— =

Even if organizers employed by private labor unions

were viewed as serving a public purpose, that purpose

is not as strong or direct as is served by building

inspectors or fire inspectors employed by public agen-

cies. This Court, however, has not permitted such per-

sons access to private property absent a court issued

warrant showing the need to enter particular premises.

Camara v. Municipal Court, 387 U.S. 523 (1967);

See v. City of Seattie, 387 U.S. 541 (1967). It is,

at the least, anomalous to give to private persons

rights of entry on to private property which public

officials serving indisputably public purposes do not

have. Yet, in California while a building inspector

must obtain a warrant before entering private property,

a union organizer is free to enter property where agri-

cultural employees are working without any showing

of need whatsoever.

D. The Access Regulation Is Unconstitutional on Its Face.

In Central Hardware Company v. NLRB, 407 US.

539, 545 (1972), this Court established the following

limitations on the right of access:

“After the requisite need for access to the em-

ployer’s property has been shown, the access is

limited to (i) union organizers; (ii) prescribed

nonworking areas of the employer's premises; and

(iii) the duration of organization activity. In short,

the principle of accommodation announced in Bab-

cock is limited to labor organization campaigns,

and the ‘yielding’ of property rights it may require

is both temporary and minimal.” (Emphasis add-

ed.)

onlin:

The access regulation exceeds these limitations by:

(1) not restricting access to nonworking 2reas, in

direct violation of limitation (ii), as was noted by

the dissent, Appendix A at 46;°

(2) not restricting access to the duration of organ-

ization activity, in direct violation of limitation (iii) ;*

(3) not restricting access to nonworking time so

as to minimize the yielding of property rights;

(4) failing to effectively limit the number of union

organizers allowed access to the employer’s premises

since there is no maximum number of unions that

can claim access.

Thus, despite the California Supreme Court’s char-

acterization of the regulation as creating a “qualified”

right of access, the qualifications do not meet the

standards established by this Court. Even if adoption

of a general regulation on this subject was permissible,

the access regulation still would be unconstitutionally

overbroad.

E. The Access Regulation Establishes an Unconstitutional

Irrebuttable Presumption.

The access regulation establishes a presumption that

reasonable alternate means of communication with agri-

cultural employees are unavailable to labor unions.

3In all of the cases cited by the California Supreme Court

in which access to nonemployee union organizers was required

because of the unavailability of alternative means of communica-

tion, the access was limited to nonworking areas. In no case

have the NLRB or the courts granted access to working areas:

“Concerted activity of any kind within working or selling

areas of the employer’s establishment presents the clearest

situation for a rule prohibiting non-employee concerted

activity. . . .” Broomfield, “Preemptive Federal Jurisdiction

Over Concerted Trespassory Union Activity,” 83 HARV.

L. REV. 552, 572 (1970).

‘Under the access regulation, nonemployee union organizers

have the right to come onto property after a

representation election has been held.

aiiian

This presumption does more than simply shift the bur-

den of proof. It establishes a conclusive and irrebuttable

presumption that access is required in the case of

every agricultural employer. No opportunity is allowed

to demonstrate that in a particular case other means

of communicating with employees exist and that, there-

fore, access is not required. Even if other means exist

by which a union can communicate with an agricultural

employer's employees, access to his private property

is nonetheless required. On several recent occasions

this Court has indicated that such irrebuttable presump-

tions are constitutionally suspect:

“Statutes creating permanent irrebuttable pre-

sumptions have long been disfavored under the

Due Process Clauses of the Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendments.” Viandis v. Kline, 412 U.S. 441,

446 (1973).

The rationale for this suspect treatment is that, while

a state may have an interest in facilitating the achieve-

ment of its legislative aims, this interest cannot be

advanced at the expense of individual rights. For this

reason, in Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645 (1972),

this Court struck down as violative of due process

a state statute which conclusively presumed that all

unmarried fathers were unfit parents and allowed no

opportunity to disprove this presumption:

“The establishment of prompt efficacious pro-

cedures to achieve legitimate state ends is a proper

state interest worthy of cognizance in constitutional

adjudication. But the Constitution recognizes high-

er values than speed and efficiency. Indeed, one

might fairly say of the Bill of Rights in general,

and the Due Process Clause in particular, that

a

they were designed to protect the fragile values

of a vulnerable citizenry from the overbearing

concern for efficiency and efficacy that may char-

acterize praiseworthy government officials no less,

and perhaps more, than mediocre ones.

“Procedure by presumption is always cheaper

and easier than individualized determination. But

when, as here, the procedure forecloses the deter-

minative issues of competence and care, when

it explicitly disdains present realities in deference

to past formalities, it needlessly risks running

roughshod over the important interests of both

parent and child. It therefore cannot stand.” (foot-

note omitted) Jd. at 656-657.

A similar result was reached in Vlandis v. Kline,

supra, where the Court struck down a state statute

establishing a conclusive presumption of nonresidency

for purposes of tuition at the state university. In doing

so, this Court noted that the interest in administrative

ease was not sufficient to justify a conclusive presump-

tion where other means were available to make the

crucial factual determination:

“The State’s interest in administrative ease and

certainty cannot, in and of itself, save the con-

clusive presumption from invalidity under the Due

Process Clause where there are other reasonable

and practicable means of establishing the pertinent

facts on which the State’s objective is premised.”

412 US. at 451.

See also United States Department of Agriculture v.

Murry, 413 U.S. 508 (1973); Cleveland Board of

Education v. LaFleur, 414 U.S. 632 (1974).

—-— =

The rationale of these cases is equally applicable

to the present case. The presumption that access is

required in the case of every agricultural employer

is far from being universally true, as demonstrated

by the undisputed facts relating to Appellants. Yet,

the presumption is irrebuttable and precludes agricul-

tural employers, including Appellants, from proving

facts to the contrary. Moreover, other reasonable meth-

ods are available for making the required factual deter-

mination. Specifically, the ALRB could utilize the same

case-by-case approach as is utilized by the NLRB,

which has a vastly larger jurisdiction. In short, the

access regulation establishes a presumption which,

though contrary to fact, is irrebuttable. This presump-

tion is established despite the availability of a tried

and tested means of making the crucial factual deter-

mination. For these reasons, it is apparent that the

access regulation is violative of the constitutional stand-

ard of due process.

Conclusion.

The present case presents a substantial federal ques-

tion. Accordingly, this Court should note Probable

Jurisdiction.

Respectfully submitted,

JosEPH HERMAN,

GEORGE PREONAS,

JOEL KAPLAN,

Attorneys for Appellant.

= ie

ra

eed

- co =

APPENDIX A

Opinion.

Agricultural Labor Relations Board et al., Petitioners,

v. The Superior Court of Tulare County et al., Respond-

ents; Pandol & Sons et al., Real Parties in Interest.

[S.F. No. 23349. In Bank. Mar. 4, 1976.].

SUMMARY

The Supreme Court granted the petition of the state

Agricultural Labor Relations Board for an original

writ of mandate to compel trial courts in two counties

to vacate various orders enjoining enforcement of an

administrative regulation adopted pursuant to rule mak-

ing power granted the board by Lab. Code, § 1144,

which permitted qualified access to agricultural property

by farm labor organizers. The court first rejected the

growers’ contention that the regulation deprived them

of property rights without due process of law and

constituted a taking of those rights without just compen-

sation in violation of Cal. Const., art. I, §§ 1, 7,

subd. (a), 19, and U.S. Const., 5th and 14th Amends.

It held that the rule of federal cases, that if the

circumstances of employment place employees beyond

the reach of reasonable union efforts to communicate

with them, the employer must allow the union to ap-

proach his employees on his property, was dispositive

of the federal constitutional issues and that the cited

sections of the California Constitution guarantee no

greater rights to California property owners than do

their federal counterparts. It further held that there

anbiiien

is no constitutional requirement that the determination

of employee inaccessibility be made on a case-by-case

basis rather than by a rule of general application.

The court then discussed the growers’ assertion that

the Legislature, in enacting the Agricultural Labor

Relations Act set forth in Lab. Code, § 1140 et seq.,

had manifested, both by action and inaction, an intent

to prohibit access by union organizers to growers’ prem-

ises. In rejecting that assertion, the court referred to

the general rule making power granted the board by

Lab. Code, § 1144, and the provision of Lab. Code,

§ 1148, directing the board to follow applicable prece-

dents of the National Labor Relations Act. In view

of the different situation existing with respect to farm

labor as opposed to industrial labor; however, the court

held that the federal practice of deciding access ques-

tions on a case-by-case basis did not preclude the

state board from creating a limited right of access

by means of its detailed and specific regulation. In

rejecting the growers’ final contention that the access

regulation invalidly conflicted with the general criminal

trespass statute, the court held that the Legislature

intended the board to structure a qualified right of

entry onto agricultural property for organizational pur-

poses and that the access regulation therefore prevailed,

as a specific provision, over the general trespass statute.

(Opinion by Mosk, J., with Wright, C. J., Tobriner

and Sullivan, JJ., concurring. Separate dissenting opin-

ion by Clark, J., with McComb and Richardson, JJ.,

concurring. )

COUNSEL

Walter L. Kintz, Jerrold C. Schaefer, Byron S. Geor-

giou, Ruth Friedman, Ronald Greenberg, Maurice Jour-

dane, Ellen Lake, Alberto Saldamando and Gustin

L. Reichbach for Petitioners.

ssnfiiens

Dennis M. Perluss, Mark D. Rosenbaum, Fred Okrand,

Daniel C. Lavery, Jill Jakes and Mary Ellen Gale

as Amici Curiae on behalf of Petitioners.

No appearance for Respondents.

Seyfarth, Shaw, Fairweather & Geraldson, Joseph Her-

man, Michael M. Machan, Thomas, Snell, Jamison,

Russell, Williamson & Asperger, Jay V. Jory, Littler,

Mendelson & Fastiff, J. Richard Thesing, George J.

Tichy II, Jordan L. Bloom, Nancy L. Ober and Gary

P. Scholick for Real Parties in Interest.

Jay W. Powell, District Attorney (Tulare), as Amicus

Curiae.

OPINION

MOSK, J.— The state Agricultural Labor Relations

Board (ALRB) petitions for an original writ of man-

date to compel respondent Superior Courts of Tulare

and Fresno Counties to vacate various orders enjoining

enforcement of an administrative regulation which per-

mits qualified access to agricultural property by farm

labor organizers. We have concluded that the regulation

is valid and the board is entitled to the relief requested.

On August 28, 1974, the Agricultural Labor Rela-

tions Act (ALRA) (Lab. Code, § 1140 et seq.) went

into effect. The preamble to the act recites in part

that “In enacting this legislation the people of the

State of California seek to ensure peace in the agricul-

tural fields by guaranteeing justice for all agricultural

workers and stability in labor relations. [4] This enact-

ment is intended to bring certainty and a sense of

fair play to a presently unstable and potentially volatile

condition in the state.” (Stats. 1975, Third Ex. Sess.,

ch. 1, § 1, No. 3 West’s Cal. Legis. Service, p. 304,

No. 2 Deering’s Adv. Legis. Service, p. 1147.)

ee

cutlion

To achieve this goal, the act declares the right of

agricultural employees to organize themselves into un-

ions and to engage in collective bargaining, free from

intimidation by either employers or union representa-

tives. Thus new section 1140.2 of the Labor Code

States “the policy of the State of California” to be

“to encourage and protect the right of agricultural

employees to full freedom of association, self-organiza-

tion, and designation of representatives of their own

choosing, to negotiate the terms and conditions of

their employment, and to be free from the interference,

restraint, or coercion of employers of labor, or their

agents, in the designation of such representatives or

in self-organization or in other concerted activities for

the purpose of collective bargaining or other mutual

aid or protection. For this purpose this part [i.e.,

the ALRA| is adopted to provide for collective-bargain-

ing rights for agricultural employees.”

Remaining provisions of the act implement this legis-

lative intent in two principal ways. First, chapter 4

characterizes a variety of acts by employers or unions

_ as unfair labor practices. In particular, it is declared

to be an unfair labor practice for employers to interfere

in any way with the goal of self-organization by farm

workers, to favor any union over another, to discrimi-

nate against any worker for asserting his rights under the

statute, or to refuse to bargain in good faith with

1Section 1152 reaffirms that “Employees shall have the right

to self-organization, to form, join, or assist labor organizations,

to bargain collectively through representatives of their own choos-

ing, and to engage in other concerted activities for the pur-

pose of collective bargaining or other mutual aid or protec-

tion, and shall also have the right to refrain from any or

all of such activities. . . .” The quoted language is identical

to that of section 7 of the National Labor Relations Act

(NLRA). (Now 29 U.S.C. § 157.)

—~ =

the certified representative union. (Lab. Code,

§ 1153.)?

Secondly, chapter 5 sets forth elaborate provisions

for elections by secret ballot to determine the representa-

tive union for collective bargaining purposes. “Recogniz-

ing that agriculture is a seasonal occupation for a

majority of agricultural employees” (§ 1156.4), the

act authorizes such elections only during peak harvest

seasons. An election will be held when a union obtains

the signatures of the majority of the workers on a ranch;

if a second union obtains the signatures of 20 percent

of the same work force, it will also be placed on the

ballot. The ballots are printed in English, Spanish, and

any other language requested. Once authorized an

election is quickly held: within 48 hours in case of a

strike, and within 7 days in other cases. Within five

days thereafter any person may challenge the propriety

of the election or its results. (§ 1156.3.)

Article 1 of chapter 2 creates the ALRB and pre-

scribes its method of operation. Article 2 vests the

board with broad investigatory powers, and makes it

a criminal offense to interfere in the performance of

the board’s duties. Numerous provisions throughout

the remainder of the act grant the board specific powers

and responsibilities of administration, particularly in

conducting and certifying elections and in investigating

and preventing unfair labor practices. On the latter

subject chapter 6 begins by declaring (§ 1160) that

“The board is empowered . . . to prevent any person

from engaging in any unfair labor practice” defined

in the act, and succeeding sections authorize the board

to use a variety of methods to achieve that end: adminis-

2The provisions of section 1153 are ciosely modeled on

those of section 8 of the NLRA. (Now 29 U.S.C. § 158.)

a ee Oe es

_—

trative complaint (§ 1160.2), cease and desist, order

(§ 1160.3), temporary restraining order (§ 1160.4),

injunctive relief (§ 1160.6), and enforcement orders

from both the superior courts and the Courts of Appeal

(§ 1160.8).

In addition to its adjudicatory and executive powers,

the board is vested with express legislative authority;

section 1144 delegates to the board the power to make,

amend, and repeal “such rules and regulations as may

be necessary to carry out the provisions” of the ALRA.

The board promptly adopted emergency regulations

for the operation of the act. (Cal. Admin. Code, tit.

8, pt. II, § 20100 et seq.) Among those provisions

is the regulation here in issue, which grants a qualified

right of access to growers’ premises by farm labor

organizers. (Cal. Admin. Code, tit. 8, pt. II, ch. 9,

$$ 20900-20901, pp. 1051-1053.)*° Under the terms

of the regulation the right of access is specifically

limited in purpose, in time and place, and in the

number of organizers permitted to participate; and con-

duct is forbidden, other than speech, which is “disruptive

of the employer’s property or agricultural operations,

including injury to crops or machinery.”

3The regulation took effect on August 29, 1975. An emergency

regulation automatically expires 120 days after its effective date

unless the agency certifies during that period that it has complied

with certain requirements of notice and hearing. (Gov. e,

§ 11422.1.) The ALRB so certified on December 2, 1975,

and the regulation will therefore remain in effect until such

time as it may be amended or repealed.

‘The relevant portions of the regulation read as follows:

“5. Accordingly, the Board will consider the rights of em-

ployees under Labor Code Sec. 1152 [fn. 1, ante] to include

the right of access by union organizers to the premises of

an agricultural employer for the purpose of organizing, subject

to the following limitations:

“a. Organizers may enter the property of an employer for

a total period of 60 minutes before the start of work and

oil

Two groups of growers, real parties in interest herein,

filed actions in the Fresno and Tulare Superior Courts

attacking the validity of the regulation and seeking

to prevent its enforcement. The Fresno Superior Court

held a hearing on the matter and on the same day

issued a peremptory writ of mandate ordering the board

to vacate the regulation, together with a declaratory

judgment that the regulation is invalid on both constitu-

tional and statutory grounds. At the same time the

Tulare Superior Court issued a temporary restraining

order prohibiting the board from enforcing the regula-

tion, and set a hearing on an order to show cause

why an injunction to thai -ffect should not be issued.

Upon application and appropriate showing by the board,

60 minutes after the completion of work to meet and talk

with the employees in areas in which employees congregate

before and after working.

“b. In addition, — rs may enter the employer’s pr

erty for a total peri of one hour during the working day

for the purpose of meeting and talking with employees during

their lunch period, at such location or locations as the employees

eat their lunch. If there is an established lunch break, the

one-hour period shall include such lunch break. If there is

no established lunch break, the one-hour period may be at

any time during the working day.

“ce, Access shall be limited to two organizers for each work

crew on the property, provided that if there are more than

30 workers in a crew, there may be one additional organizer

for every 15 additional workers.

“d. Upon request, organizers shall identify themselves by

name and labor organization to the employer or his agent.

ee ee Se ee 8 ye ee a tion of

“e. The right of access shall not include conduct disruptive

of the employer’s property or agricultural operations, including

injury to crops or machinery. Speech by itself shall not be

considered disruptive conduct. Disruptive conduct by particular

organizers shall not be grounds for expelling organizers not

engaged in such conduct, nor for preventing future access.

“f. Pending further regulation by the Board, this regulation

shall not wo J after the results an election held pursuant

to this act have been certified.”

-~ =

we stayed the effect of the respective superior court

rulings pending final determination of this proceeding

for writ of mandate.

I

(la) The remedy is proper. The challenged rulings

of respondent courts are primarily injunctive in effect.

The codes, embodying a settled principle of equity

jurisprudence, prohibit the granting of injunctive relief

“To prevent the execution of a public statute by officers

of the law for the public benefit.” (Code Civ. Proc.,

§ 526, 2d subd. 4; Civ. Code, § 3423, subd. Fourth.)

That rule is here applicable, inasmuch as a regulation

adopted by a state administrative agency pursuant to

a delegation of rulemaking authority by the Legislature

has the force and effect of a statute. (Zumwalt v.

Trustees of Cal. State Colleges (1973) 33 Cal.App.3d

665, 675 [109 Cal.Rptr. 344]; Alta-Dena Dairy v.

County of San Diego (1969) 271 Cal.App.2d 66,

75 [76 Cal.Rptr. 510]; Rigley v. Board of Retirement

(1968) 260 Cal.App.2d 445, 450 [67 Cal.Rptr. 185],

and cases cited.) It is true the rule prohibiting such

an injunction does not operate when the statute which

is stayed is unconstitutional or otherwise invalid. (Con-

over v. Hall (1974) 11 Cal.3d 842, 850 [114 Cal.

Rptr. 642, 523 P.2d 682].) As will appear, however,

we have concluded that the access regulation is valid.

Under the codes, therefore, respondent courts had no

jurisdiction except to deny the real parties’ request

to enjoin enforcement of the regulation. (City of Los

Angeles v. Superior Court (1959) 51 Cal.2d 423,

430 [333 P.2d 745], and cases cited.)

(2) When a court’s discretion can legally be exer-

cised in only one way, mandate will lie to compel

==

that exercise if there is no adequate remedy at law.

(Babb v. Superior Court (1971) 3 Cal.3d 841, 851

[92 Cal.Rptr. 179, 479 P.2d 379].) (1b) The absence

of an adequate remedy at law was determined herein

when we issued the alternative writ. (/bid.) Accord-

ingly, mandate is an appropriate remedy to compel

respondent courts to vacate their orders invalidating

and enjoining enforcement of the access regulation.

(People v. Superior Court (1967) 248 Cal.App.2d

276, 282 [56 Cal.Rptr. 393].) And we exercise our

original jurisdiction to grant that remedy (Cal. Const.,

art. VI, § 10) because we find that in the circumstances

of this case “ ‘the issues presented are of great public

importance and must be resolved promptly.’” (Clean

Air Constituency v. California State Air Resources

Bd. (1974) 11 Cal.3d 801, 808 [114 Cal.Rptr. 577,

523 P.2d 617], quoting from County of Sacramento

v. Hickman (1967) 66 Cal.2d 841, 845 [59 Cal.Rptr.

609, 428 P.2d 593].)

II

(3) We begin with the constitutional issues. The

real parties in interest contend that the access regulation

is unconstitutional because it assertedly deprives them

of property rights without due process of law and

constitutes a taking of those rights without just com-

pensation. (Cal. Const., art. I, §§ 1, 7 subd. (a),

and 19; U.S. Const., 5th and 14th Amends.) As will

appear, however, the constitutional challenge comes

many years too late.

The real parties principally rely on Lloyd Corp.

v. Tanner (1972) 407 U.S. 551 [33 L.Ed.2d 131,

92 S.Ct. 2219], and Diamond v. Bland (1974) 11

Cal.3d 331 [113 Cal.Rptr. 468, 521 P.2d 460], but

Fee aE

niin

the decisions are not in point. In each a divided court

held that the constitutional guarantee of free speech

was not violated by the refusal of a shopping center

to permit distribution on its property of antiwar (Lloyd)

or antipollution (Diamond) handbills. The matter at

bar, by contrast, is not primarily a First Amendment

case. At issue here is not an exercise of freedom

of speech on a topic of general concern in a conven-

ient public forum; rather, the interest asserted is the

right of workers employed on the premises in question

to have effective access to information assisting them

to organize into representative units pursuant to a

specific governmental policy of encouraging collective

bargaining. The inapplicability of the Lloyd-Diamond

rule to labor disputes is noted on the face of each

opinion (Lloyd, at pp. 560-561 [33 L.Ed.2d at pp.

137-138]; Diamond, at p. 334, fn. 3), and has been

elsewhere emphasized by both the United States Su-

preme Court (Central Hardware Co. v. NLRB (1972)

407 U.S. 539, 545 [33 L.Ed.2d 122, 127-128, 92

S.Ct. 2238]) and this court (United Farm Workers

of America v. Superior Court (1975) 14 Cal.3d 902,

911 [122 Cal.Rptr. 877, 537 P.2d 1237]).

The governmental policy in favor of collective bar-

gaining, as the above-quoted preamble to the ALRA

makes clear, is designed to benefit the public as a

whole. It should scarcely be necessary, as we enter

the last quarter of the 20th century, to reaffirm the

principle that all private property is held subject to

the power of the government to regulate its use for

the public welfare. We do not minimize the importance

of the constitutional guarantees attaching to private

ownership of property; but as long as 50 years ago

it was already “ ‘thoroughly established in this country

— =

that the rights preserved to the individual by these

constitutional provisions are held in subordination to

the rights of society. Although one owns property,

he may not do with it as he pleases any more than

he may act in accordance with his personal desires.

As the interest of society justifies restraints upon individ-

ual conduct, so, also, does it justify restraints upon

the use to which property may be devoted. It was

not intended by these constitutional provisions to so

far protect the individual in the use of his property

as to enable him to use it to the detriment of society.

By thus protecting individual rights, society did not

part with the power to protect itself or to promote

its general well-being. Where the interest of the individ-

ual conflicts with the interest of society, such individual

interest is subordinated to the general welfare. . . .

[1 }ncidental damages to property resulting from govern-

mental activities, or laws passed in the promotion of

the public welfare are not considered a taking of the

propurty for which compensation must be made.’”

(Miller v. Board of Public Works (1925) 195 Cal.

477, 488 [234 P. 381, 38 A.L.R. 1479], quoting

from Carter v. Harper (1923) 182 Wis. 148, 153

[196 N.W. 451, 33 A.L.R. 269].) This is living law

today. (HFH, Ltd. v. Superior Court (1975) 15 Cal.3d

508, 515 [125 Cal.Rptr. 365, 542 P.2d 237].) And

no different rights are conferred by the corresponding

provisions of the federal Constitution. (See, e.g., Nebbia

v. New York (1934) 291 U.S. 502, 523-527 [78

L.Ed. 940, 948-951, 54 S.Ct. 505, 89 A.L.R. 1469].)

Nor should we need to recall the corollary of the

foregoing principle, to wit, that governmental power

is not static but dynamic: it is not “confined within

the narrow circumspection of precedents, resting upon

cnlitiins

past conditions which do not cover and control present-

day conditions obviously calling for revised regulations

to promote the health, safety, morals, or general welfare

of the public,” but rather is “capable of expansion

to meet existing conditions of modern life and thereby

keep pace with the social, economic, moral, and in-

tellectual evolution of the human race.” (Miller v.

Board of Public Works, supra, at pp. 484, 485.) Early

restraints on the unfettered use of private property—

e.g., the doctrines of easement and nuisance—were

few in number and narrow in scope. But modern social

legislation has added many others—e.g., building codes,

zoning restrictions, land use planning, and urban re-

development—which are far more pervasive in their

effect on the rights of property owners. Thus, an emi-

nent authority on the law of property lists no less

than 20 ways in which private property is today subject

to governmental regulation (Powell, The Relationship

Between Property Rights and Civil Rights (1963) 15

Hastings L.J. 135, 148-149), and concludes that “the

history of the law of private ownership has witnessed

simultaneously a playing-down of absolute rights and

a playing-up of social concern as to the use of property.

. . . Property rights have been redefined in response

to a swelling demand that ownership be responsible

and responsive to the needs of the social whole. Property

rights cannot be used as a shibboleth to cloak conduct

which adversely affects the health, the safety, the mor-

als, or the welfare of others.” (/d., at pp. 149-150.)

The efforts for social justice documented in that

history have precipitated many conflicts. In most the

reasonable needs of the community as a whole have

eventually prevailed. But in the general retreat of recal-

— =

citrant forces, a strange rearguard action has been

fought by those property owners who are also employers

of labor: “Though subject to reasonable use in other

areas of the law, curiously the concept of property

rights has become a rallying cry in the field of labor

law. The traditional notion would seem to be that

the concept suffices as an absolute defense against

those who would engage in union activity. That notion

—like so many others held as doctrine by past genera-

tions—may well be under increasing attack.” (Gould,

Union Organizational Rights and the Concept of

“Quasi-Public” Property (1965) 49 Minn.L.Rev. 505,

509.)

The issue joined here is new to the California courts,

but our federal brethren have often considered it in

the industrial labor context.° “In Republic Aviation

Corp. v. Board [{(1945) 324 U.S. 793 (89 L.Ed.

1372, 65 S.Ct. 982, 157 A.L.R. 1081)], the Supreme

Court set forth the ground rules concerning union

activity on company property.” (Gould, The Question

of Union Activity on Company Property (1964) 18

Vand.L.Rev. 73, 75.) The case dealt with organiza-

tional activities conducted on the employer’s premises

by union spokesmen who were also employees of the

company. The high court ratified the position of the

NLRB that absent extraordinary circumstances it is

an unfair labor practice for the employer to prohibit

‘In other settings our courts have looked to federal decisions

interpreting provisions of the NLRA similar to state law. (E.g.,

Los Angeles Met. Transit Authority v. Brotherhood of Rail-

road Trainmen (1960) 54 Cal.2d 684, 687-689 [8 Cal.Rptr.

1, 355 P.2d 905]; Petri Cleaners, Inc. v. Automotive Employees,

etc. Local No. 88 (1960) 53 Cal.2d 455, 459-460 [2 Cal.

Rptr. 470, 349 P.2d 76]; International Assn. of Fire Fighters

v. County of Merced (1962) 204 Cal.App.2d 387, 392 [22

Cal.Rptr. 270].)

a ae

such activities during nonworking hours. The court

quoted with approval the following language of the

decision of the board: “‘As the Circuit Court of Ap-

peals for the Second Circuit has held, “It is not every

interference with property rights that is within the

Fifth Amendment . . . Inconvenience, or even some

dislocation of property rights, may be necessary in

order to safeguard the right to collective bargaining.”

[National Labor R. Board vy. Cities Service Oil Co.

(2d Cir. 1941) 122 F.2d 149, 152.] The Board has

frequently applied this principle in decisions involving

varying sets of circumstances, where it has held that

the employer’s right to control his property does not

permit him to deny access to his property to persons

whose presence is necessary there to enable the em-

ployees effectively to exercise their right to self-organiza-

tion and collective bargaining, .. .’” (Jd., at p. 802,

fn. 8 [89 L.Ed. at p. 1379].)°

The second landmark case on this topic is Labor

Board v. Babcock & Wilcox Co. (1956) 351 US.

105 [100 L.Ed. 975, 76 S.Ct. 679]. In contrast to

Republic Aviation, the union organizers excluded from

the employers’ premises in the three consolidated cases

®The reasoning in support of this conclusion was given in

the court’s quotation from an earlier NLRB decision in point

(Peyton Packing Company (1943) 49 N.L.R.B. 828, 843-

844), which said in part that “time outside working hours,

whether before or after work, or during luncheon or rest periods,

is an employee’s time to use as he wishes without unreasonable

restraint, although the employee is on company property. It

is therefore not within the province of an employer to promulgate

and enforce a rule prohibiting union solicitation by an employee

outside of working hours, although on company property. Such

a rule must be presumed to be an unreasonable impediment

to self-organization and therefore discriminatory in the absence

of evidence that special circumstances make the rule nec

in order to maintain production or discipline.” (324 U.S. at

pp. 803-804, fn. 10 [89 L.Ed. at p. 1380].)

ceive

decided in Babcock & Wilcox were not employees of

the companies in question. The NLRB found that

in the circumstances shown it was unreasonably difficult

for the organizers to make contact with the employees

off company property, and concluded that in denying

the organizers permission to distribute union literature

on company parking lots the employers had unlawfully

interfered with the right of the employees to self-

organization under the NLRA. The Supreme Court

ruled that the board erred in failing to draw a distinc-

tion between employee and nonemployee organizers:

access to company property by the latter can be denied,

said the court, “if reasonable efforts by the union

through other available channels of communication will

enable it to reach the employees with its message. . . .”

(/d., at p. 112 [100 L.Ed. at p. 982].)’

By declaring the foregoing standard the court neces-

sarily rejected any claim that “property rights” of em-

ployers are paramount to their employees’ right to

have effective access to information assisting them in

their goal of self-organization: “The right of self-organi-

zation depends in some measure on the ability of

employees to learn the advantages of self-organization

from others.” (/d., at p. 113 [100 L.Ed. at p. 983].)

Rather, e nployers’ property rights must give way when-

ever the two interests are found to be in irreconcilable

conflict: “Organization rights are granted to workers

by the same authority, the National Government, that

7A second condition imposed by the court—i.e., prohibiting

discrimination against the union “by allowing other distribution”

—is not involved in the case at bar.

The court concluded that on the record of each of the

three cases before it the evidence did not support the board’s

finding of employee inaccessibility, and therefore declined to

decree enforcement.

—

preserves property rights. Accommodation between the

two must be obtained with as little destruction of

one as is consistent with the maintenance of the other.

. . . But when the inaccessibility of employees makes

ineffective the reasonable attempts by nonemployees

to communicate with them through the usual channels,

the right to exclude from property has been required

to yield to the extent needed to permit communication

of information on the right to organize.” (Jd., at p.

112 [100 L.Ed. at pp. 982-983].) (Accord, Central

Hardware Co. v. NLRB (1972) supra, 407 U.S. 539,

542-545 [33 L.Ed.2d 122, 125-128].)

Examples of the application of this rule appear in

a variety of contexts. In Republic Aviation the court

in dictum distinguished the case before it from those

involving “a mining or lumber camp where the employ-

ees pass their rest as well as their work time on

the employer’s premises, so that union organization

must proceed upon the employer’s premises or be ser-

iously handicapped.” (Fn. omitted.) (324 U.S. at p.

799 [89 L.Ed. at p. 1377]; see also Labor Board

v. Stowe Spinning Co. (1949) 336 U.S. 226, 232,

fn. 10 [93 L.Ed. 638, 644, 69 S.Ct. 541].)

Shortly thereafter such a case arose. In National

Labor Rel. Bd. v. Lake Superior Lumber Corp. (6th

Cir. 1948) 167 F.2d 147, the employer operated a

number of lumbering c>mps on its timber tract. Each

was isolated from any town, and was largely self-

sufficient. The employees lived on the camp premises

in bunkhouses; although given Sundays off, they usually

remained in the camps. In these circumstances the

NLRB ruled it was an unfair labor practice for the

employer to bar nonemployee union organizers from

entering the bunkhouses to talk with the men during

—_ =

nonworking hours. Enforcing the order of access, the

Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals relied on the above-

quoted dictum in Republic Aviation and held that

“In view of the limited free time available to the

employees and the practical difficulties involved in con-

tacting them after the evening meal in any place other

than in the bunkhouses, union organization would as

a practical matter be seriously handicapped by restrict-

ing such activity to the recreation hall.” (/d., at p.

152.)(Accord, Alaska Barite Company (1972) 197

N.L.R.B. 1023 (mining camp on private island ).)

Nor is the right of access limited to remote lumber

or mining camps; it may attach in the case of a

ship anchored in a busy port. Thus in National Labor

R. Board v. Cities Service Oil Co. (2d Cir. 1941)

supra, 122 F.2d 149, the employer operated ocean-

going oil tankers which entered United States ports

to discharge their cargo. A maritime union was refused

passes to board the ships while in port for the purpose

of negotiating grievances of the seamen. The NLRB

ruled this practice violated the seamen’s rights to self-

organization and collective bargaining under section

7 of the NLRA. The Second Circuit Court of Appeals

agreed, reasoning that “The result of refusing passes

is undoubtedly to prevent the most effective sort of

collective action by the employees. Ships, and particu-

larly these oil tankers, which ordinarily remain in port

for a day only, afford less opportunity for investigation

of labor conditions than do factories where the em-

ployees go home every afternoon and have the evenings

at their disposal. There is no cessation of work at

the end of each day for seamen on a tanker. A

large number of them are on watch, others are loading

or discharging cargo; their hours for work and shore

— =

leave are different and, in the short time the vessel

is in port, it is impossible for Union representatives

to assemble the unlicensed personnel either on shore

or on shipboard to discuss grievances or investigate

conditions. The Union must have the members of the

crew readily accessible in order to work to any real

advantage. . . .” (/d., at p. 151.) The court therefore

granted enforcement of the board’s order of access.

(Accord, Richfield Oil Corp. v. National Labor Rela-

tions Board (9th Cir. 1944) 143 F.2d 860; Sabine

Towing & Transportation Co. (1973) 205 N.L.R.B.

No. 45; see also National Labor Rel. Bd. v. National

Organization, etc. (7th Cir. 1958) 253 F.2d 66, 70.)

The same result has been reached on a showing

of significantly less employee isolation than in the

foregoing cases. In N.L.R.B. v. S. & H. Grossinger’s

Inc. (2d Cir. 1967) 372 F.2d 26, the employer operated

a large rural resort hotel located only one and one-

half miles from the nearest town. Sixty percent of

the employees lived on the premises, but the remainder

lived in neighboring towns and drove to work by

car or taxi. The employer refused access to its premises

by nonemployee union representatives, and the NLRB

ruled this to be interference with the employees’ right

of self-organization. The federal circuit court observed

that “No effective alternatives are available to the

Union in its organizational efforts. The resident em-

ployees have no telephones in their rooms. Radio and

newspaper advertising are expensive and relatively in-

effectual. Moreover as far as radio is concerned, there

was no single time at which a major proportion of

employees would be off duty and free to listen to

a message broadcast by the Union. . . . [4] While

some organization work can be done by employees

—19—

who are willing to solicit fellow employees, it is obvious

that lacking as they do the requisite special training

and experience, they cannot convey the Union’s appeal

with anything like the effectiveness of professional union

organizers.” (Id., at p. 29.)°

The court then quoted and applied the principles

of Babcock & Wilcox as follows: “Here the majority

of the employees live on the employer’s premises. They

cannot be reached by any means practically available

to union organizers. As against these considerations

Grossinger’s raises only its proprietary interest. It shows

no detriment that would result from the admission

to its property of the Union’s representatives under those

reasonable regulations as to place, time and number

which the Board’s order contemplates.

“We will enforce the Board’s order in so far as

it requires [the employer] to permit nonemployee union ~

organizers to come on its premises in order to solicit

employees.” (/d., at p. 30.) (Accord, H. & G. Oper-

ating Corp. (Raleigh Hotel) (1971) 191 N.L.R.B.

No. 110; see also Fafnir Bearing Company v. N.L.R.B.

(2d Cir. 1966) 362 F.2d 716, 722 (company ordered

to allow union to enter premises to conduct independent

time studies ).)°

®The court added that the union’s attempts to reach the

employees as they drove through the gates to the resort were

ineffective because the cars did not stop there except briefly

for a traffic light, and in any event it was difficult or impossible

to distinguish between guests and employees in such circum-

stances.

°We oe that other federal circuit court decisions

have re to enforce NLRB orders of access. (See, e.g.,

N.L.R.B. v. Sioux City and New Orleans Barge Lines, Inc.

(8th Cir. 1973) 472 F.2d 753; N.L.R.B. v. New Pines, Inc.

(2d Cir. 1972) 468 F.2d 427; N.L.R.B. v. Tamiment, Inc.

(3d Cir. 1971) 451 F.2d 794; N.L.R.B. v. Kutsher’s Hotel

(This footnote is continued on next page)

—~ =

Thus the rule of Babcock & Wilcox, both as enunci-

ated and as applied, is clear: if the circumstances

of employment “place the employees beyond the reach

of reasonable union efforts to communicate with them,

the employer must allow the union to approach his

employees on his property.” (Italics added.) (351

U.S. at p. 113 [100 L.Ed. at p. 983].) This language

could not be plainer. We deem it dispositive of the

issue of the federal constitutionality of access to agri-

cultural property under the challenged regulation of

the ALRB (cf. Petersen v. Talisman Sugar Corporation

(Sth Cir. 1973) 478 F.2d 73, 79), and of the claim

of invalidity premised on the cited provisions of the

California Constitution. (Art. I, §§ 1, 7, subd. (a),

and 19.) In the present context we construe those

sections to guarantee no greater rights to California

property owners than do their federal counterparts.

The only remaining question in this regard is whether

it is constitutionally required that the determination

of employee inaccessibility within the meaning of the

Babcock & Wilcox test be made on a case-by-case

basis, as the real parties urge, rather than by a rule

of general application. As will appear, there is no

authority for imposing such a requirement as a matter

of constitutional law.

The question was not presented in either Babcock

& Wilcox or Central Hardware, and the opinions are

therefore silent on the point. The real parties rely

on decisions holding that when a statute or regulation

impairs a fundamental personal liberty, the state

and Country Club, Inc. (2d Cir. 1970) 427 F.2d 200.) But

in each case the court found that on the record presented

either the union had not made a reasonable effort to communi-

cate with the employees or the alternative means of doing

so were effective.

— =

has the burden of showing that the measure is necessary

to promote a compelling governmental interest (see,

e.g., Shapiro v. Thompson (1969) 394 U.S. 618, 638

[22 L.Ed.2d 600, 617, 89 S.Ct. 1322]; Castro v.

State of California (1970) 2 Cal.3d 223, 234-236

[85 Cal.Rptr. 20, 466 P.2d 244]) and that there

are no reasonable alternative means of accomplishing

that goal (Cleveland Board of Education v. LaFleur

(1974) 414 U.S. 632, 640-644 [39 L.Ed.2d 52, 60-

63, 94 S.Ct. 791]; Shelton v. Tucker (1960) 364

US. 479, 488 [5 L.Ed.2d 231, 237, 81 S.Ct. 247]).

(4) That well-known principle, however, is not appli-

cable here: for the reasons stated at the outset, the

access rule is not a deprivation of “fundamental personal

liberties” but a limited economic regulation of the

use of real property imposed for the public welfare.

(Cf. Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas (1974) 416

US. 1, 7-8 [39 L.Ed.2d 797, 803-804, 94 S.Ct. 1536].)

It has long been settled that such a regulation satisfies

the due process clause if it has a reasonable relation

to a proper public purpose and is neither arbitrary

nor discriminatory. (Nebbia v. New York (1934)

supra, 291 U.S. 502, 537 [78 L.Ed. 940, 957, 54

S.Ct. 505, 89 A.L.R. 1469]; accord, Weinberger v.

Salfi (1975) 422 U.S. 749, 768-770 [45 L.Ed.2d

522, 540-542, 95 S.Ct. —], and cases cited.) In the

light of Babcock & Wilcox, it cannot be said that

an access regulation designed to assist self-organization

by workers lacks a reasonable relation to a valid public

goal; and a careful examination of the various limita-

tions as to time, place, purpose, and manner which

are written into this regulation (fn. 4, ante) demon-

strates that it is neither arbitrary nor discriminatory

within the meaning of the foregoing standards.

_—_ =

The principal objection of the real parties to the

board’s decision to proceed by way of rule rather

than adjudication is that there will be individual in-

stances in which access might in fact have been unneces-

sary in order to effectively communicate with the work-

ers. This is inevitable, as the board candidly recognizes.

But it does not follow therefrom that the regulation

is unconstitutional. (5) “In the area of economics

and social welfare, the State does not violate the Equal

Protection Clause merely because the classifications

made by its laws are imperfect. If the classification

has some ‘reasonable basis,’ it does not offend the

Constitution simply because the classification ‘is not

made with mathematical nicety or because in practice

it results in some inequality.’ [Citation.] ‘The problems

of government are practical ones and may justify, if

they do not require, rough accommodations—illogically,

it may be, and unscientific.” (Dandridge v. Williams

(1970) 397 U.S. 471, 485 [25 L.Ed.2d 491, 501-

502, 90 S.Ct. 1153].) Moreover, “a classification that

meets the test articulated in Dandridge is perforce con-

sistent with the due process requirement of the Fifth

Amendment.” (Richardson v. Belcher (1971) 404 U.S.

78, 81 [30 L.Ed.2d 231, 235, 92 S.Ct. 254].)

It follows, as we have often had occasion to hold,

that general economic regulations affecting property

rights are not constitutionally invalid merely because

they may be inappropriate in the case of a few individ-

ual property owners. (See, e.g., Associated Home Build-

ers, etc., Inc. v. City of Walnut Creek (1971) 4

Cal.3d 633, 638-645 {94 Cal.Rptr. 630, 484 P.2d

606, 43 A.L.R.3d 847].) The entire law of zoning,

from City of Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co. (1926)

= =

272 U.S. 365, 388-389 [71 L.Ed. 303, 310-311, 47

S.Ct. 114, 54 A.L.R. 1016], to the present day, stands

as witness to that fact of contemporary life. And it

is a fundamental tenet of such law that if a zoning

plan is reasonable vis-a-vis the community as a whole,

it is not rendered unconstitutional merely because cer-

tain property owners can show that it causes them

unnecessary hardship. (Hamer v. Town of Ross (1963)

59 Cal.2d 776, 787 {31 Cal.Rptr. 335, 282 P.2d

375]; McCarthy v. City of Manhattan Beach (1953)

41 Cal.2d 879, 890 [264 P.2d 932]; Wilkins v. City

of San Bernardino (1946) 29 Cal.2d 332, 338 [175

P.2d 542]; Zahn v. Board of Public Works (1925)

195 Cal. 497, 512 [234 P. 388].)

We conclude that the decision of the ALRB to

regulate the question of access by a rule of general

application transgresses no constitutional command.

Ill

(6) An administrative regulation, however, must also

comport with various statutory prerequisites to validity.

At the outset we take note of certain principles which

govern our consideration of the matter; although these

rules have been often restated, it would be well to

remember that they are not merely empty rhetoric.

First, our task is to inquire into the legality of the

challenged regulation, not its wisdom. (Morris v. Wil-

liams (1967) 67 Cal.2d 733, 737 [63 Cal.Rptr. 689,

433 P.2d 697].) (7) Second, in reviewing the legality

of a regulation adopted pursuant to a delegation of

legislative power, the judicial function is limited to

determining whether the regulation (1) is “within the

scope of the avihority conferred” (Gov. Code, § 11373)

—-— =

and (2) is “reasonably necessary to effectuate the

purpose of the statute” (Gov. Code, § 11374).”

Moreover, “these issues do not present a matter for

the independent judgment of an appellate tribunal;

rather, both come to this court freighted with the

strong presumption of regularity accorded administra-

tive rules and regulations.” (Ralphs Grocery Co. v.

Reimel (1968) 69 Cal.2d 172, 175 [70 Cal.Rptr.

407, 444 P.2d 79].) And in considering whether the

regulation is “reasonably necessary” under the foregoing

standards, the court will defer to the agency’s expertise

and will not “superimpose its own policy judgment

upon the agency in the absence of an arbitrary and

capricious decision.” (Pitts v. Perluss (1962) 58 Cal.2d

824, 832 [27 Cal.Rptr. 19, 377 P.2d 83].)

(8a) The real parties in interest seek to overcome

the presumption of regularity on several grounds. First,

it is contended that in two respects the access regulation

exceeds the authority of the board because it conflicts

with the ALRA. The claim is not that the regulation

contravenes any particular provision of the act expressly

forbidding qualified access to agricultural property by

union organizers—or declaring such entry to be an

unfair labor practice—for no such provision exists.

Rather, it is urged that the regulation violates the

Legislature’s implied intent to prohibit such access,

assertedly manifested by both legislative action and

inaction. Neither branch of the contention is convincing.

As noted earlier, article 1 of chapter 2 of the act

prescribes the composition and general method of opera-

tion of the board; among its provisions is section 1148,

104 third inquiry—whether the regulation was adopted pur-

suant to proper procedure—is not an issue in this case.

endiiion

which declares in its entirety that “The board shall

follow applicable precedents of the National Labor Rela-

tions Act, as amended.” The real parties stress the

fact that it is the practice of the NLRB to decide

questions of employee inaccessibility on a case-by-case

basis rather than by general rule; when the ALRB

adopted a contrary procedure, argue the real parties,

it therefore violated section 1148.

The unstated major premise of this argument, how-

ever, is that in enacting section 1148 the Legislature

impliedly intended the board to follow not only the

substantive case law (i.e., the “precedents”) interpreting

the NLRA—holding, for example, that certain activi-

ties do or do not constitute unfair labor practices—but

also the rules of procedure of the NLRB. (9) In

our view the premise appears highly dubious. More

importantly, the board could reasonably construe section

1148 otherwise, and that is our only concern: “In

determining whether a specific administrative rule falls

within the coverage of the delegated power, the sole

function of this court is to decide whether the depart-

ment reasonably interpreted the legislative mandate.”

(Ralphs Grocery Co. v. Reimel, supra, at p. 176

of 69 Cal.2d.)

(8b) Adverting first to the language of section 1148,

we note that it directs the board to follow the “prece-

dents” of the “Act,” not the “procedure” of the “Board.”

The ALRB could reasonably have concluded that the

choice of words was significant, and hence that the

Legislature did not intend it to be bound by any

particular rule of practice adopted by the federal agency

to suit its own needs. This conclusion could well have

been reinforced by the fact that the state act vests

the board with full rulemaking authority in an earlier

— =

and different provision (§ 1144) which makes no

reference to the practices of the NLRB. In addition,

we observe that section 1148 directs the board to

be guided by the “applicable” precedents of the NLRA,

not merely “the precedents” thereof. From this language

the board could fairly have inferred that tle Legislature

intended it to select and follow only those federal

precedents which are relevant to the particular problems

of labor relations on the California agricultural scene.

As we shall see, a case-by-case resolution of the question

of access appears inappropriate in that context.

More importantly, in the absence of an express statu-

tory directive to the contrary the board could also

reasonably presume that the Legislature intended to

abide by the well-settled principle of administrative

law that in discharging its delegated responsibilities

the choice between proceeding by general rule or by

ad hoc adjudication “lies primarily in the informed

discretion of the administrative agency.” (Securities

Comm'n v. Chenery Corp. (1947) 332 U.S. 194, 203

[91 L.Ed. 1995, 2002, 67 S.Ct. 1575]; accord, PBW

Stock Exchange, Inc. v. Securities and Exch. Com’n

(3d Cir. 1973) 485 F.2d 718, 732; GTE Service

Corporation v. F. C. C. (2d Cir. 1973) 474 F.2d

724, 731; Alabama-Tennessee Natural Gas Co. v. Fed-

eral Power Com’n (5th Cir. 1966) 359 F.2d 318,

343 (Wisdom, J.); see generally Shapiro, The Choice

of Rulemaking or Adjudication in the Development

of Administrative Policy (1965) 78 Harv.L.Rev. 921;

Baker, Policy by Rule or Ad Hoc Approach—Which

Should it Be? (1957) 22 Law & Contemp. Prob.

658.)'! The real parties in interest fail to show that

This principle applies equally well to the NLRB. (See,

e.g., NLRB v. Bell Aerospace Co, (1974) 416 US. 267,

— =

the ALRB abused its discretionary powers as a duly

constituted administrative agency when it determined

to proceed on this issue by way of a general rule

rather than ad hoc adjudication.

A related argument is premised not only on section

1148 but also on section 1152 of the ALRA, empha-

sizing that the language of the latter which declares

the right of farmworkers to organize and to bargain

collectively is identical to that of section 7 of the

NLRA. (See fn. 1, ante.) (10) Reliance is then placed

on the rule that “When legislation has been judicially

construed and a subsequent statute on the same or

an analogous subject is framed in the identical language,

it will ordinarily be presumed that the Legislature

intended that the language as used in the later enact-

ment would be given a like interpretation. This rule

is applicable to state statutes which are patterned after

federal statutes.” (Los Angeles Met. Transit Authority

v. Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen (1960) supra,

54 Cal.2d 684, 688-689.) From this premise it is

reasoned that the Legislature must have intended that

the board also follow the NLRB practice of ad hoc

adjudication of the access issue.

294 [40 L.Ed.2d 134, 153-154, 94 S.Ct. 1757].) That agency,

however, has chosen to proceed on a case-by-case basis not

only on questions of employee inaccessibility, but on essentially

all issues within its competence. We note that the pervasive

and long-standing reluctance of the NLRB to promulgate any

rules or regulations whatever has been the subject of “substantial

and repeated scholarly and judicial criticism . . .” (Retail,

Wholesale and Department Store U. v. N. L. R. B. (D.C.

Cir. 1972) 466 F.2d 380, 388; see NLRB v. Wyman-Gordon

Co. (1969) 394 U.S. 759 [22 L.Ed.2d 709, 89 S.Ct. 1426];

Davis, Administrative Law Treatise (1970 Supp.) § 6.17; Bern-

stein, The NLRB’s Adjudication-Rule Making Dilemma Under

the Administrative Procedure Act (1970) 79 Yale L.J. 571;

Peck, The Atrophied Rule-Making Powers of the National Labor

Relations Board (1961) 70 Yale L.J. 729.)

———S ee

ofits

(8c) We do not question the quoted rule of statutory

construction, but in the circumstances of the case

at bar it does not lead to the claimed conclusion.

It may be posited that by adopting the language of

section 7 of the NLRA the Legislature intended also

to adopt the rule of Babcock & Wilcox and Central

Hardware applying that language to the right of non-

employee labor organizers to enter an employer’s prem-

ises for union purposes. But as we observed above,

the question whether such a right of access should

be resolved by regulation or by adjudication was not

presented in either decision, and the opinions are accord-

ingly silent on the matter. The teaching of. Babcock

& Wilcox and its progeny, rather, is simply that qualified

access to an employer’s premises must be granted when

the circumstances of employment render ineffective the

reasonable efforts of union representatives to communi-

cate with the employees by alternative methods. (351

U.S. at p. 112 [100 L.Ed. at pp. 982-983 ].)

Far from ignoring this lesson, the ALRB predicated

its access regulation on factual findings phrased in

the very language of Babcock & Wilcox. Those findings

disclose that the board did not adopt the NLRB practice

on the access question because it determined that signifi-

cant differences existed between the working conditions

of industry in general and those of California agricul-

ture. As we have seen, in regulating industrial labor

disputes the NLRB has authorized access by union

organizers to employers’ premises when, for example,

the same employees did not arrive and depart every

day on fixed schedules, there were no adjacent public

areas where the employees congregated or through

which they regularly passed, and the employees could

not effectively be reached at permanent addresses or

enfiion

telephone numbers in the nearby community, or by

media advertising.

By contrast, the ALRB found that such conditions

are the rule rather than the exception in California

agriculture. The evidence heard by the board showed

that many farmworkers are migrants; they arrive in

town in time for the local harvest, live in motels,

labor camps, or with friends or relatives, then move on

when the crop is in. Obviously home visits, mailings,

or telephone calls are impossible in such circumstances.

According to the record, even those farmworkers who

are relatively sedentary often live in widely spread

settlements, thus making personal contact at home

impractical because it is both time-consuming and ex-

pensive.

Nor is pamphleting or personal contact on public

property adjacent to the employer’s premises a reason-

able alternative in the present context, on several

grounds. To begin with, many ranches have no such

public areas at all: the witnesses explained that the

cultivated fields begin at the property line, and across

that line is either an open highway or the fields of

another grower. Secondly, the typical industrial scene

of a steady stream of workers walking through the

factory gates to and from the company parking lot

or nearby public transportation rarely if ever occurs

in a rural setting. Instead, the evidence showed that

labor contractors frequently transport farmworkers by

private bus from camp to field or from ranch to

ranch, driving directly onto the premises before unload-

ing; in such circumstances, pamphleting or personal

contact is again impossible. Thirdly, the testimony estab-

lished that a significant number of farmworkers read

and understand only Spanish, Filipino, or other lan-

Re ar ee a

onlin

guages from India or the Middle East. It is evident

that efforts to communicate with such persons by adver-

tising or broadcasting in the local media are futile.

Finally it was also shown that many farmworkers are

illiterate, unable to read even in one of the foregoing

languages; in such circumstances, of course, printed

messages in handbills, mailings, or local newspapers

are equally incomprehensible.”

In addition, the problem here is compounded by

the provisions of the ALRA which require swift elections

—a difficulty not faced by the NLRB. In all cases

involving crops with short harvest seasons, the union

petitioning for the election has only a brief time in

which to gather the necessary employee signatures.

12Ryen in the industrial context the true effectiveness of

“traditional” alternative methods of communicating with workers

has been seriously questioned. Thus the Second Circuit Court

of Appeals has observed that “The chances are negligible that

alternatives equivalent to solicitation in the plant itself would

exist. In the plant the entire work force may be contacted

by a relatively small number of employees with little expense.

The solicitors have the opportunity for personal confrontation,

so that they can present their message with maximum persuasive-

ness. In contrast, the predictable alternatives bear without excep-

tion the flaws of greater expense and effort, and a lower

degree of effectiveness. Mailed material would be typically lost

in the daily flood of printed matter which passes with little

impact from mailbox to wastebasket. Television and radio ap-

peals, where not precluded entirely by cost, would suffer from

competition with the family’s favorite programs and at best

would not compare with personal solicitation. News ad-

vertisements are subject to similar objections. Sidew and

street corners are subject to the vicissitudes of climate and

often force solicitation at awkward times, as when employees

are hurrying to or from work.” (N. L. R. B. v. United Aircraft

Corp., Pratt & Whitney Air. Div. (2d Cir. 1963) 324 F.2d

128, 130.) Similar criticisms have been voiced in the legal

literature. (See, e.g., Bok, The Regulation of Campaign Tactics

in Representation Elections Under the National Labor Relations

Act (1964) 78 Harv. L.Rev. 38, 95-96; Gould, The Question

of Union Activity on Company Property (1964) 18 Vand.

L.Rev. 73, 99-100, 102-103.)

anfitives

(Lab. Code, § 1156.3, subd. (a).) An intervening

union will have even less time—at most 6 days—to

obtain the signatures of 20 percent of the workers

in order to qualify for the ballot. (/d., subd. (b).)

And both unions have only a few days thereafter

to explain their positions to the workers. In such

circumstances most of the channels of communication

which have been used in organizing industrial laborers,

and which were found sufficient in Babcock & Wilcox

and its progeny, are simply too slow to be effective.”

On the basis of the foregoing evidence the ALRB

formally found that “Generally, unions seeking to or-

ganize agricultural employees do not have available

alternative channels of effective communication. Alter-

native channels of effective communication which have

been found adequate in industrial settings do not exist

or are insufficient in the context of agricultural labor.”

(Cal. Admin. Code, tit. 8, pt. Il, § 20900, subd.

3, p. 1051.) From this finding—and in furtherance

of the expressed intent of the framers of the act—the

board concluded (id., subd. 4) that “The legislatively

declared purpose of bringing certainty and a sense

of fair play to a presently unstable and potentially

volatile condition in the agricultural fields of California

can best be served by the adoption of rules on access

which provide clarity and predictability to all parties.

Relegation of the issues to case-by-case adjudication

or the adoption of an overly general rule would cause

further uncertainty and instability and create delay

in the final determination of elections.”

18For example, the board heard testimony that altho

the home addresses of farmworkers can be obtained from the

Department of Motor Vehicles on the basis of their automobile

license plate numbers, the process takes an average of two

weeks and costs $2 per name.

—~ =

We conclude from the foregoing that the decision

of the board to create a limited right of access by

means of a detailed and specific regulation does not

conflict with any intent of the Legislature inferable

from its enactment of sections 1148 and 1152.

In this connection the real parties also contend that

the regulation does not follow “applicable precedents”

of the NLRA under section 1148 because the right

of access it declares is assertedly not limited to non-

working areas. In support they rely on a passage from

Central Hardware Co. v. NLRB (1972) supra, 407

U.S. 539, 545 [33 L.Ed.2d 122, 127], in which the

court summarizes the rule of Babcock & Wilcox as

authorizing access “limited to (i) union organizers;

(ii) prescribed nonworking areas of the employer's

premises; and (iii) the duration of organization

activity.” (Italics added.) The purpose of the empha-

sized limitation, presumably, is to prevent disruption

of work. But the regulation here challenged achieves

the same goal, although by a method more appropriate

to the California agricultural setting in which the ALRB

must operate.

As we have seen, there was evidence before the

board that many ranches have no public or “nonwork-

ing” areas such as the parking lots of large factories.

Responsive to this circumstance, the present regulation

first authorizes access by farm labor organizers for a

prescribed time prior to and at the close of the work

day in “areas in which employees congregate before

and after working.” (Fn. 4, ante.) No more precise

description is possible, as these areas will vary from

ranch to ranch; in each instance, however, no disruption

of work is permitted because the access is expressly

limited to nonworking hours.

_— ™=

Secondly, and in further distinction to the typical

industrial scene, California farm properties generally

do not have cafeterias or lunchrooms where the em-

ployees assemble for their midday meal. Rather, in

the case of row crops the workers frequently eat in

or near their cars or at the bus at the edge of the

field, while in harvesting tree crops they often remain

on the job site while they take their food and rest.

Again responsive to these conditions, the regulation

permits access for a prescribed time “at such location

or locations as the employees eat their lunch.” Although

this description may include working areas in certain

cases, access at all such locations is primarily restricted

to the nonworking period of the “lunch break” and

in any event the regulation expressly prohibits any

disruption of “the employer’s property or agricultural

operations, including injury to crops or machinery.”

(Fn. 4, ante.) The regulation thus comports with the

spirit if not the letter of the quoted language of Central

Hardware, and cannot be deemed to contravene the

asserted implication of section 1148.

(11) Next it is contended that the access regulation

conflicts with an implied intent of the ALRA derived

not from a provision thereof but from the absence

of such a provision. The real parties stress that one

of the proposed farm labor bills which was not enacted

into law (Assem. Bill No. 1 (1975-1976 Reg. Sess.) )

contained a provision (§ 1149.3, subd. (b)) expressly

permitting access by farm labor organizers to employers’

property, while the bill which finally became the ALRA

(Sen. Bill No. 1 (1975 Third Ex. Sess.)) is silent

on the point. This fact is said to reveal an unstated

intent of the Legislature that no such access be per-

mitted.

=’

The contention is not persuasive. At best, “Legislative

silence is a Delphic divination.” (Alabama-Tennessee

Natural Gas Co. v. Federal Power Com’n (Sth Cir.

1966) supra, 359 F.2d 318, 333.) It is true that

in two recent cases we have given weight to an argument

superficially similar to that now advanced by the real

parties. (Cooper v. Swoap (1974) 11 Cal.3d 856,

863-865 [115 Cal.Rptr. 1, 524 P.2d 97]; Clean Air

Constituency v. California State Air Resources Bd.

(1974) supra, 11 Cal.3d 801, 817-818.) But in the

circumstances which led to the passage of the ALRA,

the reasoning of those decisions is inapposite.

This was not the Cooper situation, in which the

Legislature rejected three successive attempts to add

a certain provision to a welfare bill which thereafter

became law, and the agency administering the ensuing

Statute nevertheless adopted a regulation “reviving” that

provision. Nor is Clean Air relevant, for in that case

an administrative agency charged with promptly adapt-

ing a certain antipollution program declined to do

so even after the Legislature itself considered and re-

jected no less than five proposals to order or permit

a delay.

In the case before us there was no such sequence:

in this respect Senate Bill No. 1 was not merely an

amended version of Assembly Bill No. 1, but an entirely

new approach. Indeed, when the bills are closely com-

pared it becomes apparent that the absence of a specific

access provision in Senate Bill No. 1 is, if anything,

an indication that the Legislature intended to adopt

rather than reject the access principle. Assembly Bill

No. 1 contained a number of proposed sections declar-

ing various rights and duties derived from NLRA prece-

dents, including a specific right of access. Senate Bill

often

No. 1, however, adopted a different technique: instead

of listing the substance of NLRA precedents individ-

ually as did Assembly Bill No. 1, it simply incorporated

them by reference via section 1148. Thus the omission

in Senate Bill No. 1 of any of the foregoing provisions

of Assembly Bill No. 1 was a natural consequence

of the legislative device employed; and rather than

being of negative significance, the statutory history

now stressed by the real parties can plausibly be taken

to mean that the Legislature affirmatively intended

to adopt the access principle of Babcock & Wilcox

as herein defined.

(12) Lastly it is urged that the access regulation

violates yet another rule discussed in Clean Air (11

Cal.3d at p. 816): “An unconstitutional delegation

of power occurs when the Legislature confers upon

an administrative agency the unrestricted authority to

make fundamental policy determinations. { Citations. |”

(Italics added.) Again the present case is distinguish-

able. In Clean Air the “fundamental policy determina-

tion” by the agency was to totally reverse a clearly

established legislative priority of pollution-free air—and

environmental protection generall, —over concern for

increased gasoline consumption. In the cases cited in

Clean Air on this point (id., at pp. 816-817), adminis-

trative decisions of similar magnitude were involved.

In the case at bar the “fundamental policy determina-

tion” was n de by the Legislature when that body

decided, after much study and discussion, to grant

to agricultural workers throughout California the rights

of self-organization and collective bargaining so long

denied to them under federal law. Seen in the perspec-

tive of that momentous decision, the board’s qualified

access provision appears much less important than the

="

real parties would have us believe. As a regulation

which in essence merely implements one aspect of

the statutory program—the holding of secret elections—-

it does not amount to a “fundamental policy determina-

tion” within the meaning of the quoted rule.

IV

(13a) Taking a different tack, the real parties con-

tend the access regulation is invalid because it asserted-

ly conflicts with the general criminal trespass statute.

(Pen. Code, § 602.) The contention fails largely for

reasons we have already explored.

.14) It is settled that “Administrative regulations

that violate acts of the Legislature are void and no

protestations that they are merely an exercise of ad-

ministrative discretion can sanctify them. They must

conform to the legislative will if we are to preserve

an orderly system of government.” (Morris v. Williams

(1967) supra, 67 Cal.2d 733, 737.) Nor is the motiva-

tion of the agency relevant: “It is fundamental that

an administrative agency may not usurp the legislative

function, no matter how altruistic its motives are.”

(City of San Joaquin v. State Bd. of Equalization

(1970) 9 Cal.App.3d 365, 374 [88 Cal.Rptr. 12].)

The doctrine has been most frequently invoked to

strike down administrative regulations in conflict with

the statute which created the agency or which the

agency is authorized to administer. (See, e.g., California

Welfare Rights Organization v. Brian (1974) 11 Cal.

3d 237, 242-243 [113 Cal.Rptr. 154, 520 P.2d 970];

Mooney v. Pickett (1971) 4 Cal.3d 669, 680-681

[94 Cal.Rptr. 279, 483 P.2d 1231]; California Sch.

Employees Assn. v. Personnel Commission (1970) 3

Cal.3d 139, 143-144 [89 Cal.Rptr. 620, 474 P.2d

= =

436].) But the principle is equally applicable when

the regulation contravenes a provision of a different

statute. (See, e.g., Orloff v. Los Angeles Turf Club

(1951) 36 Cal.2d 734 [227 P.2d 449]; Tolman v.

Underhill (1952) 39 Cal.2d 708 [249 P.2d 280];

Harris v. Alcoholic Bev. etc. Appeals Bd. (1964)

228 Cal.App.2d 1 [39 Cal.Rptr. 192].)

(15) On the other hand, it is no less settled that

when a special and general statute are in conflict,

the former controls. (Code Civ. Proc., § 1859.)

“*'T]he special act will be considered as an exception

to the general statute whether it was passed before

or after such general enactment.’” (Jn re Williamson

(1954) 43 Cal2d 651, 654 [276 P.2d 593]; accord,

People v. Gilbert (1969) 1 Cal.3d 475, 479-480 [82

Cal.Rptr. 724, 462 P.2d 580], and cases cited.) (13b)

This rule of construction is reiterated and specifically

made applicable to the ALRA in section 1166.3, sub-

division (b), of the act, which states: “If any other

act of the Legislature shall conflict with the provisions

of this part [i.e., the ALRA], this part shall prevail.”

If the Legislature can thus depart from its existing

dispositions on a given topic, it can authorize an

administrative agency to do so on its behalf. Accord-

ingly, in cases of conflict a regulation validly adopted

pursuant to a delegation of authority under a special

statute likewise prevails over the terms of a general

statute. The Legislature can surely accomplish indirectly

that which it could do directly.

The access rule here challenged is such a regulation.

For the reasons stated at length hereinabove, the incor-

poration in section 1152 of the language of section

7 of the NLRA, together with the express direction

=

in section 1144 that the board make regulations neces-

sary to carry out the act and in section 1148 that

it follow applicable NLRA precedents, at least mean

that the Legislature intended the board to structure

a qualified right of entry onto agricultural property

for organizational purposes. The access regulation was

adopted as an expression of that intent. It therefore

prevails over the general trespass statute, by operation

of both the foregoing rule of statutory construction

and the specific directive of section 1166.3, subdivision

(b). No act in compliance with the access regulation

can be punished as a criminal trespass. (See In re

Zerbe (1964) 60 Cal.2d 666 [36 Cal.Rptr. 286, 388

P.2d 182, 10 A.L.R.3d 840].)

Let a peremptory writ of mandate issue as prayed.

Wright, C. J., Tobriner, J., and Sullivan, J., con-

curred.

CLARK, J.-—1I dissent.

The access regulation of the Agricultural Labor Rela-

tions Board is invalid on three grounds. First, federal

law has established that nonemployee organizers have

no right of access to an employer's property whenever

other reasonable means of communication are available.

Even when access is permissible, it is restricted to

nonworking areas. The California Agricultural Labor

Relations Act of 1975 (Lab. Code, § 1140 et seq.)

incorporated the federal law; the board’s regulation,

in authorizing access when other means of communica-

tion are available, and in permitting access to working

areas, is contrary to federal law and therefore violates

the state statute. Second, because the board’s regulation

is in conflict with the penal trespass statute it usurps

colin

the legislative function, and is thus invalid. Third,

the regulation constitutes an unwarranted infringement

on constitutionally protected property rights.

THE REGULATION CONFLICTS WITH THE

AGRICULTURAL LABOR RELATIONS ACT

A. The Federal Law

Two United States Supreme Court decisions have

specifically dealt with the issue of nonemployee union

organizer access to private property. In Labor Board

v. Babcock & Wilcox Co. (1956) 351 U.S. 105 [100

L.Ed. 975, 76 S.Ct. 679], employers prohibited nonem-

ployees from distributing union literature on employer-

owned parking lots. The National Labor Relations

Board (labor board) ruled that the employers’ conduct

constituted an unfair labor practice. The labor board

based its ruling on a decision establishing that em-

ployees could use nonworking areas of the employer's

premises for organizational activities. (Republic Avia-

tion Corp. v. Board (1945) 324 U.S. 793 [89 L.Ed.

1372, 65 S.Ct. 982, 157 A.L.R. 1081].)

The court in Babcock unanimously ruled that the

labor board had erred in failing “to make a distinction

between rules of law applicable to employees and those

applicable to nonemployees.” (351 U.S. at p. 113

[100 L.Ed. at p. 983].)

Having identified the source of the labor board’s

error, the Supreme Court stated the legal principles

which govern nonemployee access cases. “[A]n em-

ployer may validly post his property against nonem-

ployee distribution of union literature if reasonable

efforts by the union through other available channels

of communication will enable it to reach the employees

with its message and if the employer’s notice or order

— =

does not discriminate against the union by allowing

other distribution. In these circumstances the employer

may not be compelled to allow distribution even under

such reasonable regulations as the orders in these cases

permit.” (351 U.S. at p. 112 [100 L.Ed. at p. 982].)

In Central Hardware Co. v. NLRB (1972) 407

U.S. 539 [33 L.Ed.2d 122, 92 S.Ct. 2238], the second

United States Supreme Court decision, the labor board

again found an employer to have engaged in an unfair

labor practice by excluding nonemployee union organ-

izers from its parking lot. In making this ruling, the

labor board decided that the employer had violated

First Amendment rights of the employees under Food

Employees v. Logan Plaza (1968) 391 U.S. 308 [20

L.Ed.2d 603, 88 S.Ct. 1601].

The Supreme Court reversed, ruling that Logan Val-

ley’s First Amendment analysis was inapplicable, and

that if the labor board’s attempt to apply Logan Valley

to nonemployee organizers were allowed to stand, it

would “constitute an unwarranted infringement of long-

settled rights of private property protected by the Fifth

and Fourteenth Amendments.” (407 U.S. at p. 547

[33 L.Ed.2d at p. 129].)

The Supreme Court reiterated its Babcock holding

that nonemployee organizers may not be allowed access

when other reasonable means of communication are

available. The court added: “The principle of Babcock

is limited to this accommodation between organization

rights and property rights. This principle requires a

‘yielding’ of property rights only in the context of

an organization campaign. Moreover, the allowed in-

trusion on property rights is limited to that necessary

to facilitate the exercise of employees’ § 7 rights."

1Section 7 of the National Labor Relations Act is substantially

identical to Labor Code section 1152.

— =

After the requisite need for access to the employer's

property has been shown, the access is limited to

(i) union organizers; (ii) prescribed nonworking areas

of the employer’s premises; and (iii) the duration

of organization activity. In short, the principle of accom-

modation announced in Babcock is limited to labor

organization campaigns, and the ‘yielding’ of property

rights it may require is both temporary and minimal.”

(407 U.S. at pp. 544-545 [33 L.Ed.2d at p. 127].)

The dissent in Central Hardware did not relate to

the points involved here. Even the dissenting justices

expressly stated that the labor board should have fol-

lowed Babcock.

The federal law of nonemployee access is therefore

settled, establishing that there is no right of access

where alternative methods of communication exist. If

there are no alternative methods, the nonemployees’

right of access is limited to prescribed nonworking

areas of the employer’s premises. The Supreme Court

has expressly held that the broader right of employees

to engage in organizational activities recognized by

Republic Aviation v. Board, supra, 324 US. 793,

does not apply to the nonemployee organizer. Employee

organizers are legally upon the employer’s premises

as employees; thus, their presence usually does not

interfere with the employer’s property rights. The em-

ployer’s interest in securing effective work is the only

interest subject to potential interference. Accordingly,

the limitation on employees’ right to organize relates

to discipline. Nonemployee organizers, however, are

not invited on the premises. In this situation, not

only is the employer’s interest in securing effective

work jeopardized, but his property rights under the

United States Constitution are interfered with as well.

—_— =

B. The Legislature's Incorporation of the Federal Law

Labor Code section 1152 establishes the right of

employees to organize. That section contains language

identical to section 7 of the National Labor Relations

Act,” the section applied in Babcock and Central Hard-

ware. Labor Code section 1148 states: “The board

shall follow applicable precedents of the National Labor

Relations Act, as amended.” (Italics added. )

“When legislation has been judicially construed and

a subsequent statute on the same or an analogous

subject is framed in the identical language, it will ordi-

narily be presumed that the Legislature intended that

the language as used in the later enactment would

be given a like interpretation. This rule is applicable

to state statutes which are patterned after the federal

statutes. [Citations.]” (Los Angeles Met. Transit

Authority v. Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen (1960)

54 Cal.2d 684, 688-689 [8 Cal.Rptr. 1, 355 P.2d

905].)

In Los Angeles Met. Transit Authority, as in the

instant case, the Legislature had used language from

section 7 of the National Labor Relations Act. This

court held that, because the federal courts had inter-

preted part of the language to include the right to

strike, the Legislature intended to grant a right to

strike despite the fact that the state statute applied

to governmental employees who ordinarily have no

such right.

By using the language of section 7, the Legislature

clearly manifested its intention to adopt the federal

2The operative language of section 1152 is identical to

section 7. The only difference between the statutes is that

section 7 cross-references to another federal statute while section

1152 cross-references, of course, to a state statute.

— =

construction of section 7. In Babcock and Central

Hardware, the United States Supreme Court construed

section 7. That construction was therefore adopted

by our Legislature when it enacted section 1152. Any

doubt in the matter was eliminated when the Legislature,

in section 1148, expressly required the board to follow

applicable federal precedents. Accordingly, the inescap-

able conclusion is that the Legislature intended the

board to apply the rule of Babcock and Central Hard-

ware, which denies access rights to nonemployee organ-

izers when reasonable alternative methods of communi-

cation are available.*

It is generally recognized that the Agricultural Labor

Relations Act of 1975 is a compromise among the

various interests. (Levy, The Agricultural Relations

Act of 1975—La Esperanza de California Para El

Futuro (1975) 15 Santa Clara Law, 783.) When

the competing interests agreed to compromise, the Legis-

lature was faced with three choices: it could turn

the board loose with little definition of its duties,

powers, limitations on those powers, or standards to

8The majority attempts to characterize the access regulation

as “limited in purpose, in a. and place, and in the number

of organizers. .” (Ante, p. ) But in ch

these as limitations, ‘the majority relies on the irrelevant. These

limitations in no way indicate the unavailability of alternative

means of communication—the very showing that must be made

before any access, Tegardless of how limited, is permitted. More-

over, the majority’s statement that elections under the ALRA

are required to be held within short periods of time (ante,

p. 416), while true, has nothing to do with the access regulation.

The elections must be held within seven days of the filing

of a petition si by a majority of the currently employes.

(Lab. Code, § 1156.3, subd. (a).) However, the access re

tion does not limit access to the period following the filing

of a petition. The regulation is thus open-ended and the infringe-

ment on property rights it sanctions—contrary to the majority’s

implication—is therefore neither limited in time nor is it minimal.

—_—

be applied; it could, on the other hand, sharply define

the duties, powers, limitations, and standards; or it

could incorporate the highly developed federal law,

which had over a period of 40 years arrived at defini-

tions of both the rights and interests of the affected

parties, as well as the duties, powers, limitations, and

standards of the administrative agency.

The Legislature chose to incorporate the highly de-

veloped federal law. This is clear from its adoption

of section 1152, which is substantially identical to

section 7 of the National Labor Relations Act, and

adoption of section 1148, which requires the board

to rely on applicable federal precedents.

The majority, of course, is not unmindful of the

necessity to resort to federal law. There is no specific

mention of a right of access in the act (other than

for board officials) and no express delegation empower-

ing the board to adopt a right of access. The majority,

in finding a right of access, relies upon sections 1148

and 1152, which adopt federal law, and section 1144

which grants general rule-making powers to the board.

Obviously, a general rule-making power with no specifi-

cation as to what those rules relate is not the same

as an express power to create access rights. It is

evident that the majority must resort to federal law

to find board authority to create access rights.

It is manifestly unfair to the Legislature, in light

of the history and language of the act, to rely on

tederal law to establish board power to create an

access right, and at the same time to ignore the stand-

ards and limitations placed upon that right by the

same federal law. Rather, the Legislature’s incorporation

of the federal law includes the duties, powers, limita-

tions, and standards.

— =

Although the board is given general rule-making

power, regulations adopted pursuant to this power must

conform to the legislative command requiring applica-

tion of federal law. As this court stated in Morris

v. Williams (1967) 67 Cal.2d 733 [63 Cal.Rptr. 689,

433 P.2d 697]: “Under Government Code section

11373, ‘Each regulation adopted [by a state agency],

to be effective, must be within the scope of authority

conferred. . . .. Whenever a state agency is authorized

by statute ‘to adopt regulations to implement, interpret,

make specific or otherwise carry out the provisions

of the statute, no regulation adopted is valid or effec-

tive unless consistent and not in conflict with the

statute. .. ” (Gov. Code, § 11374.) Our first duty,

therefore, is to determine whether the Administrator

exercised quasi-legislative authority within the bounds

of the statutory mandate. While the construction of

a statute by officials charged with its administration,

including their interpretation of the authority invested

in them to implement and carry out its provisions,

is entitled to great weight, nevertheless ‘Whatever the

force of administrative construction . . . final responsi-

bility for the interpretation of the law rests with the

courts.’ (Whitcomb Hotel v. California Emp. Com.

(1944) 24 Cal.2d 753, 757 . .. , and authorities

there collected.) Administrative regulations that alter

or amend the statute or enlarge or impair its scope

are void and courts not only may, but it is their

obligation to strike down such regulations. (Whitcomb

Hotel v. California Emp. Com., supra; Hodge v. McCall

(1921) 185 Cal. 330, 334 .. .; Boone v. Kingsbury

(1928) 206 Cal. 148, 161-162 . . .; First Industrial

Loan Co. v. Daugherty (1945) 2@ Cal.2d 545, 550

. .. see Brock v. Superior Court (1938) 11 Cal.2d

682, 688... .)” (67 Cal.2d at p. 748.)

_—

C. The Regulation’s Conflict With the Federal Law

and the Statute

As we have seen; the federal law incorporated in

the act by the Legislature denies access to nonemployee

organizers whenever reasonable alternative means of

communication are available. Further, even when access

is allowed, it is restricted to nonworking areas. By

permitting blanket access to all agricultural property,

regardless of the existence of alternative means of

communication, and by permitting access to working

areas, the board’s regulation is contrary to Babcock

and Central Hardware, violating the statutory command

to follow federal precedent.

The conflict may not be avoided on the basis of

the board’s finding that “[g]enerally” there is no alter-

native means of communication. The absence of alterna-

tive means of communication in most cases does not

relieve the board of its obligation to adhere to Babcock

and Central Hardware any more than an N.L.R.B.

finding of the availability of alternative means of com-

munication in most cases would justify the N.L.R.B.

from denying nonemployee access in all cases.

CONFLICT WITH TRESPASS STATUTE

Penal Code section 602 provides in relevant part:

“Every person who willfully commits a trespass by

any of the following acts is guilty of a misdemeanor:

(j) Entering any lands, whether unenclosed or enclosed

by fence, for the purpose of injuring any property

or property rights or with the intention of interfering

with, obstructing, or injuring any lawful business or

occupation carried on by the owner of such land,

his agent or by the person in lawful possession. [4]

—_

(k) Entering any lands under cultivation or enclosed

by fence, belonging to, or occupied by, another...

without the written permission of the owner of such

land, his agent or the person in lawful possession,

and [4] (1) Refusing or failing to leave such lands

immediately upon being requested by the owner of such

land, his agent or by the person in lawful possession

to leave such lands, . . . [4] (1) Entering and occupy-

ing real property or structures of any kind without

the consent of the owner, his agent, or the person

in lawful possession thereof. [4] (m) Driving any

vehicle . . . upon real property belonging to or lawfully

occupied by another and known not to be open to

the general public, without the consent of the owner,

his agent, or the person in lawful possession thereof.

[4] (n) Refusing or failing to leave land, real property,

or structures belonging to or lawfully occupied by

another and not open to the general public, upon

being requested to leave by a peace officer and the

owner, his agent, or the person in lawful possession

thereof.”

The conflict between the access regulation and the

trespass statute is apparent.

The law regarding conflict between administrative

acts and legislative acts is well-settled. “Administrative

regulations that violate acts of the Legislature are void

and no protestations that they are merely an exercise

of administrative discretion can sanctify them. They

must conform to the legislative will if we are to preserve

an orderly system of government.” (Morris v. Williams,

supra, 67 Cal.2d 733, 737; italics added.) “It is funda-

mental that an administrative agency may not usurp

the legislative function, no matter how altruistic its

_— =

motives are.” (City of San Joaquin v. State Bd. of

Equalization (1970) 9 Cal.App.3d 365, 374 [88 Cal.

Rptr. 12].)

Administrative agencies “may not exercise { their |

sublegislative powers to modify, alter or enlarge the

provisions of the legislative act which is being adminis-

tered. Administrative regulations in conflict with the

Constitution or statutes are generally declared to be

null or void. (Hammond v. McDonald, 49 Cal.App.2d

671, 679 . . .; Hodge v. McCall, 185 Cal.330, 334

_.. .)” (Harris v. Alcoholic Bev. etc. Appeals Bd.

(1964) 228 Cal.App.2d 1, 6; Accord: Morris v. Wil-

liams, supra, 67 Cal.2d 733, 748-749; Duskin v. State

Board of Dry Cleaners (1962) 58 Cal.2d 155, 161-

162 [23 Cal.Rptr. 404, 373 P.2d 468]; Schenley Indus-

tries, Inc. v. Munro (1965) 237 Cal.App.2d 106,

111 [46 Cal.Rptr. 678]; Am. Distilling Co. v. St.

Bd. of Equalization (1942) 55 Cal.App.2d 799, 805-

806 [131 P.2d 609].)

As the court in Harris v. Alcoholic Bev. etc. Appeals

Bd., supra, noted: “The order of priority with respect

to jurisdiction, accordingly, is as follows: (1) The

Constitution is the supreme expression; (2) to the ex-

tent that it does not conflict with the Constitution,

the Legislature may act; (3) to the extent that it

does not conflict with the Constitution, or with lawful

acts of the Legislature, the department [ administrative

agencies] may act through its rules and regulations.”

(228 Cal.App.2d at p. 7: italics added. )

The doctrine that administrative regulations are sub-

ordinate and must give way to legislative enactments

is equally applicable when the regulation contravenes

a provision of a statute or code other than the statutes

—49—

creating the agency or administered by it. (Tolman

y. Underhill (1952) 39 Cal.2d 708, 712 [249 P.2d

280]; Orloff v. Los Angeles Turf Club (1951) 36

Cal.2d 734, 737-738 [227 P.2d 449]; In re Potter

(1913) 164 Cal. 735, 739 [130 P. 721]; Cleveland

Chiropractic College v. State Bd. of Chiropractic Ex-

aminers (1970) 11 Cal.App.3d 25, 34-35 [89 Cal.Rptr.

572]; Harris v. Alcoholic Bev. etc. Appeals Bd., supra,

228 Cal.App.2d 1, 6.)

The Legislature, as the majority points out, may

make exceptions to other statutes and may expressly

authorize an administrative agency to make exceptions.

Such exceptions may also be made by the incorporation

of other law, including federal law. In addition, an

agency’s right to make an exception to general statutory

provisions might be implied in cases of necessity, when

exercise of a power expressly granted to the agency

will necessarily involve a violation of the other statute.

In these circumstances, exceptions are warranted by

the general principle that specific statutory provisions

govern general ones. (Code Civ. Proc., § 1859; People

vy. Gilbert (1969) 1 Cal.3d 475, 479-480 [82 Cal.Rptr.

724, 462 P.2d 580].)

However, the special-general principle does not apply

when the agency’s power to act is not express but

merely implied. Because the agency’s power is implied,

it can never be special in relation to a conflicting

express legislative declaration. If the rule were other-

wise, agencies in their field of expertise would be

free to ignore almost all statutes enacted by the Legis-

lature.

The Legislature has not expressly provided for access

by nonemployee organizers to employer property. Nor

elie

has the Legislature expressly delegated to the board

the authority to formulate an access rule. Having refused

to follow Babcock and Central Hardware and the federal

law, the majority may not properly claim that the

Legislature incorporated an access rule by reference

to federal law. Nor has the board or the majority

shown it to be absolutely necessary to sanction violations

of the Penal Code in order to effectuate the powers

expressly granted to the board.

The Agricultural Labor Relations Act deals with

labor relations; it does not deal with trespasses to

real property. Penal Code section 602 deals with

trespass to real property; its relevant provisions do

not expressly deal with labor relations. The instant

case deals with labor relations and trespasses. Thus

each statute is on par with the other, and the Penal

Code provision being a legislative enactment, it must

take precedence over the administrative regulation based

on a power implied from the labor statute. Moreover,

if either the act or the Penal Code provisions must

be categorized as special in relation to the activities

before us, the Penal Code provisions should be so

categorized. Related provisions of the Penal Code ex-

pressly deal with both trespasses and labor relations

(Pen. Code, §§ 552.1, 555.2), and in In re Zerbe

(1964) 60 Cal.2d 666, 668-669 [36 Cal.Rptr. 286,

388 P.2d 182, 10 A.L.R.3d 840], it was held that

the provisions of those sections must be read into

section 602, subdivision (/), one of the subdivisions

presently before us.

—51—

CONSTITUTIONALITY OF THE ACCESS REGU-

LATION

The majority concludes that the access regulation

is constitutional and does not impinge upon private

property rights because a rational relationship exists

between the access regulation and the purposes of

the act. The majority finds that the rational relationship

test is the proper standard for constitutional review

by analogizing the issue here presented to the issues

raised when the validity of a zoning ordinance is chal-

lenged. The majority, however, has erred in its analogy,

applied an improper standard of constitutional review,

and thereby sanctioned an impermissible invasion on

constitutionally protected property rights.*

When regulations such as zoning are challenged,

the constitutional issue raised is the extent to which

the government may regulate a landowner’s use of

‘The majority justifies its application of the rational relation-

ship test on grounds that the access regulation’s infringement

of property rights is “not a deprivation of ‘fundamental personal

liberties.’ ”” However, property rights are fundamental and per-

sonal. As the United States Supreme Court pointed out in

Lynch v. Household Finance Corp. (1972) 405 US. 538

[31 L.Ed.2d 424, 92 S.Ct. os ah “(T]he nang a

rsonal liberties and property rights is a one. Property

See not have rights. People have rights. The right to enjoy

property without unlawful deprivation, no less than the right

to s or the right to travel, is in truth a ‘personal’ ight,

whether the ‘property’ in question be a welfare check, a home,

or a savings account. In fact, a fundamental interdependence

exists between the personal right to liberty and the personal

- dl in property. Neither could have meaning without the

. That rights in property are basic civil rights has long

been recognized. J. Locke, Of Civil Government 82-85 (1924);

J. Adams, A Defense of the Constitutions of Government of

the United States of America, in F. Coker, Democracy, Liberty,

and Property 121-132 (1942); 1 W. Blackstone, Commentaries

138-140.” (id., at p. 552 [31 L.Ed.2d at pp. 434-435].)

~~ =

his own property. The access regulation, on the other

hand, presents a very distinct situation. In promulgating

such a regulation the government is requiring a property

owner to surrender the use of his private property

not for public use but for the use of other private

parties—nonemployee union organizers.

The distinction is of major significance. In the private

access situation we must weigh the strength of the

interest asserted against the infringement on private

property rights. The proper judicial function is to bal-

ance the competing interests; although the rational

relationship test applies in zoning cases, the law of

zoning is not a universal solvent in which property

rights are dissolved.

This court is apparently the only court unable to

grasp that the appropriate standard for review is one

of balancing and not of rational relationship. In Labor

Board v. Babcock & Wilcox Co., supra, 351 USS.

105, the United States Supreme Court stated: “This

is not a problem of always open or always closed

doors for union organization on company property. . . .

Accommodation between the two [organizational rights

and property rights] must be obtained with as little

destruction of one as is consistent with the maintenance

of the other.” (/d., at p. 112; italics added.) Similarly,

in Central Hardware Co. v. NLRB, supra, 407 U.S.

539, the Supreme Court stated: “the principle of accom-

modation announced in Babcock is limited to labor

organization campaigns, and the ‘yielding’ of property

rights it may require is both temporary and minimal.”

(Id., at p. 545; italics added.) The proper test is

one of balancing, not a determination of rational re-

lationships.

—53—

The federal Courts of Appeals have fully recognized

that balancing is the proper standard for review. (E.g.,

N. L. R. B. v. Visceglia (3d Cir. 1974) 498 F.2d

43, 45; McDonnell Douglas Corporation v. N. L. R. B.

(8th Cir. 1973) 472 F.2d 539, 544; Diamond Shamrock

Co. v. N. L. R. B. (3d Cir. 1971) 443 F.2d 52,

56-58; see Asociacion de Trabajadores, Etc. v. Green

Giant Co. (3d Cir. 1975) 518 F.2d 130, 135; Petersen

v. Talisman Sugar Corporation (Sth Cir. 1973) 478

F.2d 73, 82.)

Indeed, in the only federal Court of Appeals case

decided after Babcock and Central Hardware specif-

ically discussed by the majority, the court recognized

that the proper standard for resolving this issue is

one of balancing. (N. L. R. B. v. S & H Grossinger’s

Inc. (2d Cir. 1967) 372 F.2d 26, 29-30.) Moreover,

the fact that access has been permitted in several

federal cases is hardly surprising under a balancing

test. However, it does not follow, as the majority

suggests, that because the balance in some cases has

favored access that the balance in all cases will do

so. If this were otherwise then the United States Supreme

Court’s use of the word “accommodate” is meaningless,

as is the federal Courts of Appeals’ continual use

of a balancing approach.

The United States Supreme Court balanced the com-

peting interests in Babcock and Central Hardware,

and because, as pointed out above, the board’s regula-

tion violates the rule of those cases, the access regulation

violates the constitutional provisions protecting private

property. The board’s regulation does not even attempt

to balance or accommodate the competing interests.

It allows access when alternative means of communica-

~~

tion do in fact exist. And it permits blanket entry

onto private property during working hours. The regula-

tion as presently promulgated is unconstitutional.

CONCLUSION

In a case such as this, where conviction and feeling

run high, we should apply the law to the facts carefully

and objectively, to assure that the result of our decision

comports with precedent, thereby carrying out the intent

of the Legislature. In this, the majority have failed

today. To reach their result, they have relied on in-

applicable precedent, applied the wrong constitutional

standard of review, nullified the Legislature’s mandate

to the board, and subordinated the Legislature to an

administrative agency.

McComb, J., and Richardson, J., concurred.

=—

APPENDIX B

Notice of Appeal to the Supreme Court

of the United States.

In the Supreme Court of the State of California.

Pandol & Sons, a California partnership; Jasmine

Vineyards, Inc., a California corporation, Appellants,

v. Agricultural Labor Relations Board, Appellee.

a

Filed: March 8, 1976.

Notice is hereby given that PANDOL & SONS,

a California partnership, and JASMINE VINEYARDS,

INC., a California corporation, the appellants above-

named, hereby appeal to the Supreme Court of the

United States from the final judgment of the Supreme

Court of the State of California, entering a Writ of

Mandate in this action on March 4, 1976.

This appeal is taken pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1257

(2).

/s/ Joseph Herman

Joseph Herman

/s/ Michael J. Machan

Michael J. Machan

Seyfarth, Shaw, Fairweather

& Geraldson

1801 Century Park East, Suite 2450

Los Angeles, California 90067

(213) 277-7200

Counsel for Appellants

—_ =

PROOF OF SERVICE BY MAIL

State of California, County of Los Angeles—-ss.

I am employed in the county aforesaid; I am over

the age of eighteen years and not a party to the

within entitled action; my business address is 1801

Century Park East, Los Angeles, California. On March

8, 1976, I served the within NOTICE OF APPEAL

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED

STATES in said action, by placing true copies thereof

enclosed in sealed envelopes with postage thereon fully

prepaid, in the United States mail at Los a,

California, addressed as follows:

Honorable Hollis G. Best

Judge of the Superior Court

Fresno County

Fresno, California 93721

Honorable Jay Ballantyne

Judge of the Superior Court

Tulare County

Visalia, California

Walter Kintz

Agricultural Labor Relations Board

4433 Florin Road, Suite 500

Sacramento, California 95823

Littler, Mendelson & Fastiff

650 California Street, 20th Floor

San Francisco, California 94108

I declare, under penalty of perjury, that the foregoing

is true and correct.

Executed on March 8, 1976, at Los Angeles, Cali-

fornia.

/s/ Nancy L. Finnimore

Nancy L. Finnimore

= =

APPENDIX C

Title 8. Agricultural Labor Relations Board.

Chapter 9. Access to Workers in the Fields

by Labor Organizations.

20900. Access to Workers in the Fields by Labor

Organizations. Labor Code Sec. 1140.2 declares it to

be our policy of-the State of California to encourage

and protect the right of agricultural employees to full

freedom of association, self-organization, and designa-

tion of representatives of their own choosing.

1. Agricultural employees have the right under La-

bor Code Sec. 1152: to self-organization, to form, join,

or assist labor organizations, to bargain collectively

through representatives of their own choosing, and to

engage in other concerted activities for the purpose

of collective bargaining or other mutual aid or protec-

tion, as well as the right to refrain from any or all

of such activities except to the extent that such right

may be affected by a lawful agreement requiring mem-

bership ir. a labor organization as a condition of contin-

ued employment. Labor Code Sec. 1153(a) makes

it an unfair labor practice for an agricultural employer

to interfere with, restrain, or coerce agricultural employ-

ees in the exercise of these rights.

2. As the United States Supreme Court has stated:

Organizational rights are not viable in a vacuum. Their

effectiveness depends in some measure on the ability

of employees to learn the advantages and disadvantages

of organization from others. When alternative channels

of effective communication are not available to a union,

organizational mghts must include a limited right to

approach employees on the property of the employer.

Under such circumstances, both statutory and constitu-

tional principles require that a reasonable and just

aniition

accommodation be made beiween the ~s'v of unions

to access and the legitimate prope y sid business

interests of the employer.

3. Generally, unions seeking to organize agricui-

tural employees do not have available alternative chan-

nels of effective communication. Alternative chani*ls

of effective communication which have been found

adequate in industrial settings do not exist or are

insufficient in the context of agricultural labor.

4. The legislatively declared purpose of bringing

certainty and a sense of fair play to a presently unstable

and potentially volatile condition in the agricultural

fields of California can best be served by the adoption

of rules on access which provide clarity and predicta-

bility to all parties. Relegation of the issues to case-

by-case adjudication or the adoption of an overly gener-

al rule would cause further uncertainty and instability

and create delay in the final determination of elec-

tions. '

5. Accordingly, the Board will consider the rights

of employees under Labor Code Sec. 1152 to include

the right of access by union organizers to the premises

of an agricultural employer for the purpose of organiz-

ing, subject to the following limitations:

a. Organizers may enter the property of an employ-

er for a total period of 60 minutes before the start

of work and 60 minutes after the completion of work

to meet and talk with employees in areas in which

employees congregate before and after working.

b In addition, organizers may enter the employer’s

property for a total period of one hour during the

working day for the purpose of meeting and talking

with employees during their lunch period, at such loca-

unfian

tion or locations as the employees eat their lunch.

If there is an established lunch break, the one-hour

period shall include such lunch break. If there is no

established lunch break, the one-hour period may be

at any time during the working day.

c. Access shall be limited to two organizers for

each work crew on the property, provided that if there

are more than 30 workers in a crew, there may be

one additional organizer for vvery 15 additional work-

ers.

d. Upon request, organizers shall identify them-

selves by name and labor organization to the employer

or his agent. Organizers shall also wear a badge or

other designation of affiliation.

e. The right of access shall not include conduct

disruptive of the employer’s property or agricultural

operations, including injury to crops or machinery.

Speech by itself shall not be considered disruptive con-

duct. Disruptive conduct by particula: organizers shall

not be grounds for expelling organizers not engaged

in such conduct, nor for preventing future access.

f. Pending further regulation by the Board, this

regulation shall not apply after the results of an election

held pursuant to this act have been certified.

20901. Effective Date. The provisions of this Chap-

ter shall be effective as of August 29, 1975.

~~ ™S

APPENDIX D

Temporary Restraining Order. |

In the United States District Court, for the Eastern

District of California, at Fresno.

Pandol & Sons, a California Partnership; Jasmine

Vineyards, Inc., a California Corporation, Plaintiffs,

vs. Edmund G. Brown, Jr., Governor of the State

of California; Roger Mahony, individually and as

Chairman-Designate of the Agricultural Labor Relations

Board; Leroy Chatfield, Richard Johnson, Joseph Or-

tega, and Joseph Grodin, individually and as Members-

Designate of the Agricultural Labor Relations Board;

and Walter Kintz, individually and as General Counsel-

Designate of the Agricultural Labor Relations Board,

Defendants. Civ. No. F-75-165-Civ.

Filed: Sept. 3, 1975.

There having been presented, on prior notice to

Defendants, in open Court a Complaint with supporting

affidavits, for a Temporary Restraining Order, Pre-

liminary Injunction, and Permanent Injunction, and

specifically praying that a Temporary Restraining Order

be issued pending a hearing of the Plaintiffs’ application

for a preliminary injunction thereto, the Court finds

and concludes:

1. This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. §

1343(3) and 42 U.S.C. § 1983, this being an action

to redress the deprivation by the Defendants, acting

under color of State law, of Plaintiffs’ rights, privileges

and immunities secured by the Constitution and laws

of the United States. Jurisdiction also is founded upon

28 U.S.C. §§ 2201 and 2202 as Plaintiffs seek injunctive

relief and a declaratory judgment as to the constitu-

onion

tionality of certain regulations adopted pursuant to

the Act. Venue in this Court is appropriate upon

28 U.S.C. § 1391(b) as the claims herein arise in

this judicial district.

2. This is a proper case for determination by a

three-judge court pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 2281 and

2284 because Plaintiffs seek, inter alia, injunctive relief

against the enforcement of certain regulations adopted

under the Act on the ground that they are unconstitu-

tional on their face as they deny Plaintiffs of their

property without due process or just compensation in

violation of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments

to the United States Constitution.

3. Defendants are certain officials of the State of

California who are charged with the administration

and enforcement of the Agricultural Labor Relations

Act, California Labor Code, Sections 1140-66 (herein-

after referred to as the “Act’’).

4. Defendant Edmund G. Brown, Jr., is the Gov-

ernor of the State of California and is responsible

under Section 1141(b) of the Act for the appointment

of the Chairman, Members and General Counsel of

the Agricultural Labor Relations Board (hereinafter

referred to as the “Board”). Defendant Roger Mahony

is the Chairman-Designate of the Board and he, along

with defendants Joseph Ortega, Joseph Grodin, Leroy

Chatfield and Richard Johnson are the Members-

Designate of the Board. Defendant Walter Kintz is

the General Counsel-Designate of the Board.

5. Plaintiff Pandol & Sons is a California partner-

ship, which owns and/or leases approximately 8000

acres of farm land in Tulare, Kern, and Fresno counties,

California. Plaintiff Pandol & Sons is an “agricultural

— §2—

employer” as defined in Section 1140.4(c) of the Act

and is subject to the Act’s provisions.

6. Plaintiff Jasmine Vineyards, Inc., is a California

corporation, duly qualified to do business in the State

of California, which leases approximately 600 acres

of farmland in Delano, California. Plaintiff Jasmine

Vineyards, Inc., is an “agricultural employer” as defined

in Section 1140.4(c) of the Act and is subject to

the Act’s provisions.

7. The evidence presented plainly demonstrates that

labor organizations seeking to organize and represent

Plaintiffs’ agricultural employees have available numer-

ous means of contacting and communicating with Plain-

tiffs’ agricultural employees outside the private property

and particularly the agricultural fields of Plaintiffs.

8. Plaintiffs’ properties are private and posted

against trespass. Neither Plaintiff permits access to

such private property by non-employee labor union

organizers. :

9. On August 29, 1975, the Board adopted Emer-

gency Regulations which grant to non-employee labor

union organizers the absolute right to enter Plaintiffs’

fields and other properties and those of all other agricul-

tural employers under the Act. This right is granted

irrespective of whatever other reasonable available

means of communications such. organizers may have

in regard to Plaintiff's employees. :

10. As such, these Emergency Regulations violate

the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments of tghe [sic] Con-

stitution of the United States in that they deprive Plain-

tiffs of their property without due process of law and

also constitute a taking of Plaintiffs’ property for public

use without just compensation. In addition, these Emer-

—_ =

gency Regulations are constitutionally overbroad in vio-

lation of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments of

the United States Constitution in that even if Plaintiffs

were required to grant access to non-employee union

organizers—and this Court has found that such access

is not required—the Emergency Regulations require

access at impermissible times and locations and do

not properly minimize the invasion of Plaintiffs’ private

property by non-employee union organizers.

11. Plaintiffs have no adequate remedy at law and

unless application and enforcement of these Emergency

Regulations are temporarily restrained pending a hear-

ing on Plaintiffs’ request for a preliminary injunction,

Plaintiffs will suffer permanent and irreparable injury,

to wit:

a) Continued and repeated trespass to their fields

and other properties by non-employee labor union or-

ganizers over whom Plaintiffs have no control will

occur;

b) As a result of such trespass, Plaintiffs’ crops,

machinery and equipment are subject to damage; __

c) Asa result of such trespass, the work of Plaintiffs’

employees is threatened with interference and disrup-

tion;

d) As a result of such trespass, Plaintiffs wili be

subjected to possible legal liability to such organizers

for personal injuries occurring while on Plaintiffs’ prop-

erties;

e) The simultaneous presence of rival non-employee

union organizers upon Plaintiffs’ properties could result

in violence, including violence to Plaintiffs’ empioyees

and damages to Plaintiffs’ crops, machinery and equip-

ment;

— =

f) In order to insure compliance by such organizers

with the Emergency Regulations will require Plaintiffs

to employ additional personnel;

g) Plaintiffs’ failure to comply with these unconstitu-

tional Emergency Regulations could result, inter alia,

in unfair labor practice proceedings before the Board;

the issuance by the Board of orders, the content and

scope of which are unknown at this time; the invalida-

tion of Board-conducted elections; and possible injunc-

tive litigation against Plaintiffs by the Board in State

courts to enforce these Emergency Regulations;

h) Substantial loss or infringement of Plaintiffs’ prop-

erty rights will occur.

12. That such irreparable injury will occur to Plain-

tiffs unless a temporary restraining order is granted

is clear from the pleadings herein and affidavits pre-

sented to this Court.

13. If application and enforcement of these Emer-

gency Regulations are not temporarily restrained pend- —

ing a hearing on Plaintiffs’ request for a preliminary

injunction, Plaintiffs will, as a result thereof, suffer

more from the denial of a temporary restraining order

than the Defendants will from its issuance.

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

1) That Defendants, their agents and employees who

receive actual notice of this Order be enjoined and

restrained from applying, implementing, and/or en-

forcing Emergency Regulations of the Agricultural

Labor Relaations [sic] Board, Chapter 9—Access to

Workers in the Fields by Labor Organizations;

2) That the Defendants notify all their employees

‘or agents administering the Agricultural Labor Relations

=

Act of this Order and that the application, implementa-

tion and/or enforcement of said Emergency Regulations

are hereby enjoined and restrained;

3) That a three-judge District Court be convened

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 2281 and 2284 to hear

and etermine [sic] this controversy;

4) That bond be filed by Plaintiffs herein in the

sum of $10,000.00 as security.

This Order shall be effective until Sept. 12th, 1975,

at 10:00 AM and not longer without the further Order

of the Court.

A hearing shall be held on Plaintiffs’ application

for preliminary injunction on Sept. 12th, 1975, at

10:00 AM.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that service of a

copy of this Order, together with a copy of the Com-

plaint and affidavits in support thereof, be forthwith

made upon the Defendants in any manner provided

by the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, and that

proof of such service be filed herein.

This Order issued at Fresno, CA, this 3rd day

of Sept., 1975. 11:35 a.m.

M. D. CROCKER

United States District Judge

By: /s/ G. Lucas

Deputy Clerk

=— =

APPENDIX E

Interim Order.

United States District Court, Eastern District of Cali-

fornia.

Upon due consideration the court issues the following

order:

1. The Temporary Restraining Order issued in this

matter on September 3, 1975 is hereby continued in

effect until 12:00 o’clock noon on September 10, 1975,

at which time it will expire. The court will consider

withdrawing the restraining order at an earlier time

upon being advised by any party in this proceeding

that a state court, upon application of a party in

this proceeding, made a determination that a temporary

restraining order containing similar terms will or will

not be issued, said determination to be made after

the state court has afforded such notice and hearing

as is appropriate under the circumstances.

2. This court will abstain from adjudicating all

issues in this case until they are determined by the

state courts of the State of California.

3. The hearing now set in this case for September

12, 1975 at 10:00 o’clock a.m., is continued until

further notice.

4. A more complete order containing the above

terms will be issued by the court at a later date.

/s/ Anthony M. Kennedy,

U.S. Circuit Judge

/s/ Thomas J. MacBride

~~ =

APPENDIX F

Order.

In the United States District Court, for the Eastern

District of California.

Pandol & Sons, a California Partnership; Jasmine

Vineyards, Inc., a California Corporation, Plaintiffs,

vs. Edmund G. Brown, Jr., Governor of the State

of California; Roger Mahony, individually and as Chair-

man-Designate of the Agricultural Labor Relations

Board; Leroy Chatfield, Richard Johnson, Joseph Or-

tega, and Joseph Grodin, individually and as Members-

Designate of the Agricultural Labor Relations Board;

and Walter Kintz, individually and as General Counsel-

Designate of the Agricultural Labor Relations Board,

Defendants. Civil No. F-75-165.

Filed: September 10, 1975.

This cause came to be heard before a three-judge

court convened pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2284, and

consisting of the Honorable Anthony M. Kennedy,

Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit, the Honorable Thomas J. MacBride,

Chief Judge of the United States District Court for

the Eastern District of California and the Honorable

M. D. Crocker, Judge of the United States District

Court for the Eastern District of California, at 4:00

p.m., Friday, Sept*mber 5, 1975. The court considered

whether the Temporary Restraining Order issued here-

with on September 3, 1975, should be continued in

effect.

Upon due consideration the court issues the following

order:

1. The Temporary Restraining Order issued in this

matter on September 3, 1975, is hereby continued

—_—

in effect until 12:00 noon on September 10, 1975,

at which time it will expire. The court will consider

withdrawing the restraining order at an earlier date

upon being advised by any party in this proceeding

that a state court, upon application of a party in

this proceeding, has determined to issue or not issue

a Temporary Restraining Order containing similar

terms. Such determination should be made after the

state court has afforded such notice and hearing as

is appropriate under all the circumstances of this case.

2. This court will abstain from adjudicating all

issues in this case until they are further determined

by the courts of the State of California.

3. Since this case raises questions involving possible

impairment of Federal Constitutional rights, this court

continues to maintain jurisdiction. Upon application

of any party, the court will consider whether further

orders should be made in the exercise of such jurisdic-

tion.

4. The hearing now set in this case for September

12, 1975, at 10:00 a.m. is continued until further

notice.

/s/ Anthony M. Kennedy

ANTHONY M. KENNEDY,

UNITED STATES CIRCUIT JUDGE

/s/ Thomas J. MacBride

THOMAS J. MacBRIDE

CHIEF UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

M. D. CROCKER

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

—- =

APPENDIX G

Order to Show Cause and Temporary

Restraining Order.

Superior Court of California, County of Tulare.

Pandol & Sons, a California Partnership; Jasmine

Vineyards, Inc., a California Corporation, Plaintiffs,

vs. Roger Mahony, Chairman-Designate of the Agricul-

tural Labor Relations Board; Leroy Chatfield, Richard

Johnson, Joseph Ortega, and Joseph Grodin, Members-

Designate of the Agricultural Labor Relations Board;

and Walter Kintz, General Counsel-Designate of the

Agricultural Labor Relations Board, Defendants. No.

80521.

Filed: September 10, 1975.

On reading the verified Complaint, supporting Dec-

larations and Points and Authorities on file in this

action, and it appearing from these that this is a

proper case for issuance of an Order to Show Cause

and Temporary Restraining Order, and that unless a

temporary restraining order issues Plaintiffs will suffer

irreparable injury before the matter can be heard on

notice; Now, Therefore

It is hereby ORDERED that the Defendants ROGER

MAHONY, individually and as Chairman-Designate of

the Agricultural Labor Relations Board, LEROY

CHATFIELD, RICHARD JOHNSON, JOSEPH OR-

TEGA, and JOSEPH GRODIN, individually and as

Members-Designate of the Agricultural Labor Relations

Board, and WALTER KINTZ, individually and as

General Counsel-Designate of the Agricultural Labor

Relations Board, and the Agricultural Labor Relations

Board, appear before this court on September 17,

1975, in the Courtroom of Department 2, located

at Tulare County Courthouse, South Mooney Boulevard

—_ 70

and West Mineral King Avenue, V

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Jurisdictional Statement — Kubo v. Agricultural Labor Relations Board · 429 U.S. 802 | Frix