Petition — E-T Industries, Inc. v. Whittaker Corp.

Supreme Court brief1976

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ee

Supreme C dt. n Se

‘2 FILED %,

| JUN T 1976

IN THE WECHAEL RODAK, JR., @LERK

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OcTOBER TERM, 1975.

Ne 45-1744

E-T INDUSTRIES, INC.,

Petitioner,

VS.

WHITTAKER CORP. anp DES PLAINES GRAND

AUTOMOTIVE SPEED CENTER, INC.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THY

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT.

IRWIN C. ALTER,

PHILLIP A. WEISS,

ALTER AND WEISS,

2460 John Hancock Center,

Chicago, Illinois 60611,

Attorneys for Petitioner.

Of Counsel:

MELVIN E. PEARL,

DONALD E. EGAN,

4100 Mid-Continentai Plaza,

55 East Monroe Street,

Chicago, Illinois 60603,

RICHARD EUGENE DICK,

2460 John Hancock Center,

Chicago, Illinois 60611.

Gunthorp-Warren Printing Company, Chicago e Financial 6-6565

TABLE OF CONTENTS.

PAGE

es I in oe. cock hebdeitiuck ited <tén ii

DT <b ttsty ch Gbasgnedbhwee dnd dbeceadoneees ii

PL: J94-64¥Gn6¢00 ¢0Rnses. oWeh 6h come eeenhe iti

ee ee ne iv

EY vcecdednave dw tnevadadedéxéouseann 1

build ccies wks ones ceaneeuemmeiaades 2

NED 5 sire so 6b Fe kite ee dds cow seceees 2

EEE 6 isos on 0060 00 cutatneds cndeeathe 3

SE Es oc éenddeee te ctaeesensacduokas 3

Reasons for Allowance of Writ ...............e00.- 6

1. The Conflict Among the Circuits as to the Extent

of Review of the Issue of Non-Obviousness Should

SD SR aie bc dc edie could deuce 6

A. Appeals Court Retrial of Scope and Content

Oe GT PD 0.0.0 env Op ewes Sanm eeameeves 10

B. Appeals Court Retrial of the Differences Be-

Oe Ce SNS EN Se Ee Cee

BE ak cncuch dad Mheicah telah cise enies 14

C. Appeals Court Retrial of the Level of Ord-

inary Skill in the Pertinent Act .......... 15

2. The Decision of the Appeals Court in Reviewing

the Trial Court’s Findings of Patent Validity Is in

Conflict with the Pronouncements of This Court

Relating to 35 U. S. C. Section 103 .......... 16

3. The Appeals Court Incorrectly “peneguaines

Case at Bar from U. S. v. Adams ............ 20

APPENDIX.

Opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Seventh

GY oh wade a Ris 040s SRO Ee Secs ec cceaeecces App. 1

Opinion of the District Court for the Northern District of

Illinois, Eastern Division ........cccccessceees App. 9

Order of the Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

Denying Rehearing en banc ..........20eeee08: App. 18

Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc., Opinion of the United States

Supreme Court, Dated April 20, 1976 .......... App. 19

SUPPLEMENTAL APPENDIX.

es tees TE, DD 8 kc reccvescnvesedvecwe's App. 24

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES.

Cases.

Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Com-

pany, 396 U. S. 57 (1969) ......0..eeeeeeees 17, 18, 20

Blair v. Dowd’s, Inc., 438 F. 2d 136 (D.C. Cir. 1970) .. 9

Blohm & Voss A. G. v. The Prudential-Grace Lines, Inc.,

489 F. 2d 231 (4th Cir. 1973) cert. denied 419 U. S.

i PPE ET TLE ere TTT Ter TT Tee 8

Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1 (1966) .......

error er TT TTTT Te Te TTT Tt 6, 7, 9, 10, 17, 18, 19, 20

Hadfield v. Ryan Equipment Company, 456 F. 2d 1218

Cs Ge. GUD 0 0.00 0 cde Sew os sc Five pesdesices 8

Hensley v. Esco, 375 F. 2d 432 (8th Cir. 1967) Tete 8

Hotchkiss v. Greenwood, 52 U. S. 248 (1851) ....... 17, 18

Illinois Tool Works, Inc. v. Continental Can Company,

273 F. Supp. 94 (N. D. Ill. 1967), affd. 397 F. 2d 517

Ce PTT a ee rer Ter 11

Koppers Company, Inc. v. S & S Corrugated Paper Machin-

ery Company, Inc., 517 F. 2d 1182 (2nd Cir. 1975) .. 9

Moore v. Shultz, 491 F. 2d 294 (10th Cir. 1974) cert

GES Gee We Ee COO OEE ccc tees cee etescce 8

Panther Pumps & Equipment Company, Inc. v. Hydrocraft,

Inc., 468 F. 2d 225 (7th Cir. 1972) .........2.05. 8

Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc.., ......... . U.S. ...... 189 U. S. P. Q.

GP WE o.d'e'b sv 000s 00b0006s00000060Wes 17, 18, 20

Shanklin Corp. v. Springfield Photo Mount Company, 521

F, 2d 609 (ist Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 44 L. W. 3471

SUEY 44046900 b0k6b.0kbdddeeeabdess ks Colmes 9

Trio Process Corporation v. L. Goldstein’s Sons, Inc., 461

ee, Ce ee EE ncvecsnenanessescons se, §

United States v. Adams, 383 U. S. 39 (1966) ...... 2, 20, 21

Westwood Chemical, Inc. v. The Owens-Corning Fiberglas

Corp., 445 F. 2d 911 (6th Cir. 1971), cert. denied,

Ga We Eee, GHPED 6 co nccncccccsenasecesecess 8

White v. Mar-Bel, Inc., 509 F. 2d 287 (Sth Cir. 1975)... 8

Statutes of the United States.

ap GS. G. & Gees cccevces weneeeameesGeedewes 2

ees Oe rn ci a cebbewekbse deel uses 66 2

ee Os es SED 9 0040 0:0 0665000655006 6005068 2

3 & ER rrr, shee aad 1-2, 3, 6, 7, 19

Constitution of the United States.

Ray B Bea GS GES si iiiccctctsccccucvests’

iv

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

gi IN THE

ASA Pe eee eee 8,18 ,

Supreme Court of the Anited States

Publications. OcTOBER TERM, 1976.

5 Fabens Law PURI. «os.6s 0k000 cans tusneeenne 7

3 Patent Law and Practice, White, Patent Litigation: No.

PUeeeeD GG THUG oun 04450080 000 0n aennnens 7

Sherman, “Obviousness: A Question of Law or Fact?” 51 J.

Pat. Off. Soc'y 547 (1969) ....--.ccccceeceeece. 7 ET INDUSTRIES, INC., iets

Wepner, “Appellate Review of Patentability,” 56 J. Pat. vs.

Ge Say Bee CHSC ee 6+ cesdeenesecue see 7

WHITTAKER CORP. AND DES PLAINES GRAND

AUTOMOTIVE SPEED CENTER, INC.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI.

Petitioner respectfully prays that a Writ of Certiorari be

granted to review the Judgment and Opinion of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit entered on

September 23, 1975, petition for rehearing denied March

4, 1976 in Appeal No. 74-1924 entitled E-T Industries, Inc. v.

Whittaker Corporation and Des Plaines Grand Automotive

Speed Center, Inc.

OPINIONS BELOW.

The opinion of the Court of Appeals reprinted in the

Appendix at App. 1 through App. 8 is officially reported at

523 F. 2d 636 (7th Cir. 1975). The opinion and order of

2

the United States District Court for the Northern District of

Illinois, Eastern Division, dated October 31, 1974, reprinted in

the Appendix at App. 9 through App. 17, is unofficially re-

ported at 183 U. S. P. Q. 690 (N. D. Ill. 1974).'

The decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Seventh Circuit reversing the Trial Court was entered on

September 25, 1975 and the Petition for Rehearing en banc was

denied on March 4, 1976. The Order denying the Petition for

Rehearing is reprinted at App. 18.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U. S. C.

Sections 1254(1), 2101(c) and 2101(e).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED.

1. Whether the conflict of decisions that exists among the

Circuits as to the standard of Appellate review to be applied in

judging Graham findings dealing with the issue of non-obvious-

ness should be resolved?

2. Whether the decision of the Appeals Court in reversing

the Trial Court is in conflict with the recent pronouncements of

this Court that interpret 35 U. S. C. Section 103?

3. Whether in reversing the Trial Court, the Appeals Court

erroneously distinguished the case at bar from this Court’s pro-

nouncement in United States v. Adams?

STATUTES INVOLVED.

Title 35 U. S. C. Section 103, which requires consideration

in reviewing this Petition states that:

“A patent may not be obtained though the invention is

not identically disclosed or described as set forth in Section

1. Hereinafter, references to the Appendix are designated as

“App.” with a page number.

3

102 of this Title if the differences between the subject

matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such

that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious

at the time the invention was made to a person having

ordinary skill in the art to which the subject matter

pertains.”

STATEMENT OF FACTS.

This action was commenced on October 29, 1969 with the

filing of a complaint in which the petitioner herein, as plaintiff,

sought an injunction and damages arising from defendants’

infringement of United States Letters Patent No. 3,329,468

issued on July 4, 1967 to Richard D. Beith.? Defendants by

their answer denied infringement and raised the affirmative

defense of invalidity. Trial was held in April of 1974 wherein

there were numerous witnesses for both sides, documents and

physical exhibits and extensive post-trial briefs. On October 31,

1974 the District Court handed down its opinion holding that

the Beith patent was both valid and infringed (App. 9-17).

Defendants appealed from the Trial Court’s Decision to the

Appeals Court for the Seventh Circuit and on September 23,

1975 that Court reversed the Trial Court’s Judgment on the

ground that the subject matter of the Beith patent was obvious

and therefore the patent was invalid under 35 U. S. C. Section

103 (App. 1-8). Plaintiff then sought a rehearing en banc.

The Court of Appeals denied the request for rehearing in an

order dated March 11, 1976 (App. 18).

This Petition for a Writ of Certiorari seeks review of the

Appeals Court’s errors of law, as well as clarification of the

conflict that exists among the Circuits concerning the issue of

non-obviousness.

E-T Industries, Inc. (hereinafter called “Plaintiff’ or “E-T”)

is a California corporation having its principal place of business

——r A ,

on 24-29 and ia hereinafter Bede wb mp as the Beith

patent.

4

in California. It is now a division of F. D. I. Inc., an automotive

after-market manufacturer. Originally, the action was brought

against Ansen Automotive Engineering, a wholly-owned sub-

sidiary of Whittaker Corporation. Sometime after commence-

ment of the litigation, Ansen was merged into Whittaker as a

division. After trial, Whittaker Corporation was substituted as a

defendant for Ansen. The other defendant, Des Plaines Grand

Automotive Speed Center, Inc., is an Illinois corporation having

its principal place of business in Illinois (hereinafter Whittaker

and its distributor, Grand, will be referred to as “Ansen” or

“defendants” ).

As the Beith patent (App. 19-24) sets forth, wheels are

commonly secured to automobiles by means of a plurality of

bolts or lugs projecting from a brake drum or axle flange, and

cooperating lug nuts. There has been no standardization of the

arrangement of such wheel lugs among different auto makers.

The patent states that a main objective of the invention is to

provide a wheel that is both decorative and universal. The

wheel incorporates means for mounting it on brake drums hav-

ing lug bolts arranged in bolt circles of the three most popular

diameters for automobiles, i.e., 4% inches, 4% inches and

5 inches.

The specification sets forth several specific embodiments of

the invention wherein a plurality of elongated rabbeted lug

apertures are formed in the wheel. Adapters are used to posi-

tively index the wheel on the lug bolts as well as to clamp the

wheel to the brake drum. The adapters are utilized in coopera-

tion with the lug apertures and rabbeted seats of the wheel for

selecting a desired one of three lug bolt circle patterns. The

patent also teaches the concept of obtaining three different lug

bolt patterns by reorienting adapters which have off-center

holes formed therein to obtain two lug bolt diameters (4% in.

and 5 in.) and by utilizing adapters with centered holes in

place of the adapters with off-center holes to obtain the middle

diameter of 4% in.

5

Prior to the Beith invention, the industry had failed to

provide an acceptable system that would eliminate the necessity

of providing a different wheel for each lug bolt circle. One un-

successful solution proposed and used in the past featured a mas-

sive adapter plate providing circularly spaced pre-drilled aper-

tures to fit on lug bolts of a specified lug bolt circle diameter, as

well as lug bolts arranged in a circle of another standard

diameter, such as 5% in. This required the manufacturer to

stock wheels having apertures suited for fitting onto lug

bolts arranged in a circle of 5% in. diameter. Rather than

stocking three sizes of wheels, three sizes of adapter plates were

stocked. Defendant Ansen chose this unsuccessful solution

for adapting its wheels to the three different bolt circle

diameters. Subsequently, Ansen abandoned the adapter plate

device and deliberately infringed the Beith patent. Another

unsuccessful attempt at a universal wheel is the Adair patent,

No. 2,590,363, cited and considered by the Patent Office which

taught an emergency wheel for temporary use with elongated

slots but lacking, for example, the positive locating and selecting

features taught in the Beith patent.

At trial, defendants offered evidence regarding alleged activ-

ities with respect to an isolated, abandoned experiment in the

form of the alleged Exhibit A-1 wheel (hereinafter also referred

to as the “Fujii wheel”). Defendants attempted to show that

the alleged Fujii wheel was devised by Ansen as a universal

wheel prior to the Beith invention. Extensive testimony at trial

revealed great doubt as to the time of manufacture, and even the

very existence of the Fujii wheel. Consequently, the Trial Court

found that the alleged activities of Ansen with respect to the

Fujii wheel did not meet the required evidentiary standard of

“clear and convincing” proof to be considered as invalidating

the Beith patent. The Trial Court found that there was no

documentary evidence which confirmed the existence of the

Fujii wheel at the time alleged. The Court further found that

the oral testimony of defendants’ witnesses, Johnson and Fujii,

6

was unreliable in view of the many inconsistent and impeaching

statements made under oath by both of the witnesses.

The Trial Court found that the Beith patent was valid and

infringed. Specific factual findings were made by the Trial Court

on the various factual underpinnings identified in Graham v. John

Deere, 383 U. S. 1 (1966): scope and content of the prior art;

differences between the prior art and the claims at issue; and the

leve! of ordinary skill of the pertinent art (see Findings 21

through 31, App. 13-14).

Defendants appealed the Trial Court’s decision to the Appeals

Court which, after retrying al! the factual findings of the

Trial Court, reversed the Trial Court as well as the Patent Office,

and held the Beith patent invalid for obviousness under 35

U. S. C. 103. In holding that the patent was obvious, the

Appeals Court, without finding the Trial Court's findings of fact

clearly erroneous or even erroneous at all, reversed the Trial

Court’s factual findings on the scope and content of the prior art,

the differences between the prior art, and the level of ordinary

skill. It is these unwarranted and arbitrary actions that are the

subject of this Petition.

REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE OF WRIT.

1. The Conflict Among the Circuits as to the Extent of Review

of the Issue of Non-obviousness Should Be Resolved.

Ten years after the Graham decision which was supposed to

clarify matters, there is still a conflict among the decisions of

the Circuits as to the standard of Appellate review of the

issue of non-obviousness under 35 U. S. C. 103. One group of

Circuits utilizes the “clearly erroneous” standard considering the

determination of non-obviousness as purely factual; another

group views the standard of review as being equivalent to that

used for purely legal questions; finally, there are still other

Circuits that employ standards of review that vacillate between

7

these two extremes as well as deal with patent validity as a

mixed question of fact and law.

Both the law commentators as well as this Court have recog-

nized the confusion that has been engendered by these various

interpretations for the Graham case as to what extent the

elements of patent validity are to be considered questions of

law or questions of fact.* A review of the Appeals Court decision

in the case at bar clearly shows that the Court erroneously

3. The Commission on Revision of the Federal Court Appellate

System, in its report entitled “Structure and Internal Procedures;

Recommendations for Change” 67 FRD 195 (June, 1975) recog-

nized the conflict by stating:

“The validity of a I ng depends on several components, in-

cluding novelty, utility, and non-obviousness (invention). The

first two are customarily held to present issues of fact. How-

ever, the circuits are dividend on whether the element of non-

obviousness is a factual question that may be submitted to a jury,

or an issue of law to be decided by the judge alone. The ques-

tion turns in large part on the proper interpretation of the

relevant Supreme Court decisions. At least three circuits have

held that non-obviousness is an issue of law, while the Tenth

Circuit has adhered to its view that non-obviousness is a factual

question. The issue is litigated frequently, as a review of the

decisions in a recent Fifth Circuit opinion makes clear. In the

most recent Tenth Circuit case, in which the court acknowledged

the conflict, the Supreme Court denied certiorari. Justice

Douglas, in an opinion dissenting from the denial, took note of

the differing views among the circuits.” (supra, at 297) [Cita-

tions omitted; emphasis ours.]

Existence of the inter-circuit inconsistency in dealing with the issue

of non-obviousness has drawn considerable attention from the law

commentators. See 3 Patent Law and Practice, White, Patent Litiga-

tion: Procedure and Tactics § 7.05 [3]; 1 Patent Law Perspectives

§ A.1 [1] (Rel. No. 6/1974); Sherman, “Obviousness: A tion

of Law or Fact?”, 51 J. Pat. Off. Soc’y. 547 (1969); Wepner,

Appellate Review of Patentability, 56 J. Pat. Off. Soc’y, 216 (1974).

A survey of recent circuit decisions highlights the conflict:

Tenth Circuit: Moore v. Shultz, 491, F. 2d 294 (10th Cir. 1974),

cert. denied, 419 U. S. 930, at 300 (1974); “Thus, within the Tenth

Circuit, novelty, utility, and non-obviousness are held to ~—

factual determinations.” See also the dissent to the denial for Writ

of Certiorari, 419 U. S. 930, at 932 (1974) wherein Justice Douglas

(Continued on next page)

justified its excursion into the realm of fact finding regarding the

Graham factual underpinnings on the ground that obviousness

is ultimately a question of law, thereby clearly violating the

mandate of Graham as to factual underpinnings as well as

accepted rules of Appellate review. Initially, the Appeals Court

expressly complimented the Trial Court’s analysis of the issue

of non-obviousness:

(Continued from preceding page)

argued in favor of granting Certiorari to prevent “haphazard appli-

cation of the statutory and Constitutional standard”.

Ninth Circuit: Hensley v. Esco, 375 F. 2d 432 (9th Cir. 1967);

here, the question of non-obviousness was held to be a question of

law, and the Appeals Court upheld the lower Court’s application of

the law to the Graham factual underpinnings.

Eighth Circuit: Hadfield v. Ryan Equipment Company, 456 F. 2d

1218, at 1219 (8th Cir. 1972); “. . . we observed that while the

‘several basic factual inquiries’ are to be reviewed within the con-

fines of Rule 52(a) as findings of fact, the ultimate determination

of obviousness vel nan, is to be reviewed as a question of law.

[Citation omitted.] Under these principles the district court’s findings

with respect to the basic factual inquiries will be sustained unless

clearly erroneous, and we will render an independent judgment on

the issuc of obviousness.”

Seventh Circuit: Panther Pumps & Equipment Co., Inc. v. Hydro-

craft, Inc., 468 F. 2d 225, at 227 (7th Cir. 1972); “Unquestionably,

the issue of validity is a question of law. Moreover, as this Court

squarely held, after considering the matter en banc, the issue of ob-

viousness is also a question of law.”

Sixth Circuit: Westwood Chemical, Inc. v. The Owens-Corning

Fiberglas Corp., 445 F.2d 911 (6th Cir. 1971), cert denied, 405

U. S. 917 (1972); non-obviousness is held to be a question of law

based on the Graham factual determinations.

Fifth Circuit: White v. Mar-Bel, Inc., 509 F. 2d 287, at 290 (Sth

Cir. 1975); “That obviousness is a question of law cannot be

doubted, but it must rest upon factual underpinning.”

Fourth Circuit: Blohm and Voss A. G. Vv. The Prudential-Grace

Lines, Inc., 489 F. 2d 231 (4th Cir. 1973), cert. denied 419 U. S.

840 (1974); non-obviousness is characterized as a question of law.

The dissent in Blohm, however, characterizes the majority’s analysis

cf non-obviousness as “a de novo factual inquiry”, upsetting the

trial court’s findings, thus encapsulating and perhaps best typifying

the confused approach taken in resolving the question non-

obviousness in view of the required factual determinations set forth

in Graham (supra, at 248).

(Continued on next page)

9

“There is no basis for criticizing the district court’s analy-

sis of this invention. He followed the procedure man-

dated by Graham vs. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 17-18,

86 S.Ct. 684, 15 L.Ed. 2d 545, [sic] his findings evi-

denced a thorough understanding of the invention and

the prior art, and his judgment on the ultimate issue of

validity is entitled to special respect because of his better

opportunity to have the exhibits explained to him by expert

witnesses and by the arguments of counsel. Nevertheless,

(Continued from preceding page)

Third Circuit: Trio Process Corporation v. L. Goldstein’s Sons,

Inc., 461 F. 2d 66 (3rd Cir. 1972); Non-obviousness is an ultimate

legal conclusion, and the trial judge’s ultimate legal conclusion as

to validity carried with it the necessary implication that the differ-

ences between the invention and the prior art were obvious to a

rson having ordinary skill in the pertinent art, since the trial

judge’s findings indicate that he followed the tests mandated by

Gr

Second Circuit: Koppers Co., Inc. v. S & S Corrugated Paper

Machinery Co., Inc., 517 F. 2d 1182, at 1189 (2nd Cir. 1975);

“This latter conclusion of obviousness is a matter of law for appel-

late review rather than a finding of fact. [Citations omitted.] We

rr reviewed the record to reach an independent cenclu-

sion aw”.

First Circuit: Shanklin Cork vy. Springfield Photo Mount Com-

pany, 521 F. 2d 609, at 616 (ist Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 44

L. W. 3471 (1975); “Within this context [factual underpinnings

required by Graham] the determination of non obviousness is a

_——_ of fact [citations omitted] and this court may not set aside’

e district court’s findings unless they are clearly erroneous [cita-

tions omitted)”.

D. C. Circuit: Blair vy. Dowd’s Inc., 438 F. 2d 136 (D. C. Cir.

1970); Non-obviousness is a question of law, and the trial judge

correctly made findings of fact mandated by Graham and drew a

proper legal conclusion therefrom.

The view a non-obviousness to be a question of law has

found support in the D. C., Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth,

Seventh, Eighth, and Ninth Circuits. The First and Tenth Circuits

persist in treating the issue as one of fact. However, even among —

those circuits treating the question as one of law, application of

a standard of Appellate review is far from consistent, resulting in

instances where Appeals Courts have been tempted to form their own

judgments as to fact issues more properly relegated to the trial courts

which should properly be disturbed only if clearly erroneous. See

23 ALR Fed. 326 at 352 for a discussion of the ofttimes tortuous

and inconsistent approach taken by the courts.

10

the obviousness question raises an issue of law on which

we have an opportunity to make an independent judg-

ment.” (523 F. 2d at 641, App. 6.)

The Appeals Court used an erroneous standard of review in

making its own independent findings with respect to the Graham

“factual underpinnings” on the scope and content of the prior

art, the differences between the prior art and the subject matter

of the Beith patent, and the level of ordinary skill in the

pertinent art.

A. Appeals Court Retrial of Scope and Content of Prior Art.

As to the matter of scope and content of the prior art, the

Appeals Court erroneously found that the rejected teachings of

the Fujii wheel (Exhibit A-1) and the other activities of

Ansen were part of the prior art. See, for example, the Appeals

Court Opinion wherein the court stated:

“At about the same time that Beith developed the patented

wheel, several employees of defendant Ansen were experi-

menting with the ‘Fujii wheel’ . . .” (523 F. 2d at 638,

App. 3.)

Also, the court stated that:

“We have also considered the relevance of the Fujii wheel.

The fact that Ansen also experimented with enlarged lug

Openings and inserts is consistent with our conclusion

that the concept was obvious . . .” (523 F. 2d at 642,

App. 7.)

The Trial Court had specifically found that the Fujii wheel

was not part of the prior art:

“Defendant sought to invalidate the Beith patent on the

grounds that Ansen’s ‘Fujii’ [A-1] wheel constituted prior

art in the public sphere as contemplated in 35 U.S.C.

§ 102(a). This contention is rejected for several reasons.

First, Ansen did not sufficiently establish that the A-1

wheel, assuming arguendo that it was anticipatory, was

in the public domain one year prior to the date of Beith’s

invention. This is highlighted by the conflicting testimony

11

of Ansen’s employees as to dates and exactly what was

done to the wheel. Also, the lack of documentation and

the casual manner in which the wheel was haudled detract

from the testimony’s credibility and weight.

“Second, the Court believes that Ansen’s use of the A-1

wheel, assuming its existence at the time claimed, was

merely an abandoned experiment. No records were kept

or formal tests made. The wheel was out of Ansen’s control

for several years and was kept in a storage room. It was

not shown to Ostergaard, who was aiding Ansen in its

wheel development program. Ansen never pursued the

manufacture of the wheel nor did it sell or attempt to sell

even one wheel, and in fact abandoned it in favor of other

types of wheels. See, e.g., Illinois Tool Works, Inc. v.

Continental Can Co., 273 F. Supp. 94, 154 USPQ 401

(N. D. Ill. 1967), affd, 397 F.2d 517, 158 USPQ 437

(7th Cir. 1968).

“Third, the Court believes that the evidence is not sufficient

to show that the Fujii wheel ‘anticipated’ Beith’s inven-

tion... .” (183 U. S. P. Q. at 697, App. 16) (Emphasis

ours. )

In further redeterminating the scope and content of the

prior art the Appeals Court erroneously relied on the Adair

and Siler patents—patents cited, considered and rejected by

the Patent Office as well as by the Trial Court. The Trial Court’s

Findings of Fact 21, 22, 28, 30 and 31 stated inter alia:

“21. The most pertinent patents relied on by the defend-

ants are demonstrative of the scope and content of the

prior art. These were the Adair patent (No. 2,590,363,

issued in March 1952); the Vachon et al. patent (No.

3,166,357, issued in January 1965); the Martin patent

(No. 3,025,109, issued in March 1962); the Hunter patent

(No. 3,207,557, issued in September 1965); the Laycock

British patent (No. 859,193, issued in January 1961);

the Italian patent (No. 579,294, issued in May 1958);

and the Crowther patent (No. 1,940,675, issued in Decem-

ber 1933). All of these patents, except Crowther, were

cited by the U.S. Patent Office during the prosecution of

the Beith patent.

12

“22. The Adair patent discloses a universal emergency

wheel having elongated lug bolt apertures in the web.

The apertures are radially elongated. Certain of the aper-

tures are enlarged, i.e., the width thereof is much larger

than the diameter of the lug bolt so that the lug bolts

fit juxtaposed to one side of the apertures. There is no

easy way of positively locating and centering the Adair

wheel on the hub. Also, there is no adapter utilized or

taught by Adair; this is noticeably lacking. Since there

is no adapter, there can be no seat region for an adapter.

The lug bolt apertures each have a separate chamfer

at each end and a separate chamfer in the middie. The

chamfers are to match the frusto-conical portion of the

lug bolt nuts, but act to bend the lug bolts if the lug

bolt nuts are tightened to the required torque. The inventor

Adair testified that the sample wheels which were manu-

factured did not have chamfers. Accordingly, Adair could

not possibly have looked on the chamfers shown in the

patent as necessary in his wheel for location.

Furthermore, the Adair wheel does not provide a reliable

wheel location, since it depends on the visual placement

of the bolts on the enlarged opening and the friction

created by the nut on the opening for positioning. The test

which defendant ran on the Adair wheel disclosed that

the wheel did not have a high level of reliability. Its rate

of malfunction also was high. This supports plaintiffs’ {sic}

proposition and the inventor's conception that the wheel

was meant only for emergency use and could not be relied

upon as a permanent wheel.

“28. The Crowther patent was not cited by the United

States Patent Office; however, it is far less important or

pertinent than those patents that were cited by the Patent

Office. Crowther is not concerned with a universal wheel;

rather, it is concerned merely with detachably mounting

wheels on hubs. Crowther provides a bolt nut having a

convex split collar which cooperates with the concave

contour of the seat around the lug bolt aperture to over-

come any eccentricity caused by the attachment of the

wheel to the hub. Crowther’s collar is neitner designed

to, nor does it perform the function of the Beith adapter.

Therefore, it is neither the adapter nor the equivalent of

13

the adapter. Also, Crowther fails to teach lug bolt apertures

of a size to accommodate lug bolts arranged in different

lug bolt circle patterns. The statutory presumption of

validity of the Beith patent is strengthened since the most

pertinent prior art relied upon by the defendants consists

of patents cited and considered by the Patent Office plus

- others that were less pertinent than what was considered

in the prosecution of the Beith patent in the Patent Office.

“30. After studying all of the prior art in the record, in

addition to the aforementioned patents, the Court finds that

there has been shown no prior art of record that includes

any patents or written publications which overcome the

statutory presumption of patent validity by clearly and con-

vincingly proving that all the elements of the Beith patent

were ever used or taught as claimed in the Beith patent

prior to Beith’s invention.

“31. Nowhere in the prior art shown is there any prior

patent or any combination of prior art patents that would

enable one skilled in the art to construct the Beith inven-

tion. Further, there is no justification for combining and

modifying the patents for anticipation as the defendants

assert. The prior art patents do not suggest or teach how

they can be combined and modified in one particular way

as Beith taught without utilizing the teachings of the Beith

patent or without exercising invention. It should also be

noted that there was no pattern in the development of the

art which led to Beith’s invention. In fact, the trend in

development was toward the use of adapter plates rather

than working with the lug bolt apertures themselves. Thus,

even if individually the component parts of Beith were

known, they are combined in such a way as to create a

synergistic effect.” (183 U. S. P. Q. at 694-695, App.

13-14) (Emphasis ours.)

Despite these specific determinations, the Appeals Court, with-

out setting these findings aside as clearly erroneous, decided that

the Adair and Siler patents taught “the essential parts [features]”

of the Beith invention (523 F. 2d at 641, App. 6).

Further, the Appeals Court, without setting aside any findings

of fact, also relied on an allegedly erased drawing of an inde-

14

pendent engineer, Ostergaard, who did some work for Ansen

(523 F. 2d at 638, App. 3). The Trial Court had found that this

evidence was of doubtful reliability (183 U. S. P. Q. at 693,

App. 12).

B. Appeals Court Retrial of the Differences Between the Claimed

Subject Matter and Prior Art.

The Appeals Court’s erroneous retrial of the differences be-

tween the claims of the Beith invention and the prior art is in

sharp contrast to the pertinent findings of the Trial Court. For

example, the Trial Court found that an essential difference is the

capability of using the adapter to selectively enable the wheel to

fit a plurality of standard bolt diameters when the adapters

are reoriented and seated in different positions (183 U. S. P. Q.

at 695, App. 14). The Appeals Court. on the same characteris-

tic, stated:

“No particular importance is attached to the reversible

character of the insert containing the eccentric hole because

the patent would equally cover the use of three or more

separate inserts, none of which was reversible.” (523 F. 2d

at 641, Footnote 14, App. 6.)

The Appeals Court relied on a misapprehension of fact as to

the lack of importance of the dual orientation capability of the

adapters where it characterized Beith’s conception as having only

“two essential parts [features]” (523 F. 2d at 641, App. 6).

(1) enlarging the lug [bolt] apertures; and

(2) effectively reducing the size of the lug bolt apertures

to enable them to receive the normal lug bolts.

The Appeals Court completely ignored the unique features

provided by the rabbetted apertured seat region of the wheel and

adapter combination as defined in the claims, such as: (1) the

selectivity or different bolt patterns due to the capability of seat-

ing the adapters in at least two orientations; and (2) the auto-

matic selectivity provided by non-circular adapters without visual

15

orientation. In this regard, the Court is directed, for example, to

Claim 1 of the patent in suit which contains the following

language:

“.. , the adapter receiving seat region and adapter means

formed to allow the seat region to snugly receive the

adapter means in at least two orientations . . .” (App. 29).

Both of these differences which were totally overlooked by the

Appeals Court are set forth in Findings of Fact 32 and 33 as

well as in the claims of the Beith patent (183 U. S. P. Q. at

695, App. 14).

Cc. ee

Findings 34 and 35 of the Trial Court distinctly and clearly

resolved the “level of ordinary skill” based on many factual find-

ings. The Appeals Court seemingly agreed with Finding 34

which states inter alia:

“The level of ordinary skill in the automotive wheel field

is such that those skilled in the art would not have gone in

the direction that Beith went at the time of his inven-

tion...” (183 U. S. P. Q. at 695, App. 14).

Finding 35 states inter alia:

“. . . In addition, as required by 35 U.S.C. 103, this Court

has given full and careful consideration to the scope and

content of the prior art, with respect to universal wheels,

and therefore, to the differences between the prior art and

the claimed subject matter of the patent, and to the level of

ordinary skill in the art, with emphasis on the actual per-

formance of men of at least ordinary skill. Against this

background, the Court finds that the claimed subject matter

would not have been obvious to a man of ordinary skill in

the art at the time the invention was made, in view of the

prior art asserted by defendants, taken either singly or in

combination. Moreover, the finding by this Court of non-

obviousness is reinforced by the objective evidence of

patentability present in this case, including the recognition

16

of great merit paid to the invention by Filter Dynamics

International, Inc., as shown by their investment in the

patent, and by the commercial success of the patented

invention, the long-felt need for an acceptable universal

wheel, the prior failures on the part of workers (such as

Johnson) of at least ordinary skill in the art, and failure on

the part of the defendants to find more pertinent prior art

than that which was cited in the United States Patent Office,

even after an exhaustive search for such prior art.” (183

U. S. P. Q. at 696, App. 15) (Emphasis ours.)

The Appeals Court, in its erroneous retrial of the facts, went

on to reject the impressive array of historical facts as found

above, when it stated:

“. . . The [Beith] combination . . . would therefore be

patentable . . . if a person skilled in the art, fully aware of

the separate elements of Beith’s concept would not be ex-

pected to combine them . . . In this case . . . it seems rather

clear that an artisan who conceived of the first step in his

consideration of the problem of making an interchangeable

wheel would readily recognize the need for an adapter . . .”

(523 F. 2d at 641, App. 6) (Emphasis ours.)

The Appeals Court, by its action, implicitly rejected Findings

34 and 35 without finding them clearly erroneous, and substi-

tuted its own subjective feeling to evaluate the “level of skill”.

The erroneous conclusion that the Beith invention was obvious

was therefore based upon the treatment by the Appeals Court

of the issue as purely legal, consequentially retrying almost

every factual finding of the Trial Court, thereby violating the

accepted rules of Appellate review.

2. The Decision of the Appeals Court in Reviewing the Trial

Court’s Finding of Patent Validity Is in Conflict with the

Pronouncements of This Court Relating to 35 U. S. C.

Section 103.

The Appeals Court standard of review in the face of the

Trial Court’s findings of fact demonstrates that the Seventh

Circuit Appeals Court is one of a group of Circuits which

17

consider the issue of obviousness as a purely legal issue, and,

as such, is in conflict with this Court’s interpretation of 35

U. S. C. Section 103 as set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co.,

383 U. S. 1 (1966), Anderson’s-Black Rock Inc. v. Pavement

Salvage Co., 396 U. S. 57 (1969), and Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc.,

— , 189 U. S. P. Q. 449 (1976) (App. 19-23).

In Ag Pro, this Court reaffirmed the Graham and Anderson's-

Black Rock decisions as authority for the proposition that while

the ultimate issue of the validity of a patent is one of law, it

depends on several factual questions.

To apply the Graham doctrine, in the case at bar, in the man-

ner that the Appeals Court did, renders the doctrine meaning-

less. If the objective, pragmatic evidence which formed the find-

ings of fact of the Trial Court regarding the Graham factual con-

siderations can be ignored in favor of the subjective reaction

of the Appeals Court, then one of the most important objec-

tives of this Court in the Graham decision, i.e., to achieve

uniformity and definiteness in the trial and review of the issue

of obviousness, will be defeated.

In particular, this Court held that the standard of invention

to be applied to determine the validity of a patent had been

codified by Section 103 of the Patent Act of 1952 in the con-

cept of “non-obviousness” which took the place of the “less

definite [term] ‘invention’ ” (383 U. S. at 14) that had grown to

be widely used in the more than one hundred decisions since

the decision in Hotchkiss v. Greenwood, 52 U. S. 248 (1851).

This Honorable Court extensively analyzed the background

and legislative history of Section 103 in Graham and stated

that:

“Under § 103, the scope and content of the prior art

are to be determined; differences between the prior art

and the claims at issue are to be ascertained; and the

level of ordinary ski. in the pertinent art resolved. Against

this background the obviousness or nonobviousness of

the subject matter is determined.” (383 U. S. at 17.)

18

The purpose of requiring the Courts to follow this decisional

process was clear. It was to prevent an empty, meaningless

procedure that would provide no greater uniformity or definite-

ness than had been the case under the Hotchkiss rule. The

purpose was to make the determination of non-obviousness a

“functional” decision (383 U. S. at 12) based as much as pos-

sible on objective evidence resulting from “factual inquiries”

(383 U.S. at 17) made in “factual context” (383 U. S. at 18).

The express goal was to bring “more stability and predictability

in determining patentability and validity” (383 U. S. at 16),

thus assuring achievement insofar as possible of “that uni-

formity and definiteness which Congress called for in the 1952

Act” (383 U. S. at 15, 18).

The Court specifically stated that:

“While the ultimate question of patentability is one of

law . . . the Section 103 condition which is but one of

three conditions, each of which must be satisfied, lends

itself to several basic factual inquiries.” (383 U. S. at 17.)

Following Graham in the Anderson’s-Black Rock case, this

Honorable Court restated that “strict observance” of the requi

site factual findings of Graham is necessary in determining non-

cbviousness under Section 103. In its recent pronouncement

in Ag Pro, this Court again reaffirmed that the Appeals Court

cannot reverse findings of fact dealing with patent validity unless

there isn’t support in the record and therefore is clearly er-

roneous. Thus, Rule 52(a) F. R. C. P. was followed by this

Court in Ag Pro in reviewing findings of fact of the Trial Court.

Yet in the case at bar, after complimenting the Trial Court

on its findings, the Appeals Court retried substantially all

the facts on the ground that “obviousness is an issue of law’.

As has happened in many other cases, the Court “justified” its

retrial of the facts on the basis that obviousness or non-obvious-

ness is ultimately a question of law. By reforming or “retrying”

the factual findings regarding scope and content of the prior

art, the differences between tlhe prior art and the claims in

issue, and the level of ordinary skill in the art, while praising

19

the findings of the Trial Court, the Appeals Court has defeated

the purpose of the Graham doctrine.

The question of obviousness was one of the foremost issues at

the trial as is evidenced by the treatment of the subject in the

Trial Court’s Opinion. The late Honorable Richard W. McClaren

recognized the applicability of Section 103 and acknowledged

this Court’s mandate for a thorough consideration of the issue.

The Trial Court extensively reviewed the prior art in order to

determine the scope and content thereof in Findings 21 through

31 (183 U. S. P. Q. at 694-695, App. 13-14). Next, the Trial

Court reviewed the differences between the prior art and claims

at issue in Findings 32 and 33 (183 U. S. P. Q. at 695, App.

14). Then the Trial Court made specific findings as to the level

of ordinary skill in the art in Findings 34 and 35 (183 U.S. P.Q.

at 695-696, App. 14-15).

In making its factual determinations leading to the conclu-

sions of non-obviousness, the Trial Court clearly recognized that

its primary responsibility was to evaluate the invention in light

of the prior art and also in light of the secondary considerations

of Graham. As the trial record shows, each of the items of prior

art was the subject of testimony and documentary evidence

which underwent careful scrutiny by the trial judge. From a

review of the Trial Court’s decision, it is clear that the Trial

Court considered and determined the guestion of non-obvious-

ness in precisely the method ordained in Section 103 and decreed

by this Court.

Despite the Appeals Court’s praise of the Trial Court, it is

evident that the Court chose to substitute its own judgment for

the Trial Court’s evaluation of the witnesses’ testimony based

upon the cold record on appeal. It is also clear that the Appeals

Court read things into the exhibits and the testimony that are

simply not there, leading to results at substantial variance with

the evidence and findings of the Trial Court. Petitioner submits

that the Trial Court went beyond its jurisdiction to review the

20

ultimate question of non-obviousness. Therefore, this Petition

should be granted to make this decision consistent with the

decisions in Graham, Anderson's-Black Rock, as well as Ag Pro.

3. The Appeals Court Incorrectly Distinguished the Case at

Bar from U. S. v. Adams.

The Appeals Court’s decision was completely contrary to the

case of U. S. v. Adams, 383 U. S. 39 (1966). In that case, this

Court stated that known disadvantages in old devices which

would naturally discourage the search for new inventions may

be taken into account in determining obviousness. Further, this

Court stated that disbelief by experts in the art would also be

evidence of non-obviousness. In the case at bar, both the Trial

Court and the Appeals Court found that Beith had gone in a

direction opposite to good engineering practice, since the part of

the wheel where the elongated slots were to be formed was

structurally the weakest part of the wheel. Much concern had

been shown for the strength of wheels in this critical area.

The Appeals Court agreed with the Trial Court's finding that

Beith took a step in a direction opposed to the teachings of the

prior art and stated that:

“. . . Beith’s invention took a step in a direction opposed

to the teaching in the prior art, are supported not only by

Siler and by Beith’s testimony describing the first foundry’s

objection to sandcasting a wheel with larger openings in

the web, but also by Plaintiff's expert Nass, who testified

that enlarging the holes to accept different lug patterns

would be considered ‘a pretty brash move’ likely to pro-

duce ‘some kind of trouble’” (523 F. 2d at 640, App. 5).

Even with these statements, the Appeals Court went on to

distinguish this case from Adams based on its erroneous view of

the facts as well as the law. The Appeals Court, in its erroneous

reevaluation of the evidence, attempted to distinguish this case

from Adams on the ground that the expert Nass testified that

there is always sOme trouble with a new design which can be

——

re ee

21

overcome; the by-word was to “be careful with the new design”.

In Petitioner's view, a reading of the Opinions below and the

Record, confirms that neither Nass’ testimony nor the Trial

Court’s view of it can be interpreted to mean that the known

problems with Beith’s proposed design should have been taken

as routine design problems capable of routine solutions. Other-

wise, Nass or the Trial Court or even the Appeals Court would

not have confirmed that Beith’s invention went against good

“engineering principles” and it was a “brash move” bound to

produce some “kind of trouble” (523 F. 2d at 640, App. 5).

Thus, the Appeals Court took Nass’ testimony out of context

and unjustifiably reshaped it in a manner that was not intended

by Nass or the Trial Court. This is yet another example of what

happens when an Appeals Court retries facts most properly

determined at the trial level.

Further, in finding for the defendants, the Appeals Court

erroneously limited the teachings of Adams to a situation where

investigation into the area in which the invention was made

would have been “purposeiess” (523 F. 2d at 642, App. 7).

The proper test in the Adams case is whether known dis-

advantages in the prior art would discourage the search for new

inventions in a particular area, that is, were artisans at the

time of the invention discouraged from further effort. The test

is not whether artisans were barred by a feeling of “purpose-

lessness” from investigating in the direction that the inventor

had taken. If “purposelessness” were the standard to be used to

judge whether an investigation was inventive or unobvious, all

inventions, including Adams’ invention, would have to be con-

sidered obvious! Certainly such an impossible standard was not

intended by this Court in the Adams case.

Since the Appeals Court relied heavily on this erroneous

limited interpretation of the Adams case as well as on an er-

roneous reshaping of the facts in reaching its conclusion of ob-

viousness, it is clear that the Appeals Court would have sustained

the validity of the patent had it not made these errors. Thus,

the Appeals Court decision should be reversed.

22

CONCLUSION.

While it should be noted that the Beith patent was pur-

chased by the Petitioner for $1,375,000.00 and approximately

$7,500,000.00 had been invested in its commercial exploitation

prior to trial, the decision of the Appeals Court goes beyond the

plight of the parties involved, since the legal criteria of patent-

ability used by the Trial and Reviewing Courts is of grave

public concern. It has long been recognized that arbitrary and

subjective methods in trying and reviewing patent cases will

eventually destroy the essence of the patent system and thereby

destroy any meaning to Article I, Section 8, Clause 8 of the

Constitution, the purpose of which is to promote and stimulate

the progress of science and the arts.

Even 200 years after the adoption of the Constitution, it is

well recognized that the United States should preserve the patent

system “to provide a maximum of growth effort at the least cost

to the taxpayer” (speech of Patent Examiner C. Marshall Dann,

as reviewed in BNA’s Patent, Trademark and Copyright Journal,

No. 278, May 13, 1976).

Respectfully submitted,

IRWIN C. ALTER,

Putte A. WEISS,

ALTER AND WEISS,

2460 John Hancock Center,

Chicago, Illinois 60611,

Attorneys for Petitioner.

Of Counsel:

MELVIN E. PEARL,

DONALD E. EGAN,

4100 Mid-Continental Plaza,

55 East Monroe Street,

Chicago, Illinois 60603,

RICHARD EUGENE DICK

2469 John Hancock Center,

Chicago, Illinois 60611.

Appendix

Note:

Appendix pages App. 1 through App. 23 are in this volume.

Appendix pages App. 24 through App. 29 [Beith Patent No.

3,329,468] are in a separate, larger Supplemental Appendix.

- it

686 --.° ERAL.

sre ~ ;

° pl

E-T INDUSTRIES, INC, .

Plaintiff-Defendant-Appellee,

Vv.

- WHITTAKER CORP. and Des Plaines

Grand Automotive Speed Center, Inc,

Defendants-Plaintiffs-Appellants.

N 0. 74-1924.

ams States Court of Appeals, .

Seventh Circuit. .

asgued Feb. 24, 1975.

z,, Decided Sept. 25, 1975. ©

sf In patent case involving competing

manufacturers of “mag wheels,”.. the

. United: States District Court for- the

- Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Di-

'- vision, Richard W. McLaren, J., entered

judgment from which appeal was taken.

- The Court of Appeals, Stevens, Circuit

Judge, held that subject matter of pat-

ent on automobile wheel that would fit

: L ‘it would appear, inom, that the fuee

vania regulation may not be enforced insofar

as it predicates eligibility for medical assist-

ance payments on conditions that were specifi-

cally invalidated in Doe v. Bolton, 410 U.S.

523 FEDERAL. REPORTER, 2d SERIES

different makes of cars was obvious, and

accordingly the patent was invalid.

Reversed. .

_—

L Patents @°324.55(3, 4)

District court’s judgment on ulti-

mate issue of validity of patent was enti-

tled to special respect because of his bet.

ter opportunity to have the exhibits ex.

plained to him by expert witnesses and

by arguments of counsel, but obviousness

question raised an issue of law on which

the Court of Appeals had a responsibility

to make an independent judgment.

2 Patents 18

Subject matter of patent on automo-

bile wheel that would fit different

makes of cars was obvious, and accord-

ingly the patent was invalid. 3S U.S.

C.A. § 103.

Richard Bushnell, Chicago, Ill., for de

fendants-plaintiffs-appellants.

Irwin C. Alter, Chicago, IIl., for plain-

tiff~iefendant-appellee.

Before CASTLE,.Senior Circuit Judge,

and SWYGERT and va Circuit

oung. .- an

- = SU LA mete

lon

STEVENS, Cirenit Judge.

Were it not for the fact that the in-

vention was a step in’a direction oppo-

site to what was considered good engi-

neering practice, Beith’s discovery of an

automobile wheel that would fit differ-

ent makes of cars would surely be con-

-sidered obvious.. The principal question

presented by this appeal is whether the

district court’s- findings that Beith ig-

‘nored the risks that would have deterred

others skilled in the art saves the patent- -

ability of an otherwise rete om

tion, 2+ % ne ae

ed s - a

" 479, $3:S.cz. 739, 35 LEd24 201 (1973), name

ly, a concurrence of two doctors and perform-

ance of the procedure in an accredited hospi-

APP, 1

| E-T INDUSTRIES, INC. +. WHITTAKER CORP. * . 637

hed Cite as £23 F.24 636 (1975)

.. 2 . 4 ‘ , oo ogee

The parties are competing manufac-

turers of “mag wheels.” Mag wheels

are specially designed wheels, usually

cast aluminum and sometimes containing

& magnesium alloy, intended to enhance

the appearance of a car. They are more

expensive than normal wheels. A buyer

of such wheels, especially one who fre-

quently changes cars, often wants to use

the same wheels on successive cars. Car

wheels, however, are not interchangeable

because there has been no standardiza-

tion among automobile manufacturers on

the arrangement of ‘the lugs which _

axle to.

project from the brake drum or axle sine o cmall eompeny uf ing

secure the wheel. The lugs, of course,

are arranged in. a circle and usually

there are five for each wheel. The most

popular makes of cars, however, employ

lug bolt circles of three different radii

—4'% inches for Ford and Chrysler cars;

4% inches for Chevrolets; and 5 inches

for the larger General Motors cars. The

marketability of 2 mag wheel is signifi-

cantly greater -if it will fit all three of

tne most frequently used lug bolt ar-

rangements than if it will fit only one’

The purpose of Beith’s invention was to

ere a wheel that would fit = bolt

eles of different radii. ~

Beith's solution to the problem ++ was

simple. He elongated the lug apertures

in the wheel sufficiently to accommodate

lug bolts arranged in circles of different

radii; he then inserted adapters to fit

snugly into the enlarged lug apertures;

ech adapter, in turn, contained a hole

‘nrough which the lug projected. One

et of adapters contained off~enter

soles. If such an adapter was turned in

L Puntiff E-T Industries is a wholly-owned

“Suchary of Filter Dynamics International,

ine, which purchased E-T’s stock from the

Sweator Beith in 1970. Ansen Automotive In-

owoed su

— Ansen was merged into Whittaker,

Steen then substituted as a defendant

a Des Plaines Grand Automotive

wena, - Inc., is a distributor of Ansen’s

APP, 2

was at the time of the irial a wholly- .

Dsidiary of Whittaker Corporation... -

one direction, the opening would be 4’

inches from the zxJe; reversed, the radi-

us would be 5 inches. In a second set of

adapters a centra] hole would accommo-

date a radius of 4% inches.

‘The patent describes various s shapes of

lug openings and adapters to fit them.

The basic idea, however, was simply an

enlarged lug opening to be fitted snugly

with one or more inserted adapters, the

position of which would determine the

lug circle radius which the whee would

‘fit , a — .

— a... @

ary of 1965. At that time he was run-

custom wheels with three different pre-

drilled bolt patterns.*

those wheels and enlarged the lug aper-

ture by drilling all three standard lug

patterns into it and then experimented

with cardboard inserts to make sure that

the wheel would fit all three sizes.

He requested the foundry which was

casting wheels for his company to sand-

cast the new wheel for him with the

enlarged lug openings._ Beith testified

that executives of the foundry expressed

concern about their ability to sandcast

the holes accurately and about the possi-

bility that the wheel would be weakened

.by the elimination of additional metal,

which in turn might subject the company _

. to product liability problems. A second

foundry, which used a permanent mold

process rather than sandcasting, agreed

to make wheels for Beith That compa-

ny insisted, however, that Beith make

better drawings and recommended an

engineer to review the project. .

>

2. Because of the high cost of custom wheels,

the variety which a dealer could carry in in-

ventory was limited: Thus, a wheel which

could be used interchangeably on al] three

. Sized lug patterns provided the dealer, as well

, 35 the customer, with significant economies.

3. Beith graduated from college in 1958, ‘taught me ee

school for about five years, and apparently

- formed his wheel company about a year or

two before he Gnomes the parent inven-

tion. =—

Beith conceived his saientton in Janu-- ~~.

‘He took one of

BEST COPY AVAILABLE

.

. .- ° ot

"Beith panne the wo of ‘aa

ening the wheel by enlarging the lug

apertures, but the engineer “felt that it

could be accomplished, or at least we

could certainly experiment; .

the only

. Way we would really know was to-go -

_ ahead and’ make the drawings, ‘have

’ “molds made, cast some wheels and really,”

_ because there was no testing at that

time, market the product and find out

the real test, the real proof. It was all

-- eonjective at that point as to whether

ter could have been reversed.

” clear, however, that the invention described in= *~ 25, 1952, covering “wheel adaptable to differ. -

7 three different inserts to.fit the three wheel == 10-2 0 82 SED am sa

to almost $13,000,000 in three years. *

developed the patented wheel, several -

employees of defendant Ansen were ex-

_ perimenting with the “Fujii wheel”—so

* named because it was placed on the 1951

the product would function out on the

highway, on the eutemenaen, § in oe mar-

” ketplace.” we Tt. : Pet? és

/ ‘

Beith filed his ostetinad patent applica-

tion in July. In October, 1965, he tested

the new wheel in operation, found that

it worked, and_ began to sell it commer-

cially.

Plaintiff had commenced operation on an

investment of $750; in 1970, Beith sold

the company to Filter

stock valued at $1,375,000. Thereafter,

Sales increased dramatically.-

amics for FDI

annual sales grew from about $2,500,000

‘At about the same time that Beith

Chevrolet which an Ansen employee

named Dennis Fujii drove to work every

day. The Fujii wheel was -a-standard

‘ wheel von which, the > lug apertases were * “te a six

_ 523 FEDERAL REPORTER, 2d SERIES :

enlarged to hold an insert which enabled

the wheel to fit the 4% inch lug & circle

The insert used in the Fujii whee! —

fit only a Chevrolet, but it is apparen

that the Fujii concept, just like Beith’s

would be equally useful with different

inserts for different sizes. Defendant

edduced oral testimony to prove that the

Fujii wheel was in public use more than

a year before Beith filed his patent ap

plication. The district court found this

evidence of doubtful reliability More.

over, he noted that Ansen did not Ppro-

ceed with the development of an inter.

changeable. wheel employing the Fujii

concept, but instead developed an entire-

ly different wheel embodying a so~alled

“knock-off lug” modeled after wheels

used on racing cars.

Later, after acquiring Ansen, defend-

ant investigated the Beith patent and

started to manufacture and sell wheels

‘which the district court found to in-

fringe. . |

. The district court reviewed the prior

art in detail: We need mention only two

items, Adair * and Siler.’ -

-- Adair disclosed a wheel which will fit

lug circles not only, o of different diame-

“ters but also containing different num-

bers of lugs. Like Beith, it had elongat-

ed lug apertures to accommodate differ-

ent sizes, but it also had extra openings,

‘some of double width, to. make it possible

as well as five ‘lugs. with the

-*. ae

«=~

YY Gino tesent- eal bs tao Ose wheel enumlans " .

mn ama tae, mate ten tat Samo |

_- Chevrolet.- Since the Tug circle radius- on a.

~ Chevrolet is 4% inches, reversal of that insert ~

. would accommodate_a radius -of 5'4 inches...

“No American car uses that Jug arrangement’ -

- ‘and, therefore, as the district court-found, the -

. actual Fujii wheel fit only one sized car. The ~

* district court also noted doubt as to whether,

“the insert actually used with the Fujii wheel -

It seems ‘quite _

‘the patent would "cover a wheel which: used .~

‘sizes, as well as one which uses two inserts, .

one containing a concentric hole and the other

: " Containing an eccentric hole useful in two po-

- sitions to accommodate three sizes. -

-

: 5 The evidence established that Ansen initiated

a wheel development. program in 1964. An”

?

abeee S oe

Bee iabiedahie Sains ‘hemmed Ostgaard prepar-

eda number of design drawings for Ansen

during the period between May and Novem-

ber, 1964., Since he was not told about the

. Fujii wheel, it seems likely that that wheel was

made later." On-the ether hand, one of Ost-

‘ gaard’s early pencilled drawings originally de-

~ picted enlarged jug. apertures which were

erased when a design change was .made.

6 Adair ‘ak Gin ascasen’ a a on March

7 ont be. ae hai ta ak ol

7. Siler ‘Patent No. 3, 006,443, ‘issued

* Attaching Juxtaposed Members.”

APP, 3 “2

October

31, 1961, covering “Method and Apertures for -

E-T INDUSTRIES, INC. y. WHITTAKER CORP.

oo -*

-_

639

Cite as 523 F.2d 636 (1975) -

Same wheel’ Adair merely disclosed the-

ides—which we think would be obvious

even without Adair—that. enlarged lug

#pertures would enable a wheel to fit

lug circles of different Gamoters: .

‘The Siler invention “aia not “relate to.

lem of securely attaching two parts, such

2s metal plates or sheets, which contain

holes that are somewhat misaligned, and

therefore will not accommodate a fasten-.

er such as a rivet or. a. bolt of the same .

size as the holes. The patent teaches

that it is. undesirable simply to enlarge-

the hole in one of the two plates and =

then to use a rivet or bolt of the same

size as the original hole’.

& Adair’s basic idea was to have a universal

emergency wheel which could be substituted

for a damaged wheel on aimosi any vehicle in

order that the vehicle could be driven instead

of towed to a repair facility.

% The Siler specifications state, in part: ~

“Frequently, the mechanic working with

supposedy exac: and interchangeabie parts

Smcs some members deviating so far from

the desired standard that they cannot be

bolted or riveted or otherwise properiy fixed

together. Thereupon, he frequently resorts

to an undesurabie expedient which will forev-

er theresher preclude the replacement and

integration into the device (as when under-

S0ing repairs) of a truly stancardized-part or ~

“In such undesirabie practice, the mechan-

ic proceeds to drill new holes by hand or |.

ream and enlarge the misaligned holes, so

that they will receive bolts-or other fasten-

ing elernents. .

“Such expediency and il] considered prac-

tice will produce a weakened structure be-

Cause it has been provided with irregular or

enlarged holes greatly exceeding the limits

of tolerance allowed by the Gesigning eng)-

neers and/or failing to meet the fequire-

yn andards in strength and stabili-

ty.” "

to. The relevant findin :

rim £2 are Nos. 9 and 34,

which read as foliows:

war, ht approach Beith decided to take

“5 Opposite to what was considered good

ae ving Practice,‘ because the part of

wheel where the elongated slots were to

Soe Lote ae |

| _—

wheels. It was concerned with the prob-

Instead, the”

_-—

- patent teaches the use “of etesten con-

taining small off-center holes which can

be aligned with one another, and

through which a smaller bolt or pin can.

be inserted ‘to fasten the members to-.,

im *

i + wel *e-- «, 0c was —--

+e -" -

sae ~~,

“The Siler patent is otiina to the’.

: Beith invention in two different ways.

On the one hand, its admonition not to.

enlarge bolt holes unnecessarily supports

the district court’s findings that Beith’s- me

conception, insofar as it enlarged the lug |

apertures in the web of the wheel, was 5

contrary to accepted engineering prac-"

tice.* On the.otber hand, Siler also

taught that an adapter, or insert, could -

be used to secure a relatively small bolt -

_—- —_ —

be formed was structurally the weakes: part

of the wheel. Much concern had been

shown for the strength of wheeis in this crit- -

ical area. His solution to the long-existing

problem was an unexpected and unobvious

acceptable solution since ¢ vuple with ordi-

nary ski would have sought an acceptabie

solution by using large adapter pilates.”

“3A. The level of ordinary skill in the au-

tormotve wheel field is such that those

skilled in the art would not have gone in the .

direction that Beith went at the time of his

invention’ Beith removed material from

what is considered a critical portion of the ~

wheel—the centr>] mounting portion or web

bear the central hub opening Thus, Beith

went in a direction opposite to the direction

that was being taken by those having ordi-

nary skill in the art By doing so, the public

Was provided with a universal wheel that

was smart looking, in-that the elongated

slots were directly in-the web of the wheel

itself and small adapter means were used to

“ -.. obtain universality. Such wheels could be

manufactured and operated easily while stil!

_ shaving a pleasing appearance as weil as reli-

ably locating and attaching the ae to = .

brake drum 2 a::

Se w& |...

"4 CL U.S. Letters Patent No. 3,006,443 (Siler) ~-

- sot ¥ lines 50-60.

i . ve

“* This is brought home by the fact that An-

sen rejected the idea of elongated apertures

SS Me 6 Cee O eee Se

same time as_ Beith was ES ee

wheel.” -

The footnotes ‘are the coat... te TF,

APP, 4 re

- . ee

a o% “ae

> ee

o%. © . =

. 2 ° |

-

-

640... ~~~.” 523:FEDERAL.REPORTER, 2d: SERIES

in a large opening.” Thus, if we con-

sider the two parts of the Beith inven-

tion separately, in effect Siler taught (a)

that the lug epertures should not be en-

larged, but (b) if-they should be en-

larged, the oversized openings could

nevertheless be secured to a normal lug

by using an adapter, or insert, contain-

ing a smaller hole fitting the lug bolt.

The | district court’s findings that

Beith’s invention took a step in @ di-

“IL The adapter, or insert (44) in Fig

rection opposed to the teaching in the

prior art are supported, not only by

Siler ** and by Beith’s testimony describ-

ing the first foundry’s objection to sand.

casting a wheel with larger openings in

the web, but also by ‘plaintiff's expert

Nass, who testified that enlarging the

holes to accept different lug patterns

would be considered “a pretty brash

move” likely to produce “some kind of

trouble.” He further explained that to

9 of Beith’s patent (shown be-

- low on the left) is similar to the adapter, or insert (15) in Figs. I and

TV of the Siler patent (shown on the right). .

”~;

[Siler]

[Beith] , :

q } f ¢e . ; ss |

Tig: or

aa yn af

0 23 ‘

’ :

we rT; fag- LZ

* - *-

> . - ° *s:e he wed a

on “a2. -

12. Actually, the portion of the Siler specifica. -

tions on which the district court relied is a- -

comment on the undesirability of enlarging @ -

hol in a prefabricated part, rather than a

- ™ comment on the possible consequences of de-

signing an entirely new product containing

larger holes than those found in a previous

IX. He testified at Tr. 299-301:: -

smal) circle as a pre-drilled whee) had?

“No. If I might state your question the way

] understand it, we assume we start with a

whee! that merely has drilled holes in it in

“Q In your opinion would it be good design...

to remove the amount of material that has

been rermoved there as opposed to just as

“A Well, in my opinion that would be a

pretty brash move because it is in an area

where

Would you say that that would be go

in

~—

E-T INDUSTRIES, INC. v. WHITTAKER CORP. 641

Cite as 523 F.2d 36 (1975)

' determine whether a change like that

would be acceptable, it would be neces-

sary to make several tests, and then add-

ed: ote:

Well, I can state that by my experi-

ence, that is the typical way that al-

- * terations and modifications to wheels

are made. Frequently there is very

little what~ you might call rigorous

' analysis involved in it. -They will

make a modification and then the

wheels will be sent down to me for an

evaluation.and certain road levels are

applied to the wheels, and sometimes

the wheels are what is known as stress

coated to study the stress: pattern in

the wheel to gain a ‘knowledge of

what is going on in the wheel, and

then from that knowledge further

changes may.be-made. There could be

an alloy section change-made. There

could be a. section thickness change

made or some other changes made to

get the wheel up to a point where it

would be satisfactory again structural-

ly. a,

Tr. 301-302. On cross-examination he

testified that if a wheel or any other

Structure is weakened by removing .ma-

tertal, the weakness could be counteract-

U.S. 1, 17-18, 86:°S.Ct. 684, 15 LEd2d

545, his findings evidence a thorough

understanding of the invention and the

prior art, and his judgment on the ulti-

mate issue of validity is entitled\to spe-

cial respect because of his better oppor-

tunity to have the exhibits explained to

- him by expert witnesses and by the ar-~

guments of counsel. Nevertheless, the

obviousne3s question raises an. issue of

‘ law on which we have a responsibility to

make an independent judgment. In this

case that judgment involves a three-step _

consideration: first, whether each ele-

ment of the invention is obvious; second,

if so, whether the combination is obvi-

ous; and third, if the combination seems

obvious in itself, whether the rejection

of the contrary teaching in the prior art

_Fequires a different conclusion.

Each of the two essential parts of

Beith’s conception—first, enlarging the

lug apertures to receive bolt arrange-

ments of different radii; and second, ef-

fectively. reducing the size of the en-

larged openings to enable them to re-

ceive normal lug bolts—was unquestion-

ably taught by the prior.art. The combi-

‘nation, however, was new. It. would

therefore be patentable if it produced a

ed by adding or repositioning other ma- Tesult other than the anticipated sum of

terial For example, he said:

The strength of any structure depends

on two things, basically—what the ma-

terial is that you are using, the quality

of the material, and No. 2, on the ge-

ometry. Between those two variables

you can generally get about every-

thing you need in structure. Tr. 411

‘Tt. = <.

(1] There is no basis for criticizing

the district court’s analysis of this inven-

ton. He followed the procedure man-

by Graham v. John Deere Co., 383

go in that direction to reach the result

obtained with the UNI-LUG system?

. oe . ° e'..e -

~My feeling in the matter is that a person, if

he appreciated what was going on stress-

wise in a wheel, he would soon. realize that

a a8é & move of this kind, he would proba-

¥ Set into some kind of trouble.”

323 F 29g)

—the separate parts, or if a pe: on skilled

in the art, fully aware of the separate

elements of Beith’s.concept, would not

be expected to combine them when look-

ing for the solution to the problem of

making an interchangeable wheel. In

this case, the combination cannot be de-

scribed as synergistic, and it seems rath-

er clear that an artisan who conceived of

the first step in his consideration of the

probiem of making an interchangeable

wheel would readily recognize the-need |

for an adapter or an insert.“ We. are

persuaded that the ultimate conclusion

of non-obviousness can only be supported

14. No particular importance is attached to the

reversible character of the insert containing

. the eccentric hole because_the patent would

' .@qually cover the use of three or more sepa-

rate inserts, none of which was reversibie ~

/

AP?P.S ive ”.

— oh

_ eee

eo

642 . | “523 FanenAL REPORTER, | 2d SERIES

by~the district court’s yellenee on the

adverse teaching in the prior art.’®

“In United States v. Adams, 383 US. .

39, 86 S.Ct 708, 15 LEd2d 572, the

. Court’s conclusion that the discovery of a

water activated battery, using magnesi-

um cuprous chloride electrodes, was non-

obvious rested heavily on evidence that

long accepted factors would deter any

investigation into the combination used

by Adams."* The reasoning of the Ad-

ams case is not applicable _ to Beith’s in-

. vention.

The Adams battery. generated eee

quantities of heat during normal opera-

tion and the prior art taught that such a

battery was not practicable. Moreover,

the prior art also taught that water acti-

vated batteries were only successful

when used with electrolytes harmful to .

magnesium. The court was persuaded |

that both of these long-accepted factors -

would deter any investigation of the ~

- combination which Adams ‘found. to be:

unexpectedly successful -. ~~

In this case, the contrary ‘factor was

‘merely the rather obvious notion: that

enlarging holes in a structural member ,

will weaken it to some extent. But the

record establishes that it was equally

“-clear that some enlargement might _be

tolerated and thet modifications in de

— we ae ling oe au

15. We. ‘do pot ignore the substantial ' evidence.

of commercial Success which buttresses the

‘district court’s conclusion of validity, but such

success is not by itself sufficient to show non-.

obviousness. Rather, it must be weighed with

~ all the other evidence in the record. sie

‘Novo Industrial Corporation © v. Standard.

- Screw Company, 374 F.2d &24 (7th Cir. 1967);

Application of Chne, 345 F.26-847, 8 CCPA

| 1404 (1965). 23. st =e ge

_

1 “We ecnstude ths Adignn baitary wes alee.

nonobvious. As we have seen, the operating

ty

~ been shown to have been unexpected and to

. have far surpassed then-existing wet batter-

ies. Despite the fact that each of the ele-

_ ‘ments of the Adams battery was well known:

~. im the prior art; to combine tiem as did

.. Adams required that a person reasonably

skilled in the prior are must ignore that (1)

~ batteries which continued to operate on an

= open circuit and which heated in normal use

“ ‘were mot practical and (2) water-activated —

sign or. material strength might ove.

come the effect of the loss of some ma.

terial. As the testimony of plaintiffs

own expert indicates, the problem was

not so serious as to deter any investiga.

tion at all of enlarged lug apertures, but

rather it was a problem typical of almost

any new wheel design which would nor-

mally require careful testing and per-

haps further cuperimentation and modi-

fication.

The prior art taught that interchange-

ability might be achieved. by using en-

larged lug apertures, but that any such

new design should be carefully tested to

be sure it was safe. This prior art warn-

ing to be careful with the new design is

not, in our judgment, equivalent to the

uniform prior art teaching in Adams

that any investigation of the use of the

Magnesium electrode in a-water activat-

ed battery would be purposeless.

We have’ alo considered the relevance

‘ofthe Fujii wheel. The fact that Ansen

-.. also experimented with enlarged lug

openings and inserts is consistent with

_our conclusion that the concept was obvi-

ous, whereas the fact that Ansen did not

go forward with the development of this

kind of whee] Until] after Beith had dem-

_ onstrated its feasibility tends to under-

mine ® that conclusion. It does not, how-

a ee

vee

bined with electrolytes detrimental .to the

.. use of magnesium These long-accepted fac-

2... tors, when taken together, would, we be-

~t— lieve, deter any investigation into such a

™> combination as is used by Adams. This is

5s". a © aay Sas cnet manty Sade Sor

uses for old inventions by shutting his eyes -

‘to their prior disadvantages thereby dis-

covers a patentabie innovation. We do say,

.. however, that known disadvantages in old

”_ devices . which would naturally discourage

the search for new inventions may be taken

te into account in determining obviousness. -

a, “Nor gre these the only factors bearing on

the question of obviousness. We have seen

—- that at the time Adams perfected his inven-

tion noted experts expressed disbelief in it

‘> * ©. © Furthermore, in a crowded art re.

- plete with a century and a half of advance

ment, the Patent Office found not one refer-

ence to cite against the Adamis application.”

_ 383 U.S. at 51-52, 86 S.Cr at 715. - -.

APP. 7

ever, support the applicability of the Ad-

arms rationale to this case because there

is no evidence that Ansen’s decision not

to go forward with the Fujii wheel rest-

ed on any concern about weakness

caused by enlarging the lug. openings.

On the contrary, the fact that the Fujii

wheel was in fact made and actually

tested indicates that the prior art did not

completely deter "any experimentation

with this comcept "=. Push. ot,

[2] We conclude that the “subject

matter of the Beith patent was obvious

within the meaning of 35 US.C- § 103

end, sccordingty, that the patent-is in-

valid. 2: tae:

Reversed. - sabe @ "0" ee. ot

~~

BEST COPY AVAILABLE

APP. 8

District: Court, N. D. Illinois, E. Div.

E-T Lnoustrues, Inc. v. WHITTAKER

CORPORATION et al.

70 C 2498, 71 © 3133

Decided Oct. 31, 1974

PATENTS

1. Patentability — Anticipation ~— Ex-

periments ($51.209)

Defendant’s abandonment of experimental

device, which is alleged to anticipate plain-

tiffs patent, confirms that patented inven-

tion was not obvious to defendant, who is

skilled in the art.

2. Presumption from patent grant —

Patent Office consideration of

prior art ($55.5)

Statutory presumption of patent validity is

strengthened where the most pertinent prior

art was cited and considered by Patent Of-

fice.

3. Patentability — Anticipation —

Combining references (351.205)

There is no justification for combining

and modifying prior art patents for anti ipa-

tuon since they do not suggest or teach hiew

thev can be combined and modified without

utilizing teachings of patent in suit of wiun-

Out exercising invention; even if indivicuaiiv

the component parts of patented device were

known, they are combined in such 2 wav 23

to create a synergistic effect.

4. Patentabilirv — Evidence of — In

. general ($51.451)

Patentabiliry — Evidence of — Com

mercial success — In genera

($51.4551)

Patentability — Evidence of — Deby

and failure of others to product

invention (§51.459)

Finding of nonobviousness is reinforces ©

plaintiff's substantial investment in purr

APP. 9

183 USPQ E-T Industries, Inc. v. Whittaker Corp. 691

ing patent from inventor and in commer-

cially ry it, its commercial success,

felt need for patented device and prior

failures of those skilled in the art to solve

problem, and defendants’ failure to find

more pertinent prior art than that cited by

Patent Office, even after an exhaustive

search.

5. Accounting — Increased or treble

damages or profits (§11.35)

Costs — Attorney’s fees ($25.5)

Infringer’s lack of a written opinion of

counsel! and its continued infringement after

notice of infringement do not make case an

exceptional one where punitive damages

under 35 U.S.C. 284 or attorney's fees

under section 285 would be appropriate.

6. Patentability — Anticipation — In

general ($51.201)

In order to have anticipation, prior object

must be substantially identical to patented

device; this occurs when they perform same

function in same way and produce same re-

sult.

Particular patents—Wheel

3,329,468, Beith, Wheel Structure, claims |

to 4, 7, 9, 10, 15 to 17, and 19 valid and in-

fringed.

Action by E-T Industries, Inc., against

Whittaker Corporation and Des Plaines

Grand Automotive Speed Center. Inc., for pat-

ent and trademark infringement and unfair

competition. Judgment for plaintiff in part

and for defendants in part.

Irwin C. Atter, Pumure A. Wess, RicHarp

E. Diex, Atrer, Wess, Wurreser &

LarF, Metvin E. Peart, and Kat®ten,

Mucnuwm, Grrzes, Zavis, Peart & GaLLer,

all of Chicago, IIl., for plaintiff.

RicHarp BUSHNELL and O son, TREXLER,

Wotters, Busunett & Fosse, Lrp., both

of Chicago, IIl., and Donaxp Nist, Los An-

geles, Cailif., for defendants.

McLaren, District Judge.

Introduction

This matter arose as an action by E-T In-

dustries, Inc. (“E-T”) for infringement of

U. S. Letters Patent No. 3,329,468 (“Beith’’).

The case was tried to the Court without a

jury. The Court has examined all of the testi-

mony and exhibits presented, and being fully

advised in the premises, finds that the Beith

patent is valid and that it is infringed by Ansen

Automotive Engineering's (““Ansen’’) device.

The Court further finds that plaintiff has not

been guilty of unfair competition and that the

defendants Ansen and Des Piaines Grand Au-

tomotive Speed Center, Inc. (“Grand”) have

not committed acts of trademark dilution or

unfair competition.

The original complaint in this case, 70 C

2498, was ied by E-T in this district on Octo-

ber 8, 1970. An amended complaint was filed

on December 31, 1970. Count 1 of the

amended complaint alleges that Ansen and

Grand are —— the Beith patent. Counts

2 and 3 alleged that the defendants committed

acts of unfair competition and trademark dilu-

tion in connection with E-T’s “Unilug” trade-

mark. Plaintiff sought both monetary and in-

jum ve relief.! On January 28, 1971, Ansen

filea a declaratory judgment action against

E-T in the Northern District of California

seeking to have the Beith patent declared in-

valid. It also stated in that action a second

claim: for relief based upon alleged acts by E-T

of unfair competition. E-T denied the allega-

tions in its answer and counterclaimed for pat-

ent infringement. That action was sub-

sequently transferred to this district, given

docket number 71 C 3133 and was consoli-

dated with 70 C 2498.2

The following shall constitute the Court’s

findings of fact and conclusions of law pur-

suant to F. R. Civ. P. 52(a).

Findings of Fact

1. The plaintiff herein, E-T Industries, Inc.,

is a corporation of the State of California, with

its principal place of business there, and is a

wholly-owned subsidiary of Filter Dynamics

International, Inc. (FDI), a corporation of the

State of Delaware, having its principal place

of business in Ohio.

E-T regularly does business in Illinois. E-T

is principally engaged in the manufacture and

sale of custom wheels for automobiles.

2. The defendants herein are Des Plaines

Grand Automotive Speed Center, Inc., a cor-

poration of the State of Illinois, having its

principal place of business in Illinois, and An-

sen Automotive Engineering, a corporation of

the State of California, having its principal

place of business in California, and a wholly

owned subsidiary of Whittaker Corporation,

with its principal place of business in Califor-

' Several amendments to the ad damnum clause

have been allowed. E-T now seeks patent infringe-

ment damages of $2,810,101! plus interest and costs

as compensatory damages as well as treble exem-

plary damages, througn October 28, 1973. This

does not limit E-T"s ability to recover damages after

that date in this suit.

* For clarity’s sake, E-T will be referred to as

plaintiff and Ansen and Grand will be referred to as

defendants even though Ansen is the plaintiff in the

deciaratory judgment action.

APP. 10

692 E-T Industries, Inc. v. Whittaker Corp.

183 USPQ

nia.** Ansen is engaged in the business of

manufacturing and selling a line of specialty

speed shop items for automobiles including

custom wheels. Grand is a retail speed shop

selling a variety of automotive products in-

aw $7] wheels.

- On July 4, 1967, U. S. Letters Patent

No. 3,329,468 were duly and legally issued to

Richard D. Beith. Plaintiff gained title to the

pom with the full right to sue for past in-

ringement.

4. On October 29, 1969 plaintiff gave An-

sen actual notification of its accusation of in-

fringement and warned that continued manu-

facture of the accused wheels would be

considered a willful and wanton infringement.

Defendants continued to manufacture and sell

the accused infringing device after being noti-

fied. On October 8, 1970 plaintiff brought suit

for patent infringement, unfair competition

and trademark dilution against Ansen and

Grand. Ansen had actual notice of the patent

in suit in 1968.

The Patent in Suit

_3. Wheels are commonly secured to automo-

biles by means of a plurality of bolts or lugs

projecting from a brake drum or axle flange

and cooperating lug nuts. There has been no

standardization of the arrangement of such

wheel tugs among the different auto makers.

6. The Beith patent teaches a universal

wheel system for automobiles having tiree

possible bolt diameter patterns—4-1/2”,

+-3/4° and 5”*—by providing two different

sets of adapters; one set of adapters has cen-

tered apertures and the other set of adapters

has off-centered apertures. The patent teaches

the concept of obtaining three different lug

bolt patterns by reorienting one set of the

adapters (which has the off-centered holes) to

obtain two lug bolt diameters (4-1/2” and 5”)

and utilizing the set of adapters with centered

apertures in substitution for the adapter with

the off-centered apertures to obtain the middle

position of 4-3/4".

7. Custom wheels for automobiles have been

made since at least the early 1960's. Such

wheels include cast aluminum or “mag’’

wheels of various designs, and chrome-plated

steel wheels, and are intended to enhance the

appearance of the vehicle.

As a general rule, such wheels were ex-

pensive and their costs made it prohibitive for

a dealer in wheels to inventory a wide variety

of such wheels. Also, the prohibitive costs de-

terred consumers from buying such wheels

since they could not use them on more than

*@ After trial, the Whittaker Co w

, . Was sub-

stituted as a defendant fur Ansen. tl cides on

— a applicable to Whittaker.

ese three diameters are those

automobiles. oo

one type of car. This is especially importan

since it appears that the pial buyer of. jon

wheels frequently changed automobiles. One

of the objectives of the Beith invention was to

provide an acceptable universal wheel which

incorporates means for accommodating the

bolt circles of the three different popular auto-

mobiles, i.e., 4-1/2", 4-3/4" and 3°.

8. There had been a long existing need for

an adaptable wheel. Several unsuccessful at-

tempts to fulfill this need included utilizing

adapter plates providing both circularly

spaced pre-drilled apertures to fit on lug bolt

Patterns of a specified diameter and lug bolt

Patterns arranged in a circle of another stand-

ard diameter, such as 5-1/2". This required

the manufacturer to supply wheels having

apertures suited for fitting onto lug oolts circu-

larly arranged in a circle of 5-1/2" diameter.

Rather than stocking three sizes of wheels

three sizes of adapter plates were stocked. An-

other unsuccessful solution included drilling a

plurality of holes-in the web of the wheels. The

holes were drilled in a manner so that different

groups of holes aligned with different lug bolt

patterns; adapter plates were used for select-

ing the holes and reinforcing the web of the

wheel. Where this solution used plates it

needed different adapter plates for each bolt

diameter that the wheel accommodated.

_ Other solutions included cutting radial or

circumferential slots in the wheels to accom-

modate lug bolts arranged on circles of differ-

ent radii. The customary way of fulfilling the

need was to use adapter plates attached to the

wheels.

9. The approach Beith decided to take was

Opposite to what was considered good engi-

neering practice,* because the part of the

wheel where the elongated slots were to be

formed was structurally the weakest part of

the wheel. Much concern had been shown for

the strength of wheels in ¢!..s critical area. His

solution to the long-existing problem was an

unexpected and unobvious acceptable solutiun

since people with ordinary skill would have

sought an acceptable solution by using large

adapter plates.

_ 10. Once the invention got out of the pre-

liminary stage, it was a commercial success.

Beith’s original investmen: of $750 ultimately

led to the $1,375,000 that he received upun

selling out to FDI. E-T sales grew to

$2,500,000 in 1970 when Beith sold out to

FDI and thereafter E-T more than quadru-

pled its sales to $13,000,000 while the resi of

the industry only grew at the rate of 50% per

year. The universal system of the Beith whee?

was the single most important factor in con-

tributing to this commercial success.

*Cf. U.S. Letters Patent No. 3,006,445 (Siler’ 2

column 1, lines 50-60.

APP, 11

E-T Industries, Inc. v. Whittaker Corp.

693

183 USPQ

11. FDI, a sophisticated automotive after-

market manufacturer, recognized the merits of

the patented product and bought the patent

from Beith. At the time of purchasing the com-

pany, new facilities were necessary and further

extensive investment had to be made in tooling

and other items to enable the true potential of

the patented Beith wheel to be fulfilled. Thus,

in addition to paying a premium price for the

atent, FDI relied on the patent to the extent of

their further heavy investment in E-T. This

investment to date of trial was about

$7,500,000.

The “Fujii” Wheel

12. The alleged activities of Ansen in rela-

tion to the defendant Exhibit A-1 wheel (here-

inafter also referred to as the “Fujii wheel’’)

do not meet the required evidentiary standards

to be considered as invalidating the Beith pat-

ent. There was no documentary evidence

which confirmed the existence of the Fujii

wheel at the time alleged. The oral testimony

of Johnson and Fujii. in addition to being un-

corroborated by documents, is regarded by the

Court as unreliable in view of manv inconsist-

ent and impeaching statements made under

oath by both of them. The testimony and

wheel do not fulfill the defendant’s required

burden of establishing clear and convincing in-

validating evidence.

13. The Court is first concerned with the

lack of evidence. other than testimonial, to es-

tablish the existence of the A-1 wheel at the

time alleged. There were no written records.

In addition, there was confusion as to when

the wheel was tested.’ Furthermore, at about

the same time Ansen entered into a wheel de-

velopment program with John T. Ostgaard,

resulting in defendants’ Exhibits A-34 as weil

as the plans submitted by Ostgaard. Yet, Ost-

gaard was never shown, or even told of, the A-

I wheel.

14. Ansen’s witnesses may be personally

biased in that they were cither employees or

former employees of Ansen. This tends to

lessen their credibility.

15. The A-1 wheel was allegedly put on

Fujii’s car to test for stress and public reaction.

However, no tests were conducted and no re-

ports were made by Fujii, or sought by Ansen,

as to the wheel's popularity or its ability to

“T'Ansen’s own witnesses testified that the alleged

Fujii wheel was tested on a race track shortly before

the race track was destroved and that the race track

was destroyed between 1966 and 1967 according to

Soliy Harris; between 1965 and 1966 according to

Samuel Harris; in 1965 according to Tom Finney;

and in 1967 according to Alfred H. Butler. Thus, it

is quite conceivable that the test took place after

Beith’s invention. Also, Tom Finney, one of Ansen’s

employees at the time. testified, by deposition, that

he had signed certain documents relating to the A-1

wheel. These were not produced by defendant.

withstand stress. Further, Fujii’s demonstra-

tion of the wheel consisted at the most of

merely showing it to a few of his friends.

16. The adapters in the A-1 wheel were

never reversed, nor is there sufficient evidence

to establish that such a capability was con-

templated. Not only were the washers made so

they could not be reoriented but also Johnson

admitted that Ansen never tried to reorient the

washers until many years later.* The wheel

was only tried on Fujii’s car and not on any

automobile with a different bolt diameter and

could only fit a 4-3/4” pattern. Finally, only

one whee] was made, it was never put up for

sale, and it was abandoned for several years

until hunted up after this action was com-

menced.

17. The alleged isolated use of the Fujii

wheel was supposedly for testing the wheel for

stress and determining the public reaction. In

addition to the fact that testing of the alleged

wheel was never completed, | find no evidence

that could serve as a basis for concluding that

the Fujii wheel, if it did exist at the time

claimed, was anything other than a concealed

or abandoned model that never was publicly

disclosed. Accordingly, the Fujii wheel cannot

be considered as invalidating prior art.

18. The A-1 wheel even if it did exist at the

time alleged by the defendants required modi-

fication to accomplish the functions periormed

by the patent in question. Thus, it was not a

reduction to practice, since it was not complete

and was not capable of producing the results

that are accomplished by the Beith patented

wheel.

19. Even after allegedly having the A-1

wheel, the defendants’ actions confirmed that

such a wheel could not be considered a reduc-

tion to practice. Immediately after allegedly

developing the A-1 wheel the defendants

adopted a rear adapter plate system requiring

three plates to obtain a universal wheel. It was

not until five years after they allegedly had the

A-1 wheel that the defendants began manufac-

turing the infringing Sprint II wheel.

[1] 20. The alleged isolated use of the

Fujii wheel was an abandoned experimental

step that was rejected in favor of an unsatisfac-

tory adapter plate type solution by Johnson

and as such it did not have any value for teach-

ing those skilled in the art, nor was it a reduc-

tion to practice. Also, the subsequent aban-

donment by Ansen of the experiment confirms

that the Beith invention was not obvious to

Johnson who is skilled in the art. Therefore,

* The Court was ted with only one insert

for the A-! wheel. In atrempting to orient it, the

Court discovered that the insert fit in only two of the

five holes and could not be reoriented in one of them.

Further, when reoriented, the washer created a

5-1/4° bolt diameter pattern, which fit no Ameri-

can-made car.

APP, 12

694 E-T Industries, Inc. v. Whittaker Corp.

183 USPQ

the Fujii wheel cannot be used to anticipate

under 35 U.S.C. 102 or make a patent invalid

for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103.

Pnor Art

21. The most pertinent patents relied on by

the defendants are demonstrative of the scope

and content of the prior art. These were the

Adair patent (No. 2,590,363, issued in March

1952); the Vachon et al. patent (No.

3,166,357, issued in January 1965); the Mar-

tin rae (No. 3,025,109 issued in March

1962); the Hunter patent (No. 3,207,557, is-

sued in September 1965); the Laycock British

patent (No. 859,193, issued in January 1961);

the Italian patent (No. $79,294, issued in May

1958); and the Crowther patent (No.

1,940,675, issued in December 1933). All of

these patents, except Crowther, were cited by

the U. S. Patent Office during the prosecution

of the Beith patent.

22. The Adair patent discloses a universal

emergency wheel having elongated jug bolt

a ni in the web. The apertures are radi-

ly elongated. Certain of the apertures are en-

larged, i.e., the width thereof is much larger

than the diameter of the lug bolt so that the lug

bolts fit juxtaposed to one side of the aper-

tures. There is no easy way of positively locat-

ing and centering the Adair wheel on the hub.

Also, there is no adapter utilized or taught by

Adair; this is noticeably lacking. Since there is

no adapter, there can be no seat region for an

adapter. The lug bolt apertures each have a

separate chamier at each end and a separate

chamfer in the middle. The chamfers are to

match the frusto-conical portion of the lug bolt

muts, but act to bend the lug bolts if the lug

bolt nuts are tightened to the required torque.

The inventor Adair testified that the sample

wheels which were manufactured did not have

chamfers. Accordingly, Adair could not possi-

bly have looked on the chamfers shown in the

patent as necessary in his wheel for location.

_ Furthermore, the Adair wheel does not pro-

vide a reliable whee! location, since it depends

on the visual placement of the bolts on the en-

larged opening and the friction created by the

mut on the opening for positioning. The tests

which defendant ran on the Adair wheel ’ dis-

closed that the wheel did not have a high level

of reliability. Its rate of malfunction also was

high. This supports plaintiffs’ proposition and

the inventor’s conception that the wheel was

only meant for emergency use and could not be

relied mee as a permanent wheel.

23. The Vachon et al. patent also shows a

universal wheel. There are two sets of holes

drilled in the wheel—one is radially outside of

the other so that using one set of holes, the

wheel can be mounted on one make of brake

drum while the other set of holes makes it

? See note 11, infra.

mountable on another make of brake drum.

The patent states that an annular plate is used

to reinforce the wheel hub and aiso to select

the group of holes to be used in mounting the

wheel to the hub. It is to be noted that the

holes are neither radially elongated nor are

there any seats therearound or adapters for fit-

ting into the seats; therefore, the Vachon et al.

wheel is basically a different structure.

24. The Martin patent teaches an annular

adapter plate that Acs between the wheel and

the hub lor use in mounting wheels having one

set of apertures therein to hubs having differ-

ent lug bolt patterns. The Martin adapter

plate uses a series of pivotable lugs to attach

the plate to the hub. First, the lugs are

mounted directly onto the hub using a hole in

each lug to put a screw through it. The lug has

another threaded opening; a screw

ney ag lug onto a big adapter plate. The

plate five further tap holes on it. These

holes match the holes of the wheel. The whee!

is mounted to the holes, using a threaded

member. This fails to teach enlarged holes,

seat regions thereabout, or adapters in the seat

regions, and it does not teach anything antici-

pating or making Beith’s invention obvious.

25. The Hunter patent does not teach a uni-

versal wheel. It teaches, instead, a system for

aligning wheels. The assumption of the

Hunter patent is that the lug boits are not con-

centric with the wheel bearing. Therefore. the

inventor sought to avoid using the lug bolts as

a reference point for mounting the wheel. The

operation of Hunter first begins when the car

is jacked up and a concentric spacer is fitted

over the hub. Then, the wheel is rotated to

check for runout, and if the wheel is not con-

centric, the eccentricity is measured. An eccen-

tric washer is put over the hub. The washer

is used to diminish the eccentricity on the

wheel. Thus, the Hunter patent does not

teach lug bolt apertures of a size for receiving

therethrough lug bolts in different circle pat-

terms, seats about the lug bolt apertures or

adapters fitting in the seat.

26. The Laycock British patent does not re-

late to the universal wheel or even to 2 wheel.

It relates to a mounting plate for use on whee!

balancing machines. The mounting plate 23

adapt to wheels that are made for any of the

well known lug bolt circles. Figure ! of tr

Laycock shows thar the plates have racinlir

elongated apertures. Slidable inserts arr

mounted in the apertures. Each of the :nsero

has a pair of threaded holes. one at the imaace

and one at the outside of the inserts. The insert

is locked into position with a set screw st O

center ofthe insert. There are bolt c:rrs>

marked on the plate. The inserts are moved ‘#

place the inner hole or the outer hole at or

desired bolt circle and studs are thresded ==

the desired holes. The wheels are mounics

APP, 13

183 USPQ

E-T Industnes, Inc. v. Whittaker Corp. 695

the studs. [t must be noted that to adjust the

inserts of Laycock requires visual matching of

the desired threaded hole of the insert with the

marked circles. By comparison, in Beith the

adjustment of the lug bolt diameter is auto-

matic and is obtained merely by placing the

adapter into the seat around the lug bolt aper-

cure of the wheel.

27. There is nothing in the Italian patent

even faintly hinting at a universal wheel con-

cept. The patent is concerned with a light-

weight wheel having cooling apertures therein

for enabling cooling air to reach the brakes.

The lug bolt apertures have hard metallic lin-

ings to protect the light metal wheels. With

linings in the apertures, there is no possibility

of receiving lug bolts arranged in more than

one pattern. Thus, there are no lug bolt aper-

tures to receive lug bolts arranged in different

circle patterns and no adapters for selecting

the desired lug bolt patterns.

[2] 28. The Crowther patent was not cited

by the United States Patent Office; however, it

is far less important or pertinent than those

patents that w re cited by the Patent Office.

Crowther is not concerned with a universal

wheel; rather, it is concerned merely with de-

tachably mounting wheels on hubs. Crowther

provides a bolt nut having a convex split collar

which cooperates with the concave contour of

the seat around the lug bolt aperture to over-

come any eccentricity caused bv the attach-

ment of the wheel to the hub. Crowther’s coi-

lar is neither designed to, nor does it perform

the function of the Beith adapter. Therefore, it

is neither the adapter nor the equivalent of the

adapter. Also, Crowther fails to teach lug boit

apertures of a size to accommodate lug bolts

arranged in different lug bolt circle patterns.

The statutory presumption of validity of the

Beith patent is strengthened since the most

pertinent prior art relied upon by the defend-

ants consists of patents cited and considered by

the Patent Office plus others that were less

pertinent than what was considered in the

prosecition of the Beith patent in the Patent

Office.

30. After studying all of the prior art in the

record, in addition to the aforementioned pat-

ents, the Court finds that there has been

shown no prior art of record that includes any

patents or written publications which over-

come the statutory presumption of patent va-

lidity by clearly and convincingly proving that

all the elements of the Beith patent were ever

used or taught as claimed in the Beith patent

prior to Beith’s invention.

[3] 31. Nowhere in the prior art shown is

there any prior patent or any combination of

prior art patents that would enable one skilled

in the art to construct the Beith invention.

Further, there is no justification for combining

and modifying the patents for anticipation as

the defendants assert. The prior art patents do

not suggest or teach how they can be combined

and modified in one particular way as Beith

taught without utilizing the teachings of the

Beith patent or without exercising invention.

It should also be noted that there was no pat-

tern in the development of the art which led to

Beith’s invention. In faci, the trend in devel-

opment was toward the use of adapter plates

rather than working with the lug bolt aper-

tures themselves. Thus, even if individually

the component parts of Beith were known,

they are combined in such a way as to create a

synergistic effect.®

32. Among the differences between the

prior art and the claimed invention is that

none of the wheels of the prior art show the

combination of elongated lug apertures in a

central wheel mounting portion that has rab-

beted portions formed around the lug aper-

tures for seating adapters, with the adapters

having apertures forme therein that make the

wheel universal when adapters are seated

in different positions. For example, the adapt-

ers of Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 9 and 10 are, among

other things, defined as being capable of being

seated in at least two orientations with the

apertures and the adapters defining a lug bolt

circle of selected radii in each of the two orien-

tations. |

33. Among the differences between the

prior art and the claimed invention is that

none of the prior art references taught or made

obvious a non-circular adapter and seat system

in the central mounting portion of a wheel

whereby the adapters can be seated to produce

a universal wheel by selecting different ones of

a plurality of possible lug bolt circle patterns

with the apertures of the adapters. (See

Claims 3, 10, 15, 16, 17 and 19.) Where the

adapter system described in the patent is circu-

lar, the adapters must be aligned by eye and

they move while installing the wheel. When

the adapters and seats are non-circular and

they are fitted together, they automatically

and positively locate the wheel for installation

and mounting for each of the desired multiple

lug bolt circle patterns.

34. The level of ordinary skill in the auto-

motive wheel field is such that those skilled in

the art would not have gone in the direction

that Beith went at the time of his invention.’

Beith removed material from what is consid-

ered a critical portion of the wheel—the cen-

tral mounting portion or web near the central

hub opening. Thus, Beith went in a direction

opposite to the direction that was being taken

*See Blaw-Knox Co. v. I. D. Lain Co., 230 F.2d

373, 108 USPQ 356 (7th Cir. 1956).

* This is brought home bv the fact that Ansen re-

jected the idea of elongated apertures and opted for a

plate svstern at around the same time as Beith was

deveioping his wheel.

APP, 14

696 E-T Industrie:, Inc. v. Whittaker Corp.

183 USPQ

by those having ordinary skill in the art. By

doing so, the public was provided with a uni-

versal wheel that was smart looking, in that

the elongated slots were directly in the web of

the wheel itself and small adapter means were

used to obtain universality. Such wheels could

be manufactured and operated easily while

still having a pleasing appearance as well as

reliably locating and attaching the wheel to

the brake drum.

( 4] 35. This Court finds that the patented

wheel disclosed in the Beith patent in suit is a

basic invention which is not anticipated by any

of the prior art cited by defendants. In addi-

tion, as required by 35 U.S.C. 103, this Court

has given full and careful consideration to the

scope and content of the prior art, with respect

to universal wheels, and therefore, to the dif-

ferences between the prior art and the claimed

subject matter of the patent, and to the level of

ordinary skill in the art, with emphasis on the

actual performance of men of at least ordinary

skill. Against this background, the Court finds

that the claimed subject matter would not have

been obvious to a man of ordinary skill in the

art at the time the invention was made, in view

of the prior art asserted by defendants, taken

either singly or in combination. Moreover, the

finding by this Court of non-obviousness is re-

inforced by the objective evidence of pacent-

ability present in this case, including the rec-

ognition of great merit paid to the invention by

Filter Dynamics International, Inc. as shown

by their investment in the patent, and by the

commercial success of the patented invention.

the long-felt need for an acceptable universal

wheel, the prior failures on the part of workers

(such as Johnson) of at least ordinary skill in

the art, and failure on the part of the defend-

ants to find more pertinent prior art than that

which was cited in the United States Patenc

Office, even after an exhaustive search for such

prior art.

Infringement

36. The defendants Ansen and Grand in-

fringed and are infringing the Beith patent by

manufacuturing and/or selling the Ansen

Sorint I] wheel. The Sprint II infringes

Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 9, 10, 15, 16, 17 and 19 of

Beith.

37. Ansen’s front washers and the rear in-

serts respond to the term washers as used in

some of the claims of the Beith patent."

Therefore, the Sprint II wheel responds to the

Beith claims regardless of whether such re-

sponse is attributed to the front washers or the

1 The fact that the rear insert is thicker than the

E.T insert is only a matter of construction and does

not go to the function or purpose to which the

washer is used. It operates the same way and has the

same shape as the Er washer and can be deemed a

“washer” for purposes of this case.

rear inserts, or both used as a set, since they

perform both a locating and clamping func-

tion. Despite the fact that the front washers of

the Sprint II are circular, rather than oval-

shaped, the offset washer can be used only in

two positions. Any attempt to utilize them in a

position other than the +1/2° or 5° diameter

creates a situation in which the lug nut cannot

engage the lug bolt, because the wheel blocks

the opening. Thus, the front washer does pro-

vide a positive locating function, when com-

bined with the non-circular aperture.

Defendant's contention that the wheel with

the 4-3/4" diameter (or centrally drilled) ine

serts does not infringe is without merit in that

the wheel is adaptable for use on automobiles

with varying radii and the adapters are sold as

sets to accomplish universality.

38. This Court finds that the Ansen Sprint

Il wheels have adapter means that are snugly

seated in the seat regions about the lug aper-

tures. This finding is supported by tests of the

expert Walter Nass made on a randomly sam-

pled group of Ansen Sprint II wheels. The

tests confirmed the snug dimensional relation-

ship of the washers and inserts with their re-

spective seats. Whether used alone or together.

the washers or inserts more than meet the re-

quirements of concentricity and runout as ¢s-

tablished by the industry. Therefore, the

Sprint I] wheel responds to the Beith claims

regardless of whether such response is attrib-

uted to the front or the tear of the wheel.

39. Both the washers and the rear inserts of

the Sprint II wheel are_in covering relation

with the lug apertures. Therefore, the Sprint

Il wheel responds to the Beith claims regard-

less of whether such response is attributed to

the front washers or the rear inserts.

40. The Sprint 11 wheel copies and infringes

the Beith patent not only in its means for pro-

viding universality, but also copies non-

functional features, such as the style and ap-

pearance of the E-T deep-dish. highly

polished, die cast, universal wheel.

41. Defendants have actively induced others

to infringe plaintiff's pacent by: (2) selling the

accused wheels with specific instructions on

how to install same to form the infringing

combination; (b) advertising and otherwise

promoting the use of the accused wheels in the

infringing combination; and (c) assisting. ¢%-

couraging and abetting others in the resale of

the accused wheels. Ansen’s and Grand s ass

of distributing the advertising instructions on

how to use the adapter kits with the Sprint it

wheel are acts of inducing the infringement of

the Beith patent. '

42. Ansen has sold to Grand. 2 distributor

for Ansen, about $100,000 worth of wheels.

Grand was a distributor of Ansen when the

suit was filed and is still a distributor of Ansen

APP, 15

183 USPQ

E-T Industries, Inc. v. Whittaker Corp. 697

and, therefore, continues to infringe and in-

duce the infringement of the Beith patent.

[5] 43. The Court does not helieve that

defendant’s lack of a written opinion of coun-

sel, continued manufacture of the wheels after

notice of infringement, or any other facts

herein, make this an exceptional case where

punitive damages under 35 U.S.C. § 284 or at-

torney’s fees under 35 U.S.C. 285 would be

appropriate."

Ansen's Unfair Competition Claim

44. No evidence was introduced in suppor

of in claim of unfair competition against

E-T.

E-T’s Claim of Unfair Competition ana

Trademark Dilution

45. The sole evidence with respect to these

claims consisted of the testimony of Denise

Blasingame, an employee of E-T’s counsel.

She testified that her emplover sen: her to

Grand to purchase a set of Ansen wheels. Dur-

ing the course of her transaction, an employee

of Grand, “Ken,” told her that the product

was a “Unilug.”” However, he did not say it

was an E-T wheel and she was aware it was

an Ansen wheel. Ken is no longer emploved by

Grand. The Court does not believe that this

one isolated incident. if it in fact occurred as

described, is sufficient evidence to warrant in-

junctive or monetary relief for unfair com-

petition and trademark dilution.

Conclusions of Law

1. The Court has jurisdiction over the par-

ties and over the subject matter of this suit.

2 Venue is prover in this district.

3. The plaintiff, E-T Industries, Inc., is the

owner of United States Letters Patent No.

3,329,468 and ail rights thereunder, including

the rights to sue and to recover for past in-

fringement.

4. Plaintiff, E-T Industries, Inc., has main-

tained its burden of proving by a pre-

ene of evidence that the defendants in-

ringed U.S. Patent No. 3,329,468.

Defendants Ansen and Grand have not main-

tained the burden of clearly and convincingly

overcoming the presumption of validity and

it While the Court does not believe that attorneys’

fees are appropriate in this case, mention should be

made of certain activities of Ansen and its counsel.

First. defendant at trial introduced evidence of cer-

tain tests conducted on the Adair wheels. Plaintiff's

counsel was not given notice of these tests. The

Court believes that this was contrary to the under-

standing reached with the Court that all tests would

be doce under joint auspices. At trial, defendant at-

tempted to use whee! drums other than those pre-

viously agreed to. Defendant has attempted to in-

troduce evidence that the Ansen wheel had been

patented, despite the fact that this had not been di-

vulged to plaintiff.

proving the invalidity of the patent, as re-

quired by Title 35 U.S.C. § 282, nor have An-

sen and Grand proven that they avoid in-

fringement of U.S. Paient No. 3,329,468. See

Reese v. Elkhart Welding & Boiler Works,

Inc., 447 F.2d 517, 526, 171 USPQ 129, 135-

136 (7th Cir. 1971).

5. Defendant sought to invalidate the Beith

patent on the grounds that Ansen’s “Fujii”

wheel constituted prior art in the public

— as contemplated in 35 U.S.C. § 102(a).

is contention is rejected for several reasons.

First, Ansen did not sufficiently establish that

the A-1 wheel, assuming arguendo that it was

anticipatory, was in the public domain one

year prior to the date of Beith’s invention.

This is highlighted by the conflicting testi-

mony of Ansen's emplovees as to dates and ex-

actly what was done to the wheel. Also, the

lack of documentation and the casual manner

in which the wheel was handled detract from

the testimony’s credibility and weight.

Second, the Court believes that Ansen’s use

of the A-1 wheel, assuming its existence at the

time claimed, was merely an abandoned ex-

periment. No records were kept or formal tests

made. The whee! was out of Ansen’s control

for several years and was kept in a storage

room. It was not shown to Ostergaard, who

was aiding Ansen in its wheel development

program. Ansen never pursued the manufac-

ture of the wheel nor did it sell or attempt to

sell even one wheel, and in fact abandoned it

in favor of other types of wheels. See, e.g., Illi-

nois Tool Works, Inc. v. Continental Can Co.,

273 F.Supp. 94, 154 USPQ 401 (N.D. Ill.

1967), afd, 397 F.2d 517, 158 USPQ 437

(7th Cir. 1968).

[6] Third, the Court believes that the evi-

dence is not sufficient to show that the Fujii

wheel “anticipated” Beith's invention. In or-

der to have anticipation, it is necessary that

the prior object be “substantially identical” to

the patented device. This occurs when they

perform the same function in the same way

and produce the same result. Id. at 105, 154

USPQ at 410-411. In the instant case, no at-

tempt was made to perform the function of

universality of the wheel, nor is the evidence

sufficient to show that this could be done. This

being so, the Ansen wheel cannot be deemed to

be anticipatory under § 102.

6. The Court, after examining the entire

record, finds that the E-T wheel was not obvi-

ous in light of the prior art under the tests

enunciated in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383

U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966).

7. U.S. Letters Patent 3,329,468 entitled

“Wheel Structure” as to Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 7,

9, 10, 15, 16, 17 and 19 is in all respects valid

and subsisting in law.

8. U.S. Leuers Patent 3,329,468 as to

Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 9. 10, 15, 16, 17 and 19 is

APP, 16

6938 Quaker Oats Cut A2lstan Purina Co. roe ____183 USPQ

infringed by the defendants by their manufae- — : 323 stn; Siztos is tri ot A 353 pofc ,

ture and s::!y of the accused wheels ; dieiiel ee — o aye ae

9. Befenunts hase infringed the CLS To: ee —_— es .

ters Parent 3.329.465 as to Claims 1,2,3,4.7, For the Sevens Cireui: :

9, 10, 15, 16, 17 and 19. : Chicago, Ilinois 60604

10. Ptsintifl is entizled to an injunction re- :

straining defendianis against further infringe-

ment of U.S. Letters Patent 3,329,468 as to | ‘ Mawch & 10 76

Claims 1, 2, 3,4, 7,9, 10, 15, 16, 17 and 19. == , 19

lt. The Court believes that further evi- | a

dence should be taken on the issues of dam- | Befere

2ges. This evidence should include the terms of © :

the license agreement proposed by E-T and re- | ; Boz. JOEN PAUL STEVENS, Cizrcuis Juscice*

jected by Ansen, the profits Ansen made on the . - _

—wheels it sold, and further evidence as to E-T’s =c=. LAtsat: CASTLE. Sz. Cireuis Ivudee

lost sales, with particular emphasis on the | :

profitability factors E-T used in determining =o. LUTSER M. SWYCGERT. Circuic Judee '

eits lest profits. Also an accounting will be aa

made to determine damages to date. After fur- |

ther evidence is tnken. the Court will better be |

abie to evaluate the measure of damages it , Z-T INDUSTRIES, Isc.,

should use. ; , ma Plaincizi-Defencexc-Aspellee,

12. The Court holds that this is not an ex- . Aseeal fren the Usiced

° ha ie P 2 joan =ne =

eeptional case requiring punitive damages un- - Stetes Distr: cama

der 35 U.S.C. 3 254 or attornevs’ fees uncer : vO. 7S-1S24 v5. q segs 4 - lint “OGe

35 U.S.C. $ 285. | =o> cane Northern Discriss |

k dilution | of filinois, Zase Divs:

13. E-T’s claims for trademark dilution | . WETTTAMER CORP. ane DES 2rLrxes ” mOsS, S8S0ESR VevEr

and unfair competition are not supported by | Stat atoMacrvS Serta crccte om 9 — , .

he evidence f ust he and } “ dis. | CRAs AUSONUCAVE SPSS) CaecER, SC., | - (70 © 2498 & 72 C 3233).

the evidence and must he and hereby are cis na Gandeneact ataet 64a.hena? Lane ) ;

. : . - . { 76, 66k. SS 5 athanee > ~~ EF yy Re WL ? ad

missed. Each party shall bear its own costs on | we

14. Ansen’s claim of unfair competition

asainst £-T is dismissed. No evidence at all

was introduced to support this count. Costs

these counts. | :

will be awarded to E-T. |

|

13. Any finding of fact entered herein Cn consicerasion of she pesicion Ser seheasin Ser

which may be construed in whole or in part 2s Ziled in the edcove-enziz! ec cause, n0 jue @ in acrive saeee

; wir _—- wes , oa we" —-_ =o , - SCE pay | Sta e=v-.ce H

a conciusion of law shall be so deemed and waving tequescec 2 vote shereon, nor any jucse having voted <o ;

treated as if set forth as a conclusion of law , ssanc che pesicion, anc ali cf she nexdess of ch 1 havin

herein and any conclusion of law entered | ‘sted to deny 2 rehearing, = aaa ac ca a

herein which may be construed in whole or in | statis . ey

part as a finding of fact shall beso deemed and | I= IS CRDERED that the petision sor rehearing en be Cc :

— . — —* -—— ~ ows - - — * - . ry} °

7 : = the above-ensicled cause be, and che same is heresy, Danza.

. » :

e ‘

a * le send — , . . < oo . *

UE Juszice Stevens marticisated initiaily as Circuic Judge,

md on and afters December 19, 1975 as Cireuitc Juscice.

sa

| | | PPT et Se «

APP. 18

189 USPQ

Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc. 449

Supreme Court of the United States

_ Sakraida v. Ag Pro, inc.

No. 75-110 Decided Apr. 20, 1976

PATENTS

1. Patentability — Invention — In

general (§51.501)

Constitution requires that there be some

“invention” to be entitled to patent protec-

tion; there is absence of that degree of skill

and ingenuity that constitutes essential

elements of every invention unless more skill

and ingenuity were required than were

essed by ordinary mechanic acquainted

with business.

4 Patentability — Invention — Law or

fact question (§51.507)

Ultimate test of patent validity is one of

law. but resolution of obviousness issue

necessarily entails basic factual inquiries.

3. Patentabiliry — Aggregation or com-

Conien = Of old elements

(§51.159)

Courts should scrutinize patent claims for

combinations of old elements with care

proportioned to difficulty and im probability

of finding invention in assembly of old

elements; patent for combination that only

unites old elements with no change in their

respective functions withdraws what is

already known into field of its monopoly and

diminishes resources available to skillful

men.

egation or com-

4. Patentability — A

old elements

bination —

(§51.159)

Patentability — Aggregation or com-

bination — Spontiie cases (§51.163)

Combination of old elements that

produces abrupt release of water directly

from storage tanks or pools to sloping barn

floor to wash away animal wastes is not syn-

ergistic, that is, resulting in effect greater

than sum of several effects taken separately;

arrangement of old elements with each per-

forming same function it had been known to

perform, although perhaps producing more

striking result than in previous com-

binations. is not patentable: assembly of old

elements that delivers water directly rather

than through pipes or hoses to barn floor is

work of skillful mechanic, not inventor; ex-

ploiting principle of gravity adds nothing to

sum of useful knowledge where there is no

change in respective functions of com-

bination s elements.

egation or com-

5. Patentability — A

i old elements

bination —

(§51.159)

Patentability — Evidence of —

Commercial success — In general

(§51.4551)

Patentability — Evidence of —

Economy, efficiency and simplicity

(§51.461)

Desirable benefits of combination of old

elements, which was great convenience,

produced desired result in cheaper and

faster way and enjoved commercial success,

but that did not tape new or different

function within validity test for combination

patents, do not make patentability, without

invention.

Particular patents — Dairy Establish-

ment

3,223,070, Gribble and Bennett, Dairy

Establishment, claims 1 and 3 invalid.

On writ of certiorari to Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit; 185 USPQ 642.

Action by Ag Pro. Inc., against Bernard

A. Sakraida for patent infringement. On

writ of certiorari to review judgment for

plaintiff. Reversed.

See also 168 USPQ 481. 177 USPQ 106.

179 USPQ 385, 187 USPQ 480.

James F. Hulse and Stephen B. Tatem. Jr..

both of E] Paso. Tex.. and R. Douglas

Lyon, and Lyon & Lyon, both of Los

Angeles. Calif. (Scott, Hulse, Marshall &

Feuille. El] Paso, Tex., of counsel) for

petitioner.

J. Pierre Kolisch. Portland, Ore. (John W.

Stuam. Portland, Ore., of counsel) for

respondent.

Helen W. Nies, Donald R. Dunner, Herbert

H. Mintz, and David N. Webster, all of

Washington, D.C., for The Bar Associa-

tion of the District of Columbia, amicus

curiae.

Mary Helen Sears, and Irons & Sears, both

of Washington, D.C., for The Texas

Farmers Union, amicus curiae.

Mr. Justice Brennan delivered the opi-

nion of the Court.

Respondent Ag Pro, Inc.. filed this action

a petitioner Sakraida on October 8,

1968, in the District Court for the Western

District of Texas for infringement of United

States Letters Patent 3,223,070, entitled

‘Dairy Establishment,”’ covering a water

APP. 19

450 Sakraide v. Ag Pro, Inc.

189 USPQ

flush systern to remove cow suanure from the

floor of a dairy barn. The patent was issued

December 14, 1965, 10 Gribbie and Bennett,

who later assigned it 10 respondent.

The District Court's initial gram of sum-

mary judgement for petitioner was reversed

by the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Cir-

cuit. 437 F.2d 99, 168 US 481 (1971).

After a tria] on remand, the District Court

again emered a judgment for petitioner. The

District Court held that the patem ‘“‘does

NOt constitute invention, is not patemabie,

and is not a valid patent, it being a combina-

tion patemt. all of the elements of which are

old in the dairy business. long prior to 1963,

and the combination of them as described in

the said paiem being neither new nor

meeting the test of non-obviousness.” The

Court of Appeals again reversed and held

the patemt valid. 474 F.2d 167, 177 USPQ

106 (1973). On rehearing. the court

remanded “with directions to enter a jude-

ment holding the patent valid. subject.

however. 10 * * * consideration of a motion

under Fed. Rule Civ. Proc. 60(b)(2). 10 be

filed in the Districi Court by the |petitioner)

Sakraida on the issue of patent validity bas-

ed on newly discovered evidence.” 48) F.2d

668, 669, 179 USPQ 385, 386 (1973). The

District Court gramed the motion and

ordered a new trial. The Court of Appeals

again reversed. holding that the grant of the

mouon was error. because “the record on

the mouon establishes that |petitioner| fail-

ec 10 exercise Gue Giligence to discover the

new evidence prior 10 entry of the former

yudermem ~ 512 F.2¢ 141. 142. 183 USPQ

642. 643 (1975). The Court of Appeais

further held that *‘|ojur prior de1ermination

of patent validity is reaffirmed.” I¢.. at 144.

1€5 USPQ a: 644. We eramied ceniorari.

423 U.S. 891. 187 USPQ 480 (1975). We

hold tha: the Cour: of Appeals erred in

hoiding the paten: valid and also in reaffir-

ming its determination of patent validity.

We therefore reverse and direct the

reinstatement of the Distric: Court's jude-

ment for petitioner. anc thus we have no oc-

casion 10 Gecide whether the Court of

Appeals properly found that petitioner had

not established a case for a ..ew trial under

Rule 60(b) (2).

Systems using water 10 clean anima!

wastes from barn floors have been familiar

on dairy farms since ancient times.’ The

_ * Among the labors of Hercules is the follow-

ing:

“Hercules was next sent to Augeas King of Elis,

who had immense droves of cattle. The stables

usually occupied by these animals were in an in-

credibly filthy state, as they had not been cleaned

APP. 20

District Court found, and respondent con-

cedes, that none of the 13 elements of the

Dairy Establishmemt combination is new,’

im years; and now Hercules was given the task to

remove the accumulated filth, and make a com-

plete purification of The premises.

“Close by these stables rushed a torrent, or

rather a river. the Al s. Hercules, with one

glance, saw the use he could make of this rushing

stream, which he dammed and turned aside from

its course, so that the waters passed directly

—— the stables. carrying away al) mnpurities,

and finaliv washing them ectly clean.”

Guerber, Myths of Greece and Rome 221 (1893).

* The District Cour found as follows reflecting

Ciaims 1 and 3, the only claims involved in the

case:

“1. |] find tha: the ‘dairy establishment’ as

described in Unined States Letters Patent

3.233.07C is composed of 13 separate items, as

foliows:

(a) ** © * a smooth, evenly contoured, paved

yy forming a ficor providing a walking sur-

ace = Bh

*“(b) ** * * drain means for draining wash

sour, from such floor opening to the top of the

r.

*“(c) ** * * said srmooth, eveniv comoured sur-

ya which forms such floor sloping toward said

Tain see

“(¢d) ** * * muhipie rest areas with individua!

stalls for each cow and with each of said stalis

having 2 botiom which is also 2 smooth pavement

“(e) “* * * which 1s disposed at an elevation

above the paved surface forming the floor * * °."

“(f* © © said sialls being dimensioned so that

2 com can comionabiv stanc or lie in the stall. but

ofia! from the cow falls outside the sta!) borom

anc onto the floor providing the walking surface

in the barn ® ° °

**(g) ** * © said barn further including defined

feeding areas having feeding troughs * * *.’

“(h) ** * © a cow-holding area’

“(i) ** * © a milking area.

“G) ** * © 2 transfer area al) botromed with

the walking surface forming said floor in the barn

“(k) ** * * and floor washing means for

washing the floor providing the walking surface in

the barn where said floor bottom, said feeding,

holding, milking and transfer areas operabie to

send wash water flowing over the floor with such

water washing any cow offa) thereon into the said

drain means. said floor washing means including

‘means locaied over a region of said floor which is

uphill from said drain means constructed to

coliect water as a poo! above said floor and

operable after such collection of water as a poo! to

dispense the water as a sheet of water over said

T.

_“(1) A tank on a mounting, so that in can be

tihed. and the water poured out 10 cascade on the

floor 10 form a sheet.

“(m) A floor-washing means comprising a

dam for damming or collecting water as a poo!

directly on the floor, which such dam abruptly

--—- rr—— —-— .ll iC —— =

+189 USPQ

Sakraide vr. Ag Pro, Inc. 451

and many of those eiements. including

storage of the water in tanks or pools.

- appear in at least six prior patented

systems.’ The prior art involved spot

Gelivery of water from tanks or pools to the

barn floor by means of nigh pressure hoses

of pipes. That svstern required supplemen-

tal hand labor. using tractor blades, shovels,

and brooms. and cleaning by these meiscds

took several hours. The only claimed inven-

tive feature of the Dairy Establishment com-

bination of old elements is the provision for

abrupt release of the water from the tanks or

poois directivy onto the barn floor, which

causes the fiow of a sheet of water that

washes al! anima! waste into drains within

minutes and requires no supplemental hand

labor. As an expert witness for respondent

testified concerning the effect of Dairy

Establishment’s combination, ‘‘water at the

potiom has more friction than this water at

the top and it keeps moving ahead anc as

this water keeps moving ahead we get a roll

ing action of this water which proaucec the

cieaning action * * *. You donot get this in

a hose ° * *. [Ujniess that water is con-

tinuousiy directed toward the cieaning arez

the cleaning action almost ceases insian-

*taneousiv * * * ™

* openaDdie 10 senc water CasCacing as 2 sneet Over

tne floor towaras the Crain.

“2 | fumner fine that each of the items

above-oescribec were not new. Out had been usec

In tne Cairy DusiMess DMOr 10 Ine time the apdica-

- jor tne said Grilsic catemt. mace tne sudrect

nis action. had been filed in the Patent Office

of tne Unnec States on November 5. 1963."

The District Cour: found “tnai many of the

items going 10 make up Plaintiff's cian for a

satent were disciosed 1m pMmor patents, known

respectively as tne \icCornack paren. the Holz

patent. the !ngranam patent. the Kreutzer patent.

the Bogem paten:. anc the Luks patent; anc that

the statements of the Examiner's opinions refus-

ing 10 issue a Patent are true as all mems tbere

stated 10 be covered in prior patents or

publications” = *

' This witness testified that

“water has energy and it can be usec in many

different wavs. In a hose the energy is used Ds

impact, under pressure. externa) force that is

applied 10 this pressure — to this water.

whereas the warer that comes down as 2 sheet

or wal! of water has built in v because of

its elevation and as this water is released i Goes

the same thing water does in a flooded stream.

As this water — | will try to make this clear.

and | hope | can. on the surface of this pave-

* ment there are these piles of manure droppings.

This pavement is smooth anc this water moves

down over this manure. The water at the dot-

tom has more [riction than this water on the top

and it keeps moving ahead and as this water

keeps moving ohend we get a rolling action of

The District Court found that “ |[njeither

the tank which holds the water. nor the

means of releasing the water Quickly is new,

but embraces tanks and doors which have

long been known,” and further that “their

use in this connection is one that is obvious,

and the patent in that respect is lacking in

novelty. The patent does not meet the non-

obvious requirements of the law.”” The

District Court therefore held that Dairy

Establishment “‘may be relevant to commer-

cial success, but not to invention,” because

the combination “was reasonably obvious to

one with ordinary skili in the art.”

Moreover, even if the combination filled a

“long-felt want and © * * has enjoyed com-

mercial] success, those matters, without in-

vention, will not make patentability.” Final-

iy, the District Court concluded “that to

those skilled in the art. the use of the old

elements in combination was not an inven-

tion by the obvious-nonobvious standard.

Even tnough the dairy barn in question al-

tains the posture of a successiul venture.

more than that is needed for invention.’”

The Court of Appeals disagreed with the

District Coum’s conclusion on the crucial

issue of obviousness.

[1] It has long been clear that the

Constitution requires that there be some

“invention” to de entitled to patent protec-

tion. Dann v. Johnston, U.S . 189

USPQ 257 (1976). As we explainec in

Hotcnkiss v.. Greenwood. 1] How. 248. 267

(1851). “[U]niess more ingenuity and skill

* * * were required “© * " than were

possessed by an ordinary mechanic ac-

Quainted with the business. there was an

absence of that Gegree of skil] and ingenuity

which constitute essential elements of every

this water which produced the clearung acuon.

That is the kev to this method of cleaning. You

do not get this in a hose. You do not get it ina

gutter as has been used in the past. | might just

mention a little bit about the hose. This squir-

ung water on a floor — probably have done it

on our own sidewalks or walkwavs. and | just

mention that. that uniess that water 1s con-

tunuousiv directed towards the cleaning area

the cleaning action aimost ceases instan-

taneousiv. Now the movie that was shown

earlier very dramatically illustrated that point.

The cleaning action — as soon as the hoses

moved 10 one side the cleaning action ceased

here and that is why this hose was moved back

and forth, to drive this stuff on down to where

we want it.”

‘ The court also “conciude|d) that while the

combination of old elements may have performed

a useful function. it added nothing to the nature

and quality of dairy barns theretofore used.”

APP. 21

~~ —— ogee

452 ; Sokraide v. Ag Pro, Inc.

189 USPQ

invention. In other words, the improvement

is the work of the skillful mechamic. not that

of the inventor.” This standard was enacted

in 1952 by Congress in 35 U.S.C. §103 “asa

codification of judicial precedents * * °

with Congressiona! directions that inquiries

imo the obviousness of the subject matter

sought 10 be patemied are a prerequisite to

patentability. "Graham v. John Deere Co..

383 U.S. 1, 17, 148 USPQ 459, 466 (1966).

Section 103 provides:

“A patent may not be obtained though

the invention is not identically disclosed

or described. as set forth in section 102 of

this title, if the differences between the

subject matter sought to be patented and

the prior art are such that the subject mat-

ter as 2 whole would have been obvious-at

the time the invention was made to a per-

son having ordinary skil) in the am to

which said subject matter pertains. Pai-

entability shall not be nmegatived by the

manner in which the invention was

made.”

{2} The ultimate test of pavemt validity is

one of law. A&P Tez Co. v Supermarket

Corp.. 340 U.S. 147. 155. 87 USPQ 303. 307

(1950), but resolution of ihe obviousness

issue necessarily emails severa) basic factua)

inquires. Graham v. John Deere Co.. supra.

a1 17, 148 USPQ ai 466-467.

““Linoer §103. the scope and conten: of

the prior art are 10 be Gelerminec:

Gifierences between the prior ari anc the

Claims a1 issue are 10 be ascertainec. anc

tne jeve) of ordimary skil! in the pertinent

arm resolved ~ Ibic

The Cour of Appeals concluded tha:

“the facts presemiec at tria) clearly do not

suppor: ithe District Court's} finding of ob-

viousness under the three-proneed Graham

rest * * °." £74 F.2d. ar 172.177 USPQ ar

110. We disagree and hoid tha: the Court of

Appeals erroneousiy set aside the District

Court's findings

[3] The scope of the prior art was shown

by prior patents. prior am publications. al-

fidavits of people having knowledge of prior

flush svsiems analogous to respondent's.

and the testimony of a dairy operator with

22 years’ experience who described flush

svstems he had seen on visits 10 dairy farms

throughout the country. Our independent

examination of that evidence persuades us of

its sufficiency to support the District Court's

finding “as a fact that each and all of the

component parts of this patent * ° ° were

old and well-known throughout the dairy in-

dustry long prior to the date of the filing of

the application for the Gribble patent * ~ *

|w}hat Mr. Gribble referred to * * * as the

APP.

essence of the patent, to wit, the manure

flush system. was old, various means for

flushing manure from dairy barns having

been used long before the filing of the

application * * *.™™ Indeed, respondent ac-

mitted at tria) “that the patent is made up of

a combination of old e nts” and “that

all elements are individually old * * *.” Ac-

cordingly. the District Court properly

followed our admonition in A&P Tea Co. v.

Supermarket Corp.. supra, at 152,87 USPQ

at 305-306: “Courts should scrutinize com-

bination patent claims with a care propor-

tioned to the difficulty and improbabiliry of

finding invention in an assembly of old

elements * * *. A patemt for a combination

which only unites old elements with no

change in their respective functions * ° °

obviousiv withdraws what already is known

into the field of its monopoly and diminishes

the resources available 10 skillful men

The Court of Appeals recognized that the

patent combined old elements for applying

water 10 a conventiona! sloped floor in a

dairv barn equipped with drains at the bot-

tom of the slope and that the purpose of the

storage tank — 10 accumulate 2 la

volume of water capable of being released in

a cascade or surge — was eQualiy conven-

tional. 474 F.2d. at 169, 177 USPQ at 108.

lt concluded. however. that the element

lacking in the prior ari was any evidence of

an arrangement of the old elements to effect

the abrupt release of a flow of water to wash

anima! wastes from the floor of a dairy barn.

Ibid. Therefore. ‘‘although the

irespondent'’s; flush svsem does noi em-

brace a compiicated techmica! improvement.

it does achieve a svnergistic result through 2

novel combination.” Id.. at 173, 177 USPQ

at 111.

[4] We canno: agree that the combina-

tion of these old elements 10 produce an

* The cour stated:

**) therefore find as 2 faci that each and al) of

_ the component parts of this patent as bsted under

the applicant's claims set out in said patent. were

old and well-known throughout the dairy in-

dustry jong prior 10 the date of the filing of the

application for the Gribble patent. | further find

that what Mr. Gribbie referred to in his deposi-

tion as the essence of the patemt, to wit, the

manure flush system. was old, various means for

flushing manure from the dairy barns having been

used lo

the Gribble patemt. the genera) idea in that con-

nection being a hard surfaced sloping floor omto

which the cows’ offal] was dropped, and some

svstem of introducing water in sufficient quan-

tities and force omto said floor 10 wash the offa!

therefrom, with a ditch or drain 10 carry the offal

so washed away from the barn, either imo a

manure comainer or otherwise.”

22

before the filing of the application for —

>

189 USPQ

Rober! Shgwood Group Lid. vr. O'Reilly

453

brupt release of water directly on the barn

eer from storage tanks or pools can proper-

'\ be characterized as synergistic, that is,

“resultjing] in an effect greater than the

sum of the severa] effects taken separately.”

Angderson’s-Black Rock v. Pavement Co..

396 U.S. 57. 61, 163 USPQ 673. 674 (1960).

Rather. this patent simply arranges old

elements with each performing the same

function it had been known to perform,

although perhaps producing a more striking

result than in previous combinations. Such

combinations are not patentable under stan-

dards appropriate for a combination patent.

A&P Tea Co. v. Supermarket, Equipment

Corp., supra; Anderson’s-Black Rock v.

Pavement Co., supra. Linder those authori-

ties this assembly of old elernents that deli-

vers water directiv rather than through pipes

or hoses to the barn floor falls under the head

af “the work of the skillful mechanic, not that

of the invemor.”’ Hotchkiss v. Greenwood.

supra. at 267. Exploitation of the principle of

eravity adds nothing to the sum of useful)

knowleage where there is no change in the

respective functions of the elements of the

combination: this paruicular use of the

assembiv of old elements would be obvious

‘o any person skilled in the arm of

mechanica!l application. See Dann v.

johnston. slip op.. at 11. 189 USPQ at

26 1-262

{5} Tnough doubtiess 2 matter of great

fonvenience. producing a desired result inz

cheaper anc faster way. and enjoving com-

mercia! success. Dairy Establishment “did

noi produce 2 ‘new or different function’

* * within the test of validity of combina-

. patents.” Anderson’s-Black Rock v.

ravemem Co.. supra. at 60. 163 USPQ ar

674. These desirable benefits “‘without in-

envon wil] not make patentabilirv."" A&P

Tea Co. v. Supermarkei. Eouipment Corp..

supra. at 133. & USPQ at 306. See Dann v.

Johnston. supra. at — n.4, 189 USPQ at

261.

BEST COPY AVAILABLE

Court of Appeals, Second Circuit

The Robert Suigwood Group Limited. et al.

v. O'Reilly, et al.

Track Music, Inc., et al.

v. Comemporary Mission, Inc., et al.

Nos. 75-7076, 75-7077 and 75-7091

Decided Jan. 19, 1976

COPYRIGHTS

1. Accounting — Damages — Copyrights

($1 1.253 g Pytig

Infringement — In genera! (§24.201)

Federa) district court erred in taking

“baseline figure of 50” as number of un-

authorized performances of copyrighted

work simply because figure had been con-

ceded by accused infringers.

2. Infringement — In general (§24.201)

Rights embraced in copyright (§24.50)

Ephemera! public performance on stage is

not like film negative that can be reproduc-

ed; Section i(d) provides that exclusive

right to make “‘any transcription or record”

belongs 10 copyright owner.

5. Infringement — In genera) (§24.201)

17 U.S.C. 10i(e) makes unauthorized

manufacture of tape recordings containing

renditions of copyrighted musica) com-

posiuons infringemeni of musical copyright.

4. Accounting — Damages — Copyrights

(611.253) —

infringement — In genera! (§24.201)

Oniv when rvype of copyright infringement

permits further reproduction abroad is ex-

plonation abroad subject of constructive

trust, federa) district court properly exclud-

ed unauthorized Canadian performances of

copyrighted works in assessing damages.

since copyright laws do not have ex-

traterritoria] operation.

5. Accounti

(§11.253

There are three wavs of getting damages

— Damages — Copyrights

| for copyright infringememt under 17 U.S.C.

191: (1) actual damages to —-

proprietor, (2) profits that infringer has

made from such infringement, or (3) in lieu

‘of actual damages and profits, damages as

appear to court to be just. which shall not

exceed $5.000 nor be less than $250 and

shal! noi be regarded as penalty.

APP. 23

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — E-T Industries, Inc. v. Whittaker Corp. · 429 U.S. 870 | Frix