Jurisdictional Statement — Philadelphia v. New Jersey

Supreme Court brief1977

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

;

—

oY Gaprehe Ooh,

é,

1 FILED

FEB 13 1976

Supreme Court of the United | States. =

October Term, 1975.

No. 75-1150

(Now INTERSTATE WASTE REMOVAL CO., INC,),

o.

STATE OF NEW JERSEY, DEPARTMENT OF

MENTAL PROTECTION OF THE STATE OF NEW

JERSEY and RICHARD J. SULLIVAN, Commissioner of the

Department of Environmental Protection of the State of Now

Appellees.

On Appeal From the Supreme Court of the State of

_ New Jersey.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT.

ARTHUR MEISE «,

Joun R. P Nt beret S

SoLo & Papova, A Professional Corporation,

3rd Floor, Lewis Tower Building, 19 Chancery Lane,

15th and Locust Streets, Trenton, N. J. 08618

Philadelphia, Penna. 19102 (608) 306-5511

dopant Oy of Attorneys for Appellants.

ieternational Printing Co., 711 Go. 60m Ot, Phila., Pe, 10143 — Tet. (216) 727-6711

INDEX.

Page

I ED bg ck emai eect i edie veveucccdeceds 1

I i he hice ins gc detdas cclkviseesic 2

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ........0ccccccccccccccccees 4

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ............0cceseeseeeees 5

THE QUESTIONS ARE SUBSTANTIAL ................ 16

A. Solid and Liquid Waste, and the Process of Collect-

ing, Treating and Disposing of Same, Is a Legitimate

Subject of Interstate Commerce ...............-.- 16

B. P. L. 1973, c. 363, on Its Face, Discriminates Against

and Directly Burdens Interstate Commerce ....... 20

L. Movembemdedeess 5. ccc ccc cccvccccccccccccsces 22

2. Legitimate Local Purpose ...............++0+: 31

3. Effect Upon Interstate Commerce ............. 38

C. Appellants Were Unconstitutionally Denied a Plenary

Hearing on the Merits of Their Claim ............ 41

SEE nti ie nies adnded oeinuseé dee Gnd Canes een 47

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE ...............ccceeeeeees 49

APPENDIX A-l—Transcript of Oral Opinion of Trial Court Al

APPENDIX A-2—Opinion of Superior Court of New Jersey,

Chancery Division, in Companion Case Hackensack

Meadowlands v. Mun. Landfill Auth., 127 N. J. Super.

Ss | REO TT (Or Ter TT eee Te eT Ete A9

APPENDIX A-3—Hackensack Mead. Dev. Com'n v. Munici-

pal San. L. A., 68 N. J. 451, 348 A. 2d 505 (1975) ..... A27

APPENDIX B—Order of New Jersey Supreme Court Dated

a TI iii Bis dba rk beeskEes Conse cheeses A55

APPENDIX C—Order of Superior Court of New Jersey, Law

Division, Dated December 19, 1975 ................. A56

APPENDIX D-—Notice of Appeal Filed January 9, 1976 ... A58

APPENDIX E-—P. L. 1973, c. 363, Approved January 2, 1974 A61

APPENDIX F—Appellants’ Complaint Filed in Trial Court . A63

INDEX (Continued).

Page

APPENDIX G—Affidavit of Richard Peluso Dated January

OR, FEED on cvncccvennedds seessscttecvetvdaveceaneum A86

APPENDIX H-—Letter Dated December 26, 1973 From

Richard W. DeKorte, Esq., Counsel to Governor Cahill,

Op Rawls Gath, TOO oak cvicccdocecssaseisksebies ens A89

APPENDIX I—Order to Show Cause With Restraints ...... A91

APPENDIX J—Verbatim Copy of N. J. A. C. 7:14 ........ A94

APPENDIX K—Order Granting Interlocutory Injunction ... A98

APPENDIX L—Affidavit of Arsen J. Darnay, Dated January

GB Oe svccdcvcgedancancgdadsuadaobastalscehbulen A100

APPENDIX M—Appellees Answer to Complaint .......... A106

APPENDIX N—Rules of Bureau of Solid Waste Manage-

snout, BF. 5, A, G. THES © GM, on ivscibecctvscouciaces All4

APPENDIX O—Portion of Transcript of Deposition of Lino

F. Pereira Taken on March 13, 1974 .................. A195

APPENDIX P—Motion for Summary Judgment ........... A204

APPENDIX Q—Portion of Brief Filed in Trial Court by Ap-

WEED. oon ccsconavcavedudesepadebed cadpsdtatecatian A206

APPENDIX R—Notice of Appeal Filed by Appellees on April

BE Se cbc dcee os cust snceicdesbinbabeaatiadsl suce A207

APPENDIX S—Motion for Stay of Judgment ............. A209

APPENDIX T—Denial of Motion for Stay of Judgment .... A211

APPENDIX U—Certification of Appeal by New Jersey

Ca CRITE 6 a.n.s0cccccncctconsdditacceecneseetasy A213

APPENDIX V—Order of New Jersey Supreme Court Grant-

ing Stay of Judgment to Appellants on Emergency Basis A215

APPENDIX W—Application for Stay of Judgment and Other

Relief to New Jersey Supreme Court by Appellants .... A217

APPENDIX X—Orders Issued by New Jersey Supreme Court

Pee ee pe A222

APPENDIX Y—Order of Mr. Justice William J. Brennan, Jr. A225

APPENDIX Z—Affidavit of Richard Peluso Dated November

GR, BOW. cc ccncscvicctsecc cadndbacabnedakenimasie. A226

DUD NOUR «on 0c odds theses cdedectddnseemelein. A231

CITATIONS.

Cases: | . Page

Alexandria Scrap Corporation v. Hughes, 391 F. Supp. 46

(MA. 1GTB) occ cccdcdcctvcccccccccincttseresocvess 17

American Can. Co. v. Oregon Liquor Control Commission,

15 Ore. App. 618, 517 P. 2d 691 (Ct. App. Ore. 1973) . .19, 27

Asbell v. Kansas, 209 U. S. 251 (1908) .........--- eee eeeee 18, 29

Baldwin v. G. A. F. Seelig, 294 U. S. 511 (1935) ........... 18, 30

Best & Co. v. Maxwell, 311 U. S. 454 (1940) ............... 23, 24

Bowie Inn, Inc. v. City of Bowie, 274 Md. 230, 335 A. 2d 679

(Ct. App. Md. 1975) ........cceccceeccceeeeeeseeees 19

Bowman v. Chicago &c. Ry. Co., 125 U. S. 465 (1888) ...... 18, 29

Brinkerhoff-Faris Co. v. Hill, 281 U. S. 673 (1930) ....... 3, 46, 47

Clason v. Indiana, 306 U. S. 439 (1939) ...........---45-. 18

Construction Ind. Ass'n, Sonoma Cty. v. City of Petaluma,

522 F. 2d 897 (9th Cir. 1975) ......... cece cece eee eee 27

Crossman v. Lurman, 192 U. S. 189 (1904) ....... aceeetune 18

Dean Milk Co. v. Madison, 340 U. S. 349 (1951) .......... 3, 22

Georgia v. Tennessee Copper Co., 206 U. S. 230 (1907) .... 3%

Grannis v. Ordean, 234 U. S. 385 (1914) .............0005- 46

Hackensack Meadowlands v. Mun. Landfill Auth., 127 N. J.

Super. 160, 316 A. 2d 711 (Ch. 1974) rev. 64 N. J. 451,

348 A. 2d 505 (1975) ........... 2, 12, 18, 22, 27, 28, 29, 40, 41

Head v. New Mexico Board, 374 U. S. 424 (1963) ......... 24

Horn v. Community Refuse Disposal, Inc., 186 Neb. 43, 180

a & . gs B & ppppenh en peer 36

Huron Cement Co. v. Detroit, 362 U. S. 440 (1960) .3, 19, 24, 25, 38

Judson v. Peoples Bank & Trust Co. of Westfield, 17 N. J. 67,

SE i; Te Ee CF nhs 04 Rok oe ci di vib eceecsccnevad 41

Las Vegas Merchant Plumbers Ass'n v. United States, 210

F, 2d 732 (9th Cir. 1954) .............005. unbeneh te 17

Mintz v. Baldwin, 289 U. S. 346 (1933) ..............0055- 18

Mullane v. Central Hanover Tr. Co., 339 U. S. 306 (1950) .. 46

Myers v. City of Hagerstown, 214 Md. 312, 135 A. 2d 147

CGR, BI THE on cas coe ceccdcc sendpepenovp obety- 36

Oklahoma v. Kansas Nat. Gas Co., 221 U. S. 229 (1911) ..3, 29, 38

Penna. v. West Virginia, 262 U. S. 553 (1923) ............. 29

Pike v. Bruce Church, Inc., 397 U. S. 137 (1970) ........... 3, 21

CITATIONS (Continued).

Cases (Continued): Page

Plumley v. Massachusetts, 155 U. S. 461 (1894) ........... 18

Portland Pipe Line Corp. v. Environmental Imp. Com’n., 307

A. 2d 1 (Sup. Jud. Ct. Me. 1973) .............0..eees 26, 27

Proctor & Gamble Co. v. City of Chicago, 509 F. 2d 69 (7th

Cir. 1974), Cert. den. 421 U. S. 978 (1975) ........... 19, 27

Railroad Co. v. Husen, 95 U. S. 465 (1877) ............. 3, 23, 24

Reid v. Colorado, 187 U. S. 137 (1902) ..............0005- 32

Rhodes v. Houston, 202 F. Supp. 624 (Neb. 1962), affd 309

F. 2d 959 (8th Cir. 1962), cert. den. 372 U. S. 909 (1963),

SUS GU. &. GUE. CHIR) oc vcsceccsgecusteivecssbunibaues 46

Rocchi v. Zoning Bd. of App. of Town of Glastonbury, 157

Conn. 106, 248 A. 2d 922 (Sup. Ct. 1968) ............ 36

Savage v. Jones, 225 U. S. 501 (1912) .................... 18, 19

Sligh v. Kirkwood, 237 U. S. 52 (1915) ...............405. 18

Smith v. St. Louis and Southwestern Ry. Co., 181 U. S. 248

CHEER) ov cccvccccccsesececeguaguatede segues aawunne 32

United States v. Bishop Processing Company, 287 F. Supp.

GBG (ROE. SRM) oo cccncesssccctuacevenisksatesuaneel 19, 38

U. S. v. Frankfort Distilleries, 324 U. S. 293 (1945) ........ 17

United States v. Pennsylvania Refuse Removal Ass'n, 242 F.

Supp. 794 (E. D. Pa. 1965), affd 357 F. 2d 806 (3rd Cir.

1966), cert. den. 384 U. S. 961 (1966) ................ 16, 17

U. S. v. Underwriters Ass’n, 322 U. S. 533 (1944) .......... 17

Wood v. Town of Wilton, 156 Conn. 304, 240 A. 2d 904 (Sup.

Ge. SEED) . oc cccoccussvéccskcannctesatancaneee 36

Statutes:

Federal:

SG. OG, OB. ..ccccscscoscesetdcesasaubenseneee 16

U.S. G GREED occcccccccdicdechcckiueeel 2,3

BU. B.C. GRIUIEDD «. 6ccscccdccoonccccanae 2,3

@ GU. BG: GEE cc cccicccecoccocdescunwen sauna 39

@ GU. SG GERARD cccvconccoucededucneasee 39

@ GU. &. G SHS ccecccesecccsceeccnsneaeneaee 39

Pak B. GG 0 cc cccvcscesecesoceseeetuanee 39

DU, Ee. GEGEED 0 cvcccccesenescessenaneanneeee 39

CITATIONS (Continued).

Page

State:

BO. J. B A, WBE 2. cc cccccccccvcccccccccccccccees 14,33

NN. J. GS. A, USTED 2... nc ccccccccccccccccccceee 2, 4, 34, 35

on os cosa censeneceace 1, et seq

Constitutional Provisions:

U. S. Const.:

i Pe EM Th. occccccacecssceseccecess 10, 11, 12, 17

os a. cow apedcosececse 48

TE a 20

Fourteenth Amendment ........... 6.6... c ess eee neues 46

Administrative Regulations:

CE oi. enesnestees 6, 8, 35, 37

| SRE aa so diaiaaiabenlan 7,34

EEE i 9, 32, 35

EE 34

EE ee ee ee 18, 33

ee sis Loi cides bbactbesnones 33

casi cninicwecn cvbeescti 33

ES a RE 31

i i es snk acim serene 37

RE SA a 33

EE 37

SE 37

BE, B, A GS, Te GS occ ccccccccccccccccccccsccccccccess 3l

SE 37

ET 35

ee isa buipdivi aces 33

Other Authorities:

1965 U. S. Code, Cong. and Adm. News, p. 3614 ........... 39

1970 U. S. Code, Cong. and Adm. News, p. 4553 ........... 39, 40

Annotation, “Public Dump as Nuisance", 52 ALR2¢d 116M... BB

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, 1975.

No.

CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, CITY OF GLEN COVE,

LANDFILL AND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY,

MAC SANITARY LANDFILL, INC., KINSLEY’S

LANDFILL, INC. anp DELORENZO-INTERSTATE

WASTE REMOVAL CO., INC. (Now INTERSTATE

WASTE REMOVAL CO., INC.),

Appellants,

STATE OF NEW JERSEY, DEPARTMENT OF EN-

VIRONMENTAL PROTECTION OF THE STATE

OF NEW JERSEY anv RICHARD J. SULLIVAN,

COMMISSIONER OF THE DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRON-

MENTAL PROTECTION OF THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY,

Appellees.

On APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

STaTE OF NEw JERSEY.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT.

OPINIONS BELOW.

The opinion of the Superior Court of New Jersey, Law

Division, declaring P. L. 1973, c. 363 (N. J. S. A. 13:11-9,

2 Jurisdictional Statement

10) unconstitutional is not reported. The opinion of the

Superior Court of New Jersey, Chancery Division, in the

companion case Hackensack Meadowlands v. Mun. Land-

fill Auth. is reported in the official reports at 127 N. J.

Super. 160 (Ch. 1974), and in the unofficial reports at 316

A. 2d 711. The opinion of the New Jersey Supreme Court,

reversing the trial court’s decisions in each of the aforesaid

eases, is published in the official reports as Hackensack

Meadowlands v. Mun. Landfill Auth., 68 N. J. 451 (1975),

and in the unofficial reports as Hackensack Mead. Dev.

Com’n v. Municipal L. A., 348 A. 2d 505 (N. J. Sup. Ct.

1975). Said opinion is cited as Hackensack Meadowlands

v. Mun. Landfill Auth., — N. J. — (1975) in the within

Jurisdictional Statement. Copies of all of the aforesaid

opinions are collected in Appendices A-1, A-2 and A-3.

JURISDICTION.

This matter is brought pursuant to 28 U. S. C.

§ 1257(2) and in the alternative, 28 U. S. C. § 1257(3) to

set aside the judgment of the New Jersey Supreme Court

which upheld the constitutionality of P. L. 1973, c. 363.

Said judgment was rendered on November 18, 1975, and

entered on the same date. Thereafter, on December 11,

1975, the New Jersey Supreme Court remanded the matter

to the Superior Court, Law Division, “for such further

proceedings, if any, that that Court may deem appropriate

_ . .” (Appendix B, A55 infra). On December 19, 1975,

the New Jersey Superior Court, Law Division, issued its

order stating, in pertinent part, that“. . . no further pro-

ceedings are deemed appropriate by this Court . . .”

(Appendix C, A57 infra). A notice of appeal to the

Supreme Court of the United States was thereafter filed in

the New Jersey Supreme Court on January 9, 1976 (Ap-

pendix D, A58 infra). The jurisdiction of the Supreme

Court of the United States to review this suit (a) by direct

Jurisdictional Statement 3

appeal is conferred by Title 28, United States Code, Sec-

tion 1257(2), and alternatively (b) by certiorari is con-

ferred by Title 28, United States Code, Section 1257(3).

Appellants believe the following cases sustain the juris-

diction of the Supreme Court of the United States to review

the judgment of the New Jersey Supreme Court in this

case:

Pike ». Bruce Church, Inc., 397 U. S. 137 (1970);

Huron Cement Co. v. Detroit, 362 U. S. 440

(1960); :

Dean Milk Co. v. Madison, 340 U. S. 349 (1951);

Brinkerhoff-Faris Co. v. Hill, 281 U. S. 673

(1930);

Oklahoma v. Kansas Nat. Gas Co., 221 U. S. 229

(1911); '

Railroad Co. v. Husen, 95 U. S. 465 (1877).

The text of P. L. 1973, c. 363, the constitutional valid-

ity of which is involved in the present suit, reads as follows:

“The legislature finds and determines that since

the enactment of P. L. 1973, c. 39 (C 13:1I-l

et seq.) the volume of solid and liquid waste

continues to rapidly increase, that the treatment

and disposal of these wastes continues to pose an

even greater threat to the quality of the environ-

ment of New Jersey, that the available and ap-

propriate land fill sites within the State are being

diminished, that the environment continues to be

threatened by the treatment and disposal of waste

which originated or was collected outside the

State, and that the public, health, safety and wel-

fare require that the treatment and disposal

within this State of all wastes generated outside

of the State be prohibited.

4 Jurisdictional Statement

No person shall bring into this State any solid

or liquid waste which originated or was collected

outside the territorial limits of the State, except

garbage to be fed to swine in the State of New

Jersey, until the commissioner shall determine

that such action can be permitted without en-

dangering the public health, safety and welfare

and has promulgated regulations permitting and

regulating the treatment and disposal of such

waste in this State. Any person violating this

provision shall be subject to the penalty and en-

forcement provisions of the “Waste Control Act,’

P. L. 1973, c. 39."

Said statute is published in the pocket part of Title 13,

New Jersey Statutes Annotated, Section 11-9 and 11-10 at

pp. 85-86.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED.

1. Is solid and liquid waste, or the process of collect-

ing, treating and disposing of same, a legitimate subject of

interstate commerce?

2. Does a state statute which prohibits the entry into

the state of any solid or liquid waste (except garbage to be

fed to swine in the state ) ccllected in another state, discrim-

inate against or place an undue burden upon interstate

commerce?

3. In reversing an order granting a motion for sum-

mary judgment, may an appellate court constitutionally

decide the case on its merits without offering the moving

parties an opportunity to be heard, prior to the final deter-

mination, on the material issues of fact raised by their

complaint?

Jurisdictional Statement 5

STATEMENT OF THE CASE.

On January 2, 1974, P. L. 1973, c. 363, being

“An Act to prohibit any person from bringing

into this State any solid and liquid waste which

originated or was collected outside the State

was approved by the Governor of the State of New Jersey,

to become effective on February 1, 1974 (Appendix E,

A61 infra).

On January 21, 1974, appellants filed a complaint

attacking the constitutionality of said statute on federal

and state constitutional grounds (Appendix F, A63 infra).

Their simultaneous application for a temporary restraining

order was supported by an affidavit of a licensed profes-

sional engineer (Appendix G, A86 infra) which averred

that the transportation, treatment or disposal of solid waste

in New Jersey in accordance with applicable Federal and

New Jersey state and administrative laws, rules and regula-

tions would not pose a threat to the health, welfare and

safety of the residents of said state:

“3. The transportation in New Jersey of solid

waste in accordance with the terms and provi-

sions of applicable Federal and New Jersey state

and administrative laws, rules and regulations is

not hazardous to the public health and does not

constitute a threat to the health, welfare or safety

of the residents of the State of New Jersey.

4. The treatment and disposal in New Jersey of

domestic or foreign solid waste in accordance

with the terms and provisions of applicable Fed-

eral and New Jersey state and administrative

laws, rules and regulations is not hazardous to

6 Jurisdictional Statement

the public health and does not constitute a threat

to the health, welfare or safety of the residents of

the State of New Jersey.” '

It was further supported by a copy of a letter dated De-

cember 26, 1973 from Richard W. DeKorte, Esq., Counsel

to Governor William T. Cahill, to David Quient, Esq., city

attorney of appellant City of Glen Cove (Appendix H,

A89 infra), in which the Counsel to the Governor stated:

“Also, I might add that Senate Bill No. 2367

(OCR) [P. L. 1973, c. 363] would not have been

introduced had the sister states of New Jersey

permitted solid wastes originating in their states

to be disposed of at or near the point of orig-

ination.”

Based upon the aforesaid documents, and additional affi-

davits which documented that immediate and irreparable

harm would be suffered by appellants if temporary injunc-

tive relief was not granted, the Superior Court of New

Jersey, Law Division issued an Order to Show Cause with

Temporary Restraints on January 21, 1974, which, inter

alia, restrained the State from enforcing the provisions of

P. L. 1973, c. 363 (Appendix I, A91 infra). On the return

date of the Order to Show Cause, February 1, 1974, the

trial court issued an interlocutory injunction continuing

the restraints theretofore issued, and further specifically

enjoining the enforcement of N. J. A. C. 7:1-4, until its

further order” (Appendix K, A98 infra). In granting

1. The conclusions expressed in said paragraphs 3 and 4 have

never been attacked or rebutted. Quite the contrary, they have

been supported by appellees. See p. 9 infra.

2. N. J. A. C. 7:1-4, a rule governing the importation of solid

and liquid waste from outside New Jersey, was adopted by the

Commissioner of the New Jersey Department of Environmental

Jurisdictional Statement 7

interlocutory injunctive relief, the trial court considered

among others, an affidavit of the Deputy Assistant Admin-

istrator for Solid Waste Management Programs, United

States Environmental Protection Agency (Appendix L,

A100 infra), which averred, in pertinent part, as follows:

“It has not been established to the satisfaction

of EPA that the continuation of disposal, in an

environmentally sound manner, of solid waste

generated outside New Jersey poses any greater

immediate health threat to its citizens than the

2. (Cont’d.)

Protection on ee to authority conferred by

, rule, wes 2¢ as an emergency

measure to become effective February 1, 1974, provides, in perti-

nent part, as follows:

N. J. A. C. 7:1-42

rials;

4) Pesticides, hazardous chemical waste, bulk

ig Ea en

Jurisdictional Statement

continued disposal of domestically generated

solid waste. Therefore, there appears to be no

immediate health threat to justify the precipitious

passage and implementation of this statute

[P. L. 1973, c. 363] and these regulations.

[N. J. A. C. 7:14]

. a State importation ban such as that enacted

by New Jersey is in conflict with the national

policy set forth in Section 206 of the Solid Waste

Disposal Act. . . . Moreover, the continuation

of such a restriction would establish an unfavor-

able precedent which, if followed by a substan-

tial number of other States, would render re-

gional and interstate solutions to solid waste

disposal problems impossible to attain.

°/

The foregoing is not to say that appropriate

standards should not be applied in the areas of

treatment and disposal of solid wastes and of

land use planning. We strongly favor the adop-

tion of standards applicable to domestic and

imported solid wastes so that they apply on an

equal basis with out-of-state waste subject to

the same statutory and regulatory treatment as

domestic waste.

. A single thrust to ban out-of-state wastes

impedes rather than enhances environmental

quality.

In conclusion, it is EPA policy that no munici-

pality or State should take action to prevent the

free flow of waste across municipal or state

Jurisdictional Statement g

boundaries provided the transport, processing,

and disposition of the waste is in accordance

with the provisions of applicable federal and

state environmental and land use laws, guide-

lines, regulations, and recognized engineering

practices.”

A plenary hearing on the merits of appellants’ complaint

was scheduled by the Court for March 25, 1974.

On February 11, 1974, John P. Fazzio, Inc., t/a John

P. Fazzio Landfill Co. and Continental Vanguard, Inc.

were granted leave to intervene.

Thereafter on February 13, 1974, appellees filed their

answer to the complaint in this matter, wherein they spe-

cifically admitted that the principal concern of the New

Jersey Legislature in adopting P. L. 1973, c. 363 was to

preserve landfill acres in New Jersey for solid waste gen-

erated in said State. They further admitted that there

is no qualitative difference between the solid waste which

originates or is collected outside the State of New Jersey

and that which originates or is collected within the State,

and there is no difference with respect to the disposal of

same (Appendix M, A106 infra).

On March 13, 1974, appellants deposed the Principal

Environmental Engineer of the Bureau of Solid Waste

Management, New Jersey Department of Environmental

Protection. During the course of said deposition, the

engineer admitted that the proposed Rules of the Bureau

of Solid Waste Management, N. J. A. C. 7:26-1 et seq.

(effective July 1, 1974) (Appendix N, A114 infra), were

entirely adequate to protect the health, safety and welfare

of the people of the State of New Jersey and the quality of

its environment.’ He also revealed that no effort had been

3. Said rules

"lid and liqud waste dapenl fac om

ticular attention was Gres cnilog ples wick

Sod scooluler Ween soastianell ade Game (a) dust, (b)

10 Jurisdictional Statement

made by the Department of Environmental Protection to

calculate the total acreage available for sanitary landfill

purposes in the State of New Jersey or to identify the

location and availability of facilities which presently exist

or may hereafter be developed outside the State of New

Jersey (Appendix O, A195 infra).

Appellants thereafter moved for summary judgment

yn two federal constitutional grounds which, in their

opinion, raised solely questions of law: (a) P. L. 1973,

c. 363, on its face, discriminates against interstate com-

merce in violation of Art. 1, Sec. 8, cl. 3 of the Consti-

tution of the United States, and (b) the Congress of the

United States has preempted the narrow field preventing

the adoption of laws, ordinances and regulations which

prohibit the interstate movement of solid waste for pur-

poses of treatment or disposal (Appendix P, A204 infra).

Appellees cross-moved for summary judgment on the same

issues, and urged in a portion of their brief filed with the

trial court (Appendix Q, A206 infra), that summary judg-

ment not be granted to appellants pending a hearing on

the merits:

“At this stage of the litigation sub judice the

Court has not had an opportunity to consider any

of the relevant facts and circumstances except

for affidavits submitted in favor of and in opposi-

tion to the issuance of ad interim restraints.

Among those proofs which the court must con-

sider are: the nature and extent of the dangers

to the health, safety, welfare and environment of

3. (Cont'd. )

odor, (c) fire, (d) insects, (e) rodents, (f) scattering of pa and

other lightweight materials, (g) gas generation, (h) cules and

ground water quality, (i) collection and haulage, (j) open burning,

and other related problerns.

Jurisdictional Statement 11

New Jersey presented by the disposal of wastes

tue tein, Aciass haan ike wd

waste crisis in New Jersey; the rapid exhaustion

of landfill life in New Jersey; the volume of out-

of-state waste being disposed of in New Jersey;

the severe limiting effects on the future develop-

ment of property which has been used for sani-

tary landfill purposes; the extent of the effect on

interstate commerce.”

Pending a determination of the motions, the hearing date

was rescheduled to April 15, 1974, if necessary.

On March 25, 1974, the trial court heard oral argu-

ment on the cross-motions for ew are <0

delivered its opinion (Appendix A-l, gran

summary judgment to appellants and striking down P. L.

1973, c. 363 on the ground that same discriminated against

interstate commerce in violation of Art. 1, Sec. 8, cl. 3 of

the Constitution of the United States:

“.. . I find that the statute in question here is

attempting to control material that is properly

the subject of interstate commerce, that the

method of attempting is discriminatory and,

therefore, unconstitutional.”

On April 23, 1974, appellees filed a notice of appeal (Ap-

ere R, A207 infra), by which they appealed from the

trial court’s grant of summary judgment to appellants.

More than 4 months later, on July 26, 1974, appellees

moved before the Superior Court of New Jersey, Appellate

Division, for a stay of judgment (Appendix S, A209 infra).

Said motion was denied by the Court on August 14, 1974

A dix T, A211 infra).

Following the submission of briefs by all parties, and

prior to argument in the Appellate Division, the appeal

12 Jurisdictional Statement

was certified directly to the New Jersey Supreme Court

and consolidated with Hackensack Meadowlands v. Mun.

Landfill Auth.‘ by order dated October 7, 1974 (Appendix

U, A213 infra). The consolidated cases were argued before

the New Jersey Supreme Court on December 2, 1974.

Almost one year later, on November 18, 1975, the

New Jersey Supreme Court reversed the judgment of the

trial court on the merits, and vacated the injunctive order

which had been in effect since the inception of the litiga-

tion. Although the Court agreed that certain solid and

liquid waste is merchantable and that the transportation

and disposal of solid and liquid waste represents a legiti-

mate subject of interstate commerce, Hackensack Meadow-

lands v. Mun. Landfill Auth., 68 N. J., supra at 466-469,

it nevertheless upheld the constitutionality of P. L. 1973, c.

363 on the grounds that same represented a reasonable

exercise of the State’s police power and did not place an

undue burden upon or discriminate against interstate com-

merce in violation of Art. 1, Sec. 8, cl. 3 of the Constitu-

tion of the United States. It also concluded that Congress

did not preempt the field of solid waste disposal ( Appen-

dix A-3, A27 et seq., infra).

By its ruling, the New Jersey Supreme Court adopted a

novel and unprecedented procedural approach: it dis-

posed, on its merits, of a case involving substantial dis-

puted issues of material fact which had never been heard

4. In Hackensack Meadowlands, suit was brought by the

Hackensack Meadowlands Development Commission and the De-

snftary Landélll Authority from scouting for disposal in its land:

ani uthority r in its -

fill site” located within the Hackensack Meadowlinds District any

Se od Now foe ting Sem cx cokenet sauaee Se Sees

imits ew Jersey. uperior Court, Chancery Division,

that the exclusion of out-of-state solid waste from deposit in landfill

sites within the state was unconstitutional as representing a dis-

crimination against interstate commerce.

Jurisdictional Statement

13

by the trial court.’ Since a hearing was not held, there

was no testimony from which to make findings of fact

with respect to either (a) the legitimacy of the exercise

of the State’s police power and the nature and degree

of the burden imposed upon interstate commerce, or (b)

the case was decided, the New Jersey Supreme Court

granted appellants emergent motion for a stay of judgment

and interim injunctive relief pending its further order

5. The trial court granted, as a matter of law, appellants’

motion for summary poe be Cho eabedenes Senmns Sete

The only facts to the trial court were contained in affi-

pee ee & oan cagsaien to Re inreense of Stein ie

junctive relief, and these vits, with one exception, were not

OS Se renee seen 0 Se Dew Paty Sse Coat ot

time it the case. There was no reason to present said

Se ee cee Loncane eat Base Sale Ruapete wes

solely to support an for interim injunctive and not

to prove a case issues of material fact. Based

upon the Rules of Court, understood that the case would

be remanded for a on the merits if an appellate court re-

14 Jurisdictional Statement

On December 11, 1975, the New Jersey Supreme

Court denied appellants’ motion for a stay, vacated the

emergency stay that it had previously issued, effective

December 31, 1975, and further

“Orperep that the motion for a remand to the

Superior Court, Law Division, for such further

proceedings, if any, that that court may deem

appropriate is granted; provided, however, that

any relief granted by the Law Division shall not

include the issuance or continuation of a stay;

and it is further

Orverep that this Court does not retain juris-

diction.”

(Appendix X, A224 infra).

Based upon this order, appellants and intervenors

were compelled, as a practical matter, to dismiss with

prejudice every count in their respective complaints which

had not been specifically resolved by the New Jersey

Supreme Court in its decision of November 18, 1975, so

that there would unquestionably be a final judgment from

which a direct appeal could be taken to the Supreme

Court of the United States. In the order pursuant to

which the unresolved issues raised by appellants and

intervenors complaints were dismissed (Appendix C, A56,

infra), the trial court

“FurtHEerR Orvenren, that, in light of the dismissal

of.the above counts, and the decision by the

New Jersey Supreme Court upholding the con-

stitutionality of P. L. 1973, c. 363 as representing

a valid exercise of the State’s police power which

does not unreasonably burden interstate com-

merce and said Court thereby having finally

determined Counts I, VII and XIX of plaintiffs’

Jurisdictional Statement 15

complaint and Count One of foe naga

venors complaint, no further

Ancnadsl enipanlite Uptily Chae te eceneetion

with the above captioned matter.”

On December 22, 1975, appellants filed an applica-

tion for a stay of judgment with Mr. Justice Brennan.

Said application was granted on December 31, 1975

(Appendix Y, A225 infra).

16 Jurisdictional Statement

THE QUESTIONS ARE SUBSTANTIAL.

A. Solid and Liquid Waste, and the Process of Collecting,

Treating and Disposing of Same, Is a Legitimate

Subject of Interstate Commerce.

Solid and liquid waste disposal presents questions

that are national in scope and consequence.’ It is now

established that the disposal in one state of solid waste

collected in another state constitutes an activity in inter-

state commerce.

In United States v. Pennsylvania Refuse Removal

Assn., 242 F. Supp. 794 (E. D. Pa. 1965), certain defend-

ants were indicted and convicted for price fixing, allo-

cating customers and rigging bids in connection with a

refuse removal business in the Greater Philadelphia area

in violation of the Sherman Anti-Trust Act. That Act —

provides, in pertinent part, “Every . . . conspiracy, in

restraint of trade or commerce among the several states,

... is declared to be illegal.” 15 U. S. C. $1.

The Court held that the disposal in New Jersey of

substantial quantities of refuse collected in Pennsylvania

constituted an activity within the flow of interstate com-

merce. In responding to defendants’ argument that a

worthless commodity like trash cannot be the subject of

“trade or commerce” as those terms are used in the

Sherman Act, the Court observed:

“That argument misses the point. Here, the real

subject of “trade or commerce” was not worthless

debris, but the valuable service of removing and

disposing of it. Since services are encompassed

within the meaning of the words “trade or com-

merce” as used in the Act, United States v. Nat'l

Ass'n of Real Estate Boards, 339 U. S. 485, 488-

6. See pp. 38-41 infra.

Jurisdictional Statement 17

492, 70 S. Ct. 711, 94 L. Ed. 1007 (1950), the

defendants position has no merit.”

United States v. Pennsylvania Refuse Ass'n.,

242 F. Supp., supra, at 700. (Emphasis

added ).

The decision of the Federal District Court was

affirmed by the Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

which succinctly stated: “. . . refuse transported from

Pennsylvania to New Jersey and disposed of in the latter

state . . . was plainly a proper subject of interstate com-

merce.” United States v. Pennsylvania Refuse Removal

Ass'n., 357 F. 2d 806, 808 (3rd Cir. 1966). Certiorari

was denied by this Court, 384 U. S. 961 (1966).

Congress exercised its full power over interstate com-

merce in the Sherman Act, U. S. v. Frankfort Distilleries,

324 U. S. 293, 298 (1945), U. S. ». Underwriters Ass'n.,

322 U. S. 533, 558 (1844), Las Vegas Merchant Plumbers

Ass'n. 0. United States, 210 F. 2d 732, 739 (9th Cir. 1954).

Therefore, if solid waste collection and disposal services

in the flow of interstate commerce are viewed as trade or

commerce for purposes of the Sherman Act, they also must

constitute commerce within the meaning of the commerce

clause, U. S. Const. Art. 1, Sec. 8, cl. 3.

While it is clear that the valuable service of remov-

ing and disposing of solid waste is an activity in interstate

commerce, it is also clear that solid waste itself is often

a merchantable commodity. For example, a United States

District Court has recently held that the movement of

automobile hulks across state lines constitutes interstate

commerce. Alexandria Scrap Corporation vo. Hughes, 391

F. Supp. 46, 59 (Md. 1975). Auto bodies are

included within the definition “bulky waste” in the Rules

of the Bureau of Solid Waste Management. N. J. A. C.

18 Jurisdictional Statement

7:26-1.4.3. More importantly, in Hackensack Meadow-

lands ». Mun. Landfill Auth., 127 N. J. Super. 160, 170

(Ch. 1974), rev. other grnds. 68 N. J. 451 (1975), the

companion case to the within matter, Judge (now Justice )

Schreiber rejected appellees argument that solid and liquid

waste is neither merchantable nor a legitimate subject of

interstate commerce: “. . . refuse may be utilized for con-

struction, landfill, recycling of paper, bottles and metal and

production of electricity.” Solid waste often represents a

cost efficient and environmentally sound method to recover

severely mined or devastated lands, to produce gas for

commercial purposes, and to create power generation by

incineration (Appendix Z, A228-29, A230 infra).

This Court has frequently held that, in the absence of

controlling tederal legislation or implied federal preemp-

tion, a state may exercise its police power to prevent decep-

tion or fraud upon the public, Plumley vo. Massachusetts,

155 U. S. 461 (1894), the prompt disposal of large animals

not slaughtered for food, Clason v. Indiana, 306 U.S. 439

(1939), and the importation of unhealthy swine or cattle,

Asbell v. Kansas, 209 U. S. 251 (1908); Mintz v. Baldwin,

289 U. S. 346 (1933), decayed or noxious foods, Crossman

v. Lurman, 192 U. S. 189 (1904); Savage v. Jones, 225 U. S.

501 (1912), or immature citrus fruits, Sligh v. Kirkwood,

237 U.S. 52 (1915).

The evident purpose of such regulations is to prevent

the spread of contagion or disease, to protect an unsuspect-

ing purchaser from acquiring food which is unfit for human

consumption and to prohibit deceptive and fraudulent

practices. Bowman v. Chicago &c. Ry. Co., 125 U. S. 465,

489 (1888); Sligh v. Kirkwood, 237 U. S. 52, 59-60 (1915);

Baldwin v. G. A. F. Seelig, 294 U. S. 511, 525 (1935).

However, even in these cases, the particular regulation

must be reasonable in its requirements and promote its

objective without discrimination:

Jurisdictional Statement 19

“The evident purpose of the statute is to prevent

fraud and imposition in the sale of food for

domestic animals,—a matter of great importance

to the people of the state. Its requirements were

directed to that end, and they were not unreason-

able. It was not aimed at interstate commerce,

but, without discrimination, sought to promote

fair dealing in the described articles of food.”

Savage v. Jones, 225 U. S., supra, at 525.

Appellees have never contended that either (a) the

transportation, treatment or disposal of solid or liquid

waste in accordance with applicable federal and state laws

and regulations poses any material threat to the health,

welfare and safety of the people of New Jersey or to the

quality of its environment; or (b) an unsuspecting public

will be deceived or defrauded by the transportation, treat-

ment or disposal of solid or liquid waste collected in an-

‘other state. The aforesaid line of cases does not properly

relate to the matter sub judice. If it did, then state or

municipal governments, according to appellees’ argument

below, could adopt with impunity codes to prevent air,

water or land pollution which directly discriminate

against interstate commerce; a practice which has been un-

mistakably rejected by this and other Courts. Savage v.

Jones, 225 U. S., supra, at 525; Huron Cement Co. v.

Detroit, 362 U. S. 440 (1960); Proctor & Gamble Co. v.

City of Chicago, 509 F. 2d 69 (7th Cir. 1974), cert. den.

421 U. S. 978 (1975); American Can Co. v. Oregon Liquor

Control Commission, 15 Ore. App. 618, 517 P. 2d 691 (Ct.

App. Ore. 1973); Bowie Inn, Inc. v. City of Bowie, 274

Md. 230, 335 A. 2d 679, 688 (Ct. App. Md. 1975). Even

the movement of air pollutants across a state line has been

held to constitute interstate commerce, United States v.

Bishop Processing Company, 287 F. Supp. 624 (Md. 1968).

20 Jurisdictional Statement

The interstate transportation of solid and liquid waste

for treatment and disposal certainly represents a legitimate,

indeed a necessary and vital activity in interstate com-

merce.

B. P. L. 1973, c. 363, on Its Face Discriminates Against

and Directly Burdens Interstate Commerce.

The plain and unambiguous language of P. L. 1973,

c. 363, entitled

“An Act to prohibit any person from bringing

into this State any solid and liquid waste which

originated or was collected outside the State

reveals that its sole intent and purpose is to impose an

immediate, absolute, and complete ban upon the move-

ment into or through New Jersey of any solid or liquid

waste which originated or was collected outside the State.

Treatment of liquid waste, processing of solid waste, and

disposal or interstate movement of all waste collected out-

side New Jersey is equally prohibited. Conversely, no

attempt whatsoever has been made in the statute to con-

trol, regulate or prohibit the movement, treatment, proc-

essing or disposal of solid or liquid waste which originates

or is collected within the State of New Jersey.

Activities in interstate commerce are not by that fact

alone immune from reasonable regulations adopted by a

state or local government pursuant to the exercise of its

reserved police power. U. S. Const., Amend. 10. Absent

controlling federal legislation, the commerce clause does

not deprive the states of the power to regulate matters of

local public concern in those areas where uniformity of

regulation is not necessary, as long as the exercise of the

police power serves a real and legitimate purpose and does

Jurisdictional Statement 21

not place an undue or excessive burden on or discriminate

against interstate commerce.

The test has been stated most recently by this Court

in Pike v. Bruce Church, Inc., 397 U. S. 137, 142 (1970):

“Although the criteria for determining the valid-

ity of state statutes affecting interstate commerce

have been variously stated, the general rule that

emerges can be phrased as follows:

Where the statute regulates evenhandedly

to effectuate a legitimate local public interest,

and its effects on interstate commerce are only

incidental, it will be upheld unless the burden

imposed on such commerce is clearly excessive in

relation to the putative local benefits. Huron

Cement Co. v. Detroit, 362 U. S. 440, 443. Ifa

legitimate local purpose is found, then the ques-

tion becomes one of degree. And the extent of

the burden that will be tolerated will, of course,

depend on the nature of the local interest in-

volved, and on whether it could be promoted as

well with a lesser impact on interstate activities.

Occasionally, the Court has candidly undertaken

a balancing approach in resolving these issues.

Southern Pacific Co. v. Arizona, 325 U. S. 761,

but more frequently it has spoken in terms of

‘direct’ and ‘indirect’ effects and burdens. See

e.g. Schafer v. Farmers Grain Co., supra.” (em-

phasis added )

Pursuant to the test announced in Pike, a balance will

not be made between the burden imposed on interstate

commerce, on the one hand, and the putative local benefits,

on the other hand, unless the regulation (a) is evenhanded,

(b) is based upon a legitimate local purpose, and (c) only

22 Jurisdictional Statement

incidentally effects interstate commerce. If it is defective

on any of these grounds, then the regulation must fall.

1. Evenhandedness.

A prohibition directed solely against solid or liquid

waste which originates or is collected outside the State,

and against the movement of such waste through New

Jersey, is not evenhanded, and constitutes a discriminatory

regulation of interstate commerce.

In the single paragraph of its opinion devoted to the

discrimination issue, the New Jersey Supreme Court com-

mented:

“Nor has there been discrimination, at least in

the economic sense. In examining this point we

must look to the ends sought to be achieved.

Here the purpose of the legislation is to protect

the inhabitants and vital resources of New Jersey,

not to impose economic barriers or create com-

mercial restrictions. Nor is there any real or

significant discrimination in favor of local col-

lectors. Refuse amassed by them outside the

State may not be brought into New Jersey. Con-

versely, residents of other states are free to collect

and dump within the state.”

Hackensack Meadowlands v. Mun. Landfill

Auth., 68 N. J., supra, at 475.

In Dean Milk Co. v. Madison, 340 U. S. 349, 354

(1951), this Court struck down an ordinance of the City

of Madison, Wisconsin, which prohibited the sale of milk

as pasteurized unless it was processed and bottled at an

approved pasteurization plant within a five mile radius

from the central square of Madison. In response to Mad-

ison’s argument that the ordinance was aimed simply at

Jurisdictional Statement 23

protecting the health of the community, Mr. Justice Clark

wisely noted that to sustain an ordinance simply because it

denominates itself

“. . . a health measure, would mean that the

Commerce Clause of itself imposes no limitations

on state action other than those laid down by the

Due Process Clause, save for the rare instance,

where a state artlessly discloses an avowed pur-

pose to discriminate against interstate goods.”

The Court's responsibility in this area has been empha-

sized by Mr. Justice Reed in Best & Co. v. Maxwell, 311

U. S. 454, 455-456 (1940) where he commented:

“The commerce clause forbids discrimination,

whether forthright or ingenious. In each case it

is our duty to determine whether the statute

under attack, whatever its name may be, will in

its practical operation work discrimination against

interstate commerce.”

This responsibility has been undertaken conscien-

tiously and with great care by the Court. In Railroad Co.

v. Husen, 95 U. S. 465 (1877), the United States Supreme

Court struck down a Missouri statute which prohibited the

entry of Texas, Mexican or Indian cattle into any county in

the State between the first day of March and the first day

of December of each year. Commenting on the statute,

the Court declared:

“It is not a quarantine law. It is not an inspec-

tion law. It says to all natural persons and to all

transportation companies, ‘You shall not bring

into the State any Texas cattle or any Mexican

cattle or Indian cattle, between March 1 and De-

cember 1 in any year, no matter whether they are

free from disease or not, no matter whether they

24 Jurisdictional Statement

may do an injury to the inhabitants of the State

or not; and if you do bring them in even for the

purpose of carrying them through the State with-

out unloading them, you shall be subject to

extraordinary liabilities. Such a statute, we do

not doubt, it is beyond the power of a State to

enact. To hold otherwise would be to ignore one

of the leading objects which the Constitution of

the United States was designed to secure.”

Railroad Co. v. Husen, 95 U. S., supra, at 473.

As in the Railroad Co. case, P. L. 1973, c. 363 is nei-

ther a quarantine law nor an inspection law; and like the

statute in that case, P. L. 1973, c. 363 says to all natural

persons and to all transportation companies: “You shall

not bring into the State solid or liquid waste of any nature

or description, for any purpose whatsoever, no matter

whether it does an injury to the inhabitants of the State

or not; no matter whether it does an injury to the quality

of the environment or not; and if you do bring it in even

for the purpose of carrying it through the State without

unloading it you shall be subject to extraordinary liabili-

ties.”

The fact that Railroad Co. v. Husen dealt with cattle

and not with solid waste is neither material nor distinguish-

able. The principle is identical in each case; once an ac-

tivity is legitimately in interstate commerce there can be

no discrimination. See also Best & Co. v. Maxwell, 311

U. S. 454 (1940); Head v. New Mexico Board, 374 U. S.

424, 429 (1963).

In the leading environmental case, Huron Cement Co.

v. Detroit, 362 U. S. 440, 448 (1960), an action was insti-

tuted by a corporation engaged in operating federally li-

censed steain vessels in interstate commerce to enjoin the

enforcement of certain provisions of the Smoke Abatement

Jurisdictional Statement 25

Code of the City of Detroit. Finding that the ordinance

applied equally to all ships and did not destroy the right

of free passage, this Court held that the ordinance was a

valid exercise of the state’s police power:

. . . State regulation based on the police power,

which does not discriminate against interstate

commerce or operate to disrupt its required uni-

formity, may constitutionally stand. . . .

“It has not been suggested that the local ordi-

nance, applicable alike to ‘any person, firm or

corporation’ within the city, discriminates against

interstate commerce as such. It is a regulation of

general application, designed to better the health

and welfare of the community. . . .” (emphasis

added )

Although a smoke abatement ordinance enacted to

promote the health and welfare of a city’s inhabitants will

generally support an exercise of the police power, the

power to adopt such ordinances is not unlimited.

“The basic limitations upon local legislative

power in this area are clear enough. The con-

trolling principles have been reiterated over the

years in a host of this Court’s decisions. Even-

handed local regulation to effectuate a legitimate

local public interest is valid unless pre-empted by

federal action . . . , or unduly burdensome on

maritime activities or interstate commerce .

Huron Cement Co. v. Detrolt, 302 U. S.

supra, at 443 (citations omitted, emphasis

added ).

The Court, in Huron, stressed the fact that the local

ordinance there in question was applicable alike to all

persons, firms and corporations. It is most significant, as

26 Jurisdictional Statement

noted by the Supreme Judicial Court of Maine in Portland

Pipe Line Corp. v. Environmental Imp. Com’n, 307 A. 2d

1, 40 (Sup. Jud. Ct. Me. 1973), that

“The Detroit ordinance [in Huron] did not dis-

criminate against interstate commerce and there

was no showing that national uniformity was re-

quired to prevent inconsistent local regulations.”

(emphasis added )

Had the ordinance been discriminatory, it surely

would have been struck down.

For example, if the City of Detroit had attempted to

reduce air pollution and thereby promote the health and

welfare of the city’s inhabitants by prohibiting the dis-

charge of smoke in the Port of Detroit by any steam-

powered vessel shipping out of another port while per-

mitting such discharge by local vessels, then the ordinance

would certainly represent an unconstitutional discrimina-

tion against interstate commerce.

Similarly, if the State of New Jersey had attempted to

reduce air pollution by prohibiting any person from driv-

ing a motor vehicle upon the roads of this state unless the

vehicle was registered in New Jersey, there would be an

unmistakable and intolerable discrimination against inter-

state commerce.

If there is a threat posed to the health, welfare and

safety of the people of New Jersey or to the quality of its

environment by the treatment or disposal of solid and

liquid waste in accordance with regulations administered

by the Department of Environmental Protection (a posi-

tion which appellants do not believe can be factually sup-

ported ), then it is a threat attributable to the nature of the

substance being regulated, and not to its place of origin.

Remedial measures based upon the exercise of the State’s

police power must be undertaken in an evenhanded man-

Jurisdictional Statement 27

ner. There can be no discrimination in favor of intrastate

commerce and against interstate commerce.

If the disposal of solid or liquid waste should be

limited or eliminated for reasons of public health, con-

servation, or environmental quality, then origin is not at all

a relevant factor. In those areas where the potential for

ecological harm is minimal or non-existent, there is no

legitimate basis to single out and discriminate against solid

and liquid waste collected in another state.

In an effort to support its decision, the New Jersey

Supreme Court noted that:

“Other state and federal courts in very recent

years have not hesitated to sustain legislation

having as its aim the protection of health and

the maintenance of environmental values and

natural resources against attacks based upon

alleged violations of the Commerce Clause.”

Hackensack Meadowlands v. Mun. Landfill

Auth., 68 N. J., supra at 476,

citing the following cases to support its observation:

American Can Co. v. Oregon Liquor Control Commission,

15 Ore. App. 618, 517 P. 2d 691 (Ct. App. Ore. 1973)

(ban on non-returnable beverage containers); Proctor &

Gamble Co. v. City of Chicago, 509 F. 2d 69 (7th Cir.

1974), cert. den. 421 U. S. 978 (1975) (ban on phosphate

detergents); Portland Pine Line Corp. v. Environmental

Imp. Com’n, 307 A. 2d i (Sup. Jud. Ct. Me. 1973), app.

dis., 414 U. S. 1035 (1973) (prevention and control of

marine oil spillage ); Construction Ind. Ass'n, Sonoma Cty.

v. City of Petaluma, 522 F. 2d 897 (9th Cir. 1975) (ban

on further building ).

Although the fact was neither expressed nor implied

by the New Jersey Supreme Court, discriminatory treat-

ment is entirely absent in each and every one of the

28 Jurisdictional Statement

above-cited cases. Intrastate commerce is treated equally

with interstate commerce.

In Hackensack Meadowlands v. Mun. Landfill Auth.,

127 N. J. Super. 160 (Ch. 1974) the companion case to

the case at bar, Judge (now Justice) Sidney Schreiber '

struck down regulations adopted by the New Jersey De-

partment of Environmental Protection and the Hacken-

sack Meadowlands Development Commission which pro-

hibited persons engaged in the collection of solid or liquid

wastes which originated or were collected outside the

State from disposing of same in the Hackensack Meadow-

lands District. In language equally pertinent to the

present matter, Judge Schreiber observed:

“DEP and HMDC rationalize that discrimination

is absent because the regulations do not prefer

New Jersey over out-of-state landfill operators or

garbage haulers. The difficulty with that ra-

tionale is that it is the discrimination based on

the origin of the refuse, not the residence of the

owner or carrier, which is invidious. Transporta-

tion of the refuse, whether carried by New

Jerseyans or nonresidents, in interstate commerce

is directly affected by the ban.

Although the State’s objective in attempting to

conserve a local natural resource for local needs

is a proper police power purpose, that cannot be

7. Subsequent to his decision tm the Hachonssck Meadowlands

case, Ju iber was elevated to the New J

Court. Hackensack Meadowlands case was the

State and consolidated for oral with the

matter cases were oe Se ome ane nder-

standably, Justice Schreiber did not in proceedings

Jurisdictional Statement 29

accomplished by discrimination based on the

source of the refuse.”

Hackensack Meadowlands v. Mun. Landfill

Auth., 127 N. J. Super., supra, at 174 (em-

phasis added ).

A state cannot discriminate against interstate com-

merce under the guise of protecting the health of its citi-

zens or its natural resources. The Court has a duty to

determine for itself whether the regulation represents a

valid exercise of the State’s police power, or whether it

is really and substantially a regulation of interstate com-

merce. Asbell v. Kansas, 209 U. S. 251, 256 (1908). The

exercise of that duty is especially important

because the power to determine the articles which may

be the subject of commerce is, in effect, the controlling

one. Bowman v. Chicago &c. Railway Co., 125 U. S. 465

(1888).

In Penna. v. West Virginia, 262 U. S. 553, 597-598

(1923), a West Virginia statute prohibited the exportation

of its natural gas unless an adequate supply was available

to meet the needs of its citizens. Although the Supreme

Court of the United States recognized that-the gas supply

was a natural product of the State and would be insuffi-

cient to meet the needs of the State if exportation was

allowed, the statute had to fall because it represented “an

attempt to regulate the interstate business to the advantage

of the local customers.”

Similarly, in Oklahoma v. Kansas Nat. Gas Co., 221

U. S. 229, 255 (1911), this Court declared unconstitutional

an Oklahoma “conservation” statute preventing a pipeline

company from transporting natural gas outside the state:

“If the States have such power a singular situation

might result. Pennsylvania might keep its coal,

30 Jurisdictional Statement

the Northwest its timber, the mining states their

minerals. And why may not the products of the

field be brought within the principle? Thus, en-

larged, or without that enlargement, its influence

on interstate commerce need not be pointed out.

To what consequence does such power tend?

If one state has it, all States have it; embargo may

be retaliated by embargo and commerce will be

halted at state lines. And yet we have said that

‘in matters of foreign and interstate commerce

there are no state lines’. In such commerce, in-

stead of the States, a new power appears and a

new welfare, a welfare which transcends that of

any State. But rather let us say it is constituted of

the welfare of all of the States and that of each

State is made greater by a division of its resources,

natural and created, with every State, and those

of every other State with it. This was the pur-

pose, as it is the result, of the interstate commerce

clause of the Constitution of the United States.

If there is to be a turning backward it must be

done by the authority of another instrumentality

than a court.” (emphasis added )

An identical position was expressed by Mr. Justice

Cardozo in declaring unconstitutional a statute which pro-

hibited the sale in New York of milk purchased in another

state at a lower price than the minimum prescribed by the

New York statute. “The Constitution”, commented Mr.

Justice Cardozo, “was framed under the dominion of a

political philosophy less parochial in range. It was framed

upon the theory that the peoples of the several states must

sink or swim together, and that in the long run prosperity

and salvation are in union and not division.” Baldwin v.

G. A. F. Seelig, 294 U. S. 511, 523 (1935).

Jurisdictional Statement 31

The parochial attitude identified by Mr. Justice

Cardozo is equally evident in the within matter, and is cal-

culated to lead to ruinous consequences on a national scale.

There exists a substantial urgency compelling an imme-

diate review of the constitutional validity of bans upon

interstate solid and liquid waste disposal.

2. Legitimate Local Purpose.

The Rules of the Bureau of Solid Waste Management

authorize the disposal* of solid waste in New Jersey

through use of:

“a. Sanitary landfills established, operated and

maintained in accordance with the regulations

set forth in this subchapter.

b. Incinerators constructed, operated and main-

tained in accordance with Regulations of the

New Jersey State Department of Environmental

Protection promulgated under authority of the

Air Pollution Control.Act 1954 and regulations

set forth in this subchapter.

c. Transfer station, composting facility, resource

recovery or other processing facility, constructed

and operated in accordance with regulations set

forth in this subchapter.”

N. J. A. C. 7:26-2.1.2.

The prohibition imposed by P. L. 1973, c. 363 is not

8. The word “disposal” is defined in said Rules as: “the storage,

treatment, utilization, processing, or final disposition of solid waste.

N. J. A. C. 7:26-1.4.20. The word “treatment” is not defined

32 Jurisdictional Statement

the Rules of the Bureau of Solid Waste Management, N. J.

A.C. 7:26-1 et seq.

In deciding the case at bar, the New Jersey Supreme

Court identified land preservation as the purpose support-

ing an exercise of the State’s police. power:

“ . . extending the lifespan of existing landfills

and thereby preserving further acreage from use

as disposal sites is a legitimate and valid exercise

of the police power of the State.”

Hackensack Meadowlands v. Mun. Land-

fill Auth., 68 N. J., supra, at 472.

No other form of disposal was mentioned by the New

Jersey Supreme Court as support for the enactment of P. L.

1973, c. 363.

Although a state has a responsibility to protect its

people and their property, it is well-established that a

police regulation which affects interstate commerce must

not go beyond the necessities of the particular case. Reid

v. Colorado, 187 U. S. 137, 151 (1902); Smith v. St. Louis

and Southwestern Ry. Co., 181 U. S. 248, 256 (1901).

If the purpose as found by the New Jersey Supreme

Court, of P. L. 1973, c. 363 was to preserve land, then there

was no basis to prohibit (a) entry, and (b) other author-

ized and regulated forms of disposal. The statute went

far beyond what was reasonable and necessary in order

to accomplish its purpose.

It is interesting that “garbage to be fed to swine in

the State of New Jersey” is excepted from the prohibition

imposed by P. L. 1973, c. 363. The word “garbage” is

not synonymous or co-extensive with, but is narrower than,

the term “solid waste”. It is a word of art, separately de-

fined in New Jersey as:

Jurisdictional Statement 33

“, . . all putrescible animal and vegetable wastes

resulting from the handling, preparation, cook-

ing, and consumption of . . . food... .”

N. J. A. C. 12:100-2.1. (emphasis added )

Putrescible waste ° has a greater potential for harm to

the public health than bulky waste,"® construction waste ™

or demolition waste.” Yet garbage to be fed to swine can

freely enter New Jersey, while non-putrescible wastes and

garbage intended for other purposes cannot.

P. L. 1973, c. 363 contains a Legislative finding

“. .. that the public, health, safety, and welfare

require that the treatment and disposal within

this State of all wastes generated outside of the

State be prohibited.”

N. J. S. A. 13:11-9. (emphasis added)

Notwithstanding this finding, and in apparent incon-

9. N. J. A. C. 7:26-1446—“Any waste liable to enter into a

by bacteria and fang ‘with the formation of feal-smelling nom

ll. mF A. C. pace gates «edge y bee app and refuse

houses, commercial buildings, pavements, aaa

12. N. J. A. C. 7:26-1.4.17—“Waste generated from the razing

of factories, and other man-made structures, including

hey fee 8

34 Jurisdictional Statement

the same statute to independently determine that the

entry of solid and liquid waste collected in another state

“ .. can be permitted without endangering the

public health, safety and welfare... ,”

N. J. S. A. 13:11-10.

pursuant to regulations promulgated by the Commissioner

permitting and regulating its treatment and disposal.

Sixteen days after the enactment of P. L. 1973, c. 363,

and in accordance with the authority granted to him in

said legislation, the Commissioner adopted N. J. A. C. 7:26-

1.4 to become effective on the same date as the statute,

February 1, 1974. Although said rule followed P. L. 1973,

c. 363 in declaring a general prohibition against the entry

into New Jersey of solid or liquid waste collected outside

the State,

“No person shall bring into this State, or accept

for disposal in this State, any solid or liquid waste

which originated or was collected outside the

territorial limits of this State,”

certain designated wastes including pesticides, hazardous

waste and chemical waste entering the State solely for

processing or treatment, were excepted from the general-

ized entry ban. N. J. A. C. 7:1-4.2. This action by the

Commissioner was exceedingly significant for at least two

reasons: (a) contrary to the legislative finding, it demon-

strated that the public health, safety and welfare, in

actuality, did not require that the entry of all wastes gen-

erated outside the State be prohibited, and (b) if sub-

stances noxiously designated “hazardous waste” could be

carried into New Jersey without further regulation of

transportation, then it follows that the mere entry of any

'

;

Jurisdictional Statement 35

other less hazardous waste does not endanger the public

| health, safety and welfare.

The fact that the Commissioner may permit the entry

of solid and liquid wastes which are otherwise prohibited

by P. L. 1973, c. 363 does not legitimitize the statute in

a constitutional sense. All out-of-state wastes are banned

until the Commissioner affirmatively acts. The Commis-

sioner is neither compelled to act nor to deal with solid

and liquid wastes collected within the State on an equal

basis with those collected outside the State. In fact, the

regulations that were adopted by the Commissioner on

an emergency basis, N. J. A. C. 7:1-4, perpetuate the dis-

crimination evidenced by P. L. 1973, c. 363, and point out

the manifest impropriety of the prohibition. Furthermore,

the Commissioner may amend or repeal regulations with

relative ease. And no explanation is offered as to why

the methods of treatment and disposal permitted by

N. J. A. C. 7:1-4 for out-of-state wastes are significantly

more restrictive than the list of approved methods for

solid waste disposal contained in the Rules of the Bureau

of Solid Waste Management~N. J. A. C. 7:26-1 et seq.

If the methods of disposal delineated in N. J. A. C. 7:26-1

et seq. “. . . can be permitted without endangering the

public health, safety and welfare . . .,” N. J. S. A. 13:1I-

10, then they can be permitted for solid and liquid waste

collected outside the State as well as for those wastes col-

lected within the State.

The disposal of solid waste in accordance with pres-

ently existing laws and regulations and in conformance

with sound engineering practices ** does not present a

serious threat to the health or environmental safety of

13. A design prepared by a professional licensed must

bie ceaieedtae el teeeeata tie ee tenant tales aste Man-

agement condition precedent to the operation of sani-

tay Tandill or the expansion of any existing facility. és C.

36 Jurisdictional Statement

the community. Appellees have never, by affidavit, dis-

puted this conclusion, which is generally accepted through-

out the United States.

In Horn v. Community Refuse Disposal, Inc., 186

Neb. 43, 180 N. W. 2d 691 (Sup. Ct. 1970), plaintiffs

brought an action to enjoin the establishment and opera-

tion of a sanitary landfill. The court denied the applica-

tion saying:

“The evidence is persuasive that it is possible to

operate a sanitary landfill so that it will not emit

offensive odors, pollute ground waters, or be

attractive to rodents. The rules and regulations

adopted in 1969 enforcible by the State Depart-

ment of Health under statutory authority are

reasonably designed to produce that result.”

Horn v. Community Refuse Disposal, Inc.,

180 N. W. 2d, supra, at 692.

The overwhelmingly accepted rule is that incinerators

and sanitary landfills which are properly maintained and

operated are not public nuisances. Wood v. Town of

Wilton, 156 Conn. 304, 240 A. 2d 904 (Sup. Ct. 1968);

Rocchi v. Zoning Bd. of App. of Town of Glastonbury,

157 Conn. 106, 248 A. 2d 922 (Sup. Ct. 1968); Myers v.

City of Hagerstown, 214 Md. 312, 135 A. 2d 147 (Ct. App.

1957) (and cases therein cited); Annotation, “Public

Dump as Nuisance”, 52 ALR 2d 1134.

All too often, the words “sanitary landfill” and “dump”

are confused with one another. They are very different

entities. The Rules of the Bureau of Solid Waste Manage-

ment define a sanitary landfill as:

“The land disposal site employing an engineered

method of disposal of solid waste in a manner

that minimizes environmental hazards, including,

but not limited to the spreading of the solid

Jurisdictional Statement 37

waste in thin layers, compacting the waste to

the smallest practical volume, and applying cover

material on a daily or more frequent basis.”

‘ ON. J. A. C. 7:26-1.4.54

A dump, on the other hand, is separately defined as:

“A land site at which solid waste is disposed of

in a manner which does not protect the environ-

ment, is susceptible to open burning, or is ex-

posed to the elements, vectors, and scavengers.”

N. J. A. C. 7:26-1.4.23

When dumps were determined to be hazardous to

human health, their operation was entirely prohibited in

the State of New Jersey. N. J. A. C. 7:26-2.1.1. No dis-

tinction was made between waste collected within New

Jersey and waste collected outside the State. The regula-

tion acted in a non-discriminatory, even-handed manner

in addressing a legitimate public problem. If a dump

posed a substantial threat to public health and environ-

mental quality, the place of origin of the waste deposited

in it was entirely irrelevant.

Although incineration is a form of disposal authorized

and regulated by the Rules of the Bureau of Solid Waste

Management, N. J. A. C. 7:26-2.1.2b, solid and liquid

waste collected outside New Jersey cannot be incinerated

in New Jersey. P. L. 1973, c. 363; N. J. A. C. 7:1-4. This

position is particularly incongruous in light of Appellees

admission in their answer to the complaint that there is no

qualitative difference between the solid waste which origi-

nates or is collected outside the State of New Jersey and

that which originates or is collected within the State, and

there is no difference with respect to the disposal of same.

The burnability factor of each is identical (Appendix M,

A109 infra).

38 Jurisdictional Statement

Air pollution is not confined to artificially created state

or municipal boundaries. It moves freely in “interstate

commerce”. Georgia v. Tennessee Copper Co., 206 U. S.

230, 237 (1907); United States v. Bishop Processing Com-

pany, 287 F. Supp. 624 (Md. 1968). While a state has a

legitimate local interest in regulating emissions into the air

which its residents breathe, it cannot discriminate against

or unduly burden interstate commerce in seeking to ef-

fectuate that in.crest. Huron Cement Co. v. Detroit, 362

U. S. 440, 443 (1960).

3. Effect Upon Interstate Commerce.

The direct burden imposed upon interstate commerce

by the adoption of P. L. 1973, c. 363 is obvious and severe.

Prohibitory legislation affects interstate commerce in a

most basic and fundamental sense. As stated by Mr.

Justice McKenna in Oklahoma v. Kansas Nat. Gas Co., 221

U. S., supra, at 249, “. . . to prohibit interstate commerce

is more than to indirectly affect it.”

P. L. 1973, c. 363 directly prohibits the interstate dis-

posal of solid and liquid waste. It is not unique in that

respect. Since 1969, seven states have adopted laws which,

to varying degrees, prohibit the disposal of solid waste col-

lected in another state."* Three other states have imposed

various regulatory limitations * (Appendix AA, A231 infra).

The effect of these enactments is to retard, if not to en-

tirely obviate, the national goal of achieving interstate

14. Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Penn-

sylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont.

On December 30, 1974, the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

enacted legislation to prevent the disposal in that Commonwealth

of cali carte antieeted team on location in another state that does

not accept solid waste from lvania. This legislation was

surely prompted by, and retaliatorily directed against, the

hibitory legislation adopted in New Jersey. ad

15. Delaware, Illinois and Louisiana.

Jurisdictional Statement 39

cooperation in confronting the solid waste disposal problem

(Appendix L, A103 infra).

More than ten years ago, Congress identified solid

waste disposal as a problem of national concern. In 1965

it enacted the Solid Waste Disposal Act, Pub. L. 89-272,

for the purpose of promoting “a national research and de-

velopment program for new and improved methods of

proper and economic solid waste disposal”, 42 U. S. C.

§ 3251(b)(1), and providing financial resources to ac-

complish same. Five years later, the Resource Recovery

Act of 1970, Pub. L. 91-512 was adopted to underscore the

importance of resource recovery. In both cases, the Secre-

tary of Health, Education and Welfare (now the Adminis-

trator of the Environmental Protection Agency) was di-

rected to “. . . encourge cooperative activities by the

States . . . encourage, where practicable, interstate, inter-

local, and regional planning . . .; and endourge the enact-

ment of improved and, so far as practicable, uniform state

and local laws governing solid waste disposal”. 42 U. S.C.

§ 3254.

Prohibitory and retaliatoryMegislation is clearly alien

to the expressed congressional intent. It creates a climate

attuned to inhibit rather than to promote the national in-

terest.

In addition, the cost of solid waste collection and dis-

posal, which is already significant, will rise even more.

An estimated $3 billion was spent annually for solid

waste collection and disposal at the time of the adoption of

the Solid Waste Disposal Act, 42 U. S. C. § 3251 et seq.,

1965 U. S. Code, Cong. and Adm. News, p. 3614. The cost

of said service reached an estimated $4.5 billion by 1970,

1970 U. S. Code, Cong. and Adm. News, p. 4553. The

House Report noted:

“The greatest amount of the moneys spent goes

for collecting solid waste and transporting it to

40 Jurisdictional Statement

some place where it may be dumped or burned.”

1970 U. S. Code, Cong. and Adm. News, p.

4553.

The New Jersey Supreme Court recognized the obvi-

ous economic impact of its decision upon interstate com-

merce:

“The City of Yonkers has access to the Croton

dump in New York at a modest increase in cost of

five dollars per ton. Philadelphia’s stated alterna-

tives are either to install adequate air pollution

devices in their existing incinerators or to estab-

lish new landfill sites outside the city, which

would require the purchase of additional disposal

trucks.”

Hackensack Meadowlands v. Mun. Landfill

Auth., 68 N. J., supra, at 476.

Assuming a cost increase at the same “modest” rate of

$5 per ton calculated for Yonkers, there would be a yearly

cost increase of $7.5 million to persons disposing of out-of-

state wastes in New Jersey based upon 1971 tonnage

estimates compiled by the New Jersey Department of

Environmental Protection. Hackensack Meadowlands v.

Mun. Landfill Auth., 68 N. J., supra at 461.

These figures do not take into account the economic

harm which likely will be suffered by New Jersey in its

efforts to dispose of the solid waste collected within its

borders. Since a direct relationship exists in solid waste

land disposal between cost and distance to disposal site,

communities located in northern New Jersey will no doubt

look to southern New York and eastern Pennsylvania, rather

than to southern New Jersey, when existing landfill sites

situated in the northern part of the state are consumed in

an estimated 3 years. Hackensack Meadowlands v. Mun.

Jurisdictional Statement 4]

Landfill Auth., 68 N. J., supra, at 461. Unless this Court

hears the instant matter, New Jersey communities will be

immediately foreclosed from seeking disposal alternatives

in Pennsylvania, either now or in the future, because re-

taliatory legislation has already been adopted by that

Commonwealth.

In wording and in practical effect, P. L. 1973, c. 363

imposes a direct and intolerable burden upon interstate

commerce which appellants respectfully call upon this

Court to review.

C. Appellants Were Unconstitutionally Denied a Plenary

Hearing on the Merits of Their Claim.

In granting appellants’ motion for summary judgment

on March 25, 1974, the New Jersey Superior Court, Law

Division, declared P. L. 1973, c. 363 unconstitutional on

the ground that it discriminates against interstate com-

merce.

The statements made by Mr. Justice Brennan, when

he sat upon the New Jersey Supreme Court, in Judson v.

Peoples Bank & Trust Co. of Westfield, 17 N. J. 67, 74,

110 A. 2d 24 (1954) continue to represent the definitive

expression of the standards of decision governing the

grant or denial of a summary judgment motion:

“It is designed to provide a prompt businesslike

and inexpensive method of disposing of any cause

which a discriminating search of the merits in the

pleadings, depositions ahd admissions on file, to-

gether with the affidavits submitted on the mo-

tion clearly shows not to present any genuine

issue of material fact requiring disposition at a

trial.

42 Jurisdictional Statement

The standards of decision governing the grant or

denial of a summary judgment emphasize that a

party opposing a motion is not to be denied a

trial unless the moving party sustains the burden

of showing clearly the absence of a genuine issue

of material fact. At the same time, the stand-

ards are to be applied with discriminating care

so as not to defeat a summary judgment if the

movant is justly entitled to one.” (emphasis

added )

The trial judge’s opinion reveals his determination as

a matter of federal constitutional law, (a) that the trans-

portation of solid or liquid waste across state lines is a

legitimate subject of interstate commerce, and (b) that

P. L. 1973, c. 363, on its face, discriminates against inter-

stated commerce. Had the trial court not reached those

conclusions, appellants’ motion for summary judgment

would have been denied, and the plenary hearing sched-

uled for April 15, 1974, would have been conducted.

By their notice of appeal (Appendix R, A207 infra),

Appellees appealed to the Superior Court of New Jersey,

Appellate Division:

“, . . from the final judgment of the Superior

Court, Law Division, Mercer County, entered on

March 26, 1974, by the Honorable George Y.

Schoch, declaring P. L. 1973, c. 363 unconstit:-

tional as violative of Art. I, Section 8, Clause 3

of the Constitution of the United States in favor

of plaintiffs, City of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania,

City of Glen Cove, Long Island, New York, Land-

fill and Development Company, MAC Sanitary

Landfill, Inc., Kinsley’s Landfill, Inc. and

DeLorenzo-Interstate Waste Removal Co., Inc.”

Jurisdictional Statement 43

Said notice of appeal also contained a certification

that a plenary hearing had never been held before the trial

court:

“I hereby certify that there was no testimony

taken in the above case. The matter was de-

cided on summary judgment.”

Appellees did not appeal from the denial of their

cross-motion for partial summary judgment as, indeed,

there was no reason for them so to do. Even if their

motion had originally been granted by the trial court, it

would not have disposed of the matter on its merits, but

merely led to a hearing of the numerous remaining issues

of material fact. A reversal of the judgment of the trial

court by an appellate tribunal would have the same sub-

stantive effect.

Although the New Jersey Supreme Court agreed that

the transportation and disposal of solid waste represented

a legitimate subject of interstate commerce, it did not

agree that P. L. 1973, c. 363 discriminated against inter-

state commerce. However, instead of reversing the deci-

sion of the trial court and remanding the matter for a hear-

ing on the material factual issues presented by the

complaint, it disposed of the entire matter by upholding

the constitutionality of the statute. Appellants were

thereby entirely deprived of an opportunity to present

evidence on the reasonableness of the exercise of the

State’s police power and the extent of the burden upon

interstate commerce. They were also deprived of their

fundamental right to present evidence with respect to

the numerous non-Commerce Clause issues raised by

their complaint.

This result was incomprehensible. Appellees had

never urged that they were entitled to judgment, as a mat-

ter of law, on the merits of the entire action. Quite to the

44 Jurisdictional Statement

contrary, they specifically argued to the trial court that

there were numerous unresolved questions of material

fact:

“At this stage of the litigation sub judice the

Court has not had an opportunity to consider any

of the relevant facts and circumstances except

affidavits submitted in favor of and in opposition

to the issuance of ad interim restraints.

Among those proofs which the court must con-

sider are: the nature and extent of the dangers

to the health, safety, welfare and environment of

New Jersey presented by the disposal of wastes

in New Jersey; the nature and extent of the solid

waste crisis in New Jersey; the rapid exhaustion

of landfill life in New Jersey; the volume of out-

of-state waste being disposed of in New Jersey;

the severe limiting effects on the future develop-

ment of property which has been used for sani-

tary landfill purposes; the extent of the effect on

interstate commerce.”

(Appendix Q, A206 infra).

Appellants petitioned the New Jersey Supreme Court

to reconsider their decision. They pointed out that a

plenary hearing had never been held on any issue raised

by the complaint, including the reasonableness of the

exercise of the State’s police power and the extent of its

burden upon interstate commerce, and that P. L. 1973, c.

363 was not being attacked on Commerce Clause grounds

alone.

After considering appellants’ arguments, the New

Jersey Supreme Court remanded the case to the trial court

“. . . for such further proceedings, if any, that that Court

Jurisdictional Statement 45

may deem appropriate. . . .” (Appendix X, A224 infra). No

guidance was given to the trial court as to what proceed-

ings, if any, might be “deemed appropriate” by the New

Jersey Supreme Court in light of its decision, on the merits,

that P. L. 1973, c. 363 represented a reasonable exercise of

the State’s police power and did not unreasonably burden

interstate commerce. Said decision was neither altered

nor amended in connection with the remand. In addition,

the Court refused to retain jurisdiction and specifically

prohibited the trial court from granting any interim in-

junctive relief. After effectively depriving appellants of

their day in court on the merits of their complaint, the

Court also foreclosed appellants from pursuing procedural

remedies in the trial court.

The net effect of these rulings was not only to place

appellants in a substantially worse position than they would

have been in had their motion for summary judgment ini-

tially been denied by the trial court, but also to deprive

them of a most basic and fundamental right: appellants

were never afforded an opportunity to be heard prior to a

final determination by the New Jersey Supreme Court that

P. L. 1973, c. 363 (a) represented a reasonable exercise of

the State’s police power, and (b) did not unreasonably

burden interstate commerce. In addition, they were fore-

closed from obtaining injunctive relief pending a resolution

of “. . . such further proceedings, if any, that . . . [the

trial] Court may deem appropriate . Sgege

As a practical consequence of this action,” appellants

were constrained to dismiss, with prejudice, each and

every count in their complaint which had not been directly

46 Jurisdictional Statement

addressed by the New Jersey Supreme Court, so that a

direct appeal could be taken to this Court.

Appellants respectfully contend that they have been

denied due process of law by the New Jersey Supreme

Court, in violation of the 5th and 14th amendments to the

Constitution of the United States, and in contravention of

the decisions of this Court.

The principle of federal constitutional law applicable

to the case at bar has been reiterated time and time again

by the United States Supreme Court:

“The fundamental requisite of due process of law

is the opportunity to be heard.”

Grannis v. Ordean, 234 U. S. 385, 394

(1914); Mullane v. Central Hanover Tr. Co.,

339 U. S. 306 (1950).

An opportunity to be heard includes an opportunity to

present a case and to be heard in its support. Brinkerhoff-

Faris Co. v. Hill, 281 U. S. 673, 681 (1930). Although

appellants scrupulously followed the procedural rules in-

hering in the courts in the State of New Jersey, they were

entirely deprived of an opportunity to be heard at a

meaningful time and in a meaningful manner in order to

defend their substantive right. They had no opportunity

to be heard on the merits of any issue raised by their com-

plaint prior to the final determination. Rhodes v. Houston,

202 F. Supp. 624 (Neb. 1962), affd 309 F. 2d 959 (8th

Cir. 1962), cert. den. 372 U. S. 909 (1963), 383 U. S. 971

(1966).

The denial of this fundamental right was raised to the

New Jersey Supreme Court at a conference meeting in the

presence of appellees on November 18, 1975, the very

same day that the case sub judice was decided. Accord-

ingly, the additional federal claim presented by the within

Jurisdictional Statement 47

due process argument was raised by appellants at their

very first opportunity. Brinkerhoff-Faris Co. v. Hill, 281

U. S., supra, at 678. It was asserted a second time less

than two weeks later in a motion addressed to the New

Jersey Supreme Court which resulted in the aforesaid

order remanding the case to the trial court “. . . for such

further proceedings, if any, that that Court may deem

appropriate... .”

Upon appellants consent to dismiss all counts of its

complaint except Counts I, VII and XIX, no further pro-

ceedings were deemed appropriate by the trial court,

“. . . in light of . . . the decision by the New

Jersey Supreme Court upholding the constitu-

tionality of P. L. 1973, c. 363 as representing a

valid exercise of the State’s police power which

does not reasonably burden interstate commerce

and said Court thereby having finally determined

Counts I, VII and XIX of plaintiffs’ complaint

(Appendix C, A57> supra)

The action taken by the New Jersey Supreme Court

in upholding the constitutionality of P. L. 1973, c. 363

without affording appellants an opportunity to be heard on

the merits violates due process of the law. Fundamental

rights cannot so lightly be discarded.

CONCLUSION.

The New Jersey Supreme Court has decided an issue

of national importance in a way not in accord with

the decisions of this Court, and in conflict with de-

cisions of other state and federal courts which have re-

cently decided cases involving environmental questions.

48 Jurisdictional Statement

It has also so far departed from the accepted and usual

course of judicial proceedings as to violate appellants’

right to due process of the law in violation of the 5th and

14th amendments to the Constitution of the United States.

Because ot the critical issues of great and general pub-

lic interest involved, it is respectfully urged that this Court

note jurisdiction and hear the case on its merits.

Respectfully submitted,

HERBERT F. Moore,

ARTHUR MEISEL,

Jamieson, McCaRrpELL,

Moore, Peskin & SPICER,

Joun R. Papova, A Professional Corporation,

SoL_o & Papova, Attorneys for Appellants. .

Special Legal Counsel to

Appellant City of

Philadelphia.

49

Certificate of Service.

We hereby certify that on this (OP aay of February,

1976, three copies of this Jurisdictional Statement were

mailed, with adequate first class postage prepaid, to

Assistant Attorney General Stephen Skillman, at his office

located in the State House Annex, Trenton, New Jersey,

08625; to Vincent J. Dotoli, Esquire, attorney for plaintiffs-

intervenors at his law office located at Interstate 287 &

McKinley Street, Plainfield, New Jersey 07080; and to

David N. Samson, Esquire, attorney for defendants-

respondents in the companion case Hackensack Meadow-

lands v. Mun. Landfill Auth., A-81 (decided November 18,

1975), at his law office located at 80 Main Street, West

Orange, New Jersey 07052.

We further certify that all parties required to be

served have been served. .

Appendix A-1 Al

APPENDIX A-l.

Superior Court oF NEw JERSEY.

Law Drvision—MERCER COUNTY.

Docket No. L-15068-73 P. W.

CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, a Municipat CorPporATION

OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA, CITY OF

GLEN COVE, a MunicipaL CoRPORATION OF THE

State oF New Yorx, LANDFILL & DEVELOP-

MENT CO., a N. J. Conporation, MacSANITARY

LANDFILL, Inc., a N. J. Corporation, KINSLEY’S

LANDFILL, Inc., a N. J. Corporation, anp DeE-

LORENZO-INTERSTATE WASTE REMOVAL

COMPANY, a N. J. Corporation, JOHN P. FAZZIO,

Inc., T/A JOHN P. FAZZIO LANDFILL COMPANY,

AND CONTINENTAL VANGUARD, a N. J. Cor-

PORATION,

Plaintiffs,

0.

q \

STATE OF NEW JERSEY, DepartMent or ENvinon-

MENTAL PROTECTION OF THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY,

AND RICHARD J. SULLIVAN, CommissIONER OF THE

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION OF THE

STATE OF NEw JERSEY,

Defendants.

ORAL OPINION.

Before:

HonoraB_e Georce Y. Scuocn, J.S.C.

Place:

Mercer County Courthouse,

Trenton, New Jersey.

March 25, 1974.

Appearances:

Jamieson, WaLsH, McCarpELL, Moore & Peskin, by

Mr. Hersert F. Moore, and ARTHUR MEISEL,

appearing on behalf of the plaintiffs, attorneys.

Mr. Vincent J. Doroui, appearing on behalf of de-

fendant Fazzio, attorney.

Witu1aM F. Hyanp, Attorney General of the State

of New Jersey, by Mr. Mark L. First, Deputy

Attorney General, appearing on behalf of the

defendant-State of New Jersey.

THe Court: Well, there are three separate points

raised by the motions or, I should say, by the motion and

countermotion presented here. Each side makes this

argument for summary judgment conceding that as to

these particular issues there are no material issues of fact

involved and so that the issues before the court at the

moment are ripe for summary judgment.

The New Jersey Legislature passed a law, Public Law

1973, Chapter 363, which says in part, “No person shall

bring into this state any solid or liquid waste which origi-

nated or was collected outside the territorial limits of the

state, except garbage to be fed to swine in the State of

New Jersey, until the Commissioner shall determine such

action can be permitted without endangering the public

health, safety and welfare and has promulgated regula-

tions permitting and regulating the treatment and dis-

posal of such waste in this state.”

There were emergency regulations promulgated by

the Commissioner, N. J. A. C. 7:1-4.1 and N. J. A. C. 7:1-

4.2. The second regulation sets forth certain exceptions,

descriptions of exceptions to the prohibition of solid or

liquid waste, including separated waste material that is

Appendix A-1 A3

intended for re-cycling and certain other exceptions which

are immaterial to the issue at hand.

Obviously the first matter that must be decided is

whether the item of solid or liquid waste, we have been

calling it garbage but it obviously includes more than

just garbage, whether that item is a proper subject of

interstate commerce. If it is not then there would be no

prohibition against the state passing a law that prohibits

the passage or importation of such item either through or

into the state, since it would not violate the interstate

commerce clause of the United States Constitution.

With reference to that point my attention has been

called to two cases. One is the case of Barnett v. A-1

Scavenger Service Co., Inc., a Missouri Court of Appeals

case (1971) reported at 466 Southwestern 2d at 150.

That case involved an interpretation of the Fair Labor

Standards Act. A helper on a refuse truck who worked

for an employer engaged exclusively in the collection and

disposal of garbage and waste in the City of St. Louis,

whether or not he was subject to the Fair Labor Standards

provisions regarding minimunt wage and overtime, be-

cause the employer collected waste from companies en-

gaged in interstate commerce. At page 156 the court

said, and I quote, “In the instant case it can scarcely be

plausibly argued that the garbage and refuse after being

collected by plaintiff entered the channels of interstate

commerce, or the mere transportation of such garbage and

other refuse for the purpose of disposing of it could be

said to be commerce among the several states within the

meaning of the Fair Labor Standards Act.”

So we have the authority of that case which indicates

that the transportation of trash and waste across the state

line is not engaging in interstate commerce. On the other

hand, there is a case of U. S. v. Pennsylvania Refuse Re-

A4 Appendix A-1

moval Association, at 242 Federal Supplement 794, U. S.

District Court case for the Eastern District of Pennsyl-

vania (1965) where the court said at page 799, “Defend-

ants argue at various points in their brief that because trash

itself is by definition a worthless commodity, it cannot

be the subject of ‘trade or commerce’ as those terms are

used in the Sherman Act. That argument misses the point.

Here, the relevant subject of ‘trade or commerce’ was not

worthless debris, but the valuable service of removing and

disposing of it. Since services are encompassed within

the meaning of the words ‘trade or commerce’ as used in

the Act, the defendant’s position has no merit.” And on

appeal to the U. S. 3rd Circuit Court reported at 357 Fed-

eral 2d, 806 (1966), the 3d Circuit Court said at page 808,

“From the record we are satisfied that the factual holding

of the trial judge that ‘the hauling and disposing of refuse

was an integral part of the refuse removal business’ is en-

tirely correct. In that situation the refuse transported

from Pennsylvania to New Jersey and disposed of in the

latter state is a vital element of the one business operation

which plainly is a proper subject of interstate commerce.”

Then there is a citation of Hoke v. U. S.

Then we have the case of U. S. v. Bishop Processing

Company, U. S. District Court, District of Maryland

(1968) 287 Federal Supplement 624, which I think could

be analogized to our case. In the Bishop case the question

was whether a business or factory that polluted the air and

that air pollution, malodorous pollution obviously affected

business conditions and property values in the neighbor-

ing state when the wind blew the smell and pollutants

across the state line. One of the questions that had to be

decided was whether the Clean Air Act covered this ac-

tivity, that is, whether or not movement of the air pol-

lutants across state lines constituted interstate commerce.

Appendix A-1 A5

And the District Court in Maryland decided, at page 629,

that it did, saying, “The movement of pollutants across a

state line is proper jurisdictional basis for the provisions of

the Act relating to the abatement of interstate air pollu-

tion. Such movement of pollutants across state lines con-

stitutes interstate commerce subject to the power granted

the Congress by the Constitution to regulate such com-

merce.

From my analysis of the cases that I have just cited I

think that the proper viewpoint to accept is that of the 3d

Circuit that the transportation of waste across the state

line is a subject of interstate commerce and, therefore,

subject to the controls of Congress in accordance with the

interstate commerce laws. However, that is not dispositive

of the problem. The plaintiff suggested the second point

that the Federal Government has pre-empted this field,

and when I say this field I mean the field of prohibition of

interstate movement of solid waste for either treatment

or disposal.

I prefer to decide the problem on the basis of ‘lis-

crimination rather than on the theory of pre-emption be-

cause I think the issue is more clearly defined when we

consider discrimination. I have already read certain por-

tions of the federal code. I will refer to them again. 42

U. S. C. A. 3254. Let me read this in full. “The secre-

tary shall encourage cooperative activities by the states

and local governments in connection with solid waste dis-

posal programs; encourage, where practicable, interstate,

interlocal and regional planning for, and the conduct of,

interstate, interlocal and regional solid-waste disposal pro-

grams; and encourage the enactment of improved and, so

far as practicable, uniform state and local laws governing

solid waste disposal.”

In Section 3251 there are five parts to subsection (b)

setting forth the purposes of this particular law, all of

A6 Appendix A-1

which talk about assistance, technical advice, training

grants, et cetera. None of which seems to me indicate the

type of pre-emption that I feel would be required in order

to find the Federal Government has pre-empted this field

in the fashion that the plaintiffs suggest and to arrive at

the decision the plaintiffs suggest.

So we come to the question of whether or not this

statute passed by the Legislature of New Jersey which,

as I have already indicated, I find involves material which

is the subject of interstate commerce, whether the statute

discriminates against interstate commerce to the extent

that it should be declared unconstitutional. I immediately

concede that I am aware of the cases which hold that there

is a strong presumption that the statute is constitutional

and the legislative act will not be declared void unless its

repugnancy to the Constitution is clear beyond a reason-

able doubt. Further, to declare a statute unconstitutional

is a judicial power to be delicately exercised, quoting from

Harvey v. Essex County Board of Freeholders, 30 N. J. 381.

The Court in the case of Supermarket General v. Sills, 93

N. J. Superior, 326 (Chancery Div. 1966) cites a quotation

from the U. S. Supreme Court case of Head v. New Mexico

Board of Examiners at page 345. The New Jersey Court

says, “A state law may not be struck down on the mere

showing that its administration affects interstate commerce

in some way. State regulation based on the police power

which does not discriminate against interstate commerce

or operate to disrupt its required uniformity may con-

stitutionally stand.”

As Judge Schreiber said in the case of Hackensack

Meadows Development v. Municipal Sanitary Landfill

Authority, a Chancery Division slip opinion dated Febru-

ary 13, 1974, page 12 of that slip opinion, “State regu-

lations and laws based on the exercise of the police power

Appendix A-1 AT7

may only stand if they do not discriminate against inter-

state commerce.”

I am aware of the long line of cases that deal with

the transportation of deleterious substances. They are

listed in Baldwin v. Seelig, 294 U. S. 511 (1934), opinion

of Mr. Justice Cardozo, at page 525, 7 Lawyers Ed., 1039,

which recites some of the cases which have upheld the

statutes regulating the importation of unhealthy cattle,

decayed foods. Mr. Justice Cardozo’says, “Things such

as these are not proper subjects of commerce (and notes )

there is no unreasonable interference when they are in-

spected and excluded.” .

I think the situation is different in this case before

me and I see a relationship between the natural gas cases

and this case. Some may say it’s a strained reason but

the natural gas cases that I refer to are Pennsylvania v.

West Virginia, 262 U. S. 553, and West v. Kansas Natural

Gas Company, 221 U. S. 229. Each of those cases, the

so-called home state attempted to prevent the exportation

of one of its natural resources and the statutes were struck

down as unconstitutional in derogation of the free flow

of commerce, that it is Congress’ prerogative to control

and not the state.

If we consider, as I do, that the purpose of the statute

in question here is to conserve natural resources of the

state, that by restricting the amount of solid waste that

is presented to the various disposal companies, the natural

resources, the land, the availability of the land will be

prolonged or extended or used less quickly. I don’t see

any difference between a state being prevented from

prohibiting exportation of natural gas than the state being

prevented from prohibiting the importation of something

that will in effect use one of the state’s natural resources.

Therefore, I find that the statute in question here

is attempting to control material that is properly the sub-

A8 Appendix A-1

ject of interstate commerce, that the method of attempting

is discriminatory and, therefore, unconstitutional.

You will prepare an order, Mr. Moore?

Mr. Moore: Yes, sir.

(End)

COURT REPORTERS CERTIFICATION.

I, ANTHONY D1 STEFANO, one of the Official Court

Reporters of the Superior and County Courts of the State

of New Jersey, do hereby certify that the foregoing is a

true and accurate transcript of my stenographic notes

taken by me in the above entitled matter.

ANTHONY D1 STEFANO

Anthony Di Stefano

Dated: March 28, 1974.

Appendix A-2 A9

APPENDIX A-2.

[127 N. J. Super. 160, 316 A. 2d 711 (Ch. 1974)]

[160]

HACKENSACK MEADOWLANDS DEVELOPMENT

COMMISSION AND STATE OF NEW JERSEY

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PRO-

TECTION, PLAINTIFFS, v. MUNICIPAL SANI-

TARY LANDFILL AUTHORITY, A JOINT VEN-

TURE OF WILLIAM A. KEEGAN, INC., RECLA-

MATION AND IMPROVEMENT CO., PETER

ROSELLE & SONS, INC. AND DELAWARE

SANITARY CO., DEFENDANTS, AND CITY OF

YONKERS, NEW YORK, DEFENDANT-INTER-

VENOR.

Superior Court of New Jersey

Chancery Division

Decided February 13, 1974.

oO ° “

[162]

Mr. Mark L. First, Deputy Attorney General, for

plaintiffs (Mr. George F. Kugler, Jr., Attorney General of

New Jersey, attorney ).

Mr. David Samson for defendants (Messrs. Lieb,

Wolff & Samson, attorneys ).

Mr. Eugene J. Fox, of the New Ycrk Bar, Corp. Coun-

sel for City of Yonkers, pro hac vice for defendant-inter-

venor ( Messrs. Schapira, Steiner & Walder, attorneys ).

Scurerer, J. S.C. The Hackensack Meadowlands

Development Commission (HMDC) and the State of New

Jersey, Department of Environmental Protection (DEP),

Al0 Appendix A-2

[163]

seek to enjoin the Municipal Sanitary Landfill Authority

(MSLA) from accepting for disposal in its landfill site

located within

the Hackensack Meadowlands District any solid wastes

originating from or collected outside the territorial limits

of New Jersey. Both HMDC and DEP had adopted regu-

lations, effective September 1, 1973 and August 31, 1973,

respectively, which prohibited such disposal.

An ad interim restraint, consented to by defendant,

had been entered pending determination of the request for

a permanent injunction. On the return date of the order to

show cause defendants answered by challenging the con-

stitutionality of the regulations and the Waste Control Act,

N. J. S. A. 13:11-1 et seq. The hearing was adjourned to

allow plaintiffs time to respond to the challenges. In the

meantime the City of Yonkers, New York, whose refuse

was being deposited on the MSLA site, moved for and was

granted leave to intervene as a party defendant. No testi-

mony was taken at the hearing. The parties relied on

affidavits and the transcript of proceedings taken before

the Hackensack Meadowlands Commission on June 18,

1973.

MSLA has made a three-fold attack. It contends that

(1) the Waste Control Act, regulation N. J. A. C. 7:26-1.5

promulgated thereunder, and certain regulations of

HMDC, namely, N. J. A. C. 19:7-1.1(g) and (h), are in-

valid, arbitrary and unreasonable; (2) the procedure fol-

lowed by DEP in promulgating its rule, N. J. A. C. 7:26-

1.5, violated due process of law, and (3) all the above

designated regulations and the Waste Control Act must

fall because they violate Article 1, Section 8, paragraph 3

(the Commerce Clause) and Article 4, Section 2 (the

Privileges and Immunities Clause), of the U. S. Consti-

tution.

Appendix A-2 All

I

The Waste Control Act, N. J. S. A. 13:1I-1 to 8, re-

cites that the Legislature found that the disposal of wastes

generated or collected outside the State poses a threat to

the quality of New Jersey's environment and that the Com-

missioner of Environmental Protection was empowered to

create

[164]

regulations prohibiting the “landfill of solid waste” and the

“disposal of liquid wastes” within the State which origi-

nated or were collected outside New Jersey. The Com-

missioner adopted Regulation N. J. A. C. 7:26-1.5, effective

August 31, 1973, which reads as follows:

Out of State waste

(a) No person engaged in the collection of solid

or liquid wastes shall dispose of any solid or liquid

wastes which originated or were collected outside the

territorial limits of this State in sanitary landfills in

the Hackensack Meadowlaads District.

(b) No person owning or operating a sanitary

landfill within the Hackensack Meadowlands District

shall accept for disposal in such sanitary landfill any

solid or liquid wastes which originated or were col-

lected outside the territorial limits of this State.

Defendant contends that there is no basis for the Legisla-

ture’s findings, that the regulation is invalid in the absence

of a showing of a causal relationship between banning out-

of-state garbage in New Jersey and a threat to its environ-

ment, and that the regulation is overly broad by banning

all wastes. The statute and the administrative regulations

are presumptively valid. Harvey v. Essex County Board

Al2 Appendix A-2

of Freeholders, 30 N. J. 381 (1959); Burton v. Sills, 53

N. J. 86 (1968); State v. Profaci, 56 N. J. 346 (1970).

Since one can reasonably and readily conceive of facts

which would support the Legislature’s findings and the

Commissioner’s regulations, the onus is on defendant to

establish that the Legislature’s and Commissioner's actions

are arbitrary. Consolidation Coal Co. v. Kandle, 105 N. !.

Super. 104 (App. Div. 1969), aff'd 54 N. J. 11 (1969);

Municipal Sanitary Landfill Authority v. Hackensack Mea-

dowlands Development Comm’n, 120 N. J. Super. 118

(App. Div. 1972); Borden’s Farm Products Co., Inc. v.

Baldwin, 293 U. S. 194, 55 S. Ct. 187, 79 L. Ed. 281

(1934). Defendant's proof consisted of an affidavit of an

engineer, Dennis L. Backus, and the transcript of proceed-

ings before the Hackensack Meadowlands Commission

held on June 18, 1973 with respect to its proposed regula-

tions. The affidavit asserts that quantities of solid

[165]

wastes are used for construction purposes and that there-

fore a complete ban on disposal of out-of-state solid wastes

is inappropriate. This conclusion does not necessarily fol-

low because no reference is made to the amount of New

Jersey refuse which is being used for landfill purposes, the

limited amount of area available, and the environmental

and public health impacts involved. Further, an affidavit

of Lino Pereira, the Principal Environmental Engineer of

DEP, asserts that sanitary landfills “present a pollution

danger because they do not conserve or recover resources

but bury them, and because they severely limit the future

use of the land on which they are located.” Additionally,

he avers that sanitary landfills present a unique fire prob-

lem. An affidavit of Bernhard V. Lind, Acting Chief of the

Bureau of Solid Waste Management in the DEP, asserts

EE

Appendix A-2 Al3

that of the 55,000 tons per week of solid waste being dis-

posed of in the Hackensack Meadowlands District, 10,000

tons originated outside New Jersey and there was an acute

shortage of remaining landfill life located there. In view

of all the foregoing, it is obvious that MSLA has not met its

burden.

The same type of attack has been made upon regula-

tions N. J. A. C. 19:7-1.1(g) and (h) of the HMDC. These

regulations read as follows:

19:7-1.1(g). No solid waste originating or col-

lected outside of the territorial jurisdiction of New

Jersey shall be disposed of or treated within the Hack-

ensack Meadowlands District. No sanitary landfill

operator shall accept for disposal, at a sanitary landfill

within the Hackensack Meadowlands District, any

solid waste originating or collected outside of the

territorial limits of New Jersey.

19:7-1.1(h). All operators of sanitary landfills

within the Hackensack Meadowlands District shall

submit to the Commission, tegether with their applica-

tions, as provided in Sections 3 and 4 of this sub-

chapter, a certification stating that no solid waste

originating or collected outside of the territorial limits

of New Jersey will be accepted for disposal or treat-

ment.

Defendant has made no showing that there was no basis

for these regulations. The affidavits of William D. Mc-

Dowell, Executive Director of HMDC, and George D.

Cascino, its

[166]

Chief Engineer, disclosed that three surveys had been made

to determine the volume and origin of solid waste disposed

of in landfills in the Hackensack Meadowlands District.

Al4 Appendix A-2

The first disclosed that in 1968 some 30,000 tons were

entering the District each week, of which 4,900 tons orig-

inated outside New Jersey. HMDC study in 1971 revealed

that the weekly tonnage was 42,000, of which 5,000

emanated from outside the State. In April 1973 HMDC

updated its study. At that time weekly tonnage had in-

creased to 55,000, of which 10,000 came from sources out-

side of New Jersey. The Commission concluded that the

sites had only three years of life remaining and that ban-

ning of out-of-state garbage would extend the landfill life

some six months.

Under the Hackensack Meadowlands Development

Act the Commission must provide disposal facilities for the

New Jersey municipalities (totalling 118, according to

plaintiffs ) which had been utilizing the District. N. J. S. A.

13:17-10(a), (b) and (e). The affidavits point out that

the Commission needs as much time as possible to develop

a viable alternate method of disposal. One cannot reason-

ably contend that promulgation of the regulations under

the totality of these facts and circumstances was arbitrary.

Defendant also argues that the HMDC regulations

contravene N. J. S. A. 13:17-6(w) and 13:17-10(b) and

(e) by failing to provide for disposal facilities for waste

equai to levels at the time the statute was passed, which

levels included out-of-state waste. N. J. S. A. 13:17-6(w)

authorizes HMDC “to provide solid waste disposal facilities

for the treatment and disposal of solid waste, as hereinatter

provided.” N. J. S. A. 13:17-10 reads:

(a) Within 6 months of the effective date of this

act the commission shall undertake and complete a

survey of the district to determine the total amount of

solid waste treated and disposed on a daily basis in

the district as of the effective date of this act by per-

sons in this State.

Appendix A-2 Al5

(b) The commission is hereby authorized, em-

powered and directed to guarantee that solid waste

disposal facilities sufficient to treat and

[167]

dispose of the total amount of solid waste determined

by its survey shall be available or be provided by the

commission.

(e) The commission, in its discretion, may pro-

vide solid waste disposal facilities sufficient to treat

and dispose of more than the total amount of solid

waste determined by its survey, and may make such

facilities available to persons other than those treating

and disposing of solid waste in the district as of the

effective date of this act. [Emphasis added]

Defendant reads these three sections together as guarantee-

ing continued use to all persons utilizing the disposal facili-

ties in the Meadowlands at the time the act was passed. To

interpret the statute in that way, however, one must delete

the last three words in subsection (a). The inclusion of

those words, “in this State,” demonstrates that the Legis-

lature was concerned about waste collected in New Jersey.

If it intended to include all waste disposed of in the

Meadowlands no matter where its origin, the phrase, “in

this State” would not have been inserted, since, obviously,

garbage dumped in the Meadowlands is dumped in this

State. One must assume in interpreting a statute that the

legislators would not insert a redundant or meaningless

phrase. The only significance in these words is that the

referring to the “total amount of solid waste determined by

its [the Commission’s] survey,” are concerned with the

Al6 Appendix A-2

total amount of garbage disposed of in the Meadowlands

by persons in this State, i.e., the total amount of New Jersey

waste dumped in the Meadowlands. This is the only

sensible interpretation. The concern of the New Jersey

Legislature was to safeguard the area for New Jersey op-

erations—not New York, Pennsylvania, or other jurisdic-

tions. As Justice Jacobs wrote in J. C. Chap. Prop.

Owners’, etc., Ass'n v. City Council, 55 N. J. 86 (1969):

When all is said and done, the matter of statutory

construction here will not justly turn on literalisms,

technisms or the so-called formal rules of interpreta-

tion; it will justly turn on the breadth of the objectives

of the legislation and the commonsense of the situa-

tion. [at 100]

[168]

To the same effect: State v. New Jersey National Bank and

Trust Co., 62 N. J. 50 (1972). Defendant's contention that

the regulations contravene the enabling statute is unsound

for the statute mandates only that the Commission guar-

antee disposal facilities for New Jersey communities utiliz-

ing the landfill sites as of the effective date of the act.

II

Defendant attacks the procedure followed by the

DEP in adopting N. J. A. C. 7:26-1.5, claiming that the

failure to hold a hearing prior to adoption of the rule

denied defendants due process. This contention has no

merit. Plaintiff DEP caused the proposed regulation to

be published in the New Jersey Register on July 5, 1973,

with the statement that “interested persons may present

statements or arguments in writing relevant to the pro-

posed action on or before August 3, 1973.” 5 N. J. R.

220(c). This notice was consistent with the Adminis-

Appendix A-2 AlT7

trative Procedure Act, N. J. S. A. 52:14B-1, et seq., and

complied with N. J. S. A. 52:14B-4(a)(2), affording any

interested person a reasonable opportunity to be heard.

Defendant concedes that the act does not require a formal

hearing and that it did not submit a statement or request

a hearing. The uncontroverted statement in the affidavit

of Mr. Lind is that no written statement or argument was

received by DEP from any interested person. Under these

circumstances there was no constitutional or statutory re-

quirement that a hearing be held prior to the promulga-

tion of the regulations. Motyka v. McCorkle, 58 N. J. 165

(1971).

Ill

There remains defendant’s constitutional challenges.

i.e., that the DEP and HMDC regulations set forth above

violate Article I, Section 8, paragraph 3 (Commerce Clause)

and Article IV, Section 2 (Privileges and Immunities

Clause) of the U. S. Constitution. (Defendant has not

[169]

argued the Waste Control Act\is unconstitutional). De-

fendant has not vigorously advanced its argument with

respect to Article IV, Section 2, and it is not necessary to

deal with that contention in depth. Suffice it to say there

are serious infirmities in that position, such as the fact that

it is not applicable to corporations and that it only applies

where there is no substantial reason for the discrimination.

Peul v. Virginia, 8 Wall. 168, 75 U. S. 168, 19 L. Ed. 357

(1868); Hemphill v. Orloff, 277 U. S. 537, 48 S. Ct. 577,

72 L. Ed. 978 (1928); Toomer v. Witsell, 334 U. S. 385, 68

S. Ct. 1156, 92 L. Ed. 1460 (1948).

Article I, Section 8, provides that “Congress shall have

power ° ° ° to regulate commerce ° ° ° among the several

States *° * *.” DEP and HMDC contend that garbage is

not a legitimate subject of trade or comr serce and therefore

A18 Appendix A-2

not within the purview of the Commerce Clause. They

rely upon a number of cases which recognize the power of

a state to forbid the sale or importation of impure foods or

such articles as would spread disease and pestilence and

would be immediate causes of destruction of or injury to

human health and life. A state’s prohibition of the inter-

state transportation of diseased animals has been held not

to contravene the Commerce Clause. Clason v. Indiana,

306 U. S. 439, 59 S. Ct. 609, 83 L. Ed. 858 (1939). Simi-

larly, “statutes forbidding the importation and sale of

adulterated or injurious food or drugs have withstood con-

stitutional attacks. Crossman v. Lurman, 192 U. S. 189,

24 S. Ct. 234, 48 L. Ed. 401 (1904); Price v. Illinois, 238

U. S. 446, 35 S. Ct. 892, 59 L. Ed. 1400 (1915). In Sligh

v. Kirkwood, 237 U. S. 52, 35 S. Ct. 501, 59 L. Ed. 835

(1915), a Florida statute prohibiting the exportation of

fruits which were unfit for human consumption was held

valid. All these cases classified the matter (diseased ani-

mals, adulterated food, fruit unfit for human consumption )

as nonmerchantable. In all the food and drug cases the

articles were banned to protect the public from mistaking

them for pure and wholesome foods and to prevent the

spread of disease. The articles in-

[170]

volved had no useful purpose and were per se dangerous

to health. On the other hand, refuse may be utilized for

construction, landfill, recycling of paper, bottles and metal,

and production of electricity. In passing, it might be

noted that some successful incinerator systems which cre-

ate waste heat for power generation exist in Germany, the

Netherlands, France and Switzerland. In the instant situ-

ation there is no prohibition against the transportation of

out-of-state garbage in or through New Jersey or the dis-

Appendix A-2 Al9

posal of such refuse in New Jersey landfill sites located in

places other than the Hackensack Meadowlands District.’

the danger to public health due to transportation

in New Jersey or location of the garbage in a

licensed landfill site in the State which is the evil that the

Waste Control Act and the regulations are directed at.

The purpose is conservation of the iand used for disposal

sites in the Hackensack Meadowlands District so that their

life expectancy will be extended from 3 to 3% years. In

any event, the regulations in question here which are

directed to the restricted use of sites for New Jersey gar-

bage cannot be sanctioned on the concept that garbage is

not a legitimate subject of interstate commerve.

[171]

It is well established that a state may, in the exercise

2+

L. Ed. 878 (1898); Sligh v. Kir supra.; Yellow Cab

A20 Appendix A-2

Co. of Camden v. State, 126 N. J. Super. 81 (App. Div.

1973), certif. den. 64 N. J. 498 (1974).

The Federal Government has not adopted legislation

dealing with the use of waste landfill sites. Further, the

regulations and statute in question are clearly within the

authority of the State’s police power to conserve its landfill

sites. It has been recognized that the dumping of garbage

in a landfill is an unattractive and undesirable use of land

and that it creates potential health and fire hazards. In

Shaw v. Byram Tp., 86 N. J. Super. 598 (App. Div. 1965),

Judge (now Justice) Sullivan wrote:

* * * Garbage or refuse is unsightly, smelly, at-

tracts flies and rodents, and is a potential fire hazard.

It is a prime source of disease and contamination. It

has been called a necessary evil because it is a by-

product of civilized society. Ordinarily, some provi-

sion is made for its collection and disposal by the local

government. However, problems of public health

and welfare are involved, and no matter how care-

fully regulated, garbage dumps present some hazard

to a community, the degree of hazard being directly

related to the amount of garbage dumped. [at 602]

In Municipal Sanitary Landfill Authority v. Hackensack

Meadowlands Development Comm'n, Judge Lynch ap-

proved the Commission’s finding that:

Sanitary landfills conducted on virgin land for-

ever ruin the possibility of preserving the site for con-

servation. Additionally, such landfill operations can

have an adverse effect on the ecological balance of

the surrounding area. A sanitary landfill operation

also has severe limiting effects on future development

of the property. Problems of settlement, gas genera-

tion, and fires make it difficult to construct structures

on former landfill sites. [120 N. J. Super. at 122]

Appendix A-2 A21

[172]

However, state regulations and laws based on the

exercise of the police power may only stand if they do not

discriminate against interestate commerce. In other words,

the exercise of the police power may not be predicated on

a method directed against interstate commerce. Plaintiffs

concede that this is so. This nondiscrimination principle

has been expounded in several United States Supreme

Court decisions. In Huron Portland Cement Co. v. De-

troit, 362 U. $. 440, 80 S. Ct. 813, 4 L. Ed. 2d 852 (1960),

the City of Detroit had passed an ordinance which limited

the permissible amount and density of smoke emissions

from the boiler stacks of vessels while docked in the city.

Huron Portland Cement Co., a Michigan corporation

whose ships travelled among several states via the Great

Lakes, challenged the code as an unlawful interference

with interstate commerce. The court held that the ordi-

nance was a valid exercise of the state’s police power since

it applied generally to all ships and did not discriminate in

favor of local industry. Mr. Justice Stewart wrote:

#* * State regulation, based on the police power,

which does not discriminate against interstate com-

merce or operate to disrupt its required uniformity,

may constitutionally stand. Hennington v. Georgia,

163 U. S. 299, 16 S. Ct. 1086, 41 L. Ed. 166; Lake

Shore & M. S. R. Co. v. Ohio, 173 U. S. 285, 19 S. Ct.

465, 43 L. Ed. 702; Pennsylvania Gas Co. v. Public

Service Com. 252 U. S. 23, 40 S. Ct. 279, 64 L. Ed. 434

[PUR 1920E 18]; Milk Control Bd. v. Eisenberg Farm

Products, 306 U. S. 346, 59 S. Ct. 528, 83 L. Ed. 752;

Bob-Lo Excursion Co. v. Michigan, 333 U. S. 28, 68

S. Ct. 358, 92 L. Ed. 455.

° ° °

A22 Appendix A-2

It has not been suggested that the local ordi-

nance, applicable alike to “any person, firm or corpo-

ration” within the city, discriminates against interstate

commerce as such. It is a regulation of general ap-

plication designed to better the health ‘and welfare of

the community. °° ° We conclude that no imper-

missible burden on commerce has been shown. [at

448, 80 S. Ct. at 818].

In S. C. Hwy. Dept. v. Barnwell Bros. Inc., 303 U.S. 177

58 S. Ct. 510, 82 L. Ed. 1522 (1938), Mr. Justice Stone, in

upholding a state law which limited the width and load of

trucks on state highways, wrote:

[173]

The commerce clause by its own force, prohibits

discrimination against interstate commerce, whatever

its form or method, and the decisions of this Court

have recognized that there is scope for its like opera-

tion when state legislation nominally of local concern

is in point of fact aimed at interstate commerce, or by

its necessary operation is a means of gaining a local

benefit by throwing the attendant burdens on those

without the state. Robbins v. Shelby County Taxing

District, 120 U. S. 489, 498, 30 L. Ed. 1189; Caldwell

v. North Carolina, 187 U. S. 622, 626, 47 L. Ed. 336.

It was to end these practices that the commerce clause

was adopted.

In Guy v. Baltimore, 100 U. S. 434, 25 L. Ed. 743 (1879),

a Maryland statute authorized Baltimore to collect

wharfage fees from all vessels which docked in city

wharves, provided that the material to be loaded or un-

loaded was not produced in Maryland. The city adopted

an ordinance accordingly. The court commented:

Appendix A-2 A23

In the exercise of its police powers, a State may

exclude from its territory, or prohibit the sale therein

of any articles which, in its judgment, fairly exercised,

are to the health or which would endanger

the lives or property of its people. But if the State,

under the guise of exerting its police powers, should

make such exclusion or prohibition applicable solely

to articles, of that kind, that may be produced or

manufactured in other States, the courts would find

no difficulty in holding such legislation to be in con-

flict with the Constitution of the United States. [at

443]

The court invalidated the ordinance on the ground that:

* © * no State can, consistently with the Federal

Constitution, impose upon the products of other

States, brought therein for sale or use, or upon citizens

because engaged in the sale therein, or the transporta-

tion thereto, of the products of other States more

onerous public burdens or taxes than it imposes upon

the like products of its own territory. [at 439]

The court also indicated that the wharves were property

held for public use by the municipality, which could not

“be permitted by discrimination to impede commercial

intercourse. That property held for public use may not

be limited on a discriminatory basis has peculiar perti-

nence here. The New Jersey Legislature has deemed it

appropriate to classify op-

[174]

erations of garbage landfill sites as public utilities. N. J.

S. A. 48:2-13. As such they would appear to be affected

with a public interest as much as a municipally owned

wharf. It might be noted that the State has expressly pro-

A24 Appendix A-2

hibited a public utility from directly or indirectly making

or giving “any undue or unreasonable preference or ad-

vantage to any person, locality or particular description of

traffic, or subject any particular person, locality or par-

ticular description of traffic to any prejudice or disad-

vantage.” N. J. S. A. 48:3-4.

DEP and HMDC rationalize that discrimination is

absent because the regulations do not prefer New Jersey

over out-of-state landfill operators or garbage haulers. The

difficulty with that rationale is that it is the discrimination

based on the origin of the refuse, not the residence of the

owner or carrier, which is invidious. Transportation of the

refuse, whether carried by New Jerseyans or nonresidents,

in interstate commerce is directly affected by the ban.

Although the State’s objective in attempting to con-

serve a local natural resource for local needs is a proper

police power purpose, that cannot be accomplished by

discrimination based on the source of the refuse. In Penn-

sylvania v. West Virginia, 262 U. S. 553, 43 S. Ct. 658, 67

L. Ed. 1117 (1923), a West Virginia statute restricted the

exportation of natural gas to ensure a sufficient supply for

its own citizens. Although the Supreme Court recognized

(at 598, 43 S. Ct. at 665) that “the gas is a natural product

of the state and has become a necessity therein, that the

supply is waning and no longer sufficient to satisfy local

needs and be used abroad, and that the act is therefore a

legitimate measure of conservation in the interest of people

of the state,” the statute had to fall because it interfered

with interstate commerce.

Oklahoma enacted a law which prevented a pipeline

company from transporting natural gas outside the state.

The purpose of the law was to conserve natural gas in the

Oklahoma fields for consumption in the state. In declaring

the statute violative of the Commerce Clause, the U. S.

Supreme

Appendix A-2 AD

[175]

Court, in West v. Kansas Natural Gas Co., 221 U. S. 229,

31 S. Ct. 564, 55 L. Ed. 716 (1911), commented:

° * © The statute of Oklahoma recognizes it to

be a subject of intrastate commerce, but seeks to

prohibit it from being the subject of interstate com-

merce, and this is the purpose of its sisson Da

rds, the purpose of its conservation a

a saiddineedli-is business welfare of the State,

as coal might be, or timber. Both of those products

may be limited in amount, and the same consideration

of the public welfare which would confine gas to the

use of the inhabitants of a State would confine them

to the inhabitants of the State. If the States have such

power a singular situation might result. Pennsylvania

might keep its coal, the Northwest its timber, the min-

ing States their minerals. And why may not the

products of the field be brought within the principle?

Thus enlarged, or without that enlargement, its in-

fluence on interstate commerce need not be pointed

out. To what consequence does such power tend?

If one State has it, all States have it; embargo may be

retaliated by embargo, and commerce will be halted

at state lines. And yet we have said that “in matters

of foreign and interstate commerce there are no state

lines.” In such commerce, instead of the States, a new

appears and a new welfare,—a welfare which

transcends that of any State. But rather let us say it

is constituted of the welfare of all of the States and

that of each State is made the greater by a division

of its resources, natural and created, with every other

State, and those of every other State with it. This

was the purpose, as it is the result, of. the interstate

commerce clause of the Constitution of the United

A26 Appendix A-2

States. If there is to be a turning backward it must be

done by the authority of another instrumentality than

a court. [at 255, 31 S. Ct. at 571]

The Commissioner of Environmental Protection and

the Hackensack Meadowlands Development Commission

adopted the regulations in question to expand the life of

the landfill sites for garbage collection in the Hackensack

Meadowlands District from 3 to 3% years. To attempt to

accomplish that end by discriminating against sources of

refuse solely because they originate or are collected outside

the State under the circumstances here contravenes Article

I, Section 8, Clause 3 of the U. S. Constitution. The regu-

lations are invalid.

Appendix A-3 A27

APPENDIX A-3.

[68 N. J. 451, 348 A. 2d 505 (1975)]

[451]

HACKENSACK MEADOWLANDS DEVELOPMENT

COMMISSION and State of New Jersey Department

of Environmental Prot»ction, Plaintiffs-Appellants,

MUNICIPAL SANIT. ARY LANDFILL AUTHORITY et

al., Defendants-Respondents,

and

City of Yonkers, New York

Defendant-Intervenor-Respondent

CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, etc., et al.,

Plaintiffs-Respondents,

and.

ohn P. Fazzio Landfill, Inc., t/a John P. Fazzio Landfill

' Co., et al., Plaintiffs-Intervenors-Respondents,

STATE of New Jersey et al., Defendants-Appellants.

Supreme Court of New Jersey.

Argued Dec. 2, 1974.

Decided Nov. 18, 1975.

(455).

Mr. Stephen Skillman, Assistant Attorney General,

argued the cause for defendants-appellants (Mr. William

F. Hyland, Attorney General of New Jersey, attorney;

Mr. Skillman, of counsel; Mr. Mark L. First, Deputy At-

torney General, on the brief).

A28 Appendix A-3

Mr. Herbert F. Moore argued the cause for plaintiffs-

respondents, City of Philadelphia, etc., et al (Messrs.

Jamieson, Walsh, McCardell, Moore and Peskin, attorneys;

Mr. Moore, of counsel; Mr. Arthur Meisel, on the brief).

Mr. Vincent J. Dotoli argned the cause for plaintiffs-

intervenors-respondents, John P. Fazzio, Inc., t/a John P.

Fazzio Landfill Co., et al.

Mr. David Samson argued the cause for defendants-

respondents, Municipal Sanitary Landfill Authority, etc.

(Messrs. Leib, Wolff and Samson, attorneys).

Mr. Stephen Skillman, Assistant Attorney General,

argued the cause for plaintiffs-appellants (Mr. William F.

Hyland, Attorney General of New Jersey, attorney; Mr.

Skillman, of counsel; Mr. Mark L. First, Deputy Attorney _

General, on the brief).

The opinion of the Court was delivered by

Mounta, J.

These proceedings involve the joint review of two

separate cases. In one case the judgment was entered

pursuant to an opinion rendered in Hackensack Meadow-

lands Development Commission v. Municipal Sanitary

Landfill Authority, 127 N. J. Super. 160, 316 A. 2d 711 (Ch.

Div. 1974). In the other, judgment was entered following

the rendition of an oral opinion in a suit brought by the -

City of Philadelphia, together with the owners of several

landfill operations in South Jersey, against the State of New

Jersey and its Department of Environmental Protection

(DEP). The [456] cumulative effect of these two judg-

ments was to render unconstitutional certain sections of the

Waste Control Act, N. J. S. A. 13:11-1 et seq., together

with regulations promulgated by DEP and by the Hacken-

sack Meadowlands Development Commission (HMDC).

The measures declared unconstitutional had as their pur-

——e

Appendix A-3 A29

the exclusion from this State of solid waste originating

‘auahinn In each suit the trial court found that the laws

and regulations under review violated the Commerce

Clause, Article 1, §8, clause 3, of the United States

Constitution. Bees

l

A30 Appendix A-3

thorized and directed [457] the DEP to promulgate rules

and regulations “prohibiting . . . the incineration or land-

fill of solid waste and the treatment or disposal of liquid

wastes within the State which originated or were collected

outside the territorial limits of the State.” N. J. S. A. 13:11-

4. Both HMDC and DEP promulgated regulations re-

sponsive to these legislative enactments, all looking to bar

the importation of solid and liquid waste from outside

the State.’

1. (Cont'd. )

the State, exept guibege to be fed to ontns Sp Sop Sian 0 ew

ersey, until commissioner [Commissioner of Environmental

ection] shall determine that such action can be permitted with-

out endangering the public health, safety and welfare and has pro-

vision shall be subject to the penal enforcement provisions

the “Waste Control Act.” P. L. 1973. c. 39. [N. J. S. A. 13:1I-10]

2. The pertinent portions of the HMDC regulations, which

became effective September 1, 1973, reads as follows:

\S) 1 wetottaton 6 Nie tee Oe te Get oe

territorial jurisdiction ew disposed or

wentee ee oe eee ae es Set. Ta eeae-

operator s rays at a sanitary

lari within the Hackensack 1d eadbes og Aen dhac ee

waste originating or collected outside of the territorial limits of

New Jersey.

(h i ies landfills within the Hacken-

sack Meadowlands District submit to the Commission

[Hackensack Meadowlands Dev ent Commission] . . .

a certification stating that no solid waste originating or col-

lected outside of the territorial limits of New J will be

accepted for disposal or treatment. [N. J. A. C. 19:7-1.1]

The on of the DEP in its t form became effective

Felwuary 11014 tnd vento as SO

(a) No person shall bring into this State, or accept for dis-

posal in this State, any solid or <2 waste which originated

or was collected outsi the toxtiotial Ikohe ef Gan aeas This

Section shall not apply to:

1. Garbage to be fed to swine in the State of New Jersey;

2. Any separated waste mat including newsprint,

paper, wut and metals, that ts SS. materials

Appendix A-3 ASI

[458]

In order to enforce these statutes and rules HA te

DEP filed a complaint seeking permanen

rg gr gee

MSLA) * from accepting for disposal at its landfill sites any

solid waste originating or collected outside of the States

territorial borders.* At the same time, with the consent

A32 Appendix A-3

then using an MSLA site to dispose of its municipal refuse.

No testimony was taken; the parties relied on affidavits

and the transcript of previous [459] proceedings before

the Hackensack Meadowlands Commission. In February,

1974, the trial judge filed a written opinion declaring the

DEP and HMDC regulations to be in contravention of the

Commerce Clause of the United States Constitution and

therefore invalid. Hackensack Meadowlands Develop-

ment Commission v. Municipal Sanitary Landfill Au-

thority, supra, 127 N. J. Super. 160, 316 A. 2d 711 (Ch.

Div. 1974). Judgment was temporarily stayed and on

March 26, the Appellate Division granted plaintiffs’ motion

for a further stay pending determination of the appeal.

Upon application by plaintiffs, this Court granted certifica-

tion while the appeal was pending unheard in the Appel-

late Division, R. 2:12-2, 66 N. J. 337 (1974).

In January, 1974, in a separate plenary suit, the City

of Philadelphia, together with other plaintiffs mentioned

above, filed a complaint seeking a declaration that the

Waste Control Act, as well as the regulations promulgated

pursuant thereto, violated the Constitutions of both the

United States and the State of New Jersey, and further

seeking temporary and permanent injunctive relief re-

straining DEP from enforcing the statutory provisions and

from adopting or enforcing regulations intended to be in

furtherance of the statutory purpose. On March 25, 1974

the trial judge (not the judge who had heard the Hacken-

sack Meadowlands case), on cross-motions for summary

judgment, rendered an oral opinion declaring that

N. J. S. A. 13:1I-9 and 10 effected an improper discrimina-

tion against interstate commerce and were hence uncon-

stitutional. Following the filing of a notice of appeal to

the Appellate Division, N. J. 102, 335 A. 2d 55 (1974),

and the two actions were brought on for argument and .

disposition before us at the same time.

Appendix A-3 A33

We thus face an issue of major public importance,

namely, whether the regulations and statutes under review,

to meet a pressing emergency in the life of the

State, are of [460] such a nature as to violate the Com-

merce Clause, Article I, § 8, clause 3, of the United States

Constitution.’

Il

The Court is acutely aware of the solid waste disposal

problem which now exists in the State of New Jersey.

Very recently we recognized that it had reached “crisis

Mayor and Council of the Township of Ocean, 64 N. '

the two cases now before this Court,

of HMDC, July 1, 1968, three surveys have been con-

ducted to determine the volume and origin of the solid

waste disposed of in the landfills located within HMD. The

first survey, mandated by N. J. S. A. 13:17-10(a), found

that in 1968 approximately 30,000 tons of solid waste

entered HMD each week, of which about 4,000 tons origi-

A34 Appendix A-3

ducted in 1971, indicated that the total volume of solid

waste disposed of in the District had risen to 42,000 tons

per week, 5,000 tons of which originated outside of the

State. The latest survey, conducted in 1973, revealed

further increases to total weekly deposits of 55,000 tons of

[461] solid waste, of which about 10,000 tons came from

out of state.°

On the basis of the 1973 survey, it was estimated by

HMDC that the existing landfill sites within HMD had a

useful life of about three years, but that a ban on out-of-

state refuse would extend their availability by approxi-

mately six months. Since the adoption of the ban on out-

of-state dumping, the HMDC revised its estimates of the

remaining life of the landfills within the HMD. It was cal-

culated that as of January 1, 1974, sanitary landfills within

that area had a total life expectancy of about 38 months if

the ban were to be continued, but an availability of only

26 months if the ban were to be lifted. Furthermore,

there is little chance of reducing the volume of garbage

being dumped in the HMD which originates within the

State, for the reason, among others, that the Commission

has become obligated by statute, N. J. S. A. 13:17-10, to

provide solid waste disposal facilities for over 100 New

Jersey municipalities.

State-wide, the picture appears much the same. It

was estimated that in 1971 over 40,000 tons of solid waste

originating out of state was being buried each week in the

340 sanitary landfills then existing within the State. DEP

estimated that in that year 1.5 million tons of solid waste

originating outside of the State was buried in New Jersey.

DEP has also recently computed the total life of the exist-

ing sanitary landfill facilities to be about three years in

northern New Jersey and approximately ten years in the

6. It was determined that about 6,700 of the 10,000 tons were

being disposed of in the three MSLA sites.

Appendix A-3 A35

southern part of the State. It has also been estimated that

a state-wide prohibition on solid waste originating else-

where would lengthen the state-wide landfill life by

approximately 8%, with the increase in some specific land-

fills being as high as 50 to 100%.

Compounding the shortage problem are other ex-

tremely important environmental considerations. Many

existing land- [462] fills within the State are located within

ecologically sensitive areas, such as floodplains, wetlands,

or on State-owned public trust tidelands. The operation

of landfills now located in these areas may have to be

limited or discontinued. An example of this is the action

taken by HMDC in preserving some 1,500 acres of virgin

wetlands which had formerly been tentatively designated

for use as landfill sites. Further actions of a similar nature

tential lifespans of such existing facilities.

To obtain a more comprehensive picture of the prob-

lem now facing this State, we have taken judicial notice of

another report, released in 1972, which has further docu-

mented the crisis in this area.’ According to tLis report,

projected rate of dumping, all land that is presently com-

mitted to landfill operations will be exhausted by 1982.

Also recognized is the strong probability that other en-

vironmental considerations may further limit the use for

landfill purposes of much of the existing allocated acreage.

Moreover, the HMD is singled out as an area where “[a]

a a eer ae beds ond

taking ....” The report estimated |

SEE tie cuit ch oats aeahabhs bor lana ta the

‘ New and Municipal Government

nade Comabitien aste: A Approach (1972).

A36 Appendix A-3

Meadowlands would be exhausted, an estimate very simi-

lar to those made by the HMDC and noted earlier in this

opinion.

We are also aware that very little has yet been done

in any really effective way—on either a national or an

interstate level to achieve a satisfactory solution to this

pressing problem. The scope of federal legislation is thus

far quite limited. The Solid Waste Disposal Act, 42

U. S. C. A. §3251 et seq., originally provided only for

“financial and technical [463] assistance and leader-

ship . . .” to develop new methods to reduce the volume

of waste and to provide for economical methods of dis-

posal, 42 U. S.C. A. § 3251(a)(6). The Resource Recov-

ery Act of 1970 amended the Solid Waste Disposal Act to

provide financial assistance for the construction of solid

waste disposal facilities and to furnish technical and finan-

cial assistance to promote and develop new methods of

resource recovery. See, e.g.,42 U.S.C. A. §§ 3251(b)(1),

3254b. Although the Act as it now reads also provides for

the encouragement of interstate cooperation to resolve the

waste disposal problem, 42 U. S. C. A. §§ 3254, 3254a,

nothing has been brought to our attention to indicate that

New Jersey has entered into any agreement with her neigh-

boring states of New York and Pennsylvania looking to -

this end.°

8. In 1970, the Tri-State T Commission [Con-

necticut, New York, and New Jersey] published entitled

Appendix A-3 A37

At the State level there has been more significant ac-

tivity. In 1970 the Bureau of Solid Waste Management

of DEP published the New Jersey State Solid Waste Man-

agement Plan, which, among other proposals, recom-

mended the creation of “Solid Waste Management Dis-

tricts.”* The Solid Waste Management Plan has been

approved by the Federal En tal Protection Agency

as the official State plan for New Jersey.

Before the release of the New Jersey Plan in 1970, the

Legislature had enacted the “Incinerator Authorities Law,”

[464] N. J. S. A. 40:66A-1 et seq., delegating to municipal-

ities the authority to provide solid waste collection and dis-

posal facilities on a local basis. Prior thereto, in 1968, the

“Solid Waste Management Authorities Law” had been

enacted, N. J. S. A. 40:66A-32 et seq., permitting the gov-

erning bodies of one or more municipalities to create solid

waste management authorities to construct and operate

incinerators and other solid waste treatment facilities.

1970, the year DEP released its New Jersey Plan, saw three

further related enactments by the Legislature. The “Solid

Waste Utility Control Act,” N. J. S. A. 48:13A-1 et seq.,

recognizing the need for state-wide control over the solid

waste industry, provided that the Board of Public Utility

Commissioners assume the duties of “regulating [the]

economic aspects of solid waste collection, disposal and

utilization service ....” N. J. S. A. 48:13A-2. The “County

Solid Waste Disposal Financing Law,” N. J. S. A. 40:66A-

31.1, et seq., took note of the fact that the cost of construct-

ing disposal facilities would be prohibitive for many

municipalities, and delegated to counties the authority to

The Plan recommended either a “maximum landfill

or a “maximum incineration strategy,” depending on the

Cay od uanatt weed ences.

A38 Appendix A-8

purchase or construct such facilities within the county

“either alone or jointly with any municipality.” N. J. S. A.

40:66A-31.4(1). Finally, the “Solid Waste Management

Act,” N. J. S. A. 13:1E-1 et seq., provided DEP with the

authority to “supervise solid waste collection and disposal

facilities or operations,” and to plan all future facilities hav-

ing in mind that they should conform to “reasonably con-

templated development of comprehensive community or

regional solid waste collection and disposal facilities and

operations and to any State-wide, regional, county and

intercounty plans for solid waste management,” N. J. S. A.

13:1E-4. These statutes are in addition to the Hackensack

Meadowlands Reclamation and Development Act and the

Waste Control Act that are earlier discussed above.

Supplementing these statutory provisions, the HMDC

has recently announced blueprints to phase out all dump-

ing [465] in the Meadowlands by 1979. It is currently

planning to construct a-baling plant to compact waste into

solid, nonflammable building blocks that may then be used

as the base of a 2,000 acre meadowlands park located

upon existing landfill sites. Also projected is a resource-

recovery plant.

Assuming that plans such as these formulated by the

HMDC are implemented within the proposed time period,

it is entirely reasonable to forecast that the extension of the

lifespan of existing landfills, resulting from the exclusion

of out-of-state waste, may be of crucial importance in pre-

venting further virgin wetlands or other undeveloped lands

from being devoted to landfill purposes. Increasing the

lifespan of the HMDC landfills would also alleviate future

pressure on other landfills located throughout the State,

to accept waste now handled by HMDC, thereby prevent-

ing any acceleration of their depletion and preserving

Appendix A-3 A39

lands in other areas of the State from becoming disposal

areas.*°

Ill

It is in the light of these facts and with a full realiza-

tion of the magnitude of the problem, that we address

ourselves to the issue as to whether or not the statutes aad

regulations under attack must fall because they are found

to constitute an impermissible burden upon interstate

commerce. In both cases now before us the State pre-

liminarily contends that the question of the significance

of the burden should not be reached, as the movement of

garbage [466] and refuse, things not of commercial value

and harmful to the health and welfare of the citizens of the

A40 Appendix A-3

Bowman v. Chicago & Northwestern Ry. Co., 125 US.

465, 8 S, Ct. 689, 31 L. Ed. 700 (1888):

* * * Doubtless the States have power to provide by

law suitable measures to prevent the introduction into

the States of articles of trade, which, on account of

their existing condition, would bring in and spread

disease, pestilence, and deati, such as rags or other

substances infected with the germs of yellow fever

or the virus of smallpox, or cattle or meat or other

provisions that are diseased or decayed, or otherwise,

from their condition and quality, unfit for human use

or consumption. Such articles are not merchantable;

they are not legitimate subjects of trade and com-

merce. They may be rightly outlawed as intrinsically

and directly the immediate sources and causes of de-

struction to human health and life. The self-protect-

ing power of each State, therefore, may be rightly

exerted against their introduction, and such exercises

of power cannot be considered regulations of com-

merce prohibited by the Constitution. [125 U. S. at

489, 8 S. Ct. at 700, 31 L. Ed. at 708]

Accord, Baldwin v. Seelig, 294 U. S. 511, 525, 55 S. Ct.

497, 79 L. Ed. 1032, 1039 (1935); Sligh v. Kirkwood, 237

U. S. 52, 59-60, 35 S. Ct. 501, 59 L. Ed. 835, 838 (1915).

See Crossman v. Lurman, 192 U. S. 189, 196-97, 24 S. Ct.

234, 48 L. Ed. 401, 404 (1904); Plumley v. Massachusetts,

155 U. S. 461, 468, 472, 15 S. Ct. 154, 39 L. Ed. 223, 295,

[467] 227 (1894). Also pertinent to the proposition that

garbage or refuse is not an article of interstate commerce

is the decision in Clason v. Indiana, 306 U. S. 439, 59 S.

Ct. 609, 83 L. Ed. 858 (1939). That case involved the

validity of an Indiana statute which required that within

24 hours after the death of certain large animals, the own-

--

Appendix A-3 A4l

d burn or the carcasses or deliver them to a

pba a a Seem to do business within the state.

Transportation for disposal to points outside the state was

prohibited. 306 U. S. at 441, 59 S. Ct. 609, 83 L. Ed. at

860. The Supreme Court, after recognizing that the pur-

pose of the statute was not discriminatory, but rather to

promote the health of the people, concluded that no im-

permissible burden on interstate commerce had been

shown to exist or as likely to occur. Id. at 444, 59 S. Ct.

609, 83 L. Ed. at 862.

The teaching of these cases seems to be that com-

modities or substances injurious to the public health are

not “articles of commerce” within the meaning of the con-

stitutional phrase. Their lack of market value coupled with

their immediate threat to human health dictates that such

substances not be afforded the protection of the Commerce

Nevertheless, refuse or solid waste may have intrinsic

value of its own. As the trial judge noted in Hackensack

Meadowlands, “. . . refuse may be utilized for construc-

tion, landfill, recycling of paper, bottles and metal, and

production of electricity.” 127 N. J. Super. at 170, 316

A. 2d at 716. Based on this factor, that court concluded

that “the regulations in question here which are directed

to the restricted use of sites for New Jersey garbage cannot

be sanctioned on the concept that garbage is not a legiti-

mate subject of interstate commerce.” Id. We readily

recognize that modern technology is such that certain types

of solid waste may have legitimate market value for re-

cycling or other purposes. We therefore agree with the

decision below, insofar as the HMDC regulations are con-

cerned, that they cannot be sustained on the theory that no

item of interstate commerce [468] is involved, as these

A42 Appendix A-3

regulations do clearly attempt to exclude from the HMD

even those types of wastes which may have some poten-

tiality of useful renewal.

The amendments to the Waste Control Act, N. J. S. A.

13: 11-9 and 13:11-10," totally banning the disposal of solid

waste originating out-of-state, also fail to make any pro-

vision for excepting those types of solid waste which may

be renewed. Nevertheless, as we have pointed out, the

DEP regulations, issued in response to this legislation, do

except from the ban on out-of-state refuse those types of

solid waste which may have a value for recycling or for use

as fuel.” In view of the confining effect of this latter

regulation, it is clear that an argument challenging the

validity of the Waste Control Act on Commerce Clause

grounds, unlike the argument challenging the HMDC

regulations, cannot be premised on the existence here of

“merchantable” items or legitimate “articles of trade,” as

those wastes which can be put to effective use are ex-

plicitly excepted from the ban. Any assertion that the

Commerce Clause applies here must therefore rest on

the proposition that the mere transportation and disposal

of valueless waste between states constitutes interstate

commerce within the meaning of the constitutional pro-

vision. :

A short time ago, in United States v. Pennsylvania

Refuse Removal Ass‘n., 242 F. Supp. 794 (E. D. Pa. 1965),

aff d, 357 F. 2d 806 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 384 U. S. 961,

86 S. Ct. 1588, 16 L. Ed. 2d 674 (1966), the transportation

and disposal of refuse was itself specifically found to con-

stitute interstate commerce. That case was a Sherman

* 11. Quoted above in footnote 1.

12. DEP was enjoined by the decision below from enforcing

these regulations as well as the relevant sections of the Waste Con-

trol Act. These regulations are quoted in footnote 2 above.

Appendix A-3. A43

antitrust action brought against an association of refuse

removers in the greater Philadelphia area who collected

in Pennsylvania but often dumped in New Jersey. 242

F. [469] Supp. at 796. The District Court found that the

government had clearly met its burden of showing that

defendants’ business was commerce, and was interstate in

nature. Id. at 796-97. The court emphasized that the real

subject of “trade or commerce” was not the worthless

garbage that was being transported but rather the valu-

able service of its removal and disposal. Id. at 799.

The Pennsylvania Refuse case affords an illustration of

the part played by the Commerce Clause as justification for

bringing a particular business scheme within the reach of

a Congressional regulatory enactment. The Sherman Act

purports only to prohibit as illegal certain combinations in

restraint of trade or commerce, namely, those where the

pride Legace yh retiwithorhge an This is the

affirmative aspect of the Commerce Clause—to support

some exertion of federal control or regulation. Similarly,

persons ged in a disposal business, interstate in nature,

Se hase Aeaic ts dene wii tis aoen of Gn Caled

Fair Labor Standards Act. Schultz v. Instant Handling,

Inc., 418 F. 2d 1019 (5th Cir. 1969); Barnett v. A-1

Scavenger Service Co., 466 S. W. 2d 150 (Mo. Ct. App.

1971). But we deal here, in the case before us, with what

. are customarily called the “negative implications” of the

Commerce Clause, the extent to which it may be invoked—

not to support an exercise of federal regulation—but rather

to strike down or restrict state legislation. The Supreme

Court has understandably adopted a very sweeping con-

cept of the Commerce Clause in its affirmative application,

in order to further the extent of Congressional control. A

much more confined notion of the reach of this provision

has, however, been manifested, as we shall see, when it

has been invoked to prohibit or limit state action.

A44 Appendix A-3—

IV

Assuming for present purposes that the service of

transporting and disposing of solid waste in the factual

con- [470] text here presented is in fact interstate com-

merce in the constitutional sense, we next consider the

contention that the relevant sections of the Waste Control

Act amount to an improper effort to regulate such com-

merce since such control lies within the exclusive cogni-

zance of the federal government. In considering this pre-

emption argument in relation to the cases before us, we

note initially that in the Hackensack Meadowlands case

the trial court determined that in this area of solid waste

disposal no such preemption is to be found. 127 N. J.

Super. at 171, 316 A. 2d 711.

The need to determine whether, in a particular seg-

ment of interstate commerce, a state is precluded from

acting because of federal preemption is the direct result of

the landmark decision of the United States Supreme Court

in Cooley v. Board of Wardens, 53 U. S. (12 How.) 299,

13 L. Ed. 996 (1851). There the Court for the first time

clearly recognized that states have concurrent authority

with the federal government to deal with those subjects of

interstate commerce which do not necessarily require a

national or uniform system of regulation. In a more re-

cent statement appearing in Florida Lime & Avocado

Growers, Inc. v. Paul, 373 U. S. 132, 83 S. Ct. 1210, 10

L. Ed. 2d 248 (1963), Justice Brennan laid down the rule

that a state would be precluded from acting only where

either the “nature of the subject matter” or an “explicit

declaration of congressional design” indicated that state

efforts were to be precluded. See 373 U. S. at 143-152,

83 S. Ct. 1210, 10 L. Ed. 2d at 257-62.

The problem which arises in most instances where

Congress has acted—as is here the case—results from there

Appendix A-3 A45

having been a failure on the part of Congress to make clear

whether there was or was not a desire and intent on its

part to exercise exclusive control in a particular area. The

Supreme Court has recognized that “in the final analysis,

there can be no one crystal clear distinctly marked

formula,” Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U. S. 52, 67, 61 S. Ct.

399, 404, 85 L. Ed. 581, 587 (1941), resort to which will in

all cases unequivocally reveal Congressional intent. Ben-

son, The Supreme [471] Court and the Commerce Clause,

1937-1970 at 277-78 (1970).

Fortunately, although Congress has acted in this field

through the passage of the Solid Waste Disposal Act of

1965 and its subsequent amendments, it has clearly indi-

cated its intention not to preempt the area. As we have

noted earlier, federal legislation has thus far been largely

limited to providing “financial and technical assistance and

leadership” to develop new methods of disposal and re-

source recovery and to reduce waste. In the Congressional

findings is a pronouncement that “the collection and dis-

posal of solid wastes should continue to be primarily the

function of State, regional, and local agencies. . . .” 42

U. S. C. A. §3251(a)(6). We also note that severe

budgetary cuts in recent years have reduced federal action

even below that originally envisioned in the Solid Waste

Disposal Act. For example, the Nixon Administration cut

the federal solid waste budget from $30 million in 1973 to a

projected $5.8 million for the fiscal year 1974, and sought

to restrict the federal role to the control and disposal of

hazardous wastes. No further funds were provided for

such items as research and development, and technical

assistance was substantially curtailed. See Environmental

en “aa Federal Environmental Law 1307-1310

1974).

A46 Appendix A-3

It is entirely clear that the case for federal preemption

must fail. Congress has encouraged state action; it has not

precluded it.

Vv

In considering whether the statutes and regulations

here under scrutiny do or do not constitute an imper-

missible regulation of interstate commerce, we bear in

mind that the Constitution “was framed upon the theory

that the peoples of the several states must sink or swim

together, and that in the long run prosperity and salvation

are in union and not in division.” Baldwin v. Seelig, supra,

294 U. S. 511, 523, 55 S. Ct. 497, 500, 79 L. Ed. 1032, 1038

(1935). Primarily the purpose sought to be served by

including the Commerce Clause in the Constitution was to

check or eliminate the economic discrimination among the

states that had been so rampant under the Articles of

Confederation. E.g., Baldwin v. Seelig, supra, 294 U. S.

at 521-23, 55 [472] S. Ct. 497, 79 L. Ed. at 1037-38; H. P.

Hood & Sons, Inc. v. DuMond, 336 U. S. 525, 533-35, 69

S. Ct. 657, 93 L. Ed. 865, 871-72 (1949); Ribble, State and

National Power Over Commerce 3-4 (1937).

Despite this broad grant of power given Congress by

the Commerce Clause, innumerable problems have con-

tinuously arisen. This is in large part because the states,

in the exercise of their police power to protect the health,

welfare and safety of their citizens, have passed many laws

which often in effect do directly regulate interstate com-

merce. Thus over the years the United States Supreme

Court has been called upon to arbitrate between these

competing demands o

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.