Brief for Appellee — United States Trust Co. of NY v. New Jersey

Supreme Court brief1977

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U: 8.

FILED

SEP 10 1976

MICHAEL RODAK, JR..CLERK |

IN THE 7 - ed

Supreme Court of the Unitet States

Octosper Term, 1975

No. 75-1687

Unitep States Trust Company or New York, as Trustee

for The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey

Consolidated Bonds, Fortieth and Forty-First Series, on

its own behalf and on behalf of all holders of Consolidated

Bonds of The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey

and all others similarly situated,

Appellant,

v.

Tue State or New Jersey, Brenpan T. Byrne, Governor

of the State of New Jersey, and Wiiu1mMm F. Hywanp,

Attorney General of the State of New Jersey,

Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY

BRIEF FOR APPELLEES

WuuumM F. Hyrtanp

Attorney General of the State of

New Jersey.

Attorney for Appellees.

By Special Counsel:

MicwHackEt I, Sovern

Murray J. LavLicut

Harotp 8S. H. Enear

435 West 116th Street,

New York, New York 10027.

Dated: September 11, 1976

Ore ene -~

INDEX

Counter-Statement of the Case .....

Introductory Statement

A. The Early Years: A Port Authority That Was

Not Self-Sustaining, the Arrangements That

Enabled It to Carry Deficits and the Failure of

Legislative Efforts to Have the Authority

Assume Responsibility for Passenger Railroads

Bb. The Port Authority Seeks Immunity From the

“Disease” of Commuter Railroads

1. The Metropolitan Rapid Transit Commis-

sion Study

2. The new bond provision—Section 7 certifica-

STINE deiisinteaticieniiithanatihiibinaciptniniamiiedmainiieimmesidisiinies

3. The New York commuter car episode ..........

4. Opposing New Jersey legislation in 1958 ....

C. Legislative History of the 1962 Covenant ..........

D. The 1962 Covenant

E. The Unimportance of the 1962 Covenant to

Bondholder Security .. om

1. Bondholders are fully protecte

a. The objective protections .......................-..

b. Appellant’s analysis of the objective pro-

ARE MELAS SE Ac ee a ae OO OO

ce. The subjective fears

2. The Authority’s consistently high credit

rating demonstrates the unimportance of

the covenant and repeal

3. The unimportance of the covenant and

repeal in the secondary market

PAGE

il

F. Legislative History of the Repeal of the 1962

Covenant ....

1. The energy crisis ...... cocnnsiociiauamnsaaaal

2. Health and environmental factors ................

3. The Port District’s public transportation

requirements

Summary of Argument

PEGE cccircciniititenn

I. The 1962 Covenant Is Subject to the Reasonable

Exercise of the States’ Never Abdicated Police

POWCE cecccnccessenssnmsemmemne

A. The History of Contract Clause Jurispru-

dence Shows That All Contracts, Especially

State’ Contracts, Are Subject to the State’s

Police Power

B. Bondholders Could Not Reasonably Have

Assumed That the 1962 Covenant Was

Immune From Action Pursuant to the Police

Power .....

C. Though Municipal Bonds Are Subject to the

Police Power, They are Readily Marketable

D. ithe 1974 Repeal Legislation Constituted an

Exercise of the States’ Police Power ..............

E. Repeal Constituted a Reasonable Exercise

of the States’ Police Power

1. The Blaisdell case ......

2. The Het POSS CRBD cece

3. Appellant’s claim that the price pur-

chasers were willing to pay for bonds was

affected by the covenant is unsupported

by the record and immaterial as a matter

of law

PAGE

45

46

50

53

62

77

81

4. Repeal deprived bondholders of an inter-

est of little or no value to further ends of

large importance 92

a. The bondholders’ interest - 92

b. The public ends 95

e. The insufficiency of other means ........ 96

II. Repeal of the 1962 Covenant Did Not Constitute

a l'aking of Property in Violation of the Fifth

and Fourteenth Amendments to the United

States Constitution . 101

11I. The 1962 Covenant Was Voidable Under the

Interstate Compact Clause ....... . 102

A. Federal Law Governs the Interpretation of

a Congressionally Approved Interstate Com-

I itil ceiansciceenesenaitanpsailtensnnsidincencesnassenseses 104

B. The 1962 Covenant Is Not Authorized by

The Port Authority Compact or Comprehen-

sive Plan Legislation ..........................-...-.sse0-«-+- 106

IV. The Covenant Became Inconsistent With Super-

AT 112

ce ccrnenradncacintiapengnationssenneagnennatace 119

Cases Cited:

Albigese v. City of Jersey City, 127 N.J. Super. 101

(Law Div.), aff’d, 129 N.J. Super. 567 (App. Div.

EE a eT 88, 93

American Toll Bridge Co. v. Railroad Comm’n, 307

a ian insaeeeneaeinmeeeeneremmtinnensemanceameasee 103

Barron v. Baltimore, 32 U.S. (7 Pet.) 243 (1833) ....... 66

Beaumont v. Faubus, 239 Ark. 801, 394 S.W.2d 478

ETE EEE eee TEE 93

Blanchette v. Connecticut Gen. Ins. Co., 419 U.S. 102

(1974) ... _ ieieiiieseniaeiiibites 55

iv

Bronson v. Kinzie, 42 U.S. (1 How.) 311 (1848) —...... 83

Bucsi v. Longworth Bldg. & Loan Ass’n, 119 N.J.L.

120 (KE. & A. 1937), appeal dismissed, 305 U.S. 665

SUUUUETEED sccalecsinstiilinnudshabinndaiacaiasstiiedeinieiianadaaiiecamamasientiielduaalanbaamaaaite 82

Burbank y. Lockheed Air Terminal, 411 U.S. 624

ETUDE | ‘ccinsuscntsinnnatesnisaninidindinaiiaiaiailmeadeimateeiaieimabimiaieaaiiaaddls 115

Buichers Union Co. vy. Crescent City Co., 111 U.S. 746

UDEIETEED xin cesiesntchbiadeeleiehh lenient al leak iaeail 69, 73, 82, 92

Calder v. Bull, 3 U.S. (3 Dall.) 386 (1798) ~.....0............ 66

California Teachers Ass’n v. Newport Mesa Unified

School District, 333 F. Supp. 486 (C. D. Cal. 1971) ..88, 93

Campbell v. Hussey, 368 U.S. 297 (1961) -...............-.-- 115

Chicago, B. & Q. R.R.v. Chicago, 166 U.S. 226 (1897). 101

Cloverleaf Butter Co. v. Patterson, 315 U.S. 148

EUDITIUE _ ‘comsssieassiiesiamatiesaeniinnetionapennnasetitinbiiatiddibclaesdatabhieladiiiede: 115

Courtesy Sandwich Shop, Inc. v. Port of New York

Authority, 12 N.Y.2d 379, 240 N.Y.S.2d 1, appeal

dismissed, 375 U.S. 78 (1973) -..............c.-ccec-es-ecenceeees 111, 112

DeCanas y. Bica, 424 U.S. , 86 S.Ct. 933 (1976) -..... 116

Delaware River Port Auth. vy. Tiemann, 531 F.2d 699

Ge Spel SEP. eainvenetinnicenenetceidiiisnnanadsiltdeaticasialahinnsiaiiaesis 53

DeV eau v. Braisted, 363 U.S. 144 (1960) 0. 118

East New York Savings Bank v. Hahn, 326 U.S. 230

ERIEETED - coceneseubevsnsninieniundteisiuciiaaditineiisiietanalinbasdelaaniiaaialatalaatnats 84

El Paso vy. Simmons, 379 U.S. 497 (1965) ....73, 79, 82, 84, 85-

88, 89, 91, 92, 93, 95, 102

Faitoute Iron & Steel Co. v. City of Asbury Park, 316

Rai TE IED eunsedenidesitulsicicecinneeisinicicahuacditions 72, 75, 74, 85, 92, 93

First Nat'l Bank v. Maine Turnpike Auth., 156 Me.

hs, See Gs ee ET ITED ceicivdiientinatenntenchancietnessenbnadeses 94

Fletcher v. Peck, 10 U.S. (6 Cranch) 87 (1810) -.......... 65

Florida Lime & Avocado Growers, Inc. v. Paul, 373

SEPIA. MIU CIPI sosscsssecenpetdeneitdineshasiesitbicnnmmnniaiibidbeaasiastiiigiied 115, 116

Flushing Nat’l Bank vy. Municipal Assistance Corp.,

A.D.2d =, 882 N. Y.S.2d 764 (1st Dep’t 1976) ........ 73

v

PAGE

Free v. Bland, 369 U.S. 663 (1962) ...................-s-cces-eeeees 114

Friends of the Earth v. Carey, 535 F.2d 165 (2d Cir.

TD antcveniann 51

Gelfert v. National City Bank, 313 U.S. 221 (1941) ......82, 83

Goldblatt v. Town of Hempstead, 369 U.S. 590

(1962) .......... easianauienntiniitaieinesneneteta 101

Ham v. Maine New Hampshire Interstate Bridge Auth.,

8 104

Henderson vy. Delaware River Joint Bridge Comm’n,

362 Pa. 475, 66 A.2d 843, cert. denied, 338 U.S. 850

SUITE icisinicexiiacnnesitenniiadancibaiasintniietenneeintiniteiaieaundumniiiiinieiate 104

Hicks v. Miranda, 422 U.S. 332 (1975) ............----.---0---+- 111

Hill v. Florida, 325 U.S. 538 (1945) -.0222..2.----eeeeeeeees 117, 118

Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52 (1941) -................ 115, 116

Home Bldg. & Loan Ass’n v. Blaisdell, 290 U.S. 398

i aie ..65, 70, 71, 79, 81, 83,

84, 86, 93, 95, 102

— v. North Bergen Township, 113 N.J.L. 143

CER, GD Bis TER cerctceenscitincceensernscenesnteisiectnninaninhiinapniitiiniihanes 74, 75

Huddleston v. Nebraska Jewish Educ. — 186

N.W. 2d 904 (Neb. 1971) ..... 93

Illinois Central R.R. v. Illinois, 146 U.S. 387 (1892)... 103

Indiana ex rel. Anderson vy. Brand, 303 U.S. 95 (1938) 74

Jacksonville Port Auth. v. State, 661 So.2d 825 (Fla.

1964) 93

Katzenbach v. Morgan, 384 U.S. 641 (1966) ....000002.... 119

Kesler v. Department of Public Safety, 369 U.S. 153

(1962) 116, 117

Kheel v. Port of N.Y. Auth., 331 F. Supp. 118 (S.D.

N.Y. 1971), aff’d on other grounds, 457 F.2d 46 (2d

Cir.), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 983 (1972) 77

League to Save Lake Tahoe v. Tahoe Regional Plan-

ning Agency, 507 F.2d 517 (9th Cir. 1974) cert.

denied, 420 U.S. 974 (1975) 104

PAGE

Levine v. Long Island R.R., 38 A.D.2d 936, 331, N.Y.S.

2d 451 (2d Dep’t), aff’d, 30 N.Y.2d 906, 335 N.Y.S.

2d 565, cert. denied, 409 U.S. 1040 (1972) -.222.. 73

Long Sault Development Co. v. Call, 242 U.S. 272

EIT — capintonesteiedanmennntinesnesnampiniensiemasiaapennsiiine 103

Louisiana v. Pilsbury, 105 U.S. 278 (1881) .................... 72

Lynch v. United States, 292 U.S. 571 (1934) -............. 8+

Massachusetts Port Authority v. Txeasurer & Receiver

General, 352 Mass. 755, 227 N.E.2d 902 (1967) .......... 78

Michigan Transp. Co. v. Secretary of State, 41 Mich.

App. 654, 201 N.W.2d 83 (1972), leave to appeal

denied, 389 Mich. 767 (1973) -...........-.-.....-c.-csecseceereoreee 8S

Miller v. Schoene, 276 U.S. 277 (1928) 20.22... eeeneeenee 101

Mugler v. Kansas, 123 U.S. 623 (1887) .......................... 101

Municipal Investors Ass'n vy. City of Birmingham, 316

SEA SD CHIIIED .ceectniiesrnensnticisinneniinenrenimaciesitienmainsspamannnanie 103

New Bedford vy. New Bedford, Woods Hole, Martha's

Vinyard & Nantucket SS. Auth., 336 Mass. 651, 148

N.E.2d 687, appeal dismissed for want of substan-

tial federal question, 358 U.S. 53 (1958) -............ —

New Hampshire v. Maine, US. (1976) ........ 104

New Jersey Highway Auth. vy. Sills, 111 N.J. Super.

313 (Ch. Div. 1970), aff'd, 59 N.J. 432 (1971) ....79, 84, 85

New Jersey Sports & Exposition Auth. v. McCrane, 61

N.J. 1, appeal dismissed, 409 U.S. 943 (1972) -........ 73, 80

Newton v. Board of County Commissioners, 100 U.S.

Pe CD cccsnbicninisecnsnnstenencidpuncamienamemniananmintininminaiiniins 68

N.Y. Dep't of Social Services v. Dublino, 413 U.S. 405

STN cictinntesinesniontanlinniaianii ‘ 114

Opinion of the Justices, 334 Mass. 721, 136 N.E.2d 223

PITTED cncsevisiossvismbisdnahiedaitininiadithepeansiidieannasteintiigiaetnates 73, 75, 78

Opinion of the Justices, 313 N.E.2d 882 (Mass.

a dienpiopmiemiinentt Resnininne 78, 79, 93

Patterson vy. Carey, App. Div. 2d , 383 N.Y.S.2d

FF, Sk ___, RENEE TOUTE NO aa 79

~~

vii

PAGE

Pennsylvania v. Nelson, 350 U.S. 497 (1956) .......... 114, 115

Pennsylvania v. Wheeling & Belmont Bridge Co., 54

U.S. (13 How.) 518 (1851) ~... iaasiaunniaiieeies 104

Pennsylvania Hospital v. Philadelphia, 245 U.S. 20

(1917) ....... 68, 73

Perez v. Campbell, 402 U. | fo) =e 116, 117

Perry v. United States, 294 U.S. 330 (1934) 73, 74

Petty v. Tennessee-Missouri Bridge Comm’n, 359 U.S.

275 (1959) 104, 105, 106, 109

Proprietors of the Charles River Bridge v. Pro-

prietors of the Warren ae 36 U.S. (11 Pet.)

| nT EE 66, 74

Reitz v. Mealey, 314 U.S. 33 (1941) .. 117

Rhode Island vy. Massachusetts, 37 U. Ss. (12 Pet.) 464

ne 105

lice v. Sante Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218 (1947) 115

Rogers Park Water Co. v. Fergus, 180 U.S. 624 (1991) 74

Ruano vy. Spellman, 81 Wash.2d 820, 505 P.2d 447

(1973) ..... 94

Stone v. Mississippi, 101 U.S. 84 (1880) 68, 69

Train vy. Natural Resources Defense Council, 421 US.

60 (1975) ..... 114

Treigle vy. Acme Homestead Ass’n, 297 U.S. 189 (1936) 84

Trustees of Dartmouth College v. Woodward, 17 U.S.

(4 Wheat.) 518 (1819) 65, 66

United States v. American went Express Co., 265

U.S. 425 (1924) eccccccsseeesees 1038

United States v. Little Lake Misere Land Co., 412 U.S.

BD CIID ceciccinteicersncishisemnnttnticndiniintenencemnintioninnannintetnemnne 63

Veia vy. Sixth Ward Bldg. & Loan Ass'n of Newark,

310 U.S. 32 (1940) ..... - 83, 84, 93, 102

Village of Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co., 272 U.S. 365

RI ddiiiceanniepieiliteitemtialiais Maar Saeed ae raat 101

Virginia v. Tennessee, 148 U. S. 503 (1893) iinpenanseaiiniiahin 104

PAGE

Von Hoffman v. City of Quincy, 71 U.S. (4 Wall.) 535

COUP ccvesccnicinsinisnssinscistnenviiiteniiiaiesnensiniestnbniitisshlimanaissetutcuasinasitapas 72

W. B. Worthen Co. v. Kavanaugh, 295 U.S. 56 (1935) = 85

Wedding v. Meyler, 192 U.S. 573 (1904) -.0.002202... 104

West River Bridge Co. v. Dix, 47 U.S. (6 How.) 507

ae satannsinnaininniinitianitbiasdiaeingaerindeiedddall 67. 68

Wolff v. City of New Orleans, 103 U.S. 358 (1880) ..... 72

Constitution Cited:

US. Comat. 086. 5 9D ncccccccsccsonsncnsessnsesessveessnenseconsuonsonse 105

8 ES Ree 102, 103

Federal Statutes Cited:

Bridge Act of 1906, 34 Stat. 84 22.0... ‘3

Federal Aid Highway Act of 1973 -......0022.222-2202...-. 113

ey I Or I eiiitiecidnitassicntnhitiihictinhineeanideantannasinidl 112, 116

National Mass Transportation Assistance Act of

SOUT. svseiaseinisidden ddaiapiteaiamed aaailipiciealaddiabenbeiiapeabiantiidiaiiiabeiamsaenii 48, 113

Ordinance for the Northwest Territory, 44 Stat. 1851

PORE STII sscciersicciiinsidnieiehiaieinithiabiieiesacacilasi statin ates 65

Port Authority Compact, Pub. Res. 17, 67th Cong.,

Ist Sess., 42 Stat. 174 (1921) 2,3, 95, 103, 104, 105, 106,

107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112

Port Authority of New York Comprehensive Plan .... 3, 109

Regional Rail Organization Act of 1973 (Jan. 2,

1974) 48,113

Urban Mass Transportation Assistance Act of 1970 113, 116

15 U.S.C. §§ 751 et seq. (Emergency Petroleum Allo-

ITE Te eT seentenetedinninbahaieiintititaiintniens 46, 116

15 U.S.C. §§ 791 et seq. (Energy Supply and Envi-

ronmental Coordination Act of 1974) 00000... 48

PAGE

42 U.S.C. §§ 1857 et seq. (Clean Air Act Amendments

>, 50, 95, 116

49 U.S.C. §§ 1601 et seq. (1964) (Urban Mass Trans-

portation Act) iis 112, 113, 116, 117, 118

State Statutes Cited:

Ch. 25, Laws of New Jersey (1974) -.......2....2...-.220-0--0--- 1,2

Ch. 151, Laws of New Jersey (1921) ................---......--. 2

Ch. 208, Laws of New Jersey (1972) .............-.------------ 59

Ch. 245, Laws of New Jersey (1971) .............--.-----------. 57

Ch. 277, Laws of New Jersey (1927) -......202.2..2..22..----.-- 5

Ch. 154, Laws of New York (1921) , ~ 8

Ch. 318, Laws of New York (1973) -.....2..2.2222222.2..-----00+- 59

Ch. 993, Laws of New York (1974) ~...00..0220.20.0.2.2---0--- 2

New Jersey Emergency Energy Fair Practices Act of

2 caida taiaisabtadiadlidcia Ail iiea ical Sol eh coats 47

iB TeM, TRE GB BOG. cccrcccensnseccesenscssesscesansneensersncenscsnssounees 2

eas TINIE scnectuharcvenicecisiisenioteuienitnenienncnbindesasnaindsea inanainsans 3

I a eaiiennienaniaiiel 57

eee 57

is TaN ‘snicisisciespninniseisiesbissibindeupiaiepunnaiiatanbinneeans 17

N.J.S.A. 32:1-35.51 et seq. me siniicaiaibailpmaaasi 59

Ns: SEED -escechcsccesssncimculiiiinesiseteanidgsimaniaamcdaatpen 18, 29

I ea cian eoeniianalies 99

Ss: CTIIIIIIT -sccrisntncsesnnsinentesnicnnsthncninrtinesiaiiiaieminialimainaniin 6

N.Y. Unconsol. Laws §§ 6401 et seq. -.............-------+-+-+---+- 3

Regulations Cited:

49 C.F.R. § 148(i) (1) . 53

38 Fed. Reg. 9645, 9657 (1973) ...............--c-ecccceec-eeeeseeees 46

I I I I as ecnnssiniieeeaieriacadteelanitinle 46

Se is, I: UIE UTED tcsenscctteeicnetentacistninnmmntommesinoniatee 51, 52

x

PAGE

Other Authorities Cited:

E. W. Bard, The Port of New York Authority

CHIE . vicheecissineensnestsitinenstaaehiiineiiniaaimadiaiiaudnaienin 3, 5, 6, 7, 107

OR Sth Gr OD erritititcerniencnccistrniesticctrcnnceiit 107 |

Farley Committee Report of 1963 (N.J. Senate) ......8, 26, 75

II M. Farrand, Records of the Federal Constitution

ETENETD weikditsittsiopeiiositchisadiailiniesatilialapaiiasiatemddiiiniebasitbats oncatidaaaaieal 65

Hale, The Supreme Court and the Contract Clause,

2 Oe ee 102

New Jersey Assembly Bill No. 16 (1958) (not

RE I TOC STK oe Soa CONNER Te 9, 13, 14, 16

New Jersey 1959 Joint Assembly Committee Report

Oh HE Bs TU deechinclttnteiciisadarseitsiiatetone 16, 41

New Jersey Joint Legislative Committee Report of

ERE a eal 7 ERASE EO ey LOD 46

6 Seton Hall L. Rev. 48 (1974) 2.2.2... ccccccccccscseceeeeee 78

Wright, The Contract Clause and the Constitution

SED ernevutesunlsiniaindilacksiiasnaniiuabitelidiamabdaacn dead 65

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octrosper TERM, 1975

No. 75-1687

A a

Unrrep States Trust Company or New York, as Trustee

for The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey

Consolidated Bonds, Fortieth and Forty-First Series, on

its own behalf and on behalf of all holders of Consolidated

Bonds of The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey

and all others similarly situated,

Appellant,

v.

Tue State or New Jersey, Brennan T. Byrne, Governor

of the State of New Jersey, and Wriiiiam F. Hy.anp,

Attorney General of the State of New Jersey,

Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY

BRIEF FOR APPELLEES

COUNTER-STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Introductory Statement

This is an appeal from a judgment of the Supreme Court

of New Jersey, unanimously affirming a judgment of the

Superior Court oi New Jersey (Hon. George B. Gelman,

J.S.C.), upholding the constitutionality of Chapter 25 of

2

the Laws of New Jersey, 1974.! The challenged 1974 sta-

tute, together with concurrent and identical New York

legislation, Chapter 993 of the Laws of New York, 1974,

repealed 1962 bi-State legislation purporting to limit by

covenant the application of the revenues and reserves of

the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey for pas-

senger railroad purposes.

The trial court found that, “the claim that bondholder

security has been materiaily impaired or destroyed by the

repeal is simply not supported by the record.” A 127.

The trial court further held that repeal constituted a rea-

sonable exercise of the State’s police power. Judgment was

entered accordingly, dismissing appe!lant’s complaint and

declaring Chapter 25 valid and constitutional. On direct

appeal, the Supreme Court of New Jersey unanimously

affirmed, “substantially for the reasons set forth in the

opinion of Judge Gelman.” A 135.

Appellees respectfully submit that the judgments below

were correct and shoul? be affirmed.

A. The Early Years: A Port Authority That Was

Not Self-Sustaining, the Arrangements That

Enabled It to Carry Deficits and the Failure

of Legislative Efforts to Have the Authority

Assume Responsibility for Passenger Railroads

The Port Authority Compact was enacted by New Jersey

and New York and consented to by Congress in 1921. Ch.

151, Laws of N.J., 1921, N.J.S. A. 32:1-1 et seqg.; Ch. 154,

1. The statute appears at pages 5-6 of Appendix B to the Juris-

dictional Statement.

2. “A” refers tothe Appendix. “A.B.” refers to the brief for appel-

lant. “Stip.” refers to the Stipulation among counsel dated December

20, 1974, the entire text of which is contained in Volume IV of the

Joint Appendix (cited as “Ja”) submitted to the Supreme Court of

New Jersey.

3

Laws of N.Y, 1921, McKinney’s Unconsol. Laws $6401 et

seq.; Pub. Res. 17, 67th Cong., 1st Sess., 42 Stat. 174 (1921).

Declaring that “a better coordination of the terminal, trans-

portation and other facilities in, about and through the

port of New York, will result in great economies, benefit-

ing the Nation, as well as the States of New York and New

Jersey,” the Compact created the Port of New York

Authority to pursue those elusive goals.’

The Compact granted the Port Authority enumerated

powers “and such other and additional powers as shall be

conferred upon it by the legislature of either State con-

curred in by the legislature of the other, or by Act or Acts

of Congress.” Compact Art. III; see also Art. VII. Among

the powers enumerated is “full power and authority to pur-

chase, construct, lease and/or operate any terminal or

transportation facility within the [Port] district.” Com-

pact Art. VI. “Transportation facility” is in turn defined

to include “railroads ... for use for the transportation or

carriage of persons or property.” Compact Art. XXII.

In 1922, the States, again with the consent of Congress,

adopted a Comprehensive Plan mainly concerned with rail-

road freight operations and facilities. A 69. But the Com-

prehensive Plan was never implemented, in part because

of the Port Authority’s refusal in 1922 to help solve the

problems of railroad passenger traffic. See E. W. Barn,

Tur Port or New York Avutnority 65-66, 128-130 (1942)

(hereinafter cited as Barp).

New Jersey quickly recognized that the Comprehensive

Plan was not sufficiently comprehensive: it enacted a law

in 1922 finding that the Comprehensive Plan “does not

include the problem of passenger traffic in the territory

covered by [the] port development plan” even though the

3. The name of the Authority was changed to the Port Authority

of New York and New Jersey on July 1, 1972. N.J.S.A. 32:1-4.

4

“problem of passenger traffic should be considered in co-op-

eration with the port development commission.” A 569.4

The Port Authority also recognized that freight and

passenger service were not two problems but inseparable

parts of a single problem. Its 1924 Annual Report

observed :

“There is barely room during the rush hours for

the trains carrying freight because of the commuter

service, while passengers and freight must both nec-

essarily move during these hours.” A 156.

The point was repeated in the Port Authority’s 1928

Annual Report:

“The Commissioners of the Port Authority have

found in their studies that no adequate or effective

interstate transportation development can take place

without taking full account of transportation of

passengers as well as of freight throughout the Port

Distriet.” A 151, 575.

The Legislatures of both States agreed. In 1927, the

New Jersey Legislature, stating that it was acting “under

and pursuant to the provisions of the [Port Authority]

compact,” directed the Port Authority “to make such plans

for the development of said district supplementary to or

amendatory of the comprehensive plan heretofore adopted

by the Legislatures of the two States .. . as will provide

adequate interstate and suburban transportation facilities

for passengers. ...” A 57.5 This legislation, which became

4. The legislation established a study commission that worked

with the Port Authority in establishing a new agency, of which the

Authority was a member, to coordinate solutions to the problems of

commuter transportation. A 576.

5. In light of this early history, appellant obviously errs at the

very outset of its discussion of “Port Authority Involvement in

Mass Transit,” A.B. 8, when it says: “As early as 1922, the legis-

latures recognized that the Port Authority was not the appropriate

agency to develop a solution to the problems of railroad

traffic.” Id. . i ad

tetoen,

—_

atid, wees

5

Chapter 277 of the Laws of New Jersey, 1927, was signed

by Governor Moore and approved the following year by the

New York Legislature, but was vetoed by Governor Alfred

E. Smith. A 572-574. As the trial court found, Governor

Smith’s veto ended the Port Authority’s active involvement

in any solution of commuter transit problems for the next

30 years. A 80.

The Port Authority took a new tack and began its con-

struction program by building four bridges for motor

vehicles. A 71. These bridges, which still account for much

of the Port Authority’s financial strength, see A 737, were

made possible by advances from the States to pay 25 per-

cent of the costs of construction. The advances took the

form of loans subordinated to the bonds the Authority sold

to the public. A 71. A separate series of bonds was issued

for each bridge and the bondholders’ security was limited

to the revenue from that bridge. A 71. In their early years,

however, the bridges did not meet revenue expectations and

the Authority was not only not self-supporting, but faced

default on its bonds. A 70 n. 8, 72, 820.

The Legislatures’ response to the Port Authority’s pre-

dicament was two-fold. First, they transferred the control,

operation and revenues of the highly successful Holland

Tunnel to the Authority: its annual surpluses after debt

service were large enough to cover the bridge deficits.

BARD at 238; A 70 n. 8. Second, the States enacted stat-

utes creating the General Reserve Fund, in which surplus

revenues from all Authority facilities are pooled to create a

bondholders reserve fund in an amount equal to 10 percent

6. Appellant says, A.B. 8, that Governor Smith vetoed the bi-State

legislation “on the ground that the Port Authority was never intended

to become involved in rail mass transit.” The veto message, A 572-

574, contains no such statement and bases the veto on Governor

Smith’s unwillingness to divert the Authority from the solution of

the freight distribution problem. The Port Authority Commissioners

responded that the feared diversion of efforts would not take place,

A 151 n. 9, demonstrating that they too understood this to be the

basis of the veto.

6

of the par value of the Authority’s outstanding bonds. <A 72.

The General Reserve Fund, which contained $173,487,000

when the 1962 covenant was repealed, A 817, is irrevocably

pledged as security for the Port Authority’s bonds. <A 72,

791-795.’ ae

The General Solicitor cf the Port Authority, Daniel B.

Goldberg, characterized the General Reserve Fund as “the

absolute foundation of the Port Authority’s whole financial

structure.” A 821. In addition to offering an attractive

inducement and security to investors, the General Reserve

Fund, by eliminating the prior separation between facilities, —

permitted the Authority “to meet the requirements of any

financially weak facility which had not yet reached its

stride or which for any other reason could not at a particu-

lar point of time carry its own load.”

Appellant claims, A.B. 5-6, that “The superior court out-

lined the basic financing principles which have guided the

Port Authority for over fifty years” and included among

these principles the requirement that “the specific projects

undertaken by the Authority should be self-supporting, i.e.,

the revenues of each should be sufficient to cover its operat-

ing expenses and debt service requirements. .. .”

7. The creation of the General Reserve Fund made the Port

Authority’s fiscal strength possible. It also made it possible for the

Authority to insulate surplus revenues from public control.

The General Reserve Fund statutes, enacted in 1931, provided

that any surplus revenues not needed to maintain the Fund in its pre-

scribed statutory amount, 10 percent of the par value of the Autho-

rity’s outstanding bonds, “shall be used for such purposes as ma

hereafter be directed by” the States. N.J.S.A. 32:1-142. In 1935,

however, the Authority adopted a bond resolution providing that only

50 percent of its surplus revenues could be used for “any purpose

permitted by law.” Barp at 256; A 827.

The General Reserve Fund reached the prescribed level in 1946.

A 826. In 1947, the Authority announced that as a matter of policy

it would attempt to retain in all of its reserve funds an amount equal

to at least the next two years’ debt service on its bonds. A 829-831.

Finally, in 1952 the Authority adopted its Consolidated Bond

Resolution and Series Resolutions. These resolutions prohibited the

Authority from using any of its reserve funds unless such use was

“to or for the benefit of” bondholders.

— -

7

Appellant is wrong. In 1924, the Port Authority’s

Annual Report said that “it should not be expected to be

self-supporting.” A 159. By 1931, it faced default on its

bonds because its individual facilities were not self-

supporting. After the 1931 pooling legislation, there

was no requirement that individual facilities be self-

supporting so long as the Authority as a whole was in the

black. Though the szif-supporting facility concept may

have “initially emerged,” as the trial court actually said,

A.B. 6, A 71, the concept had no practical significance

because it was not attained prior to 1931 and was unneces-

sary after 1931. As Dr. Bard wrote in 1942:

“The 1931 legislation changed the formula from

simply self-sustaining to self-sustaining as a group.

The device of grouping facilities and pooling reven-

ues shifted the basis of credit from a judgment as

to the capacity of a new project to be self-sustaining

to a judgment as to the future of existing revenues

affected as they might be by the new project.” Barp

at 325.

See also id. at 265 (the General Reserve Fund “had the

effect of eliminating the individual facility as a basis for

credit, and shifted that basis to the group as a whole”).

Appellant’s claim that the Port Authority has always

been guided by the principle that each facility must be self-

supporting is also refuted by the Consolidated Bond

Resolution. The trial court found that with the adoption

of that resolution in 1952, the self-supporting facility con-

cept “ceased to have the significance previously attached

to it.” A 74. He further found: “While some facilities may

not yield sufficient revenues to pay operating expenses

and/or debt service requirements, what is of paramount

concern to bondholders under the CBR is whether the total

revenues of the Authority are sufficient to satisfy all of its

obligations to bondholders.” Jd. Indeed, the independent

8

auditors retained by the Farley Committee in 1960 speci-

fically reported that “few of [the Authority’s] facilities

would have financially feasible without the ability to pool

revenues of all facilities.” A650.

B. The Port Authority Seeks Immunity From the

“Disease’”’ of Commuter Railroads*®

1. The Metropolitan Rapid Transit Com-

mission study

The years following the creation of the General Reserve

Fund were filled with studies and reports decrying the

deteriorating condition of rail mass transit. See A 80-81;

Stip., pp. 83-97. In 1954, the States established the

Metropolitan Rapid Transit Commission to study the

problem. Stip., p. 99. In 1955, the MRTC issued an

interim report observing that, since 1930, billions of public

dollars had been spent on the development of tax-exempt or

subsidized vehicular highways and bridges, but no public

funds had been spent on rail mass transit between New

York and New Jersey. The report concluded that the

proposal of the Port Authority and the Triborough Bridge

and Tunnel Authority to spend $577,000,000 on new and

expanded vehicular bridges “raises the fundamental ques-

tion of public policy whether any further crossings of the

Hudson River should be constructed until it is determined

whether future crossings should be designed to encourage

rail or vehicular traffic.” Stip., pp. 100-101.

By this time, the Port Authority had come to a marked

preference for rubber over rail, see, e.g., Stip., Exhibit VII

at Volume VI of the Joint Appendix below, pp. 121A-138A.

Accordingly, when the MRTC ran out of funds to continue

its work, the Authority agreed to finance a comprehensive

study of the interstate rail problems on the basis of a

8. The characterization is that of Daniel B. Goldberg, General

Solicitor of the Port Authority. A 839.

9

“Memorandum of Understanding” between the Authority

and the MRTC stating that the Authority was able to

undertake facilities “only if competent estimates indicate

that in the long run ihey will be self-liquidating in and of

themselves” and that the maintenance and improvement of.

metropolitan rail transit systems “could not be economi-

eally self-supporting.” Stip., p. 102. See also A 161-162.

In other words, using the false premise that the Authority

could only undertake projects that were in and of them-

selves self-supporting, the Authority agreed to finance the

MRTC study of the problem on condition that it would not

be part of the solution. In 1958, the MRTC issued its

report commenting at length upon the “constant and relent-

less deterioration of suburban rail service,” which it

characterized as a “looming crisis.” A 82. True to the

Memorandum of Understanding, the MRTC said that im-

proved rail mass transit “financing would not be available

from any of the existing public authorities.” Jd.

Nevertheless, during the 1958 session of the New Jersey

Legislature, a bill was introduced (Assembly Bill No. 16)

that would have required the Port Authority to take over,

improve and operate interstate rail mass transit between

New Jersey and New York. A 82-83. The Authority

responded with a new bond provision to make sure that

it would not be “open to this kind of a financial raid,” A 838,

and it marshalled a powerful political offensive. Each is

discussed in detail below.

2. The new bond provision—Section 7

tificati

When the New Jersey Assembly began considering

Assembly Bill No. 16, the Port Authority began including

a new safeguard in its contracts with bondholders. Since

1958, Section 7 of the resolution that authorizes each series

of bonds (hereinafter “the Series Resolutions”) has pro-

hibited the issuance of any bonds secured by the General

10

Reserve Fund for any facility not previously financed by

bonds secured by the General Reserve Fund (such as a rail

mass transit facility), unless the Port Authority first certi-

fies that the issuance of those bonds would not materially

impair the sound credit standing of the Authority, the

investment status of Consolidated Bonds or the ability of

the Authority to fulfill its commitments, including its under-

takings to the holders of Consolidated Bonds. <A 78, 811-

812. In 1961, Mr. Goldberg explained that the Section 7

certification was adopted to make it absolutely clear that

“deficit-ridden railroads” could not be brought into the Gen-

eral Reserve Fund family. <A 839-80.°

3. The New York commuter car episode

Since the Port Authority’s resistance to efforts to involve

it in commuter car financing appears to have served as a

model for the Hudson and Manhattan struggle, and since

appellant claims at A.B. 14, 73 that, in preference to repeal,

the States should adopt this method of financing rail mass

transit improvements, it deserves far closer examination

than is provided in the anticipatory footnote 8 at A.B. 10.

In February 1959, Robert W. Purcell, a transportation

adviser to Governor Rockefeller, raised the possibility of

the Port Authority’s issuing bonds to finance passenger

equipment purchases for the Long Island and New York

Central Roalroads. The idea called for the Authority to be

reimbursed in full, including interest costs, via rental pay-

ments to be made by the railroads. A 313-314. As origi-

nally proposed hy Mr. Purcell, the States would not have

guaranteed payment of the bonds.

R. M. Schmidt, a vice president of Blyth & Co. and head

of its municipal finance department, A 307, advised Mr.

Purcell that his idea seemed “ingenious and something

worthwhile exploring.” A 313.

9. Each Series Resolution declares that it “shall constitut .

tract with” bondholders. Stip., Ex. II, Section 2, at 72, in Valens V

of the Joint Appendix below.

11

Two days later, Port Authority Executive Director

Austin Tobin began to organize “bondholder concern” in

opposition to the plan. Mr. Schmidt described the Port

Authority pressures in detail:

“the Authority on Friday, February 27th, called our

office and asked us to meet with them at the First Na-

tional City Bank on Monday, March Ist. George

LeVind and Fred Miller attended that meeting. Also,

the managers of the syndicates that usually bid for

their bonds at public sale, namely Harriman Ripley

& Co. (our joint account partners) and Halsey,

Stuart, Glore Forgan and Drexel who are joint man-

agers of the competing syndicate. They presented a

strong story disapproving the plan and the adverse

effect on their credit and market for their bonds, also

submitted a suggested letter for the managers to sign.

LeVind, Miller and Hawes discussed their request

and also talked with me at home. We all agreed not

to sign the letter or send any letter.

“Following this, Gene Mintkeski (Port of N. Y.

Auth.) called me at home and talked with me for

about 15 minutes. He apparently was very much dis-

turbed over the fact that we would not sign such a

letter and that I had told Mr. Purcell I thought his

idea was ingenious, worth studying and exploring. I

stated that at no time did I give approval or dis-

approval to Mr. Purcell’s idea. We felt very strongly

that we should have in greater detail Mr. Purcell’s

plan and at least give him. an equal chance to pre-

sent an answer to the position that the Port of New

York Authority is taking.

“On Tuesday, March 3rd, at 1 P.M. Joe Ripley of

Harriman Ripley telephoned and asked me to go

over there for lunch to discuss this Port o. New

York Authority problem. He had with him Elwood

Smith, Stu Silloway and Berry. He stated the lunch-

eon was prompted by Mr. Cullman coming to see him

and considerably upset because he had heard that I

had given approval to Mr. Purcell’s plan and wanted

to know whether or not I had.

12

“The foregoing memorandum answers that. I told

him specifically I had not given my approval but in

response to a call to us I gave Mr. Purcell the courte-

ous consideration that he was entitled to and re-

viewed the whole story as written above. They had

no criticism of my action. In fact, Joe Ripley thought

he would have acted in the same manner I had if he

had had a call from a representative of Governor

Rockefeller.

“T reported all this to Messrs. Hawes and Miller

and also in compliance with a request from Mr.

Cullman (which was arranged by Mr. Ripley) I then

called Austin Tobin. The conversation was very un-

pleasant. He, in fact, requested—if not demanded—

that we write a letter disapproving the Purcell plan

which I told him we would not do and I took excep-

tion that they quoted me out of context in their letter

of March 2, which he denied. The conversation was

very acrimonious and I would say that Mr. Tobin

was rude, officious and impertinent and I ended by

telling him so.

R. M. Schmidt”

A 313-315.

Mr. Cullman was Honorary Chairman and a Commis-

sioner of the Port Authority at the time and he seconded

Mr. Tobin’s efforts with vigor. See, for example, A 316, a

March 5, 1959 message from Mr. Cullman to Mr. Ripley:

“Governor Rockefeller was informed that issuing

equipment trust to the railroads would not hurt Port

Authority credit, and that all the investment bankers

were unanimous that that was so. And, therefore,

Mr. Cullman feels that it is very important that Mr.

Ripley send him the letter he requested.”

Mr. Ripley sent the requested letter and Mr. Tobin re-

ported to Mr. Ripley by letter dated March 17, 1959:

13

“the proposal for Port Authority participation on

the basis of what was called ‘equipment trust financ-

ing’ or, for that matter, suggestions for any financial

assistance by the Port Authority in the field of com-

muter rapid transit were dropped. We were then

able to come to this combination of state advances

and bonds guaranteed by the state, with the Port

Authority simply carrying out the administrative

and managerial work of the state’s participation.”

A 333-334.

Testifying about the matter in 1960, Mr. Tobin acknowl-

edged that the Port Authority had “appealed” to the

investment bankers to oppose the Purcell plan. A 303. He

added: “So that such meetings as you describe were held,

and would be held again in similar circumstances.” A 304;

emphasis added.

Mr. Tobin did call such a meeting in July 1960, to

“appeal to the investment bankers” for assistance against

a House Judiciary Subcommittee investigation of the Port

Authority. He characterized the Subcommittee’s investiga-

tion of his agency “a grievious threat to State and munici-

pal financing.” A 340-342. And once again the concern of

the investment community was expressed. A 343-344.

4. Opposing New Jersey legislation in 1958

Mr. Tobin had in fact turned out the troops even before

the Purcell episode. As mentioned above, at the 1958 ses-

sion of the New Jersey Legislature, Assembly Bill No. 16

had been introduced: it would have required the Port

Authority to assume responsibility for commuter rail-

roads between New Jersey and New York. A 82-83. The

Port Authority expressed a view strongly opposing the

legislation and, as the trial court found, “To reinforce this

view the Authority solicited and included in its statement

similar expressions of opinion from members of the invest-

14

ment banking community.” A 83. Having solicited oppos-

ing statements, the Port Authority duly reported that its

opposition “is supported by views expressed by other re-

sponsible persons in the investment and banking fleld, who

as a practical matter, are the controlling influence upon the

receptivity of bondholders to Port Authority investment.”

A 589,

The “other responsible persons in the investment and

banking field” were the same small group to whom Mr.

Tobin appealed for help against Mr. Purcell, In facet, the

Port Authority statement mentions only two by name—F. B.

Rockwell of Halsey, Stuart and Company and Reginald M,

Schmidt of Blyth and Company, A 589-590, Mr, Sehmidt

was obviously concerned about the specific proposal con-

tained in Assembly Bill No. 16, A 590, but was not cate-

orically opposed to Port Authority involyvment in mass

transit, Indeed, he would later charge Mr, Tobin with quot-

ing him out of context, A 315, quoted at page 12, supra.

Mr. Rockwell, on the other hand, parroted the Port Autho-

rity’s categorical position, The Authority opposed Assem-

bly No, 16 “or any other legislation which would attempt to

involve the Port Authority in any way in responsibility for

rapid transit.” A 586; emphasis added, Mr, Rockwell of

Halsey, Stuart did likewise:

“Tn our opinion any assumption of responsibilily

on your part for rail rapid transit in the New York

area would, on almost any conceivable terms, he

harmful to the present investment standing of the

Port bonds and would adversely affect the ability of

the Port Authority to finance in the future on terms

as favorable as hitherto. In our opinion, it is most

essential for the preservation of The Port of New

York Authority to be completely free of any respon-

sibility whatsoever for rail rapid transit in this

area.” A 589.590; emphasis added,

15

C. Legislative History of the 1962 Covenant

Until 1962, the leadership of the Port Authority had reso-

lutely, and successfully, opposed meaningful Port Authority

participation in the carriage of persons by rail. General

Solicitor Goldberg called it “a disease,” A 839, and the

Authority's Executive Director, Austin Tobin, was a vigor-

ous practitioner of preventive medicine, On any proposal

having to do with mass transit, Mr. Tobin would go to his

underwriters and ask them to express concern for the Port

Authority's credit, whether they felt it or not. He would

then report to the Legislature, or the Governor, that they

must bow to these “responsible investment banking leaders,

For all practical purposes they are the controlling influ.

ences of our credit.” A $92,

And so it was with the covenant. It was unquestionably

the Port Authority’s idea, See, eg., A 95-96, 183, 841,

These unambiguous record references plainly show that

there is no basis for appellant's repeated and wholly un-

supported characterization, A.B, 27-28, 77, of the covenant

as something “for which they [bondhoiders) had bar.

gained.” And the Authority imposed it on the Farley Com-

mittee on the usual ground—the Authority could not sell

bonds without it. See, for example, the extraordinary

claim of Authority Commissioner Kellogg:

“Applied to the H&M proposal, I would like to

make it clear that the question of whether or not we

ean borrow the $83,500,000 which is required, is not

simply a question of whether or not we would have

to pay a higher rate of interest on these funds, We

ean only submit to you the unanimous view of the

Commissioners of the Port Authority that there is

no possibility whatsoever of borrowing the money

at all without a statutory assurance to investors that

any future Port Authority responsibilites in the field

of commuter rail transport over and above the

present and existing interstate Hudson and Manhat-

16

tan railroad system will not involve a pledge of the

Port Authority’s General Reserve Mund.” A 87, 682-

633,

Even appellant’s chief witness in this proceeding never

claimed that the Authority could not sell bonds without the

covenant, Mr, Thompson opined only that, “All other

things remaining equal and the authorization for the PATH

takeover and the World Trade Center without the covenant

would have resulted in my opinion in a less favorable mar.

ket for the Port Authority bonds and a higher interest for

the Port Authority bonds.” A 859, “All other things re-

maining equal” would, of course, include Mr, Tobin’s say-

ing that without the covenant the Port Authority's eredit

would be ruined, and this element of the hypothesis was

expressly called to Mr, Thompson’s attention, A 858,

Similarly, appellant’s sole investor witness testified, “T can’t

eny for certain we would not have purchased” Port Author

itv bonds without the covenant, A 1105,

It is also worth noting that the Commissioners who were

unanimously of the view “that there is no possibility what.

soover of borrowing the money at all” without the covenant

were the same Commissioners who, two years earlier, had

heen unanimously opposed to any legislation “whieh would

attempt to involve the Port Authority in any way in re-

sponsibility for rapid transit.” A 586, Yet, in the inter

vening two years, the lack of any foundation for the Com-

missioners’ earlier claims had become apparent to all,

A 1959 Joint Assembly Committee report on Assembly Bill

No, 16 had eoneluded that the Authority should assume

some rail mass transit deficits. A 83-84, 593.597.!° See

10, Appellant erroneously characterizes this report as concluding

that the Authority “should only become involved in self-supporting

facilities, (A 593-597)." A.B. 10m. 7, In fact, the legislative report

tiiderstood and referred to the pooling concept and said that the

Authority “no doubt could undertake an activity which would involve

a deficit-even a permanent one.” A 594,

17

also A 162, And in April 1960, the New Jersey Highway

Department issued a report that concluded, A 608:

“The Port of New York Authority should not, in

our opinion, be handed New Jersey's rail problem,

nor should it become responsible for the New York

subway system or for rail transportation for Weat-

chester or Long Island, We are certain however,

that the interstate aspects of the rail movement of

persons and goods such as purchase and tease of

new Hudson and Manhattan commuter cars and the

purchase of the existing interstate railroad ferry

boats, do come within their obligations, The fore-

going fully recognizes the importance of maintaining

the Port of New York Authority’s commitments and

eredit requirements,”

The Port Authority beat a strategic retreat: it would

take over the erumbling but vital Hudson & Manhattan

Railroad on condition that the Legislatures give it the 1962

covenant.'' Unable to claim any longer that any involve-

ment whatsoever of the Port Authority in rail mass transit

would destroy its credit, unable to claim even that aequisi-

tion of the Hudson and Manhattan would impair bond.

holder security, the Port Authority claimed that any future

involvement whatsoever would make its bonds unsalable.

And the Legislatures, anxious for progress on the Hudson

and Manhattan, accepted Mr, Tobin’s terms, see A 612, 642,

after Senator Farley expressed his opinion that “one Legis-

lature cannot bind a subsequent Legislature involving

policy.” A 87-90, 635-639,

11. The 1962 legislation contains detailed findings about the im-

ortance of rail mass transit, the plight of the Hudson & Manhattan

ailroad and the need for its acquisition by the Port Authority, but

none about the need for the 1962 covenant, See N.J.S.A. 32:1-35,50,

Yet appellant complains about the absence of s c legislative find-

ings supporting repeal of the covenant. See A.B, 26, 56.

18

D. The 1962 Covenant

The 1962 covenant was a part of the bi-State legislation

authorizing the Port Authority to acquire, construct and

operate the Hudson & Manhattan Railroad and the World

Trade Center, A 90-91, 672-673, In revelant part, the

statute says, N.J.S.A, 32:1-35.55, A 92:

“The 2 States covenant and agree with each other

and with the holders of any affected bonds, as here-

inafter defined, that so long as any of such bonds

remain outstanding and unpaid and the holders

thereof shall not have given their consent as pro-

vided in their contract with the port authority, ...

(b) neither the States nor the port authority nor any

subsidiary corporation incorporated for any of the

purposes of this act will apply any of the rentals,

tolls, fares, fees, charges, revenues or reserves,

which have been or shall be pledged in whole or in

part as security for such bonds, for any railroad

purposes whatsoever other than permitted purposes

hereinafter set forth.”

“Permitted purposes” were defined by the statute to

include: (i) the Hudson Tubes as it existed on the effective

date of the legislation, (ii) railroad freight facilities, (iii)

railroad tracks and related facilities on vehicular bridges

owned by the Port Authority, and (iv) a passenger railroad

facility, if the Port Authority first certified either that the

facility is “self-supporting” or, if not, that at the end of

the preceding calendar year the General Reserve Fund con-

tained the prescribed statutory amount and that all of the

Authority’s passenger railroads, including the Hudson &

Manhattan, will not produce deficits in excess of “permitted

deficits.”

With respect to permitted purpose (iv), a passenger rail-

road facility would be deemed to be “self-supporting” if the

19

“amount estimated by the port authority for the ensuing

10 years to be the average annual net income (computed

without deduction of debt service) derived from or inei-

dental to such facility equals or exceeds the amount eati-

mated by the port authority for such 10 years to be the

average annual debt service upon bonds for purposes in

connection with such proposed facility.”

Though the covenant is not explicit on the point, both

States, the Port Authority and its bond counsel have all

agreed that State subsidies may be included in the compu-

tation of “average annual net income... derived from or

incidental to such facility.” Stip., p. 239 and Ex. VITT in

Volume VI of the Joint Appendix below, Thus, a passenger

railroad would be self-supporting if, “for the ensuing 10

years,” the Port Authority's estimate of net operating

revenues and State support equalled its estimate of debt

service “upon bonds for purposes in connection with such

proposed facility.”

“Permitted deficits,” the alternative method to satisfy-

ing permitted purpose (iv) for a new passenger railroad,

were defined to mean that the annual estimated deficit

(after including estimated debt service) ot both the Hudson

Tubes and any additional non-“self-supporting” passenger

railroad facility could not exceed one-tenth of the General

Reserve Fund (or one percent of the Authority's total

honded debt), Here too State subsidies are at least theoret-

ically possible, though on more difficult terms than under

the “self-supporting” rubric, The parties stipulated, A

692, and the trial court found, A 94n, 26, that the annual

deficits of the Hudson Tubes exceed the “permitted deficits”

and the covenant therefore prohibits the Authority from

issuing bonds secured by its reserve funds for any new

deficit passenger rail facility.

20

E. The Unimportance of the 1962 Covenant to

Bondholder Security

In reality, and as Dr, Bard found back in 1942 and the

Assembly Committees reported in 1959, bondholders needed

assurance that the Port Authority would not be so bur.

dened with deficits that its profitable facilities might have

difficulty carrying them.” But the provisions of the Con-

solidated Bond Resolution and the Series Resolutions fully

protected them against that possibility, as will appear

presently, The covenant was necessary to protect not the

bondholders’ security but Mr. Tobin's conception of the

Port Authority as a master builder of bridges, tunnels, air-

ports and, ultimately, the $1 billion World Trade Center,

Years later, in explaining why bondholders had nothing to

fear if the covenant were eliminated, Moody's would make

the point: “demands for mass transportation would prob-

ably obstruct further Authority expansion into other fields.

Bondholder protection would remain adequate, ,. .” A 750-

751,

Similarly, in a report isened just two weeks after the

trial court's decision sustaining repeal, Barr Brothers,

from whom appellant selected one of its four witnesses,

stated unequivocally: “Whether or not the Port Authority

ever gets involved in Mass Transit, we feel it continues to

he one of the finest revenue credits in the country, amply

protected by the basic bond resolution... .” A 423. In eum,

the trial court correctly concluded that:

“The claim that bondholder security has been

materially impaired or destroyed hy the repeal is

simply not supported by the record.” A 27,

Nothing in appellant’s brief detracts in the slightest from

the validity of this fundamental conclusion that, in and of

itself, requires affirmance of the judgment below.

12, Mr, Murphy of Barr Brothers, appellant's witness, likewise

emphasized the importance of the “bottom line.” A 991,

21

1. Bondholders are fully protected

a. The objective protections. General Solicitor Gold-

berg’s compendious view of the effect of the many bond-

holder protections is helpful. Speaking to the Executive

Staff of the Authority in October 1961, before the enactment

of the covenant, Mr. Goldberg emphasized that Port

Authority revenues could not be used to “subsidize the

private railroads to the extent of their commuter operating

deficits.” A 839. Mr. Zarin, the Port Authority’s Chief of

the Finance Division of the Law Department, A 1004, con-

curred in that view at trial. A 1047-1050. In other words,

the covenant was redundant in so far as it purported to

prevent the Port Authority from giving its revenues to

others for the benefit of railroads, and appellant does not

contend otherwise.

Mr. Goldberg continued:

“However there still was a fear in the financial

community that the Port Authority might somehow

take into its General Reserve Fund family a group

of deficit-ridden railroads and then, by having gotten

the disease into our own financial body, be in a posi-

tion legally to apply our monies to their operating

and debt service deficits. The fear was that in some

such way we might actually dilute our earning and

reserve position to a point where we would no longer

have the financial capacity to meet the requirements

of the existing bonds and of any other bonds we

might have to put out for our self-supporting

projects.

“We in the Law Department have always held the

firm opinion that the Port Authority lacks the power

so to dilute the security of its bondholders, and we

have advised the Commissioners to that effect. .. .”

A 839.

Notwithstanding this legal opinion, Mr. Goldberg said,

the Authority added the certification requirement to Sec-

tion 7 of its Series Resolutions to make it absolutely clear

that its bondholders’ security could not be impaired by the

acquisition of “deficit-ridden railroads.” A 839-840. It will

22

be recalled that Section 7, see pages 9-10, supra, places the

Port Authority under a contractual duty not to issue Con-

solidated Bonds for an additional facility unless it can

certify compliance with three conditions: that the issuance

of the bonds will not “materiaily impair the sound credit

standing of the Authority”; that issuance will not materi-

ally impair “the investment status of Consolidated Bonds”;

and that issuance will not materially impair “the ability of

the Authority to fulfill its commitments, whether statutory

or contractual or reasonably incidental thereto, including

its undertakings to the holders of Consolidated Bonds.” All

three conditions must be met. A 1053.

Thus, before the covenant was enacted, the Port Author-

ity could not give its revenues or reserves to others to sub-

sidize mass transit and it could not itself undertake any

mass transit projects that might endanger the bondholders’

security. Mr. Goldberg was unequivocal on the point; the

trial court agreed, A 127-128; and the complex web of bond-

holder protections that existed in 1961 fully supports their

conclusion.

The main strands in that web are the General Reserve

Fund, the Consolidated Bond Resolution of 1952, and the

Series Resolutions. They combine to dedicate all revenues

and reserves of the Port Authority for the benefit of bond-

holders. Hence Mr. Goldberg’s undisputed conclusion that

the Authority cannot give its resources away.’ The Au-

13. The General Reserve Fund may only be used for “purposes in

connection with bonds secured by a pledge of the General Reserve

Fund....” A 287. The Consolidated Bond Resolution pledges the

net revenues from each facility financed by the issuance of Consoli-

dated Bonds to the payment of debt service on all Consolidated Bonds.

A 789-791. It creates the Consolidated Bond Reserve Fund, which

it likewise pledges as security for Consolidated Bonds. A 795-797.

The first paragraph of Section 7 of the Series Resolution, A 810-811,

prevents the application of any part of this fund for the payment of

operating deficits of a facility acquired without the issuance of Con-

solidated Bonds. See also A 1050. In 1962, there was nothing in the

Consolidated Bond Reserve Fund. It began to grow in the years im-

mediately preceding repeal, increasing from $7.1 million in 1972 to

$21.9 million in 1973 and $46.8 million in 1974. A 500, 518. Total

Port Authority reserves exceeded one-quarter of a billion dollars at

the end of 1974. Id.

23

thority can apply its revenues or reserves to pay the defi-

cits of a railroad only if it first issues bonds secured by the

General Reserve Fund to finance that reilroad. And the

Authority can only do that if it meets the requirements of

the Section 7 certification.

Even then, the Authority still could not issue a Consoli-

dated Bond without also meeting the 1.3 test of the Con-

solidated Bond Resolution. A 75-76, 784-788. In 1961, Mr.

Goldberg described the purpose and operation of the 1.3

this way:

“And so he [the bondholder] must be sure that the

Port Authority is not able to dilute the net revenue

potential of the facilities to a point where the money

that is going to come in—this gross revenue box that

we start off with at the head of each column in the

revenue flow chart—is going to get too small for the

O&M and the debt service that it has to cover. He

wants to be sure that we don’t balloon the amount

of our bonds up so big and get our debt service up

so big and, in the ease of a facility which wouldn’t

be carrying itself, like a Hudson & Manhattan Rail-

road, even get its operation and maintenance expen-

ses up so big, that there wouldn’t be enough overall

to meet the debt service on his bonds and on the new

bonds that might be put out in connection with new

facilities.

“Now the mechanism by which this insurance was

given was the 1.3 earnings test. All this test is is a

requirement that the Port Authority will not issue

new Consolidated Bonds unless it can show, at each

point of time it proposes to issue new consolidated

bonds, that certain earnings equal 130 per cent of, or

1.3 times certain debt service on certain bonds. For

the most part, the earnings that are used in this

equation are historical earnings. They are the best

twelve months out of the previous thirty-six months

and in practice these have always been the last year,

which has always been our best year. In certain lim-

ited instances we can augment these historical earn-

ings with some estimates, but for the most part you

24

can think of the earnings that we have to use in this

test as historical earnings.

“On the other side of the equation is the debt

service—that is the interest, the amortization on the

bonds, the annual maturities,’ the sinking fund re-

quirements—which we must cover 1.3 times out of

these earnings. This debt service is the requirement

for that year in the future when our scheduled debt

service will be at a maximum. In other words, we

must take our peak demand year in the future for

combined debt service on already-issued bonds and

the proposed new bonds. We know our scheduled

sinking fund and principal maturities; we know our

scheduled interest requirements. We look up the

schedule to figure out in which year in the future our

scheduled debt service will be the heaviest, and then

we compare this with our historical earnings, and if

we can’t show that the maximum future year’s debt

service requirements have been met historically in

one of the past three years 1.3 times, we can’t issue a

Consolidated Bond.” A 833-834.

When a deficit facility is acquired or built its losses are

counted in determining whether the revenues from all of

the Authority’s facilities equal or exceed 1.3 times maxi-

mum future debt service. A 76. Similarly, debt service

attributable to the new facility must be taken into account.

In other words, the deficit must be subtracted from the

revenue side of the equation and the new debt service must

be added to the debt service side of the equation. As a

result, no deficit facility can be brought into the Consoli-

dated Bond “family” unless there is a healthy margin of

net revenues from all Port Authority facilities in excess of

actual debt service.

Other bondholder protections to be found in the Con-

solidated Bond Resolution but not in appellant’s brief

25

include the Authority’s obligation under Section 12(f),

A 799:

“To establish and collect flight fees, wharfage,

dockage, rents, tolls and other charges in connection

with facilities the net revenues of which are pledged

as security for Consolidated Bonds, to the end that

at least sufficient net revenues may be produced

therefrom at all times to provide for the debt serv-

ice upon all Consolidated Bonds.”

To paraphrase Section 12(f) of the Consolidated Bond

Resolution, the Authority is contractually obliged to run

in the black. To take over or build a facility that would

impose deficits so large that increases in tolls and charges

could not carry them would violate Section 12(f) as well

as the various provisions discussed above."

The 1962 covenant added nothing to these protections.

As the foregoing discussion makes clear, the Port

Authority is contractually obliged to maintain reserves

for the protection of bondholders, to have a healthy

margin of revenues over debt service before issuing

bonds and to refrain from issuing bonds to build or acquire

a new facility if to do so will materially impair the Author-

ity’s credit standing, the investment status of its bonds or

its ability to fulfill its commitments. These provisions make

it impossible for the Authority to take over a passenger

railroad that would jeopardize the security of bondholders.

To be sure, the covenant did constitute a significant im-

pediment to Port Authority involvement in rail mass

transit, but, viewed objectively, it added to the impediments

_ 14. Other bondholder protections found in the Series Resolutions

include provision for sinking fund payments and schedules of man-

datory periodic retirement of bonds. Stip., Ex. II, pp. 74-75 in Vol-

ume V of the Joint Appendix below.

26

posed by the pre-existing protections only by blocking rail

mass transit that does not threaten bondholder security.“

b. Appellant’s analysis of the objective protections.

Appellant attacks the importance of the 1.3 test by suggest-

ing, first, that the test would not apply if the Authority

issued bonds other than Consolidated Bonds, A.B. 30 & n.18,

and, second, that the test does not consider prospective

operating deficits of a new facility, A.B. 30-31 and 33 n.20.

Both arguments are untenable.

If the non-Consolidated Bonds are secured by a pledge

of the General Reserve Fund,'* and are issued to acquire a

new facility, the Section 7 certification would still have to

be made. Moreover, no non-Consolidated Bond secured by

15. The 1962 Legislature was not advised of this conclusion to

which Mr. Goldberg’s analysis the year before inexorably led. See

A 838-840. No Authority spokesman attempted to explain the objec-

tive importance of the covenant, i.e., what it added to existing safe-

guards, On the contrary, the Authority simply stated, A 86, that it

would not certify the H & M Railroad under Section 7 unless the

covenant was enacted and claimed, A 87, that it could sell no bonds

without the covenant.

The Farley Committee’s 1963 report concluded accordingly:

“This Committee was convinced that the credit problem

which had been pointed out by the Port of New York Author-

ity was a valid and real one and that the Port Authority could

not assume responsibility for the complete burden of the

deficit-ridden commuter railroad problem in the area of north-

ern New Jersey and New York. If the Port Authority were

to receive such unrestricted responsibility, there is no question

but that its sound credit position would be seriously impaired,

if not destroyed ....” A 655; emphasis added.

The Farley Committee was not advised of the many existing pro-

tections against assumption of “the complete burden” or “unrestricted

responsibility” for commuter rail deficits. Thus, the Farley Commit-

tee supported the covenant, unaware that the risks the covenant was

supposed to avoid were already blocked.

16. If the non-Consolidated Bonds are not secured by a pledge of

the General Reserve Fund, none of the revenues or reserves of the

Authority’s present facilities could be used to pay those bonds or to

support the facility financed by them. Such bonds would have no

effect on current bondholders.

27

a pledge of the General Reserve Fund has been offered

since the Authority began issuing Consolidated Bonds in

1952 and, as appellant says, A.B. 30 n.18, the Authority

has stated its intention to issue only Consolidated Bonds.

Finally, Sections 4 and 5 of the Consolidated Bond Resolu-

tion pledge the net revenues of all of the Authority’s facili-

ties to the payment of debt service upon Consolidated

Bonds. A 789-791. As a result, no revenues from the

Authority’s existing facilities would be available for pay-

ment of debt service on non-Consolidated Bonds until the

debt service on Consolidated Bonds was paid. Conse-

quently, non-Consolidated Bonds would be marketable only

if purchasers were confident that the Port Authority would

continue to generate revenues well above all operating ex-

penses and debt service—.e., something akin to the 1.3 test.

These points were recognized by Mr. Goldberg in 1961:

“[Tjhe things the States direct the Port Authority |

to do these days are not capable of immediate self-

support. So we are practically restricted to Consoli-

dated Bonds and the 1.3 test.” <A 834.

Appellant’s suggestions, A.B. 30-31 and 33 n.20, that the

1.3 test may not protect against operating deficits of a new

facility fail to mention that the trial court specifically held

that “the estimated average annual deficits of a new facility

must be charged against historical revenues in determining

whether the 1.3 test has been met.” A 76; emphasis in

original.'’ But even if appellant were right and the Port

Authority Commissioners could somehow escape counting

the deficits of a new facility at the time they begin to build

17. Judge Gelman’s analysis was clearly correct, for as Vice Chair-

man Kellogg told the Farley Committee, the 1.3 test precludes the

issuance of Consolidated Bonds “for any facility unless it can be

demonstrated that, including the new facility, net revenues will be

sufficient to cover by at least 1.3 times the maximum interest and

principal payments due in any future year.” A 87.

28

it, after it goes into operation its deficits will be counted

in future applications of the 1.3 test. As Mr, Goldberg put

it,

“At the point where we can only show barely 1.3 or a

whisker under 1.8, we can’t put out Consolidated

Bonds. The 1.8 status is not prosperity to us; it is

practically the point of enforced stagnation, It is

the point at which our ability to finance any future

projects, even any capital improvements to existing

facilities, ceases, For the Port Authority to continue

as a healthy, vigorous organization, doing the job it

was set up to do and which it has done so well in the

past, we must keep our coverage up as high as we

can.” A 836,

Since the building of a facility that would generate defi-

cits large enough to cause future difficulty with the 1.3 test

would bring the Port Authority to “the point of enforced

stagnation,” end its “ability to finance any future pi vjects,”

and endanger the Port Authority “as a healthy, vigorous

organization,” the building of such a facility would obvi-

ously run afoul of the Section 7 certification requirements.

The Authority could not, consistent with its contractual

commitment to bondholders, certify that the issuance of

bonds for such a facility would not “materially impair the

sound credit standing of the Authority or the investment

status of Consolidated Bonds or the ability of the Authority

to fulfill its commitments,”

18. In its reply to our motion to dismiss, appellant claimed in its

footnote at page 3 that according to the Port Authority's financial

expert, Mr, Zarin, “only the 1962 covenant would prevent a Port

Authority takeover of the Second Avenue subway line.” But Mr,

Zarin’s testimony on this point was limited to the 1,3 test, which he

believed would not apply, and “absent all other protections which

exist, which we are not talking about,” such as Section 7, A 1030-

1031. And appellant neglected to advise the Court of the trial court's

holding that the 1.3 test would itself apply to such a proposal, With

good reason, appellant does not repeat this argument in its brief on

the merits,

Appellant next attacks the Section 7 certification itself,

A.B, 31-35, though in quoting Mr. Goldberg at page 33, it

omits his immediately following statement that the certifi-

cation requirement “has helped to allay the fears of the

financial community,” A 840, fears related directly to

deficit rail mass transit, A 839-840, Appellant says first that

the certification requirement could be avoided by manip-

ulative legislative definition, arguing that this was attempted

in 1971 and that, “It was the Covenant, therefore, which

protected the bondholders, not Section 7.” A.B, 33. In fact,

it was bond counsel who “protected” the bondholders,

A 692, and nothing in appellant’s argument suggests that

bond counsel could not, in the future, “protect” the bond-

holders by opining that, legislative definitions notwith-

standing, a Section 7 “additional facility” is an “additional

facility.” See A 100,

Following a brief complaint that Section 7 blocks only a

“material impairment” and not “any impairment” and its

incomplete quotation from Mr, Goldberg, appellant contin-

ues its attack on the Section 7 certification by claiming that

“Unlike the Seetion 7 certification, the 1962 covenant re-

quires certification of an ascertainable amount... .” A.B,

34. Appellant is incorrect. According to the statute,

it is enough to certify simply “that said other railroad facil-

ity is self-supporting.”"’ And Mr. Zarin, though ques-

tioned at length on this precise point by appellant's counsel,

specifically declined to testify that the 1962 covenant re-

quires the certification of an amount when a facility is certi-

fied as “self-supporting.” A 1082-1083,

Appellant goes on to argue that a covenant certifica-

tion “requires considerably more precise a calculation” be-

cause it would be for “a single proposed facility,” whereas

a Section 7 certification would be for many facilities, A.B,

34. The fallacy is tempting, but a fallacy nonetheless: if

19. See N.J.S.A, 32:1-35,.55, subdivision (iv) under “Permitted

purposes,”

30

the calculations for the many-facility certification are off,

it Must be because ealeulations for one or more individual

facilities are off, and it is just as likely that the railroad

calculations are wrong. Indeed, in many contexts, projec-

tions for a group of enterprises are regarded as more

dependable than projections for a single enterprise.” At

best, the benefit claimed by appellant is marginal, uncertain

and contrary to the pooling concept that has been the basis

of the Authority’s financial success since the General

Reserve Fund statutes of 1931 and the Consolidated Bond

Resolution of 1952. See A 736, The trial court was clearly

right in giving this argument “little weight.” A.B, 34,

Appellant continues to argue that the covenant’s use of

“self-supporting” is more precise than Section 7's use of

“materially impair” by quoting at length from Mr, Thomp-

son’s testimony, including his statement:

“Now, self supporting, Your Honor-—although it

sounds as though it ean be a qualitative phrase is

not, at least not in our business.” A.B, 35,

Mr. Thompson also testified that “self supporting means

that the revenues shall be estimated to be at least as much

as the operating expenses plus the debt service which is a

mathematical requirement... .” A.B. 35; emphasis added,

Mr. Thompson's belief that “self-supporting” is a precise

phrase has been emphatically rejected by the Farley Com-

mittee, by the Port Authority, and by its independent

; |

20, The Port Authority may well provide such a context in view

of the necessarily arbitrary way that it allocates its substantial general

and administrative expenses and debt service among its facilities, See

Stip., Ex. TV at Volume VI of the Joint Appendix below, Appellant

admits that the Authority's single facility estimates for the Hudson &

Manhattan were way off, A.B, 14, 15, 67, The record shows that the

Authority's estimates for the construction of the World Trade Center

were off by about $700 million, Compare A 182 with A 486, Yet

the Authority as a whole has had great financial success-—Darr

Brothers calling it “one of the finest revenue credits in the country”

even after the trial court’s decision sustaining repeal, A 422-423,

81

auditors. Because the concept is “arbitrary” and “not based

on actual fact,” the Authority’s accounting procedures do

not use it. A 650-651, 660, 735a2-736. As Peat, Marwick,

Mitchell & Co, put it,

“The Authority’s financial structure is based on a

single enterprise, pooling of revenues concept. In-

dividual facilities are not financed independent of

the rest of the Authority. The facilities contribute

their revenues for debt service according to their

earning power without regard to the amount of

bonds which were issued for their construction. For

these reasons any presentation of net revenues after

debt service for individual facilities is not based on

actual fact, As pointed out by the Authority in sub-

mitting its report, such a presentation can only be

hased on arbitrary assumptions,” A 651,

Thus, the ground on which appellant claims the covenant to

be a greater bondholder protection than Section 7 litera!ly

does not exist.

Appellant’s only other attempt to demonstrate the object-

ive importance of the covenant is its assertion that it would

have prevented the Port Authority’s financial participation

in the Paru-Plainfield project, which, says appellant, A.B,

35-36, is “presently estimated to require a diversion of

pledged revenues and reserves of at least $128.4 million.

(R-Ja 255-1).” The argument is confusing because based

on a plan that was rejected by the federal Urban Mass

Transportation Administration and not on the plan cur-

rently before that agency for approval. See A 527-528, pp.

60-62, infra, But even assuming that the now rejected plan

can be considered as the type of plan that bondholders can

expect, it is clear that they will not be hurt. Appellant's

argument gives no weight to the fact that the actual source

of the Port Authority’s participation is the more than $40

million in annual revenues that the Authority has already

begun to collect as a result of the toll increase instituted in

May 1975 for the specific purpose of financing mass trans-

portation projects. See A405-407, 419-421, 5038, 528." In

three or four years, the Port Authority will have earned the

entire $128.4 million even though it will have spent far less.

Significantly, appellant does not suggest that the toll in-

crease would be justified or appropriate if, contrary to the

Port Authority’s public announcements, cited above, the in-

creased revenues were not applied to financing mass trans-

portation,

21, Extraordinary as it may seem, appellant attempts to show that

the $40 million does not exist, A.B, 38 For example, it invents

something it calls “surplus reserves in excess of mandated bonded

debt service” and asserts that its creature grew by only $296,000 in

1975, In support of its analysis, appellant invites the Court's atten-

tion generally to the 39-page fo78 Annual Report of the Port Author-

ity, citing three cases for the proposition that the Court may em oy

= notice to that end, No page or chart of the Report itself is

cited,

The relevant portions of the Port Authority's 1975 Report are

set forth in the Appendix, A 503-518. They show that in 975, the

Authority's gross operating revenues rose from $410.4 million to

$458.4 million, a gain of $48 million, A 511, 515; that net revenues

available for debt service and reserves after payment of operating

expenses rose from $181.4 million to $200.9 million, a gain of more

than $19 million, A 515; that the General Reserve Fund increased

from $173.4 million to $176.4 million, a in of $3 million, A 518;

that the Consolidated Bond Reserve Fund grew trom $46.8 million

to $62.4 million, a gain of more than $15 million, id.; that the

Authority's total assets grew from $3,186 billion after depreciation

to $3,249 billion after depreciation, a gain of approximately $63 mil-

lion, A 513; since total liabilities rose by less than $7 million, net

assets grew by $56 million, id, It is worth remembering too that 1976

will be the first fudl year in which the toll increases have been in effect.

Appellant emphasizes that operating expenses also rose by over

$37 million, “more than consuming any new revenues resulting from

the toll increases,” A.B, 38, Very little of that increase in expenses,

however, is attributable to bridges and tunnels, Since appellant does

admit that the Authority’s net operating revenues and reserves did in

fact increase, it appears to have charged all increases in costs at all

of the Port Authority's facilities against the toll rises, instead of

following the accepted procedure of ¢ ring each facility's operating

expenses against its operating revenues, his bit of creative account-

ing is no more supportable than the rest of appellant's analysis.

83

©. The subjective fears. Appellant's case rests not on

what the covenant objectively added to bondholder protec-

tion, but on misinformation and unfounded fears.

Appellant offered only one witness to testify about the

circumstances surrounding the enactment of the 1962 cove-

nant—John F, Thompson, Vice President of W. H. Morton

and Company. A 844, Mr, Thompson testified that in 1961,

[M]y reaction to the Port Authority getting into that

[the Hudson and Manhattan] or other mass transit was one

of concern because the Port Authority has always gone into

projects which it could reasonably ascertain that they would

become self-supporting, at least within a period of a few

years of development and this seemed to be a different tack

for the Port Authority to start on.” A855. Mr. Thom

amplified on cross-examination, A 959-960: | ie

“A. The facilities aequired or

tructed up t

then had all been expected eventually 4 sae.

supporting. H & M was not, —

2 i go at what point in the future?

il a z : - a reasonable time, within three, four,

Q. Were those expe

maint. xpectations fulfilled, to your

A. I am not sure that my facility know

the Port operation is sufficient to mid you tel ost

accurate answer. I have understood that one or two

facilities from time to time have not done as well as

wy on the whole the reverse is true. .

. So your assumption that the Port Authority’

moving from what had been almost entirely, witb toe

or two exceptions, profitable enterprises to mass

transit was a major factor in your concern about the

acquisition of the Hudson and Manhattan?

A. Yes, it was a factor of concern.”

Mr. Thompson was thorough!

y misinformed. As of De-

cember 31, 1960, the Staten Island Bridges had been in

deficit for 22 years, the Port Authority Building for 21, and

34

Newark Airport for 13. Of all Port Authority facilities,

only the piers and Port Newark had run at a deficit for as

few as 3 or 4 years. Everything else had been in deficit for

at least 7 years and most had been in the red for 10 years

or longer. A 691,” |

Mr. Thompson testified next that “if one step were made

into mass transit, the question arose in the minds of most

participants in the investment community, what comes

next, what other projects in mass transit will next be under-

taken.” A 855-856, On cross-examination, however, he was

unable to answer whether most investors knew that the

covenant did not prevent the Port Authority from operat-

ing bus lines at a deficit. A 961,

Mr. Thompson also testified that he had never considered

the fact that the covenant leaves the Port Authority

exposed to massive deficits ten years after certification of

a passenger railroad under the covenant. A 943-944. He

did not believe bondholders needed covenant protection

against that risk: he was content to rely on the good faith

of the States, A 945, the unwillingness of the Port

Authority to go along, A 947, and the resistance of the bond

market, A 946,

The point is important. The protection actually afforded

by the covenant is far more modest than Mr. Thompson and

the other witnesses understood, It could be satisfied by

simple agreement between the Governors and the Port

Authority Commissioners that a facility would be self-

supporting. Even though a railroad were expected to run

22. And see A77n. 15: “For the calendar year 1973, of the 22

facilities operated by the Authority, 14 were operated at a deficit.

See A 397, .

That appellant's chief witness was so totally misinformed about t le

deficits of individual facilities further demonstrates that appellant is

wrong in urging, A.B, 5-8, the importance of the concept that each

facility be self-supporting by itself. If that concept had any impor-

tance, Mr. Thompson would have known about the long deficit his-

tory endured by each of the Authority's major facilities,

35

at a deficit, that agreement would satisfy the covenant’s

definition of “self-supporting” if it were backed up by the

agreement of the States to pay the deficits for ten years

and no longer. The covenant’s definition of “self-support-

ing” would also be satisfied if the States agreed to continue

their payments for more than ten years but at the same

level paid during the first ten years, leaving the long-term

growth in the deficit for the Port Authority to absorb.

As Mr. Thompson acknowledged, it was not the covenant

that protected-against these hazards, but other bondholder

protections. He noted the unwillingness of the States to

inflict actual damage on bondholders, the parallel concern

of the Port Authority and the pressure of the bond market,

three formidable safeguards. The Section 7 certification,

among others, is germane too.

Mr. Thompson also believed the covenant’s definition

of “self-supporting” to be a “mathematical requirement,”

A.B. 35, though he admitted that it was based on “esti-

mated” revenues, A.B. 35, and though the Farley Com-

mittee, independent auditors and the Port Authority all

recognized it could “not be based on actual fact” but only

“arbitrary assumption.” A 651.

Not only was Mr. Thompson misinformed about or

ignorant of the actual meaning of the covenant and the

Authority’s history of successfully carrying deficit facili-

ties; he was also unaware that other bondholder protec-

tions fully protected against his fears. Thus, he believed

that the covenant was necessary to prevent “the possibility

of massive deficit operations getting into the Port struc-

ture” and “that if the Port Authority were given a white

elephant that all of the revenues of the Port operation,

operating revenue, would be pooled in order to support

that before debt service would be paid.” A 949. The wit-

ness repeated the point at A 942, and concluded cross-

examination on this question by testifying that, “I believe

36

that this is one situation that might arise that makes the

covenant important.” <A 956.

Mr. Thompson obviously did not understand that his

opinion was ill-founded and that even without the covenant

“massive deficit operations” could not get “into the Port

structure,” for the reasons explained by Mr. Goldberg

before the enactment of the covenant, A 838-840. Nor did

Mr. Thompson understand that, as Mr. Zarin testified,

A 1050, Section 7 of the Series Resolutions prohibits the

use of the reserve fund to pay the operating deficit of a

facility acquired without the issuance of Consolidated

Bonds, i.e., a “white elephant.”

No wonder Mr. Thompson considered the 1962 covenant

“an important and significant part of what I presumed we

were buying for our clients.” A.B. 23, A 873. He was

misinformed about the precision of the “self-supporting”

concept, the facilities history of the Authority and its

abilitv to undertake many deficit operations, and the many

other protections against any deficit operation that would

threaten bondholder security.”

Mr. Thompson was the only witness offered to testify

about the circumstances surounding the enactment of the

covenant as well as the only witness offered by appellant

who purported to have any detailed knowledge of the work-

ings of the covenant or its relationship to other bondholder

protections. It follows that the record is barren of evidence

that anyone informed about the rights of bondholders in

the 1961-62 period regarded the covenant as important to

23. As Amicus S.1.A. says at page 13, Mr. Thompson was also the

witness who testified “that if the Governor of New Jersey had recom-

mended repeal of the covenant before the sale of $300,000,000 of

bonds of the New Jersey Sports and Exposition Authority instead

of one weck after the sale, the bonds would not have been saleable.

...” This was not only Mr. Thompson’s personal opinion; he heard

no professional investment person who disagreed with this. —

14. The sale of the Sports and Exposition Authority bonds was he

on January 18, 1974. As appellant’s brief correctly notes, Governor

Byrne proposed repeal as early as June 1973. A.B. 27, n.16.

37

bondholders. The evidence that Mr. Tobin sought the

covenant to further his views of the Port Authority’s mis-

sion is corroborated by the objective unimportance of the

covenant. See A 108-109.

2. The Authority’s consistently high credit

rating demonstrates the unimportance of

the covenant and repeal

The trial court found that the “limited role of the cov-

enant on the Authority’s credit standing is also reflected in

the ratings assigned to Port Authority bonds by the prin-

cipal ratings services, Moody’s and Standard and Poor’s.”

A 110. The Moody’s and Standard and Poor’s ratings for

Port Authority bonds have been and are “A,” meaning that

“they are of investment quality and no default in payment

of principal or interest is anticipated.” A 110, 849.25 The

bonds had that rating before the covenant was enacted,

after it was enacted, after it was prospectively repealed,

after the repeal at issue in this lawsuit, A 110, 750-763,

and after the decisions below, A 481-500, 1123-1131.

24. No officer or employee of appellant testified, nor did appel-

lant offer any of its purchase or sale records to show that the covenant

had any bearing on its transactions in Port Authority bonds.

In an attempt to make up for the missing evidence, appellant

refers, at A.B. 12 n.9, to the deposition of its Executive Vice Presi-

dent even though that deposition was not admitted into evidence. The

trial court’s ruling excluding it, A 1121-1122, was clearly proper

and has not been appealed to this Court.

Had appellant’s Executive Vice President testified, he would have

been exposed to cross-examination about his approval of an April

1974 internal memorandum stating: “Efforts to repeal the 1962

covenant by legislative action should not be viewed with alarm.”

E454.

25. Thus, this is emphatically not a case in which the obligor

“unilaterally” decides that default is improbable. Compare A.B. 67.

Appellant has never alleged or offered any evidence to show that

the Authority’s bonds are in any danger of default whatsoever and

the Barr Brothers report issued after the trial corrt’s decision sus-

taining repeal concludes that the Authority’s bonds offer “secure

value for the investor,” A 423.

38

In arriving at its “A” rating, Moody’s has always given

full weight to the prospect of deeper Port Authority

involvement in passenger railroads. As early as February

1972, it recognized the relevance to the Port Authority of

the increase in Triborough vehicular tolls to support rail

mass transit. A 258-259. Its June 1973 report referred

specifically to the enactment of bi-State legislation pur-

suant to which “the Authority will contribute to the capital

cost of passenger rail projects.” The report, rating the

40th series “A,” continues: “In addition, this new legisla-

tion amends 1962 statutes which served as the basis for a

statutory covenant limiting the Authority’s ability to par-

ticipate in deficit passenger railroad projects. These def-

icit limitations will not apply to the holders of bonds here-

after issued by the Authority, including these bonds.” A

264-265.

The Moody’s report for October 5, 1973, A 750-751, rates

the 41st series “A,” while noting “the clouded future sur-

rounding ... the role, if any, which Port Authority will

play in a regional mass transportation system.” The two-

paragraph summary on the front page of the report also

notes that a “suit now in the Supreme Court of New York

State seeks to permit unlimited application of surplus Au-

thority funds to deficit passenger railroads. If the suit is

successful, demands for mass transportation would probably

obstruct further Authority expansion into other fields.

Bondholder protection would remain adequate, because

debt service constitutes a first lien on net revenues.” A

750-751; emphasis added. Thus, even on the express

assumption that the covenant would be struck down,

Moody’s adhered to its high rating of Port Authority

bonds.

Within two weeks after the trial court’s decision sustain-

ing repeal of the covenant, leading investment advisers

agreed with the opinion that repeal was not material. Thus,

39

Barr Brothers & Co., one of the three largest dealers in

Port Authority bonds, A 978, issued a report specifically

referring to the trial court’s decision, summarizing the

other bondholder protections and the great financial

strength of the Port Authority, and concluding:

“Whether or not the Port Authority ever gets in-

volved in Mass Transit, we feel it continues to be

one of the finest revenue credits in the country amply

protected by the basic bond resolution, excellent man-

agement and some highly profitable and monopolistic

facilities that can more than carry a reasonable

a of Mass pa particularly with the re-

cent toll increases on the Huds 31 idi

additional revenues.” A 499.493 —

This report is from a firm that is a member of the class

represented by appellant and from which it selected one of

its three expert witnesses.

In June 1975, the month after the trial court’s decision

Standard & Poor’s and Moody’s each confirmed the —_-

tinuation of the Port Authority’s “A” rating. Standard &

Poor’s, while expressing a concern about the effect of future

Port Authority involvment in mass transit, says: “Despite

this concern, we are continuing our ‘A’ rating on the Port

Authority’s Consolidated Bonds and are also rating the new

Consolidated Notes ‘A’ based upon the Authority’s strong

operating, financial and management record and the pros-

pect for a continuation of this outstanding record.” A 482:

original all in emphasis. Moody’s, also referring to the trial

court’s opinion, continues its “A” rating on Port Authority

obligations because “earnings of the present facilities are

good, reserves for debt service continue strong, and recent

toll increases have further strengthened its financial posi-

tion at this time.” A 484-485.

In July 1976, the Port Authority issued its 42nd series of

Consolidated Bonds. Standard & Poor’s simply continued

its “A” rating without writing a new report. A 1124,

40

Moody’s continued its “A” rating in a report stating that

while the decisions in this case “are a matter of deep con-

cern to bondholders generally,” in so far as the Port Au-

thority is concerned, “earnings of the present facilities

are good and reserves for debt service continue strong.”

A 1126.

That the Port Authority’s high credit rating accurately

reflects the objective unimportance of the covenant is fur-

ther demonstrated by S-36, an 8-page single-spaced publica-

tion of Blyth & Co. on the 36th series issued in November

1970. A 279-292. Blyth & Co. advises the reader that the

series is intended to finance “capital expenditures in con-

nection with the Authority’s airports, docks, wharves, mass

commuting facilities .... A 280; emphasis added. The

Section 7 certification requirement is set forth, the 1.5 test

is duly noted, Sections 4 and 5 of the Consolidated Bond

Resolution are paraphrased, the Consolidated Bond Reserve

Fund is described, the General Reserve Fund and its 10

percent requirement are discussed at length, various coven-

ants are summarized, including the Authority’s promise to

set charges high enough to cover debt service, but not a

word is said about the 1962 covenant.

S-36 is not unusual in regarding the covenant as too un-

important to mention. See, for example, S-22 (J. B. Hanauer

& Co.), S-42 (Bankers Trust) and 8-35 (Blyth & Co.), all

in Volume II of the Joint Appendix below.

3. The unimportance of the covenant and

repeal in the secondary market

Between 1952 and 1962, the Port Authority sold 19 series

of bonds, worth hundreds of millions of dollars, without the

covenant. A 108. Throughout this period, various public

officials and agencies were calling for greater Port Author-

ity participation in rapid transit. A 576-671. While appel-

lant claims without record support that these efforts were

all “illusory,” A.B. 30, that claim is belied by the Authority’s

41

need to extract the “Memorandum of Understanding” from

the MRTC, amend Section 7 in 1958 to add the certification

requirement and constantly drum up “bondholder concern”;

the claim is also inconsistent with the 1959 New Jersey

Assembly report that appellant simply mischaracterizes.

See p. 16 and n.10, supra.

On March 25, 1961, legislation requiring the Port Author-

ity to take over the Hudson & Manhattan Railroad and

containing no covenant was passed by the New York Legis-

lature. A 90. Governor Rockefeller signed the legislation

on April 6, 1961. The secondary market for Port bonds was

unaffected. A 381-384.

In early January 1962, if appellant’s protestations are to

be believed, investor concern should have been at its height.

At its previous session, the New York Legislature had

adopted legislation requiring the Authority to take over the

H & M; the Port Authority had announced in September

1961 that it might agree to do so if certain assurances could

be obtained, A 622, but the Authority had yet to receive

those assurances. Dun and Bradstreet, taking note of all

this, nonetheless rated the Port Authority’s prospects as

“Superior,” A 171, and the Nineteenth series was sold on

January 4, 1962 without difficulty at an interest rate of 314

percent. A 108.

Between 1962 and May 1973, the Port Authority issued

20 series of Consolidated Bonds at interest rates ranging

from 314 percent to 65g percent. A110. Though the Port

Authority was now operating a passenger railroad with

substantial deficits and the covenant might or might not

endure,” bondholder enthusiasm for Port bonds continued

unabated.

In 1973, New Jersey and New York enacted legislation

repealing the covenant with respect to bonds issued after

26. Appellant’s chief witness, Mr. Thompson, testified that he was

aware at all relevant times that under certain circumstances a State

may constitutionally abrogate its contracts and that other pledges

had been repudiated. A 950-951, 952.

4°

May 10, 1973. A 102-108. In June 1973, the Port Author-

ity issued its 40th series of Consolidated Bonds:at an in-

terest rate of 6 percent. Though the covenant didnot apply,

appellant exercised its discretion to buy $2,570,000 of 40th

series bonds for its fiduciary accounts, A 1120,

In October 1973, as New Jersey’s gubernatorial race was

nearing its end, the Port Authority issued $100 million of

its 41st series of Consolidated Bonds. Though the covenant

did not apply to these bonds and candidate Byrne had, as

appellant claims, called for greater participation by the

Authority in mass transportation, the bonds were sold at

an interest rate of 544 percent. A 110-111. In light of these

undisputed facts, the trial court properly concluded:

“[T]t is clear that the interest rates which the Au-

thority has had to pay on non-affeeted bonds [the

40th and 41st series} were not materially affected by

the absence of direct covenant protection.” A 111,

At the trial, appellant attempted to show that the repeal

of the covenant adversely affected the secondary market for

Port Authority bonds. After a careful evaluation of the

live testimony and comprehensive documentary evidence

submitted to him, the trial court concluded:

“The bottom line of plaintiff's proofs on this issue

is simply that the evidence fails to demonstrate that

the secondary market price of Authority bonds was

alversely affected by the repeal of the covenant, ex-

cept for a short-term fall-off in price the effect of

which has now been dissipated insofar as it can be

related to the enactment of the repeal.” A 112-113,

While appellant attacks this finding at length, A.B. 88 to

47, it simply cannot overcome the fact that at the time of

trial the prices for bonds of the Port Authority of New

York and New Jersey and of the Massachusetts Port Au-

thority (an agency selected for comparison by appellant,

A 209-215) bore exactly the same relationship to each other

43

that they did when appellant’s charts began (July 1973)

and immediately prior to the repeal of the covenant, A 111-

112, 210-211, 243, 1119. Even as of August 4, 1976, the

spread between Mass. Ports and New York Ports was the

same as it had been in July 1973, April 1974 and February

1975. A 1181,

Appellant’s statement, A.B, 41, that the “sharp rise” in

Port Authority bond prices “in January 1975” was “caused

by purchases to cover short sales in the preceding month”

demonstrates, if anything, that the prices were artif‘cially

low at the end of 1974, when appellant’s charts as submitted

during Mr, Thompson’s testimony end, see A 210-211, 213-

214, Appellant’s further characterization of the relation-

ship between the bond prices of New York Ports and Mass.

Ports as a “short term technical situation,” A.B, 43, is,

respectfully, ridiculous since the relationship has remained

the same in the 18 months since trial, A 1131,”

Appellant also would have the Court believe that “the

quoted bid prices for the Port Authority bonds since the

repeal are artificially high, because, as noted above, an

attempted sale of any block of Port Authority bonds, which

could have been sold at the quoted price prior to repeal,

would now force the quoted prices substantially lower.”

27. Appellant complains, A.B. 44, that the trial court ignored

evidence cauiee to eaees Turnpike and Indiana Toll Road Tends,

the only issues selected for comparison by Mr. Murphy, A 988, from

“roughly two hundred issues” in which he maintains an active

market, A 975, But the evidence cited in the text demonstrates that

the bonds of the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey

behaved no differently vis-a-vis the Kansas and Indiana bonds than

did the bonds of the Massachusetts Port Authority, See also A 989-

991 (toll road agencies, unlike the Port Authority, do not have one-

third of their assets invested in a real estate market that was severely

depressed in 1974, nor do they have major investments in airports

that were hit hard by the sharp drop in air traffic in 1974), More-

over, the two toll road bonds selected by Mr. 7 went up

sharply in price in mid-1974, accounting for the entire increase in

the spread between the toll road bonds and the New York-New

Jersey and Massachusetts Port bonds, while the rest of the bond

market was declining. A 992-993,

44

A.B, 41. The disproof of this pudding occurred in July

and August 1976 when the Authority issued its $100,000,000

42nd series. Though Mr. Thompson had testified that his

calculations showed that a new issue of Port Authority

bonds “would immediately drop the secondary market for

all other Port issues ... by some 6 to 10 points,” A 940, in

the month following issuance of the 42nd series, the prices

of all three New York Port bonds quoted in The New York

Times increased, A 1131, and the new bonds, offered

through a syndicate including many of the nation’s largest

investment houses, quickly sold out at a premium, A 1124.

Appellant further complains, A.B, 40, that the trial court

“ignored the expert testimony with respect to the ‘thinness’

of the market,” though it admits two pages later, A.B, 42,

that the trial court “referred to the testimony as to the

thinness of the market.” In fact, appellant’s evidence on

this point was contradictory and internally inconsistent.

Appellant’s witnesses, having been sequestered, testified

that: (1) after repeal, people could not buy Port bonds be-

cause nobody would sell; (2) after repeal, people could not

sell their Port bonds because nobody would buy; and (3)

there was a rush of selling. Thus, Mr. Thompson testified

that “all of the professional investors T know” decided to

hold on to their Ports. “As a consequence the flow of bonds

into the market is much less than it normally would be.”

A 879. Mr. Fitzgerald testified that immediately after

repeal, “there was a reasonable amount of selling, but . . .

to have had the selling, you would have to have people who

are willing to stand up and buy bonds as well , . .,” A 1100,

and after repeal investors would no longer buy Port bonds,

A 1092-1093, And Mr. Murphy testified that, “the size of

the market T would say immediately after the repeal was

quite active, I would say that there was substantial selling

of Port Authority bonds. As time went on, it became

increasingly heavier, particularly at the end of the year,

because a number of institutions and fiduciaries availed

45

themselves of the opportunity of selling Port bonds to

establish tax losses.” A 984, Presumably they were sell-

ing to somebody,

In the face of this conflicting testimony, appellant’s fail-

ure to offer any records documenting the volume of pur-

chases and sales of Port Authority bonds, and the evidence

showing no adverse effect on market prices, the trial court

properly found that repeal of the covenant had no signifi-

cant adverse effect on the secondary market for Port

Authority bonds, A 112-113,"

F. Legislative History of the Repeal of the 1962 Covenant

Appellant objects to the above heading in the trial court’s

opinion, A 98, as “misleading because there is, in fact, no

legislative history attendant upon the repeal of the 1962

Covenant.” A.B, 26-27 n.16, Tn fact, as the record demon-

strates, the years immediately preceding repeal saw

repeated and extensive legislative consideration of the vital

question of the Port Authority’s role in rail mass transit.

Relevant legislation was enacted in both States in 1971, in

New York in 1972, in both States in 1973 and again in 1974.

A 629, 703-707. The introducer’s statement annexed to

New Jersey’s repeal of the covenant refers specifically to

the 1972 legislation. A 103, 773. Similarly, during the

1974 legislative debate on New York’s repeal, explicit ref-

erence was made to the efforts over the prior four years to

increase the Port Authority's participation in rail mass

28. Though much of the testimony of appellant's experts about

the market for Port bonds was conflicting and contradictory, there

was no disagreement about one proposition, In response to requests

for advice about whether to buy Port bonds, Mr, Thompson testified:

“With regard to purchase, I simply for the most part agreed with

them that it wasn't a very wise thing to in effect buy into a lawsuit.”

A 882. If anything has happened to the market for Port Authority

bonds, even though the prices do not reflect it and appellant's ex-

perts disagree over what it is, investor reluctance to buy into a liw-

suit offers a classical explanation,

46

transit, A 769, 771-772. This four-year effort was also

cited in the October 1975 report of a Joint New Jersey

Legislative Committee investigating the Port Authority.

A 164,

1. The energy crisis

In early 1974, while repeal of the 1962 covenant was

before the Legislatures of New Jersey and New York, both

States and, indeed, the entire nation, were in the throes of

a paralyzing energy crisis.’ On November 27, 1973, Con-

gress had enacted the Emergency Petroleum Allocation

Act of 1973, 15 U.S.C, sections 751 et seq., directing the

President to promulgate regulations for the mandatory

allocation and pricing of crude oil and refined petroleum

products, 15 U.S.C, section 753(a). In enacting this sta-

tute, Congress specifically found that the hardships caused

by the oil shortage:

“jeopardize the normal flow of commerce and con-

stitute a national energy crisis which is a threat to

the public health, safety, and welfare.” 15 U.S.C.

section 751(e),

On January 14, 1974, the Federal Energy Office promul.-

gated its Mandatory Petroleum Allocation and Pricing

Regulations for monthly allocations of gasoline. The Janu-

ary and February 1974 allocations to New Jersey and New

York were totally inadequate to meet the demand for gaso-

29. Appellant claims that the repeal was proposed b . i

date Byrne “in June, 1973, well bitees the ome cre” AnD

n. 16, In fact, as early as April 18, 1973, there were Presidential

Proclamations establishing the National Energy Office and attempt-

ing to reduce oil imports, see 38 Fed, Reg. pp. 9645, 9657; by June

1973, Governor Love of Colorado had been appointed to head the

eg a — and the President had released a ner state-

on the nation’s energy resource problem, We

June 30, 1973, pp, 1, 20; 38 Fed. R “ wii Pen yew

In any event, the evil existing at the time the Legislature acted

is obviously the controlling factor, and appellant concedes that the

nation was afflicted by a grave energy crisis in 1974, A.B, 56,

47

line in those States. The result was chaos, as most service

stations closed and the few that remained open were

besieged by long lines of motorists, A 552-553, Local law

enforcement, first aid and fire fighting personnel were

inadequately supplied, while ordinary citizens immobilized

by the lack of gasoline and suitable public transportation

alternatives could not go to work, shop for necessary food

supplies or obtain medical service, Jd,

The legislation repealing the 1962 covenant was intro-

duced on February 15, 1974, A 434, 763 n., at the very

height of the energy crisis, Eleven days earlier, the New

Jersey Legislature had enacted the Emergency Energy

Fair Practices Act of 1974, which found “that an energy

shortage now exists and may continue for the foreseeable

future’; ten days earlier, Governor Byrne, in his first

Executive Order, had proclaimed that an energy emergency

existed, A 551-552."

Though there is no shortage of gasoline in the State of

New Jersey at the moment, there was a desperate shortage

immediately before the Legislatures acted and that short-

age could recur at any time. Moreover, the enduring effects

and implications of the energy crisis are very much with

us now, as Congress and the President continue to wrestle

30. Appellant's contention that there was no cope expressed

relationship between the repeal of the 1962 covenant and the energy

crisis, A.B, 56, 66, is disingenuous, As shown by the articles appear-

ing at A 425-438, on February 12, 1974, New my Department of

Transportation officials appeared before the I.C.C. to protest the

Port Authority’s request, in the middle of the energy crisis, for

a 66% increase in the PATH fare, One or more issioners

of the Authority thereupon threatened to withdraw Port Authority

support for new rail mass transit projects that the Authority and the

States had been hoping could satisfy the covenant, New Jersey's bill

to repeal the 1962 covenant was introduced within two days of this

threat.

The relationship between repeal and the energy crisis was also

expressly noted in the New York legislative debate. See pp. 49-50,

infra. And, of course, the relationship between legislation permitting

increased support for mass transit and the energy crisis was obvious

to everyone concerned,

48

with measures to reduce our dependence on foreign oil.

On February 21, 1974, President Nixon discussed the long-

range and “no less difficult” problem the nation would face

when the oil embargo ended and observed: “It is now

widely recognized that the development of better mass

transit systems may be one of the key solutions to both our

eneryy and environmental problems.” A 106, 555-556.

Congress has repeatedly agreed. For example, the

Regional Rail Reorganization Act of 1973, enacted on

January 2, 1974, contains specific findings that “rail service

and rai) transportation offer economic and environmental

advantages with respect to... energy efficiency and con-

servation... to such extent that the preservation and

maintenance of adequate and efficient rail service is in the

national interest,” and that “railroads are one of the most

energy-efficient modes of transportation for the movement

of passengers and freight.” A 107, 547-549. See also the

Energy Supply and Environmental Coordination Act of

1974, 15 U.S.C, sections 791 et seq.; and the National Mass

Transportation Assistance Act of 1974, A 99 n, 29, 719-723.

During the debate on the last of these statutes in late 1974,

Congressman Minish of New Jersey, one of its principal

sponsors, reminded Congress:

“With our present energy situation and the threat

of a renewed crisis in this area, the need for mass

transit aid has become ever more critical. Buses and

rail cars consume only a fraction of the energy that

a private automobile does, yet we cannot expect the

commuting public to reduce significantly its use of

private cars if we do not provide suitable alterna.

tive sources of transportation.” A 721,

See also the statements of Senator Williams of New Jersey

and Representative Abzug of New York at A 720-721, 722-

723.

The energy crisis, which was totally unexpected when the

covenant was enacted in 1962, made it essential that the

49

States invoke their police power to facilitate greater par-

ticipation by the Port Authority in the development of rail

mass transit. The Port Authority, absent the covenant, is

in a unique position to impose higher costs upon the cars

using its bridges and tunnels, thereby discouraging their

use, and to apply the increased revenues from the higher

tolls to improved and expanded rail mass transit. The

Port Authority was, after all, founded upon the under-

standing that great benefits would accrue from coordinated

transportation in the Port District.

The energy implications of this coordinated approach are

obvious and were recognized by appellant’s chief witness,

John Thompson, when he wrote to The New York Times on

May 1, 1974, the day after Governor Byrne signed New

Jersey’s repeal:

“A broad view of urban and energy problems sug-

gests that government should act to discourage auto

traffic into major cities in favor of the greater use

of mass transit. This would probably involve a siz-

able shift of funds from charges imposed on automo-

bile traffic to the support of mass transit; to do this

is an exercise of the state police power, and it should

be done in this instance by the two States themselves,

and applied to all automobile traffic entering Manhat-

tan.” A 245-246.°!

Just a few days earlier, Assembyman Koppell had told

the New York State Assembly during its debate on repeal

that:

“Tf anything indicates the necessity of increased

funds for mass transportation, it is the energy crisis

31. If, as appellant claims, A.B. 56, 66, the relationship between

and the energy crisis is mere coincidence and after- t,

it is curious that appellant’s chief witness made the connection publicly

and immediately and that he recognized the need for an exercise of

the States’ police power. Barron’s too observed immediately that the

covenant “has fallen victim to the energy crisis.” Ja90.

50

in which we are involved and which threatens

our whole society. I think this legislation is critical.

I think this legislation is certainly one of the most

important things that we can do today, and is un-

doubtedly one of the most important steps that we

ean take to improve mass transportation.” A771.°?

The 1962 covenant, enacted in an era of cheap and plenti-

ful oil, beeame a harmful anachronism in the very different

world of 1974. See A 769.

2. Health and environmental factors

The early seventies were also a time of unprecedented

efforts to alleviate the health hazards associated with air

pollution, efforts of a scope and magnitude unknown in

1962. The federal Clean Air Act Amendments of 1970, 42

U.S.C. sections 1857 et seq., provided major impetus. They

authorized the Administrator of the federal Environmental

Protection Agency to establish national air quality stand-

ards and to prescribe, upon the failure of a State to do so,

the steps necessary to achieve compliance with those stand-

ards. A 105.

The technical background with respect to the federal air

quality standards for carbon monoxide is summarized at

A 561-564; hydrocarbons are discussed at A 564-565.

Briefly, the National Air Pollution Control Administration

found that even low concentrations of carbon monoxide af-

fect the senses and produce undesirable cardiovascular

32. In the face of this statement, which is included in the Stipula-

tion and which we have repeatedly cited in the courts below, the first

footnote on page 7 of appellant’s reply to our motion to dismiss said:

“Not one legislator from either state, nor either Governor, publicly

expressed the most casual connection between retroactive repeal of the

1962 Covenant and any energy or environmental lem.” The

second numbered paragraph at A.B. 56 continues to imply strongly,

but erroneously, that no reference was made to the energy crisis dur-

ing the legislative debate on repeal.

51

changes. A 561-562. With respect to hydrocarbons, it found

that their presence in the air causes irritation of the eyes,

upper respiratory tract and skin, visibility reduction and

vegetation and material damage. A 564. As for the source

of the pollutants, the studies are consistent. In the New

York Metropolitan area, an estimated 95.5 per cent of all

carbon monoxide emissions come from transportation. A

561.°° Motor vehicles are responsible for 49 per cent of

hydrocarbon emissions. A 564. Automobile exhaust emis-

sions are “the primary source of air pollution in the City of

New York.” A 104.

On November 13, 1973, after the State of New Jersey

failed to present an acceptable plan for achieving compli-

ance with the national air quality standards for hydrocar-

bons and carbon monoxide, the Administrator of the fed-

eral Environmental Protection Agency promulgated regu-

lations designed to achieve a 67 percent reduction in

hydrocarbon emissions and a 47 percent reduction in

carbon monoxide emissions in the northern part of New

Jersey. A 105; 38 Fed. Reg. 31388 et seq.** The federally

mandated plan for New Jersey includes the “application

of certain transportation control measures including a re-

quirement for a significant reduction in vehicle miles

traveled.” A 105; 38 Fed. Reg. 31389.

The Administrator stated that although the Environ-

mental Protection Agency attempted to avoid the imposi-

tion of “impractical” measures in 1977, the year by which

the State was to be in compliance, “a regulation has been

33. In Friends of the Earth v. Carey, 535 F.2d 165, 180 (2d Cir.

1976), the court observed that carbon monoxide air pollution in New

York City has “climbed to over five times the federal health stand-

ards.” The court ordered enforcement of a federal EPA plan calling

for, among other things, the i ition of tolls on the free vehicular

bridges into Manhattan. 535 F.2d at 171 n. 7, 180.

34. The parties stipulated that judicial notice could be taken of

these regulations, A 567, and they have not been reproduced in the

record. .

52

included to limit gasoline sales in 1977, but it will be used

only if the standards have not been attained by these other

measures.” 38 Fed. Reg. 31389.

As the trial court observed, A 105, the Administrator

emphasized the importance of the development of mass

transit to the improvement of New Jersey’s air quality:

“The development of large-scale mass transit

facilities and the expansion and modification of

existing mass transit facilities is essential to any

effort to reduce automotive pollution through reduc-

tions in vehicle use. ... Many improvements are

being planned in mass transit facilities in the State

that will make it possible for more people to use

mass transit instead of automobiles. . . .

“The Administrator actively supports the immedi-

ate and large-scale purchase of additional public

transportation facilities, including additional buses

and an expansion and improvement in the available

rail transit svstem. The Administrator also encour-

ages close examination of such measures as fare

reductions, State taxes to encourage VMT' [vehicle

miles traveled] reductions while raising revenue to

benefit mass transit, ... elimination of commuter dis-

counts on toll facilities in the affected Regions, and

possibly an increase in tolls during peak commuting

times to encourage carpools.” 38 Fed. Reg. 31389.

The 1962 covenant was at cross-purposes with the

Administrator’s position. By its terms, the covenant

impeded the “development of large-scale mass transit

facilities and the expansion and modification of existing

mass transit facilities,” which the Administrator called

“essential to any effort to reduce automotive pollution

through reductions in vehicle use.” And given the robust

health of the Port Authority’s revenues and reserves, the

Federal Highway Administrator would probably disap-

53

prove,*> and the Governors would never have approved, any

increased tolls on Port Authority bridges and tunnels, as

suggested by the Environmental Protection Administra-

tor, unless some of the new revenue were applied to sup-

port rail mass transit. Yet the covenant, as interpreted by

Mr. Tobin to the Legislatures in 1971, precluded the use of

increased vehicular tolls for rail mass transit. A 689.

3. The Port District’s public transportetion

requirements

The pivotal importance of adequate passenger rail trans-

portation to the welfare and economy of the State of New

Jersey has never been denied by appellant. See A.B. 66,

where appellant finally admits:

35. The tolls charged on the Authority’s bridges are subject to the

Bridge Act of 1906, 34 Stat. 84, 33 U.S.C. §491 et seq., which pro-

vides that the tolls charged “shall be reasonable and just.” The Fed-

eral Highway Administrator is authorized to prescribe such tolls. 32

Fed. Reg. 5607, 49 C.F.R. §148(i) (1). In the Delaware River Port

Authority case discussed at A 724-726, the Administrator said that

“a reasonable and just toll schedule would be one sufficient to sup-

port” all of the Authority’s activities, including a rail mass transit

line, A725, and referred to “the urgent need to structure toll rates

for crossings in major metropolitan areas to encourage use of mass

transit and carpools,” A 726. The Administrator’s order reducing

tolls was subsequently vacated by the Court of Appeals for insuffi-

cient findings with respect to whether the reduced tolls would permit

the Authority to sustain its “total activities.” Delaware River Port

Auth. v. Tiemann, 531 F.2d 699 (3d Cir. 1976). J

ich

In July 1974, the federal Department of Transprtation, whi

includes the Federal Highway Administration, concluded in a report

to Congress that:

“in some areas (New York, Philadelphia, San Francisco),

bridge toll revenues provide significant support for transit

capital and/or operating costs, thereby providing transit serv-

ice improvements which promote decreased dependence on

automobile travel. Therefore, it would appear to be in the Fed-

eral interest to permit the imposition of tolls which would

promote a more efficient utilization of the urban transportation

system. Such a policy would not be unjustly discriminatory but

more appropriately reflect the total costs of using the facility

in peak demand periods.” A 726-727.

54

“Tf it can be said in the case at bar that the ends

to be accomplished are improvement in mass transit,

decrease in air pollution and conservation of energy,

it must be granted that they are legitimate.”

Kven a brief review of the massive record demonstrates

that these were precisely the ends to be served by repeal.

Prior to 1962, public concern with rail mass transit in

the Port District produced little more than a stream of

studies and ‘reports. A 79-80, 605. While these reports

portrayed in graphic terms the continuing deterioration of

rail mass transit in the Port District—a condition to which

the vehicular facilities developed by the Port Authority

directly contributed, A 604, see Stip., pp. 96, 100, 108, 134-

135, 139, 140-141, 154; ix. VII, pp. 125A-126A, 130A-133A

—no significant steps were taken to improve the situation

until the early 1960’s. A 80. Thus, when the 1962 cove-

nant was enacted, no one knew what could actually, rather

than theoretically, be accomplished by coordinated support

of rail mass transit in the Port District.

Since 1962, the public attitude and policy has changed

dramatically from “Why Worry?” A 601. By September

1973, the State of New Jersey had committed more than

$350 million to its program, modestly begun in 1960, to

maintain and improve commuter rail services. Stip., pp.

15, 144.

In New York, it was found, contrary to the 1958 report of

the Metropolitan Rapid Transit Cominission, Stip., pp. 109-

110, upon which appellant relies at A.B. 8-9, that financial

support could be obtained from existing public authorities.

Tn addition to the Port Authority’s modernization and oper-

ation of the Hudson & Manhattan (now PATH), surplus

revenues of the Triborough Bridge and Tunnel Authority,

including additional surpluses created by the doubling of

tolls on vehicular bridges and tunnels, were applied to the

deficits of subways and passenger railroads. During the

59

seven years prior to the end of 1974, the Triborough turned

over approximately $305 million to the New York Metro-

politan Transportation Authority to help support rail mass

transit. A 732.

Despite this substantial infusion of funds in the years

since 1962, the plight of the commuter railroads within the

Port District remains critical, as the Court knows. See

Blanchette v. Connecticut Gen. Ins. Co., 419 U.S. 102, 108,

156, 159 (1974). Beginning in 1967, each of the four private

companies operating commuter rail services in New Jersey

has been involved in reorganization proceedings under the

federal bankruptcy laws. A 81 n.21. The express policy

of the State of New Jersey has been to impress upon the

federal courts supervising the reorganization proceedings

the necessity of continuing most of these rail services. A

546. The most recent comprehensive program of the New

Jersey Department of Transportation, published in Sep-

tember 1973, explained the reasons for this policy:

“Cessation of mass transportation services in these

urban areas would produce intolerable conditions on

the personal lives of the residents of the areas. The

State is now directed by the federal government to

reduce the levels of air pollution in these areas to a

significant degree within the next five years. It has

been determined that the existing basic rail and bus

systems will fail within the next few years unless a

major investment in capital facilities, equipment, and

operating subsidies is provided by the public.” A

546-547.

By 1970, it had become apparent that although it had re-

vitalized the Hudson & Manhattan, the Port Authority had

not kept pace either with its ability or with the need to

increase its participation in rail mass transportation. Thus,

in April 1970, Governors Cahill and Rockefeller announced

a joint program to expand the Authority’s role in rail mass

transit by having it build a rail link to Kennedy Airport and

56

extend PATH to Newark Airport and other parts of New

Jersey. A 99-100, 686.

In March 1971, legislative committees of both New York

and New Jersey held joint hearings on the relationship of

the Port Authority to mass transportation. The commit-

tees heard testimony, summarized at A 687-690, see further

Stip. pp. 223-233, and Stip., Ex. VII, from numerous wit-

nesses, including several recognized experts, to the follow-

ing effect: the Port Authority had substantial funds avail-

able in excess of required interest and principal payments;

the Port Authority’s revenues could be increased substan-

tially by doubling the tolls on its bridges and tunnels ;*° the

largest commercial bank in the Port District had released a

report calling for the imposition of higher and economically

more reasonable charges for the use of highways and river

crossings in order to transfer badly needed revenues to rail

mass transit; the covenant did not add to the security of

Port Authority bondholders and was simply a condition that

the Port Authority made to its assumption of responsibility

for the Hudson & Manhattan; passenger rail ridership

within the Port District had increased substantially as a

result of massive highway congestion, which was also ad-

versely affecting air quality and intelligent land planning

and use; and the Port Authority had “subverted” the ef-

forts of the Metropolitan Rapid Transit Commission as

part of its long-range effort to avoid rail mass transit in

favor of the lucrative development of vehicular facilities.

During the March 1971 joint legislative hearings, Mr.

Tobin stated that even if vehicular tolls were doubled, the

tens of millions in increased revenues “could not go under

the law [to] mass transit anyway ... we could use them for

other facilities supported by the General Reserve Fund, but

36. Executive Director Tobin predicted that doubling the Author-

ity’s vehicular tolls would raise “holy political hell,” A 688, a

prophecy borne out by the reactions to the 1975 toll increase dis-

cussed at A.B. 37-38. The fact remains that despite these reactions

the toll increase is in effect. A 528.

57

you could not, under the law and the constitution, use them

for mass transit facilities.” A 689. The obvious barrier

was the 1962 covenant.

In the light of this evidence, there was extensive discus-

sion during the 1971 joint legislative hearings concern-

ing possible repeal of the 1962 covenant. Assemblyman

Koppell of New York asked whether the covenant could be

repealed “not only for the future, but for the past” on the

basis of the legislative finding “that in the exercise of our

right to protect the people of the two states, we find that

this covenant stands in the way of the proper development

of mass transportation facilities, which is essential to the

people’s good and welfare.” <A 689.

The covenant was not repealed in 1971. Instead, after

the hearings, the Legislatures tried a different course. In

June 1971, they enacte | bi-State legislation authorizing the

Port Authority to extend passenger rail transportation to

Kennedy Airport and to Newark Airport and Cranford.

A 100, 692. In enacting these statutes, see Chapter 245 of

the Laws of New Jersey, 1971, N.J.S.A. 32:1-35.20 et seq.,

the Legislatures made detailed findings concerning the

importance of rail access to the airports. They declared

that, “Additional highway construction to serve these great

airports is not feasible and creates severe problems in

terms of increased air pollution . . .,” that rail access “must

be” provided if the Port Authority airports are “to con-

tinue to serve the economic well-being” of the area, and that

“such an undertaking is found and determined to be in the

public interest.”

The June 1971 legislation sought to avoid the limitations

of the covenant by characterizing the proposed rail links

“as constituting a part of each air terminal.” A 100,

N.J.S.A. 32:1-35.3. However, while this legislation was

pending, the Port Authority obtained opinion letters from

two New York firms, Hawkins, Delafield & Wood and Davis,

58

Polk & Wardwell, both of which concluded that the legisla-

tion would be “ineffective to remove the facilities of the

Project from the ambit of the Covenant.” A 100, 692.

In December 1971, the First Boston Corporation sub-

mitted a report to the Port Authority concerning the

financing of the airport rail links authorized by the June

1971 legislation. A 692-702. The report noted that “the

essential problem” confronting the airport rail links “is

created in the statutes and resolutions by which the Port

Authority is bound; and particularly the joint State cove-

nants of 1962, which in effect prohibit the Port Authority’s

involvement in additional passenger rail transportation

projects unless they are self-supporting.” A 692. The

study stated flatly that the 1962 covenant “precludes gen-

eral credit financing of any passenger transportation

project, no matter how desirable, for which projections

show an operating profit below debt service require-

ments.” Id.

In June 1972, the New York Legislature adopted, and

Governor Rockefeller signed, a bill repealing the 1962 cove-

nant. New Jersey did not adopt similar legislation at that

time. A 101-102.

In November 1972, Governors Cahill and Rockefeller

announced agreement on a major plan of rail mass trans-

portation development for the Port District. A 102, 705.

The Governors proposed the extension of PATH via

Newark Airport to Plainfield, direct rajl service from Ken-

nedy Airport to New York City and direct rail service to

Pennsylvania Station in New York City for riders of the

Erie Lackawanna Railroad.

Commenting on the environmental, energy and traffic

effects of the PATH-Plainfield project, the Port Authority

stated:

“Based on 1985 traffic estimates, the PATH exten-

sion to Plainfield will generate about 9 million auto-

59

mobile and bus miles in travel to and from Corridor

stations. By contrast, if rail service is abandoned

in the Corridor, an estimated 46.5 million auto and

bus miles would be required yearly on the roads lead-

ing to Newark and New York City. The saving of

37.5 million vehicle miles per year will result in less

highway congestion and less air pollution. In addi-

tion, it will be far more efficient in terms of the

utilization of scarce energy resources.” <A 715-716.

The plan was incorporated in bi-State legislation that

also repealed the covenant prospectively. A 102-103; Ch.

208 of the Laws of N.J., 1972, N.J.S.A. 32:1-35.51 et seq.;

Ch. 318 of the Laws of N.Y., 1973.

The estimated cost of the plan was $650 million, and it

was said that the Port Authority would invest between $250

and $300 million for these vital projects. A 102-103; see

also A 385. It was alse said that these projects would be

self-supporting, but if any deficits were to materialize, they

would be the Port Authority’s responsibility. The 1972 An-

nual Report of the Port Authority stated that the necessary

steps were being taken “so that construction might begin as

soon as possible in 1973 on one or more of the projects. The

program is expected to be completed by the end of 1977.”

A 386°387. Nevertheless, the covenant prevented the Port

Authority from proceeding to construction of these legisla-

tively authorized projects. The Port Authority could not

participate in the financing of a passenger rail project

unless that project’s estimated net revenues were them-

selves sufficient to carry its debt service. The condition

proved to be an insuperable obstacle.

As appellant states, A.B. 17 n. 14, in 1972 it was said that

the PATH-Plainfield part of the package might be financed

within the terms of the 1962 covenant through a federal

grant of $150 million, Port Authority participation of $50

million and an advance of up to $40 million by the State of

60

New Jersey, to be repaid by the Port Authority. But it

soon became apparent that this plan was not feasible.*’

The Authority’s application for federal funds, filed in April

1974 just before repeal of the covenant, was rejected by

the federal Urban Mass Transportation Administration

because it failed to include the necessary certification of

how the local financial share would be obtained. A 717.

See also A 393-394.

G. Post-repeal Plans for Financing Mass Transit

With the covenant repealed, the Port Authority could

plan and act to finance PATH-Plainfield sensibly and with-

out any impairment of bondholder security. On April 10,

1975, the Authority announced a proposed increase in its

basie bridge and tunnel tolls (which had remained constant

sinee 1927) to raise an estimated $40 million per year to be

used to help finance the PATH-Plainfield project, the Ken-

nedy rail link, the Erie Lackawanna direct access plan and

an expansion of the Port Authority Bus Terminal. See

A 405-407, 419-421, 528.

The “historic revision” of Port Authority bridge and

tunnel tolls, A 439, 503, expressly effected “to increase its

ability to finance vital mass transit improvements,” A 405,

went into effect on May 5, 1975. The trial court’s decision

sustaining the repeal of the covenant issued on May 14,

37. In December 1972, the Director of the Port Authority’s

Department of Rail Transportation told an Information Session of

the New Jersey Senate that PATH-Plainfield was “barely doable on

a self-sustaining basis,” even if the most optimistic assumptions were

made. A 708-709. By 1975, after a sharp increase in the estimated

cost of the project from $252 million to $347 million, A 398-399,

it was clear that $40 million from the State would not do the job.

New Jersey’s Transportation Commissioner said so and proposed

that the State assume responsibility for operating deficits. A 477.

This is the position appellant characterizes as a unilateral election to

renege. A.B. 18, 36.

61

1975. On May 23, 1975, the Port Authority submitted a re-

vised application to the Urban Mass Transportation Admin-

istration for $277.6 million in federal funds for the PATH-

Plainfield project, certifyiag that the 20 per cent local share

of the capital cost of the project, $69.4 million, would be

obtained from the proceeds of Port Authority bond sales

with the State agreeing to finance any operating deficit. A

527. The covenant would have blocked this plan because

the net revenues of the project are unlikely to equal debt

service. The difference between the two will be made up by

increased tolls on auto traffic. The speed with which the

Port Authority was able to act in April and May 1975 con-

trasts sharply with its inability to certify the financing of

the local share of the PATH-Plainfield project so long as

the 1962 covenant remained in effect. A 717.

qn December 1975, the Urban Mass Transportation Ad-

ministration initially rejected the PATH-Plainfield applica-

tion. A 527-528, 1132-1135. The State then submitted a

revised and more comprehensive financing plan, still pend-

ing before UMTA, pursuant to which the Port Authority’s

capital share of the PATH-Plainfield application was in-

creased to $120 million. A 1139. Appellant agrees that

this plan too would have bee» blocked by the covenant

A. B. 36. Since the Port Authority calculates that the ~

creased toll revenues can support debt service on $400 mil-

lion in new bonds, without any threat to bondholder

security, the Authority is also planning a $160 million

expansion of the Port Authority Bus Terminal and up to

$120 million for mass transportation improvements in New

York. A 528.

The foregoing package will actually enhance bondholder

security while freeing many millions of dollars for mass

transit. The toll rise has been generating over $40 million

in new revenue for more than a year. See A 528. Though

the Port Authority has begun work on the bus terminal ex-

pansion, several years will pass before the Authority will

| |

62

be spending anything like $40 million per year on debt serv-

ice for these projects. Since bridge toll hikes are subject

to federal approval and federal policy strongly supports the

application of revenues from interstate vehicular bridges

to rail mass transit, see pp. 52-53, supra, and since the Gov-

ernors would not otherwise have approved the toll increase,

the extra bond reserves provided by the immediate increase

in tolls could only have been obtained by linkage to a rail

project.

Thus, repeal permitted a coordinated transportation pro-

gram. The fare rise has an automobile-discouraging poten-

tial. The increased revenues support mass transit. Air

quality will he improved, energy conserved. And bond-

holders are not harmed.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

In the courts below, eight judges reviewed appellant’s

claim that the States acted arbitrarily and capriciously in

repealing the 1962 covenant. Not one found merit in it.

As the Counter-Statement above shows, repeal permitted

the States to respond rationally to their critical need

for more mass transit, a need that was dramatically

emphasized in 1974 when gasoline shortages produced

economic chaos and vast disruptions of life in com-

munities without mass transit alternatives. Moreover,

the best scientific data available revealed that pollution

caused by automobiles in the densely populated New York-

New Jersey Metropolitan area has a corrosive effect on

human health. As appellant now recognizes, A.B. 66,

“These problems can only be atta eked by reducing vehicular

traffic partially through the improvement of mass transit.”

Legislation responsive to an existing public health men-

ace and to an unprecedented energy shortage that threat-

ened the economic foundation of the State comes before the

Court entitled to a maximum of respect. These are clearly

63

ees State interests, United States v. Little Lake

isere Co., 412 U.S. 580, 606 n.2

pe , n.2 (1973) Stewart, J.,

Since appellant now admits that those paramount inter-

ests can be advanced only “by reducing vehicular traffic

partially through the improvement of mass transit,” and.

since the covenant was a serious obstacle to precisely that

course, it follows that repeal of the covenant would have

veo constitutional even if it inflicted substantial harm on

renee Yet, as the Counter-Statement also shows,

e private loss in this case is trivial at most. The States’

repeal of the covenant in no way impairs the central

oe that principal and interest be paid when due.

or does repeal materially affect the security that supports

me = repayment ; indeed, appellant does not allege

ere is any likelihood that the bo i

cuanaes e bonds will not be

The immateriality of the covenant to bondholders’ eco-

nomic interesta is evidenced by every objective measure—

whether it he the test of the market place, analysis of the

ae Moo bondholder protections discussed above, or

e Po uthority’s huge reserves f ri

stan s fed by ever-growing

Faced with a record that fully supports these assertions

appellant chooses to deny here a proposition it conceded

helow : that State contracts are subject to legislative

action under the State’s police power.* In reversing

38. See, ¢.g., appellant’s reply brief i

1 £9. reply brief in the Supreme

pe 38: “Defendants’ dissertation on the 0 dg at a

a moo a om By by oy - Clause is superfluous since plaintiff

never tate may modi isi

contract under the color of the police rg TOG

ome (anstaste added); appellant’s trial brief 14-15: “in rare

stances a State's contract may be constitutionally abrogated by a

ee exercise of the State’s never abdicated police powers” and

ee Me sara say of the State’s action is then to be determined b

ncing the interests to be served against the harm done ‘

64

itself, appellant misstates the history of the contract

clause, misreads this Court’s relevant precedents and

advances arguments that are wrong in fact and untenable

in law.

The law is clear that all contracts are subject to State

police power. And the incontrovertible facts of this case

establish that New Jersey’s police power was reasonably

exercised.

The State also maintains that the covenant is voidable,

an alternative ground the courts below found it unneces-

sary to address.*? This Court’s precedents make it clear

that the modification of a voidable contract does not violate

the contract clause. The covenant was voidable because it

improperly amended the Port Authority Compact without

Congressional consent. Finally, the State contends that

the covenant was invalid when repealed because of its

inconsistency with supreme federal law in the transporta-

tion, environmental and energy fields. Acceptance of

either of the State’s alternative arguments requires affirm-

ance of the judgment below.

ARGUMENT

THE 1962 COVENANT IS SUBJECT TO THE REASON-

ABLE EXERCISE OF THE STATES’ NEVER ABDICATED

POLICE POWER.

Appellant’s theory that State contracts, unlike private

ones, are immune from legislative alteration pursuant to

the police power, A.B. 48-54, or subject to special rules

because the State benefits, A.B. 64, turns logic and constitu-

tional history upside down.

39. The argument was advanced at every stage of the proceedings

below, A28-29, 129, 143, but the lower courts preferred to rest their

decisions on the ground that repeal was a proper exercise of the

State’s police power.

65

A. The History of Contract Clause Jurisprudence

Shows That All Contracts, Especially State

Contracts, Are Subject to the State’s Police

Power.

The precise scope the contract clause was intended to

have by the Constitution’s framers is murky, if indeed a

group so disparate shared any common intent. As Chief

Justice Hughes noted in Home Building & Loan Ass'n v.

Blaisdell, 290 U.S. 398, 427 (1934), “[T]he debates in the

Constitutional Convention are of little aid.” Moreover,

unlike much of the Constitution’s language, the phrase

“impair the obligation of contract” has no common law

antecedents to give it shape.

In any event, it is clear that the focus of the contract

clause was private contracts, not public ones. As initially

proposed to the Convention by Rufus King of Massachu-

setts, the clause was limited to them.* He took his language

from the recently enacted Ordinance for the Northwest Ter-

ritory, which precluded laws “that shall, in any manner

whatsoever interfere with or affect private contracts, or

engagements without fraud previously formed.”*! The

broader language of the modern clause originated in the

Convention’s Committee on Style, and no debate informs us

as to the reasons for the change. However, as Wright notes

in THe Contract CLause AND THE ConsTITUTION 15-16

(1938), there is virtually no evidence that the clause was

understood by the framers to apply to public contracts.

Despite the drafters’ preoccupation with private con-

tracts, the clause was held applicable to government obliga-

tions. Fletcher v. Peck, 10 U.S. (6 Cranch) 87 (1810);

Trustees of Dartmouth College v. Woodward, 17 U.S. (4

(1911 4 M. Farrand, Records of the Federal Constitution 439

41. 44 Stat. 1851 (1926 Comp.).

66

Wheat.) 518 (1819). But contrary to appellant’s presenta-

tion, the Court has always been more receptive to alterations

of State contracts than private ones, because of the manifest

public necessity that each succeeding legislature be em-

powered to respond to changing public needs. In time, the

Marshall Court’s rigid view of the contract clause as a

barrier to nearly all retroactive legislation* had to yield to

the expanding responsibilities of government.

The seeds of later views were sown early. First, in Dart-

mouth College, Marshall recognized that the clause was

inapplicable to regulation by the States of their civil insti-

tutions ;** second, in that same case Marshall and Story both

noted that States could limit contract rights by express

reservation; third, the Court ruled in Proprietors of the

Charies River Bridge v. Proprietors of the Warren Bridge,

36 U.S. (11 Pet.) 420 (1837), that public grants were to be

strictly construed against the grantee.

Fourth, and finally, there developed the doctrine of State

police power—that the State must retain power to deal

with certain public exigencies. As noted, the States could

limit contract rights by express reservation, but even with-

out such a reservation all contracts contain implied condi-

tions intrinsic to the “obligation.” For example, government

must have continuing power to protect the morals and

publie health of its citizens. Such powers cannot be frozen

42. A view taken, it might be added, when no other basis for

federal intervention against unreasonable State legislation existed.

Barron v. Baltimore, 32 U.S. (7 Pet.) 243 (1833), held the Bill

of Rights inapplicable to the States; Calder v. Bull, 3 U.S. (3 Dall.)

386 (1798), held the ex post facto clause inapplicable to civil

legislation.

43. He observed, “That the framers of the constitution did not

intend to restrain the states in the regulation of their civil institutions,

adopted for internal government, and that the instrument they have

given us is not to be so construed, may be admitted.” 17 U.S.

(4 Wheat.) at 629. The Port Authority is, of course, a “civil institu-

tion” of the States of New York and New Jersey.

67

by contract, particularly not by contracts made by one

legislature that may be corrupt, misled or misinformed.“

People who contract either know or ought to know that

circumstances may eventuate during the life of a contract

that require its alteration by the State. When such cir-

cumstances occur, exercise of the sovereign’s power, while

it may disappoint expectations, does not impermissibly im-

pair any “obligation” of contract.

In West River Bridge Co. v. Dix, 47 U.S. (6 How.) 507,

032 (1848), upholding the condemnation by eminent domain

of a franchise granted for a term of years, the Court set

forth this theory of implied conditions:

“But into all contracts, whether made between

States and individuals or between individuals only,

there enter conditions which arise not out of the

literal terms of the contract itself; they are super-

induced by the pre-existing and higher authority of

the laws of nature, of nations, or of the community

to which the parties belong; they are always pre-

sumed, and must be presumed, to be known and rec-

ognized by all, are binding upon all, and need never,

therefore, be carried into express stipulation, for this

could add nothing to their force. Every contract is

made in subordination to them and must yield to

their control, as conditions inherent and paramount,

wherever a necessity for their execution shall oceur.”

There is, however, an important difference between im-

plied conditions in private law and the implied conditions

of sovereignty. Private parties can by the phrasing of

their bargains control the scope of implied conditions, but

one legislature, elected for a fixed term, has no power to

hargain away central elements of State sovereignty so as to

44. The wisdom underlying the doctrine is revealed by this case.

We do not question that in 1962 the Port Authority’s management

sincerely believed in its vision of the Authority’s role. It is equally

clear, however, that the Authority imposed on the Legislatures in

order to further that vision. See pp. 15-16, 20, 26 n.15, supra.

68

preclude their exercise by a future legislature. This is not

to say that one legislature can never bind the next, for

plainly it can to some extent despite the general presump-

tion against such a construction. The point is rather that

one legislature, holding the basic attributes of sovereignty

in temporary trust, cannot deny them to the future.

The point was given early expression in Newton v. Board

of County Commissioners, 100 U.S. 548 (1880). There an

1846 Ohio law purported to contract, for good considera-

tion, that a particular county seat would be located per-

manently in Canfield, Ohio. The law was held amenable to

repeal. Justice Swayne said that on many matters the

States were not competent to enter into binding contracts.

These matters:

“involve public interests and legislative Acts con-

cerning them are, necessarily, public laws. LKvery

succeeding Legislature possesses the same jurisdic-

tion and power with respect to- them as its prede-

cessors. The latter have the same power of repeal

and modification which the former had of enactment,

neither more nor less.” 100 U.S. at 559.

Soon after, the Court wrote in Stone v. Mississippi, 101

U.S. 814, 819 (1880), upholding the repeal of a lottery

franchise:

“The question is therefore, directly presented,

whether, in view of these facts, the Legislature of a

State can, by the charter of a lottery company, defeat

the will of the people, authoritatively expressed, in

relation to the further continuance of such business

in their midst. We think it cannot. No Legislature

can bargain away the public health or the public

morals. The People themselves cannot do it, much

45. In West River Bridge Co., supra, the contract did not ex-

pressly preclude subsequent use of the State eminent domain power.

In Pennsylvania Hospital v. Philadelphia, 245 U.S. 20 (1917), the

contract was express and the Court held it invalid.

69

less their servants. The supervision of both these

subjects of governmental power is continuing in its

nature, and they are to be dealt with as the special

exigencies of the moment may require. Government

is organized with a view to their preservation, aud

cannot devest itself of the power to provide for them.

For this purpose, the largest legislative discretion is

allowed, and the discretion cannot be parted with

any more than the power itself.”

The Court expressed the same principle, that on certain

matters one legislature cannot bind another, in approving

repeal of the New Orleans Butchers Monopoly in the sec-

ond Slaughterhouse Case, Butchers Union Co. v. Crescent

City Co., 111 U.S. 746, 750-751 (1884) :

“The denial of this power, in the present instance,

rests upon the ground that the power of the Legis-

lature intended to be suspended is one so indispen-

sable to the public welfare that it cannot be bargained

away by contract. It is that well known but unde-

fined power called the ‘police power’... .

“It cannot be permitted that, when the Constitu-

tion of a State, the fundamental law of the land, has

imposed upon its Legislature the duty of guarding,

by suitable laws, the health of its citizens, especially

in crowded cities, and the protection of their person

and property by suppressing and preventing crime,

that the power which enables it to perform this duty

ean be sold, bargained away, under any circum-

stances, as if it were a mere privilege which the leg-

islator could dispose of at his pleasure.”

The issue is: what are these basic police powers inherent

in sovereignty that cannot be bargained away? The early

cases tended to answer with categories of State activity,

e.g., eminent domain, government institutions, protection

of morals, protection of health, and regulation of key indus-

70

tries ;*° the later cases responded with an understanding

that powers of government cannot be thus pigeonholed.*’

46. The present case falls clearly within three of these, protection

of health, change in civil institutions of government and regulation

of key industries.

47. The trial court’s opinion concisely summarizes the main cases

before Blaisdell, A 119-120:

“During the span of more than a century between Ogden v.

Saunders [1827] and Blaisdell [1933] the court had held on

numerous occasions that the states retained the power to im-

pair contractual obligations—including those to which the state

was a party—in the exercise of their always reserved police

powers to act in the interest of the public health, safety and

general welfare. First in dictum, Boyd v. Alabama, 94 U.S.

645, 650, 24 L. Ed. 302 (1877), and then by direct application

of the doctrine, the court held that a lottery franchise granted

for a definite term of years could be repealed. Stone v.

Mississippi, 101 U.S. 814, 25 L. Ed. 1079 (1880); Douglas v.

Kentucky, 168 U.S. 488, 18 S. Ct. 199, 42 L. Ed. 553 (1897).

In Northwestern Fertilizing Co. v. Hyde Park, 97 U.S. 659,

24 L. Ed. 1036 (1878), it was held that a franchise to operate

a fertilizer factory at a given location could be negated by the

exercise of the police power to abate a nuisance. Similarly,

the power to control the use of the public streets may not be

bargained away, Atlantic Coast Line R. Co. v. Goldsboro, 232

U.S. 548, 34 S. Ct. 364, 58 L. Ed. 721 (1914) ; Denver & Rio

Grande R. Co. v. Denver, 250 U.S. 241, 39 S. Ct. 450, 63 L. Ed.

958 (1919), nor can the state contractually bind itself not to

exercise its power of eminent domain, West River Bridge Co.

v. Dix, 47 U.S. (6 How.) 507, 12 L. Ed. 535 (1848); Penn-

sylvania Hospital v. Philadelphia, 245 U.S. 20, 38 S. Ct. 35,

62 L. Ed. 124 (1917), or to change the location of its govern-

mental subdivisions, Newton v. Mahoning County, 100 U.S.

548, 25 L. Ed. 710 (1880). The broadest expression of this

view of the police power during this period is to be found in

Chicago & Alton R.R. v. Tranberger, 238 U.S. 67, 35 S. Ct.

678, 59 L. Ed. 1204 (1915), where Justice Pitney said:

‘It is established by repeated decisions of this court that

neither of these provisions of the Federal Constitution [the

Contract and Due Process Clauses] has the effect of over-

riding the power of the state to establish all regulations

reasonably necessary to secure the health, safety, or general

welfare of the community, that this power can neither be

abdicated nor bargained away and is inalienable even by

express grant; and that all contract and property rights are

held subject to its fair exercise***. And it is also settled

that the police power embraces regulations designed to pro-

mote the public convenience or the general welfare and

prosperity, as well as those in the interest of public health,

morals or safety.’ (238 U.S. at 76-77, 35 S. Ct. at 682)”

71

The State necessarily retains residual sovereign power to

meet the needs of the people. What counts is whether the

power is reasonably exercised.

The leading case in the transition is Home Building &

Loan Ass’n v. Blaisdell, 290 U.S. 398 (1934). At issue there

was the Minnesota Mortgage Moratorium Law, a statute

that stopped creditors from exercising their time-honored,

bargained-for rights to take possession of and sell the mort-

gaged property. Quite clearly, as the dissent asserted, the

legislation did just what the contract clause was originally

designed to prevent-—provide emergency debtor relief. Nor

could the law be thought a regulation of health or morals.

These categories were not stretched but abandoned. Find-

ing that the contract clause “is not an absolute one and is

not to be read with literal exactness like a mathematical

formula,” the Court wrote: |

“Not only are existing laws read into contracts in

order to fix obligations as between the parties, but

the reservation of essential attributes of sovereign

power is also read into contracts as a postulate of

the legal order.” 290 U.S. at 435.

In trying to limit Blaisdell, appellant emphasizes that

the Minnesota law relieved private parties, not the State,

of contractual duties. The difference was indeed note-

worthy: in the past, States had frequently been allowed to

repudiate their own promises; Blaisdell held that they

could also interfere with private contracts when private

distress rose to the level of public concern. Acceptable jus-

tification for legislation affecting contract rights was no

longer limi

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.