Brief for Appellee — Kremens v. Bartley

Supreme Court brief1977

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Sepene Cont, 1.5

FILEQ

L

2 I

MICHAEL ROBAK, JR_CLERS

Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1976

No. 75-1064

JACK B. KREMENS, et al.,

Appellants,

KEVIN BARTLEY, et al.,

Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

BRIEF FOR APPELLEES

DAVID FERLEGER

2321 Sansom Street

Philadelphia, Pa. 19103

Counsel for Appellees

— eee wn

Se EE PE SD

Weshington, D.C. © CLS PUBLISHERS « LAW PRINTING CO. « (202) 393-0625

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

TABLE OF CASES AND AUTHORITIES ............ ii

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .... ccc cece cree ccccee l

PEPE coc ccdescccccecccescocss 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .......cccccccccccees 5

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ..................065:. 18

SE 646566646 6406 404.008 60940046009.0066% 26

I. Prior to Involuntary Indeterminate Mental

Institutionalization by the State Upon Par-

ental Application, Juveniles Are Entitled to

Substantial Procedural Protections ............. 26

A. The General Right to Due Process Prior

to Mental Institutionalization Is Undis-

puted and Not at Issue in This Case ......... 26

B. It Is Undisputed in This Case That

Juveniles Are Protected by the Due

Process Clause of the Fourteenth

ED 6 6:6656-06:06 6000.66005 4606008 30

C. The Disputed Issue Before This Court:

Does Due Process Apply In Mental

Institutionalization of Juveniles by the

State Upon Parental Application? ........... 33

D. Institutionalization Results in Severe

Deprivation of Liberty, Other Dangers,

Social Stigma, Self-Stigmatization and

SN 6 pnd a tah codndseiccexsds 35

1. Children in the Mental Health

DE Kecie even bee a eedeeseeesee 36

a 2. The Mentally Retarded Child ........... 4]

} i I oad a od ead e 608.008 46

4. Stigma and Discrimination ............. 48

E. Parental Powers Are Limited For the

EE ES Oe ee ee 49

TABLE OF CASES AND AUTHORITIES

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

STATUTES INVOLVED

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Prior to Involuntary Indeterminate Mental

Institutionalization by the State Upon Par-

ental Application, Juveniles Are Entitled to

Substantial Procedural Protections

A.

The General Right to Due Process Prior

to Mental Institutionalization Is Undis-

puted and Not at Issue in This Case ......

It Is Undisputed in This Case That

Juveniles Are Protected by the Due

Process Clause of the Fourteenth

ES eile ere a ba ak oe ie

The Disputed Issue Before This Court:

Does Due Process Apply In Mental

Institutionalization of Juveniles by the

State Upon Parental Application? ........

Institutionalization Results in Severe

Deprivation of Liberty, Other Dangers,

Social Stigma, Self-Stigmatization and

NS ie ee ee ale ang

1. Children in the Mental Health

.60b eds &CAeeE DR eeeae so

2. The Mentally Retarded Child ........

Se 5 areas ene

4. Stigma and Discrimination ..........

Parental Powers Are Limited For the

Protection of Children ...............

a a eS ee ea ees ee ee a ae eS eS eS

Se aeaeeceecen Beet et eee

TT

ooo ae

Tre

(ii)

Page

F. Reliance Upon Psychiatrists Alone to

Authorize Commitments is Misplaced ........ 61

G. Need For and Functions of a Hearing ........ 65

H. The Requisites for a Due Process Hearing...... 67

I. Neither the State’s Regulations Nor the

Revised Statute Affect the Unconstitu-

tionality of Commitment Without

PE GE Cn kk cc ove ec cesescess 75

Il. The District Court Did Not Abuse Its

Discretion in Requiring the Defendant State

Officials to Assure That Juveniles Presently

Committed Receive Constitutional State

Procedures to Determine Whether They Are

Mentally Disabled and in Need of Institu-

Ses’ | -G ES Se Nw os 0 e'ne's 6 60 78

A. Preiser v. Rodriguez Does Not Bar Relief

for Juveniles Presently Committed .......... 78

B. The District Court’s Requirement of

Constitutional State Procedures for Per-

sons Presently Committed Does Not

Violate the Eleventh Amendment .......... 85

Ce 6. o's seabed 6860668660 WO C840 6S 88

I oe ed er ee ee ed eh ee Oe eae’ os oe la

TABLE OF CASES AND AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Ad Hoc Committee on Judicial Administration v.

Massachusetts, 488 F.2d 1241 (Ist Cir. 1973) ....... 87

Argersinger v. Hamlin, 407 U.S. 25 (1972) .......... 71,72

Babcock v. Fisk, 327 Mich. 72 (1950) ...............- 56

Barry v. Hall, 98 F.2d 222 (D.C. Cir. 1938) ......... 27,35

Bartlett v. Bartlett, 221 F.2d 508 (D.C. Cir. 1954) ...... 55

Baxstrom v. Herold, 383 U.S. 197 (1966) .... 18,26,29,62,68

(iii) ,

Page

Bell v. Wayne County, 386 F. Supp. 1085 (E.D.

Dt <Pieecet ena v ed desabedueeeest ss 27

Bellotti v. Baird, __. US. ___, 44 U.S.L.W.

otek ess eee eck wee eee 24,53,69

Bradford v. Weinstein, 519 F.2d 728 (4th Cir.

1974), appeal dismissed on other grounds,

U.S. eS fe} rrr 81

Brown v. Allerton, Civil Action No. 75-0450-R

i es cn oe ob bees 6 06.6 ene ens es 34

€e & se Oe ae 45

Buckholz v. Leveille, 194 N.W.2d 427 (Mich. 1975) ...... 6

Bykofsky v. Borough of Middletown, 401 F. Supp.

ee eae ene ek eee hes 55

Cafeteria Workers Union v. McElroy, 367 U.S. 886

DT <Ctteeticedeek oe hue 664 6% 6-3 4 6.05 6-0 66 68

Chaloner v. Sherman, 242 U.S. 455 (1917) .......... 18,27

Clarke v. Clarke, 178 U.S. 186 (1900) ............... 56

Comm. ex rel. Heston v. Heston, 98 A.2d 477, 173

i 2 ee ii ewe edue cee sees 55

Cornwell v. State Board of Education, 314 F. Supp.

340 (D. Md. 1969), aff'd, 428 F.2d 471 (8th

Cir. 1970), cert. den., 400 U.S. 942 (1970) ......... 55

ee Oe Se ee es ED 6-6 beh % ob é ace ce eeecds 27

Dixon v. Attorney General of the Commonwealth

of Pennsylvania, 325 F. Supp. 966 (M.D. Pa.

DG ¢piiche remands ones Cake ee 27,62,74,76,83

Doremus v. Farrell, 407 F. Supp. 509 (D. Neb.

Ee eee ee Bee eee a oe el te eae 27

Edelman v. Jordan, 405 U.S. 651 (1974) ....... 25,86,87,88

Ellis v. Massenburg, 126 N.C. 129, 35 S.E. 240

ara Lee BAe ree eG ote te ee die la 56

Ex Parte Young, 209 U.S. 123 (1908) ............. 86,87

Francklyn v. Sprague, 121 U.S.215 ...............2. 33

(iv)

Pas

Frazier v. Levi, 440 S.W.2d 393 (Civil App. Tex.

ee Aseret bes cheese . cae 56

Gallegos v. Colorado, 370 U.S. 49 (1962) ........... 31,72

Gerstein v. Pugh, 420 U.S. 103 (1975) ............. 25,81

Gideon v. Wainright, 372 U.S. 335 (1963) ............ 87

Ginsberg v. New York, 390 U.S. 629 (1968) ........... 51

Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970) ............ 70,87

Goldy v. Beal, ____ F. Supp. ____ (M.D. Pa., July

OR ere er ee yp nnn 82

Gomez v. Milter, 341 F. Supp. 323 (S.D. N.Y. ©

1972), aff'd sub. nom. Miller v. Gomez, 412

RS i errs ee eee 81

Graham v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 365 (1971) ......... 86,87

Grannis v. Ordean, 234 U.S. 385 (1914) ............. 69

Greenwood v. United States, 350 U.S. 366 (1956) ....... 63

Haley v. Ohio, 322 U.S. 596 (1948) ........ 30,3 1,60,72,77

Hans v. Louisiana, 134 U.S. 1 (1890) ............... 86

Hart v. Brown, 289 A.2d 385, 29 Conn. Sup. 368

Re ero ee ge ee eT 56

Hartman v. Scott, 488 F.2d 1215 (8th Cir. 1973) ....... 81

Heryford v. Parker, 396 F.2d 393 (10th Cir. 1968) . . 27,29,59,

72,76

Hills v. Gautreau, ee aD 46.6 wie os cede 84

Holtsclaw v. Mercer, 145 F.2d 388 (D.C. Cir. 1944)... ... 55

Horacek v. Exon, Civil Action No. 72-L-299 (D.

Neb. Memorandum and Order of June 4, 1974) ...... 59

Humphrey v. Cady, 405 U.S. 504 (1972) ............ 18,27

Illinois v. Allen, 397 U.S. 337 (1969) ............... 73

In re Ballay, 482 F.2d 648 (D.C. Cir. 1973) ....... 27,48,74

In re Barnard, 455 F.2d 1370 (D.C. Cir. 1971) ........ 27,72

In re Basso, 299 F.2d 933 (D.C. Cir. 1962) ........... 27

In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1966) ........ 19,23,29,32,46,51,59,

60,67,68,70,71,72.77

(v)

Page

In re Henry G., 28 C.A. 2d 276, 104 C.R. 585

CTD ccc cbs edcesenciveveceessereosecess 58

In re Long, 25 N. Ca. App. 702, 214 S.E.2d 626

SED oh cs cd eb ene sens sdicseeeersesesine 34,61

In re Sippy, 97 A.2d 455 (D.C. Mun. App. 1953) ...-. 11,61

In re Smith, 295 A.2d 238, 16 Md. App. 209

Serre: see? . See ee 55

In re Stuart, 114 F.2d 825 (D.C. Cir. 1940) .......---- 55

In re Wellman, 3 Kan. App. 100, 45 P. 726 (1896) ...... 71

In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1969) .........-+-+: 32,33,74

Inmates v. Eisenstadt, 360 F. Supp. 676 (D. Mass.

Err rrr et. TEL TT See eee eee 87

Insuzance Company v. Bangs, 103 U.S. 435 (1880) ....... 56

J.L. & J.R. v. Parham, 412 F. Supp. 112 (M.D. Ga.

1976), stay granted, us .._., “&

U.S.L.W. 3563 (April 15, 1976) ........---005: 34,61

Jackson v. Indiana, 406 U.S. 715 (1972) .......+.+-- 26,73

Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458 (1938) ..........-- 60,72

Kendall v. True, 391 F. Supp. 413 (W.D. Ky. 1975)... . 27,82

Kent v. United States, 383 U.S. 541 (1966) .........-- 31

Kent v. United States, 401 F.2d 408 (D.C, Cir.

SD ou sake eee ee sie eeueseeds Steen eee 14

Kidd v. Schmidt, 399 F. Supp. 301 (E.D. Wis.,

EE Ae oer erry y eee te ee eee 34,61

Langan v. Langan, 150 F.2d 979 (D.C. Cir. 1945) ......-.- 55

Lemon v. Kurtzman, 411 U.S. 192 (1973) .......--+55 85

Lessard v. Schmidt, 349 F. Supp. 1078 (E.D. Wis.

1972), vacated and remanded, 414 U.S. 473

(1974), on remand, 379 F. Supp. 1376 (E.D.

Wis. 1974), vacated and remanded, 95 S. Ct.

PED CISTED cv cccweseceesecescccccons 27,48, 72,74

(vi)

Logan v. Arafeh, 356 F. Supp. 1265 (D. Conn.

1972), aff'd mem. sub nom., Briggs v. Arafeh,

ee Se ee eee renee oo 28

Lynch v. Baxley, 386 F. Supp. 378 (M.D. Ala.

rin, RE nai Rane Piety BP ne Ps 27,72,74

Martarella v. Kelley, 349 F. Supp. 575 (S.D.N.Y.

steaceein hs anand wae waenehe eae ae 87

McKciver v. Pennsylvania, 403 U.S. 528 (1971) .. . 19,24,30,33,

62,69,80

McNeil v. Director, Patuxent Institution, 407 U.S.

EE aie aha teed eed oes oad es de was 27,73

Melville v. Sabbatino, 30 Conn. Supp. 320 (Super.

We WE 66 ORG bee Cid 6 oa eb eee ese 61

Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390 (1923) ........... 34,50

Minnesota ex rei. Pearson v. Probate Court of

Ramsey County, 309 U.S. 270 (1940) ........... 18,28

Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966) ............ 60,85

Mullane v. Central Hanover Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306

eee, EE TE ETE EEC OUET TET RET CE CTE CET 69

New York State Association for Retarded Children

v. Rockefeller, 357 F. Supp. 752 (E.D.N.Y *

OEE Steet Guede abecaenresoteewie ae ea cess 61

Newton v. Burgin, 363 F. Supp. 782 (W.D.N. Ca.

1973), aff'd, 414 U.S. 1139 (1974) .............. 55

O’Connor v. Donaldson, 422 U.S. 563 (1975) .. 18,19,26,35,62

Paul v. Davis, U.S. ___., 44 U.S.L.W. 4337

DEE SEU EOs bee dice eee eke ee wd ae an ae 49

Pennsylvania Association for Retarded Children v.

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, 343 F. Supp.

ee ee OD 5s ok oe ab ee kee ee kk 48

People ex rel. O’Connell v. Turner, 55 Ill. 280

I ot eh aa da aed St eh ee a a 64

People ex rel. Wallace v. Labrenz, 411 Ill 618, 104

N.E.2d 769 (1952), cert. den., 344 U.S. 824

PE Pay ie eS La A aE EE Re 55

—T

CBee «cls cee

(vii)

Page

Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510 (1925) ....... 50,51

Planned Parenthood of Central Missouri v. Danforth,

U.S. __., 44 U.S.L.W. 5197 (July 1,

ED iw dues eddek ss Case eee yees ok 24,53,60

Preiser v. Rodriguez, 411 U.S. 475 (1972) .. 24,78,80,81,82

Prince v. Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158 (1944) ...... 23,50,51

Rafferty v. Rainey, 292 F. Supp. 152 (E.D. Tenn.

errr eer errrrr?. TT Tere ee eee 55

Republican College Council of Pennsylvania v.

Winner, 357 F. Supp. 739 (E.D. Pa. 1973) ......... 55

Respublica v. Keppele, 2 U.S. 197 (1793) (Pa. Sup.

GAR ccbceseesevdedeseeveceuesesecenveces 56

Rizzo v. Goode, 423 U.S. 362 (1975) ..........-00-: 84

Sarzen v. Gaughn, 489 F.2d 1076 (ist Cir. 1973) ....... 27

Saville v. Treadway, 404 F. Supp. 430 (M.D. Tenn.

Perr rere ree Terre TT e ee TTT ee ak 34,61

Specht v. Patterson, 386 U.S. 605 (1967) ....... 18,26,28,62,

68,73,74

Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645 (1972) ...........--. $3

State v. Perricone, 37 N.J. 463, 181 A.2d 751

(1962), cert. den., 371 U.S. 890 (1962) ........... 55

Surrey v. Surrey, 144 A.2d 421 (D.C. Mun. App.

PPP Eee TT eee eT eT eee LECT LTE 55

Suzuki v. Quisenberry, 411 F. Supp. 1113 (D.

SD So i'd bk d 60 Sees inet weviousss CQ

Tinker v. Des Moines Independent School District,

gee fF errr e rr Tree erreeeeeeee 52

United States v. Dunn, 268 U.S. 121 (1925) ........... 56

United States v. Equitable Trust Company of New

WO, Be Ge. PRED. ween seccecssceseses 56

United States ex rel. Johnson v. Chairman of the

New York State Board of Parole, 363 F. Supp.

CI Gea ee CPUEE cee ewer eseeaseeeuucecces 82

(viii)

Page

Ware v. Estes, 328 F. Supp. 657 (N.D. Tex. 1971),

aff'd, 458 F.2d 1360 (Sth Cir. 1972), cert. den.,

ee I es a 55

Washington v. Texas, 388 U.S. 14 (1967) ............. 74

White v. Osborne, 251 N.C. 56, 110 S.E.2d 449

BR ES I One 56

Winegard v. State of North Carolina, 366 F. Supp.

SP ee Os TED Sv ccc kccvencoccccectee 81

Wisconsin v. Constantineau, 400 U.S. 433 (1971) ....... 49

Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205 (1971) ......... 23,24,52

Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539 (1973) ........ 24,80,81

Wyatt v. Aderholdt, 358 F. Supp. 1382 (M.D. Ala.

RE (Ata ae ei aati yg Ne 76

Texts and Authorities:

Alanen, The Family in the Pathogenesis of Schizo-

Phrenia and Neurotic Disorders, 24 Acta Psychi-

atrica et Neurologica Sc-ndinavica, Supp. 189

SER ee he wee ETE Ps re ee eek kan 57

American Bar Foundation (Brakel & Rock, eds.),

The Mentally Disabled and the Law (1971) ......... 70

Barton, Jnstitutional Neurosis (2d Ed. 1966) ........... 36

Baumeister, Residential Facilities for the Mentally

I Sa rs eae 45

Bazelon, Forward, Symposium: Mental Illness, the

Law and Civil Liberties, 13 Santa Clara Law.

UE ee DE w it ee 65

Beck, Reliability of Psychiatric Diagnoses: A

Critique of Systematic Studies, 119 Amer. J. of

PU PUPEUD vnc cs cvc du ccccuccoccces 63

Belknap, Human Problems of State Mental Hospitals

DE REN OTUs eee yhoo a ous us 36

Blackstone, Commentaries on the Laws of England

(Wendell, ed., 1852)

mes ee oh

Ae ee

(ix)

Braginsky & Braginsky, Hansels and Geetels: Studies

of Children in Institutions for the “Mentally

Retarded” (1971)

Braginsky, et al., Methods of Madness: The Mental

Hospital as a Last Resort (1969) .....--+-e0e005

Burt, Constitutional Rights Of, In and For Children,

39 Law and Contemporary Problems 118 (1975) ....

Cohen, et al., Mental Health Services, in Hobbs, ed.,

Issues in the Classification of Children, Vol. |,

f) Prerrrrrrr rT TTT eT Te ee

Cohen, The Function of the Attorney and the

Commitment of the Mentally Ill, 44 Tex. L.

Rev. 424 (1966) once cccccccccccverscccese

Chesler, Women and Madness (1972) ....-.-+++e0085

Dept. of Health, Education and Welfare, NIMH,

Statistical Note 90, Utilization of Psychiatric

Facilities by Persons Under 18 Years of Age,

Ubeload Senses, IDTE 2 ww cc ccccccccscccccccece

Dept. of Health, Education and Welfare, NIMH,

Statistical Note 105, Legal Status of Inpatient

Admissions to State and County Mental Hospi-

pale, Ureltad Senden, 1972 .cccccccveccccccccsens

Dept. of Health, Education and Welfare, NIMH,

Statistical Note 111: Age, Sex, and Color

Variations in the Diagnostic Distributions of

Admissions to Inpatient Services of State and

County Mental Hospitals, United States, ]1972........-.

Dept. of Health, Education and Welfare, NIMH,

Statistical Note 113, State Trends in Resident

Patients — State and County Mental Hospital

Inpatient Services 1967-1973 ... 0.02 0e cece eereee

Dept. of Health, Education and Welfare, NIMH,

Statistical Note 130, Residential Treatment

Centers for Emotionally Distrubed Children

37,38

FOTPTOPE ccc ctccseseacesesenscccceseses 38

(x)

Dept. of Health, Education and Welfare, Mental

Retardation Sourcebook (1972) ............0e05.

Deutsch, The Mentally Ill in America (2d ed. 1949)... ...

Developments in the Law — Civil Commitment of

the Mentally Ill, 87 Harv. L. Rev. 1190 (1974)

Edelman, Goldberg & Werts, The Reliability of

Clinicians’ Judgments: A Multi-Trait — Multi-

Method Approach, 30 J. of Consulting Psy-

I I i oe ee

Edgerton, et al., Mental Retardation System, in

Hobbs, Jssues in the Classification of Children,

e 2 REP 41,44

Edgerton, The Cloak of Competence: Stigma in the

Lives of the Mentally Retarded (1967) ...............

Ellis, Volunteering Children: Parental Commitment

of Minors to Mental Institutions, 62 Cal. L. Rev.

SN ee ra Let eee Ce eae 34,36,65

Ennis & Litwack, Psychiatry and the Presumption

of Expertise: Flipping Coins in the Courtroom,

ee ts Do oS i ee

Eyman, et al., Factors Determining Residential

Placement of Mentally Retarded Children, 76

Amer. J. of Mental Deficiency 693 (1966)

Fleck, Some Basic Aspects of Family Pathology, in

Wolman, ed., Manual of Child Psychopathology

rere RD Sg ees ans T

Goffman, Asylums (1961) .............-00-00-55.

Goldstein, Freud & Solnit, Beyond the Best

Interests of the Child (1973) ...................

Gralicker, et al., A Study of Factors Influencing

Placement of Retarded Children in a State

Residential Institution, 69 Amer. J. of Mental

Deficiency 553 (1965)

aes kh 2 fe £ mw

(xi)

Page

Gralnick, et al., “Mental Patients in Transition” in

Greenblatt, ed., Mental Patients in Transition

CIOBED ccccccccccccceveccccsecsscccveccees 36

Grob, Mental Institutions in America: Social Policy

we OL 5. SPPPTEPTTTT TPCT Cre 36

Harris, Mental Illness, Due Process and Lawyers, 55 1

BMAD GECIGED cccccccccccccceccceecses 72,77

Hobbs, The Futures of Children (1975) ........ 41,44,46,47

Joint Commission on Mental Health of Children,

Crisis in Child Mental Health — Challenge for

Gog PRIDE CTT ccceccccccctsccesecccecesss 4]

Katz, Cole & Lowery, Studies of the Diagnostic

Process: The Influence of Symptom Perception,

Past Experience and Ethnic Background in

Diagnostic Decisions, 125 Amer. J. of Psychiatry

937 (ISEB) onc cccccccccccccesccscsescesess 63

Katz, Goldstein & Dershowitz, Psychoanalysis,

Psychiatry and the Law (1967)... 2... 602-00 ees 36

Kittrie, The Right to Be Different: Deviance and

Enforced Therapy (1971) «2.20 cece eee eee eeee 36

Lee & Temerlin, Social Class, Diagnosis and

Prognosis for Psychotherapy, in Psychotherapy:

Theory, Research and Practice (1970) ............. 63

Lewis, Balla, et al., Psychotic Symptomatology in a

Juvenile Court Clinic Population, 12 J. of the

Amer. Academy of Child Psychiatry 660 (1973)...... 40

Lidz, et a., Schizophrenia and the Family (1966) ....... 57

Lidz, et al., The Intrafamiiial Environment of

Schizephrenic Patients. ll. Marital Schism and

Maritial Skew, 114 Amer. J. of Psychiatry 281 .

(19BD woccecccecsvecsuccaneeeaneeecesees 5

Livermore, Malmquist & Meehl, On the Justifica-

tions for Civil Commitment, 117 U. Pa. L. Rev. sd

i.) Be

(xii)

Meeks, The Fragile Alliance (1971) ...........22006: 39

Miller & Kenney, Adolescent Delinquency and the

Myth of Hospital Treatment, 12 Crime and

COPED 6c ue 66's e686 eb eCeececoces 40

National Association of Superintendents of Public

Residential Services for the Mentally Retarded,

Current Trends and Status of Public Residential

Services for the Mentally Retarded: 1974 (1975) .. 41,42,44

Pasamanik, Divity & Lefton, Psychiatric Orientation

and Its Relation to Diagnosis and Treatment in

a Mental Hospital, 116 Amer. J. of Psychiatry

ARR En 63

Pound, I/ndividual Interests in the Domestic Rela-

tions, 14 Mich. L. Rev. 177 (1916) .............. 54

Rosenhan, On Being Sane in Insane Places, 13 Santa

NE 65

Rosensweig, et al., A Study of the Reliability of the

Mental Status Examination, 117 Amer. J. of

a ee bees 63

Roth, Dayley & Lerner, Into the Abyss: Psychiatric

Reliability and Emergency Commitment

Statutes, 13 Santa Clara Law. 400 (1973) .......... 64

Rothman, The Discovery of the Asylum: Order and

Disorder in the New Republic (1971) ............. 36

Scheff, Being Mentally Ill: A Sociological Theory

i eee ee Oe ee ee ee ee eee 64

Schwartz, Rehabilitation of Mental Hospital

Patients, Public Health Monograph No. 17

ee a ae ee 36

Stanton & Schwartz, The Mental Hospital (1954) 36

Szasz, Civil Liberties and the Mentally Ill 9

Clev-Mar. L. Rev. 399 (1960)

Tizard, The Role of Social Institutions in the

Causation, Prevention and Alleviation of Mental

Retardation, in Haywood, Social-Cultural As-

pects of Mental Retardation (1970) 46

;

4

4

:

;

’

;

(xiii)

Page

Tribe, Childhood, Suspects Classification, and Con-

clusive Presumptions, 39 Law and Contemporary

IEEE 6b. 6 do-e63600-5004660468 00601 34

Vail, Dehumanization and the Institutuional Career

SE, Gectaeendedetearceketesesdeuececdes 36

Weiss & Pizer, Hospitalizing the Young: Is It for

Their Own Good?, 54 Mental Hygiene 498

ST 250k SEC acee dca eek whs 40he 60 40

Wing & Brown, Institutionalization and Schizo-

I ole ad CC eh eee adé es 6044: 36

Wohlman, Children Without Childhood: A Study in

Childhood Schizophrenia (1970) ..........2+005: 57

Wohlman, Family Dynamics and Schizophrenia, 6 J.

of Health and Human Behavior 147 (1965) ......... 57

Wolfensberger, The Origin and Nature of Our

Institutional Models, in Kugel & Wolfensberger,

eds., Changing Patterns in Residential Services

for the Mentally Retarded (1969) ............4-- 45

Constitutional Provisions:

Amendment XI, Constitution of the United

Di ttetdnteadeéedu abegndeavech sees Passim

Amendment XIV, Constitution of the United

DU cviesdndioebes debe aenneennesu< Passim

Statutes and Regulations:

Pennsylvania Mental Health and Mental Retardation

Act of 1966:

SS Se, Ss UE oc cc ccc eseccceceses 5

Sections 402 and 403, 50 P.S. § §4402, 4403 .... passim

Section 404, 50 P.S. §§4404 ..............4-. 5,83

Section 405, SO PS. $4405 .. nn cccccccccccces 5,83

Beetie GER, SOF BOUND ccccccccevcccssves 5,83

Pennsylvania Mental Health Procedures Act, Act No.

De -vedupdtaaveksadeuewnns 2,28,45,49,68,77, 78,83

(xiv)

Page

Department of Public Welfare Regulations, Title

DU 6600606 600600400060 08 dadtéonsenkeuas 5

PRUE «Gwee ene ssene 6000950 64e00868 82,83

eS CE vecnnccehedeteusenee saws 6

PERE Sek Gusebhe bes ba eeeeebesanceuus 80

ocd ¥ ee eed ear

:

s

H

|

|

.

|

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1976

No. 75-1064

JACK B. KREMENS, etc., et al.,

Appellants,

KEVIN BARTLEY, et al.,

Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

BRIEF FOR APPELLEES

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Does the involuntary indeterminate mental institu-

tionalization of juveniles by the state, without notice,

counsel, hearing or other protections but upon parental

application, violate the requirements of the Due Process

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment?

2. Did the District Court abuse its discretion in

requiring the defendant state officials to assure that

juveniles, presently committed, receive constitutional

state procedures to determine whether they are

mentally disabled and in need of institutionalization?

2

3. Does the District Court’s requirement of constitu-

tional state procedures to continue the confinement of

juveniles unconstitutionally committed violate the

Eleventh Amendment to the Constitution of the United

States?

STATUTES INVOLVED

In addition to the statutes reproduced by appellants,

the following statutes were enacted by Pennsylvania on

July 9, 1976.

Mental Health Procedures Act

Act No. 143

Section 103. Scope of Act.—This act establishes

rights and procedures for all involuntary treatment of

mentally ill persons, whether inpatient or outpatient,

and for all voluntary inpatient treatment of mentally ill

persons. “Inpatient treatment” shall include all treat-

ment that requires full or part-time residence in a

facility. For the purpose of this act, a “facility” means

any mental health establishment, hospital, clinic,

institution, center, day care center, base service unit,

community mental health center, or part thereof, that

provides for the diagnosis, treatment, care or rehabili-

tation of mentally ill persons, whether as outpatients or

inpatients.

Section 201. Persons Who May Authorize Voluntary

Treatment.—Any person 14 years of age or over who

believes that he is in need of treatment and

substantially understands the nature of voluntary

LR i ostnty F 4m

ten Set BOA Sa Sih nln te aaa ob te wale es

+ had,

ellen

3

commitment may submit himself to examination and

treatment under this act, provided that the decision to

do so is made voluntarily. A parent, guardian, or person

standing in loco parentis to a child less than 14 years of

age may subject such child to examination and

treatment under this act, and in so doing shall be

deemed to be acting for the child. Except as otherwise

authorized in this act, all of the provisions of this act

governing examination and treatment shall apply.

Section 202. To Whom Application May be Made.—

Application for voluntary examination and treatment

shall be made to an approved facility or to the county

administrator, veterans administration or other agency

of the United States operating a facility for the care

and treatment of mental illness. When application is

made to the county administrator, he shall designate

the approved facility for examination and for such

treatment as may be appropriate.

Section 204. Notice to Parents.—the director of the

facility shall promptly notify the minor's parents,

guardian, or person standing in loco parentis, and shall

inform them of the right to be heard upon the filing of

an objection. Whenever such objection is filed, a hearing

shall be held within 72 hours by a judge or mental

health review officer, who shall determine whether or

not the voluntary treatment is in the best interest of

the minor.

Section 206. Withdrawal from Voluntary Inpatient

Treatment.—(a) A person in voluntary inpatient treat-

ment may withdraw at any time by giving written

notice unless, as stated in section 203, he has agreed in

writing at the time of his admission that his release can

be delayed following such notice for a period to be

specified in the agreement, provided that such period

shall not exceed 72 hours.

4

(b) If the person is under the age of 14, his parent,

legal guardian, or person standing in loco parentis may

effect his release. If any responsible party believes that

it would be in the best interest of a person under 14

years of age in voluntary treatment to be withdrawn

therefrom or afforded treatment constituting a less

restrictive alternative, such party may file a petition in

the Juvenile Division of the court of common pleas for

the county in which the person under 14 years of age

resides, requesting a withdrawal from or modification of

treatment. The court shall promptly appoint an

attorney for such minor person and schedule a hearing

to determine what inpatient treatment, if any, is in the

minor’s best interest. The hearing shall be held within

ten days of receipt of the petition, unless continued

upon the request of the attorney for such minor. The

hearing shall be conducted in accordance with the rules

governing other Juvenile Court proceedings.

(c) Nothing in the act shal! be construed to require a

facility to continue inpatient treatment where the

director of the facility determines such trcatment is not

medically indicated. Any dispute between a facility and

a county administrator as to the medical necessity for

voluntary inpatient treatment of a person shall be

decided by the Commissioner of Mental Health or his

designate.

Section 501. Effective Date and Applicability.—This

act shall take effect 60 days after its enactment and

shall thereupon apply immediately to all persons

receiving voluntary treatment. As to all persons who

were made subject to involuntary treatment prior to the

effective date, it shall become applicable 180 days

thereafter.

J

5

Section 502. Repeals.—(a) The definition of “mental

disability” in section 102, and sections 401, 402, 403,

404, 405, 406, 407, 408, 409, 410, 411, 412, 413,

416, 418, 419, 420 and 426, act of October 20, 1966

(3rd Sp. Sess., P.L. 96, No. 6), known as the “Mental

Health and Mental Retardation Act of 1966,” are

hereby repealed, except in so far as they relate to

mental retardation or to persons who are mentally

retarded. * * *

Section 503. Severability.—If any provision of this

act including, but not limited to, any provision relating

to children or the application thereof including but not

limited to an application thereof to a child is held

invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions

or applications of the act which can be given effect

without the invalid provisions or application and to this

end of the provisions of this act are declared severable.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On November 16, 1972, plaintiffs filed this class

action against state officials' challenging those portions

1The defendants included the Secretary of the Department of

Public Welfare of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania which “has

the power and duty to enforce” the state mental health law, to

“make ali regulations necessary and appropriate,” and to

“operate and assign functions to all state facilities.” and the

Deputy Secretary for Mental Health and Mental Retardation

(277a). The superintendent of Haverford State Hospital, who is -

responsible for receiving applications for admission, commitment

and release under the challenged statutes, was “sued as

representative of the directors of all mental health facilities in

Pennsylvania,” all of which are under the authority of the

defendants Secretary and Deputy Secretary (275a). In Pennsyl-

vania, all mental institutions, public and private, are facilities

subject to the statute and regulations. 50 P.S. §4102.

Department of Public Welfare Regulations, Title 9100 (29 1a).

6

of Pennsylvania mental health statutes which permit the

state to detain persons eighteen years of age or younger

in mental institutions without substantial procedural

protections including, infer alia, notice, counsel and

opportunity for hearing. “In essence, plaintiffs claim

that the present procedures do not adequately assure

against the mistaken commitment of children who are

not mentally ill.” 786a-787a; District Court Oninion,

402 F. Supp. at 1042 - 1043.?

A three-judge court was convened pursuant to 28

U.S.C. §§2281, 2284, and, prior to trial, extensive

factual stipulations were entered into. At a three day

hearing before the three judges, the testimony of six

expert psychiatrists was heard. The depositions of three

other psychiatrists were entered into evidence.

The class on whose behalf this action is maintained *

includes “‘children who allegedly are mentally ill as well

?For convenience, all references to the District Court’s

reported opinion include the official citation thereof, 402 F.

Supp. 1039 (E.D. Pa. 1975), in addition to reference to the

Appendix.

’The defendants agreed to the District Court’s suggestion that

a guardian ad litem be appointed for the plaintiffs pursuant to

Rule 17(c) of the Federal Rules of Civi! Procedure: “With regard

to the technicality involved, I am really at the courts’ pleasure. I

really do not object to the going through with Mr. Ferleger as a

next friend.” (250a). Thus, the issue suggested in an amicus brief

of whether juveniles can ever initiate litigation by a next friend

or guardian ad litem is not raised in this case. Brief of Michigan

Association for Emotionally Disturbed Children amicus curiae.

Regardless, federal courts have uniformly exercised their power

under Rule 17(c) to protect minor litigants’ interests where

potential for parent-child conflict was present. E. g., Roberts v.

Ohio Casualty Insurance Co., 25: F.2d 35 (Sth Cir. 1958).

The law in Michigan is equally clear and adverse to the amicus

which fails to cite the leading case of Buckholz v. Leveille 194

N.W.2d 427 (Mich. 1975).

7

as children who allegedly are mentally retarded” (783a),

402 F. Supp. at 1041, n.1, who “have been, are, or

may be admitted or committed to mental health

facilities in Pennsylvania under the Pennsylvania Mental

Health and Mental Retardation Act (Act)” (7832

784a).*

Named Plaintiffs

The named plaintiffs were five of the twenty-four

juvenile retarded and mentally ill patients confined at

Haverford State Hospital under the challenged statutes

at the time the action was commenced (133a-134a).°

They were confined after a psychiatric examination

which lasted “anywhere from an hour to three quarters

of an hour” (47a) “or shorter.” Jd. The reasons for

admission of these persons (as stated by the hospital)

were varied and included truancy, incorrigibility,

homicidal and suicidal behavior, chaotic family, talking

incoherently, rebellion, aggressive behavior, threats and

assaults to family members, temper tantrums, sexual

acting out, foul language, drug use and hallucinations

(135a-165a). Treatment for the group included drugs,

individual, group and family therapies, confinement to

closed locked units, schooling, and confinement in

seclusion rooms. /d.

‘This inclusive class definition was uncontested by the

defendants although they now undertake to criticize it. Brief for

Appellants at 28, n. 16, 48; (27Sa).

‘Bight additional juveniles were confined there under other

sections of the law (133a - 134a). Children are held as civil

“voluntary patients in the same treatment unit as those on

criminal commitments.” See Deposition of Dr. Barbara Arms-

trong (38a et seq., 135a - 165a).

8

At least ten of the juveniles were recorded as having

objected to institutionalization at the time of admis-

sion; seven more objected after admission (122a-124a).°

One “‘preferred to come rather than go to jail’”’ (122a).

A summary of the commitment experiences of each

of the named plaintiffs illustrates the fact patterns

common to the class.’

Plaintiff K. B. was, and still is, critical of the hospital

and believes that some of the hospital’s regulations are

arbitrary, that the staff played favorites with patients,

that unnecessary punishments were imposed for minor

rule infractions, and that patients were transferred to

locked wards as punishment for mere allegations of

wrong doing (277a-278a).® K. B. was diagnosed as a

person with “Organic Brain Syndrome with epilepsy”

and an “explosive personality.”” The hospital had some

difficulty in its “efforts to work with his mother to

allow her to become more receptive to his return to his

home and community” (180a).

Electro-convulsive treatment (E. C. T.) was adminis-

tered to plaintiff S. G. who was confined due to “his

having become violent and aggressive towards his family

and younger children in his neighborhood.’ He also

received “high dosages of medication”. Despite 61

*Juveniles whom the hospital psychiatrist considered

“incompetent” to intelligently voice an objection are not

included (122a - 124a). A number of these persons were deemed

retarded. |

7The statements are taken from either the parties’ factual

stipulations or hospital-prepared narrative summaries. See 166a et

seq.

®Defendants admit that K. B. was critical as described but

deny the validity of his beliefs (278a).

9

therapy sessions spaced over 15 months, his improve-

ment was only marginal (172a-173a).

Plaintiff L. L.’s parents are divorced; her father is

remarried and living in Florida; she would have (at the

time of her commitment and the time this action was

filed) liked to have been with her father because she

gets along well with him. Every time she visits with her

father, her behavior is excellent. L. L.’s difficulties in

relating to her mother resulted in her commitment.

Hospital records indicate Levine threatened the lives of

her mother and sister and that she has a “personality

disorder.” (278a).

One expert testified that it is typical of many

adolescents that, as in L. L.’s case, they will behave

poorly and need hospitalization in one environment or

with one parent, yet their behavior will be excellent

and they will not need treatment in another environ-

ment or with the other parent (625a-628a). L. L.’s

mother and her two sisters participated with her in

therapy sessions “prior to admission because of family

quarrels” (166a).? Diagnosed “adolescent adjustment

reaction,”” L. L. was discharged to live with her father

in Florida” (168a).

M. W. was transferred to Haverford State Hospital

after an overnight stay at another facility for ingestion

of valium and possible glue sniffing. “‘Past psychiatric

history included the patient having been placed on

probation after a drug abuse charge and a court

°“On the day of admission the patient felt as she stated

‘closed in’ by the mother and she threatened the mother with a

kitchen knife. The mother contacted Dr. Aemowitz who

recommended hospitalization at Haverford State Hospital”

(166a).

10

evaluation....M has a 1% year history of

underachieving, truancy and drug abuse.” (169a).

Treated with drugs and psychotherapy, M. W. was at

one point placed on leave and “brought back by the

police after being questioned due to false accusation of

stealing” (171la). During the months of his commit-

ment, M. W. complained that he was being confined

involuntarily (17Qa).

One plaintiff, 15 year old V. M., had run away from

home (after a psychiatrist advised her family to let her

live away from home) when she was brought to the

mental institution by the police “after being picked up

in the park in an incoherent, assaultive state along with

several young men” (174a). With a background

including runaways and drug use, V. M., the hospital

stated, “vented much hostility towards her family,

particularly her father, ‘My family is screwed up. What

can I do? I tried running away and it just got me in

jail’ ” (17Sa).

The hospital found “no evidence of a thought

disorder” in V. M. and described her “as a frightened

girl, who was attempting to strike out at her

surroundings in self defense.” (175a). V. M.’s family

wanted her outside of the home and the hospital agreed

(176a) noting that “it seemed desirable to remove the

patient from the family setting because the family had

been so rejecting of her and scapegoating her’ (177a).

If the family could not afford a residential institution,

the hospital “recommended that the family take the

patient to court to be declared incorrigible” (177a).

The family succeeded in their desires; V. M. was

‘onsferred to the Devereaux School, a mental health

facility.”®

Under the protection of a court order forbidding

retaliation against them, two juveniles, D. D. and A. M.,

provided the District Court an uncontradicted descrip-

tion of their experiences (34a-37a). |

Prior to his commitment under the challenged

statutes, there was conflict at home between D. D. and

his parents who, due to their own poor physical and

emotional reserve, were thought by the hospital to be

“likely unable to cope with the future demands” D. D.

would make on them. (778a). D. D. was reported to

have been truant from school and to have been an

uncooperative out-patient.

D. D. was on probation from the juvenile court for

truancy. He broke probation but, on recommendation

of someone at the county courthouse, D. D.’s parents

brought him to the hospital:

When I got to the hospital, the doctor, Dr. Kratsa,

wanted me to go to reform school. My parents

kept saying no. They made it sound like if I didn’t

come here I'd be going to reform school. So I said

yes. that’s how they tricked me.

10The Devereaux School’s protestations to the contrary

notwithstanding, see Brief of Devereaux School amicus curiae, it

clearly does not function as a traditional educational facility.

Licensed to provide mental health and mental retardation care, it

serves oily disabled persons and is subject to the state laws

chaliecged here. See In Re Sippy, 97 A.2d 455 (D.C. Mun. App.

1953) (holding that child has right to independent counsel prior

%) commitment to Devereaux School, “a psychiatric school”). In

any case, because Pennsylvania commitment laws apply to all

facilities, public and private, and because of the class defendant

representing all facility directors, see note 1 supra, the issue

suggested in the amicus brief is not before the Court.

12

At the institution, on one occasion, D. D. was restricted

because he “didn’t do clean-up.” For not accepting the

restriction, he was sent for five days “‘up the hill” to a

locked building where he was subject to homosexual

advances. D. D. also got into trouble at the hospital for

possession of phenobarbitol tablets which he—and other

juveniles—obtained in the hospital.

A. M. was committed to Haverford State Hospital

upon transfer from the University of Pennsylvania

Hospital. Age 15, he was depressed and preoccupied

with suicide. A. M.’s uncontradicted description of his

hospital stay is graphic:

When I first got here they pushed me into a room

and told me to take off my clothes and put on

pajamas. Then they took me up to the fifth floor.

I wasn’t expecting to be locked up. It really drives

you crazy. They didn’t explain anything to

me—they put you up there and that’s it. My

mother says if she knew that she wouldn’t have

put me in here. I was up there 3 or 4 days before

I was sent to Building 9.

They threaten you here—that’s the really bad part.

You do what we say or you go up the hill or

something—restrictions. Like me _e and

D D — we'll probably get sent up the

hill again cause we didn’t go to our half hour of

art therapy. D got sent up for five days

because he wouldn’t take his restrictions. They

don’t care—they don’t care about anything. The

evening and late night staff stinks. The only staff

that really cares is the day staff.

I got transferred to Building 4 one night. I cut

myself on purpose. My hands were bleeding and

they said | was going for a tetanus shot. They

didn’t explain what they were doing or tell you

they were taking you up. They should at least

4

13

have told my parents. I would still be there but

my doctor, Dr. Kratsa, got me back the next day.

If you get sent up on a Friday, and your doctor is

only here Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday,

you'll be there till next Tuesday at least. Do you

think you can do anything about the restrictions

and us getting sent up the hill? (34a-35a).

The Class

The record before the District Court includes

information regarding the mental institutionalization of

all the thousands of juveniles in Pennsylvania facilities

as of May 31, 1973 (310a-316a)."’

The facts in the following eight numbered paragraphs

are stipulated by the defendants: '?

1. Children have been institutionalized in Pennsyl-

vania mental health facilities for the following reasons

as noted by the institution: “Runaway, incorrigible,”

“Violent episodes,” “Hostile, attacked children, attemp-

ted to set home on fire,” “Robbed gas station,” “Stole

''This information was provided in response to plaintiffs’

interrogatories which were transmitted to all facilities by means

of a questionnaire which called for reports of the “reason” or

“precipitating behavior” for commitment (27a, 773a). The

extensive data are collated and summarized at 210a et seq.

"The stipulation and admission of these facts (522a-523a)

was preceded by the defendants’ objection that additional data

from the juveniles’ medical records should be before the court

(288a). To satisfy this objection, the court and parties agreed

that the records of ten randomly selected juveniles could be

introduced into evidence (317a - 363a). In the listing in the text,

only representative cases are noted with the name of the facility

and patient number eliminated. In each case, the words used are,

verbatim, the words with which the institutions themselves

justified the commitment.

14

truck, car,” “Member of gang which participated in

robbery,” “Delinquent behavior,” “Arson,” “Run-

away,” “Runaway, truancy, delinquent behavior.”

2. Mental health facilities sometimes cooperate with

parents and relatives “farming out their kindred into

mental institutions for motives not always worthy.”

3. Children have wound up at institutions for the

following reasons, in addition to their being mentally

retarded:

“Interim placement while family was on vaca-

tion.” **

A mother placed her child at Western because

“father out of household in the military.”

“Hyperactivity interfered with the routine of

household and disturbed family members.”

Western accepted another child from a mother

because of “‘desertion of father.”

In another case, a mother and a father who

themselves had emotional difficulties institu-

tionalized their child because they held the

“problems of the child...responsible for their

emotional adjustment.”

Also, “Family conflicts,” “Family problems, needed

separation from the family,’ “Unmanageable at home,

attitude of bold indifference, resents all discipline,

'3Kent v. United States, 401 F.2d 408, 416, n. 4 (D.C. Cir.

1968) (Burger, J., dissenting).

More than ten months after this “vacation,” this individual

was reported still at the institution; he was committed on July

20, 1972 for a one to two week expected stay. The facility

reported the individual s*") committed as of May 31, 1973 (355a

- 362a, 773a). The defem@ants incorrectly state that this

commitment was part of a state-encouraged respite care program.

Brief for Appellants at 48.

15

compulsive eating,” “Runaway, conflict with parents,”

“‘Neglect, Social Deprivation,”’ “Neglect, unstable home

environment,” “Mother has tuberculosis,” ‘Emotional

instability of mother,” “Hospitalization of mother is

apparent reason for admission,” “No serious behavior

problem; admitted due to parents’ inability to provide a

satisfactory home environment,” “Sometimes hyper-

active. Illegitimate,” “Illegitimate. Inadequate mother.”

4. One facility accepted a young boy because “He

has no playmates, planned activities, exercise. Presently

he does nothing except sit in school and in front of the

T.V. at home.”

5. Three juveniles were committed to mental institu-

tions because of physical ailments: ulcerated colitis, a

psychosomatic complaint, weight loss.

6. There are five juveniles in one hospital for not

going to school.

7. A number of juveniles are committed for

drug-related activities. One juvenile for a “fake drug

overdose”.

In Pennsylvania, 503 juveniles were committed in

1972 under Sections 402 and 403 to twenty-one state

institutions for the mentally ill; 130 juveniles entered

after a court hearing under Section 406 (315a). That

same year, 317 juveniles entered nine state institutions

for the retarded under the challenged statutes and 39

were committed upon a Section 406 hearing (314a). A

substantial number of juveniles are committed not by

their parents but rather by welfare or social agencies

(310a-3 13a).

16

District Court Decision

The District Court determined that “the state is

required to provide substantial procedures when there is

the possibility of erroneously and wrongfully depriving

persons of their liberty by committing them to mental

institutions.”” 402 F. Supp. at 1045 (citations omitted);

793a. The stigma and incarceration associated with

mental commitments were found to command the

observance of due process. Recognizing that “[i]n

deciding to institutionalize their children, parents, as

well as guardians ad litem or persons standing in loco

parentis, may at times be acting against the interest of

their children,” the District Court held that parents

“may not effectively waive personal constitutional

rights of their children.” 402 F. Supp. at 1047-1048;

798a.

The District Court held that, before they may be

institutionalized, plaintiffs and their class are entitled to

a probable cause hearing, a post-commitment hearing,

written notice, counsel, and if indigent the right to

appointment of free counsel, a finding by clear and

convincing proof that they are in need of institutionali-

zation, and other rights. 402 F. Supp. at 1053;

810a-81 1a.

The court noted that it did not “intend nor expect

that all of these procedures will be required every time

an attempt to institutionalize a child is made.” 81 la, n.

26; 402 F. Supp. at 1053, n. 26. With the exception of

the rights to notice and counsel, these rights may be

waived by the child (or, in some specified circum-

stances, by counsel) upon approval by the unbiased

tribunal. /d.

17

After the opinion in this case issued on July 28,

1975, and while the District Court had under

consideration the parties’ proposed orders, the Pennsyl-

vania Supreme Court initiated contact with the Federal

Court with regard to the necessity of state court

involvement in future hearings.’* The state court did

not seek any formal involvement’® and, in fact,

expressed appreciation for the opportunity to be

‘involved in the drafting of a final Order” in this

case.'7 The Pennsylvania Supreme Court indicated that

it would provide the hearings contemplated by the

proposed order, stating ““We are aware that perhaps five

thousand hearings or more may have to be conducted

within the next several months, and are preparing to

shoulder that hearing responsibility with full coopera-

tion to your Honorable Court.”’'®

The final order of the Three-Judge Court unani-

mously granting injunctive and declaratory relief was

entered on November 17, 1975 and required the

defendants to “refrain from accepting or continuing the

admission or commitment’ of class members without

the opportunity for hearing.

The court also declared that in the interim until “‘an

alternate neutral tribunal’ was created by the legisla-

ture, the facilities of the state court system should be

used to provide due process hearings.

'SThe full correspondence between the courts is reproduced at

the Appendix below.

16We realize that we are not a formal party to these

proceedings and that our involvement must therefore be

peripheral.” Appendix, infra, letter of October 15, 1975 from

Judge Barbieri to Judge Huyett.

a Fr |

'80Op. cit., supra note 16.

18

Revised Statute

On July 8, 1976, Pennsylvania enacted a statute

which affects a small portion of the plaintiff class.'®

About 80% of the class are retarded, Brief for

Appellants at 48, n. 42, and the revised law does not

affect this group at all; they are still subject to the

statute and regulations determined unconstitutional by

the District Court. For the remaining 20%, the new law

lowers the age for parental commitment from 18 to 14,

thus continuing a procedure identical in operation to

that dealt with by the court below, which was aware of

the legislature’s proposals.”°

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

1. It is undisputed in this case that the state must

generally provide substantial due process procedures to

protect persons from erroneous commitment to mental

institutions. Baxstrom v. Herold, 383 U.S. 197 (1966);

Specht v. Patterson, 386 U.S. 605 (1967); Humphrey v.

Cady, 405 U.S. 504 (1972). See O'Connor y.

Donaldson, 422 4J.S. 563 (1975); Chaloner v. Sherman,

242 U.S. 455 (1917); Minnesota ex rel. Pearson y.

'9The relevant portions are reproduced supra at 2-5.

The regulations adopted by the state apply to persons 13

and older. See Brief for Appellants at 9-15 and the Dissent,

814a-823a; 402 F.Supp. at 1054-1055. The revised law, like the

regulations, also includes a procedure whereby, at some indefinite

time after commitment, institutionalization may sometimes be

challenged. The legislature’s proposal for reducing the age for

parental commitment from 18 to 14 is discussed with the

District Court at 240a-241a.

19

Probate Court of Ramsey County, 309 U.S. 270

(1940).

2. It is similarly undisputed here that deprivation of

a juvenile’s liberty by the state for the purpose of

treatment and rehabilitation must be accompanied by

due process procedures which assure accurate fact-

finding. In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967); McKeiver vy.

Pennsylvania, 403 U.S. 528 (1971).

3. The sole disputed question raised on the merits of

this case is whether the recognized due process

protections apply where the state involuntarily and

indeterminately institutionalizes juveniles in mental

hospitals upon parental application and without notice,

counsel or opportunity for hearing.

4. Confinement in a mental institution deprives

persons of their constitutional “right to liberty,”

O’Connor v. Donaldson, 422 U.S. 563 (1975), by

placing them in a “total institution’ in which every

aspect of their lives is regulated by typically impersonal

authority. The dangers and potential negative effects of

institutional treatment programs are well-known; the

process results in what one of the nation’s foremost

child psychiatrists called, in testimony for the defen-

dants, “an emotional deficiency disease.”

5. Institutions are generally underfinanced, under-

staffed and overcrowded. One study notes that the

common practice of moving institutionalized juveniles

and staff from one ward to another can be devastating;

during a 3% year period, at least 99 different day staff

were on duty with the children being cared for by a

total of 246 different adults. The children were each

moved at least twice and some as many as eighteen

times.

20

6. Children of differing age and disability are

affected in varying ways by the mental health system.

Few infants or young children receive specialized

services; when disturbances are noted, one professional

commentary states, “they are often inaccurately

diagnosed.”” School-age juveniles are more likely to

become involved with the mental health system in

which they may be placed in one of the residential

treatment centers which have sprouted across the

country in recent years. The literally dehumanizing

effects of these facilities are described in a study

written for the federally-supported Project on the

Classification of Exceptional Children, created at the

prompting of former Secretary of Health, Education

and Welfare Elliot L. Richardson:

A situation of special danger arises, however, from

the quality of many residential “treatment cen-

ters,” which are in reality end-of-the-road custodial

placements. Thousands of children have been saved

by authentic, intensive residential treatment. Many

more thousands have probably been sent to death

during life in children’s units of large public

institutions.

7. Stormy adolescence often results in a loss of

control by both parents and children. The conflicts

which develop may lead to parental requests for

assistance to the state’s social sanction systems, juvenile

court or mental health. Just as a large proportion of

juveniles seen in juvenile court might more appropri-

ately be referred to the mental health system, many

young people in menta! hospitals would be appropriate

candidates for delinquency proceedings. If reform

school is the chosen option, the child gets a lawyer

and a hearing; the child gets neither if hospitalization is

21

the choice. “The admission of teenagers to the state

hospitals has risen something like 150 percent in the

last decade. Instead of being helped, the vast majority

are the worse for the experience.’ These are the

conclusions of the Joint Commission on Mental Health

of Children, created by Congress in 1965.

8. Despite common stereotypes, it is not simply the

degree of intellectual and physical impairment which

determines whether a mentally retarded person is

institutionalized. Equally crucial are the extent of

family disorganization, parental attitudes toward child-

rearing and mental retardation, demographic charac-

teristics, availability of community resources and the

professional philosophies of those consulted for advice.

Parents of retarded persons are driven to seek

institutionalization by the state as a means of securing

relief from severe physical and emotional burdens and

because of a lack of finances and adequate community

resources.

9. Across the country, there are thousands of

instances in which it is shocking that institutionalization

was resorted to or in which it was done not to benefit

the child but to benefit the parent or parents. There is

little support for a blanket presumption of proper

medical or parental action.

10. Many children in institutions are there because

of difficulties adjusting to the norms of our society.

The psychiatric diagnosis often applied is “adjustment

reaction” of infancy, childhood or adolescence; this is

attributed to the greater fluidity of all behavior in

juveniles and is characterized by such symptoms as

overactivity, inattentiveness, shyness, feelings of rejec-

tion, oOveraggressiveness, timidity and delinquency.

Difficulty in school, problems with peers, drug use,

22

hostility and temper tantrums are frequent reasons

given for institutionalization of juveniles. The factual

allegations supporting such descriptive conclusions are

often in dispute and, the way the system of parental

commitment operates, there is no available mechanism

to resolve such disputes. Many children are committed

for “delinquent” non-“insane” behavior, or because

parents don’t care, or simply because someone didn’t

know what else to do with them. In a large proportion

of cases, it is not even the parent who initiates the

“voluntary” commitment process. An overworked social

welfare agency, a juvenile court, a relative or others

place dozens of juveniles in institutions acting, in the

language of the statute, in loco parentis.

11. It is clear that some screening process is

necessary. Neither parents nor institutions, much less

welfare agencies, are presently acting to protect the

rights of children in any effective way. It is not

possible, in the mental commitment process, for them

to act in a conflict-free manner.

12. Most juveniles entering the institutional mental

commitment system have never received any psychiatric

treatment before, inpatient or outpatient. Once hospi-

talized, juveniles stay longer than adults; a large

proportion of juveniles are not considered by psychia-

trists to suffer from any major illness. While adults have

benefitted from a national decline in institutionali-

zation, juveniles have not. In 1967, 3% of all persons in

state and county mental hospitals were under 18; in

1973, the under-18 group accounted for 4% of the

total. The percentage drop in total population was 42%

for all ages from 1967 to 1973; for people under 18,

the drop was only 12%. The situation is little better for

the retarded. Of the nearly 200,000 people in

23

residential institutions for the retarded, more than 40%

are minors. Most of these committed persons could

leave the institutions if community services were

available.

13. The United States Constitution protects the

“primary role of the parents in the upbringing of their

children.”’ Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205, 232

(1971). The law presumes that parents generally act in

good faith for the benefit of their children and, except

in such instances as abuse or neglect, the law will not

interfere with the authority of parents to direct the

rearing of those for whom they are responsible. The

state, as representative of the structure of our society,

asserts an interest in maintaining the integrity of the

family unit and protecting it against limits on the

independence of its functioning. Where parents seek to

use their authority in conjunction with the state and its

laws to institutionalize a child, the child’s right to

liberty conflicts with the parent-state right to control

the child, Whatever powers parents have, they do not

negate the personal constitutional rights — such as the

right to liberty — of children. The constitutional

guarantees familiar in civil commitment proceedings

extend to juveniles.

14. This conclusion is the proper one as this Court,

in cases beginning in 1923, has confirmed that the

Constitution protects all persons, regardless of age, see

In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967), and has impressed a

constitutional endorsement upon the proposition that

parental authority may be restricted for the benetit of

the child. E.g, Prince v. Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158

(1944). The Court has approved limitations on parental

powers “if it appears that parental decisions will

jeopardize the health or safety of the child, or have a

24

potential for significant social burdens.” Wisconsin v.

Yoder, 406 U.S. 205, 234 (1971).

15. Most recently, the Court refused to permit

parents an “absolute veto’ over a child’s abortion

decision; in such conflict situations, an impartial forum

to resolve the dispute might be appropriate. Planned

Parenthood of Central Missouri v. Danforth, U.S.

, 44 U.S.L.W. 5197 (July 1, 1976). See also

Bellotti v. Baird, ___._~US. , 44 U.S.L.W. 5221

(July 1, 1976). Other courts have uniformly agreed

that, in the parent-child context, the law must protect

the welfare of children, an interest to which the rights

of parents must yield. Among the many situations in

which parental power has been held properly restricted

are juvenile curfews, drinking age laws, sex education,

blood transfusions, corporal punishment, visitation,

approval of personal injury settlements, organ trans

plants, sterilization and various monetary matters. The

key consideration in all these cases is that society has

an interest — independent of parents — in assuring the

welfare of children. Parents cannot be permitted any

absolute decision-making authority which vitiates their

child’s constitutional rights or results in a potential for

great physical, emotional or social harm to the child.

16. The District Court ordered the defendant state

officials to assure that all juveniles presently committed

without hearings or counsel under the unconstitutional

statutes receive the benefit of “‘accurate fact-finding,”

McKeiver v. Pennsylvania, 403 U.S. 528, 543 (1971), in

a state forum. This was a proper order which did not

violate Preiser v. Rodriguez, 411 U.S. 475 (1972) or

Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539 (1973), as the

District Court did not order “actual restoration” of

liberty to plaintiffs but simply required that proper

25

state proceedings be afforded persons who never had

them. This is identical to the relief upheld by this

Court in Gerstein v. Pugh, 420 U.S. 103 (1975).

17. There was no requirement in this case that state

remedies be exhausted prior to plaintiffs seeking federal

relief. Even if there was, there were no state remedies

to exhaust as the state habeas corpus statute relied on

by appellants, on its face, does not apply to the

plaintiff-appellees.

18. Principles of federalism were similarly respected

by the District Court. No state proceedings were

interfered with; the state executive, judicial and

legislative branches are explicitly left free to continue

commitment of juveniles, so long as the procedures do

not violate the Constitution.

19. The appellants argue that the District Court

violated the Eleventh Amendment when it ordered that

persons presently incarcerated unconstitutionally be

provided state procedures to determine whether they

require commitment. The District Court did not award

damages or award “equitable restitution” of funds from

the state treasury; expenditure of funds to implement

the procedural requirements of the decree is incidental

to the constitutionally mandated goal of assuring that

persons are not erroneously incarcerated. Such impact,

held 2delman v. Jordan, 405 U.S. 651, 667-668 (1974),

is not barred by the Eleventh Amendment. “Equitable

restitution’”” of funds directly to plaintiffs, held in

Eldelman to resemble monetary damages, is a far cry

from requiring compliance with procedural due process.

ARGUMENT

PRIOR TO INVOLUNTARY INDETER-

MINATE MENTAL _INSTITUTIONALF

ZATION BY THE STATE UPON PAREN-

TAL APPLICATION, JUVENILES ARE EN-

TITLED TO SUBSTANTIAL PROCEDURAL

PROTECTIONS.

A.The General Right to Due Process Prior to

Mental Institutionalization is Undisputed and

Not at Issue in this Case.

The defendants do not dispute that the state must

generally provide substantial procedures to protect

persons from erroneous commitment to mental institu-

tions:

There can be no doubt that involuntary commit-

ment to a mental hospital, like involuntary

confinement of an individual for any reason, is a

deprivation of liberty which the state cannot

accomplish without due process of law. Specht v.

Patterson, 386 U.S., at 608, 18 L.Ed.2d 527, 87 S.

Ct. 1428 (1967). Commitment must be justified

on the basis of a legitimate state interest, and the

reasons for committing a particular individual must

be established in an appropriate proceeding.

O’Connor v. Donaldson, 422 U.S. 563, 45 L.Ed.2d at

410 (1975) (Chief Justice Burger, concurring). This

Court, in recent years, has consistently upheld claims

by inmates of mental institutions to hearing and other

procedures protective of their constitutional rights.

Baxstrom yv. Herold, 383 U.S. 197 (1966); Specht v.

Patterson, 386 U.S. 605 (1967); Jackson vy. Indiana,

27

406 U.S. 715 (1972); Humphrey v. Cady, 405 U.S. 504

(1972); McNeil v. Director, Patuxent Institution, 407

U.S. 245 (1972).”?

This Court’s deep concern that due process be

afforded to the mentally disabled is by no means newly

conceived. Nearly sixty years ago, in Chaloner y.

Sherman, 242 U.S. 455 (1917), a challenge was made

to state mental incompetency procedures. Speaking for

a unanimous Court, Justice Brandeis declared:

As the plaintiff had notice and opportunity to be

heard at each stage of the proceedings, the

essential elements of due process of law were fully

met, and the court had jurisdiction to enter that

orcer.

242 U.S. at 455. See also Dexter v. Hall, 82 U.S. 9, 25

(1872) (“...a lunatic needs more protection than a

“The lower federal courts have uniformly upheld the

application of due process to mental commitments, mandating

procedures similar or identical to those required by the District

Court here. E. g., Lessard v. Schmidt, 349 F. Supp. 1078 (E.D.

Wis. 1972). (Three-Judge Court), vacated and remanded on other

grounds, 414 U.S. 473 (1974), on remand, 379 F. Supp. 1376

(E.D. Wis. 1974), vacated and remanded on other grounds, 95 S.

Ct. 1943 (1975); Lynch v. Baxley, 386 F. Supp. 378 (M.D. Ala.

1974) (Three-Judge Court); Bell v. Wayne County, 386 F. Supp.

1085 (E.D. Mich. 1974) (Three- Judge Court); Dixon v. Attorney

General of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, 325 F. Supp.

966 (M.D. Pa. 1971); Heryford v. Parker, 396 F.2d 393 (10th

Cir. 1968); Jn Re Ballay, 482 F.2d 648 (D.C. Cir. 1973); Jn Re

Basso, 299 F.2d 933 (D.C. Cir. 1962); In Re Barnard, 455 F.2d

1370 (D.C. Cir. 1971); Sarzen v. Gaughan, 489 F.2d 1076 (Ist

Cir. 1973); Kendall v. True, 39! F. Supp. 413 (W.D. Ky. 1975)

(lhree-Judge Court); Barry v. Hall, 98 F.2d 222 (DC. Cir.

1938); Doremus v. Farrell, 407 F. Supp. 509 (D. Neb. 1976);

Suzuki v. Quisenberry, 411 F. Supp. 1113 (D. Hawaii 1976).

28

minor.”’ “Both such classes of persons are regarded as

under the protection of the law.’’)

In an attack on Minnesota mental commitment

procedures, this Court, per Chief Justice Hughes, upheld

a statute which provided for a hearing, counsel,

confrontation, a record and the right to appeal,

explaining:

We fully recognize the danger of a deprivation of

due process in proceedings dealing with persons

charged with insanity or, as here, with a

psychopathic personality as defined in the statute,

and the special importance of maintaining the

basic interests of liberty in a class of cases where

the law though “‘fair on its face and impartial in

appearance” may be open to serious abuses in

administration and courts may be imposed upon if

the substantial rights of the persons charged are

not adequately safeguarded at gvery stage of the

proceedings. But we have no occasion to consider

such abuses here, for none have occurred.

Minnesota ex rel. Pearson v. Probate Court of Ramsey

County, 309 U.S. 270, 276-277 (1940).??

In Specht v. Patterson, 386 U.S. 605 (1967), the

Court rejected the notion that individual rights can be

22See Logan v. Arafeh, 356 F. Supp. 1265 (D. Conn. 1972),

aff'd mem. sub nom. Briggs v. Arafeh, 411 U.S. 911 (1973),

where the district court upheld a statute noting that a “judicial

decision after receiving evidence from a general physician and a

psychiatrist in an adversary hearing is fully adequate to safeguard

against involuntary commitment through mistake or abuse.” 346

F. Supp. at 1270. The timing of the hearings in Logan was

justified because of a certification that the committed persons

were “dangerous.” The statutes in the case at bar require only a

finding of “in need of care or observation.” 50 P.S. 4402, 4403.

The recent Mental Health Procedures Act similarly requires a

finding of “in need of treatment.” Section 201, supra at 2.

29

bypassed by labelling a procedure “civil” rather than

“criminal”. Discussing mental commitment proceedings

under the Colorado Sex Offender Act, the Court held,

“These commitment proceedings whether dominated

civil or criminal are subject both to the Equal

Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment as we

held in Baxstrom v. Herold, 383 U.S. 107, 86 S. Ct.

750, 15 L.Ed.2d 620, and to the Due Process Clause.”

Specht, 386 U.S. at 608. See Jn re Gault, 387 U.S. 1

(1967).??

The due process required in mental commitments

today is not unlike that noted by Blackstone in his

Commentaries. Before a person could be declared

retarded (“an idiot’), a writ de idiota inquirendo would

be filed and “tried by a jury of twelve men?’ a

declaration that one was mentally ill (a “lunatic”’) did

not occur until after the lord chancellor, “upon petition

or information, grants a commission in nature of the

234 case strikingly on point is Heryford v. Parker, 396 F.2d

393 (10th Cir. 1968), where a nine year old child was committed

to a training school for the feeble-minded and epileptic. While

the court recognized that this was a different juvenile situation

than in Gault, it reasoned:

But, like Gault, and of utmost importance, we have a

situation in which the liberty of an individual is at stake,

and we think the reasoning in Gault emphatically applies.

It matters not whether the proceedings be labelled “civil”

or “criminal” or whether the subject matter be mental

instability or juvenile delinquency. It is the likelihood of

involuntary incarceration—whether for punishment as an

adult for a crime, rehabilitation as a juvenile for

delinquency, or treatment and training for a feeble-minded

or mental incompetent—which commards of the con-

stitutional safeguards of due process.

396 F.2d at 396.

30

writ de idiota inquirendo, to inquire into the party’s

state of mind.’’*

The pervasive concern has been that no person may

be caused to suffer a loss of liberty—for whatever

reason, including possible psychiatric care—without

stringent decision-making requirements designed to

minimize the ever-present risk of error.?5

B. It Is Undisputed In This Case That Juveniles Are

_ Protected By The Due Process Clause Of the

Fourteenth Amendment

Over the past quarter century, this Court has

developed the thesis that deprivation of a juvenile’s

liberty for the purpose of treatment and rehabilitation

must be accompanied by due process procedures which

assure “‘accurate factfinding.” McKeiver v. Pennsylvania,

403 U.S. 528, 543 (1971). The defendants do not

dispute the correctness of this development.

Haley v. Ohio, 332 U.S. 596 (1948), reversed the

murder conviction of a 15 year old boy who was

arrested at midnight and signed a confession after five

hours of police interrogation. The Court held that

“Neither man nor child can be allowed to stand

*Blackstone, Commentaries on the Laws of England 305

(Wendell, ed., 1852). Just as in Pennsylvania and other states, in

Blackstone’s day, “The legislature, to prevent all abuses incident

to such private custody, hath thought proper to interpose its

authority, by statute [citation omitted] for regulating private

mad-houses.” /d.

For discussion of the special difficulties of reliance. on

psychiatric opinion in this context, see 61-65 infra.

31

condemned by methods which flout constitutional

requirements of due process of law,” 332 U.S. at 601,

and noted: ;

What transpired would make us pause for careful

inquiry if a mature man were involved. And when,

as here, a mere child —. an easy victim of the

law — is before us, special care in scrutinizing the

record must be used.

332 U.S. at 599.

Referring to the unstability and uncertainity of

adolescence, the opinion in Haley explained:

He needs counsel and support if he is not to

become the victim first of fear, then of panic. He

needs someone on whom to lean lest the

overpowering presence of the law, as he knows it,

crush him.

332 U.S. at 600. See Gallegos v. Colorado, 370 U.S. 49,

54 (1962).

The beneficent objectives of juvenile courts provide

no justification for arbitrary denial of procedural rights:

The objectives are to provide measures of guidance

and rehabilitation for the child and protection for

society, not to fix criminal responsibility, guilt and

punishment. The State is parens patriae rather than

prosecuting attorney and judge. But the admoni-

tion to function in a “parental’’ relationship is not

an invitation to procedural arbitrariness.

Kent vy. United States, 383 U.S. 541, 554-555 (1966)

(note omitted). Kent held in no uncertain terms that

juveniles are entitled to vigorous counsel and to

hearings in important matters:

The right to representation by counsel is not a

formality. It is not a grudging gesture to a

ritualistic requirement. It is of the essence of

justice. Appointment of counsel without affording

32

an opportunity for hearing on a “critically

important” decision is tantamount to a denial of

counsel.

383 U.S. at 561.

In In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967), the Court

observed that the purpose of juvenile facilities was for

the “child to be ‘treated’ and ‘rehabilitated’ and the

procedures, from apprehension through institutionali-

zation, were to be ‘clinical’ rather than punitive.” 387

U.S. at 16. The non-legal benefits of a non-paternalistic

procedure were cited by the Court as it referred to

certain studies relevant to juveniles with difficulties:

They suggest that the appearance as well as the

actuality of fairness, impartiality and orderliness —

in short, the essentials of due process — may be a

more impressive and more therapeutic attitude so

far as the juvenile is concerned.

387 U.S. at 26.

The reasonable doubt standard was extended to

juveniles when /n re Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970), was

decided. The Court found, as is urged here, that:

The same considerations that demand extreme

caution in fact finding to protect the innocent

adult apply as well to the innocent child.

Id. at 365.

The Court went on to hold that it matters not that

the purpose of the proceeding is “to save the child”

where a possibly lengthy deprivation of liberty is

involved. 397 U.S. at 365-366. Concurring, Justice

Harlan explained that the need for due _ process

protections resulted from the juvenile’s “‘complete loss

of liberty through a state-imposed confinement away

from his home, family, and _ friends,” and _ the

stigmatization which was involved. 397 U.S. at 374.

on eee

See weet

33

In McKeiver v. Pennsylvania, 403 U.S. 528 (1971),

the Court applied the familiar due process doctrine of

“fundamental fairness” and, referring to Gault and

Winship. stated:

As that standard was applied in those two cases,

we have an emphasis on factfinding procedures.

The requirements of notice, counsel, confronta-

tion, cross-examination, and standard of proof

naturally flowed from this emphasis.

403 U.S. at 543. The result in McKeiver is not so much

a restriction on juvenile rights as a finding that a jury

trial is not “a necessary component of accurate

factfinding.”’ /d.

C. The Disputed Issue Before This Court: Does

Due Process Apply In Mental Institutionaliza-

tion of Juveniles by the State Upon Parental

Application?

When viewed against the background of the undis-

puted legal concepts noted above, it would seem

evident that a due process hearing is required where the

state confines juveniles in mental institutions on

application of their parents. This Court has recognized

that a “lunacy” action against a juvenile is not barred”®

261n Francklyn v. Sprague, 121 U.S. 215 (1887), where a

“lunacy proceeding” was brought in court against a juvenile, this

Court recognized that such actions were proper:

In Shelford on Lunacy it is said: “It seems, that a

commission of lunacy may issue against an infant; but as

the court of chancery has power over infant wards of court

and their estates, such a proceeding seems unnecessary

during the minority of the ward, except under particular

circumstances when the more ample powers given in lunacy

may be required for managing their estates.” In Stock on

Non Compos Mentis, it is also said, that, “infancy is not a

ground for withholding a [commission of lunacy], except in

so far as it renders such a proceeding unnecessary, by

subjecting the infant to another protective power of the

Chancellor.

121 U.S. at 229 (brackets in original).

34

and other courts?” and commentators**® have agreed

that such proceedings are necessary to protect against

27See, e.g., Saville v. Treadway, 404 F. Supp. 430 (M.D. Tenn.

1974); Kidd v. Schmidt, 399 F. Supp. 301 (E.D. Wis. 1975) held

that juvenile mental patients are entitled to preliminary injunction

against parental commitment statutes); J. L. & J. R. v. Parham,

412 F Supp. 112 (M.D. Ga. 1976), stay granted, U.S... 44

U.S.L.W. 3563 (April 5, 1976); Brown v. Allerton, Civil Action

No. 75-0450-R (filed September 12, 1975) (case dismissed on

stipulation that state had amended its statute to provide hearings

in juvenile commitments); Jn re Long, 25 N. Ca. App. 702, 214

S.E.2d. 626 (1975).

22 g., Ellis, Volunteering Children: Parental Commitment of

Minors to Mental Institutions, 62 Cal. L. Rev. 840 (1974); Burt,

Constitutional Rights Of, In, and For Children, 39 Law and

Contemporary Problems 118, 138 (1975):

These constitutional norms call into question any state

program that relies on large-scale, geographically remote,

full-time residential institutions for children, even when

parents agree to such institutionalization. Constitutional

challenges have been mounted, with some success, regarding

conditions in these institutions—essentially to establish a

“right to treatment” in them. But from the perspective

proposed here, the constitutional wrong is not so much the

state’s failure to deliver promised services as the totality of

the state’s claim over every aspect of the lives of children

in these institutions. These institutions—whether for

mentally retarded or seriously emotionally-disturbed or

homeless children—are totalitarian, in both the descriptive

and the pejorative senses of that word. They are

quintessentially the institutions described by Plato and

condemned by the Supreme Court in Meyer: “the offspring

of the inferior, or of the better when they chance to be

deformed, will be put away in some mysterious, unknown

place, as they should be.”

See Tribe, Childhood, Suspect Classification, and Conclusive

Presumptions, 39 Law and Contemporary Problems 8, 11 (1975):

This much, at least, the three puzzles have in common: all

seem easiest to solve when the issue clearly involves the

(continued)

ee ee

35

errors and abuse. What makes this case “difficult and

unique”’?® is the involvement and acquiescence of

parents in the state-imposed confinement of juveniles.

The sole disputed and important question raised here

is whether the recognized Due Process protections apply

equally when the State (and parents) seek institutionali-

zation as when the state seeks institutionalization

without supportive parental involvement. This is the

question raised by the appellants: whether due process

applies at ail, nor the extent of due process.

D. Institutionalization Results in Severe Depriva-

tion of Liberty, Other Dangers, Social Stigma,

Self-Stigmatization and Discrimination.

Institutional commitment to a mental institution

deprives persons of their “right to liberty,” O'Connor vy.

Donaldson, 422 U.S. 563 (1975), by placing them in a

“total institution” in which every aspect of their lives is

regulated by impersonal authority.*°

(footnote continued from preceding page)

exercise of a right we have come to regard as

constitutionally “fundamental,”’ such as the right to bodily

liberty or the right to be heard in one’s own defense.

Childhood need not be destroyed, dissolved, or ignored in

order to recognize that when such a right is at stake, the

general fact of youth alone cannot automatically justify the

right’s abridgement. (emphasis in original)

District Court Opinion, 796a; 402 F. Supp. at 1047.

Goffman, Asylums (1961). As early as 1938, a federal

appellate court recognized the similarities between the situation

of a patient and that of a prison inmate. Barry v. Hall, 98 F.2d

222 (D.C. Cir. 1938). A detailed comparison of the conditions in

a psychiatric treatment center and a state prison—demonstrating

the restrictiveness of the mental institution—is provided in “Brief

(continued)

36

The dangers and potential negative effects of

institutional treatment programs are well-known?’ the

process results in what one of the defendants’ own

witnesses calis ‘an emotional deficiency disease”

(715a). Children classified both “‘retarded’’ and “men-

tally ill’ are subjected — in differing ways — to these

dangers.

1. Children in the Mental Health System.

While adults have benefitted from a national decline

in institutionalization, juveniles have not. In 1967, 3%

(footnote continued from preceding page)

of Donald McEwan, Pro Se” in Katz, Goldstein & Dershowitz,

Psychoanalysis, Psychiatry and the Law 700-702 (1967). See In

re Gault, 387 U.S. 1, 27 (1967). For further discussion of the

nature of mental treatment in the United States, both today and

in the past, see Developments in the Law—Civil Commitment of

the Mentally Ill, 87 Harv. L. Rev. 1190, 1316-1376 (1974);

Deutsch, The Mentally Ill in America (2d ed. 1949); Grob,

Mental Institutions in America: Social Policy to 1875 (1973),

Rothman, The Discovery of the Asylum: Social Order and

Disorder in the New Republic (1971), Kittrie, The Right to Be

Different: Deviance and Enforced Therapy (1971). See also Ellis,

Volunteering Children, supra note 28, 62 Cal. L. Rev. at

841-844.

"Barton, Institutional Neurosis, (2d Ed. 1960); Belknap,

Human Problems of State Mental Hospitals (1956), Gralnick, et

al., “Mental Patients in Transition” in Greenblatt (Ed.), Mental

Patients in Transition, (1961), Schwartz, “Rehabilitation of

Mental Hospital Patients,” Public Health Monograph, No. 17

(1953); Stanton and Schwartz, The Mental Hospital (1954), Wing

and Brown, /nstitutionalization and Schizophrenia, (1970), Vail,

Dehumanization and the Institutional Career, (1966). The trial

testimony herein describes some of the harmful effects of

institutionalization. See testimony of Dr. Ingall at 596a; Dr.

Feiner at 474a - 47Sa.

37

of the 426, 309 persons in state and county mental

hospitals were under 18. In 1973, the under 18 group

accounted for 4% of the 248,518 total. The percentage

drop in tota! patient population was 42% for all ages

from 1967 to 1973; for people under 18, the drop was

only 12%. Dept. of Health Education and Welfare,

NIMH, Statistical Note 113, State Trends in Resident

Patients — State and County Mental Hospital Inpatient

Services 1967-1973, Tables 2, 2a and 4.

Most juveniles entering the institutional mental health

system have never received any psychiatric treatment

before, stay longer than adults,®? and a large proportion

do not suffer from any major “‘illness.”*? While about a

third of juvenile commitments are pursuant to an

involuntary civil commitment, 14% appear to be

admitted under the procedures challenged here>* more

Most juveniles admitted to mental hospitals (53% in 1969)

never before received psychiatric treatment; the figure for all age

admissions is only 38.7%. Dept. of Health, Education and

Welfare, NIMH, Statistical Note 90, Ufilization of Psychiatric

Facilities by Persons Under 18 Years of Age, United States 1971,

Table 9. Once in a public or private mental hospital, juveniles

stay longer than adults. /d. at Table 8.

In 1972, the leading primary diagnosis of juveniles admitted

to state and county mental hospitals was “transient situational

disorders and behavior disorders of childhood and adolescence.”

38% of the 24,677 admissions received this diagnosis. Dept. of

Health, Education and Welfare, NIMH, Statistical Note 111; Age,

Sex, and Color Variations in the Diagnostic Distnixtion of

Admissions to Inpatient Services of State and County Mental

Hospitals, United States 1972, Tables 1a and |b.

“Nationally, 14% of mental hospitals admissions of persons

under 18 are applied for by another person on the minor’s

behalf; 33.4% of the juveniles are admitted by means of an

involuntary civil commitment. Dept. of Health, Education and

Welfare, NIMH, Statistical Note 105: Legal Status of Inpatient

Admissions to State and County Mental Hospitals, United States

1972, Table 1b.

38

non-white juveniles than whites are confined without

the benefit of a civil commitment.**

Few infants or young children are seen in the mental

health system; few specialized services exist for this age

range.*® A major problem in the mental health diagnosis

of very young children is that “When disturbances are

noted, they are often inaccurately diagnosed.’’*”

School-age juveniles are more likely to become

involved with the mental health system in which they

may be placed in one of the residential treatment

centers which have sprouted across the country in

recent years.** The literally devastating effects of these

facilities are described in a study written for the Project

on the Classification of Exceptional Children, created at

the prompting of then Secretary of Health, Education

and Welfare Elliot Richardson:

While 38.2% of white juveniles are admitted under

involuntary civil commitments, only 19% of non-white juveniles

are. White juveniles signed in by another acting in their behalf

are 11.7% of admissions while the percentage for non-whites is

20.8%. Statistical Note 105, supra note 34, at Table ib.

*Cohen, et al., Mental Health Services, in Hobbs (ed.), /ssues

in the Classification of Children, Vol. 1, 88, 91 - 98 ( 1975).

377d. at 97.

*Residential treatment centers (RTC’s) provide inpatient

(residential) psychiatric services for persons under 18 years

diagnosed as emotionally disturbed. Some retarded children may

also be served. “As of January 1974, there were 340 RTC’s in

the United States which maintained a total of more than 19,000

beds....” Dept. of Health, Education and Welfare, NIMH,

Statistical Note 130, Residential Treatment Centers for Emo-

tionally Disturbed Children 1973 - 74 at 2. “The nearly 30,000

children under care in RTC’s during 1973 received over 6.3

million days of care.” Jd. at 3.

39

A situation of special danger arises, however, from

the quality of many residential “treatment cen-

ters,” which are in reality end-of-the-road custodial

placements. Thousands of children have been saved

by authentic, intensive residential treatment. Many

more thousands have probably been sent to death

during life in children’s units of large public

institutions. For example, in custodial mental

hospitals, children with severe developmental

disabilities such as childhood autism often have a

rapid downhill course marked by increasing

isolation, disorganization, and deterioration. Sep-

arated from parents and familiar surroundings,

these children lose their liveliness and apparent

intelligence and succumb to the regimentation and

trauma and lack of care and education. As another

example, children with borderline personalities and

borderline intelligence are often placed in residen-

tial centers because of their aggressive or antisocial

behavior at home. With punitive treatment, peer

socialization into deviance, lack of education, and

the absence of incentives toward normal develop-

ment in many residential institutions, such children

often become incapable of ever fully resuming a

healthy social role.*®

Stormy adolescence often results in a loss of control by

both parents and children.*® The conflicts which

develop*! may result in parental requests for assistance

to the state’s social sanction systems, juvenile court or

%Op. cit., supra, note 36 at 106.

“See Meeks, The Fragile Alliance (1971).

“The defendants’ own witnesses spoke most directly of these

conflicts: Testimony of Dr. Tashjian at 651a-652a, 656a-657a,

668a-669a; Dr. Masterson at 727a-728a (“every parent of every

patient we see can be called unstable”), 732a-734a; Dr. Miller at

785a (“conflict of interests’).

40

mental health. Just as a large percentage of juveniles

seen in juvenile court might more appropriately be

referred to the mental health system,‘? many young

people in mental hospitals would be appropriate

candidates for delinquency proceedings.**

The Joint Commission on Mental Health of Children

described the failure of hospitalization for adolescents:

The admission of teenagers to the state hospitals

has risen something like 150 percent in the last

decade....Instead of being helped, the vast

majority are the worse for the experience. The

usual picture is one of untrained people working

within the framework of long-abandoned theory

(where there is any consistent theory), attempting

to deal with a wide variety of seriously sick

“Lewis, Balla, et al., Psychotic Symptomatology in a Juvenile

Court Clinic Population, 12 Journal of the American Academy of

Child Psychiatry 660 (1973).

“The record herein provides numerous examples. See pages

8-16 supra for descriptions of the delinquent or crimina! bases

for juvenile mental commitments as well as the familiar “status

offenses” such as truancy and incorrigibility. The mental

commitments described took place for both the retarded and for

the mentally ill under the challenged statutes. One study of

adolescents admitted to inpatient psychiatric services over three

years demonstrated that—for the two groups into which the

admissions could be divided, nondelinquent and delinquent—the

first group’s admission to the hospital was judged appropriate.

The delinquent group was judged inappropriately hospitalized

and not “requiring or benefiting from psychiatric intervention, at

least in an inpatient hospital setting.” Weiss & Pizer, Hospitali-

zing the Young: Is it for their Own Good? 54 Mental Hygiene

498 (1970), citing the study, Miller & Kenney, Adolescent

Delinquency and the Myth of Hospital Treatment, 12 Crime and

Delinquency 38 (1966).

41

youngsters and producing results . .. measured by a

recidivism rate that is often 30 to 50 percent, and

occasionally higher.

What we have, in effect, is a state of quiet

emergency, unheralded and unsung, silently build-

ing up its rate of failure and disability and

seemingly allowed to go its way with an absolute

minimum of attention from the public, and

legislators, or the clinical professionals.**

2. The Mentally Retarded Child

Most mentally retarded persons are not confined to

institutions for the retarded; about 75 percent are not

in institutions at all.** It is estimated that more than

200,000 persons, 10 percent of all the retarded, are in

institutions for the retarded.*® Of these, 42 percent are

“Joint Commission on Mental Health of Children, Crisis in

Child Mental Health - Challenge for the 1970's 6 (1970), as

quoted in Hobbs, The Futures of Children 131 (1975). The Joint

Commission on Mental Health of Children was established by the

U. S. Department of Health, Education and Welfare pursuant to

Social Security Amendments, July 30, 1965, Pub. L. No. 89-97,

§231(a){d), 79 Stat., 360. It was composed of “representatives

of leading national, medical, welfare, educational, and other

professional associations, organizations, and agencies active in the

field of mental health of children.” /d. at §213(c).

“SEdgerton, et. al, Mental Retardation System, in Hobbs, ed.,

Issues in the Classification of Children, Vol. 11, 63-64 (1975).

“U.S. Department of Health, Education and Welfare, Mental

Retardation Sourcebook (1972). In 1974, it was estimated that

the total number of residents of public residential facilities was

approximately 176,000. National Association of Superintendents

of Public Residential Facilities for the Mentally Retarded,

Current Trends and Status of Public Residential Services for the

Mentally Retarded: 1974 13 (1975) (hereafter cited “Current

Trends”). This source provides estimates barud on a national

survey of facilities.

42

aged between 3 and 21 years and 3% are under 2.*’

While degree of intellectual and physical impairment

is a factor in determining institutionalization of

retarded individuals, it clearly does not stand alone nor

is it necessarily the most important. Other factors are

the degree of family disorganization, demographic

characteristics, parental attitudes toward childrearing

and mental retardation, availability of community

resources, and the professional philosophies of those

consulted for advice.** “Professional philosophies influ-

ence decisions because patient oriented clinicians are

more likely to give first priority to factors they

consider advantageous to the child, whereas family

oriented clinicians are more likely to base their

recommendations on those which they assume to be

best for the family.’’*®

The record in this case vividly illustrates how the

retarded often find themselves in institutions through

fortuitous and avoidable circumstances. For example,

one institution explained a commitment in this way:

Since maternal grandparents have come to live

with the family, this has presented serious

problems. The maternal grandmother needs con-

stant care but the maternal grandfather has been

unable to help and acts as if he hates everyone.

*7Current Trends, supra note 46, at 7.

“Eg, Eyman, et al, Factors Determining Residential

Placement of Mentally Retarded Children, 76 Amer. J. of Mental

Deficiency 693 (1966); Gralicker, et al, A Study of Factors

Influencing Placement of Retarded Children in a State

Residential Institution, 69 Amer. J. of Mental Deficiency 553

(1965).

Eyman, supra, note 48, at 697.

43

The older sister, , has also had problems in

adjusting to the situation. Mother was said to be

close to a nervous breakdown and could no longer

cope with both and the maternal grand-

mother (35 1a).

Here, no commitment was even contemplated until two

grandparents added to the burden of caring for a

retarded child. It is no wonder that the mother was

close to a breakdown and also no wonder that the

helpless child was institutionalized rather than the

grandparents who would have been entitled to a lawyer

and a hearing for their protection.

Another case:

The father described her as hyperactive, but the

mother said that she was only active. Though the

parents stated that she was well accepted at home,

they felt that now that she is entering pubescence,

it will be better for her to be admitted at this

time. The maternal aunt who had been caring for

her was away and since she was the one against

placement, the parents felt that this was the time

to arrange for placement. The brothers, though

they love , are uncomfortable in her

presence (353a).

Thus, in order to avoid providing their child with birth

control, and in order to evade a responsible relative

who opposed the chiid’s commitment, the hospital and

parents chose to confine their child in an institution.

Parents of retarded persons often resort to seeking

institutionalization by the state as a means of securing

relief from severe physical and emotional strains and

44

because of a lack of finances and adequate community

resources: *°

However, if these parents are “given honest

information about residential and community

alternatives and time to reflect,” most of them

“come to realize that the placement in most

institutions means placing a lid on the child’s

potential by consigning him to custodial care —

sometimes humane but often inhumane by any-

one’s standards. Most good residential schools

(offering education and training as well as care) are

extremely expensive. Most state institutions are

still little more than warehouses which ‘store’

people.’’*!

The particular dangers of institutionalization for the

retarded include a high rate of mortality (generally

higher, especially for the young, than in the com-

munity), an adverse effect on intelligence and an

abnormally high prevalence of personality disorders.**

After the emergence of the first institutions for the

retarded in the United States 120 years ago in an

See, e.g., Justice, et al., Problems Reported by Parents of

Mentally Retarded Children - Who Helps?, 75 Amer. J. of Mental

Deficiency 685 (1971). Lack of community services was the

reason for 50 percent of readmissions to institutions for the

retarded in 1973-1974. Current Trends, supra, note 46, at 20.

“Community rejection” was found to be the cause for 22

percent of such readmissions. /d. If appropriate community

services were available, 52 percent of the retarded in institutions

could leave according to superintendents’ own estimates. The

percentages are higher for the borderline (98%), mild (86%) and

moderate (81%) levels of retardation. Current Trends, supra, at

23.

‘'Hobbs, The Futures of Children 142 (1975) (citation

omitted).

*2Studies discussed in Edgerton, et al., supra, note 45.

45

atmosphere of optimism, the facilities failed to fulfill

their expectations for cure or rehabilitation. By 1880,

the earlier prevention model was succeeded by a “pity

model” which supported the provision of custodial care.

By the turn of the century and with the development

of the eugenics movement,** a societal image of the

retarded as a danger and a menace to society become

fixed.** As one commentator notes:

...Many of our institutions, to this very day,

operate in the spirit of 1925 when inexpensive

segregation of the scarcely human retardate was

seen as the only feasible alternative to combat a

social menace. I am not proposing that this view is

still held; | am proposing that most institutions

function as if this view were still held.**

This brief exposition demonstrates the invalidity of the

defendants’ view that the institutionalized retarded

should somehow be treated differently from the

mentally ill.**

3Sée Buck v. Bell, 274 U.S. 200(1927), upholding a statute

growing out of this movement.

“For an analysis of this historical development, see

Baumeister, The American Residential Institution: Its History

and Character in Baumeister and Butterfield, eds., Residential

Facilities for the Mentally Retarded (1970); Kugel & Wolfens-

berger, eds., Changing Patterns in Kesidential Services for the

Mentally Retarded (1969).

‘SWolfensberger, The Origin and Nature of Our Institutional

Models, in Kugel and Wolfensberger, supra, note 54, at 129

(emphasis in original).

Brief for Appellants at 48. The defendants state that in

Pennsylvania, “approximately eighty percent of institutionalized

juveniles are mentally retarded.” Jd. Note that the new statute

does not apply at all to this portion of the plaintiff class. See

Section 502, at 5 supra.

46

3. Institutional Life

Institutions are generally underfinanced, understaffed,

and overcrowded.*’ One study notes that the practice

of moving institutionalized juveniles and staff from one

unit to another can be devastating; during a 3% year

period, at least 99 different day staff were on duty

with the children being cared for by a total of 246

different adults. The children were moved at least twice

and some as many as 18 times.*®

*"Hobbs, supra, note 51, at 127-128. Provost Nicholas Hobbs

notes in his report:

Most public institutions are grossly and chronically

underfinanced (Kugel, 1969). During 1966 and 1967 the

per diem costs in United States institutions (except in

Alaska) ranged from about $3 to $12 per person (U.S.

Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, 1968). In

stark contrast, five of the largest United States zoos were

spending, in a comparable period, an average of over $7 for

their large animals (Kugel, 1969, p. 3). Further, in 1966,

general hospital care cost more than $40 per day

(Butterfield, 1969, p. 18).

Overcrowding is commonplace. Many residential facilities

have as many as 25 to 50 percent more residents than they

were intended to serve. Buildings that are old and poorly

designed also create problems. For instance, lavatory and

toilet facilities are often poorly maintained and may even

be nonfunctioning. Ancient facilities may make it difficult

if not impossible to prepare food in a sanitary fashion; and

climate control may be so inadequate as to leave buildings

either too hot or too cold (Kugel, 1969, pp. 405; Blatt and

Kaplan, 1967). Equally inadequate are modem complexes

of steel, chrome, and glass, when human caring is absent.

Tizard, The Role of Social Institutions in the Causation,

Prevention and Alleviation of Mental Retardation, in Haywood,

Social-Cultural Aspects of Mental Retardation (1970). See In re

Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967).

47

Nicholas Hobbs, in his report volume of the

HEW-sponsored Project on Classification of Exceptional

Children, describes how the process of institutionali-

zation can “make children sick:”

Go to a big state mental hospital in almost any

state and ask to visit the children’s ward. If you

are allowed to visit, you will find people, children

and staff alike, caught up in a no-exit game.

Patients and staff play their roles, each defined by

the other, both prescribed by elaborate regulations

and procedures that serve one purpose: to

maintain the stability of the institution. Most of

these institutions are so large, so unwieldy, so

antiquated in design, so poorly staffed, so

burdened with the miseries of man that everyone

involved must devote most of his energies to

maintaining a steady-state situation. The metaphor

of illness rules. Change in or deviation from role

requirements cannot be tolerated. Apathy goes

unnoticed. Precise adherence to role expectation is

praised and rewarded, while deviations and serious

efforts to change the system are punished. In such

a setting, hospitals can indeed make children

sick.*?

As the discussion above indicates,®° institutionalization

is an extreme deprivation of liberty for both the

retarded and the mentally ill It is typically dehu-

manizing and often dangerous. The consequences of a

mistaken commitment of a child are enormous. As the

District Court noted, “‘Neither the state nor plaintiffs

have an interest in committing to mental institutions

children not in need of institutionalization.” 402 F.

Supp. at 1050; 803a.

° Hobbs, supra note 51, at 130.

See pages 35-47 supra.

48

4. Stigma and Discrimination

Severe social stigma, self-stigmatization, job and

license discrimination also result from the experience of

commitment to a mental institution.*' This is no less a

probelm simply because a parent volunteered the child;

parental commitment requires a certification of the

juvenile as mentally disabled just as does an adminis-

trative or judicial commitment. It is the fact of

institutionalization, rather than the manner, which

stigmatizes.*°?

The “stigma associated with civil commitment”

found by the District Court, 795a; 402 F. Supp. at

1046, affects both the mentally ill®* and the retarded.“

“See Testimony of Dr. Kandler at 574a-575a and Dr.

Messinger at 622a. See also Lessard v. Schmidt, infra note 63.

*?Unfortunately, there is a stigma being attached to being in

a hospital, which would be another reason why all care ought to

be taken before this type of drastic step be taken. I never heard

the fact that a judge or attorney being involved in a proceeding

increases that stigma.’ Testimony of Dr. Kandler at 574a-57Sa.

Seg, In re Ballay, 482 F.2d 648, 668 (D.C. Cir. 1973);

Lessard v. Schmidt, 349 F. Supp. 1078 (E.D. Wis. 1972), vacated

and remanded, 414 U.S. 473 (1974), on remand, 379 F. Supp.

1376 (E.D. Wis. 1974), vacated and remanded 95 S. Ct. 1943

(1975); Braginsky, et al, Methods of Madness: The Mental

Hospital as a Last Resort (1969). See Testimony of Dr. Ingall at

596a and Dr. Miller at 70Sa.

“Pennsylvania Association for Retarded Children v.

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, 343 F. Supp. 279, 293-295

(E.D. Pa. 1972); Edgerton, The Cloak of Comnetence: Stigma in

the Lives of the Mentally Retarded (1967), Braginsky &

Braginsky, Hansels and Gretels: Studies of Children in Institu-

tions for the “Mentally Retarded” (1971). The defendants’

assertion in their brief that the mentally retarded are somewhat

insulated from stigma is totally without foundation.

49

The Due Process Clause protects the plaintiffs here

because the injury to their standing and reputation does

not stand alone but is associated with the deprivation

of liberty and other harms which flow from mental

commitment. See Wisconsin v. Constantineau, 400 U.S.

433 (1971). Cf Paul v. Davis, U.S. _._., 44

U.S.L.W. 4337 (1976).

E Parental Powers Are Limited for the Protection

of Children.

Under Pennsylvania law, while a parent or guardian

on behalf of a juvenile may apply for commitment,

only the institutional representative can commit.**

Counsel for defendants has emphasized that, regardless

of the parents’ wishes, “the institution still will have

the ultimate say in whether or not that child is

institutionalized based upon their independent deter-

mination — psychiatric determination” (243a).

The defendants argue that this involvement of

parents or guardians is sufficient ground to negate the

otherwise conceded right of juveniles to due process in

mental commitment proceedings. The parental powers

authorized by law are so encompassing, it is argued,

that the juveniles’ rights must yield. The rationale of

numerous decisions of this Court indicates otherwise.

A significant number of juvenile commitments are initiated

not by their parents but rather by social welfare agencies,

relatives or courts (310a-313a). The recent statute still permits

such parental involvement with state commitment. As the

defendants’ counsel told the District Court, under the revision,

“under age 14, he would again be admitted or committed by his

parent or the person standing in locus parentis” (241a).

50

In cases beginning in 1923, this Court has examined

the extent to which the Constitution affects the rights

of children and the triangular relationship of parent-

child-state. The Court has confirmed that the Consti-

tution protects all persons, regardless of age, and has

impressed a constitutional endorsement upon the

proposition that parental authority may be restricted

for the benefit of the child.

Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390 (1923), involved

what the Court later called “children’s rights to receive

teaching in languages other than the nation’s common

tongue.” Prince v. Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158, 166

_ (1944). In Meyer, a state law restricting the use of

foreign languages in schools was struck down and the

Court declared the familiar principle that state interests

must often yield to individual rights:

That the State :nay do much, go very far, indeed,

in order to improve the quality of its citizens,

physically, mentally and morally, is clear; but the

individual has certain fundamental rights which

must be respected.

262 U.S. at 401.

Two years later, when a criminal law requiring

parents to send children to public schools was

challenged, it was only after noting the contention that

the law violated “the right of the child to influence the

parents’ choice of a school,” Pierce v. Society of

Sisters, 268 U.S. 510, 532 (1925), that the familiar

gloss was made that the law

unreasonably interferes with the liberty of parents

and guardians to direct the upbringing and

education of children under their control.

Id. at 534-535.

$1

However, the possible breadth of this language in

Pierce was substantially limited in Prince v. Massachu-

setts, 321 U.S. 158 (1944), when the Court upheld

restrictions on the rights of guardians and supported

certain regulation of family interests:

But the family itself is not beyond regulation in

the public interest, as against a claim of religious

liberty. [citations omitted] And neither rights of

religion nor rights of parenthood are beyond

limitation. Acting to guard the general interest in

youth’s well-being, the state as parens patriae may

restrict the parent’s control by requiring school

attendance, regulating or prohibiting the child’s

labor and in many other ways.

Id, at 166 (notes omitted). Thus, in upholding a child

labor law against the Jehovah’s Witness guardian of a

nine year-old girl, the Court in Prince expressed the

very interest that plaintiffs herein seek recognition of:

It is the interest of youth itself, and of the whole

community, that children be both safeguarded

from abuses and given opportunities for growth

into free and independent well-developed men and

citizens.

321 U.S. at 165.%

“The case of Ginsberg v. New York, 390 U.S. 629 (1968),

upholding the constitutionality of a New York criminal obscenity

law prohibiting the sale to minors under 17 of material obscene

to minors, is not contrary authority. First, Ginsberg dealt with

obscenity which is not constitutionally protected; the liberty of

the juveniles in the case at the bar, on the other hand, is subject

to constitutional protection. Second, the Court recognized the

narrowness of the issue before it when it declared that it was not

considering

the impact of the guarantees of freedom of expression

upon the totality of the relationship of the minor and the

State, cf. In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1, 13.

(continued)

52

In Tinker v. Des Moines Independent School District,

393 U.S. 503, 506-507 (1969), young persons were

held protected by the First Amendment in their school

protest against the Vietnam War. The Court declared:

Students in school as well as out of school are

“persons” under our Constitution. They are

possessed of fundamental rights which the State

must respect, just as they themselves must respect

their obligations to the State.

393 U.S. at 511.

Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205 (1971), held that

Amish parents could not constitutionally be convicted

of violating a compulsory school attendance law when

children 14 and 15 years old did not attend until age

16 as the law required. Although indirectly supporting

parental interests in the upbringing of children, the

Court specifically did not reach the question of what

would happen if the state and parents were aligned

against the child. 406 U.S. at 231-232 (opinion by

Chief Justice Burger) and 406 U.S. at 237 (Justice

Stewart, with Justice Brennan concurring). Limitations

on parental powers continued to receive approval; such

regulation is proper

if it appears that parental decisions will jeopardize

the health or safety of the child, or have a

potential for significant social burdens.

406 U.S. at 234.

(footnote continued from preceding page)

390 US. at 630. Third, the Court held only that the

Constitution supports the parental “claim to authority in their

own household” to direct the rearing of children, 390 U.S. at

639 (emphasis added); this cannot be read as authority for

absolute discretion outside the household and, indeed, the Court

held that the state must protect children from abuses, 390 U.S.

at 640.

53

The extent of control over juveniles granted by the

law to parents and guardians is broad enough to provide

appropriate deference to the “importance of the

family,’ Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645, 651 (1972),

in our society, but narrow enough to protect the

independent personal interests of the most powerless of

the family’s members.°’

In the recent abortion decisions, parental “absolute

power” to overrule an abortion decision was found

improper where the juvenile and parent ‘are so

fundamentally in conflict and the very existence of the

pregnancy already has fractured the family structure.”

Planned Parenthood of Central Missouri v. Danforth,

U.S. , 44 U.S.L.W. 5197, 5204 (July 1,

1976). The state’s interest in safeguarding the family

unit and parental authority do not outweigh the rights

of the juvenile. /d. It is the “absolute limitation on the

minor’s right,” /d., 44 U.S.L.W. at 5208 (Concurring

opinion of J. Stewart, with J. Powell), with no

provision for “judicial resolution of any disagreement,”

Id., which causes the greatest risk of harm to the

juvenile and involves the least benefit to legitimate state

interests. See Bellotti v. Baird, U.S. , 44

U.S.L.W. 5221 (July 1, 1976).

While the above cases may be seen as supporting a

presumption in favor of parental prerogatives,®* this

*’Dr. Joel S. Feiner testified that “...the child has some

intrinsic vulnerability based upon the fact the child is dependent

to begin with, the child is more controllable in certain ways, the

child is also often a newcomer to the setting, the last to be

present in this little system. . .” (472a).

“See generally Burt, Developing Constitutional Rights Of, In

and For Children, 39 Law and Contemporary Problems 118

(1975). In none of the cited cases except Bellorti and Danforth

was there any indication that the parents’ and children’s views

were in conflict or that the state was acting with the parent in

ways that might be detrimental to the child.

54

presumption is overcome where the state acts with

parents to impose serious deprivations upon juveniles.

As our law has developed, despite legitimate hesita-

tion,®® society’s interest in the protection of children

has necessitated narrowly-drawn limitations on the

individual interests of parents.’°

Other courts have uniformly agreed that, in the

parent-child context, the law as parens patriae must

protect the welfare of children, an interest to which the

Tenderness of the individual interests of parents, since legal

interference in family relations touches individuals in a

particularly sensitive spot, has induced hesitation in changing the

established rules, even where reasons for change were evident.”

Pound, /ndividual Interests in the Domestic Relations, 14 Mich.

L. Rev. 177, 187 (1916) (note omitted).

In 1916, Roscoe Pound described the historical process

referred to:

Mere statement of the claims which parents may make with

respect to or against children makes it evident that certain

other interests must be weighed against these individual

interests of parents. Under more primitive social conditions

the group interests of the family or kindred largely dictated

the legal delimitation of parental and filial interests. In

modern times the individual interests of the child came to

be given greater weight. Today certain social interests are

chiefly regarded. These are on the one hand a social

interest in the maintenance of the family as a social

institution and on the other hand a social interest in the

protection of dependent persons, in securing to all

individuals a moral and social life and in the rearing and

training of sound and well-bred citizens for the future. The

parent’s claim to custody of the child and to control over

its bringing up has come to be greatly limited in order to

secure these interests.

Id. at 182 (note omitted).

55

rights of parents must yield.”’ Among the many

situations in which parental “‘rights’’ and “powers” have

been held properly restricted are juvenile curfews,”

drinking age laws,” sex education,” blood trans

fusions,”* corporal punishment,”* visitation,’’ approval

of personal injury settlements, abortion,” organ

™The issue arises most often in custody cases. F.g., Holtsclaw

v. Mercer, 145 F.2d 388 (D.c. Cir. 1944); Langan v. Langan, 150

F.2d 979 (D.C. Cir. 1945); Bartlett v. Bartlett, 221 F.2d 508

(D.C. Cir. 1954). See In re Stuart, 114 F.2d 825 (D.C. Cir.

1940) (right of parents to control upbringing of children not

absolute); Newton v. Burgin, 363 F. Supp. 782 (W.D. N. Ca.

1973) (Three-Judge Court), affd, 414 US. 1139 (1974)

(parental constitutional right to control children can be limited

by statute).

"Bykofsky v. Borough of Middletown, 401 F. Supp. 1242

(M.D. Pa. 1975).

Republican College Council of Pennsylvania v. Winner, 357

F. Supp. 739 (E.D. Pa. 1973) (Three- Judge Court).

™Cornwell v. State Board of Education, 314 F. Supp. 340

(D.Md. 1969), affd., 428 F.2d 471 (8th Cir. 1970), cert. den.

400 U.S. 942 (1970).

People ex rel. Wallace v. Labrenz, 411 Ill. 618, 104 N.E.2d

769 (1952), cert. den., 344 U.S. 824 (1952); State v. Perricone,

37 NJ. 463, 181A.2d 751 (1962), cert. den., 371 U.S. 890

(1962).

Ware v. Estes, 328 F. Supp. 657 (N.D. Tex. 1971), affd.,

458 F.2d 1360 (Sth Cir. 1972), cert. den., 409 U.S. 1027

(1972).

™Comm. ex rel. Heston v. Heston, 98 A.2d 477, 173 Pa.

Super. 260 (1953); Surrey v. Surrey, 144 A.2d 421 (D.C. Mun.

App. 1958).

Rafferty v. Rainey, 292 F. Supp. 152 (E.D. Tenn. 1968).

In re Smith, 295 A.2d 238, 16 Md. App. 209 (1972)

(mother cannot compel daughter to submit to abortion).

56

transplants,®° sterilization,* and monetary matters.*?

The key consideration in all these cases is that society

has an interest — independent of parents — in assuring

the welfare of children. Where the state is involved and

there is a potential for conflict in the interests of

parents and children, the law provides independent

representation for the child.**

When viewed in terms of its nature and potential for

harm, application for mental institutionalization of a

child (whether the commitment is erroneous or not) is

an event at an extreme end of the continuum of

decisions made by a parent or guardian.** The pressured

S°Hart v. Brown, 289 A.2d 385, 29 Conn. Sup. 368 (1972).

8! Frazier v. Levi, 440 S.W.2d 393, 394 (Civil App. Tex.

1969).

S2Filis vy. Massenburg, 126 N.C. 129, 35 S.E. 240 (1900)

(action to set aside deed); White v. Osborne, 251 N.C. 56, 110

S.E.2d 449 (1959); Babcock yv. Fisk, 327 Mich. 72 (1950)

(control of publicly raised funds).

83See, e.g, cases cited at notes 71-82 supra. One authority has

observed that parents, the state and childcare agencies do not

have a “conflict-free interest in representing the child.”

Goldstein, Freud & Solnit, Bevond the Best Interests of the

Child 66 (1973).

This Court has had frequent experience with cases in which

the property rights of minors have been protected by

representation independent of the guardian. /nsurance Company

v. Bangs, 103 U.S. 435 (1880); United States v. Dunn, 268 U.S.

121 (1925); Clarke v. Clarke, 178 U.S. 186, 193-195 (1900). See

also United States v. Equitable Trust Company of New York,

283 U.S. 738 (1931) (in lower courts, one court-appointed

guardian acted to protect mentally incompetent person from

actions of wife and another court-appointed guardian).

“But see Respublica v. Keppele, 2 U.S. 197 (1793) (Pa. Sup.

Ct.), for a more extreme situation, holding that a parent could

not bind a child as a servant.

57

context in which such a decision is made and the

tremendous implications of such a decision combine to

make imperative strict limits on any exercise of

‘absolute power” by any authority.

The expert witnesses for all parties agreed that

families seeking commitment of allegedly handicapped

children are characterized by severe stress, disharmony

and dislocation.** The problems of children are a

function of intrafamilial problems and exist in the

context of a weakened family structure with conflict

overtly expressed.*® The juvenile behavier which

precipitates institutionalization may be provoked b_ the

parents; there are also many cases where the child may

be driven to such behavior by the conflicts at hormie.*®’

See Testimony of Dr. Kandler at 543a, 553a-5S4a,

$70a-571a; Dr. Ingall at 588a-590a (intrafamilial conflict; child as

scapegoat), 60la; Dr. Messinger at 616a-619a; Dr. Tashjian at

651a-652a, 656a-657a; Dr. Masterson at 727a-728a, 733a-734a.

E.g., Alanen, The Family in the Pathogenesis of Schizophrenia

and Neurotic Disorders, 24 Acta Psychiatrica et Neurologica

Scandinavica, Suppl. 189 (1966); Lidz, et al., Schizophrenia and

the Family (1966); Lidz, et al., The Intrafamilial Environment of

Schizophrenic Patients. II. Martial Schism and Marital Skew, \14

Amer. J. of Psychiatry 281 (1957). See generally Fleck, Some

Basic Aspects of Family Pathology, in Wolman, ed., Manual of

Child Psychopathology 189 (1972). For similar findings regarding

the retarded, see authorities cited at notes 45, 48 and 50 supra.

*See Testimony of Dr. Ingall at 588a, 610a; Dr. Messinger at

616a-619a; Dr. Masterson at 733a-734a; Dr. Tashjian at

668a-669a; Dr. Feiner at 467a-469a, 471a-472a, SOla-502a. See

authorities cited note 85 supra; Wohlman, Family Dynamics and

Schizophrenia, 6 J. of Health and Human Behavior 147 (1965);

Wohlman, Children Without Childhood: A Study in Childhood

Schizophrenia (1970).

®7See Testimony of Dr. Masterson at 733a; Dr. Feiner at

468a. One court which noted the possibility that a “breakdown

in parental control” of a child could result from failings in the

(continued)

58

The record in this case indicates that parents will

often seek to institutionalize children for improper

reasons. This stems from honest mistakes, ignorance,

lack of community resources or sometimes from malice

or ill will.** In a significant numbers of cases, the

parental purpose of bringing a child to treatment “has

been to accuse him, to punish him, to separate him

from the home. The motivation is not always good.”’*®

Experts for both plaintiffs and defendants were in

agreement that parents are not particularly good

observers of children’s behavior and symptoms and,

especially with the high feelings that run in conflict

situations, parents are not reliable sources of factual

information about the child and his or her behavior.*°

Parents who bring their child to psychiatrists seeking

care “‘can’t be objective reporters” of the behavioral

background of the child.?! Parents often exaggerate and

(footnote continued from preceding page)

parent rather than in the minor, required inquiry into

“intra-family parent-child conflict.” In re Henry G., 28 C.A.2d

276, 284-285, 104 C.R. 585 (1972), describes the issue in this

way:

The Fourth Commandment is still an integral part of the

beliefs of our society. It is one thing, however, to say that

a teen-age minor has struck the parent—it is another thing

if that striking is done in self-defense and in response to

traumatic situations initiated by the parent.

88See Testimony of Dr. Kandler at 543a, 553a-554a; Dr.

Miller at 685a (“conflict of interest between adolescents and

their parents”). See notes 45, 48 and 50 supra.

Testimony of Dr. Ingall at 60la.

See Testimony of Dr. Masterson at 733a; Dr. Kandler at

543a; Dr. Ingall at 592a, 601a; Dr. Sugar at 401a.

"Testimony of Dr. Feiner at 478a. See Testimony of Dr.

Messinger at 623a-624a.

59

misinterpret the actions of their children and may often

react antagonistically to their children.”?

The decision of the lower court that parents’

interests do not negate the rights of their children in

the mental commitment context was manifestly cor-

rect.°? Where parents in this conflict situation apply to

See Testimony of Dr. Sugar at 404a-408a. For the particular

pressures on parents of the retarded, see authorities cited at

notes 45, 48 and 50 supra. See also notes 85-87 supra.

401 F. Supp. at 1048; 798a. The District Court and the

defendants approach the issue as one of parental power to

“waive” children’s rights. While the result is the same, plaintiffs

do not believe that the constitutional concept of waiver is

relevant in this conflict situation. There is no case in which

parents have been found to have waived the constitutional rights

of their children or not to have waived them. Gault discussed the

issue of waiver with the Court noting that problems might arise

“depending on the age of the child and the presence and

competence of th» parents.” 387 U.S. at 55. See Heryford v.

Parker, 396 F.2d 393, 396 (10th Cir. 1968) (issue described but

not decided).

In plaintiffs’ view, the critical question is whether juveniles

can be deprived of their rights by the state, acting on parental

application. As Judge Urbom held in Horacek v. Exon, Civil

Action No. 72-L-299 (D. Neb., Memorandum and Order of June

4, 1974), cited by the District Court at 797a:

Equating the plaintiffs with their parents will not do. Such

an elementary example as parental child abuse is enough to

illustrate that a child has rights a parent cannot take away.

Without detailed explanation, I simply hold that parents

cannot deprive their children of constitutional rights—rights

of the children vis-a-vis the state.

This approach is consistent with that followed by this Court

in the parental consent to abortion cases where the effect of

parental powers on children’s rights was assessed without the

(continued)

60

the state for confinement of their children in residential

mental institutions,** the “fundamental fairness’”’ of due

(footnote continued from preceding page)

need to inquire into parental competence to “waive” the rights

involved. See Danforth and Bellotti, supra at 53.

Should the Court undertake to consider the waiver issue,

plaintiffs submit that parental application for state commitment

without more cannot be considered a valid waiver of a child’s

rights to counsel and an opportunity to be heard. A waiver of

constitutional rights must be made “voluntarily, knowingly and

intelligently.” Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966). There

must be an “intentional relinquishment or abandonment’ of a

fully known right.” Jn re Gault, 387 U.S. 1, 42, quoting Johnson

v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 464 (1938).

A valid waiver may not be presumed from the silence of the

person involved. Miranda v. Arizona, supra; In Re Gault, supra,

387 US. at 34. In cases involving juveniles, even apparent

waivers have been invalidated. E.g., Halev v. Ohio, 332 U.S. 596,

601 (1948).

Most parents would no doubt prefer not to institutionalize

their children if they had the means to actualize alternatives.

Where the desire to institutionalize is formulated, it is by no

means certain (as defendants assume) that parents would oppose

a due process hearing to protect their child. In the case at bar,

the District Court suggested that parents’ views be represented by

the involvement of an organization of “parents of either retarded

or mentally disturbed children...[as] an appropriate class

action defendant” (234a). The state defendants initially opposed

such parental representation arguing that it is the mental

institution that has “the ultimate say in whether or not that

child is institutionalized” (243a). In view of the Court’s request,

the defendants agreed to cooperate with the plaintiffs and dozens

of contacts resulted in only one parent group joining the

litigation. The Pennsylvania Association for Retarded Citizens

filed a brief supporting the plaintiffs (4a).

61

process requires, at the least, notice, counsel and an

opportunity to be heard.**

F. Reliance Upon Psychiatrists Alone to Au-

thorize Commitments is Misplaced.

The state defendants argue that the decision to

confine a person in a mental institution is a medical

one, accomplished for the benefit of the child, and that

therefore a due process hearing is not required; mere

approval by psychiatrists should suffice.*®

Accord, J.L..& J.R. v. Parham, 412 F. Supp 112, (M.D. Ga.

1976), stay granted, ___ U.S. ___ , 44 U.S.L.W. 3563 (April 5,

1976); Kidd v. Schmidt, 399 F. Supp. 301 (E.D. Wis. 1975) Guve-

nile mental patients held entitled to preliminary injunction against

parental commitment statute); Saville v. Treadway , 404 F. Supp.

430 (M.D. Tenn. 1974); Jn re Long, 25 N.Ca.App. 702, 214 S.C.2d

626 (1975). See Jn ze Sippy, 97 A.2d 455 (D.C. Mun. App. 1953,

in which a mother sought to have her teenage daughter committed

to a psychiatric facility, the Devereaux School, an amicus herein.

The court found that the mother’s interests were “antagonistic or

at least sharply opposed” to the daughter’s and held that it was

error to permit the mother’s attorney to represent the child. See

also New York State Association for Retarded Children v.

Rockefeller, 357 F. Supp. 752, 762 (E.D.N.Y. 1973); Melville v.

Sabbatino, 30 Conn. Supp. 320 (Super. Ct. 1973).

While the defendants at times appear to argue that parental

discretion is unfettered in the institutionalization context, they

rely on the institution’s acceptance of the commitment

application as the “fail-safe” to protect the juvenile’s rights.

Thus, the defendants appear to have fully abandoned their .

argument to the District Court that due process does not apply

at all to this situation. 791a-793a, 402 F. Supp. at 1044-1045.

62

A mental commitment authorized by state law is

without question a variety of deprivation which falls

within the “liberty” clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment, O'Connor v. Donaldson, 422 U.S. 563

(1975), and substantial procedural protections must

accompany such a deprivation.*” The magnitude of the

state action, taken together with both the dangers

inherent in commitment and the risks of error, demand

a rigorous “emphasis on fact-finding procedures.”

McKeiver v. Pennsylvania, 403 U.S. 528, 543 (1971).”

See Specht yv. Patterson, 386 U.S. 605 (1967);

Baxstrom v. Herold, 383 U.S. 107 (1966).

Mere approval by two psychiatrists®® cannot support

a commitment to a mental institution. Dixon vy.

Attorney General of the Commonwealth of Pennsyl-

vania, 325 F. Supp. 266 (M.D. Pa. 1971). —

Certainly, the state of the art of psychiatry is not

such that the confinement of tens of thousands of

persons should be left to the judgement of these

practitioners alone. This field is beset with “‘uncertainty

of diagnosis’”’ and “tentativeness of professional judge-

*7See cases cited supra at note 21.

This case does not involve “second-guessing a medical

diagnosis” or interference with the provision of standard medical

care to juveniles. Brief for Appellants at 42. It is only when

medical recommendations result in a deprivation of liberty,

non-medical risks and imposition of stigma that, as in the case at

bar, the protections of due process are triggered.

This is what is required by the regulations supported by the

defendants and rejected by the District Court.

63

ment.” Greenwood vy. United States, 350 U.S. 366

(1956).'*

Mental illness is defined by the user of the term and

that definition depends upon the norms empleyed by

the definer:

And, because of the unavoidably ambiguous

generalities in which the American Psychiatric

‘One important study showed that diagnoses of psychiatric

residents were highly influenced by the imagined socio-economic

status of the patient and by the perceived diagnosis of other

psychiatrists independent of the clinical picture presented. Lee &

Temerlin, Social Class, Diagnosis and Prognosis for Psycho-

therapy, in Psychotherapy: Theory, Research and Practice \8|

(1970). See Ennis & Litwack, Psychiatry and the Presumption of

Expertise: Flipping Coins in the Courtroom, 62 Cal. L. Rev. 693

(1974), for a full review of the literature and the legal

implications. Among the studies which support the above

proposition include: Beck, Reliability of Psychiatric Diagnoses: A

Critique of Systematic Studies, 119 Amer. J. of Psychiatry 210

(1962); Chesler, Women and Madness, (1972) (Chapter 2

“Asylums”’); Edelman, /ntra-Therapist Diagnostic Reliability, 25

J. of Clin. Psychology 394 (1969); Goldbert & Werts, The

Reliability of Clinicians’ Judgements: A Multi-Trait—Multi-

Method Approach, 30 J. of Consulting Psychology 199 (1966);

Katz, Cole & Lowery, Studies of the Diagnostic Process: The

Influence of Symptom Perception, Past Experience and Ethnic

Background in Diagnostic Decisions, 125 Amer. J. of Psychiatry

937 (1966) (44 experienced psychiatrists viewed a filmed

interview with a patient. 17 saw the person as psychotic, 26 saw

the patient as nonpsychotic. When British and American

psychiatrists were compared, the British saw less pathology),

Pasamanik, Divity & Lefton, Psychiatric Orientation and Its

Relation to Diagnosis and Treatment in a Mental Hospital, 116

Amer. J. of Psychiatry 127 (1959); Rosensweig, et al, A Study

of the Reliability of the Mental Status Examination, 117 Amet.

J. of Psychiatry 1102 (1961).

64

Association describes its diagnostic categories, the

diagnostician has the ability to shoehorn into the

mentally diseased class almost any person he

wishes, for whatever reason, to put there.

Livermore, Malmquist and Meehl, On the Justifications

for Civil Commitment, 117 U. Pa. L. Rev. 75, 80

(1968).?°

Institutional psychiatrists are faced with conflicts of

interest — with their facilities,'°? with their patients and

their patients’ families'*® — and have great difficulty in

‘See Roth, Dayler and Lerner, Into the Abyss: Psychiatric

Reliability and Emergency Commitment Statutes, 13 Santa Clara

Law. 400, 403 (1973). More than a hundred years ago, a court

noted that commitment of children to reform school was based

on differing perceptions of the status of “poor parental care:”

... there is not a child in the land who could not be

proved, by two or more witnesses, to be in this sad

condition.

People ex rel. O'Connell v. Turner, 55 Ill. 280 (1870). The

situation is the same today with regard to who can be proved in

the “sad condition” of mental disturbance.

‘See Testimony of Dr. Messinger at 629a-630a (pressures on

psychiatrists to confirm colleagues’ opinions and meet institu-

tional needs) and Dr. Ingall at 599a (overcrowded clinics may

overrecommend institutionalization).

"See Scheff, Being Mentally Ill: A Sociological Theory

148-149 (1966) (family request cases are generally automatic).

Scheff also discusses a case in which a psychiatrist recommended

a commitment for a young patient who was not thought

mentally ill but who was having difficulties with his parents. /d.

at 147. Where parents seek commitment of their child, the

medical authority is forced to wear two hats:

While the goal of the psychiatrist will be expressed—and

perceived as the best welfare of the child-patient, it is the

parent who has come to seek help, whose situation seems

(continued)

65

telling the sane from the insane, tending toward an

overdiagnosis of mental illness."°* Psychiatry, asked to

adjudicate interpersonal and societal conflicts, is often

called upon to be the agent of the state’s police powers

in ways that carry it beyond its expertise.’®*

G. Need For and Functions of a Hearing.

One expert cogently listed the issues to be faced and

decided at a mental commitment hearing for juveniles:

I think first of all, an agreement on what are the

facts.

Secondly, some assessment of how severe the

pathology or disturbance of the child is.

(footnote continued from preceding page)

the most desperate, who seems the most reliable source of

information about what is wrong, who is the closest to the

psychiatrist in age and social outlook, and who is paying

the psychiatrist's fee.

Ellis, Volunteering Children, supra note 28, 62 Cal. L. Rev. at

868 (note omitted). This view is confirmed by the expert

testimony herein for both plaintiffs and defendants. See

Testimony of Dr. Feiner at 472a, 478a-479a; Dr. Sugar at 381a;

Dr. Masterson at 732a-733a; Dr. Kandler at 542a; Dr. Ingall at

593a-594a; Dr. Messinger at 637a-638a.

10'See Rosenhan, On Being Sane in Insane Places, 13 Santa

Clara Law. 379 (1973), discussed in District Court Opinion at

804a, n. 20; 402 F. Supp. at 1050, n. 20. Indicative of this

approach is the testimony for the defendants of Dr. Masterson

who asserted that psychiatrists should first assume that the

person before them is mentally ill (739a). See testimony at

737a-738a.

105See Bazelon, Forward, Symposium: Mental Iliness, the Law

and Civil Liberties, 13 Santa Clara Law. 367 (1973); Szasz, Civil

Liberties and the Mentally Ill, 9 Clev-Mar. L. Rev. 399, 407

(1960).

66

Thirdly, how dangerous the situation is, or might

become.

Fourthly, what else has been tried or might be

tried.

Fifth, what the adolescent himself says about the

matter and what he thinks might be best for him

and six, what the family thinks would be best for

the boy [or girl] .’°

This is what the plaintiffs seek.

A pre-commitment judicial hearing for juveniles is

proper and necessary in non-emergency situations.!°’

Because of their immaturity and lack of experience, it

is even more important that juveniles receive the

protection of a hearing than adults.'®* This is especially

true for those very young persons whom the state law

totally neglects.

Assistance of counsel is essential! and can help

treatment of juveniles and can in no significant way

hinder such treatment.’°? A hearing would not be

unduly traumatic for juveniles and would not interfere

with treatment or the parent-child relation; to the

contrary, a hearing would encousage more appropriate

‘Testimony of Dr. Messinger at 640a. The manner in which

these hearing functions affirmatively benefit the child is

documented in the brief amicus curiae of the State of New

Jersey, Department of the Public Advocate.

‘See Testimony of Dr. Kandler at 542a - 545a, 566a, 57a -

572a, 573a - 574a; Dr. Ingall at 596a - 597a, 606a; Dr.

Messenger at 622a - 623a, 625a, 630a - 631a; Dr. Feiner at 479a

- 480a.

‘See Testimony of Dr. Kandler at 562a; Dr. Ingall at 589a -

590a; Dr. Messinger at 630a - 631a.

'See Testimony of Dr. Kandler at 542a - $43a; Dr. Ingall at

597a; Dr. Messinger at 633a.

67

resolution of problems, and would have a positive and

beneficial affect on the child." See Jn re Gault, 387

U.S. at 26.'"? a

Establishment of a due process forum for a decision

to institutionalize lifts the heavy responsibility from the

parents'!? and reduces the possibility that the therapist

will be seen by the juvenile as an adverse party.’’* A

hearing does not interfere with therapy and has the

further effect of encouraging a juvenile’s cooperation

with a treatment plan.'**

The opportunity for hearings would not discourage

people from seeking treatment for juveniles, but would

result in agencies and psychiatrists performing more

effectively and in the avoidance of the necessity for

hearings and of institutionalization.'’*

H. The Requisites for a Due Process Hearing.

As the defendants cast their appeal, the only issue

raised on the merits is the proper extent of parental

110See Testimony of Dr. Kandler at 543a - 545Sa, 565a - 566a,

574a; Dr. Ingall at 591a, 596a - 597a, 61 1a - 61 3a.

‘One expert, Dr. Feiner, testified that “... it has been said

that some children would rather be fair than be loved. So, there

is a sense that a judicial hearing responds to in children” (483a).

See Testimony of Dr. Messinger at 624a.

''2Testimony of Dr. Feiner at 481a, 495a.

'"'3Pestimony of Dr. Messinger at 624a - 625a; Dr. Ingall at

61 2a - 613a.

'4Pestimony of Dr. Kandler at 561a, 574a; Dr. Ingall at 597a;

Dr. Messinger at 633a.

'\SSee Testimony of Dr. Kandler at 574a; Dr. Messinger at

638a - 640a; Dr. Feiner at 494a - 495a.

72 eeeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeee

68

authority in the context of state institutionalization.''®

No claim is made—if the District Court correctly

determined that parental rights do not negate children’s

commitment rights—that the District Court erred in its

prescription of notice, counsel, hearing and a “clear and

convincing’ standard of proof. Thus, this appeal does

not raise any question regarding the extent of due

process that applies in mental commitments.

The requirements of due process are flexible and

depend upon an evaluation of the effect of government

action on the private interest involved. Cafeteria

Workers Union v. McElroy, 367 U.S. 886, 895 (1961).

Notice, counsel, and an opportunity to be heard are

fundamental requirements where a deprivation of

liberty—for whatever reason—is involved. E.g., Specht v.

Patterson, 386 U.S. 605 (1967); Baxstrom v. Herold,

383 U.S. 107 (1966); In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967).

In this case, the District Court narrowly shaped

plaintiffs’ relief, requiring only a hearing before ‘“‘an

unbiased tribunal” (rather than a judicial hearing)''’

and other procedures following, in the main, Gault and

similar cases. The right to a jury trial was rejected''® as

"This was not the defendants’ position in the court below,

where they maintained that “the requirements of due process do

not apply to the institutionalizing of children... .”’ 791a; 402 F.

Supp. at 1044-1045.

"The court below did not decide whether a judicial hearing

is required on either Due Process or Equal Protection grounds;

the issue is not before this Court on appeal. Note that the new

Mental Health Procedures Act provides juveniles who challenge

commitments with judicial hearings. Supra at 4.

69

was the right to a pre-commitment hearing.''® All the

procedures save notice and counsel, declared the

District Court, may be waived upon approval by the

unbiased tribunal; a full hearing need not take place

every time a juvenile is institutionalized.'”®

Because the defendants have not briefed, argued or

challenged the rudiments of due process the District

Court required, the plaintiffs will merely summarize

them to demonstrate that the procedures are well

within the range of those suggested by decisions of this

Court and the lower federal courts.'?' |

1. Notice

Without advance notice, the District Court correctly

held, the fundamental “right to be heard has little

significance.”'** In mental commitment cases, notice is

'18See McKeiver v. Pennsylvania, 403 U.S. 528 (1971).

1194 major justification for denial of an invariable right to a

pre-commitment hearing was the state's “interest in the

immediate detention of children who may be dangerous to

themselves or others.” 800a-801a; 402 F. Supp. at 1049. Thus,

the decision does not threaten to foreclose proper expeditious

procedures in emergency situations.

12We neither intend nor expect that all of these procedures

will be required every time an attempt to institutionalize a child

is made.” 81la, n. 26; 402 F. Supp. at 1053, n. 26.

'21See cases cited at note 21 supra.

1228024; 402 F. Supp. at 1050, citing, inter alia, Grannis v.

Ordean, 234 U.S. 385, 394 (1914); Jn re Gault, 387 US. |

(1967); Mullane v. Central Hanover Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306

(1950).

70

at least as essential, if not more so, than in proceedings

which do not result in deprivation of liberty. Cf,

Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970). Where a

proceeding will be held which will determine whether a

person is indeterminately and involuntarily institu-

tionalized, advance notice is imperative.

The speculative fear of an unspecified trauma flowing

from notice cannot justify abandonment of this first

step in providing a process which is due under the

circumstances. Jn re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967). In its

recent comprehensive study, the American Bar Founda-

tion noted:

The humanitarian desire to eliminate or curtail the

use of notice in such cases raises certain questions,

however. It may be, for example, that the

experience of receiving notice would prove no

more traumatic for the patient than the experience

of suddenly finding himself detained in a mental

institution.'?5 *'

The record in the case at bar supports the conclusion

that this element of due process would not traumatize

the juveniles involved. See references at notes 107-111

supra.

Requiring written notice of the date, time and place

of the hearing and a statement of the grounds for the

proposed commitment,'** the District Court acted to

“protect children not in need of institutionalization

from wrongful commitment and improper deprivation

‘American Bar Foundation (Brakel & Rock, eds.), The

Mentally Disabled and the Law 51 (1971).

'24803a; 402 F. Supp. at 1050.

71

of their liberty.”'?5 Notice is one of the two rights (the

other is the right to counsel) which were held to be

unwaivable. 81la, n. 26; 402 F. Supp. at 1053, n. 26.

This makes good sense. “Since effective notice is a

prerequisite to the exercise of an individual's other due

process rights, mandatory notice should itself be a

requirement of due process” in mental health cases.

Note, Developments in the Law—Civil Commitment of

the Mentally Ill, 87 Harv. L. Rev. 1190, 12741275

(notes omitted) (1974) (hereafter cited ‘“Develop-

ments”’).??6 °

2. Counsel

In criminal proceedings, Argersinger v. Hamlin, 407

U.S. 25 (1972), and in juvenile proceedings, /n re

Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967), the guiding hand of counsel

is a right which assures that no person is deprived of

liberty without the aid of an expert able to “cope with

problems of law, to make skilled inquiry into the facts,

‘281d, Eighty years ago, in a landmark and often-cited case,

the Kansas Court of Appeals explained the logic of requiring

notice in mental commitment proceedings:

Notice and opportunity to be heard lie at the foundation

of all judicial procedures. They are fundamental principles

of justice which cannot be ignored . . . it will not do to say

that it is useless to serve notice on an insane person; that it

would avail nothing because of his inability to take

advantage of it. His sanity is the very thing to be tried.

In re Wellman, 3 Kan. App. 100, 103, 45 P. 726, 727 (1896).

'26Because some juveniles may not understand the notice, the

juvenile’s attorney must receive it as well. 803a, n. 19; 402 F.

Supp. at 1050, n. 19.

72

to insist upon regularity of the proceedings and to

ascertain whether he [or she] has a defense and to

prepare and submit it.”” Gault, 387 U.S. at 36.!27'

Without counsel, a juvenile would be helpless; the

right to be heard would be of little avail. Argersinger,

supra, 407 U.S. at 31. Mandatory appointment of

counsel in juvenile commitments assures that a child has

the full support necessary to avoid pressures of family

and institutions and to assist in making the critical

decision whether to waive an evidentiary hearing. See

Gallegos v. Colorado, 370 U.S. 49, 54 (1962); Haley vy.

Ohio, 332 U.S. 596, 599-601 (1948). See also Harris,

Mental Illness, Due Process and Lawyers, 55 A.B.A.J.

65 (1969) (danger that young persons will be induced

to commit selves to mental institution unless their

rights are explained to them by lawyers). With parents,

doctors and psychiatric workers all urging commitment,

and with no independent confidant, it is unlikely that a

child can make an “intentional relinquishment or

abandonment” of a fully known right. Johnson y.

Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 464 (1938).

3. Hearing

Both a probable cause hearing and a full hearing

must occur within a reasonable period of time in order

to support an indefinite mental commitment. /n re

Barnard, 455 F.2d 1370 (D.C. Cir. 1971); Lessard y.

Schmidt, supra note 21. In order to determine if “the

nature and duration of confinement bear some

—'2Other recent mental health cases support the right to

counsel. E.g., Lessard v. Schmidt; Lynch v. Baxley; Heryford v.

Parker, all supra at note 21.

73

reasonable relation to the purpose for which the

individual is committed,” Jackson v. Indiana, 406 U.S.

715, 738 (1972), a hearing is indispensable. See McNeil

y. Director, Patuxent Institution, 407 U.S. 245 (1972).

Because of the inadequate record in this regard, and

because of the need to permit states the flexibility to

experiment with various time frames, there is no need

for the Court in this case to specify the times by which

hearings must be held.

4. Presence of Person

While the right to be present is not absolute, //linois

vy. Allen, 397 U.S. 337 (1969), there can be no doubt

that persons subject to civil commitment have a right to

be present, Specht v. Patterson, 386 U.S. 605 (1966),

and that the right has value to others beside the subject

of the proceedings. The individual’s appearance provides

the factfinder with an opportunity to observe his or her

demeanor and to compare observations with those of

the psychiatrists, parents and other witnesses. See Note,

Developments, supra at 71, 87 Harv. L. Rev. at

1282-1283. This “day in court” permits the juvenile to

challenge the accuracy of reports of alleged conduct

which prompted the initiation of the proceedings.

5. Rights at the Commitment Hearing

The District Court held that “because of the

tremendous personal as well as societal loss error might

cause,” juveniles facing involuntary indeterminate

mental institutionalization are entitled to “the rights to

74

confront and to cross-examine witnesses against him, to

offer evidence in his own behalf and to offer testimony

of witnesses....” 810a; 402 F. Supp. at 1053. These

traditional factfinding tools are essential in the

commitment process so that conflicts may be resolved

and the true state of affairs ascertained. Specht v.

Patterson, supra, 386 U.S. at 610; Lynch v. Baxley, 386

F. Supp. 378, 394 (M.D. Ala. 1974), citing, Washington

v. Texas, 388 U.S. 14, 19 (1967).

6. Standard of Proof

The dangers of erroneous commitment must be

weighed against the dangers of not committing those

who may be said to require institutionalization; this is

the analysis required to determine the appropriate

standard of proof. While in juvenile proceedings, this

Court has required a reasonable doubt standard, /n re

Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1969), lower courts are divided

on the standard to be utilized in the similar mental

health context. See Jn re Ballay, 482 F.2d 648 (D.C.

Cir. 1973) (reasonable doubt); Lessard v. Schmidt,

supra at note 21 (reasonable doubt); Suzuki ».

Quisenberry, 411 F. Supp. 1113 (D. Hawaii 1976)

(reasonable doubt); Lynch v. Baxley, 386 F. Supp.

378 (M.D. Ala. 1974) (clear, unequivocal and con-

vincing); Dixon vy. Attorney General of the Com-

monwealth of Pennsylvania, 325 F. Supp. 966 (M.D.

Pa. 1971) (clear, unequivocal, convincing). Because both

the delinquency and the mental health processes involve

a “complete loss of liberty through a state-imposed

confinement” and severe social stigma, /n re Winship,

supra, 397 U.S. at 374 (Harlan, J.), the plaintiffs

submit that the District Court erred in not requiring the

higher standard of proof.

75

The District Court here adopted the clear and

convincing standard, choosing not to follow Winship

because the undeveloped state of psychiatry “creates

too great a risk of erroneously releasing children in

need of institutionalization.” 809a; 402 F. Supp. at

1053.

Although clearly sustainable, the District Court’s

decision on the standard of proof need not and ought

not be addressed by this Court in the absence of any

argument on the issue by the defendants and in light of

the conflict among the courts, a conflict not present on

the other issues discussed above.

I. Neither the State’s Regulations nor the Revised

Statute Affect the Unconstitutionality of Com-

mitment without Hearing and Counsel

After the filing of this lawsuit, the defendants

adopted regulations'?* ‘which would apply to juveniles

in commitments upon parental application. A referral to

the institution is required and, only for persons at least

thirteen, notice is given that, if objection is made, legal

counsel can be called. After at least two days of

institutionalization, a court proceeding may be

instituted against the objecting juvenile. There is no

requirement that the hearing be held at any particular

time after commitment—it may take one week, two

weeks, a month or more, for all the regulations neglect

'8Reproduced at Brief for Appellants 9-15.

76

to say, until due process is afforded that small portion

of the class between 13 and 18. There is no provision

at all for persons under 13 who are at least equally in

need of protection.

The referral body’s psychiatric or psychological

evaluation, confirmed by the institution, is not a proper

legal basis for commitment. It is unconstitutional for

persons to be placed in mental facilities solely on the

basis of medical certifications. Dixon v. Attorney

General of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, supra;

Heryford v. Parker, supra; see cases cited at note 21

supra. See also Wyatt v. Aderholdt, 358 F. Supp. 1382

(M.D.Ala.1973) (three-judge court) (sterilization of

retarded “‘cannot be left to the unfettered discretion of

any two officials or individuals”). The regulations here

codify exactly what the law condemns.

With regard to those over thirteen, the regulations

apply only after commitment. Any due process must

occur before an indefinite institutionalization and must

provide notice and counsel as well as hearing. See

discussion and cases cited supra at 67-75. After the

child is brought to the hospital, or has been diagnosed

by the referring agency, it is unlikely the juvenile will

be released.'??

The regulations do not protect the susceptible

juvenile from succumbing to pressures and involuntarily

acquiescing in the commitment:

129

Once the psychiatrist has made a “diagnosis,” the patient is

considered “sick.” The psychiatrist does not have to prove

his allegation (in court or outside of it). But the patient

must now prove, as it were, that he is “not sick.”

Szasz, Civil Liberties and the Mentally lil, 9 Clev-Mar. L. Rev.

399, 407 (1960).

77

The fact that a new “patient” may act in a passive

manner and not protest should not be taken “to

be a meaningful acceptance of commitment.”

Cohen, The Function of the Attorney and the

Commitment of the Mentally Ill, 44 Tex L. Rev. 424.

447 (1966). See Haley v. Ohio, 322 U.S. 596 (1948);

In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1966).

There must be a consultation with an attorney before

the juvenile is asked to sign the complex waiver the

regulations provide:

Because young persons usually are more sus-

ceptible to persuasion than are older persons, there

is a greater danger that they will be more easily

induced to commit themselves voluntarily to

mental hospitals unless their rights are carefully

explained to them by lawyers.

A. Harris, Mental Illness, Due Process and Lawyers, 55

A.B.A.J. 65 (1969).'% '

It would be harmful and counter-therapeutic to

follow the state’s regulations and allow only a

post-commitment hearing. As one expert testified:

I think it is a most inadequate provision and it is

closing the barn door after the horse is out. |

think it is disastrous to hospitalize a child and

then find out, by golly, it wasn’t necessary. That is

playing with a child’s life.’*"

Pennsylvania has revised its commitment law with

respect to a portion of the plaintiff class. While persons

18 and younger alleged to be retarded are still

'%See Testimony of Dr. Messinger at 631a-632a; Dr. Miller at

702a (unauthorized punishment for juvenile requesting attorney).

'31Dr. Messinger at 63la. See Testimony of Dr. Feiner at 482a

and Dr. Ingall at 5°oa.

78

committed under the original law and _ regulations,

persons 13 and younger alleged to be mentally ill are

committed in a simular fashion’’’ under the revised law.

Thus, the revised law continues the procedures without

change for the great majority of the plaintiff class.'*?

Il.

THE DISTRICT COURT DID NOT ABUSE

ITS DISCRETION IN REQUIRING THE

DEFENDANT STATE OFFICIALS TO

ASSURE THAT JUVENILES PRESENTLY

COMMITTED RECEIVE CONSTITUTIONAL

STATE PROCEDURES TO DETERMINE

WHETHER THEY ARE MENTALLY DIS-

ABLED AND IN NEED OF INSTITU-

TIONALIZATION.

A.Preiser v. Rodriguez Does Not Bar Relief for

Juveniles Presently Committed.

The complaint herein requested injunctive and

declaratory relief'** to assure constitutional state

procedures in the hospitalization of children in mental

institutions. Seeking only the guarantee of a state

forum in which to have the claims against them

determined, the plaintiffs sought from the federal court

‘The new procedure for the mentally ill is remarkably

identical to the former procedure under the regulations.

'33See note 20 supra.

'4An initial prayer for damages was voluntarily withdrawn

early in the litigation.

79

neither release nor any order with regard to their

custody.!%5 '

The class defined by the complaint and by the

District Court!** ‘included all juveniles ‘“‘who have been,

are, or may be” committed upon parental application

(emphasis added). Thus, ab initio, the plaintiffs have

sought relief for those persons presently institu-

tionalized as well as those who may be institutionalized

in the future.

In Paragraph 15(E) of its Final Order,'*’ the District

Court enjoined the defendants to “initiate procedures,

commencing immediately, to assure that all children

eighteen years of age or younger already admitted or

committed” under the challenged laws be provided with

the procedures required by the decision.

The defendants object'* ‘to this portion of the

order'*® and argue that it is barred by the principle of

See Complaint at 22a-23a. Individual plaintiffs did allege

that they objected to their commitments.

'%Complaint at 10a-11a; Order of April 29, 1974 at 270a;

Opinion, 402 F. Supp. at 1041; 783a; Final Order at 844a.

‘Paragraph 15(E) is reproduced at 851a.

'3Despite lengthy prior notice of the broad class definition,

and the presence of defendants’ counsel in open court when the

definition was drafted (255a-256a), the defendants did not object

to the possibility of relief for presently confined persons until

the very end of the litigation (838a-839a). The District Court

never directly ruled on this belated objection but merely issued

its Final Order reasserting Paragraph 15 (E) as it appeared in the

Proposed Order with certain additions. Cf{ 832a with 851a-852a.

The argument made here in the text presupposes that this Court

reaches this issue.

‘The defendants do not appear to object to any portion of

Declaratory Relief granted (844a-848a).

80

Preiser v.

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.