Petition — Poelker v. Doe

Supreme Court brief1977

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Den ef C= ps

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES. ,

OCTOBER TERM, 1974 rr OF TE om

JOHN H. POELKER, Mayor of the City of

St. Louis, Missouri,

and

R. DEAN WOCHNER, M.D., Director of Health and Hospitals,

and Acting Commissioner of Hospitals of the

City of St. Louis, Missouri,

Petitioners,

VS.

JANE DOE, and a Class,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

To the United States Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit

-

LARK L. KOEHR

City selor of the City of St. Louis,

te of Missouri

GENE P. FREEMAN

Deputy City Counselor of the City of

St. Louis, State of Missouri

Room 314, City Hall

1200 Market Street

St. Louis, Missouri 63103

314-453-3366

Attorneys for Petitioners

St. Louis Law Printing Co., Inc., 812 Olive Street 63101 314-231-4477

SB:

\\

<2 oe et

ad ets | ate

INDEX

Page

ED iss podeceedh s sckbeeheN eee aeens 2

IE GE IID 5 oc cc cd wccccescccccccceen 3

Questions Presented for Review .................... 3

Positive Law Provisions Involved ................... 4

ee aides s chide sens shee ee ke . 10

PD GD So ccwedse chcctscdc'evessaees 5 10

Facts Material to Questions Presented ............. 10

Reasons for Granting a Writ of Certiorari ............ 23

DS Ge TD onc cht eee sccccscccses 23

II. Appellate Abuse of Discretion .............. 27

1. Overturning District Court’s Findings ...... 27

2. Court of Appeals Initiation of Petitioner May-

or’s Convictions of “Bad Faith” and Imposition

of Punishment by Levying “Attorney Fees” .. 33

III. Justiciability, Standing and Mootness .......... 39

IE. 6 iy oe 056 oa bk nee N UNE NS SE EEE ERE 53

Appendices

District Court Memorandum and Order, filed March 22,

ee a sedan dance dda daede ee A-1l

Court of Appeals Opinion, filed June 4, 1974 .......... A-11

Court of Appeals Order, denying petition for rehearing

and rehearing en banc, entered June 27, 1974 ...... A-18

District Court Memorandum and Order, filed January 13,

POT ECT OTe Teer Tee TT Le A-19

Court of Appeals Opinion, filed April 14,1975 ......... A-27

Court of Appeals Order, denying petition for rehearing and

for rehearing en banc, and in response to motion for

rehearing en banc, modifying opinion filed April 14,

rm, GUI Te We SD 6k vee acasctecsosenaess A-40

Court of Appeals Order, in response to motion of appellees,

amending opinion filed April 14, 1975, as revised by

order of May 7, 1975, and granting appellees right to

file a second petition for rehearing and rehearing en

banc entered June 2, 1975, with opinion by Van Ooster-

hout, senior Circuit Judge, concurring in part and dis-

PEE 9 6:44.60 bene 94n5¥06s5ane 68% bane 68 A-44

Court of Appeals Order, denying second petition for re-

hearing and rehearing en banc, entered June 24,1975 A-54

District Court Order, entering judgment on mandate of

Court of Appeals issued July 8, 1975, pursuant to opin-

ion filed April 14, 1975, as modified on May 7, 1975,

and June 2, 1975, entered August 8, 1975 .......... A-55

District Court Memorandum and Order, filed August 8,

POPP OPC T re. Meee TORE HT eer ep rer A-56

Notice of Appeal of Jane Doe, et al., plaintiffs, filed Au-

Pe es Sa 80 4b odo e cae be cdtenskesauben A-60

Court of Appeals Clerk’s acknowledgement of filing of Ap-

peal, dated August 22, 1975, and notice of probable

hearing October 13, 1975, in St. Paul, Minnesota .. . . A-62

Charter of the City of Saint Louis, Missouri, Table of Con-

EP rr Per ry oon Meare er eS A-65

Article XVIII, Civil Service, of the Charter of the City of

<n eked eens abe ces ae dee ern eeees A-67

——

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases

Abele v. Markle, 452 F2d 1121 (C.A. 2nd 1971) ...... 49

Alyeska Pipeline Service Co. v. Wilderness Society, — U.S.

—, 95 S.Ct. 1612, 44 L.Ed.2d 141 (S.Ct. 1975) ... .34, 38

Bailey v. Patterson, 369 US 31 (S.Ct. 1962) ........... 46

Baker v. Carr, 369 US 186 (S.Ct. 1962) .............. 45

Barlow v. Collins, 397 US 159 (S.Ct. 1970) ............ 50

Birdwell v. Hazelwood School District, 491 F2d 490 (C.A.

rane. Sarr ere eee 33

Commissioner of Internal Revenue v. Duberstein, 363 US

oe ne eee eeu ns hehe Chee s 4S EER 32

Crossen v. Breckenridge, 446 F2d 833 (C.A. 6th, 1971) .. 50

Doe v. Bolton, 410 US 179 (S.Ct. 1973) ... .24, 25, 27, 35, 37

Doe v. Poelker, 497 F2d 1063 (C.A. 8th, 1974) ........ 31

Doe v. Poelker, 515 F2d 541 (C.A. 8th, 1975) ....... 26, 27

Flast v. Cohen, 392 US 83 (S.Ct. 1968) .............. 41

Golden v. Zwickler, 394 US 103 (S.Ct. 1969) ..... 42, 44, 45

Indiana Employment Division v. Burney, 409 US 540 (S.

FF a ee eer eT eT re ee ee err ee 46

Linda R.S. v. Richard D., 410 US 614 (S.Ct. 1973) ..... 46

North Carolina v. Rice, 404 US 244 (S.Ct. 1971) ...... 45

Parke-Davis and Co. v. Stromsodt, 411 F2d 1390 (C.A.

i eee ee eee. eee kh ee 33

Pendergrass v. New York Life Insurance Co., 181 F2d 136

i nn i ee een ohhh ehaeensoenebebe se 32

iv

Poe v. Menghini, 339 F. Supp. 986 (D. Kan. 1972) ...... 51

Roe v. Ferguson, — F2d —, April 28, 1975, No. 74-

2908 CA. GR, TVED +c csccesecessacss ses 36

Roe v. Norton, — F2d —, July 31, 1975, No. 74-1874

CA. Bee, TOUED ceccidenvccceweusetesseesse 37

Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (S.Ct.

1973) .....24, 25, 27, 35, 37, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52

Toledo Scale Co. v. Computing Scale Company, 261 US

te, Perret re 39

Traux v. Raich, 239 US 33 (S.Ct. 1915) .............. 51

United Public Workers v. Mitchell, 330 US 75 (S.Ct. 1947) 40

United States v. Raines, 362 US 17 (S.Ct. 1960) ....... 41

United States v. 12 200-Ft. Reels, 413 U.S. 123 (S.Ct.

IOTED ow ccccccccvevessecesceseseel tat 38

United States v. United States Gypsum Co., 333 US 364

GCe. BOG ... scsesddescestcuestie 32

United States v. Vuitch, 402 US 62 .................. 25

Universal Oil Products Co. v. Root Refining Co., 328 US

S7S Gt. FRG ooo 6nccceessess ee 38, 39

Vaughan v. Atkinson, 369 US 527 (S.Ct. 1962) ........ 39

Word v. Poelker, 495 F2d 1349 (CA. 8th, 1974) ..... 35, 37

Wulff v. Singleton, 508 F2d 1211 (C.*. 8th, 1974), cert.

gr. 43 LW 3674, June 24, 1975 .............. 35, 36, 37

Statutes and Court Rules

Charter of the City of St. Louis, Article XVIII ........ 24

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 52(a) . . .28, 29, 32, 33

a

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1974

a

JOHN H. POELKER, Mayor of the City of

St. Louis, Missouri,

and

R. DEAN WOCHNER, M.D., Director of Health and Hospitals,

and Acting Commissioner of Hospitals of the

City of St. Louis, Missouri,

Petitioners,

VS.

JANE DOE, and a Class,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Te the United States Court of Appeals

fur the Eighth Circuit

The petitioners John H. Poelker and R. Dean Wochner, re-

spectfully pray that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judg-

ments and opinions of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Eighth Circuit entered in the proceedings between these

petitioners and respondent in such court.'

' For simplicity, the parties are throughout identified by their

present status of petitioners and respondent.

OPINIONS BELOW

A. There are three Memoranda and Orders of the United

States District Court, Eastern District, Eastern Division, which

at this date, through publisher's oversight and recency are not

yet reported. However, each is herewith presented in the sep-

arate Appendix; these are:

1. Jane Doe, et al. v. John H. Poelker, Mayor of the City

of St. Louis, Missouri, et al., Case No. 73C-565(A),

entered on March 22, 1974;

2. Jane Doe, et al. v. John H. Poelker, Mayor of the City

of St. Louis, Missouri, et al., Case No. 73C-565(A),

entered on January 13, 1975; and

3. Jane Doe, et al. v. John H. Poelker, Mayor of the City

of St. Louis, Missouri, et al., Case No. 73C-565(A),

entered on August 8, 1975.

B. There is an opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Eighth

Circuit entered on June 4, 1974, reversing the District Court

in A-1 above, reported officially as Jane Doe, et al. v. John H.

Poelker, etc., et al, 497 F.2d 1063. This opinion is included

in the Appendix.

C. There is an opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Eighth

Circuit filed April 14, 1975, reversing the District Court in A-2

above: there are also two substantial modifications of this opin-

ion by subsequent orders entered: May 7, 1975, and June 2,

1975. The case is reported as Jane Doe, et al. v. John H. Poel-

ker, etc., et al., 515 F.2d 541, as the opinion finally evolved

after the modifications. The opinion and each successive opin-

ion modifying order are included in the Appendix.

JURISDICTION

A final judgment dated and entered by the Court of Appeals

on April 14, 1975, is sought to be reveiwed.

The Court of Appeals entered an interiocutory judgment re-

versing a judgment of the District Court and remanding the

case for trial on June 4, 1974. Timely petitions for rehearing

and rehearing en banc were denied by the Court of Appeals’

order made on June 27, 1974.

A final judgment of the Court of Appeals, reversing the Dis-

trict Court and remanding for limited purposes was dated and

filed on April 14, 1975. Timely petitions for rehearing and

rehearing en banc were denied by the Court of Appeals’ order

of May 7, 1975; and such order, in response to said petitions,

substantially modified the opinion and judgment of April i4,

1975. Upon petitioners’ timely motion for further amendment

of the opinion and judgment as modified, the Court of Appeals

again substantially modified its opinion and judgment on June

2, 1975, and granted petitioners the right to file second peti-

tions for rehearing and rehearing en banc. Timely second peti-

tions for rehearing and rehearing en banc were filed and denied

by the Court of Appeals’ order entered on June 24, 1975.

The Supreme Court's sound judicial discretion for issuance of

a writ of certiorari is invoked under its jurisdiction conferred

by 28 U.S.C. Section 1254(1). This petition for certiorari was

filed within 90 days of the effective date of the judgment, June

24, 1975.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Whether a woman's Federal constitutional privacy rights

regarding abortion requires a municipally staffed and operated

hospital to furnish medical personnel and facilities to comply

A

anttie

with her request for an abortion based on her financial distress

within her first trimester of pregnancy where no medical in-

dications exist.

2. Whether the Fifth Amendment Due Process Clause of

the United States Constitution and Rule 52(a) of the Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure prohibit a Court of Appeals from

finally reversing a District Court’s well-found findings and sub-

stituting its own contrary Complaint constructions and factual

conclusions, and then, for the first time, on such appeal relying

thereon, levying punitive substantial “attorney fees” for “bad

faith,” without there having occurred any trial of any of such

issues or conclusions in the District Court.

3. Whether Article III of the Federal Constitution requiring

a case or controversy bars a Court of Appeals’ judgment in

favor of a woman pregnant at the time of filing suit for personal

relief, and as sole representative of a class, claiming a constitu-

tional right to an hysterectomy and an abortion by a munici-

pality, where she secretly procures an abortion within five (5)

days of filing and prior to summons of one defendant and be-

fore the case is heard by the District Court.

POSITIVE LAW PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Constitution of the United States

Article III:

Section 1. The judicial Power of the United States, shall

be vested in one supreme Court, and in such inferior Courts

as the Congress may from time to time ordain and estab-

lish. The Judges, both of the supreme and inferior Courts,

shall hold their Offices during good Behaviour, and shall,

at stated Times, receive for their Services, a Compensation,

‘%

eee ath

ee ere eee eee

—_ an

which shall not be diminished during their Continuance

in Office.

Section 2. The Judicial Power shall extend to all Cases,

in Law and Equity, arising under this Constitution, the

Laws of the United States, and Treaties made, or which

shall be made, under their Authority;—to all Cases affect-

ing Ambassadors, other public Ministers and Consuls;—

to all Cases of admiralty and maritime jurisdiction;—to

Controversies between two or more States;—between a

State and Citizens of anot ier State;—between Citizens of

different States;—between Citizens of the same State claim-

ing Land under Grants of different States, and between a

State, or the Citizens thereof, and foreign States, Citizens

or Subjects.

Amendments to the United States Constitution:

First Amendment:

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment

of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or

abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the

right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition

the Government for a redress of grievances.

Fifth Amendment, providing in applicable part:

* * * nor be deprived of life, liberty, or property, without

due process of law;

Seventh Amendment:

In Suits at common law, where the value in controversy

shall exceed twenty dollars, the right of trial by jury shall

be preserved, and no fact tried by a jury, shall be otherwise

re-examined in any Court of the United States, than ac-

cording to the rules of the common law.

Ninth Amendment:

The enumeration in the Constitution, of certain rights,

shall not be construed to deny or disparage others retained

by the people.

Tenth Amendment:

The powers not delegated to the United States by the

Constitution, nor prohibited by it to the States, are reserved

to the States respectively, or to the people.

a» Von

can control or interfere with the rights of conscience; that

no person shall, on account of his religious persuasion or

belief, be rendered ineligible to any public office of trust

or profit in this state, be disqualified from testifying or

serving as a juror, or be molested in his person or estate;

but this section shall not be construed to excuse acts of

licentiousness, nor to justify practices inconsistent with the

good order, peace or safety of the state, or with the rights

of others.

The Constitution of the State of Missouri, 1945 | Missoun Statutory Provisions

Article I, Bill of Rights Section 197.032, Revised Statutes of Missouri, Laws 1973.

In order to assert our rights, acknowledge our duties,

and proclaim the principles on which our government is

founded, we declare:

* *- * * * * *.

Section 2. Promotion of general welfare—anatural rights

of persons—equality under the law—purpose of govern-

ment. That all constitutional government is intended to

promote the general welfare of the people; that all persons

have a natura! right to life, liberty, the pursuit of happiness

and the enjoyment of the gains of their own industry; that

all persons are created equal and are entitled to equal rights

and opportunity under the law; that to give security to these

things is the principal office of government, and that when

government does not confer this security, it fails in its chief

design.

a * * * + * *

Section 5. Religious freedom—liberty of conscience and

belief—limitations. That all men have a natural and inde-

feasible right to worship Almighty God according to the

dictates of their own consciences; that no human authority

POA ENE OT a APT Bk pee ee -

197.032. Hospitals and medical personnel may refuse

abortions—no denial of public benefits for such refusal—

civil action, when

1. No physician or surgeon, registered nurse, practical

nurse, midwife or hospital, public or private, shall be re-

quired to treat or admit for treatment any woman for the

purpose of abortion if such treatment or admission for

treatment is contrary to the established policy of, or the

moral, ethical or religious beliefs of, such physician, sur-

geon, registered nurse, midwife, practical nurse or hospital.

No cause of action shall accrue against any such physician,

surgeon, registered nurse, midwife, practical nurse or hos-

pital on account of any such refusal to treat or admit for

treatment any woman for abortion purposes.

2. No person or institution shall be denied or discrim-

inated against in the reception of any public benefit, assist-

ance or privilege whatsoever or in any employment, public

or private, on the grounds that they refuse to undergo an

abortion, to advise, consent to, assist in or perform an

abortion.

—

3. Any person who shall deny or discriminate against

another for refusal to perform or participate in an abor-

tion shall be liable to the party injured in an action at law,

suit in equity or other redress.

Charter of the City of St. Louis”

Article XVIII, Civil Service:

Sec. 3, (n) Removals and demotions.—For removals,

demotions and decreases in pay in the cases of employes

whose service rendered is below satisfactory standards, de-

signed to promote the efficiency of the service. Such action

shall be effective only after written notice to, with right of

appeal in, the employes affected, and after such investi-

gation as is appropriate to insure that the action taken is

on the sole ground of merit and fitness.

Sec. 16. Racial, political and religious discrimination.

—No recommendation or question under the authority of

this article shall relate to the race, political or religious

opinions, affiliations or service of any person. No person

shall be appointed to a position in the classified service

hereunder, nor be demoted, re-employed, promoted, re-

moved, increased or reduced in compensation, nor in any

other way be favored or discriminated against in any mat-

ter within the purview of this article, because of his race,

political or religious opinions, affiliations or service.

Sec. 22. Violations of civil service provisions.—. \ny per-

son who shall willfully or through culpable negligence vio-

late or conspire to violate any provision of this article

or of any ordinance made pursuant theretofore which no

other punishment is provided herein, shall be guilty of a

misdemeanor, and, upon conviction thereof in any court

2 Article XVIII, is reproduced in full in the Appendix.

‘ —

of competent jurisdiction, shall be punished by a fine of

not less than one hundred dollars and not more than five

hundred dollars or by imprisonment for not to exceed six

months, or both, in the discretion of the court. The con-

viction of any employe of any such offense shall operate

automatically to terminate his service and to vacate his

position. Any employe so removed from the service shall

not be reinstated, reemployed or reappointed, or in any

other manner re-enter the service of the City of St. Louis

for a period of five years from the date of such conviction,

and the comptroller and any other fiscal officers respon-

sible for payment of any compensation to such person are

hereby charged with notice thereof. Nothing in this sec-

tion shall be construed to supplant or in any way affect

any prosecution that may be elected to be initiated under

any other provision of law relating to the nonfeasance, mal-

feasance or misfeasance of public officers.

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

Rule 52, findings by the court:

(a) Effect. In all actions tried upon the facts without

a jury or with an advisory jury, the court shall find the

facts specially and state separately its conclusions of law

thereon, and judgment shall be entered pursuant to Rule

58; and in granting or refusing the interlocutory injunc-

tions the court shall similarly set forth the findings of fact

and conclusions of law which constitute the grounds of

: its action. Requests for findings are not necessary for pur-

: poses of review. Findings of fact shall not be set aside un-

less clearly erroneous, and due regard shall be given to the

Opportunity of the trial court to judge of the credibility

of the witnesses. The findings of a master, to the extent

that the court adopts them, shall be considered as the find-

Sane he ae ee

were

=—

ings of the court. If an opinion or memorandum of deci-

sion is filed, it will be sufficient if the findings of fact and

conclusions of law appear therein. Findings of fact and

conclusions of law are unnecessary on decisions of motions

under Rules 12 or 56 or any other motion except as pro-

vided in Rule 41(b).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Jurisdiction Below

The United States District Court’s jurisdiction was predicated

upon claims based upon the First. Fourth, Fifth, Ninth, and

Fourteenth Amendments of the United States Constitution as-

serted under United States Code, Title 28, Chapter 85, Section

1343, Title 28, Chapter 151, Sections 2201 and 2202, and

Title 42, Chapter 21, Section 1983.

The United States Court of Appeals’ jurisdiction was

grounded upon its statutory powers according to United States

Code, Title 28, Chapter 81, Section 1291, and Federal Rules of

Appellate Procedure, Rule 4(a).

Facts Material to Questions Presented

This case was filed on August 17, 1973, in the District Court

(E.D., E.D., Mo.) by the respondent as a sole plaintiff claiming

to represent a too numerous class to join of pregnant women

residents of St. Louis. The only named defendants were the

Mayor of St. Louis and the City’s Director of Health and Hos-

pitals.

At the time of the filing, and for a period of a year thereafter,

the respondent intentionally withheld from the petitioners her

identity and all factual matters from which the truth or falsity

ee ee ee ——

on De Eel. aa

of the Complaint’s averments could be determined. Because of

the respondent’s principal attorney's express refusal to permit

civil rule discovery without protective orders, petitioners, on

September 21, 1973, moved for an order, with reasonable limi-

tations which might appear proper, requiring submission to dis-

covery according to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

The Complaint upon filing, after recitation of the jurisdic-

tional grounds for the suit (see above), and an explanation of

the failure to identify the respondent so as to avoid “embarrass-

ment and harassment,” claimed respondent was a married

woman with a family, in her first trimester of pregnancy, who

could not afford the expense of another child and consequent

loss of employment because of the family’s “severe financial

Straits.” That she suffered certain reproductive organ difficulties

which necessitated an hysterectomy which properly should be

simultaneously done with the abortion she desired. She further

claimed that she had gone twice in August of 1973 to one of the

two hospitals of the City of St. Louis and was there advised by

the hospital staff physicians to get an abortion elsewhere and

then return for the hysterectomy which they recommended be

done. She claimed such physicians expressed to her their re-

fusal to abort her because of a stated hospital policy of a blanket

prohibition of abortions. The claim was made that the petitioner

Mayor, being the chief executive officer exercising control over

the petitioner Director of Health and Hospitals and the City

hospitals, on many occasions stated that abortion would not be

allowed, and because of his high position, his statements were

largely responsible for the existing situation of prohibiting abor-

tions.

The stated claim for bringing the action was her (and the

class she claimed to represent) desire to utilize the personnel,

facilities and hospital “for the termination of said pregnancy,”

and that such policies, rules, regulations, procedures, and prac-

tices interfere with and deprive her and “her respective physician

—=

of the right of privacy within the patient-physician relation-

ship,” and also deprive her of right as a woman “to determine for

herself whether to bear children and maintain her marital

privacy” as guaranteed by the Fourth, Fifth, Ninth, and Four-

teenth Amendments to the United States Constitution.

The relief prayed for in the Complaint was a declaratory

judgment that any City policies, etc. barring, thwarting, limiting,

and infringing upon the utilization of the personnel, facilities,

and services of the City’s hospitals for abortions, are violative

of her and the class’s constitutional rights; and for a “permanent

injunction” to restrain petitioners and their agents from enforc-

ing such policy, etc., against respondent or the class, so as to

avoid “irreparable harm and injury to plaintiff and said class.”

(This latter prayer for injunctive relief was stricken by respond-

ent on October 1!, 1974.)

By a pre-filing agreement between the respondent and the

American Civil Liberties Union, the corporation procured at

its expense an abortion of respondent five days after the suit

was filed (e.g., Aug. 22, 1973), furnished four attorneys of rec-

ord to file and prosecute suit, and agreed to assume all costs,

attorneys fees and other expenses of the litigation. Such abor-

tion was done in secret (all other matters of adversary interest

occurring after suit were currently broadcast to the news media

by the A.C.L.U. attorneys of record or occasionally by others

of such organization). The District Court and the petitioners

first learned of the abortion six (6) months later on February

25, 1974; again by remarks to the media by respondent's at-

torney. At the time of the respondent’s abortion, one of the

petitioners, the Director of Health and Hospitals, had not been

summoned.

Petitioners made answer on September 21, 1973, without

benefit of discovery, and besides denials of the Complaint’s cru-

cial allegations, set up such general matters of defense thought

endian a

—

appropriate in their condition of factual uncertainty existent at

the time.

On October 5, 1973, at a time petitioners were awaiting

judicial relief to accomplish discovery on the allegations of the

Complaint, the respondent moved for summary judgment upon

a claim that the pleadings then filed (petitioner Mayor had

answered interrogatories Oct. 4, 1973) and an annexed affidavit

of respondent, demonstrated that no materia! issues existed.

This affidavit was made the day before it was filed on October

4, 1973, and the jurat was supplied by one of the respondent's

attorneys of record. The affidavit tracted the Complaint’s con-

clusionary allegations of fact, but added (par. 8) that she had

been advised by a private physician “that the ordinary and

routine medical procedure in her situation is to perform the

abortion and hysterectomy in one surgical procedure, rather

than two separate and distinct procedures, * * *” (emphasis

added). Finally, the affidavit ended (par. 9) with the statement:

9. The present and real threat by defendants to imple-

ment and enforce the policy herein challenged deters said

plaintiff from receiving medical care in a manner bene-

ficial for her health and safety and in a manner consistent

with the highest standards of medical practice.

The affidavit, so far as it positively states that petitioner was

then in need of an hysterectomy and simultaneous abortion was

materially false, and deceptive to both the District Court and

petitioners, and could hardly not be known as false by the attor-

neys for respondent who were also agents of the A.C.L.U. which

had accomplished the abortion of petitioner over two months

prior pursuant to the aforesaid agreement.

In response, petitioners, in their situation of respondent's de-

vised ignorance, in order to protect against the threat of sum-

mary judgment, reminded the Court by motion of their existing

= =

discovery disability and consequent incapacity to oppose the

respondent’s motion with any contrary factual matters, and

again asked for discovery on respondent and denial of her motion

for summary judgment. The Court did not, at the time, rule

on the matters.

As a result of the knowledge learned as beforesaid on or about

February 22, 1974, petitioners on February 25, 1974, moved

the District Court for an order requiring petitioner to disclose

whether her claimed pregnancy had been aborted and her re-

productive organs had been removed, permanently barring fur-

ther pregnancy. On the same day (Feb. 25, 1974) respondent’s

attorney in response to an oral instruction from the Court, filed

a letter admitting the abortion of respondent on August 22,

1973, but making no mention of the hysterectomy claimed to

have been required. Concomitantly the petitioners moved the

Court to dismiss this action. By memorandum order filed March

22, 1974, the District Court granted petitioners’ motion on the -

grounds of the respondent’s lack of personal and representative

standing and the mootness resulting from the abortion before

the case could be heard,

Respondent appealed the District Court’s judgment to the

Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit on March 26, 1974.

On appeal respondent did not formally present any questions

to the Court of Appeals but argued “The Inappropriateness of

Dismissal for Lack of Standing” and importuned the Court to

decide the case in her favor on the basis that the policy (then of

undefined import and unknown application to respondent)

“* * * intruded into the decision-making privacy of the woman

and the medical personnel of these [City’s] institutions. * * *”

The Court reversed and remanded on the basis that pregnancy

at time of filing but not at time of hearing was sufficient for both

personal and representative standing, and non-pregnancy before

hearing at the trial level did not render the claims of respondent

fe ton ae DL” (ee,

Pe ee ee ee Ee ee ee ere eee

—

moot. Petitioners’ timely rehearing and rehearing en banc peti-

tions were denied.

After the Court of Appeals’ reversal and remand, the Dis-

trict Court held a pre-trial conference to consider and dispose

of matters delaying trial. At this time, upon the Court's ex-

pression of intent to order discovery on the respondent, her

attorneys agreed to an oral deposition setting. Also at this

time in response to respondent's attorneys’ inquiry, the Court

informed both parties’ attorneys that the Complaint would be

construed as not raising any issue concerning the staffing prac-

tices or procedures at the City’s hospitals; but that the Com-

plaint could be amended or a new suit filed so as to put such

matters in issue. In the history of the case the Complaint was

never so amended and the trial court, at the trial following,

consistently ruled that evidence of the respondent attempted to

be offered on such matters was beyond the scope of the issues

formed by the pleadings and was inadmissible to prove such a

claim. The petitioners relied on these rulings and confined

their defense and proof to the issues tried by the District Court.

(T. 57-58).*

After deposing the respondent on August 28, 1974, thereby

first learning of the factual contentions of the respondent (ex-

cept of the abortion learned earlier), petitioners filed for sum-

mary judgment supported by affidavits of each medical person

and their Division superior of City Hospital No. |, gynecological

and obstetrical service, who had treated the respondent, and the

complete medical documentary record of the hospital regard-

ing the respondent. These contradicted ine claims, affidavit

and deposition of the respondent. The Court, on November

20, 1974, denied both the respondent's and petitioners’ motions

for summary judgment and ordered trial on November 25,

1974.

* References to typewritten transcript of the trial.

=

Upon trial without a jury on November 25, 1974, the case

was presented in less than a full day, with a long noon recess

(to accommodate respondent) and an early afternoon adjourn-

ment.

Respondent, through the Mayor and Doctor Wochner (Di-

rector of Health and Hospitals and Acting Hospital Commis-

sioner) established that the policy or rule, existing for years pur-

suant to Missouri State law against abortion other than to save

a mother’s life, was directed to be continued to Doctor Woch-

ner by the Mayor sometime in May 1973 after his election in

April of that year. As understood by the Mayor and Doctor

Wochner, the question of jeopardy to the mother’s life was a

medical decision to be determined by the patient’s attending

physician. Intensive discussions were Occurring between them

up to the time this suit was filed regarding the legal, medical

and moral questions of the policy, and that litigation was going

on in the State with attendant great public uncertainty. The

Mayor has deep moral feelings against non-therapeutic abortions

which was communicated to Doctor Wochner, but he (Woch-

ner) believes abortion service ought to be given at the City’s

hospitals. (T. 6, 7, 10, 20-26). Because of the continuing

discussions and the Mayor's feelings, Doctor Wochner did not

implement the installation of such service. (T. 30-31). Doctor

Wochner had weekly or biweekly conferences with his hospital

medical cabinet at which the status of these discussions was

reported, but the only person he informed in writing regarding

such policy was the president of his medical staff. No general

directive was made. (T. 26-27). The working physicians and

medical students, of City Hospital No. 1, gynecology and ob-

stetrics Division No. 2, service, who came in personal contact

with respondent, were not informed of such policy, nor was

the chief of their said Division. And each testified that it was

not a factor in their treatment of her. (T. 49, 50, 85, 91-95,

101, 104, 108, 113-119). Further, neither of the hospitals by-

laws dealt with abortion. (T! 39).

Like

Ma A NY a Rh Te a ei. can Al Se GS ne

SOR ONE ee

_— Shs Sib OR 6 > Cre tar nar aga ALF er AON eee oa LS

ate “-e--

—

The respondent’s evidence demonstrated that the City’s hos-

pitals have an organic medical staff. Private physicians are not

allowed to admit or treat patients in them. Each hospital pa-

tient is a patient of the City treated by City hospital physicians.

The City’s hospitals are also medical instructional institutions

having teaching relations with the two medical schools in St.

Louis, namely, St. Louis University, a Jesuit, Catholic institu-

tion, and Washington University (formerly sectarian but is now

nondenominational). Medical schoo! teaching professors are

furnished as staff instructors in many of the services of the City’s

hospitals and in some services medical students receive some

of their clinical instruction. (T.31-33.) The Ob-Gyn service at

City Hospital No. | is staffed by physicians and attended by

medical students affiliated with St. Louis University Medical

School. (T. 33.) Respondent attempted to prove the physicians

at City Hospital No. 1, practicing in Gyn-Ob Division No. 2,

were prohibited through their affiliation with St. Louis Uni-

versity Medical School from performing non-therapeutic abor-

tions at the Hospital before medical students. However, the

Court overruled such attempts and admitted the personal pro-

fessional, ethical, moral and religious views of such physicians

as material to their theoretical interpretation and execution of

the contested claimed policy. (T. 57-58.)

The proof relating to respondent's factual relations was pro-

vided by her medical record kept by the Hospital (Resp. Ex.

No. 2), the testimony of the Hospital medical personnel who

treated her there, and her account of the same occurrences.

The medical record and the medical personnel agreed tliat

she had a long history of treatment at the Hospital starting in

1963 when she was 17 years old. Immediately relevant to this

suit she made a visit on August 7, 1973, at age 26, to the Gyn

Clinic compla‘aing of vaginal infection about which she had

visited the Clinic about a month before. She also stated she

thought she was pregnant and, if @o, wanted to know the fetal

age for a possible abortion with “Planned Parenthood.” (T. 86;

Exhibit No. 2.) Examination by a third-year medical student

(under general supervision) indicated suspected pregnancy, va-

ginal infection, some small polyps in her cervical canal, and

retroverted uterus. Her general condition of health was good.

Routine laboratory tests were ordered including a pregnancy

test; and she was given a future appointment to Gyn for August

13, 1973, to learn the outcome of the tests. She was also given

medicine for the infection. No medical indications for abor-

tion were observed (T. 85). She did not indicate she wanted an

abortion at the City Hospital (T. 88).

On August 13 1973, respondent returned to the Gyn Clinic

where she again was treated by another third-year St. Louis

University medical student. She was immediately told the test

specimen of August 7, indicated she was pregnant. Whereupon

she became very distraught saying because of the possibility of

her husband going to prison she wanted a hysterectomy and an

abortion (T. 96). The student then consulted with a physician

superior who directed that she be given an appointment at the

Obstetrics Clinic (T. 94). Because of her upset condition he

gave her an appointment to the Ob Clinic for the next day, Au-

gust 14, 1975. He found no medical indications for abortion

or hysterectomy (T. 91, 94-95), and that, at the time, he was

unaware of any City hospital policy against abortion (T. 97).

He advised respondent that, under health circumstances, he

knew of no physician at the hospital who would perform an

abortion for the reasons she related (T. 96-97).

On August 14, 1973, she returned to the OB Clinic of the

Hospital and was there received by a staff physician who initiated

a usual past history investigation when the respondent inter-

rupted to ask if such was necessary since she was there only

for the purpose of securing a statement of the length of gestation

for possible cessation at another facility (T. 101). He told her

that because of his personal ethical, professional, moral and

Nee AD nae eter eet = Oa tes 16 5D 2)

aint se wes: Bernt Arete Bie) e1Ss AT ADRS Me CIPI ee Di A red

:

—

religious beliefs, where she had no medical indications for abor-

tion (T. 102 and 104), he would not give her such a statement

to be used for abortion, but would refer her to another physician

(whose beliefs he did not know) who might give her the state-

ment she desired (T. 102). He, too, was unaware at that time

of any City hospital policy against abortions. (T. 107-108).

Immediately, respondent was referred to Dr. Ziad Abu Dalu,

a graduate of the medical school of the University of Cairo,

Egypt, who on the occasion was affiliated with St. Louis Uni-

versity since 1972, and a resident physician at the City Hospital

(T. 110). During Doctor Dalu’s initial interview of her she

told him of her personal reasons for wanting to abort her child,

amongst which he remembered was the possibility of her hus-

band going to jail. She told him she had been to “Planned

Parenthood” and had been asked to pay $175 for an abortion

which she couldn’t afford and, therefore, wanted the abortion

from City Hospital (T. 112-113). He told her “we couldn’t do

one at City Hospital and I didn’t explain to her my personal

reason or otherwise.” (T. 113). He testified that the reason he

told her this was because in his medical judgment an abortion

was not medically justified under her circumstances (T. 113,

118-119). He was aware of the University policy regarding

abortions but not of a policy of the City (T. 118-119, 123). He

gave her the certificate of fetal age she had requested (T. 116-

117); such certificate was later tendered to the abortion clinic

for the August 22, 1973, abortion, and procured from its rec-

ords (T. 79 and 82; Exhibit B). Respondent appeared again at

the Hospital OB Clinic the next day (August 15, 1973) and was

immediately referred to Doctor Dalu on her claim of bleeding

from the vagina. He found her claim to be false (T. 114).

Respondent’s testimonial version of the same occurrences

was markedly different in several material respects. She claimed,

contrary to the medical personnel, that she initially went to the

Hospital to secure an abortion there. Whereas, the medical rec-

=<

ords made at the time and introduced by respondent clearly

recite that her initial purpose was to determine pregnancy and

fetal age for use at another facility (T. 36, 64-66; Exhibit 4).

She also attributed the physicians refusal to abort her as being

based by them on a City policy against abortions (T. 67, 70 and

72). She attributed to Doctor Dalu advice that he would per-

form an hysterectomy on her at the Hospital after she was

aborted elsewhere (T. 73). Whereas, none of the City physicians

found any medical reasons for removal of her reproductive

organs (Exhibit 2).

The District Court found that each medical student and

physician who examined respondent at the City Hospital found

no medical reason for aborting her and that such medical de-

cision was based upon the opinion of the medical person unin-

fluenced by any policy of the City regarding abortions; and that

none of them knew of any such City policy. The Court declared

Section 197.032, Revised Statutes of Missouri, to confer the

right upon these physicians (inter alia) to be free from any

lawful coercion to perform abortions in the City’s hospitals

against his personal beliefs, and that the respondent did not

challenge the physicians’ actions under such statute. The Dis-

trict Court recognized a qualified Federal constitutional right

of respondent to an abortion, but declared she had no right to

demand that the City’s physicians accede to her wish or the

City so accede, where no medical reasons existed. The Court

found no design or purpose of the City to deny respondent any

of her Federal constitutional rights.

The respondent appealed such decision to the Court of Ap-

peals (C.A. 8th Cir.). The points raised before the Court were:

1, whether the District Court erred in ruling that the Com-

plaint did not put in issue the City’s procurement of physicians

from a religious denominational medical school; 2, if the Dis-

trict Court erred in so construing the Complaint, whether the

proof established a violation of respondent's Federal constitu-

Gbwnwe Re et Stet Ned Olean he een ee

Pee, CAR ce ST crt Re AE Batt a ete as MS ee

_——

7

_—

tional privacy rights regarding abortion because of the procure-

ment of a medical staff possessed of professional beliefs against

non-medically indicated abortion; and 3, whether, if respond-

ent prevails, attorney fees on the basis of her acting as a “pri-

vate attorney general” ought to be awarded.

Petitioners vigorously defended against these contentions

pointing out that respondent utterly failed to even point out or

isolate any “clearly erroneous” findings of the District Court, and

was asking for a trial de novo at the appellate level. The failure

of respondent’s proof within the issues framed by orders and

rulings of the District Court was also urged; and the lack of an

unlimited right in the respondent to demand an abortion con-

trary to the decision of the physicians was argued.

The Court of Appeals, determined that the District Court

erred in construing the Complaint to exclude the issue of medical

staff procurement, and held that the proof established that the

City’s Mayor, through the combination of his policy against non-

therapeutic abortions and the physician procurement practice,

denied the respondent her constitutional rights regarding abor-

tion. The Court also found that reasonable attorney fees for the

appellate stages of the litigation were $3,500, and awarded such

sum to the respondent for acting as a private attorney general

in securing the Federal constitutional rights denied by the Mayor;

further, the Court ordered the District Court to determine and

award reasonable attorney fees on the same basis to respond-

ent, against the petitioners, for the trial phase of the case. In-

junctive relief was awarded against the petitioners, requiring

them to secure physicians who have no objections to performing

non-therapeutic abortions.

Petitions for rehearing and for rehearing en banc were filed

by petitioners which, while being denied, resulted in first modifi-

cation of the Court’s judgment striking the injunctive relief

and substituting the same declarations of immediate constitu-

tional duty as declaratory relief.

—

Thereafter, in due time, petitioners moved the Court to

strike its award of attorney fees as unauthorized because the

Federal statutes sued on, did not authorize such awards. At

this time the respondent moved the Court to allow such fees on

the basis of the “bad-faith” of petitioner Mayor Poelker. Such

fees were so allowed by a second modification of the judgment.

At the time of such order of modification, a right to file a second

petition for rehearing and rehearing en banc was granted peti-

tioners. Such second petitions were made and denied.

Upon remand to the District Court a hearing was held to

determine the amount of reasonable attorney fees to be awarded

according to the mandate. The District Court, applying the

guidelines of a case cited as to be followed by the Court of Ap-

peals, found the sum of $9,317.50 as a reasonable fee for the

trial stage services, but on stipulated evidence showing no agree-

ment to pay any fees by respondent, did not adjudge such sum

against the Mayor. The respondent has appealed this judgment

to the Court of Appeals.

—

REASONS FOR GRANTING A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

I. Abortion on Demand

This case presents the clear-cut question of whether a woman

has a Federal constitutional right to demand that a municipality

abort her pregnancy contrary to the medical opinions of its

municipal hospital staff physicians treating her. This question

has not been ruled by this Court, and due to the overwhelmingly

common practice of great urban public hospitals of providing

their own publicly employed physicians and the consequent

massive incidence of the problem, the question is of great and

immediate National importance calling for settlement by this

Court. Because the question occurs in a governmental setting,

resolution must necessarily deal with not only the Federal con-

stitutional privacy rights of women, but implicates a State's

social structure of the Family so far as a municipality is presented

with law and factual aspects of such institution to which it must

routinely accommodate, and the most fundamental civil rights

of publicly employed persons, grounded in the Federal and

State constitutions and State statutory enactments.

The Court of Appeals opinions sanction such an abortion

demand (albeit couched in less stark terminology) but utterly

fail to deal with the inescapable implications of its decision,

and more, grossly castigates and severely punishes a public

official for recognizing and raising such matters for the Court's

resolution. Fidelity to public office impels our giving this Court

opportunity to redress matters and give controlling future di-

rection.

To appreciate the reach and practical effect of the Court of

Appeals opinions it is vital to recognize that most very large,

urban, municipally-owned general hospitals are organized as

complete, self-sufficient medical treatment facilities. Private

—

practitioner physicians have no patient admission arrangement

with the hospital and are not allowed to practice in the hospital.

Such public hospital has its own, full-time organic staff of

physicians who are in the employ of the city and commonly

processed through civil service procedures just as are other

categories of municipal employees. This is the situation here.

(T. 31-53: see Charter of St. Louis, Art. XVIII.)

Entrance to such a hospital by the patient is not through a

physician. The patient makes the first contact with the hospital

itself. Normally such entrance is made through the hospital’s

various clinics or the emergency room service. The patient is

assigned according to his health needs to a category of medical

and hospital administration service where he then encounters the

physicians associated with that service. Charges for these

physicians’ services are made by and owing to the hospital (i.e.,

the city) and not to any physician that might have performed

them. His compensation is a legislatively determined salary.

(T. 31-32)

The physician chiefs of these various services not only per-

form an administrative function at the hospital, but customarily

perform a teaching or instructional role respecting the lesser

experienced physicians and medical students from a medical

school having an arrangement with the city. This dual function

gives rise to a dual position; other than the treatment hospital

role, the chief will normally also have a professorial position

with the medical school (or schools) so associated. (T. 41.)

This Court, in the context of State criminal law statutes, made

plain that a woman's right regarding an abortion of her preg-

nancy is a limited one—not absolute. (Roe v. Wade, 410 US.

113, Le. 154 (S.Ct. 1973), and Doe v. Bolton, 410 U.S. 179,

lc. 189 (S.Ct. 1973).) Such right essentially is to be able to

secure the services of duly accredited physicians who, free from

State interference or criminal sanctions, consult with her to be

=

advised of her particular health circumstances as they affect

the medical decision of whether to perform an abortion on

her.* The ultimate decision is not ithe woman’s but the physician

she has consulted with. (Roe v. Wade, supra, l.c. 163 and 164.)

The range of considerations may be practically unlimited,

but those that may be relied upon by the physician in making

his “abortion decision” have not been mandated by this Court.

(Roe v. Wade, supra, l.c. 163; Doe v. Bolton, supra, l.c. 192;

United States v. Vuitch, 402 U.S. 62, l.c. 71-72.) The physi-

cian, if in fact he is to make the decision and not the woman,

must be free to exercise his “best clinical judgment.” While the

Court has recognized an expended scope to the physician’s health

considerations theretofore limited by State criminal statutes,

it has likewise refrained from imposing a constitutional scheme

of medical vulues and left such matters to the realm of the

science and art of medicine.

The Court of Appeals has ignored this all important role

the physician plays in the constitutional plan for the operation

of the woman's limited rights in the abortion privacy rights

area. The Court of Appeals presupposes that the range of

valid medical considerations that may properly enter into the

“abortion decision” of the physician are equivalent to or define

a woman's right to be aborted. This is to say: she has a right

to be aborted by an attending physician because the range is

so all-encompassing there is no real possibility that she can't

assert one or more as subjectively important to preserve her

health. This entirely motivates the judgmental function of the

physician and shifts the causitive factor to the “wish” or “desire”

of the woman as repeatedly mentioned by the Court of Appeals.

+ It appears to be arguable whether the length of gestation is a

considerable factor at all where preservation of maternal health is

presumably a constant valid medical consideration at all periods, and

is sO broadly inclusive as to have no practical limitations whatever.

= =

That this is so is abundantly demonstrated by the Court of

Appeals centering its attack upon the ethical and presumed

religious views of the physicians treating the respondent. (Doe

v. Poelker, 515 F.2d 541, lc. 543-544 (C.A. 8th Cir. 1975.)

In inspecting this aspect of its reasoning it is crucial to keep

in mind that the City hospital physician staff of the Gyn-Ob

Departments were admittedly not assembled in any way or time

relationship to the Supreme Court's decisions regarding abortion,

but were the product of long existing cooperation between the

City and St. Louis University Medical School.* On appeal re-

spondent expressly admitted this which was never really in dis-

pute. (See: Appellants’ [respondent's] Statement, Brief and

Argument, p. 18.) Neither this Mayor nor his predecessors

played a direct or indirect role in physician procurement. (T.

31-32.) The Court of Appeals opinions make clear that a

woman going to the City’s hospital after having determined to

be aborted, must be supplied with a physician to carry out her

decision. Such a legal conclusion is explicit in the Court's

remark (Doe v. Poelker, supra, 515 F.2d lc. 544):

* * * Likewise, it is clear that the staffing procedure

effectively foreclosed any possibility that a pregnant woman

could ever find a staff physician who would agree to per-

form an abortion in the city hospital unless her life or health

was in severe danger. * * * (Emphasis supplied.)

Again, the express declaration of the Court of Appeals that the

“method of staffing” is unconstitutional and directing that the

City “* * * obtain the services of responsible physicians and

other necessary personnel whose views on abortion do not pro-

hibit them from providing an abortion * * *,” positively inter-

jects the City into the “abortion decision” by requiring an

ethical, moral and religious test of physicians so as to meet the

_° The other local medical school, Washington University was

similarly involved, but through the years reduced its participation

So as to adequately staff its private University associated hospitals.

—

a i>

ores Oe eet -cuse ca eee oe eee ee -

— es

—

demand of the woman to be aborted (Doe v. Poelker, supra,

515 F.2d l.c. 546). Contrary to the teachings of Roe v. Wade

and Doe v. Bolton, supra, the woman is vested with a right to

“shop” the medical staff so as to find a compliant physician

who will abort her for any “health” reason she asserts. And

the City is required to insure that they are available to be found.

The Court has disqualified the present physicians from prac-

ticing regarding the health of City hospital pregnant patients

strictly because their medical views are influenced by their

ethical professional views, or their moral opinions, or their

religious beliefs. This is a new, novel and startling intrusion

into the practice of medicine and, if practiced by the State out-

side the context of judicial coercion, would be most certainly

within the prohibitions denounced by this Court in Roe v. Wade,

supra, 410 U.S. Lc. 163, and Doe v. Bolton, supra, 410 U.S.

l.c. 216. The Court of Appeals has effectively intruded where

all others are barred. There hardly, at *his time, need be a

labored exposition of the fundamental United States First and

Fifth Amendments’ constitutional violation implications for such

physicians and the City is dealing with them. The Court of

Appeals has rejected the truth that it is just as valid a medical

position to believe that non-therapeutic abortion is medically un-

sound.

The institutionalization of “abortion on demand” is certainly

contrary to the reasonable import of this Court in Roe v. Wade

and Doe v. Bolton, and expressly so declared by the Chief Jus-

tice in his concurring opinion. (Roe v. Wade, supra, |. c. 207.)

II. Appellate Abuse of Discretion

1. Overturning District Court’s Findings.

Petitioners seek Supreme Court review (under its Rule 19 (b)

superintending powers) of this case on the basis that the Court

of Appeals, in its adjudicatory powers departed so far from

=

common standards of fairness and impartiality of judicial prac-

tice that, in order to preserve important public rights in this

litigation and to preserve future judicial regularity through

precedent, intervention by this Court is required.

Nothing need be said to add to the Court's history of in-

sistence upon fairness and impartiality in the judicial process

according to the requirements delineated for due process of law

as declared through the Fifth Amendment (and Fourteenth) of

the Constitution of the United States, and formally recognized

by Rule 52(a), Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. We urge that

the appellate record of this case most forcibly brings these prin-

ciples to the fore for application once again.

An examination in some detail of the Court of Appeals’

first opinion (April 14, 1975) gives a clear exposition of the

manner that Court totally vitiated an adversary trial, rendering

nugatory the District Court's findings and assessment of the

believability and accuracy of the witnesses and documents; and

thereafter, finally reversing, granting injunctive relief it later

had to withdraw; and severely convicting and punishing the

petitioner Mayor on the untried issue of “bad-faith” after being

obliged to abandon an earlier attorney fees award on a “private

attorney general” basis.

An impossible impediment the Court of Appeals logically

first had to overcome before it could disagree with the findings

of the District Court and then finally reverse, involved the inclu-

sion of issues raised by the Complaint. The District Court's

findings and judgment, reviewed according to the construction

placed on the Complaint by the District Court and so tried by

it, were unassailable. The evidence amply supports the findings

and the trial court had seen and heard the sources at the hear-

ings as to better determine truth upon conflicts. To overcome

this, the Complaint had to be reconstructed to permit appellate

trial de novo.

eh ET

\

— =

The District Court, shortly before trial, upon respondent's

attorneys’ inquiry," ruled that as the Complaint stood, attempted

proof by respondent into the professional ethics, morality, or

religious beliefs of the physicians at the Gyn-Ob Department of

City Hospital No. 1, or physicians respondent was treated by,

would only be material to the Complaint for the limited question

of whether the so-called “Mayor's” City abortion policy in fact

biased or interfered with the personal medical opinions of the

City physicians and medical personnel who had treated the re-

spondent. Evidence going to proof of staffing with physicians

of a certain medical, ethical, moral or religious belief was ruled

beyond the scope of the Complaint.’

The uncontroverted record showed that the attacked policy

continued by the Mayor and which petitioner Wochner did noth-

ing substantial to enforce, was not the cause for the City phy-

sicians refusing to accede to the respondent's request to be

aborted. As a consequence, “clearly erroneous” findings, under

‘he trial court's construction of the Complaint were nonexistent.

At appeal, the respondent had failed to point out any erron<

ous findings (clear or otherwise) of the District Court, and e:-

tacked the aforesaid construction of the Complain( arguing the

physicians’ medical school affiliation as an interference with her

constitutional rights.

The Court of Appeals, without averting to the lawful scope

of review commanded by Rule 52(a), Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure, first isolated the crucial findings of the District Court

regarding the refusal of the physicians to abort respondent, then

6 And after they had shortly before first seen the City physicians’

and medical students’ affidavits (supporting summary judgment mo-

tion of petitioners) disclaiming any knowledge of the City’s abortion

policy and attributing their refusal to abort respondent to an absence

of medical indications.

* The Court offered to permit the respondent to amend the Com-

plaint so as to include such issue, but this was never done.

=

substituted its ipse dixit findings to the effect that the “Mayor's

policy” in combination with the staffing of physicians from a

Catholic medical school, was unconstitutional in violation of

respondent's rights. For the most part such substituted findings

are merely supported by the Court of Appeals gratuitous asser-

tions that such conclusions are “strongly indicated,” “strongly

suggest(ed],” “indicated,” or “stripped of all rhetoric.”

The underlying legal basis for this appellate trial de novo

is relegated to a footnote declaration (slip opinion, April 14,

1975, p. 5, footnote 4; Appendix) that the words in the Com-

plaint “procedures and practices,” are broad enough to raise

an issue of whether the City’s past history of physician pro-

curement was a means to denying non-therapeutic abortions.

The non sequitur that the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

(Rule 8(f)) provide that pleadings shall be construed to do

substantial justice is cited without attempt at justifying its ap-

plication against petitioners. The fairness (e.g., “substantial

justice”) owing to the petitioners is passed over with a boot-

Strap observation that they “could hardly complain” of sur-

prise “in view of the broad wording of the [CJomplaint, [ajnd

when Doe [respondent] put on evidence relating to staffing,

the City [i.e., petitioners] did not ask for a continuance or at-

tempt to offer any contrary evidence of its own.”

The gross unfairness of this treatment is substantiated by

the fact that it would be impossible to “complain” about the

Court of Appeals’ reconstruction of the Complaint in the trial

court before it occurred; and the “evidence” thus created by

the Court of Appeals, was at the trial stage admitted for an-

other purpose and excluded for the purpose seized upon by

the appellate court. The potential logic of the petitioners in

the trial court asking for a continuance or offering contrary

evidence (when the District Court had not only at pre-trial

conference excluded such issue as a matter for trial, but also

faithfully adhered to such ruling throughout the trial (T. 58

-—--

—

and 60)) is nonexistent, and presents no unusual phenomenon

because it was not done.

This reconstruction of the Complaint by the Court of Ap-

peals is mystifying when it is considered that the same court,

with the full original record before it; entertaining extended

oral argument; failed itself to see such additional meaning of

the two words “procedure and practice” in the Complaint on

the prior appeal, and itself then construed the meaning and

reach of the Complaint just as the District Court did. (See:

Jane Doe, et al. v. John H. Poelker, etc., et al., 497 F.2d

1063 (C.A. 8th, 1974).) All of the interrogatories, memo-

randa, and the brief of the respondent in the first appeal, also

construed such language as singularly referring to the Mayor's

statement against non-therapeutic abortions as the “policy”

attacked. It was only after respondent foresaw her nonsuit

on such issue shortly before trial that the “staffing” issue was

attempted to be raised.

The hiatus of any proof of a “combination” of the Mayor's

policy with the “staffing procedures” relied on by the Court of

Appeals as a denial of a constitutional right is patent and

stark. (See: Doe v. Poelker, slip opinion, April 14, 1975, p.

6; Appendix.) Here a failure of the respondent's mere prom-

ise of later proof is utilized to adopt a far reaching conclusion

(T. 61);* similarly, the grossly conjectured finding that the

policy and staffing procedure were effective to thwart respond-

ent (and other women) from securing abortions, is not sus-

tainable on the ground that abortions were not performed.

The Mayor's “policy” is but a continuation of a command

respective of Missouri law, and the “staffing” procedure ante-

dated any question of abortion.

All of this is given devastating impact when it is recalled

from the record that the respondent, as a litigational strategy,

* Contrary to the respondent's promise, no such evidence was later

produced.

ote 99 ce

attempted to withhold the facts of this case from petitioners

and took the positive step of filing a false affidavit deceiving

the District Court and the petitioners; and continued such

strategy until forced to make disclosures. Opposed to this

conduct of the respondent we invite a comparison with peti-

tioners’ acts throughout.

Rule 52(a), Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, set the pa-

rameters within which the Court of Appeals should have pro-

ceeded. This rule commands that the District Court’s findings

ought not to have been set aside unless clearly erroneous, and

that due regard was to be given to the trial judge’s oppor-

tunity to judge the credibility of the witnesses. The Court of

Appeals had no warrant to try the case de novo. United States

v. United States Gypsum Co., 333 U.S. 364, lc. 395. The

efficacy of the District Court’s inferences from undisputed basic

facts (e.g., denial of abortion was a matter of independent

judgment of the physicians) was to be respected by the Court

of Appeals. Commissioner of Internal Revenue v. Duberstein,

363 U.S. 278, lc. 291. The Court of Appeals was required

to indulge the District Court the presumption that its findings

were correct and it was the duty of the respondent to clearly

demonstrate error in such findings. A reconstruction of the

Complaint, after trial, does not satisfy this duty. Possibly no

fairer statement of the position of an appellate court on re-

view can be made than that of the Court of Appeals itself in

Pendergrass v. New York Life Insurance Co., 181 F.2d 136,

Le. 138 (C.A. 8th, 1950):

The entire responsibility for deciding doubtful fact

questions in a nonjury case should be, and we think it

is, that of the district court. The existence of any doubt

as to whether the trial court or this Court is the ultimate

trier of fact issues in nonjury cases is, we think, detri-

mental to the orderly administration of justice, impairs

the confidence of litigants and the public in the decisions

ee eee, Sen

of the district courts, and multiplies the number of ap-

peals in such cases. * * *

The Court of Appeals has, until late, consistently adhered to

its foregoing view of the meaning of the Rule 52(a) and ex-

pressly declared that it has no discretion to try a case de novo;

Parke-Davis and Co. v. Stromsodt, 411 F.2d 1390 (C.A.

8th, 1969); Birdwell v. Hazelwood School District, 491 F.2d

490 (C.A. 8th, 1974)

This appellate course completely voided an adversary trial

conducted below and put the Court of Appeals in the posi-

tion of, once having materially changed the issues of a trial

completed on another basis, trying the case anew without

according petitioners any opportunity to meet such markedly

changed situation.

2. Court of Appeals initiation of petitioner Mayor’s con-

viction of “bad-faith” and imposition of punishment by levy-

ing “attorney fees.”

Any question of petitioner Mayor's “bad-faith” and punish-

ment therefor first arose and was decided against petitioner

in the Court of Appeals. The issue was never raised in the

District Court, no trial of such matters was there had and

the District Court awarded judgment for the petitioners,

against the respondent with prejudice. The Court of Appeals

in its original opinion of April 14, 1975, on respondent’s

suggestion in her brief, granted an allowance to her against

Mayor Poelker of $3,500 for the “appellate portion” of the

litigation, and also made an award in her favor against the

Mayor for trial attorney fees, in an amount to be determined

on remand of the outright reversal of the District Court. The

settled basis for these awards was the appellate court’s con-

clusion, that under its “equitable powers” such fees could be

=

awarded because the respondent» had acted as a “private at-

torney general.” The Court specifically rejected respondent's

suggestion of the alternative ground of bad faith. (See: slip

opinion, April 14, 1975, p. 13, footnote 8; Appendix.)

Since there existed no statutory authorization for these Court

of Appeals awards, and the matter was one not litigated below,

petitioners moved the Court to strike such findings and the

awards based on them, suggesting the applicability of the recent

case of this Court, Alyeska Pipeline Service Co. v. Wilderness

Society, — U.S. —, 95 S.Ct. 1612, 44 L.Ed.2d 141 (S.Ct.

1975), as controlling.” The respondent concomitantly moved

the Court to deny the motion and sustain the awards on the sug-

gested bases of “willful violation of court orders” and the “bad-

faith” of petitioner Mayor Poelker.

In response to petitioners’ motion, the Court of Appeals again

modified its opinion striking the awards of attorney fees on the

basis of private attorney general but adopted the respondent's

Suggestion to make the same awards on the basis of “bad-faith.”

(See: Order, June 2, 1975; Appendix. )'°

We urge that these judicial acts are without authority and

constitute a flagrant abuse of discretion.

* This was the second occasion petitioners were required to move

the Court of Appeals to correct erroneous awards against them.

Prior, on oral argument (second appeal) before Div. No. 2, upon

one of the judges initiation of discussion of the nature of mandatory

injunctive relief to be awarded against petitioners, petitioners there

pointed to the record showing that the respondent had stricken her

prayer for such relief and called upon her attorney to concede the

same which he did. None-the-less, in its judgment (slip opinion April

14, 1975; Appendix) the Court made such an award of injunctive

relief. On petition for rehearing, the Court, en banc, on May 7, 1975,

modified the divisional opinion so as to eliminate the terms “injunctive

relief” at each occurrence and substitute therefor the words “declara-

tory relief.” (See: Order, May 7, 1975; Appendix. )

'” Presumably because of a total lack of any foundation in the

record for conjecturing “willful violation of court orders” (suggested

by respondent), the Court makes no mention of such basis.

Me A A OS eel

= =

The stated ground for the conviction of petitioner Poelker of

“bad-faith” and making the several awards as punishment, is the

Court's supposition that the law was so clear after the United

States Supreme Court decided Roe v. Wade (supra) and Doe v.

Bolton (supra) in 1973, and the Court of Appeals had decided

Word v. Poelker, 495 F.2d 1349 (C.A. 8th Cir., 1974) and

Wulff v. Singleton, 508 F.2d 1211 (C.A. 8th Cir., 1974), that

any defense against the respondent's claims (as reconstructed

by the Court of Appeals) was frivolous and insubstantial,

demonstrating “a wanton, callous disregard for the constitutional

rights of indigent pregnant women continuing long after those

rights had been clearly enunciated by the Supreme Court in Roe

v. Wade, supra, and Doe v. Bolton, supra.”

This is an untenable position. Neither Roe v. Wade nor Doe

v. Bolton decided that municipal hospitals must furnish women

“wishing” or “desiring” non-therapeutic abortions with physicians

and facilities to carry out their wish. These Supreme Court de-

cisions dealt strictly with the resolution of a woman’s personal

right as measured against the State’s rights under the criminal

law. (The correlative rights of physicians were, of course, dealt

within the same context.) These Roe and Doe opinions simply

do not address the issue of municipal provision of physicians

to perform abortions for either indigent women or women with

means. It would have been more understandable if the Court

of Appeals had reasoned from these cases by analogy to decide

this case recognizing that the Supreme Court has not decided

the question presented here; however, even such a course could

not jurisprudentially excuse the Court of Appeals’ abuse here

because the issue was mot the meaning of Roe and Doe but the

petitioner's “bad-faith” in not interpreting these cases as the

Court of Appeals ultimately did! At the very least it can be

said that reasonable men can differ on the application of Roe v.

Wade and Doe v. Bolton to the present case. And if this be so

it is manifestly unjust to convict a litigant for seeing the situa-

tion differently than the Court of Appeals.

—<_

The Court of Appeals cites as additional evidence of peti-

tioner’s bad-faith its decision in Wulff v. Singleton, 508 F.2d

1211 (C.A. 8th Cir., 1974), as instructive of the law applicable

to this situation and to be presumed known to the Mayor. The

observation is as follows (slip opinion, April 14, 1975, pp. 8-9;

Appendix), viz.:

In the recent decision in Wulff v. Singleton, supra, 508

F.2d at 1215, the state of Missouri had by statute prohib-

ited medicade payments to women receiving welfare bene-

fits who had undergone nontherapeutic abortions while, at

the same time, providing such payments to women wel-

fare recipients who carried their pregnancies to term. This

Court stated: “This classification is a clear violation of the

Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.”

There is no practical distinction between that case and this

one. (Emphasis added. )

As can be seen, the Wulff v. Singleton case involved construc-

tion of Title XIX of the Social Security Act; that is, Federally

provided funds administered by the State. Not the question of

whether the Federal or State government were constitutionally

required to provide such funds for “indigent women.” As a

consequence, the analogy is rather distant from the case of

whether a municipality must recruit compliant physicians for

pregnant women “desiring” abortions. Further, the force of the

Court of Appeals’ reasoning is all but destroyed by the express

disagreement other United States Courts of Appeals have had

with Wulff v. Singleton. In Roe v. Ferguson, — F.2d —, the

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit (Slip opinion, filed April

28, 1975, in No. 74-2195), at pages 9-10 of its opinion stated

in part:

We find ourselves, therefore, in disagreement with the

Eighth Circuit’s ruling in Wulff v. Singleton, 508 F.2d

1211 (8th Cir. 1974), that the unconstitutionality of this

type of statute is so “obvious and patent” as to obviate

the need for a three-judge court.

=

The Second Circuit has also lately disagreed with the holding

of Wulff v. Singleton. In Roe v. Norton, — F.2d —, (slip opin-

ion, decided July 31, 1975, in No. 74-1874), the Court ob-

served that Roe v. Wade, supra, and Doe v. Bolton, supra, did

not deal with the question of a State’s right to restrict payments

for abortions under social welfare programs such as Medicaid,

and “despite lower court decisions holding such restrictions un-

constitutional, it cannot be said that this issue has been put to

rest by the Supreme Court.” The Court (C.A. 2d Cir.) stated

it agreed with the Sixth Circuit and disagreed with the Eighth

Circuit on this question. Emphasis is added to the lack of

“foreseeability” of the law applicabie to Mayor Poelker by the

Supreme Court's granting certiorari in W«/* v. Singleton, supra

(cert. granted 43 L.W. 3674, June 23, 1975).

Moreover, the District Court’s twice granting judgment for

petitioners is destructive of the Court of Appeals’ postulate that

the law was so “clear” or “clearly enunciated” or “clear dictates

of the Supreme Court” that petitioner Poelker was in “bad-

faith” in not adhering to it or in defending against the respond-

ent’s claims.

The reliance of the Court of Appeals on the several cases

litigated in Missouri as a demonstration of the Mayor's ad-

judicated “bad-faith” also fails upon objective inspection. Word

v. Poelker, 495 F.2d 1349 (C.A. 8th Cir. 1974) and this case

are cited to sustain such found history of “obstinancy.” Of course,

the Court’s characterization of the Mayor’s conduct is the very

matter disputed here; but the case of Word v. Poelker (supra),

merely involved the City’s defense of an ordinance regulating

(e.g., not prohibiting) abortion clinics. This could not, with

accuracy, be considered as evidence of a:

wanton, callous disregard for the constitutional rights of

indigent pregnant women continuing long after those rights

had been clearly enunciated by the Supreme Court in Roe

v. Wade, supra, and Doe v. Dalton, supra * * *

— peo

as found by the Court (see: slip opinion modification Order,

June 2, 1975, p. 13).

Mr. Chief Justice Burger in United States v. 12 200-Ft. Reels,

413 U.S. 123, lc. 127, gave pointed warning against too easy

extension of a rule to new dissimilar situations:

* * * The seductive plausability of single steps in a chain

of evolutionary development of a legal rule is often not

perceived until a third, fourth, or fifth “logical” extension

occurs. Each step, when taken, appeared a reasonable step

in relation to that which preceded it, although the aggre-

gate or end result is one that would never have been seri-

ously considered in the first instance. This kind of gestative

propensity calls for the “line drawing” familiar in the ju-

dicial, as in the legislative process: “thus far but not be-

yond.”

The law declared by the Supreme Court does not seem, in

rational application, to warrant the conviction of Mayor Poelker

of bad faith and authorize such a severe condemnation and

punishment.

It is clear and beyond cavil, that actual “bad-faith” practiced

by a litigant in the course of litigation can be, and properly

ought to be, punished. (Alyeska Pipeline Service Co. v. Wilder-

ness Society (supra); and citations therein.) However, this laud-

able rule, under the perceived applications authorized by this

Court, is not a device permitting arbitrary conviction and punish-

ment without notice or hearing and capricious imposition for

having a differing opinion in a new and very passion evoking

field, or defending according to well recognized juridical norms.

The Supreme Court gave cogent evidence of the true mean-

ing of the rule in Universal Oil Products Co. v. Root Refining

Co., 328 U.S. £75 (S.Ct. 1964). There the Court equated

“bad-faith” with contempt. The same gravamen of the offense

— i

is illustrated in the earlier case: Toledo Scale Co. v. Computing

Scale Co., 261 U.S. 399 (S.Ct. 1923). Particularly, in the

Universal Oil Products Co. v. Root Refining Co. case the Court

demonstrates its meticulous insistence that due process of law

be accorded a person prospectively considered for punishment

for “bad-faith.”

Here we respectfully urge there are no facts relating to the

conduct of the Mayor which could fairly be assayed as equiva-

lent to a contemptuous disregard of the law; or an ignoring of

anyone's rights under “ancient law” such as in Vaughan v. At-

kinson, 369 U.S. 527 (S.Ct. 1962). Rather, there exists a good

faith difference of opinion as to the law of this case, and an

honest defense to contrary claims so that the matter can be re-

solved according to due process. In convicting petitioner Mayor

Poelker of bad-faith and levying a fine upon him as “attorney

fees” in the course of an appellate proceeding, the Court of

Appeals has deprived him of that most fundamental right under

the Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution—due

process of law.

III. Justiciability, Standing and Mootness

Petitioners respectfully urge that the justiciable case or con-

troversy requirements of Article III, of the United States Con-

stitution, fully sustain the District Court's final determination

of mootness under the facts of this case.

The salient facts material to this question are simple and

uncontested. The respondent filed her suit on August 17, 1973,

against the two petitioners, for a mandatory injunction requir my

petitioners as the primary executive officers having control over

the City’s hospitals, to cause to be simultaneously performed

on her an hysterectomy operation and an abortion of her preg-

=

nancy, and for a declaration of law of like settlement for all

similarly situated members of a class."'

The respondent, five (5) days after the filing of suit caused

herself to be aborted (according to admission of counsel). No

disclosure of such fact was made until six (6) months thereafter.

The record is silent as to the occurrence of an hysterectomy as

claimed to be simultaneously required by the Complaint.

At the time of the abortion of respondent on August 22, 1973,

R. Dean Wochner, M.D., the second named petitioner, had not

been served with a summons or the Complaint, and, of course,

no responsive pleadings were required of either petitioner and

no issues were as yet framed for trial.

The physiological fact of the abortion absolutely rendered

the Complaint’s prayer for respondent’s personal abortion in-

junctive relief nugatory to try, and impossible for the Court to

enforce, or the petitioners to obey. The only reason this ano-

malous status of the case did not timely appear was because of

the respondent’s imposed secrecy, her refusal to submit to dis-

covery and a deceptive and false affidavit she filed.

Upon challenge, these facts argue irresistibly against the re-

spondent's Federal standing to sue. At the threshold, the words

of Mr. Justice Reed, spoken for the United States Supreme Court

in United Public Workers v. Mitchell, 330 U.S. 75, l.c. 89, are

appropriate:

As is well known the federal courts established pur-

suant to Article III of the Constitution do not render ad-

visory opinions. For adjudication of constitutional issues

“concrete legal issues, presented in actual cases, not ab-

stractions,” are requisite. This is true of declaratory judg-

ments as any other field.

'! The likelihood of many women existing locally to satisfy such

a class appears to be negligible, if not nonexistent.

—_—

And in United States v. Raines, 362 U.S. 17, lc. 21, the reitera-

tion was couched:

This Court, as in the case with all federal courts, “has

no jurisdiction to pronounce any statute, either of a State

or of the United States, void, because irreconcilable with the

Constitution, except as it is called upon to adjudge the legal

rights of litigants in actual controversies. In the exercise

of that jurisdiction, it is bound by two rules, to which it

has rigidly adhered, one, never to anticipate a question of

constitutional law in advance of the necessity of deciding it;

the other never to formulate a rule of constitutional law

broader than is required by the precise facts to which it is

to be applied.” Liverpool, N.Y. & P. S. S. Co. v. Commis-

sioners of Emigration, 113 US 33, 39, 28 L ed 899, 901,

5 S$ Ct 352.

Standing to sue is a rational concept grounded in the impera-

tives of Article III of the Constitution and not a formal rule for

administration of the Federal courts. As a substantive matter,

going to jurisdiction, it must exist at each stage and through-

out litigation of a case, although its aspects may vary or change

during the progression of the case. As was said in Flast v.

Cohen, 392 US. 83, lc. 98, “Standing is an aspect of justici-

ability. . . .” Determinations of Federal standing focus upon

the status and character of the litigant and not the claims sought

to be adjudicated. Or as put by Mr. Chief Justice Warren for

the Court in Flast v. Cohen (392 U.S. 99):

The fundamental aspect of standing is that it focuses on

the party seeking to get his complaint before a federal

court and not on the issues he wishes to have adjudicated.

The “gist of the question of standing” is whether the party

seeking relief has “alleged such a personal stake in the

outcome of the controversy as to assure that concrete ad-

verseness which sharpens the presentation of issues upon

—_— =

which the court so largely depends for illumination of dif-

ficult constitutional questions.” Baker v. Carr, 369 US

186, 204, 7 L Ed 2d 663, 82 S Ct 691 (1962). In other

words, when standing is placed in issue in a case, the ques-

tion is whether the person whose standing is challenged is

a proper party to request an adjudication of a particular

issue and not whether the issue itself is justiciable. Thus,

a party may have standing in a particular case, but the

federal court may nevertheless decline to pass on the merits

of the case because, for example, it presents a political

question. A proper party is demanded so that federal

courts will not be asked to decide “ill-defined controver-

sies Over constitutional issues,” United Public Workers v.

Mitchell, 330 US 75, 90, 91 L Ed 754, 768, 67 S Ct 556

(1947), or a case which is of a “hypothetical or abstract

character,” Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Haworth, 300 US

227, 240, 81 L Ed 617, 621, 57 S Ct 461, 108 ALR

1000 (1937).

A generalized grievance or hypothetical vindication interest of

a party is not enough to raise a constitutional duty for a Fed-

eral adjudication.

Further, it is abundantly clear that where the standing as-

pect of justic‘ability of a plaintiff ceases, the duty of a Federal

court is clear. The case must be dismissed. Such a situation was

squarely before the United States Supreme Court in Golden v.

Zwickler, 394 US 103, where the plaintiffs relation to claims

sought to be enforced (even though without any voluntary act

of his own—contrary to the case here) changed to destroy

standing. There the sequence of events unmistakably demon-

Strate that standing must exist throughout and not merely at the

time of the filing of the Compiaint. In the words of the Court

(394 U.S. 108):

The District Court erred in holding that Zwickler was

entitled to declaratory relief if the elements essential to

on 63 an

that relief existed “[w]Jhen this action was initiated.” The

proper inquiry was whether a “controversy” requisite to

relief under the Declaratory Judgment Act existed at the

time of the hearing on the remand. We now undertake that

inquiry.

“[T])he federal courts established pursuant to Article III

of the Constitution do not render advisory opinions. For

adjudication of constitutional issues, ‘concrete legal issues,

presented in actual cases, not abstractions, are requisite.

This is as true of declaratory judgments as any other field.”

United Public Workers of America v. Mitchell, 300 US

75, 89, 91 L Ed 754, 766, 67 S Ct 556 (1947). “The

difference between an abstract question and a ‘controversy’

contemplated by the Declaratory Judgment Act is neces-

sarily one of degree, and it would be difficult, if it would

be possible, to fashion a precise test for determining in

every case whether there is such a controversy. Basically,

the question in each case is whether the facts alleged, under

ali the circumstances, show that there is a substantial con-

troversy between parties having adverse legal interests of

sufficient immediacy and reality to warrant the issuance of

a declaratory judgment.” Maryland Casualty Co. v. Pa-

cific Coal & Oil Co., 312 US 270, 273, 85 L Ed 826, 828,

61 S Ct 510 (1941). (Emphasis added.)

At the conclusion of its opinion the Court again stresses this

continuing requirement of standing in stated (394 U.S. 110):

We conclude that Zwickler did not establish the exist-

ence at the time of the hearing on the remand of the ele-

ments governing the issuance of a declaratory judgment,

and therefore that the District Court should have dismissed

his complaint. We accordingly intimate no view upon the

correctness of the District Court’s holding as to the con-

Stitutionality of the New York statute. The judgment of

the District Court is reversed, and the case is remanded

—_

with direction to enter a new judgment dismissing the com-

plaint. (Emphasis added. )

For the sake of concentration on the precise issue, since the

respondent was pregnant at the time of the filing of her Com-

plaint, it would appear that, at least as to this factor, she was

possessed of standing at that time to seek an adjudication of

her claims of infringements of personal constitutional rights as

a pregnant woman seeking certain relief. Her personally sought

redress was for a judicially coerced surgical operation upon her

body for the removal of claimed diseased organs and destruc-

tion of the fetus in her uterus. Declaratory relief was incidental

to and dependent upon such injunctive vindication.

riowever, the respondent caused her own abortion on Au-

gust 22, 1973, at such early pre-trial time, she thereby com-

pletely obviated that “personal stake in the outcome of the con-

troversy” and the quality of “sufficient immediacy and reality”

to warrant any justifiable relief from the District Court. Of

course, objectively the Court could not enforce her abortion:

this she accomplished on her own. No judgment imposing such

a duty on the petitioners to cause her abortion could have any

real personal meaning for the respondent—her claimed legal re-

lationship toward the petitioners had been irretrievably changed

by her own doing. As far as her litigant status was concerned,

the legal effect of her act in procuring an abortion was to de-

stroy all possibility of ever establishing on hearing the fact of

pregnancy upon which her claims depended. The effect could

hardly be different in substance than a failure of proof on trial.

Just as in Golden v. Zwickler (394 U.S. 103, l.c. 109) where

the Court pointed out that the situation giving rise to the com-

plaint was most unlikely to ever reoccur (e.g., a judge resigning

and again standing for election as a Congressman), here the

respondent’s pregnancy was past, and according to the recitals

of her Complaint (p. 3, para. 11), the concomitant hysterectomy

—_—

she had determined upon, forever destroyed any future possi-

bility of reoccurrence.

It will be noted that the Supreme Court in Roe v. Wade,

supra, cited Golden v. Zwickler, 394 U.S. 103, as particular

authority in support of its determination that Roe’s case was

possessed of the attributes of a Constitutional “case or con-

troversy” and she was possessed of standing as late as May 21

(e.g., the day before trial), (410 U.S. 124). The patent holding

in Golden v. Zwickler is the necessity of the existence of such

a controversy at the time of the hearing—not at the time of

filing. There can be no question whatever that Golden pre-

sented a case or controversy at the time of the filing, yet the

decision of the Court was premised upon his standing at the time

of the hearing—not the time of filing. (Golden v. Zwickler,

supra, 394 U.S. 108 and 394 U.S. 110.) The litigant was held

to have lost his admitted filing standing (i.e., “status”) at the

time of the hearing, and the case, in consequence, having lost

its Constitutional case or controversy posture thereby.

It would appear just as compelling that when respondent

lost her personal standing the class aspect of the suit was like-

wise vacated. Initially, respondent was the sole representative of

a very nebulous class. Her person with its attendant personal

characteristics gave justiciability to the suit. Once her status

was changed, namely: no longer being pregnant and wanting

an abortion and needing an hysterectomy, the case was without

that “concrete adverseness” required for adjudicating the claims

according to constitutional requirements of justiciability. Baker

v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186, lc. 204. As the Court instructed in

Baker v. Carr (369 U.S. 208) justiciability demands more than

“* * * merely a claim of ‘the right, possessed by every citizen

to require that the Government be administered according to

law * * *’.” The corollary is, of course, “* * * federal courts

are without power to decide questions that cannot affect the

rights of the litigants before them.”’ North Carolina v. Rice, 404

—_— =

U.S. 244, 246. Of late the United States Supreme Court has

had occasion to point out that the alleged rights of a class can-

not survive a circumstance which renders the only party litigant’s

claim moot. /ndiana Employment Division v. Burney, 409 U.S.

540. (See also: Linda R. S. v. Richard D., 410 U.S. 614, and

Bailey v. Patterson, 369 U.S. 31.)

The question of Federal standing has been the subject of

United States Supreme Court consideration in the late abortion

case of Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113. There the Court con-

sidered the status of justiciability and standing of each party

appellant according to their several, separate situations. Fur-

ther, it is crucial to note that the Court makes a fundamental

legal distinction in its analysis between irial standing and appel-

late review standing.

At the Court's division “A” of its opinion (410 U.S. 124) the

Court first addressed appellant “Jane Roe’s” standing. The Court

reviewed the significant sequence of the progress of the litiga-

tion with respect to her and concluded as a matter of fact that

she was pregnant at the time of the hearing before the trial

court. The unquestionable fact of this observation is established

by the following quotations of the Court’s opinion (410 U.S.

124):

A. Jane Roe. Despite the use of the pseudonym, no sug-

gestion is made that Roe is a fictitious person. For pur-

poses of-her case, we accept as true, and as established, her

existence; her pregnant state, as of the inception of her

suit in March 1970 and as late as May 21 of that year

when she filed an alias affidavit with the District Court; and

her inability to obtain a legal abortion in Texas. —

Viewing Roe’s case as of the time of its filing, and there-

after until as late as May, there can be little dispute that it

then presented a case or controversy and that, wholly apart

from the class aspects, she, as a pregnant single woman

— =

thwarted by the Texas criminal abortion laws, had stand-

ing to challenge those statutes. Abele v. Markle, 452 F2d

1121, 1125 (CA2 1971); Crossen v. Breckenridge, 446

F2d 833, 838-839 (CA6 1971); Poe v. Menghini, 339 F

Supp 986, 990-991 (Kan 1972). See Truax v. Raich,

239 US 33, 60 L Ed 131, 36S Ct 7 (1915). Indeed, we

do not read the appellee's brief as really asserting anything

to the contrary. The “logical nexus between the status as-

serted and the claim sought to be adjudicated.” Flast v.

Cohen, 392 US at 102, 20 L Ed 2d 947, and the necessary

degree of contentiousness, Golden v. Zwickler, 394 US

103, 22 L Ed 2d 113, 89 S Ct 956 (1969), are both

present. (Emphasis added. )

It can fairly be pointed out that in its canvass of the facts, the

Court found that on May 21, 1970, which was the day before

the trial hearing of May 22, 1970, Roe filed an affidavit of her

pregnancy. The Court, absent any question about the matter,

properly concluded it incredible that she was aborted over night

especially where the trial record is silent regarding such a mat-

ter and the Court observes “Indeed, we do not read the ap-

pellee’s brief as really asserting anything to the contrary * * *.”

(410 U.S. 124.)

After so fixing the factual context of Roe’s situation at (and

after) the trial hearing, the Court then turned to a consideration

of her appellate standing. The immediate cause of this inquiry

was the appellee’s suggestion that (410 U.S. 124) “Roe’s case

must mow be moot because she and all other members of her

class are no longer subject to any 1970 pregnancy.” (The case

was argued December 13, 1971, and reargued October 11,

1972.) After pointing out that “(t]he usual rule in federal cases

is that an actual controversy must exist at stages of appellate or

certiorari review, and not simply at the date the action is initi-

ated * * *” (410 U.S. 125, emphasis added), the Court pointed

out that pregnancy, because of its relatively limited duration,

_—~

normally would not exist until the “appellate” process is com-

pleted. Because of this inexorable fact of life, the Court ob-

served (410 U.S. 125) that “* * * If that termination makes

a case moot, pregnancy litigation seldom will survive much be-

yond the trial stage, and appellate review will be effectively de-

nied * * *.” (Emphasis added.) For this reason, coupled with

the normal biological phenomenon that the same woman re-

peatedly experiences pregnancy, the Court applied the “Con-

tinuing Controversy Doctrine” to demonstrate the existence of

standing and “non-mootness” at the appellate review stage. The

familiar apothegm—‘“capable of repetition, yet evading re-

view”—is declared for emphasis, and four cases are recited as

supportive.

In addition to the fact that the Court is speaking strictly

about standing at the appellate stage, several other observa-

tions are pertinent. It will be noted that the buttressing au-

thorities cited by the Court each concern the question of

“mootness” or “standing” only at the appellate stage. (410

U.S. 125.) No question of “trial standing” or “trial mootness”

was raised by the parties. Further, the decisional history of

the “continuing controversy” exception relates to the appellate

stage and not pre-trial situations. This is readily apparent

from the long (and numerous) line of decisions dealing with

the exception and its logical purpose. And, besides the Court

expressly saying that it is dealing with mootness at the appel-

late stage, as before pointed out, at another part of its opinion

when sua sponte discussing trial stage standing, it first finds

the fact to be that Roe was pregnant at trial and cites prior

decisions each requiring the actual status af trial to be as is-

suably pleaded in the Complaint as a basis for relief.

Here the doctrine of “continuing controversy” has no ra-

tional application. The question here is not respondent's ap-

pellate standing but her trial standing. There is no basis for

or possibility of, “trial” of her Complaint as a pregnant liti-

— 49 —

gant. This was absolutely foreclosed by her own voluntary

act—before trial. The support of the United States Supreme

Court points out for the pregnancy of Roe at trial by her affi-

davit is, of course, nonexistent here. As a matter of fact the

opposite is true for the respondent's affidavit (in support of

her motion for summary judgment) filed here, although at the

time (October 5, 1973) apparently neither the District Court

or petitioners noticed the absence of any positive recital of

pregnancy such as was contained in the Complaint because

of its otherwise false and deceptive nature.

Because of their use by the United States Supreme Court

in the context of trial standing, the decisions cited in Roe v.

Wade (410 U.S. 124) can be profitably referred to.

The first case cited is Abele v. Merkle, 452 F.2d 1121,

lc. 1125. This case markedly illustrates that in the context

of contesting a claimed right to personal abortion, a woman

must at least be pregnant. There the Court of Appeals said:

Accordingly, we hold that non-pregnant female plaintiffs

in this category do not show a sufficient nexus or present

a sufficiently concrete issue in an adversary setting to

give them standing, and we affirm the district court's

dismissal of the complaint as to plaintiffs claiming stand-

ing solely on the basis of their child-bearing age.

At the outset the Court framed the issue of standing of the

appellant lay women as a capacity to “present” a justiciable

case. (See: 452 F.2d 1124, para. 1-3.) After reciting the

controlling principles of “standing” and noting that none of

this class of women were pregnant (according to their Com-

plaint and affidavits), the Court ordered that the trial court's

dismissal be affirmed with leave to amend the Complaint, only

to women who are pregnant. Ir this context it is helpful to

be reminded that courts do not adjudicate pleadings but cases,

and this was the actual effect accomplished.

Citation of this case in Roe v. Wade, in the context of the

Supreme Court's finding that “Jane Roe” was pregnant at trial,

leaves no room for inference that the Supreme Court considered

pregnancy at filing sufficient basis for standing where an abor-

tion thereafter voluntary occurs before trial.

Crossen v. Breckenridge, 446 F.2d 833, is also consistent

with petitioners suggested meaning of standing as explicated in

Roe v. Wade. There the Court of Appeals of the case was within

the frame of a denial of a complaint motion for appointment

of a three-judge court by the District Court which determined a

lack of standing and dismissed the complaint. As a consequence,

the review of the appellate court was directed toward the record

as it existed regarding the status of each party plaintiff at the

time of the dismissal by the District Court. This status was solely

and only discernible through inspection of the complaint since

this was the extent of the record bearing on each appellant's

“personal stake and interest,” (Barlow v. Collins, 397 U.S. 159).

The Court found that a pregnant woman (Pat Croddock) had

standing, and a non-pregnant woman (Fran Pozzuto) lacked

standing saying (446 F.2d 839):

* * * It does not appear that this appellant presented more

than a hypothetical case to the district court. Her only

connection with the asserted right of marital privacy is

that she may become pregnant in the future. This is not a

sufficient nexus to distinguish her from any other woman

capable of bearing children. No injury is alleged, actual or

threatened, other than the hypothetical possibility that she

may be denied an abortion should she become pregnant.

Accordingly we hold that appellant Pozzuto does not have

standing to challenge the Kentucky abortion statute under

the federal Constitution. * * *

The same rule was applied to a women’s rights organization.

Parenthetically it can be noted that the “class status” of the dis-

missed out appellants did not lend justiciability or standing.

—

The third case cited in Roe v. Wade is Poe v. Menghini, 339

F.Supp. 986. This case contains the flat statement that the

only two women involved as plaintiffs, Jane and Sally Poe, are

“* * * at the time this action was commenced, were in need of

abortions * * *” but unable to obtain them. (339 F.Supp. 989).

The trial court (three-judge Dist. Ct.) fully heard the case and

its recital of the facts gives every indication of the pregnancy of

these women at trial hearing. The relief prayed for included

injunctive relief relating to the inability of the women to ~ *cure

a local legal abortion. While the Court did not mandate any

specific relief to insure abortion, its reason was clearly not be-

cause of the absence of pregnancy of the concerned plaintiffs,

but because thie Court, in view of its declarations, felt injunctive

relief to be unnecessary because of the presumption the de-

fendants would comply with the declaration. Consequently, the

case stands for the proposition it was utilized for by the United

States Supreme Court, namely: pregnancy at time of trial ad-

judication is a constitutional requisite for standing and justi-

ciability.

The final case cited on the point by the Supreme Court in

Roe v. Wade, is Truax v. Raich, 239 U.S. 33, appears to be

collaterally cited for its illustration of the approximity and fa-

cility of relief pendente lite to ensure the preservation of liti-

gants’ claimed constitutional rights until adjudication upon trial.

Here, in this case, no temporary relief was prayed—no motion

or other address to the trial court was made, because the actions

of the respondent had rendered the matter hypothetical.

The pronouncements of the United States Supreme Court

in Roe v. Wade, regarding the “Does” is contently equivalent to

the here respondent's status than that of “Jane Roe.” As is ob-

served at “C™ of the opinion (410 U.S. 127) “Mrs. Doe” who

is not pregnant, and her husband asserted essentially the same

claims as Jane Roe, but because of the wife’s non-pregnant

posture, relied upon present fear of future pregnancy without

possibility of legal abortion as their basis for attack on the Texas

=

statutes. The Court determined they lacked standing saying

(410 U.S. 128):

But we are not prepared to say that the bare allegation

of so indirect an injury is sufficient to present an actual

case or controversy. (Emphasis added. )

Respondent, at best, upon trial, could only have proved the

future possibility of pregnancy, and, except for the deception

practiced by respondent in hiding her non-pregnant status, her

allegation of pregnancy in this Complaint could have been

stricken on motion. Moreover, such disparity between proof and

pleading, obviates the latter averment as a significant legal

declaration thereafter.

It would seem to necessarily follow that if the Court of Ap-

peals’ concept of standing were rationally applied, any individual

woman, who was pregnant at any time (after Roe v. Wade) and

claimed to have been illegally denied an abortion would be

vested with standing regardless of her non-pregnant condition

at the time of filing. Such an individual would have the same

claim of “injury” as respondent here and could present at least

an equivalent “status” as the respondent under the Court of

Appeals’ reasoning, and could just as fully benefit by a declara-

tion of her Constitutional rights regarding an abortion even

though it occurred before filing. Such a result is contrary to the.

unquestionable holdings in the cases cited by the Supreme Court

in Roe v. Wade, supra, 410 U.S. 124, as authoritatively pro-

pounding the rule of lack of standing for non-pregnant litigants

claiming Constitutional infringement of rights to abortion, and

is hostile to the generai requirements propounded requisite to

Article III justiciability.

As a consequence of the force of the authorities, it appears

that respondent's standing to litigate in the constitutional sense,

was terminated when she, within five (5) days after filing suit

and before trial, voluntarily caused her pregnancy to be aborted.

and the Court of Appeals was without jurisdiction to do other

than affirm the District Court.

—

CONCLUSION

Petitioners respectfully submit that the necessary legal effect

of the Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit decisions here

considered is to establish as a matter of Federal Constitutional

absolute right of a woman to require a City to staff and equip

its hospitals so as to accede to her demand for an abortion re-

gardless of the fact that competent physicians determine that no

medical reason exists for her abortion.

Further, the judicial conduct of the Court of Appeals em-

ployed in reaching its decisions were in violation of the opera-

tive rules for appellate courts and of the principles of fairness

and the precepts of due process of law toward petitioners in ad-

judicating the case and in convicting and punishing by levying

substantial penalties, and were arbitrary and in material abuse

of lawful discretion.

Moreover, because of the absence of a Federal constitutional

justiciable question, consequent upon the respondent’s lack of

standing and mootness of her claims, the Court of Appeals

lacked jurisdiction to do other than to affirm the District Court

in both appeals, and in failing this, acted contrary to Article III

of the United States Constitution.

Therefore, we pray that because of the very important Na-

tional effects of these decisions and the irregularity of the means

employed by the Court of Appeals in reaching them, and the

gross injustice to the petitioners they work, this Honorable Court

ought to grant its writ of certiorari to review the case and declare

the law.

Respectfully submitted ¢ 7 / f get

JACK L. KOEH io © e

City Counselor om | |

EUGENE P. FREEMAN

Deputy City Counselor

Attorneys for Petitioners

APPENDIX

—————- —2_

=<

In the United States District Court

Eastern District of Missouri

Eastern Division

Jane Doe, )

Plaintiff,

VS.

John U. Poelker, Mayor of the

City of St. Louis, Missouri,

and R. Dean Wochner, M. D.,

Director of the Department of

Health and Hospitals and Act-

ing Hospital Commissioner of

the City of St. Louis, Missouri,

Defendants. J

>» No. 73 C 565 (A).

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

(Filed March 22, 1974)

This matter is before the Court on the motion of the de-

fendants, John H. Poelker, Mayor of the City of St. Louis,

Missouri, and R. Dean Wochner, M.D., Director of the De-

partment of Health and Hospitals and Acting Hospital Com-

missioner of the City of St. Louis, Missouri, to dismiss the

plaintiff's complaint for lack of standing. Defendants’ motion

is based on the defendants’ allegation that the plaintiff has

undergone an abortion operation subsequent to the filing of

her complaint and is no longer pregnant and that, therefore,

plaintiff has no personal standing to continue this action on

behalf of herself or as a representative of a class.

=

Plaintiff, on her own behalf and on behalf of the entire class

of women similarly situated,’ filed this action on August 17,

1973, pursuant to 28 USC 1343, 2201 and 2202 and 42

USC 1983, asking for a declaratory judgment and permanent

injunction against the existence, application, implementation

and enforcement of express and implied policies, rules, regu-

lations, procedures and practices barring, thwarting, limiting

and infringing upon the utilization of the personnel, facilities

and services of the general public hospitals of the City of St.

Louis, Missouri, for the performance of abortions. Plaintiff

contends that such express and implied policies, rules, regu-

lations, procedures and practices are in violation of her con-

stitutional rights and the constitutional rights of the class of

women similarly situated, as protected and guaranteed by the

First, Fourth, Fifth, Ninth and Fourteenth Amendments to

the United States Constitution.

In her complaint plaintiff alleges that she is a resident and

taxpayer of the City of St. Louis, and that during the month

of August, 1973, on two separate occasions she requested an

abortion at Starkloff Memorial Hospital, a public hospital run

by the City of St. Louis. Plaintiff further alleges that physi-

cians of the obstetrical staff at Starkloff Memorial Hospitai

refused to perform an abortion operation on her and that the

refusals were based upon the blanket policy of the public hos-

pitals of the City of St. Louis against performing abortions

except when necessary to save the life of the mother. On

both occasions when the public hospital staff physicians re-

fused to abort the plaintiff, they advised her to seek an abor-

tion elsewhere and then return to the public hospital for a

hysterectomy operation, because she suffers from cervical,

! The class was defined in plaintiff's complaint as consisting of

pregnant women who are sntdonts of the City of St. Louis, Mis-

souri, and who desire to utilize the personnel, facilities and services

of public hospitals within the City of St. Louis, Missouri, for the

medical termination of their pregnancy.

— * po

fibroid tumors and polyps, a retroverted uterus, and tricho-

mycosis.

In defendants’ motion to dismiss they state that they have

reason to believe that plaintiff has had an abortion and is no

longer pregnant, based upon information reported in the press,

radio and television. Defendants argue that when the plaintiff

aborted her pregnancy she lost her standing to bring this action

on her own behalf or on the behalf of the class the plaintiff

purports to represent. What defendants are really saying is that

upon termination of her pregnancy before trial in the District

Court, plaintiff's claim became moot and should be dismissed

for lack of standing. The defendants are correct in their belief

that the plaintiff is no longer pregnant. This Court was informed

by letter dated February 22, 1974, from plaintiff's counsel (the

first paragraph of which letter is attached hereto and marked

Exhibit 1), that the plaintiff's pregnancy was terminated by an

abortion operation on August 22, 1973, which was five days

after the plaintiff filed this action and before the summons in this

case was served on the defendant, R. Dean Wochner, M.D.

(Served August 28, 1973).

This issue presented by defendants’ motion to dismiss which

must be decided is whether the plaintiff, who was pregnant and

had standing on the date she filed her complaint and who termi-

nated her pregnancy by undergoing an abortion operation five

days thereafter, still has standing to proceed in this cause in her

own behalf or on the behalf of the class she purports to repre-

sent.

This Court recognizes that the pregnancy which gave rise to

the present controversy herein has been resolved by the plain-

tiff's termination of her pregnancy, but that the underlying prob-

lem of the blanket policy against abortions in the public hos-

pitals of the City of St. Louis still remains. This allegedly un-

constitutional policy continues to deny abortions to members of

the class plaintiff purports to represent.

—

This Court will first resolve the issue of whether the plaintiff

can ‘ill represent the class of pregnant women she purports to

represent in her class action allegation. In a very straightfor-

ward statement, the Supreme Court in Bailey v. Patterson, 369

U. S. 31, 32-33, 82 S. Ct. 549, 7 L. Ed. 2d 512 (1962), while

referring to a group of plaintiffs, said, “They cannot represent

a class of whom they are not a part. McCabe v. Atchison, T. &

S.F.R. Co., 235 U. S. 151, 162-163.”

There is no dispute as to the fact that the plaintiff's pregnancy

was terminated by an abortion operation on August 22, 1973,

and that she is no longer pregnant. Therefore, she is no longer

a member of the class she purports to represent (see Footnote 1 ).

This Court finds that this action should not be maintained as

a class action. The prayer of the complaint is for a declaratory

judgment holding that the policies, rules and regulations of the

St. Louis City Hospitals which restrict the performance of abor-

tions are unconstitutional under the First, Fourth, Fifth and

Ninth and Fourteenth Amendments. The prayer also seeks a per-

manent injunction restraining the defendants from enforcing

said policies, rules and regulations. No damages are requested on

behalf of the plaintiff or on behalf of the class. The determina-

tion of the constitutional question can be made by the Court and

the policies, rules and regulations determined to be constitutional

or unconstitutional, regardless of whether this action is treated

as an individual action or as a class action. No useful purpose

would be served by permitting this case to proceed as a class

action. See /Jhrke v. Northern State Power Company, 459 F. 2d

566, 572 (8th Cir. 1972).

This Court must resolve the question of whether the plaintiff

who had standing on the date she filed her complaint and who

terminated her pregnancy by an abortion operation six days

thereafter, still has standing to proceed in this cause in her own

behalf.

—_.

The plaintiff contends that the Supreme Court in Roe v.

Wade, 410 U. S. 113, 124-125, 93 S. Ct. 705, 35 L. Ed. 147

(1973) unequivocably answered the above question of moot-

ness in the negative and the question of standing in the affirma-

tive. Plaintiff quotes from Roe v. Wade, supra, l.c. 124 and 125,

as follows:

“A. Jane Roe. Despite the use of the pseudonym, no

suggestion is made that Roe is a fictitious person. For pur-

poses of her case, we accept as true, and as established,

her existence; her pregnant state, as of the inception of her

suit in March 1970 and as late as May 21 of that year

when she filed an alias affidavit with the District Court; and

her inability to obtain a legal abortion in Texas.

“+ - * * * * _*

“The appellee notes, however, that the record does not

disclose that Roe was pregnant at the time of the District

Court hearing on May 22, 1970, or on the following June

17 when the court's opinion and judgment were filed. And

he suggests that Roe’s case must now be moot because she

and all other members of her class are no longer subject

to any 1970 pregnancy.

“The usual rule in federal cases is that an actual con-

troversy must exist at stages of appellate or certiorari re-

view, and not simply at the date the action is initiated.

United States v. Munsingwear, Inc., 340 U. S. 36 (1950);

Golden v. Zwickler, supra; SEC v. Medical Committee for

Human Rights, 404 U. S. 403 (1972).

“But when, as here, pregnancy is a significant fact in

the litigation, the normal 266-day human gestation period is

so short that the pregnancy will come to term before the

usual appellate process is complete. If that termination

makes a case moot, pregnancy litigation seldom will sur-

vive much beyond the trial stage, and appellate review will

a .

be effect'vely denied. Our law should not be that rigid.

Pregnancy often comes more than once to the same woman,

and in the general population, if man is to survive, it will

always be with us. Pregnancy provides a classic justifica-

tion for a conclusion of nonmootness. It truly could be ‘ca-

pable of repetition, yet evading review.’ Southern Pacific

Terminal Co. v. ICC, 219 U. S. 498, 515 (1911). See

Moore v. Ogilvie, 394 U. S. 814, 816 (1969); Carroll v.

Princess Anne, 393 U. S. 175, 178-179 (1968); United

States v. W. T. Grant Co., 345 U. S. 629, 632-633 (1953).

“We, therefore, agree with the District Court that Jane

Roe had standing to undertake this litigation, that she pre-

sented a justiciable controversy, and that the termination of

her 1970 pregnancy has not rendered her case moot.”

The plaintiff interprets the above quote from Roe v. Wade,

supra, to mean that it is not necessary for the plaintiff to be

pregnant at the time of trial to have standing and that termina-

tion of the plaintiff's pregnancy before trial does not render her

claim moot. This Court does not agree with the plaintiff's in-

terpretation. This Court calls attention to the only paragraph

plaintiff omitted from the Supreme Court's discussion of stand-

ing and mootness in Roe v. Wade, supra, |.c. 124 and 125. This

paragraph is of vital importance to the quote, and is as follows

(lc. 124):

“Viewing Roe’s case as of the time of its filing and there-

after until as late as May” (the court is talking about May

21, 1970, the day before trial when plaintiff Roe filed an

affidavit with the District Court) “there can be little dis-

pute that it then presented a case or controversy and that,

wholly apart from class aspects, she, as a pregnant single

woman thwarted by Texas criminal abortion laws, had

standing to challenge those statutes. Abele v. Markie, 452

F. 2d 1121, 1125 (CA2 1971); Crossen v. Breckenridge,

446 F. 2d 833, 838-839 (CA6 1971); Poe v. Menghini,

—

339 F. Supp. 986, 990-991 (Kan. 1972). See Truax v.

Raich, 239 U. S. 33 (1915). Indeed, we do not read the

appellee's brief as really asserting anything to the contrary.

The ‘logical nexus between the status asserted and the

claim sought to be adjudicated,’ Flast v. Cohen, 392 U. S.

at 102, and the necessary degree of conteniousness, Golden

v. Zwickler, 394 U. S. 103 (1969), are both present.”

(Emphasis added. )

Abele v. Markle, supra, cited in the omitted paragraph, is a

case involving the constitutionality of an abortion statute, where

the Court held that in order to demonstrate Federal standing to

assert a personal claim the plaintiff had to allege and prove that

she was pregnant. In the words of the Court in Abele v. Markle,

supra, l.c. 1125:

“Accordingly we hold that nonpregnant female plain-

tiffs in this category do not show a sufficient nexus or pre-

sent a sufficiently concrete issue in an adversary setting to

give them standing, * * *.”

In Crossen v. Breckenridge, supra, |.c. 829, the Court like-

wise reiterated the crucial element of “personal stake” in the

outcome of the case and controversy, and held that where the

woman was not pregnant, she had no standing. The same

rationale is evident in Poe v. Menghini, see 339 F. Supp., l.c.

990.

In Roe v. Wade, supra, the Court at pp. 127-129, in dis-

cussing the standing of the Does, who were among the plain-

tiffs, held that where the wife was not pregnant at the time the

cause was filed and based their claim on the fact Mrs. Doe might

become pregnant, the District Court had appropriately dis-

missed their claim for lack of standing.

In Golden v. Zwickler, 394 U. S. 103, 108, 89 S. Ct. 956,

22 L. Ed. 2d 113 (1969) (relied on by the Supreme Court in

Roe v. Wade, supra), the Supreme Court said:

—_—"

“The District Court erred in holding that Zwickler was

entitled to declaratory relief if the elements essential to that

relief existed ‘[wJhen this action was initiated.’ The proper

inquiry was whether a ‘controversy’ requisite to relief under

the Declaratory Judgment Act existed at the time of the

hearing on remand. We now undertake that inquiry.

“(T]he federal courts established pursuant to Article

III of the Constitution do not render advisory opinions. For

adjudication of constitutional issues, “concrete legal issues,

presented in actual cases, not abstractions,” are requisite.

This is as true of declaratory judgments as any other field.’

United Public Workers of America v. Mitchell, 330 U. S.

75, 89 (1947). ‘The difference between an abstract ques-

tion and a “controversy” contemplated by the Declaratory

Judgment Act is necessarily one of degree, and it would be

difficult, if it would be possible, to fashion a precise test

for determining in every case whether there is such a con-

troversy. Basically, the question in each case is whether

the facts alleged, under all the circumstances, show that

there is a substantial controversy, between parties having

adverse legal interests, of sufficient immediacy and reality

to warrant the issuance of a declaratory judgment.’ Mary-

land Casualty Co. v. Pacific Coal & Oil Co., 312 U. S. 270,

273 (1941).” (Emphasis added. )

The Court went on in Golden v. Zwickler, supra, l.c. 110, to

say that constitutional questions must be presented to the courts

in the context of a specific live grievance, and said:

“No federal court, whether this Court or a district court,

has ‘jurisdiction to pronounce any statute, either of a State

or of the United States, void, because irreconcilable with

the Constitution, except as it is called upon to adjudge the

legal rights of litigants in actual controversies.’ Liverpool,

N.Y. & P.S.S. Co. v. Commissioners, 113 U. §S. 33, 39

—< won

(1885). (Emphasis added.) See also United States v.

Raines, 362 U. S. 17, 21 (1960). The express limitation

of the Declaratory Judgment Act to cases ‘of actual con-

troversy’ is explicit recognition of this principle.”

The application of the above cited cases to the instant fact

situation brings this Court to the conclusion that the plaintiff

herein does not have standing to proceed with her cause of

action because she is no longer pregnant. The plaintiff's claim

is no longer in the context of a specific live grievance as re-

quired by Golden v. Zwickler, supra.

The plaintiff cannot now nor at the time of this case would

be heard show a substantial live controversy of sufficient im-

mediacy and reality to warrant the issuance of 2 declaratory

judgment. This is not to say that the issue the plaintiff brings to

this Court is not justiciable but is only to say that plaintiff is

not a proper party to request an adjudication. Flast v. Cohen,

392 U.S. 83, 88 S. Ct. 1942, 20 L. Ed. 2d 947 (1968).

This Court finds not only that plaintiff lacks standing but

that the termination of her pregnancy before even service was

had on one of the defendants and before the trial, has ren-

dered her claim moot. Plaintiff contends that the Supreme

Court in Roe v. Wade, supra, l.c. 125, quoted above, is hold-

ing that termination of pregnancy before trial does not render

a plaintiffs claim moot. This is not the case with respect to

the trial court. In Roe, at page 125, the Supreme Court in

discussing the question of “mootness” was referring to the

“appellate process” rather than the trial status of a litigant.

The Court there in effect held that where a plaintiff had stand-

ing at trial a change in her position after judgment (that is,

abortion or coming to full term) should not deprive her of

the right to the appellate process of our courts because “[i]t

truly could be ‘capable of repetition, yet evading review.’”

Roe v. Wade, supra, l.c. 125.

— A-10 —

There are many appellate decisions similar to the Roe case

where situations are involved that made mootness inapplicable

because to do so would prevent appellate courts passing on

the question involved because of the time involved between

the trial in the trial court and the consideration on appeal,

but we are not dealing with that controversy at the trial level,

and such rule has not been applied to the trial courts.

Accordingly, for the above reasons stated, the defendants’

motion to dismiss for lack of standing is sustained.

/s/ Roy W. Harper

U. S. District Judge

Susman Willer & Rimmel

Attorneys at Law

705 Olive Street—Suite 1212

St. Louis, Mo. 63101

February 25, 1974

The Honorable Roy W. Harper

United States District Judge

United States Court and Customs House

1114 Market Street

St. Louis, Mo. 63101

Re: Doe v. Poelker, et al.,

Cause No. 73C 565(A)

Dear Judge Harper:

This letter shall serve to provide the Court with firm au-

thority as to a continuing, justiciable controversy, despite the

termination of plaintiff's pregnancy on or about August 22,

1973 and for the authority as to the proper party defendants.

— A-1l1l —

United States Court of Appeals

For the Eighth Circuit

No. 74-1232

Jane Doe,

Appellant,

Appeal from the

John H. Poelker, Mayor of the City United States Dis-

of St. Louis, Missouri, and R. Dean > trict Court for the

Wochner, M.D., Director of the De- Eastern District of

partment of Health and Hospitals Missouri.

and Acting Hospital Commissioner

of the City of St. Louis, Missouri,

Appellees. |

Submitted: May 17, 1974

Filed: June 4, 1974

Before Bright and Ross, Circuit Judges, and Talbot Smith,

Senior District Judge.*

Ross, Circuit Judge.

This is an action for a declaratory judgment and a permanent

injunction against implementation of the policies, rules, regu-

lations and procedures barring the performance of abortions in

the two public hospitals in the City of St. Louis, Missouri.

From an order dismissing the complaint for lack of standing

and mootness, Doe appeals. For the reasons hereinafter ex-

pressed, we reverse.

* Talbot Smith, Senior District Judge, Eastern District of Mich-

igan, sitting by designation.

— A-12 —

Jane Doe alleged in her complaint, and verified by way of

affidavit, that she was pregnant, was the mother of two chil-

dren, was in severe financial straits, and was suffering from

cervical fibroid tumors and polyps, a retroverted uterus, and

trichomycosis. Twice she consulted staff members at Starkloff

Memorial Hospital, owned and operated by the City of St.

Louis, and was advised that she would require a hysterectomy.

They told her to procure an abortion elsewhere and then re-

turn to the hospital for the hysterectomy. The reasons proffered

by the hospital for the two-operation recommendation was the

hospital's stated policy’ against performing abortions. Doe

thereupon commenced this action against the Mayor of St.

Louis and the Director of the Department of Health and Hos-

pitals on her own behalf and on behalf of the entire class of

pregnant women residents of the City of St. Louis, Missouri,

desiring to utilize the personnel, facilities and services of the

general public hospitals within the City of St. Louis for the

termination of pregnancies.

After the complaint had been filed and service perfected

upon one of the defendants, but before service on the other de-

fendant, Doe procured an abortion from an alternative source.”

' That policy is expressed in the defendants’ joint answer:

10. Abortion, for reasons other than to save the mother from

grave physiological injury or death, is against and contrary

to the laws and public policy of the State and City.

12. [A]bortion, other than to protect the mother from grave

physiological injury or death, is a medical procedure which

lawfully can and has been reasonably excluded from such

services given by the City’s hospitals.

2 This fact was verified to the court by Doe’s counsel. Through-

out the litigation her counsel has sought to protect Doe’s true identity

in order to avoid harassment. However, counsel has assured the

court that Doe remained ready and able for deposition or other dis-

covery procedures. Counsel’s assurances and the fact that Doe her-

self, under her pseudonym signature, has filed an affidavit affirming

the veracity of the relevant facts, permits us to accept as true, her

existence and her pregnant state at the commencement of this action.

See Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113, 124 (1973); Doe v. Bolton, 410

U.S. 179, 187 (1973).

— A-13 —

Defendants thereafter moved the court to dismiss Doe’s com-

plaint for lack of standing.* In granting defendants’ motion,

the court held that, by virtue of the fact that Doe had obtained

an abortion, Doe was no longer a member of the class she pur-

ported to represent. The court then ordered that Doe could not

represent the class of pregnant female residents of St. Louis.

Next, the court determined that although she may have had

standing to proceed on her own behalf on the date she filed

her complaint, her individual case had become moot after she

procured an abortion. Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973),

and Doe v. Bolton, 410 U.S. 179 (1973), compel a different

result on both standing and mootness.

The question of standing in the federal court is to be con-

sidered in the framework of Article III which restricts the judi-

cial power to “cases” and “controversies.” Association of Data

Processing Service Organizations, Inc. v. Camp, 397 U.S. 150,

151 (1970). In terms of Article III limitations on federal court

jurisdiction, the question of standing is related only to whether

the dispute sought to be adjudicated will be presented in an

adversary context and in a form historically viewed as capable

of judicial resolution. Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 83, 101 (1968).

The prerequisites of standing are a “logical nexus between the

Status asserted and the claim sought to be adjudicated.” Flast

v. Cohen, supra, 392 U.S. at 102, and the necessary degree of

contentiousness, Golden v. Zwickler, 394 U.S. 103, 108 (1969).

These requirements are met on these facts. Plaintiff's injury

and that of her class is her inability to obtain an abortion prior

to fetal viability in St. Lous public hospitals free from regula-

tions other than those that advance interests in maternal health.

The interest sought to be protected is the constitutionally guar-

anteed right to an abortion prior to viability. The defendants

* This motion was brought six months after the filing of the com-

plaint and presumably upon defendants’ first notice that Doe had

obtained an abortion.

=> fri <=

are attempting to regulate that interest by the challenged rules

and policies of the hospital which inhibit and (in effect) pro-

scribe abortions.

This conclusion that Doe has standing is mandated by the

resolution of the identical issue in Roe v. Wade, supra, 410

U.S. at 124, and Doe v. Bolton, supra, 410 U.S. at 187. Each

of the plaintiffs in those actions was, like the plaintiff here, not

shown to have been pregnant at the time of the district court

hearing. Likewise, each of the plaintiffs was, at the relevant

time, precluded from implementing her previability abortion

decision by the challenged statutes and regulations. In Roe,

the Supreme Court said:

Viewing Roe’s case as of the time of its filing and there-

after until as late as May [yet prior to the May 22 district

court hearing], there can be little dispute tnat it then pre-

sented a case or controversy and that, wholly apart from

the class aspects, she, as a pregnant single woman thwarted

by the Texas criminal abortion laws, had standing to

challenge those statutes. . . . The “logical nexus between

the status asserted and the claim sought to be adjudi-

cated,” and the necessary degree of contentiousness are

both present.

Id. at 124 (emphasis supplied and citations omitted). The court

thereupon found that Roe had standing to undertake the liti-

gation. /d. at 125. A similar result was reached in Doe v. Bolton

where it was concluded that Doe’s pregnant state on the date of

the commencement of the action gave her standing to maintain

the action. /d. at 187. Recently, in Doe v. Israel, 482 F.2d 156,

158 (ist Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 42 U.S.L.W. 3627 (May 13,

1974), the First Circuit has said:

In response to questioning defendant essentially suggests

only one: that plaintiffs, no longer being pregnant, have no

sufficient interest or standing. In the light of Roe, this argu-

ment proves too much.

— A-15 —

We consider that defendant's claim of mootness is a

will-o’-the-wisp and assumes the very question at issue.

If a plaintiff has a right to terminate her pregnancy—which

is the legal question before us—the sooner she succeeds in

doing so, the better. We have in mind the trimester trilogy.

on which defendant relies in another connection, and its

effect on viability and the pregnant plaintiffs health. It

seems not only illogical but, to use a polite word, harsh, to

argue that in order to establish her right to an abortion a

woman must decline to have it. (Citation omitted. )

We conclude here that Doe has standing to challenge the

hospital policy. Moreover, since she has adequate standing to

proceed in her own behalf, on the authority of Doe v. Bolton,

supra, 410 U.S. at 188, Doe and her class can be recognized.

Separate and distinct from standing is the doctrine of moot-

ness. That question is also a product of the Article III require-

ment of a case of controversy. North Carolina v. Rice, 404 U.S.

244, 246 (1971). The usual rule in federal cases is that an

actual controversy must exist at all stages of appellate or cer-

tiorari review, and not simply at the date the action is initiated.

SEC v. Medical Committee for Human Rights, 404 U.S. 403,

406 (1972); Golden v. Zwickler, supra, 394 U.S. at 108;

United States v. Munsingwear, Inc., 340 U.S. 36, 39 (1950).

However, a case presenting a question that is “capable of repeti-

tion, yet evading review,” is nevertheless amenable to federal

adjudication even though it might otherwise be considered moot.

Southern Pacific Terminal Co. v. ICC, 219 U.S. 498, 515

(1911). As is clear from the Supreme Court's treatment in Roe

and Doe, pregnancy is one of the exceptional situations exempted

from the usual rule.

In Roe, the Court said:

But when, as here, pregnancy is a significant fact in the

litigation, the normal 266-day human gestation period is

— A-16 —

so short that the pregnancy will come to term before the

usual appellate process is complete. If that termination

makes a case moot, pregnancy litigation seldom will survive

much beyond the trial stage, and appellate review will be

effectively denied. Our law should not be that rigid. Preg-

nancy often comes more than once to the same woman, and

in the general population, if man is to survive, it will al-

ways be with us. Pregnancy provides a classic justification

for a conclusion of nonmootness. It truly could be “capa-

ble of repetition, yet evading review.”

Id. at 125 (citations omitted). The Court accepted as true

Roe’s pregnant state as of the inception of her suit. The Court

did not find, however, that Roe was likewise pregnant at the

time of the trial court’s hearing on May 22, 1970. Yet, based

upon the foregoing reasoning, the Court held that she pre-

sented a justiciable controversy and “the termination of her

1970 pregnancy ha{d] not rendered her case moot.” /d. at 125.

Likewise ip Doe v. Bolton, supra, 410 U.S. at 187, the Court

accepted the plaintiff's pregnant state on the date of the filing

of the complaint and thereupon held, on the basis of the deci-

sion in Roe, that the interim termination of her pregnancy

had not rendered the case moot. To interpret the Supreme

Court’s discussion of mootness, as the district court did here,

to require pregnancy to be established at the time of trial,

would be to permit frustration of the logic announced by the

Supreme Court. Through dilatory tactics opposing counsel

could effectively preclude review of the challenge until abor-

tion or birth terminated the pregnancy. Crowded dockets

could cause the same unfortunate result. Accordingly, we find

that the plaintiff Jane Doe in this case presents a justiciable

controversy and the termination of her pregnancy sometime

after the filing of the complaint, but prior to trial, does not

render her case moot.

For the reasons hereinbefore expressed, we reverse and re-

mand to the district court for further proceedings consistent

am Arh? <=

with the views expressed in this opinion and in our opinion

in Nyberg v. City of Virginia, No. 73-1686 (8th Cir. Feb.

19, 1974).

A true copy.

Attest! ROBERT C. TUCKER

Clerk, U. S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit

(Seal)

— A-18 —

United States Court of Appeals

For the Eighth Circuit

74-1232 September Term, 1973

Jane Doe, 7

Appellant,

vs. Appeal from the United

. States District Court

John H. Poelker, Mayor of the for the Eastern

City of St. Louis, Missouri, et District of Missouri

al.,

Appellees. ~

(Filed June 27, 1974)

The Court having considered petition for rehearing en banc

filed by counsel for appellees and, being fully advised in the

premises, it is now here ordered that the petition for rehear-

ing en banc be, and it is hereby, denied.

Considering the petition for rehearing en banc as a petition

for rehearing, it is now here ordered that the petition for re-

hearing also be, and it is hereby, denied.

June 27, 1974

A True Copy.

Attest! ROBERT C. TUCKER

Clerk, U. S. Court of Appeals, 8th Circuit

(Seal)

— A-19 —

In the United States District Court

Eastern District of Missouri

Eastern Division

Jane Doe, 7

Plaintiff,

VS.

John H. Poelker, Mayor of the City

of St. Louis, Missouri, and R. Dean > No. 73C 565 (A)

Wochner, M. D., Director of the

Department of Health and Hospitals

and acting Hospital Commissioner

of the City of St. Louis, Missouri,

Defendants. ,

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

(Filed January 13, 1975)

This is an action by plaintiff seeking to have declared as un-

constitutional those rules and regulations of the public hospitals

of the City of St. Louis, Missouri, which prohibit utilization of

city hospital facilities and personnel for the performance of

abortions except for medical reasons.

Plaintiff, suing under the pseudonym of Jane Doe, is a mar-

ried woman who was pregnant at the time of the filing of the

complaint. Defendants are John H. Poelker, Mayor of the

City of St. Louis, Missouri, and R. Dean Wochner, Director of

Health and Hospitals for the City of St. Louis.

Plaintiff brings this cause of action on her own behalf and

on behalf of the entire class of women who reside in St. Louis

— A-20 —

and desire to utilize the services of the St. Louis public hospitals

in order to obtain abortions. Jurisdiction of this Court is in-

voked pursuant to 28 USC 1343, 2201 and 2202, and 42 USC

1983. Plaintiff contends that on two separate occasions dur-

ing August of 1973 she sought an abortion at Starkloff Mem-

orial Hospital, a public hospital run by the City of St. Louis, but

was refused based upon the hospital’s policy against performing

non-therapeutic abortions. Such policy is alleged to be vio-

lative of various constitutional rights, including the right to

privacy within the patient-physician relationship; the right to

obtain medical services; the right to determine whether to bear

children and maintain marital privacy; the right to receive ade-

quate medical advice pertaining to pregnancy; and the right to

equal protection and due process of law. Plaintiff seeks a

judgment declaring invalid all policies and regulations of the

St. Louis public hospitals which restrict the use of their per-

sonnel, services and facilities for the performance of non-thera-

peutic abortions, and requests that defendants be permanently

enjoined from enforcing such policies.

St. Louis operates two general public hospitals, Max C.

Starkloff Hospital and Homer G. Phillips Hospital, designated

City Hospital Numbers 1 and 2, respectively. The policy re-

garding performance of abortions in the city hospitals in em-

bodied in the hospital by-laws, which provide that abortions

shall be performed only for “medical reasons” (Defendants’

Answer to Plaintiff's Interrogatory No. 1). This policy was in

effect at both St. Louis public hospitals at all times relevant to

this lawsuit, and remains in effect today.

At trial plaintiff testified that she has two children and has

miscarried five times since being married in 1965. In 1973 her

husband was arrested for a felony and faced with possible im-

prisonment. In July, 1973, plaintiff missed her menstrual pe-

riod and on August 7th she went to the gynecology clinic at

St. Louis City Hospital Number 1 to determine if she was

— A-21 —

pregnant. At the clinic she was examined by a third-year medi-

cal student assigned to the hospital. Plaintiff testified that she

inquired about abortion services at that time, although the stu-

dent who examined her had no recollection of such a conversa-

tion. That examination disclosed no medical justification for

an abortion.

On August 13th, plaintiff returned to the gynecology clinic

for the results of her laboratory test. Upon being told she was

pregnant she requested that the hospital perform an abortion.

The medical student who examined her on this occasion testi-

fied that he found nothing to indicate that an abortion should

be performed. He stated at trial that he was not aware of the

city’s policy against abortions, but told plaintiff that he did not

know of anyone at the hospital to refer her to that was not op-

posed to abortion for moral reasons. However, he made an

appointment for her to visit the obstetrics clinic the next day.

On August 14, 1973, plaintiff was interviewed by Dr. Wil-

liam J. Ott at the Starkloff Hospital (City Hospital Number 1)

obstetrics clinic, who told her that her medical condition did

not indicate that an abortion was necessary, and that his per-

sonal beliefs precluded him from performing abortions. Plain-

tiff was examined the same day and again on August 15th by

Dr. Ziad Abu Dalu, who confirmed that there were no medical

reasons to justify termination of her pregnancy and that the

hospital could not comply with her request for an abortion.

Although Dr. Dalu did not discuss his personal beliefs with plain-

tiff at that time, the record discloses that as a member of the

Moslem faith Dr. Dald would refuse to participate in an abor-

tion.

The instant suit was filed August 17, 1973. Subsequently,

on August 22nd, plaintiff procured an abortion at a private

St. Louis abortion clinic.

— A-22 —

Plaintiff now contends that the above policy of the St. Louis

City public hospitals contravenes certain recent court decisions

which deal with the constitutionality of abortion regulation. De-

fendants maintain that such a policy is in violation of neither

express nor judicially established constitutional principles. In

addition, defendants state that continued enforcement of this

policy has since 1973 been supported by Missouri statute, to

wit, RSMo 197.032, which was passed in that year and which

provides in part:

“1. No physician or surgeon, registered nurse, practical

nurse, midwife or hospital, public or private, shall be re-

quired to treat or admit for treatment any woman for the

purpose of abortion if such treatment or admission for

treatment is contrary to the established policy of, or the

moral, ethical or religious beliefs of, such physician, sur-

geon, registered nurse, midwife, practical nurse or hos-

pital. No cause of action shall accrue against any such

physician, surgeon, registered nurse, midwife, practical

nurse or hospital on account of such refusal to treat or

admit for treatment any woman for abortion purposes.”

Plaintiff does not seek to challenge RSMo 197.032 in this

proceeding.

Plaintiff has cited to this Court the recent companion Su-

preme Court case of Roe v. Wade, 410 U. S. 113 (1973), and

Doe v. Bolton, 410 U. S. 179 (1973), which established the

principle that a woman has a qualified right to obtain an abor-

tion, which may override the state’s interest in restricting her

decision during early stages of pregnancy. The Court’s at-

tention is also directed to the subsequent Eighth Circuit Deci-

sion of Nyberg v. City of Virginia, 495 F. 2d 1342 (1974).

In that case the Court was presented with a request from two

duly licensed physicians that they be permitted to use the facili-

ties of the public municipal hospital at Virginia, Minnesota, in

— A-23 —

order to perform abortions on their patients who desired such

services. Although plaintiffs were members of the hospital

staff, they were precluded from performing abortions there by a

hospital resolution similar to that in effect at the St. Louis City

public hospitals.

In Nyberg the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals first stated

that the abortion procedure was no more complicated than other

surgical procedures which the plaintiff-physicians were per-

mitted to perform at the hospital. In ruling in favor of the

doctors, the Court went on to say at page 1346:

“It would be a nonsequitur to say that the abortion de-

cision and its effectuation is an election to be made by the

physician and his patient without interference by the state

and then allow the state, through its public hospitals, to

effectively bar the physician from using state facilities to

perform the operation.”

Plaintiff now claims that under the authority of these decisions,

a public hospital must be required to provide facilities and per-

sonnel to any woman requesting that such hospital perform an

abortion on her. This Court does not believe that the above

cases were intended to establish such a broad proposition as

that now urged by plaintiff.

In Doe v. Bolton, supra, the Supreme Court invalidated cer-

tain portions of Chapter 26-12 of the Georgia Criminal Code

on grounds that it was over-restrictive of the circumstances under

which a physician could perform an abortion. However, the

Court explained at page 189 that:

“Roe v. Wade, supra, sets forth our conclusion that a

pregnant woman does not have an absolute constitutional

right to an abortion on her demand.” (Emphasis added. )

Furthermore, in Doe the Court let stand section 26-1202(e)

of the Georgia statute which provided as follows:

—_s

“Nothing in this section shall require a hospital to ad-

mit any patient under the provisions hereof for the pur-

pose of performing an abortion, nor shall any hospital be

required to appoint a committee such as contemplated

under subsection (b)(5). A physician, or any other per-

son who is a member of or associated with the staff of a

hospital, or any employee of a hospital in which an abortion

has been authorized, who shall state in writing an objection

to such abortion on moral or religious grounds shall not

be required to participate in the medical procedures which

will result in the abortion, and the refusal of any such per-

son to participate therein shall not form the basis of any

claim for damages on account of such refusal or for any

disciplinary or recriminatory action against such person.”

With regard to this provision, which is very similar to RSMo

197.032, the Supreme Court stated at pages 197-198 of its

opinion:

“Under § 26-1202(e), the hospital is free not to admit

a patient for an abortion. * * * Further, a physician or any

other employee has the right to refrain, for moral or re-

ligious reasons, from participating in the abortion pro-

cedure. * * * § 26-1202(e) affords adequate protection

to the hospital * * *.” (Emphasis added. )

It is, therefore, axiomatic that no physician or other hospital

employee may be compelled to perform an abortion in viola-

tion of his personal beliefs. Nyberg merely held that where a

physician on the staff of a public hospital desired to perform a

non-therapeutic abortion, the state could not place an absolute

bar on that decision. The Court concluded at page 1347 of that

opinion:

“[W]hile we propose to fashion no specific procedures

which must be followed nor to require any individual staff

— A-25 —

members to participate in abortion procedures, we do so

hold that the hospital facilities must be made available for

abortion services, as they are for other medical procedures,

to those physicians and their patients who have a right to

and request such facilities.” (Emphasis added. )

A careful reading of the Nyberg decision discloses that it

falls far short of holding that a hospital, albeit open to the pub-

lic, must be forced to furnish physicians for women desiring to

obtain abortions. The Court was careful to point out that:

“Contrary to the view taken by appellant, Roe and Doe

do not suggest and no hospital need provide facilities for

an abortion merely upon a mother’s demand.” (Emphasis

added.) 495 F. 2d at page 1346, footnote 5.

In the instant case this Court is not presented with a request

from any physician desirous of using the St. Louis City hospital

facilities in order to perform an abortion upon his patient. Nor

is there anything in the record to show that there is any

physician presently on the staff of either public hospital in St.

Louis who is willing to admit the plaintiff as his patient for such

a purpose. To the contrary, all of the medical personnel who

examined plaintiff at Starkloff Hospital stated emphatically that

they hold strong personal beliefs against abortion, and at one

point plaintiff was told that there was no one to refer her to

who was willing to perform such a procedure in the absence of

any medical justification.

In effect, plaintiff is asking this Court to hold that the City

of St. Louis must provide someone to take care of any woman

who requests an abortion at one of its hospitals. Such a holding

would be clearly contrary to established constitutional principles,

and this Court will issue no order designed to have such an

effect.

— A-26 —

This memorandum opinion is adopted by the court as its

findings of fact and conclusions of law, and the clerk of the

Court is directed to prepare and enter the proper order finding

for the defendanis.

/s/ ROY W. HARPER

U. S. District Judge

United States Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit

St. Louis, Mo. 63101

April 14, 1975

Robert C. Tucker, Clerk

Mr. Jack L. Koehr

City Counselor

Room 314, City Hall

1200 Market Street

St. Louis, Missouri 63103

Re: No. 75-1069. Doe v. Poelker.

Dear Sir:

Enclosed herewith, for use of counsel, printed copy of the

opinion of this Court filed today in the above case. Judgment

of this Court in accordance with the opinion is also entered

today.

Very truly yours

/s/ ROBERT C. TUCKER

Clerk

enc.

—_—.

United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit

No. 75-1069

Jane Doe, et al., )

Appellants,

Appeal from the

John H. Poelker, Mayor of the City | United States District

of St. Louis, Missouri, and R. Dean > Court for the

Wochner, M.D., Director of the De- Eastern District

partment of Health and Hospitals of Missouri

and Acting Hospital Commissioner

of the City of St. Louis, Missouri,

Appellees. _

Submitted: March 14, 1975

Filed: April 14, 1975

Before Van Oosterhout, Senior Circuit Judge, Ross, Circuit

Judge, and Talbot Smith, Senior District Judge.*

Ross, Circuit Judge.

Jane Doe,' a pregnant resident of St. Louis, Missouri, at the

_ * Talbot Smith, Senior District Judge, Eastern District of Mich-

igan, sitting by designation.

! “Jane Doe” is a pseudonym for the actual plaintiff. It has been

utilized throughout this litigation to protect her true identity in order

to avoid harassment due to the controversial nature of subject

matter of this action.

— A-28 —

time the lawsuit was filed, brought this civil rights class action

under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 against John H. Poelker, the Mayor

of St. Louis, and Dr. R. Dean Wochner, the Director of the

Department of Health and Hospitals and Acting Hospital Com-

missioner of St. Louis [hereinafter referred to collectively as

“the city”) seeking, in her broadly worded complaint, declara-

tory and injunctive relief

against the existence, application, implementation and en-

forcement of express and implied policies, rules, regula-

tions, procedures and pract °s barring, thwarting, limit-

ing and infringing upon the « lization of the personnel,

facilities and services of the general, public hospitals of the

City of St. Louis, Missouri . . . for the performance of

abortions.

The jurisdiction of the federal court was based on 28 U.S.C.

§ 1343.

On March 22, 1974, the district court* sustained a motion

by the city and dismissed the complaint for lack of standing

and mootness. On appeal this Court reversed and remanded

for further proceedings. Doe v. Poelker, 497 F.2d 1063, 1067

(8th Cir. 1974).

Accordingly, a trial to the court was held on November 25,

1974, and on January 13, 1975, the court issued a memoran-

dum and order finding for the city and dismissing the com-

plaint with prejudice. The trial judge appears to have agreed

with Doe that there is a city policy prohibiting abortions, but

he never considered the constitutionality of such a policy be-

cause he felt that Doe had failed to establish that the policy had

been applied to her. Instead, it was his opinion that Doe had

merely been refused an abortion by certain physicians at the

* The Honorable Roy W. Harper, Senior United States District

Judge, Eastern District of Missouri.

— A-29 —

city hospital's obstetrics-gynecology clinic because of their own

personal moral and ethical beliefs on that subject. We reverse.

The incidents giving rise to this litigation occurred during

August, 1973. Doe, the mother of two who was in severe finan-

cial straits and who had reason to fear that her husband might

be sent to prison, suspected she might be pregnant. She had

had five prior miscarriages. She went to the gynecology clinic

at Max C. Starkloff Hospital, owned and operated by the city,

and was examined by a third-year medical student assigned to

the hospital. Although the student did not recall the conversa-

tion, Doe testified that she asked him at that time if she could

obtain an abortion at the city hospital and that he had responded

that it could not be done because it was against hospital policy.

Doe returned to the clinic six days later for the results of the

laboratory pregnancy test, and when informed by another medi-

cal student who was examining her ‘hat the results was positive

she requested an abortion at the hospital. The student indicated

that he had personal convictions against abortions and that he

knew of no one at the city hospital to whom to refer Doe. How-

ever, an appointment was made for the next day at the ob-

stetrics clinic.

At that clinic Doe was seen by Dr. William J. Ott, at that

time the chief resident from St. Louis University in the obstetrical

service at the city hospital. She told Dr. Ott that she desired

an abortion. Dr. Ott, having strong personal beliefs on the

subject, refused to consider it and refused to give her even a

written statement as to her state of pregnancy. Instead he re-

ferred her to another physician at the clinic, Dr. Ziad Abu Dalu,

who saw her that same day and the next. Both times Doe re-

quested an abortion at city hospital and Dr. Abu Dalu refused,

telling her “that we couldn't do one at City Hospital.” Dr. Abu

Dalu does have personal convictions against abortions, but did

not elaborate them to Doe. Subsequent to the filing of this law-

suit, Doe was aborted at a private clinic in St. Louis.

—_—s

While the students and doctors who saw Doe at the clinic

were aware of her personal family and financial problems none

of them found any “medical reasons” to justify an abortion,

defining such reasons as severe sickness of the patient such as

“severe diabetes,” “severe heart condition” or “something of

that type.” Doe was suffering from cervical fibroid tumors and

polyps, an extremely retroverted uterus and trichomycosis.

The district court impliedly found, and there can be no doubt,

that there is an official St. Louis city policy promulgated by the

mayor prohibiting the performance of abortions in the city-

owned public hospitals for reasons other than to save the mother

from grave physiological injury or death. The city admitted as

much in its answer to the complaint, and the mayor himself

testified that, upon taking office in the spring of 1973, he di-

rected that the existing policy be continued, understanding that

it allowed abortions only if the life of the mother was in danger.*

Additionally, Dr. Wochner stated that such a policy had been

given to him by the mayor to carry out.

In addition to the policy, the evidence reveals that there is a

“procedure and practice” which operates to bar the performance

of abortions at the city’s hospitals—the-method of staffing the

obstetrics-gynecology clinic.‘ The clinic, which is provided by

* It is noteworthy that this specific directive was ee by

Mayor Poelker several months after the Supreme

decisions were announced on January 22, 1973. Roe v. Wade, 410

U.S. 113 (1973); Doe v. Bolton, 410 U.S. 179 (1973).

‘ urna Wem comme Gate Ge oh) 8 spe Se

the district judge thought the com t was not broad enough

cover an attack on the staffing of OB-GYN clinic. Ses

The complaint specifically mentions “procedures and

thwart the performances of abortions as being r attac

manner of staffing a ital is certainly a ‘ ieee ond anita”

of that hospital. And, of course, any complaint must be read in the

light of Fed. R. Civ. P. 8(f), which states that “[ajll pleadings

shall be so construed as to do substantial justice.”

The city can hardly complain that it was surprised by the staffing

issue in view of the broad wording of the complaint. It certainly

—_<

the city, at least in part, to care for indigent patients, is staffed

entirely by faculty and students from the St. Louis University

School of Medicine. That university is a Catholic, Jesuit-operated

institution, and its faculty manual calls for the discharge of any

faculty member who engages in “{aJll grave offense in the dis-

charge of University responsibilities, which is clearly against

well-established principles of Catholic morality.” One witness,

a Jesuit professor at the university, testified that the performance

of an abortion by a faculty member would be a “gravely im-

moral [act] by the Catholic standards.” As such, of course, it

would subject him to discharge.

Dr. Frank Ostapowicz, a professor at the School of Medicine

and Chief of Gynecological and Obstetrical services at the city

hospital testified by affidavit that he had told the city’s Director

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.