Petition — Bowen v. New York News, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1976

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

— .

Supreme Court, U. &

. k i L. b vb ‘%,

FEB 3 1915

MICHAEL RODAK, IR, CLERK |

me

ly THe

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1975.

» %5-1102

CHARLES W. BOWEN, Jn, d/b/a Susurmia News Detivery SERVICE,

RICHARD CARTABUKE d/b/a R. Canranuxe News Dit, JO:

SETH DITTA and JOSEP AILLA, DELLA DAVIS, SOL L,

GOLDBERG 4/b/a Piainview News Deuivery, THEODORE

MARKOWITZ d/b/a_A.M.F, Newsraren Dettvery Service,

FRANK MIRRO and EMANUAL MIRRO d/b/a Franve. News

Servicn, JACK POSEROW as Aasignee of VALLEY Stream News

Service, INc.,, BENJAMIN and FLORENCE ROSENBLUM d/b/a

Srevans News Service, HOWARD B, SCHULZ and MARGARET

SCHULZ d/b/a Newspeaten, KENNETH SWEENEY, JOHN

KAHRS d/b/a New York Newasrarer Dewivery FLORAL PARK

NEWS DELIVERY, Inc.,, HUNTINGTON NEWS DELIVERY,

Inc, EDWARD A, SHANK d/b/a Frorat Park News Service,

HARRY FOX d/b/a Menit News Company, JACK GULLO d/b/a

F, & M, News Service, WALTER GREENBERG d/b/a Park

News Service, SALVIN SALES CORP., HAROLD 0. RATHSAM

a/b/a Aro. Newsrarer Service, HUGH HOLMAN d/b/a Nassau

N

ewaeraren DeLivery, EDWARD PERROT d/b/a LIncoLN Home

Nyws,

Petitioners,

againat

NEW YORK NEWS, Inc, JACK UNDERWOOD, ROBERT 0 SUL-

LIVAN, ANTHONY GATANZARO, DAVID AUERBACH, DON.

ALD A. NIZEN, GABRIEL LEWANDER, F. M. FLYNN, WIN-

FRED JAMES, JOHN ERWIN also known as Jonn Inwin, SY

HECHT, ERNEST SMITH, JOSEPH CONWAY, P. PASTOR.

ELLI, J. PASTORELLI, ‘BERNARD F. SMITH, HOWARD

ENT, BE. DeBELLA, MRS. ARTHUR C. ELLERMAN, RAY-

MOND LEDDA, MICHAEL LEPORE, VICTORE LEPORE,

ARNOLD BLUME, WALDO RODRIGUBZ, E. CAPAZZI, RON-

ALD PARKHURST, W. JOUBERT, C. McNALLY, J. RABEN,

CHARLES ASHDOWN, J. OCCHINO, R. CARRELL, B. SMITH,

and “JOHN” REILLY (whose first name is resentl unknown)

and “JOHN DOE”, “RICHARD ROE” and “JANE DOB", being

persons whose identities are presently unknown to — Om

¢ .

—_——— ——_ = = ===

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit.

— —

pemeny Py pg an

torney for Pe ers

205 Madison Avenue

New York, N. Y, 10017

(212) 725-5959

Table of Contents.

Page

Ne eicinctncentnicnemnvespengeeemnsenepipcemnmsemnetienees 2

REESE AES REID ee er eee nee 2

Questions Presented for Review .............ccccenen 3

Statutory Provisions Involved o........66ccccceerene 7

Statement of the Case ................. Pe AREER ETS ED eee on |

A. Home delivery by The News prior to 1966 ... |

B. Termination of 16 plaintiffs 00.0000... 10

C, The status of the franchise dealers and The

News a8 Wholesalers ............ccccccccsceresereeeseeereeeees 12

DD, The operation and effect of the franchise sys

tem upon competition and circulation ............. 1h

EK. Price and other discriminations against the

route dealer in favor of the franchise dealer 18

F, Proceedings in the Distriet Court and Court

ff REESE ER Re ——

Port I, This Court should grant review to deter-

mine whether the Court below properly re-

versed the findings of the trial Court, with-

out any ruling that such findings of the trial

Court were clearly erroneous, when the findings

of the trial Court were based upon uncontra-

dicted testimony and concessions of the parties

successfully seeking reversal, and when such

factual findings were clearly supported by un-

contradicted evidence supplied by the parties

who sought reversal

Point

Por

Point

Pont

il,

Il. This Court should grant review to deter-

mine whether the Court below denied plain-

tiffe an opportunity for a hearing on the ques-

tion of whether the aggregate of The News’ re-

straints on trade—price fixing, termination of

route dealers, boycott, territorial and customer

restrictions, price and other discriminations,

and failure to make available copies of The

News in varying localities—amounted to an

unreasonable restraint of trade o00.0.00....0606 6

Ill. Since newspapers are unique rather than

fungible items, and are protected by the First

Amendment, price fixing was illegal per se under

the McGuire Act because The News was not in

free and open competition with commodities

of the same general class ............... amanda

IV. This Court should grant review to deter-

mine a conflict in decisions of Courts of Ap-

peals, and with this Court, as to standing of

plaintiffs to assert illegality of the customer

and territorial restrictions of The News’ fran-

chise agreements, The plaintiffs here had the

requisite standing because they were injured

by the restrictions

V. This Court should finally determine an

important issue: whether intent to monopolize

is a prerequisite for a conspiracy to monopo-

lize under Section 2 of the Sherman Act. In

any event, the findings of the Courts below that

such intent was not shown here were clearly

erroneous, and should be reversed

Page

$1

ili,

Point VI. This Court should grant review of the

denial of plaintiffs’ Robinson-Patman claims in-

volving price and other discriminations, to de-

termine whether when the components of the

article in question have passed through inter-

state commerce, discrimination is permissible

simply because the finished article itself (the

newspaper) is not the subject of price diserimi-

nation in actual interstate sales

COPTER RRR CRO eeee

Conciusion, This Court should grant review of the

eae oe

Index to Appendix,

Arrenvix A—Opinion of Bauman, D. J. .

Arrennix B—Opinion of Mansfield, Cireuit Judge .

Aprenpix C— Statutes Involved .

Page

43

iv,

TABLE OF CASES.

Albrecht v. Herald Co., 390 U. 8S. 145 (1968) ........ 20,

American Motor Inns, Ine., v. Holiday Inna, Ine.,

52 F. 2d 1280 (8rd Cir, 1975) ....cccvcccsereremennenns

Associated Press v. United States, 326 U. 8. 1, 27-

BB CABGBD cccccccsecccecescnsseccnccnsessercnssnmmsnnenenaan

Blankenship v. Hearst Corporation, 519 F, 2d 418

(Oth Cir, 1975) ORE!

Calderone Enterprises Corp, vy, United Artists

Theatre Cireuit, 454 F. 2d 1292, 1295, 1296

(2nd Cir, 1971), cert. den, 406 U, 8, 9380 (1972)

Cavender v, Cavender, 114 U, 8, 464, 471 (1885) ......

Kastinan Kodak v. Federal Trade Commission,

158 F. 2d 592 (2d Cir, 1946), cert, den, 330

U, S, 828 (1947) ae

Fleming v. Van Der Loo, 160 F, 2d 906, 909-10 (D.C,

Cir, 1947)

Gulf O} Corp. v. Copp Paving Co,, 419 U. SS. 186,

YOO (1974)

Hawaii v. Standard Oj! of California, 405 U. 8S, 251,

262, n. 14 (1972) ER

Industrial Bldg. Materials, Ine. v. Interchemical

Corp., 437 F. 2d 1336, 1343 fn, 8 (9th Cir,

1970) sosvevetdsisiinatiiaeaaaaa

31

= &

33

23

v.

Page

Kansas City Stockyards Co. of Maine v. Anderson,

119 F. 2d 91, 93 (8th Cir. 1952) —................. 23

Mandeville Island Farms, Inc., v. American Crystal

Sugar Co., 334 U. S. 219, 236 (1948) —.............. 35

Mercelis v. Wilson, 235 U. S. 579, 583 (1950) —.......... 24

Metropolitan Broadcasting Corporation v. Lebowitz,

293 F. 2d 524, 527 (D. C. Cir. 1961) ........... 23

Morning Pioneer, Inc., v. Bismarck Tribune Com-

pany, 493 F. 2d 383 (8th Cir. 1974) 20000000000... 42

In re Multidistrict Vehicle Air Pollution M. D. L.

No. 31, 481 F. 2d 122, 128 (9th Cir. 1973)

cert. den. 414 U. S. 1045 (1973) 20. 36

Nash v. United States, 229 U. S. 373, 378 (1913) ... 39

Noble v. McClatchy Newspapers, F. 2d (9th

Cir. 1975), 1975-2 Trade Cases 960,594 31, 37

Oseanyan v. Arms Co., 103 U. S. 261 (1880) —........ 24

Radovich y. National Football League, 352 U. S.

Ee 35

Shapleigh v. Mier, 299 U. S. 468, 475 (1936) 23

Stacher v. United States, 258 F. 2d 112, 116 (9th

EES SSS 23

Stewart v. Lansing, 104 U. S. 505, 511-2 (1881) 23

vi.

Page

United States v. Arnold, Schwinn & Co., 358 U. S.

8 2 yy 36, 37

United States v. Topco Associates, Inc., 405 U. 8.

kt) ee 36

United States v. Yellow Cab Co., 338 U. S. 338

COD cccreccncccescsansevnterstnamstinctanieniaceneninnidininnahennninian 22

Zenith Corp. v. Hazeltine, 395 U. S. 100, 123 (1968) .... 22, 23

STATUTES.

McGuire Act, 15 U.S.C. §45(a@) -..-.--------------------eeeeeee 5, 7

Sherman Act:

ee eee 7

15 U.S.C.:

ee ae 7

Robinson-Patman Act, 15 U.S.C. §13 ~...................... 7

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 52(a) ................ 3,°7

New York Education Law $3228 .........................---.------ 7

United States Constitution:

2 RES ees 7

eee 7

Die GD ccseceticncscesssecreneieanisiiennteiintabeninaciniaiaes 2

eye 35

MISCELLANEOUS.

Antitrust Problems in the Newspaper Industry, 82

Harvard Law Review 319, 326 (1968) _........... 41

In THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

October Term, 1975

No.

—_

Cuartes W. Bowen, Jr., et al.,

Petitioners,

against

New York News, Inc., et al.,

Defendants.

<>

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court

of Appeals for the Second Circuit.

To the Chief Justice and the Associate Justices of the

Supreme Court of the United States:

Your petitioners, all of whom are or have been inde-

pendent route dealers (home deliverers of all news-

papers), hereby petition for a writ of certiorari to re-

view the order and judgment of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Second Circuit, 1) insofar as it

reversed the findings and judgment of the United States

District Court for the Southern District of New York,

which had held that certain agreements of the New York

News with its franchise dealers (dealers who re-sold

copies of The News to newsboys) were illegal price-

fixing agreements per se, that the franchise agreements

contained illegal territorial and customer restrictions

further in violation of Section 1 of the Sherman Act, and

that the defendants had conspired to monopolize part of

the newspaper home delivery market in violation of Sec-

- a

tion 2, such reversal being without any opportunity for

a determination as to whether the aggregate of price-

fixing, boycotting, territorial and customer restrictions,

price and other discriminations, termination of ‘certain

plaintiffs and harassment constituted unreasonable re-

straint of trade even if not per se violations; and 2) insofar

as that decision affirmed denial of plaintiff’s claims for

price and other discriminations under Robinson-Patman.

Opinions Below.

The opinion of the United States District Court for the

Southern District of New York (per Bauman, J.) is re-

ported at 366 F. Supp. 651, and is appended hereto as

Appendix A. The decision of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Second Circuit is reported at 522 F.

2d 1242, and is appended hereto as Appendix B.

Jurisdiction.

The judgment and order sought to be reviewed was

made and entered on July 23, 1975. On August 1, 1975,

a motion was made to extend the time to file a petition

for rehearing to and including August 27, 1975, which

motion was granted and entered on August 8, 1975. An

order, without opinion, denying the timely motion for

rehearing (en banc) was made and entered on November

5, 1975. The statutory provision believed to confer on

this Court jurisdiction to review the judgment and order

in question is 28 U. S. C. §1254(1).

3 eee.

Questions Presented for Review.

1. Whether the Second Circuit properly discharged its

appellate function under Rule 52(a) of the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure, under which the findings of the trial

Court are not to be set aside unless “clearly erroneous,”

when:

a) Though the parties had testified and stipulated at

trial, as confirmed by exhibits, and without con-

tradiction, that, pursuant to the price-fixing agree-

ments between The New York News and its fran-

chise dealers, the franchise dealers re-sold copies

of The News to newsboys (and were hence whole-

salers), and that the news boys re-sold to the ulti-

mate consumers (and were hence retailers), and

the trial Court so found, the Court of Appeals re-

versed such findings on the basis of its own new

and inconsistent findings as to which there was no

evidentiary support in the record whatsoever,—

that The News sold directly to consumers—, and

i) the contentions upon which the Court of Appeals

reversed never having been raised below, and the

uncontradicted testimony having been that The

News did not sell directly to consumers, and

ii) the Second Cireuit thus permitting the appellants

before it to appeal successfully on the grounds

that their uncontradicted trial testimony was not

true, and

b) The Court below merely affirmed the trial court’s

findings of a lack of intent to monopolize, while

ignoring the evidence of The News’ intent to de-

stroy or seriously injure the independent route

dealer system so as to deprive potential publisher

4

competitors of access to the home delivery market

through the cost-free route dealer system, such

intent to monopolize being shown by i) termina-

tion of route dealers who would not become fran-

chise dealers, while advising them that, to be-

come franchise dealers, they would have to give up

other newspapers or dispose of them, and that

there was no time to sell their routes; ii) termina-

tion of suppliers of terminated route dealers; iii)

The News having had no home delivery department

until 1964, and having made no serious efiort to

increase home delivery circulation before introduc-

tion of the franchise system, adopted without hav-

ing made any cost studies, and iiii) the cost studies

later made before the franchise system became

operative in 1966 showed that The News would

lose money by the franchise system, and in much

larger amounts than those studies showed it would

lose from obtaining the same increase of circula-

tion through the route dealer system, and

c) The Court merely affirmed the trial Court’s finding

of The News’ lack of intent to monopolize, ignor-

ing the overwhelming evidence of such intent, such

as that The News’ franchise program had been

planned so that The News would lose money, its

termination of route dealers who would not become

franchise dealers while denying them the oppor-

tunity to sell their routes, termination of sup-

pliers of terminated route dealers, and a series

of predatory acts including surveillance, false ar-

rest and malicious prosecution, the intent of all

of which could only have been to destroy or se-

riously injure the route dealer system in order to

prevent any new or existing newspaper from hav-

ing access to the cost-free home delivery system

provided by the route dealers?

_——

Te eae

2. Whether the price fixing agreements between The

News and its franchise dealers were illegal per se, and

not immunized by the MeGuire Act, 15 U. S. C. §45(a),

because i) such agreements were between wholesaler and

wholesaler, or, under the reasoning of the Court below,

between retailer and retailer, the Court below having

found that both The News and the franchise dealers were

retailers, and ii) because The News was not in free and

open competition with commodities of the same general

class?

3. The trial Court having found per se price fixing

violations and therefore never having determined whether

The News’ franchise system, encompassing an aggregate

of trade restraints (termination of route dealers unwill-

ing to become franchise dealers, denial of opportunity to

sell routes before becoming a franchise dealer, boycott,

price-fixing, territorial and customer restraints, and re-

sultant restraints upon circulation of The News and other

papers) constituted an unreasonable restraint of trade, in

violation of Section 1 of the Sherman Act, a) was it

error for the Second Circuit to rule that there were no

per se violations, without remanding for trial or finding

on the issue of whether there had been an unreasonable

restraint of trade, and b) were petitioners thus denied

an opportunity for a judicial determination after a hear-

ing, and thus deprived of property without due process of

law in violation of the Fifth Amendment?

4. Whether the Court below properly found a lack of

standing of plaintiff route dealers to attack territorial

restraints upon franchise dealers on the theory that a

route dealer was thus assured of facing competition from

no more than one franchise dealer, when in fact the

record showed that there were several franchise dealers

at the same time in most route dealers’ areas?

5. Did the Seeond Circuit err in ruling that a retrial

of the Section 2 claim upon remand was unnecessary be-

cause of its affirmance of part of the Section 1 claim,

though the standard of proof of damages under the See-

tion 2 claim would be much broader than the narrowly

prescribed standards for damages laid down by the See-

ond Cireuit for the Section 1 claim?

6. Whether there is a requirement of proof of specific

intent in cases involving conspiracy to monopolize, as

opposed to cases involving attempts to monopolize and

whether such intent appears here?

7. Was the refusal of | News to deal with plaintiff

route dealers who had failed or refused to enter into

price fixing agreements, plus other acts by the respond.

ents—including a) detection by respondents of the sources

of plaintiffs’ supply, which were themselves then to be

terminated by the publisher; b) terminating or threaten-

ing to terminate all sales to such sources of supply or

reducing the number of copies the source receives so that

it could no longer be a source of supply: ¢) constant

surveillance by franchise dealers, the publisher’s em-

ployees and armed off-duty policemen; d) the publisher

instructing its franchise dealers to falsely tell route

dealer’s customers (potential, former and current) that

the plaintiffs were out of business and that they could

obtain home delivery of the newspaper only through the

franchise dealers—an unlawful conspiracy to eliminate

intrabrand competition in the home delivery market by

monopolizing trade in the said newspaper, in violation

of Section 2 of the Sherman Act?

8. a) Did the territorial and customer restrictions in

the franchise agreement, which the publisher conceded

prevented franchise dealers from selling to other than

newsbovs and from selling outside their allocated ter-

te

7

ritories, violate Section 1 of the Sherman Act, because

the publisher parted with title, dominion and risk of loss

when it sold its newspapers to franchise dealers without

the right to make returns and without supervision over

the actual home delivery, whether or not such restric-

tions were ancillary to price fixing, and ..

b) Did plaintiffs have standing to attack such restric-

tions?

9. Was it error to dismiss the claims of the plaintiffs

for violation of the Robinson-Patman Act, in the light of

price and delivery discrimination practices in favor of

the franchise dealers and against the route dealers by

The News, on the ground that no sales to any of the plain-

tiffs occurred in interstate commerce, though the franchise

system involved such discriminations in interstate com-

meree, the prices of the newspaper out of state being de-

termined on the same basis as within the state, and the

copies of the newspaper sold being composites of news,

features, advertising and paper, all of which had crossed

state lines?

Statutory Provisions Involved.

The following statutory provisions are involved in this

case: Sherman Act, §§1 and 2, 15 U. S. C. §§1 and 2;

Robinson-Patman Act, 15 U. S. C. §18; MeGuire Aet, 15

U. S. C. $45a; Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 52(a);

New York Education Law §3228; First and Fifth Amend.

ments, United States Constitution.

Their pertinent text is reproduced herein as Appendix

C,

Statement of the Case.

A. Home delivery by The News prior to 1966.

Newspaper home delivery in the New York City metro-

politan area has traditionally been handled by independent

route dealers, such as plaintiffs, who purchase routes

and home deliver all newspapers, including special in-

terest newspapers, to customers on such routes. This in-

volves some 20-22 newspapers (65a).*

The News conceded that it did practically nothing with

regard to developing home delivery sales in Nassau and

Suffolk Counties (part of New York City’s metropolitan

area) prior to 1963 (477a), and indeed had no home de-

livery circulation department until 1964 (1214a). Be-

tween 1963 and 1966, the only efforts towards develop-

ing such home delivery circulation made by The News

were occasional samplings and telephone solicitations

(477a), with route dealers cooperating in these limited

promotional efforts—even though The News on occasion

did not pay some of them as promised (S85a-86a, 182a-

183a, 416a)—with the route dealers doing their own

solicitation of orders.

In early 1965, The News began several pilot test fran-

chise programs in areas where there were no independent

route dealers, the newspapers being home delivered at less

than the cover (newsstand) price (965a-967a), one of

which showed a substantial gain in circulation, starting

*Such references are to the Appendix to the record filed in

the Second Circuit below, a copy of which Appendix will be certi-

fled to this Court. The Appendix contains all the testimuny.

9:

from zero delivery. No evidence was offered by The

News as to the success of the other programs, or of any

controls by attempting to have route dealers develop

the same or similar virgin territories (965a-966a, 837a-

838a).

Though The News was assigning franchise territories

by September or October of 1965 (718a-72la, 83la-834a,

837a-838a), studies were first made by The News in

early November, 1965, to determine the cost of achieving

a specified expanded circulation through the independent

route dealer system as against achieving the same in-

crease via the franchise system, These studies (Pl. Exs.

98 and 99, 1401a-1404a) showed a spiralling cost in both

cases, but with the cost of achieving the same increased

eirculation through the franchise method ranging (in

different years) from over 500% to 17% greater, both

studies projecting net losses from the increase of sales,

No evidence whatsoever was introduced to show that ad-

vertising revenues increased, or that an expected increase

in advertising revenues was considered, in determining

whether to embark upon the program.'

The News later revised its figures of net losses sub-

stantially upward (Pl. Ex. 97, 1399a), the projection of

the cost of the franchise system being some three times

'If clear errors in the cost studies are corrected, the projected

net loss in obtaining the same increased circulation via the fran-

chise method ranges from seven to three times higher. The errors

were: (1) The clearly invalid assumption that the actual cost of

printing and delivering the same increased number of copies of

the paper would be hundreds of thousands of dollara higher for

route dealer distribution than for franchise distribution; (2) Less-

ening the costs of the franchise system by an amount for ‘‘Sav-

ings on Returns’’ though the route dealers had no return priv-

ileges, Revised figures making such corrections were submitted

as Appendices A and B to our Proposed Findings of Fact in the

District Court.

greater than for obtaining the same increase in home de-

livery through the independent route dealer system, again

with the cost of the independent route dealer system de-

velopment being grossly overstated.

No evidence was ever offered to explain why The News

adopted a method of increasing circulation to incur

losses, nor why it sought to incur heavier losses by using

the more expensive franchise system. The franchise sys-

tem did give The News the control it desired over price,

exclusivity of product and method of distribution (1000a),

while the independent route dealer system provided a

cost-free method of home delivery to existing newspapers

as well as to possible new entrants into the marketplace

of newspapers, route dealers buying at wholesale rates

from the newspapers (or their distributors) and reselling

at retail to their customers for an added service (delivery)

charge.

B. Termination of 16 plaintiffs.

In late 1965 and early 1966, a number of the plaintiff

route dealers were contacted and offered the opportunity

to become franchise dealers, which meant they would

have to give up their then routes, sell only The News,

not at their price to their own customers, but to news-

boys at the maximum price stipulated by The News.

very route dealer who was invited by The News to be-

come a franchise dealer was told in the letter of invita-

tion that boys had to be used, the letters of invitation

uniformly noting that “The News is seeking the services

of qualified men to supervise the boy delivered franchise

district” (see Pl. Ex. 23, 1363a, and Pl. Exs. 27, 30, 31,

37, 47 and 75, not reproduced in the Appendix). It was

admitted by The News that the franchise system was a

hoy system (1228a); route dealers and other prospective

franchise dealers were told they had to use boys in the fran-

chise system (88a, 89a, 341a, 703a-704a, 8330), counsel for

11

The News noting that a purpose of the franchise system

was “to establish a boy system * * °” (355a).

Plaintiffs who were offered the opportunity to become

franchise dealers were told by The News that they would

have to give up other newspapers (207a, 303a, 349a,

384a, 599a, 66la) or dispose of that part of the route

(773a). The two plaintiffs who stated that they wanted

to sell their routes were told by The News that there

was no time to do so (Sa, 325a, 3400, 3414).

The plaintiffs were told that if they did not agree to

adhere to all the provisions of the franchise agreement,

their supplies of The News would be cut off. None of

the plaintiffs were willing to bow to its restrictive terms,

and within a short time, beginning on January 10, 1966,

16 of the plaintiffs were terminated by The News (12638a),

There ensued a conspiracy by The News and its fran-

chise dealers to prevent the 16 terminated plaintiffs from

obtaining copies of The News, which findings of con.

spiracy were upheld by the Second Cireuit (App. B,

infra, pp. 8la-85a), including harassment under which vary-

ing of the plaintiffs were followed, in ears manned by

armed off-duty policemen, in efforts by The News to

find out the source of supply of terminated franchise

dealers, delivery to which sources of supply would be

terminated (850a-85la), culminating in plaintiff Marko-

witz being arrested for allegedly stealing what were his

own newspapers. The charges against Markowitz were

dropped when The News was unsuccessful in its attempt

to obtain perjured testimony in an effort to convict

Markowitz (624a-626a).’

"Plaintiff Markowitz's separate claim for false arrest and

malicious prosecution was pursued in a separate action in the

New York Supreme Court, settled in November, 1975, for $50,000,

moments before a jury would have returned a verdict in his favor

for $157,500. Markowitz's claims for violation of antitrust laws

survived the settlement, by agreement.

C. The status of the franchise dealers and The News as

wholesalers.

Counsel for The News stated in his opening that “The

franchise dealer is in effect, as Mr. Levy [plaintiff's coun-

sel] noted, a wholesaler. He buys the papers and re-

sells them to a carrier boy who then makes the sale to

the subseriber” (59a),

At a later point, counsel engaged in the following

colloquy :

“Mr. Levy: As I understand it, under the

franchise agreements, The News wholesales to the

franchise dealers who in turn wholesale their

rs to the news boys, who eventually do the charg-

ing and billing. Is that correct?

“Mr. Hughes f[feounsel for The News]: I

wouldn’t use the word wholesale all the way down

the line there, but that is basically correct. The

News sells to the franchise dealer at a price. The

franchise dealer sells to the carrier boy at a price.

The carrier boy sells to the subscriber at a price

** (187a).

Still later, counsel for The News noted the following:

“This was strictly a vertical arrangement, your

Honor, where we dealt with the price which, of

course, we had the right to fix, initially to our cus-

tomer who purchased from us, the franchise dealer.

Under the Fair Trade Law we had the right to

fix the price at which he re-sold, and to the extent

that he is a wholesaler in that he delivered to the

hoys and the boys re-sold, we had the right to fix

that price” (914a-915a),

The testimony of the witnesses was in accord. Thus,

The News’ Cireulation Director Underwood, its principal

witness, testified that “We fixed the price at which the

hoy sells to the ultimate consumer and we fixed the price

at which the franchised dealer sells to the boy ° * °

(1140a). Then, relating the chain of distribution, Under-

wood went on to note that “The paper is produced by

The News, The News distributes to the franchised dealer,

the franchised dealer distributes to the boy, the boy dis-

tributes to the home,” and that under the franchise sys-

tem, “The News fixes all of those prices” (ibid.).

Underwood expressly disclaimed that there were any

occasions where The News sells directly to the carrier boy

or to the ultimate consumer, in the following colloquy:

“Q. Are there any occasions when The News sells

eee to the carrier boy in the franchise system?

. No.

“Q. Are there any occasions where The News

sells directly to the ultimate consumer for pur-

pose of home delivery in any area where the

ranchise system is established? A. No. That

would only be mail” (1140a).

An envelope was used by the franchise dealer, whose

use was specifically approved by defendant Catanzaro of

The News (Pl. Ex. 84, 1366a; 915a-9l6a), which was

given to the boys, which contained the following, ad-

dressed to the boy carriers:

“Your billing rate is $.0787 per daily i and

$.2375 for Sunday paper. The difference between

this rate and the retail rate you charge your cus-

tomer gives you a profit margin of ¢.1903 per daily

and Sunday customer.”

The franchise system did not provide for reimburse-

ment to the news hoy if he did not collect from his ecus-

tomer. Thus, defendant Lepore testified as follows

(858a-859a ) :

“Q. Suppose one of the kids on the route did not

collect from his customer, whose loss was that? A.

14

Well, technically that should be the carrier boy’s

loss. In our particular case, we have a policy

where we reimburse the carrier for any losses.

But there is no provision, as far as the franchise

system is concerned, to reimburse the carrier.”

Franchise dealer Carter further testified as follows:

“Q. Suppose one of the boys didn’t collect from

his customer, whose loss was that? A. Well, that

was the carrier boy” (744a).

Cireulation Director Underwood of The News testified

(1136a-1137a) that the use of a boy system “provided for

us an automatic sales force,” with about 5,000 boys in-

volved in the program.

All of the franchise agreements provided that the

franchise dealer “is and shall remain an independent

contractor and not an employee or agent of The News”

(1262a).

The franchise agreements themselves further reflected

the relationship between the franchise dealers and the

boys. Thus, in an interim agreement, in letter form ad-

dressed to the franchise dealers, the franchise dealer

was told that “You will not charge any carrier boy mak-

ing such deliveries and collections more than the presently

established wholesale rate * * *” (1350a). In the final

agreement, Plaintiffs’ Exhibit 10, it was provided in

TT(b) that the franchise dealer agrees “(b) To super-

vise and direct the delivery and resale of copies of The

Daily and Sunday News to such regular subscribers in

his territory at no more than the regular established home

delivery price” (1355a). (Italics supplied.) ITI (d) of

the final agreement again restates the relationsh:p, pro-

viding that the franchise dealer would not “Charge any

carrier boy engaged in making deliveries and collections

15

in his territory more than the price established therefor

by The News” (1358a).

The records of The News showed sales by the boys

(Deft. Exhs. O and P, 1100a, 110la, 1419a-1422a). The

boys did the canvassing, soliciting and sampling (214a,

217a, 255a, 333a). The franchise dealer sampled himself

only before his route became operative (750a, 75la,

922a), after which the boys and the franchise dealer both

did soliciting (924a). There was no evidence in the

record to show that The News did any sampling. It

merely solicited orders, by telephone, in an area only

after the boys had finished soliciting there (924a). The

News’ ads for boys, contained in Plaintiffs’ Exhibit 12,

introduced in evidence at 191a-192a, noted often that

boys were wanted to canvass, as well as deliver. And the

testimony of The News was that the “major part of the

orders came from boys soliciting” (925a).

D. The operation and effect of the franchise system upon

competition and circulation.

Because of the way the franchise system was developed

(see, infra, pp. 17-18), the franchise dealer could not in

the beginning of the operation of his route cover all cus-

tomers within that route. Thus, some customers in plain-

tiff Markowitz’s area were not able to purchase The News

from the franchise dealers in his area until 1972, though

plaintiff had been terminated in 1966. Had Markowitz

gone out of business, some 150 daily and 200 Sunday

customers for The News would not have been serviced

with any newspapers until 1972 (94a-95a). When a

terminated route dealer did go out of business, as did

plaintiff Bowen, there was no delivery made of the Times,

Wall Street Journal or other papers, although by the

time of the 1972 trial there was someone servicing parts

of Rowen’s area (414a-415a). Similarly, a route dealer

who had been terminated in early 1966 abandoned the

route; for several weeks thereafter, it was not serviced

with any newspapers except for copies of The News, un-

til plaintiff Davis moved into the route (497a-498a). As

the difficulty increased in securing papers, plaintiff Davis

ceased delivering The News to customers unless there was

a Times subscriber on the same block, a practice which

began in 1968 (535a-536a).

After the terminated route dealers went great distances

to secure copies of The News, they were unable, even

then; to secure enough copies of The News to fully serv-

ice their customers. Thus, Bowen on numerous occa-

sions received no deliveries of The News (419a-420a),

and on five occasions received no copies of The Sunday

News (45la). Gullo, for a month after termination, was

able to service only a few of his News customers (661a-

662a); Mirro was unable to service his customers on

certain occasions after May 9, 1966 (638a); Perrot was

able to get enough papers to service only 50% of his

customers the first day, and 75% of his customers the

second day after termination, with Perrot then having

315 News customers (649a); and Sweeney was unable

to service any of his customers with The News for a

couple of weeks after termination (216a).

Former franchise dealer Carter testified that although

the date of his written contract was January 7, 1966,

he did not start delivering copies of The News in his

territory until February, 1966. Had terminated route

dealer Markowitz not distributed copies of The News

at that time, there would have been no distribution of

The News at all in Carter’s territory until February,

1966 (729a).

In the two Lepore franchise territories, each about

twenty square miles in area, after the major route dealers

17

went ont of business in or: about 1968, there have been

no New York Times deliveries in most of those two areas,

Only about 15 to 20% of one area has home deliveries

of The Times; although there are some Sunday home

deliveries, in the other area, there is no normal delivery

of the daily editions of The Times or The Wall Street

Journal (834a-838a).

The franchise home routes were developed by sampling

one boy route, of 200 dwelling units, for a week, and

beginning regular service on that route thereafter at

the rate of one boy route per week (839a). Thus, there

were no deliveries of The News by either of the de-

fendants Lepore during the first week of operation, and

it was two weeks after January 10, 1966, before the

first deliveries of The News to Lepore customers began

(840a-841a). The routes were developed extremely slowly

(844a-846a, 922a-924a), and there is still a square mile of

the Lepore routes where no newspaper deliveries are

being made (846a-847a). It was not until late 1968

that the coverage of the areas by the Lepore’s was pretty

much total, with the exception noted above (848a).

And prior to the Lepore’s going into an independent

route dealer’s territory, the territories had been fully

serviced with all newspapers by independent route deal-

ers (913a).

When the independent route dealers had been invited

to become franchise dealers, The News did not have a

franchise man ready to work on that area in most cases

(971a). The News conceded that even when the fran-

chise dealer was ready to go into an area, it would be

from one to four weeks before a franchise man could

start in regularly delivering any papers at all, so that

unless an independent route dealer who had been termi-

nated was able to get copies of The News elsewhere,

all News snhseribers in that area wonld he withont home

18

delivered copies of The News for that one to four week

period (969a-970a).

When The News received home delivery orders for an

area in which there was no franchise dealer, the orders

were destroyed, and the customers were not notified

thereof (895a-896a).

There are less newsstands in the suburban area of

Long Island (Nassau and Suffolk Counties) than in New

York City, and less other retail outlets for newspapers,

such as stationery, candy and drugstores (983a-984a).

From 1966, until at least 1970, in a number of New York

City suburban areas, where newsstands exist, a number

of them were closed on Sundays and holidays, such as

railroad stations. Thus, persons living in a suburban

area could only receive copies of newspapers through de-

livery to their homes, unless they are willing to travel

long distances (802a, 983a-984a). For example, about

80% of the circulation of The News in the Lepore terri-

tories is home delivered (894a).

E. Price and other discriminations against the route dealer

in favor of the franchise dealer.

It was undisputed at the trial that The News subsidized

the franchise dealers till they reached a certain level of

revenue, and at all times sold to the franchise dealer at

a much lower price than it sold to the route dealer. Ad-

ditionally, a special franchise delivery system was set up,

which resulted in delivery of copies of The News to the

franchise dealers several hours earlier than to the route

dealers.

F. Proceedings in the District Court and Court of Appeals.

After agreement as to a bifurcated trial, first on lia-

bility, then on damages, the liability trial was held in

May of 1972, a non-jury trial. In June of 1973, Judge

Bauman held that The News’ franchise agreements were

illegal price fixing agreements; that sales of copies of

The News to the plaintiffs had been discontinued in

furtherance thereof, that. the frawehise agreements con-

tained illegal territorial and customer restrictions, all in

violation of Section 1 of the Sherman Act. He further

ruled that the defendants had conspired to monopolize

part of the newspaper home delivery market, in violation

of Section 2. The Court thus upheld the claims that

route dealers who had been terminated by The News on

or after January 10, 1976, as well as those who continued

to receive copies of The News from The News and who

operate in areas in which the franchise system has been

instituted, and the claim of one route dealer who ac-

quired his route from a terminated route dealer and who

had not sought to purchase from The News. The Court

dismissed the complaint of the route dealers who con-

tinued to receive copies of The News and who operated

in areas in which the franchise system had not been in-

stituted, and dismissed complaints of the remaining plain-

tiffs insofar as they were based on alleged violation of

the Clayton Act and the Robinson-Patman Act.

All of the defendants appealed from the resulting

judgment; the plaintiffs cross-appealed from the denial

of the Robinson-Patman claims, and to the extent that

the judgment did not afford the equitable relief requested

by the plaintiffs in their proposed judgment, and only

from such parts of the judgment (1343a-1344a).

The Second Circuit held that the franchise dealers were

not wholesalers, in that the selling function, including ad-

vertising, sampling and solicitation of prospective home

subscribers, was performed almost entirely by The News

and by the franchise dealers rather than by the boys,

and therefore the agreements between The News and its

franchise dealers were not agreements between whole-

salers and wholesalers, holding that the agreements thus

met the requirements of the MeGuire Act and therefore

did not violate the Sherman Act. While it affirmed the

finding that The News combined with the franchise deal.

ers in violation of Section 1 of the Sherman Act to pre-

vent some plaintiffs from obtaining copies of The News,

it reversed the District Court’s findings that this and

other activity amounted to a conspiracy to monopolize

in violation of Section 2. It affirmed the dismissal of the

plaintiffs’ claims of violation of the Robinson-Patman

Act. It held that no liability existed for injury caused

hy the introduction by The News of the franchise system,

the lower home subscription prices resulting from that

system, or The News termination of direct sales to in-

dependent route dealers because of its decision to sub-

stitute the franchise system, dismissing the claims of

those plaintiffs to whom The News continued to sell,

modifying the injunctive relief provisions of the District

Court judgment accordingly.

Within the time permitted for filing a petition for re-

hearing, plaintiffs sought an extension of such time, which

was granted by the Court below. A petition for rehearing

was filed squarely raising the question, inter alia, of

whether the Court had properly discharged its appellate

function under Rule 52(a) of the Federal Rules of Ap-

pellate Procedure. On November 5, 1975, the Second

Cirenit denied the rehearing petition, and subsequently

staved the mandate of the Court pending determination

of this petition for certiorari.

21

This Court should grant review to determine whether

the Court below properly reversed the findings of the

trial Court, without any ruling that such findings of

the trial Court were clearly erroneous, when the find-

ings of the trial Court were based upon uncontradicted

testimony and concessions of the parties successfully

secking reversal, and when such factual findings were

clearly supported by uncontradicted evidence supplied

by the parties who sought reversal.

The trial Court found that the price fixing exemption

of the Federal McGuire Act and its counterpart Feld-

Crawford Act in New York did not protect The News in

its agreements with its franchise dealers, since, of course,

the MeGuire Act exemption does not apply to contracts

between wholesalers and wholesalers. And the trial Court

found that The News was a wholesaler “within the normal

and customary definition of ‘wholesaler’ as one whose

business is the selling of goods in gross to retail dealers”

(1281a). As we showed above in our statement of facts,

counsel for The News conceded throughout that The News

sold copies of the newspapers in bulk to the franchise

dealers, who re-sold to the boys, with each boy in the

franchise system selling between 20 to 80 copies of The

Daily News and 45 to 50 Sunday editions to the ultimate

consumers (745a). The testimony of the Circulation

Director of The News, Underwood, its chief witness, com-

pletely confirmed that The News sold copies of the paper

to the franchise dealers who in turn re-sold to the boys,

who in turn sold to the ultimate consumer, with Under-

wood expressly denying that there were any occasions

when The News sells directly to the carrier boy or to the

ultimate consumer (see, supra, pp. 12-18).

Despite the uncontradicted admissions by counsel for

The News, and despite the testimony of its witnesses

as to the chain of title, the Second Cireuit determined

that The News was selling directly to the customers,

that The News did not sell to the franchise dealers, that

the franchise dealers did not sell to the boys, and that the

boys did not sell to the home delivered customers, all

flying in the face of the uncontradicted testimony of The

News and the statements of its counsel, and all without

any evidentiary support whatsoever.

This Court has not previously hesitated to review an

antitrust decision of a Cireuit Court to determine

whether it had properly discharged its appellate function

under Rule 52(a) under which the findings of the trial

Court are not be be set aside unless clearly erroneous

le. g., Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine, 395 U. 8. 100

(1969)}]. We submit that in the case at bar, such review

should be granted, for the decision below is in conflict

with decisions of this Court and of other Courts of Ap-

peal, as follows:

(a) Even if the evidence would have supported a con-

clusion either way as to whether the franchise deal-

ers are wholesalers and the news boys retailers,

a choice between two permissible views of the

weight of the evidence would not be clearly er-

roneous, and hence not reversible, 338 U, 8, 388

(1950), But the Court helow went even further,

and, as we show below at pages 26-29, made new

findings as to which there was no evidentiary sup-

port whatsoever, ignoring clear evidence in the ree.

ord contrary to what the Court below then found.

(b) The Court below failed to give the deference it

must give to the decision of the trial judge [Zenith,

(¢)

(d)

supra at 123), failing to give the plaintiffs “the ben-

efit of all favorable inferences from the facts proved

relative to the” issue [Stacher v. United States, 258

F. 2d 112, 116 (9th Cir. 1958)], though the Court

“must take that view of the evidence most favor-

able to” the appellees. Kansas City Stockyards Co,

of Maine v. Anderson, 119 F. 2d 91, 93 (8th Cir.

1952).

The defendants never contradicted, and never in-

troduced any evidence to contradict, the massive

evidence that franchise dealers were wholesalers

and the boys retailers. In the absence of such

evidence, it is elementary that the Court below

should have affirmed [Stewart v. Lansing, 104 U. 8.

505, 511-2 (1881)], especially when all -evidence

tended to confirm this massive evidence, even

though appellate counsel might have tried the case

differently. Metropolitan Broadcasting Corpora-

tion v. Lebowitz, 293 F. 2d 524, 527 (D.C. Cir.

1961). Cf. Shapleigh ». Mier, 299 U. S. 468, 475

(1936),

The Second Circuit improperly permitted the de-

fendants to prevail upon contentions they had

never raised in the District Court, in a matter as

to which there was absolutely no dispute at trial.

Moreover, its reversal was in conflict with the rule

of the Cirenit Court of Appeals for the District

of Columbia, which has ruled that reversal is im-

proper where, as here, an appellant not only failed

to seek a finding at trial, but failed to object to a

kev finding, such as here, that the franchise deal-

ers and news boys were respectively wholesalers

and retailers. Fleming v. Van Der Loo, 160 F.

24 906, 909.10 (D.C. Cir. 1947),

(e) Insofar as our research has been able to dis-

cover, for the first time a federal appellate Court

has reversed findings which were totally supported

by the admissions of appellants’ counsel and the

testimony of its witnesses, and worked a reversal

based upon an argument of appellants that their

testimony and their admissions should be disre-

garded, This cannot be done, for the admissions

were binding. Oscanyan v. Arms Co., 108 U. 8S.

261 (1880), “At all events, it does not lie

in the mouth of a defendant in equity to complain

that the court assumed his answer made under

oath to be true and decreed accordingly.” Cavender

v. Cavender, 114 U. 8. 464, 471 (1885). Yet the

Court below permitted the defendants to complain

that their uncontradicted testimony is not true.

Cf. Mercelis v, Wilson, 235 U. 8. 579, 588 (1950).

As nearly as we can ascertain, the Court below

apparently disregarded the admissions of defense

counsel on the theory that the significance of the

admissions had not been realized. But at the time

of trial, the case had been in the Courts for six

years, ample time for defense to have familiarized

itself with applicable law. Oscanyan, supra, held

admissions by counsel binding where he had two

days to prepare, could have requested an adjourn.

ment, and no new facts were set forth. More-

over, the trial court here noted that all counsel were

fully familiar with the implications of the antitrust

laws (297a), and defense counsel had repeatedly

conceded that except for the harassment issue,

there was no material dispute as to any of the

facts (f4a, 10388). A rule such as that sugested

by the Court below, that an honest admission by

counsel familiar with the law, or even unfamiliar

with the law, is to be disregarded, is totally novel

in our jurisprudential sys.em, and should as-

auredly be reviewed by this Court.

(f) Moreover, by a reversal based upon evidence not

contained in the record and totally contradictory

to the trial contentions of the parties who pre-

vailed on appeal, the Court below denied the plain-

tiffs due process of law, in that plaintiffs would

have and could have introduced the following ad-

ditional evidence at the trial, which had been con-

sidered at the time of trial wholly cumulative in

the light of the trial record: (I) An advertise-

ment by The News showing that the boys sold to

the consumers, photocopy of which, in reduced size,

is annexed hereto as Exhibit T; (TT) that franchise

dealers were wholesalers, in that they did sell, in

addition to the news boys, copies of The News to

motor route dealers; (ITT) that The News sold to

other vendors in such a manner as to make The

News a retailer under the rule of the opinion, mak-

ing the agreements between The News and the

franchise dealers (if they were retailers, as the

Court below ruled) agreements between retailers

and retailers, and the price-fixing agreements thus

illegal.

In any event, as we suggested in our petition for re-

hearing, if it were correct, as the Court below held, that

the selling function, including advertising, sampling and

solicitation of prospective home subscribers, was performed

almost entirely by The News and by the franchise dealers

rather than by the boys, then The News and the fran-

chise dealers were both retailers, and the price-fixing

agreements between them would not have been protected

by the McGuire Act, because they would have been agree-

ments between retailers. This point was not raised until

the petition for rehearing filed below, since even in the

Second Cireuit the defendants had not taken the position

that such selling functions were performed almost en-

tirely by The News and the franchise dealers.

To a certain extent, the decision below apparently

rested upon the tender age of the boys (App. B, infra,

p. 72a). This ignored that New York law recognizes

that boys of this age may engage in “selling and deliver-

ing newspapers * * * to customers at their homes or

places of business.” New York Education Law, $3228.

(Emphasis supplied.) The United States also recognizes

that boys may sell newspapers.’

In looking at what the Court below termed the substance

of the relationships, the Court made many findings of

fact de novo, contradicted by or inconsistent with the

record,

Firstly, the Second Cireuit found that the boys had

“no real risk and no chance of realizing independent

profits,” noting an absence of evidence that boys had sus-

tained losses on account of delinquent subscribers. But

two franchise dealers had testified, as we noted, supra,

pages 13-14, that, if a subseriber did not pay the boy, it was

the boy’s loss, under the system. This testimony was

never contradicted.

Secondly, when the Court recited that the selling function

was performed almost entirely by The News and the

franchise dealers, this was plainly untrue. See, supra,

pages 12-15, .

_ ™*The Bureau of Census Oceupational Classification System

in a recent revision of 52 of 441 occupational categories changed

‘newsboys’ to ‘newspaper carriers and vendors.’’’ American

Newspaper Publishers Aesociation Special Report: Handbook for

Maintaining the Independent Contractor Status of Newspaper Car-

mers (1974), page 5. (Emphasis supplied.)

Thirdly, the Court below relied upon the theory that

“The boy hardly has a proprietary interest in the sub

seribers or his route,” but this was untrue: If a boy “got

orders off of his route, then it would be put on the kid’s

route, whatever street the kid delivers on” (75la). De-

velopment of new orders thus enlarged the boy’s route.

Moreover, The News itself represented to potential news

boys that they would have their own route (Pl. Ex. 12,

191a-192a).

Fourthly, the Court below further based its finding

of a lack of retail standing of the boys partly upon the

alleged fact that “their profits remained limited to the

established rate per delivered paper” (App. B, infra,

p. 73a). But there never was such a rate. The profit

of the boys depended upon the spread between the price

at which they purchased from the franchise dealers and

sold to the consumers (1100a, 1101a; Pl. Ex. 84, 1366a;

915a-916a). The only reason for any limitation of profits

was that The News not only fixed the price at which the

franchise dealers sold to the boy, but also fixed the price

at which the boy sold to his customer (1140a), and never

allowed any requested increase in the boy’s profit (907a-

908a). Movreover, in any event, a large portion of the

boy's income came from tipping—not controlled by The

News (867a).

The Court below further completely ignored the con-

stant characterization by The News of what the boy earned

as being his profit, the difference between his retail rate

and the franchise dealers’ wholesale rate. We have al-

ready referred, supra, page 13, to the form approved by

The News and used by defendant Lepore so reporting,

and we note further that many other franchise men used

precisely the same language (859a-862a). The franchise

dealer’s profit—the difference between the wholesale rate

to him and his wholesale rate to the boy—was deducted

from The News’ subsidy to the franchise dealers (884a).

The boys were told that they had to buy papers (907a),

and the boy’s eventual compensation was referred to con-

stantly as his profit (908a). Though there were perhaps

eight or nine phone solicitors for The News (930a), there

were 5,000 boys operating as an automatic sales force

(1137a), with phone solicitation occurring only after the

boys had solicited (985a-6a).

The Court further noted that the franchise agreement

did not require the use of the carrier boys at all, which

was correct, but it failed to note that the entire franchise

system depended on the use of the boys. As we noted

above, supra, page 10, every route dealer who was in-

vited by The News to become a franchise dealer was

told in the letter of invitation that the system so re-

quired. Further, The News admitted that the franchise

system was a boy system (1228a); route dealers and other

prospective franchise dealers were told they had to use

boys in the franchise system, and The News’ counsel noted

that the purpose of the franchise system was to establish

a boy system. See, supra, pages 10-11.

Thus, for the first time in recent jurisprudential his-

tory, so far as our research has heen able to determine,

a Court of Appeals has found facts to exist directly

contra to all the uncontradicted and uncontested testimony

and concessions of the losing parties at the trial. Not

only was there a failure to make any determination that

the trial Court’s findings were clearly erroneous, but the

Court of Appeals recited “facts” which were directly

contrary to what the trial showed. We submit that under

these circumstances, there should be a review by this

Court to determine whether the Second Circuit properly

exercised its Rule 52(a) functions.

In yet another instance, the Court again ignored the

plain facts of the case. Thus, in finding the refusal

of The News to deal with plaintiffs not to be violative of

the anti-trust laws on the basis that plaintiff route dealers

were not terminated until they had first been offered an

opportunity to become franchise dealers, the Court below

wrote that “If they accepted [this opportunity to become

franchise dealers], it was anticipated that they would sell!

their independent routes to others, not they would deprive

competing papers of an outlet” (App. B, infra, p. 79a).

However, the Second Circuit to the contrary notwith-

standing, there was no such testimony as to such anticipa-

tion. On the contrary, as we noted in our statement

of facts, the plaintiffs were merely told that they would

have to give up other papers, or dispose of them, while the

two plaintiffs who stated that they wanted to sell their

routes were told by The News that there was no time to do

so (supra, p. 11).

Of course, the McGuire Act is no longer law. But we

submit that this should not be a consideration militating

against the grant of certiorari here, since the question we

bring for review is whether an appellate court has prop-

erly exercised its Rule 52(a) functions, the importance

of which question is not negatived in the least by the fact

that the legislation upon which it relied has since been

repealed.

Additionally, we note that the decision below is in con-

flict with that of the Ninth Cireuit in Blankenship v.

Hearst Corporation, 519 F. 2d 418 (9th Cir. 1975), which

treated carriers as bona fide purchasers and resellers.

The failure of the Court below to properly discharge

its appellate function is perhaps explainable by its hos-

tility to the majority opinion of this Court in Albrecht

v. Herald Co., 390 U. S. 145 (1968), which held maximum

price-fixing (as here) to be as restrictive of competition

as minimum price-fixing. For the Court below held that

limitations on maximum resale prices are less restrictive

of competition than minimum price restraints, citing the

dissenting opinion in Albrecht (App. B, imfra, p. 68a).

This ruling below is thus in a way in conflict with this

Court’s decision in Albrecht, and the conflict may have

been the (subconscious) motivating force in the Rule 52(a)

violation below.

POINT I.

This Court should grant review to determine whether

the Court below denied plaintiffs an opportunity for a

hearing on the question of whether the aggregate of

The News’ restraints on trade—price fixing, termina-

tion of route dealers, boycott, territorial and customer

restrictions, price and other discriminations, and fail-

ure to make available copies of The News in varying lo-

calities—amounted to an unreasonable restraint of

trade.

Since the trial Court found per se price fixing viola-

tions, and illegality in the customer and territorial re-

strictions of the franchise system, it never reached the

question of whether The News franchise system con-

stituted an unreasonable restraint of trade, as had been

argued at length in the post-trial brief filed with the trial

Court (pp. 49-77). The Second Circuit, by reversing the

findings of per se violations, without any remand for a

trial or a finding on the issue of whether there had been

any unreasonable restraint of trade, denied plaintiffs an

opportunity for a judicial determination of the question,

and they were thus deprived of a right to a hearing, and

of property, without due process of law in violation of

the Fifth Amendment. The attention of the Second Cir-

31

cuit was called to this in the plaintiffs’ petition for re-

hearing (pp. 1-2).

Had the Court below found that the institution of

the franchise system and termination of some plaintiffs

was not an unreasonable restraint—or if it so found sub

silentio—its decision would be in conflict with of the Ninth

Circuit in Noble v. McClatchy Newspapers, F. 2d

(9th Cir. 1975), 1975-2 Trade Cases 960,594. Elimination

of distributors pursuant to a program may be an un-

reasonable restraint of trade when, as here, there was an

effort to establish market dominance or extend a natural

monopoly of the manufacturer’s own product, or other re-

strictive trade practices. Industrial Bldg. Materials, Inc.,

v. Interchemical Corp., 437 F. 2d 1336, 1343, fn. 8 (9th

Cir. 1970). Cf. American Motor Ins, Inc., v. Holiday Inns,

Inc., 52 F. 2d 1230 (3rd Cir. 1975).

POINT II.

Since newspapers are unique rather than fungible.

items, and are protected by the First Amendment, price

fixing was illegal per se under the McGuire Act because

The News was not in free and open competition with

commodities of the same general class.

The trial Court found, and the Second Circuit affirmed,

that The News is in free and open competition with The

New York Times and other local newspapers in the

suburban area. However, we believe that this Court should

review this decision, especially since the decision below is

in a way in conflict with Mr. Justice Frankfurter’s con-

curring opinion in Associated Press v. United States, 326

U. S. 1, 27-28 (1945), where he ruled that newspapers

are not wares like peanuts or potatoes, and that therefore

“the incidence of restraints upon the promotion of truth

through denial of access to the basis for understanding

calls into play considerations very different from com-

parable restraints in a cooperative enterprise having

merely a commercial aspect. * * * The interest of the

public is to have the flow of news not trammelled by the

combined self-interest of those who enjoy a unique con-

stitution position precisely because of the publie de-

pendence on a free press.”

Serious questions are raised by the treatment below

of different newspapers as interchangeable commodities.

To the reader or subscriber, different newspapers are not

so fungible :—The Daily News sells for 15¢, The Times for

20¢, The Sunday News for 30¢, The Sunday Times for

60¢—and if these newspapers »re to be treated as pea-

nuts or potatoes, then it is plain that The New York Times

should have been driven out of business long, long ago.

Such great newspapers as The New York News and The

New York Times are simply not of the same general class,

nor are either of them in the same general class as local

newspapers. To lump them all together in one general

class is to do violence to the very diversity of newspapers

fostered by the First Amendment.

The contents of different newspapers ar® unique. Quite

apart from the vast differences in editorial policy between

The News and The Times, quite apart from The News’

attempting to simplify stories so as to make them more

understandable while The Times gives thorough back-

ground information, The News emphasizes photographs

(958a-959a). The News is a tabloid, unlike The Times

and The Wall Street Journal (959a-960a); The News has

columnists who do not appear elsewhere in the city press

(961a), and is the only morning newspaper (except the

33

local Staten Island Advance) with comic strips (960a-

961a).

The Times and The News may no more be considered

competing commodities of the same general class than

beer and Coca-Cola could be so considered, because both

are beverages and a person desiring to quench his thirst

must choose which to buy. Cf. Eastman Kodak v. Federal

Trade Commission, 158 F. 2d 592 (2nd Cir. 1946), cert.

den. 330 U. S. 828 (1947).

POINT IV.

This Court should grant review to determine a con-

flict in decisions of Courts of Appeals, and with this

Court, as to standing of plaintiffs to assert illegality of

the customer and territorial restrictions of The News’

franchise agreements. The plaintiffs here had the

requisite standing because they were injured by the re-

strictions.

In the last page of its opinion, the Court of Appeals

modified the trial court’s judgment by eliminating the

injunctive provisions against both the customer and ter-

ritorial restriction provisions of The News’ franchise

agreements. The Court firstly disposed of the territorial

restrictions on the theory that by virtue of the exclusive

territory provisions of the agreements, the independent

route dealers “are assured of facing competition from

no more than one franchise dealer, who is confined to a

certain area” (App. B, infra, p. 80a). In so ruling, the

Court flew in the face of the record, since, without record

support, it assumed a non-existent territorial congruity

between a franchise dealer and a route dealer, when in

fact, the testimony was that there were several franchise

dealers at the same time in most route dealer’s areas

34

(610a). Thus, plaintiff Markowitz had five to seven

franchise dealers in his area at the same time (11l4a);

plaintiff Rosenblum two-four (350a-35la); plaintiff Fox

two or three (327a, 33la); plaintiff Davis three (502a) ;

plaintiffs Cartabuke, Perrot, and Amato each had two

(575a-576a; 649a; 759a); while plaintiff Hand had several

(610a).

As to the customer restrictions of the franchise agree-

ments, which prohibited resale except to news boys, the

Court below, though apparently ruling that plaintiffs had

standing to attack this restriction (App. B, infra, p. 81a).

nonetheless eliminated the injunetive prohibition against

this restriction (App. B, infra, p. 88a) on the theory that,

whether this restriction standing alone would be illegal

was rendered academic because of the conspiracy be-

tween The News and franchise dealers to prevent the in-

dependent route dealers from obtaining copies of The

News for distribution. However, the question was by

no means rendered academic, since the customer restric-

tions still persist in the eases of plaintiff ronte dealers

who, though their complaints have now been dismissed

hecause they were not the vietims of such conspiracy, still

find nonetheless that they cannot purchase copies of The

News from franchise dealers. They might well be able to

purchase such copies at prices more favorable than at

which they presently buy, and indeed one franchise dealer,

Lepore, had suggested below that he would willingly set

up a distribution system under which he would sell copies

of The News to route dealers. By striking the provisions

of the injunction issued by the District Court which pro-

hibited customer restrictions, the Court below, though

stating that the point is academic, has actually legiti-

mized the customer restrictions, which are of course il-

legal under the antitrust laws.

35:

But perhaps more importantly, from this Court’s point

of view, the test for standing of the Second Circuit below,

essentially a restatement of its “target area” test (Calder-

one Enterprises Corp. v. United Artists Theatre Circuit,

454 F. 2d 1292, 1295, 1296 (2nd Cir. 1971), cert. den. 406

U. S. 930 (1972), is one which would seem to be in a way

in conflict with the decisions of this Court. This Court

has historically taken a broad view of standing under

the antitrust laws, and has never adopted or endorsed

any of the restrictive tests laid down by the lower Courts.

See Hawaii v. Standard Oil of California, 405 U. S. 251,

262, n. 14 (1972), where the Court lists several lower

court cases with no more than a general comment ac-

knowledging their restrictive approach. And in Mande-

- -'e Island Farms, Inc., v. American Crystal Sugar Co.,

334 U. S. 219, 236 (1948), the Court permitted a suit by

growers alleging monopolization by refiners of a local

sugar beet market and wrote:

“The statute does not confine its protection to

consumers, or to purchasers, or to competitors, or

to sellers * * * [but protects] all who are made

victims of the forbidden practices by whomever they

may be perpetuated.” (Emphasis added.)

This Court confirmed this position in Radovich v. Na-

tional Football League, 352 U. S. 445, 454 (1957), a suit

by a professional football player claiming a boycott by

teams, and supported its holding by pointing to Con-

gressional support for private antitrust enforcement which

it found in the prima facie weight accorded by Congress,

in Section 5 of the Clayton Act, 15 U. S. C. §16, to final

judgments in a Government suit when used by private

litigants. The Court concluded:

“In the face of such a policy this Court should

not add requirements to burden the private litigant

beyond what is specifically set forth by Congress

in [the antitrust] laws.”

Moreover, the “target area” test of the Court below

is in conflict with the test of the Ninth Circuit. Thus,

in In re Multidistrict Vehicle Air Pollution M. D. L. No. 31,

481 F. 2d 122, 128 (9th Cir. 1973), cert. den. 414 U. S.

1045 (1973), the Ninth Cireuit formulated its test as

follows, at 128:

“To attain standing, a plaintiff must thus allege

that the antitrust violation injured a commercial

enterprise of the plaintiff in the area of the economy

in which the elimination of competition occurred.

Standing is denied, on the other hand, if the claim-

ant’s commercial activity occurred outside that area

of the economy.”

It needs no argument to demonstrate that plaintiffs here

are well within the Ninth Cireuit test.

The illegality of the customer and territorial restric-

tions are clear from the decision of this Court in United

States v. Arnold, Schwinn d& Co., 388 U. S. 365, 378 (1967),

since under the franchise agreements, the manufacturer

parted with dominion over his product, and transferred

risk of loss to another (the franchise dealer), and there-

fore could not reserve control over its destiny or the

conditions of resale (id. at 379) (1294a). The franchise

dealers had no right to return any copies of The News,

so that title had been parted with; The News transferred

risk or loss, for the risk of selling or not was wholly that

of the franchise dealer. The News parted with dominion,

for it was up to the franchise dealer to select and super-

vise the boys to whom he would in turn re-sell. Yet

The News did reserve control over the destiny of copies

of the papers, since under the franchise agreement they

could only be resold to news boy carriers, and by news

boy carriers to ultimate consumers, at prices stipulated

by The News. Such horizontal arrangements for cus-

tomer and territorial restraints are per se violations of

the antitrust laws. United States v. Topco Associates,

Inc., 405 U. S. 596 (1972).

The decision below, permitting the franchise system

and its restraints to operate to the disadvantage of in-

dependent route dealers, is squarely in conflict with the

recent decision of the Ninth Circuit in Noble v. McClatchy

Newspapers, supra, page 31, where the Ninth Circuit

ruled, 1975-2 Trade Cases at page 67,634:

“Because of such advantages to manufacturers, in-

dependent distributors continue to survive, and

bring to the public the benefits of added competi-

tion in the distribution of goods and services. These

benefits would be lost if manufacturers could ob-

tain the private economic benefits of a system of

distribution through independent businessmen, and

at the same time restrict the freedom of such inde-

pendent businessmen to compete. It was to prevent

the wholesale destruction of this opportunity for

competition that Schwinn forbade manufacturers to

control the disposition of products after sale. “To

permit this would sanction franchising and con-

finement of distribution as the ordinary instead of

the unusua! method which may be permissible in

an appropriate and impelling competitive setting,

since most merchandise is distributed by means of

purchase and sale.’ 388 U.S. at 379.”

And the effect of the decision below is to sanction fran-

chising and confinement of distribution as the ordinary

method; thus, the decision below was still in another

way in conflict with this Court’s decision in Schwinn.

In any event, the territorial limitations should have

fallen under the standard of reasonableness, because of the

anti-competitive effects of the franchise system, including

38

the territorial limitations, which we documented, supra,

at pages 15-18. When a route dealer went out of busi-

ness, not only were copies of The News not delivered in

that area for considerable time, but there was a lack of

home delivery of all other newspapers—which still con

tinues in some areas. Had there been no territorial re-

strictions of the franchise dealers, the franchise dealer

from one area might have serviced at least other areas

with copies of The News, and might have sold copies of

The News to terminated route dealers outside his area.

Moreover, as the trial Court had noted, the exclusivity

of the territory insured that “* * * each dealer would con-

centrate on taking business away from The News’ competi-

tors rather than from his fellow franchise dealers” (1293a,

n. 45).

Indeed, franchise dealers had sold copies of The News

to terminated route dealers, until this violation of the

franchise agreement was stopped by The News (e. g.,

540a-544a).

The territorial and customer restrictions are clearly

illegal; plaintiffs have been injured by them; they should

not be allowed to stand.

POINT V.

This Court should finally determine an important is-

sue: whether intent to monopolize is a prerequisite for a

conspiracy to monopolize under Section 2 of the Sher-

man Act. In any event, the findings of the Courts be-

low that such intent was not shown here were clearly

erroneous, and should be reversed.

The Court below ruled that it was necessary to demon-

strate an intent to monopolize the designated segment of

commerce here—intrabrand competition in the home de-

livery market—before sustaining a Sherman Act Section

2 conspiracy. The Court below thus, for the first time,

imported the requirement of intent—previously required

only in attempt, not conspiracy, cases—into conspiracy

cases, and reversed the trial Court’s finding of such a con-

spiracy. We believe that this novel and substantial doc-

trine of law— inconsistent with this Court’s dictum in Nash

v. United States, 229 U. S. 373, 378 (1913)—should be re-

viewed by this Court. See also, App. A, infra, pages 46a-

48a.

The trial Count had found that there was no such

specific intent to monopolize, but that its absence was ir-

relevant ;* the Court of Appeals found the absence of in-

tent fatal, and reversed the Section 2 conspiracy finding,

while affirming the finding of the absence of intent. Both

Courts below thus made clearly erroneous findings, for

the evidence of intent to monopolize, much of which was

ignored by both Courts in their opinions, was overwhelm-

ing.

The Court of Appeals apparently attempted to justify

The News’ adoption of the franchise system on the theory

that it had not been doing well in circulation on Long

Island (Nassau and Suffolk Counties) despite initiation

of specialized suburban zone sections—but this finding not

only was not supported by any evidence, but also contra-

dicted the record which showed that the Long Island

Edition of The News first appeared when the franchise

‘The trial Court did not clearly find that there was an ab-

sence of intent, but only that this was not the primary intent. Said

the Court, App. A, infra, at page 46a:

‘*In any event, plaintiffs have failed to prove that The

News had the requisite specific intent to monopolize. Not-

withstanding the predatory nature of many of its acts, I am

convineed that its primary concern was not the elimination

of its competitors.’’ (Emphasis supplied.)

system became operational on or about January 10, 1966

(255a-256a). Moreover, as we showed above (p. 8),

The News did practically nothing to develop home delivery

there prior to 1963, first had a home delivery circulation

department in 1964, and prior to the adoption of the fran-

chise system only engaged in occasional samplings and

telephone solicitation, not even paying route dealers as

promised.

There can be no explanation of The News’ adoption

of the franchise program except an intent to monopolize.

Absent such intent, why did The News embark upon the

program without cost studies? Absent such intent, why

did it choose to gain expanded sales through what its

later cost studies showed to be the more expensive fran-

chise system, instead of giving the less expensive route

dealer system a chance? Why, indeed, did it choose to

expand sales when such expanded sales would have created

net losses of ever-increasing hundreds of thousands of

dollars? Why had The News not had a long Island Edition

prior to the franchise program, and why had it neglected

home delivery?

Again, if The News had no predatory motive, why did it

refuse permission to route dealers to sell their routes

if they were to become franchise dealers? Why did it

stop supplying route dealers who were selling copies of

The News, and thus making money for The News, especially

in areas not yet covered by franchise dealers?

Thus, the inescapable conelusion is that The News

acted completely “insanely” (to use the words of its

parent company’s circulation manager at 994a-995a), or

else with predatory motive. The latter is obviously the

reason. There could only have been one motive, for

. there is no other explanation of why The News felt

41

compelled to lose several million dollars; that by de-

stroying or severely injuring the independent route

dealer system, a system of home delivery available to

present publishers and to any new publisher without any

cost whatsoever, The News could not only foreclose the

possibility of a new publisher of a morning paper appear-

ing, who would have to invest in setting up his own home

delivery system, but could restrict home delivery of its

“competitiors,” as happened here (supra, pp.15-18).

This kind of a motive, predatory though it is, is not

novel. Thus, in an article “Antitrust Problems in The

Newspaper Industry,” 82 Harvard Law Review 319, 326

(1968), the following appears:

“Newspapers naturally prefer to have distribu-

tors whose zeal in obtaining subscriptions they

ean depend on. On the other hand, in a market

with two or more newspapers, having separate

distributors for each is highly inefficient. More

important for purposes of antitrust law, exclusive

distributorships seriously impede new entry, since

they require each new paper to build its own

system. In addition to requiring additional capital

and personnel, the creation of a new distribution

system may take more time than a new entrant

ean easily afford. Indeed, the most likely explana-

tion why newspapers have overlooked the use of

multipaper carriers in the past is a desire to block

new entry.”

But be that as it may, the net effect upon competition

has been horrendous. Defendant’s Exhibit F (1405a) shows

the number of carriers, including franchise dealers and

independents, while Defendant’s Exhibit I (141la) shows

merely the number of franchise dealers. In 1965, accord-

ing to Defendant’s Exhibit F there were 125 carriers, all of

whom, of course, would have been independent route

dealers. In 1972, the total number of carriers, accord-

42

ing to Defendant’s Exhibit F, went to 133, of which, ac-

cording to Defendant’s Exhibit I, 97 were franchise deal-

ers, meaning that there were 36 independent route dealers

in Nassau left ont of the 125 route dealers existing in

1965. Of the 34 route dealers in Suffolk County exist-

ing in 1965 (Defendant’s Exhibit F) there were only

two left in 1972, since Defendant’s Exhibit I shows that

there were 50 franchise dealers in Suffolk County in

1972 as against a total of 52 carriers shown in Defend-

ant’s Exhibit F for 1972.

The intent to monopolize seems clear,’ and it is clear

also that price-fixing was a part of that conspiracy

as well. This Court should grant review, determine whether

intent must be proved, and, if it should rule that intent

must be proved, reverse the findings below as clearly

erroneous.

*The Court below found that The News did extensive sam-

pling under the franchise system (App. B, infra, p. 73a). There

is no record support for this finding, and it is contra to the record

(supra, p. 15). But the decision below is in conflict with Morn-

ing Pioneer, Inc., v. Bismarck Tribune Company, 493 F. 2d 383

(8th Cir. 1974), which held an intent to monopolize was suf-

ficiently shown by distribution of thousands of free newspapers.

Here, in any event, The News did provide hundreds of thousands

of sample free papers for the 5,000 news boys to give away, and

thus, despite the erroneous finding that The News did the sam-

pling, such sampling was enough to establish intent under the

Eighth Cireuit rule.

43

POINT VI.

This Court should grant review of the denial of plain-

tiffs’ Robinson-Patman claims involving price and other

discriminations, to determine whether, when the com-

ponents of the article in question have passed through

interstate commerce, discrimination is permissible sim-

ply because the finished article itself (the newspaper)

is not the subject of price discrimination in actual in-

terstate sales.

Both the trial Court and the appellate Court rejected

our argument that price and time of delivery discrimina-

tion—-prices of The News to its franchise dealers, and

the delivery times, both being much more favorable than

to the route dealers—were violative of Robinson-Pat-

man, because we did not show that the transactions gen-

erated discriminations across state lines. The Court be-

low relied upon this Court’s decision in Gulf Oi Corp.

v. Copp Paving Co., 419 U. S. 186, 200 (1974). As we

read that case, however, it leaves open the question of

whether there may be price discrimination, even in purely

intrastate sales, when the component parts of the mer-

chandise being sold had themselves passed through inter-

state commerce. Here it was stipulated (Court’s Exhibit

1), that the news which The News received, the news-

print and ink used, the articles it featured, ete., were all

part of interstate commerce. There need be no extended

diseussion here, since certainly this Court knows its mind

better than the undersigned could ever divine it.

We do pause to note, however, that only subsection (a)

of 15 U. S. C. 13 contains the requirement that the pur-

chases be “in commerce,” while the price discrimination—

partly in the form of lower prices to the franchise, partly

in the form of subsidization to them—and discrimina-

4

tion in time of delivery would seem to be prohibited

under subsections (d), (e) and (f), which do not contain

any requirement that the purchase be “in commerce.”

We also note that the franchise system was expanded

in 1967 to other counties in New York City, and in New

Jersey (968a-969a).

CONCLUSION.

This Court should grant review of the decision below.

Respectfully submitted,

HERBERT MONTE LEVY,

Attorney for Petitioners.

ee _

45

LET iS FEET BG

THE WALKING FOR YOU.

Whose feet are they? They belong to the youn man who delivered your fee copy of

The News this morning.

These fast-moving feet can save you ncedless steps—and precious tire—ev_ry morning

by trotting The News up to your front door in time for breakfast.

Weekly home delivery rates are low ... only 90c for service seven dys a week, 60c fur

delivery Monday through Saturday, and 30c for the Sunday News.* Your own steps and time

ere worth much more then that.

Later this week your newspaper boy will step up and ask you for your order... don't be

surprised if he does a little dance when you say “yes.”

Or you cen place your order far early morning home delivery now, by calling one of the

numbers listed below.

New Jersey: 798-9407 Suffolk: $43.41 4!

The Bronx & $teten Island: 458-9556 Ve THE NEWS

Nessau: 433-1220 Brooklyn & Queens: 458-0320 Mev TONEY UAE WEBER

* There it © wall service cherge in motor rote areas of Lang lila i New York N ; 1 Best S D

~.

APPENDIX.

la

APPENDIX A.

1256a

Opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SoutHern District or New York

67 Civ. 1030

Cuartes W. Bowen, Jr., et al.,

Plaintiffs,

v.

Tue News, et al.,

Defendants.

APPEARANCESB:

Hersert Monte Levy, Esq.,

Attorney for Plaintiffs

Nicuo.as L. Coc, Esq.,

Attorney for Defendants Michael Lepore and Victore

Lepore

Town ey, Upprxe, Carter & Ropcrers, Esqs.,

Attorneys for other Defendants (Andrew L. Hughes,

Esq., Ronald S. Daniels, Esq., John M. Callagy, Esq.,

of counsel)

Bauman, D.J.

This is an action by thirty independent home delivery

dealers’ of The Daily News and the Sunday News against

New York News, Inc (“The News”), the publisher of those

newspapers, and various of its employees and franchise

dealers for treble damages and injunctive relief under

Sections 4 and 16 of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. §4 15, 26.

1 Plaintiff Robert C. Harding withdrew from this action on

May 22, 1972 (Tr. 1916-17).

2a

1257a

Ovini

The request for relief is based upon alleged violations of

Sections 1 and 2 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. §$1, 2;

Section 3 of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. § 14; and Sections

2(a), 2(c), 2(d), 2(e) and 2(f) of the Clayton Act, as

amended by the Robinson-Patman Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 13(a),

(c), (d), (e) and (f). At issue is the effort of The News

to change its home delivery system from one employing

independent route dealers to one utilizing carrier boys

operating in conjunction with “franchised dealers.” ?

I,

In order to understand the exact nature of the alleged

antitrust violations set forth in the complaint, it is neces-

sary to describe in some detail the parties to this action

and their relationships with each other.

The News is a New York corporation engaged in the

business of publishing and distributing the “Daily News”

and “Sunday News”, newspapers published in New York

City and generally distributed in the New York metro-

politan area and, to a lesser extent, in the United States

* The changeover was part of an effort by The News to obtain

greater control over the resale price and method of distribution

of its paper.

The route dealers purchased newspapers from The News (at

wholesale prices) and delivered them to their customers by use of

automobile. However, since the routedealers also distributed com-

peting newspapers, The News was not in a position to dictate the

home delivered price of its newspaper.

For reasons which will appear later in the opinion, The News

felt that this limitation seriously impaired its ability to compete

in the home delivery market. It decided therefore to institute its

own home delivery system and structured it around independent

contractors which it designated “franchise dealers”. These fran-

chise dealers agreed to deal only in The News and to purchase

quantities of The News in bulk for resale to carrier boys at prices

fixed by The News. The carrier boys, in turn, resold to the public

“at no more than the regulerly assigned home delivered price.”

3a

1258a

Opinion

and foreign countries. At the time of this lawsuit, its

circulation was approximately 2,000,000 papers daily and

3,000,000 on Sunday, the largest of any newspaper in the

United States.

The News concedes, as well it might, that it is engaged

in interstate commerce within the meaning of the Sherman

and Clayton Acts. It is undisputed that it carries local,

state, national and international news, including sports,

nationally known columnists, comics and other syndicated

features. Its enormous advertising content includes the

messages of industrial giants from every corner of the

United States.

The remaining defendants are either present or former

News employees or present or former franchise dealers.’

The plaintiffs are, or were, independent route dealers

dealing in a number of newspapers, periodicals and

2 Aside from The News itself, the first eight named individual

defendants in the amended caption (Ct. Ex. 2) are present or

former News employees.

Jack Underwood was Circulation Manager of The News from

October, 1964 to June, 1970, and is presently Director of Circula-

tion.

Robert O'Sullivan was Home Delivery Area Supervisor for The

News from March, 1968 to July, 1969, and is presently the Manager

of The News’ Brooklyn plant.

Anthony Catanzaro was Assistant Suburban Area Sales Manager

from February, 1966 to November, 1966, and is presently Assistant

Circulation Sales Manager for Home Delivery.

David Auerbach has been a Cireulation Sales Representative

since October, 1962.

Donald A. Nizen was Suburban Area Sales Manager from May,

1964 to May. 1967, and is no longer employed by The News.

Gabriel Lewander was Circulation Sales Manager from January,

1970 to December. 1970, and is no longer employed by The News.

F. M. Flynn was President of The News from May, 1947 to May,

1970, and is currently Chairman of the Board of the Corporation

and Publisher of The News.

W. H. James was Executive Vice President of The News from

April, 1965 to May, 1970, and is currently its President.

The remaining defendants are or have been franchise dealers.

4a

1259a

Opinion

special interest publications. In general, they purchase

these items from wholesalers and resell them to home

delivery subscribers in defined territories.‘ Because each

confines his activities to his own territory, the routes have

become more or less valuable and salable.

Prior to 1965, The News was home delivered exclusively

by such route dealers. However, owing to circumstances to

be related, The News became dissatisfied with its growth of

home delivery circulation and decided to test a new distri-

bution system in certain areas of the suburban metro-

politan area, principally in Nassau and Suffolk Counties,

using carrier boys who would buy their papers from

franchised dealers. At the same time, it continued to deal

with many of the route dealers in the time honored way.

For this reason, the plaintiffs in this action fall into four

separate categories.

(1) Route dealers to whom The News terminated sales .

on or after Jnuary 10, 1966;°

(2) Route dealers who continue to receive copies of The

News and who operate in areas in which the franchise

system has not been instituted ;*

* This exclusivity had its genesis in horizontal arrangements of

doubtful legality prepared in the “Danby office.” This office, which

represented all the major newspapers published in New York City,

was authorized to award exclusive territories for the home delivery

of all member newspapers; and most of the plaintiffs purchased

their routes with its written approval. Since the demise of the

“Danby office”, the route dealers have continued to respect these

boundaries.

* Plaintiffs Bowen, Cartabuke, Ditta & Failla, Davis, Goldberg,

Gullo, Markowitz, Mirro, Poserow, Rosenblum, Schulz, Sweeney,

Kahrs, Floral Park News Delivery Inc. (Gold), Amato, and Perrot.

* Plaintiffs Freilich, Marston, Rosenblatt, Theall, Salant, Silver-

stein, Cestaro, and Ellis. Plaintiffs Ellis, Marston, and Silverstein

5a

1260a

Opinion

(3) Route dealers who continue to receive copies of The

News and who operate in areas in which the franchise

system has been instituted ;’

(4) One route dealer who acquired his route from a

terminated route dealer and who never sought to purchase

from The News.°

The application of the legal theories advanced by the

plaintiffs vary with respect to each of these categories and

this difference will be noted as each of the theories is

discussed.

Il.

In the early 1960’s, The News’ circulation in New York

City began to decline largely because of the fall off in

sales of its evening edition which eventuated from the

increasing popularity of television and the decreasing

number of retail outlets remaining open in the evening. At

the same time, the suburban explosion was creating a

burgeoning market for newspaper sales which coincided

with a similar shift of commercial enterprises from the

city to the suburbs and their evolution as prime advertis-

ing markets. Since the bulk of The News’ revenues comes

from advertising, its appetite for its share was, quite

naturally, whetted.

To this end, it attempted to compete with regional and

local newspapers for circulation and advertising by publish-

have sold their routes, but received copies of The News during the

entire time they operated them.

7 Plaintiffs Huntington News Delivery, Inc. (Hand), Shank,

Foz, Greenberg, and Holman. Plaintiff Fox has sold his route,

but received copies of The News during the entire time he oper-

ated it.

* Plaintiff Rathsam.

6a

1261a

Opinion

ing a number of suburban or zone sections, each of which

was and is distributed as part of The News in a specific

geographic area. These suburban sectjons, which carry area

news, also carry local advertising at lower rates than are

charged for the full run of the paper.

However, under the route dealer system, The News’

campaign was something less than successful. While the

population of Nassau and Suffolk Counties rose by approx-

imately 350,000 between 1960 and 1966 (Defendants’ Ex-

hibit T), The News’ home delivered circulation in that area

increased by only 2,383 copies (Defendants’ Exhibit F), At

the same time, Newsday’s home delivered circulation in-

creased dramatically as did that of the Long Island Press.

The News decided that its failure resulted from the

disinterest of route dealers and hired Jack Underwood to

develop a new distribution system.

In 1965 he instituted a pilot franchise dealer program in.

an area of Nassau County not then being serviced by a

route dealer. This was so successful that it became the

model for The News’ new distribution system which was

then expanded into certain parts of New York City and

almost throughout Long Island. The franchise dealers who

participated in the program were signed to contracts, the

relevant provisions of which are:

(1) that The News agrees to assign an exclusive terri-

tory to the dealer;

(2) that the dealer agrees to purchase all newspapers

required by home delivery customers at prices fixed by

The News and supervise the delivery of them “at no more

than the regularly assigned home delivery price”;

(3) that the dealer agrees not to sell or distribute copies

of any other newspaper, or any advertising material not

authorized by The News;

7a

1262a

Opinion

(4) that the dealer agrees not to charge any carrier boy

engaged in making deliveries and collections more than

the price established therefor by The News;

(5) that the dealer does not have the right to return

unsold copies of The News;

(6) that The News may terminate the agreement with-

out advance notice if the dealer breaches any of its pro-

visions; but that the dealer must give sixty days’ notice

in writing; and

(7) that the dealer “is and shall remain an independent

contractor and not an employee or agent of The News.”

In late 1965 and early 1966, a number of the plaintiffs

were contacted by letter or telephone and offered the oppor-

tunity to become franchise dealers.’ Those who responded

*E.g. Bowen, Jaycox, Ditta & Failla, Gold, Fox, Goldberg,

Gullo, Kahrs, Markowitz, Perrot, Rosenblum, Sweeney, Poserow,

Schulz.

The letter read:

“The News plans to expand its Franchise Home Delivery opera-

tion in certain areas of New York City and Long Island. It has

been proven that this type of Home Delivery is productive and

beneficial to the publisher and that it insures a steady, healthy

growth in circulation.

In order to accomplish this task, The News is seeking the ser-

vices of qualified men to supervise the boy delivered franchise

districts. If you are interested in joining the team as a full time

exclusive News Franchise Manager, please telephone Mr. D.A.

Nizen MU 2-1234 ex. 8046 of the News Suburban Circulation Sales

Department.

An appointment for an interview will be arranged at the earliest

possible convenience. Please respond promptly since our selections

of Franchise Managers will be made within the next few weeks.

Sincerely,

Gabriel Lewander”

(Plaintiffs’ Exhibits 23 [letter to Schulz]; 30 [letter to Fox];

37 [letter to Goldberg]; 47 [letter to Poserow]; 75 [letter to

Shank} ).

8a

1263a

Opinion

were told that if they did not agree to adhere to all of the

provisions of the franchise agreement their supplies of

The News would be cut off. None of them was willing to

bow to its restrictive terms and, within time, each was

notified by letter or otherwise that The News would no

longer deal with him.”® In all, sixteen plaintiffs were cut

off.”

© The letters read:

“The News has decided to institute an independent franchise

home delivery system in the area in which you now serve. The

franchised home delivery carrier will handle the Daily and Sunday

News on an exclusive basis.

Therefore, we must advise you that effective on

sales to you of the Daily and Sunday News will be discontinued

Davis

to Amato] ).

* The following plaintiffs were cut off on the dates set forth

below :

Plaintiff

Ditta & Failla

Markowitz

Perrot

Sweeney

Schulz

Bowen

Kahrs

Mirro

Goldberg

Poserow

Davis

Gullo

Rosenblum

Cartabuke

Gold

Amato

56 [letter to Ditta

Very truly yours,

News Synopicate Co., Ino.

By

Gabriel Lewander”

(Plaintiffs’ Exhibits 6 [letter to Markowitz] ; 25 [1

27 [letter to Kahrs} ; 35 [letter to Rosenblum] ;

berg] ; 40 [letter to Ditte} ; 48 [letter to Poserow] ; 54 [letter to -

; ; 59 [letter to Cartabuke]; 60 [1

to Geld). 63 [letter to Mirro]; 65 [letter to —_ were

Date of Termination

January 10, 1966

January 10, 1966

January 10, 1966

January 10, 1966

February 14, 1966

February 28, 1966

May 9, 1966

May 9, 1966

June 13, 1966

July 4, 1966

July 24, 1966

July 24, 1966

October 31, 1966

December 5, 1966

May 12, 1968

July 26, 1971

Date of Notice

December 25, 1965

December 27, 1965

December 25, 1965

None

January 31, 1966

February 16, 1966

April 22, 1966

April 22, 1966

June 1, 1966

June 20, 1966

July 11, 1966

None

October 17, 1966

November 25, 1966

April 26, 1968

July 7, 1971

etter to Schulz] ;

[letter to Gold-

; 74 [letter

9a

1264a

Opinion

In the meantime, The News continued to recruit fran-

chise dealers who were subsidized to help them through

the early organizational phase of their operation and were

charged less for The News than the route dealers who had

not been terminated.

The climinated route dealers attempted to buy copies of

the paper from local newsdealers, but, with rare exception,

found no one in Nassau or Suffolk willing to cooperate

with them. As a result, they were forced to travel great

distances and pay close to cover price to obtain its early

editions. However, when franchise dealers complained that

they were still facing competition from the “cut off” route

dealers, defendants O’Sullivan and Cantanzaro directed

them to ascertain the sources of the route dealers’ supplies

and promised that they would be eliminated. This pre-

cipitated a relentless campaign by the franchise dealers

to learn the route dealers’ sources of supply in which News

employees enlisted and, as a result of which, the route

dealers were under constant surveillance by franchise deal-

ers, employees of The News and off-duty policemen re-

eruited for this purpose. In some instances, the policing

activities of the defendants turned into sheer harassment.

Thus, when plaintiff Markowitz was observed removing

papers from a drug store, The News had him arrested de-

spite the fact that he claimed he had a written contract

with the owner, one Max Seltzer, which authorized him to

do so. When Seltzer was asked by defendant Auerbach

to prosecute Markowitz, he confirmed Markowitz’ story.

He was told that if he did not agree to press charges The

News would no longer supply him with papers. Seltzer

refused and was cut off the next day.

10a

1265a

Opinion

III.

Plaintiffs contend that (1) The News’ franchise agree-

ment is an illegal price fixing agreement and that sales

to them were discontinued in furtherance thereof; (2) the

defendants have combined, in violation of Section 1 of the

Sherman Act, to exclude them from access to copies of

The News; (3) the franchise agreement contains illegal

territorial and customer restrictions; (4) The News has

attempted to monopolize the newspaper home delivery

market; (5) the defendants have conspired to monopolize

a part of the newspaper home delivery market; (6) the

exclusive dealing provision of the franchise agreement

violates Section 3 of the Clayton Act; and (7) The News

violated the Robinson-Patman Act by discriminating in

prices hetween ditferent purchasers of The News.

IV.

THe News’ Reta Price Marntexance AGREEMENTS ARE

Nor Exemprep From tue Antitrust Laws By

THE Fam Trape Acts.

The News relies heavily in its defense on 92 of the

McGuire Act, 15 U.S.C. §45(a)(2)"? and the New York

Feld-Crawford Act, N.Y. Gen. Bus. L. § 369-a et seq." It

contends that these provisions permit it to fix the maximum

resale price of its papers without violating the antitrust

laws. Plaintiffs, on the other hand, vigorously oppose this

reading of these two statutes and have advanced four rea-

sons for the proposition that they do not exempt the de-

fendants’ conduct from §1 of the Sherman Act.

In order properly to evaluate these competing positions,

some preliminary, perhaps elementary, observations are

necessary. The Sherman Act, as originally drawn, forbade

18 See footnote 16 infra.

** See footnote 29 infra.

lla

1266a

Opinion

resale price muintenance contracts whether horizontal or

vertical, see e.g., United States v. Bausch & Lomb Co., 321

U.S. 707 (1943); United States v. Trenton Potteries Co.,

273 U.S. 392 (1927); United States v. Socony-Vacuum Co.,

310 U.S. 150 (1940); Kiefer-Stewart Co. v. Joseph E.

Seagram & Sons, Inc., 340 U.S. 211 (1951); Dr. Miles

Medical Co. v. John D. Park & Sons Co., 220 U.S. 373

(1911).

The Miller-Tydings Act,’* passed in 1937, amended the

Sherman Act to permit such contracts where they were

legal under state law, provided that they were not contracts

“ — . between manufacturers, or between wholesalers, or

.. . between persons, firms or corporations in competition

with each other.” In 1951 the Supreme Court held that it

did not apply to price-fixing agreements made binding by

state law on “non-signers” of such agreements. Schweg-

14 The Miller-Tydings resale price maintenance act, 50 Stat. 693

(1937), 15 U.S.C. § 1, was enacted as an amendment to Section 1

of the Sherman Act and Section 5 of the Federal Trade Commis-

sion Act. Taking the form of a proviso in Section 1 of the Sherman

Act it states:

“Provided, that nothing herein contained shall render illegal,

contracts or agreements prescribing minimum prices for the resale

of a commodity which bears . . . the trade mark, brand, or name

of the producer or distributor of such commodity and which is

in free and open competition with commodities of the same general

class produced or distributed by others, when contracts of agree-

ments of that description are lawful as applied to intrastate trans-

actions, under any statute, law or public policy now or hereafter

in effect in any State, Territory or the District of Columbia in

which such resale is to be made, or to which the commodity is to

be transported for such resale, and the making of such contracts

or agreements shall not be an unfair method of competition under

section 35, as amended and supplemented, of the Act entitled “An

Act to create a Federal Trade Commission, .. .

Provided further, that the preeeding proviso shall not make

lawful any contract or agreement, providing for the establishment

or maintenance of minimum resale prices on any commodity herein

involved, between manufacturers, or between producers, or between

wholesalers. or between brokers or between factors, or between

retailers or between persons, firms or corporations in competition

with each other... .”

mann Bros. v. Calvert Distillers Corp., 351 U.S. 384

(1951)."*

Responding to that decision, Congress passed the Mc-

Guire Act Amendment to Section 5(a) of the Federal Trade

Commission Act.’* The McGuire Act not only reaffirmed

* Prior to Schwegmann many statutes permitted a trademark

owner to require retailers who had notice of such agreements to

observe resale price maintenance. In that case, the Court examined

the Miller-Tydings Act and concluded that Congress had intended

the words “contracts or agreements” to be used “in their normal

and customary meaning”, and to cover only agreements whereby

the retailer voluntarily agreed to be bound by the resale price

restrictions. It held that state resale price laws could not be ap-

plied to non-signers—“recalcitrants .. . d d in by the heels

and compelled to submit to price fixing.” 341 U.S. at 390.

°66 Stat. 631, 15 U.S.C. §45 (1952). The Act provides in

relevant part:

“Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representati f

the United States of America in Congress pole we That it ‘s

the purpose of this Act to protect the rights of States under the

United States Constitution to regulate their internal affairs and

more particularly to enact statutes and laws, and to adopt policies, -

which authorize contracts and agreements prescribing mini

or stipulated prices for the resale of aueudiies and to extend

the minimum or stipulated prices prescribed by such contracts and

agreements to persons who are not parties thereto. It is the further

purpose of this Act to permit such statutes, laws, and public

policies to apply to commodities, contracts, agreements, and ac-

tivities in or affecting interstate or foreign commerce.

‘See. 2. Section 5(a) of the Federal Trade Commissi

amended, is hereby amended to read as 6 Al mmission Act, as

‘See. 5(a)(1) Unfair methods of competition in commerce, and

unfair or deceptive acts or practices in

clared unlawful. , commerce, are hereby de-

‘(2) Nothing contained in this Act or in any of the Anti

Acts shall render unlawful any contracts or egseemante Romine

minimum or stipulated prices, or requiring a vendee to enter into

contracts or agreements prescribing minimum or stipulated prices

for the resale of a commodity which bears, or the label or con-

tainer of which bears, the trade-mark, brand, or name of the pro-

ducer or distributor of such commodity and which is in free and

open competition with commodities of the same general class

produced or distributed by others, when contracts or agreements

13a

1268a

Opinion

the policy of the Miller-Tydings Amendment," but also

eliminated the restrictive effect of the Supreme Court’s

of that description are lawful as applied to intrastate transactions

under any statute, law or public policy now or hereafter in effect

in any State, Territory, or the District of Columbia in which such

resale is to be made, or to which the commodity is to be transported

for such resale.

‘(3) Nothing contained in this Act or in any of the Antitrust

Acts shall render unlawful the exercise or the enforcement of any

right or right of action created by statute, law, or public policy

now or hereafter in effect in any State, Territory, or the District

of Columbia, which in substance provides that willfully and know-

ingly advertising, offering for sale, or selling any commodity at

less than the price or prices prescribed in such contracts or agree-

ments, whether the person so advertising, offering for sale, or sell-

ing is or is not a party to such a contract or agreement, is unfair

competition and is actionable at the suit of any person damaged

thereby.

‘(4) Neither the making of contracts or agreements prescribed

in paragraph (2) of this subsection, nor the exercise or enforce-

ment of any right or right of action as described in paragraph (3)

of this subsection shall constitute an unlawful burden or restraint

upon, or interference with, commerce.

‘(5) Nothing contained in paragraph (2) of this subsection

shall make lawful contracts or agreements providing for the estab-

lishment or maintenance of minimum or stipulated resale prices

on any commodity referred to in paragraph (2) of this subsection,

hetween manufacturers, or between producers, or between whole-

salers, or between brokers, or between factors, or between retailers,

or between persons, firms, or corporations in competition with each

Gc.

The McGuire Act did not repeal the Miller-Tydings Amendment

to the Sherman Act and there .are, therefore, two federal laws

presently exempting state fair-trade acts from the prohibitions

of the federal antitrusts. It is apparent, however, that the McGuire

Act was intended to supersede the Miller-Tydings Amendment,

See Callman, Unfair Competition, Trademarks and Monopolies,

§ 22.2.

17In order to safeguard interbrand competition, the Act pro-

hibits horizontal price-fixing agreements and denies fair-trade con-

tracts its protection unless the fair-traded product is “in free and

open competition with commodities of the same general class.”

Thus, the Act contemplates the elimination of intraband price

competition and relies for protection of the public interest upon

interbrand price competition.

l4a

1269a

Opinion

decision in Schwegmann by permitting states to enact laws

for the enforcement of fair trade contracts against non-

signers.'* However, like the Miller-Tydings Amendment, it

legalizes only vertical price maintenance contracts which

are lawful in the state where the resale is made. Conse-

quently, any analysis of The News’ resale price mainte-

nance system must begin with an examination of the New

York Fair Trade Law.

The Feld-Crawford Act, as the New York Fair Trade

Law” is commonly referred to, was modeled after the

California Fair Trade Act of 1933.%° Section 369-a permits

vertical price fiting by authorizing the producer or owner

of any brand-name commodity “which is in fair and open

competition with commodities of the same general class”

to fix by contract, a stipulated resale price and to require

any dealer who may resell it to agree not to do so at other

than the stipulated price. Section 369-b characterizes devi-

ation from the agreement as unfair competition actionable

by any person damaged, whether or not the violator is a

party to the contract. Section 369-c completes the statutory

“* The Report of the House Committee on I

which accompanied the McGuire Act declared a Commerce

“The primary purpose of the bill is to reaffi

plication and enforcement of State fair-trade E. -, 04S the

non-signer provisions of such laws— .. . shall not cunaitelie a

violation of the Federal Trade Commission Act or the Sherman

Antitrust Act. This reaffirmation is made necessary because of

the deciai a ;

bord wang hed a ee Court in Schwegmann v. Calvert

** N.Y. Gen. Bus. L. § 369-a et seq. ‘

*° See Bristol-Myers Co. v. Picker, 302 N.Y. 6

constitutionality of the California Act, (Cal. hone ton oe oe

Deering s Gen. Laws of Cal., 1931, Act 8782, as amended, Cal. Laws

, Ch. 269, Deering’s Gen. Laws Supp. 1933, Act 8782), was

upheld in The Pep Boys, M :

Inc., 299 U.S. 198 (1936). anny, Moe & Jack v. Pyroil Sales Co.,

15a

1270a

Opinion

scheme by excluding horizontal resale price maintenance

agreements from the operation of the statute.

The News’ franchise agreement provides, among other

things that the franchise dealer shall purchase from The

News on each day of publication a sufficient number of

copies of the newspaper to supply “all single copy home

delivery subscribers within his territory” and shall super-

vise the delivery and resale of the newspapers to such

regular subscribers at “no more than” the regular home

delivery price established by The News.

Plaintiffs claim this provision is not within the protec-

tion of the Feld-Crawford and McGuire Acts and violates

Section 1 of the Sherman Act. They allege that:

(1) The News is not in fair and open competition with

commodities of the same general class;

(2) The News is controlling not merely the resale prices,

but also the home delivery service charge ;

(3) The Feld-Crawford and McGuire Acts only permit

minimum resale prices to be fixed, not maximum resale

prices; and

(4) The franchise agreement is an illegal horizontal

agreement between wholesalers.

Plaintiffs’ contention that The News is not in “free and

open competition with commodities of the same general

class” can be disposed of briefly.

The existence of “free and open competition” is a con-

dition precedent to the legality of any resale price mainte-

‘nance system.” See 1 Callman, Unfair Competition Trade-

21 The quoted language is used in both the McGuire Act and the

Miller-Tydings Act. The same requirement appears with a minor

variation in the Feld-Crawford Act which permits resale price

maintenance contracts relating to commodities in “fair and open

competition.”

marks and Monopolies § 23.3(a) (3rd Ed. 1971). This re-

quirement is designed to assure that fair trade is limited

to products which face sufficient interbrand competition to

prevent them from eliminating horizontal price competi-

tion.2? See Eastman Kodak Co. v. F.T.C., 158 F.2d 592,

594 (2d Cir. 1946), cert. denied, 330 U.S. 828 (1947); Her-

man, Free and Open Competition, 9 Stan. L. Rev. 323

(1957) ; Note, 105 U. Pa. L. Rev. 415, 417 (1957).

Though the case law in this area is sparse, the decisions

on point establish that a product is in “free and open com-

petition” when there are other products which are pur-

chased by consumers for the same purpose.”* See Columbia

Records vy. Goody, 278 App. Div. 401, 105 N.Y.S.2d 659

(1st Dept. 1951); General Electric Co. v. S. Klein-on-the-

Square, 121 N.Y.S.2d 37, 49-50 (1953). See also Glen Roven

Knitting Mills v. Sanson Hosiery Mills, 189 F.2d 845, 854

(4th Cir. 1951); Fulda, Resale Price Maintenance, 21 U.

Chi. L. Rev. 175, 198 (1954).

22 Though fair trade acts expressly sanction the elimination of

intraband price competition, they seek to preserve interbrand com-

petition by prohibiting horizontal price &xing and denying pro-

tection to products which are not in free and open competition

with conimodities of the same general class. ;

In this connection, the legislative history of the Miller-Tydings

Act is instructive. It clearly indicates that Congress sought to

validate resale price maintenance agreements only with respect to

commodities which are in effective competition with similar com-

modities. 81 Cong. Rec. 7495 (1937) (remarks of Senator Tydings).

23 Fastman Kodak v. F.T.C., 158 F.2d 592 (2d Cir. 1946), cert.

denied, 330 U.S. 828 (1947), cited by plaintiffs, does not hold to

the contrary. In that case, the Second Circuit affirmed an F.T.C.

order which was based on the Commission’s finding that color film

is not in the same general class as black and white film. This deci-

sion is of little precedential value because the Commission’s find-

ings are conclusive if they are supported by any evidence. See

F.T.C. v. Education Society, 302 U.S. 112, 117 (1937).

17a

1272a

Opinion

Applying this test to the case at bar it becomes clear

that The News is in free and open competition with the

New York Times and a number of local newspapers in

the suburban areas. Indeed, to meet this competition The

News has been forced to embark on an aggressive home

delivery system and to publish a number of suburban or

zone sections.”*

Plaintiffs’ second contention is that The News is “not

merely controlling resale prices, but .. . is actually con-

trolling the home delivery service charge.” This, they main-

tain, is not permitted by the Feld-Crawford Act. The only

authority cited is u brief passage from Bristol-Myers Co.

v. Picker, 302 N.Y. 61 (1950).*

The Bristol-Myers case involved a drug store and other

retail establishments which, as members of the “Lynbrook

Dividend Club”, issued “cash register receipts” to their

customers with all sales. These receipts were redeemable

in merchandise for 242% of the sale at any store in the

club. Bristol-Myers contended that this amounted to an

** These suburban sections are distributed as part of The News

in specific geographic areas and carry local news and advertising.

Currently The News produces special sections for the following

areas: Manhattan, Bronx-Westchester, Passaic-Bergen, Newark,

New Jersey, Brooklyn, Queens and Long Island, and Nassau-

Suffolk.

28 The passage reads:

“Considered as a method of advertising, the challenged scheme

must be differentiated from types of service such as free parking,

self-service, care of infants, entertainment, free delivery and the

like, which we are not presently concerned. These other types of

services have no direct relation to the article purchased or the

price paid. They are completely separated and too remote from

the pricing element to come within the statute’s prohibition.” 302

N.Y. at 68.

Plaintiffs made no attempt to develop any argument in support

of their position and rely exclusively on this passage.

18a

1273a

Opinion

illegal reduction of its fair trade price and sued for an

injunction.’*

The New York Court of Appeals held that this practice

constituted price cutting within the meaning of the Feld-

Crawford Act and that Bristol-Myers was entitled to the

relief requested, noting that:

“The challenged scheme must be differentiated from

types of service such as free parking, self-service,

care of infants, entertainment, free delivery and the

like .. . These other types of service ... are too re-

mote from the pricing element to come within the

statute’s prohibition.” 302 N.Y. at 68.

Thus, rather than support plaintiffs’ position, Bristol-

Myers would seem to indicate that nothing in the Feld-

Crawford Act prevents The News from fixing the home

delivery price of its paper.”

Plaintiffs’ third contention is that the Feld-Crawford

Act does not authorize the fixing of maximum resale |

prices. Here, they argue that the New York decisions dis-

cussing the purposes for which the statute was enacted*®

** Bristol-Myers had fixed minimum retail prices for i

pursuant to the New York Fair Trade ae and Le ae

provided against sales below the established prices “by any means,

device, combination sale, trading stamp, free goods, discount, rebate

or other allowance .. .” See Note, 63 Harv. L. Rev. 366, 367 (1949).

id It is significant that The News’ franchise agreement makes no

mention of service charges. Instead, it provides that the franchise

dealer supervise the delivery and resale of the newspapers to sub-

seribers at “no more than” the regula j i

established by The News. a ao

** Plaintiffs rely principally upon General Electric v. Masi

307 N.Y. 229 ( 1954) ; Bristol-Myers Co. v. Picker, 302 NY. 61

(1950) ; and Bourjois Sales Corp. v. Dorfman, 273 N.Y. 167 ( 19387).

and the statute read as a whole’ require the conclusion

that the sole legislative purpose was to permit the setting

of minimum resale prices.

Although there is a dearth of decisional law in this area,

and no square holding on point, what few cases there are

lend support to the view that the terms “minimum” and

“stipulated” are not synonymous, and that both the Mc-

Guire Act and the Feld-Crawford Act authorize the

setting of either a minimum or a stipulated (absolute)

price. See Schwegmann Brés. v. Calvert Corp., 341 US.

384, 388 (1951); Graham v. Triangle Publications, Inc., 233

F.Supp. 825, 830-831 (E.D. Pa. 1964), aff'd per curiam 344

F.2d 775 (3rd Cir. 1965); Mead, Johnson & Co. v. West

29 Section 369-a(1) of the Feld-Crawford Act permits the pro-

ducer of a commodity which bears its trademark, brand or name,

and which is in “fair and open competition with commodities of

the same general class produced by others” to “stipulate” the

price at which its buyer may resell and also to provide that the

buyer will not, in turn, resell except at the price stipulated.

Section 369-b provides that willfully and knowingly advertising,

offering for sale or selling a commodity at less than the price

stipulated by any contract pursuant to § 369-a is unfair competi-

tion and actionable by any person damaged thereby.

In support of their argument, plaintiffs stress the fact that

§ 369-b creates a cause of action only against those who knowingly

and willfully sell “at less than the price stipulated in any con-

tract” pursuant to § 369-a. However, the fact that § 369-b is silent

with respect to enforcement against parties who sell above the

stipulated price is not dispositive of this issue. In the ordinary

situation there is no need for enforcement of maximum prices

since anyone selling at a price higher than a generally observed

maximum price would quickly lose sales as a natural consequence

of competition. See Fulda, Resale Price Maintenance, supra, at

190. Cf. Adams, Resale Price Maintenance: Fact and Fancy, 64

Yale L. J. 967, 972 (1955).

%® Paragraph 2 of the MeGuire Act provides in pertinent part

that nothing contained in the Antitrust Acts “shall render un-

lawful any contracts or agreements preseribing minimum or stipu-

lated prices,” lawful under State law.

20a

1275a

Opinion

Chester Discount Health & Vitamin Center, Inc., 212

F.Supp. 310 (E.D. Pa. 1962). See also General Electric

Co. v. 8. Klein-on-the-Square, Inc., 121 N.Y.S8.2d 37 (Sup.

Ct. 1953).

Thus, in Schwegmann, supra, the Supreme Court con-

sidered a provision in the Louisiana Fair Trade Law

which prevented a buyer from reselling “except at the

price stipulated by the vendor.” After contrasting it with

the provision in the Miller-Tydings Act which provides

for contracts or agreements prescribing “minimum prices”,

the Court concluded that “. . . Louisiana law sanctions

the fixing of maximum as well as minimum prices . . .”

341 U.S. at 388."

Similarly, in Mead, Johnson & Co. v. West Chester Dis-

count Health & Vitamin Center, Inc., supra, the court con-

strued §1 of the Pennsylvania Fair Trade Act which pro-

vides “[(t]hat the buyer will not resell such commodity

except at the price stipulated by the vendor.” It found

“... that the fixing of a minimum retail price is an exer-.

cise of some, but not all, of the authority conferred by the

statutory right to set a stipulated price.” 212 F.Supp. at

1 This dicta assumes even greater significance when the lanen

of paragraph 2 of the McGuire Act is examined. In ponnitting

contracts or agreements prescribing minimum or stipulated prices,

Congress clearly intended to make lawful a tvpe of contract not

covered under the Miller-Tydings Act. See H. R. Report No. 1437,

72nd Congress, 2d Session, 1952, at pp. 5-6; Fulda, Resale Price

Maintenrnce, 21 U.Chi. L. Rev. 175, 190 (1954). Since it had

the benefit of the Supreme Court’s construction of the Louisiana

statute the conclusion is inescapable that it intended to sanction

‘the fixing of maximum as well as minimum prices.”

Furthermore, to read “stipulated” as synonymous with “mini-

mum” would violate the cardinal rule that “significance and effect

shall if possible, be accorded to every word” in a statute. Wash-

ington Market Co. v. Hoffman, 101 U.S. 112, 115 (1879). See

also United States v. Menasche, 348 U.S. 528, 538-539 (1955) ;

Ginsburg & Sons v. Popkin, 285 U.S. 204, 208 (1932).

2la

Pi

Opinion

313. This language was quoted with approval in Graham

v. Triangle Publications, Inc., supra.

Moreover, despite plaintiffs’ characterization of the New

York decisions on this question, not one holds or states

by way of dicta that the sole purpose of the New York

legislature in enacting the Feld-Crawford Act was to allow

for the maintenance of minimum resale prices,

Furthermore, contrary to plaintiffs’ assertion, at least

one New York decision, General Electric Co. v. S. Klem

on-the-Square, Inc., supra, clearly holds that it authorizes

agreements whereby “the buyer agrees to sell neither above

nor below” a stipulated price.

“There of course is a difference between preventing

under-selling or price-cutting and preventing price

gouging by selling above a designated price, and it

may be that some fair trade laws forbid both while

others forbid only one or the other. It is unnecessary

to go into that. The N.Y. statute forbids selling at

less than the price stipulated in a contract, and a

price is stipulated in a contract by which the buyer

agrees not to sell below a stated price as well as in

a contract by which the buyer agrees to sell neither

above nor below that price.

“ a price is stipulated or prescribed in a con-

tract by which the buyer agrees not to sell below a

stated price as well as in a contract by which the buyer

agrees tc sell neither above nor below that price, or,

in the phrase defendant likes ‘at that price’.” 121

N.Y.S.2d at 46, 47.

In the absence of any square holding to the contrary,

I find the reasoning of the General Electric case persuasive.

22a

1277a

Opinion

Accordingly, I reject plaintiffs’ contention that the Feld-

Crawford Act permits only the fixing of minimum prices.

Plaintiffs’ final argument is that the franchise agreement

is one between wholesalers and, therefore, is not protected

by the McGuire Act. They contend that The News is a

wholesaler in that it sells its newspapers directly to news-

stand and franchise dealers and that the franchise dealers

are also wholesalers because they, in turn, sell, at whole-

sale, to the carrier boys.

The News, on the other hand, denies that such direct sales

make it a wholesaler. It contends that it is on a different

functional level than its franchise dealers and argues that

any agreement between them is vertical. It asserts that

nothing in the Feld-Crawford Act prohibits an integrated

manufacturer-wholesaler from making fair trade contracts

with independent wholesalers.

I am prepared to accept this construction of the New

York Fair Trade Laws. See Eastman Kodak Co. v.

Schwartz, 133 N.Y.S.2d 908 (Sup. Ct. 1954) ; Gillette Safety’

Razor Co. v. Green, 3 N.Y.S.2d 822 (Sup. Ct.), aff’d 258 App.

Div. 723, 15 N.Y.S. 142 (1938). However, whatever reach

the New York courts might give the New York Fair Trade

Laws is subject to McGuire Act limitations. See Janel Sales

Corp. v. Lanvin Parfums, Inc., 396 F.2d 398, 401 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 393 U.S. 938 (1968); Sunbeam Corp. v. Mas-

ters, Inc., 157 F.Supp. 689, 691 (S.D.N.Y. 1957).

That Act expressly condemns “horizontal” price fixing

agreements. Paragraph 5 provides that:

“Nothing contained in paragraph (2) of this subsec-

tion shall make lawful contracts or agreements provid-

ing for the establishment of minimum or stipulated

resale prices on any commodity referred to in para,

graph (2) of this subsection, between manufacturers,

or between producers, or between wholesalers, or be-

tween brokers, or between factors, or between retailers,

or between persons, firms, or corporations in competi-

tion with each other.” 15 U.S.C. § 15(a)(5).

In spite of what seems to be quite clear, the interpretation

of this paragraph is still somewhat unsettled. See gener-

ally, Callman, Unfair Competition, Trademarks & Monopo-

lies § 23.3(c).

In United States v. McKesson & Robbins, 351 U.S. 305

(1956), the Supreme Court held that a manufacturer-whole-

saler could not enter into fair trade agreements with

independent wholesalers who competed with its wholesale

division on the ground that both the Miller-Tydings and

McGuire Acts specifically exclude from their antitrust ex-

emption all agreements “. . . between wholesalers . . . in

competition with each other.” In reaching this result, the

Court rejected McKesson’s argument that in contracting

with independent wholesalcrs it acted solely as a manufac-

turer seiling to buyers rather than as a competing whole-

saler. It refused to compartmentalize McKesson’s business

and stated that “the statutes provide no basis for sanc-

tioning the fiction of McKesson . . . acting only as a manu-

facturer when it concludes ‘fair trade’ agreements with

competing wholesalers. These were agreements between

wholesalers.” 351 U.S. at 312.

The McKesson decision cast substantial doubt on the

legality of fair trade agreements between vertically inte-

grated manufacturers and independent wholesalers and

retailers; Herman, Fair Trade and McKesson & Robbins,

44 Cal. L. Rev. 853, 857 (1956); Note, 46 Georgetown L.J.

166, 175 (1957); Note, 24 Univ. of Chi. L. Rev. 533, 538

(1957); see also Weston, Resale Price Maintenance and

Market Integration: Fair Trade or Foul Play?, 22 Geo.

Wash. L. Rev. 658 (1954), but did not completely clarify

the meaning of paragraph 5. As recently as 1967 it was

unclear whether the final phrase of the section, “in compe-

tition with each other”, modifies only the immediately pre-

ceding phrase, “between persons, firms, or corporations”,

or also modifies the other preceding phrases, such as “‘be-

tween manufacturers”, “between retailers” and “between

wholesalers”. Compare Johnson ¢ Johnson v. Avenue

Merchandise Corp., 193 F.Supp. 282, 287 (S.D.N.Y. 1961),

with Upjohn Company v. Charles Labs, Inc., 277 F.Supp.

445 (S.D.N.Y. 1967) and Parke, Davis & Co. v. Rocket

Drugs, Inc., 214 F.Supp. 937, 938 (S.D.N.Y. 1963). See

also, Esso Standard Oil Co. v. Secatore’s Inc, 246 F.2d 17,

21 (ist Cir.), cert. denied, 355 U.S. 834 (1957).

In Janel Sales Corp. v. Lanvin Parfums, Inc., 396 F.2d

398 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 393 U.S. 938 (1968), the Second

Circuit considered this specific question and concluded that

“the legislative history indicates that it is immaterial

whether a manufacturer-retailer and a signing retailer are.

in actual competition.” 396 F.2d at 403. Accord, Ar-Ex

Products Co. v. Capital Vitamin & Cosmetic Corp., 351 F.2d

938 (1st Cir. 1965).

In Janel, ihe defendant was a widely known manufac-

turer of perfumes and other toiletries which sold its prod-

“If the pharse “in competition with each other” modifies all

the preceding phrases there rust be a showing of some quantum

of competition between the vertically integrated manufacturer and

the signing retailer or wholesaler before the agreement falls within

the seope of paragraph (5). See Janel Sales Corp. v. Lanvin Par-

fums, Inc., 396 F.2d 398, 403 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 363 U.S. 938

aie However, if it ~¥- not, the presence or absence of com-

ion is immaterial and any contract “between manufacturers,

or between producers, or between wholesalers .. . or between re-

tailers” is unlawful. See Note, 43 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 997, 1002 (1968).

Either interpretation is possible.

25a

ucts directly to retail outlets pursuant to a fair trade

agreement. The plaintiff, Janel Sales Corp., operated a

chain of discount drug stores in New York City, but was

not a direct account of Lanvin. It acquired Lanvin’s prod-

ucts from other retail stores for less than the stipulated

resale price and sold them at a discount. Lanvin success-

fully sued in the state court to enjoin Janel from selling

Lanvin perfumes below the fair trade price. Janel coun-

tered with a federal action against Lanvin attacking the

legality of the fair trade contract underlying the state

injunction.

It charged that certain “promotional” and “accommoda-

tion” sales made by Lanvin were retail sales which, as a

matter of law, deprived Lanvin’s fair trade agreements of

the protection of the McGuire Act. Lanvin, on the other

hand, contended that its “promotional” and “accommoda-

tion” sales did not render it a “retailer” or a “competitor”.

The Court of Appeals held that these assertions raised tri-

able issues of fact.

Though it did not supply a precise standard for deter-

mining whether a party is a “retailer” or a “competitor”

within the terms of the McGuire Act, it followed McKes-

son’s teaching that the words of the statute are to be read

“in their normal and customary reading.” United States v.

McKesson & Rob¥ins, supra, at 312; see also, Schwegmann

Bros. v. Calvert Corp., 341 U.S. 384, 388 (1951).

More importantly, the Court of Appeals held that any

manufacturer or producer who maintains retail or whole-

sale outlets of his own (one who engages in any direct sell-

ing aside from “promotional” or “accommodation” sales)

is a “retailer” or “wholesaler” and is therefore not per-

mitted to establish fair trade agreements with any other

retailer or wholesaler.

26a

128la

Opinion

Applying these principles to the case at bar, the conclu-

sion is inescapable that The News is a wholesaler, Cf. Dah!

v. Hearst Corp., 1972 Trades Cases 974,196 (C.D. Cal.),

within the normal and customary definition of “wholesaler”

as one whose business is the selling of goods in gross to

retail dealers. See Harris v. Hammond, 51 F.Supp. 91, 94

(S.D. Ga. 1943), aff'd, 145 F.2d 333 (5th Cir. 1944); Zehr-

ing v. Brown Materials, 48 F.Supp. 740, 743 (S.D. Cal.

1943) ; Veazey Drug Co. v. Bruza, 169 Okl. 418, 37 P.2d 294

(1934) ; Monoco Oil Co. v. Town of Pittsford, Co. of Mon

roe, 300 N.Y.S.2d 488, 493 (1969).

The News distributes its newspapers to retailers through

mixed channels. It acts as a wholesaler by making direct

Sales to retailers (e.g., street sale dealers) and also sells

through independent wholesalers. In so doing, its status

as a producer or manufacturer is changed into that of a

manufacturer-wholesaler. Janel Sales Corp. vy. Lanvin

Parfums, Inc., supra; Ar-Ex Products Co. v. Capital Vita-

min & Cosmetic Corp., supra, at 940; Dahl v. Hearst Corp.,

supra. Cf. United States v. McKesson & Robbins, supra.

Since The News’ franchise dealers also function as whole-

salers in selling to their carrier boys, it follows that their

relationship with The News is horizontal and not vertical.

Therefore, The News and its franchise dealers are both

wholesalers within the meaning of the McGuire Act and

they are not free to enter into price fixing agreements which

affect “interstate commerce” as that term is used in the

Sherman Act. United States v. McKesson & Robbins

supra; Janel Sales Corp. v. Lanvin Parfums, Inc., supra.

Accordingly, I hold that The News’ franchise agreement

is not immunized from the Sherman Act by the McGuire

Act and that it entered into illegal price maintenance agree-

ments with its dealers. See United States v. Socony-Vacuum

27a

1282a

Opinion

Oil Co., supra; Kiefer-Stewart Co. v. Joseph E. Seagram

é Sons, Inc., supra.

This result is a harsh one. Nonetheless, it is the result

dictated by the Supreme Court’s admonition that the ex-

emption accorded by Congress in the Miller-Tydings and

McGuire Acts be narrowly construed.”

Plaintiffs also contend that The News is a retailer within

the meaning of the McGuire Act because it distributes its

newspaper through the mails. Relying on Janel Sales Corp.,

supra, they maintain that these “retail” sales place it on

the same functional level as its ca: boys and therefore

bar it from fixing the prices at which they sell The News.

This contention can be disposed of briefly.

In the six month period ending September 30, 1971, The

News had only 391 mail subscribers in the entire metro-

politan area.** These subscribers received the paper a day

or more after the issue date and paid a higher price than

the newsstand or home delivery price. Generally, only clip-

ping services, libraries, or persons without access to news-

papers subscribe by mail.

In my view, these sales must be classified as “legitimate

accommodation sales” and common sense requires their

exclusion in determining whether The News is functionally

a retailer. See Janel Sales Corp. v. Lanvin Parfums, Inc.,

supra, at 403; General Electric Co. v. Hess Brothers, Inc.,

33 See e.g. United States v. McKesson & Robbins, supra, at 316:

“Congress has marked the limitations beyond which price fixing

cannot go. We are not only bound by those limitations but we

are bound to construe them strictly, since resale price maintenance

is a privilege restrictive of a free economy.”

% This represented about one-hundredth of 1% (.0001) of ite

total average paid circulation.

28a

1283a

Opimon

155 F.Supp. 57, 62 (E.D. Pa. 1957).** In any event, these

sales are de minimus. See Janel Sales Corp. v. Lanvin Par-

fums, Inc., supra; Johnson & Johnson v. Avenue Merchan

dise Corp., supra, at 289-290.

V.

Tse News’ Rervsat to Dea, Wits Puiaintirrs Was

Pursuant To An Itzeca, Price Fixinc AGREEMENT

anp THEREFORE ConstiTUTES A Per Se VioLaTion

or Section 1 or tHe SHeRMan Act.

The News contends that its refusal to deal with plain-

tiffs** is totally unrelated to any of the provisions of the

franchise agreement and is merely an exercise of its right

In Janel Sales Corp. v. Lanvin Parfums, Inc., supra, the

Second Circuit indicated that a retail sale could be identified by

considering “the actual size of the sale, the dollar value of the

sale and the number of similar sales that are made.” 396 F.2d at

403. Applying this test to the News’ mail subscriptions, it be-

comes clear that they do not rise to the level of “retail sales.”

, 86 Plaintiffs Freilich, Rosenblatt, Theall, Salant and Cestaro con-

tinue to receive copies of The News. Though plaintiff Theall testi-

fied that he observed a franchise dealer operating on his route

(Tr. 1078), it is undisputed that there is no franchise dealer in

his area or any adjoining area. Since all of these plaintiffs operate

in areas in which the franchise system has not been instituted, they

have no standing to challenge any of The News’ policies or any

of the provisions of the franchise agreement. See Billy Bazter,

Inc. v. Coca-Cola Company, 411 F.2d 183 (2d Cir. 1970), cert.

denied, 401 U.S. 923, reh. denied, 401 U.S. 1014 (1971) ; SCM Corp.

v. Radio Corp. of America, 407 F.2d 166 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,

395 U.S. 943 (1969). Cf. Continental Ore Co. v. Union Carbide &

Carbon Corp., 370 L -3. 690 (1962). The same is true of plaintiffs

Ellis, Marston and Silverstein who continued to receive The News

until they sold their routes. All of these plaintiffs have failed to

show that their competitive positions have been injured and con-

sequently, they fail to make out a claim for relief under the anti-

trust laws. GAF Corporation v. Circle Floor Co., Inc., 463 F.2d

752 (2d Cir. 1972), petition for cert. filed, 41 U.S.L.W. 3410 (U.

Jan. 12, 1973) (No. 72-984). _ _

29a

1284a

Opinion

to choose its customers and its methods of distribution. It

claims that its decision to discontinue selling to plaintiffs

was a business judgment that the institution of a franchise

system would increase its circulation and provide better

and more efficient service to its home delivery subscribers.

Accordingly, it argues that this case is controlled by United

States v. Colgate, 250 U.S. 300 (1919), and other cases hold-

ing that a unilateral decision by a producer to substitute

one distributor for another is not actionable under the anti-

trust laws.”

Plaintiffs Hand, Shank, Greenberg and Holman also continue to

receive copies of The News even though they operate in areas in

which the franchise system has been instituted. Plaintiff Fox was

in the same position before he sold his route. Accordingly, these

plaintiffs do not challenge The News’ decision to terminate sales

to the other plaintiffs. Instead, they contend that they have been

injured by the provision in the franchise agreement which requires

the franchise dealers to resell The News at stipulated prices and by

the price discrimination practiced by The News against them. They

allege that the franchise agreement substitutes the judgment of

The News for the forces of the competitive market and severely

limits their ability to compete and survive. Cf. Albrecht v. Herald

Co., 390 U.S. 145, 152 (1968); United States v. Socony-Vacuum

Oil Co., 310 U.S. 150, 223 (1940).

Since the record’ 4mply demonstrates the validity of this con-

tention, they have established all the elements of a Sherman Act

violation and are entitled to recover treble damages regardless of

whether The News could lawfully have terminated sales to them

or to the other plaintiffs. See United States v. Parke, Davis & Co.,

supra; GAF Corporation v. Circle Floor Co., Inc., supra.

37 The News cites many cases for the proposition that a producer

is free to replace on distributor with another. See eg., United

States v. Arnold, Schwinn & Co., 388 U.S. 365, 376 (1967) ; Anaya

v. Las Cruces Sun News, 455 F.2d 670 (10th Cir. 1972) ; Joseph £.

Seagram & Sons, Inc. v. Hawaiian Oke & Liquors, Ltd., 416 F.2d

71, 76 (9th Cir. 1969), cert. denied, 396 U.S. 1062, reh. denied,

397 U.S. 1003 (1970); Ace Beer Distributors, Inc. v. Kohn, Inc.,

318 F.2d 283, 286-87 (6th Cir. 1963). In doing so, it argues that

“(t]he record clearly shows that any adverse economic impact on

plaintiffs’ businesses is attributable solely to The News’ termina-

30a

1285a

Opinion

Plaintiffs, on the other hand, contend that The News’

decision to terminate sales to them was part of an effort to

enforce an illegal price maintenance scheme.” They allege

that The News combined with its franchise dealers and

others to prevent them from acquiring copies of The News

in order to protect the franchise dealers from intrabrand

competition and to allow The News to control the home

delivered price of its paper.”

tion of sales to such plaintiffs.” Brief for Defendants at 20. Thus,

tt contends tha’ even if the franchise agreement is illegal, the

plaintiffs were no’ injured by reason of anything in it and that

the only private parties with standing to challenge it are the fran-

chise dealers.

** The News concedes that this allegation raises the “most critical

issue” in the case. The reason is clear.

It is well settled that any attempt by a producer to secure

resale price maintenance which goes beyond the “mere announce-

ment of his policy” regarding prices and “the simple refusal to

deal” is unlawful. United States v. Parke, Davis & Co., 362 US.

29, 44-45 (1960). See also, Albrecht v. Herald Co., 390 U.S. 145

(1968) ; Simpson v. Union Oil Co., 377 U.S. 13, 17 (1964). Cf.

Joseph E. Seagram & Sons, Inc. v. Hawaiian Oke & Liquors, Ltd.,

416 F.2d 71, 78 (9th Cir. 1969), cert. denied, 396 U.S. 1062, reh.

denied, 397 U.S. 1003 (1970). Thus, if The News terminated sales

to the plaintiffs pursuant to an illegal price fixing scheme, they

have been injured by reason of something “forbidden in the anti-

trust laws.” See Interphoto Corporation v. Minolta Corporation,

295 F.Supp. 711, 721 (S.D.N.Y.), aff'd, 417 F.2d 621 (2d Cir.

1969). Cf. Albrecht v. Herald Co., 390 U.S. 145 (1968) ; United

States v. General Motors, 384 U.S. 127, 146-48 (1966) ; Barber,

Refusals to Deal Under the Federal Antitrust Laws, 103 U. Pa.

L. Rev. 847, 877-82 (1955).

” Plaintiff Rathsam relies solely on these allegations. He ac-

quired his route from a cut-off route dealer and never sought to

purchase directly from The News. However, he testified that

he was subjected to the same type of predatory conduct that the

other rete dealers experienced (Tr. 869-870) and therefore claims

that he was injured by reason of the illegal combination to fix

prices.

3la

In Colgate, supra, the Supreme Court recognized the

general right of a businessman to select his customers and

refuse to deal.** However, in successive decisions, the teach-

ing of that case has been considerably narrowed. See e.g.,

Albrecht v. Herald Co., 390 U.S. 145 (1968) ; United States

vy. Arnold, Schwinn & Co., 388 U.S. 365 (1967); United

States v. Parke, Davis ¢ Co., 363 U.S. 29 (1960).

In United States v. Parke, Davis € Co., supra, the defen-

dant sought to maintain resale prices by refusing to sell

its products to retailers who resold below its suggested

prices. A similar policy was enunciated with respect to its

wholesalers who were informed that it would refuse to

sell them if they cut prices or sold to price-cutting retailers.

When certain retailers persisted in cutting prices, the com-

pany and the wholesalers stopped supplying them. Subse-

quently, it informed the price-cutters that their source of

supply would be reopened if they would indicate a willing-

ness to cooperate; when the retailers agreed, sales were

resumed. The government sought an injunction against

these practices and the company defended on the ground

that its conduct was legal under the Colgate doctrine.

4°In Colgate, the defendant manufacturer had secured substan-

tial control over resale pricing by wholesalers and retailers by an-

nouncing that it would not deal further with price cutters. The

government obiained un indictment charging an unlawful combina-

tion under Section 1 of the Sherman Act. The Supreme Court

sustained dismissal because it did “not charge Colgate with selling

its products to dealers under agreemerits which obligated the latter

not to resell except at prices fixed by the Company.” 250 U.S. at

307. In doing so, the Court noted that:

“The purpose of the Sherman Act . . . to preserve the right

of freedom to trade. In the absence of any purpose to create

or maintain a monopoly, the act does not restrict the long

recognized right of trader or manufacturer .. . freely to exer-

cise his own discretion as to parties with whom he will deal.

And, of course, he may announce in advance the circumstances

under which he will refuse to sell.” 250 U.S. at 307.

32a

1287a

Opinion

Looking at this series of allegedly unilateral acts, the

Supreme Court found that Parke, Davis had embarked

upon a program to promote compliance with its suggested

resale prices which “plainly exceeded the limitations of the

Colgate doctrine” and which constituted an unlawful com-

bination in restraint of trade. The Court stated that:

“.. . an unlawful combination is not just such as

arises from a price maintenance agreement, express or

implied; such a combination is also organized if the

producer secures adherence to his suggested prices by

means which go beyond his mere declination to sell

to a customer who will not observe his announced

policy ...

When the manufacturer’s actions, as here, go beyond

mere announcement of his policy and the simple refusal

to deal, and he employs other means which effect adher-

ence to his resale prices . . . he has put together a

combination in violation of the Sherman Act.” 362 U. 8.

at 43, 44.

The scope of Parke, Davis was somewhat clarified in

Simpson v. Union Oil Co., 377 U.S. 13 (1964). There, the

plaintiff, a retail service station lessee, signed a consign-

ment agreement for a term concurrent with his lease under

which Union set the prices at which he would sell gasoline

to the public.“* When he sold gasoline below the fixed price

to meet competition, Union refused to renew his lease.

The Court found that Union had used the threat of ter-

mination of the lease as the means of enforcing its pricing

scheme and held Union’s consignment system illegal. In

‘The agreement plaintiff signed was Union’s standard retail

consignment agreement and provided that his compensation was

to be on a commission basis. 377 U.S. at 15.

33a

rejecting the claim that its termination of the plaintiff's

dealership was a more refusal to deal within the meaning

of Colgate, the Court said:

“We made clear in United States v. Parke, Davis €

Co., 362 U.S. 29, that a supplier may not use coercion

on its retail outlets to achieve resale price mainte-

nance. We rciterate that view, adding that it matters

not what the coercive device is. United States v. Col-

gate, 250 U.S. 300, as explained in Parke, Davis, 362

U.S. at 37, was a case where there was assumed to be

no agreement to maintain retail prices. Here we have

such an agreement; it is used coercively, and it prom-

ises to be equally if not more effective in maintaining

gasoline prices than were the Parke, Davis techniques

in fixing monopoly prices on drugs.” 377 U.S. at 17.

(Emphasis added).

Union Oil was followed by United States v. General

Motors, 384 U.S. 127 (1966),** in which the Court reiter-

‘2 In United States v. General Motors, supra, the government

brought a civil action under Section 1 of the Sherman Act against

General Motors Corporation and three associations of Chevrolet

dealers in the Los Augeles area to enjoin them from conspiring

to prevent certain franchised dealers from maintaining sales

relationships with discount houses. As a result of pressure from

dealers who were losing sales to the discount houses, General

Motors advised all its franchisees that selling cars to discount

houses might constitute a violation of the franchise agreement, and

elicited promises from them to desist from further sales. The de-

fendant associations jointly financed the policing of these prom-

ises and, as violations were discovered, General Motors enforced

compliance.

Finding a “classic conspiracy in restraint of trade”, the Court

held the arrangement unlawful per se

“The principle of these cases is that where businessmen concert

their actions in order to deprive others of access to merchan-

dise which the latter wish to sell to the public, we need not

inquire into the economic motivation underlying their conduet.

34a

1289a

Opinion

ated its view that agreements or combinations to main-

tain prices are unlawful per se no matter what form they

take.

“The protection of price competition from conspira-

torial restraint in an object of special solicitude under

the antitrust laws. We cannot respect that solicitude

by closing our eyes to the effect upon price competition

of the removal from the market, by combination or

conspiracy, of a class of traders. Nor do we propose

to construe the Sherman Act to prohibit conspiracies

to fix prices at which competitors may sell, but to allow

conspiracies to put competitors out of business en-

tirely.” 384 U.S. at 148.

The most recent case interpreting Colyate is Albrecht v.

Herald Co., 390 U.S. 145 (1968). A newspaper publisher

announced that it would compete with or refuse to deal

with any distributor who refused to abide by its suggested

resale price. When Albrecht raised its price over the sug-

gested maximum, it hired an independent sales solicitation

firm (Milne) to contact his customers and offer delivery

at a lower rate. As a result, some of Albrecht’s customers

switched to direct delivery by the publisher, and it subse-

quently turned these customers over to another dealer

(Kroner) with the understanding that he might have to

return them to Albrecht if he accepted the maximum price

ceiling.

* © * Exclusion of traders from the market by means of com-

bination or conspiracy is so inconsistent with the free-market

principles embodied in the Sherman Act that it is not to be

saved by reference to the need for preserving the collaborators’

ty — or their system [of iistribution] * * *.” 384

». at

35a

In holding that the publisher had put together a combina-

tion to fix resale prices which was per se illegal under the

Sherman Act, the Court rejected the defendant’s contention

that its conduct was wholly unilateral.

“4 1 of the Sherman Act . . . covers combinations in

addition to contracts and conspiracies, express or im-

plied. The Court made this quite clear in United States

v. Parke, Davis & Co., 362 U.S. 29 (1960), where it held

that an illegal combination to fix prices results if a

seller euggests resale prices and secures compliance

by means in addition to the ‘mere announcement of his

policy and the simple refusal to deal. . . .’

If a combination arose when Parke Davis threatened

its wholesalers with termination unless they put pres-

sure on their retail customers, then there can be no

doubt that a combination arose between respondent,

Milne, and Kroner to force petitioner to conform to

the advertised retail price.” 390 U.S. at 149.

Thus, the controlling decisions have distinguished be-

tween situations on the one hand, in which the manufacturer

simply announced a suggested resale price and refused to

sell to dealers who would not adhere to it,** and on the other,

*? Despite limitations of the Colgate doctrine in recent years, it

is still true that a mere refusal to deal, without more, is not a

Sherman Act violation. GAF . oe v. Circle Floor Co.,

329 F.Supp. 823, 828 (S.D.N.Y. 1971), af’d, 463 F.2d 752 (2d

Cir. 1972), petition for cert. filed, 41 U.S.L.W. 3410 (U.S. Jan. 12,

1973) (No. 72-984). See also, House of Materials, Inc. v. Pattern

Co., 298 F.2d 867 (2d Cir. 1962); Carbon Steel Products Corp. v.

Alan Wood Stecl Company, 289 F.Supp. 584 (S.D.N.Y. 1968).

“The Supreme Court has left a narrow channel through which a

manufacturer may pass even though the facts would have to be of

such Dorie simplicity as to be somewhat rare in this day of com-

plex business enterprise.” Warner & Co. v. Black & Decker Mfg.

Co., 277 F.2d 787, 790 (2d Cir. 1960).

those in which the manufacturer took further steps to effec-

tuate compliance. If, above and beyond a mere unilateral

announcement and refusal to deal steps are taken in order

to secure compliance with price maintenance policies, the

arrangement constitutes a combination to maintain prices,

and is a per se violation of the Sherman Act. Albrecht v.

Herald Co., supra; Simpson v. Union Oil Co., supra; United

States v. Parke, Davis # Co., supra.

Applying this test to the facts of the instant case, it

becomes clear that The News’ reliance on Colgate is totally

misplaced. The record clearly demonstrates that The News

terrsinated sales to most of the plaintiffs only after they

refused to participate in its resale price mainienance

scheme. When this failed, it enlisted the aid of its fran-

chise dealers and third parties to detect the route dealers’

“unauthorized sources” of supply, which, according to

O’Sullivan and Catanzaro, would be terminated. (Tr. 1087;

1106; 1323-24). As a result, the route dealers were under

constant surveillance by franchise dealers, employees of

The News, and off-duty policemen recruited for this pur-

pose. (Tr. 127-28; 631-33; 704; 779-80; 795-97 ; 826; 869-70;

1087-88; 1090-91; 1099-1100; 1106-1107). The News even

went so far as to have two-way radios installed in four of

its cars so that it could coordinate its surveillance activities.

(Tr. 1098-1101 ; 1104). When sources of supply were located,

The News terminated (or threatened to terminate) all sales

to that source or reduced the number of copies it received

so that it could no longer supply the cut off route dealers.

(Tr. 711-12; 727; 763; 906-907).

The News also instructed its franchise dealers to tell

potential home delivery subscribers that the route dealers

were no longer in business and that they could obtain home

delivery of The News only through authorized franchise

37a

dealers. (Tr. 1114-15; 1334-35). Cf., United States v.

Albrecht, supra, at 190 n. 6.

These anticompetitive practices cannot be considered as

isolated incidents, unrelated to The News’ illegal price

maintenance system. Rather, the record indicates that this

concerted activity was designed and executed so as to pre-

vent plaintiffs from dealing in, The News and to allow it

to control the home delivered price of its paper.

Accordingly, I find that The News’ refusal to deal

with the plaintiffs is part of an aggregation of trade re-

straints and predatory practices designed to fix prices in

violation of §1 of the Sherman Act. Cf. United States v.

General Motors, supra; Interphoto Corp. v. Minolta Corp.,

295 F.Supp. 711, 723 (S.D.N.Y.) aff'd 417 F.2d 621 (2d Cir.

1969). It follows that the route dealers who were cut off

by The News on o: after January 10, 1966 have established

all of the necessary elements of a § 1 Sherman Act violation.

The same is true for plaintiff Rathsam against whom The

News and its franchise dealers conspired to prevent from

obtaining papers.

Plaintiffs also contend that the territorial** and cus-

tomer“ restrictions in the franchise agreement violate Sec-

tion 1 of the Sherman Act. These contentions do not re-

quire extended discussion.

In United States v. Arnold, Schwinn, 388 U.S. 365 (1967),

the Supreme Court considered such restrictions and found

them to be per se violations of the Sherman Act.

The Schwinn distribution network consisted of 22 whole-

sale distributors wh. were permitted to resell Schwinn

products only to franchise dealers in assigned territories.

** Section III of The News’ Independent Home Delivery Carrier

Agreement provides, inter alia, that:

“The territory to which this agreement shall apply and in which

the sales of copies of the Daily and Sunday News to home delivery

subscribers shall be made by the carrier is known and designated

as Home Delivery Area Number ——.. .”

The News strenuously urges that the franchise agreement does

not limit the area in which the franchise dealers are permitted

to sell The News. I fin this reading of the agreement is contrary

to its plain language and spirit. Cf. Lepore v. The New York

News, Inc., 346 F.Supp. 755, 761 (1972).

The News granted each franchise dealer an exclasive territory

in order to insure that he woulld devote his time and effort to

developing sales in that territory. In this way, each dealer would

concentrate on taking business away from The News’ competitors

rather than from his fellow franchise dealers. See Note, Restricted

Channels of Distribution Under the Sherman Act, 75 Harv. L.

Rev. 795 (1962); Cf. Stewart, Exclusive Franchises and Terri-

torial Confinement of Distributors, 22 A.B.A. Antitrust Section

33, 37 (1963).

** Section II of the Agreement provides that the franchise dealer;

“.. . agrees... to purchase from The News, on each day of

publication, a sufficient number of copies of the Daily and Sunday

News to supply all single copy home delivery subscribers within

his territory ... [and] to supervise and direct the resale of the

Daily and Sunday News to such regular subscribers in his terri-

Git s<s” ,

The News concedes that this clause of the agreement prohibits

the franchise dealers from reselling newspapers purchased from

it to anyone other than their delivery boys.

39a

Schwinn would ship its bicycles to the distributors on a

sale or consignment basis, or alternatively would ship

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.