Petition — Davis v. Board of School Commissioners
Supreme Court brief1976
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
Brrapre Mat Davis, Epwin Foster,
and James KE. Buskey, et al.,
Petitioners,
V.
Boarp or ScHooL COMMISSIONERS OF
Mosite County, et al.,
Aurrepo G. Parriss, et al.,
Petitioners,
v.
Boarp oF CoMMISSIONERS OF THE
AuaBAMA State Bar, et al.
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
FIFTH CIRCUIT
Micuae. I. Sovern
435 W. 116th Street
New York, New York 10027
Jack GREENBERG
James M. Nasazirt, III
Cuartes STEPHEN RaLston
Eric ScHNAPPER
10 Columbus Circle
Suite 2030
New York, New York 10019
J. E. BuacksHER
Crawford, Blacksher & Kennedy
1407 Davis Avenue
Mobile, Alabama 36603
U. W. Ciemon
Adams, Baker & Clemon
2121 North Eighth Avenue
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
Attorneys for Petitioners
—— - —_-—
ST ems
INDEX
PAGE
TID istincntbininnpnenrncttincinhiniesistisinbisnideniibinieommascniies 1
1. Davis v. Board of School Commissioners ........ 1
2. Parrish v. Board of Bar Commissioners ............ 2
p REA NLA TS a IRR WES sO ETS DT EN aT OOP 2
1. Davis v. Board of School Commissioners .......... 2
2. Parrish v. Board of Bar Commissioners ............ 2
Re a a aL a DITOR 3
Statutory Provisions Involved .0...............eeceeceeeeeeeeees 3
I i 5
A. Davis v. Board of School Commissioners ........ 5
B. Parrish v. Board of Bar Commissioners .......... 8
Reasons For Granting the Writ ......2....20..020.-.eeeeeeceeeee )
I ciliccaiatidesnsnccetestinsiceiendsnstinsdcetnentabiaideisedbadaniattinkamddsaanenls 19
ApPENDIX—
Order of the District Court, Davis v. Board of School
Commissioners, February 14, 1975 2... eee la
Decision of the Court of Appeals, Davis v. Board of
School Commissioners, August 21, 1975 _.....000.......... 5a
Order of the Court of Appeals Denying Rehearing,
Davis v. Board of School Commissioners, October
I I jisesihididinceeeuesctdnteseisipgisesonbassiihaniiosadibidaddiiaiaplihidhansdldeiibecuumnian 15a
ii
PAGE
Order of the District Court, Parrish v. Board of Bar
Commissioners, March 23, 1973 ....................:-:0+-0+-+ —_
Decision of the Court of Appeals, Parrish v. Board of
Bar Commissioners, December 2, 1974 .....................-.- 19a
Decision of the Court of Appeals, Parrish v. Board of
Bar Commissioners, December 4, 1975 ........................ 36a
Decision of the District Court, Robinson v. Union
Carbide Corp., August 29, 1974 ........................c--c-0+0 53a
TABLE oF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Antonello v. Wunsch, 500 F.2d 1260 (10th Cir. 1974) .... 19n
Berger v. United States, 255 U.S. 22 (1921) ...... 10, 14, 18, 19
Botts v. United States, 413 F.2d 41 (9th Cir. 1969) _..... 18
Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483 (1954) .... 6n
Commonwealth Castings Corp. v. Continental Casualty
ee SE TI TY I siiainiicciaissicrsnstnssienatiniemsomninntann —
Davis v. Board of School Commissioners, 402 U.S. 33
REESE NC nee ee Sane eee eS See ee 5
Fairfax’s Devisee v. Hunter’s Lessee, 11 U.S. (7
5 RT I nT kA On ED 16
Gallarelli v. United States, 260 F.2d 259, 261 (1st Cir.
SI lesb dmeendcnaabatien delice a i ae 19
Government of Virgin Islands v. Gereau, 502 F. od 914
SOY WEG: SUTIN tcaithaacdacstabetincdiseamnpntisoccsiovomnnahaaeticaneie manilntie 18
ili
PAGE
In re Murchison, 349 U.S. 133 (1954) 00. 16
In re Union Leader Corp., 292 F.2d 381 (1st Cir. 1961) 19
Johnson vy. Mississippi, 403 U.S. 212 (1971) —...00.... 14
Laird v. Tatum, 409 U.S. 824 (1972) seonsonesensessssenesscsercell tty AG
Mayberry v. Pennsylvania, 400 U.S. 455 (1971) —.......... 14
NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415 (1963) _...00 6
Newman v. Piggie Park Enterprises, 390 U.S. 400
SUD. scheshiteshichiniiietieincinishdtilagmetesiielcentiiadeniaiteteininmesnisiiniiaahssanie 6
Pfizer v. Lord, 456 F.2d 532 (8th Cir, 1972) 00002... 19
Public Utilities Commission v. Pollak, 343 U.S. 451
IIE: iain in acai neaioieehaesiemieitlotiniieesdacienniinien 10
Reveive Mining Co. v. Lord, —— F.2d —— (8th Cir.
SIE ~ laiaiocisiahnsianiiciutdaiesetadieimninnseansenieennvcnedlibipinsssddisatescibeeiniinn 14
Robinson v. Union Carbide Corp., 380 F.Supp. 731
NG TRIED cnieih ichachcisincathnsinnsbioccithinnsepiniciatticsepciccetmenniti 6, 13
Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U.S. 510 (1927) ~.....2.. nee 16
United States v. Bell, 351 F.2d 868 (6th Cir. 1965) ...... 19
United States v. Ming, 466 F.2d 1000 (7th Cir. 1972) ... 18
United States v. Rosciano, 499 F.2d 173 (7th Cir. 1974) 18
United States v. Thompson, 479 F.2d 1072 (3d Cir.
SUED dhiienetiadnndddisdilanibestibasiquunummnnmentimimiammenintaeaueintes 18
United States v. Tropiano, 418 F.2d 1069 (2d Cir. 1969) 18
Whitaker v. McLean, 118 F.2d 596 (D.C.Cir. 1941) ...... 19
Statutes:
ET eS Ee meee: 3, 5, 6, 8, 10, 13, 14
oer |
iv
PAGE
BF Se See 3, 4, 5, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 16, 17
Be TR: | eee 2
BD Es SD cotetteeisicetinimnnnmmnnninn ee |
8 Ee a 8
SS een 8
I. SI I nectestctineccniesinpasnikihniibcniahienoviitasinedieanaitiaseipecnesincinininaiintidia 9
Se MII TUTE ssdtnncenscoseniitesieinioniteseeiarencaniienioniotasnanieninmnanininptaninantnii 10
Sy TE: SEED hinrhensensciuntttniennestnoniseinensbessenimisienssiinisiitoubentes 4)
ny a UII ccssheiibeenceDeiutitenesiaiaeeicineittncglita 11
Legislative Materials:
eS 8 Rt: ) ee 12, i7
RD Fe 17
Hearings Before a Subcommittee of the Senate Ju-
diciary Committee on S. 1064, 93rd Cong., 1st Sess.
SEED “cxspmistisidcipieeiitscnicitaiinsieintehtadinatipnegsiasieiiidngiicienainilite “ais 13
Hearings Before the Senate Judiciary Committee on
Nominations to the United States Supreme Court,
92nd Cong., Ist Sess. (1971) —............. anhiiicadjaenticcinaia 11,17
Hearings Before the Senate Judiciary Committee on
a Nomination to the United States Supreme Court,
9ist Cong., 2d Sess. (1970) ...........................cceciessesseceesee 11, 15
Vv
PAGE
115 Cong. Ree. ...........-.. Donnanistneinianisseniainbenpisjasnisineidasaeibimiaials 11
Other Authorities:
Federal Rules of Evidence, Rule 608 ................. eiliaaddeaiees 16
Rules of the Supreme Court, Rule 23(5) -—...................... 2
Code of Judicial Conduct ..............0.......20.2.cce0-e0- isscceeld by 16, 17
Reporter’s Notes to Code of Judicial Conduct (1973) ..12, 16
Shogan, A Question of Judgment (1972) 1.00000... 11
Frank, “Disqualification of Judges,” 35 Law and
Contemp. Probs 43 (1970) ..0000...2..eeeeee 11, 15, 16,17
Frank, “Disqualification of Judges,” 56 Yale L. J.
Et, en seatnnmamenictessiniitasadialll . 10
Note, 57 Minn. L. Rev. 749 (1973) .222....2...2....-.---ccecceeeeneee 9,11
In THE
Supreme Court of the Anited States
Ocroser Term, 1975
No. 75-
Brapiz Mag Davis, Epwin Foster,
and James E. Busxey, et al.,
Petitioners,
v.
Boarp or ScHoot CoMMISSIONERS OF
Mositz County, et al.,
Aurrepo G. Parrisx, et al.,
Petitioners,
v.
Boarp oF COMMISSIONERS OF THE
AvaBaMa Stare Bar, et al.
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
FIFTH CIRCUIT
The petitioners respectfully pray that a writ of cer-
tiorari issue to review the judgments and opinions of
the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Cir-
cuit entered in these proceedings on August 21, 1975,
October 2, 1975, and December 4, 1975.
Opinions Below
1. Davis v. Board of School Commissioners
The opinion of the court of appeals is reported at 517
F.2d 1044, and is reproduced in the Appendix at pp. 5a-
14a. The order of the court of appeals denying rehear-
ing is reported at 517 F.2d 1044, and is reproduced in the
Appendix at p. 15a. The order of the district court is un-
reported and is reproduced in the Appendix at pp. la-4a.
2. Ferrish v. Board of Bar Commissioners
The opinion of the court of appeals en banc is reported
at 524 F.2d 98, and is reproduced in the Appendix at pp.
36a-52a. The earlier opinion of the panel of the court of
appeals is reported at 505 F.2d 12, and is reproduced in
the Appendix at pp. 19a-35a. The order of the court
of appeals withdrawing the panel opinion is reported at
509 F.2d 540. The order of the district court is unre-
ported and is reproduced in the Appendix at pp. 17a-18a.
Jurisdiction
1. Davis v. Board of School Commissioners
The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
August 21, 1975; a timely petition for rehearing was
denied on October 2, 1975. On December 23, 1975, Mr.
Justice Powell signed an order extending the time for
the filing of this petition until January 30, 1975 (No. A.
560). Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28
U.S.C. § 1254(1).
2. Parrish v. Board of Bar Commissioners
The judgment of the court of appeals sitting en banc
was entered on December 4, 1975. Jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).
A single petition for a writ of certiorari seeking re-
view in both cases is being filed pursuant to Rule 23(5)
of this Court, since the issues raised by these cases are
closely related.
Question Presented
Did the Court of Appeals apply the proper standards
under 28 U.S.C. § 455 and 28 U.S.C. § 144 in holding that
two federal district judges properly declined to recuse
themselves?
Statutory Provisions Involved
Section 144, 28 U.S.C., provides:
Whenever a party to any proceeding in a district
court makes and files a timely and sufficient affidavit
that the judge before whom the matter is pending has
a personal bias or prejudice either against him or in
favor of any adverse party, such judge shall proceed
no further therein, but another judge shall be assigned
to hear such proceeding.
The affidavit shall state the facts and the reasons for
the belief that bias or prejudice exists, and shall be
filed not less than ten days before the beginning of the
term at which the proceeding is to be heard, or good
cause shall be shown for failure to file it within such
time. A party may file only one such affidavit in any
case. It shall be accompanied by a certificate of coun-
sel of record stating that it is made in good faith.
Section 455, 28 U.S.C., provides in pertinent part:
(a) Any justice, judge, magistrate, or referee in
bankruptcy of the United States shall disqualify him-
self in any proceeding in which his impartiality might
reasonably be questioned.
(b) He shall also disqualify himself in the following
circumstances :
4
(1) Where he has a personal bias or prejudice
concerning a party, or personal knowledge of dis-
puted evidentiary facts concerning the proceeding;
(2) Where in private practice he served as lawyer
in the matter in controversy, or a lawyer with whom
he previously practiced law served during such as-
sociation as a lawyer concerning the matter, or the
judge or such lawyer has been a material witness
concerning it;
(3) Where he has served in governmental employ-
ment and in such capacity participated as counsel,
adviser or material witness concerning the proceed-
ing or expressed an opinion concerning the merits
of the particular case in controversy;
(4) He knows that he, individually or as a fidu-
ciary, or his spouse or minor child residing in his
household, has a financial interest in the subject
matter in controversy or in a party to the proceed-
ing, or any other interest that could be substantially
affected by the outcome of the proceeding;
(5) He or his spouse, or a person within the third
degree of relationship to either of them, or the
spouse of such a person:
(i) Is a party to the proceeding, or an officer,
director or trustee of a party;
(ii) Is acting as a lawyer in the proceeding;
(iii) Is known by the judge to have an interest
that could be substantially affected by the outcome
of the proceeding;
(iv) Is to the judge’s knowledge likely to be a
materia! witness in the proceeding.
5
(c) A judge should inform himself about his per-
sonal and fiduciary financial interests, and make a
reasonable effort to inform himself about the personal
financial interests of his spouse and minor children
residing in his household.
Prior to the 1.74 amendment, 88 Stat. 1609, 28 U.S.C.
§ 455 provided:
Any justice or judge of the United States shall dis-
qualify himself in any case in which he has a substan-
tial interest, has been of counsel, is or has been a ma-
terial witness, or is so related to or connected with
any party or his attorney as to render it improper, in
his opinion, for him to sit on the trial, appeal, or
other proceeding therein.
Statement of the Case
This petition seeks review of two decisions of the Fifth
Circuit in which the standards for recusal of a district
judge under 28 U.S.C. § 144 and the 1974 amendments to
28 U.S.C. § 455 were determined. The procedural history
and facts of the two cases will be described separately.
A. Davis v. Board of School Commissioners
Davis is a school desegregation case originating in the
Southern District of Alabama involving Mobile, Alabama.
Following the decision of this Court in 1971, 402 U.S. 33,
a desegregation plan was entered by stipulation of the par-
ties. In 1974 petitioners Edwin Foster and James E. Bus-
key, both black assistant principals, were permitted to in-
tervene in Davis to seek relief against alleged discrimina-
tion in promotions by the Mobile School Board.’ Counsel
* See the Court of Appea’s’ decision at pp. 7a-8a.
6
for both intervenors was James U. Blacksher, also counsel
for the original plaintiffs in the school desegregation case ;
his co-counsel are attorneys employed by the NAACP Le-
gal Defense and Educational Fund, Inc., an organiza.ion
whose main purpose is the support of litigation brought
under the various civil rights acts and the Constitution to
establish and enforce the rights of black citizens. The
judge to whom the case was then assigned was the Hon.
William Brevard Hand.
On September 27 and November 20, 1974, respectively,
petitioners Foster and Buskey filed essentially identical
motions and affidavits pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 144, seeking
recusal of Judge Hand. The affidavits were based pri-
marily on an opinion entered by Judge Hand one month
earlier in an entirely different civil rights case in which
Mr. Blacksher and the Legal Defense Fund attorneys were
also involved, Robinson v. Union Carbide Corp., 380 F.Supp.
731 (S.D. Ala. 1974). In Robinson aggressive private en-
forcement of public policies which “Congress considered
of the highest priority,” Newman v. Piggie Park Enter-
prises, 390 U.S. 400, 409 (1968), was condemned by Judge
Hand as “perfidy”. P. 56a. Concerted activity to vindicate
through litigation the civil rights of blacks, accorded First
Amendment protection by NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415
(1963), was attacked by Judge Hand as a “tragedy” entail-
ing “the destruction of the high quality of the legal profes-
sion.” P. 57a. The affidavit of petitioner Foster and the
relevant portions of the Robinson opinion are set out in
the Appendix, pp. 13a-14a, 53a-57a. The affidavits alleged
that Judge Hand had, through extra-judicial sources,
formed the opinion that plaintiffs in civil rights actions
2See NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415, 421, n. 5 (1963); the
Legal Defense Fund has been involved in numerous eases before
this Court, including Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483
(1954).
7
who were represented by Mr. Blacksher and/or Legal De-
fense Fund attorneys did not have valid grievances, but
had been solicited by the attorneys to present unwarranted
claims to further various unconscionable purposes of the
attorneys. Judge Hand was thus alleged to be biased
against petitioners Foster and Buskey and unwilling to
judge their claims on the basis of the facts adduced at trial
or the applicable law.
Judge Hand denied the motions, partly on the basis
that, as a matter of fact, he was not biased. The district
judge certified the question to the court of appeals under
28 U.S.C. § 1292(b), pp. la-4a, and the court granted peti-
tions for leave to file interlocutory appeals. On August
21, 1975, a panel of the court of appeals affirmed Judge
Hand’s refusal to recuse himself on the ground that, re-
gardless of whether the affidavits in fact demonstrated
bias or the appearance of bias, the affidavits were legally
insufficient. First, the court held that a party could not
base recusal on actions taken or statements made by a
judge in court, but could only rely on extra-judicial events.
Since the evidence of Judge Hand’s prejudice consisted of
in-court statements, that evidence was subject to the court’s
exclusionary rule, even though the statements relied upon
occurred in an entirely separate case. Second, the court
held that evidence of bias or prejudice directed at a party’s
lawyers also could not be considered, and since the evi-
dence itself was inadmissible it could not be relied upon
to infer that a judge implacably hostile to an attorney
might, for that reason, be or appear to be less than fair to
his clients. Pp. 9a-13a. A timely petition for rehearing was
denied on October 2, 1975.
8
B. Parrish v. Board of Bar Commissioners
Parrish is an action brought under 42 U.S.C. §§ 1981 and
1983, charging that the Board of Examiners of the Alabama
State Bar, its members and officials, had, both intention-
ally and because of the effect of bar examinations and
their method of administration, discriminated against black
applicants for admission to the bar. The case arose in
the Middle District of Alabama and was assigned to Judge
Robert E. Varner.
During the preliminary phases of the litigation questions
arose concerning Judge Varner’s impartiality; to clarify
the matter Judge Varner submitted to questions by counsel
for plaintiff at a hearing held for this purpose. Appendix
pp. 24a-25a. In that testimony Judge Varner acknowledged
his personal friendship with most of the defendants, and
his confidence in the veracity and integrity of key defense
witnesses. Promptly after this hearing plaintiffs filed a
motion and affidavit under 28 U.S.C. 4 144 to recuse Judge
Varner. Plaintiffs urged, inter alia, that both Judge
Varner’s recent leadership role in a bar association that
excluded blacks, and his preconceived and extra-judicial
belief in the veracity of defendants in a case where their
credibility as to intentional discrimination would be a
major issue, required that he disqualify himself.
The District Judge declined to recuse himself. Shortly
thereafter he granted defendants’ motion for summary
judgment. Plaintiffs’ claim that the defendants had en-
gaged in intentional racial discrimination in administering
the state bar examination was denied on the ground, inter
alia, that the defendants had submitted conclusory affi-
davits denying it. An appeal from the final order granting
summary judgment and dismissing the complaint was taken,
and the recusal question was one of the issues presented
on appeal.
9
On December 12, 1974, a panel of the Fifth Circuit
(Judges Tuttle, Wisdom, and Gee), reversed the refusal
of Judge Varner to recuse himself in Parrish. Appendix,
pp. 19a-35a. On February 20, 1975, the court of appeals
sua sponte withdrew its opinion, 509 F.2d 540; on June 5,
1975, it informed the parties that it had, also sua sponte,
decided to hear Parrish en banc, and invited the parties to
file additional briefs.* On December 4, 1975, the court
issued its en banc decision in Parrish. The majority opin-
ion written by Judge Bell, the author of the panel decision
in Davis, concluded that neither § 144 nor § 455 required
recusal.‘ Four judges concurred specially and three dis-
sented, Pp. 36a-52a.
Reasons for Granting the Writ
This case arises out of the most recent attempt by Con-
gress to tighten the standards as to when a federal judge
must recuse himself from a case.
The first such statute, adopted in 1792 to overcome the
manifest inadequacy of the common law regarding re-
cusal, authorized disqualification on a number of specified
grounds.’ The succeeding versions of this provision ex-
isted until 1974 as 28 U.S.C. § 455. Over the years the
lower courts so narrowed the applicability of these enum-
erated grounds,® so broadened the discretion of judges in
=
3 The case was not set for reargument en banc.
* Section 3 of the Act amending § 455 provides that the amend-
ments apply to any appeal which had not been fully submitted
to the appellate court prior to December 5, 1974. Briefs were filed
in both Parrish and Davis subsequent to that date. See p. 4la.
51 Stat. 278.
* Note, 57 Minn. L.Rev. 749, 752 (1973).
10
applying the statute,’ as to render the statute largely
ineffective.
This process of emasculation led Congress to adopt in
1911 the provisions now codified as 28 U.S.C. § 144.* Sec-
tion 144 provides that a judge must disqualify himself
upon the filing of an affidavit by the party stating that
he believes the judge to be biased or prejudiced and
stating the reasons for the affiant’s belief. In 1921 this
Court handed down its only construction of section 144
in Berger v. Umted States, 255 U.S. 22 (1921), which
directed that a judge with a firm belief in the disloyalty
of German emigrants disqualify himself from presiding
at a trial of Gerraan-Americans charged with espionage.
This Court, reading section 144 literally and in light of
its legislative purpose, held that the “facts and reasons”
in the required affidavit need not prove the judge was in
fact biased, but need only have a reasonable relation to
the affiant’s belief and be neither “frivolous [n]or fan-
eiful”. 225 U.S. at 33-34. The policy underlying the
statute was stated to be “that the tribunals of the coun-
try shail not only be impartial in the controversies sub-
mitted to them, but shall give assurance that they are
impartial.” 255 U.S. at 35-36. In Public Utilities Com-
mission v. Pollak, 343 U.S. 451, 466-67 (1952) Mr. Jus-
tice Frankfurter disqualified himself out of a concern
“that the administration of justice should reasonably ap-
pear to be disinterested as well as to be so in fact.” In
1968 this Court concluded that, as a matter of “constitu-
tional principle”, “any tribunal permitted by law to try
° Saas “Disqualification of Judges”, 56 Yale L.J. 605, 628
1947).
®* The congressional debates leading to the enactment of section
144, 36 Stat. 1090, were expressly directed at the defects of section
455 as it then existed.
1
cases and controversies not only must be unbiased but
also must avoid even the appearance of bias.” Common-
wealth Coatings Corp. v. Continental Casualty Co., 393
U.S. 145, 150 (1968). In the lower courts, however, the
efficacy of section 144 was steadily eroded by a series
of judicially fashioned exceptions and technicalities and
an increasingly open refusal to adhere to the standard set
in Berger itself.®
The most recent legislation, Pub. L. 93-512, which is
the subject of this petition, arose out of a series of con-
troversies regarding actual or proposed members of this
Court.’® In the course of that controversy the American
Bar Association in 1969 appointed a committee to review
generally the standards of judicial conduct." In June,
1970, the ABA committee circulated a draft Standards
of Judicial Conduct which, with regard to recusal, ex-
panded the specific categories of situations requiring dis-
qualification. In July legislation was proposed in the Sen-
ate to modify section 455 by incorporating a similar
enumeration, but adding a broadly worded provision re-
quiring disqualification in any case where participation
would “create an appearance of impropriety.”* In the
* See p. 46a; Note, 57 Minn. L.Rev. 749, 755 (1973).
10 See Shogan, A Question of Judgment (1972) ; 115 Cong. Ree.
34049, 34268, 34275, 34287, 34375, 34425, 34432, 34450, 34553,
34597, 34825, 34843, 34861, 35120, 35130, 35368, 35395, (1969) ;
S. Exec. Rep. No. 91-92, 91st Cong., Ist Sess. (1969) ; Frank, “Dis-
qualification of Judges,” 35 Law and Contemp. Probs. 43, 60-61
(1970); Hearings Before the Senate Judiciary Committee on a
Nomination to the United States Supreme Court, 91st Cong., 2d
Sess., 41, 49-50 (1970); Hearings Before the Senate Judiciary
Committee on Nominations to the United States Supreme Court,
92nd Cong., Ist Sess., 49-50, 60-61, 73-74, 203-05 (1971).
11Frank, “Disqualification of Judges’, 35 Law and Contemp.
Probs 438, 62 (1970).
2 Id., 63, 68.
12
ensuing debate within the ABA committee the Senate
proposal for such a catch-all clause was accepted, and
Canon 3C(1) prefaced the enumeration of specific cir-
cumstances requiring disqualification with the words “A
judge should disqualify himself in a proceeding in which
his impartiality might reasonably »e questioned, includ-
ing but not limited to instances where: ....” The Re-
porter’s Notes relied on Commonwealth Castings, and
stressed that “Although the specific standards cover most
of the situations in which disqualification will arise, the
general standard should not be overlooked.”** The new
Canons were adopted by the ABA in 1972, and by the
Judicial Conference of the United States in April 1973.
Legislative proposals by various Senators resulted, in De-
cember, 1974, in the adoption of a comprehensive new
version of section 455 which is substantially identical to
Canon 3C, except for the addition of subsection (b) (3)
which deals with the recusal problem discussed in Laird
v. Tatum, 409 U.S. 824 (1972). Section 455(a) contains
the broad language sought since 1970 by the Senate spon-
sors requiring a judge to disqualify himself “in any pro-
ceeding in which his impartiality might reasonably be
questoned.” *®
Parrish and Davis are the first decisions construing and
applying section 455. In both cases the issue of recusal
arose at a preliminary stage when an appellate decision
in favor of recusal would not require a retrial, and in both
instances, of course, there were available to hear the case
other federal judges whose background would not raise
the troublesome question posed by Judges Varner and
18 Reporter’s Notes to Code of Judicial Conduct, 60 (1973).
14 See S.Rep. No. 93-419, p. 6 (1973).
18 See id., p. 5.
13
Hand. Petitioners maintain that the decisions of the court
of appeals have, within a year of its adoption, virtually
nullified the new section 455.
Section 455 was intended to overcome the problems which
had rendered section 144 ineffective by adopting in sub-
section (a) a broad disqualification requirement with ab-
solutely no limitations as to type of potential bias, source
of potential bias, or procedure. The Senate sponsor urged
that section 455 was necessary because “No statute creates
more distrust than does the section 144 procedure for dis-
qualification”.’* Davis overcomes this legislative plan by
the simple expedient of expressly reading into section 455
every limitation it believes existed under section 144. The
indisputable evidence in Davis reveals that Judge Hand
in the Robinson case expressed implacable hostility to
civil rights litigants represented by Mr. Blacksher and
Legal Defense Fund attorneys, characterizing their efforts
to enforce federal civil rights laws as “perfidy”. Pp. 56a-
57a. Plaintiffs in the Davis case filed a detailed affidavit
documenting the reasons for their belief that Judge Hand
regarded them and all other parties represented by
Blacksher as having grievances thet were invalid and un-
warranted. Pp. 13a-l4a. It cannot be seriously questioned
that, in the literal terms of that statute, a reasonable man
could doubt the impartiality of Judge Hand in civil rights
eases handled by Mr. Blacksher and his associates. The
Fifth Cireuit avoided this otherwise inescapable conclu-
sion by holding that none of the evidence on which peti-
tioners rely is legally “available.”
The court of appeals adopted from its reading of see-
tion 144 case law two distinct exclusionary rules pro-
hibiting consideration of evidence that a judge is prejudiced
against a party’s counsel or of evidence coming to light in,
16 Hearings Before a Subcommittee of the Senate Judiciary Com-
mittee on 8.1064, 93rd Cong., Ist Sess., 13 (1973).
14
or of prejudice due to events in, any judicial proceeding.
The court did not deny that a reasonable man could sensibly
not fear that a judge would vent his hostility towards a
lawyer on the lawyer’s clients, or that reasonable men in
assessing a judge's impartiality would consider how the
judge conducted himself in court. The court of appeals
reasoned, rather, that the Congress which repealed the old
section 455 and regarded section 144 as ineffective intended
to apply to the new section 455 the gloss which some lower
courts had used to debilitate section 144. Nothing in the
language or legislative history of section 455(a) suggests
any such congressional intent to so emasculate that stat-
ute. Moreover, the Fifth Circuit’s conclusion that such
evidence was inadmissible prior to section 455 is incon-
sistent with this Court’s decisions in Berger, which involved
evidence of prejudice arising in judicial proceeding, and
Johnson vy. Mississippi, 403 U.S. 212, 215 (1971), which
relied heavily on evidence that the judge in that case was
prejudiced against a party’s attorney. See also Mayberry
v. Pennsylvania, 400 U.S. 453 (1971); Reserve Mining Co.
v. Lord, —— F.2d —— (8th Cir. 1976).
In Parrish, unlike Davis, the court of appeals held the
evidence adduced was admissible, but applied a standard
as to when impartiality can be questioned so high that it
cannot be met in virtually any conceivable case. The re-
quest for recusal in Parrish is grounded upon five factors,
any one of which should be sufficient to require a judge
to step aside. First, the judge candidly conceded his be-
lief that the key defense witness, the Secretary of the
Commission, a close personal friend of the judge, would
not lie.’? Second, the judge was admittedly a close per-
‘7 “T think Mr. Scott is an honorable man .... I think he would
try to tell you the truth in his answers.” Transcript of Hearing
of December 22, 1972, p. 21. The testimony of Scott is critical to
the issue of whether the Commissioners could have known the race
of the applicants whose tests they were grading.
15
sonal friend of two of the defendants, and acquainted with
at least 7 of the other defendants, but did not know any
of the plaintiffs."* Third, since the judge was a member
of the defendant Bar Association, which is dependent for
its funds on assessments of its members, he faced indirect
personal liability for any costs, counsel fees or damages
that might be awarded to plaintiffs. P. 43a. Fourth, there
were serious questions as to whether the judge had, only
a few years earlier, supported or condoned racial discrim-
ination by the Montgomery County Bar Association similar
to that alleged to have been practiced by the state bar
association. Pp. 43a, 49a. Fifth, the attorney who rep-
resents the defendants in this case is also representing
Judge Varner in connection with an investigation of the
conduct of Judge Varner in an unrelated case.’*® The
en banc majority in Parrish concluded that, despite this
extraordinary combination of circumstances, a reasonable
man could not reasonably question Judge Varner’s im-
partiality. P. 42a.
If there was ever a period in American jurisprudence
when reasonable men would not doubt the fairness of a
judge in such a case,” “the times have changed”’.*' Past
18 Td, pp. 6, 8, 20-21.
1° This circumstance arose while Parrish was pending on appeal
and bears on whether Judge Varner should sit when the case is
remanded for further proceedings.
2° Admittedly the standards were rather lax in the eighteenth
century. See Frank, “Disqualification of Judges”, 35 Law and
Contemp. Probs 43, 44 (1970).
*1 Hearings Before the Senate Judiciary Committee on a Nom-
ination to the United States Supreme Court, 91st Cong., 2d Sess.,
41 (1970). (Statement of Mr. Justice Blackmun) Regarding the
“evolving standards” as to when a judge should withdraw from
a case, Mr. Justice Blackmun reiterated “I think the times have
changed a great deal in the past 5 years and I would not say for
the worse by any means.”
ee
16
practice in this Court suggests that no member of the Court
would participate in a decision in this case if he bore the
same relationship to the defendants, the defense witnesses,
and the defendants’ attorney as did Judge Varner. The
district judge’s personal knowledge of the veracity of the
key defense witnesses would doubtless render him an ideal
character witness,” but section 455(b)(1) forbids a judge
from sitting in any case where he has such “personal
knowledge of disputed evidentiary facts.” Compare Laird
v. Tatum, 409 U.S, 824, 826-7 (1972) (Rhenquist, J.).** As
a member of the defendant Bar Association the judge also
has financial “interest that could be substantially affected
by the outcome of the proceeding.” Section 455(b)(2).*
Compare Fairfax’s Devisee v. Hunter’s Lessee, 11 US.
(7 Cranch) 603 (1813).*%° For Judge Varner to sit in a
case where his personal lawyer represented one of the
parties would be to raise tue same type of question of pos-
sible bias as would exist if he heard a case in which his
22 Federal Rules of Evidence, Rule 608. Of course Canon 2 for-
bids a judge from testifying voluntarily as a character witness.
See Reporter's Notes to Code of Judical Conduct, p. 49 (1973).
It would be incongruous, to say the least, if the Canons forbade
a judge from being a voluntary witness in such a case but did not
preclude him from volunteering to adjudicate it.
23 This rule is constitutionally required. In re Murchison, 349
U.S. 133, 138 (1954), forbade a judge who had sat as a one-man
grand jury from trying a prosecution for contempt because he
had “personal knowledge and impression of what occurred in the
grand jury room.”
“4 This may not constitute a “financial interest’ within the mean-
ing of section 455(d) (4), but section 455(b) (4) ineludes not only
financial interests but “any other interest”, a category expressly
intended to have “a broad sweep”. Reporter's Notes To Code of
Judicial Conduct, 66 (1973).
°° Regarding the nature of Chief Justice Marshall’s interest see
Frank, “Disqualification of Judges”, 35 Law and Contemp. Probs.
43, 45 (1970). This rule is also constitutionally mandated. Tumey
v. Ohio, 273 U.S. 510 (1927).
»
17
son was of counsel.** The partiality of any judge would
clearly subject to question in a case in which one of the
parties, or a victim of the crime involved, was a personal
friend.
It is difficult to believe that the draftsmen of the amended
section 455 would have been less than astonished at the
suggestion that, after five years of congressional debate
and the enactment of the most sweeping recusal statute in
the history of the federal courts, Judges Varner and Hand
could still sit in these cases. In the face of the decisions
below section 455 is virtually a dead letter in the Fifth
Cireuit. Davis is likely to exclude most relevant evidence
of potential bias, and whatever is admissible is likely to be
less persuasive than the facts in Parrish. This Court should
not permit a salutary enactment designed to substantially
broaden the circumstances requiring recusal to be so nulli-
fied in less than a year after it enactment by Congress.
In amending section 455 Congress was concerned with
more than the rights and interests of particular litigants.
The disputes regarding nominations to this Court reflected
a conviction that it is “quite important for the public to
have confidence in the members of the Court that they
have no interest other than to do justice under law.” *’
Both the House and Senate reports stressed that general
language of the new section 455 was “designed to promote
public confidence in the impartiality of the judicial pro-
cess.” ** See Code of Judicial Conduct, Canon 2 (A).** The
26 The evolving standard applied by members of this Court in
that situation is discussed in Frank, “Disqualification of Judges”,
35 Law and Contemp. Probs. 43, 46-48 (1970).
*7 Hearings Before the Senate Judiciary Committee on Nomina-
tions to the United States Supreme Court, 92nd Cong., Ist Sess..
204 (1971) (Statement of Mr. Justice Powell).
28S. Rep. No. 93-419, 5 (1973) ; H.R. Rep. 93-1453, p. 5 (1974).
29 “A judge should . . . conduct himself at all times in a manner
that promotes public confidence in the integrity and impartiality
of the judiciary.”
18
willingness of disputing parties to submit their disagree-
ments to the judiciary for resolution, to cooperate with
and facilitate the established judicial procedures, and to
acquiesce in the conclusions reached by those tribunals,
depends above all on their belief that the judges will act
impartially. It is for this reason that the effective ad-
ministration of justice requires of all judges who may hear
a case that they “be fair and that they appear to be fair—
to the [parties], to those who are deeply interested in
[their] future, and to the public at large.” United States
v. Rosciano, 499 F.2d 173, 175 (7th Cir. 1974) (Stevens, J.,
dissenting). To permit Judges Hand and Varner to con-
tinue to sit in these cases would be inimical to the public
confidence which Congress was intent upon restoring.
The decisions below are also squarely inconsistent with
this Court’s decision in Berger. Berger held that an affi-
davit would be sufficient for purposes of section 144 if the
facts alleged provide a reasonable basis for the affiant’s
belief that the judge is prejudiced against him. 255 U.S. at
33-34. The dissenters in the Parrish, en banc decision, who
were the original majority in the panel decisien, expressly
adhered to this “subjective” standard. Pp. 3la-35a. The
panel in Davis and the en banc majority in Parrish insisted
that the affdavit must demonstrate that the judge is in
fact biased. Pp. 10a-12a, 49a. Judge Gee, specially con-
curring in Parrish, attackea Berger as “an outdated rule”,
expressed his conviction that this Court would decide
Berger otherwise today, and urged the court of appeals to
openly disregard that decision. Pp. 44a-47a. As of now
the circuits are divided on whether Berger is still good law.
Four circuits adhere to Berger, holding an affidavit suffi-
cient if it gives fair support to the affiant’s belief,®® four
3° United States v. Tropiano, 418 F.2d 1069, 1077 (2d Cir. 1969) ;
United States v. Thompson, 479 F.2d 1072, 1073-74 (3d Cir. 1973) ;
Government of Virgin Islands v. Gereau, 502 F.2d 914, 932 (3d
Cir. 1974) ; United States v. Ming, 466 F.2d 1000, 1004 (7th Cir.
1972) ; Botts v. United States, 413 F.2d 41 (9th Cir. 1969).
Mims Rnd itch 42. taut blest hada
<del aA BS + we
Riri ua. ahead Send 2 ~
19
circuits, including the Fifth, now require the affidavit to
prove prejudice in fact,*’ and two circuits, while rephrasing
Berger, have nonetheless rejected any requirement that bias
be proven.” This broad conflict as to the vitality of Berger
is sufficient, in and of itself, to require a grant of certiorari.
CONCLUSION
For the above reasons, a Writ of Certiorari should issue
to review the judgments and opinions of the Fifth Cireuit.
Respecifully submitted,
Micuae. I. Sovern
435 W. 116th Street
New York, New York 10027
JacK GREENBERG
James M. Nasairt, III
CuHarLes STEPHEN RaLsTon
Eric ScHNAPPER
10 Columbus Circle
Suite 2030
New York, New York 10019
J. E. BuacksHer
Crawford, Blacksher & Kennedy
1407 Davis Avenue
Mobile, Alabama 36603
U. W. Ciemon
Adams, Baker & Clemon
2121 North Eighth Avenue
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
Attorneys for Petitioners
*1 United States v. Bell, 351 F.2d 868, 879 (6th Cir. 1965);
Pfizer v. Lord, 456 F.2d 532, 537 (8th Cir. 1972); Antonello v.
Wunsch, 500 F.2d 1260 (10th Cir. 1974).
82 In re Union Leader Corp., 292 F.2d 381, 389 (1st Cir. 1961) ;
Gallarelli v. United States, 260 F.2d 259, 261 (1st Cir. 1958);
Whitaker v. McLean, 118 F.2d 596 (D.C. Cir. 1941).
APPENDIX
e
%
2
‘*
Order of the District Court, February 13, 1975
IN THE
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
For THE
SoutHEerN District oF ALABAMA
SouTHERN Dtvtsion
Civil Action No. 3003-63-H
Brrore Mae Davis, et al.,
Plaintiffs,
Unitep States oF AMERICA, ©
Plaintiff-Intervenor,
Epwin Foster,
Plaintiff-Intervenor,
James E. Buskey,
Plaintiff-Intervenor,
vs.
Boarp oF Scuoot Commissioners OF MosiLte Country, et al.,
Defendants.
ORDER
Plaintiff-Intervenor, James E. Buskey, having filed an
affidavit pursuant to the provisions of 28 U.S.C. §144 for
the Judge to recuse himself from further proceeding in
la
2a Order of the District Court, February 13, 1975
or presiding over any aspect of this trial and the Court
having considered the same in light of what the Court
understands to be the law as set forth in Parrish v. Board
of Commissioners of Alabama State Bar, Court of Appeals
Case #73-3553, #74-1523, Denies the same and certifies
this issue to the Court of Appeals pursuant to the provi-
sions of 28 U.S.C., §1292(b).
As this Court interprets the opinion of the Court of
Appeals in Parrish, supra, when an affidavit such as is
found herein is made, there is imposed upon the Judge
the duty of determining whether or not that affidavit is
as required and specified by the statute and is legally
sufficient. As this Court understands the test, it is whether
the facts alleged could reasonably lead to the belief by
the affiant that what the affidavit says exists did in fact
exist in the mind of the affiant.
In support of the affidavit, affiant attached a copy of
this Judge’s opinion in the case of Robinson v. Union
Carbide, Civil Action No. 7583-73-H, a case now on ap-
peal to the Court of Appeals, and one of the Court’s
rulings rendered in Birdie Mae Davis, et al. v. Board of
School Commissioners, etc., et al., Civil Action No. 3003-
63-H entered on August 16, 1974, which incidentally is
also now part of the an appeal to the Court of Appeals.’
The affidavit states that affiant, upon request of his coun-
sel, read the aforementioned opinion and order and came
to his conclusion as a result thereof. No where does it
appear in the affidavit or statement that counsel for af-
fiant furnished or offered him a copy of the transcript
forming the factual basis for the opinion in Union Car-
bide nor the related petitions and orders constituting the
1 Civil Action #74-8484.
Order of the District Court, February 13, 1975 3a
basis of this Court’s Order of August 16, 1974 in Birdie
Mae Davis. Such selectivity of evidence has been used
through the ages to produce desired results envisioned
by the motivating force or at least this was so until the
adoption of the Constitution and the Bill of Rights of the
United States.
Among other conclusions drawn bv affiant in his affi-
davit is that, “In particular Judge Hand is biased and
prejudiced against anyone or any group of persons * * *
presenting * * * claims through attorneys employed by/or
associated with the NAACP Legal Defense and Educa-
tional Fund, Inc. * * * ete.”, and concluded members of
his race could not fare well before him. By admission,
counsel furnished only two selected matters and ignored
providing affiant with opinions where members of his
race fared fairly, where the judgments were the result
of consent decrees, and where some of the parties were
represented by the Legal Defense and Educational Fund,
Inc. along with their associated counsel. (See attached
Exhibits A, B, C, D, E, F & G.) Though there are
others this Order will not be burdened by the same, save
to refer to the fact that the Order represented by Ex-
hibit G. was appealed to the Court of Appeals and af-
firmed. Other instances where members of the Black
race, the race of Mr. Buskey, have appeared before this
Court and were apparently treated fairly are reflected by
the files of this Court and are open for the public’s re-
view as it and affiant sees fit to review them.
The Court does not consider that the affidavit and the
certification by counsel is legally sufficient within the
meaning of the law. However, this Judge does not feel
that he should be the final word on the question of his
possible bias or bent of mind or passion or prejudice or
4a Order of the District Court, February 13, 1975
on the question of his ethics and is thus willing to re-
sign the final decision in this to the Almighty, posterity
‘and the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit and is
more than happy to start with the Court of Appeals.
Forthe reasons expressed herein, the affidavit request-
ing this Judge to recuse himself is hereby Dentep and
the cause certified to the Court of Appeals pursuant to
28 U.S.C., §$1292(b).
Done this 13th day of February, 1975.
W. B. Harp
United States District Judge
A note should be made of Canon 8 (E.C. 8-6) and Canon 1 of
the Code of Professional Responsibility adopted by the American
Bar Association August 12, 1969 and effective January 1, 1970.
7
i
%
4
a
i
“3s
z
S
;
&
>
i
c
se |
;
!
Opinion of the Court of Appeals, August 21, 1975
United States Court of Appeals,
Fifth Circuit.
Nos. 74-3894, 75-1312, 74-4257
and 75-1827.
Aug. 21, 1975.
Birdie Mae DAVIS et al., Plaintiffs-Ap-
pellants, United States of America,
Plaintiff-Intervenor, Edwin Foster,
Plaintiff-Intervenor,
v.
BOARD OF SCHOOL COMMISSION-
ERS OF MOBILE COUNTY et al.,
Defendants-Appellees.
James E. BUSKEY et al.,
Plaintiffs-Appellants,
v.
BOARD OF SCHOOL COMMISSION.
ERS OF MOBILE. COUNTY et al.,
Defendants-Appellees.
Birdie Mae DAVIS et al., Plaintiffs,
United States of America, Plaintiff-
Intervenor, James E. Buskey, Plain-
tiff-Intervenor-Appellant,
v.
BOARD OF SCHOOL COMMISSION-
ERS OF MOBILE COUNTY et al.,
Defendants-Appellees.
1. See Davis v. Board of School Commissioners
of Mobiie County, 430 F.2d 883, S85 n. i (Sth
Cir. 1970) (Motule IX) for citations to earlier
appeals. See also Davis v. Board of School
Commissioners of Mobile County, 483 F.2d
1017 (5th Cir. 1973) (Mobile X),; National Ed-
Appeals from the United. States Dis-
trict Court for the Southern District of
Alabama.
Before BELL, AINSWORTH and
GODBOLD, Circuit Judges.
BELL, Circuit Judge:
This is the thirteenth appeal in the
Mobile school case (Mobile XIII), which
ease began in 1963.! The questions
presented are illustrative of problems en-
eountered in winding down a school case
Some are important to the administra-
tion of final school desegregation decree.
One centers on an effort te disqualify
the district judge, The questions arise
out of four separate appeals which we
have consolidated.
The district court entered a con-
sent order on July 9, 1971 adopting a
“Somprehensive Plan for a Unitary
Schoo! System” as formulated by the
parties. That plan, and the district
ucatior Assn. v. Board of School Com nission-
ers of Mobile County, 483 F.2d 1022 (Sth Cir.
1973) (Mobiie X!}; Davis v. Buard of Schoo!
Commissivners of Mobile County, 496 §£.2d
118] (Sth Cir. 1974) (Mobile Xi/).
6a
court consent order thereon, adopted the
following requirement of Singleton v.
Jackson Municipal Separate School Dis-
trict, 5 Cir. (en banc), 1970, 419 F.2d
1211:
“Staff members who work directly
with children, and professional staff
who work on the administrative level
will be hired, assigned, promoted, paid,
demoted, dismissed, and otherwise
treated without regard to race, color,
or national origin.”
See also Carter v. West Feliciana Parish
School Board, 5 Cir., 1970, 432 F.2d 875.
Jurisdiction of the district court con-
tinued over the matter as a class action.
Meanwhile, this court held that the prop-
er and orderly procedure to be followed
by third parties in seeking to question
deficiencies in the implementation of de-
segregation orders or for further relief
in ongeing school cases is by petition to
intervene. See Hines v. Rapides Parish
School Board, 5 Cir., 1973, 479 F.2d 762;
Lee v. Macon County Board of Educa-
tion (Conecuh County), 5 Cir., 1973, 482
F.2d 1253. Thereafter in Mobile XI, we
rejected the effort of the National Edu-
cation Association to superimpose a class
action on behalf of the black school ad-
ministrators and teachers in the system
on the pending class action. National
Education Association, supra, n. 1, 483
F.2d 1022 (NEA). In doing so, we
pointed to our prior decisions which re-
quired any complaint of discrimination
within the scope of a pending school suit
to be advanced by petition to intervene
in that case.
2. No. 75-1312 was numbered as No. 74-8484
prior to our allowing the interlocutory appeal.
No. 75-1827 was No. 75-8063 before being
allowed.
3. Buskey filed an identical motion but has not
appealed. Ir the circumstances, one appeal
will suffice to settle the question presented.
DAVIS v. BD. OF SCH. COM’RS OF MOBILE CTY.
I
Undaunted by these decisions, counsel
for the plaintiffs here proceeded to file
two new class actions. One was filed on
behalf of Edwin Foster, a black assistant
school principal, and another on behalf
of James E. Buskey, also a black assist-
ant school principal. Each claimed dis-
crimination in having been denied pro-
motion to principal. The district court
dismissed each suit with leave to inter-
vene in Birdie Mae Davis. Each there-
after intervened but Buskey appeals
nevertheless from the order of dismissal.
This is No. 744257.
Two of the appeals are interlocutory
and are brought under 28 U-.S.C.A.
§ 1292(b). These are Nos. 75-1312 and
75—18272 The appeals are from orders
denying the motions of Foster and Bus-
key, respectively, to disqualify the dis-
trict judge for bias under 28 U.S.C.A.
§ 1443
The other appeal, No. 74-3894, is by
the original class in Birdie Mae Davis
from an order of the district court re-
fusing to issue an order to show cause
why the defendant school board should
not be held in contempt for failure to
comply with the desegregation consent
order relative to professional promotions.
As will be seen, we find no merit in
these appeals and affirm as to each. We
do give some direction to the district
court with respect to the range of dis-
covery to be allowed in the further pro-
ceedings in the Foster and Buskey cases
on remand. It is to be remembered
that only their claims of discrimination
4. The discovery problem came up as a part of
the Foster interlocutory appeal allowed from
the denial of the motion to disqualify the dis-
trict judge.
DAVIS v. BD. OF SCH. COM’RS OF MOBILE CTY. 7a
in the refusal to promote them to the
position of school principal are pending
for resolution on the merits. All other
matters before us are part of a procedur-
al tangle.
Il.
A brief chronology of the procedural!
events will assist in understanding our
disposition of the several issues.
(A) The Foster suit, filed on January
25, 1974 as a “Complaint in Interven-
tion”, sought to maintain a class action
consisting of “black persons holding de-
grees in Administration and Supervision
who have been passed over for promo-
tion solely by reason of their race and
color”. This complaint followed an earli-
er independent suit by Foster, filed Octo-
ber 5, 1973, which had been dismissed on
the authority of NEA, supra, with leave
being granted for him to intervene in
the Birdie Mae Davis case.
(B) Interrogatories were served on
March 15, 1974 by Mr. Foster on the
school superintendent in an effort to de-
velop detailed facts with respect to prin-
cipals and assistant principals as wel! as
the entire administrative and supervisory
force of the Mobile school system.
(C) The district court set the matter
for class action determination on Febru-
ary 22, 1974. No basis for maintaining
such an action having been offered, the
court entered an order on March 25, 1974
that the matter could not be maintained
as a class action.
(D) On July 2, 1974, counsel for Foster
moved to compel answers to the earlier
filed interrogatories. A magistrate en-
tered an order on July 8, 1974 requiring
that the interrogatories be answered.
Defendants moved for reconsideration
and the district court, on July 15, 1974,
entered an order denying the motion to
compel answers with leave to Foster to
file interrogatories germane to his com-
plaint.
(E) There were two filings on July 19,
1974. The same interrogatories were
served on the school superintendent on
behalf of the Birdie Mae Davis class in
the underlying suit by co-counsel for
Foster (who, coincidentally, was one of
counsel for the plaintiffs in Birdie Mae
Davis and had only recently joined the
Foster case as co-counsel for Foster). In
addition, Foster moved for reconsidera-
tion of the order of July 15, 1974.
(F) On July 31, 1974, defendants
moved for a protective order as to the
Birdie Mae Davis interrogatories. On
the same day, the district court entered
an order denying the motion of Foster
for reconsideration, and recited, as a ba-
sis for the order, that the court had not
been made aware to date of any claim of
discrimination other than the Foster
claim. (It appears that the Buskey suit,
hereafter discussed, had been filed on
July 12, 1974. It was filed by co-counsel,
also as a separate suit rather than as an
intervention, and sought to maintain a
class action on behalf of “all past,
present and future Negro professional
employees” of the school system.)
(G) On August 8, 1974, co-counsel for
Foster, who is, as stated, one of the law-
yers representing the Birdie Mae Davis
class, attempted to reopen the Birdie
Mae Davis case through the vehicle of a
motion for an order to show cause why
the defendants, collectively and separate-
ly, should not be held in contempt for
failure to comply with that part of the
earlier consent order of the court requir-
ing appointment of the professionali staff
without regard to race or color. The
motion was based on the Foster and
Buskey claims.
(H) On August 16, 1974, the district
court granted the motion of defendants
8a DAVIS v. BD. OF SCH. COM’RS OF MOBILE CTY.
for a protective order as to the Birdie
Mae Davis interrogatories, and denied
the motion for an order to show cause in
that case.
(I) On August 23, 1974, counsel moved
for reconsideration of the August 16,
1974 order entered in the Birdie Mae
Davis phase of the litigation, or in the
alternative that it be amended to strike
therefrom statements which reflected on
counsel with regard to his efforts and
motive in seeking to avoid the class ac-
tion and discovery orders in Foster by
his use of the Birdie Mae Davis case.
This motion for reconsideration and to
strike was supported by an affidavit
from counsel in which he asserted that
as attorney for the Birdie Mae Davis
class, he had the solemn duty to insure
that the consent order was being carried
out and that he was, in effect, monitor-
ing compliance with that order. He re-
garded the Foster and Buskey claims as
establishing a need for monitoring.
(J) On September 20, 1974, the district
court. denied the motion for reconsidera-
tion and to strike. Notice of appeal
from this order was filed on October 18,
1974. (No. 74-3894.)
(K) On September 27, 1974, the dis-
trict court denied the motion of the
school board for summary judgment in
the Foster intervention.
(L) On the same day, Mr. Foster filed
a motion under 28 U.S.C.A. § 144, sup-
ported by affidavit, to disqualify Judge
Hand from his case on the basis that
Judge Hand had “a personal bias or pre}-
udice” against Foster and “other black
parents, school children and school teach-
ers in the Muvile school system as mem-
bers of the plaintiff class”. A copy of
the affidavit is appended to this opinion
and marked “A”. The affidavit makes it
clear that Foster’s affidavit is based on
his reading, at the request of his counsel,
of an opinion of the same district judge
rendered on August 29, 1974 in another
case in which counsel appeared. Robin-
son v. Union Carbide Corporation, S.D.
Ala., 1974, 380 F.Supp. 731. Judge Hand
denied the motion but allowed an inter-
locutory appeal. (This is No. 75—1312.)
(M) The Buskey suit was dismissed on
October 3, 1974, with leave to intervene
in Birdie Mae Davis. Notice of appeal
was filed on November i, 1974. (This is
No. 74-4257.)
(N) On November 20, 1974, Buskey
filed a motion and affidavit in haec ver-
ba to Foster’s, to disqualify the district
judge. The order denying this motion
gave rise to the interlocutory appeal, No.
75-1827.
III.
NO. 74-4257
As stated, only Buskey has appealed
from the order requiring intervention
rather than being allowed to proceed
with a separate suit. It is apparent,
however, that our decisions requiring
such a procedural approach were the
genesis of the overall controversy which
has arisen between counsel and the dis-
trict court. It will be well, therefore, to
consider this particular appeal as a first
issue.
Buskey seeks to avoid our hold-
ings of required intervention, supra, on
the theory that his claim is asserted un-
der Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of
1964, 42 U.S.C.A., § 2000e—5, in addition
to being based on 42 U.S.C.A., §§ 1981
ard 1983, and the consent decree. This
theory is without merit.
Intervention would not result in the
loss of substantive or procedural rights
under Title VII. It will result in better
management of the pending Birdie Mae
. dation.
DAVIS v. BD. OF SCH. COM’RS OF MOBILE CTY. 9a
Davis class action. It will enable the
district court to consider Buskey’s Title
VII rights alone, as well as in conjunc-
tion with rights which may be due him
under other statutes and under the con-
sent order. Intervention will serve to
avoid a proliferation of litigation over
the same subject matter, and is within
the spirit of Rule 24(b), F.R.Civ.P.5 The
same reasoning, which supported our pri-
or decisions requiring intervention, is
supportive of requiring that a Title VII
plaintiff-school employee likewise inter-
vene. Lastly, our policy of required in-
tervention is analogous to the “iscretion-
ary power in the court to req__e consoli-
See Rule 42(a), F.R.Civ.P!
In the nature of a fallback posi-
tion, Buskey urges that at least his case
should have been consolidated with the
Birdie Mae Davis case. The difference
between consolidation and. intervention
in the context of this type proceeding is
semantical in nature—with any differ-
ence being gossamer. As an intervenor,
Buskey will be entitled to the full pano-
ply of Title VII law as it has developed
since the passage of the Act in 1964.
This means that both the Foster and
Buskey suits are pending in intervention
and are awaiting trial. This fact points
to the importance of disposing of the
5. Rule 24(b):
Upon timely application anyone ma, be
permitted to intervene in an action: .
when an applicant's claim or defense and
the main action have a question of law or
fact in common. .___..
6. Rule 42(a):
When actions involving a common ques-
tion of law or fact are pending before the
court, it may order a joint hearing or trial of
any or all the matters in issue in the actions:
it may order all the actions consolidated:
and it may make such orders concerning
proceedings therein as may tend to avoid
unnecessary costs or delay.
interlocutory appeals which were allowed
to determine the validity of the orders
denying disqualification under § 144, su-
pra.
NOS. 75-1312 AND 75-1827
The separate motions of Foster and
Buskey to disqualify Judge Hand and
the supporting affidavits will be con-
sidered as one matter. The affidavits
rest on facts brought to the attention. of
affiants by their counsel. In the main,
the claim of bias centers on problems of
counsel (Mr. Blacksher), in this litigation,
and in Union Carbide Corporation, supra,
where Judge Hand was of the opinion
that overtones of barratry and champer-
ty were present. An appeal in that case
is pending in this court. No. 75—1008—
Robinson v. Union Carbide Corporation.
That opinion speaks for itself. Whether
the district court was in error in its opin-
ion there will be decided on that appeal
and the record therein.
Bias and prejudice is also alleged by
affiants to rest on Judge Hand’s order of
August 16 wherein he granted the pro-
tective order relative to the Birdie Mae
Davis interrogatories and the contempt
motion.’
The sequence of lawyers is of impor-
tance. The Foster suit was filed by the
7. One portion of the order reflects on original
counsel in his effort to create a class action.
The portion of the order which reflects on Mr.
Blacksher is as follows:
. . . Im a not too veiled effort to
circumvent this Court's ruling thereon, [the
Foster case] plaintiff's counsel has now,
through the aegis of Birdie Mae Davis, at-
tempted to propound the same set of inter-
rogatories in an effort to elicit the same in-
formation and try to build a case on behalf
of unknown others whom this Court has not
been shown exist. Such subterfuge borders
on the edges of contempt.”
10a DAVIS v. BD. OF SCH. COM’RS OF MOBILE CTY.
lawyer for the NEA who appeared in
Lee v. Macon County Board of Educa-
tion (Conecuh County), supra; and Na-
tional Education Assn. v. Board of
School Commissioners of Mobile County,
supra. It was this lawyer who failed to
follow these decisions in filing the Foster
suit. After dismissal he filed the suit in
intervention. He filed the interrogato-
ries and attempted to impose a class ac-
tion on the Birdie Mae Davis class. He
was not a lawyer in the Birdie Mae Da-
vis cause. He was not in the Robinson
v. Union Carbide case. The affidavits of
Foster and Buskey do not assert bias and
prejudice against Judge Hand because of
any problem between this lawyer and
Judge Hand.
On July 2, 1974, Mr. Blacksher joined
as co-counsel in filing the motion to com-
pel answers to the interrogatories, and
has taken the lead in the Foster case
since that time. He is also counsel for
Buskey. The NAACP Legal Defense
Fund lawyers joined as counsel only in
the Birdie Mae Davis aspects of the liti-
gation and Mr. Blacksher is the lead
counsel in that matter. It is Mr.
Blacksher who is involved as counsel in
the Robinson v. Union Carbide case but
Judge Hand included the Legal Defense
Fund along with Mr. Blacksher in the
barratry and champerty portion of his
opinion. We will thus assume that the
charge of bias and prejudice is positioned
8. § 144:
Whenever a party to any proceeding in a
district court makes and files a timely and
sufficient affidavit that the judge before
whom the matter is pending has a personal
bias or prejudice either against him or in
favor of any adverse party, such judge shall
proceed no further therein, but another
judge shall be assigned to hear such pro-
The affidavit shall state the facts and the
reasons for the belief that bias or prejudice
on Judge Hand’s references to both Mr.
Blacksher and the Legal Defense Fund.
From these events, affiants concluded
that Judge Hand was necessarily biased
and prejudiced against them because he
was biased and prejudiced against their
lawyers, and through them, against
those represented by them. We find no
error in the refusal of Judge Hand to
disqualify himself.
Section 144 requires “personal bias or
prejudice” against a party.’ No bias or
prejudice personal to Foster and Buskey
is set out. They seek disqualification on
an imputation theory—the bias against
their lawyer is imputed to them.® Read
broadly, this peremptory challenge type
approach would bid fair to decimate the
bench. Lawyers, once in controversy
with a judge, would have a license under
which the judge would serve at their
will.
One answer is that “party” as
used in § 144 does not include counsel as
such. Cf. United States ex rel. Wilson v.
Coughlin, 7 Cir., 1973, 472 F.2d 100, 104;
Giebe v. Pence, 9 Cir., 1970, 431 F.2d 942,
943. On the other hand, there could be a
case where the cause of the controversy
with the lawyer would demonstrate bias
of such a nature as to amount to a bias
against a group of which the party was
a member—e. g., all Negroes, Jews, Ger-
mans, or Baptists. This then would be
bias of a continuing and “personal” na-
exists, and shall be filed not less than ten
days before the beginning of the term at
which the proceeding is to be heard, or good
cause shall be shown for failure to file it
within such time. A party may file only one
such affidavit in any case. It shall be ac-
companied by a certificate of counsel of
record stating that it is made in good faith.
9. No. 75-1779, Jones v. Callaway, pending in
this court on interlocutory appeal, involves a
like challenge.
DAVIS v. BD. OF SCH. COM’RS OF MOBILE CTY. lla
ture over and above mere bias against a
lawyer because of his conduct.
We find no such lawyer-to-client con-
structive bias in this record. The contro-
versy is not over race but over the em-
ployment of the class action device and
its ramifications in litigation. Rule 23,
F.R.Civ.P. It is true that plaintiffs are
Negroes and that their counsel handles
civil rights cases, but the connection be-
tween the judge and the claim of bias on
behalf of the particular parties here is
too attenuated to require disqualifica-
tion.
Once the motion is filed under
§ 144, the judge must pass on the legal
sufficiency of the affidavit, but may not
pass on the truth of the matters alleged.
See Berger v. United States, 1921, 255
U.S. 22, 41 S.Ct. 230, 65 L.Ed. 481; Unit-
ed States v. Roca-Alvarez, 5 Cir., 1971,
451 F.2d 843, 847-48; United States v.
Townsend, 3 Cir., 1973, 478 F.2d 1072.
The affidavits were found legallv insuf-
ficient here and we agree. The truth of
the matters alleged was not in issue.
These were in substance lawyer motions
as distinguished from party motions.
Moreover, aside from _ the
doubtful showing of persona! bias by
Foster and Buskey, they are foreclosed
for another reason. It is settled that the
requisite basis of bias and prejudice un-
der § 144 must be extra-judicial. See
United States v. Grinnell Corp., 1966, 384
U.S. 563, 583, 86 S.Ct. 1698, 16 L.Ed.2d
778, 793; Berger v. United States, 1921,
255 U.S. 22, 31, 41 S.Ct. 230, 65 L.Ed.
481, 484. The controversy with the law-
10. Pub.L. 93-512, § 1, 88 Stat. 1609. § 455
provides, in pertinent part:
(a) Any justice, judge, magistrate, or ref-
eree in bankruptcy of the United States shall
disqualify himself in any proceeding in
which his impartiality might reasonably be
questioned.
yers in the present case was not extra-
judiciai. Rather, it was very much judi-
cial, consisting of language in an order
in the very case before the court, and in
an opinion in another case before the
court. Such statements are not available
as grounds for a § 144 affidavit. See
United States v. Board of School Com-
missioners, 7 Cir., 1974, 508 F.2d 68, 81;
Hanger v. United States, 8 Cir., 1968,
398 F.2d 91, 101; Mirra v. United States,
2 Cir., 1967, 379 F.2d 782, 787-88; Tynan
v. United States, 1967, 126 U.S.App.D.C.
206, 376 F.2d 761, 764-65; In re Union
Leader Corp., 1 Cir., 1961, 292 F.2d 381,
388. 89.
Here again, however, we think
there is an exception where such perva-
sive bias and prejudice is shown by oth-
erwise judicial conduct as would consti-
tute bias against a party. But, as stat-
ed, supra, we find an insufficient basis
for such a finding in the circumstances
presented here.
But § 144 is not the end of the matter.
The recent amendment of 28 U.S.C.A.
§ 455, to require disqualification of any
judge when “his impartiality might rea-
sonably be questioned,” also must be
considered.”
The office of the procedure un-
der § 144 is to disqualify a judge prior to
trial on motion of a party. Section 455
is the statutory standard for disqualifica-
tion of a judge." It is self-enforcing on
the part of the judge. It may also be
asserted by a party by motion in the
trial court, Rapp v. Van Dusen, 3 Cir.,
(b) He shall also disqualify himself in the
following circumstances:
(1) Where he has a personal bias or preju-
dice concerning a party,
11. Compare American Bar Assn., 1972, Code
of Judicial Conduct, Canon 3C.
12a DAVIS v. BD. OF SCH. COM’RS OF MOBILE CTY.
1965, 350 F.2d 806, 809; through assign-
ment of error on appeal, United States
v. Seiffert, 5 Cir., 1974, 501 F.2d 974;
Shadid v. Oklahoma City, 10 Cir., 1974,
494 F.2d 1267, 1268, by interlocutory ap-
peal, as here, or by mandamus, Texaco,
Inc. v. Chandler, 10 Cir., 1965, 354 F.2d
655.
The quoted language, supra, in § 455
is new to the federal law of disqualifica-
tion and we must determine whether
Congress intended to overrule the gloss
placed on § 144. and impliedly on § 455,
by court decisions that it applies only to
conduct which runs against a party and
not the lawyer, cf. United States ex rel.
Wilson v. Coughlin, supra, at 104; Giebe
v. Pence, supra, at 943; see also, Annot.,
23 A.L.R.3d 1416; and that disqualifica-
tion results from ex.a-judicial conduct
rather than from matters arising in a
judicia! context. See United States v.
Grinnell Corp., supra, 384 U.S. at 583, 86
S.Ct. 1698, 16 L.Ed.2d at 793; United
States v. Board of School Commissioners,
supra, at 81; Hanger v. United States,
supra, at 101; Mirra v. United States,
supra, at 787-88; Tynan v. United
States, supra, at 764-65; In re Union
Leader Corp., supra, at 388-89. See
generaliy, Annot. 2 A.L.R. Fed. 917.
We find no suggestion in the
legislative history that these decis.ons
were being overruled or in anywise erod-
ed. The new language was designed to
substitute the reasonable factual basis—
reasonable man test in determining dis-
qualification for the subjective “in the
opinion of the judge” test in use prior to
the amendment. Cf. Kinnear-Weed
Corp. v. Humble Oil & Refining Corp., 5
Cir., 1971, 441 F.2d 631, 635. It was also
intended to overrule the so-called duty to
sit decisions. See Edwards v. United
States, 5 Cir., 1964, 334 F.2d 360. The
abuse of sound judicial discretion test
continues to obtain on appellate review.
H.Rep.No.93—1453, 1974 U.S.Code Cong.
& Admin.News pp. 6351, 6355.
Construing §§ 144 and 455 in
pari materia we believe that the test is
the same under both. We thus hold that
an appellate court, in passing on ques-
tions of disqualification of the type here
presented, should determine the disquali-
fication on the basis of conduct which
shows bias cr prejudice or lack of impar-
tiality by focusing on a party rather
than counsel. The determination should
also be made on the basis of conduct
extra-judicia! in nature as distinguished
from conduct within a judicial context.
This means that we give §§ 144 and 455
the same meaning legally for these pur-
poses, whether for purposes of bias and
prejudice or when the impartiality of the
judge might reasonably be questioned.
Here, we have judicial activity
toward lawyers without more and the
result under §§ 144 and 455, considered
separately and together, is that we find
no error.
NO. 74-3894
This is the appeal from the or-
der denying the motion of the Birdie
Mae Davis plaintiffs for an order requir-
ing the defendants to show cause why
they should not be held in contempt for
violating the July 9, 1971 consent decree.
This is an appealabie order. Gilbert v.
Johnson, 5 Cir., 1974, 490 F.2d 827.
The motion rested for cause on
the allegations contained in the Foster
and Buskey claims. These claims are
pending and will be processed on re-
mand. The appertaining facts will be
developed. Once developed, they may or
may not be sufficient to support a show
DAVIS v. BD. OF SCH. COM’RS OF MOBILE CTY. 13a
cause order in the underlying cause. In
any event, the motion was decidedly pre-
mature when made. The district court
did not err in refusing to reopen the
Birdie Mae Davis case on the bare claims
of Foster and Buskey, either for pur-
poses of contempt or discovery.
The claim of the right to moni-
tor by discovery or more appropriately,
to have the court monitor, the 1971 de-
cree was, for the same reason, prema-
ture. (We are not told if monitoring is
being accomplished in the form of re-
porting. See, e. g., the report required
in United States v. Hinds County School
Board, 5 Cir., 1970, 483 F.2d 611, 618-
19.)
DISCOVERY ON REMAND
The Buskey case has not reached the
discovery stage but we can assume that
it is in the same posture as Foster’s. In
the early days of Foster’s case, the dis-
trict court ordered that discovery be lim-
ited to matters germane to his claim.
No further effort was made to discover
on his behalf.
It would have been and will now be
only a slight task to modify the interrog-
atories which were filed so that they
may be used on behalf of Foster and
Buskey. They are assistant principals.
They contend that they were denied pro-
motions to requested principalships.
They will be entitled to full discovery
with respect to the category of position
or positions sought in an effort to estab-
lish all statistical, policy and practice
data of relevance to their claims. The
teaching of McDonnell] Douglas Corp. v.
Green, 1973, 411 U.S. 792, 93 S.Ct. 1817,
36 L.Ed.2d 668, should be the district
court’s guide in allowing full discovery.
Affirmed.
APPENDIX A
AFFIDAVIT
STATE OF ALABAMA )}
COUNTY OF MOBILE i “
Edwin Foster, being first duly sworn,
deposes and says as follows:
I am a plaintiff-intervenor in the
above-styled cause and am filing this Af-
fidavit pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 144 to
request that the Honorable W. Brevard
Hand disqualify himself from presiding
over any and all proceedings in this ac-
tion on the grounds that he has a per-
sonal bias or prejudice against me and
other black parents, school children and
school teachers in the Mobile schocl sys-
tem as members of the plaintiff class.
This action was commenced in 1963
thr th the filing of a complaint seeking
the desegregation of the public schools in
the City of Mobile. Until 1971, the case
was presided over by the Honorable
Daniel Thomas, who _ subsequently
retired. Following a remand of this case
from the Supreme Court of the United
States in June of 1971, a consent decree
was entered instituting a plan for ihe
desegregation of the schools in the city
of Mobile. Subsequent to the entry of
that decree a variety of other matters
have arisen in the case. There is pres-
ently pending before the Court a motion
for summary judgment relating to the
complaint in intervention filed by Edwin
Foster, a motion for reconsideration of
an order awarding attorney’s fees and
other matters regarding implementation
and evaluation of the desegregation
plan.
On September 26, 1974, at the request
of my counsel, J. U. Blacksher, Esq., I
read for the first time the opinion of
Judge Hand rendered on August 29,
l4a
1974, in Robinson v. Union Carbide
Corp., D.C.Cir., 380 F.Supp. 731 a copy of
which is attached hereto. At the same
time, my counsel also called my attention
to the Order entered by Judge Hand in
the present case on August 16, 1974, re-
lating to a Motion for Protective Order
and a Motion to Show Cause. In that
order various allegations were made con-
cerning said counsel and concerning the
wishes of members of the class and the
parties to this litigation. On September
20, 1974, Judge Hand denied our motion
to strike these allegations. On informa-
tion and belief, and based upon a read-
ing of the above-mentioned opinion and
order, Judge Hand is biased and preju-
diced against me personally because I
am a person seeking redress of violations
of my civil rights through an action in
Federal Court. In particular, Judge
Hand is biased and prejudiced against
anyone or any group of persons includ-
ing myseif, presenting such claims
through attorneys employed by and/or
associated with the N.A.A.C.P. Legal De-
fense and Educationa! Fund, Inc., in that
Judge Hand believes and has in fact
formed the opinions through extra-judi-
cial sources:
1. that persons who are plaintiffs in
such actions do not have valid grievances
but have been solicited to present un-
warranted claims;
2. that claims are not presented by
the above attorneys in good faith but
rather for invalid and unconscionable
purposes; and
DAVIS v. BD. OF SCH. COM’RS OF MOBILE CTY.
3. that I and other black persons as-
sisted by the above attorneys should be
watched with suspicion as being capable
of causing other black people in the com-
munity to engage in “concerted efforts,”
such as the manipulation of employment
applications.
The result of these firmly held opin-
ions by Judge Hand is that he cannot
and will not judge my claims on the
merits and according to the law but will
decide them adversely regardless of the
facts adduced at trial and regardless of
the law. These opinions that he has
formed concerning such claims and con-
cerning the actions and motives of the
attorneys presenting such claims do not
allow him to have impartiality of judg-
ment.
This Affidavit was not filed earlier be-
cause until the date set out above I had
not read the decision in the Robinson
case.
s/ Edwin Foster
Subscribed and sworn to before me on
this the 26th day of September, 1974.
s/ Barbara Matthews
NOTARY PUBLIC,
MOBILE COUNTY, ALABAMA
I am one of the attorneys representing
Edwin Foster in this cause. I certify
that this affidavit is made in good faith.
s/ J. U. Blacksher
J. U. BLACKSHER
l5da
Order Denying Re? -aring
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
Firta Crrcvit
OFFICE OF THE CLERK
EDWARD W. WADSWORTH 600 CAMP STREET
CLERK NEW ORLEANS, LA. 70130
TELEPHONE 504-589-6514
October 2, 1975
To Att CounseL or REcorD
No. 75-1312—Birdie Mae Davis, et al; U.S.A.; Edwin
and Foster & James E. Buskey vs. Board of
No. 75-1827 School Commissioners of Mobil County,
et al.
Dear Counsel:
This is to advise that an order has this day been entered
denying the petition ( ) for rehearing, and no member
of the panc’ nor Judge in regular active service on the
Court having requested that the Court be polled on re-
hearing en bane (Rule 35, Federal Rules of Appellate
Procedure: Local Fifth Cireuit Rule 12) the petition ( )
for rehearing en banc has also been denied.
l6a ; : :
Order Denying Rehearing
See Rule 41, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure for
issuance and stay of the mandate.
Very truly yours,
Epwarp W. Wapsworts, Clerk
by Cuare F. Sacus
Deputy Clerk
ee:
Mr. J. U. Blacksher
Mr. Charles Stephen Rolston
Messrs. J. Stanley Pottinger
Brian K. Landsberg
Ms. Judith E. Wolf
Mr. Abram L. Phillips
17a
Order of the District Court, March 22, 1973
In THE
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
For THE Mippie District oF ALABAMA
NorTHERN Division
Crvit Actiox No. 3809-N
Axtrrepo G. ParrisH, ET. AL.,
Plaintiffs,
vs.
Boarp or ComMMISSIONERS OF
THE AraBaMa State Bar, ET Ab.,
Defendants,
This cause is now submitted upon the following motions:
1. Defendants’ motion to compel answers to interroga-
tories filed February 9, 1973.
2. Defendants’ motion to require further answer to
interrogatory filed February 9, 1973.
3. Plaintiffs’ motion to compel further answers to inter-
rogatories filed January 26, 1973.
4. Plaintiffs’ motion for reconsideration of order of
January 15, 1973, filed January 25, 1973.
5. Affidavit of disqualification filed January 19, 1973,
by Plaintiff, Henry L. Thompson, said affidavit being con-
sidered by this Court as a motion to recuse.
18a = Order of the District Court, March 22, 1973
Upon consideration of said motions and hearing held
thereon March 20, 1973, it is the Orper, JupcMEeNnT and
Decree of this Court as follows:
A. Defendants’ motion to compel answers to interroga-
tories be, and the same is hereby, granted. It is further
OrvereD that Plaintiff Parrish must answer said interroga¢
tories by March 30, 1973, or he will be dismissed as a party
Plaintiff.
B. Defendants’ motion to require further answer to
interrogatory be, and the same is hereby, granted. It is
further Orperep that Henry Thompson must answer said
interrogatory No. 4 by March 30, 1973, or he will be dis-
missed as a party Plaintiff. Pursuant to Rule 37, Federal
Rules of Civil Procedure, it is further Orperep that Henry
Thompson pay $25.00 to the Clerk of this Court for dis-
bursement to the Alabama State Bar, said money to be
used for attorney’s fees.
C. Plaintiffs’ motion to compel further answers to inter-
rogatories be, and the same is hereby, denied as moot.
D. Plaintiffs’ motion for reconsideration of order of
January 15, 1973, be, and the same is hereby, denied.
E. Henry L. Thompson’s affidavit of disqualification
(motion to recuse) be, and the same is hereby, denied.
Done this 22nd day of March, 1973.
R. E. Varner
United States District Judge
19a
Opinion of the Court of Appeals, December 2, 1974
Atrrepo G. Parrisn et al., etc., Plaintiffs-Appellants,
v.
Boarp or Commissioners or the AvaBamMa State Bar
et al., ete., Defendants-Appellees.
AvaBAMA Biack Lawyers Association et al.,
Plaintiffs-A ppellants,
Vv.
Boarp or Commissioners or the AtaBamMa State Bar
et al., etc., Defendants-Appellees.
Nos. 73-3553, 74-1523.
United States Court of Appeals,
Fifth Circuit.
Dec. 2, 1974.
Appeals from the United States District Court for the Middle
District of Alabama.
Before TuTTLeE, Wispom and Ger. Circuit Judges.
TuTT.e, Circuit Judge:
The Alabama Black Lawyers Association (ABLA) and eight
named plaintiffs appeal the grant of summary judgment against
them on all issues in their class action alleging racial dis-
crimination by the Boards of Commissioners and Bar Ex-
20a PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALA. STATE BAR
aminers of the Alabama Bar Association in their policies and
practices governing admission to the bar.
- Briefly stated, the suit sought injunctive and declaratory
relief, under 42 U.S.C. §§ 1981-1983 and 28 U.S.C. §§ 2201-
2202, respectively, for a class defined as “all Black persons
who have applied or will apply for admission to the Alabama
Bar, or who would have so applied but for having been
discouraged or prevented from doing so by the [defendants’]
discriminatory practices” and who meet all valid non-discrimi-
natory standards for admission. The gist of the complaint,
which was filed October 31, 1972, is that the Alabama bar
examiners unconstitutionally discriminated against black ap-
plicants by identifying their supposedly anonymous examina-
tion papers and then grading them lower than white appli-
cants who displayed equal proficiency. The complaint also
alleged that the bar examination—which then ' was exclusive-
ly written essay, “timed and closed-book”—is “unvalidated”
and not sufficiently “job-related”, and thus unconstitutional
because it fails blacks in disproportionately high numbers
compared to whites.
Shortly after the complaint was filed, each party filed
several motions. Most importantly, the defendants moved to
dismiss plaintiffs Eddie Jones, Thomas W. Gray and the
ABLA for lack of standing, and the plaintiffs moved that the
trial judge recuse himself pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 144. The
trial judge granted defendants’ motion to dismiss Jones, Gray
and the ABLA, but refused—after a hearing had been held
and affidavits filed—to recuse himself.
Both parties undertook extensive discovery. Plaintiffs re-
ceived nearly 150 pages of answers to interrogatories from
defendants and took two lengthy depositions from members of
the Board of Bar Examiners. Defendants received answers to
interrogatories from each of the named plaintiffs. None of
1. Since July 25, 1973, Alabarna has used the Multistate Bar Exami-
nation (MBE) as part of its own bar examination. The MBE is an
“objective,” multiple-choice type of test.
PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALA. STATE BAR 21a
the discovery revealed specific instances where the anonymity
of the examinees had been compromised; at most, the plain-
tiffs swore that there were one or two instances when an
examiner could have seen an examinee’s test number. The
plaintiffs’ case thus boiled down to a proof of statistics.
Statistics produced during the litigation showed, for example,
that in the last ten bar examinations the passing rate for
blacks had been 32% while it had been 70% for whites.
Furthermore, in a state whose population is 25% black, the
number of black lawyers is less than 1%.
Defendants moved for summary judgment on April 2, 1973,
but the trial court withheld a ruling for over four months in
order to give plaintiffs “ample opportunity to obtain by dis-
covery facts to be used in traversing the motion”. Plaintiffs
accomplished all of their desired discovery during this period,
with one exception: defendants failed to produce copies of all
answer sheets for the February 1973 bar examination. De-
fendants objected to producing these documents on the
grounds that they were not relevant and material to the
complaint. Plaintiffs filed a motion on May 28, 1973, to
compel production.
Without specifically ruling on this motion, the trial court
entered summary judgment for defendants on all issues on
August 21, 1973. The court found that there was no material-
issue of fact between the parties and held that “under the
circumstances . . ._ the disparity in percentage of fail-
ures among blacks as compared to whites has little weight and
fails to make out a prima facie case sufficient to realign the
burden of proof so as to require the Defendants to establish
that the exams are not discriminatory or so as to require them
to validate the exams.”
With respect to plaintiffs’ other main contentions, the court
held that the defendants had a compelling state interest to
identify attorneys, and thus that requiring applicants to sub-
mit photographs ef themselves prior to taking the examina-
tion does not “violate their constitutional rights”; however,
22a PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALA. STATE BAR
the court declined to consider the constitutionality of proce-
dures (particularly a personal interview) applied to applicants
petitioning to take the exam for a fourth time, following
three attempts as of right, because “no Plaintiff in this
lawsuit has the standing to raise the question”.
Appellants’ points of appeal are:
1) that the trial judge applied an erroneous legal standard
in refusing to recuse himself;
2) that plaintiffs Jones, Gray and the ABLA should not
have been dismissed from the suit for lack of standing;
3) that summary judgment was inappropriate, because dis-
covery was incomplete and there were material issues of fact;
4) that the unvalidated bar examination, which fails blacks
in disproportionately high numbers, is insufficiently job-relat-
ed to be constitutional;
5) that the requirement of a photograph, as part of the
application to take the bar examination, is unconstitutional;
6) that the procedures governing petitions to take the bar
examination for a fourth time are arbitrary and capricious,
and thus violate the appellants’ right to cue process of Jaw.
Because we conclude that the appellants should prevail on
their first ground, we discuss only that and the question
relating to the parties to appeal.
I. PARTIES TO APPEAL
Before discussing appellants’ contentions, it is necessary to
dispose of a jurisdictional objection raised by the appellees in
their brief. Appellees argue that only appellants Alfredo
Parrish and Henry Thompson are properly before this Court,
because the plaintiffs’ notice of appeal and amended notice of
appeal expressly named only Parrish and Thompson. How-
2. Strictly speaking, the plaintiffs’ appeal is also technically defective
because it is taken from the order of the trial court and not from a
judgment “set forth on a separate document” as required by the
PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALA. STATE BAR 23a
ever, although Parrish and Thompson are the only parties
named in the text of the notices, the captions of the notices
named “ALFREDO G. PARRISH, ET AL., Plaintiffs.”
[1,2] The Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure require
that “The notice of appeal shali specify the party or parties
taking the appeal.” Rule 3(c). The objective of this provi-
sion, and of Rule 3 generally, is two-fold: to notify the Court
of the taking of an appeal, and to notify the opposing party of
the taking of the appeal. Cobb v. Lewis, 488 F.2d 41, 45 (5th
Cir. 1974). There can be no doubt that the caption, if not
necessarily the text, put defendants on notice that all of the
plaintiffs intended to take appeal. Appellees have not shown
that they were prejudiced or mis-led in any way by appellants’
technical non-compliance with Rule 3(c).
[3] Although some other circuits may take a much more
formalistic view,* this Court has long held that irregularities
in form or procedure in filing a notice of appeal will be
disregarded, when the interests of substantive justice requires
it, as long as there is “substantial compliance with the rules.”
Des Isles v. Evans, 225 F.2d 235, 236 (5th Cir. 1955). See also
Crump v. Hill, 104 F.2d 36, 37-38 (5th Cir. 1939); Jones v.
Chaney & James Construction Co., 399 F.2d 84, 86 (5th Cir.
1968); Cobb v. Lewis, supra, 488 F.2d at 44-46. As we said in
Jones, 399 F.2d at &6:
“The notice of appeal . . . should not be used as a
‘trap for unwary draftsmen’, Wright, Federal Courts, § 104
at 406 (1963); and decisions on merits should not be avoided
on the basis of ‘mere technicalities’, Foman v. Davis, (1962)
371 U.S. 178, 181 [83 S.Ct. 227, 9 L.Ed.2d 222).”
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 58 (as amended July 1, 1963).
This defect is not fatal: we assumed jurisdiction in identical circum-
stances in Markham v. Holt, 369 F.2d 940, 942 (5th Cir. 1966).
3. Cook and Sons Equipment, Inc. v. Killen, 277 F.2d 607, 609 (9th
Cir. 1960); Van Hoose v. Eidson, 450 F.2d 746, 747 (6th Cir. 1971).
Compare Knuth v. Erie-Crawford Dairy Corp. Association, 395 F.2d
420, 427-428 (3rd Cir. 1968).
24a PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALA. STATE BAR
Therefore, we hold that there was adequate compliance
with Rule 3(c) to put the defendants on notice that all
plaintiffs intended to appeal, and that all eight named plain-
tiffs and the ABLA are properly before this Court. Accord-
ingly, we proceed to the merits.
Il. STANDARD FOR RECUSAL
The first point raised by appellants is that the trial judge
applied an erroneous legal standard in refusing to recuse
himself after an affidavit had been filed pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§ 144. Section 144 provides in full:
“Whenever a party to any proceeding in a district court
makes and files a timely and sufficient affidavit that the
judge before whom the matter is pending has a personal
bias or prejudice either against him or in favor of any
adverse party, such judge shail proceed no further therein,
but another judge shall be assigned to hear such proceeding.
“The affidavit shall state the facts and the reasons for
the belief that bias or prejudice exists, and shall be filed not
less than ten days before the beginning of the term at
which the proceeding is to be heard, or good cause shall be
shown for failure to file it within such time. A party may
file only one such affidavit in any case. It shall be accom-
panied by a certificate of counsel of record stating that it is
made in good faith.”
The procedure prescribed by section 144 was not strictly
followed in this case. It appears from the record that counsel
for the appellants and the trial judge informally discussed the
question of recusal over a month after the complaint was
filed. The court later convened a hearing on December 22,
1972, to discuss the question. The judge permitted plaintiffs’
counsel to question him at length at this hearing, after stating
to counsel:
“Heretofore I had felt that a judge should recuse himself
very quickly because it made the court appear more fair,
PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALA. STATE BAR 20a
. but there are other obligations the court owes and I am
afraid that I shan’t recuse myself but I want to give you an
opportunity to put anything on record that you would like
to put on record.”
The section 144 affidavit was not filed until January 19, 1973.
Without entering a formal order, the trial judge concluded
that he should hear the case. Since it is apparent that the
facts recited in the affidavit were developed to some extent
from the preceding hearing, it is necessary to consider both
the affidavit and the hearing in determining whether legally
sufficient facts were presented to warrant recusal.
The affidavit was filed by plaintiff-appellant Thompson,
who alleged two facts and reasons for his belief that the trial
judge, Judge Robert E. Varner, had personal bias and preju-
dice in connection with the proceedings: ‘
4. The affidavit, which includes the requisite certificate of good faith
signed by one of plaintiff-appellant’s counsel, reads in pertinent
rt:
- oe o es 6 6 s . os o eo
“3. The facts and reasons for the belief that such personal bias
and prejudice exist are as follows:
a. The instant action complains, inter alia, that the defendants
maintain a policy of excluding blacks from the practice of law
in the State of Alabama. The Honorable Robert E. Varner is
presently a member of the Montgomery County (Alabama) Bar
Association; and when he served as President of that Associa-
tion two years ago, black lawyers were excluded from member-
ship in the said association under terms of its by-laws. The
Honorable Judge Varner was then acquainted with five or six
black lawyers who then practiced in Montgomery; but he never
made an effort to invite them to join the Association. It was
only after the aforesaid judge became interested in a federal
judgeship that he, as president of the Montgomery County Bar
Association, appointed a committee to revise the said by-laws;
and the record is unclear as to whether the ‘white only’
membership clause of the Montgomery County Bar Association
was removed during his tenure as president of the aforesaid
association.
b. None of the plaintiffs in this case are personally acquainted
with the Honorable Robert E. Varner. The said judge considers
the defendant commissioner Hill as a personal friend; he is a
friend of Reginal Hamner, one of the chief defendants in the
case; he is a friend of John Scott, defendant Hamner's prede-
268 PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALA. STATE BAR
.) that while Judge Varner was President of the Montgom-
ery County Bar Association two years ago, the Association
had a clause in its by-laws barring black members and that
the judge never made any effort to invite black lawyers whom
he knew to join; ©
2) that Judge Varner was acquainted with several defend-
ants in the suit and all of defendants’ counsel, and that he said
he did not believe that any of the defendants whom he knew
would intentionally misrepresent any of the matters related to
the lawsuit.
In support of his affidavit, Thompson appended a transcript
of the preceding hearing.
Both of the grounds for recusal set out in the affidavit were
fully developed at the hearing. Judge Varner stated that he
first became aware of the “whites only” clause in the by-laws
of the Association when it was mentioned in a newspaper
article speculating on the possibility of his appointment to a
federal judgeship. Counsel for the appellants, Mr. Clemon,
asked the judge if he then recommended removal of the
clause, and the following dialogue ensued:
“THE COURT: My recollection is that I did not recom-
mend anything but that I appointed a committee for a
consideration of renovationof . . . the by-laws.
Frankly, when I looked at it I was appalled how out of date
cessor in office and proposed to be called by the plaintiffs as an
adverse witness; he is also a friend of counsel for all of the
defendants. Further the said judge is personally acquainted
with many of the other defendants in this cause Although the
testimony of the witnesses at the trial of this cause is expected
to be conflicting in nature, the aforesaid Judge Varner has
indicated that he does not believe that any of the defendants
with whom he is acquainted would intentionally misrepresent
any of the matters related to this lawsuit. Thus, plaintiffs
sincerely believe that where the judge is called upon to make
credibility choices throughout the trial, as he will be, he will
attach undue weight to the testimony of his friends and ac-
quaintances, all to the detriment of the plaintiffs and the class
which they represent.” :
PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALA. STATE BAR 278
the whole thing was, not just to racial matters. . . . |
believe there were several things in the . . . by-laws
that drew my attention and really shocked me.
And I did not make any recommendation about it but I did
appoint a committee to consider it, and the by-laws, as I
recall it, were changed. ,
. “MR. CLEMON: After you appointed that committee did
it make a report during your tenure in office?
“THE COURT: Oh, yes.
“MR. CLEMON: It did?
“THE COURT: Yes.
“MR. CLEMON: Do you recall what recommendations if
any were made with respect to the racially exclusionary
clause?
“THE COURT: Yes. It was removed.
“MR. CLEMON: During your tenure as president?
“THE COURT: Well, I am speaking from recollection.
It may have been after my tenure; but I think it was
during my tenure. I am not sure.”
During other discussions at the hearing, Judge Varner
stated that he personally knew ten of the thirteen defendant
bar examiners. He said that of the ten, he knew three only
“slightly”. He added that he did not know three of the other
examiners at all. He admitted that he has known defendant
Reginald Hamner, who is secretary of the bar association and
of the board of bar examiners,* “ever since he became associ-
ated with the bar association.” Mr. Clemon asked what effect
5. Mr. Hamner, as secretary of the bar association and the Board of
Bar Examiners, was the official in whose custody were all of the
papers relating to the bar examinations. He had the application
with pictures attached; he assigned the identifying numbers to the
examinees, and he received the completed examinations before
distributing them to the examiners for grading. He did not testify in
person, but submitted an affidavit to the effect that he did not take
advantage of this potential means of identifying the examinees by
race.
288 paRRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALA. STATE BAR PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALA. STATE BAR 29a
these friendships or acquaintanceships would have on the
think he would try to tell you the truth in his answers. But if
judge’s conduct of the trial:
“MR. CLEMON: Judge, do you think that in the event
there was testimony—conflicting testimony involving a wit-
ness whom you didn’t know and one of the defendants
whom you have indicated that you do know, slightly or
otherwise, that there might be any problem in your attach-
ing more weight to the testimony of the person asa! you
know rather than the person that you did not know’
“THE COURT: Well, it would depend qn who the person
I did not know, maybe, and what the evidence shows. I will
say this, of the people I know here, I have no reason to
think any of them would intentionally misrepresent any-
thing. I am sure there will be some mistake in recollection,
and certainly 1 would expect most witness to make a few
mistakes in their recollection if the testimony becomes
complicated.
“MR. CLEMON: Yes, sir.
“THE COURT: But I do not think I would have any
prejudice or bias about that matter. Certainly—or any
other matter for that matter, frankly. I have thought
about the matter thoroughty, and I don’t think that there is
any reason why I can’t fairly judge this case.
At another point, Mr. Clemon asked J udge Varner whether
his friendship for over twenty years with former bar associa-
tion secretary John Scott would influence the weight to wen
he might attach to Scott’s testimony.’ Judge Varner replied:
“I don’t think so. I will say this, I think Mr. Scott is an
honorable man but I don’t think his memory is infallible. I
7 d
, t was secretary of the state bar association and the Boar
7 pits tae until approximately four years ago, SS was
replaced by Mr. Hamner. In those capacities, Mr. —" pe —
the same duties as outlined in footnote 5, ‘supra. ro =
testimony would have been relevant to the plaintiffs assertion —
the defendants maintained a longstanding practice and ta
racial discrimination in procedures governing admission to t ,
ar ree eet te Reese eae a
he appeared to evade I think I could detect it.”
Thus, in summary, we have a challenge to the judge as-
signed to try this cae alleging discrimination on account of
race in the grading of bar examinations on the basis of the
following factual setting: the lawyer for the plaintiffs and
counsel for the defendants had held conversations off the
record in the judge’s chambers, apparently discussing the
doubts that were in the minds of plaintiffs.’ At this time no
affidavit under section 144 had been filed. In effect, plain-
tiffs were undertaking to develop a basis for determining
whether to file such an affidavit. The hearing conducted was
in the form of questions and answers put to the judge by Mr.
Clemon, counsel for the plaintiffs. This hearing developed the
fact that the judge had been president of the Montgomery
Bar Association shortly prior to being appointed to the bench
and that at the time the rules of the Association forbade
admission of black lawyers. When comment had been made
in the public press about this fact and of Judge Varner’s being
considered for appointment to the United States Court, he
appointed a commission to review the bar association by-laws,
but gave no direction or suggestion that the racial restrictions
be changed. They were subsequently changed, at a time
which the judge thought was during his term of office, but as
to this he was not certain. Judge Varner was acquainted with
7. The transcript shows the following:
“Gentlemen, you may want to have a seat at counsel table. |
asked my court reporter to stay here this morning because, Mr.
Clemon, (counsel for plaintiffs) | thought perhaps vou would like
to put some elements of our conversation on the record in regard
to your question of whether or not I should recuse myself. 1 will
have to say that I decided in cases earlier this week that these
courts have been very reluctant about letting judges recuse them-
selves and | have really changed my attitude about it in the last
two or three weeks. Heretofore, | had felt that a judge should
recuse himself very quickly because it made the court appear
more fair, but there are other obligations that the court owes and
I am afraid that I shan't recuse myself but | want to give you an
opportunity to put anything on record that you would like to put
on record.” (Emphasis supplied).
30a PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALA. STATE BAR
ten of the thirteen defendants who were members of the
Board of Bar Examiners, three only slightly and several on a
basis of what he considered friendship. Three of them he did
not know at all. When asked as to the effect of his acquain-
tance or friendship with defendants in the event of a possible
conflict in testimony in the anticipated hearings, Judge Var-
ner, by the language quoted above, indicated a strong feeling
of confidence in the veracity and trustworthiness of his
friends. When asked expressly with respect to Mr. Scott, who
had previously been secretary of the commission, and thus the
one person who had custody of all of the documents, she
expressed similar confidence in his likely credibility, noting
that “if [Scott] appeared to evade I think I could detect it.
Upon subsequently filing the affidavit, plaintiffs attached a
transcript of the hearing before Judge Varner, so that we
consider the section 144 affidavit to include all of the facts
which are recited above. Interestingly enough, by the time
the affidavit was filed in January, 1973, Judge Varner had, in
effect, already decided the issue. For, as noted above he
stated, before the facts were developed, “I am afraid that I
shan’t recuse myself but I want to give you an opportunity to
put anything on record that you would like to put on record.
This sounds very much as though he was intending to permit
the plaintiffs to build up a record for appeal, having already
decided the matter on the merits against recusing himself.
This statement, having been made prior to the filing of the
affidavit, must be considered as one of the “facts and reasons
for the belief that bias or prejudice exists” within the lan-
guage of section 144.
[4,5] Entirely aside, however, from the apparent prejudg-
ment of the issue just mentioned, we conclude that the other
8. It is of significance that none of these persons appeared to testify
personally. The motion for summary judgment was based solely
upon their affidavits. There, of course, were no opportunities to
make any credibility choices by use of the normal standards availa-
ble to a trial judge.
PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALA. STATE BAR 3la
facts stated in the affidavit, and supported by the testimony
of the hearing, taken as true, as they must be, for the purpose
of the judge’s consideration of the motion, Berger v. United
States, 255 U.S. 22, 41 S.Ct. 230, 65 L.Ed. 481 (1921) are
legally sufficient to give “fair support to the charge of a bent
of mind that may prevent or impede impartiality of judg-
ment.” Berger, supra, 255 U.S. at 33-34, 41 S.Ct. at 233.
[6] The applicable standards for determining the legal
sufficiency of the affidavit provided under section 144 are
definitively set out in the Berger case. The Court at 32 of 255
U.S., at 232 of 41 S.Ct., quoted from an opinion of this Court
in Henry v. Speer, 201 F. 869 (5th Cir.) which said:
“Upon the making and filing by a party of an affidavit
under the provisions of section 21 [predecessor of section
144], of necessity there is imposed upon the judge the duty
of examining the affidavit to determine whether or not it is
the affidavit specified and required by the statute and to
determine its legal sufficiency. If he finds it to be legally
sufficient then he has no other or further duty to perform
than that prescribed in section 20 of the Judicial Code. He
‘s relieved from the delicate and trying duty of deciding
upon the question of his own disqualification.” (Emphasis
supplied).
The Court then explains what it means by “legal sufficiency”.
Speaking again of the definition in Henry v. Speer, supra, the
Court said at 33-34 of 255 U.S., at 233 of 41 S.Ct.:
“It is a precaution against abuse, removes the averments
and belief from the irresponsibility of unsupported opinion,
and adds to the certificate of counsel the supplementary aid
of the penalties attached to perjury. Nor do we think that
this view gives room for frivolous affidavits. Of course the
reasons and facts for the belief the litigant entertains are
an essential part of the affidavit, and must give fair sup-
port to the charge of a bent of mind that may prevent or
impede impartiality of judgment.” (Emphasis supplied).
32a PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALA. STATE BAR
The Berger case was decided by the Supreme Court on a
certified question from the Court of Appeals for the Seventh
Circuit, and was designed expressly and explicitly to answer
the very question that is presented here. The language of the
section’ clearly suggests that the belief of the affiant if
supported by the facts he or she swears to, is crucial and thus
that the test of the affidavit’s legal sufficiency should be
whether the facts alleged could reasonably lead to the belief
that the affidavit says exists in the minds of the plaintiffs.
Berger supports this approach. See Note, Disqualification of
Judges for Bias in the Federal Courts, 79 Harv.L.Rev. 1435,
1446-47 (1966)." It is true that some post-Berger cases have
adopted a different test, one that would virtually require that
the facts—taken, of course, as true—are sufficient to demon-
strate a personal bias or prejudice in fact on the part of the
trial judge for or against one of the parties."
The only case in this Circuit that discusses the matter is
Simmons v. United States, 89 F.2d 591 (10 Cir., 1937), upon
which the appellees here rely. In Simmons, the affiant al-
leged that the trial judge had represented a potential witness
and the relative of a potential witness, and that the trial
judge was “friendly [sic] inclined” toward them. The Court
held: “However, it is settled that an affidavit of disqualifica-
tion under the section must state facts showing the personal
prejudice of the judge against the defendant and not baseless
conclusions.” 89 F.2d at 592. This formulation of the ruie is
correct, as far as it goes. However, it fails to distinguish
9. I. e., “The affidavit shall state the facts and the reasons for the
belief that bias or prejudice exists . . . (Emphasis added).”
10. “A formulation . . . in keeping with the purpose of the
statute would require only that the facts alleged must justify a
reasonable apprehension on the part of the affiant that the judge
may be biased [Footnote omitted]. This formulation shifts the
emphasis from the judge’s actual state of mind to the reasonable-
ness of the litigant’s fear, an emphasis at least supported, and
possibly required, by the statutory language . . .”
11. See Note, Disqualification of a Federal District Judge for Bias—
the Standard under Section 144, 57 Minn.L.Rev. 749, 758 (1973).
PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALA. STATE BAR 33a
between testing the facts to see if they 1) support the reason-
ableness of the affiant’s belief, or 2) reasonably support a
determination that bias or prejudice in fact exists. Because
the language in Simmons does not rule out the possibility of
the first interpretation, we therefore think there is no
precedent in this Circuit which holds that the affidavit must
be measured for sufficiency by a standard of actual, rather
than the existence of a reasonable belief in, bias or prejudice
on the part of the trial judge. Thus, Simmons fails to provide
the necessary guidance for determining completely the issue
before us.
More instructive, it seems to us, as to the attitude that
should be taken with respect to the treatment of a claim of
bias or prejudice is the decision and language of this Court in
United States v. Columbia Broadcasting System, Inc., 497 F.2d
107 (5th Cir. 1974). Although that case dealt with the trial by
a judge who had ordered contempt charges filed against the
respondent, the guarantee to a party of a fair and impartial
tribunal, as stated in that case are no different than they are
here. The court said at 109:
“The recondite niceties of contempt law coupled with the
strange milieu of a judge passing on the clarity of his own
orders, which had to be substantiated largely by his own
legal staff, should make us particularly sensitive to the
demands of justice, and more particularly, to the appear-
ance of justice. The guarantee to the defendant of a totally
fair and impartial tribunal, and the protection of the integ-
rity and dignity of the judicial process from any hint or
appearance of bias is the palladium of our judicial system.”
(Emphasis supplied).
We conclude that a trial’ court cannot be free from “any
hint or appearance of bias” unless a party’s sworn belief of
the existence of bias, supported by substantial facts, is of
primary ecrcern. Thus, we reject as invalid the so-called
objective test.”
i2. See footnote 11, supra.
348 PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALA. STATE BAR
[7] In summary, it was not the function of the trial court
to weigh the facts, largely developed by his own testimony
when relating his relationships with the Montgomery Bar
Association and with some ten of the defendants. Under the
standards long ago set down in this Circuit, and adopted by
the Supreme Court in Berger, his only function under section
144 was to determine whether the facts asserted gave “fair
support to the charge of a bent of mind that may prevent or
impede impartiality of judgment.” [Emphasis supplied.] As
stated in Henry v. Speer, supra, and reiterated by the Su-
preme Court in Berger, supra, “He is relieved from the
delicate and trying duty of deciding upon the question of his
own disqualification.” 255 U.S. at 32, 41 S.Ct. at 232.
The judge’s preliminary statement that he “was afraid that
I shan’t recuse myself” and his repetition twice subsequently,
when commenting on the problem arising from his friendship
with some of the defendants, of his opinion that he was
neither biased nor prejudiced and that there was nothing to
prevent him from trying the case fairly, all as set out above,
make it clear beyond a doubt that the court believed it was his
duty to decide the issue as to whether or not he was actually
biased, rather than to restrict his consideration to the question
whether there was a reasonable basis alleged for the belief of
the plaintiffs or even that there was a reasonable basis for the
charge that he was in fact prejudiced for or against one of the
parties.
While we deeply regret the necessity of further proceedings
in a case which has been argued fully on the merits in this
Court, we are required to give proper attention to the appel-
lants’ initial contention that the trial court used an improper
standard in determining whether he should recuse himself.
Having concluded that a mistaken standard was used, in that
the trial judge did not address himself at all to the question of
the sufficiency of the allegations, we conclude that the judg-
ment must be reversed. Moreover, we are satisfied that the
affidavit and the supporting facts, as here outlined, do meet
PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALA. STATE BAR 35a
the standard of section 144 and that under the circumstances
the trial judge had no course of action but to follow the
procedure set out in the statute, which says that under such
circumstances “such judge shall proceed no further therein,
but another judge shall be assigned to hear such proceeding.”
The judgment is reversed and the case is remanded for
further proceedings not inconsistent with this opinion. |
36a
Opinion of the Court of Appeals, December 4,1975 37a
Opinion of the Court of Appeals, December 4, 1975
Bewi, Circuit Judge:
This appeal involves one assignment of error directed
to the denial of a motion, filed pursuant to 28 U.S.C.A. § 144.
to disqualify the district judge who decided the matter.
There are other assignments of error arising from the
merits of the suit which claimed discrimination in the ad-
ministration of the Alabama bar examination.’ We con-
sider en bane only the assignment of error having to do
Aurrepo G. Parrisx et al., etc., Plaintiffs-Appellants,
v.
Boarp or Commissioners or the AvaBaMa State Bar
et al., etc., Defendants-Appellees.
AvanamMa Buiack Lawyers Association et al.,
Plaintiffs-Appellants,
Vv.
Boarp or Commissioners or the ALaBAMa State Bar
et al., etc., Defendants-Appellees.
Nos. 73-3553, 74-1523.
United States Court of Appeals,
Fifth Cireuit.
Dec. 4, 1975.
Appeals from the United States District Court for the
Middle District of Alabama.
Before Brown, Chief Judge, and Tuttie, Wispom, Gewry,
Bett, THorNBERRY, CoLeMAN, GoLpBerc, ArnswortH, Gop-
BoLD, Dyer, Srmpson,* Morcan, Cuark, Roney and Gee,
Circuit Judges.
* Judge Simpson did not participate in this matter. ‘There is no merit whatever in the jurisdictional objection of
appellees.
38a PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALABAMA STATE BAR
with disqualification? As will be seen,
we find no error in the denial of the
motion to disqualify, and thus the cause
will be remanded to the original hearing
panel for disposition of the other ques-
tions presented.
I.
The threshold requirement under the
§ 144 disqualification procedure is that a
party file an affidavit demonstrating
personal bias or prejudice on the part of
the district judge against that party or
in favor of an adverse party.’ Once the
affidavit is filed, further activity of the
judge against whom it is filed is cireum-
scribed except as allowed by the statute.
In terms of the statute, there are three
issues to be determined: (1) was the af-
fidavit timely filed; (2) was it accompa-
nied by the necessary certificate of coun-
sel of record; and (3) is the affidavit
sufficient in statutory terms? See gen-
erally 13 Wright, Miller & Cooper, Fed-
eral Practice and Procedure §§ 3541-53
(1975).
We are concerned only with the third
issue. As we said in Davis v. Board of
School Commissioners of Mobile County,
5 Cir., 1975, 517 F.2d 1044:
“Once the motion is filed under
§ 144, the judge must pass on the le-
2. The panel opinion dated December 2, 1974 is
reported. Parrish v. Board of Commissioners
of the Alabama State Bar, 5 Cir., 1975, 505
F.2d 12. The opinion was withdrawn on Feb-
ruary 20, 1975. Parrish vy. Board of Commis-
sioners of the Alabama State Bar, 5 Cir., 1975,
509 F.2d 540. The court determined on June
5, 1975, sua sponte, to consider the matter en
banc.
3. § 144.
Whenever a party to any proceeding in a
district court makes and files a timely and
sufficient affidavit that the judge before
whom the matter is pending has a personal
bias or prejudice either against him or in
gal sufficiency of the affidavit, but
may not pass on the truth of the mat-
ters alleged. See Berger v. United
States, 1921, 255 U.S. 22, 41 S.Ct. 230,
65 L.Ed. 481; United States v. Roca-
Alvarez, 5 Cir., 1971, 451 F.2d 843,
847-48; United States v. Townsend, 3
Cir., 1973, 478 F.2d 1072.”
517 F.2d at 1051.
Legal sufficiency is determined
as a question of law on the basis wheth-
er the affidavit sets out facts and rea-
sons for the party’s belief that the judge
has a personal bias and prejudice against
the party or in favor of the adverse par-
ty. The facts and reasons set out in the
affidavit “must give fair support to the
charge of a bent of mind that may pre-
vent or impede impartiality of judg-
ment.” Berger v. United States, supra,
255 U.S. at 33, 41 S.Ct. at 233, 65 L.Ed.
at 485.
The legal question presented is
determined by applying the reasonable
man standard to the facts and reasons
stated in the affidavit. See United
States v. Thompson, 3 Cir., 1973, 483
F.2d 527, which states the standard as
requiring that the facts be such, their
truth being assumed, as would “convince
a reasonable man that a bias exists”, 483
favor of any adverse party, such judge shall
proceed no further therein, but another
judge shall be assigned to hear such pro-
ceeding.
The affidavit shall state the facts and the
reasons for the belief that bias or prejudice
exists, and shall be filed not less than ten
days before the beginning of the term at
which the proceeding is to be heard, or good
cause shall be shown for failure to file it
within such time. A party may file only one
such affic' ‘it in any case. It shall be ac-
companied by a certificate of counsel of
record stating that it is made in good faith.
PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALABAMA STATE BAR 39a
F.2d at 528.4 The tripartite test of the
Third Circuit is as follows:
“In an affidavit of bias, tie affiant
has the burden of making a three-fold
showing:
“1. The facts must be material and
stated with particularity;
“2. The facts must be such that, if
true they would convince a reasonable
man that a bias exists.
4. The reasonable man standard was first artic-
ulated in terms of requiring that the affidavit
State facts “from which a sane and reasonable
mind may fairly infer bias or prejudice.”
Keown v. Hughes, | Cir., 1920, 265 F. 572,
577. Accord, Craven v. United States, | Cir.,
1927, 22 F.2d 605, 607; Wilkes v. United
States, 9 Cir., 1935, 80 F.2d 285, 289; Hurd v.
Letts, 1945, 80 U.S.App.D.C. 233, 152 F.2d 121,
122; Eisler v. United States, 1948, 83 U.S.App.
D.C. 315, 170 F.2d 273, 278.
5. 2. Plaintiff believes and avers that the juaze
before whom this action is pending, the Hon-
orable Robert E. Varner, has a personal bias
and prejudice against him, the other named
plaintiffs, and the class represented by plain-
tiffs in this action.
3. The facts and reasons for the belief that
such personal bias and prejudice exist are as
follows:
a. The instant action complains, inter alia,
that the defendants maintain a policy of ex-
cluding blacks from the practice of law in the
State of Alabama. The Honorable Robert E.
Varner is presently a member of the Mont-
gomery County (Alabama) Bar Association;
and when he served as President of that asso-
ciation two years ago, black lawyers were ex-
cluded from membership in the said associa-
tion under the terms of its by-laws. The Hon-
orable Judge Varner was then acquainted with
the five or six black lawyers who then prac-
ticed in Montgomery; but never made an ef-
fort to invite them to join the association. It
was only after the aforesaid judge became in-
terested in a federal judgeship that he, as pres-
ident of the Montgomery County Bar Associa-
tion, appointed a committee to revise the said
by-laws; and the record is unclear as to
whether the “white only” membership clause
“3. The facts must show the bias is
personal, as opposed to judicial, in na-
ture.”
483 F.2d at 528.
The pertinent part of the affidavit
filed against Judge Varner is set out in
the margin.’ We consider it in light of
the transcript developed in an examina-
tion of the district judge some weeks
before the affidavit was filed* See the
discussion of the content of the tran-
of the Montgomery County Bar Association
was removed during his tenure as president of
the aforesaid association.
b. None of the plaintiffs in this case are per-
sonally acquainted with the Honorable Robert
E. Varner. The said judge considers the de- .
fendant Commissioner Hill as a_ personal
friend; he is a friend of Reginald Hamner, one
of the chief defendants in the case; he is a
friend of John Scott, defendant Hamner’s
predecessor in office and proposed to be called
by the plaintiffs as an adverse witness; he is
also a friend of counsel for ail of the defend-
ants. Further the said judge is personally ac-
quainted with many of the other defendants in
this cause. Although the testimony of the wit-
nesses at the trial of this cause is expecte
be conflicting in nature, the aforesaid Judge
Varner has indicated that he does not believe
that any of the defendants with whom he is
acquainted would intentionally misrepresent
any of the matters related to this lawsuit.
Thus, plaintiffs sincerely believe that where
the judge is called upon to make credibility
choices throughout the trial, as he will be, he
will attach undue weight to the testimony of
his friends and acquaintances, all to the detri-
ment of the plaintiffs and the class they repre-
sent.
6. The unorthodox procedure of an examination
of the judge by counsel for plaintiff prior to
filing the affidavit leads to some confusion on
review. For example, plaintiffs take some
comfort from Judge Varner’s statement during
the examination that he would not disqualify.
This appears to them as a prejudgment. In
any event, such prejudgment as existed was
academic absent the required affidavit. The
affidavit was filed 30 days later.
40a PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALABAMA STATE BAR
script in the panel opinion, 5 Cir., 505
F.2d 12.
The factual bases in the affidavit of
disqualification are also summarized in
the pane! opinion as follows:
“(1) that while Judge Varner was
President of the Montgomery County
Bar Association two years ago, the As-
sociation had a clause in its by-laws
barring black members and that the
judge never made any effort to invite
black lawyers whom he knew to join;
“(2) that Judge Varner was ac-
quainted with several defendants in
the suit and e'! of defendants’ counsel,
and that he said he did not believe
that any of the defendants whom he
knew would intentionally misrepresent
any of the matters related to the law-
suit.”
505 F.2d at 17.
Il.
With these facts and the recited
legal principles in mind, we proceed to a
consideration of the sufficiency of the
affidavit. Personal bias or prejudice is
required under § 144. Neither of the
factual bases alleged for recusal here
raises an inference of personal bias or
prejudice.
The first ground asserted, Judge Var-
ner’s past activities in the Montgomery
Bar Association, is essentially an allega-
tion based on the judge’s background
and states no specific facts that would
suggest he would be anything but impar-
tial in deciding the case before him.
The claim of bias is general or imperson-
al at best. See Eisler v. United States,
1948, 83 U.S.App.D.C. 315, 170 F.2d 273;
Simmons v. United States, 5 Cir., 1937,
89 F.2d 591; Price v. Johnston, 9 Cir.,
1942, 125 F.2d 806; cf. United States v.
Seiffert, 5 Cir., 1974, 501 F.2d 974, 977-
78
The second ground, regarding Judge
Varner’s acquaintance with some of the
defendants and counsel, has been reject-
ed as a basis for requiring the disqualifi-
cation of a trial judge. See e. g. Sim-
mons v. United States, 5 Cir., supra;
Parker Precision Products Co., Ince. v.
Metropolitan Life Insurance Co., 3 Cir.,
1969, 407 F.2d 1070, 1077; Broome v.
Simon, W.D.La., 1965, 255 F.Supp. 434,
438. The argument is that Judge Var-
ner would be biased when it came to
making credibility choices among wit-
nesses. His statements made when be-
ing examined by counsel as to his possi-
ble disqualification were no more than
an acknowledgement of friendship or ac-
quaintanceship, and a refusal to con-
demn these persons as unworthy of be-
lief in advance of whatever their testi-
mony might prove to be. A statement
by Judge Varner that he would believe,
without question, any testimony of such
persons would require a different result.
Here, however, Judge Varner’s answers
did not refiect a lack of impartiality.
The additional ground of the friendship
between the judge and counsel for appel-
lees, without more, is so lacking in merit
as to warrant no discussion.
In short, the affidavit, including the
facts on which it was based, was legally
insufficient under § 144 to require dis-
qualification. Judge Varner did not err
in so ruling.
ITI.
We next consider questions which
arise in an unusual context. Title 28,
§ 455, was amended effective December
5, 1974. The order of the district court
being appealed from was entered and
the panel opinion of this court was is-
PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALABAMA STATE BAR 4la
sued prior to December 5, 1974. Appel-
lants suggest, nevertheless, that because
the court determined to hear the cause
en banc, and to receive supplemental
briefs, the cause was thereby not “fully
submitted” for appellate review prior to
the effective date of the amendment.’
We held in Davis v. Board of School
Commissioners of Mobile County, supra,
that the amended statute applied where
that appeal had not been fully submitted
on the effective date of the Act. Here
the appeal was submitted on June 11,
1974 when the original panel heard oral
argument and took the cause under sub-
mission. Indeed, the panel opinion was
issued on December 2, 1974, three days
before the effective date of the Act.
That opinion was withdrawn, however,
and thus the matter continued under
submission. Thereafter, on June 5, 1975,
the court ordered the matter heard en
bane and allowed supplemental briefs.
7. The Act amending § 455 provides:
This Act [amending this section] shal! not
apply to the trial of any proceeding com-
menced prior to the date of this Act [Dec. 5,
1974], nor to appellate review of any pro-
ceeding which was fully submitted to the
reviewing court prior to the date of this Act.
Pub.L. 93-512, § 3, 88 Stat. 1609.
8. One caveat is important in the administra-
tion of §§ 144 and 455. Ordinarily the provi-
sions of § 455 would be drawn into issue in
determining the sufficiency of an affidavit un-
der § 144 only to the extent that affiant relies
upon those provisions in filing the affidavit.
Here we consider the provisions of amended
§ 455 only because the amendment is made
applicable to cases not fully submitted on ap-
peal and because the amendment was not in
being when the affidavit was made.
We described the relationship between § 144
and § 455 in Davis as follows:
“The office of the procedure under § 144 is
to disqualify a judge prior to trial on motion
of a party. Section 455 is the statutory
standard for disqualification of a judge. It is
self-enforcing on the part of the judge. It
may also be asserted by a party by motion
Assuming that an appeal is fully sub-
mitted after the briefing schedule has
terminated and oral argument, if there
is to be such, has taken place, then it
may well be asserted that this cause
was, in effect, reopened when the sup-
plemental briefs were allowed on en
banc consideration. Given this circum-
stance and the policy of the statute, we
conclude that the question of disqualifi-
cation must also be reviewed.® Under
the standards now embraced in amended
§ 455. The questions to be considered go
to the sufficiency of the affidavit, as
bolstered, in the peculiar posture of this
case, by the transcript of the pre-affida-
vit interview or examination of Judge
Varner. They are questions of law and
may be decided in this court although
never presented to the district court.
Davis v. Board of School Commissioners,
supra.
There are now several standards ‘1
§ 455. Some go to specific conduct, but
in the trial court, Rapp v. Van Dusen, 3 Cir..
1965, 350 F.2d 806, 809; through assignment
of error on appeal United States v. Seiffert.
5 Cir., 1974, 501 F.2d 974; Shadid v. Oklaho-
ma City, 10 Cir., 1974, 494 F.2d 1267, 1268,
by interlocutory appeal, as here, or by man-
damus, Texaco, Inc. v. Chandler, 10 Cir,
1965, 354 F.2d 655.”
517 F.2d at !051--52.
9. 28 U.S.C.A. § 455, reads in pertinent part:
(a) Any justice, judge magistrate, or referee
in bankruptcy of the United States shall dis-
qualify himself in any proceeding in which
his impartiality might reasonably be ques-
tioned.
(b) He shall also disqualify himself in the
following circumstances:
(1) Where he has a personal bias or preju-
dice concerning a party, or personal
knowledge of disputed evidentiary facts
concerning the proceedings;
. > 7 > . >
(4) He knows that he, individually or as a
fiduciary, or his spouse or minor child re-
siding in his household, has a financial in-
42a PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALABAMA STATE BAR
one, set out in § 455(a), is general and
does not rest on the personal bias and
prejudice stricture of §§ 144 and
455({b\1). As we noted in Davis, supra,
517 F.2d at 1052, the language of
§ 455(a) was intended to displace the
subjective “in the opinion of the judge”
test for recusal under the old statute,
and the so-called “duty to sit decisions”.
We also noted that § 455(a) was intend-
ed to substitute a “reasonable factual ba-
sis—reasonable man test” in determining
whether the judge should disqualify him-
self. See 13 Wright, Miller & Cooper,
Federal Practice and Procedure § 3542
(1975). See also, Frank, Commentary on
Disqualification of Judges-Canon 3c,
1972, Utah L.Rev. 377, 379. Note, Dis-
qualification of Judges and Justices in
the Federal Courts, 86 Harv.L.Rev. 736,
745-50 (1973).
f€}) Considering first the § 455(a)
claim, and the relevant facts and circum-
stances, we are of the view that a rea-
sonable man would not infer that Judge
Varner’s “impartiality might reasonably
be questioned”. The facts have been
stated in our discussion of the § 144 is-
sue.
Judge Varner was president of a local
bar association in which black lawyers
were denied membership. This policy
was changed during or shortly after his
administration as president. As the affi-
davit makes clear, see Note 5, supra, he,
at the least, set the change in policy in
motion by appointing a committee to re-
vise the by-laws. He is faulted for not
terest in the subject matter in controversy
or in a party to the proceeding, or any
other interest that could be substantially
affected by the outcome of the proceeding;
(d) For the purposes of this section the fol-
lowing words or phrases shail have the
meaning indicated:
making an effort to obtain membership
for black lawyers through inviting them
to join, yet he, in effect, did just this in
having the by-law changed. Appellants’
logic would catch saint and sinner alike.
There is hardly any judge in this circuit
who was not a member of a segregated
bar association at one time, and many
have held a high office in the bar associ-
ations. The way of life which included
segregated bar associations has been
eliminated but only a new generation of
judges will be free from such a charge.
In any event, this circumstance will not
support a claim of lack of impartiality.
Such a claim must be supported by facts
which would raise a reasonable inference
of a lack of impartiality on the part of a
judge in the context of the issues
presented in a particular law suit.
There are no such facts here. The stat-
ed conduct of Judge Varner does not
support such an inference.
The allegation of lack of impartiality
stemming from Judge Varner’s acquaint-
anceship or friendship with witnesses
and defense counsel is likewise tenuous.
It does not exceed what might be ex-
pected as background or associational ac-
tivities with respec. to the usual district
judge. As a factuai basis, the allega-
tions fall short of supporting an infer-
ence of lack of impartiality under
§ 455(a).
The factual basis also falls short
under § 455(b\1), in that there is no
particularized allegation that Judge Var-
ner had “personal knowledge of disputed
(4) “financial interest" means ownership
of a legal or equitable interest, however
small, or a relationship as director, advis-
er, or other active participant in the affairs
of a party, :
PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALABAMA STATE BAR 43a
evidentiary facts concerning the proceed-
ing”. Credibility choices are not disput-
ed facts.
There are two additional claims of dis-
qualification under amended § 455.
They are based on the membership of
Judge Varner in the Alabama State Bar,
an organization in which membership
has long been compulsory under the inte-
grated bar concept. Title 46, §§ 30, 42,
Code of Alabama. Each claim is attenu-
ated in the extreme.
First, it is suggested that Judge Var-
ner has a substantial interest in the suc-
cess of defendants in the suit because of
his identification with the bar associa-
tion. Appellants rely on § 455(b)(4) for
this proposition. No interest exceeding
mere membership is asserted. This is
not a ground for disqualification.
The second ground based on the
judge’s bar association membership is
that he has a financial interest in the
outcome of this case because the bar as-
sociation may be compelled to pay attor-
neys’ fees should plaintiffs succeed. Al-
though the amended § 455 states that
any “financial interest” in the subject
matter in controversy or any party to
the proceeding requires recusal, the spec-
tre of the potential obligation of the
Board of Commissioners, ‘a judicial organ
of the state, Title 46, § 21 et seq., Code
of Alabama, for attorneys’ fees does not
fall within the statutory definition of
“financial interest”. Section 455(d)(4), n.
9, supra.
We affirm as to the denial of the mo-
tion to disqualify. Except as to that
issue, the appeal is remanded to the orig-
inal panel for disposition.
JOHN R. BROWN, Chief Judge (spe-
cially concurring):
I concur in the result and all of Judge
Bell’s opinion in Parts II and III and all
of the opinion in Part I except that por-
tion which specifically adopts the test in
the Third Circuit case of United States
v. Thompson, 3 Cir., 1973, 483 F.2d 527.
I believe that the portion of the test in
Thompson that requires a finding that
“the facts if true
would convince a reasonable man that a
bias exists” (emphasis added) can be
read as requiring proof of bias in fact. I
do not think that we need go this far.
Under the other acceptable and fre-
quently used test, whether a reasonable
person could reasonably have a belief of
bias, this affidavit is still insufficient.
Therefore, I would reach the same re-
sult, but I think that we need not decide
at this point which of these two possibly
divergent standards we should apply.
GODBOLD, Circuit Judge (specially
concurring):
I concur in the result and in Part II of
Judge Bell’s opinion. I agree with
Judge Roney that we do not reach 28
U.S.C. § 455 standards.
RONEY, Circuit Judge (specially con-
curring):
I concur in the result and Part II of
Judge Bell’s opinion. As to Part I, I join
in Chief Judge Brown’s concurrence.
Part III considers a question which I do
not believe is before the Court, i. e.,
whether the district judge’s refusal to
recuse himself was proper under 28 U.S.
C.A. § 455 standards, as amended on De-
cember 5, 1974.
I agree that en banc consideration
makes this an appellate review not “ful-
ly submitted,” so that § 455, as amended,
would apply to this appellate review,
which means it would set the standard
for recusal of any of our reviewing
44a PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALABAMA STATE BAR
judges who might be challenged for bias.
But that is not the question. The dis-
trict judge sat at trial. What act ap-
plied to the trial? Congress clearly pre-
vided that the new § 455 Act “shall not
apply to the trial of any proceeding”
commenced prior to December 5, 1974.
The trial of this proceeding was complet-
ed prior to that date. We are judging
the correctness of that trial and should
do so by the standard applying to it as
clearly set forth in the statute.
The Act amending § 455 provides:
This Act [amending this section]
shall not apply to the trial of any pro-
ceeding commenced prior to the date
of this Act [Dec. 5, 1974], nor to appel-
late review of any proceeding which
was fully submitted to the reviewing
court prior to the date of this Act.
Pub.L. 93-512, § 3, 88 Stat. 1609.
The application of this act to the dis-
‘trict judge’s refusal to recuse himself at
trial of this proceeding envisions a provi-
sion as to when the amendment is to be
applied in “appellate review,” not to ap-
pellate review. Congressional approach,
however, was to address the level “of
any proceeding” that the statute would
apply to. Part III of Judge Bell’s opin-
ion applies § 455 in appellate review toa
trial of this proceeding to which the act
specifically says it does not apply. It
seems inconsistent to provide one stan-
dard of recusa! for the trial judge to
apply to himself at the trial, and provide
a different standard by which to review
the correctness of his failure to recuse.
Apparently Congress thought so too. I
would not apply the act contrary to the
express directions of Congress.
1. And though it also reaffirms the settled rule
that judicial actions cannot be made the basis
of an accusation of bias, it should not be diffi-
cult for an inventive affiant to assert extra-ju-
GEE, Circuit Judge (specially concur-
ring):
The proper interpretation of Section
144 is a vexed matter with which I have
long struggled. The belief of the parties
that they are receiving even-handed jus-
tice, the apparency of justice to those
not parties, the importance of both per-
ceptions in maintaining the legitimacy of
the judicial institution, the difficult deci-
sions faced by a judge called upon to
stand recused, and the practical implica-
tions of § 144 for the continued efficient
functioning of the district courts in our
circuit are some of the competing consid-
erations. They are not easily harmo-
nized, and, indeed, there may be no en-
tirely satisfactory manner of implement-
ing Section 144. And though I concur
fully in the opinion of the court on the
assumption that United States v. Berger,
255 U.S. 22, 41 S.Ct. 230, 65 L.Ed.2d 481
(1921), remains good law, I feel obliged
to express my doubt that it does or
should. For, in my respectful view, Ber-
ger represents an outdated rule which
has been made tolerable in present cir-
cumstances only by engraftment of dubi-
ous exceptions.
The majority opinion reaffirms Ber-
ger’s antique rule that whatever “facts”
the recusal affidavit may assert cannot
be questioned but must be accepted as
gospel.' Such an approach gives free
play to the unscrupulous or reckless affi-
ant, willing to run his chance of a pon-
derous and unlikely prosecution for per-
jury—and perhaps in little danger, since
Berger seems to say that “affidavit” as-
sertions made on mere information and
belief will suffice for § 144 purposes.?
Perjury charges have traditionally been
dicial bases that disguise an aversion actually
grounded in judicial philosophy and approach.
2. 255 U.S. at 34, 41 S.Ct. 230.
PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALABAMA STATE BAR 45a
based on falsely stated physical facts,
and are rarely extended to representa-
tion of opinions. Suffice to say, estab-
lishing beyond reasonable doubt bad
faith in assertion of a belief purportedly
held at the time of an affidavit’s filing is
no light iask.2 For similar reasons,
counsel will not likely fear disciplinary
proceedings initiated by the local bar. I
am reluctant to join in mandating a pro-
cedure which envisions, for example,
that a judge must take as true an affi-
davit asserting, perhaps on “information
and belief,” that he has recently engaged
in an acrimonious personal dispute with
« defendant—complete with particu-
tars—and is therefore disqualified to sit
it his case, when the judge well knows
that the affidavit has misidentified him
and is mistaken. We go far enough
when we read § 144 as withdrawing
from ihe judge decision of the final fact,
his own actual bias. We should noi re-
quire him to conduct such a curious and
hypothctics! proceeding as deciding
whether an apprehension or bias is rea-
sonably supported by whatever supposi-
tious state of facts a daring and unscru-
pulous, or perhaps merely misadvised
and agitated, party may be willing to
swear to.
Factual matters necessary to decision
of preliminary questions, of which recu-
sal is a prickly example, are routinely
resolved by weighing and evaluating af-
fidavits. See, e. g, Wright & Miller,
Federal Practice and Procedure s i373,
at 714. Only three workable modes of
deciding this particular question occur:
3. The author of Note, 79 Harv.L.Rev. 1435
(1966), found no cases in which a perjury
charge stemming from a § 144 affidavit had
ever been prosecuted during the (then) forty-
five years since Berger. Id. at 1442. Indeed, !
have found none to date.
(1) peremptory disqualification upon the
mere filing of an affidavit; (2) decision
of the issue by another magistrate than
the one accused; or (3) decision either of
actual bias or the reasonable appearance
of it by the magistrate sought to be dis-
qualified.
There are indications in the legislative
history that peremptory disqualification
was the legislative intent;* but this con-
struction has never been adopted by any
court. Reference to another magistrate
is utterly foreign to the statutory
scheme and raises its own problems of
administrative inconvenience and delay.
The statute’s language zives fair support
to the construction that the judge is not
to determine bias-in-fact, and common
sense supports the view that few if any
humans can fairly decide whether they
themselves are or are not biased in any
given matter. But it is not too much to
ask that a conscientious magistrate de-
termine whether a given affidavit con-
tains enough truth to fairly support a
reasonable apprehension that he may be
biased, or that an appellate court review
that decision effectively. There is,
therefore, no need to discern in § 144 a
rule by which a party who reaily wanis
to do so and has the nerve can al pleas-
ure disqualify any federal judge in a giv-
en proceeding by presenting to him 2
spurious set of ex parte “facts” which he
cannot question—and by which his oppo-
nent can disqualify his first replaceent
by the same means.
| freely admit that Berger appears on
its face to foreclose my reading of § 144.
4. The chief sponsor of the bill, asked if the
judge retainec any discretion after the filing of
the recusal affidavit, replied: “No, it provides
the judge shall proceed no further with the
case.” 46 Cong.Rec. 2627 (1911).
5. Section 144 limits a party to” . one
such affidavit in any case.”
46a PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALABAMA STATE BAR
The Berger decision, however, has not
gone unscathed—even by its authors—in
the many years since 1921. It is notori-
ous that, faced with its quixotism, courts
on the firing line have, addressing other
issues, limited its scope in ways perhaps
dubious. As is duly observed, for exam-
ple, in Comment, 57 Minn.L.Rev. 749, 755
(1973), the lower federal courts have ef-
fectively rejected a liberal reading of
Berger by such anomalous and desperate
devices as requiring that the affidavit
establish bias-in-fact, United States v.
Gilboy, 162 F.Supp. 384, 393 (M.D.Pa.
1958), by restricting the types of facts
which may constitute a sufficient affida-
vit, Chessman v. Teets, 239 F.2d 205, 215
(9th Cir. 1956), rev'd on other grounds,
354 U.S. 156, 77 S.Ct. 1127, 1 L.Ed.2d
1253 (1957), and by requiring that the
bias be directed to the party personally,
Cole v. Lowe’s Inc., 76 F.Supp. 872, 876
(S.C.Cal.1948), rev’d on other grounds,
185 F.2d 641 (9th Cir. 1950), cert. denied,
340 U.S. 954, 71 S.Ct. 570, 95 L.Ed. 688
(1951). The Supreme Court has directly
approved one such inroad in United
States v. Grinnell Corp., 384 U.S. 563, 86
S.Ct. 1698, 16 L.Ed.2d 778 (1966), holding
that the alleged bias “must stem from
an extrajudicial source and result in an
opinion on the merits on some basis oth-
er than what the judge learned from his
participation in the case.” Although the
Grinnell! Court cited Berger, the proposi-
tion stated can be construed far more
broadly than anything mentioned there.
Also, Berger to the contrary notwith-
standing, it is far from clear that the
Supreme Court in Grinnell felt itself
bound to accept as given fact the allega-
6. In Pfizer the court was interested in a dem-
onstration of actual personal bias. In order to
decide the issue the court “carefully examined
the petition, the underlying joint affidavit, the
responses thereto, and portions of the record
pertinent to petitioners’ claims.” 456 F.2d at
tions made by the affiants: in its opin-
ion the Court quotes from what can only
be the transcript of pretrial proceedings,
a type of matter which the Berger Court
went out of its way to declare irrelevant.
In other instances the Court has denied
certiorari and left standing inroads on
and narrow interpretations of Berger.
See, e. g., Pfizer, Inc. v. Lord, 456 F.2d
532 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 406 U.S. 976,
92 S.Ct. 2411, 32 L.Ed.2d 676 (1972); *
Mirra v. United States, 379 F.2d 782,
787-88 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 389 U.S.
1022, 88 S.Ct. 593, 19 L.Ed.2d 667 (1967);
Ryan v. United States, 99 F.2d 864, 871
{8th Cir. 1938), cert. denied, 306 U.S. 635,
59 S.Ct. 484, 83 L.Ed. 1037 (1939). I am
all but convinced that if faced with the
facts of Berger today the Supreme Court
would decide it otherwise. Being so per-
suaded, I would not lightly expose our
circuit to such risks of wholesale disrup-
tion as an untimely resurrection of Ber-
ger in its pristine and literal form
threatens, to be endured until the Su-
preme Court—grappling with the mighty
concerns which face it—is able to recon-
sider these questions.
Finaliy, I realize that the approach to
§ 144 I advance is likely foreclosed even
by previous panel decisions in our own
circuit. Davis v. Board of School
Comm'rs, 517 F.2d 1044 (5th Cir. 1975);
United States v. Roca-Alvarez, 451 F.2d
843, 847-48 (Sth Cir. 1971), rehearing
granted, 474 F.2d 1274 (5th Cir. 1973);
Beland v United States, 117 F.2d 958,
960 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 313 U.S. 585,
61 S.Ct. 1110, 85 L.Ed. 1541 (1941); Sim-
mons v. United States, 89 F.2d 591, 592-
533 (emphasis added). And, asthough accept-
ing as true the facts recited in the affidavit,
“[w]je determine the validity of petitioners’
conclusion of bias by examining the cited facts
against the record presented to us.” 456 F 2d
at 537 (emphasis added).
PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALABAMA STATE BAR 47a
93 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 302 U.S. 700,
58 S.Ct. 19, 82 L.Ed. 540 (1937), and in-
deed Henry v. Speer, 201 F. 869 (5th Cir.
1913), quoted with approval in Berger.
But I do not think such a position wise
or practical, and the court en banc is
free to adopt a different one. I would
grasp the nettle now.
TUTTLE, Circuit Judge, with whom
GOLDBERG, Circuit Judge, joins, dis-
senting.
With deference I disagree with the
opinion of the Court as to the standard
that is to be used by the Court in deter-
mining whether an affidavit for bias
filed under § 144 is “sufficient.” I agree
with the statement quoted in the opinion
from Davis v. Board of School Commis-
sioners of Mobile County, 517 F.2d 1044
(5th Cir. 1975):
“Once the motion is filed under
§ 144, the judge must pass on the le-
gal sufficiency of the affidavit, but
may not pass on the truth of the mat-
ters alleged. See Berger v. United
States, 1921, 255 U.S. 22, 41 S.Ct. 230,
65 L.Ed. 481; United States v. Roca-
Alvarez, 5 Cir., 1971, 451 F.2d 843,
847-48; United States v. Townsend, 3
Cir., 1973, 478 F.2d 1072.”
I cannot agree, however, that the stan-
dard of determining the “legal sufficien-
cy of the affidavit” is one that requires
that the facts be such, their truth being
assumed, as would “convince a reasona-
ble man that a bias exists.” As stated in
the panel opinion of the Court, subse-
quently withdrawn, 5 Cir., 505 F.2d 12, I
am of the view that the standard is one
that merely requires that the facts be
such, their truth being assumed, as
would convince a reasonable man that
the affiant reasonably believed that bias
exists.
Of course, this Court, sitting en banc,
is writing on a clean slate, and in doing
so the Court, very properly, I think, con-
siders that the standard to be applied to
the decision of this issue is one that must
meet the requirements of § 455. It is
my opinion that the Berger case, con-
struing the predecessor of } 144 and the
new amended § 455, outl.ned and dis-
cussed in the majority opinion, vvih re-
quire that the judge against whom an
affidavit for bias is lodged must deter-
mine only whether the allegations are
such as would cause a reasonable person
standing in the same relationship as does
the affiant to believe that the challenged
judge has a “bent of mind that may
prevent or impede impartiality of judg-
ment.” Berger v. United States, 255
U.S. 22, 33, 41 S.Ci. 230, 233, 65 L.Ed.
481.
If what is called the “objective” stan-
dard, that is whether a reasonable man
would conclude that bias actually exists
had been the standard intended by the
Supreme Court in Berger the Court
would not have said that the affidavit
“must give fair support to the charge of
a bent of mind that may prevent or im-
pede impartiality of judgment.” It
would have said rather that the affidavit
“must give fair support to the existence
or fact of a bent of mind, ete.” In dis-
cussing the standard in Berger, the
Court referred to the language that the
“affidavit shall state the facts and the
reasons for the belief” of the existence
of the bias =r prejudice. The Court said:
“Of course the reasons and facts for
the belief the litigant entertains are
an essential part of the affidavit, and
must give fair support to the charge
of a bent of mind .....” [Em-
phasis added.]}
It seems clear to me that this statement
means that the affidavit must reason-
48a PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALABAMA STATE BAR
ably support the belief of the affiant
and not that it must reasonably support
the actual existence of bias. This view
has been expressed in the following lan-
guage:
“A formulation . . . in keep-
ing with the purpose of the statute
would require only that the facts al-
leged must justify a reasonable appre-
hension on the part of the affiant that
the judge may be biased [footnote
omitted]. This formulation shifts the
emphasis from the judge’s actual state
of mind to the reasonableness of the
litigant’s fear, an emphasis at least
supported, and possibly required, by
the statutory language ,
{Emphasis added.]
Disqualification of Judges for Bias in the
Federal Courts, 79 Harv.L.Rev. 1435,
1446-47 (1966).
The approach which I would take to
the construction of this statute seems to
me much more consistent with the ex-
pression of this Court in United States v.
Columbia Broadcasting System, Inc., 497
F.2d 107 (5th Cir. 1974) dealing with the
basic right of a party to a fair and im-
partial tribunal:
“The recondite niceties of contempt
law coupled with the strange milieu of
a judge passing on the clarity of his
own orders, which had to be substanti-
ated largely by his own legal staff,
sheuld make us particularly sensitive
to the demands of justice, and more
particularly, to the appearance of jus-
tice. The guarantee to the defendant
of a totally fair and impartial tribunal,
and the protection of the integrity and
dignity of the judicial process from
any hint or appearance of bias is the
palladium of our judicial system.”
{Emphasis supplied.)
I would conclude that a trial court
cannot be free from “any hint or appear-
ance of bias” unless a party’s sworn be-
lief of the existence of bias, supported
by substantial facts, and tested by a
standard of reasonableness, is of primary
concern.
The view which I hold as to the proper
interprecation of § 144 is fortified by the
recent enactment by Congress of amend-
ments to § 455. This section of the Code
provides as follows:
“(a) Any justice, judge, magistrate,
or referee in bankruptcy of the United
States shall disqualify himself in any
proceeding in which his impartiality
might reasonably be questioned.”
The House Report on this bill which
adopted major portions of the Senate
Report, No. 93-419 to accompany the
Senate Bill commented expressly on the
relation between this amendment and
the newly adopted Code of Judicial Con-
duct for United States Judges.' The Re-
port contains the following language:
“Thus, the present situation is one
where the Judicial Conference has
made applicable to all federal judges
the new Code of Judicial Conduct, in-
cluding Canon 3C relating to disquali-
fication of judges. The present lan-
guage of § 455 of title 28 is less re-
strictive than the new Canon on dis-
qualification. The bill (S. 1064) under
consideration would amend section 455
by making it conform, with two excep-
tions, to the requirements of the canon
on disqualification.”
1974 U.S. Code Congressional & Admin-
istrative News, p. 6353.
1. This Code of Judicial Conduct for United States Judges was adopted by the Judicial Conference
of the United States in April, 1973.
PARRISH v. BOARD OF COM’RS OF ALABAMA STATE BAR 49a
Only one of the “exceptions” referred
to in the foregoing language is relevant
to our discussion. This exception is the
change made in the third word of the
Code of Judicial Conduct. Congress saw
fit to change the words “a judge should
disqualify himself in a proceeding in
which his impartiality might reasonably
be questioned” to “a judge shail disquali-
fy himself in a proceeding in which his
impartiality might reasonably be ques-
tioned,” thus indicating more clearly the
intent of Congress that the standards be
tightened up to the extent that less dis-
cretion was to be left to the particular
judge.
Furthermore, the changing of the
word from “should” to “shall” is ex-
plained by comments in the House Cum-
mittee Report:
“The language also has the effect of
removing the so-called ‘duty to sit’
which has become a gloss on the exist-
ing statute. See Edwards v. United
States, 334 F.2d 360 (5th Cir. 1964).
Under the interpretation set forth in
the Edwards case, a judge, faced with
a close question on disqualification,
was urged to resolve the issue in favor
of a ‘duty to sit.’ Such a concept has
been criticized by legal writers and
witnesses at the hearings were unani-
mously of the opinion that elimination
of this ‘duty to sit’ would enhance
public confidence in the impartiality of
the judicial system.”
More importantly, however, it seems
to me to be clear that both the Code and
the new § 455, which now speak in the
same terms, has set up a standard in-
volving the reasonableness of the belief
or fear of the litigant rather than the
reasonable likelihood of the existence of
actual lack of impartiality. It will be
noted that the language speaks in terms
of the judge’s impartiality being reason-
ably “questioned.” It does not speak in
terms of his partiality being reasonably
likely to exist. Moreover, in the Com-
mittee Report the following language
makes clear, it seems to me, that we are
dealing with the reasonableness of the
litigant’s belief or fear of the existence
of bias rather than the reasonableness of
the claim that bias actually exists:
“Nothing in this proposed legislation
should be read to warrant the trans-
formation of a litigant’s fear that a
judge may decide a question against
him into a ‘reasonable fear’ that the
judge will not be impartial.”
By clearest implication, it seems to me
that this language says that the stan-
dard must be whether the litigant has a
“reasonable fear” that the judge will not
be impartial.
The use of the terms “objective” and
“subjective” are somewhat confusing in
this context. I agree that there must be
an objective determination as to whether
the facts and circumstances fairly sup-
port the litigant’s belief or fear that
there is a lack of impartiality. To this
extent it is an objective test.
Under this test, therefore, I would
have no doubt but that the affidavit in
this case, considered in connection with
This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.