Petition — Leonard v. United States

Supreme Court brief1976

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

In THE

Supreme Court of the United Staten

OCTOBER TERM, 1975

wo. %@5-1016

Jackson D, Leonarn,

Petitioner,

against

Unrrep States or AMERICA,

Respondent.

_ 7 SS eee, SN sa ——

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

James Scrremer

330 Madison Avenue

New York, N.Y, 10017

Attorney for Jackson D. Leonard

Aan KANnzer

Of Counsel

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I EEE enh ndds duuceeeennnbdesecteessscecs

GUPIEOUOM OF GES COUEE occ cc ccccccccccccccccnees

ED IEE ccc ckccuccccedbanceteccesods

Statutes, Regulations and News Releases Involved . .

Btatement OF the Case ..cccccccccscccccccvccccccee

The IRS Investigation of Leonard's Tax Affairs

The Foreign Bank Account Project ............

The Audit and the Indietment ...........6.6444.

The Swiss Bank Affidavit .......6. 66666 c eeu

The Government's “proof” of the affidavit's

~~ aeierrervrTTTTTrerTrerrrrrrrrererrrrerTere

bva Brooke's testimony ....... cece eeeeeeees

The Decision of the Court of Appeals for the Second

CUIOUNS cccccccccncccccccccceecccecccccccegecs

Reasons for Granting Certiorari .......6. 666660005,

I—This Court should resolve the conflict among the

Circuits as to whether the [RS must comply with

its own rules and give taxpayers suspected of

criminal activities the constitutional warnings

prescribed by IRS regulations .......... 6006.

14

ii TABLE OF CONTENTS

Il—This Court should decide whether the Swiss mail

WAGER WAS LOMB) oc ccccccccccccccccccecces ‘owe

111—The Court should resolve the conflict among the

Circuits governing the admissibility of similar

act evidence, and should insure that its decision

in Bronston v, United States, 409 U.S, 352

(1973) is not undermined ........ 6660 0e cee eee

1V—This Court should exercise its power of super-

vision of the federal administration of justice

to condemn prosecutorial misconduct of a par-

ticularly prejudicial nature oo... 66. cece eens

1, The Government improperly obstructed the

defendant's interviews of ipehieet wit-

WETTTTITETTLET Le TETTTTITINT TTT iii

2. The government improperly used a Letter

Rogatory to obtain the presence and testi-

mony of Eva Brooke, a British citizen, upon

the false threat that she was otherwise sub-

ject (in England) to “extradition and arrest”

although she was completely innocent of any

wrongdoing. In addition, the government

improperly failed to disclose these circum.

stances at trial, as required by this Court's

decision in Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S, 83

CRUD cccvccccesecccsccccececscccccesces

ee eee cece bh dee eehh deka be

PAGR

19

22

27

TABLE OF CONTENTS iii

Arrenpix:

PAGE

Appendix A, Opinion, United States Court of Ap-

peals For the Second Cireuit, August 28,1975... 1a

Appendix B, Opinion, United States Court of Ap-

peals For the Seeond Cireuit, November 18, 1975,

Denial of Rehearing and Suggestion for En Bane

SED. Sob badence chacucedcbeacescccce 30a

Appendix C, United States Court of Appeals For the

Second Circuit, December 4, 1975, Stay of Man-

GD bhcvesnccecedcsccecccecssvecccseccascens 33a

Appendix D, Title 26, U.S.C. § 7206 ........00ce00es 34a

Appendix KE, United States Post Office Manual and

ED 4.55 de Soncedueéonetceseseeccescécs 35a

Appendix F, United States District Court For the

Southern District of New York, Letter Rogatory

to the Appropriate Judicial Authority in London,

England, January 14, 1975 00.0.0... 666 c ccc Sla

Appendix G, Internal Revenue Service News Releases

A ry rer er rr Da

Appendix H, Order United States Supreme Court,

Extending Time To File Petition For Writ Of

ED CANS cicees cobs cde cove decocecocseses 57a

Tasue or Cases

Beckwith v, United States, No, 74-1248 ............. 2,19

Brady v. Maryland, 873 U.S, 88 (1968) ........6. 05. 29, 32

Bronston v, United States, 409 U.S, 352 (1973) ..... 2, 4,24,

25, 26

Canaday v. United States, 354 F.2d 849 (8 Cir, 1966) 20

iv TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

California Bankers Association v, Shultz, 416 U.S, 21

(2008) . coccccceeeceseocesseuubneeneenel 21

ee ee em 27, 28

Hammond vy. Lenfest, 398 F.2d 705 (2 Cir, 1968) .... 2

Kraft v, United States, 238 F.2d 794 (8 Cir. 1956) ... 2, 24

Mathis v. United States, 391 U.S. 1 (1968) ........5. 18

Michelson vy, United States, 335 U.S, 469 (1948) ..... 23

Service v, Dulles, 354 U.S. 363 (1957) . 0.0... c cece 2

Smith v. Resor, 406 F.2d 141 (2 Cir, 1969) 0.0.0.0...

Spencer v. Texas, 385 U.S. 564 (1967) . 0.0.6. cece 23

U.S. ex rel. Accardi v. Shaugnessy, 347 U.S, 260 (1954) 2

United States v, Costello, 255 F.2d 876 (2 Cir, 1958)... 20

United States vy, Crisona, 416 F.2d 107 (2 Cir, 1969),

cert, denied, 397 U.S. 961 (1970) occ ccc ees 22

United States v. Deaton, 381 F.2d 114 (2 Cir, 1967) .. 22

U.S. ex rel, Donham vy. Resor, 436 F.2d 751 (2 Cir.

ADTA) nccccccccccccccccccccseeseccssceeseeees 2

United States v. Heffner, 420 F.2d 809 (4 Cir.

| J MMETITITITITITIT TT 2, 14, 16, 19

United States vy, Isaacs, 3A7 F.Supp. 743 (N.D, Til.

IDTS) acccccrccccccccccccovesesesesseseeeeeen 20

United States v. Lawrence, 480 F.2d 688 (5 Cir, 1973) 2, 24

United States v, Leahey, 434 F.2d 7 (1 Cir, 1970)... 2,14,

16,19

United States v. Matlock, 491 F.2d 504 (6 Cir, 1974),

cert, denied, 419 U.S, 864 (1974) oo... cece aes 27

United States v. Reagan, 453 F.2d 165 (6 Cir, 1971),

cert, dented, 406 U.S, 946 (1972) oo. cece aes 30

I

TABLE OF CONTENTS Vv

PAGE

United States v. Sicilia, 475 F.2d 308 (7 Cir. 1973),

cert. denied, 414 U.S. 865 (1973) ...........645: 17

United States v. Schwartz, 283 F.2d 107 (3 Cir. 1960),

cert. denied, 364 U.S. 942 (1961) ............... 20

United States v. Sourapas, 515 F.2d 295 (9 Cir. 1975) 2, 14,

16, 19

United States v. White, 454 F.2d 437 (7 Cir. 1971),

cert. denied, 406 U.S. 962 (1972) ............55. 27

Vitarelli v. Seaton, 359 U.S. 535 (1959) ............ 2

Volkswagenwerk A.G. v. The Superior Court of Sac-

ramento County, 109 Cal. Rept. 219, 33 CA 3d

508 (#73) bin ee DER MMiAeadubeeceen eevee. 29

Wong Sun v. United States, 371 U.S. 471 (1963) .... 16

Yellin v. United States, 374 U.S. 109 (1963) ........ 2

Sratutes CITED

EERE a ee 8

26 U.S.C

es eee e es segesescoces 5

Eee cckebeceeeseecoecocccoses 4,5

28 U.S.C.

ee icc cieseteseoccececcoes 3

EE ELI SIE OP PPP OPT ESTEE ETT Y 31

Ee eee cd cece sccecccccesocece 30, 31

31 U.S.C.

ee ccc ceecdeceesecococcces 21

ESE SSE SLES SPIE PPP OTTETTTE TELL TY 21

Foreign Tribunals Evidence Act of 1856 ........... 31

i ce oc esas eeeccocececcoss 31

vi TABLE OF CONTENTS

Oruer AUTHORITIES

PAGF.

Postal Manual of the Post Office Department,

EEE 56-0 a0 h ¢00.a00 on becchdocn seme avetete tet 4

Pan EEE dncddununeChkeeeine ds cabndewinnane 15

Pe EE d.ducunddcavsdapdsodecenncesecdaeun 22

PRE seiveccdéddvusckddabeucdessiscwes 22

PS dahugascdedeccenedceadahesuenee 22

PEE A ivfeccicedwsndncuneaideteuryeiaeni 22

DR MED cu éuve'set cudxagauancevaunueeneeeas 22

PR TE 55 scxnncidicadnnnsccowssndtcneass 22

IRS News Releases Nos. 897 (issued October 3,

1967), and 949 (issued November 26, 1968) .... 4,14

ABA Standards Relating to the Administration of

Criminal Justice, The Prosecution Function,

9 3.1(¢); Diseovery and Procedure before Trial,

DE sevdéusbecnnudasesiasenasecebsdsaconiion 27

Kamisar, La Fave and Israel, Modern Criminal Pro-

cedure 1236-37 (1974 ed.) ......cccccccsccccces 27

2 Wigmore, Evidence $§ 300-373 ...............005- 23

ee Gee WEE kno n0ecense dwaueusseseebonnseounns 28

Ballentine’s Law Dictionary (3d ed. 1969), pp. 726-727 29

Oh ot ennai

a. =

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1975

No.

,

7

Jackson D. Leonarp,

Petitioner,

against

Unrrep States or AMERICA,

Respondent.

s.

a

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Jackson D. Leonard (“Leonard”) petitions for a Writ

of Certiorari to review the judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, entered on August

28, 1975, affirming a judgment of conviction entered in the

United States District Court for the Southern District of

New York on March 7, 1975, after a seven-day jury trial.

In a decision of far-reaching importance, the Second

Cireuit:

(1) Created a confiiet with decisions of the First,

Fourth and Ninth Cireuits, which all held that the Internal

Revenue Service (“IRS”) must comply with its published

2

rules and regulations requiring its agents to give specified

warnings to taxpayers suspected of criminal tax fraud.*

(2) Sanctioned a massive and unprecedented mail

watch which was virtually unlimited in scope and involved

the interception of all mail from Switzerland arriving at

John F. Kennedy airport in New York City during two

entire four month periods in 1968 and 1969 and which vio-

lated applicable Post Office Regulations and the United

States Constitution.

(3) Created a conflict with the decisions of the Fifth

and Eighth Cireuits, United States v. Lawrence, 480 F.2d

688 (5 Cir. 1973) and Kraft v. United States, 238 F.2d

794 (8 Cir. 1956), by rejecting the “plain, clear and

convincing’’ standard governing the admissibility of al-

leged ‘‘similar ecrime’’ proof. Moreover, although this

Court in Bronston v. United States, 409 U.S. 352 (1973),

held that a defendant could not be prosecuted for making

a statement, which although misleading, was not literally

* The decisions of the First, Fourth and Ninth Cireuits to which

reference is made are: United States v. Leahey, 434 F.2d 7 (1

Cir. 1970), United States v, Heffner, 420 F.2d 809 (4 Cir. 1969),

and United States v. Sourapas, 515 ¥.2d 295 (9 Cir. 1975).

This Court, on June 16, 1975, granted certiorari in Beckwith v.

United States, No. 74-1243, in which the issue of the failure of

the IRS to give taxpayers constitutional warnings is also raised.

The Beckwith case, argued December 1, 1975, involved the ques-

tion of whether Miranda warnings were constitutionally required

in non-custodial interrogations by IRS agents. The instant case

raises a different issue; namely, whether the IRS must comply

with its published regulations governing the conduct of criminal

tax investigations (requiring that specified warnings be given to

taxpayers) as a matter of due process and equal protection. See

Yellin v. United States, 374 U.S. 109 (1963). Vitarelli v. Seaton,

359 U.S. 535 (1959), Service v. Dulles, 354 U.S. 363 (1957)

and U.S. ex rel. Accardi v. Shaughnessy, 347 U.S. 260 (1954),

which prohibit arbitrary deviations by agencies from published

regulations and procedures. See also U.S. ex rel. Donham v. Resor,

436 F.2d 751 (2 Cir. 1971), Smith v. Resor, 406 F.2d 141 (2 Cir.

1969) and Hammond v. Lenfast, 398 F.2d 705 (2 Cir. 1968).

et ae ee ow ae alll

PO

3

untrue, the decision below permitted a comparable state-

ment to be used as ‘‘similar crime” proof relevant to

wilfulness.

(4) Sanctioned prosecutorial misconduct of a particu-

larly prejudicial nature in which the prosecutor improp-

erly obstructed defense counsel’s pretrial access to poten-

tial witnesses and concealed the fact that (in order to ob-

tain the presence and testimony at trial of a foreign

witness) the prosecutor had, through the improper use of

a Letter Rogatory, threatened such witness with “arrest

and extradition’’, despite the fact that the witness was in-

nocent of any wrongdoing.

Opinions Below

The opinions of the Court of Appeals are not yet re-

ported but are set forth in full in Appendix A and B at

la-32a.*

Jurisdiction of this Court

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered

on August 28, 1975, and on November 18, 1975 the Court

of Appeals denied Leonard’s petition for rehearing and his

suggestion for rehearing in banc (Appendix A and B at la-

32a). On December 5, 1975, Mr. Justice Marshall extended

Leonard’s time for filing a Petition for Certiorari to and in-

cluding January 17, 1976 (Appendix H at 57a).

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28

U.S.C. § 1254(1).

Questions Presented

1. Should the IRS be required to comply with its own

regulations governing the conduct of criminal tax fraud

* References to sections of the Appendix are by capital letter,

followed by the page number and the letter ‘‘a’’.

4

investigations, as the First, Fourth and Ninth Circuits

have held?

2. Did the massive and unprecedented IRS mail watch

(which intercepted all mail arriving from Switzerland at

Kennedy Airport during two entire four month periods in

1968 and 1969) violate applicable Post Office regulations and

the United States Constitution, and should evidence ob-

tained as a result of the illegal mail watch be suppressed?

3. Should the standard of proof governing the admis-

sibility of alleged “similar crime evidence” be “plain, clear

and convincing” as the Fifth and Eighth Circuits have

held (because of the highly prejudicial nature of such

proof), or merely a “preponderance of the evidence” as

the Second Circuit held below? Further, does this Court’s

decision in Bronston vy. United States, supra, bar proof of

wilfulness (through alleged “similar crime evidence”) by

means of an allegedly “false (but not literally untrue)

statement” dictated by a government agent but signed by

the defendant?

4. Did the prosecutor’s misconduct in obstructing Leon-

ard’s access to prospective witnesses and in concealing

from defendant’s trial counsel that the Government,

through the improper use of a Letter Rogatory, threatened

a key foreign witness (who was innocent of any wrongdo-

ing) with arrest and extradition in order to obtain the

witness’s presence and testimony at trial, deny Leonard a

fair trial?

Statutes, Regulations and News Releases

Involved

This case involves 26 U.S.C. § 7206(1), Part 861 of the

Postal Manual of the Post Office Department, and IRS

News Releases Nos. 897 (issued October 3, 1967) and 949

(issued November 26, 1968), the texts of which are set

forth in pertinent part in Appendix D at 34a, E at 35a-44a,

and G at 55a-56a.

ele call

Statement of the Case

Jackson D. Leonard was convicted on March 7, 1975,

after a seven-day jury trial before United States District

Judge Richard Owen of the Southern District of New

York, on two counts of subscribing income tax returns for

1967 and 1968 which omitted income from reported ad-

justed gross income, in violation of 26 U.S.C. § 7206(1).°

Judge Owen sentenced Leonard to eighteen months im-

prisonment, but suspended execution of all but three

months, and imposed the maximum fine of $10,000 ($5,000

on each count), plus the costs of prosecution. Execution

of sentence has been stayed pendiag disposition of

Leonard’s Petition for a Writ of Certiorari.

The IRS Investigation of Leonard’s Tax Affairs

The IRS investigation of Leonard’s tax returns was

precipitated by two independent events which occurred

almost simultaneously. The first was that an undisclosed

informant, who was seeking a reward, claimed that Leonard

had been receiving commercial bribes, i.e., illegal kick-

backs.** The second was that a mail watch conducted by

the IRS led the IRS to suspect that Leonard had a secret

Swiss bank account. As a result, Leonard’s investigation

* Leonard was not charged with tax evasion, a more serious

violation. Compare 26 U.S.C. § 7201 with 26 U.S.C. 7206(1). The

income which Leonard allegedly omitted from his adjusted gross

income (“AGI”) was $24,168.09 in 1967 and $58,684.42 in 1968.

His reported AGI was $259,051.97 in 1967 and $134,276 in 1968.

The allegedly omitted income was received by Leonard from Tread-

well Corporation (“Treadwell”), pursuant to a contractual over-

ride between Union Carbide Corporation (“Union Carbide”) and

Leonard, providing that Leonard was to supervise engineering

work done by Treadwell for a chemical plant in Louisiana designed

by Leonard for Union Carbide.

** This allegation was later proved to be untrue.

was assigned to a highly unusual IRS program called the

Foreign Bank Account Project (“FBA Project”),

The Foreign Bank Account Project

The Foreign Bank Account Project, instituted in 1968,

was a major, clandestine program to identify and prosecute

American taxpayers who had dealings with Swiss banks,

The FBA Project was so highly secret that agents

working on it were forbidden to discuss it even with other

IRS personnel, A major aspect of the project was a mail

watch conducted by Special Agents of the Intelligence

Division® of the IRS who intercepted, inspected and

photocopied mail coming into the United States from

Switzerland,

In order to obtain authority for the mail watch, the

IRS (under then current Post Office regulations, pertinent

portions of which are set forth in Appendix E at 35a-44a)

was required to represent in writing te the Post Office

that the mail watch was part of a criminal investigation.

The mail watch involved an unprecedented effort by

Special Agents of the IRS to intercept, handle and inspect

all mail arriving at Kennedy Airport from Switzerland

during two four month periods (January through April)

of 1968 and 1969, Utilizing machines that microfilmed

3600 pieces of mail per hour, the IRS photocopied every

envelope which lacked a return address, as the IRS sus-

* Special Agents work in the Intelligence Division of the Inter-

nal Revenue Service, They are the criminal investigators of the

IRS and they have the right to carry guns and inake arrests,

Revenue Agents (as op to Special Agents) are aney audi-

tors, i.¢., accountants, w responsibility is to conduct civil audits

in order to determine the correct income tax liability of a taxpayer.

Revenue Agents occasionally work with Special Agents on fraud

cases, i.¢., criminal investigations, but then only under the diree-

tion of Special Agenta,

7

pected that the practice of Swiss banks was not to put

their names or addresses on envelopes.* Since the micro-

filming took a few hours at least, and in some cases when

the mail was heavy a second machine was brought in, the

number of envelopes which the Special Agents photo-

graphed may have exceeded 100,000,

As a result of the mail watch, the tax returns of untold

numbers of American citizens who the IRS suspected were

receiving mail from Swiss banks were examined to deter-

mine whieh would be “good candidates”’ for audits, Selee-

tions were thereafter made of 110 of them in the New

York area alone, without regard to the normal criteria for

determining which taxpayers should be audited, Leonard

was one of the taxpayers selected for special investiga-

tion,

The investigations of these 110 were supervised by

Special Agent Hyman Boller who was assisted by a Reve-

nue Agent named Bernard Morris. Investigators were

specially picked from a select fraud group in the Audit

Division and given detailed lists of specific things they

were expected to look for in the audits, These items, which

included telephone records, cable and telex charges and

backs of checks, were not normally reviewed in civil tax

examinations, and their selection reflected techniques em-

ployed in criminal investigations,

Revenue Agents, who were trained or supervised by

Special Agents, conducted the FBA Project audits, gave

no constitutional warnings, and deliberately concealed

that they were conducting criminal investigations, While

the audits were in progress, Special Agents continued the

* The LRS was able to identify envelopes sent by Swiss banks

by comparing the postage meter numbers on the envelopes with

the numbers on mail obtained by the IRS in response to earlier

inquiries secretly sent to Swiss banks by IRS agents who pretended

to be interested in opening Swiss acounts.

mail watches, and envelopes from Switzerland to tax-

payers under investigation were intercepted, inspected

and photocopied,

If the examination of the taxpayers’ records failed to

disclose independent proof of Swiss bank accounts, the

Revenue Agents were instructed by Special Agents how to

obtain incriminating admissions from the taxpayers,

Despite the fact that the IRS had documentary informa-

tion that a taxpayer had contacts with a Swiss bank, the

Revenue Agent was instructed to obtain a personal con-

frontation and utilize a subtle ploy by asking the tax-

payer whether he had any foreign (rather than Swiss)

accounts.” If he denied having any, the Revenue Agent

was directed then to dictate, for the taxpayer's signature,

an affidavit confirming the denial, apparently to commit

the taxpayer in writing to a false denial that could be

utilized in subsequent prosecutions either as direct evi-

dence of criminal activity (making false statements to

government agents in violation of 18 U.S.C, § L001) or as

circumstantial evidence of wilfulness (to be used in a sub-

sequent prosecution for tax related violations as was done

in the instant case).

The Audit and the Indictment

Leonard was informed that his returns had been selected

for review by a standard audit notice sent to his home, It

contained nothing to alert him of the criminal nature of

the investigation.

The audit was begun in June or July, 1968 by Revenue

Agent Mortimer Laski (‘‘Laski’’) of the FBA Project. It

*The Government conceded in its brief before the Court of

Appeals below that the agents were specifically “instructed” to

bypass the taxpayer's “accountants or attorneys” and “to directly

ar the taxpayer” the foreign bank question, See page 17, fn.,

infra.

was six years before the investigation was completed, dur-

ing which time at least eight, and possibly as many as

seventeen, IRS agents dealt directly with Leonard or his

representative,

The Swiss Bank Affidavit

In August 1969, during the course of the audit, Agent

Laski, who did not inform Leonard of the criminal nature

of the investigation, and did not give Leonard the warnings

required by IRS regulations governing the conduct of

criminal tax investigations, asked Leonard, outside the

presence of his attorney and accountant, whether he had a

Swiss bank account. According to Agent Laski, Leonard

denied that he presently (in August 1969) had a foreign

account,

Thereafter, at the direction of his IRS superiors, Laski

dictated an affidavit which was substantially broader than

Leonard's oral denial but which Leonard signed. It pro-

vided, inter alia:

(1) ‘*I do not now and I have not had any foreign

bank accounts’’; and

(2) ‘I have not had any transactions or dealings of

any nature with any foreign banks or other repre-

sentatives except for [specified loans in Australia

and currency conversions ].’’

The Government's “proof” of the

affidavit’s “falsity”

The Government offered the Laski-dictated, Swiss bank

affidavit as ‘‘similar act’’ evidence relevant to ‘wilful.

ness’’,

The Government sought to prove the falsity of the affi-

davit through the testimony of Harris Egan, the manager

of a branch office of Chase Manhattan Bank (‘‘Chase’’),

He testified that between April and November of 1968 he

Ee

10

delivered to Leonard, at the request of Chase's Interna-

tional Office, a number of official Chase checks totalling

$383,000, and that Chase had made these payments at the

direction of a Swiss bank.*

Despite the fact that the Swiss bank affidavit did not

purport to address itself to indirect transactions and de-

spite the fact that the IRS drafted the affidavit and thereby

determined the seope and content of Leonard's denial, the

Government contended that the payments by Chase con-

stituted ‘‘indireet’’ dealings with a foreign bank which

Leonard should have disclosed, In the Government's view,

this rendered the affidavit false and made it proper evi-

dence of a similiar crime relevant to wilfulnesa,

Eva Brooke's testimony**

iva Brooke, the widow of an employee of Kerr-MeGee

Chemical Corporation, testified that in the summer of 1971

(three years after the last tax-return year in the indictment

and two years after Leonard had signed the affidavit) she

was present when Leonard had business discussions with

her late husband, According to Mrs, Brooke, “Mr, Leon-

-——e - <i e

* This $383,000 was not alleged to be taxable income to Leonard

nor was it alleged to have constituted any of the omitted income

in either 1967 or 1968, As noted at p, 5 supra, the income alleged

in the indietment to have been omitted was from Treadwell for

engineering work performed on a chemical plant designed by

Leonard for Union Carbide in Louisiana, The allegedly omitted

income had no connection, direct or indirect, with any alleged

Swiss bank,

** The Government improperly used a Letter atory which it

never filed in England, to coerce Mrs, Brooke, a British citizen, to

travel to New York to testify upon a false representation and threat

(contained in the Letter Kogatory itself) that she was otherwise sub-

ject in England to “extradition and arrest”, Appendix F at 5la

he Government concealed these circumstances from defense coun-

wel at trial, and the facts did not become known until the appeal

stage when the Government was required to file the Letter .

tory as part of the record for transmission to the Court of Appeals

for the nd Cireuit, See Point LV, infra,

11

ard was extremely anxious that my husband join him in

business” and as a result offered him:

“A free apartment at Sutton Place, and he mentioned

the sum of $100,000 a year, with my husband as presi-

dent of the company, 50,000 of which would be made

in U.S. doilars and 50,000 to be deposited into a Swiss

bank account,”

Mrs. Brooke also claimed that there was “a written note

on this, but I did not see it myself.’’ During the evening,

Leonard and his wife and Mr. and Mrs. Brooke had gone

to dinner and then for drinks. Mrs. Brooke stated that

some time during that evening there was discussion as to

how to open a Swiss bank account and Leonard said: “1

have one,”’*

Mrs. Brooke also said she questioned Leonard about

Swiss banks, and Leonard mentioned that ‘‘Swiss bank

accounts are numbered and not in a name.’’

The Government claimed that Eva Brooke's testimony

was evidence that Leonard had made a false statement in

his 1971 federal income tax return when he checked the box

that indicated that he did not personally have ‘‘any inter-

est in or signature or other authority over a bank account

in a foreign country.”’**

* Since this conversation allegedly took place in 1971, it was not

relevant to Leonard's Swias bank affidavit, which was signed two

years before,

** The 1971 tax return (containing the foreign bank account

disavowal) waa filed in April 1972, four and five years after the

tax return years which were the subject of the indictment, Con-

sequently, it was too remote to be relevant to whether Leonard

wilfully subscribed his 1967 and 1968 tax returns knowing that

they omitted material amounts, although it was clearly Highly

inflammatory and prejudicial, See Point III, page 23n., infra,

12

The Decision of the Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit

The Court of Appeals rejected Leonard’s contentions

that the IRS's investigation of him was criminal and

that the mail watch was illegal, and held that Revenue

Agent Laski (despite IRS regulations governing the con-

duct of criminal investigations) had no duty to advise

Leonard that he was the subject of a criminal investigation

nor to warn him of his rights to counsel or to refuse to

answer Laski’s questions,

Whiie the Court of Appeals agreed with Leonard that

the Government had failed to prove that Leonard’s affi-

davit was false insofar as it related to whether Leonard

personally had ever had any Swiss bank accounts, and

while the Court of Appeals caustically noted (Appendix A

at 25n-26a) that:

‘It would doubtless have been wiser for the judge

to have excluded the (Swiss bank] evidence or, at

the least, to have exeluded it until after the presenta-

tion of the defendant's case when there would have

heen a better opportunity to appraise the prosecu-

tion’s need for it. We do not think, however, that

the trial judge’s admission of this evidence was be-

yond the bounds of his legitimate diseretion, although

it may have been close to the edge.’’ (emphasis sup-

plied) (citation omitted),

it nevertheless held that the jury might reasonably have

inferred that Leonard had a transaction with a foreign

hank since the “official’’ Chase cheeks Leonard received

were predicated on instructions received by Chase from a

Swiss bank,

The Court of Appeals reached this conclusion only be-

cause it applied a ‘‘mere preponderance”’ of the evidence

standard for the admissibility of similar act proof (i.e.,

the affidavit) rather than using the “plain, clear and con-

vincing’’ standard mandated by the Fifth and Eighth

Circuits,

13

Although the Court of Appeals acknowledged that

Leonard had raised issues of importance concerning how

far the Government may go in discouraging witnesses

from being interviewed by defense counsel, particularly

when the witnesses are government employees, the Court

of Appeals held that it did not need to reach those issues

because it did not believe that Leonard had demonstrated

tat he had been prejudiced ‘‘in any significant degree’’

by the prosecutor’s interference.

In fact, Leonard did prove prejudice: the information

which the prosecutor refused to allow the prospective wit-

nesses to supply him was the very data necessary to es-

tablish that the “audit’’ of Leonard was a criminal in-

vestigation from its inception. And this, of course, is the

very thing the Court of Appeals held that Leonard had

failed to do, and assigned as a principal reason for not

suppressing the statements Leonard gave to Revenue Agent

Laski. Further, the opinion also overlooked the fact that

the prosecutor’s misconduct itself prevented Leonard from

demonstrating additional prejudice.

The decision below also failed to comprehend the import

of the improper methods the Government used to get Mrs.

Brooke to testify, which coercive methods undoubtedly

affected the content of her testimony. Although the de-

fense vigorously attacked the credibility of her testimony,

it did so on the erroneous premise that her memory was

simply wrong or that she was motivated by some unknown

reason to hurt Mr. Leonard. Had the defense known that

Mrs. Brooke’s testimony had been procured and colored

by threats of “arrest and extradition” and misrepresenta-

tions, it would have been able to challenge what must have

been viewed by the jury as highly incriminating testimony.

As an examination of the record will readily show, Mrs.

Brooke’s testimony had a significant adverse impact on

Leonard.

14

Reasons for Granting Certiorari

This Court should resolve the conflict among the

Circuits as to whether the IRS must comply with

its own rules and give taxpayers suspected of crim-

inal activities the constitutional warnings prescribed

by IRS regulations.

The First Cireuit (United States v. Leahey, 434 F.2d 7

fl Cir. 1970], Fourth Cireuit (United States v. Heffner,

420 F.2d 809 [4 Cir. 1969]) and the Ninth Cireuit (United

States v. Sourapas, 515 F.2d 295 [9 Cir. 1975]), have all

unequivocally held that IRS agents must comply with the

requirements of IRS News Releases 897 and 949.*

Although the Second Circuit (as is explained more fully

below) clearly indicated its disagreement with the deci-

sions of the First, Fourth and Ninth Circuits, it avoided a

direct and explicit conflict by setting up a series of artificial

distinctions between the facts in those eases and the instant

one,

Thus the Court of Appeals has claimed that the IRS had

not focused on Leonard as a criminal suspect at the time

he was interviewed by Revenue Agent Laski and signed

the allegedly false affidavit, and that Laski was a Revenue

Agent, and not a Special Agent, and therefore not bound

by regulations governing the manner in which criminal tax

investigations should be conducted.

Contrary to the Court of Appeals’ conclusion, however,

the record clearly demonstrates that the IRS’s investigation

of Leonard was criminal from its inception. In the first

~~ oe

Post Office authority for the mai! watch the IRS was re-

* See Appendix E at 35a-44a for the text thereof, and infra.

15

quired to represent to the Chief Postal Inspector that the

F BA Project was a criminal investigation.

The relevant sections of the regulations are Parts 861.41

and 861.42, which provide as follows:

‘¢ 41 The Chief Postal Inspector is the principal officer

of the Post Office Department in the administration of

all matters governing mail covers. .

“42 The Chief Postal Inspector . . . may order mail

covers [only] under the following circumstances:

“bh. When written request is received from any law

enforcement agency wherein the requesting authority

stipulates and specifies the reasonable grounds that

exist which demonstrate the mail cover is necessary to

. .. (3) obtain information regarding the commission

or attempted commission of a crime.” (emphasis sup-

plied) (Appendix E at 36a).

Indeed, the only basis on which the IRS could legiti-

mately have obtained authority to conduct the mail watch

was if it made an explicit representation that the informa-

tion sought was necessary to an investigation “regarding

the commission or attempted commission of a crime’’.*

* The Government contended both before the District Court and

the Court of Appeals that the investigation of Leonard was strictly

a civil audit and that the FBA Project, rather than being a criminal

investigation, was merely a program to ‘‘develop audit techniques

relevant to foreign bank accounts”. In fact, the Government as-

serted in its brief below that ‘‘there is no inconsistency’’ between

the previous ‘‘IRS representation to the Postal authorities’’ con-

cerning the criminal nature of the FBA investigation and the Gov-

ernment’s opposite claim asserted below that the investigation was

civil. According to the government's brief before the Court of

Appeals, these inherently inconsistent positions are reconcilable

because the Government in the future intended to prosecute “other

. . . [taxpayers] ultimately detected through the latter use of the

(footnote continued on following page)

a ee

16

Additionally, the origin of the investigation, the manner

in which it was conducted and the functions actually per-

formed by Agent Laski demonstrate that he was a part of

a criminal investigation and not performing a strictly “civil

audit”.

The FBA Project originated in the Intelligence Division

of the TRS, and initially only Special Agents took part in

the mail watches. It was the Special Agents (who are

criminal investigators) that utilized and compiled the

master list of stamp meter numbers corresponding to par-

ticular Swiss banks and who produced the computer print-

out of taxpayers and the names of Swiss banks with which

they corresponded. It was also Special Agents who ini-

tially wrote to such Swiss banks, falsely representing them-

selves to be American citizens interested in opening Swiss

bank aecounts. Further, it was Special Agent Hyman

Boller who selected (with the assistance of Revenue Agent

Morris) which taxpayers should be targeted for investi-

gation.

(footnote continued from preceding page)

audit techniques developed by the FBA project’’ and that there-

fore the investigation was essentially civil. However, this argument

would permit mail watches in every routine IRS audit on the

theory that such audits might lead to criminal prosecution in the

future. If this argument is correct, it would nullify the explicit

limitations for mail watches contained in the Post Office regulations.

See Part 861, infra, Appendix E at 37a.

Further, the Government cannot have it both ways. Either, as

the IRS represented to the Post Office in 1967 or 1968, the FBA

Project was a criminal investigation (in which case the IRS im-

properly failed to give Leonard the required warnings—United

States v. Leahey, supra, United States v. Heffner, supra, United

States v. Sourapas, supra), or the mail watch was part of a civil

investigation (in which ease the mail watch was improperly au-

thorized since it was based upon a material representation now

admitted by the Government to have been false—Wong Sun v.

United States, 371 U.S. 471 (1963)). In either case, Leonard’s

statements should have been suppressed. Leahey, supra, Heffner,

supra, Wong Sun, supra.

17

Special Agents also determined how the investigation

should be conducted, and directed that its criminal nature

should not be disclosed to the taxpayers. The obvious

reason for such concealment was to induce unsuspecting

taxpayers to cooperate with the “auditors”. The IRS

doubtless realized that cooperation was most unlikely once

a taxpayer was advised he was a criminal suspect and

thereafter sought and received legal counsel.

Use of Revenue Agents, rather than Special Agents, was

clearly a part of the IRS’s effort to conceal from the tax-

payer the true nature of the investigation. As the Seventh

Circuit stated in United States v. Sicilia, 475 F.2d 308, 310

(7 Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 865 (1973):

“In general, special agents are concerned with

criminal investigations. On the other hand, the audit

type of investigations are handled by revenue agents

with no particular contemplation of criminal prose-

eution. There, therefore, is considerable potential for

the taxpayer being misled as to the nature of the

investigation.”

Furthermore, Laski, though designated by the IRS as a

“Revenue Agent”, was acting as a “Special Agent” when

he interrogated Leonard and secured his signature on the

Swiss bank affidavit. Pursuant to instructions, Laski in-

sited on a personal meeting with Leonard, conducted the

interrogation as instructed by the Intelligence Division

and inquired into an area that had no relation to the

purely “civil” aspects of his audit. As this Court

* The Government lamely contended below in its brief to the

Court of Appeals that the reason the agents conducting the in-

vestigations in the field were specifically “instructed” to bypass the

taxpayer’s “accountants or attorneys” and “to directly ask the

taxpayer” the foreign bank question was because the taxpayer's

representatives “may well have been given no knowledge of the

existence of the Swiss account by the client.” Of course, even if

(footnote continued on following page)

eee ee

18

recognized in Mathis yv. United States, 391 U.S. 1 (1968),

it is the reality of the situation, rather than the nominal

status of the IRS employee, that determines whether

there is a requirement to give warnings.

Most importantly, there are additional critical indicia

that the FBA project was a criminal investigation. Dur-

ing the alleged “audit” stage, Special Agent Boller se-

lected a group of “20 odd” good candidates, who had orally

denied having a foreign account and had also signed affi-

davits confirming the denial, and referred them to the U.S.

Attorney’s office for the Southern District of New York for

questioning by Assistant United States Attorneys in the

criminal division. The use of a federal prosecutor’s office

is completely inconsistent with the Government’s claim

below that the investigation was strictly civil. Further,

IRS regulations limit mail covers only to criminal investi-

gations; however, the mail watch of Leonard and others,

run initially between January and April 1968, was con-

tinued in 1969, while the ‘‘audits’’ were still in progress to

coincide with the personal confrontation with the taxpayer

when the foreign bank question was to be asked. Addi-

tionally, the FBA investigation was ‘‘top secret’? and

was not disclosed, even to other IRS agents, except on a

“need-to-know” basis. All of these are clearly character-

istic of a criminal (not a civil) investigation.

(footnote continued from preceding page)

that were true, the “accountant or attorneys” could always have

inquired of their clients and reported the informaiion back to the

agents. However, the fact that the agents in the project insisted

on personal confrontations demonstrates that these meetings were

designed to obtain either admissions or false denials.

Further, the insistence by a Revenue Agent that a taxpayer

execute an affidavit is a rare occurrence in routine “audits”; only

in alimony eases (i.e. where alimony is deductible by the husband)

and in certain estate cases (where an accounting is required) are

affidavits requested, but then the affidavits concern specific pay-

ments or items. Here, by contrast, the affidavit did not foeus on

any specific amounts but merely documented the taxpayer’s oral

denial, demonstrating that the Swiss bank affidavit here was de-

signed to force an admission out of taxpayers who would “think

yee A as IRS Agent Morris testified below, before signing a

enial.

19

Consequently, this case is in fact indistinguishable from

Heffner, Leahey and Sourapas, supra, and this Court

should decide the important question uf whether evidence

obtained in violation of IRS regulations which are in-

tended to protect the rights of citizens to due process

should be excluded.*

This Court should decide wivther the Swiss mail

watch was legal.

The Court of Appeals decision that the IRS mail watch

is legal raises issues of substantial national importance.

At a time when there have been frequent revelations of

unauthorized surveillance by government agencies, includ-

ing the IRS, this Court should not allow to pass unre-

viewed a decision that sanctioned inspection of every piece

of mail arriving in New York from Switzerland by air dur-

ing a period of eight months, when there was not the slight-

est evidence that the people receiving the overwhelming

bulk of this mail were connected in any way with any

criminal activities. This is especially true since the num-

ber of individuals whose mail was microfilmed was sub-

stantial (perhaps exceeding 100,000), and also because

the damage to privacy and freedom of speech and asso-

ciation that could result from such misuse of mail watches

is considerable.

* Moreover, as noted, at page 2, supra, this case raises a dif-

ferent question than Beckwith, supra, does, since agents there gave

warnings which may have satisfied IRS regulations, while here no

warnings at all were given until after Leonard had made his

allegedly incriminating statements and turned over to the IRS

substantial numbers of allegedly incriminating documents. Fur-

ther, the opinion of the Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia does not indicate whether Beckwith raised the issue of

non-compliance with IRS regulations, or only asserted that he had

not been given full Miranda warnings.

20

This is the first case, as far as we can discover, which

raises the question of whether the Government may insti-

tute broadscale mail watches of an entire class of people

when it has no reason to believe that any specific member

of the class has committed or is about to commit a crime.

Indeed, the mail watches which the courts have hereto-

fore approved have all been quite limited in scope, and

clearly restricted to the inspection of the mail sent to spe-

cifie individuals who were reasonably suspected of having

committed, or having attempted to commit, particular

crimes, See, eg. Canaday v. United States, 354 F.2d 849

(S Cir, 1966), United States v. Schwartz, 283 F.2d 107

(3 Cir, 1960), cert. denied, 364 U.S, 942 (1961), United

States v, Costello, 255 F.2d 876 (2 Cir, 1958), and United

States vy. Lsaacs, 347 F. Supp. 743 (N.D. Tll. 1972).

The Second Cireuit in effeet has conceded that the FBA

Project mail watch was of a very different order from

earlier judicially approved mail watches, and raised greater

risks of infringement of important constitutional rights, ob-

serving:

“It may well be that, in these days of increased con-

cern for the protection of privacy, the statement in

Costello [supra] should not be read as an absolute,

permitting, for example, the Government to copy the

outside of any envelope received by every citizen.”

Appendix A at La,

The Seeond Circuit was nevertheless reluctant to hold

the instant mail watch illegal, however, because it regarded

the Leonard case as “an unattractive candidate for creat-

ing an exception” 7d. ai 15a, both because it did not regard

the searc) as unreasonable or believe that addressees had

a reasonable expectation that the outside of incoming in-

ternational mail would not be inspected, and because it

shared the concern of the IRS that Swiss bank accounts

21

were being used to evade the revenue laws and were under-

mining the public’s confidence in the failure of the tax

laws.

In support of its conclusion that the search was legal,

the Court of Appeals cited the Bank Secreey Act of 1970,

31 U.S.C, §§1101 and 1121 and this Court’s decision in

California Bankers Association v, Shultz, 416 U.S, 21

(1974), but overlooked entirely the fact that the Bank

Secrecy Act was enacted subsequent to the mail watch

challenged here and provided significant procedural safe-

guards that were wholly lacking in the FBA Project mail

cover, and further that the Bank Secrecy Act’s terms were

public, while the mail cover was secret. A person who

wished to maintain his privacy could avoid government

surveillance of his financial dealings by not engaging in

transactions which were reportable under the Bank Secrecy

Act. No such protection could be achieved by the subject

of the clandestine mail watch.

Moreover, this case is distinguishable from earlier mail

watch cases in that heretofore the courts have always em-

phasized that the mail watches they were reviewing had not

violated any laws.

Here, in marked contrast, the mail watch was not only

extraordinarily broad, but it was also conducted in direct

violation of the applicable Post Office regulations, which

permitted mail watches only to protect the national secur-

ity, to catch fugitives, or to assist in obtaining information

concerning “the commission or attempted commission of a

crime”, (Parts 861.42b and 861.51b of the Post Office de-

partment, Appendix E at 36a and 37a.) Since the Govern-

ment claimed both at trial and on appeal that the purpose of

the FBA Project was simply to “develop audit techniques”

concerning foreign bank accounts, and adamantly denied

that the audit of Leonard was an outgrowth of a criminal

investigation, it is clear that the Swiss mail watch does not

come within any of the three recognized categories of cases

for which mail watches are authorized.* Such cavalier

disregard of regulations designed to protect the privacy of

the mail should not be condoned nor allowed to go un-

reviewed and uncriticized.

The Court should resolve the conflict among the

Circuits governing the admissibility of similar act

evidence, and should insure that its decision in

Bronston v. United States, 409 U.S. 352 (1973) is not

undermined.

The rule in the Second Circuit is that evidence of other

crimes is admissible for any relevant purpose, including

proof of wilfulness, United States v. Deaton, 381 F.2d 114

(2 Cir, 1967); United States vy. Crisona, 416 F.2d 107 (2

Cir, 1969), cert, denied 397 U.S, 961 (1970). The majority

of courts express their “other crimes” rule in an exclusory

*The Seeond Cireuit purported to find compliance with the

aforecited Postal Regulations “, . . because IRS had reason to be-

lieve that crimes under the revenue laws were being committed by

some taxpayers through the use of Swiss accounts” (emphasis

supplied) (Appendix A at 21a), In so arguing, the Court of Appeals

wholly ignored that the Post Office Regulations clearly were de-

signed to limit mail watches to the mail of specific individuals sus-

pected of committing specific crimes, See, ¢.g., Parts 861.42(a)

and 861.51(a), which both speak of having reason to believe that

the “subject or subjects” of the mail watch are violating postal

regulations, Part 861.62, which prohibits copying of information

on envelopes mailed between the mail cover “subject” and his

known attorney-at-law, Part 861.64, which refers to mail covers

ordered upon “subjects” engaged, or suspected to be engaged, in

activities which jeopardize the national security, Part 861.66 which

states:

“Excepting fugitive cases [which of course concern specific

known individuals], no mail cover shall remain in foree when

the subject has been indicted for any cause, If the euhject

is under investigation for further criminal violations, a new

mail cover order must be requested .. .” (emphasis supplied),

and Part 861.74, which provides that the “subject” of a mail cover

is entitled to discover any data relating to the mail cover. See

Appendix E at 36a-38a,

form, that is, evidence of other crimes is not admissible

except for certain purposes. See 2 Wigmore, Evidence

§§ 300-373 for an analysis of specific crimes. See also

Michelson v, United States, 385 U.S. 469, 475 (1948);

Spencer v. Texas, 385 U.S, 554, 561 n. 7 (1967),

However, regardless of which formulation is used, such

evidence is admissible only if its probative value outweighs

its prejudicial effect, the prejudice being the danger that

the jury is likely to conclude that because the defendant

committed the similar crime, he is a “bad person” who

deserves to be punished irrespective of whether the Govern-

ment has proved beyond a reasonable doubt that he has

committed the erime charged in the indietment. Indeed,

for this reason, admission of alleged similar act proof

carries with it a substantial potential for prejudice.*

In all Circuits, the question whether the probative value

of such evidence outweighs the prejudicial effect is a

matter, in the first instance, for the trial judge's disere-

tion. However, the decision below created a conflict in the

Circuits as to the applicable legal standard governing

admissibilty.

*In this case, the Government's evidence of alleged ‘‘similar

crimes” dominated the trial. As a consequence, the foeus of the

trial shifted from the charges in the indictment (whether Leonard

had wilfully subseribed tax returns which pen omitted

specific amounts) to the highly inflammatory and prejudicial alle-

gation that Leonard had a secret Swiss account, which was wholly

unrelated to the offenses cha in the indictment and specified

in the Government's Bills of culars. The result waa that in

reality Leonard was tried and convicted of ae a Swiss account,

rather than of failing to inelude certain items in his adjusted groas

income in his 1967 and 1965 tax returns. Only by reading the

entire record, and in particular the prosecutor's opening and clos-

ing, is it possible to fully appreciate the extent to which Leonard's

revolved around the question of whether he had a Swiss

account,

ee ee

24

Both the Fifth and BHighth Cireuits have held that

similar act evidence is admissible only if it is “plain, clear

and convincing”, United States v. Lawrence, 480 F.2d 688

(5 Cir, 1973), Kraft v. United States, 238 F.2d 794 (8

Cir, 1956). The Second Cireuit, however, rejecte. that

standard and held that it sufficed if the similar act were

established by a mere preponderance of the evidence,

presenting a clear conflict among the Cireuits which should

be resolved by this Court.

Moreover, the Second Circuit, in reaching its conclusion,

totally disregarded this Court’s holding in Bronston vy.

United States, 409 U.S, 352 (1973), that a literally true,

albeit deliberately misleading statement, is not criminally

false.

The “similar act evidence” which the Government (over

Leonard's repeated objections) introduced to prove that

Leonard wilfully signed his tax returns which omitted

material amounts was the Swiss bank affidavit drafted by

the Government and signed by Leonard in August 1969, in

which Leonard denied that he ever had any foreign bank ac-

counts or had any transactions or dealings (other than as

deseribed in the affidavit) with any foreign banks.

Although the Court of Appeals acknowledged that the

Government had failed to prove that Leonard personally

had a Swiss account in 1969, and although the Court of

Appeals also conceded that there was no direct evidence

that Leonard had any dealings or transactions with for-

eign banks, and admitted that it would have been wiser for

the District Court to have excluded the foreign bank evi-

dence entirely, it nevertheless held that the district court

had not erred (“although it may have been close to the

edge”) in admitting the affidavit since there was sufficient

circumstantial evidence for the jury, under a preponder-

ance of the evidence standard, to have inferred that

Leonard knew he was really dealing with a Swiss bank,

although Chase, a domestic bank, delivered the checks to

him,

25

While Leonard strenuously pointed out that the Govern-

ment had failed to prove that the affidavit was literally

false since the sole evidence it had introduced on that point

was that he had dealings with Chase, the Second Cireuit

rejected this contention as “formal to an extreme”,

Clearly, the standard used for determining the admis-

sibility of similar act evidence was of critical importance.

Kven assuming, arguendo, that a jury could reasonably have

concluded that Leonard had indirect transactions with a

foreign bank, the evidence of such dealings (Chase's pay-

ments to Leonard at the direction of a Swiss bank) was

not “plain, clear and convincing”, and certainly not ade-

quate to prove that the affidavit Leonard signed was

literally false.

Leonard’s transactions were directly with Chase, a

domestic bank. The checks which Kgan delivered to

Leonard stated on their face only that they were “official’’

Chase checks. Indeed, Leonard’s only contact was with an

officer of a domestic bank,"

* There was no testimony or documentary evidence that the

$354,000 came from a personal account of Leonard and the Gov-

ernment offered no explanation as to the reasons for the pay,

ments. Indeed, as in Bronston, supra, the Swiss account could

just as consistently have belonged to a corporation or a third

pod as to Leonard personally, As the record below demonstrates,

onard had extensive dealings with foreign corporations in Europe.

Hie designed chemical plants in Belgium, France, Italy and Ger-

many. The transfers may well have been in relation to that work.

Additionally, the affidavit itself revealed that Leonard made use of

Australian banking faciiities to secure a loan for a project in

Australia and it is entirely 1 that he was repaid by the

Australian corporation through a Swiss bank.

Leonard, who elected to exercise his privilege not to testify,

was under no obligation to prove the alternative explanations of

the Swiss account evidence, It was the Government's burden to

prove by at the very least, plain, clear and convincing evidence,

that Leonard personally had a Swiss bank account or had “trans-

(footnote continued on following page)

ee

If the Government had wanted Leonard to state he had

never had any indirect dealings with a foreign bank, it

could and should have so provided when it prepared the af-

fidavit. If the Government failed to draft the affidavit

carefully, it cannot blame the defendant, Consequently,

Leonard's denial of transactions with a foreign bank does

not constitute a criminally false statement any more than

Bronston’s implicit denial of ever having had a Swiss ac-

count did. Bronston, supra,

Therefore, this Court should exercise its jurisdiction

both to resolve the conflict among the circuits over the

proper standard for proof of similar acts, and to protect

its decision in Bronston, supra, from eviseeration,

IV

This Court should exercise its power of supervision

of the federal administration of justice to condemn

prosecutorial misconduct of a particularly prejudi-

cial nature.

The prosecution obstructed Leonard’s access to poten-

tial witnesses and failed to disclose to trial c unsel that the

Government had obtained the presence and testimony of a

foreign witness, whose credibility was of critical import-

ance to the Government's case, by improperly using a

Letter Rogatory which falsely threatened the witness, who

was completely innocent of any wrongdoing, with arrest

and extradition,

(footnote continued from preceding page)

actions’ with a Swiss bank. The Government failed to meet this

burden.

“It may well be that petitioner's answers were not guidelines

but were shrewdly calculated to evade. Neverthcloss, we are

constrained to agree with Judge Lumbard, . . . that any

special problems arising from the literally true but unrespon-

sive answer are to be remedied through the ‘questioner’s

acuity’ and not by a federal perjury prosecution.” Bronston

v. United States, supra at 362.

27

1. The Government improperly obstructed the defend-

ant’s interviews of prospective witnesses.

The Government repeatedly obstructed defendant's pre-

trial preparation by insisting on being present during al!

interviews of prospective Government witnesses and in-

structing them not to answer questions which were clearly

relevant to matters covered in Leonard’s indictment.

The question of how far the prosecution may go in

directing witnesses not to be interviewed by defense coun-

sel has received increasing attention since the decision in

Gregory v. United States, 369 F.2d 185, 187-89 (D.C. Cir.

1966). Although this Court does not seem to have ex-

plicitly dealt with the issue, other courts and commenta-

tors have. United States v. White, 454 F.2d 435, 438-39

(7 Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 406 U.S. 962 (1972), United

States v. Matlock, 491 F.2d 504, 506 (6 Cir. 1974), cert.

denied, 419 U.S. 864 (1974); ABA Standards Relating to

the Administration of Criminal Justice, The Prosecution

Function, 4 3.1(¢); Discovery and Procedure before Trial,

§ 4.1; Kamisar, LaFave and Israel, Modern Criminal Pro-

cedure 1236-37 (1974 ed.).

All have taken the view that it is improper for the

prosecutor to discourage prospective witnesses from being

interviewed by defense counsel.

In the present case, the Government sought io dis-

courage all _ terviews of prospective witnesses. For ex-

ample, Leonard was denied the opportunity to question

Revenue Agent Morris Laski, a key prosecution witness

whose credibility was sharply in issue at the trial, either

as to his contacts with the prosecutors or why, despite the

total absence of any reference to a foreign account in

Leonard’s records (which the IRS had extensively

audited), Laski, a Revenue Agent, had, for no apparent

reason, asked Leonard whether he had a foreign bank ac-

count.

28

The prejudice Leonard suffered was substantial. At

the time defendant’s counsel interviewed Laski and sought

to question him about the Swiss bank account affidavit, the

defendant was not aware that this was an FBA Project

ease and further did not know that there had been a mail

watch. Indeed, the prosecutor’s instructions to the wit-

nesses not to answer questions on this subject blocked, at

an early and key point, discovery by Leonard of the mas-

sive mail watch and the relevant Post Office regulations

and related IRS documents necessary for a full under-

standing of the mail watch.*

While it may he that the relevance of these inquiries

related primarily to a suppression hearing on the legality

of the mail watch, the fact remains that the Court of Ap-

peals ruled that Leonard had not made a sufficient factual

showing of prejudice. It is apparent, however, that the

prosecutor’s misconduct itself prevented the defendant

from making a further showing of prejudice.**

* Discovery of al! relevant facts and documents would have re-

quired production of the original letter from the IRS to the Post

Office in late 1967 requesting authority for the mail watch. This

document, containing the IRS’s representation as to the criminal

nature of the investigation, was never produced by the Government

below. Indeed, the lower court’s decision that the FBA investi-

gation was not a criminal investigation and further that the mail

watch was proper was based only on what the court assumed this

letter contained. Leonard subpoenaed the IRS to produce all

documents relevant to the maal watch, but the subpoena was

quashed by the trial court.

Additionally, Post Office regulations governing mail covers were

not published in the Code of Federal Regulations until March 11,

1975, four days after Leonard had been sentenced. 39 C.F.R.

§ 233.2. Consequently, Leonard, who had no knowledge of the

existence of these regulations (and certainly no access either) was

prejudiced by the prosecutor's obstruction of the interviews of the

witnesses on the subject of the mail watch. Indeed, it was

Leonard’s appellate counsel who discovered the Post Office regula.

tions by writing to the Post Office and requesting them under the

Freedom of Information Act and then only after Leonard had

been sentenced. See Appendix E at 35a.

** Where the prosecutor’s conduct violates a defendant's

constitutional rights, the defendant need not establish prejudice,

since the prosecutor's instructions to the witnesses not to cooperate

themselves prevented the defendant from making such a showing.

See Gregory v. United States, supra.

Thus, the defendant’s access to essential information

which might have led to possible legal defenses and wit-

nesses was restricted and therefore his ability fully to

prepare a defense improperly hampered.

2. The Government improperly used a Letter Roga-

tory to obtain the presence and testimony of Eva

Brooke, a British citizen, upon the false threat that

she was otherwise subject (in England) to “extra-

dition and arrest” although she was completely

innocent of any wrongdoing. In addition, the Gsv-

ernment improperly failed to disclose these cir-

cumstances at trial, as required by this Court’s

decision in Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963).

This Court, in Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83, 87

(1963), held that:

“. . . the suppression by the prosecution of evidence

favorable to an accused upon request® violates due

process where the evidence is material either to guilt

or to punishment regardless of the good faith or bad

faith of the prosecution.”

During trial the government secretly and improperly

conducted er parte discussions with the court concerning

a “Letter Rogatory [request] to the Appropriate Judicial

Authority” in London, England, to compel Eva Brooke to

travel from England to testify in New York at trial.

Appendix F at 5la-55a.

A “letter rogatory” is a judicial request “addressed to a

foreign court that a witness be examined within the

latter’s terri[torial] jurisdiction by written interrogatories,

or, if the foreign law permits, by oral interrogatories.”

Ballentine’s Law Dict. (3d ed. 1969) pp. 726-727. Volks-

wagenwerk A. G. v. The Superior Court of Sacramento

County, 109 Cal. Rept. 219, 33 CA 3d 508 (1973). The pur-

pose of a letter rogatory is simply to provide a means for

* There was a pretrial request by Leonard for Brady material.

30

taking the testimony of a witness abroad. United States

v. Reagan, 453 F.2d 165 (6 Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 406

U.S. 946 (1972).

Because a Letter Rogatory is a request from one na-

tion to another for assistance in exercising the judicial

power of the requesting nation, protoco! requires, and 28

U.S.C. § 1781 provides, that a Letter Rogatory be trans-

mitted to the judicial authority of the foreign nation.

Since an order of a United States court requiring a person

to give testimony has no extraterritorial effect, it is highly

improper to seek, as the Government did herein, to directly

serve a foreign citizen in a foreign nation, rather than to

have the appropriate foreign judicial official effect service

on the witness,

The Letter Rogatory in the instant case was both im-

properly served and used for an improper purpose. The

Letter Rogatory stated that the court below had been in-

formed by the Government that Eva Brooke, a British

citizen, “presently residing in London at an address known

to the United States Government’’ had admitted to ‘‘rep-

resentatives of the United States’’ that ‘‘the defendant

Leonard had made materially incriminating statements to

her’’ but that ‘‘even though she was previously served with

a subpoena requiring her attendance as a witness . . . in

this present case, she . . . has resisted coming to New

York . . . though the United States has agreed to bear all

her reasonable travel expenses.’’ (emphasis supplied).

Appendix F at 52a-53a.

The court below thereafter requested in the Letter Roga-

tory (which was drafted by the Government) that the Eng-

lish court “enter an order” compelling her to travel to New

York ‘‘as soon as physically possible’’ to testify at the trial.

The Letter Rogatory further requested that the English

court take “such other steps (such as arrest and extradi-

dition) that may be necessary in order to secure compli-

ance with such orders’’ (emphasis supplied). Appendix F

at 53a-54a.

31

The only English authorities explicitly relied on in sup-

port of this extraordinary request (compare 28 U.S.C.

§§ 1781-1783, 1696), the Foreign Tribunals Evidence Act

of 1856 and the Extradition Act of 1870, are completely

irrelevant. The Foreign Tribunals Evidence Act of 1856

covers only civil matters and simply gives English courts

the power to take testimony in England at the request of

a foreign court. The Extradition Act of 1870 merely per-

mits the taking of testimony for a criminal case pending

in a foreign court in the same manner as provided by the

Foreign Tribunal’s Evidence Act of 1856.

In short, neither Act cited in the Letter Rogatory sup-

ported the request that Mrs. Brooke be arrested and ex-

tradited to testify in the United States. Indeed, both Acts

establish that the request inherently lacked merit, which

indicates that it was designed for a completely different

purpose.

More particularly, there is no proof that the Government

properly filed the Letter Rogatory in any English court. In-

deed, it is apparent that the Government, fully aware of

the improper request contained in the Letter Rogatory,

never intended to seek the aid of an English court, but

instead served it on Mrs. Brooke directly, realizing that

she would not know it was improper and would be intimi-

dated into abiding by its terms.*

* As noted at p. 29, infra, the Government’s contacts with the

court on the Letter Rogatory were during the trial and were ex

parte and concealed from Leonard until this appeal. The Letter

Rogatory was signed by the court on January 14, 1975. Trial

began January 13. When the existence of ex parte conferences

accidentally came to Leonard’s attention below, he specifically

asked the trial Court whether he would learn what they were

about and the court remarked that it “assume[d] at some point

that may oecur.”” However, Leonard’s counsel never learned about

them until after trial, after Leonard had been convicted and sen-

tenced, and only when the Government filed the Letter Rogatory .

for the first time as part of the record on appeal. There was

simply no legitimate prosecutorial or judicial reason for this

ez parte procedure.

a Pa ee

32

2%,

If this was indeed the case, then Leonard suffered sub-

stantial prejudice. The lengths the Government went to in

order to obtain the presence of Mrs. Brooke in New York

must have seriously concerned her, especially since she was

recently widowed and therefore vulnerable. Indeed, despite

the fact that she claimed to be an old friend of the Leonard

family, she apparently was so intimidated by these events

that she did not call Leonard when she arrived in New

York to inform him, simply as a matter of courtesy, that

she was to be a witness. This was hardly the normal

reaction of a friend of 25 years who voluntarily said that

the Leonards “have always been kind and friendly towards

me”,

The Government’s extraordinary efforts to obtain her

testimony also indicate how important Mrs. Brooke was

as a witness, and her testimony was, in fact, extremely

damaging to Leonard. It was, therefore, clearly significant

that her presence as well as her testimony were colored

by the Government’s threat that she was subject to “arrest

and extradition” even in England.

The Government’s threat tc arrest and extradite a key

witness unles. she testified in a manner desired by the

Government was certainly the vype of information which

the Government should have disclosed to the defendant

prior to or at trial. See Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83

(1963).

Conduct of this sort is reprehensible, and this Court,

in the exercise of its power of supervision of the federal

administration of justice, should condemn it and insist that

Leonard be given the opportunity of a new and fair trial.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this petition should be

granted and a writ of certiorari should be issued to

review the decision below.

Respectfully submitted

James SCHREIBER

330 Madison Avenue

New York, New York 10017

Attorney for Petitioner

Jackson D. Leonard

ALAN KANZER

Of Counsel

APPENDIX

la

Appendix A, Opinion, United States Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit, August 28, 1975.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For THE Seconp Circuit

No. 1176—-September Term, 1974.

(Argued July 18, 1975 Decided August 28, 1975.)

Docket No. 75-1153

=

As

Usitep States or AMERICA,

Appellee,

v.

Jackson D. Leonarp,

Appellant.

=

A

Before:

Moorg, Frrenpty and Van GRAAFEILAND,

Circuit Judges.

Appeal from a judgment of the United States District

Court for the Southern District of New York, Richard

Owen, Judge, convicting Leonard, after a verdict, on two

counts of an indictment charging him with violating 26

U.S.C. § 7206(1), by filing income tax returns for 1967

and 1968 which he did not believe to be true and correct

with respect to his adjusted gross income.

Affirmed.

és.

7

James Scureiper, New York, N. Y. (Walter,

Conston, Schurtman & Gumpel, P.C., New

York, N. Y., and Alan Kanzer, of counsel),

for Appellant.

2a

Appendiz A.

W. Cuntes MacDonatp, Assistant United States

Attorney, New York, N. Y. (Paul J. Curran,

United States Attorney for the Southern

District of New York, New York, N. Y., and

John C. Sabetta, Assistant United States

Attorney, of counsel), for Appellee.

s.

vw

Frenpiy, Circuit Judae:

Jackson D. Leonard, a successful New York chemical

engineer, appeals from his conviction, after trial before

Judge Owen and a jury in the District Court for the

Southern District of New York, on two counts of an in-

dictment charging him with violation of 26 U.S.C. § 7206

(1)... The first count charged the omission of $24,168.09

from Leonard’s reported 1967 adjusted gross income of

$259,051.97; the second count charged the omission of

$58,684.42 from reported 1968 adjusted gross income of

$134,276.00. He received a light sentence—concurrent

terms of 18 months of imprisonment with 15 months

suspended, fines of $5,000 on each count and the costs of

prosecution.

I.

Of the many claims of error, only a few relate to the

basie question of guilt. We shall deal with these in this

section of the opinion. In that connection it will be neces-

' This provides that:

Any person who—

(1) Declaration under penalties of perjury.—Wilfully

makes and subscribes any return, statement, or other docu-

ment, which contains or is verified by a written declaration

that it is made under the penalties of perjury, and which he

does not believe to be true and correct as to every material

matter; or

shall be guilty of a felony. .. .

3a

Appendiz A.

sary to summarize the evidence, which in view of the ver-

dict we must do in the light most favorable to the Gov-

ernment.

On February 20, 1967, Leonard, “doing business under

the name and style of the Leonard Process Company,” a

sole proprietorship, and Union Carbide Corporation

(UCC) entered a contract for engineering services in

connection with the construction of two chemical plants

—a very large one in Taft, Louisiana, which was built,

and a smaller one in South Charleston, West Virginia,

which was not. Leonard’s fees were to be of two sorts.

One sort consisted of initial lump sum payments of

$180,000 and later periodic payments of $37,000 each.

The indictmeni did not charge that any such payments

had been unreported. The other sort was a 10% override

on UCC’s reimbursements for amounts paid by Leonard

to subcontractors performing detailed engineering serv-

ices which his office was not equipped to provide. The

Treadwell Corporation of New York became the subcon-

tractor. None of these 10% overrides were reported as

income for 1967 or 1968.

The general pattern which Leonard established was as

follows: UCC would send him a single check covering

the total amount owing for the subcontracted services in-

cluding the 10% override, and in some cases also inelud-

ing the $37,000 periodic payment due to Leonard. Instead

of depositing the UCC check in his bank account at First

National City Bank (KF NCB) and then paying Treadwell,

Leonard endorsed the UCC check and sent it to Tread-

well. Treadwell would -hen send Leonard one or two

checks, as the case might be, one for the 10% override

and another for the periodic payment due to Leonard

when this had been included in the UCC check. While the

return checks for the periodic payments found their way

into bank accounts, as did other UCC cheeks not inelud-

4a

Appendiz A.

ing Treadwell payments, Leonard never deposited the

checks representing the 10% override—$24,168.09 in 1967

and $58,684.42 in 1968. Instead he cashed them or used

them to purchase travelers’ checks.

So far as concerns his 1967 return, Leonard’s claim is

that the Government did not bear its burden of proving

that the $24,168.09 of undeposited checks had not in fact

been reported. The proof was this: Leonard’s 1967 FNCB

bank statements bear markings identifying certain de-

posits as UCC deposits, and others as coming from other

jobs he was doing. Marion Bardes, who worked as a fre-

lance bookkeeper for Leonard accountants, testified that

she had prepared a first draft of Leonard’s 1967 tax re-

turn on the basis of these bank statements. The work

papers for this draft return show that a figure of $291,000,

as income from the UCC contract, was arrived at by

adding the lump-sum payments and the periodic payments

which had been deposited in 1967. This $291,000 was

added to other Leonard income to make a total figure of

$461,000 as gross income from Leonard’s engineering ac-

tivities. The figure of $461,000 was carried through each

of the several drafts of Leonard’s return and appeared

as the “gross receipts” figure on Schedule C of the return

that Leonard filed. That Schedule C showed a net profit

of $256,872.95 which, when combined with a loss of

$15,166.48 from his wife’s Schedule C, yielded a profit

of $241,707.47 which was entered on their Form 1040, as

“Business income.” That last figure was combined with

miscellaneous other income of $17,344.50 to give an ad-

justed gross income figure of $259,051.94; it is this figure

which Leonard is charged with having understated.

The defendant raises three objections: First, he claims

there is no testimony to show that it was Leonard who

identified the various income items on his bank state-

ments as a basis for the preparation of his tax return.

_——-

5a

Appendiz A.

Second, he claims there is no evidence that the missing

$24,168.09 was not included as part of the other $170,000

of income (i.e., the difference between $291,000 and

$461,000). Third, he stresses that Miss Bardes did not

prepare the fina! return and contends that, since the gov-

ernment did not put the final preparer on the stand, the

evidence is insufficient to connect the earlier draft forms

with the return ultimately filed with the IRS.

All these were arguments for the jury, not for us. The

jury was entitled to infer that Leonard had given the bank

statements to the accountants for the purpose of preparing

his return, knowing that the statements contained some but

not all the UCC payments. The second point is frivolous;

an exhibit shows the items that made up the other $170,000,

and the Treadwell 10% payments were not among them.

On the third point while the Government’s case would have

been stronger if it had called the person who prepared the

final form and elicited that he had relied on the initial

drafts, Miss Bardes’ testimony showed that she had for-

mulated the $461,000 figure that appeared on the final re-

turn, using bank records which Leonard knew did not con-

tain the $24,168.09 of Treadwell checks he had cashed or

used for buying travelers checks. In the absence of any

contrary evidence, this was enough to permit the jury to

infer that the $24,168.09 was not included on the final re-

turn, and that Leonard knew it was not included. If any

further evidence of wilfulness were needed, it would be fur-

nished by Leonard’s clumsy attempt to delete the 10%

override provision from the copy of the contract that was

exhibited to Revenue Agent Laski in the course of the

audit.

Leonard’s argument about the 1968 return is quite dif-

ferent. Conceding that he directed that the 10% pay-

ments from Treadwell, and for that matter the $37,000

payments subsequent to January, not be included ‘n his

6a

Appendiz A.

1968 personal income tax return, he says they were not

required to be. This result follows, he claims, because in

January, 1968, he formed a corporation entitled The Leon-

ard Process Co., Inc. (hereafter Leonard Inc.) to which

he transferred the business of his sole proprietorship, The

Leonard Process Company. On January 18, 1968, The

Leonard Process Co., Index filed Form 2253, electing to

have its income taxed directly to its shareholders as a

small business corporation under Subchapter S of the In-

ternal Revenue Code, for the taxable year beginning Jan-

uary 1, 1968. By letter of March 22, 1968, UCC agreed to

an assignment of its contract from Leonard Process Com-

pany to Leonard Inc., effective February 1, 1968.2 After

February 1, 1968, Leonard deposited the $37,000 checks

from UCC in a Leonard Ine. bank account. lLlowever, both

before and after February Ist, he continued the practice

of cashing the 10% checks from Treadwell—$6,229.20 for

January and $52,455.22 for later months—although the

checks after February 1 admittedly belonged to Leonard

Inc. In response to the Government’s contention that this

simply meant that the checks were embezzled income re-

portable in the year of embezzlement, James v. United

States, 366 U.S. 213 (1961), Leonard argues that, under

this court’s decision in DiZenzo v. C.I.R., 348 F.2d 122 (2

Cir. 1965), they are to be treated rather as constructive

dividends. Acceptance of this still does Leonard no good

unless, as he asserts, Leonard Inc. had no earnings or

? Apparently use of the February Ist date was due to a belated

recognition that unless Leonard Ine. had a fiscal year starting

later than January 1, 1968, the benefit of using Subchapter S as

a means for shoving income into 1969 would not be realized.

We give no weight to the Government's contentions that the

assignment was invalid for want of consideration since Leonard

remains personally liable, or that it was valid only from March 22,

1968. Whatever merit those contentions might have in litigation

between the parties, and we doubt that they would have any, they

are not open to the IRS. There is no claim that the assignment

was a sham.

Oe RY ORE ret on OL et

> ee ly irene ome

es

7a

Appendia A.

profits, IRC $4 301(c), 316. He contends that it had none

in the year beginning February 1, 1968, and that a prop-

erly instructed jury could find that the failure to include

the $6,229.20 for January, 1968, was not material.

The Government introduced no evidence on the subject

except to show that Leonard Inc. did not file a Subchapter

S corporate tax return (Form 1120S) for 1968, 1969 or

1970. The defense offered an exhibit purporting to be a

proposed corporate income tax return for the period Feb-

ruary 1, 1968, to January 31, 1969, see note 2, showing a

loss of $73,742.33. This form was subscribed by the ac-

counting firm as preparer but bore no signature of any

officer of Leonard Inc. The return was presented through

a member of the accounting firm but without any testimony

by any person who had prepared it; the judge admitted

it only for the purpose of showing that such a return had

been prepared but not as evidence of the truth of the matter

asserted. The Government countered with another unfiled

form showing a loss of only $29,017.77, for the year be-

ginning February 1, 1968, which the judge admitted on the

same limited basis. This latter form was of little weight

since it was wholly unsigned and was marked ‘‘super-

ceded.’”

There is no doubt that if this had been a civil case,

Leonard would have had the burden of showing ‘‘that the

corporation did not have earnings and profits equal to

the amount diverted,’’ DiZenzo v. C.I.R., supra, 348 F.2d

at 126-27, and that he would not have met it. But he con-

tends he had no such burden under the rules governing

the burden of proof in criminal prosecutions.

In prosecutions for income tax violations, production

of a rather slight amount of evidence by the Government,

here the proof of receipt of what are charitably character-

> Neither draft return included the cashed Treadwell checks as

income.

Sa

Appendiz A.

ized as constructive dividends rather than embezzled funds,

may transfer the burden of going forward to the defend-

ant, see Holland v. United States, 348 U.S. 121, 137-39

(1954); United States v. Vardime, 305 F.2d 60, 63 (2 Cir.

1962). Although the ultimate burden of persuasion re-

mains with the Government, Leonard did not introduce

sufficient evidence of an absence of earnings or profits to

warrant submission to the jury of a claim that, except for

January 1968 income, the assignment of the UCC contract

to Leonard Ine. constituted an absolute defense. An un-

filed tax return, signed only by the accounting firm and

unexplained by any preparer, has little probative weight;

indeed, the defense’s failure to call the preparer, whose

testimony did not come under any privilege, could properly

give rise to a negative inference as to whether Leonard Ine.

had a loss. See 8 Wigmore, Evidence § 2273 (McNaughton

rev. 1961). Moreover, the return introduced by the defend-

ant was for the wrong year. Leonard Inc. had elected a

tax year beginning January 1, 1968. The IRS Regula-

tions are quite explicit that a Subchapter S corporation

may change its tax year only with the prior approval of

the Commissioner—Reg. 1.442-1(c)(4)—which is by no

means routinely given—see Reg. 1.442-1(b)(1), especially

examples ii and iii(a). See also 7 Mertens, Federal In-

come Taxation § 41B.21 (1967). The only issue on which

Leonard was entitled to have the jury consider the as-

signment, and the unfiled return, was that of wilfulness,

and it was clearly permissible for the jury to find that

this evidence did not negate the other evidence bearing on

that point.

The only remaining point on this phase of the case is

Leonard’s contention concerning the charge. Tria! coun.

sel for Leonard had submitted a request to charge in re-

gard to Leonard Inc., which sounded in terms uf an abso-

9a

Appendia A.

lute defense to Count Two rather than as bearing only

upon wilfulness. Before instructing the jury, the judge

informed counsel that he would not give the requested

charge. The judge said nothing specific about the defend-

ant’s contention relating to Leonard Inc., relying rather

on his general remarks about wilfulness and burden of

proof. After the charge Leonard’s counsel excepted gen-

erally to the failure to give requested charges; he also

asked that since the judge had outlined some of the Gov-

ernment’s contentions, he should also outline the defend-

ant’s. The court agreed to do this and mentioned several

defense contentions, not including the one about Leonard

Ine. Counsel expressed no further objections.

The requested charge suffered from the usual defect

of asking more than was deserved. For reasons already

indicated, the judge was not required to, indeed could not

correctly, charge that “|T]he proof in this case shows

that in the first year of operation, the corporation sus-

tained a loss of approximately $73,000.” Neither was

Leonard entitled to have the jury instructed “as a mat-

ter of law that the checks addressed to The Leonard

Process Co., Inc., from the period February 1968 through

November 1968 are returns of capital and are not tax-

able ;’’ there was no evidence that this was so. Although

lawyers seem never to learn the lesson, it is elementary

that to put a trial court in error for declining to grant

a requested charge, the proffered instructions must be ac-

curate in every respect. Southern Ry. Co. vy. Jones, 228

F.2d 203, 213 (6 Cir. 1955); Shaw v. Lauritzen, 428 F.2d

247, 250 (3 Cir. 1970). The most to which Leonard was

entitled was a charge that if the jury found he believed

both that the undeposited checks beginning in February

1968 were the property of Leonard Inc., and that leonard

Ine. had no earnings or profits, the jury could find a

lack of wilfulness in failing to report theses payments in

10a

Appendiz A.

A

a

his personal income tax return. We have no reason to

think that if counsel had requested such a charge, the

judge would have refused to give it.

Il.

As so often happens, the prosecutor chose to imperil a

good case by introducing a line of evidence that added

little but was bound to be a prolific breeder of substan-

tial claims of error—to which the remainder of this opin-

ion must be devoted.

In order to provide a basis for understanding these

claims, we must back up a bit; if the reader wonders what

all this will have to do with Leonard’s case, we must crave

indulgence.

The New York Regional Office of the IRS had become

concerned over possible losses of United States income

taxes through the use of secret Swiss bank accounts. It

occurred to someone that taxpayers having such accounts

might be identified by their receipt of statements from

the banks. However, detection was impeded by the fact

that, in the interest of secrecy, the Swiss banks used

envelopes not bearing the banks’ names or return ad-

dresses. Some agents penetrated this shield by writing

various Swiss banks about establishing accounts and ob-

serving the postal meter numbers on the answers. Armed

with these numbers, IRS requested the Postal Service,

in a communication not in the record, for permission to

conduct a mail cover during the first four months of 1969.

On the evenings of about 60 days during that period, a

Postal Inspector and IRS Special Agents, working at the

main New York City Post Office, photostated with high

speed copiers the faces of all air mail envelopes without

return addresses, mailed from Switzerland to New York.‘

*Two machine were employed each with a capacity of 3,600

envelopes per hour. The sorting and copying process usually took

lla

Appendiz A.

Thereafter postage meter numbers on these photostats

were examined to see if any matched those known to have

been used by Swiss banks. This group, which amounted

to thousands of envelopes, was converted into a print-out

containing the recipients’ names, addresses, dates of en-

velopes and the identities of the banks. From the several

hundred names in the print-out, B. H. Morris, a Senior

Regional Analyst in the office of the Assistant Regional

Commissioner of Audit, and Special Agent Boller selected

a group of 100 in the Manhattan and about 50 in the

Brooklyn District. Leonard, whose name appeared in the

larger sample and whose return had already been selected

for audit because of a development described below, was

added to the list, along with a few others similarly situ-

ated. In 1969 the procedure was repeated. All this was

known as the Foreign Bank Account (F BA) Project.

We now turn to another development. In early 1968 the

IRS had received an informer’s report that Leonard had

been getting kickbacks from a subcontractor. Although

the report came originally to the Intelligence Division,

which handles criminal investigations, it was referred, in

accordance with usual procedures, to the Audit Division,

which it reached on April 16, 1968. On June 7th the Man-

hattan District Director advised Leonard that his 1966

personal income tax return had been assigned for examina-

tion to revenue agent Rothstein.

Rothstein was not one of the special group of revenue

agents who had been selected to pursue investigations

emanating from the FBA project. On August 7, 1968,

Leonard’s audit was reassigned to revenue agent Mortimer

Laski. In accordance with normal procedures, Laski also

only half an hour. The evidence was that delivery of the mail

was not delayed since the mail arrived late in the afternoon or

early in the evening and sorting for delivery would not begin

until the next morning in any event.

12a

Appendix A.

audited Leonard’s 1965 return and, when the ordinary post-

filing processing was completed, the 1967 return.

The audit began in normal fashion with an examination

of Leonard’s papers—including the UCC contract with

the 10% override provision deleted by a hand inked line—

at the office of his accountant. Sometime early in 1969,

Laski met Leonard at the accountant’s office. Laski did not

advise Leonard of his right to refrain from answering

incriminating questions or to have counsel. Laski inquired

about the UCC payments; Leonard claimed that the pro-

visions of the contract relating to the $37,000 monthly pay-

ments, and the 10% overrides, had been changed. When

asked, in accordance with prescribed procedures in FBA

investigations, whether he had foreign bank accounts,

Leonard said he had none except for one in an Australian

bank. Again in accordance with prescribed FBA pro-

cedures, Laski furnished Leonard’s accountant a proposed

affidavit which Leonard executed on August 27, 1969; we

reproduce this in the margin.’ Agent Laski then continued

his audit, particularly requesting more information from

UCC. On the basis of this, Agent Laski and a successor

revenue agent, on June 30, 1970, submitted a report recom-

mending that the matter should be referred to the Intel-

ligence Division for a fraud investigation. The recom-

° Jackson D. Leonarp, being duly sworn, deposes and says:

1. I make the following statements in connection with the

examination of my U.S. Income Tax Returns for the years

1965, 1966 and 1967.

2. I do not now have and I have not had any foreign bank

accounts. I have not had any transactions or dealings of any

nature with any foreign banks or other representatives except

for the following:

(a) Nominal currency conversions for living expenses

while I was travelling.

(b) In 1968 I made use of Australian banking facilities

to secure a loan which is directly related to an engineering

project which I have completed in Australia.

13a

Appendiz A.

mendation was accepted, and a criminal investigation was

begun with a Special Agent in charge. Thereafter Leonard

was given warnings of his constitutional rights at the

beginning of each interview.

We can now satisfy the curiosity of anyone who has per-

sisted in reading so far as to what these events had to do

with the case. The Government sought to prove that the

statements in the affidavits that Leonard had no foreign

bank accounts and had no dealings with foreign banks, with

two exceptions, were false. This was not for the purpose

of showing that any of the unreported UCC payments got

into foreign bank accounts but simply to bolster the proof

that the omissions of the 10% override payments from

Leonard’s 1967 and 1968 income tax returns were wilful.

The evidence was of two sorts: Harris Egan, an official

at the Chase Manhattan Bank (CMB) branch on United

Nations Plaza, near Leonard’s apartment, testified that

in April, 1968, he delivered to Leonard’s apartment three

official CMB checks—two checks for $20,000 and $25,000

dated April 12th and a $120,000 check dated April 26th.

Three other official CMB checks for $64,000, $16,000 and

$138,000 were delivered to Leonard later in the year. In all,

the checks totaled $383,000. All six checks were payable to

Leonard on remittance instructions issued by Banque

Cantonale de Zurich. Leonard used most of the checks to

pay off a personal FNCB loan.

Eva Brooke testified that in the summer of 1971, in the

course of an endeavor to hire her now deceased husband,

Jack Brooke, away from his then employer, Kerr-McGee

Chemical Corporation, Leonard offered Brooke $100,000 a

year, half to be paid in dollars and the other half to be

deposited in a Swiss bank account. Later, in answer to an

inquiry from Brooke, Leonard admitted to having such an

account. Since this admission in 1971 was not necessarily

14a

Appendiaz A.

inconsistent with the affidavit executed in August 1969, the

Government also put in evidence Leonard’s 1971 income tax

return, executed April 10, 1972, which contained the follow-

ing question and answer:

Did you, at any time during the taxable year, have any

interest in or signature or other authority over a bank,

securities, or other financial account in a foreign

country (except in a U.S. military banking facility

operated by a US. financial institution) ?

[ Answer:] No.

Now for the flood of objections which the admission of

this evidence has precipitated.

(1) The broadest in scope is that the mail cover was an

unreasonable search in violation of the Fourth Amendment;

that the interrogation of Leonard about foreign bank

accounts and the execution of the affidavit resulted from it;

and that any false statement in the affidavit was, thus, the

fruit of a poisonous tree.

It has been settled since Ex parte Jackson, 96 U.S. 727

(1878), that ‘‘The right of the people to be secure in their

persons, houses, papers and effects, against unreasonable

searches and seizures’’ protects against a warrantless

opening of sealed letters and packages, save insofar as

may be needed in the case of incoming international mail

for the enforcement of the customs laws. See United States

v. Odland, 502 F.2d 148 (7 Cir.), cert. denied 419 U.S. 1088

(1974), and cases there cited. However, this court said in

United States v. Costello, 255 F.2d 876, 881 (2 Cir. 1958) :

We think the Jackson case necessarily implies that

without offense to the Constitution or statute writing

appearing on the outside of envelopes may be read and

used.

15a

Appendix A.

Leonard counters by saying that “the mail watches which

the courts have heretofore approved have all been quite

limited in scope, and clearly restricted to the inspection of

the mail sent to specific individuals who were reasonably

suspected of having committed, or having attempted to

commit, particular crimes.”

It may well be that, in these days of increased concern

for the protection of privacy, the statement in Costello

should not be read as an absolute, permitting, for example,

the Government to copy the outside of every envelope re-

ceived by every citizen. But this case is an unattractive

candidate for creating an exception. The IRS was con-

fronted with a serious problem in the use of Swiss bank

accounts to evade the revenue laws. Not too long after the

mail covers here at issue, the House Report on the Bank

Secrecy Act of 1970, quoted in California Bankers Ass’n

v. Shultz, 416 U.S. 21, 28-29 (1974), was to state:

One of the most damaging effects of an American’s

use of secret foreign financial facilities is the under-

mining of the fairness of our tax laws.

and

The former U.S. Attorney for the Southern District

- of New York has characterized the secret foreign bank

account as the largest single tax loophole permitted

by American law.

In 1968 and 1969 the IRS did not have the assistance now

provided by the reporting requirements of Title II of the

Bank Secrecy Act, 31 U.S.C. §§ 1101, 1121. Even if we

assume that copying the outside of letters may in some

circumstances be a “search,” the 1968-1969 project impro-

vised by the IRS did not involve an unreasonable one;

indeed it involved less in the way of disclosure than the

l6a

Appendiz A.

foreign reporting requirements which the Supreme Court

has sustained in the California Bankers Association case

supra, 415 U.S. at 59-63. Moreover, if the test for applie-

ability of the Fourth Amendment is a “reasonable expecta-

tion of privacy,” Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347, 360

(1967) (concurring opinion of Mr. Justice Harlan), it is

difficult to see how there can be any such reasonable ex-

pectation with respect to the outsides of incoming inter-

national mails which are subject to inspection and even in

some cases to opening in aid of the enforcement of the

customs laws.

(2) A second attack against the mail cover is that it

could not have been lawfully authorized under the appli-

cable Postal Regulation. The Postal Manual then in effect

provided in § 861.42,°

A2 The Chief Postal Inspector, or his designee, may

order mail covers under the following circumstances:

b. When written request is received from any law

enforcement agency wherein the requesting authority

stipulates and specifies the reasonable grounds that

exist which demonstrate the mail cover is necessary

to (1) protect the national security, (2) locate a fugi-

tive, or (3) obtain information regarding the commis-

sion or attempted commission of a crime.

Leonard argues that § 861.42b(3), the only provision that

can he applicable, requires that the agency seeking per-

mission must be engaged in the investigation of a specific

crime which it has reason to think has been committed,

or is about to be. Apart from the fact that the objection

__* The applicable mail cover regulations have now been

lished, with some changes, in the Federal Register. 40 Fed Rep,

11579 (1975), to be codified as 39 C.F.R. § 233.2(e).

17a

Appendiz A.

was not made below, we see no reason to read the regulation

so narrowly. Apparently the Postal Service did not, and its

interpretation of its internal regulations is entitled to

weight. See 4 Davis, Administrative Law Treatise, $ 30.12

at 261 & n.12 (1958).

(3) The objection most strongly pressed is this:

Although this circuit and a majority of the others have

held that Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966) does not

require the IRS to give the Miranda warnings to taxpayers

not in custody, even in criminal tax fraud investigations,

IRS has gone beyond its constitutional obligation. In In-

ternal Revenue Service News Release No. 897, issued Octo-

ber 3, 1967, it stated, so far as here pertinent:

“In response to a number of inquiries the Internal

Revenue Service today described its procedures for

protecting the Constitutional rights of persons sus-

pected of criminal tax fraud, during all phases of its

investigations.

“Investigation of suspected criminal tax fraud is con-

ducted by Special Agents of the IRS Intelligence Divi-

sion. This function differs from the work of Revenue

Agents and Tax Technicians who examine returns to

determine the correct tax liability.

“Instructions issued to IRS Special Agents go beyond

most legal requirements to assure that persons are

advised of their Constitutional rights.

“On initial contact with a taxpayer, IRS Special Agents

are instructed to produce their credentials and state:

‘As a special agent, I have the function of investigating

the possibility of criminal tax fraud.’”’

|

18a

Appendiz A.

In News Release No. 949, issue November 26, 1968, it

further provided:

“One function of a Special Agent is to investigate pos-

sible criminal violations of Internal Revenue laws. At

the initial meeting with a taxpayer, a Special Agent

is now required to identify himself, describe his fune-

tion, and advise the taxpayer that anything he says

may be used against him. The Special Agent will also

tell the taxpayer that he cannot be compelled to in-

criminate himself by answering any questions or pro-

ducing any documents, and that he has the right to seek

the assistance of an attorney before responding.”

Three circuits have held that when a special agent has

failed to give the advice described in these Releases, in-

criminating statements by the taxpayer will be suppressed.

United States v. Heffner, 420 F.2d 809 (4th Cir. 1969) (one

judge dissenting); United States yv. Leahey, 434 F.2d 7

(1 Cir. 1970); United States v. Sowrapas, 515 F.2d 295 (9

Cir. 1975).

Leonard cites various reasons why the audit must be

considered as having been one “of suspected criminal tax

fraud” from the outset even though it was conducted by a

revenue agent and not by a special agent. These include

the fact that the mail cover could be justified under the

Postal Regulations only if its purpose was to “obtain in-

formation regarding the commission or attempted commis-

sion of a crime’’; that special agents participated in the

mail cover and in framing the instructions for the audits

of the persons selected as a result; and that persons who

are the subject of ordinary audits are not asked to sign

affidavits as Leonard was.’

’ The defendant also claims that he was the subject of a crimi-

nal investigation quite apart from the FBA project, since IRS

19a

Appendia A.

We are not at all sure that we would follow the Heffner—

Leahey—Sourapas doctrine in the case of an occasional

and undeliberate departure from the procedure described

in the News Releases if the issue were squarely before us.

It is, of course, well established that when agency action

“is based on a defined procedure, even though generous

beyond the requirements that bind such agency, that pro-

cedure must be scrupulously observed.” Vitarelli v. Seaton,

359 U.S. 535, 546-47 (1959) (concurring opinion of Mr.

Justice Frankfurter). However, Vitarelli and almost all

of the great number of cases that have applied the doctrine

have concerned the validity of the agency’s own action in

the face of a violation of its own regulations, see Note,

Violations by Agencies of Their Own Regulations, 87

Harv. L.Rev. 629 (1974), rather than an invocation of the

exclusionary rule. The latter, as Judge Clary said in a

perceptive but seemingly neglected opinion many years

ago, “represents an attempted accommodation of com-

peting values.” United States v. Schwartz, 176 F.Supp.

613, 615 (E.D.Pa. 1959), aff’d on other grounds, 283 F.2d

107 (3 Cir. 1960), cert. denied 364 U.S. 942 (1961). Judge

Clary thought that, while this accommodation required ex-

clusion when the Constitution or a statute had been violated,

the balance turned the other way when an official of an

agency had simply violated the agency’s own regulation—

something which the agency would presumably be inter-

ested in correcting for the future, as it might not be when

the Constitution or a statute imposed distasteful require-

ments upon it. Despite persuasive contrary arguments in

acticz. was precipitated by an informer’s tip made in the first in-

stauce to the Intelligence Division. We do not think that this

fact, by itself, makes the Audit Division’s work subject to the News

Releases; despite defense counsel’s earnest efforts to distinguish the

case, we find the reasoning of United States v. Robson, 477 F.2d

13, 16-17 (9 Cir. 1978), cert. denied 420 U.S. 927 (1975), per-

suasive on this point.

20a

Appendiz A.

Judge Coffin’s opinion in United States v. Leahey, supra,

a period of increasing disenchantment with the exclusion-

ary rule, see Bivens v. Six Unknown Federal Narcotics

Agents, 403 U.S. 388, 412-18 (1971) (dissenting opinion of

the Chief Justice); Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S.

218, 266-69 (1973) (concurring opinion of Mr. Justice

Powell, joined by the Chief Justice and Mr. Justice Rehn-

quist); see also United States v. Burke, —— F.2d ——,

(2 Cir. 1975), slip opinions 3571, 3588-90, would not

seem to be a good time for us to embrace a rule that when

an agency voluntarily publishes a press release announcing

that it will extend to suspects more procedural protection

than the Constitution or a statute demands, any violation,

however unintentional or excusable, will lead to suppres-

sion.

We find it unnecessary, however, to decide whether we

would follow the cited cases. For even if we were persuaded

by them, we would not reach the result urged by Leonard.

In the first place, we read the News Releases as out-

lining the instructions which the IRS has given to Special

Agents, something that Agent Laski was not. Leonard’s

position thus must be that exclusion is required not only

when a Special Agent fails to observe his instructions but

also when IRS, mistakenly believing that the investigation

has not yet become one “of suspected criminal tax fraud,’’

does not assign a Special Agent to conduct it, or at least

fails to instruct an ordinary revenue agent to act as if he

were a special agent. We think this goes beyond the bounds

of good sense interpretation. A different case would be

presented if IRS consistently assigned ordinary revenue

agents to conduct what it knew to be criminal investiga-

tions and they failed to give the warnings indicated in the

News Releases, but there is no evidence of this.

Second, we do not think the investigation had become

one “of suspected criminal tax fraud’’ when Leonard

2la

Appendiz A.

executed the affidavit on August 27, 1969. To borrow Mr.

Justice Frankfurter’s phrase, Universal Camera Corp. v.

NLRB, 340 U.S. 474, 493 (1951), “we do not find ourselves

pinioned between the horns of [counsel’s}] dilemma” that

unless the mail cover was to unearth crime it was illegal

under the Postal Regulations, and that if it was legal, the

tax investigation of Leonard was criminal, The mail cover

came within the Postal Regulations because IRS had rea-

son to believe that crimes under the revenue laws were

being committed by some taxpayers through the use of

Swiss bank accounts. It does not follow that every per-

son whose name turned up in the print-out as probably

having a Swiss bank account was suspected of committing

such a crime. In fact the audit disclosed no sufficient evi-

dence that Leonard had committed a crime by having a

Swiss bank account. What ultimately led Agent Laski to

recommend a criminal investigation was the data furnished

by UCC, which showed, not a “kick-back” as represented

by the informer, but a failure to report the 10% overrides

which Leonard had received.

(4) Citing Bronston yv. United States, 409 U.S. 352

(1973), Leonard next claims that the Government did not

produce sufficient proof of the falsity of his affidavit, see

note 5, to justify its admission into evidence. The prosecu-

tion did not offer evidence from the mail cover showing

that Leonara had received communications from the

People’s Bank in Switzerland, although, as will be seen,

the defendant elicited some evidence that at least hinted as

to his having a Swiss account; the Government relied

rather on the testimony of the CMB branch manager

deseribed above and, to a lesser degree, on that of Mrs.

Brooke. Leonard claims that the manager’s testimony did

not show that Leonard personally had any Swiss bank

accounts, since the numbered account at the Banque Can-

22a

Appendiz A.

tonale de Zurich whence the remittance to CMB was made,

might have belonged to a corporation owned by him or even

to an outsider, and that Mrs. Brooke’s testimony to an

admission in the summer of 1971 does not sufficiently show

falsity in an affidavit made in the spring of 1969. We think

that this contention is valid and that if Leonard’s trial

counsel had requested an instruction that the jury could

not find this portion of the affidavit to be false, he would

have been entitled to it. However, no such request was

made and the defendant is thus forced to show also that

there was no falsity in the denial of “any transactions or

dealings of any nature with any foreign banks or other

representatives’ (emphasis supplied). He argues that the

transactions to which the CMB manager testified were

between Leonard and CMB, and that therefore there is no

falsity. That argument, however, seems formal to an ex-

treme; it is more reasonable to say that in fact Leonard had

had such dealings with a Swiss bank, and that CMB had

simply been a conduit for transmission of the funds from

the Banque Cantonale de Zurich. The real question 1s

whether there was sufficient proof that Leonard knew that

the money had come from a foreign bank. Since the money

came from a Swiss numbered account, it is understandable

that there was no direct eviderce on this point; under a

preponderance of the evidence standard, there was enough

circumstantial evidence to entitle the jury to draw the

required inference. In addition to the practical point

stressed by the trial judge, that Leonard probably had a

pretty fair general idea of how $383,000 was being trans-

mitted to him, the jury could also consider the fact that

Leonard had no account at CMB, the peculiar method

chosen to deliver the CMB official checks to him, and the

pains taken by Leonard to keep them out of his FNCB

account.

23a

Appendiz A,

Leonard further argues that the preponderance standard

is not high enough for “similar act” evidence and points

to statements that such evidence must be ‘‘plain, clear and

conclusive” to be admissible. Kraft v. United States, 238

F.2d 794, 802 (8 Cir. 1956) ; United States v. Broadway, 477

F.2d 991, 995 (5 Cir. 1973). This view appears to rest on

a misconception. Similar act evidence is admitted to show

wilfulness and for other purposes, not because it may indi-

cate the commission of crime but in spite of that. 2 Wig-

more, Evidence § 305 (3d ed. 1940). Insufficiency of the

evidence to support submission to the jury of an indictment

charging that the August, 1969, affidavit was a false state-

ment in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1001, does not mean that

the evidence could not be received to prove wilfulness with

respect to a different crime if other evidentiary rules were

satisfied. While “the Due Process Clause protects the

accused against conviction except upon proof beyond a

reasonable doubt of every fact necessary to constitute the

crime with which he is charged,” Jn re Winship, 397 U.S.

358, 364 (1970), the “fact” here is wilfulness, not each

subsidiary fact offered to establish it. United States v.

Taylor, 464 F.2d 240, 244 (2 Cir. 1972), compare Lego v.

Twomey, 404 U.S. 477 (1972). A preponderance standard

is sufficient for such facts if the aggregate of the evidence

on the issue of wilfulness meets the Winship requirement,

as it plainly does here.

(5) Leonard also claims that the whole line of proof

regarding Swiss banks and statements he made about them

should have been excluded on the basis that the small

probative value of the evidence was outwieighed by its

prejudicial potential. United States v. Deaton, 381 F.2d

114 (2 Cir. 1967); Fed. Rules Evid. Rule 403. The probative

value of similar acts used to prove wilfulness or intent is

dependent on the existence of a close parallel between the

24a

Appendiz A.

crime charged and the acts shown, 2 Wigmore, Evidence

§ 302 at 200-01 (3 ed. 1940). The crime here charged is the

wilful subscribing of a false document under I.R.C. § 7206

(1), a seetion of the Code which, both in its language, see

note 1, and in its history, makes knowing falsity the grav-

amen of the offense. Kolashi v. United States, 362 F.2d 847,

848 (5 Cir. 1966); 10 Mertens, Federal Income Taxation

§55A.13 at 65-69 (1970). If the jury, crediting the testi-

mony that was offered, found that the 1969 affidavit and

the statement on the 1971 tax return were false, they could

properly use that conclusion to help them “in determining

whether the defendant had a wilful intent to sign here a

false return,” as the trial judge charged. Although the fit

between the similar acts and the crime for which Leonard

was convicted is not so close as it has been in cases where

identical forms for immediately preceding years have been

introduced, e.g., United States v. Coblentz, 453 F.2d 503

(2 Cir.), cert. denied 406 U.S. 917 (1972), it is within the

bounds established by some of the decided cases, e.g., our

own United States v. Kaufman, 453 F.2d 306 (2d Cir.

1971).°

There remains, however, the question whether the value

of the evidence is “worth what it costs.” McCormick, Evi-

dence § 185 at 438 (2 ed. 1972). It is true that transacting

business with Swiss banks, or lying about not having done

so, is rather more likely to “arouse the irrational passions

of the jury” than was evidence of the claiming of an im-

proper deduction in an income tax return in United States

v. Kaufman, swpra. At the same time, we think that the

defendant has overstated the case in claiming that this line

_*The Government’s brief chides Leonard for having “utterl

failed even to inform this Court of the District Court’s stated,

independent ground of admissibility—that both the 1969 affidavit

and the 1971 return are false exculpatory statements—and of the

authorities supporting that ground, which were cited and relied

upon below.” We agree with counsel for Leonard that this claim

is frivolous and that the cases are not in point.

258

Appendiz A.

of proof was “highly inflammatory.” The evidence was

hardly the equivalent of a bloody shirt, compare State v.

Goebel, 36 Wash. 2d 367, 379, 218 P.2d 300, 306 (1950), a

dying accusation of poisoning, Shepard v. United States,

290 U.S. 96, 104 (1933), or a claim of homosexuality, United

States v. Provo, 215 F.2d 531, 537 (2 Cir. 1954). Moreover,

defendant’s counsel at trial must not have considered it

to be that damaging, for he was willing to bring out

additional allegations of foreign bank connections if they

could be used for his own purposes. The prosecution did

not introduce evidence that Leonard had been identified

for investigation as part of the FBA project and indeed,

objected to the introduction of that information. Never-

theless defense counsel went into the matter, apparently

attempting to show, as he later argued to the jury, that

Leonard was the victim of a bureaucratic steam-roller.

Indeed, our impression is that in fact the defense weleomed

the Government’s resort to similar act testimony since this

tended to distract the jury from an issue on which the

prosecution’s case was exceedingly strong to one on which

it was considerably weaker, and also offered abundant

opportunities for objection and possible reversal.

In any case, the weighing of the probative value of the

evidence against its potentially prejudicial effect is pri-

marily for the trial judge who has a feel for the effect of

the introduction of this type of evidence that an appellate

court, working from a written record, simply cannot obtain.

We said in United States v. Ravich, 421 F.2d 1196, 1203-04

(2 Cir.), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 834 (1970), citing Cotton v.

United States, 361 F.2d 673, 676 (8 Cir. 1966), and Wan-

grow v. United States, 399 F.2d 106, 115 (8 Cir.), cert.

denied 393 U.S. 933 (1968), that “his determination will

rarely be reversed on appeal.’’ It would doubtless have

been wiser for the judge to have excluded the evidence or,

at the least, to have excluded it until after the presentation

26a

Appendiz A.

of the defendant’s case when there would have been a better

opportunity to appraise the prosecution’s need for it. Cf.

United States v. Kaufman, supra, 453 F.2d at 311. We do

not think, however, that the trial judge’s admission of this

evidence was beyond the bounds of |: > legitimate discretion,

although it may have been close to the edge.

. (6) Even this does not exhaust the claims of error aris-

ing from the course adopted by the prosecutor. Defendant

raises a number of other points, with which we must deal

more briefly.

(a) Relying on United States v. Baum, 482 F.2d 1325,

1331-32 (2 Cir. 1973), Leonard claims to have been the

victim of unfair surprise with respect to the ‘‘similar act”

evidence. Baum differs in several respects: The trial

court had erroneously denied a request that would have

disclosed the name of the surprise witness, Greenhalgh, id.

at 1329, 1331, and had refused any continuance at all when

he was called, td. at 1330. Here Leonard’s counsel was on

notice as to the Laski-Egan evidence and had obtained dis-

covery of the CMB checks six days before they were put

into evidence, Counsel had enough knowledge of Mrs.

Brooke’s prospective appearance to have served a subpoena

duces tecum on the preparer of an affidavit she had signed.

He also interviewed her and obtained copies of prior state-

ments during a recess and evening after her direct testi-

mony. Counsel’s only substantial complaint is the denial

of a two weeks continuance, not clearly sought until the day

before the trial ended, in order to make a trip to Switzer-

land, Australia, or both, in an endeavor to develop proof

that the $383,000 paid through CMB to Leonard might

have come from the Australian bank which constituted an

exception in the August, 1969, affidavit. The request was

unaccompanied by any showing that this travel would be

27a

Appendiz A.

productive and the court was justified in rejecting it as a

ploy.

(b) Many pages of the briefs are devoted to the de-

fense’s claim that the Government improperly obstructed

its interviews of several IRS employees. After defense

counsel had written to them, the employees apparently

referred the letters to the Assistant United States Attor-

ney who was to prosecute the case. When the employees

appeared for the taking of depositions, the prosecutor and

defense counsel were in agreement that the interviews

should be reported and that the witnesses should have

an opportunity to read the daily copy and make appro-

priate corrections; however, defense counsel noted his dis-

like of the prosecutor’s presence and particularly of his

instructing the witnesses not to answer some of the ques-

tions. Defense counsel orally moved the court that the

prosecutor be excluded or, in the alternative, be directed

not to tell the witnesses not to answer questions. The court

denied the motion; the Government later supplied, as

promised, affidavits by the agents in which they dutifully

stated that they “would have declined the interview unless

permitted to be counseled, advised and guided by the As-

sistant United States Attorney assigned this case.”

The question how far the prosecution may go in dis-

couraging witnesses from being interviewed by defense

counsel has received increasing attention since the decision

in Gregory v. United States, 369 F.2d 185, 187-89 (D. C.

Cir. 1966), although this circuit does not seem to have dealt

with the issue. See United States v. White, 454 F.2d 435,

438-39 (7 Cir. 1971), cert. denied 406 U.S. 962 (1972);

United States v. Matlock, 491 F.2d 504, 506 (6 Cir. 1974),

cert. denied 419 U.S. 864 (1974); ABA Standards Relating

to the Administration of Criminal Justice, The Prosecution

Function, § 3.1(¢); Discovery and Procedure before Trial,

28a

Appendiz A.

§ 4.1; Kamisar, LaFave and Israel, Modern Criminal Pro-

cedure 1236-37 (1974 ed.). None of these discussions, how-

ever, has focused on a situation like that here presented,

where the persons sought to be interviewed are government

employees who in some sense are part of the prosecutorial

team; where most of the disclosure sought relates to the

internal workings of a government agency; and where the

agency has established procedures in regard to disclosure,

26 C.F.R. § 301.9000-1(c) and (d), which have apparently

been ignored. Indeed the method devised by Leonard’s

trial counsel] seems more like an ingenious way for getting

around the limitation of discovery in the last sentence of

F.R.Cr.P. 16(b).

This case does not require us to decide issues of such

importance, for on this record we fail to see how the

defendant has been prejudiced in any significant degree.

The prosecutor intervened primarily to prevent answers

being given to questions directed to what the judge called

“talks between the agents themselves, ‘What did you say

to each other about the Leonard case?’” Such relevance as

there might be in such answers would relate mainly to the

suppression hearing, as to which the need for interviews

beforehand is much less than in the case of a jury trial.

The prime example of obstruction cited by Leonard’s coun-

sel consists of the prosecutor’s instructing Special Agent

Shulman not to answer broad questions concerning what

he had done in “the investigation” from March or April,

1972, until June, 1972, and what further steps he had taken

after July, 1972. The relevance of this is not self-evident,

and the defendant has not clarified the matter for us. The

interview with revenue agent Laski, the only agent who

testified at trial, runs over fifty-seven typewritten pages

and was relatively free of interruptions by the prosecutor;

Leonard has not shown how the few negative instructions

29a

Appendiz A.

given by the prosecutor impeded effective cross-exami-

nation.

(c) Counsel makes a variety of attacks, unnecessary to

detail, on the methods by which the prosecution secured the

presence of Mrs. Brooke. Apart from the fact that it is

not clear that these objections were raised below and that

they are of doubtful merit, the short answer is that impro-

priety in the method by which the prosecution has obtained

the attendance of a witness, while a proper subject for

cross-examination or proof insofar as the impropriety may

go to the weight of the witness’ testimony, is not of itself

a ground for reversal. ;

. * *

We have considered the other arguments made by Leon-

ard’s indefatigable appellate counsel but do not believe

they warrant prolongation of this opinion.

The judgment of conviction is affirmed.

30a

Appendix B, Opinion, United States Court of Ap-

peals for the Second Circuit, November 18, 1975,

Denial of Rehearing and Suggestion for En Banc

Consideration.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For tHe Seconp Cincurr

No. 1176—September Term, 1974.

Docket No. 75-1153

Filed: November 18, 1975

sé

4

Unitep States or Amenica,

Appellee,

v.

Jackson D. Leonarp,

Defendant-A ppellant.

°

Before:

Moore, Frienpiy and Van GraareiLanp,

Circuit Judges.

,

vr

On Petition ror REHEARING

-.

.

Per Curiam:

In a petition for rehearing Leonard raised, inter alia,

a claim that our discussion of the omission of income from

his 1968 tax return, slip opinion at 5847-52, was incomplete

in one respect. Our opinion assumed, on pp. 5849-50, that

the only evidence of the alleged $73,742.33 loss of Leonard

Inc., for the period February 1, 1968 through January 31,

1969, was ‘‘an unfiled tax return, signed only by the account-

ing firm and unexplained by any preparer . .”—in fact

a copy of the unfiled return—whereas the defense had

3la

Appendiz B.

also introduced a copy of the same unfiled return signed

by Leonard, and the Government had introduced the orig-

inal financial books and records and cancelled checks of

Leonard Ine., which allegedly “fully corroborate these

losses.” We called upon the Government to answer, and

Leonard has replied. While the opinion should be cor-

rected as hereafter set forth, our conclusion is not af-

fected.

It is therefore ordered that:

(1) The second and third sentences of the first full para-

graph on p. 5849 be changed to read:

The defense offered two exhibits purporting to be

copies of a proposed corporate income tax return for

the period February 1, 1968 to January 31, 1969, see

note 2, showing a loss of $73,742.33; both copies were

subscribed by the accounting firm, and one was also

signed “Jackson D. Leonard.”

(2) The second and third sentences on p. 5850 are

stricken and the following is substituted therefor:

The corporate tax return was never filed. Even if the

copies of the proposed return were admissible at all

as proof of the facts stated in the absence of testimony

by the preparer, which seems doubtful, see Standard

Oil Co. of California v. Moore, 251 F.2d 188, 222-23

(9 Cir. 1957), cert. denied, 356 U.S. 975 (1958), the

mere existence of copies of an unfiled return carries

little weight; indeed, the defense’s failure to call the

preparer could properly give rise to a negative in-

ference whether Leonard Ine. had a loss. See 8 Wig-

more, Evidence § 2273 (MeNaughion rev. i961). The

books and records were apparently “corrected” in

several respects, including the moving of a $40,000

item from an income to a joan column; the “uncor-

32a

Appendix B.

rected” sheets would support the unsigned form show-

ing a loss of only $29,017.77—not enough to counter-

balance the $58,684.12 of undeposited Treadwell checks.

If these changes could be explained, defendant had the

burden of going forward and doing so by calling the

preparer or some other witness. Moreover, the books

were not closed on December 31, 1968, and the pro-

posed return was for the wrong year.

(3) Inall other respects the petition for rehearing by the

panel is denied.

33a

Appendix C, United States Court of Appeals for the

Second Circuit, December 4, 1975, Stay of Mandate.

75-1153

A 36

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

Second Circuit

At a Stated Term of the United States Court of

Appeals, in and for the Second Circuit, held

at the United States Court House, in the

City of New York, on the 4th day of Decem-

ber, one thousand nine hundred and sev-

enty-five.

>

sy

United States of America,

Plaintiff-A ppellee,

v.

Jackson D. Leonard,

Defendant-Appellant.

%

4

It is hereby ordered that the motion made herein by

counsel for the appellant by notice of motion dated Novem-

ber 18, 1975 to stay issuance of the mandate pending appli-

cation to the Supreme Court of the United States for a

writ of certiorari pursuant to Rule 41(b) of the Federal

Rules of Appellate Procedure be and it hereby is granted.

Lzonarp P. Moorg

Henry J. FRrenviy

E. A. Van GRAAFEILAND

Cireuit Judges

34a

Appendix D, Title 26, U.S.C. Sec. 7206.

“26 U.S.C. § 7206. Fraud and false statements

Any person who—

(1) Deciaration under penalties of perjury.—Will-

fully makes and subscribes any return, statement, or

other document, which contains or is verified by a writ-

ten declaration that it is made under the penalties of

perjury, and which he does not believe to be true and

correct as to every material matter; or

(2) Aid or assistance.—Willfully aids or assists in,

or procures, counsels, or advises the preparation or

presentation under, or in connection with any matter

arising under, the internal revenue laws, of a return,

affidavit, claim, or other document, which is fraudulent

or is false as to any material matter, whether or not

such falsity or fraud is with the knowledge or consent

of the person authorized or required to present such

return, affidavit, claim, or document .. . shall be guilty

of a felony.”

35a

Appendix E, United States Post Office

Manual and Pepulations.

arrs ros ‘4,

+ UNITED 5s,

* tenuis

CHIEF POSTAL INSPECTOR

Washington, OC 20260

May 5, 1975

Mr. Alan Kanzer, Esq.

Walter, Conston, Schurtman

and Gumpel, P. C.

Attorneys at Law

330 Madison Avenue

New York, New York 10C17

Dear Mr. Kanzer:

Your letter of April 18, 1975, to the U. S. Postal

Service, Attention: General Counsel, has been referred

to me for reply. In your letter you requested, pursuant

to the Freedom of Information Act, copies of Postal

Service regulations, postal bulletins, and any other

material relevant, during 1968 and 1969, to the initiation

of a mail cover at the request of another agency.

On June 17, 1965, the Post Office Department published

new regulations governing the use of mail covers in

Postal Bulletin No. 20478, a copy of which is enclosed.

These regulations are still in effect today. These requla-

ticnB were subsequently published in Part 861 of the

Postal Manual of the old Post Office Department, supplemented

by section 233.2 of the Postal Service Manual. tLnclosed

are copies of these regulations. Also enclosed is a copy

of the mail cover regulations which were recently republished

in the Federal Register. This republication makes no sub-

stantive changes in mail cover procedures or safequards, but

it updates the provisions dealing with the delegation of

mail cover authority to reflect the present organizational

structure of the Postal Inspection Service.

Sincerely,

{ S Grse0 cue

wigdli J. Cotter

Ch

Inspector

Enc ]Osures

36a

Appendix E,

661.1 | Mail Covers: Administration

Subchapter 869 MAIL COVERS

Part 861

ADMINISTRATION

861.1 POLICY

The Post Office Department has ostablished rigid controls and supervision

= — to the use of mail covers as investigative or law enforcement

861.2 SCOPE

These regulations establish the sole authority and procedure for ini

processing, placing and sing mail covers. Any other regulations pend

ad or in conilict with these regulations are of no effect for postal

ces.

861.3 DEFINITIONS

For purposes of these regulations, the following terms :

a. “Mall cover” js the process by which a record is made bey A + oe

ing on the outside cover of nny class of mail matter, including checking the

contents of uny second-, third- or fourth-class mail matter as now sanc-

tioned by law, in order to obtain information in the interest of (1) protect-

ing the national security, (2) locating a fugitive, or (3) obtali.ing evidence

of conunission or attempted commission of a crime.

b. “Fugitive” is uny person who has ficd from the United States or any State

Kivitery, the istrict of Columide ov possession of the United States to

avoid prosecution for @ criine, to avoid punishment for a crime or to avoid

giving ~y~y~ in a crimJnal proceeding. |

c. “Crime,” for purposes of these regulations, is any commission an act or

the atlemmpled comsnission of an act ti

rent torn twee a pa wat ils punishabiec by law L, imprison-

. “Law enforcciment agency” is any authority of the Fede

or any eulhority of a Biate or local guvernment one of — ly Sete cern

to Investigate the commission or atte:

a crime. or attempted cuinmission of acts constituting

861.4 AUTHORIZATIONS-—CHIEF POSTAL INSPECTOR

41 The Chief Postal In:pector is the principal oM Office

Departarcint in the edininistretion of oll seromy SSA. bn A Ile

may Celegute by written ord c pny or Pll author ity in this 1egard to not ‘more

bog Pe ae pr oliicials within his Nureay.

. 2 ef Postal Jiuupect

FMR nb wpb - . wv, or his designee, may order mall covers under

&. When he bas rcasun to believe the subsect or

Bro Che sged nanny wettvity vieletive of = nd Bs Ay sealant

b. When wrilicn request is iscelved from ny law enforcement agency

wherein the reque:thig out) ortty stipulates and specifies the reasonable

grounds that cxint which «cmonstrete the mall cover is hutensacy to 11)

Protect the nutional sceurity, (2) luce te a fumitive, or (3) obtain informa-

Hon begurding the coamisson or att mpd commincton of a crime.

Orgenisat!-+ ond Administution 11-199, 9-13 46—teewe 1114

37a

Appendix E.

Mall Cevers: Administration U61 46

— _———— a + —

c. Where time ta of the ersence the Cutef Vostal Tnepector. or tin denmnece,

may act upon an oral request Wo be contiimed by the requesting authority

ta writing within 2 business days However, no tiformintion shall be

released until an approprince written request is received

861.5 POSTAL INSPECTORS IN CHARGE

51 All Postal Inspectors in Charge, and not more than three desimners pur-

suant to deicgations in writing, may order mail covers under the follow ti

circumstances:

a. Where he has reason to believe the subject or subjects are engaged in an

activity violative of any postal statute.

b. Where written request ts received from any law enforcement agency of

the Federal, Siate, or luce! yovernments, wherein the requesting authority

stipulates and specifics the reasonable viounds that exist which drinon-

strate the mail cover wow ald in the location of a fueitive, or thet It

would assist in obtaining information concerning the commission or at-

tempted corumission of a crime. FExceytitus fusilive cases, any requent

from a Federal agency for a mail cover and the determination made si.all

promptly be transmitted to the Chicf Postal Inspector for review

.$2 Except where mail covers are ordered by the Chicf lostal Inspector,

or his designee, request for mail covers must be approved by the Postal

Inspector in Charge, or his designee, in each district in which the mat! cover

is to operate.

533 Where time is of the essence, the ostal Inspector In Charge, or his

designee, may act upon an oral request to be confirmed by the requesting

authority in writing within 2 business days. However, no information shall

be released until an appropriate written order is received.

861.6 LIMITATIONS

61 No persons in the postal service, except those employed for that purpore

in dead-mail offices, may break or permit breeking of the seal of any mater

mailed as first-class mail without a search warrant, even though (t may con-

tain crimin*] or otherwise unmriiable metier, or furnish evidence of the

* commission of a crime.

62 No mail covers shall include rnatter matied between the mail cover sub-

ject and his known attorney-at-law.

63 No officer or employee of the postal service other than the Chief Postal

Inspector, or Pustal Inspectors in Charee, and their desusnees, are authorized

to order mail covers.

4 Excepting mail covers ordered upon subjicts ergaged, or suspreted to

‘be engaged, in any activity asainst the national :ccurity, or activity vicl..vive

of any postal law, no mail cover order :)all teimain in force and ehect for

moie than 30 days. At the expiration of such period, or prior thereto, the

requesting authoiity may be granted edditional 30-day periods under the

same conditions and procedures applicable to the or'vinal request

6$ No mall cover shall remain tn force lor.gver than 120 days unless por-

tonally approved for further c:tension by the Chief Postal Inspector

46 Excepting fugilive cases, no mall cover shall remain tn force when the

bject has been indicted for any cause If the subject ts under investipation

= further criminal violations, a new mail cover order must be requested

consistent with these regulations.

Orvganizetion ond Administration TL —125, 1! 18 46~—teswe 1017

38a

Appendix E.

861.7 Mall Covers: Administration

861.7 RECORDS

71 ~All requests for mail covers, with records of action ordered thereon, and

all reports issued pursuant theroto, shall be deemed within the custody of the

Clief Postal Incspectur. WUowever, the physical housing of this data shall be

at the diserction of the Chief Postal inspector

72 «The Postal Inspectors Iu Charge shall submit copies of all requests for

mail covers to the Chief Postal Inspector, together with reports of the action

ordered thereon.

73> «If the Chicf Postal Inspector determines a mail cover was improperly

ordered by a Postal Inspector in Charge or his designee all data acquired

while the cover was in force shall be destroyed, and the requesting authority

notified of the discontinuance of the mail cover and the reasons therefor.

74 Any data concerning mail covers shal] be made available to any mail

cover subject in any legal proceeding through appropriate discovery

procedures.

.75 The retention period for files and records pertaining to mall covers shall

be 8 years.

851.68 REPORTING TO REQUESTING AUTHORITY

Once a mail cover has been duly ordered, authorization may be delegated

to any officer in the postal service to transmit mail] cover reports direotly to

the requesting authority. Where at all possible, the transmitting officer

should be a Postal Inspector. ,

861.9 REVIEW

91 The Chief Postal Inspector, or his designee, sha!) review al) actions taken

by Postal Inspectors in Charge or their designees upon initial submission of a

report on a request for mail cover.

92 The Chief Postal Inspector's determination in all matters concerning

mail] covers shall be final and conclusive and not subject to further adminis-

trative revicw.

Orgenisetion end Administration Th=-1 25, 19-18-46—issue 1002

* US Government PRINTING OFFICE t969 O— 336-030

39a

‘ Appendix E.

933.2 MAIL COVERS

21 DETINITION fe aS

A mail cover is the process yr whieh a record is Senge oe ae —_ my gos |

on the outside cover of any Class of mat mvsebter, fine eg = ~ hor Priog

tents of any second-, third- or fourth -chess mail matt ve — As bert

by Jaw, to obtain information in the interest of a) = pov chey ages

security (2) locating a fucitive or (3) obtaining evidenre : :

sttempicod commission of acrime.

22 AUTKORITY

Only the Chief Post) Inspector > his

Under no circumstances shall a postr stor or po

mition as defined in 233.21 to any person except

Postal Inspecior or his desigiice.

or his designee nay order mail cuvers.

stal employee furnish infor-

as authorized by the Chief

Appendix vad aa

oe Oe sae:

40a

All Postal Insiallations

5-Cent Dante |

Alighieri Commemorative

Postage Stamp

The 5-cent stamp commemorating

the 700th anniversary of the birth of

the great Italian , Dante -

3 Doel

u Franci a

on July 17, 1965.” aes

POSTMASTERS SHALL NOT

PLACE THIS STAMP ON SALE

BEFORE JULY 18, 1965

yen

rg ee

wf e- .

2 ee awe

hie) ALES.

s) . 5: - ty

at rae Aa kie als:

_ i etnaarer

Size: 0.81" x 1.44" (vertical)

SSSVED IN PANES OF 50

Color: nn aon mage

ion

- Initial printing: 112

Douglas Gorsline’s design simulates

the style of carly Florentine allegori-

cal paintings. Dante is shown wear-

ing a laurel wreath, symbolic of

etry, against a background related to

the pocm “Fhe Divine Comedy.”

4la

Appendix E,.

All Postal Personnel

MAIL COVERS

Effective immediately, the following regulations govern procedures

concerning mail covers.

Policy: -

It is hercby declared to be the

policy of the Post Office Departinent

that rigid controls and supervision be

established with respect to the use

of mail covers as investigative or law

enforcement techniques. In order

that this policy be effectively promul-

gated, implemcnted and enforced, the

following regulations are adopted.

Scope:

The following regulations hereby

establish the sole authority and pro-

cedure for the initiating, precessing,

placing and using of mail covers.

Any other regulations inconsistent or

To obtain first-day cancellations,

collectors may submit requests to

the Postmaster, San Francisco, Calif.

94101. See Postal Manual, section

145.3. Selected mint stamps will be

available at the Philatclic Sales Agen-

cy, Post Office Department, Wash-

ington, D.C. 20260, on and after July

19, 1965.

All classes of post offices will re-

ceive an initial supply of the stamps

under the automatic distribution

schedule.

First- and sccond-class post offices

requiring additional bulk quantities

may submit a scparate requisition

(Form 3356) to the Bureau of En-

graving and Printing (Item 456)

with memorandum, POD 31, stating

that the stamps are required in addi-

tion to those automatically furnished.

All post offices requiring less than

bulk quantities in addition to the

automatic dist:ibution may sulnit a

separate requisition (Form 17) to

their RDPO and endorse at top “Ad-

ditional.” All requisitions not so en-

dorsed will be returned.—-Office of

the Special Assistant to the Postmas-

ter General, 6-17-65.

in conflict with these regulations are

of no effect for postal employces.

For purposes of these regulations,

a following terms are hereby de-

ned:

“Mail cover” is the process by

which a record is made of any data

appearing on the outside cover of any

class of mail matter, including check-

ing the contents of any second, third

or fourth class mail matter as now

sanctioned by Jaw, in order to obtain

information in the interest of (a)

protecting the national security, (b)

locating a fugitive, or (c) obtaining

evidencc of commission or atiempted

commission of a crime.

“Fugitive” is any person who has

fled from the United States or any

State, territory, the District of Co-

lumbia or possession of the United

States, to avoid prosecution for a

crime, to avoid punishment for a

crime or to avoid giving testimony in

a criminal proceeding.

“Crime,” for purposes of these reg-

ulations, is any commission of an act

or the attempted commission of an

act that is punishable by Jaw by im-

prisonment for a term exceeding one

year.

“Law enforcement agency” is any

authority of the Federal Government

or any authority of a State or local

government one of whose functions

is to investigate the commission or

attempted comunission of acts consti-

tuting a crime.

Authorizations—Chief Postal

Inspector:

The Chief Postal Inspector is the

principal ofliccr of the Post Office De-

putment in the administration of all

nuatters governing mail covers. And

Appendix E,

MAIL COVERS

(Continued from p. 1)

he may delegate by written order any

or all authority in this regard to not

more than four subordinate officials

within his Burcau.

The Chief Postal Inspector, or his

designee, may order mail covers under

the following circuinstances:

1, Where he has reason to believe

the subject or subjects of the mail

cover are engaged in any activity

violative of any postal statute.

2. Where written request is re-

ceived from any law enforcement

agency whercin the requesting au-

thority stipulates and specifies the

reasonable grounds that exist which

demonstrate thesmail cover is neces-

sary to (a) protect the nationai secu-

rity, (b) locate a fugitive, or (c)

obtain infonnation regarding the

commission or attempted commission

of a crime.

3. Wherc time is of the essence, the

Chief Postal Inspector, or his desig-

nee, may act upon an oral requesi to

be confirrned by the requesting au-

thority in writing within two busi-

ness days. However. no information

shall be releneed until an appropriate

written request is received.

Postal Inspectors in Charge:

All Postal Inspectors in Charge,

and not more than three designees

pursuant to deicgations in writing,

may order inail covers under the fol-

lowing circumstances:

1. Where he has reason to believe

the subject or subjects are engaged in

an activity violative of any postal

statute.

2. Where written request is re-

ceived from any law enforcement

agency of the Federal, State, or local

governments, whercin the request-

ing authority stipulates and specifics

the reasonable prounds that exist

which demonstrate the mail cover

would aid in the location of a fugi-

tive, or that it would assist in obtain-

ing information concerning the com-

Inission or attempted commission of

42a

a crime. Excepting fugitive ca

any request from a Federal agency

a mail cover and the determina

inade shall promptly be transmit

to the Chief Postal Inspector for re

view.

3. Except where mail covers ;

ordered by the Chief Postal Inspec

tor, or his designee, request for mail

:

in cach district in which themail cov.

cr is to operate.

4. Where time is of the essence, t

Postal Inspector in Charge, or his des-

ignec, May act upon an oral request

to be confinned by the requesting au-

thority in writing within two business

days. However, no information shall

be released until an appropriate writ-

ten order is received.

Limitations:

_ 1. No persons in the Postal Serv-

icc, except those employed for that

— in dead-mail offices, may

reak or permit breaking of the seal

of any matter mailed as first-class

mail without a search warrant, even

though it may contain criminal or

otherwise unmailable matter, or fur-

nish evidence of the commission of a

crime.

2. No mail covers shall include

mattcr mailed between the mail cover

subject and his known attorncy-at-

law. ;

3. No officer or employce of the

Posta! Service other than the Chief

Postal Inspector, or Postal Inspectors

in Charge, and their designees, are

authorized to order maii covers.

4. Excepting mail covers ordered

upon subjects engaged, or suspected

to be engaged, in any activity against

the national security, or activity vio-

lative of any postal Jaw, no mail cover

order shall remain in force and effect

for more than 30 days. At the ex-

piration of such period, or prior

thercto, the meeeing authority may

be granted additional 30-day periods

under the same conditions and proce-

dures applicable to the original re-

quest.

44a

Appendix E.

5. No mail cover shali remain in

force longer than 120 days unless

personally approv

tension by the Chicf Postal Inspector.

for further ex-

6. Excepting fugitive cases, no

mail cover shal} remain in force when

the subject has been indicted for

any cause. If the subject is under in-

vestigation for further criminal vie-

jations, 2 new mail cover order must

be requested consisicnt with these

regulations.

Records:

1, All requests for mail covers, with

rec. rds of action ordered thereon, and

all reports issued

shall raced within the custody of

ursuant thereto,

the Chief Postal Inspector. However,

the ical housing of this data

oo the discretion of the Chicf

Postal Inspector.

2. The Postal Inspectors in Charge

shall submit copies of all requests for

mail covers to the Chief Postal Inspec-

tor, together with reports of the ac-

tion ordered thereon.

3. If the Chief Postal Inspector

determines a mail cover was improp-

erly ordered by a Postal Inspector in

Charge or his designee all data ac-

uired while the cover was in force

shall be destroyed, and the requesting

authority notificd of the discontinu-

ance of the mail cover and the rea-

sons therefor. ;

4. Any data concerning mail covers

shall be sade available to any mail

cover subject in any legal proceeding

through appropriate discovery pro-

cedures.

: 5. The retention period for files

and records pertaining to mail covers

shall be 8 years.

Reporting to Requesting Authority:

Once a mail cover has been duly

ordered, authorization may be dele-

gated to any officer in the Postal Serv-

ice to transmit mail cover reports di-

rest to the recs ing avihen si

Where at all possible, the iransimuit-

ting officer should be a Postal In-

spector.

Review:

1. The Chief Postal Inspector, or

his designee, shall review all actions

taken by Postal Inspectors in Charge

(Continued on p. 3)

CONTENTS

Page Col.

5-Cent Dante Alichicri Com-

memorative Stamp ..-.-.. 1 1

Arrest of Postal Offenders..... 3 1

Bulk Stamp Requisitioning

. - aay l

Ficld Printing and Duplicating. 3 2

Forcicn Fraud Order. ..------ 4 1

Form 4541...-----. atin _ -

Former Peace Corps Volunteers,

Finployment of... -. ..--- 6 1

Heltiday Service Independence

ES ceaesiliiatatiatiina se

Jet Airtnail Service AM -9...- 3 J

OS Se

Moncey Order Forms, Canadian, 7 1

Moncy Order Forms, U.S...-.- 8 1

Post Office Changes ....----- ——

Postal Manual Issue 854, Cor-

COUR ec cccceccce<cccece 6 1

Puster No. 44, Discontinu-

| » -%

Summer Post Offices Opening. 6 3

Winter Post Offices--Closing-. 6 J

MAIL COVERS

(Continued from p. 2)

or their designees upon nitial sub-

mission of a report on a request for

mail cover.

2. The Chicf Postal Inspector's de-

termination in all matters concerning

mail covers shall be final and con-

chusive and not subject to further

administrative review.

« « * * .

Existing instructions will be revised

accordingly. Postinasters shall not,

wider any 58 mail

covers without prior approval from

their Postal Inspectors in Charge.

Ab ioe

Postmaster: General.

a Ps on

om mee be btm ee

awe NER EONIE Ooty tied

44a

Appendix E.

All Postal Installations

Jet Airmail Service—AM-9

On or about July 4, 1965, Braniff

Airways, Inc. will inaugurate jet air-

mail service from Waterloo, lowa.

An official cachet will be furnished

for application to philatelic covers

transported only on Braniff’s first jet

flight departing from Waterloo on

that day. The covers wil] be back-

stamped at the terminus of the flight.

The usual philatelic treatment,

outlined in scction 145.5, Postal

Manual, will be provided.

Patrons desiring to receive this

cachet should forward their covers

in another envelope to:

Postmaster

Waterloo, Iowa 50701

First-flight covers should reach .

Waterloo at least 5 days before the

flight date.—Bursau of Transporta-

tion and International Services, 6-

17-65.

All Postal Installations

Arrest of Fostal Offender

The following postal offender has

been apprehended:

Ronald Guy Picklesimer

Destroy the wanted circular con-

cerning him.—Bureau of the Chief

Postal Inspector, 6-17-65.

Field Printing and Duplicating

——— hee me

1. Purpose

These instructions will cnable

postal installations to manage their

printing and duplicating activities

more cflectively. ‘They are in line

with the President’s policy for redue-

ing »2perwork and for saving man-

powu, and moncy. ‘Ihe new pro-

cedures are effective immediately.

2. Program for Improvement

Major efficiencies in the duplicat-

ing, copying, and publication areas

can be achieved under these pro-

— The program will assure

at:

© Only necessary and justified

publications are uced at the

_ office level. _ ag

® Only necessary equipment is

* Printing and binding regulations

of the Congressional Joint Committee

on Printing are understood and fol-

° Duplicating and printing activi-

= are idated yar eos pos-

®@ Cvordination of icy matters

concerning duplicating and printing

is othdovell

® Responsibilities in these areas

are correctly placed and clearly un-

derstood

3. Field Printing

Field offices we y peer

equipment must follow i-

me Spar ed

ng, -

ices. That handbook is being revised

and will include all necessary in-

formation onthe subject. It will be

distributed dircctly to offices with

duplicating equipment.

4. Procurement of Equipment

The Congressional Joint Commit-

tee on Printing requires that requests

for printing and duplicating equip-

ment be approved by qualified per-

sonnel, fore, all ficld requests

(except those from the Inspection

Service) for the purchase or rental

of printing and duplicating cquip-

ment must be sent on Form 73 to the

regional py ewey and supply

officer with a detailed justification so

that he can obtain the necessary ap-

proval. ‘There will be no exception

to the foregoing procedure.

5. Managing Local Publications

This section establishes a program

for managing local publications and

keeping then within reasonable

bounds. It applics only to formal

types of = publications --manuals,

handbooks, p:unphiets, booklets, and

45a

Appendix E.

brochures. Office memorandums,

schemes and schidules and chanres

thereto, and internal circular issuance

systems ave not affected.

Postinasters will submit proposed

publications in outline form to the

regional postal systems division for

regional approval. Request for ap-

proval will include justification for

the publication, the estinrited num-

ber of printed pages, the quantity

to be printed, and a list showing the

number to be distributed to each

receiving point.

If the postal systems division deter-

mines that the proposal mects the

following criteria, it will secure ap-

proval of the Regional Director and

return the outline to the post office

for preparation of the final manu-

script. ‘The postal systems division

will indicate whether the publication

is to be reproduced at the post office

or returned to the regional oflice for

final printing. os

Consider the following critena

thoroughly before requesting ap-

proval for a publication:

a. Is the proposed publication

absolutely necessary? Local publica- .

tions must be limited to those which

are essential to the service.

b. Does the proposal repeat } lead-

quarters, Postal Bulletin, Postal Man-

ual or other instructions? Such re-

petition must be avoided.

c. If the publication is considered

to be essential, how much will it cost?

An estimated per page cost of $150 is

considered a reasonable figure (Gen-

eral Services Administration uses

$100 per page). This cost includes

such factors as salaries, draft prepara-

tion, approval time, printing mate-

rials and equipment, and a factor for

general overhead.

d. Does the proposal contain mate-

rial which les nationwide possibility?

If so, the postmaster should request

the region to consider proposing a "a-

tional publication.

47a =

5

. 4 1. 280,

J. Rosear Huwren,

Acting Fedcre: insurance Admintitraior.

Acto

QULES AND KCGULATIONS

[PR Moc.7} C253 Miled 3-11-75;6:45 am]

qtitle

(National Flood Insurance Act of 1968 (title XID of the Mousing and Urban Development Act of 198.4" effective Jon. 28. ‘949 (32 PTL 174,

Nov. 28, 1968), as aurcuded, 42 UL.C. 4001-4128; and Secretary's delegation of authority to Pederai Insurence /dislsisiratd

' Jeb. 27, 2069)

February 28, 1975.

' The Postal Service has decided to re-

publish the reculstions coverning the

use of the mall cuver #s an Investivative

technigqre to mal:c Urere rcxulavions move

accessible to the public. and to is-

courage confusion concerning the nature

and uses of this important law enforce-

ment tool. In this repu lication the

Posts! Service has updated the provisions

Gealing with the delegation of mall

cover authority to reficct the present

organizationa) structure of the Po.ial

Inspection Service. Hov.ever, no subslan-

live changes have bees made in mail

The

erned by regulations cor:tuined in § 233.2

of the Postal Service Manwal, supple-

by provisions formerly cot.tained

in 861 of the Postal Mu al of tho

old Post Office Department which have

been retained as opcrating Inctructions

by the Postal In«nection Service. The

wmbiuuiion of Unne provisions under

™ tne Loge of Fracrai

tions wilh improve their nercut-

bility and faciiitate their interpretation.

A mall cover is a rciatively simple m-

veatigntive or law cnforcereent tech-

It involves recording the name

mail are not cxainined. As sanctioned

by law, the contents of second-, third-,

and fourth-ciass mati matter may be

* examined in connection with a mail

cover.

In their new format, the mall cover

regulations of the Postal Service con-

tinue existing procedurui and subsian-

live safeguards dcsigned to assure the

confident'ality of the mail cover process

and prevent the wnjustitied use of mail

_ covers. Mail covers aie available to law

enforecment acte:cies only in order to

obtain: information in the interest of (1)

ting the nationai vecurity, (2) lo-

cating a fugitive, or +3? obtaminr evi-

dence of commission or attempted com-

raission of a crime. Mail cover: are

ordered pursuant to a written icaqucst

from a law enfor*ement ateney only If

tle requesting authority stipulates and

46a

Appendix E, Appendix E.

Tithe 35-—-’o 1-1 Service a ye reocenavle groum’, that

: ealst which demon trate the mail cever

CHAPTER I—U"'IIED STATES POSTAL is pecensery bor 4b. cithmate parr ce. No

. SERVICE offiecra or Crmploses) oof the Poot) Serv.

PART 233-—INSPCCTION SCRVICE ice other than the Chicl Postal lecpector,

AUTHORITY &@ Postal Jnspector in Char: eo, and a lim-

Mail Ce ited number of Uieir destences, are au-

thorized to erder mall cover.. Only the

Chief Postal Inspector. or his designees

at Inspection Service Head yuatters, may

order a ational security mall cover.

Mail covers dio not include matter mailed

between the mail cover sulject and lids

known ullorney-at-liw: and except in

fugitive cases, no mail cover remains in

force when the subtect bas been iIn-

dicted for vty cause. Any data concern-

ing mail covers is made availuble to any

mail cover subject In any Iccel procecd-

ing throuch eppropriate discovery pro-

cedures. ‘Thcse ndministrative§ safe-

guards afford significant protection to

the privacy of the users ef the mail,

without compromising the cifectiveness

of the mall cover.

Accordinsly, the Postal Service adopts

the followin: amendments to the pro-

visions conccrning Postal Eervice man-

agcment crrun'zation, procedure, and

practice with regarc to nail covers, ef-

fective March 14, 1975:

233.2 (Redesignated)

1. In 39 CPR Part 233. § 233.2 With-

drawal of mail privileges I< renunbered

as ¢ 233.3. “nd e new § 275.2 is added to

read as follows:

§ 233.2 Mail covers.

(a) Policy. The USB. Postal Pervne

maintains rigid controls and supervision

with respect to the use of mall covers

os investigative or law enforcement tech-

niqucs.

(b) Scope. These regulations con-

etitute the eole authority ond procedure

fo. initiating, processing, placing and

using mali covers.

(ec) Definitions. For purposes of these

reguictions, the following terms are

hereby defined:

(1) “Moll cover” ig the process by

which a record is made of any data ap-

pearing ot the outside cover of any class

of mall matter, including checking the

contents of any second-, third-, or

fourth-class mail matter os now sanc-

tioned be law. in order to obtain informa-

tion tn the ‘nterest of (1) protectin the

national sccurity, (11) locatiucd a turitive,

or GH) obtaining evidence of commission

or pltcemptcd comintsuon of a crime.

(2) “Pwelttive’ ts any person who hus

fied from, the United States or any State,

territory, the District of Columoia, or

possersken of the United States, to avoid

rrosecution ier a crim:. to avoid puntsh-

ment for a crinte or to avoid giving testl-

mony in a criminal procceding.

(3) “Crime”, for purpo-s@s~of these

reculations, is any comnis ton of an act

or the atlempicd comnitsion of aa ect

that t: punishable by jaw by haprison-

racnt for a teria cxececing 1 year.

(4) “Law enforerment apency” is any

authoil‘y of the Pedcral Gaver mt or

any auihority of ¢ State or local euvern-

tact one of whos functions ts to in-

vextirate the commicion or atte:npted

commission of acts constituting a erune.

(cd) Authorizativous—Chic/ Postal In-

spector, (1) The Chief Postal lner-ctor

is the principal offiecr of the Pustati-.1ry-

ice in the adminixtrativn of all toatters

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.